Opinion

Trujillo, Jr. v. Nancy A. Berryhill

Court
District Court, N.D. California
Filed
Nov 22, 2019
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 18.6%

“Substantial evidence” means more than a mere scintilla but less than a 25 preponderance; it is “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to 26 support a conclusion”

How later courts described this case

  • “Substantial evidence” means more than a mere scintilla but less than a 25 preponderance; it is “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to 26 support a conclusion”
  • holding that 3 ALJ can reject uncontradicted treating physician’s opinion “by setting out a detailed and thorough 4 summary of the facts and conflicting medical evidence, stating his own interpretation thereof, and 5 making findings”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

1

2

3

4 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

5 NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

6

7 GILBERT TRUJILLO, JR., Case No. 18-cv-07125-SVK

8 Plaintiff, ORDER ON CROSS-MOTIONS FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

9 v.

Re: Dkt. Nos. 20, 21

10 NANCY A. BERRYHILL,

11 Defendant.

12 Plaintiff Gilbert Alberto Trujillo, Jr. (“Plaintiff”) appeals from the final decision of the

13 Commissioner of Social Security denying his application for disability insurance benefits under

14 Title II of the Social Security Act. For the reasons discussed below, the Court REMANDS this

15 matter for further administrative proceedings.

16 I. BACKGROUND

17 Plaintiff seeks disability benefits for the period beginning January 2, 2009 and ending

18 December 31, 2009. Dkt. 17 (Administrative Record (“AR”)) 17, 171. An Administrative Law

19 Judge (“ALJ”) held a hearing on August 24, 2017, at which Plaintiff, a vocational expert, and a

20 medical expert testified. AR 28-78. On October 25, 2017, the ALJ issued an unfavorable

21 decision. AR 12-23. The ALJ found that Plaintiff had the following severe impairments: diabetes

22 mellitus, hypertension, stasis dermatitis of the right leg, neuropathy, status post left great toe

23 amputation, and obesity. AR 17. The ALJ concluded that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or

24 combination of impairments that met or medically equaled one of the listed impairments. AR 18.

25 The ALJ then determined that Plaintiff had the residual functional capacity (“RFC”) to perform

26 light work with the limitation that he could only stand and walk for four hours total in a work day.

27 AR 18. The ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was not disabled because he was capable of performing

1 accessories, and an arcade attendant. AR 21-22.

2 After the Appeals Council denied review, Plaintiff sought review in this Court. Dkt. 1. In

3 accordance with Civil Local Rule 16-5, the Parties filed cross-motions for summary judgment.

4 Dkt. 20 (“Pl. MSJ”); Dkt. 21 (“Def. MSJ”). All Parties have consented to the jurisdiction of a

5 magistrate judge. Dkts. 10, 15.

6 II. ISSUES FOR REVIEW

7 1. Did the ALJ err is assigning “little weight” to the opinions of Plaintiff’s treating

physicians, Dr. Tomas Valdez and Dr. Jan Lin?

8

2. Did the ALJ err in her credibility analysis of Plaintiff?

9

3. Did the ALJ err in determining that Plaintiff could perform the jobs of cashier,

10 assembler of electrical accessories, or arcade attendant?

11 III. STANDARD OF REVIEW

12 This Court has the authority to review the Commissioner’s decision to deny disability

13 benefits, but “a federal court’s review of Social Security determinations is quite limited.” Brown-

14 Hunter v. Colvin, 806 F.3d 487, 492 (9th Cir. 2015); see also 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). Federal courts

15 “leave it to the ALJ to determine credibility, resolve conflicts in the testimony, and resolve

16 ambiguities in the record.” Brown-Hunter, 806 F.3d at 492 (internal quotation marks and citation

17 omitted).

18 The Commissioner’s decision will be disturbed only if it is not supported by substantial

19 evidence or if it is based on the application of improper legal standards. Id. at 492. “Under the

20 substantial-evidence standard, a court looks to an existing administrative record and asks whether

21 it contains sufficient evidence to support the agency’s factual determinations,” and this threshold

22 is “not high.” Biestek v. Berryhill, -- U.S. --, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1154 (2019) (internal quotation

23 marks, citation, and alteration omitted); see also Rounds v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 807 F.3d

24 996, 1002 (9th Cir. 2015) (“Substantial evidence” means more than a mere scintilla but less than a

25 preponderance; it is “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to

26 support a conclusion”) (internal quotation marks and citations omitted). The Court “must consider

27 the evidence as a whole, weighing both the evidence that supports and the evidence that detracts

1 citation omitted). Where the evidence is susceptible to more than one rational interpretation, the

2 Court must uphold the ALJ’s findings if supported by inferences reasonably drawn from the

3 record. Id.

