Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Clark v. Dwyer (No. 531)

Supreme Court brief1960

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

| SUPREME COURT

ini ties

Pa

e October Term, 1960

_ No.

CeciL C. CLARK and CATHERINE CLARK,

_ husband and wife, Appellants,

vs.

_ JOE DWYER, Director of Agriculture

of the State of Washington, : “Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

| TO THE SUPREME COURT >

* OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

CUTLER W. HALVERSON

| 303 Fast “D™ St., Yakima, Wash.

< ALAN A. MCDONALD

e 303 East “D™ St.. Yakima. Wash.

- Attorneys, for Petitioners

Cecil C. Clark and Catherine Clark

PE GS hd Bb AS ES WIRD Oe EBB OK RR CE GTS,

> *

a

Fea, eden gb Mine:

z INDEX

Page

Opinions in Courts Below.) oe eee cece ee s

Grounds on Which. Jurisdiction of this Court is Invoked - 6

Questions Presented for Review... 6

Constitutional Provisions Involved........... ile reas! 9

Statement of the Case... eaerqinnie 5

eee SERRE Te OMIM STOCAE, EEE BR ees

Conclusion ....... FA Tne SOL AN a LAN COBY © SSE OU 25

TABLE OF CASES

— G.A.F. Seelig, Inc.,

294 U. S. 511, 79 L. Od. 1032, 55 S. Ct. aera 17, 18

East New York Savings Bank v. Haan; New York,

66 S. Ct. 69, 326 U. S. 230, 90 L. Ed. 34... 15

Hood v. DuMond, 36 U. S. 525, 93 L. Ed. 865..........17, 18

Indianapolis Brewing Company v. Liquor Control Com-

mission at Michigan, D. C. Mich., 21 Fed. Sup. 1969, -

affirmed 59 S. Ct. 254, 305 U. S. 391, 83 L. Ed. 243.... 15

Miller v. Schoene (1926),,146 Va. 175, 135-S. E. 813,

aff'd 276 U. S. 272, :72 L. _Ed. 568, 48 S. Ct. 246... Ce Deke 17

Mugler v. Kansas, | =~

- 123. U. S. 661, 8S. Ct. 273, 31. Se 23

Nebbia v. People of the State of New York, § -

291 U. S. 502, 78 L. Ed. 940, 54'S. Ct. 505... me me

oy ‘Gorman & Young v. Hartford F. Insurance aug:

282 U. S. 251, 75 L. Ed. 324, 51 S. Ct. ose Pma el 22

Olson v. Nebraska (1941),

is U. $. 236, SL. Ba. T908......2: 20, 23

Queenside Hills Realty. Company v. . ea. New York,

66 S. Ct. 850, 328 U. S. 80, 90 L. Ed. 1096 noes ak eee 15

‘Ribnik v. McBride,

277 U. S. 350, 72 L. Ed. 913, iss S.Ct. 343 SE eS

Sligh v. Kirkwood,

237 U. S. 52, 59 L. Ed. 835, 35 S. Ct. 502.0... 17

‘Sunshine Anthracite Coa! Co. v. Adkins, .

310 U. S. 381, 84 L. Ed. 1263, 60 S. Ct. 907!.......... a.

e

P

?

anne

a

.

Tagg Bros. & Moorehead vy. United States, . ‘

280 . U. S. 420, 74, L. Ed. 425, 50 S. i ee 22

Tyson & Brother-United Theatre Ticket Officers, Inc.

y. Joab H. Banton, 273 U.S. 418. 71.L. Ed. 718,

illinscaen perc at EN ate 20

U.S. v. Rock Réyal Cooperative, pee ie es

_ 307 U. S. 533, 83 L. Ed. 1446, 59 S. Ct. 993. 22

West Coast Hotel €o. v. Parrish, oe |

300 U. S. 379, 81 L. Ed. 703, 57S, Ct. 578 a 2

ae STATUTES _ :

. Laws of 1959, Chapter 230... 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 18, 24

"RCW 15.16 SSG nicate ee 13

RCW 15.16.0100 Sareerr nisi 10

RCW 15.18.080... ee — 7

re Reneerietsyene nai OF

28 U.S.C., Sec. 1257(2), 62 Stat. ot

*» CONSTITUTIONS

U. S. Constitution, Art. 1, Sec. 8... bistoecaasctupcasisans 7

U. S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment... 7

. x

IN THE

‘SUPREME COU RT

OF THE _

©. . UNITED STATES

. October Term, 1960

No.

ee

Cecit C. CLARK and C ATHERINE CL ARK.

husband and wife, , A pipe —s

_ : Vs.

JOE DWYER, Director of Agr iculture

of the State of Ww ashington, . — Respondent.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

~ STATE OF WASHINGTON -

_ OPINIONS IN COURTS BELOW’ .

The opinion of the Supreme Court of the State of

Washington has been officially reparted as Vol. 156,

Washington Decisions, No. 12, p. 440; Petition for

_ Rehearing Denied, Vol. 156, Wash. Dec. No. 18, p.

557. It is printed as Appendix A ‘to this petition. .

The decision of the Superior Court of the State of

Washington was embodied in an order overruling

the-demurrer which is contained in the transer ipt.on

file herein and no opinion was written in connection

therewith.

Pee at eterna

6

‘GROUNDS ON WHICH JURISDICTION

, OF THIS COURT IS INVOKED

‘The opinion and judgment of the Washington.

State ‘Supreme Court sought to be reviewed was

dated and filed J une 30, 1960. A petition for re-hear-

ing was denied August 19, 1960,

Section 1257 (2) of Title 28, United States Code,

Act of June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 929, is believed

to confer on this court jurisdiction to review the.

judgment in question by writ of certiorari.

, QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The Appellants present the following questions :

for review. ne Phas al

I. .

Is there today; any limitation upon the ends a_

state may seek to ‘accomplish by use. of its police-

power? *

. Il. ya

Is the term “general welfare,” as used in the tra-.

ditional classification of the police power, i:e., that

power exercised by the state for the protection of

the health, safety, morals and general welfare of its -.

people,-a generic term related to the objects preceding

it, or, does ‘it mean that the State can deprive an .

individual of his ‘property when the only claimed

benefit is the improvement of the state’s competitive

and commercial position and which admittedly bears -

‘ne relation other than that to the ‘general welfare

of the state?

7

. III. ~

Can a state permit the sale of a green apple and

forbid the <ile of a red one, admitting that there is

no‘other dif.erence between the two, conceding that

both are equally fit, edible and nutritious and alike

in every other respect, solely ‘on the basis. that its

apple. industry might possibly be aided by such

action? | .

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED _

The Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States of America, which provides in

part: |

“No State shall make or enforce ::ay law which

shall abridge the privileges and immunities of

citizens of the United States; nor shall any

_ State deprive any person of life, liberty or prop-

erty, without due process of law; nor deny to

‘any person within its jurisdiction the equal pro-

tection of the. laws..” | . .

is directly involved in this décision.

Article 1, Section-8, of the United States Consti-

tution, which provides, inter alia:

“The Congress shall have power to regulate

commerce with foreign nations and among the. .

several States and with the Indian tribes;”

is likewise involved. ; ~*

The interpretation of the aforementioned consti-

tutional provisions are brought to bear upon the

validity of Chapter 230 of the Laws of 1959, Laws

of the’State of: Washington, and R.C.W. 15,16.080,

as amended. : \

\, Pl

8

; STATEMENT OF THE CASE |

Petitioners, husband and wife, have been for mame

_ years and now are engaged in the business of grow-

ing red and partial red varieties of apples in the

Yakima Valley, State of Washington. The apples

grown by them in substantial quantities have been

packed, shipped and sold in interstate commerce.

They bring this action for and on behalf of many

others similarly situated and engaged.

The facts alleged in. Petitioners’ amended com- -

plaint and all reasonable inférences to be drawn.

therefrom were admitted by Respondent by the in-

_ terposing of his demurrer thereto and election to.-

Stand thereon. Those admitted allegations are briefly

summarized: , .

The State of Washington produces and ships more

apples, than any other state-in the United States.

According to the figures released by the State of

- Washington, Department of Agriculture, there were:

produced in the State in the year 1957 approximately .

33,000,000. bushels of apples of.a value of about

$73,060,000.00. In the year 1958 there were pro-

duced’ approximately 30,000,000 bushels of a value

of about $75,000,000.00, and a similar production in|

1959. Of the apples produced in‘ the State of Wash-

‘ington in the years 1957, 1958 and 1959, approxi-

mately 95 per cent were of the red and partial red

varieties, and 5 per cent of the: green and yellow

varieties. The production: of the green and vellow

varieties is on the increase. . | |

All varieties of apples produced in the State of

4

- 3

‘ y F

Washington prior to the enactment of Chapter 230,

Session Laws of 1959, the statute challenged by Pe- .

titioners, were marketed and shipped as “Washing-

ton Extra Fancy,” “Washington Fancy,” and “Wash-

ington “C-grade.” The grade of the apples is

aa le termined at time of packing and a substantial

“quantity of the apples shipped have been the “‘Wash-

ington C-Grade” red and partial red varieties. Dyr-

ing the 1957-58 crop year there were approximately--~"

4,250,000 boxes of C-Grade apples of the red and

partial red varieties .produced and shipped in the

course “of interstate commerce. That for the crop

year 1958-59, there were approximately 2,500,000

boxes of C-Grade apples of the red and partial red

varieties available for shipment. As of May 23, 1959,’

-ull of the 1958-59 C-Grade apples of the red and par- |

tial red varieties were shipped in interstate com-

merce except approximately 264,708 boxes which

remained on hand and were:shipped in due course of

business in the course of interstate commerce. The

price of the C-Grade red and partial red varieties of

apples during the crop years 1957-58 and 1958-59

was generally $2.00 per box or more.

Weather conditions are largely responsible for the

production of C-Grade apples, as the basic difference

between a C-Grade of the red ‘and partial red vari- ’

eties and an Exta Faney or Fancy is the color. The”

C-Grade has less color than the Extra Fancy and

Fancy and the Fancy has less color than the Extra

Fancy. The color difference is not a result of inferior

farming or growing practices. The red and partial |

10

red varieties of apples mature earlier in the season

generally on the lower elevations ‘and in the more

southerly parts of the state and therefore have less

opportunity to color. In these areas substantially

larger quantities of C-Grade apples of the red and -

partial red varieties are produced than in areas of

higher elevation and consequently later maturity.

A substantial quantity of red and partial red va-

rieties of apples produced by Petitioners were classi-

fied as C-Grade prior to the passage of Chapter 230, |

Session Laws of 1959, the specifications for which,

as heretofore established by the Director of Agricul-

ture, were among other things: |

“Apples of one variety which are mature, hand

picked, clean, not badly yy: pony sound and

free from serious damage by hai or punctures,”

C-Grade apples, including the red and partial red

varieties are wholesome and healthful and they store

_.and ship as well.as Extra Fancy and Fancy. They.

- are good to eat, eook and. use for human consumption.

The shipping and marketing of C-Grade apples of the

red and partial red varieties in the manner hereto-

fore allowed is in no way detrimental to public safe-

ty, health, morals or convenience and does not.con-

stitute a fraud upon the public.

We Stress agdin that these facts are admitted!

_ The Director of Agriculture pursuant to R.C.W. ,

15.16.010, has heretofore promulgated certain stand-

ards for apples which were in effect prior to the

enactinent of Chapter 230, Session Laws of 1959,

Which include the standards for C-Grade apples of

11

the red and partial red varieties. The standards pro-

mulgated and adopted by the Director were attached

as an exhibit to the amended complaint of Petitioners

and consequently admitted under the demurrer.

The Legislature of the State of Washington en-

acted Chapter 230, Session Laws of 1959, and it was

signed by the Governor on March 23, 1959. It reads

as follows: | ‘

“Section 1. Section 1, Chapter 222, Laws of

1939, and RCW 15.16.080 are each amended to

read as follows: 3 .8 EES

The director shall adopt and promulgate rules

and regulations establishing the following

grades of apples: For green and yellow varie-

ties: (1) Extra faney, (2) fancy, (3) C grade,

_(4) culls, and (5) infected culls. For red and

— red varieties: (1) Extra faney, (2)

ancy, (3) culls, and (4) infected culls.

- No person shall pe sell, or ship apples un-

less the same comply with the rules, regulations

and grades adopted pursuant to RCW 15.16.010.

See. 2. Phere is added to Chapter 15.16 RCW

a new section to read as follows:

The director when establishing standards of

color requivements for red varieties and partial

red varieties of apples’ shall establish color

standards for such varieties which are not less

than the following:

1. Arkansas ‘Black Fifteen percent

2. Spitzenburg (Esopus) Fifteen percent

>. Winesap Twenty percent

4. King David ert Fifteen pereent

5. Delicious * Twenty percent

6. Staymen Winesap Ten percent

7. Vanderpool * Ten percent

8.

Black Twig Ten percent

12

9. Jonathan - Ten percent:

10. MeIntosh | Ten percent

11. Rome . Ten-percent -

12. Red Sport varieties ' Twenty percent |

Whenever red sport varieties are marked as

such, they shall meet the color requirements of

red sport varieties. "i

5 Sec. 3. The effective date of this act shall be

August 1, 1959.”

The color: requirements set forth in Section 2 of

the act apply to the Fancy grade of the red and par-

tial red varieties. By eliminating C-Grade apples of

the red and partial red varieties and by. decreasing

. by 5 per cent the color requirements for the Fancy

Grade the enactment of Chapter 230 results in at

least 6624 per cent of: the former C-Grade apples of

the red and partial red varieties being classified as

Culls. That such cull classification allows retail ship-

ment and marketing of said apples only in marked

bushel baskets in conformity with R.C.W. 15.16.160

which reads as follows: :

15.1€.160 APPLES—CONTAINER MARKINGS

—CULLs. No ‘person shall buy, sell, offer for

sale, ship, or transport any apples to or for mar-

ket unless the same have been graded and com-

ply with all gradin requirements; and if the

“ope are culls, unless-every container, label.

bill of lading, invoice, memorandum and other

document describes and defines their grade, va-

riety and size; nor ship or transport culls out

of their area of production, oe i to processing

ylants, unless they are packed in one-bushel

askets, ring-faced and lidded, and the name

“culls” appears on the top and bottom of each

container and any labels thereon in clear, legi-

ble letters at least two and one-half inches high.

et ec? ct ‘et

tv

13

Apples in the ring- -face shall be represenative of

the contents, as to size and quality.

The elimination of C-Grade by the elassification

thereof as culls as required by Chapter 230, decreases

their market value in that they can only be sold to

processors as culls, ov in accordance with R.C.W.

15.16.160. The market price in either case is 75. per

cent less than it would be if the apples w ere sold as

C-Grade. . .

The Director of heehee of the State of Wash-

ington is, charged with the enforcement of Chapter

15.16 R.C.W., which includes Chapter 230, Session

Laws of 1959, eliminating C-Grade apples of the red

and partial red varieties and it is admitted that Pe-

titioners will be prosecuted criminally if they violate

‘Chapter 230 by the sale of the C-Grade apples con-

trary ta the provisions of said law. It is further ad-

mitted that the enforcement of said law will irrep-

arably damage Petitioners by depriving them of val-

uable property and property rights contrary to the

- provisions of the state and federal constitutions *

9 to. 16).

Based on the facts above set forth, Petitioners

alleged two causes of action. The first cause was for

a declaratory judgment, declaring .the statute un-

constitutional and, the second cause of action was

for a restraining order pendente lite and for a per:

manent injunction permanently enjoining the Re--

spondent from enforcing said chapter.

Respondent demurred to Petitioners’ amended

complaint (Tr. 17-18) and after hearing and argu-

\

as toe

ment, Respendent’s demurrer was overruled (Tr.

20). Respondent elected to stan ‘on his. demurrer

and not plead further with the result that judgment '

was entered declaring Chapter 230 unconstitutional:

and permanently en joining Respondent from enfore-

ing said law (Tr.-21 ). From this decision, Respond-

ent appealed and the Supreme Court of the State of

Washington reversed the decision of the trial court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the Washington State Supreme

Court should be ‘reviewed because it presents to this —

final appellate body the opportunity to decide wheth-

er.or not there is today any actual limitation upon

what a state may do in the regulation of human en-

deavor in the name of its police powers. :

‘That the precise question cries for answer, must

be recognized by every constitutjonal student. It is

submitted that the issue could not. be presented with

more dramatic simplicity than it is in the case at bar. _

A farmer in south central Washington grows ap- —

ples for a living. Because the nights there are more

moderate than in the country of his counterpart to

the north, the apples that he grows do not get quite —

as red, This is the only differenee. The apples are

equaliy delicious and nutritious; they cook, ship and

store equally well and there is absolutely: nothing in

the color differential ‘which is detrimental to the

public safety, health or morals or which does in any-

Wise constitute a fraud upon the public.

