Opinion

Geiger v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, N.D. Ohio
Filed
Dec 22, 2021
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 28.0%

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISON

HENRY GEIGER, ) CASE NO. 1:20-CV-02486-CEH

)

Plaintiff, ) CARMEN E. HENDERSON

) UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

v. )

)

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, ) MEMORANDUM OPINION & ORDER

)

Defendant, )

)

This is an action by Henry Geiger (“Claimant” or “Geiger”) under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) for

judicial review of the final decision of the Commissioner of Social Security denying his application

for disability insurance benefits (“DIB”).

The parties have consented to my jurisdiction. This matter is before the Court on the

Commissioner’s motion to remand for further administrative proceedings pursuant to sentence

four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) and to enter judgment pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 58.

Claimant objects to the remand for further proceedings and requests that the matter be remanded

for an award of benefits. For the reasons set forth below, the Court GRANTS the Commissioner’s

motion IN PART and REMANDS the matter to the Commissioner for an award of benefits.

I. Procedural History

Claimant originally filed for disability on August 27, 2015. Since then, he has had three

administrative hearings, twice remanded by the Appeals Council for further proceedings. As set

forth by Claimant (and not disputed by the government) the procedural history is as follows:

Plaintiff, Henry Herbert Geiger, filed an application for disability

insurance benefits on August 27, 2015.[ ] (Tr. 559-560). He alleged

disability since December 17, 2007 due to type1 [sic] diabetes,

spinal stenosis, retinopathy, neuropathy, amputation of left index

finger, depression, neck pain, high blood pressure, muscular pain

and acute bronchitis. (Tr. 608). Mr. Geiger’s application was denied

initially and upon reconsideration. He then requested a hearing

before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”). On November 9,

2016, a hearing was held before ALJ Catherine Ma. Mr. Geiger,

represented by counsel, appeared and testified. Also making an

appearance and testifying was Kathleen Reis, vocational expert. (Tr.

243-300). On June 19, 2017, the ALJ issued a Notice of Decision –

Unfavorable. (Tr. 321-341). In a notice dated December 22, 2017,

the Appeals Council vacated the decision of the ALJ and remanded

the claim. The Appeals Council determined that the ALJ did not

articulate a basis for assigning a limited range of light work. Upon

remand, the ALJ was instructed to obtain evidence from a medical

expert to clarify the nature and severity of Mr. Geiger’s impairments

through March 31, 2010, give further consideration to Mr. Geiger’s

maximum residual functional capacity and, if necessary, obtain

supplemental evidence from a vocational expert. (Tr. 342-345).

A supplemental hearing was held on June 13, 2018 before ALJ Ma.

Mr. Geiger, represented by counsel, again appeared and testified.

Deborah Lee, vocational expert appeared and testified. Robert

Sklaroff, medical expert, appeared by telephone and testified. (Tr.

173- 242). On October 18, 2018, the ALJ issued a Notice of

Decision – Unfavorable. (Tr. 346-371). In a notice dated August 13,

2019, the Appeals Council again vacated the decision of the ALJ.

The Appeals Council determined there was an improper dialog

between the medical expert and the vocational expert. Further, the

residual functional capacity contained internally inconsistent

limitations with respect to claimant’s left upper extremity; Mr.

Geiger cannot simultaneously have “no functional use of the left

hand” while also being able to “assist the right hand with pushing,

pulling, lifting and carrying”. Additionally, the vocational expert

testified that it would take longer to become proficient in unskilled

jobs when considering the left upper extremity restrictions. The

Appeals Council noted that it is unclear how allowing more time to

learn the job than contemplated under the Dictionary of

Occupational Titles is not an accommodation. The ALJ did not

resolve the conflicts between the vocational expert testimony and

the information contained in the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

Upon remand, the ALJ was instructed to give further consideration

to Mr. Geiger’s maximum residual functional capacity and provide

rationale with specific references to evidence of record in support of

the assessed limitations and obtain supplemental evidence from a

vocational expert to clarify the effect of the limitations on Mr.

