Petitioners Brief — Cardwell v. Lewis

Supreme Court brief1974

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

wv

TALE Copy

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1972

No. 72-1603

HAROLD J. CARDWELL, Warden,

Ohio Penitentiary,

Petitioner,

v.

ARTHUR BEN LEWIS,

Respondent.

On Writ oF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES CouRT

oF APPEALS FOR THE SixtTH CIRCUIT

PETITIONER'S BRIEF

WILLIAM J. Brown,

Attorney General of the State of

Ohio

Lzo J. Conway,

NicHo.tas R. Curci,

Assistant Attorneys General

JEFFREY L. MCCLELLAND

48 E. Gay Street, Room No. 202,

Columbus, Ohio 43215,

Attorneys for Petitioner

MIDWEST LAW PRINTERS AND PUBLISHERS, INC., Columbus, Ohio 43216

>

SUBJECT INDEX

ec ce te me me ee a ee a ae ee ee a ee we we ee oe

er IE aes

en ere

ee Oe We Coe ea

7, eens Of Parte io

Summary of Argument ____-__-____-

Mm bois 8

The United States Court Of Appeals Erred In Af-

firming The Decision Of The United States Dis-

_ trict Court That Paint Samples Taken From Re-

spondent’s Automobile Which Had Been Legally

Seized As Incident To His Arrest Were Admitted

In Evidence At Respondent’s Trial In Violation

Of His Rights Under The Fourth And Fourteenth

Amendments To The Constitution _____________

1) The Courts Below Erred In Ignoring The Find-

’ ing Of Fact Made By The Trial Court Following

A Full Voir Dire Hearing On A Motion To Sup-

press Which Finding Of Fact Was Clearly Sup-

marie Ty Tine MOOG. spi ess

2) The Courts Below Erred In Finding That The

Arresting Officers Had Not Seized Respondent’s

Automobile Incident To A Lawful Arrest After

The Trial Court Had Made Such A Finding

Based Upon Relevant Evidence Before It. ______

3) The Courts Below Erred In Finding That It Was

Illegal To Remove An Automobile From A Near-

by Public Parking Lot To The Police Pound For

Examination By Technical Experts When It Was

i

12

15

21

Page

Removed After A Valid Seizure Of A Parking

Ticket To The Automobile By The Arresting Of-

ficers Who Had Good Reason To Believe It To

Have Been Used In The Comission Of A Crime

For Which Respondent Was Arrested. __-______ 24

4) The Courts Below Erroneously Held That After

An Automobile Had Been Seized Incident To A

poe Arrest And Was In The Sole Possession

e Police That It Was Necessary To Procure

A Search Warrant In Order To Examine The Car

For Tire And Paint enpartene. DDE EMR 27

Come oie ae a 35

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

sa

Page

Brinegar v United 4 States, 338 U.S. 160 (1949) __-. 15

Brown v Wisconsin State Department of Public

Welfare, 457 F.2d 257. (7th Cir. 1972) _-------- 21

Cady v Dombrowski, __ U.S. __ 37 L.Ed. 2d 706

Be fae CR eee i mi Rok acct 21, 23, 33, 35

Carroll v United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925) __15, 23, 30

Carlton v Bstelle, 480 F.2d 759 (5th Cir., 1973) _.-- 2

Chambers ® Maroney, 399 U.S. 42

(0 12, 23, 26, 30, 31

Commonwealth v Smith, 304 A.2d 456 (1973) _ 30, 31

Coolidge v New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443

Gi... 11, 18, 19, 21, 23, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 35

Cooper v California, 386 U.S. 58

C1IGGN) sib i es 14, 18, 22, 30, 32, 33

Cotton v United States, 371 F.2d 385 (9th Cir., 1967) :

Cupp v Murphy, -- U.S. -_ 36 L.Ed 2d 900 (1973) a

Desist v United States, 394 U.S. 244 (1969) _-_---- ;

ii

Page

” Drummond v United States, 350 F.2d 983 (8th Cir.,

i nA RREGOP CR OD Say OE 23

Dyke v Taylor Implement Mfg. Co., 391 U.S. 216

SRE ek SESS SERRA age a Se 15

Fuller v Alaska, 393 U.S. 80 (1968) _________-_-_-_ 19

Hall v Craven, 325 F. Supp. 516 (C.D. Cal., 1971) __ 20

Harris v United States, 390 U.S. 234 (1968) ___25, 32, 33

La Vallee v Rose, __ U.S. __ 35 L.Ed. 2d 637 (1973)_

13; 18; 22

Leavitt v Howard, 462 F.2d 992 (1st Cir., 1972) ____ 21

Lewis v Ohio, 400 U.S. 959 (1970) _._-_-_______- 4, 11, 19

Linkletter v Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965) ___.__-_- 19

Mapp v Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) ____-_____--____ 19

Orricer v Erickson, 471 F.2d 1204 (8th Cir., 1972) _. 23

Paulson v Florida, 360 F.Supp. 156 (S. D. Fla., 1973) 20

People v Teale, 450 P.2d 564 (Cal., 1969) ________ 14

Preston v United States, 376 U.S. 364 (1964) ______ 30

Schneckloth v Bustamonte, _ U.S. __ 36 L.Ed 2d 854

ee 36

Smith v Slayton, 484 F.2d 1188 (4th Cir., 1973) ____ 23

State v Lewis, 22 Ohio St. 2d 125 (1970) ______ 3, 11, 18

Thompson v United States, 484 F.2d 942 (6th Cir.,

es I 23

United States v Bozada, 473 F.2d 389 (8th Cir., 1973)

cert. denied 93S.Ct.2161_ 26

United States v Bright, 471 F.2d 723 (5th Cir., 1973) 25

United States v Candella, 469 F.2d 173 (2d Cir.,

(te ATEC eR RE EE 2 ae es a 25

United States v Cecil, 457 F.2d 1178 (8th Cir.,

(EE SUES MRS ee fb a ne ee pc 23, 25

United States v Francolino, 367 F.2d 1013 (2d Cir.,

(Sa SSE GRRE EE mn a 23

—x

Page

United States v Graham, 391 F.2d 439 (6th Cir.,

2) REE TSE SCNT Cate SES CRONE ONE lOO ee ene 13

United States v Gulledge, 469 F.2d 713 (5th Cir.,

i BRN CEN DST a vas OM TS SE LY ELE Se Cole Ong EA Ae 23

United States v Johnson, 413 F.2d 1396 (5th Cir.,

1968) Lisiicc IOI GF a SP Oe er 13, 14

United States v Powers, 439 F.2d 373 (4th Cir.,

IPERS i Le Ue es a 14

United States v Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56 (1950) __-_ 15

United States v Sheard, 473 F.2d 139 (D.C. Cir.,

OUD) isin ai ee a 20, 25

United States v Shye, 473 F.2d 1061 (6th Cir., 1973) 23

United States v Valen, 479 F.2d 467 (3rd Cir., 1973) 26

United States v Ware, 457 F.2d 828 (7th Cir., 1972). 13

United States ex rel. Griffin v Vincent, 359 F.Supp.

1072 ( S. D. N. Y. 1973) CEE TRO tk ee eee 20

Warden v Hayden, 387 U.S. 294 (1967) __..----- 18, 21

Constitutional Provisions

United States Constitution, Fourth

Asmendmaet :. 55 eas 2, 13, 15, 22, 34, 36

United States Constitution, Fourteenth

Amendment EET IOUT are YE 3, 34, 36

Title 28, U.S.C. Section 1254(1) ~..-_------------ 1-2

Statutes

Section 2933.21, Ohio Revised Code ~-..--~--~-~~- 21

Section 2941.36, Ohio Revised Code -..-.------. 21

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM. 1972

No. 72-1603

HAROLD J. CARDWELL, Warden,

Ohio Penitentiary,

Petitioner,

Vv.

