Petitioners Brief — Evans v. Newton

Supreme Court brief1966

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

SEP 15 1965

~ | JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

In THE

ent Supreme Court of the United States

‘m-

on. OctoseR TERM, 1965

2re No. 61

is-

be E. S. Evans, et al.,

Be Petitioners,

ly —_—V

he

rs CuarLes E. Newton, et al.

10

n- ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

— ee oa re ann

— —- ome a

BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

Seana

sect wenn

|

Jack GREENBERG

James M. Nasart, III

MicHaEL MELTSNER

CuHarLes STEPHEN RaLstTon

Frank H. Herrron

10 Columbus Circle

New York, New York 10019

Donatp L. HottowELi

Wiuuiam H. ALExanvER

Howarp Moorz, JR.

85914 Hunter Street, N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30314

Attorneys for Petitioners

PAGE

Opinion Below ............. ie 1

Jurisdiction 1

Question Presented 2

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved ........ 2

| aa ean ane 4

Summary of Argument 7

ARGUMENT

I.

Ill.

IV.

A Park Established by Testamentary Trust,

in Conformity With a Statute Authorizing and

Encouraging Racial Restrictions, Cannot Ex-

clude Negroes as a Class

City Officials Are Directly Responsible for Ex-

clusion of Negroes From Baconsfield ..................

In Deciding an Issue of State Law, the Courts

of Georgia Accorded the Racial Limitation in

Bacon’s Will a Deference Inconsistent With

Supreme Federal Law

Baconsfield Is a Public Facility From Which

Negroes Cannot Be Excluded

The Charitable Trust in This Case Is so Much

the Creature of the State and so Related to

an Inherently Public Aspect of Community

Life as to Be Governed by the Fourteenth

Amendment Prohibition of Racial Discrimina-

tion

19

22

TaBLE oF CASES:

Anderson v. Albany, 321 F. 2d 649 (5th Cir. 1963) ... 23

Anderson v. Martin, 375 U. S. 399

sedge 13

Barrows v. Jackson, 346 U. S. 249 .................... 13

Bell v. Maryland, 378 U. S. 226 24

Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U. S. 483 _.............. 23

Burbank v. Burbank, 152 Mass. 254, 25 N. E. 437

(1890) 12

Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U. S.

715 7, 13, 14, 18, 30

Cooper v. Aaron, 358 U. S. 1 21

Cox v. De Jarnette, 104 Ga. App. 664, 123 S. E. 2d 16

(1961) <a

Cresson’s Appeal, 30 Pa. 437 (1858) .... Ne

Derrington v. Plummer, 240 F. 2d 922 (5th Cir. 1956),

cert. denied sub nom. Casey v. Plummer, 353 U. S.

i, 18, 19

Eaton v. Grubbs, 329 F. 2d 710 (4th Cir. 1964) _.......... 8, 25

Emory University v. Nash, 218 Ga. 317, 127 S. E. 2d

BN EE i taiccdcaeinciciesieceneccchencnitaenniciomitemees 18

Estate of Stephen Girard, 391 Pa. 434, 138 A. 2d 844

(1958), appeal dismissed and cert. denied, 357 U. S.

RAREST EEE ARG SPREE SO A Sa na 19

Fox v. North Carolina, 378 U. S. 587 __....-...-..- 13

Gantt v. Clemson Agricultural College, 320 F. 2d 611

(4th Cir. 1963) 13

Goree v. Georgia Industrial Home, 187 Ga. 368, 200

S. E. 684 (1938)

errr rr rrr rere

PAGE

Griffin v. School Board, 377 U. S. 218 19

Guillory v. Administrators of Tulane University, 212

F. Supp. 674 (E. D. La. 1962) 17

Hague v. CIO, 307 U. S. 496 25

Holmes v. Atlanta, 350 U. S. 879 23

Hampton v. Jacksonville, 304 F’. 2d 320 (5th Cir. 1962),

cert. denied sub nom. Ghioto v. Hampton, 371 U. S.

911 19

Jones v. Atlanta, 35 App. 376, 133 S. E. 521 (Ga. Ct.

App. 1926) 29

Jones v. Habersham, 107 U. S. 179 12

Lackland v. Walker, 151 Mo. 210, 52 S. W. 414 (1899) 12

Law v. Jekyll Island State Park Authority, C. A.

No. 8579 (N. D. Ga., July 27, 1964) 23

Lester v. Jackson, 69 Miss. 887, 11 So. 114 (1892) ........ 12

Lombard v. Louisiana, 373 U. S. 267 13, 24

Marsh v. Alabama, 326 U.S. 501 8, 23, 24, 26

Morehouse College v. Russell, 219 Ga. 717, 135 S. E.

2d 432 (1964) 29

Morehouse College v. Russell, 109 Ga. App. 201, 136

8. E. 2d 179 (1964) 29

Muir v. Louisiana Park Theatrical Ass’n, 347 U. 8S.

971 23

Murphy v. Johnston, 190 Ga. 23, 8 S. E. 2d 23 (1940) .... 29

NAACP v. Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U. 8. 449... 11

New Orleans City Park Improv. Ass’n v. Detiege, 358

U. 8S. 54 23

Pace v. Dukes, 205 Ga. 835, 55 S. E. 2d 367 (1949) ...... 29

Parrot v. Tallahassee, 381 U. S. 129 _................ 13

PAGE

Pennsylvania v. Board of Directors of City Trusts, 353

U. 8. 230 8, 15, 20

Peterson v. Greenville, 373 U. 8S. 244 -..0.000000000...... 7, 13, 26

Regents of University System v. Trust Co. of Georgia,

186 Ga. 498, 198 S. E. 345 (1938) neces 29

Rice University v. Carr, 9 Race Rel. L. Rep. 613 (D. C.

Harris County, Tex. 1964), appeal dismissed, No.

14,472 (Tex. Ct. Civ. App. 1965) ..........2.........cec-cesee 17

Robinson v. Florida, 378 U. S. 158 .................... 7, 10, 13, 26

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1.000... 8, 16, 20, 26

Simkins v. Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital, 323 F. 2d

959 (4th Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 376 U. S. 938 ....8, 24, 25

Simpson v. Anderson, 220 Ga. 155, 137 S. E. 2d 638

Cs eiccihls dulnth Goudie Rcctadinevecteonsichenienabotoenatnedesieniichmsenvrnies 27

Smith v. Holiday inns of America, Inc., 336 F.. 2d 630

I I ainsi sceinacodinirencvtaninasenehianticadigunveers 19

Stubbs v. City of Macon, 78 Ga. App. 237, 50 S. E. 2d

i SOMES I R oAe 29

Tate v. Department of Conservation and Development,

See Wr ee COU Cae, -ROGG) incavccvctescnnecseccccicsenendeecsere 19

- Turner v. Memphis, 369 U. S. 350 -00. ee. 18

Watson v. Memphis, 373 U. S. 526 —2000. ee... 23

Williams v. North Carolina, 378 U. S. 548 0000... 13

Wright v. Georgia, 373 U. S. 284

PAGE

Srarures:

98 U. S. C. §1257(3) a

Georgia Constitution 1877, Art. 7, Sec. 2, Par. 1, (Ga.

