Opinion

Allen v. First UNUM Life Insurance Company

Court
District Court, M.D. Florida
Filed
Mar 20, 2023
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 19.9%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

FORT MYERS DIVISION

MARCUS ALLEN, M.D.,

Plaintiff,

v. CASE NO. 2:18-cv-69-FtM-99NPM

FIRST UNUM LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY, PROVIDENT LIFE AND

CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANY

and UNUM GROUP,

Defendants.

OPINION AND ORDER

This matter comes before the Court on review of plaintiff’s

Renewed Motion For Judgment as a Matter of Law (Doc. #286) filed

on March 1, 2023. Defendants filed a Memorandum in Opposition

(Doc. #290) on March 14, 2023.

I.

On March 22, 2022, a jury trial began on plaintiff Dr. Marcus

Allen’s (Plaintiff or Dr. Allen) breach of contract claim set forth

in Count I of the Second Amended Complaint. (Doc. #87.) In this

Count, Plaintiff alleged that defendants Provident Life and

Casualty Insurance Company (Provident) and Unum Group (Unum)

(collectively Defendants) breached their obligations under four

individual disability income insurance contracts (the Individual

Policies) when they determined Dr. Allen was no longer totally

disabled from his occupation as a diagnostic radiologist and

terminated his disability income benefits effective August 22,

2015. (Id., p. 29.)

The jury rendered its verdict on March 28, 2022, finding that

Defendants had proven that Dr. Allen was no longer totally disabled

under the Individual Policies as of August 22, 2015. (Doc. #243.)

On February 9, 2023, Judgment was entered in favor of Defendants

as to Count I and Plaintiff took nothing. (Doc. #282.)

Plaintiff made oral and/or written motions for judgment as a

matter of law pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(a) at the appropriate

times during trial. (Docs. ##237-239.) Plaintiff argued that

Defendants did not meet their burden in showing that he was no

longer totally disabled (after August 22, 2015) as defined under

each individual disability insurance policy. The Court denied

Plaintiff’s motions, stating that under the “liberal [motion for

judgment as a matter of law] standard”, a reasonable jury could

render a verdict in Defendants’ favor. (Doc. #241; Doc. #259, pp.

150-51.)

Plaintiff now renews his motion for judgment as a matter of

law as to Count I, arguing that a reasonable jury did not have a

legally sufficient basis to find in favor of Defendants, and

therefore the Court should enter judgment in favor of Plaintiff

notwithstanding the verdict. (Doc. #286, pp. 1-3.) Defendants

respond that Plaintiff’s renewed motion should be denied because

Plaintiff has failed to overcome Rule 50(b)’s onerous requirements

for overturning a jury’s verdict. (Doc. #290, p. 1.) For the

reasons set forth below, the Court agrees with Defendants and

denies Plaintiff’s motion.

II.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 50(b) allows a party to renew

a motion for judgment as a matter of law made pursuant to Rule

50(a) following entry of a jury verdict. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b).

Rule 50(b) provides, in pertinent part:

(b) If the court does not grant a motion for judgment as

a matter of law made under Rule 50(a), the court is

considered to have submitted the action to the jury

subject to the court's later deciding the legal

questions raised by the motion. . . . In ruling on the

renewed motion, the court may:

(1) allow judgment on the verdict, if the jury returned

a verdict; (2) order a new trial; or (3) direct the entry

of judgment as a matter of law.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b).

A renewed motion under Rule 50(b) must be based on the same

grounds as the earlier Rule 50(a) motion. Connelly v. Metro.

Atlanta Rapid Transit Auth., 764 F.3d 1358, 1363 (11th Cir. 2014).

When considering a Rule 50(b) motion, the Court determines whether

the record — viewed in the light most favorable to the prevailing

party — points so overwhelmingly in favor of the opposing side

that the jury's verdict cannot stand. Yates v. Pinellas Hematology

& Oncology, P.A., 21 F.4th 1288, 1298 (11th Cir. 2021). “Stated

differently, the verdict will be set aside only if no reasonable

jury could have arrived at it.” Id. Where there is substantial

evidence in the trial record that would allow reasonable minds to

reach different conclusions, judgment as a matter of law is not

appropriate. Mee Indus. v. Dow Chem. Co., 608 F.3d 1202, 1211

(11th Cir. 2010). The Court does not weigh the evidence or make

credibility determinations in determining such a renewed motion.

