the duty to defend “is limited absolutely by the scope of the coverage purchased by the insured”
How later courts described this case
- the duty to defend “is limited absolutely by the scope of the coverage purchased by the insured”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
------------------------------------x
U.S. SPECIALTY INSURANCE CO.,
Plaintiff, MEMORANDUM & ORDER
20-cv-4133(EK)(PK)
-against-
HUDSON EXCESS INSURANCE CO.,
Defendant.
------------------------------------x
ERIC KOMITEE, United States District Judge:
Plaintiff U.S. Specialty Insurance Co. (“USSIC”) filed
this action in September 2020, seeking a declaration that
another insurance company — the defendant, Hudson Excess
Insurance Co. (“Hudson”) — has a duty to defend and indemnify
certain parties in a state-court action. In the state case,
Nunez v. 672 Parkside, LLC et al. (N.Y. Sup. Ct. Index No.
524820-2018), an injured construction worker is suing the owner
of a Brooklyn building and its general contractor. To date,
USSIC has been paying the defendants’ litigation costs in the
Nunez case.
USSIC now moves for partial summary judgment on
Hudson’s duty to defend (but not its duty to indemnify).
Specifically, USSIC seeks an order “(i) declaring that Hudson
has a duty to defend” certain parties in the Nunez case and
“(ii) declaring that Hudson must reimburse USSIC for the costs
incurred” to date by USSIC for those same parties’ defense. Pl.
Mem. in Support of Summ. J. (“Pl. Br.”) 10, ECF No. 29; see also
Pl. Mot. for Summ. J., ECF No. 25.
For the reasons set forth below, Plaintiff’s motion
for partial summary judgment is GRANTED.
Background1
A. Underlying Action
This insurance dispute arises from an accident at a
construction project at 672 Parkside Avenue in Brooklyn (the
“Project”). Gustavo Nunez, a construction worker on the
Project, alleges (in state court) that he was injured when he
tripped over debris on the first floor of the site in March
2018. The general contractor on the Project was Townhouse
Builders, which does business under the name Promont
(“Promont”); Promont engaged a subcontractor named CML Taping
and Painting, which did business as CML Construction (“CML”).
The details of the subcontract are discussed further below.
After he was injured, Nunez filed the negligence
action against Promont and the owner of the building site (the
1 The facts in this order are drawn from the parties’ submissions in
connection with the motion for partial summary judgment, including
Plaintiff’s Local Rule 56.1 Statement (“Pl. 56.1” (ECF No. 28)) and
Defendants’ opposition to this statement (“Def. Opp. to Pl. 56.1” (ECF No.
31)). The Court views the facts in the light most favorable to Defendant,
the non-moving party. Citations to a party’s Rule 56.1 Statement incorporate
by reference the documents cited therein. For convenience, the Court refers
to Plaintiff’s supporting memorandum of law as “Pl. Br.” (ECF No. 29) and
Defendant’s opposition submission as “Def. Opp.” (ECF No. 33).
“Owner”) in Kings County Supreme Court. Pl. 56.1 ¶¶ 8-9; Def.
56.1 ¶¶ 8-9. Nunez also filed a claim with the New York State
Workers’ Compensation Board (“WC Board”). Before the WC Board,
Promont and CML disputed which one of them employed Nunez (as
they do here). After a hearing in May 2019, the WC Board
concluded that Nunez was employed by CML – not Promont — at the
time of the accident. WC Board Order 2, ECF No. 26-2. The WC
Board thus discharged Promont from the workers’ compensation
claim and directed CML to compensate Nunez for his injuries.
Id.
In the Supreme Court action, Promont and the Owner
filed a third-party complaint against CML, asserting claims for
contractual indemnification, common-law indemnification and
contribution, and breach of contract. Pl. 56.1 ¶ 12; Def. 56.1
¶ 12. Nunez added CML as a defendant to the negligence action
in March 2020 but then dismissed CML a few months later, after
CML contacted Nunez’s counsel and requested that Nunez withdraw
his claims in light of the WC Board’s decision requiring CML to
pay the workers’ compensation award. Pl. 56.1 ¶¶ 16-18; Def.
