Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bulter v. Kempthorne, (2008) (No. 711)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, Us.

FILED

\) “~)

Willem K: Suter, Clerk

No. ae

IN THE

SUPREME CoOurrT OF THE UNITED STATES

William C. Butler,

Petitioner

Vv.

Dirk Kempthorne, Secretary,

U.S. Department Of The Interior,

Respondent

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit, Denver, Colorado

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

William C. Butler, pro se

31951 Lodgepole Drive

Evergreen, Colorado 80439

(303) 674-8317

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

BACKGROUND: Petitioner, a federal employee for

17.5 yrs. in good standing, was separated at age 51

ina 1995 nationwide reduction-in-force. He timely

filed with the U.S. Office of Special Counsel a com-

plaint of prohibited personne! practices, unfairness,

and denial of seniority. Petitioner then became a

bona fide member of a certified age-discrimination

class of 74 male and female geologists over age 40.

He has never been granted a hearing, and the case

has not been tried on its merits.

Cana US. District Court dismiss a federal employ-

ment case for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and

deny the appellant due process if the appellant was

granted a Right-To-Sve Letter from the U. S$. Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission that states

their decision is final and there are no further odmin-

istrative remedies available?

Cana U.S. District Court dismiss a federal employ-

ment case for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and

deny the appellant due process if the appellant was

a bona fide member of a certified age-discrimin-

ation class who timely filed an individual age-dis-

crimination action when the class was decertified?

Can a U.S. District Court dismiss a federal employ-

ment case for lack of subject matter jurisdiction if a

complaint was timely filed with Office of Special

Counsel and the issue is one of equitable tolling

(running of limitations) with the Merit Systems

Protection Board —a non-jurisdictional issue?

LIST OF PARTIES

WILLIAM C. BUTLER, petitioner/appellant

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, Secretary, U.S. Department of the

Interior, respondent/defendant

No parties are corporations.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner's jurisdiction in U.S. District Court is Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 USC §2000e-5 and the

1967 Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA)

29 USC 633(a). Petitioner also claimed discrimination

for being wrongly discharged, and being denied

equal employment opportunities (see doc. 1, Com-

plaint, cover page [jurisdiction] with EEOC's Right-To-

Sue Notice). Opinions are in appen. doc. 1A. 1B, 2,

and 3. A partial MSPB opinion is on p. 14.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

™ page

EIST ERR SAS nea Meee a

a claus ge elena i

et es awe eb oon i

Nee mews aee's iV

NERS SS Spd a A ae a ee ee iv

Federal Statutes and Rules... .......... vii

Other Federal Documents.............. ix

ee Pe kD |

FS EN oe 6

|. Petitioner timely filed with U.S. Office of

Special Counsel and later with

MSPB/EEOC

ll. Aright to due process of law must be

understood in context of equal-

and-fair-treatment issues .......... 9

Ne cn cdees 22

lll. Filing a class complaint suspends the

statute of limitations for exhaustion

of administrative remedies ........ 24

PO vc bc evcecsctcese 27

I ne cee essences 28

ee se wnen 30

Why the Supreme Court Should Hear This Case . . 41

RN ta ti oie de cad oleh we 43

I re ee eae hl. sce ae wae 45

Document 1A: Judgment from 10" U.S.

District Court, Colorado.......... 45

Document 1B: Order On Defendant's

Motion to Dismiss (Doc. #27) ...... 47

Document 2: Order and Judgment U.S.

Court of Appeals, 10"? Circuit ...... 59

Document 3: Order on Petition For

Rehearing, U.S. Court of Appeals

SRP ECE RS Seach ee 64

Document 4: Office of Speciai Counsel

Fg ke a a 65

Document 5: W.C. Butler's Letter to U.S.

Congressman David Skaggs...... 66

Document 6: Rocky Mountain News

Article - Feds’ Bonuses Raise Ire .... 68

Document 7: Rocky Mountain News

Article — Designer Downsizing ...... 70

Document 8: Boulder Weekly Article —

Bad Science: Politics &Patronage

Reign in Downsizing .............. 72

Document 9: DSZ & Associates’ Author-

ization to Investigate and W.C.

Butler's Interrogatories........... 8]

Document 10: Reimer's Letter Re: Gary

Hill’s Contempt For Civil Service... 87

Document 1!: O’Connor’s Letter Re:

Gary Hill's Contempt For Merit

PO Pk cae 6 OU aw We ce~ 0 « 9]

Document 12: Federal Employees News

Digest Article About U.S.G.S. RIF... 93

Document 13: Confidential Memo From

Program Chiefs To Chief Geologist

Admitting They RIF'ed Employees

es ce ees 94

Document 14: Petitioner's Response to

Judge's Order To Show Cause... . 96

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

page

Adam et. al. v. Norton, 9'> Cir. Doc. No. 04-

17365, N.D. CA No. C-98-2094 CW ...... 18, 25, 98

American Pipe & Construction Co v. Utah,

414 US. 538, 94 S.Ct. 756, 38 L.Ed.2d 713

aN ee re 33, 37, 103

Andrews v. Orr, 851 F.2d 146, 48 FEP 643

as eu ge eek 4 Hoe OA 37, 39

Baldwin County Welcome Center v. Brown,

466 U.S. 147, 152, 104S.Ct. 1723, 1726, 80

oO Bea ho eg ly 40

Barrett v. Civil Service. Commission, 69 F.R.D.

Sad. 04 FP Cie Ge. FPF Ee ccc cc ccc rceces 38

Beeman v. Middendorf, 425 F.Supp. 713,

3 ge Se are a 38

Boddy v. Dean, 821 F.2d 346, 45 FEP 586

PG IE Wha std ie sees mew eugancete ss as 40

Brodrick v. District of Columbia, 7 MSPR

EE oe ae a ee a all ar gag eh 21

Chisholm v. U.S. Postal Service, 665 F.2d 482,

er Oe Gas EE ks 6 6h sna) cede eee ees 38

Crown, Cork & Seal Co. Inc. v. Parker,

462 U.S. 345, 103 S.Ct. 2392, 76 L.Ed.2d

I 6.05, 6.02. a ou vaudabe eater bas wis 34, 38

Dawson v. U.S.P.S., 45 MSPB 194, (1990) ........ 101

Drake v. U.S. Dept. of Commerce,

ois eh ie cee be bh ewe 2)

Eastland v. Tennessee Valley Authority,

553 F.2d 364, 15 FEP 1115, (5'" Cir. 1977),

cert. denied, 434 US 985, 98 S.Ct. 611, 54

a8 Fg. erry er ene 38

Ellis v. Naval Air Rework Facility, 404 F.Supp.

377, 386, 391 (N.D. Cal. 1975), rev'd on other

grounds, 608 F.2d 1308 (9 Cir. 1979) .......... 38

-

Federal Express v. Holowecki, et. al.,

U.S. Supreme Court No. 06-1322 (552 U.S.

2008) decided Feb. 27, 2008 ................. 15

Gomez-Perez v. Potter, Postmaster General,

U.S. Supreme Court (06-1321) decided

AS EI SF ae eae ee 20

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 91

eR me OE Fd) 32

Hazen Paper Company v. Biggins,

EE 32

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S.

792, 93 S.Ct. 1817, 36 L.Ed.2d 668 (1973) ....... 1]

Meacham v. Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory,

aka KAPL, Inc., et. al., U.S. Supreme Court

No. 06-1505 (decided 6-19-2008) ........... 7, 40

Monreal v. Potter, 367 F.3d 1224, 93 FEP

SLI LE 38

Nelson v. County of Allegheny, 60 F.3d

aia cw a's we etececeueee 33

O'Connor v. Consolidated Coin Caterers Corp..,

517 U.S. 308, 116 S.Ct. 1307, 134 L.Ed.2d

er es Le eee ee ewes es 0. 32

Parnell v. U.S. Dept. of the Army, 58 MSPR

es wa 20

vi

Scott v. U.S. Dept. of Treasury, 1 MSPR 42

RE ered ke ee Ce ee ae vs «~ ee

Steele v. Louisville & Nashville R. Co., 323

U.S. 192, 65 S.Ct. 226, 89 L.Ed. 173 (1944) ........ 9

Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A., 534 U.S. 506, 122

Tee @ fe} oe. ee 17

Texas Dept. of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450

U.S. 248, 101 S.Ct. 1089, 67 L.Ed.2d 207 (1981)... 11

United States of America v. Gary W. Hill,

8:02-cr-00431-JDW, U.S. District Court,

pee erect, FONTS, FL ww. cee 3, 20

Valentino v. U.S. Postal Service, 511 F.Supp.

917, 25 FEP 24, D.D.C. (1977), aff'd 674 F.2d 56,

218 U.S. App. D.C. 213, 28 FEP 593,

Sh Cae ss abi wale vie nels 6% 6 = 0 « 38

Wards Cove Packing Co.., Inc. v. Atonio, 490

U.S. 642, 109 S.Ct. 2115, 104 L.Ed.2d 733 (1989) .. 32

Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229 S.Ct.

yo eB eo 10

Wilburn v. U.S. Dept. of Transportation, 757

Fem an ae SR, UE 04s ois os ea cence cs 26

Zipes v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385,

102 3.C¥. UIZ7. 73 UB. ZO4 IPG)... wee 40

FEDERAL STATUTES and RULES

vil

FS os ces cccecceececteens 7

F.R.Cv.P. Rule 23(b)(3) .......... Reapoe. 26, 33

ee... dic euecuaedus 13

rere 13

CO 13

osc ncscocaceveveus 13

5 US.C. §1214(a)(1)(A) ..........- wesuspueas 13

SUSC. SI916........ ioe ener Re 20

Teor 13

ae 35

SE pe nin ses 7

I nn. occ kcccccaccceceus 20

vi cccekcavcueteus 19

ee ues 10, 20

5 U.S.C. §2302(b)(1,4,6, 8,10) .......... 20, 21, 35

se. ccc ancwecccunes 20

i eeseened 34

ee ds cca esuau pac 34

5 U.S.C. §7702(a)(1)(B) ............ idee onan 12

IS, ...... wc ccc ce ccccveus 9

UI go. ac ccc ccccvosecccees 34

I .. eco esensves 12, 36, 41

UE gd... oe cn uncuvwes 34

ree 11,21

ee ET ere 7

SCPR BUMLIONE .... «5... 5. oc cece 14, 103

ee a 34

Ee dg. ccc ce ces 37, 103

eel ES eee 13

ne iedesaue 3

re 40

ee cc cecawuns 10

TPGER GUAT co. oo ck a dece cee 10

29 CER. $1614.102ic)IS) .................-.. 10

pe Er ee 1]

ee I og no cc ccc ccccevecsvvees 34

poe re 26

29 CPR. SIGI4.20e) ............. 27, 28, 29, 101

EE ko. ce cowecepevdieseewe 34

ec cet ccs ees eeenc ten 4]

pg ES 15, 34

in ccc ceec cesses owen 18

es oa ec esse assess eee 40

Er 19

42 U.S.C. §2000e et seq. Title VIICRA..... 19, 34, 39

ee ee 18

ia ian on kc cod docs e034 34

ee I so voce cccctcccecenecss 34

Civil Service Acts of 1866, 1870,1883

a nr ie ak 9 wg 0d 19, 20

Civil Service Reform Act Pub. L. No. 95-454 Stat.

I ns gk ok so esse obec 10, 19

Lloyd-LaFollette Act of 1912...............4.. 19

U.S. Constitution 5'* Amendment.............. 9

U.S. Constitution 14° Amendment............. 9

OTHER FEDERAL DOCUMENTS

United States Geological Survey, Report Of

Investigation On [1995 RIF] Class Complaint,

September 28, 2004, by DSZ & Associates,

RF PED oboe ck vccccvesecsens 4, 30

httos://e-aopedl.Mspb.dov ............ ee eues 13

U.S.F.R. v.60, n. 165, Aug. 25, 1995,

RE ee PO eT ee Oe Ee 7

ix

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

1. Petitioner was a federal career geologist GS-

1350-13 in good standing from May 2, 1978-

Oct. 14, 1995, stationed in the Central Region

| (Denver, CO), Geologic Division (GD), U.S.

Geological Survey (U.S.G.S.), Dept. of Interior.

: 2. Petitioner was served a defective Reduction-in-

: Force (RIF) Notice on Aug. 14, 1995. 550 GD

: scientists (37% of workforce) were separated in

this RIF, and about 800 were adversely affect-

ed. The RIF Notice did not contain the require-

ed MSPB appeal form, or a required reason

for separation. Nor did it mention appeal

rights with EEOC or OSC. Notice stated that

appellant's deadline for filing with MSPB was

contingent upon “absent a showing of good

| cause”. Petitioner showed good cause by

| timely filing with OSC.

3 3. Petitioner's birthday is Jan. 7, 1944, making him 51

yrs. old on the effective day of the RIF.

4. For purpose of the RIF, the Agency quickly de-

veloped experimental competitive level codes

(CLC’s) for the Geologic Division increasing

the number of geologist job categories from

about 60 to over 400 - almost one for each

scientist separated.

5. Petitioner's competitive level code (position) was

changed immediately before the RIF from 019

to 059 to put him into a unique one-person

“group” that prevented him from competing

for other 019 positions. Appellant had an

OPM-computed adjusted service date (ASD)

of 5-2-1966 which is senior to non-RIF’ed

employee D. Higley whose ASD is 12-9-1967.

Higley’s CLC was changed from 019 to 046 so

petitioner could not exercise his seniority. Both

parties were the same GS-grade in the same

tenure ac in the same small petroleum re-

source assessment group in the same Branch

and both did exactly the same work. Appel-

lant was 10 yrs. older than Higley. Appellant

identified 26 other non-RIF'ed geologists who

had less ASD seniority than appellant (see doc.

64, p. 34-39 for verified affidavit; p. 50 for Per-

sonnel Office's list of CLC changes).

6. 98% of all 784 adversely-affected employees had

their CLC’s changed. This allowed manage-

ment to target people for separation and

downgrades rather than to cut positions. OPM

rules allow only positions to be cut. OPM

formulas put the most senior employees at the

top of the retention registers and these people

fill the uncut positions. This standard proce-

dure was overridden by the Agency.

7. Management illegally evaluated people rather

thon positions when making pre-RIF staffing

plans. This is confirmed by testimony of staffing

committee members as shown by their meet-

ing notes. These were the documents that

survived shredding after each meeting.

8. The Agency maintained an illegal “Add-Back List”.

After the RIF, the separated employees under

age 40 were rehired without competing for

positions. Those positions were not available to

RIF'ed employees over 40. This scheme cir-

cumvented OPM rules for fair competition

and showed age animus.

: 2

9. The cornerstone of federal employment practices

is fairness and equal opportunity as evidenced

by the Civil Service Reform Acts, Civil Rights

Acts, Executive Orders, and non-discriminatory

policies that promote merit principles rather

than an archaic spoils and favoritism system. It

is fact that the Agency had a good faith duty

to treat all protected employees uniformly and

to use equitable standards, such as in honoring

seniority.

10. Petitioner timely wrote an official complaint to

The Office of Special Counse! (OSC) on Aug.

25, 1995, about prohibiied personnel practices,

including political intrusion, denial of seniority,

gross unfairness, appalling procedures, and

vindictiveness by a supervisor, Office Chief

Gary Hill. (OSC File No. MA-95-2067). OSC

replied (appen. doc. 4) that Complaints Exam-

iner, J. Sandra Thomas, would interview ap-

pellant, but she never sent a questionnaire

and never interviewed him. OSC “dropped

the ball” failing to perform their legal obli-

gation to investigate. Appellant was ready

and willing to provide additional information.

11. Supervisor Gary Hill was convicted in U.S. District

Court as a felon for stealing $50,000 worth of

U.S. Government property under 18 U.S.C.

§641. (United States of America v. Gary W. Hill,

8:02-cr-00431-JDW). Appen. doc. 10 and 11

also document Hill's contempt for civil service

rules via his overt admissions to witnesses that

he schemed to circumvent merit principles.

12. Petitioner did not appeal in 1995 to Merit Systems

Protection Board (MSPB) or Equal Employment

3

Opportunity Commission (EEOC) as he waited

for an investigation from OSC that never hap-

pened. Meanwhile, class actions were being

filed by the anti-RIF committee CREAM

(Central Region Employees Against Misman-

agement) of which petitioner was a member.

13. Seventy-four U.S.G.S. employees over age 40 in

Denver were separated or downgraded

(91.4%), but only seven employees under 40

were separated or downgraded (8.6%). These

data are from U.S.G.S. Final Report (Sept. 28,

2004, Agency Summary, p. 11). Ten times as

many employees over 40 were affected but

business necessity and budget deficit were

never shown by the Agency. The 405 early-out

retirements in 1995 (the oldest of the work-

force) were not included in the 91.4% of

RIF'ed employees over age 40. Taking out the

oldest employees from the population sample,

made the RIF'ing of those over 40 even less

likely simply by chance. Statistics thus show an

intentional discrimination (disparate impact).

Such a gross statistical disparity constitutes a

prima facie case of discrimination.

14. Christine Turner-Peterson of the Geologic Division

orepared an official report prior to the RIF that

concluded 400 early-out retirements would be

necessary to cover a worst-case 20% budget

reduction. If 400 retired, no RIF would be nec-

essary. 405 did accept early-outs. Neverthe-

less, five months after receiving a full budget

from Congress, management went ahead

with a massive worst-case-scenario RIF. The

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

GD budget was not cut, thus showing a RIF

was unnecessary for fiscal reasons.

An anonymous class-action appea! to the Oct.

1995 RIF was timely filed in Nov. 1995 with the

U.S.G.S. Equal Employment Office (EEO),

Denver, CO. EEO took 4 years to investigate

discrimination claims filed in 1995-1996.

A sextage-discrimination class action timely

filed by geologists Throckmorton &Nichols in

Jan. 2000, was changed by a Federal judge in

May 2003 to an age-discrimination class action

including all male and female geologists over

age 40 in the Central Region.

