Opinion

MURPHY v. COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY

Court
District Court, D. New Jersey
Filed
Nov 30, 2020
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 25.3%

“ALJs have a duty to develop a full and fair record in social security cases.”

How later courts described this case

  • “ALJs have a duty to develop a full and fair record in social security cases.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

PATRICIA MURPHY,

1:19-cv-20122-NLH

Plaintiff,

OPINION

v.

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL

SECURITY,

Defendant.

APPEARANCES:

JENNIFER STONAGE

RICHARD LOWELL FRANKEL

BROSS & FRANKEL, PA

725 KENILWORTH AVE

CHERRY HILL, NJ 08002

On behalf of Plaintiff

THERESA ANN CASEY

SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

OFFICE OF THE GENERAL COUNSEL

300 SPRING GARDEN STREET

PHILADELPHIA, PA 19123

On behalf of Defendant

HILLMAN, District Judge

This matter comes before the Court pursuant to Section

205(g) of the Social Security Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §

405(g), regarding Plaintiff’s application for Disability

Insurance Benefits (“DIB”)1 under Title II of the Social Security

1 DIB is a program under the Social Security Act to provide

disability benefits when a claimant with a sufficient number of

Act. 42 U.S.C. § 423, et seq. The issue before the Court is

whether the Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) erred in finding

that there was “substantial evidence” that Plaintiff was not

disabled at any time since her alleged onset date of disability,

June 1, 1998. For the reasons stated below, this Court will

reverse that decision and remand the matter for further

proceedings.

I. BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Plaintiff, Patricia Murphy, protectively filed an

application for DIB2 on July 6, 2010, alleging an onset date of

June 1, 1998. Plaintiff claims that she can no longer work in

her former occupations as a receptionist, a cantor, a collector,

and a substitute teacher because of her neuropathy, malignant

schwannoma, optic neuritis, arthritis, knee replacement, and

herniated discs.

Plaintiff’s DIB application was denied on March 28, 2012,

quarters of insured employment has suffered such a mental or

physical impairment that the claimant cannot perform substantial

gainful employment for at least twelve months. 42 U.S.C. § 423

et seq.

2 A protective filing date marks the time when a disability

applicant made a written statement of his or her intent to file

for benefits. That date may be earlier than the date of the

formal application and may provide additional benefits to the

claimant. See SSA Handbook 1507; SSR 72-8.

2

and after the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for

review on July 23, 2013, she appealed the ALJ’s decision to the

District Court. On November 12, 2014, Judge Robert B. Kugler,

U.S.D.J., reversed the ALJ’s decision and remanded the matter

for further proceedings consistent with his Opinion. (1:13-cv-

05508-RBK, Docket No. 35.)

Over the course of several years, Plaintiff’s DIB

application proceeded at the administrative level. Ultimately,

on January 10, 2019, the ALJ found that Plaintiff was not

disabled and she was capable of performing sedentary work, which

the Appeals Council affirmed on September 20, 2019, thus making

the ALJ’s decision final. Plaintiff brings this civil action

for review of the Commissioner’s decision for a second time.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

Under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), Congress provided for judicial

review of the Commissioner’s decision to deny a complainant’s

application for social security benefits. Ventura v. Shalala,

55 F.3d 900, 901 (3d Cir. 1995). A reviewing court must uphold

the Commissioner’s factual decisions where they are supported by

“substantial evidence.” 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g), 1383(c)(3);

Fargnoli v. Massanari, 247 F.3d 34, 38 (3d Cir. 2001); Sykes v.

3

Apfel, 228 F.3d 259, 262 (3d Cir. 2000); Williams v. Sullivan,

970 F.2d 1178, 1182 (3d Cir. 1992). Substantial evidence means

more than “a mere scintilla.” Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S.

389, 401 (1971)(quoting Consolidated Edison Co. V. NLRB, 305

U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). It means “such relevant evidence as a

reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a

conclusion.” Id. The inquiry is not whether the reviewing

court would have made the same determination, but whether the

Commissioner’s conclusion was reasonable. See Brown v. Bowen,

845 F.2d 1211, 1213 (3d Cir. 1988).

A reviewing court has a duty to review the evidence in its

totality. See Daring v. Heckler, 727 F.2d 64, 70 (3d Cir.