Code §2-5001) .... 28

Georgia Constitution 1945, Art. 7, Sec. 1, Par. 4, (Ga.

ERIE TID | ceireeccserrnccqneenenepnssvenncomaninenensnesuresbinreransestves 28

Georgia Code:

IIIT lic ssehceipcietsciaiiiaoeteespitvinerienennicinreeiiesianenciintininenienootit 29

§69-502 (Acts 1892, p. 104) ............---ccecseseessnssrserseees 12

§69-504 (Acts 1905, p. 117) .............. 3, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14,

22, 24, 25, 27, 29

§69-505 (Acts 1905, pp. 117-18) .........-....-.---- 3, 10, 11, 22

§69-601 to 69-616 .................. oihaseedlesileaiieta 24

I hack iach cintihienchenicnncininimnnsiacocliniatetiowrnveneeuenentese 29

NIT hocncecikislnicoeatinintinteciane 28

SIE a chocrecierecveressesst:venciessiovecsatissinncncettanimesiniesneapnaicsinereis 27

§108-202 27

ITT lai tosuieihssolohecbesicnecegiantnsmnaisteetnninanatatiatcnndens 12

noice eccutnesenaibanpencriiontssimtitaienpennctiamaccesote 27

aap dooce 28

Georgia Acts:

1870, p. 398 ...... » oe

TICE Scsiniccipipnicndiiaetiepiiestemnnelptninciostometteandamgnetoncisisioa 11

IIIT TI octcieecheliguiienpeeenenieonenncemnighyetstepananssennisieuabonii 11

1889, p. 124 11

1890-91, p. 213 ll

1890-91, Vol. I, p. 114 : ae

st scsninnnceneeeeiniigittendamennnnnantiinenlicniak 11

1894, pp. 115, 117 1l

1897, pp. 71, 73 s* 11

1908, p. 58 11

ee eee 23

vi

PAGE

OrHer AUTHORITIES:

Clark, Charitable Trusts, the Fourteenth Amendment

and the Will of Stephen Girard, 66 Yale L. J. 979

I sistiiaiaasiriidgsabicisaibiciienatanpebielocsiatainienemenaiiesdepingitelendieeinsisbes 30

GC TROOOE, Tremere CHM OG. TOCB) nnn cec cc ccccccerernntrsnresrescons 12

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1965

No. 61

E. 8S. Evans, et al.,

Petitioners,

VY

Cuarites E. Newron, et al.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

Opinion Below

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Georgia (R. 81)

is reported at 220 Ga. 280, 138 S. E. 2d 573.

Jurisdiction

Judgment of the Supreme Court of Georgia was entered

on September 28, 1964 (R. 81). Rehearing was denied

October 8, 1964 (R. 92). On December 22, 1964, Mr. Justice

Stewart extended the time for filing the petition for writ

of certiorari to and including March 5, 1965. The petition

for writ of certiorari was filed March 5, 1965, and granted

April 26, 1965 (R. 93-94).

The jurisdiction of this court is invoked pursuant to

28 U. S. C. §1257(3), petitioners having asserted below

2

and asserting here denial ef rights, privileges and immuni-

ties secured by the Fourteenth Am«%.*ment to the Consti-

tution of the United States.

Question Presented

Where (a) Georgia’s Legislature expressly authorized

the establishment of racially restricted public parks

through testamentary charitable trusts;

(b) following creation of such a park and cortinuous

ownership and management by the City of Macon and its

agents, city officials took all necessary steps to place the

park in private hands for the express purpose of continuing

operation of the park on a segregated basis;

(c) the courts of Georgia enforced the will provision

directing exclusion of Negroes in preference to a conflict-

ing provision directing perpetual ownership by the city;

(d) the park established by charitable trust is in all

respects a public facility and part of the public life of the

community; and

(e) the charitable trust is endowed by the state with

judicial administration, tax exemption, perpetual existence,

and tort immunity:

can the substitution of private trustees to operate the park

for white persons only be reconciled with the Fourteenth

Amendment?

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved

This case involves Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment to the Constitution of the United States.

This case also involves the following statutes of the

State of Georgia:

3

Ga. Code §69-504 (1933) (Acts, 1905, p. 117):

Gifts for public parks or pleasure grounds.—Any

person may, by appropriate conveyance, devise, give,

or grant to any municipal corporation of this State, in

fee simple or in trust, or to other persons as trustees,

lands by said conveyance dedicated in perpetuity to

the public use as a park, pleasure ground, or for other

public purpose, and in said conveyance, by appropriate

limitations and conditions, provide that the use of

said park, pleasure ground, or other property so

conveyed to said municipality shall be limited to the

white race only, or to white women and children only,

or to the colored race only, or to colored women and

children only, or to any other race, or to the women

and children of any other race only, that may be

designated by said devisor or grantor; and any person

may also, by such conveyance, devise, give, or grant

in perpetuity to such corporations or persons other

property, real or personal, for the development, im-

provement, and maintenance of said property.

Ga. Code §69-505 (1933) (Acts, 1905, pp. 117, 118) :

Municipality authorized to accept—Any municipal

corporation, or other persons natural or artificial, as

trustees, to whom such devise, gift, or grant is made,

may accept the same in behalf of and for the benefit

of the class of persons named in the conveyance, and

for their exclusive use and enjoyment; with the right

to the municipality or trustees to improve, embellish,

and ornament the land so granted as a public park,

or for other public use as herein specified, and every

municipal corporation to which such conveyance shall

be made shall have power, by appropriate police

provision, to protect the class of persons for whose

benefit the devise or grant is made, in the exclusive

used (sic) and enjoyment thereof.

Statement

» The will of Augustus Octavius Bacon, a United States

senator from Georgia, executed March 28, 1911 (R. 10-28),

provided for a gift of real property to the City of Macon

as owner and trustee_to maintain a public park for the

white women and children of the City of Macon.’ A Board

of Managers appointed by the mayor and council (R. 19)

was to operate ihe park. The will set aside a separate

fund in trust to defray expenses of administering the park

(R. 20). The park, named Baconsfield, was operated in

“accordance with the racial limitation in Bacon’s will until

the spring of 1963, when Negroes began using it (R. 8, 33).

Shortly thereafter, the present suit was instituted by some

of the respondents to enforce the racial limitation and to

exclude Negroes again from the park.

May 4, 1963, Charles E. Newton and other members of

the Board of Managers of Baconsfield filed a petition in

the Superior Court of Bibb County, Georgia, requesting

removal of the City of Macon as trustee, appointment of

new trustees, and transfer of title in Baconsfield to the

new trustees. Named as defendants were the City of Macon

and the trustees of certain residuary legatees of Bacon’s

estate, the Curry heirs. Plaintiffs sought expressly to

enforce the racially discriminatory terms of Bacon’s will

(R. 5-10).

The Ctiy of Macon answered (R. 32) admitting most

allegations of the petition, but claiming “no authority to

enforce racially discriminatory restrictions with regard to

property held in fee simple or as trustees for a private

or public trust and, as a matter of law, [being] prohibited

1 The Board of Managers was given discretion to open the park to white

men and white non-residents of Macon (R. 20), and this power was exer-

cised (R. 7-8).

