Opinion

Choate v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, S.D. Illinois
Filed
Aug 16, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 21.3%

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

ELIJAH C. 1,

Plaintiff,

v. Case No. 20-cv-01143-SPM

KILOLO KIJAKAZI,

Acting Commissioner of

Social Security,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

McGLYNN, District Judge:

In accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), plaintiff seeks judicial review of the final

agency decision denying his application for Disability Insurance Benefits (DIB) benefits

and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 423 and 42 U.S.C. §§

1382 and 1382c, respectively2 (Doc. 1).

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On March 15, 2018, plaintiff applied for DIB, alleging a disability onset date of

April 15, 2016. (Tr. 175-181). On that same date, plaintiff also applied for SSI, alleging

1 In keeping with the court’s practice, plaintiff’s full name will not be used in this Memorandum and

Order due to privacy concerns. See, Fed. R. Civ. P. 5.2(c) and the Advisory Committee Notes thereto.

2 The statutes and regulations pertaining to DIB are found at 42 U.S.C. § 423, et seq., and 20 C.F.R. pt.

404. The statutes and regulations pertaining to SSI are found at 42 U.S.C. §§ 1382 and 1382c, et seq., and

20 C.F.R. pt 416. As is relevant to this case, the DIB and SSI statutes and regulations are identical.

Furthermore, 20 C.F.R. § 416.925 detailing medical considerations relevant to an SSI claim relies on 20

C.F.R. Pt. 404, Subpt. P, the DIB regulations. Most citations herein are to the DIB regulations out of

convenience.

Page 1 of 13

the same disability onset date. (Tr. 182-187). On June 21, 2018, plaintiff was advised

that he did not qualify for benefits because he was not considered disabled or blind, so

his claims were disapproved. (Tr. 111-114). On August 27, 2018, plaintiff requested

reconsideration. (Tr. 115-116). On September 21, 2018, plaintiff was advised that his

claim had been independently reviewed by a physician and disability examiner;

however, the previous determination was found to be proper under the law (Tr. 119-

121). On November 16, 2018, plaintiff requested a hearing before an Administrative

Law Judge (“ALJ”) because he disagreed with the determination and claimed to be

disabled and unable to work due to pre-existing conditions that affect his daily life. (Tr.

127-129). After holding an evidentiary hearing, the ALJ denied the application on

December 3, 2019. (Tr. 14-35). Plaintiff submitted additional evidence dated January 3,

2020 and requested review of the ALJ’s decision. (Tr. 7-13). On August 26, 2020, the

Appeals Council found no reason under its rules to review the ALJ’s decision and denied

plaintiff’s request for review. (Tr. 1-6). In accordance with the foregoing, the ALJ’s

decision is the final agency decision subject to judicial review. Plaintiff has exhausted

administrative remedies and filed a timely complaint with this Court (Doc. 1).

ISSUE(S) RAISED BY PLAINTIFF

In his brief, plaintiff does not raise any specific arguments against the ALJ’s

decision, instead, he provides general information on his personal history and claims to

be disabled due to a number of conditions3 (Doc. 42, p. 1). He claims that his disability

3 In his brief, plaintiff identifies the following conditions to support his disability contention: (1) PTSD;

(2) Anxiety disorder; (3) Depression; (4) Bipolar; (5) ADHD; (6) Borderline personality disorder; (7) COPD;

Page 2 of 13

claim file contains “overwhelming evidence of both a physical and mental disability” and

that it should have been granted at the initial level (Id., p. 2). He further claims to have

represented himself to the best of his ability after being denied an attorney throughout

this process (Id.).

APPLICABLE LEGAL STANDARDS

To qualify for DIB or SSI, a claimant must be disabled within the meaning of the

applicable statutes. Under the Social Security Act, a person is disabled if he has an

“inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically

determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death

or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than

twelve months.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(a).

To determine whether a claimant is disabled, the ALJ considers the following five

questions in order: (1) Is the claimant presently unemployed? (2) Does the claimant have

a severe impairment? (3) Does the impairment meet or medically equal one of a list of

specific impairments enumerated in the regulations? (4) Is the claimant unable to

perform her former occupation? and (5) Is the claimant unable to perform any other

work? 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520.

An affirmative answer at either step 3 or step 5 leads to a finding that the

claimant is disabled. A negative answer at any step, other than at step 3, precludes a

finding of disability. The claimant bears the burden of proof at steps 1–4. Once the

(8) High Cholesterol; and, (9) Hypertension.

Page 3 of 13

claimant shows an inability to perform past work, the burden then shifts to the

Commissioner to show the claimant’s ability to engage in other work existing in

significant numbers in the national economy. Zurawski v. Halter, 245 F.3d 881, 886 (7th

Cir. 2001).

