Opinion

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company v. Liebowitz

Court
District Court, M.D. Florida
Filed
Mar 21, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 19.9%

“[A] fundamental requirement necessary for rescission of a contract is that the moving party has no adequate remedy at law.”

How later courts described this case

  • “[A] fundamental requirement necessary for rescission of a contract is that the moving party has no adequate remedy at law.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

FORT MYERS DIVISION

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

v. Case No: 2:20-cv-276-JES-MRM

FRED A. LIEBOWITZ,

Defendant.

OPINION AND ORDER

This matter came before the Court on March 2 through 4, 2022,

for a bench trial concerning two issues remaining after

consideration of cross motions for summary judgment. The Court

heard testimony from Dr. Fred Liebowitz, Jamie Frederick, John

Dieguez, William Whitney, Theresa Woods, and Ronald Graff.1 The

Court also received a number of exhibits from both sides and heard

closing arguments from counsel. Both parties also filed post-

trial memorandum and/or trial briefs. (Docs. ## 118, 119, 120.)

As required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 52, the Court makes findings of

fact and conclusions of law as set forth below.

I.

1 The testimony of Woods and Graff were submitted through

deposition designations by the parties. (Pl. Ex. 131; Def. Ex.

48.) At the bench trial, Plaintiff objected to the admission of

Graff’s deposition testimony on relevance grounds. Plaintiff’s

objection is overruled.

In its Complaint, plaintiff Metropolitan Life Insurance

Company (MetLife) seeks court-ordered recission of defendant Dr.

Fred Liebowitz’s (Dr. Liebowitz) disability insurance policy (the

Policy). Specifically, MetLife seeks a Court order “rescinding

the Policy, and declaring that Liebowitz has no right, title, or

interest in the Policy.” (Doc. #1, Prayer for Relief.) In his

Third Amended Counterclaim, Dr. Liebowitz asserts two

interconnected counterclaims seeking reinstatement of the Policy

and payment of benefits under the Policy. (Doc. #58.)

Discovery and trial in this matter were bifurcated. The first

(current) phase will determine the insurance coverage issue, i.e.,

whether there is an enforceable Policy between Dr. Liebowitz and

MetLife or whether MetLife can properly rescind the Policy. If

coverage is established, the second phase is intended to address

what, if any, benefits are due to Dr. Liebowitz under the Policy.

In a prior Opinion and Order (Doc. #103) resolving cross-

motions for summary judgment, the Court denied Dr. Liebowitz’s

motion for summary judgment in its entirety. As to MetLife’s

motion, the Court granted partial summary judgment in favor of

MetLife on the first, second, and fourth components of the fraud

elements of MetLife’s rescission claim. The Court also granted

partial summary judgment in favor of MetLife on Dr. Liebowitz’s

First, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, and Eighth Affirmative

Defenses. Additionally, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(g), the

Court found that the following material facts were not genuinely

in dispute and treated them as established for the coverage

determination in this case:

1. Dr. Liebowitz made false statements

concerning material facts when answering

Questions 5(i) and 17 in the Application.

2. Dr. Liebowitz knew the representations he

made when answering Questions 5(i) and 17 in

the Application were false.

3. MetLife was consequently injured when

acting in reliance of Dr. Liebowitz’s

misrepresentations.

4. The Policy includes the provision set forth

in Fla. Stat.§ 627.607(1).

5. Dr. Liebowitz was not assisted by a MetLife

insurance agent when filling out the

Application.

6. MetLife put Dr. Liebowitz on notice of its

intent to rescind the Policy based on Dr.

Liebowitz’s alleged fraud.

7. MetLife relied on the statements made by

Dr. Liebowitz in his Application in 2015 and

did not investigate his answers until after

Dr. Liebowitz filed his claim.

(Doc. #103, p. 33.)

The two primary remaining issues to be resolved in the bench

trial are whether MetLife established by a preponderance of the

evidence that: (1) Dr. Liebowitz made the false statements on the

insurance application with fraudulent intent, and (2) MetLife

rescinded the Policy within a reasonable period of time. The Court

finds, for the reasons set forth below, that Dr. Liebowitz did

have such fraudulent intent and that MetLife did rescind the Policy

within a reasonable period of time.

II.

Much of the evidence presented at trial was repetitious of

the evidence presented in connection with the summary judgment

motions. The parties previously submitted a “Statement of

Undisputed Issues of Fact” in the Joint Pretrial Statement (Doc.

#97, pp. 6-11). It continues to be the case that “[b]oth parties

contend that the facts are essentially undisputed . . .” (Doc.

#97, p. 11), although the conclusions they draw from the facts

vary greatly. The Court finds the following facts have been proven

by at least a preponderance of the evidence:

A. DOH Investigations and Complaints

For approximately 30 years Dr. Liebowitz has been a pain

management physician, and at all relevant times ran a pain

management clinic in the Fort Myers, Florida area. (Doc. #97, ¶

9(1)). Dr. Liebowitz’s primary source of income was treating

patients for pain and prescribing narcotics. (Id. ¶ 9(3).) Dr.

Liebowitz is not board certified.

By a personally delivered letter dated May 10, 2010, the

Florida Department of Health (DOH) notified Dr. Liebowitz that it

was conducting a confidential investigation of a complaint filed

against him in connection with the medical care he provided to

different patients. (Id. ¶ 9(10); Pl. Ex. 12.) Dr. Liebowitz

notified his malpractice insurance carrier of the DOH

investigation, and his carrier hired attorney William Whitney (Mr.

