Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Adena Regional Regional Medical Medical Medical Center Center v. Johnson (No. 08-818)

Supreme Court brief2008

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oo —— Cut U.S.

\b 10) sodliithoreicuinas

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

ADENA REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER; ET AL..,

Petitioners,

vs

MICHAEL O. LEAVITT, SECRETARY OF THE UNITED

STATES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN

SERVICES,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MURRAY J. KLEIN

Counsel of Record

JAMES C. MARTIN

KIM M. WATTERSON

DAVID J. BIRD

REED SMITH LLP

Princeton Forrestal Village

136 Main St., Suite 250

Princeton, NJ 08540

(609) 520-6022

December 24, 2008 Counsel for Petitioners

1

QUESTION PRESENTED

In calculating the Medicare disproportionate

share hospital (DSH) adjustment, the Medicare

statute directs the Secretary of Health and Human

Services to count days attributable to patients who

are “eligible for medical assistance under a State

plan approved under [Title XIX of the Social Security

Act, which establishes the Medicaid program].” 42

U.S.C. § 13895ww(d)(5)(F)WI)CUD (the “Medicaid Low

Income Proxy”).

The question presented, on which the federal

courts of appeals are in conflict, is whether the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy requires the inclusion of

all patient days attributable to patients who are

eligible for medical treatment under an approved

State Medicaid plan or only those patient days for

which a hospital actually receives payment from the

Medicaid program (i.e., Medicaid “paid” days).

11

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 29.6

STATEMENT

Petitioners are Adena Regional Medical Center;

Alhance Community Hospital; Community Health

Partners West Campus; Cuyahoga Falls General

Hospital; East Liverpool City Hospital; Ft.

Hamilton-Hughes Hospital; Good Samaritan

Hospital & Health Center; Licking Memorial

Hospital; Marietta Memorial Hospital; MedCentral

Health System; Med-Health System-Greence;

Memorial Hospital; Medical College Hospital;

MetroHealth Medical Center; Miami Valley

Hospital; MiddleTown Regional Hospital; Robinson

Memorial Hospital; Southern Ohio Medical Center;

St. Elizabeth Health Center; St. Joseph Health

Center; Summa Health System; Trinity Health

System; University of Cincinnati Hospital; Western

Reserve Care System; Community Health Partners

East Campus; and Trumbali Memorial Hospital.

Pursuant to S.Ct. R. 29.6, Petitioners Adena

Regional Medical Center, et al. are not-for-profit

corporate entities. There is no parent company,

subsidiary, or affiliate of any Petitioner that has

outstanding securities in the hands of the public,

and there is no publicly held corporation that owns

10 percent or more of the stock of any Petitioner.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ................ccscscccccsessoncessess i

LIST OF PARTIES AND

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT ....<................0000000 ll

SPR als CE IE Tk cis essncevsstcencvcnveaysaneasnssnsuniens il

TP CO FT sn isecsiises cesscacensalivv ensaivs vii

re I caseiscssiniivieenierncienaceaues 1

RE NIT sie saseccvsS ois ven ahendecenacemsoueineens 1

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED ................ 2

ee Ne itis cieneseteaansembiatiet dass 3

a Statutory And Regulatory Background........ 3

A. Congress Has Mandated An

Adjustment In Medicare Funding For

Hospitals Based In Part On Days Spent

Serving Patients “Eligible For Medical

Assistance Under An [Approved] State

SET US eatievcecinndvscivatiakensanivens 3

B. Medicaid Provides States With

Considerable Discretion In Formulating

Plans To Serve Low Income Patients,

Both With Respect To Persons Covered

And The Scope And Duration Of

Cr TOP WIONE oss ose cae 5

iV

Ohio Has Adopted A Medicaid Plan

That Mandates Free Medical

Treatment To Low-Income Ohio

Residents Covered By The Ohio

Hospital Care Assurance Program

TE sicdecxneesingiaininds eddeienttensincceoucoicens 6

II. Facts And Proceedings Below....................... 8

A.

Petitioners File This Action To Have

HCAP Patients Included In The

Calculation Of Their Medicare DSH

Pe hii lini cs tap varabsicbarcgiaoosieiscdies 8

The District Court Enters Judgment

For Petitioners, Consistent With

Unanimous Circuit Authority, Holding

That HCAP Patients Must Be Included

In The Calculations Of Medicare DSH

PI a hiiiidssedeisinttankoitidisieninatennents 8

The D.C. Circuit Reverses The

Judgment, Adopting A More Restrictive

Reading Of The Medicaid Low Income

Proxy And Holding That The Statute

Does Not Reach Patients Who

Are Not Eligible For Payment

FF PUMA PII, Sais cecnntcrncienvncessinnceracerivens 10

.4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions

Of Other Circuits Construing The Statutory

Formula For Calculating The Medicare DSH

SR 14

A. Four Circuit Courts Have Held That

The Medicare DSH Adjustment Must

Include All Days Attributable To

Patients Who Are “Eligible” To Receive

Medical Treatment “Under” An

Approved State Medicaid Plan,

Whether Paid Directly By Medicaid Or

Cees vanecmennewes 14

The D.C. Circuit Has Adopted A More

Restrictive Reading Of The Statute

That Makes “Payment” Under Medicaid

A Prerequisite For Inclusion In The

Calculation Of The Medicare DSH

Adjustment

The Resolution Of The Conflict Presented Is

Critically Important To The Uniform

Administration Of The Medicare System And

The Provision Of Medical Services To Low-

ESS 26

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

Adena Regional Medical Center v. Leavitt,

527 F.3d 176 (D.C. Cir. 2008)

Adena Regional Medical Center v. Leavitt,

524 F. Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2007)

Adena Regional Medical Center v. Leavitt,

Order, No. 1:05-cv-02422-GK (D.D.C.

June 11, 2007)

Adena Regional Medica! Center v. Leavitt,

No. 07-5273 (D.C. Cir. July 31, 2008)

(per curiam) (denial of panel rehearing)

Adena Regional Medical Center v. Leavitt,

No. 07-5273 (D.C. Cir. July 31, 2008)

(per curiam) (denial of rehearing en banc)

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Atlantic Cleaners & Dyers, Inc. v. United States,

I ee iv rassesicded cack vevecs cxawceverdavaceriesmneee 23

Cabell v. Huntington Hospital, Inc. v. Shalala,

101 F.3d 984 (4th Cir. 1996) passim

Deaconess Health Services Corp. v. Shalala,

83 F.3d 1041 (8th Cir. 1996) passim

Evanston Hospital v. Hauck,

No. 92 C 732, 1992 WL 205900 (N.D. III.

Aug. 19, 1992), aff'd, 1 F.3d 540

ON eae ans uawawesciniayuranssvecveets 23

In re Medicare Reimbursement Litigation,

414 F.3d 7 (D.C. Cir. 2005)

Jewish Hospital, Inc.. v. Secretary of Health and

Human Services, 19 F.3d 270

(6th Cir. 1994) passim

Legacy Emanuel Hospital and Health Center v.

Shalala, 97 F.3d 1261 (9th Cir. 1996) passim

Portland Adventist Medical Center v. Thompson,

399 F.3d 1091 (9th Cir. 2005)

Rastetter v. Weinberger,

379 F. Supp. 170 (D. Ariz. 1974), affd,

419 U.S. 1098 (1975)

Samaritan Health Center v. Heckler,

636 F.Supp. 503 (D.D.C. 1985)

Sullivan v. Stroop,

496 U.S. 478 (1990)

Vill

STATUTES

BE Be vaiddstiskesicisatinrcosene ene 3

SEUSS, © FI iii vhevsssndericeiniciccdl cet a

42:U.5.C. § 19O5wwd)(1)-(4) ..........cccsccccsscscvcccsescceseees 3

42 U.S.C. § LSSGwwl GBP RY). .x...ccccccccscocscssocccessaneces 4

42 U.S.C. § 1895ww(d)(5)(F)(vi))).... ee 5, 6, 17

42 U.S.C. § 1895ww/(d)(5)(F)(vi) (ID) «eee. passim

43. CK. 3 Fikcdeivitbiniciimiiieomian 6

Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of

1985, PEs. DOTS CA aoc. ssviccsecdensssveciveisusceeamnes 4

Ohio Rev. Code. § 6112.17(B) .................cccsecceccessess 6.7

REGULATIONS

CFs Pi Ri sovissteviescvccteniee eee 3

CF UF ak 6 bivkcitkccshiiceedanee 25, 26

BOCA CO skis ee 6

Ohio Admin. Code 5101:3:2-07.17 .................cscccees- 6, 7

Ohio Admin. Code 5101:3:2-09(K) ................cecceeeeee 6, 7

OTHER AUTHORITIES

ROE Cree: Bie, I soins ssn sacscveskccvescanesicctnaee 3

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully submit this petition for a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment_of the

United States Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit is published at

527 F.3d 176 (D.C. Cir. 2008). App. la. The opinion

decided Respondent’s appeal from a memorandum

and order of the United States District Court for the

District of Columbia, which is published at 524 F.

Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2007). App. 10a.

JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit entered judgment on

May 30, 2008. Petitioners filed a timely petition for

panel rehearing and rehearing en banc in the Court

of Appeals on July 14, 2008. The Court of Appeals

denied the petition for panel rehearing and

rehearing en banc on July 31, 2008. App. 21a-22a.

The time for filing this petition was extended to

December 28, 2008 by orders of the Chief Justice and

Justice Stevens. No. 08A34 (Oct. 21, 2008; Nov. 18,

2008).

2

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The Medicaid Low Income Proxy of the Medicare

disproportionate share hospital (DSH) adjustment is

defined as:

the fraction (expressed as a percentage), the

numerator of which is the number of the

hospital's patient days for such period which

consist of patients who (for such days) were

eligible for medical assistance under a State

plan approved under [Title XIX of the Social

Security Act, which establishes the Medicaid

program], but who were not entitled to

benefits under part A of this subchapter [the

Medicare statute], and the denominator of

which is the total number of the hospital's

patient days for such period.

42 U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)Wi(ID) (the “Medicaid

Low Income Proxy’).

3

STATEMENT

I. Statutory And Regulatory Background

A. Congress Has Mandated An Adjustment

In Medicare Funding For Hospitals

Based In Part On Days Spent Serving

Patients “Eligible For Medical Assistance

Under An [Approved] State [Medicaid]

Plan.”

Medicare is a federal health insurance program

that pays for covered medical care primarily to aged

and disabled persons. 42 U.S.C. §§ 1395, et seq. Since

1983, reimbursement for hospitals’ operating costs

under Medicare has been’ governed by _ the

Prospective Payment System (PPS), 42 U.S.C.

§ 1395ww(d). Under the PPS, an_ individual

hospital’s Medicare reimbursement is based not on

its actual costs of treating Medicare patients, but on

a predetermined amount for each patient depending

on the patient’s diagnosis at time of discharge. 42

U.S.C. § 13895ww(d)(1)-(4); 42 C.F.R. Part 412.

In 1983, Congress determined that hospitals that

serve a disproportionately large number of low-

income patients incur greater costs that are not met

by the standard PPS calculation. Congress

authorized the Secretary of the Department of

Health and Human Services (HHS) to provide an

adjustment, called the Medicare disproportionate

share hospital (DSH) adjustment, to hospitals that

serve a disproportionate share of low-income

persons. See 131 Cong. Rec. $10931.__

The Secretary refused, however, to promulgate

regulations implementing the PPS and Medicare

4

DSH adjustment. See Jewish Hospital, Inc. v.

Secretary of Health and Human Services, 19 F.3d

270, 272 (6th Cir. 1994) (noting the Secretary’s long-

standing “hostility” toward the PPS and Medicare

DSH adjustments); Samaritan Health Center uv.

Heckler, 636 F. Supp. 503 (D.D.C. 1985) (chronicling

the Secretary's unwillingness to promulgate PPS

and Medicare DSH regulations).

When the Secretary refused to act, Congress did.

In 1986, it pased the Consolidated Omnibus Budget

Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA), Pub. L. No. 99-

272 (1986). In COBRA, Congress included a

provision creating and defining the Medicare DSH

adjustment. Id. at § 9105. Congress ordered the

Secretary to provide a Medicare DSH adjustment to

PPS payments for ~ hospitals serving a

disproportionately large number of low-income

patients, and it mandated a specific formula for

calculating that adjustment. Id.

Under the statutory formula, a hospital qualifies

for a Medicare DSH _= adjustment if _ its

“disproportionate patient percentage” meets or

exceeds levels specified in 42 U.S.C.

§ 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(v). The hospital’s disproportionate

patient percentage is “defined as the sum of two

fractions expressed as percentages,” which serve as a

“proxy for all low income patients.” Jewish Hospital,

19 F.3d at 272.

The first fraction accounts for the number of

“patient days” that e hospital spends serving

patients who are “entitled” to Medicare Part A

benefits and supplemental security income. 42

U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi)(1). This fraction, known

+s)

as the “Medicare Low Income Proxy” or the

“Medicare Fraction,” is not at issue in this case.

The second fraction accounts for “patient days”

that a hospital spends serving patients who are

“eligible for medical assistance under a State plan

approved under [Title XIX of the Social Security Act,

establishing the Medicaid program], but who were

not entitled to benefits under part A of [the Medicare

statute]. 42 U.S.C. § 1895ww(d)(5)(F)\(i)dD. The

construction of this second fraction—commonly

known as the “Medicaid Low Income Proxy” or the

“Medicaid Fraction’”—is at issue here.

B. Medicaid Provides States With

Considerable Discretion In Formulating

Plans To Serve Low Income Patients,

Both With Respect To Persons Covered

And The Scope And Duration Of Covered

Services.

Medicaid is a joint federal-state program,

established by Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

it provides health care benefits to indigent persons

who are aged, blind, or disabled or members of

families with dependent children. 42 U.S.C § 1396 et

seq. Medicaid operates separately and apart from

Medicare. However, like Medicare, Medicaid also

provides for additional payments to hospitals that

serve a disproportionate share of low-income

patients—an adjustment known as the Medicaid

disproportionate share hospital adjustment.

Under Medicaid, cach state must submit to the

HHS Secretary a state “plan for medical assistance”

that meets broad federal requirements. That plan

6

must be approved by the Secretary under Title XIX

of the Social Security Act. 42 U.S.C. § 1396a.

Within broad federal requirements, states are

given discretion to determine the rules of eligibility,

the type and range of services covered, and the

payment levels for services under the _ state’s

Medicaid plan. 42 C.F.R. § 480.0. As a result,

Medicaid plans vary from state to state, both with

respect to persons covered and the scope and

duration of covered services. 1

C. Ohio Has Adopted A Medicaid Plan That

Mandates Free Medical Treatment To

Low-Income Ohio Residents Covered By

The Ohio Hospital Care Assurance

Program (HCAP).

Ohio participates in the Medicaid program and

has adopted a plan of medical assistance that has

been approved by the Secretary. App. 13a. The Ohio

State Medicaid plan covers the individuals and

services required by federal Medicaid statutes and

regulations. Id. The Plan also mandates that

hospitals provide free medical treatment to low-

income Ohio residents who are ineligible for

payments from Medicaid but who are covered by the

Ohio Hospital Care Assurance Program (HCAP),

Ohio Rev. Code § 5112.17(B), Ohio Admin. Code

1 For example, a number of states have Medicaid plans that

limit the number of days of in-patient care for which Medicaid

will pay. See, e.g., Legacy Emanuel Hospital and Health Center

v. Shalala, 97 F.3d 1261, 1262 (9th Cir. 1996); Cabell v.

Huntington Hospital, Inc. v. Shalala, 101 F.3d 984, 986 (4th

Cir. 1996).

7

§101:3-2-07.17 and 5101:3-2-09(K)(5)(c). App.

13a-14a.

Under the Ohio State Medicaid plan, each

hospital must provide “basic medically necessary

hospital-level services” free of charge to patients who

are residents of the State with income at or below

the federal poverty line and not otherwise recipients

of payments from Medicaid (“HCAP patients”).

App. 5a-7a, 13a-14a (citing regulations included in

the Ohio State Medicaid plan defining eligibility for

free “basic medically necessary hospital-level

services” and further defining the scope of “basic

medically necessary hospital-level services” under

the Plan).

The Ohio plan further provides that patient days

attributable to HCAP patients must be considered in

calculating a hospital’s Medicaid DSH adjustment.

App. 5a-7a, 13a-14a (citing Ohio Admin. Code

5101:3-2-07.17 and noting that that regulation was

approved by the Secretary on April 6, 2001 for

inclusion in Qhio’s State Medicaid Plan); Ohio

Admin. Code 5101:3-2-09(K)(5)(c)). Thus, the Ohio

State Medicaid plan unambiguously provides

hospitals with the opportunity to receive increased

Medicaid funding through Medicaid DSH

adjustments by providing services to HCAP patients,

free of charge. App. 6a. And, in accord with the plan,

hospitals (including Petitioners) have _ received

Medicaid DSH adjustments based in part on the

inclusion of patient days attributable to HCAP

patients.

8

II. Facts And Proceedings Below

A. Petitioners File This Action To Have

HCAP Patients Included In ‘The

Calculation Of Their Medicare DSH

Adjustments.

Petitioners are twenty-five Ohio hospitals that

participate in Medicare and Medicaid and seek to

have patient days attributable to HCAP patients

included in the calculation of their Medicare DSH

adjustments. App. 2a, 10a, 13a-14a. The Secretary,

through his fiscal intermediaries, refused to include

HCAP patient days in the calculation of Petitioners’

Medicare DSH adjustments. Jd. Petitioners brought

this action in federal court to challenge the

Secretary’s exclusion of HCAP patient days from the

calculation of their Medicare DSH adjustments. Id.

B. The District Court Enters Judgment For

Petitioners, Consistent With Unanimous

Circuit Authority, Holding That HCAP

Patierits Must Be Included In The

Calculations Of Medicare DSH

Adjustments.

The district court entered summary judgment in

Petitioners’ favor, finding that: (1) the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy unambiguously required the inclusion

of patient days attributable to patients who are

“eligible for medical assistance under a State plan

approved under [Title XIX of the Social Security Act,

establishing the Medicaid program]”; and (2) HCAP

patients are eligible for medical assistance under the

Ohio State Medicaid plan, which has been approved

by the Secretary under Title XIX of the Social

9

Security Act. App. 14a-18a (construing 42 U.S.C.

