Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Accardi v. Pennsylvania Railroad
Supreme Court brief1966
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Ba PgR Page
EEL LAE AED LEAS LAPS EE 1
kt) ot cedndcearecapesewnnsees 2
= <uestson presented... ...-.......-----.--.---- 2
on el ee Le a eabeteesede 2
eee eh anbeseddeweent 4
_ Reasons for granting the writ_------.---------- 7
ea eee ee eb wade 16
Se cn Jen. suet a eadeteersekoses wk 17
CITATIONS
Cases:
Alvado v. General Motors Co., 229 F. 2d 408,
certiorari denied, 351 U.S. 983___..-_----- 10
Baltimore & Ohio. R. Co., etc. v. United Rail-
road Wkrs., 176 F. Supp. 53, affirmed in part
and reversed in part, 271 F. 2d 87, vacated
and remanded, 364 U.S. 278________------ 5
Borges v. Art Steel Co., 246 F. 2d 735- ~~ -_-- 10
Brooks v. Missouri Pacific R. Co., 376 U.S. 182- 9,
10, 14
Diehl v. Lehigh Valley R. Co., 348 U.S. 960_.. 9,10
Dwyer v. Crosby Co., 167 F. 2d 567__------- 10
Fishgold v. Sullivan Drydock & Repair Cor-
i rr i. dcctenewensoenes e)
Hire v. E. I. DuPont de Nemours & Co., 324 F.
ER NIE SR SAESES Tock "ane ng = ee Co 12
McKinney v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas R. Co.,
ee Se eae 10
Menizel v. Diamond, 167 F. 2d 299____-_---- 11
Moe v. Eastern Air Lines, 246 F. 2d 215__--- 10
Seattle Star v. Randolph, 168 F. 2d 274_----- 14
777-704— 651 (1)
Cases—Continued Page
Siaskiewicz v. General Electric Co., 166 F. 2d
Tilton v. Missouri Pacific R. Co., 376 U.S. 169-
9,
10, 14
Statutes:
Selective Training and Service Act of 1940,
Sec. 8, 54 Stat. 885, 890, as amended, 50
U.S.C. App. (1946 ed.) 308_1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14
Selective Service Act of 1948, Sec. 9, 62 Stat.
615 (renamed the ‘Universal Military
Training and Service Act’ by the Act of
June 19, 1951, 65 Stat. 75), 50 U.S.C. App.
Me cibadabitciwescek<achn don caa 4, 7,8, 11, 12
Miscellaneous:
I Pia oie vn ecg hb es cledion 12
SO Us ee Wee. oss Be Soke Se 13
GB Cotem, et. BEV. oss bk a
Gu the Supreme Gourt of the United States
OctoseR TERM, 1965
No.
PasQuaLE J. ACCARDI, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
THE PENNSYLVANIA RaILRoAD COMPANY
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
The Solicitor General, on behalf of Pasquale J.
Aceardi, Jacob Grubesick, Alfred J. Seevers, Anthony
J. Varsallo, Abraham 8. Hoffman, and Frank D.
Pryor,’ prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review
the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit entered in this case on January
25, 1965.
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States District Court
for the Southern District of New York is reported at
229 F. Supp. 193. _The opinion of the court of appeals
(App., infra, p. 17) is reported at 341 F. 2d 72.
?The Department of Justice represents these veterans pur-
suant to Section 8(e) of the Selective Training and Service Act
of 1940, 54 Stat. 885, 891, 50 U.S..C. App. (1946 ed.) 308(e).
(1)
2
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals (App., infra,
p. 22) was entered on January 25, 1965. By order of
Mr. Justice Harlan the time for filing a petition for
a writ of certiorari was extended to and including
June 21, 1965. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).
