Opinion

Hill v. Cleveland Bakers and Teamsters Pension Fund

Court
District Court, N.D. Ohio
Filed
Jan 24, 2024
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.1%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

DAVID HILL, ) Case No. 1:22-CV-2073

)

Plaintiff, ) Judge J. Philip Calabrese

)

v. ) Magistrate Judge

) Jennifer D. Armstrong

CLEVELAND BAKERS AND )

TEAMSTERS PENSION FUND, )

)

Defendant. )

)

OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff David Hill, Jr. is the son of decedent, David Hill, Sr. and the

administrator of his father’s estate. David Hill, Sr. is a former employee of Nickles

Bakery in Cleveland, Ohio. In 2021, contemplating retirement, David Hill, Sr.

applied to his pension fund for benefits, and received approval. Unfortunately, he

passed away before any payments issued. After his father’s death, Plaintiff applied

for benefits as administrator of the estate and as a beneficiary. Twice, his claims

were denied. Then, Plaintiff filed this action seeking to reverse the denial of benefits.

Plaintiff and Defendant filed cross motions for judgment on the administrative

record. (ECF No. 17; ECF No. 18.) For the reasons that follow, the Court DENIES

Plaintiff’s motion for judgment on the administrative record (ECF No. 17) and

GRANTS Defendant’s motion for judgment on the administrative record (ECF No.

18).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

A. Pension Plan Application

David B. Hill, Sr. was employed as a shipper at Nickles Bakery from

September 1977 through December 2020. (ECF No. 14-1, PageID #109.) Throughout

his employment, Hill belonged to the Cleveland Bakers and Teamsters Union and

contributed to the union’s pension fund. (Id., PageID #159.) Hill retired on December

17, 2020 and requested an application for a pension on December 28, 2020. (Id.,

PageID #65.)

On February 24, 2021, Hill submitted a pension application to the fund

administrators. (Id.; see also id., PageID #112). The application designated Hill’s

son, David Hill, Jr., as the beneficiary of any plan benefits and listed Hill’s last day

of employment as December 31, 2020. (Id., PageID #126 & #128.) Hill listed the

effective date for benefits as April 1, 2021. (Id., PageID #121.)

The Cleveland Bakers and Teamsters Pension Plan sets a two-month waiting

period between the date a retiree submits an application for a pension and the date

benefits are first paid. (Id., PageID #246.) To comply with the two-month waiting

period, the Plan Administrator adjusted the pension’s effective date to May 1, 2021—

the first payment date two months after submission of the application. (Id., PageID

#112.) The Plan Administrator notified Hill of this adjustment on March 8, 2021 and

requested additional documents. (Id., PageID #108.)

On March 11, 2021, Hill passed away. (Id., PageID #87 & #106.) As of that

date, the Plan did not make any payments to Hill or his estate. (Id., PageID #65 &

#90–91.)

B. The Pension Plan

Under the Plan, participants qualify for a pension based on their age and

credited service at the time they cease working. (Id., PageID #213.) The parties agree

that Hill qualified for the “Golden 90” pension plan under Article IV, Section 4 of the

Plan. (Id., PageID #106, #159 & #228.)

B.1. Payment of Pension Plan Benefits

Article VI of the Plan governs payment of pension benefits and contains the

relevant provisions at issue that determine whether Hill’s estate is entitled to

payment. (Id., PageID #243–45.) Section 1(A) specifies the date when payments will

begin. It provides in relevant part:

Section 1 – Commencement and Duration of Pensions

A Participant who makes application in accordance with the

provisions of the Plan shall be entitled upon retirement to receive

the monthly benefits provided for the remainder of his life, subject

to all of the provisions of this Plan. Benefits shall be payable

commencing with the first full calendar month after the

Participant has fulfilled all the conditions for entitlement to

benefits and ending with the payment for the month in which the

death of the Participant occurs, except as otherwise provided in

this Article or in Article V. The payment of benefits under the

Plan to the Participant shall begin no later than the 60th day

after the close of the Plan year in which occurs the latest of:

(1) the Participant’s 65th birthday;

(2) the 10th anniversary of the year in which the Participant

commenced participating in the Plan; or

(3) the Participant’s Termination of Employment.

