“Any ambiguities are to be construed in favor of the insured.”
How later courts described this case
- “Any ambiguities are to be construed in favor of the insured.”
- “We reject [] attempts to create coverage where none exists under the policy by arguing that [the primary and excess insurers] waived the [exclusion] or are otherwise estopped to invoke it.”
- “In the event that an insurer unreasonably delays under [§ 3420(d)], an insured need show no prejudice in order to prevent the insurer from disclaiming coverage.”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
-----------------------------------------------------------X
ROMCO STRUCTURAL SYSTEMS CORP.,
Plaintiff, MEMORANDUM & ORDER
v. 1:20-cv-2772 (ST)
AXIS INSURANCE COMPANY,
Defendant.
-----------------------------------------------------------X
TISCIONE, United States Magistrate Judge:
INTRODUCTION
This case involves an insurance dispute between an insured employer, Plaintiff, and its
excess liability insurer, Defendant. Plaintiff’s employee was injured at a construction site while
working for Plaintiff and brought an action in state court, which Plaintiff was eventually brought
into via a third-party complaint. Defendant disclaimed coverage for the injury, but Plaintiff
argues that disclaimer was both improper under the New York Insurance Law and a breach of its
insurance contract, and that it is entitled to coverage for the employee’s injury. Both parties have
moved for summary judgment. For the reasons detailed herein, Plaintiff’s motion for summary
judgment is DENIED, and Defendant’s motion for summary judgment is GRANTED.
BACKGROUND
The following facts are agreed upon by both parties.
Marel Dejesus Vargas Rojas fell from an elevated height on June 26, 2018, while
working on a construction project at 4890 Veterans Memorial Highway in Holbrook, New York.
Pl. R. 56.1 Br., ¶ 1, ECF No. 30-1. In his complaint in an action in state court seeking damages
for his injuries, Rojas alleges that at the time of his work accident, he was employed by Plaintiff.
Rojas Compl., ¶ 46, ECF No. 1, Ex. 1. Rojas’ suit was initially brought against several
defendants not named in this action, who allegedly owned or were responsible for the premises
and/or construction site at which Rojas was performing the construction work. Id. at ¶¶ 10-45.
Rojas alleged the defendants named in his action were negligent, and that negligence led to his
injuries. Def. R. 56.1 Br., ¶¶ 2-6, ECF No. 33-2. ROMCO was never named as a defendant by
Rojas. Id. at ¶ 7. On or around June 15, 2020, two of the defendants named in the Rojas action,
Above All Equities, Inc. and LS Steel, Inc., filed a third-party complaint against the Plaintiff in
this action, ROMCO, asserting claims for contribution, indemnity, and breach of contract. Pl. R.
56.1 Br., ¶ 51.
Plaintiff had three insurance policies at the time of Rojas’ accident, one of which is
relevant to this action. The first was a commercial liability policy provided by Admiral
Insurance Company in the amount of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 of general
aggregate coverage, effective November 8, 2017, to November 8, 2018. Id. at ¶ 29. The second
policy was a New York State Insurance fund policy effective at the time of Rojas’ accident. Def.
R. 56.1 Br., ¶ 41. The third, at issue here, was a policy issued by the Defendant to the Plaintiff
for excess liability coverage above and beyond the Admiral policy in the amount of $5,000,000.
Pl. R. 56.1 Br., ¶ 8. Above All Equites, Inc. and L.S. Steel, Inc., two defendants in the Rojas
action, were named as additionally insured on the policy, but only “with respect to liability for
‘bodily injury’ caused, in whole or in part, by: (1) [ROMCO’s] acts or omissions; or (2) [t]he
acts or omissions of those acting on [ROMCO’s] behalf; in the performance of [ROMCO’s]
ongoing operations for the additional insured(s).” Pl. R. 56.1 Resp. Br., ¶ 10, ECF No. 34-1.
