Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Doyle v. Graske

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No.____99 -85 7 2010

OFAICE OF THE CLERK

Fn The WiamK Suter, Clerk

Supreme Court of the Anited States

oe —

ANNE DOYLE,

Petitioner,

LELAND GRASKE,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit

——________———_ @ —

PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI

en! enews

JOSEPH B. MULLER

(Counsel of Record)

RONALD J. PALAGI

LAW OFFICES OF RONALD J. PALAGI, P.C., L.L.O.

3131 South 72nd Street

Omaha, Nebraska 68124

(402) 397-5000

joe@ronaldjpalagi.com

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO} (800) 225-4964

OR CALI. COLLECT (402) 442-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The circuit courts and district courts are split

regarding the issue in this case: is there a remedy for

loss of consortium under general maritime law?

In some circuits damages for loss of consortium are

available. In other circuits damages for loss of con-

sortium are not available. This case will allow this

Court to resolve this conflict among the lower courts,

and to clarify these questions of general maritime

law:

1. Whether, pursuant to American Export Lines,

Inc. v. Alvez, 446 U.S. 274, 10 S.Ct. 1673 (1980), loss

of consortium caused by a nonfatal injury to a non-

seafarer is a remedy under general maritime law.

2. Whether, pursuant to Yamaha Motor Corp.,

U.S.A. v. Calhoun, 516 U.S. 199, 116 S.Ct. 619 (1996),

state law remedies are applicable in maritime cases

where there is no federal statute that specifies the

appropriate relief, and where the injured party is a

nonseafarer.

3. Whether Graske waived his defense of failure

to state a claim upon which relief can be granted.

P

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW

The only parties involved in the trial and sub-

sequent appeal were Daniel Doyle and Anne Doyle,

Plaintiffs, and Leland Graske, Defendant.

Although the Eighth Circuit listed Third Party

Defendants as parties, none of the Third Party De-

fendants were involved in the relevant proceedings

below. The Third-Party Complaint against Jason

Haynes was dismissed on October 5, 2007. Caribe

Inflatables USA, Inc. and Kirk Marine were both

dismissed from this action on September 27, 2006.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........ i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOV ....... il

TABLE. OF AU THORET Bape isecccscsivcccessssoncesesesscors v

CITATIONS TO JUDGMENTS AND OPIN-

PRPS E SOUT US es chnssniniecustctercsatoeginabiermaceleineens

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION .................02.seseceeeee

STATUTES INVOLVED IN CASE ......................

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.................:cceeeeeeeee

I. THERE ISA SPLIT IN THE DECISIONS

OF THE CIRCUIT COURTS......................

A. The First, Second, and Third Circuits

Allow Damages for Loss of Consor-

CI isn snaivaudenncnstvareteconkbcedeseciacieiias diesen:

B. The Fifth, Eighth, Ninth, and Elev-

enth Circuits Do Not Allow Damages

for Loss of Consortium ...................++0+

Il. LOSS OF CONSORTIUM DAMAGES

ARE AVAILABLE UNDER GENERAL

DEAT 5 ROE BANUT isnicsessncsccsncccectcsauningrinense

A. Higginbotham and Miles Do Not

Control the Decision in this Case........

Ill. A STATE LAW REMEDY SHOULD BE

APPLIED IN THIS CASE. ......................--.

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

IV. GRASKE WAIVED HIS DEFENSE OF

FAILURE TO STATE A CLAIM ................. 15

SED ccicuuchticosinnnsabeapacenieresuandiaeucsmuueasl 16

APPENDIX

Amended Opinion of the Eighth Circuit Court

IIE cikccicnc sacsnahsan tpcnesseubaaibeemainediaumnninoeneens App. 1

District Court Findings of Fact and Con-

I OIE I iirckaibasterqncnctncssvecsensecttinbesaiiseten’ App. 20

District Court Memorandum and Order .......... App. 59

III -siicieansonnccaicnshnussasdetindaastctenviecmdeineiaeeen App. 68

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

American Dredging Co. v. Miller, 510 U.S. 443,

Se I ons sccvecarsnsdupuchadcausdensecssousnionserets 14

American Export Lines, Inc. v. Alvez, 446 U.S.

Br, Be ree BES CH ocevcascvcccccccssccccsevceees passim

Anson v. Fletcher, 192 Neb. 317, 220 N.W.2d

ee ee no en nendnionbabanaveeaeumenensiouls 14

Atlantic Sounding Co., Inc. v. Townsend, 129

I co citcdbaubisabmannnesees 11, 13

Calhoun v. Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A., 40

Be te CE FO cenccnccncniciscssccosccnecccasvaccccoscnsss 8

Carlson v. Okerstrom, 267 Neb. 397, 675

DE ON IN oii cise sécisaticcuniuatabuaeadanddsensbbeveesosonns 14

CEH, Inc. v. F/V Seafarer, 70 F.3d 694 (1st Cir.

RRR TREC FPR FATE RAIA OUI TT een Re De Re AP TORE 7

Chan v. Soc’y Expeditions, Inc., 39 F.3d 1398

SRE Sater peo ee eR ER Ae RMF 8,9

DeLoach v. Companhia de Navegacao Lloyd

Brasileiro, 782 F.2d 438 (3rd Cir. 1986) ................... 8

Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, 128 S.Ct. 2605

(RESET ES a a ERR Sole aOR eek REN Retr ARE 10, 11

Great-West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Knudson,

534 U.S. 204, 122 S.Ct. 708 (2002)........................- 13

Grubbs v. General Elec. Credit Corp., 405 U.S.