56.1 ¶¶ 16-18. As a result, CML remains in the state case only
as a third-party defendant.
B. The Insurance Contracts
At the time of Nunez’s injury, Promont (the general
contractor) was insured by USSIC. Promont’s subcontract with
CML (the subcontractor) required CML to purchase commercial
general liability insurance and to include Promont and the Owner
as additional insureds, Pl. 56.1 ¶ 21 — that is, to procure
coverage for Promont and the Owner. See Subcontract 4, ECF No.
1-3 (“Subcontract”). CML obtained this insurance from Hudson.
See Hudson Policy, ECF No. 26-9 (“Hudson Policy”). The policy
that Hudson issued to CML (the “Hudson Policy”) did not refer to
Promont and the Owner by name, but (the parties agree) did
define “additional insureds” in a way that covered them.2
The Hudson Policy went on to define the scope of
coverage running to the additional insureds to include
liabilities arising from “bodily injury” that was:
1. “caused, in whole or in part, by”
2. the “acts or omissions” of CML, or those “acting on
[its] behalf,”
3. if those acts or omissions occurred “in the
performance of [CML’s] ongoing operations for the
additional insured.”
Hudson Policy 34. The parties dispute whether Nunez’s injuries
satisfy these requirements.
The policy that USSIC wrote to Promont (the “USSIC
Policy”), for its part, contained provisions limiting USSIC’s
2 As relevant here, the Hudson Policy conferred “automatic status” on
parties who CML was “required to add as an to add as an additional insured
under the contract or agreement.” Hudson Policy 34.
obligation to “excess” coverage, in the event that other primary
insurance was available: Section IV.4 stated that “if other
valid and collectible insurance is available to the insured” for
certain covered losses, then the USSIC policy would be for the
“excess over” any “other primary insurance available to
[Promont] covering liability for damages arising out of the
premises or operations, or the products and completed
operations,” for which Promont has “been added as an additional
insured by attachment of endorsement.” USSIC Policy 35, ECF No.
1-5 (“USSIC Policy”).
C. Hudson’s Denial of Defense
Since Nunez filed his lawsuit, USSIC has twice
tendered requests for the defense and indemnity of Promont and
the Owner to Hudson and CML. Pl. 56.1 ¶¶ 29-30; Def. 56.1 ¶¶
29-30. Hudson rejected these requests on the basis that CML did
not employ Nunez, despite the WC Board Order finding that it
did. In an April 2020 letter, for example, Hudson wrote that it
had “not been established that the injured claimant Nunez was an
employee of CML” at the time of the alleged accident. Ltr. from
Hudson dated Apr. 21, 2020, ECF No. 26-12; see also Pl. 56.1
¶ 31. USSIC continues to defend Promont and the Owner in the
underlying state-court action; as of May 2021, it had incurred
over $20,000 in defense costs. Pl. 56.1 ¶ 32.
Legal Standards
Summary judgment is appropriate when the record
demonstrates that“there is no genuine dispute as to any material
fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.”
Fed R. Civ. P. 56(a). “A fact is material for these purposes if
it might affect the outcome of the suit under the governing law.
An issue of fact is genuine if the evidence is such that a
reasonable jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving party.”
Lovejoy–Wilson v. NOCO Motor Fuel, Inc., 263 F.3d 208, 212 (2d
Cir. 2001).3
The moving party has the burden of demonstrating the
absence of a dispute of material fact. Anderson v. Liberty
Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 256 (1986). If the movant carries
its burden, “the nonmoving party must come forward with
admissible evidence sufficient to raise a genuine issue of fact
for trial in order to avoid summary judgment.” Jaramillo v.
Weyerhaeuser Co., 536 F.3d 140, 145 (2d Cir. 2008). If the non-
moving party fails to do so, the Court should grant summary
judgment. The entry of summary judgment is appropriate “against
3 Unless otherwise noted, when quoting judicial decisions this order
accepts all alterations and omits all citations, footnotes, and internal
quotation marks.
a party who fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the
existence of an element essential to that party’s case, and on
which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial.”
