Opinion

Bellamy v. Commissoner of Social Security

Court
District Court, S.D. Florida
Filed
Sep 20, 2021
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 20.1%

“This court has held that there can be no termination of benefits unless there is substantial evidence of improvement to the point of no disability.”

How later courts described this case

  • “This court has held that there can be no termination of benefits unless there is substantial evidence of improvement to the point of no disability.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 19-81572-CIV-MATTHEWMAN

JOSHUA L. BELLAMY,

Plaintiff,

v.

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL

SECURITY,

Defendant

______________________________________/

RENEWED1 ORDER ON MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT [DEs 31, 35]

THIS CAUSE is before the Court upon Plaintiff, Joshua L. Bellamy’s (“Plaintiff”) Motion

for Summary Judgment [DE 31], and Defendant, Andrew Saul, Commissioner of Social Security’s

(“Defendant”) Motion for Summary Judgment [DE 35]. The motions are fully briefed [DEs 36,

38, 39] and are ripe for review. The issue before the Court is whether the record contains

substantial evidence to support the denial of benefits to Plaintiff and whether the correct legal

standards have been applied. Lamb v. Bowen, 847 F.2d 698, 701 (11th Cir. 1988).

I. FACTS

On January 23, 2018, Plaintiff filed a Title II application for a period of disability and

1 On August 17, 2021, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in case number 21-11506-JJ issued

an opinion in this case. [DE 61]. The Eleventh Circuit granted the parties’ Consent Motion for Vacatur and Remand

to the District Court and vacated this Court’s Orders dated September 14, 2020, December 28, 2020, and March 5,

2021, as well as the Judgment dated March 5, 2020. The Eleventh Circuit additionally remanded the case “so that the

district court can reassess its decision in light of Carr and conduct any additional proceedings that the court deems

necessary in light of that intervening decision.” The Undersigned held a status conference on September 20, 2021,

during which counsel for Plaintiff and the Commissioner jointly agreed that the Order on Motions for Summary

Judgment should be reinstated, along with the inclusion of additional language which is set forth at the conclusion of

this Renewed Order.

1

disability insurance benefits and a Title XVI application for supplemental security income,

asserting a disability on-set date of December 20, 2016. [R. 23].2 The claims were denied initially

and upon reconsideration. Id. Following a hearing on April 15, 2019, the ALJ issued a partially

favorable decision on August 7, 2019. [R. 20-35]. A request for review was filed by Plaintiff with

the Appeals Council and denied on September 23, 2019. [R. 11-13].

A. Hearing Testimony

The ALJ held a hearing on April 15, 2019. [R. 41]. Plaintiff appeared at the hearing

unrepresented by an attorney and with his mother, Gloria Jean Bellamy. [R. 43]. He was 30 years

old at the time of the hearing. [R. 71]. He testified that he had no medical records past February 5,

2019. [DE 47]. According to his testimony, Plaintiff is single and has no children. [R. 50-51]. He

lives in a house in Boynton Beach, Florida, with his mother, brother-in-law, and oldest nephew.

[R. 51]. At the time of the hearing, Plaintiff’s driver’s license had been suspended due to an unpaid

speeding ticket. [R. 51].

Plaintiff graduated from high school and received a diploma. [R. 51-52]. He can read, write,

and do simple math. [R. 51]. Plaintiff has had a series of jobs, including at McDonald’s, Dollar

General, and a legal office. [R. 52-53]. He most recently worked in May 2018 as a food service

worker at a school for approximately 20 hours per week. [R. 53-54]. Plaintiff left the job because

he “needed help”; however, he believes he can go back to that job. [R. 54]. When Plaintiff worked

for Palm Beach County Schools, he had to work at various schools—wherever he was needed. [R.

55]. He never made much money or worked on a full-time basis at any of his jobs. [R. 56].

Plaintiff suffers from an anxiety disorder, schizophrenia with psychosis, a mood disorder,

2 All references are to the record of the administrative proceeding filed by the Commissioner at Docket Entry 12.

2

depression, hallucinations, and paranoia. [R. 57]. He also suffers from asthma, but the asthma does

not prevent him from working, and he takes no medication for it. [R. 57, 67]. Plaintiff additionally

has seizures, but medication does not really help and cannot be increased because he is taking the

maximum dosage. [R. 66-67].

Plaintiff was Baker-acted in 2015 and 2017. [R. 58]. He was not taking medication at those

times, but he was taking various prescription medications at the time of the April 15, 2019 hearing.

[R. 58-59]. The medications, which include Trazodone, olanzapine, and Depakote, help him sleep

and help with his visions and hallucinations. [R. 59, 66]. Plaintiff did not begin taking them until

he left his most recent job. [R. 59]. He is not sure if he could work now. [R. 60]. He sees a

psychiatrist every four weeks, and the doctor monitors his medications and inquires into how he

is doing. [R. 60]. Plaintiff still tells his doctor that he is seeing and hearing things. [R. 60]. He gets

weak sometimes, possibly due to his medications. [R. 61]. Plaintiff rarely drinks alcohol and uses

no drugs. [R. 61].

Plaintiff has short-term memory problems and blanks out. [R. 62]. He still hears male

voices almost every day and argues with them. [R. 62-63]. The voices tell him to kill himself and

how to act. [R. 64]. Some of the voices are of people who bullied him when he was younger. [R.

65]. Plaintiff also heard them while he worked at the school. [R. 64]. Plaintiff has about three

hallucinations per day involving snakes and people who are not there. [R. 65]. He reached out for

help from a psychiatrist because he had stopped trusting people and was “freaking out.” [R. 65].

On an average day, Plaintiff gets up at 10 or 11 a.m. [R. 66]. He can shower and get dressed

by himself as he has no physical issues. [R. 67]. He does chores around the house, including

cleaning and laundry. [R. 67-68]. Plaintiff also grocery shops with his mother and helps carry the

3

groceries. [R. 68]. He stays to himself and does not socialize. [R. 69]. He reads the Bible and

watches television. [R. 69].

Plaintiff’s mother, Gloria Bellamy, testified next at the hearing. [R. 70]. According to Ms.

Bellamy, Plaintiff has always resided with her. [R. 70]. He has had a number of jobs and most

recently worked at Logger’s Run Middle School in the kitchen. [R. 71-72]. The manager at the

school noticed that Plaintiff was talking to himself and said Plaintiff needed help. [R. 72].

