explaining that New York courts “allow[] an insurer to refuse or withdraw a defense if evidence extrinsic . . . ‘unrelated to the merits of plaintiff’s action[,] plainly take the case outside the policy coverage’” (citation omitted)
How later courts described this case
- explaining that New York courts “allow[] an insurer to refuse or withdraw a defense if evidence extrinsic . . . ‘unrelated to the merits of plaintiff’s action[,] plainly take the case outside the policy coverage’” (citation omitted)
- “The narrower duty to indemnify arises only if the claim for which the insured has been judged liable lies within the policy’s coverage.” (quoting Allianz Ins. Co. v. Lerner, 416 F.3d 109, 115 (2d Cir. 2005))
- considering undisputed extrinsic evidence that did not overlap with the merits inquiry of the underlying action in evaluating duty to defend
- “[W]here an insurance policy is restricted to liability for any bodily injury ‘caused, in whole or in part,’ by the ‘acts or omissions’ of the named insured, the coverage applies to injury proximately caused the named insured.”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
---------------------------------------------------------------
THE TRAVELERS INDEMNITY COMPANY,
Plaintiff,
MEMORANDUM & ORDER
v. 21-CV-1089 (MKB)
HARLEYSVILLE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Defendant.
---------------------------------------------------------------
HARLEYSVILLE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Third-Party Plaintiff,
v.
SELECTIVE INSURANCE COMPANY OF THE
SOUTHEAST,
Third-Party Defendant.
---------------------------------------------------------------
MARGO K. BRODIE, United States District Judge:
Plaintiff Travelers Indemnity Company commenced the above-captioned action against
Defendant Harleysville Insurance Company on March 1, 2021, seeking (1) a declaration that
Harleysville is obligated to defend and indemnify nonparty Prismatic Development Corp
(“Prismatic”) in connection with a lawsuit in the Supreme Court of the State of New York,
County of Kings (the “Underlying Action”); and (2) a declaration that Harleysville is obligated
to reimburse Plaintiff for the defense costs Plaintiff has paid on behalf of Prismatic. (Compl.,
Docket Entry No. 1.) On September 22, 2021, Harleysville filed a third-party complaint against
Third-Party Defendant Selective Insurance Company of the Southeast (“Selective”). (Third-
Party Compl., Docket Entry No. 12.) On February 9, 2022, Harleysville filed an Amended
Third-Party Complaint against Selective seeking declarations that (1) Selective’s commercial
general liability insurance policy affords primary and non-contributory coverage to Prismatic for
the claims at issue in the Underlying Action; (2) coverage afforded to Prismatic by Harleysville’s
commercial general liability policy is excess to all other valid and collectable insurance available
to Prismatic; and (3) Selective is obligated to reimburse Plaintiff for attorneys’ fees,
disbursements, and expenses incurred defending Prismatic in the Underlying Action without
contribution from Harleysville. (Am. Third-Party Compl., Docket Entry No. 23.)
The parties cross-move for summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56.1 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure.1 For the reasons set forth below, the Court (1) grants Plaintiff’s partial
motion for summary judgment, (2) grants Selective’s motion for summary judgment, and (3)
denies Harleysville’s motion for summary judgment.
1 (Pl.’s Notice of Mot. for Summ. J. (“Pl.’s Mot.”), Docket Entry No. 47; Pl.’s Mem. in
Supp. of Pl.’s Mot. (“Pl.’s Mem.”), Docket Entry No. 47-1; Pl.’s Reply in Supp. of Pl.’s Mot.
(“Pl.’s Reply”), Docket Entry No. 48; Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Mem. in Opp’n to Pl.’s Mot.
(“Def.’s Opp’n”), Docket Entry No. 56-11; Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Notice of Mot. for Summ.
J. (“Def.’s Mot.”), Docket Entry No. 53; Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Mem. in Supp. of Def.’s Mot.
(“Def.’s Mem.”), Docket Entry No. 53-26; Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Reply in Supp. of Def.’s
Mot. (“Def.’s Reply”), Docket Entry No. 55-3; Pl.’s Mem. in Opp’n to Def.’s Mot. (“Pl.’s Opp’n
Mem.”), Docket Entry No. 49; Third-Party Def.’s Mem. in Opp’n to Def.’s Mot. (“Third-Party
Def.’s Opp’n Mem.”), Docket Entry No. 50; Third-Party Def.’s Notice of Mot. for Summ. J.
(“Third-Party Def.’s Mot.”), Docket Entry No. 45; Third-Party Def.’s Mem. in Supp. of Third-
Party Def.’s Mot. (“Third-Party Def.’s Mem.”), Docket Entry No. 45-32; Third-Party Def.’s
Reply in Supp. of Third-Party Def.’s Mot. (“Third-Party Def.’s Reply”), Docket Entry No. 46;
Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Mem. in Opp’n to Third-Party Def.’s Mot. (“Def.’s Opp’n to Third-
Party Def.”), Docket Entry No. 57-4.)
