Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Clearing House Ass'n v. Fox News Network, LLC

Supreme Court brief2011

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

No.

TO-t 8 tar 8 08

a

ac O OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

<< <P <a

THE CLEARING HOUSE ASSOCIATION L.L.C.,

Petitioner,

Fox NEws NEtwork, LLC, and THE BOARD OF

GOVERNORS OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PAUL SALTZMAN ROBERT J. GIUFFRA, JR.

JOSEPH R. ALEXANDER Counsel of Record

THE CLEARING HOUSE H. RODGIN COHEN

ASSOCIATION L.L.C. MICHAEL M. WISEMAN

450 West 33rd Street EREZ J. DAVY

New York, New York 10001 SULLIVAN & CROMWELL LLP

(212) 613-0100 125 Broad Street

New York, New York 10004

212) 558-4000

giuffrar@sullcrom.com

Attorneys for Petitioner

The Clearing House Association L.L.C.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Exemption 4 of the Freedom of Information

Act authorizes a federal agency to withhold “[1] trade

secrets and commercial or financial information [2]

obtained from a person and [8] privileged or

confidential.” 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(4). The Second

Circuit ruled that this exemption does not authorize

the Board of Governors of the Federal System (the

“Board”) to withhold reports disclosing the identities

of banks that obtained loans through the Iederal

Reserve System, along with the amounts and

durations of such loans. In doing so, the Second

Circuit held that (1) the highly confidential bank

information in these reports was not “obtained from”

the borrowing banks; and (2) the Board could not

withhold this information on the basis that its

disclosure would impair the effectiveness of its

lending programs.

The questions presented are:

1. Whether the identity of, and highly

confidential terms on which, a third party transacts

with a federal agency is information “obtained from”

that party and, therefore, within the scope of FOIA

Kxemption 4?

2. Whether information is “confidential” under

FOIA Exemption 4 when its disclosure would impair

the effectiveness of federal agency programs?

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 29.6

STATEMENT

The petitioner is The Clearing House

The respondents are Fox News

Association L.L.C

of the

Network, LILC, and the Board of Governors

Federal Reserve System

The Clearing House Association L.L.C. has no

corporate parents, and no publicly-held company

owns 10% or more of the stock of The Clearing House

Association L.L..C

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESEN 1 BD) ...........00.000000.

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 29.6

EE PES iit eatin |

APPENDIX CONTENTS

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STA TEMG Cle Ee Se vicivercsersssiscsserccccnnes ©

A. Factual BaCherOand., 0. +. <6cesscisecsscxncescscccsvssvess 12

1. The Discount Window and the Mechanics

&)

of Discount Window Lending................... 12

2. The Recognized “Stigma” of Financial

Weakness Attributed to Banks That

Borrow from the Discount Window. ........ 13

3. The Board’s Longstanding Confidentiality

Policy for Discount Window Lending and

the New Dodd-Frank Disclosure Regime. 15

Proceedings Below in Bloomberg and Fox.... 17

1. Bloomberg’s FOIA Request and Its

Adjudication in the District Court

2. Fox's FOIA Request and Its Adjudication

in the District Court

2)

3. Proceedings Before the Second Circuit in

Bloomer BING FOG. incccsiscinescciecécenscsenceesss 20

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE SECOND CIRCUITS ERRONEOUS

“OBTAINED FROM A PERSON” RULING

THREATENS NUMEROUS FEDERAL

AGENCY PROGRAMS THAT DEPEND ON

MAINTAINING THE CONFIDENTIALITY

OF COMMERCIAL TRANSACTIONS WITH

ee Pe aro ba ce rone cana cs er pr tov sersicncenseennsces 2!

A. Courts Have Long Held That FOIA

Exemption 4 Protects Commercially

Sensitive Details of Third Parties’

Commercial Transactions with Federal

pO RN RA AS ARIE aA LO eRe eee mee Serr eee a0

. The Second Circuit’s Ruling Contravenes

the Established Principle That an Agency

May Withhold “Inextricably Intertwined”

Exempt and Non-Exempt Data..................... :

. THE SECOND CIRCUIT OPENLY SPLIT

WITH THE D.C. AND FIRST CIRCUITS IN

HOLDING THAT EXEMPTION 4 DOES

NOT PROTECT “CONFIDENTIAL”

INFORMATION WHOSE DISCLOSURE

WOULD IMPAIR THE EFFECTIVENESS

OF FEDERAL PROGRAMS. .........0ccssseseceseecceses i

EE ae IEE vncsandsnassnreissiwenenanens PR cie tasted seconde 37

APPENDIX CONTENTS

Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, entered on

PW RGD oo, cos. ska ncncauseccdecseveenancccewel A-]

Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, entered on

PUR, BY PEO. a cavccnncctavcecseccesvens TEST RPA ARES EAT A-3

Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, entered on August

UE ec te ta oa ad ee ed A-5

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, entered on March

De ee ch widaiinccvnbabcoancsncsaenteekeepeeermianeeavaaaraieel A-7

Opinion of the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York,

CNCSVER OF DUlY BO, DIS oniccvcccccccesscssnsseacsssecaed A-17

A Fe, © GR coco ncasocacevvcesanecsusepccces ecco

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

9 to 5 Org. for Women Office Workers v. Bd. of

Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys.,

TOt FB FE CIS Civ. BOGS) cacccececccccccneees 9, 34-35, 36

Andrews v. Veterans Admtin.,

ee Fee OLS CIGEE CAP. BBBG) onesie cseccscsscsecsceeses 39

Bloomberg, L.P. v. Bd. of Governors of the Fed.

Reserve Sys.,

ee ee Ee Ce CB. BOLO) 055 ccccivccesesccessece passim

Bloomberg L.P. v. Bd. of Governors of the Fed.

Reserve Sys.,

649 F. Supp. 2d 262 (S.D.N.Y. 2009).................. 18

Canadian Commercial Corp. v. Dept of the Air

Force,

ee ee ee CEs, C288, BOI ceccisecevivessssesvccsoseeeeess 29

Church of Scientology Int'l v. U.S. Dep't of

Justice,

te ee Oe CED cig co sessvccccsectsaveccecevtoncs OO

Clarke v. U.S. Dep’t of Treasury,

No. 84-1873, 1986 WL 1234 (E.D. Pa. Jan.

aa aakhawenitqenekubers .... 28°29, 36

Comstock Intl (U.S.A.), Inc. v. Export-Import

Bank of the U.S..,

e646 ©. Supe. 604 D.C. 1979).................... 27, 31

_y}-

Cont’ Stock Transfer & Trust Co. v. SEC,

Ge Ce Te Ce Ga, IT OP cca vcavivecectcrsececessscusess 34

Contract Freighters, Inc. v. Sec'y of U.S. Dept

of Transp..,

260 F.3d 86S (Sth Cir. ZO01)........cccscccssscesscess <cices Ml

Critical Mass Energy Project v. NRC,

975 F.2d 871 (D.C. Cir. 1992) (en banc).... 9-10, 36

Cuomo v. The Clearing House Ass'n, LLC,

1260 &. CE. B71) CAD on vevcsccas watssad lily laatecanlubes ciuane- ae

Flightsafety Servs. Corp. v. Dept of Labor,

S26 F.S0 GOT (GED Cir. DOCG) ain ivicnsscocescesscscessss 32

FOMC vy. Merrill,

ee ee cdvuncuetauessexiuves os Sd

Fox News Netwerk, LLC v. Bd. of Governors of

the Fed. Reserve Sys.,

GOL Fee 1OS 0 Cl. BIG vase ssvcsesiccerscossecss passim

Fox News Network, LLC v. Bd. of Governors of

the Fed. Reserve Sys.,

639 F. Supp. 2d 384 (S.D.N.Y. 2009)................ 19

Fox News Network, LLC v. U.S. Dep't of the

Treasury,

--- F. Supp. 2d ---, 2010 WL 3705283

CS.TOLIN. FT. SOG. BF, BOI) viv sedsvcccccscvesesss en 25-26

Gen. Elec. Co. v. Dep't of Air Force,

648 F. Supp. 2d 95 (D.D.C. 2009)..........-....-+- vase BO

Hunt v. Wash. State Apple Adver. Comm'n,

Oe Be, ee Ce oiicciecnes akan ite tc

-V1l-

Inner City Press/Community on the Move v.

Bd. of Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys.,

463 F'.8G ZOO C2 Car. ZOAID cscescccsisccdccavcsssesensssses 4

_S

bo

John Doe Agency v. John Doe Corp.,

4B8 US. TAG CIGD vvssccsscncnessccceseveteeee 11, 33-34, 37

Judicial Watch, Inc. v. Export-Import Bank,

108 F. Supp. 2d 19 (D.D.C. 2000)....... 26-27, «

~]

\eAe!

———

ee

'

we

be

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. NASA,

180 F.3d 308. G).U. Cie. TG shcsséssscsieccumeson ‘suns BO

Mead Data Cent., Inc. v. U.S. Dep't of the Air

Force,

566 F.2d 242 {2.0 Cor. 167s 31

Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Fla. v. U.S..,

16 F.3d 1235 (11th CAar. ZOOS) nicccscsscesesicnescucn 3]

Missouri Coalition for Enut'l Found. v. Army

Corps of Engrs,

542 F Aa 1204 (Sth Cir. DOOR) ...+<cccscsuccmen 31-32

Nat’! Parks & Conservation Ass'n v. Morton,

498 F.2d 765 (D.C, Car. 1ST) ....ccececseccrccovess passim

Patterson v. IRS,

BG F.3d SSS CFU Gre. Be vec occseccnncssnscicacencvencs cin hee

Pub. Citizen Health Research Group v. NIH,

209 F. Supp. 2d 37 (D.D.C. 2002)........... 28, 30, 36

Rein v. Patent & Trademark Office,

553 F.3a SBS €GGR Civ, Bi cccncecancstcpnccseaavserenes ol

-V1l1-

Renegotiation Bd. v. Bannercraft Clothing Co.,

@15 U.S. 1 (1974)........... : | 10

Willamette Indus., Inc. v. U.S.,

689 F.2d 865 (9th Cir. 1982) 32

STATUTES AND RULES

5 U.S.C. § 552(a(4)(B) .... |]

6 U.S.C. § 552(d)...... epee 1, 24, 31

5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(4) .... passim

ee 3

Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and

Consumer Protection Act, Pub. L. No. 111

203, 124 Stat. 1376 (2010)... .. 0-9, 15-16, 2

Sup. Ct. R. 10(a) ......

MISCELLANEOUS

Brian F. Madigan & William R. Nelson,

Proposed Revision to the Federal Reserve's

Discount Window Lending Program,

88 Fed. Res. Bull. 313 (2002)........... 15

Frequently Asked Questions—Discount

Window Lending Program,

http://www.frbdiscountwindow.org/dwfaqs

eras a Lehcnpecsneesesteusxes: | 16

Treasury Committee, The Run on the Rock,

Se On.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

THE CLEARING HOUSE ASSOCIATION L.L.C.,

Petitioner,

lox NEWS NETWORK, LLC,

and THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE FEDERAL

RESERVE SYSTEM,

Respondents

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner The Clearing House Association

L.L.C. (“The Clearing House”)! respectfully petitions

' Established in 1853, The Clearing House is the United

States’ oldest banking association and payments company. It 1s

owned by the world’s largest commercial banks, which

collectively employ 1.4 million people in the United States and

hold more than half of all U.S. deposits. The Clearing House

Association is a nonpartisan advocacy organization

representing through regulatory comment letters, amicus

briefs, and white papers the interests of its member banks on a

variety of systemically important banking issues. Its affiliate,

The Clearing House Payments Company L.L.C., provides

payment, clearing, and settlement services to its member banks

(footnote continued)

for a writ of certiorari to review the March 19, 2010

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Second Circuit 1s reported

at 601 F.3d 158 (2d Cir. 2010). The August 20, 2010

Order of the Second Circuit denying rehearing is

unreported. (A-5-6.)?- The August 27, 2010 Order of

the Second Circuit granting the Board of Governors

of the Federal Reserve System (the “Board”) a 60-day

stay of the mandate is unreported. (A-3-4.) The

November 16, 2010 Order of the Second Circuit

sranting ‘The Clearing House _ post-yudgment

intervention and a stay of the mandate pending the

filing of this Petition is unreported. (A-1-2.) The

decision of the District Court is reported at 639 F

Supp. 2d 384 (S.D.N.Y. 2009).

JURISDICTION

The Second Circuit entered its judgment on

March 19, 2010, and denied the Board's petition for

panel and en banc rehearing on August 20, 2010. By

order dated August 27, 2010, the Second Circuit

sranted the Board a 60-day stay pending the filing of

a Petition for a Writ of Certiorari. On October 26,

2010. after the Solicitor General declined to grant

(footnote continued)

and other financial institutions, clearing almost $2 trillion daily

and representing nearly half of the automated clearing-house,

funds-transfer, and check-image payments made in the U.S

See www.theclearinghouse.org (last visited on Nov. 17, 2010)

All citations to “A- _” are to the Appendix to this Petition

the Board’s request for permission to file a Petition

for a Writ of Certiorarnn, The Clearing House

promptly moved to intervene as a party and to stay

the mandate. By order dated November 16, 2010

the Second Circuit granted The Clearing House's

intervention motion and granted The Clearing House

a seven-day stay of the mandate pending the filing of

the instant Petition. (A-1-2.) This Petition, timely

filed within 90 days of the Second Circuit's August

20. 2010 denial of rehearing, invokes this Courts

yurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The statutory provision involved is fxemption

1 of the Freedom of [nformation Act, 5 U.S.C

S 552(b)( 1)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The instant Petition seeks review of the

Second Circuit’s judgment in ox News Network,

LLC v. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve

System, 601 Fo8d 158 (2d Cir. 2010) (“ox”), based on

the same questions presented by The Clearing House

in its earher Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, filed

with this Court on October 26, 2010, to review the

judgment in the companion appeal of Bloomberg,

L.P. v. Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve

System, 601 F.3d 148 (2d Cir. 2010) ( Bloomberg’),

petition for cert. filed, 79 U.S.L.W. 8271 (U.S. Oct

26, 2010) (No. 10-543)

lor the Court's convenience, The Clearing

House largely incorporates in this Petition the

substance of the arguments advanced 1n_ its

Bloomberg Petition, with specific citations to the

record on appeal in Fox and additional discussion of

the procedural posture of the Fox action.

The Companion Bloomberg and Fox

Appeals. The Petitions filed by The Clearing House

in Bloomberg and Fox arise from closely related

appeals. Both appeals concern Board reports

reflecting highly confidential information about the

identities of banks that borrowed through certain

Board lending programs, along with the loan-by-loan

details of their borrowings (specifically, the Board

reports at issue in Bloomberg are a subset of the

broader span of reports at issue in Fox); were heard

in tandem by the same Second Circuit panel; and

were decided by separate opinions issued on the

In its Bloomberg decision, the Second Circuit

ruled that the Board was not authorized under

Exemption 4 of the Freedom of Information Act

(“FOIA”) to withhold the identities of financial

institutions that borrowed from certain Federal

Reserve lending programs and the amounts and

durations of their loans, because (1) this highly

confidential information was not “obtained from” the

borrowing institutions; and (2) assuming this

information was “obtained from a person” (the panel

was referring here to the Federal Reserve Banks

(“FRBs”) that supplied the raw lending data to the

Board), Exemption 4 did not authorize a federal

All citations to “Fox JA” are to the Joint Appendix submitted

{

‘ircuit in Fos \ll citations to “Bloomberg

JA” a©r to the Joint \ppendi.x submitted pelore tne : cond

agency to withhold information, even the most highly

confidential information, on the basis that its

disclosure would impair the effectiveness of its

programs.

The Second Circuit then apphed its Bloomberg

holdings to require the Board to release the

information at issue in Fox. See Fox, 601 F.3d at 160

(‘For the reasons stated in the tandem case,

| Bloomberg], the information unambiguously at issue

in the Fox News requests—the identity of the

borrowing bank, the dollar amount of the loans, the

collateral securing the loans, and _ the _ loan

origination and maturity dates—is not protected

from disclosure by Exemption 4.”). In Fox, the

Second Circuit then proceeded to address the issue

not relevant to the instant Petition—of whether the

Board had adequately searched for additional agency

records held at the FRBs. See td. at 160-63.

