Petition for Writ of Certiorari — District of Columbia Board of Elections & Ethics v. Turner

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreisie: Court. |

/

Q3lL647 JUN 200

No

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 2003

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS,

Petitioner,

v.

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT J. SPAGNOLETTI

Attorney General

EDWARD E, SCHWAB

Deputy Attorney General

DONNA M. MURASKY*

Senior Litigation Counsel

*Counsel of Record

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

441 4” Street, N.W.

6" Floor South

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 724-5667

TIMOTHY K. ARMSTRONG

STACEY H. KING

HOWREY SIMON ARNOLD & WHITE

1299 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 783-0800

Attorneys for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

More than one hundred federal fee-shifting statutes

give district courts “discretion” to fashion a “reasonable

attorney’s fee.” The question presented is whether, as most

Circuits have ruled, these fee-shifting statutes allow district

courts to apportion a fee award among defendants, even

when a prevailing plaintiff receives less than a fully

compensatory fee award, or whether, as the D.C. Circuit has

held, district courts have no discretion to apportion in this

circumstance and must hold responsible for the entire fee

award a relatively nonculpable defendant, even a defendant

who aligned itself with plaintiff throughout the litigation.

)

ot.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 14.1(b), petitioner

states that the parties to the proceeding are as follows:

District of Columbia Board of Elections and Ethics,

Petitioner;

Wayne Turner, Respondent;

Yes on 59, Respondent;

Cornelius Baker, Respondent;

Steve Pardieck, Respondent;

Jim Graham, Respondent.

- ill -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

GPR REe Se GIEY PURINE HEED vovssecacseessoveresesessesesorservovevereeeerexsvere i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. ...........cccccccssssscessssosecsceee il

BAERS FE AU THORITIFG. cssecessssssosesecevesosetssceveveseneserssseees Vv

IE MEI OY kccsssevevecvesceyscenseveséveeesesnsuvesenseveseeenesesevenes l

sac baniinabindeiiinsscsbeniewdecsnrvisoaniiaboriniieinmenboveres 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AT ISSUE ........ccccccccecceseseeees 2

Pe RMIENET S OE BBO CAINE occ ecsesnssaseversessosesseovecsssasesosers 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...........ccccceseseeeee 8

I. THE D.C. CIRCUIT IS IN CONFLICT WITH

OTHER CIRCUITS AS TO WHETHER

FEDERAL FEE-SHIFTING STATUTES

ALLOW A DISTRICT COURT TO

APPORTION ATTORNEY'S FEEG...........ccccccsceceseeeeeee 10

II. THE D.C. CIRCUIT'S DECISION

DISALLOWING FEE APPORTIONMENT

DOES NOT COMPORT WITH THIS COURT'S

PR PEPIN Is: vasesinssecvovenesvexvessesnntionsovvoriveerecreeonves 16

I ios bas esihinictipinipeusteecesaitinnesovetivinaencsincsssolentele 20

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit dated January 23,

_____ FESS SRS NATE ee |e ee Na ee la

-iv-

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit on Denial of Petition

for Rehearing En Banc, March 10, 2004............. cee 17a

District Court’s Memorandum and Order, January 8,

Ua asoesiissiesdibicaicassdodpcinneaacdaaadadmiataaainiatlapeiniiats 18a

District Court’s Order, February 14, 2003 0.0... eee 23a

Magistrate Judge’s Memorandum Opinion, October :

Bs EE sauiichcnadbicedaacieaadshualoniniibeaanamneamMats 25a

Magistrate Judge’s Memorandum Opinion, July 24,

MITT ‘cdivnisbiscicinihadeancatieinad bicanititaainidiideadibaaenmadbiaiesiaieiammniaiulanael 40a

Magistrate Judge’s Memorandum Opinion, March 21,

RA ee a RR DSO NOE ey OOO LED 57a 7

Text of Pertinent Statutory Provisions ...............csccceseeeees 67a

|

EIR ARGO PRT ROR

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Blanchard v. Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87 (1989) ........... 18

Corder v. Gates, 947 F.2d 374 (9th Cir. 1991)....... 15

Council for Periodical Distributors Ass’ns

v. Evans, 827 F.2d 1483 (11th Cir. 1987)..... 14, 15

Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992).............. 16, 17

Firebird Society v. Members of Board of

Fire Commissioners, 556 F.2d 642

GE. ie tosis ctrtediesinhebicaitaaalacanann 13, 14

Hen.ey v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424

PD iiscitnnshetinieiataictaicieamneine 16, 17, 18

Herbst v. Ryan, 90 F.3d 1300 (7th Cir. 1996)... 12, 13

Independent Federation of Flight Attendants

v. Zipes, 491 U.S. 754 (1989)... ceeceeseseeees 3, 16

Jones v. Espy, 10 F.3d 690 (9th Cir. 1993)....... 11,12

Knights of Ku Klux Klan v. East Baton

Rouge Parish School Board, 735 F.2d 895

EPI TD iscsi cvicsiaibaeibeisibicalbsnieabbedgidaatiasadiaess 15

Koster v. Perales, 903 F.2d 131

II I sichietinianiciidiidi es 14

Little Rock School District v. Pulaski County

Special School District, 787 F.2d 372

° Vie

CO Sai SEI wincuvssscscensscintaiiceseeseistieianimnneenciens 15

Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’

Council for Clean Air, 478 U.S. 546 (1986)... 2

Sable Communications, Inc. v. Pacific Telephone

& Telegraph Co., 890 F.2d 184

COIN GAN. DEI sncetnnsrecuisessevsiceninceniienninediodieniicnen 12

Southeast Legal Defense Group v. Adams,

657 F.2d 1118 (9th Cir. 1981)... ee eeeees 10, 11

STATUTES

Be IA... & TR Pviccsicinsibesnincivninheeiadnimiaremens 2

20 UB, 9 BUC iticiictmnneaonion 2, 6, 11

GO UB, © FOO vrnscnienisiinienananiindiaiianaiin 2, 6, 11

Pub. L. No. 105-277, § 171, 112 Stat. 2681 (1998)... 4

5. 42... EOTED .nicnmisnbociedamansiaa 2

heer ae i RIB TRG ALIN OO ce WK

dG ws We tar Sata el ge er Ae OES

Jn the Supreme Court of the United States

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS,

Petitioner,

Vv.

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner District of Columbia Board of Elections

and Ethics respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari to

review a decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit (App. 1a) is reported at 354

F.3d 890. The order denying the petition for rehearing and

for rehearing en banc (App. 17a) is reported at No. 03-7030,

2004 U.S. App. LEXIS 4658. The opinion of the district

court relating to the attorney’s fees at issue in this petition

(App. 18a) and granting plaintiffs’ motion to reconsider and

awarding fees of $61,529 against the Board of Elections.

The opinions of the magistrate judge relating to these fees

itn

(App. 25a) are reported at 170 F. Supp. 2d 1, No. 98-2634,

2001 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 23437, and at 183 F. Supp. 2d 22.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals

was issued on January 23, 2004. Petitioner filed a timely

petition for rehearing and rehearing en banc on Monday,

February 23. It was denied on March 10, 2004. This Court

has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

The statutory provisions at issue are reproduced in the

Appendix pursuant to S. Ct. R. 14.1(f). (App. 67a). They are

the Civil Right Attorneys’ Fee Act of 1976 (42 U.S.C.

§ 1988), and the Equal Access to Justice Act (28 U.S.C.

§ 2412(d)).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Congress has enacted more than 100 federal fee-

shifting statutes granting district courts “discretion” to award

a “reasonable attorney’s fee” to prevailing parties.

Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for Clean

Air, 478 U.S. 546, 562 (1986). Until the decision for which

review is sought here, the Circuits, consistently with this

Court’s jurisprudence, had uniformly interpreted the

language of the typical federal fee-shifting statute to permit

district courts to apportion fees among defendants, based on

considerations such as relative culpability and the relative

time a plaintiff spent litigating against each defendant. The

Circuits applied such an approach even when a district court

determined that a reasonable attorney’s fee was less than a

fully compensatory fee.

Fad CRN RS eg

YS

The D.C. Circuit has now ruled as a matter of law that

district courts do not have discretion to apportion in this

circumstance. It thus has departed from the approach of its

sister Circuits and has ignored this Court’s admonition that

“nothing” in federal fee-shifting statutes gives prevailing

plaintiffs “hegemony over all the other rights and equities

that exist in the world.” /ndep. Fed'n of Flight Attendants v.

Zipes, 491 U.S. 754, 764 n.4 (1989). And it has done so in a

particularly compelling case for apportionment. Here, the

defendant being held responsible for all fees not only aligned

itself with plaintiffs from the outset of the litigation but also

requested and received the relief it, along with plaintiffs,

sought. It is being held fully responsible, moreover, because

plaintiffs negligently failed to file a timely fee petition

against the defendant which enacted the legislation causing

plaintiffs harm; intervened as a defendant; and litigated to the

hilt in the district court unsuccessful arguments against both

plaintiffs and the defendant aligned with them.

A. The D.C. Medical Marijuana Initiative and the

Barr Amendment

On September 17, 1998, the District of Columbia

Board of Elections and Ethics (“the Board”) certified

Initiative 59, the District of Columbia Medical Marijuana

Initiative, for placement on the November 3, 1998, District of

Columbia general election ballot.!

In response, on October 21, 1998, Congress enacted

Section 171 of the District of Columbia Appropriations Act

1 This Initiative was designed to allow chronically ill individuals to

obtain and use marijuana for medical purposes under the care of a

physician without violating the District of Columbia Uniform Controlled

Substances Act.

eS

for fiscal year 1999. Section 171, known as the Barr

Amendment, specifically targeted Initiative 59, providing:

None of the funds contained in [the District of

Columbia Appropriations Act] may be used to

conduct any ballot initiative which seeks to

legalize or otherwise reduce penalties

associated with the possession, use, or

distribution of any schedule I substance under

the Controlled Substances Act... or any

tetrahydrocannabinols derivative.

Pub. L. No. 105-277, § 171, 112 Stat. 2681-150 (1998).

Because the ballots had already been printed and

mailed, however, Initiative 59 remained on the ballot and was

favorably voted upon by District residents in the election.

B. The District Court Proceedings

is Filing of the Lawsuit

On October 30, 1998, just four days before the

election, Wayne Turner and others (“Turner”) filed a

complaint challenging the Barr Amendment on First

Amendment grounds. Turner further argued that the Barr

Amendment did not apply to expenditures on post-election

activities, and thus permitted the Board to release and certify

the election results.

Following the election, the Board did not tabulate the

votes on Initiative 59, based on the belief that such action

would violate the Barr Amendment. As a result, the Board

moved on November 6 for a declaratory judgment that the

Barr Amendment was unconstitutional. The Board also

requested expedited review and leave to tabulate and

7 2

announce the results in time for the November 18 Board

meeting where all the election results were to be certified.

On November 6, Turner applied for a temporary

restraining order and moved for a preliminary injunction

directing the Board to release the results of the vote on

Initiative 59. The Board did not oppose Turner’s application

or motion.

On November 9, the United States filed an opposition

to Turner’s requests. After a hearing, the district court

denied Turner’s requests.

ys The United States’ Intervention as Defendant

On November 23, 1998, the United States moved to

intervene as a defendant in the case. The court granted the

motion on November 30.

That same day, all three parties moved for summary

judgment. Both the Board and Turner urged that the Barr

Amendment was unconstitutional and requested leave to

announce and certify the election results. The United States,

however, argued that the Barr Amendment was constitutional

as a valid exercise of Congressional authority over the

District of Columbia. On December 10, both the Board and

Tumer filed oppositions to the United States’ motion for

summary judgment, and the United States filed an opposition

to both of their motions for summary judgment. On

December 16, all three parties filed reply briefs. Again both

the Board and Turner directed their reply briefs entirely to

arguments opposing the United States’ motion, and the

United States argued against both their motions.

3. The District Court’s Merits Decision.

~*

On September 17, 1999, the district court construed

the Barr Amendment as not prohibiting counting, releasing,

or certifying the results of the vote on Initiative 59. A

contrary construction, the district court reasoned, would have

required it to invalidate the Amendment on constitutional

grounds. The court granted the Board’s November 6, 1998,

motion for an order authorizing it to announce and certify the

election results. Finally, the court granted Turner’s motion

for summary judgment insofar as it argued that the Barr

Amendment did not prevent the Board from computing and

certifying election results.

The United States did not appeal the decision.

4. Turner’s Application for Attorney’s Fees and the

Magistrate’s Decision

On March 31, 2000, Turner filed a petition for

attorney’s fees from the Board pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988

and from the United States under 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A),

the Equal Access to Justice Act (““EAJA”).

Turner’s request was referred to a magistrate judge

who, on July 24, 2001, denied it under the EAJA because it

had been filed three and a half months after the deadline for

filing a fee request had run, and thus fell outside the “limited

waiver’ of federal sovereign immunity found in the EAJA.

= Turner did not appeal the magistrate’s decision but

instead sought joint and several recovery of all legal fees

from the Board. Turner argued that, irrespective of the

United States’ liability for attorney’s fees, the Board was

fully liable under section 1988 for all the fees he had

incurred throughout the litigation. The Board opposed on the

grounds that it had been a defendant in name only and, in

fact, both it and Turner had been aligned throughout the

proceedings and had prevailed.

i7.

The magistrate judge, on October 23, 2001,

apportioned responsibility and expressly declined to impose

joint and several liability. The magistrate found the United

States was responsible for initially suppressing the election

results and reasoned that it would be unfair to impose joint

and several liability simply because Turner had failed to

make a timely fee request against the United States.

The magistrate found the Board liable for $4,113 in

fees.

5. The District Court’s Order Apportioning Fees

Turner appealed the magistrate’s apportionment of

fees. He argued that the magistrate judge erred in

apportioning attorney’s fees and asked that the Board be

found jointly and severally liable for all attorney’s fees.

On January 8, 2003, the district court on de novo

review found that Turner cvuld have received a fully

compensatory fee had he timely filed a request for fees from

the United Sates under the EAJA. The court agreed that

apportionment in this situation was a fair result.

The court did, however, increase the amount of fees

the Board would be required to pay based on what the court

determined were the three phases of the litigation: (1) the

time period up to November 6, 1998, when the Board filed its

first pleading; (2) post-November 6, 1998; and (3) the fee-

application stage.

For the period up to November 6, the court found the

Board responsible for 87% of Turner’s fees. The court

determined the Board was not wholly responsible because the

United States was “solely responsible” for enacting the Barr

Amendment, and thus was significantly responsible for

os

causing the election results to be suppressed and for

instigating the litigation.

For the period after November 6, when the Board and

Turner were allied in seeking to overturn the Barr

Amendment, the court determined that the Board was not

responsible for any fees because all further litigation was

instigated solely by the United States.

Finally, for the fee-application stage, the court

apportioned 47% of Turner’s attorney’s fees to the Board.

The apportionment was based on the percentage of pages

devoted to obtaining fees from the Board in Turner’s

application for fees.

C. The District of Columbia Circuit’s Decision

Turner appealed. The D.C. Circuit ruled, as a matter

of law, that district courts do not have discretion to apportion

fee responsibility when apportionment would result in less

than a fully compensatory fee award for a prevailing plaintiff.

This factor, according to the court, trumps all other factors

that district courts might otherwise fairly and equitably take

into account. Accordingly, it held the Board jointly and

severally liable for all of Turner’s fees for the merits

litigation.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

There is a conflict among the Circuits on the question

whether a district court has discretion to apportion attorney’s

fees under the typical federal fee-shifting statute when

apportionment results in a plaintiff not being fully

compensated. Although other Circuits have determined that

attorney’s fees can be apportioned even where a plaintiff will

obtain less than a full award, the D.C. Circuit has now held

that such apportionment cannot occur.

Tn Se

ee ee = ig ee

«9.

Before this case, district courts had discretion in

fashioning a reasonable fee award to take into account not

only plaintiff's interest in receiving fees for a meritorious

claim but also countervailing rights and equities. The courts

strove to ensure not only that plaintiffs received a just award,

but also that defendants were not held responsible for fees

attributable to other defendants. The fact-specific case-by-

case balancing of these competing values has been respected

by the Circuits that review a district court’s decision for a

abuse of discretion. |

The D.C. Circuit’s decision upsets this traditional

analysis in two related, but individually erroneous, respects.

First, the D.C. Circuit held that failure to grant an award

jointly and severally, resulting in plaintiff not being fully

compensated, is an error of law despite other Circuits’

holdings to the contrary. Second, the D.C. Circuit failed to

take into account the language of the typical federal fee-

shifting statute, this Court’s prior holdings, and

considerations of fairness and justice, instead applying a

mechanistic rule.

In both of these respects, the D.C. Circuit’s decision

departs from the considered views <i its sister Circuits.

Review by this Court is necessary voth to clarify the proper

standard of appellate review of a district court’s fee award

under the typical federal fee-shifting statute and to specify

the proper analytical methodology that should guide such

awards by the district courts in the first instance. The better

view, contrary to the decision below, respects the statutory

“discretion” of the district court to award a “reasonable

attorney’s fee.” Under this view, a district court may

apportion a fee award, even if such apportionment results in

less than a fully compensatory award, and limits appellate

review to ascertaining whether the district court abused its

discretion in balancing all the relevant rights and equities.

-10-

I. The D.C. Circuit is in Conflict With Other

Circuits as to Whether Federal Fee-Shifting

Statutes Allow a District Court to Apportion

Attorney’s Fees.

There is a conflict between the D.C. Circuit and its

sister Circuits over whether a district court has discretion to

apportion attorney’s fees under federal fee-shifting statutes.

