Opinion

Fahimipour v. United Property & Casualty Insurance Company

Court
District Court, E.D. Louisiana
Filed
Nov 9, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 22.4%

recognizing “[t]he jurisprudence of Louisiana is clear that an insurer must meet a three-tiered burden of proof in an action for denial of coverage for misrepresentation.”

How later courts described this case

  • recognizing “[t]he jurisprudence of Louisiana is clear that an insurer must meet a three-tiered burden of proof in an action for denial of coverage for misrepresentation.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

BEHNAZ FAHIMIPOUR, ET AL., CIVIL ACTION

Plaintiffs

VERSUS NO. 21-2222

UNITED PROPERTY & CASUALTY SECTION: “E” (1)

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

This is a homeowner’s insurance policy coverage dispute arising out of Hurricane

Zeta, which made landfall in South Louisiana on October 28, 2020.1 Plaintiffs Behnaz

Fahimipour and Mohamad Fahimipour (wife and husband) allege extensive damage to

their property located at 57 Chateau Palmer Drive, Kenner, Louisiana (“Property”) caused

by Hurricane Zeta. Plaintiffs seek judgment that United Property & Casualty Insurance

Company (“UPC” or “Defendant”) breached the contract of insurance allegedly provided

to them and owes them $91,664.22 for property damages and repairs Plaintiffs made to

the Property as a result of Hurricane Zeta.2 Additionally, Plaintiffs seek judgment that

UPC violated La. R.S. 22:1892 and La. R.S. 22:1973 with respect to Plaintiffs’ insurance

claim and, accordingly, Plaintiffs are entitled to extra-contractual damages in the

amounts of $45,000 for penalties and $18,000 in attorney fees.3 Plaintiffs also seek court

costs from UPC.4

1 R. Doc. 56 at ¶ 2 (amended joint stipulation of facts).

2 R. Doc. 51 at p. 9 (Plaintiffs’ proposed judgment).

3 Id. at pp. 9-10. In their original state court petition, Plaintiffs also brought claims for loss of use, loss of

enjoyment, diminution of property value, and emotional distress. These claims are absent from Plaintiffs’

proposed pretrial order and suggested findings of fact and conclusions of law. As a result, these claims are

abandoned. Compare R. Doc. 1 with R. Docs. 51 and 57.

This matter was tried before the Court, sitting without a jury, on October 13-14,

2022.5 The Court heard testimony from Behnaz Fahimipour, Mohamad Fahimipour, and

UPC agent Jeff Lacombe, who was accepted by the Court as a qualified expert in the field

of property insurance claims adjusting practices.6 The Court admitted into evidence

Exhibits 1-24.7

Having considered the testimony and evidence at trial, the arguments of counsel,

and the applicable law, the Court now issues the following Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law in accordance with Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

To the extent any findings of fact may be construed as conclusions of law, the Court adopts

them as such. To the extent any conclusions of law may be construed as findings of fact,

the Court adopts them as such.

FINDINGS OF FACT

I. Plaintiffs ordered, received, and read the home inspection report,

which revealed significant property damage and liability hazards on

the Property.

In June 2020, Plaintiffs were in the market for a home and identified the Property

as one they were interested in purchasing.8 At a time unknown, but during June 2020 and

before they purchased the Property, Plaintiffs ordered a building inspection report

(“inspection report”) from All American Inspections & Testing, LLC (“All American”).9

Behnaz Fahimipour chose All American to do the inspection on the basis of her internet

research on the business.10 Dan Paradela and Tina Baril, licensed home inspectors

employed by All American, completed their inspection of the Property on Friday, June 12,

5 R. Doc. 58 (minute entry); see also R. Doc. 59 (minute entry).

6 R. Doc. 58 (minute entry); see also R. Doc. 59 (minute entry).

7 R. Doc. 58 (minute entry).

8 Behnaz Fahimipour testified to this fact.

9 Behnaz Fahimipour testified to this fact. See also Trial Exhibit 11.

2020, at 11:00 a.m. and issued their report that same day.11 The inspection report, 165-

pages in length, was broken down into two main sections: (1) comments, accompanied by

photographs of the condition of the Property illustrating the home inspectors’ findings

(“Comments”);12 and (2) the inspection report summary (“Report Summary”).13

The 145-page Comments section reveals a bevy of damage to, and liability hazards

on, the Property.14 Relevant to the instant controversy, the inspectors found the following

conditions existed at the time of inspection:15

 The Property is approximately forty years old.