Because the only aspect of the fox decision

that The Clearing House asks this Court to review 1s

derivative of the Second Cuircuit’s holdings in

Bloombderg, all references below to the Second

Circuit’s rulings in Bloomberg apply equally to this

Petition.

The Separate Certiorar. Petitions in

Bloomberg and Fox. The reason why The Clearing

House is filing the instant Fox Petition separately

from its Petition in Bloomberg is procedural.

In Bloomberg, The Clearing House was

eranted post-judgment intervention at the District

Court level. This ruling authorized The Clearing

House to participate as a party throughout the

appeal before the Second Circuit, including moving

for a 60-day stay of the mandate to file a certiorari

petition on October 26, 2010, that is, within the time

period of that stay.

Unlike in Bloomberg, The Clearing House did

not—and had no reason’ to—intervene_ after

judgment was rendered at the District Court level in

Fox. The Board was the prevailing party before the

District Court and, unlike in Bloomberg, thus did not

require the Solicitor General's approval to defend the

District Court’s ruling on appeal in Fox. As a result,

the Board was in a position to protect The Clearing

House’s interests in its members’ highly confidential

information as reflected in the Board reports at

issue.

On appeal in fox, the Board in tact defended

The Clearing House’s interests before and after

judgment, including by obtaining Solicitor General

approval to file a petition for en banc rehearing on

May 3, 2010 on the same two issues presented by

The Clearing House in this Petition

)

It was only on October 22, 2010, when counsel

for the Board informed counse] for The Clearing

House that the Solicitor General did not authorize

the Board to file a petition for certiorarn in either

Bloomberg or Fox, that the Board no _ longer

adequately protected The Clearing House's interest

in 1ts members’ highly confidential information at

issue 1n the Fox appeal.

This notification prompted The Clearing

House to move shortly thereafter, on October 26,

2010, to seek post-judgment intervention in Fox in

order to stay the mandate in Fox pending the

disposition of its Petition in Bloomberg; or,

-6-

alternatively, pending the filing of a separate

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in Kox that would

present the two same two questions of law presented

in The Clearing House’s Bloomberg Petition. This

intervention motion was necessary, because, absent

a stay of the Second Circuit’s mandate in Fox, the

disclosure of the highly confidential bank

information at issue in Fox (of which the information

in Bloomberg is a subset) would have mooted The

Clearing House’s pending Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari in Bloomberg.

On November 16, 2010, the Second Circuit

sranted The Clearing House’s intervention and stay

motions. (A-2.) In doing so, the Second Circuit

conferred upon The Clearing House party status in

Fox to afford it “an opportunity to file a petition for

the Writ of Certiorari to the United States Supreme

Court.” (/d.) This Petition followed.

The Bloomberg Rulings Upon Which the

Fox Decision is Based. The rulings in the

Bloomberg decision, in which the Second Circuit

openly split with the D.C. and First Circuits, stem

from an unprecedented FOIA request by Bloomberg

(later copied by an even broader FOIA request by

Fox) demanding that the Board disclose highly

confidential reports containing the identities of

banks that borrowed from the Discount Window (a

permanent lending program of the FRBs) during the

recent financial crisis, along with the amounts and

durations of such loans.’

The request also demanded that the Board disclose such

information for the now-discontinued Primary Dealer Credit

(footnote continued)

The request 1s unprecedented because, since

the establishment of the Discount Window program

in 1914, the Board has never disclosed the identities

of borrowing banks or the loan-by-loan details of

their borrowings. (The Board has _ historically

published such information weekly on an aggregate

basis.) That longstanding policy of borrower

confidentiality rests on the recognized concern that

depositors, counterparties, and market participants

may infer (perhaps erroneously) that a bank that

borrows from the Discount Window is experiencing

liquidity problems and react by withdrawing their

funds from the bank or discontinuing to extend

credit. When borrowing from the Discount Window,

banks had understood that their identities and

individual borrowings would be kept confidential.

Indeed, the FRBs’ public Discount Window website

then stated that “the Federal Reserve does not

publish information about individual institutions’

borrowings.”

The Dodd-Frank Act now requires the Board

to disclose the identities of banks that borrow from

(footnote continued)

Facility (PDCF’), Term Securities Lending Facility (TSLF’),

and Term Auction Facility (“TAF”). Under the Dodd-Frank

Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (the “Dodd-

Frank Act”), Pub. L. No. 111-203, 124 Stat. 1376 (2010), the

Board will be required to disclose transaction-level details of

loans made through the PDCF, TSLF and TAF, including the

identities of borrowing entities, on or before December 1, 2010

See Dodd-Frank Act § 1109(c). Accordingly, the portion of this

case about those facilities will be moot as of that date

Brief of Intervenor-Appellant The Clearing House

\ssociation L.L.C., Nov. 6, 2009, at 14, No. 09-4083-ev (2d Cir.)

the Discount Window, along with other transaction-

level details of their borrowing, approximately two

years after such borrowing occurs. See infra at 15-

16. But the Act does not require the Board to

disclose information concerning Discount Window

lending that took place prior to the Act's enactment.

Allowing the Board to withhold this pre-enactment

Discount Window lending information is important,

because disclosure of this information threatens to

harm the borrowing banks by allowing the public to

observe their borrowing patterns during the recent

financial crisis and draw _ inferences—whether

justified or not—about their current financial

conditions. See infra at 13-14.

In both Bloomberg and Fox, the Board sought

to protect this Discount Window lending information

by invoking FOIA Exemption 4, which authorizes a

federal agency to withhold “[1] trade secrets and

commercial or financial information [2] obtained

from a person and [3] privileged or confidential.”

5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(4). Numerous circuit courts have

held that information is “confidential” when its

disclosure is likely “(1) to impair the Government’s

ability to obtain necessary information in the future;

or (2) to cause substantial harm to the competitive

position of the person from whom the information

was obtained.” Natl Parks & Conservation Assn v.

Morton, 498 F.2d 765, 770 (D.C. Cir. 1974) (footnote

omitted). The D.C. and First Circuits have further

held that information is “confidential” when its

disclosure would impair an agency’s ability to

“carry{] out [its] mandate.” 9 to 5 Org. for Women

Office Workers v. Bd. of Governors of the Fed. Reserve

Sys., 721 F.2d 1, 10 (1st Cir. 1983); accord Critical

-o.

Mass Energy Project v. NRC, 975 F.2d 871, 879 (D.C.

Cir. 1992) (en banc).

In Bloomberg, the Second Circuit recognized

the Board’s and the banks’ “plausible” and

“forceful[]” showing that disclosure of the

information sought by Bloomberg “would harm the

banks that borrowed” and “the banking system as a

whole.” Bloomberg, 601 F.3d at 151. Nevertheless,

the Second Circuit held—as a matter of law—that (1)

the FRBs’ “executive action” in approving the

Discount Window loans meant that the highly

confidential bank information was not “obtained

from a person” outside the government, and

therefore not subject to Exemption 4 protection at

all, id. at 149; and (2) even assuming that such bank

information was “obtained from a person” (the Court

here was referring to the FRBs that supphed the raw

lending data to the Board), Exemption 4 does not

allow an agency to withhold information when doing

so “serves a valuable purpose and is useful for the

effective execution of its statutory responsibilities,”

id. at 150.

These important rulings of law warrant this

Court's review for two reasons.

First, the Second Circuit's rulings will disrupt

“long-established procedures” of numerous federal

agencies. See Renegotiation Bd. v. Bannercraft

Clothing Co., 415 US. 1, 11 (1974) (grant of

certiorari to analyze “the impact of the FOIA upon

long-established procedures of the Renegotiation

Board”). Many government programs, such as the

Export-Import Bank's provision of loans’ and

insurance and the National Institutes of Health's

(“NIH”) licensing of government inventions, depend

-10-

on assuring third parties that details of their

commercial transactions with federal agencies wil!

remain confidential.

The Second Circuit’s holding that the FRBs’

“executive action” in approving Discount Window

loans eliminates Exemption 4 protection for this

highly confidential bank information conflicts with

this line of cases and threatens to’ harm the

government programs they protect. The harm here

is magnified, because any FOIA requester that

resides in the Second Circuit will be able to bind a

federal agency to that Court’s law. See 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(a)(4)(B). This is especially important in thai

many of the nation’s leading media companies are

located in the Southern District of New York.

The line of cases that the Second Circuit's

ruling will disrupt is consistent with the bedrock

principle, codified in 5 U.S.C. § 552(b) and recognized

across the Circuits, that an agency is authorized to

withhold information in its entirety where the

information consists of exempt data and non-exempt

data that are “inextricably intertwined.” See infra at

31-33. This rule applies fully when third parties

transact with a federal agency.

Second, the Second Circuit’s ruling “conflict|s]

with the decision of another United States court of

appeals on the same important matter.” Sup. Ct. R.

10(a); see also John Doe Agency v. John Doe Corp.,

493 U.S. 146, 151 (1989) (grant of certiorari in FOIA

Exemption 7 case because of “the importance and

sensitivity of the issue [presented] and because of

different interpretations of the pertinent language of

{the exemption]”). Specifically, the Second Circuit's

ruling—now binding the financial and media capital

11-

of the United States—split with the D.C. and First

Circuits on an important question of federal law:

Whether information is “confidential” within the

meaning of Exemption 4 when its disclosure would

impair the effectiveness of government programs.

A. Factual Background.

l. The Discount Window and the

Mechanics of Discount Window

Lending.

Authorized by the Federal Reserve Act, the

Discount Window “is a mechanism by which the

twelve Federal Reserve Banks lend funds on a short

term basis, secured by collateral, to eligible

depository institutions within their respective

districts.” (Kox JA-127 4 6; Bloomberg JA-67 § 6.) In

performing this lending function, the Discount

Window can serve “as an emergency, back-up source

of liquidity for institutions that may not have access

to ordinary, market sources of funding on a short

term basis.” (Fox JA-138 4 23; Bloomberg JA-74

A bank eligible to borrow from the Discount

Window requests a Discount Window loan by

contacting its lecal FRB. When doing so, the bank

supplies to the FRB, among other things, the bank's

(i) “[nJame and location”; (11) “[t]he amount [the bank

is] requesting”; and (iii) “[t]he number of days that

funds will be needed.”® After a bank initiates a

‘he Mechanics of Borrowing, http://www.frbdiscount

window.ore/mechanics/cfm?hdrI D=14 (last visited on Nov

2010)

Discount Window loan request, FRB staff “review the

request, verify collateral and, if approved, enter the

loan in the [FRB’s] loan and accounting systems.”

(Fox JA-133 § 16; Bloomberg JA-70 4 11.)

The FRBs, in turn, provide data concerning

completed loans to the Board’s Division of Monetary

Affairs. (Fox JA-155 § 15; Bloomberg JA-38 4 11.)

Then, the Monetary Affairs staff use these data to

generate “Remaining Term Reports’—the Reports at

issue in this appeal—that reflect (1) the names of the

borrowers; (11) the amount of individual loans; and

(111) the origination and maturity dates of each loan

(ld

2. The Recognized “Stigma” of

Financial Weakness Attributed

to Banks That Borrow from the

Discount Window.

Because the Discount Window can serve an

emergency-lending function, when a bank borrows

from it, market participants, ustomers, and

counterparties may infer that the bank is

experiencing “an underlying capital or lhquidity

probiem.” (Fox JA-138 4 23; Bloomberg JA-74 4 18.)

The public, in other words, may interpret a bank's

Discount Window borrowing as a sign of an

undisclosed financial problem and _ mistakenly

stigmatize the bank as financially unsound. (Fox JA

1388s § Zo; Bloomberg JA-74-75 Y4 17-18.) That

“stigma” can “quickly place an institution in a

weakened condition vis-a-vis its competitors by

causing a loss of public confidence in the institution,

a sudden outflow of deposits (a ‘run’), a loss of

confidence by market analyst a drop in. the

institution’s stock price, and a withdrawal of market

sources of liquidity.” (Fox JA-137-38 J 22;

Bloomberg JA-74 417.) “In extreme cases, such

developments can lead to closure of the institution.”

Cd.)

During periods of financial distress, the

stigma associated with Discount Window borrowing

often intensifies, because market participants have

heightened concerns that banks may be experiencing

financial difficulties. (fox JA-138-39 4 24;

Bloomberg JA-75 4 19.) As a result, during these

periods (such as those experienced in the early and

late 1990s), banks paid higher rates in the private

federal funds market to avoid borrowing from the

Discount Window. (/d.)

The ettfects of th) stiyma vere furthe)

evidenced in the early 1990s, when rumors that

Citibank was borrowing at the Discount Window

sparked runs at some of its offices in Asia. (fox JA

140 4 27: Bloomberg JA-76 % 22.) Similarly, in

september 2007. British bank Northern Rock

experienced a bank run after the BBC reported that

the Bank of England had provided emergency

financial support to the bank See Treasury

Committee, The Run on the Rock, 2007-08, H.C. 56

1, 49 1, 147.’

Available at http /IWWW publi ation part nent.ut

200708/cmselect/emtreasury/56/561.pdf (last visited Nov ag

2010)

3. The Board’s Longstanding

Confidentiality Policy for

Discount Window Lending and

the New Dodd-Frank

Disclosure Regime.

Because of the recognized stigma associated

with accessing the Discount Window, banks have

been reluctant to access this lending facility, even

though the Board has long held “information about

borrowing by individual banks in the _ strictest

confidence.” Brian F. Madigan & William R. Nelson,

Proposed Revision to the Federal Reserve’s Discount

Window Lending Program, 88 Fed. Res. Bull. 313,

315 (2002) That historical reluctance stems [from

the fact that, notwithstanding the board

longstanding non-disclosure policy, market

participants “have at times tried to infer which

banks might be borrowing |from_ the Discount

Window] through knowledge of which banks were

bidding for funds in the market late in the day and

from agvregate data pubh hed b. the l'ederal

Reserve.” /Id

The Dodd-Frank Act establishe 1 new

disclosure regime for Discount Window loans mad

after the Acts enactment The Board 1s now

required to disclose the identities of banks that

borrow from the Discount Window, along with other

transaction-level details of their borrowing

approximately two years alter uch borrowing

occurs See Dodd-Frank Act § 1103(b) (amending

Federal Reserve Act to require disclosure of post

enactment Discount Window lending-—a_ tvpe_ ol

“covered transaction”—"“on the last day of the eighth

calendar quarter following the calendar quart

1s

which the covered transaction was conducted ) In

exchange, the Board is expressly authorized to

withhold such information under FOIA See id

(providing that enumerated Discount Window

lending data “shall be confidential, including for

purposes of section 552(b)(3) of title 5”)

Or importance to thi Petition, the Dodd

‘rank Act does not require disclosure of Discount

Window lending information prior to its enactment

Specifically, Section 1103(b) of the Act, which adds a

new section to the Federal Reserve Act, expressly

provides that “[nJothing in [the new section of the

Federal Reserve Act] is meant to affect any pending

litigation or lawsuit filed under {FOIA] on or before

the date of [the Act's] enactment hi

isnificant. because, dumng the recent financial

Crisl bank relied upon the Board confidentiality

pohe' whe} obt wWnInY Discount Window loan in

imounts and at intervals that would permit th

ublic to draw inferences—whether fal not

bout their current fina ul lit

req 1 Wu ) na

i r im bAQ ‘= ( hed | rve i]

ublicly disclose | pproximate A certal

formation on dis¢ t window {on or after Jul

2010 http vw.irbdi A tmp

B. Proceedings Below in Bloomberg

and Fox.

l Bloomberg’s FOLIA Request and

Its Adjudication in the District

Court.

