Opinion

Evan Shadle v. Nancy A. Berryhill

Court
District Court, C.D. California
Filed
Dec 18, 2019
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 17.9%

the ALJ must “specifically identify 6 the testimony [the ALJ] finds not to be credible and must explain what 7 evidence undermines the testimony”

How later courts described this case

  • the ALJ must “specifically identify 6 the testimony [the ALJ] finds not to be credible and must explain what 7 evidence undermines the testimony”
  • “We review only the reasons 28 provided by the ALJ in the disability determination and may not affirm the ALJ on a ground upon which he did not rely.”
  • “Impairments that 12 can be controlled effectively with medication are not disabling for the 13 purpose of determining eligibility for SSI benefits.”
  • An ALJ’s decision will not be reversed for errors that are harmless

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

10

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA-EASTERN DIVISION

11

12

EVAN SHADLE, ) Case No. EDCV 18-00806-AS

13 )

Plaintiff, ) MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

14 )

v. ) ORDER OF REMAND

15 )

ANDREW M. SAUL, Commissioner )

16 of the Social Security )

Administration,1 )

17 )

Defendant. )

18 )

19

For the reasons discussed below, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that,

20

pursuant to Sentence Four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), this matter is remanded

21

for further administrative action consistent with this Opinion.

22

23

24

25

26

27

28 1 Andrew M. Saul is now the Commissioner of the Social Security

Administration and is substituted in for Acting Commissioner Nancy A.

Berryhill in this case. See Fed.R.Civ.P. 25(d).

1 PROCEEDINGS

2

3 On April 19, 2018, Plaintiff filed a Complaint seeking review of

4 the denial of his applications for Disability Insurance Benefits and

5 Supplemental Security Income. (Docket Entry No. 1). On September 17,

6 2018, Defendant filed an Answer along with the Administrative Record

7 (“AR”). (Docket Entry Nos. 20-21). On January 29, 2019, the parties

8 filed a Joint Stipulation (“Joint Stip.”) setting forth their respective

9 positions regarding Plaintiff’s claims. (Docket Entry No. 26). On

10 November 13, 2019, the matter was transferred to the undersigned

11 magistrate judge. (Docket Entry No. 28). The parties have consented to

12 proceed before the undersigned United States Magistrate Judge. (Docket

13 Entry Nos. 29-30).

14

15 The Court has taken this matter under submission without oral

16 argument. See C.D. Cal. L.R. 7-15.

17

18

BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF ADMINISTRATIVE DECISION

19

20 On June 20, 2014, Plaintiff, formerly employed as a security guard,

21 dealer service technician and machine operator (see AR 225-29), filed an

22 application for Disability Insurance Benefits, alleging an inability to

23 work because of a disabling condition since August 1, 2012. (See AR 23,

24 195-98). On June 30, 2014, Plaintiff filed an application for

25 Supplemental Security Income, alleging a disability since August 1,

26 2012. (See AR 23, 199-204).

27

28

1 On October 18, 2016, the Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”), Donald

2 Colpitts, heard testimony from Plaintiff (represented by counsel) and

3 vocational expert Robin Generaux. (See AR 38-55). On January 27, 2017,

4 the ALJ issued a decision denying Plaintiff’s applications. (See AR 23-

5 31). Applying the five-step sequential process, the ALJ found at step

6 one that Plaintiff had not engaged in substantial gainful activity since

7 August 1, 2012. (AR 25). At step two, the ALJ determined that

8 Plaintiff had the severe impairments of cardiac dysrhythmia and

9 shortness of breath. (AR 25). At step three, the ALJ concluded that

10 Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that

11 met or equaled the severity of one of the listed impairments. (AR 25-

12 26). The ALJ then determined that Plaintiff had the residual functional

13 capacity (“RFC”)2 to perform light work.3 (AR 26-29).

14

15 At step four, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was able to perform

16 past relevant work as a security guard and alternatively determined,

17 based on Plaintiff’s age, education, experience, and RFC, that there are

18 jobs that exist in significant numbers in the national economy that

19 Plaintiff can perform. (AR 29-30). Accordingly, the ALJ found that

20

21

2 A Residual Functional Capacity is what a claimant can still do

22 despite existing exertional and nonexertional limitations. See 20

C.F.R. §§ 404.1545(a)(1), 416.945(a)(1).

