Opinion

Casey v. Commissioner of Social Security

Court
District Court, S.D. California
Filed
Feb 7, 2024
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 19.2%

upholding the ALJ’s discounting of a medical opinion because the doctor’s 8 assessment of severe limitations was inconsistent and unsupported by the medical record

How later courts described this case

  • upholding the ALJ’s discounting of a medical opinion because the doctor’s 8 assessment of severe limitations was inconsistent and unsupported by the medical record
  • highlighting that 9 ALJ’s denial of benefits was appropriate where the ALJ showed discrepancies between 10 statements about the “[i]ntensity, persistence, and limiting effects” of plaintiff’s symptoms 11 and the mild to moderate findings found in the medical evidence

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

9 SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

10

11 TANYA C.1, Case No.: 22-CV-653-SBC

12 Plaintiff,

ORDER ON PLAINTIFF’S MOTION

13 v. FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND

DEFENDANT’S CROSS-MOTION

14 KILOLO KIJAKAZI,

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Acting Commissioner of Social Security,

15

[ECF No. 9]

16

Defendant.

17

18

This Action arises from the Commissioner of Social Security’s (“Commissioner” or

19

“Defendant”) denial of Tanya C.’s (“Plaintiff”) application for disability insurance benefits

20

under Title II of the Social Security Act (“Act”). On October 14, 2022, Plaintiff submitted

21

a Motion for Summary Judgment, seeking review of the Commissioner’s final decision

22

denying Social Security benefits and requesting a remand for further administrative

23

proceedings. (Doc. No. 9). On November 18, 2022, Defendant filed a Cross-Motion for

24

25

26

1 Pursuant to Civil Local Rule 7.1(e)(6)(b), “[o]pinions by the Court in [Social Security

27 cases under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g)] will refer to any non-government parties by using only

their first name and last initial.” Civ. L.R. 7.1(e)(6)(b).

28

1 Summary Judgment. (Doc. No. 11). The issue presented is whether the Administrative Law

2 Judge (“ALJ”) erred in assessing the medical opinion of Stephen A. Genet, M.D. Having

3 reviewed and considered the Parties’ submissions and the entirety of the administrative

4 record (“AR”), the Court DENIES Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment and

5 GRANTS Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment.

6 I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

7 On November 1, 2011, Plaintiff filed an application for disability insurance benefits,

8 asserting disability resulting from a stroke and brain hemorrhage with a disability onset

9 date of February 10, 2011. (AR 98, 124.) Plaintiff alleges her disabilities include

10 depression, panic attacks, and agoraphobia, which stem from the stroke and brain

11 hemorrhage she previously suffered. (AR 147.) On April 18, 2012, the Commissioner

12 denied Plaintiff’s initial application for disability insurance benefits. (AR 124.) On

13 December 17, 2012, the Commissioner denied Plaintiff’s request for reconsideration of its

14 initial denial. (Id.) On January 16, 2013, Plaintiff filed a written request for a hearing on

15 her disability insurance benefits application, which the Commissioner granted. (Id.). ALJ

16 James Carletti (“ALJ Carletti”) was appointed to Plaintiff’s administrative case and

17 presided over the hearing on February 28, 2014. (AR 94-119.) ALJ Carletti heard testimony

18 from Plaintiff, Nathan R. Strahl, M.D., Ph.D., an impartial medical expert (“Dr. Strahl”),

19 and Alan E. Cummings, a neutral vocational expert (“VE Cummings”). (Id.) On March 27,

20 2014, ALJ Carletti issued his Notice of Decision (“Decision”) and determined that Plaintiff

21 was disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act due to the combined residual

22 effects from her stroke. (AR 140.) However, ALJ Carletti opined that Plaintiff was only

23 disabled for a short term between February 10, 2011, and June 1, 2012. (Id.)

24 On April 3, 2019, Plaintiff filed a subsequent Title II application for disability

25 insurance benefits, claiming disability beginning on June 28, 2019. (AR 24.) On June 28,

26 2019, the Commissioner denied Plaintiff’s initial application (AR 185.) On August 30,

27 2019, the Commissioner denied Plaintiff’s request for reconsideration. (AR 190-91.) On

28 September 7, 2019, Plaintiff submitted a written request for an administrative hearing. (AR

1 197.) On October 1, 2020, a telephonic hearing was held. (AR 216.) ALJ Andrew Verne

2 (“ALJ Verne”) heard testimony from Plaintiff and Erin M. Welsh, an impartial vocational

3 expert (“VE Welsh”). (AR 63-91.)