 The landscaping soil, shrubs, and trees are too close to the building creating

the potential for water infiltration, storm damage, structural damage, and

insect infestation.

 The gutter downspout extensions are inadequate or missing, allowing water

to collect at the foundation, and causing soil erosion.

 Penetrations in the brick veneer are improperly caulked, allowing pests and

moisture to enter the building.

 Extensive damage to the rear patio tile floor is present from what appears

to be settlement and/or foundation movement.

 All of the aluminum windows appeared operative, but are very old, have

uninsulated single pane windows, and are very porous, allowing for air

infiltration and moisture to enter the Property with wind-driven rain.

11 Trial Exhibit 11. The two inspectors were not called as witnesses at the trial.

12 Id. at BATES 270-413.

13 Id. at BATES 414-431.

14 Id.

15 Beyond the conditions recounted here, many additional instances of property damage and liability

 The exterior second floor balcony deck is in unacceptable condition as the

balcony appears to hold water and is stained from puddles.

 Water stains and algae are present on the brick veneer on the exterior of the

home from leaking gutters.

 The asphalt shingle roof: (1) is not in acceptable condition; (2) is very worn;

(3) has deteriorated asphalt shingles caused by algae growth; (4) has asphalt

granules that are falling away from the fiberglass shingles; (5) has several

nail pops, loose shingles, and damaged shingles; (6) has excessive rust and

damaged flashing on its penetrations; (7) has no flashing present between

the asphalt shingles and brick veneer; and (8) has connected gutters holding

water and full of debris.16

 A level survey of the foundation reveals a differential of approximately 5.3

inches.

 The chimneys are in unacceptable condition and the steel plates in the

weather covers are rusting.

 Evidence exists of past and/or present roof leaks throughout the attic.

Water stains are visible on roof sheathing, framing, and at some of the roof

penetrations.17

 Damage exists at the front left and right corners and sides of the attic from

what appears to be wood destroying organisms.

 There is a bird’s nest in the damaged soffit at the Property’s right rear

corner.

16 Thirty photographs accompany this comment.

 Moisture stains are visible on backs of fascia board, and it appears the

gutters are holding water, causing water to infiltrate behind drip edge

flashing.

 Evidence exists of past and/or present roof leaks in the left rear corner and

at the rear near of the attic space above the garage.18

 The 1983 General Electric two ton condenser unit located on the right side

of the Property is not operative.

 Active plumbing leaks are noted behind the third floor right bathroom.

 Water is puddling on the attic floor and dripping from the second floor office

room ceiling.

 Active plumbing leaks exist throughout the Property, including the second

floor left bathroom and second floor right bathroom. Water stains exist on

the second floor right bathroom ceiling.

 The first floor spa room shower appears to be leaking, and water is leaking

on the floor near the wall behind this bathroom.

 Mold exists or is suspected in several areas in the building, including all four

HVAC systems, under the sinks, at the six plumbing leaks, around windows,

and in the attic space. The heaviest mold is noted in the spa room.

 Mold samples taken and sent to EM Lab P&K, an accredited national testing

laboratory, reveal black toxic mold.

 The entire spa room requires complete renovation and mold remediation.

Roof leaks and water intrusion in the spa room have caused damage to the

ceilings, walls, wood framing, and trim around the tub and windows. Active

moisture is present in walls and ceilings around the tub.

 Loose wall paper and moisture stains exist in the first floor front left room.

 Moisture stains are present on the third floor hall ceiling, above the closet

door.

 Water stains are present around a recessed light fixture hanging from the

second floor left bedroom closet ceiling.

 Moisture stains are present on the den ceiling, though the stains are dry.

 Plumbing leaks are detected in several areas throughout the Property, which

have caused water damage and mold growth.

 The second floor front left bathroom has water damage to the baseboards

and lower walls behind the toilet and bidet.

 Water stains exist on the kitchen ceiling from plumbing leaks.

 Heavy mold growth exists in the sink base cabinet in the spa room.