The opinion below characterizes the issue as involving the

question whether an award of fees under a federal fee-

shifting statute that results in a plaintiff being less than fully

compensated is an error of law. (App. 8a). Although the

court below states that it would “normally defer to a

thoughtful rationale of the district court so long as it achieved

a result that was fair to the parties,” it declined to review the

district court’s decision deferentially because, in the D.C.

Circuit’s view, the district court had adopted a “novel

application of a comparative fault theory” that denies “the

prevailing plaintiff a fully compensatory fee on a common

set of claims against the defendants.” (App. 8a).

The district court’s rationale, however, was in no way

a ‘novel’ approach to analyzing attorney’s fees. To the

contrary, the district court’s analysis is quite harmonious

with the decisions of other Circuits and is not an error of law.

The Ninth Circuit, for example, has held that

apportionment determinations are best left to the discretion of

district courts. In Southeast Legal Defense Group v. Adams,

657 F.2d 1118 (9™ Cir. 1981), a pre-EAJA case, it upheld a

lower court’s award of a less than fully compensatory fee

against the state defendant under section 1988 because the

federal defendants were immune from fees. The district

4%.

court determined that the state defendant was responsible

only for fees incurred in plaintiffs’ case against the state

defendant, not in plaintiffs’ case against the federal

defendants, and thus apportioned the fees accordingly.

Plaintiffs appealed contending they were entitled to 100% of

their fees from the state defendant. The Ninth Circuit

disagreed, finding that the case did not involve a reduction in

plaintiffs’ fees, but rather reflected the fact that plaintiffs

were entitled to fees only for their action against the state

defendant. Because plaintiffs were not entitled to fees

against the federal defendants, they could not recover them

from the state. See id. at 1125.

In Jones v. Espy, 10 F.3d 690 (9" Cir. 1993), ihe

court affirmed a district court’s apportionment of attorney

fees as between two defendants. The plaintiff had requested

fees from the state defendant based on 42 U.S.C. § 1988 and

from the federal defendant based on the EAJA. The district

court apportioned fees rather than holding the defendants

jointly and severally liable. Plaintiffs argued that by

apportioning the fees, the federal defendant would not have

to pay the full cost of plaintiffs’ attorney fees, as section

2412(d) caps hourly fees, and thus plaintiffs would not be

able to collect their “full” award unless they could collect the

remainder of the fee award from the state defendant. The

Ninth Circuit ruled that apportionment is “mandated in these

situations in order to ensure that a defendant was not liable

for a fee award greater than the actual fees incurred against

that defendant.” Jd. at 691.2

2 The D.C. Circuit distinguished Southeast Legal and Jones v. Espy on

the ground that they involved a separate claim against the United States.

(App. 14a). However, as Southeast Legal states, plaintiffs in that case

“prevailed on” only “their eighth claim, which challenged the FHWA

[Federal Highway Administration] approval of the state’s selection of a

particular corridor for [a] . . . proposed highway as being violative of 23

ee

Similarly, in Sable Communications, Inc. v. Pacific

Telephone & Telegraph Co., 890 F.2d 184 (9" Cir. 1989), the

Ninth Circuit ruled that a district court abused its discretion

in determining the extent of a defendant’s liability by holding

the defendant jointly and severally liable for all of plaintiff's

attorney’s fees. The Ninth Circuit noted that a district court

must “‘insure a fair result for both parties.’” Jd. at 194. The

court noted that if a district court determines that one

defendant’s action was the focus of the litigation and

required a larger portion of the plaintiff's attorney time, “it is

appropriate to allocate the burden of the fee award

accordingly.” Jd. at 194. Indeed, the court found a district

court should take note of the extent of a defendant’s

culpability in determining fee awards. See id.

In Herbst v. Ryan, 90 F.3d 1300 (7" Cir. 1996), the

Seventh Circuit also examined the question of allocation of

attorney’s fees. The court noted that the allocation of

attorney’s fees remains an “area in which there is no simple

formula of universal applicability” and thus hesitated in

assessing the wide variety of circumstances district courts

face in determining proper allocations of fee awards. /d. at

1304. The court did, however, provide some guidance for

informing a district court’s discretion in determining the

proper means of allocation in particular cases.

First, a district court should consider the broad

purpose federal fee-shifting statutes play in ensuring the

statute’s goals. See id. Second, the court should determine

whether the injury to the plaintiff is divisible among the

defendants and, if not, what is the relative responsibility of

U.S.C. § 128(a) . . .” 657 F.2d at 1125. And Jones v. Espy expressly held

that plaintiffs’ causes of action against the federal and state defendants

were “inextricably intertwined.” 10 F.3d at 692 n.2. Accordingly, these

cases support the Board.

~ ft,

each defendant. See id. at 1305. The Seventh Circuit

explained that, although it is frequently appropriate to hold

defendants jointly and severally liable for attorney’s fees:

[C]eurts must be careful, however, to do so

consistently with the preexisting background

of substantive liability rules. However, joint

and several liability is not appropriate in every

case involving an indivisible injury. For

instance, it may be appropriate for the district

court to apportion fees between an active

instigator of a wrong and a more passive

codefendant who had a more peripheral or

ministerial role in the wrong.

Id. (emphasis added; citations omitted). Third, the court

should take into account other institutional concerns. See id.

Finally, the court should make every effort to “‘achieve the

most fair and sensible solution that is possible.’”” Jd. (quoting

Grendel’s Den v. Larkin, 749 F.2d 945, 960 (1* Cir. 1984)).3

The Second Circuit has adopted a similar approach.

In Firebird Society v. Members of Board of Fire

Commissioners, 556 F.2d 642 (2° Cir. 1977) (per curiam),

the Second Circuit affirmed the district court’s decision not

to award prevailing plaintiffs fees against a municipality for

an aspect of the litigation. In Firebird, both the plaintiffs and

the defendant successfully opposed a motion to intervene and

set aside a consent decree. The district court decided not to

3 The D.C. Circuit cited Herbst for the principle that it “ ‘is frequently

appropriate to hold all defendants jointly and severally liable for

attorneys’ fees in cases in which two or more defendants actively

participated in a constitutional violation.”” (App. 12a). To be sure,

Herbst made this statement but its holding and rationale explain the

exceptions to that general principle and upheld fee apportionment as not

constituting an abuse of discretion.

« 14s

award plaintiffs fees against the municipality for this aspect

of the litigation.

The Second Circuit upheld the district court decision,

determining that because the municipality had “joined in

opposing intervention and as to that issue were as much

prevailing parties as the [plaintiffs], [t]here is no viable

theory advanced which would permit the recovery of legal

fees and costs in these circumstances.” Id. at 644 (emphasis

added). In addition, the court noted that one of the crucial

factors guiding its decision was thai “in the early stages of

this suit several crucial concerns of the plaintiffs were

resolved by notable concessions of the defendants which

minimized the risk of litigation.” /d.

In Koster v. Perales, 903 F.2d 131 (2° Cir. 1990), in

turn, the court held that a district court may allocate fee

awards between the responsible parties, setting the

percentage each party is liable for where culpability is

unequal, or it may hold the responsible parties jointly and

severally liable for the fee award. See id. at 139. Either way,

however, “[t]he allocation of fee liability is a matter

committed to the district court’s discretion and will not be

disturbed unless the determination evidences an abuse of

discretion.” Jd. (citing Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424,

437 (1982)).

The Eleventh Circuit has similarly granted discretion

to the district courts to determine when an award should be

made joint and several and when it should be apportioned. In

Council for Periodical Distributors Ass’ns v. Evans, 827

F.2d 1483 (11 Cir. 1987), the court stated that fees did not

always need to be apportioned, particularly where two or

more defendants actively participated in a constitutional

violation. However, “in cases [where one defendant is not

the prime instigator of the effort], it may be more appropriate

«i.

for a district court to apportion fees between the active

instigator of a wrong and a more passive co-defendant who

had a more peripheral or ministerial role in the wrong.” /d. at

1487. Indeed, where one defendant is solely or largely

responsible for a single claim within the litigation, the court

may hold that defendant for all fees related to that claim. See

id. at 1488. “The initial decisions of whether and how to

apportion fees, however, is best done by the district court.”

Id. In apportioning the fees, the court instructs that the

district court should make “‘every effort to achieve the most

fair and sensible solution that is possible.”” /d. (quoting

Grendel's Den, 749 F.2d at 960).

In short, until the D.C. Circuit’s decision here, the

Circuits had uniformly held that a district court should be

given the discretion to prescribe apportionment “when the

time expended by the plaintiff in pursuing each defendant

was grossly unequal.” Corder v. Gates, 947 F.2d 374, 383

(9" Cir. 1991). Accord Little Rock Sch. Dist. v. Pulaski

County Special Sch. Dist., 787 F.2d 372, 374 (gs Cir. 1986)

(apportioning fees based on time expended in case involving

intervenors); Knights of Ku Klux Klan v. East Baton Rouge

Parish Sch. Bd., 735 F.2d 895, 901 (5" Cir. 1984) (upholding

a district court’s allocation of 90% of fees to the federal

government since the federal government played the major

role in the dispute underlying the lawsuit).

These authorities make clear that, contrary to the

opinion of the court below, the district court’s approach to

apportionment rested on a firm precedential basis and was in

no meaningful sense “novel” nor, based on these authorities,

was it an error of law. The D.C. Circuit’s claim that

apportionment is only justifiable where a claim is

“fractionable” is erroneous and does not work. (App. 14a).

To the contrary, the district court’s apportionment here

. .

—

would have been affirmed by the D.C. Circuit’s sister

Circuits.

Il. The D.C. Circuit’s Decision Disallowing Fee

Apportionment Does Not Comport With This

Court’s Jurisprudence.

In its decision, the D.C. Circuit repeatedly made

reference to Hensley v._Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 429 (1983),

for the proposition that the district court must be reversed

because Turner did not receive a fully compensatory fee

award based on apportioning most of the fees to an immune

defendant. (App. 9a, 10a).

To be sure, Hensley holds that district courts, barring

special circumstances that would render a. award unjust,

should grant a successful civil rights plaintiff an award of

attorney’s fees. See id. at 429 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 94-

1558, at 1 (1976); S.-Rep. No. 94-1011, at 4 (1976)).

However, Hensley does not hold, and this Court has never

held, that a prevailing plaintiff has a right to a fully

compensatory award no matter what. Indeed, in Hens/ey this

Court held that a prevailing plaintiff may not recover fees for

time spent on distinct, unsuccessful claims. See Hensley, 461

U.S. at 440.

The D.C. Circuit’s decision disregards this Court’s

admonition that “nothing” in federal fee-shifting statutes

gives prevailing plaintiffs “hegemony over all the other rights

and equities that exist in the world.” Indep. Fed’n of Flight

Attendants, 491 U.S. at 764 n.4. Instead, “the judicial role is

to reconcile competing rights that Congress has established

and competing interests that it normally takes into account.”

Id.

For example, in Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103

(1992), citing to Hensley, this Court noted that a district court

|

does have discretion to award low fees, or no fees, under

federal fee-shifting statutes based on the facts of the case.

See id., at 118. The Court noted that in some circumstances,

“even a plaintiff who formally ‘prevails’ under § 1988 should

receive no attorneys’ fees at all.” /d. at 115.

In Farrar, the Petitioner was technically a “prevailing

party” under the statute, but the Court reviewed the facts of

the case and the outcome to determine whether Petitioner

was entitled to a full award of attorney fees. Simply because

the Petitioner was a prevailing party, this Court did not find a

mechanistic application of the fee-shifting statute was

required or even reasonable. In fact, the Court interpreted the

Statute as “expressly grant[ing] district courts discretion to

withhold attorney’s fees from prevailing parties in

appropriate circumstances: [The statute] states that a court

‘may’ award fees ‘in its discretion.’” Jd. at 119 (O’Connor,

J., concurring).

While the exception to fee awards has often

been articulated separately from the

reasonableness inquiry, sometimes it is

bound up with reasonableness: It serves as a

short-hand way of saying that, even before

calculating a loadestar or wading through all

the reasonableness factors, it is clear that the

reasonable fee is no fee at all. After all,

where the only reasonable fee is no fee, an

award of fees would be unjust; conversely,

where a fee award would be unjust, the

reasonable fee is no fee at all.

Id. at 118. In other words, if this Court does require that all

prevailing parties be entitled to a fully compensatory award

of attorney’s fees, the Petitioner in Farrar would not have

been denied fees.

. se

Admittedly, federal fee-shifting statutes aim to ensure

effective access to the judicial process for persons with

meritorious federal claims. See Hensley, 461 U.S. at 429.

The fees to be awarded are not intended to be “windfalls” for

plaintiffs, however, and the district courts maintain the

discretion to determine what is reasonable based on the facts.

See Blanchard v. Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87, 96 (1989). The

application of the statutes is not to be “mechanistic,” but

rather based on district court factual determinations and

discretion. The district courts’ discretion in determining the

amount of the award is appropriate because of its “superior

understanding of the litigation” and the desirability of

avoiding appellate review of what are generally factual

determinations. Hensley, 461 U.S. at 437.

The district court in this case, with its superior

understanding of the litigation, determined that the fees

should be apportioned and that Turner’s error in untimely

filing his fee petition against the United States should not be

used to shift fee responsibility to the Board. The Board stood

with Turner throughout the litigation and fought the

intervenor alongside Turner. Had the United States not

become a party defendant, Turner would not have incurred

the vast majority of the fees he incurred after the November

6, 1998 filing of the Board’s request for declaratory judgment

and Turner’s motion for a temporary restraining order. In

fact, both Turner and the Board were prevailing parties in

this matter. ;

The D.C. Circuit reversed the lower court and held

the Board jointly and severally liable because it determined

that district courts should not have the discretion to apportion

fees if the result would be less than a full compensatory

award. It read a significant limitation on a district court’s

discretion to award fees under the typical federal fee-shifting

statute by mandating a mechanistic view of fee awards. The

-19-

decision of the court below flies in the face of the discretion

this Court has traditionally given district courts and applies a

mechanistic rule whereby district courts must focus solely on

the factor of whether an award is fully compensatory, thus

taking away their traditional ability to weigh the facts of a

case and providing a prescription for injustice.

In short, this Petition presents an important issue, the

resolution of which is of considerable consequence to many

other cases nationwide. it is necessary for the fairness of all

parties involved to ensure that district courts are able to

exercise their discretion in determining whether to apportion

attorney’s fees based on factors such as relative culpability

and the like, or to hold defendants jointly and severally liable

under federal fee-shifting statutes rather than to apply a

simple mechanistic rule. The D.C. Circuit’s decision

improperly takes discretion away from the district courts in

determining attorney’s fees, despite the federal fee-shifting

Statutory language, this Court’s prior holdings, and the

holdings of other Circuits.

a.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorar. should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

ROBERT J. SPAGNOLETTI

Attorney General

EDWARD E. SCHWAB

Deputy Attorney General

DONNA M. MURASKY

Senior Litigation Counsel

Counsel of Recor..

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY

GENERAL FOR THE DISTRICT

OF COLUMBIA

441 4" Street, N.W.

6" Floor South

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 724-5667

TIMOTHY K. ARMSTRONG

STACEY H. KING

HOWREY SIMON ARNOLD &

WHITE

1299 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 783-0800

Attorneys for Petitioner

District of Columbia Board of

Elections and Ethics

JUNE 2004

et

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 03-7030

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.

V.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA BOARD OF ELECTIONS

AND ETHICS

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the District of Columbia

(No. 98cv02634)

Turner v. D.C. Board of Elections & Ethics,

170 F. Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2001)

Before: GINSBURG, ROGERS and TATEL,

Circuit Judges.

(Decided January 23, 2004)

MEMORANDUM OPINION OF THE COURT

ROGERS, Circuit Judge.

This appeal requires the court to determine what is a

fully compensatory award under the Civil Rights Attorney’s

Fees Awards Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1988, where the original

defendant, aligning with the plaintiffs’ constitutional

challenge to a federal statute under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, leaves

defense of the statute to the United States, as defendant-

intervenor. The district cvurt apportioned the requested

2a

§ 1988 attorney’s fees and expenses between the original

defendant and the immune defendant based on considerations

of comparative fault. In doing so, the district court approved

a partial award to the prevailing plaintiffs only for the time

prior to the original defendant’s alignment with the plaintiffs’

position, and no fees and expenses for the merits litigation

thereafter. The district court also limited the award for the

litigation to collect fees and expenses to the plaintiffs’ efforts

to collect under § 1988, excluding fees and expenses arising

from efforts to collect from the immune defendant under the

Equal Access to Justice Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A). On

appeal, the prevailing plaintiffs contend that they were

entitled to a “fully compensatory fee,” Hensley v. Eckerhart,

461 U.S. 424, 435, 76 L. Ed. 2d 40, 103 S. Ct. 1933 (1983),

in light of their complete success on the merits,

notwithstanding the original defendant’s failure to oppose

their lawsuit. We agree. The original defendant continued to

deny the plaintiffs the only relief they sought throughout the

litigation, and was jointly and severally liable with the

United States for fees and expenses on the nonfractionable

claims. Accordingly, we hold that the district court erred as a

matter of law in apportioning fees and expenses on

nonfractionable claims in the § 1983 litigation, and we vacate

the. judgment and remand the case to the district court to

enter a fully compensatory award to the prevailing plaintiffs.

I.

A brief recitation of the underlying lawsuit giving rise

to the request for attorney’s fees is necessary. See Turner v.

D.C. Bd. of Elections & Ethics, 77 F. Supp. 2d 25 (D.D.C.

1999). When District of Columbia voters went to the polls on

November 3, 1998, the ballot included Initiative 59, the

Medical Marijuana Initiative, which sought voters’ approval

to legalize medical uses of marijuana for the chronically ill.

