Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sherr v. Anaconda Wire & Cable Co.
Supreme Court brief1945
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
Petition ror Writ or CERTIORARI 1
A—The Jurisdiction of this Court 1
B—Summary Statement of the Matter Involved..... 1
1. Character of the Action
2. The Proceedings below
3. The False Claims Statute, its interpreta-
tion by tuis Court and its 1943 amend-
ment
| 4. The issues below
5. The opinions below
C—The Questions Presented to This Court.
D—Grounds for Granting the Writ of Certiorari..
Brier iN Support oF Petition FoR CERTIORARI
Porxt I—"Jpon bringing a private suit under the
False Claims Statute, the relator acquires, by
operation of law, a property right in the cause
of action which is immune from governmental
interference
Porst I]—Petitioner also has a contract right
against the United States to prosecute this suit
to judgment and to collect his share of the re-
covery .......
Port I]1—Denial of federal jurisdiction by the
1943 amendment of the False Claims Statute
is tantamount to the destruction of petitioner’s
right itself
ii
PAGE
Porst TV—The 1943 amendment of the False
Claims Statute cannot be sustained on the
ground that petitioner may sue for compen-
sation in the Court of Claims
A—Congress made no contract to compensate
B—Even if Congress had contracted to compen-
sate petitioner, the taking of his property was
invalid since it was not “for publie use”... :
Appenpix A
The False Claims Statute Before the 1943 Amend-
ment
Appenpix B
The 1943 Amendment of the False Claims Statute...
iil
TABLE OF CASES
PAGE
Alabama v. U. S., 282 U. 8S, 502 (1931) 28, 29
Angle v. Chicago ete. R. Co., 151 U.S. 1 (1894). =
Atwater & Co. v. U. S., 275 U. S. 188 (1927)... 30
Ball Engineering Co. v. White & Co., 250 U. S. 46
(1919) 30
Bank of St. Mary’s v. Georgia, 12 Ga. 475 (1853). 20
Basso v. U. S., 239 U. S. 602 (1916) 27
Beadleston v. Sprague, 6 Johns. (N. Y.) 101 (1810)... 17
Brinkerhoff-Faris T. & S. Co. v. Hill, 281 U. S. 673
(1930) 26
Bush v. U. S., 13 Fed. 625 (C. C. Ore., 1882). 24
Caswell v. Allen, 10 Johns. (N. Y.) 118 (1813). 24
Combe v. Pitt, 3 Burr. 1423, 97 Eng. Rep. 907... 17
Commonwealth v. Howard, 13 Mass. 221 (1816)... 17
Couch v. Jefferies, 4 Burr. 2460, 98 Eng. Rep. 290
(1769) 15
Dr. Foster’s Case, 11 Coke 65 b, note, 77 Eng. Rep. 1235,
note 14
Ettor v. Tacoma, 228 U. S. 148 (1913). 18, 19, 26
Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Everglades Drainage Dis-
trict, 258 U. S. 338 (1922) 18
Graham v. Goodeell, 282 U. S. 409 (1931)... 18, 26
Hammon v. Griffith, Cro. Eliz. 583, 78 Eng. Rep. 826... 14
Hunt v. Rousmanier, 8 Wheat. (21 U.S.) 174 (1823)... 25
Hurley v, Kincaid, 285 U. S. 95 (1932) 8, 26
Hutchinson v. Thomas, 2 Lev. 141, 83 Eng. Rep. 488... 17
iv
PAGE
Jackson v. Gisling, Str. 1169, 93 Eng. Rep. 1105... 17
John Horstman Co. v. U. S., 257 U. S. 188 (1921)... 11
Klebe v. U. S., 263 U. S. 188 (1923) 30
Lockerty v. Phillips, 319 U. S. 182 (1943) 25
Lynch v. U. S., 292 U. 8. 571 (1984) 23
Marion & Rye V. R. Co. v. U. S., 270 U.S. 280 (1926)... 27
Marvin v. Trout, 199 U. S. 212 (1905) 13
Missouri Pac. R. Co. v. Nebraska, 164 U. S. 403 (1896)... 30
M’Lane v. U. S., 6 Pet. (31 U.S.) 404 (1882) nnn 20
Mullen Benev. Co. v. U. S., 290 U.S. 89 (1933)... 30
Nathanson v. U. S., 321 U. S. 746 (1944) 9
Norris v. Crocker, 13 How. (54 U. 8.) 429 (1854)... 7,19
Osborn v. Nicholson, 13 Wall. (80 U. S.) 654 (1872)... 18
Overnight Motor Transp. Co. v. Missel, 316 U. 8. 572
(1942) 19
Pearson v. U. S., 267 U. S. 423 (1925) 29
Pennock v. Dialogue, 2 Pet. (27 U. 8.) 1 (1829) 16
Perry v. U. S., 294 U.S. 330 (1935) 24
Pollock v. Steamboat Laura, 5 Fed. 133 (D. C., 8. D.
