Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Terrasi v. South Atlantic Lines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1956

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

cs

rs eee =

ine ©

Oe A ova

: t r

)

JAN 2 7 1986

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955

fe £?

A £3

No. OS ¢

ANDREW TERRASI,

Petitioner,

v.

SOUTH ATLANTIC LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SECOND CIRCUIT

| Harry D. GranHam,

Counsel for Petitioner.

76 Beaver Street,

New York 5, N. Y.

~ ee ~ .

INDEX TO PETITION

PAGE

Opinions -of the Courts Below eee cece l

Jurisdiction ~ Bis Lana SS OP GB A lie Se NIE Berit 2

Queshon Freeestet 2... Seentiies ieee Socket 2

Statrtes Involved .. i MEER Re ee 2

Statement of the Case Feed LB: $

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ 0. 5

I i ee a rn See 12

CN IIS, io ee eee Ee

CASES CITED

Palmer v. Hoffman, 318 U. S. 109; 144 A. L. R.

719 5, 8, 9, 10

Spellman v. American Barge Line Co., D. C. Penn.,

76 EF. Supp. 1 ~~ 1

Terrasi v. South Atlantic Lines, Inc., 226 F. 2d 823.000. © (2

Williams v. Alexander, 309 N. Y. 283; 129 N. EE. 2d

Fi; SMP TN RNs aia Ate oT ne Nn oN LY EO 2, 5, 9, 11

STATUTES CITED

ederal Business Records Act, 28 U.S. C. 1782a _.W..... 2.3

New York Business Record Act, N. Y. Civil Practice

Aet, See. 374-a .......... + AA aOR: 2,9

OPINION APPENDIX

‘lerrasi v. South Atlantic Lines, Inc., 226 F. 2d 823 13

Williams v. Alexander, 309 N. Y. 283; 129 N. E. 2d 417 18

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1955

ee ee wee

ANDREW TERRASI,

Petitioner,

v.

Soutn ATLantic Lines, LNc.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner, plaintiff-appellant below, prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in the

above entitled matter.

The Opinions of the Courts Below

The opinion of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York (Bondy, D. J.), sitting at

law, upon the motion to set aside the verdict and grant a

new trial is unreported and is printed in the separate

appendix below infra (p. 13a, R. 428).

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Cireuit (Clark, Medina and Lumbard, C. JJ.,

5 et eh CAGE GRR GATTO DUPER iF RARER TLR AT RE SHEN

sex

2

opinion by Clark, Ch. J.) is reported in 226 F. 2d 828

and is printed herein at page 13.

The conflicting opinion of the New York State Court

of Appeals, Williams v. Alexander, reported in 309 N. Y.

283, 129 N. E. 417, decided October 13, 1955, is printed

herein at page 1S.

Jurisdiction

The decision and judgment of the Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit sought to be reviewed was entered on

October 31, 1955.

Jurisdiction of this Court is found in 28 U. S. Code,

Sections 1254(1), 2101(¢) and 2106.

Question Presented

Whether a plaintiff's alleged statement, not germane to

diagnosis or treatment, entered ina ship doctor’s purported

journal, where the ship’s doetor is an employee of the de-

fendant and is alleged to be an active tort feasor, is adimiss-

ible in evidence under 28 U.S. C. Sec. 1732a as a memo-

randum or record made in the regular course of business.

Statutes Involved

* “98 US.C.A, 1732(a) In any court of the United States

and in any court established by Act of Congress, any wril-

ing or record, whether in the form of an entry in a book or

* New York Civil Practice Act, Sec. 374-a—The pertinent lan-

guage of this Act which is identical with the language of the Federal

Act is italicized for comparative purposes and the convenience of

the Court.

Although not material variations, where the wording differs the

Federal language is shown in roman type, while the New York

State language is contrasted by italics.

Matter in brackets are variations of the New York statute.

nn a —-

3

otherwise, made as a memorandum or record of any acl,

transaction, occurrence or event, shall be admissible as evi-

dence of such [in proof of said\ act, transaction, occurrence,

or event, if [the Trial Judge shall find that)\ it was made

in [the] regular course of any business, and if |that)\ if

was the regular course of such business to make such

memorandum or record at the time of such act, transaction,

occurrence or event, or within a reasonable time thereafter.

All other circumstances of the making of such writing or

record, including lack of personal knowledge by the entrant

or maker, may be shown to affect its weight, but such eir-

cumstances [they] shall not affect its admissibility.

The term business, as used in this section includes

|shall include) business, profession, occupation, and call-

ing of every kind.”

Statement of the Case

Plaintiff asserted two causes of action (A. 2Za-da, R. 393-

396) against the defendant, the first based upon its negli-

gence and violation of gts duty as a common carrier

resulting in injury to the plaintiff on the high seas and

the second in negligence for abusive treatment by the

ship’s doctor following his injury, based upon the following

facts:

In the early morning hours of May 21, 1950, while on

a trip as a third-class passenger from New York to

’alermo, Sicily, and while ascending a staircase on the

ship from C deck, where his cabin was, to the toilet facilities

on B deck, he was suddenly struck from behind upon his

head by an unidentified assailant and rendered unconscious.

He asserted negligence on the part of the ship in failing

to furnish watchmen to protect the passengers from assault

during the night hours. Defendant denied that it was

negligent and contended that plaintiff had heen seized with

SALES MASALA

4

a fit of dizziness while ascending the staircase and fell,

striking his head.

In his second cause of action plaintiff contended that

some days later, when the ship’s doctor was removing the

stitches from his head, the ship’s doctor inquired as to

how he had met with his injury and when the plaintiff

related the above facts the ship’s doctor threatened to

place him in a strait jacket for the balance of the trip if

he repeated those facts about the ship.

The issues came on for presentment to a jury and de-

fendant, during the course of the trial, offered its Exhibit

G (annexed to the appendix below) into evidence as proof

of its contention, to which plaintiff objected upon the ground

that the same was incompetent and self-serving.

Plaintiff denied having made any such statement as con-

tained in the exhibit.

The Trial Court reserved decision and eventually both

sides rested. After settling requests to charge, the Court

suddenly and upon its own initiative announced that it

was admitting Defendant’s Exhibit G into evidence (R.

339a) over plaintiff's objection as proof of “whatever ix

in it” (R. 350), giving plaintiff an exception.

A stipulated translation of Exhibit G is as follows:

“At 6.15, while returning to the cabin on Deck C

(after having been in the toilet on Deck B) was caught

by sudden dizziness and fell on the stairway, striking

his head on steps.

Lacerated, contused wound or cut, six centimeters at

the occipital region, deep to the bone. Fairly accentu-

ated or fairly pronounced shock.”

Within twenty-five minutes after retiring the jury sent

in a note requesting “a translation of the medical log report

please” (R. 388) and Juror No. 2, speaking for the forelady

and jury, stated to the Court that what they would like

to know, or read in English, is

“the doctor’s report or his meaning in English of what

he found from plaintiff when he arrived at the hospital

(ship’s surgery)”. (Emphasis supplied.)

4)

Some eight hours later (R. 392) the jury returned with

a verdict for the defendant upon both causes of action.

Motions to set aside the verdict and for a new trial upon

the grounds that the admission of Exhibit G into evidence

was prejudicial to the plaintiff were denied. There is no

evidence in the record, other than Exhibit G, to support

the contention that plaintiff had had a dizzy spell and

fallen.

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit affirmed

the District Court holding that under 28 U. S. C. 1732a

the complete exhibit was properly admissible.

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ

1. The Court of Appeals for the Second Cireuit has

rendered a decision herein in direct conflict with this

Court’s decision in Palmer v. Hoffman, 318 U.S. 109, 144

A. L. R. 719.

2. The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit has

rendered a decision herein in direct conflict with a decision

of the Court of Appeals for the State of New York on the

precise point in Williams y. Alexander, 309 N. Y. 283, 129

N. E. 2d 417, decided a few weeks earlier, on October

13, 1955.

3. The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit has

rendered a decision herein in direct conflict with the deei-

sions of other states having identical or similar statutes.

such as Maryland, Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Con-

necticut, Delaware, Minnesota, ete.

4. It is of national importance that the precise point

be reviewed and settled by this Court so that there may

be uniform application of the law among the Federal courts,

and between them and those jurisdictions having identical

or similar statutes, otherwise by the mere expedient of

6

transfer of venue from a State court, where diversity of

citizenship and concurrent jurisdiction exists, to a Federal

court (such as in the Second Cireuit) a defendant may

procure a prejudicial advantage over the plaintiff and

thereby defeat a valid claim.

The vessel involved was the /talia, flying a Panamanian

flag at the time, with an Italian crew, and the ship’s doctor

testified that in his capacity he was considered as “a mem-

her of the crew” of the ship (Rt. 274).