Id. at 27. Two weeks before the election, on October 21,

a

3a

1998, Congress enacted and the President signed the Barr

Amendment to the District of Columbia Appropriations Act

for Fiscal Year 1999. See Pub. L. No. 105-277, § 171, 112

Stat. 2681-150 (1998). The Barr Amendment prohibited use

of the appropriated funds to “conduct any ballot initiative

which seeks to legalize or otherwise reduce penalties

associated with” a controlled substance. Jd. The ballots for

the November 3 election had been printed before enactment

of the Barr Amendment, however, and District of Columbia

voters voted on Initiative 59. Turner, 77 F. Supp. 2d at 27.

When the Board of Elections and Ethics refused, in

light of the Barr Amendment, to release and certify the

results of the vote on Initiative 59, five District of Columbia

voters, including Wayne Turner, the official sponsor of

Initiative 59 (hereinafter, together, “Turner’’), sued the Board

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, seeking declaratory and injunctive

relief. The complaint, filed October 30, 1998, and Turner’s

subsequent briefing alleged in the alternative that first, the

Barr Amendment only limited the Board’s capability to act

until November 3, Election Day, and, therefore, the Board

was required under D.C. Code Ann. § 1-1306 (1981) (now

codified at D.C. Code Ann. § 1-1001.05 (2001)) to certify the

results thereafter, see Turner, 77 F. Supp. 2d at 27, and

second, to the extent the Barr Amendment prohibited the

Board from performing its duty, the Amendment violated the

First and Fifth Amendments of the United States

Constitution. Three days after the election, Turner filed a

motion for a temporary restraining order (“TRO”) and a

preliminary injunction. The same day, November 6, the

Board filed a motion for a declaratory judgment supporting

Turner’s argument that the Barr Amendment was

unconstitutional; the Board did not joi the statutory

argument.

4a

The United States, having been notified of the lawsuit

pursuant to 28 U S.C. § 2403(a), filed an opposition to the

TRO on November 9, pending a decision by the Solicitor

General as to whether the United States would seek to

intervene. The district court denied the TRO on November 10

and consolidated the preliminary injunction with the merits.

The United States’ unopposed motion to intervene, filed

November 23, was granted on November 30. Following a

hearing on the parties’ cross-motions for summary judgment,

the district court, on September 17, 1999, granted summary

judgment to Turner, adopting his statutory argument in light

of the principle of constitutional avoidance, for otherwise, the

court opined, the Barr Amendment would have violated

Turner’s First Amendment rights. Turner, 77 F. Supp. 2d at

35. Neither the United States nor the Board appealed. Shortly

thereafter, the Board counted the ballots and certified the

results, which indicated that Initiative 59 had passed by 69%

of the vote. See District of Columbia Board of Elections and

Ethics, November 3, 1998 General Election, Election

Results, Initiative Measure # 59 (votes counted Sept. 20,

2003), at http://www.dcboee.org/information/elec_1998/

ini59_98.htm.

On March 31, 2000, after fee negotiations had proved

unsuccessful, see Local Rule 215(b), Turner filed a motion

for attorney’s fees and expenses of approximately $ 134,000.

Asserting that the Board and the United States were jointly

and severally liable, Turner sought fees from the United

States under the Equal Access to Justice Act (“EAJA”), 28

U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A), and, in light of EAJA’s statutory cap

on hourly rates, see id. § 2412(d)(2)(A), also sought fees

from the Board under 42 U.S.C. § 1988 for any amount

exceeding the award under EAJA. A magistrate judge

dismissed the EAJA request as untimely, see 28 U.S.C. §

2412(d)(1)(B), a determination to which Turner did not

object, but permitted Turner to amend his motion to request

——

Sa

an award of all of his attorney’s fees and expenses from the

Board. Turner v. District of Columbia Bd. of Elections &

Ethics, 183 F. Supp. 2d 22, 30-31 (D.D.C. 2001).

Addressing Turner’s § 1988 request, the magistrate

judge, see Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(2)(D) & 72(b), found that

Turner was a prevailing party and did not question the

reasonableness of his counsel’s hours and rates. The

magistrate rejected, however, the view that the Board and the

United States could be jointly and severally liable for

Turner’s attorney’s fees and therefore apportioned fees and

expenses based on comparative fault. Turner vy. District of

Coiumbia Bd. of Elections & Ethics, 170 F. Supp. 2d 1, 4-7

(D.D.C. 2001). The magistrate concluded that Turner was

entitled to recover only $ 2,616 in fees for the period between

October 30, 1998, when Turner filed his complaint, and

November 6, 1998, when the Board filed its motion for a

declaratory judgment (“pre-alignment period”). Jd. at 8. For

the pre-alignment period, the magistrate apportioned 90% of

the culpability for the merits litigation to the United States

inasmuch as the Board’s decision to enforce the Barr

Amendment was, in view of the District of Columbia’s

unique relationship with Congress, understandable. /d. at 7,

8. For the post-November 6 merits litigation (“post-

alignment period”), the magistrate apportioned 100% of the

culpability for that litigation to the United States. The

magistrate reasoned that it was unfair to force the Board to

pay attorney’s fees and expenses for this period when Turner

and the Board sought the same relief and Turner’s counsel’s

work was directed against arguments presented only by the

United States. id. at 6. F inally, the magistrate awarded

Turner fees of only $ 1,497 incurred in litigating the request

for fees (“fees-for-fees”). Id. at 9. Because Turner had not

allocated his counsel’s time between the EAJA and § 1988

claims, the magistrate used the number of pages in Turner’s

fee motions directed at each claim as a proxy for allocating

6a

the fees-for-fees to the United States and to the Board,

finding that only 46% of Turner’s counsel’s fees work could

be ascribed to the Board. /d. The magistrate again, however,

in light of his culpability finding, awarded Turner only 10%

of the fees-for-fees incurred against the Board. /d. at 9.

Turner, but not the Board, filed objections to the magistrate’s

partial award.

On de novo review, see Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d)(2)(D) &

72(b), 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1), the district court adopted the

magistrate’s comparative-fault apportionment but increased

Turner’s partial award against the Board to $ 39,815. The

district court concluded, in recognition of § 1988’s purpose

of encouraging private attorneys general to bring meritorious

lawsuits to vindicate citizens’ rights, that the reasonable

amount of fees should be reduced only minimally. The

district court awarded Turner 87% of his fees request ($

24,000) for the pre-alignment period plus expenses of $ 569.

The district court denied Turner any award for the post-

alignment period for the remainder of the merits litigation.

For the fees-for-fees period, the district court awarded Turner

46% of his request, or $ 15,246, based on the pages proxy,

absent a complete allocation by Turner of time between the §

1988 and EAJA claims, but with no reduction for

comparative fault. Upon reconsideration, the district court

awarded Turner $ 21,714 for fees-for-fees work following

the magistrate’s decision, bringing the total partial award to

$ 61,529.

Il.

On appeal, Turner contends that the district court

erred as a matter of law in awarding only a portion of his

request for attorney’s fees and expenses under § 1988 based

on apportioning most of the fees to an immune defendant.

Because the Board did not object either to his status as a

Ee —

Ta

prevailing party or to the reasonableness of his counsel’s

rates or hours, and did not cross-appeal on these issues,

Turner maintains, and we agree, that there are no disputed

issues of fact before this court. Thus, the only question before

the court is for which parts of Turner’s § 1983 lawsuit the

Board may properly be held accountable for attorney’s fees

and expenses, and whether joint and several liability applies.

Longstanding precedents establish that plaintiffs who

have achieved excellent results in civil rights litigation

should normally receive a fully compensatory attorney’s fee.

Section 1988 provides in pertinent part that in any suit

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, “the court, in its discretion,

may allow the prevailing party, other than the United States,

a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the costs.” 42 U.S.C. §

1988(b). The plaintiff, however, bears the burden of

establishing both entitlement to an award of attorney’s fees

as well as the amount properly due. Hensley,-461 U.S. at 437;

Covington v. District of Columbia, 313 U.S. App. D.C. 16,

57 F.3d 1101, 1107 (D.C. Cir. 1995). The Supreme Court has

described § 1988’s purpose as safeguarding “effective access

to the judicial process” for persons with civil rights

grievances such that a prevailing plaintiff “should ordinarily

recover an attorney’s fee unless special circumstances would

render such an award unjust.” Hensley, 461 U.S. at 429

(quoting H. R. Rep. No. 94-1558, at 1 (1976); S. Rep. No.

94-1011, at 4 (1976)). In order to attract competent counsel

to serve as private attorneys general on behalf of plaintiffs,

who are “the chosen instrument of Congress to vindicate a

policy that Congress considered of the highest priority,”

Miller v. Staats, 227 U.S. App. D.C. 299, 706 F.2d 336, 340

(D.C. Cir. 1983) (citations omitted), it has long been

established that “in computing the [ § 1988] fee, counsel for

prevailing parties should be paid, as is traditional with

attorneys compensated by a fee-paying client, ‘for all time

reasonably expended on a matter.’ “ Hensley, 461 U.S. at 430

8a

n.4 (quoting S. Rep. No. 94-1011, at 6 (1976)). Thus, § 1988

“grants the successful civil mghts plaintiff a ‘fully

compensatory fee.’ “ Missouri v. Jenkins, 491 U.S. 274, 286,

105 L. Ed. 2d 229, 109 S. Ct. 2463 (1989) (quoting Hensley,

461 U.S. at 435); see also Covington, 57 F.3d at 1109.

Although “a request ‘or attorney’s fees should not

result in a second major litigation,” and “the district court has

discretion in determining the amount of a fee award” because

of its “superior understanding of the litigation and the

desirability of avoiding frequent appellate review of what

essentially are factual matters,” Hensley, 461 U.S. at 437

(emphasis added), “it is now axiomatic that ... the discretion

of a district court in deciding whether to award such fees to a

prevailing party is narrowly limited.” Consumers Union of

U.S., Inc. v. Virginia State Bar, 688 F.2d 218, 222 (4th Cir.

1982) (citing Bonnes v. Long, $99 F.2d 1316 (4th Cir. 1979))

(emphasis added); accord Miller, 706 F.2d at 340. Where, as

here, the issues involved are not questions of fact but of law

regarding the appropriateness of apportionment, (*:s court’s

review is de novo. See Jacobs v. Schiffer, 340 U.S. App. D.C.

221, 204 F.3d 259, 264 (D.C. Cir. 2000).

This court normally would defer to a thoughtful

“rationale of the district court so long as it achieved a result

that was fair to the parties, see Williams v. First Gov’t Mortg.

& Investors Corp., 343 U.S. App. D.C. 222, 225 F.3d 738,

747 (D.C. Cir. 2000), but we are constrained to take a closer

look at this § 1988 fees appeal in light of the novel

application of a comparative fault theory based on tort law,

see Turner, 170 F. Supp. 2d at 5-6 (citing Restatement

(Second) of Torts § 192). Here, the district court, in adopting

the magistrate’s analysis, see id. at 6-9, applied its view of

comparative fault in the sense that the Barr Amendment

placed the Board in a difficult position of either having to

enforce the Amendment or risk defying Congress to which it

9a

is ultimately responsible, see U.S. Const. art. i, & 8, of. 17,

and which controls its appropriations, see D.C. Code § |-

204.46. The district court concluded that a reasonable fee

must take into account the fact that the United States was

primarily at fault. In developing this comparative fault

theory, the magistrate and the district court relied on

Grendel's Den, Inc. v. Larkin, 749 F.2d 945, 960 (Ist Cir.

1984), in which the First Circuit suggested relevant factors

for allocating fees among defendants. While a source of

guidance for jointly and severally liable defendants,

Grendel’s Den provides no support for apportioning § 1988

fees liability so as to deny the prevailing plaintiff a fully

compensatory fee on a common set of claims against the

defendants. /d. Indeed, the First Circuit, in citing its own

authority, among others, recognized that it was not unjust to

assess fees against a governmental entity stuck with

enforcing a law ultimately found to be unconstitutional on its

face even where it did not enact the law and where some

other entity may be more culpable or causally responsible. Jd.

(citing Venuti v. Riordan, 702 F.2d 6, 8 (1st Cir. 1983)).

Turner contends that the district court abused its

discretion, see Jacobs, 204 F.3d at 264; Nat’l Black Police

Assn v. D.C. Bd. of Elections & Ethics, 335 U.S. App. D.C.

17, 168 F.3d 525, 529 (D.C. Cir. 1999), by failing to award

him a “fully compensatory award” where there are no

“special circumstances [that] would render such an award

unjust.” Hensley, 461 U.S. at 435, 429. Specifically, Turner

maintains that for the pre-alignment period the district court

erred as a matter of law in denying his full fees even though

the Board was the only defendant. For the post-alignment

period, Turner contends that the Board, notwithstanding its

alignment with his constitutional challenge, continued to be

his adversary throughout the merits litigation because

although it could have settled in light of its position that the

Barr Amendmert was unconstitut‘onal, it continued to

10a

enforce the Amendment, denying Turner his sought relief.

Moreover, while acknowledging that for the fees-for-fees

period he seeks to recover against the Board only the fees

that are attributable to his efforts under § 1988 and not for

time devoted to EAJA collection from the United States,

Turner contends that there ‘s no authority to apportion § 1988

fees and expenses when the result is, as here, to deny a

successful plaintiff any fees for his attorneys’ work on the

merits, other than a fractional fee for the first week after the

complaint was filed. By so doing, Turner maintains the

district court’s fee award undermines “the premium that the

Civil Rights Act places on litigants as private attorneys

general,” Boos v. Barry, 704 F. Supp. 5, 9 (D.D.C. 1989), by

enabling ordinary citizens to obtain counsel to litigate

meritorious civil rights cases.

Although the Board attempts for the first time on

appeal to contend that it, too, was a prevailing party, that

argument is not properly before the court. See United States

v. Hylton, 352 U.S. App. D.C. 332, 294 F.3d 130, 135 (D.C.

Cir. 2002). There is no basis to conclude that the Board was

not “the party legally responsible for relief on the merits,”

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 164, 87 L. Ed. 2d 114,

105 S. Ct. 3099 (1985), as only it, and not the United States,

could certify the votes on Initiative 59. Results, not litigating

positions, are determinative of prevailing party status.

Hensley, 461 U.S. at 435. Turner incurred and continued to

incur attorney’s fees and expenses because the Board refused

to certify the election results. See Nationwide Bldg.

Maintenance, Inc. v. Sampson, 182 U.S. App. D.C. 83, 559

F.2d 704, 710 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (citing Communist Party of

U.S. v. Department of Justice, No. 75-1770, slip op. at 3

(D.D.C. Mar. 23, 1976)); see also Cuneo v. Rumsfeld, 180

U.S. App. D.C. 184, 553 F.2d 1360, 1365 (D.C. Cir. 1977),

overruled on other grounds by Burka v. United States Dept.

of Health and Human Services, 330 U.S. App. D.C. 59, 142

Ila

F.3d 1286, 1288 (D.C. Cir. 1998). Hence, the Board’s claim

of “alignment” with Turner in challenging the Barr

Amendment fails to show exceptional circumstances to

excuse its failure to aise this argument in the district court.

See Hylton, 294 F.3d at 135.

Our analysis of Turner’s § 1988 request proceeds on

the basis of four well-settled propositions of law on which

Turner relies. First, because an award of attorney’s fees

under § 1988 “is not meant as a ‘punishment’ for ‘bad’

defendants who resist plaintiffs’ claims in bad faith[,] [but] is

meant to compensate civil righis attorneys who bring civil

rights cases and win them,” Coalition for Basic Human

Needs v. King, 691 F.2d 597, 602 (Ist Cir. 1982), the fact

that it was not the “fault” of the Board of Elections that the

Barr Amendment was enacted oy Congress and that Turner

had to litigate to get the Board to count the votes on Initiative

59 is not a “special circumstance” warranting denial of a

fully compensatory fee. Second, it is irrelevant for purposes

of § 1988 that Congress, and not the Council of the District

of Columbia, enacted the Barr Amendment, because under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 the Amendment is treated as a District of

Columbia law. Third, in light of Supreme Court of Virginia v.

Consumers Union of the United States, Inc., 446 U.S. 719,

739, 64 L. Ed. 2d 641, 100 S. Ct. 1967 (1980), and King, 691

F.2d at 602, because the Board continued to enforce the Barr —

Amendment throughout Turner’s § 1983 litigation, it is

irrelevant for purposes of § 1988 that in court the Board

Supported Turner’s constitutional challenge to the Barr

Amendment. Fourth, because the Board’s liability for § 1988

fees is not derivative of the United States’, it is irrelevant that

Turner did not timely seek attorney’s fees under EAJA, for

the immunity of one defendant does not reduce the

liability of a non-immune co-defendant. See Graham, 473

U.S. at 164-65; Supreme Court of Va., 446 U.S. at 739.

12a

To ensure that a private attorney general is fully

compensated, “it is frequently appropriate to hold all

defendants jointly and severally liable for attorneys’ fees in

cases in which two or more defendants actively participated

in a constitutional violation.” Herbst v. Ryan, 90 F.3d 1300,

1305 (7th Cir. 1996) (citing Koster v. Perales, 903 F.2d 131,

138 (2d Cir. 1990)). Moreover, in order to serve the remedial

purposes of the Civil Rights Act, “a number of courts have

upheld the imposition of joint and several liability for a fee

award where there existed a question as to whether the fee

would be collectible from one of the defendants.” 90 F.3d at

1306 n.13; see also Carpenters Health & Welfare Fund v.

Kenneth R. Ambrose, Inc., 727 F.2d 279, 285-86 (3d Cir.