N. Y., 1880) 16
‘ Pope v. Lewis, 4 Ala. 487 (1842) 19
Pritchard v. Norton, 106 U. S. 124 (1882) 18
Richmond M. & L. Co. v. Wachovia B. & T. Co., 300 U.S.
124 (1937) 26
Rindge v. Los Angeles, 262 U. S. 700 (1923)... 8, 30
Robison v. Beall, 26 Ga. 17 (1858) 18
Russell v. Sebastian, 233 U. 8. 195 (1914) 21, 22
Schillinger v. U. S., 155 U. S. 162 (1894) 27
State v. Bishop, 7 Conn, 181 (1828) 17
PAGE
Stretton v. Tayler, Cro. Eliz. 138, 78 Eng. Rep. 395......... 14
Sutherland v. Int’l Ins. Co., 43 F. 2d 969 (C. C. A. 2,
1930) 13
Tempel v. U. 8., 248 U. S. 121 (1918) 8,11
U. 8. v. Anaconda Wire & Cable Co., 52 F. Supp. 824
(D. C., E. D. Pa., 19438) 17
U.S. v. Baker-Lockwood Mfg. Co., 138 F. 2d 48 (1948),
rev’d sub nom. Nathanson vy. U. S., 321 U. S. 746
(1944) 11, 17
U.S. v. Certain Lands, 78 F. 2d 684 (C. C. A. 6, 1935),
cert. dism. 297 U. 8. 726 30
U. S. v. Dwight Mfg. Co., 213 Fed. 522 (D. C. Mass.,
1914) 17
U.S. v. Great Falls Mfg. Co., 112 U. S. 645 (1884)... 28
U. S. v. Griswold, Fed. Cas. No. 15266 (D. C. Ore.,
1877) 16, 17, 24
U.S. v. Griswold, 24 Fed. 361 (D. C. Ore., 1885), aff’d
30 Fed. 762 (C. C. Ore., 1887) 16
U.S. v. Lynah, 188 U. 8. 445 (1903) 8, 11, 26, 28
U.S. v. North American Transp. & Trad. Co., 253 U.S.
330 (1920) 28
U. S. ex rel. Benjamin v. Hendritk, 52 F. Supp. 60
(D. C., S. D. N. Y., 1948) 17
U. S. ex rel. Mareus v. Hess, 317 U. S. 537 (1943)..4, 11, 19
U. S. ex rel. Rodriguez v. Weekly Publications, Inc.,
144 F. 2d 186 (C. C. A. 2, 1944). 7
W. B. Worthen Co. v. Kavanaugh, 295 U.S. 56 (1935)... 26
Wilkinson v. Leland, 2 Pet. (27 U. 8.) 627 (1829)... «18
Winne v. Snow, 19 Fed. 507 (D. C., S. D. N. Y., 1884). 24
Wood v. Duff-Gordon, 222 N. Y. 88 (1917) 21
Yearsley v. Ross Construction Co., 309 U.S. 18 (1940)_8, 26
vi
AUTHORITIES
PAGE
12 Am. Jur., Const. L., §406, p. 37. 21
Bacon’s Abridgment, verbo “Pardon” (B) .-.------——— 15
4 Blackstone, Commentaries, 399 15, 25
3 Coke Inst. 238 14, 25
Cong. Ree., 78th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 5872, col. 1; p.
7571, cols. 2-3; House Rep. No. 263 5
Cong. Ree. 78th Cong., Ist Sess., House Rep. No.
263 5
Cong. Ree., 78th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 10845, col. 3, p.
10846, col. 1 10
Cong. Ree., 78th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 7572; Sen. Rep.