I. Background
The following facts are undisputed unless otherwise noted.2
a. Insurance policies
i. Plaintiff’s insurance policy
Plaintiff “issued a policy providing Prismatic . . . with commercial general liability and
employee benefits liability coverage . . . for the policy period of June 10, 2016 to June 10, 2017
(the ‘Travelers Policy’).” (Pl.’s 56.1 ¶ 1.) “Subject to certain terms and conditions, the
Travelers Policy provides coverage for bodily injury that takes place during the policy period and
is caused by an accident.” (Id. ¶ 2.) The policy’s “‘other insurance’ provision provid[es] that
coverage under the Travelers Policy is ‘excess over any of the other insurance, whether primary,
excess, contingent or on any other basis, that is available to the insured when the insured is
added as an additional insured under any other policy, including any umbrella or excess policy.’”
(Id. ¶ 3.)
ii. Harleysville’s insurance policy
Harleysville issued a commercial general liability policy to CDE Air Conditioning Co.
(“CDE”) for the policy period of December 1, 2016, to December 1, 2017 (“Harleysville
Policy”), (id. ¶ 4; Def.’s 56.1 Resp. ¶ 4), which “provides coverage for bodily injury that takes
2 (Pl.’s Stmt. of Undisputed Facts Pursuant to Local Civ. Rule 56.1 (“Pl.’s 56.1”),
Docket Entry No. 47-2; Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Response to Pl.’s 56.1 & Stmt. of Additional
Material Facts (“Def.’s 56.1 Resp.”), Docket Entry No. 56-12; Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Stmt. of
Material Facts Pursuant to Local Rule 56.1 (“Def.’s 56.1”), Docket Entry No. 53-25; Pl.’s
Response to Def.’s Rule 56.1 Counterstatement of Additional Material Facts (“Pl.’s 56.1 Resp.”),
Docket Entry No. 49-1; Third-Party Def.’s Rule 56.1 Stmt. of Undisputed Facts (“Third-Party
Def.’s 56.1”), Docket Entry No. 45-33; Def.’s / Third-Party Pl.’s Response to Third-Party Def.’s
56.1 and Stmt. of Additional Material Facts (“Def.’s Third-Party 56.1 Resp.”), Docket Entry No.
57-5; Third-Party Def.’s Response to Def.’s 56.1 (“Third-Party Def.’s 56.1 Response”), Docket
Entry No. 51; Third-Party Def.’s Response to Def.’s 56.1 Response, Docket Entry No. 46-1.)
place during the policy period and is caused by an accident,” (Pl.’s 56.1 ¶ 5). The Harleysville
Policy’s “additional insured” provision provides as follows:
ADDITIONAL INSURED – OWNERS, LESSEES OR
CONTRACTORS – AUTOMATIC STATUS WHEN REQUIRED
IN CONSTRUCTION AGREEMENT WITH YOU
This endorsement modifies insurance provided under the following:
COMMERCIAL GENERAL LIABILITY COVERAGE PART
A. Section II – Who Is An Insured is amended to include as
an insured any person or organization for whom you are
performing operations only as specified under a written
contract (for purposes of this endorsement referred to as the
“written contract”) that requires that such person or
organization be added as an additional insured on your
policy. Such person or organization is an additional insured
only with respect to liability caused, in whole or in part, by
the acts or omissions of the “Named Insured”, or those acting
on behalf of the “Named Insured”, in the performance of the
“Named Insured’s” ongoing operations for the additional
insured only as specified under the “written contract”. A
person’s or organization’s status as an insured under this
endorsement ends when your on-going operations for that
insured are completed.
. . . .
D. Other Insurance
1. If specifically required by the written contract or
agreement referenced in Paragraph A. above, any
coverage provided by this endorsement to an
additional insured shall be primary and any other
valid and collectible insurance available to the
additional insured shall be non-contributory with this
insurance. If the written contract does not require
this coverage to be primary and the additional
insured’s coverage to be non-contributory, then this
insurance will be excess over any other valid and
collectible insurance available to the additional
insured.
2. Even if the requirements of paragraph 1 are met
establishing this coverage as primary and the
additional insured’s coverage as being non-
contributory, this coverage shall share with other
insurance available to the additional insured which is
conferred onto said person or organization by a
separate additional insured endorsement.
(Harleysville Policy Part 1 of 3, at 72–73, annexed to Decl. of Amy Gross in Supp. of Pl.’s Mot.
