striking expert affidavit seeking to interpret insurance policy’s renewal period because it amounted to legal opinion
How later courts described this case
- striking expert affidavit seeking to interpret insurance policy’s renewal period because it amounted to legal opinion
- “a simple, or even intentional, breach is insufficient in itself to constitute an unfair or deceptive trade practice under Chapter 93A”
- finding that letter from insurer stating it had not yet decided to cover plaintiff’s loss could not support equitable estoppel claim
- affirming summary judgment pursuant to section 99 for insurance claim seeking recovery for rain- induced flooding damage
Written by the judges who cited it.
The opinion
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
THE MEADOWS AT MAINSTONE
FARM CONDOMINIUM TRUST,
Plaintiff,
v. CIVIL ACTION NO.
16-12546-MBB
STRATHMORE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Defendant.
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER RE:
DEFENDANT STRATHMORE INSURANCE COMPANY’S MOTION TO STRIKE EXPERT
OPINION (DOCKET ENTRY # 26); MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT (DOCKET
ENTRY # 28); PLAINTIFF THE MEADOWS AT MAINSTONE FARM CONDOMINIUM
TRUST’S MOTION FOR LEAVE TO AMEND COMPLAINT (DOCKET ENTRY # 36)
September 28, 2018
BOWLER, U.S.M.J.
Pending before this court is a motion to strike an expert
opinion and a motion for summary judgment filed by defendant
Strathmore Insurance Company (“defendant”) as well as a motion
for leave to amend the complaint filed by plaintiff The Meadows
at Mainstone Farm Condominium Trust (“plaintiff”). (Docket
Entry ## 26, 28, 36). After conducting a hearing, this court
took the motions under advisement.
PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND
On December 17, 2016, plaintiff, a condominium trust, filed
a two-count complaint against defendant, setting out a claim for
breach of contract (Count I) and seeking a declaratory judgment
(Count II). (Docket Entry # 1). With respect to Count I, the
complaint requests judgment against defendant in the amount of
plaintiff’s damages, including interest and costs. (Docket
Entry # 1). With respect to Count II, the complaint requests
that this court declare that all amounts expended to repair
damage are covered by the insurance policy at issue and that
plaintiff is entitled to interest and costs on said amount.
(Docket Entry # 1).
On October 16, 2017, defendant filed the motion to strike
the opinion of plaintiff’s expert, Paul F. Amoruso, CPCU
(“Amoruso”), which would be used to oppose defendant’s upcoming
motion for summary judgment. (Docket Entry # 26). Defendant
filed the motion to strike on the grounds that the expert
opinion contains “inadmissible conclusions of law,” and the
expert’s report “lacks any specialized knowledge” that would
assist a trier of fact in understanding or determining a factual
issue. (Docket Entry # 26, p. 2). The motion asks this court
to strike Amoruso’s expert report in its entirety, preclude the
use of the opinions to oppose a future summary judgment motion
by defendant, and preclude Amoruso from testifying at trial.
(Docket Entry # 26). Plaintiff argues that the motion to strike
is deficient because it is premature, plaintiff gave “fair
notice” to defendant about Amoruso’s qualifications and
opinions, and Amoruso’s knowledge will assist a trier of fact in
understanding and applying the disputed insurance policy.
(Docket Entry # 27, p. 2). Defendant also challenges the
competency of Matthew D. Langweber (“Langweber”), a resident at
The Meadows at Mainstone Farm condominium complex (“the
Meadows”), to testify concerning the frequency of communication
between plaintiff and defendant following the loss. (Docket
Entry # 34-1, ¶ 32) (Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶ 1).
On October 31, 2017, defendant filed the summary judgment
motion, asserting that the claims are time barred under both the
statutory and the policy’s limitations periods. (Docket Entry #
28). Defendant argues that under a two-year limitations period
for covered losses under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 175,
section 99 (“section 99”), the claims must have been filed by
February 4, 2013 in order to be timely. (Docket Entry # 28).
Plaintiff submits that the contractual two-year limitations
period does not bar the claims for the type of loss at issue.
(Docket Entry # 30). Plaintiff also contends that defendant
waived or is estopped from raising the contractual limitations
period. (Docket Entry # 30).
In January 2018, plaintiff filed the motion for leave to
amend the complaint. (Docket Entry # 36). Plaintiff seeks to
amend the original complaint by adding claims for: (1)
violation of Massachusetts General Laws chapter 176D (“chapter
176D”) (Count III); and (2) violation of Massachusetts General
Laws chapter 93A (“chapter 93A”) (Count IV). (Docket Entry #
36-1). In opposing the motion, defendant contends that the
proposed amendment is “futile, untimely, and prejudicial.”
(Docket Entry # 38, p. 1).
I. Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
Effective as of May 28, 2010, defendant issued an insurance
policy (“the policy”) for general commercial property liability
coverage to plaintiff for the period of May 28, 2010 to May 28,
2011. (Docket Entry # 1, ¶ 2) (Docket Entry # 6, ¶ 2) (Docket
Entry # 28-2, ¶ 1) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶¶ 1, 20) (Docket Entry #
34-1, ¶ 20) (Docket Entry # 28-4). The policy combines a
variety of different coverages including, at plaintiff’s
request, a “Standard Massachusetts Fire Policy endorsement.”
(Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶ 21). Endorsement CP 01 09 10-00 adds
standard Massachusetts fire policy provisions which, in
pertinent part, include the following:
Your policy contains Legal Actions Against Us, Appraisal
and Cancellation Provisions. Massachusetts law requires
that the Suit, Appraisal and Cancellation Provisions of the
Massachusetts Standard Fire Policy supersede any similar
provisions contained in your policy. Therefore, all Legal
Action Against Us, Appraisal and Cancellation Provisions
contained in your policy are void. The Suit, Appraisal and
Cancellation Provisions of the Massachusetts Standard Fire
Policy shall apply instead.
(Docket Entry # 28-4, p. 107, ¶ 1) (emphasis added). The
endorsement further provides that:
. . . No suit or action against this company for the
recovery of any claim by virtue of this policy shall be
sustained in any court of law or equity in this
commonwealth unless commenced within two years from the
time the loss occurred[.]
(Docket Entry # 28-4, p. 110) (emphasis added). In addition to
the Standard Massachusetts Fire Policy endorsement, the policy
contains language that prevents an individual from bringing
legal action against defendant under the policy unless “[t]he
action is brought within 2 years after the date on which the
direct physical loss or damage occurred.” (Docket Entry # 28-2,
¶ 8) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 18) (Docket Entry # 28-4, p. 102).
On February 4, 2011, a series of water intrusions from
melting ice and snow caused interior damage to the ceiling,
walls, and flooring inside plaintiff’s buildings (“interior
damage”). (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 3) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 3).
Three days later, on February 7, 2011, plaintiff notified
defendant of an insurance claim arising from the flooding.
(Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 2) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 2). In March
2011, plaintiff hired Criterium Turner Engineers as an expert
consultant to assess the damage. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 5)
(Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 5) (Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶ 3) (Docket
Entry # 30-3, ¶ 3).1 In July 2011, defendant made payments to
plaintiff in order to rectify the interior damage resulting from
1 See the next two footnotes.
the water intrusion and closed the claim. (Docket Entry # 28-2,
¶ 4) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 4).2 The interior damage is not at
issue in this litigation. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 4) (Docket
Entry # 31, ¶ 4).
After July 2011, plaintiff hired additional outside
consultants to determine whether the water intrusions caused
damage to the exterior walls, roofs, and siding of the
condominium units (“exterior damage”).3 (Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶
3) (Docket Entry # 30-3, ¶ 3) (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 5) (Docket
Entry # 31, ¶ 5).4 In September 2011, October 2011, March 2012,
and June 2012, plaintiff hired and consulted with expert
2 Plaintiff does not controvert defendant’s LR. 56.1 statement
that defendant made the payments on the claim for interior
damage and closed the claim on or about July 2011. (Docket
Entry # 31, ¶ 4); see Cochran v. Quest Software, Inc., 328 F.3d
1, 12 (1st Cir. 2003); Stonkus v. City of Brockton School
Department, 322 F.3d 97, 102 (1st Cir. 2003) (citing LR. 56.1 and
deeming admitted the undisputed material facts that the
plaintiff failed to controvert).
3 Documents in the record also refer to the claim for exterior
damage as the supplemental claim.
4 Plaintiff’s LR. 56.1 response does not controvert the dates in
defendant’s LR. 56.1 statement. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 5)
(Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 5); see Cochran v. Quest Software, Inc.,
328 F.3d at 12 (the plaintiff’s failure to contest date in LR.
56.1 statement of material facts caused date to be admitted on
summary judgment). In addition, even if plaintiff hired the
expert consultants to assess the damage in general, as opposed
to damage specific to the exterior, such experts and, by
extension, plaintiff should have uncovered the exterior damage
to the walls, roofs, and siding resulting from ice dams or other
damages caused by the February 2011 storm prior to the
production and communication of their expert reports to
plaintiff.
consultants to investigate the matter. (Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶
3) (Docket Entry # 30-3, ¶ 3) (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 5) (Docket
Entry # 31, ¶ 5).5 After receiving reports from its expert
consultants after September 1, 2012, plaintiff estimated the
repair costs for the exterior damage to be seven million
dollars. (Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶ 3) (Docket Entry # 30-3, ¶ 3).
By January 31, 2013, the expert consulting firm plaintiff hired
in October 2011 expressed the belief “that ‘there is some damage
that they will be able to positively identify that reflates to
ice dams.’” (Docker Entry # 28-2, ¶ 5) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶
5).6 It is the policy’s coverage, if any, for this exterior
damage to the external structure of the condominium units that
forms the central issue of this case.7
5 See the previous footnote. Plaintiff does not controvert the
dates or that it began consulting with these expert consultants.
6 Plaintiff’s response does not controvert this statement in
paragraph five of defendant’s LR. 56.1 statement.
7 Plaintiff describes this exterior damage as “[c]oncealed
[d]amage” that was not entirely uncovered until it acquired
expert damage reports after September 1, 2012. (Docket Entry #
31, ¶ 30). Defendant denies the characterization of the damage
as “concealed.” (Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶ 29). It repeatedly
argues that that “[n]othing magical happened after September 1,
2012” that would have notified plaintiff of the true extent of
the exterior damage beyond what it already knew as early as
February 2011, immediately following the flooding events, or as
late as July 2012, when it last hired an expert consultant.
(Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶¶ 29, 30). Denying the concealed nature
of the exterior damage, defendant argues that the policy should
not cover it. (Docket Entry # 28-1) (Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶¶
29, 41).
On January 31, 2013, Jeff Grosser (“Grosser”), vice
president of Rodman Insurance Agency (“Rodman”), defendant’s
local insurance agent,8 emailed David Barrett of Crowninshield
Management Corporation (“Crowninshield”), plaintiff’s property
management company. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 6) (Docket Entry #
31, ¶ 6). Correspondence from Rodman to Cronwinshield states
the following: “‘Confirming that you did inquire about the
merits of filing a supplemental claim related to the large ice
dam loss because the contractor has indicated that there may be
additional damage resulting from that loss.’” (Docket Entry #
28-6).