1983); Riddell v. Nat’! Democratic Party, 712 F.2d 165, 168-

169 (5th Cir. 1983). Thus, in this circuit, a plaintiffs fully

compensatory fee for claims “centered on a set of common

issues” against two or more jointly responsible defendants

should be assessed jointly and severally. Action on Smoking

& Health v. Civil Aeronautics Bd., 233 U.S. App. D.C. 79,

724 F.2d 211, 216 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (hereinafter “ASH’’). On

the other hand, if claims are not attributable to all defendants

and are not “centered on a set of common issues,” i.e., claims

that are “truly fractionable,” id., fees should be apportioned,

“in order to ensure that a defendant is not liable for a fee

award greater than the actual fees incurred against that

defendant,” Jones v. Espy, 10 F.3d 690, 691 (9th Cir. 1993).

The Supreme Court has acknowledged that “fee

aw2zus against enforcement officials are run-of-the mill

occurrences.” Supreme Court of Va., 446 U.S. at 739. “Mere”

enforcers of unconstitutional laws may be held liable for

attorneys’ fees even if their involvement in the litigation has

been minor or they have argued that their enforcement

actions are improper and have lobbied for the underlying law

to be changed. See id.; cf: Carhart v. Stenberg, 192 F.3d

1142, 1152 (8th Cir. 1999), aff'd, 530 U.S. 914, 147 L. Ed.

|

yy

13a

2d 743, 120 S. Ct. 2597 (2000). Congress has determined

that the greater wrong would be to leave unpaid the

attorney’s fees and expenses of a successful § 1983 plaintiff

who has undertaken significant risks and expenses to

vindicate constitutional rights. See Carhart, 192 F.3d at

1152. As this court observed, “the determinative factor must

be the role of plaintiffs’ lawsuit, not the motivations of the

defendant.” Miller, 706 F.2d at 343.

Section 1988 does not permit a court to inquire into

defendants’ comparative fault where to do so obstructs

Congress’ purpose of compensating successful private

attorneys general. King, 691 F.2d at 602. Even accepting the

district court’s view that the Board’s blameworthiness was

relatively slight compared to that of the United States, the

Board’s § 1988 liability may not, to the prevailing plaintiffs’

detriment, be reduced on the nonfractionable claims against

the defendants. State actors “may have had good-faith

reasons for their acts, but that is no reason to deny the

[plaintiff] attorney’s fees.” Jd. The district court’s

reservations about holding District of Columbia officials

fully responsible for their enforcement of the Barr

Amendment are therefore misplaced. The unique relationship

between Congress and the District of Columbia under the

Constitution simply means that there will be occasions when

the District of Columbia government must pay attorney’s

fees for successful § 1983 lawsuits chalienging laws that the

District Government did not enact, for any Act of Congress

that is solely applicable to the District of Columbia is a law

of the District of Columbia for § 1983 purposes. Consistent

with the court’s duty to ensure that a successful § 1983

plaintiff is awarded a fully compensatory fee, then, § 1988

fee awards based on a nonfractionable claim may not be

apportioned between an immune “losing party,” see Graham,

473 U.S. at 164, who cannot be made to pay, and a non-

l4a

immune losing party that is jointly and severally liable for

the former’s share of an attorney’s fee award.

As previously explained, joint and several liability

exists for all defendants on the non-fractionable claims, see

Herbst, 90 F.3d at 1305; it is only when there are fractionable

parts of a lawsuit not fairly attributable to other parties that

liability for attorney’s fees and expenses may be apportioned

exclusively to the party who caused the plaintiff to incur

those costs, see Action on Smoking & Health v. Civil

Aeronautics Bd., 724 F.2d 211, 216. Turner’s § 1983 lawsuit

to obtain a preliminary injunction and declaratory judgment

against the Board and, once it intervened, against the United

States centered on a common set of issues: namely, the

Board’s refusal to count and certify the votes on Initiative 59.

While the United States’ intervention as a defendant affected

the course of the proceedings, there was not a separate claim

against the United States, compare Southeast Legal Defense

Group v. Adams, 657 F.2d 1118, 1125 (9th Cir. 1981); Jones,

10 F.3d at 692 n.2, as is clear from the fact that if the United

States had not intervened, Turner would have been required

to litigate the merits of his § 1983 claim so long as the Board

continued to enforce the Barr Amendment. The magistrate’s

finding, adopted by the district court, stated there is nothing

to indicate that, but for the United States’ intervention, the

Board would have unilaterally stopped enforcing the

Amendment. See Turner, 170 F. Supp. 2d at 7. Because the

United States enjoys sovereign immunity over the share of

Turner’s fees it otherwise would bear, the Board, as a jointly

and severally liable losing party, must pay all attorney’s fees

associated with the non-fractionable claim, here consisting of

the entire litigation from the date Turner filed his complaint

to the date he obtained summary judgment.

By contrast, as Turner acknowledges, his fees-for-

fees litigation is fractionable. Because it involves distinct

lSa

claims, i.e., different statutes with different standards of

proof, Turner correctly seeks only to recover fees-for-fees

from the Board based on his § 1988 claim against the Board

and not based on his EAJA claim against the United States.

Compare 42 U.S.C. § 1988(b) with 28 USC. §

2412(d)(1)(A). For the fees-for-fees litigation, Turner’s

counsel engaged in separate research on each statute and

generated a separate argument about how each party’s role in

the suit rendered it liable to a prevailing party’s claim for

attorney’s fees. See Turner, 170 F. Supp. 2d at 9. His

counsel’s hours therefore can be “easily compartmentalized,”

ASH, 724 F.2d at 216, preventing Turner from recovering

fees-for-fees against the Board for his EAJA claim.

We therefore hold that the district court (and the

magistrate judge) erred as a matter of law by using

considerations of comparative fault in apportioning Turner’s

§ 1988 request for attorney’s fees and expenses on a non-

fractionable claim between the non-immune Board and the

immune United States. Because there is no issue regarding

the reasonableness of his counsel’s hours and rates, Turner

was entitled to recover 100% of the fees and expenses

incurred for the merits litigation. In the pre-alignment period,

the United States was not a party and hence there was no

basis for limiting Turner’s recovery to 87%. In the post-

alignment period, the Board continued to enforce the Barr

Amendment, denying Turner the sole relief that he sought in

his litigation; the Board neither certified the results nor

settled the case. By contrast, Turner’s claims for fees-for-fees

under § 1988 and EAJA are fractionable, and the district

court, using motions pages as a proxy for any other

allocation, properly apportioned the fees between the Board

and the United States. Accordingly, we vacate so much of the

order as awarded Turner only a partial award of his

attorney’s fees and expenses under § 1988 for the § 1983

l6a

merits litigation, and remand the case to the district court to

enter a fully compensatory award.

17a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 03-7030

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.,

LARRY BRUNI, M.D.,

V.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS

Before: GINSBURG, EDWARDS, SENTELLE,

HENDERSON, RANDOLPH, ROGERS, TATEL,

GARLAND, and ROBERTS,

Circuit Judges.

(Filed March 10, 2004)

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellee District of Columbia

Board of Elections and Ethic’s petition for rehearing en banc,

and the absence of a request by any member of the court for a

vote, it is

ORDERED that the petition be denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

/s/ Michael C. McGrail

Michael C. McGrail

Deputy Clerk

18a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 98-2634

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.

V.

D.C. BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS

Before: ROBERTS,

United States District Judge.

(Filed October 8, 2003)

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

ROBERTS, United States District Judge.

The United States Magistrate Judge to whom

plaintiffs’ request for attorneys’ fees was referred awarded

plaintiffs fees in the total amount of $4,113 and plaintiffs

filed objections to the award. Following de novo review of

the fee request, plaintiffs are awarded attorneys’ fees in the

total amount of $39,815.

BACKGROUND

The background of the underlying dispute is set forth

fully in the Memorandum Opinion issued September 17,

1999 and in the Memorandum Opinion signed by the

Magistrate Judge on October 23, 2001. Briefly, ballots in the

District of Columbia for the November 1998 election

oo a

19a

included an initiative that, if adopted by the voters, would

allow certain individuals to obtain marijuana for medicinal

purposes. After the ballots were printed but before the

election took place, Congress passed the Barr Amendment

which prohibited the District of Columbia from using funds

to conduct a ballot initiative that sought to legalize the use of

any-controlled substance, including marijuana.

On October 30, 1998, plaintiffs filed this lawsuit

challenging the Barr Amendment under, inter alia, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 (2000). The District of Columbia Board of Elections

and Ethics (the “Board”) was the only defendant named by

plaintiffs in their lawsuit.

On November 6, 1998, the Board filed a motion

asking the Court to declare the Barr Amendment in violation

of the First Amendment, thereby aligning itself with

plaintiffs. On November 9, 1998, plaintiffs sought a

temporary restraining order. ‘That same day, the united States

opposed plaintiffs’ motion and shortly thereafter intervened

as an adverse party to defend the constitutionality of the Barr

Amendment.

Plaintiffs prevailed on their challenge to the Barr

Amendment. Their request for fees against the United States

under the Equal Access to Justice Act (“EAJA”) was denied

as untimely. Their request for fees against the Board under

42 U.S.C. § 1988 was referred to a Magistrate Judge who

awarded $4,113.

DISCUSSION

The Magistrate Judge’s fee award is reviewed de

novo. 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1).

20a

The prevailing party in an action filed pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 1983 may recover a reasonable attorneys’ fee. 42

U.S.C. § 1988. The party requesting fees has the burden of

establishing entitlement to fees and the proper amount of

fees. See Covington v. District of Columbia, 57 F.3d 1101,

1107 (D.C. Cir. 1995). The Magistrate Judge determined

that plaintiffs were entitled to recover attorneys’ fees under §

1988 and no objections to that determination have been filed.

Plaintiffs qualify as prevailing parties on their § 1983 claim.

The remaining dispute is this case involves the

amount of plaintiffs’ fees which should be assessed against

the Board. Plaintiffs insist that the Board should pay the full

amount of plaintiffs’s fees incurred in the case. The Board

contends that the fees should be apportioned and that it

should pay a small percentage of the total fees requested.

The Magistrate Judge agreed with the Board.

For the reasons discussed and under the cases cited by

the Magistrate Judge in his Memorandum Opinion,

apportionment is appropriate in this case. The court deciding

a fee application should “make every effort to achieve the

most fair and sensible solution that is possible.” See

Grendel’s Den Inc. v. Larkin, 749 F.2d 945, 960 (1 Cir.

1984). Plaintiffs argue that they are entitled under § 1988 to

recover a fully compensatory fee. Their ability to recover a

fully compensatory fee, however, is impeded by their failure

to have filed their request for fees from the United States

under the EAJA in a timely manner. The Board should not

be required to pay fees incurred during litigation on the

merits after it requested a ruling from the Court that the Barr

Amendment was unconstitutional. After that date - -

November 6, 1998 - - the Board was aligned with plaintiffs

on the merits and the plaintiffs’ only adversary was the

United States which intervened to defend the Barr

Amendment.

2la

The record shows that attorneys Graham Boyd, Art

Spitzer and Aaron O’Toole spent 69.9 hours, 13.6 hours, and

24 hours respectively, working on this case through

November 6, 1998. Using the most recent Laffey matrix, !

Boyd’s hours are paid at the rate of $265 per hour, Spitzer’s

hours are paid at the rate of $370 per hour, and O’Toole’s

hours are paid at the rate of $175 per hour. Plaintiffs. then,

incurred attorneys’ fees of $27,755.50 plus $569 in expenses

through November 6, 1998.

The amount of attorneys’ fees to be awarded in a

given case, however, is that which is reasonable. 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988(b). Indeed, ‘reasonableness’ is the overarching

standard by which a fee award is to be measured, and it is to

be determined by a district court ‘in light of all the

circumstances’ of a case.” McKenzie v. Kennickell, 875

F.2d 330, 333 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (citing Blanchard v.

Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87, 96 (1989)). The United States in this

case was solely responsible for enacting the challenged

legislation and was significantly responsible for causing the

election results to be suppressed. As a result, it is appropriate

to reduce the amount of fees assessed against the Board to

arrive at a reasonable fee for which it should be responsible.

In recognition of § 1988s purpose of encouraging private

attorneys general to bring meritorious lawsuits to vindicate

citizens’ rights, however, the amount by which the fee is

reduced should be minimal. Based on the foregoing, a

reasonable fee to be assessed against the Board in this case is

$24,000, plus expenses in the amount of $569.

| Laffey v, Northwest Airlines, Inc., 572 F. Supp. 354 (D.D.C. 1983). Because

compensation received many years after the work was performed “is not

equivalent to the same dollar amount received reasonably promptly as the legal

services are performed, . . . an appropriate adjustment for delay in payment - -

whether by the application of current rather than historic hourly rates or otherwise

- - is within the contemplation of (§ 1988].” Missouri v. Jenkins, 491 U.S. 274,

283-84 (1989).

22a

Plaintiffs are also entitled to recover the fees incurred

in connection with their request for fees from the Board

under § 1988. Plaintiffs claimed $33,144.50 in attorneys’

fees for work devoted to the request for fees from the Board

under § 1988 and the request for fees from the United States

under the EAJA. However, before the Magistrate Judge,

plaintiffs failed to fully allocate time between the § 1988 and

EAJA claims. The Board should not be billed for plaintiffs’

work on fee arguments that were applicabie only to the

United States and that did not prevail. The Magistrate Judge

found that 46% of the substantive portions of plaintiffs’

briefs addressed the § 1988 claim, and he apportioned these

fees guided by that percentage. That basic principle was not

unreasonable. Since plaintiffs have still provided no

complete allocation of time between the two claims, they will

be awarded 46% of the fees sought, or $15,246.

CONCLUSION

Plaintiffs are entitled to recover from the Board

$24,569 for fees and expenses incurred on or before

November 6, 1998, plus $15,246 for fees incurred in

connection with their fee request. Accordingly, it is hereby

ORDERED that defendant District of Columbia

Board of Elections and Ethics pay plaintiffs $39,815.

SIGNED this 8" Day of January, 2003.

/s/ Richard W. Roberts

RICHARD W. ROBERTS

United States District Judge

23a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 98-2634

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.

V.

D.C. BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS

Before: ROBERTS,

United States Disrict Judge.

(Filed February 14, 2003)

ORDER

ROBERTS, United States District Judge.

Plaintiffs filed a motion for reconsideration of the fee

award entered January 8, 2003. Specifically, plaintiffs seek

additional fees for the work performed on their fee request

after the decision by the United Sates Magistrate Judge.

Defendant has neither filed any opposition to plaintiffs”

motion nor requested an extension of time in which file its

response. Because plaintiffs are entitled to recover the fees

incurred after August 20, 2001 in connection with the fee

request, and because the current Laffey matrix rates are

appropriate, it is hereby

ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration

of fee calculations be, and hereby is, GRANTED. The fee

award entered January 8, 2003 is vacated. It is further

24a

ORDERED that attorneys’ fees and expenses in the

total amount of $61,529 be, and hereby are, awarded in favor

of plaintiffs and against the District of Columbia Board of

Elections and Ethics.

SIGNED this 14" day of February, 2003.

/s/ Richard W. Roberts

RICHARD W. ROBERTS

United States District Judge

25a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 98-2634

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.

V.

D.C. BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS

Before: FACCIOLA,

United States Magistrate Judge.

(Filed October 23, 2001)

MEMORANDUM OPINION

FACCIOLA, United States Magistrate Judge.

This matter is before me for resolution of plaintiffs’

Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Expenses against defendant

District of Columbia Board of Elections and Ethics (“the

Board”) and the intervenor and defendant, the United States.

My Memorandum Opinion and Order of July 24, 2001,

denied plaintiffs’ motion with respect to the United States

under the Equal Access to Justice Act, 28 U.S.C. A.§

2412(d)(1)(A)(1994)(“EAJA”), and I now address the

Board’s liability under the Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees

Awards Act of 1976, 42 U.S.C.A. § 1988 (1994).

BACKGROUND

The underlying facts of this dispute have been

detailed in Judge Roberts’ Order of September 17, 1999.

26a

Turner v. District of Columbia Bd. of Elections and Ethics,

77 F.Supp.2d 25 (D.D.C. 1999). The Board placed on the

ballot for the November, 1998, election an initiative that

would afford seriously ili individuals the right to obtain

marijuana without violating the criminal provisions of the

D.C. Code. On October 21, 1998, however, Congress passed

what has become known in this lawsuit as the Barr

Amendment (after its sponsor), which prohibited the use of

funds contained in the District of Columbia

Appropriations Act to conduct any ballot initiative that

sought to legalize the use of a controlled substance,

including, of course, marijuana.

The billing entries submitted by plaintiffs’ counsel

indicate that on the very day the Barr Amendment was

enacted, lawyers for the American Civil Liberties Union

(“ACLU”) began to formulate a legal challenge to the

Amendment that they would ultimately bring on behalf of

five registered voters on October 30, 1998. Plaintiffs

named the Board as the only defendant.

Because the ballots had already been printed when

the Barr amendment was enacted, District of Columbia

voters voted on the initiative on election day, November

3, 1998. On that day the Board issued a press release

explaining that it would not release the voting results of

the initiative for fear of violating the Barr Amendment.

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Attorney’s Fees and Expenses,

Exhibit E.

On November 6, 1998, however, the Board filed a

Motion of Defendant for Expedited Review and

Declaratory Judgment, in which the Board asked this

Court to declare that the Barr Amendment violated the

“First Amendment rights of the voters of the District of

Columbia.” Id. at 1. The Board sought an order

27a

authorizing it to announce and certify the results of the

vote on ine marijuana initiative. On November 9, 1998,

the United States asked that the application plaintiffs had

filed for a temporary restraining order be denied. On

November 23, 1998, the United States intervened to

defend the Barr Amendment.