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986). In
performing this analysis, the Court must resolve all ambiguities
and draw all inferences in favor of Plaintiff, the non-moving
party. Gallo v. Prudential Residential Servs., Ltd. P’ship, 22
F.3d 1219, 1223 (2d Cir. 1994).
Discussion
USSIC seeks partial summary judgment on two issues:
whether Hudson has a duty to defend Promont and the Owner in the
underlying action; and, if so, whether Hudson must reimburse
USSIC for the defense costs it has incurred to date. (This
latter question, put differently, asks whether Hudson is
obligated to provide primary – as opposed to excess – coverage.)
I conclude that the answer to both questions is yes.
A. Hudson’s Duty to Defend
Under New York law, courts “determining a dispute over
insurance coverage . . . first look to the language of the
policy. We construe the policy in a way that affords a fair
meaning to all of the language employed by the parties in the
contract and leaves no provision without force and effect.”
Raymond Corp. v. Nat’l Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, Pa.,
800 N.Y.S.2d 89, 92 (N.Y. 2005).
Whether an insurer has a duty to defend a claim
against its insured is determined “by comparing the allegations
of [the] complaint with the wording of the insurance contract” —
here, the Hudson Policy. Int'l Bus. Machines Corp. v. Liberty
Mut. Ins. Co., 363 F.3d 137, 144 (2d Cir. 2004). Importantly,
“the standard for determining whether an additional named
insured is entitled to a defense is the same standard that is
used to determine if a named insured is entitled to a defense.”
BP Air Conditioning Corp. v. One Beacon Ins. Grp., 840 N.Y.S.2d
302, 306 (N.Y. 2007).4
“In New York, an insurer’s duty to defend is
exceedingly broad. . . .” Euchner-USA, Inc. v. Hartford Cas.
Ins. Co., 754 F.3d 136, 140 (2d Cir. 2014). As the Second
Circuit has explained,
[T]he New York cases establish that so long as the
claims asserted against the insured may rationally be
said to fall within policy coverage, whatever may
later prove to be the limits of the insurer's
responsibility to pay, there is no doubt that it is
obligated to defend. In other words, a separate,
contractual duty to defend exists, and perdures until
it is determined with certainty that the policy does
not provide coverage.
4 See also Pecker Iron Works of N.Y., Inc. v. Traveler’s Ins. Co., 756
N.Y.S.2d 822, 823 (2003) (“‘Additional insured’ is a recognized term in
insurance contracts . . . As cases have recognized, the well-understood
meaning of the term is an entity enjoying the same protection as the named
insured.”).
Hugo Boss Fashions, Inc. v. Fed. Ins. Co., 252 F.3d 608, 620 (2d
Cir. 2001). Accordingly, “[a]n insurer will be called upon to
provide a defense whenever the allegations of the complaint
suggest a reasonable possibility of coverage.” Euchner-USA, 754
F.3d at 141. That said, “[t]he insurer’s duty to defend is . .
. not an interminable one, and will end if and when it is shown
unequivocally that the damages alleged would not be covered by
the policy.” Sturges Mfg. Co. v. Utica Mut. Ins. Co., 332
N.E.2d 319, 323 (N.Y. 1975); see also Kinsale Ins. Co. v. OBMP
NY, LLC, 171 F. Supp. 3d 277, 281 (S.D.N.Y. 2016) (the duty to
defend “is limited absolutely by the scope of the coverage
purchased by the insured”).
1. USSIC Has Demonstrated a “Reasonable Possibility” of
Coverage
Applying this standard, Hudson is obligated to defend
Promont and the Owner because the record, even viewed in the
light most favorable to Hudson, suggests at least a “reasonable
possibility of coverage” under the Hudson Policy. See Euchner-
USA, 754 F.3d at 140.
