Brief for the Respondent — Southern Steamship Co. v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief1941

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

2 = s —_ _ —— ST

. = asamceae aere et Nera :

i ee 4.

Inthe Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER ‘TERM, 1941

SOUTHERN STEAMSHIP COMPANY, PETITIONER

e’.

Nationa Lapork RELATIONS Boarp

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT GE CERTIORARI TO 1 WE UNITED

STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS LOR 7 UE THIRD

CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD iN

OPPOSITION

~ a me eee >

Page

Opinions below - - .--------------------------0- 2-000 rrr i

Jurisdiction ~~. -.-- Se ge a ee rE Te Le 2

Questions presented. - - -- ---------------------------- one 2

Statute involved. -------.------------------ eat rita es cahcen alr 2

ere A pe SO a OT Le 3

Agmumoent..... . . - ------ 2-2-2 -- 2-2-3 - on ene ten mene ne--e- 7

CO... oa ew ccees wend Ne ae ag akin as anata we 13

Appendix. ------- PT es lis intial elias mania nana 14

CITATIONS

Cases:

Black Diamond Steamship Corp. v. National Labor Relations

Board, 94 F. (2d) 875, certiorari denied, 304 U. 8. 579-. 8

Blake, The, W. Rob. 73, 166 Eng. Rep. 500_..----------- 8

Buddington v. Smith, 13 Conn. 333- - -- ------ rata ona s

Losmar, The, 20 F. Supp. 887- - ---- -------------------- 9

Marlin-Rockwell Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board,

116 F. (2d) 586, certiorari denied, No. 1032, last Term - 12

National Labor Relations Board v. American Mfg. Cv., 106

F. (2d) 61, mod. and aff'd, 309 U. S. 629_--- 10

National Laber Relations Board v. Coiten, 105 F. (2d) 179 10

National Labor Relations Board v. Falk Corp., 308 U. 5. 453- 11

National Labor Relutions Board v. Fansteel Metallurg:cal

Yorp., 306 U. 8. 240... ------------------------- 9, 10

National Labor Relations Board v. Reed & Prince Mfg. Co.

118 F. (2d) 874. certiorari denied, No. 1052, last Term- 10

National Labor Relations Board v. Stackpole Carbon Co.,

105 F. (2d) 167, certiorari denied, 308 U. S. 605------- 10

National Labor Relations Board v. Waterman Steamship

Corp., 309 U. 8. 206. ..-----.----------------------- 8,11

Newark Morning Ledger Co. v. National Labor Relations

Board, No. 307, this Term-------------------------- 6

Oakmar, The, 20 F. Supp. 650- - - - ----------- 9

Oughton v. National Labor Reletions Board, Ke. 98, “this s

i dete eeeUneteneuecseossoe 6

Peninsular & Occidental S. S. Co. v. National Labor Relations

Board, 98 F. (2d) 411, certiorari denied, 30€ U. S. 653- 8

Phelps Dodge Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board, Nos.

387, 641, last Term_....---------------------------- 12

Rees v. United States, 95 F. (2d) 784-------------------- s

409227—41——-1 (1)

Il

Cases—Continued.

Republic Steel Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board,

107 F. (2d) 472, certiorari denied on this point, 309

a Wa anniad emake eee ceed APEA sted gaeenaed

Texas Co. v. National Labor Relations Board, 120 F. (2d)

icacdtinnis + hcecedud ack det Gunns acebuaa dwn de mass

Textile Mills Securities Corp. v. Commissioner of Internal

Revenue, No. 34, this Term, certiorari granted, March

UU: anh cca wae wale wa cuban wureaiaeat aula wa olalee ai ens

South Atlantic S. S. Co. v. National Labor Relations Board,

116 F. (2d) 480, certiorari denied, No. 969, last Term. -

South Portland, The, 111i Fed. 767_--.-.-- We chaaesslact ueape av oo res ae an

Weisthoff vy. American-Hawauian S. S. Co., 79 F. (2d) 124,

certiorari denied, 206 U. S. 619...............-.-...-.-

Statutes:

National Labor Relations Act (Act of July 5, 1935, c. 372,

49 Stat. 449; 29 U. 8. C., owe. V., sec. 151 et seq.):

OE a a oo re woken nace a seceaWaeccauwewe en

IE a aanweuia leew amare an Pua uae oe

PREIS ween wig cn sec Gee daauwen sank eee

Miscellaneous:

Employee Misconduct Under the Wagner Act: Developments

Since the Fansteel Case, 39 Col. L. Rev. 1369... .----

First Annual Report of the National Mediation Board (1935),

ee

Lorwin & Wubnig, Labor Relations Boards (Brookings

Institution, 1935), pp. 150-161_................-.----

Rothschild, The Legal Implications of a Strike by Seamen,

OD FUR Pe. de Bienen deudiisdctcesvcgeevisecasedons

Sapiro and Frank, Mutiny at the Dock, 25 Calif. L. Rev. 41_-

Third Annual Report of the Board (1938), p. 147_...------

Gnthe Supreme Court of the Wnited States

OcToBER TERM, 1941

No. 320

SOUTHERN STEAMSHIP COMPANY, PETITIONER

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BcCARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD

CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD IN

OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Circuit Court of Appeals (R.

769-785) * are reported in 120 F. (2d) 505. The

findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order of the

National Labor Relations Board (R. 14-44) are

reported in 23 N. L. R. B., No. 2.

1 Pursuant to stipulation of the parties (R. 790-791), the

printed record herein for purposes of the petition for a writ

of certiorari consists of the appendix to the brief of peti-

tioner, filed in the court below, and the proceedings before

the United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit.

(})

2

JURISDICTION

The decree of the Circuit Court of Appeals (R.

786--789) was entered on May 20, 1941. The peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari was filed on July 30,

1941. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under Section 249 (a) of the Judicial Code, as

amended by the Act of February 13, 1925, and

under Section 10 (e) and (f) of the National Labor

Relations Act.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether under the National Labor Relations

Act seamen may be discharged for having engaged

in a peaceful strike on board a vessel on which they

worked and which was safely moored in a domestic

port but not the home port.

2. Whether there is substantial evidence to sup-

port the Board's finding that the signing off of

shipping articles did not terminate the tenure of

employment of petitioner’s seamen.

3. Whether the Board abused its discretion in

refusing tc pe:mit the presence of representatives

of the empioyer at an election held under Section 9

of the National Labor Relations Act to determine

collective bargaining representatives.

STATUTE INVOLVED

The pertinent provisions of the National Labor

Relations Act are set out in the Appendix.

~*~

3

STATEMENT

In proceedings under Section 9 of the Act in

which petitioner, the National Maritime Union of

America (herein called the Union), and the Inter-

national Seamen’s Union of America participated,

the Board on July 16, 1937, issued its Decision and

Direction of Election (R. 19, 671). Pursuant

thereto, an election to determine collective

bargaining representatives was conducted by the

Board’s Regional Director. On January 3, 1938,

the Regional Director issued a report finding that

the results of the election showed that a majority of

the eligible employees had voted for the Union (R.

759-761). Petitioner filed objections to the eleec-

tion and to the Regional Director’s report on the

ballot ; the objections were grounded on the refusal

to permit the presence of company representatives

at the balloting on one of the vessels (R. 76-78,

762-764). On January 26, 1938, the Board dis-

missed petitioner’s objections and certified the

Union as exclusive representative of petitioner’s

employees within the appropriate unit (R. 671-

674).

Susequently, upon charges filed by the Union

alleging that petitioner had engaged in unfair

labor practices in violation of Section 8 (1), (3),

and (5) of the Act, and following a hearing and

other usual proceedings under Section 10 of the

Act, the Board on April 22, 1940, issued its find-

ings of fact, conclusions of law, and order

(R. 1444). So far as here material, the facts,

4

as found by the Poard and as shown by the evi-

dence, may be summarized as follows:*

Following the certification on January 26, 1938,

of the Union as exclusive bargaining representa-

tive, the Union repeatedly requested petitioner

to hold a collective bargaining conference with

it; petitioner did not accede to any of these

requests and did not even reply to most of them (R.

21-22; R. 92-99, 108-112, 589-592). The Board

found that on or about January 26, 1938, and at all

times thereafter petitioner thereby refused to bar-

gain collectively in violation of Section 8 (5) and

(1) of the Act (R. 22, 40).

Primarily because of petitioner’s unlawful re-

fusal to bargain with the Union, 13 unlicensed sea-

men of the City of Fort Worth, who were members

of the Union, struck on board that vessel on July

18, 1938, while she was moored to the dock at Hous-

ton, Texas, during the course of a coastal voyage

(R. 22-25, 28-29; R. 128-131, 179-181, 431-433,

093-096). At 8 a. m. the strikers failed to turn

on steam for loading cargo (R. 23; R. 182,

301-356). They withdrew to the poop deck,

which serves as the general meeting place of the

seamen when off duty, and rejected the requests

and orders of the officers and a deputy United

States Shipping Commissioner to abandon the

strike (R. 23-24; R. 138-140, 165-169, 209-210,

*In the following statement the references preceding the

semicolons are to the Board’s findings and the succeeding

references are to the supporting evidence.

5

219-220, 269-274, 356, 369, 380-383, 431-440, 500).

They maintained sufficient steam, however, for the

operation of the ship’s sanitary and safety appli-

ances and remained seated on the poop deck

without attempting to interfere with the normal

shipboard operations performed by the officer's and

nonstriking crew members (R. 23-25, 29; R. 130-

131, 135-137, 182, 241-242, 290-293, 323, 375, 387-

388, 404, 499-502, 595, 596). The strikers were

not at any time ordered to leave the ship (R. 24,

30; R. 404, 513). At 7 p. m. the same day, after

petitioner’s local attorney promised that petitioner

would meet with the Union in an effort to nego-

tiate an agreement, the strikers resumed their

stations and the ship sailed on schedule (R. 24-25;

R. 142-149, 274-275, 292-293, 450-453, 483, 620-

621).

On July 25, at the end of the voyage and upon

the signing off of shipping articles at the home port

of Philadelphia, petitioner refused to reship five of

the seamen because of their participation in the

strike (R. 26, 32-37; R. 151-155, 185-186, 195, 201-

202, 223-225, 284, 289-290, 298, 338, 391, 394, 493-

494, 520-521, 533-534). Seven other seamen con-

sequently struck and left the ship in protest against

petitioner’s discriminatory action (K. 26, 38-39; R.

156-157, 202, 226, 244-245, 248-249, 255-256), The

* The captain and ship’s officers did not regard the strikers

as having taken possession of the ship (R. 29-30; R. 404,

499-500).

6

Board found that the five seamen were discharged

in violation of Section.8 (3) and (1) of the Act, and

that the strikes of July 18 and 25, 1938, were caused

by petitioner’s unfair labor practices (R. 25, 26,

32-39).

The Board's order required petitioner to cease

ald desist from its unfair labor practices, to bar-

gain collectively with the Union upon request, to

offer reinstatement with back pay to the five sea-

men against whom petitioner had discriminated, to

offer reinstatement upon application to the seamen

who went on strike on July 25, and to post appro-

priate notices (R. 40-44).

Thereafter, petitioner filed in the court below its

petition to review and set aside the Board’s order

(R. 1-13); the Board requested enforcement (R.

45-52). The case was argued on October 8, 1940,

before three judges (R. 767-768) ; on February 7,

1941, the case was restored to the argument list for

rehearing before the court en bane (R. 768). The

‘vase Was heard and decided by the court en banc

(R. 768-769)... On May 6, 1941, the court below

* The question Whether a circuit court of appeals may be

composed of all the circuit judges in active service, sitting

en banc, is now before this Court in 7ertile Mills Securities

Corp. v. Commissioner of Internal Revenue, No. 34, this

Term, certiorari granted, March 31, 1941. It has also been

raised in Oughton v. National Labor Relations Board, No.

98, this Term, petition for writ of certiorari filed May 22,

1941, and Vewark Morning Ledger Co. v. National Labor

Relations Board, No. 307, this Term, petition for certiorari

filed July 24. 1941. Petitioner in the instant case does not

raise the question.

7

handed down its opinion directing entorcement of

the Board’s order with a modification not here ma-

terial (R. 769-780). The court’s decree was

entered on May 20, 1941 (R. 786-789).

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends (Pet. 2, 7-8, 11-18) that

seamen who engage in a peaceful strike on board

a vessel moored in a safe domestic harbor are guilty

of revolt and mutiny, and therefore forfeit their

rights to the protection of the National Labor Rela-

tions Act against discharge for concerted union ac-

tivity. Neither logic nur law supports this conten-

tion. As the court below held (R. 774-780), and as

students of the subject have recognized (Roth-

schild, The Legal Implications of a Strike by Sea-

men, 45 Yale L. J. 1181; Sapiro and Frank, Mutiny

at the Dock, 25 Calif. L. Rey. 41), modern indus-

trial conditions require that seamen, no less than

workers on land, have the right in port to

withhold their collective services in order to

achieve their economic demands or, as here, in

order to enforce the right of collective bargaining

unlawfully denied them by their employer. With-

out reference to the wisdom of the policy suggested

by the petitioner, it is clear that the Act does not

provide for the exception which petitioner now

urges. On the contrary, Congress, by the terms of

the Act, has broadly guaranteed the right to ‘‘any

employee”’ “‘to engage in concerted activities, for

the purpose of collective bargaining ‘or other

409227—41—_—_2

§

mutual aid or protection’? (Sections 2 (3), 7,

8(1)).

Even apart from the clear terms of the Act, it is

plain that seamen in a harbor of safety neither are

denied the right te strike nor ary they guilty of re-

volt or mutiny if they withhold their services.

Weisthoff v. American-Hawatian 5. S. Co., 79 F.

(2d) 124 (C. C, A. 2), certiorari denied, 296 U.S.

619; Black Diamond Steamship Corp. v. National

Labor Relations Board, 94 F. (2d) 875 (C. C. A.

2), certiorari denied, 304 U.S. 579; The Biake, W.

Rob. 73, 166 Eng. Rep. 500, 506; The South Port-

land, 111 Fed. 767 (D. Wash. N. D.) ; Buddington

v. Smith, 13 Conn, 333. None of the cases cited by

petitioner (Pet. 14-18) is tothe contrary. In Rees

v. United States, 95 F. (2d) 784 (C. C. A. 4), the

court expressly pointed out-~that the question

whether ‘‘the crew of a vessel which is moored to

a dock or is at anchor in a safe harbor have the

right to strike * * * is not presented for de-

cision in this ease’? (95 F. (2d) at 792). In

Peninsular & Occidental S. 8S. Co. v. National

Labor Relai.cns Board, 98 F. (2d) 411 (C. C.

A. 5), certiorari denied, 305 U. S. 653. it was not

the act of striking which afforded lawful ground

*The only workers excluded from the category of “em-

ployee” are “any individual employed as an agricultural

laborer, or in the domestic service of any femily or person at

his home, or any individual employed by his parent or

spouse” (Section 2 (3)). In National Labor Relations

Board vy. Waterman Steamship Corp., 309 U. S. 206, this

Court upheld the application to seamen of the protective

guarantees of the Act.

se ae ees Oe

PPA See ee eee PEN ae

9

for discharge, but since the strikers unlawfully

took possession of the vessel, committed sabotage,

and threatened to renew such wnlawful acts, the

discharges were regarded by the court as ‘‘a neces-

sary measure for the safety of the ships’’ (98

F. (2d) at 414415).° Similarly, in both The Los-

mar, 20 F. Supp. 887 (D. Md.), and The Oakmar,

20 F. Supp. 650 (D. Md.), the strikers had re-

fused to leave the vessel when ordered to do so

by the master and consequently were found by

the court to be trespassers.’ At most, in the in-

stant case the strikers were merely ordered to

abandon the strike, not to leave the ship (R. 24,

30).

Petitioner’s further contention (Pet. 8, 12-13,

18) that the strike was an unlawful ‘‘sit-down’”’

strike and the discharge of the strikers therefore

justified under the doctrine of National Labor Re-

lations Board v. Funsteel Metallurgical Corp., 306

U.S. 240. is also without merit. The concurrent

findings of the Board (R. 23-24, 25, 29-30) and of

* Petitioner suggests thet although no damage to the ship

was occasioned by the strike, the ship's safety was imperiled

because “serious consequences might have resulted” ( Pet. 13).

But the Board (R. 23, 25) and the court below (R. 775)

-expressly foun | that sufficient steam had been maintyined to

operate the ship’s sanitary and safety devices and that the

ship was admittedly not in danger at eny time. Petitioner

does not attack these findings as without substantial support-

ing evidence.

* Wholly inapposite is Teras Co. v. Naticiwl Labor Reta-

teuns Board, 120 F. (2d) 186 (C. C. A. 9) in which the court

held merely that to reinstate an habitual drunkard as boat-

swain would not effectuate the policies of the Act (p. 190).

10

the lower court (R. 774) establish that the strikers

did not engage in violence or other unlawful con-

duct and did not take or hold possession of the ship

against the authority of their employer ; on the con-

trary they simply remained seated on the poop

deck, their usual place to meet when off duty. and

were at no time ordered to leave the ship which was

their home. The quantitative and qualitative dif-

ferences between the employee conduct in the Fan-

steel case and the conduct involved here are

apparent. In similar cireumstances, the Fansteel

rule has been held inapplicable. National Labor

Relations Board v. American Mfg. Co., 196 F. (2d)

61, 68 (C. C. A. 2) modified and affirmed 309 U. S.

= F

. Petitioner urges (Pet. 3, 7, 8, 19-20) that the

Boara’ s finding that the tenure of employment of

petitioner’s seamen did not terminate by the sign-

ing off of shipping articles (R. 27-28) is not sup-

ported by substantial evidence. The court below

sustained the finding (R. 773-774). The evidence

amply sustains the concurrent holdings of the

*See also Nationai Labor Relations Board v. Reed &:

Prince Mfa. Co.. 118 F. (2d) 874, 888 (C. C. A. 1), certiorari

denied, No. 1052, October 1940, Term; Vational Labor Re/a-

tions Board v. Stackpole Carbon Co., 105 F. (2d) 167, 176

(C. C. A. 3), certiorari denied, 308 U. S. 605; Republic Steel

(orp. Vv. National Labor Relations Board, 107 F. (2d) 472,

479 (C. C. A. 3), certiorari denied on this point, 309 U. S.

684; .Vational Labor Relatiens Board v. Colten, 105 F. (2a)

179, 183 (C. C. A. 6); Note, Employee Misconduct Under

The Wagner Act; Developments Since The Fansteel Case,

39 Col, L. Rey. 1369.

11

Board and the reviewing court upon this issue of

fact. National Labor Relations Board vy. Falk

_Corp., 308 U.S, 453, 461. The discharged seamen

had worked for petitioner continuously for periods

ranging from 6 weeks to 18 months ’ (R. 27; R. 124-

125, 177-178, 196-197, 213, 278); petitioner’s sea-

men customarily signed new articles when signing

off the old and even when they did not, they never-

theless considered themselves engaged for the next

voyage unless expressly notified to the contrary (R.