Ultimately, Judge Roberts concluded that the Barr

Amendment did not preclude counting, announcing, and

certifying the results of the marijuana initiative. In

reaching that conclusion, Judge Roberts invoked the

principle that a construction of a statute which avoids the

resolution of constitutional issues is preferred and that, if the

Barr Amendment precluded the counting, announcing, and

certifying the results of the marijuana initiative, it would be

of dubious constitutionality. Turner, 77 F. Supp. 2d at 34.

By my order of July 24, 2001, I denied plaintiffs’ fee

petition on the grounds that plaintiffs had failed to meet the

jurisdictional deadline EAJA imposes. Initially, plaintiffs

took the position that the Board should be liable for “any

amount of fees awarded under § 1988 that exceeds the

amount awarded under EAJA.” Order of July 24, 2001, at

15, quoting Plaintiffs’ Motion for Attorney’s Fees and

Expenses at 23-24. In fairness to plaintiffs, I permitted them

to discuss the validity of any award against the Board in light

of my determination that plaintiffs could not recover any fees

against the United States. Plaintiffs have responded by

insisting that the Board is obliged to pay all the legal fees

incurred from the commencement of the case until Judge

Roberts’ opinion plus the time spent litigating the validity of

their petition for fees. Plaintiffs take this position even

though plaintiffs and the Board sought a declaration that the

Barr Amendment was unconstitutional, in the face of

opposition from the United States.

28a

INTRODUCTION

“e

Section 1988 empowers the district court, “ in its

discretion,” to provide “[a] reasonable attorney’s fee as part

of the cost” to the prevailing party in any action brought

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 42 U.S.C.A. § 1988 (b) (1994).

“(The] fee applicant bears the burden of establishing

entitlement to an award, documenting the appropriate hours,

and justifying the reasonableness of the rates.” Covington v.

District of Columbia, 57 F.3d 1101, 1107 (D.C.Cir.1995)

(quoting Hensley v. Eckhart, 461 U.S. 424, 437 (1984)).

I must first determine that the predicate requirements

for 42 U.S.C.A. § 1988 (1994) are met insofar as plaintiffs

were prevailing parties and the Board’s actions were

taken under color of state law. I will then determine

whether the Board may be held jointly and severally

liable for all the fees plaintiffs incurrec; whether, as the

Board claims, exceptional circumstances preclude the

award of any attorney fees against it; and, if not, what

portion of the fees should be paid by the Board.

Prevailing Party

One of the requirements for an award under §

1988 is that the applicant be a “prevailing party.” District

of Columbia v. Patterson, 667 A.2d 1338 (D.C. 1995).

Plaintiff no doubt meets this definition:

To qualify as a prevailing party for

attorneys’ fees purposes, a plaintiff

must show that the final result

represents in a real sense, a

disposition that furthers their interest.

In applying this inquiry. The court

must focus on_ the precise

29a

factual/legal condition that the fee

claimant has sought to change, and

then determine if the outcome confers

an actual benefit or relief from a

burden.

Grano_v. Barry, 783 F.2d 1104, 1108 (D.C. Cir.

1986)(citations omitted).

Plaintiff here sought to enjoin the Board from

withholding the results of the November 3, 1998, ballot

initiative, and that is precisely what they achieved

through Judge Robert’s September 17", 1999 Order. The

Board’s argument that plaintiffs were not a prevailing

party because the Board was never found to be at fault is

inapposite because it confounds two distinct concepts,

1.e., “prevailing party” and whether “good faith” is ever a

special circumstance justifying denial of a fee award

under § 1988. See infra at 7. A party prevails

irrespective of whether his Opponent acted with fault or in

bad faith.

Section 1983 Liability

Defendant argues that an award of attorneys’ fees

is not in order here because liability for 4 fees under §

1988 is predicated on liability under 42 U.S.C.A. § 1983

(1994), for the violation of constitutional or federal statutory

rights under the color of a “statute of any State... or the

District of Columbia.” Defendant reasons that, because it did

not act under color of a statute of the District or Columbia,

but rather of federal congressional legislation, it cannot be

held liable under § 1983. This argument ignores that § 1983

itself acknowledges that “[flor the purposes of this section,

any Act of Congress applicable exclusively to the District of

Columbia shall be considered to be a Statute of the District of

Columbia.” Pub. L. No. 96-170 § 1, 93 Stat. 1284 (1979).

30a

District Properties Associates v. District of Columbia, 743

F.2d 21, 27 (D.C. Cir. 1984), applied this provision in

treating a Congressional statute establishing the District of

Columbia Administrative Procedure Act as a statute of the

District of Columbia. In another case, when the Supreme

Court held that a clause of a statute Congress enacted

regulating activity near embassies located in the District of

Columbia was unconstitutional, this Court, per Judge Gasch,

imposed liability for attorneys’ fees upon the District of

Columbia pursuant to 42 U.S.C.A. § 1988(1994), rejecting

the District’s claim that it “did not benefit from the statute.”

Boos v. Barry, 704 F. Supp. 5, 9 (D.D.C. 1989). Likewise, in

this case, the Barr Amendment, although passed by

Congress, applies only to the District of Columbia and must

be treated as a statute of the District of Columbia for the

purposes of §§ 1983 and 1988.

Joint and Several Liability

We therefore reach the ironic result of holding the

District of Columbia accountable for a Congressional

enactment that the District attacked as unconstitutional. ~

Indeed, plaintiffs demand that the Board be jointly and

severally liable for all the fees incurred in this case, from the

beginning to the end. The Board understandably rejects that

claim and argues that this case is one where special

circumstances make the award of any fees unjust.

Plaintiffs cannot impose joint and several liability

upon the District and the United States. A fundamental

analogy to well-established tort law is instructive. It is

certainly true that multiple defendants found liable for a

single injury are deemed to be joint torfeasors and any

compensatory damages for that single injury must be

awarded jointly and severally against them. Faison _v.

31a

Nationwide Morta. Corp., 839 F.2d 680, 686 (D.C. Cir.

1987). It is equally true, however, that:

If two or more persons, acting

independently, tortiously cause distinct

harms or a single harm for which there is a

reasonable basis. for division according to

the contribution of each, each is subject to

liability only for the portion of the total

harm that he has himself caused.

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 881 (1979). In this Case, it

must be said either that the District and the United States

caused plaintiffs two distinct harms, i.e., the fees incurred

prior to November 7, and those incurred after November 6, or

that the District and the United States caused plaintiffs a

single harm, plaintiffs’ incurring legal fees, but there is a

reasonable basis for dividing responsibility between them. In

either instance, it is irrational and unfair to force the District

to pay fees plaintiffs incurred after November 6, 2001, when

the District and plaintiffs jointly sought the same relief and

all the work plaintiffs’ counsel did was directed against the

arguments being made by the United States and the United

States alone.

Special Circumstances

A prevailing party in a § 1983 action is generally

entitled to attorneys’ fees unless special circumstances would

render the award unjust. - Hensley, 461 U.S. at 429; Grano,

783 F.2d at 111 I (applying the same rule used in

Commissioners Court v. United States, 683 F.2d 435, 438

(D.C. Cir. 1982)). Special circumstances, however, have

been held to be quite rare and the exception is narrowly

construed. Hatfield v. Hayes, 877 F.2d 717, 719 (87° Cir.

32a

1989). See 2 M. Schwartz & J. Kirklin, Section 1983

Statutory Attorney Fees § 3.13 (3d ed. 1997).

A commonly argued special circumstance is the

defendant’s good faith interpretation of a law that is

ultimately held to be in violation of a federal right. Yet it is

widely recognized that a defendant’s good faith does not

ordinarily constitute a “special circumstance” in determining

the propriety of an attorney fee award. Williams v. Hanover

Housing Authority, 113 F.3d 1294 (1”’ Cir. 1997); Harrington ~

v. DeVito, 656 F.2d 264 (7 Cir. 1981), cert. denied 455 U.S.

993 (1982); Love v. Maw, 620 F.2d 235 (10 Cir. 1980);

Riddell_v. Nat’l Democratic Party, 624 F.2d 539 (5" Cir.

1980).

Rejecting any claim of “good faith”, plaintiffs argue

that had the Board of Elections not construed the Barr

Amendment so cautiously to preclude even the expenditure

of the nominal amount of money it would have taken to

tabulate and announce the results, this lawsuit would not

have existed and plaintiffs would not have had to spend a

penny in legal fees. That argument is buttressed by Judge

Roberts’ ultimate conclusion that the Board was wrong and

that the Barr Amendment did not preclude the tabulation and

announcement of the results. But, hindsight is always 20/20

and the worst that could be said of the Board is that it could

have been more courageous in its interpretation. At the risk

of another “but.” one also has to note the utter dependence of

the District of Columbia upon Congress for its budget. In

light of this truly unique political arrangement, it is

understandable to conclude that a cautious interpretation of

the Barr Amendment was the better part of valor.

In any event, the proper focus in § 1983 cases is never

on the defendants’ “fault.” It must never be forgotten that

Congress enacted the fee shifting provision not to punish

33a

defendants but to encourage lawyers to undertake litigation to

vindicate the constitutional and Statutory rights of those who

could not otherwise afford to vindicate those rights.!_ While

the Board did join plaintiffs in seeking a declaratory

judgment that the Barr Amendment was unconstitutional, ‘it

did so only after being sued itself. There is absolutely no

indication anywhere that the Board would have brought the

lawsuit itself had it not been sued. It therefore must be said

that, but for plaintiffs’ bringing the lawsuit, the results of the

initiative would have never been published. The fee shifting

Statute is designed to create an incentive for “private

Attorney Generals” to bring meritorious lawsuits by

vindicating the citizens’ rights when the government may be

incapacitated by political or budgetary considerations from

bringing them. Boos, 704 F. Supp. at 9. Plaintiffs fall

perfectly within that rubric and the interest in encouraging

lawyers to undertake litigation compels the conclusion that

this is not one of those rare cases where the award of fees is

fundamentally unjust.

I In fact, the above-cited cases, relied on by the defendants, illustrate that the

award of attorneys’ fees is “not designed merely to penalize defendants, but to

encourage injured individuals to seek relief.” Id. (citing Piggie Park, 390 U.S. at

402, 88 S.Ct. at 956). Thus, the question of fairness centers not on the defendant,

but on the plaintiff. In the instant case the plaintiffs had no intervenors with

similar interests and their interests were soundly vindicated as a portion of the

Statute was found unconstitutional. Moreover, if the District of Columbia were

absolved of its obligation to pay the award, plaintiffs or their counsel would have

to absorb the costs, which would be unjust to them and would deter future suits.

See Piggie Park, 390 U.S. at 402, 88 S.Ct. at 966. Such a result would fly in the

face of the premium that the Civil Rights Act places on litigants as private

attomeys general vindicating individual rights. See Christiansburg Garment Co.

vy. EEOC, 434 U.S. at 420, 98 S.Ct. at 699; Miller v. Staats, 706 F.2d at 340;

Boos, 704 F. Supp at 9.

34a

Apportionment of Fees

It hardly follows that the Board is responsible for

all of the fees claimed. Although joint and several

liability is urged by plaintiffs, the court is obliged to

“make every effort to achieve the most fair and sensible

solution that is possible.”2 Grendel’s Den Inc. v. Larkin,

749 F.2d 945, 960 (Ist Cir.1984). Such an effort entails

an apportionment of the fee liability.

There is no single formula for determining fee

apportionment in a § 1988 action, and there is no relevant

case law in this Circuit. In other Circuits, the various

apportionment factors and methods employed have

included: equal division among the defendants; the jury’s

assessed actual damages; holding a particular defendant

who is solely or largely responsible for a single claim

liable for fees related to that claim: relative culpability of

the various defendants: and time spent by the plaintiff in

preparing the case against each defendant. See generally

Council for Periodical Distributors Associations v. Evans,

827 F.2d 1483, 1487 (11th Cir. 1987)(citations omitted).

The last two of these factors are particularly appropriate

in the instant case. In Southeast Legal Defense Group v.

Adams, 657 F.2d 1118 (9" Cir., 1981), the court

considered the time spent by plaintiffs’ attorneys against

a particular defendant. In that case, as here, plaintiff had

sued a federal and a state defendant, and the federal

2 The fact that 1 denied an award of fee liability against the United States

in my Order of July 23. 2001, is irrelevant to assessing liability against the

D.C. Board. Plaintiffs failed to meet the strict deadlines for fee requests of

EAJA, and the D.C. Board should not have to shoulder the costs of this

mistake.

35a

defendant had been exempted from liability for its share

of attorney’s fees. The District Court then apportioned

75% of the total fees to the state defendants, as they were

the primary focus of the plaintiffs actions. The Circuit

Court subsequently affirmed this apportionment

method, noting that at least 75% of plaintiffs counsel’s

preparation was directed towards the state defendants.

Adams, 657 F.2d at 1125. This time-spent approach was

also endorsed in Jenkins by Agyei v. State of Mo., 838

F.2d 260 (8th Cir. 1988) and Nash v. Chandler, 848 F.2d

567 (Sth Cir. 1988).

Under the time-spent approach, plaintiffs should

be able to recover no more than the fees and expenses

incurred in opposing the D.C. Board. Thus, the fees

related to the preparation of the complaint and all other

work conducted prior to the Board’s request for a

declaratory judgment on November 6, 1998, when it

effectively ceased opposing plaintiffs, are potentially

recoverable under this approach. A review of plaintiffs’

exhibits shows that Graham Boyd spent 69.9 hours on the

matter up to and including November 6. Art Spitzer and

Aaron O’Toole spent 13.6 hours and 24 hours,

respectively, on pre-November 7 matters. Under the

current edition of the matrix established in Laffev v.

Northwest Airlines, Inc, 572 F ‘Supp. 354 (D.D.C. 1983),

these figures amount to $25,590. Plaintiffs also seek to

recover $569 in expenses incurred prior to November 8,

bringing the total to $26,159.

But plaintiffs do not deserve all of this amount

because the degree-of-culpability factor calls for a further

reduction, as the Board was not primarily responsible for

the violation. As the court in Evans wrote, “In cases such

as the one now before the court, however, it may be

36a

appropriate for a district court to apportion fees between

the active instigator of a wrong and a more passive co-

defendant who had a more peripheral or ministerial role

in the wrong.” Id., at 1487. See also Jose P. v. Ambach,

669 F.2d 865, 871 (2d Cir.1982). Here, it is clear that the

United States was overwhelmingly responsible for

initially suppressing the election results, because it was

Congress that passed the legislation that restricted the

Board’s ability to certify the ballot results. Considering

that Congress passed the Barr Amendment and, as I have

explained, the Board’s initial position as to the Barr

amendment was cautious but not unreasonable, I will

apportion the fees 90% to the United States and 10% to the

Board. Thus, plaintiffs shall be awarded $2,616 in fees and

expenses, which is 10% of their fees incurred as of

November 6, 1998.

Fees on Fees Liability

In addition to the liability for fees incurred in

litigating the plaintiffs claim, I must also determine the

“fees on fees” liability for time spent preparing the fees

petitions. The following chart indicates the hours spent

by each of the plaintiffs’ attorneys in preparing briefs on

the fees motions. These figures are gleaned from

plaintiffs’ attorneys fees briefs. The fourth column,

“Hours Spent on Unspecified Fees,” represents fees work

where the plaintiffs failed to distinguish between the §

1988 claims and the EAJA claims.

37a

Attorney} Hours Hours Hours Rate | Total For Total for

Spent Spent | Spent on Verified Unspecified

on on 42 | Unspecifie Hours on Hours

EAJA USC d Fees 1988

Fees 1998

Fees

Graham 33.1 240 $8,109.50

Boyd

Alicia 31 9 86.5 160 $1,440 $13,840

Young

Arthur 6.5 Vea 350 $2,275 $2,520

Spitzer

Aaron 0 160

O’ Tool

$3,715 $24,469.50

Plaintiffs seek a total of $33,140.50 for their

Services in litigating the fees motions. Right away, I

Shall strike $4,960 from this total, which represents

Alicia Young’s 31 hours researching EAJA issues, as

plaintiffs cannot possibly expect to bill the District for

arguments that were applicable only to the United States

and that did not prevail in the first place. Thus, I am left

to consider the remaining $28,184.50, which represents

$3,715 of work that is attributed solely to the § 1988

claim and $24,469.50 of unspecified fees work that is not

discretely attributed by plaintiffs to either the EAJA

Claim or the § 1988 claim.

The unspecified hours spent on the fees motions

present the more difficult questions with regard to fees .

liability. One approach would be to deny all of this

38a

portion of the fees application, on the grounds that

plaintiff should have been more diligent in documenting

the allocation of time between the two separate claims.

But this seems unduly harsh, given that plaintiffs cannot

reasonably be expected to have foreseen the ultimate

importance of this allocation. The more _ sensible

approach is to apportion the hours spent on the fees

motions according to the respective length of each

portion of plaintiffs’ motions. This makes intuitive

sense, as the relative length of the brief sections is a

rough coefficient of the relative time spent researching

and editing those sections.

The plaintiffs’ April 10th, 2000, motion for fees

runs 24 pages. Of these, seven pages cover the § 1988

fees claim, while over 11 pages address the EJEA claim.

In the plaintiffs’ Reply in support of their fees motion,

roughly nine pages cover their claim to fees under § 1988

(1994), while eight pages cover fees under the EAJA

statute. In total, of the 35 combined substantive pages

from the two briefs, 16, or 46%, address § 1988. Forty-

six percent of $24,469.50 is 511,256. Adding in the

53,715 attributed solely to the § 1988 fees claim, I arrive

at a total of $14,971 that can fairly be attributed to the §

1988 claim.