ARTHUR BEN LEWIS,

Respondent.

On Wait OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT

or APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITIONER'S BRIEF

Opinions Below

- The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit entitled Arthur Ben Lewis v Harold J.

Cardwell, Warden, No. 72-1679, is set forth as Appendix

A to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari at page 27

thereof.

The prior opinion of the United States District Court

for the Southern District of .Ohio, Eastern Division en-

titled Arthur Ben Lewis, Jr. v Harold J. Cardwell,

Warden, Civil Action 71-76, is set forth as Appendix B

to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari at page 35 thereof.

Jurisdiction

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals was

filed on April 5, 1973. The Petition for Writ of Certiorari

was filed in typewritten form on June 1, 1973 and in

printed form on or about November 3, 1973 and Certi-

2

orari was granted December 3, 1973. The jurisdiction of

this Court derives from 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

Questions Presented

1. Whether, after a state trial court judge has, follow-

ing a full voir dire hearing, found the objected to evi-

dence to have been legally seized, which finding was sup-

ported by the record, the United States District Court

suould ignore this finding and conduct a separate evi-

dentiary hearing.

2. Whether, after an acknowledged valid arrest, re-

spondent voluntarily displayed to the arresting officers

a parking lot ticket and the keys to his automobile which

they believed to have been used by him in the perpetra-

tion of the crime for which he was arrested and these

articles were turned over to the.arresting officers either

voluntarily or involuntarily, a seizure incident to a lawful

arrest was consumated.

3. Whether, after a valid seizure of a parking ticket

and keys to an automobile which the arresting officers

had good reason to believé had been used in the com.

mission of a crime for which respondent was arrested,

which automobile was parked at a nearby public parking

lot, it was illegal to remove the automobile to the police

pound for examination by technical experts.

4. Whether, after an automobile has been seized inci

dent to a lawful arrest, and is in the sole possession. of

the police, it is necessary to procure a search warrant

in order to examine the car for tire and paint comparison.

Constitutional Provisions Involved

United States Constitution, Amendment IV:

“The right of the people to be secure in their per-

sons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreason

able searches and seizures, shall not be violated,

and no warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause,

wr

3

supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be searched, and the persons

or things to be seized.”

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV, section 1,

in relevant part:

“No State shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due proc-

ess of law; nor deny to any person within its juris-

diction the equal protection of the laws.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. History of the Case

On November 8, 1967, the Delaware County Grand

Jury returned an indictment charging respondent with

murder in the first degree in violation of $2901.01, Ohio

Revised Code. He was tried before a jury on March 4-21,

1968, and found guilty with the recommendation of

mercy. On March 29, 1968, he was sentenced to a term

of life imprisonment in the Ohio Penitentiary.

Prior to trial several defense motions were made and

decided. One, a motion to suppress evidence, was heard

by the trial court on January 25, 1968 (4A) and over-

ruled in a written opinion and order dated February 20,

-1968 (19A). The subject of this motion was the seizure

and examination of respondent’s automobile.

Respondent appealed his case directly to the Fifth Dis-

trict Court of Appeals for Delaware County, Ohio, which

affirmed the judgment of conviction on February 6, 1969.

Thereafter, respondent appealed to the Supreme Court

of Ohio which affirmed his conviction on May 13, 1970.

See State v. Lewis, 22 O.S.2d 125.

Respondent then filed a Petition for Writ of Certiorari

in this Court. Among those questions gene ia in that

petition was the following: :

4

“Were appellant’s rights under the Fourth and Fifth

Amendments abridged where appellant’s automo

bile, parked on a private lot one-half block from

site of appellant’s arrest, was seized and searched

without legal process of any kind—even though ap.

pellant had been out of the automobile for over eight

hours—and where the fruits obtained by such search

were received in evidence at appellant’s trial in the

state court?”

This Court denied the Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

See: Lewis v. Ohio, 400 U.S. 959 (1970).

In April of 1971, respondent filed a petition for the writ

of habeas corpus in the United States District Court for

the Southern District‘of Ohio, Eastern Division.

In this petition the following question, among others,

was raised:

“The warrantless seizure of his automobile, parked

on a private lot one-half block from site of his arrest,

for purpose of ascertaining as to whether said auto-

mobile had been an instrumentality of the crime,

violated Fourth Amendment prohibition where such

seizure was justified only after the seizure; (in

theory of the State’s case), further, the automobile

was not seized contemporaneous in ti e and place

with petitioner’s arrest, and evidence there-

from served as a basis of his convi ." {P. FH;

Appendix B to petition )

Th ube ainacnnenctisias hah een adeanamaaeil

Supreme Court of Ohio dealt with the use of hearsay

evidence by the State.

Following the filing of a Return of Writ and appoint-

ment of counsel, an evidentiary hearing .was_held on

April 20, 1972.

Thereafter, on May 19, 1972, the court issued an Opin-

ion and Order finding nine of the ten issues to be with-

out merit. (Page 35, Appendix B to Petition). However,

as to issue five, the court found that respondent had been

a :

|

denied due process of law and ordered “that the writ of

habeas corpus issue ninety days after the filing of this

Opinion and Order, and that petitioner be released from

custody, unless within such ninety day period State of-

ficials initiate action for a new trial of petitioner. If State

oficials initiate action for a new trial, it is ORDERED

(sic) that no writ of habeas corpus shall issue.”

‘Petitioner then filed a timely notice of appeal and

obtained a stay of execution. Oral argument was heard

cuit on December 8, 1972 and on April 5, 1973, the court

of appeals issued its decision affirming the opinion of

the district court. (Page 27, Appendix A to petition).

It is from this judgment of the court of appeals which

petitioner seeks this writ of certiorari.

B. Statement of Facts

At the trial of respondent, one Steven Molnar, Jr., a

laboratory technician and firearms examiner for the Ohio

State Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investiga-

tion, testified for the State. He testified that he took paint

scrapings from respondent’s car while it was at the Co-

lumbus police impounding lot. He also said that he had

paint scrapings which had been taken from the murder

victim’s car, which, it was thought, was pushed over the

river bank at the scene of the crime, by another car. This

examination occurred on October 11, 1967, and the paint

was taken from the right rear and the left front of re-

spondent’s car, and from the right rear fender and the

‘ight side of the rear fender of the victim’s car for pur-

poses of comparison. He went on to testify that, in his

opinion, there was

“. . no difference in color, texture, or order of

layering of the paint samples that I was comparing.”

(Bill of Exceptions, p. 221)

6

Furthermore, the color of paint was the same.

The paint samples from respondent’s car and testi-

mony were admitted over objection.

There was, however, a pre-trial hearing on a motion

to suppress filed by respondent. The motion concerned

the evidence and testimony referred to above. The hear-

ing was held in the trial court on January 25, 1968. Testi-

fying were Clyde Mann, then Chief Investigator for the

Division of Criminal Activities of the Attorney General

of Ohio, David Tingley, Attorney at Law, and Sgt. Wil-

liam Lavery, of the Delaware County, Ohio, Sheriff's

Office.

Facts adduced at this hearing were as follows:

Respondent was interrogated in the office of the At-

torney General, 40 S. Third Street, Columbus, Ohio, on

October 10, 1967, pursuant to a request to come to the

office. He was served with an arrest warrant and placed

under arrest late in the afternoon, after which his car

was impounded by the Columbus, Ohio, Police Depart-

ment.