Plaintiff’s mental issues started in 2016 when he was acting strange, did not know where he was,

and the police took him to jail. [R. 72-73]. There was a second incident in 2017 when Plaintiff

wandered off and was ultimately Baker-acted by the police. [R. 73-74]. After that, Plaintiff began

going to South County Mental Health Center (“South County”) for treatment and had been going

for about a year and a half prior to the hearing. [R. 75]. Plaintiff finally understood that he needed

help and has been taking his medications. [R. 75].

According to Ms. Bellamy, every month Plaintiff gets a shot of Haldol, and the doctor

doubled it the month before the hearing because of Plaintiff’s hallucinations. [R. 75-76]. Plaintiff’s

mental condition appeared to improve, but he stated that he had begun to hear voices again the

week or two before the hearing. [R. 76]. Ms. Bellamy is concerned about Plaintiff committing

suicide because his father did. [R. 77]. Plaintiff’s medications help him, and he is able to sleep. [R.

77]. During the day, he paces, walks, and smokes cigarettes. [R. 78]. He does clean the house, but

partially just because his mother wants to keep him busy. [R. 78]. Plaintiff used to be a people

person, but he is now withdrawn. [R. 79].

Crystal Younger, the vocational expert, testified by telephone at the hearing. [R. 80]. The

ALJ first posed a hypothetical in which an individual of the same age and education as Plaintiff

4

could remember and understand instructions for simple, routine tasks; could maintain

concentration, pace, or persistence to complete those tasks over eight hours between customary

breaks; could interact occasionally with co-workers and supervisors for short periods of time

regarding work-related matters, but could only have incidental contact with the public; could adapt

to simple, routine changes in the workplace with normal guidance; and could exercise appropriate

judgment on simple, routine work matters. [R. 81]. The vocational expert explained that such an

individual could perform work generally available in the economy. [R. 82]. The ALJ asked the

vocational expert to list three light jobs that the hypothetical individual could perform, and she

listed cleaner, silver wrapper, and packer. [R. 82]. The vocational expert stated that her testimony

was consistent with the DOT and her own education, experience, and training. [R. 82].

The ALJ posed a second hypothetical in which an individual had the same limitations stated

above except he could not maintain concentration, pace, or persistence to complete those tasks

over eight hours between customary breaks and could not exercise appropriate judgment on

simple, routine work matters. [R. 82-83]. The vocational expert testified that such an individual

could not perform any work that is generally available in the economy. [R. 83]. The vocational

expert again stated that her testimony was consistent with the DOT and her own education,

experience, and training. [R. 83].

B. Medical Record Evidence

In reaching his decision to partially grant and partially deny Plaintiff’s benefits, the ALJ

reviewed the medical evidence of record, the relevant portion of which is summarized

chronologically below. The Court notes that any medical records that precede January 20, 2018,

are not summarized herein as the ALJ found Plaintiff to be disabled up to that date, and the parties

5

do not dispute that Plaintiff was disabled up until January 20, 2018. The dispute here is whether

or not Plaintiff remained disabled after January 20, 2018, or whether he medically improved after

that date. Additionally, Plaintiff is not arguing that the ALJ erred in finding his physical medical

issues to be non-severe; therefore, the Court will likewise not summarize any of those records

related to Plaintiff’s physical medical issues.

On January 19, 2018, a crucial date in this case since the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was

no longer disabled as of January 20, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County for treatment of

mood disturbances and psychosis. [R. 376]. At that time, Plaintiff had not been consistently taking

his medications for his diagnosed “other specified schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic

disorder.” [R. 376]. He was instructed to take the medications prescribed to him (Zyprexa and

Trazodone) regularly. [R. 376]. It was noted that Plaintiff had a GAF of 55. [R. 376].

On February 27, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that he had been

compliant with his medications for approximately one month and had not suffered any adverse

effects from them. [R. 403]. Plaintiff stated that his sleep, appetite and mood were all adequate,

and he was not having thoughts of hurting himself or others. [R. 403]. He was working and having

no problems at work. [R. 403]. Plaintiff did not appear to be in any psychosis. [R. 403]. It was

determined that Plaintiff had a GAF of 55, and he was prescribed Zyprexa and Trazodone for his

diagnosed “other specified schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorder.” [R. 403-4].

On April 24, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that he had been

compliant with his medications and had not suffered any adverse effects from them. [R. 401].

Plaintiff stated that his sleep, appetite and mood were all adequate, and he was not having thoughts

of hurting himself or others. [R. 401]. He was working and having no problems at work. [R. 401].

6

Plaintiff did not appear to be in any psychosis. [R. 401]. It was determined that Plaintiff had a GAF

of 55, and he was prescribed Zyprexa and Trazodone. [R. 401].

On April 30, 2018, Plaintiff presented to Dr. Mark Rogovin. [R. 392-93]. Plaintiff reported

a history of anxiety, paranoia, depression, and insomnia, as well as visual and auditory

hallucinations. [R. 392]. Upon examination of Plaintiff, Dr. Rogovin noted that Plaintiff had no

acute signs of psychosis or neurosis. [R. 392]. The doctor’s impression was that Plaintiff suffered

from anxiety, depression, insomnia, visual and auditory hallucinations, and paranoia. [R. 393].

In a Disability Determination Explanation at the Initial Level dated May 4, 2018, Dr.

Richard Willens determined Plaintiff’s Residual Functional Capacity (“RFC”), and the State

disability adjudicator/examiner, Rona Thompson, determined that Plaintiff was not disabled. [R.

85-96].

On May 25, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported hearing male voices

that were tormenting him and telling him to hurt himself. [R. 399]. Plaintiff also reported poor

sleep, mood swings, occasional suicidal thoughts, and seeing things such as snakes. [R. 399]. He

stated that his medications were well-tolerated. [R. 399]. Plaintiff explained that he was unable to

work and was staying at home with his mother. [R. 399]. Plaintiff’s GAF was determined to be

45. [R. 399]. He was prescribed Haldol, Zyprexa and Trazodone. [R. 399].

On June 13, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County after he had been without his

medications for over a week. [R. 397]. All of his symptoms had returned, including hearing voices,

seeing snakes, trouble sleeping, mood swings, and suicidal thoughts. [R. 397]. Plaintiff’s mother

reported that Plaintiff’s behavior and ability to sleep had changed without the medications, and

that, while on medications, he had been doing “well.” [R. 397]. Plaintiff and his mother reported

7

no adverse side effects to the medications. [R. 397]. It was noted that Plaintiff had recently started

taking Haldol, along with Zyprexa and Trazodone. [R. 397]. Plaintiff’s mother also stated that

Plaintiff was no longer able to work. [R. 397]. Plaintiff’s GAF was determined to be 45. [R. 397].