It is undisputed that Promont and the Owner are
additional insureds under the Hudson Policy. Hudson does not
dispute that Promont and the Owner are “additional insureds”
under the Hudson Policy, which provides that “when . . . [a]
written construction agreement” requires that an entity be named
as an “additional insured,” that status is automatic. Hudson
Policy 34. Here, the Subcontract (i.e., the written
construction agreement) expressly required that “the Owner and
Contractor [Promont] . . . be named as additional insured” in
CML’s policy. Subcontract 4.
The scope of Hudson’s coverage to additional insureds
subsumes liability for Nunez’s injury. There is also a
reasonable possibility that CML’s liability for Nunez’s injury
would fall within the scope of coverage for “additional
insureds” — including Promont and the Owner — under the Hudson
Policy. Nunez alleges, in the state-court action, that he was
injured when he “tripped and fell on debris/construction
material” while working at the Project on March 16, 2018. Nunez
Compl. ¶ 89, ECF No. 1-1. He alleges that CML was a “project
manager” and contractor for “work, labor, and services,” and
that CML “was to provide site safety management of the . . .
premises.” Id. ¶ 86. He claims his injury was the “result of
the careless and negligent manner in which Defendants owned,
maintained, controlled, and performed construction work and
inspection” at the site, including “knowingly . . . allowing the
. . . premises to be, become and remain in a defective, unsafe
and dangerous condition.” Id. ¶¶ 85-86.
These allegations suggest more than a reasonable
possibility that Nunez’s injuries were caused, at least in part,
in the course of CML’s “ongoing operations” under the
Subcontract. See Hudson Policy 34. CML’s “ongoing operations
for the additional insured” — Promont — were, in turn, specified
by the subcontract between Promont and CML. Id.5 The
Subcontract’s “scope of work” covered: “demolition of interior
4th floor roofing material”; “complete framing as per plan”;
“complete installation of sheetrock as per plan”; “complete
installation of dens glass as per plan”; “complete application
of compound as per plan”; and “installation of doors as per
plan.” Subcontract 1. The record shows the day of Nunez’s
injury, CML’s work for Promont consisted of “labor done on 1st
floor” – specifically, “cleaning.” Invoice, Pl. Ex. 8, ECF No.
26-8 (“Invoice”). This is consistent with Nunez’s testimony
that his work at the Project consisted primarily of “cleaning”
up “construction garbage” and debris on the first floor, or
bringing that debris down from the other floors. Pl. Reply Ex.
A, Nunez Dep. 21:3-23:10, ECF No. 35-1. These facts give rise
to a reasonable possibility (if not more) that the debris that
is alleged to have caused Nunez’s injuries was created in the
course of CML’s “ongoing operations” at the project.
5 The Hudson Policy defines the coverage available to additional
insureds based on the named insured’s “ongoing operations” by reference to
the written agreement or contract (i.e., the Subcontract here): the coverage
“[w]ill not be broader than that which [CML is] required by the contract or
agreement to provide for such additional insured.” Hudson Policy 34.
Read alongside the Policy and Subcontract, Nunez’s
allegation – that he was injured when tripping on debris at the
Project – suggests the possibility (at least) that his injury
was causally connected to CML’s ongoing operations for Promont.
The New York Court of Appeals has held that the language
“caused, in whole or in part” in an additional insured
endorsement requires the named insured to be a proximate cause
of the injury giving rise to liability, not the “but for” cause.
Burlington Ins. Co. v. NYC Transit Authority, 57 N.Y.S.3d 85,
89-90 (N.Y. 2017). District courts in this circuit have
interpreted this to mean that the language “caused, in whole or
in part” triggers “additional insured” coverage “where the named
insured is more than 0% liable for the underlying plaintiff’s
injuries.” Starr Indem. & Liab. Co. v. Excelsior Ins. Co., 516
F. Supp. 3d 337, 349 (S.D.N.Y. 2021). Here, Hudson has not
established there is no possibility that CML will be held liable
under this standard of causation.