No. 291, Part 1 31
78th Cong., Ist Sess., Sen. Rep. No. 291, Parts 1 and
2; House Rep. Nos. 263 and 933 5
Cong. Ree., pp. 2800-1, 5871-3, 7347, 7424, 7437-44,
7570-9, 7596-9, 7600-17, 10696, 10741-52, 10844-9_. 5
Constitution, Art. IIT, $1 7, 9, 25, 29
Constitution, Fifth Amendment 3, 9, 26
Court of Claims Act, Judicial Code, $145 (1), 28
U.S. C., $250 (1) 8, 27
False Claims Statute, 12 Stat. 698; R. S., §§3490-3493 ;
31 U.S. C., §§231-234
False Claims Statute, Ch. 377, Public Law No. 213,
78th Congress, First Session, 57 Stat. 608-9... 2,5
Hawkins, Pleas of the Crown, bk. 2, ch. 26, 964 (7th
Ed., 1795) 15, 17
Iudicial Code, §256 (2), 28 U. S. C., §371 (2)..—-4, 7, 26
Vii
PAGE
Letter of Attorney General, Cong. Rec., 78th Cong.,
Ist Sess., p. 7612, col. 1 24
Restatement, Agency, §1, Comment (d) 24
Restatement, Agency, §§118, 455 24
Restatement, Agency, §§138, 139 25
Restatement, Contracts, §28 21
Restatement, Contracts, $31 21
Restatement, Contracts, $§45, 90 21
Restatement, Trusts, §8, Comments (a), (b), (¢)...... 25
R. S., §13, 1 U.S. C., $29 19
R. S., $3490. 4, 19, 25
R. S., §3491 4, 5, 22, 24
R. S., $3491 (C), as amended 6, 10, 30
R. S., §3492 12
R. S., $8493 4, 5, 18, 22, 24, 30
Rule 24, F. R. C. P 12
- Tucker Act, 28 U. S. C., §41 (20) 27
35 U. S. C., $50. 11
Year Book 1 Henry VII, fol. 3a (Mich. T., Plea 2
(1485) ) 13
Williston, Contracts (Rev. Ed., 1936), Vol. I, §32, pp.
77 et seq 21
Williston, Contracts (Rev. Ed., 1936), Vol. I, $60,
p. 166 21
_ Williston, Contracts (Rev. Ed., 1936), Vol. I, §60A,
p. 170 21
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM 1945
Moszs B. SHERR,
Petitioner,
against
Awnaconpa Wire AND CasLe Company and
Unttep States or AMERICA,
Respondents.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the Supreme Court of the United States and to the
Honorable the Chief Justice and the Justices thereof:
The petition of the relator, Moses B. Sherr, for a writ of
certiorari to the United States Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit respectfully shows to this Court:
A
The Jurisdiction of This Court
The jurisdiction of this Court rests upon §240 of the
Judicial Code, 28 U.S. C., $347.
Summary Statement of the Matter Involved
Petitioner asks this Court to review the Cireuit Court’s
affirmance (R. 69) of the judgment of the District Court
for Southern New York dismissing the action for lack of
jurisdiction (R. 46). A review is also sought of the Cir-
cuit Court’s denial of rehearing (R. 68).
2
‘ The opinion of the District Court (R. 47), by Leibell,
D. J., is reported 57 F. Supp. 106. That of the Circuit
Court (R. 60), by L. Hand and Clark, C. JJ. (Clark, C,
J., concurring), is reported 149 F. 2d 680.
The Circuit Court filed its opinion on May 25, 1945 (R.
60). On June 5, 1945, within the fifteen days allowed by
Rule 27 of the Cireuit Court, petitioner moved for a re-
hearing (R. 62) which the Cireut Court denied on June
8, 1945 (R. 68). The Cireuit Court's judgment of affirm.
ance was entered June 16, 1945 (R. 69).
1. Character of the action
This is a qui tam action brought by the petitioner as ie-
lator on behalf of himself and the United States against
the Anaconda Wire and Cable Company (“Anaconda” here-
after) pursuant to the False Claims Statute, 12 Stat. 698;
R. S., §§3490-3493 ; 31 U. S. C., §§231-234 (Appendix A, in-
fra, p. 32).