Whitney) to represent Dr. Liebowitz. (Doc. #97, ¶ 9(12).) Around

this same time, the DOH initiated two additional investigations

against Dr. Liebowitz, relating to his care of approximately

thirteen patients. (See Pl. Ex. 98D (describing cases).)

The DOH proceeded with the three confidential investigations

until early 2013. Dr. Liebowitz testified that, from his point of

view, the three investigations appeared largely dormant during

these years, which he attributed to weakness of the cases.

Starting in January 2013,2 after a panel of the DOH found

probable cause, the DOH filed and served Dr. Liebowitz with three

separate Administrative Complaints (the “DOH Complaints”) alleging

substandard medical care was provided to certain patients. (Doc.

#97 ¶ 9(11); Pl Ex. 27.) The DOH Complaints alleged that on many

occasions Dr. Liebowitz improperly prescribed pain killers to

patients, including one incident where a patient subsequently died

from drug overdose. The DOH Complaints requested that the Board

2 The Court’s Opinion and Order granting partial summary

judgment (Doc. #103) stated “in 2010 and 2011” the Administrative

Complaints were filed. As pointed out during the bench trial,

this was incorrect. Dr. Liebowitz was served with confidential

notices from the DOH that they were investigating his license in

2010 and 2011. (Pl. Ex. 12.) The official Administrative

Complaints were filed and became available in public record in

2013 and 2014. This correction is not material to the Court’s

summary judgment Opinion and Order.

of Medicine impose penalties on Dr. Liebowitz, including

revocation or suspension of his medical license, restrictions on

his medical practice, fines, reprimands, probation, corrective

action, and remedial education. On February 14, 2013, Dr.

Liebowitz signed an Election of Rights form disputing the facts in

the DOH Complaints and requesting a formal hearing. (Def. Ex.

39.) Dr. Liebowitz testified at trial, and has always maintained,

that he did nothing improper and that the DOH would not be able to

prove otherwise. Dr. Liebowitz testified that, based on the advice

of counsel, he believed that nothing in the DOH allegations was of

sufficient severity to warrant the loss of his medical license.

Throughout the DOH proceedings, from the confidential

complaints to the DOH Complaints, Mr. Whitney kept Dr. Liebowitz

apprised of significant developments. (Doc. #97, ¶ 9(13).) Dr.

Liebowitz testified that he worked hard to defend himself against

the DOH’s allegations with counsel, painstakingly reviewing

medical records and expert opinions, because he felt he had done

nothing wrong. Dr. Liebowitz stayed current on matters related to

the DOH Complaints because the proceedings were important to his

medical practice and reputation. Dr. Liebowitz testified that

both he and Mr. Whitney felt Dr. Liebowitz would be successful in

his defense.

In July 2014, the DOH provided Dr. Liebowitz with a proposed

settlement (the 2014 Settlement Agreement) (Pl. Ex. 35) for the

three pending DOH Complaints. Dr. Liebowitz and Mr. Whitney

discussed the proposal in detail. Around this same time, Dr.

Liebowitz was sent another notice from the DOH concerning a fourth,

still-confidential investigation into his medical care of

patients.3 In September 2014, Dr. Liebowitz hired a second

attorney (Allan Grossman4) with his own funds to provide another

review of his cases and to evaluate the 2014 Settlement Agreement.

(Pl. Ex. 98D.)

The proposed 2014 Settlement Agreement contemplated

resolution of Dr. Liebowitz’s three pending DOH Complaints and did

not consider the fourth investigation. The 2014 Settlement

Agreement included a reprimand against Dr. Liebowitz’s medical

license; a “death penalty” provision for Dr. Liebowitz’s

specialized practice, which, if accepted, would have prohibited

Dr. Liebowitz from prescribing controlled substances; the

imposition of a fine and costs; and other non-economic conditions.

Dr. Liebowitz testified he never took this proposal seriously, and

never accepted it.

Dr. Liebowitz did, however, on advice of counsel, take steps

in late 2014 to enhance his settlement negotiation position. Dr.

3 This would ultimately become an official, public DOH

Complaint in late 2015.

4 Mr. Grossman is the former general counsel of the Florida

Board of Medicine.

Liebowitz: (1) hired a risk management consultant to evaluate his

medical practice (Pl. Ex. 98E); (2) took various continuing medical

education courses related to his specialty; and (3) went to

Colorado for a physician’s assessment (Pl. Ex. 98F). Dr. Liebowitz

paid for these services out-of-pocket.

B. MetLife Insurance Application and Policy Issuance

For the prior 10-15 years, Dr. Liebowitz’s regular insurance

agent was Mark Vertich (Mr. Vertich), an independent insurance

broker. Sometime in mid- to late-2014, Dr. Liebowitz spoke with

Mr. Vertich about obtaining disability insurance. Dr. Liebowitz

testified that, several years before speaking with Mr. Vertich

about disability insurance, he had a disability policy with another

insurer for 10-15 years but had let the policy lapse for several

years before seeking the MetLife policy. Dr. Liebowitz decided

that, considering his current family situation, he had made a

mistake in letting the policy lapse. It is unclear why Dr.

Liebowitz or Mr. Vertich chose to pursue a MetLife policy, since

at the time Mr. Vertich was not an authorized broker for MetLife.

In any event, on January 30, 2015, Dr. Liebowitz and Mr.

