Opinion

Ellis v. Social Security Administration

Court
District Court, E.D. Louisiana
Filed
Aug 23, 2021
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 22.3%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

DARIANA D. ELLIS CIVIL ACTION

VERSUS NO. 20-1274

ANDREW SAUL, SECTION: "B”(1)

COMMISSIONER OF THE SOCIAL

SECURITY ADMINISTRATION

ORDER AND REASONS

Before the Court are the Magistrate Judge’s Report and

Recommendation (Rec. Doc. 26) on petitioner Dariana D. Ellis’

(“Ellis”) and respondent, Andrew Saul, Commissioner of the Social

Security Administration’s (“Commissioner”) cross motions for

summary judgment (Rec. Docs. 18, 25); and petitioner’s objections

to the Report and Recommendation. Rec. Doc. 27 at 1. For the

reasons discussed below,

IT IS ORDERED that petitioner’s objections are overruled and

the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation are ADOPTED as

the opinion of the court.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Petitioner seeks judicial review of an adverse decision made

by the Social Security Administration regarding Ms. Ellis’

eligibility for social security benefits. Rec. Doc. 1. On June 18,

2011, she filed an application for disability insurance benefits,

alleging a disability onset date of April 25, 2011. Rec Doc 25-1

at 1. On June 26, 2012, the administrative law judge (“ALJ”) issued

a decision in favor of petitioner and found her disabled as of

April 25, 2011 pursuant to a continuing disability review. Id. at

2. In 2016, the Commissioner determined that Ms. Ellis’ disability

ceased as of March 22, 2016 in view of her apparent medical

improvement since her initial application for disability in 2011.

Id.

On April 19, 2011, Ellis presented at the Southern Maine

Medical Center with nausea, vomiting and intermittently severe

left upper quadrant pain. Rec. Doc. 26 at 2. After being

discharged, Ellis returned to the emergency room with ongoing pain.

Rec. Doc. 26 at 2. A CT scan was performed, showing a large wedge-

shaped defect in the spleen consistent with infarcts and

abnormality of the left ventricle. Id. at 2-3.

Ms. Ellis underwent open heart surgery. See id at 3. On April

25 and April 27, 2011, she received a left heart catheterization,

coronary arteriography, resection of LV diverticulum, and closure

of PFO. Id. Following surgery, her physical and mental condition

deteriorated. Id. at 6-8.

On May 8, 2012, licensed clinical social worker Marianne

Donahue reported that she had provided counseling to Ms. Ellis

since November 2011. Id. at 6. It was noted at this time that Ms.

Ellis was unable to work due to her mental impairments, including

depression and anxiety. See id. at 5-6.

On May 9, 2012, Dr. Magile-Quinn performed a physical capacity

evaluation of the petitioner. Id. at 7. She concluded that Ms.

Ellis possessed a limited capacity to stand, walk, sit, and lift

items. Id. Dr. Magile-Quinn diagnosed Ellis’ unremitting chest

wall pain as costochondritis. Id.

Ms. Ellis reported worsened mental and physical symptoms

following the cessation of her benefits. Id. at 3-6. In April 13,

2016, Ellis reported to having intermittent and sporadic chest

pain. Id. at 11-20. Meetings with Raymond Martinez, Licensed

Professional Counselor, and Dr. Wasseff show instances where Ms.

Ellis’ mental condition was poor. Id. at 11-22.