(“Gross Decl.”) as Ex. B, Docket Entry No. 47-6.)
iii. Prismatic and CDE’s contracts
“On or about May 8, 2014, Prismatic, as a general contractor, entered into a subcontract
with CDE (the ‘Construction Subcontract’) pursuant to which CDE was to perform work for a
construction project at the Southwest Brooklyn Marine Transfer Station (the ‘Project’).” (Pl.’s
56.1 ¶ 7.) The Construction Subcontract required CDE to “take out pay for and carry policies of
contingent liability insurance and general liability insurance . . . relating to compensation for
accidental injuries or death suffered in the course of employment.” (CDE Contract ¶ 19.A,
annexed to Gross Decl. as Ex. D, Docket Entry No. 47-10.) The Construction Subcontract
declared that “[a]ll insurance policies shall be comprehensive in form and so drawn as to fully
protect” Prismatic and CDE. (Id.) In addition, the Subcontract stated that CDE:
assumes all liability for personal injuries or damages suffered by
employees of [CDE], or the agents, servants or employees of its
subcontractors if any, or employees under its control or direction,
and for damages or injuries to any person or property through the
negligence or illegal acts of [CDE] or its agents, servants, etc., and
will indemnify, defend and save harmless [Prismatic] from any and
all claims, losses or costs which [Prismatic] may or shall sustain by
reason of such damages or injuries.
(Id.) “On or about May 16, 2014, CDE subcontracted with Blue Diamond Sheet Metal (‘Blue
Diamond’) for Blue Diamond to perform sheet metal work on the Project.” (Pl.’s 56.1 ¶ 9.) “On
or about July 21, 2014, Prismatic entered into a contract with . . . Solar Electric . . . to perform
certain electrical work at the Project.” (Third-Party Def.’s 56.1 ¶ 6.)
iv. Contract between Prismatic and Solar Electric
The July 21, 2014 contract between Prismatic and subcontractor Solar Electric provides:
A. The Subcontractor Shall take out and pay for and carry policies
of contingent liability insurance and general liability insurance . . .
relating to compensation for accidental injuries or death suffered in
the course of employment. All insurance policies shall be
comprehensive in form and so drawn as to fully protect both parties
hereto. . . .
B. Insurance Requirements
The Subcontractor shall purchase and maintain minimum insurance
of the following types of coverage and limits of liability:
1) Commercial General Liability (CGL) with limits of Insurance of
not less than $2,000,000 each occurrence and $4,000,000
Annual Aggregate.
. . . .
(c) General Contractor, Owner, and all other parties required of
the General Contractor, shall be included as insureds on the
CGL, using . . . an endorsement providing equivalent coverage
to the additional insureds. This insurance for the additional
insureds shall be as broad as the coverage provided for the
named insured subcontractor. It shall apply as Primary and non-
contributing Insurance before any other insurance or self-
insurance, including any deductible, maintained by, or provided
to, the additional insured.
(Def.’s 56.1 ¶ 5.)
v. Solar Electric’s insurance policy with Selective
Solar Electric was insured by Selective under a commercial policy package for the policy
period of October 31, 2016, to October 31, 2017 (the “Selective Policy”). (Id. ¶ 6.) The
commercial policy included a provision defining insureds under the policy. (Id. ¶ 7.) The
contract also included a provision defining additional insureds under the policy.
Blanket Additional Insureds – As Required By Contract
A. Subject to the Primary and Non-Contributory provision set
forth in this endorsement, SECTION II – WHO IS AN INSURED
is amended to include as an additional insured any person or
organization whom you have agreed in a written contract, written
agreement or written permit that such person or organization be
added as an additional insured on your policy. Such person or
organization is an additional insured only with respect to liability for
“bodily injury” or “property damage” or “personal and advertising
injury” caused, in whole or in part, by:
1. Your ongoing operations, “your product”, or premises owned or
used by you;
With respect to the insurance afforded to these additional insureds,
the following additional exclusion applies:
This insurance does not apply to:
“Bodily injury”, “property damage” or “personal and advertising
injury” arising out of the rendering of, or the failure to render, any
professional . . . services by or for you . . . .
(Selective Policy 612, annexed to Decl. of Sarah Ziolkowski in Opp’n to Pl.’s Mot. as Ex. 3,
Docket Entry No. 56-3.) In addition, the policy contained a provision defining additional
insureds:
Broad Form Venders Coverage
Subject to the Primary and Non-Contributory provision set forth
in this endorsement, SECTION II – WHO IS AN INSURED is
amended to include as an additional insured any person or
organization . . . whom you have agreed in a written contract or
written agreement to add as an additional insured on your policy.
Such person or organization is an additional insured only with
respect to “bodily injury” or “property damage” arising out of “your
products” which are distributed or sold in the regular course of the
vendor’s business, however the insurance afforded the vendor does
not apply to:
a. “Bodily injury” or “property damage” for which the vendor
is obligated to pay damages by reason of the assumption of
liability in a contract or agreement; however this exclusion
does not apply to liability for damages that the vendor would
have in the absence of the contract or agreement; . . . .