QUESTIGN PRESENTED
Employees whose jobs with the respondent railroad
were abolished in 1960 were paid separation allow-
ances based upon the number of months in which they
had worked at least one day for the respondent. The
question presented is whether, by virtue of Section 8
of the Selective Training & Service Act of 1940 (now
Section 9 of the Universal Military Training & Serv-
ice Act of 1951, 50 U.S.C. App. 459), the separation
allowances paid to employees whose employment was
interrupted by military service should be computed as
if they had been continuously employed by respondent
during their absence in the Armed Forces.
STATUTE INVOLVED
1. The pertinent provisions of Section 8 of the Se-
lective Training and Service Act of 1940, 54 Stat. 885,
890, as amended, 50 U.S.C. App. (1946 ed.) 308, are as
follows:
(a) Any person inducted into the land or
naval forces under this Act for training and
service, who, in the judgment of those in au-
thority over him, satisfactorily completes his
period of training and service * * * shall be
entitled to a certificate to that effect upon the
3.
completion of such period of training and
service * * °. * *# & ‘
(b) In the ease of any such person who, in
order to perform such training and service,
has left or leaves a position, other than a tem-
porary position, in the employ of any employer
and who (1) receives such certificate, (2) is
still qualified to perform the duties of such
position, and (3) makes application for reem-
ployment within ninety days after he is relieved
from such training and service or from hos-
pitalization continuing after discharge for a
period of not more than one year—
* * * * *
(B) if such position was in the employ of a
private employer, such employer shall restore
such person to such position or to a position
of like seniority, status, and pay unless the em-
ployer’s circumstances have so changed as to
make it impossible or unreasonable to do so;
+ * * * *
(c) Any person who is restored to a position
in accordance with the provisions of paragraph
(A) or (B) of subsection (b) shall be consid-
ered as having been on furlough or leave of
absence during his period of training and serv-
ice in the land or naval forces, shall be so re-
stored without loss of seniority, shall be en-
titled to participate in insurance or other bene-
fits offered by the employer pursuant to estab-
lished rules and practices relating to employees
on furlough or leave of absence in effect with
the employer at the time such person was in-
ducted into such forees, and shall not be dis-
charged from such position without cause with-
in one year after such restoration.
——__—.»
4
2. The provisions of Section 9(c)(1) of the Selec-
tive Service Act df 1948, 62 Stat. 615 (renamed the
‘**Universal Military Training and Service Act” by
the Act of June 19, 1951, 65 Stat. 75), 50 U.S.C. App.
459, are identical with those of Section 8(¢) of the
Selective Training and Service Act, but Section 9(¢)
(2) of the 1948 Act further provides:
It is hereby declared to be the sense of the Con-
gress that any person who is restored to a posi-
tion in accordance with the provisions of para-
graph (A) or (B) of subsection (b) should be
so restored in such manner as to give him such
status in his employment as he would have en-
joyed if he had continued in such employment
continuously from the time of his entering the
armed forces until the time of his restoration
to such employment.
STATEMENT
1. Background. This case involves the application
of the re-employment provisions of the Selective
Training and Service Act of 1940 (now the Universal
Military Training and Service Act, 50 U.S.C. App. ’
459) to veterans, who, after resuming their civilian
employment, were discharged when technological ad-
vances caused the elimination of their jobs. The facts
are not in dispute.
Petitioners entered the employ of the respondent
railroad in 1941 and 1942, when they signed on as
“oilers” or “firemen” on the steam-operated tugboats
then maintained by the railroad in New York Har-
bor. Each petitioner's civilian employment with the
railroad was interrupted by military service during
5
the Second World War. After approximately three
years of wartime service, petitioners were honorably
discharged from the Armed Forces and were restored
to their former positions with the railroad.
Following petitioners’ re-employment, the railroad
replaced almost all of its steam tugboats with diesel
vessels. While the former required the services of
two men in the engine room (an engineer and a fire-
man), in the railroad’s view the diesel vessels needed
only an engineer. In 1959, the railroad’s decision to
abolish the position of “fireman-oiler’’ on their diesel
tugs led to a serious strike,* which was settled by a
collective bargaining agreement dated December 2,
1960, between various railroad companies (including
respondent) and the unions representing unlicensed
engine-room personnel (including petitioners).