The complaint (R. 3) alleges that Anaconda, under con-
tracts with the Army and Navy, delivered defective wire
and cable. Anaconda and some ef its officials—who are
named as defendants but have not been served—fraudu-
lently concealed the defects and thus induced the Govern-
ment to accept delivery and to pay the contract price. The
complaint demands judgment in favor of the United States
and petitioner for double the damages sustained by the
United States, for the statutory forfeitures, for interest
and costs.
2. The proceedings below
The action was commenced December 23, 1942, in the
District Court for Southern New York (R. 1). Concededly
it was based on information which was then in the posses
sion of the United States (R. 35).
One year after the suit was brought, on December 23,
1943, Congress amended the False Claims Statute: Ch.
377, Public Law No. 213, 78th Congress, First Session, 57
3
Stat. 608-9 (Appendix B, infra, p. 35). In March, 1944,
following the amendment, the Government entered its ap-
pearance in this action (R. 8, 9). But two months later,
in May, 1944, it commenced an independent suit of its own
for the wrongs herein alleged (R. 36, 19).
In the present action the following motions were then
made:
1. Petitioner moved to strike the Government’s ap-
pearance (R. 10);
2. The Government moved to stay the prosecution
of this action pending determination of its own suit
(R. 13); and
3. Anaconda moved to dismiss this action on the
ground that the 1943 amendment of the False Claims
Statute had deprived the District Court of jurisdic-
tion (R. 28).
Petitioner predicated his motion, and opposed those of
the Government and of Anaconda, on the ground, among
others, that the 1943 amendment, as applied to this case,
deprives him of his property without due process of law,
in violation of the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution
(R. 11-12, 36-37).
The District Court denied the motions of petitioner and of
the Government (R. 47). It found (as was conceded) that
this suit is based on information in the possession of the
United States at the time this suit was brought (R. 47); it
sustained the constitutionality of the 1943 amendment; and
it dismissed the action on the ground that the amendment
had deprived it of jurisdiction (R. 46).
The Cireuit Court, likewise upholding the new statute,
affirmed (R. 60, 69) and, without further opinion, denied re-
hearing (R. 68).
4
3. The False Claims Statute, its interpretation by this
Court, and its 1943 amendment
(a) The pre-1943 statute: The False Claims Statute
(Appendix A, infra, p. 32) requires any person making
fraudulent claims against the United States Government to
pay it double damages, a forfeiture of $2,000 and the costs
of the suit; R. S., §3490. The district courts of the United
States have exclusive jurisdiction of such suits; R. 8.
§3491; Judicial Code, §256 (2), 28 U.S. C., §371 (2). These
provisions have not been affected by the 1943 amendment.
Prior to the 1943 amendment the statute permitted “any
person” to bring and carry on such suit “as well for him-
self as for the United States”. The relator had to bear
the “sole cost and charge” of the suit; he was not to with-
draw it without the written consent of the Judge and the
District Attorney; R. S., $3491.
The person “bringing said suit and prosecuting it to
final judgment” was entitled to “one-half the amount of
such forfeiture, as well as one-half the amount of the dam-
ages he shall recover and collect”, and to all costs the Court
might award against the defendant. The other half of the
forfeiture and damages was to “belong to and be paid
over to the United States”. The relator was to be “liable —
for all costs incurred by himself” and was to “have no |
claim therefor on the United States”. Costs were to be
taxed according to any law or rule governing “suits be-
tween private parties”; R. S., $3493.
(b) The interpretation of the statute by this Court:
In U. S. ex rel. Marcus v. Hess, 317 U. S. 537, at 545-8
(1943), this Court held, over the strenuous objection of
the Government appearing as amicus curiae, that a relator
could prosecute a qui tam action under the False Claims
Statute even though he had derived all his information
from the Government. “One of the chief purposes of the
Act * * * was to stimulate action to protect the government
against war frauds” (p. 547), even where the frauds were
known to the Government. The statute was born out of the
5
apprehension of Congress that, because of official inertia,
ineptness or dishonesty, even those frauds known to the
Government would not be prosecuted with due zeal and
skill. Congress therefore applied to the citizenry at large;
invited them to undertake, at their own expense, the pro-
tection of their Government against fraud; and assured
them, if successful, of a generous reward.