4 On February 2, 2021, ALJ Verne presided over a supplemental telephonic hearing.

5 (AR 279.) ALJ Verne heard testimony from Dr. Genet, a neurosurgeon and an impartial

6 medical expert, (“Dr. Genet”) and Kimberly S. Mullinax, an impartial vocational expert

7 (“VE Mullinax”). (AR 47-62.) On March 22, 2021, ALJ Verne issued his Notice of

8 Decision (“Decision”), concluding Plaintiff was not disabled within the meaning of the

9 Social Security Act and denying an award of disability insurance benefits. (AR 40.) On

10 May 13, 2021, Plaintiff petitioned the Appeals Council to review ALJ Verne’s Decision.

11 (AR 302.) On September 9, 2022, the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for

12 review. (AR 1-4.) In doing so, the Appeals Council adopted ALJ Verne’s Decision as the

13 final decision of the Commissioner. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(h). (Id.) On October 14, 2022,

14 having exhausted all administrative remedies, Plaintiff timely brought this Action, seeking

15 judicial review pursuant to Title 42 U.S.C. section 405(g). (See ECF No. 1.)

16 II. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

17 a. Dr. Genet’s Medical Opinion

18 On February 2, 2021, Dr. Genet provided an impartial opinion regarding the

19 Plaintiff’s case. (AR 47-62.) Dr. Genet is a board-certified neurosurgeon trained in

20 neurology who uses neuropsychic techniques to diagnose mental health issues in clients.

21 (AR 1097-1098.) Importantly, Dr. Genet is not a psychologist or psychiatrist. (AR 53.) Dr.

22 Genet examined Plaintiff’s medical records and identified Plaintiff’s severe impairments

23 based on the following information in the administrative record.2 Specifically, Dr. Genet

24

25

26

2 Since 2011, Plaintiff has undergone medical examinations and received treatment from

27 many doctors. However, the issues in this case pertain only to Dr. Genet's medical opinion.

Therefore, the Court will limit its discussion to Dr. Genet’s medical opinion for purposes

28

1 opined that six of Plaintiff’s severe impairments constituted a medical listing under 20

2 C.F.R. Section 404, Subpart P, App. 1, 11.04: (1) brain hemorrhage, (2) depressive and

3 anxiety disorder, (3) monoplegia of the right arm, (4) knee bursitis, (5) encephalomalacia

4 of the left frontal lobe, and (6) expressive aphasia. (AR 55-56.)

5 Dr. Genet explained that Plaintiff’s six severe impairments, when combined, were

6 equivalent to the weakness of two extremities, and Plaintiff’s condition had persisted from

7 the time of her stroke to the date of the administrative hearing. (Id.) Dr. Genet stated that

8 Plaintiff’s hemorrhage or “softening of the brain” led to both depressive and anxiety

9 disorders. (Id.) Dr. Genet further stated that these two impairments, combined with

10 Plaintiff’s monoplegia of her right arm and knee bursitis, would equal the weakness of two

11 extremities that “do not work as well as they should have.” (Id.) Dr. Genet added that the

12 encephalomalacia of Plaintiff’s left frontal lobe and expressive aphasia contributed to the

13 medical listing. (Id.) When ALJ Verne asked Dr. Genet to provide “any further comments”

14 beyond Dr. Genet’s reference to Plaintiff’s various diagnoses, Dr. Genet answered “No, I

15 don’t believe so.” (AR 60.) To that end, ALJ Verne followed up regarding Plaintiff’s

16 prognosis. (Id.) Dr. Genet opined that “If things like aphasia and the monoplegia of the arm

17 are present this long after the stroke, I think it can be considered permanent.” (Id.) Dr.

18 Genet did not further elaborate.

19 b. ALJ Verne’s Decision

20 In rendering his Decision, ALJ Verne followed the Commissioner’s five-step

21 sequential evaluation process governing disability insurance benefits applications. See 20

22 C.F.R. § 404.1520. At step one, ALJ Verne found that Plaintiff had not engaged in any

23 substantial gainful activity since June 18, 2018, Plaintiff’s alleged disability onset date.