§ 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi) (ID).

In reaching this conclusion the court considered

and rejected the Secretary’s argument that the

statutory phrase “eligible for medical assistance

under a State plan approved under [Title XIX of the

Social Security Act]” was simply “long-hand” for

“eligible” for payments from Medicaid. App. 14a-18a.

“The statutory formula unambiguously directs the

Secretary to include all “patients who ... were eligible

for medical assistance under a State plan approved

under [Title] XIX” in the Numerator [of the Medicaid

Low Income Proxy. Id. “Congress said what it meant;

if Congress had meant to restrict the Numerator to

Medicaid-eligible patients, it could have explicitly

done so. The phrase ‘eligible for medical assistance

under a state plan approved under Title XIX is not

‘long-hand’ for ‘eligible for Medicaid.” App. 16a

(emphasis in original). Because the regulations

mandating treatment of HCAP patients were

included in a “state plan approved under Title XIX,”

“the Secretary's exclusion of HCAP patients is

inconsistent with the plain language of the statute

and cannot be upheld.” Jd.

The specific application of the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy’s statutory language to HCAP patients

was an issue of “first impression in federal courts.”

Id. But the district court noted that the Medicaid

Low Income Proxy’s language had been construed in

a number of circuit court opinions. App. 16a-18a.

“Every circuit court” that had construed the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy had found that the

statute unambiguously required the Secretary to

count all patients who are “eligible for medical

assistance under a State plan approved under [Title

10

XIX of the Social Security <Act],” regardless of

whether the hospital “actually received” payment

from Medicaid for patient days attributable to that

patient. App. 16a-18a (citing Jewish Hospital, Inc.,

19 F.3d at 273-76; Deaconess Health Services Corp.

v. Shalala, 83 F.3d 1041 (8th Cir. 1996); Legacy

Emanuel Hospital, 97 F.3d at 1265-66; Cabell, 101

F.3d at 986-93).

C. The D.C. Circuit Reverses The Judgment,

Adopting A More Restrictive Reading Of

The Medicaid Low Income Proxy And

Holding That The Statute Does Not

Reach Patients Who Are Not Eligible For

Payment From Medicaid.

The Secretary appealed, and a panel of the Court

of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

reversed, App. la-9a. Based upon its own reading of

the Medicare statute, the panel concluded that

HCAP patient days were properly excluded from the

calculation of Petitioners’ Medicare DSH

adjustments because HCAP patients are not “eligible

for medical assistance under a State plan approved

under [Title XIX of the Social Security Act,

establishing the Medicaid program].” App. 3a-9a.

The panel acknowledged that (1) the Ohio State

Medicaid plan includes provisions mandating that

Petitioners provide medical treatment to low-income

Ohio residents who meet the HCAP eligibility

requirements set forth in the Plan and further

mandating that HCAP patient days be counted in

the Petitioners’ Medicaid DSH adjustments; and

(2) the Plan, including its HCAP provisions, had

been approved expressly by the Secretary under

Title XIX (governing Medicaid). App. 3a-9a. But the

11

panel nevertheless held that HCAP patients were

not “eligible for medical assistance under a State

plan” because Petitioners received no direct payment

from the Ohio State Medicaid plan for providing

medical treatment to HCAP patients. Id.

The panel reasoned that HCAP provisions

included in the Ohio State Medicaid plan were not

“part” of the plan within the meaning of the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy because _ these

provisions did not provide the Hospitals with a right

to receive payments from Medicaid for HCAP patient

days. App. 4a-6a.

The panel similarly construed the statutory term

“medical assistance” to cover only “payments” made

directly to Petitioners from Medicaid to reimburse

them for the cost of providing medical care and

services to patients. App. 7a-9a. In reaching this

conclusion, the panel acknowledged that the

Medicare statute did not define the term “medical

assistance” in any respect. Jd. The panel concluded,

however, that (1) the term had to be construed to

have the same meaning as in the federal Medicaid

statute and (2) so defined, the term did not cover

mandatory medical treatment and services that a

hospital must provide at no charge under an

approved State Medicaid plan. /d.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant certiorari to decide

whether the Medicaid Low Income Proxy requires

the Secretary to calculate the Medicare DSH

adjustment based on all patient days attributable to

patients who are eligible for medical treatment

12

under an approved State Medicaid plan or only those

patient days for which a hospital receives payment

from the Medicaid program (i.e., Medicaid “paid”

days). This Court has not directly addressed the

construction of the Medicaid Low Income Proxy. The

Courts of Appeals, however, are in_ conflict

concerning the statute’s construction, and the D.C.

Circuit now has adopted a restrictive construction of

the Medicaid Low Income Proxy that holds that a

patient is “eligible for medical assistance under a

State plan approved under [Title XIX of the Social

Security Act governing Medicaid]” if and only if a

hospital receives payment for the patient’s treatment

from the Medicaid program. App. 3a-Ya.

The D.C. Circuit’s restrictive construction of the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy has the effect of

excluding from the calculation of Medicare DSH

adjustments days of service to patients that are not

paid directly by the Medicaid program. In contrast,

the Fourth, Sixth, Eighth, and Ninth Circuits each

have held that the Medicaid Low Income Proxy

requires the iuclusion of all days spent serving

patients who are eligible to reccive medical

treatment and services under an approved State

Medicaid plan, regardless of whether the Medicaid

program actually pays the hospital for the costs of

providing those days of service.

The D.C. Circuit’s construction of the Medicaid

Low Income Proxy cannot be reconciled with the

decisions of the Fourth, Sixth, Eighth, and Ninth

Circuits described above. The differences in the

circuits’ construction of the statute, moreover, are

consequential to the outcome of cases, like this one,

involving the calculation of Medicare DSH

adjustments, leading to inconsistent results and

13

considerable confusion and uncertainty in the

administration of the Medicare DSH adjustment.

For example, in this case, the D.C. Circuit held

that HCAP patients were not “eligible” for “medical

assistance” “under” the approved Ohio State

Medicaid plan and that HCAP patient days,

therefore, were properly excluded from _ the

calculation oof Petitioners’ Medicare DSH

adjustments. Yet, if the case had been decided in the

Fourth, Sixth, Eighth, or Ninth Circuits, a very

different construction of the Medicaid Low Income

Proxy would have been employed following Jewish

Hospital, Deaconess Health Services, Legacy

Emanuel Hospital, and Cabell, and those circuit

courts would not have excluded HCAP patient days

from the calculation of Petitioners’ Medicare DSH

adjustments based on a lack of payment.

Likewise, the D.C. Circuit’s construction of the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy would have produced a

different result in Jewish Hospital, Deaconess Health

Services, Legacy Emanuel Hospital, and Cabell.

Under the D.C. Circuit’s construction of

§ 1395ww(d)(5)(vi)(II), those courts would have been

forced to conclude that “unpaid” days of service were

not attributable to patients who were “eligible” for

“medical assistance” “under a State plan” approved

under Title XIX of the Social Security Act because

the hospitals received no payment from the plan for

those patient days.

This Court’s guidance therefore is needed to

settle the law concerning the construction of the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy. Without that guidance,

Medicare DSH calculations cannot be made in a

consistent and predictable manner that comports

14

with the plain language of the Medicaid Low Income

Proxy and policy goals chosen by Congress. Instead,

the outcome will vary from circuit to circuit in a

manner that is unseemly, unfair to hospitals

attempting to comply with the mandates of state

plans, and inconsistent with Congress’s desire to

have a uniform statutory formula apply to Medicare

DSH adjustments.

The Decision Below Conflicts With

Decisions Of Other Circuits Construing

The Statutory Formula For Calculating

The Medicare DSH Adjustment.

A, Four Circuit Courts Have Held

That The Medicare DSH

Adjustment Must Include All Days

Attributable To Patients Who Are

“Eligible” To Receive Medical

Treatment “Under” An Approved

State Medicaid Plan, Whether Paid

Directly By Medicaid Or Not.

Congress chose its words carefully when it

amended the Medicare statute to include a provision

creating and defining the Medicare DSH adjustment.

In relevant part, Congress directed the Secretary to

count patient days that a hospital spends serving

patients who are “eligible for medical assistance

under a State plan approved under [Title XIX of the

Social Security Act, establishing the Medicaid

program], but who were not entitled to benefits

under part A of [the Medicare Statute]. 42 U.S.C.

§ 13895ww(d)(5)(F)(wi) (ID.

15

The plain language of § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(wi) (I D—

requiring the inclusion of days spent serving

patients who are “eligible for medical assistance

under a State plan approved under [Title XIX of the

Social Security Act] but not entitled to benefits

under part A of [the Medicare statute]—reflects

Congress’s judgment that the Secretary should be

required to calculate Medicare DSH adjustments

using a proxy that measures the “entire low-income

population actually served by the hospitals” and

provide an adjustment to Medicare PPS payments

that reflects the disproportionately large share of

hospital resources consumed by low income patients.