He was provided with refills of his three medications. [R. 397].

On July 11, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that his symptoms such

as hearing voices and seeing visions had gone away. [R. 412]. Plaintiff’s mother noted a positive

difference in Plaintiff’s behavior and sleep when he was taking the medications. [R. 412]. Plaintiff

reported that his sleep and appetite were good, and his mood had been more stable lately. [R. 412].

He had no thoughts of hurting himself or others. [R. 412]. Plaintiff’s GAF was determined to be

45. [R. 412]. Plaintiff’s Haldol, Zyprexa and Trazodone were continued. [R. 412].

In a Disability Determination Explanation at the Reconsideration Level dated July 12,

2018, Dr. Kevin Ragsdale determined Plaintiff’s RFC, and the State disability

adjudicator/examiner, Alisha Remarck, determined that Plaintiff was not disabled. [R. 112-125].

On August 8, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that his symptoms

such as hearing voices and seeing visions had returned that month. [R. 410]. He had been pacing

and talking to himself. [R. 410]. Plaintiff reported that his sleep and appetite were good, but his

mood had declined. [R. 410]. He had no thoughts of hurting himself or others. [R. 410]. Plaintiff’s

mother requested a letter stating that Plaintiff was not able to work yet. [R. 410]. Plaintiff’s GAF

was determined to be 45. [R. 408]. Because of the return of his symptoms, Plaintiff’s Haldol dose

was increased, and he was instructed to continue taking Zyprexa and Trazodone. [R. 410-11].

On September 5, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that his symptoms,

such as hearing voices and seeing visions, had returned and were bothering him. [R. 408].

8

Plaintiff’s mother reported that Plaintiff was talking to himself at night and fighting in his sleep.

[R. 408]. It was noted that the Haldol had caused a slight occasional hand tremor. [R. 408]. Plaintiff

reported that his sleep was poor, and his mood had declined, but he had no thoughts of hurting

himself or others. [R. 408]. Plaintiff’s GAF was determined to be 45. [R. 408]. Because of the

return of his symptoms, Plaintiff’s Haldol dose was increased, and he was instructed to continue

taking Zyprexa and Trazodone. [R. 408-9].

On October 4, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that his symptoms,

such as hearing voices and seeing visions, had returned and were bothering him. [R. 424].

Plaintiff’s mother reported that Plaintiff was talking to himself more. [R. 424]. It was noted that

Plaintiff had a slight occasional hand tremor from the Haldol, but no other side effects. [R. 424].

Plaintiff reported that his sleep had improved with medication, his appetite was fair, and his mood

had improved slightly. [R. 424]. Plaintiff reported that he had had passive thoughts of suicide at

times, but no actual plans. [R. 424]. Plaintiff’s GAF was determined to be 45. [R. 408]. Because

of the return of his symptoms, Plaintiff’s Haldol and Trazodone doses were increased, and he was

instructed to continue taking Zyprexa. [R. 424-25].

On November 13, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that his

symptoms, such as hearing voices and seeing visions, had been better with increased Haldol. [R.

422]. He stated that his sleep had improved, and his appetite was fair. [R. 422]. Plaintiff reported

that he had had passive thoughts of suicide at times, but no actual plans. [R. 422]. Plaintiff’s GAF

was determined to be 45. [R. 422]. Plaintiff was instructed to continue taking Haldol, Zyprexa and

Trazodone. [R. 422].

On December 11, 2018, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported that his

9

symptoms, including hearing voices and seeing visions, had gotten bad again. [R. 420]. Plaintiff

explained that he frequently heard conversations in his head about supernatural things and that the

voices also told him to hurt himself and commit suicide. [R. 420]. Plaintiff’s mother stated that he

had been self-isolating, pacing a lot, acting lazy, and refusing to do housework; however, he was

sleeping better. [R. 420]. Plaintiff reported that he was having passive thoughts of suicide at times,

but no actual plans. [R. 420]. Plaintiff’s GAF was determined to be 45. [R. 420]. Plaintiff was

prescribed Depakote for the first time, and he was instructed to continue taking Zyprexa,

Trazodone, and Haldol. [R. 420-21].

On January 8, 2019, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported he had been taking

his medications and had suffered no major side effects from them. [R. 418]. Plaintiff also reported

that his symptoms and mood had improved since he had started taking Depakote the prior month

and that he was able to tune out the voices in his head with music. [R. 418]. Plaintiff’s mother

reported that, when Plaintiff runs out of medications, he gets “a bit agitated.” [R. 418]. Plaintiff

stated that he had passive thoughts of suicide at times, but no actual plans. [R. 418]. Plaintiff’s

GAF was determined to be 45. [R. 418]. Plaintiff’s Haldol dose was increased, and he was

instructed to continue taking Zyprexa, Trazodone, and Depakote. [R. 419].

On February 5, 2019, Plaintiff presented to South County and reported he had been taking

his medications and had suffered no major side effects from them. [R. 416]. Plaintiff also reported

that his symptoms and mood had improved since he had started taking Depakote and that he was

better able to tune out the voices in his head. [R. 416]. It was noted that Plaintiff’s labs from

January 8, 2019, showed that his valproic acid levels were low at 39.4. [R. 416]. Plaintiff’s GAF

was determined to be 45. [R. 415]. Plaintiff’s Depakote dose was increased, and he was instructed

10

to continue taking Zyprexa, Trazodone, and Haldol. [R. 417].

On June 17, 2019, Plaintiff presented to Dr. Alejandro J. Arias upon a referral for a General

Clinical Evaluation with Mental Status by the Office of Disability Determination. [R. 448].

Plaintiff arrived with his mother and was noted to have a “wide-eyed stare.” [R. 448]. He reported

that his sleep and appetite were good while he was on his medications. [R. 448]. Plaintiff’s mother

explained that he cannot function without his medications; when not on his medications, Plaintiff

develops suicidal ideations, becomes very irritable, suffers from hallucinations of snakes chasing

him, gets confused and disoriented, has illogical conversations, paces the house, and has a blank

stare. [R. 448-49]. She also stated that Plaintiff was once social but had become withdrawn. [R.

449]. Plaintiff stated that his moods change, and he is no longer happy like he used to be. [R. 449].

According to Plaintiff’s mother, he paces constantly, but he can do his own laundry and his own

cooking with supervision. [R. 449].

When Dr. Arias completed the mental status evaluation, he noted that Plaintiff was

cooperative and motivated, displayed good eye contact, had slow and deliberate speech, had

euthymic mood and somewhat blunted affect, and denied suicidal/homicidal ideation, plan or

intent. [R. 449]. Plaintiff told Dr. Arias that he had heard voices as recently as the prior day, wears

headphones to block out the voices, is bullied by the voices, and sees things in the shadows. [R.

