affirming the ALJ’s rejection of the plaintiff’s treating physician’s opinion because it was provided on a check-box form and no reasons were given in support of the doctor’s conclusion on that form
How later courts described this case
- affirming the ALJ’s rejection of the plaintiff’s treating physician’s opinion because it was provided on a check-box form and no reasons were given in support of the doctor’s conclusion on that form
- holding that any error that would not affect the outcome of the proceeding was harmless
- “[Code] 3 [Level] Moderate [Illustrative Examples] business office where typewriters are used; department store; grocery store; light traffic; fast food restaurant at off- hours”
- “Perkins’s argument here amounts to no more than a disagreement with the ALJ's decision, which is soundly supported by substantial evidence.”
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY
FIDEL SANDOVAL,
1:20-cv-02837-NLH
Plaintiff,
OPINION
v.
COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL
SECURITY,
Defendant.
APPEARANCES:
ADRIENNE FREYA JARVIS
800 NORTH KINGS HIGHWAY
SUITE 304
CHERRY HILL, NJ 08034
On behalf of Plaintiff
ANDREW CHARLES LYNCH
SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION
300 SPRING GARDEN ST
6TH FLOOR
PHILADELPHIA, PA 19123
On behalf of Defendant
HILLMAN, District Judge
This matter comes before the Court pursuant to Section
205(g) of the Social Security Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §
405(g), regarding Plaintiff’s application for Disability
Insurance Benefits (“DIB”)1 under Title II of the Social
1 DIB is a program under the Social Security Act to provide
Security Act. 42 U.S.C. § 423, et seq. The issue before the
Court is whether the Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) erred in
finding that there was “substantial evidence” that Plaintiff
was disabled as of September 1, 2014. For the reasons stated
below, this Court will affirm that decision.
I. BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
On August 3, 2017, Plaintiff, Fidel Sandoval,
protectively filed an application for DIB,2 alleging that he
became disabled on September 1, 2014. Plaintiff claims that he
can no longer work as an airport safety security officer
because of his anemia (status-post colonic angiodysplasia);
diabetes mellitus; traumatic brain injury; migraine
headaches; lumbar/cervical degenerative disc disease; major
depressive disorder; anxiety disorder; post-traumatic stress
disorder; and attention deficit disorder.3
disability benefits when a claimant with a sufficient number
of quarters of insured employment has suffered such a mental
or physical impairment that the claimant cannot perform
substantial gainful employment for at least twelve months. 42
U.S.C. § 423 et seq.
2 A protective filing date marks the time when a disability
applicant makes a written statement of his or her intent to
file for benefits. That date may be earlier than the date of
the formal application and may provide additional benefits to
the claimant. See SSA Handbook 1507; SSR 72-8.
3 Under the regulations, Plaintiff, who was 40 at the time of
his alleged disability onset date, was defined as a “younger
individual” (age 18-49). 20 C.F.R. § 404.1563.
After Plaintiff’s claim was denied initially and
on reconsideration, a hearing was held before an ALJ on
December 4, 2018, and a supplemental hearing was held on
September 6, 2019. On October 24, 2019, the ALJ issued her
decision, finding that Plaintiff was not disabled.
Plaintiff’s Request for Review of Hearing Decision was
denied by the Appeals Council on January 21, 2020, making the
ALJ’s decision final. Plaintiff brings this civil action for
review of the Commissioner’s decision.
II. DISCUSSION
A. Standard of Review
Under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), Congress provided for judicial
review of the Commissioner’s decision to deny a complainant’s
application for social security benefits. Ventura v. Shalala,
55 F.3d 900, 901 (3d Cir. 1995). A reviewing court must
uphold the Commissioner’s factual decisions where they are
supported by “substantial evidence.” 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g),
1383(c)(3); Fargnoli v. Massanari, 247 F.3d 34, 38 (3d Cir.
2001); Sykes v. Apfel, 228 F.3d 259, 262 (3d Cir. 2000);
Williams v. Sullivan, 970 F.2d 1178, 1182 (3d Cir. 1992).
Substantial evidence means more than “a mere scintilla.”
Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971)(quoting
Consolidated Edison Co. V. NLRB, 305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938)).
It means “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might
accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Id. The inquiry
is not whether the reviewing court would have made the same
determination, but whether the Commissioner’s conclusion was
reasonable. See Brown v. Bowen, 845 F.2d 1211, 1213 (3d Cir.
1988).
A reviewing court has a duty to review the evidence in
its totality. See Daring v. Heckler, 727 F.2d 64, 70 (3d Cir.
