Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Granite State Outdoor Advertising, Inc. v. City of Clearwater

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

supreme Court, U.¢

fh) FILES

03156 4 MAY 18 2004

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

GRANITE STATE OUTDOOR ADVERTISING, INC., PETITIONER

Vv.

CITY OF CLEARWATER, FLORIDA,

BRIAN AUNGST, SR., AS AN INDIVIDUAL AND IN

HIS CAPACITY AS MAYOR OF THE CITY, WILLIAM HORNE,

AS AN INDIVIDUAL AND IN HIS CAPACITY AS CITY MANAGER

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

EK. ADAM WEBB

Counsel of Record

WEBB & PORTER, L.L.C.

2625 Cumberland Parkway, S.E.

Suite 220

Atlanta, Georgia 30339

(770) 444-0773

Attorney for Petitioner

LI IT IT I TELE LT ETE DLLME PRA, AO SE!

CURRY & TAYLOR @ WASH D.C. @ (202) 223-3160 @ USSCINFO.COM

i

'

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The City of Clearwater, Florida’s sign

regulations prevent the posting of nearly all signs

without first obtaining a permit from City officials.

Pursuant to the sign regulations’ licensing scheme,

Clearwater officials are free to delay responding to

such applications for an indefinite time. Based upon

Petitioner’s overbreadth challenge to the sign

regulations, the district court invalidated severa]

unconstitutional restrictions on signs. On appeal, the

Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals held that a party

challenging a regulatory scheme can only challenge

those individual sections of an ordinance that directly

caused actual injury. Thus, the Eleventh Circuit’s

. decision deniea overbreadth Standing to challenge any

provision other than those cited by the government in

denying the permit. Asa result of this decision, several

indisputably unconstitutional speech restrictions were

re-imposed on the citizens and organizations of

Clearwater.

rn

1. Whether the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

eviscerated the overbreadth standing doctrine in First

Amendment challenges by restricting overbreadth

standing to only the discrete, individual provisions of a

regulatory scheme under which the challenger suffered

“actual injury.”

z. Whether a party must demonstrate actual injury

in order to raise a facia] challenge to speech regulations

under the overbreadth doctrine.

3. Whether district courts Should be prohibited

from invalidating unconstitutional regulations of First

|

Ue See stn Sa a Ne Nee at hE

1]

Amendment activity simply because the party

challenging the offensive restrictions did not suffer

“actual injury” based upon the enforcement of such

restrictions.

A, Nek Hale: Aol a as PRE AA NS BPA

'

| Nate oii alls ND a RD aaa Relea ey ARNE BG ahh A TAA Rai Sea

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The parties to the proceeding are properly

set forth in the case caption. Petitioner Granite

State Outdoor Advertising, Inc. has no parent

corporation and no publicly held company owns

ten percent or more of the corporation’s common

stock.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........cssscsssssssssceeeecsssrseserseesesesseenees i

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 29.6 LIST ...........csscsssssseeeees ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS sveenussuaennsseovonvoquesseysnesonconsvdoosenssnssnsese dW

TABLE OF AUTHORIT1Biiscccsevcesscsvivrisecesereeniqanssesnesevsanwenens V

GREMIOIE TEL cinieciersiccrssnvcienarteenimmnnintgunvennannwin 1

FUT TI oviictctvtistantirncncintmnnninmnniviinnanenion 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED.........cscssssssssscssssseees 1

UR TIINS svccecssihiteecsscteritiinnisicniinianninnianiinmnmvnmuiains 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ........s0ssseeesseesees 6

CROCE IIIA ccccinnersievstininssninnsiniinsnmninitinninviniaunmaiiaiinnis 23

APPENDIX

CIRCUIT COURT ORDER, wccccvcsccsciscnrsesesenesssessnetiniesonts la

PSTRICT COURT ORDER, oacicescesvniciveseosssvsnercessrsecnionts 16a

ORDER DENYING REHEARING ........cccccsssceccessscceees 140a

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

11126 BALTIMORE BLVD., INC. v. PRINCE

GEORGE'S COUNTY, 58 F.3D 988, 994 (4TH CIR.

SO CII snincstsahetcncinciceatiete Dee a ».. 20-21

ACKERLEY COMMUNICATIONS OF MASS., INC. Vv.

CITY OF CAMBRIDGE, 88 F.3D 33 (1ST CIR. 1996)........ 16

ARIZONA RIGHT TO LIFE POLITICAL ACTION

COMM. V. BAYLESS, 320 F.3D 1002, 1006-07 (9TH

Rt I tcisscdieahentsneliniaia tdi tuataue tae ae ae 16

ASHCROFT V. FREE SPEECH COALITION, 535 U.S.

SI IUD ctsininicsuclaiscnns cael 7,18

BOARD OF TRUSTEES V. Fox, 492 U.S. 469; 484

SE RI eI E AS EE ih ean 11-12, 19

BROADRICK V. OKLAHOMA, 413 U.S. 601, 612

fa | Se OO TORN NCEE aay, passim

BURSON V. FREEMAN, 504 US. 191, 210, N. 13

RU ivecnhicciniliiclclaiaiiaiaecai let id ee A een 19

CITY OF LAKEWOOD V. PLAIN DEALER PUBL'G

Co., 486 U.S. 750, 755-56 (1988)....cccccccecec0-«. 11, 20, 21, 22

DAMBROT V. CENTRAL MICH. UNIV., 55 F.3D 1177,

Le | en ee Tn 16

vil

DEJA VU OF NASHVILLE, INC. V. METROPOLITAN

GOv'T OF NASHVILLE AND DAVIDSON COUNTY,

274 F.3D 377, 385 (6TH CIR. 2001), CERT.

DENIED, 535 U.S. 1073 (2002) ..........ssssssssserseereerseesenseees 16

DESERT OUTDOOR ADVER., INC. V. CITY OF

MORENO VALLEY, 103 F.3D 814, 818 (9TH CIR.

FORSYTH COUNTY V. NATIONALIST MOVEMENT,

505 U.S. 128, 188, N. 10 (1992)......c.cccccrccrrcesseccssroeces 21-22

GIOVANI CARANDOLA, LTD. V. BASON, 303 F.3D

507, 512-51 (4TH CIR. 2002).........cccccsccereesreeserseresserseees 16

GRANITE STATE OUTDOOR ADVER., INC. V. CITY

OF ST. PETERSBURG, 348 F.3D 1278 (11TH CIR.

2003), PETITION FOR CERT. FILED, 72 U.S.L.W.

3644 (U.S. MAR 29, 2004) .....sccrssccsssccsscssccsrscocccesseessensees 22

GRANITE STATE OUTDOOR ADVERTISING, INC. V.

CITY OF CLEARWATER, 213 F.SUPP.2D 1312

CBD... PUA. BOOB) necvescrveccsesesesscsssvvovsovevensoonvetenseessatovsseossere 1

GRANITE STATE OUTDOOR ADVERTISING, INC. V.

CITY OF CLEARWATER, 351 F.3D 1112 (11TH

CFR, BB vecexeitnsccscisansssinseininveenntensatimnemamniamniie 1

GRIFFIN V. SECRETARY OF VETERANS AFFAIRS,

288 F.3D 1309, 1818-19 (D.C. CIR. 2002) .......ceseeeeeeeeee 22

INTERNATIONAL SOCIETY FOR KRISHNA

CONSCIOUSNESS V. EAVES, 601 F.2D 809, 823

CBG CUR, BIT D) vceecisineieeeeniensiconieverionsminsnanimesiteateaiinininsicitie 22

vii

LAMAR ADVER. OF PENN, LLC v. TOWN OF

ORCHARD PARK, 356 F.3D 365, 374-75 (2D CIR.

Ree Ra ae RN Sa NI oS EN he 16

TUTE F vininhecsticaitumnesstciiesinitinniniibinihiteeuabanietelelaiasuisnniniinsses 22

MEMBERS OF CITY COUNCIL V. TAXPAYERS FOR

VINCENT, 466 U.S. 789, 801 (1984)......ccccccccccccsesesseseseee. 18

METROMEDIA V. CITY OF SAN DIEGO, 453 U.S.

Ae Lt __; ar eTEn passim

MIAMI HERALD, INC. v. CITY OF HALLANDALE,

734 F.2D 666, 674, N. 4 (ITH CIR. 1984) ...cececcccsccsccssece. 22

NATIONAL ADVER. Co. V. TOWN OF BABYLON,

900 F.2D 551, 553, 555 (2D CrR. 1990), CERT.

DENIED, 492 U.S. 852 (1990)........cccccccsccscscscesccsceeseessesees 16

NORTH CAROLINA RIGHT TO LIFE, INC. V.

BARTLETT, 168 F.3D 705, 710 (4TH CIR. 1999),

CERT. DENIED, 528 U.S. 1153 (2000) oon... cecccececcccccsesseeee 20

PEACHLUM V. CITY OF YORK, 333 F.3D 429, 430

tT IT LT HO ee 16

RAPPA V. NEW CASTLE COUNTY, 18 F.3D 1043

Pa iissiiticiiiicencinne cane iia ha 16

RENO V. ACLU, 521 U.S. 844, 861-62, NN. 27-28

SIT Manse diaciiccisisteinsticiain econo stenesraiiovenntensebvienteiens 7, 19-20

RILEY V. NATIONAL FED'N OF THE BLIND, 487

EE Pes nisin ee 21

a a ee

viii

SCHAD V. BOROUGH OF MOUNT EPHRAIM, 452

| RIC aaa eNO te ae an 9,18

SHUTTLESWORTH V. CITY OF BIRMINGHAM, 394

er Oe RTT EY 22

~ SMITH Vv. CALIFORNIA, 361 U.S. 147, 151 (1959)........ 10, 19

SOUTHWORTH V. BOARD OF REGENTS, 307 F.3D

566, 577-78 (TTH CIR, 2002) ......cccccrscccscescesescoscsseressereeees 22

THOMAS V. CHICAGO PARK DIST., 534 U.S. 316, |

ee TE teiivvisacinavisiseraeinitinninidibabiepateaitigiiaasinabdcianiiati 21, 22

THORNHILL V. STATE OF ALABAMA, 310 U.S. 88,

EN EN tN ae 10, 11, 19

UNITED STATES V. RAINES, 362 U.S. 17, 22-3

bE NTE NTT MONTE ED 10,19

VIRGINIA SOCIETY FOR HUMAN LIFE, INC. V.

FEDERAL ELECTION COMM'N, 263 F.3D 379,

388 (4TH CIR. 2001)

VIRGINIA V. AMERICAN BOOKSELLERS ASS'N,

INC., 484 U.S. 383, 392 (1988) .......cccscesscseeee 9,10, 18, 19

WARTH V. SELDIN, 422 U.S. 490, 500-01 (1975) ........... 9,10

)

So

Oe ee a ee

Z.J. GIFTS D-4, L.L.C. Vv. CITY OF LITTLETON, 311

F.3D 1220, 1226-27 (10TH CIR. 2002), CERT.

GRANTED IN PART, 124 S.CT. 388.........ccccssscsssscssssssseeees 21

|

t

ty

4

+

ix

OTHE». AUTHORITIES

SUP a te MT pike ibeaincielile ee 1

LE Te 5 ENR aT aaeiiliaii aati 1

SANE RANI UR EP mE

AIRSET ahs PR

]

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the three-judge panel of the

Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals is reported as

Granite State Outdoor Advertising, Inc. v. City of

Clearwater, 351 F.3d 1112 (11 Cir. 2003).! The opinion

of the district court is reported at Granite State

Outdoor Advertising, Inc. v. City of Clearwater, 213

F.Supp.2d 1312 (M.D. Fla. 2002).

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals entered judgment on

November 28, 2003. A petition for rehearing and

hearing en bane was denied on February 18, 2004.

(140a-141a). The Court of Appeals had jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291. Jurisdiction in the Court

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States provides that “Congress shall make no

law ... abridging the freedom of speech or of the press

”

Section 1983 of Title 42 of the United States

Code states that any person that “subjects, or causes to

be subjected, any citizen of the United States or other

person within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation

of any rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

' The Appendix attached hereto includes the circuit court decision

(la-15a), and the district court decision (16a-139a).

aa eee

2

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party

injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or other

proper proceeding for redress.”

STATEMENT

I. OVERVIEW OF THE CASE

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals reversed

the district court’s grant of overbreadth standing to

Petitioner Granite State Outdoor Advertising, Inc.

(“Granite State”) to challenge the City of Clearwater,

Florida’s (“City”) sign regulations. In doing so, the

Court of Appeals held that a party asserting standing

under the overbreadth doctrine in First Amendment

challenges to comprehensive regulatory schemes, such

as the City’s sign regulations (“Sign Ordinance”), is

limited to challenging only those individual provisions

of the scheme under which the challenger suffered

actual injury. This decision is contrary to the Supreme

Court’s repeated holdings regarding overbreadth

standing to challenge ordinances on First Amendment

grounds. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision eviscerates

the Court’s overbreadth doctrine in free speech cases

by restricting such challenges to only the specific

provisions under which a challenger demonstrates

actual injury. The Eleventh Circuit’s restriction on

overbreadth standing (1) eliminates review of

regulatory schemes as being overbroad in practical

application, (2) prevents trial courts of the Eleventh

Circuit from invalidating plainly unconstitutional

restrictions on protected speech unless a challenger can

establish actual harm under an offensive provision, (3)

requires a multiplicity of lawsuits to invalidate

‘

|

3

constitutionally repugnant regulatory schemes, and (4)

denies standing to parties willing to make constitutional

challenges that other parties injured by

unconstitutional regulations may be unable or unwilling

to raise.

II. FACTUAL BACKGROUND OF THE CASE

Granite State is in the business of developing

sign locations to be used for the dissemination of both

commercial and noncommercial speech. (2a). Granite

State entered into eight leases with owners of real

property in the City. (8a). Each of these leases allowed

Granite State to post a sign on the property. Id.

Granite State applied to the City for permission to post

a sign on each of the parcels. Jd. The City enforced its

Sign Ordinance to deny Granite State’s applications.

Id.

The Sign Ordinance creates a comprehensive

scheme for regulating the permitting, content,

placement, number, construction, size, height, design,

operation, and maintenance of signs within the City.

Id. Anyone wishing to post a sign in the City must first

obtain prior approval of City officials. (22a-23a). No

sign may be posted until such approval is received.

(22a-28a, 76a, 136a).

The Sign Ordinance imposes no brief, specified

time limits on the City to act on a sign application.

(22a-23a, 92a-97a, 137a-138a). If the City denies an

application, an appeal is allowed to the City’s

Community Development Board, but that Board does

not have to act on the appeal; no time limits are

imposed to constrain the Board’s deliberations should it

eee

4

choose to decide an appeal. (22a-23a, 129a-132a). If

such an appeal is granted and later denied, an

unsuccessful applicant may then appeal to a City

hearing officer. (23a, 129a, 182a-133a). Again, no action

is required within any specified period by this hearing

officer. (132a-133a). The Sign Ordinance fails to afford

unsuccessful applicants access to prompt judicial

review. (79a-99a, 129a-133a, 135a-138a)

The Sign Ordinance itself is filled with various

restrictions, exceptions, and preferences for certain

types of signs and messages displayed on signs.

Certain hand-carried banners visible from the right-of-

way are prohibited; certain window signs are

prohibited; signs not deemed acceptable under the

statute are prohibited. Descriptions of the favored and

disfavored categories of signs extend for several pages |

of the ordinance. (82a-84a, 86a-9la). In addition, :

certain specific messages are allowed, including .

messages for grand openings, construction, “art work,” :

and real estate sales, but the City has complete

discretion to decide whether a specific sign falls within

one of these favored categories. (87a-88a, 90a). The

City renders its decisions regarding such signs on a

“case by case” basis without further guidance. (59a).

ee ee

Signs carrying messages regarding politics are

subject to additional restrictions. (54a-57a, 90a). They

may not be posted more than 60 days before an election

and are limited in size depending on where they are

posted. Jd. Signs regarding stances on political issues

are not allowed unless specifically permitted by the

City. (84a, 90a).

5

The City also uses “zoning districts” to decide

where and of which type signs may be posted in the

City. (92a-97a). The City has broad discretion in

making these decisions, and again the appeal process

for adverse decisions does not require that the City act

within certain time constraints, or even at all. (22a-23a,

129a-133a). The City even has subjective discretion to

decide whether it will allow signs on public property, if

it determines that the sign “serv[es] a significant public

purpose.” (60a, n. 43, 77a, 96a).

The City may allow signs that do not comply

with the terms of the Sign Ordinance if City officials

determine that the sign will meet their own subjective

criteria, such as it “shali not have an adverse impact on

the community character of the City of Clearwater.”

(99a). No narrow, objective standards guide the City’s

discretion.

Ill. PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Granite State challenged the coustitutionality of

the Sign Ordinance after the City denied its

applications for permits to erect signs. (3a). Granite

State raised challenges to the entirety of the ordinance

and the licensing scheme contained in the ordinance.

(3la-33a). In addition to granting Granite State as-

applied standing, the district court determined that

Granite State could facially challenge the entirety of

the Sign Ordinance by application of the overbreadth

doctrine. Jd. The trial court specifically found that the

Sign Ordinance “when applied to speech, in the form of

signs, may effectively chill First Amendment rights.”

(33a). After making this determination, the district

court struck several patently unconstitutional sections

of the Sign Ordinance challenged by Granite State.

(5la-52a, 56a-59a),

The Eleventh Circuit reversed the district court

and found that Granite State did not have standing to

challenge the entirety of the Sign Ordinance. (12a-13a).

Under the Circuit Court’s reading of the overbreadth

doctrine, overbreadth standing is limited to only those

discrete provisions of a regulation under which a

challenging party can demonstrate actual injury. (4a).

By reversing the finding of overbreadth standing, the

Eleventh Circuit reinstated the unconstitutional

provisions of the Sign Ordinance that had been

invalidated by the trial court. Granite State petitioned

for rehearing and rehearing en banc and was denied.

(140a-141a).

_ REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Supreme Court Rule 10 identifies considerations

used by the Court in deciding whether to exercise its

discretion to grant a petition for writ of certiorari. One

consideration is that a “United States court of appeals

has decided an important question of federal law .. .

that conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.”

Another consideration is that a “United States court of

appeals has entered a decision in conflict with the

decision of another United States court of appeals on

the same important matter... .” Finally, the Court

considers whether the court of appeals decision “has so

far departed from the accepted and usual course of

judicial proceedings . . . as to call for an exercise of this

Court’s supervisory power... .”

ni ee. ), ee ee ee eee

j

j

7

In this case, the petition should be granted under

all of Rule 10’s criteria set forth above. Most

significantly, the Clearwater decision flatly contradicts

this Court’s overbreadth standing doctrine in First

Amendment cases. The Eleventh Circuit’s new

definition of overbreadth standing extends only to a

discrete provision of a regulatory scheme under which a

challenger can establish as-applied standing. This new

definition conflicts with the Court’s well established

precedent that litigants may facially “challenge a

statute not because their own rights of free expression

are violated, but because of a judicial prediction or

assumption that the statute’s very existence may cause

others not before the court to refrain from

constitutionally protected speech or expression.”

Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 612 (1973)

(emphasis added); see also Ashcroft v. Free Speech

Coalition, 5385 U.S. 284, 245 (2002); Reno v. ACLU, 521

U.S. 844, 861-62, nn. 27-28 (1997); Metromedia v. City of

San Diego, 453 U.S. 490, 504 n. 11 (1981) (allowing

billboard company to challenge entire sign ordinance

including content-based exemvtions which had no

application to the plaintiff). As shown below, there are

numerous other decisions of the Court and circuit

courts around the country with which the Clearwater

decision fundamentally conflicts.

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision will have at least

two profound, negative impacts on other federal

circuits should the decision remain intact. The first of

these is the high probability that federal courts in other

circuits will be repeatedly confronted with the

Clearwater decision as government defendants assert

that the overbreadth doctrine is restricted to only the

specific provisions under which a party can show actual

8

harm. The other negative impact is the prohibition

imposed on the trial courts of the Eleventh Circuit to

invalidate obviously unconstitutional restrictions on

free speech unless a party can establish as-applied

standing to challenge every element of such

restrictions.

The risk that other federal and state courts may

adopt the Eleventh Circuit’s misinterpretation of the

overbreadth doctrine is too great to allow the decision

to remain uncorrected. The decision requires that

constitutional challenges to comprehensive regulatory

schemes that restrict speech must be made on a case-

by-case, provision-by-provision basis predicated on a

party’s ability to show actual injury. The Eleventh

Circuit’s decision effectively deprives private citizens,

businesses, and organizations of their ability to facially

challenge invalid regulatory schemes. The practical

effect of the Eleventh Circuit’s decision will be to

require a multiplicity of lawsuits: to invalidate

unconstitutional regulations on_ speech. This

requirement is, both cost prohibitive and overly

burdensome to potential plaintiffs and an enormous

waste of judicial resources. Knowing that their

regulations are insulated from facial challenges,

government entities will have little incentive to correct

unconstitutional regulatory schemes should the

Eleventh Circuit’s decision remain as an authoritative

interpretation of the overbreadth doctrine. The

petition for certiorari should therefore be granted.

n 7 ee ey ee ee ee - ”

9

I. REVIEW IS WARRANTED BECAUSE THE

DECISION CONFLICTS WITH THE

COURT’S HOLDINGS REGARDING THE

OVERBREADTH STANDING DOCTRINE.

A. The Clearwater Decision Eviscerated

Overbreadth Standing.

The very purpose of the overbreadth standing

doctrine is to permit challenges to regulatory schemes

that infringe on First Amendment speech rights even

when the party before the court has not suffered injury

from every one of the challenged portions of the

regulatory scheme. See Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 493

(plurality of Justices White, Stewart, Marshall, and

Powell), 525 (concurrence of Justice Brennan joined by

Justice Blackmun); see also Schad v. Borough of Mount

Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61, 66 (1981) (allowing overbreadth

challenge to municipal zoning ordinance); Virginia v.

American Booksellers Ass’n, Inc., 484 U.S. 383, 392

(1988) (holding that “threatened or actual injury

resulting from the putatively illegal action” confers

standing); Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 500-01 (1975)

(same). Simply put, a party that has suffered injury

from some portion of a First Amendment regulatory

scheme has standing to challenge both that section and

other invalid sections under which it has not suffered

direct injury because of the overbreadth standing

doctrine.

The Circuit Court correctly recognized that

Granite State had suffered actual injury under

subsection 3-1806.B.1 of the City’s regulatory scheme.

(6a-7a). Accordingly, Granite State had direct standing

to challenge that portion of the ordinance. Id.

[a

10

However, the Court of Appeals ignored numerous

precedents from this Court in concluding that Granite

State did not have standing to challenge the other

unconstitutional portions of the ordinance at issue. /d.

Once actual injury is established under one

portion of the ordinance, it is both common sense and

established law that a party has standing to challenge

additional portions of a comprehensive regulatory

scheme that restricts protected speech. Otherwise, the

overbreadth doctrine would be made a nullity, because

a party could never challenge any additional sections of

the ordinance without going through the same actual

injury analysis. The overbreadth doctrine would thus

be rendered an illusory standing doctrine offering no

greater scope than as-applied standing.

B. The Court Has Not Created An Illusory

Standing Doctrine. 7

Contrary to the Eleventh Circuit’s holding, this

Court has repeatedly recognized that “countervailing

considerations may outweigh” the actual injury

requirement for standing in a First Amendment case.

Warth, 422 U.S. at 500-01 (citing United States v.

Raines, 362 U.S. 17, 22-3 (1960) (emphasizing “that

where the application of [strict standing] rules would

itself have an inhibitory effect on freedom of speech,

they may not be applied,” citing Smith v. California,

361 U.S. 147, 151 (1959), and Thornhill v. State of

Alabama, 310 U.S. 88, 97-8 (1940)); also American

Booksellers, 484 U.S. at 392-93.

Oe LL a

Indeed, the Eleventh Circuit ignored the basic

underpinning of the overbreadth doctrine:

i

11

In the area of freedom of expression it is

well established that one has standing to _

challenge a statute on the ground that it

delegates overly broad licensing

discretion to an administrative office,

whether or not his conduct could be

proscribed by a properly drawn statute,

and whether or not he applied for a

license.

City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publ’g Co., 486 U.S.

750, 755-56 (1988). This Court has established that the

injury to be redressed by application of the

overbreadth doctrine is the removal of the pervasive

threat to First Amendment freedoms inherent in an

offensive regulations’ very existence, not the

remediation of any personal injury suffered by a

challenging party. Thornhill, 310 U.S. at 97. Granite

State made a facial First Amendment challenge to the

Sign Ordinance because the entire ordinance, and

portions of its constituent parts, prevented Granite

State and others from exercising fundamental speech

rights protected by the First Amendment. Such a

challenge is permitted under the Court’s standing rules

both because protection of First Amendment rights is

of paramount importance to a free society and because

such challenges vindicate the rights of third parties not

before the court.

The practical effect of the overbreadth doctrine

is “to enable persons who are themselves unharmed by

the defect in a statute nevertheless to challenge that

statute on the ground that it may conceivably be

applied unconstitutionally to others, in other situations

not before the Court.” Board of Trustees v. Fox, 492

i ii

12

U.S. 469, 484 (1989) (quoting Broadrick, 413 U.S. at

610). This Court created the overbreadth doctrine to

eliminate the need for multiple lawsuits and to allow

plaintiffs to vindicate their constitutional rights without

subjecting themselves to penalties imposed under

unconstitutional laws. E.g., Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S.

123, 159-60 (1908). The Clearwater decision reverses

the Court’s rationai and would require multiple

lawsuits to evaluate unconstitutional ordinances on a

case-by-case, provision-by-provision basis.

The importance of the First Amendment in )

maintaining a free and open society gave rise to the |

Court’s overbreadth standing doctrine in the First |

Amendment arena because of the Court’s recognition of

the necessity and efficiency of permitting overbreadth |

challenges to comprehensive regulations that unduly |

restrict First Amendment rights. The Eleventh

Circuit’s Clearwater decision undermines the Court’s |

rationale and invites degradation of the Court’s

constitutional mandates.

C. Overbreadth Standing Allows A Party

With A Commercial Interest In Speech

Activity To Challenge All

Unconstitutional Provisions Of A

Regulatory Scheme, Even Those

Having No Practical Application To

The Challenging Party.

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with

established Supreme Court precedent. E.g.,

Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 504 (recognizing billboard

company’s standing to assert facial challenge to all

provisions of San Diego’s comprehensive sign

NT

13

ordinance). Indeed, the Court of Appeals completely

ignored the Court’s Metromedia decision and failed

even to cite to Metromedia even though Metromedia

controls the law of signs, and especially billboards.

Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 501 (reiterating that “[ea}ch

method of communicating ideas is a law unto itself”)

(cit. omitted). The Eleventh Circuit’s disregard for the

law established by the Court is exacerbated by the fact

that the district court specifically referred to the

Court’s Metromedia decision in conferring overbreadth

standing on Granite State to facially challenge the sign

regulations. (29a-3la). In reversing the district court,

the Court of Appeals simply ignored any reference to

the Metromedia decision.

In Metromedia, the Court _ specifically

established sign companies’ standing to facially

challenge the entirety of unconstitutional sign

ordinances reaffirming that

we have never held that one with a

“commercial interest” in speech also

cannot challenge the facial validity of a

statute on the grounds of its substantial

infringement of the First Amendment

interests of others. Were it otherwise,

newspapers, radio stations, movie

theaters and producers — often those with

the highest interest and the largest stake

in a First Amendment controversy -

would not be able to challenge

government limitations on speech as

substantially overbroad.

14

Id. at 504, n. 11. Six Justices unconditionally joined the

Court’s holding establishing a sign company’s ability to

facially challenge the entirety of a sign ordinance under

the overbreadth doctrine. Jd. at 493 (holding of

plurality composed of Justices White, Stewart,

Marshall, and Powell); id. at 525 (concurrence of Justice

Brennan joined by Justice Blackmun) (specifying that

“(wlhere the plurality and I disagree is . . . the

appropriate analytical framework to apply”). As is

clear, there can be no doubt that a clear majority of the

Court allowed and indeed encouraged commercial

entities such as Granite State to raise facial challenges

to entire regulatory schemes that restrict protected

speech on signs. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision to

discard overbreadth standing was predicated on its

failure to defer to this Court’s clear precedent.

The Metromedia Court invalidated San Diego’s

sign ordinance based in large part on 12 exemptions to

the city’s ban on off-premise signs where the

exemptions had no possible application to the outdoor

advertising company. Jd. at 514-15 (holding that “the

city may not choose the appropriate subjects for public

discourse”). Those signs exempted from prohibition by

the San Diego regulations included

government signs; signs located at public

bus stops; . . . commemorative historical

plaques; religious symbols; signs within

shopping malls; for sale and for lease

signs; signs on public and commercial

vehicles; signs depicting time,

temperature, and news; approved

temporary, off-premises, subdivision

ete Ue ON et eee ene

15

directional signs; and “[(tjemporary

political campaign signs.”

Id. at 494-95. The Metromedia Court expressly

rejected the dissenting Chief Justice’s finding that

these exceptions were de minimis. Id. at 518-19.’

Therefore, the Court undeniably established that

plaintiffs such as Granite State have facial standing to

challenge all provisions of sign regulations under the

overbreadth doctrine, even those provisions that have

no actual impact on the plaintiff. /d. at 504, n. 11.

The Clearwater decision not only eliminates

years of careful development of the overbreadth

doctrine, it also eliminates the most important single

mechanism through which parties may obtain judicial

review of state actions that limit or eliminate common

avenues of speech and important subject areas of

speech. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision reversed the

district court’s findings and took the unprecedented

step of reinstating several unconstitutional provisions

to the detriment of the citizens of the City. Such

provisions are unlikely to be challenged again because

individuals and nonprofits typically do not have the

resources to litigate. Through the granting of this

petition, the Court can review, refine, and correct

misreadings and misapplications of this fundamental

technique of preservation of basic constitutional rights.

* As cursory review of the Sign Ordinance discloses exemptions

similar to those resulting in the invalidation of San Diego’s

ordinance. (87a-91a) (referring to Sign Ordinance, § 3-1805).

16

II. THE CLEARWATER DECISION CREATES

CONFUSION AMONG THE CIRCUITS ON

THIS IMPORTANT QUESTION OF

FEDERAL LAW.

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with

other circuits that have considered this precise issue in

the context of restrictions on First Amendment

activity. This important question of 2deral law

requires uniformity, for to permit otherwise would

countenance a situation where speakers in some parts

of the country would be denied standing to protect the

exact same speech rights they are guaranteed in other

parts of the country.

The panel decision conflicts with numerous

decisions from other circuit courts of appeal. The other

circuits have repeatedly acknowledged the standing of

an aggrieved speech applicant to challenge all

unconstitutional aspects of a speech regulation. E 7.,

Ackerley Communications of Mass., Inc. v. City of

Cambridge, 88 F.3d 33 (1* Cir. 1996); Lamar Adver. of

Penn, LLC v. Town of Orchard Park, 356 F.3d 365, 374-

75 (24 Cir. 2004); National Adver. Co..v. Town of

Babylon, 900 F.2d 551, 553, 555 (2° Cir. 1990), cert.

denied, 492 U.S. 852 (1990); Peachlum v. City of York,

333 F.3d 429, 430 (8 Cir. 2003); Rappa v. New Castle

County, 18 F.3d 1043 (3% Cir. 1994); Giovani

Carandola, Ltd. v. Bason, 303 F.3d 507, 512-51 (4 Cir.

2002); Deja Vu of Nashville, Inc. v. Metropolitan Gov't

of Nashville and Davidson County, 274 F.3d 377, 385

(6 Cir. 2001), cert. denied, 535 U.S. 1073 (2002);

Dambrot v. Central Mich. Univ., 55 F.3d 1177, 1182 (6"

Cir. 1995); Arizona Right to Life Political Action

Comm. v. Bayless, 320 F.3d 1002, 1006-07 (9 Cir. 2003)

eddy Dab Ding Dee cat tie hte Pb ey

ee ae

, Salen ial gills Ib ela AS Bsc nd ioe

17

(granting standing and _ stating “{cJonstitutional

challenges based on the First Amendment” may be

initiated without “requiring litigants to speak first and

take their chances with the consequences”); Desert |

Outdoor Adver., Inc. v. City of Moreno Valley, 103 F.3d

814, 818 (9 Cir. 1996). Many of these cases have

involved commercial sign companies such as Granite

State, and refer specifically to the Court’s holding in

Metromedia.

The result of the conflict between the Eleventh

Circuit and the other circuits’ rulings is clear: parties

asserting First Amendment challenges in the Eleventh

Circuit are now denied the ability to challenge entire

regulatory schemes on overbreadth grounds, while such

challenges are permitted under the overbreadth

doctrine in other circuits. A party’s ability to challenge

the entirety of a regulatory scheme as being overbroad

should not turn on the location in which the challenge is

raised. The Court should grant Granite State’s petition

to resolve this glaring conflict between the Eleventh

Circuit decision and other circuit courts.

Ill. THE RISK THAT PROTECTED SPEECH

MAY BE CHILLED SUFFICES TO CONFER

OVERBREADTH STANDING ON A PARTY

TO CHALLENGE AN ENTIRE

REGULATORY SCHEME.

As the Court has repeatedly held, the

overbreadth doctrine allows litigants to facially

challenge a statute not because their own

rights of free expression are violated, but

because of a judicial prediction or

assumption that the statute’s very

A A SAP

18

existence may cause others not before the

court to refrain from constitutionally

protected speech or expression.

Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 612 (emphasis added); Free

Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. at 245 (reemphasizing that

an entire act is facially invalid if it prohibits a

substantial amount of protected speech and reiterating

that even “minor punishments may chill protected

speech”); American Booksellers, 484 U.S. at 392-93

(emphasizing that plaintiffs had standing to challenge

entire regulatory scheme); Members of City Council v.

Taxpayers for Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 801 (1984) (a

statute is unconstitutional on its face on overbreadth

grounds if there is “a realistic danger that the statute

itself will significantly compromise recognized First

Amendment protections of pariies not before the

court”) (emphasis added); Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 504,

n. 11; Schad, 452 U.S. at 66 (allowing overbreadth

challenge to municipal zoning ordinance). In light of

the Court’s well-established precedent, the Eleventh

Circuit should have declined the City’s invitation to

impermissibly limit Granite State’s overbreadth

challenge to the specific provision under which it

suffered an actual injury. The appellate Clearwater

decision ignored the district court’s “judicial prediction”

that other provisions of the Sign Ordinance

impermissibly prohibit protected expression of third

parties.

19

IV. OVERBREADTH STANDING TO FACIALLY

CHALLENGE UNCONSTITUTIONAL

RESTRICTIONS ON PROTECTED SPEECH

DOES NOT DEPEND ON A SHOWING OF

ACTUAL INJURY.

The Eleventh Circuit erroneously required

Granite State to establish actual injury under each

challenged provision in order to obtain overbreadth

standing to challenge the entirety of the Sign

Ordinance. (5a-7a). The Clearwater decision conflicts

with this Court’s holdings and those of the other circuit

courts.

Pretermitting whether Granite State suffered

actual injury under the City’s Sign Ordinance, the

Court has established that there is no requirement that

a plaintiff demonstrate an actual injury to facially

challenge restrictions on First Amendment grounds.

Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191, 210, n. 13 (1992); Fox,

492 U.S. at 484 (reemphasizing that the purpose of the

overbreadth doctrine is “to enable persons who are

themselves unharmed . . . to challenge that statute” on

behalf of others) (quoting Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 610).

As noted above, the Court dispenses with “the

application of [strict standing] rules [that] would itself

have an inhibitory effect on freedom of speech... .”

