Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Roby v. Danzig

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ies FILED

BBL B77 yav4 1999

OFFICE OF THE CLEKK

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

THELMA ROBY

DARLENE SHARPE

JAMES WELCOME,

Petitioners,

VS.

JOHN H. DALTON,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit Court

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THELMA L. ROBY, Pro Se

DARLENE D. SHARPE, Pro Se

JAMES R. WELCOME, Pro Se

502 North Green Street

Pensacola, Florida 32505

(850) 432-4090

9

>

a

i

QUESTION(S) PRESENTED

Are the issues outlined in the appeal before this

Supreme Court precedent setting?

Were the Plaintiffs-Appellants’ constitutional nghts to

due process denied when the Appeals Court upheld the

lower court decision to dismiss the aforementioned

complaints including Johnson et. al., case number

94-30165RV, even after they were made aware that the

Attorney of Record for the Plaintiffs-Appellants was

incompetent, lacked standing, and was on suspension by the

Florida Bar to practice law in the State of Florida?

Would the fact that an attomey who has been

sanctioned for disciplinary action by the lower court for

similar failures, require a higher level of constitutional

scrutiny by the District Court for failure to adequately

exercise the duties and responsibilities to properly defend

her clients, in order to ensure other clients did not fall prey

to the same deficiencies (see LW 96-1072 Robb VS.

Mississippi Bar)?

Were the Pilaintiffs-Appellants denied their

constitutional rights to due process of law, as stated in the

fourteenth amendment of the Constitution of the United

States, when their Counsel of Record, Sadie Moore Stewart,

failed to diligently represent her clients, explain matters to

them, and inform them that she was under suspension to

practice law in the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Florida?

Are the Plaintiffs-Appellants entitled to due process of

law because of their legal representative’s failure to provide

adequate defense, failure to timely respond to motions, and

failure to correct deficiencies in original filing of claim?

il

When the Northern District Court severed the case of

Abraham Johnson, et. al into 48 separate cases, was the

court's failure to grant discovery to each individually named

Plaintiff a violation of Plaintiffs-Appellants’ Constitutional

right of due process?

Did the Appeal Court violate Rule 39 (d) when it

allowed the taxable cost out of time?

anette

aloe GA aD BLM A oy . sth eel

PR Ad he

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW

The parties before this Court are those set forth in the

caption, as well as those listed below.

COX, BIRCH AND MARCUS,

Circu:t Judges, United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh

Circuit

ANTHONY R. CROUSE,

Special Assistant, U.S. Attorney,

Counsel for Defendant-Appellee

ANDREA HEFFERNAN,

Counsel for Defendant-Appellee

PAMELA A. MOINE, Assistant U.S. Attorney,

Counsel for Defendant-Appellee

P. MICHAEL PATTERSON, U. S. Attorney,

Counsel for Defendant-Appellee

MARK EVAN FREDERICK, Esquire,

Prior Counsel for Plaintiff-Appellant

SADIE MOORE STEWART, Esquire,

Prior Counsel for Plaintiff-Appellant

THE HONORABLE ROGER VINSON,

United States District Judge, Northern District of Florida

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SI II iia seissicc cecercsninvarondasnxeswigciapssctcoonaonss i

Parties to the Proceeding Below......................ccce000c0008- iii

Fe Oe EI ca ivittisdereecesssstecinbieirervtcenmennnactenes iv

Tee EE i iii tiated v

Petition for Writ of Certiorari .................cccsccceseseescesseees |

Seotennetlt CE FIN assis: <cantesenievasetsvtesincetsepscienses I

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

NOU ois cea succinate tlinisned Nniaiemicheailainiitciiiecaisoaiasusses l

Seem CE Ge CNN iwi ssiits sian dicen iat dais pcchovconss 3

A. Attomey Representation. .................ccsssescsccsceesesees 3

B. Responsibility I iis wiciddeveniaseseeses 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ... RES SST aE TE EOE 7

COC i ioccccceccicinaicccrcanchrn Racnutnuphdensian 10

ci wig i.e a lh lll

ron =

v

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Page

Statutes and Rules Cited:

Florida Statutes (1998 edition); Title XXXII,

Regulation of Professions and

PT ER SS RCE ae a ss iabatesbein 2

Chapter 454; Attormey at Law ...............ccccccccccsccsescesensers 2

Rules Regulating the Florida Bar...............0.....00c0ccccc0c00e. 2

The Federal Rules of Appellate Procedures

| REC SUN EEC Pot Ok SURED Tee bys ARE ME Pee MEER ee a 2

Cases Cited:

Pennoyer v. Neiff, 95 U.S. 733, 24 L.Ed.565 ................. 7

Cohen v. Hurley, 366 U.S. 117, 124(1961) 0.000.000... 9

ee

]

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Thelma Roby, Darlene Sharpe, and James Welcome

respectfully petition for certiorari to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh

Circuit in Thelma L. Roby v. John H. Dalton, Secretary of

the Navy, Darlene D. Sharpe v. John H. Dalton, Secretary

of the Navy, and James R. Welcome v. John H. Dalton,

Secretary of the Navy.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. subsection 1254(1).

The date on which the United States Court of Appeals

decided my case was October 6, 1998.

A timely petition for rehearing was denied by the

United States Court of Appeals on October 6. 1998, and a

copy of the order denying rehearing appears at Appendix C.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The United States Constitution. Amendment XIV,

Section 1, “All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of

the United States and of the state wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor

shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

law."

2

Florida Statutes. The 1998 edition; Title XXXII;

Regulation of Professions and Occupations; Chapter 454;

Attorney at Law, 454.31, Practice while disbarred or

suspended prohibited. “Any person who has been disbarred

and who has been lawfully reinstated or is under suspension

from the practice of law by any circuit court of the state or

by the Supreme Court of the state who shall either directly

or indirectly practice law in any manner or hold himself or

herself out as an attorney at law or qualify to practice law

shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree,

punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

The Flonda Bar Rule 1-3.4 CLER Delinquent

Members and CLER Exempt Members. (a) CLER

Delinquent Members. Any member who is suspended by

reason of failure to complete continuing legal education

requirements shall be deemed a delinquent member. A

delinquent member shall not engage in the practice of law in

this state and shall not be entitled to any privileges and

benefits according to members of the Florida Bar in good

standing.

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure. Rule 39(d),

Bill of Costs; Objections; Coast to be inserted in Mandate

or Added Later. A party who desires such costs to be taxed

shall state them in an itemized and verified bill of costs

which the party shall file with the clerk, with proof of

service, within 14 days after the entry of judgment.

Objections to the bill of costs must be filed within 10 days

of service on the party against whom costs are to be taxed

unless the time is extended by the court. The clerk shall

prepare and certify an itemized statement of costs taxed in

the court of appeals for insertion in the mandate, but the

issuance of the mandate shall not be delayed for taxation of

GAG Raa tari ee AS We candle ieee

3

costs and if the mandate has been issued before final

determination of costs, the statement, or any amendment

thereof, shall be added to the mandate upon request by the

Clerk of the Court of Appeals to the Clerk of the District

Court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. ATTORNEY REPRESENTATION

The Plaintiffs-Appellants entered into an Agreement

for Representation with Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart,

Florida Bar # 970530, in September 1995, regarding case

No. 94-30165-RV, Johnson, et. al vs. John H. Dalton,

Secretary of the Navy (Appendix D). Attorney Sadie Moore

Stewart signed the Agreement For Representation and

received compensation in the amount of $15,000.00 for

services to provide legal counseling and representation to

Plaintiffs. Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart told Plaintiffs that

she had extensive experience in Title VII law and she would

represent all 46 Plaintiffs in this case. Stewart was given

two checks, one for $5,000.00 to be immediately deposited,

and one for $10,000 to be held until Cohesion, Inc. was

reimbursed funds by it’s original attorney, Mark Evan

Frederick, who had recently requested to be relieved from

the case. Instead of Stewart following the guidelines of the

verbal agreement she made with her clients, she

immediately and prior to Cohesion, Inc. receiving a written

contract presented both checks to Cohesion, Inc.'s bank for

payment. Cohesion, Inc. continued to press her for a

written contract, however, one never materialized. On

November 6, 1995, because of Stewart's negligence in

providing a contract, Cohesion, Inc., with limited

experience, drafted a contract that was then signed by all

parties. In that contract, providing timely responses and

4

completing all motions thereto, as well as establishing an

escrow account, were the main issues of the contract. The

Plaintiffs paid an additional $2,500 to Stewart in September

1995 to cover retainer and assistance fees during the

deposition of Plaintiffs in the Johnson, et. al.

The Florida Bar filed its complaint in the Supreme

Court of Florida against Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart

(Appendix E) to conduct disciplinary proceedings according

to Rule 3-7.6, Rules of Discipline. Attorney Sadie Moore

Stewart continued her practice of law during the period that

she was ineligible to practice law in Florida and despite her

knowledge that she was ineligible to do so. Rule 1-3.4(a) of

the Florida Bar states:

"A delinquent member shall not engage in the practice

of law in this state and shall not be entitled to any privileges

and benefits afforded to members of the Florida Bar in good

standing.”

Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart did not provide

reasonable diligence and promptness in representing the

Plaintiffs-Appellants, nor did she make them aware of her

suspension. Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart was suspended

from practicing law in Flonda for 91 days, effective

immediately, following a May 14th court order. In several

unrelated cases, Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart violated

rules regulating the Florida Bar. She practiced law while

suspended and failed to diligently represent her clients,

explain matters fully to clients, meet contingency fee

guidelines, and comply with many other Florida Bar rules.

Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart failed to respond to motions,

file claims, and responded out of time to the District Court

on behalf of her clients. She violated the attorney/client trust

and the Agreement for Representation. knowledge of

5

negligence. The U. S. Attorney had the responsibility of

reporting a pattern of misconduct especially

B. RESPONSIBILITY OF OTHER PARTIES

Even though Stewart is guilty of not properly

informing her clients, the defendant's attorneys had an

ethnical obligation to inform responsible parties. They also

had an obligation, instead of making the Plaintiffs and

Stewart the butt of jokes, to inform the court also of this

knowledge of negligence. The U.S. Attorney had the

responsibility of reporting a pattern of misconduct

especially where the victim (who were the Plaintiffs ) was

unlikely to discover the offenses. Rule 4-8.3 of the Florida

Bar requires a lawyer who has knowledge that another

lawyer has violated the rules of professional conduct raises

a honesty, trustworthiness, or fitness as a lawyer, in other

respects, should inform the appropriate professional

authority. The Defendant had at his disposal U. S. Attorney,

P. Michael Patterson, Assistant U. S. Attorney, Pamela A.

Moine, and both their staff, contract support personnel, and

15 other U. S. Attorneys from across the country. These

individuals, with such an elaborate amount of proficiency,

had to know that the actions or the lack of actions by he

attorney of record, Sadie Moore Stewart, would subject

Plaintiffs to a status of loss of due process. Self regulation

of the legal profession requires that members of the

profession initiate disciplinary investigation when they

know of a violation of the rule of professional conduct,

especially when reporting a violation where the victim is

unlikely to discover the defense. Since none of the Plaintiffs

were bar certified, when the incompetence of our attorney

was discovered, the District Court had already rendered a

decision in favor of the Defendant on a file that lacked any

6

assertion of defense on behalf of the Plaintiffs. Lawyers

have an obligation, with respect to judicial misconduct, to

notify the appropriate authonties. The appropriate person

that should have been notified in this case is the United

States District Court Judge, Roger Vinson, whom himself

should have recognized the deficiencies in the pleadings, the

response or lack of motions, and the gross negligence of the

attorney of record to provide a proper defense. In his

decision to grant summary judgment, he made mention of

the lack of defense by Plaintiffs. Knowing all this, the

District Court Judge, Roger Vinson, denied every attempt

by Pro Se Plaintiffs to have the record supplemented so that

a fair and impartial decision could be rendered. In order for

any element of due process to be maintained, Plaintiffs

should have been allowed to present, in full, their case. The

United States District Court was aware of the deficiencies

of the attorney of record because they themselves

reprimanded Sadie Stewart in a similar case by public

reprimand (1997, TFB File Number 98-00713-O1B). The

pleadings of the case presented to the court was so deficient

that the issues were interchanged from one Plaintiff to

another, even after numerous attempts by the Plaintiffs to

correct the pleadings on record during video taped

deposition and interrogatories. The U. S. District Judge also

made rulings on claims for which he lacked jurisdiction and

which the appeal's court upheld. Furthermore, the U. S.

District Judge made rulings on issues of one Plaintiff which

were actually issues of another Plaintiff for which the

Plaintiffs specifically and correctly identified on the record

during video taped deposition. The U. S. Attorney was fully

aware during the long, drawn out, drooling, intimidating,

and costly video taped deposition that the pleadings were

grossly incorrect, but because the Defendant had no

intention of justice being served, issues were defended that

7

were not properly identified as issues of each individual

Plaintiff. The question is how could the U.S. District Court

render a decision based on insufficient pleadings, and how

could the Appeals Court uphold the lower court's decision

on pleadings that were not properly pled?

In as much as Pro Se Plaintiffs-appellants' research

has not uncovered any existing case law that deals

specifically with the denial of due process in a civil action.

Plaintiffs-appellants believed that this case is npe for

decision by the Supreme Court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Whereas, Pro Se Plaintiffs-Appellants retained in

good faith Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart, believing her to

be of sound, experienced, and competent legal authority,

and realized the opposite until such time the District Court

rendered a decision unfavorable to the Plaintiffs-Appellants.

Plaintiffs-Appellants should not be deprived of _ their

constitutional nght to due process due to the negligent

misconduct and misrepresentation of Attorney Sadie Moore

Stewart, and due to the failure of the U.S. Attorney and the

District Judge to protect their constitutional mghts. The

Petition of Wnt of Certioran should be granted in this case

because the decision rendered in this case is precedent in

nature. To allow the lower court's decision granting

summary judgment to stand would be in direct opposition to

decisions rendered in previous cases of similar matters

(where the negligence of an attorney to properly defend

his/her client and where the client was denied his/her

constitutional rights to due process) have been overturned

by higher courts (Pennoyer v. Neiff. 95 U.S. 733,

24L.Ed.565.). Furthermore, opposition to previous

8

decisions rendered would be the case if the decision is

upheld to grant taxable costs by the Defendant to be

incurred by individual Plaintiffs for a claim that was filed

out of time in accordance with the Federal Rule of

Appellant Procedure Rule 39 (d), and merely to intimidate

and deter individuals from pursuing claims of

discrimination by billing exorbitant cost to the Plaintiffs.

The Constitution of the United States guarantees that

each Plaintiff can expect legal representation and a proper

defense. This system has failed in its obligation to the

Plaintiffs-Appellees. The docket sheets alone show that the

Plaintiffs-Appellants always lacked proper defense,

representation, and discovery. The Plaintiffs-Appellants

were charged thousands of dollars for the production of

documents that were not included in records that have been

before this honorable court and that addresses the Plaintiffs-

Appellees’ nights to due process of law. We believe this

case will set a standard of precedence that can be measured

for numerous Plaintiffs whose cases have fallen prey to the

same type of deficiencies in civil and criminal action. If this

was a criminal action, the Supreme Court will overturn the

lower court's decisions solely on the reason that the Plaintiff

did not have proper defense. Plaintiffs-Appellants have their

constitutional rights to counsel. This means adequate legal

representation, someone working for the well being of the

clients, not just a warm body. If the Justices would pattern

their decision in a criminal defense with the situation of an

incompetent attorney in this civil case, this case would be

remanded back to the District Court for a proper hearing

before the District Court Judge, who would make a decision

based on a complete and accurate case file.

9

While lawyers act in part as "self-employed

businessmen,” they also act "as trusted agents of their

clients, and as assistants to the court in search of a just

solution to disputes." (Cohen v. Hurley,366 U. S. 117, 124

(1961). The conduct of attorneys is governed by rules

established by each state and by the American Bar

Association's Model Rules of Professional Conduct. All

attorneys Owe a duty to provide competent and diligent

representation to each of it’s clients. Attorneys are required

to be familiar with well-settled principles of law applicable

to a case and to discover law that can be found through a

reasonable and discover facts that could materially affect

the client's legal rights. This is the Attorney's Duty of Care.

The Plaintiffs did not receive due process of law nor did

they receive the Attorney's Duty of Care due to Attorney

Sadie Moore Stewart's inability to practice law, and her

ineligibility to properly represent her clients because she

could not practice law before the Florida Bar

Despite the above, and that this honorable court has

set standards in historical cases such as Brown v. Board of

Education, Roe v. Wade, McDonnell Douglas Corp. v.

Green, and Texas Department of Community Affairs v.

Burdine, the U. S. District Court along with the U. S.

Attorneys, have inexplicably failed to enforce the same

course and magnitude used in previous rulings to ensure

fairness and justice was upheld.