1984). “[A] court must ‘take into account whatever in the
record fairly detracts from its weight.’” Schonewolf v.
Callahan, 972 F. Supp. 277, 284 (D.N.J. 1997) (quoting
Willbanks v. Secretary of Health & Human Servs., 847 F.2d 301,
303 (6th Cir. 1988) (quoting Universal Camera Corp. V. NLRB,
340 U.S. 474, 488 (1951)).
The Commissioner “must adequately explain in the record
his reasons for rejecting or discrediting competent evidence.”
Ogden v. Bowen, 677 F. Supp. 273, 278 (M.D. Pa. 1987) (citing
Brewster v. Heckler, 786 F.2d 581 (3d Cir. 1986)). The Third
Circuit has held that an “ALJ must review all pertinent
medical evidence and explain his conciliations and
rejections.” Burnett v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 220 F.3d
112, 122 (3d Cir. 2000). Similarly, an ALJ must also consider
and weigh all of the non-medical evidence before him. Id.
(citing Van Horn v. Schweiker, 717 F.2d 871, 873 (3d Cir.
1983)); Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d 700, 707 (3d Cir. 1981).
The Third Circuit has held that access to the
Commissioner’s reasoning is indeed essential to a meaningful
court review:
Unless the [Commissioner] has analyzed all
evidence and has sufficiently explained
the weight he has given to obviously
probative exhibits, to say that his
decision is supported by substantial
evidence approaches an abdication of the
court’s duty to scrutinize the record as a
whole to determine whether the conclusions
reached are rational.
Gober v. Matthews, 574 F.2d 772, 776 (3d Cir. 1978). Although
an ALJ, as the fact finder, must consider and evaluate the
medical evidence presented, Fargnoli, 247 F.3d at 42, “[t]here
is no requirement that the ALJ discuss in its opinion every
tidbit of evidence included in the record,” Hur v. Barnhart,
94 F. App’x 130, 133 (3d Cir. 2004). In terms of judicial
review, a district court is not “empowered to weigh the
evidence or substitute its conclusions for those of the fact-
finder.” Williams, 970 F.2d at 1182. However, apart from the
substantial evidence inquiry, a reviewing court is entitled to
satisfy itself that the Commissioner arrived at his decision
by application of the proper legal standards. Sykes, 228 F.3d
at 262; Friedberg v. Schweiker, 721 F.2d 445, 447 (3d Cir.
1983); Curtin v. Harris, 508 F. Supp. 791, 793 (D.N.J. 1981).
B. Standard for DIB
The Social Security Act defines “disability” for purposes
of an entitlement to a period of disability and disability
insurance benefits as the inability to engage in any
substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be
expected to result in death, or which has lasted or can be
expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12
months. See 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(A). Under this
definition, a Plaintiff qualifies as disabled only if her
physical or mental impairments are of such severity that she
is not only unable to perform her past relevant work, but
cannot, given her age, education, and work experience, engage
in any other type of substantial gainful work which exists in
the national economy, regardless of whether such work exists
in the immediate area in which she lives, or whether a
specific job vacancy exists for her, or whether she would be
hired if she applied for work. 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(B)
(emphasis added).
The Commissioner has promulgated regulations4 for
4 The regulations were amended effective March 27, 2017. See
82 F.R. 5844. Because Plaintiff’s claim was filed after this
date, any applicable amendments are cited herein.
determining disability that require application of a five-step
sequential analysis. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. This five-
step process is summarized as follows:
1. If the claimant currently is engaged in substantial
gainful employment, she will be found “not
disabled.”
2. If the claimant does not suffer from a “severe
impairment,” she will be found “not disabled.”
3. If the severe impairment meets or equals a listed
impairment in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P,
Appendix 1 and has lasted or is expected to last for
a continuous period of at least twelve months, the
claimant will be found “disabled.”
4. If the claimant can still perform work she has done
in the past (“past relevant work”) despite the
severe impairment, she will be found “not disabled.”
5. Finally, the Commissioner will consider the
claimant’s ability to perform work (“residual
functional capacity”), age, education, and past work
experience to determine whether or not she is
capable of performing other work which exists in the
national economy. If she is incapable, she will be
found “disabled.” If she is capable, she will be
found “not disabled.”
20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(b)-(f). Entitlement to benefits is
therefore dependent upon a finding that the claimant is
incapable of performing work in the national economy.