27; R. 1538-154, 184-185, 199-201, 221-223, 300-

301) ; and, finally, petitioner’s officers significantly

referred to the five men as having been ‘‘dis-

charged’’ or ‘‘fired’” because of their strike ac-

tivity (R. 33, 35-386; R. 201-202, 224-225, 284, 338,

390-391, 394, 461-462, 491-492, 515). The evidence,

in short, was essentially like that before this Court

in Nutional Labor Relations Board v. Waterman

Steamship Corp., 309 U.S. 206, 213-217; see also

South Ailantic S. S. Co. v. National Labor

Relations Board, 116 F. (2d) 480 (C. C. A. 5), cer-

tiorari denied, No. 969, October Term 1940. In

any event, petitioner’s contention, even if true, is

immaterial, for if the employment relation did ter-

minate, petitioner’s refusal to rehire the men be-

cause of their strike activity was, as the Board

found in the alternative (R. 28), equally an unfair

labor practice under Section 8 (3) and (1) of the

Act. Phelps Dodge Corp. v. National Labor Rela-

* Each round trip voyage of the City of Fort Worth took

about 25 days (R. 27; R. 184, 213, 278).

on,

12

tions Board, Nos. 387, 641, October Term, 1940,

decided April 28, 1941.

3. Petitioner challenges (Pet. 3, 7, 21) the cer-

tification of the Union as exclusive representative,

and the consequent finding of refusal to bargain, on

the ground that the Board refused to permit em-

plover representatives to be present at the election.

The holding of the court below (R. 770-771) that

the Board did not thereby abuse its diseretion is in

accord with the only other decision upon the. ques-

tion. Marlin-Rockwell Corp. v. National Labor

Relations Board, 116 F. (2d) 586 (C. C .A. 2), cer-

tiorari denied, No. 1032, October Term, 1940, de-

eided June 2, 1941." While the presence of em-

ployer representatives may be helpful to Board

representatives who conduct the election in their

duty to determine the eligibility of the voters, the

presence of company representatives may have the

effect, though perhaps unitended, of inhibiting the

employees so that the election results do not reflect

ihe free and independent choice contemplated by

the Act." Accordingly, as a general rule, the Board

” The petition for certiorari in the Marlin-Rockwell case

strongly urged the point.

" As the court below stated: “* * * it [the Board] may

take the view, as it evidently did in this instance, that since

the presence of such representatives, unless consented to,

might operate in some degree to coerce the employees and

prevent them from expressing their free choice, some other

means of iieniifying voters should be employed. The Act

confers no right upon the employer to have its representa-

tives present and it is obvious that their presence is not

essential to a fair election” (R. 770-771).

13

has not allowed employer representatives to be

present at the polls unless the labor organization

involved consents. Third Annual Report of the

Board (1938), p. 147.% Nor, as the lower court

pointed out (R. 771), bas petitioner shown any

prejudice. In these circumstances, the propriety

of the exercise of the Board’s discretion does not

present any question calling for review.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, it is respectfully sub-

mitted that the petition for a writ of certiorari

should be denied.

CHARLES Fany,

Acting Solicitor General.

RicHarp 8S. SALant,

Attorney.

;

Rosert B. Warts,

General Counsel.

“ Morris P. GLUSHIEN,

RutH WEYAND,

Lovuts LIispsBin,

Attorneys,

National Labor Relations Board.

Avavust 1941.

12 Employer representatives were not permitted to be

present at elections conducted by the old National Labor

Board which administered section 7 (a) of the National In-

dustrial Recovery Act. Lorwin & Wubnig, Labor Relations

Boards (Brookings Institution, 1935), pp. 159-161. See

also, First Annual Report of the National Mediation Board

(1985), p. 4.

APPENDIX

The pertinent provisions of the National Labor

Relations Act (Act of July 5, 1935, ¢. 372, 49 Stat.

449; 29 U.S. C., Supp. V, See. 151 ef seq.) are as

follows:

Sec. 7. Emplovees shall have the right to

self-organization, to form, join, or assist

labor organizations, to bargain collectively

through representatives of their own choos-

ing, and to engage in concerted activities, for

the purpose of collective bargaining or other

mutual aid or protection.

Sec. 8. It shall be an unfair labor prac-

tice for an employer—

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce

employees in the exercise of the rights guar-

anteed in section 7.

* * * * *

(3) By discrimination in regard to hire or

tenure of employment or any term or condi-

tion of employment to encourage or disceur-

age memberships im any labor organiza-

ime. > =. 4

* * ~ * *

(5) To refuse to bargain collectively with

the representatives of his employees, subject

to the provisions of section 9 (a).

Sec. 9. (a) Representatives designated

ar selected for the purposes of collective bar-

gaining by the majority of the employees in

a unit appropriate for such purposes, shall

be the exclusive representatives of all the

(14)

15

employees in such unit for the purposes of

collective bargaining in respect to rates of

pay, wages, hours of employment, or other

conditions of employment: * * *

* * * * *

(c) Whenever a question affecting com-

merce arises concerning the representation

of employees, the Board may investigate

such controversy and certify to the parties,

in writing, the name or names of the repre-

sentatives that have been designated or se-

lected. In any such investigation, the Board

shall provide for an appropriate hearing

upon due notice, either in conjunction with

a proceeding under section 10 or otherwise,

and may take a secret ballot of employees,

or utilize any other suitable method to

ascertain such representatives.

U S GOVERNMEN! PRINTING OFFIC”: 1941

Opinions below - - - - - - - - - beside neneaaemagt baaeuxdanae ves

Jeniodiation.. .«.<------ Pe Le teacene

Questions presented -.-.------------ eared gta

Statute involved -- - - - SSS eamadiaenrenaes aot dm iemakeaian aa

Statement........-------------- (iceudvoresminaadapeaned

Summary of argument. -.---------------------------- ane

Argument:

I. The discharge of seamen because they engaged in a

peaceful strike Gn a ship moored safely in a domestic

port for the purpose of inducing their employer to

comply with the National Labor Relations Act is an

unfair labor practice within the meaning of that Act.

A. The Board’s order would have been proper if a

similar strike had occurred on shore ---- ---

B. The fact that the strike involved the refusal of

seamen aboard ship to obey orders of the

master did not, in the present circum-

stances, justify the discharges or preclude

the Board from ordering reinstatement - - - -

1. In the circumstances of this case the

strikers’ conduct was not illegal. -

(a) The course of legislation -- - -

(6) The authorities. .-.....-.----

2. Even if, in a technical sense, the

strikers’ conduct were illegal, the

strikers would not have forfeited

their rights to reinstatement under

the National Labor Relations Act_-

C. The so-called breach of shipping articles con-

stituted no valid ground for the discharges -

Il. The Board's finding that the employment relationship

continued after the signing off of shipping articles

is supported by substantial evidence; in any event

petitioner discriminated against the men by failing

to rehire them. _.__. Oe ata

III. Petitioner was not improperly excluded from the

balloting for collective bargaining representatives ;

in any event peiitioner’s refusal to bargain violated

Section 8 (1) and (5) of the Act........----------

Cn a ae ee ee Te

Appeadiz.......---<--+--- Vawewdet shar ddn suas hee peetiQns

440963—42——1

eownn re =

co

18

18

= Be

62

see

A; 8

CITATIONS

Cases: Page

American France Line et al., In the Matter of, 3N. L. R. B.

ee NS eile wiolaut@e ts 3

Ayer & Lord Tie Co. v. Kentucky, 202 os Gbaceewiees 48

Black Diamond S. S. Corp. v. National Labor Relations

Board, 94 F. (2d) 875, certiorari denied 364 U. 3. 579.... 19, 23

Blake, The, 1 W. Rob. Adm. 73, 166 Eng. Rep. 500 (1839) - 45,

47, 50

Buddington v. Smith, 13 Conn. 333 (1839)_---.-.-------- 49

Calmar Steamship Corporation, In the Matter of, 18 N. L.

eS a Smeg oe 21

Carabajal v. Lucero, 22 N. Mex. 30, 158 Pac. 1088_...-.-- 68

Choisser v. York, 211 Ill. 56, 71 N. E. 940........--.---- 67

Condor, The, 196 Fed. 72__---- Se ee A i aS 45, 50

ee I ic cto cneeetenbhewees eenae 40

Dial v. Hoilandsworth, 39 W. Va. 1, 19 S. E. 557_-.-- .--- 68

Fort Orange, The, 5 Supp. 833- - - - - My a ee 48

Gilleiand v. Schuyler, 9 Kan. 560__......--.---.-------- 67

Hamilton v. United States, 268 Fed. 15, certiorari denied,

254 U. &. 645...... Sik Seee Ff FC

Hawthorne v. State, 116 Ala. 489, 22 So. Se 68

Hi. J. Heinz Co. v. National Labor Relations Board, 311

U. &. 34... ..- DEAN ee Regt t ek Se a eee Meer Ree 66

Losmar, The, 20 F. Supp. 887. Sh ger PO ih al alates ra 21

Marlin Rockwell Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board,

116 F. (2d) 586, certiorari denied, 313 UV. 8. 594______-- 64

Bs ee, Se We SA THO, Din kkn ow wie wn ccc ncecsces 45

Nuconal Federation of Railway Workers v. National Media-

tion Board, 110 F. (2d) 529, certiorari denied, 310 U. 8.

628 _. ae. oaks cee ee 67

Netional Laber Relations Board v. "American M fg. Co., 106

F. (24) Gi, wifirmed 200 U.S. 620... .......-....-....- 22, 60

National geet Relations Board v. Bradford Dyeing Ass'n,

gh RE TS a ep Pk Re a I ee ea cg a a 68

a ies Relations Beard \ v. Carlisle Lumber Co., 94

F. (2d) 138, certiorari denied, 304 U. 8. 575. -.---..--- 53

Nationa! Labor Relations Board v. Cities Service Oil Co.,

I a a aes ann 8

National Labor Relations Beard v. Colten, 105 F. (2d) 179__ 19, 53

National Labor Relations Board v. Falk Corp., 308 U. 8.

RANE Sa 2? oa UNE ge ey En CO 62, 65

National Labor Relations Board v. Fansteel Metallurgical

OE 4 ee Saar a ems OREN ye eee 20

National Labor Relations Board vy. Federal Bearings Co.,

LS AI ne ee oer a 54, 61

Ill

Cases—Continued. Page

National Labor Relations Board v. Hopwood Retinning Co.,

SE EE ha «cnc ed cometary seo ndake ensedaces 60

National Labor Relctions Board v. Jones & Laughlin Steel

SE hn ics cud aed saaeeahe seemed ou 66

National Labor Relations Board v. J ones Foundry & Machine

le EE EE on onnd watidtueabaeh chebeeeinen 66

National Labor Relations Board vy. Mackay Radio & Tele-

organ Core... G6 VU. &. GGe......+-.----.--- ee .

National Labor Relations Board v. Reed & Prince Mfg. Co.,

118 F. (2d) 874, certiorari denied, 313 U.S. 595. ___- 53

National Labor Relations Board vy. Remington Rana, /nc.,

94 F. (2d) 862, certiorari denied, 304 U. 8. 576..__..___ 19, 53

National Labor Relations Board vy. Stackpole Carbon Co.,

105 ¥. (2d) 167, certiorari denied, 308 U. S. 605__..-... 19, 53

National Labor Relations Board vy. Waterman Steamship

a EE Ee Onc cack eee hannean ce 17, 23, 66, 63, 65

National Licorice Co. v. National Labor Relations Board,

I on ee ia eae ea eenie oy Parag Bas ph eae 60

ee, See, ee eS E.G oan ies oo ebw ne vie weinee 21

Oliver v. Alexander, 6 Pet. #43_..-..-.--. -- hae 60

Peninsuiar & Occidental 8. S. Co. v. Na tional. Labor Rela-

tions Bocgrd, 98 F. (2d) 411, certiorari denied, 305 U.S.

as Se re a ee ae aes 21, 47, 60

People v. Cook, 8 N. Y. 67, 59 Am. Dee. 451_-.---. . .- 67

Phelps Dodge Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board, 313

ER RR RR ea LS ARLE ee ase Ree 17, 64

Rees v. United States, 95 F. (2d) 784._...__-_.---- 42, 43, 44, 57

Republic Steel Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board, 107

F, (2d) 472, certiorari denied on this point, 310 U. 8. 655_ 19,

53, 54

Ritzwoller Co., M. H., v. National Labor Relations Board, 114

ek ee ee wede oe we 19

Roberison v. Baldwin, 165 U. S. 275......---.------2.-- 45

Sanders v. Lacks, 142 Mo. 255, 43 8. W. 653_.-.._.-.._.- 68

ne Ue peucsbeentnwes 45

UE i ve metinwnens 38

Sonderburg, The, 47 F. (2d) 723, certiorari denied, 284 U. S.

re ne hia ai iatoate palnigt aris 45

South Atlantic Steamship Co. v. National Labor Relations

Board, 116 F. (2d) 480, certiorari denied, 313 U.S. 582__ 63

Southern Pacific Co. v. Kentucky, 222 U.S. 63_-.._._.--- 48

State ex rel. McMillan v. Sadler, 25 Nev. 131, 58 Pac. 284__- 68

Stewart Die Casting Corp. v. National Labor Relations

Board, 114 F. (2d) 849, certiorari denied, 312 U.S. 680_- 53

Tezas & N. O. R. Co. v. Brotherhood of Railway Clerks, 281

i endrtiaie aces a teliann d4 eleauesneewiwern ie 37

Tiger v. Western Investment Co., 221 U. S. 286_-__.___--- 40

United States v. Albers, 115 F. (2d) 833_-.-.-.-..------- 42, 57

Iv

Cases—Continued. Page

United States vy. Barker, 24 Fed. Cas. No. 14,516. _.-_--.- 42, 44

United States v. Cassedy, 25 Fed. Cas. No. 14,745. ------- 42, 44

United States v. Freeman, 3 How. &56__..--------------- 40

United States v. Gardner, 25 Fed. Cas. No. 15,188_ -_----- 42, 44

United States v. Haines, 26 Fed. Cas. No. 15,275__........ 42, 44

United States v. Hamilton, 26 Fed. Cas. No. 15,290_.... 42, 43, 44

United States v. Hutcheson, 312 U. 8. 219......---------- 34, 35

United States v. Lynch, 26 Fed. Cas. No. 15,648-....-.---.- 42, 56

United States v. Nye, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 15,906_........ 42, 44, 56

United States v. Roberts, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,173_.......- 42, 43

Uniied States v. Seagrist, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,245. __..._-- 57

United States v. Staley, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,274_..-...--- 42, 45

United States vy. Stevens, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,394_._____-_- 43

United States v. Stewart, 311 U. S. 60____- BR Ea a Sg REN 40

Virginia Ry. Co. v. System Federation No. 40,11 F. Supp.

621, affirmed 84 F. (2d) 641, affirmed 300 U.S. 515... _- 67

rae We Tar, Bee ahs Bs BN, Give ewan ecerewtswecds 68

Weisthoff v. American-Hawatian S. S. Co., 79 F. (2d) 124

certioragi denied 206 U.S. 619.._..............------ 45

Vestern Union Telegraph Co. v. National Labor Relations

Be, Be a Gr Oe . = wee so ow Sec eccwns Ltn ea 60

Statutes:

Act of April 30, 1790, c. 9, 1 Stat. 112-115, Sees. 8, 12 26

Act of March 3, 1835, c. 40, 4 Stat. 775-776, §§ 1, 2 _. ae

Act of June 7, 1872, c. 322, 17 Stat. 262___._- , .. 473

Act of Dec. 21, 1898, 30 Stat. 755..-........___... ; 29

Clayton Act (38 Stat. 730, 738, 29 U. S. C., Bee. 52)... 34, 80

Act of Macch 4, 1915, Sec. 7, c. 153, 38 Stat. 1164 (46

U. 8. C. See. 701)-_-- . -- 31

Home Port Act of February 26, 1925, Secs. 1 -2, €. . 235, 43

Stat. 947-948 (46 U.S. C., Sees. 18, 1012)_...-_______- 48

Norris-LaGuardia Act of March 23, 1932, 47 Stat. 70 (29

U.S. C., Sees. 101-115) ........-- A hs a3e 7 Res nie 35

Railway Labor Act, 48 Stat. 1185 (45 U. S. C., Sec. 152)

SPN as eg ee ara Ce oe oes bade cumn Seaway 66

National Labor Relations Act (Act of July 5, 1935, 49 Stat.

449, 29 U.S. C., See. 151, et seq.):

Sec. 2 (3)__.-. ap Fic SEE ol _. 20,70

_} ees uy. epee 76

ee ae uee 8 oe eines’ Late 7

fe Ge dab wids One tlie tes aha ba 71

i he oo ae i a Oe 71

~ i, 3 ee SR DI ny Sy A Peer eatin 71

we ee Ne 2 ci one NA ores Prec cy ere 71

a as 3 ig os dn a afr gd ai ho ahaa wa os 72

Vv

Statutes—Continue‘l. Page

Merchant Marine Act, 1936, 49 Stat. 1985, as amended in

52 Stat. 965, 46 U. S. C. §§ 1251-1262) Tae

Criminal Code §§ 292, 293 (18 U.S. C., §§ 484, 483)_ 26, 27, 36, 72

Revised Statutes:

eer ERS See Ne 28, 34, 35, 73, 75, 78

Secs. 5359, 5360. __- II ei Ae a ee a P 26

Miscellaneous:

I Rr dg pain oe 68

Arbitration Agreement in Shipping Industry, Labor Relations

Reporter, vol. 9, No. 18, pp. 463-464._.........-.---- 51

C. 1. O. Maritime Committee and National Maritime Union

of America, Who's Guilty (May 1940), p. 24. _..--.---- 24, 25

2 Congressional Globe 265_-.-.._. - -- RHEE DA pe ape 28

28 Cong. Rec. 6286-_-_- en ree en a eS elke 29

ech tied ocas keno dates chbewe news 30

ees ea ceaskaeendidencsmes ans 30, 38

Employee Misconduct under the Wagner Act; Developments

since the Fansteel Case, 39 Col. L. Rev. 1369__-__- _---- 53

Federal Coordinator of Transportation, Section of Labor

Relations, Hours, Wages, and Working Conditions in

Domestic Water Transportation (September 1936), pp.