23

3 “Light work involves lifting no more than 20 pounds at a time

24 with frequent lifting or carrying of objects weighing up to 10 pounds.

Even though the weight lifted may be very little, a job is in this category

25 when it requires a good deal of walking or standing, or when it involves

sitting most of the time with some pushing and pulling of arm or leg controls.

26 To be considered capable of performing a full or wide range of light work, you

must have the ability to do substantially all of these activities. If someone

27 can do light work, we determine that he or she can also do sedentary work,

unless there are additional limiting factors such as loss of fine dexterity or

28 inability to sit for long periods of time.” 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1567(b),

416.967(b).

1 Plaintiff was not disabled within the meaning of the Social Security

2 Act. (AR 30-31).

3

4 The Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for review on March

5 19, 2018. (See AR 3-6). Plaintiff now seeks judicial review of the

6 ALJ’s decision, which stands as the final decision of the Commissioner.

7 See 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g), 1383(c).

8

9

STANDARD OF REVIEW

10

11

This Court reviews the Commissioner’s decision to determine if it

12

is free of legal error and supported by substantial evidence. See

13

Brewes v. Comm’r, 682 F.3d 1157, 1161 (9th Cir. 2012). “Substantial

14

evidence” is more than a mere scintilla, but less than a preponderance.

15

Garrison v. Colvin, 759 F.3d 995, 1009 (9th Cir. 2014). To determine

16

whether substantial evidence supports a finding, “a court must consider

17

the record as a whole, weighing both evidence that supports and evidence

18

that detracts from the [Commissioner’s] conclusion.” Aukland v.

19

Massanari, 257 F.3d 1033, 1035 (9th Cir. 2001)(internal quotation

20

omitted). As a result, “[i]f the evidence can support either affirming

21

or reversing the ALJ’s conclusion, [a court] may not substitute [its]

22

judgment for that of the ALJ.” Robbins v. Soc. Sec. Admin., 466 F.3d

23

880, 882 (9th Cir. 2006).4

24

25

26

4 The harmless error rule applies to the review of

27 administrative decisions regarding disability. See McLeod v. Astrue,

640 F.3d 881, 886-88 (9th Cir. 2011); Burch v. Barnhart, 400 F.3d 676,

28 679 (9th Cir. 2005)(An ALJ’s decision will not be reversed for errors

that are harmless).

1

PLAINTIFF’S CONTENTIONS

2

3

Plaintiff alleges that (1) the ALJ erred in failing to provide

4

clear and convincing reasons for finding Plaintiff’s testimony not

5

credible, and (2) the medical evidence submitted to the Appeals Council

6

undermines the ALJ’s decision. (See Joint Stip. at 4-10, 15-20).

7

8

DISCUSSION

9

10

After consideration of the record as a whole, the Court finds that

11

Plaintiff’s first claim of error warrants a remand for further

12

consideration. Since the Court is remanding the matter based on

13

Plaintiff’s first claim of error, the Court will not address Plaintiff’s

14

second claim of error.

15

16 A. The ALJ Did Not Properly Assess Plaintiff’s Testimony

17

18 Plaintiff asserts that the ALJ did not provide clear and convincing

19 reasons for rejecting Plaintiff’s testimony about his symptoms and

20 limitations. (See Joint Stip. at 4-10, 15). Defendant asserts that the

21 ALJ provided valid reasons for finding Plaintiff not fully credible.

22 (See Joint Stip. at 10-15).

23

24 1. Legal Standard

25

26 Where, as here, the ALJ finds that a claimant suffers from a

27 medically determinable physical or mental impairment that could

28 reasonably be expected to produce his or her alleged symptoms, the ALJ

1 must evaluate “the intensity and persistence of those symptoms to

2

determine the extent to which the symptoms limit an individual’s ability

3

to perform work-related activities for an adult . . . .” Soc. Sec.

4

Ruling (“SSR”) 16-3p, 2017 WL 5180304, *3.5

5

6

A claimant initially must produce objective medical evidence

7

establishing a medical impairment reasonably likely to be the cause of

8

the subjective symptoms. Smolen v. Chater, 80 F.3d 1273, 1281 (9th Cir.