1984). “[A] court must ‘take into account whatever in the

record fairly detracts from its weight.’” Schonewolf v.

Callahan, 972 F. Supp. 277, 284 (D.N.J. 1997) (quoting Willbanks

v. Secretary of Health & Human Servs., 847 F.2d 301, 303 (6th

Cir. 1988) (quoting Universal Camera Corp. V. NLRB, 340 U.S.

474, 488 (1951)).

The Commissioner “must adequately explain in the record his

reasons for rejecting or discrediting competent evidence.”

Ogden v. Bowen, 677 F. Supp. 273, 278 (M.D. Pa. 1987) (citing

Brewster v. Heckler, 786 F.2d 581 (3d Cir. 1986)). The Third

4

Circuit has held that an “ALJ must review all pertinent medical

evidence and explain his conciliations and rejections.” Burnett

v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 220 F.3d 112, 122 (3d Cir. 2000).

Similarly, an ALJ must also consider and weigh all of the non-

medical evidence before him. Id. (citing Van Horn v. Schweiker,

717 F.2d 871, 873 (3d Cir. 1983)); Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d

700, 707 (3d Cir. 1981).

The Third Circuit has held that access to the

Commissioner’s reasoning is indeed essential to a meaningful

court review:

Unless the [Commissioner] has analyzed all

evidence and has sufficiently explained the

weight he has given to obviously probative

exhibits, to say that his decision is

supported by substantial evidence approaches

an abdication of the court’s duty to

scrutinize the record as a whole to

determine whether the conclusions reached

are rational.

Gober v. Matthews, 574 F.2d 772, 776 (3d Cir. 1978). Although

an ALJ, as the fact finder, must consider and evaluate the

medical evidence presented, Fargnoli, 247 F.3d at 42, “[t]here

is no requirement that the ALJ discuss in its opinion every

tidbit of evidence included in the record,” Hur v. Barnhart, 94

F. App’x 130, 133 (3d Cir. 2004). In terms of judicial review,

a district court is not “empowered to weigh the evidence or

5

substitute its conclusions for those of the fact-finder.”

Williams, 970 F.2d at 1182. However, apart from the substantial

evidence inquiry, a reviewing court is entitled to satisfy

itself that the Commissioner arrived at his decision by

application of the proper legal standards. Sykes, 228 F.3d at

262; Friedberg v. Schweiker, 721 F.2d 445, 447 (3d Cir. 1983);

Curtin v. Harris, 508 F. Supp. 791, 793 (D.N.J. 1981).

B. Standard for DIB

The Social Security Act defines “disability” for purposes

of an entitlement to a period of disability and disability

insurance benefits as the inability to engage in any substantial

gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable

physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in

death, or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a

continuous period of not less than 12 months. See 42 U.S.C. §

1382c(a)(3)(A). Under this definition, a Plaintiff qualifies as

disabled only if her physical or mental impairments are of such

severity that she is not only unable to perform her past

relevant work, but cannot, given her age, education, and work

experience, engage in any other type of substantial gainful work

which exists in the national economy, regardless of whether such

work exists in the immediate area in which she lives, or whether

6

a specific job vacancy exists for her, or whether she would be

hired if she applied for work. 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(B)

(emphasis added).

The Commissioner has promulgated regulations3 for

determining disability that require application of a five-step

sequential analysis. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. This five-step

process is summarized as follows:

1. If the claimant currently is engaged in substantial

gainful employment, she will be found “not disabled.”

2. If the claimant does not suffer from a “severe

impairment,” she will be found “not disabled.”

3. If the severe impairment meets or equals a listed

impairment in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix

1 and has lasted or is expected to last for a

continuous period of at least twelve months, the

claimant will be found “disabled.”

4. If the claimant can still perform work she has done in

the past (“past relevant work”) despite the severe

impairment, she will be found “not disabled.”

5. Finally, the Commissioner will consider the claimant’s

ability to perform work (“residual functional

capacity”), age, education, and past work experience

to determine whether or not she is capable of

performing other work which exists in the national

economy. If she is incapable, she will be found

“disabled.” If she is capable, she will be found “not

disabled.”