The State of Washington, admitting all this, none-

theless has decided that the competitive position of

its apple crop im foreign markets would be improved — ~

if only the red apples.are marketed. In its wisdom it

declares a color line and provides that the sale of all

apples falling below it shall be, as a practical matter,

prohibited. The result, of course, for the farmer and

all thos¢ similarly engaged is a disastrous depriva-

tion of his livelihood. _ .

_ Where then is the limit on the police power of a

state? Recognizing the difficulty, or for that matter,

the undesirability: of exactly defining the scope of

the police power, conceding that in the exercise of

_ its police power the state has wide discretion fn de-

termining its own public poli¢y and what _measure®

are necessary for its own protection and properly to

- promote the safety, -peace and good order of its

people, East New York Savings Bank v. Haan, New

York, 66'S. Ct. 69, 326 U. S. 230,90 L. Ed. 34. agree-

_ ing that the police.power is one of the least limitable

‘of the powers of governme nt, Quecenside Hills Realty

Company uv. Saxl, New York, 66 S. Ct. 850, 328 U.S.

80, 90 L.- Ed. 1096, that the phr: ase is not to be lim-

ited by narrow connotations; Indianapolis Brewing

Company v. Liquor Control Commission at Mich igan,

D. C. Mich., 21 Fed. Sup. 1969, affirmed 59 S. Ct.

4o4, 305 U.S. 391, 83 L. Ed. 243—nonetheless, if

a state can substitute its judgment of What is good

for business, for the judgment of the people in that

business, deprive a man of his property in doing so .

and justify this deprivation by simply labeling its

acliVity as an exercise sa power, then it must

a.

.

16

be agreed that there is no point at which the all con-

suming power of the state must yield to the rights

of the individual.

Nor can this-awesome conclusion be avoided with -

‘the generality that the means efnployed by the State

in the exercise of its power must be reasonable. Once

_ the premise is accepted that the State of Washington

can legitimately regulate for a strictly mercantile

purpose, then it* must follow that the means in the

case at bar, the. prohibition of the sale of partially |

red apples, is, at least, remotely related. with some

reasonableness to achieving that- purpose. | 8

Likewise, if the premise is accepted that this is

a legitimate end of a State’s legislative activity, then

it must’ follow that the state in its wisdom @auld

decide that the. Washington pear crop would be ad-

Vantageously assisted in’ the market by the prohibi-

tion of the sale of all apples. Again, one would have

to concede that sueh a means was reasonably related

to achieving the end. | :

Thus, the issue is narrowed, for, if the state is

completely unrestricted as to the areas in which it

may legislate in the name of the police power, its

choice of means to achieve that purpose can always

be. justified as bearing some relationship to accom-

plishing the object of the legislation. Certainly, the

classification requirement, which we so often concern

ourselves under the equal protection provision of

the Fourtéenth Amendment, will cease to be an im-

portant barrier for individual rights and liberties.

Keep in mind that in the legislation involved. in

Ww

the court below, that there is no pretense; no claim

that the object ofthe legislation is to protect public

health such as concerned the court in the case of

' Nebbia v. People of the State of New York, 291 U.S.

502, 78 L. Ed. 940, 54S. Ct. 505.

The demurrer admits that.the legislation was. in

nowise aimed at improving standards. to prevent

fraud or protect the public from unfit or deleterious

fruit as was the case in Sligh v.. Kirkwood, 237 U. S.

52, 59 L. Ed. 835, 35 S. Ct. 501. (A fact which the .

- court below blithely ignored. )

Nor is the objective of the act related to the preven-

tion of diseast in the apple industry as was reviewed

in Miller v. Schoene (1926), 146 Va. 175, 135 S. E.

813, aff'd. 276 U. S, 272, 72 L. Ed. 568, 48S, Ct. 246.

Here, without any subterfuge, the State of Wash-

ington is asserting its right to deprive an individual

of his business and property on the basis that it can

legislate, within the scope of its police, power, in the

economic area, without relation to. social 6r economic

evils aside from the competitive status of the apple

industry itself, .

One is tempted to submit. that a sufficient reason

for granting this writ is the marked conflict of the

decision of the W ashington State Supreme Court

with the decision of this court as found in two recent

cases dealing with the impact of similar legislation

under the commerce clause. Baldwi mud, A. F. Seclig,

Inc., 294 U.S: 511, 79.L. Ed. 1032, 55 S. Ct. 497;

Hood v..DuMond, 36 U. 8.525, 98 L. Ed. 865. There

‘ is no difference essentially in the object of the legis-

‘»

3 18°

lation in the casé at bar and the legislation involved

in those cases. Nor, is there any difference, esgential-

ly, in the effect. of the legislation upon interstate

commerce. By Chapter 230, Laws of 1959, the State

of Washington seeks to improve the competitive posi-

tion of its apple industry in foreign markets. In

plain language, it designs to obtain 4 higher price for

Washington apples by submitting only those of the

reddest and most attractive color for sale. By pro-

hibiting the sale-of partially red apples or by preju-

dicing their sale in. interstate commerce by requiring

them to be branded as “culls,” the state may con-

ceivably gain an economic advantage. But look at the

effect of its conduct on the purchaser in foreign mar-

ket. He is practically deprived of an opportunity to

buy a product equally ‘good at a lower price. Doesn't

this fly in the face of the language of Justice Cardozo’

to ghe effect that “neither the power to tax nor the

police power may be used... With the aim and effect

of establishing an economic barrier against competi-

tion with the products of another state or the labor of

its residents.” Baldwin v. G.A.F. Seclig, Inc., supra.

The practical effect of the legislation under seru-

tiny is to withhold the sale of apples ffom export. It

is Unquestioned that the State of Wash’ Mgton has no

right to directly curtail the movement of apples into

or out of its state. In no case has our Supreme Court

sustained the right of a state to do this unless the

lieasure is supported by health or safety considera-

lions, and in the case of Hood v. DuMond, supra, ou

cous expressly held that when the sole argument

19

advanced to justify the legislation is that it furnishes

protection of local economic interests, such attempted

regulation is prohibited by the commerce clause. To

quote directly from the opinion of Mr. Justice Jack- .

son:

“It recognized, as do we, broad power in the

State to protect its inhabitants against perils to

health or safety, fraudulent traders and high-

way hazards, even by use of measures which

bear adyersely upon interstate commerce. But

it laid repeated emphasis upon the principle:

that the state may not promote its own economic

- advantages by curtailment or burdening of in-

terstate commerce.”

In the same opinion can be found a rationale stir-

ringly appropriate to the position of Petitioners.

‘Our system, fostered by the commerce clause,

is that every farmer and every craftsman shall

be encouraged to produce by the certainty that

he will have free access to every market in the

nation, that no home embargoes will withhold

his export, and no foreign state will by customs,

duties: or regulations exclude them. Likewise,

évery consumer may look te the free competi-

tion from every producing area in the nation to

protect him from exploitation by any. Such was

the vision of the founders; such has been the

doctrine which has given it reality.” _

While we consider the foregoing a complete reason

not only for granting this petition but for the event-

ual reversal of the decision of the Supreme Court of —

* the State of Washington, we would point out still

an additional attraction for the court to consider this _

petition favorably. |

There is today, a conviction held by many students

20

of constitutional law, that there is actually no limit

to what a sovereign may do in the name of its police

powers. The concept is real. The conclusion is dis-

turBing. That it exists can be established by ‘simple

reference to the opinion ot the court below.

4 )

“At page 9, the writer of the opinion asserts this:

remarkable circle: °

“If the legislature can regulate the marketing

of these products at all (and, as we have said. it

can do so where it finds that it is in the public,

interest to protect the reputation and welfare

of the industry), it can refine those regulations

or change them to further the legitimate pur-

poses of the law”! ,

In fairness to Judge Rosellini, it must be conceded

that his position finds some foundation in the devel-

onnient of the law related to this issue through. the

- years of extreme social and economic transition oc-

curring between the early case of Tyson & Brother-

United Theatre Ticket Officers, Inc. v. Joab H. Ban-

ton, 273 U. S. 418, 71 L. Ed. 718, 47 S. Ct. 426, and

Ribnik v. McBride, 277 U. §. 380, 72 L. Ed. 9138, 48 *

S. Ct. 543, until the full circle from the doctrines . |

expressed therein was accomplished in Olson v. Ne-

braska (1941), 13 U.S, 236, 85 L. Ed. 1305.

In the Tyson case, supra, J udge Sutherland in de--

tailing his test of a “business vested with a public

interest,” said as follows: |

“The power to regulate property, services or

business can be invoked only under special cir- |

cumstances and it does not follow that because

the power may exist to regulate in some partic-

* ulars it exists to regulate in/ others or in all.”

¥)

21

After reviewing the development’ of the police

power, he continued: |

“The authority to regulate the conduct of a

business or to require a license comes from a

branch of the police power and which may be

quite distinct from the power to fix prices. The

latter, ordinarily. does not ‘exist in’ respect to

merely private property or business but exists

only where the business or property involved has

become ‘affected with a public interest’. This

phrase, first used by Lord Hale two hundred

years. ago, it is true, furnishes at best an indef-

inite standard and attempts to define it have

resulted, generally in producing little m6re than

paraphrases which themselves require elucida- -

tion. Certain properties and kinds of business

it obviously includes, like common carriers, tele-

graph‘and telephone companies, ferries, wharf-

age, ete. Beyond these its application not onlv

has not been uniform, but many of the decisions

disclosed to members of. the same court in radi-

cal disagreement. Its full meaning, like that of :

many other generalizations cannot be approxi-

mately defined ;—it. can only be approximated.

merely because it is large or. begduse the public

are warranted in having a féel*ng of concern in

respect to its: maintenance. Nor is the interest

meant such as arises from the mere fact the

public derives benefit, accommodation, ease or

enjoyment from the existence or operation of

the business; and while the word has not.always

been limited narrowly as strictly denoting ‘a

right’, that synonym more nearly than any other

expresses the sense in which it is to be under-.

stood.” |

A business is not affected with pis interest

No sooner was this doctrine announced than the.

drift away from it began. .

me

In 1930 the power of the Seer etary of Agr ‘icultur

under-the Packers and Stockyards Act to determin

the just and reasonable charges of persons engage¢

in the business of buying and selling interstate com.

merce livestock at a stockyard ona commission basis

was upheld. Tagg Bros. & Moorehead v. Unitec

States, 280 U. S. 420, 74 L. Ed. 425, 50 S. Ct. 220

In 1931 a New Jersey statute limiting commis-

sions of agents of fire insurance companies was,sus-

tained by-O’Gorman & Young v. Hartford F. Insur-

ance Company, 282 U.S. 251, 75 L: °Ed. 324, 51S.

Ct. 130.

We have already alluded to the ¢ case of Nebbia v.

New York, supra, where the fixing of milk pr ices to

hold competitive levels to a point which would permit

sanitary handling was upheld. Minimum wages for

women and minors were sustained in West Coast Ho-

tel Co. v. Parrish, 300 U. S. 379, 81 L. Ed. 703, 57

‘S. Ct. 578. Minimum prices and minimum wage and

maximum hour proyisions were sustained in U. 8.

'. Rock Royal Cooperative, 307 U.S. 533, 83 L. Ed.

ek 09 S.Ct. 993, decided in 1929. and j in Sunshine

Anthracite Coal Co. v. Adkins, 310 U.S S. 381, 84 L.

Ed. 1263, 60 S. Ct. 907, decided a year earlier.

All of these were obviously cases which upheld the

States’ intervention into the economic area. However,

all of these ave equally obvious examples of where

the end or object of the legislation bore a striking

relation to a goal, social or economit, which was de-

sirable apart from the mere merchantile interest of

an industry.

23

. The same obvious difference was presented factu--

ally ‘in Olson v. Nebraska, supra. It takes no great

imagination to appreciate that the general welfare

of the people of the State of Nebraska was within

the purview of a statute which sought to limit the

charges of a private employment agency. However,

the language used in the latter decision and the doc-

trine expressed in the following quotation from that

opinion gives rise to the fears that exTstin the minds

of many, ‘that there is no. longer a limit to what ob-

ject or goal the state may.seek to achieve under the

guise of its, police power. . Bey:

In stating that the court could no longer give con-

tinuing vitality to a rule which permitted regulation

under the police power of the state only as to those

businesses “vitally affected with the public interest,”

it was said: | | ,

“We are not concerned, however, with the wis-

. dom, need’or appropriateness of the legislation.

Differences. of opinion on that score suggest a

choice which ‘should be left where’. .. it was ~

left by the constitution, to the States and to

Congress’.”’

Note the striking similarity of that language to

the excerpt from the opinion of the Washington Su-

preme Court set forth above! Here, then, is a source

of real and vivid concern. me

Is this the law? Will the court stand on the state-

ment that it will never inquire behind a legislative

declaration that its activity is a valid exercise of

the police power? Has the court abdicated the posi-

tion stated so forcibly in the ease of Mugler v. Kan-

°

24

sas, 123 UW. S. 661, 8 S. Ct. 273, 31 L. Ed. 205. wi

it said: |

_ “The courts are not bound by mere forms, 1

are they to. be misled by mere pretense. T}

are at liberty—indeed, are under a solemn dt

—to look at the substance of things whene

- they enter upon the inquiry whether the leg

lature has transcended the limits of its auth

ity. If, therefore, a statute purporting to ha

been.enacted to protect the publie health. t

public. morals, or the public safety has no re

or substantial relation to those objects, or is

palpable invasion of rights secured by the fu

damental Jaw. it is the duty of the court to

adjudge, and thereby give éffect to the const

tution.”

Chapter 230, Laws of 1959 of the State of Washin:

ton, makes no claim to have been enacted to prote

the public health, morals or safety. It'asserts no pr

tection against fraud. nor does it recite evils flowin

from. unbridled competition or low prices. It is just

fied only in terms that the possibility of its promo

ing-Washington’s apple industry was not preclude

by the pleadings. U pon serutiny: its only conceivab!

object can be the monetary improvement of a loes

industry, achieved by abolishing a part thereof with

“out any other justif cation for doing so. If Washing

ton State can legislate in this. field on no other basi

than the one suggested, then it can legislate in an:

field, and, if the court refuses to look beyond a legis

lative declaration that in ‘doing so ‘it exercises it

police power,-if the court considers itself bound bi

such a declaration, then where is the guarantee to ar

individual's seeurity in his property? What has hap

ae)

ev

When :

Ss, nor °

They /

| duty.

never

legis-

ithor-

have

1, the

> real .

risa

‘fun-. .

to so

ynsti- ;

hing-

otect

pro-

wing

usti-

mot-

uded

‘able

local

yith-

ing-

ASIS

any

vis-

its

| by

yan

aap

25

pened to the individual’s right to pursue the endeavor

‘of his choice so long as it does not unreasonably i im-

pose upon his neighbor? If the professed object of a

legislature cannot be challenged by this court, ®

_ whom will the individual turn?

It is interesting, perhaps ironic, that in the deli-

cate difference of the shade of two apples there should

be suspended the age-old question of where the power

* of the state must yield to-the rights of the individual.

In this, pastel background, there is set an issue

just as real, a right just as basic and vital as those

shaded in black and white w ‘ith which this Court has

been so much concerned of late! We earnestly submit

~ it is one which deserves and demands this court’s

attention.

. CUTLER W. HALVERSON

303 East “D™ St., Yakima. Wash.

Poe ai a ALAN A. McDONALD

A "303 East “D” St., Yakima, Wash. °

Attorneys for Petitioners

- Cecil C. Clark and Catherine Clark

"

IN THI

SEPREME COURT.

THE:

UNITED STATES oF

1. lie

v

(

ee |

;

.

, ‘

\ = ean tal ae bey {

. \ ‘

hold he. 4 bag Ok .

of \ '

roEE / { «) H

sl ee HIN

4

r | hag

'

.

+

%

IN. THE

SUPREME COURT

(OF THE: -

UNITED STATES

October Term, 1960

No.

4 *, ae

Ceci. C. CLARK and CATHERINE CLARK.

husband and wife, - Appellants,

Vs.

Jor Dwyer, Director of Agriculture

of the State of Washington, .__ Respondent.

APPENDIXE§S ACCOMPANYING PETITION

~ FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF -THE STATE OF -WASHINGTON

CUTLER W. HALVERSON

0s bast “DO Se.. Yakima. Wash. -

*

ALAN A. MCDONALD

Mes bast “DP St. Yakima. Wad.