As a party to the action, petitioner submitted

interrogatories to the Agency in May 2004 that

included a 1995 letter to his U.S. Congressman

complaining of prohibited personnel practices

and age discrimination.

Petitioner timely filed a Right-Of-Action in June

2005 with MSPB after the class was decertified

in May 2005 on res judicata grounds. (doc. 64,

attach. C, p. 45-45b).

U.S.G.S. management gave themselves multiple

bonuses (some as many as 5) after the RIF and

sent memos to staff urging them to spend

year-end money quickly and buy things be-

cause they were flush. (appen. doc. 6).

Two weeks after the RIF, Nov. 1, 1995, the G.D.

Program Managers and Coordinators sent

Chief Geologist Leahy a confidential memo

(appen. doc. 13) complaining about how they

could explain to the workforce that they had

just rolled over millions of dollars for the last two

fiscal years yet just RIF’ed hundreds of employ-

5

ees (court doc. 64, attach. D, p. 46). Given

that the budget was not cut, the RIF is now

seen to have been a pretext.

21. Agency untimely filed 2 documents missing

deadlines for Motion For Extension Of Time To

File Answer To Complaint, and the deadline for

filing Defendant's Answer.

22. Petitioner has diligently pursued his appeal

rights from August 1995 to the present.

23. Petitioner's complaint was denied by 10" US.

District Court and U.S. Court of Appeals for lack

of jurisdiction (appen. doc. 1A, 1B, 2, 3).

ARGUMENT

|. Petitioner timely filed with U.S. Office of Special

Counsel and later with MSPB/EEOC

Petitioner will show with evidence that he was en-

titled to file a civil action in federal court by EITHER his

timely OSC complaint OR his timely age-discrimi-

nation complaint. The evidence shows: 1) a break-

down of merit-based decision-making, 2) disparate

treatment and impact, 3) abuse of authority by

management, and 4) inequality — all discriminatory

issues in RIFs. These substantive issues comprise the

contextual background in which the procedural

denial of due process and jurisdiction, and the

subsequenl dismissal of a cornplaint, are made.

lf a defective RIF Notice (court doc. 1, p. 28A-28B) is

served, an appeal within 30 days is difficult to con-

struct when no reason is given for the separation. A

6

reason is required by 5 C.F.R. §351.802 (a)(1) and

U.S.F.R. v. 60, n. 165, Aug. 1995, p. 44,253-54,..”...a

specific reduction in force notice must cover the

action to be taken, the effective date of the action,

and the reasons for the action.”. [emphasis added].

Once a complaint is filed by a separated employee,

the burden of proof in an ADEA case is on the em-

ployer to show there were reasonable factors other

than age (Meacham v. Knolls Afomic Power Labor-

atory , Supreme Court no. 06-1505 (decided 6-19-

2008). However, the Agency's argument is that pet-

itioner is not female, and thus he cannot opt-in to

their sext+age discrimination claim, and secondly

that OSC is not allowed to accept a timely com-

plaint of prohibited practices before MSPB receives

it. Both defenses are incorrect because OSC invest-

igates RIFs, and the sex+age claim included males.

The 10! US. District Court ruled it nas no jurisdiction

over petitioner's case per F.R.Cv.P. Rule 12(b){1)..

“(lack of jurisdiction over the subject matter.” Peti-

tioner was denied jurisdiction because he allegedly

did not exhaust administrative remedies. To the con-

trary, petitioner not only timely filed an official com-

olaint with the U.S. Office of Soecial Counsel speci-

fying prohibited personnel practices (facts #10,

supra), he also filed a timely individual age-discrim-

ination complaint with MSPB after his class was de-

certified. The latter complaint was denied by an

administrative judge who speculated that petitioner

nad “no interest in filing an action”. This was an ad-

mitted presumption by the judge, but a false con-

clusion contrary to facts presented in petitioner's

7

2500-word Response To Order To Show Cause, July 8,

2005 (doc. 1, p. 38-43). The Agency’s Motion To

Dismiss (doc. 27, p. 7, 11) states that MSPB remarked,

“IB]utier does not give any explanation for his failure

to pursue his rights... or even allege .... his rights were

being preserved...” The district court echoed this

falsehood. Appen. doc. 14 proves this is clear error.

That denial resulted in EEOC granting petitioner a

Right-To-Sue Notice (below) because there were no

more administrative options available. The courts

claimed it was not really a right to sue (appen.

doc.1B, p. 55; appen. doc. 2, p. 61). Petitioner dis-

putes this. He has established a right to invoke Fed-

eral jurisdiction by timely filing official documents

(below), e.g., the OSC complaint. Petitioner also per

class membership filed a Right-of-Action with MSPB

on June 8, 2005, that preserved his rights.

In arguing its defense, the Agency cited subjective

MSPB opinions about the instant case. The Agency

stated in its Motion To Dismiss (court doc. 27, p. 7),

“for the first eight years after the RIF, [Butler] did not

wish to pursue the EEO process at the agency level

and did not wish to file Board appeals”. However,

the petitioner's comprehensive Response To Order To

Show Cause {id.} defined his “wishes” and intentions;

they were quite the opposite. Petitioner filed a com-

plaint, wrote Congress, was ao member of the anti-RIF

Committee, collected and provided evidence, and

kept in touch with the class representative for years.

The Agency has repeatedly used the fact that EEOC

denied consideration of appeliant’s Petition For

8

d

Review which was denied for lack of jurisdiction and

not on its merits (doc. 27, p. 7-8). The trial court

(Order to Dismiss, doc. 59, p. 6) echoed the

Agency's “no interest” and denial theme which is

not allowed per 5 U.S.C. §7702(b)(2). After MSPB’s

decision to deny and a petition is filed...

“(T]he Commission shall, within 30 days after

notice of the petition, determine whether to

consider the decision. A determination of the

Commission not to consider the decision may

not be used as evidence with respect to any

issue of discrimination in any judicial proceed-

ing concerning that issue.”

The Agency has violated this regulation and preju-

diced petitioner's case.

ll. A right to due process of law must be understood

in context of equal-and-fair-treatment issues

The U.S. Constitution operates directly on the Federal

government as an employer, i.e., the “no person

shall be deprived of due process” clause of the Fifth

Amendment (1791) allows petitioner the right to file a

timely complaint with the U.S. OSC and later with the

U.S. MSPB/EEOC. Equal treatment is implied in that

clause (Steele v. Louisville & Nashville R. Co., 323 U.S.

192, 65 S.Ct. 226, 89 L.Ed. 173 (1944). The Fourteenth

Amendment (1868) is the “equal protection” clause

stating that no person shall be denied this protective

rignt under its jurisdiction. If lhe Agency chooses to

favor one person or group (under age 40) over

another (over age 40) for retention, it must be able

to justify it with compelling reasons and interests. In

the 1995 RIF, US.G.S. violated these two rights by

9

failing to protect its workforce from discrimination,

and allowing a timely-filed complaint to go unheed-

ed. The essence of discrimination is that a person or

group has been treated differently, and that is what

the Agency did. The discrimination was intentional

(see appen. doc. 8, 10, 11, 13) and the petitioner has

established a prima facie case (court doc. 8, Plain-

tiff's Motion For Summary Judgment - Default To

Provide Answer) under Equal Protection and Due

Process clauses per Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229

§.Ct. 2040, 48 L.Ed.2d 597 (1976).

Civil Service Reform Act Pub. L. No. 95-454 Stat. 111

(1978), 29 C.F.R. §1614.101, and 5 U.S.C. §2302(b)

identify illegal practices as any personnel actions

based on: race, color, religion, sex, age, national

origin, handicapping condition, marital status,

political intrusion, obstructing anyone from com-

peting for employment, and giving unauthorized

preferential treatment to any employee. They were

enacted to... “promote the full realization of equal

employment opportunities through a continuing

affirmative program in each agency.” 29 C.F.R.

§1614.102(a}(3) states, “ ...all government agencies

shall eradicate every form of prejudice or discrim-

ination from the agency's personnel policies, prac-

tices, and working conditions.” Also, 29 C.F.R. §1614.

102 (c)(5) states that agencies are responsible for

assuring that individual complaints are fairly, timely,

and thoroughly investigated. Given these concrete

mandates, petitioner argues clear error was com-

mitted by the trial court in dismissing his case.

10

by

7

1

‘

;

_

;

3

’

When a complainant uses the words: get even,

vindictive, unfair, devious, appalled, using politics [in

decision-making], victim, targeting employees, mis-

treatment, this situation smells, and a sad day for

Federal employees, the description and tone ident-

ify factors associated with prohibited personnel

practices per 5 U.S.C. §1221(e)(1). These words

encompass a discriminatory situation. The plain

meaning of the OSC letter is clear. Abuse of author-

ity and denial of seniority are prohibited in the Fed-

eral workforce. Vindictive is defined as retaliating,

seeking revenge, and being spiteful. These are

functional equivalents to discrimination, and against

Federal policy per 29 C.F.R. §1614.103(a) that states

any complaints of retaliation are considered com-

plaints of discrimination. Such a claim should nave

triggered a serious and full response by OSC.

Petitioner’s complaint to OSC also stated that he was

qualified for positions in his Branch (having been its

Deputy and Acting Chief for five years and super-

visor of 200 peer employees), and that he had

seniority over some non-RIF'ed geologists. OPM RIF

guidelines (5 C.F.R. §351.401-.705) indicate peti-

tioner’s seniority was wrongfully denied.

The RIF was a brilliant pretext because the budget

deficit never materialized and money was being

returned (appen. doc. 8, 13). The burden of proof to

show it was not a pretext was the Agency’s per

McDonnell Dougias Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 93

§.Ct. 1817, 36 L.Ed.2d 668 (1973) and per Texas Dept.

of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 101

S.Ct. 1089, 67 L.Ed.2d 207 (1981).

1]

Complainants have the right to file with an appro-

priate agency, such as OSC, until such time that

MSPB is notified per 5 U.S.C. §7702(f). The trial court

stated that the appellant did not timely file his ap-

peal with MSPB in 1995. To the contrary, the

petitioner initially filed with OSC which is legally

binding until the appeal went to MSPB. Per 5 U.S.C.

§7702(a)(1)(B) and §7702(f)...

“fi]Jn any case in which an employee is re-

quired to file any action, appeal, or petition

under this section and the employee timely

files the action, appeal, or petition with an

agency other than the agency with which the

action, appeal, or petition is to be filed, the

employee shall be treated as having timely

filed the action, appeal, or petition as of the

date it is filed with the proper agency.”

[emphasis addeg].

The law is clear. Petitioner has a right to invoke this

statute. It is also clear that no time frames are

specified. Furthermore, petitioner is exercising his

right to invoke the “absent a showing of good

cause” condition in the RIF Notice (court doc. 1, p.

28A,B) in order to timely file with OSC instead of

MSPB. The Agency never denied this condition exists,

and never indicated that it was improperly used by

petitioner.

OSC is authorized to investigate mismanagement

and misconduct, and shall protect Federal employ-

ees from prohibited personne! practices. It investi-

gates gross mismanagement, waste of funds, and

abuse of authority, or any violation of any law, rule,

12

ee UL

, -

-

or requlation, including any activity relating to polit-

ical intrusion in personnel decision-making per 5

U.S.C. §1212(a}(2) and (a)(3) and §1214(a)(1)(A) and

§1216(a)(4) and 5 C.F.R. §1800.1(a}(12). 5 U.S.C.

§1212(a)(3) further regulates that OSC shall review

and forward to the Attorney General or an agency

head under 5 U.S.C. §1213 disclosures of violations of

any law, rule, or regulation, or gross mismanagement

or gross waste of funds, or abuse of authority. Peti-

tioner thus appropriately contacted OSC in 1995.

The Agency has never offered an answer, other than

a standard affirmative-defense denial for petitioner's

above-noted claims. Appen. doc. 8 provides public

information about the politics and patronage of the

U.S.G.S. down-sizing in 1995.

The role of MSPB per 5 U.S.C. §1204 is similar to OSC.

The U.S. government website https://e-appeal.mspb.

gov/faq.aspx, states:

“#4. If a personnel action, whether appeal-

able to the Board or not, is taken or about to

be taken as a result of a prohibited personnel

practice, you may file a complaint with the

Office of Special Counsel, asking the Special

Counsel to seek corrective action...”

“#6. Who has the burden of proof in appeals

proceedings? The Agency if you show that

there was harmful error in the agency's pro-

cedures, that the agency decision was based

on a prohibited personne! practice, or that the

decision was not in accordance with the iaw.”

13

The following is stated (B.J. Sapin) about Dr. Butler’s

MSPB appeal in MSPB 295 Opinion and Order, 2006,

doc. no. DE-0351-5-0377-I-1:

“12 However, because the record does not

establish the date that appellant Throck-

morton received the ID denying class

certification, the Board cannot find that the

appellant Butler's individual complaint was

untimely. Additionally, even if Butler's com-

plaint was untimely, he must be afforded an

opportunity to establish good cause for his

untimely filing. 913 In the majority opinion, my

colleagues have found that appellant Butler

timely filed his appedgl...... Accordingly, |

would remand Butler’s appeal to the Field

Office for adjudication on the merits. ..... 116

Yet, regardless of the 'ong processing time, the

appellonts’ class EEO complaint was proc-

essed according to tlie regulations that

govern the processir 3 of such complaints.

EEOC ordered the agency to notify all

potential class members of the acceptance of

the class complaint and the agency com-

plied. Thus, the agency and EEOC accorded

the class members an expectation that they

would continue to be given the benefit of class

status, including the tolling of any time limit to

file individual complaints or appeals, until the

class complaint was resolved.” Also, id.... “We

hold that the filing of a timely class complaint

of discrimination at the agency level extends

the time for filing a Board appeal under 5

C.F.R. § 1201.154(b).” [emphasis added].

14

The Agency states, "[D]r. Butler never timely filed any

action alleging discrimination... His letter to the OSC

was insufficient.” (Defendant's Reply In Support Of

Motion To Dismiss, doc. 36, p. 7). Petitioner emphat-

ically disagrees. The Agency shows ignorance here.

The Supreme Court in Federal Express v. Holowecki,

et. al., U.S. Supreme Court No. 06-1322 (552 U.S. 2008)

decided 2-27-2008, held that because EEOC did not

discharge its own administrative duties after accept-

ing a pre-formal compiaint against FedEx, and be-

cause of the basic concept of fairness, it is allowing

the employees’ lawsuit to proceed and allowing the

suspension of the statute of limitations. The concept

of “Manifest Intent” invoked by the Court parallels

this instance case. It shows the petitioner's actions,

e.g., his OSC letter, were sufficient as an initial claim

of discrimination. The Agency’s argument of insuf-

ficiency fails under the reasoning of Federal Express

v. Holowecki, et. al. (Id.). Petitioner's intent is easily

understood and indisputable in his complaint to

OSC, and in his writing and meeting with his U.S.

Congressman David Skaggs. This action started the

ball rolling on a claim of prohibited practices.

Petitioner reasonably believed per 3 letters from OSC

that he would be interviewed for additional infor-

mation. Per ADEA, the intake questionnaire filed by

FedEx employees in 2001 (supra) sufficed as an EEOC

charge of discrimination (per 29 U.S.C. §621 ef. seq.),

and the courts treated it as a charge of discrimin-

ation even though EEOC did not consider the ques-

tionnaire as its official intake form. The Court further

noted that although the official “Charge of Discrim-

ination” form was not filed until six months after the

15

questionnaire, and 2-3 months after the lawsuit was

filed, due process was offended. The employees’

expectation of tolling was upheld, i.e., the claim was

timely filed and the exhaustion of administrative

remedies was satisfied. Therefore, because it was

the discriminated FedEx employees’ manifest intent

in submitting the questionnaire to activate the ad-

ministrative process, as judged on its tone and

content, the burden of compliance shifted to EEOC

to obtain additional information about employee

claims. The Court said it is the duty of requlatory

agencies to solicit information about claims once the

agency has been notified, and whether or not the

agency carries out its duties is not within the control

of the appellant. The Supreme Court ruled that

substance over form prevails in determining whether

a discriminated employee who has not used the

right form can nonetheless express an official com-

plaint in a legally recognizable way. The Court also

ruled that nowhere in EEOC rules does it explicitly say

that the form “Charge of Discrimination” must be

used to file a charge and that no statute compre-

hensively defines “charge”. The Court continues by

noting that because the meaning of charge is un-

clear and not exhaustive, a charge is sufficient if it is

a statement that alleges the defendant has en-

gaged or is about to engage in unlawful or discrim-

inatory acts. The Court notes that although regu-

lations identify procedures for filing a charge, they

deficiently do not state the full content of a charge.

In appellant's similar case, he has plainly shown his

intent. The Agency has admitted that petitioner was

51 years old in 1995, i.e., in a protected group (doc.

32, p. 8), and that he claimed to be a victim. The

16

_ SS oe eh

Agency also admitted petitioner claimed other

unlawful practices. Details of victimization were set

forth in his August 1995 letter to OSC. Per this ruling, a

victim of discrimination does not lose the right to sue.

Petitioner challenges the trial court's judgment that a

timely filed complaint to OSC does not satisfy the

manifest intent of initiating a formal complaint. The

district court’s Order To Dismiss (appen. doc. Ib, p.

56} made an incredible statement that ..."[P]laintiff

complained in the August 25 letter only that his

termination was ‘a result of difference of opinion with

a former office chief’ and that he was ‘a victim of

politics’’. “Only”? Clearly there was much more.

Upon reading this OSC letter, a reasonable person

would conclude that the court missed the complaint

of prohibited practices (unique CLCs), unfairness, a

concern for denial of seniority, and a collapse of civil

service merit principles. The Agency also decided

that the following four documents (p. 22-32) support-

ing the appellant's claim are “not sufficient”, al-

though the written evidence from the Agency itself

empirically indicates otherwise.

In its Order To Dismiss (appen. doc. 1B, p. 56}, the

Court stated, “an administrative complaint must be

sufficiently precise to describe generally the action(s)

or practices(s) that form the basis of the complaint.”