3 The regulations were amended for various provisions effective

March 27, 2017. See 82 F.R. 5844. None of these amendments

directly impacts the resolution of Plaintiff’s appeal.

7

20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(b)-(f). Entitlement to benefits is

therefore dependent upon a finding that the claimant is

incapable of performing work in the national economy.

This five-step process involves a shifting burden of proof.

See Wallace v. Secretary of Health & Human Servs., 722 F.2d

1150, 1153 (3d Cir. 1983). In the first four steps of the

analysis, the burden is on the claimant to prove every element

of her claim by a preponderance of the evidence. See id. In

the final step, the Commissioner bears the burden of proving

that work is available for the Plaintiff: “Once a claimant has

proved that he is unable to perform his former job, the burden

shifts to the Commissioner to prove that there is some other

kind of substantial gainful employment he is able to perform.”

Kangas v. Bowen, 823 F.2d 775, 777 (3d Cir. 1987); see Olsen v.

Schweiker, 703 F.2d 751, 753 (3d Cir. 1983).

C. Analysis

At step one, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had not engaged

in substantial gainful activity since the alleged onset of

disability. At step two, the ALJ found Plaintiff’s impairments

of osteoarthritis of bilateral knees, status post multiple

surgeries, and major joint dysfunction to be severe. At step

three the ALJ determined that Plaintiff’s severe impairments or

8

her severe impairments in combination with her other impairments

did not equal the severity of one of the listed impairments.

For steps four and five, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff could

perform her past work as collector, which job is of a sedentary

exertional level and exists in sufficient numbers in the

national economy, as well as several other jobs at the sedentary

level.4

Plaintiff’s bases for her appeal of the ALJ’s decision

center on the ALJ’s failure to follow the direction of Judge

Kugler in his remand decision, and that failure to do so

compounded the errors committed by the prior ALJ and resulted in

the second improper denial of her DIB application. The Court

agrees that the ALJ erred in two ways, thus rendering the ALJ’s

decision unsupported by substantial evidence.

1. The ALJ erred in the assessment of Plaintiff’s

testimony and daily living activities

This Court finds that the ALJ’s assessment of Plaintiff’s

purported daily living activities, upon which the prior ALJ and

the current ALJ significantly based their RFC determination, is

without support in the record, or at a minimum, should have been

4 See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567 (“Physical exertion requirements. To

determine the physical exertion requirements of work in the

national economy, we classify jobs as sedentary, light, medium,

heavy, and very heavy.”).

9

more fully reconciled with Plaintiff’s testimony and other

record evidence.

Judge Kugler’s Opinion recounted that “the ALJ determined

none of Plaintiff’s testimony regarding the intensity and

persistence of her symptoms during the critical period was

credible because of one treatment note from 1998 that said she

was working as a horse trainer.” (1:13-cv-05508-RBK, Docket No.

35 at 30.) Judge Kugler pointed out that “the ALJ did not

explain why this single treatment note from 1998 discredited

Plaintiff’s testimony regarding the intensity and persistence of

her symptoms from 1999–2003.” (Id.) Judge Kugler concluded,

“in light of the ALJ’s failure to take into consideration the

retrospective opinions of Dr. Bussey, Dr. Abboud, and Dr.

Diermengian because they were not based on contemporaneous

objective medical findings or evidence, but which support

Plaintiff’s testimony, the Court will remand because the ALJ’s

credibility determination was not based on substantial

evidence.” (Id.) Judge Kugler also directed, “[t]he ALJ should

resolve whether Plaintiff was in fact a horse trainer since it

was not listed as past employment, on her earnings sheet, or

mentioned in her testimony.” (Id. at 30 n.11.)

On remand, and after a hearing before a second, different

10

ALJ, the second ALJ found:

[T]he claimant described daily activities, which are not

limited to the extent one would expect, given the

complaints of disabling symptoms and limitations. During

the relevant period under review, the claimant lived with

others, but otherwise appeared to be independent in her

self-care. She was able to give birth to two children,

raise t[w]o children, exercise on a bicycle, work on a

farm, and train horses. If she had the level of functional

loss alleged, she likely would not be able to do such

tasks.