—

5

from enforcing such racially discriminatory restrictions”

(R. 33). Defendant trustees for the Curry heirs answered

admitting all allegations of the petition and joining in

“each and every prayer of said petition” (R. 34-35) ; these

defendants were represented by the same counsel as plain-

tiff members of the Board of Managers (R. 10, 35). Plain-

tiffs then filed a motion for summary judgment (R. 35).

May 29, 1963, petitioners heze, Rev. E. S. Evans and

five other. Negro citizens of Macon, moved to intervene.

For the first time a diversity of interest appeared in the

lawsuit (R. 36). The intervenors alleged that to appoint

new trustees to comply with the racial limitation in Bacon’s

will would violate the Fourteenth Amendment (R. 40).

They requested that the Superior Court “effectuate the

general charitable purpose of the testator to establish and

endow a public park within the City of Macon by refusing

to appoint private persons as trustees” (R. 41).

January 8, 1964, plaintiff members of the Board of

Managers amended their original petition, requesting that

all Negroes be enjoined from using the park (R. 42-43).

The amendment also requested that four previously un-

represented residuary legatees under Bacon’s will, the

Sparks heirs (R. 44), be added as plaintiffs and that the

trustees of the Curry heirs, originally joined as defendants,

be permitted to assert the Curry heirs’ interests as plain-

tiffs (R. 44). Simultaneously, the Sparks heirs intervened,

asking that all relief requested by the original plaintiffs

be granted (R. 45-46). At the same time, the trustees for

the Curry heirs concurred in asking to be allowed to assert

their interests as plaintiffs, and joined in all of plaintiffs’

prayers for relief (R. 47-48). The Sparks heirs and the

trustees for the Curry heirs, all of whom were represented

by counsel for the plaintiff board members, asked for

reversion of the trust property into Bacon’s estate if other

relief were denied (R. 47, 49).

>.

6

February 5, 1964, the City of Macon, the only defendant

making any pretense of defending the suit, amended its

answer to state that it had resigned as trustee of Bacons-

field (R. 50) pursuant to resolution of the mayor and

council on February 4, 1964 (R. 51-61), and requesting the

court’s acceptance of its resignation and the appointment

of substitute trustees (R. 50-51).

On May 5, 1964, the Negro intervenors amended their

petition, alleging that the Fourteenth Amendment would

be violated if the relief sought by the other parties were

granted (R. 62-63). Interverors asked the court to “with-

hold approval of the attempted resignation of the City of

Macon as trustee under the will of A. O. Bacon, [and]

direct the City of Macon to continue to fulfill this para-

mount constitutional obligation to administer the park on

a racially non-discriminatory basis .. .” (R. 63).

No evidentiary hearing was held. The Superior Court

issued its decree’ March 10, 1964, allowing intervention

? The Superior Court also issued a letter opinion, reprinted in the Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari, pp. lla-12a, which was as follows:

After careful consideration of the Motion for Summary Judgment

in the above stated case, I have reached the following conclusions:

The racial limitation in Senator A. O. Bacon’s will is not unlawful

for any reason as contended by the intervenors, Reverend E. S. Evans,

et al.

The inability of the City of Macon, as Trustee, to apply constitu-

tionally the racial criterion prescribed by the testator for use of the

property as a park for white women and white children affected the

trustee and not the trust, and the City having tendered its resigna-

tion as trustee, it is proper that the Court accept the resignation and

appoint private trustees who can carry out the purpose and intent

of the testator as set forth in the will.

It is my opinion that the doctrine of Cy Pres cannot be applied to

Baconsfield. There is no general charitable purpose expressed in the

will. It is clear that the testator sought to benefit a certain group of

people, i.e., “the white women, white girls, white boys and white

children of the City of Macon”, and it is clear that he sought to

benefit them only in a certain way, i.e., by providing them with a

park or playground. Senator Bacon could not have used language

more clearly indicating his intent that the benefits of Baconsfield

should be extended to white persons only, or more clearly indicating

-—

7

by all who requested it, accepting the resignation of the

City of Macon as trustee of Baconsfield, appointing three

private individuals as new trustees, and retaining jurisdic-

ition (R. 64-65). No ruling was made on the requests that

Negroes be enjoined from using the park. The conditional

prayers for reversion of the trust property were held moot

(R. 65).

Negro intervenors, petitioners here, appealed to the Su-

preme Court of Georgia. On September 28, 1964, the

Supreme Court of Georgia affirmed the judgment of the

Superior Court of Bibb County (R. 81, 89). A motion for

rehearing was denied on October 8, 1964 (R. 92).

Summary of Argument

Before Senator Bacon wrote his will creating Bacons-

field for white persons only, Georgia enacted Ga. Code

§69-504, expressly authorizing gifts of land to public or

private trustees for the establishment of racially restricted

public parks. The natural tendency of the statute was to

encourage if not to force testaters to specify segregation,

and under the principles announced in Peterson v. Green-

ville, 373 U. S. 244 and Robinson v. Florida, 378 U. S. 153,

the testator’s personal preference for segregation, if any,

must be disregarded. By placing its authority behind dis-

criminatory classification based solely on color, the state

denies equal protection of the laws. Burton v. Wilmington

Parking Authority, 365 U. S. 715, 726, 727 (concurring and

dissenting opinions).

that this limitation was an essential and indispensable part of his plan

for Baconsfield.

The Court has, therefore, this day signed and filed with the Clerk

of this Court an order and decree, a copy of which is herewith

enclosed.

a

8

The actions of the Board of Managers of Baconsfield

and the Mayor and Council of the City of Macon repre-

sent a glaring illustration of state action to enforce segre-

gation. As owner and trustee, the city through the board

operated Baconsfield for white persons in violation of

Pennsylvania v. Board of City Trusts, 353 U. S. 230. In

1963, when Negroes went on the property, rather than

treat the racial limitation as absolutely void, the city and

board went to court to enforce it. This contravened Shelley

v. Kraemer, 334 U. S. 1, and Bacon’s stated intent that the

city retain perpetual control. By submitting its resigna-

tion, the city transferred public property to private persons

for the invidious purpose of assuring continued segrega-

tion.

Georgia’s courts violated the Fourteenth Amerdment by

enforcing the racial limitation in Bacon’s will. Shelley v.

Kraemer, supra. Under Pennsylvania v. Board of City

Trusts, supra, that limitation was null and void, but the

courts below gave it effect although it was in direct conflict

with another provision of Bacon’s will directing perpetual

ownership by the city. In doing so, the courts acted in

defiance of the Constitution which forbids a state to imple-

ment segregation.

As a public facility operated for the benefit of the com-

munity, Baconsfield cannot be restricted to white persons

under the Fourteenth Amendment. Like the company town

in Marsh v. Alabama, 326 U. S. 501, Baconsfield, even if

owned by private trustees, is similar in all respects to

facilities owned and operated by the state. Like the hos-

pitals in Simkins v. Moses H. Cone Memorial Hospital,

323 F. 2d 959 (4th Cir. 1963) cert. denied 376 U. S. 938

and Eaton v. Grubbs, 329 F. 2d 710 (4th Cir. 1964),

Baconsfield fulfills an essential public function that might

otherwise have to be performed by the state. Moreover,

i

9

Baconsfield is so much a part of the public life of the

community that whether owned by public or private in-

terests, exclusion of one race is inconsistent with the Four-

teenth Amendment.