Portland Adventists Medical Center v. Thompson,

399 F.3d 1091, 1099 (9th Cir. 2005) (citing the

legislative history of 42 U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)

(vi)(IT)).

The plain language of the Medicaid Low Income

Proxy and Congress’s purpose in enacting the

statute have led the Fourth, Sixth, Eighth, and

Ninth Circuits to conclude that the Secretary must

count all patient days attributable to patients who

are “eligible” to receive benefits “under” an approved

State Medicaid plan, regardless of whether the

Medicaid program actually pays the hospital for the

costs of providing those days of service. See Jewish

Hospital, Inc., 19 F.3d at 273-76; Deaconess Health

Services Corp. v. Shalala, 83 F.3d 1041 (8th Cir.

1996); Legacy Emanuel Hospital, 97 F.3d at 1265-66;

Cabell, 101 F.3d at 986-93.

The Sixth Circuit. In Jewish Hospital, an

approved State Medicaid plan required participating

hospitals to provide patients with medical treatment

but the plan placed limits on the payments that a

hospital could receive in reimbursement for its costs.

16

See Jewish Hospital, 19 F.3d at 273. As a result,

under the State plan, hospitals routinely provided

treatment to patients without necessarily receiving

payment from the Medicaid program for certain days

of patient care. Id.

When calculating the hospitals’ Medicare DSH

adjustments, the Secretary construed the Medicaid

Low Income Proxy narrowly and concluded that the

hospitals’ Medicare DSH adjustments should be

determined based only on the hospitals’ “paid”

days—i.e., those patient days for which a hospital

actually received payment from the Medicaid

program. Jd. The Secretary excluded from the

hospitals’ Medicare DSH calculations patient days

not actually paid by the Medicaid program,

reasoning that those “unpaid” days were not days

attributable to patients who were “eligible for

medical assistance under a State plan approved

under [Title XIX of the Social Security Act governing

Medicaid)}.” Jd.

The hospitals challenged the Secrcetary’s

interpretation, and the Sixth Circuit agreed that the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy unambiguously

required the Secretary to count all days spent

providing medical treatment to patients who

received that treatment under the terms of an

approved State Medicaid plan, regardless of whether

the Medicaid program actually paid the hospital for

the costs of providing those days of service. Jewish

Hospital, 19 F.3d at 273.

“Looking at the plain language” of the Medicaid

Low Income Proxy, the court reasoned that the

statute is satisfied when a patient is “capable” of

receiving benefits under the terms of an approved

17

State Medicaid plan, period. Jewish Hospital, 19

F.3d at 273-76. “The notion of ‘eligibility’ refers to

the ‘qualification’ for benefits or the capability of

receiving those benefits” under an approved State

Medicaid plan. Jd. (emphasis added). “Congress

explicitly refers to a period of eligibility equal to the

time for which medical assistance was available.

Congress, however, did not refer to the time period

for which a given state actually renders Medicaid

payment.” Id. (emphasis added).

“Furthermore,” when drafting the statutory

formula for calculating Medicare DSH adjustments,

“Congress spoke of ‘eligibility’ in the Medicaid proxy

and ‘entitlement’ in the Medicare proxy.” Id.

(comparing the Medicaid Low Income Proxy, 42

U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi) (ID, with the Medicare

Low Income Proxy, 42 U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)

(vi)(I)). “Adjacent provisions utilizing different terms

. must connote different meanings.” Jd. Whereas

the Medicare proxy uses the term “entitled” to “fix[]”

the calculation upon the “absolute right to receive an

independent and readily defined payment,” “the

Medicaid proxy speaks solely of eligibility” for

medical assistance under an approved State

Medicaid plan. Jd. “Congress could not have

intended to fix the [Medicaid proxy] calculation on

the actual payment of benefits in the state

administered program.” Jd. “Had Congress intended

that result it would have defined the Medicaid proxy

in terms of entitlement to state Medicaid payments.”

Id.

Finally, the court recognized that’ the

“overarching intent” of Congress in enacting a

statutory formula for calculating Medicare DSH

adjustments weighed heavily on the _ natural

18

construction of the Medicaid Low Income Proxy.

Congress’s “overarching intent” was to “supplement”

the resources available to PPS hospitals serving low

income persons. Jewish Hospital, 19 F.3d at 270.

Given Congress’s judgment about the higher costs

associated with serving low-income patients and its

unequivocal intent to provide an increase in

Medicare PPS payments to supplement the

resources of hospitals serving low-income patients,

the court had no difficulty reading the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy as establishing a method of accounting

for all the days of service actually provided by a

hospital to low-income patients under the terms of

an approved State Medicaid plan, whether or not

those days were actually paid for by Medicaid.

The Sixth Circuit’s reading of the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy led it to reject the Secretary’s attempt

to limit the Medicaid proxy used in the Medicare

DSH calculation to those patient days for which a

hospital receives payment from the Medicaid

program. As the Sixth Circuit put it, the Medicaid

Low Income Proxy “was intended to supplement and

subsidize a PPS hospital’s care for low income

individuals, and the Secretary’s [construction of the

statute] runs counter to this clear intent by

unnecessarily restricting the available subsidy,

without foundation in the statute.” Jewish Hospital,

19 F.3d at 275.

The Eighth Circuit. In Deaconess Health Services,

912 F. Supp. at 444-48, affd, 83 F.3d at 1041, the

issue and result were the same. The Secretary,

through his fiscal intermediaries, calculated

hospitals’ Medicaid Low Income Proxy and Medicare

DSH adjustments based only on days of inpatient

service for which a hospital received direct payment

19

from Medicaid and excluded days of service for

which Medicaid provided no payment. 912 F. Supp.

at 444-48. As in Jewish Hospital, the Secretary

argued that all “unpaid” days should be excluded

because “unpaid” days were not days attributable to

patients who were “eligible for medical assistance

under a State plan approved under [Title XIX of the

Social Security Act governing Medicaid].” Id. And in

a decision that carefully analyzed the statutory

language, the arguments of the parties, and the

Sixth Circuit’s decision in Jewish Hospital, the

district court agreed with the hospitals that the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy unambiguously

required the inclusion of all days attributable to

patients who were “eligible for medical assistance

under a State plan approved under [Title XIX of the

Social Security Act governing Medicaid], regardless

of whether paid by Medicaid or not.

“The plain words of the statute indicate that the

numerator is to consist of the patient days (without

the limitation imported by the [Secretary]) which are

attributable to patients ‘eligible’ for medical

assistance under a state Medicaid plan.” Id. at 447.

“The Secretary’s construction conflicts with the

statute’s focus on a patient’s eligibility, by focusing

on the state’s actual payment to the hospital. The

statute does not refer to patient days actually paid or

actually reimbursed under Medicaid. The

undersigned agrees with the reasoning of the Jewish

Hospital majority.” Id. The Eighth Circuit, in turn,

affirmed the district court’s judgment based on

Jewish Hospital and the district court’s thorough,

well-reasoned opinion. 83 F.3d at 1041.

The Ninth Circuit. The same issue concerning the

construction of the Medicaid Low Income Proxy

20

arose In Legacy Emanuel Hospital. 97 F.3d at 1265-

66. And faced with the same arguments by the

hospital plaintiffs and the Secretary, the Ninth

Circuit reached the same conclusion as the Sixth and

Eighth Circuits: “We believe the language of the

Medicare reimbursement provision is clear: the

Medicaid proxy includes all patient days for which a

person was eligible for Medicaid benefits, whether or

not Medicaid actually paid for those days of service.

We base our conclusion on Congress's use of the

word “eligible” rather than “entitled,” as well as

Congress's use of the Medicaid proxy to define non-

Medicare low-income patients for purposes of

determining a hospital's share of low-income

patients.” Jd. (noting Congress’s intent to mandate a

proxy that accounted for all non-Medicare low-

income patients served by hospitals participating in

Medicare).2

The Fourth Circuit. In Cabell, 101 F.3d at 986-93,

the Fourth Circuit weighed in and the court’s

2 In the courts below, the Secretary noted that, in cases like

Legacy Emanuel Hospital, the courts often substituted phrases

like “Medicaid benefits” for the statutory term “medical

assistance” when paraphrasing the Medicaid Low Income

Proxy. The Secretary argued that such phrasing demonstrated

that the statute did not apply to HCAP patients. However,

that argument was squarely rejected in the district court,

which described such references as “slips of language” that “are

not even dicta” and which adopted a plain language

construction of the statute that closely tracked the construction

adopted in Jewish Hospital and the subsequent cases.

Significantly, the D.C. Circuit panel opinion likewise did not

rely on the language invoked by the Secretary from Jewish

Hospital and the subsequent cases when it construed the

Medicaid Low Income Proxy.

21

analysis closely tracked Jewish Hospital, Deaconess

Health Services, and Legacy Emanuel Hospital. “It is

apparent that ‘eligible for medical assistance under a

State plan’ refers to patients who meet the income,

resources, and status qualifications specified by a

particular state’s Medicaid plan, whether or not they

are actually receiving payment for a particular type

of service or a particular duration of coverage.”