But “precise” and “generally” are oxymoronic. And,

per Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A., 534 U.S. 506, 122

§.Ct. 992, 152 L.Ed2d 1 (2002), a complaint cannot be

dismissed because of the sufficiency of facts pre-

sented in the complaint, |.e., a complaint does not

need to be a prima facie case. Nonetheless, the

17

petitioner presented a prima facie case that the

Agency never refuted (court doc. 8).

In downsizing, no federal employee should be de-

nied seniority and retreat rights. Seniority is earned

based on many factors including performance,

achievement, length of service, and career status. It

is a fundamental accrued right per OPM. In the

instant case, it was found that a 10-yr.-younger em-

ployee with less OPM-calculated seniority and doing

the appellant’s exact work was saved from the RIF

simply by illegally changing a CLC (disporate treat-

ment). This was a specific intentional act (fact #5,

supra). Classifying employees to effectuate discrim-

ination, including age, is unlawful by 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-2(a)(2) and 29 U.S.C. §623(a)(1) and (a)(2):

“Ti]t shall be unlawful for an employer to limit,

segregate, or classify his employees in any

way which would deprive or tend to deprive

any individual of employment opportunities or

otherwise adversely affect his status as an

employee...” [emphasis added}.

Petitioner found after demographics were analyzed

by experts (Prof. Paul Switzer, Statistics Dept., Stan-

ford University), that the petitioner was also a victim

of age discrimination (disparate impact). In Adam

et. al. v. Norton, 9" Cir. Doc. No. 04-17365, N.D. CA

No. C-98-2094 CW, the court found that the Agency

in the 1995 U.S.GS. RIF offered special meetings for

only the under-40 age group instructing them how to

avoid being RIF'ed. This included guidelines on how

to re-write their position descriptions with privileged

information from the staffing committee. That is

18

obvious Conspicuous disparate impact denying

hundreds of older employees equal opportunity.

The Civil Rights Acts of 1866, 1870, 1883 (Pendleton

Act), the Lloyd-LaFollette Act of 1912, Title Vil Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e ef. seq., the Civil

Service Reform Act of 1978, 5 U.S.C. 2302, and the

ADEA of 1967, 29 U.S.C. §633(a) are Federal statues

that protected the >etitioner and now allow him

Federal jurisdiction. These statues are the under-

pinnings of equal opportunity. They are part of the

effort to rid government of the spoils system and

bring fairness, merit, and equality to hiring, firing, and

personnel decision-making (appen. doc. 7 & 12).

They iorm the implicit “fairness doctrine” of civil

service. Title Vil prohibits disparate impact against

any protected class of Federal workers and prohibits

discrimination in all aspects of employment, includ-

ing employee classification and RIFs. Petitioner's

1995 OSC letter claimed that an abusive newly-

devised classification scheme using revised codes

specific to the RIF cost him his job. The courts have

erroneously never acknowledged that the petitioner

claimed prohibited personnel practices and prefer-

ential treatment of employees by the Agency.

The 1978 CSRA legislates that merit principles be

promoted for Federal workers and it prohibits vin-

dictiveness, discrimination, and influencing personnel

actions for politically-motivated reasons. This Act

ensures against arbitrary actions and abuses, and it

safeguards against political intrusions, such as de-

scribed by petitioner in 1995 to OSC and to US.

Congressman David Skaggs (appen. doc. 5). 5

19

U.S.C.§2301 (b) (2) and 5 U.S.C. §2302(b)(10}) ban

discrimination of all types, charge OSC with invest-

igation, and state that a supervisor cannot obstruct

equal access to a position. Supervisor Gary Hill, now

a convicted felon, was named in petitioner's 1995

OSC letter (below). Hill's hostile environment and

vindictiveness are recorded in appen.doc. 10 & 11.

Hill's rampant abuse of authority and discretion vio-

lated these statues requiring merit principles. Gary

Hill illegally used politics in making personnel deci-

sions. The OSC letter said that Hill and Butler had

differences of opinion, and Hill was being vindictive

using those differences to color decisions that in-

cluded RIF'ing petitioner. This was payback for an

earlier grievance involving the Agency's misuse of

Bureau of Indian Affair’s project funds.

Reprisals are prohibited forms of discrimination per

Parnell v. Dept. of the Army, 58 MSPR 128, 131 (1993).

5 U.S.C. §2302(b) prevents any Federal employee

authorized to make any personnel action from in-

juring the employment prospects or retention of

others. Gomez-Perez v. Potter, Pos-master General,

U.S. Supreme Court (06-1321) decided 5-27-2008,

allows Federal employees to bring claims for retal-

iation. Revenge (unjust separation) has no place in

the workplace and petitioner wrote OSC because it

has the authority to investigate political intrusion and

prohibited practices in RIFs per 5 U.S.C. §1216. The

1883 Pendleton Act abolished the spoils system and it

is still a central civil service law. It, “protects Federal

employees from dismissal for political reasons.” In 5

U.S.C. §2302(c), all agency heads and officials in

management are required to: 1) prevent prohibited

20

personnel practices including reprisal, 2) comply with

and enforce civil service laws, rules, and regulations,

and 3) ensure in consultation with OSC that Federal

employees are informed of their rights and remedies.

Petitioner's seniority was “willfully and illegally ob-

structed” in violation of 5 U.S.C. 2302(b)(1), (b)(4) and

(b)(6). When classification schemes are specifically

devised to target employees for adverse actions, an

illegal act has occurred. It is a mistake for the trial

court to ignore a timely-appealed complaint of an

illegal act sent to a Federal investigative agency.

Per 5 C.F.R. §351.505, “each agency shall preserve

intact all registers and records relating to an employ-

ee for a least one year from the date the employee

is issued a specific notice." However, the staffing

committee knowingly destroyed evidence used

during their deliberations concerning people rather

than positions (see court doc. 48, p. 10-13 for 15

examples). These documents were shredded at the

end of meetings using newly purchased shredders

(see facts #7, supra). This again shows the abusive,

corupt, and criminal nature of the RIF (spoliation). A

RIF is designed to eliminate positions and is not a

pretext to target people per Drake v. U.S. Dept. of

Cominerce,18 MSPR 475 (1983) and Brodrick v.

District of Columbia, 7 MSPR 203 (1981).

Upon receiving a RIF Notice, petitioner wrote an

official response to OSC raising questions about

prohibited personnel practices, the improper use of

CLCs to selectively target people, denial of seniority,

vindictiveness, deviousness, unfairness, and politica!

21

decision-making by a supervisor Gary Hill. Age dis-

crimination (disparate impact) was not yet known

because the data had not been analyzed by the

experts on either side, and standard deviations and

probabilities not calculated. Such is the nature of

disparate impact — during the train wreck (RIF) each

passenger does not know the full extent of damage

but collectively they read about it later. This OSC

letter follows below (court doc. 1, appen. B, p. 28):

DOCUMENT #1:

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

Box 25046, M.S. 971

Denver Federal Center

Denver, Colorado 80225

August 25, 1995

Ellen Oskoui

Office of Special Counsel

1730 M. St. NW

Washington, D.C. 20036

Dear Ms. Oskoui:

This letter is in reference to the recent RIF in the

Geologic Division of the U.S. Geological Survey. | am

one of the many government employees who was

terminated and | believe this action was taken as a

result of differences of opinion with a former office

chief, Mr. Gary Hill, who is now the Chief of Program

Planning and Coordination in the Director's Office.

For 17.5 yrs. | have worked for the Branch of

22

4

4

:

:

4

Petroleum Geology as a career employee. A copy

of my RIF notice/termination letter is attached F.Y.1.

This RIF was not about reducing positions in pro-

grams. It was about targeting people for various

reasons. My non-RIF’ed colleagues even say that

the procedure used to eliminate people was totally

unfair. Some positions for the most esoteric research

imaginable were saved because of the people

involved. | think any outside institution, such as the

National Academy of Science, would be appalled

at what positions were cut and which were saved.

As you know, employees were given competitive

level codes, i.e., each person was in his/her own

CLC, so for most, there was no bump-and-retreat

privilege. | can identify at least 20 positions on the

staffing plan for the Geologic Division that | can

easily fill without any retraining. Yet, because | have

my very own unique CLC, |! can be terminated no

questions asked. | have B.S., M.S. and PhD. degrees

in geology, have been project chiefs, principal

investigator, Deputy Branch Chief for 5 yrs. and

Acting Chief, have worked on special high priority

projects at the request of the Armed Services

Committee of the U.S. Congress, have personal

letters from the Dept. of Energy and the Director of

the U.S. Geological Survey referencing my excellent

work on Federally-owned land and national

petroleum assessments, etc., etc. The point! wish to

make is that my position and qualifications (docu-

mented in my 28-page career record on file with

OPM) can easily justify an ability to fill many positions,

so the only way to “get even” by a vindictive-

23

2

5

;

P

a

;

minded person is to cleverly abolish the job defined

by the CLC (059), which incidentally, does not

correctly describe my current duties. My seniority

means absolutely nothing. | am a victim of politics.

There is no other logical explanation for what has

occurred.

| cannot believe that the Office of Personnel Man-

agement has allowed this kind of devious RIF proce-

dure and mistreatment of valued employees to oc-

cur. | chose not to work for industry because of my

belief in the fairness of the Civil Service system. This is

indeed a sad day for all Government employees.

Sincerely,

s/_ William C. Butler

-- end document #1 --

The Agency erroneously stated (Motion To Dismiss,

court doc. 27, p. 14) that, “Butler's OSC letter is of no

import...". The letter speaks for itself and proves

otherwise. The petitioner would have embellished

the claims of unfairness, getting even, mistreatment,

vindictiveness, loss of seniority, improper and abusive

use of one-person CLCs, if OSC had interviewed him

“in detail” as they had stated (appen. doc. 4}.

lll. Filing a class complaint suspends the statute of

limitations for exhaustion of administrative

remedies

24 .

rye Mee ey a.

E

;

3

d

:

Appellant was denied seniority (disparate treatment)

as noted in his OSC letter. He later learned after the

Agency and other experts in Adam ef. al. v. Norton,

9'h Cir. Doc. No. 04-17365, N.D. CA No. C-98-2094 CW

Statistically analyzed the demographics of who was

RIF'ed that he was also a victim of disparate impact,

i.e., in a protected class but whose age put him into

the targeted group. It was found to be statistically

significant that management “cleaned house” of

the over-40 group.

An age-animus atmosphere prevailed in the U.S.GS.

in 1992-95. This was an officially sponsored culture of

discrimination. See appen. doc. 10 and 11 for state-

ments made by Office Chief Gary Hill. Hill is quoted

as saying, “| want to be able to cherry-pick people

for the RIF." Acting Regional Geologist Tom Fouch is

on record as saying to the staffing committee, “Give

me more than 400 new competitive level codes so

everyone has their own.” The Director of the Survey,

Gordon Eaton, also made ageist remarks about

“wanting new blood” and wanting to clean house,

and made jokes about how the older employees

were like dinosaurs. He did this in formal recorded

speeches to his employee audiences at all three GD

regions. He circulated flyers on 3-23-1995 with a Gary

Larson cartoon showing a young dog saying to his

mother, “You gotta help me Mom.... this assignment

is due tomorrow and Gramps doesn't understend

the new tricks.” The cartoon was for those employ-

ees who were potentially going to be RIF'ed (court

doc. 64, attach. J, p. 61). !t was cruel and inappro-

priate. Eaton’s favorite joke was, “What is the dif-

ference between Jurassic Park and the Geologic

25

eae =

a ae. ee SAL,” Poe eee ee Oe

=,’ Se"

cw, 88,

y

i

,

'

i

,

a

is

fj

i

,

;

i

,

be

,

*

|

|

|

Division?” The answer he gave was, “One is an

amusement park filled with dinosaurs and the other is

a movie.” These cartoons and jokes showed sys-

tematic and symptomatic contempt for merit-based

principles, especially for the most senior yet most

experienced and respected scientists who fairly

earned seniority. Some eminent emeritus scientists,

such as Warren Hamilton, resigned in disgust.

The Throckmorton-Nichols case became an age-

discrimination case in 2000 on advice of a Federal

Judge and the class was eventually certified. The

overriding issue for the 74 male and female geolo-

gists was age discrimination. Judge R. Taoka ruled

that the question of law and fact common to class

members predominated over questions affecting

individuals (F.R.Civ.P. Rule 23(b)(3). It is recognized

that because of the concept of fairness, employees

who are “similarly situated” are entitled to similar

treatment. Wilburn v. Dept. of Transportation, 757

f.2d 260, 262 (Fed. Cir. 1985). District court stated,

“[P]laintiff was not similarly situated.... Plaintiff is not a

member of that class because he is not female.”

(appen. doc. 1B, p. 57). Petitioner, however, was a

bona fide male class member. District Court erred.

In May 2003, the Agency made petitioner a bona

fide class member in an age-discrimination action

and never challenged his inclusion. Petitioner was

then bound by its conditions per 29 C.F.R. §1614.204

(c)(3). The Agency argued that appellant was not

“similarly situated”, but it waited until after he filed a

lawsuit in district court in 2007. The Agency argued

for dismissal because the petitioner had no right to

26

ee Se ee ee ee ae eee we en ee eS ee AS ee ee ee Pore Se ee a

7)

“piggyback” his claim with Throckmorton and

Nichols because “he was not similarly situated”.

Petitioner, however, is arguing a class-action right,

not the right to “opt-in” to someone else's case. The

Agency is confused on the distinction between these

two types of actions. Per 29 C.F.R. §1614.204(e}, peti-

tioner was ordered to be a class member. The fol-

lowing two letters, plus the Agency’s own final invest-

igative report, provide evidence to the contrary of

the Agency's allegation of not being “similarly

situated”. Ali three Agency documents appear prior

to case dismissal in the appellant's pleadings (court

doc. 48, p. 62-66, attach. A, B, C, of June 1, 2007).

DOCUMENT #2:

J. Michael Bieszad

Chief Employment Relations Sec.

U.S. Geological Survey, CR

Bldg 53, Box 25046, MS 609

Denver, CO 80225-0046

William Butler

31951 Lodgepole Drive

Evergreen, CO 80439

Dear Mr. Butler:

On May 6, 2003, the Equal Opportunity Commission's

Office of the Federal Operations reversed a decision

issued by EEOC Administrative Judge Ronald Taoka

dated March 23, 2000 and certified an equal op-

portunity class complaint filed by Constance

Throckmorton (Class Agent). The class inciudes

27

7

|

3

;

|

oS a

yy Serr Fes

eee ee ee ee eee ee ee a), PT ae

geologists in the Denver commuting area, 40 years of

age and over, who were separated or downgraded

pursuant to the October 1995 Reduction-in-Force.

The decision requires the United States Geological

Survey, U.S. Department of the Interior, to notify

potential class members of the class certification.

You are hereby notified that you have been ident-

ified as a potential class member in accordance

with 29 C.F.R. §1614.204(e).

Information concerning the specifics of this class

complaint is contained in the attachments to this

letter. Should you have any questions about this

matter please contact the class agent, Constance

Throckmorton.

Sincerely,

s/ Michael Bieszad

Enclosures:

Notice to Potential Class Member

Decision re: Class Action Appeal No. 01A03994,

Hearing No. 320-AO-8196X

-- end Agency document #2--

DOCUMENT #3:

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

RESTON, Virginia 20192

28

7 see ee et ND ee A

Cay ROU Sn. “gia

.

;

4

5

3

. 4

‘

d

- :

q

C

4

;

;

4

|

;

:

4

:

2

-

:

|

,

|

In Reply Refer To:

Mail Stop 602 December 4, 2003

To: Potential Class Member [William Butler]

From: Patricia $. Hagan, Acting Chief

Office of Equal Opportunity

Subject: Constance K. Throckmorton, Class Agent v.

Gale Norton, Secretary, Department of the

Interior, Appeal No. 01A030994

This is to advise you that on November 24, 2003, The

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission's (EEOC)

Office of Federal Operations issued a denial of re-

quest for [Agency's] reconsideration in the appeal of

the above matter and certified a class of geologists

40 years of age and over in the Denver, CO, area

who were involuntarily separated or down-graded

due to the October 1995 Reduction-in-Force (RIF).

The decision requires the United States Geological

Survey (USGS), U.S. Department of the Interior, to

notify potential class members of the acceptance of

the class complaint in accordance with 29 C.F.R.

§1614.204(e).

A copy of the November 24, 2003, EEOC decision

certifying the above described class is provided

herewith for your information. If you have any

questions concerning this notice or need further

information, you must contact the class repre-

sentative at the following address:

Constance K. Throckmorton

1 Big Cone Spruce

Littleton, Colorado 80127

Phone: 303-972-8620

29

Email: cthrockmorton@msn.com

cc: Constance K. Throckmorton, Class Agent

E. Melodee Stith, Director, Office for Equal

Opportunity

Patricia §. Hagan, Acting Chief, Office of Equal

Opportunity

S. Kaye Cook, Chief, Office of Personnel

Debra Charette, Assist. Solicitor, Personnel

Litigation & Civil Rights, Division of

General Law, Office of the Solicitor, DOI

--end OEO document #3 --

In 2004 the Agency contracted an investigation into

age discrimination among RIF'ed employees. Its final

report is 15 volumes (=7,500 pages). The first 1’

pages are reproduced below. Note that this class is

Throckmorton, Nichols, and others. The petitioner

was a member of “and others”.