{florneys fer Petitioners

Crenl CC dark and ¢ athertom Clack

=

ru

SR bse Ce

i SS ants ss.

» . . INDEX

APPENDIX “ A”

_ Page

EN BANC Onin nion of the ee ‘eme Court of the

State of Washington

Vol. 156, Washington Decisions No. 12, P. 440; Petition

for the re-hearing denied August 19, 1960, Vol. 156,

Washington Decisions No. 18, P. 557 (Ceci! C. Clark

and Catherine Clark vs. Joe Dwyer, as -Diréctor of

the Department of Agriculture of ‘the State of Wash-

ington) °

APPENDIX “B”

TR ANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS IN STATE COURT

Amended Complaint in the Superior Court

of the State of Washington

Demuryer in the Superior Court |

of the State of Washington

Or der Overruling Demurrer in the Superior Court

. of the State of Washington

Judgment in the Superior Court

of the State of Washington

Notice of Appeal in the Superior Court

of the State of Washington.

Judgment in the Supreme Court

of the State of Washington .. a,

Judgment on Remittitur in the Superior ‘Court

of the State of Washington .

s)

25

40 —

°. APPENDIX “A” -;

Vol. 156, Washington Decisions No. 12, P. 440.,

Petition for Re-Hearing Denied August 19, 1960

Vol. 156, Washington Decisions No. 18, P. 557

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE |

STATE OF WASHINGTON

.-

Crci C. CLARK and CATHERINE -)

CLARK, husband end wife. , 8

. Respondents, | No. 35280

! ¥, | EN BANC

Jor Dwyer, as Director of the ‘-/- Filed

Department of Agyiculture of June 30, 1960

the State of Washington, : —*

; Appellant. |

?

/

4

#

|

4

3

:

5

The plaintiffs in this action, on behalf of them-

selves and all others similarly situated, challenge the

constitutionality of chapter 230, Laws of .1959;

which amends chapter 222, Laws of 1939 (RCW

15.16,080). A demurrer to the complaint was over-

ruled, and, the defendant refusing to plead further,

judgment was entered enjoining the defendant, Di-.

rector of the Department of Agriculture of the State

of Washington, from enforcing the provisions of

this agreement.

Laws of 1939, chapter 222 § 1, p. 931, provides:

“It shall be unlawful for any person, firm;

corporation, trust, association, co-operative or

othtr business unit or device to pack, ship or sell

apples unless such apples are séld, packed and

graded in compliance with the general rules and

regulations made. adopted and’ promulgated

from time “to-time by the iceaee. of Agricul-

ture pursuant to section 4 of chapter 27 of the

laws of 1931 . . . Within sixty (60) days aft-

er the taking effect of this act general rules and

regulations shall be adopted and promulgated

Sennen aed

\

ie Fee ae

defining and establishing: the following grades:

“(a) Extra fancy -- i

“(b) Fancy |:

“(c). C grade

“(d) Culls

“(e) Infested culls.” ° 7

Section -4, chapter 27; p. 86, Laws of 1931. pro-

vided for the promulgation of grading rules only

after official public hearings pursuant to such rea- |

‘sonable rules prescribed ‘by the director as should

insure a full, fair and impartial opportunity for all

interested districts to be heard; and further provided

that the grading rules should be based upon the ne:

cessities and properties as shown in the hearing, -

taking into consideration the commercial tonnage of

said products in each district affected by said rules.

This provision is now eontained in RCW 15.16.010.

Chapter 230, p. 1070, Laws of 1959, reads as fol-

lows: | ere

“The director shall adopt and promulgate

rules and regulations establishing the following

grades of apples: For. green and yellow vari-

_eties: (1) Extra fancy, (2). faney,.(3) C grade,

(4) culls, and (5) infected culls. For red and

artial red varieties: (1) Extra faney, (2)

ancy, (3) culls, and (4) infected culls.

“No person shall pack, sell, or ship apples un-

less the same comply with the rules, regulations

and grades adopted pursuant to RCW 15.16.-

Or@& = :.. : ,

“Sec. 2. There is added to.chapter 15.16 RCW

a new section to read as follows:

“The director when establishing standards of

vo Soo 2a TT

i

color requirements for red varieties and partial —

red varieties of apples shall establish: color

standards for such varieties which are not less

than the following: — | 7

“1. Arkansas Black Fifteen percent

“2. Spitzenburg (Esopus) Fifteen percent

“3. Winesap _ Twenty percent

“4. King David. Fifteen percent

“5. Delicious | - Twenty percent

“6. Staymen Winesap Ten percent.

“7, Vanderpool ‘Ten percent

“8. Black Twig | Ten percent

“9. Jonathan | Ten percent

“10. MeIntosh Ten percent

“11. Rome Ten percent

“12. Red Sport varieties _ | Twenty percent

“Whenever red sport varieties are marked as

such, they shall meet the. color requirements of

red sport varieties.”

By § 1 of this act the legislature eliminated ‘the

' third, or C grade, as to red and partial red varieties

of apples, while retaining it as it applies to green and

Yellow varieties of apples. Section 2, according to the

allegations of the complaint in this action, sets minj-

mum color requirements to which the Director of

Agriculture may lower existing color requirements

of the second, or “fancy,” grade of red and partial

red.varieties of apples. Such minimym color require-

ments, if adopted, would lower the boc color re-

quirements for “fancy” grade of red and partial red

Varieties by five per cent. eas

According to the allegations of the complaint, the °

apples which have heretofore been graded as “C

grade” are as edible and healthfut as those which

have been graded “fancy” or “extra fancy..”

: 8

Under the new ®rading system, two-thirds of the

apples formerly designated as C grade will now be

classified as culls, while one-third will fall into the

“faney” category. Those which are graded “culls”

ean, under the provisions of RCW 15.16.160> be sold

or shipped only in one-bushel baskets, ring-faced and

‘lidded, with the name “culls” appearing on the tep

and bottom of each container and any labels thereon

in clear, legible letters’ at least two and one-half

inches high, | | '

It was alleged that the state of Washington pio-

duces and ships more apples than any other state in

the United States; that according to the figures re-

leased by the State Department of Agriculture. there

were produced in the state in the year 1957, approx-

imately 33,000,000 bushels of apples of a value .of

about $73,000,000. In the year 1958, there were’

produeed approximately 30,000,000 bushels of a

value of about $75,000,000, anda similar production

is expected in 1959. Of the apples produced in the

state in these years, approximately ninety-five per

cent were of the red and gartial red varieties, and

tive per cent were of the green and yellow varieties.

During the 1957-58 crop year there were approxi-

mately 4,250,000. boxes of C grade apples of the red

and partial red varieties shipped in interstate com-

meree, and for the crop. year 1958-59, there were

approximately 2,500,000 boxes of C grade apples of

the red and partial red varieties available for ship-

ment. Prior to the effective date of the 1959 amend-

ment. all but.264,708 boxes of these had been shipped

&

gq

in interstate commerce. The price of C grade red

and partial red varieties during the’crop years of

1957-58 and 1988-59, was generally, $2 a box or

more, | '

Weather Conditions and low elevations are largely

responsible for the production of apples of C grade

of red and partial ved varieties; this giade is not.

. primarily a result of inferior farming nor growing

prnetices. C g ‘ade apples have less color than have

extra faney and fancy grade apples. (The regula-

tions attached to the complaint reveal that the.1e-

quirements as to shape and freedoni from damage

are less strict in the case of C grade apples.) Gen-

erally, apples mature earlier in the season at lower

elevations and in the more southerly parts of .the

state and have less opportunity to color; and in these

areas substantially larger quantities of C grade

apples of red and partial! red varieties are produced

than in other areas. . x

It‘is alleged that the manner heretofore allowed

for shipping and marketing C grade apples of red

and partial red varieties, is in no way detrimental

to the public safety, health, moralss or convenience,

nor does it constitute a fraud upon the public. It is

further alleged that the classifying. of C grade ap-

pies as culls would impair their value by prohibiting

_ their shipment in standard hoxes and requiring their

shipment in bushel baskets.

The validity of the amendment was challenged on

several grounds, which were consolidated for the

10

purposes of argument in this court and set forth as

follows:

“I. That said law violates the equal protection

and due process clauses of the State and Federal

Constitutions, being Article I., Section 3 and.

Section 12 of the state Constitution, and the

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of

the United States.

“II. That said law is an improper, unwarrant-

ed and prejudiciai extension of the police pow-

ers reserved to the State of Washington.

“III. That said law is an unlawful delegation

of the legislative authority.

. “IV. That said law violates Article I, Section

8 of the Constitution of fhe United States which

is the commerce clause.” |

The question before the court is: Assuming the

allegations of fact contained in the complaint to be

true, do they Show the 1959 amendment io be an .

invalid exercise of the police power? _ - -

It must be borne in mind that the state constitr--

tion is not a grant. but a restriction on the law-

making power, and the power of the legislatuge to

_ enact ali reasonable laws is unrestrained excépt

where, either expressly or by fair inference, it is

prohibited by the state and federal constitutions.

Where the validity of a statute is assailed, there is

a presumption of the constitutionality of the legis-

_ lative enactment, unless its repugnancy to the con-

stitution clearly appears or is made to appear be-

yond a reasonable doubt. Port of Tacoma v. Parosa,

52 Wn. (2d) 181, 324 P. (2d) 438; In re Bartz, 17

Wn (2d) 161, 287 P. (2d) 119; Union High School

.

_—_

11 .

Dist. Now 1 v. Taxpayers of Un ion High School Dist.

No. 1,26 Wn. (2d) 1, 172 P. (2d) 591. Where pos-

sible, it will be presumed that the: legislature has

atirmatively determined any special facts requisite

to the validity of the enactment, even though no legis-

lative finding of faet appears in. me statute. State

cv red.Collicr v. Yelle. 9 Wn. (2d) 317, 333, 115 P.

(2d) 373.

As this court said in’ Gritn c. State Tas Comm., .

35 Wn. (2d) 1, 211 P. (2d) 651. at page 7.

“It must be remembered that the legislature

is the chosen representative of the ‘people. It

speaks for them. Under our constitution, the

legislature passes laws and repeals laws as the

-sole representativé of the people. xh

While the plaintiffs do not question the validity

of chapter 222, Laws of 1939, providing for the

promujgation of rules establishing grades of apples,

they fom that the 1959 amendment, eliminating

one of these grades in the case of red and partial

red varieties, is not a proper exercise’ of the police

_ power because it was not enacted to protect the pub-

lie health or prevent fraud. But, the police power is

not as limited as the plaintiffs contend. It has become

firmly established that the police power of the state

extends not only to-the preservation of the public

health, safety, and morals, but also to the preserva-

tion and promotion of the public weifare. State v.

Scars, 4 Wn. (2d) 200, 103 P. (2d) 337. As was said

in Shea v. Olson, 185 Wasit. 143, 53 P. (2d) 615, 111

A. L. R. 998:. |

“However difficult it may be to give a precise

12

or satisfactory definition of ‘police power,”

there is no doubt that the state, in the exercise

of such power, may prescribe laws tending to’

promote the health, peace, morals, education,

good order and welfare of the people. Police

power is an attribute of sovereignty, an essen-

tial element of the power to govern, and a func-

tion that cannot be surrendered. It exists with-

out express declaration, and the only limitation

upon it is that it must reasonably tend to cor-

rect some evil or promote some interest of the

state, and not violate any direct or positive man-

date of the constitution.” (Italies ours. )

In Sligh v. Kirkwood, 237 U.S. 52, 59 L. Ed. 835, .

39S. Ct. 501, the Supreme Court of the United States

was asked to declare unconstitutional a law, enacted

by the legislature of the state of Florida, forbidding

the shipment of citrus fruits which were immature

or otherwise unfit for consumption. It was the con-

tention of the petitioner that the act constituted an

undue burden on interstate commerce, and could not

be. justified as a proner exercise of the police power

because it was not calculated to protect the health of

the people of Florida. The supreme court held that

th&act was within the police power of the state, to .

protect the repuiation of one of its great industries,

saying:

is + + oe ‘wore power, in its broadest sense,

includes all legislation and almost every func-

tion of civil governnient. Barbicr t. Connolly,

113 U.S. 27. It is not subject to definite lignita-

tions, but is coextensive with the necessities of

the caSe and the safeguards of public interest.

Camfield v. United States, 167 U.S. 518, 524.

It #Ambraces regulations designed to promote \_

public convenience or the general prosperity or

wee ee

REL oH Te.

13

welfare, as Well as those specifically intended to

promote the public safety or the public health.

Chicago & C. Railwa} v. Drainage Commission-

ers, 200 U.S. 561,592.

ee

Y

‘. 2. The protection of the State’s reputation

in foreign markets, with the conseqtent beneti-

cial effect upon a great home industry, may have

heen within the legislative intent, and it cer-

tainly could not be said that this legislation has

no reasonable relation to the accomplishment of

that purpose.”

We are told by amicus curiae and by the respond: ,

ents in this case that the 1931 law was amended as

a result of a study of the difficulties.with which the

apple industry has been faced in recent years ‘in

‘marketing its products in the east. While this fact

does not appear.in the pleadings before the court, it

is not alleged in the complaint that the act was

passed for no legitimate purpose, and, as we have

said, the presumption is that a state.of facts existed

on which the legislation could properly be based. The

mere fact that the act was not necessary to promote -

the public health, therefore, is not sufficient to render

itinvalid, | :

The plaintiffs argue that the act denies them the.

right to market. their “C grade” apples, but we do °

not so understand it. It merely changes a system of

grading which had previously been established by

the legislature. As a vesult of this change, some ap-

ples which were previously graded for wiarketing in

boxes must now be packed in baskets, and on the

other hand, some’ apples which previously were °C

14

grade” may now be markéd “fancy.” The wisdom of

this change is a matter{ within the-province of the

legislature, not of this court, and its purpose, which

. We assume to be for the protection of the reputation

of Washington apples and the betterment of the in-

dustry, and as a result the general welfare, is one

which could properly be served in the exercise of the

police power. Regulations of this type have been held -

valid in numerous cuses, among them Sligh v. Kirk-

wood, supra, Detweiler v. Welch, 46 F. (2d) 75, 73

A. L. R. 1440, Nebbia'v. New York, 291 U.S. 502

78 L. Ed. 940, 54S. Ct. 505, 89 A. L. R. 1469, Mar-

shall ‘v. Department of Agric ulture, 44 Idaho 440,

258 Pac. 171, In re Fujii, 189 Cal. 55, 207 Pace. 537,

and Avon Western Corp. v. Woolley, 42 N.S. 8. (2d)

690, 266 App. Div. 529. In cases holding acts of this

type invalid, there has generally been a finding that

the particular law was unreasonable or the court has

adopted a narrow concept of the police power

In Inman v. Sandvig, 170 Wash. 112, 15 P, (2a)

696, relied upon by the plaintiffs, this court held that

a rule adopted by. the Director of Agriculture pro-

viding that third grade apples should not be wrapped

nor packed nor lidded in a standard apple box, was

unreasonably discriminatory and violated the due’

process clause and the constitutional prohibition

against the gr anting of special privileges and immu-

nities. The decision resulted from a tinding that the

_ ruling was not based upon considerations of public

health. In se far ‘as the opinion reveals, it was not

argued that the provision was de signed to further the *

‘ 15

economic well being of the industry. The case was”

before the court after a trial on the merits, and the

only argument advanced in justification of the ruling

was that it would prevent deception—a contention

‘which the* court found had no basis in fact. The

principles governing the judicial approach to laws

passed in the exercise of the police power, were not.

discussed; and the question presented in this case

was not decided. The decision of that case, therefore,

does not determine the decision in this.

It is admitted that the effect of the amendment

is to inrpose ubpn the plaintiffs and other growers,

of what wer : formerly C grade apples, packing

requirements which will adversely affect the market

value of their produée. However, this in itself does

not constitute a deprivation of property without due

process of law. This court has Stated the applicable . °

principle in the leading case of State cv rel. Davis-

Smith Co. ve Clausen, 65, Wash. 156, 117 Pae. 110%

(upholding the constitutionality of the workmen’s

compensation act of 1911) in these werds, p. 19:

“Tf. . . the act in controversy has a reason-— ,

able relatien to the proteetion of the public

health, morals, safety or welfare, it is not to be

set aside because it. may incidentally deprive

some person of his property without’ fault or

take the property of one person to pay the obi.

gations of another. To be fatally defective in

these respects, the regulations must be se utterly

unreasonable and so extravagant in nature and

purpose as to capriciously interfere woth and

destroy private rights.”

The plaintiffs de not question the power of the «@

?