Mr. Mann testified at the hearing that present during

‘the interrogation of respondent of October 10, 1967, in

the Attorney General’s Office, were Lavery, Jim Heise,

David Kessler, Ed James, respondent and himself. He

said that he told respondent, after he was arrested, that

he, Mann, was going to impound respondent’s car be

cause it was used in a felony, and that he had no war-

rant. On direct examination, Mr. Mann revealed that

respondent asked him to have his car impounded or put

in a police lot for safekeeping (10A).

Next to testify was David E. Tingley, Attorney at Law,

who testified that he witnessed the facts surrounding the

seizure of the automobile. He testified that at about 5:30

p.m. on October 10th, respondent was in custody and

7

that Clyde Mann indicated to Mr. Scott that he wanted

possession of some books and records respondent brought

with him as well as the automobile, because it was used

in the commission of a felony. Scott then, according to

Mr. Tingley, said that he would not enter into a physical

fight over the car and gave the keys to Mann. He then

got the parking ticket from respondent and gave it to

Mann.

Next to testify was Sergeant William Lavery. He

stated that he obtained a warrant for respondent’s arrest

on the morning of October 10, 1967. Furthermore, he

stated that he requested Mr. Mann to have the automo-

bile impounded but that, according to his recolletion,

respondent had asked the officers to watch the car as he

was concerned about it.

The trial court made the following finding:

“In this Court’s opinion the seizure of this car was

incident to a lawful arrest. In this Court’s opinion

the subsequent search of this car was a reasonable

search of a legally impounded vehicle and was inci-

dental to the crime for which the Defendant was,

arrested.” (26A)..

At the evidentiary hearing of April 20, 1972, in the

district court the testimony relative to the seizure and

search of the automobile elicited the following: Paul

Scott, defense counsel at the trial, testified that respon-

dent gave him the keys to his car shortly before or sub-

sequent to his being arrested, with instructions to return

the automobile to his (respondent’s ) family. He also gave

Scott the parking lot claim ticket. Furthermore, after

Scott’s arrival at the Attorney General’s Office and after

a conference with respondent, the arrest warrant was

served on respondent. After that, according to Scott,

Clyde Mann confronted Scott and demanded respondent’s

briefcase and automobile. Rather than get into a physical

confrontation with Mann, Scott relinquished the keys

and the claim check to Mann with the admonition that

he would see Mann in court on a motion to suppress.

On cross-examination, Mr. Scott testified that, although

there was no real threat from Mann, he did not will-

fully turn the automobile over to Mann, that it was done

under protest, subject to what would happen in a court

of law. His exact words were “Well Mr. Mann, I am

not going to have a physical confrontation with you for

that automobile. Here is the key. Here is the ticket, and

I will see you in court on a motion to suppress on that.”

(49A). “.. . [Tihere was no threat.” (52A). He acknowl-

edged that he did not give up the briefcase. (52A). Mr.

Scott did not question the validity of the arrest (50A).

He did not testify at the trial court hearing on the motion

to suppress.

Sergeant Lavery testified for the respondent. He stated

that, prior to the actual seizure of the car, he did know

the description of respondent’s car, that on the day of

the seizure he had no search warrant, and that respon-

dent asked that his car be taken care of (56A). The

Columbus police actually towed the car.

- On cross-examination, he stated that he believed the

request by respondent that his car be taken care of was

made about 5:00, while Mr. Scott was present. He fur-

ther said that, in his opinion, respondent’s request was

a general request made of no one in particular. He could

recall no discussion between Scott and Mann relative to

the car (59A). He also stated that he did not Know that

respondent’s car was parked on the lot south of the At

torney General’s Office (62A).

In answer to questions by the district judge, Sergeant

Lavery testified:

THE COURT: “You also testified that Mr. Lewis took

the parking lot ticket out of his pocket and asked if either

you or Mr. Mann—you weren’t sure which—could take

care of this automobile since you were going to take him

back?”

THE WITNESS: “Yes, sir, that is correct.” (60A)

* > * * * * z * *

THE COURT: “Sometime between 4:00 o’clock and

the time that the conference terminated, you took Arthur

Ben Lewis back to Delaware; that Clyde Mann demanded

Mr. Scott that he, Mr. Scott, turn over the keys to Mr.

Lewis’s car and the ticket to Mr. Lewis’s car. Do you

recall that Mr. Mann demanded that Mr. Scott turn over

the ticket and the keys to Mr .Lewis’s car?”

THE WITNESS: “No, sir, that isn’t correct at all be-

cause I recall precisely Mr. Lewis removing the parking

ticket and asking if some one of us would take care of

his car. I don’t recall the keys.” (61A).

. Respondent himself was next to testify on the issue

of illegal search and seizure at the evidentiary hearing.

He testified that he drove to the attorney general’s of-

fice and parked on a parking lot near that office. He also

denied that he asked anyone from the attorney general’s

office to remove his car saying that he gave his keys and

claim check to Paul Scott before he was arrested so that

Scott could take the car home for respondent’s family’s

use. Furthermore, he testified that the police officers did

have a description of his car (64-65A).

Clyde Mann was the first witness for petitioner to

testify relative to the search and seizure issue. He testi-

fied again that respondent requested Mr. Mann to take

care of his car and claim ticket. Furthermore, this oc-

curred at approximately 5:00 p.m., on October 10, 1967,

in the hallway inside the attorney general’s office and

that, to the best of his knowledge, the claim check was

10

handed directly to him by respondent. This confronta-

tion apparently occurred close in time to Mr. Mann’s re

quest of Scott for possession of respondent’s briefcase

(73A). Mr. Mann also again testified that he believed

the car was used in the commission of the crime and for .

this reason wanted the car (74A).

Sergeant Lavery was called by petitioner as his wit-

ness and testified on direct examination. He testified as

to facts he had in his possession on October 10, 1967,

relative to respondent’s involvement in the crime and

the role his automobile played in the commission thereof

(76-79A).

Summary of Argument

Arresting officers, in possession of a valid arrest war-

rant, inadvertently discovered that respondent’s auto

mobile, which they sought as evidence in the crime for

which he had been arrested, was parked at a nearby

public parking lot when respondent produced the park-

ing ticket in their presence and disclosed its location.

The police took the parking ticket, recovered the auto

mobile and removed it to the police pound where the

following day it was examined. Tire casts were made

and paint scrapings were taken for comparison with

foreign paint taken from the victim’s automobile which

had been pushed over a river bank by his murderer.

Prior to trial a motion to suppress the paint sample

was made and heard. The trial court, after a voir dire

hearing, in a well reasoned opinion found that the officers

had legally seized the parking ticket incident to the ar-

rest, that this constituted constructive possession of the

automobile, and that the subsequent removal and ex-

amination of the automobile was made incident to a

lawful arrest and upon probable cause.

This finding was clearly supported by the record and

—y

11

could not be considered to have been erroneous. In addi-

tion, the Supreme Court of Ohio, on direct appeal, had

found that the record supported the trial court’s finding

that the car had been seized incident to a lawful arrest

and examined as an instrumentality of the crime. State

v. Lewis, supra. This Court had denied certiorari. Lewis

v. Ohio, supra. The finding of the Ohio courts should

have been accepted by the federal district court in a

subsequent habeas corpus action. La Vallee v. Rose

__ US. __, 35 L.Ed. 2d 637 (1973).

In the habeas corpus petition respondent contended

that his automobile had been illegally seized and that

the paint scrapings and the comparison testimony was

improperly admitted in evidence. The district court con-

ducted an evidentiary hearing wherein the evidence

elicited did not vary materially from that in the state

trial court. One difference, however, did develop. Re-

spondent testified that he gave the parking ticket to his

attorney in the presence of the officers with instructions

to recover the automobile and deliver it to his family.

This was corroborated by the testimony of his trial at-

torney, Paul Scott. Neither had testified in the trial court

hearing on the motion to suppress. This supported the

belief of the officers that if the car was to be moved they

might never thereafter find it.