221-223... -- a ca a ae A le ae el nd ae tn 52

Hearing before House Committee on Merchant Marine and

Fisheries, 68th Cong., 2d Sess., January 26, 1925, Home

Ports of Vessels of the United States, pp. 16-17. ....---- 48

Hearings before the House Committee on Merchant Marine

and Fisheries, 75th Cong., Ist Sess., on H. J. Res. 121

and H. J. Res. 143, Exhibit entitled Report on the Status

and Working Conditions of Seamen in the American

Moerchan@ee P. 108..........-.-.---.------------ 49

Hearings before the Senate Committee or Commerce, 74th

Cong., Ist Sess., on 8. 2582, pp. 432-434. _........--.-- 51

Hearings before Senate Committees on Commerce and

Education and Labor, 75th Cong., 3d sess., pp. 974-975 - 52

Hohman, Maritime Labour in the United States, Interna-

tional Labour Review voi. 38, (International Labor

Office, Geneva, August 1938)... - = __.-.. 25, 39

H. Doc. 392, 75th Cong., 2d Sess., U. Ss. Maritime Com-

mission, Economic Survey of the American Merchant

Marine (Nov. 10, 1937), pp. 46-49- - - - 24, 52

H. Rep. 1657, 55th Cong., 2d Sess._........-.-.- _.... 30,38

H. Rep. 645, 62d Cong., 2d Sess... _ _- & es Rie ent Bact 31

H Rep. 852, 63d Cong., 2d Sess _ - ae 32

Landis, A Note on Statutory Interpretation, 43 Harv. ee

Rev. 886... . 39

Lorwin & W ubnig, Laber Relations Boards (Brookings Insti-

Ce oe ae eee iwiteeeresséeewaiiek © 65

Maritime Arbitration, Business Week, Jan. 10, 1942, p. 69_- 51

VI

Miscellaneous—Continued Page

Maritime Labor Board, Report to the President and to the

Congress, Mar. 1, 1940... .. 51, 52

National Mediation Board, First Annual Report (1935) -. 66

"Proceedings of the Joint Shipping Industrial Conference,

SN BE paiacicdks dawews dud cds bowen bieees 51

Radin, Statutory Interpretation, 43 Harv. I. Key, ae 39

Report of the Director of Marine and Dock Industrial

Relations Division, U. 8. Shipping Board, Marine and

Dock Labor: Work, Wages, and Industrial Relations Dur-

ing the Period of the War (1918), pp. 15-27, 37, 40, 45-47,

164__ eae 51

Sen. Doe. No. 211, 63d Cong., ‘Ist Sess..... ale th aie ea 32

S. Rep. 832, 54th Cong., Ist Sess...............--.-.-..- 32

Taylor, The Sailors’ Union of the Pacific, pp. 46-49_- - _. - - 44

The Trades Unionist, American Federation of Labor,

Washington, D. C., Jan. 17, 1942, p. 8.._.-.---------- 51

Third Annual Report of the National Labor Relations Board -

(1938) - - vibes 65

U. S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics,

Bulletin No. 342, JI:nternational Seamen’s Union of

America: A Study of Its History ard Problems, pp. 4-6,

EER ikl eb CRITE nee A eR oe NPE 39, 44

U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics,

Laws and Agreements Governing Working Conditions

Among American Seamen, Monthly Labor Review, Vol.

10, pp. 1075, 1094 (May 1920)__.-----.---.. 25

U. S Maritime Commission, Economic Survey of ‘Coast-

wise and Intercoastal Shipping (March 15, 1939), pp.

Guthe Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcroBeR TERM, 1941

No. 320

SoUTHERN STEAMSHIP COMPANY, PETITIONER

v.

NarionaL Lasor RELATIONS Boarp

AND

NATIONAL MARITIME UNION OF AMER‘CA, INTER-

VENOR

ON WRI’ OF CERTIORARI TO THE U*‘ ITED STATES CIRCUIT

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Circuit Court of Appeals

(R. 769-785) are reported in i20 F. (2d) 505.

The findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order

of the National Labor Relations Board (R. 14-

44) are reported in 23 N. L. R. B. 26.

JURISDICTION

The decree of the Circuit Court of Appeals (R.

786-782) was entered on May 20, 1941. The peti-

(1) .

2

tion for a writ of certiorari was filed on July 30,

1941, and was granted on October 13, 1941. The

jurisdiction of this Court rests on Section 240 (a)

of the Judicial Code, as amended by the Act of

February 13, 1925, and Section 10 (e) and (f) of

the National Labor Relations Act.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether under the National Labor Relations

Act seamen may be discharged for having engaged,

as a result of their employer's unfair labor prac-

_tices, in a peaceful strike on board the vessel on

which they worked, which at the time of the s*trike

was safely moored to the dock in a port of the

United States.

2. Whether there is substantial evidence to sup-

port the Board’s finding that the signing off of

shipping articles did not terminate the tenure of

employment of petitioner’s seamen.

3. Whether the Board abused its discretion in

refusing to permit the presence of representatives

of the employer at an election held under Section

9 of the National Labor Relations Act to deter-

mine collective bargaining representatives.

STATUTE INVOLVED

The statutory provisions primarily involved are

Sections 8 and 9 of the National Labor Relations

Act (Act of July 5, 1935, ¢. 372, 49 Stat. 449,

29 U.S. C., See. 151, et seq.). These provisions,

and other statutes referred to in the argument, are

set forth in the Appendix, infra, pp. 70-82.

a

3

STATEMENT

Petitioner owns and operates seven vessels carry-

ing freight between the ports of Philadelphia, Penn-

sylvania, and Houston, Texas (R. 292, 669-670).

On June 11, 1937, International Seamen’s Union of

America, affiliated with the American Federation

of Labor, filed with the Board a petition re-

questing an investigation and certification of rep-

resentatives for the unlicensed personnel of peti-

tioner and other steamship companies, pursuant to

Section 9 (c) of the National Labor Relations

Act. After a hearing in which it appeared that

both the International Seamen’s Union and the

National Maritime Union of America, affiliated

with the C. I. O. (hereinafter sometimes called the

Union), claimed to represent a majority of these

employees, the Board on July 16, 1937, ordered

that an election be held (R. 19, 671; see In the

Matter of American France Line et al., 3 N. L.

R. B. 64). An election was thereupon conducted

by the Board’s regional director on the seven ves-

sels owned by petitioner (R. 759-761). The re-

port of the regional director, issued on January

3, 1938, showed that of 134 eligible voters, 73

voted for National Maritime Union, 4 for Inter-

national Seamen’s Union, and 51 for neither

(R. 761).

Because of the refusal of the labor organizations

named on the ballot to consent to the presence of

a representative of the petitioner at the balloting,

4

the Board did not permit petitioner to have its

representative present at the balloting conducted

on the first of the seven vessels, namely, the S. 8.

City of Houston, which took place on October 13,

1937 (R. 763). Thereafter, in respect to the bal-

loting which took place at later dates on the

remaining six ships, the labor organizations with-

drew their objections to the presence of petitioner’s

representatives at the election and petitioner’s

representatives were permitted to be present (R.

673). Petitioner filed objections to the election

and to the Regiona! Director’s report on the ballot,

alleging that such election should be declared null

and void because its representative was excluded

from the balloting on the 8. S. City of Houston

(R. 76-78, 762-764). On January 26, 1938, the

Board dismissed petitioner’s objections and certi-

fied the Union as the exclusive representative of all

employees of petitioner within the appropriate

unit (R. 671-674).

Subsequently the Union filed charges that the

company had refused to bargain with it, had ter-

minated the employment of a number of employees

_because of their membership in and activity on

behalf of the Union, and had thereby violated See-

tions 8 (1), (3), and (5) of the Act (R. 60-63).

The Board issued a complaint (R. 63-67), held a

hearing, and made findings in which it held these

charges to be substantiated (R. 14-39). The per-

o

tment facts as found by the Board and as disclosed

by the evidence are as follows:

The refusal to bargain.—After the Board’s cer-

tification of January 26, 1938, the Union made

futile efforts to get petitioner to bargain with it.

Shortly after the issuance of the certification the

Union representatives in Houston and in Philadel-

phia requested a collective bargaining conference

(R. 21, 590-592, 92-94). The representative in

_ Houston was informed that the matter would be

transmitted to Philadelphia; the representative at

Philadelphia was informed by Sherry, the Marine

Superintendent, that the matter was in the hands

of petitioner’s attorneys (1bid.). No further com-

munications being received in answer to these

requests, the representative in Philadelphia wrot«

Sherry (R. 21, 94, 112, 117), unsuccessfuliy sought

to reach him by telephone several times in Febru-

ary and March (R. 21, 96-97), and finally called at

his office but was refused permission to enter (R.

22, 97-99). Finally, on August 23, 1938, seven

months after the certification and a month after

the strike of July 18, to be discussed below, and

after another letter to the company (R. 22, 675),

the company replied that until the dispute arising

out of the election was settled by the Board and the

courts, the question of an agreement with the

Union ‘‘is premature”’ (R. 22, 676). Sherry testi-

fied that this had been the company’s position

since the date of the certification on January 26

6

(R. 22, 543-545).* On the basis of these facts the

Board found that since on or about January 26,

1938, the petitioner had refused to bargain col-

lectively with the Union and that it had thereby

interfered with, restrained, and coerced its em-

ployees in the exercise of the rights guaranteed in

Section 7 of the Act (R. 22).

The strikes of July 18 and July 25, 1938, and

the subsequent discharges.—On June 30, 1938, the

crew of the 8S. S. City of Fort Worth signed on

shipping articles at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania,

for a voyage to such southern coastwise ports as

the master should direct and back to Philadelphia,

for a term not exceeding six months (R. 681-683).

The shipping articles provided that (R. 681)—

the said crew agree to conduct themselves

in an orderly, faithful, honest, and sober

manner, and to be at all times diligent in

their respective duties, and to be obedient

to the lawful commands of the said Master,

* * * in everything relating to the ves-

sel * * * whether on board, in boats,

or on shore.

The ship sailed on July 1 with a crew of 27

seamen, 19 of them unlicensed personnel (R. 127,

318, 683). On Thursday, July 14, the ship docked

at Houston, Texas, and was “‘tied right up against

the dock”’ so that persons could walk directly from

‘The basis of the company’s objection was the refusal of

the Board to permit the company’s representative to be pres-

ent at the election conducted on the S. S. City of Houston

(R. 114).

7

the ship onto the dock (R. 128, 137, 144-147).

The petitioner’s Houston office building was im-

mediately adjacent (R. 146). The ship was

scheduled to remain in port several days discharg-

ing the cargo brought from Philadelphia and tak-

ing on cargo for the return trip (R. 142, 170-171,

292-293, 432, 483, 670). The actual unloading and

loading of -~rgo was performed by stevedores (R.

132, 142, 269-270, 670). ©

During the stay of the ship at Houston the crew

continued to live on board just as during.a trip at

sea, sleeping in their bunk rocme and eating in the

mess hall (R. 326, 405). They performed eight

hours of ‘‘general ship work”’ a day and otherwise

were free to enjoy themselves as they saw fit in

their bunk rooms or on the poop deck, or, with the

permission of the ship’s officers, to go on shore

(R. 143, 222, 239, 269, 272, 325, 452, 513).’

* The duties during the stay in port of the five persons dis

charged were as follows: Smith was a mess boy and as such

performed the same duties as when the ship was at sea, serv-

ing meals, washing dishes, making beds, and cleaning the

mess hall and bunk rooms (R. 205-207, 407-409, 423-425, 427,

683). Tracey and Ferguson were firemen and oilers (R. 122,

131, 134, 177, 683). They were supposed to provide the

steam necessary for the sanitary and safety appliances and

for operating the winches used in loading cargo; also to

keep the winches greased and oiled (R. 131-132, 182, 352).

Pfuhl and Warren were able seamen, and while the ship

Was in port engaged in such duties as painting the smoke-

stack or sides of the ship; cleaning the pilot house, and

other odd jobs (R. 213, 269, 271, 272, 280, 301, 683).

8

On Saturday, July 16, some members of the

crew went to the Union hall at Houston and ar-

ranged for a meeting to be held on Sunday, July

17, between the Union members of the crew and

Union representatives in Houston for the purpose

of ascertaining what progress the Union had made

towards securing collective bargaining with peti-

tioner (R. 593-594). When the crew learned at

the meeting on Sunday, July 17, that, despite the

Union's certification by the Board almost six

inonths before, the petitioner still refused to recog-

nize it, they voted to call a strike at eight a. m.

the next morning for the purpose of inducing

petitioner to recognize and bargain with the Un-

ion and issue boarding passes te its shore dele-

gates (R. 128-13], 179-181, 241, 593-596). At

the meeting it was agreed that the men would

keep watch ‘‘to see that there was no fire or any-

thing,’’ would permit the stewards’ department te

operate, and would at ail times maintain and fur-

nish sufficient steam to operate all of the ship’s

sanitary and safety devices, but not for operating

the winches fer loading cargo (R. 130-131, 595-

596).

‘The company conceded that the issuance of passes to

union delegates would have signalized recognition of the

Union (R. 541-542). Petitioner has raised no issue with

respect to the inclusion by the strikers of this demand. Cf.

Naticial Labor Relations Board vy. Cities Service Oil Co.,

122 F. (2d) 149 (C. C. A. 2).

9

About eight a. m. on Monday, July 18, while the

vesse] was still moored to the dock, the strike

began when Tracey, the fireman and oiler on the

four a.m. to eight a. m. shift and the Union dele-

gate for the engine room, failed to turn the steam

‘‘on deck’’ for the purpose of loading cargo (R.

126, 128, 131-132, 180-181, 197, 219, 269). The first

assistant engineer, Pool (or Paul), inquired of

Tracey as to why there was no steam on deck and

was told that the ship’s unlicensed personnel was

on strike for Union recognition (R. 132). Pool

stated that he would put the steam on deck him-

self, whereupon Tracey replied, ‘‘Well, if you do,

I will have to take the fireman out of the fireroom’’

(R. 132). When Pool turned the steam on, Tracey

called upon the fireman on duty, Braun, a member

of the Union, to join the strike, which he did

(R. 133). At this point Ferguson appeared to

relieve Braun whose watch had terminated (R.

134). Tracey told Ferguson that the strike had

begun, so Ferguson refused to fire but remained

present ‘‘to see that the steam wouldn’t get too

low so that the auxiliaries wouldn’t stop” (R. 182).

About 8: 15 or 8: 25 the second assistant engineer,

Robinson, came in to fire up enough steam for the

cargo loading, and told Ferguson, ‘‘Go on up, I will

take care of things down here’”’ (R: 184, 182,

355-356, 380-382). Tracey and Ferguson, after

securing the express statement of Robinson that he

would be responsible for maintaining the steam for

10

the safety and sanitary devices, left the engine

room and joined the eleven other strikers who

were seated on the poop deck, the general place of

meeting and recreation for the seamen when off

duty (R. 134-137, 182, 270-272, 355-356, 500).

The ship’s officers, together with the assistance of

the six unlicensed seamen who did not participate

in the strike, then proceeded with the necessary

operations for the loading of cargo (R. 317-319,

355-356, 381-382). The strikers did not make the

slightest attempt to interfere with any of the nor-

mal operations on shipboard performed by the

officers and nonstriking members of the crew

(R. 290-292, 293, 323-324, 375, 387-388, 404, 499-

502). All the men did was merely to sit on the

poop deck (R. 135-137, 241, 242, 290-291, 387-388,

500, 501-502).

The captain not being on board at the time

(ht. 431-4382), the chief mate, Helland, who was

in charge of the ship during the captain’s absence,

at once went to the poop deck to inquire what the

trouble was (R. 268-272, 286-288). Warren, the

Uiuon delegate for the deck section, acting as

spokesman for the men, complained that ‘‘the

company had not been fair to them in regards

to the election they had, they had won out, but the

eempany didn’t pay no attention to it’? (R. 127,

268-272, 286-288). Warren stated that the Union

representatives were on the docks, that Helland

shouid go dewn and talk to them, that the men

11

were not going to work until the petitioner recog-

nized the Union (R. 139, 268-272, 286-288).

When the ship’s captain, Rudan, came on board,

about 10: 30 a. m., he tried to persuade the strikers

that their conduct was unfair to him (R. 165-

166, 219-220). The strikers, however, assured

him that their action ‘‘was not taken against any

officer cf the ship, it was strictly against the com-

pany, we were striking for union recognition”’

(R. 219-220, 209-210, 165-169, 433, 483). Cap-

tain Rudan then advised the men that their con-

duct was in Violation of the ship’s articles which

they had signed, and ordered them, individually

and collectively, to resume their respective duties

(R. 138, 165-166, 273-274, 382-383, 431-435). The

strikers refused, asserting that the articles would

not bar their refusal to work where the company

had ‘‘done something that was wrong’”’ by refusing

to bargain and that they had a right to strike when

the ship was safely moored in an American port

(R. 483, 162, 219-220, 434-435, 440). Captain

Rudan then brought aboard a deputy United

States Shipping Commissioner who, reading from

the shipping articles, advised the strikers that

according to their articles they had agreed ‘‘to be

obedient to the lawful commands of the master,”’

and warned them that they were ‘‘subject to being

logged two days for cne’’ for not obeying orders

(R. 437-440, 681).

440963— 42-——2

12

The men, nevertheless, persisted in their strike

and throughout the day remained seated on the

poop deck in an orderly manner (R. 137, 241, 242,

290-291, 375, 387-388, 499-502). They did not

interfere with the work performed by the other

members of the crew or the sievedores (R. 404).

At no time were they ordered to leave the vessel

(R. 325, 404, 513). Indeed, the permission of the

master was sought and obtained before any of

them left to go on the dock (R. 143, 513). At

noentime the messboy, Smith, resumed his duties,

and the twelve other strikers, with the captain’s

permission, joined the rest of the crew in the din-

ing room where Smith served all the crew, both

strikers and non-strikers, their dinner (R. 203, 206-

207, 423-425). After diner the strikers returned

to the poop deck (R. 137, 242). It was admitted by

an officer that their refusal to work in no way

endangered the safety of the ship (R. 387).

Union representatives were present on the dock

throughout the day ready to negotiate with any

of the petitioner’s representatives, as the strikers

repeatedly pointed out to the ship’s officials (R.

137, 139, 147, 242-243, 272, 287, 589, 603-605).

‘While Smith regarded himself as a striker (R. 198), the

extent to which he failed to perform his normal duties ap-

pears to have been slight. He had served breakfast and

cleaned up the breakfast dishes before he joined the strikers

on the poop deck (R. 203, 205-206). He served dinner to

the whole crew (R. 423-424). Apparently his only omis-

sion was the failure to make up three cabins (R. 206,

427-429).