 The carpeting throughout the house is worn and stained, scuff marks exist

on the wood floors, a damaged wood floor plank exists in the den, dark

stains exist on the flooring and carpeting near the second floor rear balcony

doors, the flooring transition strip is loose at the guest bathroom, and a

loose floor tile exists in the second floor font left bathroom.

 Horizontal cracks exist in the rear den wall.

The 18-page Report Summary summarizes the inspectors’ extensive findings as

follows:19

 The landscaping soil, shrubs, and trees are too close to the building, creating

potential for water infiltration, storm damage, structural damage, and

inspection infestation.

 The gutter downspout extensions are inadequate or missing, allowing water

to collect against the foundation, and causing soil erosion.

 Penetrations exist in the brick veneer, allowing for pest and moisture

infiltration.

 Cracks in the brick veneer exist in several areas around the house.

 All of the aluminum windows appear operative, but they are very old,

uninsulated, very prone, and prone to air infiltration and moisture leaks

with wind driven rain.

 Water stains and algae exist on the brick veneer from leaking gutters at the

exterior of the Property.

 The exterior second floor balcony deck is in unacceptable condition—the

balcony holds water and has extensive wood deck damage.

 The asphalt shingle roof is in unacceptable condition, is very worn, and

appears to have algae growth, contributing to premature deterioration. The

asphalt shingle roof has nail pops, loose shingles, damages shingles,

excessive rust and damaged flashing on the penetration, and, in some

instances, missing flashing.

19 Trial Exhibit 11 at BATES 414-431. Beyond the conditions recounted here, many additional instances of

 The gutters hold water and are full of debris.

 The chimneys are in unacceptable conditions.

 A level survey of the foundation reveals a differential of approximately 5.3

inches, which is a high differential measurement.

 Evidence exists of past and/or present roof leaks throughout the attic.

 Moisture stains are visible on backs of fascia board in the attic.

 The 1983 General Electric two ton condenser unit located on the right side

of the Property is inoperative.

 Active plumbing leaks exist throughout the house.

 Mold exists throughout the house.

 The entire spa room requires complete renovation and mold remediation

because roof leaks and water intrusion has caused damage to ceilings, walls,

wood framing, and trim around the tub and windows. A heavy mold odor

exists in the spa room.

 Carpeting throughout the house is worn and stained, and the wood floors

are damaged in part.

 Drywall joint cracks on ceilings and peeling wallpaper exists near the second

floor rear balcony entrance.

On a date unknown, but before completing their application for insurance with

UPC, Plaintiffs read the inspection report in whole or in part.20 Behnaz Fahimipour

testified she read the Report Summary before signing and submitting the couple’s

insurance application to UPC.21 Mohammad Fahimipour testified he read the Comments

and looked at the photographs22 but did not read the Report Summary.

Plaintiffs were concerned enough about the findings of the inspectors to contact

their real estate agent.23 Plaintiffs did not contact either of the property inspectors.24

Plaintiffs presented no evidence even remotely suggesting the inspection report, which

Plaintiffs themselves ordered, was inaccurate in any of its particulars.25 The Court makes

a factual finding that the inspection report was accurate.

II. Plaintiffs’ application for insurance included a false statement

made with knowledge of its falsity.

On June 28, 2020, Behnaz Fahimipour completed and signed the couple’s

application to UPC for insurance coverage on the Property.26 Mr. Fahimipour was a co-

applicant on the insurance application.27 Behnaz Fahimipour signed the application on

behalf of herself and her husband.28 Behnaz Fahimipour testified that, while completing

the application, she contacted UPC because she was concerned about the findings in the

home inspection report. The remainder of Mrs. Fahimipour’s testimony about what the

UPC agent allegedly told her during that conversation is inadmissible hearsay, which the

Court does not consider.29 Mrs. Fahimipour was allowed to testify that a representative

21 Behnaz Fahimipour testified at trial that she personally called UPC while completing the insurance

application because of her concerns about the problems identified by the inspection report. If this were true,

it would be additional evidence Behnaz Fahimipour was aware of the problems with the Property before

submitting the application for insurance to UPC. See also Trial Exhibit 11 (the Report Summary begins on

BATES 414 therein).

22 Mr. Fahimipour testified he read the Comments and looked at the photographs, but not the Report

Summary.