As a charitable trust given significant state protection

in the form of judicial administration, tax exemption,

perpetual existence and tort immunity, Baconsfield must

be subjected to special scrutiny before being permitted

to exclude Negroes. While all charitable trusts are simi-

larly favored the court need not decide whether all arbi-

trary discriminations are forbidden in all such trusts. But

when a charitable trust receiving these advantages has

been created pursuant to a state policy of segregation,

has been operated by the state on a segregated basis,

has been turned over to private control to continue segre-

gation, and has created a facility of an inherently public

nature, that trust cannot be allowed to perpetrate the very

type of arbitrary discrimination proscribed by the Four-

teenth Amendment.

ARGUMENT

L

A Park Established by Testamentary Trust, in Con-

formity With a Statute Authorizing and Encouraging

Racial Restrictions, Cannot Exclude Negroes as a Class.

The Bibb County Superior Court accepted the City of

Macon’s resignation and appointed private trustees, be-

lieving they could enforce the racial restriction in Bacon’s

will forbidden to the city by the Constitution. Finding

the racial limitation “essential and indispensable,” (supra

p. 7) the court approved the change in trustees as the

way to preserve the limitation without violating the Con-

10

stitution. The court’s conclusion that ptivate trustees

could do what the city might not does not stand the test

of examination. The state’s encouragement and sanction-

ing of segregated parks through passage of Ga. Code

§69-504 invalidates enforcement of the racial restriction

whether Baconsfield is operated by public or private

trustees. Cf. Robinson v. Florida, 378 U. S. 153.

In 1905 Georgia’s Legislature enacted what is now Ga.

Code §69-504 (Acts 1905, p. 117), authorizing the convey-

ance of land to be “dedicated in perpetuity to public use

as a park, pleasure ground, or other public purpose...”

The conveyance could be by “devise, gift, or grant,” in

fee simple to a municipal corporation or in trust to a

municipal corporation or other persons. The statute ex-

pressly authorized limitation of use of conveyed property

“to the white race only, or to white women and children

only, or to the colored race only, or to colored women and

children only, or to any other race, or to the women and

children of any other race only.” A companion statute

empowered municipalities to accept such gifts and “by

appropriate police provision, to protect the class of persons

for whose benefit the devise or grant is made, in the ex-

clusive use and enjoyment thereof.” Ga. Code §69-505

(Acts 1905, pp. 117-18).

In 1911 Senator Augustus Octavius Bacon followed the

provisions of §69-504, providing in his will a gift of land

to the City of Macon

in trust for the sole, perpetual and unending, use,

benefit and enjoyment of the white women, white

girls, white boys and white children of the City of

Macon to be by them forever used and enjoyed as a

park and pleasure ground, ... (R. 19).

11

The similarity between the statute and the will leaves

no doubt that Senator Bacon was seeking to assure per-

petual enforcement of the trust by strict compliance with

every aspect of 469-504. Bacon was taking no chances that

there might be a failure of the trust. The close connection

between Georgia’s statute and Senator Bacon’s carefully

drawn will defeats any possible argument that Baconsfield

is the product of purely private action. As in NAACP v.

Alabama ex rel. Patterson, 357 U. S. 449, 463, “the crucial

factor is the interplay of governmental and private action.”

It is argued that §69-504 had nothing to do with Bacon’s

decision to limit use of the park to one race, and Bacon’s

will did express his view that “in their social relations

with two races . . . should be forever separate” (R. 21).

But the statute obviously encouraged racial restrictions

and strongly implied that a trust for unrestricted parks

would not be upheld. In 1911 there was no judicial con-

struction of the act, and nothing in the statute itself in-

dicated it was permissive rather than mandatory. The

statute was passed at a time when Georgia was requiring

segregation in many other areas.’ Its companion statute

expressly authorized use of the police power to enforce

racial limitations in municipal parks, Ga. Acts 1905, pp.

117-18, now Ga. Code §69-505. Certainly, §69-504’s listing

of six types of authorized racial limitations, considered in

light of the maxim inclusio unius est exclusio alterius, was

an awesome portent that Georgia would not tolerate un-

segregated parks.

3 E.g., Ga. Acts 1870, p. 398 (segregation on railroads and other common

carriers); Ga. Acts 1887, p. 68, and Acts 1889, p. 124 (school segrega-

tion); Ga. Acts 1890-91, Vol. I, p. 114 (segregation in state university) ;

Ga. Acts 1894, pp. 115, 117 and Acts 1908, p. 58 (segregation of names

on voting lists); Ga. Acts 1894, p. 31 and Acts 1874, p. 109 (segregated

tax returns) ; Ga. Acts 1897, pp. 71, 73 and Acts 1890-91, p. 213 (segrega-

tion of prisoners).

12

The significance of (69-504 is best understood when

considered against the background of prior Georgia law.

As respondents concede, Georgia had long enforced charita-

ble trusts, see Jones v. Habersham, 107 U. S. 179, and mu-

nicipalities had been authorized to act as trustees of such

trusts in 1892. Ga. Acts 1892, p. 104, now Ga. Code, §69-502.

There were thus only a limited number of possible reasons

for enactment of 469-504: to make it plain that creation

of a park was a valid charitable purpose, to require that

parks established under charitable trusts be restricted to

one race, or to encourage racial restrictions by making it

clear that segregated parks would be acceptable. It is

unlikely that §69-504 was passed merely to validate parks

as charitable trusts. Ar old Georgia law, now Code §108-

203, defining charitable purposes does not expressly men-

tion public parks, but no previous Georgia cases had re-

fused to recognize them as charitable, and courts in several

other states had accepted them.‘ However, it was far

from clear that a park restricted to one race would be

considered charitable. Traditionally, only trusts for edu-

cational or religious purposes, or for aid of the poor,

could be limited to a restricted class; trusts for other, or

“community benefit,” purposes would not be recognized

unless their facilities were open to all members of the

community. See 4 Scott, Trusts, p. 2715, §375.2 (2d ed.

1956). See also id., p. 2650 ($371) and p. 2660 (§371.6).

Section 69-504 turned the law of trusts upside down, creat-

ing serious doubts that trusts for parks open to the whole

community would be enforced, and establishing that ra-

cially restricted parks were acceptable to the state.

Whether the racial provision of 469-504 is viewed as manda-

4 Cresson’s Appeal, 30 Pa. 437 (1858); Lackland v. Walker, 151 Mo.

210, 52 8S. W. 414 (1899); Burbank v. Burbank, 152 Mass. 254, 25 N. E.

427 (1890) ; ef. Lester v. Jackson, 69 Miss. 887, 11 So. 114 (1892).

13

tory or permissive, Georgia’s legislature obviously served

the cause of segregation by enacting it.

Whatever the construction eventually placed upon it,

§69-504 could only encourage testators to encumber their

charitable trusts with racial restrictions. Thus Georgia

shares with Senator Bacon the responsibility for exclusion

of Negroes from Baconsfield. When segregation by private

persons is required by statute or ordinance, Peterson v.