The sole qualification to offering the exhibit by the

defendant was that while plaintiff was in the state of

“fairly accentuated or fairly pronounced shock” the ship's

doctor testified that he was cleansing the wound and sutur-

ing the same and at the same time was making the entry

in the exhibit in the presence of his male nurse (R. 152),

which exhibit is from a book which he testified he kept

“in the regular course of his (your) practice of medi-

cine during his (your) regular course of business (here)

on board the ship” (R. 154).

|

‘

ra

)

3

:

5

i

The objection to competency below and in the Court of

Appeals (R. 163) was grounded on the fact that the docu-

ment itself was not established as qualifying within the

business records statute and that the alleged hearsay nar-

rative contained therein was not gerinane to medical diag-

nosis or treatinent but in fact was a self-serving declaration

made by an active tort feasor for whom the defendant

is responsible.

That it was never qualified under the <tatute, if other-

wise admissible, is obvious, for nowhere in the record did

defendant show or establish that the document was made

in the regular course of the steamship business and that

it was the regular course of the steamship business or the

entrant’s employer to require that he interrogate each

patient as to the manner in which he received his imjury

or illness and to record the same. Indeed, upon the face

.\A DY NARnnr ww

7

of the exhibit there are no entries of such nature with

respect to other patients.

Before its admission by the Court below, by its own

direct examination of its male nurse witness, in whose

presence the ship’s doctor testified he interrogated the

plaintiff, the defendant established that no such interro-

gation took place (R. 327, 328):

CassoLino, direct.

“Q. Did you hear any conversation between the man

and the doctor or the man and Mr. Belli? <A. No.

Q. Were you in the surgery all the while that this

man (plaintiff) was here? A. Yes.

CASSOLINO, Cross.

A. The doctor and nurse who was here were cleaning

around the wound, cutting away the hair to get ready

to put in the stitches.

i i ad —_—— wo”

Q. Was any conversation taking place at the time?

A. No.

. Were you here all the time that this man was

in here being treated? A. Yes” (R. 331, 332).

And, as testified by the ship’s doctor on further cross-

examination (R. 284):

“Q. In other words, now, you are able to tell us

’ that there was no record for Terrasi because you

actually looked for a record at the time the steamship

company’s investigator came aboard ship to question

you about it. Is that right? A. There was no record,

so I couldn’t say to the company that there was a

record when there was no record.”

The ship’s doctor had also testified that Exhibit G wax

in his handwriting and a casual examination reveals that

this document, which was before the Trial Judge, as well

as the above admissions, before the Court admitted it into

evidence, is actually a fraudulent document. Between the

S fF owe “PRs sp mmis

8

dates ‘20" and “22”, under the heading “N. Ordine”, the

ship's doctor endeavored to insert an entry to correspond

with the date “21” in order to maintain a sequence of dates

so that it would appear to have been made in regular

order but apparently abandoned the attempt because of

lack of space between those two dates and then, “contem-

poraneously” with suturing the plaintiff on May 21st, made

iis entry beneath the date “May 292” and dated the same

“May 21.”

If the alleged statement made by the plaintiff to the

ship's doctor would ordinarily be admissible, in this in-

stance the evidence before the Court clearly took it out

of the statute and it should never have been submitted to

the jury (Palmer v. Hoffman, 318 U. S. 109), for, as Mr.

Justice Douglas very aptly put it:

“The conduct of business commonly entails the pay-

ment of tort claims incurred by the negligence of its

employees. But the fact that a company makes a

business out of recording its employees’ versions of

their accidents does not put those statements in the

class of records made ‘in the regular course’ of the

business within the meaning of the Act.

If it did, then any law office in the land could follow

the same course, since business as defined in the Act

includes professions. We would then have a real per-

version of a rule designed to facilitate admission of

records which experience has shown to be quite trust-

worthy.

* * * * * *

Nor is it any answer to say that Congress has pro-

vided in the Act that the various circumstances of

the making of the record should affect its weight, not

its admissibility. That provision comes into play only

in case the other requirements of the Act are met.”

(Emphasis supplied.)

Here the Court admitted it as proof of what it contained

and the jury accepted it as such, for, without it, it could

not have returned a verdict for the defendant, because

9

there is no other evidence upon the record to support the

defendant’s contention.

In Williams vy. Alexander, 309 N. Y. 283, 129 N. Ke. 417

(Oct. 13, 1955), the hospital record involved was from an

independent hospital not involved in the litigation, whereas

in the case at bar the exhibit was made by an active tort

feasor, an employee of the defendant.

The Williams case came under Section 374-a of the New

York Civil Practice Act, the business records Act of

New York, which is identical and verbatim with the Federal

Act, and there the hospital had upon its records that the

patient had stated to the physician that

“he was crossing the street and an automobile ran into

another automobile that was at a standstill, causing

this ear (standstill) to run into hin.”

The Trial Court admitted the complete record over plain-

tiff’s objections and a verdict in favor of the defendant

was rendered, which was affirmed by a divided Appellate

Division. In reversing and remanding for a new trial, upon

the ground that the admission into evidence of that alleged

statement contained in the hospital record was erroneously

admitted, the New York Court of Appeals cited this Court’s

Palmer v. Hoffman decision in support, as well as a myriad

of decisions of other states having identical or similar

business records Acts, stating that:

“The particulars may be a natural subject of the

doctor’s curiosity, but neither the inquiry nor the

response properly belongs in a record designed to

reflect the regular course of the hospital’s business.

(Citations. )”

The Court further stated, citing from authorities through-

out the nation, that the typical and almost universal holding

with respect to such entries is,

“it was the business of the hospital to diagnose plain-

tiff’s condition and to treat her for her ailments, not

oe oe a) al ss

¢

;

¢

£

3

4

»

4

AbD asta eae tN oY

10

to record a statement describing the cause of the acci-

dent in which plaintiff’s injuries were sustained”:

and that,

“Consequently, the only memoranda that may be

regarded as within the section’s compass are those

reflecting acts, occurrences or events that relate to

diagnosis, prognosis or treatment or are otherwise

‘helpful’ to an understanding of the medieal or sur-

gical aspects of (the particular patient’s) hospitali-

zation.”

In the Third Cireuit, Spellman v. American Barge Line

Co., Inc., 76 Fed. Supp. 1, the District Court admitted into

evidence, over plaintiff's objections, a hospital record kept

by disinterested persons but which contained alleged

declarations made by the plaintiff. The jury found for the

defendant and, upon motion to set aside and for a new

trial, the Distriet Court recognized its error and granted

plaintiff a new trial upon the ground that the alleged

declarations in the hospital record

“were not made as a record, memorandum or record,

of any act, transaction, occurrence or event”

within the meaning of the Federal Act.

In the language of Mr. Justice Douglas in the Palmer

case, the alleged record herein was not for the systematic

conduct of the defendant’s business as a steamship busi-

ness

“Unlike payrolls, accounts receivable, accounts pay-

able, bills of lading and the like, these reports are

caleulated for use essentially in Court, not in the busi-

ness. Their primary utility is in litigating, not steam-

hoating (railroading)” (Palmer v. Hoffman, supra).

If the judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit is permitted to stand, it means that henceforth

every passenger of a common carrier, indeed, every seaman

and railroad employee, who sustains an injury due to the

11

negligence of the carrier can quite easily be defeated in

a valid cause of action by the simple expedient of the

defendant placing into evidence self-serving declarations,

made in its behalf by its employee-tort feasor, and such

documents would be accorded the same dignity and high

degree of trustworthiness as is accorded to customary

business records, entries in family Bibles, log books, ete.

Insurance company investigators, upon discovering the

absence of any records (p. J herein), could very easily

create “trustworthy” records by simply instructing the

responsible tort feasor-employee to insert an appropriate

entry favorable to the carrier, with the result that the issue

for the jury would be whether to believe any plaintiff as

against such “trustworthy” documentary evidence. No

longer would a defendant have to produce competent fact

witnesses, but it could confidently sit back and rely upon

the overwhelming weight of such documents as against

the spoken word of the injured party as occurred in the

instant case. Indeed, even with eyewitnesses a_ plaintiff

would have an extremely doubtful hurdle.

This Court has never had occasion to consider the pre-

cise point raised herein and, as appears in the Williams

decision, that case was the first and only occasion for

the New York State Court of Appeals to consider the point.

The conflict between the Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit and the New York State Court of Appeals, as well

as those other jurisdictions cited by the New York State

Court of Appeals, is of national importance and should be

resolved by this Court so that all of the Federal courts and

the courts of those states having Business Records Acts

identical or similar to the Federal Business Records <Act

will have uniformity in applying the law under such Acts.

12

CONCLUSION

For all of the above reasons a writ of certiorari as

prayed for should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Harry D. GraHaM,

Counsel for Petitioner,

76 Beaver Street,

New York 5, N. Y.