(R. at 763.) The ALJ further considered that Plaintiff “was

able to get married and dance at her wedding.” (R. at 762.)

At the hearing before the ALJ, however, Plaintiff explained

how the prior - and now the current - ALJ incorrectly described

these daily living activities. For the repeated misconception

that she was a horse trainer, Plaintiff testified that she never

worked as a horse trainer. She elaborated, “At the time my

husband had a horse and Bruce Springsteen came to the farm and

wanted to purchase it. And he brought his trainer and the

trainer said that the horse needed to be trained a little more.

So the trainer actually came to our farm and trained the horse

for a month to his specifications for his children. I went to

Dr. Gregg. He said how are things going? And I said oh, great,

we have a horse trainer coming to the farm. Bruce Springsteen

wants to buy our horse. And he was like, oh, now you're a

trainer. And that was it. He also called me a rosy cheek fair-

11

haired Irish girl. My name is [INAUDIBLE]. I am far from fair,

I am far from light, and I'm far from rosy.” (R. at 815.)

Regarding birthing and raising two children, the ALJ

stated, “It seems to me as a male that having a child as a woman

is a very significant medical event. . . . And I sometimes

factor that into the underlying problems that the woman has as

we travel along this medical route. And I'm reading these

records from Dr. Gregg, and actually these are pretty critical

to the decision of the case, but he is saying that she had had a

child sometime during that. When was your baby born?” (R. at

810.) Plaintiff testified that she had two very difficult

pregnancies. In 1999, at six months gestation of a twin

pregnancy, Plaintiff lost one of the twins and the other had to

be delivered via emergency caesarian section two months early.

In 2002, she delivered her second daughter one month early also

by caesarian section because of complications. Plaintiff

explained that she required fertility treatments to conceive her

pregnancies, and that “both were C-sections because my

neuropathy didn’t lend me to feeling contractions.” (R. at 812-

13.)

Plaintiff’s treating physician, Dr. Gregg, testified at the

second hearing, and discussed Plaintiff’s pregnancies and

12

raising two children. The ALJ asked Dr. Gregg, “if the person

is like strong enough or good enough or well enough to go

through a full-term pregnancy and a natural delivery, isn’t that

some indication of their ability to function?” (R. at 810-811.)

Dr. Gregg answered, “I would say so in a generic sense.

However, to offer a glimpse of what she looked like in '06, she

was in a straight-leg brace because the knee was completely

useless. I have to imagine that she was to some degree prior to

that. Could a person walk with a peg leg? She's living proof

of it. As far as the shoulder could she hold her baby? I think

the devices of the time were very helpful, such as putting a

baby in a chair and feeding. I would offer my opinion that

clearly her childbirth, her childrearing days were not easy.

But I would caution looking at her ability to care for her

children I think is markedly different than working in a job. I

would think that her husband, who I know very well, is a strong

gentleman who probably provided the marked amount of physical

activity.” (R. at 811.)

Dr. Gregg continued, “Clearly, I think anybody who is

disabled still would like to have kids. I think that's an event

that no matter what you're going to go through. Could she walk

around with her kid? Likely not. Could she push the child in a

13

carriage? Probably not. You know she did go on to have knee

replacement. She has been evaluated by Johns Hopkins for

neurologic issues that only a handful of people ever get that

opportunity. But can I tell you the fact she lost one of her

kids, the fact that she only had two children I think that it's

very been on her.” (Id.)

As for the ALJ’s consideration that Plaintiff danced at her

wedding, Plaintiff testified, “[I]n 1981 Dr. Gregg did my first

knee surgery which was a lateral release, and subsequently for

the next few years he did patella drills, ACL repairs,

osteoarthritis removal, chondromalacia removal. And he said to

me I promise you when you get married I will dance with you at

your wedding. And that wonderful man came and did a slow dance

at my wedding.” (R. at 816.)