The district court refused to find, as had the trial court,

that the seizure of the parking ticket was not tantamount

to a seizure of the car incident to a lawful arrest, that

there were no exigent circumstances for its seizure, and

that since the arresting officers knew that they wanted to

seize the automobile they should have procured a search

warrant for it. The court erroneously relied on the deci-

sion of this Court in Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403

U.S. 443 (1971) for its finding. Coolidge was not decided

—

a

12

until over three years after the officers had seized re

spondent’s automobile and the trial court had ruled upon

the motion to suppress.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cir-

cuit followed the reasoning of the district court and

affirmed its decision on appeal.

This is not a Coolidge case. Although the officers in-

tended to seize respondent’s car, they could not have

procured a/Search warrant therefor until they knew its

location, and this knowledge came about only after his

arrest. Moreover, there were exigent reasons for them

to seize the car when and where they did. Otherwise they

should have had to place a guard on it until a search

warrant could be procured which, in effect, would have

produced the same intrusion on the rights of respondent

as would the seizure itself. Chambers v. Maroney, 399

US. 42 (1970).

Argument

. The United States Court Of Appeals Erred In

Affirming The Decision Of The United. States Dis-

trict Court That Paint Samples Taken From Re-

spondent’s Automobile Which Had Been Legally

Seized As Incident To His Arrest Were Admitted In

Evidence At Respondent’s Trial In Violation Of His

Rights Under The Fourth And Fourteenth Amend-

ments To The Constitution.

The United States District Court authored a lengthy

analysis of the allegation that admission of certain paint

scrapings at trial against respondent was violative of the

Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments. The court con-

cluded that the evidence was not seized as incident to a

valid arrest, that respondent did no® consent to its seizure,

and that the search was not justified as having been seized

in “plain view.” The court of appeals indicated it was in

“full agreement” with this opinion. Petitioner submits

13

such a conclusion was erroneous. The parking ticket for

the car was seized incident to the arrest. The car then

was taken by presenting the parking ticket to the park-

ing lot operator and was moved to the police pound

where the next morning it was examined.

Petitioner initially notes that the evidence complained

of by respondent in the courts below was paint scrapings

taken from the exterior surface of his car while it was

in the Columbus, Ohio, police impounding lot. No evi-

dence was admitted as a result of any intrusion to ‘the

car’s interior.

Petitioner contends, therefore, that such paint scrap-

ings were properly admitted against respondent at trial

as such scrapings were the result of a scientific examina-

tion of an instrumentality of the crime for which re-

spondent was arrested. Cf: Cotton v. United States, 371

F. 2d 385 (9th Cir., 1967); United States v. Graham, 391

F. 2d 439 (6th Cir., 1968), wherein it is stated at page

442:

“While it is true that the Constitutional proscription

against unreasonable searches and seizures extends

to automobiles, since they, like houses, legitimately

“Serve as repositories for personal effects and belong-

ings of the owners and occupants, this is immaterial

to the question presented at bar. No articles of evi-

dence separate from and independent of the cars

themselves were obtained as a result of the police

examination, as was true in such cases as Preston v.

United States, 376 U.S. 364, 84 S. Ct. 881, 11 L. Ed.

2d 777 (1964), and Cooper v. State of California, 386

U.S. 58, 87 S. Ct. 788, 17 L. Ed. 2d 730 ((1967).”

See also: United States v. Ware, 457 F.2d 828 (7th Cir.,

1972); United States v. Johnson, 413 F.2d 1396 (5ht Cir.,

1969).

~ But assuming that this examination did constitute a

search within Fourth Amendment contemplation, which

14

petitioner does not concede, such was valid as

.... the search of the car - - - whether the state had

legal title to it or not - - - was closely related to the

reason petitioner was arrested, the reason his car

had been impounded, and the reason it was being

retained.” Cooper v. California, 386 U.S. 58 (1967).

The record clearly indicates that the inspection of

respondent’s car was consistent with the reason the car

was impounded and with the reason for which respondent

was arrested. No intrusion was made to the interior and

' no general exploratory search for evidence of any kind

complained of in the courts below was conducted. The

car itself was evidence and the police had complete

dominion and control over it. As such, there could be no

further trespass committed by a subsequent examination.

Under the circumstances, therefore, it cannot be said

that the inspection and examination of the paint samples

in question for purposes of identification, which iden-

tification was consistent with the reason the car was

seized, was unreasonable. See, United States v. Powers,

439 F.2d 373 (4th Cir., 1971); United States v. Johnson,

supra.

In its simplest form the situation presented here in-

volves the propriety of the examination of a piece of

evidence after seizure. The case of People v. Teale, 450

P. 2d 564 (Cal., 1969) speaks to this eh tes aca at foot-

note 10, p. 572:

“Only an object reasonably believed to be itself evi-

dence of the charged crime is subject to seizure

and, therefore, to detailed examination subsequent

to seizure.”

Respondent’s automobile was reasonably believed to

have been evidence of the crime itself.

An analogous situation would be where perhaps a gun

believed to have been a murder weapon, or blood-stained

15

clothing believed to have been worn by a suspected offen-

der were in police possession. Can it be doubted that the

police have every right to examine such items consistent

with the reasons they were seized? Obviously not. Such

then, is the instant situation.

As to the seizure of the car, it must first be noted that

“automobiles, because of their mobility, may be searched

without a warrant upon facts not justifying a warrant-

less search of a residence or office.” Dyke v. Taylor Imple-

ment Mfg. Co., 391 U.S. 216, 221 (1968). See also, Brine-

gar v. United States, 338 U.S. 160 (1959); Carroll v.

United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925). Petitioner submits

that such a proposition is equally applicable to seizures of

automobiles as it is to searches. Accordingly, the seizure

of the automobile was necessitated by the exigencies of

the situation compounded by the fact that the item or

evidence to be seized was a large, readily mobile entity

such as an automobile.

Additionally, at the time of the seizure and at the time

of the trial, the “relevant test (was) not whether it is

reasonable to procure a search warrant, but whether the

search was reasonable.” See: United States v. Rabino-

. witz, 339 U.S. 56 (1950). Petitioner submits that the

actions of the investigating authorities were at all times

reasonable and consistent with respondent’s Fourth

Amendment protections.

1) The Courts Below Erred In Ignoring The Finding Of

Fact Made By The Trial Court Following A Full Voir

Dire Hearing On A Motion To Suppress Which Find-

ing Of Fact Was Clearly Supported By The Record.

Prior to trial defense counsel filed several motions

one of which was a motion to suppress evidence seized

in and about respondent’s Pontiac automobile. The com-

plete proceedings on this motion to suppress appears at

———

pages 4-19A. At pages 19-27A is the-complete opinion of

the trial court in overruling the motion. The significant

part of his ruling was as follows:

“A complete record of the testimony and state

ment of counsel at the various hearings in this

i tha

alleged

the Decedent’s automobile. ioieeany plaster

and molds of automobile tire tracks and the results

of laboratory tests of samples of car paint are ex-

pected to be offered as evidence.

facts and circum stances of this case?’ In this Court’s

opinion it was.

‘It appeart so this Court that it was reasonable

for law enforcement officers to immediately seize a

the felony charged. The car was in the possession or

constructive possession of the Defendant; he had

the key and parking ticket for it. It was on a public

parking lot adjacent to the building in which public

State offices are located and where the Defendant

had just been arrested.

‘This is not a case in which a person’s home or

private structure has been unreasonably invaded.

This is not a case in which an individual’s person

has been reasonably searched.

‘In this Court’s the seizure of this car

was incident to a arrest. In this Court’s

opinion the subsequent search of this care was a

reasonable search of a legally impounded vehicle

and was incidental to the crime for which the De-

fendant was arrested.” (25-26A).