Dated, New York, N. Y.,

January 26, 1956.

fVADK NARC CO

13

OPINION APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

lor THE Seconp Circuit

(226 F. 2d 823)

AnpREW Terrasi, plaintiff-appellant, v. Sour ATLANTIC

Lines, Inc., defendant-appellee.

Decided October 31, 1955.

Before Ciark, Chief Judge, and Meprna and Lumsarp,

Cireuit Judges.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York, William Bondy, Judge.

Plaintiff appeals from a verdict and judgment for the

defendant in his action for damages for personal injuries

sustained on board the defendant’s SS. Italia. Affirmed.

Harry D. Granam for plaintiff-appellant.

Louis J. Gusmano (Kirin, Campsett & Keatine on the

brief) for defendant-appellee.

ee eel oe oo es ot

Qrorneerereeer ee

ee ee

id SIO REE aA

AVE) MOR

me

4

a

14

Crark, Chief Judge—This is an appeal by the plaintiff

from a verdict and judgment for the defendant in his ae-

tion for damages for personal injuries alleged to have

been sustained through the negligence of defendant while

he was a passenger at sea on the defendant's SS. Italia.

At the outset we must consider defendant’s motion to dis-

iniss the appeal as not timely. When the defendant’s

verdict was rendered on January 20, 1955, plaintiff at once

made an oral motion for a new trial, which the court as

promptly denied. The next day, January 21, the plaintiff

filed a formal written motion for reargument of his motion

for a new trial, setting forth various grounds upon which

he contended that he was entitled to such trial; and this the

defendant's counsel answered by affidavit on January 25.

Meanwhile a formal judgment for the defendant was en-

tered by the clerk on January 21. Plaintiff's motion was

denied by the court on February 28 in a brief memorandum

indorsed upon it, in which it is deseribed as the “motion

to set aside the verdict and for a new trial,” and which

discloses that the court considered it on the merits. Plain-

tiff’s appeal followed on March 2—too late if his time runs

from the date of the formal judgment, but in time if it

runs from the denial of the motion.

Defendant asserts that a motion for a reargunent is not

within the several motions specified in F. R. 73(a) as sus-

pending and thus extending the time within which an appeal

can be taken. But this is too literal a reading of the lan-

guage of the rule. A motion for reargument of a motion

for a new trial is of course nothing but a motion for re-

hearing thereof, and thus in essence is itself but an applica-

tion for a new trial under F. R. 59(a), which explicitly in-

cludes all applications for rehearing a= previously under-

stood. Thus the advisory committee’s note to this rule

shows that it includes the former “petition for rehearing”

of Equity Rule 69. As pointed out in Slater v. Peyser (D.

C. Cir. 200 F. 2d, 360, 361): “Under Rule 59(a), Fed.

Rules Civ. Proe., 28 U.S. C. A., a motion for rehearing is

-

15

equivalent to a motion for a new trial.” The very reasons

which led the advisory committee to recommend the amended

Rule 73(a) in the interest of clarity and to avoid confusion

as to the proper time for appeal apply equally to this mo-

tion. Of course it must be timely made within ten days,

as specified in F. R. 59(b), and thus in any event cannot de-

lay the proceedings unduly. The appeal here properly

taken when the motion was denied is therefore timely (sec

Anderson v. Continental SS. Co., 2 Cir, 218 F. 2d, 84:

Mosier v. Federal Reserve Bank of New York, 2 Cir, 132

F’., 2d, 710, and the cases cited in the annotation 10 A. L. R..

2d, 1075, at 1079, 1080). Cases such as Marten v. Hess (6

Cir., 176 F., 2d, 834), Dena Products Co. v. United Brick &

Clay Workers of America (6 Cir., 195 F., 2d, 612, certiorari

denied 344 U. S., 822) and Randolph v. Randolph (D.C.

Cir., 198 F., 2d, 956) are distinguishable as referring to

notions either not timely made or otherwise not the equiva-

lent of the one filed here. See Morley v. United States

(6 Cir., 207 F., 2d, 654), pointing out the lack of timeliness

of the motion for rehearing there.

The plaintiff’s appeal is based on the contention that in

the early morning of May 21, 1950, while on a trip as a

third-class passenger from New York to Palermo, Sicily, and

while ascending a staircase on the ship from C deck, where

his cabin was, to the toilet facilities on B deck, he was sud-

denly struck from behind upon his head by an unidentified

assailant and rendered unconscious. On these alleged facts

he asserted negligence on the part of the ship in failing to

furnish watchmen to protect passengers from assault.

Defendant, on the other hand, while denying any negligence,

contended that there was no assault and that plaintiff was

seized with a fit of dizziness while ascending the staircase,

and fell, striking his head. These conflicting issues were

duly presented to the jury, together with the also conflict-

ing testimony as to the nature of the care received by plain-

tiff after his injury. The jury, after an appropriate charge

and apparent careful consideration of the issues, as shown

16

by their questions on return for further instruction, then

brought in the defendant’s verdict from which the appeal

is taken. The only error relied upon, since the trial was

otherwise altogether appropriate, was the action of the

judge in admitting in evidence an entry by the ship’s doc-

tor in what seems generally referred to as the doctor’s “log”

or “journal.” This entry, the doctor testified, was made in

the regular course of his employment while plaintiff was in

the ship’s hospital. It is in Italian, but the interpretation as

agreed upon is the following, appearing after the date,

May 21, 1950, and the plaintiff's name: “At 6:15, while

returning to the cabin on Deck C (after having been in

the toilet on Deck B) was caught by sudden dizziness and

fell on the stairway, striking his head on the steps.” There

followed statements describing the head wound or cut and

referring to a “Fairly accentuated or fairly pronounced

shock.” Overruling the plaintiff’s vigorous objections the

court admitted these statements as entries in the regular

course of business made admissible by the Business Entries

Statute (28 U. S. C. see. 1732).

Plaintiff now challenges this ruling on the basis of Pal-

mer v. Hoffman (318 U. S., 109, 144 A. L. R., 719). We

need not stop to consider whether that case has been lim-

ited by later precedents, since the situation here is quite

different. There the statement in controversy was made

by the engineer who was alleged to have caused the acci-

dent in issue and was made after the event for the purpose

of ensuing litigation. Here, however, is a timely entry

made by a doctor whose job it was to make such entries,

and its admissibility is settled by numerous precedents.

Among these we may cite Tucker v. Loew’s Theatre &

Realty Corporation (2 Cir., 149 F., 2d, 677, 680, citing ear-

lier cases) ; Pekelis v. Transcontinental & Western Air, Inc.

(2 Cir., 187 F., 2d, 122, 129-131, 23 A. L. R., 2d, 1349, cer-

tiorari denied Transcontinental & Western Air, Inc., v.

Pekelis, 341 U. S., 951); Korte v. New York, New Haven

& Hartford Railroad (2 Cir., 191 F., 2d, 86, certiorari de-

17

nied) New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad vy. Korte

(342 U. S., 868), and Landon v. United States (2 Cir., 197

F., 2d, 128, 130). Plaintiff’s claim that the entry was

manufactured or doctored goes to weight and not adimissi-

bility, and was thoroughly aired at the trial.

In view of what appears thus to be its clear adinissibility

under the statute and the cases we do not need to consider

other grounds urged by the defendant, such as that it was

a ship’s log admissible under the rule referred to in Lo-

poezyk v. Chester A. Poling, Inc. (2 Cir., 152 F., 2d, 457)

and Naylor v. Isthmian SS. Co. (2 Cir, 187 F., 2d, 538),

that it was merely cumulative of other adequate evidence,

and that plaintiff waived his objection by agreeing to the

interpretation as received in evidence.

Judgment affirmed.

LPIA TITEL TY?

Pate te oe, e

BOP BUTLER.

tte

Ski RAS

3

5

18

COURT OF APPEALS

State or New York

(309 N. Y. 283, 129 N. KE. 2d 417)

Desst WituiaMs, appellant, v. Mervin K. ALEXANDER,

respondent.

Decided October 13, 1955.

Present: Conway, Ch. J.; DesMonp, Dvr, FuLp, FRorsset,

Van Vooruis and Burke, JJ.

Appeal from a judgment of the Appellate Division of

the Supreme Court in the Second Judicial Department,

entered February 23, 1955, affirming a judgment in favor

of defendant, entered in Kings County upon a verdict

rendered at a Trial Term (Bensamiy, J.).

Bernarp Meyerson, ALbert Martry Conen and Lovis

[. Rornensere for appellant.

Joun D. Ketry and Josernu F. O’Brien for respondent.