This five-step process involves a shifting burden of
proof. See Wallace v. Secretary of Health & Human Servs., 722
F.2d 1150, 1153 (3d Cir. 1983). In the first four steps, the
burden is on the claimant to prove every element of her claim
by a preponderance of the evidence. See id. In the final
step, the Commissioner bears the burden of proving that work
is available for the Plaintiff: “Once a claimant has proved
that he is unable to perform his former job, the burden shifts
to the Commissioner to prove that there is some other kind of
substantial gainful employment he is able to perform.” Kangas
v. Bowen, 823 F.2d 775, 777 (3d Cir. 1987); see Olsen v.
Schweiker, 703 F.2d 751, 753 (3d Cir. 1983).
C. Analysis
At step one, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had not engaged
in substantial gainful activity since the alleged onset of
disability. At step two, the ALJ found that Plaintiff’s
impairments of anemia (status-post colonic angiodysplasia);
diabetes mellitus; traumatic brain injury; migraine headaches;
lumbar/cervical degenerative disc disease; major depressive
disorder; anxiety disorder; post-traumatic stress disorder;
and attention deficit disorder were severe. At step three,
the ALJ determined that Plaintiff’s severe impairments or his
severe impairments in combination with his other impairments
did not equal the severity of one of the listed impairments.
The ALJ then determined that Plaintiff had the residual
functional capacity (“RFC”) to perform sedentary work5 with
5 See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567 (“Physical exertion requirements. To
certain restrictions, but that this RFC did not permit
Plaintiff to perform his past relevant work as an airport
safety security officer (step four). The ALJ considered
hearing testimony from a vocational expert (“VE”), and
determined that Plaintiff was not disabled because he was
capable of performing other jobs in the national economy, such
as a bench hand, final assembler, and document preparer (step
five).
Plaintiff presents several arguments as to how the ALJ
erred in her decision. Plaintiff challenges two findings
concerning his environmental limitations - noise and bright
lights. Plaintiff also contends that the ALJ improperly
considered his fatigue and his need to use a cane.6
All of these challenges arise from the ALJ’s RFC
determination.7 The ALJ found:
determine the physical exertion requirements of work in the
national economy, we classify jobs as sedentary, light,
medium, heavy, and very heavy.”).
6 Another one of Plaintiff’s challenges is to the finding that
he is capable of performing the job of bench hand. The Court
addresses this argument, infra, note 14.
7 A claimant’s RFC reflects “what [the claimant] can still do
despite [his or her] limitations.” 20 C.F.R. 404.1545(a).
The RFC determination is for the ALJ to determine, not a
medical source. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1527(d)(2), 404.1546(c)
(explaining that the RFC finding is a determination expressly
reserved to the Commissioner rather than any medical source).
After careful consideration of the entire record, the
undersigned finds that the claimant has the residual
functional capacity to perform sedentary work as defined
in 20 CFR 404.1567(a) except he can occasionally climb
ramps or stairs; never climb ladders, ropes or scaffolds;
and occasionally balance, stoop, kneel, crouch and crawl.
He can tolerate no exposure to extreme heat or cold,
avoid concentrated wetness or humidity, noise, irritants
such as fumes, odors, dust and gases, poorly ventilated
areas or exposure to chemicals. He can have no exposure
to workplace hazards such as moving machinery or
unprotected heights. He is limited to simple, routine,
repetitive tasks in a work environment free of fast paced
production requirements involving only simple work
related decisions and few, if any, work place changes. He
can work for two hours before needing a break. He can
have no interaction with the public and only occasional
interaction with supervisors and co-workers, in proximity
but not on joint or shared tasks. He can frequently
finger, handle and feel and is allowed to wear colored
lenses in bright work environments. Finally, he requires
a sit/stand option available where he can alternate from
sitting to standing/walking every hour while staying on
task.
(R. at 20.)
1. Environmental limitations
• Noise
The ALJ found that Plaintiff “can tolerate no exposure to
extreme heat or cold, avoid concentrated wetness or humidity,
noise, irritants such as fumes, odors, dust and gases, poorly
ventilated areas or exposure to chemicals.”8 Plaintiff argues
8 Plaintiff interprets this sentence to mean that Plaintiff was
to “avoid concentrated noise.” (Docket No. 14 at 17.)
Although the sentence could have been drafted more clearly,
that interpretation appears to be correct. See Form SSA-4734-
BK at 5, providing four levels for environmental limitations
in the RFC: UNLIMITED, AVOID CONCENTRATED EXPOSURE, AVOID EVEN
that this finding is improper in three ways based on a June
10, 2019, medical source statement prepared by Plaintiff’s
treating physician, Sujata Soni, M.D., at Veterans Affairs.
