Opinion

Elizabeth Jane Vincent Marquez v. Andrew Saul

Court
District Court, C.D. California
Filed
Mar 19, 2021
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 17.9%

The opinion

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

EASTERN DIVISION

ELIZABETH M., Case No. ED CV 20-00819-DFM

Plaintiff, MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

ORDER

v.

ANDREW M. SAUL, Commissioner

of Social Security,

Defendant.

INTRODUCTION

In 2017, Elizabeth M. (“Plaintiff”) applied for Social Security Disability

Insurance Benefits (“DIB”) and Supplemental Security Income (“SSI”),

alleging disability beginning September 15, 2011. See Dkt. 16, Administrative

Record (“AR”) 237-46.1 Plaintiff’s SSI claim was approved and she was found

disabled as of March 2017. See AR 151. Her DIB claim was denied. See AR

1 The Court partially redacts Plaintiff’s name in compliance with Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 5.2(c)(2)(B) and the recommendation of the

Committee on Court Administration and Case Management of the Judicial

Conference of the United States.

Additionally, all citations to the AR are to the record pagination. All

other docket citations are to the CM/ECF pagination.

147-50, 171-74. Plaintiff requested and received a hearing before an

Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”).2 See AR 57-98.

The ALJ denied the DIB claim on May 1, 2019. See AR 12-30. The ALJ

followed the five-step sequential evaluation process for determining whether an

individual is disabled. At step one, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had not

engaged in substantial gainful activity since the alleged onset date of

September 15, 2011, through her date last insured of December 31, 2014. See

AR 18. At step two, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff had the severe

impairments of “mental impairments diagnosed to include post-traumatic

stress disorder (PTSD), bipolar disorder, major depressive disorder, and

anxiety disorder with panic attacks and agoraphobia.” Id. At step three, the

ALJ determined that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of

impairments that met or medically equaled one of the listed impairments in 20

C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. See AR 19-21.

Before reaching step four, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff had the

residual functional capacity (“RFC”) to perform a “full range of work at all

exertional levels” with the following limitations: “limited to performing

simple, routine tasks, not performed at a production rate pace such as assembly

line work, and can use judgment and deal with changes in a work setting that

are required for that type of work. She can have no more than occasional

interaction with supervisors and coworkers and can never work with the

public.” AR 22.

At step four, the ALJ found that Plaintiff could not perform her past

relevant work. See AR 24-25. At step five, the ALJ relied on the testimony of a

2 The record also includes a hearing transcript from July 2011. See AR

37-56. In September 2011, Plaintiff’s 2010 application for DIB was denied. See

AR 259.

vocational expert (“VE”) to conclude that someone with Plaintiff's RFC could

perform jobs that exist in the national economy, including collator (Dictionary

of Occupational Titles or “DOT” 653.687-010), cleaner and polisher (DOT

709.687-010), and mail clerk (DOT 209.687-026). See AR 25-26. Accordingly,

the ALJ denied DIB benefits. See AR 25-26.

The Appeals Council denied review of the ALJ’s decision, which

became the final decision of the Commissioner. See AR 1-6. This action

followed. See Dkt. 1.

Il. LEGAL STANDARD

A district court will set aside a denial of Social Security benefits only

when the ALJ’s decision is “based on legal error or not supported by

substantial evidence in the record.” Benton ex rel. Benton v. Barnhart, 331

F.3d 1030, 1035 (9th Cir. 2003). “Substantial evidence means more than a

mere scintilla, but less than a preponderance. It means such relevant evidence

as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.”

Desrosiers v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 846 F.2d 573, 576 (9th Cir.

1988) (citations and internal quotation marks omitted). The substantial

evidence threshold “is not high” and “defers to the presiding ALJ, who has

seen the hearing up close.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S. Ct. 1148, 1154, 1157

(2019). “Where evidence is susceptible to more than one rational

interpretation, it is the ALJ’s conclusion that must be upheld.” Burch v.

Barnhart, 400 F.3d 676, 679 (9th Cir. 2005).

