Opinion

Langford v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, M.D. Florida
Filed
Jan 17, 2020
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 19.7%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TAMPA DIVISION

MATT LANGFORD,

Plaintiff,

v. Case No. 8:18-cv-2812-T-MAP

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,

Defendant.

______________________________________/

ORDER

This is an appeal of the Social Security Administration’s (SSA) final decision terminating

Plaintiff’s disability insurance benefits (DIB).1 See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Plaintiff argues

substantial evidence does not support the Administrative Law Judge’s (ALJ) determination that he

experienced work-related medical improvement as of January 1, 2013, and is no longer disabled.

Plaintiff also contends the ALJ erred in assessing his residual functional capacity (RFC) for a full

range of light work. After considering Plaintiff’s arguments, Defendant’s response, and the

administrative record, I find the ALJ did not apply the proper standards, and her decision is not

supported by substantial evidence (docs. 13, 25). I remand.

A. Background

On May 31, 2006, when Plaintiff Matt Langford was 34 years old, an ALJ found Plaintiff

disabled due to “uncontrollable insulin-dependent diabetes mellitus and cognitive disorder.” (R.

20) Years later, in accordance with regulations, the agency reevaluated Plaintiff’s entitlement to

benefits, and on January 9, 2013, the agency determined Plaintiff’s disability had ceased on

1 The parties have consented to my jurisdiction. See 28 U.S.C. § 636(c).

1

January 1, 2013. (See R. 18) Although the ALJ (a different ALJ than the one who made the initial

disability determination) upheld this decision after a hearing, the Appeals Council remanded it to

the ALJ. After a second hearing, the ALJ again found that Plaintiff’s disability ended on January

1, 2013, and that Plaintiff has not become disabled again since that date. (R. 18) Plaintiff was 45

years old in January 2018, when the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was no longer disabled and

terminated his benefits. Plaintiff is a high school graduate with one year of community college.

He has past work experience as a roll tender at a paper board converting plant. (R. 47)

In the decision at issue in this appeal, the ALJ concluded Plaintiff had medically improved

since his last comparison point decision (CPD)2 in May 2006, and has the residual functional

capacity (RFC) to perform light work except:

[Plaintiff] is precluded from climbing ladders, ropes and scaffolds, can occasionally

climb ramps and stairs, and frequently balance, stoop, kneel, crouch, and crawl. He

is limited to occasional overhead reaching with the right-upper dominant extremity,

and can only have occasional exposure to extreme cold and heat, humidity, fumes,

dusts, odors, gases, and poor ventilation, as well as occasional exposure to hazards,

such as moving mechanical parts of equipment, tools, or machinery. In addition,

the claimant is limited to understand, carry out, and remember, simple instructions

in two-hour increments, sufficiently enough to complete an eight-hour workday in

an environment that does not have fixed production quotas, and with only

occasional changes in the work setting ad occasional interaction with the general

public.

(R. 24) The ALJ found that, with this RFC, Plaintiff could work as a stock checker, marker, and

office cleaner. (R. 32) Consequently, the ALJ concluded Plaintiff was no longer disabled and

terminated his benefits. The Appeals Council denied review of this second ALJ decision. Plaintiff,

having exhausted his administrative remedies, filed this action.

2 A CPD is the most recent final agency decision holding that the claimant is disabled. The parties

agree the May 2006 decision is the applicable CPD.

2

B. Standard of Review

An ALJ typically follows a five-step sequential inquiry when deciding whether an

individual is disabled. The ALJ must determine whether the claimant (1) is currently employed

or engaging in substantial gainful activity; (2) has a severe impairment; (3) has an impairment or

combination of impairments that meets or medically equals one listed in the regulations; (4) can

perform past relevant work; and (5) retains the ability to perform any work in the national

economy. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. Courts review the Commissioner’s final decisions to determine

if they are supported by substantial evidence and based on proper legal standards. Crawford v.

Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 363 F.3d 1155, 1158 (11th Cir. 2004). Substantial evidence consists of “such

relevant evidence as a reasonable person would accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Id.

(quotations omitted). The claimant bears the burden of persuasion through step four, and at step

five the burden shifts to the Commissioner. Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 146 n.5 (1987).

A claimant’s continued entitlement to disability benefits must be reviewed periodically.