On April 2, 2013, David Barrett (“Barrett”) of
Crowninshield sent additional communication to Debbie Morda and
Grosser of Rodman stating: “‘The board would like to
investigate opening up a supplemental claim associated with a
prior ice dam claim.’” (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 8) (Docket Entry
# 31, ¶ 8) (Docket Entry # 28-7). The email also requested
contact with a Rodman insurance adjustor. (Docket Entry # 28-2,
¶ 8) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 8) (Docket Entry # 28-7).
8 The parties dispute whether Rodman is plaintiff’s or
defendant’s local insurance agent. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 6)
(Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 6). Langweber, a resident of The Meadows
at Mainstone Farm who attests he has personal knowledge of the
matter, avers by affidavit that Rodman is defendant’s local
insurance agent. (Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶ 4). Construing the
record in plaintiff’s favor, this court considers Rodman to be
defendant’s local insurance agent. (Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶ 4).
The following day, April 3, 2013, Christine Nemet (“Nemet”)
of Rodman forwarded Barrett’s April 2 email to Michael Kearney
(“Kearney”), an adjuster at LaMarche Associates, Inc.
(“LaMarche”). (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 9) (Docket Entry 31, ¶ 9)
(Docket Entry # 28-8, p. 2). LaMarche is an independent
insurance adjustor that defendant had previously retained to
evaluate and adjust the interior damages resulting from the
flooding. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 9) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 9).
In an April 3, 2013 reply email to Nemet, Kearney states that,
“‘the two-year statute has expired on this claim that occurred
in February 4, 2011.’” (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 9) (Docket Entry
# 31, ¶ 9) (Docket Entry # 28-8). Notably, Kearney also sent
this email to Barrett and to John Auli (“Auli”), plaintiff’s
senior claims examiner. (Docket Entry # 28-8). In an email
less than two hours later, Nemet asked Kearney to revisit the
question of whether the statute of limitations had expired on
claims arising from the exterior damage and that she needed
“Greater New York” (“GNY”) “to authorize this supplemental.”
(Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 9) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 9) (Docket
Entry # 30-2, p. 5). Nemet’s email also forwarded Rodman’s
January 31, 2013 email, which Nemet describes as “confirming
there is a possible supplemental claim” sent “before the statute
was up.” (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 9) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 9)
(Docket Entry # 30-2, p. 5).
Later that morning, Steven Baroncini (“Baroncini”),
defendant’s vice president of property claims, sent a
communication to Nemet at Rodman and Kearney at LaMarche further
discussing the expiration of the limitations period.9 (Docket
Entry # 30-2, p. 5). Baroncini’s email states that “[t]he suit
limitation has passed, but that does not preclude the insured
from reporting a supplement to their claim.” (Docket Entry #
30-2, p. 5).
On April 4, 2013, LaMarche, writing on defendant’s behalf,
sent a reservation of rights letter to plaintiff in care of
Crowninshield and to the attention of Barrett. (Docket Entry #
28-9) (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 10) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 10).
While the letter acknowledges that defendant would be
“investigating . . . the supplemental claim,” it also states
defendant’s intention to proceed with the investigation under a
full reservation of rights. (Docket Entry # 28-9). The letter
informs plaintiff that, “None of [defendant’s] activities to
date are to be construed as an admission of liability nor as a
waiver of any of the rights or defenses available under the
terms and conditions of the policy, all of which are hereby
reserved.”10 (Docket Entry # 28-9).
9 Nemet included Baroncini as a recipient of this email to
Kearney. (Docket Entry # 30-2, p. 5).
10 Langweber avers in an affidavit that “at all times,”
plaintiff was “in frequent communication” with Rodman. (Docket
On or about August 8, 2013, defendant wrote to plaintiff to
explain defendant’s coverage position relative to plaintiff’s
supplemental claim. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 12) (Docket Entry #
31, ¶ 12). Denying coverage for the supplemental claim, the
correspondence restated the terms set forth in the insurance
policy including that: “no one may bring legal action against
the insurance company unless: 1. There has been full compliance
with all the terms of this coverage part; and 2. The action is
brought within two years after the date on which the direct
physical loss or damage occurred.” (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 12)
(Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 12) (Docket Entry # 28-10, p. 4).
Following this denial of coverage, plaintiff retained counsel to
assist with the supplemental claim. (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 34)
(Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶ 34). On December 19, 2013, Barrett
responded to defendant’s coverage position on plaintiff’s
behalf, advising that plaintiff “does not accept the findings in
Entry # 30-2, ¶ 4). Defendant objects to the averment as a
“broad and vague characterization” and that Langweber’s lack of
personal knowledge concerning the alleged frequency of
communication between the two parties renders his testimony “not
competent.” (Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶ 32). The above emails set
out the written communication in and around early 2013. Even
accepting Langberger’s averment as accurate (Docket Entry # 30-
2, ¶ 4), it nevertheless does not provide a basis to show the
timely filing of this lawsuit within two years of the date of
loss under section 99, as explained in the discussion. Nor, in
light of the repeated reservation of rights and statements
denying the existence of an estoppel or waiver does this
averment provide a basis for waiver or estoppel.
the rejection letter,” and that it would provide additional
information on the claim. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 13) (Docket
Entry # 31, ¶ 13) (Docket Entry # 28-11).
On May 30, 2014, Richard E. Quinby, Esq. (“Quinby”),
plaintiff’s counsel at the time, sent a letter to Auli
requesting a reconsideration of the coverage denial made last
year. (Docket Entry # 28-12). The letter asserts that various
consultants advised plaintiff in “late 2012 or early 2013” that
“there may be water penetration” to “the building envelope.”
(Docket Entry # 28-12). The letter estimates the total cost of
repair “to be $7.75 million.” (Docket Entry # 28-12).
Acknowledging that defendant already made payments to repair the
interior damage, the letter re-asserts plaintiff’s position that
the exterior damage should also be covered. (Docket Entry # 28-
12). The letter concludes that if defendant did not pursue
mediation prior to June 9, 2014, plaintiff would “file the
appropriate action.” (Docket Entry # 28-12).
After plaintiff’s counsel asked defendant to reconsider the
denial of coverage, defendant agreed to reconsider the denial.
(Docket Entry # 30-2, ¶ 7) (Docket Entry # 30-3, ¶ 6) (Docket
Entry # 34-1, ¶ 34). On July 30, 2014, defendant “through its
coverage counsel sent a demand for examination under oath and
request for production of documents.” (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶
19) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 19) (Docket Entry # 28-15). In this
letter, defendant reiterated its reservation of rights,
including the right to assert a statute of limitations defense.
(Docket Entry # 28-15, p. 3). The letter sets forth the
reservation of rights in the following manner:
This reservation includes, but is not limited to,
reservation of its rights to continue to disclaim any
obligations under this policy, if investigation of the
circumstances surrounding this loss would so warrant, and
to avail itself of any other policy defenses which it may
have or which may arise including, without limitation, all
rights and defenses arising out of the duties of the
insured provisions and the exclusionary provisions.
Any and all investigations taken by Strathmore . . . shall
not constitute a waiver of, or an estoppel to assert, any
of the terms of the policy . . . or any rights or defenses
. . ., including . . . limitations of actions . . ..
(Docket Entry # 28-15, p. 3). In addition to the reservation of
rights, the letter requests that plaintiff provide additional
information. (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 36) (Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶
36). Plaintiff provided certain additional information and
produced two witnesses who made statements under oath. (Docket
Entry # 31, ¶ 36) (Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶ 36).
During defendant’s investigation of the claim for exterior
damage, Quinby, plaintiff’s counsel at the time, interacted with
defendant’s counsel. Together with Langweber, Quinby gathered
materials and produced documents requested by defendant’s
counsel. (Docket Entry # 30-3, ¶¶ 2, 10) (Docket Entry # 30-2,
¶ 8). Quinby avers that defendant’s counsel “assured” him that
defendant would “attempt to amicably resolve” the claim for
exterior damage after contemplating the investigation. (Docket
Entry # 30-3, ¶ 9).
In an email on August 13, 2014 to defendant’s counsel,
Quinby recounted his efforts to compile the documents and stated
that he “can withhold bringing an action . . . if we can agree
on a tolling agreement.” (Docket Entry # 34-2, p. 4). In a
reply email on September 5, 2014, defendant’s counsel stated
that “GNY would consider agreeing to” a tolling agreement “so
long as the tolling agreement does not serve to revive any
expired statute of limitations.” (Docket Entry # 34-2, p. 3)
(emphasis added). In a reply email two hours later, plaintiff’s
counsel stated he “agree[d] on the tolling agreement.” (Docket
Entry # 34-2, p. 3).
In December 2014, both parties entered into a tolling
agreement (“Tolling Agreement”) with an effective date “as of
September 1, 2014.” (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 15) (Docket Entry #
31, ¶ 15) (Docket Entry # 28-13, pp. 1, 4). The pertinent
parts, which appear in paragraphs two and four, are as follows:
2.) This Tolling Agreement will terminate 30 calendar days
after Strathmore Insurance Company notifies in writing
The Meadows at Mainstone Farm Condominium Trust of its
decision related to the Supplemental Claim
(“Termination Date”).
4.) This Tolling Agreement shall not in any manner revive,
resurrect, or create any claims, rights, causes of
action or suits which have expired or are barred by
any applicable statute of limitations or repose or
other rule, provision, defense or principle based upon
the passage of time (including, without limitation,
waiver, estoppel and laches) whether statutory,
contractual or otherwise existing as of the Effective
Date or limit in any way the assertion of any defense
available as of the Effective Date related to the
Claim and Supplemental Claim.
(Docket Entry # 28-13, ¶¶ 2 & 4) (emphasis added). In the
Tolling Agreement, the parties also agreed that the period from
the agreement’s effective date (September 1, 2014) to its
termination date (30 days after defendant’s coverage decision)
would not be “asserted or relied upon in any way to compute” the
running of the statute of limitations. (Docket Entry # 28-13,
¶¶ 1, 2).11
On or about November 17, 2016, defendant provided plaintiff
with a detailed basis for declining coverage for the
supplemental claim for exterior damage. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶
16) (Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 16). On December 17, 2016, in
response to its receipt of the letter declining claim coverage,
plaintiff filed this action. (Docket Entry # 28-2, ¶ 17)
(Docket Entry # 31, ¶ 17).
STANDARD OF REVIEW
Summary judgment is designed “‘to pierce the boilerplate of
the pleadings and assay the parties’ proof in order to determine
11 The Tolling Agreement therefore excluded from the limitations
period the time period of September 1, 2014 to December 17,
2016, which was 30 days after defendant’s final coverage
decision on November 17, 2016. (Docket Entry # 28-13, ¶¶ 1, 2).
whether trial is actually required.’” Dávila v. Corporación De
Puerto Rico Para La Difusión Pública, 498 F.3d 9, 12 (1st Cir.
2007). It is appropriate when the summary judgment record shows
“there is no genuine dispute as to any material fact and the
movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R.
Civ. P. 56(a). It is inappropriate “if the record is
sufficiently open-ended to permit a rational factfinder to
resolve a material factual dispute in favor of either side.”
Pierce v. Cotuit Fire Dist., 741 F.3d 295, 301 (1st Cir. 2014).
