Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Barnard v. United States
Supreme Court brief1958
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
'
8 ¥ . :
. fy INTHE - f) sui 21
SUPREME COURT OF THE U
° OCTOBER TERM, 1958.
192:
WILLIAM LLOYD BARNARD, JOHN W. DAILEY, CHARLES. W.
HUMPHREY, DONALD HENRY SMALLIGAN, PETER
— SMEDES and ROY HENRY STORES, Petitioners,
vs. .
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.
JOHN W. DAILEY, ROBERT E. LUKENS and JAMES F. BOGUE,
Petitioners,
-
VS. :
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.
«WILLIAM LLOYD ‘BARNARD, WALTER H. MORSE and
a HOMER A. KELLEY, Petitioners,
¥- vs. :
’ UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.
;DONALD HENRY. SMALLIGAN, PETER JOHN SMEDES and -
: ¢
bahar LLOYD BARNARD, Petitioners,
“VS. ,
‘UNITED STATES, OF AMERICA, ee a
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE. |
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
' FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT.
DANIEL L. BRENNER, J. A. DICKINSON;
JAMES E. LOCKWOOD, : IJAVID PRAGER,
Roscoe C. VAN VALKENBURGH, 608 New England. Buildings:
800 Lathrop Building, Topeka, Kansas, Me
‘Kansas City, Missouri,: Patrick J. WARNICK, J
Avvin C. RANDALL, * 1008 Union Natl. Bank Bldg.,
WILLIAM S. HOGSETT, Wichita. Kansas,
1122 Rialto Building,
Kansas City, Missouri, ° Epwaxp F. ARN, So
KE EA ster ° _ 200-11 Beacon Building
‘DWIiN KNS ot +s are Ge :
. ; : ' Wichita, Kansas,
322 Professional. Building, . ; 8 McD ;
a ree
Kansas City, Missouri, Le OSEPH 52. BEC OWEEL,
8 * 511 Huron Building,
. Kansas City, Kansas,
Attorneys for Petitioners.
o
a 0 ee
Fo oL Mespesuare. Pee, 1108 Onk Street, Kansas City 6, Mo, HArrison 1.2020
5
INDEX
Opinions Below
Jurisdiction
Questions Presented
Statutes Involved ~ ;
Statement of Case . ; -4
Reasons Relied On for Cesiean the Writ 8.
I. The Tenth Circuit Court, of Appeals has decided
an important question of Federal defense con-
tract law and regulation, not yet decided by this
Court, which decision is in conflict with deci-
sions of other circuits, and with Acts of Congress
. and Executive Regulation, as well ‘as the con- ~
tract itself “—
II. The opinion below, in “holding ‘that the > Thdict-
ments were sufficient even though they failed
‘to allege knéwledge by defendants of the nature
of the prime contract, conflicts with prior deci-
sions of this court and with opinions of other
own *s wn
circuits i 9
Conclusion . t2
Appendix A—Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the
— Tenth Circuit «- JA
Appendix B—Title 41, U.S.C., Sections 5land54 . 13A
Appendix C—Code of Federal Regulations, Title.32 1I5A
¥
TABLE OF CASES
Automatic Canteen Compan} of America v. Federal
Trade Commission, 346 U.S. 61, 73 S. Ct. 1017, 97
L. Ed. 1454 See 10
Commissioner of Internal-Revenue v. Wheeler, 65 S.
Ct. 799, 324 U.S. 542 , ° 7
II INDEX
Crank United States, 61.F.2d 620 | 10 +
. Hanis v. United States, 246 F.2d 781 : 9,10,1)) |
Hewitt v. Speyer, 250 Fed--367,162.C.C-A.437 7
Moens v. Wnised States, 267 Fed. 317 | oo Gre
Morisette v. United States, 342 U:S. 246, 72 S. Ct. 240,
96 L. Ed. 288 | 10, 11
Pettibone v. United States, 148 US. 147, 13 S. Ct. 542, .
ae 8 RE eS oe eat pe ae ae
Sheridan-Wyoming Coal Co. v. Krug, 172 F.2d 282 aor,
St. Josep prvckyares v. United States, 187 Fed. 104. 10
* Symington Co. v. C.1..R., 33. F.2d 372 ee a
United States v. Carll, 105 U.S. 611, 26 L. Ed. 1135 10
United States v. Cruikshank, 92 U.S. 542, 23 L. Ed. 588 10
United States v. Twelve Miami aiower Slot Machines,
213 F.2d 918 » —~—
. STATUTES CrrED = are
- 32 Code of Federal Regulations 3.403, 3.404, om
1.403 (a) a 3, 4, 15A.
R. S. 161, 5 U.S.C. 22, 62 Stat.,21, Sec. 638, 66 Stat. 537. 3
Title 41, U.S.C. 151- 162 (now Title 10, Sec. 2301-2314)
a, 1am; ©, ‘IBA
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
: OCTOBER TERM, 1958.
No.
WILLIAM LLOYD BARNARD, JOHN W. DAILEY, CHARLES W.
HUMPHREY, DONALD HENRY SMALLIGAN, PETER
JOHN SMEDES and ROY HENRY STORES, Petitiorers,
VS.
‘UNITED’ STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.
JOHN W. DAILEY, ROBERT E. LUKENS ‘and JAMES F. BOGUE, .
Petitioners, i
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.
WILLIAM LLOYD BARNARD, WALTER H. MORSE ‘and
: HOMER A. KELLEY, Petitioners,
VS.
‘UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent.