Greenville, 373 U. S. 244, 248; or executive command,

Lombard v. Lousiana, 373 U. 8. 267; or encouraged® by

administrative regulation, Robinson v. Florida, 378 U. S.

153, private motivation is overshadowed by the state’s

intervention. See also Parrot v. Tallahassee, 381 U. S.

129; Fox v. North Carolina, 378 U. S. 587; Williams v.

North Carolina, 378 U. 8. 548.

The state’s encouragement of private discrimination is

much more effective here than in Robinson, where the

state required racially separate restrooms if both races

were served or employed. A private decision to integrate

a restaurant could easily be effectuated in Florida by

installing separate restroom facilities, if indeed the restau-

rant did not already have them for Negro employees. But

there was no way for a testator in Georgia to be assured

that his trust would be upheld if he did not direct the

exclusion of one race from the park.

Support for petitioners’ position can be also found in

the views expressed by several members of this Court in

Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U. S. 715.

Justice Stewart, concurring, 365 U. S. at 726, read the

decision below as construing a Delaware statute to an-

5 In other contexts, this Court has proscribed encouragement of discrim-

ination by the state. Anderson v. Martin, 375 U. 8. 399; Barrows v. Jack-

son, 346 U. S. 249, 254. See also Gantt v. Clemson Agricultural College,

320 F. 2d 611, 613 (4th Cir. 1963).

14

thorize “discriminatory classification based exclusively on

color,” and thus “clearly violative of the Fourteenth

Amendment.” 365 U. S. at 727. Justices Frankfurter,

Harlan, and Whittaker could not accept the premise but

agreed with the conclusion. 365 U. S. at 727, 728. As

Justice Frankfurter wrote, “For a State to place its an-

thority behind discriminatory treatment based solely on

color is indubitably a denial by a State of the equal pro-

tection of the laws.” 365 U.S. at 727 (dissenting opinion).

Here, certainly, is a statute authorizing discriminatory

classification based exclusively on color and thus violative

of the Constitution.*

It has been noted above that §69-504 authorized gifts to

private trustees, as well as municipalities, for establish-

ment of public parks. Had Bacon given his land to private

trustees rather than the city it is just as clear that the

racial limitation, inspired and sanctioned by the state,

could not be enforced. Thus, contrary to the reasoning

of respondents and the courts below, the transfer of

Baconsfield from public to private trustees had no effect

whatever on the enforceability of the racial clause in

Bacon’s will, and to effect that transfer was erroneous.

Petitioners, who resisted that transfer in the courts below,

complain not only because the court’s action was erroneous,

but also because it was injurious to them and all Negroes

in Macon. The Superior Court transferred ownership in

Baconsfield from the city, which had acknowledged an in-

ability to enforce the limitation, to private trustees whose

very existence is dependent upon an understanding—albeit

erroneous—that they could exclude Negroes with impunity.

6 In Burton, the dissenting justices thought Delaware’s statute might be

merely declaratory of the common law which allowed a restaurant to ex-

elude any person for any reason. In this case the statute is not ambiguous.

It speaks in terms of white and colored. Delaware’s statute made no refer-

ence to race, nor did its Supreme Court in stating the common law.

15

IL.

City Officials Are Directly Responsible for Exclusion

of Negroes From Baconsfield.

This lawsuit is a superb example of concerted action by

state officials to enforce segregation. Compliance with

Senator Bacon’s racial restriction by the City of Macon as

owner and trustee, and by the city-appointed Board of

Managers, was precluded by the decision in Pennsylvania

v. Board of Directors of City Trusts, 353 U. S. 230. But

rather than comply with the Constitution and treat the

racial restriction as pro non scripto, just as segregation

statutes are dead letters today, city officials devised means

of warding off Negro use of the park.

First, the Board of Managers of Baconsfield petitioned

the Superior Court to replace the city as trustee. Its case

was bottomed on the racial language of Bacon’s will; no

reason was offered except that the city was not limiting

the park to white persons. The ultimate power of appoint-

ing board members resided with the city. Thus, a state

agency was petitioning a court to effect a change in a

charitable trust to exclude Negroes from a place of public

recreation.

The defendant City of Macon could find no reason to

object to its displacement. Its answer merely admitted the

petition’s allegations and apologized for the city’s consti-

tutional disability to eject Negroes. Raising no defenses,

the city placidly acquiesced in divestment of its title to the

property and its power to appoint members of the Board

of Managers, despite Senator Bacon’s stern injunction that

the property was “under no circumstances, or by any au-

16

thority whatsoever, to be sold or alienated or disposed of.

...” (R.19). Apparently, the city decided not to assert the

defense that transfer of its property to discriminate racially

would violate the Fourteenth Amendment.

Following Negro petitioners’ intervention, the city

adopted another stance and submitted its resignation to the

court. In its resolution authorizing the resignation, the city

offered as its principal reason that the city deemed “it to

be in the public interest that Baconsfield be operated and

maintained for the benefit of the public rather than for

private benefit or profit” and without the city’s withdrawal

“the property may revert” to Bacon’s heirs “in which case

Baconsfield would become commercial or residential prop-

erty or property wherein no part of the public would have

the enjoyment of the property ...” (R. 60). Thus, the city

was taking affirmative action, in the name of “the public

interest,” to preserve a park for “part of the public’—the

white part. Assuming that the city was faced with a hard

choice between no park at all and one for whites only, it

takes a weird construction of the Fourteenth Amendment to

say a subdivision of the state can opt for the latter.

The city had several alternatives consistent with the

Fourteenth Amendment and in harmony with the interests

of its white as well as Negro citizens. It could have resisted

the board’s petition with a powerful argument that destruc-

tion of its title by the Superior Court for purposes of en-

forcing segregation would violate the Fourteenth Amend-

ment under the rule established in Shelley v. Kraemer, 334

U. S. 1. The city also should have urged that the racial

limitation in Bacon’s will must fall for its inconsistency

with other provisions of the will manifesting Bacon’s intent

that the city never surrender control of Baconsfield.

Bacon had described the city’s interest in the property

as comprehending:

17

all right, title and interest in and to said property

hereinbefore described and bounded, both legal and

equitable, including all remainders and reversions and

every estate in the same of whatsoever kind... . (R. 19).

The property was “under no circumstances, or by any au-

thority whatsoever, to be sold or alienated or disposed

of....” (R. 19). The will went on to say:

... I further specifically provide and direct that the

said trustees hereinbefore named and their successors

shall not have power or authority to sell or otherwise

alienate or dispose of the tract of land thus described,

bounded and platted or any part thereof during the

continuance of said trust or trusts or at any other

time, under any circumstances and upon any account

whatsoever, and all such power to make such sale or

alienation is hereby expressly denied to them, and to

all others (R. 22).

By resigning the city ignored Bacon’s intent. Had the city

resisted the Board’s petition in an attempt to retain the

property, the court would have been much more likely to

choose to follow Bacon’s language concerning ownership

rather than that concerning racial limitation. (See Argu-

ment ITI, infra). In a recent Texas case the court held that

the intent of the donor of Rice University to maintain a

first-class educational institution, which could no longer be

accomplished without foundation grants stipulating non-

discrimination, outweighed the intent to exclude Negroes.

