Opinion

McQuay v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, M.D. Florida
Filed
Dec 21, 2023
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 20.0%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TAMPA DIVISION

LEON MCQUAY,

Plaintiff,

v. Case No.: 8:22-cv-2246-DNF

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL

SECURITY,

Defendant.

OPINION AND ORDER

Plaintiff Leon McQuay seeks judicial review of the final decision of the

Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (“SSA”) denying his claim for

a period of disability and disability insurance benefits. The Commissioner filed the

Transcript of the proceedings (“Tr.” followed by the appropriate page number), and

the parties filed legal memoranda setting forth their positions. As explained below,

the decision of the Commissioner is AFFIRMED under § 205(g) of the Social

Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

I. Social Security Act Eligibility, Standard of Review, Procedural

History, and the Commissioner’s Decision

A. Social Security Eligibility

The law defines disability as the inability to do any substantial gainful activity

by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can

be expected to result in death, or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a

continuous period of not less than twelve months. 42 U.S.C. §§ 416(i), 423(d)(1)(A),

1382c(a)(3)(A); 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1505(a), 416.905(a). The impairment must be

severe, making the claimant unable to do his previous work, or any other substantial

gainful activity which exists in the national economy. 42 U.S.C. §§ 423(d)(2)(A),

1382c(a)(3)(A); 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1505–404.1511, 416.905–416.911.

B. Standard of Review

The Commissioner’s findings of fact are conclusive if supported by

substantial evidence. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). “Substantial evidence is more than a

scintilla and is such relevant evidence as a reasonable person would accept as

adequate to support a conclusion. Even if the evidence preponderated against the

Commissioner’s findings, we must affirm if the decision reached is supported by

substantial evidence.” Crawford v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 363 F.3d 1155, 1158 (11th

Cir. 2004). In conducting this review, this Court may not reweigh the evidence or

substitute its judgment for that of the administrative law judge, but must consider

the evidence as a whole, taking into account evidence favorable as well as

unfavorable to the decision. Winschel v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 631 F.3d 1176, 1178

(11th Cir. 2011) (citation omitted); Foote v. Chater, 67 F.3d 1553, 1560 (11th Cir.

1995); Martin v. Sullivan, 894 F.2d 1520, 1529 (11th Cir. 1990). Unlike findings of

fact, the Commissioner’s conclusions of law are not presumed valid and are

reviewed under a de novo standard. Keeton v. Dep’t of Health & Hum. Servs., 21

F.3d 1064, 1066 (11th Cir. 1994); Maldonado v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 20-14331,

2021 WL 2838362, at *2 (11th Cir. July 8, 2021); Martin, 894 F.2d at 1529. “The

[Commissioner’s] failure to apply the correct law or to provide the reviewing court

with sufficient reasoning for determining that the proper legal analysis has been

conducted mandates reversal.” Keeton, 21 F.3d at 1066.

The Commissioner must follow five steps in evaluating a claim of disability.

20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520, 416.920. At the first step, the Commissioner must determine

whether the claimant is currently engaged in substantial gainful employment. 20

C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(i), (b); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(i), (b). At step two, the

Commissioner must determine whether the impairment or combination of

impairments from which the claimant allegedly suffers is “severe.” 20 C.F.R. §

404.1520(a)(4)(ii), (c); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(ii), (c). At step three, the

Commissioner must decide whether the claimant’s severe impairments meet or

medically equal a listed impairment. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iii), (d); 20 C.F.R.

§ 416.920(a)(4)(iii), (d). If the Commissioner finds the claimant’s severe

impairments do not meet or medically equal a listed impairment, then the

Commissioner must determine whether the claimant has the residual functional

capacity (“RFC”) to perform his past relevant work. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iv),

(e)–(f); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(iv), (e)–(f).