23 Plaintiffs testified to this fact at trial.

24 Plaintiffs testified to this fact at trial.

25 Indeed, Mr. Fahimipour testified he relied on the inspection report to make repairs to the home after

closing on the Property.

26 Trial Exhibit 16.

27 Id. at BATES 462.

28 Behnaz Fahimipour testified to this fact at trial.

29 At trial, UPC objected to Mrs. Fahimipour’s testimony about her alleged conversation with UPC as

of UPC told her it was permissible to certify the property free of damage on the insurance

application because only minor, cosmetic damage existed. UPC’s Jeff Lacombe testified

(1) UPC has no records of such a phone call, (2) UPC’s representatives are not permitted

to advise applicants to that effect, and (3) the UPC underwriting file has no entry for this

communication, which would exist had the conversation occurred. Mrs. Fahimipour’s

testimony was not credible. The Court finds that a representative of UPC did not inform

Plaintiffs it was permissible for them to certify the property free of damage and liability

hazards despite the findings in the inspection report.

On their application for insurance, Plaintiffs falsely certified the Property was “well

maintained, and free of damage, debris, and liability hazards.”30 The applicants

acknowledged they were “apply[ing] to [UPC] for a policy of insurance as set forth in th[e]

application, on the basis of the statements contained [t]herein.”31 The application’s

acknowledgement section also included a “FRAUD STATEMENT: Any person who

knowingly presents a false or fraudulent claim for payment of a loss or benefit or

knowingly presents false information in an application for insurance is guilty of a crime

and may be subject to fines and confinement in prison.”32

The June 28, 2020 certification that the Property was “well maintained, and free

of damage, debris, and liability hazards”33 was made despite the Plaintiffs’ knowledge of

the findings in the June 12, 2020 inspection report. Both Plaintiffs had knowledge at the

time the insurance application was submitted that the Property was not “free of damage .

. . and liability hazards,” contrary to their certification to UPC. Plaintiffs knowingly made

a false statement on their insurance application.

30 Id. at BATES 465.

31 Id. at BATES 468.

32 Id.

Plaintiffs’ insurance policy with UPC was issued on July 6, 2022.34 On July 20,

2020, Plaintiffs closed on the home.35 Sometime thereafter, Plaintiffs, for the first time,

began to repair the Property.36 Thus, the damage and liability hazards on the Property

identified in the June 12, 2020 inspection report remained on the Property when

Plaintiffs’ submitted their insurance application on June 28, 2020.

III. Defendant would not have bound the policy had Plaintiffs not falsely

certified the Property was “free of damage.”

UPC agent Jeff Lacombe, who was accepted by the Court as a qualified expert in

the field of property insurance claims adjusting practices, testified on behalf of Defendant

that UPC routinely rejects applications when applicants answer “no” to the application

question of “is the [dwelling] well maintained, free of damage, debris, and liability

hazards?”37 UPC would not have bound coverage for the Property had Plaintiffs been

truthful on their application.

IV. Plaintiffs are sophisticated users of insurance.

Plaintiffs are sophisticated:38 Mr. Fahimipour is trained as a civil engineer and, in

the past, has bought and purchased houses for renovation and resale; Mrs. Fahimipour is

a pharmacist; Plaintiffs own multiple properties and have submitted insurance

applications before; and Mr. Fahimipour is familiar with the homeowner’s insurance

claims process, having submitted a wind insurance claim in 2017, a wind and water

insurance claim in 2016, and a water and plumbing insurance claim in 2015.

34 Id. at BATES 462.

35 Behnaz Fahimipour testified to this fact at trial.

36 See also R. Doc. 51 (Plaintiffs’ proposed findings of fact, stating “[a]fter moving into the home in July

2020, the Plaintiffs stated to make cosmetic modifications to update the home.”).

37 Jeff Lacombe testified at trial to this fact.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Court has subject matter jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1332, because the parties are completely diverse and the amount in controversy, exclusive

of interest and costs, exceeds $75,000. Venue is proper because the Court has personal

jurisdiction over UPC. See 28 U.S.C. § 1391 (b), (c). In this diversity case, the Court applies

the forum state’s substantive law.

