Opinion

Mieczkowski v. Kijakazi

Court
District Court, E.D. New York
Filed
Jan 10, 2024
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 26.8%

“[T]he social security ALJ, unlike a judge in a trial, must on behalf of all claimants . . . affirmatively develop the record in light of the essentially non-adversarial nature of a benefits proceeding.”

How later courts described this case

  • “[T]he social security ALJ, unlike a judge in a trial, must on behalf of all claimants . . . affirmatively develop the record in light of the essentially non-adversarial nature of a benefits proceeding.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT 3:42 pm, Jan   10, 2024

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

---------------------------------------------------------X U.S. DISTRICT   COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

MARY MIECZKOWSKI,

LONG ISLAND OFFICE

Plaintiff, MEMORANDUM

OF DECISION &

-against- ORDER

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, 23-CV-896 (GRB)

Defendant.

---------------------------------------------------------X

GARY R. BROWN, United States District Judge:

Once again, plaintiff Mary Mieczkowski seeks review of a decision of the Commissioner

of Social Security that she is not disabled for purposes of receiving benefits under Title II of the

Social Security Act. This matter has been pending since 2015, when plaintiff filed for benefits

for a “closed period” of disability. After the Commissioner denied her application, she had a

hearing before Administrative Law Judge Andrew S. Weiss. His denial was ultimately appealed

to the Honorable Joan M. Azrack. Confronted with the specter of district court review, the

Government, ably represented by an Assistant United States Attorney, conceded error, as ALJ

Weiss’s decision was indefensible, and the parties litigated over the appropriate scope of a

remand. Mieczkowski v. Saul, No. 18-CV-5224 (JMA), 2020 WL 7024380, at *3 (E.D.N.Y.

Nov. 30, 2020) (noting that as “the Commissioner concedes, the ALJ’s decision was flawed in

several respects”). Judge Azrack, in her typically thoughtful manner, carefully evaluated the

claims and arguments in connection with the appropriate contours of a consensual remand,

issuing an opinion remanding the case for further proceedings, while denying plaintiff’s

1

application for a remand for calculation of benefits. Familiarity with Judge Azrack’s decision,

incorporated herein by reference, is assumed.1

At plaintiff’s request, Judge Azrack also carefully weighed the factors used to determine

whether the remand should include a direction to assign the matter to a different ALJ. On

balance, Judge Azrack, providing the defendant with the benefit of the doubt, found that “there

[was] no indication that the ALJ will not apply the appropriate legal standard on remand in

accordance with this Order.” Id. at 5.

Now, more than three years later, this case is again before this Court, with the plaintiff

arguing that ALJ Weiss, who committed several errors in the initial decision and held the post-

remand hearing, has essentially repeated the same errors of law and added some further

problems. And, essentially, she’s correct. Since the remand, ALJ Weiss held a hearing—a term

which is generous in this context—at which he received testimony solely from a vocational

expert.2 Notwithstanding that the ALJ provided that expert with hypotheticals that gravely

misstate the record,3 the vocational expert repeatedly opined that plaintiff could not perform her

former work as a police officer (which had, the ALJ acknowledged, been misclassified as light

duty work), had limitations that would “preclude competitive employment” and retained no

transferrable job skills to other employment. Tr. 360, 379–83. Nevertheless, the ALJ ignored

1 In reviewing this matter, the Court applies the frequently reiterated standards for review of denials of Social

Security disability benefits, consideration of motions for judgment on the pleadings, examination of the procedures

employed, the substantial evidence rule, deference accorded to ALJ decisions, evaluation of vocational evidence and

treating source information, all of which are discussed in Zacharopoulos v. Saul, 516 F.Supp.3d 211 (E.D.N.Y.

2021), incorporated herein by reference.

2 Revealingly, at the commencement of his inquiry of the vocational expert— the only witness called to testify at the

second hearing—ALJ Weiss stated “since we’re not going to really, a lot of this we don’t need to take the time to do

it because the record is what the record is, and it really hasn’t changed.” Docket Entry (“DE”) 8 (“Tr.”) Tr. 372.

3 Compare, e.g., Tr. 54 (including testimony and medical evidence demonstrating that plaintiff has “poor balance”),

with Tr. 378–80 (ALJ positing hypothetical indicating plaintiff had “no balancing limitations”).

2

the testimony he elicited and determined—based on illusory findings4 —that the plaintiff could

perform “the full range of light work . . . that includes the occasional use of ladders and

scaffolds.” Tr. 353. Then, the ALJ fatuously adds:

Relatively very few jobs in the national economy require ascending and descending

ladders and scaffolds. Therefore, the inability to ascend and descend ladders and

scaffolds would not significantly narrow the range of jobs an individual, including

the claimant, can perform.

Tr. 360. The appropriate response may well be “Huh?”

Yet this blatant mishandling of vocational expert information pales in comparison to ALJ

Weiss’s failure to consider the Court’s directives in connection with medical expert testimony.