DOCUMENT #4:

UNITED STATES GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

REPORT OF INVESTIGATION ON CLASS COMPLAINT

l. DESCRIPTION OF CLASS COMPLAINT

Names of Complainants: Constance Throckmorton

and Kathryn Nichols, ef. al, Class Agents, Case

Number CA-WGS-00-001

Title and Series of Complainants’ and Class

Members’ Positions: Geologists, GS-1350

30

Sweten Te

oy es Bik

2 SS . ?

Cert ie & ase 4? 3

RTT eek Ge RET) Tee Ue Ot ES oe ae one ater

Name and Location of Agency and Unit Involved in

Class Complaint: Central Region, Geologic Division,

U.S. Geological Survey, Denver, Colorado

Date of Alleged Discrimination: October 1995

Kind of Discrimination Alleged: Age, over 40

Nature of Action, ision ndition Giving Rise to

Class Complaint: Reduction in Force

i. DESCRIPTION OF INVESTIGATION

Identity of Investigator: Molly Smith, DSZ Associates,

Inc., 1730 N. Lynn St., Ste. 601, Arlington, VA 22209

Identity of Statistician: Dr. Barry Zamoff, DSZ &

Associates, Inc., 1730 N. Lynn St., Ste. 601, Arlington,

VA 22209

Date Report of Investigation Submitted to Agency:

September 28, 2004

Places of Investigation: Reston, VA and Denver, CO

Dates of Investigation: February 21, 2004 — July 15,

2004

Method of Investigation: On-site and Telephone

interviews; Interrogatories

lll. DESCRIPTION OF BASES AND ISSUES IN CLASS

COMPLAINT

Whether the United States Geological Survey discrim-

3}

inated against Geologists, 40 years of age or older,

on the basis of their age, in the Denver, CO, com-

muting area, who were either separated or down-

graded as a result of the reduction in force in

October 1995.

Complainants assert both disparate treatment and

disparate impact. They assert that the Competitive

Level Code (CLC) was purposely misused to displace

those over 40 and that the result of the RIF disparate-

ly impacted employees over 40.

Disparate treatment based on age: Hazen Paper

Company v. Biggins, 113 S.Ct. 1701 (1993); O’Connor

v. Consolidated Caterers Corp.. 571 U.S. 308 (1996).

Disparate impact: Wards Cove Packing Company v.

Atonio, 490 U.S. 642 (1989); Griggs v. Duke Power

Company, 401 U.S. 424 (1971).

--end cover page of Agency document #4 -

The Agency's report includes discovery from at least

66 class-member complainants, including appellant,

whose interrogatories (appen. doc. 5 & 9) appear as

Exhibit D-13 and are titled at p. 11:

“Affidavit of William Butler: (DOB 1/7/44), Class

Member, former Geologist, GS 1350-13, Office

of Energy and Marine Geology, GD, CR, USGS,

dated May 25, 2004.” {emphasis added].

Note that the appellant is once again clearly ident-

ified as a class member. A class is certified when

32

there is numerosity, commonality, typicality, and

adequacy. A Class issue is superior to individual

litigation when these conditions are met (F.R.Cv.P.

Rule 23(b)(3)) which states,

“(t]he court finds that the questions of law or

fact common to the members of the class

predominate over any questions affecting only

individual members, and that a class action is

superior to other available methods for tne fair

and efficient adjudication of the controversy”.

Petitioner was in a class that was intending to litigate

age discrimination, and he was given the option of

either cooperating and accepting the requirements

or opting out. The appellant did not opt out. There-

fore, because the class was a single common issue,

logic demands that petitioner was similarly situated.

It follows, there is clear error for the district court to

state that petitioner was not similarly situated.

The conclusive information in the above four docu-

ments was submitted repeatedly to the district and

appellate courts. It shows the appellant was similarly

situated as the other 74 geologist class members

who were both male and female in the Central

Region and who were over 40 complaining of age

discrimination. A class action suspends the running

of the statute of limitations for all putative members

of the class until class certification is decided per

American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 US.

538, 94 S.Ct. 756, 38 L.Ed.2d 713 (1974). When the

class was decertified in May 2005 due to the doc-

trine of res judicata, petitioner timely filed an in-

dividual action per Nelson v. County of Allegheny, 60

F.3d 1010 (39 Cir. 1995). The latter states that from

33

the date the class action is filed until class certif-

ication is decided, the running of limitations is sus-

pended. If a class certification is denied, the

limitations period begins to run again, and class

members have the remainder of the period to file

their own actions. Thus, petitioner was protected

against a limitations defense. A suspension of the

running of the limitations period applies even if the

class certification motion is der ‘ed for lack of com-

monality or typicality per Crown, Cork & Seal Co. v.

Parker, 462 U.S. 345, 103 S.Ct. 2392, 76 L.Ed.2d 628

(1983).

Appellants are entitled (5 U.S.C. §7701(a)(1)} toa

MSPB hearing which petitioner was never granted

after making the request four times in writing in a 19-

month period. Per 5 U.S.C. §7703(a)(1}, the peti-

tioner has Federal jurisdiction wherein, “any em-

ployee adversely affected or aggrieved by a final

order or decision of MSPB may obtain judicial re-

view...", and 5 C.F.R. 1201.157 gives the appellant

the right to sue in U.S. District Court. If states that any

final decision of MSPB under 5 U.S.C. §7702 will notify

the appellant of his or her right to petition the EEOC,

or to file a civil action in an appropriate United States

district court. Appellant Butler did both. 5 U.S.C.

§7702 involves any type of discrimination covered by

CRA and ADEA. The administrative judge failed to

docket the individual class members when the class

was decertified per 29? C.F.R. §1614.109(a) and

§1614.204(k). Also, 5 U.S.C. §7702(e)(3) guarantees

nothing will affect the right to trial de novo under Title

Vit CRA and ADEA. ‘Per 42 U.S.C. §2000e-16(c),

34

"...an employee or applicant for employment,

if aggrieved by the final disposition of his

complaint, or by the failure to take final action

on his complaint, may file a civil action as

provided in section 2000e-5 of this title in which

the head of the department, agency, or unit,

as appropriate, shall be the defendant.”

Per 5 U.S.C. §1221(a), an employee has the Right Of

Action with respect to any personnel action taken

against such employee as a result of o prohibited

personnel practice described in 5 U.S.C. §2302(b) (8)

to seek corrective action from MSPB which the ap-

pellant did seek. This statute relates to, “a violation

of any law, rule, or regulation, or gross mismanage-

ment, a gross waste of funds, or an abuse of

authority..." And, per 5 U.S.C. §1221(b) this right of

action (supra) may not be construed to prohibit any

employee from seeking corrective action from the

MSPB before seeking corrective action from the

Office of Special Counsel. Thus, petitioner has again

shown he was entitled to file a complaint with OSC

on Aug. 25, 1995. Complaints are legal if filed in

letter format, such as the petitioner's. The letter was

followed by a Right of Action to MSPB (court doc. 64,

p. 45-45b) timely filed after class decertification.

The EEOC OFO sent petitioner a Notice of Right-to-

Sue dated Dec. 6, 2006 (see court doc. |, cover

page + appen. A, p. 23-24), received Dec. 14, 2006.

The first paragraph of p. 2 follows:

Petition No. 0320070015

MSPB Docket Number DE-0351-05-0377-I-1]

35

PETITIONER’S RIGHT TO FILE A CIVIL ACTION (W0900)

This decision of the Commission is final, and

there is no further right of administrative ap-

peal from the Commission’s decision. You

have the right to file a civil action in an ap-

propriate United States District Court, based

on the decision of the Merit Systems Protection

Board, within thirty (30) calendar days of the

date that you receive this decision.

FOR THE COMMISSION:

s/ Cariton M. Hadden, Director

Office of Federal Operations

-- end EEOC’s right-to-sue letter excerpt--

That statement is self-explanatory and unambiguous

regarding the appellant's exhaustion of adminis-

trative remedies. However, the district court made

this statement in the Order To Dismiss (doc. 59, lV B,

p. 8)... “[P]laintiff provides no authority for his con-

tentions that either the EEOC's notice of right to sue

or his communication with his Congressman demon-

strate exhaustion of administrative remedies.” What

does “final decision” and “no further right of admin-

istrative appeal” and “you have the right to file a

civil action” mean if not its literal obviousness? The

petitioner never claimed, as the Agency states, that

a personal meeting and letter to one's Congressman

exhausted remedies, but they do show intent. On

the other hand, the petitioner has argued from

statutes, e.g., 5 U.S.C. §7702(f) allowing timely filing

36

8 ee ede ele ee ie Re | es ee Be ee Ve

ae ee eS Tee eee ee ee ee

ee

“

,

BS

a’

2

et

with OSC (court doc. 30, Plaintiff's Opposition To

Motion To Dismiss, p. 7-8). It is cited 9 times in various

pleadings in the appeals court docketing statement

at 133. 142, 163, 195, 263, 308, 341, 342, 360.

Petitioner has also argued from case precedents

(see court doc. 1, Complaint, #11, p. 42)...

“[W]hen a case is pending, the timeliness for

filing an appeal is extended (American Pipe &

Construction v. Utah, 414 U.S. 538 (1974) and 5

C.F.R. 1201.27(a) present a clear statement of

this timing issue: ‘When a class appeal is filed, 4

the time from the filing date until the judge

issues his or her decision under paragraph (b) 4

of this section is not counted in computing the

time limit for individual members of the

potential class to file individual appeals.

;

Petitioner is allowed per 5 C.F.R. §1201.27(a) to file an

individual action when the class was decertified.

Scott v. Dept. of Treasury, 1 MSPR 42 45 (1996). These

authorities have never been rebutted. Instead, the

Agency has argued false premises of the petitioner

“piggybacking” other actions, and weakly argued

subjective “insufficiencies” of the complaint.

Petitioner has exhausted administrative remedies. In

American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah (supra),

the Supreme Court stated the rule that “the com-

mencement of a class action suspends the applic-

able statute of limitations as to all asserted members

of the class who would have been parties had the

suit been permitted to continue as a class action.”

Id. at 554, 94S.Ct. at 766; Andrews v. Orr, 851 F.2d

37

146, 48 FEP 643 (6'" Cir. 1988). Later, the Supreme

Court applied this rule in a Title Vi! case and clarified

the duration and effect of the tolling. Crown, Cork &

Seal Co. v. Parker (supra); There the court stated,

“fo]nce the statute of limitations has been tolled, it

remains tolled for all members of the putative class

until class certification is denied. At that point closs

members may choose to file their own suits or to in-

tervene as plaintiffs in the pending action.” Id. at

354, 103 S.Ct. at 2397-98. [emphasis added}.

it is well established that ina cl tion it is not

necessary for ail class members to have exhausted

administrative remedies; it is sufficient if such reme-

dies are exhausted by one named representative.

Valentino v. United States Postal Service, 511 F.Supp.

917, 25 FEP 24 (D.D.C. 1977), aff.'d, 674 F.2d 56, 218

U.S. App. D.C. 213, 28 FEP 593 (D.C. Cir. 1982);

Beeman v. Middendorf, 425 F.Supp. 713, 18 FEP 778

(0.D.C. 1977); Barrett v. Civil Service Commission, 69

F.R.D. 544, 11 FEP 1089 (D.D.C. 1975); Chisholm v.

United States Postal Service, 665 F.2d 482, 27 FEP 425

(4'» Cir. 1981); Eastland v. Tennessee Valley Authority,

553 F.2d 364, 15 FEP 1115 (S' Cir. 1977), cert. denied,

434 U.S. 985, 98 S.Ct. 611, 54 L.Ed.20 479 (1977): Ellis v.

Naval Air Network Facility, 404 F.Supp. 377, 386, 391

(N.D. Cal. 1975), rev'd on other grounds, 608 F.2d

1308 (9 Cir. 1979). Tne 10" Circuit District Court itself

has held that a named plaintiff is entitled to pursue

individual relief if class certification is denied. See

Monreal v. Potter, 367 F.3d 1224, 93 FEP 1562 (10! Cir.

2004). A named plaintiff, such as the petitioner, wno

has exhausted class administrative remedies is

deemed to have exhausted individual administrative

38

.

:

!

remedies as well, and thus may pursue individual

relief if class certification is denied.

The Agency concedes that on Nov. 10, 1995, two

geologists, Constance Throckmorton and Kathryn

Nichols, who were separated from the U.S.G.S. in the

same RIF as the petitioner, timely initiated EEO

counseling. On Jan. 18, 2000, Throckmorton and

Nichols filed a formal corplaint and sought class

certification. EEOC certiiiec the class as males and

females over age 40 and remanded the case for a

final agency decision. Thus, according to the district

court's findings, the Dept. of the Interior had notice

that plaintiffs who were subjected to this RIF in Oct.

1995, timely filed their complaint. Petitioner Butler

clearly falls within the definition of a male class mem-

ber over age 40 who was RIF’ed in 1995.

On Feb. 15, 2005, The Agency, not surprisingly, issued

its final decision with a finding of “no discrimination”.

Actually, their own 2004 report shows gross discrim-

ination (fact #13, 14, supra). Throckmorton filed an

appeal to MSPB and sought class certification. It was

denied on May 2, 2005 and the petitioner filed a

timely appecl to MSPB. Filing requirements in requ-

lation containing limitations period for individual

administrative employment discrimination complaints

are not jurisdictional and are subject to equitable

tolling. Civil Rights Act of 1964, §701 et seq., 42 U.S.C.

§2000e ef seq. In Andrews v. Orr (supra) the court

found the plaintiffs presented a case for application

of equitable tolling when they reasonably relied on a

pending class action in delaying filing their individual

compiaint, acted with diligence upon being inform-

39

|

ey eee ee ee ey ee ee a Oe

ee ee ee ee eee he, ae en

ed of their need to file a complaint and established

that there was no prejudice to the defendant be-

cause of the class action. Baldwin County Welcome

Center v. Brown, 466 U.S. 147, 152, 104 S.Ct. 1723,

1726, 80 L.Ed.2d 196 (1984). In Boddy v. Dean, 821

F.2d 346, 45 FEP 586 (6 Cir. 1987) the court ruled that

filing requirements of 29 C.F.R. §613.214 re not

jurisdictional and that equitable tolling was justified

the plaintiffs r n ieved that an

earlier class action would preserve their rights. In

Zipes v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385, 102

§.Ct. 1127, 71 L.Ed.2d 234 (1982), the Supreme Court

held that the charge-filing time requirements are not

jurisdictional prerequisites and are “subject to waiver,

estoppel and equitable tolling.” This argument was

made repeatedly (F.R.Cv.P. Ruleé60 doc. 64, p. 15-27).

In the instant case, petitioner reasonably believed

that he was a member of a class action and

promptly filed an individual Right-Of-Action upon

learning from the class representative that the class

certification had been reversed. The administrative

judge did not inform the petitioner that he had a

right to file individually.

In a disparate impact (group statistical evidence)

ADEA age discrimination action, the Agency has the

burden of proof and persuasion in an affirmative

defense against discrimination. 29 U.S.C. §623(f)(1).

Yet, it has never denied the appellant's claim with

evidence, and has relied only on subject matter

jurisdiction as a defense. See Meacham v. Knolls

Atomic Power Laboratory, aka KAPL, Inc., et. al.

(supra). If the Agency did not believe the appellant

40

should be a class member, they had time to chal-

lenge it; however, they cannot now un-ting that bell.

Petitioner has been denied due process of law

based on his timely 1995 complaint to OSC in

violation of 5 U.S.C. §7702(f}, and also on his timely

individual Right-of-Action appeal to MSPB/EEOC

after the age-discrimination class was decertified.

But, per Title 29 §1614.407, the U.S. District Court is

authorized to hear Federal employment claims.

“[A] claimant who has filed an individual com-

plaint, an agent who has filed a class com-

plaint or a complainant who has filed a claim

for individual relief pursuant to a class com-

plaint is authorized under Title Vil, the ADEA

and the Rehabilitation Act to file a civil action

in an appropriate United States District Court.”

WHY THE SUPREME COURT SHOULD HEAR THIS CASE

The U.S. Supreme Court should hear this case be-

cause the Federal workforce is large, and the ques-

tions presented concerning Constitutional issues of

due process and equal protection apply. The rights

of all Federal employees are potentially affected by

the outcome. The Court can make an important

policy statement about whether management of a

Federal agency can hijack a RIF, i.e., develop the

rules then run the RIF independently of OPM. Arbi-

trary reclassification to effectuate separations in a RIF

clearly violates ADEA. Scientists, wno are temporarily

acting as managers, cannot turn a RIF into a “Lord of

the Flies” scenario and target people. |f this case is

heard, the Court can provide input to discourage

A|

:

.

.

4

5

]

:

\.

-

;

:

‘

F

4

;

further abuses. Future litigants will benefii by a ruling

of expected equality and due process.

There ore multiple issues of wrongful separation in this

case: 1) manipulation of a RIF to favor one group

over another, 2) proof required that a RIF is really

necessary, 3) whether there is truly a Federal duty of

good faith and fair dealings in Agency-run RIFs, 4) do

Federal employees really have accrued seniority

after achieving career status after their first three

years, and 5) what constitutes “sufficiency” for a

complaint of discrimination. The Court would be

expressing an opinion on an important issue: How

corrupt can a Federal RIF be before it is stopped?

A few abusive managers with contempt for merit

principles cannot be allowed to target people. They

must be held to the concept that people fill Federal

positions, and it is the position that is either needed or

eliminated per a legitimate unbiased staffing plan.

Lists of names Cannot be drawn up targeting em-

ployees for separation months before a staffing plan

of positions is in place. Can a legitimate RIF adverse-

ly affect 784 non-managers and zero managers?

Hearing this case will strengthen and clarify Federal

employee rights in class actions and in actions where

EEOC has issued Right-To-Sue Notices. The role of the

investigative U.S. Office of Special Counsel can be

defined with respect to an intake of complaints

compared to MSPB. Can OSC a@rop a complaint

without a follow-up interview with the complainant?

42

A hearing will strengthen merit-based principles and

show that equal employment opportunity is alive

and not just a slogan. Bogus retention registers (1-

person CLC's) and politically-motivated pay-backs

by supervisors are wrong, and if this case is heard,

future RIFs will benefit from the Court's opinion. The

case provides an excellent opportunity to clarify and

resolve similar adverse-action issues. Also, the lower

courts need guidance on the rights of bona fide

class members filing individual actions when a class is

decertified. In sum, this case is awash in important

principles that affect a huge Federal workforce.

CONCLUSION

Although the central issue in this case is procedural

(jurisdiction), it is mixed with several significant sub-

stantive issues. Jurisdiction and due process must be

viewed in the context of the preservation of fairness

and the expectation of preserving rights based on

timely-filed complaints. Jurisdiction is tied to admini-

strative remedies and remedies are tied to factual

matters. Matters which have nothing to do with job

performance, such as politics and vindictively tar-

geting people, cannot trump merit and the doctrine

of fairness and equality in employment.