The AXIS policy, when issued, contained two provisions pertinent to this action. The
first appears in the endorsements section and is listed as an exclusion endorsement for employee
or worker bodily injury. It says, “It is agreed that…this insurance does not apply to any liability
or damages arising out of any actual alleged injury to an employee or temporary worker of any
insured arising out of or in the course of employment by any insured…This exclusion applies
whether an insured may be liable as an employer or in any other capacity and to any obligation to
share damages with or repay someone else who must pay damages because of injury.” Mangino
Aff., Ex. Y, 122, ECF No. 33-3. The second pertinent provision appears separately as a New
York-specific “limits of insurance endorsement” and reads, “Excess coverage for employers’
liability is not applicable in situations where an employee is subject to New York Workers
Compensation Law, because employers’ liability coverage is unlimited in nature in New York
State.” Id. at 133.
There is extensive evidence in the record of why the policy contained these
endorsements. RT Specialty acted to procure the AXIS insurance policy for ROMCO. Def. R.
56.1 Br., ¶¶ 11-12. On both October 26, 2017, and November 8, 2017, ROMCO indicated to
AXIS that it had previously obtained workers’ compensation coverage for its employees. Id. at
¶¶ 10-11. On November 9, 2017, RT Specialty sent an email to AXIS, asking for a policy
providing $5 million in coverage in excess to the already obtained Admiral policy and stating
“[t]he excess doesn’t require labor law coverage” and asking that the policy include “a labor law
exclusion.” Id. at ¶ 12. AXIS responded that such a policy would cost $125,000. Id. at ¶ 15. On
November 14, at RT Specialty’s request, AXIS sent a quote for the policy which included the
requested exclusion. Id. at ¶¶ 17-18.
On November 20, 2017, RT Specialty emailed AXIS asking, “Can you tell me what your
price would be with labor law coverage?” Id. at ¶ 19. AXIS responded, “I can tell you it would
be considerably more and we would probably only support up to [$3 million] in limits.” Id. at ¶
20. RT Specialty asked AXIS to quote the policy with labor law coverage as well and, after
some back and forth, AXIS quoted a $3 million excess policy with labor law coverage at a
$280,000 premium. Id. at ¶¶ 21-26. On November 28, RT Specialty asked AXIS to move
forward with the $3 million policy with labor law coverage, but then, on November 29, advised
differently, writing, “The broker has confirmed that this insured would like to go with the
$5M/$5M quote with the labor law exclusion…Please bind coverage for the insured.” Id. at ¶¶
26-29. The binder sent to RT Specialty included the employee or worker bodily injury exclusion
and the New York limit endorsement. Id. at ¶ 30. The policy was then issued, effective from
November 29, 2017 to November 8, 2018. Id. at ¶ 31.
On March 20, 2018, RT Specialty emailed AXIS to ask, while acknowledging that the
“insured took the quote without labor law coverage,” whether ROMCO could buy back labor law
coverage and increase the policy limit. Id. at 32. Internal emails show that Simone Butler, an
AXIS representative, indicated to colleagues that she told the broker AXIS “could only
entertain” a $1 million policy that included labor law coverage and that AXIS “would have to
cancel the current policy” in order to award a policy with labor law coverage to ROMCO. Id. at ¶
34. On April 4, 2018, a quote was emailed for a new policy to RT Specialty but ROMCO, in the
end, chose not to purchase an excess insurance policy with labor law coverage, and the previous
existing policy from AXIS was never canceled. Id. at ¶ 37.
After Mr. Rojas’ accident, he filed his complaint in state court on July 18, 2018. Id. at ¶
1. On June 13, 2019, Mr. Rojas’ counsel sent AXIS a copy of the amended complaint which
included the information that Mr. Rojas was acting as an employee of ROMCO at the time of the
accident and copies of affidavits of service on defendants LS Steel Inc. and Above All Equities,
Inc. Id. at ¶ 42. On June 18, 2019, Jonathan Slade of AXIS acknowledged receipt of that email.
Id. at ¶ 43.