Raines, 362 U.S. at 22-3 (citing Smith, 361 U.S. at 151;

Thornhill, 310 U.S. at 97-8); also American

Booksellers, 484 U.S. at 392-93 (granting facial standing

after “conclud[ing] that plaintiffs have alleged an actual

and well-founded fear that the law will be enforced

against them”); Reno v. ACLU, 521 U.S. at 861-62, nn.

27-28 (granting plaintiffs overbreadth standing to

challenge Communications Decency Act before any

20

enforcement had occurred). The Court’s holdings are

clear: parties challenging regulatory schemes that may

potentially chill protected speech have facial standing

to do so without the traditional requirement of

demonstrating “actual harm.”

Indeed, it is the potential to chill the exercise of

First Amendment rights that confers overbreadth

standing on Granite State even if it had not applied for

permits prior to bringing its First Amendment

challenge. Lakewood, 486 U.S. at 755-56 (emphasizing

“the mere existence of the licensor’s unfettered

discretion, coupled with the power of prior restraint,

intimidates parties into censoring their own speech,

even if the discretion and power are never actually

abused”); Virginia Society for Human Life, Inc. v.

Federal Election Comm’n, 263 F.3d 379, 388 (4* Cir.

2001) (holding “that when a statute on its face restricts

a party from engaging in expressive activity, there is a

presumption of a credible threat of prosecution. ‘This

presumption is particularly appropriate when the

presence of a statute tends to chill the exercise of First

Amendment rights”) (quoting North Carolina Right to

Life, Inc. v. Bartlett, 168 F.3d 705, 710 (4 Cir. 1999),

cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1153 (2000)).

This Court and other circuit courts recognize

that where, as here, a party challenges a prior restraint

on protected speech as vesting impermissible discretion

in government officials by failing to provide adequate

procedural safeguards or failing to provide narrow,

objective criteria to guide officials’ determinations,

“courts must permit those subject to the laws to bring

an immediate facial challenge.” 11126 Baltimore Blud.,

Inc. v. Prince George's County, 58 F.3d 988, 994 (4 Cir.

gw

21

1995) (en bane) (citing Lakewood, 486 U.S. at 759). A

party may facially challenge licensing schemes as

vesting impermissible discretion in government officials

“whether or not his conduct could be proscribed by a

properly drawn statute, and whether or not he applied

for a license.” Lakewood, 486 U.S. at 756; Z.J. Gifts D-

4, L.L.C. v. City of Littleton, 311 F.3d 1220, 1226-27 (10

Cir. 2002), cert. granted in part, 124 S.Ct. 383 (citing

Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51, 56 (1965);

FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215, 223

(1990)). Indeed, if one’s conduct could not be proscribed

by an offensive licensing scheme, the plaintiff could not

suffer an actual injury under the challenged

regulations. Lakewood, 486 U.S. at 755-56.

Contrary to the Clearwater analysis, where

facial challenges to licensing schemes are raised, this

Court has established that the appropriate inquiry is

not whether censorship actually results from a

regulation’s enforcement. Rather, it is the risk of the

“arbitrary suppression” or indefinite delay of protected

speech that provides plaintiffs with overbreadth

standing to facially challenge such regulatory schemes.

FW/PBS, 493 U.S. at 225-27; Thomas v. Chicago Park

Dist., 5384 U.S. 316, 323 (2002); Riley v. National Fed’

of the Blind, 487 U.S. 781, 802 (1988) (holding “delay

compels the speaker’s silence”).

This Court and other circuit courts hold that

“the success of a facial challenge on the grounds that an

ordinance delegates overly broad discretion to the

decisionmaker rests not on whether the administrator

has exercised his discretion in a content-based manner,

but whether there is anything in the ordinance

preventing him from doing so.” Forsyth County v.

22

Nationalist Movement, 505 U.S. 123, 133, n. 10 (1992);

Southworth v. Board of Regents, 307 F.3d 566, 577-78

(7 Cir. 2002); Lewis v. Wilson, 253 F.3d 1077, 1080 (8t

Cir. 2001).* “(Courts] cannot depend on the individuals

responsible for enforcing the Ordinance to do so in a

manner that cures it of constitutional infirmities.”

Lakewood, 486 U.S. at 770. The Eleventh Circuit

should not have denied Granite State overbreadth

standing because the Sign Ordinance affords officials

Just such power and contains no provisions constraining

the exercise thereof.

Furthermore, this Court and other circuits,

including the Eleventh Circuit, hold that in facial

challenges, “the facts of the challenging party’s case are

irrelevant.” Miami Herald, Inc. v. City of Hallandale,

734 F.2d 666, 674, n. 4 (11 Cir. 1984) (citing Beckerman

v. City of Tupelo, 664 F.2d 502, 506-07 (5 Cir. 1981));

Forsyth County, 505 U.S. at 133, n. 10 (reaffirming that

“[flacial attacks on the discretion granted a

decisionmaker are not dependent on the facts” as

applied to a particular plaintiff); Lakewood, 486 U.S. at

770; Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, 394 U.S. 147 ;

151 (1969); Griffin v. Secretary of Veterans Affairs, 288

F.3d 1809, 1318-19 (D.C. Cir. 2002); International

Society for Krishna Consciousness v. Eaves, 601 F.2d

809, 823 (5 Cir. 1979). The Clearwater decision

* The Eleventh Circuit reaffirmed in the Clearwater decision that

it has determined that this Court’s decision in Thomas v. Chicago

Park District, 584 U.S. 316, 323 (2002), has done away with the

need for procedural safeguards in arguably “content-neutral”

speech permitting schemes. (9a-10a). Also Granite State Outdoor

Adver., Inc. v. City of St. Petersburg, 348 F.3d 1278 (11 Cir.

2003), petition for cert. filed, 72 U.S.L.W. 3644 (U.S. Mar 29, 2004)

(No. 03-1386).

23

effectively denies standing to facially challenge

unconstitutional statutes and ordinances.

CONCLUSION

This petition for writ of certiorari should be

granted. The Eleventh Circuit’s Clearwater decision

makes a mockery of overbreadth standing. The

decision clearly conflicts with the holdings of this Court,

those of other circuits around the country, and with

common sense. Moreover, the decision mandates that

the district court re-impose several indisputably

unconstitutional sign restrictions, an unprecedented

occurrence in federal jurisprudence. Because the right

of free speech above all others requires uniformity and

diligent protection, this matter should be taken up by

the Court.

DATED this 18th day of May, 2004.

Respectfully submitted,

E. Adam Webb

Counsel of Record

Georgia State Bar No. 743910

Webb & Porter, L.L.C.

2625 Cumberland Parkway, S.E.

Suite 220

Atlanta, Georgia 30339

(770) 444-0773

Attorney for Petitioner Granite

State Outdoor Advertising, Inc.

as a nates

eh

PRCT

PPR?

TTI IP

a PC ce) La ae ae

la

(Any footnotes trail end of each document)

No. 02-14434

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

GRANITE STATE OUTDOOR

ADVERTISING, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

CITY OF CLEARWATER, FLORIDA,

BRIAN AUNGST, SR., as an individual and in his

capacity as Mayor of the city, WILLIAM HORNE,

as an individual and in his capacity as city manager,

Defendants-Appellees.

November 28, 2003, Decided

November 28, 2003, Filed

COUNSEL: For Granite State Outdoor Advertising,

Inc., Appellant: Webb, Edward Adam, Dow, Lohnes &

Albertson, ATLANTA, GA.

For City of Clearwater, Florida, Appellee: Brinton,

William David, Allen, Brinton & Simmons, P.A.,

Jacksonville, FL.

For Aungst, Brian Sr., Horne, William, Appellees:

Russell, Cristine M., Rogers, Towers, Bailey, Jones &

Gay, Jacksonville, FL.

2a

JUDGES: Before ANDERSON and BIRCH, Circuit

Judges, and PROPST *, District Judge. ANDERSON.

Circuit Judge, concurring.

OPINION BY: BIRCH

OPINION: BIRCH, Circuit Judge:

In this appeal, we must determine whether the district

court properly denied plaintiff-appellant’s, Granite

State Outdoor Advertising, Inc. (“Granite State”),

request for injunctive relief against defendant-appellee,

the City of Clearwater, Florida (“the City” or

“Clearwater”), after several permit applications to

construct billboards in the City were denied under

Article 3, Division 18 of the City’s Community

Development Code (“the Code”). The district court

ruled that Granite State had standing to challenge the

entirety of Article 3, Division 18, but not any part of

Article 4, the part of the Code that governs the permit

denial appeals process. The district court denied

injunctive relief based on its ruling that, after

unconstitutional provisions of Division 18 were severed

from the remainder of the ordinance, the remaining

provisions were constitutional. Upon consideration, we

AFFIRM in part, REVERSE in part, and REMAND.

I. BACKGROUND nl

Granite State is a Georgia corporation in the business of

buying or leasing land upon which to construct signs

and billboards to be used for both commercial and non-

commercial purposes. Granite State has never erected

or operated a billboard, nor has it held a permit in its

own name to erect a billboard. Granite State receives

3a

its profits from the sale of billboard permits it obtains

from various cities and municipalities, some of which

have been obtained through litigation similar to the

case before us.

Clearwater is a political subdivision of the state of

Florida and describes itself as a “resort community on

the west coast of the state with more than five miles of

beaches on the Gulf of Mexico” and with a tourism-

based economy. Clearwater Cmty. Dev. Code § 3-1801

(1999). Clearwater, like many other cities, has codified

various sign regulations to create a comprehensive

scheme for regulating, inter alia, the permitting,

placement, number, size, height, design, operation, and

maintenance of signs within the City’s boundaries. Id.

§§ 3-1801 - 1807 (2003). The many purposes of these

sign regulations include traffic safety and aesthetics of

the community. Id. § 3-1802 (1999).

Granite State entered into lease agreements for a total

of eight parcels of real property located in commercial

or industrial areas of Clearwater. Granite State’s goal

was to construct and operate one freestanding billboard

sign on each parcel of property. The City denied each of

Granite State’s permit applications because Granite

State applied to construct billboards more than four

times the allowable height and ten times the allowable

area under Clearwater regulations. Rather than appeal

the denial of its permits, Granite State initiated the

current. litigation in the Middle District of Florida

challenging the constitutionality of Article 3, Division

18 and Article 4 of Clearwater’s Community

Development Code on First Amendment grounds and

requesting injunctive relief. n2

4a

Article 3, Division 18 regulates both commercial and

non-commercial signs and dictates when permits are

required before certain signs may be erected. In

particular, § 3-1806 regulates “permitted signs

requiring development review.” Part B.1. of this section

deals with non-residential, freestanding signs, and it

was under this part of § 3-1805 that Granite State’s

permits were denied. Specifically, subparts (c) and (e) of

§ 3-1806.B.1. dictate the allowable area and height,

respectively, of a freestanding sign. Article 4 sets forth

the process for obtaining various levels of permit

approval and also details the appeals process to contest

denial of a permit.

The district court granted Granite State standing to

challenge the entirety of Article 3, Division 18 on First

Amendment grounds, both as applied and under the

overbreadth doctrine, and denied it standing to

challenge any part of Article 4 on either grovad.

Because we find the district court misapplied whe

overbreadth doctrine, we reverse the district court’s

grant of standing to Granite State to challenge

provisions of the City’s sign ordinance that did not give

rise to an injury in fact (i.e., provisions other than § 3-

1806.B.1.), and we remand this case for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion. We affirm the

district court’s denials of (1) standing to challenge any

part of Article 4, (2) injunctive relief, and (3) attorney’s

fees.

II. DISCUSSION

A. Standing

Article III, § 2 of the United States Constitution

CRITE act HS AES oe OES

Stine iranian Kida SaaS

5a

requires that there be a “case” or “controversy” before

a federal court may decide a case. U.S. CONST. art. III,

§ 2. See, e.g., Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S.

555, 559-60, 112 S. Ct. 2130, 2136, 119 L. Ed. 2d 351

(1992). The constitutional requirements for a federal

court to adjudicate a case are accompanied by

prudential requirements. See, e.g., Bennett v. Spear,

520 U.S. 154, 162, 117 S. Ct. 1154, 1161, 187 L. Ed. 2d

281 (1997); Lujan, 504 U.S. at 560, 112 S. Ct. at 2136.

Together, these constitutional and_ prudential

requirements form the doctrine of standing. See, e.g.,

Bennett, 520 U.S. at 162, 117 S. Ct. at 1161; Lujan, 504

USS. at 560, 112 S. Ct. at 2136.

The Supreme Court has identified three constitutional

requirements for standing, all of which must be

satisfied: (1) an injury in fact, meaning an injury that is

concrete and particularized, and actual or imminent, (2)

a causal connection between the injury and the causal

conduct, and (3) a likelihood that the injury will be

redressed by a favorable decision. n3 See, e.g., Bennett,

520 US. at 167, 117 S. Ct. at 1163. The Court also has

identified three prudential standing principles. See,

e.g., Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 751, 104 S. Ct. 3315,

3324, 82 L. Ed. 2d 556 (1984). Relevant here is the

principle that a party generally may assert only his or

her own rights and cannot raise the claims of third

parties not before the court. See, e.g., id.

Certain exceptions to the prudential standing

requirements have developed in Supreme Court

jurisprudence. Significant to this case is the

“overbreadth doctrine,” an exception that applies in

First Amerdment. cases involving non-commercial

speech and that vermits third-party standing when a

Nee REE ee

6a

statute is constitutionally applied to the litigant but

might be unconstitutionally applied to third parties not

before the court. See, e.g., Village of Schaumburg v.

Citizens for a Better Env’t, 444 U.S. 620, 634, 100 S. Ct.

826, 834-35, 63 L. Ed. 2d 73 (1980). The overbreadth

doctrine, however, is not an exception to the

constitutionai standing requirements. Bischoff v.

Osceola County, Fla., 222 F.3d &74, 884 (11th Cir. 2000).

A plaintiff seeking to make an overbreadth challenge

must first show that he has suffered an injury in fact, as

required under Article III. See, e.g., Virginia v. Am.

Booksellers Ass’n Inc., 484 U.S. 383, 392-93, 108 S. Ct.

636, 642-43, 98 L. Ed. 2d 782 (1988); Village of

Schaumburg, 444 U.S. at 634, 100 S. Ct. at 834; Bischoff,

222 F.3d at 884.

An “injury in fact” requires the plaintiff to “show that

he personally has suffered some actual or threatened

injury.” Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans

United for Separation of Church and State, 454 US.

464, 472, 102 S. Ct. 752, 758, 70 L. Ed. 2d 700 (1982)

(emphasis added) (internal quotations omitted). While

this requirement is hard to define precisely, we know

that the plaintiff must at least claim to personally

suffer some harm. See, e.g., Lujan, 504 U.S. at 562-63,

112 S. Ct. at 2187-38; United States v. Students

Challenging Regulatory Agency Procedures (SCRAP),

412 U.S. 669, 686-87, 93 S. Ct. 2405, 2415, 37 L. Ed. 2d

254 (1973).1. Division 18, § 3-1806.B.1. of the Clearwater

Community Development Code

In this case, the only harm that Granite State has

personally suffered is under § 3-1806.B.1. of the

Clearwater Community Development Code. It was

under this provision that Granite State’s billboard

Ta

permits were denied. Granite State has suffered no

injury regarding any other provision in Article 3,

Division 18. Thus, Granite State has standing to

challenge the censti‘utionality of only § 3-1806.B.1. as

applied to it and, under the overbreadth doctrine, as

applied to non-commercial speech.

This provision was constitutionally applied to Granite

State: it sought to construct a billboard sign much

larger than any sign allowed under the Clearwater

regulations. Moreover, because § 3-1806.B.1. is content-

neutral and gives no discretion to the permitting

authority, this provision is not overbroad. n4 See, e.g.,

Staub v. Baxley, 355 U.S. 313, 322, 78 S. Ct. 277, 282, 2

L. Ed. 2d 302 (1958); Horton v. City of St. Augustine,

272 F.3d 1318, 1331-32 (41th Cir. 2001). Thus, Granite

State’s constitutional challenge to § 3-1806.B.1. must

fail. This issue is remanded to the district court for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

2. Article 4 of the Clearwater Community Development

Code

Granite State does not have standing to challenge

Article 4 of the Code because it has suffered no injury

with regard to the City’s permitting and appeals

process. n5 Granite State argues that it did not avail

itself of the allegedly unconstitutional appeals process

because the ordinance does not contain sufficient

procedural safeguards. The specific constitutional

defect, according to Granite State, is the fact that City

officials have an unlimited amount of time to decide

whether to grant or deny a permit application. Such an

argument, by itself, does not create Article III

standing. Granite State has neither alleged nor shown

8a

how the City’s permitting and appeals procedure has

injured Granite State. To the contrary, the record

shows that Granite State’s permits were denied within

a reasonable time: the same day they were submitted.

See, e.g., United States v. Hays, 515 U.S. 737, 745, 115

S. Ct. 2431, 2436, 182 L. Ed. 2d 635 (1995) (holding that

only those voters residing in an_ allegedly

unconstitutionally drawn voting district have standing

to challenge the unconstitutionality of the voting

district); Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727, 739, 92 S.

Ct. 1361, 1368, 31 L. Ed. 2d 636 (1972) (affirming “the

requirement that a party seeking review must allege

facts showing that he is himself adversely affected”).

We note that this case is distinguishable from a line of

Supreme Court cases involving (but not beginning

with) City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publ’g Co., 486

U.S. 756, 755-56, 108 S. Ct. 2138, 2140, 100 L. Ed. 2d 771

(1988), and precedent from our circuit relying on the

same, allowing litigants to facially challenge a licensing

scheme vesting the decision-maxer with unbridled

discretion. n6 See, e.g., FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas,

493 U.S. 215, 223-24, 110 S. Ct. 596, 603-04, 107 L. Ed.

2d 603 (1990); United States v. Frandsen, 212 F.3d 1231,

1235-36 (11th Cir. 2000); Gold Coast Publ’ns, Inc. v.