(Id., PageID #243.)

Article VI, Section 1(B) addresses the death of a Plan participant. It states as

follows:

With respect to any payments which commence due to the

preceding provisions of this section, the following clauses shall

apply notwithstanding any provision of the Plan to the contrary.

(1) In the event a Participant dies prior to the time

distributions commence: . . .

(b) Any portion of the Participant’s interest that is

payable to a designated Beneficiary will be

distributed either within five years after the

Participant’s death or over the life of the Beneficiary

. . . .

(Id., PageID #242–43.)

Finally, Article VI, Section 2 requires an application for the commencement of

Plan benefits. In relevant part, it provides:

Section 2 – Advance Written Application Required

Application for a pension shall be made in writing in a form and

manner prescribed by the Trustees and shall be filed with the

Trustees at least two months, but not more than twelve months,

in advance of the first month for which pension benefits are

payable. If the required application is filed later than such date,

payments will begin within 60 days from the date such

application is filed and, if applicable, payments will be made

retroactively to the date specified in the third and fourth

sentences of Section 1 of Article VI.

(Id., PageID #246.)

B.2. Beneficiary Payments after Pensioner’s Death

Article V is titled “Benefit in the Event of Death After Retirement.” (Id.,

PageID #242.) Under the Plan, where a pensioner “dies prior to the payment of

benefits for 36 months,” the named beneficiary is entitled to receive “the monthly

benefit that has been paid to the Pensioner for the remainder of the said 36-month

period.” (Id.)

C. Plaintiff’s Claim, April 8, 2021

After his father’s death, Plaintiff submitted a claim for entitlement to the

benefits under Article V. (Id., PageID #98–105.) By letter dated April 8, 2021, the

Plan Administrator denied Plaintiff’s claim (id., PageID #90–96) and explained that

the guaranteed 36-month benefit under Article V is only available to the designated

beneficiary of a “Pensioner,” which is defined within the Plan as a “person to whom

benefits are being paid” (id., PageID #90–91). In the Administrator’s view, Hill had

not become entitled to a payment before his death; therefore, he was not a “Pensioner”

for purposes of the Plan provisions. (Id.) As a result, Plaintiff was not entitled to the

36-month benefit. (Id.)

Plaintiff did not appeal the April 8, 2021 claim denial. (ECF No. 17, PageID

#405; ECF No. 18, PageID #422.)

D. Plaintiff’s Claim, February 2, 2022

Following his denial of benefits as his father’s beneficiary, Plaintiff opened an

estate for his father. On February 2, 2022, Plaintiff advised the Plan Administrator

that he was submitting claims in two capacities. (ECF No. 14-1, PageID #82.) First,

as administrator of his father’s estate, Plaintiff sought a single monthly payment for

March 2021. (Id.) Second, Plaintiff resubmitted his prior claim for 35 monthly

payments as the listed Beneficiary under Article V. (Id., PageID #82–83.) By letter

dated February 18, 2022, the Plan Administrator denied these claims as untimely.

(Id., PageID #78–81.) Also, the Administrator explained that Hill did not become

eligible for any payment in March 2021 because he died before any payment issued.

(Id.)

Plaintiff timely appealed the denial of his second claim. (Id., PageID 67–70.)

In accordance with the Plan’s required procedures, the appeal was presented to the

Board of Trustees of the Cleveland Bakers and Teamsters Pension Fund for

consideration at its regularly scheduled meeting on June 16, 2022. (Id., PageID #61.)

By letter dated June 22, 2022, the Plan denied the appeal. (Id., PageID #61–64.) This

lawsuit followed.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

At issue in this case is when Hill became entitled to benefits under the Plan.

The Plan speaks only indirectly to the unusual circumstances presented, where Hill

vested, applied for benefits, then passed away before receiving his first monthly

payment. Plaintiff contends that Hill was entitled to benefits as of the date on which

he submitted his application. (ECF No. 17, PageID #404.) Defendant asserts that

entitlement to benefits arises only after the end of a two-month waiting period.

Resolution of this dispute requires the Court to determine whether the

Administrator’s interpretation of the Plan in a way that precludes any entitlement to

a benefit before the two-month waiting period was arbitrary and capricious.