13

Late that afternoon, petitioner’s local attorney,

after telephoning petitioner’s marine snperintend-

ent in Philadelphia (R. 515, 538-540, 640-642), ad-

vised the Union’s attorney that if the strike were

called off he would recommend to petitioner that

passes be issued to the shore delegates to board

petitioner’s ships (R. 616-618, 642-643). There-

upon, Captain Rudan, after conferring with the

petitioner’s local agent and the shore delegates,

gave the strikers permission to leave the ship for

the purpose of conferring with their shore dele-

gates upon the dock in order to see if the strike

could be ended (R. 142-147, 242-243, 450-452, 489-

490, 513). Relying upon the assurances given the

Union attorney by petitioner’s attorney, the strik-

ers decided to return to work at once (R. 142-147,

620-621).° The strike ended at seven p. ni. on the

same day when the employees all went back to work

(R. 147-149, 274-275, 490). The loading of the

eargo had not been delayed by the strike and at

nine p. m. that night the ship sailed on schedule

(R. 147-149, 275, 292-293, 483).

* One of the seamen stated: “He said everything was all

right, he said our lawyer and their lawyer is going to get

together, and by the time we get back to Philadelphia, every-

thing will be straightened out, we will have passes for our

delegates aboard by the time we reach Philadelphia, and by

no means no one will be discharged when they got there” (R.

147),

14

All members of the crew, including the strikers,

performed their duties on the voyage back to

Philadelphis. in a competent manner (R. 375-377,

388, 502). However, when the vessel docked at

Philadelphia on July 25, 1938, and the crew sigaed

off their shipping articles, five of the employees

who engaged in the strike, namely, Warren, the

Union delegate of the deck section; Tracey, the

Union delegate of the engine section; Smith, the

Union delegate of the steward section; Ferguson

and Pfuhl, were discharged because of their par-

ticipation in the strike (R. 126-127, 151-155, 185-

186, 195, 201-202, 223-225, 284, 289-290, 298, 338,

* 391, 394, 493-494, 520-521, 533-534).

During the voyage home the Union members,

' anticipating the possibility that some might be

discharged, had agreed that all would strike if

any were let out by the company (R. 150-151, 185,

244). Asa consequence of the discharge of the five

men above referred to, when the ship docked in

Philadelphia on July 25th all of the remaining

Union members but one struck in protest ° (R. 26,

156-158, 202, 226, 245, 248-249, 252-256, 390.

On the basis of the above facts the Board found

that the strike in Houston was caused by the peti-

tioner’s refusal to bargain with the Union (R. 25),

and that accordingly the discharge of the five sea-

*One of these men was subsequently reinstated (R. 136,

253-254, 340-341).

15

men because of their participation in such strike

was unlawful (R. 31) ; and that the strike in Phila-

delphia was likewise attributable to petitioner’s

unfair labor practices since brought on by the dis-

charge of the five men referred to (R. 26). The

Board further found that petitioner’s entire course

of conduct had interfered with the employees’ exer-

cise of the rights guaranteed by Section 7, in vio-

lation of Section 8 (1) of the Act (R. 40).

The Board’s order required petitioner to cease

and desist from its unfair labor practices, to bar-

gain collectively with the Union upon request, to

offer reinstatement with back pay to the five sea-

men whose discharge violated Section 8 (3) and

(1), to offer reinstatement upon application te

the seamen who went on strike on July 25, and to

post appropriate notices (R. 40-44).

Thereafter, petitioner filed in the court below

its petition to review and set aside the Board’s

order and the Board answered requesting en-

forcement (R. 1-13, 45-52). The case was argued

on October 8, 1940, before three judges (R. 767-

768); on February 7, 1941, the case was restored

to the argument list for rehearing before the court

en banc (R. 768-769). On May 6, 1941, the court

below handed down its opinion directing enforce-

ment of the Board’s order with a modification

not here material, Judge Clark dissenting (R.

769-780). The court’s decree was entered on May

20, 1941 (R. 786-789).

16

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I

A. Since the discharges resulted from a strike

brought on by petitiorer’s refusal to bargain, an

unfair labor practice, there would clearly have

been a violation of the National Labor Relations

Act if the strike had occurred on land. The fact

that the crew vemained on the vessel, even though

in a sitting position, instead of deserting, does not

render their conduct unlawful. Since the men

were not ordered to leave the ship and there was

no illegal seizure of property or fo. 2e or violence,

but merely a use of the quarters available to the

mer, the doctrine of the Fansteel case does not

apply.

B. 1. Nor does the fact that the strike involved

the refusal of seamen on a ship to obey orders

of the master in the present circumstances justify

the discharges or preclude the Board from order-

ing reinstatement. An examination of the his-

tory of legislation relating to seamen manifests

a congressional understanding that a peaceful

strike for the purpose of compelling an employer

to obey the law while a vessel is in a safe position

in an American port is uot unlawful. The cases

are consistent with this view. The considerations

underlying the requirement of strict discipline for

seamen do not apply in such a situation.

17

2. Even if the strikers’ conduct constituted a

technical or minor violation of the law the Board

would have the power to order reinstatement.

The Fansteel decision has properly not been re-

garded as holding that all unlawful conduct, how-

ever trivial and however provoked by the employer,

forfeits an emplovee’s rights under the Labor

Relations Act.

C. Nor does the fact that the seamen signed

shipping articles requiring them to obey their offi-

cers mean that the strike was unlawful. Such a

provision, required by law for seamen, is implicit

in any contract of employment and does not con-

stitute an agreement. not to strike. In any event,

by continuing to employ the men after the strike,

petitioner waived the alleged breach of contract

by them.

II

Pexitioner’s contention that the exnployment re-

lationship terminated upon the signing off of

articles at the conclusion of the voyage is unsound.

The Board’s finding that the tenure of employment

continued is amply supported. National Labor

Relations Board v. Waterman Steamship Corp.,

309 U. S. 206. Even if the employment relation-

ship terminated, the failure to rehire the men

nevertheless was discriminatory and, therefore, an

unfair labor practice. Phelps Dodge Corp. v.

National Labor Relations Board, 313 U. 8. 177.

18

lif

Petitioner had no right to have a representative

present at the election conducted by the Board

among the seamen. Accordingly its refusal to

recognize the certification and bargain with the

union certified was unjustified and unlawfui.

|

ARGUMENT

I

THE DISCHARGE OF SEAMEN BECAUSE THEY ENGAGED

IN A PEACEFUL STRIKE ON A SHIP MOORED SAFELY

IN A DOMESTIC PORT FOR THE PURPOSE OF INDUCING

THEIR EMPLOYER TO COMPLY WITH THE NATIONAL

LABOR RELATIONS ACT IS AN UNFAIR LABOR PRACTICE

WITHIN THE MEANING OF THAT ACT

A. THE BOARD'S ORDER WOULD HAVE BEEN PROPER IF A SIMILAR

STRIKE HAD OCCURRED ON SHORE

Petitioner’s brief has not denied that it has

refused to bargain with the Union, that the strike

in Houston was brought on by its refusal to bar-

gain, or that the discharges resulted from the

strike. Nor can there be doubt that the Union

—

’ Petitioner apparently has abandoned the contentions

made before the Board, but unsupported by the record, that

the seamen were discharged for other reasons than their par-

ticipation in the strike. Petitioner still contends, however

(Br., pp. 27-32), that the seamen were not “discharged,” but

that their employment terminated automatically with the

expiration of the shipping articles at the end of the voyage.

See pp. 62-64, jnfra,

19

represented the majority of the employees,’ or that

the refusal to bargain was an unfair labor prac-

tice. These facts are established by the record

beyond the possibility of contradiction.

Petitioner does not dispute the well-established

proposition that when a strike is caused by an

unfair labor practice, the Board may require the

reinstatement of employees discharged because of

their participation in the strike. National Labor

Relations Board v. Remington Rand, Inc., 94 F.

(2d) 862 (C. C. A. 2), certiorari denied, 304 U.S.

576, 585; National Labor Relations Board v. Stack-

pole arbon Co., 105 F. (2d) 167 (C. C. A. 3),

certiorari denied, 308 U. S. 605; Republic Steel

Corp. vy. National Labor Relations Board, 107 F.

(2d) 472 (C. C. A. 3), certivrari denied on this

point, 310 U. S. 655; Black Diamond S. S. Cerp. v.

National Labor Relations Board, 94 F. (2d) 875

(C. C. A. 2), certiorari denied, 304 U. S. 579; Na-

tional Labor Relations Board v. Colten, 105 F.

(2d) 179 (C. C. A. 6); M. H. Ritewoller Co. v. Na-

tional Labor Relations Board, 114 F. (2d) 482,

437 (C. C. A. 7). Indeed, in National Labor

Relations Bourd v. Mackay Radio & Tel. Corp.,

304 U. S. 333, this Court held that, under Section

er

* Petitioner has attacked the validity of the certification cn

technical grounds but does not deny that a majority of its

unlicensed personnel desired the Union to represent them

(see pp. 64-68, infra).

20

2 (3),° the protection of the Act was available even

to persons who had struck for other reasons.

Petitioner argues (Br. p. 15), however, that the

strike“th this case was a ‘‘sit-down,’’ and that ac-

cordingly National Labor Relations Board v.

Fansteel Metallurgical Corp., 306 U. 8S. 240, is

applicable.

Apart from the fact that the strikes in each case

have loosely been characterized as ‘‘sit-downs,’’

this case differs radically from the F'ansteel case.

The Fansteel opinion shows that the Court was

not concerned with any mere ‘‘sitting-down,’’ but

with the illegal seizure and retention of the plant

by force and violence and the refusal of the strikers

to permit the owner to enter its property or to

vacate the premises after they were discharged.”

* Section 2 (3) reads, in part, as follows:

“When used inthisAct— * * *

(3) the term ‘employee’ shall include * * * any in-

ai. idual whose work has ceased as a consequence of, or in

onnection with, any current labor dispute or because of any

unfair labor practice * * *.”

*? Examination of the Fansteel opinion shows that the

Court never described the strikers’ conduct as “sitting down,”

but as “the seizure and retention of respondent’s property”

(366 U. S., at 252); illegally taking and holding posses-

sion of respondent’s property (zbid.) ; “the seizure and hold-

ing of the buildings” (d., at 253) ; the “ousting of the owner

from lawful possession” (ibid.); “resort to force” (tbid.) ;

“the seizure and holding of its buildings” (7d., at 244) ; “seiz-

ing or committing depredations upon the property of their

employer” (/bid.) ; “acts of trespass or violence against the

employer's property” (¢d., at 255); “illegal seizure of the

buildings” (id., at 256) ; “resort to force and violence” (#d.,

ut 258) ; “seizure of the plant” (éd., at 259).

21

Peninsular & Occidental S. S. Co. v. Nattonal

Labor Relations Boayd, 98 F. (2d) 411 (C. C. A.

5), certiorari denied, 305 U. S. 653, upon which

petitioner also relies (Br. p. 19), involved, the

court thought, the seizure of property, a vessel, by

strikers who did not merely sit down, but ‘‘took

possession of the ship’’ ana ‘‘contemplated

* * * sabotage’’ (98 F. (2d), at 413).”

Here the striking seamen did not seize or take

or retain possession of anything, or interfere

with the operation of the ship by other persons;

they merely remained in the quarters assigned

to them and refused to work. Petitioner did not

discharge them or order them to leave the vessel.

Indeed, petitioner inferenti° ly conceded that the

conduct of the strikers was Ic ‘s serious because they

did not leave the ship thereby becoming deserters.”

** Tt is unlawful, of course, for the men to remain on board

against the will of the owners. The cases of 7’he Oakmar,

20 F. Supp. 650 (D. C. Md., 1937), and 7’he Losmar, 20 F.

Supp. 887 (D. C. Md., 1937), cited by petitioner (Br., pp.

20-21) upheld the right of the owner of ships to recover

the ships by possessory libels where the seamen refused to

vacate. The National Labor Relations Board held that the

owner of The Oukmar and The Losmar was justified in dis-

charging the employees who refused to vacate these ships

and that such a discharge did not constitute an unfair labor

practice. Jn the Matter of Calmar Steamship Corporation,

18 N.L. R. B. 1,

'* See Transcript of oral argument before the Board, pp.

4142, and R. 30n. For the strikers to have left the ship

would have constituted desertion, punishable by forfeiture

of wages alresdy earned and clothing and effects remaining

on board (46 U. S. C., Sec. 701).

22

It would indeed be anomalous to hold that strik-

ing seamen who avoided the statutory offense of

desertion by remaining on board the vessei in ae-

cordance with the obvious desire of the master

were by reason of that very fact guilty of an un-

lawful ‘‘sit-down’’.

The ship, of course, was the home of the sailors,

even when in por‘, as petitioner’s officers admitted

(R. 326, 405) ; the master agreed (R. 500) that the

poop deck, upon which the strikers sat, was the

normal gathering place for the men when off duty.

A comparable situation ashore, which would ob-

viously not be deemed unlawful, would arise if

striking lumbermen living in company-owned

facilities remained peaceably in or just outside of

their bunkhouses, even if they spent most of the

time sitting. There would not even be a technical

trespass until and unless the company ordered

them to leave.

National Labor Relations Board v. American

Mfy. Co., 106 F. (2d) 61 (C. C. A. 2), affirmed

309 U. S. 629, is closely in point. The Cireuit

Court of Appeals there stated (p. 68):

We do not. regard the action of these or

other employees in standing around the

premises for a period of not more than

two hours, while an attempt was being made

to persuade the Company to fix a date for

collective bargaining with T. W. O. C., as

in the nature of a sit-down strike which

would permit the termination of the em-

23

ployee, relationship. They certainly were

not claiming to hold the premises in defi-

ance of the right of possession of the owner

and we regard the case as no different from

that of an ordinary strike where work has

ceased because of an unfair labor practice.

B. THE FACT THAT THE STRIKE INVOLVED THE REFUSAL OF SEA-

MEN ABOARD SHIP TO OBEY ORDERS OF THE MASTER DID NOT, IN

THE PRESENT CIRCUMSTANCES, JUSTIFY THE DISCHARGES OR

P.:SCLUDE THE BOARD FROM ORDFRING REINSTATEMENT

Petitioner’s argument stresses the fact that the

strike involved the refusal of seamen aboard a

ship to obey orders of their superiors.

It is not claimed that anything in the National

Labor Relations Act places seamen in a different

category from other employees. The Act has fre-

quently been applied tothem. E.g., National Labor

Relations Board v. Waterman Steamship Corp.,

309 U. S. 206; Black Diamond S. S. Corp. v. Na-

tional Labor Relations Board, 94 F. (2d) 875

(C. ©. A. 2), certiorari denied, 304 U. S. 579.

Indeed, the Merchant Marine Act, 1936, as

amended in 1938, expressly ratified the applica-

tion of the Labor Relations Act to seamen (52

Stat. 965, 46 U.S. C., Sec. 1252, Appendix, mfra,

pp. 81-82).

Petitioner’s contention is that because of the

necessity for discipline and obedience to the mas-

ter’s commands in order to insure the safety of the

ship, disobedience is under all circumstances un-

lawful and a discharge for such disobedience per-

24

missible."* It is claimed that because the need fer

obedience exists when a ship is at sea or is not ina

safe position in port, the authority of the master

must always be recognized, both as a matter of

general disciplinary policy and because of the diffi-

culty of determining when a ship is in a safe

position." The fact that the employees’ disobe-

dience consisted of a peaceful strike brought on

for the purpose of inducing petitioner to obey the

law, while the ship was tied to the dock and in no

8 Petitioner (Br. p. 25) states that the Department of

Commerce “considers lack of discipline the main cause of

unsafety” of American vessels, citing a Maritime Commis-

sion Survey of the Merchant Marine. This report, however,

shows that unsatisfactory labor relations in the maritime

industry, just the same as those on land, arise from suppres-

sion of the right to organize and bargain collectively ard

that the solution is not penalization of workers who seek to

achieve these rights -but insistence that employers accord

them. House Doc. No. 392, 75th Cong., 2d Sess., United

States Maritime Commission, Economic Survey of the

American Merchant Marine (November 10, 1937), pp. 46-

49.

‘It does not follow, of course, that lack of discipline at

sea will result from the assertion by seamen of their rights

whiie they are in port. Seamen’s unions themselves have

explicitly recognized this. A pamphlet published by the

C. I. O. Maritime Committee and the National Mari-

time Unien of America, dealing with safety at sea, states:

“Maritime workers, no less than shipowners, subscribe

wholeheartedly to the tradition that when a vessel is under

way or is not in a safe harbor, the seaman must obey the

orders of his superior. No seaman questions this. He has

a greater interest in safety-at-sea than the shipowner. The

operator has nothing to lose but a ship; the seaman has his

life.” (The C. I. O. Maritime Committee and the National

25

way in danger, is apparently not thought by peti-

tioner to be material.

The Government’s position is (1) that in the

circumstances of this case the strikers’ conduct

was not illegal, and (2) that even if in a technical

sense it were, the strikers would not have forfeited

their right to reinstatement under tbe National

Labor Relations Act.

1. In the circumstances of this case the strikers’ conuuct was

not illegal

Petitioner’s argument that the strikers’ conduct

was illegal seems to rely mainly on cases under the

statute prohibiting revolts and mutiny (4 Stat. 775,

Maritime Union of America, Who’s Guilty? (May 1940)

p. 24.)

The position of the United States at a conference of the

International Labor Office at Geneva in 1920 has been de-

scribed as follows:

“The requirements of the sea service make it necessary

that more stringent disciplinary measures be applied to sea-

men at sea than to men in other classes of industry. A dis-

tinction should be made between the service of seamen while

at sea and while in a safe harbor. In the former case suit-

able penalties should be provided to enforce obedieace and

the efficient performance of their duties by seamen, but while

in a safe harbor seamen should be subject to only such civil

liabilities as tnose to which other classes of workmen are

subject.” (Laws and Agreements Governing Working Con-

ditions Among American Seamen, Monthly Labor Review,

Vol. 20, pp. 1075, 1094 (May 1920), Government. Printing

Office.)

See Hohman, 2aritime Labour in the United States, In-

ternational! Labour Review, Vol. 38, pp. 190, 199 (Interna-

tional Labor Office, Geneva, August 1938).

26

18 U. S. C., Sees. 483, 484, Appendix, infra, pp.

72-73). The applicability of this and related laws

to the instant case may best be determined by an

examination of the history of legislation in this

field.

(a) The course of legislation.—The first statute

punishing mutiny was the Act of April 30, 1790,

e. 9, 1 Stat. 112-115. Section 8 of that Act pro-

vided that every mariner who ‘‘shall make a revolt

in the ship”’ shall be deemed ‘‘a pirate and felon”’,

punishable by death. Section 12 provided that

any seaman who ‘‘shall confine the master * * *,

or endeavour to make a revolt’’ shall be subject to

three years’ imprisonment.