On May 21, 2008, Bloomberg sent a FOTA

request to the Board, asking for eleven categories ot!

documents relating to securities posted as collateral

for Discount Window and other loans made between

April 4, 2008 and May 20, 2008. (Bloomberg JA-50

51.) The Board determined that the Report

contained information responsive to the request

specifically, the nam of borrowe) and thi

amounts and term of individual loans—but

concluded that thi niormation wa exempt tron

(ii closure (Rloombergs JA-62 }

Qn November 7 POO8. Bloomberg tiled a FOLA

wction in the Southern District of New York. The

Board wae Bloombe re each moved tor SUITDITLAPY

judgment ubmitting ipporting declaration

Specifically the Koard ubmiutted 4 pages ol

declaration Irom a enmior Board olficral and two

fficers of the Federal Reserve Bank of New Yort

respon sible for operational details for the Discount

Window and the other lending facilities at sue. ott

those declaration the Board provided a detailed

assessment of the competitive harm likely to occur to

banks through disclosure of bank-by-bank, loan-by

loan information. ‘The Board also provided detailed

evidence demonstrating the recognized “stigma

associated with Discount Window lending

(On \uvust A 20049 the District (Court

ranted bloomberv cro motion for ummary

judgment, dismissing the Board’s evidence of

competitive harm as “speculative” or “conjectural”

and declining to recognize, as an additional! basis for

non-disclosure, the Board’s interest in advancing its

lending programs. Bloomberg L.P. v. Bd. of

Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 649 F. Supp. 2d

262, 280 (S.D.N.Y. 2009). The District Court also

held that some of the information contained in the

Reports—that is, the amounts and terms of

individual loans—was not “obtained from” the

borrowing banks, reasoning that the FRBs’

“senerati[on] [of] the information contained in the

[Reports] [was] sufficient to vitiate the applicability

of Exemption 4 with respect to that information.” Jd.

at 278. At the same time, the District Court

recognized that “the borrowers’ names,” also

contained in the Reports, were “obtained from” the

borrowing banks. Id.

After this ruling, The Clearing House moved

to intervene for purposes of appeal, arguing, among

other things, that the Board might not adequately

protect its interests, because the Board had not yet

received Solicitor General authorization to pursue an

appeal. The District Court granted The Clearing

House’s intervention motion, and The Clearing

House participated as a party in the appeal to the

Second Circuit.

2. Fox’s FOIA Request and Its

Adjudication in the District

Court.

Following Bloomberg’s lead, on November 10,

2008, Fox News Network, LLC, (“Fox”) filed a FOIA

request (which it subsequently clarified and then

-18-

supplemented with another) seeking “the names of

institutions receiving Federal Reserve lending” from

eleven named programs and “any other Federal

Reserve lending facility,” as well as “an accounting of

the collateral provided by these institutions in

exchange for the lending” from August 8, 2007

through November 17, 2008. (ox JA-169-71.) In

response, the Board identified, among _ other

responsive documents, two types of reports, called

“Origination Reports” and “Remaining Term

Reports.” These reports contained the identities of

banks that borrowed from the Discount Window,

along with the amounts and durations of the loans

they obtained. (Fox JA-29-31.) The Origination

Reports contained information for the business days

of August 20, 2007 to November 14, 2008; the

Remaining Term Reports covered an overlapping

period of business days from February 11, 2008 to

November 14, 2008. (Ud.) In other words, the reports

sought by Fox included the shorter span of reports

sought by Bloomberg, which covered the period from

April 4, 2008 to May 20, 2008. The Board withheld

these reports on the ground that they were exempt

under Exemptions 4 and 5 and contained no

reasonably segregable non-exempt information. (/d.)

Fox, like Bloomberg, filed an action in the

Southern District of New York challenging the

Board’s decision to withhold these reports. On July

30, 2009, the District Court ruled against Fox,

holding, first, that the information in the reports at

issue reflected “information that originated with the

borrower” and _ therefore “obtained from’ the

borrower.” Fox News Network, LLC v. Bd. of

Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 639 F. Supp. 2d

384, 399 (S.D.N.Y. 2009). The District Court also

-19-

ruled that this information was “confidential”

because (1) the Board had sustained its burden of

showing “specific and substantial harms to borrowers

if the information about Discount Window loans were

disclosed”; and (2) disclosure of the reports “would

compromise the Board’s effective execution of its

statutory responsibilities.” /d. at 400-02.

The District Court subsequently amended and

filed its final judgment on September 2, 2009. (Fox

JA-6.) Fox appealed from this judgment on

September 9, 2009, i.e., the same day that The

Clearing House moved to intervene in Bloomberg.

(fox JA-6; Bloomberg JA-6, entries nos. 34, 39, 40.)

3. Proceedings Before the Second

Circuit in Bloomberg and Fox.

The Bloomberg and Fox appeals were heard

and decided in tandem, by the same panel and on the

same day.

In Bloomberg, the Second Circuit rendered the

“obtained from a person” and “program effectiveness”

rulings described above. In Fox, the Second Circuit

applied its Bloomberg holding to rule, in relevant

part, that “the information unambiguously at issue

in the Fox News requests—the identity of the

borrowing bank, the dollar amount of the loans, the

collateral securing the loans, and the _ loan

origination and maturity dates—is not protected

from disclosure by Exemption 4.” Fox, 601 F.3d at

160.

Post-Judgment Developments. On May 3,

2010, the Board and The Clearing House filed timely

petitions for panel and en banc rehearing of the

decision in Bloomberg. The Board also filed a similar

-20-

petition for rehearing in Fox. While those petitions

were pending, the Board submitted a letter in both

appeals, pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate

Procedure 28(j), explaining that passage of the Dodd-

Frank Act did not moot the appeals.?

On August 20, 2010, the Second Circuit denied

the rehearing petitions in both Bloomberg and Fox.

The Board and The Clearing House then moved to

stay the Second Circuit’s mandate in Bloomberg

pending the filing of a Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari. The Board filed a similar motion in Fox.

By Orders dated August 27, 2010, the Second Circuit

stayed its mandates for 60 days in both appeals.

On October 22, 2010. counsel for the Board

informed The Clearing House that the Solicitor

General had denied the Board’s request to file a

certiorari petition. Shortly thereafter, on October 26,

2010, The Clearing House filed its Petition for a Writ

of Certiorari in Bloomberg. See Bloomberg, 601 F.3d

143, petition for cert. filed, 79 U.S.L.W. 3271 (U.S.

Oct. 26, 2010) (No. 10-543).

The Clearing MHouse’s Post-Judgment

Intervention and Stay Motions in Fox. Also on

October 26, The Clearing House moved before the

Second Circuit in Fox (1) to intervene as a party; and

(2) to stay the mandate in Fox, pending either the

disposition of The Clearing House’s certiorari

petition in Bloomberg, or to enable The Clearing

House to file a separate certiorari petition in Fox. In

®” See Letter from Matthew M. Collette to Catherine O'Hagan

Wolfe, dated August 3, 2010, No. 09-4083 (2d Cir.); No. 09-3795

(2d Cir.).

'

INO

pe

doing so, The Clearing House demonstrated that it

had associational standing to intervene and _ to

petition for certiorari, because disclosure of the

Origination and Remaining Term Reports at issue

(which reflected the Discount Window borrowings of

certain Clearing House members) threatened its

members with a concrete injury-in-fact!; that

intervention was timely because sought within the

90-day period to petition for certiorari, and just two

business after being notified by the Board that the

Board would not file a petition for certiorari; and

that intervention was appropriate to allow The

Clearing House to move to stay the Fox mandate to

prevent its Bloomberg Petition from becoming moot

(because the broader span of reports at 1ssue in Fox

included the shorter span of reports at issue in

Bloomberg).

The Clearing House further argued that a stay

was appropriate, because there was a “reasonable

probability” of obtaining this Court’s review and a

“fair prospect” that this Court would reverse the

Second Circuit's judgment in Bloomberg on one or

both of the grounds raised in the Bloomberg Petition.

10 See generally Hunt v. Wash. State Apple Adver. Comm'n, 432

U.S. 333, 343 (1977) (association has standing where “{a) its

members would otherwise have standing to sue in their own

right; (b) the interests it seeks to protect are germane to the

organization’s purpose; and (c) neither the claim asserted nor

the relief requested requires the participation of individual

members in the lawsuit.”); see also, e.g., Cuomo v. The Clearing

House Ass’n, LLC, 129 S. Ct. 2710, 2714 (2009) (reviewing

challenge by The Clearing House to New York Attorney

General's investigation of lending practices of certain of its

members and other national banks).

Notably, in opposing both motions, even Fox

conceded that The Clearing House’s Petition in

Bloomberg arose from “a case that has broad

implications for agencies beyond the Federal Reserve

system.”!!

By order dated November 16, 2010, the Second

Circuit granted The Clearing House’s intervention

motion and stayed the Court’s mandate “to afford

{The Clearing House] an opportunity to file a petition

for the Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Supreme Court.” (A-2.) The instant Fox Petition

followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This Court should grant this Petition for two

reasons.

First, uf left undisturbed, the Second Circuit's

“obtained from a person” ruling will undo a long line

of cases authorizing federal agencies to withhold

sensitive details concerning a_ third party's

commercial transactions with the government. This

line of cases protects numerous critical federal

programs—such as the ability of the Export-Import

Bank to extend loans and insurance, and that of the

NIH to license government inventions—that depend

on assuring third parties that details of these

commercial transactions will not be disclosed. These

cases follow the principle, codified in 5 U.S.C.

1! See Fox News Network, LLC’s Memorandum of Law in

Opposition to the Motion by The Clearing House Association

L.L.C. to (1) Intervene and (2) Stay the Issuance of This Court’s

Mandate, Nov. 2, 2010, at 18, No. 09-3795-cv (2d Cir.).

-23-

§ 552(b), but ignored in the decision below, that an

agency is authorized to withhold information where

it consists of exempt and non-exempt data that are

inextricably intertwined.

Second, the Second Circuit’s ruling presents a

question of first impression in this Court of

undeniable importance to FOIA law, and one over

which the Circuits are now plainly split: What is the

governing test to determine whether information is

“confidential” within the meaning of Exemption 4,

and whether this test authorizes an agency to

withhold information whose disclosure would impair

a government program. The Second Circuit, which

has previously adopted National Parks’ two-part

definition of the term “confidential,” improperly

rejected the D.C. and First Circuits’ extension of

National Parks to protect an agency's ability to

effectuate. the purposes of its programs. In doing so,

the Second Circuit adopted an overly restrictive

textual interpretation of the statute that fails to

properly give effect to the purpose behind the

exemption.

24-

I. THE SECOND CIRCUIT’S ERRONEOUS

“OBTAINED FROM A PERSON” RULING

THREATENS NUMEROUS FEDERAL

AGENCY PROGRAMS THAT DEPEND

ON MAINTAINING THE

CONFIDENTIALITY OF COMMERCIAL

TRANSACTIONS WITH SUCH

AGENCIES.

A. Courts Have Long Held That FOIA

Exemption 4 Protects

Commercially Sensitive Details of

Third Parties’ Commercial

Transactions with Federal

Agencies.

- The Second Circuit held that the highly

confidential bank information in the Reports was not

“obtained from” the borrowing banks because the

loans did not exist but for the FRBs’ “executive

action” in “grantin[g]” Discount Window loans, even

if such approval was “automatic[].” Bloomberg, 601

F.3d at 149.

This holding necessarily threatens to undo

Exemption 4 protection in numerous situations

where third parties transact with a federal agency.

That is because every commercial transaction by a

third party with the government reflects both third-

party and government action; the transaction

voluntarily entered into by the third party would not

exist but for government approval and involvement.

Indeed, one lower court has already applied

Bloomberg to require the Treasury Department to

disclose “the name of a commercial] bank” that

applied for but subsequently withdrew its request for

-25.-

ya)

funding through a ‘Treasury lending program,

reasoning that the bank’s name was not “obtained

from a person” because it was “generated within

[Treasury] upon its decision to grant a loan.” Fox

News Network, LLC v. U.S. Dep’t of the Treasury, ---

F. Supp. 2d ---, 2010 WL 3705283, at *36-37

(S.D.N.Y. Sept. 3, 2010) (quoting Bloomberg, 601

F.3d at 148) (alteration in original).

This ruling is a harbinger of many others,

because federal agencies frequently interact with

third parties in ways far more extensive than the

straightforward loan-approval process at issue here.

Nonetheless, in these other situations, numerous

courts have held or assumed that a third party's

commercial dealings with the government consist of

information “obtained from a person,” and are

therefore sub‘ect to Exemption 4 protection—

Loans and Insurance Extended by the

Export-Import Bank. The Export-Import Bank is a

federal agency that “aid[s] in financing and

facilitating exports and the exchange of goods and

services between the United States and foreign

countries.” Judicial Watch, Inc. v. Export-Import

Bank, 108 F. Supp. 2d 19, 24 (D.D.C. 2000). To

achieve that goal, the Bank “provide|s] guarantees,

insurances, and extensions of credit on competitive

terms to United States businesses that seek to export

goods and services to other countries.” Jd. These

guarantees, insurances, and extensions do not exist

but for the Bank’s approval, and are subject to

negotiation between the Bank, exporters, and other

third parties. Parties insured by the Bank, for

instance, “often agree to additions to or deletions

from the Bank’s standard export insurance policy”

.96.

that may reflect “when the insured has made a

concession to the Bank.” Jd. at 29. The Bank also

“participat[es] in the negotiation process” with

respect to loan agreements that it finances.

Comstock Intl (U.S.A.), Inc. v. Export-Import Bank of

the U.S., 464 F. Supp. 804, 807 (D.D.C. 1979).

In Judicial Watch, 108 F. Supp. 2d 19, the

District Court for the District of Columbia held that

the Export-Import Bank properly withheld, inter

alia, “the amount of the insurance premium” being

paid by the exporter to the Bank, since “a competitor

who is familiar with the way the Bank determines its

premium rates . .. could deduce the shipment

amount from the premium amount.” /d. at 31.

Before reaching that conclusion, the _ court

emphasized that the information sought by the FOIA

requester was obtained by the Export-Import Bank

“from the insurance applicants themselves,

commercial lenders of the applicant, or a purchaser

of the goods at issue.” Jd. at 28.

In Comstock International, 464 F. Supp. 804,

the District Court for the District of Columbia

protected from disclosure a loan agreement to which

the Export-Import Bank was a_ party. The

agreement detailed, among other things, “the terms

and conditions under which [the Export-Import

Bank] and [a private bank]” extended credit. Jd. at

806. Those details were protected from disclosure

even though “the information contained in the loan

agreement [was] not submitted to the government

but rather generated by it through Eximbank’s

participation in the negotiation process.” Id. at 807.

Royalty Rates. Paid by Government

Licensees. The NIH develops inventions that the

-27-

government subsequently licenses to third parties.

During the licensing process, the government

“negotiates” a final royalty rate with hcensees. See

Pub. Citizen Health Research Group v. NIH, 209 F.

Supp. 2d 37, 44 (D.D.C. 2002). Neither the licenses

nor the rates set therein would exist but for

government approval.

In Public Citizen, 209 F. Supp. 2d 37, the

District Court for the District of Columbia held that

the negotiated final royalty rate is “obtained from a

person” and, therefore, subject to Exemption 4

protection. See id. at 44 (“Even though the final

royalty rate is arrived at through negotiation, this

does not alter the fact that the licensee is the

ultimate source of this information.”). The court

then refused to order disclosure of the negotiated

royalty rates, because competitors could use those

rates, to the licensee’s competitive disadvantage, to

“make a rough calculation of [the licensee’s] profit

margin on a particular drug.” /d. at 47.

Treasury Bond Issuances. ‘The ‘Treasury

Department issues bonds to private entities in order

to finance the public debt.

In Clarke v. U.S. Dep't of Treasury, No. 84-

1873, 1986 WL 1234 (E.D. Pa. Jan. 28, 1986), the

District Court for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania held that “the names and addresses” of

a certain type of Treasury bond, along with details

concerning “the [bonds’] dollar amount, coupon and

maturity date[s],” were “[u]nquestionably

obtained from persons outside the government.” /d.

at *2. That ruling enabled the Treasury Department

to maintain its “long tradition of confidentiality of

the ownership of United States Treasury securities,”

OQ

-Z0-

breach of which would have enabled market

participants to gain a “significant competitive

advantage” by learning the positions of other

bondholders. /d. at *3.

Line-Item Pricing in Government

Contracts. Agencies, such as NASA and the

Department of the Air Force, contract with private

parties for the provision of goods or services. [In

doing so, those agencies may request “the submission

of proposed prices for certain contract line items.”