Cabell, 101 F.3d at 989. Cabell also considered and

rejected a construction of the statutory term

“medical assistance” comparable to one adopted by

the D.C. Circuit here. Jd. “The Secretary argues

that ‘eligible for medical assistance’ cannot include

hospital days which are unpaid by the state

Medicaid plan because the Medicaid statute defines

‘medical assistance’ as ‘payment.” Jd. The court

noted, however, that the Secretary’s argument failed

to account for all the medica! services included under

Medicaid as well as the other terms and benefits

that could be included in a State Medicaid plan. Id.

“Hospital days need not be paid by a particular state

Medicaid plan to be counted in the Medicaid proxy

for the DSH calculation.” Zd.

B. The D.C. Circuit Has Adopted A

More Restrictive Reading Of The

Statute That Makes “Payment”

Under Medicaid A Prerequisite For

Inclusion In The Calculation Of

The Medicare DSH Adjustment.

In this case, the D.C. Circuit adopted a

fundamentally different reading of the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy—a more restrictive reading of the

statute that aliows for the inclusion of only those

22

patient days for which a hospital actually receives

payment from a State Medicaid program.

Although nothing in the text of the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy makes “payment” for medical

treatment a necessary (or relevant) criterion for

determining whether a patient is “eligible” for

medical assistance “under” an approved State

Medicaid plan, the panel construed the statutory

phrase “eligible ... under a State plan” restrictively

to turn on “payment” from Medicaid for patient days.

App. 3a-6a. This court held that the provisions

included in the approved Ohio State Medicaid plan

mandating the medical treatment of HCAP patients

were not “part” of the State Medicaid plan within the

meaning of the Medicaid Low Income Proxy because

the provisions did not require payments to be made

to hospitals from the Ohio State Medicaid program.

App. 3a-6a (regulations requiring “mandatory

charity care” could not be “part” of a State Plan, even

when included in the text of the State Plan and

submitted to and approved by the Secretary, because

“an approved state Medicaid plan ... must pay

providers for the care of eligible patients.”). And

based on this restrictive reading, the court also held

that a patient is “eligible” for medical assistance

“under” an approved State Medicaid plan only

insofar as the approved State Medicaid plan provides

for the payment of that particular patient’s medical

care. App. 3a-6a.

As part of its analysis, the court construed the

statutory term “medical assistance” narrowly to

cover only “payments” made directly to hospitals

under Medicaid to reimburse them for the cost of

providing medical treatment to patients and not

“charity care” mandated by regulations included in a

23

State Medicaid plan. App. 7a-9a. Once again,

however, nothing in the text of the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy or any other part of the Medicare

statute dictated that “medical assistance” be defined

strictly in terms of a direct “payment” made to a

hospital by a State Medicaid program. Jd. The court

took a different view, believing that the term should

have the same meaning in this context as in the

federal Medicaid statute. App. 7a-9a. There are a

number of problems with the panel’s reasoning.

To begin with, the court’s analysis erroneously

assumes that Medicare and Medicaid “operate

together,” as part of a single statutory scheme, using

terms that are intended by Congress to have the

same meaning. /d. (citing Atl. Cleaners & Dyers, Inc.

v. United States, 286 U.S. 427, 433 (1932); Sullivan

v. Stroop, 496 U.S. 478, 484 (1990)). This assumption

reflects a misunderstanding of Medicare and

Medicaid. As noted above, Medicare and Medicaid

are separate programs with different goals and

standards established by different federal statutes.

Medicare is a federally administered public health

insurance fund for the aged and disabled set forth in

Title XVII of the Social Security Act. Medicaid, on

the other hand, is a _ state-administered, public

health insurance fund for the indigent, enacted

separately from Medicare and codified in Title XIX of

the Social Security Act.3 Given these differences,

3 The distinction between the two statutes and programs is

reflected in the case law. Evanston Hospital v. Hauck, No. 92 C

732, 1992 WL 205900, at*2 (N.D. Ill. Aug. 19, 1992) (“Medicare

and Medicaid are entirely separate programs with different

purposes and standards”), affd, 1 F.3d 540 (7th Cir. 1993);

Rastetter v. Weinberger, 379 F. Supp. 170, 172 (D. Ariz. 1974)

Continued on following page

24

there is no basis for the panel’s decision to borrow

the statutory definition of “medical assistance” set

forth in Medicaid and impose that definition on the

text of the Medicaid Low Income Proxy. Indeed,

Congress’s decision to enact the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy without defining “medical assistance”

or cross-referencing the definition provided in

Medicaid suggests that Congress did not intend for

the term to be construed in a narrow or technical

fashion using a definition borrowed from another

statute.

There is nothing that suggests the term should be

construed narrowly so as to cover only those patient

days when payments are made directly to hospitals

under Medicaid to reimburse them for the cost of

providing medical treatment to patients. For

example, in Jewish Hospital, the court had no

difficulty in ruling that a patient could be eligible for

“medical assistance” under an approved State

Medicaid plan if the patient was capable of receiving

a “benefit” under the terms of an approved State

Medicaid plan, regardless of whether the hospital

received a “payment” from Medicaid for that service.

Jewish Hospital, 19 F.3d at 273-76. Indeed, the

Sixth Circuit found it significant that Congress used

the broad term “medical assistance” not “payment”

in the text of the Medicaid Low Income Proxy.

“Congress explicitly refer{ed] to a period of eligibility

equal to the time for which medical assistance was

available ... not ... the time period for which a given

Continued from previous page

(Medicaid is a different law designed by Congress for a

different purpose than Medicare), aff'd, 419 US. 1098 (1975).

25

state actually renders Medicaid payment’ Id.

(emphasis added). See also Deaconess Health

Services, 912 F. Supp. 2d at 444-48 (same), affd, 83

F.3d at 1041; Legacy Emanuel Hospital, 97 F.3d at

1265-66 (same); and Cabell, 101 F.3d at 986-93.

Medicare regulations promulgated by HHS in

response to Jewish Hospital and the other cases

described above likewise belie the D.C. Circuit’s

narrow construction of “medical assistance” as

covering only those patient days when direct

payments are mace by Medicaid to hospitals. See 42

C.F.R. § 412.106(b)(4)G). In 1997, in response to

Jewish Hospital and the other cases described above,

HHS revised its interpretation of the Medicaid Low

Income Proxy to state that “a patient is deemed

eligible for Medicaid on a given day if the patient is

eligible for inpatient hospital services under an

approved State Medicaid plan or under a waiver

authorized under section 1115(a)(2) of the Act on

that day, regardless of whether particular items or

services were covered or paid under the State plan or

the authorized waiver.” Id. (emphasis added).4

4 In Ruling 97-2, the Health Care Financing Administration

(the agency within HHS responsible at the time for

administering Medicare and Medicaid) responded to Jewish

Hospital, Deaconess Health Services, Legacy Emanuel Hospital,

and Cabell, and announced that it had “chang[ed] its

interpretation of [§ 1395ww(d)(5)(vi)(ID] to follow the holdings

of the United States Courts of Appeals for the Fourth, Sixth,

Eighth, and Ninth Circuits.” Jn re Medicare Reimbursement

Litigation, 414 F.3d 7, 9 (D.C. Cir. 2005) (quoting Health Care

Financing Administration Ruling 97-2, at 1 (Feb. 27, 1997))

Significantly, however, the Secretary has refused to apply this

new interpretation of § 1395ww/(d)(5)(vi)(ID to cases like this

one. As the district court noted in its summary judgment order,

Continued on following page

26

Indeed, in the wake of Jewish Hospital, the cases

discussed above, and 42 C.F.R. § 412.106(b)(4)(i),

certain “unpaid” days of care are now routinely

included in the calculation of both Medicare DSH

adjustments and Medicaid DSH adjustments.

None of these judicial rulings or agency

pronouncements is consistent with the D.C. Circuit's

narrow construction of “medical assistance” as

covering only direct payments made to a hospital by

an approved State Medicaid plan and not charity

care or other unpaid benefits provided under the

terms of an approved State Medicaid plan.

II. The Resolution Of The Conflict

Presented Is Critically Important To The

Uniform Administration Of The Medicare

System And The Provision Of Medical

Services To Low-Income Patients.

The conflict among the Courts of Appeals

concerning the proper construction of the Medicaid

Low Income Proxy is real, unavoidable, and of

considerable practical importance. As_ described

above, the conflict is producing inconsistent results

in similar cases and engendering considerable

confusion and uncertainty in the administration of

the Medicare DSH ~ adjustment. Hospitals

participating in Medicare should not be subject to

Continued from previous page

the Secretary’s actions in this case are contrary to the plain

language of both the Medicaid Low Income Proxy and this

regulation. App. 19a.

27

differing constructions of the Medicaid Low Income

Proxy and differing methods of calculating the

Medicare DSH adjustments based on the circuit in

which the hospital’s claims are adjudicated.

This case provides the Court with an opportunity

to resolve the conflict among the circuit courts,

ensure that the Medicaid Low Income Proxy is

administered in a uniform manner consistent with

the plain language of the statute and the policy goals

chosen by Congress, and hold that the statute

requires the inclusion of all patient days attributable

to patients who are “eligible” to receive benefits

“under” an approved State Medicaid plan, regardless

of whether the Medicaid program actually pays the

hospital for the costs of providing those days of

service.