These provisions were replaced by Sections 1

and 2 of the Act of March 3, 1835, 4 Stat. 775-776,

which have since been reenacted in the Revised

Statutes of 1878," and as Sections 293 and 292 of

the Criminal Code of 1909" without substantial

change, and are still in effect (18 U. S. C., Sees.

484, 483). Since the first compilation of 1878

these sections have borne the titles “Revolt or

Mutiny on Shipboard’’ and ‘‘Inciting Revolt or

Mutiny on Shipboard.’’ They read as follows:

§ 484. REVOLT OR MUTINY ON SHIPBOARD.

Whoever, being of the crew of a vessel of

the United States, on the high seas, or on

any other waters within the admiralty and

® Rev. Stat. 5360, 5359.

® Sections 293, 292 (35 Stat. 1146).

27

maritime jurisdiction of the United States,

unlawfully and with force, or by fraud, or

intimidation. usurps the command of such

vessel from the master or other lawful

officer in command thereof, or deprives him

of authority and command on beard, or

resists or prevents him in the free and law-

ful exercise thereof, or transfers such au-

thority and command to another not law-

fully entitled thereto, is guilty of a revolt

and mutiny, and shall be fined not more

than $2,000 and imprisoned not more than

ten years. |

§ 483. INCITING REVOLT OR MUTINY ON

SHIPROARD. Whoever, being of the crew of

a vessel of the United States, on the high

seas, or on any other waters within the ad-

miralty and maritime jurisdiction of the

United States, endeavors to make a revolt

or mutiny on board such vessel, or combines,

conspires, or confederates with any other

person on board to make such revolt or

mutiny, or solicits, incites, or stirs up any

other of the crew to disobey or resist the

lawful orders of the master or other officer

of such vessel, or to refuse or neglect their

proper duty on board thereof, or to betray

their proper trust, or assembles with others

in a tumultuous and mutinous manner, or

makes a riot on board thereof, or unlaw-

fully confines the master or other command-

ing officer thereof, shall be fined not more

than $1,000, or imprisoned not more than

five years or both.

440963—42——3

28

In the debate in the Senate on the 1835 Act,

Senator Shepley ‘‘moved to strike out the words

in the bill which authorized punishment to be ex-

tended to neglect of duty’’. Senator Clayton,

who reported and explained the bill, ‘‘opposed the

motion on the ground that it was only designed to

apply to conspiracies by the crew to neglect their

duties, so as to endanger the safety of the ship and

crew’’ (2 Cong. Globe 265). [Italies supplied. ]

The motion was defeated and the bill passed with-

out change (id., at 276, 298).

The next pertinent statute dealing with the con-

duct of seamen was the Act of June 7, 1872, e. 322,

17 Stat. 262, 273, which was entitled, inter alia, an

Act “for the further Protection of Seamen’’.

Section 51 of this law, which became Section 4596

of the Revised Statutes of 1878, Appendix, infra,

pp. 73-75, nade liable to punishment seamen who

engaged in any of nine specified offenses. These

included ‘‘first, * * * desertion’’, which was

punishable by imprisonment up to three months;

‘“fourthly, * * * willful disobedience to any

lawful commands’’, punishable by imprisonment up

to two months; “fifthly, * * * continued will-

ful disobedience to lawful commands, or continued

willful negleet of duty’’, punishable by imprison-

ment up to six months; and *‘seventhly, for com-

bining with any other or others of the crew to dis-

obey lawful commands or to neglect duty

* * **' which was punishable by imprisonment

29

up to twelve months. Forfeiture-of wages and the

payment of civil penalties were also prescribed for

these offenses.

The seventh clause quoted might have been con-

strued to prohibit strikes by seamen, as a combi-

nation to disobey lawful commands. This clause

was repealed by the Act of December 21, 1898, 30

Stat. 755, 760-761, and the words ‘‘at sea’’ were

inserted in the fourth and fifth clauses prohibiting

willful disobedience. See Appendix, infra, pp.

75-78. The penalties were also lessened. The

effect of these changes was completely to eliminate

the clause which might have prohibited all strikes

and to limit the prohibition against willful dis-

obedience to situations at sea—when, of course, the

safety of the vessel might be endangered. Pre-

sumably strikes at sea would still constitute will-

ful disobedience, within the meaning of the fourth

and fifth clauses as amended.

That it was the purpose of the 1898 law to give

seamen the same rights as workers on land, except

when considerations of safety prevented, appears

from the explanation of the bill by its sponsors on

the floor of the House. Representative Payne,

who was in charge of the predecessor to the bill

which became law in the following Congress,

stated that ‘‘the committee have stricken out of

the bill every vestige of imprisonment for violat-

ing a civil contract’’ (28 Cong. Rec. 6286). Rep-

resentative McGuire, who had introduced the

30

original bill, stated that the bili ‘tis a great ad-

vance over existing laws’’ in according to sailors

the “rights that are common to American citizens

in all other trades, callings, and occupations under

the American flag,’ and that the bill ‘‘ proceeds

upou the principle that the sailors in our mereheut-

marine service should, in their personal rights, be

placed upon equality with American citizens en-

gaged in other industrial disputes’’ (23 Cong. Ree.

6288).

The discussion in the committee report (H. Rep.

1657, 55th Cong., 2d Sess.) with respect to the pro-

posed changes in the penalties for desertion,” also

throws light upon the congressional understanding

as to the right of seamen to strike. ‘The report

states (p. 4):

* * * Section 20 (4596, R. S.): The

bill itself was a great change from the pres-

ent 'iw in that it left all imprisonment for

desertion in the diseretion of the court, in-

stead of absolute as now. But your com-

mittee have gone further to relieve the mari-

time laws of tlLeir strictness, and have elimi-

nated by their amendment all imprisonment

for a violation of civil contract. They are

not unmindful of the inconvenience and loss

'* The bili as reported to the House abolished imprison-

ment as a penalty for desertion; the Act as passed eliminated

ihis penalty for desertion only in American ports, and

merely reduced the penalty for desertion in foreign ports.

See 32 Cong. Rec, 129-132. The 1915 Act (infra, p. 31)

eitminated the criminal penalty entirely.

31

that may occur to the vessel by reason of the

seaman’s disregard of the obligations of his

agreement. In the case of employers on

railroads great inconvenience and loss often

follow a strike, but no one proposes impris-

onment as a remedy. [Italics supplied. ]

The laws relating to seamen, including R. S.

4596, were again revised in the LaFollette Act of

Mareh 4, 1915, 38 Stat. 1164, 1166 (Appendix,

infra, pp. 78-80), but no change material here was

made in the specific provisions referred to above; *

although reenacted, they have remained in substan-

tially their 1898 form up to the present time (46

U.S. C., See. 701).

The object of the 1915 Act was to ameliorate

the conditions of seamen. The report of the

House committee is a definite manifestation of

what Congress thought the legislation for the

benefit of seamen had accomplished, and of what

Congress assumed the rights of seamen in port to

be. he report” states (H. Rep. 645, 62d Cong.,

2d Sess., pp. 6-7):

** The change in the penalty for desertion is described in

Note 17, supra,

** The bill which was finally passed in 1915 during the 63d

Congress was first introduced and reported in the 62d Con-

gress, and the House Report quoted was submitted to the

earlier Congress in 1912. No relevant changes were made in

these provisions of the bill Lefore final enactment. Language”

identical with that in the quoted passages from the report

also appears in a letter from the Secretaries of Commerce

and Labor to the Chairman of the Committee on Commerce

32

* * * In the judgment of your com-

mittee this bill will be more far-reaching

than any measure now pending in Congress.

There is no other portiou of our citizens or

residents who can be compelled, under pen-

alty of imprisonment, to fulfill a civil con-

tract to labor. The seamen alone remain

as the last remnant of serfdom. The sea-

man may be, and is, compelled to sign a con-

tract to labor before he can secure employ-

ment, and to fulfill such contract after he

has signed it, and the inevitable result has

followed, that the self-respecting man or

-boy prefers employment on land to that of

employment at sea, and only those accept a

of the Senate recommending that the same bill as reintro-

duced in the 68d Congress be passed (Sen, Doc. No, 211, 63d

Cong., Ist Sess.). The House report in the 63d Congress (H.

Rep. 852, 63a Cong., 2d Sess.), after referring both to the

Democratic and Republican 1912 platforms, declared (p. 25) :

“Enlightened public sentiment of the present age is opposed

to the arrest and imprisonment of any person, without ret-

erence to his occupation, for violation of his civil contract of

employment. * * * While it has been urged with great

force by the shipping interests that the repeal of the laws and

treaties providing for the arrest and imprisonment of desert-

ing seamen will lead to serious disorder and inconvenience,

and will seriously handicap them in securing efficient crews

for their vessels, this question has been agitated for many

years, and all the arguments for and against it have been

carefully weighed by the committee, and the committee is

unanimous in its opinion that such laws and treaties should

be repealed. It might be well to state that such laws, as they

apply to our coastwise vessels, were repealed many years ago,

and no serious consequence has been shown to have resulted

therefrom.”

ad Ree BPW ee NEES LF TD BLO TT ee es ae

-

-

‘<

33

seafaring life who by propinquity or neces-

sity are compelled to do so.

* * * . >

This bill relieves him from that condition.

By relieving the seaman from any criminal

proceeding for violating a contract to labor,

leaving only the civil process as a remedy,

you place him exactly in the same position

as other workmen, and the result will be to

gradually improve the standard of the men

who go down to the sea, not only of those in

our own shipping, but of those in all ships

entering our ports, until] it has reached the

same standard as that of workmen on land

* * * * *

" * * Under existing laws men may be

and are employed at the ports where the

lowest standard of living and wages ob-

tain. The wages in foreign ports are lower

than they are in the ports of the United

States; hence the operating expenses of a

foreign vessel are lower than the operating

expenses of an American vessel. It is not

proposed to prevent vessels from employing

seamen in ports where they can secure them

cheapest, but it is proposed by this bill to

give the seamen the right to leave the ship

when ina safe harbor, and in time this will

result in foreign seamen engaged o1: vessels

coming into ports of the United States be-

ing paid the same wages as obtain here, as a

means of retaining their crews for the re-

turn voyage. That will equalize the cost of

34

operation, so that vessels of the United

States will not be placed at a disadvantage.

[Italics supplied. ]

Most significantly, the report summarized Sec-

tion 6 of the proposed bill, which was the reen-

actment of R. S. 4596 as amended, as follows

(p. 8):

Section 6 amends existing law so as to

give the seaman the same freedom as lands-

men when his vessel is in a safe harbor and

to enforce proper discipline while at sea.

[Italics supplied. ]

At the same session Congress enacted Section 20

of the Clayton Act (38 Stat. 730, 738, 29 U.S. C.,

Sec. 52, Appendix, infra, pp. 80-81). That section

provides:

And no such restraining order or injunc-

tion shall prohibit any person or persons,

whether singly or in concert, from termi-

nating any relation of employment, or from

ceasing to perform any work or labor, or

from recommending, advising, or persuad-

ing others by peaceful means so to do;

* * * nor shall any of the acts specified

in this paragraph be considered or held to

be violations of any law of the United

States. [Italics supplied.]

The latter provision this Court has recently de-

clared to be a ‘‘catch-all’’ to relieve the practices

previously described in Section 20 from ‘‘all illegal

taint’? (United States v. Hutcheson, 312 U. S. 219,

230). The ‘‘publie policy of the United States’’

35

for which the Clayton Act stands has been re-

affirmed by Congress both in the Norris-

LaGuardia Act of March 23, 1932, 47 Stat. 70 (29

U. S. C., Sees. 101-115) * and in the National

Labor Relations Act itself. $

Finally, we believe it of some relevance that in

June 1928 Congress added to the Merchant Marine

Act, 1936 (49 Stat. 1985), the title on maritime

labor relations, the policy of which was to encour-

age ccllective bargaining, which expressly re-

affirmed all obligations created under the National

Labor Relations Act (52 Stat. 965, 46 U. 8. C.,

Sees. 1251-1262, Appendix, infra, pp. 81-82). The

1938 statute not only required thzt all disputes be-

tween maritime employers and employees be con-

sidered in conference between authorized repre-

sentatives of the parties, but also provided that it

should be the duty of employers to set a time for

such conferences within five days after the receipt

of a request therefor (46 U. S. C., See. 1256 (ex-

pired June 23, 1941. Pub. No. 124, 77th Cong.,

Ist Sess.) ).

It is clear from this review of the history of the

statutes bearing upon this problem that a peaceful

strike while a ship is in a safe position at the dock

no longer violates any of the clauses in Rev. Stat.

4596, and its successors (46 U. S. C., See. 701).

That statute, as has been shown, was deliberately

amended so as to eliminate the clause punishing

combining to disobey commands, and also so as to

2° Cf. United States v. Hutcheson, 312 U. S., at 231.

36

restrict the offense of willful disobedience to con-

duct at sea.

The only other statute which might be applica-

ble is the mutiny Act of 1835, now Sections 292

and 293 of the Criminal Code (18 U. S. C., sees.

483-484). Insofar as this statute might ever have

applied to a peaceful cessation of work in port, it

would seem to have been superseded by Section

20 of the Clayton Act.”* If so, that is conclusive

of the issue here.

But even apart from the Clayton Act, we be-

lieve that the language of the original statute

and the course of legislation show that Congress,

over a period of years, has not deemed the nruuny

laws to be applicable to offenses of this type. In

the first place, even though the words “solicits

* * * any other of the crew to disobey * * *

or neglect their proper duty’’* might literally be

21 Since the Clayton Act does not differentiate between

conduct at sea and on land, it might be deemed applicablo

to peaceful strikes even when the vessel is not in port.

That question, of course, need not be determined in this case.

In any event, even if the mutiny acts were held inapplicable

to such strikes at sea, Paragraphs Fourth and Fifth of Rev.

Stat. 4596, as reenacted in 1915, 38 Stat. 1166 (46 U.S. C.,

Sec. 701) after the Clayton Act (Act of October 15, 1914,

38 Stat. 730, 29 U. S. C., Sec. 52) penalize willful disobedi-

ence at ea, and still remain available for the punishment of

seamen who disobey, individually or in combination, while

not in port.

22 The Act also applies to one who endeavors or combines

to make a revolt or mutiny. These words we believe would

have to be stretched considerably to apply to situations like

that at bar.

37

deemed to cover peaceful efforts to peisuade others

to strike, the 1855 Act, read as a whole, demon-

strates that Congress had something much more

serious in mind. The emphasis is on revolt and

mutiny, as is brought out not only by the text

bit by the titles given to the sections in the Re-

vised Statutes, the Criminal Code, and the United

Scates Code. Thesc terms are defined in Section

484 (18 U. S. C.) as unlawfully and with force er

by fraud or intimidation usurping command of a

vessel or resisting officers and depriving them of

their authority (infra, pp. 72-73). Section 483,

which deals with endeavors to mutiny or the inci-

tation of others to do so, must be read in the light

of this definition of the primary offense. The

meaning to be given the concluding phrases in this

section ean best be gathered from their context.

Cf. Texas & N. O. R. Co. v. Brotherhood of Rail-

way Clerks, 281 U. S. 548, 568. The maxim

ejusdem generis also has obvious application.

That the Congress which passed the Act was of

this opinion may be inferred from the remark of

Senator Clayton that the phrase ‘“‘neglect of duty’”’

meant only that which ‘‘endangers the safety of the

ship and crew”’ (see p. 28, supra). Moreover, the

expression ‘‘solicits, incites, or stirs up * * *

to disobey or resist the lawful orders of the master

* * * or to refuse or to neglect their proper

duty,’’ read as a whole, in itself carries a connota-

tion of threatened disorder, intimidation or

violence.

38

Yhat mere combining to disobey, in the absence

of such factors, was not designed to be reached by

the 1835 act appears from the provision in the

1872 statute punishing by one year imprisonment,

instead of five, ‘‘combining * * * to disobey

lawful commands or to neglect duty.’’ This provi-

sion in the 1872 law would have been entirely un-

necessary if the 1835 Act with its heavier penalties

applied to the same offenses.”

The repeal of this provision in 1898, together

with the restriction to conduct ‘‘at sea’’ of the

penalties for wiilful disobedience, manifests a con-

gressional intention that a peaceful combination to

disobey in port is not unlawful. In view of the

expressed purpose of the framers of the 1898 Act

to ‘‘improve the condition of the American sailor,”’

and ‘‘relieve the maritime laws of their strictness’’

(H. Rep. 1657, 55th Cong., 2d Sess., p. 4),”* it would

be absurd to conclude that the repeal of the clause

had the effect of reinstating a statute penalizing

tne same conduct five times as severely.

The Acts of 1898 and 1915 were enacted in re-

sponse to efforts of organized maritime workers

2° We do not think that the 1872 Act can properly be

dez.ned to have amended, or limited the effect of, or reduced

the penalties under the 1835 enactment. The codifiers have

treated the two measures as entirely separate and unrelated,

and we think properly so. The legislative history of the 1872

act throws no light upon the problem. Cf. Jn Re Simpson

115 Fed. 620 (D. Maine, 1901).

* See, also, S. Rep. 832, 54th Cong., 1st Sess.; 29 Cong.

Rec. 548-549; 32 id. 129-132,

( 39

tu secure the same right to strike when in a safe

harbor as was enjoyed by workers on land.”

The proponents of the 1898 and 1915 statutes

plainly assumed that, except for the necessity of

insuring obedience at sea, tuey were raising the

status of seamen to that of the worker on shore.

Their failure to touch or amend the mutiny statute

can be explained only on the assumption that they

never dreamed that the conduct which they were

protecting against relatively minor penalties con-

stituted a felony under laws applicable to ‘‘ revolt

or mutiny.”’

If the entire course of legislation covering the

period from 1835 to 1915 had been compressed

into a short period, in which the personnel of

Congress had not materially changed, there could

be no doubt as to its pertinence to the construc-

tion of the 1835 Act. When evidence of congres-

sional intention is derived from legislative action

at wide intervals over a period of eighty years,

the concept of a personalized and continuing legis-

lative intent is more difficuit to sustain.” Never-

theless, it is not entirely fictional to treat Con-

* Hohman, Maritime Labour in the United States, Inter-

national Labour Review, vol. 38, pp. 190, 198-207 (Interna-

tional Labor Office, Geneva, August 1938); U. S. Depart-

ment of Labor, Bureau cf Labor Statistics, Bulletin No. 342,

International Seamen's Union of America: A Study of Its

History and Problems, pp. 4-6, 16-17, 29-39.

** See Radin, Statutory Interpretation, 43 Harv. L. Rev.

863; Landis, A Vote on “Statutory Interpretation,” id., 886.

40

gress, like a court, as acc . inuing entity, despite

changes in personnel, and te determine what its

pronouncements mean by looking at them as an

integrated whole even over a period of years.