ANALYSIS

Section 502(a)(1)(b) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

allows Plaintiff to bring this action “to recover benefits due to him under the terms of

his plan, to enforce his rights under the terms of the plan, or to clarify his rights to

future benefits under the terms of the plan.” 29 U.S.C. §1132(a)(1)(b). The Court

adjudicates the merits of the claims “based solely upon the administrative record”

and not pursuant to the summary judgment procedures set forth in Rule 56. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56. Moore v. Lafayette Life Ins. Co., 458 F.3d 416, 430 (6th Cir. 2006) (citing

Wilkins v. Baptist Healthcare Sys., Inc., 150 F.3d 609, 619 (6th Cir. 1998)).

A benefit plan may grant the plan administrator discretionary authority to

determine eligibility and interpret the terms of the plan. Firestone Tire & Rubber

Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989). Where it does, a district court reviews a plan

administrator’s decision to deny benefits under the “highly deferential arbitrary and

capricious standard of review.” Sanford v. Harvard Indus., Inc., 262 F.3d 590, 595

(6th Cir. 2001) (quoting Yeager v. Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co., 88 F.3d 376, 380

(6th Cir. 1996)). In this case, the parties agree that the Plan grants such authority

to the Administrator. (ECF No. 17, PageID #407; ECF No. 18, PageID #424.)

Accordingly, the arbitrary and capricious standard of review applies.

Under this standard, a reviewing court must affirm the decision of the

administrator if the evidence in the record establishes a reasonable basis for the

decision. Davis v. Kentucky Fin. Cos. Ret. Plan, 887 F.2d 689, 693–94 (6th Cir. 1989).

A plan administrator has not acted arbitrarily and capriciously if it is “possible to

offer a reasoned explanation, based on the evidence” for its decision to deny benefits.

Perry v. United Food & Com. Workers Dist. Union, 64 F.3d 238, 242 (6th Cir. 1995)

(internal quotations omitted). Where the administrator’s decision to deny benefits “is

the result of a deliberate, principled reasoning process and . . . is supported by

substantial evidence,” the decision will be upheld. Balmert v. Reliance Standard Life

Ins. Co., 601 F.3d 497, 501 (6th Cir. 2010) (quoting Baker v. United Mine Workers of

America Health & Ret. Funds, 929 F.2d 1140, 1144 (6th Cir. 1991)).

The arbitrary and capricious standard of review is not simply a “rubber

stamp[]” of the plan administrator’s decision. Balmert, 601 F.3d at 661 (quoting Moon

v. Unum Provident Corp., 405 F.3d 373, 379 (6th Cir. 2005)). “Deferential review is

not no review, and deference need not be abject.” McDonald v. W.S. Life Ins. Co., 347

F.3d 161, 172 (6th Cir. 2003) (internal quotations omitted). Where the plan

administrator’s interpretation creates internal inconsistency within the plan, this

standard calls its decision into question. Davis, 887 F.2d at 695. Similarly, an

interpretation that adds eligibility requirements may be arbitrary and capricious.

See Jones v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 385 F.3d 654, 661 (6th Cir. 2004). But a plan

administrator’s rational interpretation of plan provisions must be accepted, “even in

the face of an equally rational interpretation offered by the participants.” Morgan v.

SKF USA, Inc., 385 F.3d 989, 992 (6th Cir. 2004). This deference extends to a plan

administrator’s interpretation of “ambiguous and general terms” of a plan. Jones,

385 F.3d at 661.

I. Plaintiff’s Claim as Administrator

The Plan Administrator determined that Hill died before fulfilling the

conditions precedent to entitlement to benefits and, as a result, that the fund does

not owe his estate a payment. Defendant interprets the plan document to require, as

a condition of entitlement to benefits, a two-month waiting period between the time

the application is submitted and the time a claimant accrues benefits. This

conclusion rests on the interpretation of Article VI of the Plan.