Hil. DISCUSSION

The parties dispute whether the ALJ properly resolved (1) an apparent

conflict with the DOT for the occupations of mail clerk and collator and (2)

Plaintiff's onset date. See Dkt. 19, Joint Stipulation (“JS”) at 5.

A. Step Five Determination

The ALJ assessed Plaintiff as retaining the RFC to perform “the full

range of work at all exertional levels” involving “simple, routine tasks, not

performed at a production rate pace,” only occasional interaction with

supervisors and coworkers, and no interaction with the public. AR 22. The

ALJ then found that through the date last insured, considering Plaintiffs age,

education, work experience, and RFC to do work within the limits that

applied, three kinds of jobs existed in significant numbers in the national

economy that Plaintiff could have performed: collator (DOT 653.687-010),

cleaner and polisher (DOT 709.687-010), and mail clerk (DOT 209.687-026).

See AR 25-26.

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ’s RFC limiting her to “simple, routine

tasks” is inconsistent with the job of mail clerk, which requires Reasoning

Level 3. See JS at 6-7. Reasoning Level 3 requires an employee to “[a]pply

commonsense understanding to carry out instructions furnished in written,

oral, or diagrammatic form” and “[d]eal with problems involving several

concrete variables in or from standardized situations.” DOT, App’x C, 1991

WL 688702. Striking mail clerk leaves the occupations of collator (13,000 jobs)

and cleaner/polisher (8,000 jobs), bringing the total jobs identified to 21,000,

which Plaintiff argues is not a “significant number.” JS at 6-7. The

Commissioner effectively concedes that a conflict exists, arguing instead that

21,000 jobs constitutes a significant number. See id. at 10-12.

According to the Social Security Act, an “individual shall be determined

to be under a disability” only if her impairments prevent her from engaging in

“substantial gainful work which exists in the national economy”—1.e., “work

which exists in significant numbers either in the region where such individual

lives or in several regions of the country.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(2)(A). The

burden of establishing that work exists in “significant numbers” lies with the

Commissioner. Tackett v. Apfel, 180 F.3d 1094, 1099 (9th Cir. 1999). The

Ninth Circuit has “never set out a bright-line rule for what constitutes a

‘significant number’ of jobs.” Beltran v. Astrue, 700 F.3d 386, 389 (9th Cir.

2012). “However, a comparison to other cases is instructive.” Id. In Beltran,

the Ninth Circuit held that 1,680 national jobs was not a significant number.

See id. at 390. At the other end of the spectrum, the Ninth Circuit held in

Gutierrez v. Comm’r of SSA that the ALJ did not err in concluding that

25,000 national jobs constituted a significant number, although it was a “close

call.” 740 F.3d 519, 529 (9th Cir. 2014). In so holding, Gutierrez cited with

approval to an Eighth Circuit decision holding that 10,000 national jobs was

significant. See id. (citing Johnson v. Chater, 108 F.3d 178, 180 (8th Cir.

1997)). Following Gutierrez, various district courts have found that numbers

near 21,000 constituted a significant number. See, e.g., Anna F. v. Saul, No.

19-511, 2020 WL 7024924, at *6 (C.D. Cal. Nov. 30, 2020) (“Whether 21,100

jobs in the national economy is ‘significant’ is not entirely settled, yet the

relevant caselaw indicates it is.” (citing cases)). Given the legal landscape, the

Court finds that, on balance, the existence of 21,000 jobs in the national

economy to be sufficient.

Plaintiff also cursorily argues that her limitation to “simple, routine

tasks” is inconsistent with the collator occupation because, despite it requiring

Reasoning Level 2, the job necessitates significant worker functions involving

data. See JS at 8. “For a difference between an expert’s testimony and the

Dictionary’s listings to be fairly characterized as a conflict, it must be obvious

or apparent. This means that the testimony must be at odds with the

Dictionary’s listing of job requirements that are essential, integral, or

expected.” Gutierrez v. Colvin, 844 F.3d 804, 808 (9th Cir. 2016).