“An issue is ‘genuine’ when a rational factfinder could
resolve it [in] either direction” and a “fact is ‘material’ when
its (non)existence could change a case’s outcome.” Mu v. Omni
Hotels Mgmt. Corp., 882 F.3d 1, 5 (1st Cir. 2018); accord Green
Mountain Realty Corp. v. Leonard, 750 F.3d 30, 38 (1st Cir.
2014). Facts are viewed in favor of the non-movant, i.e.,
plaintiff. See Garcia-Garcia v. Costco Wholesale Corp., 878
F.3d 411, 417 (1st Cir. 2017) (court examines “‘record in the
light most favorable to the nonmovant’ and must make ‘all
reasonable inferences in that party’s favor’”); Ahmed v.
Johnson, 752 F.3d 490, 495 (1st Cir. 2014). In reviewing a
summary judgment motion, a court may examine all of the record
materials on file even if not cited by the parties. Fed. R.
Civ. P. 56(c)(3); Geshke v. Crocs, Inc., 740 F.3d 74, 77 (1st
Cir. 2014). “‘“[C]onclusory allegations, improbable inferences,
and unsupported speculation”’” are ignored. Garcia-Garcia v.
Costo Wholesale Corp., 878 F.3d at 417.
With respect to a statute of limitations defense, summary
judgment is appropriate “where there is no dispute as to
essential evidentiary facts controlling the application of the
statute of limitations.” Nunheimer v. Continental Ins. Co., 68
F. Supp. 2d 75, 77 (D. Mass. 1999). As an affirmative defense,
“‘the defendant bears the burden of establishing” the
applicability of the statute of limitations. Asociación de
Suscripción Conjunta del Seguro de Responsabilidad Obligatorio
v. Juarbe-Jimenez, 659 F.3d 42, 50 n.10 (1st Cir. 2011); see
Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(c). As explained by the court in Asociación
with respect to the statute of limitations:
“The party who has the burden of proof on a dispositive
issue cannot attain summary judgment unless the evidence he
provides on that issue is conclusive.” Torres Vargas v.
Santiago Cummings, 149 F.3d 29, 36 (1st Cir. 1998)
(internal citations omitted). Once the defendant produces
such evidence, the burden shifts to the plaintiff to
establish that the statute of limitations does not apply.
Id. (emphahsis added). Thus, if defendant provides evidence
that the statute of limitations conclusively applies, plaintiff
bears the burden to show that any tolling of the limitations
period “is within the range where reasonable men and women can
differ.”12 Espada v. Lugo, 312 F.3d 1, 4 (1st Cir. 2002) (noting
12 As discussed below, tolling under the discovery rule does not
apply.
on summary that “plaintiff bears the burden of proving
timeliness by establishing that she lacked the necessary
knowledge or imputed knowledge before instituting the action”);
Torres v. E.I. Dupont De Nemours & Co., 219 F.3d 13, 19 (1st
Cir. 2000).
DISCUSSION
A. Breach of Contract
In Count I, plaintiff asserts that defendant’s “failure to
honor its contractual obligations and failure to make payment on
the full amount of [p]laintiff’s loss” under the policy
constitutes a breach of contract. (Docket Entry # 1, ¶ 17). In
light of defendant’s refusal to cover the exterior damage,
plaintiff purportedly expended “in excess of seven million
dollars repairing the damage.” (Docket Entry # 1, ¶ 18).
In seeking summary judgment, defendant sets forth the
following arguments: (1) the applicable limitations period
under the policy, which section 99 sets out by statute, is two
years from the time the loss occurred; (2) in Massachusetts, the
two-year limitations period in section 99 applies to all claims
for first-party property losses; (3) the discovery rule does not
apply; and (4) its actions have not waived the statute of
limitations or estopped it from asserting such a defense.
(Docket Entry # 28-1). As such, plaintiff’s failure to file
suit on or before February 4, 2013 forecloses its claims,
according to defendant. (Docket Entry # 28-1).
In Massachusetts, section 99 sets out a standard form and
content to include in property policies insuring against loss or
damage by fire. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 175, § 99. The language
includes a two-year limitations period. Mass. Gen. Laws ch.
175, § 99. In accordance with section 99’s requirements,
plaintiff’s policy with defendant contains the following
provision:
No suit or action against this company for the recovery of
any claim by virtue of this policy shall be sustained in
any court of law or equity in this commonwealth unless
commenced within two years from the time the loss
occurred[.]
(Docket Entry # 28-4, p. 110) (emphasis added); see Mass. Gen.
Laws ch. 175, § 99 (containing same language). Plaintiff argues
that the limitations language found in Massachusetts General
Laws chapter 175, section 22 (“section 22”) applies. In
pertinent part, section 22 states that:
No company and no officer or agent thereof shall make,
issue or deliver any policy of insurance or any annuity or
pure endowment contract containing any condition,
stipulation or agreement . . . limiting the time for
commencing actions against it to a period of less than two
years from the time when the cause of action accrues . . ..
Any such condition, stipulation or agreement shall be void.
Mass Gen. Laws ch. 175, § 22 (emphasis added). Plaintiff
submits that section 22 voids the policy’s limitations period,
which wrongly “purports to shorten the time to bring suit to
less than the ‘two years from the time when the cause of action
accrues.’” (Docket Entry # 30, p. 7).
There are a number of Massachusetts cases in which
plaintiffs use section 22 to challenge the validity of insurance
policies that utilize section 99’s limitations language. See
Goldsmith v. Reliance Ins. Co., 228 N.E.2d 704, 706 (Mass.
1967); Rock of Salvation Pentecostal Church, Inc. v. Guideone
Ins. Co., No. 0301382A, 2004 WL 856613, at *1, *6 (Mass. Super.
Mar. 2, 2004). Most notably, in Goldsmith, the Massachusetts
Supreme Judicial Court (“SJC”) held that, contrary to the
plaintiff’s contention, section 22 did not void the section 99
limitations provision in a policy that insured a retail store
against fire damage. Goldsmith v. Reliance Ins. Co., 228 N.E.2d
at 706. The SJC noted that the section 99 language could remain
effective by “confining § 22 to nonstatutory limitations, that
is, to those settled upon solely by the parties to the insurance
policy . . ..” Id. Stated otherwise, if the insurance policy’s
limitations provision contains the precise statutory language
from section 99, section 22 does not nullify it.13 See id.
13 Furthermore, Goldsmith distinguishes Barton, which also
discussed the relationship between sections 99 and 22. Barton
v. Automobile Ins. Co. of Hartford, Conn., 34 N.E.2d 516, 517
(Mass. 1941). Specifically, the Barton court held that “[u]nder
our statutes no limitation can be made to run from the happening
of the loss.” Id. The key difference between the two cases
lies in the fact that the Barton policy was “not in a standard
form prescribed by statute,” so the court did not have occasion
The court in Faustman v. Commerce Ins. Co. further develops
Goldsmith by confronting a similar issue, namely, “whether the
inclusion of fire insurance with other types of coverage makes
the entire policy subject to [section] 99, thereby avoiding the
proscriptions of [section] 22.” Faustman v. Commerce Ins. Co.,
No. 992303, 2000 WL 1473148, at *1, *2-4 (Mass. Super. Ct. July
5, 2000). Massachusetts General Laws chapter 175, section 54E
(“section 54E”), authorizes the combining of fire insurance with
other types of coverage in a homeowner’s insurance policy upon
obtaining approval from the Massachusetts Commissioner of
Insurance (“the Insurance Commissioner”). Mass. Gen. Laws ch.
175, § 54E. In light of section 54E, the Faustman court
determined that the Massachusetts legislature likely intended
section 99 to govern policies that obtained permission to
combine fire insurance with a variety of other coverages.
Faustman v. Commerce Ins. Co., 2000 WL 1473148, at *2-4.
Because the plaintiff’s policy combined this variety of
different coverages and received approval from the Insurance
Commissioner to do so, the policy’s reliance on section 99 was
appropriate. Id. The court therefore allowed summary judgment
to consider section 99’s limitations clause. Goldsmith v.
Reliance Ins. Co., 228 N.E.2d at 706 n.1. This distinction
further supports the conclusion that a policy’s limitations
clause that directly follows section 99’s standard, statutory
form is valid. See id.
by finding the insurance claim untimely because it filed the
action after two years from the time the loss occurred. Id.
The applicable limitations provision in the policy between
plaintiff and defendant uses the precise statutory language of
the limitations provision in section 99. See Goldsmith v.
Reliance Ins. Co., 228 N.E.2d at 706. With the Insurance
Commissioner’s permission, the policy conforms a variety of
different coverages and includes section 99’s language. (Docket
Entry # 31, ¶ 21) (Docket Entry # 34-1, ¶ 21). Section 54F
explicitly permits commercial property insurance policies to
write additional coverage protections into standard fire
insurance policies with the Insurance Commissioner’s
permission.14 See Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 175, § 54F; Faustman v.
Commerce Ins. Co., 2000 WL 1473148, at *2-4. Because section 22
does not void limitations provisions that explicitly follow
statutory guidelines, defendant’s reliance on section 99 adheres
to the legislative intent behind section 54F. See Goldsmith v.
14 In the pertinent part, section 54F states:
Any company authorized to insure against loss or damage by
fire . . . may . . . insure against loss or damage to, or
the legal liability of the insured with respect to,
commercial property . . . provided, that insurance against
loss or damage by perils other than the peril of fire may
be written only when insurance against the peril of fire is
written in the same policy and on forms which have been
submitted to and approved by the commissioner.
Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 175, § 54F.
Reliance Ins. Co., 228 N.E.2d at 706. Consistent with the
Goldsmith and Faustman precedents, section 99 establishes the
policy’s limitations period at two years from the time the loss
occurred.15 See id.; Faustman v. Commerce Ins. Co., 2000 WL
1473148, at *2-4.
Plaintiff next submits that because the exterior damage did
not result from fire loss, the Goldsmith holding does not apply.
(Docket Entry # 30). Plaintiff asserts that section 22
therefore governs the policy’s limitations provision. (Docket
Entry # 30). At the very least, plaintiff requests that,
pursuant to SJC Rule 1:03, this court certify to the SJC the
question of whether section 99 or section 22 governs non-fire
“weather event loss claims.” (Docket Entry # 30, p. 11)
(capitalization omitted).
The argument fails to acknowledge that existing
Massachusetts case law applies section 99 beyond the narrowly-
defined scope of fire losses to a broad range of claims arising
from non-fire damages. See Nurse v. Omega U.S. Ins., Inc., 38
15 To the extent plaintiff asserts that a six-year limitations
applies under Massachusetts General Laws chapter 260, section
two, because Count I constitutes a breach of contract claim
(Docket Entry # 30, p. 7), the argument lacks merit. The
contract claim constitutes a “claim by virtue of this policy”
within the meaning of the limitations language in section 99.
Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 175, § 99. The policy includes this
language and the statute’s two-year limitations period therefore
applies.
N.E.3d 759, 761 (Mass. App. Ct. 2015) (affirming summary
judgment pursuant to section 99 for insurance claim seeking
recovery for water damage resulting from bursting pipes);
Riverdale Mills Corp. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co., 123 F. Supp.