16

legislature to establish grades of edible apples and

‘to base the gradations primarily on color, They

do not challenge the constitutionality of the 1939 act

establishing such grades. They question only the

right of the legislature to change such grades, once

they hav e been established, if such a change operates

to reduce the mar ket value of their. produce. If the

legislature can regulate the mar keting of.these prod-

ucts at all (and, as we have said, it ean do so w here

it finds that it is in the public interest to protect the

reputation and welfare of the industry), it can re-

tine those regulations or change thein to further the

legitimate purposes of the law. If such changes in-

cidentally affect adversely the market value of sonic

of the produce in question, that is no more an objec-

tion now than it was when the regulatory law was.

initially enacted if in the judgment of the lecislature,

the best interests of the industry as a whole will be

served. Nowhere in the complaint do we find gn al-

legation that the 1959 amendment was not enacted

for any legitimate purpose within the confines of the

police power or that it was not reasonably calculated

to effect that purpose.

But it is urged that the law is arbitrary and dis-

‘criminatory because it has @liminated the C grade in

the case of red and partial red var ieties, but has riot

done so in the « case of the vellow anid green varieties.

Article I, § YR T the state constitution: and the

fourtee ‘nth tune nmdment to the Kederal constitution,

pronibitine special, privileges And immunities and

eiadivaniceing equal protection of the. law, requ’

aa

7. |

that class legislation must apply alike to all per-

sons within a class, and reasonable ground must

exist for making a distinction between those within,

and those without, a designated class. Within the °

limits of these-restrictive rules, the legislature has a

wige measure of discretion, and its determination,

when expressed in statutory enactment, cannot be

successfully attacked. unless it is manifestly arbi-

traty, unreasonable, inequitable, and unjust. Fac

' Grandview, 48 Wn. (2d) 342, 294 P. (2d) 402;

Bauer v. State, 7 Wn. (2d) 476, 110-P. (2d) 154;

State cv rel. Baéich v. Husey 187 Wash. 75, 59 P.

(2d) 1101; Northern Ceddi. Co. ve. French, 131

Wash. 394, 230 Pac. 887. It is universally held that

courts will not look too nicely into legislative acts to

determine whether a reasonable distinction exisis.

Fave v. Grandview, supra; Bauer, v. State, supra;

Northern Cedar Co. v. French, supra; Garretson Co.

v. Robinson, 178 Wash. 601,-85 P. (2d) 504.

The. legislature has: chosen to make a distinction

between these products on the. basis of color. The

plaintiffs do not deny the propriety of such dis-.

tinctions in the. grading of apples. Unquestionably,

the law applies alike te: all members ‘of. the same

‘ass. The growers of red and partial red varieties

are in.one class and the growers of yellow and green

varieties are in the, other, The latter varieties com-

prise only five per cent of the total apples grown and

marketed in this state.-It may well be that the legis-

lature found that the marketing of apples designate:b

as © grade in standard Washington apple boxes had

(18 if

- no adverse effect on the market value and reputation

of the fancy grades of yellow and green varieties

and, therefore, no change in the grading system for

these apples was needed. The legislature may have

found it to be a fact that color differences in the

yellow ‘and green varieties of apples are much less

pronounced than in the red and partial red varieties,

and have little significance in‘ the. mind of the pur-

chaser. | me

In any event, there can be no doubt that a distine-

tion exists, and the complaint does not show that it

is an arbitrary of unreasonable distinction. The al-

. legation, therefore, do not show that the act denies

the plaintiffs the equal protection of the laws nor

grants to others special privileges and immunities.

The plaintiffs say that the amendment constitutes |

an unlawful delegation of legislative authority. The

question of delegation of legislative authority was

examined at length by this court in the case of Senior

Citizens League, Inc. v. Department of Social Secur-

ity, 38 Wn. (2d) 142; 228 P. (2d) 478. At page 152,

this court said: Y

“The constitutional prohibition against the del-

-egation of legislative power does not preclude

the delegation to administrative 0 cers or

-boards of the power to determine some fact or

. State of things upon which the application of

the law is made ‘to depend, provided the law

entinciates a standard by which such officers or

boards must be guided. State ew rel, Chicago,

‘MA & St. PLR. Co. v. Public Service Comm ission,

Y4 Wash. 274) 162 Pac. 523; State v. Bayles,

121 Wash. 215, 209. Pac. 20° Royer vy Public

a

Utility Dist. No. 1, 186 Wash. 142. 56-P. (2d) -—

| et) |

y ae

1202; State ex rele Wash ington Toli Bridge Au-

thority v. Yelle, 185 Wash. 636, 82 P. (2d)

120; Morgan ve Departament of Social Security,

14 Wn. (2d) 156, 127 P. (2d) 686.

“The legislature may also, under proper cir-

cumstances, delegate to administrative officers

and boards, authority to promulgate rules and

regulations ‘to carry out an express legislative

purpose, or to effect the operation and enforce-

ment-of a law. Vail v. Scaborg, 120 Wash. 126,

207 Pac. 15; State v. Nelson, 146 Wash. 17, 261

Pac. 796; ln ve Gifford, 192 Wash. 562, 74 P.

(2d) 475, 114 A. L. R. 348; Home Owners’

Loan Corp. v. Raivsci, 196 Wash. 548, 83 P.,

(2d) 765; State v. Miles, 5 Wn. (2d) 322, 105

P. (2d) 51.” ;

Provision is made in RCW 15.16:010 for hear-

ings to determine the facts on the basis of which

the characteristics of the grades provided for in the

amendment shall be determined. The legislature has

provided a minimum color standard to guide the di-—

rector of agriculture. The determination of the exact

characteristics which should be assigned to each

grade could be made intelligently only after an in-

vestigation of pertinent facts and is a matter which

the legislature properly left to the administrative

agency which was best equipped to make that deter-

-mination. The complaint shovs no unlawful dele-

. , . « ; j i

gation of legislative power. |

— Tt is contended -that the act imposes an undue ;

burden upon interstate commerce; but it is: well

settled that, while Congress has the exclusive power

toeregufate interstate commierce, in the absence: of

congressional action in confliet therewith, a state

20 |

‘in the exercise of the police power may adopt legis-

lation designed to promote the publi¢e welfare; and,

to that end, may make regulations relative to the

disposal of the products of the state even though such

regulations may incidentally or indirectly affect in-

‘terstate shipments. Minnesota Rate Cases, 230 U. S.

352, 57 L. Ed. 1511, 33 S. Ct. 729; Sligh v. Kirk-

wood, supra; Detweiler v. Welch, supra,

- The complaint: having failed to state facts suffi-

cient to show that Laws of 1959, chapter 230, con-

travene some provision of the state or federal consti-

tution, the demurrer should hav e been sustained and

the action dismissed.

It is so ordered. .

WEAVER, C. J. MALLERY, DONWORTH, FINLEY, :

Ort, and HUNTER, JJ., concur. an )

FINLEY, J. (concurring )—I have signed the ma-

jority opinion, concur ‘Ying in. the views expressed

and the result reached therein with the following

observation:

I agree with the holding of this court in Inman v.

~ Sandvig (1932), 170 Wash. 112, 15 P. (2d) 696, if,

as I believe is proper, that decision is’limited to a

holding that, solely as a labeling device, the relegation

of certain grades of apples to inconvenient and un-

economical types of coritainers is constitutionally

unjustifiable. However, to the extent that the Inman

case has any broadet implications, conflicting with

the views expressed by the major ity In the instant

case, I believe the Jnman case shduld b¢ overruled.

Foster, J. (concurring in the resitt)—While I

ae

%

\ . 21 | ae

‘concur in the court's disposition of this appeal, in my

view Zninan v. Sandvig, 170 Wash. 112, 15 P. (2d)

696,\ was wrongly decided, cannot be distinguished

—~and should be expressly overruled.

HILL, J. (dissenting)—In my opinion, the ques-

tion in this case was decided in Inman a. Sandvig,

170: Wash. 112, 15 P. (2d) 696, contrary to the con-

tention of the appellant. In that case, the illegality

of the rules adopted by the Director’ ef Agriculture

_was challenged. Prior to August 1, 1932, extra fancy

or first grade, fancy or second grade, and C grade

or third grade apples, could be lawfully sold and

marketed in the standard apple box of the’ state of

W ashington: Pursuant to the rules and regulations

of the Director of Agriculture, on August 1, 1932,

the director adopted rules which prohibited the

Wrapping, packing, and lidding of C grade apples °

~ in the standard apple box of the state of Washington.

The evidence was that the. standard apple box of

determinéd dimensions was established in 1903, by

statutory law; that it had been the custom for many

yéars to pack and market apples grown in this state

in a standard apple box; and that the extra fancy,

fancy, and C grade apples were marketed by the use

of this container. The evidence also diselosed that C

grade apples, as defined by the rules prior to 1982,

were not detrimental to public health in their con-

‘sumption as food, and were as free from fault as

were the C grade apples defined by tlie rules adopted

August 1, 1952; that a very large quantity of apples

produced in this state each year were of the C grade,

22

as defined by the old rule; and that there Was no

necessity for therrule based upon consideration of

health, | + ea

This court stated, page 1182 -

“We are of the opinion that the rule adopted

and promulgated by the director of agriculture

on August 1, 1932, with reference to third grade

apples, in so far as that rule provides that third

grade apples ‘shall not be wrapped nor packed

nor lidded in a standard apple box of the state

of Washington,’ is unreasonably discriminatory

as against third grade apples in favor of first

and second grade apples, and in violation of

Art. I, § 3, of our state constitution, providing

that ‘no person shall be deprived of life, liberty,

or property without due process of law,’ and

ahr I, § 12, of our state constitution, providing

that

“No law shall be passed granting to any citi-

)zen, Class of citizens, or corporation, other than

municipal, privileges or immunities which, up-

on the same terms, shal! not equally belong to

all citizens or corporations.’

“The word ‘law,’ as used in this section. inani-

festly includes a rule made by any administra-

tive authority, as well as a law made by direct .

legislative authority. Our conclusion seems to

us so plainly correct as to render-it unnecessary

to an for any extended review or citation ‘of

the many court decisions and texts supporting

it. Tie controlling principles’ are well stated in

general terms in the text of 6 R. C. L. 196 as

follows:

“The constitutional guaranty that no person

shall be deprived of eed abs pi! without due

process of law may be violated without the phys-

ical taking of property for public or private use.

Its capability for enjoyment and adaptability to

e

*

23

some use are essential characteristics and at-

tributes without which property cannot be con-

ceived. Hence a law is considered as being a

‘deprivation of property within the meaning of

this constitutional guaranty if it deprives an

owner of -one of its essential attributes, or de-

stroys its value, or restricts or interrupts ‘its

common, necessary or profitable use, or ham-

pers the owner in the application of it to the

purposes of trade, or imposes conditions upon

the right to hold or use it, and thereby seriously

impairs its value. These general principles ap-

ply not only to statutes enacted by the legisla-

ture hut to the action of executive officers gen-

’ 99

erally’.

I am unable to distinguish Jnman rv. Sandvig,

supra, from the instant case and feel that the court

is bound by its holding.

HILL, J.

25

| APPENDIX “B”

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

IN STATE COURT

IN THE

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

- © IN AND FOR YAKIMA COUNTY

_ Ceci. C. CLARK and CATHERINE =) -

CLARK, husband and wife, | No. 43477

| Plaintiffs, | sMENDED

—.«

Joe Dwyer, Director of ae so naire

of the State of Washington.

Defendant.

COME NOW the Plaintiffs and leave of Court

_having been had and obtained file herein their

Amended Complaint and for a first cause of action

allege: }

I.

That at all times herein mentioned Cecil C. Clark

and Catherine Clark were and now are husband and

wife, residing in Yakima County, Washington, and

that they bring this action in their own right for.

themselves and on behalf of all other parties simi-

larly situated and having like right and interest.

Il.

That at all times herein mentioned Joe Dwyer was

and now is the duly appointed, qualitied and acting

Director of the Department of Agriculture of the

Stote of Washington,

; ey Ii.

That Plaintiffs rave been for many years and now

are engagee in the growing of red and partial red

varieties of apples in the State of Washington. which

26

Apple ‘sin substantial quantities have been and now

are packed, shipped and sold in interstate commerce,

IV.

That the State of Washington produces and ships

more-apples than any other State in the United

States. That according to figures released by the’

State of Washington, De ‘partment of Agriculture, f

there were produced in the State of W ashingten in

the year 1957 approximately 33,000,000 bushels of

‘apples of a value of: about $7 3,000,000, and there

were produced in the year 1958 approximately 30,-°

000,000 bushels of apples of a value of about $75,-

000,000, and that similar production is expected in

the year 1959. That the production of apples in the

State of Washington during the years 1957, 1958

and 1959 as herein alleged consisted of approximate-

ly 95‘« of the red and partial red varieties and ap- 4

proximately 5‘, of the green and yellow varieties. ,

That the production of the green and yellow vari-

eties is iner easing.

Fe, Por

That all varieties of apples were, prior to the en-

actment of Chapter 230, Session Laws 1959, State |

of Washington, marketed and shipped as ‘“‘Washing- .

ton Extra Faney”, “W ashington Fariey”, and ““Wash-

ington © Grade”. That the grade of said apples is

determined at time of. packing. That a substantial q

quantity of .apples shipped herétofore have been

Washington C Grade red and partial red varieties

of apples. That for the 1957-1958 crop year there

Were approximitely 4,250,000 boxes of'C Ca ade ap-

/ |

~

27

ples of red and partial red varieties available for

shipment, and shipped in interstate commerce. That

for Eaearee vear 1958-1959 there were approximate-

ly 2,506,000 boxes of C Grade. apples of red and par-

sal red varieties:available for asap That as of

. May 23, 1959, all of said 19581959 C Grade apples

Were shipped i in inferstate commerce ¢ except approxi-

mately 264,708 boxes which remain on‘hand for ship-

ment and will be shipped in due course of business

in interstate commerce. The price of said C Grade

red and partial red varieties of apples in 1957-1958 .

and 1958-1959 was generally $2.00, or more, per box.

i . | VI. , .

The weather conditions are largely responsible for

the production of apples of C Grade of red and par-

tial red varieties and they are not primarily a result

of inferior farming and growing practices. That the

basic difference of the € Grade apple in the red and

partial.red varieties is less color than is found.in the

“Extra Fancy” and “Fancy” grades. Apples mature

earlier in the season generally at lower elevations

and in the more southerly parts of the State and

have less opportunity to color and in-these areas

substantially larger quantities of, € Grade. apples of

red and partial red varieties are produced than in

‘avees of higher elevation and later maturity.”

VIL.

That a substantial quantity of red and partial red

varieties of apples raised by Plaintiffs arc classitied

as Washington C Grade, under the law: prior to the

‘enactment of Cc hapter 230, Session Laws 1959, State

28 ia

of Washington, the specifications for which as here-

~ tofore established by the Direcvor of Agr leulture ar

among other-things:

“Apples of one variety which are mature,

hand-picked, clean, not badly misshapen, sound

and free from serious damage caused by hail or

punctures,”

That € Grade apples, ineluding red and partial red. -

Varicties are wholesome and healthful, that they

store and ship as well as Extra Faney or’ Faney

Grades, and that they are good to eat. cook and use

for human consumption. That the shipping and mar-

keting of C Grade apples of red and partial red va-

rieties in the manner heretofore allowed is in no way

detrimental to the public safety, health, morals, «

convenience, nox does.it constitute a fraud upon ne

public. : oh ee

: VIII.

That pursuant to R.C.W. 15.10.010, the Diverter:

of Agriculture of the State ef Washington has here-

tofere’ promulgated certain standards for apples

which are presently in effect and which include the-

standards for C Grade apples of the red and partial

ved varieties. That.a copy of said standards for ap-

‘ples is attached hereto, marked Exhibit “A” and in-

corporated herein by reference as though fully set

forth.

IX.

That. the Legislature of the State of Washington

enacted Chapter 230 of the Laws of 1959 entitled:

“AN AcT Relating to standards of grades and

packs of agricultural commodities; amending

IQ |

section 1, chapter 222, Laws of 193 9 and RCW

15.16.080; and adding a new section to chapter

in eh er

That said Chapter’ 230, Laws of 1959, was ap-

proved by the Gorerner of the State of Washington

on March 23, 1959; that said_act of the Legislature,

among other things, provided that :

“Section 1, Section 1, chapter 222. Laws of

1939, and RCW 15.16.080 are each amended to

read as follows:

The director shail adopt and promulgate rules

and regulations natelaking the following

grades of apples: For green and yellow vavi-

ctics: (1) extra faney, (2) faney, (3) C grade,

(4) culls, and (5) infected culls. For red and

partial red varieties: (1) extra feney, (2)

fancy, (8) culls, and (4) infected culls.