Corrigan, 42 F.3d 1336, 1343 (11th Cir. 1994); Dimmitt

v. City of Clearwater, 985 F.2d 1565, 1570 (11th Cir.

1993); Abramson v. Gonzalez, 949 F.2d 1567, 1573 (11th

Cir. 1992); Sentinel Communications Co. v. Watts, 936

F.2d 1189, 1197-98 (11th Cir. 1991).

In Lakewood, the city mayor was given unguided

discretion to decide which publishers could place

newsracks on public property and where they could be

placed. 486 U.S. at 753-54, 108 S. Ct. at 2142. The Court

9a

held that such unbridled discretion in the permitting

official “constituted a prior restraint and may result in

censorship.” Id. at 757, 108 S. Ct. at 2144. The Court

then granted the plaintiff standing to facially challenge

this defect in the ordinance. Id. at 755-56, 108 S. Ct. at

2143.

Similar to the challenged permitting scheme in this

case, the ordinance in Lakewood also did not contain

time limits within which the Mayor had to decide

whether to grant or to deny a permit. Id. at 771, 108 S.

Ct. at 2151-52. The majority noted, however, that “even

if judicial review were relatively speedy, such review

cannot substitute for concrete standards to guide the

decision-maker’s discretion.” Id., 108 S. Ct. at 2151.

Thus, time limits are required when their lack could

result in censorship of certain viewpoints or ideas, see,

e.g., Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51, 58-59, 85 S. Ct.

734, 739, 18 L. Ed. 2d 649 (1965), but are not

categorically required when the permitting scheme is

content-neutral. Thomas v. Chicago Park Dist., 534 U.S.

316, 322-24, 122 S. Ct. 775, 780-81, 151 L. Ed. 2d 783

(2002). See also Granite State Outdoor Adver., Inc. v.

City of St. Petersburg, 348 F.3d 1278 (2003) (noting

that, “In particular, . . . the Court never stated time

limits were per se required for a [content-neutra!]

permitting scheme to be valid. Rather, the Court

simply held all that was required were ‘adequate

standards to guide the official’s discretion and render it

subject to judicial review.”’) (citations omitted)).

The Clearwater Community Development Code gives

no similar discretion to the permitting authorities as

existed in cases such as Lakewood. City officials can

only process a permit application and decide to grant or

deny the permit based on specific, objective criteria

10a

(e.g., the height, size, or surface area of a proposed

sign). Moreover, we note that the litigants in

Lakewood, who were allowed to facially challenge an

ordinance on the ground that it gave permitting

authorities unbridled discretion, were injured under the

very provisions they challenged. Lakewood, 486 U.S. at

754, 108 S. Ct. at 2142. As we have explained, this is not

the circumstance for Granite State, which suffered no

injury in fact under Article 4. n7

The judgment of the district court denying Granite

State standing to challenge Article 4 both as applied

and facially under the overbreadth doctrine is,

therefore, affirmed.

B. Mootness

Like the requirement of standing, mootness is a

justiciability doctrine that must be satisfied before we

may decide a case. See, e.g., United States Parole

Comm’n v. Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388, 396-97, 100 S. Ct.

1202, 1208-09, 63 L. Ed. 2d 479 (1980). We lack

jurisdiction because of mootness “when the issues

presented are no longer ‘live’ or the parties lack a

iegally cognizable interest in the outcome.” Powell v.

McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 496, 89 S. Ct. 1944, 1951, 23

L. Ed. 2d 491 (1969). In this case, the City argues that

Granite State’s claims are now moot _ because

Clearwater has revised the Code in accordance with the

district court’s decision. Because Granite State has

requested damages, however, the changes made to the

ordinance do not make this case moot. See, e.g.,

Firefighters Local Union No. 1784 v. Stotts, 467 U.S.

561, 571, 104 S. Ct. 2576, 2584, 81 L. Ed. 2d 483 (1984);

Havens Realty Corp. v. Coleman, 455 U.S. 363, 371, 102

lla

S. Ct. 1114, 1120, 71 L. Ed. 2d 214 (1982); see also

Mesquite v. Aladdin’s Castle, Inc., 455 U.S. 283, 289,

102 S. Ct. 1070, 1074, 71 L. Ed. 2d 152 (1982) (“repeal of

the objectionable language would not _ preclude

[Clearwater] from reenacting precisely the same

provision if the District Court’s judgment were

vacated”). Thus, we must rule on the constitutionality

of the provision under which Granite State may be

entitled to damages, § 3-1806.B.1. As we have

explained, this section was not unconstitutionally

applied to Granite State. Accordingly, Granite State is

not entitled to damages resulting from the denial of its

permits under this section. The district court’s denial of

damages is affirmed.

C. Attorney’s Fees

Granite State argues that it should be entitled to an

award of attorney’s fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §

1988(b), which permits the court to award attorney’s

fees to the “prevailing party” for actions brought under

various civil rights provisions, including 42 U.S.C. §

1983. 42 U.S.C. § 1988(b). Granite State argues that,

while it did not succeed on all of its claims in the district

court, it nevertheless should be entitled to attorney’s

fees because it has achieved “excellent results” for third

parties who may have sought to post a sign under the

provisions of the ordinance stricken by the district

court. Appellant’s Br. at 40. Under § 1988, however, the

plaintiff is considered a “prevailing party” if he obtains

“at least some relief on the merits of his claim”...

“{that] materially alters the legal relationship between

the parties.” Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103, 111-12, 118

S. Ct. 566, 573, 121 L. Ed. 2d 494 (1992) (citations

omitted); Hewitt v. Helms, 482 U.S. 755, 760, 107 S. Ct.

12a

2672, 2675, 96 L. Ed. 2d 654 (1987). See also Falanga v.

State Bar, 150 F.3d 1333, 1347 n.34 (11th Cir. 1998).

Furthermore, “(a] favorable judicial statement of law in

the course of litigation that results in judgment against

the plaintiff does not suffice to render him a ‘prevailing

- party” under § 1988. Hewitt, 482 U.S. at 763, 107 S. Ct.

at 2677.

In this case, Granite State is not the “prevailing party”

and the relationship between the parties is unaltered.

n8 We have determined that § 1306.B.1. was

constitutionally applied to Granite State and is facially

constitutional. We also determined that the district

court erred in allowing Granite State standing to

challenge any other provisions in Article 3, Division 18.

Moreover, we determined that the district court

correctly ruled that Granite State did not have standing

to challenge Article 4. Thus, Granite State has not

prevailed on any of its claims regarding the Clearwater

Community Development Code. The district court’s

denial of an award of attorney’s fees is affirmed.

IlI. CONCLUSION

The district court erred in its conclusion that Granite

State had standing to challenge the entirety of Article

3, Division 18 of the Clearwater Community

Development Code. Accordingly, this part of the

district court’s holding is reversed and remanded for

proceedings consistent with this opinion. The district

court correctly denied Granite State both standing to

challenge Article 4 and injunctive relief because the

provision under which Granite State’s permit requests

were denied is not unconstitutional. Moreover, the

district court correctly denied Granite State’s request

13a

for attorney’s fees. Accordingly, the judgment of the

district court is AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED in

part, and REMANDED for further proceedings

consistent with this opinion.

CONCUR BY: ANDERSON

CONCUR: ANDERSON, Circuit Judge, concurring.

I concur in the result.

Footnotes

* Honorable Robert B. Propst, United States District

Judge for the Northern District of Alabama, sitting by

designation.

nl The facts in this case that we relate are undisputed.

n2 Initially, Granite State also requested injunctive

relief from Clearwater Mayor, Brian Aungst, Sr., and

its City Manager, William Horne. The district court

dismissed Granite State’s claims against these

defendants both in their individual and _ official

capacities. This dismissal was not challenged on appeal;

therefore, the only remaining defendant before us is the

City of Clearwater. Additionally, Granite State has not

appealed the district court’s rulings regarding its claims

that the Clearwater ordinance violates the Fourteenth

Amendment guarantee of equal protection and the

Fifth Amendment’s Takings Clause. Accordingly, these

issues are not before us: “Issues not clearly raised in

the briefs are considered abandoned.” Hardwick v.

Crosby, 320 F.3d 1127, 1158 n.140 (11th Cir. 2003)

(citations omitted).

14a

n3 Because these requirements are jurisdictional, we

must consider them as a threshold matter, regardless of

whether the parties or the court below has done so.

Focus on the Family v. Pinellas Suncoast Transit Auth.,

344 F.3d 1263 (11th Cir. 2003). Once we determine that

the standing requirements have been met, we review

the district court’s denial of injunctive relief under the

abuse of discretion standard, but “we review de novo

determinations of law made by the district court en

route.” Kidder, Peabody & Co., Inc. v. Brandt, 131 F.3d

1001, 1003 (11th Cir. 1997).

n4 Granite State has alleged that this provision is a

prior restraint on speech because a permit is required

before a billboard may be erected. This section is not a

prior restraint, however, for the same reasons why an

overbreadth challenge will fail: it is content-neutral and

gives no discretion to the permitting authority. See,

e.g., Staub v. Baxley, 355 U.S. 313, 322, 78 S. Ct. 277,

282, 2 L. Ed. 2d 302 (1958); Horton v. City of St.

Augustine, 272 F.3d 1318, 1332 (11th Cir. 2001).

n5 We note that while 42 U.S.C. § 1983 forms the

statutory jurisdictional basis for Granite State’s claim,

§ 1983 is not a substitute for the constitutional standing

requirements. Section 1983 allows a plaintiff to bring a

claim into court without exhausting _ state

administrative appeals. See, e.g., Patsy v. Bd. of

Regents of State of Fla., 457 U.S. 496, 518, 102 S. Ct.

2557, 2559-60, 73 L. Ed. 2d 172 (1982). It does not,

however, permit a plaintiff to challenge an appeals

process that the plaintiff chose to forego without

showing any actual or potential harm caused by the

challenged appeals process.

15a

n6 To the extent any of our prior decisions allowed

facial standing (1) without first determining whether

the litigant was entitled to as-applied standing or (2)

without mentioning or discussing standing at all, such

cases are inapposite to the present case.

n7 Moreover, as noted in Granite State Outdoor Adver.,

Inc. v. City of St. Petersburg, it is possible that the

“City officials could potentially delay the processing of

certain permit applications and thereby arbitrarily

suppress disfavored speech.” F.3d ,_ , 2003 U.S.

App. LEXIS 22039 (11t.: Cir. 2003). Because we find

Granite State lacks standing to challenge Article 4, we

find that such “abuse must be dealt with if and when a

pattern of unlawful favoritism appears.” Id. at, 2003

U.S. App. LEXIS 22039 (quoting Thomas, 534 U.S. at

325, 122 S. Ct. at 781).

n8 As in Granite State Outdoor Adver., Inc. v. City of

St. Petersburg, it is true that several provisions in the

Clearwater ordinance were voluntarily altered by the

City as a result of this litigation. These changes,

however, “have no bearing on Granite [State], and thus

their alteration does not serve to confer prevailing

party status upon Granite [State].”. F.3d at, ns,

2003 U.S. App. LEXIS 22039.

16a

Case No. 8:01-ev-1663-T-30MSS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TAMPA DIVISION GRANITE STATE

OUTDOOR DVERTISING, INC.,

Plaintiff,

V.

CITY OF CLEARWATER, FLORIDA, et al.,

Defendants.

July 23, 2002, Decided

COUNSEL: For GRANITE STATE OUTDOOR

ADVERTISING, INC., plaintiff: Kent G. Whittemore,

Whittemore, Denson P.A., St. Petersburg, FL.

For GRANITE STATE OUTDOOR ADVERTISING,

INC., plaintiff: Sean R. Smith, E. Adam Webb, Dow,

Lohnes & Albertson, PLLC, Atlanta, GA.

For CITY OF CLEARWATER, FLORIDA, BRIAN

AUNGST, WILLIAM HORNE, defendants: Leslie

Kathleen Dougall-Sides, City of Clearwater,

Clearwater, FL.

For CITY OF CLEARWATER, FLORIDA, BRIAN

AUNGST, WILLIAM HORNE, defendants: William

David Brinton, Cristine M. Russell, Rogers, Towers,

Bailey, Jones & Gay, Jacksonville, FL USA.

17a

For SMD L.L.P., JERRY DRIGGERS, movants: Sean

R. Smith, Dow, Lohnes & Albertson, PLLC, Atlanta,

GA.

JUDGES: JAMES S. MOODY, JR., UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE.

OPINION BY: JAMES S. MOODY, JR.

OPINION:

ORDER

This cause came before the Court for consideration

upon the following Motions:

1. Individual Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss the

Complaint with Prejudice (Dkt. # 10) and Motion to

Dismiss the Amended Complaint (Dkt. 62), nl

Plaintiff's response in opposition thereto (Dkt. # 13) and

the individual Defendants’ reply thereto (Dkt. 22);

2. Plaintiff's Motion for Preliminary Injunction (Dkt. #

16), supporting memorandum (Dkt. # 17) and

Defendants’ memorandum in opposition thereto (Dkt. #

30);

3. Plaintiff's Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

(Dkt. # 18), supporting memorandum (Dkt. # 19), and

Defendants’ memorandum in opposition thereto (Dkt. #

42), and

4. Defendants’ Motion for Final Summary Judgment

(Dkt. # 41), supporting memorandum (Dkt. # 42) and

Plaintiff's response in opposition thereto (Dkt. #51).

18a

Both parties have also filed supporting affidavits and

exhibits to their Motions, including certified copies of

the ordinance at issue. The Court heard the arguments

of counsel on March 15, 2002. Additionally, the Court

requested (Dkt. 71), and considered, the parties

additional briefs on standing. (Dkts. 74, 75).

I. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff has filed a separate Statement of Facts in

support of its Motions for Partial Summary Judgment

and Preliminary Injunction. (See Dkt. # 20). Defendants

have incorporated their recitation of the facts as part of

their memorandum in support of their Motion for

Summary Judgment. (See Dkt. # 42). The undisputed

facts are as follows.

Plaintiff, Granite State Outdoor Advertising, Inc.,

(“Granite State”) is a Georgia corporation in the

business of buying or leasing land upon which to

construct signs and billboards to be used for the

dissemination of both commercial and non-commercial

speech. (Amded. Compl., P 6). Defendants point out

that Granite State employs only two persons, the

president and vice-president, and operates out of the

Georgia residence of its president, who previously

worked for two outdoor advertising companies. Since

its incorporation in 1997, Granite State has “never

erected a billboard, never operated a billboard, has

never been licensed as an outdoor advertising company,

and has not yet held a permit in its own name to erect a

billboard.” (Charles Dep. at 39-41, 47, 68). To date,

Granite State has received profits from the sale of at

least twenty-two billboard permits to Eller Media

which were obtained from similar litigation brought

19a

against various cities and municipalities in the state of

Georgia. (Id. at 12, 69).

In the case at bar, Granite State entered into iease

agreements for five different parcels of real property

located in commercial or industrial areas in the city of

Clearwater, Florida (“Clearwater”), upon which to

construct and operate one freestanding billboard sign

on each parcel of property. Id., P 8. Plaintiff

subsequently obtained three other lease agreements

and filed an amended complaint to add its claims

regarding these three parcels. Id., P 8A.

Defendant Clearwater is a political subdivision of the

state of Florida and describes itself as a “resort

community on the west coast of the state with more

than five miles of beaches on the Gulf of Mexico” which

has an economic base that relies “heavily on tourism.”

(See § 3-1801). Clearwater has codified various sign

regulations to create a comprehensive scheme for

regulating, inter alia, the permitting, placement,

number, construction, size, height, design, operation,

and maintenance of the signs within the city’s

boundaries. (Amded. Compl., P 9). Clearwater has

regulated the height and size of signs for more than

twenty-five years and enacted various codes over the

years. (See Dkt. # 42, pp. 6-8).

The sign regulations at issue are contained within

Division 18 of Clearwater’s Community Development

Code (the “Code”). The entirety of the sign ordinance,

“Division 18” containing § § 3-1801 through 3-1807 (the

“Ordinance”), is attached as Appendix 1 to this Order

and is referred to herein by section number. Section 3-

1802 contains the specific purposes and intentions for

20a

which the sign regulations were promulgated.

Clearwater’s sign regulations are intended to:

A. Enable the identification of places of residence and

business.

B. Allow for the communication of information

necessary for the conduct of commerce.

C. Lessen hazardous situations, confusion and visual

clutter caused by proliferation, improper placement,

illumination, animation and excessive height, area and

bulk of signs which compete for the attention of

pedestrian and vehicular traffic.

D. Enhance the attractiveness and economic well-being

of the city as a place to live, vacation and conduct

business.

E. Protect the public from the dangers of unsafe signs.

F. Permit signs that are compatible with their

surroundings and aid orientation, and _ preclude

placement of signs in a manner that conceals or

obstructs adjacent land uses or signs.

G. Encourage signs that are appropriate to the zoning

district in which they are located and consistent with

the category of use to which they pertain.

H. Curtail the size and number of signs and sign

messages to the minimum reasonably necessary to

identify a residential or business location and the

nature of any such business.

2la

I. Establish a sign size in relationship to the scale of the

lot and building on which the sign is to be placed or to

which it pertains.

J. Preclude signs from conflicting with the principal

permitted use of the site or adjoining sites.

K. Regulate signs in a manner so as to not interfere

with, obstruct vision of or distract motorists, bicyclists

or pedestrians.

L. Require signs to be constructed, installed and

maintained in a safe and satisfactory manner.

M. Preserve and enhance the natural and _ scenic

characteristics of this waterfront resort community.

The sign ordinance also contains a provision under its

“General Standards” section that provides, “not

withstanding any other provision of this Code, no sign

shall be subject to any limitation based on the content

of the message contained on such sign.” § 3-1804.H.