Fup, J.—Dessi Williams was struck by defendant’s auto-

mobile as he was crossing a street in Brooklyn with the

19

traffic light in his favor. His right leg fractured, he was

taken to Kings County Hospital for treatment. At the

trial the testimony of the parties as to the manner in

which the accident occurred was sharply discrepant. Ae-

cording to plaintiff, defendant’s automobile approached the

intersection, at which he was crossing, without diminishing

speed and ran into him. Defendant, on the other hand,

insisting that he had brought his car to a complete stop

at the light, maintained that another vehicle had struck it

from the rear and propelled it forward and upon plaintiff.

In the early stages of the trial plaintiff introduced so

much of the Kings County Hospital record as bore upon

his injuries and their treatment. Counsel for defendant

thereupon offered the balance of the record, and it was

received in evidence over plaintiff’s objection. Specifically

challenged by plaintiff as inadmissible hearsay was an

entry to the effect that he had stated to a physician at the

hospital that “he was crossing the street and an automobile

ran into another automobile that was at a standstill, caus-

ing this car (standstill) to run into him.” Plaintiff denied

making any such statement, and the doctor who recorded

it was not called as a witness.

Upon this appeal—following a verdict in defendant's

favor and an aflirmance by a divided Appellate Division

—we are called upon to decide whether the statement at-

tributed to plaintiff, relating the manner in which the

accident occurred, was properiy admitted in evidence as

a memorandum or record made “in the regular course of

** ® business” (Civ. Prac. Act, sec, 374-a)." While there

are many out-of-state decisions on the point, we have

never had occasion to consider it: neither in Roberto v.

* Although the doctor who made the entry would have been com-

petent to testify to plaintiff's alleged admission against interest, the

cutry itself was, nevertheless, excludable as hearsay unless within

ihe compass of section 374-a of the Civil Practice Act (see, e.g.

Green v. City of Cleveland, 150 Ohio St.. 441, 444-445; Richardson

on Evidence, 8th ed., 1955, sec. 233, p. 211); and the issue was

sufficiently raised by the objection predicated on the hearsay rule.

i aa aa sana

20

Nielson (288 N. Y., 581), nor in Dougherty v. City of New

York (295 N. Y., 786)—upon which reliance is placed to

sustain the trial judge’s ruling—nor in any other case was

it necessary for this court to pass upon the question now

posed.

Section 374-a of the Civil Practice Act permits the intro-

duction in evidence of “Any writing or record * * * made

as a memorandum or record of any act, transaction, oecur-

rence or event,” despite its hearsay character, “if the trial

judge shall find it was made in the regular course of any

business, and that it was the regular course of such busi-

ness to make such memorandum or record at the time of

such act, transaction, occurrence or event, or within a rea-

<onable time thereafter.” The term “business” is broadly

defined as including “business, profession, occupation and

calling of every kind,” and among the records within the

section’s ambit are those that a hospital keeps in diagnosing

and treating the ills of its patients (see Meiselman v. Crown

Heights Hosp., 285 N. Y. 389: People v. Kohlmever, 284

N. Y. 366).

The statute, similar to those in effect in most jurisdic-

tions, is designed to harmonize the rules of evidence with

modern business practice, and give “evidential credit” to

the memoranda or other writings upon which reliance is

placed in the systematic conduct of business undertakings

(see Johnson vy. Lutz, 253 N. Y., 124, 127). It rests upon

the probability of trustworthiness which inheres in such

records by virtue of the fact, first, that they are the

“routine reflections of the day to day operations of a busi-

ness” (Palmer v. Hoffman, 318 U. S., 109, 114) and, second,

that it is the entrant’s own obligation, and to his interest,

to have them truthful and accurate, made and kept as they

are with the knowledge, indeed, for the parpose, that they

will be relied upon in the conduet of the enterprise (see

Johnson v. Lutz, supra, 253 N. Y., 124, 128; Weis v. Weis,

147 Ohio St., 416, 425; see, also, 5 Wigmore on Evidence,

24 ed., 1940, see. 1522, p. 369: MeCormick on Evidence, 1954,

21

see, 281, pp. 596-597). It is this element of trustworthi-

ness, serving in place of the safeguards ordinarily afforded

by confrontation and cross-examination, which justifies ad-

mission of the writing or record without the necessity of

calling all the persons who may have had a hand in pre-

paring it. And it was to assure such accuracy and reliabil-

ity that the Legislature made explicit the condition that

the memorandum inay be received in evidence—and this is

the heart of the provision—only if it was “made in the

regular course of [the] business, and * * * it was the regu-

lar course of such business to make such memorandum.

As the statute makes plain, and we do no more than

paraphrase ‘t, entries in a hospital record may not qualify

for admission in evidence unless made in the regular course

of the “business” of the hospital, and for the purpose of

assisting it in carrying on that “business.” The busines

of a hospital, it is self-evident, is to diagnose and treat its

patients’ ailments. Consequently, the only nemoranda that

may be regarded as within the section’s compass are those

reflecting acts, occurrences or events that relate to diagnosis,

prognosis or treatment or are otherwise “helpful to an un-

derstanding of the medical or surgical aspects of * * * (the

particular patient’s) hospitalization” (e.g., Green v. City

of Cleveland, 150 Ohio St., 441, 443-444; Commonwealth

vy. Harris, 351 Pa., 325, 330-331; see, also, Borucki v. Mac-

Kenzie Bros. Co., 125 Conn., 92, 102-103: MeCorimick, op.

cit., see. 290, p. 611).

It follows from this that a memorandum made in a hospi-

tal record of acts or occurrences leading to the patient's hos-

pitalization—such as a narration of the accident causing

the injury—not germane to diagnosis or treatment, is not

admissible under section 374-a, and so it has been almost

universally held under the identical or similar statutes of

other jurisdictions. (see, e.g., Scott v. Gibbons Co., 192 Md.,

319, 330; Sadjak v. Parker-Wolverine Co., 281 Mich., 84.

87-88; Valenti v. Mayer, 301 Mich., 551, 557; Green v.

City of Cleveland, supra, 150 Ohio St., 441, 443-444: Weis

CPR Ter a PRS AER I I I Pee ee re NN eral

ae

sl

4

44

a

4

a

ms

%

22

v. Weis, supra, 147 Ohio St., 416, 425; Comnonwealth v.

Harris, supra, 351 Pa., 325, 330-331; see, also, Borucki v.

MacKenzie Bros. Co., supra, 125 Conn., 92, 102-103; Watts

vy. Delaware Coach Co., 44 Del., 283; Brown v. St. Paul

City R’y, 241 Minn., —, 62 N. W., 2d, 688, 695-696; Rich-

ardson on Evidence, Sth ed., 1955, see. 233, pp. 209-210,

911-212; McCormick, op. cit., see. 290, p. 611; Medina, Cur-

rent Developments in Pleading, Practice and Procedure in

the New York Courts, 30 Corn. L. Q., 449, 454-458). In

the words of the Ohio court in Green v. City of Cleveland

(supra, 150 Ohio St., 441, 444), typical of those found in

the other cases, “it was the business of the hospital to

diagnose plaintiff's condition and to treat her for her ail-

ments, not to record a statement describing the cause of

the accident in which plaintiff's injuries were sustained.”

In some instances, perhaps, the patient's explanation as

to how he was hurt may be helpful to an understanding

of the medical aspects of his case; it might, for instance,

assist the doctors if they were to know that the injured

man had been struck by an automobile (see Scott v. Gib-

bons Co., supra, 192 Md., 319, 330: ef. Roberto v. Nielson,

supra, 288 N. Y., 581: Watts v. Delaware Coach Co., supra,

44 Del., 283). However, whether the patient was hit by

car A or car B, by ear A under its own power or propelled

forward by ear B, or whether the injuries were caused by

the negligence of the defendant or of another, cannot pos-

sibly bear on diagnosis or aid in determining treatment.

That being so, entries of this sort, purporting to give par-

ticulars of the accident, which serve no inedical purpose,

may not be regarded as having been made in the regular

course of the hospital's business (see Scott v. Gibbons Co.,

supra, 192 Md., 319, 330). Indeed, in diseussing the mat-

ter, Wigmore observed that the essential “Guarantee of

Trustworthiness” rests upon the fact that “the physicians

and nurses * * * themselves rely upon the record,” and

that the record is designed to be “relied upon in affairs

of life and death” (6 Wigmore, op. cit. sec. 1707, p. 36;

23

see Loper v. Morrison, 23 Cal., 2d 600, 608). Such reason-

ing, however, will not support the use, or justify the receipt

of a statement detailing the circumstances of the accident

where they are immaterial to, and were never intended to

he relied upon in, the treatment of the patient. There is

no need in that case for the physician to exercise care in

obtaining and recording the information or to question the

version, whatever it might be, that is given to him. The

particulars may be a natural subject of the doctor’s cur-

iosity, but neither the inquiry nor the response properly

belong in a record designed to reflect the regular course

of the hospital’s business (see, e.g., Commonwealth v. Har-

ris, supra, 351 Pa., 325, 331).