The trial court based its finding upon the fact that the

17

seizure of the automobile was incident to respondent’s

arrest, the legality of which never has been questioned.

“This was based upon the testimony that the parking

ticket, however turned over, was the claim for the car

which was parked in the vicinity and thusly construc-

tive possession of the automobile had passed from re-

spondent to the officers by the seizure of the parking

ticket. Petitioner submits that the vehicle, by virtue of

the parking ticket, then was picked up and removed to

the police pound: where it was held as evidence in’ the

case until it could be subjected to an examination and

tests. It was well known to respondent that the investigat-

ing officers believed his car had been used in the perpetra-

tion or cover up of the murder and that he had every

reason for concealing it.

The district court noted that after hearing the motion

to suppress, the trial court made no detailed findings of

fact. But the trial court was careful to note:

“No good purpose would be here served by re-

peating here all the evidentiary matters, oral and

written contentions of counsel and all the legal

authorities which were cited. As yet the complete

record of the hearing has not been transcribed; it

will be available to counsel and any reviewing

soorgia aneacant | is of the oan that, to enable

counsel adequate time to prepare for trial, it should

“<p on pe this ruling until that record is avail-

a eg

The transcript referred to by the trial judge was be-

fore the district court which then deemed it necessary

{0 conduct an evidentiary hearing of its own. Witnesses

Mann and Lavery testified in both the state and district

court hearings. The district court noted that this testi-

mony in the two hearings did not differ materially. Paul

Scott, who did not testify at the motion to suppress hear-

aC

18

ing, testified in the district court. This testimony did not

vary materially from that of David Tingley at the state

court hearing.

The district court also was fully aware that the Su-

preme Court of Ohio had found the car to have been

seized incident to a lawful arrest and examined as an

instrumentality of the crime and a was not an illegal

search (p. 52 App. B)."

“The district court ignored the findings of all Ohio

courts and found that the search of the car was not in-

cident to the arrest nor seized as an instrumentality of

the crime. It also found that the article seized was not

in plain view, was not voluntarily relinquished nor were

there any exigent circumstances to eliminate the neces-

sity of a search warrant. The court of appeals adopted

the findings of.the district court and emphasized that

there could have been no “exigent circumstances”, and

no “instrumentality of the crime” hence the seizure of

the car without a warrant was illegal. (pp. 30-32 App.

A).

There is no doubt that the trial court attempted in

every way to insure respondent’s claim of illegal search

and seizure was thoroughly heard. It also is clear that its

decision was not hastily and casually made but rather

was made after a thorough study of the law it believed

applicable at the time. This was some three. and one half

years before Coolidge v. New Hampshire, supra, so often

referred to by the courts below, was decided. It therefore

relied upon Cooper v California, supra and United States

v Rabinowitz, supra, and correctly interpreted the ruling

of this court in Warden v Hayden, 387 US 294 (1967).

It found by whatever means the seizure of the automobile

was made it was reasonable under existing authority.

*- State v Lewis 22 Ohio St 2d 125, 128.

19

It is petitioner’s contention that both the district court

and the court of appeals, in arriving at their decisions,

applied their interpretations of Coolidge v. New Hamp-

shire, supra, retroactively. This Court never has applied

any case dealing with the exclusionary rule retroactively.

Thus, in Linkletter v. Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965) it was

held that the rule of Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961)

was to be applied prospectively. See Fuller v. Alaska,

393 U.S. 80 (1968), Desist v. United States, 394 U.S. 244

(1969). ?

This Court has recently held in the case of an alleged

involuntary confession, which consistently has been con-

sidered to go to the very heart of the fact finding process,

that-a state court’s determination of the merits of a fac-

tual issue, made after a hearing and evidenced by a writ-

ten opinion, shall be correct unless it appears that the

merits of the factual dispute were not resolved in the

state court hearing, where the trial court summarized the

evidence, and concluded that the confessions were vol-

untary.” Where, as here, the evidence is relevant and its

admission had no bearing on the innocence or guilt of the

respondent, it is believed that the rationale of Lavallee v.

Rose, supra should apply to a motion to suppress evi-

_dence. Linkletter v Walker, supra.

After the finding of the trial judge a long trial followed

which resulted in respondent’s conviction. Both the state

court of appeals and the Supreme Court of Ohio found no

fault with the findings of the trial court and this Court

seemingly noted no grievous error when it denied cer-

tiorari. Lewis v Ohio, supra. .

After a careful review of the trial court’s findings by

the Ohio Appellate Courts and of this Court on direct ap-

peal a collateral attack in federal habeas corpus should

* Lavallee v Rose, supra

20

not result in a reversal of the state court determination

unless it can be found that there was no basis for the trial

court’s findings. On direct appeal the determinations of

the trial court must be upheld unless they are clearly

erroneous. This is the generally accepted rule. Although

not directly in point, the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia recently stated:

“The ultimate determination by a trial judge at a

suppression hearing as to the issue of consent,

' whether it be consent to enter or consent to search,

is factual in nature. As such, under the guidelines

established for this court in Jackson v. United States,

122 U.S. App. D.C, 324, 353 F.2d 862 (1965), that de-

termination must remain untouched on appeal unless

it is “clearly erroneous.” See Hoover v. Beto, 467

F.2d 516 (5th Cir. 1972); United States v. J. B.

Kramer Grocery Co., Inc., 418 F.2d 987 (8th Cir.

1969); Schoepflin v. United States, 391 F.2d 390 (9th

Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 865, 89 S.Ct. 146,

.21 L.Ed.2d 133 (1968); Green v. United States, 128

U.S.App.D.C. 408, 389 F.2d 949 (1967); Villano v.

United States, 310 F.2d 680 (10th Cir. 1962). A find-

ing is not “clearly erroneous” unless the reviewing

court is left with the definite and firm conviction that

a mistake has been made—the finding either is not

supported by or is clearly against the weight of the

evidence, or induced by an erroneous view of the

law. United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333

U.S. 364, 63 S.Ct. 525, 92 L.Ed. 746 (1948.” United

States v Sheard 473 F2d 139 (D.C. Cir'1973).

Where a federal habeas corpus petitioner has raised the

same contentions in his appeal to state courts that he ad-

vances in his habeas petition and the state’s fact-finding

process was full and fair, presumption of correctness

should be applied to the state court’s findings. Cf: Hall »

Craven, 325 F. Supp 516 (C.D. Cal., 1971); Paulson »

Florida, 360 F. Supp 156 (S.D. Fla., 1973); United States

21

ex rel. Griffin v Vincent, 359 F. Supp 1072 (S.D.N.Y.

1973); Brown v Wisconsin State Department of Public

Welfare, 457 F.2d 257 (7th Cir., 1972); Leavitt v Howard,

462 F.2d 992, (1st Cir., 1972). This Court has stated that

the finding of facts of a state court should not be ignored

by a federal appellate court. Cady v Dombrowski

US 37 L. Ed 2d 706 (1973). The Supreme Court of

Ohio found that the officers had reasonable grounds to

believe that the car had been used in the furtherance of

the commission of the crime for which respondent was

arrested and that it was an instrumentality thereof. This

finding was ignored by the court below which brushed

off the instrumentality theory on the basis of Warden v

Hayden supra. In so doing the court of appeals, not the

Ohio Supreme Court, misconstrued the holding in that

case.

The facts before the state courts were that the car had

been used in the commission of the crime and was evi-

dence whether plain or as an instrumentality. The claim

check for the car came into view inadvertantly incident

- to the lawful arrest of respondent and as such was recog-

nized by this Court as an exception in Coolidge v New

Hampshire, supra at pages 465-466.