On December 10, 2019, Mr. Rojas’ counsel sent a letter to Admiral and AXIS in which
he informed them, “the reasonable value of Mr. Rojas’ claim handily exceeds” the Admiral and
AXIS policy limits.” Pl. R. 56.1 Br., ¶ 31. The communication included medical and expert
reports. Id at ¶ 32. On February 13, 2020, Mr. Rojas’ counsel sent AXIS a copy of the state
court’s decision granting Mr. Rojas partial summary judgment as to the liability of Above All
Equities, Inc. and LS Steel, Inc. Id. at ¶ 41.
On April 21, 2020, Thomas Maher, defense counsel representing LS Steel and Above All
Equities in the Rojas action, emailed Peter Waldron from AXIS, to inform him that, “there is a
possibility that your excess layer may be impacted in this case.” Mangino Aff., Ex. KK, 277. On
April 24, 2020, Peter Waldron, on behalf of AXIS, advised ROMCO that AXIS was disclaiming
coverage for ROMCO in the Rojas action, writing, “To date, AXIS has not received a notice of
claim or tender of defense or indemnity from Romco regarding the Lawsuit…However, out of an
abundance of caution, AXIS assumes for the purposes of this letter that Romco or another party
will seek coverage…AXIS disclaims coverage for the Lawsuit.” Id. at ¶ 47; Mangino Aff., Ex.
LL, 280. The bases for the disclaimer were the policy’s New York limitation and the employee
or worker bodily injury exclusion endorsement. Id. at ¶¶ 46-47.
On June 5, 2020, ROMCO’s counsel wrote to AXIS, demanding that it rescind the
disclaimer and provide the excess coverage ROMCO believed owed to it. Id. at ¶ 49. A third-
party complaint was filed against ROMCO in the Rojas action by Above All Equities, Inc. and
LS Steel, Inc. on June 15, 2020, seeking contribution and indemnity from ROMCO. Id. at ¶ 51;
Mangino Aff., Ex. MM, 296.
ROMCO filed the complaint in the instant action on June 23, 2020. In the complaint,
ROMCO alleges the AXIS disclaimer of coverage, which occurred over ten months after
receiving written notice from Mr. Rojas’ counsel but before any claim was filed by ROMCO,
was untimely and improper, as well as invalid under New York Insurance Law § 3420. Pl.
Compl., ¶¶ 23-24, ECF No. 1. It also alleges breach of contract for AXIS’ disclaimer. Id. at ¶¶
46-48. ROMCO seeks damages, as well as a declaratory judgment that the AXIS policy was in
effect on the date of loss in the Rojas action; the disclaimer by AXIS was untimely, improper,
and is invalid; AXIS is estopped from disclaiming coverage under New York Insurance law §
3420; the AXIS policy provides coverage for Mr. Rojas’ claims to both itself and the additional
insured parties; and that ROMCO is entitled to costs and attorneys’ fees. Id. at ¶¶ 45, 48.
Both parties have moved for summary judgment on all claims.
LEGAL STANDARD
I. Summary Judgment Standard
Summary judgment is appropriate when the movant “shows that there is no genuine
dispute as to any material fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R.
Civ. P. 56(a). An issue of fact is material if the fact “might affect the outcome of the suit under
the governing law…” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). A genuine
dispute exists as to a material fact when “evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return a
verdict for the nonmoving party.” Id.
On motions for summary judgment, the moving party bears the initial burden of
establishing the absence of a material fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986).
Once the moving party meets that burden, the non-moving party must then show there is a
genuine dispute for trial. Id. The burdens on both parties as to the underlying elements are
aligned as they would be at trial. Id. at 254.
When considering a motion for summary judgment, the Court must construe “all
ambiguities and draw all permissible factual inferences in favor of the party against whom
summary judgment is sought.” Johnson v. Killian, 680 F.3d 234, 236 (2d Cir. 2012) (quoting
Terry v. Ashcroft, 336 F.3d 128, 137 (2d Cir. 2003)).
II. New York Law
This Court hears this contract law case sitting in diversity jurisdiction. As such, the
substantive law to be applied is state law. Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).