In conclusion, then, that portion of the hospital record

containing the statement assertedly made by plaintiff as

to the manner in which the accident happened was er-

roneously admitted, and since we cannot say that it did

not influence the jury in arriving at its verdict for defend-

ant there must be a new trial.

The judgment of the Appellate Division and that of

Trial Term should be reversed and a new trial granted,

with costs to abide the event.

Dresmonp, J. (dissenting)—I see no error here and no

reason for retrying this simple question of fact.

Plaintiff, for his own convenience, chose to prove his

injuries and the hospital treatment he received therefor

hy putting a hospital record in evidence and without call-

ing as a witness the physician who made the entries. In

so doing he, of course, vouched for the accuracy and regu-

larity of that record. Defendant made no objection, but in

his turn offered in evidence so much of the same hospital

record as showed a statement to the hospital physician by

plaintiff that the accident had occurred in a manner quite

24

different from that testified to at the trial by plaintiff.

Plaintiff objected to any such “history” going into evi-

dence. His alleged ground of objection was stated in the

one word: “hearsay.” That, of course, was meaningless

in this context. An undoubted exception to the “hearsay”

rule makes admissible extrajudicial declarations against

interest (Reed v. McCord, 160 N. Y., 330, 341). Plaintiff's

declaration to the hospital physician as to the way the

accident happened was directly probative evidence of a

main fact in issue (Gangi v. Fradus, 227 N. Y. 452). It

is, of course, conceivable (but unlikely) that by plaintiff’s

use of the word “hearsay” he referred to the failure of

defendant to call as a witness the physician who had writ-

ten up the notes. But plaintiff himself had put into evi-

dence the (helpful to him) parts of that identical paper

without calling the physician. Surely plaintiff could not

then demand that the other party prove the authenticity

of the very record plaintiff had himself presented to the

court. Sinee plaintiff had been allowed to prove by the

record alone the diagnosis and treatment of his injuries

it would be absurd to forbid defendant using the same rec-

ord, written in the same handwriting by the same physician

at the same time, to prove an equally relevant, competent

and material fact, that is, that plaintiff had stated to the

physician that his injuries were caused in the manner as-

serted by defendant.

It follows from the above that section 574-a of the

Civil Practice Act, our statutory rule as to admissibility

of records made in the regular course of a business, has

little or nothing to do with this case. What we have here

‘s an admission against interest, proved not by the oral

testimony of the person to whom it was made, but by an

authentic document already vouched for to the court by the

opposing party himself.

But let us suppose that this is a section 374-a case. “Hos-

pital records concededly are included within the records

to which section 374-a of the Civil Practice Act is appli-

~

25

cable” (People v. Kohlmeyer, 284 N. Y., 366, 369, 370). The

physician who made the entries need not be called as a

witness (Meiselman v. Crown Heights Hospital, 285 N. Y.,

389, 396, 397). True, as Judge Fuld points out, this court

has not yet directly decided whether the section 374-a

makes admissible that part of a hospital record which

gives the history of the injury. But why should this court

not adopt a practical and useful construction, rather than

a narrow and unnecessarily restrictive one? And the

statute itself seems to furnish the answer: “Any writing

or record, whether in the form of an entry in a book or

otherwise, made as a memorandum or record of any act,

transaction, occurrence or event, shall be admissible in

evidence in proof of said act, transaction, occurrence or

event, if the trial court shall find that it was made in the

regular course of any business, and that it was the regu-

lar course of such business to make such memorandum or

record at the time of such act, transaction, occurrence or

event, or within a reasonable time thereafter.” There is

no reason why the “history” part of a hospital record, ob-

tained not from unidentified persons but from the patient

himself, should not be used in evidence against the patient.

Of course, the writing must have been made in the regular

course of the hospital’s business and it must have been the

regular course of the business of the hospital to make such

entries. But in this case plaintiff did not object because

of any failure to prove those requirements (see Meiselman

vy. Crown Heights Hospital, 285 N. Y., 389, 397, supra).

Indeed, he could not, after himself bringing the record

to court, reasonably urge that it was not the regularly

made reeord of this hospital. And he knew, as we all

do, that an examining physican, especially in a hospital

receiving department, always inquires as to the cause of

atrauma. Certainly, in the absence of any suspicious cir-

cumstanee, it is not up to the courts to decide just how

thoroughly a qualified physician may delve into the cause

or occasion of the injuries he is diagnosing and treating.

Anyhow, all this is by the statute’s own words committed

gata)

Pees

SSeS RL SCR EN NENT aS SN OLA I SE NR

Laie

ta

26

to the trial judge’s discretion. It is he who is charged

with passing on the question of whether the entry was

regularly made. Here, no one suggested that it was not

so made or called for proof that it was. The trial justice,

therefore, had no reason for excluding it, particularly

since there was no suggestion that the physician or the

hospital had any interest in the case or any possible reason

for falsifying these records.

This was a routine trial of a simple issue of fact. Plain-

tiff said the accident happened one way, defendant said

that it happened another way. A hospital book brought

to court by plaintiff showed that he himself had described

the occurrence in the way that defendant described it.

Plaintiff denied that he had made such a statement at the

hospital. The jury settled that dispute. It is most unfor-

tunate, especially in these days of congested calendars, that

such a case must now be retried.

The judgment should be affirmed with costs.

Conway, Ch. J.; Froessen and Van Vooruts, JJ., con-

eur with Fuip, J.; Desmonp J., dissents in an opinion in

which Dyr and Burke, J.J., coneur.

HARCLD 8. WHLLEY,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocrosrr Term, 1955.

No. 646.

ANDREW TERRASI,

Petitioner,

v.

SOUTH ATLANTIC LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

CERTIORARI.

Louis J. GusMANO,

Counsel for Respondent,

South Atlantic Lines, Inc.,

120 Broadway,

New York 5, N. Y.

Krein, CampsBett & Keatrna,

Of Counsel.

AES

Pandick Press, Inc., 22 Thames St., New York 6, N. Y., U.S. A.

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

CoUNTER-STATEMENT OF FACTS...............--222---00ecceeeeeeeeeees

Pornt I.—The decision below sustaining the admis-

sibility of Exhibit G as a record made in the regu-

lar course of business under the Federal Business

Entries Statute 28 U.S. C. §1732, is clearly correct

and is not in conflict with this court’s decision in

Palmer v. Hoffman, 318 U. 8. 109.0002

Porxt II.—There is no conflict between the decision

at bar construing the Federal Business Entries

Statute and decisions of state courts construing

similar state statutes inasmuch as a history of

dizziness given by a patient to a doctor is obvi-

ously germane to diagnosis or treatment...............

Porxt III.—In any event the question sought to be

raised by the petition would not be dispositive of

the appeal since Exhibit G was admissible not only

under non-statutory principles of evidence as an

entry in a ship’s log, but also because plaintiff

specifically consented to its being read into evi-

dence. Moreover, the history of dizziness had

already been testified to orally by the doctor

involved without objection from plaintiff so that

the contents of Exhibit G@ was merely cumulative

Ne i cee ranrmmcinaonendaliobesdgmin’

a. Exhibit G was admissible as an entry in a

i secscsnteeadapicasienlccpemeslobiaacleihaaiicton

b. Exhibit G was admissible since it was read

into evidence and to the jury with the ex-

plicit consent of plaintiff...

ce. Oral testimony unobjected to by plaintiff

had already been given the jury by Dr.

Valenzi of the history of dizziness so that

Exhibit G which also contained this history

was merely cumulative of other adequate

RUNNIN © caccacidccunebesihneanimbdscstninnsoianltentedaricinseid

CoNCLUSION .......... DS PLAT AILS RIA NEI LEO

13

13

14

15

16

ii

TasLe or Cases.

Couto v. United Fruit Co., 203 F. 2d 456 (2 Cir.)........

Croll v. John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 198 F.. 2d

Re I ire he i a aiiaaisaet star pedion ida plliaoamkaeciete

Keen v. Overseas Tankship Corp., 194 F. 2d 515 (2

Cir.) cert. denied 343 U. S. 966.....................-.000000--

Kortev.N. Y.N.H.d& H. R.Co., 191 F. 2d 86 (2 Cir.)

certiorari denied 342 U. S. 868.000.0000.

Landon v. U. S., 197 F. 2d 128, 130 (2 Cir.)-...0..0......

Lopoczyk v. Poling, 152 F. 2d 457 (2 Cir.).....-........

Naylor v. Isthmian Steamship Company, 187 F. 2d

Bs Roky BMG eav RR NSP Seca Ee SO eat Ae oe EON

Palmer v. Hoffman, 318 U. S. 109.2002.