2d 37, 40 (D. Mass. 2000) (affirming summary judgment pursuant
to section 99 for insurance claim seeking recovery for rain-
induced flooding damage); Nunheimer v. Continental Ins. Co., 68
F. Supp. 2d at 78-80 (affirming summary judgment pursuant to
section 99 for insurance claim seeking recovery for contaminants
released from underground storage tanks); see also J. & T.
Enters., Inc. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 428 N.E.2d 131, 133
(Mass. 1981) (construing fire insurance policy’s section 99
provision broadly such that “any claim by virtue of the policy”
must be subject to its limitations provisions). These cases not
only show a willingness to extend section 99 to non-fire losses,
but also suggest that Massachusetts courts already apply section
99 to flooding damage and other property losses that closely
resemble the facts of the present case. See Nurse v. Omega U.S.
Ins., Inc., 38 N.E.3d at 761; Riverdale Mills Corp. v. Fireman’s
Fund Ins. Co., 123 F. Supp. 2d at 40. Plaintiff’s assertion
that section 99 does not govern non-fire losses is therefore
unconvincing and inconsistent with the established precedent.
Certification is not appropriate.
Plaintiff additionally points out that section 99 does not
contain “the ‘supercede’ language” defendant cites to support
the application of section 99 to the policy. (Docket Entry #
30). Although true, it is the presence of the statutory
language prohibiting suit “unless commenced within two years
from the time the loss occurred” (Docket Entry # 107, p. 110)
that constitutes the focal point of the analysis in the
foregoing cases and that section 99 contains. The additional
unambiguous contractual “‘supercede’ language” simply confirms
the intent of the parties that “the Massachusetts Standard Fire
Policy shall apply instead” of the “legal Action Against Us,
Appraisal and Cancellation Provisions contained in your policy.”
(Docket Entry # 28-4, p. 107, ¶ 1). Tellingly, plaintiff does
not cite a case to support the argument regarding the absence of
the superceding language in section 99 as rendering the “time
the loss occurred” language void.
Defendant also argues that the Massachusetts discovery rule
does not apply to limitations periods defined by section 99.
(Docket Entry # 28-1, pp. 9-11). Plaintiff disagrees.
Under the discovery rule, “a claim accrues and the statute
of limitations clock commences when a plaintiff knows, or
reasonably should have known, ‘that she has been harmed or may
have been harmed by the defendant’s conduct.’” Evans v.
Lorillard Tobacco Co., 990 N.E.2d 997, 1028 (Mass. 2013)
(quoting Bowen v. Eli Lilly & Co., 557 N.E.2d 739, 741 (Mass.
1990)); see Albrecht v. Clifford, 767 N.E.2d 42, 49 (Mass. 2002)
(rule tolls “limitations period until a prospective plaintiff
learns or should have learned that he has been injured”). In
tracing the history of the rule from its original application to
a legal malpractice claim and its extensions to fraudulent
misrepresentation and medical malpractice claims, the
Massachusetts Court of Appeals in Nurse astutely points out
that:
In each instance, the court was construing statutes that
set forth limitations periods that began when a cause of
action “accrued.” As the court noted in Bowen, it
developed “a discovery rule for the purpose of determining
when a cause of action accrues.”
Nurse v. Omega U.S. Ins., Inc., 38 N.E.3d 759, 762 (Mass. App.
Ct. 2015) (quoting Bowen, 557 N.E.2d at 739). Notably, the
court in Nurse explains that because the plain language of
section 99 uses the “unambiguous” phrase “‘loss occurred,’” the
“plain language” of section 99 did “not support the application
of the discovery rule.” Id. at 763-764. The Nurse decision
addresses a breach of contract and declaratory judgment action
under a dwelling insurance policy for water damage caused by
burst pipes in a largely vacant building.16 Id. at 760.
16 Ongoing construction was taking place in a third floor unit
in the building. Id. at 760.
Here too, as reasoned in Nurse, the plain and unambiguous
language of section 99 that “No suit . . . for the recovery of
any claim . . . shall be sustained . . . unless commenced within
two years from the time the loss occurred” leaves no room for a
delay of the accrual of the two-year limitations period under
the discovery rule. See id. at 763-764 (emphasis added). In
the “instances where the discovery rule has been extended, the
governing statute of limitations required a determination of
when the cause of action accrued, as opposed to when the ‘loss
occurred.’” Id. at 763. Thus, whereas both the contract, tort,
and malpractice statutes of limitations use the term “accrues,”
section 99 employs the phrase “loss occurred” as the trigger for
the limitations period. See Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, §§ 2, 2A,
4; see also Nurse v. Omega U.S. Ins., Inc., 38 N.E.3d at 763-64
n.15 (noting the accrual language in Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 260, §§
2, 4). In the context of a denial of an insurance claim
alleging a breach of contract, the term “loss” in section 99 “is
the incident ‘causing the damage to the property’ rather than
the denial of insurance benefits.’” Nurse v. Omega U.S. Ins.,
Inc., 38 N.E.3d at 762 (discussing conclusion by the court in
Nunheimer v. Continental Ins. Co., 68 F. Supp. 2d 75, 78 (D.
Mass. 1999)); see Nunheimer v. Continental Ins. Co., 68 F. Supp.
2d at 78; Gray Excavation, Inc. v. Acadia Ins. Co., No.
0602026C, 2008 WL 496645, at *1, *3 (Mass. Super. Jan. 29, 2008)
(“loss” occurred during acid contamination, not when plaintiff
discovered damage nearly three years later). Applying the
foregoing reasoning in Nurse v. Omega U.S. Ins., Inc., 38 N.E.3d
at 762, including the court’s adherence to the statutory
language and the unambiguous “‘loss occurred’” phrase, the
discovery rule does not delay the running of the two-year
limitations period in section 99 and the policy. The damage to
the property took place in February 2011 and the two-year time
period expired in February 2013.17 Accordingly, this case filed
in December 2016 is untimely.
Defendant next contends that it did not engage in any
activity that would waive the application of the statute of
limitations. (Docket Entry # 28-1). Plaintiff summarily states
that defendant waived its statute of limitations defense.
(Docket Entry # 30, p. 12). Plaintiff does not, however,
advance any additional argument beyond this conclusion. (Docket
Entry # 30, p. 12).
17 Furthermore, the loss or damages from the water intrusions
took place on February 4, 2011 as opposed to gradually over an
extended period of time. Cf. Mulhern v. Philadelphia Indem.
Ins. Co., 802 F. Supp. 2d 317, 321 (D. Mass. 2011). To the
extent Mulhern applies the discovery rule to an insurance claim
arising out of “gradual accumulation of damage” over the course
of three and a half months, the decision does not apply to the
factual circumstances in the case at bar. See Nurse v. Omega
U.S. Ins., Inc., 38 N.E.3d at 762 n.13 (discussing Mulhern 802
F. Supp. 2d at 802).
It is well established in Massachusetts that “[a]n insurer
does not waive its right to raise a statute of limitations
defense merely by making payment for undisputed losses while
specifically reserving its rights as to all disputed losses.”
Ora Catering Inc. v. Northland Ins. Co., 57 F. Supp. 3d 102, 108
(D. Mass. 2014). If courts considered every payment for an
undisputed loss as a waiver of rights to assert future rights
and defenses, insurance companies would have little incentive to
promptly distribute coverage payments. See id. Waiver
therefore occurs only when the insurer voluntarily or
intentionally relinquishes a known right. Merrimack Mut. Fire
Ins. Co. v. Nonaka, 606 N.E.2d 904, 906 (Mass. 1993).
In communications between the two parties, defendant
repeatedly reserved its rights or reasserted its rights or
defenses under the policy to challenge coverage. (Docket Entry
# 28-9) (Docket Entry # 28-10, p. 4) (Docket Entry # 28-15, p.
3) (Docket Entry # 34-2, p. 3); see Merrimack Mut. Fire Ins. Co.
v. Nonaka, 606 N.E.2d at 906. The April 2013 reservation of
rights letter states that defendant retains a “full reservation
of rights” and that “[n]one of our activities to date are to be
construed . . . as a waiver of any of the rights or defenses
available under the terms and conditions of the policy, all of
which are hereby reserved.” (Docket Entry # 28-9). The August
2013 denial letter repeats defendant’s expressed intention to
reserve its defenses. (Docket Entry # 28-10, p. 4). When
defendant sent an additional demand for examination under oath
and request for certain documents in July 2014, defendant once
again reiterated and included its right to assert a statute of
limitations defense. (Docket Entry # 28-15). The September 5,
2014 email to plaintiff’s counsel reasserts defendant’s
continued reliance on the statute of limitations. (Docket Entry
# 34-2, p. 3). Accordingly, in light of the above evidence and
the absence of contrary evidence that gives rise to a genuinely
disputed fact regarding defendant’s voluntary or intentional
waiver, plaintiff’s waiver argument does not forestall summary
judgment. See Ora Catering Inc. v. Northland Ins. Co., 57 F.
Supp. 3d at 108; Merrimack Mut. Fire Ins. Co. v. Nonaka, 606
N.E.2d at 906.
Finally, defendant argues it is not estopped from asserting
the statute of limitations defense. (Docket Entry # 28-1).
Plaintiff disagrees and contends that “genuine factual issues
remain” regarding the reasonableness of plaintiff’s reliance on
defendant’s conduct throughout the coverage dispute. (Docket
Entry # 30, p. 13). Plaintiff posits that it reasonably relied
on defendant’s “assurances of good faith in the submission and
investigative process.” (Docket Entry # 30, p. 14). Plaintiff
also points out that it “reasonably pressed its claim . . . only
after [defendant] expressed its willingness to consider the
claim.” (Docket Entry # 30).
The parties agree on the elements of an estoppel claim.
(Docket Entry # 28-1, pp. 11-12) (Docket Entry # 30, p. 13).
Succinctly stated, to prevail on an estoppel claim in
Massachusetts, a plaintiff must show: “(1) a representation
intended to induce a course of conduct on the part of the person
to whom the representation was made; (2) reasonable reliance
upon the representations by that party; and (3) detriment to
that party as a result of the reliance.” Consolo v. Bank of
Am., Civil Action No. 15-11840-DJC, 2017 WL 1739171, at *1, *4
(D. Mass. May 2, 2017); Riverdale Mills Corp. v. Fireman’s Fund
Ins. Co., 123 F. Supp. 2d at 40 (citing Turnpike Motors Inc. v.
Newbury Group, Inc., 596 N.E.2d 989, 991 (Mass. 1992)). As also
pointed out by defendant, plaintiff’s reliance must be
reasonable. See Riverdale Mills Corp. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins.
Co., 123 F. Supp. 2d at 40.
A number of courts adjudicating estoppel claims against a
statute of limitations defense examine whether the defendant’s
communication was “a representation calculated to induce the
Plaintiffs to forego suit during the two-year statute of
limitations period.” Id.; see also Kozikowski v. Toll Bros.,
Inc., 354 F.3d 16, 24 (1st Cir. 2003) (affirming summary
judgment for estoppel claim in the absence of clear assurances
that signified defendants’ intentions to carry out plans); Coady
v. Martin Lumber and Cedar Co., 167 F. Supp. 2d 166, 171 (D.