Vertich sat at a kitchen table at Dr. Liebowitz’s office to fill

out MetLife’s 11-page application (the “Application”) (Pl. Ex. 3)

and 2-page Health Questionnaire Supplement (Pl. Ex. 6) for

disability insurance. Mr. Vertich read Dr. Liebowitz the questions

on the Application and Supplement, Dr. Liebowitz dictated his

responses to Mr. Vertich, Mr. Vertich transcribed the information,

and Dr. Liebowitz signed the document. There were no instructions

provided with the Application and Mr. Vertich did not provide any

instruction to Dr. Liebowitz. Dr. Liebowitz assumed MetLife wanted

an applicant to be truthful and honest and to fill out everything

to the best of their knowledge. Indeed, the Application provides

that all answers are “to the best of [his] knowledge and belief.”

(Pl. Ex. 3, p. 6.) Dr. Liebowitz testified that the information

in the Application was transcribed correctly by Mr. Vertich. The

total process to complete the Application took 10-15 minutes.

The Application included the following two relevant questions

and answers:

Question 5(i): Are you aware of any fact that

could change your occupational status or

financial stability? If YES, please give

details below.

Answer: No [box checked].

***

Question 17: Have you EVER had a professional

license suspended, revoked, or is such license

under review or have you ever been disbarred?

If YES, give details below.

Answer: No [box checked].

(Id. pp. 1, 5.) Dr. Liebowitz maintains to this day that these

answers were truthful. Prior to issuing the Policy, MetLife made

no investigation to determine the accuracy of Dr. Liebowitz’s

answers to the two questions in the Application, relying solely on

his answers. (Doc. #97, ¶ 9(8).)

MetLife processed Dr. Liebowitz’s Application and issued the

Policy between April 16 and May 3, 2015. (Doc. #97, ¶ 9(4); Pl.

Ex. 1.) The Policy was backdated to March 6, 2015 to preserve Dr.

Liebowitz’s age (54 years old at the time of his Application).

(Pl. Ex. 1, p. 3.) Between May 3 and 4, 2015, the Policy was

delivered to Dr. Liebowitz, who signed an Amendment to the

Application which affirmed that “there [were] no facts or

circumstances which would require a change in the answers in the

application” and that “[t]o the best of my knowledge and belief,

the statements and answers in the application as amended by this

form are true and complete as of the date this form is signed.”

(Pl. Ex. 9.)

The Policy itself is an occupational disability insurance

policy. (Pl. Ex. 1.) MetLife issues this type of insurance policy

to high-wage earners, such as lawyers and doctors, like Dr.

Liebowitz. Occupational disability insurance policies are

designed to protect a wage-earner’s income should the insured be

unable to work because of a disability. The Policy provides for

both total disability and residual disability benefits. (Id. p.

3.) If Dr. Liebowitz was ever found to be totally disabled under

the Policy, he would receive $16,550 per month in benefits.

C. Resolution of the DOH Complaints

Returning to Dr. Liebowitz’s DOH proceedings, the intensity

of the proceedings seemed to ebb and flow over the years, sometimes

with greater interest and activity than at other times. By March

2016, although Dr. Liebowitz continued to maintain his innocence,

Dr. Liebowitz advised Mr. Whitney of his willingness to negotiate

a settlement. (Pl. Ex. 99.) However, there is nothing to indicate

Dr. Liebowitz and the DOH talked settlement in 2016 and Mr. Whitney

testified that the proposed 2014 Settlement Agreement remained on

the table. By 2017 Dr. Liebowitz felt that a perceived opioid

epidemic caused the narcotics prescription practices of physicians

to receive closer scrutiny. But the DOH proceedings remained

relatively quiet. Finally, in December 2017 the Sun-Sentinel

described Dr. Liebowitz’s DOH Complaints in an on-line article

titled “Dangerous doctors, Pain pill docs keep prescribing despite

state charges.” (Pl. Ex. 40.) This publication and other

pressures about the length of Dr. Liebowitz’s DOH proceedings

appeared to create renewed interest in the DOH prosecuting Dr.

Liebowitz’s cases.

By 2018, the DOH amended the DOH Complaints, reduced the

scope of the allegations (Pl. Ex. 115B) to 16 counts, and told Mr.

Whitney they were willing to administratively try those counts.

As this new prosecution progressed, Mr. Whitney’s evaluation of

the cases began to change, recognizing that it would be difficult

for Dr. Liebowitz to be successful on all 16 counts. (Pl. Ex.

45.) Dr. Liebowitz became focused on the three-strike rule, under

which his medical license could be threatened if the administrative

judge found three violations of the standard of care. Also, Dr.

Liebowitz’s defense funds available through his malpractice

insurer were beginning to run low, and the anticipated costs of

defending himself were significant. By August 2018 these

circumstances caused Dr. Liebowitz and his attorney to engage in

extensive discussions regarding settlement. (Id.)

On September 11, 2018, pursuant to the advice of counsel, Dr.

Liebowitz entered into a settlement agreement (the 2018 Settlement

Agreement) with the DOH. (Doc. #97, ¶ 9(15); Pl. Ex. 60.) The

Board of Medicine approved the 2018 Settlement Agreement at a

hearing on December 7, 2018 and issued a Final Order approving the

2018 Settlement Agreement on December 18, 2018. The Clerk of the

Department of Health docketed the Final Order on December 20, 2018.