24 (AR 28.) Prior to the onset of her alleged disability, Plaintiff worked full-time as a drug

25 and alcohol detox counselor. (AR 27.) At step two, ALJ Verne determined that Plaintiff

26 suffered from the following severe impairments:

27 / / /

28 / / /

1 “[S]tatus post brain hemorrhage/cerebrovascular accident with residual

including mild right hemiparesis, expressive aphasia, hypertension,

2

non-epileptic seizure-like activity, depression otherwise not specified,

3 anxiety, right hip pain, nicotine dependence, inactive anorexia,

cognitive disorder not otherwise specified, panic with agoraphobia,

4

opioid dependence, and alcohol abuse.”

5

(AR 28 [citing (20 CFR 404.1520(c))].)

6

ALJ Verne also found that Plaintiff had non-severe impairments of left knee bursitis

7

and obesity. (Id.) As to her left knee bursitis, ALJ Verne determined that Plaintiff’s

8

condition was non-severe because it only caused “[a] slight abnormality that would have

9

no more than a minimal effect on her ability to work… [and] this condition was being

10

managed medically and should be amenable to proper control by adherence to

11

recommended medical management and medication compliance.” (AR 28.) Additionally,

12

ALJ Verne determined Plaintiff’s obesity was non-severe after evaluating all potential

13

functional limitations and symptoms impacting Plaintiff’s physical and mental ability to

14

perform basic work activities. (Id.)

15

At step three, ALJ Verne found that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or

16

combination of impairments that met or medically equaled the severity of one of the listed

17

impairments in the Commissioner’s listing of impairments. (AR 29.) As to Plaintiff’s

18

mental impairments, ALJ Verne noted only moderate limitations in (1) understanding,

19

remembering, or applying information; (2) interacting with others; (3) concentrating,

20

persisting, or maintaining pace; and (4) and adapting or managing oneself. (Id.) ALJ Verne

21

added that the objective medical evidence showed Plaintiff could exercise, take care of her

22

personal hygiene, and perform other activities of daily living without issue. (Id.) Lastly,

23

ALJ Verne noted that Plaintiff’s mental status examinations taken by numerous mental

24

healthcare providers showed minimal cognitive deficit and that, as of November 12, 2020,

25

she “could do serial 7 [mental assessments] accurately and interpret proverbs.” (Id.) In

26

finding that Plaintiff did not meet the criteria of a listed impairment, ALJ Verne next

27

28

1 determined Plaintiff’s residual functional capacity (“RFC”), constituting Plaintiff’s ability

2 to do physical and mental work activities despite her purported impairments. (AR 30.)

3 At step four, ALJ Verne calculated Plaintiff’s RFC to assess whether she was able

4 to perform any past relevant work. (AR 39.) At step five, ALJ Verne’s evaluation examined

5 Plaintiff’s capacity to engage in other work by considering factors such as Plaintiff’s RFC,

6 age, education, and work experience. (AR 39-40.) ALJ Verne ultimately determined that

7 Plaintiff could not perform her past relevant work; however, Plaintiff’s age, education,

8 work experience, and RFC demonstrated that Plaintiff was still capable of performing

9 certain jobs that existed in the national economy. (AR 39.) In so opining, ALJ Verne

10 accepted the testimony of VE Mullinax, who found that Plaintiff could perform three jobs

11 from the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (“DOT”), namely Mail Clerk (DOT 209.687-

12 026), Routing Clerk (DOT 222.687-022), and Merchandise Maker (DOT 209-587-034).

13 (AR 40.)

14 In reaching his determination of non-disability, ALJ Verne found Plaintiff possessed

15 the RFC to perform light work as defined in 20 C.F.R. section 404.1567(c), with the

16 following limitations:

17 [U]nderstanding, remembering, and carrying out simple, routine,

repetitive tasks, with breaks every two hours, to no interaction with the

18

general public, and to occasional work-related, non-personal, non-

19 social interaction with co-workers and supervisors involving no more

than a brief exchange of information or hand-off of product. She cannot

20

perform highly time-pressured tasks such that the claimant is limited to

21 generally goal-oriented work, not time sensitive strict production

quotas (that is, production rate pace work with strict by the minute or

22

by the hour production quotas that are frequently and/or constantly

23 monitored by supervisors or that are fast paced) in low-stress

environment[s’ where there are few workplace changes (i.e., the

24

claimant would not have to switch from task to task) and the claimant

25 has minimal decision-making capability.