Despite this testimony, in his decision the ALJ repeatedly

relied upon Plaintiff’s incorrect status as a horse trainer,

having “naturally” birthed and raised two children, and having

“danced” at her wedding to negate Plaintiff’s claims of

disability, discredit her treatment providers, and support his

conclusion that she retained the RFC to perform work in the

national economy. The ALJ referred to these mischaracterized

examples of Plaintiff’s daily living activities nine times in

14

his decision when discrediting Plaintiff’s testimony and medical

evidence. (R. at 759 ¶ 2; 761 ¶¶ 3 & 6; 762 ¶¶ 1, 3 & 4; 763 ¶¶

3 & 5; 764 ¶ 1; 765 ¶ 1.)

Notably, in one of the nine references, the ALJ completely

misrepresented the testimony, recounted above, from the hearing

before the ALJ. In finding that “the claimant’s allegations of

disability are not consistent with the evidence of record,” the

ALJ stated that Plaintiff “admitted” she could “train horses

shortly following her right knee surgery,” and “she failed to

mention at her hearings that she was a horse trainer for Bruce

Springsteen during the relevant period under review.” (R. at

763.) Based on this, the ALJ found, “[t]hese are major

inconsistencies and do not support a finding of greater

limitations in the claimant.” (Id.)

Defendant attempts to minimize the ALJ’s repeated reliance

on the mischaracterized daily living activities by arguing the

ALJ looked to Plaintiff’s other medical records and activities

to support his decision, which Defendant contends satisfies the

ALJ’s duty to support his decision with substantial evidence.

The Court does not agree. While the ALJ considered other

evidence, in doing so the ALJ referred to the purported horse

training, raising children, and dancing to detract from that

15

other evidence. The ALJ’s improper misconstruction of those

activities was integral to the assessment of the other evidence

such that it cannot be carved out and still leave a fully

supported decision.

Therefore, the ALJ’s error with regard to Plaintiff’s daily

living activities is two-fold. First, the ALJ flouted the

fundamental principle of the substantial evidence standard that

an ALJ must set out a specific factual basis for each finding,

and that “when a conflict in the evidence exists, the ALJ may

choose whom to credit but cannot reject evidence for no reason

or for the wrong reason.” Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d 700, 706

(3d Cir. 1981). In the converse misapplication of this

principle, the ALJ here credited evidence that was flatly wrong.

The ALJ also rejected evidence that was unrebutted by contrary

evidence.

Second, the ALJ improperly assessed Plaintiff’s

credibility. Effective March 26, 2016, the SSA issued Social

Security Ruling 16-3p, which superseded SSR 96-7p, to eliminate

the use of the term “credibility.” SSR 16-3p explains, “We

solicited a study and recommendations from the Administrative

Conference of the United States (ACUS) on the topic of symptom

evaluation. Based on ACUS’s recommendations and our adjudicative

16

experience, we are eliminating the use of the term ‘credibility’

from our sub-regulatory policy, as our regulations do not use

this term. In doing so, we clarify that subjective symptom

evaluation is not an examination of an individual’s character.

Instead, we will more closely follow our regulatory language

regarding symptom evaluation.... In evaluating an individual’s

symptoms, our adjudicators will not assess an individual’s

overall character or truthfulness in the manner typically used

during an adversarial court litigation.” SSR 16-3p.

The ALJ found that Plaintiff’s lied about being a horse

trainer because she had “admitted” to being one, and then

keeping that fact secret at the hearing before him, resulting in

“major inconsistencies” which cast doubt on the veracity of her

subjective complaints and the medical evidence as a whole. The

unrebutted evidence shows that Plaintiff was never a horse

trainer, and the hearing transcript plainly shows that a major

topic of questioning at the hearing was with regard to this

misconception. The ALJ discounted Plaintiff’s subjective

complaints based on a non-existent inconsistency. In doing so,

it also appears that the ALJ inappropriately questioned

Plaintiff’s “overall character or truthfulness.”

It is difficult to understand how the misconception that

17

Plaintiff herself physically trained horses for a “national

music celebrity” (R. at 762) has perpetuated since at least

Judge Kugler’s November 12, 2014 remand Opinion, when on

numerous occasions Plaintiff has directly dispelled that myth

and no evidence suggests otherwise. The ALJ’s reliance on this

misconception, along with other unsupported mischaracterizations

of Plaintiff’s physical abilities arising from rearing children

and dancing at her wedding, permeates the ALJ’s decision. As

stated above, these errors cannot be separated from the ALJ’s

analysis of other record evidence such that the Court may

determine whether substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s RFC

analysis.5 The ALJ’s decision must be remanded to correct these

errors.