20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(a). And when an ALJ is determining whether a disability has ended, the

regulations mandate following a different sequential inquiry. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(f). This

sequential inquiry requires an ALJ to determine:

(1) Whether the claimant is engaged in substantial gainful activity;

(2) If not gainfully employed, whether the claimant has an impairment or combination of

impairments which meets or equals a listing;

(3) If impairments do not meet a listing, whether there has been medical improvement;

(4) If there has been improvement, whether the improvement is related to the claimant’s

ability to do work;

3

(5) If there is improvement related to a claimant’s ability to do work, whether an exception

to medical improvement applies;

(6) If medical improvement is related to the claimant’s ability to do work or if one of the

first group of exceptions to medical improvement applies, whether the claimant has a

severe impairment;

(7) If the claimant has a severe impairment, whether the claimant can perform past relevant

work; and

(8) If the claimant cannot perform past relevant work, whether the claimant can perform

other work.

See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(f); Gombash v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 566 F. App’x 857, 858-59

(11th Cir. 2014). In a cessation of benefits case, the burden is on the Commissioner to prove that

the claimant is no longer disabled as of the cessation date because the Plaintiff has experienced

“medical improvement.” Olivo v. Colvin, No. 6:16-cv-259-Orl-40JRK, 2017 WL 708743, at *2

(M.D. Fla. Jan. 30, 2017).

C. Discussion

1. Medical improvement

Plaintiff’s first argument is that substantial evidence does not support the ALJ’s decision

that he experienced medical improvement between May 2006 (the date of his CPD), and January

1, 2013 (his disability cessation date). The regulations define medical improvement as “any

decrease in the medical severity of [the claimant’s] impairment(s) which was present at the time

of the most recent favorable medical decision that [he] [w]as disabled . . . .” 20 C.F.R. §

404.1594(b)(1). A finding that there has been a decrease in medical severity “must be based on

changes (improvement) in the symptoms, signs and/or laboratory findings associated with [the

4

claimant’s] impairments.” Id. More specifically, to determine if there has been medical

improvement, the Commissioner must compare the medical evidence supporting the most recent

final decision holding that the claimant is disabled with new medical evidence. McAulay v.

Heckler, 749 F.2d 1500, 1500 (11th Cir. 1985); Klaes v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 499 F. App’x

895, 896 (11th Cir. 2012); see 20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(c)(1). To this end, a CPD is “the most recent

favorable medical decision . . . involving a consideration of the medical evidence and the issue of

whether you were disabled or continue to be disabled which became final.” 20 C.F.R. §

404.1594(b)(7). The regulations require an ALJ to compare a claimant’s CPD with his current

medical condition to determine if there has been medical improvement in the claimant’s

impairments since the CPD and, if so, whether the medical improvement is related to the claimant’s

ability to work. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1594(a), (b)(1).

The Eleventh Circuit has emphasized that a cursory comparison is insufficient; the ALJ

must “actually compare” the new evidence to the evidence upon which the claimant was originally

found to be disabled. Freeman v. Heckler, 739 F.2d 565, 566 (11th Cir. 1984); see also Vaughn

v. Heckler, 727 F.2d 1040, 1043 (11th Cir. 1984). Without a comparison of the old and new

evidence, there can be no adequate finding of improvement. Id. Indeed, the failure to make such

comparison requires reversal and remand for application of the proper legal standard. Id.; see

Klaes, 499 F. App’x at 896 (citing Vaughn and noting that, if the ALJ ails to evaluate the prior

medical evidence and make the comparison to the new evidence, courts must reverse and remand

for application of the proper legal standard).

In Plaintiff’s case, the ALJ failed to engage in the proper comparison of the original

medical evidence and new medical evidence. The ALJ found that “[t]he medical evidence supports

a finding that, by January 1, 2013, there had been a decrease in medical severity of the impairments

5

present at the time of the CPD.” (R. 22) The ALJ’s mere reference to the CPD in setting forth her

findings does not equate to a comparison of the original medical evidence and the new medical

evidence required to make a finding of medical improvement. See Freeman, 739 F.2d at 566;

Jasper v. Colvin, No. 8:16-cv-727-T-23AEP, 2017 WL 655528, at *4 (M.D. Fla. Jan. 31, 2017)

(report and recommendation), adopted at 2017 WL 638389 (Feb. 16, 2017).