9

1996); Bunnell v. Sullivan, 947 F.2d 341, 345 (9th Cir. 1991). Once a

10

claimant produces objective medical evidence of an underlying impairment

11

that could reasonably be expected to produce the pain or other symptoms

12

alleged, and there is no evidence of malingering, the ALJ may reject the

13

claimant’s testimony regarding the severity of his or her pain and

14

symptoms only by articulating specific, clear and convincing reasons for

15

doing so. Brown-Hunter v. Colvin, 798 F.3d 749, 755 (9th Cir.

16

2015)(citing Lingenfelter v. Astrue, 504 F.3d 1028, 1036 (9th Cir.

17

2007)); see also Smolen, supra; Robbins v. Social Sec. Admin, 466 F.3d

18

880, 883 (9th Cir. 2006); Reddick v. Chater, 157 F.3d 715, 722 (9th Cir.

19

1998); Light v. Social Sec. Admin., 119 F.3d 789, 792 (9th Cir. 1997).

20

Because the ALJ does not find that Plaintiff was malingering, the “clear

21

and convincing” standard stated above applies.

22

23

Generalized, conclusory findings do not suffice. See Moisa v.

24

Barnhart, 367 F.3d 882, 885 (9th Cir. 2004)(the ALJ’s credibility

25

26

5 SSR 16-3p, which superseded SSR 96-7p, is applicable to this

27 case, because SSR 16-3p, which became effective on March 28, 2016, was

in effect at the time of the Appeal Council’s March 19, 2018 denial of

28 Plaintiff’s request for review. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1529, the regulation on

evaluating a claimant’s symptoms, including pain, has not changed.

1

findings “must be sufficiently specific to allow a reviewing court to

2

conclude the [ALJ] rejected [the] claimant’s testimony on permissible

3

grounds and did not arbitrarily discredit the claimant’s testimony”)

4

(citation and internal quotation marks omitted); Holohan v. Massanari,

5

246 F.3d 1195, 1208 (9th Cir. 2001)(the ALJ must “specifically identify

6

the testimony [the ALJ] finds not to be credible and must explain what

7

evidence undermines the testimony”); Smolen, 80 F.3d at 1284 (“The ALJ

8

must state specifically which symptom testimony is not credible and what

9

facts in the record lead to that conclusion.”).

10

11

2. The ALJ’s Credibility Findings

12

13

Plaintiff made the following statements in an Exertion

14

Questionnaire dated September 15, 2014 (see AR 222-24):

15

16

He lives with family in a mobile home. (AR 222).

17

After about 1/2 of an hour of physical activity, he

18 experiences weakness and shortness of breath. In the evening

he walks approximately 1/4 of a mile (approximately 10

19 minutes), which leaves him tired and in need of rest. He

does not climb stairs. He can lift and carry small furniture

20 and small dogs throughout the day. He does not use any

assistive devices. (AR 222-24).

21

He often feels tired and fatigued. On an average day he

22 drives children to school and does light housework. He does

grocery shopping 3 to 4 times a week. He vacuums (30

23 minutes), mops (20 minutes), does laundry (1 hour) and does

dishes (10 minutes). He drives a car, for up to 20 miles at

24 one time. With respect to yard work, he picks up trash,

waters, and rakes (but they make him tired). After doing

25 housework/chores for 1/2 of an hour, he is tired and out of

breath. Before becoming disabled, he was able to work hard

26 for hours. (AR 222-24).

27 He sleeps 7 to 8 hours. During the day he requires a

nap or rest period of 1/2 to 1 hour. (AR 224).

28

1

He takes the following medications: Coreg, 25 mg, 2

2 times per day; Lisinopril, 10 mg, 1 time per day; Digoxin, 25

mg, 1 time per day; Eliquis, 5 mg, 2 times per day; and

3 Cartia, 250 mg, 2 times per day. (AR 224).

4

5 Plaintiff gave the following testimony at the administrative

6 hearing (see AR 40-53):

7

8 He lives with his wife, 22-year-old daughter and 18-

year-old son in a mobile home. He received a GED. He is 6

9 feet, 5 inches tall and weighs 275 pounds (since 2012 his

weight has fluctuated from 350 pounds to 260 pounds). He

10 last worked in April 2010, when he was laid off due to his

department being phased out. (AR 40-42).