(Id. at 613.)
b. Initiation of Underlying Action and subsequent events
On December 14, 2017, Joseph Keane and Meichelle MacGregor initiated the Underlying
Action against Prismatic and Blue Diamond in the Supreme Court of the State of New York,
County of Kings. (Underlying Compl., annexed to Gross Decl. as Ex. E, Docket Entry No. 47-
11.) The complaint in the Underlying Action alleged that on or about March 22, 2017, Keane,
who was “employed by Solar Electric at the project known as the Southwest Brooklyn Marine
Transfer Station,” (id. ¶ 18), “suffered an accident while working at the . . . Marine Transfer
Station,” (id. ¶ 19), after being “struck by a piece of sheet metal and/or ductwork which fell from
the ceiling area above him as [he] was working on ground-level,” (id. ¶ 20). The complaint
further alleged that the “accident occurred because the sheet-metal and/or ductwork which fell
and struck [Keane] . . . was hoisted and/or secured in a careless, reckless, negligent and unsafe
manner,” (id. ¶ 21), resulting in Keane “sustain[ing] severe and permanent personal injuries,” (id.
¶ 22). The complaint also alleged that the accident and Keane’s injuries and damages were
“occasioned solely by virtue of the carelessness, recklessness and negligence of [Prismatic and
Blue Diamond] in the operation, supervision, maintenance and control of the aforementioned
construction project.” (Id. ¶ 23.)
In a “letter dated February 2, 2018, Prismatic notified CDE of [Keane’s] alleged accident
and requested that CDE defend and indemnify Prismatic in the Underlying Action pursuant to
the Construction Subcontract.” (Pl.’s 56.1 ¶ 13.) “On February 6, 2018, [Plaintiff] forwarded
the summons and complaint in the Underlying Action and tendered Prismatic’s defense to CDE
by letter.” (Id. ¶ 14.) In a letter from Harleysville to Prismatic dated March 5, 2018,
Harleysville denied Prismatic’s request for contractual defense and indemnification, explaining
that “there is no evidence to support that CDE caused or contributed to this incident.” (Mar. 5,
2018 Denial Letter 7, annexed to Gross Decl. as Ex. J, Docket Entry No. 47-16.) On or about
August 31, 2018, Prismatic commenced a third-party action in the Underlying Action against
CDE and Solar Electric, alleging that “it entered into a contract with Solar Electric to perform
certain work at the project and asserted claims for, inter alia, common law and contractual
indemnification.” (Def.’s 56.1 ¶ 3.)
In an email from Plaintiff to Harleysville dated December 17, 2020, Plaintiff requested
that Harleysville “reconsider its denial of additional insured status for Prismatic.” (Dec. 17 Re-
Tender Letter, annexed to Gross Decl. as Ex. K, Docket Entry No. 47-17.) In a December 22,
2020 email, Harleysville denied Plaintiff’s request. (Pl.’s 56.1 ¶ 17; Def.’s 56.1 Resp. ¶ 17.)
Plaintiff claims that it “has provided and continues to provide a defense to Prismatic in the
Underlying Action[] and has incurred associated costs.”3 (Pl.’s 56.1 ¶ 12.)
II. Discussion
a. Rule 56
Summary judgment is proper only when “there is no genuine dispute as to any material
fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a); Radwan v.
Manuel, 55 F.4th 101, 113 (2d Cir. 2022) (quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a)); Borley v. United States,
22 F.4th 75, 78 (2d Cir. 2021) (same). The court must “constru[e] the evidence in the light most
favorable to the nonmoving party,” Radwan, 55 F.4th at 113 (alteration in original) (quoting
Kuebel v. Black & Decker Inc., 643 F.3d 352, 358 (2d Cir. 2011)), and “resolve all ambiguities
and draw all permissible factual inferences in favor of the party against whom summary
judgment is sought,” Koral v. Saunders, 36 F.4th 400, 408 (2d Cir. 2022) (quoting Terry v.
3 Harleysville admits only that Plaintiff “has alleged in this lawsuit that it has provided
Prismatic with a defense in the Underlying Action.” (Def.’s 56.1 Resp. ¶ 12.)
Ashcroft, 336 F.3d 128, 137 (2d Cir. 2003)); see also Lenzi v. Systemax, Inc., 944 F.3d 97, 107
(2d Cir. 2019) (same). The role of the court “is not to resolve disputed questions of fact but only
to determine whether, as to any material issue, a genuine factual dispute exists.” Kee v. City of
New York, 12 F.4th 150, 167 (2d Cir. 2021) (quoting Kaytor v. Elec. Boat Corp., 609 F.3d 537,
545 (2d Cir. 2010)); see also Rogoz v. City of Hartford, 796 F.3d 236, 245 (2d Cir. 2015) (same).