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. NASA, 180 F.3d 303,

304 (D.C. Cir. 1999). The government contract is

then subject to “further negotiations on prices and

terms.” Jd. Neither the contract nor its specific

terms would exist but for government approval

In. McDonnell Dougias, the D.C. Circuit

concluded that “pricing information contained in a

contract” between McDonnell Douglas and NASA

was protected by Exemption 4. Jd. In Canadian

Commercial Corp. v. Dep’t of the Air Force, 514 F.3d

37 (D.C. Cir. 2008), the D.C. Circuit hkewise

observed that negotiated line-item prices between

McDonnell Douglas and the Air Force “flell] within

Exemption 4 of the FOIA if [their] disclosure would

‘impair the government’s ability to obtain necessary

information in the future’ or ‘cause substantial harm

to the competitive position of the person from whom

the information was obtained.” Jd. at 40.'4

2 The D.C. Circuit noted, but did not consider, the

Government’s unpreserved argument that “pricing information

is not ‘obtained from’ a contractor but rather emerges from

contract negotiations between the parties.” /d. at 41 n.?

(footnote continued)

29

The Second Cuircuit’s ruling cannot be

reconciled with this line of case: If the FRBs'

“axecutive action” here—which consisted only of

approving Discount Window loans—were enough to

eliminate Exemption 4 protection, Ixxemption 4

protection would be unavailable in these other

commercial settings, where the government Is

typically more involved in setting the final terms of

the transaction

Thus, if left to stand, the Second Circuits

ruling would impair numerous federal programs that

depend on assuring third parties that details of their

commercial transactions with the government will

remain confidential. If federal agenmes cannot

provide these assurances, third parties will turn

away from these programs, impairing the programs

effectiveness and the national interests they serve.'’

(footnote continued)

Subsequently, ino a similar case involving unit-pricing

information, the District Court for the District of Columbia

stated that “the parties agree that the information ts

‘commercial or financial information obtained from a person.’

Gen. Klec. Co. v Dep't of Au Force, 648 F Supp 2d 95, 10)

(D.D.C. 2009). In doing so, the court noted that, in light of the

1).C. Cireuit’s ruling in Canadian Commercial, the Air Force no

longer disputed whether “unit: pricing information could come

within the scope of Exemption 4 at all, regardless of whether

lsuch information] could be shown to be confidential.” /d. at

101 n.o.

13) See Pub. Citizen, 209 F. Supp. at 538 (crediting affidavit

stating that “licensees will not negotiate with NIH without an

expectation that the financial terms of the licenses will remain

confidential”); Judicial Watch, 10% F. Supp. 2d at 30 ([I*Joreagn

(footnote continued)

30)

B. The Second Circuit’s Ruling

Contravenes the Established

Principle That an Agency May

Withhold “Inextricably

Intertwined” Exempt and Non

Exempt Data.

The Second Circuit’s ruling, if not reviewed by

this Court, will impair numerous federal programs

See supra at 25-30. It also will wreak havoc on FOIA

law by undermining the settled principle, codified in

5 U.S.C. § 552(b), and recognized across the Cireuat

that permits an agency to withhold information

where it consists of exempt and non-exempt data

that are “inextricably intertwined.” See 5 U.S.C

§ 552(b) (requiring agencies to disclose non-exempt

information only to the extent that such information

can be “reasonably sevreyalted|” from that which 1:

exempt).'4

(footnote continued)

purchasers may seck financing outside of the United Stat

if subjected to the risk of disclosure of their confidential

commercial or financial information.”); Clarke, 1986 WL 12:4

at *2-% (releasing the requested information would harion the

national mpterest because investors would be less likely to

purchase povernment bonds in the future’), Comstock Intl, 464

I’ Supp. at 408 (crediting “specific, factual or evidentiary

material” demonstrating, inter alia, that) disclosure would

make loan applicants “unwilling|] to subject themselves to the

possible risk of disclosure: )

4 See also Mead Data Cent., Inc. v. U.S. Dept of the Atr bore

566 K.2d 242, 260 (D.C. Cir. 1977) CGapeney may withhold non

exempt information if “inextricably intertwined” with exempt

information); tein v. Patent & Trademark Office, 5538 F.8d 3853

374 (4th Cir. 2009) (same); Missourt Coaltlion for Enotl hound

(footnote contlimmed

This rule apples fully here. By any measure,

the terms on which banks applied for Discount

Window loans existed prior to—and independent of—

the loans’ approval. In other words, the Reports

summarize both the information “obtained from”

banks, most notably their identities, as even

Bloomberg did not dispute below, and the FRB’s

decision to make loans on those terms. Similarly,

the Reports inextricably reflect the terms on which

banks accepted Discount Window loans.

Because disclosing the terms on which FRBs

approved Discount Window loans necessarily reveals

(i) the terms on which each bank applied for these

loans, and (ii) the terms on which each bank accepted

these loans, the Reports’ reflect information

“obtained from” the banks that is_ inextricably

intertwined with the information “generated” by the

FRBs. Thus, the Reports “contained no reasonably

segregable non-exempt information,” as the Board

explained when detailing its reasons for denying

Bloomberg’s and Fox’s FOIA requests. (Bloomberg

JA-57; Fox JA-30-31.)

(footnote continued)

v. Army Corps of Eng’rs, 542 F.3d 1204, 1212 (8th Cir. 2008)

(same); Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Fla. v. U.S., 516 F.3d

1235, 1257 n.22 (11th Cir. 2008) (same); Inner City

Press/Community on the Move v. Bd. of Governors of the Fed.

Reserve Sys., 463 F.3d 239, 249 n.10 (2d Cir. 2006) (same);

Flightsafety Servs. Corp. v. Dept of Labor, 326 F.3d 607, 613

(5th Cir. 2003) (same); Patterson v. IRS, 56 F.3d 832, 840 (7th

Cir. 1995) (same); Church of Scientology Intl v. U.S. Dept of

Justice, 30 F.3d 224, 228 (ist Cir. 1994) (same): Andrews v.

Veterans Admin., 838 F.2d 418, 422 (lOth Cir. 1988) (same);

Willametie Indus., Inc. v. U.S., 689 F.2d 865, 867 (9th Cir

1982) (same).

The Second Circuit’s legal conclusion that the

information in the Reports was not “obtained from”

vorrowing banks is thus untenable. It also leads to a

result at odds with the statute: Under the Second

Circuit’s reasoning, Exemption 4 would not apply

even if disclosure of the Reports would harm the very

third parties (here, banks) that Exemption 4 was

designed to protect. See Bloomberg, 601 F.3d at 150

(acknowledging the “plausible” and “forcefully made”

arguments that disclosure of the information sought

by Bloomberg would “harm the’ banks _ that

borrowed”). This conclusion can only be the result of

a “nonfunctional” interpretation of the FOIA that

fails to give effect to the “reasons for [the]

exemption.” John Doe Agency, 493 U.S. at 157.

If. THE SECOND CIRCUIT OPENLY SPLIT

WITH THE D.C. AND FIRST CIRCUITS

IN HOLDING THAT EXEMPTION 4 DOES

NOT PROTECT “CONFIDENTIAL”

INFORMATION WHOSE DISCLOSURE

WOULD IMPAIR THE EFFECTIVENESS

OF FEDERAL PROGRAMS.

The Second Circuit, creating a conflict with

the D.C. and First Circuits, refused to interpret the

term “confidential” to include information whose

disclosure would impair federal programs. ‘The

Second Circuit did so on the erroneous basis that

such an interpretation (1) finds “no basis” in the

statute and (2) would represent an unbounded

expansion of Exemption 4. See Bloomberg, 601 F.3d

at 150-51.

This split is on an undeniably important

I

question of FOIA law: What is the governing test to

ee

~

determine whether information is “confidential”

within the meaning of Exemption 4, and whether

this test allows an agency to withhold information

when its disclosure would harm agency programs.

The National Parks definition of the term

“confidential” is well established and should be

endorsed by this Court. See Contract Freighters, Inc.

v. Sec'y of U.S. Dep’t of Transp., 260 F.3d 858, 861

(8th Cir. 2001) (observing that “the National Parks

test” has been “widely recognized and applied by the

circuit courts when construing Exemption 4.”

(collecting authority)). Recognizing that FOIA

“contains no definition of the word ‘confidential,” the

National Parks court looked—properly—to the

“legislative purpose” underlying the exemption in

order to interpret it meaningfully. 498 F.2d at 767.

This approach is fully consistent with this Court's

instruction to interpret FOIA exemptions practically,

by “looking to the reasons for [the] exemption” and

“apply[ing] a workable balance between the interests

of the public in greater access to information and the

needs of the Government to protect certain kinds of

information from disclosure.” John Doe Agency,

493 U.S. at 157.

The Second Circuit erred when, though it has

long endorsed the National Parks interpretation of

Exemption 4, see Cont’ Stock Transfer & Trust Co. v.

SEC, 566 F.2d 373, 375 (2d Cir. 1977), it nonetheless

refused to read National Parks to protect an agency's

interest in advancing its programs. The First Circuit

rejected just such an = “unduly _ restrictive”

interpretation of National Parks, recognizing that

National Parks “identified the two interests which

are most frequently threatened by the disclosure of

-34-

commercial or financial information,” but did not

impose a rigid limitation “on the number of

legitimate interests” which the exemption protects.

9 to 5, 721 F.2d at 1, 9 (emphasis added).

Instead, the National Parks test was designed

to protect from disclosure information whose release

would harm “an identifiable private or governmental

interest which the Congress sought to protect by

enacting exemption 4.” Jd. at 10. One of these

interests is that of the government in withholding

information “which would be particularly helpful to

agency officials in carrying out their mandate.” /d.

This interest stems directly from Exemption 4's

legislative history, in which “the problems. of

compliance and program effectiveness are mentioned

as governmental interests possibly served by this

exemption.” Nattonal Parks, 498 F.2d at 770 n.17.

The Second Circuit further erred when it

reasoned that the program-effectiveness — test

recognized by the D.C. and First Circuits would “give

impermissible deference to the agency.” Bloomberg,

601 F.3d at 150. This test is nothing like the “vague

‘public interest” standard rejected by this Court, for

purposes of Exemption 5, in Merrill, 443 U.S. at 354.

Unlike Exemption 5, Exemption 4 requires the

government to prove that the information sought to

be protected, in addition to being “privileged or

confidential,” is obtained from a third party and isa

“trade secret[]’ or “commercial or financial!” in

nature. 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(4). Those requirements

ensure that the test can be invoked only in a

commercial setting when the government interacts

with third parties that supply presumptively

sensitive business information in such transactions

-30-

Even in this limited setting, the program-

effectiveness test is not toothless. To satisfy this

test, the government must still “identify the

particular interest [protected by the exemption], and

_,. demonstrate how that interest will be harmed by

public disclosure of the specific information which

has been requested.” 9 to 5, 721 F.2d at 10; accord

Critical Mass, 830 F.2d at 286. In practice, the

government must submit evidence, as the Board did

here, showing how disclosure will harm participants

in the identified government program—and therefore

discourage them from participating in the future—if

the requested information is released.!®

This evidence, moreover, is not something

generated ex post and subject to agency abuse; it

serves as the cornerstone for a confidentiality policy

that, as with the Discount Window, is typically in

longstanding use.!®

In all, the program-effectiveness 1s consistent

with National Parks’ approach to interpreting

15 See, e.g., Clarke, 1986 WL 1234, at *2-3 (crediting

government affidavit demonstrating that market participants

“with access to [bondholder] data concerning the positions of

other participants would have a_ significant competitive

advantage”); Pub. Citizen, 209 F. Supp. 2d at 53 (concluding

that disclosure of the requested information “would seriously

impair [the government's ability] in carrying out its public

health responsibilities” (internal quotation marks omitted)).

16 See, e.g., Clarke, 1986 WL 1234, at *3 (crediting government

affidavit discussing “the long tradition of confidentiality of the

ownership of United States Treasury securities”); Pub. Citizen,

209 F. Supp. 2d at 53 n.9 (noting that the NIH “takes

confidentiality {of royalty information] very seriously because

every licensing agreement contains a confidentiality clause’).

Exemption 4; fits within the exemption’s legislative

design; and appropriately balances the public’s

interest in disclosure against “the needs of the

Government to protect certain kinds of information.”

John Doe Agency, 493 U.S. at 157. This Court should

therefore grant this Petition in order to provide a

definitive interpretation of the term “confidential’-

the centerpiece of Exemption 4—that will resolve the

existing split in the circuits.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Paul Saltzman Robert J. Giuffra, Jr.

Joseph R. Alexander Counsel of Record

THE CLEARING HOUSE H. Rodgin Cohen

ASSOCIATION L.L.C. Michael M. Wiseman

450 West 33rd St. Krez J. Davy

New York, NY 10001 SULLIVAN & CROMWELL LLP

(212) 613-9106 125 Broad Street

New York, NY 10004

(212) 558-4000

November 18, 2010

’

mo

APPENDIX

A-1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

FOR THE SE

Docket No. 09-3795-cv

November 16, 2010

At a Stated Term of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the Daniel

Patrick Moynihan United States Courthouse, 500

Pearl Street, in the City of New York, on the 16th

day of November, two thousand and ten.

Before: Dennis Jacobs,

Chief Judge,

Pierre N. Leval,

Peter W. Hall,

Circuit Judges.

Fox NEWS NETWORK, LLC,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE

FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM,

Defendant-Appellee.

o)

ORDER

The Clearing House Association, LLC’s motion

to intervene in Fox News Network, LLC v. Bd. of

Governors of the Fed. Reserve System. (09-3795-cv)

is GRANTED. The issuance of the mandate in Fox

News will be stayed for seven (7) days from the

date of this order to afford The Clearing House

Association, LLC an opportunity to file a petition

for the Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Supreme Court.

FOR THE COURT,

/s/ Catherine O'Hagan Wolfe

Catherine O’Hagan Wolfe, Clerk

Joy Fallek, Administrative Attorney

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 09-3795-cev

August 27, 2010

At a Stated Term of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the Danie!

Patrick Moynihan United States Courthouse, 500

Pearl Street, in the City of New York, on the 27th

day of August, two thousand ten.

Before: Dennis Jacobs,

Chief Judge,

Pierre N. Leval,

Peter W. Hall,

Circuit Judges.

Fox NEWS NETWORK, LLC,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE

FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM,

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

It 1S HEREBY ORDERED that the motion by the

Board of Governors for the Federal Reserve Sys

tem for a 90 day stay of the mandate 1. GRANTED

in part. The issuance of the mandate is hereby

stayed for 60 days from the date of this order

FOR THE COUR’

/s/ Catherine O’Hagan Wolle

|

Catherine O’Hagan Wolfe, Clerk

lov Fallek. Administrative Attorne

(INITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Docket No. 09-3795-c'

August 20, 2010

At a stated term of the United States Court ol

Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the Daniel

Patrick Moynihan United States Courthouse, 500

Pearl Street, in the City of New York, on the 20th

day of August, two thousand ten

Fox NEwS NETWORK, LLC

Plaintiff-Appellant

BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THI

FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM,

Defendant-Appellee

Joard of Governors of the Federal Reserve Sy:

tem having filed a petition for panel rehearing, or,

in the alternative, for rehearing en banc, and the

panel that determined the appeal having consid

ered the requ t or panel rehearins and the

active members of the Court haviny considered

the request for rehearing en bane

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition }

a nied

| ) hil ‘ rR]

Catherine O’Hagan Wolte

Catherine O’Hagan Wolfe,

rer]

[INITED STATES COURT OF APPEAI

FoR THE SECOND CIRCUIL'

Docket No. O9-4 79

\reued: January JL, Z01L0

Decided: March 19 POLO

Stephen (; Mintz (ls rence W Vic Clo! Til 1¢ k Ly) al

beth Harrison. Paul Ostensen on the brief), Mintz

& Gold LLP, New York, NY, for Plaintiff-Appel

lant

Matthew M. Collette (Tony West, Mark b. Stern

on the brief), Department of Justice, Washington,

D.C.: Yvonne F. Mizusawa (Richard M. Ashton,

Katherine Hl. Wheatley on the brief), Board of

Governors ol the Federal Re serve system Wash

ington, D.C., for Defendant- Appellee

A-8

Robert J. Giuffra, Jr., H. Rodgin Cohen, Michael

M. Wiseman, William J. Snipes, Patrice A. Rouse,

Erez J. Davy, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP, New

York, NY, for Amicus Curiae The Clearing House

Association L.L.C. in support of Defendant-

Appellee.