Se: Se a RI 0 FID cs ccincscdcksvccconsavcsnsonaccoussecvended 5

—

lt TTT ——_—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Lyon v. Ranger III, 858 F.2d 22 (1st Cir. 1988)............ 7

Matheny v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 557

ee RE I 0.5 scacencuandonedensebonsetndsoenenecess 8

Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 111

so cavnemsuunsinatnenes 12, 13, 16

Mobil Oil Corp. v. Higginbotham, 436 U.S. 618,

Be ris Be © BOPP cosccecnsesesccssesvocsencoseese 6, 12, 13, 16

Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S.

Be ee ree OOD CTW cscinscccecencsscvnctesccecesscctes 10, 11

New York & Long Branch Steamboat Co. v.

Johnson, 195 F. 740 (3rd Cir. 1912)....................02008: 8

Nichols v. Petroleum Helicopters, Inc., 17 F.3d

i ho cc eurbemsbbenesesness 8

Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock Corp. uv.

Garris, 532 U.S. 811, 121 S.Ct. 1927

Et Ie Oo oe 7,10, 11,16

Robinson v. Alter Barge Line, Inc., 513 F.3d 668

a cieemnauaians alanis 15

Romero v. International Terminal Operating

Co., 358 U.S. 354, 79 S.Ct. 468 (1959) ................... 14

Saunders v. Cunard Line Litd., 1995 WL

ica ucsacscnasunvebbeeensenanunbintendantens 7

Sea-Land Services, Inc. v. Gaudet, 414 U.S.

I ee Ss EE © BEI Paccicensccnsstccsscnssccescnes 10, 11, 16

Tucker v. Fearn, 333 F.3d 1216 (11th Cir. 2003).......... 8

Wartman v. Commodore Cruise Line, Lid., 100

F.3d 943, 1996 WL 47964 (2nd Cir. 1996)................ 8

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Wilburn Boat Co. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co.,

348 U.S. 310, 75 S.Ct. 368 (1955)........................00 14

Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A. v. Calhoun, 516

U.S. 199, 116 S.Ct. 619 (1996)...............-006 10, 14, 15

Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines Co., Lid, 438

EE Se CE EE TIE sccccicnedeuinccmnaatnnsnsedensnesinweseseenss 7

Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines Co., Ltd, 516

Ree. ke 5. Be ees eC itedcensitticensacssctcvsecsccens 7

STATUTES

i IRIE SITE cinco saeco savtnanaahonsnaennmeousumeianesesneaeael 2

Sa, as a coeteaneneiemmnemnanenaneueni 2

BL RENT AE EL RE NOT 6, 10

ee I iisctcan:sonsrinteseciendsaconenciecnenieesenssenninmunniiiia 2

PS a lI I A Se CC ERE passim

46 U.S.C. §§30301-30308 -...........cececeeeeee- 6, 7,9, 10, 13

Oe I oc ccacecha ctapensiacamunensudulsanseiianinbiaaaies 3

ee IIE ccc au taasic omens eanuanenebmenancetiied 3

ee I wissen cei saciccancdskcdndeaninniesessneudsasaienasnaned 4

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 8..................- 16

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 12................. 16

Thomas J. Schoenbaum, 1 Admiralty and Mar.

Be, Se IIE TIC F dcnccannccanpocksuahaaheetadioncccunenaeneionctns 9

l

CITATIONS TO JUDGMENTS

AND OPINIONS BELOW

This case was tried in the United States District

Court for the District of Nebraska, Chief Judge

Joseph Bataillon presiding. Doyle v. Graske, 565

F. Supp.2d 1069 (D. Neb. 2008) (App. 20-58). After a

judgment in favor of the Plaintiffs, the trial court

denied Defendant’s Motion to Amend Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law, or for a new trial. Doyle uv.

Graske, 2008 WL 3539269 (D. Neb. 2008) (App. 59-

67). Those decisions were appealed to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. A

panel of that Court — Chief Judge Loken, Circuit

Judge Colloton, and Circuit Judge Hansen — affirmed

in part and reversed in part. That decision, as

amended, is Doyle v. Graske, 579 F.3d 898 (8th Cir.

2009) (App. 1-19).

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals entered its judgment and

opinion on September 2, 2009. After timely Petitions

for Rehearing were filed, the Court denied the

Petitions for Rehearing on October 22, 2009 (App. 68-

69). In that Order the Court noted that Circuit

Judges Bye and Shepherd would grant the Petition

for Rehearing En Banc filed by Appellee Anne Doyle

which raised the same issues as this Petition.

28 U.S.C. §1254(1) confers jurisdiction on this

Court to review the judgment of the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals.

STATUTES INVOLVED IN CASE

28 U.S.C. §1254(1):

Cases in the courts of appeals may be reviewed

by the Supreme Court by the following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon the

petition of any party to any civil or

criminal case, before or after rendition of

judgment or decree;

28 U.S.C. §1333(1):

The district courts shall have original juris-

diction, exclusive of the courts of the States, of:

(1) Any civil case of admiralty or maritime

jurisdiction, saving to suitors in all cases

all other remedies to which they are

otherwise entitled.

The following statutes are not applicable on the

facts, but are discussed in the Argument section

below.

33 U.S.C. §903(a):

Except as otherwise provided in this section,

compensation shall be payable under this chapter in

respect of disability or death of an employee, but only

if the disability or death results from an injury

occurring upon the navigable waters of the United

States (including any adjoining pier, wharf, dry dock,

terminal, building way, marine railway, or other ad-

joining area customarily used by an employer in load-

ing, unloading, repairing, dismantling, or building a

vessel).

46 U.S.C. §30104:

A seaman injured in the course of employment or,

if the seaman dies from the injury, the personal

representative of the seaman may elect to bring a

civil action at law, with the right of trial by jury,

against the employer. Laws of the United States

regulating recovery for personal injury to, or death of,

a railway employee apply to an action under this

section.