DONALD HENRY SMALLIGAN, PETER JOHN SMEDES and
WILLIAM LLOYD BARNARD, Petitioners,
vs.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, mesponaent.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE —
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS . a,
POR THE TENTH CIRCUIT. :
Petitioners. ‘in the above described snmadiiiianes cases,
by-their attorneys, respectfully pray that a writ of cer-
tiorari be issued out of and under the seal’ of this Court
to review the judgment of the ‘United States Court of |
Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, entered in | these causes on
— 2, 1958.
e
OPINIONS BELOW.
The United States District Court for-the District of
Kansas sustained motions to dismiss the indictments against.
petitioners without opinion on August 26, 1957. After ap-
_ peal by the United States, the various cases were con-
solidated by order of the Court of Apneals January 9, 1958.
The opinion of the Court of Appeals has not yet be@fi re-
ported, but appears in the record on Certiorari at pages
4 to 19,..and a printed copy thereof is appended to this —
petition. No opinion was rendered. by. the Court of Ap-
peals in denying the Petition for Rehearing.
- JURISDICTION.
The prernner of the Court of Appeals for the Tenth a
Circuit sought to be reviewed, was dated May 2, 1958, and
entered.on the same date (R. 20). Petition for rehearing.
was denied on May 23, 1958 (R. 26):. Time within which
to file petition for certiorari was extended by this Court
on June 22 to July 22, 1958.
The jurisdiction of this Court As invoked under 28
USC., Section 1254(1).
QUESTIONS PRESENTED.
1. Does a “gost-reimbursable” contract under the
anti-kickback statute include a contract which provides for
the payment of a unit price’ and which does not require a
‘that the government reimburse costs?
~ 1Certified record‘on certiorari is hereinafter referred to and.
identified as “R.”’. Certified copy-of the record printed for use
in the Court of Appeals. is hereinafter referred to and identified
as “PR.” :
®
| 3 et | :
2. Does the Code of Federal Regulations have the
force of law t ine or limit the provisions of a contract
for military aircraft between the: United States and a prime.
contractor, and determine whether | it it 8 cost-reimbursable.
or @ fixed- fee contract, and does the _ Code so limit the :
_ negotiating authority of- contracting ai
3. May an accused be charged aitd: nahi of the
crime of conspiracy to violate the anti-kickba ‘statute .
without allegation and proof that he knew that*the con-
tractual relationship between the prime contractor and the
government was a prohibited one under the statutes?
STATUTES INVOLVED.
Title 41, U.S.C. 151-162 (now Title 10, Sec. 2301-2314),
the pertinent parts of which are set out in Appendix B.
32 Code of Federal Regulations 3. 405, 3.404, 1.400, 1.403 (a)
(Appendix C): .
_ RS. 161, 5 USC. 22, 62 Stat. 21, Sec. 638, 66 Stat. 537,
gives Secretary of Defense authority to. promulgate regu-- .
lations to govern PennEe, and are not reproduced
verbatim. herein.
- STATEMENT OF CASE.
The District Court dismissed the indictments in these
cases. The judgment which this Court is now asked -to
review is that of the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals re-
versing the District Court judgment ‘and remanding the: °
cases.
a ate se sa and (PR. 1-7, 105-108, 117-120, “199. -130)
are founded on alleged violations of Title 41, U. S. C., Sec-.
tions 51, 52, and 54, commonly. called the Anti-Kickback
Oo:
4.
Statute (Appendix B). In general it prohibits the giving of
gifts or gratuities by subcontractors to employees of a prime
_ contractor having a contract with the United. States, when.
- such prime contract is on a “Cost-plus-a-fixed-fee, or other
_ cost reimbursable basis.”’ ai
In the indictments it: is alleged that the contract in ;
question, AF 33 (038 )-18503, is a “fixed price reimbursable” —
contract.' The pertinent portions of this contract are-re-
produced in the record which was printed for the use of
the court below (PR. 9-94). In order that the District
Court could determine whether the prime contract in
question was of the type contemplated by the statute, it
was, by agreement of the parties, submitted to the Court
prior to its ruling on the motions to dismiss.
. It is a contract between the United States Air Force
are subcontractors who furnished supplies ( tools) to Gen-
eral Motors and are charged- with giving gifts. and ©
gratuities to certain employees of General.Motors, the em-
ployees being the other defendants.
- and General Motors Corporation. Some of the defendants”
“The Air Force contract is designated throughout as a
“Fixed Price Contract.” (For example, PR. 57, 61, 65, 69, -
87). It is classified under the Code. of Federal Regulations
as a type of “fixed-price” contract (appendix G). The
indictments call it a “fixed price reimbursable” contract
it carried a “Restricted” security classification (PR. 9).
* Contract No. AF 33(038)-18504 is not in issue here, as it is
agreed by the Government that defendants were in no way con-
nected with the performance of that contract. However, note
that the indictments refer to it, in the language of the statute,
as “cost reimbursable”, whereas they refer to the contract with
which defendants were concerned as “fixed price reimbursable”,
which is not covered by the statute (PR. 2, 97, 106, 118).
' (PR. 2, 97, 106, 118). Furthermore, until recently released,
O
)
Of course, none of the defendants was a party to said con-
tract. It provides for a retrospective renegotiation of
prices after the completion of the first 71 airplanes built.
The Air Force isnot required by the terms uf the contract
to reimburse General Motors for its costs. It only permits
_ the consideration of costs, along with all other data usually -°
considered in negotiating prices under a new contract (PR.-
Whether it be the original price, or a renegotiated
price, it is a price of so much per unit, under the terms of .
the contract, and is not controlled by the amount of the
eontractor’s costs. ’
Lastly, nowhere do the indictménts charge that the
. defendants had. any, knowledge that the contract between
General Motors and the Air Force was of the ‘‘cost-reim+
bursable” type so as to render. ‘criminal the practice of |
giving gratuities in the hope of obtaining contracts.