11

He has been diagnosed with fibrillation. He has had

12 three separate procedures (cardioversions) to try to correct

it, but they have been unsuccessful. Doctors have told him

13 about cardio ablation as an option, which he plans to pursue

(it has not been scheduled). (AR 44-45).

14

He has arrythmia. Doctors are trying to control it with

15 medication. (AR 51-52).

16 He has severe sleep apnea. He uses a CPAP machine,

which helps him. (AR 45, 52).

17

He had a past left ankle injury. Residual symptoms from

18 that injury are swelling and a crooked left ankle. He has

chronic pain -- a dull ache in the ankle and sharp pains in

19 the foot -- all the time. The pain causes him to limp and

affects his ability to function. Too much time on his ankle

20 is unbearable. For his ankle pain, he takes over-the-counter

pain relief medication and uses a brace (wrapped). (AR 45-

21 46)

22 In 2012, he experienced weakness and shortness of

breath. After 2012, his symptoms got progressively worse.

23 His shortness of breath happens more after physical activity

but sometimes happens by itself. His shortness of breath

24 causes him chest pain “[t]o some extent.” His shortness of

breath is controlled with medication “to some degree”, but is

25 not taken away completely. His fatigue increases with

activity but is fairly constant. He gets shortness of breath

26 when in public, and then has to stop what he is doing and sit

down if possible. After a night’s sleep he feels physically

27 rested but still feels pretty tired. He needs to take two

naps a day, one in the early afternoon and one in the early

28

8

1 evening, each for approximately 1/2 hour. (AR 42-44, 50, 52-53).

2

He can do chores such as emptying the trash, mopping the

3 floor, and washing the dishes for 1/2 hour to 45 minutes

before he has to rest for 1/2 hour to 45 minutes. The

medication he takes cause him to be drowsy and fatigued. (AR

4

46-48).

5

His daily routine consists of getting up, getting the

children off to school, taking the dogs out (opening the

6

front door and letting them in the back yard), eating

breakfast, watching a little television, doing a few chores,

7

eating lunch, taking a nap, watching a little television,

doing a couple of chores, preparing and eating dinner, taking

8

the dogs out (walking them 2 to 3 times a week), taking

another nap, staying up a little with his wife (who works

9

during the day), and going to bed. His children help him

with driving, lifting heavy things (he believes he probably

10

can lift 25 pounds), gardening, and grocery shopping. When

he goes out, he has to have somebody with him because of his

11

heart condition. (AR 48-50, 52-53).

12

He does not smoke or use illegal drugs. He drinks a

glass of beer three times a year. He does not have any

13

hobbies. (AR 51).

14

15

The ALJ summarized Plaintiff’s testimony as follows:

16

17 The claimant makes the following allegations regarding

the intensity, persistence, and limiting effects of his

18 symptoms. The claimant testified that he suffers from

weakness and shortness of breath, which have worsened since

19 2012. In addition, he suffers from fatigue, which increases

with activity, and that he takes two thirty minute naps a

20 day. Further, he stated that he has had various procedures

for his heart issues, and that a cardio ablation may be

21 performed. He stated that he uses a CPAP machine, and has

swelling and constant pain in his ankle and foot that cause

22 him to limp. The claimant testified that he has some pain

with shortness of breath and was recently prescribed

23 medication for arrhythmia. Finally, he testified that he can

lift approximately twenty five pounds. Despite these

24 allegations, he has admitted that he stopped working because

he was laid off in 2010, and not because of any limitations

25 stemming from his impairments. In addition, he can wash

dishes, take out the trash, make sure his kids get off to

26 school, prepare dinner, and help care for his dogs.

Moreover, he stated that he uses over-the-counter medication

27 for pain.

28

1

(AR 26-27).