46 U.S.C. §30302:

When the death of an individual is caused by

wrongful act, neglect, or default occurring on the high

seas beyond 3 nautical miles from the shore of the

United States, the personal representative of the

decedent may bring a civil action in admiralty against

the person or vessel responsible. The action shall be

for the exclusive benefit of the decedent’s spouse,

parent, child, or dependent relative.

46 U.S.C. §30303:

The recovery in an action under this chapter

shall be a fair compensation for the pecuniary loss

sustained by the individuals for whose benefit the

action is brought. The court shall apportion the re

covery among those individuals in proportion to the

loss each has sustained

46 U.S.C. §30308:

(a) State law. - This chapter does not affect the

law of a State regulating the right to recover for

death

(b) Internal waters This chapter does not

apply to the Great Lakes or waters within the

territorial limits of a State.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case is about the loss of consortium and

society suffered by a wife, Anne Doyle, when her

husband, Daniel Doyle, sustained a permanent brain

injury in a boating accident. Daniel Doyle was not

a seaman, nor was he a longshoreman. He was

seriously injured, but he did not die. His injuries did

not occur in territorial waters.

On the morning of October 31, 2003 Daniel Doyle

sustained a permanent brain injury when he was run

over by a boat in the waters off of Grand Cayman

Island. The boat was owned and operated by Leland

Graske. See, generally, App. 2-4.

Due to the brain injury, Daniel Doyle has been

unable to work. He has memory and cognition

problems. His behavior has become emotional and

erratic.

Anne and Daniel Doyle’s marriage has been

transformed. Instead of having a loving, caring

husband she can rely on — a partner — Anne is now

Daniel’s caretaker. Anne Doyle has lost the care,

companionship, and comfort that Daniel Doyle had

provided her, and which she expected to benefit from

for the rest of her life. See, generally, App. 55-58.

This case was originally filed in the state courts

of Nebraska. Graske removed the case to the United

States District Court for the District of Nebraska.

The Doyle’s consented to removal, and did not seck

a remand to state court. Thus, the district court

properly exercised jurisdiction because the Doyle's

waived any objections to removal. Grubbs v. General

Elec. Credit Corp., 405 U.S. 699, 92 S.Ct. 1344 (1972),

After a trial to the court, the court found that

Leland Graske was negligent, and that his negligence

caused Daniel Doyle’s injuries. The Court entered a

judgment in favor of Daniel Doyle for his damages,

and in favor of Anne Doyle for her loss of consortium.

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the

findings of negligence, causation, and the judgment in

favor of Daniel Doyle. However, the court reversed

the judgment in favor of Anne Doyle because it

decided that she did not have a claim loss of consor-

tium under general maritime law. App. 9, 11, 18.

4

6

ARGUMENT

The circuit courts are split regarding the issues

in this case. In the First, Second, and Third Circuits

damages for loss of consortium can be recovered. In

the Fifth, Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits, and now the

Eighth, loss of consortium damages are not recover-

able. Thus, whether a spouse can recover damages for

loss of consortium depends on where she is able to file

her cause of action. This Petition should be granted

so that this Court can resolve this conflict between

the circuit courts, and establish uniformity regarding

remedies in admiralty law cases.

I. THERE IS ASPLIT IN THE DECISIONS OF

THE CIRCUIT COURTS

Before examining the split between the circuit

courts, it is necessary to identify the three federal

statutes that provide remedies for injury or death in

maritime law: the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. §30104

(hereinafter “Jones Act”), the Longshore and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. §§901-950

(hereinafter “LHWCA”), and the Death on the High

Seas Act, 46 U.S.C. §§30301-30308 (hereinafter

“DOHSA”).

When a case comes within the parameters of one

of these statutes, then the decision is controlled by

the statutory language. Mobil Oil Corp. v. Higgin-

botham, 436 U.S. 618, 98 S.Ct. 2010 (1978). When a

case — such as this case — is not controlled by one of

these statutes, then principles of general maritime

7

law apply. Norfolk Shipbuilding & Drydock Corp. v.

Garris, 532 U.S. 811, 121 S.Ct. 1927 (2001).

A. The First, Second, and Third Circuits

Allow Damages for Loss of Consortium

The First Circuit affirmed an award of damages,

including loss of society, to an injured party’s son in

Iyon v. Ranger III, 858 F.2d 22 (1st Cir. 1988); a

wrongful death action under general maritime law.

See also CEH, Inc. v. F/V Seafarer, 70 F.3d 694 (1st

Cir. 1995) where the court affirmed an award of puni-

tive damages which, like loss of consortium damages,

are considered nonpecuniary damages. The court’s

rationale in F/V Seafarer was that if DOHSA and the

Jones Act do not apply, then nonpecuniary relief is

available. This rationale applies to damages for loss

of consortium as well.

The Second Circuit considered loss of consortium

damages in Zicherman v. Korean Air Lines Co., Ltd.,

43 F.3d 18 (2nd Cir. 1994). The court held that mari-

time law permits the recovery of damages for loss of

society (consortium). /d. at 43 F.3d 23. This Court

reversed the award of damages for loss of society

because DOHSA applied. Zicherman v. Korean Air

Lines Co., Ltd., 516 U.S. 217, 116 S.Ct. 629 (1996).

However, the initial determination that loss of society

damages are available under general maritime law

is still the law in the Second Circuit. Saunders v.

Cunard Line Ltd., 1995 WL 329323 (S.D.N-Y. 1995);

8

Wartman v. Commodore Cruise Line, Lid., 100 F.3d

943, 1996 WL 47964 (2nd Cir. 1996).

Long ago the Third Circuit recognized a claim for

loss of consortium in admiralty cases. New York &

Long Branch Steamboat Co. v. Johnson, 195 F. 740

(3rd Cir. 1912). More recently, in DeLoach v. Com-

panhia de Navegacao Lloyd Brasileiro, 782 F.2d 438

(3rd Cir. 1986), the court denied loss of consortium

damages for a child whose parent was injured.