10

CONCLUSION

Whereas, Pro Se Plaintiffs-Appellants have been

denied any form of due process, we prey that this honorable

court would restore our constitutional nght. The petition for

a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Duala wo

THELMA L. ROBY

Pro Se

DARLENE D. SHARPE

Pro Se

JAMES R. WELCOME

Pro Se

502 North Green Street

Pensacola, Florida 32505 q

(850) 432 - 4090 7

APPENDIX

:

Ange

yi

ie

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Appendix A — Decisions of the Eleventh Circuit

Court of Appeals (4) Filed June 30, July 1, and

Bay UT, Pe Re Ee ee as la

Appendix B — Decisions of the District Court for the

Northern District of Florida (3) Filed September 25,

September 16, and August 8, 1996.00.00... 10a

Appendix C — Orders (3) denying rehearing by the

United States Court of Appeals (3) Filed October 6,

September 16, and October 20,1998... 58a

Appendix D — Agreement for Representation

between Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart and

Plaintiffs Dated November 6, 1995... 6la

Appendix E — Report of the Referee; The Florida

Bar vs. Sadie Moore Stewart Filed April 27,

ESE bectcnas cosigess elas las lGh OU piaiemadinecistiids <5). 65a

Appendix F — Plaintiffs-Appellants’ FOLA/Privacy

Act Request to the Agency Dated

a he ge MA GOERS TS CE REN es Oa 92a

Appendix G — FOIA Officer’s Response to

Plaintiffs-Appellants’ FOLA/Privacy Act

mompnet Dated Jane 21995 666i se. 98a

Appendix H — The Supreme Court of Florida

Disciplines Sadie Moore Stewart Filed July 2,

Cape UPA nar SRR AE ces 2Ur Boo ae SE 99a

la

APPENDIX A——DECISIONS OF THE ELEVENTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS (4) FILED JUNE 30,

JULY 1, AND JULY 17, 1998

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3689

Non-Argument Calendar

District Court Docket No. 96-CV-1 42

THELMA L. ROBY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Florida

Before COX, BIRCH and MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of the

record from the United States District Court for the

Northen District of Florida, and was taken under

submission by the Court upon the record and briefs on file,

pursuant to Eleventh Circuit Rule 34 - 3:

2a

Appendix A

UPON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now

hereby ordered and adjudged by this court that the

judgment of the said District Court in this cause be and the

same is hereby AFFIRMED,

It is FURTHER ORDERED THAT Piaintiff-appellant

pay to the defendant-Appellee, the costs on appeal to be

taxed by the Clerk of Court.

Entered: June 30, 1998

For the Court: Thomas K. Kahn, Clerk

By: “s/

Deputy Clerk

ISSUED AS MANDATE: Oct 30 1998

.

}

4

4

|

Beeps Cnet Nea” Une cadena Cte te aera

3a

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3412

Non-Argument Calendar

District Court Docket No. 3:96-CV-151

DARLENE D. SHARPE,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Florida

Before COX, BIRCH and MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of the

record from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Florida, and was taken under

submission by the Court upon the record and briefs on file,

pursuant to Eleventh Circuit Rule 34 - 3;

4a

Appendix A

UPON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now

hereby ordered and adjudged by this court that the judgment

of the said District Court in this cause be and the same ts

hereby AFFIRMED,

It is FURTHER ORDERED THAT Plaintiff-appellant

pay to the defendant-Appellee, the costs on appeal to be

taxed by the Clerk of this Court.

Entered: July 1, 1998

For the Court: Thomas K. Kahn, Clerk

By: “s/ ae?

Deputy Clerk

ISSUED AS MANDATE: Sep 25 1998

Sa

Appendix A

[DO NOT PUBLISH]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3412-1

Non-Argument Calendar

D.C. Docket No. 3:96-CV-151-RV

DARLENE D. SHARPE,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Florida

(July 1, 1998)

Before COX, BIRCH and MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

6a

Appendix A

Darlene Sharpe appeals summary judgment against

her on her claims against the Secretary of the Navy for

discrimination on the basis of race and in retaliation for

EEO activity. We affirm.

One of Sharpe's claims is that in 1989 she was

discriminatorily placed in a nonprofessional job series. She

filed a timely complaint with the Navy's Equal Employment

Office concerning this claim, but she later abandoned it.

(R.1-315, McCann Decl. Tab 2 at 17.) In 1993, she filed

another EEO complaint raising the same claim. (R. 1-315,

Haworth Decl. Tab 1.) The EEO dismissed this complaint

as untimely, and she appealed this dismissal to the Equal

Opportunity Employment Commission. (/d; R.1-315,

Haworth Decl. Tab 3.) While the EEOC appeal was

pending, but before 180 days had elapsed from the filing of

the appeal, Cohesion, Inc., a corporation, sued the Secretary

of the Navy claiming employment discrimination on behalf

of 33 people, including Sharpe. (See R.2-464, at 1, 5.) The

district court dismissed this complaint for want of standing.

(See id.) The current amended complaint including Sharpe

as a named Plaintiff was filed after Sharpe had received a

ruling from the EEOC affirming the dismissal of her

complaint as untimely. (See R. 1-17; R. 1-315, Haworth

Decl. Tab 4.)

The district court concluded on this procedural history

that it lacked jurisdiction over this claim because less that

180 days had elapsed from the filing of the EEOC appeal

when Cohesion, Inc. filed suit. (See R.2-464, at 5 (citing 29

C.F.R.§ 1614.408(d); Tolbert v. United States, 916 F.2d

245, 248 (Sth Cir. 1990)).) But Sharpe was not a party to

ee

Sa PR AION Sie REL OPI TS VeRO

Ta

Appendix A

the Cohesion, Inc. suit; she first asserted a claim in district

court when the amended complaint was filed. At that time.

she had received an EEOC ruling. The district court thus

had jurisdiction. And it properly granted summary

judgment because the EEO correctly determined that

Sharpe's complaint to the EEO was untimely, having been

filed four years after the alleged discriminatory actions! See

Pacheco v. Rice, 966 F.2d 904, 905 (5th Cir. 1992) (claims

untimely presented to the EEO barred from federal court

consideration absent grounds for excuse).

The district court found that it lacked jurisdiction for

similar reasons on Sharpe's retaliation claims, but went on to

hold on the merits that Sharpe had not shown a prima facie

case of retaliation. We agree with the district court's

analysis of the merits of the retaliation claims.

For the foregoing reasons, the grant of summary

judgment is affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

It appears that Sharpe's filing suit was untimely because it followed

the EEOC ruling by more than 90 days, see 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16(c), but the

Secretary docs not malice such an argument, and we do not address it.

8a

Appendix A

{DO NOT PUBLISH]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3210

Non-Argument Calendar

D.C. Docket No. 3:96-CV-174-RV

JAMES R. WELCOME,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Flonda

(July 17, 1998)

Before COX, BIRCH and MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

ee

- we * tek: i ne Sarees Se ees Ea Pee et ee ee ee =o ee 4 ci ea Ot a a en RO OL ATE Se ha he arr

jolene nn Es SSRIS — —

3

]

$

: cd

3

&

4

‘

9a

Appendix A

The district court properly granted summary judgment

for the reasons stated in the district court’s summary

judgment order. (R.2-457.) The other issues raised by

Welcome on this appeal are meritless and do not warrant

discussion. See 11" Cir, R. 36-1.'

AFFIRMED.

“Costs taxed against the Plaintiff-appellant.”

Entered: July 17, 1998

For the Court: Thomas K. Kahn, Clerk

By: “s/_ =

11 Cir R.36-1 provides:

When the court determines that any of the following exist:

(a) judgment of the district court is based on findings of fact that are not

clearly erroneous;

(b) the evidence in support of a jury verdict is sufficient

(c) the order of an administrative agency is supported by substantial

evidence on the record as a whole:

(d) summary judgment, directed verdict, or judgment on the pleadings is

supported by the record:

(¢) judgment has been entered without a reversible error of law:

and an opinion would have no precedential vaiue, the judgment or

order may be affirmed or enforced without opinion.

10a

APPENDIX B——DECISIONS OF THE DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF

FLORIDA (3) FILED SEPTEMBER 23,

SEPTEMBER 16, AND AUGUST 8, 1996

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PENSACOLA DIVISION

THELMA ROBY,

Plaintiff,

Case No. 96cv142-RV

v.

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant. /

ORDER

Pending is the defendant’s motion for summary

judgment of the claims of Plaintiff Thelma Roby. (doc.232)

Also pending is the defendant’s motion for partial summary

judgment for the disparate treatment and retaliation claims

of the Plaintiff. (doc. 367)

I. BACKGROUND

This is an employment discrimination action, brought

pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42

U.S.C. ss 2000e, et. seq.). Originally, former Plaintiff

Cohesion, Inc. attempted to sue on behalf of thirty-three

individuals; however, the defendant’s motion to dismiss

lla

Appendix B

for lack of standing was granted on January 27, 1995. The

complaint was amended to substitute forty-six individual

Plaintiffs, including Thelma Roby. The claims of the

individual Plaintiffs were later severed into individual

actions.

The Plaintiff, Thelma Roby, is a black female. Roby

alleges that the defendant subjected her to numerous

discriminatory practices during the course of her

employment, and that she was discriminated against on the

basis of her race. Roby also alleges retaliation. Except as

noted, the following facts are not in dispute.

Roby began working at Naval Aviation Depot

Pensacola ("NADEP") in March 1988 as a Man-hour Cost

Accounting Clerk (GS-0503-02) in the Management

Controls Department. She was promoted to GS-04 in

October 1988. She was promoted to Shot Peening Machine

Operator (WG-3769-01) in March 1989, and to Welder

Helper (WG-3703-05) in October 1989. In April 1990 she

was promoted to Shot Peening Machine Operator

(WG-3769-08) in the Metals Division of the Production

Department. Her position was moved to the Manufacturing

& Components Department at NADEP in October 1991.

She transferred to the North Island (California) Detachment

in February 1995, where she works today.

In 1991, Roby applied for EEO Specialist GS-7 and

GS-9 positions for which she was rated highly qualified and

qualified, respectively. She was not selected for the

positions. Eva Leatherwood and Greg Stallworth, both

black employees, were selected for the positions. According

to Roby, her non-selection was in retaliation for her union

activities and for past EEO complaints. Roby filed a formal

eee eee y Se ee ee i ee

12a

Appendix B

complaint on June 24, 1993, and _ signed a_ settlement

agreement on June 30, 1994. (Haworth decl., ex. 3-4)

Roby filed an appeal to the EEOC on October 21, 1994,

alleging that the defendant failed to comply with the

settlement agreement. (Haworth decl., ex. 4-5).

In March 1993, Roby's first line supervisor, Philemon

Evans, asked Roby to stand in for him since it was Roby's

turn on the roster. Roby attended a meeting as acting

supervisor regarding allowing employees to take smoke

breaks only at designated break times. When Roby asked

the employees to sign a roster, Evelyn Mercon wrote "under

protest" on the roster next to her name. When Roby asked

Mercon if she had a problem, Mercon told Roby that she

had a problem with Roby being acting supervisor. Roby

attempted to leave the room, and Mercon blocked her exit

and pushed her back into the room. According to Roby, the

defendant did not punish Mercon for her behavior, and

failed to protect Roby from further possible incidents

involving Mercon.

According to Roby, she was orally admonished by

Leroy Boyd, a supervisor, regarding the incident with

Mercon. Boyd told Roby that she did not have the authority

to counsel Mercon. Roby alleges that Boyd's comments

were made in retaliation for his being named in her previous

EEO complaints.

Roby alleges that she was denied training and

experience in the hazardous materials area starting in 1991.

Roby was not able to apply for temporary promotions to

several hazardous waste positions because she did not have

13a

Appendix B

the necessary training. Although Roby asked for training in

November 1992, she was told that such training would

never lead to permanent positions. She requested training

from Albert Baxter in 1992 and wrote a memorandum

requesting that she be allowed to work with the HAZMAT

team. Roby filed a formal complaint of discrimination on

September 8, 1994.

Roby filed a union grievance on October 30, 1992,

concerning a performance appraisal rating given to her by

Leo Stanford. Roby alleges that Stanford lied on an official

document when he discriminated against her by giving her a

poor performance rating. Roby filed an EEO complaint on

March 29, 1993. The agency dismissed her complaint, and

Roby appealed to the EEOC on May 29,1993 (Haworth

decl., ex.12). On September 3, 1993, the EEOC affirmed

the agency decision, on the ground that Roby had previously

elected to pursue the union grievance procedure.

According to Roby, she was denied the chance to

compete for eighteen positions filled in the Human

Resources Office during September and October 1993.

Roby filed a formal complaint on January 12, 1994

(Haworth deal., ex. 13), which was settled by a mediated

agreement on June 30, 1994. Roby filed an appeal to the

EEOC to enforce the terms of the agreement on October 21,

1994. (Haworth decl., ex. 4-5)

Roby alleges in the amended complaint that: (1) she

was not selected for GS-7 and GS-9 EEO Specialist

positions; (2) the defendant failed to protect her from a

white employee, Evelyn Mercon; (3) she was orally

l4a

Appendix B

admonished by Leroy Boyd; (4) she was denied training and

experience in the hazardous materials area; (5) a supervisor

lied on an official document when he gave Roby a poor

performance rating; and (6) she was denied the opportunity

to compete for eighteen positions in the HRO office during

September and October 1992. Roby also alleges disparate

impact.

Il. ANALYSIS

A. Summary Judgment Standard

A motion for summary judgment should be granted

when "the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law.” Rule 56(c), Fed. R.Civ. P.

"[T]he plain language of Rule 56(c) mandates the entry of

summary judgment, after adequate time for discovery and

upon motion, against a party who fails to make a showing

sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential

to that party's case, and on which that party will bear the

burden of proof at trial." Celotex Corp v. Catrett, 477 U.S.

317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265, 273

(1986). See Everett v. Napoer, 833 F.2d 1507, 1510 (11th

Cir. 1987) .

However, summary judgment is improper "[i]f a

reasonable fact finder could draw more than one inference

' The defendant's motion for partial summary judgment on all plaintiffs’

disparate impact claims was granted on February 28, 1996. (doc. 439)

15a

Appendix B

from the facts, and that inference creates a genuine issue of

material fact." Cornelius v. Highland Lake, 880 F.2d 348,

351 (11th Cir 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1066, 110 S. Ct.

1784, 108 L. Ed. 2d 785 (1990). An issue of fact is

“material” if it might affect the outcome of the case under

the governing law. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S.242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L.Ed.2d 202, 211

(1986). It is "genuine" if the record taken as a whole could

lead a rational trier of fact to find for the non-moving party.

Id See also Matsushita Electric Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp, 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1356, 89 L.Ed.2d

538, 552 (1986).

Conclusory allegations based on _ speculation,

subjective beliefs, or bald assertions based upon

unsubstantiated hearsay are insufficient to create a "genuine

issue of material fact." Carter v. Miami, 870 F.2d 578, 585

(11th Cir.1989); Ramsev Heath, 706 F.2d 1166, 1170 (11th

Cir. 1983). On the other hand, if the record taken as a whole

could lead a rational trier of fact to find for the nonmovin

party, then the issue of fact is genuine, Matsushita Elec.

Industrial Co. Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574.

58648, 1356, 89 L_Ed.2d 538 552 (1986).

The court may not weigh evidence to resolve a factual

dispute; if a genuine issue of material fact is present, the

court must deny summary judgment. Hutcherson _v.

Progressive Corp., 984 F.2d 1152, //55 (11th Cir. 1993).

On a summary judgment motion, the record and all

reasonable inferences that can be drawn from it must be

viewed in the light most favorable to the non-moving party.

McCabe Sharett, 12 F.3d 1558, 1560 (11th Cir. 1994).

l6a

Appendix B

B. Discussion

The defendant contends that several of Robins claims

are barred for failure to exhaust administrative remedies The

defendant also contends that Roby has failed to establish a

prima facie case of discrimination or retaliation.

(1) Failure to Exhaust Administrative Remedies

Roby alleges that she was denied training in the

hazardous materials area, and that as a result, she was not

eligible for temporary promotions to hazardous waste

positions. The defendant contends that Roby's claim is

barred, since she failed to Contact an EEO Counselor within

the required 45 day period.

A federal employee must seek administrative review

of his grievance before filing a suit for unlawful

discrimination in employment under Title V11. Young v.

National Center for Health Serv. Research, 828 F.2d 235,

237 (4th Cir. 1987). As a first step, the employee must

speak to an EEO counselor about an alleged act of

discrimination within 45 days of the alleged act. 29 C.F.R. §

1614.10s(aX1). The time period begins to run when ‘the

facts that would support a charge of discrimination would

have been apparent to a similarly situated person with a

reasonably prudent regard for his nghts." Bovd v. United

States Postal Serv., 752d 410, 414 (9th Cir, 1985); Bickham

v. Miller, 584 F.2d 736 738 (Sth Cir. 1978). Failure to

notify the EEO counselor in timely fashion may bar a claim,

absent a defense of waiver, estoppel, or equitable

tolling. Pacheco v. Rice, 966 F.2d 904,906 (Sth Cir. 1992);

SEE EES

SAAS: iS AER cts

17a

Appendix B

Nealon v. Stone, 958 F.2d 584, 589 (4th Cir. 1992); Benign.

Frank, 943 F.2d 609, 612 (6th Cir. 1991); Bovd v. United

States Postal Serv., 752 F.2d 410, 414 (9th Cir. 1985).

Roby's claims arise from conduct occurring in 1992

and 1993, when hazardous material positions were first

developed in Roby's workplace. (Haworth deal., ex. 8)

Roby filed a formal complaint in September 1994, alleging

that the agency prevented black employees from receiving

hazardous material training in order to prevent them from

gaining permanent positions. (Haworth decl., ex. 8) Roby

testified at her deposition that she suspected in 1992 and

1993 that blacks were being discriminated against by not

being allowed to receive hazardous material training. (Roby

dep., at 103-05) Even where a Plaintiff docs not know all

the facts regarding the mechanisms of the discrimination,

equitable tolling is inappropriate where the Plaintiff was

aware that the defendant was violating her right to be free of

racial discrimination in his employment. See McClinton v.

Alabama By-Products Corp, 743 F.2d 1483, 1487 (11th Cir.

1984). Since Roby failed to notify the EEO counselor in

timely fashion of her claim, and has made no showing of

waiver, estoppel. or equitable tolling, the claim is barred for

failure to exhaust administrative remedies. Roby alleges

that her foreman, Leo Stanford, discriminated against her by

giving her a poor performance rating. The defendant

contends that Roby failed to timely file her civil action as to

this claim.

A federal employee must seek administrative review

of his grievance before filing a suit for unlawful

discrimination in employment under Title Vi1. Brown v.