Mass. 2001) (successful estoppel claims must prove “that the
defendant lulled the plaintiff” into delaying suit past the
limitations period). As aptly argued by defendant, its conduct
of investigating the matter subject to an express reservation of
rights could not have induced plaintiff to forego filing suit.
(Docket Entry # 28-1) (discussing Riverdale Mills Corp. v.
Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co., 123 F. Supp. 2d at 39-40, at length).
The April 4, 2013 letter expressly reserved its rights and
defenses under the policy. (Docket Entry # 28-9). Two days
prior to the letter, Kearney emailed Nemet and Barrett that “the
two year statute of limitations expired on this claim that
occurred in [sic] February 4, 2011.” (Docket Entry # 28-8).
The August 8, 2013 letter stated that “no act” by defendant’s
attorneys “shall constitute a waiver or estoppel of any defense,
term, provision, or condition under [the] policy.” (Docket
Entry # 28-10) (emphasis added). This denial letter quoted
various provisions of the policy including the limitations
provision that “no one may bring legal action against the
insurance company unless . . . ‘[t]he action is brought within
two years after the date on which the direct physical loss or
damage occurred.’” (Docket Entry # 28-10, p. 4). The July 2014
letter that defendant sent requesting documents and examinations
under oath once again included a reservation of rights. (Docket
Entry # 28-15, p. 3). This letter specifically informed
plaintiff that “[a]ny and all investigations taken by” defendant
“shall not constitute a waiver of, or an estoppel to assert, any
of the terms or conditions of the policy of insurance described
above or any rights or defenses Strathmore Insurance Company may
have which may arise under applicable law, including . . .
limitations of action . . ..” (Docket Entry # 28-15, p. 3)
(emphasis added). Defendant’s conduct as a whole18 does not
amount to a representation intended to induce plaintiff’s
reliance or import reasonable reliance on the part of plaintiff.
See, e.g., Riverdale Mills Corp. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co., 123
F. Supp. 2d at 40 (finding that letter from insurer stating it
had not yet decided to cover plaintiff’s loss could not support
equitable estoppel claim); cf. John Beaudette, Inc. v. Sentry
Ins. A Mutual Co., 94 F. Supp. 2d 77, 130 (D. Mass. 1999)
(denying summary judgment because insurer affirmatively
represented and unequivocally stated that coverage existed
without mentioning any reservation of rights).
To support its contention that estoppel usually requires
close factual scrutiny, plaintiff relies in part on John
Beaudette, Inc., a case that underscores the fact-specific
18 See footnote 26 and related text.
nature of estoppel claims. John Beaudette, Inc. v. Sentry Ins.,
94 F. Supp. 2d at 130. Unlike the insurer in John Beaudette,
Inc., however, defendant never affirmatively represented that
coverage would apply to the exterior damage. See id. (by
letter, “Gross wrote to JBI’s attorney and unequivocally
informed him ‘that there would be coverage for both on-site and
off-site damage and cleanup costs’” without “mention of a
reservation of rights”). To the contrary, defendant repeatedly
reserved its right to assert all rights and defenses. The
payments defendant made to cover the interior losses do not by
themselves support a finding of estoppel. The decision to
reconsider coverage was subject to a reservation of rights and,
as such, did not constitute an affirmative intention to support
coverage. See American Guarantee & Liab. Ins. Co. v. Lamond,
Civil Action No. 13-13168-RGS, 2016 WL 1312008, at *3 (D. Mass.
Apr. 4, 2016) (denying estoppel defense on summary judgment and
rejecting argument that insurance company’s failure to send
second reservation of rights letter gave rise to an estoppel);
Riverdale Mills Corp. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co., 123 F. Supp.
2d at 40; Gallant v. Fed. Mut. Ins. Co., 235 N.E.2d 810, 813
(Mass. 1968). While this court recognizes the fact-intensive
nature of estoppel claims, no reasonable finder of fact could
conclude that defendant had an intention to induce plaintiff
into forgoing the limitations provision or that plaintiff’s
reliance was reasonable. See Riverdale Mills Corp. v. Fireman’s
Fund Ins. Co., 123 F. Supp. 2d at 40; John Beaudette, Inc. v.
Sentry Ins., 94 F. Supp. 2d at 130.
Where, as here, “there is no dispute as to essential
evidentiary facts controlling the application of the statute of
limitations,” summary judgment “is appropriate.” Nunheimer v.
Continental Ins. Co., 68 F. Supp. 2d at 77. The breach of
contract claim is therefore time barred pursuant to section 99’s
two-year statute of limitations provision included in the
policy. See id. Summary judgment on Count I is appropriate.
B. Declaratory Judgment
Based on the same arguments, defendant moves for summary
judgment on the declaratory judgment count. (Docket Entry #
28). In the declaratory judgment count, “[p]laintiff requests
that the Court declare that all amounts expended to repair
damage to the Complex are covered by the Policy and Plaintiff is
also entitled to interest and costs on said amount.” (Docket
Entry # 1, p. 4).
“‘(T)he operation of the Declaratory Judgment Act is
procedural only.’” Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,
339 U.S. 667, 671 (1950) (internal citation omitted). “Because
a declaratory judgment action is a procedural device used to
vindicate substantive rights, it is barred only if relief on a
direct claim based on such rights would also be barred.” Stone
v. Williams, 970 F.2d 1043, 1048 (2nd Cir. 1992); Int’l Ass’n of
Machinists and Aerospace Workers v. Tennessee Valley Auth., 108
F.3d 658, 668 (6th Cir. 1997) (quoting Stone v. Williams, 970
F.2d at 1048); see also Stefanick v. Planning Board of Uxbridge,
657 N.E.2d 475, 478 (Mass. App. Ct. 1995) (“permissible
expedient of a complaint for declaratory judgment . . . does not
suspend” application of statute of limitations). “A contrary
rule would allow a plaintiff to ‘make[e] a mockery of the
statute of limitations by the simple expedient of creative
labeling.’” Int’l Ass’n of Machinists & Aerospace Works v.
Tennessee Valley Auth., 108 F.3d at 668 (quoting Gilbert v. City
of Cambridge, 932 F.2d 51, 57 (1st Cir. 1991)).
Here, there is no reason to find the declaratory judgment
claim timely and not subject to the two-year statute of
limitations in section 99 when the accompanying breach of
contract claim is untimely as subject to the two-year statute of
limitations in section 99. See Page v. LeRoux, 685 N.E.2d 1205,
1207 n.2 (Mass. App. Ct. 1997) (complaint seeking declaratory
relief as to ownership of property interest under partnership
agreement subject to six-year limitations period applicable to
breach of contract claims); see also Gilbert v. City of
Cambridge, 932 F.2d at 58 (if “‘a claim for declaratory relief
could have been resolved through another form of action which
has a specific limitations period, the specific period of time
will govern’”) (internal citations omitted).
II. Defendant’s Motion to Strike
Separately, defendant moves to strike Amoruso’s expert
report, affidavit, and testimony at trial.19 (Docket Entry # 26)
(Docket Entry # 34, p. 2). Defendant seeks to strike Amoruso’s
opinions because they: (1) constitute legal conclusions
regarding questions of law; and (2) will not assist a trier of
fact in understanding the evidence or determining a disputed
material fact. (Docket Entry # 26).
DISCUSSION
A. Expert Report
With respect to the expert report, plaintiff contends that
because defendant filed the motion to strike the report before
moving for summary judgment, it is premature. (Docket Entry #
27). Plaintiff submits that it should have an opportunity to
review a summary judgment motion first before evaluating the
19 In a reply brief, defendant seeks to strike Amoruso’s
affidavit because it reiterates the same opinions found in the
expert report. (Docket Entry # 34, p. 2). Plaintiff did not
object to the inclusion of the affidavit in the motion to strike
by seeking leave to file a sur-reply, and the opinions in the
affidavit overlap, to a degree, the opinions in the affidavit.
In this court’s discretion, the motion to strike therefore
applies to Amoruso’s expert report, his affidavit, and his
testimony as trial.
evidence it should present in opposition to such a motion.
(Docket Entry # 27).
Defendant filed the motion to strike more than two weeks
before filing the motion for summary judgment. Notably, neither
plaintiff’s memorandum in opposition to summary judgment nor its
LR. 56.1 statement of material facts cite to Amoruso’s expert
report. (Docket Entry # 31). Instead, plaintiff relies on the
affidavit by Amoruso that plaintiff subsequently submitted.
(Docket Entry # 30-1). The motion to strike the expert report
filed on October 16, 2017 is moot to the extent defendant seeks
“to preclude” its use to oppose defendant’s summary judgment
motion. (Docket Entry # 26). Although the motion to strike
also seeks to preclude Amoruso from testifying at trial (Docket
Entry # 26), the allowance of the summary judgment motion moots
this request.
B. Affidavit
Next, this court addresses defendant’s request to strike
Amoruso’s affidavit, which plaintiff filed as part of the
summary judgment record on November 21, 2017. (Docket Entry #
30-1) (Docket Entry # 34, p. 2). In response to defendant’s
aforementioned arguments, plaintiff submits that: (1) Amoruso’s
“‘knowledge, skill, experience, training, or education’” in the
insurance industry will assist a trier of fact to understand and
apply the policy; (2) Amoruso can testify about industry
practice, including how a particular insurance policy is
structured and how ambiguous terms are typically understood in
other insurance policies; and (3) excluding Amoruso’s expert
opinion is a drastic remedy that is avoidable by limiting his
testimony to certain customs and usages in the insurance
industry. (Docket Entry # 27).
Federal Rule of Evidence 702 (“Rule 702”) governs the
admissibility of expert testimony, which, in pertinent part,
states:
If scientific, technical, or other specialized knowledge will
assist the trier of fact to understand the evidence or to
determine a fact in issue, a witness qualified as an expert
by knowledge, skill, experience, training, or education, may
testify thereto in the form of an opinion or otherwise, if
(1) the testimony is based upon sufficient facts or data, (2)
the testimony is the product of reliable principles and
methods, and (3) the witness has applied the principles and
methods reliably to the facts of the case.
Fed. R. Evid. 702. In order to meet the aims of Rule 702, the
court acts as a gatekeeper by ensuring that the expert opinion
“‘both rests on a reliable foundation and is relevant to the
task at hand.’” Milward v. Rust-Oleum Corp., 820 F.3d 469, 473
(1st Cir. 2016) (affirming district court’s exclusion of expert
testimony under Rule 702 and allowance of summary judgment)
(citation omitted); see Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharm., Inc., 509
U.S. 579, 591 (1993) (Rule 702’s requirement that expert
testimony “‘assist the trier of fact’” is concerned primarily
with relevance); Pages-Ramirez v. Ramirez-Gonzalez, 605 F.3d
109, 115 (1st Cir. 2010).
“‘It is black-letter law that it is not for witnesses to
instruct the jury as to applicable principles of law, but for
the judge.’” Bacchi v. Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co., 2016 WL
1170958, *1, *2 (D. Mass. March 23, 2016) (quoting Nieves-
Villanueva v. Soto-Rivera, 133 F.3d 92, 99 (1st Cir. 1997)).
Accordingly, expert testimony that discusses “purely legal
issues is rarely admissible.” Nieves-Villanueva v. Soto-Rivera,
133 F.3d at 99; see Bacchi v. Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co., 2016 WL
1170958, at *4 (striking expert report devoted to discussing
legislative history of Massachusetts statute); OneBeacon Am.