Similarly, there is no distinction between commercial or

non-commercial speech within the sign ordinance. The

sign ordinance regulates four categories of signs: 1) § 3-

1803 prohibits twenty-five different types of signs (such

as portable signs, vehicle signs and roof signs); 2) § 3-

1805 allows twenty different types of signs without a

permit (such as safety or warning signs, holiday

decorations, garage or yard sale signs and for sale

signs); 3) § 3-1806 proscribes certain height, area and

lighting requirements for residential signs (subdivision

development and multifamily entry signs and school

and park identification monument signs) and non-

residential signs (freestanding, monument, transit

ananeneeeneameeiememmmteneeeenememiaaes

22a

shelter and attached signs) - these signs require a

permit under the development review process; and 4) §

3-1807 permits signs that comply with eight

enumerated “flexibility criteria” n2 that may be

approved under the City’s Comprehensive Sign

Program. The sign ordinance also contains a provision,

§ 3-1804, titled “General Standards,” that prescribes

building and electrical code compliance and regulates

setback, lighting and illumination, banners and flags,

gasoline price signs, and time and temperature signs.

The Permitting Process

Article 4 of the City’s Code, titled “Development

Review and Other Procedures,” sets forth the process

for obtaining various levels of permit approval and the

appeals process. Division 10 of Article 4 requires that

the application for approval of a sign “shall be reviewed

and approved by the community development

coordinator as a level one approval.” n3 The process for

a level one approval is set forth in Division 3 of Article

4, with appropriate references to the appeals process

set forth in Division 5 -- § § 4-504 and 206 (community

development board appeals and public hearings) and §

4-505 (appeals to hearing officer). The relevant

divisions of Article 4, § § 4-206, 301-303, 501-505 and

1001-1007 are attached to this Order as Appendix 2.

The initial step in the permitting process is to complete

the application process. Once submitted, a

determination of completeness shall be made by the

community development coordinator within five days. §

4-202C.1. Within five or ten working days after that

determination is made, the community development

coordinator or members of the development review

23a

committee (depending on whether the level one

approval sought is for “standard development” or

“flexible standard development”) shall determine

whether the application is “legally sufficient” (defined

as “whether the required application materials have

been prepared in a substantively competent manner”).

§ 4-202C.2 and 3. If insufficient, the application is

deemed withdrawn.

Once an application is deemed complete and legally

sufficient, the development review committee shall

review the application in accordance with the applicable

division of the Code; in the case of a sign permit, Article

3, Division 18. § 4-202.D. An appeal may be taken to

the Community Development Board which holds a

“quasi-judicial public hearing.” See § § 4-501, 504, 206.

A hearing officer has the authority to hear appeals from

the Community Development Board. § 4-501.B.

There are no time limits in the Code for an appeal to be

heard. n4 See § § 4-504 and 206 (community

development board appeals); § 4-505 (hearing officer

appeals of community development board decisions,

which are required to establish a “timely date” for the

hearing, and must issue a decision within 45 days of the

hearing). To overturn a decision, the Community

Development Board must find by “substantial

competent evidence” that the decision (1)

“misconstrued or incorrectly interpreted” the Code, (2)

is in “harmony with the general intent and purpose” of

the Code and (8) will not be “detrimental to the public

health, safety and general welfare.” § 4-504.C.

24a

Severability Provision

Under the Code’s “General Provisions,” there is a

severability provision that reads as follows: “should any

section or provision of this Development Code be

declared to be unconstitutional or invalid by a court of

competent jurisdiction, such decision shall not affect the

validity of this Development Code as a whole or any

part thereof other than the part so declared to be

unconstitutional or invalid.” § 1-107.

Granite State’s Applications

Clearwater’s ordinance limits freestanding billboard

signs in excess of fourteen feet in height and in excess

of sixty-four square feet in area per side. § 3-1806.B.

Plaintiff applied to Clearwater for permission to post a

65 foot high and 672 square foot billboard sign on each

of its leased parcels of property. (Charles nd Aff. at PP

6-8). Clearwater’s Planning Department denied the

applications on August 10, 2001, the same day they

were submitted. (Amded. Compl., P 11; Tarapini né6 Aff.

at P9). On each application, Clearwater noted the

reason for denial - “Refer to Section 3 - 1806(B1)” and

“Height, Size and Numbers of Signs (Total Square Feet

on Parcel).” (Charles Dep., Exh. 1-5). The Plaintiff's

proposed signs were more than four times the allowable

height and ten times the allowable area. Granite State

did not appeal the initial denial of the sign permits and

instead, on August 31, 2001, initiated this action by

filing an eleven count complaint against Clearwater, its

Mayor, Defendant Brian Aungst, Sr., and its City

Manager, Defendant William Horne. (Charles Dep. at

92; Tarapini Aff. P9).

25a

The Individual Defendants

Defendants Aungst and Horne appear to have been

sued in both their individual and official capacities.

Neither of these Defendants was personally involved in

the denial of Granite State’s billboard permit

applications and did not learn about the permit

applications until after their denial. (See Aungst and

Horne Affs.). Neither Defendant has had any verbal or

written communications with Granite State or its

principals, nor have they ever met with representatives

of Granite State. (Id.).

Il. LEGAL ANALYSIS

A. Individual Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss

The individual Defendants move to dismiss the claims

made against them in both their individual and official

capacities. In their individual capacities, these

Defendants claim that they are entitled to the defense

of qualified immunity for any governmental actions

taken while they served in their capacities of mayor and

city manager. Defendants further maintain that there is

no basis for individual liability because Plaintiff has

failed to make any allegations whatsoever against the

individual Defendants in the Amended Complaint.

Plaintiff opposes the Motion to Dismiss on the basis

that these Defendants have enforced “clearly

unconstitutional restrictions on the fundamental right

of speech,” and as such, they should be held liable in

their individual capacities. Plaintiff appears to argue,

without legal support, that elected or appointed officials

n7 can be _ personally liable for an _ allegedly

unconstitutional ordinance solely by virtue of the fact

26a

that the official is responsible for the enforcement of

the ordinance.

The Court agrees with Defendants that there is no

basis for individual liability in this case because

Plaintiff has not alleged any specific allegations against

these Defendants; that is, Plaintiff makes no claim

against these Defendants for any action taken by these

Defendants, supervisory or otherwise, but instead sues

them personally for an allegedly unconstitutional

ordinance. Moreover, the individual Defendants should

be dismissed because they are entitled to qualified

immunity.

Qualified immunity acts to cloak public officials from

lawsuits unless they have violated “clearly established

statutory or constitutional law of which a reasonable

person would have known.” See Lassiter v. Alabama

A&M Univ., 28 F.3d 1146, 1149 (11th Cir. 1994). The

Eleventh Circuit determines whether a law is clearly

established through a fact-specific analysis that focuses

on the “actual” and “specific details of [a] concrete

case.” Id. at 1150; see also Granite State Outdoor

Advertising, Inc. v. Cobb County, Case No. 1:01-CV-

1376-WBH at 7-9 (attached as Exh. B to Dkt. 51). The

contours of such right must be “sufficiently clear that a

reasonable official would understand what he is doing

violates that right.” Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S.

635, 640, 97 L. Ed. 2d 528, 107 S. Ct. 3034 (1987).

Not only are there no specific factual allegations as to

the individual Defendants (who were acting within

their discretionary authority), the constitutional law at

issue in this case is far from clearly established (as this

order will undoubtedly demonstrate). See Naturist

27a

Society, Ine. v. Fillyaw, 858 F. Supp. 1559, 1571 (8.D.

Fla. 1994) (with regard to qualified immunity in First

Amendment case, public officials are not expected to be

more knowledgeable than the courts with respect to the

“complexities of constitutional law”). Accordingly, the

individual Defendants are entitled to qualified

immunity. n&

Defendants also argue that the Amended Complaint

should be dismissed against the individual Defendants

in their official capacities because suits against local

governments in their official capacities are duplicative

of actions against the local government entity itself. n9

The Court agrees. Plaintiff has sued the city of

Clearwater for the same alleged constitutional

violations. Therefore, naming the individual Defendants

in their official capacities is redundant. See Will v.

Michigan Dept. of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 105 L. Ed.

2d 45, 109 S. Ct. 2304 (1989); Busby v. City of Orlando,

931 F.2d 764 (11th Cir. 1991). Plaintiff's contention that

if the Court invalidates the sign ordinance the inclusion

of the individual Defendants, in their official capacities,

is necessary to insure issuance of the sign permits

previously denied to Granite State is meritless. n10 See

Granite State Outdoor Advertising, Inc. v. Cobb

County, Case No. 1:01-CV-1376-WBH at 5-6 (attached

as Exh. B to Dkt. 51). The Court may direct Defendant

Clearwater, if necessary.

B. First Amendment Analysis

1. Standing

Typically, standing requires that: 1) a plaintiff suffered

an “injury in fact;” 2) that there be a “causal

28a

connection” between the injury and the conduct

complained of, such that the injury is fairly traceable to

the challenged action of the defendant and not the

result of the independent action of some third party not

before the court; and 3) it must be “likely, as opposed to

merely speculative, that the injury will be redressed by

a favorable decision.” See Bischoff v. Osceola County,

Fla., 222 F.3d 874, 883 (11th Cir. 2000). However, for

First Amendment overbreadth challenges, the

requirements for standing are generally more lenient.

Id. at 884.

The Supreme Court recognized overbreadth challenges

as “exceptions” to the general rule of standing for laws

that are written “so broadly that they may inhibit the

constitutionally protected speech of third parties.”

Members of the City Council of Los Angeles v.

Taxpayers for St. Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 798, 80 L. Ed.

2d 772, 104 S. Ct. 2118 (1984) (addressing an ordinance

banning handbills on public property). Such a challenge,

in essence, permits third party standing for claims on

the grounds that ordinance may pose a “realistic

danger” that the statute itself will “significantly

compromise recognized First Amendment protections

of parties not before the court.” Id. at 801. Generally,

courts have permitted such challenges when the

constitutional rights involve the First Amendment. n11

See, e.g., Sec’y of State of Md. v. Joseph H Munson

Co., Inc., 467 U.S. 947, 957-9, 967-8, 81 L. Ed. 2d 786,

104 S. Ct. 2839 (1984). Nonetheless, it still remains that

a plaintiff must establish that he or she suffered some

“injury in fact” as a result of the defendant’s actions.

Bischoff, 222 F.3d at 884 (citing Virginia v. Amer.

Booksellers Assoc., Inc., 484 U.S. 383, 392, 98 L. Ed. 2d

782, 108 S. Ct. 636 (1988); Munson, 467 U.S. at 958;

29a

National Council for Improved Health v. Shalala, 122

F.3d 878, 883 (10th Cir. 1997); Bordell v. General

Electric Co., 922 F.2d 1057, 1061 (2nd Cir. 1991)).

Defendants contend that Granite State does not have

standing to assert the First Amendment claims it

makes in this case; nor should it be permitted to make

an overbreadth challenge to the Code. Specifically,

Defendants make the argument that Granite State

cannot contend that the section under which it was

denied its permits, § 3-1806.B, which imposes height,

size and location limitations on freestanding signs, is

unconstitutional. (Dkt. # 42 at 19). To the contrary,

Granite State contends that § 3-1806.B is

unconstitutional because: 1) it requires applicants to

seek permission for development review, a procedure

which affords government officials an improper level of

discretion without reference to objective standards; 2)

it requires applicants to file for permits prior to posting

the sign, procedures which are void as impermissible

prior restraints on speech; 3) the section restricts

commercial and non-commercial signs without

satisfying the Central Hudson nl2 analysis; 4) the

section violates equal protection; and 5) it is invalid

because it is inextricably intertwined with the

unconstitutional whole of the sign ordinance,

preventing severance. (Dkt. # 51 at 3). Defendants also

contend that Granite State has not suffered an injury in

fact because it did not participate in the appeals

process. (Dkt. # 74 at 9-15). Defendants further contend

that Granite State does not have standing because it

does not have a “commercial speech interest.”

The Supreme Court has recognized that individuals

with a “commercial interest” in speech may raise a

30a

facial challenge to an ordinance, raising the non-

commercial speech interests of third _ parties.

Metromedia Ine. v. City of San Diego, 453 U.S. 490 at

504, n. 11, 69 L. Ed. 2d 800, 101 S. Ct. 2882. (1981).

Although Defendants acknowledge this holding, they

claim that Granite State has no speech interest because

it has been neither an advertiser nor a billboard

operator, instead it merely obtained leases for

properties upon which billboards would be constructed.

In essence, Defendants argue that these activities are

not sufficient to establish an interest in speech

sufficient to confer standing.

But Granite State claims that it has a commercial

interest in speech. It holds leases on property upon

which it has applied for permission to place billboards.

In fact, Granite State contends that if victorious in this

litigation, it may well choose to build and operate the

signs itself. Clearly, parties with a commercial interest

in speech may assert facial challenges to the First

Amendment, in essence, filing suit on the grounds that

there is an infringement of the rights of third parties as

well as of their own free speech rights. See, e.g.,

Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 504, n.11 (“we have never held

that one with a “commercial interest” in speech also

cannot challenge the facial validity of a statute on the

grounds of its substantial infringement of the First

Amendment rights of others”); but see Metromedia,

453 U.S. at 544-48 (Steven, J., dissenting) (no standing,

even under the “limited exception” for overbreadth, for

“hypothetical cases” of property owners not before the

Court). See also National Advertising v. Ft.

Lauderdale, 934 F.2d 283, 285 (11th Cir. 1991).

3la

The more central issue is whether Granite State has

standing to make a facial challenge to Clearwaters’s

entire sign ordinance on overbreadth grounds. After

extensive review, the Court is constrained to find that

Granite State has standing to make an overbreadth

challenge to those portions of the ordinance that

directly implicate, and could accordingly “chill,” the

First Amendment rights of persons not before the

Court, but not to the appeals portion of the permitting

section as Granite State was not affected in any way by

this provision because it did not appeal the City’s

denial.

The overbreadth doctrine is “manifestly, strong

medicine” that should be use “sparingly and only as a

last resort.” Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 4138 U.S. 601, 613,

37 L. Ed. 2d 830, 93 S. Ct. 2908 (1973). n13 In Taxpayers

for St. Vincent, after analyzing the plaintiffs’ claims to

determine whether they had standing to bring a facial

challenge on overbreadth grounds, the Supreme Court

found that their challenge was only “as applied” to their

activities and heard only the “concrete case” before

them. Taxpayers for St. Vincent, 466 U.S. at 802-3

(plaintiffs did not demonstrate that the ordinance

applies to “any conduct more likely to be protected by

the First Amendment” than their own). For a valid

facial challenge on overbreadth grounds, the Court

found that there must be a “realistic danger that the

statute itself will significantly compromise recognized

First Amendment protections of parties not before the

Court.” Id. at 801. Indeed, the overbreadth of the

statute must “not only be real, but substantial as well,

judged in relation to the statute’s plainly legitimate

sweep.” Id. at 800-1 (quoting Broadrick, 413 U.S. at

615).

32a

There is no _ exact definition of “substantial

overbreadth;” however, the “mere fact that one can

conceive of some impermissible applications of a statute

is not sufficient to render it susceptible to an

overbreadth challenge.” Members, 466 U.S. at 800; see

also Sec’y of the State of Md. v. Joseph H. Munson Co.,

Inc., 467 U.S. 947, 81 L. Ed. 2d 786, 104 S. Ct. 2839

(1984). “The requirement of substantial overbreadth is

directly derived from the purpose and nature of the

doctrine. While a sweeping statute, or one incapable of

limitation, has the potential to repeatedly chill the -

exercise of expressive activity by many individuals, the

extent of deterrence of protected speech can be

expected to decrease with the declining reach of the

regulation.” Taxpayers for St. Vincent, 466 U.S. at 800-

1 (quoting New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 772, 73

L. Ed. 2d 1113, 102 S. Ct. 3348 (1982)). In Ferber, the

Court rejected an overbreadth challenge to a statute

prohibiting persons from knowingly promoting sexual

performances by children, even acknowledging that the

statute may reach certain educational materials, finding

that the “arguably impermissible applications of the

statute amount to more than a tiny fraction of the

materials within the statute’s reach.” Ferber, 458 U.S.

at 773.

Accordingly, the Court turns to whether Granite

State’s claims fit within the limited exception to the

standing doctrine for overbreadth challenges. From the

Amended Complaint and Granite State’s motions, it

appears to mount two distinct facial challenges in its

quest to have the ordinance declared unconstitutional:

(1) that Article 3, Division 18 is an unconstitutional

content-based regulation and vests government officials

with “undue discretion,” and (2) that Article 4, the

33a

permitting and appeals section, is an impermissible

“prior restraint” that does not comply with the

requirements of Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51, 18

L. Ed. 2d 649, 85 S. Ct. 734 (1965), nl4 because it

contains no time limits for the appeals process.

In Granite State’s first overbreadth challenge, it claims

that the regulations set forth in Article 3, Division 18,

when applied to Granite State, as well as to other third

parties who would be denied a sign permit, are in

‘violation of the First Amendment because the sign

ordinance is impermissibly content-based on its face. In

Granite State’s facial challenge to Article 3, it points to

several specific provisions which it alleges are

constitutionally infirm, but, ironically, not to the

provision under which Clearwater denied Granite

State’s permit applications. Nonetheless, the Court

finds that Article 3 of Clearwater’s ordinance is one

that when applied to speech, in the form of signs, may

effectively chill First Amendment rights. Hence, the

Court is constrained to find that Granite State has

standing to challenge Article 3, Division 18 under the

limited exception to the standing doctrine for a facial

overbreadth challenge.

However, in viewing Granite State’s second argument,

that the lack of time limits on the appeals process

renders it facially invalid, the Court has greater

difficulty in finding that Granite State has standing to

raise a facial challenge that fits within the limited

exception for an overbreadth challenge. Granite State

did not appeal the denial of its permit applications;

instead, it filed this lawsuit. Granite State contends

that it has standing to facially challenge Clearwater’s

permitting process as an _ unconstitutional “prior

34a

restraint” on speech. Plaintiff points to several cases

involving permitting schemes for adult businesses in

which the Court allowed a facial challenge to the

ordinance based on a lack of time limits on the

permitting process. See, e.g., Redner v. Dean, 29 F.3d

1495, 1502 (11th Cir. 1994) (allowing facial challenge for

prior restraint that could result in the “suppression of

expressive activity for an indefinite period of time”).