Petitioner has shown that there was an environment

of hostility toward older employees and unfairness

associated with the 1995 U.S.G.S. RIF. There is irrefut-

able evidence of this age-animus culture, particular-

ly shown by the abusive experimental CLC method-

ology. It denied: seniority, bump-&-retreat rights, and

the right to compete for 100 positions immediately

43

_ added back and filled by employees under age 40

without competition after the RIF. The statistical-

disparity proof of this discrimination is overwhelmingly

in favor of petitioner.

Equality in Federal employment exists, but this case

shows the doctrine occasionally needs reinforce-

ment. Petitioner has attempted in good faith to

bring the inequality to the forefront in both the OSC

letter and as a member of a certified class action

claiming age discrimination. Petitioner's rights did

not just evaporate when the class was decertified. :

Thus, he seeks to invoke this well-established

“equality doctrine” having exhausted all admini-

strative remedies per EEOC's Notice Of Right-To-Sue.

The case was dismissed on a subjective technicality -

whether or not the petitioner exhausted his admini- |

strative remedies. Fairness says a Right-To-Sue letter |

answers this and it should be honored. Due process ;

is requested from the U.S. District Court because it

has jurisdiction for the types of prohibited practices

described, and which were sufficiently made known

‘ to US. Office of Special Counsel and to the Agency

through the class action.

: This petition should be granted to reverse a clear

: error; jurisdiction can be established, and the case

can finally be tried on its objective merits.

William C. Butler, petitioner pro se

November 26, 2008

44

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 1A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 07-cv-00055-MJW-CBS

WILLIAM C. BUTLER,

Plaintiff,

V.

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, Sec., U.S. Dept. of the Interior,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT

Pursuant to and in accordance with the Order on

Defendant's Motion to Dismiss (document 59)

entered by the Honorable Michael J. Watanabe,

United States Magistrate Judge on August 24, 2007,

incorporated herein by reference, it is ORDERED that

the Defendant's Motion to Dismiss Pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1), which was filed on April 3, 2007

(document 27) is granted. It is FURTHER ORDERED

that judgment is entered in favor of Kirk Kempthorne,

Secretary, U.S. Department of the Interior, and

against William C. Butler. If is FURTHER ORDERED that

the Complaint and this civil action are dismissed with

prejudice.

Dated at Denver, Colorado this 24' day of Aug. 2007

45

4 FOR THE COURT:

a GREGORY C. LANGHAM, CLERK

By: s/ Chris Vagner

Chris Vagner

Chief Deputy Clerk

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 1B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action No. 07-cv-00055-MJW-CBS

WILLIAM C. BUTLER,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, Sec., U.S. Dept. of the Interior,

Defendant.

ORDER ON

DEFENDANT'S MOTION TO DISMISS (Docket No. 27)

MICHAEL J. WATANABE

United States Magistrate Judge

This case is before this Court pursuant to the Order Of

Reference Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(c) filed on

March 28, 2007, and the parties’ unanimous consent

to disposition of this action by a United States

Magistrate Judge.

|. PLAINTIFF'S ALLEGATIONS AND CLAIM

Plaintiff, a geologist, claims that Defendant discrim-

inated against him based on his age when he was -

separated from the United States Geological Survey

4/7

(USGS), an agency within the United States Depart-

ment of the Interior, in October 1995 during a

reduction in force (RIF). Plaintiff alleges thai he was

employed by the USGS for more than seventeen

years when, on August 14, 1995, he received a

notice stating that his position would be eliminated

on October 14, 1995. On or about October 14, 1995,

the USGS implemented the RIF and Plaintiff was

separated from the USGS. Plaintiff asserts that he was

fifty-one years old at the time of his separation.

Plaintiff’s claim of age discrimination is asserted

pursuant to the Age Discrimination in Employment

Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C. §§ 621-634.

ll. PENDING MOTION

On April 3, 2007, Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss Pur-

suant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1) (docket no. 27) was

filed. Defendant argues that the Court lacks subject

matter jurisdiction because Plaintiff failed to exhaust

administrative remedies. On April 6, 2007, Plaintiff

filed his response to the motion to dismiss. On April 27,

2007, Defendant filed a reply and on April 30, 2007,

Plaintiff filed an amended response. The Court has

carefully considered the motion to dismiss, the re-

sponses, the reply thereto, and the applicable case

law and Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The Court

now being fully informed enters the following order.

i

lil. STANDARD OF REVIEW

Rule 12(b)(1) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

allows the Court to dismiss an action if the Court

lacks subject matter jurisdiction. Because federal

48

courts are courts of limited jurisdiction, there is a

presumption against the existence of jurisdiction

and “[t}he party invoking the jurisdiction of the court

has the duty to establish that federal jurisdiction does

exist." Basso v. Utah Power & Light Co., 495 F. 2d 906,

909 (10m Cir. 1974): see also United States v. Bustillos,

31 F.3d 931, 933 (10m Cir. 1994) (noting that “[f]he

party seeking to invoke the jurisdiction of a federal!

court must demonstrate that the case is within the

court's jurisdiction.”).

Motions to dismiss a complaint for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction pursuant to Rule 12(b)(1) generally

take one of two forms. See Holt v. United States, 46

F.3d 1000, 1002-03 (10in Cir. 1995).

First, a facial aitack on the complaint's

allegations as to subject matter jurisdiction

questions the sufficiency of the complaint. In

reviewing a facial attack on the complaint, a

district court must accept the allegations in the

complaint as true. Secon”? a party may go

beyond allegations contained in the com-

plaint and challenge the facts upon which

subject matter jurisdiction depends. When

reviewing a factual atte ok on subject matter

jurisdiction, a district court may not presume

the truthfulness of the complaint's factual

allegations. A court has wide discretion to

allow affidavits, other documents, and a

limiled evidentiary hearing to resolve disputed

jurisdictional facts under Rule 12(b)(1)}. In such

instances, a court's reference to evidence

outside the pleadings does not convert the

motion to a Rule 56 motion.

49

Id. (internal citations omitted). The Court must con-

vert a Rule 12(b6)(1) motion to dismiss into a summary

judgment motion if “resolution of the jurisdictional

question is intertwined with the merits of the case.”

Id. at 1003. “The jurisdictional question is intertwined

with the merits of the case if subject matter juris-

diction is dependent on the same statute which

provides the substantive claim in the case.” Id.

Defendant's motion to dismiss for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction in the instant action falls into the

second category because Defendant is challenging

the factual basis for jurisdiction and not the suffi-

ciency of the complaint. The Court also finds that

the issue of exhaustion of administrative remedies is

not intertwined with the merits of the case. Therefore,

the Court will consider the documents submitted by

the parties that are relevant to the exhaustion issue

and will not convert Defendant's motion into a

motion for summary judgmert.

IV. DISCUSSION

A. Factual Background. As noted above,

Plaintiff was notified of the pending RIF in an August

14, 1995, letter. A copy of the RIF notice is attached

to the Complaint at Appendix B, pages 28A-28B. The

RIF notice advised Plaintiff that he could challenge

his separation by appealing to the Merit Systems

Protection Board (MSPB) within thirty days after the

effective date of the RIF. On August 25, 1995, Plaintiff

wrote a letter to the Office of Special Counsel of the

Department of the Interior (OSC) challenging his

pending separation. A copy of Plaintiff's August 25

50

|

|

oh gS aed

letter to the OSC is attached to the Complaint at

appendix B, page 28. Plaintiff complained in the

August 25 letter that “[t]his RIF was not about re-

ducing positions in programs. It was about targeting

people for various reasons.” (Compl. at App. B, p.28.)

Plaintiff specifically asserted that his termination was

“a result of differences of opinion with a former office

chief” and that he was “a victim of politics.” (Id.)

Plaintiff did not file an appeal fo the_MSPB within

thirty days after the effective date of the RIF.

Two other geologists, Candace Throckmorton and

Kathryn Nichols, who also were separated from the

USGS in the same RIF, initiated counseling with an

equal employment opportunity (EEO) counselor on

November 10, 1995. According to the report filed by

the EEO counselor, a copy of which is attached to

Defendant's motion to dismiss as Exhibit A-3,

Throckmorton and Nichols

alleged that they and all other female

Geologists . . . age 40 or older (as of October

15, 1995) in the Denver commuting area who

were separated or changed to a lower grade

as a result of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)

reduction-in-force (RIF) effected on October

14, 1995, were discriminated against illegally

by disparate impact as compared to men

similarly situated.

(Def.’s Mot. to Dismiss at Ex. A-3, 9.2.)

On January 18, 2000, Throckmorton and Nichols filed

a formal complaint regarding the October 1995 RIF.

A copy of the January 18 formal complaint is at-

tached to Defendant's Motion to Dismiss as Exhibit A-

5]

1. Throckmorton and Nichols sought class certifi-

cation for their complaint and alleged that “[f]he

class consists of all female geologists . . .. age 40 or

older (as of October 15, 1995) in the Denver com-

muting area who were involuntarily separated or

downgraded in a discriminatory manner through

those RIF actions.” (Def.'s Mot. to Dismiss at Ex. A-1,

p.2.) An administrative judge initially denied class

certification. However, in March 2003, the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)

reversed the administrative judge's class-certification

decision and ordered that the complaint be allowed

to proceed on a class basis. The EEOC determined

that the appropriate class included both male and

female geologists over age 40 who were affected

adversely by the RIF. The EEOC also remanded the

matter to the USGS for a final agency decision on the

issue Of whether the class was subjected to discrim-

ination on the basis of age in the RIF. On February 15,

2005, the agency issued a final agency decision

finding no discrimination.

Pursuant to the relevant regulations, Throckmorton

then filed an appeal of the final agency decision to

the MSPB and again sought class certification. On

May 2, 2005, the administrative judge assigned to the

case denied the request for class certification.

On June 8, 2005, Plaintiff filed an appeal to the MSPB

challenging the 1995 RIF. On June 24, 2005, an ad-

ministrative judge issued an order to show cause to

Plaintiff regarding the timeliness of his appeal. On

July 12, 2005, the administrative judge dismissed

Plaintiff's appeal as untimely. Plaintiff then filed a

52

:

3

|

.

3

“

,

s

~~ eo’. ea

ie

eS et eS ee

a, eee ee. eee oe

5

;

'

:

E

:

:

7

i

7

petition for review of the administrative judge's

decision. The MSPB consolidated Plaintiff's petition for

review with that of Mary Carey. On September 27,

2006, the MSPB issued its final decision denying the

consolidated petitions for review and upholding the

determinations that Plaintiff's and Carey's appeals

were untimely. A copy of the MSPB's September 27

order is attached to Defendant's Motion to Dismiss as

Exhibit A-2. The MSPB specifically considered whether

Plaintiff and Carey “intended to preserve their right

to file Board appeals but delayed doing so because

they reasonably believed that Throckmorton and

Nichols were pursuing EEO counseling and a discrim-

ination claim on their behalf.” (Def.’s Mot. to Dismiss

at Ex. A-2, p.9.) The MSPB concluded “[t}hat is

not what happened, however.” (id.) The MSPB

specifically stated that neither Carey nor Butler had

shown or even alleged, that as to the first 8

years in the 10-year period between the RIF

and their filing of these appeals, they delayed

filing with the Board based on a belief that

their rights were being preserved because

others were pursuing relief on their behalf at

the agency level and before the EEOC.

(id. at 10.) The MSPB ultimately concluded that “for

the first 8 years after the RIF, [Carey and Butler] did

not wish to pursue the EEO process at the agency

level and did not wish to file Board appeals.” (id. at

11.)

Plaintiff appealed the MSPB's September 2006

decision to the EEOC. On December 14, 2006, the

EEOC determined that it lacked jurisdiction and

denied consideration of Plaintiff's appeal because

53

3

,

:

,

;

j

j

,

hb

.

the MSPB had dismissed Plaintiff's appeal as untimely

and did not consider the merits of his claim of dis-

crimination. The EEOC notified Plaintiff in its Decem-

ber 14 decision of his right to seek judicial review.

Plaintiff then filed the instant action claiming that

Defendant eliminated Plaintiff’s position with the

USGS on the basis of Plaintiff's age in violation of the

ADEA.

B. Legal Analysis. The ADEA “broadly prohibits

arbitrary discrimination in the workplace based on

age.” Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 577 (1978) (citing

29 U.S.C. § 623(a)). Without addressing the merits of

Plaintiff's age discrimination claim, Defendant argues

that this action must be dismissed for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction because Plaintiff failed to exhaust

administrative remedies. “A Plaintiff's exhaustion of

his or her administrative remedies is a jurisdictional

prerequisite to suit under the ADEA.” Shikles v. Sprint/

United Mgmt. Co., 426 F.3d 1304, 1317 (10m Cir. 2005).

In general, an individual must file a charge with the

EEOC prior to filing suit pursuant to the ADEA so that

the agency “can attempt to eliminate the alleged

unlawful practice through informal methods.”

Lorillard, 434 U.S. at 580; see also 29 U.S.C. § 623(d):

Shikles, 426 F.3d at 1308. After allowing the EEOC sixty

days to attempt to conciliate the alleged unlawful

practice, and assuming the EEOC has not filed suit

on the individual's behalf, the individual may file suit.

See Shikles, 426 F.3d at 1308 (citing 29 U.S.C. § 623(c)

& (d)}). “To the extent that the charge filing require-

ments of the ADEA and Title Vil are similar, courts

must construe them consistently.” Id. at 1309.

54

The issue of exhaustion of administrative remedies is

somewhat more complicated in the instant action

because Plaintiff's claim of age discrimination stems

from an employment action that also was appeal-

able to the MSPB. This is known as a mixed case. See

29 C.F.R. § 1614.302(a). An aggrieved employee ina

mixed case has the option of filing an administrative

complaint with the EEOC or filing an appeal with the

MSPB, but not both. See 29 C.F.R. § 1614(b). If the

employee initially files an appeal with the MSPB and

ultimately disagrees with the final decision of the

MSPB, the employee then may petition the EEOC for

review of the allegedly discriminatory action. See 5

U.S.C. § 7702(b)(1).

Defendant argues that Plaintiff failed to exhaust

administrative remedies because Plaintiff never filed

a timely appeal to the MSPB and he never filed a

complaint of discrimination with the EEOC. Plaintiff,

on the other hand, argues that this action should not

be dismissed for failure to exhaust administrative

remedies because the EEOC issued to him a notice

of right to sue, because he filed a timely challenge

to the RIF in August 1995 when he sent a letter to the

OSC complaining about the RIF, because he wrote

to and spoke with his Congressman in 1995 regarding

the RIF, and because the administrative proceedings

initiated by Throckmorton and Nichols satisfy the

requirement that administrative remedies be ex-

hausted. Plaintiff provides no authority for his con-

tentions that either the EEOC'’s notice of right to sue

or his communication with his Congressman demon-

strate exhaustion of administrative remedies.

55

“7

, a. 2

oe

}

:

:

5

4

:

3

:

3

A

;

Therefore, the Court finds that neither the EEOC's

notice of right to sue nor Plaintiff's communication

with his Congressman provide any basis to deny

Defendant's motion to dismiss.

Plaintiff's August 25, 1995, letter to the OSC also does

not demonstrate that he has exhausted adminis-

trative remedies because Plaintiff never alleged in

that letter that he was discriminated against on the

basis of his age. A relevant regulation regarding

cases of employment discrimination under Title VII

provides that an administrative complaint a be

sufficiently precise . . . to describe generally the

action(s) or practice(s) that form the basis of the

complaint.” 29 C.F.R. § 1614.106(c). As noted above,

Plaintiff complained in the August 25 letter only that

his termination was “a result of differences of opinion

with a former office chief” and that he was “a victim

of politics." (Compl. at App. B, p.28.) Nothing in

Plaintiff's August 25 letter alerted the USGS to the

claim Plaintiff is asserting in this action that he was

terminated because of his age. Therefore, the Court

finds that Plaintiff's August 25 letter does not satisfy

the exhaustion requirement.

Plaintiff's argument that the administrative proceed-

ings initiated by Throckmorton and Nichols satisfy the

requirement that administrative remedies be ex-

hausted also lacks merit.

Federal courts universally hold that an

individual who nas not filed an administrative

charge can opt-in to a suit filed by any similarly

situated plaintiff under certain conditions. This

so-called ‘single-filing rule’ generally allows a

56

plaintiff, who did not file an EEOC charge, to

piggyback on the EEOC complaint filed by

another person who is similarly situated. The

policy behind the single filing rule is that it

would be wasteful, if not vain, for numerous

employees, all with the same grievance, to

nave to process many identical complaints

with the EEOC. As long as the EEOC and the

company are aware of the nature and scope

of the allegations, the purposes behind the

filing requirement are satisfied and no injustice

or contravention of congressional intent

occurs by allowing piggybacking.

Thiessen v. Gen. Elec. Capital Corp., 267 F.3d 1095,

1110 (10m Cir. 2001) (citations and internal quotation

marks omitted). Plaintiff was not similarly situated to

Throckmorton and Nichols because they complain-

ed of discrimination against female geologists over

age forty. Plaintiff is not a member of that class be-

cause he is not female. Therefore, the administrative

proceedings initiated by Throckmorton and Nichols

did not make the USGS or the EEOC aware of the

nature of Plaintiff's allegations of age discrimination.

Furthermore, the fact that the EEOC in 2003 expand-

ed the Throckmorton and Nichols class to include all

geologists over the age of forty does not demon-

strate that Plaintiff exhausted administrative reme-

dies. “[G]overnment ‘agencies do not waive a

defense of untimely exhaustion merely by accepting

and investigating a discrimination complaint.’”