28

CONCLUSION

Because the Circuits have adopted fundamentally

different constructions of the Medicaid Low Income

Proxy, producing’ different outcomes and

engendering confusion and uncertainty, Petitioners

urge that this Court’s grant this petition.

Respectfully submitted,

MURRAY J. KLEIN

Counsel of Record

JAMES C. MARTIN

KIM M. WATTERSON

DAVID J. BIRD

REED SMITH LLP

Princeton Forrestal

Village

136 Main St., Suite 250

Princeton, NJ 08540

(609) 520-6022

DECEMBER 24, 2008 Counsel for Petitioners

la

United States Court of Appeals,

District of Columbia Circuit.

No. 07-5273

ADENA REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER, et al.,

Appellees,

Vv.

Michael O. LEAVITT, Secretary of the United States

Department of Health and Human Services,

Appellee.

Argued March 18, 2008.

Decided May 30, 2008.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

District of Columbia (No. 05cv02422).

August E. Flentje, Attorney, U.S. Department of

Justice, argued the cause for appellant. With him on

the briefs were Jeffrey S. Bucholtz, Acting Assistant

Attorney General, Jeffrey A. Taylor, U.S. Attorney,

and Anthony J. Steinmeyer, Attorney, U.S.

Department of Justice. R. Craig Lawrence, Assistant

U.S. Attorney, and Megan L. Rose, Attorney, U.S.

Attorney’s Office, entered appearances.

Murray J. Klein argued the cause and filed the briefs

for appellees.

Before: SENTELLE, Chief Judge, and GINSBURG

and BROWN, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge

GINSBURG.”

* Circuit Judge BROWN concurs in the opinion of the

Court except as to Part II.A.

2a

GINSBURG, Circuit Judge: The Ohio Hospital

Care Assurance Program (HCAP) ensures that

indigent Ohioans who “are not recipients of the

medical assistance program,” i.e., the Ohio Medicaid

plan, nonetheless receive “basic, medically necessary

hospital-level services” at no charge. OHIO REV.

CODE § 5112.17(B); see Title XIX [Medicaid] of the

Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1396 et seq. The

state of Ohio does not reimburse hospitals for the

cost of providing such mandatory charity care.

Seeking indirectly to cover some of their HCAP

expenses, the 25 plaintiff-appellee hospitals took the

position that the Secretary of Health and Human

Services should include beneficiaries of the HCAP in

calculating the monies the Hospitals are due under

the Medicare program for the elderly and the

disabled. See Title XVIII [Medicare] of the Act, 42

U.S.C. § 1395 et seq. The Secretary disagreed but the

Hospitals successfully challenged his decision in the

district court. 524 F. Supp. 2d 1 (2007). We now

reverse that judgment.

I. Background

Under the Medicare statute, the Secretary

generally pays hospitals a sum for each covered

inpatient service without regard to the hospital’s

actual cost. See 42 U.S.C. § 1395ww/(d). In 1988,

however, the Congress determined any hospital that

serves a disproportionately large percentage of low-

income patients-known as a disproportionate share

hospital (DSH)-should be reimbursed at a higher

rate, apparently because the more low-income

patients a hospital treats, the more it costs on

average to care for Medicare patients. See Cabell

3a

Huntington Hosp., Inc. v. Shalala, 101 F.3d 984, 985

(4th Cir. 1996) (“low-income Medicare patients have

generally poorer health and are costlier to treat than

high-income Medicare patients’). The Congress

further determined the number of low-income

patients each hospital treats should be measured

indirectly by reference to the number of its patients

“eligible for medical assistance under a State plan

approved under [Title] XIX” of the Act, i.e., Medicaid,

“but ... not entitled to benefits under [Medicare],” 42

U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi) TD. Put simply, the

more a hospital treats patients who are “eligible for

medical assistance under a State plan approved

under |Medicaid],” the more money it receives for

each patient covered by Medicare.

II. Analysis

The question before us is whether HCAP

patients are “eligible for medical assistance under a

State plan approved under [Medicaid].” If so, then

the Secretary miscalculated the DSH adjustments

the Hospitals should have received under Medicare.

We conclude for two reasons that the Secretary was

correct, and accordingly was entitled to summary

judgment: First, the HCAP provision that requires

hospitals to care for indigent patients, § 5112.17(B),

is not part of the Ohio “State plan approved under

{[Medicaid]” and, second, HCAP patients are not

“eligible for medical assistance” within the meaning

of that term in the Medicare DSH provision. We

reach these conclusions based not upon any

deference to the Secretary’s interpretation but upon

our own reading of the Social Security Act. See

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Res. Def. Council,

Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842-43, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 81

4a

L.Ed.2d 694 (1984) (Gif the “Congress has directly

spoken to the precise question at issue,” then “that is

the end of the matter”).

A. HCAP Provision Is Not Part of Medicaid

Approved Plan

Contrary to the Hospitals’ argument,

§ 5112.17(B) is clearly not part of a “State plan

approved under [Medicaid]” because an approved

state Medicaid plan-as the Hospitals acknowledge in

their brief-must pay providers for the care of eligible

patients. See 42 U.S.C. §§ 1396a-1396b; see also §

1396d(a), (b). Section 5112.17(B) of the HCAP,

however, requires the Hospitals to care for indigent

patients without payment. See also OHIO ADMIN.

CODE 5101:3-2-07.17. By its terms, moreover, §

5112.17(B) requires hospitals to care for patients

only if they “are not recipients of the medical

assistance program,” that is, Medicaid. See OHIO

REV. CODE § 5112.01 (defining “medical assistance

program” as “the program of medical assistance

established under section 5111.01 of the Revised

Code and Title XIX [Medicaid] of the ‘Social Security

Act”); see also § 5112.17(C) (hospital may “requir[e]

an individual to apply for eligibility under the

medical assistance program [Medicaid] before ...

process[ing] an application under” § 5112.17). It is

clear, therefore, that under Ohio law HCAP patients

do not receive care pursuant to the Medicaid plan

and, consequently, that HCAP patients are not

eligible for care “under a State plan approved under

subchapter XIX [Medicaid]” within the meaning of

the Medicare statute, 42 U.3.0.

§ 1395ww/(d)(5)(F)(vi(ID).

5a

The Hospitals point out that the Secretary

approved certain modifications to the Ohio

regulation implementing § 5112.17(B) as an

amendment to Ohio’s Medicaid plan. True enough;

see OHIO ADMIN. CODE 5101:3-2-07.17, approved

by the Secretary April 6, 2001. Accordingly, the

Hospitals maintain, the regulation must be part of

the Ohio Medicaid plan: Why else would the

Secretary have approved the regulation as an

amendment to that plan?

The answer is not far to seek. The federal

Medicaid statute contains its own DSH provision,

which requires each state “specifically [to] define [ ]”

eligibility for DSH adjustments in the state Medicaid

plan and to “provide [{ } ... for an appropriate increase

in the rate or amount of payment” eligible hospitals

receive. See 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4(a)(1).” Ohio acted

pursuant to that provision to determine DSH

adjustments in its Medicaid program by reference to

a hospital’s compliance with the requirement, set out

in Rule 5101:3-2-07.17, that a hospital provide

charity care under the HCAP. See, e.g., OHIO

ADMIN. CODE 5101:3-2-09(K)(5)(c) (hospitals are

not eligible for Medicaid DSH adjustments if they do

not provide charity care under the HCAP). Thus the

regulation, which determines the eligibility of

patients for such charity care, indirectly also

determines the Hospitals’ eligibility for and amount

of DSH adjustments under the Ohio Medicaid plan.

Federal law obliged Ohic to submit the regulation to

the Secretary for approval because the mechanism

“The Medicare DSH provision, in contrast, does not defer

to the states on those questions. See § 13895ww(d)(5)(F).

6a

for providing a DSH adjustment under Medicaid is

part of Ohio’s Medicaid plan, and the Secretary must

approve that plan, see 42 U.S.C. § 1396r-4(a) (state

plan does not satisfy requirement’ _ of

§ 1896a(a)(13)(A) unless state has submitted to

Secretary methodology for making DSH

adjustments); § 1396a(b) (“The Secretary shall

approve any plan which fulfills the conditions

specified in § 1396a(a)”); see also § 1396r-4(a)(3)

(governing approval by Secretary of amendments

made under § 1396r-4). The Secretary’s approval of

Rule 5101:3-2-07.17 does not suggest in any way

that HCAP patients receive care pursuant to the

Ohio Medicaid plan.™

™ At oral argument the hospitals suggested § 5112.17(B)

of the Ohio Code is part of the Medicaid plan because

“their [Medicaid DSH] payments will increase if they’re

treating more HCAP patients and ... will decrease if

they're treating less [sic] HCAP patients.” The suggestion

reflects a misunderstanding of the rationale for DSH

adjustments. Hospitals in Ohio receive more DSH funds

under the Medicaid plan the more HCAP patients they

treat not because those patients receive care under the

Medicaid plan, but because Ohio law treats such patients

as a proxy for low-income patients, just as the Medicare

provision treats Medicaid patients as a proxy for low-

income patients. Thus, the Ohio Medicaid plan provides a

hospital more money for Medicaid patients the more

HCAP patients it treats, just as the federal Medicare

statute provides a hospital more money for Medicare

patients the more Medicaid patients it treats, Cabell

Huntington Hosp., Inc., 101 F.3d at 985.