Ins. Co. v. Commercial Union Assurance Co. of Canada, 804 F.
Supp. 2d 77, 83 (D. Mass. 2011) (striking expert affidavit
seeking to interpret insurance policy’s renewal period because
it amounted to legal opinion); Ji v. Bose Corp., 538 F. Supp. 2d
354, 360 (D. Mass. 2008) (striking commentary on background
legal principles, bald legal conclusions, and opinions regarding
legal force of each party’s actions); Carrier v. Am. Bankers
Life Assur. Co. of Fla., Civil Action No. 05-430-JD, 2007 WL
3124653, at *2 (D.N.H. Oct. 25, 2007) (excluding expert’s
opinion explaining “legal requirements of state law for credit
insurance policies” as “merely parrot[ing] the law, which is the
province of the court”). “An expert cannot simply opine as to
his or her view of a disputed point of law.” Adams v. New
England Scaffolding, Inc., Civil Action No. 13-12629-FDS, 2015
WL 9412518, at *6 (D. Mass. Dec. 11, 2015); see also RTR Techs.,
Inc. v. Helming, 707 F.3d 84, 93 (1st Cir. 2013) (“‘expert
opinion must be more than a conclusory assertion about ultimate
legal issues’” in order to thwart a motion for summary
judgment”) (citation omitted).
Although “there is no blanket prohibition on expert
testimony concerning the law,” Adams v. New England Scaffolding,
Inc., Civil Action No. 13-12629-FDS, 2015 WL 9412518, at *5 (D.
Mass. Dec. 22, 2015), a “district court has broad discretion to
exclude expert opinion evidence about the law that would impinge
on the roles of the judge and the jury.” Pelletier v. Main St.
Textiles, LP, 470 F.3d 48, 54 (1st Cir. 2006). Simply stated,
expert testimony should “help the trier of fact” in
comprehending “a fact in issue” or the factual evidence. Fed.
R. Evid. 702; see United States v. Pena-Santo, 809 F.3d 686, 694
(1st Cir. 2015) (“‘[f]or expert testimony to be admissible under
Fed. R. Evid. 702, it must “be relevant to the task at hand” and
helpful to the jury in its deliberations’”). Because the jury
does not decide “pure questions of law, such testimony is not
helpful to the jury and so does not fall within the literal
terms of Fed. R. Evid. 702.” Nieves-Villanueva v. Soto-Rivera,
133 F.3d at 100. For example, an expert’s opinion interpreting
exclusionary provisions, including whether an exclusion
endorsement superseded an exclusion, invades the court’s
province to interpret the language of the policy. Maine State
Properties, LLC v. Chubb Custom Ins. Co., No. 2:15-cv-140-JHR,
2016 WL 8672924, at *14 (D. Me. July 8, 2016). Accordingly, the
court struck the opinion as “irrelevant and unhelpful to the
trier of fact.” Id.
Although “an expert may not offer an opinion concerning a
legal question,” he may testify about industry standards. Levin
v. Dalva Bros., Inc., 459 F.3d 68, 79 (1st Cir. 2006). Hence,
“in general, the customs and practices of an industry are proper
subjects for expert testimony.” Pelletier v. Main Street
Textiles, LP, 470 F.3d at 55; accord Massachusetts Mut. Life
Ins. Co. v. DB Structured Prod., Inc., Civil Action No. 11-
30039-MGM, 2015 WL 2130060, at *13 (D. Mass. May 7, 2015)
(“experts may opine as to industry customs and practices, if
sufficiently qualified”). “The line between testimony regarding
what the law requires and testimony describing how an industry
practice typically operates is not always clear.” Ji v. Bose
Corp., 538 F. Supp. 2d at 358. Testimony from an expert that
describes industry practices may incorporate the expert’s
“understanding of the law,” but “the expert cannot testify as to
what the law requires.” Bacchi v. Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co.,
2016 WL 1170958, at *3 (allowing expert testimony about specific
characteristics of industry practice and striking portions of
opinion containing legal analysis); see also Nieves-Villanueva
v. Soto-Rivera, 133 F.3d at 101 (considering situations where
testimony on “rare, highly complex and technical matters” that
incorporates limited legal discussion could be admissible);
Adams v. New England Scaffolding, Inc., Civil Action No. 13-
12629-FDS, 2015 WL 9412518, at *5-7.
With more than 45 years of experience in the insurance
industry, Amoruso undeniably possesses the knowledge and ability
to deliver competent testimony on common insurance practices.
(Docket Entry # 30-1). Turning to the content of the opinions,
the ninth paragraph of Amoruso’s affidavit opines “that the
contractual two-year limit for filing this action . . . does not
apply” because it appears in the standard fire policy
endorsement and the “loss was not a fire-related loss.” (Docket
Entry # 30-1, ¶ 9). As discussed above, case law and
Massachusetts statutes establish the contrary. The opinion is
not helpful to the trier of fact regarding a factual issue.
Rather, in this instance it encroaches on the role of this court
to determine the law.
For similar reasons, the same result applies to paragraph
ten. In evaluating the insurance policy’s use of the
Massachusetts standard fire policy provisions, Amoruso states
the following:
I agree that for claims handling and coverage purposes the
commercial property provisions of the Policy apply here,
and I do not believe that Mr. Baroncini or Strathmore
should have considered anything contained within the fire
coverage provisions of the Policy. It is my professional
opinion that proper handling of this claim by Strathmore
would not have referenced or relied upon the Massachusetts
Standard Fire Policy Provisions because this case does not
involve a fire loss.
(Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶ 10). In this paragraph, Amoruso states
that defendant should not rely on the Massachusetts standard
fire policy because the loss did not involve a fire loss. He is
opining that the standard policy provisions in the statute and
in the policy do not apply because this case does not involve a
fire loss. Under the case law, as recited previously, courts
apply the statutory language to non-fire losses. Thus, like the
distinction drawn in Pelletier between an expert testifying
about what the law means and an expert testifying about the law
as a factual issue, for example, whether defendant’s reliance on
tax law was wilful and intentional, Amoruso’s testimony falls
into the former category. See Pelletier v. Main Street
Textiles, LP, 470 F.3d at 55 (citing United States v. Garber,
607 F.2d 92, 96-98 (1st Cir. 2003)).20 Amoruso is presenting an
20 The court in Garber framed the intersection between the facts
and the law as follows:
The government must demonstrate that the defendant
willfully concealed and omitted from her return income
which she knew was taxable. When the taxability of
unreported income is problematical as a matter of law, the
unresolved nature of the law is relevant to show that
alternative opinion to this court’s determination of the law and
the determination of the Massachusetts cases cited previously
regarding the application of the statutory language in section
99 to non-fire losses. The statutory terms in the policy
pertaining to the commencement of suit “within two years from
the time the loss occurred” are plain and unambiguous, and case
law establishes their application to non-fire losses. Here
again, the opinion usurps the role of this court as the arbiter
of the law and impinges on the role of this court in determining
what the law means in the context of a non-fire loss. See id.
at 54. In this court’s discretion, the opinion in paragraph ten
is stricken from the summary judgment record. See Maine State
Properties, LLC v. Chubb Custom Ins. Co., 2016 WL 8672924, at
*14; S.E.C. v. Goldsworthy, 2008 WL 2943398, at *4 (stating it
is inappropriate “to have experts opine ‘as to the legal
obligations of the parties under the contract’” and “is
particularly inappropriate in this case, where the contract does
not require ‘scientific, technical, or other specialized
knowledge’ to interpret its terms”).
defendant may not have been aware of a tax liability or may
have simply made an error in judgment.
United States v. Garber, 607 F.2d at 98 (finding the expert
testimony appropriate). Here, the law is not unresolved and
Amoruso’s testimony does not concern the interpretation of the
law as a factual issue in this case. See Pelletier v. Main
Street Textiles, LP, 470 F.3d at 55.
In paragraph 11, Amoruso discusses the policy’s reliance on
section 99’s limitations language. (Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶ 11).
Citing the belief of Baroncini, defendant’s vice president of
property claims, that Massachusetts law requires the
“‘supersede’ language,” the affidavit states:
It is my professional opinion that Mr. Baroncini is
mistaken. The “supersede” language quoted above does not
appear in the relevant statute, Mass. G.L.c. 175, § 99, and
it is my professional opinion that for claims handling and
coverage purposes, the Massachusetts Standard Fire Policy
does not apply, and should not be applied, to non-fire
losses such as those in this case. Based upon my
experience, understanding and knowledge of claims practices
by insurers in Massachusetts, they would not apply the
Massachusetts Fire Policy conditions to a non-fire loss.
(Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶ 11). For reasons stated with respect to
paragraph ten, including the distinction drawn in Pelletier, 470
F.3d at 55, the opinion in paragraph 11 intrudes upon this
court’s role in deciding and determining the law. The
contractual superceding language that certain provisions are
“void” and that the provisions of the standard fire policy
“shall apply instead” is clear and unambiguous contractual
language in the policy, as determined by this court. It
requires no expert testimony, which both impinges on this
court’s role and is not helpful to the trier of fact. It is
therefore stricken from the summary judgment record. See Maine
State Properties, LLC v. Chubb Custom Ins. Co., 2016 WL 8672924,
at *8, *14 (interpreting whether exclusion endorsement
superseded an exclusion invades court’s province to interpret
policy language of the policy); S.E.C. v. Goldsworthy, 2008 WL
2943398, at *4; see also Pelletier v. Main Street Textiles, LP,
470 F.3d at 54-56.
Next, in paragraph 13 Amoruso discusses the policy’s
limitations period in the context of the Tolling Agreement and
when plaintiff “discovered” the “concealed damage.” (Docket
Entry # 30-1, ¶ 13). In pertinent part, paragraph 13 states:
I believe that under standard claims handling practices by
insurers in Massachusetts, this action would be treated as
timely since under the parties’ Tolling Agreement . . .
this action would be treated as commenced less than two (2)
years after the concealed damage that is the subject of
this action was discovered.
(Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶ 13). Thus, in examining the appropriate
“claims handling practices” of the limitations provision in the
industry, Amoruso arrives at the legal conclusion that the
action would properly toll in two years after the exterior
damage “was discovered.” (Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶ 13).
First, including the opinion in paragraph 13 in the summary
judgment record does not alter the outcome of the summary
judgment motion. As explained previously, the statute of
limitations in section 99 included in the policy expired prior
to the effective date of the Tolling Agreement. Second,
Amoruso’s description of the “standard claims handling
practices” that “would treat” the loss as commenced is incorrect
because a number of Massachusetts cases do not apply the two-
year limitations period in section 99 contained in an insurance
policy as commencing when the damage “was discovered” (Docket
Entry # 30-1, ¶ 13). See Nunheimer v. Continental Ins. Co., 68
F. Supp. 2d at 78; Goldsmith v. Reliance Ins. Co., 228 N.E.2d at
706; see also Pelletier v. Main Street Textiles, LP, 470 F.3d at
54-55; Adams v. New England Scaffolding, Inc., 2015 WL 9412518,
at *6; Nieves-Villanueva v. Soto-Rivera, 133 F.3d at 101. It is
therefore stricken as an impermissible legal conclusion as well
as unhelpful to the trier of fact.