(Pl. Ex. 60.) Among other things, the Final Order issued a

reprimand against Dr. Liebowitz’s medical license, restricted his

DEA license and his ability to prescribe any controlled substance

until he complied with certain requirements, imposed a fine and

costs, and imposed other non-economic conditions. (Id.) Despite

the settlement, Dr. Liebowitz testified at trial that to this day

he feels he did everything properly and within the required

standard of care.

D. Dr. Liebowitz’s Insurance Claim

In September 2018, when Dr. Liebowitz was filling out the

health section of a life insurance policy application with Mr.

Vertich, he discussed difficulties with his left ankle arising

from October-November 2014.5 Mr. Vertich reminded Dr. Liebowitz

of his Policy with MetLife, but Dr. Liebowitz did not perceive

himself as disabled at the time and was uncertain whether he wanted

to file a claim. Nonetheless, on September 17, 2018, Mr. Vertich

called MetLife about a disability claim to be filed by Dr.

Liebowitz. (Pl. Ex. 48.)

The next day, MetLife sent Dr. Liebowitz a letter enclosing

an initial claim form. (Pl. Ex. 49.) On October 22, 2018, Theresa

Woods,6 a MetLife claims adjuster, spoke with Mr. Vertich on the

phone about the potential claim by Dr. Liebowitz. (Pl. Ex. 54.)

On November 15, 2018, not having heard from Dr. Liebowitz or Mr.

Vertich, Ms. Woods followed-up with Dr. Liebowitz regarding his

potential claim. (Pl. Ex. 55.) On that same day, Ms. Woods placed

the Sun-Sentinel article into Dr. Liebowitz’s claim file. (Pl.

5 Dr. Liebowitz testified at trial that he began experiencing

ankle pain in late 2014. In his claim form, Dr. Liebowitz wrote

that he began experiencing ankle pain in late 2015 and his

disabling condition began in January 2016. (Pl. Ex. 61.) In his

counterclaim, Dr. Liebowitz states his disabling condition from

ankle pain began in July 2017. (Doc. #58, ¶ 38.)

6 In certain documents submitted as evidence, Theresa Woods

is seen by her maiden name, Theresa First. The Court will

consistently use Theresa Woods.

Ex. 40.) On November 29, 2018, Ms. Woods placed a DOH license

verification printout from the DOH website into the claim file.

(Pl. Ex. 57.) On December 14, 2018, after not receiving a claim

form, Ms. Woods again reached out to Dr. Liebowitz concerning his

potential claim. (Pl. Ex. 58.)

On December 18, 2018, Dr. Liebowitz submitted his initial

claim form for residual disability benefits to MetLife. (Pl. Ex.

61.) In the form, Dr. Liebowitz indicated that his disabling

condition (ankle injury) which entitled him to residual disability

benefits began on January 4, 2016. Dr. Liebowitz attached a

detailed handwritten statement to the claim form which indicated

he wanted have ankle surgery in early 2019 and secure a temporary

physician (locum tenens) to help cover his practice while he was

off his feet. (Id.) Dr. Liebowitz did not disclose in his claim

form that he also intended to hire a temporary physician to

prescribe pain medication in early 2019 because of the restrictions

on his DEA license from the 2018 Settlement Agreement. Dr.

Liebowitz testified that he hoped to get ankle surgery done in

early 20197 because he already knew he would have coverage for his

practice due to the DEA restrictions.

E. MetLife’s Claim Processing and Rescission

7 Dr. Liebowitz ultimately had successful ankle surgery in

April 2021.

Ms. Woods then began formally processing Dr. Liebowitz’s

claim. The evidence showed the following timeline:

Date Occurrence

December 18, 2018 Dr. Liebowitz submitted his initial claim

form. (Pl. Ex. 61.)

December 28, 2018 Ms. Woods printed, and included in the claim

file, two documents from Dr. Liebowitz’s DOH

public profile which showed information about

the DOH Complaints and 2018 Settlement

Agreement. (Pl. Ex. 62; Def. Ex. 20.)

January 9, 2019 Ms. Woods sent Dr. Liebowitz a status letter

that described the Policy, requested certain

financial and medical records from him, and

explained that his almost three-year delay in

filing the claim may necessitate more time to

evaluate the claim. (Def. Ex. 21.)

February 8, 2019 Ms. Woods sent Dr. Liebowitz another status

letter requesting additional information and

informing Dr. Liebowitz that a field

representative would be meeting with him.

(Def. Ex. 22.)

March 8, 2019 Ms. Woods sent a status letter to Dr.

Liebowitz. (Def. Ex. 23.)8

May 3, 2019 Ms. Woods sent a status letter to Dr.

Liebowitz. (Def. Ex. 24.)9

Late May to early Ms. Woods went on maternity leave and Jamie

June 2019 Frederick was assigned to Dr. Liebowitz’s

claim. Mr. Frederick begins to focus on the

DOH medical license issue.

8 In the various status letters, Ms. Woods described the

medical, financial, and occupational records she was collecting,

or still needed from Dr. Liebowitz, to process his claim. None of

the status letters from Ms. Woods sought information from Dr.

Liebowitz about the DOH Complaints.

9 See fn. 8.

June 7, 2019 Mr. Frederick spoke to Dr. Liebowitz on the

phone, provided a status update, and inquired

about the DOH proceedings. (Pl. Ex. 71.)