However, in that opinion it is clear that a spousal

claim for loss of consortium is cognizable under mari-

time law. Also, in Calhoun v. Yamaha Motor Corp.,

U.S.A., 40 F.3d 622 (3rd Cir. 1994), the court held

that a state remedy for loss of consortium is con-

sistent with principles of general maritime law. See

also Matheny v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 557 F.3d

311 (6th Cir. 2009).

B. The Fifth, Eighth, Ninth, and Eleventh

Circuits Do Not Allow Damages for

Loss of Consortium

In this case the Eighth Circuit Court aligned

itself with decisions by the Fifth and Ninth Circuits

that general maritime law does not provide a remedy

for loss of consortium. Chan v. Soc’y Expeditions, Inc.,

39 F.3d 1398 (9th Cir. 1994); Nichols v. Petroleum

Helicopters, Inc., 17 F.3d 119 (5th Cir. 1994). See also

Tucker v. Fearn, 333 F.3d 1216 (11th Cir. 2003).

Nichols v. Petroleum Helicopters, Inc., 17 F.3d 119

(5th Cir. 1994) involved injuries to a longshoreman on

9

the high seas. The case did not involve claims against

the employer. Rather, the claims were asserted

against a negligent third party. The court denied

recovery for loss of consortium because it decided that

such damages were not available under general

maritime law.

In Chan v. Soc’y Expeditions, Inc., 39 F.3d 1398

(9th Cir. 1994), the circumstances were similar to this

case. The Ninth Circuit held that loss of consortium

damages are unavailable as a remedy under general

maritime law. In Chan the Ninth Circuit never

addressed the conflict between its decision and this

Court’s decision in American Export Lines, Inc. v.

Alvez, 446 U.S. 274, 100 S.Ct. 1673 (1980). The Ninth

Circuit also ignored the fact that this Court accepted

a lack of uniformity between DOHSA, the Jones Act,

and its holding in Alvez. Thus, the Chan decision has

been criticized. See, e.g., Thomas J. Schoenbaum, 1

Admiralty and Mar. Law, §5-16 (4th ed.).

Anne Doyle would be allowed to recover her

damages for loss of consortium in the First, Second,

and Third Circuits. However, the Eighth Circuit

denied her recovery for her damages. The Fifth,

Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits would deny her re-

covery as well. This lack of uniformity is untenable.

This Court should grant this Petition to resolve this

split among the circuit courts, and supply uniformity

on this issue 1n maritime law.

10

iil. LOSS OF CONSORTIUM DAMAGES ARE

AVAILABLE UNDER GENERAL MARI-

TIME LAW

Daniel Doyle was not a seaman, nor was he a

maritime worker. He was a nonseafarer. Yamaha

Motor Corp., U.S.A. v. Calhoun, 516 U.S. 199, at 205,

n.2, 116 S.Ct. 619 (1996). Therefore, neither the Jones

Act nor the LHWCA control the outcome of this case.

See Garris, supra at 532 U.S. 817-818, citing Alvez,

supra. Daniel Doyle did not die so DOHSA does not

apply. See Garris, supra at 532 U.S. 818, quoting

Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375,

90 S.Ct. 1772 (1970). Thus, none of the maritime stat-

utes control, and this case presents issues of general

maritime law.

This Court has never specifically addressed the

circumstances presented by this case: loss of consor-

tium for injury (not death), to a nonseafarer, in non-

territorial waters (the high seas). However, in other

cases that were not controlled by the maritime

statutes, this Court held that loss of consortium

damages are an available remedy. Sea-Land Services,

Inc. v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573, 94 S.Ct. 806 (1974);

American Export Lines, Inc. v. Alvez, 446 U.S. 274,

100 S.Ct. 1673 (1980). See also Exxon Shipping Co. v.

Baker, 128 S.Ct. 2605, at 2630, n.21 (2008).

Some of the lower courts have followed these

decisions, others, such as the Eighth Circuit in this

case, have not. Thus, one of the issues presented by

11

this case is the continuing viability of Gaudet and

Alvez.

In Gaudet this Court held that loss of consortium

damages are an available remedy in a wrongful death

action under general maritime law. In Alvez this

Court held that the decision in Gaudet extended to

nonfatal injuries. Thus, under general maritime law,

there is a remedy for loss of consortium in both injury

cases and death cases. The rationale in both cases is

that, where there is no statute to the contrary,

common law principles apply.

This Court applies the same rationale to other

issues of admiralty law. In Garris, supra, since there

was no statute to the contrary, this Court held that

the Moragne wrongful death action extends to cases

involving negligence. Likewise, in Exxon Shipping

Co. v. Baker, 128 S.Ct. 2605 (2008) this Court noted

that historically admiralty courts develop and apply

remedies where there are no controlling statutes. /d.

at 128 S.Ct. 2630, n.21. Finally, in Atlantic Sounding

Co. Inc. v. Townsend, 129 S.Ct. 2561 (2009), this

Court held that, since the Jones Act did not preclude

them, punitive damages are an available remedy.

These opinions support the rationale of Gaudet and

Alvez that common law remedies are available unless

there is congressional action to the contrary.

The rationale behind Gaudet, Alvez, and other

maritime cases is clear. This rationale has been

applied in the First, Second, and Third Circuits.

However, the Eighth Circuit, following the Fifth,

12

Ninth, and Eleven Circuits, did not follow this Court’s

rationale in this case. It is unclear why these courts

do not follow this Court’s lead, but it is clear that

their failure to do so has created a split of decisions

between the circuits.

The issue in this case is whether there is a rem-

edy for loss of consortium when there is a nonfatal

injury to a nonseafarer in non-territorial waters.