2. The ALJ erred in his assessment of the

consultative neurologist

In his November 12, 2014 Opinion, Judge Kugler found that

the prior ALJ erred in the consideration of Plaintiff’s

neurological impairments. Judge Kugler directed that on remand,

“the ALJ must consider Plaintiff’s testimony and the

5 The Court notes that “[d]isability does not mean that a

claimant must vegetate in a dark room excluded from all forms of

human and social activity. . . . It is well established that

sporadic or transitory activity does not disprove disability.”).

Smith v. Califano, 637 F.2d 968, 971–72 (3d Cir. 1981).

18

retrospective opinions of Dr. Bussey and Dr. Abboud, in

accordance with SSR 83–20, to determine whether Plaintiff’s

keloid, peripheral neuropathy, migraines, and shoulder

impairment were medically determinable impairments during the

critical period.” (1:13-cv-05508-RBK, Docket No. 35 at 27.)

Judge Kugler also directed that “the ALJ should seek the help of

a medical advisor to aid in this determination” because “the

only medical records from the critical period are those of

Plaintiff’s orthopedist, who treated her only for her knees.”

(Id.)

On remand, a medical interrogatory was completed by Dr.

James Parker, a state consultative neurologist, on April 30,

2017. Dr. Parker noted that the Plaintiff’s condition would be

evaluated under 11.17, and that criteria “A” were not met, and

he then noted “significant but not quite listing level 1.02A.”

(R. at 1822.) Dr. Parker further opined “even though criteria

for 11.17 not met, Plaintiff could not work 8 hours per/day 40

hours per week on sustained basis.” (R. at 1823.)

The ALJ informed Plaintiff’s counsel that he intended to

admit this report into the record, as well as Dr. Parker’s

answers to a subsequent medical source statement (“MSS”) form

sent to Dr. Parker by the ALJ. Plaintiff’s counsel responded

19

that the MSS was missing answers to several questions concerning

Plaintiff’s ability to remain on task or to complete activities

without interruption or absences. (R. at 1304.) Plaintiff’s

counsel requested that he be permitted to propound additional

interrogatories to Dr. Parker, but the ALJ denied that request,

stating that because Dr. Parker would be appearing in person or

by telephone during the hearing, Plaintiff’s counsel could ask

those additional questions then. (Id.) Six days before the

hearing, however, Plaintiff’s counsel learned that Dr. Parker

declined to testify, and Plaintiff’s counsel renewed his request

to serve the interrogatories to Dr. Parker. (Id.) The ALJ

denied this request.

Plaintiff points out that the ALJ, without explanation,

redacted the MSS form sent to Dr. Parker, which eliminated

questions regarding use of hands and feet, postural activities,

visual impairment, which was particularly relevant to the

doctor’s conclusion of optic neuropathy, environmental

restrictions, and activities of daily living, and omitted the

space for the doctor to provide any other work activities or

limitations. Plaintiff further points out that the entire MSS

form was sent to other treating and consultative medical

sources.

20

Plaintiff argues that these questions would have provided

the answers the ALJ was ostensibly seeking in light of the non-

exertional nature of these impairments and Dr. Parker’s opinion

that Plaintiff could not complete a normal workday. Plaintiff

claims that the ALJ sent a redacted MSS without any apparent

purpose other than to restrict Dr. Parker’s ability to explain

his reasoning for believing Plaintiff could not work. Plaintiff

further challenges the ALJ’s refusal to permit Plaintiff to

submit interrogatories to Dr. Parker to answer the relevant

questions missing from the redacted MSS. Plaintiff contends

that the ALJ’s actions violated the fundamental fairness of the

hearing she is entitled to under the SSA regulations, and that

the ALJ failed to comply with Judge Kugler’s remand order, which

required the ALJ to consider a neurologist’s full opinion as to

Plaintiff’s neurological limitations.