449]. Dr. Arias found that Plaintiff would require supervision in managing personal funds. [R.

450]. He explained, “[a]t this time, Mr. Bellamy appears to be somewhat stable with psychiatric

medications. There are strong indications that without his medications, he will have severe

behavioral decompensation, likely requiring inpatient hospitalization for stabilization.” [R. 450].

Dr. Arias completed a Medical Source Statement of Ability to Do Work-Related Activities

11

(Mental). [R. 451-53]. He determined that Plaintiff had moderate limitations in the ability to

understand and remember complex instructions, to carry out complex instructions, to make

judgments on complex work-related decisions, to interact appropriately with co-workers, and to

respond appropriately to usual work situations and to changes in a routine work setting. [R. 451-

52]. Dr. Arias found that Plaintiff also had mild limitations in his ability to interact appropriately

with both the public and supervisors. [R. 452]. Finally, Dr. Arias determined that Plaintiff had no

limitations in his ability to understand and remember simple instructions, carry out simple

instructions, and make judgments on simple work-related decisions. [R. 452].3

C. ALJ Decision

The ALJ issued his decision on Plaintiff’s claim for benefits on August 7, 2019. [R. 20-

40]. The ALJ first found that Plaintiff had acquired sufficient quarters of coverage to remain

insured through March 31, 2021. [R. 23]. He next found that Plaintiff was disabled within the

meaning of the Social Security Act from December 20, 2016, through January 19, 2018, and that

the insured status requirements of the Social Security Act were met as of the date disability was

established. [R. 24]. These findings of the ALJ are not disputed by the parties.

The ALJ further concluded, however, that, as of January 20, 2018, “medical improvement

3 On September 5, 2019, after the date of the ALJ’s decision in this case, but before the decision of the Appeals

Council, Plaintiff presented to Bethesda Hospital East with an adverse reaction to a drug, an altered or impaired mental

status, a cognitive disorder, a medium knowledge deficit, cellulitis, and an abscess of the lower leg. [R. 3-9]. He was

drowsy and lethargic, oriented to person, and had an unsteady gait. [R. 5-6]. It was noted that he had severe

encephalopathy and was unable to walk. [R. 6]. Plaintiff had worsening muscle weakness with confused speech and

multiple falls, as well as worsening psychiatric symptoms. [R. 7]. The MR angiography of Plaintiff’s head and the

MRI of his brain were normal. [R. 7-8]. Even though these records preceded the Appeals Council’s decision, they

appear to have been received on September 27, 2019, after the date of the Appeals Council’s decision. Neither party

mentions these records in their motions for summary judgment. Nor has Plaintiff provided any reason that the Court

should consider this new evidence. Thus, the Court will not consider the records in its analysis. However, upon

remand, this evidence may be considered by the Commissioner, if appropriate.

12

occurred that is related to the ability to work, and [Plaintiff] has been able to perform substantial

gainful activity from that date through the date of this decision. Thus, [Plaintiff’s] disability ended

on January 20, 2018.” [R. 24]. It is this later finding by the ALJ of Plaintiff’s medical improvement

and ability to perform substantial gainful activity as of January 20, 2018, that is disputed in this

case.

The ALJ determined that, between December 20, 2016, and January 20, 2018, Plaintiff

suffered from the following severe impairments: schizophrenia, psychosis, personality disorder,

and impulse control disorder. [R. 27]. However, he determined that Plaintiff’s mild intermittent

asthma, acute kidney failure, and drug and alcohol abuse disorder were non-severe impairments

and that Plaintiff’s hepatitis C was a non-medically determinable impairment. [R. 27-28]. Next,

the ALJ found that, between December 20, 2016, and January 20, 2018, Plaintiff did not have an

impairment or combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity of one of

the listed impairments in 20 CFR Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. [R. 28]. The ALJ determined

that, during the relevant period of time (December 20, 2016, through January 20, 2018), Plaintiff

had the following residual functional capacity:

to perform a full range of work at all exertional levels but with the following

nonexertional limitations: the claimant can understand and remember instructions

for simple and routine tasks. The claimant cannot maintain concentration,

persistence, or pace to complete simple and routine tasks over an 8-hour period

between scheduled breaks. He can interact occasionally with co-workers,

supervisors for short periods of time regarding work related matters, and he should

have only incidental contact with the public. The claimant can adapt to simple

routine changes in the work place with normal guidance, but cannot exercise

appropriate judgment on simple routine work matters.

[R. 28-29].

The ALJ attested that he had considered all of Plaintiff’s symptoms and “the extent to

13

which these symptoms can reasonably be accepted as consistent with the objective medical

evidence and other evidence,” as well as all of the opinion evidence. [R. 29]. The ALJ found that

Plaintiff’s hearing testimony was credible and consistent with the record evidence for the time

period of December 20, 2016, through January 20, 2018. [R. 29]. Next, the ALJ summarized the

various medical records and found that “these consistently abnormal findings support a claim of a

longstanding debilitating condition.” [R. 29]. The ALJ did not find the opinions of the State agency

psychologists (who found Plaintiff not to be disabled) persuasive because they were not supported

by the medical record and did not seem to take into account the multiple Baker Act admissions or

Plaintiff’s bizarre behavior and auditory/visual hallucinations. [R. 30].

The ALJ explained that Plaintiff has no past relevant work, was a younger individual on

the established disability onset date, has a high school education, and is able to communicate in

English. In considering all of these factors, the ALJ concluded that there were no jobs that existed

in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff could have performed between

December 20, 2016, and January 20, 2018. [R. 30]. He relied on the testimony of the vocational

expert. [R. 31]. Again, as noted above, these findings of the ALJ are not disputed by the parties.

The ALJ next determined, however, that Plaintiff did not develop any new impairment or

impairments after January 20, 2018, the date Plaintiff’s disability ended. [R. 31]. He found that,

beginning on January 20, 2018, Plaintiff has not had an impairment or combination of impairments

that meets or medically equals the severity of one of the impairments listed in 20 C.F.R. Part 404,

Subpart P, Appendix 1. [R. 31]. The ALJ’s finding was based on his determination that, starting

on January 20, 2018, Plaintiff medically improved because he had received psychotropic

medications at South County. [R. 31].