A genuine issue of fact exists when there is sufficient “evidence on which the jury could
reasonably find for the [nonmoving party].” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 252
(1986). The “mere existence of a scintilla of evidence” is not sufficient to defeat summary
judgment. Id. The court’s function is to decide whether, “after resolving all ambiguities and
drawing all inferences in favor of the nonmovant, a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the
nonmovant.” Miller v. N.Y. State Police, No. 20-CV-3976, 2022 WL 1133010, at *1 (2d Cir. Apr.
18, 2022) (first citing Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248; then citing Garcia v. Hartford Police Dep’t,
706 F.3d 120, 127, 129 (2d Cir. 2013)); see also Pinto v. Allstate Ins. Co., 221 F.3d 394, 398 (2d
Cir. 2000) (same).
b. Duty to defend
Plaintiff moves “for partial summary judgment seeking an order that Harleysville has a
duty to defend Prismatic in the Underlying Action on a primary and non-contributory basis, and
to reimburse [Plaintiff] for its past costs in defending them.” (Pl.’s Mem. 6.) Plaintiff argues
that Harleysville is dutybound to defend Prismatic in the Underlying Action because Keane’s
“bodily injury was allegedly caused, in whole or in part by Blue Diamond, a subcontractor hired
by CDE that is named as a direct defendant” in the Underlying Action. (Id. at 7.) Plaintiff
argues that these allegations “clearly satisfy the express additional insured promise in”
Harleysville’s insurance policy, (Pl.’s Reply 2), because “that policy language provides coverage
for an additional insured where the underlying injury is proximately caused by the named insured
or by those acting on the named insured’s behalf,” (id. at 3–4). In support, Plaintiff makes
several arguments. First, “because Blue Diamond was performing work on CDE’s behalf at the
[p]roject site at the time of [Keane’s] injury, its status as a direct defendant that allegedly caused
[Keane’s] injury triggers additional insured coverage for Prismatic under the Harleysville Policy,
regardless of any allegations against CDE.” (Id. at 4; see also Pl.’s Opp’n Mem. 10.) Second,
Plaintiff argues that whether CDE allegedly caused Keane’s injuries is irrelevant. (Pl.’s Opp’n
Mem. 10.) Third, Plaintiff argues that the “other insurance” provision in its insurance coverage
policy requires Harleysville to reimburse it for expenses incurred defending Prismatic because
Harleysville’s coverage is primary to the coverage provided by Plaintiff, (Pl.’s Mem. 10–11),
and its coverage, “by contrast, is excess to that of Harleysville,” (Pl.’s Opp’n Mem. 13).
Harleysville argues that the Court should deny Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment
and grant Harleysville’s motion for summary judgment seeking dismissal of Plaintiff’s claims
because Plaintiff “has failed to satisfy its burden of demonstrating that . . . Prismatic[] is entitled
to primary, additional insurance coverage under the” Harleysville Policy. (Def.’s Opp’n 1.)
Harleysville contends “that Prismatic is neither a [n]amed [i]nsured to [Harleysville’s] policy nor
was it added by scheduled endorsement as an additional insured.” (Id. at 6.) Harleysville also
argues that the Underlying Action does not “[t]rigger coverage under the Harleysville [p]olicy”
because the complaint in the Underlying Action does not assert that “C.D.E.[] caused or
contributed to the accident in question” and is “devoid of any allegations of negligence against . .
. C.D.E.” (Id. at 8.) In addition, Harleysville argues that it has properly denied Plaintiff’s
insurance coverage request because “there ha[ve] been no allegations that Blue Diamond was
perform[ing] ‘ongoing operations’ on CDE’s behalf at the time of the alleged incident giving rise
to the accident,” thus rebutting Plaintiff’s argument that Harleysville’s policy applies because
Blue Diamond was retained by CDE and accused of negligence in the Underlying Action.
(Def.’s Reply 7–8.) Harleysville also argues that it would be “premature” for the Court to
declare that Harleysville must indemnify Prismatic in the Underlying Action since that case “is
still being litigated and there has been no finding of liability.” (Def.’s Mem. 14–15.)
In addition to opposing Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment, Harleysville contends
that Selective “is obligated to provide additional insured coverage to Prismatic and that such
coverage would be primary to any coverage this Court may determine is owed to Prismatic under
the Harleysville Policy,” (Def.’s Opp’n 9), meaning that Harleysville “does not presently have a
duty to defend or reimburse [Plaintiff] for fees allegedly incurred in the” Underlying Action,
(Def.’s Mem. 16). Harleysville argues that the allegations in the complaint in the Underlying
Action “trigger a duty to defend Prismatic under the Selective Policy, since Keane was injured
while working as an employee of Solar Electric, SELECTIVE’s named insured, at the project.”