No person shall, pack, sell, or ship apples un-

less the same comply with the rules, regulations

and grades adopted pursuant. to RCW 15.16.-

O10, .

Section 2. There is added to chapter 15.16

RCW a new section to-read as follows:

The director uw hen establishing standards of

color requirements for red vevrigtics and partial

red varicties of apples shall establish color

standards for such varieties uw hie have not less

than the following: —

1. Arkansas Black - Fifteen percent

2. Spitzcnburg (Esopus) Fifteen percent

, 3. Winesap Tiventy percout

1. King David Fifteen pe. cont

». Delicious Trventy percort

6. NSfaymen Winesap Ten percent

Te Vanderpool Ton percent

s. Black Tieig : Te ey il

Q) Jovathan - Ton porcent

Py. 2

30

10. Melntosh ott Ten percent

_ 11. Rome Ten percent

12. Red Sport Varicties Tiventy percent!

Whenever red sport varictics are marked -as

such, they shall méet the color requirements or

red sport varicties.”

That color requirements set forth in Section 2 above

alleged apply to Fancy Grade. That the result of said

Chapier 230 in eliminating C Grade apples of red,

and partial red varieties and by decreasing the éolor

requirement for Fancy Grade results in at least

* 662:,', -of the former C Grade apples being classi-

ey fied as culls.. That such cull classification allows rex

Sen Re and marketing only in marked bushel

baskets in conformity with’ R.C.W. 15.16.160. That

said elimination of C Grade by the classification

thereof as culls decreased their market value in that

they can only be sold to processors, As culls or in ac-”

cordance with R.C.W. 15.16.160, the market price |

of which, in ‘either case, av erages 75‘~< less than the

. market price for C Grade apples.

kf

That Chapter 230, Laws of 1959, as uiowennid. will

go inte effect on August 1,.1959.

XI.

That. Defendant, as Director of Agriculture of the

State of Washington, is charged with the enforee-

ment of Chapter 15-R.C.W. and specifically with en-

forcement of RiC.W. 15.16.080 as amended and—

Defendant will promulgate. rules and regulations

eliminating C Grade apples of the red and partially

red varieties, as-heretofore alleged, and will require

sey ~e- 31 :

_and compel plaintiffs to comply with the aforesaid

statute and with the rules and regulations promul-.

gated thereunder and will prosecute the Plaintiffs

criminally and enforce against them the panalties -

- provided therefor, if Plaintiffs violate the said law,

rules ar regulations.

XII.

8 That De fendant will immediately enforce Chapter

230, Laws of 1959, on and after its effective date

August 1, 1959, and such enforcement. will directly

and irreparably damage the Plaintiffs by depriving .

them of valuable property and property rights con-

trary to the provisions of the U. S. Constitution and

of the Constitution of the State of Washington, as

_ hereinafter alleged. Z 3 ,

* XIII.

That Plaintiffs allege that Chapter 230), -Laws of

1959, is uncenstitutional and void for the reasons set

forth as follows:

1. That said law violates.Article I, Section 3, of

the Washington State Constitution, which provides:

“No person shall be deprived of life. libe rty,

or property, without due process of law.’

2. That said law violates Article I, Section 12, of

the Washington State Constitution, which provides:

“No law shall be passed granting to any citi-

zen, Class of eee at. corporation other than

municipal, privileges er immunities which upon

the same terms shall n: ot equi lly be long te all

citizens, or corporations.’

3. That said law violates Amendment XIV of the

32.

‘Constitution of the United States, which provides in

part: .,

“No state shall make or enforce any law

which shall abridge the privileges and i immuni-

ties of citizens of the United States; nor shall

any state deprive any person of life, ‘liberty or

property, without due process of law; nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction thé eqizal

protection of the laws.”

‘t. That said law violates Article L aiiian &, of

“the United States Constitution, w nich provides,

among other things:

“The Congress shall have pow er to regulate

commerce with foreign’ nations and among the

several states and with the Indian tribes:”

. That said law is an improper, unwarranted and

pre] j -dicial extension of the police powers reserved

to the State of W ashington. :

6. That said law is an unlawful, unwarranted anil

frbitrary restriction upon the marketing, shipping

and entry into commerce of apples of red cr partial

red varicties raised in‘the State of Washington,

whicn restriction is net equally applicable to apples -

‘of all varieties raised ‘for marketing, shipment and —

ent y into commerce in other states. ;

That said law is an unlawful delegation of leg-

tiatiic authority. ;

8. That said law is an wnlawful, unwarr anted and .

arbitrary classification in that it applies to apples of

red and partial red varieties but not to yellow and

green varieties, and in so doing, is a denial of equal

protection to ‘the grower of red and partial red

Varieties.

FURTHE R, and for second cause of action, Plain-

tiffs allege:

bane |»

Plaintiffs reallege all of Paragraphs I through

XIII, inclusive, of their first eause of action, and by

reference’ thereto incorporate the same herein as

though fully set forth.

= ies Il.

That Joe Dwyer, as Director of Agriculture of the

| . ‘ ; ‘2 33- *.

|

|

|

by the Court, will on and after August 1, 1959, pro- |

i

" r a , . . .

| State of Washington, unless restrained and enjoined

mulgate rules and regulations pursuant to Chapter

| 230, Laws of 1959, théreby elimMating C Grade ap-

. ples of the red and partial red varieties, and will

| immediately enforce said rules and regulations; that

Plaintiffs are without any speedy and adequaté rem-

edy at law and unless Defendant is enjoined’ from

enforeing Chapter 230, Laws of 1959, on and after

August 1, 1959, ‘Pinfntifts and all others similar ly

situated sill suffer irreparable loss and damage.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray for judgment as eal

lows: .

1. On Plaintiffs’ first cause of action that Chapter

230, Laws of 1959, be declared unconstitutional and

void, and that the rights of Plaintiffs thereunder be

= and declaxed.

. On Plaintiffs’ second cause of action int. if

the ‘care herein is still pending as of August l,

1959, that an-order to show cause issue out of the

above-entitled Court, requiring said Defendant. to

show cause why they shouid not be enjoined and re-"

.

.

se ‘

. 6

/ ‘ . . <

34

strained pendente lite and permanently from enfore-

ing and carrying ou the provisions of Chapter 230,

Laws of 1959, and that said law be declared uncon-

stitutional and void.

8. For Plaintiffs’ Costs and disbursements herein

expended and ineurred. )

4. For sueh other and further relief as the Court =

may deem just and equitable in the premises.

HALVERSON, APPLEGATE & MCDONALD

DONALD H. "BRAZIER, JR.

Attorneys for Plaintiffs '

STATE OF Ww ASHINGTON

Ss.

County of Yakiina

CEcIL C,; CLARK, being first ‘duly sworn on oath

_ deposes and says:

That he is one of the Plaintiffs above named; that

he has read the within and foregoing AMEN DED

COMPLAINT, krows the contents thereof and be-

lieves the same to be true.

ate s/Cecil C. Clark

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this 2nd day |

_ of June, 1959.

s/C. W. Halverson’ |

Notary Public in and for the State of

W ashington, residing at Yakima.

Service accepted and copy

received of the within and -

foregoing AMENDED COMPLAINT

this day of June, 1959. )

JOHN J. O'CONNELL

Attorney General

By .

Assistant Attorney General <i

Attorneys for Defendant. ,

4

a 4

= >

. :

>

~

.

¢<

WASHINGION SPANDART

POR APPLES

ws

o

a

FOREWORD

This booklet contains the offictal Washington Standards for Apples

as promulgated by the Department of Agriculture at the request of

the apple growers and shippers of.the state. .

These grades, and standards were adopted on the basis of hearings

held in the producing distriets and of petitions submitted to the Di-

rector as supplemental testimony. As is the case in writing standards

or agricultural products, the limitations as set forth for each grade

are the minimums allowed in that grade. For the behest of the lay-

man who may be interested in our grade structure, it should be ex-

plained that the defects, or minimums, stated are not requirements

in meeting a grade, the majority of packages in our grades are nor-

mally well above these minimum requirements. . 7 &

In addition to Washington grades—Washington Extra Fancy.

Wash. Fancy, Wash. C Grade and their combinations—the state has

also adopted the U. S. Extra Fancy, U. S. Fancy and U. S. No. L

gtades for apples and, at the option of the grower, shipper or packer,

these U.S. grades may be used. Private grades may be used if proper

filing as set rr in these standards has been complied with by the

person, firm organization who wishes to avail themselves of this

privilege.

It is the desire of our Department that the use of these grades and

standards will benefit the entire apple industry of the state by placing

Washington products on the market in such a manner as to facilitate

and expedite marketing procedures and te reflect credit on the quality

of our products. ae ee

Sverre N. Omdahl

Director of Agriculture

Date: July 3, 1956.

WASHINGTON STANDARDS FOR APPLES

(Effective for all apples marketed within the State)

RED, PARTIAL RED OR BLUSHED VARIETIFS

U. S. Extra Fancy (See page 14). ‘ ; .

Washington Extra Fancy or First Grade shall consist of apples of

one variety which’are mature, hand picked, clean, farrly. well formed,

. sound, free from visible watercore, broken skin. and from damage,

caused by bruises (a) limb rubs (b), spray burn (c) sunburn (d),

russeting (e, f, g), (h), drouth spot (i), hail marks. (i), apple scab (j),

disease and insect injury (k, m): . :

. Each apple shall have the amount of color hereinafter specified

for apples in this grade. - :

“Mature” means hav, ached) the stage of maturity which will

insure the proper ¢c pletionot e ripening process. Firmness of

the flesh shail be considered on n connection with other factors to

determine the degree of maturity.

“Hand Picked” means that the apples do not show evidence of

rough handling or of having been on the ground. ;

“Clean” means free from excessive dirt, or other foreign material.

“Fairly well formed’ means the apple shall have the nermal shape

characteristic of the variety except that one-half of the apple may

deviate slightly or the apple may be slightly flattened as by frost

injury.

“Sound” means apples that at time of packing are free from visible

defects, such as decay, breakdown, scald, bitter pit, or physical injury

i. affecting quality. Pre

' “Aggregate area” means that all the areas of the blemish pnder

consideration may be. assembled into one‘circular area of the max-

imum diameter specified. - 48

“Damage”: The following shall not be considered ‘as damage: *

(a) Slight handling bruises and box bruises, such as are incidént

to good commercial handling in the preparation of a tight

pack. : : ‘

(b) Limb rubs nof to exceed % inch in aggregate area.

(ce) Spray burn, Which has altered or discolored natural pigment

when the n al color of the apples is not seriously affected,

is no blistering or cracking of the skin, except

that red spot, such as caused by Bordeaux, shall not extend

over more than 20% of the apple. Spray burn of a russet na-

ture shall be governed by the definition covering solid -rus-

seting. an

Sunburn, when the normal color of the apple is not seriously

affected, there is no blistering ér cracking of the skin, and

‘ the discolored area blends into the normal color of the fruit.

Slight rough russeting which'‘does not cover4in area of more

than %-inch in diameter if it is not, continuous with the

russeting in the stem basin or ¢alyx cavity. ”

(d

—

. fe

ian

4 ;

“(f) Smooth russeting ‘shall be permitted ut the stem or calyx eng

provided such russeting is not. visible for more than ts inch:

when the apple is placed with the russet end down on a fla:

surface, except. in the Newtown Variety characteristic russe:

commencing at the stem or calyx end and not extending be-

yond the center of the apple ‘shall be permitted as long as

it is continuous from the stem or .caly% bowl.

(g) Smooth netlike russetifig which does not extend over an ag-

gregate area’ of-more than 10% of the surface, except in’ Rome

Beauty and Jonathan netlike russeting on the colored ‘portion

of the apple which does not materially detract from its ap-

pearance shall. not: be counted in computing the 10% area:

mentioned above. :

- (h) Solid russeting, such as is characteristic of frost, spray burn,

~ hail, and certain insect and disease injury affecting.a total

aggregate area of not to exceed % inch. a Se

(i) Hail marks, drouth spots, or other depressions when the in-

‘jury is slight, the skin is not broken and the depressions do

hot exceed an aggregate area of 14 inch in diameter with no

Single depressioh exceeding % inch in diameter or detract

seriously from the appearance of the fruit. Hail injury of a

. _ Fusset character shall be governed by the definition covering

’ russet injury. : :

(j) Apple scab spots affecting a total area of not more than |,

; inch in diafieter. ee

(k): Any healed sting or stings: which affect a total area of more.

than % inch in diameter including any encircling discolored

rings. 5

(m) Slight aphis signs or thrip marks which do not roughen or .

pebble the surface of the apple.

An apple may show any one or a combination of the following

’ defects: if the aggregate area does not exceed the specified tolerance-

for the defects and the aggregate of the combination dos not exceed

4s inch; the defects are: Apple scab, solid russeting, and limb rubs.

U. S. Fancy (See page 14).

Washington Fancy or Second Grade shall consist of apples of one

variety which are mature, hand picked, clegn, not badly misshapen.

sound, and fsee from broken skin and from amage caused by bruises

(a), and from serious damage caused by sunburn (a), spray burn (a),

limb rubs, (b), russeting (c), growth cracks (d), visible watercore

(e), hail marks or drouth spots (f), disease (g)agd insect injury (h).

i KO

Each apple shall have the amount of cofor h nafter specified

for apples in this grade. :

“Mature” means having réached the ‘stage of maturity which wil!

insure the proper completior of the ripening process. Firmness of the

flesh shall be considered only in connection with other factors to de-

termine the degree of maturity.

ose

“Hand Picked” means that the apples do not show evidence of

ropgh handling or of having been 9n the ground.

“Clean” means free from excessive dirt, or other foreign material.

“Not badly misshapen” means that an apple may be more irregu-

larly shaped than “Fairly well formed”, as defined above, but shall

not be deformed to the extent of materially affecting its culinary

value or its general appearance. .

“Sound” means apples that at time of packing are free from visible

defects, such as decay, breakdown, scald, bitter pit, or physical injury

affecting quality.

“Aggregate area” means that all the areas of the blemish under

consideration may be assembled into one circular area of the max-

imum diameter specified. , _ s 5 ;

“Damage”: The following shall not be considered as damage:

(a) Slight handling bruises and box bruises, such as are incident

to good commercial handling in the preparation of a tight

pack. i Q

. “Serious damage” means any ‘injury or defect or any combination

of injuries and/or defects which seriously detract from the

appearance or keeping quality of the apple. Th - following

‘defects shall not be considered as serious damage:

(a) Sunburn or spray burn which does not seriously detract from

~the appearance of the fruit.

(b) Limb rubs which affect not more than 1/10 of the surface in

the aggregate. :

(c) Smooth solid russeting which affects not more than 1!4 of the

surface in the aggregate, including any russeting in the stem

basin or rough or bark-like russeting which does not detract

-from the appearance of the‘fruit to a greater extent than the

smooth solid russeting permitted.

(d) Growth cracks, such as occur in Staymans, shall be permitted

when no crack exceeds % inch in length.

(e) Visible watefcore which does not affect an area of.more than

_% inch in diameter. $<

(f) Hail‘marks, drouth spots or other depressions, when the in-

jury is slight, the skin is not broken and the depressions do not

exceed an aggregate area of 10% of the surface in red or

paftial red varieties or more than 20% of the surface in green

* or yellow varieties. UR a

Note: Export standards limit these defects to 10% of thé surface.

(g) Seab spots affecting an aggregate area of not to exceed &%

inch in diameter. ee te

(h) Any healed sting or healed stings which affect a total area of

- More than 3/16 inch in diameter’including any encircling dis-

colored rings. 5

(i) Aphis pebbling or thrip marks not seriously detraciing from

the appearance of the apple.

U.S. No. 1 (See page 14).

Washington C Grade or Hail Grade shal! consist of apples of one

variety which are mature, hand picked, clean, not badly Missnapen

sound, and free from serious damage caused by hail or puncture.

€aution: Puactured apples do not meet the requirements of the

Export Apple and Pear Act and cannot be certified on an expoi:.

form certificate.

Each apple shall have the amount of color hereinafter specified

for apples in this grade. : :

“Mature” means having reached the stage of maturity which wi!

insure the proper completion of the ripening process. Firmness of the

flesh shall be considered only in connection with other factors to de-

termine the degree of maturity. - ; :

“Hand Picked” means that the apples do not show evidence of

rough handling or of having been on the ground.

“Clean” means free from excessive dirt, or other foreign materiai.’

. “Not badly misshapen” rieans that an apple may be rnade irreg-

‘ularly shaped than “Fairly well formed” as defined above, but sha’!

not be deformed to the extent of .materialiy affecting its culinary

value or its general appearance. es

“Sound” means apples that at time of packing are free from visible

defects, such as decay, breakdown, scald, bitter pit, or physical injury

affecting quality. :

“Serious damage”. in Red or Partial, Red Varieties, C Grade c:

Hail Grade: The following shall not be considered as serious damage.