But this does not mean that plaintiffs deserve

$14,971. Rather, I shall reduce this figure by 90%, because

I found D.C. liable for only 10% of the fees incurred in the

period prior to November 6, 1998. This reduction in the

fees on fees award is entirely appropriate, given plaintiffs’

lack of success in its motion for fees against D.C. See

3 The remaining pages comprise an introduction, a

conclusion and a discussion of joint and several liability.

a

39a

Ustrak v. Fairman, 851 F.2d 983 (7" Cir. 1988). It would

make little sense to fully reward plaintiffs for their efforts in

arguing an essentially unsuccessful fee motion. Ten percent

of $14,971 equals $1,497, and this amount shall be paid by

the Board. to plaintiffs.

Added to the $2,616 in liability for the pre-

November 7th substantive work, plaintiffs’ total fees award

Shall be $4,113.

A separate order accompanies this Memorandum Opinion.

/s/ John M. Facciola

John M. Facciola

United States

Magistrate Judge

40a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 98-2634

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.

V.

D.C. BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS

Before: FACCIOLA,

United States Magistrate Judge.

(Filed July 24, 2001)

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

FACCIOLA, United States Magistrate Judge.

I. INTRODUCTION

This matter is before me for resolution of

plaintiffs’ Motion for Attorney’s fees. Plaintiffs, five

registered D.C. voters and a committee of such voters, filed

this lawsuit on October 30, 1998, seeking to have the election

results from Ballot Initiative 59 on medical marijuana

announced and certified by the D.C. Board of Elections and

Ethics (“the Board”). The Board had refused to release the

results of Initiative 59 for fear such action would violate the

Barr Amendment, az enactment which denies funding to any

ballot initiative aimed at legalizing or reducing penalties for

the possession, use, or distribution of controlled substances.

Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Bill of 1998, Pub. L.

No. 105-277, 112 Stat. 2681-150 (1998). The United States

4la

formally intervened in the lawsuit on November 30, 1998 to

defend the constitutionality of the Amendment. By Order

dated September 17, 1999, Judge Roberts granted plaintiffs’

motion for summary judgment in part and ordered the Board.

to compute, certify and announce the results of the election.

Neither the D.C. Board nor the United States appealed Judge

Roberts’ ruling. A more detailed history of this case is set

forth in Judge Roberts’ opinion of September 17, 1999. See

Turner, et _al. v. District of Columbia Bd. of Elections and

Ethics, 77 F.Supp.2d 25 (D.D.C. 1999).

Plaintiffs filed their Motion for Attorneys’ Fees on

March 31, 2000, seeking fees against both the D.C. Board

and the United States. With respect to their fee petition

against the United States, plaintiffs seek fees under the Equal

Access to Justice Act (““EAJA”), 28 U.S.C.A § 2412(d)(1)(A)

(1998). The United States raised several procedural

objections to plaintiffs’ motion, including a timeliness

defense.!_ In an Order dated March 21, 2001, I determined

that based on the evidence before me, I could not resolve the

timeliness issue, and ordered that an evidentiary hearing be

held on the matter. Order of March 21, 2001, at 7-8.

Accordingly, I denied plaintiffs’ motion for fees without

prejudice to refile. An evidentiary hearing was held on the

timeliness issue on May 16, 2001.

| The United States also objected to plaintiffs’ fee petition on the grounds

that 1) EAJA provided no basis for an award of fees in this case since this

Suit was not an action brought against the United States, see 28

U.S.C.A § 2412(d)1)(A) (1998), and 2) pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. §

2403(a) (1994), the federal government’s liability was limited to court

costs only. Order of March 21, 2001 at 3, 5. My Order of March 21,

2000 rejected these arguments, but left open the issue of the untimeliness

of plaintiffs’ fee petition against the United States.

42a 7

Plaintiffs maintain that even assuming their EAJA

petition was untimely, the doctrine of equitable tolling should

apply here to excuse their late filing. For the reasons set

forth below, the court holds that the circumstances of this

case do not merit equitable tolling, and therefore plaintiffs’

Motion for Attorneys’ Fees against the United States will be

denied.

BACKGROUND

Subsequent to Judge Roberts’ grant of partial

summary judgment for the plaintiffs, the parties jointly

drafted and submitted a proposed order to Judge Roberts’

- which indicated that if defendants? did not appeal Judge

Roberts’ ruling, the parties would try to resolve the fees’

issue within thirty days and thereafter report to the court. See

Transcript of May 16, 2001 Hearing at 11, 12. That proposed

order was memorialized by Judge Roberts on October 8,

1999, in an Order which reads:

Upon consideration of plaintiffs’ Motion for

an Order Holding in Abeyance Proceedings

Regarding Attorneys’ Fees and Costs, and of

the defendants’ consent thereto .. . It is

therefore, pursuant to F.R. Civ. P. 54, and

Local Rule 215, hereby

ORDERED, that the motion is granted and

all issues relating to an award of attorneys’

fees and costs shall be held in abeyance until

further order of this Court; and it is further

2 For simplification purposes only, the Court uses this term to connote

both the defendant, the D.C. Board and the intervenor, the United States.

43a

ORDERED that within 30 days of the

deadline for the filing of an appeal in this

case, if no appeal is filed . . . the parties shall

confer with respect to issues of attorneys’ fees

and shall submit to the Court proposed

order(s) regarding further proceedings on the

fee issues.

Order of October 8, 1999 at i 3

The expiration date for the federal government’s

(“government”) appeal period was sixty days from the date

of Judge Roberts’ September 17, 1999 Order, or November

16, 1999. Fed. R. App. P.4(a)(1). Therefore, under the

abeyance Order, if the government did not appeal Judge

Roberts’ summary judgment ruling, the parties had thirty

days from November 16, 1999 to confer and thereafter

submit a proposed order to the court. Id. at 2. Neither the

D.C. Board nor the United States appealed the summary

judgment ruling.

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 2412(d)(1)(B) (1998), a

party seeking an award of fees against the United States must

file its application within 30 days of final judgment in the

action. § 2412(d)(1)(B). Accordingly, under EAJA,

plaintiffs had until December 16, 1999, or thirty days after

the government’s deadline for filing an appeal, to file their

application for fees. Jeff Markowitz, the Department of

Justice (“DOJ”) attorney representing the government at that

time, testified that he was not at all familiar with the EAJA

filing deadline when he agreed to the October 8, 1999 Order

with plaintiffs’ attorney, Graham Boyd. T. at 70, In. 10-11,

Markowitz did not recall anyone from DOJ ever calling to his

attention the EAJA filing deadline. Id., In. 23. Plaintiffs’

attorney Boyd did not state definitively whether he was

aware of the 30-day EAJA filing deadline or not at the time

44a

Judge Roberts’ Order was issued. T. at 22, In. 9-20. Both

Markowitz and Boyd have testified that neither attorney

discussed any EAJA deadlines with one another at any time

during their discussion of fees in this case. T. at 29, In. 7-9;

T. at 58, In. 2.

On or about November 17, 1999, the day after the

government’s time to appeal had lapsed, Boyd contacted

Markowitz to discuss fees. T. at 13, In. 2-4. Markowitz told

Boyd he could not discuss the fees’ issue because he was

leaving the DOJ shortly and felt it would be more productive

for Boyd to take up the fees’ issue with Markowitz’s

successor, who was yet unknown. Id., In. 5-8. Markowitz

indicated to Boyd that he would contact Boyd when he

learned who would be taking over the Turner case for the

government. T. at 14, In. 13-14.

3 When asked whether Boyd recalled being aware of the EAJA filing

deadline September 1999, when Judge Roberts’ opinion was issued, Boyd

responded:

My recollection is that I was aware of

the number of days that we had to file.

Whether I was focusing on EAJA or the

federal or local rules I’m not sure. What I

can say is that I certainly was not aware of

the case law that you [the United States]

ended up citing in your brief regarding the

construction of the deadline under EAJA.

Q: Well, did you ever look at EAJA,

specifically Section 2412(d\(1\(B), which

provides that the petition had to be filed

within 30 days of final judgement?

Boyd: Again, I’m not— the 30-day

figure I think is one I was aware of. I

can’t, thinking back to 1999, remember

whether it was, you know, whether | was

focusing on that or the other.

T. at 22, In. 9-20.

45a

Markowitz testified that sometime subsequent to

December 7, 2000, he relayed to Boyd that attorney Mark

Quinlivan would be Markowitz’s-successor.4 T. at 14, In. 21-

24. In preparation for his departure on December 15, 1999,

Markowitz prepared a transfer memo, dated December 1,

1999. T. at 55. Quinlivan recalls receiving the transfer

memo within a day or two of December 1, 1999. T. at 76, In.

11-17. According to Quinlivan, the transfer memo indicated

that Boyd would be making a settlement offer regarding fees

by December 16, 1999. T. at 77, In. 20-25. Quinlivan

testified that he did not hear from Boyd at anytime during

December 1999. T. at 80, In. 3.

Although the exact date is in dispute, Boyd and

Quinlivan had their first conversation about this case after

Boyd learned that Quinlivan would be taking over the case

for the government. During their first conversation, which

took place sometime in late December or the first part of

January,> Quinlivan requested a formal settlement proposal

from plaintiffs. T. at 15, 16. Quinlivan also testified that

sometime in early January, Boyd referenced the parties’

October 8, 1999 Order holding all fees’ issues in abeyance

4 Markowitz recalls that he likely told Boyd about his successor on or

before December 14, 1999, as Markowitz’s last day at the DOJ was

December 15, 1999. T. at 60, In. 12-14. Boyd testified that his best

recollection was that he learned of Quinlivan’s entry into the case in

late December 1999 or early January 2000, T. at 15, In. 8-9, although,

he testified, it could have been before December 20, 1999. T. at 35, In.

19-20.

> Quinlivan recalls having his first conversation with Boyd sometime

during the second week of January 2000, T. at 80, In. 5-8. Boyd

estimates that he learned who Markowitz’s successor would be in late

December or early January, though possibly before December 20, 1999.

. at 15, 35. According to Boyd, he called Quinlivan immediately after

learning Quinlivan would be taking over the case for the government, and

they talked within a day or two after that. T. at 15, In. 12-16,

46a

pending settlement efforts, and Quinlivan thereafter reviewed

the consent order. T. at 87, In. 20-25. Quinlivan testified

that the first time he focused on the relationship between the

October 8, 1999 Order and the EAJA deadline in the case

was “sometime in January”. T. at 87, In. 18-25, T. at 88, In.

1-5,

On January 21, 2000, the parties held a conference

call in which plaintiffs’ attorneys Graham Boyd and Arthur

Spitzer, the government’s attorney, Quinlivan, and a lawyer

for the D.C. Board, discussed the possibility of settling the

fee issue. T. at 17. The parties were unable to reach a

resolution, and on February 4, 2000, they filed a report with

Judge Roberts proposing a schedule for the fee petition. T. at

17-18. In drafting the proposed schedule for fees, attorney

Quinlivan specifically asked for a notation which indicated

that the government reserved its right to object to the

timeliness of plaintiffs fee petition, although he did not

specify on what grounds.® T. at 18, In. 3-8; T. at 82, In. 22-

24.

Pursuant to the parties’ proposed schedule, Judge

Roberts issued an Order on February 14, 2000 directing

plaintiffs to file their fees’ motion on or before March 24,

2000. Order of February 14, 2000 at 1. After a subsequent

© Quinlivan recalls raising the timeliness issue the first time he and Boyd

spoke about the case, which Quinlivan estimates to be the second week in

January 2000. T. at 80, In. 16-18. He testified that he also spoke with

Boyd about the timeliness issue during the January 21, 2000 conference.

T. at 82. During that conference, according to Quinlivan, the government

told Boyd that the fee petition was untimely. Id. at In. 6-7. Quinlivan

recalls Boyd opposing this, mentioning the parties’ consent order of

October 8, 1999, and stating the parties had agreed to hold the fees’ issue

in abeyance. Id. at In. 7-10. Quinlivan also recalls in the same

conversation mentioning to Boyd that this case may not be a suit “against

the United States” under 28 U.S.C.A § 2412(d\1)(A). T. at 82, In. 12-14.

OO

47a

extension, plaintiffs filed their fee petition on March 31,

2000, approximately three and one-half months after the

EAJA deadline had run.

ANALYSIS

The EAJA Filing Deadline

EAJA provides in relevant part:

A party seeking an award of fees and

other expenses shall, within thirty

days of final judgment in the action,

submit to the court an application for

fees and other expenses which show

that the party is a prevailing party and

is eligible to receive an award under

this subsection, and the amounts

sought...

28 U.S.C.A. § 2412(d)(1)(B)(1998) (emphasis added).

Meeting | this thirty-day EAJA deadline is a

jurisdictional prerequisite to government liability under

EAJA. See Action on Smokin Health v. Civil

Aeronautics Bd. 724 F.2d 211, 225 (D.C. Cir. 1984):

American Ass'n of Retired Persons v. EEOC, 873 F.2d 402,

407 (D.C. Cir. 1989); Bryan vy. OPM, 165 F.3d 1315, 1321

(10" Cir. 1999) (“The thirty-day time limitation is

jurisdictional in nature.”); Bazalo v. West, 150 F.3d 1380,

1383 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (“We have unequivocally held that the

thirty-day time limit for filing an EAJA application after final

disposition of an adversary adjudication is a jurisdictional

prerequisite to an award of attorney fees.”); Yang v. Shalala,

22 F.3d 213, 215 n. 4 (9" Cir.); Welter v. Sullivan, 941 F 2d

674, 675 (8° Cir. 1993); Myers v. Sullivan, 916 F.2d 659.

666 (11" Cir. 1990) (same); Taylor v. United States, 749

48a

F.2d 171, 174 (3d. Cir. 1984) (same); Allen v. Secretary of

HHS, 781 F.2d 92, 93 (6 Cir. 1986). Because the thirty-day

requirement is jurisdictional, neither the Courts nor the

parties may waive it. See Howitt v. U.S. Department of

Commerce, 897 F.2d 583, 583-84 (1" Cir. 1990) (“The

circuit courts have unanimously agreed that the statute’s 30-

day time limit is jurisdictional, and therefore that neither

they parties nor the courts may waive it.”) (citing Adam

Sommerrock Holzbau, Gmbh v. United States, 866 F.2d 427,

430 (Fed.Cir.1989); MacDonald Miller Co. v. NLRB, 856

F.2d 1423, 1425 (9th Cir.1988); J-I-J_ Construction Co. v.

United States, 829 F.2d 26, 29 (Fed. Cir.1987); Western

Newspaper Publishing Co. v. NLRB, 821 F.2d 459, 460 (7

Cir.1987); Sonicraft. Inc. v. NLRB, 814 F.2d 385, 386 (7th

Cir.1987); cf. Long Island Radio Co. v. NLRB, 841 F.2d

474, 477 (2d Cir.1988) (30-day time limitation in 5 U.S.C. §

504(a)(2) for filing an initial application for attorney’s fees

= agency proceedings under EAJA is jurisdictional), Clifton

Heckler, 755 F.2d 1138, 1144-45 (5 Cir.1985)

cama 30day time limitation in 28 U.S.C. §

2412(d)(1)(B) regarding initial EAJA application in civil

actions is jurisdictional); Action on Smoking & Health v.

CAB, 724 F.2d 211, 225 (D.C. Cir.1984) (same); Columbia

Mfg. Corp. v. NLRB, 715 F.2d 1409, 1410 (9th Cir.1983)

(per curiam) (5 U.S.C. § 504(a)(2) imposes jurisdictional

limit); Monark Boat Co. v. NLRB, 708 F.2d 1322, 1326-27

(8" Cir.1983) (same)).

The claim of untimeliness is an affirmative defense

and therefore the defendant bears the burden of pleading it.

See Bowden v. U.S., 106 F.3d 433, 437 (D.C. Cir. 1997).

However, once the defendant has met its burden, the plaintiff

must then plead and prove facts which support equitable

avoidance of the result of its untimely filing. Id. Defendant

has met its burden of untimeliness. It is undisputed that . nal

judgment in this case was entered on November 16, 1999.

ee

49a

Judge Robert’s Order granting plaintiffs’ motion for

summary judgment was entered on September 17, 1999, see

Turner, 77 F.Supp.2d at 35, and the United States’ time for

appeal lapsed on November 16, 1999, See Fed. R. App. P.

4(a)(1). Because the United States did not appeal Judge

Roberts’ Order, the date of final judgment for this matter was

November 16, 1999, Accordingly, under 28 U.S.C.A. §

2412(d)(1)(B), the plaintiffs had until December 16, 1999 to

file their fee petition.” Plaintiffs filed their motion for fees

over three months later, on March 31 , 2000.

Plaintiffs argue that principles of equitable tolling

excuse their admittedly late filing. They rely upon the

Supreme Court’s ruling in Irwin v. Dep’t of Veteran Affairs,

498 U.S. 89, 95 (1990), which held that equitable tolling is

applicable to jurisdictional deadlines where Congress has

already waived the federal government’s sovereign

immunity. Plaintiffs’ Reply in Support of Plaintiff's Motion

for_Attorney’s Fees and Expense (“Pl. Reply”) at 12.