In the environmental limitations section of the medical
source statement, Dr. Soni completed the form as follows:
cain |r Jo | i, [esi
Condition (Library) | (Office) (Heavy (Jackhammer)
Tratfic)
fee Ee TT
Identify the particular medical or clinical findings (i.¢., physical exam findings, x-ray findings, laboratory lest results,
history, and symptoms including pain, etc.) which support your assessment or any fimitations and why the findings
suppor the assessment.
VA audio
(R. at 4201.)
On different areas of the form regarding Plaintiff's
ability to perform various other work-related activities, Dr.
Soni indicated that her answers were “per pt.,” meaning that
what she recorded was based on Plaintiff’s statements to her.
That notation did not appear next to the “noise” section. (R.
at 4197-4202.)
In her decision, the ALJ did not consider Dr. Soni’s
medical source statement to constitute a medical opinion,’
MODERATE EXPOSURE, AVOID ALL EXPOSURE.
° An ALJ is required to state what weight he or she ascribes to
1]
explaining,
In June 2019, Sujata Soni, M.D., a treating physician,
prepared a Medical Source Statement regarding the
claimant’s functional limitations; however, the
limitations assessed therein appeared “per [patient]” and
did not represent Dr. Soni’s individual assessment of the
claimant’s abilities and restrictions (Exhibit 18F).
Rather, they appeared to merely recite the claimant’s
allegations and description of his symptoms. As such,
this record does not constitute a medical opinion.
(R. at 28.)
Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred (1) by not directly
addressing Dr. Soni’s finding that Plaintiff required a
“quiet” work environment, and instead without explanation
found that Plaintiff needed to “avoid concentrated noise,”
which is a less limiting limitation than “quiet”; (2) by not
considering Dr. Soni’s medical source statement to constitute
her medical opinion with regard to this environmental
limitation because “per pt” was not noted, and Dr. Soni
checked “quiet” based on the clinical findings of a “VA
audio”; and (3) Dr. Soni’s requirement that Plaintiff needs a
“quiet” work environment was not considered by the vocational
a medical opinion, but not to other forms of medical evidence.
Rafine v. Commissioner of Social Security, 2020 WL 3073829, at
*5 (D.N.J. 2020); see 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c) (“How we weigh
medical opinions. Regardless of its source, we will evaluate
every medical opinion we receive. Unless we give a treating
source’s medical opinion controlling weight under paragraph
(c)(2) of this section, we consider all of the following
factors in deciding the weight we give to any medical
opinion.”).
expert or the ALJ when it was determined Plaintiff was capable
of performing three jobs, all of which have “moderate” noise
levels.
According to SSR 96-9p, “Since all work environments
entail some level of noise, restrictions on the ability to
work in a noisy workplace must be evaluated on an individual
basis. The unskilled sedentary occupational base may or may
not be significantly eroded depending on the facts in the case
record. In such cases, it may be especially useful to consult
a vocational resource.” Here, the ALJ did just that.
At the hearing, the ALJ asked the VE to consider a
hypothetical person with an RFC that matched Plaintiff’s RFC,10
10 An ALJ is only required to pose hypotheticals to a VE that
contain the claimant’s medically established impairments,
rather than all of the impairments a claimant claims. See
Pidgeon v. Colvin, 2016 WL 2647666, at *13 (D.N.J. 2016)
(citing Burns v. Barnhart, 312 F.3d 113, 123 (3d Cir. 2002)
(quoting Chrupcala v. Heckler, 829 F.2d 1269, 1276 (3d Cir.
1987); Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399 F.3d 546, 554 (3d Cir.
2005)) (“[A] hypothetical posed to a vocational expert must
reflect all of a claimant's impairments. But this do[es] not
require an ALJ to submit to the vocational expert every
impairment alleged by a claimant. Rather, in posing a
hypothetical to the VE, references to all impairments
encompass only those that are medically established. And that
in turn means that the ALJ must accurately convey to the
vocational expert all of a claimant's credibly established
limitations. As the Third Circuit noted in Rutherford,
objections to the adequacy of hypothetical questions posed to
a vocational expert often boil down to attacks on the RFC
assessment itself. Accordingly, if the ALJ did not
incorporate the limitation into the RFC, then the ALJ did not
need to incorporate the limitation into the hypothetical posed
including, “We’re going to avoid even moderate exposure to
extreme heat and cold. We’re going to avoid concentrated
exposure to wetness, humidity, noise, vibration, fumes, odors,
dusts and gases and poor ventilation.” (R. at 555.) The VE
asked a clarifying question: “Where you had said with regard
to noise, . . . if I just kept it at a 3, which is moderate,
is that okay or does it have to go down to a 2, which is
quiet?” (Id.) The ALJ answered, “No. We -- we would be
avoiding concentrated exposure, but not all exposure.” (Id.)