However, Ms. Ellis’ medical history shows that her

intermittent chest pain was not cardiac in nature and was more

likely caused by anxiety. Id. at 17-20. Ms. Ellis’ medical history

also indicates her mental disabilities had generally improved over

time, while showing outlier sessions of regression. Id. at 11-24.1

Following the cessation determination, Ms. Ellis requested a

hearing before the ALJ to review the Commissioner’s decision. Id.

at 25. At her hearing, the ALJ determined that Ms. Ellis suffered

from the following medically determinable impairments since her

benefits had ceased: obesity, costochondritis, status-post splenic

infarct, major depressive disorder, and post-traumatic stress

1 The Magistrate Judge provides an in-depth summary of petitioner’s complete

medical history in their Report and Recommendation. See Rec. Doc. 26 at 2-25.

disorder. Id. However, the ALJ found that these impairments had

improved to the point where Ms. Ellis was no longer considered

disabled according to the Social Security Administration. Id. The

ALJ consulted a vocational expert, who testified that Ellis was

able to perform a significant number of jobs in the national

economy. Id. at 26.

On November 5 2020, the petitioner filed a motion for summary

judgment, arguing that the ALJ’s decision was arbitrary, contrary

to law and unsupported by substantial evidence. Rec. Doc. 18 at 1.

On February 1 2021, the Commissioner filed a cross-motion for

summary judgment, arguing that the Commissioner applied the

correct legal standards and substantial evidence supported the

decision to end petitioner’s disability benefits. Rec. Doc. 25 at

1. Both motions were referred to the Magistrate Judge to make a

report and recommendation to this Court.

On April 20 2021, the Magistrate Judge ruled in favor of the

Commissioner, finding that the ALJ applied the correct legal

standards and gave appropriate weight to the findings of Mr.

Martinez. Rec. Doc. 26 at 28-38.

LAW AND ANALYSIS

A. Standard of Review

Summary judgment is appropriate if the record shows there is

no genuine issue of material fact and that the moving party is

entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. Spellman v. Shalala, 1

F.3d 357, 360 (5th Cir. 1993) (citing Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)). The

party moving for summary judgment has the initial burden of

identifying portions of the pleadings, filed discovery and

affidavits which demonstrate a lack of a genuine issue of material

fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325 (1986). If a

movant carries its burden, the burden then shifts to the non-

movant to show that summary judgment should not be granted. Id. at

324–325. While we must “review the facts drawing all inferences

most favorable to the party opposing the motion,” that party cannot

use only allegations or denials in its pleadings to meet its

burden; they must set forth specific facts showing a genuine issue

for trial exists. Reid v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 784 F.2d

577, 578 (5th Cir.1986); Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 256–57 (1986); See Spellman, 1 F.3d at 360.

This Court’s function on review of the Secretary's denial of

disability benefits is to determine whether substantial evidence

exists in the record as a whole to support the Secretary's factual

findings. Fraga v. Bowen, 810 F.2d 1296, 1302 (5th Cir. 1987). If

the Secretary's findings are supported by substantial evidence,

they are conclusive and must be affirmed. Myers v. Apfel, 238 F.3d

617, 619 (5th Cir. 2001) (citing 42 U.S.C. § 405(g)); Richardson

v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389 (1971). “Conflicts in the evidence are

for the [Commissioner] and not the courts to resolve.” Newton v.

Apfel, 209 F.3d 448, 452 (5th Cir. 2000)(quoting Selders v.

Sullivan, 914 F.2d 614, 617 (5th Cir.1990)). When applying the

substantial evidence standard, courts are required to scrutinize

the record in determining whether such evidence is present, but

may not reweigh the evidence, try the issues de novo, or substitute

their own judgment for that of the Secretary. Greenspan v. Shalala,

38 F.3d 232, 236 (5th Cir.1994) (citing Haywood v. Sullivan, 888

F.2d 1463, 1466 (5th Cir.1989); See Brown v. Apfel, 192 F.3d 492,

496 (5th Cir. 1999). However, if the Commissioner's findings are

supported by substantial evidence, they must be affirmed. Martinez

v. Chater, 64 F.3d 172, 173 (5th Cir.1995).