2

3

After summarizing Plaintiff’s testimony, the ALJ stated:

4

5

“After careful consideration of the evidence, the

6

undersigned finds that the claimant’s medically determinable

7

impairments could reasonably be expected to cause the alleged

8

symptoms; however, the claimant’s statements concerning the

9

intensity, persistence and limiting effects of these symptoms

10

are not entirely consistent with the medical evidence and

11

other evidence in the record for the reasons explained in

12

this decision. (AR 27). The ALJ then stated, “Turning to

13

the objective medical evidence, the evidence cannot be fully

14

reconciled with the level of pain and limiting effects of the

15

impairments that the claimant has alleged.” (AR 27). The

16

ALJ proceeded to discuss the medical evidence in the record,

17

including the opinions of the State Agency medical

18

consultants, see AR 27-29, and concluded: “In sum, the above

19

residual functional capacity assessment is supported by the

20

objective medical evidence contained in the record.

21

Treatment notes in the record do not sustain the claimant’s

22

allegations of disabling pain and limitations. The claimant

23

does experience some levels of pain and limitations but only

24

to the extent described in the residual functional capacity

25

above.”

26

27

(AR 29).

28

1

3. The ALJ Failed To Provide Clear and Convincing Reasons for

2

Discounting Plaintiff’s Statements about His Limitations

3

4

As set forth below, the ALJ failed to provide legally sufficient

5

reasons for discrediting Plaintiff’s testimony about the intensity,

6

persistence and limiting effects of his pain and symptoms.6

7

8

First, the ALJ failed to “specifically identify ‘what testimony is

9

not credible and what evidence undermines [Plaintiff’s] complaints.’”

10

Parra v. Astrue, 481 F.3d 742, 750 (9th Cir. 2007)(quoting Lester v.

11

Chater, 81 F.3d 821, 834 (9th Cir. 1995)); see also Smolen, 80 F.3d at

12

1284 (“The ALJ must state specifically what symptom testimony is not

13

credible and what facts in the record lead to that conclusion”).

14

15

Second, to the extent the ALJ discounted Plaintiff’s testimony

16

based on Plaintiff’s admission that he was laid off work in 2010 (rather

17

than in August 2012, the alleged disability onset date), this reason

18

does not meet the clear and convincing standard. Plaintiff did not

19

allege in his applications that he stopped working in 2010 because of

20

symptoms and limitations resulting from his impairments. (See AR 195,

21

199). Plaintiff’s testimony at the October 18, 2016 hearing - that he

22

was laid off in 2010 because his department was phased out and that his

23

24

6 The Court will not consider reasons for discounting Plaintiff’s

25

subjective symptom testimony that were not given by the ALJ in the

decision (see Joint Stip. at 14-15). See Connett v. Barnhart, 340 F.3d

26

871, 874 (9th Cir. 2003)(“We are constrained to review the reasons the

ALJ asserts.”; citing SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194, 196 (1947) and

27

Pinto v. Massanari, 249 F.3d 840, 847-48 (9th Cir. 2001)); Garrison v.

Colvin, 759 F.3d 995, 1010 (9th Cir. 2014)(“We review only the reasons

28

provided by the ALJ in the disability determination and may not affirm

the ALJ on a ground upon which he did not rely.”).

1

disability onset date was August 12, 2012 - was consistent with the

2

information provided in the “Disability Report” submitted on September

3

3, 2014 in which Plaintiff alleged that he stopped working on March 1,

4

2010 because of “other reasons” not related to his conditions, namely,

5

he was laid off from work, and that his condition became severe enough

6

to keep him from working on August 1, 2012. (See AR 213-14).