His initial determination relied heavily on the testimony of a physician, whom the ALJ

incorrectly identifies as “Dr. Stephen Golub, an impartial medical expert”5 to whose testimony

he accorded “good weight.” Tr. 15. No one by that name testified in the hearing; the record

suggests that a medical expert named Steven Alavanja provided expert medical testimony. Tr.

38, 62.

Irrespective of the doctor’s name, however, as Judge Azrack noted, and the

Commissioner conceded, the single substantive answer provided by the medical expert “did not

address the severity of Plaintiff’s impairments nor did he opine as to Plaintiff’s RFC.”

Mieczkowski, 2020 WL 7024380, at *4. Judge Azrack thus concluded that ALJ Weiss’s

“analysis does not provide support for why Dr. Golub was entitled to more weight than the

4 The testimony elicited and medical records reviewed during the initial hearing revealed that the plaintiff had, at

best, very poor balance.

5 ALJ Weiss has relied on a Dr. Steven Golub in at least one other case before this Court. Murphy v. Berryhill, No.

17-CV-0916 (JMA), 2019 WL 1075605, at *3-4 (E.D.N.Y. Mar. 7, 2019). There, too, Judge Azrack found that ALJ

Weiss relied upon an insufficient medical expert opinion. Id. at 7-8.

3

sources who examined Plaintiff. In fact, Dr. Golub did not appear to have offered any opinion at

all.” Id.

Undeterred by the concession of error by the Commissioner and Judge Azrack’s express

findings, ALJ Weiss, once again, bases his determination in some measure on the non-existent

opinion provided by the apparently non-existent (in this case) Dr. Golub. Tr. 358 (summarizing

the “testimony by Dr. Steven Golub, M.D.”). As Judge Azrack noted, the medical expert

testimony, due to the ALJ’s truncated inquiry of the witness, was not an opinion at all. Yet ALJ

Weiss continued to draw support from that testimony as a supposed basis to discredit

information from treating sources. Id. ALJ Weiss failed to develop the record any further

regarding plaintiff’s medical evidence, and the only evidence elicited related to vocational

capacity, which, as discussed, appeared to support a finding of disability. ALJ Weiss, through

thinly-veiled machinations, disregarded this evidence. As Judge Azrack held, “at step five, the

Commissioner must demonstrate ‘there is work in the national economy that the claimant can

do.’” Mieczkowski, 2020 WL 7024380, at *2 (quoting Poupore v. Astrue, 566 F.3d 303, 306 (2d

Cir. 2009)). Plainly, the Commissioner failed in this regard.

The slapdash nature of the review provided by ALJ Weiss—in which he misidentified the

purportedly critical medical expert witness and continued to rely on that “opinion” despite Judge

Azrack’s rejection of the same—is echoed in the quality of the representation of the

Commissioner on this appeal. For example, in its papers, counsel for the Commissioner

repeatedly uses the wrong pronouns to refer to the plaintiff. See, e.g., DE 15-1 at 8-9 (repeatedly

referencing plaintiff as “he”); DE 15-2 at 3-5 (same). Such scrivener’s errors could be simple

mistakes, but may also reflect a careless, cut-and-paste creation of filings.

4

What’s more troubling, however, is the failure of counsel to exercise reasoned discretion

in this case. During the first review of this case before Judge Azrack, the Commissioner was

represented by an Assistant U.S. Attorney for this district, who exercised the good sense and

judgment to concede error as to ALJ Weiss’s mistakes. Here, the record is inarguably worse, as

rather than correct the errors identified by Judge Azrack, ALJ Weiss perpetuated and

compounded the mistakes. And yet, substitute counsel for the Commissioner, a cross-designated

agency attorney, refused to acknowledge any error.6 Instead, in the filings, the Commissioner

has the temerity to request that this Court conduct “a searching review of the record” to correct

the “the absence of an express discussion by the ALJ” of relevant factors. DE 15-1 at 18. While

recognizing that it has the discretion to do so, perhaps unsurprisingly, the Court will decline

counsel’s invitation.7 Thus, the case must be remanded.

6 Relatedly, though plaintiff forcefully argues that ALJ “Weiss has repeatedly been criticized” for erroneous

decision-making, see, e.g., DE 14-2 at 4 (citing Ianazzi v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 20-CV-04366 (KAM), 2022 WL

4386835, at *6 (E.D.N.Y. Sept. 22, 2022); Van Dyne v. Saul, No. 20-CV-260 (MKB), 2021 WL 1210460, at *16

(E.D.N.Y. Mar. 31, 2021); Grabel v. Berryhill, No. CV-18-1154 (ADS)(ARL), 2019 WL 4395176, at *11-12

(E.D.N.Y. Aug. 27, 2019), report and recommendation adopted, 2019 WL 4393672 (E.D.N.Y. Sept. 13, 2019);

Ingrassia v. Colvin, 239 F.Supp.3d 605, 625–26 (E.D.N.Y. 2017); Karki v. Colvin, No. 13-CV-06395 (SLT), 2017

WL 728225, at *16-17 (E.D.N.Y. Feb. 23, 2017); Prochaska v. Colvin, No. 13-CV-02270 (FB), 2014 WL 1315366,

at *7 (E.D.N.Y. Mar. 28, 2014); and Romanelli v. Astrue, No. CV-11-4908 (DLI), 2013 WL 1232341, at *8

(E.D.N.Y. Mar. 26, 2013)), counsel for the Commissioner fails to respond. In fact, though afforded the opportunity,

the Commissioner did not even file a responsive brief.