June 8, 2019 Mr. Frederick sent a follow-up status letter

to Dr. Liebowitz and requested additional

information about the DOH Complaints. (Def.

Ex. 25.)

July 19, 2019 Mr. Frederick met with in-house counsel to

discuss the DOH Complaints and possible

impact on Dr. Liebowitz’s claim adjudication.

August 8, 2019 Mr. Frederick sent another status letter to

Dr. Liebowitz. (Def. Ex. 28.)

August 8, 2019 Mr. Frederick requested information from the

DOH about Dr. Liebowitz’s DOH proceedings

since 2014. (Pl. Ex. 73.) The DOH quickly

responded. (Pl. Ex. 74.)

Early August 2019 Mr. Frederick sent a referral to MetLife’s

underwriting department to determine whether

there were issues with the Application based

on the information in MetLife’s possession.

August 20, 2019 Linda Castonguay executed a Referral to

Underwriter, which described the possible

material misrepresentations in the

Application. (Pl. Ex. 77.) Ms. Castonguay

pointed out issues with Dr. Liebowitz’s

medical disclosures. (Id.) Ms. Castonguay

also stated that, had MetLife known of the

DOH Complaints and medical licensing issues,

MetLife would not have issued the Policy.

(Id.) Ms. Castonguay only mentioned Question

17, not Question 5(i), in support of her

finding.

October 10, 2019 Without any response from Dr. Liebowitz to

the June 8th or August 8th letters, Mr.

Frederick sent Dr. Liebowitz a letter (Def.

Ex. 29) describing MetLife’s concern with

answers to Application Questions 5(i) and 17

because Dr. Liebowitz did not disclose the

DOH proceedings and requested an explanation

for the failure to disclose. (Id.)

October 24, 2019 Dr. Liebowitz responded, through counsel, and

asserted his belief that he did not need to

disclose the DOH proceedings on the

Application because:

1. It was his understanding and belief

and remains the same that [he] did

not [sic] believe in good faith

that any proceedings would have

changed his occupational status or

financial stability and, in fact,

the administrative proceeding

ended without any admission of

wrongdoing on Dr. Liebowitz’s part

whatsoever; and

2. His license was neither suspended

nor revoked nor was he ever

“disbarred” as a result of any

proceeding.

(Pl. Ex. 79.)

October 29, 2019 Mr. Frederick requested additional

information from counsel about the possible

medical misrepresentations in the

Application. (Pl. Ex. 79A.)

December 2, 2019 After receiving an extension of time (Pl.

Exs. 79B, 79C, 80), Dr. Liebowitz’s counsel

responded (Pl. Ex 79D).

December 3, 2019 Mr. Frederick sent Dr. Liebowitz’s counsel a

letter, confirming receipt of his prior

correspondence and stating that MetLife was

reviewing all information. (Pl. Ex. 79E.)

December 18, 2019 Interested MetLife personnel met to discuss

Dr. Liebowitz’s file and Application.

MetLife ultimately decided to rescind the

Policy. (Pl. Ex. 81.)

December 30, 2019 MetLife sent Dr. Liebowitz, through counsel,

a formal Notice of Rescission, which included

a check representing all premiums paid plus

interest. (Pl. Exs. 82, 83.)

III.

Generally, to succeed on a claim for rescission a plaintiff

must prove the following six elements by a preponderance of the

evidence:

(1) [t]he character or relationship of the

parties; (2) [t]he making of the contract; (3)

[t]he existence of fraud, mutual mistake,

false representations, impossibility of

performance, or other ground for rescission or

cancellation; (4) [t]hat the party seeking

rescission has rescinded the contract and

notified the other party to the contract of

such rescission; (5) [i]f the moving party has

received benefits from the contract, he should

further allege an offer to restore these

benefits to the party furnishing them, if

restoration is possible; [and] (6) [l]astly,

that the moving party has no adequate remedy

at law.

Billian v. Mobil Corp., 710 So.2d 984, 991 (Fla. 4th DCA 1998).

A. Undisputed Elements of Rescission Claim

The existence of four of the six elements is not disputed by

the parties. The “first requirement of a suit for rescission under

Florida law” is that the “parties to the lawsuit lie in contractual

privity.” Thompkins v. Lil’ Joe Records, Inc., 476 F.3d 1294,

1315 (11th Cir. 2007) (citation omitted). The second element of

a rescission claim requires proof that a contract was made between

the parties. Billian, 710 So.2d at 991. It is undisputed that

there was a contract (i.e., the insurance Policy) between MetLife

and Dr. Liebowitz. The Court concludes that MetLife has

established the first and second elements of its rescission claim.

The fifth element of a rescission claim requires MetLife to

prove that it offered to restore any benefits received from Dr.

Liebowitz under the Policy. Billian, 710 So.2d at 991. On

December 30, 2019, MetLife sent Dr. Liebowitz a check representing

all premiums previously paid on the Policy plus interest. (Pl.

Exs. 82, 83.) The Court concludes that MetLife has established

the fifth element of its rescission claim.

The sixth element of a rescission claim requires MetLife to

show that there are no adequate remedies at law. Billian, 710

So.2d at 991. See also Rost Invs., LLC v. Cameron, 302 So. 3d

445, 450 (Fla. 2d DCA App. 2020), review denied, No. SC20-1495,

2021 WL 1402224 (Fla. Apr. 14, 2021) (“Rescission is an equitable

remedy which is only available if the [plaintiffs] have no remedy

at law.” ); Collier v. Boney, 525 So. 2d 971, 972 (Fla. 1st DCA

1988) (“[A] fundamental requirement necessary for rescission of a

contract is that the moving party has no adequate remedy at law.”).