Rice University v. Carr, 9 Race Rel. L. Rep. 613 (D. C.

Harris County 1964), appeal dismissed, No. 14,472 (Tex.

Civ. App. 1965). Cf. Guillory v. Administrators of Tulane

University, 212 F. Supp. 674, 687 (E. D. La. 1962). More-

over, in an analogous situation, the Georgia Supreme Court

18

allowed Emory University to admit Negroes without for-

feiting tax exemption because the statute conditioning uni-

versity tax exemption on the maintenance of segregation

was construed to conflict with another clause of the same

statute. Emory University v. Nash, 218 Ga. 317, 127 S. E.

2d 798 (1962). There was, therefore, reason to believe that

the argument here suggested might have been well received

by the State Supreme Court.

Spurning the opportunity to contest the suit and pre-

serve Baconsfield for all of its constituency, the city pre-

sented its resignation to the Superior Court. If one accepts

respondents’ notion that the Superior Court had no choice

but to relieve the unwilling trustee of the burden of office

(see Brief in Opposition, p. 12), the city is solely respon-

sible for turning a piece of public property over to pri-

vate persons for the purpose of maintaining racial segrega-

tion.

There are many ways of manipulating property interests

so that official discrimination can be continued under the

guise of private discrimination, but they are all fruitless

because the Fourteenth Amendment is notably intolerant

of technical evasions. The most common method is to lease

public property to private interests, but it is now well set-

tled that the private lessee is governed by the constitutional

standards limiting the state, if the state retains any sig-

nificant involvement or control. See Burton v. Wilmington

Parking Authority, 365 U. S. 715; Turner v. Memphis, 369

U. S. 350; Derrington v. Plummer, 240 F. 2d 922 (5th Cir.

1956), cert. denied sub nom. Casey v. Plummer, 353 U. S.

924. Where substantial state involvement or control re-

mains it is, of course, immaterial whether the property was

conveyed for the purpose of perpetuating discrimination.

Where there is such a purpose, the Fourteenth Amendment

restricts the actions of the lessee whether or not the state

19

continues to be involved. See Tate v. Department of Con-

servation and Development, 231 F. 2d 615 (4th Cir. 1956) ;

Derrington v. Plummer, supra, 240 F. 2d at 925. Similar

considerations govern the applicability of the Fourteenth

Amendment when public land is sold to private interests.

The sale does not alter the constitutional obligations of the

owner if significant control is retained by the state, see

Hampton v. Jacksonville, 304 F. 2d 320 (5th Cir. 1962),

cert. denied sub nom. Ghioto v. Hampton, 371 U. 8S. 911;

Smith v. Holiday Inns of America, Inc., 336 F. 2d 630 (6th

Cir. 1964), or if the purpose was to continue discrimination,

see Hampton v. Jacksonville, supra, 304 F. 2d at 331 (Jones,

J., concurring). A fortiori, the state may not give land away

to private persons for the purpose of perpetuating racial

segregation. Cf. Griffin v. School Board, 377 U. S. 218, 231.

The City of Macon therefore could not transfer property

without consideration for the explicit purpose of promoting

segregation and in the knowledge that segregation would

he required.

Il.

In Deciding an Issue of State Law, the Courts of

Georgia Accorded the Racial Limitation in Bacon’s Will

a Deference Inconsistent With Supreme Federal Law.

No one branch of government can claim full credit for

_ keeping Baconsfield white. Each made a unique contribu-

tion, the Superior Court of Bibb County no less than the

others. It issued the order accepting the city’s resignation

and appointing three new trustees.’

7In the second Girard College Case, the Supreme Court of Pennsyl-

vania approved the appointment of private trustees to continue discrim-

inatory operation. Estate of Stephen Girard, 391 Pa. 434, 138 A. 2d 844

(1958), appeal dismissed and cert. denied, 357 U. S. 570. Denial of review

by this Court was not a ruling on the merits, and petitioners submit that

the Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled erroneously.

20

If the principle of Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U. S. 1, is not

to be strictly limited to restrictive covenants, the Superior

Court’s order was invalid. Accepting the arguments of the

- board and the city, the court replaced the city in order that

Baconsfield might continue to be operated on a segregated

basis in accordance with the terms of Bacon’s will. This is,

if anything is, enforcement by the judiciary of racial sepa-

ration and wholly inconsistent with the equal protection of

the laws.

The Superior Court held “it is proper that the court

accept the resignation and appoint private trustees who can

carry out the purpose and intent of the testator as set forth

in the will” (supra, p. 6, n. 2). Under Shelley v. Kraemer,

supra, the Superior Court’s enforcement of the racial limi-

tation would violate the Constitution even if it were un-

equivocally clear that Bacon intended to limit use of his

park to white persons at the expense of having control of

the park transferred to private interests. However. that

issue is not necessarily presented by this record, because

Bacon’s will manifested contradictory desires. If Bacon

intended that the park be restricted to white persons, it is

no less clear that he intended Baconsfield to be forever

owned by the City of Macon. The will provisions quoted

on pages 16, 17, supra, establish this beyond question.

The decision in Pennsylvania v. Board of Directors of City

Trusts, 353 U. S. 230, renders impossible the present ef-

fectuation of both desires. What the Superior Court did

was to ignore Bacon’s intention as to ownership and im-

plement the intention as to racial selection.

Petitioners submit that the courts of Georgia were not

at liberty to make such a choice. Bacon wanted a park for

white persons; he wanted the city as trustee. He offered

no intimation as to which desire should prevail in case of

21

conflict. Faced with the necessity of making the choice that

Bacon had never contemplated, the Superior Court caose

segregation, just as the city had done. The court’s action

is no more compatible with the Fourteenth Ameadment.

No branch of government can require, encourage or partici-

pate in a policy of racial segregation, Cooper v. Aaron,

358 U. S. 1, 16-17, and certainly a court cannot decide to

enforce a will provision mandating segregation as against

another provision that is in harmony with the Constitu-

tion.

The court’s decision cannot be passed off as the resolu-

tion of a will construction problem under traditional rules

of state law. Overriding federal law steps in and says that

any term of the will that blatantly violated the Fourteenth

Amendment is not entitled to consideration by the state

court. Had the Georgia courts followed this principle, they

would have had no choice but to implement the provision

requiring perpetual ownership by the city.

Petitioners requested that the court reject the resigna-

tion and compel the city to fulfill its obligation under the

will and its constitutional obligation to accord equal treat-

ment to all citizens (R. 63). By rejecting this request, the

courts of Georgia acted in defiance of the Constitution.

22

IV.

Baconsfield Is a Public Facility From Which Negroes

Cannot Be Excluded.