14

The ALJ found that, as of January 20, 2018, Plaintiff had the following residual functional

capacity:

to perform a full range of work at all exertional levels but with the following

nonexertional limitations: the claimant can understand and remember instructions

for simple and routine tasks. He can maintain concentration, persistence, or pace to

complete simple and routine tasks over an 8-hour period between scheduled breaks.

The claimant can interact occasionally with co-workers, supervisors for short

periods of time regarding work related matters, and should have only incidental

contact with the public. The claimant can adapt to simple routine changes in the

work place with normal guidance and exercise appropriate judgment on simple

routine work matters.

[R. 32-33].

The ALJ determined that, regarding the period after January 20, 2018, Plaintiff’s hearing

testimony concerning the intensity, persistence, and limiting effects of his symptoms was not

entirely consistent with the medical evidence and other evidence. [R. 33]. The ALJ then

summarized the relevant medical evidence in detail. [R. 33-34]. He found the opinion of Dr. Arias,

the psychological consultative examiner, to be persuasive. [R. 34]. Dr. Arias determined that, when

Plaintiff was compliant with his medication, he was capable of simple and routine tasks. [R. 34].

Finally, the ALJ relied on the vocational expert’s testimony and found that, beginning January 20,

2018, there have been jobs that exist in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff

can perform. [R. 34-35]. Thus, the ALJ stated that Plaintiff’s disability ended on January 20, 2018,

and he has not become disabled again since that date. [R. 35].

II. MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

In his Motion for Summary Judgment, Plaintiff asserts that the ALJ’s determination that

Plaintiff’s medical condition improved and that he then became “not disabled” is not supported by

the substantial evidence in the record. [DE 31]. Plaintiff argues both that the medical evidence

15

does not support the adjusted RFC and that the ALJ improperly discounted Plaintiff’s testimony

regarding the severity of his symptoms and his ability to maintain employment. Id.

In Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment with Supporting Memorandum of Law and

Response to Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment, Defendant asserts that substantial evidence

supports the ALJ’s RFC finding for the time period beginning on January 20, 2018, and substantial

evidence supports the ALJ’s symptom assessment. [DE 35].

In reply, Plaintiff argues the ALJ’s determination that Plaintiff experienced a medical

improvement that rendered him no longer disabled was not based on the record as a whole, but

rather was improperly based on isolated portions of the record. [DE 38]. Plaintiff also contends

that the ALJ improperly failed to address Plaintiff’s GAF scores. Id.

III. RELEVANT LAW

Judicial review of the factual findings in disability cases is limited to determining whether

the Commissioner’s decision is “supported by substantial evidence and based on proper legal

standards. Substantial evidence is more than a scintilla and is such relevant evidence as a

reasonable person would accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g);

Crawford v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 363 F. 3d 1155, 1158 (11th Cir. 2004) (per curiam) (internal

citation omitted) (quoting Lewis v. Callahan, 125 F. 3d 1436, 1439 (11th Cir. 1997)). Courts may

not “decide the facts anew, reweigh the evidence, or substitute [their] judgment for that of the

[Commissioner].” Phillips v. Barnhart, 357 F. 3d 1232, 1240 n.8 (11th Cir. 2004) (quoting

Bloodsworth v. Heckler, 703 F.2d 1233, 1239 (11th Cir. 1983)).

The restrictive standard of review set out above applies only to findings of fact. No

presumption of validity attaches to the Commissioner’s conclusions of law. Brown v. Sullivan, 921

16

F.2d 1233, 1236 (11th Cir. 1991); Martin v. Sullivan, 894 F.2d 1520, 1529 (11th Cir. 1990). “The

[Commissioner’s] failure to apply the correct law or to provide the reviewing court with sufficient

reasoning for determining [that] the proper legal analysis has been conducted mandates reversal.”

Ingram v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 496 F. 3d 1253, 1260 (11th Cir. 2007) (quoting Cornelius

v. Sullivan, 936 F.2d 1143, 1145-46 (11th Cir. 1991)).

Social Security regulations establish a five-step sequential analysis to arrive at a final

determination of disability. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520; 20 C.F.R. § 416.920 (a)-(f). The ALJ must first

determine whether the claimant is presently employed. If so, a finding of non-disability is made,

and the inquiry concludes. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(b). In the second step, the ALJ must determine

whether the claimant suffers from a severe impairment or combination of impairments. If the ALJ

finds that claimant does not suffer from a severe impairment or combination of impairments, then

a finding of non-disability results, and the inquiry ends. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(c).

Step three requires the ALJ to compare the claimant’s severe impairment(s) to those in the

listing of impairments. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(d), subpart P, appendix I. Certain impairments are

so severe, whether considered alone or in conjunction with other impairments, that, if they are

established, the regulations require a finding of disability without further inquiry into the

claimant’s ability to perform other work. See Gibson v. Heckler, 762 F.2d 1516, 1518 n.1 (11th

Cir. 1985). If the impairment meets or equals a listed impairment, disability is presumed and

benefits are awarded. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(d).

Step four involves a determination of whether the claimant’s impairments prevent him or

her from performing his or her past relevant work. If the claimant cannot perform his or her past

relevant work, then a prima facie case of disability is established. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(e). The

17

burden then shifts to the ALJ to show at step five that, despite the claimant’s impairments, he or

she is able to perform work in the national economy in light of the claimant’s RFC, age, education,

and work experience. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(f); Phillips, 357 F. 3d at 1239. In order to determine

whether the claimant has the ability to adjust to other work in the national economy, the ALJ may

either apply the Medical Vocational Guidelines, 20 C.F.R. pt. 404 subpt. P, app.2, or utilize the

assistance of a vocational expert. See Phillips, 357 F. 3d at 1239-40.

Next, an ALJ’s determination of whether a claimant’s eligibility has ended for disability

benefits involves an eight-step process under Title II (DIB) and a seven-step process under Title

XVI (SSI). See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1594(f)(1)–(8); 20 C.F.R. § 416.994(b)(5)(i)–(vii).

Social Security Regulations establish an eight-step evaluation process to determine

whether a claimant’s medical condition has improved or if a disability continues. See 20 C.F.R. §

404.1594(f). The first step is determining whether the claimant is engaged in substantial gainful

activity. If so, a finding of a disability status will end. § 404.1594(f)(1). If not, the ALJ proceeds

to step two.

At step two, the ALJ must determine whether the claimant suffers from an impairment or

combination of impairments which meets or equals the severity of an impairment listed in

Appendix 1, Subpart P of Regulations No. 4. If so, the disability will be found to continue.

§ 404.1594(f)(2).