Finally, in paragraph 14 Amoruso opines about the issues of
waiver and estoppel. (Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶ 14). In pertinent
part, paragraph 14 states:
Based upon my professional experience, there are times when
an insurance company must pay a claim because it is
estopped to deny coverage, or has waived a contractual or
other defense to payment. Based upon the contents of the
Langweber and Quinby Affidavits filed herewith, it is my
professional opinion that Strathmore is estopped to deny
coverage, or has waived a contractual or other defense to
payment. Based upon my experience, understanding and
knowledge of claims practices by insurers in Massachusetts,
they would not apply the Massachusetts Fire Policy
conditions to a non-fire loss. Based on my more than 30
years of experience, an insurer in Massachusetts would have
made a payment in the claim at issue in this case.
(Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶ 14). A trier of fact, however, is fully
capable of drawing his or her own conclusion from the record
regarding the existence of an estoppel or waiver. As explained
by the court in Baumann, “‘it would not assist the trier of fact
for the expert to offer’” an opinion that an insurer “‘is barred
by estoppel from denying coverage’” because “‘a jury is fully
qualified to make on its own determination from the evidence
presented,’” and “‘such testimony would not assist the trier of
fact.’” Baumann v. Am. Family Mut. Ins. Co., 836 F. Supp. 2d
1196, 1202 (D. Colo. 2011) (quoting Lone Star Steakhouse and
Saloon, Inc. v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Group, 343 F. Supp. 2d 989,
1015 (D. Kan. 2004)). Here too, the opinions in paragraph 14
contain factual conclusions about claims practices of
Massachusetts insurers that would not assist a trier of fact.
Exercising this court’s discretion, the opinions in paragraph 14
are stricken from the summary judgment.
In the alternative, even if this court considered the
opinions in paragraph 14, they do not create a genuinely
disputed issue of material fact and do not alter the decision to
allow summary judgment. In the context of the repeated
assertions and statements that defendant was reserving its
rights and defenses and that no act shall constitute an estoppel
or waiver, Amoruso’s opinions in paragraph 14 do not create a
genuinely disputed material fact vis-à-vis either estoppel or
waiver.
As a final mater, plaintiff argues that Amoroso’s opinion
should be admitted into evidence because it will assist this
court and finders of fact to understand the “technical,
specialized terminology” embedded within a 166-page insurance
policy. (Docket Entry # 27, p. 8). According to plaintiff,
Amoruso’s testimony will provide helpful guidance to assist the
trier of fact to “navigat[e] through a complicated and
sophisticated insurance agreement.” (Docket Entry # 27, p. 8).
This dispute, however, is not concerned with the bulk of the
language in the policy. Rather, it primarily involves the
contractual superceding language and the statutory language that
commences the limitations period at “the time the loss
occurred.” (Docket Entry # 28-4, pp. 107, 110). Moreover, the
contested areas of Amoruso’s opinions are narrowly confined to a
discrete set of issues, namely, the policy’s inclusion of
section 99 limitations language, the effect of the Tolling
Agreement, and whether defendant waived or estopped itself from
asserting the two-year statute of limitations in the policy.
(Docket Entry # 30-1, ¶¶ 10-11, 13-14). Furthermore, except for
the factual conclusions regarding estoppel and waiver which the
trier of fact is fully capable of determining without the
potentially confusing and perceived significant of an expert’s
opinions, the central issues in the summary judgment motion are
legal issues involving construction of unambiguous statutory and
contractual terms in the policy, see Nurse v. Omega U.S. Ins.,
Inc., 38 N.E.3d at 763-64, application of Massachusetts case
law, and statutory construction. Amoruso’s opinions will not,
as discussed above, assist the trier of fact, and they impinge
on the role of this court.
III. Motion for Leave to Amend Complaint
Plaintiff filed the motion for leave to amend the complaint
on January 2, 2018. (Docket Entry # 36). Plaintiff therefore
seeks to amend the complaint after defendant moved for summary
judgment on October 31, 2017. (Docket Entry # 28). As
previously noted, the amended complaint seeks to include two
additional counts for violation of chapters 93A and 176D.
(Docket Entry # 36-1). Defendant opposes the motion because:
(1) the 93A and 176D claims are untimely; (2) chapter 176D does
not provide a private cause of action; (3) undue and prejudicial
delay; and (4) futility. (Docket Entry # 38). Plaintiff did
not seek leave to file a reply brief or otherwise specifically
address the futility of the chapter 93A and chapter 176D claims
or the absence of a private cause of action under chapter 176D.
See Curet-Velazquez v. ACEMLA de Puerto Rico, Inc., 656 F.3d 47,
54 (1st Cir. 2011) (“[a]rguments alluded to but not properly
developed before a magistrate judge are deemed waived”).21
Separately, although plaintiff does not expressly refer to
section 11 in the proposed amended complaint or in the motion to
amend, the proposed chapter 93A claim raises a section 11 claim
21 This court addresses the merits to complete the record.
because it alleges that “Plaintiff and Defendant have been
engaged in trade or commerce” in Massachusetts “within the
meaning of chapter 93A” and “caused Plaintiff to suffer a loss
of money.”22 (Docket Entry # 36-1, ¶¶ 44-45) (emphasis added);
see Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 93A, § 11.
Turning to the allegations of the chapter 93A claim, they
incorporate all of the previous allegations regarding the
chapter 176D claim and purported chapter 176D violation in the
proposed amended complaint. (Docket Entry # 36-1, ¶ 43). The
proposed amended complaint alleges that “notwithstanding the
passage of time,” defendant failed to pay the “claim once
liability and damages” became “clearly established.” (Docket
Entry # 36-1, ¶ 46). Defendant also allegedly misrepresented
its position as well as the “true deadline” to make a claim for
the “Concealed Damage.” (Docket Entry # 36-1, ¶¶ 40, 43).
Based on defendant’s assurances “that the parties would work
toward” an “amicable resolution,” plaintiff “delayed filing
suit,” according to the proposed amended complaint. (Docket
Entry # 36-1, ¶¶ 36, 43). It further alleges that “Plaintiff
22 Violations of chapter 176D constitute “probative evidence” as
opposed to “per se proof, of egregious business misconduct” in a
section 11 claim. Peabody Essex Museum, Inc. v. U.S. Fire Ins.
Co., 802 F.3d 39, 54 (1st Cir. 2015). In contrast, a consumer
asserting a section nine claim “may recover for violations of
G.L. c. 176D, § 3, cl. 9, without regard to whether the
violation was unlawful under G.L. c. 93A, § 2.” Polaroid Corp.
v. Travelers Indem. Co., 610 N.E.2d 912, 917 (Mass. 1993).
and its counsel were never advised or led to believe that
Defendant would refuse” to pay the claim. (Docket Entry # 36-1,
¶¶ 34, 43). Defendant purportedly “misrepresented the true
purpose for its ‘investigation[,]’ which was to search for
additional reasons to deny the claim[,]” and it engaged in
“unfair settlement practices.” (Docket Entry # 36-1, ¶¶ 40, 42,
43). Finally, defendant “knowingly induced [p]laintiff to
believe that [d]efendant intended to adjust and make payment on
its claim for Concealed Damage caused by the Weather Events . .
..” (Docket Entry # 36-1, ¶ 45). In turn, plaintiff
purportedly incurred significant costs and expenses as it
“jump[ed] through the hoops” that defendant set out during the
investigation. (Docket Entry # 36-1, ¶ 48).
STANDARD OF REVIEW: FUTILITY
It is well settled that futility constitutes an adequate
basis to deny amendment. See generally Maine State Bldg. and
Constr. Trades Council, AFL-CIO v. United States Dep’t of Labor,
359 F.3d 14, 19 (1st Cir. 2004). The proper standard to gauge
futility depends on the posture of the action. See Hatch v.
Dep’t for Children, Youth, and Their Families, 274 F.3d 12, 19
(1st Cir. 2001). Where, as here, a plaintiff seeks leave to
amend after the filing of a summary judgment motion, “‘the
proposed amendment must be not only theoretically viable but
also solidly grounded in the record.’” Somascan, Inc. v.
Philips Med. Sys. Nederland, B.V., 714 F.3d 62, 64 (1st Cir.
2013) (quoting Hatch v. Dep’t for Children, Youth, and Their
Families, 274 F.3d at 19). In such circumstances, “‘an
amendment is properly classified as futile unless the
allegations of the proposed amended complaint are supported by
substantial evidence.’” Id. (quoting Hatch v. Dep’t for
Children, Youth, and Their Families, 274 F.3d at 19).
FACTUAL BACKGROUND
Having already summarized the evidence in the record, this
court only briefly recounts pertinent facts. At the end of
January 2013, Grosser, Rodman’s vice president, sent the email
to Barrett “confirming” Barrett’s inquiry “about the merits of
filing a supplemental claim related to the large ice dam loss.”
(Docket Entry # 28-6). As discussed above, the two-year statute
of limitations expired shortly thereafter in early February
2013. On April 2, 2013, Barrett sent the email to Rodman
stating that “The Board would like to investigate opening a
supplemental claim associated with the prior ice dam claim” and
asking for an adjuster to contact him. (Docket Entry # 28-7).
The next morning, Kearney, the general adjuster, sent the email
to Nemet at Rodman, Barrett at Crowninshield, and Auli,
plaintiff’s senior claims examiner, stating that “the two year
statute of limitations has expired on this claim that occurred
in February 4, 2011.” (Docket Entry # 28-8). In the email less
than two hours later, Nemet asked Kearney “to revisit that
answer that you just gave me about the statute being up” and
that “there is a possible supplemental claim” in light of
Grosser’s January 31, 2013 email, which she forwarded,
confirming the inquiry about the merits on filing a supplemental
claim.23 (Docket Entry # 30-2).
The next day, April 4, 2013, Kearney advised plaintiff and
Barrett that defendant will investigate the supplemental claim
“under a full reservation of rights due to [the] question of
coverage.” (Docket Entry # 28-9) (emphasis added). Eight days
later, Kearney asked Auli for the authority to obtain “the
services of AEGIS Engineering to support the reopening of” the
supplemental damages claim. (Docket Entry # 30-2). Baroncini
approved the request the same day. (Docket Entry # 30-2).24 In
the August 8, 2013 letter, defendant denied the supplemental
claim for the exterior damage stating it completed the
investigation. (Docket Entry # 28-10). Langweber, however,
states by affidavit that plaintiff denied the claim “without
performing an investigation.” (Docket Entry # 30-2). In
23 In the context of the summary judgment motion as well as the
proposed chapter 93A claim, this court does not consider the
emails for the truth of the matters asserted therein.
24 This email chain provides a basis for the averments by
Langweber and Quinby that “Strathmore advised” Rodman and
plaintiff “in April 2013 that the Meadows was not precluded from
making a claim for repair of the Concealed Damage.” (Docket
Entry ## 30-2, 30-3) (citing attached exhibit A).
December 2013, Barrett sent Auli the previously noted letter
stating that the “Condominium Association does not accept the
findings in the rejection letter” sent on August 8, 2013.
(Docket Entry # 28-11).
