Opinion

CHERRY-MATALA v. COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY

Court
District Court, D. New Jersey
Filed
Dec 29, 2021
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 25.4%

“An ALJ may discredit a physician's opinion on disability that was premised largely on the claimant's own accounts of her symptoms and limitations when the claimant's complaints are properly discounted.”

How later courts described this case

  • “An ALJ may discredit a physician's opinion on disability that was premised largely on the claimant's own accounts of her symptoms and limitations when the claimant's complaints are properly discounted.”
  • “A court may not weigh the evidence or substitute its own findings for the Commissioner's.”
  • “[R]emand is not required here because it would not affect the outcome of the case.”
  • “Because the ALJ found in [the claimant’s] favor at Step Two, even if he had erroneously concluded that some of her other impairments were non-severe, any error was harmless.” (citing Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399 F.3d 546, 553 (3d Cir. 2005))

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

CAMDEN VICINAGE

:

Robin C., :

:

Plaintiff, : Civil No. 20-6778 (RBK)

:

v. : OPINION

:

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, :

:

Defendant. :

:

:

KUGLER, United States District Judge:

This matter comes before the Court upon Plaintiff Robin C.’s Appeal (ECF No. 1) from

the final decision of the Commissioner of Social Security denying Plaintiff’s claim for Disability

Insurance and Supplemental Security Income benefits. For the reasons set forth below, the

Commissioner’s decision is AFFIRMED.

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY1

In September 2012, Plaintiff filed an application seeking Social Security Disability

Insurance and Supplemental Security Income benefits, alleging an onset of disability on August

6, 2008. (ECF No. 1, “Compl.”); (R. at 330–84). The application was denied on March 31, 2014,

(R. at 141), and denied again upon reconsideration on August 12, 2014, (R. at 213–17). Plaintiff

then requested a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”). (R. at 219–20). On

November 29, 2016, a hearing was held before ALJ Karen Shelton. (R. at 48–100, 234). On

1 Because the record is voluminous, the Court sets forth only those facts necessary for context and relevant to the

issues upon appeal. The Court cites to the administrative record as “R.” Background facts and medical history are

set forth in a separate section below.

March 21, 2017, ALJ Shelton issued a decision finding that Plaintiff was not disabled within the

meaning of the Social Security Act. (R. at 170–97). Plaintiff appealed ALJ Shelton’s opinion to

the Appeals Council on May 24, 2017. (R. at 264–66). The Appeals Council remanded Plaintiff’s

case on September 19, 2017. (R. at 202–06). Another hearing was held in this matter before ALJ

Shelton on May 3, 2018. (R. at 102–140). On November 29, 2018, ALJ Shelton issued a decision

finding that Plaintiff was not disabled. (R. at 7–35). On January 29, 2019, Plaintiff filed a request

for review with the Appeals Council, which was denied on March 30, 2020. (R. at 1–6). ALJ

Shelton’s November 2019 decision became the final decision of the Commissioner of Social

Security. On June 3, 2020, Plaintiff appealed the matter to this Court. (Compl.).

II. LEGAL STANDARD

A. Sequential Evaluation Process

The Social Security Act defines disability as the “inability to engage in any substantial

gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment . . .

which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months.”

42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A). The Commissioner applies a five-step evaluation process to determine

whether a claimant is disabled. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520.

For the first four steps of the evaluation process, the claimant has the burden of

establishing her disability by a preponderance of the evidence. Zirnsak v. Colvin, 777 F.3d 607,

611–12 (3d Cir. 2014). First, the claimant must show that she was not engaged in “substantial

gainful activity” for the relevant time period. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1572. Second, the claimant must

demonstrate that she has a “severe medically determinable physical and mental impairment” that

lasted for a continuous period of at least twelve months. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(ii); 20

C.F.R. § 404.1509. Third, either the claimant shows that her condition was one of the

Commissioner’s listed impairments, and is therefore disabled and entitled to benefits, or the

analysis proceeds to step four. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1420(a)(4)(iii). Fourth, if the condition is not

equivalent to a listed impairment, the ALJ must assess the claimant’s residual functional capacity

(“RFC”), and the claimant must show that she cannot perform her past work. 20 C.F.R. §

404.1520(a)(4)(iv); 20 C.F.R. § 404. 1520(e). If the claimant meets her burden, the burden shifts

to the Commissioner for the last step. Zirnsak, 777 F.3d at 612. At the fifth and last step, the

Commissioner must establish that other available work exists that the claimant can perform

based on her RFC, age, education, and work experience. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520 (a)(4)(v); Zirnsak,

777 F.3d at 612. If the claimant can make “an adjustment to other work,” she is not disabled. See

20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(v).

B. Review of the Commissioner’s Decision

This Court reviews the ALJ's application of the law under a de novo standard and the

ALJ's factual findings under a substantial evidence standard. Poulos v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 474

F.3d 88, 91 (3d Cir. 2007) (citing 42 U.S.C. 405(g); Williams v. Sullivan, 970 F.2d 1178, 1182

(3d Cir. 1992); Monsour Med. CR. v. Heckler, 806 F.2d 1185, 1191 (3d Cir. 1986)).

Substantial evidence is “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as

adequate to support a conclusion.” Morales v. Apfel, 225 F.3d 310, 316 (3d Cir. 2000).

Substantial evidence is “more than a mere scintilla but may be somewhat less than a

preponderance of the evidence.” See, e.g., Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399 F.3d 546, 552 (3d Cir.

2005) (quoting Ginsburg v. Richardson, 436 F.2d 1146, 1148 (3d Cir.1971)). Courts may not set

aside the Commissioner’s decision if it is supported by substantial evidence, even if this Court

“would have decided the factual inquiry differently.” Fargnoli v. Massanari, 247 F.3d 34, 38 (3d

Cir. 2001).

This Court must be wary of treating the determination of substantial evidence as a “self-

executing formula for adjudication.” Kent v. Schweiker, 710 F.2d 110, 114 (3d Cir. 1983). The

Court must set aside the Commissioner’s decision if it did not consider the entire record or failed

to resolve an evidentiary conflict. See Schonewolf v. Callahan, 927 F.Supp. 277, 284–85 (D.N.J.

1997) (citing Gober v. Matthews, 574 F.2d 772, 776 (3d Cir. 1978)). Evidence is not substantial

if “it really constitutes not evidence but mere conclusion,” or if the ALJ “ignores, or fails to

resolve, a conflict created by countervailing evidence.” Wallace v. Sec’y of Health & Human

Servs., 722 F.2d 1150, 1153 (3d Cir. 1983) (citing Kent, 710 F.2d at 110, 114).

III. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

A. Plaintiff’s History

Plaintiff Robin C. (“Plaintiff”) was born on January 9, 1961 and was 47 years old on the

alleged onset date of August 6, 2008. (R. at 34, 330). She completed a four-year college degree

and some credits for a master’s program. (R. at 60–61, 376). At the time of the 2016 hearing,

Plaintiff lived at home with her husband. (R. at 57). Plaintiff can drive short distances, (R. at 59–

60), go to the grocery store, (R. at 60), walk her dogs, (R. at 80), run errands, (R. at 85), garden

(R. at 86), and cook, (R. at 86). She exercises two to three days per week, using the treadmill and

doing strength training. (R. at 85). Plaintiff alleges disability based on executive functioning

disorder, stroke, memory and cognitive impairments, endometrioid cancer, and disordered

thought process. (R. at 375).

In 2000, Plaintiff experienced a stroke and was hospitalized. (R. at 463–68, 544). She

testified that she has no feeling in the right side of her body and uses a left foot pedal to drive as

a result. (R. at 130, 135). Then in April 2008, Plaintiff was diagnosed with cancer. (R. at 65,

654–58). She underwent surgery and chemotherapy. (R. at 66, 644–49, 659–71). Her cancer has

been in remission since 2008. (R. at 67).

Plaintiff was fired from her position as a psychiatric screener in 2008 shortly after

returning from chemotherapy because she failed to get a signed release from a patient. (R. at 58,

64). She collected unemployment benefits in 2008 for roughly two years, (R. at 58–59), while

looking for new employment, (R. at 68–71).

Plaintiff was then hired by Crossmark to work as a demonstrator at BJ’s Warehouse in

2014. (R. at 70). Plaintiff worked 15–20 hours a week for roughly a year and a half, during

which time she felt exhausted. (R. at 70–71). She was stopped working in October 2015 when

BJ’s terminated Crossmark. (R. at 71–72).

Following her termination, Plaintiff testified that she has continually looked for part-time

work. (R. at 72). She states that she is limited to part-time work due to her fatigue, which she

believes derives from her 2008 chemotherapy. (R. at 72–74). Plaintiff reported needing to take

one or two breaks, in addition to her regularly scheduled break, due to fatigue while working

part-time. (R. at 88). Generally, these unscheduled breaks lasted 15 to 20 minutes each but were

sometimes longer. (R. at 88). To handle her fatigue when she is at home, Plaintiff will sit or lay

down. (R. at 91).

Plaintiff also complains of other physical impairments. She reported severe memory

problems, which started after her stroke and worsened after her chemotherapy treatment. (R. at

75–78). Plaintiff also stated that she had to take more bathroom breaks than usual due to the

lasting effects of her surgery (R. at 72). Moreover, she testified that her fine motor skills are

impaired, resulting in difficulty writing and typing. (R. at 76–77, 131). Plaintiff can, however,

open a door, work a remote control, and execute basic functions on a cell phone. (R. at 78–79).

Plaintiff also stated that she experiences pain in her left foot due to bone spurs if she stands for

more than one hour, requiring her to elevate her feet. (R. at 121). Plaintiff underwent surgery for

bone spurs in 2013. (R. at 80).

B. Medical & Lay Opinion Evidence

i. Dr. Tracy

Dr. Joseph Tracy conducted a neuropsychological evaluation of Plaintiff in July 2014 in

connection with her application for disability benefits. (R. at 796–802). Dr. Tracy found that

Plaintiff had a bilateral impairment related to her motor dexterity and her psychomotor speed

was below average in her right hand. (R. at 800). Dr. Tracy diagnosed Plaintiff with Dysthymic

Disorder and mild cognitive impairment, which reflected specific deficits in word retrieval and

verbal memory. (R. at 801). He found additional deficits in information processing speed and

mental efficiency, which were diminished by Plaintiff’s depression. (R. at 801). Ultimately, Dr.

Tracy concluded that:

Based upon my clinical interview, neurobehavioral status exam, and the

psychological and neurocognitive test data, I conclude that the above disorders do

remove and precludes her ability to work at prior levels, levels that she would

otherwise be able to obtain based on her age, education, and experience.

Disability status is warranted.

(R. at 801).

ii. Dr. Libon

Dr. David Libon conducted a neuropsychological evaluation of Plaintiff in September

2009. (R. at 473–78). In his evaluation, Dr. Libon noted Plaintiff was “positive for a debilitating

dysexecutive syndrome” and “presents with significant cognitive disabilities.” (R. at 477).

Ultimately, Dr. Libon diagnosed Plaintiff with “cognitive impairment associated with prior CVA

and chemotherapy” and recommended that “a disability application … be considered as the

patient is unable to return to her former occupation.” (R. at 478). Dr. Libon also found that

Plaintiff had exhibited dysgraphia stemming from “motor control problems.” (R. at 476–77).

iii. Dr. Morgan

Dr. Mark Morgan is Plaintiff’s oncologist. (R. at 605–25, 849–82). He has treated

Plaintiff since 2008. (R. at 605–25, 637, 646). Dr. Morgan’s treatment notes throughout the

relevant time period repeatedly document “cognitive dysfunction” and Plaintiff’s complaints of

“memory problems” including “severe memory loss since completing her chemotherapy.” (R. at

605–25, 637). Treatment notes also indicate that Plaintiff was “very active in the gym” during

this time. (R. at 638, 642). Dr. Morgan completed a medical source statement for Plaintiff in

2014. (R. at 789–94). In the statement, Dr. Morgan indicated that Plaintiff would typically

require supine rest for at least a total of one and a half to two hours a day, that the times Plaintiff

would need rest was unpredictable, and that Plaintiff would likely be “off task” 25% or more of

the time in a typical workday. (R. at 791). He also indicated that Plaintiff’s fatigue would prevent

her from performing normal, full-time work more than 3-4 days per month and that she would

need to be absent more than four days per month as a result of her impairments. (R. at 793, 794).

iv. Dr. Aliferova

Dr. Tatyana Aliferova has been Plaintiff’s primary care physician since 2010. (R. at 721,

845). Dr. Aliferova provided treatment records and, in 2016, a medical source statement for the

ALJ’s consideration in this case. (R. at 721, 831–44, 845–48). In her medical source statement,

Dr. Aliferova indicated that Plaintiff would not need supine rest for at least one and a half to two

hours a day. (R. at 847). She did indicate, however, that Plaintiff would likely be off task 25% or

more of the time in a typical workday and would have “good days and bad days[.]” (R. at 847).

v. Dr. Wagner

Dr. Mark Wagner evaluated on Plaintiff in October 2016. (R. at 414–35). For the

evaluation, Dr. Wagner reviewed medical records from Dr. Libon, Dr. Coffey, Dr. Morgan, and

Dr. Tracy. (R. at 414, 422–26). Dr. Wagner noted that Plaintiff “is continuing to experience

some neurocognitive deficits at this time[,]” (R. at 432), and found “significant limitations”

regarding Plaintiff’s contextual verbal memory, consistent with Dr. Libon, Dr. Tracy and Dr.