Ellis raises four objections to the report and recommendation

pertaining to the sufficiency of the Magistrate Judge’s review of

the ALJ’s decision and the ALJ’s deference to LPC Martinez’

opinion. See Rec. Doc. 27-1. The objections are addressed in two

parts: (1) examining how the Magistrate Judge’s Report and

Recommendation performed a legitimate review of the ALJ’s

decision, before (2) discussing how the Report and Recommendation

properly concluded that the ALJ gave proper deference to LPC

Martinez’ opinion.

B. FINDINGS

Pursuant to the express authorization of Congress, the Social

Security Administration has created a five-step sequential

evaluation process to determine whether an individual is disabled:

(1) If the petitioner is presently working, a finding of “not

disabled” must be made; (2) if the petitioner does not have a

“severe impairment” or combination of impairments, she will not be

found disabled; (3) if the petitioner has an impairment that meets

or equals an impairment listed in Appendix 1 of the Regulations,

disability is presumed and benefits are awarded; (4) if the

petitioner is capable of performing past relevant work, a finding

of “not disabled” must be made; and (5) if the petitioner’s

impairment prevents her from doing any other substantial gainful

activity, taking into consideration her age, education, past work

experience and residual functional capacity, she will be found

disabled. Anthony v. Sullivan, 954 F.2d 289, 293 (5th Cir. 1992)

(citing 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520, 416.920); See Wren v. Sullivan, 925

F.2d 123, 125 (5th Cir.1991). The petitioner bears the burden of

proof on the first four steps and the burden shifts to the

Commissioner for the fifth step. Newton, 209 F.3d at 453.

If an individual is found to be disabled, an individual’s

disability benefits may be terminated if the trier of fact finds

substantial evidence supports (1) petitioner’s medical improvement

in the individual’s impairment or combination of impairments

related to the individual’s ability to work. and (2) her ability

to engage in substantial gainful activity. Griego v. Sullivan, 940

F.2d 942, 944 (5th Cir. 1991)(citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(b)(3)).

Medical improvement is defined as “any decrease in the medical

severity of [petitioner’s] impairment(s) which was present at the

time of the most recent favorable medical decision that [the

petitioner was] disabled or continued to be disabled.” See id. at

944 (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(b)(1)). The petitioner must then

establish a decrease in medical severity by offering evidence based

on the “symptoms, signs, and/or laboratory findings associated

with petitioner’s impairment(s).” See Valdez v. Colvin, No. CIV.A.

SA-13-CA-140, 2013 WL 6418973, at *2 (W.D. Tex. Dec. 6, 2013).

Medical improvement is related to the individual’s ability to work

when there has also been an increase in petitioner’s “functional

capacity to do work activities.” Id. Lastly, petitioner must

establish that the petitioner’s impairments do not “prevent

(petitioner) from doing past relevant work.” Leggett v. Chater, 67

F.3d 558, 564 (5th Cir. 1995).

Petitioner asserts that both the Commissioner and the Report

and Recommendation failed to use signs, symptoms and medical

findings to assess the change in her physical and mental

impairments from the CPD to her current condition. Rec. Doc. 27-1

at 3.

Regarding her physical impairments, Ellis claims that

“nothing in her new file shows improvement of different symptoms

or decreased medical findings. See Rec. Doc. 27-1 at 3. However,

this contention ignores the Magistrate Judge’s review of the ALJ’s

CPD and termination of benefits determination. Rec. Doc. 26 at 33.

The Report and Recommendation explained how the ALJ compared

evidence used in Ellis’ CPD, including Dr. Magile-Quinn’s findings

of petitioner’s occupational limitations, to Ellis’ subsequent

medical records in determining whether to terminate her benefits.

Id. Moreover, the Magistrate Judge cited to specific instances in

the record where Ellis' reported improvement in her chest pain,

including large gaps in treatment where Ellis did not complain of

pain and echocardiograms that consistently showed her palpitations

were not cardiac in nature. Id. Therefore, Ellis’ concerns about

her symptoms do not outweigh the evidence that her intermittent

chest pain was caused by psychological conditions such as anxiety,

and had improved since her CPD. Id.