There is no statute addressing this issue. In Alvez

this Court held that loss of consortium damages were

available as a remedy for a nonfatal injury under

general maritime law. However, as reflected in the

conflict between the trial court and the Eighth Circuit

in this case, there is conflict and confusion in the

lower courts regarding whether Alvez is still good law.

A decision in this case would resolve this conflict, and

help to clarify issues related to remedies under

general maritime law.

A. Higginbotham and Miles Do Not Con-

trol the Decision in this Case

The lower courts that reject the remedy for loss of

consortium rely on two decisions by this Court. Un-

like this case, both cases were controlled by statute.

This case allows this Court to decide whether some

lower courts are justified in extending the holdings in

these cases beyond their original scope.

The first case is Mobil Owl Corp. v. Higginbotham,

436 U.S. 618, 98 S.Ct. 2010 (1978). Since Higgin-

botham involved death on the high seas, general

13

maritime law was preempted by DOHSA. However,

that preemption extends only to those cases where

DOHSA applies. Townsend, supra at 129 S.Ct. 2571,

n.6 (2009); Accord Alvez, supra at 446 U.S. 282.

DOHSA does not apply to this case.

Some lower courts, including the Eighth Circuit,

fail to recognize this limit on the decision in Higgin-

botham. Contrary to well recognized principles of

statutory construction, some lower courts “ ... attri-

bute words to Congress that it has not written.”

Townsend, supra at 129 S.Ct. 2575. See also Great-

West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Knudson, 534 U.S.

204, at 216-218, 122 S.Ct. 708 (2002). As a result,

some lower courts have extended DOHSA and Hig-

ginbotham to injury cases, such as this, where they

do not apply.

The second case is Miles v. Apex Marine Corp.,

498 U.S. 19, 111 S.Ct. 317 (1990). In the interest of

uniformity, courts in some circuits have interpreted

Miles as limiting recovery in all injury and death

cases to the remedies provided in the Jones Act and

by DOHSA. This interpretation is too broad.

“The laudable quest for uniformity in admiralty

does not require the narrowing of available damages

to the lowest common denominator approved by

Congress for distinct causes of action.” Townsend,

supra at 129 S.Ct. 2574. This principle is applied by

the First, Second, and Third Circuits, but it is ignored

by the Fifth, Eighth, Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits.

14

il. A STATE LAW REMEDY SHOULD BE

APPLIED IN THIS CASE

In the Amended Complaint, Daniel and Anne

Doyle prayed for judgment against Leland Graske for

damages consistent with general maritime law and

the law of the State of Nebraska. Under Nebraska

law, damages for loss of consortium are available as a

remedy in negligence actions. See, e.g., Carlson uv.

Okerstrom, 267 Neb. 397, 675 N.W.2d 89 (2004);

Anson v. Fletcher, 192 Neb. 317, 220 N.W.2d 371

(1974).

In Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A. v. Calhoun, 516

U.S. 199, 116 S.Ct. 619 (1996) this Court held that

state remedies could be applied in a maritime wrong-

ful death action. “Traditionally, state remedies have

been applied in accident cases of this order —

maritime wrongful-death cases in which no federal

statute specifies the appropriate relief and the

decedent was not a seaman, longshore worker, or

person otherwise engaged in a maritime trade.” Jd. at

516 U.S. 202. Likewise, in Romero v. International

Terminal Operating Co., 358 U.S. 354, at 373-374,

79 S.Ct. 468 (1959), this Court pointed out that

admiralty law incorporates state rules and remedies

in various types of cases. See also, Wilburn Boat Co.

v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co., 348 U.S. 310, 75 S.Ct. 368

(1955); American Dredging Co. v. Miller, 510 U.S.

443, 114 S.Ct. 981 (1994).

15

These cases instruct courts sitting in admiralty

to look to state remedies where there is no federal

statute or policy to the contrary. Since this case in-

volves Nebraska citizens, and there is no federal

statute to the contrary, applying Nebraska’s remedy

for loss of consortium would do nothing to undermine

admiralty law. See Robinson v. Alter Barge Line, Inc.,

513 F.3d 668, at 672 (7th Cir. 2008) (State law is

preempted by maritime law only if it would under-

mine admiralty law.)

The circumstances regarding maritime law are

the same in this case as they were in Calhoun: no

federal statute specifies the appropriate relief, and

Daniel Doyle was not a seaman, longshore worker, or

a person otherwise engaged in a maritime trade.

Thus, the outcome should also be the same. Nebraska

law should apply, and Anne Doyle should be allowed

to recover her damages for loss of consortium.

IV. GRASKE WAIVED HIS DEFENSE OF

FAILURE TO STATE A CLAIM

The first tume Graske raised the issue that Anne

Doyle’s cause of action failed to state a claim was in

his post-verdict Motion. App. 59-60. It was not raised

in his Answer. It was not raised as an issue during

the Pre-Trial Conference, nor in the Proposed Find

ings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and there was

no argument in Graske’s Trial Brief. Also, no objec-

tions were asserted during the trial when Plaintiff

16

adduced evidence regarding the loss of consortium

damages.

Pursuant to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

Graske waived his defense that loss of consortium

damages are not available in this case. F.R.Civ.P.

8(bX 1&6), 8(c), 12(b), and 12(h). This Court should

exercise its supervisory powers, and direct the Eighth

Circuit to enforce the Federal Rules, as they are

written.

,

a4

CONCLUSION

The issue of remedies under general maritime

law is an important part of this Court’s admiralty

jurisdiction. However, there is a split and lack of

uniformity between the circuits regarding the remedy

for loss of consortium.

The circuit courts are split regarding the con-

tinuing viability of Gaudet and Alvez. There is a

significant split regarding the scope of Higginbotham

and Miles. In their attempts to reconcile the decisions

in Alvez, Miles, and Garris, the lower courts have

reached different conclusions.