MetLife has no legal remedy, and its only remedy to preclude Dr.

Liebowitz from seeking benefits under the Policy is to rescind the

Policy. The Court concludes that MetLife has established the sixth

element of its rescission claim.

B. Disputed Elements of Rescission Claim

The third and fourth elements of the rescission claim are

strenuously contested by the parties and were the two remaining

issues after the Court’s Order on summary judgment: (1) MetLife’s

grounds for rescission, i.e., Dr. Liebowitz’s intent; and (2)

MetLife’s actual rescission, i.e., whether MetLife rescinded the

policy within a reasonable time period. The Court addresses each

in turn.

(1) Misrepresentations on Insurance Application

The third element of a recission claim requires a plaintiff

to establish a ground for recession, such as the existence of fraud

or false representations. Billian, 710 So.2d at 991. In the

context of the rescission of an insurance policy, “Florida law ...

gives an insurer the unilateral right to rescind its insurance

policy on the basis of misrepresentation in the application of

insurance.” Moustafa v. Omega Ins. Co., 201 So. 3d 710, 714 (Fla.

4th DCA 2016) (citation omitted).

Rescission of an insurance policy because of a misstatement

in the application is governed by Fla. Stat. § 627.409(1), which

provides in relevant part:

(1) Any statement or description made by or on

behalf of an insured or annuitant in an

application for an insurance policy or annuity

contract, or in negotiations for a policy or

contract, is a representation and not a

warranty. Except as provided in subsection

(3), a misrepresentation, omission,

concealment of fact, or incorrect statement

may prevent recovery under the contract or

policy only if any of the following apply:

(a) The misrepresentation, omission,

concealment, or statement is fraudulent or is

material to the acceptance of the risk or to

the hazard assumed by the insurer.

(b) If the true facts had been known to the

insurer pursuant to a policy requirement or

other requirement, the insurer in good faith

would not have issued the policy or contract,

would not have issued it at the same premium

rate, would not have issued a policy or

contract in as large an amount, or would not

have provided coverage with respect to the

hazard resulting in the loss.

Under this statute, “misrepresentations, omissions, concealment of

facts, and incorrect statements on an insurance application will

not prevent a recovery under the policy unless they are either:

(1) fraudulent; (2) material to the risk being assumed; or (3) the

insurer in good faith either would not have issued the policy or

would have done so only on different terms had the insurer known

the true facts.” Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s London v.

Jimenez, 197 So. 3d 597, 601 (Fla. 3d DCA 2016). Even an

unintentional misstatement can constitute grounds for rescission

under the statute if the other statutory elements are satisfied.

Hauser v. Life Gen. Sec. Ins. Co., 56 F.3d 1330, 1334 (11th Cir.

1995), as amended on denial of reh’g (Sept. 15, 1995).

In this case, however, the statutory basis for rescission is

further restricted by two provisions in the Policy. First, the

Policy contains a “Time Limit on Certain Defenses” provision, which

provides: “After 2 years from the issue date, only fraudulent

misstatements in the application may be used to void the policy or

deny any claim for loss incurred or disability starting after the

2-year period.” (Doc. #103, p. 27.)10 Because of the “Time Limit

on Certain Defenses” provision, MetLife may only rescind the Policy

based on fraudulent misstatements. Fla. Stat. § 627.409(1)(a); §

627.607(1). Under Florida law, “there are four elements of

fraudulent misrepresentation: (1) a false statement concerning a

material fact; (2) the representor’s knowledge that the

representation is false; (3) an intention that the representation

induce another to act on it; and (4) consequent injury by the party

acting in reliance on the representation.” Butler v. Yusem, 44

So. 3d 102, 105 (Fla. 2010) (quotation omitted). Following the

Court’s Order on summary judgment, only the third element remains.

(Doc. #103.)

Second, the language used in the Application required Dr.

Liebowitz to affirm that his statements were true “to the best of

his knowledge and belief.” “Where the language an insurance

company chooses in its insurance application shifts the focus from

a determination of truth or falsity of an applicant’s statements

10 The original Policy language did not strictly conform with

Fla. Stat. § 627.607(1). (See Pl. Ex. 1, p. 15.) As detailed in

the Court’s summary judgment order, the Court deemed the Policy to

include the two-year provision of Fla. Stat. § 627.607(1). (Doc.

#103, pp. 24-27.)

to an inquiry into whether the applicant believed the statements

to be true, the applicant’s answers must be assessed in light of

his actual knowledge or belief.” Hauser, 56 F.3d at 1334–35. The

Eleventh Circuit has approved the following test for examining

responses to questions asked according to the applicant’s

knowledge and belief:

The twin qualifiers knowledge and belief]

require that knowledge not defy belief. What

the applicant in fact believed to be true is

the determining factor in judging the truth or

falsity of his answer, but only so far as that

belief is not clearly contradicted by the

factual knowledge on which it is based. In any

event, a court may properly find a statement

false as a matter of law, however sincerely it

may be believed. To conclude otherwise would

be to place insurance companies at the mercy

of those capable of the most invincible self-

deception—persons who having witnessed the

Apollo landing still believe the moon is made

of cheese.

Hauser, 56 F.3d at 1335 (cleaned up); see also Miguel v. Metro.