7

8

Third, to the extent the ALJ discounted Plaintiff’s testimony about

9

his symptoms and limitations based on Plaintiff’s ability to perform

10

certain daily activities, such as washing dishes, taking out the trash,

11

making sure his kids get off to school, preparing dinner, and helping

12

care for his dogs, these reasons also fail to meet the clear and

13

convincing standard. See Vertigan v. Halter, 260 F.3d 1044, 1050 (9th

14

Cir. 2001)(“[T]he mere fact that a plaintiff has carried on certain

15

daily activities . . . does not in any way detract from her credibility

16

as to her overall disability. One does not need to be ‘utterly

17

incapacitated’ in order to be disabled.”); Reddick, 157 F.3d at 722

18

(“Only if the level of activity were inconsistent with the Claimant’s

19

claimed limitations would these activities have any bearing on

20

Claimant’s credibility.”). While a plaintiff’s ability to spend a

21

“substantial part” of his or her day engaged in pursuits involving the

22

performance of physical functions that are transferable to a work

23

setting may be sufficient to discredit him or her, here, there is no

24

evidence that Plaintiff was spending a substantial part of his day

25

engaged in these activities or that the physical demands of such tasks

26

as washing dishes, taking out the trash, making sure his kids get off

27

to school, preparing dinner, and helping care for his dogs were

28

transferable to a work setting. See Ghanim v. Colvin, 763 F.3d 1154,

1

1165 (9th Cir. 2014)(“However, there is no indication here that the

2

limited activities Ghanim engaged in, often with the help of a friend,

3

either comprised a ‘substantial portion’ of Ghanim’s day, or were

4

‘transferrable’ to a work environment.”).

5

6

It is not clear whether the ALJ considered Plaintiff’s testimony

7

about his limited abilities to perform such daily activities. In the

8

Exertion Questionnaire, Plaintiff stated that he could only walk his

9

dogs for approximately 10 minutes before he felt tired and needed to

10

rest, and that it takes him 10 minutes to wash dishes. (AR 222). At the

11

hearing, Plaintiff testified that he can do household chores such as

12

emptying the trash, mopping the floor, and washing the dishes for no

13

more than 30 to 45 minutes before needing to rest for approximately 30

14

to 45 minutes, (AR 45), he usually lets his dogs out by opening the

15

front door and letting them in the back yard, and takes his dogs out for

16

a walk 2 or 3 times a week, (AR 47-48) and that his children are old

17

enough to take care of their needs on their own. (AR 49). Therefore,

18

the degree to which Plaintiff could perform such daily activities may

19

not have been inconsistent with his testimony regarding his symptoms and

20

limitations. See Reddick, 157 F.3d at 722; see also Morgan v.

21

Commissioner of Social Sec. Admin., 169 F.3d 595, 600 (9th Cir.

22

1999)(“If a claimant is able to spend a substantial part of his day

23

engaged in pursuits involving the performance of physical functions that

24

are transferable to a work setting, a specific finding as to this fact

25

may be sufficient to discredit a claimant’s allegations.”).

26

27

Here, the ALJ did not ask Plaintiff how much time he spent engaged

28

in his admitted daily activities or make any finding that Plaintiff’s

1

ability to engage in such activities were transferable to and consistent

2

with the duties he would be performing in a work environment. Thus,

3

Plaintiff’s admitted daily activities, without more, were not a legally

4

sufficient reason to reject Plaintiff’s subjective symptom testimony.

5

6

Fourth, to the extent the ALJ discounted Plaintiff’s testimony

7

based on the fact that Plaintiff was taking over-the-counter pain

8

medication, see SSR 16-3p, 2017 WL 5180304, *7-*8 (the effectiveness of

9

medication is one factor to be considered in evaluating the intensity,

10

persistence and limiting effects of an individual’s symptoms); Warre v.

11

Comm’r of the SSA, 439 F.3d 1001, 1006 (9th Cir. 2006)(“Impairments that

12

can be controlled effectively with medication are not disabling for the

13

purpose of determining eligibility for SSI benefits.”), this was also

14

not a clear and convincing reason. Plaintiff’s testimony concerning his

15

use of over-the-counter medication was related solely to his ankle

16

injury (AR 48) and not to his severe impairments of cardiac dysrhythmia

17

and shortness of breath. Moreover, the medication that Plaintiff was

18

taking for his severe impairments is not over-the-counter pain

19

medication. (See AR 224, 275, 282, 297, 303, 306, 309, 332, 334, 339,

20

342, 351). In addition, Plaintiff testified that the medication he

21

takes for his shortness of breath is not totally effective. At the

22

hearing, Plaintiff testified that while his shortness of breath is

23

controlled with medication “to some degree,” the medication does not

24

take away the shortness of breath completely. (AR 43).