The. opinion of the Tenth Circuit Court. of Appeals
(appendix A) holds that it is not necessary to charge that:
defendants had knowledge of the nature of the prime con-
/ tract; that, despite the fact that the parties'.to the prime
contract designated it a fixed price contract, and. despite
’ the fact that the Code of Regulations define it as. such, it
- in fact “partakes” of the characteristics of both a fixed
price and a cost reimbursable sr taallaat that defend-
ants must stand trial.
6
REASONS RELIED ON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.
: ew ae ;
~ e,
‘The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals has decided an
‘important question of Federal defense contract law~and
regulation; not -yet decided by this Court, which decision is
in conflict with decisions of other circuits, and with Acts.
. of Congress. and Executive Regulation, as well as the.
contract itself. :
1. The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals ~“ in this
matter-decided an important question of Federal law which
has not yet been settled by this Court, and which is in dis- ¢~
agreement with the decision reached by District Courts in
_other circuits as well as with the duly adopted regulations
of the Defense Department. A decision by this Court weuld
end any inconsistencies or ambiguities existing and intro-
duce certainty into the interpretation. of government con-
rar
a
+)
“>
- tracts for war materiel, and in defining the area of authority °
of contracting officers, and their power. to bind the govern- |
‘ment.’ An answer would relieye the government of any un- _
’ certainty as to its position in billions of dollars worth. of con-
tract liability with which it must deal in providing for na-'
_ tiohal defense and other purposes. Av failure to provide’
“sn answer might mean a great and otherwise unnecessary
increase in the expense of the’ defense establishment and -
would also increase the uncertainties of the citizen who
deals with the government, in knowing whether he Kas: a
valid contract -and can rely on the Federal Regulation, or
is at the mercy of some: oversight by the government repre-
sentative, over whose decisions he has no control. ‘The | |
effect of the decision of the Circuit Court is to strike down *
the Code of Federal Regulations promulgated by the ‘De-
fense Department under authority of the Acts of Congress,
‘\
i
eae cee
‘s 4 : ; y
* now Title 10, J. S.C. A. 2301-2314, which prescribes the
. form and limitations of the various contracts for, defense
-materials and establishes the» ean of procurement of
these supplies. me
—
_ The decision of the Court of Appeals,” ‘in question,
reached an incorrect conclusion entirely contrary to the in-
tent of Congress and of the Regulations. It has long been
‘the rule that regulations adopted by an executive depart-
ment under legislative authority have:all the force of law,
as this Court deejared in Cofninissioner of Internal Rev-
enue v. Wheeler, 65 S. Ct. 799, 324 U.S. 542. The opinion
below is inconsistent with the. Wheeler decision, and also
with the decision in Sheridan-Wyoming Coal Co. v. Krug,
172 F.2d 282, and with the decision of the Second Circuit
in Hewitt v. Speyer, 250 Fed. 367, 162 C. GC. A. 43
The’ United States is bound in- contract only when the
contract is adopted pursuant to the applicable provisions of
statute authorizing the activity or expenditure, and/a. gov-
ernmental representative has no carte blanche to Wind the
' government: he represents to. any«contract he may
to negotiate. The Court of Appeals has stated (Opini
page 17) that the Regulation is valid ‘for civil purposes but
_ not criminal. There is an obvious inconsistency here that °
this Court should correct, else the Regulation means “fixed
price” for all purposes of. contract’ negotiation and civil
performance, and “cost reimbursable” fér criminal pur-
poses. The words should mean the same in either situa-
tion, and the contracting party which is “conducting this
prosecution has already declared the definition of this as a
“fixed price’ contract. Further, Section 51, Title 41, U.S.
-C. A., does not repeal the Regulation. Consequently, the
; Court of Appeals _ erréd here. “é |
The regulations and the law are a part of the con-
tract for all purposes and there is no conflict between
see fit
as)
a]
0
the civil and the ériminal phases. Section 51, Title 41,
‘ simply operates on the contract situation as it is determined
\ under the regulations and- statfites. The inconsistency
-~ereated by the Court of Appeals should be eliminated.
_ 2. In holding that the contract is both a “‘cost’ reim-
bursable”’ a “fixed price” contract, the Court of Ap-
. peals has again introduced an.element of: inconsistency and
confusion into the field of government contfact law which
‘this Court. has not yet passed upon, but which this Court
could clarify by a decision. The contract itself is every-
where marked and designated «a. “fixed price” contract
(PR. 42) (PR. 43) (PR. 57) (PR. 61)*and further contains
these restrictions (P.R. 32, 33): : |
(d) Negotiations—(1) Upon the filing of the
statements and data required by paragraph (c) of this
Clause, the Contractor and the Contracting Officer will
negotiate promptly in good faith to agree upon prices
for items to -be delivered or®and after the effective
‘date. of the price revision. Negotiations for price re-
visions under this Clayse shall be conducted on the
basis; 5, employing the same types of data (includ-
“ing, without limitations, comparative prices, compara-
-stive costs, and trends thereof) as in the negotiation
-of prices under a: New Department: of the Air Force
contract. —s.. Fi / _ 4
| by
(2) After each negotiation the agreement reached
will be @yidenced by a supplemental agreement -stat-_
ing the revised prices to be effective with respect to
deliveries on and after the effective date of ‘the price
revision (or such other later date as the parties may
\ fix in such stipplemental agreement.
f
j
L Furthermore, the decision below is in conflict with the
decision of the Second Circuit-in Symington Ca. v. €...&.,
33 F. 2d 372, upholding the petitioners’ ‘contention in this.
" matter. Nowhere in the contract is there any formula eéx-.
LA
9°
pressed for the determination of any margip of profit to
the prime contractor, nor is there any provision requiring
reinibursement to the prime contractor of its cost, but it re-
quires only that the partion negotiate.