“A federal court sitting in diversity much apply the choice of law rules of the forum
state.” Lazard Freres & Co. v. Protective Life Ins. Co., 108 F.3d 1531, 1538-39 (2d Cir. 1997).
In deciding which state’s law to apply in an insurance dispute, New York courts consider “a
spectrum of significant contacts, including the place of contracting, the places of negotiation and
performance, the location of the subject matter, and the domicile or place of business of the
contracting parties.” Id. at 1539. Here, the insurance, containing provisions specific to New
York, was issued in New York to Plaintiff, which is a New York corporation, and Mr. Rojas’
accident, the incident coverage is sought for, occurred in New York. See Compl. ¶ 1; Mangino
Aff., Ex. Y, Rojas Compl. ¶ 12. Both parties cite New York law in their briefs, and the Court
finds that, based on the significant contacts in this case, New York law applies.
Under New York law, “an insurance agreement is subject to principles of contract
interpretation.” Universal Am. Corp. v. Nat. Union Fire Ins. Co., 25 N.Y.3d 675 (2015). An
insurer is “entitled to have its contract of insurance enforced in accordance with its provisions
and without a construction contrary to its express terms.” Bretton v. Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co.,
110 N.Y.S.2d 760, 763 (1985). “An insurance contract is interpreted to give effect to the intent
of the parties as expressed in the clear language of the contract.” Parks Real Estate Purchasing
Crp. V. St. Pail Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 472 F.3d 33, 42 (2d Cir. 2006) (internal quotation marks
omitted). However, “any ambiguities are construed in favor of coverage.” Randolph v.
Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 662 N.Y.S.2d 650, 651 (1997); see also Patriarch Partner LLC v.
AXIS Ins. Co., 758 Fed. Appx. 14, 20 (2d Cir. 2018) (“Any ambiguities are to be construed in
favor of the insured.”). The first step under New York law for interpreting an insurance
agreement is for the court to determine whether the contract is unambiguous with respect to the
question at issue. SCW West LLC v. Westport Ins. Corp., 856 F. Supp. 2d 514, 524 (E.D.N.Y.
2012).
The interpretation of a contract is a question of law where the language of the contract is
unambiguous. Rothenberg v. Lincoln Farm Camp, Inc., 755 F.2d 1017, 1019 (2d Cir. 1985).
Where the language is susceptible to two reasonable interpretations, the proper interpretation is a
question of fact. Id.
DISCUSSION
I. AXIS Had No Duty to Disclaim Coverage Under N.Y. Insurance Law § 3420(d)
a. The Unambiguous Language of the Policy Excluded Claims Like That of Mr.
Rojas In the First Instance
The question of ambiguity of the initial insurance contract takes on even greater
importance here as New York courts have held that the construction of the original insurance
contract affects the insurer’s obligation under the New York Insurance Law to disclaim coverage
within a reasonable time.
N.Y. Insurance Law § 3420(d)(2) says, “If under a liability policy issued or delivered in
this state, an insurer shall disclaim liability or deny coverage for death or bodily injury arising
out of…[an] accident occurring within this state, it shall give written notice as soon as is
reasonably possible of such disclaimer of liability or denial of coverage to the insured…” N.Y.
Ins. Law §3420(d)(2). An unreasonable delay in disclaiming coverage by an insurer under
§3420(d)(2) estops that insurer from raising the defense of non-coverage at a later time. See
Adams v. Chi Ins. Co., 49 Fed. Appx. 346, fn. ** (2d Cir. 2002) (“In the event that an insurer
unreasonably delays under [§ 3420(d)], an insured need show no prejudice in order to prevent the
insurer from disclaiming coverage.”)
However, such waiver and estoppel cannot create coverage. Albert J. Schiff Assoc., Inc. v.