Respondents have argued that “characterization of

Baconsfield as a ‘public’ park begs the question” (Brief in

Opposition, p. 7), but calling it public has substantive as

well as semantic significance. It was created pursuant to

Ga. Code §69-504, which bears the heading “Gifts for public

parks or pleasure grounds.” The statute describes the

lands conveyed as “dedicated in perpetuity to the public

use as a park, pleasure ground or for other public pur-

pose.” In every conceivable respect but one Baconsfield

is and has been a public park. Until this litigation it was

owned by the city and operated under the management of

an appointed board of managers. The city and board also

owned and administered the separate trust fund set aside

by Bacon for maintenance of the park (R. 22-25). The

city, through its board, had “complete and unrestricted

control and management of the said property with power

to make all needful regulations for the preservation and

improvement” of the park (R. 3). Ga. Code §69-505 author-

ized the city “to improve, embellish, and ornament the

land so granted as a public park,” and so far as the record

shows, Baconsfield’s appearance is like that of any other

public park. The great majority of the public are allowed

to go on the premises of this large,* open tract of land

at will and without charge.

8 Baconsfield’s area does not appear in the record, but its dimensions as

set forth in the legal description are very large. The irregular eastern

boundary is approximately 4155 feet, the northern boundary is 1662 feet,

the western and southern boundaries at least 3397 and 437 feet, respec-

tively (R. 17).

23

The only difference between Baconsfield and any other

public park is the exclusion of Negroes. But that does

not differentiate it from other public parks in Georgia,

where the policy of the state, as expressed in §69-504 and

as manifested by the actions of all state agencies in this

suit, has been to have all public parks exclude one race

or the other. Even after the decisions outlawing racial

segregation in public schools and other public facilities,

eg., Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U. S. 483; Muir v.

Louisville Park Theatrical Ass’n., 347 U. S. 971; New Or-

leans City Park Improve. Ass’n v. Detiege, 358 U. S. 54;

Watson v. Memphis, 373 U. S. 526, several Georgia com-

raunities have been guilty of requiring segregation in pub-

lie recreational facilities or actually operating segregated

facilities, see, e.g., Holmes v. City of Atlanta, 350 U. S. 879;

Anderson v. Albany, 321 F. 2d 649 (5th Cir. 1963); Law

vy. Jekyll Island State Park Authority, C. A. No. 8579

(N. D. Ga., July 27, 1964) ; ef. Wright v. Georgia, 373 U. S.

984.2 This Court’s rulings having rendered unlawful the

continued operation of public parks on a segregated basis,

it is an anomaly indeed if this park can be singled out and

allowed to segregate.

Irrespective of state ownership, past or present, it is

highly questionable whether any open park land available

for use by a majority of the people can be segregated.

By close analogy, this Court’s decision in Marsh v. Ala-

bama, 326 U. S. 501, indicates that even a privately owned

park which is open to most of the public must admit all

of the public. In Marsh the court emphasized the similarity

between the company town of Chicasaw and any other town,

*In 1956, in an obvious response to Holmes v. Atlanta, 350 U. 8. 879,

Georgia enacted a law allowing public parks to be sold, leased or otherwise

disposed of without regard to whether the property was unsuitable or

inadequate for park purposes. Act No. 20, Ga. Laws 1956, Vol. I, p. 22.

24

and refused to accept private ownership as a reason for

ignoring the Fourteenth Amendment:

..» Ownership does not always mean absolute dominion.

The more an owner, for his advantage, opens up his

property for use by the public in general, the more

do his rights become circumscribed by the statutory

and constitutional rights of those who use it.... Thus,

the owners of privately held bridges, ferries, turn-

pikes and railroads may not operate them as freely

as a farmer does his farm. Since these facilities are

built and operated primarily to benefit the public and

since their operation is essentially a public function,

it is subject to state regulation. ... 326 U.S. at 506.

Petitioners submit that recreational parks are also “built

and operated primarily to benefit the public” and “their

operation is essentially a public function.” *° The Legis-

lature of Georgia in 1905 viewed it a public function to

encourage the establishment of public parks, see Ga. Code

§69-504, and present Georgia law authorizes municipalities

to set aside existing public property or acquire new prop-

erty for use as parks, playgrounds, and recreation centers,

see Ga. Gode Ann. §§69-601 to 69-616. Thus the reasoning

in Marsh v. Alabama fully supports the contention that

irrespective of ownership, a public park cannot be operated

for white persons only. To hold otherwise would be to

say that the validity of an absolute prohibition on the

distribution of literature in Baconsfield depends on who

holds legal title.

The overriding significance of function, as opposed to

ownership, is also demonstrated by the decisions of the

Fourth Circuit in Simkins v. Moses H. Cone Memorial

1° See Lombard v. Louisiana, 373 U. 8. 267, 274 (concurring opinion) ;

Bell v. Maryland, 378 U. 8. 226, 286 (concurring opinion).

25

Hospital, 323 F. 2d 959 (4th Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 376

U. S. 938, and Eaton v. Grubbs, 329 F. 2d 710 (4th Cir.

1964), which held that medical facilities owned and oper-

ated by private groups under comprehensive state plans

are subject to the nondiscrimination requirements of the

Fourteenth Amendment. These decisions clearly apply to

those private facilities which the state takes into account

when deciding whether to provide other facilities. Bacons-

field is such a facility, for the City of Macon stated its

concern, in the resolution authorizing resignation, that

Baconsfield not be lost to public use (R. 60).

Baconsfield is not a hospital with necessary limitations

on entry and use. It is open park land, inherently a part

of the public life of the community. “Wherever the title

of streets and parks may rest, they have immemorially

been held in trust for the use of the public and, time out of

mind have been used for purposes of assembly, com-

municating thoughts between citizens, and discussing pub-

lic questions.” Hague v. CIO, 307 U. 8. 496, 515 (concurring

opinion).

The considerations discussed above support the conclu-

sion that Baconsfield would have to be opened to all of the

public even if it had never been owned and managed by

the city. Petitioner’s case is strengthened by the history of

Baconsfield’s ownership and operation by the city and the

transfer to private trustees for the purpose of allowing

discrimination.

0 4

26

V.

The Charitable Trust in This Case Is so Much the

Creature of the State and so Related to an Inherently

Public Aspect of Community Life as to Be Governed

by the Fourteenth Amendment Prohibition of Racial

Discrimination.

The State of Georgia is in so many ways responsible for

the creation of Baconsfield and its continuous operation

on a segregated basis that it is difficult to isolate the

various strands of doctrine supporting petitioners’ consti-

tutional position. Focus has centered on the statute en-

acted in 1905 which puts this case well within the rule of

Peterson v. Greenville and Robinson v. Florida. Emphasis

has been placed upon the concerted action of state agencies

toward the single goal of assuring segregation in Bacons-

field. These factors make Shelley v. Kraemer applicable

as well as those cases forbidding a state institution to

transfer public property for the purpose of continuing

racial discrimination. It has been argued that the courts

of Georgia violated the Fourteenth Amendment by giving

weight and preference to an invalid racial limitation over

another, inconsistent clause in Bacon’s will. And the fourth

argument was that Baconsfield is inherently a public facility

like any other public park, which under the doctrine of

Marsh v. Alabama and the recent hospital cases cannot

discriminate even when operated by private trustees.

Those arguments are sound, but there is another con-

cerning the unique nature of the charitable trust that should

be considered by the Court. A charitable trust is so much

a creature of the state that it ought to be subjected to

particularly close scrutiny when it calls for discrimination

against persons according to race or color.