Defendant acknowledges, as does this Court, that facial

overbreadth challenges are permitted in some

circumstances when a permitting scheme is deemed a

“prior restraint” and fails to comply with the

requirements of Freedman. See Redner, 29 F.3d at

1495; Artistic Entertainment, Inc. v. City of Warner

Robins, 223 F.3d 1306 (11th Cir. 2000) (adult business

ordinance); U.S. v. Frandsen, 212 F.3d 1231 (11th Cir.

2000) (park ordinance regarding assembly); see also

Cannabis Action Network, Inc. v. City of Gainesville,

931 F.3d 761 (11th Cir. 2000) (street closing and sound

ordinance declared facially unconstitutional as “prior

restraint”), judgment vacated, 122 S. Ct. 914 (Jan. 22,

2002) (remanded to consider in light of Thomas v.

Chicago Park). n15 For these requirements to apply,

the permitting scheme must be a censorship scheme.

See Thomas v. Chicago Park, 534 U.S. 316, 122 S. Ct.

775, 780, 151 L. Ed. 2d 783 (2002) (“we have never

required that a content-neutral permit scheme

regulating speech in a public forum adhere to the

procedural requirements set forth in Freedman.”). For

—yeasons discussed infra, the Court finds that

Clearwater’s ordinance is not such a scheme.

Granite State’s initial applications were denied within

the time provisions provided. Granite State did not

35a

seek an appeal of these denials. n16 Hence, it could not

be injured by the lack of time limits in the “ode’s

appeals provisions. Without an actual injury under

Article 4, the Court cannot extend Granite State’s

standing to challenge this Article under the limited

exception for overbreadth, especially in light the

Supreme Court’s guidance to use it “sparingly. Granite

State’s injury lies in the enactment of the sign

ordinance in Article 3, to which the Court has

permitted a facial challenge. n17 See Messer v. City of

Douglasville, Georgia, 975 F.2d 1505, 1514 (11th Cir.

1992) (affirming district court’s holding that Messer

does not have standing to challenge the board of

appeals, as he did not request or receive a hearing - the

appeal in this case had been made by the co-defendant

billboard companies who had since been dismissed from

the case with prejudice).

Moreover, the permitting and appeals process set forth

in Article 4 applies to all development review decisions

by the City, not just to sign permits. As such, the

alleged unbridled discretion of government officials to

arbitrarily delay appeal decisions through the lack of

time limits in Article 4 is not specific just to speech

rights, as Plaintiff alleges with respect to Article 3, but

applies equally to other permitting decisions and

appeals. nl8 Hence, the Court views the reach of

Article 4 as much broader -- implicating many

permitting situations not involving First Amendment

rights.

In conclusion, the Court finds that the permitting

portion of this ordinance, Article 4, has much less

potential to chill the exercise of First Amendment

activity than Article 3. Additionally, there is a very

36a

limited set of third parties whose First Amendment

rights could be chilled under the appeal portion of the

regulation; n19 particularly in light of the City’s

ordinance protecting content of any signs from serving

as a basis for denial. See § 3-1804.H. Accordingly, the

Court declines, for the reasons discussed supra, to

permit Granite State to raise this type of hypothetical

scenario in a facial overbreadth challenge to Article 4.

n20 Rather than speculate on a hypothetical case

involving an individual whose sign permit was

arbitrarily and impermissibly denied, the Court saves

this question for another day, and for a plaintiff who has

actually been injured by such a delay. See Messer, 975

F.2d at 1514. Granite State has suffered no such injury.

n21

2. Severability

Granite State argues that any _ unconstitutional

provision(s) of the sign ordinance cannot be salvaged by

simply severing them. Generally, Granite State argues

that severance would remove incentives to challenge

unconstitutional regulations, and specifically, that any

alleged sections of Clearwater’s sign ordinance which

violate equal protection are “inextricably intertwined”

with the “whole of the sign ordinance” and to sever any

permit requirements from the ordinance would remove

“the very heart of the ordinance and impermissibly

leave the ordinance more restrictive of speech.” (Dkt. #

51 at 3, 13), citing Rappa v. Newcastle County, 18 F.3d

1043, 1073 (8rd Cir. 1994).

On the contrary, Defendants contend that any

unconstitutional portions of the ordinance may be

severed and specifically point to the severability clause

37a

contained within the Code to evidence Clearwater’s

legislative intent to severe any portions of the Code

found to be invalid. n22 Severability of a local ordinance

is a question of state law. See City of Lakewood v.

Plain Dealer Publishing Co., 486 U.S. 750, 759, 100 L.

Ika. 2d 771, 108 S. Ct. 2188 (1988); see also

Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 521 n.26. Under Florida law,

the test for severability is as follows: “when a part of a

statute is declared unconstitutional, the remainder of

the act will be permitted to stand provided: (1) the

unconstitutional provisions can be separated from the

remaining valid provisions, (2) the legislative purpose

expressed in the valid provisions can be accomplished

independently of those which are void, (3) the good and

bad features are not so inseparable in substance that it

can be said that the legislature would have passed the

one without the other, and (4) an act complete in itself

remains after the invalid provisions are stricken.”

Waldrup v. Dugger, 562 So. 2d 687, 693 (Fla. 1990)

(challenging application of revised gain time statute for

habeas corpus challenge). The Florida Supreme Court

simply stated: “the severability of a statutory provision

is determined by its relation to the overall legislative

intent of the statute of which it is a part, and whether

the statute, less the invalid provisions, can still

accomplish this intent.” Ray v. Mortham, 742 So. 2d

1276, 1280 (Fla. 1999) (citations omitted).

Courts have noted that the existence of a severability

clause carries with it a “presumption” that the

legislative authority would have enacted the remaining

provisions and that the preference for severance is

“particularly strong in cases containing a severability

clause.” See Major Media of Southeast, Inc. v. City of

Raleigh, 621 F. Supp. 1446, 1454 (E.D. N.C. 1985)

es

38:

(upholding severability clause). Cf. National

Advertising v. Town of Niagara, 942 F.2d 145, 148 (2nd

Cir. 1991) (finding severance improper despite

existence of severability clause); United States v.

Jackson, 390 U.S. 570, 585 n.27, 20 L. Ed. 2d 138, 88 S.

Ct. 1209 (1968) (the ultimate determination of

severability rarely turns on the presence or absence of |

a severability clause). Of course, in construing an

ordinance for purposes of a facial challenge, the Court

must construe any ambiguities in the ordinance as a

whole in a manner which avoids any constitutional

problems, if possible. See Southlake Property Ass., Ltd.

v. City of Morrow, Ga., 112 F.3d 1114, 1119 (11th Cir.

1997).

With these guiding principles in mind, the Court

addresses Granite State’s constitutional challenges to

Clearwater’s sign ordinance, and specifically addresses

Defendants’ suggestions that certain provisions, if

found to be invalid, may be severed. (See Dkt. # 42 at n.

9, 14, 15). In large measure, the Court finds, as set forth

in detail infra, that most of the provisions Plaintiff

alleges are “content-based” or permit “undue

discretion” by government officials, do not do so. There

are, however, some provisions regarding which the

Court agrees with Plaintiff, but finds that those

provisions are severable, n23 such that the legislative

purpose of Clearwater’s sign ordinance is preserved

and speech is not more restricted after severance.

3. Content Based v. Content Neutra! Distinction

It is truly a Herculean task to wade through the mire of

First Amendment opinions to ascertain the state of the

law relating to sign regulations, beginning with the

a

39a

Supreme Court’s leading decision on_ billboard

regulations in Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego,

453 U.S. 490 at 570, 69 L. Ed. 2d 800, 101 S. Ct. 2882

| (1981) (plurality decision) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting,

| who referred to the plurality decision as a “virtual

| Tower of Babel, from which no definitive principles can

be clearly drawn”). As the Court more fully discusses

| below, there is much variety and diversity of opinions

| in this area (in addition to sign ordinances, courts have

reviewed First Amendment challenges to adult

| entertainment clubs, tobacco advertising and the noise

volume of music concerts), suggesting that

constitutional law on this subject is far from clear.

One of Granite State’s primary arguments, based in

large part on the plurality decision in Metromedia, is

that the Clearwater sign ordinance is unconstitutional

because it is an impermissible content-based ordinance

that cannot survive strict scrutiny review. In

Metromedia, Justice White, writing for the plurality,

found that San Diego’s sign ordinance was

unconstitutional because it impermissibly favored

commercial over non-commercial speech. It was also

noted that although the ordinance’s general prohibition

of signs created the “infringement,” the additional

exceptions to the prohibition “are of great significance

in assessing the strength of the city’s interest in

prohibiting billboards.” Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 520.

Relying on this argument and its claim that the

ordinance favors commercial speech over non-

commercial speech, Granite State cites to many of the

exceptions contained in Clearwater’s sign ordinance

(for example, construction signs or for sale signs) as |

evidence that the sign ordinance is content-based. n24

40a

The “Catch-22” of Sign Regulations

This almost-conclusory mandate that an ordinance with

a category or exception for a sign based on its content

automatically makes the ordinance unconstitutional per

se is the proverbial “catch-22” confronting many cities

and municipalities when they attempt to regulate signs

in their communities. See Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 560

(Burger, J. dissenting,) (“having acknowledged the

legitimacy of local government authority, the plurality

largely ignores it”). n25 Granite State’s argument

clearly demonstrates this “catch-22”: (1) it is

permissible for the government to regulate, or prohibit,

signs to further legitimate governmental interests

(Metromedia); (2) any sign prohibition must provide an

exception for “For Sale” signs (Linmark); (3) exceptions

or regulations of signs requiring a reading of their

message are content-based ( Nat’l Advertising Co. v.

Town of Niagara, 942 F.2d 145 (2nd Cir. 1991); (4)

content-based sign regulations are generally

unconstitutional when subject to strict scrutiny review

( Burson v. Freeman, 504 U.S. 191, 119 L. Ed. 2d 5, 112

S. Ct. 1846 (1992)); and (5) since an exemption allowing

“For Sale” signs necessarily requires one to read the

words “for sale” on the sign, it is impossible to draft a

sign ordinance that is constitutional. Some courts have

followed this conclusory theory, see, e.g., North

Olmsted Chamber of Commerce v. City of North

Olmsted, 86 F. Supp. 2d 755 (N.D. Ohio 2000); Nat’l

Advertising Co. v. Town of Babylon, 900 F.2d 551 (2nd

Cir. 1990); however, others have tried to formulate

ways to avoid this “catch-22.” See, e.g., Rappa v.

Newcastle County, 18 F.3d 1043 (8rd Cir. 1994). n26

Ala

Review of Relevant Cases

It is instructive to review the Supreme Court’s seminal

decisions in this area. Justice Stevens, who filed a

dissenting opinion in Metromedia, authored the Court’s

majority opinion in Members of the City Council of Los

Angeles v. Taxpayers for St. Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 80

L. Ed. 2d 772, 104 S. Ct. 2118 (1984), which discussed at

great length the general principles, history and other

cases involving the First Amendment, beginning with

the country’s first printing presses and censorship of

movies, n27 stressing the “unacceptable risk of

suppression of ideas.” Id. at 797, 804 (concluding that

the “general principle that has emerged from this line

of cases is that the First Amendment forbids the

government to regulate speech in ways that favor some

viewpoints or ideas at the expense of others”). In

Taxpayers for St. Vincent, the Court upheld an

ordinance prohibiting the posting of handbills and signs

on public property and public objects (like utility poles),

because it found that it was within that city’s

constitutional power to attempt to improve its

appearance, an interest that was “basically unrelated to

the suppression of ideas” and the ordinance was

reasonably tailored to do so, with available alternative

channels of communication. Id. at 804, 813-15. The

Court held “there is not even a hint of bias or

censorship in the City’s enactment or enforcement of

this ordinance. There is no claim that the ordinance was

designed to suppress certain ideas the City finds

distasteful or that has been applied to Appellees

because of the views that they express.” Id. at 804. This

decision suggests that an ordinance need only be

subject to strict scrutiny if it serves to regulate a

particular viewpoint or amounts to censorship. n28

42a

This content-based theory warranted mention by the

Court in a non-sign case, Cincinnati v. Discovery

Network, 507 U.S. 410, 123 L. Ed. 2d 99, 113 S. Ct. 1505

(1993) (Stevens, J. delivered the majority opinion).

Discovery Network involved the city’s attempt to

enforce an ordinance banning “commercial handbills” on

public property by ordering the removal of newsracks

from which the “commercial handbills” were

disseminated. These newsracks looked just like those

containing newspapers. The Court found the ordinance

unconstitutional primarily because it was not a

“reasonable fit” of the city’s legitimate interests in

aesthetics and safety and their chosen means of

furthering those interests, a “sweeping ban” on the

“commercial handbill” newsracks which were only a

small fraction of the total newsracks on the street. Id.

at 428-29.

After so holding, the Court discussed the content-based

versus content-neutral distinction, finding that the ban

on newsracks with “commercial handbills” was

impermissibly content-based. Id. at 428-9. Beginning

with the premise that the government may impose

“reasonable restrictions on time, place, or manner of

engaging in protected speech provided that they are

adequately justified ‘without reference to the content of

the regulated speech,“ the Court was not persuaded

that the justification of preserving aesthetics aad safety

adequately justified the regulation because “the very

basis of the regulation is the difference in content

between ordinary newspapers and commercial speech.”

Id. at 429. n29 Although this is one of the few

commentaries by the Supreme Court on this specific

issue, it does not appear to be critical to the Court’s

43a

holding, which focused primarily on the lack of

“reasonable fit.” n30

Karlier, in Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781,

105 L. Ed. 2d 661, 109 S. Ct. 2746 (1989), the Court

upheld a municipal regulation that required performers

to use sound technicians and a sound system provided

by the city, finding that it did not violate the free

speech rights of the performers. The Court held that

the regulation (of the expressive activity of music) is

content-neutral, “so long as it is justified without

reference to the content of the regulated speech.” Id. at

791 (citations omitted), The Court found the

government’s purpose of controlling noise levels at

bandshell events was a “controlling consideration. . .

[that had] nothing to do with the content.” Id. at 791-2

(citations omitted). The Court also considered, and

rejected, the plaintiffs argument that the statute was

unconstitutional on its face because it placed “unbridled

discretion in the hands of city officials charged with

enforcing it.” Id. at 793 (citations omitted). The Court

concluded that the city’s regulation was narrowly

tailored to serve a significant government interest by

protecting its citizens from unwelcome noise. Id. at 796.

It is also instructive to review the Supreme Court’s

ruling in Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43, 129 L. Ed. 2d 36,

114 8. Ct. 2038 (1994). This case involved an ordinance

that banned all residential signs except those falling

within one of ten exemptions. The petitioner resident

wanted to place a sign about the war in the Persian Gulf

-- first on her front lawn, and when that was denied,

then in the window of her home. Id. at 45-46. The Court

found that the ordinance violated the resident’s right to

free speech, in large part because there were no

44a

alternative means of communication for her. Id. at 54.

The Court found that as a resident, the plaintiff was

“almost completely foreclosed in any venerable means

of communication that is both unique and important.”

Id. As Justice O’Connor added in her concurrence, the

Court circumvented its “normal inquiry,” which first

determines whether a regulation is content-based or

content-neutral, then applies the appropriate level of

review (ie. strict or intermediate serutiny). Id. at 59

(O’Connor, J., concurring). Justice O’Connor even goes

so far as to note that regulations are “occasionally

struck down because of their content-based nature,

even though common sense may suggest that they are

entirely reasonable. . . the content distinctions present

in this ordinance may, to some, be a good example of

this.” Id. at 60.

It is equally instructive to review the Supreme Court’s

most recent rulings on the facial constitutionality of a

municipal park ordinance as reviewed under the First

Amendment. See Thomas v. Chicago Park Distr., 534

U.S. 316, 122 S. Ct. 775, 151 L. Ed. 2d 783 (2002).

Thomas involved a municipal park ordinance requiring

individuals to obtain a permit before conducting events

for more than fifty persons and providing an application

process with a fourteen day time limit for granting or

denying the application. Applications could be denied

on any of thirteen specific grounds. An applicant is

given seven days to appeal the decision on the

application after which it may seek judicial review in

state court by common law certiorari. The plaintiffs in

Thomas sought to secure a permit to hold a rally

advocating the legalization of marijuana. Upon the

denial of their application, they filed an action alleging

that the ordinance was unconstitutional on its face. The

45a

Supreme Court found otherwise, upholding the

ordinance as content-neutral.

This Court notes that most of Chicago Park’s listed

grounds to deny a permit, eleven of which are noted in

footnote 1 of the Court’s opinion, are decidedly content-

neutral. 534 U.S. at 777 n.1. For example, a permit may

be denied n31 if the application is not complete, the

application fee is not attached, or the applicant is

legally incompetent to contract. Id. Yet, interestingly,

others may be construed as being more “content-

based.” For example, a permit may be denied if the

“use or activity intended by the applicant would

present an unreasonable danger to the health or safety

of the applicant, or other users of the park . . . or the

public” or a permit has previously been granted

authorizing uses that “do not reasonably permit

multiple occupancy of the particular park or part

thereof.” Id. But these grounds are clearly not using

any content distinction as a censorship scheme nor are

they an attempt to limit activities in the park based on

the applicant’s viewpoint. In fact, the Court upheld the

park ordinance as a “content-neutral time, plan and

manner regulation,” finding that the licensor is not

authorized to “pass judgment on the content of the

speech” and that “none of the grounds for denying a

permit has anything to do with what a speaker might

say.” 1228S. Ct. at 779.