It is important to recognize that the scope of judicial review is limited. “The

findings of the Commissioner of Social Security as to any fact, if supported by

substantial evidence, shall be conclusive . . .” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Thus, this Court must

determine not whether Plaintiff was, in fact, disabled at the relevant time, but whether

the ALJ’s findings were supported by substantial evidence and whether any errors of

law were made. Lopez ex rel. Lopez v. Barnhart, 336 F.3d 535, 539 (7th Cir. 2003). The

Supreme Court defines substantial evidence as “such relevant evidence as a reasonable

mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S. Ct.

1148, 1154 (2019) (internal citations omitted).

In reviewing for “substantial evidence,” the entire administrative record is taken

into consideration, but this Court does not reweigh evidence, resolve conflicts, decide

questions of credibility, or substitute its own judgment for that of the ALJ. Burmester v.

Berryhill, 920 F.3d 507, 510 (7th Cir. 2019) (emphasis added). However, while judicial

review is deferential, it is not abject; this Court does not act as a rubber stamp for the

Commissioner. See Parker v. Astrue, 597 F.3d 920, 921 (7th Cir. 2010).

THE DECISION OF THE ALJ

The ALJ followed the five-step analytical framework described above. He

determined that plaintiff had not worked at the level of substantial gainful activity since

Page 4 of 13

April 15, 2016, which was the alleged date of onset. (Tr. 19). He found that plaintiff met

the insured requirements of the Social Security Act through June 30, 2019. (Id.). The

ALJ found the plaintiff had severe impairments of chronic obstructive pulmonary

disease (“COPD”), obesity, post-traumatic stress disorder (“PTSD”), depression, anxiety,

bipolar disorder, and personality disorder. (Tr. 20).

Regarding residual functional capacity (“RFC”), the ALJ found the plaintiff had

the RFC to perform medium work4, as defined in 20 CFR 404.1567(c) and 416.967(c),

except he needs to avoid concentrated exposure to respiratory irritants such as fumes,

odors, dust gases, and poor ventilation. (Tr. 24). The ALJ further found that plaintiff

was able to understand, remember, and carry out instructions for simple tasks on a

sustained basis and that he can tolerate occasional interaction with coworkers,

supervisors, and the general public for purposes of performing simple work tasks. (Tr.

24-25).

In the statement of RFC, the ALJ noted that he considered all symptoms and the

extent they were consistent with the objective medical evidence. (Tr. 25). The ALJ was

not persuaded by Ms. Johnson’s questionnaire responses but found that the findings

proffered by Dr. DiFonso and Dr. Voss were consistent with and supported by the record.

(Tr. 26). The ALJ also noted that plaintiff reported to Dr. Feinerman that he was seeking

disability benefits because of his anxiety and depression and inferred that plaintiff did

not consider his physical problems as particularly limiting. (Id.).

4 Medium work involves lifting no more than 50 pounds at a time with frequent lifting or carrying of

objects weighing up to 25 pounds. If someone can do medium work, we determine that he or she can also

do sedentary and light work.

Page 5 of 13

Based on the testimony of the vocational expert, the ALJ concluded that plaintiff

was not disabled because he was capable of making a successful adjustment to other

work that exists in significant numbers in the national economy. (Tr. 29-30).

THE EVIDENTIARY RECORD

The Court has reviewed and considered the entire evidentiary record in

formulating this Memorandum and Order. The following summary of the records is

directed to the points raised by plaintiff.

1. Agency Forms

Plaintiff was born on February 11, 1982. (Tr. 175). He originally became unable

to work because of his disabling condition on April 15, 2016. (Id.). Plaintiff claimed the

following conditions limited his ability to work: (1) PTSD; (2) COPD; (3) Anxiety; (4)

Depression; (5) Bipolar; (6) ADHD; (7) Borderline Personality Disorder; (8) HBP; (10)

High Cholesterol; and, (11) Nerve Damage in his left arm. (Tr. 199).

2. Evidentiary Hearing

Plaintiff was not represented at the hearing on September 12, 2009, but indicated

that he was ready to proceed with the hearing and to represent himself. (Tr. 44-45).

Plaintiff did not ask any questions during the hearing. (Tr. 51).

Plaintiff resides with his 15-year old son. (Tr. 45). His grandmother used to live

with him and was his primary caregiver, but she recently passed away. (Tr. 51). Plaintiff

has not driven since a bad car accident in 2007. (Id.). He has his GED and obtaned a

culinary arts degree in 2011 or 2012. (Id.). Plaintiff last worked at J. Kaiser Power

Page 6 of 13

Station from December 2016 through February 2017, even though he had a pending

disability case. (Tr. 46).