Under Article VI, Section 1(A), “[a] participant who makes application in

accordance with the provisions of the Plan” is entitled to benefits, “subject to all of

the provisions of this Plan.” (ECF No. 14-1, PageID #243.) Those benefits “shall be

payable commencing with the first full calendar month after the Participant has

fulfilled all the conditions for entitlement of benefits.” (ECF No. 14-1, PageID #243.)

The next section, titled “Advance Written Application Required,” describes the

application process. It requires an application at least two months before the first

payment of benefits: “Application for a pension … shall be filed with the Trustees at

least two months … in advance of the first month for which pension benefits are

payable.” Put simply, Defendant reads the “conditions for entitlement of benefits” to

include the written application requirements. (ECF No. 18, PageID #432.) The

“conditions for entitlement of benefits” are not defined elsewhere in the Plan, and

Defendant finds support in the Section 1(A) language that makes entitlement “subject

to all of the provisions in [the] Plan.” Arbitrary and capricious review requires that

the Administrator’s interpretation of the Plan be the product of a deliberate,

principled reasoning process and supported by substantial evidence. Balmert, 601

F.3d at 501. This interpretation satisfies this standard.

As the administrator of his father’s estate, Plaintiff argues that Hill’s

payments would begin in May 2021 but account for eligibility beginning in March

2021. He argues that other provisions in the Plan render Defendant’s interpretation

internally inconsistent. (ECF No. 19, PageID #438.) Plaintiff points to specific

language in the Plan that governs the death of a participant. Article VI,

Section 1(B)(1) addresses the circumstance where a participant dies before

distributions begin. (ECF No. 14-1, PageID #243–44.) Plaintiff reads this provision

as “squarely contradict[ing]” Defendant’s interpretation of the Plan because that

language seems to support an interpretation that allows a participant to have accrued

payments before the end of the two-month waiting period. (ECF No. 19, PageID

#437.)

In Defendant’s view, the provisions on which Plaintiff relies reflect Section

206(a) of ERISA. 29 U.S.C. § 1056(a). That statutory language, and by extension the

parallel language in the Plan, sets certain dates when participants must begin

receiving payment. In this way, the statute and the Plan protect a participant’s right

to benefits by triggering distribution upon certain events––a situation that has no

application to participant’s circumstances, says Defendant. (ECF No. 18, PageID

#433; ECF No. 20, PageID #447–48.) Further, Defendant explains that the language

of Section 1(B) tracks the language of another statute: Section 401(a)(9)(A)(ii) of the

Internal Revenue Code, which prevents the continued use of pension funds as tax

shelters and does not apply to Hill’s circumstances. (ECF No. 20, PageID #447–48.)

Given the context and history of these provisions, the Court finds that

Defendants’ interpretation of the Plan represents a principled reasoning process, does

not render the provisions of the Plan meaningless or internally consistent, and is not

arbitrary or capricious. See Balmert, 601 F.3d at 501. A presentation by Plaintiff of

“an equally rational interpretation” does not change this determination. Morgan, 385

F.3d at 992.

II. Plaintiff’s Claim as Beneficiary

Under Article V of the Plan, benefits may be paid to the “Beneficiary[] of a

Pensioner.” (ECF No. 14-1, PageID #242.) The Plan expressly defines these terms.

(Id., PageID #198 & #204.) A “Beneficiary” means “the person designated in writing

by a Pensioner to receive any benefits due and payable upon the death of the

Pensioner under the terms of Article V hereof.” (Id., PageID #198.) And a “Pensioner”

is “a person to whom benefits are being paid.” (Id., PageID #204.)

The Administrator determined that Hill did not accrue benefits and never paid

him any. Therefore, he did not become a “Pensioner” within the meaning of the Plan.

For this reason, Defendant’s decision not to pay benefits to Plaintiff as his father’s

beneficiary is not arbitrary or capricious. Because Plaintiff is not entitled to benefits

as a beneficiary, his argument that the futility exception excuses his failure to

exhaust administrative remedies on his first claim is moot.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Court GRANTS Defendant’s Motion for Judgment on

the Administrative Record (ECF No. 18), DENIES Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment

on the Administrative Record (ECF No. 17), and DIRECTS the Clerk to enter

judgment accordingly.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: January 24, 2024

J. Philip Calabrese

United States District Judge

Northern District of Ohio

12

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.