If the claimant cannot perform his past relevant work, the Commissioner must

determine at step five whether the claimant’s RFC permits him to perform other

work that exists in the national economy. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(v), (g),

416.920(a)(4)(v), (g). At the fifth step, there are two ways in which the ALJ may

establish whether the claimant is capable of performing other work available in the

national economy. The first is by applying the Medical Vocational Guidelines, and

the second is by the use of a vocational expert. Phillips v. Barnhart, 357 F.3d 1232,

1239-40 (11th Cir. 2004); Atha v. Comm’r, Soc. Sec. Admin., 616 F. App’x 931, 933

(11th Cir. 2015).

The claimant bears the burden of proof through step four. Atha, 616 F. App’x

at 933. If the claimant meets this burden, then the burden temporarily shifts to the

Commissioner to establish the fifth step. Id.; 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(v), (g); 20

C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)(v), (g). If the Commissioner presents evidence of other work

that exists in significant numbers in the national economy that the claimant is able

to perform, only then does the burden shift back to the claimant to prove he is unable

to perform these jobs. Atha, 616 F. App’x at 993.

C. Procedural History

Plaintiff applied for a period of disability and disability insurance benefits on

May 11, 2020, alleging disability beginning October 1, 2019. (Tr. 84, 189-90).

Plaintiff later amended the alleged onset date to October 31, 2019. (Tr. 15, 44). The

application was denied initially and on reconsideration. (Tr. 84, 92). Plaintiff

requested a hearing and on September 28, 2021, a hearing was held before

Administrative Law Judge Amber Downs (“ALJ”). (Tr. 34-71). On December 22,

2021, the ALJ entered a decision finding Plaintiff had not been disabled from

October 31, 2019, through the date of the decision. (Tr. 15-28). On July 29, 2022,

the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for review. (Tr 1-5).

Plaintiff began this action by Complaint (Doc. 1) filed on October 1, 2022,

and the case is ripe for review. The parties consented to proceed before a United

States Magistrate Judge for all proceedings. (Doc. 11).

D. Summary of ALJ’s Decision

In this matter, the ALJ found Plaintiff meets the insured status requirements

of the Social Security Act through December 31, 2024. (Tr. 17). At step one of the

sequential evaluation, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had not engaged in substantial

gainful activity since October 31, 2019, the alleged onset date. (Tr. 17). At step two,

the ALJ found that Plaintiff had the following severe impairments: “spine disorders

including degenerative disc disease in the cervical and lumbar spine, degenerative

joint disease status-post knee replacement, obesity, neuropathy, and hypertension.”

(Tr. 18). At step three, the ALJ found that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or

combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity of any of

the listed impairments in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1 (20 C.F.R. §§

404.1520(d), 404.1525, 404.1526). (Tr. 18).

Before proceeding to step four, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had the following

RFC:

After careful consideration of the entire record, the

undersigned finds that the claimant has the residual functional

capacity to perform light work as defined in 20 [C.F.R.

§] 404.1567(b) except that the claimant has the residual

functional capacity to perform less than full range of light work

except lifting 20 pounds occasionally and 10 pounds

frequently, carrying 20 pounds occasionally and 10 pounds

frequently, sitting for 6 hours, standing for 6 hours, walking for

6 hours with the ability to push and pull as much as can lift and

carry. He can operate foot controls with right foot frequently,

he can operate foot controls with left foot frequently. He can

operate hand controls with right hand frequently, he can

operate hand controls with left hand frequently. The claimant

can handle items frequently with the left hand, but he has

fingering limitations frequently with the left hand. The

claimant can climb ramps and stairs frequently, never climb

ladders, ropes, or scaffolds, balance frequently, stoop

frequently, kneel frequently, crouch frequently, crawl

frequently. The claimant can work at unprotected heights

occasionally, moving mechanical parts occasionally, in

extreme cold frequently, in vibration occasionally.

(Tr. 19).

At step four, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was not capable of performing

his past relevant work as a material handler, machine maintenance servicer, forklift

operator, and panel board operator. (Tr. 27). At step five, the ALJ found that

considering Plaintiff’s age (49 years old on the alleged disability onset date),

education (at least high school), work experience, and RFC, there were jobs that

existed in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff could perform.