Pekelis v. Transcontinental & Western Air, Inc., 187

F. 2d 122, 129-131 (2 Cir.) certiorari denied 341

ON I alochck isc aeeindadinteetatbctaceincmnsnesnosUneciaabitdeconaetomaabasidanbihind

Tucker v. Loew’s Theatre, 149 F. 2d. 677, 680 (2

| SRR Ans tue up en Ues Aer DPT 1 ey evn eo RY eRe

Ulm v. Moore-McCormack, 115 F. 2d. 492, rehearing

denied 117 F. 2d 222 (2 Cir.) certiorari denied

ES RRNA re Are elite ase ome ee

Williams vy. Alexander, 309 N. Y. 283....22.22..2..2.-2.000-000-+

PAGE

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1955.

No. 646.

Anprew Terrasi,

Petitioner,

Soutrn Ariantic Lives, Lxc.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORABEI TO THE UNIED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

CERTIORARI

The petition for certiorari is primarily based on the

assertion, unfounded in fact, that the trial court allowed

into evidence as part of a medical record (Exhibit G)

under the federal Business Entries Statute (28 U.S. C. see.

1732), the history given to the doctor by plaintiff of his

accident not germane to diagnosis or treatment. Even

assuming there is adequate conflict in the decisions as to

whether this type of evidence is admissible under the

statute, which is denied (Point II p. 11, infra), the question

obviously is not involved in this case because the history

given by plaintiff was (Petitioner’s brief, p. 4):

Pe) ARS ROR Ree ROAST,

‘

:

2

‘3

i

*

:

i

&

:

4

2

‘*At 6.15, while returning to the cabin on Deck C

(after having been in the toilet on Deck B) was

caught by sudden dizziness and fell on the stairway,

striking his head on steps.

‘‘Lacerated, contused wound, or cut, six centi-

meters at the occipital region, deep to the bone.

Fairly accentuated or fairly pronounced shock.’’

It is beyond understanding how plaintiff can cavalierly

urge to this Court that a history of dizziness given to a

doctor is not germane to treatment or diagnosis. Indeed,

no such argument was made to the trial court nor to the

Court of Appeals. Significantly, in plaintiff’s petition to

this Court, other than to assert the bare conclusion not

even made to the courts below, there is no attempt to

show nor is it apparent how a patient’s disclosure to a

treating doctor that he fell because of a dizzy spell could

possibly be separated from the doctor’s decision on the

extent of sedation, bed rest, and other treatment to be

afforded the patient.

Moreover, on the particular facts in the case at bar.

the admission of Exhibit G is sustainable on several

erounds independent of the federal Business Entries

Statute, and thus the question posed by plaintiff (even

assuming what obviously is not so, that a history of dizzi-

ness is unrelated to treatment or diagnosis) would in no

event be dispositive of the appeal. Plaintiff’s represen-

tation to this Court that there is ‘‘no other evidence in

the record to support’? (Petitioner’s brief, pp. 9 & 5) the

history of dizziness in Exhibit G is an outright misstate-

ment. The plain fact is that oral testimony by deposition,

which was unobjected to by plaintiff, had in the first instance

been given to the jury by Dr. Valenzi on the history of

dizziness he obtained from plaintiff, and, therefore, Exhibit

G which was subsequently received in evidence and which

3

also contained this history was merely cumulative evi-

dence (Point III(c) p. 15, infra). Indeed, Exhibit G was

ultimately read into evidence and to the jury with plain-

tiff’s consent and therefore the document became admissible

no matter what it contained (Point III(b) p. 14, infra),

and in any event was admissible in evidence under non-

statutory principles of evidence irrespective of the federal

Business Entries Statute (Point III (a) p. 13, infra).

Clearly, therefore, the case at bar does not involve the

question the petition raises.

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, in affirm-

ing the decision of the trial court, recognized, without

passing upon, the existence of these independent grounds

to sustain the admissibility of Exhibit G, saying (226 F.(2)

at pp. 825-826) :

‘*In view of what appears thus to be its clear

admissibility under the statute and the cases we do

not need to consider other grounds urged by the

defendant, such as that it was a ship’s log admissible

under the rule referred to in Lopoczyk v. Chester A.

Poling, Inc., 2 Cir., 152 F. 2d 457, and Naylor v.

Isthmian S. S. Co., 2 Cir., 187 F. 2d 538, thet it was

merely cumulative of other adequate evidence, and

that plaintiff waived his objection by agreeing to the

interpretation as received in evidence.’’

(‘OUNTER-STATEMENT OF Facts.

Plaintiff, before Hon. William Bondy and a_ jury,

unsuccessfully sought to recover damages for an alleged

assault claimed to have been committed on May 21, 1952

by an unknown person while he was a passenger aboard

the SS. Italia owned and operated by defendant, as well

as further damages for humiliation and aggravation

because allegedly after his injury he was orally abused by

a tee 2

5)

ASD RE A ee

j

¥

4

the hospital attendant. After a four day trial, the jury

on January 20, 1955 returned a verdict in favor of defend-

ant on both counts.

At the trial plaintiff testified that he boarded the

SS. Italia as a third class passenger on May 19, 1950 (R.

20, 21). Up until May 21, 1950 everything proceeded

normally (R. 88, R. 89) and there was no occasion for him

to complain to any of the ship’s personnel concerning any-

thing unusual about the ship (R. 89-90). According to

plaintiff, at about 4 or 4:30 a. m. of May 21, 1950 (R. 21)

he left his cabin on the after end (R. 37) of ‘‘C’’ deck (R.

25) dressed in his bathrobe (R. 22) to go to the toilet on

‘“‘B”’ deck (R. 22, R. 38). As he walked to the stairway

he did not see anyone in the vicinity (R. 32, R. 91). When

he reached the stairway he grasped the railing, placed

his foot on the first step and started going up the stairway

(R. 27, R. 91-92). Plaintiff testified he suddenly had a

fear that someone was behind him and before he could

turn around he felt a blow on his head (R. 22, R. 27), and

the next thing he knew he awakened on the deck near the

stairway (R. 27-28). Plaintiff’s doctor at the trial con-

ceded plaintiff did not suffer from any residue of the

injury other than what is referred to as general nervous-

ness (R. 240), that plaintiff had never been found unfit

for duty by him (R. 237-238) and that his findings were

‘‘nerfectly normal’ (R. 231). Plaintiff by his own testi-

mony would have had the court and jury believe that it

took him several months after he returned to the United

States in August, 1950 before lhe was able to resume

employment (R. 66) and that he no longer is able to work

(R. 112); but on cross-examination plaintiff suddenly

remembered that he returned to the United States on

August 1, 1950 and that he resumed his employment that

very same day (R. 105) and that since then he has been

5

working almost continuously earning about the same amount

of money which he earned before the accident, as his earn-

ing record clearly indicates (R. 137-149, Def. Ex. B-D).

Plaintiff, who admitted there was no motive for anyone

to have assaulted him (R. 90, R. 93, R. 95), did not see his

alleged assailant (R. 90-91) or where the alleged blow came

from (R. 91) and he could give no direct testimony that

he was actually assaulted (R. 91) and no witness called

established the alleged assault (R. 132). It was uncon-

troverted that the wound on plaintiff’s neck was length-

wise (R. 208, R. 265, R. 276) and not vertical, so that it

could have been caused only by coming in contact with a

horizontal object and not from an overhead blow (R. 240,

R. 265). Indeed, plaintiff’s doctor agreed that the type of

injury inflicted could not have come from a blackjack or

other similar instrument (R. 240). Moreover, since plain-

tiff based his claim on an unprovoked assault, he had to

admit that thereafter he was in constant fear of his own

safety and his family’s safety (R. 99, R. 101) ; but curiously

enough he did not report the alleged assault to any of the

ship’s personnel or any of the passengers (R. 97, R. 100,

R. 101), he did not request any protection (R. 100), he

continued to roam about the vessel unlimitedly (R. 99-100)

and when he returned to the United States, although he

could have selected another vessel, he sailed on the SS. Italia

(R. 103-104) the very ship on which lurked the claimed

dangers of which plaintiff supposedly was in dreaded fear.

Cabin boy Bettoso, who at the time of the accident was

mopping the deck about five or six meters aft of the stair-

way in question (R. 290, R. 291), testified that he actually

heard plaintiff slipping down the stairways (R. 291, R. 292-

293, I. 299-301), as would have happened during plaintiff’s

dizzy spell, and that by the time Bettoso turned to learn

what happened he saw plaintiff going back to and re-enter-

a

OE

PRI A BK

6

ing his cabin (R. 293). Bettoso further testified that there

had been no other person in the vicinity (R. 302) and that

when he later that morning washed the stairway (R. 294) he

noticed blood on two or three of the steps in about the middle

of the stairway (R. 295), which could not have been there

had plaintiff been assaulted while on the deck and not on

the stairway as plaintifi claimed.