Geiger’s occupational base. As the case was previously remanded

to the same ALJ, the Appeals Council directed the case be assigned

to a different ALJ. (Tr. 374-376).

Pursuant to the Appeals Council remand order, a supplemental

hearing was held December 3, 2019 before ALJ Susan Guiffre. Mr.

Geiger, represented by counsel, appeared and testified. Daniel

Simone, vocational expert, also made an appearance and testified.

(Tr. 145- 172). On December 23, 2019, the ALJ issued a Notice of

Decision – Unfavorable. (Tr. 112-139). In a notice dated September

18, 2020, the Appeals Council declined to review the decision of the

ALJ. (Tr. 101-106). The ALJ’s decision of December 23, 2019

thereby became the final decision of the Commissioner.

Dissatisfied with that decision and having exhausted all of his

administrative remedies, Mr. Geiger now brings this appeal before

the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio to

determine whether the Commissioner’s decision is supported by

substantial evidence.

(ECF No. 16 at 1-3).

Following the last hearing, ALJ determined that “[t]hrough the date last insured, the

claimant had the following severe impairments: amputation of the left finger, fracture of the left

arm, and degenerative joint disease and degenerative disc disease of the cervical and lumbosacral

spine (20 CFR 404.1520(c)).” (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 206). The ALJ found that Claimant had the

residual functional capacity (“RFC”) “to perform light work as defined in 20 CFR 404.1567(b)

except he could have never climbed ladders, ropes and scaffolds, could only have crawled

frequently, and could have only used the left hand occasionally for grasping but not fingering.”

(ECF No. 15, PageID #: 212-213). Ultimately, the ALJ found that a significant number of jobs

exist in the national economy that the Claimant can perform considering his age, education, work

experience, and RFC. (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 215).

On appeal to this Court, Claimant raised two issues for review:

1. At step five, the ALJ found that Mr. Geiger is capable of

performing a significant number of jobs in the national

economy. This finding is unsupported by substantial

evidence because the ALJ’s residual functional capacity

finding does not adequately consider the opinions of the

medical sources of record.

2. At step two, the ALJ found that Mr. Geiger’s mental

impairment is nonsevere. This finding is unsupported by

substantial evidence when the evidence demonstrates that

Mr. Geiger’s mental impairment significantly impairs his

ability to relate to others.

(ECF No. 16 at 1).

At issue here is the ALJ’s analysis of the opinion provided by Dr. Robert Sklaroff who

opined that Claimant’s left hand was not functional. Dr. Sklaroff testified “that the hand is not

functional, relative to grip strength and apposition of index finger tip to the third finger tip,

notwithstanding the amputation and all the other limits -- in other words, he can't compensate with

the fourth or the fifth fingers either.” (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 302). And that “the crush injury to

Mr. Geiger’s hand knocked out using the hand in any meaningful way which is mutually exclusive

of otherwise being able to compensate and engage in ADLs.” (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 302). Dr.

Sklaroff stated, “right hand, okay. Left hand, not functional, period.” (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 307).

Dr. Sklaroff clarified that no functioning of the left hand means no handling, fingering or feeling.

(ECF No. 15, PageID #: 317). The ALJ gave Dr. Sklaroff’s opinion “great weight” but failed to

include the severe limitations to Claimant’s left hand in the RFC. Specifically, the ALJ stated:

At the hearing, the undersigned also received the testimony of

an impartial medical expert, Robert B. Sklaroff M.D. Dr.