(Tr. 27-28). Specifically, the vocational expert testified that a person with Plaintiff’s

limitations could perform such occupations as:

(1) mail sorter, DOT1 209.687-026, light, SVP 2

(2) parking lot attendant, DOT 915.473-010, light, SVP 2

(3) tap room attendant, DOT 312.677-010, light, SVP 2

(Tr. 28). The ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was not under a disability from October

31, 2019, through the date of the decision. (Tr. 28).

II. Analysis

On appeal, Plaintiff raises two issues:

(1) Whether the ALJ erred in failing to address Plaintiff’s complaints of

frequent urination; and

(2) Whether the ALJ erred in relying on a response from a vocational

witness to an incomplete or vague hypothetical.

(Doc. 13, p. 3, 4).

A. Complaints of Frequent Urination

Plaintiff contends that the ALJ erred in failing to discuss Plaintiff’s complaint

of frequent urination. (Doc. 13, p. 3-4). As Plaintiff points out, at the hearing Plaintiff

responded to a question about whether he goes grocery shopping by stating that he

1 DOT refers to the Dictionary of Occupational Titles.

is diabetic and, “I have to use the bathroom a lot, so I try not to, again, put myself in

situations where I’m going to wet my pants or wet myself up.” (Tr. 63). Plaintiff

acknowledges that there is no testimony or evidence about the frequency of

urination. (Doc. 13, p. 4).

Prior to step four, the ALJ must assess Plaintiff’s RFC, the most he can do

despite his limitations. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a). It consists of a claimant’s

“impairment(s), and any related symptoms, such as pain, [that] may cause physical

and mental limitations that affect what [a claimant] can do in a work setting.” 20

C.F.R. § 404.1545(a). An ALJ will “assess and make a finding about [the claimant’s]

residual functional capacity based on all the relevant medical and other evidence” in

the action. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(e), 404.1545(a)(1), (3). The ALJ must consider

all of a claimant’s medically determinable impairments, including those that are not

“severe.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(2); Schink v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 935 F.3d 1245,

1268 (11th Cir. 2019). “The ALJ makes this determination by considering a

claimant’s physical, mental, and other abilities affected by the impairment.” Id.

(citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(b)-(d)).

Here, Plaintiff argues the ALJ erred by not considering the frequency of

Plaintiff’s need to urinate in assessing Plaintiff’s RFC. Plaintiff cites no medical

records that support Plaintiff this complaint. And, as the Commissioner contends,

Plaintiff informed his doctors that he had no issues with frequent urination. (See Doc.

14, p. 4 (citing Tr. 323,331, 344, 351, 357, 961)). Plaintiff also includes some

medications he takes that could be diuretics, but again, Plaintiff cites no medical

records that support the notion that these medications cause frequent urination issues

for Plaintiff. Without more, substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s decision as to

consideration of Plaintiff’s medically determinable impairments and limitations

from them.

B. RFC Language and Hypothetical to Vocational Expert

Plaintiff argues that the language of the RFC is vague as to Plaintiff’s left hand

and fingering. (Doc. 13, p. 6-7). Plaintiff also argues that the hypotheticals the ALJ

posed to the vocational expert were incomplete and vague as to sitting, standing, and

walking, causing the vocational expert’s testimony to be unreliable. (Doc. 13, p. 7-

8).

Starting with the left hand and fingering, in the RFC, the ALJ found, among

other things: “He can operate hand controls with right hand frequently, he can

operate hand controls with left hand frequently. The claimant can handle items

frequently with the left hand, but he has fingering limitations frequently with the left

hand.” (Tr. 19). Plaintiff argues that the “but” implies that Plaintiff cannot frequently

finger with the left hand. (Doc. 13, p. 6). Alternatively, Plaintiff argues that this

language is confusing. (Doc. 13, p. 6). In the context of the RFC, the ALJ was

discussing limitations for both the right and left hands. (Tr. 19). The ALJ limited the

right hand to frequently for hand controls. But she limited the left hand more by

limiting the left hand to frequently for handling and, in addition, to frequently for

fingering. (Tr. 19). There is no ambiguity in this statement.