“The trial court in these cases was of the opinion that
the matter should be dismissed. The United States Dis- |
trict Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania*in an
unreported opirffon in United States of America against
James SamuelMorris et al., 18535, dismissed a case and
discharged thé defendants, where the contract was identical
to the one in the case. at bar. The Court ordered a copy
of his reriarks transmitted to the.Attorney General of the
United States in the event that. he wished to approach
Cangress on the subject of changing the law to include this
particular type of contract.
II.
° The opinion below,.in holding that the i ts
were sufficient even though they failed to allege knowledge
*
by defendants of the nat of the prime contract, conflicts -
_with prior decisions of ‘this court and with opinions of
other circuits.
The decision below should be iain because it up-
holds the sufficiency, of the indictments even though they-
fait to allege, and thus eliminate the necessity of proof, that
the defendants tendered or received the alleged’ gratuities
prohibited under. Section 61, Title 41, U.S.C., kRowing that
General Motors was a prime contractor with a department
of the United States ona cost-plys-a-fixed-fee or other cost-
reimbursable basis. .
*
In so hofding, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals fol-
lowed without. additional reasoning thé opinion of the
Eighth.Circuit in Hanis v. United States, 246 F.2d.781, and
4
&
10 =
thus perpetuated a dangerous concept of the requirements
of “guuty knowledge’”’ necessary to convict, going far be-
yond boundaries heretofore established. 1 Sa
The decision below in this regard is | eaketine Riis in’
conflict with the prior decisions of this court in United
States v.: Cruikshank, 92 U.S..542, 23 L. Ed. 588; United
_ States v. Cart 105 U.S. 611, 26 L. Ed. 1135; Pettibone v.
‘United States, 148 U.S. 147, 13 S. Ct. 542, 37 L.. Ed. 419;
Automatic Canteen Company of America v. Féderal Trade
-Commission, 346 U.S. 61, 73 S. Ct. 1017, 97 L. Ed. 1454, and
Morisette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 72 S. Ct. 240,.96 L.
Ed. 288. Furthermore, the opinion below and the opinion
of the Eighth Circuit in Hanis v. United States, supra, also
conflict with the opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Ap-
peals in United States v. Twelve Miami Digger Slot Ma-
chines, 213 F.2d 918, the Court of Appeals of District of
_. Columbia in Moens ‘v. United States, 267 Fed. 317, and the.
"Ninth Circuit in Crank v. United’ States, 61 F.2d 620. In.
fact, the opinions in the court below and in the Hanis case
cannot be reconciled with the prior Eighth Circuit opinion
in St. Joseph Stockyards v. United States,.187 Fed. 104. °
The indictments uniformly allege that the various de-
fendants, knowingly conspired to violate the.,provisions of
_ the “‘anti-kickback” statute (PR. 1, 5, 6, 105, 117, 119, 120,
+29). The indictments then recite that General Motors Cor-
poration was a prime contractor with. the United States -
under a “fixed. price reimbursable contract with a price
'/ redetermination clause.”. Continuing, the. indictments
- charge that defendants, either as" suppliers of General |
Motors or as employees of General Motors paid or received
various gifts or compensation for the purpose of obtaining
and procuring the award of subcontracts.
At no place. ‘do the indictments further charge that the
defendants gave or received the — gifts — that
ee
General Motors was a prime contractor with the United
States under a cgst-plus or cost- reimbursable contract. ”
If the Court of Appeals. decision’ ‘is pertnitted to stand,
these defendants may be convicted ofa serious felony of- |
fense punishable by penitentiary sentence up to ten years
and never have had any knowledge - or notice that their
activities were prohibited.
The practice of showering favors on purchasing agents
with hope of obtaining orders is perfectly acceptable in pri-
vate industry and is likewise lawful where the prime ‘con-
tractor is supplying the United States, so long as the con-
tract between the two ds not a cost-plus-a-fixed-fee con-
tract or ,other cost-reimbursable contract. It is the exist-
ence of this type contract which makes criminal a practice
otherwise neither malum prohibitum or malum in se. Thus,
it is an essential element of intent or mens rea that the
accused be charged with, and the proof disclose, knowledge
of the existence and character of the prime. contract ‘with
the United States so as to put him on notice that the prac-
tice, dtherwise lawful, isa crime.
p |
The failure of the Tenth Circuit Guineas be-
_ low or the Eighth Circuit in Hanis v. United States, supra,
to require the allegation and proof of guilty knowledge as
required by the express language of Section 54 is contrary
to the opinion of this court in Morisette v, United States,
supra. In that case it was charged that defendant ‘did un-
lawfully, wilfully’and knowingly steal and convert” prop- -
erty of the United States. The evidence disclosed that the de-
fendant had taken-shell casings from a tract of uninhabited
land upon which the government had established a bomb:
ing range, which he discovered while hunting deer and *
-which he believed to be abandoned. This court held that
a ‘knowing conversion” as required by the statute re-
quired-more than mere knowledge that the defendant was
t
_- Kansas City, Missouri,
12
taking, the propert? into his possession. “He must have
had knowledge of the facts, though not necessarily the law,
that made the taking a conversion.” (l.c. 271).
¢
Since fundamental principles of liberty are at stake,
it is important that this court. review the decision below
so as tq guide the policies of the multitude of businessmen
engaged either directly or indirectly in the vast govern-
mental spending program. Particularly is this true when,
as here; the decision sought to be reviewed is so repugnant —
to the historical concept of justice and fair play as to per-
mit conviction and imprisonment of meh who have no
knowledge of the facts which make criminal] their engaging
in practices that are accepted throughout private industry
and lawful even where the government is the ultimate
purchaser, except in the limited instances where the con-
tract between the prime contractor and the government .
is on a cost-plus-a-fixed-fee or other cost-reimbursable
basis. . . | an”
CONCLUSION.