“The correct rule of interpretation is, that if

divers statutes relate to the same thing, they ought

all to be taken into consideration in construing

any one of them, and it is an established rule of

law that all acts in pari materia are to be taken

together, as if they were one law. * * * and if

it can be gathered from a subsequent statute in

part materia, what meaning the legislature at-

tached to the words of a former statute, they will

amount to a legislative declaration of its meaning,

and will goverit the construction of the first stat-

ute.”” United States vy. Freeman, 3 How. 556, 564;

Cope v. Cope, 137 U. S. 682, 688; Tiger v. Western

Investment Co., 221 U. S. 286, 309; United States

v. Stewart, 311 U. S. 60, 64. Uncertainties as to

the interpretation of the 1835 Act in the light of its

eentemporaneous history thus may reasonably be

resoived hy heeding what subsecuent Congresses,

which might otherwise have amended it, under-

stood it to mean.

_ In this ease, moreover, we need not be primarily

concerned with what the 23rd Congress intended

in 1835 but with what the 74th Congress intended

in 1935. The issue to be decided is whether par-

ticular discharges violated the National Labor

Relations Act, or, more specifically, whether they

41

were justified because of the policies proclaimed in

earlier legislation. In determining wh«ther the

Congress which passed the Labor Relations Act

would have deemed discharges justified because of

acts which might have violated a law enacted in

1835, we should give effect to what those who

passed the Labor Relations Act would have as-

sumed the earlier statute to mean. We believe

that there can be no dovbt that, at least for the

iast fifty years, Congress has assumed that the

peaceful cessation of work, while a vessel was in

a safe position in port and in order to attain a

lawfui objective, did not come within the pur-

view of the statutes prohibiting mutiny.

(b) The authorities —The petition for certiorari

(p. 7) declared that the question here pre-

sented had not been settled by this Court, and

referred to the statement by the court below that,

upon authority, the question was an ‘‘open one”’

(R. 777). We can go further and state that, de-

spite the numerous cases zited in petitioner’s brief,

there are no authorities involving a precisely

similar question. |

The essential facts in this case are as follows:

1. The men ceased work in order to induce their

employer to obey the law. ;

2. The strike occurred not merely in an Ameri-

can port, but while the ship was moored to the

dock in a safe position, and while the men re-

mained on board and were willing to do anything

essential to the safety of the vessel.

42

3. The strike was entirely peaceful; the men did

not seize control of or otherwise interfere with

the operation of the ship.

The cases upon which petitioner relies should be

examined with these considerations in view.

Although many cases under the mutiny act have

applied that statute to ships in port or in a harbor,

none have involved vessels moored to the dock

or in a definitely safe place in an American port.”

A ship anchored in a harbor some distance from

land is not necessarily safe. The modern decisions

involve ships in foreign ports. Hamilton v.

United States, 268 Fed. 15 (C. C. A. 4, 1920),

certiorari denied, 254 U. S. 645 (three miles out,

in Bermuda); Rees v. United States, 95 F. (2d)

784 (C. C. A. 4, 1938) (Montevideo) ; United States

v. Albers, 115 F. (2d) 833 (C. C. A. 2, 1940)

(Culombo, India). In the Hamilton and Rees

eases the vessels were not in a safe place in

* The cases involving vessels in American ports are:

United States v. Haines, 26 Fed. Cas. No. 15275 (C. C. D.

Mass., 1818); United States v. Hamilton, 26 Fed. Cas. No.

15,290 (C. C. D. Mass., 1829); United States v. Gardner, 25

Fed. Cas. No. 15,188 (C. C. D. Mass., 1829) ; United States v.

Barker, 24 Fed. Cas. No. 14,516 (C. C. D. Mass., 1829) ;

United States v. Lynch, 26 Fed. Cas. No. 15,648 (C. C. S. D.

N. Y. 1843) ; United States v. Staley, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,374

(C.C,D. R. L., 1846) ; United States v. Nye, 27 Fed. Cas. No.

15,906 (C. C. D. Mass., 1855).

Different considerations may well apply to vessels in for-

eign ports. Cf. United States vy. Roberts, 27 Fed. Cas. No.

16,173 (C. C. S. D. N. Y., 1843) (Havre, France); United

States v. Cassedy, 25 Fed. Cas. No. 14,745 (C. C. D. Mass.,

1837) (St. Helena) ; and cases cited in text.

43

the harbor; the position of the ship in the Albers

case does not appear. In the Rees case the Circuit

Court of Appeals declared (p. 792) :

The defendants contend that the crew of a

vessel which is moored to a dock or is at

anchor in a safe harbor have the right to

strike and that the Mutiny Act, 18 U. 8.

C. A., § 483, has no application to seamen in

such a situation. But that question is not

presented for decision in this case. As we

have already pointed out, the A/gic was not

in fact moored to the dock or at anchor in a

safe harbor, but was in such a position that

the obedience of the crew to the orders of

the master was essential to her safety. In

such a case, the same rule is applicable as

though the vessel were at sea, as this court

decided in Hamilton v. United States, 4 Cir.,

268 F. 15.

It is true that a number of the early cases, most

of which were decided prior to 1835 and all before

1860, held or assumed that the mutiny act applied

to ships in port without any discussion as to

whether the vessel was in a safe place.** Some of

these cases involved violent resistance to the mas-

ter’s orders,” but others held that the law was vio-

lated by a peaceful refusal to work while a vessel

** See Note 27, supra, p. 42.

** United States v. Hamilton, United States v. Roberts,

both supra, Note 27; United States y. Stevens, 27 Fed. Cas.

No, 16,394 (C. C. E. D. Pa., 1825) (St. Domingo).

440953—42——4

44

was ina harbor.” These cases differ from the in-

stant case, not only in that the vessels involved were

not moored to the dock, but in that the court in each

deemed the reason for the refusal to work to be

illegal. In a number of them the crew refused to

work under a different master than was specified

in the articles.” In another the crew was insist-

ing upon a one-day watch below deck.” In others

the crew was claiming erroneously that the voyage

had terminated and that its obligation to work had

expired.”

Moreover, the early cases arose before unions

for maritime labor were organized and before the

right of labor to bargain collectively was recog-

nized by employers or accorded legal protection.”

*° United States v. Haines, United States v. Nye, United

States v. Barker, United Statea y. Gardner, all supra, Note

27, p. 42: United States v. Cassedy, 25 Fed. Cas. No, 14,745

(C. C. D. Mass., 1837) (St. Helena); Hamilton vy. United

Staies, 268 Fed. 15 (C. C. A. 4th, 1920), certiorari denied,

254 U. S. 645 (Bermuda).

8! Wnited States v. Hamilton, United States v. Haines,

Vnited States v. Nye, United States vy. Cassedy, ali supra,

Note 27, p. 42.

United Ntates v. Gardier, supra, Note 27, p. 42.

* T'nited States vy. Barker, supra, Note 27, p. 42: Hamil-

ton v, United States, supra, p. 42.

** Paul S. Taylor, The Sailors’ Union of the Pacific (Ron-

ald Press, 1923), pp. 4649; United States Department of

Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bulletin No. 342, //er-

national Seamen's Union of America: A Study of its History

and Problems (1923), pp. 3-5.

The only case under the mutiny act which mentions a

union is the Avex case, decided in 1938 (see pp. 42-43.

supra), which expressly refrains from passing on the pres-

ent question,

45

Indeed, scamen during the nineteenth century

were regarded even by this Court “as deficient in

that full and intelligent responsibility for their

acts which is accredited to ordinary adults

* * *" (Robertson v. Baldwin, 165 U. S. 275,

287).

In none of the eases was the crew seeking to com-

pel the employer to cease disobeying a statutory

command, as is the ease here. The analogy of the

authorities which hold that a crew may rightfully

refuse to opdey orders if it reasonably believes a

vessel to be unseaworthy ™ suggests that the lawful-

ness of the demand has always been an important

factor.

Another group of cases which indicate that

strikes when a vessel] is safe in port are not illegal

have arisen out of attempts by employers te use

such strikes as a defense to suits by seamen for

wages. Although mutinous conduct works a for-

feiture of all wages due,* the right of the men to

recover in such eases has been upheld. Weisthoff

v. American-Hawatian S. S. Co., 79 F. (2d) 124

(C. C, A. 2), certiorari denied, 296 U.S, 619; The

Sonderburg, 47 F. (2d) 723 (C. C. A. 4), certiorari

denied, 284 U. S. 618; The Blake, 1 W. Rob. (:dm.

73, 166 Eng. Rep. 500 (1839). The Weisthoff

* United States y. Staley, supra, Note 27, p. 42; The Con-

dor, 196 Fed. 72 (S. DLN. Y., 1912) and cases cited.

* The Shawnee, 45 Fed. 769 (E. D. Wis. 1891): Tie Men-

tor, 17 Fed. Cas. No. 9427 (C. C. D. Mass., 1825).

46

ease involved a strike on a ship tied up in New

York harbor. The Circuit Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit stated (79 F. (2d), at 125):

The allegations that they attempted to

make a revolt and deserted so as to forfeit

their wages under 46 U. 8S. C., § 701 were

not sustained in the District Court, and we

do not find more than the making of de-

mands, some of which were ill-advised and

called for action they should have known

the master could not take, instead of putting

their case to him on tenable statutory

grounds which entitled them to their dis-

charge and pay. It was rather a case of

poor judgment and misunderstanding of

their rights than the gross misconduct

which will forfeit wages.

In The Sonderburg case the crew went on strike

on board the ship while it was safely moored in

Halifax. The master had the crew arrested and

charged with mutiny, but the Canadian court dis-

missed the mutiny charges. The crew thereafter

sailed the ship back to the United States. The

master: refused to pay them any but trifling

amounts, claiming a forfeiture on account of their

conduct at Halifax, but the court without ques-

tion aliowed them to recover their full wages.

In The Blake, supra, Dr. Lushington, in refus-

ing to forfeit the wages of intoxicated seamen

who had refused to work, declared:

47

It is also to be observed, that the occur-

rence took place in port, where the ship was

exposed to no hazard; and I draw a strong

line of distinction between disobedience of

orders in port, and any insubordination

whatever when the vessel is on the high

seas, where it might expose to destruc-

tion, the ship, cargo, and lives of all on

board.

We are not suggesting that offenses on a ves-

sel safely moored in port are not within the juris-

dictional limits of the mutiny statute, which ap-

plies to acts ‘‘within the admiralty and maritime

jurisdiction of the United States’’, but that a

peaceful refusal to work for a valid reason while

the ship is so located does not constitute a mutiny

or other violation of the statute’s substantive pro-

visions. A forceful usurpation of authority, even

when the vessel is tied to a dock, might come

within the statute. Cf. Peninsular and Occidenial

S. S. Co. v. National Labor Relations Board, 98

F. (2d) 411, 414 (C. C. A. 5), certiorari denied,

305 U. 8. 653.

Viewed as a whole, we think it fair to state that

the judicial authorities support our construction

of the maritime statutes as not outlawing peaceful

strikes by seamen on a vessel safely moored in an

American port, at least when the object of the

strike is clearly lawful. The modern cases appear

to recognize such a right, and the older ones all

deal with different situations.

48

This view of the statutes and cases is supported

by the reasons which underlie the stringent rules

of discipline applicable to seamen and the heavy

penalties imposed for disobedience. The basic

consideration is, of course, the safety of the vessel,

the passengers, the cargo, and the crew itself. In

addition there is the absence of civil authority

when the ship is at sea. Neither of these factors

is present when the vessel is safely * moored in an

American harbor,” and they certainly do not ap-

ply when the crew of a ship so situated is merely

* A vessel, even when moored to the dock, is not of ‘ourse

absolutely safe, any more than a factory, railroed train -or

automobile on shore is immune from all danger of fire or

accident. But since the chance of mishap does not differ

substantially in kind or degree from that on land, the need

for a special and different standard of discipline does not

exist.

* Petitioner's contention (Br., pp. 15-16, 23) that in es-

tablishing the legality of a strike a distinction must be

drawn between the “home port” of a ship and other ports in

the United States is without any basis. While the statutes

require each ship to have a “home port,” which may be

changed from time to time (Home Port Act of February

YG, 1925, «, 235, Sees, 1-2, 46 U.S. C.. $8 18 1012), the

aim of this enactment “was to simplify the previous techni-

cal ‘ifftculties surrounding the determination of the proper

place in which to record conveyances.” The Fort Orange, 5

F. Supp. 838, 842 (D.C. S. DLN. Y.).) The “home port” is

like the state of incorporation. Indeed it may be a port

which is never frequented by the ship. Hearing before the

Committee on the Merchant Marine and Fisheries, House of

Representatives, 68th Cong... 2d Sess.. January 26, 1925,

Home Ports of Vessels of the United States, pp. 16-17 (con-

cerning vessels sailing the Pacific ocean whose home port

was St. Paul, Minnesota). Cf. Ayer & Lord Tie Co. v.

Kentucky, 202 U.S. 409; Southern Pacific Co. v. Kentucky,

SAT ies RIES ACS

49

seeking to require the employer to accord them

their rights under the law.”

In Buddington v. Smith, 13 Conn. 3383, 335

(1839), the Supreme Court of Errors of Connec-

ticut, in holding that a master had no right to

imprison a seaman in port, declared :

The mariners of a ship at sea are at a

distance from all the ordinary restraints of

government, and of course, must be sub-

jected to other rules of discipline than those

who are under more immediate accountabil-

ity to law. The master, therefore, is in-

vested with absolute authority ; or, at least, a

power as great as that of a master over his

apprentice, or a parent over his child. His

orders, when not unlawful, must be obeyed ;

and he has a right to compel submission to

all reasonable requirements, by any punish-

ment not unusual or dangerous; and of

these punishments one of the most common

222 U. S. 63, 67. No case or statute has ever indicated

that labor had any different status in the ship’s “home port”

than in any other port.

** See Hearings Before the Committee on Merchant Ma-

rine and Fisheries, House of Representatives, 75th Cong., 1st

Sess., on H. J. Res. 121 and H. J. Res. 143. Exhibit entitled

“Report on the status and Working Conditions of Seamen

in the American Merchant Marine,” p. 192:

“The statutes relating to mutiny were designed to ensure

obedience to the master’s orders when the master must rely

upon his own authority to enferce obedience and when dis-

obedience may jeopardize the master’s authority and imperil

the safety of the ship. In a port of safety the master can

obtain the assistance of civil authorities, the ship is not im-

periled, and a strike by seamen is in consequence no differ-

ent from a strike by any other class of workers.”

50

is confinement on ship-board. The United

States v. Smith, 3 Wash. C. C. Rep. 523.

Michaelson v. Denison et al., 3 Day 294.

3 Kent’s Com. 181. The United States v.

Freeman, 4 Mason 412. The power is a

high power, but seems to be absolutely nec-

essary for the protection of the lives and

property entrusted to the master of a vessel,

while the mariners are removed from all

ordinary restraints. But when the ship is

in port, there is much less necessity for the

exercise of this authority; and still less for

the exercise of this authority on shore, es-

pecially in a civilized country. The master

of a vessel is, and must be, the commander,

on board; but on shore, he becomes weak as

other men.

See, also, The Blake, supra; The Condor, 196 Fed.,

at 74. |

Petitioner’s assertion (Br. pp. 26-27) that to

sustain the Board’s position ‘‘will be jeopardiz-

ing the present and future safety of our country”’

ignores the realities of the situation. Already the

shipowners and the various unions representing

ship personnel, including the Union here in-

volved, have entered into an industry-wide ar-

bitration agreement for the settlement of all dis-

putes during the emergency. The exercise of

the right to strike or lock-out is unconditionally

renounced by all parties for the duration of the

war. A Maritime War Emergency Board has

been set up, with a pledge that its decisions will

51

be accepted.” During the First World War a

similar development took place and the unions

earried out their end of the arrangemeut without

a single strike.” The fact that Congress had

given the seamen the status of free men by pass-

ing the Act of 1915 was used by the unions, when

a shortage of seamen appeared imminent, in issu-

ing calls to ‘‘all seafaring men ashore or afloat”’

‘“‘to prove that no enemy on the seas can stop the

ships of the Nation whose seamen bear the re-

sponsibility of liberty.’’“’ In connection with the

present war effort the Union here involved has

already issued a call to former seamen who have

taken land jobs to return to the sea tc fill a

* Arbitration Agreement in Shipping Industry, Labor

Relations Reporter, vol. 9, No. 18, pp. 463-464 (December

29, 1941); Maritime Arbitration, Business Week, January

10, 1942, p. 69; The Trades Unionist, American Federation

of Labor, Washington, D. C., January 17, 1942, p. 8.

“Proceedings of the Joint Shipping Industrial Confer-

ence, June 1919, p. 15; Keport of the Director of Marine

and Dock Industrial Relations Division, United States

Shipping Board, Marine and Dock Labor: Work, Wages,

and Industrial Relations During the Period of the War

(1918), pp. 15-27, 37, 40, 45-47, 164; Maritime Labor Board,

Report to the President and to the Congress, March 1, 1940,

pp. 33-34; Hearings before the Senate Committee on Com-

merce, 74th Cong., Ist Sess., on S. 2582, A Bill to Develop a

Strong American Merchant Marine, te Promote the Com-

merce of the United States, to Aid National Defense, and

For Other Purposes, pp. 482-434.

“” Hearings before the Senate Committee on Commerce,

74th Cong., 1st Sess., on S. 2582, p. 432.

52

‘growing shortage of sailors.“ All government

investigations dealing both with the experiences

of the last war and conditions since point to the

need for the development of ‘‘self-respecting

equality’? between employer and seamen rather

than the ‘‘traditional disciplinary roie’’ as a pre-

requis te for a stable and sound merchant ma-

rine.“

2. Even if, in a technical sense, the strikers’ conduct were

legal, the strikers would not have forfeited their right

to reinstatement under the National Labor Relations Act

This case arises under the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, not under the statute relating to revolt

and mutiny. The mutiny statute is relevant only

by way of justification for a refusal to reinstate

which otherwise would plainly have been required

under the Labor Relations Act.

It does not foliow, however, that all conduct

which is unlawful under some other statutory pro-

* New York Times, January 10, 1942.

** Maritime Labor Board, Report to the President and to

the Congress, March 1, 1940, pp. 26, 28-30: H. Doc.

No. 392, 75th Cong., 2d Sess.. U. S. Maritime Commission,

Economic Survey of the American Merchant Marine (No-

vember 10, 1937), pp. 46-49; U. S. Maritime Commission,

Economic Survey of Coastwise and Intercoastal Shipping

(March 15, 1929), pp. 61-64; Federal Coordinator of Trans-

portation, Section of Labor Relations, Hours, Wages, and

Working Conditions in Domestic Water Transportatien

(September 1936), pp. 221-223; Testimony of Secretary of

Labor Perkins, Hearings before the Committee on Com-

merce and the Committee on Education and Labor, U. S.