7a

B. HCAP Patients Are Not Eligible for “Medical

Assistance”

As we noted at the outset, in order to prevail the

Hospitals must demonstrate that patients who

obtain charity care under the HCAP are “eligible for

medical assistance under a State plan approved

under [Medicaid]” within the meaning of that phrase

in the Medicare statute, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1835ww(d)(5)(F)(vi)(I]). As explained below, we

conclude that the term “medical assistance,” which is

not defined in Title XVIII of the Act, has the same

meaning in the Medicare DSH provision of Title

XVIII as it has in the federal Medicaid statute, Title

XIX of the Act; as a result, the Hospitals’ case would

fail even if HCAP patients did obtain care under the

Ohic Medicaid plan for, as the Government points

out, the federal Medicaid statute defines “medical

assistance” as “payment of part or all of the cost” of

medical “care and services” for a defined set of

individuels, § 1396ea), whereas the HCAP does not

entail any payment.

First, we note the Medicare DSH provision in

Title XVIII of the Act expressly refers to the

Medicaid statute (as Title XIX of the Act),

§ 1395ww(d)(5)(P)(viUD, and the same phrase—

"medical assistance under a State plan approved

under [Medicaid]”—appears throughout the Act.” As

the Supreme Court has instructed on countless

occasions, we are to presume “identical words used

in different parts of the same act are intended to

" See, eg., 42 U.S.C. §§ 1320a-7b(a)(6), 1382h(b)(3),

1396a(a)(10)(E), 1396n(i)(1).

84

have the same meaning.” Atl. Cleaners & Dyers, Inc.

v. United States, 286 U.S. 427, 483, 52 S.Ct. 607, 76

L.Ed. 1204 (1932); see also Sullivan v. Stroop, 496

U.S. 478, 484, 110 S.Ct. 2499, 110 L.Ed.2d 438

(1990) (applying canon where “cross-references”

indicate two administrative programs within Social

Security Act “operate together”).

Second, and perhaps more probative, the

Medicaid DSH provision permits the states to adjust

DSH payments “under a _ methodology that”

considers either “patients eligible for medical

assistance under a State plan approved under

[Medicaid] or ... low-income patients,” 42 U.S.C. §

1396r-4(c)(3)(B), such as those served under the

HCAP. The Medicaid and Medicare DSH provisions

serve the same purpose-to adjust payments to

hospitals that serve a disproportionate share of poor

patients-and in doing so each refers to patients

“eligible for medical assistance under a State plan

approved under” the Medicaid title of the Act. Id.;

§ 1895ww(d)(5)(F)(vi)(ID. It stands to reason the

Congress intended the quoted phrase to have the

same meaning in the two provisions.

We thus conclude HCAP patients do not obtain,

and are not eligible for, “medical assistance” within

the meaning of the Medicare DSH _ provision,

wherefore the Hospitals’ case must fail. As the

Fourth Circuit has noted, “[i]f Congress had wanted

‘medical assistance’ to take or. a completely different

meaning” in the Medicare I.SH provision in Title

XVIII than it has in the Mediczid statute, Title XIX,

then the “Congress could easily have so indicated.”

Cabell Huntington Hosp., Inc., 101 F.3d at 990.

9a

III. Conclusion

In sum, we conclude the HCAP provision

requiring the Hospitals to care for indigent patients

is not part of the Ohio “State plan approved under

[Medicaid]” and the indigent patients covered by the

HCAP provision are not “eligible for medical

assistance” within the meaning of the Medicare

statute, 42 U.S.C. § 18395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi)dD.”

Therefore, the judgment of the district court is

Reversed.

: The Hospitals’ other arguments are sufficiently lacking

in merit as not to warrant consideration in a published

opinion.

10a

United States District Court,

District of Columbia.

ADENA REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

A

Michael A. LEAVITT, Secretary, United States

Department of Health and Human Services,

Defendant.

Civil Action No. 05-2422 (LFO).

June 11, 2007.

MEMORANDUM

LOUIS F. OBERDORFER, District Judge.

This case involves a challenge to the Secretary of

Health and Human Services’ interpretation of the

statutory formula for providing reimbursements

under Medicare to hospitals that serve a

disproportionately high share of low-income

patients. For reasons explained below, the Plaintiffs’

Motion for Summary Judgment is granted, and the

Defendant’s Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment is

denied.

I. Background and Procedural History

A. The Statutory Framework

i. The Medicare Scheme and_ the

“Disproportionate Share Adjustment”

The Medicare program provides health insurance

to elderly and disabled persons. See 42 U.S.C. § 1395

et seq. The Secretary is authorized to promulgate

regulations prescribing the health care services

lla

covered by the program and the methods of

determining payments for those services. The

operating costs of inpatient hospital services are

reimbursed by Medicare primarily through a

prospective payment system. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 1395ww/(d). This system contains a number of

statutory provisions that adjust reimbursement

based on hospital-specific factors. Id.

In 1985, Congress enacted legislation directing

the Secretary to include an adjustment to provide

additional Medicare payments to hospitals that

serve a “significantly disproportionate number of

low-income _ patients.” It was’ called’ the

“disproportionate share hospital (DSH’) adjustment”

(the “Adjustment”’). Consolidated Omnibus Budget

Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA), Pub. L. No. 99-

272, § 9105 (1986); 42 U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(@) (1).

Congress also established a specific formula for

calculating the Adjustment; whether a_ hospital

qualifies for the Adjustment, and how large an

adjustment it receives, depends on the hospital’s

“disproportionate patient percentage.” 42 U.S.C. §

1395ww(d)(5)(F)(v). The “disproportionate patient

percentage” is the sum of two fractions, the Medicare

fraction and Medicaid fraction for a hospital’s cost

reporting period. 42 U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi).

The first fraction, the Medicare fraction, is based on

the number of Medicare patients who qualify for

Supplemental Security Income. 42 #£4U.S.C.

§ 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi)(D. The second fraction, the

Medicaid fraction, is based on the number of non-

Medicare low-income patients served by the hospital.

The proper calculation of the numerator in the

Medicaid fraction (the “Numerator’”) is the dispute in

12a

this case. The text of the statute, as amended in

2005, is as follows:

(II) the fraction (expressed as a percentage),

the numerator of which is the number of the

hospital’s patient days for such period which

consist of patients who (for such days) were

eligible for medical assistance under a State

plan approved under subchapter XIX of this

chapter [Medicaid], but who were not

entitled to benefits under part A of this

subchapter [Medicare-Part A], and _ the

denominator of which is the total number of

the hospital’s patient days for such period.

In determining... the number of the

hospital’s patient days for such period which

consist of patients who (for such days) were

eligible for medical assistance under a State

plan approved under subchapter XIX of this

chapter, the Secretary may, to the extent

and for the period the Secretary determines

appropriate, include patient days of patients

not so eligible but who are regarded as such

because they receive benefits under a

demonstration project approved under

subchapter XI of this chapter.

42 U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi) ID.

i. The Medicaid Scheme (Title XIX)

Title XIX of the Social Security Act (Medicaid)

authorizes the use of federal funds to help states

offset the cost of providing medical assistance to

eligible low-income individuals. See 42 U.S.C. § 13896

13a

et seq. To receive these funds, a state must submit a

“state plan” for approval by the Secretary, and it

must administer the plan according to Medicaid

requirements. 42 U.S.C. §1396d(a). Only

expenditures made under an approved Medicaid

state plan become eligible for matching federal

payments. 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(a)-(b).

B. The Undisputed Facts

Plaintiffs are 25 hospitals that participate in

Ohio’s Hospital Care Assurance Program (“HCAP”),

a part of Ohio’s state health plan (“State Plan”).

Ohio’s State Plan has been approved by the

Secretary under Title XIX. Pls. Statement of

Material Facts 4 1; Def.’s Statement of Material

Facts § 3. HCAP provides coverage for medical

assistance provided to low-income Ohio residents

otherwise ineligible for traditional Medicaid. Def.’s

Statement of Material Facts § 6(a); Pls.’ Response 44

2, 6. The state of Ohio receives some federal

matching funds for HCAP days under the Medicaid

statute. Pls.’ Response §/{ 3. Medicare funds are

administered and paid to providers through fiscal

intermediaries. The fiscal intermediary for the

Plaintiff Hospitals has not allowed the Hospitals to

include HCAP days in calculating their Medicare

DSH adjustment. Pls. Statement of Material Facts 4

1. The Ohio plan at issue in this case is a traditional

state plan that includes provisions for reimbursing

hospitals for certain services provided to low-income

patients not eligible for traditional Medicaid.

C. Procedural History

The Hospitals timely filed appeals of the fiscal

l4a

intermediary’s determination to the Provider

Reimbursement Review Board (the “Board”). See 42

U.S.C. § 139500(a). On December 7, 2005, the Board

determined that it lacked authority to decide the

appeal because it involved “a question of law” and

granted Expedited Judicial Review. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 139500(f)(1).

The Hospitals subsequently brought this action

in federal court. On February 1, 2006, they moved

for summary judgment [dkt. 7-1]. On March 29,

2006, the Secretary filed a cross-motion for summary

judgment [dkt. 16]. On December 22, 2006, the

Court’s Calendar Committee transferred to me the

cross-motions for summary judgment for decision.