Plaintiffs reason that because Congress waived sovereign

7 There is minor discrepancy between the parties’ recitation of these

relevant dates and the actual deadlines. In its Opposition to plaintiffs’

motion for fees, the United States indicates that Judge Roberts’ Order

granting plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment was entered on

September 20, 1999. Uni w ition

t intiff Motion for Attorneys’ Fees an Ex (“U.S. Memo

Opp.”) at 7. This date does not accord with the date of Judge Robert’s

published Opinion and Order, Tumer v. D.C. f Elections and

Ethics, 77 F.Supp.2d 25, nor with the docket sheet in this case, which

both list September 17, 1999 as the date of judgment. Because the United

States lists September 20, 1999 as the date of final judgment, they

calculate that the time for appeal lapsed on November 19, 1999, and

consequently, they claim plaintiffs’ fee petition under EAJA was due on

December 20, 1999. See U.S. Memo Opp. at 7. This Court will use the

date that appears on Judge Roberts’ Order and the court’s docket sheet,

September 17, 1999, as the starting point for its analysis.

50a

immunity in enacting EAJA, EAJA’s provisions are subject

to the principles of equitable tolling. Id.

The issue before the Court in Irwin was whether the

plaintiff's late-filing in a Title VII suit barred the court from

hearing plaintiff's claim. Id. at 93. The Court held that it did

not, and in so doing, stated that the case “affords us an

opportunity to adopt a more general rule” regarding the

applicability of equitable tolling in cases against the federal

government. Id. at 95. The Court concluded that “the same

rebuttable presumption of equitable tolling applicable to suits

against private defendants should also apply to suits against

the United States...” id. at 95, 96, thereby specifically

rejecting its past ad hoc approach to these cases, which had

the “disadvantage of continuing unpredictability.” Id. at 95.

Prior to Irwin, the D.C. Circuit, as discussed above,

held that EAJA’s filing deadline was jurisdictional and could

not be waived. See, e.g., Action on Smoking, 724 F.2d at

225. After Irwin, both the Supreme Court and this Circuit

have been silent as to whether EAJA is subject to equitable

tolling.8 The Court need not decide that issue today. Even

assuming the § 2412(d)(1)(B) filing deadline is subject to

equitable tolling, the circumstances of this case do not

warrant its application.

Analysis of Equitable Tolling

Equitable tolling can apply in several circumstances.

In Irwin, the Supreme Court noted that equitable tolling

8 Two post-Irwin cases in this Circuit give, at best, uncertain guidance.

See Scott v. National Transportation Safety Board, 114 F.3d 305 (D.C.

Cir. 1997) (EAJA deadline jurisdictional but no discussion of equitable

tolling); Washington v. Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority,

160 F.3d 750 (D.C. Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 527 U.S. 1038 (1999)

(applying equitable tolling to Title VII deadline).

Sla

applies in situations “where the claimant has actively pursued

his judicial remedies by filing a defective pleading during the

Statutory period” or where he has been “induced or tricked by

his adversary’s misconduct into allowing the filing deadline

to pass.” Irwin at 96. This Circuit has indicated that

equitable tolling is appropriate where

“a claimant has received inadequate notice, ...

where a motion for appointment of counsel is

pending and equity would justify tolling the

Statutory period until the motion is acted

upon, ... where the court has led the plaintiff

to believe that she had done everything

required of her, ... [or] where affirmative

misconduct on the part of a defendant lulled

the plaintiff into inaction.”

Bull, S.A. v. Comer, 55 F.3d 678, 681 (D.C. Cir. 1995)

(citing Mondy v. Secretary of the Army, 845 F.2d 1051,

1057 (D.C. Cir. 1988) (quoting Baldwin County Welcome

Center v. Brown, 466 U.S. 147, 104 S.Ct. 1723, 80 L.Ed.2d

196 (1984) (per curiam)). Further, a plaintiff's justifiable

reliance on the advice of a governmental official may also

excuse the plaintiff's failure to meet a filing deadline. See

Bull, S.A. at 681 (quoting Jarrell v. United States Postal

Service, 753 F.2d 1088, 1092 (D.C. Cir. 1985). Nonetheless,

equitable tolling is only available in “extraordinary and

carefully circumscribed instances,” Smith-Haynie v. District

of Columbia, 155 F.3d 575, 579-80 (D.C. Cir. 1998), and

courts have been unwilling to apply it to “a garden variety

claim of excusable neglect.” Washington v. WMATA, 160

F.3d 750, 753 (quoting Irwin, 498 U.S. at 96).

Plaintiffs do not assert, nor could they make the

claim, that they “actively pursued” their judicial remedies by

“filing a defective pleading during the statutory period.”

52a

Plaintiffs made no filing in this case until March 31, 2000,

approximately three and one-half months after the EAJA

deadline had passed. Furthermore, plaintiffs have shown no

affirmative wrongdoing on the part of defendants. Indeed,

plaintiffs conceded at the evidentiary hearing on this matter

that the defendants have engeged in no affirmative

misconduct or trickery that would justify equitable tolling.

T. at 92, In. 12-19; T. at 29, In. 23.

Instead, plaintiffs contend that equitable tolling

should apply because the government induced plaintiffs to

allow the EAJA deadline to pass when the government

agreed to a consent order holding all fees issues in abeyance

while the parties tried to settle the fees’ claim, and then

subsequently pursued an untimeliness defense after the EAJA

deadline had passed. Pl. Reply at 12-13. Courts may excuse

late filing when the plaintiff was misled by their adversary’s

actions about the running of the filing period, see Bowden v.

United States, 106 F.3d 433, 438 (D.D.C. 1997), or induced

by their adversary’s misconduct into allowing the deadline to

pass. Irwin at 96, fn.4 (citing Glus v. Brooklyn Eastern

Terminal (adversary’ misrepresentation caused plaintiff to

allow filing deadline to lapse; Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327

U.S. 392 (1946) (same)).

Plaintiffs here were not induced or misled by

defendant’s conduct. Both the pleadings before me and the

testimony presented at the hearing indicate that the parties

mutually agreed to hold all fees’ issues in abeyance pending

settlement discussion. The parties did so without ever

discussing the EAJA deadline. T. at 29, In. 7-9; T. at 58, In.

2. Further, the government at no time represented to

plaintiffs that the EAJA deadline would be waived. Indeed,

government attorney Markowitz testified that he not even

aware of the EAJA deadline. T. at 70, In. 10-11. Given that

the government’s attorney was unaware of the EAJA

53a

deadline when he agreed with plaintiffs’ attorney to hold

fees’ issues in abeyance, and made no representations

whatsoever as to EAJA, I cannot reach the conclusion that

defendants somehow induced or lulled plaintiffs into missing

the deadline.

Furthermore, while Markowitz’s successor,

Quinlivan, testified that he was familiar with EAJA and its

filing deadlines, T. at 80, he also testified that he did not

focus on the relationship between the parties’ October 8,

1999 consent order and the applicable EAJA deadline until

early January 2000. T. at 87, In. 18-25. Had Quinlivan been

simultaneously aware of the consent agreement and the

approaching EAJA deadline, plaintiffs may have a case for

misconduct or a misleading of plaintiffs into missing the

deadline, because this would show that the government

allowed the deadline to pass knowing that the parties agreed

to hold all issues with respect to fees in abeyance while they

tried to settle the matter. However, plaintiffs offered no

evidence to refute Quinlivan’s testimony, or to suggest that

Quinlivan was aware of the consent agreement between the

Parties prior to the time the EAJA deadline passed.

Therefore, on the evidence before me, I cannot agree with

plaintiffs’ assertion that the government misled plaintiffs

into missing the EAJA deadline.

Plaintiffs also contend that equitable tolling is

appropriate here because they reasonably relied on the advice

of a govemment official. Plaintiff's Reply in Support of

Their Renewed Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Expenses at

4. In support of this argument, plaintiffs cite to Jarrell v.

United States Postal Service, 753 F2d 1088 (D.C. Cir. 1985),

which held that a filing deadline may be excused where a pro

se claimant failed to contact an EEO counselor in a timely

manner because the claimant relied on the assurances of an

EEO officer that the officer was attempting to have certain

54a

information expunged from the claimant’s records. Id. at

1092. Plaintiffs’ case, however, is readily distinguishable.

Unlike the claimant in Jarrell, plaintiffs here were not

proceeding pro se, but were instead represented in the fees’

negotiations by a nationally-renowned legal organization, the

ACLU. Significantly, plaintiffs were represented by the

ACLU when plaintiffs and the government jointly agreed to

hold all fees issues in abeyance. The ACLU continued to

try to negotiate a settlement on behalf of the plaintiffs

throughout the relevant period. In contrast with the

claimant in Jarrell, the plaintiffs here, represented at all

times by counsel, cannot claim their lateness in filing was

justifiable. The ACLU has a distinguished history of

engaging in the most significant civil mghts and civil

liberties litigation in American history. See

www.aclu.org/library/Freedomls. Why.pdf. It routinely

engages in litigation against the United States government,

and its attorneys should have known, or made themselves

aware, of the appropriate filing deadlines under EAJA,

irrespective of any agreement entered into by the ACLU and

the’government attorneys. Cf. Battle v. Rubin, 121 F.

Supp.2d 4, 9 (D.D.C. 2000). The Supreme Court has

“generally been much less forgiving in receiving late filings

where claimant failed to exercise due diligence in preserving

his legal rights.” Irwin, 498 U.S. at 96.

In sum, I conclude that the circumstances of this case

do not warrant equitable tolling. I reach this result with some

regret; disposition on the merits is always preferable to a

procedural default. Nevertheless, if one construes Boyd’s

equivocal testimony, see n. 4 supra, in ACLU’s favor, its

best case is that its attorney (Boyd) and the government’s

attorney (Markowtiz) were mutually ignorant of a

jurisdictional deadline when they agreed to postpone Judge

Roberts’s consideration of the a petition pending the parties’

55a

attempt to negotiate fees. At the risk of patronizing them,

one has to say that those lawyers ought to know that

deadlines, inexorable and sometimes devastating to their

clients’ interests, are a litigating lawyer’s life and she ignores

them at her peril. To excuse the ACLU’s failure to learn of

the EAJA deadline because government’s counsel was

equally ignorant of it is unprecedented, unsanctioned by any

legal authority, and a contortion of the history and purpose of

the concept of “equitable tolling.” Mutual ignorance of a

deadline by the government and its opponent cannot invoke a

principle designed to prevent government sharp dealing and

to permit justified reliance on the statements of government

officials which could lead a reasonable person to believe that

a deadline is being waived or does not apply until another

event occurs.

—d

It must also not be forgotten that EAJA is a waiver of

sovereign immunity which must be construed strictly in favor

of the sovereign. In re Sealed Case, 2001 WL 739819 * 4

(D.C. Cir. July 3, 2001). To excuse the ACLU’s failure to

meet a jurisdictional deadline because its attorneys were as

ignorant of it as the government is to violate that principle in

the most obvious way. It would be hard to imagine a more

generous construction of that waiver of sovereign immunity

than to waive it because a lawyer was ignorant of it.

CONCLUSION

Accordingly, this court will deny plaintiffs’ Renewed

Motion for Attorneys’ Fees as to the United States. An

Order will be issued accompanying this Memorandum

Opinion which will deny plaintiffs’ motion for fees against

the United States.

The ACLU also seeks fees against defendant D.C.

Board of Elections. It is the ACLU’s position that the United

States and the D.C. Board share joint and several liability for

56a

“expenses and for fees up to the amount compensable under

EAJA”. Plaintiffs’ Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Expenses

(“Pl. Mot.) at 23. As plaintiffs state: “Here, the shared

liability should apply to plaintiffs’ expenses and to the

amount of fees awarded under EAJA. The D.C. defendants

should be solely liable for any amount of fees awarded under

§ 1988 that exceeds the amount awarded under EAJA.” PI.

Mot. at 23-24. Obviously, my determination today denying

any award of fees against the United States may substantially

impact plaitiffs’ position on fees vis-a-vis the D.C. Board.

Therefore, in fairness to the parties, I will grant the ACLU

and the D.C. Board the opportunity to address the validity of

any recovery of fees against the D.C. Board in light of my

determination. Accordingly, I will permit the ACLU to file,

within fourteen (14) days of the date of this Order, a

statement which addresses whether, in light of the

determination denying fees as to the United States, an award

of fees against the D.C. Board is valid. The D.C. Board

shall have fourteen (14) days thereafter to respond, and the

ACLU seven (7) days thereafter to file a reply.

/s/ John M. Facciola

John M. Facciola

United States

Magistrate Judge

57a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 98-2634

WAYNE TURNER, ET AL.

V.

D.C. BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS

Before: FACCIOLA,

United States Magistrate Judge.

(Filed March 21, 2001)

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

FACCIOLA, United States Magistrate Judge.

Plaintiffs seek attorneys fees against the

District of Columbia Board of Elections and Ethics (“the

Board”) and the United States. . Before I can resolve the

merits of plaintiffs’ fee petition, I must address several

outstanding issues.

A. Award of Fees Against DC Board of Elections

Plaintiffs assert fees against the Board pursuant to 42

U.S.C.A. § 1988 (1998). Section 1988 reads in relevant part:

In any action or proceeding to enforce a

provision of sections 1981, 1981a, 1982,

1983, 1985, and 1986 of this title, title LX

of Public Law 92-318 [20 U.S.C.A. § 1681

58a

et seq.], the Religious Freedom

Restoration Act of 1993 [42 U.S.C.A. §

2000bb et seq.], the Religious Land Use

and Institutionalized Persons Act of 2000

[42 U.S.C.A. § 2000cc et seq.], title VI of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964 [42 U.S.C.A.

§ 2000d et seq.], or section 13981 of this

title, the court, in its discretion, may allow

the prevailing party, other than the United

States, a reasonable attorney’s fee as part

of the costs...

42 U.S.C.A. § 1988(b)(1998).

As the plain language of Section 1988 indicates,

plaintiffs are only entitled to fees in an “action” specifically

enumerated in Section 1988. While plaintiffs in their petition

refer offhandedly to this case as a Section 1983 case,! I can

find no indication, either in the pleadings in this case or in

the opinion rendered by Judge Roberts, indicating that this

matter was “... [an] action... to enforce a provision of

section(s]... 1983.” Plaintiffs’ onginal and amended

complaint state causes of action under the First and Fifth

Amendments (see Plaintiffs’ Amended Complaint at 7).

Plaintiffs Motion for Summary Judgment challenges the

Barr Amendment on First Amendment grounds. Neither the

complaint nor the motion for summary judgment therefore

specifically identify the cause of action as an action under

one of the statutes enumerated in Section 1988.

! Plaintiffs state: “When, in cases such as this one, plaintiffs obtain relief

on civil rights claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, the court must award them

attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988 unless special circumstances

would render the award unjust.” (See Pls.” Mtn. Fees at 5) (emphasis

added).

59a

I cannot reach the merits of plaintiffs’ Section 1988

claim without first addressing the threshold issue of whether

the case before me presents a cause of action under Section

1983, or any of the other statutes enumerated in Section

1988. I therefore will order that plaintiffs file a supplemental

statement indicating whether the matter before me in fact

States a cause of action under any of the statutes enumerated

in Section 1988. The Board shall have an opportunity to

respond to plaintiffs’ statement. Only after parties have

briefed this issue can I reach the merits of plaintiff's petition

insofar as it seeks fees against the Board.

B. Award of Fees Against the United States

Plaintiffs also assert a claim of attorneys’ fees against

the United States pursuant to the Equal Access to Justice Act

("EAJA”), 42 US.C.A. § 2412(d)(1)(A) (1998). EAJA

provides in relevant part:

Except as otherwise provided by statute, a

court shall award to a prevailing party other

than the United States fees and other expenses

. . Incurred by that party in any civil action

(other than cases sounding in tort) brought by

or against the United States in any court

having jurisdiction of that action, unless the

court finds that the position of the United

States was substantially justified or that

special circumstances make an award unjust.

§ 2412(d)(1)(A).

The United States raises two jurisdictional hurdles to

plaintiffs’ claim. First, they argue that plaintiffs’ fee petition

is untimely and therefore the court lacks subject matter

60a

jurisdiction over the petition. (United States’ Opp. at 5-10).

Second, they argue that because the United States was not

named as a defendant in this case, but rather intervened to

defend the constitutionality of the Barr Amendment, the plain

language of § 2412(d)(1)(A) of EAJA and 28 U.S.C.A. §

2403(a)(1998), the statute authorizing intervention, provide

no basis for an award of fees against the United States. I will

first consider the United States’ positional claim, and then

address its Section 2403(a) and timing issues.

1. No Cause of Action Against the United States

The United States argues that Section 2412(d)(1)(A)

provides for fees and other expenses incurred in a civil action

“brought... against the United States” and this suit is not an

action against the United States because the United States

was never named as a defendant. (U.S. Opp. at 10-11)

(emphasis added). Rather, the United States argues, it was

merely an intervenor and therefore the plain language of

EAJA provides no authority for an award of fees against the

Untied States. Id.

Emphasizing its status as intervenor rather than

defendant for the purposes of concluding that plaintiffs’

action is not an action against the United States is hair-

splitting. Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(c) requires a party desiring to

intervene to file a pleading “setting forth the claim or defense

for which intervention is sought.” The rule obviously

requires that the intervenor intervene as a party; a motion

which seeks intervention solely to stay an action is

insufficient. Further, the intervening party must file to

intervene as a party plaintiff of defendant. Kamerman v.

Steinberg, 681 F. Supp. 206,211 (S.D.N.Y. 1988). See also

Williams & Humbert Ltd. v. W.& H. Trade Marks (Jersey)

Ltd., 840 F.2d 72 , 75 (D.C. Cir. 1988) (intervening party

6la

must tender legally sufficient claim or defense): Rhode Island

Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO vy. Norberg, 630 F.2d 850,

854-55 (1" Cir. 1980).

Moreover, once intervention is permitted, the

intervening plaintiff or defendant is a party to the lawsuit,

bound by the judgment, and entitled to the same rights as the

Original Parties. Alvarado v. J.C. Pennev Co., 997 F.2d 803,

805 (10 Cir. 1993). Thus, from the moment it intervened to

the end of the lawsuit, the United States was a party

defendant to this action just as if it had been originally sued.