No prior collective bargaining agreement covering
these employees contained provisions dealing with the
abolition of an entire class of employee. The agree-
ment in question makes no reference to, and contains
no provisions expressly dealing with, the rights of
veterans entitled to the benefit of the re-employment
provisions of the Act.
2. The controversy. As of December 31, 1960, each
petitioner lacked, by a matter of months, twenty years’
seniority with the railroad. Under the terms of the
December 2 agreement, such employees were dismissed
with a monetary separation allowance based upon the
* The background of this dispute is detailed in Baltimore &
Ohio R. Co., ete. vy. United Railroad Wkrs., 176 F. Supp. 58
(S.D.N.Y.), affirmed in part and reversed in part, 271 F. 2d
87 (C.A, 2), vacated and remanded, 364 U.S, 278.
6
number of months in which the employee had worked
at least one day for the railroad. In computing those
allowances, however, the railroad did not credit the
months petitioners spent in military service—on the
ground that during that period petitioners did not
“work one or more days” each month for the railroad.
It is stipulated that, as a result, each petitioner was
paid $1,242.60 less than the amount to which he would
have been entitled ‘“‘had [he] continued to render
compensated service to the [respondent] throughout
their respective periods of military service * * *.”’
Petitioners contended that the Selective Training
and Service Act of 1940 gave them the right to be
treated as having been continuously employed during
their time in military service for purposes of com-
puting their separation allowances. When the rail-
road declined to adjust their allowances accordingly,
they instituted this action in the district court.
3. The proceedings below. Both sides moved for
summary judgment. On April 28, 1964, the district
court rendered a decision in favor of the petitioners,
229 F. Supp. 193. The court ruled, in substance, that
(1) Section 8(b)(B) of the Act required veterans to
be restored to positions in their former civilian em-
ployment of ‘‘seniority, status, and pay’’ comparable
to those which they would have achieved had they
been continuously employed; (2) a ‘‘separation allow-
ance’’ falls within the concept of ‘‘seniority, status,
and pay’’; and (3) had petitioners been continuously
employed in their civilian jobs they would have been
entitled to separation allowances in the amounts they
claimed.
7
“With some doubts,’ the court of appeals reversed.
It recognized that “[i]f the separation allowances
granted to plaintiffs in 1960 come within the statutory
concepts of ‘seniority, status, and pay,’ plaintiffs are
entitled to be treated as if they had kept their posi-
tions continuously during World War II.” But the
court concluded that these allowances fall rather with-
in the class of “insurance or other benefits,’’ covered
by Section 8(¢) of the 1940 Act, That section, now
Section 9(¢)(1) of the Universal Military Training
and Service Act of 1951, provides that a veteran re-
stored to his former position:
* * * shall be entitled to participate in insur-
ance or other benefits offered by the employer
pursuant to established rules and practices re-
lating to employees on furlough or leave of
absence in effect with the employer at the time
such person was inducted into such forces * * *.
Since time spent on furlough or leave of absence was
not counted in determining an employee’s separation
allowance, the Second Circuit reasoned that military-
service time was also excludable.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
Under the relevant collective bargaining agreement,
petitioners are entitled to increased separation allow-
ances if, as they contend, the federal statute requires
that veterans be treated for that purpose as if they
were continuously employed during the period of their
military service. Petitioners are admittedly entitled
to nothing more if they are to be treated as having
been on “leave of absence” or “furlough.’”’ The issue
777-704—65——2
8
is one of substantial importance in the operation of
the protective provisions of the Universal Military
Training and Service Act of 1951. The ruling below,
we believe, is inconsistent with this Court’s decisions,
and there is a direct conflict among the circuits.