Belgrave v. Pena, 254 F.3d 384, 387 (2d Cir. 2001)

(quoting Bowden v. United States, 106 F.3d 433, 438

57

—_ Pree es

.

|

(D.C. Cir. 1997}). Plaintiff's claim of age discrimination

was not included in the administrative proceedings

timely filed by Throckmorton and Nichols in 1995. In

fact, as the MSPB found in its September 2006 deci-

sion, Plaintiff did not wish to pursue administrative

remedies for the first eight years after the RIF was

implemented in 1995. Therefore, consideration of

Plaintiff's claim in 2003 does not excuse his failure to

exhaust administrative remedies.

WHEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, it is hereby

ORDERED that Defendant's Motion to Dismiss

Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b}(1) (docket no. 27) is

granted. This case is dismissed with prejudice.

OS ee eee Be ee Ae, ee ee) ee ee ee gS ee ")

Dated: August 24, 2007

Denver, Colorado

S/ Michael J. Watanabe

Michael J. Watanabe

United States Magistrate Judge

On Nh i ee ee) nS eee

MENT 2

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM C. BUTLER,

Plaintiff-Appeliant,

Vv.

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, Secretary,

U.S. Department of the Interior,

Defendant-Appellee

No. 07-1490

(D.C. No. 1:07-CV-55-MJW-CBS, D. Colo.)

ORDER AND JUDGMENT*

Before KELLY, McKAY, and BRISCOE, Circuit Judges

Pro se plaintiff William C. Butler appeals from the

. dismissal of his employment case for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1).'

He also challenges the denial of his Fed.R.Civ.P. 59(e)

motion to alter or amend judgment and the denial

* (see next page).

' All district court proceedings were conductec before a

magistrate judge with the consent of the parties. See 28

USC § 636(c)(1).

59

of his Fed.R.Civ.P. 60(b) motion for relief from

judgment order.

The district court set forth a detailed summary of the

pertinent facts and we need not restate them here.

R.Doc. 59 at 4-7. suffice it to say that plaintiff, a

geologist, filed this action in 2007 alleging that his

former employer, the United States Geological!

Survey {USGS) (an agency within the United States

Department of Interior (DOI}), violated 29 U.S.C.

§ 633a, a provision of the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (ADEA), when it eliminated his

position on the basis of his age during an October

1995 reduction in force. Defendant countered with

a Rule 12(b)(1) motion to dismiss, asserting that the

district court lacked subject matter jurisdiction to

consider plaintiff's complaint because he had failed

to exhaust his administrative remedies before filing

suit. That is, plaintiff never filed a timely appeal to

the Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB) and he

never filed a complaint with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission (EEOC).

The district court agreed with defendant. Specif-

*After examining the briefs and appellate record, this panel has

determined unanimously that oral argument would not

materially assist the determination of this appeal. See Fed.R.

App.P. 34(a)(2); 10 Cir. R. 34.1(G). the case is therefore

ordered submitted without oral argument. This order and

judgment is not bincing precedent, except under the doc-

trines of law of the case. res judicata, and collateral estopel. It

may be cited, however, for its persuasive value consistent with

Fed. R.App.P. 32.1 and 10" Cir. R. 32.1.

60

ically, it concluded that the EEOC's right to sue letter

did not “demonstrate exhaustion of administrative

remedies" and therefore did not “provide any basis

to deny Defendant's motion to dismiss.” R.Doc. 59 at

8-9. Plaintiff's August 1995 letter to the Office of

Special Counsel (OSC) for the DOI also failed to

demonstrate that plaintiff had exhausted his

administrative remedies because he “never alleged

in that letter that he was discriminated against on

the basis of his age.” id. at 9. Nor could plaintiff rely

on the administrative proceeding initiated by two

women to satisfy the exhaustion requirement

because he “was not similarly situated to" them

since “they complained of discrimination against

female geologists over age forty.” Id. at 10.

Moreover, the fact that the EEOC expanded the

women's “class to include all geologists over the age

of forty [did] not demonstrate that Plaintiff exnausted

administrative remedies.” Id. Tne district court

therefore granted defendant's Rule 12(b)(1) motion

and entered judgment. Plaintiff then filed a “Motion

to Alter Order on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss and

Judgment for Dismissal,” that the district construed as

a Fed.R.Civ.P. 59(e) motion, and denied. R.Doc. 63.

Finally, plaintiff filed a ;motion for relief from

judgment or order pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 60(b),

that the district court also denied. R.Doc. 65. This

apped! followed. Liberally construing plaintiff's pro se

appellate filings, Cummings v. Evans, 161 F.3d 610

(10% Cir. 1998), he asserts — os far as we can discern -

that the district court erred by dismissing his case and

by denying his post-judgment motions because: (1)

the EEOC's right to sue ietter demonstrated that he

had exhausted his administrative remedies, (2) his

6]

August 1995 letter to the OSC served to exhaust his

administrative remedies, (3) the court should have

employed equitable tolling, and (4) he was “part of

a class complaint that was timely filed.” And as such,

“there was no requirement for him to exhaust any

remedies or file anything.” Aplit. Opening Br. At 18.

Our jurisdiction arises under 28 USC § 1291. We

review de novo a dismissal for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction pursuant to Rule 12(b)({1) and review

findings of jurisdictional facts for clear error. Davis ex

rel. Davis v. United States, 343 F.3d 1282, 1294-95 (10

Cir. 2003). “Because the jurisdiction of federal courts

is limited, there is a presumption against our juris-

diction, and the party invoking federal jurisdiction

bears the burden of proof.” Merida Delgado v.

Gonzales, 428 F.3d 916, 919 (10' Cir. 2005) (quotation

omitted). We review the district court’s denial of a

Rule 59(e}) motion for an abuse of discretion. See

Loughridge v. Chiles Power Supply Co., 431 F.3d

1268, 1275 (10 Cir. 2005); Servants of the Paraclete

v. Does, 204 F.3d 1005, 1012 (10 Cir. 2000) {identi-

fying “[g]rounds warranting a motion to reconsider”).

We review the district court’s denial of a Rule 60(b)

motion for an abuse of discretion as well, keeping in

mind “that Rule 60(b) relief is extraordinary and may

be granted only in exceptional circumstances.”

Beugler v. Burlington N. & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 490 F.3d

1224, 1229 (10! Cir. 2007) (quotation omitted).

Having reviewed the briefs, the record, and the of -

plicable law pursuant to the above-mentioned

standards, we conclude that plaintiff has failed to

identify any reversible error in this case or demon-

62

strate that the district court abused its discretion in

denying his post-judgment motions. This case is a

“mixed case” .vhich affords plaintiff the option of

filing an appeal with the MSPB or an administrative

complaint with the EEOC. Here, plaintiff did neither.

Plaintiff cannot rely on his 1995 letter because it did

not allege or complain about age discrimination.

Obviously, he was not similarly situated to them. If he

had been similarly situated, he could have relied on

their administrative exhaustion, and the later

expansion of their class action claims to include sex

and age discrimination. Plaintiff's age discrimination

claim, however, was unexhausted and did not

qualify as a claim that other class members had

exhausted. Plaintiff also contends that he need not

exhaust if another class member has exhausted. But

he cites no authority for this concept where his claim

was not the same as the claim exhausted by the

initial class rmembers. We therefore AFFIRM the

judgment of the district court for the same reasons

set forth in its order on defendant's motion to dismiss

and AFFIRM the district court's orders denying

plawstiff's Rule 59(e) and Rule 60(b) motions.

Entered for the Court

Mary Beck Briscoe

Circuit Judge

63

FS

’

atte te gl a” me 1 et Be Or ie ee

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 3

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM C. BUTLER,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

DIRK KEMPTHORNE, Secretary,

U.S. Department of the Interior,

Defendant-Appellee

No. 07-1490

(D.C. No. 1:07-CV-55-MJW-CBS, D. Colo.)

ORDER

Before KELLY, McKAY, and BRISCOE, Circuit Judges

Appellant's petition for rehearing is denied.

Entered for the Court,

s/ Elisabeth A. Shumaker, Clerk

ELISABETH A. SHUMAKER, Clerk

[filed Septermber 3, 2008}

64

"

‘

;

.

APPENDIX D ENT 4

U.S. OFFICE OF SPECIAL COUNSEL

1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 300

Washington, D.C. 20036-4505

November 30, 1995

Mr. William C. Butler

31951 Lodgepole Drive

Evergreen, CO 80439-6656

Re: OSC File No. MA-95-2067

De ur Mr. Butler:

In accordance with 5 U.S.C. §1214(a)(1)}(C) (i) the

Office of Special Counsel is required to advise you of

the status of your complaint within 90 days after our

initial notice to you that we had received your com-

plaint. This letter is to advise you that this matter has

been assigned to me for review. The Office of

Special Counsel receives a large number of com-

olaints and it is our general practice to review such

matters in the order in which they are received. If |

have not already done so, | may be contacting you

in the near future to discuss your complaint with you

in detail. If you have any questions concerning this

matter please call me at (202) 653-7188 or on our toll-

free number at 1-800-872-9855.

Sincerely,

s/ J. Sandra Thomas

Complaints Examiner

65

4

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 5

31951 Lodgepole Dr.

Evergreen, CO. 80439

October 3, 1995

Ce ee eee ee ee

Representative David Skaggs

1124 Longworth House Office Bidg.

Washington, D.C. 20515

», zt» Aes eee

Dear Representative Skaggs:

On August 14, 1995, the Geologic Division of the U.S. |

Geological Survey notified some of its employees

that they were being terminated, i.e., the Division

had engineered a RIF (reduction in force) of about

540 federa' employees. | am sure that you are

awore oi ail the details. | was one of those RIF’'ed

employees. | had 17.5 yrs. of professional service in

the Branch of Petroleum Geology, having been a

Deputy Branch Chief, project supervisor and

research geologist. | do not mind being RIF’ed if

indeed the Federal Government wishes to downsize _

according to Civil Service guidelines. However, the

reduction was manipulated by individuals who

wished to target people rather than positions. How

can Civil Service reconcile the fact that talented,

good people were placed in their own competitive i

level codes so their jobs could be eliminated?

Swe ee ee Ne ee ee eee eee

ur +P a hee ak

Take myself for example... (1) | have BS, MS, and PhD

degrees in geology with many types of honors and

awards, (2) | put in fully sotisfactory work according |

to my supervisors, (3) | have a multitude of inter- |

66

disciplinary talents, and (4) | have authored several

papers at the request of the U.S. Armed Services

Committee. But, the message | am receiving is that |

am not qualified to do any other job in an organi-

zation of thousands of people because | am the only

person in my competitive level code. Where are my

“bump and retreat” rights? The Office of Personnel

Management should be ashamed to allow all these

excellent people be fired because some ambitious

power-seekers in the Survey wanted to “clean

house” for whatever reasons. We had been told for

nearly a year that cuts could happen equally across

the board, i.e., to managers/ supervisors and the rest

of the workforce. You get one guess as to how

many managers and supervisors were cut! [none].

My purpose in writing is just to let you know that both

my RIF’ed and unkRIF'ed colleagues think this situation

smells. We ali came to Civil Service because of its

reputation of being fair. What happened?

Sincerely,

s/ William C. Butler

67

" -

if

-

¢

+

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 6

The following article appeared in the Rocky

Mountain News, Denver, CO, June 16, 1997, front

page. Parts indicated by = are redacted for brevity.

FEDS’ BONUSES RAISE IRE

Fired Workers Say Geological Survey's Incentive

Program Is A Slap In The Face: Some USGS Workers

Got Bonuses After Layoffs

By Burt Hubbard RMN staff writer

A federal agency of Colorado paid about $275,000

in bonuses last year after laying off 167 people.

Nationwide, the geologic division of the U.S. Geo-

logical Survey handed out more than $800,000 in

incentive awards in the year after a major reduction

in staff that initially saw about 500 people lose their

jobs. Most of the money was paid near the end of

the fiscal year. Workers who lost their jobs said the

bonuses are a slap in the face. They had to fire in

the course of the year 16 or 17 extra people to get

the money to pay out bonuses. = One geologist in

Colorado got five bonuses totaling more than $5,000,

and several others got two bonuses within days that

exceeded $5,000. = The bonuses became an issue

after the layoffs in the geologic division in October

1995 reduced staffing to about 1,600 nationwide and

500 in the central region headquarters in Lakewood.

That set off a bitter battle that led to appeals of

many of the dismissals. A \ist of the bonuses issued for

the year ending Sept. 30, 1996 was obtained through

the Freedom of Information Act. = In the 1996 fiscal

year, about $830,000 was handed out, with 70%

coming in the fiscal year's final two months, August

68

and September. In the Lakewood office about 90%

of the $275,000 came in the same two months.

About one-third of the employees received the

incentives. That led [RIF'ed employees] to suspect

that the agency was freely spending money it had

saved from eliminating jobs. = Employees are limited

to no more than two bonuses in each category

during the year, but Plasker said five or six nation-

wide, including two in Colorado, exceeded the limit.

A Lakewood geologist received five bonuses totaling

more than $5,000. Four of them were issued in

August and September. in Colorado, a geologist got

$2,182 on Sept. 19 and $3,182 more the next day. A

geochemist received $3,182 on Sept. 19 and four

days later received $2,727 more. = Howard Wilshire,

who was initially laid off from the California office

and later reinstated, said a letter from Gene Whitney,

when he was head of one of the division’s teams,

shows the agency was in a rush to spend its excess

money. “We have a problem. It's a GOOD

problem, but a problem nevertheless” began the

memo by Whitney written on Aug. 1, 1996.

“According to our books, the Central Energy Team

still has an enormous amount of UNSPENT OE

{operating expenses) in projects. Although we may

be happy because we're rich, the problem is that it

may not be humanly possible (within our purchasing

system) to spend that money between now and the

end of the fiscal year, Sept. 30'.” The memo then

urges staffers to “PLEASE SUBMIT YOUR REQUISITIONS

ASAP.” They’re dumping the money,” Wilshire said.

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 7

The following article appeared in the Rocky Moun-

tain News, Denver, CO, Dec. 9, 1997, over two years

after the U.S.G.S. RIF.

‘Designer Downsizing’ Has Given Federal Managers

New Tool To Ax Employees

In a recent letter on federal work force diversity,

Janice Lachance, director of the U.S. Office of

Personnel Management, said the current admin-

istration “proudly claims credit for downsizing the

federal work force in a manner that does not

adversely affect any (minority) group.”

Lachance's perception of the truth of federal down-

sizing would be greatly enhanced if she would

review what occurred in 1995 at the Interior Depart-

ment's U.S. Geological Survey with the firing of 550

employees, one-quarter of the Geologic Division's

work force. The agency's own documents present-

ed at just concluded public hearings revealed that

professional women were released, reassigned or

demoted at arate 70 percent greater than their

male counterparts. Older scientists were released at

a greater approaching 100 percent greater than

their younger counterparts and, for good measure,

every scientist who had a pending Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity complaint was separated. Would

it be surprising that every manger at the USGS was

retained?

The agency ignored traditional Civil Service regu-

lations and created a system in which incividual

70

employees could be targeted. Nearly every

employee was classified into a unique position and

deemed to have no interchangeable skills or duties

with any other employee, no matter how trivial the

tasks. By failure to correct or even acknowledge this

injustice, OPM now appears to support this “designer

downsizing” so federal managers have a tool to

“reinvent” the patronage system. It took a public

nearing to reveal the facts.

Perhaps the administration is secretly proud of this

atrocity and will continue the cover-up through legal

battles and doublespeak. The government has

already spent over $10 million in defense of this

devastation of diversity. Taxpayers deserve better.

G. Michael Reimer, Golden, CO

;

y

d

;

2

|

i

7\

ee eee ee ee eee.

>)

}

’

:

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 8

The following article appeared in the Boulder Weekly

newspaper, Boulder, CO, Sept. 26, 1996, p. 10-12.

Parts identified by = are redacted for brevity.

BAD SCIENCE

Politics And Patronage Reign In Downsizing:

Reinventing Government The Geological Survey Way

- Reward Your Friends And Punish Your Enemies

By Greg Campbell

President Clinton is making big headlines lately brag-

ging about his success in shrinking the size of govern-

ment. Last Saturday's Rocky Mountain News quoted

Clinton saying, “in everything from hiring people to

buying things. we've eliminated double talk and

bureaucracy.” This would be wonderful news if it

were true. Unfortunately, in the case of the work-

force reduction at the USGS, it hardly is.

According to geological scientists who lost their jobs

as a result of a reduction in force, USGS middle-

managers used the opportunity to downsize as an

excuse to purge the agency of their enemies.

Rather than creating a leaner, more efficient organ-

ization that costs the taxpayers less money through

the skillful whittling and revamping of critical

positions, critics contend that the USGS has lost some

of its most valuable scientific minds to the whims of

vindictive managers. “One point | want to make is

that none of the people who were RiFed are against

the idea of government downsizing,” says one

scientist. “Our question is this: is what happened at

72

‘

.

.

)

i.

]

,

:

j

’

‘

the USGS the proper way to downsize?” In the end,

according to a variety of sources and a number of

appeals that have been filed by about 80 fired

employees with an administrative court, most of the

USGS scientists who could be thought of by manage-

ment as trouble-makers — those who filed harassment

or discrimination complaints, those who disagreed

scientifically with their supervisors, or simply those

who happened to be female — found themselves out

of a job due to the liberties some managers took with

the regulations overseeing RIF’s. And, they claim,

almost all of those same managers used their

positions and their knowledge of the future USGS

staffing plan to make sure they still had jobs, regard-

less of whether or not they were the most qualified

for them. The result of the RIF, in the words of world-

renown retired USGS scientist Warren Hamilton, who

resigned his retirement fellowship in disgust over the

entire affair, is an earth science organization that

“was superb. It will come out of this mediocre or

worse. And it likely won't end up saving the tax-

payers a dime.”

PURGING THE HERETICS

When the USGS went through its RIF in October of last

year, 550 employees were separated in Denver,

Menlo Park, CA, and Reston, VA The Denver office

lost 167 employees. “We knew early on that some-

thing wasn't right,” one scientist told Boulder Weekly,

who, like many others contacted for this story, re-

quested anonymity. “The first clue was the single

person competitive levels.” Certainly, the way the

branch chiefs, office chiefs and other middle man-

agers in charge of orchestrating the RIF pooled the

73

positions for competition is one of the most conten-

tious aspects of the entire reorganization. In order to

prevent the very thing that the appellants say hap-

pened - the arbitrary firing of employees for vindic-

tive reasons — all RIFs in any agency of the govern-

ment must abide by federal RIF regulations, laws that

specify how a RIF is to be implemented so it’s a fair

process that retains the most qualified people.