2) The Courts Below Erred In Finding That The Ar-

resting Officers Had Not Seized Respondent’s Auto-

mobile Incident To A Lawful Arrest After The Trial

Court Had Made Such A Finding Based Upon Rele-

vant Evidence Before It.

The trial court found that the seizure of respondent’s

automobile was incident to a lawful arrest. It based this

finding upon the fact that at the time of the arrest or im-

mediately thereafter respondent had turned over a claim

check to the law enforcement officers. This is not dis-

22

puted. The car, by virtue of the parking ticket, was in the

possession or constructive possession of the respondent

and physically was in a public parking lot adjacent to the

building wherein the arrest took place. The officers had

reasonable grounds to believe the car had been used in

the commission of the crime for which respondent had

been arrested. Lastly the court found that the car itself

then was seized in the parking lot and removed to the

police pound where it was searched (21, 25-26 A). The

court found that, “The arrest and seizure of the car were

in the same general transaction.” (26 A). The court based

its findings upon the rationale of Cooper v. California,

supra.

Petitioner submits that the seizure of the claim check

constituted the intrusion into respondent’s Fourth

Amendment protected area, which intrusion was justified

as being incident to the valid arrest of respondent. By

seizing the claim check at that time, respondent’s control

and dominion over the car effectively ceased. Quite obvi-

ously, without either of these items, the complete use of

the automobile by respondent was limited if not impos-

sible. Respondent’s “possession” of the car was dependent

upon the claim check, .

Of equal effect would have been the only other prac-

tical alternative available to the investigating authorities —

at the time; that being to have placed a guard at the car

and make it inaccessible to Scott until a warrant could

be obtained to remove the car. In either case, an intru-

sion into respondent’s Constitutionally protected domain

would have occurred, either of which would have been

justified. This Court has spoken to the practice of allow-

ing a “lesser” intrusion to justify a “greater” intrusion

of an individual’s Fourth Amendment rights:

“Arguably, because of the preference for a magis-

trate’s judgment, only the immobilization of the car

23

should be permitted until a search warrant is ob-

tained; arguably, only the ‘lesser’ intrusion is per-

missible until the magistrate authorizes the ‘greater.’ .

But which is the ‘greater’ and which the ‘lesser’

intrusion is itself a debatable question and the an-

swer may depend on a variety of circumstances. For

constitutional purposes, we see no difference be-

tween on the one hand seizing and holding a car

before presenting the probable cause issue to a

. magistrate and on the other hand carrying out an

immediate search without a warrant. Given probable

cause to search, either course is reasonable under

the Fourth Amendment.” Chambers v. Maroney

supra, at 51-52 (1970). (Emphasis supplied )

Although the trial court found that the car Was seized

incident to a lawful arrest which petitioner contends is

fully supported by the record it also found that the subse-

quent search like that in Cooper was a reasonable search

of a legally impounded vehicle and was incidental to the

crime for which respondent was arrested. See also:

(Footnote 12, 403 US 457). Carroll vy United States,

supra. ;

“Never does the majority opinion in Coolidge v New

Hampshire, supra overtule Cooper. Cooper is distinguish-

ed as a case not based upon a search incident to a lawful

arrest but rather upon the seizure of an automobile which

the officers reasonable believed to have been used in the

commission of the crime.

grounds set forth in Cooper. See also: United States v

Francolino, 367 F2d 1013 (2d Cir., 1966); Orricer v Erick-

son, 471 F.2d 1204 (8th Cir., 1972); United States v Shye,

473 F.2d 1061 (6th Cir., 1973); Commonwealth v Smith,

304 A. 2d 456 (Pa. 1973); Drummond v United States,

350 F.2d 983 (8th Cir., 1965); United States » Cecil, 457

F.2d 1178 (8th Cir., 1972); United States v Gulledge, 469

24

F.2d 713 (5th Cir., 1972); Smith v Slayton, 484 F.2d 1188

(4th Cir., 1973); Thompson v United States 484 F.2d 942

(6th Cir., 1973).

3) The Courts Below Erred In Finding That It Was Il-

legal To Remove An Automobile From A Nearby

Public Parking Lot To The Police Pound Ffor Exami-

tion By Technical Experts When It Was Removed

After A Valid Seizure Of A Parking Ticket To The

Automobile By The Arresting Officers Who Had Good

Reason To Believe It To Have Been Used In The

Commission Of A Crime For Which Respondent Was

Arrested.

The arresting officers believed, and had good reason

to believe, that respondent’s automobile had been used

to push the victim’s automobile over a river bank. In so

doing the rear of the victim’s car had been damaged and

flecks of foreign paint were deposited thereon. This paint

was removed and samples were taken and forwarded to

the F.B.I. laboratory. Based upon the FBI report it was

learned that the paint could have come from a gold color-

ed 1966 Pontiac, the same as that of respondent. Investi-

gation disclosed that respondent’s 1966 Pontiac had been

taken to a body shop shortly after the murder for front

end repairs. The officers, therefore, consideféd the Pon-

tiac automobile to be valid evidence to be used in the

proof of the commission of the crime. The location of the

car became known to the officers at the time of arrest.

Even though the car was not under the direct control of

respondent in*the attorney general’s office the claim

check was turned over to the officers who then had con-

structive possession of the car (76-79A).

The officers were interested primarily in two areas, the

color and texture of the paint of the car and the make and

pattern of the front tires. This examination of the car

25

could not be done properly on a busy parking lot and was

’ pemoved to the police pound where the inspection was

completed. .

It is petitioner’s contention that the police had a right

to inspect the car on the spot and that, therefore, they

had a right to have it removed to the pound for proces-

sing. Cf: Carlton v Estelle 480 F2d 759 (5th Cir., 1973).

At the outset, although this argument was not accepted

by the courts below, petitioner contends that where re-

spondent produced the parking ticket after his arrest, it

was in plain view of the officers. He indicated that it was

a parking ticket for the car and the officers wanted the

car. They therefore took constructive possession of the

car at that time and deprived respondent or his agents

of the ability to take it. It is emphasized that the evidence

in plain view was pertinent to the crime alleged and was

not seized as a result of an exploratory search. It there-

fore was admissable under the “plain view” doctrine.

Cf: Harris v United States, 390 US 234, 236 (1968);

United States v Sheard, supra; United States v Bright,

471 F2d 723 (5th Cir., 1973); United States v Candella,

469 F.2d 173 (2d Cir., 1972); United States v Cecil, supra.

The court below refused to accept the “plain view”

theory for the reason that there were no exigent circum-

stances to seize the automobile without a warrant. This,

of course, is a completely erroneous finding. Both re-

spondent and his attorney Paul Scott testified in the dis-

trict court evidentiary hearing that respondent wanted

Scott to get the car and take it to his family. If this had

‘been done the automobile, as did the brief case which was

not seized and was not subsequently available to the

police, pending the procurement of a search warrant,

could have disappeared and never been found (48-49,

64-65 A). Had a guard been placed over the car to pre-

vent its removal pending the procurement of a search

-_

warrant respondent would have been in the same relative

position with respect to the inspection of the car as he

was under the immediate seizure. This Court in Cham-

bers v Maroney, supra, stated as page 51-52:

“Arguably, because of the preference for a magis-

trate’s judgment, only the immobilization of the car

should be permitted until a search warrant is ob-

tained; arguably, only the “lesser” intrusion is per-

missible until the magistrate authorizes the “great-

er.”” But which is the “greater” and which the “les-

ser” intrusion is itself a debatable question and the

answer may depend on a variety of circumstances.

# For constitutional purposes, we see no difference

between on the one hand seizing and holding a car

before presenting the probable cause issue to a mag-

istrate and on the other hand carrying out an im-

mediate search without a warrant. Given probable

cause to search, either course is reasonable under the

Fourth Amendment.”