Promptly after the decision of the Marcus case the Gov-
ernment asked Congress to amend the False Claims Stat-
ute (Cong. Rec., 78th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 5872, col. 1; p.
7571, col. 2-3; House Rep. No. 263). The amendment was
enacted on December 23, 1943, one year after the com-
mencement of this action (57 Stat. 608-9). References to
the Congressional debates and other legislative materials
are set forth in the footnote.*
(c) The 1943 amendment of the False Claims Statute:
The amendment (Appendix B, infra, p. 35), repealed
R. S., §3493, and completely reframed R. S. §3491. Qui
tam actions (whether pending at the time of the amendment
or brought thereafter) can be maintained only if they are
based on information original with the relator. Notice of
any such suit must be given to the United States Attorney
who, within sixty days, may enter his appearance in the
suit and take it over. If he does, the relator may be awarded
reasonable compensation for the disclosure of his evidence
or information, but not more than one-tenth of the recov-
ery. If the United States Attorney does not take over,
the relatur may prosecute the action, in which case he may
be awarded up to one-fourth of the recovery.
For present purposes it suffices to quote only one pro-
vision of the amendment:
“The court shall have no jurisdiction to proceed
with any * * * pending suit brought under this section
whenever it shall be made to appear that such suit was
based upon evidence or information in the possession
* 78th Cong., Ist Sess., Sen. Rep. No. 291, Parts 1 and 2; House
Rep. Nos. 263 and 933; Cong. Rec., pp. 2800-1, 5871-3, 7347, 7424,
0-9 074) - 0844.
)
- HO0- ley,
—
6
of the United States, or any agency, officer or em-
ployee thereof, at the time such suit was brought”
R. S., §3491 (C), as amended).
Once a qui tam suit is dismissed under this provision,
the Government may bring an action of its own upon the
same cause, for the whole amount of the forfeiture and
damages allowed by the statute; and the relator in the
first suit has no right to share in the Government’s re-
covery.
The Courts below dismissed this action on the strength
of the quoted provision.
4. The issues below
In the Courts below the basic question, whether the 1943
amendment takes petitioner’s property without due process
of law, resolved itself into several sharply contested issues.
(a) Petitioner contended that he has a contract right
against the United States, protected by the Constitution,
to prosecute this suit to judgment and to collect his half
of the recovery. The pre-1943 False Claims Statute, said
petitioner, constituted an offer of such a contract; and by
commencing this suit petitioner accepted it (see Brief,
infra, pp. 20-25).
Respondents denied that the False Claims Statute was
an offer: but if it was, they argued that it could be revoked
at any time before petitioner recovered final judgment;
and the 1943 amendment effected the revocation.
(b) Independent of his contract theory, petitioner con-
tended that upon commencement of this suit he became by
operation of law the owner (as assignee ex lege) of one-
half of the Government’s claim against Anaconda; as such
he had a vested right in the eause of action which could
not be reappropriated by the Government. For this con;
tention petitioner invoked a long line of authorities in
England and in this country (see Brief, infra, pp. 13-20).
Respondents denied their applicability.
7
(c) Petitioner contended that his rights were taken by
the 1943 amendment. For although in terms the amend-
ment purported only to terminate the jurisdiction of the
district courts, it in effect destroyed petitioner’s rights,
since the district courts were the only and exclusive forum
available to him, 28 U. S. C., §371 (2) (see Brief, infra,
pp. 25-26).
Respondents, in turn, insisted that Congress is free to
regulate the jurisdiction of the district courts (Constitu-
tion, Art. III, §1) and that the 1943 amendment was only
an exercise of that power.
Such were the issues below. But the Circuit Court, as
will presently be seen, avoided their determination and
preferred to place its decision on a ground not raised,
argued or briefed by any of the parties.
5. The opinions below
(a) The District Court’s opinion (R. 47): In sustain-
ing the constitutionality of the 1943 amendment, the Dis-
trict Court followed the reasoning of a dictum in U. S.
ex rel. Rodriquez v. Weekly Publications, Inc., 144 F. 2d
186, at 188 (C. C. A. 2, 1944). In the Rodriguez case the
Cireuit Court had stated (on the authority of Norris v.