Flack, 51 N.Y.2d 692, 698 (1980). The purpose of the disclaimer provision within the New
York Insurance Law was “to avoid prejudice to the insured…[who] could be harmed by delay in
learning of the carrier’s position.” Zappone v. Home Ins. Co., 55 N.Y.2d 131, 137 (1982). “It
was not, however, to provide an added source of [coverage] which had never been contracted for
and for which no premium had ever been paid.” Id. “For the insured to extend its coverage to
more than it originally bargained, it would have had to enter into a supplemental contract
expanding the insuring clause or contracting the exceptions,” it cannot rely on §3420(d)(2) to do
that for it. Schiff Assoc., Inc., 51 N.Y.2d at 698.
Thus, an analysis of the duty to disclaim under the NY Insurance Law becomes a
question of whether the AXIS policy “in the first instance” included some coverage for injuries
like those Mr. Rojas suffered. Worcester Ins. Co. v. Bettenhauser, 95 N.Y.2d 185, 188 (2000). If
it did, we deal with a situation where there is no coverage “by reason of exclusion,” which would
trigger a duty by AXIS to disclaim within a reasonable time under §3420(d). Zappone, 55
N.Y.2d at 137. The Court would then consider whether to measure that reasonable time from the
time of first knowledge of Mr. Rojas’ action or from the time a claim was actually made and
assess whether that time was reasonable. However, if the insurance contract between Plaintiff
and Defendant never included coverage of injuries like those Mr. Rojas suffered, we would be
dealing with a “lack of inclusion” of coverage in the original bargained-for contract, under which
the New York courts have ruled the insurer has no duty to disclaim and by which coverage
cannot be created by failing to do so. Id. The question of whether AXIS had a duty to disclaim
coverage of Mr. Rojas’ injuries, therefore, is a question of contractual interpretation.
When assessing coverage in the first instance in an insurance contract, New York courts
have held what is covered “is not merely what is found under the heading ‘insuring agreement.’
Just as this clause affirmatively indicates the coverage which is included, so does the ‘exclusion’
clause tell us expressly what is not. In policies so drawn, the protection the insured has purchased
is the sum total or net balance, however one labels it, of a coming together of the two. For it is
not either alone, but the combination of both which defines the scope of the protection afforded –
no more and no less.” Schiff Assoc., Inc., 51 N.Y.2d at 697.
The text of the insurance contract is clear it does not cover any claims by ROMCO’s
construction employees for bodily injury sustained while on the job. While the policy does
provide $5,000,000 in excess liability insurance to ROMCO, which the policy notes is engaged
in “steel construction,” it also contains several exclusions and limits. See Mangino Aff., Ex. Y,
118. At the heading of the first exclusion, which excludes “employee or worker bodily injury,”
it reads, “This endorsement changes the policy. Please read it carefully.” Id at 122. That
exclusion reads, in relevant part, “This insurance does not apply to any liability or damages
arising out of any actual or alleged injury to an employee…arising out of and in the course of []
employment by any insured.” Id. It continues, “This exclusion applies whether an insured may
be liable as an employer or in any other capacity and to any obligation to share damages with or
repay someone else who must pay damages because of the injury.” Id.
Here, Plaintiff seeks coverage for the claims contained within the Rojas action. In Mr.
Rojas’ complaint, he alleges he was employed by ROMCO on the day of his accident, that he
was engaged in the labor he was hired by ROMCO to perform when the accident occurred, and
that he was seriously injured when he fell from an elevated height while performing that work.
Rojas Compl., ¶¶ 46, 48, ECF No 1-1. He is therefore alleging damages arising out of injury to
an employee in the course of his employment by the insured, ROMCO, precisely what is
expressly and unequivocally not covered in the policy. And it matters not that some of the
original Rojas defendants seek contribution from ROMCO for Mr. Rojas’ injury, as opposed to
Mr. Rojas directly. The exclusion specifically says that it applies in all cases including when
there is “any obligation to share damages with or repay someone else who must pay damages
because of the injury.” Mangino Aff., Ex. Y, 122.