4 Even if the ALJ commits legal error, the ALJ’s decision will be upheld if the error is

5 harmless. Brown-Hunter, 806 F.3d at 492. But “[a] reviewing court may not make independent

6 findings based on the evidence before the ALJ to conclude that the ALJ’s error was harmless.” Id.

7 The Court is “constrained to review the reasons the ALJ asserts.” Id. (internal quotation marks

8 and citation omitted).

9 IV. DISCUSSION

10 Plaintiff argues that the ALJ: (1) improperly rejected the opinions of Plaintiff’s treating

11 physicians, Dr. Tomas Valdez and Dr. Jan Lin; (2) improperly discredited Plaintiff’s testimony;

12 and (3) failed to support her opinion in Step 5 with substantial evidence. Pl. MSJ at 2.

13 A. Medical Evidence

14 The administrative record does not contain any records from Plaintiff’s treating

15 physicians, Dr. Valdez and Dr. Lin, during the covered period of January 2, 2009 through

16 December 31, 2009. Plaintiff argues that the ALJ improperly disregarded the findings of these

17 treating physicians; specifically, the ALJ erred by failing to contact Dr. Valdez and Dr. Lin to

18 fully develop the record regarding Plaintiff’s onset date and limitations. Pl. MSJ at 5-6. Plaintiff

19 also contends that the ALJ did not support her rejection of Dr. Valdez’s and Dr. Lin’s opinions

20 with clear and convincing reasons. Id.

21 In social security disability cases, “[t]he ALJ must consider all medical opinion evidence.”

22 Tommasetti v. Astrue, 533 F.3d 1035, 1041 (9th Cir. 2008). In such cases, the opinion of a

23 treating physician is entitled to more weight than the opinion of an examining physician, and more

24 weight is given to the opinion of an examining physician than a non-examining physician. See

25 Ghanim v. Colvin, 763 F.3d 1154, 1160 (9th Cir. 2014). If a treating physician’s opinion is “well-

26 supported by medically acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques and is not

27 inconsistent with the other substantial evidence” in the record, it must be given controlling weight.

1 substantial evidence, for rejecting the uncontradicted opinion of a treating physician. See Ghanim,

2 763 F.3d at 1160; see also Thomas v. Barnhart, 278 F.3d 947, 957 (9th Cir. 2002) (holding that

3 ALJ can reject uncontradicted treating physician’s opinion “by setting out a detailed and thorough

4 summary of the facts and conflicting medical evidence, stating his own interpretation thereof, and

5 making findings”) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted). Where contradicted, the

6 opinion of a treating physician may only be rejected for “specific and legitimate reasons that are

7 supported by substantial evidence.” Ghanim, 763 F.3d at 1160. Additionally, medical opinions

8 that predate the alleged onset date or postdate the date last insured are of limited relevance. See

9 Carmickle v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 533 F.3d 1155, 1165 (9th Cir. 2008); Nelson v. Colvin, No. C-

10 13-01872 DMR, 2014 WL 4744551, at *5 (N.D. Cal. 2014). The ALJ need not accept a treating

11 physician’s opinion if it is “brief, conclusory, and inadequately supported by clinical findings.”

12 Thomas, 278 F.3d at 957.

13 A plaintiff has the duty to prove that he is disabled. See 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(5) (“An

14 individual shall not be considered to be under a disability unless he furnishes such medical and

15 other evidence of the existence thereof as the Commissioner of Social Security may require”); see

16 also Mayes v. Massanari, 276 F.3d 453, 459 (9th Cir. 2001). However, “[t]he ALJ . . . has an

17 independent duty to fully and fairly develop the record and to assure that the claimant’s interests

18 are considered.” Tonapetyan v. Halter, 242 F.3d 1144, 1150 (9th Cir. 2011) (internal quotation

19 marks and citations omitted); see also 20 C.F.R. § 404.900(b) (stating that administrative review

20 process is conducted in “an informal, non-adversarial manner”); 20 C.F.R. § 416.912(d) (Social