Coffey’s evaluations, (R. at 434). Dr. Wagner concluded that “[t]he neurocognitive and

emotional factors that [Plaintiff] now presents with appear interwoven….perpetuat[ing] the

continuation of difficulties that [she] is experiencing and impedes her ability to resume

meaningful employment.” (Id.). Dr. Wagner stated that he believed his findings “are

representative of [Plaintiff’s] functional limitations going back to 2009.” (Id.).

vi. Dr. Knod

Plaintiff was evaluated by Dr. George Knod for purposes of her disability claim on April

24, 2018. (R. at 883–96). Dr. Knod performed a functional analysis based on a physical

examination of Plaintiff and review of Plaintiff’s medical records, specifically Dr. Aliferova’s

2016 medical source statement and Dr. Morgan’s 2014 medical source statement. (R. at 883–87).

In his physical examination of Plaintiff, Dr. Knod noted that Plaintiff’s grip strength on the right

was “consistently decreased as compared to the left.” (R. at 886). Dr. Knod concluded that “[t]he

combination of neurological deficits from [Plaintiff’s] prior strike and the side effects of

chemotherapy … would limit her ability to work in a competitive work environment….” (R. at

887). For support, he cited to Dr. Morgan’s 2014 opinion, which supported “the onset to 2008

following surgery and chemotherapy.” (R. at 887). In addition, Dr. Knod found “[c]hronic

fatigue also limits [Plaintiff’s] functional abilities”; apparently citing directly from Dr. Morgan’s

opinion he further noted that Plaintiff’s “need for rest is unpredictable” and would “prevent her

from performing normal fulltime work activities on a frequent … basis.” (R. at 887).

vii. Lay Statements

Plaintiff’s sister and Plaintiff’s longtime friend submitted letters on Plaintiff’s behalf. (R.

at 412–13, 436–37). Plaintiff’s sister has observed that Plaintiff is constantly fatigued, has

limited use of her right hand, and experiences severe deficits in short- and long-term memory.

(R. at 412). Further, Plaintiff’s sister notes that Plaintiff used to be a talented painter but can no

longer perform this task due to a loss of feeling in the right side of her body. (R. at 412–13).

Plaintiff’s friend, who has known Plaintiff for nearly 40 years, has observed that since Plaintiff’s

stroke and chemotherapy, Plaintiff loses focus often, can no longer drive to unfamiliar areas, and

struggles to complete mundane tasks. (R. at 436–37).

C. The ALJ’s Decision

At Step One, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had not engaged in substantial gainful activity

from her alleged onset date, August 6, 2008, through her date last insured, December 31, 2015.

(R. at 14). At Step Two, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had the following severe impairments:

Attention Deficit Disorder/Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, learning disorder, and

organic mental disorder (R. at 14). The ALJ found that Plaintiff’s prior cancer, cerebrovascular

accident (CVA), small bowel obstruction, degenerative disc disease of the cervical spine,

osteoarthritis, and degenerative joint disease were non-severe because there was “minimal

clinical evidence in the record to corroborate or support any finding of a significant vocational

impact related to these conditions” prior to the date last insured. (R. at 14–15). At Step Three, the

ALJ found that none of Plaintiff’s impairments met or medically equaled the severity of one of

the listed impairments in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. (R. at 15–19).

The ALJ then constructed Plaintiff’s residual functional capacity (“RFC”), finding that,

during the relevant period,

[Plaintiff] had the residual functional capacity to perform a full range of

work at all exertional levels but with the following non-exertional limitations: The

[Plaintiff] was able to understand, remember, and carry out simple, routine, and

repetitive tasks in a work environment free of fast-paced production requirements,

involving only simple work-related decisions with few, if any, workplace

changes. [Plaintiff] could work for two hours at one time before needing a break.

She could only have frequent contact with supervisors and co-workers. [Plaintiff]

could also have frequent contact with the public, provided it was brief and

superficial in nature.

(R. at 19–33).

When formulating the RFC, the ALJ found that while Plaintiff’s “medically determinable

impairments could reasonably be expected to cause the alleged symptoms[,]” Plaintiff’s

statements concerning the intensity, persistence, and limiting effects of Plaintiff’s symptoms

were “not entirely consistent” with the record. (R. at 32).

In reaching this conclusion, the ALJ discussed Plaintiff’s relevant medical history. For

example, the ALJ noted that Plaintiff had suffered a stroke (CVA) in 2000 and was hospitalized

for two days, after which she returned to work at substantial gainful activity levels until 2008 (R.

at 23). She mentioned Plaintiff cancer diagnosis and subsequent treatment, and Plaintiff’s

testimony that her memory had been damaged by the chemotherapy. (R. at 21). The ALJ also

recounted Plaintiff’s activities of daily living, including going to the gym, doing errands, making

dinner, and cleaning the house. (R. at 20).

The ALJ determined Plaintiff’s physical impairments were “non-severe” given the

recency of their development relative to Plaintiff’s last date insured. (R. at 32). The ALJ also

concluded that the extent of Plaintiff’s complaints regarding chronic fatigue and memory

problems were “primarily unsupported” by evidence in the record. (R. at 32).

Further, the ALJ considered the medical opinion evidence that was submitted on the

record. The ALJ afforded “some weight” to Dr. Tracy’s opinion in support of a finding that

Plaintiff could perform unskilled work. (R. at 28). However, the ALJ rejected Dr. Tracy’s

opinion that “disability status is warranted[,]” because disability determinations are reserved for

the Commissioner and this opinion was based on the doctor’s conclusion that Plaintiff could not

return to skilled jobs. (Id.). The ALJ partially rejected Dr. Libon’s opinion that for similar

reasons. (R. 24–25). As with Dr. Tracy, the ALJ assigned some weight to Dr. Libon’s opinion to

the extent his findings supported a finding that Plaintiff was limited to unskilled work. (R. at 25).