This Court should grant this Petition for a Writ

of Certiorari because a decision on the merits in this

case would provide clarity and direction to the lower

17

courts regarding an important issue of federal law

the remedies available under general maritime law

Respectfully submitted,

JOSEPH B. MULLER

(Counsel of Record)

RONALD J. PALAGI

LAW OFFICES OF

RONALD J. PALAGI, P.C., L.L.O

3131 South 72nd Street

Omaha, Nebraska 68124

(402) 397-5000

joe@ronaldjpalagi.com

Attorneys for Petitioner

App. I

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 08-3144

Daniel Doyle; Anne Doyle, °

Plaintiffs/Appellees, :

Vv *

Leland Graske, * Appeal! from the

* United States

Defendant/Appellant, 4 pictrict Court for

Vv * the District of

*

Jason R. Haynes; Caribe _ Nebraska.

Inflatables USA, Inc., Kirk .

Marine,

Third Party Defendants.

a.

7

Submitted: April 16, 2009

Filed: September 2, 2009

Amended: October 21, 2009

Before LOKEN, Chief Judge, HANSEN § and

COLLOTON, Circuit Judges

COLLOTON, Circuit Judge

App. 2

Daniel Doyle suffered injuries while he was a

passenger on a boat owned and operated by Leland

Graske. Doyle and his wife brought an action in

Nebraska state court, claiming that Graske was

negligent in his operation of the boat. Graske

removed the case to federal district court, invoking

admiralty jurisdiction. Removal based on admirality

jurisdiction was improper under 28 U.S.C. § 1441, see

Romero v. International Terminal Operating Co., 358

U.S. 354, 371-72 (1959), but the Doyles waived their

objection to improper removal by failing to seek a

remand to state court, and the district court properly

exercised jurisdiction over claims that could have

been brought originally in federal court. See Grubbs

v. Gen. Elec. Credit Corp., 405 U.S. 699, 702 (1972);

Morris v. Princess Cruises, Inc., 236 F.3d 1061, 1069

(9th Cir. 2001). The district court, sitting without a

jury, found that Doyle’s injuries were caused by

Graske’s negligence, and awarded compensatory dam-

ages to Doyle, as well as loss-of-consortium damages

to his wife, Anne. We affirm the district court’s

judgment in favor of Daniel Doyle, but reverse its

award of loss-of-consortium damages to Anne Doyle.

On October 31, 2003, Graske and two friends,

Daniel Doyle and Robert Van Hook, decided to go

fishing in the waters off the coast of Grand Cayman

Island, where Graske owned a vacation home. The

three set out on Graske’s inflatable boat at around

10:30 a.m. The boat was fourteen feet long, with a

App. 3

seventy-horsepower engine and room for six passen-

gers. It featured two seats at the stern (or rear), two

more at midship, and a cushion for two passengers at

the bow (or forward end). Both seats at the stern

faced forward and included backrests. The stern seat

on the starboard side (i.e., the right side while looking

forward) was known as the “helm seat” because of its

position opposite the boat’s steering wheel, located on

a console at midship. The forward side of the console

functioned as a backrest for the starboard midship

seat. The other midship seat (on the port, or left, side)

and the bow cushion seats did not have backrests,

and passengers sitting on the latter had to ride facing

the rear. An inflatable tube formed most of the boat’s

hull, and there were hand straps along the top of the

tube for passengers sitting at midship or in the bow.

From the helm seat, Graske steered the boat

slowly through the no-wake zone — a zone extending

two hundred yards from shore in which boats are

prohibited from traveling above five miles per hour.

When the boat was past the zone, Graske said, “Here

we go,” or words to that effect, and began accel-

erating. As the boat came on plane — that is, reached

a speed at which its hull was no longer displacing the

water, but skimming across it — a nylock nut came

loose from the boat’s steering system, causing the

system to malfunction and the boat to turn abruptly

and sharply to the left.

Despite the sudden turn, Graske was able to

maintain his position behind the steering wheel. Van

Hook, who was sitting on one of the midship seats,

App. 4

managed to remain on the boat as well. Doyle,

however, was thrown overboard. Accounts differ con-

cerning where Doyle was located when he was

ejected. According to Graske, Doyle was sitting on the

inflatable tube, with his feet between the starboard

midship and bow seats, and with at least one hand on

a hand strap. According to Van Hook, Doyle was

seated on the bow cushion (having moved there from

the tube), and was not holding any hand strap. Doyle

himself cannot remember.

Wherever he was sitting, Doyle was thrown into

the water, and as the boat continued turning counter-

clockwise, it struck him in the back and on the head.

Graske immediately put the boat in neutral. Doyle

was some distance from the boat, injured but con-

scious. Graske brought the boat closer to Doyle, and

Van Hook grabbed hold of him, eventually pulling

him onto the inflatable tube.

Graske guided the boat to shore. From there,

Doyle was transported to a local hospital and then

transferred to medical facilities in the United States.

Doctors diagnosed him with a flail chest, his respira-

tion hindered by multiple rib fractures. Because of

difficulties breathing, Doyle suffered permanent

brain injury while hospitalized.

Doyle brought an action against Graske in

Nebraska state court, claiming negligence in Graske’s

operation of the boat. Graske removed the case to

federal district court, invoking admiralty jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1333(1). He sought to implead

App. 5

several third-party defendants, including a mechanic

who repaired and reassembled the boat’s steering

system just days before the accident. Graske, how-

ever, was unable to establish personal jurisdiction

over the third-party defendants, and his claims were

ultimately dismissed without prejudice. Doyle filed

an amended complaint, adding his wife, Anne, as a

plaintiff.