According to the law, as an agency prepares for

downsizing, management must make an inventory of

all the position in the agency and pool together the

ones which are reasonably interchangeable into a

competitive level. That way, if a position is elimin-

ated, the individual who held that position is not

necessarily lost too. Instead, they compete with

others in their competitive level for the remaining

positions, not unlike a game of musical chairs. In the

end, the most qualified individuals are staffed in the

positions that remain whether or not they held a

position that was eliminated during the downsizing.

This way a vengeful manager can't simply eliminate

a job to get rid of an employee she aislikes. At least

in theory.

But according to many of those fired, the USGS man-

agers charged with creating and approving the

competitive levels found a way around the facet of

the law by crafting position descriptions so specific

thot they couldn't possible be interchanged with

another position. Out of about 300 pre-RIF positions,

there were 295 competitive levels (98.5% reciass-

ified). In other words, if someone's position was

eliminated, there was no one tc compete against

s4

a? ee See eee ee ee eS ae M

since they were the only person in their competitive

level. If it were indeed musical chairs, there would

only be one person playing and there would be

nowhere to sit once the music stopped. By elim-

inating specific positions, USGS managers were

inevitably eliminating individuals.

“The whole thing was flaunting civil service regula-

tions and the civil procedure by targeting individ-

uals,” says Hamilton, who believes that the process

was so befouled by a tone of retaliation and

favoritism that the Merit Systems Protection Board,

the administrative court nearing the appellants’

complaints, will be forced to overturn the RIF. There

are two reasons to think it could be overturned.

Number one, the management clearly circum-

vented the legalities by classifying everyone as

unique and the other is that if it is not overturned

then the word goes out to all other agency man-

agers that they can circumvent the agency

regulations.”

In fact, the RIF was so suspect that i’ caught the

attention of Rep. Jonn Mica(R-FL}, the chairman of

the House Subcommittee on Civil Service, Commit-

tee on Government Reform and Oversight, who

began oan investigation into the downsizing. Ed

Lynch, the senior research director of the subcom-

mittee says, “What's troubling is the fact that there

are so many different unique competitive levels in

this case. We're dealing with a situation in this

particular RF where apparently as much as 90

percent of fhe geologists in the division were treated

as some kind of specialized employee. When you're

75

talking about Ph.D. geologists, you're talking about

people who are sufficiently skilled that they can pick

up different kinds of research assignments or modify

their previous assignments and adapt somewhat to

the workplace. For some reason, the USGS appears

to have had a lesser evaluation of the talents of its

people. “Basically, the single person competitive

levels are something that you have to see as an

effort to avoid responsibility for the decisions that

were made and basically an effort on the part of the

survey to distance itself from the consequences of

some Cf its decisions.” But Tom Fouch, a USGS

manager now and at the time of the RIF, says that

the competitive levels were justified due to the highly

specialized nature of the individual positions.

This information comes as a surprise to Dr. Karen

Wenrich who is one of the RiFed scientists appealing

her dismissal. Wenrich thinks she was targeted for

firing due to the reputation she earned as a trouble-

maker in conjunction with the successful EEO

complaint she filed against her superior in 1991.

lronically, the basis of the suit was discrimination.

The congressional subcommittee conferred with the

Office of Personnel Management, the civil service

oversight organization that actually wrote the RIF

rules, about whether or not the USGS could legally

choose to put its people into so narrow a compet-

itive level, OPM Director James King responded that

“The agency has no latitude to elect a policy of

narrow rather than broad competitive levels... the

competition level is based solely on the position of

76

record (a scientist's job assignment), not personal

qualifications.”

The resu't of placing over 90% of the geologists into

unique competitive levels was that the protections

and the measures of fairness afforded by the federal

RIF regulations were stripped away. And once the

competitive leveis were established, critics say it was

just like shooting tish in a barrel for management.

A CASE IN POINT

Dr. Howard Wilshire has no doubt that he was RiFed

for his role in stopping the creation of a hazardous

waste dump in the deserts of California that he

thought would contaminate the Colorado River and,

subsequently, the water supply of Los Angeles and

San Diego. “I've been a trouble maker for a long

time before this, though," he says. “I blew the whistle

on what! thought were phony estimates on undis-

covered mineral deposits on public lands and things

like pipelines and mining end grazing and you name

it: any land-use issue that | the. -ght was out of

control across the Western aria lands. In the scientific

community, my work was respected," he continues,

“and | got consistently high ratings from my peers, so

the problems were ail political. What toes | trod on —

the Bureau of Land Management, the Forestry

Service — those are institutions that have regulatory

powers and don't want facts ihat interfere with their

decisions on land use. So! was a red flag to them.

There is no question in my mind that the RIF action

was against me for retaliation.”

77

According to Wenrich, Wilshire’s case isn't unique:

“Branch chiefs, assistant branch chiefs, the chief

geoloaist... they issued their vendettas against

people who've spoken out against them scien-

tifically and the implications for *yat are very far-

reaching.” she says. Even more unsettling are the

allegations that the vendettas didn't end with

professional disagreements. According to several

appellants, every scientist with a pending EEO

complaint against a superior was RiFed, as was a

scientist who filed a grievance against a boss.

CONFLICT OF INTEREST

The branch chiefs, office chiefs and other middle

managers who gave final approval over the cre-

ation of the single person competitive levels were

also in charge of formulating the USGS staffing plan

that would be adopted after the RIF. Since the

positions on the staffing plans were as specific as the

position descriptions for the existing jobs, filling the

new slots was as easy as connecting the dots. And

this, the complainants allege, is the flip side of the

retaliation coin: buddies of the managers had

position descriptions that matched up with new obs

after the RIF. And since that buddy was most likely

alone in his competitive level, there was no one to

challenge him for it. According to literature dis-

tributed by the fired scientists, 11 managers’ spouses

retained their jobs or were found new positions.

Since the managers were the ones who developed

the staffing plan in the first place, they had firsthand

knowledge of which positions were going to be

eliminated and which were going to be retained or

78

4 ‘ o > >! = a _ tt» <j .. » “ Pal

oe oe a Paes ee ee ee eee be ge eee eee « C

o> thachd

— /. ee 2 ee

created. Of the 75 various managers in the USGS, 74

found a position in the staffing plan. The one who

didn't, not surprisingly, had an EEO case pending

against the USGS and was an assistant. The man-

agers have done little to try to deny that they had an

unfair advantage over other scientists competing for

science positions, even though some of the methods

by which they obtained their new positions border

on fraud. For example, Christine Turner, the branch

chief who fired Wenrich, obtcined a position in the

new staffing plan working on a coal energy project

even though she had no prior experience working

with coal. Turner's boss, Energy Program Coordinator

David Houseknecht, was questioned before the

MSPB in Denver about this suspicious appointment.

After all, weren't the employees supposed to be

judged for placement in the staffing plan based on

their previous experience?

“In my opinion, it is unreasonable for an organization

to ask its managers to implement a reduction in

force and then say, ‘Oh, by the way, fire yourselves

while you're at it'” Houseknecht says. Whether the

courts agree with him or not remains to he seen, but

this type of thinking seems to be in direct contra-

diction to the intentions of the federal RIF laws. As

noted in the Guide to Merit System Protection Board

Law and Practice, “[T]he linchpin of federal person-

nel management is fairness, i.e., employees who are

similarly situated are entitled to similar treatment. The

notion of fairness is implicit in RIF regulations. Regu-

lations reflect the congressional concern for fairness,

limiting an agency's discretion in filling a vacancy in

a RIF.” Or as one anonymous scientist put it: “if

79

oe," ae gy ee eee ii oll

EE ee ee ee a

Christine Turner is able to create her own position

description for a spot on the staffing plan, then 550

other people should be able to do it too.”

MONEY MATTERS

According to testimony by Chief Geologist Leahy,

the RIF was financially successful for the agency in

that it saved the USGS over $40 million in operating

expenses. Leahy was asked by attorney Chisolm if

there were any programs that had excess funding as

a result of the $40 million saved in expenses. Leahy

answered, “For fiscal year '962 It’s not over yet.”

Indeed, it’s not. Less than a month after this ob-

servation, a general memo was circulated to USGS

program ;managers that was almost giddy in its tone:

“Listen up folks. We have a problem. It’s a GOOD

problem, but a problem nonetheless. According to

our books, the Central Energy Team still has an

enormous amount of UNSPENT OPERATING EXPENSES

in projects. This is not money in my pocket, it's

money in YOUR pocket. Although we may be happy

because we're rich, the problem is that it may not be

humanly possible within our purchasing system to

spend that money between now and the end of the

fiscal year.” The memo went on to beg everyone to

submit purchase requisitions as early as possible as

the administrators charged with filling the orders

were expected to be “working overtime trying to

keep up.” Though it may not seem “humanly pos-

sible” to soend all the overage according to the

author of the memo, there is a strong suspicion that

the managers will rise to the task.

80

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 9

The following cover letter is the Authorization To

Investigate sent to petitioner Butler, a bona fide

member of the age-discrimination class and party to

the action. It is followed by some of the 15 inter-

rogative questions sent to the petitioner from the

Agency through DSZ & Associates in May 2004. The

answers are included.

AUTHORIZATION TO INVESTIGATE

This is to certify that Molly Smith and Barry Zamoff,

investigators employed by Delaney, Siegel, Zorn &

Associates (DSZ) and engaged by the U.S. Geolog-

ical Survey Office of Equal Opportunity, have the

authority to investigate all aspects of the complaint

of: discrimination based on age filed by Constance

Throckmorton, Class Complaint CA-WGS-00-011,to

require employees of this Bureau to cooperate with

the investigator in the conduct of the investigation,

and to require employees of this Bureau having

knowledge of the matter complained of to furnish

testimony under oath or affirmation without a pledge

of confidence. This investigator is also authorzed

access to any document of, or in, the U.S. Geolog-

ical Survey in connection with the performance of

these official duties. Use of such documents shall be

in accordance with applicable laws and regulations.

s/ Sherman Scott Jackson Feb. 10, 2004

Formal Complaints Manager Date of Authorization

Office of Equal Opportunity

81

INTERROGATORY QUESTIONS

Q #1-6: [standard background information already

presented in the petition for writ of certiorari]

Q #7: Did anyone in management personally give

you reasons for the elimination or downgrade of your

position?

A: Yes... Impending budget cuts and financial

disaster for the US geological survey unless the bud-

get for solaries was reduced. The term “contract on

America” was used repeatedly to make employees

believe that our budget was going to be slashed

and that management was just doing its job to

comply with what the politicians wanted. However,

the budget was not cuf. No reason was given as

required in the RIF Notice.

Q@ #8: Do you have reason to believe that the

reduction in force was not required for fiscal

rearons? If so, state your reasons.

A: Yes. There were several articles written in Denver,

CO by major newspapers providing insight into what

had happened during and after the massive

reduction in force. These articles showed that it was

management's design to terminate non-managers

and then give themselves pay raises. After the RIF,

memos apparently surfaced from management

telling the non-RIF'ed workers to use up all the extra

money by buying new computers and other

equipment and to write up employees for merit pay

increases. Not being a Federal employee at that

time, | did not see the memos but! did hear about

82

bs

.,

F

;

them from friends who still worked at the USGS. One

of the newspaper articles was titled: Feds

‘Demoted’ to Higher Pay’, Rocky Mountain News, 3-

12-1998, front page headline.

Q #9: Do you have reason to believe that staffing

plans were formulated so as to target those over age

forty for downgrades or separation? If so, state your

reasons.

A: Yes. ABSOLUTELY!! Because that is indeed what

happened. All one has to do is look at the statistics.

The “older” employees generally have higher salaries

than the “newbies” and what better way to trim the

budget than target the higher-salaried employees. |

attended the RIF meetings for RIF’'ed employees and

the employees in the audience were the “oldies”,

such as myself. Also, there is only one reason to get

all employees to re-write their position descriptions

just prior to the RIF —- put each employee into a

separate competitive level category and then take

away the position. It is now so obvious and biatant, it

is disgusting.

Q #10: Do you have reason to believe that

competitive level codes were set or used to target

those over age forty for downgrades or separation?

lf so, state your reasons.

A: Yes. Because, once again, that is exactly what

nappened. The whole process of putting people

into their own competitive code with no one else

was an obvious setup. The rumors in the office were

that managers were protecting their own jobs and

screwing their colleagues. Civil Service shamefully

went along with this deceit and no one that | know,

83

including myself, was then able to “bump” less-senior

employees. There was not a single position in my

branch that! could not have competently filled with

my background of PhD geologist, eleven-year

college professor, and five years supervising the

research in my branch as Deputy Branch Chief. The

employees that ! saw in the RIF meetings seemed to

have a commonality, and that commonality was

most had filed complaints against their branch or

supervisor for whatever reason, such as discrim-

ination, poor performance rating that was not

justified, etc. In my case, | had filed a grievance

because after being a deputy Branch Chief, | saw

Bureau of Indian Affairs money not being used

properly and my then Branch Chief did not appre-

ciate me making a big deal of it.

Q #11: Do you have reason to believe that the

process of adding back positions after the initial

position elimination decisions were made was

designed or used to target those under age forty for

“add backs”? If so, state your reasons.

A: Yes. | knew many Survey employees in my 17.5

years there. | also knew some of the people who got

their jobs back. How can one not wonder at why

jobs were being advertised after the RIF when the

Survey was suppose to be down-sizing?

Q #12: Has any manager involved in the RIF deci-

sions made any statement which you believe is

evidence of his/her intent to discriminate on the

basis of age? If so, provide the name of the man-

ager, the statement made, the context in which the

statement was made, and the date.

84

gee PET ee

A: | do remember the general gist of ageist com-

ments [dinosaur and old-dog jokes] that were made

in branch and office meetings by Tom Ahibranct

and Tom Fouch. | am a prolific note-taker and thus |

may have recorded some of these; however, | have

15 filing cabinets of rny USGS research and admin-

istrative documents in storage and it will take time to

access this information. Specifics from 10 yrs. ago

cannot be remembered without reviewing my notes.

Q #13: Do you have any evidence that any of the

managers involved in the RIF decisions were aware

of your age at the time they participated in RIF

decisions? If you do, provide the evidence with as

much specificity as possible.

A: Yes. | came to the USGS in 1978 from a distin-

guished graduate student and teaching career as

an Associate Professor. By 1995 my colleagues had

to know that in order to do this, | had to be at least

50 years old. Managers clever enough to orches-

trate the RIF were clever enough to know my age.

My official Career Record which was updated

annually, contained the date | graduated from high

schoo! (1962) which meant that | was 18 (+ or-a

year) and hence born in 1944. When you work with

people for almost 18 years, they generally know how

old you are; in fact, we routinely celebrated every-

one’s birthday in the branch on a per month basis.

These gatherings included the normal lunch-hour

office party with jokes about how old people are

getting and a “roasting” of the guest of honor.

Q #14 Is there any other age-related reason why

you believe the decision to separate you or

85

eee eee, ae er ce ee Ten ee ye

a, ae ee Ce ee

pe =. ae

downgrade you as part of the reduction in force was

discriminatory? If there is, describe that reason with

as much specificity as possible.

A: My job was eliminated allegedly to save money.

That was well known and publicized. The deceptive

scheme that wasn't publicized to the victims of the

RIF was that the older the terminated employee was.

the more money the Government would save, vic

making it impossible for the RIF'ed employee to

realize a Federal retirement.

Q #15: Have you been a party to other complaints

or legal actions regarding the 1995 RIF? If so,

describe the current status of the other complaint or

action.

A: Other than writing letters to Office of Special

Counsel and to my U.S. Congressman, no. My letters

asked why Civil Service was not protecting my job

after 17.5 years of career competitive service. My

performance ratings had always been fully satis-

factory to outstanding. [n.b.: the petitioner's law-

suit/Complaint was filed in U.S. District Court after trie

2003 class was decertified under the doctrine of res

judicata in May 2005].

86

ee ee ae ee es ee eS a bn okie

APP X DOCUMENT 10

G. Michael Reimer

RR-103 75-6081 Alii Drive

Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

August 16, 2008

Dr. William C. Butler

31951 Lodgepole Drive

Evergreen, CO 80439-6656

Dear Dr. Butler,

| recall that after giving a state-of-the-office address

to Denver in 1994, the Office of Energy Chief, Dr.

Gary Hill, talked to various small groups of individuals.

This was in the first floor, north-end conference rooms

of Building 25 on the Denver Federal Center, Denver,

CO. | do not recall the exact time but that should be

obtainable from records of conference room reser-

vations. At that time, concern was high on whether

or not the Geologic Division would participate in a

reduction in force (RIF) if the budget of the U.S. Geo-

logical Survey was cut. It appeared that not only

would the Geologic Division be involved but that

would be the only Division involved.

Very few rank and file individuals knew anything

about a RIF process and we were just learning the

terminology. The general knowledge was that the

system for separation was similar to that of most labor

forces, particularly unionized groups for which last

hired would be first fired. The Geologic Division had

87

a rather skewed age distribution with most employ-

ees over age 40 and with 20 or more years of service.

| was part of a group of three individuals to whom Dr.

Gary Hill told the Geologic Division had been work-

ing on a means of separating individuals regardless

of their tenure, a means to specifically target in-

dividuals or small groups of individuals. The other

individuals of that group were Dr. Karen Wenrich and

Dr. James Otton, all members of the Branch of

Sedimentary Processes in Denver and all engaged in

the study of naturally-occurring radioactive mate-

rials. Dr. Hill stated that there might be some indi-

viduals caught that would be separated in order to

get rid of some targets, but they could be rehired

later. We were of course somewhat flabbergasted

at the glee he took in talking about the method of

classifying positions into as narrow of categories as

possible and that an individual in Reston Personnel

Office had been devising this system for years. It was

this cavalierness and arrogance that made this small

group meeting significant enough to remember. It

was clear to us, even though we were novices in the

terminology of RIF procedures, that this targeting, the

capability of management to target employees for

either retention or separation was a prohibited per-

sonnel practice. We believed that management

had to turn over the RIF operations to the Personnel

Office who would run an objective RIF following

proper guidelines.