The ALJ rejected Dr. Morgan’s opinion that Plaintiff needed significant supine rest,

noting that Dr. Morgan’s opinion appeared to be based solely on Plaintiff’s complaints. (R. at 29)

The ALJ explained that no examinations or other objective evidence supported Dr. Morgan’s

conclusions, which were also inconsistent with Plaintiff’s daily activities. (Id.).

Likewise, the ALJ discounted Dr. Aliferova’s opinion because it was contrary to

evidence in the record and appeared in a “checklist-style form” that lacked accompanying

explanations. (R. at 30). Further, the ALJ noted that Dr. Aliferova’s treatment notes “contain

routine medical care” and offered no support for her conclusions. (Id.). Last, the ALJ found that

Plaintiff’s testimony and daily activities further undermined Dr. Aliferova’s opinion. (Id.)

The ALJ deemed the opinions of Dr. Wagner and Dr. Knod unpersuasive because they

examined Plaintiff after her date last insured, in 2016 and 2018 respectively. (R. at 30–31). The

ALJ noted that Dr. Knod did not review any objective medical evidence from the relevant time

period in forming his opinion, only a medical source statement. (R. at 31). The ALJ also

discounted Dr. Wagner’s opinion because his conclusions were vague, and he did not offer

“concrete and explicit functional limitations for work activity.” (R. at 30).

Finally, the ALJ also considered statements from Plaintiff’s sister and friend. (R. at 30–

31). The ALJ ultimately assigned these statements little weight, finding they were subjective,

based on casual observation, and lacked substantial support from objective findings. (R. at 30–

31). The ALJ also found that the statements were inconsistent with the record, as well as with

Plaintiff’s own testimony and daily activities. (R. at 31).

At Step Four, the ALJ concluded that, based on Plaintiff’s RFC, Plaintiff was unable to

return to her past relevant work as a case worker or demonstrator. (R. at 33). At Step Five, based

on the above analysis and the testimony of a Vocational Expert, the ALJ found that there are jobs

that exist in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff can perform based on her

age, RFC, education, and work experience, including marker, laundry laborer, and addresser. (R.

at 34–35). Accordingly, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was not disabled at any time between

her alleged disability onset date and her date last insured. (R. at 35).

IV. DISCUSSION

Plaintiff raises four challenges on appeal. (ECF No. 12, “Pl. Br.” 11–31). Plaintiff

contends that the ALJ erred: (1) in finding Plaintiff’s physical impairments to be non-severe, (id.

at 11–14); (2) in failing to include Plaintiff’s physical impairments in the RFC calculation, (id. at

14–16); (3) in her consideration of the opinion evidence and non-contemporaneous evidence, (id.

at 17–29); and (4) in minimizing the impact of Plaintiff’s stroke, (id. at 29–31). The Court begins

with Plaintiff’s first challenge.

A. Plaintiff’s Physical Impairments

i. Step Two

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred by finding that Plaintiff’s physical impairments were

non-severe at Step Two. (Pl. Br. 11–14). Plaintiff contends that she suffers from the following

medically determinable, physical impairments: “uterine/endometrioid cancer, cerebrovascular

accident (CVA), small bowel obstruction, left knee degenerative joint disease, and osteoporosis

of the lumbar spine and hips” as well as impairment of her fine motor skills. (Pl. Br. 12–13).

We need not decide this issue, however, because even if the ALJ erred in her

determination that Plaintiff’s physical impairments were non-severe, the error was harmless. An

ALJ’s error in evaluating the severity of a medically determinable impairment at Step Two is

generally harmless if the ALJ recognizes at least one severe impairment and continues with the

sequential evaluation.2 See Orr v. Comm'r Soc. Sec., 805 F. App'x 85, 88 (3d Cir. 2020)

(“[B]ecause the ALJ progressed to a later step, any error at Step Two would not alter the

remainder of the five-step process, much less the overall outcome. And without more, [the

claimant] provides no valid basis for remand.”); Salles v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 229 F. App'x 140,

145 n.2 (3d Cir. 2007) (“Because the ALJ found in [the claimant’s] favor at Step Two, even if he

had erroneously concluded that some of her other impairments were non-severe, any error was

harmless.” (citing Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399 F.3d 546, 553 (3d Cir. 2005))).

Here, the ALJ concluded that several of Plaintiff’s mental impairments—attention deficit

disorder/attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, learning disorder, and organic mental disorder—

met the requisite severity threshold. (R. at 14). Therefore, the ALJ’s Step Two finding that

Plaintiff’s physical impairments were non-severe does not warrant remand.3

ii. Step Four

2 The ALJ must, however, account for the omitted impairment in formulating the RFC and the error must “not

otherwise affect the outcome of the case.” Friday v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:20-CV-04504, 2021 WL 3879081,

at *4 (D.N.J. Aug. 31, 2021) (citations omitted).

3 Plaintiff effectively concedes this point in her brief, noting “while we argue that the ALJ erred at Step Two, the

harm is that the rejection of any non-psychiatric impairments at Step Two was followed by the ALJ failing to

consider these impairments at the remaining steps ot [sic] the sequential evaluation process.” (Pl. Br. 14).

The question now becomes whether the ALJ sufficiently accounted for Plaintiff’s

physical impairments in the RFC. Plaintiff correctly notes that SSR 96-8p requires an ALJ

consider all of a claimant’s impairments when developing the RFC, including those that are not

severe. See SSR 96-8p; 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(2).

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred in failing to include fatigue-related limitations in the

RFC. (Pl. Br. 16). There are two main pieces of evidence in the record that could support a

fatigue limitation: (1) Plaintiff’s testimony regarding her fatigue, (R. at 72–75, 88); and (2) Dr.

Morgan’s 2014 Medical Source Statement, which indicated that Plaintiff would require one and

half to two hours of supine rest a day and that fatigue would prevent Plaintiff from performing

normal, full-time work more than 3-4 days per month. (R. at 791, 793–94).

For the reasons expressed below, we find that the ALJ did not err in discounting Dr.