18a

Appendix B

General Services Administration, 425 U.S. 820, 832-33, 96

S.Ct. 1961,1967-68, 48 L.Ed.2d 402 (1976). A federal

employee who has filed a Title V11 complaint may file a

civil action within 90 days of receiving the Commission's

final decision on an appeal. 29 C.F.R. § 1614.408(c). A

claim may be time barred if filed too late. See Jones

v.Runvon, 32 F.3d 1454, 1457 (Roth Cir. 1994); Long v.

Frank, 22 F.3d 54, 57 (2nd Cir. 1994).

Roby filed an EEO complaint raising this claim on

lViarch 29, 1993. (Haworth decl., ex. 11) The agency

dismissed her complaint, and Roby appealed to the EEOC

on May 29, 1993. (Haworth decl., ex. 12) On September 3,

1993, the EEOC affirmed the agency decision, on the

ground that Roby had previously elected to pursue the union

grievance procedure. Roby filed the present action on May

17, 1994, more than 90 days after she received the EEOC

decision. Accordingly, her claim is barred for failure to

exhaust administrative remedies.

(2} Disparate Treatment

Roby alleges that she was discriminated against when:

(1) she was not selected for GS-7 and GS-9 EEO Specialist

positions for which she was rated highly qualified; (2) her

commander did not take disciplinary action against a white

female employee who assaulted her; and (3) she received an

oral admonishment from a supervisor who was not in her

chain of command. The defendant contends that Roby has

failed to establish a prima facie case of discrimination as to

her claims.

—

19a

Appendix B

Titie V11 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 provides

that it is unlawful for an employer "to discriminate against

any individual with respect to his compensation, terms.

conditions, or privileges of employment, because of such

individual's race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.” 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)1) (1988). The Plaintiff may establish a

prima facie case of discrimination under Title V11 on the

basis of statistical proof of a pattern of discrimination, or on

the basis of direct evidence of discrimination, which

consists of "evidence which, if believed, would prove the

existence of discrimination without inference or

presumption.” Carter _v. City of Miami, 870 F.2d 578,

581-82 (11th Cir. 1989). In the usual case, however, direct

evidence is not present, and the Plaintiff must rely on

circumstantial evidence to prove discriminatory intent, using

the framework established in McDonnell Doualas Coro. v.

Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802-04, 93 S.Ct. 1817, 1824-25, 36

L.Ed.2d 668 (1973). Under McDonnell Douglas, a Plaintiff

establishes a prima facie case of race discrimination under

Title V11 by showing: (1) she belongs to a racial minority;

(2) she was subjected to adverse job action; (3) her

employer treated similarly situated employees outside his

classification more favorably and (4) she was qualified to do

the job. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 411 U.S. at 802, 93

S.Ct. at 1824, 36 L.Ed.2d 677 See_St. Mary's Honor Ctr v

Hicks, _ U.S. _, 113 S.Ct. 2742, 2747, 125L.Ed.2d 407

(1993). Demonstrating a prima facie case is not onerous; it

requires only that the Plaintiff establish facts adequate to

permit an inference of discrimination. Williams v. Ford

Motor Co., 14 F.3d 1305, 1308 (8th Cir. 1994). See Texas

“t_of unity ims _V. ine, 450 U.S. 248,

253-54, 101 S.Ct. 1089, 1093-4, 67 L.Ed.2d 207 (1981).

20a

Appendix B

a. Pr ions T -7 GS-9

Roby contends that she was denied promotions to

GS-7 and GS-9 EEO Specialist positions. The defendant

contends that the Plaintiff has not shown that an equally or

less qualified individual outside of the Plaintiff's class

received the promotion.

Roby applied for GS-7 and GS-9 EEO Specialist

positions in 1992. Eva Leatherwood, Greg Stallworth,

Leona Bjorklund, Patricia Stewart and Frances Pinson were

chosen for the positions. Leatherwood, Stallworth, and

Pinson are black employees, while Bjorklund and Stewart

are white.

Roby was rated “highly qualified" for the GS-7

position, as was the selectee, Leona Bjorklund. (Sass deal.,

ex. 5) Roby had no college credit hours, and no prior EEO

experience. In contrast, Bjorklund had an Associate's

Degree and eight years experience as an EEO Assistant.

Roby was given a rating of "qualified" for the GS-9

position. Stewart had two years of experience as an EEO

Counselor. Stallworth had a Master's Degree in Public

Administration, and experience on the CNET Staff Human

Relations Council. Pinson had three and a half years

experience as an Equal Opportunity Assistant. Leatherwood

had five years experience as an EEO counselor. (Sass deal.,

ex. 7) Of the selectees for the GS-9 position, only Stewart

was not of Roby’s protected class.

2la

Appendix B

While Roby docs not dispute that she did not have as

much EEO-related experience as the selectees, she argues

that her experience as a union representative is sufficient to

qualify her for the positions. However, the agency was

specifically seeking someone experienced in EEO

procedures. (Washington decl.) All the selectees had such

experience, while Roby did not. "[T]he employer has the

discretion to choose among equally qualified candidates,

provided the decision is not based upon unlawful criteria

"Texas Dept of Communitv Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S.

248,259, 101 S.Ct. 1989, 1096,67L.Ed.2d207(1981). Here,

the selectees were selected because they had more

experience and education. Roby has presented no evidence

of discrimination on the part of the defendant in making

selections for the positions. Roby's conclusory allegations of

discrimination are insufficient to create an issue of fact.

Carter _v. Miami, 870 F.2d 578, 585 (llth Cir. 1989);

Forsbero v. Pacific Northwest Bell Tel. Co., 840 F.2d 1409,

1419 (9th Cir. 1988); Meiri v. Dacon, 759 F.2d 989, 998 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 829, 106 S.Ct. 91, 88 L.Ed.2d

74 (1985). In addition, the defendant has proffered evidence

supporting a legitimate nondiscriminatory reason for its

non-selection of Roby for the positions, and Roby has not

come forward with any evidence to show that this reason is

pretextual. The defendant is entitled to summary judgment

on Roby’s non-selection claim.

b. Assault By White Emplovee

Roby alleges that she was assaulted by Evelyn

Mercon, a white employee, and that the defendant failed to

protect Roby from Mercon and forced Roby to work with

Mercon after the assault.

22a

Appendix B

When Roby was allegedly assaulted, she was the.

stand-in supervisor for Philemon Evans, Roby's first line

supervisor. (Evans decl.) Roby submitted a request after the

incident that Mercon be moved out of the building. Mercon

submitted a request through her attorney that Roby be

moved out of the building. (Evans decl.) While an

investigation of the incident was pending, Leroy Boyd, the

shop supervisor, decided to move both Roby and Mercon

out of the shop area. Neither Roby nor Mercon lost any

benefits from being moved out of the shop (Evans deal.).

The defendant contends that Roby has failed to show

that she suffered an adverse job action. I agree. Section

2000e-2(aX1) of Title V1l makes it an unlawful

employment practice to discriminate against an individual

with respect to "compensation, terms, conditions, or

privileges of employment ...." See, e.q., Jordan v. Clark,

847 F.2d 1368, 1373 n.3 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488

U.S. 1006, 109 S.Ct. 786, 102 L.Ed.2d 778 (1989); Bundy

v. Jackson, 641 F.2d 934, 942 (D.C.Cir. 1981). See also

Chandler v. Roudebush, 425 U.S. 840, 841, 96 S.Ct.1949,

1950, 48 L.Ed:2d-4~6 (1976). "[U]ltimate employment

decisions such as hiring, granting leave, discharging,

promoting, and compensating” are the types of personnel

actions subject to Title V11 relief. Page v. Boluer, 645 F.2d

227, 233 (4th Cir.) (en bane), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 892,

102 S.Ct. 388, 70 L.Ed.2d 206 (1981). See Dollis v. Rubin,

77 F.3d 777, 781 (Sth Cir. 1995). There is no Title V11

violation absent a materially adverse change in terms and

conditions of employment. Harlston v. McDonnell Douglas

Corp., 37 F.3d 379, 382 (8th Cir. 1994); Cradv v. Liberty

23a

Appendix B

National Bank & Trust Co. of Indiana, 993 F.2d 132, 136

(7th Cir. 1993); Plaisance v. Travelers Ins. Co., 880 F.Supp.

798, 810 (N.D.Ga. 1994), affd. 56 F.3d 1391 (11 th Cir.

1995). Here, while Roby was moved out of the shop, she

did not lose any benefits or suffer any loss in grade or

salary. She was not disciplined for the incident involving

Mercon. Mercon was treated the same way. Since the

Plaintiff has not shown that she suffered an adverse job

action, she has failed to establish a prima facie case of

discrimination.

c. nishment

Roby alleges that she was orally admonished by a

Supervisor not in her chain of command. The defendant

contends that Roby has failed to show that she suffered an

adverse employment action.

After the incident between Roby and Mercon, Roby’s

Division Director, Harris Hill, asked Roby's supervisor,

Leroy Boyd, to take action on the investigative report

concerning the incident. The report could not conclude who

was telling the truth. Hill decl.; 2 Roby dep., p. 110) Boyd

counseled both employees and advised them that if such an

incident occurred again, they would be disciplined (Roby

dep., p. 9596).

There is no Title V11 violation absent a materially

adverse change in terms and conditions of employment.

Harlston v. McDonnell Douglas Corral., 37 F.3d 379, 382

(8th Cir. 1994). Roby has not shown that she suffered an

24a

Appendix B

adverse change in her employ7ment through receiving the

oral admonishment from Boyd, her supervisor. The

admonishment did not constitute an official disciplinary

action, and was not placed on her personnel record. (Sass

decl., ex. 12) In addition, while Roby alleges racial bias in

the application of- the discipline against her, she has failed

to show that the disciplinary measures enforced against her

were more severe than those enforced against Mercon, a

white female. See Jones v. Gerwens, 874 F.2d 1534, 1540

(11th Cir. 1989). The defendant could not determine which

of the two employees caused the incident, and both received

an oral admonishment. Since Roby has presented no

evidence of discrimination in the decision to orally

admonish her, and the defendant has established legitimate,

non-discriminatory reasons for its action, the defendant is

entitled to summary judgment on Roby's claim.

(3) Retaliation

Roby alleges that she was retaliated against when she

was denied the chance to compete for positions filled in the

Human Resources Office during September and October

1993. According to Roby, eighteen positions were filled

without competition and without regard for the Merit

Promotion process. To establish a prima facie case of

retaliation, the Plaintiff must show: (1) that she engaged in

statutorily protected expression; (2) that she suffered an

adverse employment action; and (3) that there is some

causal relationship between the two events. Meeks v.

Computer Associates Int'l, 15 F.3d 1013, 1021 (11th Cir.

1994); E.E.O.C. v. Ohio Edison Co., 7 F.3d 541 (6th Cir.

1993); Archuleta v. Colorado Dept. of Institutions, 936 F.2d

25a

Appendix B

483 (10th Cir.1991). To recover for retaliation, the Plaintiff

"need not prove the underlying claim of discrimination

which led to [his] protest;" however, the Plaintiff must have

had a reasonable good faith belief that the discrimination

existed. Ti vV. 1 f Tce,

872 F.2d 1491, 1494 (11th Cir. 1989). To meet the causal

link requirement, the Plaintiff "merely has to prove that the

protected activity and the negative employment action are

not completely unrelated." E.E.O.C. v. Reichhold Chemical.

Inc., 988 F.2d 1564, 1571 -72 (llth Cir. 1993). The

Plaintiff must at least establish that the employer was

actually aware of the protected expression at the time the

employer took adverse employment action against the

Plaintiff. Goldsmith v, City of Atmore, 996 F.2d 1155, 1163

(11th Cir. 1993); Weaver v. Casa Gallardo. Inc., 922 F.2d

1515, 1524 (11th Cir. 1991). The employer's awareness of

the statement may be established by circumstantial

evidence. -id.

During September and October 1993, twelve

vacancies existed for GS positions at NAS Pensacola

dealing with personnel functions at elementary and

secondary schools on military installations in the United

States. (Gonzalez decl.) Ten of the positions were filled

competitively through merit staffing, while two were filled

through noncompetitive actions outside the merit staffing

process. (Gonzalez decl.) Seven other vacancies existed at

the Human Resources Office. (Gonzalez deal.) At a meeting

of HRO managers on September 28, 1993, Barry Foster, the

head of HRO, stated that HRO might lose positions not

filled by September 30, 1993, the end of the fiscal year.

26a

Appendix B

Because there was not enough time to conduct merit staffing

competitions, the managers decided to fill the positions

noncompetitively. Foster instructed the managers to select

only employees from activities scheduled for closure or

realignment. Roby did not meet the requirements for the

noncompetitive selection, which depended upon grade level,

and was not eligible for any of the positions. (Gonzalez

deal.) William Gonzalez was the selecting official for the

positions in question. (2 Gonzalez deal.)

Roby docs not dispute that Gonzalez was unaware of

her prior EEO activity at the time he made the selections for

the positions in question. She has presented no evidence

that the other management officials involved in allowing

certain positions to be filled noncompetitively were aware

of her prior EEO activity. To establish a prima facie case of

retaliation, the Plaintiff must at least show the employer was

actually aware of the protected expression at the time the

employer took adverse employment action against the

Plaintiff. Goldsmith v. City of Atmore, 996 F.2d 1 155, |

163 (11th Cir. 1993). Roby has failed to establish the

employer's awareness of her protected activities.

In addition, the defendant has presented legitimate,

non-discriminatory reasons for its actions. Roby docs not

dispute that because of the nature of the vacancies, the

defendant did not have time to use a competitive merit

staffing process to fill the vacancies. Since Roby has failed

to demonstrate that the employer's explanation is a pretext

for retaliation, and has presented no other evidence of

retaliation, the defendant is entitled to summary judgment

on Roby’s retaliation claim. See Goldsmith v. City of

Atmore, 996 F.2d 1 155, 1 163 (11th Cir. 1993).

ee

Ce mee re

27a

Appendix B

Ifl. CONCLUSION

For the reasons discussed above, the defendant's

motions for summary judgment (doc. 232) and for partial

summary judgment (doc. 367)-are GRANTED as to the

claims of Plaintiff Thelma Roby. Since all claims of

Plaintiff Thelma Roby have been resolved, the Clerk is

directed to enter judgment for the defendant and against

Plaintiff Thelma Roby, together with taxable costs.

DONE AND ORDERED this 23rd day of September, 1996.

By: “s / a

ROGER VINSON

United States District Judge

28a

Appendix B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PENSACOLA DIVISION

DARLENE SHARPE,

Plaintiff,

Case No. 95cv151-RV

v.

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant.

/

ORDER

Pending is the defendant’s motion for summary

judgment of the claims of Plaintiff Darlene Sharpe.

(doc.314) Also pending is the defendant’s motion for

partial summary judgment for the retaliation claims of the

Plaintiff (doc. 403).

I. BACKGROUND

This is an employment discrimination action, brought

pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42

U.S.C. ss 2000e, et. seq.). Originally, former Plaintiff

Cohesion, Inc. attempted to sue on behalf of thirty-three

individuals; however, the defendant’s motion to dismiss for

lack of standing was granted on January 27, 1995. The

————E—E—E——————E—————

29a

Appendix B

The Plaintiff, Darlene Sharpe, is a black female.

Sharpe alleges that the defendant subjected her to numerous

discriminatory practices during the course of her

employment, and that she was discriminated against on the

basis of his race. Sharpe also alleges retaliation. Except as

noted, the following facts are not in dispute.

Sharpe began working at Naval Air Station Pensacola

("NAS") as a Student Aid in the office of the Director of Air

Training for the Chief of Naval Education and Training. Her

position changed to Student Trainee (Management &

Financial Analysis) (GS-0099-04) in the Mgmt Support

Activity Department of NETPMSA. Her position was

changed to Budget Analyst (GS-0:44-05) in the Financial

Information Processing Center Department in May 1989.

She was promoted to Financial Specialist (GS-0501-07) in

November 1991, and was promoted to the next grade

(GS-09) in November 1992. In September 1994, Sharpe

successfully competed for a reassignment to Management

Analyst (GS-0343-09) in the Manpower and Personnel

Department in CNET, where she remains today.

Sharpe completed her requirements for a Bachelor's

Degree in Business Administration in March 1989. Prior to

her graduation, Sharpe had been employed under the

NETPMSA College Cooperative Program. According to

Sharpe, she had been told by her supervisor, Dick

Crenshaw, that she would be converted into a professional

series position. However, only a limited number of positions

were available, and Sharpe was asked in May 1989 if she

would accept a Payroll Clerk position at the GS-05 rate with

promotion potential to GS-09. Sharpe accepted the position.

She was asked to sign a letter stating that she had had a

Budget Analyst job for the first two weeks, and that she had

30a

Appendix B

requested to be changed to a Payroll Clerk position. Sharpe

signed the letter although she knew it was untrue, because

she was told by Melba Antoine that Sharpe would not have

a job if she did not sign the letter.

Sharpe alleges that placing her in a nonprofessional

series violated Office of Personnel Management regulations.

She filed an informal EEO complaint in June 1989, but

withdraw the complaint on August 11, 1989. She filed a

formal complaint on November 12, 1993, which was

dismissed as untimely on March 10, 1994. According to

Sharpe, the dismissal of her November 12,1993, complaint

by the agency was in retaliation for her filing of the

complaint. She filed a formal complaint on April 25,1994,

concerning the dismissal of the pnor complaint, and that

complaint was itself dismissed on May 11,1994. Sharpe

appealed to the EEOC, which affirmed the dismissal of the

April 25, 1994, complaint on September 14, 1994.

Sharpe alleges that she was retaliated against for prior

EEO activity when she was removed from the CPATS/LCM

project by her supervisor, Jacklyn Crumpler, and replaced

by a two-higher-grade white female. A white co-worker,

Mike Keeth, was removed and replaced at the same time.

Sharpe filed a formal EEO complaint on October 17, 1994.

The complaint was dismissed by the agency on May 19,

1995, due to the filing of the present action.