The ALJ did not err because there was no apparent or obvious conflict

between the VE’s testimony and the skills required in the collator occupation,

as set out in the DOT. The VE testified that the collator job is an “entry level”

job with a specific vocational preparation of 2, see AR 95, which is consistent

with unskilled work. See Terry v. Sullivan, 903 F.3d 1211, 1218 (9th Cir.

1990). That description is consistent with the DOT, which classifies the

collator occupation as an unskilled job. See DOT 653.687-010, 1991 WL

685810. And although unskilled work ordinarily involves dealing primarily

with objects, rather than with data or people, this is not dispositive. Indeed, as

stated in the DOT, “every job requires a worker to function, to some degree, in

relation to Data People, and Things.” DOT, App’x B, 1991 WL 688701.

Additionally, the collator occupation has a Worker Function Code of 6 in

regard to the jobs’ relationship to data. Level 6, “Comparing,” is the lowest

level and entails “judging the readily observable functional, structural, or

compositional characteristics (whether similar to or divergent from obvious

standards) of data, people, or things.” Id. Plaintiff does not explain how a

limitation to “simple, routine tasks” conflicts with these skills.

The ALJ was entitled to rely on the expert’s “experience 1n job

placement” to account for “a particular job’s requirements,” Social Security

Ruling (“SSR”) 00-4P, 2000 WL 1898704, at *2, and correctly did so here.

B. Onset Date

As noted above, Plaintiff filed for both DIB and SSI. Plaintiff's DIB

application alleged a disability onset date of September 15, 2011.° See AR 237-

46. Her date last insured for DIB was December 31, 2014. Plaintiff's SSI claim

was approved, with a finding that she was disabled as of March 2017. See AR

151-68. The DIB claim was denied, however, with a finding that Plaintiff was

not disabled on any date through her date last insured. See AR 147-50. Citing

> As noted above, Plaintiff was previously found not disabled by an ALJ

in a September 14, 2011 decision. See AR 99-116.

Diedrich v. Berryhill, 874 F.3d 634, 639 (9th Cir. 2017), Plaintiff contends that

the ALJ committed legal error by not calling a medical advisor at the hearing

to determine the correct onset date of her disability. See JS at 16-20.

“The onset date of a disability can be critical to an individual’s

application for disability benefits. A claimant can qualify for [DIB] only if her

disability begins by her date last insured, and these benefits can be paid for up

to 12 months before her application was filed.” Wellington v. Berryhill, 878

F.3d 867, 827 (9th Cir. 2017). “In contrast, a claimant is eligible for SSI once

she becomes disabled, but she cannot receive benefits for any period before her

application date.” Id. “For both programs, the onset date is the date when the

claimant is unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity due to physical

or mental impairments that can be expected to last for at least 12 months.” Id.

“Under ordinary circumstances, an ALJ is equipped to determine a

claimant’s disability onset date without calling on a medical advisor.” Id. at

874. The Ninth Circuit has directed ALJs to call a medical advisor where the

medical evidence was “unavailable,” “inadequate,” or “ambiguous regarding

the possibility” that the onset of the claimant’s disability occurred at that time.

Id. at 873-74. In those circumstances, “an ALJ’s assessment of the disability

onset date would be mere speculation without the aid of a medical expert.”

Diedrich, 874 F.3d at 639. In contrast, the ALJ need not call an advisor when

the available evidence “clearly could not support an inference of disability

onset during a gap in the medical records,” when the record “has no

meaningful gaps,” or when the ALJ “can reasonably and confidently say that

no reasonable medical advisor could infer that the disability began during a

period for which the claimant lacked medical documentation.” Wellington,

878 F.3d at 873-74.

Notably, Plaintiff’s cited cases rely on SSR 83-20, which states that the

ALJ “should call on the services of a medical advisor when onset must be

inferred” (emphasis added). The Ninth Circuit has determined that in the

context of SSR 83-20, “‘should’ means ‘must.’” Armstrong v. Comm’r of SSA,

160 F.3d 587, 590 (9th Cir. 1998); see also Diedrich, 874 F.3d at 638 (“Relying

on SSR 83-20, we have held that where a record is lacking and ambiguous as

to the onset date of disability, ‘the ALJ must call a medical expert to assist in

determining the onset date.’” (citing Armstrong, 160 F.3d at 590)).