The court of appeals recognized that, under this
Court’s decisions, returning veterans are entitled to
have their time in the service treated as continuous
employment—rather than as time on leave of absence
or furlough—for purposes of determining seniority
and the benefits of “status’’ and “pay’’ which flow
from seniority. Here, there is no question that peti-
tioners’ co-employees have received full credit, for pur-
poses of separation allowances, for any month in
which they worked at their civilian jobs for as little
as one day. Nonetheless, the court below has con-
cluded that petitioners may not receive comparable
benefits based upon the period that their employment
by the railroad was precluded by military service. It
has reached this result by drawing a distinction be-
tween basic benefits (as to which the veteran is to be
treated as if he were continuously employed) and
‘‘fringe’’ benefits (as to which he is to be treated
as if he were on leave of absence).
We submit that no such distinction was contem-
plated by the federal statutes—that a veteran’s time
in military service must be considered for seniority
purposes regardless of the nature of the benefit flow-
ing from seniority. The ruling below is of sub-
stantial importance not only because technological ad-
vances have occasioned a serious and immediate prob-
lem as to the proper determination of separation
9
allowances but also because it will deprive veterans
of other ‘‘fringe’’ benefits keyed to seniority. .
1, The Second Circuit correctly acknowledged that
“if the separation allowances granted to [petitioners]
in 1960 come within the statutory concepts of ‘senior-
ity, status, and pay,’ [petitioners] are entitled to be
treated as if they had kept their positions continously
during World War II.”’ 341 F. 2d at 74. Only iwa
terms ago, this Court held in Tilton v. Missouri Pa-
cific R. Co., 376 U.S. 169, and Brooks v. Missouri
Pacific R. Co., 376 U.S. 182, that for purposes of de-
termining seniority status and the benefits which flow
from it, veterans are to be treated as if they were
continuously employed during the period of their ab-
sence. In so holding, the Court reaffirmed its prior
decision in Diehl v. Lehigh Valley R. Co., 348 U.S.
960, where it had reversed a Third Circuit decision
holding that the veterans’ seniority rights were
limited to those which would be enjoyed by a non-
veteran who had been on furlough or leave of absence
during the time the veteran was in military service.
“The principle underlying this legislation is that he
who is ‘called to the colors [is] not to be penalized on
his return by reason of his absence from his civilian
job.’”? Tilton v. Missourt Pacific R. Co., 376 U.S.
at 170-171, quoting from Fishgold v. Sullivan Dry-
dock & Repatr Corporation, 328 U.S. 275, 284.
Thus, as the court below noted, if petitioners’ posi-
tion on the seniority roster, or right to an advanced
position or rate of pay, depended upon the number of
months in which they had worked one day, they would
be entitled to be treated as if each had been continu-
10
ously employed. during his period of military service.
Where such benefits are dependent solely upon the
time an employee is present on the job (and not upon
the increased proficiency which comes from experi-
ence and training on the job), the veteran is to be
accorded the benefits enjoyed by one continuously em-
ployed. This is the holding of Tilton, Brooks, and
Diehl, supra, as to position on the seniority roster; of
McKinney v. Missouri-Kansas-Texas R. Co., 357 US.
265, as to the right to advanced position; and of Moe
v. Eastern Air Lines, 246 F. 2d 215 (C.A. 5), and
Borges v. Art Steel Co., 246 F. 2d 735 (C.A. 2), as
to rate of pay.
We know of no basis for distinguishing among the
various advantages that may flow from seniority
alone, whether they relate to pay, position, vacation
rights, job security or separation allowances. To be
sure, if the veteran’s right to any of these advantages
is dependent upon something more than seniority—
i.e., if the claimed benefits are the consideration for
work a veteran has not performed, or for experience
he has not acquired—the veteran cannot claim them.
But where the veteran’s right to any of these benefits
depends solely upon length of service, the veteran is
entitled to be treated as if he had been continuously
employed during the military service.’ In particular,
’This distinction is at the heart of several decisions of the
Second Circuit denying veterans particular vacation benefits,
although that Circuit has at times talked as if vacation rights
were wholly outside the statutorily protected benefits o “senior-
ity, status, and pay.” Siaskiewicz v. General Electric Co., 166 F.