See also: United States v Bozada 473 F.2d 389 (8th Cir.,

1973) cert. denied 93 S Ct 2161; United States v Walen

479 F.2d 467 (3rd Cir 1973).

Petitioner contends and earnestly believes that the

seizure of the car at that time was necessitated as the

authorities had reason to believe that a very valuable

piece of evidence was likely to be moved or destroyed.

The record bears out their fears. During the interrogation

session of October 10, 1967, in the attorney general’s of-

fice, respondent was made acutely aware of how the

authorities felt the car figured into the crime and what

part of the car was thought to have been used. There was

no reason to think that respondent could not have con-

tacted someone, friends or family, with instructions to

dispose of the car or conceal it from the authorities.

While the courts below could find no facts to justify the

seizure on the basis of exigency petitioner believes that

the facts, as set out above, which constituted a very real

26

27

prospect of concealed evidence, necessitated the seizure

of the car in the manner and method, that it was seized

and at the time it was seized.

The facts, which are largely uncontradicted, are

ignored by the courts below yet were apparently given

much consideration by the trial court, who was in the

best position to make the most valid judgment. The courts

below are clearly in error. Cf. LaVallee v. Rose, supra.

4) The Courts Below Erroneously Held That After An

Automobile Had Been Seized Incident To A Lawful

Arrest And Was In The Sole Possession Of The Police

That It Was Necesasry To Procure A Search Warrant

In Order To Examine The Car For Tire And Paint

Comparison.

It is not surprising that the courts below would choose

to ignore these uncontradicted facts. Both courts were

laboring under a misapprehension regarding the necessity

of a search warrant. Both courts seem to believe that

because a search warrant might have been readily obtain-

ed to effectuate a seizure at an earlier time, the conditions

otherwise justifying a seizure as incident to a valid arrest

are either absent or of no force or effect.

The fact is that a search warrant for the automobile

could not have been obtained prior to the time of respon-

dent’s arrest. When the police had finished their investi-

gation which was the basis for the arrest warrant they

had no knowledge of the whereabouts of respondent’s

automobile. The arrest warrant was issued in Delaware

County, Ohio, the situs of the crime. A search warrant

issued by the same court would have been invalid in

Franklin County, Ohio where the arrest took place. Sec-

tion 2933.21, Ohio Revised Code, provides that a judge

may issue a search warrant within his jurisdiction as op-

posed to an arrest warrant which may be served in any

28

county in the state. Section 2941.36, Ohio Revised Code.

Actually the arresting officers did not know the where.

abouts of the automobile until respondent produced the

parking ticket therefore at 5:30 P.M. on the day in ques-

tion. This parking ticket, by respondent’s own representa-

tion under either his or the state’s theory, was a claim

check for the automobile that they wanted to seize as hav-

ing been used in the commission of the offense for which

respondent had been arrested. It was in plain view to the

officers who just had arrested respondent pursuant to a

valid arrest warrant. Respondent told them where the car

was parked on a public parking lot. They knew that un-

less they seized the car that it could be removed and

never found. Mr. Justice Stewart speaking for the ma-

jority opinion in Coolidge v New Hampshire supra at

page 467-68 stated:

“The “plain view” doctrine is not in conflict with the

first objective because plain view does not occur

until a search is in progress. In each case, this initial

intrusion is justified by a warrant or by an excep

tion such as “hot pursuit” or search incident to a law-

ful arrest, or by an extraneous valid reason for the

officer’s presence. And, given the initial intrusion,

the seizure of an object in plain view is consistent

with the second objective, since it does not convert

the search into a general or exploratory one. As

against the minor peril to Fourth Amendment pro-

tections, there is a major gain in effective law en-

forcement. Where, once an otherwise lawful search

is in progress, the police inadvertently come upon a

piece of evidence, it would often be a needless incon-

venience, and sometimes dangerous—to the evidence

or to the police themselves—to require them to

ignore it until they have obtained a warrant particu

larly describing it.” .

At pages 469-471 he continued:

“The second limitation is that the discovery of evi

dence in plain view must be inadvertent. The ration

29

ale of the exception to the warrant requirement, as

just stated, is that a plain-view seizure will not turn

an initially valid (and therefore limited) search

- into a “general” one, while the inconvenience of pro-

curing a warrant to cover an inadvertent discovery

is great. But where the discovery is anticipated,

where the police know in advance the location of

the evidence and intend to seize it, the situation is

altogether different. The requirement of a warrant to .

seize imposes no inconvenience whatever, or at least

none which is constitutionally cognizable in a legal

system that regards warrantless searches as, “per se

unreasonable” in the absence of “exigent circum-

stances.”

At page 472 he concluded:

“In the light of what has been said, it is apparent

that the “plain view” exception cannot justify the

police seizure of the Pontiac car in this case. The

police had ample opportunity to obtain a valid war-

rant; they knew the automobile’s exact description

and location well in advance; they intended to seize

it when they came upon Coolidge’s property. And

this is not a case involving contraband or stolen

goods or objects dangerous in themselves.”

The factual situation in our case differs materially

from that in Coolidge. Unlike Coolidge there was no

search in progress but the officers did inadvertantly come

upon the claim check to the automobile they wanted as

evidence. They were not converting a limited search into -

@ general one. While they seized the claim check to the

automobile they did not seize respondent’s brief case

which they believed might have contained incriminating

evidence, and in spite of the finding of the courts below

there were genuine exigent circumstances for i

the claim check which was in fact tantamount to seizing

the automobile.

Prior to the discovery of the whereabouts of the auto-

mobile the officers did not have an opportunity to pro-

30

cure a search warrant for it. Whereas they knew the aiito-

mobile’s exact description they did not know its location,

and they had no expectation of finding it at the office of

the attorney general although they did intend to seize it

when they found it.

A study of a great number of cases has convinced this

writer that the majority decision in Coolidge is not clear-

ly understood by either state or federal courts. Not only

was there a variation of interpretations of the meaning

of the majority opinion, particularly concerning the ne-

cessity for a serach warrant, between the various circuit

courts of appeal and district courts but there also is evi-

dence of a divergence of opinion between the judges in

the various courts of appeals. If this is so it is inconceiv-

able that police officers, few of whom have any legal

expertise, possibly can know what to do in any given

circumstance. Where an object, which they know to be

valuable evidence in a case which they are investigating

comes into their view, must they place a guard on it until

they can procure a search warrant? In this day of ever.

increasing crime the hesitancy of a police officer to take

prompt action to seize and protect evidence could be

fatal to the protection to which the public is entitled.

Seldom would a prompt seizure of incriminating evi-

dence interfere with the Fourth Amendment Rights of

the innocent.

At the time the seizure in this case was made the of-

ficers were not aware of Coolidge which came later. If

properly schooled they were familiar with Cooper and

Carroll. Even Chambers was not available to them. They

did know that it was not a Preston case for the reason

that the evidence they sought was relevant to the crime

for which they had arrested respondent. Mr. Justice

Black, in his dissenting opinion, noted that Coolidge in-

31

troduced a new rule to enforce proper police conduct. At

page 488-489 he stated:

“The majority holds that evidence it views as im-

properly seized in violation of its ever changing

concept of the Fourth Amendment is inadmissible.

The majority treats the exclusionary rule as a judge-

made rule of evidence designed and utilized to en-

force the majority’s own notions of proper police

conduct. The Court today announces its new rules

of police procedure in the name of the Fourth

Amendment, then holds that evidence seized in

violation of the new “guidelines” is automatically

inadmissible at trial. The majority does not purport

to rely in the Fifth Amendment to exclude the evi-

dence in this case. Indeed, it could not. The majority

prefers instead to rely in “changing times” and the

Court’s role as it sees it, as the administrator in

charge of regulating the contacts of officials with

citizens. The majority states that in the absence of

a better means of regulation, it applies a court-

created rule of evidence.