The VE responded with several jobs including a bench hand,
final assembler, and document preparer, which are of
“moderate” noise levels.11 (Id. at 557-58.)
to the VE.” (internal quotations omitted)).
11 See U.S. Dep’t of Labor, Selected Characteristics of
Occupations in the Revised Dictionary of Occupational Titles
(1993) (SCO), at D-2 (defining SCO Noise Intensity Level)
(“[Code] 2 [Level] Quiet [Illustrative Examples] library; many
private offices; funeral reception; golf course; art museum”);
id. (“[Code] 3 [Level] Moderate [Illustrative Examples]
business office where typewriters are used; department store;
grocery store; light traffic; fast food restaurant at off-
hours”); see also Program Operations Manual System (POMS), § DI
25001.001(A)(49) (Agency manual reiterating SCO definitions of
noise levels), https://secure.ssa.gov/poms.nsf/lnx/0425001001:
49. Noise level
A rating in the SCO based on the following coding system:
Code Level Illustrative Examples
1 Very quiet Isolation booth for hearing test
Plaintiff contends that the ALJ failed to reconcile Dr.
Soni’s checkmark for “quiet” based on the “VA audio” with the
ALJ’s finding that Plaintiff was capable of performing jobs
that were at the “moderate” noise level. Plaintiff contends
that this in error because not only did the ALJ fail to
consider Dr. Soni’s remark about Plaintiff’s exposure to noise
to be a medical opinion, such an opinion should have been
afforded great weight because it was offered by a treating
source. See Morales v. Apfel, 225 F.3d 310, 317 (3d Cir.
2000) (explaining that a “cardinal principle guiding
disability eligibility determinations is that the ALJ accord
treating physicians’ reports great weight, especially when
their opinions reflect expert judgment based on a continuing
observation of the patient’s condition over a prolonged period
of time”).
The Court does not agree. First, even if the Court
considered Dr. Soni’s checkmark for “quiet” based on the “VA
audio” to constitute a medical opinion, it is “weak evidence”
2 Quiet Library, many private offices
3 Moderate Department or grocery store
4 Loud Large earth movers, heavy traffic
5 Very loud Rock concert, jack hammer
in this form. See Rafine v. Commissioner of Social Security,
2020 WL 3073829, at *6 (D.N.J. 2020) (citing Stelzer v.
Commissioner of Social Security, 2019 WL 950165, at *6 (D.N.J.
2019) (citing Mason v. Shalala, 994 F.2d 1058, 1065 (3d Cir.
1993) (“Form reports in which a physician’s obligation is only
to check a box or fill in a blank are weak evidence at
best.”). Dr. Soni completed the form on June 10, 2019, and
Dr. Soni’s reference to “VA audio” is without any substantive
explanation of when the test was conducted, what the test
measured, and how the results of that test equated to a
finding that Plaintiff was restricted to a “quiet” work
environment as of June 10, 2019. The lack of any meaningful
explanation to support the check in the box for “quiet”
renders this opinion to be thin support for a more restrictive
limitation of Plaintiff’s exposure to noise. See Zonak v.
Commissioner of Social Sec., 290 F. App’x 493, 497 (3d Cir.
2008) (affirming the ALJ’s rejection of the plaintiff’s
treating physician’s opinion because it was provided on a
check-box form and no reasons were given in support of the
doctor’s conclusion on that form)).
Second, the record evidence recited by the ALJ in her
decision does not support Dr. Soni’s opinion. In April 2015
and November 2017, Plaintiff reported a startle effect with
loud noises, but in addition to participating in activities
such as playing video games, watching TV, and expressing a
desire to return to school, he was able to travel to
California by airplane in October 2015 and December
2017/January 2018, and while there he visited family and went
to museums and wineries. (R. at 25-26.) In January 2019,
Plaintiff was able to start college. (R. at 26.) Medical
records and reports of consultative examiners did not note
that Plaintiff reported any issues with noise during any of
those activities. (Id.)