9d 463 (C.A. 2); Dwyer v. Crosby Co., 167 F. 2d 567 (C.A.
2); Alvado v. General Motors Corporation, 229 F. 2d 408 (C.A.
—_
1]
no meaningful distinction can be drawn between. the
right to be paid separation allowances in the present
case and the right to wage-rate increases, similarly
based upon seniority, which were involved in Moe and
Borges. Both were strictly conditioned on length of
service; neither constituted payment for work actu-
ally done or for experience gained.
2. The court below apparently believed that a dif-
ferent conclusion was dictated by the language of Sec-
tion 8(c) of the 1940 Act (now Section 9(e)(1) of
the 1951 Act, 50 U.S.C. App. 459(c)(1)), which
provides:
(c) Any person who is restored to a posi-
tion in accordance with the provisions of para-
graph- (A) or (B) of subsection (b) shall be
considered as having been on furlough or leave
of absence during his period of training and
service in the land or naval forces, shall be so
restored without loss of senority, shall be en-
titled to participate in insurance or other bene-
fits offered by the employer pursuant to
established rules and practices relating to em-
ployees on furlough or leave of absence in
effect with the employer at the time such per-
son was inducted into such forces, and shall not
be discharged from such position without cause
within one year after such restoration.
The court viewed the statutory scheme as creating a
dichotomy between “insurance or other benefits” (as
2), certiorari denied, 351 U.S. 988. Where length of vacations is
strictly dependent on years of service, i.e., seniority, the Act
plainly permits a re-employed veteran to include his service
time in determining vacation rights. Mentzel v. Diamond, 167
F. 2d 299 (C.A. 3).
12
to which the returned veteran was to be treated only
as if he had been ‘‘on furlough or leave of absence”)
and the concept of ‘“‘seniority; status, and pay’’ (as to
which the veteran was entitled to enjoy all the benefits
of one who had been continuously employed). The
Second Circuit concluded “[w]ith some doubts * * *
that the separation allowances in the present case are
properly ‘other benefits’ rather than includible within
‘seniority, status, and pay,’”? because they were
neither “pay for work actually done,” nor “a regular
part of plaintiff’s earnings,” nor “a traditional per-
quisite of seniority.” App., infra, p. 21. The Sixth
Circuit has reached a directly contrary conclusion,
treating severance allowances as ‘“‘pay’’ for purposes
of 50 U.S.C. App. 459, the present re-enactment
of the statute here in issue. Hire v. FE. I. DuPont
de Nemours & Co., 324 F. 2d 546, 550.
In our view, the legisiative history shows that
Congress never intended any such division between
ordinary and extraordinary, or between basic and
incidental, benefits of seniority. The “insurance or
other benefits’? language of Section 8(c) serves a dis-
crete function. It was added to make certain that
veterans would enjoy, during thetr absence in military
service, all those benefits accorded to other employees
on leave of absence. It was not intended to limit a
veteran’s rights upon his return to civilian employ-
ment.
The original form of Section 8(¢) provided only
for the veteran’s rights on his return from military
service. It stated (86 Cong. Rec. 10790) :
| 13
Any person who is restored to a position in
accordance with paragraphs (A) or (B) of
subsection (b) shall be so restored without loss
of seniority, insurance participation or bene-
fits, or other benefits, and such person shall not
be discharged without cause within one year
after such restoration.
This. language was amended, without substantial de-
bate, for the apparent purpose of adding a guarantee
that any benefits accruing to employees absent on
other forms of leave should also be enjoyed by the
veteran while he was absent in military service. In
the words of the amendment, the veteran was to “be
entitled to participate in insurance or other benefits
offered by the employer pursuant to established rules
and practices relating to employees on furlough or
leave of absence in effect with the employer at the
time such person was inducted into [the military]
forces.”