' For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ
of certiorari should be granted. ~
| V4 ty Respectfully submit,
: DANIEL L. BRENNER, J. A. DICKINSON,
JAMES E. LocKwoop, : DAVID PRAGER,
Roscoe C. VAN VALKENBURGH, ' 608 New England Building,
800 Lathrop Building, ; Topeka, Kansas,
Kansas City, Missouri, PATRICK J. WARNICK,
.. VIN C. RANDALL, — 1008 Union-Natl. Bank Bldg.
WILLIAM S. HOGSETT, de Wichita, Kansas,
1122 Rialto Building, Epwarp F. ARN
a 200-11 Beacon Building
Epwin EARNSHAW, .. Wichita, Kansas, ~
322 Professional Building, son
ae JOSEPH H. MCDOWELL, %
- Kansas City, Missouri, ™
511 Huron Building, .
Kansas City, Kansas,
Attorneys for Petitioners.
APPENDIX A.
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
| ‘TENTH CIRCUIT.
MARCH TERM—1958.
UNITED’ STATES OF AMERICA, i
i . Appellant,
VS.
WILLIAM LLOYD BARNARD, JOHN W. ¢ Number 5786.
DAILEY, CHARLES W. HUMPHREY,
DONALD HENRY SMALLIGAN, PETER
JOHN SMEDES and ROY HENRY STOUT,
we | Appellees. J)
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, - 5
* Appellant,
Ws ‘\ Number. 5787.
JOHN W. DAILEY, ROBERT E. LUKENS,
and JAMES F. BOGUE,
Appellees. }
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, 7
7 —
= > Number 5788.
WILLIAM LLOYD BARNARD, WALTON H.
MORSE, and HOMER A.. KELLEY, ;
iz Appellees. 3
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, i;
: , Appellant,
- VS. ;
“DONALD HENRY’ SMALLIGAN, PETER (-Number 5789.
JOHN SMEDES, and WILLIAM LLOYD
BARNARD,
Appellees. J
. ‘ nd -
APPEALS FROM THE PISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.
' FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS. _
oe |
Milton P. Beach, Assistant United States Attorney (William ©
C. Farmer, United. States Attorney, was with him on
- the brief), for Appellant.
J. A. Dickinson and Patrick a, Warnick (David Prager,
William W. Dimmitt, Jr., Sam A. Crow, Donald C.
Little; Alvin C. Randall, Edwin Earnshaw, Roscoe C.
' Van Valkenburgh, ‘James E. Lockwood, Arn & Mul-
lins, and Joseph H. McDowell: were with them on the
brief), for en
"Before BRATTON, Chief Judge, and | HUXMAN and MUR- ’
RAH, Circuit Judges, ©
°
BRATTON, Chief Judge:
- These four criminal cases present for determination
questions of law common to all of them and therefore the
cases may he considered together.
In the first case, William Lloyd Barnard, John W.
Dailey, Charles W. Humphrey, Donald Henry Smalligan,
Peter John Smedes, and Roy Henry Stout were defendants;
- in the second case, John W. Dailey, Robert E. Lukens, and
James F. Bogue were defendants; in the third case, Wil-
liam Lloyd Barnard, Walton H. Morse, and Homer A.
Kelley were defendants; in the fourth case, Donald Henry
_Smalligan, Peter John Smedes, and William Lloyd Barnard
were defendants; and for convenience, reference ‘will be
made to the several defendants as Barnard, Dailey, Hum-
phrey, Smalligan, Smedes, Stout, Lukens, Bogue, Morse,
and Kelley; i a
3A
The indictment in the first case contained five counts.
The first count charged that all of the defendants in‘ that
case entered into a conspiracy to violate Sections 51, 52, and
54, Title 41, United. States Code, in the manner and by ‘the
means therein set forth. This was the manner and these
were the means. set forth in- the count. General Motors
Corporation was the pre contractor with the United .
States Air Force under a fixed price reimbursable contract
with a price redetermination clause for the furnishing of
airplanes. The prime contract was supplemented by a spe-
cial facilities contract providing for cost reimbursement
for the tools and equipment necessary to perform the con-
tract to build airplanes. Barnard was employed by General
Motors as head tool buyer, in which capacity he adminis- .
tered subcontracts and purchase orders awarded to other
‘manufacturers and suppliers for the purchase of tools,
equipment, and materials to be used in completing and
.. furnishing the airplanes under the prime contract. Dailey
\was employed by General Motors as‘a tool buyer; later he
became head tool buyer; and in such capacities, respec-
tively; he administered subcontracts and purchase orders
awarded to other manufacturers and suppliers for the pur-
chase of tools, equipment, and materials to be used in com-
pleting and furnishing airplanes under the prime contract.
Stout was an employee--of General Motors. He resigned .
such position and became one of the owners of Plastic
Tooling, Inc., a manufacturer and supplier of tools, equip-
~ ment, and materials to General Motors which were used
in the manufacture of airplanes under the prime contract.