Morgan’s opinion regarding Plaintiff’s fatigue. With regard to Plaintiff’s testimony, Plaintiff

reported needing to take one or two breaks—generally lasting 15-20 minutes each—in addition

to her regularly scheduled break due to fatigue while working part-time. (R. at 88). The ALJ

considered this testimony when constructing the RFC. (R. at 22). Consistent with this testimony,

the ALJ noted in the RFC that “claimant could work for two hours at one time before needing a

break.” (R. at 19). Plaintiff has not shown that this restriction is insufficient to account for

Plaintiff’s fatigue. To the extent Plaintiff intends to argue greater fatigue limitations are

warranted, Plaintiff does not identify additional fatigue-related evidence the ALJ overlooked in

constructing the RFC. Contrary to Plaintiff’s assertion, Dr. Morgan’s treatment notes do not

indicate Plaintiff complained of fatigue prior to one 2016 appointment. (R. at 871). Indeed, the

ALJ acknowledged in her decision that among Plaintiff’s chief complaints is symptoms of

chronic fatigue but found that “the extent of [Plaintiff’s] allegations and limitations are primarily

unsupported.” (R. at 32). Therefore, remand is not warranted on this issue.

Aside from fatigue, Plaintiff does not indicate what, if any, functional limitations stem

from her physical impairments that the ALJ should have accounted for in the RFC. Instead,

Plaintiff puts forth a general argument that, given her medical history, she is clearly unable to lift

objects weighing more than 100 pounds or frequently lift objects weighing more than 50 pounds

as would be required for heavy work. (Pl. Br. 15) (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567); (ECF No. 14,

“Pl. Reply” 6). But it is the plaintiff who bears the burden at Step Four. See Smith v. Comm'r of

Soc. Sec., 631 F.3d 632, 634 (3d Cir. 2010). Plaintiff points to no evidence in the record that the

ALJ overlooked suggesting that Plaintiff is limited in the amount of weight she can lift. On the

contrary, Plaintiff herself testified that she lifts weights at the gym and can lift groceries. (R. at

85, 133). It seems, then, that Plaintiff is arguing that the ALJ should have inferred a lifting

limitation based only on Plaintiff’s status as a stroke and cancer survivor.4 Without more, we

cannot conclude that the ALJ erred in failing to include a lifting limitation in the RFC. See

Edghill v. Saul, No. 2:20-CV-461, 2021 WL 2434046, at *8 (D.N.J. June 15, 2021) (“[T]he ALJ

need include only ‘credibly established’ limitations in the RFC.” (citing Rutherford v. Barnhart,

399 F.3d 546, 554 (3d Cir. 2005))).

B. Opinion Evidence

Plaintiff next asserts that the ALJ erred in her evaluation of the medical Opinion evidence

provided by Dr. Tracy, Dr, Libon, Dr. Morgan, Dr. Aliferova, Dr. Wagner, and Dr. Knod and the

4 Even assuming that the ALJ erred in determining Plaintiff could perform heavy work, Plaintiff still fails to show

that this error was harmful. The ALJ ultimately concluded that Plaintiff could perform occupations like Addresser,

Marker, and Laundry Laborer, which require only sedentary, light, and medium exertional levels. (R at 34–35).

Plaintiff makes no argument in her brief that she is unable to perform the exertional requirements of these jobs.

lay evidence provided by Plaintiff’s sister and friend. (Pl. Br. 17–29). The Court will address

each argument in turn.

The ALJ must make the ultimate disability and RFC determination. Chandler v. Comm'r

of Soc. Sec., 667 F.3d 356, 361 (3d Cir. 2011). When determining a claimant's ability to work,

the ALJ must consider all relevant evidence, including the medical records, medical source

opinions, and the individual's testimony. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a). The ALJ has a duty to

evaluate all the medical opinions in the record under the factors set forth in the regulations and to

resolve any conflicts. 20 C.F.R. § 416.927. The ALJ may choose which medical evidence to

credit and which to reject as long as there is a rational basis for the decision. Plummer v. Apfel,

186 F.3d 422, 429 (3d Cir. 1999). “The ALJ must consider all the evidence and give some reason

for discounting the evidence she rejects.” Id.

i. Dr. Tracy

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred in her evaluation of the opinion of Dr. Tracy, (Pl. Br.

17), a neuropsychologist who examined Plaintiff in connection with her application for social

security benefits, (R. at 796). Plaintiff’s arguments on this issue are jumbled. As far as the Court

can discern, Plaintiff claims that the ALJ erred by rejecting Dr. Tracy’s opinion just because it

addressed the ultimate issue of Plaintiff’s disability status and asserts that the ALJ should have

recontacted Dr. Tracy to seek additional clarification.5 (Pl. Br. 17–18).

Plaintiff’s contention that the ALJ rejected Dr. Tracy’s opinion solely because it touched

on the ultimate issue of disability is meritless. (Pl. Br. 18). The ALJ clearly discounted only Dr.

5 Plaintiff also suggests that Dr. Tracy’s opinion that “disability status is warranted” was meant to “touch on

[Plaintiff’s] persistence at competitive work.” (Pl. Br. 18). This argument is unavailing. Dr. Tracy stated that “the

above disorders do remove and preclude [Plaintiff’s] ability to work at prior levels, levels that she would otherwise

be able to obtain based on her training, education, and experience. Disability status is warranted.” (R. at 801). It is

clear that Dr. Tracy was opining only on Plaintiff’s ability to perform her past work or comparable work based on

her professional background. It would be a stretch to interpret Dr. Tracy’s statement, as Plaintiff suggests, to mean

that Plaintiff is unable to perform any competitive work at all.

Tracy’s finding that “disability status is warranted” while assigning some weight to Dr. Tracy’s

opinion and examination findings to the extent his opinion and findings indicate Plaintiff is

capable of unskilled work. (R. at 28). Indeed, the ALJ recounted at length Dr. Tracy’s

examination findings regarding Plaintiff’s mental functioning. (R. at 27–28). But the ALJ was

entitled to discount Dr. Tracy’s opinion on Plaintiff’s disability status because “opinions on

disability are not medical opinions and are not given any special significance.” Dixon v. Comm'r

of Soc. Sec., 183 F. App'x 248, 251 (3d Cir. 2006) (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(e)(1) & (3)).

To the extent that Plaintiff argues the ALJ should have recontacted Dr. Tracy, we find

this argument unpersuasive. Under the applicable Social Security regulation,

[O]ur rules provide that adjudicators must always carefully consider

medical source opinions about any issue, including opinions about issues that are

reserved to the Commissioner. For treating sources, the rules also require that we

make every reasonable effort to recontact such sources for clarification when they

provide opinions on issues reserved to the Commissioner and the bases for such

opinions are not clear to us.