Senator Sheppard, Chairman of the Senate Com-
mittee which reported the bill, explained (86 Cong.
Ree. 10914) :
That amendment would make certain that all
trainees would receive the same insurance and
other benefits as those who are on furlough or
leave of absence in private life. It seems to me
to be a good suggestion.
Congressman May, Chairman of the House Committee
on Military Affairs, introduced the same amendment
in the House, where he explained (86 Cong. Ree.
11702) :
Mr. Miter. In reference to insurance, will
that apply to group insurance? Many in-
; a
14
dustrial plants, of course, carry group insur-
ance. Under those contracts they continue their
participation while a man is on vacation or
furlough. Would they continue those. policies
in force?
Mr. May. This would continue them in force
and that is the very purpose of the legislation.
In short, the veteran was to be treated as ‘‘on fur-
lough or leave of absence’’ only for the purpose of
assuring him the enjoyment of certain benefits accruing
during his absence—.e., the benefits offered by the
employer to other employees on furlough gr leave of
absence pursuant to provisions in effect at the time
the veteran was inducted. It is hardly necessary to
add that this Court has long since made it clear that
Section 8(c)’s direction that a veteran ‘‘be considered
as having been on furlough or leave of absence’’ does
not limit the veteran’s seniority rights, on his return
from service, to those which would be enjoyed by a
furloughed employee. Diehl v. Lehigh Valley R. Co.,
348 U.S. 960, reversing 211 F. 2d 95 (C.A. 3); Tilton
v. Missouri Pacific R. Co., supra; Brooks v. Missouri
Pacific R. Co., supra.‘
3. Technological displacement of employees has be-
come a major problem of the economy. The decision
below will adversely affect a substantial number of
veterans in industries where the steady advances of
automation are lowering manpower requirements.
* We recognize that, with regard to separation allowances, the
Ninth Circuit reached a contrary conclusion seventeen years ago
- in Seattle Star v. Randolph, 168 F. 2d 274. But that decision
preceded, and its rationale in no way veflects, the controlling
decisions of this Court which have been handed down in the
intervening years.
—
15
The present case bears significantly upon the sedpe
of the separation rights granted by federal statutes
to the extremely large number of employees who have
served in the military service since 1940, as well as
to the many men still being called into the military
service.
Indeed, this decision already has affected the ad-
ministration of the award made in the recent arbitra-
tion of the nationwide dispute relating to the size of
railroad crews. Under the terms of that award, many
“‘firemen’s’’ positions are abolished and a significant
number of persons will be discharged. The railroads
initially acquiesced in the view that the statute (as
applied to the award) required the military service of
veterans to be treated as “continuous employment”’
for purposes of computing their separation allow-
ances. Since the decision below was jianded down, at
least five major railroads have refused to continue
making settlements on this basis.
Moreover, the decision below has implications which
go beyond the matter of separation allowances. As
already observed, the court of appeals has created an
exception to the statutory protections recognized in
this Court’s decisions. Its holding is that a veteran
need only be treated as ‘continuously employed”’ for
the purposes of determining the “basic” rights of
‘‘seniority,” ‘‘status,’’ and ‘‘pay”; he need not be so
treated for the purpose of determining his right to
“fringe”’ benefits under collective bargaining agree-
ments. Thus, the decision will also inevitably affect
veterans’ claims to other benefits which are common
subjects under labor agreements and are normally
16
contingent on length of employment, e.g., layoff bene-
fits, pensions, vacation privileges, and the like.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully sub-
mitted that the petition for a writ of certiorari should
be granted.
Respectfully submitted.
ARCHIBALD Cox,
Solicitor General.
JOHN W. DovG.as,
Assistant Attorney General.
ALAN S. ROSENTHAL,
Ricuarp 8S. SALzMAN,
Attorneys.
APPENDIX
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND
CIRCUIT
No. 153—September Term, 1964
(Argued November 12, 1964 Decided January 25,
1965)
Docket No. 29022
PasguaLeE J. Accarpi, Jacosn GRuBesick, ALFRED J.