Melanie Sloan, Anne L. Weismann, Citizens for

Responsibility and Ethics in Washington, Wash

ington D.C., for Amicus Curiae Citizens for

Responsibility and Ethics in Washington in sup-

port of Plaintiff-Appellant.

Before JACOBS, Chief Judge, LEVAL and HALL,

Circuit Judges

DENNIS JACOBS, Chief Judge:

The Federal Reserve System—the central bank

of the United States—-is composed of twelve

regional Federal Reserve Banks and the defen

dant-appellee Board of Governors of the Federal

Reserve System (“Board”) in Washington, D.C.

The Board is a federal agency that (among other

things) supervises the operations of the twelve

Federal Reserve Banks.

Plaintiff Fox News Network, LLC, (“Fox News’)

submitted two Freedom of Information Act

(“FOIA”) requests to the Board in November 2008.

The first sought the names of all the private

banks that received loans from the twelve Federal

A-9

Reserve Banks (under all of their lending pro-

grams) from August 2007 to November 2008, and

the collateral] the banks provided. The second

sought the names of the borrowing banks, the

amount they borrowed, and the collateral pledged

as to all loans made by the twelve Federal Reserve

Banks during September and October 2008. The

Board denied these requests in January 2009, not-

ing that while it possessed some responsive

records, it was withholding the requested infor-

mation under Exemptions 4 and 5 of FOIA. Dur-

ing its search for documents responsive to the

FOIA requests, the Board determined that it had

no information about the collateral used by bor-

rowing banks to secure specific loans, and that

such information would be held by the Federal

Reserve Bank that made each loan. But since the

Board is of the view that the relevant records of

the Federal Reserve Banks are not records of the

Board, the Board concluded that a FOIA request

to the Board did not require the Board to search

for them-and no search was conducted.

Fox News brought suit in the United States Dis

trict Court for the Southern District of New York

(Hellerstein, J.) to compel disclosure of the

Board’s documents and a search of documents in

the hands of the Federal Reserve Banks. Follow-

ing cross motions for summary judgment, the dis-

trict court ruled in favor of the Board, holding

both that the records maintained by the Board are

properly exempt from disclosure under FOIA

Exemption 4, and that the Board was not required

to search records maintained by the Federal

Reserve Banks. Fox News Network, LLC v. Bd. of

Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 639 F.Supp.2d

A-10

384, 394, 401 (S.D.N.Y.2009). The district court’s

opinion did not discuss Exemption 5, and on

appeal the Board argues only the applicability of

Exemption 4.

For the reasons stated in the tandem case,

Bloomberg L.P. v. Board of Governors of the Fed.

Reserve Sys., 601 F.3d 143, 2010 WL 986527 (2d

Cir.2010), the information unambiguously at issue

in the Fox News requests—the identity of the bor-

rowing bank, the dollar amount of the loans, the

collateral securing the loans, and the loan origi-

nation and maturity dates—is not protected from

disclosure by Exemption 4. The Board is therefore

required to disclose responsive records it had pre

viously deemed exempt; we vacate the district

court's judgment and remand to the district court

to order the Board to disclose the previously with-

held responsive information.

Still at issue is whether the Board adequately

searched its records and the records of the twelve

l’ederal Reserve Banks in response to these FOIA

requests. Fox News argues that: (1) the Board was

required to search the loan records of each of the

twelve Federal Reserve Banks, and (2) the Board

misconstrued Fox News’s FOIA requests in the

Board’s search of its own records.

As the district court concluded, not all lending

records of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks nec-

essarily become records of the Board. However,

Board regulations provide that some records at

the Federal Reserve Banks—those kept at the

Federal Reserve Banks under certain conditions

for “administrative reasons”—are records of the

Board; these must be searched. We remand to the

listrict court to order further searches and to

A-11

determine if the fruits of those searches must be

disclosed. The district court did not reach the

question of whether the Board misconstrued the

scope of the Fox News FOIA requests (the district

court having ruled these documents would be

exempt from disclosure in any instance); we

remand for further consideration of that question

as well.

Barring a relevant exemption, an agency must

disclose responsive “agency records” in order to

comply with a FOIA request. See 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(a)(4)(B); see also Carney v. U.S. Dep't of Jus-

tice, 19 F.3d 807, 812 (2d Cir.1994). Fox News

argues on appeal that all of the lending records of

the twelve Federal Reserve Banks are “agency

records” of the Board within the scope of FOIA.

See 5 U.S.C. § 552(a)(4)(B). Materials are agency

records under FOIA if: (1) the agency created or

obtained the relevant records, and (2) the agency

is in control of the documents at the time of the

FOIA request. U.S. Dep’t of Justice v. Tax Ana-

lysis, 492 U.S. 136, 144-45, 109 S.Ct. 2841, 106

L.Ed.2d 112 (1989). Under the Board’s regula-

tions, “[t]he Secretary of the Board ... is the offi-

cial custodian of all Board records, including

records that are in the possession or control of the

Board, any Federal Reserve Bank, or any Board or

Reserve Bank employee.” 12 C.F.R. § 261.3(a).

Since the Board is the “custodian” of “Board

records” that are in the hands of the Federal

Reserve Banks, such records must be searched by

the Board pursuant to FOIA. It remains to be

A-12

determined which Federal Reserve Bank records

are “Board records” that the Board must search.

Fox News argues that the responsive loan

records are among those records held at the Fed-

eral Reserve Banks that are also records of the

Board. By regulation, records of the Federal

Reserve Banks become records of the Board when

they are created pursuant to the “performance of

functions for or on behalf of the Board” or when

they “are maintained for administrative reasons

in the regular course of business in official files in

any division or office of the Board or any Federal

Reserve Bank in connection with the transaction

of any official business.” 12 C.F.R. § 261.2(0)(1)(Q-

11). (The full text of the regulation is set out in the

margin).!

A declaration submitted by the attorney for the

Board in charge of processing FOIA requests

states that the Board interprets the qualifier “for

or on behalf of the Board” to describe a function

performed by the Federal Reserve Bank “under

delegated authority from the Board.” Supp. Decl.

of Alison M. Thro 9 3. The Board cites no written

or published expression of this internal policy or

interpretation, or any prior application of it. It is

“Records of the Board include ... all tnformation

coming into the possession and under the control of the

Board, any Board member, any Federal Reserve Bank, or

any officer, employee, or agent of the Board or of any Fed

eral Reserve Bank, in the performance of functions for or on

behalf of the Board that constitute part of the Board’s offi-

cial files: or [records] /t/hat are maintained for adminis-

trative reasons in the regular course of business in offictal

files in any division or office of the Board or any Federal

Reserve Bank in connection with the transaction of any offi-

cial business.” 12 C.F.R. § 261.2(i)(1) G-it) (emphases added).

A-13

therefore uncertain how much deference it com-

mands or deserves.

In any event, it seems clear from the statutory

scheme that enacted the Federal Reserve System

that the lending activities of the Federal Reserve

Banks do not take place “on behalf of’ or under

the “delegated authority” of the Board. The Board

itself has no power to make a loan to any bank,

and does not authorize each loan made by the Fed-

eral Reserve Banks. The power to make loans is

explicitly granted by statute only to the Federal

Reserve Banks themselves. 12 U.S.C. § 347b(a). In

that way, “Congress divided the powers of the

Federal Reserve System between the Board, which

is a federal agency, and the [Federal Reserve

Banks], which were established as regional banks

.... The Federal Reserve [System] is structured to

empower local institutions to lend, while permit-

ting federal oversight.” Fox News Network, LLC v.

Bd. of Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 639

F.Supp.2d 384, 396 (S.D.N.Y.2009). “It 1s evident

from the legislative history of the Federal Reserve

Act that Congress did not intend to give the fed-

eral-government direction over the daily operation

of the [Federal] Reserve Banks.” Lewis v. United

States, 680 F.2d 1239, 1241 (9th Cir.1982). Since

the Board neither issues nor authorizes the spe-

cific loans that Fox News seeks documentation of,

we agree that the Federal Reserve Banks did not

issue each loan on “behalf of the Board,” or under

the “delegated authority” of the Board.’

. Judge Leval does not concur in this paragraph. In his

view, it is unnecessary to answer in this appeal whether

lending by the Federal Reserve Banks is done “for or on

behalf of” the Board. Fox News has made clear that all it

A-14

However, “Records of the Board” also include

such records that “are maintained for adminis-

trative reasons in the regular course of business

in official files in any division or office of the

Board or any Federal Reserve Bank in connection

with the transaction of any official business.” 12

C.F.R. § 261.2(1)(1) (Gi). The Board argues briefly

that it interprets this regulation as well to include

only those records created “under delegated

authority from the Board.” This interpretation

does not withstand scrutiny. The context and

phrasing of the regulation gives no support for the

proposed limitation. As the district court held in

Bloomberg—without appeal from the Board on

that point—this regulation provides that certain

records of the twelve Federal Reserve Banks are

records of the Board and those records must be

searched. Bloomberg L.P. v. Bd. of Governors of

the Fed. Reserve Sys., 649 F.Supp.2d 262, 274

(S.D.N.Y.2009).

To fully comply with the Fox News FOIA

requests, the Board must search records of the

twelve Federal Reserve Banks that are main-

tained for administrative reasons, in the regular

course of business, in the Board's official files or

by any Federal Reserve Bank, and in connection

with the transaction of any official business. And

responsive documents identified in that search

seeks in its FOIA demand is the identifies of the borrowing

banks and the terms of the loans. All such information will

be contained in records “maintained for administrative rea-

sons in the regular course of business in official files in...

[a] Federal Reserve Bank.” Accordingly all the information

in the Federal Reserve Banks that is sought in this case is

contained in documents which are subject to production by

the Board.

A-15

must be produced unless shielded by some FOIA

exemption. We remand to the district court to

order the Board’s further searches and to deter-

mine if the results of those searches must be dis-

closed.

II

Fox News also argues that the Board improperly

narrowed the scope of its FOIA requests with

regard to collateral pledged by borrowing banks.

According to Fox News, it requested not only col-

lateral associated with specific loans (which is

held only by the Federal Reserve Banks), but also

general collateral information (which is held by

the Board itself).? The Board claims that while it

possesses some general information of this

sort—such as the collateral that depository inst1-

tutions have on deposit in “pledge accounts,”

which is eligible to be posted as collateral for a

Discount Window loan—it does not believe such

information was within the scope of the Fox News

requests. The Board argues that it properly inter-

preted the requests to seek only specific collateral

pledged for specific loans. That information is held

only at the Federal Reserve Banks.

2 The first Fox News request initially sought, in rele-

vant part, “an accounting of the collateral provided by these

[borrowing] institutions in exchange for lending.” This

request was later arguably broadened to “seek[ ] an account-

ing of the collateral provided by these [borrowing] institu-

tions” —a formulation that is less transaction specific. The

second Fox News request sought, in relevant part, “records

sufficient to identify all collateral pledged by each ... insti-

tution” that “participated in any Fed[eral Reserve System]

lending program.”

A-16

This issue was not decided below because the

district court ruled categorically that collateral

information is protected from disclosure by

Exemption 4. It is unclear if such general collat-

eral information was requested, or whether, under

Bloomberg L.P. v. Board of Governors of the Fed.

Reserve Sys., 601 F.3d 143, 2010 WL 986527 (2d

Cir.2010), such information could be withheld. We

decline to decide these questions in the first

instance and remand to the district court for judg-

ment on this point consistent with our opinion.

CONCLUSION

We vacate the district court’s judgment for the

foregoing reasons and those stated in the tandem

case, Bloomberg L.P. v. Bd. of Governors of the

Fed. Reserve Sys., 601 F.3d 143, 2010 WL 986527

(2d Cir.2010). We remand to the district court to

order the Board’s further disclosure and further

searches, and to determine if what is discovered in

further searches must be disclosed. We also

remand to the district court for initial considera-

tion as to whether the Board properly construed

the scope of the FOIA requests and searched its

own records in response, and whether materials

that may be found must be disclosed.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT NEW YORK

No. 09 Civ. 272 (AKH)

July 30, 2009

Fox NEWS NETWORK, LLC.

Plaintiff,

BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE

FEDERAL RESERVE SYSTEM,

Defendan L.

Steven Glen Mintz. Terence William McCormick,

Paul Ostensen, Mintz & Gold LLP, New York City,

NY. for Plaintiff.

Yvonne Facchina Mizusawa, Board of Governors of

the Federal Reserve System, Washington, DC, for

Defendant.

A-18

OPINION AND ORDER SUBSTANTIALLY

GRANTING DEFENDANT’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND

DENYING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

ALVIN K. HELLERSTEIN, District Judge:

In the summer of 2007, responding to a weak

ening national economy, the Board of Governors of

the Federal Reserve System (“the Board”) took

steps to provide much-needed liquidity to Ameri

can companies in search of funds. One major step

was to authorize the regional Federal Reserve

banks to issue loans at terms more favorable than

had been their longstanding practice.

Typically, the twelve regional Federal Reserve

Banks (“FRBs”) used their Discount Window to

make overnight loans to eligible depository insti-

tutions in their respective districts, as loans of

“last resort.”! As a temporary measure in August

2007, the FRBs reduced the rates for money lent

through the Discount Window and lengthened the

loan terms from overnight to as long as ninety

Until 2003, because the rate was lower than the tar-

get rate set by the Federal Reserve, borrowers had to show

that they had no other available source of borrowed money

before being permitted to borrow at the Discount Window.

Since then, no such showing has been required because the

Discount Window rate is set higher than the target rate.

Thus, one might expect that “institutions will use the Dis-

count Window as a backup rather than a regular source of

funding,” The Federal Reserve Discount Window, http://

www. {rb discount window. org/ discount window book. c{m,

or, more likely, when the liquidity needs of a financial insti

tution cannot be met by its regular sources of funding.

A-19

days. When the Board found that liquidity still did

not sufficiently improve, it authorized the FRBs,

in March 2008, to lend to additional entities,

including primary dealers, “to promote effectively

the goals of maximum employment, stable prices,

and moderate long-term interest rates,” 12 U.S.C.

§ 225a. The amount of money lent through the

Discount Windows at the twelve regional FRBs

increased dramatically, from an average of

approximately $1 million during the week of

August 8, 2007, to over $188 billion in the last

week of 2008. Pl. Memo 5.

Plaintiff Fox News Network (“I’ox”) is owner of

Fox Business Network, a cable news network. Pur

suant to the Freedom of Information Act (“FOIA”),

5 U.S.C. § 552 (2006), Fox seeks disclosure of bor

rowers’ names, loan amounts, and pledged collat

eral for the loans made under these new

programs. Fox argues that because taxpayer dol

lars are being dispersed to particularly troubled

institutions in economically perilous times, via

untested and unprecedented methods, the public

deserves transparency and the Federal Reserve

requires increased oversight.

The Board resists disclosure under FOJA, main-

taining that it already voluntarily releases

broader, aggregate information regarding these

lending facilities and that releasing transaction

level information would jeopardize the success of

the facilities. The Board argues that since the

public has long regarded the Discount Window as

providing mainly “loans of last resort” (along with

routine needs by stable banks for short-term

funds) publicizing this information would deter

borrowers from using the Discount Window, and

might induce depositors and investor to make pan

icky withdrawals from financial institutions that

borrowed from a Federal Reserve bank’s Discount

Window. If the court grants disclosure and those

dangers follow, great damage to the national ccon

omy would result.

Fox submitted to the Board two requests, pur

suant to FOIA. The Board conducted a search

compiled and reviewed the responsive materials,

and replied that all the documents that lox had

sought were exempted from required disclosure

rules under two exemptions of the Act, Kxemp

tions 4 and 5. 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(4), (5). Both pat

ties move for summary judgment.