Apples which meet the requirements for Fancy Grade (in the Red or

Partial Red Varieties) but have punctures not exceeding \%4 inch in

diameter or healed hail marks. . ;

Color Requirements

Apples shall be admitted to the grade subject. to the following

color specifications:

Red Varieties: For the red varieties the percentage of color refers |

to the aggregate color areas of the surface which must be covered by

a good shade ur shades of red characteristic of the Variety.

Extra Cc

; . ; : Fancy Fancy Grade

Arkansas Black ....... eset CAN atone 50% . 20% 153%

Spitzenburg (Escpus) ..,.............. 50% 20% 15%

Winesap ....... Secseceseciasescatoces- nee 25 % 15%

King David: ........... SAT el Re 23 -—e . 20% 15%

Red Sport Varieties*........... Pe ehenacg ol 65% ° 25% 15%

* When sport varieties are marked as such; they shall meet the color re-

uiremen:s of red sport varieties, and the boxes must alsg bear the name cf

the parent variety. : : oe :

Partial Red VarietiesY For the striped red varieties the percentage

of color refers to the area of the surface in which the stripes of a good

shade of red shall predominate over stripes of lighter red, green“or

yellow.

7

-Extra Cc

- . .Fancy Fancy Grade ,

DN ci caus cogent e te .. §0% 25% 15%

Stuyman Winesap ............ oa 15% ( 10%

reer een eee . 35% 15% 10%

. Sa Seo See "35% 18% . . 10%

FOOOUNON * 0. ck bows lei ike eres ented 35% 15% 10%

| re rere eae eee 35% 15% | 10%

NE Sica Pee ny sknss5chaurdsb ue cans ,». SaS% 15%- ‘0%

Red Cheeked or Biushed Varieties

Winter Banana ............... .. »... Some Color 6 0

Ke GREEN OR YELLOW VARIETIES

U.S. Extra Fancy (See page 14).

Washington Extra Fancy or First Grade shal! consist of apples of

one variety which’ are mature, hand picked, clean, well formed,

sound, free from bruises (a), russeting (b; c, e), spray burn (d, e), sun-

burn (d, e), limb rubs (e), drouth spot (f), hail marks (f), visible

water core, broken skin, apple Scab, stings, and from diseases and

insect injury (g), except that slight blemishes shall be permitted in

this grade.

Each apple shall have the amount or color hereinafter specified

for apples in this grade. . .

“Mature” means having reached the stage of maturity which will

insure the proper completion of the ripening process. Firmnes of the

flesh shall be considered only in connection with other factors to de-

termine the degree of n.aturity. ;

_ “Hand Picked” means that the apples do not show evidence of

rough handling or of having been on the ground.

“Clean” means free from excessive dirt, @r other foreign material.

“Welt formed” means having the normal’ shape characteristic of

the variety, except that the shape may be slightly irregular provided

it does not detract from the general appearance: of the moth ;

“Sound” means apples that at time of packing are free from visible

defects, such as decay, breakdown, scald, bitter pit, or physical injury

‘affecting quality. ;

“Aggregate area” mans that all the areas of the blemish under

consideration may be assembled into .one circtilar area of the max-

imum diameter specified. “ ,

“Slight Blemishes” means defects in excess of the following: :

(ay Slight handli.ig bruises and_ box bruises such as are incident

to good commercial handling in the preparation of a tight

pack, cs

(b) Smooth russeting shail .be permitted at the stem ex.i pro-

vided such a russeting is not visible for more than '2 inch

when the apple is placed stem end down on a fia‘ surface,

excep* in the Newtown variety characteristic russe* commenc-

ing at the stem end shall ve permitted as long as it is continu-

e . ° a

2

8 ®

ou; from the stem bow] and not extending beyond tne center

of the apple. 4

(c) Smooth net-like russeting whic oes not extend over an

aggregate area of more than 5% of the surface of the apple.

(d) Sunburn or spray butn when slight and when the norma!

color of the apple is but slightly changed and the affected

area does not exceed 5% of the surface of the apple.

(e) Smcoth solid russeting, light limb rubs, hail marks or. spray

burn of a russet character shall be permitted when the ag-

gregate area affected does not exceed % inch.

(fy Slight hail marks or other depressions when there is no dis-

coloration, when the indentations are very shailow, and no

individual indentation exceeds ‘4s: inch in diameter and the

aggregate area affected does not exceed 14 inch.

(g) Thrip marks. not to exceed three in number, shall be per-

mitted.

U. S. Fancy (See page 14).

Washington Fancy or Second Grade shall consist of apples of one

variety which ‘are mature, hand picked, clean, fairly well formed.

. sound, free from visible watercore, broken skin. and from damage

caused by bruises (a), limb rubs (b), spray burr (c), sunburn (4.

russeting (e, f, g, h), drouth spot (i), hail marks (i), apple scab ())

disease and insect injury (k, m).

Each apple shall have the amount of color hereinafter specified

for apples in this grade. ’ “.

“Mature” means having reached the stage of maturity which will

\ insure the proper completion of the ripening process. Firmness of the

‘flesh shall be considered only in connéction with other factors to ce-

termine the degree of maturity. ~~

“Hand Picked” means that the apples do not shoW evidence of

rough handling or of having been on the ground.

“Clean” means free from excessive dirt, or other foreign material

“Fairly well formed” mieans the apple shall have the norma! °

shape characteristic of the variety except that one-half of the apple

may deviate slightly or the apple may be slightly flattened as by

frost injury. . son

“Aggregate area” ineans that all the areas of the blemish under

consideration may be assembled into one circular area of the: max-

imum diameter specified.

“Damage”: The following shall not be consideredas damage:

(a) Slight handling bruises and box bruises, such as are incident

to good comnfercial handling in the preparation of a tight

pack. .

(b) Limb mubs not 40 exceed % inch in aggregate area.

(c) Spray burn, which has altered or discolored natural pigment _

when the normal color of the apples is not seriously affetted.

. when there is no blistering or cracking of the skin, excep! ©

that red spot, such as caused by Bordeaux, shall not extend

over more than 20% of the apple. Spray -burn of a russet

9

nature shall be governed by the definition covering solid

' Yusseting. . :

(d) Sunburn, when the normal color of the apple is not seriously

affected, there is no blistering or cracking of the skin, and

z the discolored area blends into the normal color of the fruit.

- (e) Slight rough russeting which does not cover an area of more

‘than 42 inch in diameter if it is not continuous with the rus-

seting in'the stem basin or calyx gavity.

(f) Smooth russeting shall be permitted at the stem or cahyx end

provided such russeting is not visible for more than % inch

when the apple is placed with the russet end down ona flat

surface, except dn the Newtown ‘variety characteristic russet

‘ commencing at the stem or calyx end and not extending be-

——wond the center of the apple shal! be permitted as long as it is

-continuous from the stem or calyx’ bowl.

(g) Smooth netlike russeting which does not extend over an ag-

' gregate area of more than 20% of the surface.

(h) Solid russeting, such as is characteristic of frost, spray burn,

hail, and certain insect and disease injury affecting a total

. ' aggregate area of not to exceed & inch. ;

(i) Hail marks, drouth spots, or other depressions when the in-

jury is slight, the skin is not broken and the depressions do

not exceed an aggregate area of 4 inch in'diameter or de-

tract seriously from the appearance of the fruit. Hail injury

of a russet character shall be governed ‘by the definition cov-

ering russet injury..-

(j]) Apple scab spots affecting a total area of not more than 14

‘inch in diameter. ait ; ' .

(K) Four stings, each having an encircling hard ring, usually

green, or a slight depression, provided stings do not exceed

‘s inch in diameter exclusive of any encircling ring.

(m) Slight aphis signs or thrip marks which do not roughen or

pebble the surface of the apple. ; : .

An apple may show any one or a combination ‘of the following

lefects if-the aggregate area does not exceed the specified tolerance

or the defects and the aggregate of the combination does not exceed

2 inch; the defects are: Apple scab, hail marks, drouth spots, solid

usseting, and limb rubs. © _ :

U. S. No. 1 (See Page 14).

. Washington C Grade or Third Grade shall consist of apples of one

ariety which are mature, hand picked, clean, not badly misshapen,

ound, and free from serious damage caused by sunburn (a), spray

urn (a), limb rubs (b), russeting (c), growth cracks (d}, visible

atercore (e), hail marks (f), drouth spots (f), disease (g), and insect

jury (h, i), and free from soft bruises and broken skin except that

pples having Fancy or better color for the variety may contain

unctures not exceeding 44 inch in diameter. ;

Caution: Punctured apples do. not meet the requirements of the

xport Apple and Pear Act and cannot be certified on an export

rm ‘certificate.

‘ 10 Rs

“Mature” means having reached the stage of maturity which will

insure the proper completion of the ripening process. Firmness cé

the flesh shall be considered only in connection with other factors

to determine the degree of maturity. ‘

“Hand Picked” means that the apples do not show evidence of

rough handling or of having been on the ground.

“Clean” means free from excessive dirt, or other foreign materia!

“Not badly misshapen” means that an apple may be more irregu-

larly shaped that “Fairly well formed” as defined above, but shal!

not be deformed to the extent of materially affecting its culinary

. Value or its general appearance. :

“Sound” means apples that at time of packing are free from visible

defects, such as decay, breakdown scald, bitter pit, or physical in-

jury affecting quality.

“Aggregate area” means that all the areas of the blemish uncer

consideration may be assembled into one circular area of the max-

imum diameter specified.

“Serious damage” means any injury or defect or any combination

of injuries and/or defects which seriously detract from the appear-

ance or keeping quality of the apple. The following defects sha!! not

be considered as serious damage:

(a) Sunburn or spray burn which does not seridly detract from

the appearance of the fruit.

(6) Limb rubs which affect not more than 1/10 of the surface in

the aggregate. .

(c) Smooth solid russeting which affects not more than 'Q of -the

surface in the aggregate, including any russeting in the stem

basin or bark-like russeting which does not detract from the

“appearance of the fruit to a greater extent than the smooth

solid russeting permitted.

(d) Growth cracks, such as occur in Staymans, shall Qe per-

mitted when no crack exceeds % inch in length.

(e) Visible watercore which doés not.affect an area of more than

% inch in diameter. . P 2

(f) Hail marks, drouth spots or other depressions, when the in-

’ jury is slight, the skin is not broken and the depressions do

not exceed an aggregate area of 10% of the surface in red or

partial red varieties or more than 20% of the surface in green

or yellow varieties.

Note: Export standards limit these defects to 10° of the surface

(g) Scab spots affecting an aggregate area of not to exceed '2

inch in diameter. . .

(h) Five stings, each having an encircling hard ring, usually

green, or a slight depression;—provided stings do not exceed

¥@ inch in diameter exclusive of any encircling ring. i

(i) Aphis pebbling or thrip marks not-seriously detracting from

the appearance of the apple. .

Hail Grade of green or yellow varieties shall consist of apples

which meet the requirements of Combination Extra Fancy and Fancy.

ll

except that hail marks where the skin has not.been broken and well

healed hail marks where the A" has been broken shall be permitted

ha

provided the apples are fairly well formed. The marks or labels

Extra Fancy” or “Fancy” shall not appear on the containers.

Coler Requirements |

Golden Delicious—Extra Fancy 75%. Characteristic color*

Fancy 75° Characteristic color*®

C Grade 33'3% Characteristic color* :

*In the Golden Delticffious variety when the white or light green color

predominates over the green color it shall be considered as the minimum

characteristic color. :

In the following not color required in Extra Fancy, Fancy, or C

Grade; natural blush not objectionable: '

Dutchess e Grimes (Golden)

Gravenstein Ortley Z

King ; “ White Winter Pearmain

Twenty Ounce Newtown

Wolf River : ‘<< | Yellow Transparent

Combination Grades.

Combination Extra Fancy and Fancy: When’ Extra Fancy .and

Fancy apples are packed together, the boxes may be marked “Com-

bination Extra Fancy and Fancy” and shall contain .at least 80%

Extra.Fancy apples, except Newtowns, which shall contain at least

25% Extra Fancy apples. ‘ .

Combination. Extra Fancy, Fancy and C. Grade: When Extra

Fancy, Fancy and C Grade apples are packed together, the boxes may

be marked “Combination Extra Fancy, Fancy, and C. Grade” and

snall contain at least 80% Extra Fancy apples, except Newtowns,

which shall contain at least 25% Extra Fancy apples.

Combination Extra Fancy and C Grade: When Extra Fancy and

C Grade apples are packed together, the boxes may be marked “Com-

bination Extra Fancy and C. Grade” and shall contain at least 80%

Extra Fancy apples, except Newtowns, which shall contain at least

25% Extra Fancy apples. :

Combination Fanry and C Grade: When Fancy and C Grade

apples are packed together, the boxes may be marked “Combination

Fancy and C Grade” but shall contain at least-80% ‘Fancy apples, ex-

cept .Newtowns, which shall contain at least 25% Fancy apples.

Jumble Pack: The larger sizes of the above grades may be re-

moved and the rest packed and marked “Jumble” or “Face and Fill”

in addition to the grade mark. ~

Culls: Apples which are“hot graded in conformity with the fore-

going grades and which contain not more than 5% serious insect

damage shall be designated as “CULLS.”

Note: Chapter 222 of the Laws of 1939 require this grade shall be packéd

in one-bushel wooden baskents, ring faced ‘and baskets lidded. It also pro-

vides for an inspection charge of $1.00, together with 5¢ per basket for ad-

vertising i

,

}

«>

12 ;

Infested Culls: Apples which are not graded in conformity with

the foregoing grades and ‘which contain 5% or more infestation from

codling moth, San Jose scale or other horticultural pests, shall be

designated as “Infested Culls.” :

Standard Box Packs.

A standard box in this state shall be eighteen inches long, eleven

and one-half inches wide, and ten and-one-half inches deep, inside

measure. When boxes are marked with a size count, all apples shal!

be arranged according to the approved method and shall be fairly

tightly packed ‘at the time of packing, but shall not. show excessive

or unnecessary bruising caused by poor sizing, poor. packing or an

over-filled package. Each apple wrapped shall be well wrapped.

Note: Standard box packs of Golden Delicious shall be well filled or fairly

well filled at the time o packing.

Tray. Packs. 2 .

‘A standard tray pack container carries four;‘five, or six -molded

pulp trays and is packed to and marked with one of the same size:

counts of the same size apples as are packed in the standard box. Al!

apples packed in tray pack containers shall be as uniformly sized as

those packed in the standard box ‘and shall be arranged according to

the approved method for the tray type of pack. Each container shall

be well filled or fairly well filled. To be fairly well filled a container

must have not less than forty (40) pounds net of apples. .

Tolerances Which Apply at Time of Packing.

In order to allow for variations incident to proper grading and

handling, not ‘more than a total of 10 percent of the apples in any

container may be below the requirements of the grade, provided that

not more than 5 percent shall be seriously damaged by insects and

not more than 1/10 of this amount, or 1 percent shall be allowed for

decay and/or internal breakdown. Slight imperfections which are

hot discernable in good commercial sorting practice shall not be con-

sjdered defects of grades. ‘>,

In addition to the above, for standard box packs, in boxes or car-

tons marked with a size. count, a tolerance of 10 percent for each of

the defects of pack, such as wrapping, and tightness shall be per-

mitted in any lot and shall be computed by counting, weighing or

measuring the samples. . :

In. addition to the above, a tolerance og 5 percent by count shall

be allowed for apples below the specified minimum diameter and 10

percent for apples above any specified maximum diameter. .

In addition to the above, a tolerance of 10 per cent for each of the

defects of pack, such as wrapping, and tightness shall be- permitted in

any lot and shall be computed by counting, weighing or measuring

the samples. - ;

When applying the foregoing tolerances to the combination grades,

no part of any tolerance shal] be used to reduce the percentage af

apples of the higher grade required in the combination. A

meat

13

The tolerances specified for the various grades are placed on a

container basis. However, any Jot of apples shall be considered as

meeting the requirements of a specified. grade if the entire lot av-

erages within the tolerances specified, provided that no sample from

the containers in any lot is found to exceed the following amounts:

For a specified tolerance of 10 per cent, not more than one and

one-half times thé tolerance shall be allowed in any one package.