See Local Civil Rule 40.6(a).

The central issue is whether or not the

Secretary’s interpretation of the phrase “eligible for

medical assistance under a State plan approved

under subchapter XIX of this chapter [the Medicaid

statute]” is consistent with the plain language of the

statute.

II. Discussion

A. Standard of Review

Summary judgment is appropriate where “the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file, together with the affidavits,

if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that the moving party 1s entitled to

a judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

This case presents a pure question of law.

In reviewing the Secretary's interpretation, a

1$a

court looks to the statutory language and legislative

history to determine if Congress has directly spoken

to the precise question at issue. Chevron U.S.A., Inc.

v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S.

837, 842, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 81 L.Ed.2d 694 (1984).

When “the statutory scheme is coherent and

consistent” and “the language at issue has a plain

and unambiguous meaning with regard to the

particular dispute in the case,” no deference to the

agency is required. Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co.,

Inc., 534 U.S. 488, 450, 122 S.Ct. 941, 151 L.Ed.2d

908 (2002) (quoting Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519

U.S. 3387, 340, 117 S.Ct. 8438, 136 L.Ed.2d 808

(1997)). The court’s role is to ensure that

Congressional intent is given effect. If, however, the

statute is “silent or ambiguous with respect to the

specific issuc, the question for the court is whether

the agency’s answer is based on a _ permissible

construction of the statute.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at

843, 104 S.Ct. 2778. It is not sufficient for a plaintiff

to offer an alternative, equally permissible

construction. Id. at 843 n. 11, 104 S.Ct. 2778.

B. Analysis

Plaintiffs argue that the phrase “eligible for

medical assistance under a State plan approved

under subchapter XIX of this chapter” is

unambiguous. It is undisputed that HCAP is part of

Ohio’s State Plan and that the State Plan has been

approved by the Secretary under Title XIX. Thus,

Plaintiffs argue, by definition, the Numerator should

include HCAP patients.

The Secretary argues that he has reasonably

interpreted the same phrase to mean “eligible for

16a

Medicaid;” that the phrase in the statute is “long-

hand”; and that the terms are interchangeable. He

seems to assert that the statute is ambiguous, or at

least not “clearly unambiguous.” Thus, the Secretary

asserts that his reasonable interpretation is entitled

to deference; the statute does not require him to

include HCAP patients in the Numerator. He further

argues that exclusion of HCAP patient days is

proper because those individuals are clearly not

eligible for Medicaid.

The Secretary’s argument is unpersuasive. The

statutory formula unambiguously directs’ the

Secretary to include all “patients who ... were eligible

for medical assistance under a State plan approved

under [Title] XIX” in the Numerator. §

1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vij(1D. “(T]he statutory scheme is

coherent and consistent” and “the language at issue

has a plain and unambiguous meaning with regard

to the particular dispute in the case.” Barnhart, 534

U.S. at 450, 122 S.Ct. 941. Congress said what it

meant; if Congress had meant to restrict the

Numerator to Medicaid-eligible patients, it could

have explicitly done so. The phrase “eligible for

medical assistance under a state plan approved

under Title XIX “ is not “long-hand” for “eligible for

Medicaid.” It is undisputed that HCAP is a “state

plan approved under Title XIX.” Accordingly, the

Secretarys exclusion of HCAP patients is

inconsistent with the plain language of the statute

and cannot be upheld.

The application of the Numerator to patients

covered by plans like the one at issue in the present

case is an issue of first impression in federal courts.

However, it is not the first time that federal courts

17a

have addressed the Secretary’s interpretation of the

Numerator. From 1986 through 1997, the Secretary

construed the first portion of this Numerator to

include only those patients who were both eligible for

Medicaid payments under the relevant state

Medicaid plan and for whom the hospital actually

received such payments from the state. Providers

challenged this interpretation, arguing that the

statute unambiguously required the Secretary to

include all days for which a patient was eligible for

Medicaid, not just the days for which Medicaid was

paid. Every circuit court that subsequently

considered the Secretary’s interpretation uniformly

concluded that the word “eligible” should be given its

plain meaning; the Numerator unambiguously

includes all patient days for which a patient was

eligible for Medicaid regardless of whether a state

Medicaid program actually paid the hospital for

services provided to the patient. See Cabell

Huntington Hosp., Inc. v. Shalala, 101 F.3d 984, 988

(4th Cir. 1996); Legacy Emanuel Hosp. and Health

Ctr. v. Shalala, 97 F.3d 1261, 1266 (9th Cir. 1996);

Deaconess Health Servs. Corp. v. Shalala, 83 F.3d

1041, 1041 (8th Cir. 1996); Jewish Hosp., Inc. v.

Secretary of Health and Human Serus., 19 F.3d 270,

276 (6th Cir. 1994). Similarly, the statute should be

given its plain meaning here. The Secretary points

out that these courts often substituted “Medicaid” for

“medical assistance” in paraphrasing the statute. He

argues that this proves that the terms are

interchangeable, but those slips of language are not

even dicta. Nor do such statements suggest that the

statutory language is ambiguous; the part of the

phrase at issue here was not before those courts.

Finally, while the plain language of the statute

18a

speaks for itself, it is noteworthy that Congress’

purpose in enacting the Adjustment was based on its

determination that care for low-income patients

consumes a_ disproportionately large share of

hospitals’ resources, resulting in higher Medicare

costs. See H.R. Rep. No. 99-241, at 16 (1985),

reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 579, 594. The

Adjustment was clearly intended to measure “the

entire low-income population actually served by the

hospitals.” Portland Adventist Med. Ctr. v.

Thompson, 399 F.3d 1091, 1099 (9th Cir. 2005).’

III. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, in an accompanying

order Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is

granted, and Defendant’s cross-motion for summary

judgment is denied.

' This case addressed the Secretary's exclusion of patient

days covered by a state “demonstration project authorized

under title IX.” In 2005, Congress amended the statute to

give the Secretary discretion to include or exclude such

patients. See Deficit Reduction Omnibus Act of 2005, Pub.

L. No. 109-171, § 5002. Both Parties agree, and [|

conclude, that the 2005 amendment did not alter the

application of the statute to state plans approved under

Title XIX.

19a

United States District Court,

District of Columbia.

ADENA REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER, ect al.,

Plaintiffs,

V.

Michael A. LEAVITT, Secretary, United States

Department of Health and Human Services,

Defendant.

Civil Action No. 05-2422 (LFO).

June 11, 2007.

ORDER

For the reasons explained in an accompanying

memorandum opinion, it is this 11th day of June,

2007 hereby

ORDERED: that Plaintiffs’ Motion For Summary

Judgment [dkt # 7] is GRANTED; and it is further

ORDERED: that Defendant’s Cross-Motion for

Summary Judgment [dkt # 16] is DENIED; and it is

further

ORDERED: that the Defendant’s interpretation of

the Medicare statute and 42 C.F.R. 412.106(b)(4) to

exclude Ohio's Health Care Assurance Plan

(““HCAP”) patients from the calculation of the

Disproportionate Hospital Share Adjustment is

REVERSED; and it is further

ORDERED: that the above-captioned matter is

remanded to the Secretary of the Department of

Health and Human Services. The Secretary shall

20a

instruct the Fiscal Intermediary in Ohio: (1) to

correct each of the Plaintiff Hospitals’ cost reports at

issue to include HCAP days; (2) to recalculate the

Disproportionate Hospital Share Adjustment

accordingly; and (3) to make the resulting payment

within 90 days of receiving the _ required

documentation from the Hospitals; and it is further

ORDERED: that the payments shall include an

award of interest pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 139500(f)(2); and it is further

ORDERED: this Court retains jurisdiction in this

matter pending further order.

/s/

Louis F. Oberdorfer

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Zla

United States Court of Appeals,

District of Columbia Circuit.

No. 07-5273

ADENA REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER, ec, al.,

Appellees.

V.

Michael O. LEAVITT, Secretary of the United States

Department of Health and Human Services,

Appellee.

Filed: July 31, 2008

BEFORE: Sentelle, Chief Judge, and Ginsburg and

Brown, Circuit Judges

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellees’ petition for

panel rehearing filed on July 14, 2008, it is

ORDERED that the petition be denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

BY: /s/

Michael C. McGrail

Deputy Clerk,

United States Court of

Appeals, District o:

Columbia Circuit.

228

United States Court of Appeals,

District of Columbia Circuit.

No. 07-5273

ADENA REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER, et al.,

Appellees,

V.

Michael O. LEAVITT, Secretary of the United States

Department of Health and Human Services,

Appellee.

Filed: July 31, 2008

BEFORE: Sentelle, Chief Judge, and Ginsburg,

Henderson, Randolph, Rogers, Tatel, Garland,

Brown, Griffith, and Kavanaugh, Circuit Judges.

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellees’ petition for

rehearing en banc, and the absence of a request by

any member of the court for a vote, it is

ORDERED that the petition be denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

BY: /s/

Michael C. McGrail

Deputy Clerk,

United States Court of

Appeals, District of

Columbia Circuit.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.