Sharpe alleges in the amended complaint that: (1) she

was placed in a nonprofessional series position; (2) her EEO

complaint concerning her placement was dismissed in

retaliation for EEO activity; and (3) she was removed from

the CPATS project. Sharpe also alleges disparate impact."

3la

Appendix B

ll. ANALYSIS

A. Summary Judgment Standard

A motion for summary judgment should be granted

when "the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a maker of law.! Rule 56(c), Fed. R. Civ. P.

"[T]he plain language of Rule 56(c) mandates the entry of

summary judgment, after adequate time for discovery and

upon motion, against a party who fails to make a showing

sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential

to that party's case, and on which that party will bear the

burden of proof at trial." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 US.

317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265, 273

(1986). See Everett v. Napoer, 833 F.2d 1507,-1510 (1th

Cir. 1987).

However, summary judgment is improper “if a

reasonable fact finder could draw more than one inference

from the facts, and that inference creates a genuine issue of

material fact." Cornelius v. Highland Lake, 880 F.2d 348,

351 (11th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1066, 110 S.

Ct.1784, 108 L. Ed. 2d 785 (1990). An issue of fact is

"material" if it might affect the outcome of the case under

the governing law. Anderson _v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S.242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 25 10, 91 L.Ed.2d 202, 211

(1986). It is "genuine" if the record taken as a whole could

lead a rational trier of fact to find for the non-moving party.

32a

Appendix B

Id. See also Matsushita Electric Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Coro., 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1356, 89

L.Ed.2d 538, 552 (1986).

Conclusory allegations based on _ speculation,

subjective beliefs, or bald assertions based upon

unsubstantiated hearsay are insufficient to create a "genuine

issue of material fact.” Carter v. Miami, 870 F.2d 578, 585

(11th Cir.1989); Ramsey v. Leath, 706 F.2d 1166, 1170

(11th Cir. 1983). On the other hand, if the record taken as a

whole could lead a rational trier of fact to find for the

nonmoving party, then the issue of fact is genuine.

Matsushita Elec. Industrial Co. Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1356, 89 L_Ed.2d 538,

552 (1986).

The court may not weigh evidence to resolve a factual

dispute; if a genuine issue of material fact is present, the

court must deny summary judgment. Hut Vv.

Progressive Corp., 984 F.2d 1152, 1155 (11th Cir. 1993).

On a summary judgment motion, the record and all

reasonable inferences that can ‘be drawn from it must be

viewed in the light most favorable to the non-moving party.

McCabe v. Sharett, 12 F.3d 1558, 1560 (1 1th Cir. 1994).

B. Discussion

The defendant contends that several of Sharpe's

claims are barred for failure to exhaust administrative

remedies. The defendant also contends that Sharpe has

failed to establish a prima facie case of retaliation.

33a

Appendix B

(1) Failure to Exhaust Administrative Remedies

Sharpe alleges that she was placed as a cooperative

program graduate in a non-professional series position. The

_ defendant contends that Sharpe's claim is barred, since she

withdrew her claim from the administrative process, and

attempted to resurrect her claim in an untimely manner

Sharpe filed an EEO complaint in July 1989, and

voluntarily withdrew her complaint on August 11, 1989. A

federal employee must seek administrative review of her

grievance before filing a suit for unlawful discrimination in

employment under Title V11. Brown v. Services

Administration, 425 U.S. 820, 8.32-33, 96 S.Ct. 1961,

1967-68, 48 L.Ed.2d 402 (1976). The purpose of requiring

Plaintiffs to exhaust administrative remedies is to avoid

burdening courts with cases that otherwise might be

terminated successfully by mediation and conciliation.

Ingels v. Thiokol Corp., 42 F.3d 616, 625 (10th Cir. 1994):

intv_v. United S Dep't of the Army, 900 F.2d

1114, 1117 (7th Cir. 1990). A claimant who abandons or

withdraws her claim before the agency has reached a

deternination "cannot be deemed to have exhausted

administrative remedies." Khader v. Aspin, 1 F.8d 968, 970

(10th Cir. 1993). Rivera_v. United States Postal

Service, 830 F.2d 1037, 1039 (9th Cir. 1987); Sharon v

| ., 872 F.Supp. 839, 844 (D.Kan.

1994); Brown _v.Citvof New York, 869 F.Supp. 158, 170

(S.D.N.Y. 1994).

34a

Appendix B

Sharpe filed a formal complaint of discrimination

concerning her claim on November 12, 1993, in an attempt

to resurrect her claim. The agency dismissed her complaint,

and she appealed to the EEOC on September 24,1995.

Sharpe then filed the present action on May 17, 1994, while

her EEOC appeal was still pending.

A complainant who files an appeal with the EEO(:

may file a civil action in federal court after 180 days from

the date of filing an appeal if no final decision has been

issued. 29 C.F.R. § 1614.408(d). A Plaintiff who files

before the expiration of the 180 days has failed to exhaust

her administrative remedies, and is barred from bringing his

claim in federal court. Tolbert v. United States, 916 F.2d

245, 248 (Sth Cir. 1990); Thomoson v. West, 883 F.Supp.

1502, 1508 (S.D.Ala. 1995). Here, Sharpe's claim was filed

before withdrawal from the administrative process in order

to file suit constitutes a failure to exhaust administrative

remedies. Tolbert v. United States, 916 F.2d 245, 249 (Sth

Cir. 1990); Rivera v. United States Postal Service, 830 F.2d

1037, 1039 (9th Cir. 1987).

Allowing a claimant to file too early "would tend to

frustrate the ability of the agency to deal with complaints.

All participants would know that at any moment an

impatient claimant could take his claim to i court and abort

the administrative proceedings.” McGinty v. United States

Dep't of Army, 900 F.2d 1114, 1117 (7th Cir. 1990)

(quoting Purtill v. Harris, 658 F.2d 134, 138 (3rd Cir.

1981). To withdraw constitutes abandoning one’s claim.

Ri'vera v. United States Postal Service, supra, 830 F.2d at

1039. See Vinieratos v. United States Dept of Air Force,

35a

Appendix B

939 F.2d 762, 768-69 (9th Cir. 1991). Dismissal with

prejudice on the basis of lack of subject matter jurisdiction

is appropriate. See Askew v. Stone, 1996 WL 135042 (6th

Cir. 1996); Tolbert v. United States, supra, 916 F.2d at 249:

Thompson v. West, 883 F.Supp. 1502, 1509 (M.D.Ala.

1996); Patel _v. Derwinski, 778 F.Supp. 1450, 1457

(N.D.III. 1991). Abandoning the administrative process

prior to the expiration of the | 80-day time period deprives

the court of subject matter jurisdiction, and the filing

requirement is not subject to equitable tolling. Askew v.

Stone, 1996 WL 135042 (6th Cir. 1996). The fact that 180

days has now passed while this case has been pending docs

not cure the Plaintiff's error, since "such a rule would permit

Plaintiff to file prematurely and then to wait out the 180-day

period in this Court." Patel v. Derwnski, supra, 778 F Supp.

at 1457. Accordingly, the defendant is entitled to summary

judgment on Sharpe's claim that she was placed in a

nonprofessional position.? '

(2) Retaliation

Sharpe also alleges that her complaint of November

12, 1993, was dismissed in retaliation for prior EEO

activity. The defendant contends that this claim is untimely.

Sharpe filed a formal EEO complaint on April 25, 1994,

alleging that her complaint of November 12, 1993, had been

dismissed by the agency in retaliation for prior EEO

- Sharpe argues that her administrative complaint of November 12. 1993, was

timely filed. Accordin to Sharpe, the discriminatory events concerning her

Placement were continuing in nature, and continued until the filing of the

complaint in 1993. However, the timeliness of Sharpe's administrative

complaint is irrelevant, since, as explained above, she filed her civil action too

early.

36a

Appendix B

activity. Sharpe filed her claim in the present action on May

17, 1994, twenty-two days after Sharpe filed a formal EEO

complaint on April 25, 1994, alleging that her complaint of

November 12, 1993, had been dismissed by the agency in

retaliation for prior EEO activity. Sharpe filed her claim in

the present action on May 17, 1994, twenty-two days after

filing her EEO’ complaint. Under the applicable EEOC

regulations, a complaint who has filed an individual

complaint is authorized to file an action under Title V11

"after 180 days from the date of filing an individual or class

complaint if an appeal has not been filed Andrea final

decision has not been issued.” 29 C. F. R. § 1614.408

(1995). Since Sharpe files’ before the expiration of the 180

day period, she is barred from barred from bringing her

retaliation claim in federal court. Tolbert v. United States,

916 F.2d 245, 248 (Sth Cir.1990); Thompson v. West, 883

F.Supp. 1502, 1508 (S.D.Ala. 1995).

Nevertheless, I will consider the merits of Plaintiff's

retaliation claim to insure completeness. Sharpe alleges that

in retaliation for prior EEO activity: (1) her complaint of

November 12, 1993 was dismissed; and (2) she was

removed from the CPAT project.

To establish a prima facie case of retaliation, the

Plaintiff must show: (1) that she engaged in statutorily

protected expression; (2) that she suffered an adverse

employment action; and (3) that there is some causal

relationship between the two events. Meeks v. Computer

Associates Int'l, 15 F.3d 1013, 1021 (11th Cir. 1994);

E.E.0.C. v. Ohio Edison Co., 7 F.3d 541 (6th Cir. 1993);

37a

Appendix B

Archuleta v. Colorado Dept. of Institutions, 936 F.2d 483

(10th Cir. 1991). The term “employment action" may be

construed in light of Section 2000e-2(aX1), which makes it

an unlawfvi employment practice to discriminate against an

individuzi with respect to "compensation, terms, conditions,

or privileges of employment ...." See, e.q., Jordan v. Clark.

847 F.2d 1368, 1373 n.3 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488

U.S. 1006, 109 S.Ct. 786, 102 L.Ed.2d 778 (1989); Bundy

v. Jackson, 641 F.2d 934, 942 (D.C.Cir. 1981). See also

Chandle_v. Roudebush, 425 U.S. 840, 841, 96 S.Ct. 1949,

1950, 48 L.Ed.2d 416 (1976).

(a) Dismissal of Complaint

Sharpe alleges that her complaint of November 12,

1993, was dismissed in retaliation for the filing of that

compiaint. The defendant contends that, even assuming

Sharpe has established a prima facie case of retaliation, it

has shown legitimate, nondiscriminatory reasons for the

dismissal of the complaint.

Sharpe's complaint of November 12, 1993, alleged

that in 1989, she had been placed as a cooperative program

graduate in a nonprofessional series position. The

complaint was dismissed by the agency on March 10, 1994.

The notice of dismissal stated that since Sharpe did not

contact an EEO counselor until September 3, 1993, while

the alleged discriminatory events occurred in March 1989.

Sharpe failed to initiate contact with the EEO counselor

within the required 45-day time limit. (2 Sass decl., ex. 2)

The notice of dismissal also stated that the complaint stated

the same claim as the complaint of July 1989, which Sharpe

had withdrawn on August 11, 1989.

38a

Appendix B

Even assuming that Sharpe has established a prima

facie case of retaliation, the defendant is still entitled to

summary judgment on Sharpe's claim. Once the Plaintiff

establishes his prima facie case, the employer must proffer a

legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for the adverse

employment action. E.E.O.C. v. Reichhold Chemical, Inc.

988 F.2d 1564, 1571-72 (11th Cir. 1993). If the employer

offers legitimate reasons for the employment action, the

Plaintiff must then demonstrate that the employer's proffered

explanation is a pretext for retaliation. Meeks, 15 F.3d at

1021; Goldsmith v. City of Atmore, 996 F.2d 1155,1163

(llth Cuir.1993). Here, the defendant relied upon

applicable regulations in dismissing Sharpe's claim.

Clapsadl decl. See 29 C.F.R. § 1614.105(1) (1995). Sharpe

has not refuted the evidence offered by the defendant, and

has failed to demonstrate that the defendant's proffered

explanation is a pretext for retaliation. Goldsmith v. City of

Atmore, 996 F.2d 1155, 1163 (11th Cir. 1993). The

defendant is entitled to summary judgment on Sharpe's

claim. See Grigsbv v. Reynolds Metals Co., 821 F.2d 590,

596 (11th Cir. 1987).

(b) Removal from CPAT/LCM Project.

Sharpe also aileges that she was removed from the

CPATS/LCM project and replaced by a higher grade

co-worker in retaliation for filing an EEO Complaint on

June 21, 1994. The defendant contends that Sharpe has

failed to establish an adverse personnel action, and that the

defendant has shown legitimate, nondiscriminatory reasons

for its action.

39a

Appendix B

Sharpe was removed from the project on August

25,1994. A white male, Mike Keeth, was also taken off the

project. (2 Sharpe dep., at p. 74) Sharpe's supervisor,

Jacklyn Crumpler, was Division Head of Resource

Information Systems at NETPMSA. Crumpler assigned

Keeth and Sharpe to collect part of the data for a segment of

the project. After they completed their portion, higher

ranking analysts were assigned to complete the technical

review and findings and recommendation phases. (Crumpler

deal.)

"[U]ltimate employment decisions such as hiring,

granting leave, discharging, promoting, and compensating”

are the types of personnel actions subject to Title VII relief.

Pane v. Bolger, 645 F.2d 227, 233 (4th Cir.) (en bane), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 892, 102 S.Ct. 388, 70 L.Ed.2d 206

(1981). See Dollis v. Rubin, 77 F.3d 777, 781 (Sth Cir.

1995). There is no Title V11 violation absent a materially

adverse change in terms and conditions of employment.

Harlston_v. McDonnell Douglas Corp, 37 F.3d 379, 382

(8th Cir.1994): Crady v. Liberty National Bank & Trust Co.

of Indiana, 993 F.2d 132,136 (7th Cir.1993); Plaisance v.

Travelers Ins. Co., 880 F. Supp. 798, 810 (N.D.Ga. 1994),

affd, 56 F.3d 1391 (11th Cir. 1995). Sharpe docs not

dispute the evidence presented by the defendant that she

was taken off the project because she had completed her

assignment. Since Sharpe has not shown that she was

subjected to an adverse job action, she has failed to

establish a prima facie case of retaliation. McDonnell

Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802, 93 S.Ct. 1824,

36 L.Ed.2d 668, 677 (1973); Coutu v. Martin Cty. Bd. of

Cty. Commissioners, 47 F.3d 1068, 1073 (11th Cir. 1995).

40a

Appendix B

In addition, the defendant has shown legitimate,

nondiscriminatory reasons for removing Sharpe from the

project. The defendant is entitled to summary judgment on

Sharpe's claim.

il. -CONCLUSION

For all the reasons discussed above, the defendants’

motions for summary judgment (doc. 314) and for partial

summary judgment (doc. 403) are GRANTED as to the

claims of Plaintiff Darlene Sharpe). Since all claims of the

Plaintiff have been resolved, the Clerk is directed to enter

judgment for the defendant and against Plaintiff Darlene

Sharpe, together with taxable costs.

DONE AND ORDERED

this 13" day of September, 1996.

““o/ ”

— =

ROGER VINSON

United States District Judge

Aaa es EOE ARI eat scandals sob Ma »

4la

Appendix B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

PENSACOLA DIVISION

JAMES R. WELCOME,

Plaintiff,

Case No. 96cv174/RV

v.

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant.

/

ORDER

Pending is the defendant’s motion to dismiss or, in the

alternative, for summary judgment of the claims of Plaintiff

James R. Welcome. (doc.325) Also pending is the

defendant’s motion for partial summary judgment on the

disparate treatment and reprisal claims of the Plaintiff (doc.

387)

.. BACKGROUND

This is an employment discrimination action, brought

pursuant to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42

U.S.C. ss 2000e, et. seq.). Originally, former Plaintiff

Cohesion, Inc. attempted to sue on behalf of thirty-three

individuals; however, the defendant’s motion to dismiss for

lack of standing was granted on January 27, 1995. The

42a

Appendix B

complaint was amended to substitute forty-six individual

Plaintiffs, including James R. Welcome.

The Plamtiff, James R. Welcome, is a black male.

Welcome alleges that the defendant subjected him to

numerous discriminatory practices during the course of his

employment, and that he was discriminated against on the

basis of his race. Welcome also alleges that the defendant

retaliated against him. Except as noted, the following facts

are not in dispute.

Welcome began working at the Pensacola Naval Air

Station ("NAS") in 1980 in the position of Warehouse

Worker (WG-6907-05) in the Service Department of the

Public Works Center. In September 1984, he was promoted

to Supply Technician (GS-2005-06), and moved to the

Chief of Naval Education and Training ("CNET") Supply

Department.

In October 1984, Welcome entered the Electroplater

Apprentice program, and moved to the Naval Aviation

Depot Production Department, Metals Division. He was

promoted to the position of journeyman Electroplater

(WG-3711-09) in 1988. In 1990, he was promoted to

Electroplater Foreman (WS-3711-09). As a result of the

1991 Reduction-In-Force (RIF) at NADEP, he was changed

to Industrial Specialist (Aircraft) (GS-1150-11). He

currently works in that position.

In December 1993, Welcome applied for the position

of Equal Employment Specialist (GS-260-11) on Merit

Promotion Vacancy Announcement CPE-0296(93). The

oP ha Ne aa ic, wre a de yh

a

43a

Appendix B

announcement was for a vacancy at Naval Air Station

Meridian, Mississippi. The Merit Promotion was suspended

before issuance of the Certificate of Eligibles.' HRO

management chose to post the vacancy through the Office of

Personnel Management in order to gain access to a wider

pool of qualified applicants. Welcome did not apply through

the OPM for the position. (Gonzalez decl.)

During 1994 and 1995, Welcome requested that his

Priority Placement Program ("PPP") registration be revised

to include the registered skill of Equal Employment

Specialist (GS-0260-11). Based on the written information

submitted by Welcome as to his qualifications for the

position, HRO staffing specialists found Welcome to be less

than "fully qualified" for the position, and did not register

him on the PPP.