Dr. Wenrich and | were separated from employment.

Dr. Otton, who has less tenure than either Wenrich or

|, was retained. At the time of the RIF, | was a GS-14

88

Research Geologist 1350 with a PhD in geology from

the University of Pennsylvania. | prevailed in my

appeal at the MSPB level and was reinstated. The

ruling was that the position descriptions of various

individuals were similar enough that with my tenure

seniority, | should not have been separated. | held

both competitive level, bump and retreat rights over

other employees. None of the individuals over

whom | had seniority were separated after my

reinstatement.

An analysis of the post-RIF scenario clearly shows that

Dr. Hill's remarks presaged what hap happened.

Discovery documents reveal! that Division Manage-

ment retained almost complete control over the RIF

process, not only instructing classification panels they

convened but they oversaw Branch management

develop retention registers to give to Personnel. They

categorized positions with random code assignments

for individuals that opened the door for abuse. Over

97 % of scientists were placed into single position

classifications. There was distinct age animus prev-

alent in the Geologic Division at the time of the RIF.

This is a fact that was recognized by a California

Court hearing claims from the Menlo Park, CA RIF,

and older individuals were indeed targeted. Further,

hiring back some separated individuals did occur.

And finally, some position descriptions of individuals

were rewritten by upper level management so that

they corresponded to qualifications on add-back lists

and were thus retained.

This recollection to the best of my knowledge is an

accurate representation of the statements and

89

attitude of upper level management. They fully

gave the appearance they were going to be given

a one-shot opportunity to separate individuals and

were going to use if as specifically as they could.

Sincerely,

s/ G. Michael Reimer, Ph.D. Geologist

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 11

Memorandum

Subject: Recalled 1992 conversation with Gary Hill

about proposed personnel practices and

attending circumstances.

in 1992 | was an employee of the U.S. Geological

Survey, Office of Energy and Marine Geology,

Branch of Sedimentary Processes, stationed in

Denver, CO. One day during the spring of 1992 Mr.

Gary Hill, along with one or two colleagues, came

into the Building 25 cafeteria where | was having

lunch. As he was going to his table he detoured to

where | was eating and said in a loud voice, “We've

got you all, now. We got the OK from DO! lawyers for

the classification. We can fire anyone we want to.” |

expressed doubt and stated that his ideas, besides

being contemptuous of merit-system principles in my

mind, remained actually illegal under Civil Service

statutes. The conversation then ended.

The classification Hill was speaking of was an attempt

to classify each and every federal employee (under

his jurisdiction as Chief, Office of Energy and Marine

Geology) into unique position-descriptions so that

each employee could be terminated individually

without benefit of seniority, veteran's preferences, or

other protections of the Civil Services Protection Act.

Mr. Hill and | had discussed this potential reclassify-

cation several times previously along with Mr. John

McGurk, a personnel specialist, who had suggested

the scheme. | had raised possible legal arguments

against the procedure at those discussions arousing

71

some antipathy to my views with both Mr. Hill and Mr.

McGurk. | interpreted the tone of his comments to

me in Denver as an expression of that antipathy.

These are my clearest recollections of the 1992

conversation with Mr. Gary Hill.

s/ Dr. Joseph T. O'Connor

Bailey, CO 80421

August 26, 2008

Telephone: 303-816-9718

,

92

APPENDIX D MENT 12

The 1995 RIF began like this.... Federal Employees

News Digest, Reston, VA, published the following

article on Aug. 14, 1995, (v. 45, n. 2, p. 4), on the day

that about 800 RIF Notices were served in the U.S.GSS.

“RIF Rigging Alleged at Geological Survey

The House Civil Service Subcommittee, which is

monitoring reductions in force throughout

government, is focusing on the U.S. Geological

Survey, which is being accused by some of its

employees of designing its RIF to protect certain

individuals while exposing others to the ax.

The Survey, world renowned for its Earth science

research work, wants to get rid of about a quarter

of its 2200 geologic division staff, firing about 500-

600 and downgrading another 700. It has

fashioned the RIF (notices are expected to go ut

today) so that many employees find themselves

in “one-man” competitive areas.

The RIF will include 200 firings in each of three

locations — Reston, Va., Menlo Park, Calif., and

Denver. Many of those targeted are involved in

the division’s core work: geology, chemistry,

geophysics, and so on. Some USGS employees

believe that by making the competitive areas so

specific, veterans preference, tenure, length of

service and job success will be circumvented as

retention pluses. They also charge that the buddy

system is protecting certain individuals and that

nepotism also may be a factor.”

93

APPENDIX DOCUMENT 13

This confidential memo was sent to Chief Geologist

Patrick Leahy by six Program Coordinators (who

helped engineer the RIF) after =800 employees were

separated, downgraded, transferred, or otherwise

adversely affected by a massive RIF under pretext of

budget cuts. The = symbol indicates redacted

material for brevity. Underlining added for emphasis.

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR

U.S. GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

Reston, VA 22092

November 1, 1995

MEMORANDUM

To: Chief Geologist

From: Acting Program Coordinators

s/ 6 sets of initials

Subject: Decisions affecting Geologic Division

science programs

During the past two weeks we have been informed.

commonly through hallway conversations or

unexpected memos, about decisions that have

significant impacts on the science programs that we

are charged to coordinate. These include:

= [a list of cost issues]

These decisions are directly contradictory to many of

the principles under which we operated during the

planning of the reorganization and RIF. Moreover,

they achieve exactly the opposite of many guiding

94

Ss eer eS. se me a

¥

Ss

“

5

4

%

7

4

z

tenants of participatory management (trust and

delegating authority and responsibility to the lowest

level to name two}. The financial decisions men-

tioned above, together with the fact that the Office

of Geology has rolled over millions of dollars at the

end of the past two fiscal years, send a clear signal

that will not be well received by an organization that

has just separated hundreds of people.

We are concerned that these decisions, particularly

made in the absence of program input, will have

undue negative impacts on the scientific health and

morale of the Division. Moreover, we are deeply

concerned that these decisions will cost your

administration its credibility.

During the past year, many of us argued that a RIF

was necessary to restored scientific health to the

Division, defended that decision to the troops, told

them that the fat would be cut from the Division's

administrative ranks so that more dollars could reach

the front lines, then implemented the painful

downsizing. Our expectation was a New Division

where open decision-making and selfless attitudes

would prevail. Much to our chagrin, we see the new

organization conducting business-as-usual with

power being concentrated and money being con-

trolled by an elite few.

We ask you to think about the implications of deci-

sions that are being passed down, and about the

message that is being sent to the troops in the way

decisions are being made. We welcome the op-

portunity to work with you to resolve these issues.

95

x

P

a iil

j

,

7

4

’

’

APPENDI

This document is provided to show that petitioner did

have an active interest in preserving his rights con-

trary to statements in the trial court's Order To Dismiss.

Docket Number: DE-0351-05-0377-I-1

To: U.S. Merit Systems Protection Board, James Kasic,

Administrative Judge

From: William C. Butler, Appellant

Subject: Response to your Order To Show Cause of

June 24, 2005 and Request for Clarification

Date: July 8, 2005

This is a response to your order of June 24, 2005. It

clearly and overwhelmingly documents my ongoing

history of responses to the 1995 USGS RIF. You

requested that if your statement of factual data is

incorrect that you wanted to have it corrected. Your

order stated that my appeal “appears to be filed

untimely”. Your statement is incorrect for the reasons

presented herein. | have actively participated in a

ten-year effort to regain my Federal job and to seek

another Federal job since receiving the RIF notice. If

timely responses were not filed, if is because infor-

mation was never sent to me by the Agency or other

appropriate entity responsible for sending it. Not

being informed about deadlines is beyond my

control and a valid cause for any possible delays.

When information containing deadlines has been

sent to me, | have always responded in a diligent,

professional, and timely manner. Among other

issues, | present correct information in the following

15 points (five total pages):

96

1) The RIF notices were given to employees on

August 14, 1995. | was 51 years old aft that time and

a career employee of 17.5 years within the Geologic

Division. Because | was unjustly separated in the RIF,

on August 25, 1995, 1 wrote a letter regarding this RIF

to Ellen Oskoui, Office of Soecial Counsel,

Washington, D.C. 20036, expressing my disbelief that

the Civil Service Commission and Office of Personnel

Management could allow the targeting of individual

USGS employees by using fabricated competitive

level codes designed specifically to separate em-

ployees -- especially the “older employees” who

were close to retirement. This letter to Ellen Oskoui is

OSC File No. MA-95-2067. OSC responded to me on

September 1, 1995, on November 30, 1995, on

December 8, 1995, and on December 28, 1995. My

inquiry through official and recommended channels

was very timely.

Although... a) my GS and GM grades had been 12,

13 and 14, and b) for five years | was Deputy Branch

Chief and Acting Branch Chief, and c) | had a BS, MS

and PhD, and d) | supervised at one time over 200

employees, and e) | worked in my position for 17.5

years with fully satisfactory to excellent performance

ratings, and f) | occupied Merit Pay Supervisor,

research, and operational positioris, | had no

bumping/retreating rights and was not allowed to ‘

even take a GS-3 position, or anything between a

grade 3 and my current grade in 1995. | could easily

have taken any geologist (research or operational)

or technician job and worked satisfactorily at full

performance level almost immediately.

97

‘ iil

| want also to point out that no reason was ever

given to me for my separation from Civil Service

employment (re: RIF casualty). Any reasonable

person can see that the RIF was obviously a fraud-

ulent way to terminate employees rather than to

legitimately eliminate positions; it was a pretext

orchestrated by ambitious power-hungry managers,

none of whom (... or their friends) were RIF'd. See

“Desianer Downsizing” article in the Rocky Mountain

News, December 12, 1997, also, “RIF Rigging Alleged

at Geological Survey” article in Federal Employees

News Digest, August 14,1995, v. 45, n. 2, and “Feds'

Bonuses Raise Ire - Some USGS Workers Got Bonuses

After Layoffs” article in the Rocky Mountain News,

June 16, 1997, and “Laid-off Female Scientists Sue"

article in the Rocky Mountain News, March 20, 2000.

These are just several of the public documents

showing that Civil Service job protections were

apparently circumvented in the RIF. In the case of

Adam et al v. Norton, 9'» Cir. Docket No. 04-17365,

ND CA No. C-98-2094 CW, it was shown that age

discrimination was prevalent in the Geologic Division

at the time of the RIF. | believe | was affected by

those now public discriminatory practices and would ,

be eager to show such in a hearing before MSPB.

The conversations among the USGS Geologic

Division work force in 1995 was that managers were

indeed targeting the older employees and desirous

of keeping the “new blood” employees and getting

rid of the “dinosaurs” or “older employees”. Some

younger employees were asked to transfer to Water

Resources Division in order to save their jobs. In my

98

case, | did have access to information about how

Bureau of Indian Affairs project money was being

misapplied and misused to cover deficits elsewhere.

It is my belief that for this reason, and secondly, for

the reason that! had filed a successful complaint

against my supervisor, and thirdly because of my

age, that! was targeted for separation. Biases

against certain employees, such as age and other

personal factors, were definitely key elements in

management's decision-making on who would be

separated and who would be retained.

During the RIF | did attend the Agency-sponsored

meetings to once again express dissatisfaction with

the process, and my name appears on the official

sign-up sheets. Undoubtedly, these actions show a

very personal concern and “timely response” to a

developing adverse situation. When one actively

fights to retain their job, as | have amply demon-

strated herein, it does indicate that one does have

an genuine interest in possibly uniawful employ-

ment/separation practices; these concerns directly

bear on the discrimination situation and timeliness

issue you have ordered me to address. The reason

that | have provided this background information is

to show that | felt very strongly about the reasons |

believed to be the cause for separation, and as a

result | actively tried to reverse what had happened

by taking advantage of options that were promul-

gated to me. However, as | later found out, not all

options and information was provided so that

choices could be made. The very productive

careers of many professionals, including mine, were

99

destroyed overnight by the RIF, and this was of no

small consequence.

2) On August 23, 1995, | talked in person with Con-

gressman David Skaggs in Arvada, CO, about the

recent violations with the USGS RIF procedures. On

October 3, 1995, | wrote a letier to Representative

David Skaggs, Washington, D.C. expressing the same

concerns delineated in item #1 above. That meet-

ing and ietter are examples of my concern about

discrimination and were done so in a timely manner.

3) Multiple attempts to access staffing and grade-

position information from the Office of Personnel

Management were unsuccessful. The responses

were that this is privileged information. This infor-

mation was critical to show that there were indeed

other USGS positions that | could have retreated to

and been fully qualified (...and in most cases, over-

qualified) to assume those responsibilities. These

attempts were done in a timely manner.

4) Through the Office of Personne! Management, |

applied for the Priority Placement Program (Inter-

agency Placement, OPM form 1478) on August 23,

1995, in order to be eligible for any available position

vacancies in occupational series 1301, 1311 and

1350. i had full-time and part-time availability for

down-graded positions per the Reemployment

Priority List (RPL). A 27-page government Career

Record showing qualifications was submitted with

this application. This application which was

accepted by OPM (notice of registration dated

September 6, 1995) shows another documented

100

ail

:

:

:

:

:

:

:

response to the unlawful act of discrimination and

my ongoing willingness to exercise reasonable

options in a timely manner.

5) | was a named class member when OFO certified

the class on May 6, 2003. When EEOC makes a

determination such as this, MSPB generally recog-

nizes EEOC’s determination on the issue of timeliness

(Dawson v. USPS, 45 MSPB 194, (1990)).

6} | was officially recognized, i.e., “...nereby noti-

fied”, as a named class member by the Agency

when they sent me notification on May 21, 2003 of

the class acceptance by OFO. This notification

stated that | was a class member in accordance

with 29 C.G.R. § 1614.204(e) and signed by J.

Michael Bieszad, Chief Employee Relations Section

USGS, Denver, CO. 80225. Furthermore, | contacted

the Class Agent and | was named a class member

when the class was certified by the Office of Federal

Operations in March 23, 2003. This fact is known

through exhibits provided to you by both the Class

Agent and the Agency's representative in their April

29'"», 2005 responses to your order of April 1, 2005.

7) | was again very clearly recognized by the

Agency as a named class member when they were

conducting their investigation and | received a

questionnaire to fill out. | returned information on

these interrogatory questions on May 13, 2004 and

on May 24-2004 to the investigator, Ms Molly Smith,

EEO Contract Investigator, POB 3814, Ketchum, ID

83340. The authorization to investigate stated: “This is

to certify that Molly Smith and Barry Zamoff, investi-

101

a

gators employed by Delaney, Siegel, Zorn and

Associates, and engaged by the U.S. Geological

Survey Office of Equal Opportunity, has the authority

to investigate all aspects of the complaint of discrim-

ination based on age filed by Constance Throck-

morton (class complaint CA-WGS-00-01 1}, to require

employees of this Bureau to cooperate with the

investigator in the conduct of the investigation, and

to require employees of this Bureau having know-

ledge of the matter complained of to furnish testi-

mony under oath or affirmation without a pledge of

confidence” This authorization was signed by the

Formal Complaints Manager, Office of Equal

Opportunity on February 10, 2004. The Office of Equal

Opportunity indeed had me listed by full name and

address as a class member of the age discrimination

lawsuit. This Authorization To Investigce*= clearly and

unequivocally demonstrates that | was a member of

the ongoing legal process concerning the age dis-

crimination complaint. Please note that | was re-

quired to provide knowledge about the discrimi-

nation that | believed was perpetrated against me. |

was sent this interrogatory questionnaire specifically

because | had expressed prior complaints about and

dissatisfaction with the procedures regarding the

USGS Reduction In Force of 1995 as specified in this

Show Cause reply and because | was a bona fide

class member. There is definitely a history of in-

volvement here, including a paper trail, of my deep

concern for the illegal RIF procedure and my loss of

employment because of it that dates back to

August 1995. My response has thus been timely.

102

1

;

is

%

’

F

— > eS eS a) Pe

8) You seek to dismiss my case by applying a

regulation 5 C.F.R. §1201.154. This is an improper

regulation to use in my case. This regulation is for

those who previous!y appealed to MSPB. | did not

previously appeal to MSPB. My appedt is a result of

your dismissal of the mixed-case, class-action of

Throckmorton v. Interior DE-0351-05-0239-I-1.

9) My right to appeal is covered under 5 C.F.R.

§ 1201.27. it stems from your May 2, 2005 dismissal of

the class action. You should have docketed my

individual appeal when you dismissed the class

(Scott v. Department of Treasury, 71 MSPR 42 (1996)).

(Class action status was denied by the judge; on a

PFR the Board directed the judge to docket a

separate appeal for each appellant identified in the

initial appeal if the judge continued to deny class

action status.), and because you did not, | filed on

June 8, 2005, to protect my rights.

10) The Agency failed to inform me of my choices in

an appeal, thus | was not able to make a valid se-

lection of forum. My RIF notice mentioned nothing

about choices for filing different claims and did not

discuss the consequences of any selection. Again,

that information was withheld from me by the

Agency and | did not know what the basis was for

contesting the RIF. If you doubt this, a hearing will

bring out the facts supporting my claim on this issue.

11) You question the timeliness of filing. When a

case is pending, the timeline for filing an appeal is

extended (American Pipe & Construction v. Utah,

414 U.S. 538 (1974)), and 5 CFR 1201.27 (a) presents a

103

.

j

4

"

"

DP

clear statement of this timing issue: “When a class

appecd! is filed, the time from the filing date uniii the

judge issues his or her decision under paragraph (b)

of this section is not counted in computing the time

limit for individual members of the potential class to

file individual appeals.” You issued your decision on

April 6, 2005. | was not sent notification of t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.