Smalligan and Smedes were the owners: of Tri-Arts Indus-
tries, Inc.; and after a specified date, Smalligan, Smedes,
and Stout became the owners of Plastic Tooling, Inc., each
of which firms was’a manufacturer and supplier of tools,
equipment, and materials -to General Motors which were
used in the manufacture of airplanes under the prime con-
\ -
4A
tract, Humphrey was one of the ewners or officers of Sum-_
mit Engineering Company, a manufacturer and supplier of
tools, equipment, and materials to General Motors which
- were used in the manufacture of airplanes under. the prime
contract. Stout was one of the owners of Magic Circle Tool
Engineering Company, a manufacturer and supplier of
- ‘tools, equipment, and materials to General Motors which
were used in the manufacture of airplanes under the prime
contract. And it was the plan and purpose of the conspiracy
that Barnard and Dailey would accept payments of fees,
* commissions, gifts, gratuities, and compensations paid by
Humphrey, Smalligan, Smedes, and Stout as inducements
for the aid and assistance of Barnard and Dailey in obtain-
ing and procuring the award of purchase orders and sub-
contracts in favor of the firms mentioned in the indictment.”
The second count charged that Smalligan, Smedes,
and Stout, knowingly and unlawfully on behalf of a sub-
.contractor, gave to Dailey, an officer, employee, and agent.
of a prime contractor holding a contract entered into by.a
‘department, agency, and establishment of the United States
for the furnishing of supplies, equipment, materials, and
services on a cost reimbursement basis, and Dailey, know- .
ingly and unlawfully received, an automatic clothes washer .
and a ¢lothes drier, as an inducement for the awarding of —
subcontracts or orders from the prime contractor and as
* an acknowledgment of subcontracts and orders previously
awarded. The third count charged that Smalligan and
Smedes, on behalf of a subcontractor, knowingly and unlaw-
fully, gave to Barnard, an officer, employee, and agent of
a prime contractor holding a contract entered into by a
department, agency, and establishment of the United States
for the furnishing of supplies, equipment, materials, and
' services on a cost reimbursement basis, and Barnard, know-
_-ingly.and unlawfully received, the sum of: $3,004.20 as an
“BAS
inducement for the awarding of subcontracts or orders
from the prime contractor and as an.acknowledgment of
subcontracts and orders previously awarded. The fourth
count charged that Stout, on behalf of a subcontractor,
knowingly and unlawfully gave to Dailey, an officer, em-
ployee, or agent of a prime contractor holding a contract-
entered into by a department, agency, and establishment
' of the United States, and Dailey, knowingly and unlaw-
fully received, an automatic dishwasher of the value of
$260 as an inducement for the awarding of subcontracts or
orders from the prime contractor and as an acknowledg-
ment of.subcontracts and orders previously awarded. And
the fifth count charged that Stout} on behalf % a’ subcon-
tractor, kn ingly and unlawfully, gave to, Dailey, an of-
ficer, employee, or agent of a prime contractor holding a
contract entered into by a department, agency, and estab-
lishment of the United States for the furnishing of supplies,
equipment, materials, and services on a cost reimburse-
ment basis, .and Dailey, knowingly and unlawfully received, |
$610 as an inducement for the awarding of subcontracts or
orders from the prime contractor and as an _acknowledg-
ment.of subcontracts and orders previously awarded.
The indictment in the second: case contained only one .
count; It charged that Dailey, Lukens, and Bogue conspired
to violate Sections 51, 52, and 54, supra. The substance of
_ the conspiracy as pleaded was that General Motors entered
into the contract with the Air Force to furnish the. air-
planes; that Dailey was employed by General Motors as a
tool buyer; that in such capacity he.administered subcon-
tracts and purchase orders awarded to other rnanufacturers
and suppliers for the purchase ‘of tools, equipment, and
materials to be used in completing and furnishing the air-
planes; that Lukeas was president and Bogue was sales
manager ‘of Laken Aluminum Corporation, and Lacorp’
all
@ oy we 6A ia Jf
Machine Toél Company; that each firm was ‘@ manufac-_
turer and supplier of tools,* equipment, and’ materials. to <
General Motors which were used sin the manufacture of *~ |
airplanes under the contract; that Lukens and Bogue, on
behalf of Lukens Aluminum Corporation and Lacorp Ma-
chinegand Tool Company, solicited and received orders to
furnish tools,. equipment, and materials to General Motors;.
and that it was the plan and. purpose that Dailey would
accept from Lukéns and Morse payments of fees, commis-
‘sions, gifts, gratuities, and compensations as an inducement
for the aid and assistance of Dailey in. obtaining and pro-
curing the award of purchase - ‘orders and subcontracts in
favor of Lukens Aluminum Corporation and ‘Lacorp Ma-
chine and Tool Company.
The indictment in. the third case sinteinei three
counts. . The first count ‘charged that Barnard, Morse, and
| Kelley conspired to violate Sections 51, 52,,and 54, supra. .
The substance of the conspiracy as pleaded was that Gen-
.eral Motors and the Air Force entered into the contract.
for the furnishing of airplanes; that Barnard was employed ;
by General Motors as tool buyer, in which capacity he
_ administered subcontracts and purchase. orders awarded —
<3
to other manufacturers and suppliers for the purchase of
tools, equipment, and materials to be: used in completing
and furnishing the airplanes; that Morse and Kelley were
partners in the Mead Manufacturing Company, a manu-.
facturer and supplier of tools, equipment, and materials
_to General Motors which were used in the manufacture
of the airplanes; that Morse and Kelley, on behalf of Mead
Manufacturing Company, solicited orders to furnish tools,
‘equipment, and. materials to General Motors and received
orders. which orders were produced and supplied; and
os that it was. the plan. and: purpose that Barnard would .c-
_ cept payments of fees, commissions, gifts, gratuities, and
\
‘
re)
compensations paid by Morse and Kelley as an inducement
for his aid and assistance in obtaining and procuring the.
award of purchase orders and subcontracts in favor of
_ Mead Manufacturing Company. The second count charged
that Morse and Kelley, on behalf of a subcontractor, know-
ois many and unlawfully paid to Barnard, an officer, employee,
angpeent of a prime contractor for the furnishing of sup-"
_ plies, materials, equipment, “arid services on a cost reim- .