Following a bench trial, the district court entered

judgment in favor of the Doyles. Applying general

maritime law, the court found that Graske was

negligent in his operation of the boat, and that

Graske’s negligence was a proximate and substantial

cause of Doyle’s injuries. It also determined that

Doyle’s own negligence contributed to his injuries,

because he should have been more aware of the

dangers around him. The court apportioned ninety

percent of the fault for Doyle’s injuries to Graske and

potential tortfeasors, including the mechanic, and the

remaining ten percent to Doyle himself. Taking ac-

count of Doyle’s comparative negligence, the court

awarded $3,238,153 in compensatory damages to

Doyle. It also awarded $750,000 in damages for loss

of consortium to Anne, but that amount did not

reflect any proportional reduction for Doyle’s com-

parative fault. Graske appeals.

IT.

Graske first challenges the district court’s finding

that he was negligent in the operation of the boat.

App. 6

Because negligence in admiralty is a factual deter-

mination, we may not set aside the district court’s

finding unless it is clearly erroneous. McAllister v.

United States, 348 U.S. 19, 20 (1954). “A finding is

clearly erroneous when although there is evidence to

support it, the reviewing court on the entire evidence

is left with a definite and firm conviction that a

mistake has been committed.” Jd. (internal quotations

omitted).

Under general maritime law, a boat owner owes a

duty of reasonable care to passengers lawfully aboard

his boat. Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Trans-

atlantique, 358 U.S. 625, 630 (1959). The district

court found that Graske breached this duty by

bringing the boat on plane while Doyle was seated in

“a position of danger.” The court acknowledged that

according to Graske, Doyle was sitting on the tube

when the accident occurred, whereas according to Van

Hook, Doyle was sitting on the bow cushion. But the

court determined that this difference of opinion was

immaterial, because “both the tube and the bow cush-

ion seat are positions of danger while accelerating a

small watercraft on the open ocean.” Given that Doyle

was sitting at either one position or the other, the

court reasoned that Graske should have known that

it was unsafe to accelerate. Accordingly, the court

concluded that by bringing the boat on plane, Graske

App. 7

failed to exercise reasonable care for Doyle’s safety,

and was thus negligent in his operation of the boat.’

Graske does not dispute that his actions were

negligent if Doyle was sitting on the tube. Indeed,

various boating experts testified at trial that sitting

on the tube was unsafe while the boat was planing,

and there was no testimony to the contrary. Graske

focuses instead on the district court’s finding that his

operation of the boat was negligent if Doyle was

sitting on the bow cushion. Graske argues that this

finding is clearly erroneous. We disagree.

At trial, Michael Sampsel, a mechanical and

marine engineer, testified that the bow cushion was

an unsafe position while the boat was on plane.

Sampsel noted that the cushion was naturally subject

to greater motion at higher speeds, given its location

in the boat’s bow. According to Sampsel, however, the

cushion’s design did not account for such increased

motion. Quite the opposite, he explained, the

cushion’s short height — just 13.5 inches above the

deck — meant that passengers would be sitting in an

unusual posture, with their knees higher than

normal. He also noted that the lack of thigh

restraints or backrests meant that passengers would

* Graske contends that the district court abused its discre-

tion by failing to make a specific finding of fact as to where

Doyle was sitting when the accident occurred. Because Doyle’s

exact seating position is not an ultimate fact necessary to reach

a decision, we reject Graske’s contention. See Allied Van Lines,

Inc. v. Small Bus. Admin., 667 F.2d 751, 753 (8th Cir. 1982).

App. 8

be prone to sliding across the cushion. Sampsel ac-

knowledged the presence of nearby hand straps, but

maintained that they were meant for use in lifting

the boat, not for use by passengers. In Sampsel’s

opinion, therefore, the bow cushion’s location and

design rendered the seat unsafe while the boat was

on plane, and Graske violated safe boating practices

if he proceeded to accelerate with Doyle sitting there.

The testimony of two other experts was not

inconsistent with Sampsel’s conclusion. Paul Larson,

a marine surveyor and investigator, testified that

when the boat was planing, a seat at midship was “a

better and safer position” than one in the bow. He did

not rule out the possibility that if Doyle was seated

on the bow cushion when the accident occurred, then

Graske’s operation of the boat was negligent. Ac-

cording to Larson, whether Graske failed to exercise

reasonable care would depend on the circumstances.

Herbert Angell, a boating law administrator for the

State of Nebraska, took a similar position. Like

Larson, Angell testified that whether it was negligent

to allow Doyle to sit on the bow cushion would depend

on how fast the boat was traveling and other en-

vironmental conditions.

The only expert witness who stated categorically

that sitting in the bow was safe at planing speed was

Robert MacNeill, a boat manufacturing consultant.

The district court noted, however, that MacNeill’s

expertise was in designing yachts, not small recre-

ational vessels. The court therefore declined to credit

MacNeill’s testimony regarding the safe operation of

App. 9

Graske’s fourteen-foot boat. Giving due deference to

the district court’s determination of credibility, we

cannot say that its refusal to accept MacNeill’s testi-

mony was unreasonable.

In light of the record as a whole, we conclude that

substantial evidence supports the district court’s

conclusion that Graske breached a duty of reasonable

care if Doyle was seated on the bow cushion when the

boat came on plane. The definitive testimony of

Sampsel, and the fact-dependent opinions of two

other experts, provided sufficient basis for the court

to find that the bow cushion was a position of danger

under the circumstances, such that Graske should

have known not to accelerate while Doyle was seated

there. Given that the only other position where Doyle

could have been located was on the tube — a position

Graske does not dispute would have been unsafe — we

hold that the district court’s finding of negligence in

Graske’s operation of the boat is not clearly

erroneous.

IIl.

Graske next challenges the district court’s deter-

mination that his negligent operation of the boat was

a proximate and substantial cause of Doyle’s injuries.