Upon denial of Welcome's request for registration,

Welcome filed an EEO complaint against Lee Weiland,

Supervisory Personnel Staffing Specialist at HRO. On May

23, 1994, while Welcome was reviewing his PPP folder, he

asked Weiland several questions about his PPP status.

Weiland informed Welcome that he could not answer

specific questions about the PPP folder because the

' The Certificate of Eligibles is the listing of eligible applicants ranked

according to their rating, which is given by evaluators designated by

management. (Reboulet deci. )

44a

Appendix B

questions were the subject of the pending EEO complaint.

At the request of Welcome, Weiland had no further

involvement with Welcome's PPP folder after May 31,

1994.

In 1994, Welcome was given approval to attend Track

Il of the CNET Equal Employment Opportunity

Practitioners’ Workshop. Track I concerned the process of

informal EEO complaint processing, Track II concerned

formal complaint processing, and Track III focused on EEO

efforts to prevent potentially discriminatory situations

through proactive initiatives. Because actual EEO

complaints were used during the lectures in Track I and

Track II lectures, attendance was limited to employees

whose positions directly involved the processing of such

complaints. Welcome was registered only for Track III

classes. On March 16, 1994, Welcome entered Janice

Swann's Track II workshop. Swann informed Welcome that

he would have to leave the classroom, since he was not

registered for Track II classes.

Welcome filed a formal complaint of discrimination

on May 27, 1994, alleging that he was discriminated against

on the basis of race when: (1) he was denied the opportunity

to gain employment as an Equal Employment Specialist; (2)

he was denied the opportunity to change his PPP status; and

(3) he was ejected by Janice Swann from an EEO class. The

agency dismissed the complaint on May 11, 1995. Welcome

appealed to the EEOC, which affirmed the agency's decision

on June 8, 1995.

Welcome alleges in the amended complaint that: (1 )

he was denied promotion to Equal Employment Specialist;

ee

was retaliated against when Lee Weiland refused to speak

to Welcome regarding his PPP registration and job

placement. Welcome also alleges disparate impact.’

Il. ANALYSIS

A. Summary Judgment Standard

A motion for summary judgment should be granted

when "the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law." Rule 56(c), Fed. R. Civ. P.

"(T)he plain language of Rule 56(c) mandates the entry of

summary judgment, after adequate time for discovery and

upon motion, against a party who fails to make a showing

? The defendant's motion for partial summary judgment on all Plaintiffs

disparate impact claims was granted on February 28, 1996. (doc. 439)

46a

Appendix B

sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential

to that party's case, and on which that party will bear the

burden of proof at trial." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S.

317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265, 273

(1986). See Everett v. Napper, 833 F.2d 1507, 1510 (11th

Cir. 1987). However, summary judgment is improper "if a

reasonable fact finder could draw more than one inference

from the facts, and that inference creates a genuine issue of

material fact." Cornelius v. Highland Lake, 880 F.2d 348,

351 (11th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U. $.1066,110 S.

Ct.1784,108 L. Ed. 2d 785 (1990). An issue of fact is

“material” if it might affect the outcome of the case under

the governing law._Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242,248,106 S.Ct.2505, 2510, 91 L.Ed.2d 202, 211

(1986). It is "genuine" if the record taken as a whole could

lead a rational trier of fact to find for the non-moving party.

Id. See also Matsushita Electric Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106'S.Ct. 1348, 1356, 89

L.Ed.2d 538, 552 (1986).

Conclusory allegations based on _ speculation,

subjective beliefs, or bald assertions based upon

unsubstantiated hearsay are insufficient to create a "genuine

issue of material fact." Carter v. Miami, 870 F.2d 578,585

(11th Cir.1989); Ramsev v. Leath, 706 F.2d 1166, 1170

(11th Cir. 1983). On the other hand, if the record taken as a

whole could lead a rational tner of fact to find for the

nonmoving party, then the issue of fact is genuine.

Matsushita Elec. Industrial Co. Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corn,

475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1356, 89 L.Ed.2d 538,

552 (1986).

a

tah arta ae

47a

Appendix B

viewed in the light most favorable to the non-moving party.

McCabe v. Sharett, 12 F.3d 1558, 1560 (11 th Cir. 1994).

Discussion

(1) Disparate Treatment

The defendant contends that the Plaintiff has failed to

establish a prima facie case of disparate treatment on the

basis of race as to any of his claims

Title V11 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 provides

that it is unlawful for an employer "to discriminate against

any individual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because of such

individual's race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.” 42

U.S.C. ss 2000e-2(a 1) (1988). The Plaintiff may establish

prima facie case of discrimination under Title V11 on the

basis of statistical proof of a pattern of discrimination, or on

the basis of direct evidence of discrimination, which

consists of "evidence which, if believed, would prove the

existence of discrimination without inference or

presumption." Carter yv_ Citv of Miami, 870 F.2d 578.

581-82 (11th Cir. 1989). In the usual case, however, direct

evidence is not present. and the Plaintiff must rely on

circumstantial evidence to Prove discriminatory intent, using

the framework established in McDonnell Douglas Corn. yv

48a

Appendix B

Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802-04, 93 S.Ct. 1817, 1824-25, 36

L.Ed.2d 668 (1973). Under McDonnell Douglas, a Plaintiff

establishes a prima facie case of race discrimination under

Title V11 by showing: (1) he belongs to a racial minority;

(2) he was subjected to adverse job action; (3) his employer

treated similarly situated employees outside his

classification more favorably; and (4) he was qualified to do

the job. McDonnell Douglas Com., 411 U.S. at 802, 93

S.Ct. at 1824, 36 L.Ed.2d 677. See St. Mary's Honor Ctr.

v. Hicks, U.S. _, 113 S.Ct. 2742, 2747, 125 L.Ed.2d 407

(1993). Demonstrating a prima facie case is not onerous; it

requires only that the Plaintiff establish facts adequate to

permit an inference of discrimination. Williams Ford Motor

Co., 14 F.3d 1305,1308 (8th Cir.1994). See Texas Dep’t of

Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 253-54, 101

S.Ct. 1089, 1093-4, 67 L.Ed.2d 207 (1981).

(a) Non-Selection for Equal Employment Specialist

The Plaintiff alleges that the defendant discriminated

against him when it denied him a promotion to an Equal

Employment Specialist on Merit Promotion Announcement

CP-0296(93) by removing the position from the competitive

process. The defendant argues that the Plaintiff has failed to

demonstrate that the decision to remove the job from the

competitive application process and use approved

procedures to fill the vacancy was pretext to disguise

discriminatory motivation.

In December 1993, Welcome applied for the position

of Equal Employment Specialist under a Merit Promotion

Announcement. Before any of the candidates were rated and

the Certificate of Eligibles issued, the Announcement was

ESL S LRLN ABALONE BIG el II ME RE, z

Ae SO CDS BRE

CDA Sp Aaa OR ce bhi: aE eg a

49a

Appendix B

suspended, and HRO management posted the vacancy

through the Office of Personnel Management in an attempt

to gain access to a wider pool of qualified applicants.

(Welcome dep., at 69) At any time prior to the issuance of

the Certificate of Eligibles, a Merit Promotion vacancy may

be canceled in favor of an alternative procedure for filling

the vacancy. (Gonzalez decl.) Welcome did not apply

through OPM for the position.

The defendant contends that Welcome has not

demonstrated that similarly situated persons outside his

classification were treated more favorably as to the Merit

Promotion vacancy, and that Welcome has failed to present

any evidence supporting an inference of discrimination. |

have to agree. Here, Welcome was not denied promotion to

Equal Employment Specialist on the Merit Promotion

Vacancy announcement. Instead, the announcement was

canceled before Welcome was rated, and Welcome did not

re-apply under the OPM open competitive announcement.

The sole support for Welcome's allegations in the complaint

are his conclusory statements that the cancellation of the

announcement was racially motivated. Such conclusory

allegations of discrimination are insufficient to create an

issue of fact. Carter v. Miami, 870 F.2d 578, 585 (11th Cir.

1989); Forsberg v. Pacific Northwest Bell Tel. Co., 840

F.2d 1409, 1419 (9th Cir. 1988); Meiri v. Dacon, 759 F.2d

989, 998 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 829. 106 S.Ct 91,

88 L.Ed2d 74 (1985). In addition, the defendant has

proffered evidence supporting a legitimate

nondiscriminatory reason for canceling the announcement,

and Welcome has not come forward with any evidence to

show that this reason is pretextual. The defendant is entitled

50a

Appendix B

to summary judgment on Welcome's claim of non-selection

for Equal Employment Specialist.

(b) Pnonty Placement Program

Welcome alleges that he was denied the opportunity

to change his Priority Placement Program ("PPP") status

from an Electroplater Supervisor to an Equal Employment

Specialist, and that as a result he was denied a promotion to

Equal Employment Specialist on a Ment Promotion

Vacancy Announcement. The defendant maintains that the

Plaintiff has failed to demonstrate a prima facie case of

discrimination, since Welcome was not qualified to change

his PPP status.

Under the Pnority Placement Program, an employee

may register for up to five occupational series for which the

employee has been rated “fully qualified" by HRO, one of

which must be the employee's present series.’ . To be

considered fully qualified, the employee must be able to

enter the position and fully perform the duties of the

position without training. (Gonzalez decl.) During 1994 and

1995, Welcome requested on several occasions that his PPP

registration be revised to include the registered skill of

Equal Employment Specialist. Welcome's experience for the

position consisted of his membership on a voluntary EEO

committee and of his activities as a complainant. (Gonzalez

decl.) Staffing specialists at HRO found that Welcome was

not fully qualified for the position.

> The purpose of the PPP is to provide at least one valid job offer to each PPP

registrant who either has been or is scheduled to be adversely affected by a

reduction in force or workload transfer. (Gonzalez deci.)

OPEN BE sb A OIC LEST Vitae Se ae Rel

ee

—

Sla

Appendix B

As part of the Title V11 Plaintiffs prima facie case,

the Plaintiff must show that his employer treated similarly

situated employees outside his Classification more favorably

than himself. Coutu vy. Martin Cty. Bd of Cty.

Commissioners, 47 F.3d 1068, 1073 (11th Cir. 1995). If a

Plaintiff fails to show the existence of a similarly situated

employee, summary judgment is appropriate where no other

evidence of discrimination is present. See. e.g. Mack v.

Great Atlantic and Pacific Tea Co., 871 F.2d 179, 182 (ist

Cir. 1989). Here, Welcome has failed to show that similarly

situated employees outside his classification were allowed

to register on the PPP without being "fully qualified" for the

position. Weicome has offered no evidence supporting an

inference of discrimination. But even assuming that

Welcome has established a prima facie case, the defendant

is still entitled to summary judgment on Welcome’s PPP

claim. Once the Plaintiff has established a prima facie case,

thereby raising an inference that she was the subject of

intentional race discrimination, the burden shifts tc the

defendant to rebut this inference by presenting legitimate.

non-discriminatory reasons for its employment action. Texas

Dep't of Community Affairs v Burdine, 450 U.S.248. 101

S.Ct.1089, 67 L.Ed2d 207 (1981). This intermediate

burden is "exceedingly light.” Turnes v. AmSouth Bank,

N.A.,36 F.3d 1057,1061 (11th Cir 1994). The defendant has

fully met its burden in this case

The evidence in the record shows that Welcome was

not registered as an Equal Employment Specialist on the

PPP because he was not “fully qualified” for the position, as

1S required. On the basis of Welcome's SF 171, HRO

specialists found that Welcome did not have sufficient EEO

experience to step into the pesition of Equal Employment

52a

Appendix B

Specialist without training. Welcome has produced no

evidence that the defendant did not properly follow its

procedures, or that he had the requisite experience to qualify

under the criteria. Nor has Welcome shown that the use of

the criteria constituted a pretext for discrimination.

Welcome has failed to establish that the defendant's

proffered reason is unworthy of credence, or that the

defendant was more likely motivated by a discriminatory

reason in taking its actions. See Karazanos v. Navistar Int'l

Transu. Corp., 948 F.2d 332, 336 (7th Cir.1991). Since the

defendant has proffered evidence supporting a legitimate,

nondiscriminatory reason for not enrolling Welcome on the

PPP, and Welcome has not come forward with any evidence

to show that this reason is pretextual, summary judgment is

warranted. See Richmond v. Board of Resents of

Universitv of Minnesota, 957 F.2d 595, 598 (8th Cir. 1992);

Karazanos, 948 F.2d at 336; Mason v. Pierce, 774 F.2d

825, 829 (7th Cir. 1985).

(c) Equal Emplovment Opportunity Training

Welcome alleges that he was denied the opportunity

to attend an EEO Formal Complaint Process training

process by Janice Swann, a white female.

In March 1994, Welcome requested permission to

attend the CNET Equal Employment Opportunity

Practitioners’ Workshop. The purpose of the workshop was

to provide training for EEO practitioners whose official

duties concerned EEO matters. Attendance to Tracks I and

II of the workshop were limited to such practitioners, and

involved the examination of actual EEO complaints. (Swann

53a

Appendix B

decl.) However, Track III was open to non-specialists.

Since Welcome was a member of NADEP's Commanding

Officer Action Committee on EEO, a voluntary advisory

group, he was allowed to enter Track III, even though he

was not eligible for Tracks I and 11. (Welcome dep., at 79)

On March 16, 1994, Welcome entered Janice Swann's

Track II classroom. Swann informed Welcome that he was

in the wrong classroom, since he could not attend Track II

classes, and Welcome left. (Welcome dep., at 77) Welcome

testified in his deposition that he believed discrimination

was the basis for Swann's action. However, Welcome's

conclusory allegations of discrimination are insufficient to

create an issue of fact. Meiri v. Dacon. 759 F.2d 989, 998

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 829, 106 S.Ct. 91, 88

L.Ed.2d 74 (1985). Welcome docs not dispute that he was’°

not registered for Track II classes, and was not eligible to

register for such classes. He has presented no evidence,

circumstantial or otherwise, to support his allegation that

Swann asked Welcome to leave her class on the basis of

Welcome's race. The central inquiry in evaluating whether

the Plaintiff has met his initial burden in a Title V1] Case is

whether the circumstantial evidence presented is sufficient

to create an inference of discrimination. Fitzpatrick v. City

of Atlanta, 2 F.3d 1112, 1123 (11" Cir. 1993): Shah v.

General Electric Co., 816 F.2d 264, 268 (6th Cir. 1987).

Sufficient evidence is simply not present in this case as to

Welcome's claim concerning the Track II] workshop.

(b) Retaliation

Welcome alleges that the defendant retaliated against

him when Lee Weiland, an HRO employee, refused to

54a

Appendix B

speak with Welcome about Welcome's PPP registration

because of Welcome's pending EEO complaint against

Weiland. Welcome contends that Weiland’'s actions

interfered with Welcome's job placement and PPP

registration. The defendant argues that Weiland's action did

not constitute a adverse employment action under Title Vi 1,

and that Welcome has not established a prima facie case of

retaliation.

To establish a prima facie case of retaliation, the

Plaintiff must show: (1) that he engaged in statutorily

protected expression; (2) that he suffered an adverse

employment action; and (3) that there is some causal

relationship between the two events. Meeksv. Computer

Associates Int'l, 15 F.3d 1013, 1021 (11th Cir. 1994);

E.E.O.C. v. Ohio Edison Co., 7 F.3d 541 (6th

Cir.1993):Archuleta v. Colorado Dept. of Institutions, 936

F.2d 483 (10th Cir. 1991). The term “employment action"

may be construed in light of Section 2000e-2(a) (1), which

makes it an unlawful employment practice to discriminate

against an individual with respect to "compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment ...." See, e.g.,

Jordan v. Clark, 847 F.2d 1368, 1373 n.3 (9th Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1006, 109 S.Ct. 786, 102 L.Ed.2d

778 (1989); Bundy v. Jackson, 641 F.2d 934, 942 (D.C.Cir.

1981). See also Chandler v. Roudebush, 425 U.S. 840, 841,

96 S.Ct. 1949, 1950, 48 L.Ed.2d 416 (1976).

The Plaintiff alleges that Weiland's retaliatory actions

interfered with his job placements in PPP registration. "He

being supervisor staffing specialist of HRO, | feel that he

displayed his true racist attitudes toward me in his

comments.” (Welcome dep., at 102) According to Weiland,

55a

Appendix B

he could not answer Welcome's questions about the

specifics of his PPP registration because Welcome's

questions were the subject of Welcome's EEO complaint

against him. (Wetland decl.) Welcome has produced no

evidence that Weiland's action harmed him, or affected his

PPP registration. Shortly after the incident, Weiland was

Welcome has failed to show how Weiland's action

affected his terms or conditions of employment. Since the

Plaintiff has not shown that he was subjected to an adverse

job action, he has failed to establish a prima facie case of

retaliation, McDonnell Douglas Com. v. Green. 41] US.

792, 802, 93 S.Ct 1824, 36 L.Ed.2d 668, 677 (1973);

outu v. in _ Bd. of _ Commissioners, 47 F 3d

1068, 1073 (11th Cir. 1995).

Even assuming that Welcome has established a prima

facie case of retaliation, the defendant is stil] entitled to

summary judgment on Welcome's retaliation claim. Once

the Plaintiff establishes his prima facie case, the employer

must proffer a legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for the

adverse employment action. EEOC. v._Reichhold

Chemical, Inc., 988 F.2d 1564,1571-72 (11th Cir.1993). If

the employer offers legitimate reasons for the employment

action, the Plaintiff must then demonstrate that the

employer's proffered explanation is a pretext for retaliation.

Meeks, 15 F.3d at 1021: Goldsmith v. City of Atmore, 996

F.2d 1155, 1163 (11th Cir. 1993).