2. Hudson’s Defenses
Hudson contends that its policy does not cover Nunez’s
injuries for two reasons: first, because Nunez was injured on
the first floor of the Project, and CML’s “ongoing operations”
were limited to the fourth floor; and second, because Nunez was
employed by Promont, not CML. Neither of these arguments
undermines USSIC’s right to declaratory relief it seeks.
It is doubtful that CML’s “operations” were restricted
to the Project’s fourth floor. Hudson mischaracterizes the
factual record when it claims that CML’s work was limited to
demolition on the fourth floor. See Def. Opp. Def. Suppl. Ltr.
3, ECF No. 40. While the first item in the “scope of work”
section of the Subcontract — “Complete demolition of interior 4th
floor roofing material” — mentions the fourth floor
specifically, none of the other types of work listed are
similarly limited to any specific floor. E.g., Subcontract 1
(other items include: “Complete framing as per plan”; Complete
installation on sheetrock as per plan”; “Complete installation
of doors as per plan”). Hudson, for its part, has not explained
why those types of work could not have involved work on the
first floor.
Moreover, even if CML’s work was initially limited to
work on the fourth floor, USSIC has pointed to evidence
suggesting that this scope may have been expanded. The
Subcontract contemplates this possibility, via change orders:
“All additional work performed in additional apartments and/or
floors will be considered change orders to the contract and be
considered part of the scope herein.” Subcontract 1. And CML’s
invoice to Promont for the day of Nunez’s injury — which is
designated a “change order” at the top of the document —
specifies that it is for “labor done on 1st floor.” Invoice.
The parties have not pointed to evidence that the change was
submitted in writing and approved by Promont, as required by the
Subcontract, see Subcontract 3, but there is also no evidence
that it was not approved. The fact that the work was done, see
id., creates at least an inference that it was approved prior to
being done. (Moreover, USSIC asserts — and Hudson does not
dispute — that Promont paid CML for this work.)
There is at least a substantial probability that CML
employed Nunez when he was injured. Hudson also argues that the
accident was not caused by CML’s “ongoing operations” because
Nunez was actually employed by Promont. In support of this
argument, Hudson points to Nunez’s deposition testimony that
Promont paid him. See Def. 56.1 ¶ 13; Def. Ex. A, Nunez Dep.
17:11-12:2, ECF No. 34-1. USSIC responds by invoking the WC
Board’s decision concluding that Nunez was employed by CML at
the time of the accident.
The language of the Hudson policy does not restrict
coverage for bodily injury to CML’s employees and agents.
Instead, it restricts coverage to the additional insureds for
injuries caused, in whole or in part, by the acts or omissions
of CML or its agents, regardless of who employs the injured
victim. Hudson Policy 34. Hudson may mean to say here that
Nunez caused the conditions that led to his own injury himself,
and it matters for that reason who employed him. But Hudson’s
argument fails on its own terms there, for reasons stated above:
the WC Board found, after hearing testimony from Promont’s
president and from Nunez, that Nunez was a CML employee. WC
Board Order 2. And that conclusion finds additional support
here from the invoice from CML to Promont that indicates that
CML did work on the first floor — the floor where Nunez was
injured — on the day of Nunez’s injury. See Invoice.
For these reasons, even if this factual dispute may
(down the line) affects Hudson’s obligation to indemnify, it
does not bear on its duty to defend. This conclusion finds
support in All State Interior Demolition Inc. v. Scottsdale Ins.
Co., where the parties disputed who the underlying plaintiff was
working for when he was injured. See 168 A.D.3d 612 (App. Div.
1st Dept. 2019). The Appellate Division concluded that, given
the language of the policy, the injured worker’s pleadings
“implicate[d] [the named insured’s] actions” and thus triggered
Scottsdale’s duty to defend. Id. The same is true here.
In sum, none of these factual disputes would “allow a
court to eliminate the possibility that the insured’s conduct
falls within coverage of the policy.” Int’l Bus. Machines
Corp., 363 F.3d at 148. Even viewed in the light most favorable
to Hudson, the evidence here establishes at least a reasonable
possibility of coverage. Thus, Hudson is not relieved of its
duty to defend.