SEEvVERS, ANTHONY J. VassaLLo, ABRAHAM S. Horr-
MAN, AND FRANK D. PRYOR, PLAINTIFFS-APPELLEES
v.
THE PENNSYLVANIA RarLroap CoMPANY, DEFENDANT-
APPELLANT
Before: Lumparp, Chief Judge, Swan and Warer-
MAN, Circuit Judges.
Appeal from judgment of the United States Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of New York,
Metzner, J., 229 F. Supp. 193, granting claims by
veterans against their former employer for sums
allegedly due them under 50 U.S.C. App. § 308 (1946).
Reversed.
WATERMAN, Circuit Judge:
Plaintiffs, veterans of World War II, brought suit
in the United States District Court for the Southern
District of New York. They claimed that defendant,
(17)
18
their former employer, had denied them that portion
of a separation allowance, granted in 1960, to which
they were entitled under Section 8 of the Selective
Training and Service Act of 1940, 50 U.S.C. App.
§ 308 (1946). Upon cross motions for summary judg-
ment, Judge Metzner awarded the sums claimed by
plaintiffs. His opinion is reported at 229 F. Supp.
193.
Defendant has appealed, arguing that the provision
of Section 8 relied on by plaintiffs does not apply
either to separation allowances or to benefits granted
more than one year after an employee’s return to
work from military service. We reverse the district
court on the applicability of Section 8 to separation
allowances, and therefore we do not reach defendant's
alternative ground for reversal. Nor need we discuss
defendant’s additional contention on appeal that the
district court improperly computed the interest owing
on the judgment awarded to plaintiffs.
The relevant facts in this case are stipulated.
Plaintiffs first entered the employ of defendant in
1941 and 1942 as firemen on tugboats in New York
harbor. They left their jobs during World War IT
to serve in the armed forces, but at the close of the
war they were reinstated in their former positions.
Thereafter, they worked continuously as tugboat fire-
men for defendant until 1960. In Deeember of that
year, defendant and the union which represented
plaintiffs reached an agreement designed to settle a
bitter dispute over reduction of work forces in con-
Yr .
nection with the transition from steam-powered to
diesel-driven tugs. The contract abolished the job of
fireman on the diesel tugs but awarded the displaced
employees separation allowances that varied in
amount according to each employee's “‘length of com-
pensated service.’’ Plaintiffs were permanently
separated from defendant’s employ pursuant to the
contract, and, in computing their separation allow-
ances, defendant credited them only with time ae-
tually spent in its employ for which they received
wages.
This suit arises out of plaintiffs’ claim that defend-
ant should have included their vears in the armed
forces in ealeulating the separation allowances.
Plaintiffs do not contend that the phrase “e¢ompen-
sated service” was intended by defendant and_ the
union to encompass military service. Rather, they
argue that Section 8 of the Act requires that they be
credited with their years in the armed forces, regard-
less of the intent of the parties to the agreement.
Piaintiffs are correct in assuming that “no practice
of employers or agreements between employers and
unions can cut dewn the service adjustment benefits
which Congress has secured the veteran under the
Act.” Fishgold yv. Sullivan Drydock & Repair Corp.,
328 U.S. 275, 285 (1946). The ‘problem presented
by this case is that of whether the statute dictates
that military service should have been included in
‘compensated service,” irrespective of the intent of
union and employer in choosing that language.
Section 8(b)(B) of the Act requires that a private
employer restore a returning veteran “to [his for-
20
mer] position or to a position of like seniority, status,
and pay * * *”’ Section 8(c) further provides:
Any person who is restored to a position in
accordance with the provisiens of para-
graph * * * (B) of subsection (b) shall be
considered as having been on furlough or leave
of absence during his period of training and
service in the land or naval forces, shall be so
restored without loss of seniority, shall be en-
titled to participate in insurance or other bene-
fits offered by the employer pursuant to estab-
lished rules and practices relating to employees
on furlough or leave of absence in effect with
the employer at the time such person was in-
ducted into such forces, and shall not be dis-
charged from such position without cause
within one year after such restoration.