Sklaroff testified that the record supports the finding of the

impairments noted above, and would limit him to lift and/or carry

50 lbs. occasionally, 25 lbs. frequently; stand and/or walk for about

6 hours in an 8-hour workday; sit for about 6 hours in an 8-hour

workday; and can push and/or pull as much as he can lift and/or

carry; and no extreme temperatures, fumes, or dust (Hearing

Testimony). The medical expert testified under oath and was

subject to cross-examination at hearing. Dr. Sklaroff has an

applicable medical specialty and is Board Certified in Internal

Medicine (Exhibit 23F). He also has specialized Social Security

disability program knowledge and experience serving as

independent, objective, neutral and impartial medical expert

evaluating Social Security disability cases. Dr. Sklaroff personally

reviewed the entire medical record including the most up to date

medical exhibits and offered a thorough analysis of the medical

evidence pertinent to his medical expertise. Dr. Sklaroff offered an

insightful and persuasive explanation in support of his medical

opinion. Lastly, his medical opinions are consistent with the record

as a whole. The undersigned gives great weight to Dr. Sklaroff’s

opinion as his medical opinions are generally consistent with the

medical evidence of record and the record as a whole to the

extent reflected in the residual functional capacity assessed

above. However, the undersigned notes the evidence does not

support limitations to exposure to extreme temperatures, fumes,

or dust supported by the claimant’s admission of improvement

following the doctor’s testimony.

(ECF No. 15, PageID #: 214). The Commissioner agrees that the ALJ improperly analyzed Dr.

Sklaroff’s testimonial opinion but argues that the matter should be remanded for de novo review

and a new decision by an ALJ. Claimant states that there is no question of fact that needs to be

determined and, thus, this Court should remand for an award of benefits. The Court agrees with

Claimant.

II. Law and Analysis

A district court may reverse the decision of the Commissioner and remand for an award of

benefits “only if all essential factual issues have been resolved and the record adequately

establishes a plaintiff’s entitlement to benefits.” Faucher v. Secretary of Health and Human

Services, 17 F.3d 171, 176 (6th Cir. 1994) (citations omitted). “A judicial award of benefits is

proper only where the proof of disability is overwhelming or where the proof of disability is strong

and evidence to the contrary is lacking.” Id. (citing Mowery v. Heckler, 771 F.2d. 966, 973 (6th

Cir. 1985)).

The extent of Claimant’s functional use of his left hand is no longer a question of fact. The

Commissioner’s suggestion that there is conflicting evidence regarding Claimant’s functional use

of his left hand is not well taken. In support of remanding for further proceedings, the

Commissioner states: “There have been multiple hearings with conflicting views on whether

accommodating Dr. Sklaroff’s opinion would preclude Plaintiff from working. One vocational

expert testified that he could still perform work with no functional use of the left hand, while

another indicated that he could not. (Tr. 170, 224, 230, 232). The ALJ also pointed out that the

claimant could drive and do light housework, which indicates some ability to use the left hand.

(Tr. 120, 125).” (ECF No. 18 at 1-2). Although there is evidence that Claimant continued to engage

in driving, light housework, laundry, and preparation of light meals (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 949),

there is no evidence that he performed any of those functions with his left hand. In fact, the

evidence supports that Claimant’s only “use” of his left hand is to assist in bracing his right. (See

ECF No. 15, PageID #: 215).

The evidence supports Dr. Sklaroff’s opinion that Claimant has no functional use of his

left hand. In July 2008, Dr. Purohit opined that Claimant may “perhaps” be capable of some type

of sedentary job with minimal use of the left hand (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 986), but further

explained that Claimant could return to a job “with modifications so he does not have to use his

left hand” (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 987). This opinion followed Dr. Purohit’s assessment that

Claimant “had sustained a crushing injury to his left hand and index finger in a severely

comminuted fracture with no viability of the tissues, so they had to perform a re-amputation of the

second finger of the left hand…he also had comminuted fractures of the distal phalanx of the

thumb and laceration of the thumb…he has a functional thumb…[t]he third finger has developed

an ankylosis.” (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 985). In April 2009, Dr. Kovesdi recommended that

Claimant not use his left hand at all. (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 960). This recommendation followed

Dr. Kovesdi’s review of the medical records and an examination of Claimant from which he

assessed:

Examination of his left wrist reveals crepitus at the distal radioulnar

joint with 70 degrees of active supination and active pronation.