21 Security regulations stating that “[o]ur responsibility” includes certain efforts to help develop

22 applicant’s complete medical history). “This duty exists even when the claimant is represented by

23 counsel.” Smolen v. Chater, 80 F.3d 1273, 1288 (9th Cir. 1996). “An ALJ’s duty to develop the

24 record further is triggered only when there is ambiguous evidence or when the record is

25 inadequate to allow for proper evaluation of the evidence.” Mayes, 276 F.3d at 459-60. “The ALJ

26 may discharge this duty in several ways, including: subpoenaing the claimant’s physicians,

27 submitting questions to the claimant’s physicians, continuing the hearing, or keeping the record

1 (citing Tidwell v. Apfel, 161 F.3d 599, 602 (9th Cir. 1998); Smolen, 80 F.3d at 1288). “The duty to

2 develop the record is such that the ALJ may not decide an issue against the claimant based on the

3 absence of evidence in the record.” Ludwig v. Halter, 5 Fed. Appx. 689, 691 (9th Cir. 2001).

4 Because Dr. Valdez’s and Dr. Lee’s opinions are contradicted by those of the state medical

5 consultants and a non-examining medical expert, the ALJ was required to provide “specific and

6 legitimate reasons” supported by substantial evidence to discount each doctor’s opinions. See

7 Klee v. Berryhill, No. 17-cv-00697-DMR, 2018 WL 3956337, at *17 (N.D. Cal. 2018). The Court

8 will discuss Dr. Valdez and Dr. Lin separately.

9 1. Dr. Valdez

10 The ALJ gave “little weight” to Dr. Valdez’s medical source statement dated February 18,

11 2016, because it was “not persuasive as to [Plaintiff’s] limitations as of the date last insured in

12 2009” and was “more reflective of [Plaintiff’s] current functioning.” AR 20. The ALJ

13 specifically noted that the question regarding the onset date was not filled out and that Dr.

14 Valdez’s diagnoses included conditions that were more recent. Id. In his medical source

15 statement, Dr. Valdez listed the date of Plaintiff’s first appointment as March 11, 2010. AR 525.

16 Though Plaintiff contends that the ALJ should have re-contacted Dr. Valdez to ask when

17 Plaintiff’s conditions began, the Court finds that the ALJ’s decision to give little weight to Dr.

18 Valdez’s statement is corroborated by the record. In his motion, Plaintiff concedes that Dr. Valdez

19 began treating Plaintiff in March of 2010. Pl. MSJ at 4. Furthermore, a review of the record

20 reveals that records referencing Dr. Valdez do not begin until 2010. See, e.g., AR 456-57, 464-69,

21 477-78, 488-92. The Court echoes the law of this Circuit that it is the plaintiff’s burden to show

22 that he is disabled. See 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(5); see also Mayes, 276 F.3d at 459. Here, the Court

23 finds that the ALJ supported her reason to discount Dr. Valdez’s testimony with specific and

24 legitimate reasons that were supported by substantial evidence.

25 2. Dr. Lin

26 The ALJ assigned “little weight” to Dr. Lin’s opinion dated April 9, 2016, “because, like

27 Dr. Valdez, this opinion [was] more reflective of the claimant’s current functioning and not his

1 not offer an opinion as to the onset date of the limitations” and found Dr. Lin’s diagnosis of

2 rheumatoid arthritis “questionable, as there [were] no significant medical findings or diagnostic

3 studies to support it.” Id. It is significant that in her medical source statement, Dr. Lin listed her

4 first appointment with Plaintiff as June 3, 2009, which was within the alleged disability period.

5 AR 540. Despite this reference, the ALJ failed to acknowledge that Dr. Lin began treating

6 Plaintiff during the alleged disability period. Similarly, the ALJ did not mention the absence of

7 any 2009 treatment records from Dr. Lin.