Crocker, 13 How. (54 U. S.) 429 (1854), and similar cases)
that the “privilege of conducting the suit on behalf of the
United States and sharing in the proceeds of any judgment
recovered was an award of statutory creation which, prior
to final judgment, was wholly within the control of Con-
gress”, and that the claim of unconstitutionality was
“wholly illusory”.
(b) The Circuit Court’s per curiam opinion (R. +t
Upon petitioner’s appeal herein, the Circuit Court pro-
fessed to “see no reason to recede from the position”
taken in the Rodriguez case. Having so said, the Circuit
Court promptly abandoned that position and advanced an
altogether new ground. It assumed, for argument, that
petitioner was right in contending that the 1943 amend-
8
ment effected a “taking” of his property. But that “taking”,
it held, was not unconstitutional since it was not without
“just compensation”. For, according to the Cireuit Court,
by taking petitioner’s property the Government impliedly
contracted to pay him compensation, U. S. v. Lynah, 188
U. S. 445 (1903) ; petitioner may sue upon that implied con-
tract in the Court of Claims, 28 U. S. C., §250 (1) ; and that
recourse is an adequate remedy, Yearsley v. Ross Con-
struction Co., 309 U. 8. 18 (1940); Hurley v. Kincaid, 285
U. S. 95 (1932).
In his application for rehearing (R. 62) petitioner
urged that’not every governmental taking of property
raises an implied contract to pay compensation; such con-
tract is implied only where the Government “takes prop-
erty the ownership of which it concedes to be in an indi-
vidual”; U. S. v. Lynah, supra, 188 U. S., at 465; Tempel
v. U. S., 248 U. S. 121, at 129-130 (1918). Here not even
the Cireuit Court “conceded” that petitioner had owner-
ship rights in the property taken (i.e., the claim against
Anaconda) ; much less did Congress so concede (see Brief,
infra, pp. 27-30). Hence, no promise to pay compensation
ean be implied. Furthermore, even if it were assumed that
Congress promised to pay compensation, still, under the
Fifth Amendment, it could take petitioner’s property only
“for public use”; Rindge v. Los Angeles, 262 U.S. 700, at
705 (1923). <A taking which, as here, merely swells the
general treasury of the United States does not meet this
test and is, therefore, without due process of law (see
Brief, infra, pp. 30-31).
Cc
The Questions Presented to This Court
The precise question before this Court is:
Does the 1943 amendment of the False Claims
Statute, as applied to this case, deprive petitioner of
9
his property without due process of law, in violation
of the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution of the
United States?
In Nathanson v. U. S., 321 U. S. 746 (1944), this ques-
tion was reserved. It is now squarely presented.
The answer depends on a number of subsidiary ques-
tions :
1. Has the relator in a private suit under the False
Claims Statute a contract right against the United
States, protected by the Constitution, to seek judgment
for and to collect his half of the recovery?
The Cireuit Court’s per curiam opinion avoids an an-
swer. But if, as we believe, the Cireuit Court’s own
ground of decision (that petitioner has an adequate rem-
edy in the Court of Claims) fails, the question must be
answered.
Even if a contract between the United States and peti-
tioner were denied, the question would remain:
2. Does a relator suing under the False Claims
Statute acquire, by operation of law, a property right
in the cause of action, protected by the Constitution?
Again the Circuit Court, although apparently impressed
by our authorities, avoided the answer. But again that
answer is called for, if, as we propose to show, the Cir-
cuit Court’s own ground lacks force.
3. Does the power of Congress to regulate the
jurisdiction of the district courts (Constitution, Art.
IIT, $1) sustain the 1943 amendment?
Respondents so argued. But under the guise of regu-
lating jurisdiction the 1943 amendment deprived petitioner
of the only forum available to him, thereby in effect de-
stroying his right.
10
Finally, the question going to the heart of the Circuit
Court’s decision is:
4. Can the taking of petitioner’s property be sus-
tained on the ground that he may sue the United
States for compensation in the Court of Claims?
D
Grounds for Granting the Writ of Certiorari
1. The constitutionality of the 1943 amendment of the
False Claims Statute, as applied to qui tam actions pend-
ing at the time of its enactment, has not been, but should
be, determined by this Court.
(a) The rights of a litigant under the Constitution are
commended to the particular vigilance and protection of
this Court. The Court below ruled that the constitution-
ality of the 1943 amendment is “the bare question before
us” (R. 61). An application for review in such a case
should strongly appeal to the discretion of this Court.