SSR 96–5p.6

As such, the ALJ was not required to recontact Dr. Tracy. First, Dr. Tracy was not a

treating source—a fact that Plaintiff admits. (Pl. Br. 18) (“Plaintiff does not argue that Dr. Tracy

necessarily qualifies as a treating source.”). Second, the basis for Dr. Tracy’s opinion as to

Plaintiff’s disability status is clear: the doctor concluded that Plaintiff was disabled because she

is unable to perform her past work as a counselor or work at a comparable level of skill—a

conclusion that the ALJ agreed with. (R. at 801). As the ALJ correctly noted, “this is not the

standard for disability under the Social Security Act.” (R. at 28). Third, recontact “is necessary

only when the evidence received is ‘inadequate’ for making a disability determination” which is

6 Subsequently enacted regulations have modified SSR 96–5p, such that “recontacting a medical source is now

discretionary” rather than mandatory. Bryson v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 639 F. App'x 784, 787 n.8 (3d Cir. 2016)

(citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520b(c)–(d)).

not the case here. Bryson v. Comm'r Soc. Sec., 639 F. App'x 784, 787 (3d Cir. 2016). Here, the

ALJ considered multiple medical source opinions, lay statements, Plaintiff’s testimony, and

Plaintiff’s medical records in rendering her decision as to Plaintiff’s disability status.

Accordingly, we find no error in the ALJ’s decision not to recontact Dr. Tracy.

ii. Dr. Libon

Plaintiff next claims that the ALJ erred by rejecting Dr. Libon’s opinion. In fact, as with

Dr. Tracy, the ALJ assigned some weight to Dr. Libon’s opinion “in support of a finding that the

claimant is limited to unskilled work …” but afforded little weight to Dr. Libon’s suggestion that

Plaintiff was entitled to disability as “[t]his is a medical-vocational determination reserved solely

for the … Commissioner.” (R. at 24–25). Plaintiff contends that the limitations indicated by Dr.

Libon’s test results “go beyond the ALJ’s RFC, and the ALJ does not explain her rationale for

rejecting the testing-based results.” (Pl. Br. 19).

But Plaintiff does not explain how Dr. Libon’s tests results “go beyond the ALJ’s RFC,”

noting only that certain results “indicate serious impairment in the ability to function” and

“would lead to greater impairment than allowed.” (Pl. Br. 19). The ALJ accurately recounted Dr.

Libon’s opinion and concluded that it supported a finding that Plaintiff was limited to unskilled

work, but still capable of some gainful work. (R. at 24–25). By contending that the ALJ erred,

Plaintiff is effectively asking the Court to reweigh Dr. Libon’s findings—something we cannot

do. Michael Edward Davern v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 660 F. App'x 169, 174 (3d Cir. 2016) (“A

court may not weigh the evidence or substitute its own findings for the Commissioner's.”) (citing

Monsour Med. Ctr. v. Heckler, 806 F.2d 1185, 1190–91 (3d Cir. 1986)).

iii. Dr. Morgan

The ALJ discounted Dr. Morgan’s opinion that Plaintiff would be off task more than 25%

or more per workday, as well as his conclusions that Plaintiff requires one and a half to two

hours of supine rest daily and would miss more than four workdays a month due to fatigue. (R. at

28–29). The ALJ did so because Dr. Morgan’s opinion appeared to be based solely on Plaintiff’s

subject complaints and was inconsistent with the objective medical evidence as well as

Plaintiff’s substantial daily activities. (R. at 29). Plaintiff argues that the ALJ did not identify

what, if any, evidence in the record is inconsistent with Dr. Morgan’s opinion, (Pl. Br. 19–20),

and ignored important portions of Plaintiff’s testimony and the record that lend support to Dr.

Morgan’s opinion, (Pl. Br. 20–21).

“[A]n ALJ may reject the opinion of a treating physician when it is unsupported and

inconsistent with the other evidence in the record.” Brunson v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 704 F. App'x

56, 59 (3d Cir. 2017) (citing Fargnoli v. Massanari, 247 F.3d 34, 43 (3d Cir. 2001)). Here,

substantial evidence in the record contradicts Dr. Morgan’s findings regarding Plaintiff’s ability

to stay on task and Plaintiff’s related claims of chronic fatigue. For example, the ALJ assigned

significant weight to the opinion of Dr. Coffey and the State Agency psychological consultants

to the extent those medical sources that Plaintiff’s pace and persistence was adequate. (R. at 26–

27). Dr. Coffey also found that Plaintiff’s mental symptoms were not so severe as to “interfere

with [Plaintiff’s] ability to function in a consistent manner.” (R. at 26). In addition, the ALJ

emphasized that despite Plaintiff’s subjective complaints of memory problems, formal

intelligence tests did not support the extent of cognitive impairment that Plaintiff alleged. (R. at

32). The fact that Plaintiff was able to engage in work activity, albeit on a part-time basis, in

2014 and 2015 also supported this conclusion. (Id.). And while Dr. Morgan’s treatment notes

consistently documented Plaintiff’s reports of “memory problems” due to chemotherapy, (R. at

605–25, 637), the ALJ noted that Dr. Morgan did not formally evaluate Plaintiff’s mental

capabilities or provide any treatment for Plaintiff’s mental symptoms, (R. at 32).

Moreover, Plaintiff’s own testimony regarding her daily activities is inconsistent with Dr.

Morgan’s opinion that Plaintiff would require over an hour of supine rest daily. Plaintiff testified

that she goes to the grocery store, (R. at 60), walks her dogs (R. at 80), runs errands (R. at 85),

gardens, (R. at 86), and cooks (R. at 86). She exercises for up to an hour two to three days per

week, using the treadmill and doing strength training. (R. at 85). Only once in Dr. Morgan’s

treatment notes does he mention Plaintiff’s complaints of fatigue, and this involved treatment

that occurred in October 2016—outside of the relevant period. (R. at 871). Indeed, Dr. Morgan’s

treatment notes from 2009, mere months after Plaintiff’s chemotherapy ended, reveal that

Plaintiff was “very active” during this time. (R. at 638, 642).