Instead of dealing with this point, Plaintiff presumes §3420(d) imposed an obligation on
AXIS to disclaim because “excess insurers have an obligation to timely disclaim pursuant to
Insurance Law § 3420(d).” Pl. Br., 13. But just as excess insurers are obligated to disclaim
where they have a duty to do so, they, just like primary insurers, have no duty to disclaim where
coverage did not exist in the first instance. See Illinois Union Ins. Co. v. Grandview Palace
Condominiums Assn., 155 A.D.3d 459, 460 (N.Y. App. 2017) (“We reject [] attempts to create
coverage where none exists under the policy by arguing that [the primary and excess insurers]
waived the [exclusion] or are otherwise estopped to invoke it.”). Instead of dealing with this
issue, Plaintiff spends much of its brief discussing when the clock started on the duty to disclaim
and whether the time taken was reasonable. As this Court finds the AXIS insurance policy
unambiguously did not include coverage for bodily injury claims by ROMCO employees and
there was no duty to disclaim, there is no triable issue of fact regarding whether the time AXIS
took to disclaim was reasonable. Because the policy itself unambiguously said the insurance
would not apply to an injury like Mr. Rojas’, AXIS had no duty to disclaim as a matter of law.
Plaintiff also attacks the other provision relied upon by Defendant in arguing the policy
excluded coverage for Mr. Rojas’ claim in the first instance, the New York Limits of Insurance
Endorsement. That limitation reads, “Excess coverage for Employer’s Liability is not applicable
in situations where an employee is subject to New York Workers Compensation Law, because
Employers’ Liability Coverage is unlimited in nature in New York State.” Id. at 133. Plaintiff
argues this provision would only apply where common law indemnity or contribution were
asserted based upon a ROMCO employee suffering a grave injury under N.Y. Workers’
Compensation Law § 11. Pl. Br., 15-16.
NYWCL § 11 provides, “An employer shall not be liable for contribution or indemnity to
any third person based upon liability for injuries sustained by an employee acting within the
scope of his or her employment for such employer unless such third person proves through
competent medical evidence that such employee has sustained a grave injury…” N.Y. Workers
Compensation Law § 11. This section was part of a reform to ensure immunity for tort liability
for employers who provide workers’ compensation coverage by exposing them to third-party
liability only when the employee had suffered grave injuries. Rubeis v. Aqua Club Inc., 3 N.Y.3d
408, 415 (2004).
Though Plaintiff may not be liable under § 11 to any third-party unless Mr. Rojas
suffered grave injury, that is not the question here. Here, the question is whether the New York
Limits of Insurance applies to Mr. Rojas’ claims, which ROMCO seeks coverage for. The
limitation’s plain language says the excess coverage does not extend “where an employee is
subject to New York Workers Compensation Law.” Mangino Aff., Ex. Y, 133. The limitation is
not governed by the employer’s liability to third parties for that employee’s injury. Instead, the
plain language of the limit excludes coverage where an employee is subject to the NY Workers
Compensation Law.
In the “Application” section of the NY Workers Compensation Law, it says,
“Compensation shall be payable for injuries or death incurred by employees in the following
employments” and lists “construction” as one such employment type. N.Y. Workers
Compensation Law § 3. Both sides agree that, when Mr. Rojas sustained his accident, he was
working at a construction project, and he alleges he was working there as a laborer. Def. R. 56.1
Br., ¶ 4; Rojas Compl., ¶ 46. It is clear that the insurance policy did not contemplate any
coverage for any incident where an employee was subject to the N.Y. Workers Compensation
Law, and it seems equally clear that Mr. Rojas was subject to the law when he was injured.
Therefore, Plaintiff’s arguments about whether Mr. Rojas’ alleged injuries were “grave” as
defined under § 11 are irrelevant to whether the limitation applies.
The plain language of both the employee or worker bodily injury exclusion and the New
York Limits of Insurance unambiguously show that, when Plaintiff and Defendant contracted for
insurance, the insurance contracted for did not include coverage of claims arising out of
ROMCO’s employees’ bodily injuries suffered in the course of employment. As such,
Defendant had no duty to disclaim, and summary judgment is granted to it on Plaintiff’s N.Y.