26

(AR 30.)

27

/ / /

28 / / /

1 In calculating Plaintiff’s RFC, ALJ Verne considered “[A]ll symptoms and the

2 extent to which these symptoms c[ould] reasonably be accepted as consistent with the

3 objective medical evidence and other evidence, based on the requirements of 20 CFR

4 404.1529 and SSR 16-3p.” (AR 31.) ALJ Verne also considered the medical opinions and

5 administrative findings in the administrative record. (Id.) Based upon those materials and

6 testimony from Plaintiff’s administrative hearing, ALJ Verne concluded that Plaintiff was

7 not disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act from June 18, 2018, through

8 the date of his Decision. (AR 41.)

9 III. LEGAL STANDARD

10 Section 405(g) of the Social Security Act (“Section 405(g)”) permits a claimant who

11 has received an adverse final decision from the Commissioner to appeal such decision

12 through judicial review. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). The ALJ's decision denying the disability

13 insurance benefits should only be reversed if that decision is not supported by substantial

14 evidence or it is based upon harmful legal error. Tidwell v. Apfel, 161 F.3d 599, 601 (9th

15 Cir. 1998). “Substantial evidence means more than a mere scintilla, but less than a

16 preponderance; it is such relevant evidence as a reasonable person might accept as adequate

17 to support a conclusion.” Lingenfelter v. Astrue, 504 F.3d 1028, 1035 (9th Cir. 2007). “If

18 the evidence can reasonably support either affirming or reversing a decision, the court may

19 not substitute its judgment for that of the Commissioner.” Id. “The ALJ is responsible for

20 determining credibility, resolving conflicts in medical testimony, and for resolving

21 ambiguities.” Andrews v. Shalala, 53 F.3d 1035, 1039 (9th Cir. 1995). A reviewing court

22 must consider the entire record as a whole, weighing both the evidence that supports and

23 the evidence that detracts from the ALJ’s conclusion.” Reddick v. Chater, 157 F.3d 715,

24 720 (9th Cir. 2014). If the record would support more than one rational conclusion, the

25 reviewing court must defer to the ALJ’s decision. Andrews, 53 F.3d at 1039-40; see also

26 Mayes v. Massanari, 276 F.3d 453, 456 (9th Cir. 2001).

27 / / /

28 / / /

1 IV. DISCUSSION

2 The sole issue before the Court is whether ALJ Verne’s Decision is supported by

3 substantial evidence specifically as to when ALJ Verne rejected Dr. Genet’s medical

4 opinion for its lack of credibility. Plaintiff argues ALJ Verne made a harmful error when

5 he purportedly failed to provide clear and convincing reasons for his assessment of Dr.

6 Genet’s medical opinion. The Commissioner wholly disputes Plaintiff’s position. Having

7 reviewed the Parties’ moving papers and the entirety of the administrative record, the Court

8 agrees with the Commissioner and explains below.

9 The Ninth Circuit has established that an ALJ’s decision to discredit a medical

10 opinion must “simply be supported by substantial evidence.”3 See Woods v. Kijakazi, 32

11 F.4th 785, 787 (9th Cir. 2022). Consequently, the ALJ is no longer obligated to assign

12 specific evidentiary weight, even controlling weight, to any medical opinions, inclusive of

13 a treating physician’s opinion. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c. Rather, the ALJ is required to

14 analyze the “persuasiveness” of each medical opinion, under a five-factor framework,4 with

15 the most critical factors being supportability and consistency. Id. §§ 404.1520c(b)(2),

16 (c)(1)-(5). Supportability refers to the degree to which a medical opinion is bolstered by

17 “relevant objective medical evidence” and “supporting explanations from other medical

18 sources.” Id. § 404.1520c(c)(1). Consistency refers to how closely a medical opinion aligns

19 with “other medical sources and non-medical sources” in the claim. Id. § 404.1520c(c)(2).