If the separation allowances granted to plaintiffs in
1960 come within the statutory concepts of ‘‘seniority,
status, and pay,’’ plaintiffs are entitled to be treated
as if they had kept their position continuously during
World War II. Fishgold v. Sullivan Drydocks &
Repair Corp., supra, at 284-85. On the other hand,
if the allowances constituted ‘‘insurance or other
benefits,”’ plaintiffs are not entitled to be credited with
their years in the armed forces, for with certain im-
material exceptions, the agreement between defendan‘
and the union did not treat time spent by employees
‘fon furlough or leave of absence’ as ‘‘compensated
service.”’
There are no decisions in this cireuit or in the Su-
preme Court determining whether separation allow-
ances are included within the categories of “seniority,
status, and pay’’ or of ‘‘insuranee or other benefits.”’
However, in Borges v. Art Steel Co., 246 F. 2d 735, 738
(2 Cir. 1957), we drew the line between the two cate-
gories as follows:
——————
21
While the problem of construction is difficult,
it seems most likely that the expression “‘insur.
no sense fringe benefits, but became a regular part of
the jobholder’s pay or status, swelling his pay check
every week he worked in the future * * *” Id. at
Elec. Co., 166 F. 24 463, 465-66 (2 Cir. 1948), we de--
cided that ‘‘since vacation rights are not pay unless
they are for work actually done, and since they are
not merely a perquisite of seniority, they must fall
under the heading of ‘other benefits,’ ”? Accord, Al-
vado v. General Motors Corp., 229 F. 24 408, 410-11
(2. Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 351 U.S. 983; Dwyer v.
Crosby Co., 167 F. 2d 567 (2 Cir. 1948).
With some doubts, we hold that the separation al-
lowances in the present case are properly ‘‘other
benefits” rather than ineludable within “seniority,
status, and pay.’’ Unlike the wage increases in
Borges, they did not become a regular part of plain-
tiffs’ earnings, and, like the vacation rights in Siaskie-
wicz, they were neither pay for work actually done
nor a traditional perquisite of seniority. On the con-
trary, they seemingly constituted only a miscellaneous
benefit, devised ad hoc after intensive collective bar-
gaining in order to serve a transitory purpose. We
are confirmed in this conclusion by the decisions of two
other Courts of Appeals. Hire v. FE. I. du Pont de
Nemours & Co., 324 F. 2d 546, 549-50 (6 Cir. 1963) ;
Seattle Star, Ine. y. Randolph, 168 F. 2d 274 (9 Cir.
22
1948). There are no appellate decisions to the
contrary.
Reversed.
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND
CIRCUIT
At a Stated ‘Term of the United States Court of
Appeals, in and for the Second Circuit, held at the
United States Courthouse in the City of New York,
on the twenty-fifth day of January one thousand nine
hundred and sixty-five.
Present: Hon. J. Edward Lumbard, Chief Judge;
Hon. Thomas W. Swan; Hon. Sterry R. Waterman,
Circuit Judges.
PasquaLE J. AccarDi, JACOB GRUBESICK, ALFRED J.
SEEVERS, ANTHONY J. VASSALLO, ABRAHAM S. Horr-
MAN, FRANK D. PRYOR, PLAINTIFFS-APPELLEES
Vv.
THE PENNSYLVANIA RAILROAD COMPANY,
DEFENDANT-APPELLANT
Appeal from the United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York.
This cause came on to be heard on the transcript
of record from the United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York, and was argued
by counsel.
ON CONSIDERATIQN WHEREOF, it is now hereby or-
dered, adjudged, and decreed that the judgment of
said District Court be and it hereby is reversed.
A. Dante, Fvusaro, Clerk.
U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1968
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.