I rule that one document, which the Board

determined is not a record, is indeed, a record

The Board shall identify this document and either

produce it or claim an exemption. In all other

respects, I grant the Board’s motion and deny

Kox’s motion, finding that the Board performed an

adequate search and that hxemption 4 permits

the Board not to disclose the documents that Fox

seek >.

I. History of the Federal Reserve

The tension between federal power and states

rights, which so fundamentally shaped our bicam

eral legislature, the electoral college, the limited

jurisdiction of our federal courts, and other

aspects of the United States Constitution, also is

reflected in the national banking system: whether

to focus national monetary policy and power in

one or a few national banks, or to rely on the

banking systems of each state. Alexander Hamil

ton. the first Secretary of the Treasury, founded

the First Bank of the United States in 1791. The

bank was a private Company, created to service

commercial and private needs, but empowered

also to Issue a national currency, recelve tax pay

ments due to the United States, and monetize and

manage the national debt. The wealth it possessed

combined with its ties to the federal government

led to the bank’s rapid growth in national wealth

and power. However, the bank was opposed by

Thomas Jefferson and his Democratic-Republican

party who distrusted centralized federal powe1

and favored state banking systems.°

Congress let the bank’s charter lapse twenty

years after it was founded. A profusion of state

chartered banks arose to succeed to the functions

that the national bank had performed. The state

banks, with their powers to lend and to issue cur

reney, created a great spread of wealth, run-away

inflation, financial panic, and economic chaos. In

1816. to return the nation to solvency and stabil

ity, President James Madison signed into law a

Second Bank of the United States with larger cap

italization than the First Bank. Denounced by

President Andrew Jackson and his Democrats

party, the Second Bank suffered the same fate as

the first when its charter was allowed to lapse in

1836, and again was succeeded by state banks

casy money, multiple issues of currency, a spread

of wealth, inflation that irpassed bounds, and

financial chaos. which ushered in the Pantie olf

See penerally Alan Brinkley, The Untinished Nation

A Concise History of the American People 161-65 (2d ed

MeCiraw-Hill 1997). Elarry ‘orman & Harold C. Syrett, A

History of the American People 229 (Alfred \ Knopl RHYA

\ 29

1837.* Again, the nation rescued itself by an

increased centralization of banking functions ond

tighter regulations through the National Banking

Act of 1863, and its subsequent amendments in

1864 and 1865, which chartered myriad smaller

national banks and created a national currency.

This legislation enabled the North to fund and

equip the armies that won the Civil War.’ How-

ever, these measures were insufficient to establish

a truly centralized banking system. Once again,

the federal system declined and was eclipsed by

the state-chartered banks, leading again to run-

away inflation and a succession of financial pan-

ics culminating in the Panic of 1907.°

The fluctuations and compromises continue

until today between a central national bank, a

central bank mediated by partially autonomous

regional banks, and numerous state banks. The

current system owes its origin to the Federal

Reserve Act of 1913 (“FRA”), which capped the

federal reform effort that followed the Panic of

1907.° The FRA, signed into law by Woodrow

Wilson, created a number of substantially

See Brinkley, supra note 2, at 210-11, 222-23, 249-52,

256-57, 259; Carman & Syrett, supra note 2. at 352

See Carman & Syrett, supra note 2, at 627; Roger T.

Johnson, Historical Beginnings... The Federal Reserve 10-

12 (Public and Community Affairs Department, Federal

Reserve Bank of Boston 1999).

See Johnson, supra note 4, at 12-15; Robert F

Bruner & Sean D. Carr, The Panic of 1907: Lessons Learned

from the Market's Perfect Strom 1-7 (John Wiley & Sons,

Inc. 2007).

f

See Bruner & Carr, supra note 5, at 141

A-23

autonomous regional banks and a federal board of

governors, in charge of oversight and federal pol-

icy.’ The FRBs were to be “the monetary and fiscal

agents of the United States.” Fasano v. Fed.

Reserve Bank of N.Y., 457 F.3d 274, 277 (38rd

Cir.2006) (quoting First Agric. Nat'l Bank v. State

Tax Comm'n, 392 U.S. 339, 356, 88 S.Ct. 2173, 20

lL. Ed.2d 1138 (1968)).

The FRA provided that three government off)-

cials, the Secretaries of Treasury and Agriculture

and the Comptroller of the Currency, would select

the number of regional districts, draw the district

boundaries, and choose the city within each dis-

trict in which the bank would be located. Contro-

versy surrounded the number of regional banks

and the size and reach of the New York branch.

Other areas were concerned that a system so

firmly rooted in New York City would not be sym-

pathetic or attuned to their local needs, including

the financial demands peculiar to the regional

manufacturing and agricultural industries.

Congress instructed that “the districts shall be

apportioned with due regard to the convenience

and customary course of business and shall not

necessarily be coterminous with any State or

States.” FRA § 2(1). In the end, by selecting a rel-

atively large number of regions (twelve) each with

a federal bank, and by intentionally curbing the

power of the New York Federal Reserve branch,

the three officials insured that institutions

throughout the country might have access to fed-

eral funds from a receptive regional lender.®

See Brinkley, supra note 2, at 621-22, 705; 2 Carman

& Syrett, supra note 2, at 385, 524

S

See Johnson, supra note 4, at 16-37

A-24

The 1913 House Currency and Banking Com-

mittee Report, issued in conjunction with the Fed-

eral Reserve Act and expressing congressional

intent, comments that the FRBs are “individually

organized and individually controlled, each hold-

ing the fluid funds of the region in which it is

organized and each ordinarily dependent upon no

other part of the country for assistance.” H.R.Rep.

No. 69 63rd Cong., Ist Sess. 18 (1913). The FRA

requires each FRB, through its individual board of

directors, to:

administer the affairs of said bank fairly and

impartially and without discrimination in

favor of or against any member bank or banks

and may, subject’ to the provisions of law and

the orders of the Board of Governors of the

Federal Reserve System, extend to each mem-

ber bank such discounts, advancements, and

accommodations as may be safely and rea-

sonably made with due regard for the claims

and demands of other member banks, the

maintenance of sound credit conditions, and

the accommodation of commerce. industry,

and agriculture.

12 U.S.C. § 301. The twelve regional banks are

“operating arms of the central banking system.”

but at the same time substantially independent

and autonomous. The Federal Reserve System

Q

Purposes and Functions, 6 (9th ed.. June 2005).'

The Federal Reserve System Purposes and Functions

is a Board publication upon which courts have relied to

explain the workings of the Federal Reserve. See Fed. Open

Mkt. Comm. of Fed. Reserve Sys. v. Merrill, 443 U.S. 340.

ie S

Bn. 2,99 S.Ct. 2800. 61 L.Ed.2d 587 (1979)

>a

A-25

They are charged with carrying out “system func-

tions including operating a nationwide payments

system, distributing the nation’s currency and

coin, supervising and regulating member banks

and bank holding companies, and serving as

banker for the U.S. Treasury.” Jd. Each bank acts

“as a depository for the banks in its own district.”

“a lender to eligible institutions ..., anda clear-

ing agent for checks.” Jd. at 6, 11. The FRBs turn

all their profits over to the Department of Trea-

sury, id., and they operate. in part, under inde-

pendent grants of Congressional authority. See,

e.g., 12 U.S.C. § 341 (providing the power to sue

and be sued, make contracts, appoint officers, hire

and fire emplovees, pre: cribe by laws). However.

they are managed by their own boards of direc-

tors, with two-thirds majorities elected by the

banks in their regions, and enjoy considerable

autonomy with regard to their lending and deposit

policies, as long as they are not inconsistent with

the general propositions of national policy and

oversight.

The Board, in contrast to the FRBs, is a gov-

ernment agency composed of seven members

appointed by the President and confirmed by the

Senate, and a staff. 12 U.S.C. § 241. The Board

mav examine and report upon the FRBs’ activi-

ties, suspend or remove any FRB officer or direc-

tor, require the FRBs to write off losses, oversee

loans between FRBs, supervise the FRBs, and

issue rules and regulations for the FRBs. 12

U.S.C. § 248(a)-(r). The Board “exercises broad

responsibility over the nation’s paymenis system

. and plays a major role in supervision and reg-

ulation of the U.S. banking svstem.” See 12 U.S.C.

A-26

§ 248(j). However, the degree of supervision and

control by the Beard is a function of the person-

alities at play and any current issues between

Congress and local banking interests. All this 1s

done in a tension with local powers and practices

exercised by the twelve regional banks and the

member banks that they serve.

Il. Procedural History

On November 10, 2008, Fox's Vice President

Bruce Becker submitted a FOIA request to the

Board, pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 552, seeking “the

names of institutions receiving Federal Reserve

lending from programs including but not limited

to the following: Regular [Open Market Opera-

tions (“OMQ”) |]; Single-Tranche OMO Program;

Discount Window; Term Discount Window Pro-

sram; Term Auction Facility; Primary Dealer

Credit Facility: Transactional Credit Extensions;

ABCP Money Market [Mutual Fund] Liquidity

Facility; Securities Lending: Term Securities

Lending Facility; Term Securities Lending Facil-

ity Options Program; and any other Federal

Reserve lending facility not mentioned above.” for

the time period of August 8, 2007 through Novem-

ber 17, 2008.

On November 18, 2009, Fox’s Executive Vice

President Kevin Magee filed a second FOIA

request before Fox had received any response from

the Board. The second request sought records from

September ane October 2007 that identify the

names of the institutions that had received loans

under the programs listed in the first FOIA

request, as well as the loan amounts and collat-

eral pledged. The second request included an

A-27

application for expedited processing, under 5

U.S.C. § 552(a)(6)(E) (vA.

In response to the two requests, the Board con-

ducted a search of its records and engaged in dis-

cussions with its FRBs. The Board located 6,186

pages of agency records responsive to Fox's

requests. The information contained in these

pages related to the names and loan amounts of

Disceunt Window borrowers and other programs

mentioned in the requests. The Board found little

information regarding collateral. After reviewing

the responsive material, the Board determined

that all the documents contained exempt material

ard no reasonably segregable non-exempt infor-

mation. The Board denied the requests under

Exemptions 4 and 5, and, on February 19, 2009.

filed two indices pursuant to Vaughn v. Rosen, 484

F.2d 820 (D.C.Cir.1973) and supporting declara-

tions. The Board represented that the bulk of the

documents Fox sought were records of the FRBs in

New York and Boston, and that records of an FRB

are not records of the Board. as defined by the

Federal Reserve Act, aid do not have to be pro-

duced by the Board.

On March 27, 2009, the Board moved for sum-

mary judgment, arguing that no records have been

improperly withheld and that it 1s entitled to judg-

ment as a matter of law. Fox cross-moved, arguing

that (1) the Board conducted an inadequate

search, in part because it failed to search FRB

records, and (2) no exemptions apply to the

records. Alternatively, Fox seeks discovery, assert-

ing that the Board has demonstrated bad faith in

conducting the search.

A-28

lil. Discussion

A. Relevant Law

Congress enacted FOIA “to establish a general

philosophy of full agency disclosure unless infor-

mation is exempted under clearly delineated

statutory language.” Fed. Open Mkt. Comm. of

Fed. Reserve Sys. v. Merrill, 443 U.S. 340, 351-52,

99 S.Ct. 2800, 61 L.Ed.2d 587 (1979) (citing S.Rep.

No. 813, 89th Cong., 1st Sess.. 3 (1965)). There are

nine exclusive exemptions listed in § 552(b). “But

these limited exemptions do not obscure the basic

policy that disclosure, not secrecy, is the dominant

objective of the Act,” and each exemption “must be

narrowly construed.” Dept. of Air Force v. Rose,

425 U.S. 352, 361, 96 S.Ct. 1592, 48 L.Ed.2d 11

(1976).

Summary Judgment is granted when there is no

genuine issue of material fact and the moving

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c); Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 330, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265

(1986). On a motion for summary judgment ina

FOIA case, “the agency must demonstrate beyond

material doubt that its search was reasonably cal-

culated to uncover ail relevant documents.” Nation

Magazine v. U.S. Customs Serv., 71 F.3d 885, 890

(D.C.Cir.1995) (internal quotations and citations

omitted). The agency also “must demonstrate that

each document that falls within the class

requested either has been produced, 1s unidentt1-

fiable, or is wholly exempt from the Act’s inspec-

tion requirements.” Ruotolo v. Dep't of Justice,

Tax Div., 53 F.3d 4, 9 (2d Cir.1995).

A- 29

The agency will sustain its burden by showing,

through “affidavits or declarations, ... that the

agency has conducted a thorough search for

responsive documents and has given reasonably

detailed explanations why any withheld docu-

ments fall within an exemption.” Carney v. U.S.

Dep't of Justice, 19 F.3d 807, 812 (2d Cir.1994).

The burden of proof rests with the agency on all

material issues related to the search’s adequacy

and the merits of exemptions. 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(a)(4)(B). Affidavits submitted by an agency

are “accorded a presumption of good faith.” Car-

ney, 19 F.3d at 812. In a FOIA case, the govern-

ment agency is not entitled to the deference

generally given under the Administrative Proce-

dure Act, and the district court should review the

agency's decision de novo. U.S. Dep't of Justice v.

Reporters Comm. for Freedom of Press, 489 U.S.

749, 755. 109 S.Ct. 1468, 103 L.Ed.2d 774 (1989).

“Discovery relating to [an] agency’s search and

the exemptions it claims for withholding records

eenerally is unnecessary if the agency's submis-

sions are adequate on their face.” Carney, 19 F.3d

at 812, demonstrating “that the withheld infor-

mation is clearly exempt and contains no segre-

sable, nonexempt portions.” Allen v. CIA, 636 F.2d

1287, 1298 (D.C.Cir.1980), overruled on other

grounds by Founding Church of Scientology of

Washington D.C., Inc. v. Smith, 721 F.2d 828

(D.C.Cir.1983). “Where the agency fails to meet

that burden, ... the court may employ a host of

procedures that will provide it with sufficient

information to make its de novo determination,

including ... discovery by the plaintiff.” Zd. If the

agency satisfies its burden, the plaintiff must then

A-30

demonstrate the agency's bad _ faith by

“impugn{[ing] the agency’s affidavits or declara-

tions, or provid[ing] some tangible evidence that

an exemption claimed by the agency should not

apply or summary judgment is otherwise inap-

propriate.” Carney, 19 F.3d at 813 (citation omit-

ted). Failing that, the court has the discretion to

“forgo discovery” to correborate the agency’s

claims and grant summary judgment in favor of

the agency. Jd. at 812

B. Adequate Search

A court must determine whether an agency has

adequately searched its records prior to analyzing

claims of exemption. See Carney, 19 F.3d at 812.

“*The factual question ...is whether the search

was reasonably calculated to discover the

requested documents, not whether it actually

uncovered every document extant. ” Grand Cent.

P’ship v. Cuomo, 166 F.3d 473, 489 (2d Cir.1999)

(quoting SafeCard Serus., Inc. v. SEC, 926 F.2d

1197, 1201 (D.C.Cir.1991)). However, “if the suf-

ficiency of the agency’s identification or retrieval

procedure is genuinely in issue, summary judg-

ment is not in order.” Founding Church of Scten-

tology of Wash., D.C., Inc. v. NSA, 610 F.2d 824,

837 (D.C.Cir.1979).

The Board has successfully carried its burden of

showing that it performed an adequate search.

Alison M. Thro, an attorney for the Board, was

responsible for processing Fox’s two FOIA

requests. She has ten years of experience pro-

cessing FOIA requests for the Board, five of those

years as its attorney in charge of such processing

requests. Ms. Thro submitted a declaration detail-

A-31

ing the Board’s general procedure for handling

FOIA requests and outlining her processing of

Fox’s requests.