20 / / /

21

22

23 3 Woods superseded prior legal authority, which required the ALJ to provide varying levels

of reasoning when evaluating medical opinions according to the hierarchy of medical

24

opinions. Woods, 32 F.4th at 787. However, post-Woods, all claims filed on or after March

25 17, 2017, must now undergo an analysis based on the Commissioner’s revised regulations,

which do not assign special weight to a medical opinion merely based upon a medical

26

expert’s relationship to a claimant. Id.

27 4 Along with supportability and consistency, an ALJ should also consider “the doctor’s

relationship with claimant,” the “specialization of the medical source,” and any other

28

1 Due to the significance of these two factors, the ALJ must provide an explanation of

2 how they assessed the supportability and consistency of the medical opinions that inform

3 their decision. § 404.1520c(b)(2). See also Gerardo v. Kijakazi, 2023 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

4 90032, at *26-27 (S.D. Cal. Mar. 20, 2023) (emphasizing that despite the ALJ’s analysis

5 of a medical opinion being “brief,” supportability and consistency were properly

6 considered under the new framework); Kitchen v. Kijakazi, 82 F.4th 732, 740 (9th Cir.

7 2023) (upholding the ALJ’s discounting of a medical opinion because the doctor’s

8 assessment of severe limitations was inconsistent and unsupported by the medical record);

9 Woods, 32 F.4th at 783 (affirming the ALJ’s rejection of a medical opinion based on

10 inconsistency with the overall treatment notes and mental status exams in the record). The

11 Court applies the two factors to ALJ Verne’s assessment of Dr. Genet’s opinion, beginning

12 with the supportability factor.

13 1. Supportability

14 Plaintiff argues that ALJ Verne committed harmful error when he found Dr. Genet’s

15 medical opinion to be unpersuasive. In his Decision, ALJ Verne explained he discounted

16 Dr. Genet’s opinion due to a lack of supporting objective medical evidence and

17 inconsistencies with evidence from both medical and non-medical sources. (AR 37.) In

18 particular, ALJ Verne stated in his Decision:

19 [Dr. Genet’s] opinion [wa]s not supported by relevant objective medical

evidence, inconsistent with evidence from other medical and nonmedical

20

sources, and contradicted by other factors . . . First, a supportable explanation

21 was not provided because there were insufficient references to medically

acceptable objective clinical or diagnostic findings. Second, the objective

22

medical evidence, including conservative and standard diagnostic and clinical

23 findings, d[id] not support the assessments. Indeed, as detailed above, the

claimant’s neurological examinations were generally normal or showed only

24

mild findings. Third, the medical opinion [wa]s inconsistent with the

25 claimant’s admitted activities of daily living, which ha[d] already been

described above in this decision. Performance of this wide range of ordinary

26

tasks is inconsistent with severe limitations and casts doubts on this opinion.

27

28 (AR 37.)

1 Regarding Plaintiff’s physical impairments, ALJ Verne observed that Plaintiff’s

2 “neurological examinations were generally normal or showed only mild findings,”

3 including a November 11, 2019, MRI, which showed “no acute abnormalities, no

4 significant interval change, shows encephalomalacia, etc.” and “no significant change.”

5 (AR 57-58, 756.) In his Decision, ALJ Verne elaborated that, with regard to Plaintiff’s

6 physical impairments, including those stemming from her past brain hemorrhage, the

7 evidence indicated normal sensory and motor function, an absence of focal deficits, and

8 typical coordination in neurological examinations. (AR 1077, 1087.) Further, ALJ Verne

9 noted that, on October 31, 2019, a neurologist concluded Plaintiff had “fully recovered

10 from her 2011 aneurysm,” despite mild expressive aphasia and some lingering difficulty

11 with word-finding. (AR 1088.) Additionally, ALJ Verne pointed out that examination

12 results in December 2019 showed no abnormalities in Plaintiff’s brain stem and

13 cerebellum. (AR 1086.) Further, August 7, 2020, examination results of Plaintiff’s left knee

14 showed no left joint effusion, no acute fracture or dislocation, and mild lateral

15 patellofemoral compartment arthritis bilaterally showed no injury. (AR 754.) On August

16 10, 2020, at a follow-up exam, Plaintiff’s treating physician, Dr. Belen Clark, M.D., (“Dr.