bursable kasis, -and Barnard, knowingly and- unlawfully
received from Morse and Kelley, the sum of $587 as an
inducement for the award of subcontrapts or orders from _ .
the prime contractof and a an acknowlédgment of sub-
contracts or orders previously awarded. And the third
count charged that Morse and Kelley knowingly and un-,
lawfully paid to: Barnard, and Barnard knowingly and.
unlawfully received from Morse and Kelley, $522 as. an
inducement for the award of ‘subcontracts or orders ‘and
as acknowledgment of subcontracts and orders previously
awarded. |
And the indictment in the fourth case contained a,
‘ single count. It chatged that Smalligan and Smedes, on
behalf of a subcontractor,-knowingly and unlawfully gave
to Barnard, formerly an officer, employee, and agent of a
. prime contractor holding a contract entered into by a de- -
partment, agency, and establishment of the United States
for the furnishing of supplies, equipment, and materials,
and services on a cost reimbursement basis, and Barnard,
knowingly and unlawfully received@ the sum of $3,004.20
as‘an acknowledgment of subcontracts and orders awarded.»
during the time Barnard was acting as such officer, em-
ployee, and agent.
aa .
Motions were filed to dismiss the several indictments.
The substance of the motions in the ‘first, second, and
‘third cases was in each instance that the indictment failed
’ closed upon its face that it was a “fixed: price” contract. .
~--
.
8A
»
to state facts sufficient to constitute an offense against
the United States; that the indictment was fatally defec- —
tive for failure to allege the existence of a ‘‘cost-plus-a-
fixed-fee or other cost reimbursable basis’ contract; and
that upon production and examination, the contract. dis-
and not a “cost-plus-a-fixed-fee or other cost reimbursable
basis” contract. The motion to dismiss the indictment in the
fourth case is not in the record before us. The motions
were sustained; the indictments were dismissed; and the
United Sfates appealed. -
Sections 51, 52,“and 54, supra, relate to kickbacks oa:
Government contracts. Section 51 forbids the payment of
any fee, commission, or compensation of any kind, or the
granting of any gift or gratuity of any kind, directly or
indirectly, by or on behalf of a subcontractor, as defined
in section 52, to any officer, partner, employee, or other
agent of a prime contractor holding a contract entered into
by any départment, agency, or establishment of the United
States for the furnishing of supplies, materials, equip-
ment, or services of any kind on a cost-plus-a-fixed-fee or .
cther cost ‘reimbursable “easis; or to any such prime con-
tractor or to any officer, partner, employee, or agent of a
higher tier subcontractor holding a subcontract’ under the
prime contractor, or to any such subcontractor, either as an
inducement r theeaward of a subcontract or order from
the prime contractor or any subcontractor, or .as an ac-
knowledgment of -.a subcontract or order previously
awarded. Section 52 defines the term “subcontractor”: for
the purposes of sections 51-54. And section 54 provides
that any person who shall knowingly, directly, or indi-
rectly, make or receive any such prohibited payment shall
be punished as therein specified. Considered together,
these statutes are penal in character and should therefore
;
9A
be eons diet. They cangot be enlarged by implica- ;
tion or intendment beyond the fair meaning of the lan-
guage used. But the object of all construction, whether
of penal or other statutes, is to ascertain the legislative
intent. And the rule of strict construction does not re-
quire that a penal statute be strained or. distorted in order
to exclude from its reach acts or conduct which the legis-
lative body intended to bring within its scope. Th€ ex-
actions of the rule are met in full measure if the language
is given its fair meaning in accordance with the obvious
intent of the legislative body. Osaka Shosen Kaisha Line
v. United States, 300 U.S. 98; United States v. Raynor, 302
U.S’540, 552; United States v. Alpers, 338 U.S. 680.
Section 51, supra, is limited in reach to kickbacks given
stil réceived in connection with contracts on a cost-plus-a-
fixed-fee or other cost reimbursable basis. And therefore
unless the prime contract awarded to General Motors was
of that kind, the indictments were fatally infirm and “were
‘providently dismissed. In a document or certificate seem-
"ingly issued in connection with a letter contract which
preceded.the execution of the formal prime contract, it was
stated in substance that a fixed price contract was contem-
plated. The prime contract contained several references
to it being a fixed price contract. Several supplements
were designated as supplemental agreements to fixed price
contract. And the prime contract provided in each in-
stance specified unit prices for various units of aircraft and
parts produced. But it did not provide that it was in-
tended or understood to be a fixed price contract. And it
- provided for .redetermination of prices, both prospectively
and retrospectively. It*provided tliat upon the acceptance
. of the seventy-first airplane, the parties should negotiate
io revise the prices of all items theretofore or thereafter
delivered. It further provided that after acceptance of the
~
.
two hundred and ninety- -ninth airplane, the parties should
negotiate to revise the prices of all items thereafter to be
eo It further provided that the’ contractor should
submit to the contracting officer accounting data for con-
. Sideration in connection with negotiations looking toward
- the revision in prices.. It further provided that the parties
should negotiate promptly . and in good faith. And it fur-
ther provided that.after each negotiation, the agreement |
reached should be evidenced by a supplemental agreement
stating the revised prices to be effective with respect to
deliveries on and after the effective date of the price revi-
sion. No limitation was fixed upon the range of redetermi-__.