Not long prior to receiving Fox’s requests, the

Board had received and processed nineteen dif-

ferent FOIA requests regarding substantially

overlapping information about Discount Window

lending and Special Credit and Liquidity Facili-

ties transactions, and it relied on this work in pro-

cessing Fox’s requests. In processing the first

nineteen requests, Thro had “contacted staff mem-

bers in the two divisions of the Board most likely

to have responsive records.” Thro Decl. 4 10. These

two divisions, the Division of Monetary Affairs

and the Division of Reserve Bank Operations and

Payment Systems, are the only departments

charged with overseeing the Reserve Banks’ lend-

ing under the relevant facilities and supplying

“data and statistics to the Board... relating to”

those facilities. Thro Decl. 4 22. Thro and her staff

contacted numerous senior and other staff mem-

bers at each division and discussed previous FOIA

requests in an effort to compile responsive docu-

ments. In total, thirteen staff members cooperated

with the legal team. Based on discussions with the

staff members, Thro concluded that it was not rea-

sonably likely that responsive documents were

kept in any other divisions of the Board. Thro and

her staff then had follow-up discussions with six

of the staff members to confirm that all appro-

priate documents had been searched.

In response to Fox’s FOIA requests, the Board's

legal staff reviewed documents it had compiled

while processing the many earlier requests, locat-

ing 6,008 pages of responsive documents. Thro

made further inquiries, including to the same two

departments, speaking with several — stall

members, seeking any remaining responsive infor

mation. These conversations led Thro to 178 addi

tional pages of responsive documents. In all, Thro

found 6,186 responsive pages of documents, all of

which the Board believed to be exempt from dis

closure under Exemptions 4 and 5

Fox argues that the Board’s submissions reveal

“positive indications of overlooked materials,” pre-

cluding a finding of summary judgment in the

Board’s favor, Founding Church of Scientology of

Wash., D.C., Inc. v. NSA, 610 F.2d at 837, and

entitling Fox to summary judgment because of

the inadequate search, Judicial Watch, Ine. v.

U.S. Dep’t of Commerce, 34 F.Supp.2d 28, 46

(D.D.C.1998). Alternatively, fox asks for discov

ery to test the competency of the Board’s search.

Carney, 19 F.3d at 812.

1 hold that Thro’s methodology was reasonably

calculated to identify all responsive documents

1. Federal Reserve Bank Records

ox argues that the Board failed adequately to

search its records because it did not search

records of the New York Federal Reserve Bank

(“FRBNY”) and the Boston Federal Reserve Bank

(“FRBB”), the instrumentalities that made the

Discount Window loans. The Board responds that

it is not required to search files maintained by the

FERBs. for the FRBs’ records are not the Board’s

records and, thus, the Board is under no obliga

tion to search them. Jone-Edwards v. NSA, 196

Med.Appx. 36. 388 (2d Cir.2006) (“An agency 1s not

obliged to conduct a search of records outside its

possession or control.” (citing Grand Cent, P ship,

166 I°.3d at 479)); see Dept. of Justice v. Tax Ana

lysts, 492 U.S. 136, 144-45, 109 S.Ct. 2841, LOG

LL.K&d.2d 112 (1989) (finding avency records are

those (_) created or obtained by the agency and (2)

under the agency’s control “at the time of the

FOIA request’)

The Board maintains that it has consistently

interpreted its regulations to require search only

of records generated by the Board, or by other

entities performing a function on behalf of the

soard. One regulation provides

Records of the Board include all informa

tion coming into the possession and under the

control of the Board, any Board member, any

Kederal Reserve fJank, or any. olficer

employee or agent of the Board or any Federal

Reserve Bank, in the performance of functions

for or on behalf of the Board that constitute

part of the Board's official file:

12 C.F.R. § 261.2(1)(1)Q). The Board interprets the

words “for or on behalf of the Board” to mean

“under delegated authority from the Board.’ Thro

Supp. Dec!. 43. This “longstanding practice of th

Board,” in interpreting its own regulations, 1d

‘becomes of controlling weight unless it 1s plainly

erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation

Bruh v. Bessemer Venture Partners Ill L.P., 464

F.3d 202. 207 (2d Cir.2006) (quoting Bowles |

Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S. 410, 4134-14

65 5.Ct. 1215, 89 L.Ied. 1700 (19405))

The FRA. which established the IRBs, grant

independent authority to the FRBs to lend at the

Discount Window and determine required collat

|

eral. 12 U.S.C. § 347b(a) (“Any Federal Reserve

bank, undgr rules and regulations prescribed by

the Board may make advances to any member

hank on its time or demand notes having matur}

tics of not more than four months and which ar

secured to the satisfaction of such Federal Reserve

bank.”). The Board promulgates general rules and

regulations, but lacks the statutory authority to

lend. Thus, it cannot delegate lending authority to

the FRBs. Because the Ff RBs lend money pursuant

to their own mandate, records of their lending are

not Board records. Indeed, the five required form:

that a borrower completes when applying for a

loan at an FRB Discount Window indicate that the

loan is from the FRB and not the Board. These

forms make no mention of the Board, only of thi

relevant FRB.'"

The history and tructure of the Federal

Reserve. the Board, and the FRBs, bolster the

Board’s statutory interpretation. In the FRA

Congress divided the powers of the Federal

Reserve System between the Board, which 1s a

federal agency, and the FRBs, which were estab

lished as regional banks. Premised on this divi

ion, the Board interprets the statutory definition

of its record:

The Federal Reserve is structured to empowet

local institutions to lend, while permitting federal

oversight. The Board has the authority to pro

mulgate the rules and regulations to which thi

MRBs must adhere Aut. this authority does not

gost that loans made by an FRB. acting unde)

its own authority and discretion, are done on the

Roord’s behalf. “tas evident from the legislative

history of the Federal Reserve Act that Congr

did not intend to vive the federal government

direction over the daily operation of the Reserve

Banks.” Lewis v. U.S., 680 FF. Yd 1289, 1241 (Oth)

Cir. 1982) CUP} he reserve bank plan retains to the

(aovernment powe Over the exercise Qo] the

broader banking functions, while it leaves to ind)

viduals and privately owned institutions the

actual direction of routine.” (citing TER. Report

No. 69, 63 Cong. Ist Sess. 18-19 (19T8)))

lox ArFLUCS that the hhREss act on the Board

behalf when they implement the monetary policy

that the Board’s regulations permit, and that

records generated by the FRB in connection with

the facilities are Board records. However, to read

the statute as defining all FRB records as Board

records voes against the fundamental importance

of an FRB’s autonomy, autonomy which was the

cornerstone of the Federal Reserve System Tr

ese +.

The Board interprets other relevant regulation

consistently with this reading. ‘The record-keeping

revulation for the Board provides: “Ree ords of the

Board include lrecords| maintammed for admin

istrative rensons in the regular course of busine

in official files in any division or office of the

Roard or any Federal Reserve Bank in connection

with the transaction of any offieral busin Iv

CoRR, § Y61.20)01)a1). lt provides that the Board

may store its records of! ite nthe EFRBs only “for

administrative reason ld. Vhus, not all record

kept by the rMithiss are record ol the board: onl,

tha ( r fleeting delog ited Pury Linh) qo? tho ( bye la

at an FRB for the Board's “administrative

reasons.”

Section 261.3(a) provides that the Secretary of

the Board is the custodian of its records, whether

maintained at the Board or in an FRB. This reg-

ulation provides: “The Secretary of the Board...

is the official custodian of all Board records,

including records that are in the possession or

control of the Board, any Federal Reserve Bank, or

any Board or Reserve Bank emplovee.” Plaintiff

argues that this esta>dlishes that the Board’s Sec-

retary, and therefore the Board. has custody or

control over all records kept by all FRBs. How-

ever, as the Board maintains, this provision does

not extend the functions or powers of the Board's

Secretary beyond the limits of § 261.2(4)(1)Q).

Congress established the Board and the regional

FRBs as separate entities, reflecting the tension

between a centralized federal bank and generally

independent state and local banks. The Board

establishes national policy, but that policy is

implemented by each FRB. which maintains its

own banking relationship with the member banks

of its region. The Board’s interpretation of which

records belong to the Board and which belong to

the FRBs is consistent with the overall Federal

Reserve System structure established by statute.

Although the Board has the power “[t]o examine

at its discretion the accounts, books, and affairs of

each Federal reserve bank and of each member

bank and to require such statements and reports

as it may deem necessary.’ 12 U.S.C. § 248(a).

that oversight power does not change the balance

of the record-keeping functions described above.

In any event, for purposes of FOIA, what an

agency has an ability to obtain, but has not

obtained, is irrelevant. Forsham v. Harris, 445

U.S. 169, 182, 185, 186, 100 S.Ct. 977, 63 L.Bua.2d

293 (1980) (“FOIA applies to records which have

been in fact obtained, and not to records which

merely could have been obtained”): Ciba-Geigy

Corp. v. Mathews, 428 F.Supp. 423, 53]

(S.D.N.Y.1977) (holding that agency “should not

be compelled to acquire data it neither referred to

directly nor relied upon in making decisions’).

It may be. as Fox argues, that no FRB has a

FOIA office to which FOIA requests may be sub-

mitted, that the only FOIA office for the Federal

Reserve System is in the Board, and if Fox cannot

obtain documents from the Board, it will be

deprived of obtaining any meaningful documents

enabling a public accounting of the Board's Dis-

count Window loan program. Whether or not this

is so, 1t does not alter the fact that Fox served its

requests only upon the Board and that the defi-

nition of a Board record is limited by statute.

| hold that the Board's interpretations of its own

regulations are reasonable and consistent. I reject

Fox's argument that the interpretations are

unreasonably narrow and attenuated.

2. Additional Arguments for

Inadequate Search

Fox argues that additional aspects of the

Board’s search cause it to be inadequate. Fox

argues that the Board failed to account for records

obtained from the FRBNY and the FRBB in the

“daily data feed” from which the Board generates

its own reports; that the Board did net search

deleted files for responsive material: and that the

A-38

Board chose not to search an attachment to a

received e-mail that the recipient of the e-mail

had not and need not have opened.

The daily data feeds are daily reports sent elec-

tronically by the individual FRBs to the Division

of Monetary Affairs containing aggregate data

pertaining to FRB transactions. The Board gen-

erates three different weekly reports from the

data, and searched its weekly reports to respond

to Fox's FOIA request. Fox charges that the daily

data feeds mav have contained information that

was not incorporated into the Board’s weekly

reports and that t!e Board never searched the

unincorporated information.

Fox has no proof that any data was left out of

the Board's three weekly reports. The good-faith

presumption accorded to agency affidavits “cannot

be rebutted by ‘purely speculative claims about

the [possible] existence... of other documents. ~

Grand Cent. P’ship, 166 F.3d at 489 (quoting Safe-

Card Servus., Inc., 926 F.2d at 1200): Carney, 19

F.3d at 813 (“something more than [movant's]

bare allegations of ageneys concealment of

records is required). The daily reports themselves

are dvnamic. tne data changing with each days

business, and the Board does not retain hard

copies of each generation. To require the Board to

reconstruct the daily data feeds as of particular

dates would be unduly burdensome. Grand Cent.

P’ship. 166 F.3d at 489 (“an agency's search need

not be perfect. but rather need only be reason-

able”): Schrecker v. Dept. of Justice. 349 F.3d 657,

663 (D.C.Cir.2003) (The “adequacy of an agency s

search is measured by a standard of reasonable-

ness, and is dependent upon the circumstances of

the case.”); see Judicial Watch, Inc. v. Export

Import Bank, 108 F.Supp.2d 19, 27 (D.D.C.2000)

(“[I]t is the requester’s responsibility to frame

requests with sufficient particularity to ensure

that searches are not unreasonably burdensome

.... The rationale for this rule is that FOIA was

not intended to reduce government agencies to

full-time investigators on behalf of requesters.’)

(quotation and citation omitted).

As to deleted material, the issue arises with

regard to two Board members and one staff mem-

ber who had received weekly reports via e-maul

containing transaction-level ican information

None of these three individuals had used the

reports to perform Board duties and had routinely

destroyed all copies prior to Fox's FOIA request

Id. The Board's failure to use computer experts to

search for these files does not render the search

inadequate. Baker & Hostetler LLP v. U.S. Dept of

Commerce, 473 F.3d 312. 318 (D.C.Cir.2006)

(agency's FOIA response sufficient when its expla-

nation as to why it was unable to recover deleted

emails was adequate and unrebutted). The per-

sonnel routinely deleted such emails shortly after

receiving them because they did not need this

information to perform Board duties. See Wilbur v.

CIA, 355 F.3d 675, 678 (D.C.Cir.2004) (‘the fact

that responsive documents once existed does not

mean that thev remain in the jagency's] custody

today or that the [agency] had a duty under FOIA

to retain the records’): Yeager v. DEA. 678 F.2d

315, 321 (D.C.Cir.1982) ("A requester ts entitled

h

as in fact chosen

only to records that an agency

to create and retain.’ )

A-40

3. The Unopened Attachment

In one instance, the Board did not search an

attachment to an e-mail received by a number of

Board staff and Board members within the rele-

vant time period. The recipients had opened the e-

mail which contained responsive aggregate

information from the FRBNY regarding a relevant

lending facility. None of the recipients opened the

attachment until Thro asked them to do so as part

of the search. Thro determined that because the

attachment had not been opened, forwarded, used.

reviewed, or relied upon in the course of the recip-

icnts’ duties for the Board. it was not a Board

record. I disagree.

The attachment was both obtained by the

agency and within the agency's control “at the

time of the FOIA request.” Dept. of Justice, 492

U.S. at 144-45, 109 S.Ct. 2841. It was kept and

not deleted. Yeager, 678 F.2d at 321. That no staff

or Board member thought to open the attachment

does not negate its status as a record. Documents,

and their attachments, are records whether or not

an employee's eye passed over every section or

page.

| hold that the attachment is an agency record

and should be ineluded in the search. Thro’'s dec1-

sion, however flawed. was forthrightly presented

in her declaration and is not evidence of “bad

faith.” Alien, 636 F.2d at 1298. Fox's submissions

are “adequate on their face,” Carney, 19 F.3d at

812. regardless. and provide sufficient information

on which to make a de novo determination. See id.

at 813. The Board shall conduct the acditional

search. turn over all responsive and non-exempt

A-41

information, and submit an additional Vaughn

index, 1f necessary.

In spite of this deficiency. the search conducted

by the Board was thorough and reasonable. The

Board searched the two divisions reasonably likely

to have responsive documents (based on its nine-

teen prior similar FOIA requests). The Board con-

tacted thirteen staff members and had follow-up

discussions with six. The Board's FOIA attorney

personally reviewed the information. This process

vielded 6.008 pages of exempt information listed

on the Feb. 19, 2009 Vaughn indicies. A later,

additional search yielded 178 more pages listed on

supplemental Vaughn index. I find that the search

was adequate, no additional search (other than

that indicated above) is required, and no discovery

by Fox of the Board’s review process is warranted.

C. FOIA Exemptions

The Board argues that Exemptions 4 and 3d

exempt the responsive documents recovered in the

search. Exemption 4 applies to an agency s com-

mercial, financial, or trade secret information that

is obtained from a person and is privileged or con-

fidential. 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(4). Exemption 5 apphes

to “inter-agency or intra-agency memorandums or

letters which would not be available by law to a

party other than an agency in litigation with the

agency.” 5 U.S.C. § 552(b)(5). I hold that Exemp-

tion 4 apphes and, thus. do not discuss whether

Exemption d applies.

lInder Exemption 4. an agency must demon

strate that the information sought is: (1) a “trade

secret” or “commercial or financial” in character,

(2) “obtained from a person.” and (3) “privileged or

A-42

confidential.” 5 U.S.C. §552(b)(4); Inner City

Press/Cmty. on the Move v. Bd. of Governors, 463

F.3d 239, 244 (2d Cir.2006). The parties agree

that the loan information sought is “commercial or

financial,” but dispute the other two elements.

1. Obtained from a Person

Documents within the scope of Exemption 4

must be “obtained from a person.” 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(b)(4). For the purposes of FOIA, a “ ‘person’

includes an individual, partnership, corporation,

association, or public or private organization other

than an agency.” 5 U.S.C. § 551(2). An “agency”

includes, inter alia, a “Government corporation

for] Government controlled corporation.” 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(f)(1). Fox wants the Board to disclose docu-

ments containing the borrowers names, loan

amounts, and pledged collateral for all the loans

made through the Discount Window and related

facilities. The Board contends that the informa-

tion that Fox seeks originated with and was

obtained by an FRB. from a borrower, and there-

fore was “obtained from a person.” Fox argues that

the information is obtained by the Board from the

FRBs. and that the loan information 1s generated

by the federal government, and does not implicate

raw information received directly from the bor-

rower. See Nadler v. FDIC, 899 F.Supp. 158, 164

(S.D.N.Y.1995) (‘The thrust of the FOIA 1s to cre-

ate a right of access to official information. Infor

mation generally acquires an ‘official’ character

either when it is generated by the agency itself or

is acquired from private parties whose activit’es

are substantively germane to the agency's ‘official’

miss*2n.”").