Here, Welcome alleges that Weiland refused to

answer his questions about PPP registration. Weiland states

56a

Appendix B

in his affidavit that when Welcome's request to add Equal

Employment Specialist to his PPP registration was denied,

Welcome filed an EEO complaint naming Weiland as a

respondent on March 3, 1994. (aft. to doc. 388, Weiland

decl.) On May 23, 1994, when Welcome was reviewing his

PPP folder, he asked Weiland to answer some questions.

Weiland told Welcome that he could not answer certain

questions about the PPP folder, since the questions were the

subject of the EEO complaint Welcome had filed against

him in March 1994, and were part of an ongoing

investigation. (aft. to doc.388, Weiland decl.) Weiland

requested that Tom Easley and Berniece Reboulet answer

the questions. The defendant has definitely met its burden of

presenting legitimate, non-discriminatory reasons for

Weiland’s action.

Pursuant to departmental policy, Weiland could not

answer Welcome's questions because of the pending EEO

complaint. Welcome has not refuted the evidence offered by

the defendant, and has failed to demonstrate that the

defendant's proffered explanation is a pretext for retaliation.

Goldsmith v. City of Atmore, 996 F.2d 1155, 1163 (11th

Cir. 1993). In this case, the defendant's evidence of a

legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for its action is so

strong as to rebut completely the inference raised by the

Plaintiffs prima facie case of retaliation. See Gnrgsbv_ v.

Reynolds Metals Co., 821 F.2d 590, 596 (11th Cir.1987).

The evidence supporting Welcome's prima facie case is

simply not sufficient to create an issue of fact in light of the

substantial evidence of lawful motive presented by the

defendant. As a result, the defendant is entitled to summary

judgment on the Plaintiff's retaliation claim.

57a

Appendix B

[f. CONCLUSION

For the reasons discussed above, the defendant's

motion for summary judgment is GRANTED as to the

claims of James R. Welcome. (doc. 325) The defendant's

motion for partial Summary judgment on the disparate

treatment and retaliation claims of Plaintiff James R.

Welcome is GRANTED. (doc. 387) The Clerk shall enter

judgment for the defendant and against plaintiff Welcome,

together with taxable costs.

DONE AND ORDERED this 8" day of August, 1996.

“e/ ”

ROGER VINSON

United States District Judge

58a

APPENDIX C-——-ORDERS (3) DENYING

REHEARING IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT FILED

OCTOBER 6, 1998, SEPTEMBER 16, 1998 AND

OCTOBER 20, 1998

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3689

THELMA ROBY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant-Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Florida

BEFORE: COX, BIRCH AND MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The petition for rehearing filed by the appellant is

DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

“s/EMMETT R. COX”.

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

ORD-41

59a

Appendix C

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3412

DARLENE D. SHARP,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Florida

BEFORE: COX, BIRCH AND MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The petition for rehearing filed by the

appellant is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

“s/EMMETT R. COX”.

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

ORD-41

60a

Appendix C

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-3689

JAMES R. WELCOME,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

versus

JOHN H. DALTON,

Secretary of the Navy,

Defendant-Appellee.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Florida

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING AND

SUGGESTION(S) OF REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion 1° Ce 2

Before: COX, BIRCH AND MARCUS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no member

of this panel nor other Judge in regular active service on the

Court having requested that the Court be polled on

rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure, Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5), the Suggestions(s)

of Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

“s/EMMETT R. COX”,

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

ORD-42

(6/95)

6la

APPENDIX D——AGREEMENT FOR

REPRESENTATION BETWEEN ATTORNEY SADIE

MOORE STEWART AND PLAINTIFFS SIGNED

NOVEMBER 6, 1995

AGRE R REPRESENTATION

FEE:

As compensation for services, Cohesion, Inc., agrees to pay

Attorney Sadie Moore Stewart a fee of $15,000. This

agreement is entered into by and among all named Plaintiffs

regarding case No. 94-30165-RV, Johnson, et.al. V. John

H. Dalton, Secretary of the Navy and Attorney Sadie Moore

Stewart, Fla. Bar # 970530.

ATTORNEYS' RESPONSIBILITIES:

Attorney Stewart is responsible for the timely answering of

any and all outstanding motions, ensuring that all

interrogatories and production of documents are properly

addressed, scheduled interviews with all Plaintiff's to ensure

that all interrogatories are properly addressed and answered,

ensure adequate time is allowed for PLAINTIFFS,

individually or the Board of Directors of Cohesion, Inc.,

where issues affect all PLAINTIFFS or multiple

PLAINTIFFS, to review legal actions prior to timely filing.

Conduct any all Depositions and requests for production of

documents.

Render timely responses and complete all motions thereto.

Provide legal counseling and representation to PLAINTIFFS

when necessary to ensure compliance with this agreement.

62a

Appendix D

Submit written reports of all actions taken on behalf of

PLAINTIFFS on a monthly basis. Said reports will be

mailed to COHESION, INC.,at P.O. Box 16189,

Warrington, Fla. 32507 within five days of the end of each

month until full settlement of aforementioned case or

superseding of this agreement by mutual consent of the

parties hereto whichever occurs first.

We understand and agree that our attomey will render

periodic statements to us indicating the current status of our

account and complaint.

ATTORNEY'S ALLOWED TO EXERCISE LIMITED

DISCRETION:

1 understand or have had explained to me, the fact that it

frequently becomes necessary for an attorney to make

choices of alternatives that may be presented in the courses

of his/her representation of us.

We further understand that full discussion of such

alternatives may not be practical or even possible in a given

situation. Therefore, we authorize our attorney to exercise

discretion after discussion with any one of the designated

executive board members.

Subsequent to any negotiations or settlement talks, we agree

that our attorney will meet, discuss and obtain approval of

the full body unless time restricts and time constraints are

required approval from the board with a two third vote.

63a

Appendix D

CONSTRUCTION OF AGREEMENT:

This agreement will be construed and interpreted according

to the Laws of the State of Florida and the Code of

Professional Responsibility. No paragraph heading will be

relied upon or utilized in the interpretation of any of this

agreement such readings being for convenience only, and in

all references herein to persons, whether attomey, client or

others, the use of any particular gender or the plural or

singular number is intended to include the appropriate

gender of numbers as the written instrument may require.

RIGHTS OF CLIENT TO CANCEL:

This contract may be canceled by written notification to the

attomey at any time it is deemed the attomey is flagrantly

missing deadlines, not responding to motions, causing

unnecessary delays in the timely processing of this lawsuit.

If canceled the client, will not be obligated to pay any fee to

the attorney for the work performed during this period. If

the attorney has advanced funds to others in representation

of the client, the attorney is entitled to reimbursement for

such amounts as he or she has reasonably advanced on

behalf of the client.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF., the parties hereto have executed

this agreement the date stated below. This agreement shall

remain in effect until full settlement of the aforementioned

case or until superceded by agreement of the parties.

64a

Appendix D

//s//Sadie Moore Stewart

ATTORNEY SIGNATURE//DATE

FLORIDA BAR NR.

[falls ante ROR iy eer es

PLAINTIFFS DESIGNATED

REPRESENTATIVE/DATE

NOTARY

SIGNATURE/DATE

WITNESS ___//s//Tamara D. Tikell

SIGNATURE/DATE

a ie eile as

eee ae cen were ge Tie, Pee acer tat eh eee nre cst

ee ee ee eee Cee ee

on

Risch See: es EI A MG ei iWeb ANAM AE eg aR a les Se

65a

APPENDIX E——REPORT OF THE REFEREE,

THE FLORIDA BAR VS. SADIE MOORE STEWART

FILED APRIL 27, 1998

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

(Before a Referee)

THE FLORIDA BAR,

Complainant, Case Nos.

91,263;91,338:91,S40: and

92,515

vs. TFB File Nos. 97-00765-O1B; 97-00617-O1B:

97-00727-01B,97-00190-01B:

97-00505-01B,97-01312-O1B:

and 98-00713-01B

SADIE MOORE STEWART,

Respondent.

/

REPORT OF THE REFEREE

| SUMMARY OF PROCEEDINGS

Pursuant to the undersigned being duly appointed as

referee to conduct disciplinary proceedings herein according

to Rule 3-7.6, Rules of Discipline, the following

proceedings occurred:

On August 25, 1997, The Florida Bar filed its

Complaint in Supreme Court Case No. 91,263 (The Florida

Bar File No. 97-00765-O1B) against Respondent as well as

66a

Appendix E

its Request for Admissions in these proceedings. On

September 3, 1997, The Flonda Bar filed its Complaint in

Supreme Court Case No. 91,338 (The Flonda Bar File

No.97-00797-0 I B) against Respondent as well as its

Request for Admissions in these proceedings. On

November 19, 1997, The Florida Bar filed its Complaint in

Supreme Court Case No. 91,840 (The Florida Bar File No.

97-00617-Ol1B, against Respondent as well as_ its Request

for Admissions in these proceedings. By order dated

February 13, 1998, this Referee consolidated Supreme

Court Case Nos. .91,263;91,338; and 91,8 40. On March

6,1998, The Florida Bar filed its Complaint in Supreme

Court Case Into. 92,515 (The Fiorida Bar File Nos. 97-

0019001B and 97-00505-01B) against Respondent as well

as its Request for Admissions in these proceedings. On

April 15, 1998, in The Florida Bar File No. 97-0132-O1B,

Respondent waived the finding of probable cause and

waived the filing of a formal complaint and consented to

this Referee having jurisdiction to hear this matter. Also on

April 15, 1998, in The Florida Bar File No. 98-0071~—01B,

Respondent waived the finding of probable cause and

waived the filing of a formal complaint and consented to

this Referee having junsdiction to hear this matter. By

motion of the parties, which was ordered by this Referee, all

of the aforementioned cases have been consolidated and are

considered herein. The patties entered into a conditional

guilty plea for consent judgment and joint recommendation

as to discipline which have been submitted to this Referee

and are hereby approved. All of the aforementioned

pleadings and responses thereto and this Report constitute

the record in this case and are forwarded to the Supreme

Court of Florida.

TEES EEE coe

67a

Appendix E

I. FINDINGS OF FACT AND

RECOMMENDATIONS

A. Jurisdictional Statement.

Respondent is, and at all times mentioned during this

investigation was, a member of The Florida Bar, subject to

the jurisdiction and Disciplinary Rules of the Supreme Court

of Florida. The Referee was appointed by the Supreme

Court of Florida to hear the matters involved in Supreme

Court Case Nos. 91,963, 91,3~8, 91.840 and 99,515.

Respondent consented to Referee having jurisdiction over

The Florida Bar File Nos. 97-01,1~-0 LB and 98-007

1~-01B and to consolidation of these cases with Supreme

Court Case Nos. 91,960, 91,3,8, 91,840 and 99,515.

B. Narrative Summaries of Facts.

Case No, 91.263 (TFB File No. 97 00765-0IB)

Complaint of The Florida Bar

Respondent was required to complete 30 hours,

including two hours of Ethics, of Continuing Legal

Education prior to July 31, 1996. On or about August 16,

1996, The Florida Bar, via certified mail, advised

Respondent that she was ineligible to practice law because

of her failure to comply with her Continuing Legal

Education Requirements (CLER). Due to Respondent's

direction to her of Lice staff, Respondent did not pick up the

certified letter from The Florida Bar until September 19,

1996.

68a

Appendix E

On or about September 26,1996, Respondent filed a

motion for extension of time in Michael Clark v. Robert E.

Rubin, Secretary of the Treasury, the Department of

Treasury, and the US. Customs Service, Case No.

5:96CV3361RH, in the United States District Court,

Northern District of Florida, Panama City Division, citing

therein her health as the reason for the motion. At no time

did Respondent advise the United States District Court that

she was ineligible to practice law due to her failure to

comply with CLER.

On or about October 1, 1996, Respondent petitioned

The Florida Bar for removal of CLER delinquency. In so

petitioning, Respondent divas required to fill out a form

petition for removal of CLER delinquency. Respondent

answered under oath all questions on the form petition

except the following:

"5. During my delinquency, I have/have not

(circle one) practiced law in Florida or

rendered advice on matters of Flonda law.”

Respondent was reinstated to membership in good

standing on or about October 3, 1996. Respondent

continued her practice of law during the period that she was

ineligible to practice law in Florida and despite her

knowledge that she was ineligible to do so.

Based upon Respondent's admission, I recommend

that Respondent be found guilty of violating Rule 1-3.4(a)

(Any member who is suspended by reason of failure to

complete continuing legal education requirements shall be

deemed a delinquent member. A delinquent member shall

tice PR ae mE) The

MEE an Re hic A IA a, J

=

ND al a ae

69a

Appendix E

not engage in the practice of law in this state and shall not

be entitled to any privileges and benefits accorded to

members of The Florida Bar in good standing. Any member

suspended for failure to complete continuing legal education

requirements may be reinstated as elsewhere provided in

these rules) of the Rules of Professional Conduct.

Case No. 91,338 (TFB File No. 97-00797-01B

(Complaint of James Hawthorne)

James E. Hawthome filed suit in the United States

District Court, Northern District of Florida, Pensacola

Division, alleging racial discrimination and retaliatory

conduct by the University of West Florida. After the

University of West Florida filed a motion to dismiss, Mr.

Hawthome hired Respondent to represent him in this

lawsuit.

On or about August 93, 1995, Respondent filed a

notice of appearance in the case. Pursuant to an agreement

of counsel and a pre-trial order, certain disclosures as

required by Rule 26 ( N) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure (regarding witness lists, inter alia) were due to be

filed on December 90, 1995. On or about December ‘9

1995, the University of West Florida filed its Rule 96 (A)

disclosure. On or about February 0,, 1996, the University of

West Florida filed a motion to compel the filing of the

Plaintiffs Rule 26 (at) disclosure. By order dated March 7,

1996, the court granted the University of West Florida's

motion to compel arid ordered that Plaintiffs Rule 96 (A)

disclosure should be filed by March 14, 1996. The court

also awarded attorneys fees in the amount of 563 to the

70a

Appendix E

University of West Florida which fees were to be paid

within 10 days of the court's order.

Respondent filed the Plaintiffs Rule 96 (ok) disclosure

on March 1A, 1996. The University of West Florida filed a

motion for summary judgment in April 1996, to which

Respondent responded. By order dated October 9~, 1996,

the court granted summary judgment unto the University of

West Florida. Respondent forwarded a copy of the order

granting summary judgment to Mr. Hawthorne. Respondent

did not clearly advise Mr. Hawthorne that he had 30 days

from October 99, 1996 within which to file a notice of

appeal of the order granting summary judgment. On

Wednesday, November 90, 1996, Mr. Hawthorne contacted

Respondent to inquire as to whether she aids going to file an

appeal of the order granting summary judgment. Respondent

appeared to De unaware that the time for filing the appeal

ran on November 91, 1996. Apparently Air. Hawthorne was

under the impression that the time to appeal ran on

November 79, 1996; nonetheless, on November ~ 1, 1996,

he filed a notice of appeal Pro Se. Respondent did not

clearly establish with her client the issue of whether Mr.

Hawthorne wanted to appeal the summary judgment and

whether Respondent would file that notice of appeal for Mr.

Hawthorne.

Respondent agreed to accept the representation of Mr.

Hawthorne for a $ 500 retainer plus a fee contingent upon

the outcome of the case. Respondent did not enter into a

written contingency fee contract with Mr. Hawthome nor

did she provide Mr. Hawthorne with a copy of the statement

of clients nghts.

7la

Appendix E

Based upon Respondent's admission, | recommend that

Respondent be found guilty of violating Rules 4-1.3 (A

lawyer shall act with reasonable diligence and promptness

in representing a client), 4-14(b) (Duty to Explain Matters

to Client. A lawyer shall explain a matter to the extent

reasonably necessary to permit the client to make informed

decisions regarding the representation), 4-3.2 (A lawyer

shall make reasonable efforts to expedite litigation

consistent with the interests of the client.), and 4-1.5(f)

(Contingent Fees. As to contingent fees: (1) A fee may be

contingent on the outcome of the matter for which the

service is rendered, except in a matter in which a contingent

fee is prohibited by paragraph (f)\3) or by law. A contingent

fee agreement shall be in writing and shall state the method

by which the fee is to be determined, including the

percentage or percentages that shall accrue to the lawyer in

the event of settlement, trial, or appeal, litigation and other

expenses to be deducted from the recovery, and whether

such expenses are to be deducted before or after the

contingent fee is calculated. Upon conclusion of a

contingent fee matter, the lawyer shall provide the client

with a written statement stating the outcome of the matter

and, if there is a recovery, showing the remittance to the

client and the method of its determination: (2) Every lawyer

who accepts a retainer or enters into an agreement, express

or implied, for compensation for services rendered or to be

rendered in any action, claim, or proceeding whereby the

lawyer's compensation is to be dependent or contingent in

whole or in part upon the successful prosecution or

settlement thereof shall do so only where such fee

arrangement is reduced to a written contract, signed by the

client, and by a lawyer for the lawyer or for the law firm

representing the client. No lawyer or firm may participate in

72a

Appendix E

the fee without the consent of the client in writing Each

participating lawyer or law firm shall sign the contract with

the client and shall agree to assume joint legal responsibility

to the client for the performance of the services in question

as if each were partners of the other lawyer or law firm

involved. The client shall be furnished with a copy of the

signed contract and any subsequent notices or consents. All

provisions of this rule shall apply to such fee contracts; (a)

A lawyer who enters into an arrangement for, charges, or

collects any fee in an action or claim for personal injury or

for property damages or for death or loss of services

resulting from personal injuries based upon tortious conduct

of another, including products liability claims, whereby the

compensation is to be dependent or contingent in whole or

in part upon the successful prosecution or settlement thereof

shall do so only under the following requirements: (A) The

contract shall contain the following provisions: (i) “The

undersigned client has, before signing this contract, received

and read the statement of client's mghts and understands

each of the nghts set forth therein. The undersigned client

has signed the statement and received a signed copy to refer

to while being represented by the undersigned attorney(s)."