27

The testamentary charitable trust takes effect only when

the state’s judicial branch upholds its validity and sanc-

tions its enforcement. If in the eyes of the state the

trust does not serve a permissible public purpose, it will

not be enforced. The very fact that the Baconsfield trust

was approved by the state demonstrates, apart from the

significance of Ga. Code §69-504, that the State of Georgia

approves the establishment of public institutions for the

exclusive benefit of white persons. If the State of Georgia,

acting through its legislature or courts, determined that

the operation of public facilities for one race only was in-

consistent with public policy, Baconsfield would not exist

in its present form.

The usual purposes of charitable trusts such as support

of educational and religious institutions, aid for the poor,

and other goals generally accepted as charitable are ap-

proved by the state because dollars given by the charitable

donor fulfill needs that, except for religion, would other-

wise be a burden of the state. It is incongruous in the ex-

treme that the state should protect and enforce charitable

institutions serving the needs of the state but not governed

by essential principles of fairness which the state itself

is bound by the Constitution to observe.

Georgia, like other states, has an elaborate legal struc-

ture encouraging and sanctioning the creation of charitable

trusts. Statutes provide for the enforcement of charitable

trusts in equity, see Ga. Code Ann. $108-201, continuous

supervision by the courts, §108-204, and effectuation of

the testator’s charitable intent under the cy pres doctrine,

§108-202. Charitable trusts are looked upon with special

favor, see, e.g., Simpson v. Anderson, 220 Ga. 155, 137

S. E. 2d 638 (1964); Goree v. Georgia Industrial Home,

187 Ga. 368, 200 S. E. 684 (1938).

28

The testamentary charitable trust begins with state ap-

proval by the court of equity. The trustees are bound to

follow the terms of the trust, and since the beneficiaries

of charitable trusts by definition constitute a rather broad

class of individuals, the trustees may be challenged not

only by members of the favored group, but by the state

attorney general or, in Georgia, the solicitor general of

the circuit in which the trust corpus lies. See Ga. Code

§108-212.

Having encouraged the creation of charitable trusts and

provided a system of law, both legislative aad judicial, for

their effectuation, the state does not end its aid to charitable

trusts. It grants them among other things exemption from

taxation. Georgia’s constitution and statutes are no ex-

ception from the general rule. See Ga. Const. 1945, Art. 7,

Sec. 1, Par. 4; Ga. Code §2-5404; Ga. Code §92-201. It

happens that since 1918 Georgia has conditioned tax exemp-

tion on the maintenance of racial restrictions in the opera-

tion of charitable trusts: “all endowments to institutions

established for white people, shall be limited to white

people, and all endowments to institutions established for

colored people, shall be limited to colored people ;” Editorial

note, Ga. Const. 1877, Art. 7, Sec. 2, Par. 1, Ga. Code Ann.

§2-5002. Tax exemption is a boon to the testator setting

up a charitable trust. It assures that the resources he

leaves will not be siphoned off into the state treasury but

will be evoted exclusively to his purposes. The state ex-

empts charitable trust assets from taxation because the

trust is doing the work of the state; for the state to tax

them would be like removing money from one pocket and

placing it into another.

Probably even more desirable to the testator considering

the establishment of a charitable trust is that most valuable

incident, perpetual existence. Private trusts are restricted

29

in duration by the rule against perpetuities, see, Ga. Code

(85-707, but charitable trusts are not, see Regents of Uni-

versity System v. Trust Co. of Georgia, 186 Ga. 498, 512,

198 S. E. 345 (1938); Murphy v. Johnston, 190 Ga. 23,

8S. E. 2d 23 (1940) ; Pace v. Dukes, 205 Ga. 835, 55 S. E. 2d

367 (1949). See also Ga. Code §69-504. The state allows

dead hand control perpetually on the theory that the public

will perpetually benefit.from a charitable trust. A man

has some right to exercise his prejudices in the use of his

private property during his life, and to dispose of his

property by will, making arbitrary choices about its re-

cipients and uses. But no man has the right to control

his property through eternity. The state sets temporal

limits on testamentary encumbrances, and in the excep-

tional situation of the charitable trust it exercises close

supervision. In this case Georgia has not only given

Bacon’s trust perpetual existence, but has exercised its

broad powers to assure the maintenance of segregation to

the end of time.

Another advantage conferred by Georgia on charitable

trusts is immunity from tort liability in certain situations.

An institution’s “charitable assets” cannot be recovered

for the negligence of employees. Morehouse College v.

Russell, 219 Ga. 717, 1385 S. E. 2d 432 (1964); id., 109 Ga.

App. 301, 136 S. E. 2d 179 (1964); Cow v. De Jarnette,

104 Ga. App. 664, 123 S. E. 2d 16 (1961). Georgia has a

comparable doctrine of tort immunity for municipalities,

Ga. Code §69-301, which applies to the operation of public

parks, Stubbs v. City of Macon, 78 Ga. App. 237, 50 S. E.

2d 866 (1948); Jones v. City of Atlanta, 35 App. 376, 133

§. E. 521 (Ga. Ct. App. 1926).

The features of state involvement in the creation of

charitable trusts are so manifold that such trusts are to

a significant degree creatures of the state and the special

30

beneficiaries of the state even though they begin with a

private decision and with privately owned property. See

Clark, Charitable Trusts, the Fourteenth Amendment and

the Will of Stephen Girard, 66 Yale L. J. 979, 1002-09

(1957). Without regard to whether other types of chari-

table trusts shou!d, because of these state contacts, be

subject to the Fourteenth Amendment, the Baconsfield

trust has features which require that it be subject to the

Amendment. The Baconsfield trust receives the continued

support, recognition, and sanction of state law on the

theory that a park is a benefit to the community and serves

the community. It is a trust totally involved with the

public life of the community, the intended domain of the

Fourteenth Amendment, and is to some degree distinct

from charitable trusts which because of the nature of their

enterprises necessarily offer direct benefits to only small

portions of the community. Baconsfield was established so

as to offer its beneficial use directly to every member of

the public, except Negroes. It flies in the face of the Four-

teenth Amendment’s prohibition against the exclusion of

persons from the benefits and protections of state law on

the basis of race. This is all the more evident where, as

here, the initial decision to discriminate racially was en-

couraged by an explicitly racial state statute. An overall

appraisal of the nature of state involvement in the trust,

the nature and function of the trust in the community,

“the benefits mutually conferred” by the testator and the

state, and the role of the state legislature and state judi-

ciary in establishing and continuing the park on a segre-

gated basis, leads irresistibly to the conclusion that this

case involves “that degree of state participation and in-

volvement in discriminatory action which it was the design

of the Fourteenth Amendment to condemn.” Burton v.

Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U. S. 715, 724.

31

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the judgment below should

be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

Jack GREENBERG

James M. Nasri, III

MicHaEL MELTSNER

Cuartes STEPHEN RatsTon

Frank H. Herrron

10 Columbus Circle

New York, New York 10019

Donatp L. HoLttoweEL.

WruiusM H. ALeExanper

Howarp Moorsg, Jr.

85914 Hunter Street, N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30314

Attorneys for Petitioners

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.