The Court agrees with Plaintiff. In his decision, the ALJ

addressed Dr. Parker’s opinion and his absence at the hearing as

follows:

The undersigned notes that the claimant's representative

argued Dr. Parker's opinion be given weight and additional

interrogatories be sent to Dr. Parker for further

clarification of his opinion (Hearing Testimony and Exhibit

35E). This request is denied. As explained, Dr. Parker

declined to testify regarding his opinion and therefore

avoided cross-examination of his opinion. Such scrutiny is

needed in cases such as this one. For example, the

21

questioning of John Kwock, M.D., revealed he based his

written opinion on the wrong period of time and had he not

been questioned at the hearing this fact would likely not

have been discovered. Given the remoteness of the

claimant's date last insured compared to the majority of

the medical evidence, it is crucial that all opinions in

the record sufficiently reflect why the claimant was

limited and when those limitations were present. Dr.

Parker's opinion, just like the opinions of Drs. Fuchs and

Sklaroffa does not adequately explain those two parameters.

(R. at 766.)

It is unclear from the record why Dr. Parker declined to

testify at the hearing, but whatever the reason, the ALJ

improperly construed Dr. Parker’s absence against Plaintiff. It

is evident that prior to the hearing, Plaintiff on multiple

occasions requested more information from Dr. Parker as a result

of the ALJ’s redaction of the MSS he sent to Dr. Parker, but the

ALJ denied that request, stating that Dr. Parker could be

questioned at the hearing. When Plaintiff learned that Dr.

Parker would not be appearing at the hearing, Plaintiff again

requested that the ALJ submit additional questions to Dr.

Parker, but the ALJ denied that request, and the ALJ again

denied Plaintiff’s third request made after the hearing. In his

decision, the ALJ stated that the scrutiny of cross-examination

as to Dr. Parker’s opinion was “crucial” in this case, yet the

ALJ’s repeated denial of Plaintiff’s efforts to obtain more

clarifying information from Dr. Parker prevented that very

22

scrutiny.

Moreover, Dr. Parker is a state consultative examiner

enlisted by the SSA in an attempt to comply with Judge Kugler’s

directions on remand, not one of Plaintiff’s own treating

physicians. The opinion of Dr. Parker was integral to the

assessment of Plaintiff’s neurological impairments because he

was the only neurologist to opine on how her neurological

impairments affected her ability to work, and it is the ALJ’s

duty to develop a full record. See Ventura v. Shalala, 55 F.3d

900, 902 (3d Cir. 1995) (“ALJs have a duty to develop a full and

fair record in social security cases.”).

Under the regulations, “When it is reasonably necessary for

the full presentation of a case, an administrative law judge or

a member of the Appeals Council may, on his or her own

initiative or at the request of a party, issue subpoenas for the

appearance and testimony of witnesses and for the production of

books, records, correspondence, papers, or other documents that

are material to an issue at the hearing.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.950.

Moreover, SSA’s “Hearings, Appeals and Litigation Law Manual,”

or HALLEX,6 provides direction to ALJs with regard to medical

6 HALLEX stands for the SSA’s “Hearings, Appeals and Litigation

Law Manual.” It is intended to convey “guiding principles,

procedural guidance and information to the Office of Hearings

23

source testimony, and empowers ALJs to obtain the necessary

information to decide a disability claim. HALLEX I-2-5-18

provides,

In unusual circumstances, a claimant may request that

his or her medical source testify at the hearing, or an

administrative law judge (ALJ) may decide on his or her own

that testimony from a medical source is needed to fully

inquire into the matters at issue. Unless a medical source

has already agreed to testify at a hearing, whenever

possible, an ALJ will first try to obtain the needed

evidence through other methods, such as interrogatories

(using the same general instructions in HALLEX I-2-5-42),

written affidavits, or telephone reports to hearing office

staff (see HALLEX I-2-5-14 C.4.).

When other efforts have failed and the ALJ finds it is

reasonably necessary for a medical source to testify at a

hearing, an ALJ may ask the medical source to appear at a

hearing voluntarily, typically by telephone. The ALJ will

enter into the record any correspondence and other

documentation of efforts to obtain the medical source's

testimony voluntarily.