Insurance Law claim.
b. Even if the Plain Contract Language Were Ambiguous, the Record Shows
the Parties Intended to Contract for Insurance that Did Not Include
Coverage of Injuries Like Mr. Rojas’
I have already noted that the language of the insurance contract is unambiguous in
excluding coverage to bodily injury suffered by ROMCO’s employees in the scope of their
employment. However, I note that even if the Court had found the language ambiguous, there is
strong extrinsic evidence to show the parties’ intent at the formation of the contract was to
exclude coverage for injuries like Mr. Rojas’. See Hastings Dev., LLC v. Evanston Ins. Co., 701
Fed. Appx. 40, 42 (2d Cir. 2017) (citing Olin Corp. v. Am. Home Assur. Co., 704 F.3d 89, 99 (2d
Cir. 2012)).
As detailed in the fact section above, the record shows the parties specifically negotiated
regarding the inclusion or exclusion of “labor law coverage,” that Plaintiff noted it agreed to the
contract without such coverage, and that Plaintiff made subsequent inquiries about purchasing a
new policy that, unlike its current policy, included labor law coverage. Yet, Plaintiff did not
procure that coverage. The New York Labor Law contains provisions which impose “absolute
liability on owners, contractors, and their agents for injuries to workers engaged in the erection,
demolition, repairing, altering, painting, cleaning or pointing of a building or structure, which
result from falls from ladders, scaffolding, or other similar elevation devices that do not provide
proper protection against such falls.” Orellano v. 29 E. 37th Street Realty Corp., 292 A.D.2d
289, 290 (N.Y. App. 2002) (internal quotation marks omitted).
Mr. Rojas alleges that he suffered his injury in a fall because defendants failed “to
provide [Rojas] with…safe, proper and/or any scaffolding and/or ladder and/or harness and/or
safety lines for use in his work…” Rojas Compl., ¶ 56. The insurance contract before this Court
resulted from a specific choice by Plaintiff to purchase a policy that did not contain coverage for
this type of incident and instead included the employee bodily injury exclusion and New York
limitation. Plaintiff did so, presumably, because adding such coverage would have resulted in a
lower policy limit and a much higher policy premium, which Plaintiff chose to forgo. This is
strong evidence that Plaintiff understood this policy would not cover injuries like Mr. Rojas’
when it contracted with Defendant and now attempts to add that coverage via waiver and
estoppel, which is impermissible under New York law.
II. The Insurance Contract Did Not Include Coverage for Mr. Rojas’ Injuries, and,
Thus, Defendant Did Not Breach Its Contract
Plaintiff’s second cause of action is a breach of contract claim against Defendant. Under
New York law the insured must prove four elements to show breach of contract: (1) the making
of a contract; (2) plaintiff’s performance; (3) defendant’s breach; and (4) damages. Olin Corp. v
Lamorak Ins. Co., 332 F. Supp. 3d 818, 839 (S.D.N.Y. 2018). It is the policyholder’s burden to
show the insurance contract covers the loss. Id. (citing Morgan Stanley Grp. Inc. v. New England
Ins. Co., 225 F.3d 270, 276 (2d Cir. 2000)).
Here, by its unambiguous language, the insurance contract does not cover the loss. The
language in the New York limitation and the worker’s bodily injury exclusion is clear and
unambiguous and, for the reasons discussed above, clearly precludes coverage for Mr. Rojas’
bodily injury. Plaintiff offers no argument for why the policy would cover this claim, other than
under a theory of waiver and estoppel, which is incorrect as a matter of law.
Therefore, summary judgment should be granted to Defendant on this claim as well.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons set forth above, Plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment is DENIED and
Defendant’s motion for summary judgment is GRANTED. The Clerk of the Court is
respectfully directed to enter judgment accordingly and close the case.
SO ORDERED.
_______-/s-/_______________
Steven L. Tiscione
United States Magistrate Judge
Eastern District of New York
Dated: Central Islip, New York
March 31, 2022