7 These litigative failures may well be related to the Commissioner’s representational choices. AUSAs assigned to

this district’s Civil Division, who answer to the United States Attorney, have traditionally served an important

ameliorative gatekeeping function in civil litigation, often counseling client agencies to adopt less adversarial and

more balanced positions in appropriate circumstances. In this instance, this function has been “outsourced” to an

attorney employed by the agency but cross-designated as a Special Assistant U.S. Attorney, a practice that seems to

have increased in recent years. This Court has observed that, in at least certain instances, cross-designated agency

counsel have repeatedly and unapologetically taken indefensible positions in social security disability cases, even in

the face of judicial criticism. See, e.g., Piorkowski v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 21-CV-5479 (GRB), 2022 WL

17824052, at *4 (E.D.N.Y. Dec. 20, 2022) (ALJ ignored repeated directives of Court’s remand order); Wagner v.

Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 620 F. Supp. 3d 3, 6 (E.D.N.Y. 2022) (ALJ finding disability applicant could work as a theater

matron or in photo film developing); Kiiroja v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 525 F. Supp. 3d 412 (E.D.N.Y. 2021) (“once

again, the Commissioner inappropriately considered vocational evidence that is fundamentally unreliable, and the

ALJ misapplied the standards relating to such evidence”); Menard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 520 F. Supp. 3d 294, 296

(E.D.N.Y. 2021) (ALJ conducted “an amateur review of MRI findings”). Unfortunately, this is merely a small

sampling, and there are others.

5

Having said that, two questions remain. The first is whether to direct the assignment of a

new ALJ on remand. Unlike the situation before Judge Azrack, it is no longer the case that

“there is no indication that the ALJ will not apply the appropriate legal standard on remand.”

Mieczkowski, 2020 WL 7024380, at *5. Now, the opposite is true. Even in the glare of the

remand by Judge Azrack, ALJ Weiss took no steps to correct his errors and abdicated his

responsibility to fully develop the record. See Moran v. Astrue, 569 F.3d 108, 112 (2d Cir. 2009)

(“[T]he social security ALJ, unlike a judge in a trial, must on behalf of all claimants . . .

affirmatively develop the record in light of the essentially non-adversarial nature of a benefits

proceeding.”); see also 20 C.F.R. § 404.1512(b). Therefore, the matter must be assigned to a

different ALJ on remand.

The second issue raised by plaintiff’s counsel is whether the matter should simply be

remanded for calculation of benefits. This represents a much closer question. “Remand for

benefits calculation ‘is appropriate when the record[ ] provide[s] persuasive evidence of total

disability that render[s] any further proceedings pointless.’” Beirouti v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec.,

No. 20-CV-5006 (GRB), 2021 WL 6037594, at *3 (E.D.N.Y. Dec. 21, 2021) (quoting Stacey v.

Comm’r., 799 F. App’x. 7, 11 (2d Cir. 2020)). That is not the case here.8 Generally speaking,

“absent a finding that the claimant was actually disabled, delay alone is an insufficient basis on

which to remand for benefits.” Rivera-Maysonet v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 18-CV-1142

(FPG), 2020 WL 813306, at *6 (W.D.N.Y. Feb. 19, 2020) (quoting Bush v. Shalala, 94 F.3d 40,

46 (2d Cir. 1996)). At the same time, “[i]nexcusable delay, like the decade-long proceeding in

this case, further weighs in favor of a remand for calculation of benefits.” Piorkowski v. Comm’r

8 To be clear, the testimony elicited at the second hearing from the vocational expert seems to support a finding of

disability. However, the scattershot, contrived questioning by the ALJ muddies the issue.

6

of Soc. Sec., No. 21-CV-5479 (GRB), 2022 WL 17824052, at *4 (E.D.N.Y. Dec. 20, 2022).

Here, that the plaintiff is seeking benefits for a very limited closed period, and had previously

retired with a full police pension, helps mitigate the otherwise intolerable delays caused by the

ALJ’s intransigence. Therefore, on balance, the application to remand for calculation of benefit

is denied.

As a result, the Court will, once again, remand this case for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion, and direct that the case be assigned to a different ALJ.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: Central Islip, New York

January 10, 2024

/s/ Gary R. Brown

GARY R. BROWN

United States District Judge

7

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.