At step three, the ALJ must determine whether there has been medical improvement in the

claimant’s condition. § 404.1594(f)(3). Medical improvement is defined as any decrease in the

medical severity of any impairment which was present at the time of the most recent favorable

decision finding the claimant disabled. § 404.1594(b)(1).

18

At step four, the ALJ must determine whether the improvement relates to the claimant’s

ability to do work. § 404.1594(f)(4). If the improvement does relate, the analysis skips to step six.

If there has not been medical improvement, the ALJ considers whether an exception to medical

improvement applies. § 404.1594(d)(e). If there has been no medical improvement or medical

improvement is not related to the claimant’s ability to work, the evaluation proceeds to step five.

At step five, consideration is given to whether the case meets any of the special exceptions

to medical improvement for determining that disability has ceased. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1594(f)(5),

416.994(b)(5)(iv).

At step six, if the medical improvement is shown to be related to the claimant’s ability to

work, the ALJ must determine whether the claimant’s current impairments in combination are

severe. If the impairments do not significantly limit the claimant’s ability to perform basic work

activities, then the claimant is no longer disabled. 20 CFR § 404.1594(f)(6); see also Rockhill v.

Saul, No. 19-14001-CIV, 2020 WL 1445621, at *8 (S.D. Fla. Feb. 7, 2020).

At step seven, the ALJ must assess the claimant’s RFC based on the claimant’s current

impairments. 20 CFR § 404.1594(f)(7).

At step eight, which applies for Plaintiff’s Title II claim (but not for his Title XVI claim),

the ALJ must determine whether work exists that the claimant can perform, given the claimant’s

age, education, and residual functional capacity. If the claimant can perform other work and that

work exists in significant numbers in the national economy, then the claimant is no longer disabled.

If the claimant cannot perform other work, then the claimant’s disability continues.

§ 404.1594(f)(8); 20 CFR § 416.994(b)(5)(vii); see also Rockhill, 2020 WL 1445621, at *8.

When an ALJ is determining whether a disability has ended with regard to Title XVI (SSI),

19

the Regulations mandate a seven-step sequential inquiry. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1594(f)(5),

416.994(b)(5). This sequential inquiry requires the ALJ to determine whether a claimant (1) has

an impairment or combination of impairments that meets or medically equals one listed in the

Regulations; (2) has experienced medical improvement; (3) has experienced medical improvement

that is related to the ability to work; (4) has experienced medical improvement, but an exception

to the medical improvement applies; (5) has current impairments that when considered in

combination are severe; (6) can perform past relevant work; and (7) can perform other work that

exists in the national economy. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1594(f), 416.994(b); De La Torre v. Berryhill,

No. 16-CIV-24339, 2018 WL 1570362, at *4 (S.D. Fla. Mar. 30, 2018).

“In a cessation of benefits case, the burden is on the Commissioner to prove that the

claimant is no longer disabled as of the cessation date because the Plaintiff has experienced

‘medical improvement.’” Mesa v. Saul, No. 1:19-CV-21736, 2020 WL 4932831, at *2–3 (S.D.

Fla. Aug. 24, 2020), report and recommendation adopted sub nom. Mesa v. Berryhill, No. 19-

21736-CIV, 2020 WL 5028789 (S.D. Fla. Aug. 24, 2020) (citing Olivo v. Colvin, No. 6:16-cv-

259-Orl-40JRK, 2017 WL 708743, at *2 (M.D. Fla. Jan. 30, 2017)); see also Soto, v. Comm'r of

Soc. Sec. Admin., No. 5:19-CV-568-OC-MAP, 2020 WL 4048210, at *2 (M.D. Fla. July 20, 2020).

IV. ANALYSIS

In his Motion for Summary Judgment, Plaintiff first argues that the substantial record

evidence does not support that he experienced a significant medical improvement that could have

resulted in the ALJ’s adjusted RFC. [DE 31, p. 14]. Plaintiff contends that the medical records

show that his condition markedly worsened in May 2018 and that his mental health fluctuated

throughout 2018. Id. at pp. 14-16. Plaintiff additionally asserts that the ALJ improperly discounted

20

his hearing testimony regarding the severity of his symptoms and his ability to work after January

20, 2018. Id. at pp. 16-20.

In his Motion for Summary Judgment, Defendant maintains that substantial evidence

supports the ALJ’s findings for the period starting on January 20, 2018. [DE 35, pp. 8-11].

Defendant also asserts that substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s assessment of Plaintiff’s

symptoms. Id. at pp. 11-14.

In reply, Plaintiff argues that the ALJ’s determination that Plaintiff experienced a medical

improvement that rendered him no longer disabled was improperly based on portions of the

records, rather than the whole record. [DE 38, pp. 2-9]. He details all of the evidence from the

record that he believes supports his position. Id. Plaintiff further asserts that the ALJ erred by

failing to address Plaintiff’s low GAF scores. Id. at pp. 9-10.

(a) Whether the ALJ Improperly Failed to Consider Plaintiff’s Low GAF Scores

The Court first considers Plaintiff’s argument that the ALJ failed to consider Plaintiff’s

low GAF scores. “Global assessment of functioning is the clinician’s judgment of the individual’s

overall level of functioning, not including impairments due to physical or environmental

limitations. . . . A GAF of 41-50 indicates either serious symptoms (e.g., suicidal ideation, severe

obsessional rituals, frequent shoplifting) or any serious impairment in social, occupational, or

school functioning.” Sanchez v. Saul, No. 18-23981-CIV, 2019 WL 6879812, at *2 (S.D. Fla. Nov.

26, 2019), report and recommendation adopted, No. 18-23981-CIV, 2019 WL 6877696 (S.D. Fla.

Dec. 17, 2019) (quoting Vargas v. Astrue, No. 07-CV-60776, 2008 WL 4056164, at *3 (S.D. Fla.

Aug. 25, 2008)) (alterations in original) (citations and quotations omitted). However, “[t]he

Commissioner has declined to endorse the GAF scale ‘for use in the Social Security and SSI

21

disability programs,’ and has indicated that GAF scores have ‘no direct correlation to the severity

requirements of the mental disorders listings.’” Julien v. Saul, No. 18-23311-CIV, 2020 WL

1326428, at *22 (S.D. Fla. Jan. 30, 2020), report and recommendation adopted, No. 18-23311-

CIV, 2020 WL 1322786 (S.D. Fla. Mar. 20, 2020) (quoting Wind v. Barnhart, 133 F. App'x 684,

692 n.5 (11th Cir. 2005)). In sum, “GAF scores may be helpful in formulating a claimant’s RFC,

but are not essential to the RFC’s accuracy, and an ALJ's failure to describe GAF scores does not

render the ALJ's RFC assessment inaccurate.” Id. (quoting Thornton v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., 597

F. App'x 604, 613 (11th Cir. 2015)); see also Buckwalter v. Saul, No. 18-14506-CIV, 2019 WL

4277487, at *1 (S.D. Fla. Sept. 10, 2019) (noting that a GAF score of 50 to 41 indicates a serious

condition that causes serious impairment of social, occupational, or school functioning, but

explaining that the ALJ expressly and properly excluded them from his analysis as the

Commissioner directed at 65 Fed. Reg. 50745 (Aug. 21, 2000)).