17 Clark”) noted that Plaintiff had left knee bursitis. (AR 746.) In doing so, Dr. Clark

18 categorized Plaintiff’s expressive aphasia as “not chronic.” (AR 762.) Based on such

19 records, ALJ Verne found Plaintiff’s impairments did not constitute severe impairments,

20 which was the basis for his decision to discount Dr. Genet’s medical opinion.

21 To that end, Dr. Genet’s medical opinion was not anchored in evidentiary citations

22 that explained his respective conclusions that Plaintiff presented with severe impairments

23 and such impairments equated to a Social Security listing. Instead, Dr. Genet cited to

24 Plaintiff’s medical records to confirm Plaintiff’s various diagnoses and, from there, offered

25 his conclusion regarding what Social Security listing would apply to Plaintiff’s case in light

26 of her various medical conditions. At the administrative hearing, ALJ Verne raised the

27 matter of Plaintiff’s left knee bursitis with Dr. Genet and noted that Plaintiff’s examination

28 results showed “no injury” and were generally “unremarkable.” (AR 56-7, 751-54.)

1 Plaintiff argues that Dr. Genet misunderstood ALJ Verne during this portion of the

2 administrative hearing and, for such reason, Dr. Genet did not offer evidence to counter

3 ALJ Verne’s record citations. Assuming Plaintiff’s contention is true, the Court finds that

4 substantial evidence nonetheless underlies ALJ Verne’s Decision in light of his objective

5 evidentiary citations establishing Plaintiff’s left knee bursitis was “non-severe” and that no

6 aggressive treatment was recommended. Jensen v. Colvin, 2016 WL 4501075, at *6 (S.D.

7 Cal. Aug. 29, 2016) (affirming ALJ’s finding of partial credibility and determination of

8 non-disability where the ALJ cited objective medical records establishing that “Plaintiff

9 was treated conservatively”). (AR 28, 771–90.)

10 Regarding her mental impairments, Plaintiff argues that ALJ Verne’s assessment of

11 her fatigue, depression, and anxiety was inadequate because he discussed a combination of

12 positive and negative findings concerning these impairments. (AR 57-58.) Plaintiff

13 contends that Dr. Genet’s reliance on Plaintiff’s diagnoses and references to evidence of

14 her right arm monoplegia demonstrates that Dr. Genet’s medical opinion was properly

15 supported. The Court does not adopt Plaintiff’s conclusion, particularly because ALJ Verne

16 was responsible for considering the totality of the administrative record, rather than only

17 selected portions of the record. To that end, ALJ Verne cited Plaintiff’s mental status

18 examinations that largely revealed “normal” results, while concurrently crediting Plaintiff

19 with her diagnoses of major depressive disorder, anxiety disorder, and panic disorder with

20 agoraphobia. (AR 58, 610-716, 741.)

21 In contrast, Dr. Genet’s opinion did not cite to specific objective records in support

22 of his conclusion regarding what Social Security listing may apply to Plaintiff’s alleged

23 mental impairments. Further, ALJ Verne explained that, despite Plaintiff’s complaints of

24 fatigue and anxiety, her impairments were categorized as “amenable to treatment,” and her

25 psychological and psychiatric assessments generally revealed mild changes. (AR 613-14,

26 618-19, 623-24, 633, 650, 656.) Additionally, ALJ Verne emphasized that, on December

27 10, 2018, Plaintiff’s psychiatrist noted Plaintiff was “well managed on current medication,”

28 and that on May 21, 2019, she responded “well to therapeutic tools.” (AR 655, 614.) Lastly,

1 by April 14, 2020, it was noted Plaintiff was able to minimize stress and “was doing well.”

2 (AR 992.)

3 Taken together, ALJ Verne’s specific citations to objective medical records that

4 contradicted Dr. Genet’s medical opinion constitute substantial evidence to support ALJ

5 Verne’s ultimate determination of non-disability. Consistent with this conclusion, the

6 Court finds substantial evidence underlies ALJ Verne’s decision to discount Dr. Genet’s

7 medical opinion accordingly. See Ford v. Saul, 950 F.3d 1141, 1154-55 (9th Cir. 2020)

8 (explaining that an ALJ may reject a medical opinion based on inconsistencies in the

9 objective record); Woods, 32 F.4th at 792 (noting that an ALJ does not need to provide

10 “specific and legitimate” reasons for rejecting a treating or examining doctor’s opinion, but

11 instead can properly reject medical opinions by providing “an explanation supported by

12 substantial evidence”); Tommasetti v. Astrue, 533 F.3d 1035, 1041 (9th Cir. 2008)

13 (emphasizing that the ALJ is the “final arbiter with respect to resolving ambiguities in the

14 medical evidence” and can properly discount medical opinions by citing to inconsistencies

15 within the record.). Given the above, the Court holds that ALJ Verne properly assessed Dr.