SSR 83-20, however, was rescinded and replaced by SSR 18-01p in

October 2018, before Plaintiff’s April 5, 2019 administrative hearing. See SSR

18-01p, at § III (“This SSR is applicable on October 2, 2018 . . . We will apply

this SSR to new applications filed on or after the applicable date of the SSR

and to claims that are pending on and after the applicable date.”); see also

Petersen v. Berryhill, 737 F. App’x 329, 332 n.1 (9th Cir. 2018) (“Because the

prior [SSR] ruling was in effect at the time of the ALJ's decision, the ALJ was

bound to follow it.”). In contrast to SSR 83-20, SSR 18-01p gives ALJs the

discretion to appoint a medical advisor to help determine the established onset

date, but does not require them to do so:

At the hearing level . . ., if the ALJ needs to infer the date

that the claimant first met the statutory definition of disability, he

or she may call on the services of an ME by soliciting testimony or

requesting responses to written interrogatories (i.e., written

questions to be answered under oath or penalty of perjury). The

decision to call on the services of an ME is always at the ALJ’s

discretion. Neither the claimant nor his or her representative can

require an ALJ to call on the services of an ME to assist in

inferring the date that the claimant first met the statutory definition

of disability.

SSR 18-01p, at § I.B.2 (emphasis added).

Regardless of which standard applies, the ALJ did not err. Here, unlike

Diedrich, there was no “large gap” in the medical records. See 874 F.3d at 639

(“Diedrich did not see a psychologist until years after her alleged onset date;

there are no mental health records for nearly two years surrounding her date

last insured.”). Instead, the available records provide an adequate chronology

of Plaintiff’s mental health from her alleged onset date through her date last

insured, and even thereafter. See AR 352-90 (progress notes from March 2012

to June 2016), 648-722 (progress notes from January 2010 to January 2012).

Plaintiff’s 2012-2013 psychotherapy appointments, for example, occurred

every few months and sometimes once a month. See, e.g., AR 356 (March

2012), 357 (May 2012), 358 (June 2012), 359 (July 2012), 360 (August 2012).

Although there are gaps from 2013 to 2015, “there are not so few relevant

medical records on file as to evoke the ALJ’s duty to develop the record under

SSR 83-20.” Wellington, 878 F.3d at 875.

Moreover, the ALJ found, and the record supports, that findings upon

mental status examination were largely within normal limits, which weighed

against Plaintiff’s complaints of a disabling mental impairment prior to her

date last insured. See AR 23. Specifically, the ALJ noted that Plaintiff showed

“a euthymic and stable mood, full affect, linear and goal directed thought

process, no psychomotor agitation and fair insight and judgment.” Id. (citing

AR 663, 665, 667, 669). The ALJ also noted that other than a brief

hospitalization in 2012 due to experiencing suicidal thoughts, Plaintiff’s mental

health treatment was otherwise fairly conservative through the date last

insured. See id.

Plaintiff does not challenge these findings, except to suggest that the

mental status examinations utilized by the Commissioner to establish disability

for SSI in 2017 are not significantly different than the mental status

examinations from 2012 to 2015. See JS at 20. To the contrary, Plaintiff

acknowledged that her condition worsened in summer 2015, after her date last

insured. In November 2015, Plaintiff sought treatment and reported her last

clinic visit as in June 2013, after which she had weaned herself off of her

medications and was doing “ok” for a while. AR 374. In the summer of 2015,

however, her close friend’s parents both died, which started “the downhill

process” that was exacerbated by issues with her brother-in-law. Id.

Because the record was adequate, the ALJ was not required to consult a

medical advisor before determining Plaintiff's disability onset date.

IV. CONCLUSION

The decision is the Social Security Commission is AFFIRMED and this

case is dismissed with prejudice.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Date: March 19, 2021 □□□ 2A—\)

DOUGLAS F. McCORMICK

United States Magistrate Judge

nN

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.