Petitioner objects that both the Magistrate Judge and

Commissioner’s brief failed to compare the signs, symptoms and

laboratory findings at the time of the CPD to her current mental

conditions’ signs and symptoms. See Rec. Doc. 27-1 at 4. Within

this argument, petitioner asserts that new evidence from her visits

to Dr. Wasseff and LPC Martinez reveal her depression has worsened.

Id.

As petitioner correctly notes, depression by its nature

fluctuates in terms of its symptoms and the severity of those

symptoms. See id. at 5. Even so, petitioner’s contention fails on

its merits because of the multitude of evidence the Report and

Recommendation cites to the contrary. Rec. Doc. 26 at 34. It notes

that both LPC Martinez and Dr. Wassef reported that Ellis’

condition improved from June to December 2017. Id. at 35. While

petitioner reported being frustrated about medical issues from

March to May 2018 to Dr. Wassef, the petitioner consistently

reported she was doing “ok” during the same period. Id. Her mental

condition fluctuated from 2011 to 2016 but substantial evidence in

the record supports the Report and Recommendation’s finding that

her mental condition had notably improved. Id.

The ALJ does not have untethered authority to disregard the

opinion of a treating physician. See Newton, 209 F.3d. at 453.

[A]bsent reliable medical evidence from a treating or

examining physician controverting the claimant's treating

specialist, an ALJ may reject the opinion of the treating

physician only if the ALJ performs a detailed analysis of the

treating physician's views under the criteria set forth in 20

C.F.R. § 404.1527(d)(2). Additionally, if the ALJ determines

that the treating physician's records are inconclusive or

otherwise inadequate to receive controlling weight, absent

other medical opinion evidence based on personal examination

or treatment of the claimant, the ALJ must seek clarification

or additional evidence from the treating physician in

accordance with 20 C.F.R. § 404.1512(e).

Id. The Fifth Circuit in Newton explained that “absent reliable

medical evidence from a treating or examining physician,” the ALJ

can “only” reject the opinion of a treating physician if they

provide a good reason for the weight given to the treating source's

opinion. Id.

However, if the ALJ determines a treating physician's

opinions are “inconclusive” or “otherwise inadequate to receive

controlling weight,” the ALJ must seek additional evidence or

clarification from the treating source, “absent other

[contravening] medical opinion evidence based on personal

examination or treatment of the [petitioner].” Id.; Horton v.

Berryhill, No. CV H-18-3341, 2020 WL 1321820, at *4 (S.D. Tex.

Feb. 27, 2020), report and recommendation adopted, No. CV H-18-

3341, 2020 WL 1321817 (S.D. Tex. Mar. 19, 2020)(finding ALJ was

not obligated to have agency consultants review additional medical

records to assess RFC).

Social Security regulations define what is considered a

“medical source” and “nonmedical source” in the context of

assessing an individual’s disability claim. See 20 CFR 404.1502

and 416.902. The Social Security's regulations require the ALJ to

consider any evidence which tends to support or contradict a

medical opinion, including opinions of “nonmedical” sources. See

SSR 06-03P, 2006 WL 2329939 (Aug. 9, 2006).

Social Security Ruling, SSR 06-03 endorses this approach,

stating that “information, including opinions, from “other

sources”—both medical sources and “non-medical sources”—can be

important in this regard. Id. However, nonmedical sources cannot

give medical opinions of controlling weight, 20 CFR 404.1527(d)

and 416.927(d), or be considered treating sources as defined in 20

CFR 404.1502 and 416.902. See id. “Counselors” are explicitly

listed under 20 C.F.R. 204.1502(e)(2) as a “nonmedical source.”2

When assessing the weight of either a medical or nonmedical

opinion, 404.1527(c) provides a series of factors to consider

including: examining their relationship generally, the length,

nature and extent of treatment, supportability, consistency, and

specialization. 20 C.F.R. 404.1527(c)(1-6); 20 C.F.R.