Plaintiff testified that he could not work because of his anxiety, depression and

bipolar, that started in 2012 and worsened over the years. (Tr. 47). He explained that

he had mood swings, was always on edge and constantly worried. (Tr. 48). He also

testified about lung issues, including COPD and bronchitis, that affect his breathing

ability and worsen with strenuous activities. (Tr. 49). Plaintiff did mention any other

medical or mental health conditions5. (Tr. 51)

Plaintiff typically wakes around 7:00 a.m. to help get his son off to school. (Tr.

50). They eat a lot of canned and frozen foods. (Id.). Plaintiff does not do much

housework and spends most of the day in bed because of his depression. (Id.). A family

member does the grocery shopping and yard work. (Id.). Plaintiff testified that he did

not have any hobbies or friends that he visited. (Tr. 51).

A vocational expert (VE) also testified. (Tr. 52). The ALJ asked him a hypothetical

question about RFC, except that the ALJ asked the VE to assume a limitation to light

work. (Id.). The VE testified that a person with that RFC assessment could do jobs at

the light exertional level. (Tr. 53). The jobs she identified (mail clerk, sorter, and tagger)

were light physical demand level, unskilled, and available in the national economy. (Id.).

5 When asked if there was anything else the ALJ needed to know in deciding his claim, plaintiff

answered, “Not off the top of my head.” (Tr. 51).

Page 7 of 13

3. Relevant Medical Records

Plaintiff received primary medical care at Shawnee Healthcare. He was originally

seen by Beth Heaney, APN, until her departure, then his primary medical care was

overseen by Nick Turner, PNP, and his psychiatric care by Rachel Johnson, APN-BC.

A February 2012 notation is the first medical record regarding plaintiff’s mental

health and it references complaints of stress and depression, and said he bottled up his

emotions until he lashed out. (Tr. 526). At that time, plaintiff was prescribed Effexor

and referred to a primary care physician. (Tr. 529).

On May 16, 2016, plaintiff was referred for counseling services by Beth Heaney,

APN, to strengthen his adaptive coping skills and increase his emotional awareness.

(Tr. 313). At that time, his personal treatment goals were to find employment and better

manage his moods and symptoms. (Id.). His primary symptom was depression, but his

diagnoses were bipolar affective disorder and borderline personality disorder. (Tr. 317-

319).

On September 2, 2016, plaintiff appeared at Shawnee Health Care for established

care of blood pressure and back pain. (Tr. 306). The records on that date reference the

following problems with onset date of 01/01/2000: Tobacco dependence, impotence of

organic origin, bipolar disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, alcohol dependence,

cannabis dependence, constipation, depressive disorder, as well as the following from

an onset date of 11/11/2014: migraine, backache, gastritis and duodenitis. (Tr. 306-308).

Page 8 of 13

Plaintiff followed up with Beth Heaney and his medications were changed and

titrated between 2015 – 2018. On each visit, she noted his mental status. In December

2016, the record reflects “overall relative stability”. (Tr. 359).

On April 5, 2017, plaintiff saw Nick Turner with complaints of shortness of breath

and tingling in left hand. (Tr. 288). Plaintiff also indicated he was depressed. (Tr. 289).

He was assessed with hypertension, headache, backache and paresthesia of upper limb,

given treatment recommendations, and told to follow up in 4 months. (Id.). He was also

told to follow up with Beth Heaney for psychology. (Id.).

On August 21, 2019, Rachael Johnson, PMHNP-BC saw plaintiff for transition of

his care and noted that his depression was really bad and he wanted to return to

medicine he had previously been on. (Tr. 534-539).

On September 11, 2019, plaintiff followed up with Rachael Johnson and she

noted, his mood was “euthymic”6, and emphasized that he was “getting better but

overwhelmed with ssi”. (Tr. 577). On that same date, Ms. Johnson executed a

handwritten mental residual functional capacity assessment and confirmed his

diagnoses of bipolar disorder, borderline personality disorder, and post traumatic stress

disorder. (Tr. 521-523). Following his assessment, she noted that his current diagnoses

“caused him problems with mood, executive functioning and reality … contributed to his

inability to hold a job at this time”. (Id.).

6 Euthymic is the state of being in euthymia, which is a relatively neutral mood that is neither

extremely happy nor extremely sad.

Page 9 of 13

4. State Agency Consultations

Two state agency consultants assessed plaintiff’s mental RFC based upon a

review of the record. The initial review was done on June 15, 2018 and the

reconsideration was done on September 20, 2018. (Tr. 63-65, 91-93). It was concluded

that plaintiff’s understanding and memory, sustained concentration and persistence,

and social interaction were not significantly or only moderately limited and he not have

any adaptation limitations.

ANALYSIS

The ALJ reasonably concluded that the record supports a conclusion that plaintiff

was capable of light exertional work as of his date last insured. Plaintiff does not offer

any specific challenge to the conclusion beyond asserting that “[T]he disability claim file

contains overwhelming evidence of both physical and mental disability. This claim

should have been granted at the initial level …”. (Doc. 42).