(Def.’s Opp’n 13; see also Def.’s Opp’n to Third-Party Def. 2.) Harleysville states that Selective
erred in denying coverage to Prismatic by mistakenly concluding that the “arising out of” clause
in its policy “require[d] a finding of proximate causation for coverage to attach” when all that
was required is that “Keane’s accident was incidental to his work at the project for Solar
Electric.” (Def.’s Mem. 9.) In support, Harleysville notes that there has been no finding of fact
in the Underlying Action that would relieve Solar Electric — and therefore Selective — of
liability. (Def.’s Reply 2.) Harleysville argues that Selective’s claim that Solar Electric was not
the proximate cause of the injury alleged in the Underlying Action is “entirely speculative and
wholly insufficient to defeat its legal obligation to provide Prismatic with a defense.” (Def.’s
Opp’n to Third-Party Def. 13.) Harleysville argues that the “additional insureds” provision of
Selective’s Policy requires Selective to provide Prismatic with coverage because Keane was
employed by Solar Electric. (Def.’s Mem. 11–12.) It further argues that if the Court
“determine[s] that Prismatic is entitled to a defense as an additional insured cover[ed] under the
Harleysville Policy,” “said coverage is co-primary to that owed to Prismatic by SELECTIVE,
such that SELECTIVE should be obligated to share in reimbursing [Plaintiff] for the past defense
costs alleged[ly] incurred in the Underlying Action and share in all future costs of defending
Prismatic.” (Def.’s Reply 10.)
Selective moves for summary judgment on the grounds that its “policy make[s] clear that
it only covers Prismatic as an additional insured for bodily injury ‘caused in whole or in part by’
Solar Electric’s acts,” and Prismatic is therefore not an additional insured under Selective’s
policy as “the evidence unequivocally demonstrates that it was the acts of Blue Diamond and not
Solar Electric that caused the accident.” (Third-Party Def.’s Mem. 1.) Selective argues that its
policy does not provide for liability insurance for events “‘arising out of the operations’ of Solar
Electric” because the contract between Prismatic and Solar Electric does not require such
coverage and only provides for liability insurance for incidents “‘caused in whole or in part by’
Solar Electric’s actions.” (Id. at 12.) Selective contends that the “caused in whole or in part by”
clause in the contract between Prismatic and Solar Electric requires a finding of proximate cause
for additional insured coverage to arise. (Id. at 13–14.) Selective notes that New York courts
have not interpreted “caused in whole or in part” and “arising out of” insurance contract clauses
the same, holding that the former clause “required the named insured to have committed some
actionable deed that was a proximate cause of the loss in the underlying suit to trigger additional
insured coverage.” (Third-Party Def.’s Reply 5 (citing Burlington Ins. Co. v. NYC Transit Auth.,
29 N.Y.S.3d 313, 317 (2017)).) Selective argues that “Solar Electric was not the ‘proximate
cause’ of Keane’s injuries,” and therefore “Prismatic is not an additional insured under the
Selective [p]olicy” because the allegations in the complaint in the Underlying Action “solely”
attribute Keane’s injuries to Prismatic and Blue Diamond. (Third-Party Def.’s Mem. 14–15.) In
addition, Selective argues that “New York law is clear that Keane’s mere employment by
Selective’s named insured Solar Electric is insufficient to show the proximate cause required for
the ‘caused by’ additional insured standard.” (Third-Party Def.’s Reply 9.)
Under New York law, an insurer’s duty to defend policyholders is “exceedingly broad,”
and “broader than the . . . duty to indemnify.” Atl. Ave. Sixteen AD, Inc. v. Valley Forge Ins. Co.,
56 N.Y.S.3d 207, 209 (App. Div. 2017) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted); see
Admiral Ins. Co. v. Niagara Transformer Corp., 57 F.4th 85, 93 (2d Cir. 2023) (“[A]n insurer’s
duty to defend is . . . distinct from [its] duty to indemnify.” (quoting Euchner-USA, Inc. v.
Hartford Cas. Ins. Co., 754 F.3d 136, 140 (2d Cir. 2014))); CGS Indus., Inc. v. Charter Oak Fire
Ins. Co., 720 F.3d 71, 83 (2d Cir. 2013) (“The narrower duty to indemnify arises only if the
claim for which the insured has been judged liable lies within the policy’s coverage.” (quoting
Allianz Ins. Co. v. Lerner, 416 F.3d 109, 115 (2d Cir. 2005))). “[A]n insurer has a duty to defend
when there is a possibility that it ‘might eventually be . . . obligated to indemnify the insured
under any provision of the insurance policy.’” N. River Ins. Co. v. Leifer, No. 22-CV-1009, 2023
WL 2978970, at *1 (2d Cir. Apr. 18, 2023) (quoting GCS Indus., Inc., 720 F.3d at 82.); see also
Euchner–USA, Inc., 754 F.3d at 141 (noting that if there is even a “reasonable possibility of
coverage,” the insurer “will be called upon to provide a defense” (quoting Auto. Ins. Co. of
Hartford v. Cook, 7 N.Y.3d 131, 137 (2006)). “But ‘the insurer’s duty to defend is not an
interminable one, and will end if and when it is shown unequivocally that the damages alleged
would not be covered by the policy.’” Golden Ins. Co. v. Ingrid House LLC, No. 21-CV-1337,