In addition, Dr. Valenzi, ship’s surgeon who treated

plaintiff (R. 150, R. 151, R. 172) testified orally, and not

from any documents, that in obtaining plaintiff’s history

plaintiff did not say he was assaulted but to the contrary

plaintiff stated he had suffered a dizzy spell while ascend-

ing the stairway and that he slipped down the stairway

and struck his head against the steps (R. 161, R. 288).

This oral testimony was competent, relevant, and material,

and at no time was it objected to by plaintiff’s attorney

(R. 161, R. 288). Judge Bondy also admitted into evidence

Exhibit G, a page from the ship’s surgery log (R. 152)

wherein was recorded in the regular course of the doctor’s

duties (R. 152-154) the histery given by plaintiff that he

suffered a dizzy spell, and the treatment rendered.’

This exhibit is in a foreign language and while plaintiff’s

attorney objected to its competency before it was trans-

lated to the jury and before the jury knew what it con-

tained (R. 349), when the time came to read it to the jury

1 Though we believe it relevant to the issues presented, we point

out that the entry in Exhibit G by Dr. Valenzi was not made by an

alleged tort-feasor as is claimed in the petition ; apparently plaintiff

forgot that the complaint upon which his claim is grounded served

in October, 1950 soon after the accident does not make any allega-

tion against the ship’s doctor but it is there stated that the ship’s

hospital attendant, not the ship’s doetor, orally abused plaintiff. In

this respect, Judge Bondy believed this sudden inconsistency in

plaintiff’s claim was of sufficient importance to direct in his charge

the jury’s attention to the allegation in the complaint which pro-

ceeded against the hospital attendant and not the ship’s surgeon

(R. 369).

7

plaintiff’s attorney reversed his position and explicitly

consented that it be translated and read to the jury (R. 388)

and that the jury be furnished with a transcript of the

translation (R. 389).

POINT I.

THE DECISION BELOW SUSTAINING THE ADMISSIBILITY OF

Exuisir G As A RECORD MADE IN THE REGULAR COURSE OF BUSI-

NESS UNDER THE FeperaL Business Entries Statute 28

U. S. C. $1732, 1s CLEARLY CORRECT AND IS NOT IN CONFLICT

WITH THIS COURT’s DECISION IN Palmer v. Hoffman, 318

U.S. 109.

The petition does not challenge the now firmly estab-

lished principle that records made by physicians treating

(as distinguished from examining) a plaintiff, as well as

records kept by hospitals, if made in the regular course of

business, are admissible in evidence. Korte v.N. Y.N. H. d

H.R. Co., 191 F. 2d 86 (2 Cir.) certiorari denied 342 U. S.

868; Pekelis v. Transcontinental & Western Air, Inc., 187

EF, 2d 122, 129-131 (2 Cir.) certiorari denied 341 U. S. 951;

Tucker v. Loew’s Theatre, 149 F. 2d. 677, 680 (2 Cir.);

Landon v. U. S., 197 F. 2d 128, 130 (2 Cir.); Croll v. John

Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co., 198 F. 2d 562 (3 Cir.) ; Ulm

v. Moore-McCormack, 115 F. 2d. 492, rehearing denied 117

F, 2d 222 (2 Cir.) certiorari denied 313 U.S. 567. Nor does

the petition question the irrelevancy of plaintiff’s being

ina ship’s hospital rather than in a shore hospital in deter-

mining whether the entry made during his hospitalization

is admissible.

8

Petitioner claims that because at the trial? the ship’s

doctor was accused by plaintiff, not of having caused the

accident, but of having ill-treated plaintiff, the entry should

be considered made by an active tort-feasor and inadmis-

sible as a matter of law under the decision of Palmer v.

Hoffman, 318 U.S. 109.

The Palmer decision, however, is clearly inapplicable.

A reading of the Court of Appeal’s opinion discloses that

in that case there was nothing more involved than a state-

ment in question and answer form taken from the engineer

driving the engine which caused the accident and which

gave his own version of how the accident occurred; the

statement was taken in the course of defendant’s subse-

quent investigation of the accident. Obviously such a

statement was inadmissible. Those circumstances are not

present here.

In the case at bar we have a timely entry germane to

diagnosis and treatment, made by a physician who treated

the plaintiff in the ship’s hospital and the entry is in the

ship’s surgery log. The physician testified that the entry

was made in the regular course of business. Dr. Valenzi

2Under the statute, even if the entry had been made by an

alleged active tort-feasor as is claimed in the petition, that would

go to the weight of the entry and not to its admissibility. Landon v.

U. S., 197 F. 2d 128 (2 Cir.). But actually, plaintiff’s pleadings

did not charge Dr. Valenzi with any wrongdoing, for it is there

alleged the hospital attendant abused plaintiff. See footnote 1,

supra, page 6. This was not the result of confusion since plain-

tiff knew who the doctor was and who the hospital attendants were

(R. 33-34). Moreover, plaintiff’s charges were absolutely baseless,

as is amply demonstrated by plaintiff’s testimony that after he was

allegedly abused in the hospital and after he returned to stay in

his cabin, he voluntarily left his cabin and he requested to and was

allowed to sleep in the hospital (R. 36-37), and by plaintiff’s testi-

mony that on his return trip he could have selected another ship

but instead he returned on the same ship (R. 103) and that he had

no hesitaney to return to the hospital and obtain pills from the

doctor (R. 104). No doubt this evidence was considered by the

jury and influenced it in arriving at the verdict it did.

first established that Exhibit G came from the surgery log,

testifying as follows (R. 152):

**Q. Did you have any ccaversation with him

(plaintiff)? A. Yes. * * *

‘*Q. When Mr. Terrasi made the statement to

you that you entered in your report, did you write

it down in a book? * * * A. In my log.

“*Q. Is that the medical log? A. Surgery; yes.’’

Continuing, Dr. Valenzi establisiied the entry was made

within a reasonable time after the event, either while plain-

tiff was still in the room ‘‘or in the hospital already’’

(R. 153) :

‘*Q. Which one did you make first (the entry in

the surgery book or the written report to the cap-

tain)? <A. In the surgery book; this is my every-

day work.

“*@. At the time you made the entry in the

surgery book, was Mr. Terrasi still in the room? A.

Yes, or in the hospital already.

‘*Q. Well you wrote down what he told you? A.

Yes.”’

The doctor then established that this entry was made in

the regular course of business (R. 154):

**Q. Now, Doctor, you keep a book during the

regular course of your practice of medicine, during

your regular course of business here on the ship?

A. Yes.

**Q. Which book is that? A. The surgery book.

‘*Q. Is this where you make all entries pertain-

ing to treatments? <A. All things that happen; all

kind of things; everybody that comes inside is

entered in this book.

‘*Q. And this book is kept in your regular course

of business? A. Yes, the name of the patient, the

number of the cabin, his treatment.

pe RY RRR tet eT WO

Sate gh

| Seen Neh AAS

10

**Q. There is not any other place where you make

an entry outside of this book? A. No.

**Q. You keep this book yourself, personally?

Nobody else makes any entries here? A. No. I

am responsible here. When I have a colleague, my

colleague does the same thing.’’

There is no justification for the suggestion in the peti-

tion that Dr. Valenzi first testified that he did not keep

any records, but after changing his mind injected the

surgery log entry into the case (Petition, p. 7). Plaintiff’s

attorney well recognizes that the portion of Dr. Valenzi’s

testimony dealing with the absence of records relates to

records other than those kept in the surgery log, for plain-

tiff’s attorney himself brought out to the jury the following

(R. 282):

‘*@. And you kept no other records, either of

your treatment of this man, Terrasi, other than what

you claim you entered in your log journal or your

medical journals

The Exhibit B for identification (now Exhibit G

in evidence).

‘“A. Exactly.’’

The unfounded argument contained in the petition that

the entry in the surgery log is a ‘‘manufactured piece of

evidence’’, is nothing more than a repetition of the iden-

tical inflammatory and emotional appeal which plaintiff’s

attorney presented to the jury and which the jury neces-

sarily rejected by finding against the plaintiff (R. 343-4,

347-353).

The federal statute dealing with the admissibility of

entries made in the regular course of business, Section 1732,

28 U.S. C. categorically provides that all questions affect-

ing the weight of the document are to be resolved as ques-

11

tions of fact and shall not affect the admissibility of

the document. Not only is there no merit to plaintiff’s

unjustified attack on the authenticity of the document, but

assuming that an issue of fact existed, the jury has already

resolved that question against the plaintiff.

Oise? id.

THERE IS NO CONFLICT BETWFEN THE DECISION AT BAR

CONSTRUING THE FepeRAL Business Lnrrizs SratuTe AND

DECISIONS OF STATE COURTS CONSTRUING SIMILAR STATE STATUTES

INASMUCH AS A HISTORY OF DIZZINESS GIVEN BY A PATIENT

TO A DOCTOR IS OBVIOUSLY GERMANE TO DIAGNOSIS OR TREATMENT.