For specified tolerances of 5 per cent, or less, not more than

double the tolerance shall be allowed in any one package. . ‘

Tolerances Which Apply After Apples Have Been in Storage or in

Transit. i

After fruit has been placed in storage or in transit, scald, break-

down, decay, bitter pit, or physical injury affecting keeping quality

which may have developed or may only have become evident after

' apples are packed are defined as applying to condition rather than

to grade. ¢

' Marking Closed Containers.

o

The containers shall bear the correct name of the variety, or

. “Variety Unknown,” the name of the srewer, packer, or shipper, and

his address, the grade and the number of apples or the net contents,

either-in terms of dry measure or weight. Any of these marks may be

printed on the label but in case they are not, they must be stamped

on the end of the container. On boxes, the grower's packer’s or ship-

per’s name and address, if not included on the label, shall be placed

either in line with the grade marks: above the label or on the opposite

end of the box. os

When containers are marked as to number, each container shall

contain the correct number of apples designated by the markings.

Marking Open Containers. ;

Open containers shall be marked on the end with the name and

address of the grower, packer or shipper, the grade, and variety.

Other Brands and Grades. ,

Any person, firm, or organization wishing to pack apples under

any other grade or brand than according to the foregoing rules shall

file a certified copy of the description of such grade or brand with.

the Director of Agriculture the year in which the apples so to be

packed are grown. If such grade or brand is approved by the Director

of Agriculture, apples may be packed under such grade or brand,

instead of the official state grading, rules and all boxes of apples so

packed shall be marked with that grade or brand: Provided, That

Private grades.or brands for apples may only be registered and ap-

Sieg when they meet the specifications required of Fancy Grade or

a

14

WASHINGTON STATE CONDITIONS STANDARDS

(Not Mandatory)

As applied to condition factors:

(1) Not more than an avefage of 5% of the apples in any lot, with

nof more than 10% in any one sample, shall be further advanced in

maturity (firmness) than firm ripe. :

(2) Not more than a vvtal of 5% of the apples in any lot, with not

more than 10% in any one ‘sample, shall be damage by bitter pit,

Jonathan spot, common scald, visible watércore, freezing or. other |

such condition factors, excluding delayed sunburn.

(3) Not more than any average of 2% each in any lot, with not

to exceed 8% in any safnple, shall be allowed for apples affected by

decay, visible breakdown, or by soft scald; except that after March |

not more than an average of 3% each in any lot with not excéed

10% in any sample shall be allowed for apples affected’ by decay,

visible breakdown or by soft scald. Ce

Remarks: On request, official certificates will! bear the statement “Lot

Meets Washington State Condition Standards,” provided the apples meet the

standard requiremenis at the time of inspection Re ie

The following U. S. grades ONLY may be used for apples: U S.

Extra Fancy, U. S. Fancy and U. S. No. 1 as promulgated in the U.§

Standards for Apples and adopted effective July 23, 1951.

U. 8. Extra Fancy consists of apples of one variety which are ma-

ture (1) but not overripe (2), carefully hand-picked (3), clean (+4),

well formed (5), free from decay, internal browning, internal break-

down, scald, scab, bitter pit, Jonathan spot, freezing injury, broken

skins and bruises (except those that are slight and incident to proper

*handling and packing), and visible water core. The apples shall also

be free from injury (6) caused by russeting (6a), sunburn or spray

burn (6b), limb rubs (6c), hail (6d), drought spots (6d), scars (6d).

stein or calyx cracks (6e), ogher diseases (6f), insects (6g), or me-

chanical or other means (6). Each apple of this grade shall have the

amount of color specified hereinafter for the variety. (See Color Re-

quirements, Tolerances and Condition after Storage or Transit.)

U. S, Fancy consists gf apples of one variety which are mature (1)

but not everripe (2), carefully hand-picked (3), clean (4), fairly well

forméd (7), free. frorn decay, internal browning, internal breakdown.

Witter pit, Jonathan spot, scald, freezing injury, broken skins and

bruises («xcept those incident to proper handling and packing), and

visible water core. The apples shall also be free- from damage (8)

cd@used by russeting (8a), sunburn or s ray burn (8b), limb rubs (8c

hail (8d), drought spots (8d), scars (8d), stem or calyx cracks (8e),

other diseases (8f), insects (8g), or mechanical or other means. Each

apple of this grade shall have the amount of color specified herein-

after for the variety. (See Color Requirements, Tolerances and (on-

dition after Storage or Transit.)) *

U?S. No. 1. The requirements for this grade are the same as US

Fancy except for color and russeting. In this grade less color is re-

quired for all varieties except yellow and green varieties for whic?

15 .

he requirements for both grades are the same. Apples of this grace

hall be free from excessive damage caused by russeting which means

hat they shall meet the russeting requirements for U. S. Fancy as

iefinéd under the definitions of “damage by russeting™ (8a), Pro-

ided,-That, the aggregate area of an apple which may be covered

yy smooth net-like russeting shall not exceed 25 per cent: And fur-

her provided, That, the aggregate arca of an apple which may. be

overed by smooth sol.d russeting shall not exceed 10 per cent. (See

Color Requirements. In addition to the requirements specified

or the above grades, apples of these grades shall have the percentage

f color specified far the variety in Table I. For the solid red Varieties

he percentage stated refers to the area of the surface which must.be

overed with a good shade of solid red charac istic of the varicty:

rovided. That, an apple having color of a lig shade of sojed red

t striped red than that considered as a good shade of red chara¢ter-

tic of the variety may be admitted to a grade,”provided it has suf-

cient additional area covered so that the apple has as good an ap-

earance as one with the minimum percentage of good red character-

tic of the variety required for the grade. For the striped red varie-

¢s the percentage stated refers to the area of the surface in which

ie stripes of a good shade of red characteristic of the variety shall

redominate over stripes of lighter red, green, or yellow. However.

n apple having color of a lighter shade than that considered as a

bod shade of red characteristic of thg variety may be admitted to a

rade: Provided, That, it has sufficient additional area covered so

a apple has as good an appearance as ot.e with the minimum

ercentage of stripes of a good red characteristic of the Variety re-

uired for the grade. Faded brown stripes shall not be considered as

lor except in the case of the Gray Baldwin variety.

-

»

16

Table I—Color Requirements for Specified U. 8. Srades of ‘ian

by Varieties

U.S. Extre U.S US

Fancy - Fancy No 1

Variety percent percent percent

Soiid ‘Red:

Black Ben ae ; 75 50 25

Gano... : he 75 50 — 25

See pea ea 75 50 25

Other similar varieties”. ty age ee 75 50 . 2

Red Sport varieties®. . 75 50 25

Striped or partially red:

i a a ; : 66 33 25

Jonathan REISER Re tick wad = 66 33 25

ES eee eee ti 66 33 25

Other similar varieties® Padowants 66 33 25

I Ca ee. Guha eis cs De ae ee | 25 + 15

Ben Davis. __........ Reg See ae ee 50 25 ° 15°

TE ee ey 15 25 15

Mammoth Black Twig... .. 50 25 15

Northern Spy __..... poet Ate vare 50 25 1S

Rome Beauty ar Sega as 50 25 15

I Gk ce ; 50 25 15

Re Me ee %,, 3 50 25 15

is ce eacs sean os 50, 25 15

es indiana Pei ae eNgegia 50 25 . 15

Willow Twig Pron eeu Ls Poe 50 25 15

York Imperia! ................ % 50 25 15

Other similar varieties®........ lean 50 25 15

Hubbardston ...—s_d.............. ; 50 15 10

se a ee i nok es 50 15. 10

Other similar varieties ‘ane are ae pag 50 15 10

Red June . BOR sk wis es ENG 50 15

SESE ap el te en ‘50 15 :

Other similar varieties... . 50 15 $

Gravenstein................. — 25 «910 »)

17

‘Table 1—Continued

Varicty

Red cheeked or blushed: :

Maiden Blush .. he ree

Twenty Ounce .. aA EPA aer Ere

Winter Banana . ae

Other similar varieties...

ees. GOREN ww ike ee thea

Yellow varieties... .. Y More

U.S. Extra

Fancy

U.S

Fancy

Us.

No.1

percent percent percent

@

®

€

©

©

¢

@

®

-@°

(») .

®

®

®

@

©

* When Red Sport varieties are specified as such they shall meet the

color requirements specied for Red Sport varicties..

! Haralson, Kendal!, Macoun; Melba, Snow (Fameuse)..

* Bonum, Early McIntosh, Limbertwig, Milton, Nero, Paragon.

© Tinge of color.

£ Duchess Red Astrachan, Smokehouse.’ Summer Rambo.

g Blush cheek.

’ None.

’ © Characteristic ground color. ”

’

*75 percent characteristic color. Note: “Characteristic color’, when

the white around the lenticels predominates over the green color,

creating a mottling effect on the ‘surface of th

considered as the minimum characteristic color.

_ TOLERANCES

e apple. it shall be

In order to allow for variations incident to proper grading and

_ handling, not more than a total of 10 percent of the apples in any lot

may fail to meet the requirements of the grade: Provided, That, not

more than -half of this amount, or 5 percent, shall be allowed for

apples which are seriously damaged by insects and including not

down or both.

. mere than 1 percent for apples affected by deéfay or internal break-

When applying -the: foregoing tolerances to. Combination U. S.

Extra Fancy and U. S. Fancy grade, no part of any tolerance shall be

alowed to reduce, for the lot as a. whole, the 25 percent of apples of

the higher grade required in the combination, but individual contain-

ers shall have not less than 15 percent of the higher grade.

- When applying the foregoing tolerances to Combination VU. S.

Fancy and U. S. No. 1 grade, and to Combination U. S. No. 1 and U. S.

Utility grade, no part of.any tolerance shall be allowed to reduce, for

the lot as a whole, ‘the 50 percent of apples of the higher grade re-

quired in the combination, but individual containers shall have not

less than 40 percent of the higher grade.

. 18 :

APPLICATION OF TOLERANCES TO INDIVIDUAL

, PACKAGES

The contents of individual packages in the lot based on samp'e

inspection, are subject to the following limitations, provided the

we for the entire lot are within the tolerances specified for the

grade: ; ’

For packages which contain more than 10 pounds, and a tolerance

of 10 percent or more is provided (as in the case of size, where

tolerance of 15 percent is provided) individual packages in any lo

shall have not more than one arid one-half times the tolerance spec:-

fied. For packages which contain more than 10 pounds and a tolerance

of less than 10 percent is provided, individual packages in any lot ,

shall have not more than double the tolerance specified, ‘except. that

at least one apple which is seriously damaged by insects or affected

by decay or internal breakdown may be permitted in any package

For packages which contain 10 pounds or less, individual packages

in any lot are not restricted as to the pereentage of defects: Pro-

vided, That, not more than one apple which is seriously damaged by

insects or affected by decay or internal breakdown may be permitted

in“any package. ;

BASIS OF CALCULATING PERCENTAGES

When the numerical count is marked on the container, percentages

shall be calculated on the basis of count. '

When the minimum diameter or minimum and maxjmum diam-

etets are marked on the container, percentages shall be calculated on

the basis of weight. oe ; i

When the apples are in bulk: percentages shall be calculated on

the basis of weight. i

CONDITION AFTER STORACE OR TRANSIT

Decay, scald, or any other deterioration which may have developed

on apples after they have been in storage or transit shall be consid-

ered as affecting condition and not the grade.

SIZE REQUIREMENTS

The numerical count or the minimum diameter of the apples

packed in a closed container ‘shall be indicated on the container.

Wheh the numerical count is marked on the container the min-

imum size of the largest apple shall be not more than one-fourth inch

larger fhan the minimum size of the smallest apple. Sear:

When the numerical count is not shown the minimum diameter

shall be plainly stamped, stenciled, or otherwise marked on the con-

tainer in terms of whole inches, whole and half inches, whole and

quarter inches, or whole and eighth inches, as 24% inches minimum.

244 inches minimum, or 2% inches.minimum, in accordance wii) the

facts. Jt is suggestedghat both minimum and maximum diameters be

marked on the container, as 2% to 2% inches, or 2% to 2% inches, as

oan an “~ ‘

19

such marking is especially desirable for apples marketed in the export

trade. ;

The measurement for minimum size shall be the largest diameter

of the apple taken as right angles to a line from the stem end to the

blossom end. The measurement for maximum size shall be the

smallest dimension of the apple determined by passing the apple

through a round opening.

In order to allow for variations incident to proper sizing, not

more than 5 percent of the apples in any lot may not meet the size

requirements: Provided, That, when the maximum and minimum

sizes are both stated, an additional 10 percent tolerance sha!l be al-

lowed for-apples which are larger than the maximum size stated.

PACKING REQUIREMENTS

Each package shall be packed so that thd\applés'on the shown

facegshall be reasonably ‘representative in size, color and quality of

the contents of the package. et

* Boxes. Apples packed in the standard northwestern apple boxes

shall be arranged in the containers according to the approved and

recognized methods with the stems pointing toward the ends of the

boxes, except wifen jumbled. ‘All packages shall be well filled but

not to the extent as to cause excessive or unnecessary bruising to the

apples because of overfilled packages. Apples packed in the standard

northwestern apple boxes shall be tightly packed with sufficient bulge

to prevent any appreciable movement of the apples within the con-

tainers when lidded. Each wrapped apple,shall be completely en-

closed by its individual wrapper.

Apples packed in other type boxes, such as nailed wooden boxes,

wire-bound boxes, and fibreboard boxes, may be place packed, jum-

ble packed faced, or jumble packed, and all packs shall be well filled.

Apples packed in boxes equipped - with “tell compartments or

molded trays shall be of the proper size for the cells or the molds vin

which they are packed. 9

Apples packed in consumer unit cartons and packed into shipping

containers shall completely fill the shipping container.

Baskets. Apples packed in U. S. standard bushel baskets, one-half

bushel baskets and five-eighths bushel baskets may be ring faced and

shall be tightly packed with sufficient bulge to prevent any appre-

siable movement of the apples within the containers when lidded.

Barrels. Apples packed in barrels shall be tightly packed.

In order’ to allow for variations incident to proper packing, not

more than 5 percent of the containers in any lot may not meet these

requirements.

Marking Requirements.

Containers of apples packed to the U. S. grades shafl meet all of

the container marking requirements as set forth on page 13.

i. s -

20

STANDARDS FOR EXPORT

As applied to conditiun factors:

1. The apples in any lot shall be generally tightly packed when

1 barrels or baskets, and generally fairly tightly or tightly packed

when in boxes...

' 2. Not more than 5 percent, of the apples in any lot shall be fur-

ther advanced in, maturity than firm ripe. ad

3. Not more than 5 percent of the apples in any lot shall be dam-

aged by storage scab.

. Not than a total of 5 percent of the apples in any lot

shall be dama ed by bitter pit, Jonathan spot, scald, internal break-

down, water core, freezing, decay, or other such condition factors:

Provided, That, : : : .

(a) Not-more than 2 percent shall be ‘allowed for apples af-

fected by decay; |

(b) Not more than 2 percent shall be allowed for damage by(

internal breakdown; Cc

(c) Not more than 2 percent of slight scald shall be permitted

for applels properly packed in oiled Paper or which have

been especially treated with oil to prevent scald; other-

wise, the my must be free from scald. eat

Any lot of apples sMall be considered as meeing the standards for

export if the entire lot averages within the requirements specified:

Provided, That, no sample from the containers in any lot-is found to

exceed double the .percentages specified, except that for packages

which contain 10 pounds or less, individual packages in any lot afe

not restricted as to the percentage defects if the entire lot averages

within the tolerances specified.

_ DEFINiiIONS

As used in these standards: :

(1) “Mature” means that the apples have reached the stage of

growth which wil] insure the proper completion of the ripening

process. Before a mature apples becomes overripe it will show vary-

ing degrees of firmness, depending upon the stage of the ripening

process. The following terms are used for describing these different

‘stages of firmness of apples:

(a) “Hard” means apples with a tenacious flesh and starchy flavor.

Apples at this stage are suitable for storage and long-distance

, Shipment. ; .

(b) “Firm” means apples with a tenacious flesh but which are

ming crisp with a slightly starchy flavor, except the

Delicious variety. Apples at this stage are also suitable for

storage and long-distance shipment.

(c) “Firm ripe” means apples with crisp flesh except that the

flesh of the apples of the Gano, Ben Davis, and Rome Beauty

varieties may be slightly mealy. Apples at this stage may be .

shipped iong distances but shouid be moved into consumption

within a-short period of time. ;

21 -

(d) “Ripe” means apples with mealy flesh and soon to become.

} soft for the variety. Apples at this stage should be moved

immediately into consumption. ‘

(2) “Overripe”. means apples which are dead ripe, with flesh

f very mealy or soft, and past commercial utility. ° "

(3) “Carefully hand-picked” means that the apples do not show

_ evidence of rough handling or of having been on the ground.