8 The Court concludes that the ALJ had a duty to develop the record because it was

9 incomplete and ambiguous as to Dr. Lin. Dr. Lin stated in her medical source statement that she

10 began treating Plaintiff in June of 2009 (AR 540), but the record is completely devoid of any

11 medical records from Dr. Lin. Though Defendant argues that the lack of records from Dr. Lin

12 supports the ALJ’s conclusion that Dr. Lin’s opinion was more reflective of Plaintiff’s current

13 functioning, the Court is not persuaded. The Court notes that it was particularly necessary for the

14 ALJ to develop and complete the record as to Dr. Lin because of the importance the ALJ placed

15 on the overall absence of treatment records through the date last insured. See Smolen, 80 F.3d at

16 1288 (“If the ALJ thought he needed to know the basis of [certain physicians’] opinions in order to

17 evaluate them, he had a duty to conduct an appropriate inquiry, for example, by subpoenaing the

18 physicians or submitting further questions to them.”); see, e.g., AR 19 (“The medical evidence

19 through the date last insured was sparse”), AR 20 (“[T]he treatment notes through the date last

20 insured are limited”), AR 20 (“[T]here is a general lack of objective and other evidence to support

21 the level of severity of the conditions prior to the DLI”). The Court finds that the record, as is, is

22 “inadequate to allow for proper evaluation of the evidence.” Mayes, 276 F.3d at 459-60.

23 Accordingly, on remand, the Court directs the ALJ to inquire into the existence of medical records

24 pertaining to Dr. Lin’s treatment of Plaintiff during the relevant time period and, if such records

25 exist, to evaluate them in accordance with appropriate legal standards.

26 ////

27 ////

1 B. Plaintiff’s Testimony

2 Plaintiff contends that the ALJ erred by failing to: (1) specify which testimony she found

3 not credible; and (2) provide clear and convincing reasons to support her credibility determination.

4 Pl. MSJ at 8. It is evident from the ALJ’s decision that her credibility analysis is tied to her

5 evaluation of the medical evidence (see, e.g., AR 19, 21), which the Court has concluded was

6 erroneous. Under these circumstances, the ALJ must reassess Plaintiff’s credibility based upon an

7 appropriate evaluation of any additional medical records. See Klee v. Berryhill, No. 17-cv-00697-

8 DMR, 2018 WL 3956337, at *17 (N.D. Cal. 2018).

9 C. Step 5 Analysis

10 Plaintiff also challenges the hypothetical questions posed by the ALJ to the vocational

11 expert. Pl. MSJ at 9. An ALJ may meet her burden under Step 5 by propounding a hypothetical

12 that is based on medical assumptions supported by substantial evidence in the record and that

13 reflects all the claimant’s limitations to a vocational expert. See Roberts v. Shalala, 66 F.3d 179,

14 184 (9th Cir. 1995). A hypothetical that fails to take a claimant’s limitations into account is

15 defective. See Valentine v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin, 574 F.3d 685, 690 (9th Cir. 2009). The

16 hypotheticals posed to the vocational expert depend on what limitations the claimant has, which in

17 turn depend on a correct evaluation of a complete medical record. As the Court has directed the

18 ALJ to reassess the medical evidence, additional RFC limitations may arise. Accordingly, the

19 ALJ must reevaluate the evidence at Step 5.

20 V. DISPOSITION

21 The Social Security Act permits courts to affirm, modify, or reverse the Commissioner’s

22 decision “with or without remanding the case for a rehearing.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); see also

23 Garrison v. Colvin, 759 F.3d 995, 1019 (9th Cir. 2014). “[W]here the record has been developed

24 fully and further administrative proceedings would serve no useful purpose, the district court

25 should remand for an immediate award of benefits.” Benecke v. Barnhart, 379 F.3d 587, 595 (9th

26 Cir. 2004). However, “[r]emand for further proceedings is appropriate where there are

27 outstanding issues that must be resolved before a disability determination can be made, and it is

1 evidence were properly evaluated.” Luther v. Berryhill, 891 F.3d 872, 877-78 (9th Cir. 2018)

2 || (citations omitted). Because it is not clear from the record that the ALJ would be required to find

3 Plaintiff disabled if all the medical evidence were properly evaluated, remand is appropriate. On

4 || remand, the ALJ must properly evaluate the medical evidence based on applicable law and the

5 || guidance provided in this opinion. It is not the Court’s intent to limit the scope of the remand.

6 For the reasons set forth above, the Court GRANTS Plaintiff's motion for summary

7 || judgment, DENIES the Commissioner’s cross-motion for summary judgment, and REMANDS

8 this matter for further administrative proceedings.

9 SO ORDERED.

10 Dated: November 22, 2019

11 Sue ”" ve

SUSAN VAN KEULEN

%L United States Magistrate Judge

15

16

= 17

Z 18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.