2022 WL 2165252, at *3 (2d Cir. June 14, 2022) (quoting Stein v. N. Assurance Co. of Am., 617
F. App’x 28, 30 (2d Cir. 2015)).
“An insurer’s duty to defend . . . is ordinarily ascertained by comparing the allegations of
a complaint with the wording of the insurance contract.” Int’l Bus. Machs. Corp. v. Liberty Mut.
Ins. Co., 363 F.3d 137, 144 (2d Cir. 2004) (citations omitted); see also Emp’rs. Ins. Co. of
Wausau v. Northfield Ins. Co., 150 F. Supp. 3d 196, 200 (E.D.N.Y. 2015). “The duty to defend
remains ‘even though facts outside the four corners of the pleadings indicate that the claim may
be meritless or not covered.’” Euchner–USA, Inc., 754 F.3d at 140 (alterations omitted) (quoting
Auto. Ins. Co. of Hartford, 7 N.Y.3d at 137). While “[t]he New York Court of Appeals has
eschewed wooden application of the four corners of the complaint rule,” see QBE Ins. Corp. v.
Adjo Contracting Corp., 997 N.Y.S.2d 425, 440–41 (App. Div. 2014) (citations and internal
quotation marks omitted), the extrinsic evidence relied upon may not overlap with the facts at
issue in the underlying case, see City of New York v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., No. 15-CV-8220,
2017 WL 4386363, at *15 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 28, 2017) (holding that “it is a ‘settled rule [under
New York law] that extrinsic evidence can[not] be used to defeat the duty to defend . . . [unless it
is] unrelated to the merits of [the underlying] plaintiff’s action.’” (citation omitted)). See Int’l
Bus. Machs. Corp., 363 F.3d at 148 (explaining that New York courts “allow[] an insurer to
refuse or withdraw a defense if evidence extrinsic . . . ‘unrelated to the merits of plaintiff’s
action[,] plainly take the case outside the policy coverage’” (citation omitted)); Striker Sheet
Metal II Corp. v. Harleysville Ins. Co. of New York, No. 16-CV-05916, 2018 WL 654445, at *10
(E.D.N.Y. Jan. 31, 2018) (“Importantly, the issues and extrinsic evidence present are wholly
irrelevant to the principal merits of the [u]nderlying [a]ction, as required by the Second Circuit to
disclaim the duty [to defend].” (citation omitted)); Ellen S. Pryor, The Tort Liability Regime and
the Duty to Defend, 58 MD. L. REV. 1, 24 (1999) (“Most courts disallow the simultaneous
adjudication of the duty to defend on the basis of extrinsic facts when those facts overlap with
facts at issue in the tort suit.”); see also MIC Gen. Ins. Co. v. Allen, 697 F. App’x 717, 720 (2d
Cir. 2017) (considering undisputed extrinsic evidence that did not overlap with the merits inquiry
of the underlying action in evaluating duty to defend). “[A]n insurer will be called upon to
provide a defense whenever the allegations of the complaint suggest a reasonable possibility of
coverage,” Great Am. Ins. Co. v. AIG Specialty Ins. Co., No. 21-CV-1298, 2022 WL 17587851,
at *1 (2d Cir. Dec. 13, 2022) (quoting Brooklyn Ctr. for Psychotherapy, Inc. v. Phila. Indem. Ins.
Co., 955 F.3d 305, 310 (2d Cir. 2020)), but “[t]he duty to defend cannot be established through a
‘strained, implausible reading of the complaint that is linguistically conceivable but tortured and
unreasonable,’” Napoli v. Nat’l. Sur. Corp., No. 22-CV-1516, 2023 WL 2320332, at *2 (2d Cir.
Mar. 2, 2023) (quoting Century 21, Inc. v. Diamond State Ins. Co., 442 F.3d 79, 82 (2d Cir.
2006)).
i. Harleysville has a duty to defend Prismatic
The plain terms of the Harleysville Policy require Harleysville to defend Prismatic in the
Underlying Action. Harleysville provided CDE with a general commercial liability policy which
“provides coverage for bodily injury that takes place during the policy period and is caused by an
accident.” (Pl.’s 56.1 ¶¶ 4–5.) The complaint in the Underlying Action alleges that Keane
sustained personal injuries resulting from an accident which took place on March 22, 2017,
during the period of the Harleysville Policy. (See generally Underlying Compl.; id. ¶¶ 18–22.)