Additionally, in noting that there was a lack of evidence
of significant residual limitations with regard to Plaintiff’s
exposure to noise, the ALJ also noted that in March 2018, Emil
Liebman, M.D., a state agency medical consultant, found that
Plaintiff had no severe hearing impairments, and that as of
April 2019, Plaintiff had been having a positive response to
hearing aids, which assisted his ability to understand
conversations in noisy environments and listen to TV at normal
levels.12 (R. at 27, 142.)
Based on the foregoing record evidence, the Court finds
that substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s determination
12 The ALJ related that it was noted in March 2018 that
Plaintiff had tinnitus and was fitted with hearing aids, which
reportedly improved this condition. (R. at 16.)
that Plaintiff was to “avoid concentrated exposure” to noise,
which equates to a moderate noise level work environment of
the jobs suggested by the VE. Other than Dr. Soni’s checkmark
for “quiet” on the medical source statement form, the
remainder of the record evidence supports the ALJ’s RFC
determination. Thus, even if the ALJ erred as Plaintiff
argues by failing to consider Dr. Soni’s check in the box for
“quiet” as a medical opinion of a treating medical source,
such error is harmless. See McGraw v. Commissioner Social
Sec., 609 F. App’x 113, 116 (3d Cir. 2015) (citing Rutherford,
399 F.3d at 553 (holding that any error that would not affect
the outcome of the proceeding was harmless)); see also Plummer
v. Apfel, 186 F.3d 422, 439 (3d Cir. 1999) (“[A]n ALJ is
permitted to accept or reject all or part of any medical
source’s opinion, as long as the ALJ supports his assessment
with substantial evidence.”), cited by Brownawell v.
Commissioner, 554 F.3d 352, 355 (3d Cir. 2008)); Cotter v.
Harris, 642 F.2d 700, 705 (3d Cir. 1981) (“We are also
cognizant that when the medical testimony or conclusions are
conflicting, the ALJ is not only entitled but required to
choose between them.... [W]e need from the ALJ not only an
expression of the evidence s/he considered which supports the
result, but also some indication of the evidence which was
rejected.”).
• Bright lights
The ALJ observed that Plaintiff sustained several head
injuries while in the military, he reported several episodes
of blast exposures from rocket launchers which were associated
with dizziness, and he reported feeling dazed and confused
with tunnel vision with some head injuries. (R. at 24.) The
ALJ related that treatment notes since the alleged onset date
reflected Plaintiff’s history of traumatic brain injuries
(“TBI”), which mostly manifested in migraine headaches. (Id.)
The ALJ further noted, however, that through 2018-19 Plaintiff
planned to attend college, and in May 2019 Plaintiff reported
his headaches had improved, with his headaches occurring 1-2
times per week, they were of milder severity, and they
resolved with his prescribed medication. (Id.) The ALJ
concluded,
Considering his history of TBIs and resultant migraines,
and in light of his hearing testimony regarding light
sensitivity and need for colored lenses, the undersigned
finds the claimant is restricted from work around
workplace hazards (due to potential distractibility or
vision issues), [he] must be allowed to wear colored
lenses in bright colored environments, and [he] requires
the environmental restrictions identified above due to
potential migraine triggers.
(Id.) In the statement of Plaintiff’s RFC, the ALJ determined
that Plaintiff “is allowed to wear colored lenses in bright
work environments.” (R. at 20.)
Plaintiff argues that these findings were in error
because the ALJ failed to give any reason for rejecting
Plaintiff’s testimony that colored lenses in his glasses
delayed but did not prevent the onset of headaches in
environments with bright lights. Plaintiff argues that this
error was harmful because the jobs of bench hand and final
assembler could not be performed by Plaintiff because, as the
VE testified, those jobs usually had fluorescent lighting,
which is “bright light.” Plaintiff further argues that the VE
testified that even though the document preparer job would
have “typical incandescent lighting,” “the vocational expert
did not say that such incandescent lighting would not be
bright,” and a “light that is not fluorescent can be bright.”
(Docket No. 14 at 27.)
Plaintiff’s arguments are unpersuasive. First, contrary
to Plaintiff’s contention that the ALJ provided no explanation
as to why she rejected Plaintiff’s testimony, the ALJ properly
supported the RFC regarding Plaintiff’s limitation with bright
lights.13 The ALJ noted Plaintiff’s history of TBIs and
13 See SSR 16-3-p (“An individual’s statements may address the
frequency and duration of the symptoms, the location of the
symptoms, and the impact of the symptoms on the ability to
perform daily living activities. An individual’s statements
may also include activities that precipitate or aggravate the
migraines, but further noted that he desired to attend
college, and that as of May 2019 his migraines had improved,
were limited to 1-2 times a week, and were milder. Based on
that evidence, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff did not need
to avoid jobs that had bright lights, but rather Plaintiff was
limited to jobs where he could wear glasses with colored
lenses to reduce the negative effects of bright lights.