Plaintiff also argues that the RFC and hypothetical are vague because the ALJ

limited Plaintiff to sitting for 6 hours, standing for 6 hours, walking for 6 hours. (Tr.

19, 66-67). Plaintiff claims that there are various way to read these limitations. (Doc.

13, p. 7). Plaintiff contends that one way is that he could be on his feet the entire

workday, except for normal breaks. (Doc. 13, p. 7). Another way is that Plaintiff

would be on his feet for a total of 6 hours either standing, walking, or any

combination thereof, but must be able to perform the job sitting, intermittently, the

remaining two hours. (Doc. 13, p. 7).

At step five of the sequential evaluation, the ALJ must determine whether jobs

exist in significant numbers in the national economy that a plaintiff can perform.

Winschel v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 631 F.3d 1176, 1180 (11th Cir. 2011). To make

this determination, an ALJ may obtain the testimony of a vocational expert. Id. For

the vocational expert’s opinion to constitute substantial evidence, “the ALJ must

pose a hypothetical question which comprises all of the claimant’s impairments.” Id.

(citing Wilson v. Barnhart, 284 F.3d 1219, 1227 (11th Cir. 2002)). “If the ALJ

presents the vocational expert with incomplete hypothetical questions, the vocational

expert’s testimony will not constitute substantial evidence.” Jacobs v. Comm’r of

Soc. Sec., 520 F. App’x 948, 950 (11th Cir. 2013). But an ALJ is not required to

include findings in the hypothetical that the ALJ found to be unsupported by the

record. Lee v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 448 F. App’x 952, 953 (11th Cir. 2011) (citing

Crawford v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 363 F.3d 1155, 1161 (11th Cir. 2004)).

The Court agrees with the Commissioner that these limitations mirror

limitations for light work, which require standing, walking, or both, for up to six

hours throughout the workday, citing SSR 83-10, 1983 WL 31251, at *6. (Doc. 14,

p. 6). So even if the ALJ found that Plaintiff could stand and walk for 12 hours –

which seems highly unlikely – the jobs listed by the vocational expert are jobs at the

light exertional level, thereby requiring standing, walking, or both, for up to six

hours in an 8-hour workday.

Plus, the Court also agrees with the Commissioner that there was no indication

at the hearing that the vocational expert did not understand the ALJ’s hypotheticals.

Nor did Plaintiff’s attorney request clarification from the ALJ or from the vocational

expert. See Pena v. Saul, No. 8:19-cv-2122-T-TGW, 2020 WL 5525628, at *3 (M.D.

Fla. Sept. 15, 2020) (finding no reversible error when counsel should have objected

at the administrative hearing or questioned the vocational expert about the

limitations in the hypothetical posed to the vocational expert) (citing Denomme v.

Comm’r, Soc. Sec. Admin., 518 F. App'x 875, 879 (11th Cir. 2013)); see also Thomas

v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:19-cv-620-J-PDB, 2020 WL 5810219, at *4 (M.D.

Fla. Sept. 30, 2020) (finding no error when Plaintiff failed to provide authority

compelling a more detailed hypothetical to the vocational expert). Thus, substantial

evidence supports the RFC and the hypotheticals posed to the vocational expert.

III. Conclusion

For the reasons discussed above, the Court finds that the decision of the

Commissioner is supported by substantial evidence and the Commissioner applied

the correct legal standard. The decision of the Commissioner is AFFIRMED. The

Clerk of Court is directed to enter judgment consistent with this opinion, terminate

all deadlines, and close the case.

DONE and ORDERED in Fort Myers, Florida on December 21, 2023.

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Copies furnished to:

Counsel of Record

Unrepresented Parties

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.