Senate, 75th Cong., 3rd Sess., on S. 3078, pp. 974-975

(February 4, 1938).

53

vision affords an employer such _ justification.

Both before and since the Fansteel decision it has

been held repeatedly that technical or minor vio-

lations of law by employees on strike because of

an unfair labor practice do not prevent the Board

from ordering reinstatement. National Labor

Relations Board v. Remington Rand, Inc., 94

F. (2d) 862, 872 (C. C. A. 2), certiorari denied,

304 U.S. 576, 585; National Labor Relations Board

v. Carlisle Lumber Co., 94 F. (2d) 138, 146 (C. C.

A. 9), certiorari denied, 304 U. S. 575; National

Labor Relations Board v. Reed & Prince Mfg. Co.,

118 F. (2) 874, 888 (C. C. A. 1), certiorari denied,

313 U. S. 595; National Labor Relations Board v.

Stackpole Carbon Co., 105 F. (2d) 167, 176 (C. ©.

A. 3), certiorari denied, 308 U. S. 605; Republic

Stcel Corp. v. National Labor Relations Board, 107

F. (2d) 472, 479 (C. C. A. 3), certiorari denied on

this point, 310 U. 8. 655; National Labor Relations

Board v. Colten, 105 F. (2d) 179, 183 (C. C. A. 6);

see also Stewart Die Casting Corp. v. National

Labor Relations Board, 114 F. (2d) 849, 855

(C.C. A. 7), certiorari denied, 312 U.S. 680; Note,

Employee Misconduct under the Wagner Act; De-

velopments since the Fansteel Case, 39 Col. L.

Rev. 1369. Thus, in the Reed & Prince ease, the

court declared that the Fanstcel decision ‘‘is not

applicable to bar a Board order reinstating em-

ployees guilty of minor breaches of peace on the

picket line”’ (118 F. (2d), at 888).

o4

Since both major and minor offenses are unlaw-

ful, these cases inticate that the fact that an em-

ployee has violated a law does not in itself always

bar reinstatement. The proper criterion for

differentiation is, we submit, to be found in the

Labor Relations Act itself. That act authorizes

the Board to order “such affirmative action, in-

cluding reinstatement of employees * * *, as

will effectuate the policies of this Act’’ (Section

10 (c)). The policy of the Act is to preserve in-

dustrial peace by preventing employers from inter-

- fering with the choice of representatives by

employees or from refusing to bargain collectively.

It is not the purpose of the Act, of course, to pro-

tect employees who violate other laws, whether the

violation be petty or gross. Cf. National Labor

Relations Board vy. Federal Bearings Co., 109

F, (2d) 945 (C. C. A. 2).

But it would not be consistent with the policy

of the Act for employers who provoke their work-

men to strike by unfair labor practices te escape

the normal consequences of their conduct because

the employees committed those minor offenses

which all employers know frequently accompany

strikes. We believe this to be the rationale of

the cases cited. In the Republic Steel case the

Cireuit Court of Appeals declared (107 F. (2d),

at 479) :

ow)

In the Fansteel case the court was dealing

with a case which involved a sit-down strike

in which the strikers forcibly and unlaw-

fully deprived their employer of possession

of his plant. The court made it clear that

unlawful conduct of that character deprived

the participant of the right of reinstate-

ment. We think it must be conceded, how-

ever, that some disorder is unfortunately

quite usual in any extensive or long drawn

out strike. A strike is essentially a battle

waged with economic weapons. Engaged in

it are human beings whose feelings are

stirred to the depths. Rising passions call

forth hot words. Hot words lead to blows

on the picket line. The transformation

from economic to physical combat by those

engaged in the contest is difficult to prevent

even when cool heads direct the fight. Vio-

lence of this nature, however much it is to

be regretted, must have been in the contem-

plation of the Congress when it provided in

Sec. 13 of the Act, 29 U.S. C. A., § 163, that

nothing therein should be zonstrued so as to

interfere with or impede or diminish in any

way the right to strike. If this were not so

the rights afforded to employees by the Act

would be indeed illussry. We accordingly

recently held that it was not intended by the

Act that minor disorders of this nature

should deprive a striker of the possibility of

reinstatement. National Labor Relations

Board vy. Stackpole Carbon Co., supra.

56

‘he court there held that strikers who had been

convicted of offenses which would not normally

accompany a strike, such as discharging firearms,

earrying concealed weapons, obstructing railroad

tracks and telephone messages, malicious destruc-

tion of property, and serious assault and battery

should not be reinstated but that (p. 480) :

As to the remaining offenses proved te

have been committed we are satisfied from

their character and from the small penalties

imposed that they were all sufficiently minor

to come within our decision in the Stack-

pole case and the order of the Board direet-

ing the reinstatement of the persons in-

volved in them will be enforced.

In the ins'aut case, as we have shown (supre,

pp. 25, 52), the conduct of the strikers was prob-

ably not unlawful at all. But even if the refusal

to obev orders which, of course, occurs in every

strike, should be deemed unlawful under the

mutiny statute, the violation would be at most

a technical one. Indeed, the penalties imposed in

eases of mere refusal to work by seamen, even

when the vessel was not tied up safely in an Amev-

iean port, show that violations of the mutiny law

in such circumstances are not regarded as more

serious than minor breaches of the peace.”

“The penalties disclosed in reported cases dealing with

peaceful cessation of work, whether in American or ——

harbors, were as follows:

United States v. Lynch, 26 Fed. Cas. No. 15,648 (C. C.

D. N.Y.) (NX. Y., 60 days plus $1); United States v. Nye, 27

57

In this case the conduct of the employees was

provoked and caused by petitioner’s unlawful re-

fusal to bargain. Petitioner’s persistent refusal to

acknowledge communications from or to see or

speak to the chosen representative made a strike

neither unlikely nor unreasonable. The strikers

did not engage even in the minor disorders re-

ferred to in the eases cited (supra, p. 53). There

was only the refusal to work, of which a strike, by

definition, necessarily consists. The reinstatement

of strikers who sought only to force the employer

to bargain collectively ard thus comply with the

Labor Relations Act in such circumstances obvi-

ously serves to effectuate the policies of that Act.

Even if the mere act of striking might be deemed

to violate some other law, the nature of the offense

should be weighed in relation to the nature of the

rights guaranteed by the Labor Relations Act.

Where, as here, there is doubt as to whether the

mutiny statute has been violated at all, and where

the violation, if any, would be relatively trivial,

and of no greater consequence than a breach of the

peace, the policy of the Labor Relations Act rather

than of the mutiny act should prevail.

Fed. Cas. No. 15,906 (C. C. D. Mass. 1855) (Boston, 30

days); United States v. Seagrist, 27 Fed. Cas. No. 16,245

(C.C.S. D. N. Y. 1860) (Palermo, Sicily, 30 days plus $19) ;

Hamilton v. United States, 268 Fed. 15 (C. C. A. 4, 1920)

certiorari denied, 254 U. S. 645 (Bermuda, 2 days plus

$50); Rees v. United States, 95 F. (2d) 784 (C. C. A. 4,

1938) (Montevideo, 2 months or $50); United States v.

Albers, 115 F. (2d) 833 (C. C. A. 2, 1940) (Ceylon, up to

3 months).

58

This does not mean that the seamen’s conduct,

should it be deemed to violate the mutiny

act, need go unpunished. If the prosecuting

officials of the Government are of opinion that that

statute has been viclated, they may institute pro-

ceedings, just as state officials have power to pun-

ish disorderly picketers for breach of the peace,

independent of anything the Labor Board may

order. But the employer, who had illegally pro-

-voked the conduct, should be required to remedy,

by reinstatement, the wrong which led to the

trouble.

For these reasons we suggest that it is unneces-

sary for this Court to determine whether or not

the strikers’ conduct here violated the provisions

of the laws against mutiny and revolt. For even

if it did, the National Labor Relations Board had

power to order the strikers reinstated.

C. THE SO-CALLED BREACH OF SHIPPING ARTICLES CONSTITUTED

NO VALID GROUND FOR THE DISCHARGES

Petitioner further maintains (Br., pp. 3, 6-8,

9-27, 34) that the seamen of the City of Fort

Worth did not have the right to strike at Houston

because at the time they were serving under ship-

Ping articles which provided that—

* * * the said crew agree to conduct

themselves in an orderly, faithful, honest,

and sober manner, and to be at all times

diligent in their respective duties, and to

be obedient to the lawful commands of the

said Master * * * in everything relat-

a —_—-- —_——

59

ing to the vessel * * * whether on

board, in boats, or on shore; (R. 681).

The articles, which are in a form prescribed by

law (46 U. S. C., See. 564), do not contain an

explicit agreement not to strike. The agreement

to be cbhedient to the directions of superiors is of

course implicit in every employment relationship.

The articles merely make explicit that implicit

obligation. As both the Board (R. 31) and the

court below (R. 778-780) held, all strikes neces-

sarily involve disobedience to this implied agree-

ment. But under the Act such disobedience can-

not justify a discharge; not only is the right to

strike guaranteed to employees by the provision

in Section 7 that ‘‘emplovees shall have the

right * * * to engage in concerted activities,

for the purpose of collective bargaining or other

mutual aid or protection,’’ but even more spe-

cifically, Section 2 (3) provides that employees

who cease work in connection with a current labor

dispute or because of unfair labor practices shall

continue to be employees, It is a necessary corol-

lary that the breach of the employment contract

involved in striking does not protect an employer

in discharging an employee. National Labor Re-

lations Board v. Mackay Radio & Tel. Corp., 304

U.S. 333, 346.

Furthermore, here the employees ceased work

because of the employer’s unfair labor practices,

and it is well established that the Board may order

440963—42——5

60

reinstatement of persons who strike in such circum-

stances regardless of whether there may be a

technical breach of the employment contract. See

eases cited supra, p.-19.

The instant situation is to be distinguished from

that presented by an agreement not to strike,

validly entered into by a bona fide labor organiza-

tion as a result of collective bargaining. Whether

breach of such a collective obligation permits dis-

charge need not be determined here. Shipping

articles are individual contracts (Oliver v. Alez-

ander, 6 Pet. 148; Peninsular & Occidental S. S.

Co. vy. National Labor Relations Board, 98 F. (2d)

411, 414 (C. C. A. 5), certiorari denied, 505 U. S.

653) and eannot lawfully be construed to include

a renunciation of the right to strike. Cf. National

Licorice Co. v. National Labor Relations Board,

309 U. S. 350, 360-361; National Labor Relations

Board y. American Mfg. Co., 106 F. (2d) 61, 66-

67 (C. C. A. 2), affirmed, 309 U. S. 629; National

Labor Relations Board v. Hopwood Retinning Co.,

98 F. (2d) 97 (C. C. A. 2); Western Union Tele-

graph Co. v. National Labor Relations Board, 113

F’, (2d) 992, 994-995 (C. C. A. 2).

That shipping articles are not to be construed

as a limitation upon the right to strike is shown

by National Labor Relations Board v. Water-

man Steamship Corp., 309 U. 8. 206, 210-212, in

which this Court indicated that the articles were

intended to give employees who yo to sea added

61

protections, not to deprive them of the rights and

incidents of employment normal to that relation-

ship on land.

Finally, even if the conduct of the seamen were

to be adjudged solely on the basis of strict con-

tract law, petitioner is not aided by the fact that

the strike may have constituted a technical breach

of contract. For petitioner waived the breach by

continuing after the strike to receive the services

of the seamen. Although the master of the ship

and petitioner’s local shipping agent in Houston

were authorized by petitioner to discharge and re-

place the crew at Houston (R. 569-573, 644, 481-

482), thev did not do so, but allowed the men to

return to their former positions and to continue

in the employ of petitioner for seven days before

the men were discharged (R. 295-297, 299-300,

375-377, 388, 502). An employer who “‘has cause

justifying * * * discharge’’ but who ‘‘never-

theless continues, with knowledge of the facts, to

receive the benefit of the servant’s service * * *

cannot afterwards make the breach ground for

discharge.’’ 3 Williston, Contracts, Rev. Ed., §

725, p. 2062; cf. National Labor Relations

Board vy. Federal Bearings Co., 109 F. (2d) 945

(C. C. A. 2).

62

IT

THE BOARD’S FINDING THAT THE EMPLOYMENT RELA-

TIONSHIP CONTINUED AFTER THE SIGNING OFF OF

SHIPPING ARTICLES IS SUPPORTED BY SUBSTANTIAL

EVIDENCE; IN ANY EVENT PETITIONER DISCRIMI-

NATED AGAINST THE MEN BY FAILING TO REHIRE

THEM |

Petitioner urges (Br., pp. 27-32) that the

tenure of employment of the seamen of the City

of Fort Worth automatically terminated when

they signed off shipping articles at the conclusion

ef the voyage at Philadelphia, and hence that peti-

tioner did not then discharge them in violation of

the Act. The Board, however, found that ‘‘the

tenure of employment of the [petitioner’s] sea-

men is not terminated by the mere expiration of

shipping articles” (R. 27-28), and the court below

sustained the tinding (R. 773-774). The evidence

amply sustains the concurrent holdings of the

Board and lower court upon this issue of fact.

Cf. National Labor Relations Board v. Falk Corp.,

308 U. S. 453, 461.

The five men here involved had worked ¢on-

tinuously for, petitioner without regard for the

expiration of articles; although each round-trip

voyage of the City of Fort Worth took about 25

days (R. 413-414, 213, 278), the men had been in

petitioner’s employ for periods ranging from 6

weeks to 18 months (R. 124-125, 177-178, 196-197,

213, 278). According to petitioner’s custom, its

63

seafnen ordinarily signed new articles when sign-

ing off the old, but even when they did not, they

nevertheless considered themselves engaged for the

next voyage unless expressly notified to the con-

trary (R. 153-154, 184-185, 199-201, 221--223, 300-

301). Indeed, petitioner encouraged continuous

employment by the payment of a bonus to each

employee who completed a year of work (R. 185).

Finally, petitioner’s officers all referred to the

men as having been ‘‘discharged”’ or “‘fired’’ upon

the arrival of the vessel at Philadelphia because

of their strike activity (R. 201-202, 224-225, 284,

338, 390-391, 394, 461-462, 491-492, 515), thus

impiicitly recognizing, as ‘“‘maritime people gen-

erally’’ have, that the ‘‘seaman’s tenure and rela-

tionship to his ship and employer are not ter-

minated by the mere expiration of articles.”’ Na-

tional Labor Relations Board v. Waterman Steam-

ship Corp., 309 U. S. 206, 218; cf. South Atlantic

Steamship Co. v. National Labor Relations Board,

116 F. (2d) 480 (C. C. A. 5), certiorari denied, 313

U. S. 582.

This Court’s decision in the Waterman case is

direetly in point. The differences in the evidence

upon which petitioner relies are matters of detail

and not of substance.

But in any event, petitioner’s contention, even

if true, is completely immaterial. For if the em-

ployment relation did terminate by the signing off

of articles, petitioner’s discriminatory refusal to

64

rehire the men because of their union activity was,

as the Board found in the alternative (R. 28n),

equally an unfair labor practice under Section

8 (3) and (1) of the Act. Phelps Dodge Corp. v.

National Labor Relations Board, 313 U. 8. 177.

ITI

PETITIONER WAS NOT IMPROPERLY EXCLUDED FROM

THE BALLOTING FOR COLLECTIVE BARGAINING REPRE-

SENTATIVES; IN ANY EVENT PETITIONER’S REFUSAL

TO BARGAIN VIOLATED SECTION 8 (1) AND (5) OF

THE ACT

Petitioner challenges (Br., pp. 32-33) the cer-

tification of the Union as exclusive representative,

and the consequent finding of re. sal to bargain,

on the ground that the Board refused to permit

employer representatives to be present at the bal-

loting conducted on one of its seven ships (see pp.

3-4, supra).

The court below (R. 770-771) held that in ex-

cluding petitioner’s representatives, the Board

acted within its discretionary power to govern the

conduct of elections. This ruling, which is in ac-

cord with the only other decision directly in point

(Marltin-Rockwell Corp. v. National Labor Rela-

tions Board, M6 F. (2d) 586 (C. C. A. 2), certio-

rari denied, 313 U. S. 594), is clearly correct.

While the presence of employer representatives

may be helpful to Board representatives who con-

duct the election in their duty to determine the

eligibility of the voters, the presence of company

65

representatives may have the effect, though per-

haps unintended, of inhibiting the employees so

that the election results do not reflect the free and

independent choice contemplated by the Act.“

Accordingly, as a general rule the Board has not

allowed employer representatives to be present at

the polls unless the labor organization involved

consents. Third Annual Report of the National

Labor Relations Board (1938), p. 147."

The dccisions of this Court recognize that the

Board has wide discretion in determining the steps

necessary to insure a fair election. ‘‘The control

of the election proceeding and the determination

of the steps necessary to conduct that election fairly

were matters which Congress entrusted to the

Board alone.’’ Nattonal Labor Relations Board v.

Waterman Steamship Corp., 309 U. 8. 206, 226; sce

also National Labor Relations Board v. Falk Corp.,

308 U. 8. 453, 458.

“As the court below stated: “* * * it [the Board]

may. take the view, as it evidently did in this instance, that

since the presence of such representatives, unléss’ consented

to, might operate in some degree to coerce the empioyees and

prevent them from expressing their free choice, some other

means of identifying voters should be employed. The Act

confers no right upon the employer to have its representa-

tives present, and it is obvious that their presence is not

essential to a fair election” (R. 770-771).

‘* Employer representatives were not permitted to be pres-

ent at elections conducted by the old National Labor Board

which administered section 7 (a) of the National Industrial

Recovery Act. Lorwin & Wubnig, Labor Relations Boards

(Brookings Institution, 1935), pp. 159-161.

66

The Railway Labor Act, upon which the Na-

tional Labor Relations Act is modelled* specifi-

cally provides that the National Mediation Board

shall hold its elections ‘‘in such manner as shall

insure the choice of representatives by the em-

ployees without interference, influence, or coercion

exercised by the carrier.’’ Sec. 2 (9), 48 Stat.

1185 (45 U.S. C., See. 152 (Ninth)). It has been

the uniform practice under that statute not to per-

mit the representatives of employers to be present

at elections.“

' This result is consistent with, if not compelled

by, the basic theory of both the Railway Labor

Act and the National Labor Relations Act. Em-

ployees are to select their own collective bargain-

ing representatives, without interference by the

employer. Just as employees have no right to be

represented when the stockholders of a company

elect directors or directors choose personnel offi-

cers, SO it is none of the employer’s business whom

the employees choose to represent them. Cf. Na-

tional Labor Relations Board v. Jones Foundry

& Machine Co., 123 F. (2d) 552, 555 (C. C. A. 7).