Plaintiff’s challenge to this finding amounts to a mere
disagreement with the ALJ’s assessment rather than showing
that the ALJ’s findings were not properly supported.14
Second, even accepting that Plaintiff would not be able
to perform the jobs of bench hand and final assembler because
those jobs would have bright fluorescent lighting, and glasses
symptoms, medications and treatments used, and other methods
used to alleviate the symptoms. We will consider an
individual’s statements about the intensity, persistence, and
limiting effects of symptoms, and we will evaluate whether the
statements are consistent with objective medical evidence and
the other evidence.”).
14 See, e.g., Perkins v. Barnhart, 79 F. App’x 512, 514–15 (3d
Cir. 2003) (“Perkins’s argument here amounts to no more than a
disagreement with the ALJ's decision, which is soundly
supported by substantial evidence.”); Moody v. Commissioner of
Social Security Administration, 2016 WL 7424117, at *8 (D.N.J.
2016) (“[M]ere disagreement with the weight the ALJ placed on
the opinion is not enough for remand.”); Grille v. Colvin,
2016 WL 6246775, at *8 (D.N.J. 2016) (“Distilled to its
essence, Plaintiff's argument here amounts to nothing more
than a mere disagreement with the ALJ's ultimate decision,
which is insufficient to overturn that decision.”).
with colored lenses would not be helpful, the VE testified
that the document preparer job would not have such bright
lights. Although, as points out as a practical matter “light
that is not fluorescent can be bright,” the VE did not
identify the document preparer job as having “bright light”
working conditions, which the VE distinguished from the other
two jobs which did. At the end of the five-step analysis, an
ALJ need only establish that a claimant is capable of
performing one job that exists in significant numbers in the
national economy, and with regard to Plaintiff’s bright light
argument, the document preparer job meets that requirement.15
See Penrose v. Commissioner of Social Security, 2020 WL
7640585, at *7 (D.N.J. 2020) (citing Sasse v. Commissioner
of Social Security, 2019 WL 1233553, at *8 (D.N.J. 2019)
(citing Reed v. Commissioner of Social Security, 2018 WL
5617549, at *6 (D.N.J. 2018) (citing Nalej v. Berryhill, 2017
WL 6493144, at *11 (D.N.J. 2017) (explaining that SSA
regulations provide that work exists in the national economy
15 This one-job requirement also defeats Plaintiff’s challenge
to the ALJ’s finding that Plaintiff was capable of performing
the bench hand position based on the “apparent obvious
conflict between [the VE’s] testimony and the DOT with respect
to the handling that work as a bench hand requires.” (Docket
No. 14 at 30.) Even if this were true, Plaintiff has not
shown how he is incapable of performing the document preparer
position.
when there is a significant number of jobs in one or more
occupations that an individual can perform, and holding that
even if the ALJ erred in finding the plaintiff capable of
performing two of three jobs, he did not err as to the third
job, and that finding as to only one job was sufficient to
support his determination that the plaintiff was not
disabled)).
2. Fatigue
Plaintiff argues that the ALJ’s finding that he could
work at the sedentary level for eight hours per day, five days
per week, or an equivalent work schedule does not properly
account for his fatigue, evidence of which he established
through his testimony and medical records. The Court does not
agree.
Over several pages in her decision, the ALJ detailed
Plaintiff’s testimony, including about his fatigue, and the
medical evidence regarding Plaintiff’s conditions which were
causing his fatigue. In consideration of that evidence, the
ALJ concluded,
[T]he claimant is limited to a range of work at the
sedentary exertional level, with the additional postural
and environmental restrictions adopted above; considering
his neuropathy, anemia, fatigue and bleeding risk, the
undersigned finds it prudent to restrict him from work
around hazards such as moving machinery or unprotected
heights.
(R. at 14.) Thus, by finding that Plaintiff was limited to
sedentary work,16 along with several other limitations, the ALJ
specifically accounted for Plaintiff’s fatigue. The ALJ did
not err in considering Plaintiff’s fatigue.17
3. Use of a cane
Plaintiff argues that that ALJ erred in not taking into
account that Plaintiff began using a case prescribed by Dr.
Soni in June 2019. This argument is unavailing.