25

26

Finally, while the ALJ also found that Plaintiff’s testimony

27

concerning his symptoms and limitations was not supported by the

28

objective medical evidence, this factor cannot, by itself, support an

1 adverse finding about Plaintiff’s testimony. See Trevizo v. Berryhill,

2

862 F.3d 987, 1001 (9th Cir. 2017)(once a claimant demonstrates medical

3

evidence of an underlying impairment, “an ALJ ‘may not disregard [a

4

claimant’s testimony] solely because it is not substantiated

5

affirmatively by objective medical evidence.’”; quoting Robbins v. Soc.

6

Sec. Admin., 466 F.3d 880, 883 (9th Cir. 2006)); Rollins v. Massanari,

7

261 F.3d 853, 857 (9th Cir. 2001); Tidwell v. Apfel, 161 F.3d 599, 602

8

(9th Cir. 1998); Blaine v. Berryhill, 2018 WL 6243089, *4 (D. Mont. Nov.

9

29, 2018)(“The ALJ’s conclusion that [the claimant’s] testimony would

10

only be accepted to the extent that her hearing testimony was

11

‘consistent with the objective medical ... evidence’ is . . . the

12

precise practice the Ninth Circuit prohibits.”); see also SSR 16-3p,

13

2017 WL 5180304, *7 (“We must consider whether an individual’s

14

statements about the intensity, persistence, and limiting effects of his

15

or her symptoms are consistent with the medical signs and laboratory

16

findings of record. . . . However, we will not disregard an

17

individual’s statements about the intensity, persistence, and limiting

18

effects of symptoms solely because the objective medical evidence does

19

not substantiate the degree of impairment related-symptoms alleged by

20

the individual.”).

21

22

Because the Court finds that the ALJ failed to provide legally

23

permissible grounds for discounting Plaintiff’s symptom testimony, the

24

Court is unable to defer to the ALJ’s credibility determination. Cf.

25

Flaten v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 44 F.3d 1453, 1464 (9th Cir.

26

1995)(the court will defer to the ALJ’s credibility determinations when

27

they are appropriately supported in the record by specific findings

28 justifying that decision)(citations omitted).

1 B. Remand Is Warranted

2

3

The decision whether to remand for further proceedings or order an

4

immediate award of benefits is within the district court’s discretion.

5

Harman v. Apfel, 211 F.3d 1172, 1175-78 (9th Cir. 2000). Where no

6

useful purpose would be served by further administrative proceedings,

7

or where the record has been fully developed, it is appropriate to

8

exercise this discretion to direct an immediate award of benefits. Id.

9

at 1179 (“[T]he decision of whether to remand for further proceedings

10

turns upon the likely utility of such proceedings.”). However, where,

11

as here, the circumstances of the case suggest that further

12

administrative review could remedy the Commissioner’s errors, remand is

13

appropriate. McLeod v. Astrue, 640 F.3d 881, 888 (9th Cir. 2011);

14

Harman v. Apfel, 211 F.3d at 1179-81.

15

16

Since the ALJ failed to properly assess Plaintiff’s symptom

17

testimony, remand is appropriate. Because outstanding issues must be

18

resolved before a determination of disability can be made, and “when the

19

record as a whole creates serious doubt as to whether the [Plaintiff]

20

is, in fact, disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act,”

21

further administrative proceedings would serve a useful purpose and

22

remedy defects. Burrell v. Colvin, 775 F.3d 1133, 1141 (9th Cir.

23 2014)(citations omitted).7

24

7 The Court has not reached any other issue raised by Plaintiff

25 except to determine that reversal with a directive for the immediate

payment of benefits would not be appropriate at this time.

26 “[E]valuation of the record as a whole creates serious doubt that

Plaintiff is in fact disabled.” See Garrison v. Colvin, 759 F.3d 995,

27 1021 (2014). Accordingly, the Court declines to rule on Plaintiff’s

claim regarding the the medical evidence submitted to the Appeals

28 Council (see Joint Stip. at 16-21). Because this matter is being

(continued...)

1 ORDER

2

3

For the foregoing reasons, the decision of the Commissioner is

4

reversed, and the matter is remanded for further proceedings pursuant

5

to Sentence 4 of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

6

7

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY.

8

9

DATED: December 18, 2019

10

11

/s/

ALKA SAGAR

12

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

7 (...continued)

28

remanded for further consideration, this issue should also be considered

on remand.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.