Since the employer has no legitimate interest in the

** National Labor Relations Board vy. Jones & Laughlin

Steel Corp., 301 U. 8.1, 44; H. J. Heinz Co. v. National Labor

Relations Board, 311 U.S. 514, 524-525.

National Mediation Board, First Annual Report,

(1935), p. 4. The National Mediation Board has informed

the Department of Justice that its practice is not to permit

employer representatives to be present at elections.

67

result of the election, he has no legal standing to

be represented at the election.

Moreover, petitioner has not suggested and can-

not suggest any way in which the presence of its

representative would have affected the final re-

sult of the election.” The absence of an observer,

or of the correct observer, for one of the con-

testing labor organizations has been held to be

immaterial under the Railway Labor Act in the

absence of a showing that the election was not

honestly and fairly conducted. Virginian Ry. Co.

v. System Federation No. 40, 11 F. Supp. 621,

628, affirmed, 84 F. (2d) 641, affirmed, 300 U. S.

515; National Federation of Railway Workers v.

National Mediation Board, 110 F. (2d) 529, 534—

535 (App. D. C.), certiorari denied, 310 U. S. 628.

Even where statutes require that election officers

be appointed in a certain way or be divided be-

tween opposing parties, an election is not invali-

dated if the statute is not complied with as long

as the result of the election is not shown to be

affected. Choisser v. York, 211 Ill. 56, 71 N. E.

940; Gilleland v. Schuyler, 9 Kan. 569; People v.

* Any influence which tlie presence of its representative

might have had upon the election would have been in viola-

tion of the Act. When, during the oral argument (Tr. pp.

4-5), counsel for petitioner was asked by the Chairman of

the Board whether he claimed “that there was anything

wrong about the election or about the counting of the ballots,”

he replied only that he stood on his “objection to the ex-

clusion of any representative from this election for the pur-

pose of identifying voters or of observing the election.”

68

Cook, 8 N. Y. 67, 59 Am. Dec. 451; Ward v.

Kropf, 120 N. Y. Supp. 476; Hawthorne v. State,

116 Ala. 489, 22 So. 894; Sanders v. Lacks, 142 Mo.

255, 43 S. W. 653; State ex rel. McMillan v. Sadler,

25 Nev. 131, 58 Pac. 284; Carabajal v. Lucero, 22

N. Mex. 30, 158 Pac. 1088; Dial v. Hollandsworth

39 W. Va. 1, 19 S. E. 557. See 1 A. L. R. 1535,

1536."

Petitioner’s theory seems to be that the Board’s

failure to permit its observer to be present at the

election invalidated the certification, and that in

.the absence of a valid certification petitioner was

not obligated to bargain. But under the statute

an employer must bargain with the representative

chosen by the majority of his employers irrespec-

tive of whether any certification has been issued.

E. g., National Labor Relations Board v. Bradford

Dyeing Ass’n, 310 U.S. 318. Petitioner has never

suggested that the union has not represented a

majority of the employees.”

* For example, in Carabajal vy. Luceero, supra, an-eleetion

was not set aside, although all three judges, in violation of

statute, were members of the same political party.

** We do not, read the stipulation (R. 114), in which the

parties agreed that the validity of the certification depended

upon the validity of the Board’s ruling as to the exclusien of

company representatives from the election, as challenging

the fact that the union actually did obtain the majority of the

votes cast in the election. See Note 50, supra, p. 67.

69

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons it is respectfully sub-

mitted that the judgment of the court below

should be affirmed.

CHARLES FaHy,

Solicitor General.

Rosert L. STERN,

Attorney.

/

VY

Rosert B. Warts,

General Counse?,

ERNEST A, GROSS,

Associate General Counsel,

Morris P. GLUSHIEN,

RutH WEYAND,

Atiorneys,

National Labor Relations Board.

Fepsrvuary 1942.

APPENDIX

1

The pertinent provisions of the National Labor

Relations Act (Act of July 5, 1935, ¢. 372, 49

Stat. 449; 29 U. S. C., Sec. 151 et seq.) are as

follows:

Sec. 2. When used in this Act—

x . * at

(3) The term ‘‘employee’’ shall include

any employee, and shall not be limited to

the employees of a particular employer,

unless the Act explicitly states otherwise,

and shall include any individual whose work

has ceased as a consequence of, or in con-

nection with, any current labor dispute or

because of any unfair labor practice, and

who has nct obtained any other regular and

substantially equivalent employment, but

shall not include any individual employed

as an agricuitural laborer, or in the domes-

tic service of any family or person at his

home, or any individual employed by bys

parent or apron.

-« * ~ *

Src. 7. Employees shall have the right to

~ self-organization, to form, join, or assist

labor organizations, to bargain collectively

through representatives of their own choos-

ing, and to engage in concerted activities,

for the purpose of collective bargaining or

other mutual aid or protection.

(70)

71

Sec. 8. It shall be an unfair iabor prac-

tice for an employer—

(1) To interfere with, restrain, or coerce

employees in the exercise of the rights

guaranteed in section 7.

. * * * 7

(3) By discrimination in regard to hire or

tenure of employment or any term or condi-

tion of employment to encourage or discour-

age membership in any labor organization:

* * ~ 7 -

(5) To refuse to bargain collectively with

the representatives of his empioyees, subject

to the provisions of Section $ (a).

Sec. 9. (a) Representatives designated or

selected for the purposes of collective bar-

gaining by the majority of the employees

in a unit appropriate for such purposes,

shall be the exclusive representatives of all

the employees in such unit for the purposes

of collective bargaining in respect to rates

of pay, wages, hours of employment, or

other conditions of employment : 5 eg

- ” * *

(ce) Whenever a question affecting com-

merce arises concerning the representation

- of employees, the Board may investigate

such controversy and certify to the. parties,

in writing, the name or names of the repre-

sentatives that have been designated or se-

lected. In any such investigation, the Boara

shall provide for an appropriate hearing

upon due notice, either in conjunction with

a proceeding under section 10 or otherwise,

and may take a secret ballot of employees,

or utilize any other suitable method to as-

certain such representatives.

* * ” * *

72

Sec. 10. willing

(ce) aes If u n all the testimony

taken the Board shall “ of the opinion that

any person named in the phot. te has en-

gaged in or is engaging in any such unfair

labor practice, then the Board shall state

its findings of fact and shall issue and cause

to be served on such perseun an order requir-

ing such person to cease and desist from

such unfair labor practice, and to take such

affirmative action, including reinstatement

of employees with or without back pay,

as_ will effectuate the policies of this

|” he

Sec. 13. Nothing i in this Act shall be con-

strued so as to interfere with or impede or

diminish iu any way the right to strike.

2

Sections 1 and 2 of the Act of March 3, 1835,

c. 40, 4 Stat. 775-776, as reenacted in Sections 292

and 293 of the Criminal Code, 35 Stat. 1146 and

now contained in 18 U.S. C. §§ 483 and 484, read

as follows:

Sec. 483. INcrTING REVOLT OR MUTINY ON

SHTPBOARD.

Whoever, being of the crew of a vessel

of the United States, on the high seas, or

on any other waters within the admiralty

and maritime jurisdiction of the United

States, endeavors to make a revolt or

mutiny on board such vessel, or combines,

conspires, or confederates with any other

person on board to make such revolt or

mutiny, or solicits, incites, or stirs up any

other of the crew to disobey or resist the

lawful orders of the master or other officer

of such vessel, or to refuse or neglect their

)

73

proper duty on board thereof, or to betray

their proper trust, or assembles with others

in a tumultuous and mutinous manner, or

makes a riot on board thereof, or unlaw-

fully confines the master or other command-

ing officer thereof, shall be fined not more

than $1,000, or imprisoned not more than

five years or both.

Sec. 484. REVOLT OR MUTINY ON SHIPBOARD.

Whoever, being of the crew of a vessel of

the United States, on the high seas, or on

any other waters within the admiralty and

maritime jurisdiction of the United States,

unlawfully and with force, or by fraud, or

intimidation, usurps the eommand of such

vessel from the master or other lawful offi-

cer in command thereof, or deprives him of

authority and command on board, or resists

or prevents him in the free and lawful exer-

cise thereof, or transfers such authority

and command to another not lawfully en-

titled thereto, is guilty of a revolt and

mutiny, and shall be fined not more than

$2,000 and imprisoned not more than ten

years.

3

A

Section 51 of the Act of June 7, 1872, c. 322, 17

Stat. 262, 273-274, as reenacted in the Revised

Statutes in 1878, Section 4596, reads as follows:

Whenever any seaman who has been law-

fully engaged, or any apprentice to the sea-

service, commits any of the following

offenses, he shall be punishable as follows:

First. For desertion, by imprisonment for

not more than three months, and by for-

feiture of all or any part of the clothes or

effects he leaves on board, and of all or any

part of the wages or emoluments which he

has then earned.

74

Second. For neglecting and refusing,

without reasonable cause, to join his ves-

sei, or to proceed to sea in his vessel, or for

absence without leave at any time within

twenty-four hours of the vessel sailing from

any port, either at the commencement or

during the progress of any voyage; or for

absence at any time without leave, and with-

out sufficient reason, from his vessel, or

from his duty, not amounting to desertion,

or not treated as such by the master; by im-

prisonment for not more then one month,

and also, at the discretion of .:e court, by

forfeiture of his wages, of not more than

two days’ pay, and, for every twenty-four

hours of absence, either a sum not exceeding

six days’ pay, or any expenses which have

been properly incurred in hiring a substi-

tute.

Third. For quitting the vessel without

leave after her arrival at her port of deliv-

ery, and before she is placed in security, by

forfeiture out of his wages of not more than

one month’s pay.

Fourth. For willful disobedience to any

lawful commands, by imprisonment for not

more than two months, and also, at the dis-

cretion of the court, by forfeiture out of his

wages of not more than four days’ pay.

Fifth. For continued willful disobedience

to lawful commands, or continued willful

neglect of duty, by imprisonment for not

more than six months, and also, at the dis-

. eretion of the court, by forfeiture, for every

twenty-four hours’ continuance of such dis-

obedience or neglect, of either a sum not

more than twelve days’ pay, or sufficient to

defray any expensas which have been prop-

erly incurred in hiring a substitute.

4%

cF

hy

~ Wel

~~.

ov

Sixth. For assaulting any master or mate,

by imprisonment for not more than two

years.

Seventh. For combining with any others

of the crew to disobey lawful commands, or

to neglect duty, or to impede navigation of

the vessel, or the progress of the voyage, by

imprisonment for not more than twelve

months.

Eighth. For willfully damaging’ the ves-

sel, or embezzling or willfully damaging any

of the stores or cargo, by forfeiture out of

his wages, of - sum equal in amount to the

loss thereby sustained, and also, at the dis-

eretion of the court, by imprisonment for

not more than twelve months.

Ninth. For any act of smuggling of

which he is convicted, and whereby loss or

damage is oceasioned to the master or

owner, he shal) be liable to pay such master

or owner such a sum as is sufficient to re-

imburse the master or owner for such loss

or damage; and the whole or any part of

his wages may be retained in satisfaction or

on account of such liability; and he shall

also be liable to imprisonment for a period

of not more than twelve months.

4

Section 4596 of the Revised Statutes, as

amended by Section 19 of the Act of December 21,

1898, c. 28, 30 Stat. 755, 760, reads as follows:

Sec. 4596. The words ‘‘domestic trade’’

in this.section shall include trade between

ports of the United States and trade be-

tween ports of the United States and the

Dominion of Canada, Newfoundland, the

West Indies, and Mexico. The words ‘‘for-

440963—42-—-—-6

76

eign trade’’ shall include trade between

ports of the United States and foreign

ports, except as above specified, and trade

between Atlantic and Pacific ports of the

United States. Whenever any seaman who

has been lawfully engaged or any appren-

tice to the sea service commits any of the

following offenses he shall be punishable as

follows:

First. For desertion, if the offense occur

at a port of the United States, or a for-

eign port in the domestic trade, by for-

feiture of all or any part of the clothes or

effects he leaves on board and of all or any

part of the wages or emoluments which he

has then earned. If the offense occur at

a foreign port in the foreign trade, by

forfeiture of all or any part of the clothes

or effects he leaves on board and of all or

any part of tle wages or emoluments which

he has then earned; and also, at the dis-

cretion of the court, by imprisonment for

not more than one month.

Second. For neglecting or refusing, with-

out reasonable cause, to join his vessel or

to proceed to sea in his vessel, or for ab-

sence without leave at any time within

twenty-four hours of the vessel’s sailing

from any port, either at the commencement

or during the progress of any voyage, or

for absence at any time without leave and

without sufficient reason from his vessel or

from his duty, not amounting to deser-

tion or not treated as such by the master,

if the offense occur at a port of the United

States or a foreign port in the domestic

trade, by a forfeiture from his wages of

not more than two days’ pay, or sufficient

to defray any expenses which have been

properly incurred in hiring a substitute:

77

or if the offense occur at a foreign port,

in the foreign trade, by a forfeiture from

his wages of not more than two days’ pay,

or, at the discretion of the court, by im-

prisonment for not more than one month.

Third. For quitting the vessel, in what-

ever trade engaged, at a foreign or domes-

tie port, without leave after her arrival at

her port of delivery and before she is placed

in security, by forfeiture from his wages

of not more than one month’s pay.

Fourth. For willful disobedience to any

lawful command at sea, by being, at the

option of the master, placed in irons until

such disobedience shall cease, and upon

arrival in port, if of the United States, by

forfeiture from his wages of not more than

four days’ pay, or upon arrival in a foreign

port by forfeiture from his wages of not

more than four days’ pay, or, at the discre-

tion of the court, by imprisonment for not

more than one month.

Fifth. For continued willful disobedience

to lawful command or continued willful neg-

lect of duty at sea by being, at the option

of the master, placed in irons, on bread and

water, with full rations every fifth day,

until such disobedience shall cease, and upon

arrival in port, if of the United States, by

forfeiture, for every twenty-four hours’

continuance of such disobedience or neglect,

of either a sum of not more than twelve

days’ pay or sufficient to defray any ex-

penses which have been properly incurred

in hiring a substitute, or upon arrival in a

foreign port, in addition to the above pen-

alty, by imprisonment for not more than

three months, at the discretion of the court.

Sixth. For assaulting any master or mate,

in whatever trade engaged, by imprison-

ment for not more than two years.

78

Seventh. For willfully damaging the ves-

sel, or embezzling or willfully damaging any

of the stores or cargo, in whatever trade

engaged, by forfeiture out of his wages of

@ sum equal in amount to the loss thereby

sustained, and also, at the discretion of the

court, by imprisonment for not more than

twelve months.

Eighth. For any act of smuggling for

which he is convicted, and whereby loss or

damage is occasioned to the master or

owner, in whatever trade engaged, he shall

be liable to pay such master or owner such

a sum as is sufficient to reimburse the mas-

ter or owner for such loss or damage; and

the whole or any part of his wages may

be retained in satisfaction or on a‘ ount of

such liability; and he shall be lial « to im-

prisonment for a period of not m :; than

twelve months.

5

Section 4596 of the Revised Statutes, as amended

by Section 7 of the Act of March 4, 1915, ¢. 153,

38 Stat. 1164, 1166-1167, and as now contained,

with subsequent immaterial amendments, in 46

U.S. C. See. 701, reads as follows:

VARIOUS OFFENSES ; PENALTIES

Whenever any seaman who has been law-

fully engaged or any apprentice to the sea

service commits any of the following of-

fenses, he shall be punished as follows:

First. For desertion, by forfeiture of all

or any part of the elothes or effects he

leaves or board and of all or any part of

the — or emoluments which he has then

earned.

79

Second. For neglecting or refusing with-

out reasonable cause to join his vessel or to

proceed to sea in his vessel, or for absence

without leave at any time within twenty-

four hours of the vessel’s sailing from any

Dort, either at the commencement or during

the progress of the voyage, or for absence

at any time without leave and without suffi-

cient reason from his vessel and from his

duty, not amounting to desertion, by for-

feiture from his wages of not more than

two days’ pay or sufficient to defray any

expenses which shall have been properly in-

curred in hiring a substitute.

Third. For quitting the vessel without

leave, after her arrival at the port of her

delivery and before she is placed in security,

by forfeiture from his wages of not more

than one month’s pay.

Fourth. For willful disobedience to any

lawful command at sea, by being, at the

option of the master, placed in irons until

such disobedience shall cease, and upon ar-

rival in port by forfeiture from his wages

of not more than four days’ pay, or, at the

discretion of the court, by imprisonment for

not more than one month.

lith. For continued willful disobedience

to lawful command or continued willful

neglect of duty at sea, by being, at the op-

tion of the master, placed in irons, on bread

and water, with full rations every fifth day,

until such disobedience shall cease, and upon

arrival in port by forfeiture, for every

twenty-four hours’ continuance of such diso-

bedience or neglect, of a sum of not more

than twelve days’ pay, or by imprisonment

for not more than three months, at the dis-

cretion of the court.

80

Sixth. For assaulting any master, mate,

pilot, engineer, or staff officer, by imprison-

ment for not more than two years.

Seventh. For willfully damaging the ves-

sel, or embezzling or willfully damaging any

of the stores or cargo, by forfeiture out of

his wages of a sum equal in amount to the

loss thereby sustained, and also, at the dis-

cretion of the court, by imprisonment for

not more than twelve months.

Eighth. For any act of smuggling for

which he is convicted and whereby !oss or

damage is occasioned to the master or

owner, he sliall be liable to pay such mas-

ter or owner such a sum as is sufficient to

reimburse the master or owner for such

loss or damage, and the whole or anv part

of his wages may be retained in satisfaction

or on account of such liability, and he shail

be liable to imprisonment for a period of

not more than twelve months.

6

Section 20 of the Clayton Act of October 15,

1914, 38 Stat. 730, 738, 29 U. S. C. § 52, reads as

iollows:

No restraining order or injunction shal!

be granted by any court of the United

States, or a judge or the judges thereof, in

any case between an employer and em-

ployees, or between employers and employ-

ees, or between employees, or between per-

sons employed and persons seeking employ-

ment, involving, or growing out of, a dispute

concerning terms or conditions of. employ-

ment, unless necessary to prevent irrepara-

ble injury to property, or to a property

right, of the party making the application,

81

for which injury there is no adequate rem-

edy at law, and such property or property

right must he described with particularity

in the application, which must be in writ-

ing and sworn to by the applicant or by

his t or attorney.

And no such restraining order or in-

junction shall prohibit any person or per-

sons, whether singly or in concert, from

terminating any relation of employment, or

from ceasing to perform 7 work or labor,

or from recommending, advising, or per-

suading others by peaceful means so to do;

or from attending at any place where any

such person or persons may lawfully be,

fcr the purpose of peacefully obtaining or

communicating inf

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.