(ii) "This contract may be cancelled by written notification

to the attorney at any time within 3 business days of the date

the contract was signed, as shown below, and if cancelled

the client shall not be obligated to pay any fees to the

attorney for the work performed during that time. If the

attorney has advanced funds to others in representation of

the client, the attorney is entitled to be reimbursed for such

amounts as the attorney has reasonably advanced on behalf

of the client; (C) Before a lawyer enters into a contingent

fee contract for representation of a client in a matter set

forth in this rule, the lawyer shall provide the client with a

73a

Appendix E

copy of the statement of client’s rights and shall afford the

client a full and complete opportunity to understand each of

the rights as set forth therein. A copy of the statement,

signed by both the client and the lawyer, shall be given to

the client to retain and the lawyer shall keep a copy in the

client's file. The statement shall be retained by the lawyer

with the written fee contract and closing statement under the

same conditions and requirements as subdivision (fS).) of

the Rules of Professional Conduct.

Case No. 91,840. TFB File No. 97-00617-OIB

(Complaint of Gillis Thomas))

In approximately November 1996, Respondent was

hired to represent Gillis Thomas in an employment

discrimination matter against J.C. Penney, Inc. A hearing

was scheduled before the Honorable Lacy Collier, U.S.

District Court, Northern District of Florida, Pensacola

Division, for June 14, 1996 at 10:00 a.m. Respondent failed

to appear at the hearing before Judge Collier. Respondent

did attempt to make a telephone appearance before Judge

Collier in this matter, but such appearance was denied. As a

result of the June 11, 1996 hearing, certain costs were

assessed against Mr. Thomas, the Plaintiff.

After Mr. Thomas filed a complaint with The Florida

Bar on January 17, 1997, Respondent wrote Mr. Thomas

and advised that she was terminating the representation and

cited therein certain attorney/client privileged, and therefore

confidential, information relative to Mr. Thomas' case

against J.C. Penney. Respondent provided J.C. Penney’s

counsel with a copy of her attorney/client privileged

communication with Mr. Thomas which disclosed

74a

Appendix E

information detrimental to Mr. Thomas’ action against J.C.

Penney.

Based upon Respondent's admission, | recommend

that Respondent be found guilty of violating Rules 4-1.6(a!

(Confidentiality of information (a) Consent Required to

Reveal Information. A lawyer shall not reveal information

relating to representation of a client except as stated in

subdivisions (b), (c), and (d), unless the client consents after

disclosure to the client and 4-3,4(c ) (A lawyer shall not

knowingly disobey an obligation under the rules of a

tribunal except for an open refusal based on an assertion

that no valid obligation exists) of the Rules of Professional

Conduct.

Case No. 92.515(TFB File Nos. 97-00190-01B and

97-00505-0

(Complaints of Sammy Barnes, Ray Dunklin, and James

Cox and Gary Scott)

Respondent was hired, as successor counsel, by nine

people to represent them in a racial discrimination case

arising out of their employment by the U.S. Navy, Coastal

Systems Station, Panama City, Florida. The representation

was intended to become a class action matter.

On or about November 27, 1995, Respondent entered

into a modified contingency fee agreement, signed by three

of the Plaintiffs, Sammy Barnes, Ray Dunklin, and James

Cox, in which the Respondent was paid a $12,500.00

retainer. Costs of the litigation were to be paid by the

clients.

BRS Stan z 5 ‘ POM We ee

PORE Makiahinw er Nes oR Ma Seis ude SU Aaa

75a

Appendix E

At the time the clients hired Respondent, they inquired

about Respondent’s experience in handling United States

Code Title VII discrimination cases and class action

matters. Respondent advised her clients that she was

experienced and could handle their legal matter. At no time

did the Respondent advise the clients that her experience in

United States Code Title VII actions had been limited to

administrative actions before the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission (EEOC). At no time prior to

being hired did Respondent advise her clients that she had

never before participated in a class action matter.

Beginning in the spring of 1996 and for approximately

three months, Respondent was out of her office a significant

amount of time because of a family member’s illness.

Respondent left her paralegal, Tamara Tikell, in charge of

her law practice. Ms. Tikell, as Respondent’s agent,

requested $1,000 from the clients in April 1996 to be used

to pay costs of the litigation. The clients delivered a $1,000

check to Respondent’s office in April 1996. The clients

repeatedly requested a receipt for the $1,000 from

Respondent’s office, to no avail. The clients requested an

accounting for the $1,000 which Respondent did not

provide.

In response to the instant inquiry/complaint (TFB File

No. 97-00505-01B) on January 3, 1997, Respondent

advised The Florida Bar that “[t}he money in question was

used to pay for transcripts of the Plaintiff's depositions and

miscellaneous expenses.” Respondent’s response

references a court reporter bill for $945.25. Because of the

allegations regarding the $1,000 court deposit, the First

Judicial Circuit Grievance Committee “B” requested an

76a

Appendix E

audit of Respondent’s trust account for the time period

January 1, 1995 through May 31, 1997. The audit reveals,

and Respondent confirms, that the $1,000 check for costs

was not deposited into Respondent’s trust account. The

$1,000 was not applied towards the clients’ cost of

litigation. The $1,000 was deposited into Respondent’s

operating account. According to Respondent, Tamara

Tikell removed the $1,000 from Respondent’s operating

account immediately after it was deposited therein.

Respondent became aware of the discrepancy over the

$1,000 costs in approximately May 1996. Respondent

states that sometime after October, 1996, using her own

funds, she paid a court reporter $945.25 to cover the costs

of depositions related to this matter. Respondent has not

accounted to the clients for the balance of $54.75.

The trust account audit, unable to be completed due to

lack of records, revealed the following deficiencies:

A. Respondent did not maintain the following

records:

-Original or duplicate deposit records, indicating (a)

date and source of the deposit and (b) client and/or

matter, for the months of July 1995 through August

1996;

~Onginal cancelled checks for July 1995 through

August 1996;

-Case receipts and disbursements journal;

77a

Appendix E

-Client ledger accounts:

-Bank reconciliations;

-Monthly comparisons;

-Annual listing of trust obligations:

B. Respondent’s trust account is not set up as an

IOTA (Interest on Trust Accounts) account;

C. The checks do not reflect Ms. Stewart’s name, nor

do the checks reflect that the account is a trust accouni.

D. A shortage of funds existed in the trust account.

Based upon Respondent’s admission, I recommend

that Respondent be found guilty of violating Rules 4-1.4(b)

(Duty to Explain Matters to Client. A lawyer shall explain a

matter to the extent reasonable necessary to permit the

client to make informed decisions regarding the

representation), 4-1.15(a) (Clients’ and Third Party Funds to

be Held in Trust. A lawyer shall hold in trust, separate from

the lawyer’s own property, funds and property of clients or

third persons that are in a lawyer’s possession in connection

with representation. All funds, including advances for costs

and expenses, shall be kept in a separate account maintained

in the state where the lawyer’s office is situated or

elsewhere with the consent of the client or third person,

provided that funds may be separately held and maintained

other than in a bank account if the lawyer received written

permission from the client to do so and provided that such

written permission is received prior to maintaining the funds

78a

Appendix E

other than in a separate bank account. In no event may the

lawyer commingle the client’s funds with those of the

lawyer or those of the lawyer’s law firm. Other property

shall be identified as such and appropnately safeguarded.

Complete records of such account funds and other property,

including client funds not maintained in a separate bank

account, shall be kept by the lawyer and shall be preserved

for a period of 6 years after termination of the

representation), 4-1.15(b) (Notice of Receipt of Trust

Funds; Delivery; Accounting. Upon receiving funds or

other property in which a client or third person has an

interest, a lawyer shall promptly notify the client of third

person. Except as stated in this rule or otherwise permitted

by law or by agreement with the client, a lawyer shall

promptly deliver to the client or third person any funds or

other property that the client or third person is entitled to

receive and, upon request by the client or third person, shall

promptly render a full accounting regarding such property)

of the Rules of Professional Conduct, and 5-1.1(a) (Nature

of Money or Property Entrusted to Attorney. Money or

other property entrusted to an attomney for a specific

purpose, including advances for costs and expenses, is held

in trust and must be applied only to that purpose. Money

and other property of clients coming into the hands of an

attorney are not subject to counterclaim or setoff for

attommey’s fees, and a refusal to account for and deliver over

such property upon demand shall be deemed a conversion.

This is not to preclude the retention of money or other

property upon which the lawyer has a valid lien for services

or to preclude the payment of agreed fees from the proceeds

of transactions or collection. Controversies as to the

amount of fees are not grounds for disciplinary proceeding

unless the amount demanded in clearly excessive,

79a

Appendix E

extortionate, or fraudulent. In a controversy alleging a

clearly excessive, extortionate, or fraudulent fee, announced

willingness of an attorney to submit a dispute as to the

amount of a fee to a competent tribunal for determination

may be considered in any determination as to intent or in

mitigation of discipline; provided, such willingness shall not

preclude admission of any other relevant admissible

evidence relating to such controversy, including evidence as

to the withholding of funds or property of the client, or to

other injury to the client occasioned by such controversy), 5-

1.1(b) (Trust Accounts Required. Any bank or Savings and

loan association account maintained by a member of The

Florida Bar to comply with rule 4-1.15, Rules of

Professional Conduct, is and shall be clearly labeled and

designated as a trust account. Any safe deposit box used in

connection with the practice of law in Florida maintained by

a member of The Florida Bar to comply with rule 4-1.15

shall be located in this state unless the client otherwise

consents in writing. A member of The Florida Bar shall

advise any institution in which such deposit box is located

that it may include property of clients), 5-1. l(c) (Trust

Accounts as Official Records. A member of The Florida

Bar shall preserve or cause to be preserved the records of

all bank and savings and loan association accounts or other

records pertaining to the funds or property of a client or a

third party maintained in compliance with rule 4-1.15 for a

period of not less than 6 years subsequent to the final

conclusion of the representation of a client relative to such

funds or property. Such records shall include checkbooks,

cancelled checks, check stubs, vouchers, ledgers and

journals, closing statements, accounting or other statements

of disbursements rendered to chents or third parties with

regard to trust funds, or similar equivalent records clearly

80a

Appendix E

and expressly reflecting the date, amount, source, and

reason for all receipts, withdrawals, deliveries, and

disbursements of the funds or property of a client or third

party. Such records shall be kept pursuant to these rules as

a specific prerequisite to the right to receive, deliver, and

disburse funds or property of a client or third party and to

have a public aspect relating to the protection of clients and

to fitness of a member of The Florida Bar to practice law.

In any instance of an alleged violation by a member of The

Florida Bar of this rule or of any of the rules of Professional

Conduct, such records insofar as they may relate in any way

to the transaction, occurrence, or client in questions shall be

produced by the member of The Florida Bar for inspection,

audit, and copying by a designated representative of The

Florida Bar upon the direction of this court, a grievance

committee, the board of governors if acting pursuant to rule

3-7.5(b), or a referee. Such records or copies thereof shall

be admissible in evidence in any proceeding under this rule,

provided notice of such intended use shall be given to any

client involved, if practicable, unless such client is already

aware of such intended use, and upon good cause shown by

such client the admission of the same shal! be under such

conditions as shall be reasonably calculated thereafter to

protect the confidences of such client in the event the

proceedings otherwise become public records. Permissible

means of protection shall not prejudice the respondent and

may include but are not limited to excision, in camera

production, retention in sealed envelopes, or similar

devices. Failure to maintain such records or to produce

them upon such direction shall constitute ground for

disciplinary action under this rule without regard to any

other matter. The cost of any audit or investigation

necessitated by such failure may be taxed against a

————

8la

Appendix E

respondent), 5-1.1(4) (Trust Accounting. Minimum trust

accounting records shall be maintained and minimum trust

accounting procedures must be followed by all attorneys

practicing in Florida who receive or disburse trust money or

property), 5-1.1(e)2) (Interest on Trust Accounts(IOTA)

Program. Required participation. All nominal or short-term

funds belonging to clients or third persons that are placed in

trust with any member of The Florida Bar practicing from an

office or other business location within the State of Florida

shall be deposited into one or more interest-banking trust

checking accounts in an eligible financial institution for the

benefit of the Foundation, except as provided in rule 4-1.15

with respect to funds maintained other than in a bank

account, or as provided in rule 5-1.2(a). Only trust funds

that are nominal or short term shall be deposited into an

IOTA account. The member shall certify annually, in

writing, that the member is in compliance with, or is exempt

from, the provisions of this rule), 5-1.2(b) (Minimum Trust

Accounting Records. The following are the minimum trust

accounting records that shall be maintained: (1) A separate

bank account or accounts and, if utilized, a separate savings

and loan association account or accounts. Such accounts

shall be located in the State of Florida unless the client

otherwise directs, in writing, or unless the financial

institution in which the funds are maintained voluntarily

submits to the jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of Florida.

Such voluntary submission to the jurisdiction of the

Supreme Court of Florida shall be on the form prescribed by

the board of governors of The Florida Bar. The account or

accounts shall be in the name of the lawyer or law firm and

clearly labeled and designed as a “trust account.” (2)

Original or duplicate deposit slips and, in the case of

currency or coin, an additional case receipts book, clearly

82a

Appendix E

identifying: (A) the date and source of all trust funds |

received, and (B) the client or matter for which the funds

were received. (3) Original canceled checks, all of which

must be numbered consecutively, or, if the financial

institution wherein the trust account is maintained doc not

return the original checks, copies thereof, as provided by the

financial institution. (4) Other documentary support for all

disbursements and transfers from the trust account. (5) A

separate cash receipts and disbursements journal, including

columns for receipts, disbursements, transfers, and the

account balance, and contained at least: (A) the

identification of the client or matter for which the funds

were received, disbursed, or transferred; (B) the date on

which all trust funds were received, disbursed, or

transferred; (C) the check number for all disbursements, and

(D) the reason for which all trust funds were received,

disbursed, or transferred. (6) A separate file or ledger with

an individual card or page for each client or matter, showing

all individual receipts, disbursements, or transfers and any

unexpended balance, and containing: (A) the identification

of the client or matter for which trust funds were received,

disbursed, or transferred; (B) the date on which all trust

funds were received, disbursed, or transferred; (C) the

check number for all disbursements; and (D) the reason for

which all trust funds were received, disbursed, or

transferred. (7) All bank or savings and loan association

statements for all trust accounts), and 5-1.2(c) (Minimum

Trust Accounting Procedures. The minimum trust

accounting procedures that shall be followed by all

attorneys practicing in Florida who receive or disburse trust

money or property are as follows: (1) The lawyer shall

cause to be made monthly: (A) reconciliations of all trust

83a

Appendix E

bank or savings and loan association accounts, disclosing

the balance per bank, deposits in transit, outstanding checks

identified by date and check number, and nay other items

necessary to reconcile the balance per bank with the balance

per the checkbook and the cash receipts and disbursements

journal; and (B) a comparison between the total of the

reconciled balances of all trust accounts and the total of the

trust ledger cards or pages, together with specific

descriptions of any differences between the 2 totals and

reasons thereof. (2) At least annually, the lawyer shall

prepare a detailed listing identifying the balance of the

unexpended trust money held for each client or matter. (3)

The above reconciliations, comparisons, and listing shall be

retained for at least 6 years. (4) The lawyer or law firm

shall authorize and request any bank or savings and loan

associawon where the lawyer is a signatory on a trust

account to notice Staff Counsel, The Florida Bar, 650

Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2300, in

the event any trust check is returned due to insufficient

funds or uncollected funds, absent bank error. (5) The

lawyer shall file with The Florida Bar between June | and

August 15 of each year a trust accounting certificate

showing compliance with these rules on a form approved by

the board of governors of the Rules Regulating Trust

Accounts of the Florida Bar.

TFB No. 97-01312-01B

(Complaint of Shirley Minter-Smith)

Respondent waiver a formal finding of probable cause

and the filing of a formal complaint with respect to TFB File

No. 97-01312-01B.

84a

Appendix E

On August 22, 1996, Respondent was retained by Ms.

Shirley Minter-Smith to serve as attorney ad litem for her

minor son’s emancipation proceeding.

On or about September 11, 1996, Ms. Minter-Smith’s

son was arrested for aggravated battery and robbery and

Respondent was retained to handle his criminal case. Over

the next 4-6 weeks, Ms. Minter-Smith was unable to

communicate with Respondent to obtain information about

the status of her son’s criminal case.

On or about October 31, 1996, ms. Minter-Smith

retained another attorney to handle her son’s criminal

matter.

Respondent did not proceed with the emancipation

proceeding while the criminal charges were pending. It

appears that Ms. Minter-Smith wanted to go forward with

the emancipation proceeding notwithstanding the criminal

proceedings, yet the communication between Respondent

and Ms. Minter-Smith on this issue is not clear.

Based upon Respondent’s admission, I recommend

that Respondent be found guilty of violating Rule 4-1.4(a)

(A lawyer shall keep a client reasonable informed about the

status of a matter and promptly comply with reasonable

requests for information) of the Rules of Professional

Conduct.

85a

Appendix E

il 98-007 13-01B\

(Complaint of The Florida Bar)

Respondent has waived a formal finding of probable

cause and the filing of a formal complaint with respect to

TFB File No. 98-00713-01B.

Respondent represented the Plaintiff Wanda Rogers in

a federal action. The defendant, Marvin Runyon, the U.S.

Postmaster, filed a motion for summary judgment. At the

hearing on the motion for summary judgment, Respondent

appeared by telephone without leave of court while the —

defendant’s counsel was required to travel a significant

distance to attend this hearing. Respondent conceded that

summary judgment was appropriate. The defendant moved

for a judgment of costs against Respondent based upon the

above and Respondent did not respond, despite a

requirement to do so under the court’s rules. By order

dated December 2, 1997, the United States District Court

ordered Respondent to pay $2,260 to the defendant for her

actions herein.