In the May 30, 2014 letter to Auli, Quinby identified his
law firm as plaintiff’s counsel, characterized the denial as
unjustified, and stated his belief that the exterior damage to
the building envelope is a covered claim. (Docket Entry # 28-
12). After Quinby asked defendant to reconsider the denial,25
plaintiff “agreed to do so,” according to Langweber. (Docket
Entry ## 28-12, 30-2). The July 30, 2014 letter from
defendant’s counsel to plaintiff requests various records and an
examination of a corporate representative in connection with
defendant’s investigation. (Docket Entry # 28-15).
Meanwhile, plaintiff hired the aforementioned experts as
well as undertook and completed the repair at its own expense.
(Docket Entry ## 302-, 30-3). Plaintiff spent considerable time
and effort and “incurred substantial fees for professional
assistance” to provide plaintiff with the information and the
documents it requested. (Docket Entry ## 30-2). Langweber
attests he was in active communication with Rodman about the
25 The averment does not refer to Quinby by name. Rather,
Langweber attests that “After counsel for Meadows requested that
Strathmore reconsider its denial of the claim for Concealed
Damage, Strathmore agreed to do so.” (Docket Entry # 30-2).
claim for exterior damage. (Docket Entry # 30-2). Quinby
similarly avers he “was in frequent contact with” defendant’s
counsel throughout the investigation. (Docket Entry # 30-3).
According to Quinby, defendant’s counsel “repeatedly assured”
him that plaintiff “was going to attempt to amicably resolve the
Meadow’s claim” after completing the investigation,
“notwithstanding its initial denial of the claim,” i.e., the
August 8, 2013 denial letter. (Docket Entry ## 28-10, 30-3).
Quinby further attests that plaintiff “delayed filing suit in
reliance upon assurances of Strathmore’s counsel that the
parties would work toward . . . an amicable resolution.”26
(Docket Entry # 30-3). Quinby and Langweber uniformly state
that, if plaintiff “had . . . suggested that it would be denying
the entirety of the Meadow’s claim for Concealed Damage, the
Meadows would have” filed suit “immediately.” (Docket Entry ##
30-2, 30-3).
The August 2013 denial letter, however, states that “no act
of any agent” or employee of plaintiff, including its attorneys,
“shall constitute a waiver or estoppel” and that plaintiff
reserves its defenses. (Docket Entry # 28-10) (emphasis added).
The four-page letter quotes various provisions of the policy,
26 To be clear, in adjudicating the summary judgment motion,
this court has considered all of the above evidence, including
the affidavits, and construed the record in plaintiff’s favor in
denying the motion.
including the two-year limitations provision. (Docket Entry #
28-10). The July 30, 2014 letter devotes three paragraphs to
defendant’s reservations of its rights, explicitly noting the
“limitations of action.” (Docket Entry # 28-15). Like the
admonition in the August 2013 denial letter, the July 2014
letter states that all investigations undertaken by defendant
and its authorized representatives to investigate or attempt to
adjust any claim “shall not constitute a waiver” or an estoppel
of the terms, rights, and defenses under the policy. (Docket
Entry # 28-15). In the September 5, 2014 email to Quinby,
defendant’s counsel states that “GNY would consider agreeing” to
a tolling agreement “so long as the tolling agreement does not
serve to revive any expired statute of limitations.” (Docket
Entry # 34-2) (emphasis added). The parties entered into the
Tolling Agreement effective September 1, 2014, which excluded
the time thereafter until 30 days after defendant issued a
decision regarding the supplemental claim for exterior damage.
(Docket Entry # 28-13). Defendant denied the claim for exterior
damage on November 17, 2016 and plaintiff filed suit 30 days
thereafter. (Docket Entry # 28-14).
DISCUSSION
A. Chapter 93A Claim
As previously noted, defendant contends that the chapter
93A claim is futile. Beyond noting that the chapter 93A and
176D claims do not raise new factual issues and that it
discussed all the supporting facts in the summary judgment
papers, plaintiff does not address the futility of the chapter
93A claim.
Turning to the task, it is well settled that “[a]n
insurance company which in good faith denies a claim of coverage
on the basis of a plausible interpretation of its insurance
policy is unlikely to have committed a violation of G.L. c.
93A.” Lumbermens Mutual Cas. Co. v. Offices Unlimited, Inc.,
645 N.E.2d 1165, 1169 (Mass. 1995) (also stating that
“Lumbermens went beyond a mere plausible interpretation of the
policy and denied coverage based on a legally correct
interpretation of the policy”). Indeed, like the plaintiff in
Lumbermens, defendant “went beyond a mere plausible
interpretation of the policy and denied coverage based on a
legally correct interpretation of the policy.” Id. at 1169-
1170.
Defendant had a viable and convincing reason to deny
coverage on the basis that plaintiff did not file suit within
two years of the time of the loss. “In such circumstances there
are no facts” to “support a claim that” defendant “acted
unfairly or deceptively.” Lumbermens Mutual Cas. Co. v. Offices
Unlimited, Inc., 645 N.E.2d at 1170 (adjudicating section 11
chapter 93A claim). The circumstances in the case at bar
therefore fall comfortably within the “general rule” that “an
insurance company does not act unfairly or deceptively within
the meaning of G.L. c. 93A, § 2, with respect to a claim made
under a policy of insurance simply by making a legally correct
disclaimer of coverage.” Jet Line Services, Inc. v. Am.
Employers Ins. Co., 537 N.E.2d 107, 114 (Mass. 1989).
Furthermore, defendant did not string plaintiff along or
engage in deceptive conduct that gave the impression it would
pay the claim. (Docket Entry # 28-8, p. 1) (Docket Entry # 28-
9) (Docket Entry # 28-10, p. 4) (Docket Entry # 28-15, p. 3).
It repeatedly informed plaintiff, Barrett, and/or Quinby that it
reserved its right to deny coverage, including referring to the
limitations of action and the two-year time period to commence
an action. (Docket Entry ## 28-8, 28-9, 28-10) (Docket Entry #
28-15, p. 3) (Docket Entry # 34-2, p. 3). Substantial evidence
of deceptive conduct or “‘stringing out the process’” of the
investigation is therefore decidedly absent. See Peabody Essex
Museum, Inc. v. U.S. Fire Ins. Co., 802 F.3d at 54 (setting out
at length the applicable section 11 standard in business context
as including unfair settlement practices defined in chapter
176D, section three). Defendant did not unreasonably delay an
investigation and accommodated plaintiff by entering in the
Tolling Agreement. See House of Clean, Inc. v. St. Paul Fire
and Marine Ins. Co., Inc., 775 F. Supp. 2d 296, 300 (D. Mass.
2011) (denying motion to amend complaint under plaintiff-
friendly Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6) standard to include chapter
93A claim alleging that insurance company delayed coverage
investigation for three years and failed to reimburse plaintiff
for defense-related costs). Defendant likewise did not engage
in “nefarious leveraging conduct,” Peabody Essex Museum, Inc. v.
U.S. Fire Ins. Co., 802 F.3d at 55, or breach the insurance
agreement, let alone commit a breach rising to the level of a
section 11 chapter 93A violation. See City of Revere v.
Boston/Logan Airport Assocs., LLC, 416 F. Supp. 2d 200, 208-09
(D. Mass. 2005) (“a simple, or even intentional, breach is
insufficient in itself to constitute an unfair or deceptive
trade practice under Chapter 93A”). The document requests in
July 2014 were reasonable in light of the asserted repair costs
“estimated to be $7.75 million” by plaintiff in May 2014.
(Docket Entry ## 28-12, 28-15). In the context of the entire
record, defendant acted fairly and did not engage in any
actionable misrepresentation that would provide substantial
evidence of a section 11 chapter 93A claim. Coverage for the
claim was never reasonably clear. Rather, it was absent.
Defendant’s conduct in its entirety as set out in the
record does not rise to a “level of an ‘extreme or egregious’
business wrong” or other “similar level of ‘rascality,’ that
raises ‘an eyebrow of someone inured to the rough and tumble’”
world of commerce. Peabody Essex Museum, Inc. v. U.S. Fire Ins.
Co., 802 F.3d at 54. Where, as here, substantial evidence does
not establish that defendant’s conduct violates chapter 93A,
section 11, the proposed claim is futile.27 Finally, in making
this finding this court considered the chapter 176D violations
alleged in the proposed amended complaint and summarized above.
Substantial evidence in the record does not support a chapter
176D violation that could be used as probative evidence of a
section 11 chapter 93A claim.
B. Chapter 176D Claim
Defendant maintains that the chapter 176D claim is futile
because chapter 176D does not provide a separate cause of
action. (Docket Entry # 38, p. 4) (citing Silva v. Steadfast
Ins. Co., 35 N.E.3d 401 (Mass. App. Ct. 2015)). Plaintiff does
not address the argument. See Curet-Velazquez v. ACEMLA de
Puerto Rico, Inc., 656 F.3d at 54.
The court in Silva extensively discusses the relationship
between chapter 93A and chapter 176D. Silva v. Steadfast Ins.
Co., 35 N.E.3d at 405-404. As explicitly stated by the court in
Silva, “To proceed against an insurer who has violated G.L. c.
176D, § 3(9), a plaintiff must bring a claim under G.L. c. 93A,
§ 9 or § 11.” Id. at 405. Although a court may rely on a
27 It is therefore not necessary to address defendant’s other
arguments relative to the chapter 93A claim.
chapter 176D violation as evidence of an unfair business
practice for the purpose of a section 11 claim, liability
arises, if at all, under sections two and 11. Id. at 405, 407-
408 (noting, in context of unfair settlement allegation in which
“liability has become reasonably clear” under chapter 176D,
section 3(9), “the question is whether Steadfast’s failure to
make a postjudgment settlement offer constituted a violation of
G.L. c. 93A, §§ 2 and 11”). In contrast, section nine of
chapter 93A allows section nine consumer plaintiffs “to bring c.
93A claims alleging violations of c. 176D without regard to
whether those violations constitute an unfair business practice
under c. 93A, § 2.”28 Id. at 406. Hence, “while private
individuals bringing claims for unfair and deceptive acts and
practices under Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 93A, §§ 2 and 9 may recover
for violations of Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 176D, § 3(9), which
defines unfair claim settlement practices, business entities
such as [the plaintiff] may proceed only under ch. 93A, § 11.”
Metropolitan Property & Casualty Ins. Co. v. Boston Regional
Physical Therapy, Inc., 538 F. Supp. 2d 338, 343 (D. Mass.
2008).
As a section 11 business claimant, plaintiff therefore does
not have a separate cause of action for a chapter 176D
28 See footnote 22.
violation. Rather, it must proceed under section 11. As
explained in the previous section, the chapter 93A claim,
including the purported violations of section 176D in the
proposed amended complaint, do not rise to a section 11
violation. The chapter 176 “claim” is therefore futile.
CONCLUSION
In accordance with the foregoing discussion, defendant’s
motion to strike expert opinion (Docket Entry # 26) and motion
for summary judgment (Docket Entry # 28) are ALLOWED.
Plaintiff’s motion for leave to amend complaint (Docket Entry #
36) is DENIED.
/s/ Marianne B. Bowler
MARIANNE B. BOWLER
United States Magistrate Judge