In comparison, the Supreme Court did not agree with

the plaintiffs that the park ordinance was like the

censorship scheme in Freedman v. Maryland, n32 which

would have required that litigation be initiated by the

park district every time it denies a permit and that the

ordinance specify a deadline for judicial review. 122 S.

ee

ane

46a

Ct. at 779. Specifically, the Court found that the park’s

licensing scheme was not “subject matter censorship”

and as a “content-neutral time, place, and manner

regulation of the use of a public forum,” it does not have

to adhere to the procedural requirements set forth in

Freedman. 122 S. Ct. at 779-80. The Court also found

that government officials were not given unduly broad

discretion in determining whether to grant or deny a

permit. 122 S. Ct. at 780-81.

Application to Clearwater Ordinance

Of course, Defendants argue that the Clearwater’s sign

ordinance is similar to the ordinance in Thomas in that

the requirements of Freedman do not apply because it

is content-neutral. Defendants further maintain that if

Clearwater’s Code were subject to a more limited

variation of the Freedman requirements, n33 it would

meet this higher level of review because the sign

permitting decisions must be made within a limited

time period and are subject to judicial review. (Dkt. #

42 at 23). Granite State opposes this argument in part

because it believes that the Clearwater ordinance is not

content-neutral, and also because government officials

are allowed undue discretion (as discussed infra).

One of the few issues that is clear under the Supreme

Court’s decision in Metromedia is that government is

permitted to regulate speech through sign ordinances

that are not content-based, provided they are narrowly

tailored to further the significant government interests.

Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 511-12, 516. Once a regulation

is found to be viewpoint-neutral, it is subject to

intermediate scrutiny, which requires that the state

demonstrate that: 1) the act serves a substantial

pe ge ee

47a

governmental interest (unrelated to the suppression of

free expression), and 2) it is narrowly drawn to serve

that interest without unnecessarily interfering on First

Amendment freedoms (that is, the restriction in First

Amendment freedoms is no greater than is essential to

the furtherance of the interest). Taxpayers for St.

Vincent, 466 U.S. at 805. The Eleventh Circuit

summarized that to uphold a_ viewpoint-neutral

regulation of speech, a government must show that “1)

it has the constitutional power to make the regulation,

i 2) an important or substantial government interest

unrelated to the suppression of free speech is at stake,

and 3) the ordinance is narrowly drawn to achieve its

desired ends, leaving other channels for the

communication of information.” Messer v. City of

Douglasville, Ga., 975 F.2d 1505, 1510 (1992). Indeed, in

Messer, the Eleventh Circuit upheld a limit on the use

of portable signs as a partial solution for its aesthetic

concerns, stating “[since] it could have prohibited all

portable signs in furtherance of this interest, by

3 allowing a limited number, it is in fact more narrowly

; tailoring the restrictions to meet its purpose.” Messer,

975 F.2d at 1514. However, it need not be the least

restrictive means possible. See Rock Against Racism,

491 U.S. at 781. And, the ordinance should leave open

ample alternative channels of communication.

DU Ahk AEP a Sey RL Aare Tk 2D) i

The Supreme Court specifically addressed two

“significant government interests” in Metromedia --

traffic safety and aesthetics of the community.

Metromedia 453 U.S. at 509-10 (“there is nothing here

to suggest that these . . . accumulated, common-sense

judgments of local lawmakers and of the many

reviewing courts that billboards are real and

substantial hazards . .. are unreasonable ... we reach a

48a

similar result with respect to the second asserted

justification for the ordinance -- advancement of the

city’s esthetic interests. It is not speculative to

recognize that billboards by their very nature,

wherever located and however constructed, can be

perceived as an esthetic harm”) (citations and

quotations omitted). It is also clear from the decision in

Taxpayers for St. Vincent that a state may legitimately

exercise its police powers to advance its aesthetic

interests and traffic safety. See Taxpayers for St.

Vincent, 466 U.S. at 806-07 (in effect affirming

Metromedia’s holding that a city’s aesthetic interests

are sufficiently substantial to provide an acceptable

justification for a content-neutral prohibition against

the use of billboards). See also Messer, 975 F.2d at

1510 (it is “well settled that both traffic safety and

aesthetics are substantial governmental goals”);

Southlake Property Assoc., Ltd. v. City of Morrow, Ga.,

112 F.3d 1114, 1116 (11th Cir. 1997) (recognizing

Morrow’s right to “clean, aesthetically pleasing and safe

business thoroughfares”); Harnish v. Manatee County,

Fla., 783 F.2d 1535 (11th Cir. 1986) (“prohibition of

portable signs to eliminate aesthetic blight passed

muster under the First Amendment”).

But what is not clear from Metromedia, or the Court’s

other decisions, is exactly how a city or municipality can

constitutionally regulate signs to further these

interests. Many courts, like this one, and many

commentators, are concerned that local governments

have been placed in a tenuous and near impossible

position in drafting a constitutional or content-neutral

sign ordinance. See, e.g., Cordes, Mark, “Sign

Regulation After Ladue: Examining the Evolving

Limits of First Amendment Protection,” 74 Neb. L.

ee

49a

Rev. 36 (1995); Bond, R. Douglass, “Making Sense of

Billboard Law: Justifying Prohibitions and

Exemptions,” 88 Mich. L. Rev. 2482 (1990).

In essence, courts are left to define the constitutional

perch upon which local governments may rest on the

slippery slope of permissible content-neutral

regulations. It is impossible not to acknowledge, as this

Court does, that a sign ordinance must be justified by

something other than its content, stressing Justice |

Stevens’ opinion that the First Amendment (and the

resulting content-based distinction) was created to

protect speech from the dangers of government

censorship and to stop the government from

suppressing the expression of ideas and public debate

through the guise of regulation. Ward v. Rock Against

Racism, 491 U.S. 781, 105 L. Ed. 2d 661, 109 S. Ct. 2746

(1989). See also Members of the City Council of the

City of Los Angeles v. Taxpayers for St. Vincent, 466

U.S. 789, 8) L. Ed. 2d 772, 104 S. Ct. 2118 (1984); Rappa

v. Newcastle County, 18 F.3d 1043 (3rd Cir. 1994),

What makes the content-based versus content-neutral

distinctionso difficult in cases involving sign ordinances

is that, by their very nature, signs are speech and thus

can only be categorized, or differentiated, by what they

say. This makes it impossible to overlook a sign’s

“content” or message in attempting to formulate

regulations on signage and make exceptions for

distinctions required by law (i.e., for sale signs) or for

those signs that are narrowly tailored to a significant

governmert interest of safety (ie, warning or

constructim signs). For example, there is simply no

other wayto make an exemption or classify a for sale

sign as a fir sale sign without reading the words “For

50a

Sale” on the sign, or classifying a sign as a warning sign

without reading the words “Warning Bad Dog” on the

sign. In many cases, this classification raises the “red

flag” of an impermissible n34 “content-based”

regulation. See Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 565 (Burger,

J. dissenting) (referring to differentiating among topics

and “noncontroversial things” and “conventional” signs

such as time-and-temperature signs, historical markers,

and for sale signs).

Hence, in looking at the general principles of the First

Amendment as the Court did in Taxpayers for St.

Vincent, the real issue becomes whether the

distinctions or exceptions to a regulation (as well as any

areas of government discretion) are a disguised effort

to control the free expression of ideas or to censor

speech. Common sense and rationality would dictate

that the only method of distinguishing signs for

purposes of enforcing even content-neutral regulations,

such as number, size or height restrictions, is by their

message. For example, a regulation permitting a

freestanding billboard sign to be larger than a political

yard sign which is larger than an address sign is a

differentiation based on content (albeit for purposes of

regulating size). This should not, on its own, render an

ordinance unconstitutional. Indeed, it appears to be a

matter of semantics. n35 In rendering its opinion today,

this Court focuses on whether the government

regulation is trying to impermissibly censor speech or

limit the free expression of ideas.

The Court finds that Clearwater’s ordinance is, in

general, not content-based and therefore does not

require strict scrutiny review. However, in making this

finding and given the guiding principles set forth supra

sishhiaiidad iaeahink

5la

regarding severance, the Court finds that some

provisions of the sign ordinance are impermissible, but

severable, eliminating any unjustified content-based

distinctions and preserving the content neutrality of

the sign ordinance. n36

Specific Provisions of Clearwater’s Ordinance

InitiaHy, the Court addresses two patently inconsistent

provisions in Clearwater’s ordinance regulating window

signs. Section § 3-1803.U prohibits temporary window

signs in residential areas whereas § 3-1805.Q allows

window signs “up to eight square feet in area... on any

window area provided such sign does not exceed 25

percent of the total area of the window where the sign

is located. . . in no case shall the cumulative area of all

window signs erected exceed 24 square feet in area.”

Section 3-1805.Q makes no residential/non-residential

distinction. These provisions are in direct conflict. As

Defendants suggest, the Court can easily sever § 3-

1803.U, leaving § 3-1805.Q regulating window signs. In

doing so, the Court thus construes Clearwater’s sign

ordinance, as it must, in such a way as to preserve its

constitutionality. Additionally, the Court succeeds in

increasing, instead of restricting, speech, by severing §

3-1803.U, rather than § 3-1805.Q.

The Court next turns to § 3-1803 which lists twenty-six

types of signs that are prohibited, such as roof signs,

portable signs or signs that present traffic or

pedestrian hazards. Section 3-1803.T prohibits “snipe”

signs. This is defined as “an off-premises sign which is

tacked, nailed, posted, pasted, glued or otherwise |

attached to trees, poles, stakes, fences or to other |

objects.” § 8-102. But Clearwater’s sign ordinance

52a

already prohibits signs attached tc trees in § 3-1803.R

and allows attached signs in § 3-18)6.B.3. To the extent

the portion of the definition of a snipe sign prohibits

attaching signs to “other objecs” contradicts the

provision allowing attached signs, it cannot stand.

Accordingly, in keeping with the guiding principles set

forth supra regarding severance, the Court finds that

part of the definition of snipe signs is severable and

must therefore be stricken.

In another prevision of this section, § 3-1803.B, n37 the

Court finds that this provision makes an unjustified

content-based _ distinction on _ these signs for

governmental and public purpose sgns. Like Discovery

Network, it does not appear that tlere is a “reasonable

fit” in making a distinction betwee: governmental and

public purpose signs (for a limited ime and frequency)

and non-governmental and non-ptblic purpose signs

(for a limited time and frequency). In furthering the

governmental interests of the aesthetics and traffic

safety, the Court can discern no justifiable distinction

between these types of signs as it relates to the

government interests of aesthetics and traffic safety.

n38 Moreover, the existence >f this provision

undermines the content-neutrality o the ordinance.

Accordingly, under the general principles guiding

severance set forth supra, the Cour: strikes this entire

provision. Because this provision isincluded in the list

of prohibited signs, the Court findsthat it is unable to

sever just the portion of the provisin which makes the

content-based distinction (goverrment and public

purpose signs) as that would be result in a greater

restriction on speech by totally bannng balloon, cold air

inflatables, streamers and pennants.139

a ee

53a

Granite State also contends that § 3-1803.Y n40 is an

impermissible content-based distinction that renders

the ordinance unconstitutional. The Court disagrees.

This section forms the “catch-all” provision in the list of

prohibited signs. Granite State seems to argue, in a

conclusory fashion, that this provision is invalid simply

because it prohibits signs not specifically enumerated

within the Code. Finding the ordinance content-neutral,

the Court does not reach the same conclusion.

Plaintiff attacks only two provision of § 3-1804, which

sets forth “General Standards” for Clearwater’s sign

ordinance. In reviewing this section, the Court finds

that it does not contain impermissible content-based

distinctions.

Specifically, Granite State contends that § § 3-1804.E

and F are impermissible content-based exceptions that

render the ordinance unconstitutional. These provisions

are contained in the part of the ordinance addressing

“General Standards” and specifically regulate the

placement, size and location of gasoline price signs

(subsection E) and time and temperature signs

(subsection F). The Court again disagrees with

Plaintiffs conclusion. These sign categories and the

regulations therein are good examples of how the Court

finds that this ordinance is content-neutral. These

provisions are not an attempt to censor speech or

enforce regulations based on viewpoint -- a time and

temperature sign or gasoline price sign has no

viewpoint, it merely relates factua! information. Hence,

these provisions are not an attempt to censor speech or

limit the free expression of ideas -- especially in light of

Clearwater’s specific prohibition on placing any

5da

limitation on a sign based on the content of the

message. See § 3-1804.H.

Section 3-1805 contains a list of twenty types of signs

that are “oermitted without a permit.” By far the most

controversial provision (and one which has_ been

similarly attacked in other cases), is the provision on

temporary yard signs and corresponding time limits to

display these types of signs.

Temporary Yard Signs

Granite State also contends that Clearwater’s

regulations on temporary yard signs set forth in § 3-

1805.N are unconstitutional. There are two regulations

on the size and duration of temporary yard signs: (1)

yard signs “for each political candidate or issue for each

frontage per parcel of land” are permitted “no sooner

that 60 days prior to the election for which they were

intended, and shall be removed within seven days after

the election for which they are intended,” not to exceed

six square feet in area on residential land or thirty-two

square feet of total sign face area on non-residential

land, and (2) “other” temporary signs are allowed to be

displayed in residential areas”’no more than three

times a year for a total of 90 days during a one year

period” and may not to exceed six square feet in size.

The Supreme Court has upheld the “unique and

important” right of residents to post political signs at

their residences. See City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 US.

43, 129 L. Ed. 2d 36, 114 S. Ct. 2038 (1994) (finding that

sign ordinance banning residential signs violated

plaintiffs right to free speech by prohibiting her from

displaying a sign stating “For Peace in the Gulf’ from

seieetnereaanaaisiamsniiaiiiaiiasiiiaeiiiiiaiei

55a

her home). The Court stressed that displaying a sign

from one’s own residence carries a message quite

distinct from placing the sign someplace else or

conveying the same text or picture by other means, “for

it provides information about the speaker’s identity, an

important component of many attempts to persuade.”

The Court also stressed that residential signs are a

fairly cheap and convenient form of communication and

there was not sufficient alternative means for the

plaintiff in Ladue to express her message. 114 S. Ct. at

2045. Given the priority the Supreme Court placed. on

political signs at residences, Clearwater has not banned

yard signs, but merely placed time limits and size

limitations on the yard signs in this provision.

Additionally and significantly, Clearwater also allows

window signs pursuant to the regulations this Court

has upheld in § 3-1805.Q (limiting the signs to no more

than 25% of the window). With this reasonable

alternative of communication available, this case moves

outside the province of Ladue.

Other cases have specifically addressed political speech.

For example, the Court has held that singling out

political speech is not per se unconstitutional. See, e.g.,

Lehman v. City of Shaker Heights, 418 U.S. 298, 41 L.

Ed. 2d 770, 94 S. Ct. 2714 (1974) (upholding

government’s right to refuse to accept political

advertising for space on city transit system buses); see

also. Heffron v. International Society for Krishna

Consciousness, Inc., 452 U.S. 640, 69 L. Ed. 2d 298, 101

S. Ct. 2559 (1981) (upholding government’s right to

limit locations on public fairground to distribute

religious literature). Courts, and commentators, have

also addressed whether a time limitation on political

signs is constitutional. See Whitton v. City of

————

56a

Gladstone, 54 F.3d 1400, 1403-04 (8th Cir. 1995) (thirty

day time restriction on _ political signs is

unconstitutional); Union City Bd. of Zoning Appeals v

Justice Outdoor Displays, Inc., 266 Ga. 393, 467 S.E.2d

875, 882 (Ga. 1996) (striking down time limits of seven

weeks on political signs); Collier v. City of Tacoma, 121

Wn.2d 737, 854 P.2d 1046 (Wash. 1993) (prohibiting

political signs sixty days before election was

unconstitutional); see also Gerard, Jules B., “Evolving

Voices in Land Use Law: Election Signs and Time

Limits,” 3 Wash. U.J.L. & Pol. 379 (2000). At least one

case has found a reasonable time limit after the election

to take down an election-related sign is constitutional.

Collier v. City of Tacoma, 121 Wn.2d 737, 854 P.2d 1046,

1057 (Wash. 1993).

In this case, the sixty day time limit, as written, may

actually extend to a total of 127 days if there were a

primary and general election (sixty days for each, plus

seven days after the election). Although this Court

finds this time period reasonable (in some part because

there are sufficient alternative forums of expression

available, i.e., window signs), in the totality of the case

law and commentary on this issue, the Court feels

constrained to find that the sixty day time limit is

unconstitutional, with the exception of the seven day

limit on removing the sign after the election. The Court

finds this seven day time period for removal is a

reasonable limitation justified by Clearwater’s purpose

of controlling aesthetics.

However, for the reasons indicated supra, the Court

finds that the sixty and ninety day time limits are

severable by striking them; thus increasing speech and

maintaining the constitutionality of the ordinance. On

57a

this issue, the Court agrees with the reasoning of a

similar case, Brayton v. City of New Brighton, 519

N.W.2d 243 (Minn. 1994) (uphoiding ordinance that

allowed one non-commercial sign all year long and

additional non-commercial signs during the election

season). Accordingly, the Court finds that § 3-1805.N is

constitutional after the sixty and ninety day time limits

are severed; thus, allowing one temporary yard sign

“for each political candidate or issue” with no time limit

except that the sign(s) shall be removed within seven

days after the election for which it/they are intended,

and the other temporary yard sign (in residential areas)

is allowed without a time limitation. Tne size

requirements set forth in § 3-1805.N remain

unchanged.

Additionally, Plaintiff contends that § § 3-1806.A.1-3

are impermissible content-based provisions. These

sections delineate specific height and size requirements

for certain residential signs that require permits and

development review (i.e., freestanding subdivision

development entry signs, freestanding multifamily

entry signs, school and park identification monument

signs). This section also allows certain commercial signs

(freestanding, monument and transit shelter signs) with

a permit and specifies size, height and illumination

reo» rements. After a thorough review of this section,

the TVourt finds it to be a content-neutral time, place

and manner restriction of certain signs that require a

permit whether they appear in_ residential or

commercial areas. The Court does not agree with

Plaintiff that these provisions of the sign ordinance are

content-based (and therefore per se unconstitutional).

As described supra, these provisions do not limit the

expression of ideas or censor speech.