Respondent did not respond to The Florida Bar’s

requests for information about this matter violating Rules 4-

3.4(c) (A lawyer shall not knowingly disobey an obligation

under the rules of a tribunal except for an open refusal

based on an assertion that no valid obligation exists) and 4-

8.4(g) (A lawyer shall not fail to respond, in writing, to any

inquiry by a disciplinary agency when such agency is

conducting an investigation into the lawyer’s conduct) of the

Rules of Professional Conduct.

86a

Appendix E

Ill. RECOMMENDATION AS TO DISCIPLINARY

MEASURE TO BE APPLIED

I recommend that Respondent be found guilty of

misconduct justifying disciplinary measures, and in

accordance with the terms of the consent judgment that she

be disciplined by:

A. Suspension from the practice of law for ninety-one(91)

days, which requires proof of rehabilitation.

B. Payment of The Flonda Bar’s costs in these

proceedings.

IV. PERSONAL HISTORY PAST DISCIPLINARY

RECORD AND AGGRAVATING AND

MITIGATING FACTORS

Prior to recommending discipline pursuant to Rule

3-7.6(k\(1), I considered the following:

A. Personal History of Respondent:

Age: 47 years old

Date admitted to the Bar: January 29, 1993

87a

Appendix E

B. Aggravating Factors:

i. 9.22(a) Prior Discipline: The Florida Bar File No.

96-00126-01B (Complaint of Eugene M. Bemstein) -

Respondent’s neglect and lack of communication in an

EEOC matter resulted in an admonishment before the

grievance committee in 1996.

Supreme Court Case No. 90,013; The Florida Bar File

No. 96-00958-01B (Complaint of Jonathan McNabb) -

Respondent’s neglect and incompetent representation in a

criminal matter resulted in a public reprimand in 1997.

Respondent is currently on an indefinite suspension

for failure to comply with a trust account subpoena, as

outlined in the consent judgment. Supreme Court Case No.

91,803, The Florida Bar File No. 98-00123-01B.

li. 9.22(c) - Pattern of misconduct; and

iii. 9.22(d) - Multiple offenses.

C. Mitigating Factors:

i. 9.32(b) - Absence of dishonest or selfish motive;

li. 9.32(c) - Personal or emotional problems - During

1996, Respondent was coping with the terminal

illness and subsequent of one of her sisters, for

88a

Appendix E

whom she was a caregiver. Further, Respondent was

coping with the commission of a violent crime

against her other sister. °

These events took Respondent out of her law office

for a period of time and diverted her attention away from

her law practice.

ili. 9.32(f) - Inexperience in the practice of law -

Respondent was admitted to the practice of law on

January 29, 1993 and most of the events occurred

between late 1995 and 1997;

iv. 9.32(e) - Full and free disclosure to disciplinary

board or cooperative attitude towards proceedings

Respondent has cooperated with The Florida Bar

in these proceedings and has been candid with

The Florida Bar regarding her role and

responsibility for these matters. Such cooperation

and candor is a major consideration by the Florida

Bar in entering into this consent judgment.

Respondent contends that where she was

nonresponsive, she had nothing to add to the

proceedings;

v. 9.32(h) - Physical or mental disability -

Respondent suffers from Lupus which was

diagnosed in 1997. During the time periods

involved in these matters, Respondent was

suffering from the symptoms of Lupus, which

were undiagnosed. Respondent is currently

being treated for Lupus.

89a

Appendix E

vi. 9.32(1) - Remorse - Respondent’s intent

was to help these clients and she is remorseful

that her actions or inactions resulted in harm to

the clients and the public. Respondent recognizes

that her major weakness stems from lack of office

management skills and that she needs to associate

herself with others who are better equipped at

office management matters.

T RIN

WHICH COSTS SHOULD BE TAXED

I find the following costs were reasonably incurred by

The Florida Bar:

TFB File Nos. 97-00727-01B, 97-007654-01B, and

97-00617-01B

Administrative Costs pursuant $

Rule 3-7.6(0)(1), Rules of Discipline 750.00

Court Reporter Fees and Transcripts 305.50

Bar Counsel Travel Expenses and 242.57

Witness Travel Expenses 25.33

Subtotal $1,323.40

TFB File Nos. 97-00190-01B and 97-00505-01B

Administrative Costs pursuant Rule $

3-7.6(0(1), Rules of Discipline 750.00

Court Reporter Fees and Transcripts 426.00

Grievance Committee Investigative

Expenses 175.96

Bar Counsel Travel Expenses and 133.25

Auditor Expenses (Travel and Audit) 446.58

90a

Appendix E

Witness Travel Expenses 73.30

and Copies 24.00

Subtotal $2,029.09

TEB File No. 97-01312-01B

Court Reporter Fees and Transcripts $ 265.00

Bar Counsel Travel Expenses and 118.41

Witness Travel Expenses 387.25

Subtotal $ 770.66

TEB File No. 98-00713-01B

No costs associated with file.

TOTAL $4,123.15

It is recommended that such costs be charged to Respondent

and that interest at the statutory rate shall accrue and be

payable beginning 30 days after the judgment in this case

becomes final unless a waiver is granted by the Board of

Governors of The Florida Bar.

Dated this 27 day of Apnil, 1998.

“s/ cf

William L. Wright, Circuit Judge Referee

Jackson County Courthouse

Post Office Box 852

Marianna, Florida 32447-0852

(850)482-9078

src i a a ana reat

9la

Appendix E

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the original of the foregoing

Report of Referee has been mailed by regular U.S. Mail to

SID J. WHITE, Clerk of the Supreme Court of Florida,

Supreme Court Building, Tallahassee, Florida 32301, and

that copies were mailed by regular U.S. Mail to JOHN

ANTHONY BOGGS, Staff Counsel, The Florida Bar, 650

Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2300;

LOIS B. LEPP, Bar Counsel, The Florida Bar, 650

Apalachee Parkway, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-2300; and

SADIE MOORE STEWART, Respondent, at her record

Bar address of 986 Caledonia Road, Cleveland Heights,

Ohio 44112, on this 27 day of Apmil, 1998.

“*¢/ ”

William L. Wright, Referee

92a

APPENDIX F——PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANT’S

FOLA/PRIVACY ACT REQUEST TO THE AGENCY

DATED MAY 22, 1995

From: See Enclosure (1) Schedule of Depositions

To: Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Officer,

Human Resources Office, 368 South Ave.,

Pensacola, FL 32508-5214

Subj: FOLA/PRIVACY ACT REQUEST

1. This is a request under the FOIA, 5 U.S.C. Section 552

and the Privacy Act, 5 U.S.C. Section 552a. The United

States Attorney for the Northern District of Florida has

notified us that he will take depositions in the case of

Abraham Johnson, et al v. John H. Dalton, civil Action

Number 94-30165-RV. Enclosure (1) lists the time and

date of these to be deposed. The US Attorney’s Office has

requested that all records and information related to this

action be brought with us at the time we are to be deposed.

2. We understand that the standard time for answering

FOIA requests is 10 days; however, the below requested

information is needed so that we can fully comply with the

US Attomey’s proposed depositions of us. Thus, we

request that you provide this information expeditiously to

the addresses listed in item 4, and all documents,

memoranda, notes, reports, diaries, things and computer

disks in your possess or under your control related in any

way to the parties to this civil action including, but not

limited to, the following:

a. Any personnel files, wherever maintained;

b. Any departmental files, wherever maintained;

c. Any and all EEO complaints, wherever maintained;

93a

Appendix F

d. Any and all MSPB complaints, wherever

maintained;

e. Any and all umion grievances, wherever

maintained;

f. Any and all offers of employment; applications for

employment; terms, conditions, and benefits of employment;

employment contracts, if any, and/or amendments thereto;

resumes or Forms SF-171; and insurance related documents.

g. Any and all job assignments, job requirements, job

title or job status, benefits statements, rates of

pay, and evaluations of job performance;

h. Any and all offers of employment; applications for

employment; terms, conditions, and benefits of employment;

employment contracts, if any, and/or amendments thereto;

resumes or Forms SF-171; and insurance related documents;

i. Any and all documents wherever maintained,

including but not limited to, notes, papers, transcripts, files,

diaries, notebooks, computer disks, video tapes, recording

an/or writings which relate to, pertain to, refer to, or support

any or all of the allegations in the complaint in this matter.

3. We request a waiver of all fees for this request. We are

the Plaintiffs in civil Action #94-30165-RV and we are

seeking information to assist us in fully answering the

United States Attorney when he deposes us about the above

referenced civil action.

4. If you require any assistance in expediting this request

or have any questions, the point of contact for this request is

Darlene D. Sharpe, she can be reached at 452-3692. Thank

you for your consideration of this request.

94a

Appendix F

The requesters and addresses are as follows:

Thelma Roby

200 E. Burgess Rd.,

Apt. #48B

Pensacola, FL 32503

Eugene Lovelace

3410 W. Hernandez St

Pensacola, FL 32503

Frances Brown

P. QO. Box 125

Pensacola, FL 32591

-0125

James R. Welcome

502 N. Green St.

Pensacola, FL 32505

Fred Bass

75 South Madison

Pensacola, FL 32534

Robert Brooks

712 W. Gregory St.

Pensacola, FL 32501

Mary Gibson

309 Gamarra Rd

Pensacola, FL 32503

Jerald Lacey

4552 Independence Ave.

Pensacola, FL 32505

Darlene D. Sharpe

8800 Fowler Ave., Apt.

#B203

Pensacola, FL 32534

Ametha Welcome

502 N. Green St.

Pensacola, FL 32505

April Posey

6672 Bellview Pines Place

Pensacola, FL 32526

Vera Evans

940 N. “C” St

Pensacola, FL 32501

Sylvia Bell

910 Winston Ave

Pensacola, FL 32507

Willie Carson

To be provided

Tommie Ware

1301 E. Leonard St

Pensacola, FL 32501

Calvin Robinson

318 E. Garfield Dr.

Pensacola, FL 32505

Willie Remer Young

1006 Texar Dr

Pensacola, FL 32503-

3643

Abraham Johnson

3300 Rollingbrook Rd.,

Apt. 1017

Daytown, TX 77521

Marilyn Alexander

6444 Memphis Ave

Pensacola, FL 32506

Robert Broughton

8317 Ranger Dr

Pensacola, FL 32534

Gilda James

4001 Shorewood Dr

Pensacola, FL 32507

95a

Appendix F

Van G. Nelson

2490 Bellview Pines Way

Pensacola, FL 32526

Earnest Standberry (Retired)

8719 Orange Ave

Pensacola, FL 32534

Robert Taylor

6492 Memphis Ave.

Pensacola, FL 32506

Fred Hicks

744 Boxwood Dr

Pensacola, FL 32503

J.W. Bridges

2208 Inverness Dr

Pensacola, FL 32503

Pat Frelix

C/O Thelma Roby

200 E. Burgess Rd.,

Apt 48B

Pensacola, FL 32503

Eugene Ward

2301 St. Andrews Dr

Cantonment, FL 32533

Lorenzo Chatman

395 N. “T” St

Pensacola, FL 32505

Jennifer Jones-Butler

4519 Chantilly Way

Pensacola, FL 32505

Velma Jones

1956 Gary Circle

Pensacola, FL 32505

Debrah Burgess

630 W. Lee St

Pensacola, FL 32501

Lamar Jackson

P. O. Box 1605]

Pensacola, FL 32507

Larry Goggans

2031 Brenda Ave

Pensacola, FL 32506

Roscoe Kidd

8295 Ranger Dr

Pensacola, FL 32534

James Stanten

6410 Birkhead Dr

Pensacola, FL 32506

96a

Appendix F

Lillian Smith

1251 Mahogany Mills Apt

Pensacola, FL 32507

Robert Cannon

3161 Torres Ave

Pensacola, FL 32503

Victor Barnes

1999 Detroit Blvd

Pensacola, FL 32534

Margaret McQueen

P. O. Box 474

Cantonment, FL 32533

Leslie Johnson

903 W. Hatton St

Pensacola, FL 32501

Kathy Floyd

611 Washington St

Cantonment, FL 32533

Wilbur Henderson

C/O Thelma Roby

200 E. Burgess Rd, Apt 48B

Pensacola, FL 32503

Joseph Wright

125 W. Highland Dr

Pensacola, FL 32503

James Thompson

5.N. 9" Ave

Pensacola, FL 32503

Margaret Miles

4495 Landes Dr

Pensacola, FL 32505

97a

Appendix F

James Royster (Retired)

1105 W. Leonard St

Pensacola, FL 32501

98a

APPENDIX G——FOIA OFFICER’S RESPONSE TO

PLAINTIFFS-APPELLANT’S REQUEST SIGNED

DATED JUNE 2, 1995"

5720

Code 09A1

Jun 02 1995

Ms. Darlene D. Sharpe

8800 Fowler Avenue

Apartment B203

Pensacola, FL 32534

Dear Ms. Sharpe:

This is in response to the Freedom of Information/Privacy

Act request which you hand delivered to the Human

Resources Office Pensacola on May 22, 1995. You

requested documents and files pertaining to 47 different

individuals. You further indicated that the documents were

required to respond to a Notice of Video Tape Deposition

issued by the U. S. Attomey in the case of Abraham

Johnson Jr., et al v. John H. Dalton. That Notice required

the deponent to bring certain documents “in his or her

possession or under his or her control.” Since you have

indicated the requested records are required to respond to

the U.S. Attorney, be advised that the Human Resources

Office has turned the files over to the cognizant Assistant

United States Attorney. To facilitate your expeditious

access to these records, you should contact your attorney so

that he can arrange for the necessary discovery notices to be

issued. Point of contact for the Navy in the U.S. Attorney’s

office is Mr. Anthony Crouse and he may be reached at

434-3251.

Sincerely.

“e/ ”

M. D. MILLAS

Deputy Director, Acting

99a

APPENDIX H——THE SUPREME COURT OF

FLORIDA DISCIPLINES SADIE MOORE

STEWART RELEASED JULY 2, 1998

Discipline Release Page | of 9

PUBLIC & MEDIA INFORMATION

Public and Media Information

Discipline Releases

Discipline Release: July 2, 1998

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 2, 1998

CONTACT: Toyca D. Williams

The Florida Bar

TELEPHONE: 850/561-5666

FROM THE FLORIDA BAR

SUPREME COURT DISCIPLINES 34

ATTORNEYS

TALLAHASSEE, July 2 — The Florida Supreme Court in

recent court orders suspended 18 attorneys, disbarred three,

reprimanded five, accepted the resignation of seven

attorneys and placed one on probation. The Supreme Court

of Florida issued these orders following action by The

Florida Bar.

The following lawyers are disciplined:

Raymond A. Argyros, 511 Paula Dr., South, Dunedin,

automatically suspended from practicing law in

100a

Appendix H

Florida,effective immediately following a May | court

order. Argyros, found guilty of perjury, was sentenced to

five years probation.

Andrew Baron, 1803 E. Kaley St., Orlando,

reprimanded for professional misconduct following a May

14 court order. Baron ran an advertisement in the telephone

book that failed to meet Bar standards. The Standing

Committee on Advertising had advised Baron earlier that

the same advertisement did not meet specific guidelines. He

also failed to respond to Bar investigative inquiries. He is

placed on probation for one year.

Discipline Release Page 7 of 9

Kenneth Robert Schroff, 346 Biake Ave., Orange Park,

resigned in lieu of disciplinary proceedings, with leave to

seek readmission after years, effective 30 days following a

May 7 court order. In several instances, Schroff allegedly

failed to competently represent his clients and allegedly

failed to act with diligence and promptness. He agreed to

cooperate with any Client Security Fund claims related to

his clients.

Lloyd Raymond Schwed, 19055 S.E. Coral Reef Lane,

Jupiter, suspended from practicing law in Florida for two

years, retroactive to Sept. 12, 1996, following a March 19

court order. Schwed pleaded guilty to one count of

obstructing proceedings before the Securities Exchange

Commission. He was sentenced to five months in prison

and five months home confinement. Within a couple days

10la

Appendix H

after his arrest, Schwed filed a voluntary petition with The

Florida Bar to suspend his license.

Sadie Moore Stewart, 986 Caledonia Ave., Cleveland

Heights, Ohio, suspended from practicing law in Florida

for 91 days, effective immediately following a May 14 court

order. In several unrelated cases, Stewart violated rules

regulating the Bar. She practiced law while suspended and

failed to diligently represent her clients, explain matters

fully to clients, meet contingency fee guidelines comply

with many other Bar rules.

Ernest J. Szarwark, 503 Lynnwood Blvd., Nashville,

Tenn., automatically suspended from practicing law in

Florida, effective immediately following a May 18 court

order. Szarwark was found guilty of four courts of mail

fraud, a felony. He was sentenced to 24 months in prison,

with two years of supervised release.

Claire L. Tacher, 15041 S.W. 146" St., Miami, resigned

in lieu of disciplinary proceedings, with leave to seek

readmission after five years, effective immediately following

a May 7 court order. Tacher allegedly violated Bar rules

regulating trust accounts. She also failed to communicate

with her client, represent her client diligently, file an

appellate brief and respond to Bar

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1998

THELMA ROBY

DARLENE SHARPE

JAMES WELCOME,

Petitioners,

vs.

JOHN H. DALTON,

Respondent.

PROOF OF SERVICE

We, Thelma L. Roby, Darlene D. Sharpe, and James R. Welcome,

do swear or declare that on this date, enclosed PETITION FOR A

WRIT OF CERTIORARI on each of the above proceeding or that

party’s counsel, and on every other person required to be served, by

depositing an envelope containing the above documents in the

United States mail properly addressed to each of them with first-

class postage prepaid.

The names and addresses of those served are as follows:

The U.S. Attorney, P. Michael Patterson

114 E. Gregory Street

Pensacola, FL 32501-4972

We declare under penalty of perjury tht the foregoing is true

and correct.

Executed on 4 Mende , 1999.

DMaQec rival, brew K LLMeang

Signature

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Roby v. Danzig · 526 U.S. 1116 | Frix