In support of her step three finding, the ALJ primarily relied on post-CPD medical records

dating from 2011 through 2016, despite that Plaintiff’s CPD and many of the records on which it

was based are contained in the current administrative record. The following is the entirety of the

ALJ’s discussion of Plaintiff’s medical improvement:

According to a July 2012 physical examination at Health Now Urgent Care, the

claimant exhibited no neurological deficiencies, including no numbness or tingling

sensations, no tremors, no weakness or imbalance, no burning or lancinating pain

in the feet, no loss of sensation, no paresthesias or peripheral neuropathy, and no

trouble with coordination (Ex.B4F/2). Similarly, records from Gulfcoast Endocrine

and Diabetes Center from January 2013 indicate that a physical exam revealed no

abnormal vascular abnormalities, and no clubbing, cyanosis or edema, and only

absent bilateral Achilles’ sensation (Ex.B13F/3).

With regard to his cognitive disorder, the claimant underwent a psychological

consultative evaluation in January 2013, where he was administered the Wechsler

Memory Scale (WMS-IV) test. While he showed some deficits with short-term

memory, he exhibited some strength on measures of attention and concentration

and delayed memory skills (Ex.B8F/4). Nine months later, the claimant was

evaluated by Dr. Girard P. Sison, where a mental status exam revealed intact

cognition with full orientation, intact memory, and average intellectual functioning.

(R. 22-23) Tellingly, the medical records the ALJ references in this section all post-date Plaintiff’s

CPD by at least six years, belying the Commissioner’s argument that the ALJ conducted a

meaningful review of the old and the new evidence. The only reference to the original medical

evidence I can find is in another section of the ALJ’s decision, where she cites Plaintiff’s 2003

treatment at University Orthopedic Clinic for carpal tunnel syndrome. (R. 23) Unsurprisingly, the

6

ALJ determined this impairment is non-severe – after all, in the CPD, the first ALJ reached this

same conclusion. In the section of her opinion assessing Plaintiff’s RFC, the ALJ states, “[a]s

previously discussed in the prior decision, the evidence of record shows that despite the claimant’s

allegations of continued disability due to his long history of uncontrollable diabetes, progress notes

show that he did not seek regular outpatient treatment, or was otherwise non-compliant with his

prescribed therapy.” (R. 25, emphasis added) In this context, the “prior decision” the ALJ

referenced is her first decision (vacated and remanded by the Appeals Council), not the CPD.3

As Plaintiff points out, the administrative record contains much of the original medical

evidence (doc. 25 at 17-19). Nonetheless, the ALJ does not cite to it. Put differently, at step three,

the ALJ did not substantively compare the prior and current medical evidence to determine whether

it showed changes in the symptoms, signs, or laboratory findings associated with Plaintiff’s

impairments, as required by 20 C.F.R. § 404.1594(c)(1) and Eleventh Circuit precedent.

Accordingly, the Commissioner has not met his burden of proving Plaintiff is no longer disabled.4

Given that the ALJ’s decision did not apply the proper legal standards, the decision of the

Commissioner is reversed and remanded for further administrative proceedings to apply the proper

3 Although the Appeals Council’s remand order did not specifically address the ALJ’s finding in

her first decision that Plaintiff had experienced medical improvement, it vacated the ALJ’s first

decision in its entirety and noted “if the adjudicator determines that the initial medical cessation

was correct, he or she will determine whether the beneficiary has again become disabled at any

time through the date of his or her determination or decision because of a worsening of an existing

impairment or the onset of a new impairment.” (R. 153)

4 The Commissioner suggests it is Plaintiff’s burden to prove his continuing disability (see doc. 25

at 24-25). This is incorrect. “When considering a continuation of termination or cessation of

benefits, . . . the burden is on the Commissioner to prove to prove the claimant is no longer disabled

as of the cessation date because the Plaintiff had experienced ‘medical improvement.’” Townsend

v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 6:13-cv-1783-Orl-DAB, 2015 WL 777630, at *3 (M.D. Fla. Feb. 24,

2015).

7

legal standards in determining whether Plaintiff experienced medical improvement. I need not

address Plaintiff's second argument that the ALJ erred in assessing his RFC.

D. Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, the ALJ’s decision is not supported by substantial evidence.

It is ORDERED:

(1) The ALJ’s decision is REVERSED AND REMANDED for further

administrative proceedings consistent with this Order; and

(2) The Clerk of Court is directed to enter judgment for Plaintiff and close the case.

DONE and ORDERED in Tampa, Florida on January 17, 2020.

in Beate ff: aaa

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.