I readily concede that there is much recent pre-

cedent for the majority’s present announcement of

yet another new set of police operating procedures.

By invoking this rulemaking power found not in

the words but somewhere in the “spirit” of the

Fourth Amendment, the Court has expanded that

Amendment beyond recognition. And each new

step is justified as merely a logical extension of the

step before.”

While the police officer did not have the benefit of

the Coolidge or Chambers decisions the courts below did.

Yet they ignored the holding of this Court in Chambers v

Maroney supra. As Mr. Justice Black stated at page 504:

“Moreover, under our decision last Term in Cham-

bers v Maroney, 399 US 42, 26 L Ed 2d 419, 90 S Ct

1975 (1970), the police were entitled not only to

seize petitioner’s car but also to search the car after

32

it had been taken to the police station. The police

had probable cause to believe that the car had been

used in the commission of the murder and that it

contained evidence of the crime. Under Carroll »v

United States, 267 US 132, 69 L Ed 543, 45 S Ct 280,

39 ALR 790 (1925), and Chambers v Maroney,

supra, such belief was sufficient justification for the

seizure and the search of petitioner’s automobile.”

In Coolidge Mr. Justice White, in a thoroughly docu-

mented dissenting opinion stated:

“For Fourth Amendment purposes, the difference

between a moving and movable vehicle is tenuous

at best. It is a metaphysical distinction without roots

in the commonsense standard of reasonableness

governing search and seizure cases. Distinguishing

the case before us from the Carroll-Chambers line

of cases further enmeshes Fourth Amendment law

in litigation breeding refinements having little rela-

tion to reality. I suggest that in the interest of coher-

ence and credibility we either overrule our prior

cases and treat automobiles precisely as we do

houses or apply those cases to readily movable as

well as moving vehicles and thus treat searches of

automobiles are we do the arrest of a person. By

either course we might bring some modicum of cer-

tainty to Fourth Amendment law and give the law

enforcement officers some slight guidance in how

they are to conduct themselves.” Coolidge v New

Hampshire, supra, at page 527.

In the interest of proper law enforcement and the

protection of the public it is urged that the latter alterna-

tive be adopted. It is believed that this Court has em-

barked upon such a step in this direction in the recent

case of Cady v Dombrowski, supra. Although the facts

in Cady are not‘the same as those herein the majority

of the court likened them to those in Harris v United

States, supra and Cooper v California, supra. In Harris

the petitioner had been arrested for robbery and his car

_

33

impounded as evidence. Here respondent was arrested

for murder and his car impounded as evidence. In Cooper

the petitioner was arrested for selling heroin and his

car impounded pending forfeiture proceedings. In either

Harris or Cooper the police could have gotten a search

warrant. In summing up the basis for holding the search

to be valid Mr. Justice Rehnquist stated:

“The Court’s previous recognition of the distinction

between motor vehicles and dwelling places leads

us to conclude that the type of caretaking “search”

conducted here of a vehicle that was neither in the

custody nor on the premises of its owner, and that

had been placed where it wassby virtue of lawful

police action, was not unreasonable solely because

a warrant had not been obtained. The Framers of

the Fourth Amendment have given us only the

general standard of “unreasonableness” as a guide

in determing whether searches and seizures meet

the standard of that Amendment in those cases

where a warrant is not required. Very little that

has been said in our previous decision, see Cooper,

supra, Harris, supra, Chambers, supra, and very

little that we might say here can usefully refine the

language of the Amendment itself in order to evolve

some detailed formula for judging cases such as this.

Where, as here, the trunk of an automobile, which

the officer reasonably believed to contain a gun, was

vulnerable to intrusion by vandals, we hold that the

search was not “unreasonable” within the meani

of the Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments.” Cady v

Dombrowski, 37 L Ed 2d at page 718.

Here the automobile was parked on a public parking

lot. It was not in respondent’s home or on his property.

It could be readily moved. Had the officers not impounded

it they would have run the risk of losing valuable evi-

dence believed by them to be such. Had the car been

moved and concealed pending their procuring a search

34

warrant they could have been found derelict in their

duty for letting the evidence disappear.

Any intrusion into respondent’s automobile was a very

limited one. Paint samples were taken and tire casts

were made. This appears to be a far less intrusion than

that of taking a sample of scrapings from the fingernalis

of a strangulation-murder suspect, over his protest and

without a warrant. In Cupp v Murphy, US 35

L Ed 2d 900 this Court held at page 906:

“On the facts of this case, considering the existence

of probable cause, the very limited intrusion under-

taken incident to the station house detention, and the

ready destructibility of the evidence, we cannot say

that this search violated the Fourth and Fourteenth

Amendments.”

Petitioner believes that there was no Fourth and Four-

teenth Amendment violation here.

35

CONCLUSION

Petitioner feels that the courts below have improp-

erly gauged the impact of Coolidge v New Hampshire,

supra, in the process of invalidating the seizure of re-

spondent’s automobile. While on the surface the case

seems to be factually in point with the instant situation,

and while the state has, in all the cases, attempted to

justify the search for a number of similar reasons, there

are significant factors which are not present in the

instant case, and which make the instant seizure allow-

able. In Coolidge an individual’s private property was

entered and his automobile taken therefrom. In Coolidge

his automoble was where there was no prospect that it

was about to be moved. Petitioner would not contest if

respondent’s car had been seized from his private prop-

erty and there were no real prospects of the car being

moved.

In the instant situation, the intrusion into respondent’s

control over his car was not dependent upon an invasion

of his physical premises. The car itself was seized from

a public parking lot, upon which police needed no specific

authorization to enter.

In Coolidge there was no significant prospect of the

car in question being moved while in the instant situa-

tion such was actually a certainty. While the authorities

in our case had information relating to the car, prior

to the seizure, there is no indication such information

amounted to probable cause to obtain a warrant. Nor

can it be said that on the morning of the interrogation

it was reasonable to procure a warrant considering the

mobile nature of the item to be seized and the uncer-

tainty of its location at any particular time. Petitioner

believes rather, that this decision in Cady v Dombrowski,

supra, should govern this case.

36

Accordingly, petitioner submits that the admission |

of the paint scrapings in question were admitted at re.

spondent’s trial without violating his rights under the

Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitu.

tion. A finding to the contrary by the courts below and —

the granting of the Writ of Habeas Corpus were con —

clusions clearly erroneous.

Lastly petitioner iterates that the question of the

legality of the seizure of the paint samples was, after

a motion to suppress and voir dire hearing, determined

by the trial court. The question was raised by respondent

and rejected by two Ohio appellate courts and this Court.

Petitioner believes that the district court was in error in

relitigating the matter. As enunciated by Mr. Justice

Powell in his concurring opinion:

“Where there is no constitutional claim bearing on

innocence, the inquiry of the federal court on habeas

review of a state prisoner’s Fourth Amendment

claim should be confined solely to the question

whether the defendant was provided a fair op

portunity in the state courts to raise and have ad-

judicated the Fourth Amendment claim. Limiting

the scope of habeas review in this manner would

reduce the role of the federal courts in determining

the merits of constitutional claims with no relation

te a petitioner’s innocence and contribute to the

restoration of recently neglected values to their

proper place in our criminal justice system.”

Schneckloth v Bustamonte, —— US ____ 36 L Ed

24 854, 855 (1973).

Respectfully submitted,

Wru1aM J. BRowNn

Attorney General of the State of Ohio

Leo J. Conway

Nicuoias R. Curci

Assistant Attorneys General

JEFFREY L. MCCLELLAND

Attorney for Petitioner

———

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.