From the moment it intervened as of right and opposed the

relief plaintiff sought, the action plaintiff brought was as

“against the United States” as if plaintiff had originally sued

the United States. To argue otherwise would ignore the

reality that the United States entered this lawsuit as a party

defendant and had that status from beginning to end. EAJA

therefore expressly authorizes the fees plaintiffs seek.

Furthermore, EAJA was enacted to remove financial

disincentives for persons “defending against unjustified

governmental action” and therefore “deter the unreasonable

exercise of Government authority.” Ardestani v. I.N.S 502

U.S. 129, 138 (1991) (quoting Congressional Findings and

Purposes, 94 Stat. 2325, note following 5 U.S.C. § 504;

H.R.Rep. No. 96-1418, pp. 10, 12 (1980); S.Rep. No. 96-

253. supra, at 5; Commissioner, INS v. Jean, 496 U.S. 154,

163. (10 S.Ct. 2316. 2321, 110 L.Ed.2d 134 (1990)).

Drawing a distinction in the interpretation of EAJA between

the United States as original defendant and as intervening

defendant is to draw a distinction that defeats EAJA’s

purposes.

2. Scope of United States’ Liability

62a

The United States also argues that 28 U.S.C.A. §

2403(a)( 1994) limits the government’s liability to court costs

only. Section 2403(a) provides:

In any action, suit or proceeding in a court of

the United States to which the United States

or any agency, officer or employee thereof is

not a party, wherein the constitutionality of

any Act of Congress affecting the public

interest is drawn in question, the court shall

certify such fact to the Attorney General, and

shall permit the United States to intervene for

presentation of evidence, if evidence is

otherwise admissible in the case, and for

argument on the question of constitutionality.

The United States shall, subject to the

applicable provisions of law, have all the

rights of a party and be subject to all liabilities

of a party as to court costs to the extent

necessary for a proper presentation of the facts

and law relating to the question of

constitutionality. (emphasis added)

The United States argues that the language of section

2403(a) necessarily excludes an award of attorneys’ fees

under EAJA because the principle of expressio unius est

exclusio alterius (the mention of one thing implies the

exclusion of another thing) controls here. (U.S. Opp. at 12).

The United States reads the phrase “subject to all liabilities of

a party as to court costs” in 2403(a) as limiting the

government’s liability here to court costs, and necessarily

excluding the award of attorneys fees.

Even assuming that the phrase “court costs” can be

read narrowly to exclude attorneys’ fees, I cannot view

63a

Section 2403(a) in a vacuum. Subsection (a) of Section 2403

was enacted when the law was initially passed, on June 25,

1948. 28 U.S.C. § 2403(a), ch. 646, 62 stat. 97] (1948). By

contrast, the subsection of EAJA related to fees, subsection

(d), was not enacted unti! 1980 by § 204(a) of Pub. L. 96-

481, effective October 1, 1981. 28 U.S.C. § 2412 (Supp. IV

1980). <A brief review of the timing of the relevant

provisions shows that the pertinent portion of EAJA was

enacted subsequent to the intervenor statute that the

government suggests limits its liability to costs. At the time

the intervenor statute was passed, therefore, Congress did not

expressly provide for an award of attorneys’ fees against the

United States. However, in passing EAJA, Congress

specifically authorized such a waiver of sovereign immunity.

It is an accepted principle of Statutory interpretation

that if two statutes relate to the same purpose or subject

matter, they should be construed together. See United States

v. Freeman, 44 U.S. 556, 564-65 (1845); United States v.

Borden Co., 308 U.S. 188, 198 ( 1939). Further, when two

Statutes are capable of co-existence, it is the duty of the

courts to regard each as effective, absent express

congressional intent to the contrary. Morton v. Mancari, 417

U.S. 535, 551 (1974). It is only where provisions in the two

acts are “irreconcilable” that the later act constitutes an

implied repeal of the earlier one. See Kremer v. Chemical

Constr. Corp., 456 U.S. 461, 468 (1982). While the United

States is certainly not arguing that EAJA trumps Section

2403(a), the underlying principle of statutory construction at

work is useful to the analysis here.

Section 2403(a) and 2412(d)(1)(A) are not

“irreconcilable” and should be construed together. Both

Statutes relate to the same subject, i.e., the United States’

liability in an action in which the United States is a party. In

placing the two statutes in their historical context, a fair

64a

reading of section 2412(d)(1)(A) is to view it as a supplement

to Section 2403(a), expanding the United States’ liability to

included fees and expenses. As discussed above, if the

purpose of EAJA is to deter unjustified government activity

and encourage private challenges, a reading of Section 2403

as limiting governmental liability to court costs in certain

situations undercuts EAJA’s broad intent. Therefore, reading

each statute side by side, and giving effect to the purpose of

EAJA, I find that the intervenor statute presents no

jurisdictional hurdle to plaintiff's petition for fees.

3. Timeliness of Plaintiffs Fee Petition

As for the United States first procedural argument,

namely, that plaintiffs’ fee petition is untimely, the court is

unable to resolve the issue on the papers submitted because

they present a dispute of material fact.

The United States argues that plaintiffs failed to file

their fee application within the requisite thirty days mandated

by EAJA.2 (U.S. Opp. at 5) Plaintiffs assert equitable tolling,

claiming the United States induced plaintiffs to allow the

deadline to pass by “consenting to an extension... [and]

prolonging settlement negotiations through repeated requests

for delay while a new attorney was assigned to the case...”

(Pl. Reply at 12). Plaintiffs state that the day after the

expiration of the period for the federal government to file a

notice of appeal, they contacted the Department of Justice

attorney then assigned to the case who requested a deferral of

fee discussions because he was leaving the Department. (Id.

2 “A party seeking ai award of fees and other expenses shall, within 30

days of final judgment in the action, submit to the court an application for

fees and other expenses...” § 2412(d)(1)(B).

65a

at 13). According to plaintiffs, the United States continued

to delay informing plaintiffs when the case would be

assigned to a new attorney, and only “after inducing plaintiffs

to allow the filing deadline to pass” did the United States

name a new attorney and agree to settlement discussions.

(Id.)

The specificity and timing of these events is unclear

and undeveloped, and I cannot resolve this issue without

further probing the factual context leading up to plaintiffs’

filing their fee petition. Specifically, what events do

plaintiffs allege, from the time of Judge Roberts’ order

Staying the proceedings regarding fees to the time of

plaintiffs’ filing of its fee petition, Support their claim of

equitable tolling? While plaintiffs’ declarations discuss the

basis for their defense in some detail, I am uncertain, for

example, when exactly plaintiffs learned of the identify of the

new attorney. I am also unclear as to what evidence, if any,

defendant claims refutes plaintiffs’ charge of inducement. I

will therefore hold an evidentiary hearing on this discrete

issue. I expect the parties to present the testimony of all

witnesses who have information bearing on these questions

and any other questions related to the timeliness of the fee

petition that the parties think pertinent.

This order is placing new obligations upon plaintiffs

who may well be entitled to claim additional attorney fees for

the prosecution of this portion of the case. The defendants

are entitled to an opportunity to rebut any such showing.

Additionally, my resolution of the issues may radically

transform what fees I will permit.

I will therefore, in my discretion, deny plaintiffs’

Motion for Attorneys Fees [#43] without prejudice to refile it

once the hearing on timeliness is held and I once resolve,

based on plaintiffs’ further submission on the issue, whether

66a

plaintiffs can seek recovery of any fees from the Board. It is

further

ORDERED that plaintiffs shall file a supplemental

statement 14 days from the date of this order indicating

whether this case in fact states a cause of action under any of

the statutes enumerate in 42 U.S.C. § 1988. The Board shall

have 11 days thereafter to file its opposition. Plaintiffs’ reply

shall be due 5 days thereafter. It is further

ORDERED that plaintiff and the United States shall

appear before me on May 16, 2001, at 9:30 am for an

evidentiary hearing on the discrete issue of the timeliness of

plaintiffs’ fee petition against the United States.

SO ORDERED.

/s/ John M. Facciola

John M. Facciola

United States

Magistrate Judge

67a

TITLE 42. THE PUBLIC HEALTH AND WELFARE

CHAPTER 21. CIVIL RIGHTS

GENERALLY

42 USC § 1988 (2004)

§ 1988, Proceedings in Vindication of Civil Rights.

(a) Applicability of Statutory and common law. The

jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters conferred on the

district and circuit courts [district courts] by the provisions of

this Title, and of Title “CIVIL RIGHTS,” and of Title

“CRIMES,” for the protection of all persons in the United

States in their civil rights, and for their vindication, shall be

exercised and enforced in conformity with the '!aws of the

United States, so far as such laws are suitable to carry the

same into effect; but in all cases where they are not adapted

to the object, or are deficient in the provisions necessary to

furnish suitable remedies and punish offenses against law,

the common law, as modified and changed by the

constitution and statutes of the State wherein the court having

jurisdiction of such civil or criminal Cause is held, so far as

the same is not inconsistent with the Constitution and laws of

the United States, shall be extended to and govern the said

courts in the trial and disposition of the cause, and, if it is of

a criminal nature, in the infliction of punishment on the party

found guilty.

(b) Attorney’s fees. In any action or proceeding to enforce a

provision of sections 1977, 1977A, 1978, 1979, 1980, and

1981 of the Revised Statutes [42 USCS §§ 1981-1983, 1985,

1986], title IX of Public Law 92-318 [20 USCS §§ 1681 et

seq.], the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993, the

Religious Land Use and Institutionalized Persons Act of

2000, title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 [42 USCS §§

2000d et seq.], or section 40302 of the Violence Against

68a

Women Act of 1994, the court, in its discretion, may allow

the prevailing party, other than the United States, a

reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the costs, except that in

any action brought against a judicial officer for an act or

omission taken in such officer’s judicial capacity such officer

shall not be held liable for any costs, including attorney’s

fees, unless such action was clearly in excess of such

officer’s jurisdiction.

(c) Expert fees. In awarding an attorney’s fee under

subsection (b) in any action or proceeding to enforce a

provision of sections 1977 or 1977A of the Revised Statutes

[42 USCS §§ 1981 or 1981a], the court, in its discretion, may

include expert fees as part of the attorney’s fee.

69a

TITLE 28. JUDICIARY AND JUDICIAL PROCEDURE

PART VI. PARTICULAR PROCEEDINGS

CHAPTER 161. UNITED STATES AS PARTY

GENERALLY

28 USC § 2412 (2004)

§ 2412. Costs and fees

(a)(1) Except as otherwise specifically provided by statute, a

judgment for costs, as enumerated in section 1920 of this

title, but not including the fees and expenses of attorneys,

may be awarded to the prevailing party in any civil action

brought by or against the United States or any agency or any

official of the United States acting in his or her official

capacity in any court having jurisdiction of such action. A

judgment for costs when taxed against the United States

shall, in an amount established by statute, court rule, or order,

be limited to reimbursing in whole or in part the prevailing

party for the costs incurred by such party in the litigation.

(2) A judgment for costs, when awarded in favor of

the United States in an action brought by the United States,

may include an amount equal to the filing fee prescribed

under section 1914(a) of this title. The preceding sentence

shall not be construed as requiring the United States to pay

any filing fee.

(b) Unless expressly prohibited by statute, a court may award

reasonable fees and expenses of attorneys, in addition to the

costs which may be awarded pursuant to subsection (a), to

the »revailing party in any civil action brought by or against

t's United States or any agency or any Official of the United

States acting in his or her official Capacity in any court

having jurisdiction of such action. The United States shall be

liable for such fees and expenses to the same extent that any

other party would be liable under the common law or under

70a

the terms of any statute which specifically provides for such

an award. 3%

(c) (1) Any judgment against the United States or any agency

and any official of the United States acting in his or her

official capacity for costs pursuant to subsection (a) shall be

paid as provided in sections 2414 and 2517 of this title and

shall be in addition to any relief provided in the judgment.

(2) Any judgment against the United States or any

agency and any official of the United States acting in his or

her official capacity for fees and expenses of attorneys

pursuant to subsection (b) shall be paid as provided in

sections 2414 and 2517 of this title, except that if the basis

for the award is a finding that the United States acted in bad

faith, then the award shall be paid by any agency found to

have acted in bad faith and shall be in addition to any relief

provided in the judgment.

(d) (1) (A) Except as otherwise specifically provided by

statute, a court shall award to a prevailing party other than

the United States fees and other expenses, in addition to any

costs awarded pursuant to subsection (a), incurred by that

party in any civil action (other than cases sounding in tort),

including proceedings for judicial review of agency action,

brought by or against the United States in any court having

jurisdiction of that action, unless the court finds that the

position of the United States was substantially justified or

that special circumstances make an award unjust.

(B) A party seeking an award of fees and other

expenses shall, within thirty days of final judgment in the

action, submit to the court an application for fees and other

expenses which shows that the party is a prevailing party and

is eligible to receive an award under this subsection, and the

amount sought, including an itemized statement from any

attorney or expert witness representing or appearing in behalf

of the par‘y stating the actual time expended and the rate at

Tla

which fees and other expenses were computed. The party

shall also allege that the position of the United States was not

substantially justified. Whether or not the position of the

United States was substantially justified shall be determined

on the basis of the record (including the record with respect

to the action or failure to act by the agency upon which the

civil action is based) which is made in the civil action for

which fees and other expenses are sought.

(C) The court, in its discretion, may reduce the

amount to be awarded pursuant to this subsection, or deny an

award, to the extent that the prevailing party during the

course of the proceedings engaged in conduct which unduly

and unreasonably protracted the final resolution of the matter

in controversy.

(D) If, in a civil action brought by the United States

or a proceeding for judicial review of an adversary

adjudication described in section 504(a)(4) of title 5, the

demand by the United States is substantially in excess of the

judgment finally obtained by the United States and is

unreasonable when compared with such judgment, under the

facts and circumstances of the case, the court shall award to

the party the fees and other expenses related to defending

against the excessive demand, unless the party has committed

a willful violation of law or otherwise acted in bad faith, or

special circumstances make an award unjust. Fees and

expenses awarded under this subparagraph shall be paid only

as a consequence of appropriations provided in advance.

(2) For the purposes of this subsection-

(A) “fees and other expenses” includes the

reasonable expenses of expert witnesses, the reasonable cost

of any study, analysis, engineering report, test, or project

which is found by the court to be necessary for the

preparation of the party’s case, and reasonable attorney fees

(The amount of fees awarded under this subsection shall be

based upon prevailing market rates for the kind and quality of

the services furnished, except that (i) no expert witness shall

72a

be compensated at a rate in excess of the highest rate of

compensation for expert witnesses paid by the United States;

and (ii) attorney fees shall not be awarded in excess of $ 125

per hour unless the court determines that an increase in the

cost of living or a special factor, such as the limited

availability of qualified attorneys for the proceedings

involved, justifies a higher fee.);

(B) “party” means (i) an individual whose net

worth did not exceed $ 2,000,000 at the time the civil action

was filed, or (ii) any owner of an unincorporated business, or

any partnership, corporation, association, unit of local

government, or organization, the net worth of which did not

exceed $ 7,000,000 at the time the civil action was filed, and

which had not more than 500 employees at the time the civil

action was filed; except that an organization described in

section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26

U.S.C. 501(c)(3)) exempt from taxation under section 501(a)

of such Code, or a cooperative association as defined in

section 15(a) of the Agricultural Marketing Act (12 U.S.C.

1141)j(a)), may be a party regardless of the net worth of such

organization or cooperative association or for purposes of

subsection (d)(1)(D), a small entity as defined in section 601

of title 5;

(C) “United States” includes any agency and any

official of the United States acting in his or her official

capacity; F

(D) “position of the United States” means, in

addition to the position taken by the United States in the civil

action, the action or failure to act by the agency upon which

the civil action is based; except that fees and expenses may

not be awarded to a party for any portion of the litigation in

which the party has unreasonably protracted the proceedings;

(E) “civil action brought by or against the United

States” includes an appeal by a party, other than the United

States, from a decision of a contracting officer rendered

pursuant to a disputes clause in a contract with the

73a

Government or pursuant to the Contract Disputes Act of

1978;

(F) “court” includes the United States Claims

Court [United States Court of Federal Claizns] and the United

States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims;

(G) “final judgment” means a judgment that is

final and not appealable, and includes an order of settlement;

(H) “prevailing party”, in the case of eminent

domain proceedings, means a party who obtains a final

judgment (other than by settlement), exclusive of interest, the

amount of which is at least as close to the highest valuation

of the property involved that is attested to at trial on behalf of

the property owner as it is to the highest valuation of the

property involved that is attested to at trial on behalf of the

Government; and

(I) “demand” means the express demand of the

United States which led to the adversary adjudication, but

shall not include a recitation of the maximum statutory

penalty (i) in the complaint, or (ii) elsewhere when

accompanied by an express demand for a lesser amount. (3)

In awarding fees and other expenses under this subsection to

a prevailing party in any action for judicial review of an

adversary adjudication, as defined in subsection (b)(1)(C) of

section 504 of title 5, United States Code, or an adversary

adjudication subject to the Contract Disputes Act of 1978,

the court shall include in that award fees and other expenses

to the same extent authorized in subsection (a) of such

section, unless the court finds that during such adversary

adjudication the position of the United States was

substantially justified, or that special circumstances make an

award unjust.

(4) Fees and other expenses awarded under this

subsection to a party shall be paid by any agency over which

the party prevails from any funds made available to the

agency by appropriation or otherwise.

74a

(e) The provisions of this section shall not apply to any costs,

fees,

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.