The petition asserts that the alleged conflict between

the Court of Appeals for the Second Cireuit and the New

York State Court of Appeals, as well as those other juris-

dictions cited by the New York State Court of Appeals

in Williams v. Alexander, 309 N. Y. 283, should be resolved

by this Court so that all of the Federal Courts and the

courts of those states having Business Records Acts similar

to the federal Business Entries Statute will have uniformity

in applying the law under such Acts (Petition pp. 0-6 & 11).

But the petition does not aver that there is any conflict

in the federal decisions interpreting the federal Business

Entries Statute.

Because state courts have interpreted similar state pro-

cedural statutes differently presents no federal question

and quite obviously does not give rise to a conflict in

decisions involving interpretation of the particular federal

statute with which this case is concerned. On this ground

alone certiorari should be denied.

But in any event, the decision in the ease at bar is not

at all in conflict with state court decisions interpreting

ee EEE

12

their own local similar statutes and therefore the question

which petitioner would have this Court review is clearly

not presented in this case.

The petition relies solely on the four to three decision

of Williams v. Alexander, 309 N. Y. 283 and the cases from

other state courts which it cites. But the Williams case

holds only that a detailed narrative history of an accident

so far as it is not germane to treatment or diagnosis is

inadmissible, as distinguished from those portions of the

history which may in any way be helpful to an understand-

ing of the medical aspects of the patient’s case, which are

admissible. The Williams case explicitly states (309 N. Y.

at page 288) :

‘*In some instances, perhaps, the patient’s expla-

nation as to how he was hurt may be helpful to an

understanding of the medical aspects of his case;

it might, for instance, assist the doctors if they were

to know that the injured man had been struck by an

automobile (see Scott v. Gibbons Co., supra, 192 Md.,

319, 330; ef. Roberto v. Nielson, supra, 288 N. Y.,

581; Watts v. Delaware Coach Co., supra, 44 Del.,

283). However, whether the patient was hit by car

A or car B, by car A under its own power or pro-

pelled forward by car B, or whether the injuries

were caused by the negligence of the defendant or of

another, cannot possibly bear on diagnosis or aid in

determining treatment.’’

We respectfully submit that in the instant case the

patient’s explanation as to how he was hurt, viz: he suffered

a dizzy spell, cannot be said other than to be helpful to an

understanding of the medical aspects of the case because

knowledge of a dizzy spell clearly bears on a doctor’s

decision as to the extent of sedatives, bed rest, and other

treatment to prescribe, as well as on the ultimate diagnosis.

13

POINT 22%.

IN ANY EVENT THE QUESTION SOUGHT TO BE RAISED BY THE

PETITION WOULD NOT BE DISPOSITIVE OF THE APPEAL SINCE

Exursir G was ADMISSIBLE NOT ONLY UNDER NON-STATUTORY

PRINCIPLES OF EVIDENCE AS AN ENTRY IN A SHIP’S LOG, BUT

ALSO BECAUSE PLAINTIFF SPECIFICALLY CONSENTED TO ITS BEING

READ INTO EVIDENCE. Moreover, THE HISTORY OF DIZZINESS

HAD ALREADY BEEN TESTIFIED TO ORALLY BY THE DOCTOR INVOLVED

WITHOUT OBJECTION FROM PLAINTIFF SO THAT THE CONTENTS

oF Exnisit G was MERELY CUMULATIVE EVIDENCE,

a. Exhibit G was admissible as an entry in a ship’s

log.

As an entry in the ship’s surgery log (R. 152), the

entry was properly received in evidence inasmuch as there

is abundant authority holding that entries in ship’s logs

are admissible whether offered by the plaintiff or by the

defendant, and whether offered in an admiralty suit or in a

civil suit.

Thus, in Lopoczyk v. Poling, 152 F. 24 457 (2 Cir.) the

court (in holding admissible the following log entry : ‘‘Note.

At 11:40 A. M., the u. bolt welded to the mast holding the

hoom, let go, in the weld, the boom fell down striking Capt.

W. Lopoezyk with the result that he was taken by ambu-

lance to Greenpoint hosp. in a critical condition.’’), stated

at pages 459-460:

‘Since the ship’s log is clearly admissible in

admiralty, Warner Barnes & Co. vr. Kokosai Kisen

Kabushiki Kaisha, 2 Cir., 192 F. 2d 450. modified

2 Cir., 103 F. 2d 430; The Georgian, 5 Cir. 76 F. 2d

550; The Earnest H. Meyer, 9 Cir., 84 F. 2d 496,

certiorari denied Hammond Lumber Co. r. Broughton

Pawnee ng

Sesot

ete Pee Ae ee RRR el

3

MRR BRS. Wee Ne

ee eos WE RI NE ow,

14

& Wiggins Nav. Co., 299 U. S. 600, 57 S. Ct. 193,

81 L. Ed. 442, it should likewise be admissible under

the Jones Act. We can see no reason for adoption

of a hypertechnical distinction in the rules of evi-

dence which would lead to anomalous results, par-

ticularly in cases involving major principles of

proof.’’

In Naylor v. Isthmian Steamship Company, 187 F. 2d

538 (2 Cir.), the lower court refused to admit a log

entry offered by the defendant, who prepared the log entry.

The Court of Appeals reversed, declaring at page 540:

‘The smooth log was admissible both under the

Business Entry Statute, 28 U. 8S. C. A. $1732, and

under general admiralty practice which is applicable

to the admissibility of evidence in actions under the

Jones Act. Lopoczyk v. Chester A. Poling, Inc.,

2 Cir., 152 F. 2d 457.”’

b. Exhibit G was admissible since it was read into

evidence and to the jury with the explicit consent

of plaintiff.

Exhibit G as admitted was in a foreign language and

until translated obviously it meant absolutely nothing to

the jury. While an interpreter had for the guidance of the

court translated Exhibit G (R. 197-199), this had all taken

place in the absence of the jury (R. 199). Naturally, after

the jury retired and it glanced at Exhibit G written in a

foreign language it would, as it did, ask for a translation

of it (R. 338). At this point plaintiff’s attorney instead of

preserving the objection he had previously taken to Exhibit

G, reversed his position and explicitly consented not only

to the interpreter’s translation of the exhibit being read to

the jury (R. 388), but also to the jury’s being furnished

with a transcript of the translation marked Def. Ex. J. id.

(R. 389).

15

While it has held that an objection to evidence once

made need not be repeated through the trial to preserve

the rights of the appellant (Keen v. Overseas Tankship

Corp., 194 I’. 2d 515 (2 Cir.) cert. denied 343 U. S. 966;

Coulo v. United Fruit Co., 203 ¥. 2d 456 (2 Cir.)), those

cases are obviously inapplicable where a party, as here,

instead of failing to take an objection, explicitly consents

to the evidence being furnished to the jury.

Cc.

Oral testimony unobjected to by plaintiff had

already been given the jury by Dr. Valenzi of

the history of dizziness so that Exhibit G which

also contained this history was merely cumulative

of other adequate evidence.

Before Exhibit G was admitted into evidence, Dr.

Valenzi gave the following testimony which the record

clearly shows was oral testimony and not from any docu-

ments (R. 161):

“*@. Did any conversation between you and he

take place?’ A. Nothing besides the cireumstances

that accompanied the wound.

*Q. Did you ask him what happened to him? A.

Of course I did.

**Q. What was his answer? Will you tell me his

words? A. Exactly I couldn't tell you his words but

what he said was this: that going down from the deck

where the toilets are to deck C where his cabin was

he felt dizzy and he fell down and struck his head

against the stairease (indicating).

The Court: That is well done. That is all right.

He doesn’t object to it.

Mr. Graham: That is my own cross examination.

I am cross examining him on what he was reading

from a paper before.

The Court: The questions are all right. You

asked the questions yourself, so don’t find fault.

ya INI,

16

Mr. Graham: I am not finding fault with it.’’

(Emphasis supplied.)

Dr. Valenzi had also testified (R. 288) :

‘*Q. Did Mr. Terrasi tell you whereabouts on the

ship he was hurt? A. He told me from deck B down

to deck C, he fell on the staircase.’’

All of the above testimony was received without objec-

tion by plaintiff’s counsel (R. 161, R. 288, R. 97).

Since Exhibit G contained nothing more than what

already had been testified to without plaintiff’s objection,

it was merely cumulative evidence and, therefore, even if it

were error to admit the exhibit, the error did not prejudice

plaintiff. Tucker v. Loew’s Theatre & Realty Corp., 149 F.

2d 677, 680 (2 Cir.).

ConcLusion.

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Louis J. GusMano,

Counsel for Respondent,

South Atlantic Lines, Ine.

Kiri, Campsett. & Keatine,

of Counsel.

February, 1956.

(9914)

i

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.