He has multiple well-healed scars on the dorsum and the palm

of the left band with the second metacarpal ray resection and the

complete amputation of the index finger. There is tenderness

along those radial-sided scars. His thumb movement is otherwise

within normal limits and comfortable. He has aokylosis of the

middle finger/long finger/third finger at the PIP joint at 60

degrees without swelling and otherwise with grossly intact

circulatory and neurological findings to the 3 remaining digits. He

has normal flexion and extension of the ring finger and the fifth digit

without swelling. He can grip with those two fingers, but his pinch

with the third finger and the thumb is difficult due to the ankylosis

of the long digit.

(ECF No. 15, PageID #: 959). In March 2010, Dr. Flanagan opined that Claimant has total loss of

use of his left hand for all practical purposes. (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 935). During Dr. Flanagan’s

examination of Claimant, “[t]wo and three finger pinch grips were attempted by Mr. Geiger is

unable to approximate his thumb to the middle finger of his left hand.” (ECF No. 15, PageID #

935). Dr. Flanagan explained:

It is my opinion based upon the allowed condition of 927.20

crushing injury of hand, left, and 886.0 amputation of the left second

finger, in addition to the limitation of motion found on my

examination of the left hand, that Mr. Geiger has total loss of use of

the left hand for all practicable purposes. His left index finger is

surgically absent. He has very significant limitation of motion of

the left thumb. He has less significant limitation of motion in the

left middle finger. His grip strength is moderately severely reduced

in the left hand. He is unable to perform a pinch-type maneuver.

Therefore, it is my opinion that he does indeed have total permanent

loss of use of the left hand to such a degree that the affected body

part is useless for all practicable purposes.

(ECF No. 15, PageID #: 935).

Based on an examination of the record evidence and the medical expert opinions, the Court

agrees with Claimant that “all factual issues have been resolved” Faucher, 17 F.3d. at 176, and

that proof of Claimant’s total and permanent loss of use of his left hand is overwhelming.

The Court further finds that the record adequately establishes that Claimant is entitled to

benefits. Claimant correctly states that the vocational experts support that there are no jobs

available for an individual with Claimant’s limitations should those limitations include no use of

his left hand. Two vocational experts, from Claimant’s first and third hearings, testified that with

no functional use of his left hand, there would be no jobs available in the national economy for

Claimant to perform. (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 259, 387-388). As Commissioner points out, one

vocational expert, from Claimant’s second hearing, identified jobs outside of the DOT (ECF No.

15, PageID #: 319); however, that same vocational expert conceded that it would take a one-handed

person longer to become proficient at the jobs identified (ECF No. 15, PageID #: 328-329). The

Appeals Council considered this testimony and noted that it is unclear how allowing more time to

learn the job than contemplated under the DOT is not an accommodation. (ECF No. 15, PageID #:

464). If the employer would have to provide extra time only to the hypothetical individual, that is

the definition of an accommodation. According to Social Security Ruling 11-2p when determining

whether an individual can do other work which exists in the national economy, the Social Security

agency does not consider whether the individual could do the work with an accommodation. (ECF

No. 15, PageID #: 464). The Appeals Council then remanded the matter to a new ALJ with specific

instructions to “[o]btain supplemental evidence from a vocational expert to clarify the effect of the

assessed limitations on the claimant’s occupational base (Social Security Ruling 83-14).” (ECF

No. 15, PageID #: 465).

Thus, two vocational experts have concluded that if Claimant has no functional use of his

left hand, then there would be no jobs in the national economy for him to perform. A third

vocational expert opined that jobs would exist, but only with an accommodation — which is not

allowed for consideration.

Because there is no material conflicting evidence in regard to the severity of Claimant’s

left hand impairments and the record adequately establishes that Claimant is entitled to benefits,

the case must be remanded to the Commissioner for an award of benefits pursuant to sentence four

of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

HI. Conclusion

The Commissioner’s decision is REVERSED, and this matter is REMANDED for an

award of benefits pursuant to sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Faucher, 17 F.3d. at 176.

A Judgment Entry will be separately published.

IT IS SO ORDERED

Dated: December 22, 2021

s/ Carmen E. Henderson

CARMEN E. HENDERSON

U.S. MAGISTRATE JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.