16 Genet’s medical opinion when he “[set] out a detailed and thorough summary of the facts

17 and conflicting clinical evidence, stat[ed] his interpretation thereof, and ma[de] findings”

18 accordingly. Reddick, 157 F.3d at 725. In turn, the Court finds that ALJ Verne adequately

19 discussed the supportability factor in his Decision and appropriately concluded that Dr.

20 Genet’s medical opinion lacked supportability. The Court next addresses the consistency

21 factor underlying ALJ Verne’s assessment of Dr. Genet’s medical opinion.

22 2. Consistency

23 The Court next addresses whether ALJ Verne erred when he found Dr. Genet’s

24 medical opinion inconsistent with the record in Plaintiff’s administrative case.

25 Plaintiffasserts that ALJ Verne erred in basing his rejection of Dr. Genet’s testimony on

26 Plaintiff’s daily activities. (AR 34.) To support her position, Plaintiff cites to a Social

27 Security Regulation indicating that the Commissioner does not “generally consider

28 activities or hobbies to be indicative of the ability to work on a regular and continuous

1 basis.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1572(c). By doing so, Plaintiff suggests that her daily life activities

2 are not relevant to the matter before the Court. From there, Plaintiff concludes that her

3 testimony regarding the symptoms of her impairments is consistent with Dr. Genet’s

4 testimony that, when combined, her impairments equal the criteria for a medical listing

5 under 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1.

6 The Commissioner counters that “the key question is not whether there is substantial

7 evidence that could support a finding of disability, but whether there is substantial evidence

8 to support the Commissioner’s actual finding that claimant is not disabled.” James v.

9 Charter 112 F.3d 1064, 1067 (9th Cir. 1997). As a fundamental matter, Ninth Circuit

10 authority supports the Commissioner’s characterization of the issue here. See generally

11 Tidwell v. Apfel, 161 F.3d 599 (9th Cir. 1998); Lingenfelter v. Astrue, 504 F.3d 1028 (9th

12 Cir. 2007); Andrews v. Shalala, 53 F.3d 1035 (9th Cir. 1995). The Court’s analysis herein

13 conforms to such authority and examines whether substantial evidence underlies ALJ

14 Verne’s ultimate finding of non-disability, which encompasses the immediate issue of the

15 consistency of Dr. Genet’s medical opinion.

16 In evaluating the consistency between Dr. Genet’s testimony and various medical

17 and non-medical sources, ALJ Verne pointed to contradictions concerning Plaintiff’s daily

18 activities that Dr. Genet’s medical opinion did not address. (AR 37.) In his Decision, ALJ

19 Verne cited to his earlier reference to Plaintiff’s Third-Party Function Report, stating “[Dr.

20 Genet’s] medical opinion is inconsistent with the claimant’s admitted activities of daily

21 living....” (AR 37.) The Third-Party Function Report revealed that Plaintiff maintained a

22 range of daily life activities that undermined the reportedly severe restrictions Dr. Genet

23 found, with ALJ Verne commenting “the performance of this wide range of ordinary tasks

24 [wa]s inconsistent with severe limitations and casts doubt on [Dr. Genet’s] opinion.” (AR

25 38.) In his Decision, ALJ Verne specifically noted that Plaintiff was capable of driving

26 herself, managing her personal finances including paying her bills, and regularly visiting

27 her family members’ homes as well as a yoga studio, none of which Dr. Genet

28 acknowledged or accounted for in his medical opinion. (AR 38.) Further, Dr. Genet

1 generally referenced the Third Party Function Report in his medical opinion, but he did not

2 specifically cite to it in support of his functional limitations assessment. (AR 54.)