Additionally, as the ALJ asserted, Dr. Morgan’s conclusions appear to be based entirely

on Plaintiff’s subjective complaints regarding the extent of her memory/cognition issues and

fatigue, which the ALJ found were “primarily unsupported” by the evidence. (R. at 32); see

Morris v. Barnhart, 78 F. App'x 820, 825 (3d Cir. 2003) (“An ALJ may discredit a physician's

opinion on disability that was premised largely on the claimant's own accounts of her symptoms

and limitations when the claimant's complaints are properly discounted.”). As such, the ALJ did

not err in her assessment of Dr. Morgan’s opinion.

iv. Dr. Aliferova

The ALJ gave little weight to Dr. Aliferova’s opinion that Plaintiff would be off task 25%

or more during a workday, “because [the doctor] merely checked boxes and circled answers on a

form without any supporting explanation….” (R. at 30). The ALJ also asserted that Dr.

Aliferova’s opinion was inconsistent with objective medical evidence, including the doctor’s

own treatment notes, and Plaintiff’s daily activities. (R. at 30). Further, the ALJ noted that

Plaintiff’s “psychological issues” are “beyond the scope of Dr. Aliferova’s practice or treatment

of the [Plaintiff].” (R. at 29).

We find that the ALJ did not err in affording limited weight to Dr. Aliferova’s opinion.

Plaintiff asserts that the ALJ could only justify rejecting Dr. Aliferova’s opinion “by ignoring the

Plaintiff’s explanation as to her daily activities and ignoring broad swaths of testimony showing

that she is limited for hours after attempting activity and required unscheduled breaks at work

due to fatigue and other symptoms.” (Pl. Br. 22). However, contrary to Plaintiff’s assertions, Dr.

Aliferova did not indicate that “fatigue” was one of Plaintiff’s symptoms in her medical source

statement; when asked whether it is reasonable for Plaintiff to typically need supine rest (lie

down or recline) for at least a total of 1 ½ to 2 hours during the day, Dr. Aliferova responded

“not at all.” (R. at 845–47). Further, as the ALJ noted, Dr. Aliferova’s treatment notes contain no

reference to Plaintiff’s fatigue or any other functional limitations. See, e.g., (R. at 831–44).

While a treating source’s opinion is typically entitled to great weight, an ALJ “may

afford a treating physician's opinion more or less weight depending upon the extent to which

supporting explanations are provided.” Plummer, 186 F.3d at 429. And while Plaintiff asserts

that merely writing in Plaintiff’s diagnoses removes Dr. Aliferova’s statement from the realm of

a “checkbox” opinion, we disagree. (Pl. Br. 22). Dr. Aliferova did not include meaningful

supporting explanations to explain the basis of her off-task conclusion and the ALJ was entitled

to discredit her opinion for that reason. See Mason v. Shalala, 994 F.2d 1058, 1065 (3d Cir.

1993) (“Form reports in which a physician's obligation is only to check a box or fill in a blank

are weak evidence at best.”).

v. Dr. Wagner & Dr. Knod

Plaintiff argues the ALJ erred in discounting Dr. Knod and Dr. Wagner’s opinions on the

basis that these opinions were rendered after Plaintiff’s last date insured. (Pl. Br. 23–26, 28–29).

The ALJ assigned “little weight” to Dr. Wagner’s non-contemporaneous opinion, despite

retroactively attributing his assessment, because his personal observations of Plaintiff occurred

almost a year after the relevant period, making them “considerably less persuasive.” (R. at 30).

The ALJ also afforded “little weight” to Dr. Knod’s functional evaluation, concluding that the

“functional limitations that [Dr. Knod] offers is [sic] primarily premised on his 2018

observations of the claimant, which are entirely irrelevant to determine whether [Plaintiff] was

disabled between August 2008 and December 2015.” (R. at 31). The ALJ also noted that the fact

that Dr. Knod did not review any “objective medical evidence” regarding Plaintiff’s functional

capabilities from the relevant period itself “significantly undermine[d] [Dr. Knod’s] belief that

[Plaintiff] had limitations consistent with [Dr. Knod’s] opinion since 2008. (Id.).

Plaintiff correctly asserts that an ALJ should generally consider non-contemporaneous

evidence that bears on a plaintiff’s claim of impairment during the relevant period. SSR 18-1p;

SSR 83-20; Newell v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 347 F.3d 541, 547 (3d Cir. 2003). However, we find

no error in the ALJ’s evaluation of Dr. Wagner and Dr. Knod’s opinions in the instant matter.

Plaintiff’s reliance on our decision in Murphy v. Colvin is inapposite.7 No. CIV. 13-5508, 2014

WL 6065749, at *1 (D.N.J. Nov. 12, 2014). Both Murphy and Newell involved situations where

an ALJ refused to consider a claimant’s impairment at Step Two because of the lack of

contemporaneous evidence of that impairment during part or all of the relevant time period. See

7 As a preliminary matter, Murphy involved an application of SSR 83-20, 2014 WL 6065749, at *18, which

“provides ALJs with an analytical framework for determining a disability onset date[,]” Newell, 347 F.3d at 548.

SSR 83-20, and subsequently replaced by SSR 18-1p, is less applicable where the ALJ is determining whether a

Plaintiff is disabled in the first place. Zirnsak v. Colvin, 777 F.3d 607, 613 (3d Cir. 2014) (“The purpose of … SSR

83–20[] is to ‘describe the relevant evidence to be considered when establishing the onset date of disability,’ not

whether disability exists.” (citing SSR 83-20)).

Newell, 347 F.3d at 547; Murphy, 2014 WL 6065749, at *18. Indeed, we found in Murphy that it

was remandable error for the ALJ to “reject a retrospective opinion solely because there are no

contemporaneous objective medical findings or evidence to support the opinion.” Murphy, 2014

WL 6065749, at *16.

Here, there is ample contemporaneous evidence of Plaintiff’s impairments and the

severity of those impairments throughout the relevant time period. See (R. at 473–78, 605–25,

637, 646, 721, 789–94, 796–802, 831–44). Therefore, the ALJ could properly discount Dr.