If a medical source does not agree to testify at a

hearing and the claimant requests a subpoena to compel the

appearance of the medical source at the hearing, or if the

ALJ determines that it is reasonably necessary to have the

medical source testify at a hearing, the ALJ will evaluate

the request using the instructions in HALLEX I-2-5-78.

HALLEX I-2-5-18.

Here, the ALJ failed to utilize any of the tools available

and Appeals (“OHA”) staff. . . . It also defines procedures for

carrying out policy and provides guidance for processing and

adjudicating claims at the Hearing, Appeals Council, and Civil

Action levels.” HALLEX § I–1–0–1, Purpose,

https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/hallex/I-01/I-1-0-1.html.

24

to him to compel Dr. Parker to testify at the hearing, despite

stating that cross-examination of Dr. Parker was “needed in

cases such as this one.” The ALJ then misplaced the blame for

Dr. Parker’s non-appearance on Plaintiff, who tried on multiple

occasions to obtain more information from Dr. Parker, but was

stymied at every turn by the ALJ.7

Plaintiff contends that the ALJ intentionally endeavored to

bury Dr. Parker’s opinion and undermine Plaintiff’s efforts to

obtain more information from Dr. Parker because Dr. Parker’s

initial opinion supported Plaintiff’s neurological disabilities.

The Court will not opine on the ALJ’s intentions, but it is

evident that the ALJ erred in his handling of Dr. Parker’s

consultative source opinion. This is a second basis for remand

so that the required “full and fair record” is developed by ALJ.

See Ventura, 55 F.3d at 902 (citing 42 U.S.C. § 405(b)(1))

(providing that the Social Security Act gives those claiming

disability benefits a right to a hearing, and although the

hearing is informal in nature, due process requires that any

hearing afforded claimant be full and fair).

7 Ironically, during the hearing the ALJ stated that he should

thank Dr. Cohen, a state consultative examiner, for coming to

the hearing “because he is one of the few that comes in here

live as well. And I probably wouldn't have been able to get an

orthopod in here live anyway.” (R. at 816-17.)

25

III. Conclusion

The ALJ’s decision in this case is not supported by

substantial evidence. The ALJ not only failed to comply with

Judge Kugler’s instructions on Plaintiff’s first appeal of the

denial of her disability benefits claim,8 but he repeated and

compounded the same errors that gave rise to the prior remand.9

The decision of the ALJ is therefore reversed, and the

matter must be remanded. Defendant is directed - again - to

reopen and fully develop the record as to Plaintiff’s daily

living activities and her neurological impairments, so that the

RFC determination and the ultimate disability determination may

be properly supported.10 See Thomas v. Commissioner of Social

8 See, e.g., Orta v. Commissioner of Social Security, 2020 WL

525939, at *4 (D.N.J. 2020) (remanding a second time because the

ALJ failed to comply with district court's prior remand

instructions); K.K. on behalf of K.S. v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec.,

2018 WL 1509091, at *7 (D.N.J. 2018) (same).

9 With regard to the current ALJ having to consider a claim that

had previously been decided by a different ALJ, the current ALJ

stated at the hearing, “I've been candid with you about the

animus that the rehearing Judge has about other Judge's

remands.” (R. at 816.)

10 The RFC analysis considers severe and non-severe impairments

in combination. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(2). In

consideration of Plaintiff’s prior appeal, Judge Kugler directed

that the ALJ was to consider the impact of Plaintiff’s keloid,

migraines and right shoulder impingement, which the ALJ had

concluded were not severe, in the RFC analysis. Because on

remand the ALJ must reformulate Plaintiff’s RFC after the

26

Sec. Admin., 625 F.3d 798, 800–01 (3d Cir. 2010) (explaining

that even though a formulaic process is not required on remand,

a district court must give the Commissioner explicit

instructions to fully develop the record in order to ensure that

the parties have an opportunity to be heard on the remanded

issue and prevent post hoc rationalization by administrative law

judges).

An accompanying Order will be issued.

Date: November 30, 2020 s/ Noel L. Hillman

At Camden, New Jersey NOEL L. HILLMAN, U.S.D.J.

development of a full record, the assessment of these

impairments should be encompassed in that reformulation.

27

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.