The ALJ detailed Plaintiff’s orthopedic impairments, and
noted,
Though the claimant has not required significant
treatment for his spinal complaints, the undersigned
finds it prudent to limit him to a range of work at the
sedentary exertional level, with the additional postural
and environmental restrictions adopted above.
Furthermore, considering his potential for increased pain
16 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567(a) (“Sedentary work involves lifting no
more than 10 pounds at a time and occasionally lifting or
carrying articles like docket files, ledgers, and small tools.
Although a sedentary job is defined as one which involves
sitting, a certain amount of walking and standing is often
necessary in carrying out job duties. Jobs are sedentary if
walking and standing are required occasionally and other
sedentary criteria are met.”).
17 The Court also does not find compelling Plaintiff’s one-
sentence argument that the ALJ should have independently
obtained medical-expert testimony to address the functional
impact beyond environment restrictions of Plaintiff’s fatigue.
It is Plaintiff’s burden to prove that an impairment impacts
his ability to work. See Wallace v. Secretary of Health &
Human Servs., 722 F.2d 1150, 1153 (3d Cir. 1983) (explaining
that the first four steps of the sequential step analysis, the
burden is on the claimant to prove every element of her claim
by a preponderance of the evidence).
with maintaining prolonged positions, the undersigned
finds he requires a sit/stand option as detailed above.
As discussed above, the undersigned has also been
diagnosed with carpal tunnel syndrome, and this condition
has been accommodated with manipulative restrictions set
forth in the residual functional capacity adopted herein.
Though the claimant testified he had used a cane for the
past 5-6 months, there is no evidence to suggest that
such cane usage can be expected to persist for at least
12 months and thus has not been accommodated in the above
residual functional capacity.
(R. at 25.)
Plaintiff argues that substantial evidence does not
support the conclusion that his use of a case was not expected
to last for at least 12 months. Under the Social Security
Act, a disability is the “inability to engage in any
substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be
expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be
expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12
months . . . .” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1509
(“Unless your impairment is expected to result in death, it
must have lasted or must be expected to last for a continuous
period of at least 12 months. We call this the duration
requirement.”). Plaintiff argues that the ALJ did not cite
evidence or medical records to show that Plaintiff’s herniated
lumbar disk associated with radiculopathy would spontaneously
remit within one year, and a “herniated lumbar disc with
radiculopathy is not something like an ankle sprain that even
a layperson knows would, absent unusual circumstances,
generally get better within a year. The ALJ thus improperly
played doctor, implying that she knew that whatever caused Mr.
Sandoval’s need for a cane in mid-2019 would no longer cause
that need within a year.” (Docket No. 14 at 24.)
To the contrary, the ALJ’s RFC specifically accommodated
for Plaintiff’s orthopedic impairments, and the ALJ noted,
“July 2019 imaging of his lumbar spine revealed no overall
change since March 2017 imaging.” (R. at 23.) Plaintiff did
not receive or use a cane until June 2019. Thus, the ALJ’s
conclusion that Plaintiff’s use of a cane did not meet the
durational requirement because his lumbar spine condition had
not changed since March 2017 is supported by substantial
evidence.18
18 The Court notes that Dr. Soni did not opine on the necessity
of Plaintiff using a cane - the prescribing note simply
states, “6/11 nc plz dispense cane also.” (R. at 4263.) The
Court also notes another portion of the record visit:
Reviewed with patient for completion of form:
states ext weakness and physical decline in last 1 l/2yr
however informed writer 6/6/19 when he brought SS
disability forms from lawyer who is guiding and assisting
in pt care. There is a very sudden abrupt change in what
patient reveals to writer regarding decreased gi
increased weakness dropping things decreased
ambulation[.]
(Id.)
III. Conclusion
This Court may not second guess the ALJ’s conclusions,
and may only determine whether substantial evidence supports
the ALJ’s decision. Hartzell v. Astrue, 741 F. Supp. 2d 645,
647 (D.N.J. 2010)(citing Williams v. Sullivan, 970 F.2d 1178,
1182 (3d Cir. 1992))(explaining the pinnacle legal principal
that a district court is not empowered to weigh the evidence
or substitute its conclusions for those of the ALJ). For the
foregoing reasons, the ALJ’s determination that Plaintiff was
not disabled as of September 1, 2014 is supported by
substantial evidence. The decision of the ALJ will therefore
be affirmed.
An accompanying Order will be issued.
Date: July 26, 2021 s/ Noel L. Hillman
At Camden, New Jersey NOEL L. HILLMAN, U.S.D.J.