A-43

Exemption 4 aims squarely at protecting the

rights of individuals over their privileged or con-

fidential commercial information against FOIA’s

broad sweep. In recognizing this, courts look past

formalities to ensure that even indirect disclosure

does not jeopardize a person’s privacy. One court

exempted a “ratio calculated [by an agency] from

individual components all of which are obtained

from” individuals. OSHA Data/ClIH, Inc. v. U.S.

Dept °f Labor, 220 F.3d 153, 162 (3rd Cir.2000):

see Judicial Watch, Inc. u. Export-Import Bank,

108 F.Supp.2d 19 (D.D.C.2000) (exempting inior .

mation that the “Bank obtained ... from the

insurance applicants themselves”); Clarke v. U.S

Dep't of Treasury, 1986 WL 1234, 1986 U.S. Dist

LEXIS 29989 (E.D.Pa. Jan. 28, 1986) (holding

names and addresses of holders of a certain type

of bond are obtained from persons). Another held

that agency summaries and reformulations of a

“nerson’s” raw data are “obtained from a person.”

Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. vu. HHS, 69

F.Supp.2d 63, 67 (D.D.C.1999). Because the bor

rower’s name, the amount it must borrow. and the

property it volunteers to provide as collateral 1s

information that originated with the borrower and

is reflected in the data Fox seeks. I hold that it

was “obtained from” the borrower.

One court found that a borrower's loan infor

mation was not “obtained from” the individual!

borrower, but “generated by” the lending agency,

and that, therefore, Exemption 4 did not apply

Buffalo Evening News v. Small Bus. Admin., 666

F.Supp. 467, 469 (W.D.N.Y.1987). The court in

Ruffalo Evening News addressed a request by

aintiff newspaper that the SBA disclose infor

l

A-44

mation pertaining to SBA loans made in the

wakes of a powerful ice storm and a blizzard that

damaged a host of small businesses in the region.

The SBA responded to an initial reyuest by dis-

closing a complete list of borrowers’ names, cities,

and states. Unsatisfied, the plaintiff requested

more detailed information, pursuant to FOIA. The

SBA made further disclosures, but refused to

reveal individual loan amounts or dispositions,

claiming that the information was obtained from

individuals and covered by Exemption 4.

The court in Buffalo Evening News ruled “that

‘In no way do these records implicate any financial

information provided to the government by the

borrower. ” /d. at 468 (citing Miami Herald Publ’g

Co. v. Small Bus. Admin., 670 F.2d 610 (5th

Cir.1982)). The plaintiff asserted:

(T]he only connection between the information

sought here and the information obtained

from the borrower is that a loan was granted

by the SBA presumably on the basis of the

financial records submitted by the borrower

and that nothing more or less is established

by the release of the requested records, much

less the contents of the records submitted by

the borrowers.

Id. at 468-69 (quotation omitted). The court held

“that all of the information sought by plaintiff

here has been generated by the defendant SBA in

the course of its involvement with its borrowers.”

Id. at 469. The court reiterated, “this information

In no way implicates any of the financial infor-

mation pvrovided by the borrowers to the govern

ment.” Jd.

A-45

The facts at issue here are markedly different

from those in Buffalo Evening News. In Buffalo

Evening News, the identities of the SBA borrowers

were already public, whereas the identities of the

Discount Window borrowers are not. The SBA

loans in Buffalo Evening News were generally

available to promote recovery in areas ravaged by

storms or other dramatic adverse conditions; the

Discount Window loans were focused on particular

companies in financial distress. There was no

quality of opprobrium in Buffalo Evening News;

that is in the case before me.

The discount window loans “implicate” poten-

tially “personal” and sensitive financial informa-

tion, unlike the loans in Buffalo Evening News.

The Board has legitimate concern that disclosure

of information about Discount Window loans can

damage them and do incalculable harm to the

national economy. As the Board’s economist

attests,

Some of these reasons, such as an unexpect-

edly large loan request from a customer or a

runoff in liabilities as a major depositor

makes payments to third parties, may result

from routine developments and may not indi-

cate an underlying capital or liquidity prob-

lem. However, the fact that an institution

borrowed from the [Discount Window] may

suggest to customers, creditors, analysts, or

the news media that its liquidity shortage

stems from a financial problem at the insti

tution that is not known by the public at

large.

\-46

McLaughlin Decl. 423. The SBA borrowers, on the

Other hand, clearly needed the loans because of

damage sustained in the storms. The SBA loans

Carried no further implications. Indeed, the court

In Buffalo Evening News made sure to clarify that

its holding was based in part on the fact that “this

Information in no way implicates any of the finan

Clal information provided by the borrowers to the

fSovernment.” Buffalo Evening News, 666 F.Supp.

at 469.

Because disclosure by the Board implicates the

borrower's financial information, and the parties

agree that the individual borrowing institutions

are “persons,” as defined by FOIA, it is not rele

Vant whether FRBs ought to be classified as

“persons” or “agencies.” 5 U.S.C. §551(2). Any

responsive document qualifies as exempt because

it contains information obtained from the bor

rower: names, amounts, and collateral

2. Privileged or Confidential

The other element of Exemption 4 1s whethe

the info sought is privileged or confidential. Infor

mation is “privileged or confidential” if it 1s not

Ordinarily released to the public and “its disclo

Sure would have the effect either (1) of impairing

the sovernment’s ability to obtain necessary

imformation in the future, or (2) of causing sub.

Stantial harm to the competitive position of the

Person from whom the information was obtained.”

Continental Stock Transfer v. S.E.C., 566 F.2d

3°73. 375 (2d Cir.1977). The agency has the burden

off showing that the information is privileged or

COnfidential and “must identify specific dangers

that disclosure will pose.” Nadler v. FDIC,

A-47

899 F.Supp. 158, 162 (S.D.N.Y.1995). “Actual com

petition and the likelihood of substantial]

competitive injury is all that need be shown,” Gulf

& W. Indus... Inc. v. U.S., 615 F.2d 527, 530

(D.C.Cir.1980), by proffering “evidence demon

strating the existence of potential economic

harm,” Jnner City Press, 380 F.Supp.2d at 219. In

addition, many courts have recognized a third

sround on which information may be found priv}

leged or confidential: if disclosure would unde

mine the agency’s “effective execution of its

statutory responsibilities.” 9 to 5 Org. for Women

Office Workers v Bd. of Governors, 721 ki2d 1, 10

(1st Cir.1983): Critical Mass Energy v. NRC, 9705

F.2d 871, 880 (D.C.Cir.1992) (en banc)

The Board has shown specific and substantial

harms to borrowers if the information about 11

count Window loans were disclosed. The Federal

Reserve Bank of Boston’s website reads, 1} part

“There will not be any public disclosure of the

individual borrowers participating in |the D1

count Window] or the amounts of individual

advances made to the borrowers. '' The institu

tions borrowing at the Discount Window, the Term

Auction Facility, and the Asset-Backed Comme:

cial Paper Money Market Mutual Fund Liquidity

Facility compete for retail and commercial bank

ing services in the marketplace “A primary deale)

would suffer competitive and reputational harm 11

its name and the relevant collateral it posted were

disclosed to the public,” for the public is likely to

draw inferences of its relative financial strength

and viability. Logan Decl. 9 34 Anonymity 1s cru

cial to primary dealers.” /d. 435

The Board’s concerns, that rumors are likely t

begin and runs on banks are lkely to develop

cannot be dismissed. Similarly, the Board's con

Cer is real that di » Lo puUESe would reveal Ppropri

etary trading information of borrowers, the

trading strategies and t he size and nature of thet

portfolios of asset: ‘he national economy 1s not

out of danger. and the frailty of banks so different

now then when their Discount Window borrowing

beran. as to make the Board concern academe

for all these reason that The Board

rrvument of exemption based on contident baalats

eritvoriou

(;sovernmental BKifectivene

Courts have recognized a third ground on wht

nformation may be found privileged and cont

dential that disclosure would undermine th

iwency eTreceilve Cxecucion | it tatutol

respons ibilits 910 5 Org. for Women Offi

Worke) [a O] (,overnors, ¢2Z t 2d | lO ¢Ist

(ur 1983): Criltcal Mass Inere. Vive O75 kk Yad

1 880 (D.C.Cir.1992) (en banc). Kxemption 4

also protect a rovernmental interest in adm)

istrative elfieirency and cllectivenes: (C'riticai

Mass knergey, 9d ht Yd at 8/%: see Nat'l Part A

(C‘fonservation ASs nt VUorton, 498 F.2d 765, 7701

17 (D.C.Cir.1974) GQndicating kxemption 4 ma

protect governmental interests) The Second O11

cult ha not affirmatively accepted this approach

Ol] explie ithy rejected it Nadler ' RDIC, 92 dd

8 OG (Yd Cir. 1996) “TW Ie do not reach the 1 Li ¢

vhether the district urt properl tf led reh

te the FDIC on the basi Ol thre ~proyram Clbav

tiveness” exemption derived from footnote seven

teen of National Parks.”). Nevertheless, judges in

this and other district have adopted the analysi

Africa Kund v. Mosbacher, 1998 WH 18387386 at's

1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 7044 at *21 (S.D.NLY. May

26. 1993) (holding confidential export mtormation

exempt from disclosure by the Department of

Commerce because the miormation 1 pravanluneadod

in making pohiey and mamtamming ellective export

controls”): Clarke vo. US. Dep tof Treasury, 1986

WI, 1234 at *1, 1986 I Dist. LEXIS 29989 at ’

(h.0.Pa. dan. 28, 1986

ln Clarke picaretill ought the name ol allown

ers of a particular type of | nited Stat Preasut

bond, a well a the bond Virbune mod maturit

diate lhe rroney declined to release the docu

nent for teat bnive tor would be biked :

ourehnase vovernment DOM in) Ghee future of th

knew the details of their 4 Chase Voulad be Tue

mech to pub disclosure fal 1 i OO | » Dist

LiexXtt MQGQGRYG at *F (citing delendant UnOpp

LILIGAVIT) mat Court found ‘a if | Cmplion

ipplied because i] ure Would prolate the 4

nase ( pectatro nfidentialit " i |

he trea ! Depart l rbyadat ! e Don

the future / it yey | Dist. Ll

CVO af Ih r hed { rdict

iffida tL ¢ hayn tf participa

ba cc » aat ( il |

ther participant ld? mil

yonit ( pdivanti / Cys, | :

mn IS 29989 af 1) rl

A-50

requests, do so with the understanding that the

loan is confidential. As in Clarke, the Board

asserts that borrowers would be less likely to use

their facilities, if the transactions were not con-

fidential. dd.

In another similar case, Comstock Int'l (U.S.A. ),

Inc. v. Export-Import Bank, 464 F.Supp. 804

(D.D.C.1979), the agency, “a banking corporation

that seeks to facilitate and finance exports and

imports between the United States and other

countries,” offers “loans, guarantees, and other

forms of financial assistance.” Id. at 805. The

agency withheld a loan agreement in which it was

a party, “maintain|ing] that disclosure would sig-

nificantly impair its ability to promote United

States exports.” /d. at 808. The agency argued

that it might lose applicants to foreign financial

institutions that do not disclose, and “that dis-

closure would ... impair its effectiveness by mak-

ing it more difficult to negotiate lean agreements.”

ld. It was concerned as well that disclosure “would

discourage commercial bank participation with

iximbank on joint loan agreements, thus impair-

ing Kkximbank’s ability to control overall financing

of transactions.” Jd. The court explained, “bor-

rowers would be less inclined to make concessions

that could be disclosed to a future lender.” /d.

Disclosing details of the facilities Fox identifies

would compromise the Board’s effective execution

of its statutory responsibilities. The Board is

charged with: (1) promoting goals of maximum

employment, stable prices, and moderate long-

term interest rates, 12 U.S.C. § 225a; (2) utilizing

its authority to permit lending by FRBs so as to

address unusual and exigent circumstances in the

A-51

domestic economy, 12 U.S.C. § 3438; and (3)

employing certain lending practices by FRBs as a

safety valve in reheving hquidity strains for indi-

vidual depository institutions and the banking

system, and to complement open market opera-

tions in achieving the target federal funds rate, 12

U.S.C. § 847b(b). In essence, borrowers would view

taking such last-resort, publicly disclosed loans as

unwise because it would stigmatize the company

and lead to a, perhaps false, behef that the com-

pany is in financial trouble. This would undermine

the Board’s mandate to provide stability to mar-

kets, especially during a financial crisis. Under

this rationale, withholding information regarding

even loans paid months ago is mandated by

IKxemption 4.

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, | hold that

Kxemption 4 exempts disclosure of the responsive

documents that the Board located in its search.

Accordingly, I grant the Board’s motion for sum-

mary judgment and deny Fox's motion, except that

the Board must conduct an additional search of

the unopened attachment and make appropriate

disclosures.

The Clerk shall mark motions Nos. 8 & 13 as

terminated and close the case, subject to reopen-

ing within sixty days for matters relating to the

remaining search.

SO ORDERED.

A-52

5 U.S.C. § 552(b)

(b)

re Go

This section does not apply to matters that

(1) (A) specifically authorized under criteria

established by an Executive order to be kept

secret in the interest of national defense or

foreign policy and (B) are in fact properly clas-

sified pursuant to such Executive order;

(2) related solely to the internal personne}

rules and practices of an agency;

(3) specifically exempted from disclosure by

statute (other than section 552b of this title),

if that statute—

(A)QG) requires that the matters be with-

held from the public in such a manner as

to leave no discretion on the issue; or

(ii) establishes particular criteria for

withholding or refers to particular types

of matters to be withheld; and

(B) if enacted after the date of enactment

of the OPEN FOIA Act of 2009, specifi-

cally cites to this paragraph.

(4) trade secrets and commercial or financial

information obtained from a person and priv-

ileged or confidential:

(5) inter-agency or intra-agency memoran-

dums or letters which would not be avanlable

by law toa party other than an agency in ht-

igation with the agency;

(6) personnel and medical files and similar

files the disclosure of which would constitute

a clearly unwarranted invasion of personal

privacy;

(7) records or information compiled for law

enforcement purposes, but only to the extent

that the production of such law enforcement

records or information (A) could reasonably be

expected to interfere with enforcement pro-

ceedings, (B) would deprive a person of a right

to a fair trial or an impartial adjudication, (C)

could reasonably be expected to constitute an

unwarranted invasion of personal privacy, (D)

could reasonably be expected to disclose the

identity of a confidential source, including a

State, local, or foreign agency or authority or

any private institution which furnished infor-

mation on a confidential basis, and, in the

case of a record or information compiled by

criminal law enforcement authority in the

course of a criminal investigation or by an

agency conducting a lawful national security

intelligence investigation, information fur-

nished by a confidential source, (I) would dis-

close techniques and procedures for law

enforcement investigations or prosecutions, or

would disclose guidelines for law enforcement

investigations or prosecutions if such disclo-

sure could reasonably be expected to risk cir-

cumvention of the law, or (I*) could reasonably

be expected to endanger the life or physical

safety of any individual;

(8) contained in or related to examination,

operating, or condition reports prepared by, on

behalf of, or for the use of an agency respon-

A-54

sible for the regulation or supervision of

financial institutions: or

(9) geological and geophysical information and

data, including maps, concerning wells.

Any reasonably segregable portion of a record

shall be provided to any person requesting such

record after deletion of the portions which are

exempt under this subsection. The amount of

information deleted, and the exemption under

which the deletion is made, shall be indicated on

the released portion of the record, unless includ

ing that indication would harm an interest pro-

tected by the exemption in this subsection under

which the deletion is made. If technically feasible,

the amount of the information deleted, and the

exemption under which the deletion is made, shall

be indicated at the place in the record where such

deletion is made.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.