404.1527(f)(1).

In Horton, the court reviewed petitioner’s appeal of the ALJ’s

decision to deny petitioner disability benefits. Horton, 2020 WL

1321820, at *1. Horton argued on appeal that the ALJ did not give

proper weight to the nonmedical source opinion of her social

worker, who testified at the hearing. The Horton court explained

how the opinion nonmedical sources are assessed:

Under 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(f), opinions from nonmedical

sources are weighed using the same factors applicable to

medical opinions. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(f) (2017) (stating

that, for all disability applications filed before March 27,

2017, the factors listed in 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(1) through

(c)(6) apply in weighing nonmedical-source opinions). “[N]ot

every factor for weighing opinion evidence will apply in every

case because the evaluation of an opinion from ... a

nonmedical source depends on the particular facts in each

case.”

2 (e) Nonmedical source means a source of evidence who is not a medical

source. This includes, but is not limited to:

(1) You;

(2) Educational personnel (for example, school teachers, counselors, early

intervention team members, developmental center workers, and daycare center

workers);

(3) Public and private social welfare agency personnel; and

(4) Family members, caregivers, friends, neighbors, employers, and clergy.

20 C.F.R. § 404.1502(e)

Id. at *5 (internal citation and quotations omitted). Petitioner

asserts that the ALJ failed to give LPC Martinez’ opinion proper

deference, and therefore constituted an “impermissible

substitution of the ALJ’s lay opinions for the opinions of a

medical professional.” Rec. Doc. 27-1 at 7. This assertion fails

to consider Social Security Administration regulations that

expressly articulate how LPCs like Martinez are considered

nonmedical sources and therefore cannot be considered as “treating

physicians.” 20 C.F.R. 204.1502(e)(2). Despite Ellis’ claims to

the contrary, the ALJ gave justifications for not giving Martinez’

nonmedical opinion “controlling weight,” despite not needing to

because of Martinez’ non-treating source status. See Rec. Doc. 26

at 35-37.

Though not required, the ALJ analyzed Martinez’ opinion using

the same factors that would be applied to any other “medical

source,” despite the existence of “reliable medical evidence from

a treating or examining physician[s] elsewhere.”3 Horton, 2020 WL

1321820, at *5

The Report and Recommendation noted that ALJ found that the

limited frequency and length of time in which Martinez treated

3 The record contains the opinion of Dr. Wasseff, M.D., a psychiatry

specialist considered to be a medical source under the Act.

Ellis further weighed against imposing controlling weight on

Martinez’ opinion.4 Rec. Doc. 26 at 36.

The Magistrate Judge also found that Martinez’ September 2016

report, which Ellis had used to support the claim that her mental

condition has regressed, was not supported by the treatment record

as a whole. Id. The Magistrate Judge concluded that the ALJ did

not insert their lay opinion in lieu of LPC Martinez’ because of

the substantial evidence supporting this position. Id.

Martinez was a nonmedical source. 20 C.F.R. 204.1502(e)(2).

Much like how ALJ did not have to give justification for rejecting

LPC Martinez’ opinion to begin with, the ALJ did not need to

clarify or seek additional evidence from LPC Martinez because of

his nonmedical source status. See Newton, 209 F.3d at 453. The ALJ

did not create an “evidentiary void” or impart their own lay

opinions in Ms. Ellis’ case because, as the Commissioner notes in

his initial report, and the Magistrate Judge in her Report and

Recommendation, that the treatment records of Dr. Wassef, a medical

source, and the records of Martinez, a nonmedical source, were

both used to varying weights in ALJ’s decision to terminate Ms.

Ellis’ benefits. Rec. Doc. 26 at 36.

New Orleans, Louisiana this 23rd day of August, 2021

4 How long the source has known and how frequently the source has seen the

individual are sub factors considered under 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(2).

___________________________________

SENIOR UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.