Therefore, based upon the applicable law, this Court finds that the ALJ’s failure to consider

Plaintiff’s low GAF scores does not render the RFC assessment for Plaintiff for the time period

after January 20, 2018 inaccurate.

(b) Whether the ALJ Properly Discounted Plaintiff’s Testimony as to the Severity of His

Symptoms and Ability to Work After January 20, 2018

Next, the Court must determine whether the ALJ properly discounted Plaintiff’s testimony

as to the severity of his symptoms and his ability to work after January 20, 2018. The regulations

require the ALJ to consider specific factors when making credibility determinations. Those factors

include the claimant’s daily activities; the location, duration, frequency and intensity of pain and

other symptoms; precipitating and aggravating factors; the type, dosage, effectiveness and side

effects of any medications; treatment other than medication; and any other measures to reduce pain

22

or other symptoms. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1529(c)(3). The ALJ must provide specific reasons for his

credibility determination and the weight given to subjective statements, which must be supported

by the record. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1529(c)(4) (noting that subjective complaints are evaluated in

relation to other evidence).

In the ALJ’s decision, he found Plaintiff’s hearing testimony to be credible and consistent

with the record evidence for the time period between December 20, 2016, and January 19, 2018.

[R. 29]. However, the ALJ found Plaintiff’s hearing testimony—elicited at the very same

hearing—to not be completely consistent with the record evidence for the time period starting on

January 20, 2018. [R. 33]. The ALJ did not fully explain this remarkable change in credibility of

Plaintiff, and it seems to have no basis in the record.

The treating physician records from South County paint a much different picture than the

ALJ’s findings in the decision. January 19, 2018—the date the ALJ chose as the last date upon

which Plaintiff was disabled—was the first time Plaintiff went to South County and obtained

medications to treat his diagnosed mental health illness. [R. 376]. However, Plaintiff’s medical

condition did not significantly improve to the point he became not disabled on the day after he

started taking the medications. For example, after he had been on medication for several months,

in August 2018, Plaintiff reported that his symptoms such as hearing voices and seeing visions had

returned, and his Haldol dose was increased by medical personnel at South County. [R. 410-11].

On October 4, 2018, Plaintiff reported that his symptoms had returned and were bothering

him, and his Haldol and Trazodone doses were increased. [R. 424-25]. On November 13, 2018,

Plaintiff reported improvement, but then, on December 11, 2018, Plaintiff reported that his

symptoms, including hearing voices and seeing visions, had gotten bad again. [R. 420, 422].

23

In December 2018, Plaintiff explained during an appointment at South County that he

frequently heard conversations in his head about supernatural things and that the voices also told

him to hurt himself and commit suicide. [R. 420]. Plaintiff’s mother stated that he had been self-

isolating and pacing a lot. [R. 420]. Plaintiff reported that he was having passive thoughts of

suicide at times, but no actual plans. [R. 420]. Plaintiff was prescribed Depakote for the first time,

and he was instructed to continue taking Zyprexa, Trazodone, and Haldol. [R. 420-21].

While, on January 8, 2019, Plaintiff reported he had been taking his medications and had

suffered no major side effects from them, Plaintiff’s Haldol dose was still increased, and he was

instructed to continue taking Zyprexa, Trazodone, and Depakote. [R. 419]. On February 5, 2019,

Plaintiff reported improvement, but his Depakote dose was still increased. [R. 417-18].

The record simply does not support the ALJ’s finding as to Plaintiff’s credibility for the

time period starting on January 20, 2018. While Plaintiff saw some monthly improvements in the

beginning of 2018, it is clear from the record that the improvements were not steadily maintained.

Instead, Plaintiff regressed often. The ALJ noted that the medical record’s abnormal findings

support a long-standing debilitating condition of Plaintiff. [R. 29]. Although Plaintiff may be able

to perform some “simple and routine tasks” while the medications are effective, the record shows

that that is not always the case.

The record evidence shows that Plaintiff’s functional problems remained even after

his schizophrenia, psychosis, personality disorder, and impulse control disorder were brought

under some semblance of control through the use of medications. The record evidence also

establishes that, for the most part, Plaintiff has struggled with both self-care and social interactions.

He has experienced phases of increased symptoms even as medications seemed to temporarily

24

improve his condition overall. Ultimately, this is for the fact-finder to weigh out, but it is clear that

Plaintiff’s history is more complicated than the ALJ suggests in his decision. The ALJ seems to

have placed great emphasis on those particular factors that suggest normal functional ability as of

January 20, 2018 but without taking into account the full context and without taking into account

those factors that suggest impairment. When the entire record is considered, there is not substantial

evidence which supports a change in Plaintiff’s credibility from pre-January 20, 2018 to post-

January 20, 2018. Upon careful review, this Court does not find the ALJ’s post-January 20, 2018

credibility finding to enjoy sufficient evidentiary support. See Hill v. Berryhill, No. 17-14262-CIV,

2018 WL 6048006, at *9 (S.D. Fla. Nov. 19, 2018).

In light of the fact that the ALJ’s credibility finding for the period beginning on January

20, 2018, is not sufficiently supported by the record, this case is due to be remanded.

(c) Whether the ALJ’s Decision is Supported by Substantial Evidence

Finally, the Court must determine whether the ALJ’s decision is supported by substantial

evidence. The Court finds that the ALJ’s decision is not.

It must first be noted that the ALJ did not find the opinions of the State agency

psychologists persuasive because they were not supported by the medical record and did not seem

to take into account the multiple Baker Act admissions or Plaintiff’s bizarre behavior and

auditory/visual hallucinations. [R. 30]. In other words, the ALJ disagreed with the State agency

psychologists to Plaintiff’s benefit.