In addition, the “additional insured” provision of the Harleysville Policy provides coverage for
“any person or organization for whom [CDE is] performing operations only as specified under a
written contract . . . that requires that such person or organization be added as an additional
insured on [CDE’s] policy.” (Harleysville Policy Part 1 of 3, at 72.) The Construction
Subcontract between CDE and Prismatic qualifies as such a written contract, as it requires CDE
to “take out pay for and carry policies of contingent liability insurance and general liability
insurance . . . relating to compensation for accidental injuries or death suffered in the course of
employment.” (CDE Contract ¶ 19.A.) In addition, the Harleysville Policy provides that
additional insured coverage attached “with respect to liability caused, in whole or in part, by the
acts or omissions of the ‘Named Insured’, or those acting on behalf of the ‘Named Insured’, in
the performance of the ‘Named Insured’s’ ongoing operations.” (Harleysville Policy Part 1 of 3,
at 72.) Pursuant to the Construction Subcontract, Prismatic was working on behalf of CDE —
the Harleysville Policy’s “Named Insured.” As such, the allegations of wrongdoing by Prismatic
in the complaint in the Underlying Action are sufficient to trigger additional insured coverage
pursuant to the Harleysville Policy. See U.S. Specialty Ins. Co. v. Harleysville Worcester Ins.,
No. 20-CV-7961, 2021 WL 4043457, at * 9 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 3, 2021) (finding that an insurer had
a duty to defend pursuant to an additional insured provision where the plaintiff in the underlying
action was an injured construction employee of a contractor retained pursuant to a subcontract).
Accordingly, the Court grants Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment and denies
Harleysville’s motion for summary judgment on Plaintiff’s duty to defend claim.
ii. Selective is not required to defend Prismatic
Harleysville argues that if the Court concludes that “Prismatic is an additional insured
under the Harleysville Policy,” in a determination of the priority of coverage between the
Harleysville Policy and the Selective Policy, “the coverage afforded to Prismatic under the
Selective Policy would be primary to any coverage available to Prismatic under the Harleysville
Policy” because “the Selective Policy clearly and unambiguously states that it will provide
Prismatic with primary and non-contributory insurance.” (Def.’s Mem. 11–14.)
Selective argues that “if the Court were to determine that Prismatic was an additional
insured, the Selective Policy is not primary to the Harleysville Policy.” (Third-Party Def.’s
Mem. 20–21.) In support, Selective notes that both the Harleysville and Selective policies
contain additional insured coverage provisions which “purport to be excess to each other with
respect to Prismatic as an additional insured,” and would therefore “cancel each other out . . .
obligat[ing] [Harleysville and Selective] to share coverage for Prismatic.” (Id. at 23.)
Prismatic does not qualify as an additional insured pursuant to the Selective Policy, and
therefore Harleysville is solely responsible for defending Prismatic in the Underlying Action. At
the time of the alleged accident at issue in the Underlying Action, Solar Electric was insured
pursuant to the Selective Policy. (Def.’s 56.1 ¶ 6.) The Selective Policy provides for additional
insured coverage where the named insured, Solar Electric “caused in whole or in part” the
alleged injury. (Selective Policy.) This provision requires proximate cause. See Burlington Ins.
Co. v. NYC Trans. Auth., 29 N.Y.3d 313, 317 (2017) (“[W]here an insurance policy is restricted
to liability for any bodily injury ‘caused, in whole or in part,’ by the ‘acts or omissions’ of the
named insured, the coverage applies to injury proximately caused the named insured.”). The
complaint in the Underlying Action does not allege that Solar Electric was the proximate cause
of Keane’s injuries. Rather, the complaint alleged that the accident and Keane’s injuries and
damages were “occasioned solely by virtue of the carelessness, recklessness and negligence of
[Prismatic and Blue Diamond] in the operation, supervision, maintenance and control of the
aforementioned construction project.” (Underlying Compl. ¶ 23.) As such, the additional
insured coverage provisions of the Selective Policy have not been triggered by the Underlying
Action. See Pioneer Cent. Sch. Dist. v. Preferred Mut. Ins. Co., 86 N.Y.S.3d 364, 366 (App.
Div. 2018) (finding no duty to defend pursuant to an additional insured provision where the
named insured “was not responsible” for the alleged employee injury). Accordingly, the Court
grants Selective’s motion for summary judgment and denies Harleysville’s motion for summary
judgment seeking a declaration that Selective is obligated to provide Prismatic with primary,
additional insured coverage in the Underlying Action.
III. Conclusion
For the reasons stated above, the Court grants Plaintiff’s motion for partial summary
judgment and Selective’s motion for summary judgment. The Court denies Harleysville’s
motion for summary judgment.
Dated: September 14, 2023
Brooklyn, New York
SO ORDERED:
s/ MKB
MARGO K. BRODIE
United States District Judge