3   “When objective medical evidence is inconsistent with a claimant's subjective

4 testimony, an ALJ can reject the claimant’s testimony about the severity of [her] symptoms

5 only by offering specific, clear, and convincing reasons for doing so . . . ” See, e.g., Smartt

6 v. Kijakazi, 53 F.4th 489, 495 (9th Cir. 2022) (affirming ALJ’s finding of non-disability

7 where the medical records and opinions within the record contradicted plaintiff’s testimony

8 concerning her daily activities); Kitchen v. Kijakazi, 82 F.4th at 739 (highlighting that

9 ALJ’s denial of benefits was appropriate where the ALJ showed discrepancies between

10 statements about the “[i]ntensity, persistence, and limiting effects” of plaintiff’s symptoms

11 and the mild to moderate findings found in the medical evidence); Ford, 950 F.3d at 1147

12 (upholding ALJ’s denial of benefits based on a conflict between the treating physician’s

13 opinion and the claimant’s activity level); Klaas v. Kijakazi, 2023 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

14 105608, at *27-28 (S.D. Cal. Jun. 16, 2023) (finding that contradictory medical opinions,

15 inconsistent with plaintiff’s daily activities constituted evidence that supported the ALJ’s

16 denial of benefits). Such is the case here.

17 After considering the administrative record as a whole, ALJ Verne reasoned that

18 Plaintiff’s limitations were not as severe as Dr. Genet had characterized them. (See AR 28–

19 37.) ALJ Verne appropriately refrained from relying solely on Plaintiff’s daily life and

20 recreational activities when making this determination, although, as noted, such activities

21 contradicted the severe restrictions Dr. Genet attributed to Plaintiff’s impairments. See

22 Burch v. Barnhart, 400 F.3d 676, 680–81 (9th Cir. 2005) (affirming ALJ’s non-disability

23 finding in light of inconsistencies between plaintiff’s testimony and her daily life activities,

24 which included caring for her personal needs, cooking, cleaning, and shopping, and

25 explaining that “although the evidence of [plaintiff’s] daily activities may also admit of an

26 interpretation more favorable to [her], the ALJ's interpretation was rational, and ‘[w]e must

27 uphold the ALJ's decision where the evidence is susceptible to more than one rational

28 interpretation.’”) (citing Magallanes, 881 F.2d at 750.)

1 Instead, ALJ Verne emphasized the objective medical records that comprehensively

2 || addressed Plaintiff’s physical and mental impairments, as set forth above. (/d.) ALJ Verne

3 |}underscored how both Plaintiff's physical and mental impairments yielded nothing more

4 ||than mild to moderate objective findings. (AR 37.) For example, ALJ Verne pointed out

5 medical notations showing Plaintiff had “minimal cognitive defect.” (AR 937, 957-58,

6 966-67, 971-72, 976-77, 982-83, 987-88, 991-92, 997-98, 1014, 1018-19.) Consistent with

7 || this conclusion, ALJ Verne emphasized that Plaintiff was not subjected to any aggressive

8 ||treatment for either her physical or mental impairments. Stoval v. Kijakazi, 2023 WL

9 || 8458749, at *9 (S.D. Cal. Dec. 5, 2023) (affirming ALJ’s non-disability finding and noting

10 || that plaintiff's conservative treatment history provided a clear and convincing reason for

11 |/discounting his subjective claims) (citing Smartt, 53 F.4th at 500 (finding conservative

12 || treatment as a basis for finding plaintiff's subjective symptom testimony inconsistent with

13 || objective medical evidence); Nash v. Astrue, 2012 WL 6700582, at *9 (C.D. Cal. Dec. 21,

14 |}2012) (declining to “second guess” the ALJ's characterization as “routine conservative

15 || treatment.”). Ud.) In light of these circumstances, and a lack of objective evidentiary

16 |/citations to undo ALJ Verne’s assessment of Dr. Genet’s opinion, the Court finds no valid

17 || grounds to disturb ALJ Verne’s well-reasoned findings of inconsistency as to Dr. Genet’s

18 || medical opinion.

19 Vv. CONCLUSION

20 For the foregoing reasons, the Court DENIES Plaintiff's Motion for Summary

21 ||Judgment and GRANTS Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment. The Clerk of this

22 ||Court SHALL ENTER judgment in favor of Defendant and close this case accordingly.

23 IT IS SO ORDERED.

24 || Dated: February 7, 2024

2 Ag FG.

76 Hon. SteveB.Chu

27 United States Magistrate Judge

28

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.