Wagner and Dr. Knod’s non-contemporaneous medical evidence, particularly as those opinions

relied on the same medical opinions that the ALJ considered and, for various reasons, afforded

little weight in her RFC analysis. See Klangwald v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 269 F. App'x 202, 205

(3d Cir. 2008) (“[W]e have generally applied SSR 83–20 only where medical evidence from the

relevant period is unavailable.”); Maxwell v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. CV 19-8687, 2020 WL

3097532, at *8 (D.N.J. June 11, 2020) (“[T]he existence of ample medical evidence from the

relevant time period diminishes the probative value of non-contemporaneous exhibits.”). Thus,

we find no error in the ALJ’s decision to afford little weight to Dr. Wagner and Dr. Knod’s non-

contemporaneous opinions.8

vi. Lay Statements

Plaintiff objects to the ALJ’s decision to accord “little weight” to the two lay statements

submitted in November 2016. (R. at 30–31). The first lay statement was provided by Plaintiff’s

sister, (R. at 412–13), and the other by Plaintiff’s longtime friend, (R. at 436–37). In rendering

her decision, the ALJ afforded little weight to these statements because they (1) were offered by

non-medical sources and appeared “considerably” subjective; (2) were based on casual

8 Because we find that the ALJ provided an adequate rationale for discounting Dr. Wagner and Dr. Knod’s opinion,

we do not reach Plaintiff’s other arguments regarding the ALJ’s evaluation of these opinions. (Pl. Br. 24–25, 29).

observation; (3) “lack substantial support from objective findings and appear to be medically

inconsistent with the medical evidence of record”; and (4) appeared to be contradicted by the

claimant’s own testimony and activities of daily living. (R. at 31). The ALJ also suggests that

Plaintiff’s sister’s opinion could have been “influenced by loyalties to family.” (Id.). Plaintiff

contends that the ALJ’s reasoning was “conclusory and inappropriate[.]” (Pl. Br. 27).

We find that the ALJ’s first two reasons for rejecting the lay statements were improper.

Lay statements, by nature, are offered by non-medical sources, subjective, and based on casual

observation rather than medical testing. Nonetheless, lay statements should be properly

considered as evidence in a social security case. See SSR 06-03p; see also SSR 16-3P (“Other

sources may provide information from which we may draw inferences and conclusions about an

individual's statements that would be helpful to us in assessing the intensity, persistence, and

limiting effects of symptoms. Examples of such sources include … non-medical sources such as

family and friends ….”). An ALJ cannot reject a lay statement outright simply because the

statement comes from a non-medical source.

However, the ALJ also reasoned that the lay statements in this case were inconsistent

with the objective medical evidence and Plaintiff’s testimony and daily activities.9 (R. at 31).

The ALJ found the lay statements unpersuasive for the same reasons that she found Plaintiff’s

own allegations regarding the extent of Plaintiff’s limitations to be unpersuasive and noted that

the lay statements are inconsistent with Plaintiff’s “generally functional activities of daily

9 Even if the ALJ had erred in her evaluation of the lay statements, as Plaintiff contends, remand is still not

appropriate here because Plaintiff has not shown the error was harmful. Cf. Butterfield v. Astrue, No. 06-0603, 2011

WL 1740121, at *6 (E.D. Pa. May 5, 2011) (“In many cases, courts have found that an ALJ's failure to address lay

opinion testimony, although technically in violation of applicable legal standards, did not require remand since the

testimony would not have changed the outcome of the case.”) (collecting cases). As the ALJ noted, the lay

statements are largely cumulative of Plaintiff’s own testimony, which the ALJ adequately considered. See

Buffington v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec. Admin., No. CIV. 12-100, 2013 WL 796311, at *9 (D.N.J. Mar. 4, 2013)

(“Because [the lay] testimony is largely cumulative of Plaintiff's own testimony, which the ALJ expressly found not

credible, [the lay] opinions do not have a significant effect of the outcome of the case.”).

living[,]’” which the ALJ recounted in detail earlier in her decision. (R. at 20–24, 31). As the

ALJ provided adequate reasons for discounting the lay statements, remand is not needed. Cf.

Louis v. Comm'r Soc. Sec., 808 F. App'x 114, 122 (3d Cir. 2020) (“The ALJ discounted [the

plaintiff’s] mother’s reports because they were inconsistent with the previously discussed

objective medical evidence and medical opinions. This reason was sufficient by itself to support

the ALJ’s decision.”).

C. Plaintiff’s CVA & Hospitalization

Last, Plaintiff contends that the ALJ incorrectly characterized Plaintiff’s hospitalization

related to her CVA as brief, lasting only from June 28-29, 2000. (Pl. Br. 30–31). Plaintiff asserts

that she was actually hospitalized for a much longer period of time, starting in January 2000.

(Id.). Though the record does not make clear Plaintiff’s precise dates of hospitalization in 2000,

see (R. at 544), this is no matter.10 It is undisputed that any such hospitalization occurred eight

years prior to Plaintiff’s alleged disability onset date—well before the relevant period. Plaintiff

does not indicate how the ALJ’s alleged mistake with regards to the length of Plaintiff’s hospital

stay eight years prior impacted the RFC calculation in this case or, conversely, how the ALJ’s

recognition of a lengthy hospital stay would have changed the outcome of this case. Cf.

Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399 F.3d 546, 553 (3d Cir. 2005) (“[R]emand is not required here

because it would not affect the outcome of the case.”); Bivins ex rel. N.B. v. Astrue, No. 5:11-

CV-51, 2011 WL 5859954, at *5 (M.D. Ga. Nov. 22, 2011) (unpublished) (“A remand to have

the ALJ perfect the record as to this statement would serve no practical purpose, would not alter

the ALJ's findings, and would be a waste of judicial and administrative resources.”). Plaintiff

offers only speculation, stating “[i]t is unclear whether, had the ALJ known that the Plaintiff’s

10 The record does not make clear precisely when or for how long Plaintiff was hospitalized in 2000. See (R. at 463–

68, 544) (stating only that Plaintiff was hospitalized on January 30, 2000, transferred to Thomas Jefferson

University Hospital the next day, and then “eventually went to a rehabilitation.”).

CVA and resulting inpatient treatment that was far more involved than a simple one-day stay,

and in fact was lengthy and significant, would have impacted her rationale.” (Pl. Br. 31).

Further, in analyzing Plaintiff’s CVA, the ALJ emphasized that Plaintiff was able to

return to substantial gainful activity until 2008 following her 2000 hospitalization. (R. at 23).

This fact is true regardless of whether the Plaintiff was hospitalized for two days or several

months. As such, we find that any error the ALJ made with respect to the length of Plaintiff’s

hospitalization was harmless and does not require remand.

V. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Commissioner’s decision denying Plaintiff’s application

for benefits is AFFIRMED. An Order follows.

Dated: 12/28/2021 /s/ Robert B. Kugler

ROBERT B. KUGLER

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.