(b) At the time of the enactment of the 1943 amend-
ment there were pending more than 250 private actions
under the False Claims Statute (Cong. Rec., 78th Cong,
Ist Sess., p. 10845, col. 3, p. 10846, col. 1). Their fate
will be controlled by the decision of this Court.
(c) This Court’s decision will also control qua tam ac-
tions hereafter to be brought under the 1943 amendment.
For where the Government fails or refuses to enter its
appearance in such an action within the sixty-day period
allowed by R. S., §3491(C), as amended, the relator’s posi-
tion under the new statute is substantially the same as
under the old. If the decision below is permitted to stand,
the relator in any such action will, until final judgment
therein, remain in danger of being ousted by the Govern-
ment, be it by legislative or executive action. To cast such
11
a cloud of uncertainty upon every future gui tam action
would hardly encourage the institution of this type of suit,
although Congress manifestly intended its preservation.
And this is equally applicable to the numerous other types
of gui tam actions authorized by federal statutes, such as 35
U.S. C., $50, and other statutes cited in U. S. ex rel. Marcus
v. Hess, supra, 217 U. S., at 541, n. 4.
Even before the 1943 amendment was enacted, the Eighth
Cireuit Court held, in U. 8S. v. Baker-Lockwood Mfg. Co.,
138 F. 2d 48, at 52-3 (1943), rev’d on other grounds sub
nom. Nathanson v. U. S., 321 U.S. 746 (1944), that the Gov-
ernment may supersede an earlier qui tam action by filing a
suit of its own. Respondents deduce that the relator in a
qui tam suit can have no vested right. But the Court below
declared the Baker-Lockwood case “open to conceivable
doubt” (R. 61); it is, we submit, in conflict with earlier
authorities (infra, p. 17); and it seems refuted by this
Court’s dictum in U. S. ex rel. Marcus v. Hess, supra, 317
U. S., at 547-8, that only the filing of a prior suit by the
Government bars a later qui tam action. But the Govern-
ment claims that the Baker-Lockwood case is still con-
trolling (R. 20). The conflict of authorities emphasizes the
need for review by this Court.
2. In ruling that petitioner’s property was not unconsti-
tutionally taken because he may sue for compensation in
the Court of Claims, the Cireuit Court decided a federal
question in a way probably in conflict with applicable de-
cisions of this court, such as U. S. v. Lynah, 188 U. 8. 445
(1903) ; Tempel v. U. S., 248 U. S. 121 (1918) ; John Horst-
man Co. v. U. S., 257 U.S. 138 (1921). We propose to show
this conflict in our brief (infra, pp. 27-30). If the deci-
sion below were permitted to stand, it would have most
prejudicial effects. The Government, although not pur-
porting to act under its power of eminent domain, could be
made a condemnor in invitum of property which it never
intended to expropriate; and it could be sued for compen-
sation in the Court of Claims although it demonstrably
12
never intended to make a contract for compensation. And
on the other hand the Circuit Court’s decision would expand
the concept of “public use”, for which property may be
taken by eminent domain, beyond all limits heretofore rec-
ognized by this Court.
If the decision below is reversed and petitioner is per-
mitted to prosecute this action, the Government need not
fear that it cannot safeguard its interests. Its remedy is
by intervention, Rule 24 F. R. C. P., which may even be
obligatory upon the Government, R. 8., §3492. Petitioner
will certainly not oppose it.
Wuenrerore, petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari to
the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Second Cireuit be
granted,
Moses B, SuHerr,
Petitioner pro se.
Sratre or New York,
County or New York,\""’
Mosss B. Suerr, being duly sworn, deposes and says;
that he is the petitioner herein; that he has read the within
petition and knows the contents thereof; that the same is
true to his own knowledge, except as to those matters
therein stated upon information and belief, and that as to
those matters he believes it to be true.
Mosss B. SHERR.
Sworn to before me this
12th day of September, 1945.
Syivia SoBELMAN,
Notary Public.
King’s Co. Clk’s No. 357, Reg. No. 36556.
N. Y. Co. Clk’s No. 468, Reg. No. 271586.
Commission expires March 30, 1946.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.