Under Louisiana law, an insurance policy is voided entirely and from its inception

when the insured makes a material misrepresentation in the application for insurance

with the intent to deceive the insurer.39 To void coverage under a theory of material

misrepresentation in the insurance application, the insurer must prove by a

preponderance of the evidence: (1) the insured made a false statement; (2) the false

statement was material; and (3) the false statement was made with intent to deceive.40

In terms of the first element, Plaintiffs made a false statement on their insurance

application. The Property was riddled with damage and liability hazards at the time

Plaintiffs submitted their insurance application wherein they falsely certified the Property

was “well maintained, and free of damage, debris, and liability hazards.”41 The first

element has been proven by UPC by a preponderance of the evidence.

In terms of the second element, “[i]n order for the misrepresentations made by the

applicant to be found material, they must have affected the risk assumed by the insurer.”42

Material “means that the statement must have been of such a nature that, had it been true,

39 Talbert v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Ins. Co., 971 So.2d 1206 (La.App. 4 Cir. 2007); see also La. R.S. 22:860.

40 Talbert, 971 So.2d at 1212 (recognizing “[t]he jurisprudence of Louisiana is clear that an insurer must

meet a three-tiered burden of proof in an action for denial of coverage for misrepresentation.”); see also

Serie v. Safeway Ins. Co., 702 So.2d 778, 780 (La.App. 3 Cir. 10/8/97) (applying a “preponderance of the

evidence” standard of proof).

41 Trial Exhibit 16 at BATES 465.

42 Talbert, 971 So.2d at 1213 (citing Watson v. Life Insurance Co. of La., 335 So.2d 518, 522 (La.App. 1 Cir.

the insurer either would not have contracted or would have contracted only at a higher

premium rate.”43 At trial, UPC agent Jeff Lacombe testified UPC would not have bound

coverage had Plaintiffs been truthful on their application and disclosed the condition of

the property. The Court has accepted this testimony in its findings of fact. The second

element also has been proven by UPC by a preponderance of the evidence.

In terms of the third element, Louisiana courts have not employed a strict proof of

fraud standard to establish the insurance applicant’s intent to deceive “‘because of the

inherent difficulties in proving intent.’”44 Instead, “‘[i]ntent to deceive must be

determined from the surrounding circumstances indicating the insured’s knowledge of

the falsity of the representations made in the application and his recognition of the

materiality of his representations, or from circumstances which create a reasonable

assumption that the insured recognized the materiality.’”45 In terms of knowledge of the

false representation, at the time Plaintiffs submitted their insurance application they

included a false certification, signed by Mrs. Fahimhipour, that the Property was free of

damage and liability hazards, Plaintiffs knew the certification was false based on the June

12, 2020 inspection report that they ordered, reviewed, and read.46 As it relates to

recognition of the materiality of their representation, because the Plaintiffs are both

sophisticated users of insurance with experience with property ownership, insurance

application, and insurance claims, the Court finds, as a matter of law, a reasonable

assumption may be reached that Plaintiffs recognized the materiality of their

misrepresentation to UPC. As a result of Plaintiffs’ knowledge of the falsity of their

43 Id. (citing West v. Safeway Insurance Co. of La., 954 So.2d 286, 290 (La.App. 2 Cir. 2007)).

44 Id. (quoting Cousin v. Page, 372 So.2d 1321, 1233 (La. 1979)).

45 Id. (quoting Cousin, 372 So.2d at 1233).

representation and recognition of its materiality, the third element—intent to deceive

UPC—has been proven by UPC by a preponderance of the evidence.

CONCLUSION

Based on the above findings of fact and conclusions of law, the Court finds by a

preponderance of the evidence that Plaintiffs made a material misrepresentation in their

application for insurance with the intent to deceive UPC, thereby voiding entirely and

from its inception the insurance policy that forms the basis of their lawsuit. Because all

claims for relief asserted by Plaintiffs are predicated on the existence of an insurance

contract, which the Court has found does not exist, Defendant is entitled to judgment in

its favor on all claims brought by Plaintiffs.47 The Court will enter a judgment to that effect

by separate order.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 9th day of November, 2022.

Ssus2 M

SUSIE Monga ——

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

47 Defendant argues Plaintiffs are not entitled to recovery for reasons beyond their material

misrepresentation on their insurance application. The Court need not reach those issues to find Plaintiffs

are not entitled to recovery.

14

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.