58a

In conclusion, the Court finds that the regulations

contained in Article 3, Division 18 are not facially

unconstitutional, after certain provisions are severed.

Hence, the Court turns to whether the ordinance

permits undue discretion by government officials.

4. Discretion of Government Officials

Where licensing is applicable to speech, the discretion

of the licensing official must be limited to avoid the

dangers of censorship. As Justice Scalia explained for

the unanimous Court in Thomas:

Of course even content-neutral time, place, and manner

restrictions can be applied in such a manner as to stifle

expression. Where the licensing official enjoys unduly

broad discretion in determining whether to grant or

deny a permit, there is a risk that he will favor or

disfavor speech based on its content. We have thus

required that a time, place, and manner regulation

contain adequate standards to guide the official’s

decision and render it subject to effective judicial

review.

Thomas, 122 S. Ct. at 780 (citations omitted). A court

may look to well-understood or uniformly applied

practice or binding administrative construction to set

limits on official discretion that are not otherwise

apparent from the face of the regulation. See, e.g.,

Griffin v. Sec’y of Veteran Affairs, 288 F.3d 13809, 2002

WL 826931 (Fed. Cir. 2002).

With that in mind, the Court turns to Granite State’s

argument that Clearwater’s sign ordinance does not

provide adequate standards to guide the city’s officials

59a

in approving or denying certain signs or permits. In

some cases, the Court agrees and finds that a particular

section should be stricken. In others, the Court finds

that the government’s discretion is acceptable or

reasonable.

The Court agrees with Granite State that § 3-1805.C.2

n41 vests city officials with too much discretion in

allowing temporary special event or public purpose

signs without a permit. Even though the provision only

relates to signage for a “temporary special event and/or

public purpose,” the approval and sign type, size and

length of display is determined by a government official

on a “case by case basis.” There is no other criteria

guiding the official’s decision. As such, this section

allows the government too much discretion and cannot

withstand constitutional challenge. However, in

analyzing whether this section is severable, the Court

agrees with Defendants that this section may be

severed in its entirety. (See Dkt. 42 at n.8).

The Court also agrees with Granite State that § 3-

- 1803.L n42 vests too much discretion in officials in

granting exceptions for certain signs that are located on

public land with the permission of the city manager or

city commission. Again, the Court finds that the

remainder of this ordinance may be upheld as

constitutional by simply striking the portion of the

ordinance that allows the impermissible discretion.

Accordingly, the Court upholds this section of the

ordinance by striking the words “signs required or

erected by permission of the city manager or city

commission” from the provision, leaving the rest of the

provision unchanged and intact.

60a

Granite State also argues that § 3-1806B. 5 n43 gives

government officials unbridled’ discretion in

determining whether to permit changeable copy signs.

Specifically, Granite State contends that the phrase

“significant public purpose” gives __ officials

impermissible discretion in the permitting process. The

Court disagrees with Plaintiff and finds that the

discretion to ascertain what constitutes a “significant

public purpose” is reasonable, especially given that this

section only applies to signs on public property. See

Taxpayers for St. Vincent, 466 U.S. at 812-15

(upholding regulations on signage on public property);

see also Heffron; Lehman. Accordingly, the Court finds

this regulation, and the discretion to determine a

“significant public purpose,” reasonable.

Granite State also contends that the Comprehensive

Sign Program in § 3-1807 allows officials too much, and

therefore, impermissible, discretion in denying sign

applications. This section is specifically designed to

allow deviations from the requirements of the other

sign provisions (except monument signs) provided they

comply with the flexibility criteria set forth therein.

See § 3-1807.B, C. The flexibility criteria covers signs

designed as part of a architectural theme (C.1); specifies

certain height, size and lighting requirements (C.2 - 4);

does not permit signs that have an “adverse impact” on

“community character” or surrounding property values

(C.5 - 6); eliminates “existing unattractive signage” or

results in “improvement of appearance” (C.7); and

allows signs “consistent with any special area or scenic

corridor plan (C.8). The Court finds that this criteria is

sufficiently objective and clear such that it does not

give officials undue or impermissible discretion.

ci

1a

a

6la

5. Equal Protection Challenges

Granite State also claims that the ordinance violates

the equal protection clause because it impermissibly

favors commercial speech over non-commercial speech.

The real basis of Granite State’s equal protection claim

is that the ordinance favors “commercial speech of

certain businesses about certain commercial topics

while prohibiting other legal and truthful and

commercial information.” (See Amded Compl., PP 57,

65). Granite State cites, as an example, certain

provisions that allow businesses such as gas stations,

the construction industry, restaurants, and marinas to

post signs while claiming that these provisions do not —

allow other businesses, such as Granite State, to do the

same.

Within the context of commercial speech, the Court

finds that the Code’s exemptions of certain signs, such

aS gas price signs and construction signs, are rationally

related to the advancement of the enumerated purposes

of the Code. Just as the Court has found that the other

exemptions in the Code are a “reasonable fit” between

the Defendants’ means and the ends of satisfying First

Amendment concerns, so it similarly finds for the

commercial speech Plaintiff alleges is impermissibly

favored. As the Court reasoned supra, the ordinance is

content or viewpoint-neutral (after severing certain

provisions) and the exemptions in the ordinance are not

impermissible content-based restrictions.

Moreover, as it relates to commercial speech, the Court

finds that the restrictions are valid under the Central

Hudson analysis because they seek to implement and

directly advance substantial government interests and

62a

reach no further than necessary to accomplish that

objective. As other courts have held, the government

may make certain restrictions on commercial speech,

which is not entitled to as much protection as non-

commercial speech. See, e.g., Board of Trustees of

State Univ. of N.Y. v. Fox, 492 U.S. 469, 477, 106 L. Ed.

2d 388, 109 S. Ct. 3028 (1989); see also Metromedia, 453

US. at 506.

Granite State also contends that the Code violates

equal protection by impermissibly favoring

noncommercial speech over commercial speech. (Dkt. #

19 at pp. 5-6, n.1). Plaintiff provides a rather simplistic

example that a sign measuring sixteen square feet

could be posted in a residential district without a

permit as long as it contained a (commercial) message

regarding construction. (See § 3-1805.F.1). Granite

State correctly points out that if a permit was

requested for the same sign to say “Save the Whales” (a

noncommercial message), the application would be

denied. (See § 3-1805.N.1, 2; 3-1803.Y).

As the Court has ruled supra, Clearwater’s ordinance is

content-neutral (with the appropriate provisions

severed), and as such, the Court finds that the time,

place and manner regulations contained therein are

reasonable and narrowly tailored to advance the

substantial and carefully enumerated government

interests set forth in § 3-1802 of Clearwater’s Code. It

does not impermissibly favor commercial speech over

noncommercial speech. Additionally, Plaintiffs

conclusory example fails to take into account that

private residences are given ample alternatives to

express their viewpoint (to “Save the Whales”) by a

window sign (up to eight square feet in size), a

63a

temporary yard sign, or a flag. The Court finds that the

Code does not violate the equal protection clause.

Further, Clearwater’s ordinance makes no specific

distinction between commercial and non-commercial

speech. The only provision that makes a commercial

speech distinction is set forth in § 3-1803.S which

prohibits signs that are “carried, waved or otherwise

displayed” in public rights-of-way or “in a manner

visible from public rights-of-way.” This provision

contains additional guidance by providing that the

prohibition is “directed toward such displays intended

to draw attention for a commercial purpose, ard is not

intended to limit the display of placards, banners, flags

or other signage by persons demonstrating in

demonstrations, political rallies or similar events.” The

Court finds this restriction is content or viewpoint-

neutral and is justified by Clearwater’s stated interests

in safety and aesthetics. Moreover, the additional

guidance provided in the provision assures that

government officials are not given unbridled discretion.

And, just because public property can be used as a

“vehicle for communication” does not mean that the

Constitution requires such uses to be permitted. See

Taxpayers for St. Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 814-15, 80 L.

Ed. 2d 772, 104 S. Ct. 2118. Thus, in light of the

viewpoint-neutrality of the ordinance, the additional

guidance provided and the alternative channels of

communication available for expression, the Court finds

this section of the ordinance is valid.

C. Fifth Amendment Claim

64a

The Court agrees with Defendants for the reasuas set

forth in their motion that Plaintiffs Fifth Amendment

claim is not ripe. (Dkt. # 42 at 44).

D. Damages

In light of its ruling herein, the Court does not reach

the issue of damages or whether Plaintiff has any

vested rights in the denials of its permit applications.

III. CONCLUSION

It is therefore ORDERED AND ADJUDGED for the

reasons set forth herein that:

1. Individual Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss the

Complaint (and Amended Complaint) with Prejudice

(Dkts. # 10, 62) are GRANTED with prejudice- Any

attempt at amendment as to these Defendants would be

futile in light of the Court’s ruling herein.

-2. Plaintiff's Motion for Prelimina:y Injunction (Dkt. #

16) is DENIED. As more fully set forth herein, the

Court finds that Plaintiff has failed to establish the

requisite elements for a preliminary injunction. See

Tefel v. Reno, 180 F.3d 1286, 1295 (11th Cir. 1999).

3. Plaintiff's Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

(Dkt. # 18) is DENIED as specifically set forth herein.

4. Defendants’ Motion for Final Summary Judgment

(Dkt. # 41) is GRANTED as specifically set forth

herein.

5. The Clerk is directed to close this case and enter

judgment against Plaintiff.

65a

DONE and ORDERED in Tampa, Florida on this 23

day of July, 2002.

JAMES S. MOODY, JR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Footnotes

ni The parties have entered into a stipulation

regarding the filing of the Amended Complaint. (Dkt. #

59) wherein they specifically agree that the Amended

Complaint “contains no additional legal theories or

grounds for relief which would affect the Court’s

disposition of the parties’ pending motions.”

n2 The specific flexibility criteria for signs allowed

under the City’s Comprehensive Sign Program involve:

(1) architectural theme; (2) height; (8) lighting; (4) total

area of sign face; (5) community character; (6) property

values; (7) elimination of unattractive signage; and (8)

special area or scenic corridor plan. § 3-1807.C.

ud As further supported by affidavit of Clearwater’s

community development director. See Tarapini Aff., P7.

"4 Appeals from abutting property owners are,

however, placed on the “next scheduled meeting of the

board.” § 4-504.B

n5 Wayne Charles is the president of Granite State.

n6 Cyndi Tarapini is Clearwater’s Community

Development Coordinator and Director of its Planning

Department.

66a

n7 In the Amended Complaint, Plaintiff identifies these

Defendants, respectively, as serving as Clearwater’s

elected Mayor/Chairman of the City Commission and

appointed City Manager. (Amded Compl., PP3, 4).

n8 The Court makes this finding at the motion to

dismiss stage on the allegations of the complaint; and

were it to consider the issue at summary judgment

after considering the individual Defendants’ affidavits

and other deposition testimony (submitted in support of

its motion for summary judgment) and Plaintiff's

response thereto, the Court would make the same

finding.

n9 Plaintiff concedes that Clearwater is liable for the

official conduct of its city officials. See Dkt. 13 at 7.

nl0 Defendants point out that such a cause of action

may be necessary when there is a claim against a

county or state that is barred by the Eleventh

Amendment. This is not such a case.

nll The overbreadth doctrine is referred to frequently,

yet it remains little understood and a source of much

confusion. See generally, Hill, Alfred, “The Puzzling

First Amendment Overbreadth Doctrine,” 25 Hofstra

L.Rev. 1068 (Summer 1997); Fallon, Jr., Richard H.,

“Making Sense of Overbreadth,” 100 Yale L.J. 853 (Jan.

1991).

nl2 In Central Hudson, the- Court struck down as

unconstitutional a regulation of the New York Public

Service Commission which completely banned

promotional advertising by the utility. Central Hudson

Gas & Electric Co. v. Public Serv. Comm'n, 447 U.S.

67a

557, 65 L. Ed. 2d 341, 100 S. Ct. 2343 (1980). Central

Hudson established a four part test for determining the

validity of government regulations on commercial

speech. Central Hudson, 447 U.S. at 563-64. The first

element deals with the regulation of misleading or

unlawful information. Id. The other elements of an

otherwise valid restriction on protected commercial

speech are: (1) it only seeks to implement a substantial

government interest; (2) it directly advances that

interest; and, (3) it reaches no further than necessary to

accomplish the given objective. Id.; see also

Metromedia, 453 U.S. 490, 69 L. Ed. 2d 800, 101 S. Ct.

2882

nl3 In Broadrick, which dealt with a_ statutory

restriction on political speech activities of government

employees, the Court ffirst established limited

exceptions to the strict standing test in cases involving

“weighty countervailing policies.” Id. at 611 (citations

omitted). A facial overbreadth challenge is one such

exception.

nl4 Freedman involved a content-based censorship

scheme for motion pictures which required certain

procedural safeguards to avoid constituting an invalid

prior restraint: “(1) any restraint prior to judicial

review can be imposed only for a brief period during

which the status quo must be maintained; (2)

expeditious judicial review of that decision must be

available; and (3) the censor must bear the burden of

going to court to suppress the speech and must bear the

burden once in court.” Freedman, 380 U.S. at 58-59;

F'W/PBS, Inc. v. Dallas, 493 U.S. 215, 227, 107 L. Ed. 2d

608, 110 S. Ct. 596 (1990) (limiting the third

68a

requirement); see also Thomas v. Chicago Park, 534

USS. 316, 122 S. Ct. 775, 779, 151 L. Ed. 2d 783 (2002).

nl5 Pending the Eleventh Circuit’s reconsideration of

Cannabis Action Network in light of Thomas, this area

of the law remains somewhat unsettled.

nl6 For the initial application review, there is a five day

time limit for review of the application for completeness

and five or ten working days for review of legal

sufficiency. See § 4-202.C. The Court finds this time

limit reasonable. Plaintiff contends that these

provisions are unconstitutional because it is not allowed

to put up its sign, or automatically move to the next

step in the appeals process, if the city fails to act within

the prescribed time limit. Although it is preferable to

have such a mechanism, if it were to reach the issue, the

Court does not find these time periods to be per se

unconstitutional or unreasonable. See Thomas, 122 S.

Ct. at 781 (Chicago Park’s ordinance has reasonable

time limits for application process, but no mechanism if

official fails to act within time limits); see also Outdoor

Systems, Inc. v. City of Mesa, 997 F.2d 604, 613 (9th

Cir. 1993).

nl7 It should be noted that in Plaintiff's facial challenge

to Article 3, it attacks several provisions that involve

signs that do not need permits.

nl18 Although the Court agrees with Granite State that

the permitting process is intertwined with the sign

ordinance, this argument goes to severability of Article :

4, not to whether Granite State has standing to

challenge this part of the Code. Severability is

discussed in detail infra.

69a

nl9 In Thomas, the Court found that if censorship or

favoritism occurred, it would be unconstitutional, but

should be dealt with on a case-by-case basis. Thomas,

122 S. Ct. at 781. Accordingly, if the City appeared to

be impermissibly censoring the content of a sign by

delaying an appeal (despite the Code’s prohibition

against making any determination based on the content

of the sign), the party could file suit on the grounds that

the City’s application of its appeal process to that party

is unconstitutional. Such a suit would challenge the

ordinance “as applied” to that plaintiff instead of on a

facial basis.

n20 Even if Granite State were found to have standing

to raise such a claim, the next determination would be

whether Clearwater’s permitting scheme is an

impermissible “prior restraint” on speech. As the Court

finds infra, Clearwater’s ordinance is content neutral

and under Thomas, the Freedman requirements do not

apply. See Thomas, 122 S. Ct. at 779. The Court would

have to agree, however, that were this permitting

scheme considered a “prior restraint,” the

requirements set forth in Freedman would control, and

the ordinance would be unconstitutional for failing to

have time limits on its appeals process.

n21 The Court notes the irony of Granite State’s claim

and the continuing “catch-22” facing governments in

drafting regulation to survive First Amendment facial

challenges. If Granite State was permitted to challenge

the constitutionality of Article 4 and this Article was

found to be unconstitutional, Granite State would win

this case on the basis of a process that it did not utilize.

This turns the notion of standing on its head -- Granite

State could not have been injured by the lack of time

70a

limits in the appeals provisions when it did not take

advantage of the appeal process! Granite State’s real

injury was as a result of the application of the height

and size requirements of the freestanding sign

provision, a provision which it does not directly attack,

but to which the Court permits a facial overbreadth

challenge. |

n22 Section 1-107 of the Code provides separately for

the severability of any section of the development code,

as set forth supra. Additionally, this current sign

ordinance was part of the Land Development Code

passcd by Ordinance # 6348-99 on January 21, 1999,

which also contained a severability provision: “Section

Four. Should any part or provision of this ordinance be

declared by a court of competent jurisdiction to be

invalid, the same shall not affect the validity of the

ordinance as a whole, or any part thereof other than the

part declared to be invalid.” (App. to Dkt. 42, Tab 17).

n23 Because the Court finds that Granite State does not

have standing to challenge the lack of time limits in the

appeals process in Article 4, it does not reach Granite

State’s argument that the permitting portion of the

ordinance is not severable because it is “so inseparable

in substance” that the ordinance would not have been

passed without those permitting procedures. If it were

to reach such an argument, the Court would agree with

Granite State.

n24 This theory of categorizing an ordinance that

provides for, in-some cases, legally required exceptions,

and in other cases, justifiable exceptions, as content-

based first began with the Supreme Court’s decision in

Linmark Assoc., Inc. v. Township of Willingboro, 431

Tla

U.S. 85, 52 L. Ed. 2d 155, 97 S. Ct. 1614 (1977), which

held that the city’s interest in maintaining stable and

racially integrated neighborhoods was not sufficient to

support a ban on residential “for sale” signs. Id. at 93.

n25 In fact. the other dissenting opinions in Metromedia

recognize San Diego’s ordinance as viewpoint neutral

such that the exceptions are rendered content neutral.

Metromedia, 453 U.S. at 541-42, 554 (Stevens, J.,

dissenting in part); Metromedia, 453 U.S.

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.