nation or revision of prices; upward or downward. No
ceiling or floor was specified beyond which the revised or
redetermined prices could not go, The provision that upon
the acceptance of the seventy-first airplane, the parties
should negotiate in good faith respecting the prices of all
‘itemis theretofore or thereafter delivered reasonably and
impliedly contemplated that instances could and perhaps
would arise in the course.of fixing revised prices for items
theretofore delivered which would involve reimbursement
of the prime contractor for costs incurred. In other words,
the provision reasonably contemplated that in the course
of renegotiation and revision in prices for items thereto-
fore delivered, reimbursement for costs incurred would
be made in some instances. Not only did the provision con-
template reimbursement for costs in some instances, but
the expressed obligation resting upon the Government to
negotiate in good faith respecting revisions in price for
items theretofore furnished impliedly required the. Govern-
ment to reimburse the prime contractor for costs incurred
_ when the fa¢ts justified reimbursement. When all of. the
provisions in the contract are considered together as con-
stitutent parts of a harmonious whole, it cannot be said
100A
‘11A
Ir ’
that the contract was exclusively a fixed price contract as
rs
distinguished from a cost reimbursable basis contract. It ~
‘ .partook of both aspects. It was in substance and effect a
fixed price and ‘other reimbursable basis contract”. And _
partaking in part of an “other reimbursable basis contract”,
it came within the range of section 51, supra.
Reliance is placed upon regulation 3.403-3, 32 C.F.R.
$3.403-3, promulgated by the Secretary of Defense to place
or classify the prime contract awarded to General Motors
-in the class-of a fixed price type of contract and therefore
outside the purview of section 51, supra. -It is the well
settled rule of law that a regulation promulgated by an
‘administrative agency charged with the administration of
an act has the force and effect of law if it is reasonably
adapted to the administration and enforcement of the act
and does not contravene some statutory provision. Mary-
land Casualty Co. v. United States, 251 U.S. 342; United
States v. Stanolind Crude Oil Purchasing Co., 113 F.2d 194.
‘But the regulation referred to was one ‘of comprehensive
general regulations promulgated for the purpose of estab-
lishing and promoting uniform policies and procedures re-
lating to the procurement of supplies and services under
the authority of the Armed Services Procurement Act of
1947, 62 Stat. 21, as amended. It was not promulgated under
section 51, supra. It is completely unrelated to the stat-
ute. And therefore it is without probative effect here.
The indictments did not charge that the donors or
recipients of the kickbacks knew of the existence of the
fixed price cost reimbursable basis contract between Gen-
eral Motors and the Air Force. Section 51,.supra, forbids
the “knowingly” giving or receiving of kickbacks. And
the indictments: charged the “knowingly” giving and re-
ceiving of the 7 therein referred to. But the
é
Pe
12A
statute does not limit its application to persons having
knowledge of the nature of the prime contract. In other
words, the statute does not make knowledge of the terms
of the prime contract an essential element of the offense
to be charged in the. indictment. Hanis v. United States,
246 F.2d 781.
The judgments are severally reversed and the causes
are remanded with directions to deny the motions. to dis- ©
miss the indictments.
3A
APPENDIX B.
>
Title 41, U.S.C. Section 51: .
; “The payment of any fee, commission, gr compensation
of any kind or the granting of any gift or gratuity of any
kind, either’ directly or indirectly, by or on behalf of a —
subcontractor, as defined in section 52 of this title, (1)
to any officer, partner, employee, or agent of a prime
contractor holding a contract entered into by any depart-
ment, agency, or establishment of the United States for
the furnishing of supplies,.materials, equipment or serv- |
ices of any kind whatsoever, on a cost-plus-a-fixed-fee or
other cost reimbursable basis; or to any such prime con-
tractor or (2) to. any officer, partner, employee, or. agent
of a higher tier subcontractor holding a subcontract under
the prime contract, or to any such subcontractor either
as an inducement for the award of a subcontract or order
from the prime contractor or any subcontractor, or as an
acknowledgment of a subcontract or order previously
awarded, is prohibited. The amount of any such fee, com- —
mission, or compensation or the cost or expense of any such
| gratuity. or gift, whether heretofore’ or hereafter paid or
_ incurred by the subcontractor, Shall not be charged, either
’ directly or indirectly, as a part of the contract price charged
by the subcontractor to the prime contractor or higher
tier subcontractor. The amount of any such fee, cost,
or expense shall be recoverable on behalf of the United
States from the subcontractor or the recipient thereof by
set-off of moneys otherwise owing to the subcontractor
either directly by the United States, or by a prime con-
tractor under any cost-plus-a-fixed-fee or cost reimburs-
able contract, or by an action in an appropriate court of
the United States * * *.”
,
?
,
14A
Section 54:
‘Any person who shall knowingly, directly or indirectly
make or receive any such .prohibited payment shall be
firied not more wian $10,000 or be imprisoned for not more
than two years, or both.”
power
.
15A
APPENDIX C.
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 32. }
Sec. 3.403 Types of Contracts—Fixed-Price type of contract.
| 3.403.1- Firm fixed price contract.
3.403-2 Fixed price ‘with escalation clause.
3.403-3 Fixed price contract providing for the redetermi-
nation ef price.. Under this type of fixed price
contract five types of redetermination are pro-
vided. '
(1) Prospective periodic price redetermination at
‘ted intervals.
(2y Prospective price redetermination on request.
i . - - . , . 7
—~ (3) Retrodctive and prospective price redetermi- —
nations at a stated time prior to completion.
(4) Retroactive and prospective price redetermi-
_ nations-including further sii anaiie rede-
termination on request.
(5) Retroactive price redetermination after com-
oe pletion.
_ 3.403-4 Fixed price incentive contract.
The regulations then proceed to provide for cost-reim-
bursement type contract under 3.404, entitled “Cost reim-
bursement type contracts,” under which three types - con-
tracts are listed as follows:
Sec. 3.404 Cost reimbursement contracts.
3. 404-1 Cost contract.
3. 404-2 Cost sharing contract.
3.404-3 Cost-plus-a-fixed-fee contract.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.