The ALJ fairly summarized the relevant medical evidence. He also properly

discounted the opinions of Dr. Adrian Feinerman and Dr. Fred Klug. Dr. Feinerman’s

assessment was generic and provided scant useful information. Indeed, Dr. Feinerman

failed to consider the plaintiff’s diagnosis of COPD along with his history of obesity when

he found plaintiff able to “sit, stand, walk, hear, lift, carry, handle objects, and handle

funds on his own behalf”. (Tr. 507-520). As the ALJ articulated, those findings would

limit plaintiff to at least medium exertional level with respiratory limitations. (Tr. 26).

While the ALJ found Dr. Fred Klug’s consultative mental status examination to be more

persuasive, Dr. Klug failed to provide any discussion of mental functional limitations to

Page 10 of 13

assist in the framing the RFC. (Tr. 501-506).

As for treating providers, the ALJ correctly weighed the questionnaire responses

of Rachael Johnson, APN, who had only seen plaintiff on two occasions. The ALJ was

not persuaded that her office notes supported the marked limitations she identified. (Tr.

531-539). The ALJ was not required to fully credit that opinion; “while the treating

physician’s opinion is important, it is not the final word on a claimant’s disability.”

Books v. Chater, 91 F.3d 972, 979 (7th Cir. 1996) (internal citation omitted). A treating

source’s medical opinion is entitled to controlling weight only where it is supported by

medical findings and is not inconsistent with other substantial evidence in the record.

Brown v. Colvin, 845 F.3d 247, 252 (7th Cir. 2016), citing Clifford v. Apfel, 227 F.3d 863,

870 (7th Cir. 2000).

The ALJ is required only to “minimally articulate” her reasons for accepting or

rejecting evidence, a standard which the Seventh Circuit has characterized as “lax.”

Berger v. Astrue, 516 F.3d 539, 545 (7th Cir. 2008); Elder v. Astrue, 529 F.3d 408, 415

(7th Cir. 2008). The ALJ easily met the minimal articulation standard here.

The Court has carefully reviewed the record and the ALJ’s decision and has not

detected any legal errors. To the contrary, the ALJ relied upon the findings of Drs.

DiFonso and Voss, both of whom performed mental RFC assessments, as set forth infra.

The medical evidence and the state agency consultants’ opinions support the conclusion

that plaintiff was capable of doing some jobs as of her date last insured. Even if

reasonable minds could differ as to whether plaintiff was disabled at the relevant time,

the ALJ’s decision must be affirmed if it is supported by substantial evidence, and the

Page 11 of 13

Court cannot substitute its judgment for that of the ALJ in reviewing for substantial

evidence. Burmester, 920 F.3d at 510; Shideler v. Astrue, 688 F.3d 306, 310 (7th Cir.

2012).

Finally, plaintiff complains that he was denied legal representation. As the Court

explained in its Order denying his motion for appointment of counsel – he has no

statutory or constitutional right to counsel here, he did not demonstrate that he made

a diligent attempt to obtain counsel on his own; and, there was nothing before the Court

to indicate that he could not coherently present his case (See Doc. 6). Additionally,

throughout the pendency of his social security claim and appeal, plaintiff was oft advised

that he had the right to an attorney. (Tr. 124, 128, 131-138, 149-152, 167-169.) Plaintiff

also affirmatively agreed with the ALJ at his hearing that he had been advised of the

right to representation, and he chose to proceed with the hearing and represent himself.

(Tr. 42-43).

While this Court is mindful of plaintiff’s condition, plaintiff has not identified any

specific errors requiring remand nor has he demonstrated that the ALJ’s decision was

not supported by substantial evidence. The ALJ reasonably concluded that the record

supported a conclusion that plaintiff was “not disabled” on the date last insured. The

ALJ weighed the evidence and concluded that the record did not support a

determination that plaintiff could not work. Ultimately, it was plaintiff’s burden, not

the ALJ’s, to prove that he was disabled. Summers v. Berryhill, 864 F.3d 523, 527 (7th

Cir. 2017). Therefore, ALJ Martin’s decision must be affirmed.

Page 12 of 13

CONCLUSION

After careful review of the record as a whole, the Court is convinced that the ALJ

committed no errors of law, and that his findings are supported by substantial evidence.

Accordingly, the final decision of the Commissioner of Social Security denying Plaintiff’s

application for disability benefits is AFFIRMED.

The Clerk of Court is directed to enter judgment in favor of defendant.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: August 16, 2022

/s/ Stephen P. McGlynn_

STEPHEN P. McGLYNN

U.S. District Judge

Page 13 of 13

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.