_ °_ (4) “Clean” means that the apples are free from excessive dirt,

, dust, spray residue and other foreign material.

(5) “Well formed” means that the apple has the normal shape

characteristic of the variety, except that the shape may be slightiy

irregular, provided, it does not detract from the general appearance

- of the apple. , 2

(6) “Injury” means any defect which more than slightly affects

the appearance, or the edible or shipping quality of the apples.

(a) Russeting in the stem cavity or Calyx basin which cannot be

seen when the apple is placed stem end or calyx end down)

on a-filat surface, shall not be considered in determining

whether or not on apple is injured by russeting, except that: .

rough or bark-like russeting in the stem cavity or calyx

basin shall be considered as injury. when the appearance of

the apple is materially affected. The ‘following types and

y ‘amounts of russeting outside_of the stem cavity -or calyx

basin, shall be considered as injury: —_—

(i) Smooth. net-like russeting, when’ an aggregate are of

more than 5 percent of the surface is covered, and the

color of the russeting shows no very pronounced con-

trats with the background color of the apple, or lesser

amounts of more conspicuous net-like russeting when the

appearance is affected to a greater extent than the above

amount permitted. ! ;

(ii) Smooth, solid russeting’ which covers an aggregate area

of more: than one-half inch in diameter, and the pattern

and color of the russeting shows no very pronounced con-

trast with the background color of the apple, or lesser

amounts of more conspicuous solid russeting when the

appearance is effected to.a greater extent than the above

+ amount permitted.® :

(iii) SlighYy rough russeting which covers an aggregate area

of more than one-fourth inch in diameter.®

(iv) Rough russeting, unless it is well within the stem cavity

or calyx basin and ‘is not.readily apparent. —

Any one of the following defects, or any combination thereof, the

Seriousness of which exceeds the maximum allowed for any one de-

fect, shall be considered ,as injury: so

(b) Sunburn or spray burn, when the discolored area does:not

blend into the normal color of the fruit. .

(c) Dark brown or black limb rubs which affect a-total area of

more than one-eighth inch in diameter, except that light

@® The area refers to that of a circle of the specified diameter

a

-(e)

(f)

(8)

(7)

. : ey

brown limb rubs of a russet character shall be consideres

under the definition of injury by russeting (6a).©

Hail marks, drought spots or other similar depressions or

sears where there is appreciable discdloration other thar

russeting, or when the indentations are not superticial, or

when an individual indentation exceeds one-righth inch jr

diameter, or the total affected area exceeds one-fourth inc*

in diameter.© : ae ,

Stem or calyx cracks which are not well healed, or. wei!

healed stem.or calyx craeks which exceed a length of one-

eighth inch. | ae

Diseases: ‘ . be

(i) Cedar rust infection which affects a total area of mon

than one-eighth inch-in diameter.®

(iiy Sooty blotch or fly speck which is thinly, scattered over

more than 5 percent of the surface, or dark, heavily con-

centrated spots which affect an area of more than one-

fourth inch in diameter.©®

(iii) Red skin spots which are thinly scattered over more thar.

one-tenth of the surface, or dark, heavily concentrate:

spots which affect an area of more than one-fourtii inch

in diamettr.® ,

Insects: ‘

(i) Any healed sting or healed stings which affect a tote’

area of more than one-eighth inch in diameter including

any encircling discolored rings.©

(ii) Worm holes.

“Fairly well formed” means that the apple may be Slight!

abnormal in shape but not to an extent which detracts material)

from its appearance. :

(8)

“Damage” means any defect which materially affects the.ap-

pearance, or the edible or shipping quality of the @pples.

(a).

@ The area refers to that of a,circle of the specified diameter. ;

RuSseting in the stem cavity or calyx basin which cannot be

seen when the apple is placed stem end or calyx end on 4

flat surface shall not be considered in detetmining whether

or not an apple is damaged by russeting, except that exces-

sively rough or bark-like fusseting in the stem cavit¥ or

calyx basin shall be considered as damage when the appear-

ance of the apple is materially affected. The following type:

and amounts of. russeting outside’ Of, the stem cavity or calyx

basin, shall be considered as damage.

(i) Russeting which is.excessf[vely rough on Roxburg Russe:

and other similar varieties. ‘ , ;

(ii) ‘Smooth net-like russeting, when an aggregate area o!

‘more than 15 percent of the surface is covered, and the

color of the russeting shows no very pronounced con-

trast with the background color of the apple, or lesser

amounts of more conspicuous net-like russeting wher

¢

. : - 23

the. appéarance is affected to a greater extent than the

above amount permitted. ‘

(iii) Smooth solid russeting, when an aggregate area of more

than 5 percent-of the surface is covered, and the pattern

‘and color of the riisseting shows. no very pronounced

contrast with the background color of the apple, or lesser

amounts of more conspjcuous solid russeting when the ap-

pearance is affected t

amount permitted.

(iv) Slightly rough russeting which covers an aggregate area

of more than one-half inch in diameter.® e:

(v). Rough russeting which exceeds one-fourth inch in diam-

eter, unless.it is well within the stem cavity or calyx

basin and is not readily apparent.® ;

Any one of the following defects, or any combination thereof, the

seriousness of which exceeds the maximum allowed for any one de-

fect, shall be considered as damage: iy

(b) Sunburn or spray burn which has caused blistering or crack-

ing of the skin, or when the discolored area does not blend

into the normal color of the fruit unless the injury can be

_ _ ¢lassed.as russeting.

(c) Limb rubs which affect a total area of more than one-half

’ inch in diameter, except that light brown limb rubs of a rus-

set character shall be considered under the definition of dam-

age by russeting (8a).® y

(d) Hail marks, drought spots, or other similar depressions or

scars which are not superficial, or when such injury affects

a total area of more than one-half inch in diameter. .

(e) Stem or calyx cracks which are not well healed, or ‘well

healed stem or calyx cracks which exceed an aggregate length

of one-fourth inch. . ‘

(f) Diseases:

(i) Scab spots which affect a total aren of more than one-

fourth inch in diameter ® — :

(ii) Cedar rust infe¢tion which affects a total area of more

than one-fourth inch in diameter.®

(iii) Sooty blotch or fly speck which is thinly scattered over

. more than one-tenth of the surface, or dark, heavily con-

centrated spots which affect an area of more than a _one-

half inch in diameter®

(iv) Red skin spots which dre thinly scattered over mortf

than one-tenth of the surface, or dark, heavily concen-

trated spots which affect an area of more than one-half

inch in ,diameter.®

(g) Insects:

(i) Any healed sting or healed stings which affect a total area

of more than three-sixteenths inch in diameter including

any encircling discolored rings.®

(ii) Worm_holes.

' The area refers to that of a circle of the specified diameter.

a greater extent than the above

.

24

~ SPOTS SHOWING DIAMETERS IN FRACTIONS OF AN INCH

ARE ILLUSTRATED BELOW

One-eighth inch.

‘ Three-sixteenths inch.

One-fourth inch.

Three-eighths inch.

One-half inch.

Three-fourths inch.

June 22. 1956.

35

IN THE

SUP ERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF VW ‘ASHINGTON

IN AND FOR a COUNTY

CEcIL C. CLARK and CATHERINE

CLARK, husband and wife,

Plaintiffs, | | No. 43477

JOE DWYER, Diverter of Agriculture DEMURRE R

of the State of W ashington, .

Defendant. | aa

ie NOW the defendant. Joe Dwyer, Direc-

tor of Agriculture of the State of W ashington,

ee his attorneys, the Attorney General and

Ernest M. Furnia, Assistant; and demurs to the

amended complaint of the plaintiffs, Cecil C. Clark,

et ux, on the following grounds:

i

' That the court has no jurisdiction of the defend-

ant or the subject matter of the action.

. - aE. ae

That the plaintiff has no legal capacity te sue.

id ITI. _

That there. is‘another action pending between :the

same parties for the same cause.

| IV.

That there is a defect of parties plaintiff or des

fendant.

V.

That several causes of action have been improper-

lv united.

VI.

That the complaint does not state facts sufficient

to'constitute a cause of action.

36

; VIl.

That the action has not been comnienced within

- the time limited by law.

Dated this 11th day of June, 1959.

JOHN J. O’CONNELL

Attorney General

aa oon $/Ernest M. Furnia

ERNEST M. FURNIA =e.

Assistant Attorney General

. IN THE

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE.STATE OF WASHINGTON

IN AND FOR YAKIMA COUNTY

CeciL C. CLARK. and CATHERINE

CLARK,. husband and wife, ~ No. 43477

Plaintifis, | ORDER

Vs. OVER-

|

|

JOR DWYER, Director of Agriculture RULING

. of the vad of Washington, DEMURRER

Defendant. ‘

THIS MATTER came on duly and regularly for

- hearing before the Honorable Lloyd L, Wiehl, Judge

of the abové-entitled Court, on the Demurrer of De-

fe ndant to Plaintiffs’ Amended Complaint, the Plain-

tiffs appearing by their attorneys, Halverson, Apple- _

‘gate & McDonald and Donald H. Brazier, Jr., and

the Defendant appearing by John J. O’Corfhell, At-

torney General, and Ernest M. Furnia, Assistant

Attorney General. and the Court having heard and

considered the arguments of counsel and Being fully

ddvised in the premises,

Now, THEREFORE; IT IS HEREBY, ORDERED that the

~ Demurrer of the Defendant to Plaintiffs’ “Amended

Complaint be and the same is hereby overruled.

if

37

DONE IN OPEN COURT this 26th day of June. 1959.

x/ Lloyd L. Wiehl

‘Judge -

Prese or by:

s/C. W. Halverson

- Of Halverson, Applegate & MeDonald aa ce

and Donald H. Brazier, Jr:,

Attorneys for Plaintiffs. |

OKAY AS TO FORM: orate .

-s/Ervest M. Furnia “

Assistant Attorney General

: IN THE

. SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF W ASHING TON

IN AND FOR YAKIMA COUNTY

CecIL C. CLARK and CATHERINE}

CLARK, husband and wife, | |

ue Plaintitts, | No: 43477

Jor Dyes, Director ot Agriculture | JUDGMENT.

of the State of Washington, |

i ay, fe wdant. | ae

~ THIS CAUSE having come on for hearing on June -

19, 1959, on the Defendant's demurrer to the Plain-

tiffs’ amended complaint and the Court having heard: |

the argument of counsel and having on June 26,

1959, entered an order overruling said Defendant's

demurrer to Plaintiffs’ amended complaint and the’

Defendant having been given an opportunity to plead

further and said Defendant having declined to se

plead and the Court being fully advised in the prem-

ises, “i , ;

NoW, THEREFORE, IT "IS HEREBY ORDERED, AD-

JEGGED AND DECREED that Chapter 230, Session Laws

P1950, State of Washington, be and the same is_

he reby declared unconstitutional an® void! and

Z

| 38

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED

that the Defendant be and he is hereby permanently

enjoined from enforcing and carrying out the pro-

visions of said Chapter 230, Session Laws of 1959,

and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Plaintiffs be and.

they are hereby awarded judgment against the De-

fendant for .their costs and disbursements herein

expended and incurred. -

DONE IN OPEN COURT this 27th day of July, 1959.

lentes - wd iehl

bys reed. July 21, 1959

rnest M. Furnia

ee Resiahant Attorney General

Presented by:

8/C: W. Halverson

Of Halverson, Applegate & McDonald

Attorneys for Plaintiff.

IN THE

S. ’ERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON

IN AND FOR YAKIMA COUNTY

‘CEcIL C. CLARK and CATHERINE |)

CLARK, husband and wife, -

aie. Plaintiffs, No. 43477

. VS. NOTICE OF

JoE DwYER, Director of Agriculture |} APPEAL

of the State of Washington, ,

‘Defendant. |

To Cecil C. Clark and Catherine Clark, hus ind and

wjfe, and to Halverson, Applegate & N cDonald,

their attorneys:

Y6u and each of you are hereby notified that the

defendant, Joe Dwyer, Director of Agriculture of the

State of Washington, feeling himself aggrieved, does

39

hereby appeal to the Supreme Court of the State of

Washington from each and every part of that cer-

tain judgment made and entered herein by the above-

entitled court on July 27, 1959, whereby and wherein

Chapter 230, Laws of 1959 was declared unconsti-

tutional and void, defendant was permanently en-

joined from enforcing and carrying out the provi-

sions of Chapter 230, Laws of 1959, and plaintiffs

were awarded costs and disbursements.

Dated at Olympia, Washington, this 29th day of

July, 1959,

JOHN J, O'CONNELL

Attorney General

s/Ernest M. Purnia

Ernest M. Furnia

Assistant Attorney General

Temple of Justice

_- Olympia, Washington

c Counsel for Defendant

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON |

May Session A. D. 1960

BE IT REMEMBERED, That at a regular session of

the Supreme Court of the State of Washington, be-

gun and holdén at Olympia, on the second Monday of

May, A. D. 1960, it ‘being the ninth day of said

month, among other, the following was had and done,

to wit:

Friday, August 19, 1960

40

CEcIL C. CLARK and CATHERINE

CLARK, husband ~ ih No, 35260

7 Vs. .

Jor Dwyer, as Director of the f Counts

Department of Agriculture of sient

the State of Washington,

. - Appellant. |

This cause having been heretofore submitted to

the Court, upon the transcript of the record. of the

Superior Court of. Yakima County, and upon the

argument of counsel, and the court having filly con-

sidered the same, and being fully advised in the

premises, it is now, on this 19th day of August, A. D.

1960, on motion of John J. O’Connell, Esquire, of-

counsel for appellant, considered, adjudged and de- .-

creed, that the demurrer of the said Superior Court

should have been sustained and the action dismissed; -

_and that the said Joe Dwyer, as Director of the De-

partment of Agriculture of the State of Washington,

have and recover of and from the said Cecil.C. Clark -

and Catherine Clark, husband and wife, the costs of

this action taxed and allowed at One hundred ninety-

two and no 100 ($192.00) . .. Dollars, and that said

execution issue therefor. And it is further ordered, .

that this cause be remitted to the said Superior Court

for further proceedings, in accordance herewith.

. 1, ROBERT HOLSTEIN, Clerk of the Supreme Court

of the State of Washington, do hereby certify that |

the foregoing: is a true copy of the Judgment and

Decree in said cause, as the same now remains ol

record in my office. . }

41

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOFP, I ‘have hereunto set my

hand.and affixed the seal of said Court at Olympia,

this 19th day of August, A. D. 1960.

e : s/Robert Holstein

. ROBERT HOLSTEIN,

Clerk of the Supreme Court,

State of Washington.

(Here follows en banc opinion of Supr eme Court

of the State of Washington, reprinted in full as Ap-

pendix “A.” ) °

<a

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF. WASHINGTON

IN AND FOR YAKIMA COUNTY.

) : °

Cect, C. CLARK and CATIFERINE

CLARK, husband and wife, No. 43477

Plaintiffs, JUDGMENT

Vs." L * ‘ON

JOE Dwyer, Director of Aer iculture | QREMIT- .

of the State of Washington, TITUR:

Defendant.

THIS CAUSE coming on duly and regularly for

hearing, the parties hereto appearing by their re-

spective counsel of record herein, and it appearing

to the court that the defendant heretofore demurred

to plaintiffs’ amended complaint and that an order

Was entered overruling said defenciant’s demurrer

and the defendant hav ing declined to plead further,

judgment was entered in the above entitled case on

the 27th day of July, 1959 in favor of plaintiffs and

‘ against the defendant, and it further appearing that.

said judgment was duly appealed to the Supreme

Court of the State of Washington and after hearing

the Supreme ,Court reversed said judgment, all of

which more fully appears in the remittitur on file

——*

1960.

Assistant Attorney General

42 -

herein, and it further appearing that said plaintiffs!

have been given an opportunity to plead furthér and

said plaintiffs have declined to so plead and the court »

having considéred all of the records and files herein

and being fully advised in the premises,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT/ IS HEREBY ORDERED, -AD-

* JUDGED AND DECREED that the judgment heretofore

and on the 27th day of July, 1959, duly entered in

the above entitled court and cause be and the same is ~

hereby reversed and set aside, and ,

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED

that plaintiffs’ complaint and plaintiffs’ amended

complaint be and they are hereby dismissed. with

prejudice, and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the defendant be and

he is hereby entitled to recover judgment against the

plaintiffs for defendant’s costs to be taxed herein.

DONE IN OPEN CouRT this 11th day of October,

s/ Lloyd L. Wiehl

ate Fee: Judge

Presented by: 3

s/Alan A. McDonald

Of Halverson, Applegate & McDonald

and Walter E. Weeks, Jr.

Attorneys ‘for Plaintiffs

APPROVED:

s/Philip M. Parkes

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.