Life Ins. Co., 200 Fed. App’x. 961, 966 (11th Cir. 2006) (citations

omitted).

So, considering the foregoing law, the Court asks two

questions: (1) Did Dr. Liebowitz intend that MetLife rely on his

false statements in the Application? And, (2) Did Dr. Liebowitz

fail to fill out the Application “to the best of his knowledge and

belief?” Because the Court answers both questions “yes,” the Court

finds that MetLife had grounds to rescind the Policy.

For the first question, the Court already found, and continues

to find, that Dr. Liebowitz knowingly made false statements in the

Application. (Doc. #103, p. 16.) Dr. Liebowitz filled out the

Application with the intent to receive disability insurance

coverage from MetLife. An insurer, like MetLife, is entitled to

rely on the statements in the Application. Nembhard v. Universal

Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., No. 3D20-1383, 2021 WL 3640525, at *3 (Fla.

3d DCA Aug. 18, 2021) (citations omitted) (“An insurance company

has the right to rely on an applicant’s representations in an

application for insurance and is under no duty to inquire further,

unless it has actual or constructive knowledge that such

representations are incorrect or untrue.”). By seeking the

insurance policy and knowingly making false statements on the

Application, Dr. Liebowitz intended for MetLife to rely on his

false statements to obtain the Policy from MetLife. See Philip

Morris USA Inc. v. Principe, 3D20-875, 2021 WL 4302370, at *6 (Fla.

3d DCA Sept. 22, 2021) (citation omitted) (““A false statement in

the abstract, even if knowingly made, does not constitute fraud;

indeed, what makes a false statement fraudulent is the declarant’s

intent that others rely upon it.”). The Court finds that MetLife

has proven that Dr. Liebowitz acted with fraudulent intent when he

completed the Application.

For the second question, despite Dr. Liebowitz’s stated

belief that he answered Questions 5(i) and 17 on the Application

correctly, the circumstantial evidence establishes the contrary.

In 2014, Dr. Liebowitz sought out the MetLife policy with Mr.

Vertich’s assistance, having let a prior disability insurance

policy lapse for several years. Despite the lack of instructions

with the application form, Dr. Liebowitz testified that he

understood the key relevant requirement – that he answer the

questions honestly to the best of his knowledge and belief. Dr.

Liebowitz clearly knew the two questions at issue were relevant

and material, since he was applying for an occupational disability

policy. In January 2015, when Dr. Liebowitz filled out the

Application with Mr. Vertich’s assistance, Dr. Liebowitz’s DOH

proceedings were active: (1) the 2014 Settlement Agreement was

pending and included a serious “death penalty” provision; (2) two

attorneys (one being paid out-of-pocket) were reviewing his cases

and the 2014 Settlement Agreement; and (3) Dr. Liebowitz was taking

active (and expensive) steps to try and improve his negotiation

position with the DOH, including flying to Colorado for a

physician’s assessment in late December 2014. Dr. Liebowitz’s

stated belief is clearly contradicted by his actual knowledge at

the time he filled out the Application.

At trial, Dr. Liebowitz tried to explain his reasoning behind

this belief in part because he did not think he needed to disclose

the DOH proceedings since he was applying for disability insurance

and the DOH proceedings were separate issues. In Dr. Liebowitz’s

view, the Policy only concerned coverage if he became disabled due

to health issues or an accident, and the Policy had nothing to do

with his job or losing his license. The Court does not find Dr.

Liebowitz’s explanation accurate or credible. Dr. Liebowitz was

applying for an occupational disability insurance policy, which

would provide him at most $16,550 per month if he were unable to

work because of a total disability. Dr. Liebowitz’s occupational

information was important to him receiving coverage from MetLife,

including the amount of coverage from MetLife. That is why MetLife

asked him questions about his “occupational status” and

professional license. Dr. Liebowitz did not fill out the

Application “to the best of his knowledge and belief.” Had he

done so, he would have disclosed the DOH proceedings.

Similarly, the Court does not find Dr. Liebowitz’s other

explanations for why he believed he was not required to disclose

the DOH proceedings to be credible in light of the factual events

which were well known to him. While the case is not as tenuous as

the moon-made-out-of-cheese example in Hauser, 56 F.3d at 1335,

Dr. Liebowitz’s stubborn refusal to acknowledge the fact of an

ongoing investigation which could jeopardize his medical license

and his financial stability cannot justify his answers. The Court

finds that when Dr. Liebowitz answered “no” to the two questions,

he did not answer either to the “best of his knowledge and belief.”

Indeed, that Court is satisfied that Dr. Liebowitz did in fact

believe that the DOH proceedings were a review of his medical

license, that he could lose his medical license either temporarily

or permanently, and either such loss would have serious financial

repercussions.

Thus, the Court finds that MetLife has carried its burden of

proving intent by a preponderance of the evidence and that MetLife

has proven all elements of fraudulent misrepresentation. The Court

also finds that Dr. Liebowitz did not fill out the Application to

the best of his knowledge or belief. The Court concludes that

MetLife has establish that it had grounds to rescind the Policy,

the third element of its rescission claim.

Additionally, because MetLife established intent, MetLife is

entitled to judgment on the Second and Third Affirmative Defenses,

the only two defenses which remained following the Court’s Order

on summary judgment (Doc. #103), to the extent those defenses

asserted that MetLife could not rescind the Policy based on Dr.