Time Limits on Defense Obligation. Hudson makes an
alternative argument that, even if it has a duty to defend, that
duty should extend only to the two months during which CML was a
defendant in Nunez’s claim – from the time Nunez filed his
amended complaint (March 2020) to when he dismissed CML (May
2020). See Def. Opp. 12. Hudson argues that after Nunez
dismissed CML in the underlying action, USSIC made “shot-gun”
allegations against CML to add it as a third-party defendant.
The shotgun phrase suggests Hudson’s view that the allegations
against CML in the underlying state action are frivolous, and
that they were made only for the purpose of triggering Hudson’s
coverage. Id. at 15-16. This allegation of frivolity is
undermined, however, by the WC Board’s finding that CML employed
Nunez on the relevant date. In any event, Hudson cites no legal
support for this requested time limit on its obligations.
Hudson’s request to limit its duty to defend is denied.
B. Primary Versus Excess Coverage
I also conclude that the Hudson Policy provides
primary, as opposed to excess, coverage for Promont.
Accordingly, Hudson is obligated to absorb the cost of Promont’s
defense from Dollar One — not merely once other coverage has
been exhausted — and to reimburse USSIC for its costs incurred
to date. I address the merits of USSIC’s arguments although
Hudson does not meaningfully dispute or address it.
Where — as here — “one insurance policy is primary and
one insurance policy is excess based on the ‘other insurance’
clauses, the primary insurer has the primary duty to defend on
behalf of its insureds and it generally has no entitlement to
contribution of an excess insurer.” Liberty Mut. Ins. Corp.
N.Y. Marine & Gen. Ins. Co., 505 F. Supp 3d 260, 276 (S.D.N.Y.
2020); see also Zurich Am. Ins. Co. v. Harleysville Ins. Co.,
194 F. Supp. 3d 253, 261 (S.D.N.Y. 2016) (same). Here, the
Hudson Policy is primary and the USSIC Policy is excess. The
Hudson Policy expressly states, in its other-insurance
provision, that “[t]his insurance is primary,” with the
exception of limited situations that do not apply here. Hudson
Policy 21. Another section, titled “Primary and Non-
Contributing Insurance Where Required By Written Contract(s)
Endorsement,” confirms:
Where you are specifically required by a written
contract to provide insurance that is primary and non-
contributory and the written contract so requiring is
executed by you before any “occurrence” or offense,
this insurance will be primary and the other insurance
will not contribute with this insurance, but only if
and to the extent required by that written contract.
Hudson Policy 57 (emphasis added). Hudson concedes that the
Subcontract required that CML to provide primary coverage for
the additional insureds. See Def. 56.1 ¶ 21 (“Admit”). The
Hudson Policy is therefore primary. The USSIC Policy, on the
other hand, expressly provides for excess coverage: “This
insurance is excess over . . . [a]ny other primary insurance
available to you covering liability for damages arising out of
the premises or operations, or the products and completed
operations, for which you have been added as an additional
insured by attachment of endorsement.” USSIC Policy 35; see
also Pl. 56.1 ¶ 28.
Accordingly, because Hudson has a duty to defend in
the underlying action and its coverage is primary, Hudson owes
defense costs to USSIC.
Conclusion
For the foregoing reasons, Plaintiff’s motion for
partial summary judgment, on the issue of Defendant’s duty to
defend, is GRANTED.6 Hudson has a duty to defend the Owner and
Promont in the underlying action, Nunez v. 672 Parkside, LLC et
al. (N.Y. Sup. Ct. Index No. 524820-2018), and Hudson must
reimburse USSIC for the costs thus far incurred by USSIC in
defending the Owner and Promont in that action. This case shall
proceed to trial on any remaining claims. The parties’ joint
6 This order does not dispose of the issue of Hudson’s duty to
indemnify, which is not before the Court in this motion.
proposed pretrial order is due thirty days from entry of this
order.
SO ORDERED.
/s/ Eric Komitee__________
ERIC KOMITEE
United States District Judge
Dated: September 30, 2022
Brooklyn, New York