Brown v. Ala. Dept. of Transp., 597 F.3d 1160, 1173 (11th Cir.

2010).

In the renewed Motion, Plaintiff argues that the jury was

instructed as a matter of law “that Dr. Allen adequately performed

his obligations under the terms of the four Individual Policies

through August 22, 2015” and because Dr. Allen was “totally

disabled”1 under each of the Individual Policies, he received

disability benefits prior to and through August 22, 2015. (Doc.

#286, p. 3.) Plaintiff asserts, however, that Defendants failed

to present any evidence showing that after August 22, 2015 he was

no longer suffering from the same “sickness”, i.e., glare and

1 The jury was instructed that Policies 1, 2, and 3 define

“Total Disability” as when “due to “Injuries or Sickness: you are

not able to perform the substantial and material duties of your

occupation; and you are under the care and attendance of a

Physician.” (Doc. #235, p. 8.) As to Policy 4, the jury was

instructed that the definition of “Total Disability” is “Injuries

or Sickness: you are not able to perform the substantial and

material duties of your occupation; and you are receiving care by

a Physician which is appropriate for the condition causing the

disability.” (Id., pp. 8-9.)

floaters in both of his eyes that obstructed his vision, which

rendered him totally disabled as a matter of law prior to August

22, 2015. Rather, Plaintiff argues that the testimonial evidence

offered by both sides confirmed Dr. Allen continued to suffer from

the same “sickness” that rendered him unable to perform the

substantial and material duties of his occupation as a radiologist.

(Id., pp. 3-8.) Plaintiff also argues that the evidence presented

regarding the possible effects of vitrectomy surgery on his eyes

was insufficient to demonstrate he was no longer totally disabled.

(Id., pp. 8-9.) Plaintiff therefore concludes that because a

reasonable jury did not have a legally sufficient basis to find

for Defendants, the Court should enter judgment in his favor

notwithstanding the verdict. (Id., p. 3.)

Defendants respond that the ultimate question presented at

trial was one of credibility – i.e., did Dr. Allen’s eye condition

(floaters) prevent him from performing his occupation as a

radiologist? – which the jury determined was not the case. (Doc.

#290, p. 2.) Defendants point to various record evidence which

showed Dr. Allen’s floaters existed many years prior to his

disability claim, that his own treating physicians found Dr.

Allen’s complaints to be inexplicable or exaggerated, and that Dr.

Allen elected not to undergo a vitrectomy to correct his vision.

(Id., pp. 3-5.) According to Defendants, the jury weighed the

evidence and chose not to believe that Dr. Allen continued to be

disabled from the floaters such that he could not perform his

former occupation. Because the jury’s verdict was well-supported,

Defendants assert that Plaintiff’s motion should be denied.

As typical in a jury trial, contradictory evidence was

presented to the jury and required the jury to make factual

determinations to resolve the conflicting evidence. Indeed, the

jury was presented evidence from Drs. Kay, Hoepner, and DiLoreto

about the ongoing existence of floaters in Dr. Allen’s eyes. On

the other hand, the jury also considered evidence from Drs. Andrew

and Schwartz that implied Dr. Allen’s subjective complaints about

the severity of his symptoms were “out of proportion” and

inexplicable. While Plaintiff argues that no evidence showed that

he was no longer suffering from the same sickness that rendered

him totally disabled, the jury had sufficient evidence to

reasonably conclude otherwise. Viewing the evidence and inferences

in a light most favorable to Defendants in accordance with Rule

50(b), the Court denies Plaintiff’s motion.

Accordingly, it is now

ORDERED:

1. Plaintiff’s Renewed Motion For Judgment as a Matter of Law

(Doc. #286) is DENIED.

DONE AND ORDERED at Fort Myers, Florida, this 20th day of

March, 2023.

Z tivo

JGH E. STEELE

5 IOR UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies:

Counsel of record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.