The ALJ did find the opinion of Dr. Arias, the psychological consultative examiner, to be

persuasive. [R. 34]. However, Dr. Arias only examined Plaintiff once and never actually treated

him. Moreover, when Plaintiff presented to Dr. Arias for the first and only time on June 17, 2019,

25

Dr. Arias noted that Plaintiff had a “wide-eyed stare.” [R. 448]. Plaintiff reported to Dr. Arias that

he had heard voices as recently as the prior day, wears headphones to block out the voices, is

bullied by the voices, and sees things in the shadows. [R. 449]. Dr. Arias found that Plaintiff would

require supervision in managing personal funds, before concluding, “[a]t this time, Mr. Bellamy

appears to be somewhat stable with psychiatric medications. There are strong indications that

without his medications, he will have severe behavioral decompensation, likely requiring inpatient

hospitalization for stabilization.” [R. 450]. Not only is Dr. Arias’ opinion somewhat internally

inconsistent, but it is inconsistent with the South County records summarized above.

The ALJ’s decision appears to disregard the increased dosage of Haldol and other

prescriptions, as well as the many periods of time when Plaintiff’s symptoms returned. It seems

that the ALJ relied on the opinion of Dr. Arias, who only evaluated Plaintiff once and did not treat

Plaintiff. The ALJ did not properly weigh the evidence on the record from the Plaintiff’s treatment

at South County in relation to Dr. Arias’ opinion.

In sum, the record simply does not support the ALJ’s finding that Plaintiff was no longer

disabled as of the cessation date of January 20, 2018, because Plaintiff experienced “medical

improvement.” See McAulay v. Heckler, 749 F.2d 1500, 1500 (11th Cir. 1985) (“This court has

held that there can be no termination of benefits unless there is substantial evidence of

improvement to the point of no disability.”). The date of January 20, 2018 seems to be an arbitrary

date not supported by substantial evidence. The record does not contain substantial evidence of

Plaintiff’s improvement to the point of no disability as of January 20, 2018.

It should be noted that Dr. Arias did not even examine Plaintiff until June 17, 2019. Even

if the ALJ were correct in putting so much credence in Dr. Arias’ findings, Dr. Arias did not

26

examine Plaintiff while his mental status was cyclically improving and deteriorating from January

2018 through June 2019. His findings are limited to the time of his June 2019 examination of

Plaintiff. Dr. Arias did not take into account the various medications and doses of those

medications that Plaintiff had been prescribed between January 2018 and June 2019.

Additionally, on June 17, 2019, Dr. Arias noted that Plaintiff would decompensate and

likely be hospitalized without his medications. Thus, there is really no evidentiary support

whatsoever for the ALJ’s finding that Plaintiff immediately showed medical improvement to the

point where he was no longer disabled on January 20, 2018, just because he had received

psychiatric medication the previous day. Moreover, it was the ALJ’s burden to prove, in all

relevant respects, that Plaintiff was no longer disabled as of the cessation date. Townsend v.

Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. 6:13-CV-1783-ORL-DAB, 2015 WL 777630, at *3 (M.D. Fla. Feb. 24,

2015). The ALJ failed to meet this burden. Thus, this case is due to be remanded.4

IV. CONCLUSION

In light of the foregoing, it is hereby ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

1. The decision of the Commissioner is REVERSED AND REMANDED pursuant to

4 Neither Dr. Arias nor the ALJ addressed whether Plaintiff, in light of his severe mental impairments, even has the

ability to consistently take his medications. The ALJ’s decision made the finding that, starting on January 20, 2018,

Plaintiff medically improved because Plaintiff had received psychotropic medications at South County. [R. 31]. There

would likely be a significant difference between a mentally ill individual receiving his medications and taking his

medications. According to Dr. Arias, without his medications, Plaintiff will likely have severe behavioral

decompensation, likely requiring inpatient hospitalization for stabilization. [R. 450]. Neither the ALJ nor Dr. Arias

addressed whether or not a by-product or symptom of Plaintiff’s mental disease or defects includes an inability to

consistently take medications. If Plaintiff, due to a mental disease, defect or impairment, does not have the ability to

consistently take his medications, then it would seem that merely making medications available to Plaintiff does not

necessarily render him medically improved. See Melvin v. Berryhill, No. 4:17-CV-00852-LSC, 2018 WL 4489507,

at *5 (N.D. Ala. Sept. 19, 2018) (“The regulations provide that a claimant may be denied benefits for failing to follow

prescribed treatment without good reason.”) (emphasis added); see also 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1530, 416.930. This, of

course, is for the Commissioner to consider upon remand if deemed relevant.

27

sentence four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) for further proceedings consistent with this

opinion.5 Because the Commissioner’s final decision is not based on substantial

evidence, on remand, the Commissioner should reassess the entire record and

reconsider and weigh all available medical records and medical opinion evidence.

2. Based on the agreement of the parties, and without any finding that the ALJ who issued

the August 7, 2019 decision in Plaintiff’s case was biased, defectively appointed, or

otherwise deficient, the case shall be set before a different ALJ upon remand.

3. Accordingly, Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment [DE 31] is hereby

GRANTED, and Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment [DE 35] is hereby

DENIED.

4. The Court specifically finds that this Order, the accompanying Judgment, and the court-

ordered remand to the Commissioner, do not constitute a waiver of any party’s

arguments, challenges, or positions. If necessary, either party may raise any and all

such arguments, challenges, or positions at a later date.6

5. Judgment will be entered separately.

5 The Court finds that remand pursuant to sentence six of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) is not appropriate here. Sentence six

“provides the sole means for a district court to remand to the Commissioner to consider new evidence presented for

the first time in the district court.” Ingram, 496 F.3d at 1267. To be entitled to remand to the Social Security

Administration under sentence six, a claimant must show that “(1) there is new, noncumulative evidence; (2) the

evidence is material ..., and (3) there is good cause for the failure to submit the evidence at the administrative level.”

Gordon v. Soc. Sec. Admin., Comm'r, 625 F. App'x 512, 514 (11th Cir. 2015) (quoting Caulder v. Bowen, 791 F.2d

872, 877 (11th Cir. 1986)). Therefore, sentence six remand is appropriate only in cases where “the district court learns

of evidence not in existence or available to the claimant at the time of the administrative proceeding that might have

changed the outcome of that proceeding.” Ingram, 496 F.3d at 1267 (quoting Sullivan v. Finkelstein, 496 U.S. 617,

626 (1990)). Here, Plaintiff has not made any argument that the new evidence from September 2019 referenced in

footnote 2 is material or that there is good cause for Plaintiff’s failure to properly submit the evidence to the Appeals

Council.

6 The undersigned will consider any future appeal when and if it is filed.

28

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED in Chambers at West Palm Beach, Palm Beach County,

Florida, this 20 day of September, 2021.

WILLIAM THEWMAN

United States Magistrate Judge

29

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.