Liebowitz’s intent.

(2) Rescission and Notice of Rescission

The fourth element of a rescission claim requires MetLife to

prove that it rescinded the Policy and notified Dr. Liebowitz of

the rescission within a reasonable period of time. Billian, 710

So.2d at 991. “An insurer that delays informing its insureds of

a dispute about coverage may find itself estopped from contesting

coverage if the insureds show prejudice resulting from the delay.”

Nat'l Union Fire Ins. Co. of Pittsburgh, Pa. v. Sahlen, 999 F.2d

1532, 1537 (11th Cir. 1993).

[W]hen an insurer has knowledge of the

existence of facts justifying a forfeiture of

the policy, any unequivocal act which

recognizes the continued existence of the

policy or which is wholly inconsistent with a

forfeiture, will constitute a waiver thereof.

While, ordinarily, the insurer is not deemed

to have waived its rights unless it is shown

that it has acted with the full knowledge of

the facts, the intention to waive such rights

may be inferred from a deliberate disregard of

information sufficient to excite attention and

call for inquiry as to the existence of facts

by reason of which a forfeiture could be

declared.

Johnson v. Life Ins. Co. of Ga., 52 So. 2d 813, 815 (Fla. 1951).

An insurer, however, may take a reasonable amount of time to

investigate the facts justifying rescission. “An insurer is not

deemed to have waived its right to contest the validity of an

insurance policy by the acceptance of a premium unless it is shown

that it has acted with full knowledge of the facts. Likewise,

estoppel can only be invoked against an insurer when its conduct

has been such as to induce action in reliance upon it.” Mut. of

Omaha Ins. Co. v. Eakins, 337 So. 2d 418, 419 (Fla. 2d DCA

1976)(citations omitted.)

The timeline from the start of MetLife’s claim processing to

the final decision to rescind the Policy demonstrates that MetLife

took reasonable time to investigate Dr. Liebowitz’s disability

claim and his Application before seeking rescission. On December

28, 2018, shortly after receiving Dr. Liebowitz’s claim form, Ms.

Woods printed off information about the DOH Complaints and the

restriction on Dr. Liebowitz’s medical license. The evidence does

not show that Ms. Woods deliberately disregarded this information,

but was focused elsewhere. Ms. Woods was actively trying to gather

a plethora of information about Dr. Liebowitz’s residual

disability claim which asserted that his work had been impacted

due to an ankle injury since January 4, 2016.11 Ms. Woods was not

looking for possible fraud on the Application. Ms. Woods testified

that she did not even remember the Application questions while

processing the claim.

MetLife was also not required to rely solely on the printouts

from the DOH website to determine that there may have been concerns

with the Application. Mr. Frederick, who took over Dr. Liebowitz’s

file after Ms. Woods left on maternity leave, testified that he

did not understand the information shown on the printouts or the

DOH website.12 Notably, once MetLife started actively

investigating Dr. Liebowitz’s medical license and requested more

11 Dr. Liebowitz’s now contends that his disabling condition

occurred in July 2017. However, at the time he filled out the

Application, he claimed a January 4, 2016 disabling condition.

The start of MetLife’s claim adjudication and ultimate rescission

determination was based on that date.

12 The DOH website further disclaims any accuracy of the

information provided and “strongly urges all users of this site to

conduct their own investigation of any individual.” See

https://www.floridahealth.gov/disclaimer.html.

information from him on June 7-8, 2019, Dr. Liebowitz failed to

respond until October 24, 2019. So, MetLife’s investigation was

stalled, in large part, by Dr. Liebowitz himself.

The Court finds that the time MetLife took to rescind Dr.

Liebowitz’s policy was reasonable. It is also undisputed that

MetLife sent Dr. Liebowitz notice of its rescission on December

30, 2019. The Court concludes that MetLife has established the

fourth element of its rescission claim.

IV.

The Court concludes that MetLife carried its burden and has

proven all six elements of its rescission claim by a preponderance

of the evidence. MetLife is (and was) entitled to rescind the

Policy. The Court declares that Dr. Liebowitz has no right, title,

or interest in the Policy. This resolves both MetLife’s Complaint

(Doc. #1) and Dr. Liebowitz’s Counterclaim I (Doc. #58, p. 18),

which sought reinstatement of the Policy.

Dr. Liebowitz’s Counterclaim II seeks a payment of disability

benefits under the Policy. Because the Court determines that Dr.

Liebowitz is not entitled to enforce the Policy, Dr. Liebowitz

cannot seek relief under the Policy. Counterclaim II is dismissed

with prejudice.

Accordingly, it is now

ORDERED :

1. The Court finds that MetLife has sustained its burden of

proof as to the Complaint (Doc. #1) seeking recission of

the disability insurance Policy. The Court finds that

Dr. Liebowitz has not sustained his burden on his

Counterclaim I (Doc. #58) seeking a declaration that the

Policy is reinstated.

2. MetLife is entitled to judgment in its favor on the

Complaint (Doc. #1), Counterclaim I (Doc. #58), and Dr.

Liebowitz’s First through Eighth Affirmative Defenses

(Doc. #58).

3, Counterclaim II (Doc. #58) is dismissed with prejudice.

4. The Clerk shall enter judgment accordingly and close the

case.

DONE and ORDERED at Fort Myers, Florida, this 21st day of

March, 2022.

pee

□ eh thiol

JQGHN E. STEELE

si IOR UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies:

Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.