Issues of proximate causation in admiralty “involve

application of law to fact, which is left to the

factfinder, subject to limited review.” Exxon Co.,

U.S.A. v. Sofec, Inc., 517 U.S. 830, 840-41 (1996). We

may not disturb the district court’s determination

App. 10

unless it is clearly erroneous. Am. Home Assurance

Co. v. L & L Marine Serv., Inc., 875 F.2d 1351, 1354

(8th Cir. 1989).

Graske invokes the doctrine of superseding

cause, arguing that the negligent repair of the boat’s

steering system superseded his negligent operation of

the boat, thereby relieving him of liability for Doyle’s

injuries. The allegedly negligent repair of the boat,

however, could not have been a superseding cause of

Doyle’s injuries. The doctrine of superseding cause

applies “where the defendant’s negligence in fact

substantially contributed to the plaintiff’s injury, but

the injury was actually brought about by a later cause

of independent origin that was not foreseeable.”

Sofec, 517 U.S. at 837 (emphasis added) (internal

quotation omitted). Here, the allegedly negligent re-

pair of the boat occurred before Graske’s negligence,

and thus could not have superseded it. Accordingly,

the doctrine of superseding cause is of no avail to

Graske.

Graske also invokes the doctrine of inevitable

accident, arguing that Doyle’s injuries would have

occurred as a result of the failure of the boat’s

steering system, regardless of whether Graske’s

operation of the boat was negligent. We doubt that

the doctrine of inevitable accident applies outside the

context of collision liability, where it may be raised as

an affirmative defense by vessels accused of causing

collisions. See The Louisiana, 70 U.S. (3 Wall.) 164,

173 (1865); Grant Gilmore & Charles L. Black, Jr.,

The Law of Admiralty § 7-2, at 486-88 (2d ed. 1975).

App. 11

But even assuming that the doctrine does apply in

this general context, it would not apply in this case.

An accident cannot be said to have been inevitable if

it could have been prevented by “human skill and

precaution, and a proper display of nautical skill.”

The Louisiana, 70 U.S. (3 Wall.) at 173. The district

court did not clearly err in finding that Doyle’s

injuries could have been prevented if Graske had

exercised reasonable care by waiting to accelerate

until Doyle was seated at midship or the stern. After

all, Graske and Van Hook were riding in those areas

when the boat suddenly turned, and both were able to

avoid harm. Doyle’s injuries were therefore not the

inevitable consequence of the malfunctioning of the

boat’s steering system. The district court’s finding

that Graske’s negligence was a proximate and

substantial cause of Doyle’s injuries is not clearly

erroneous.

IV.

Finally, Graske challenges the district court’s

award of loss-of-consortium damages to Doyle’s wife,

Anne. “Loss of consortium” refers to “loss of the

benefits that one spouse is entitled to receive from

the other, including companionship, cooperation, aid,

affection, and sexual relations.” Black’s Law Diction-

ary 1031 (9th ed. 2009). In the context of marriage,

the terms “loss of consortium” and “loss of society” are

used interchangeably. In re Midland Enters., Inc., 886

F.2d 812, 816 n.4 (6th Cir. 1989). Graske contends

that general maritime law does not allow recovery for

App. 12

loss of consortium by the spouse of a nonseafarer

negligently injured beyond the territorial waters of

the United States. A “nonseafarer” is someone, like

Doyle, who is neither a seaman covered by the Jones

Act, 46 U.S.C. § 30104, nor a longshore or harbor

worker covered by the Longshore and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. § 901 et seq.

See Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A. v. Calhoun, 516 U.S.

199, 205 n.2 (1996). We review de novo the question

whether general maritime law allows recovery for

loss of consortium. See In re Am. Milling Co., 409 F.3d

1005, 1013 (8th Cir. 2005).*

The Supreme Court’s most recent guidance on

how to approach this sort of problem came in Afélantic

Sounding Co. v. Townsend, 129 S.Ct. 2561 (2009).

There, the Court considered “whether an injured sea-

man may recover punitive damages for his employer’s

willful failure to pay maintenance and cure.” /d. at

2565. The Court began its analysis by reviewing the

history of punitive damages under the common law

generally and federal maritime law specifically. Based

on that review, the Court determined that “punitive

damages have long been available at common law,”

and that “the common-law tradition of punitive

* The Doyles contend that Graske waived his argument

that loss-of-consortium damages are unavailable under general

maritime law by raising it for the first time in a post-verdict

motion. In ruling on that motion, however, the district court

considered and rejected Graske’s argument on the merits. The

issue is a purely legal one, and we proceed to consider it.

App. 13

damages extends to maritime claims.” /d. at 2569.

The Court reasoned that because “there is no

evidence that claims for maintenance and cure were

excluded from this general admiralty rule,” the only

question remaining was whether the rule had been

abrogated by Congress’s enactment of the Jones Act,

which provided seamen a statutory cause of action for

negligence. Jd. The Court concluded that the rule had

survived the Jones Act, because the Act did not

address either maintenance and cure or its remedy.

Id. at 2572. Because Congress had not altered the

traditional understanding regarding the availability

of punitive damages in admiralty, the Court held that

“such damages for the willful and wanton disregard

of the maintenance and cure obligation should remain

available in the appropriate case as a matter of

general maritime law.” Id. at 2575.

Applying the Townsend approach here, we

conclude that there is no well-established admiralty

rule, as there is with respect to punitive damages,

authorizing loss-of-consortium damages as a general

matter. In 1963, the question whether maritime law

allowed recovery of loss-of-consortium damages by

the wife of a longshoreman negligently injured in

state territorial waters was “presented for the first

time in a federal Court of Appeals.” Igneri v. Cie. de

Transports Oceaniques, 323 F.2d 257, 258 (2d Cir.

1963). In an opinion by Judge Friendly, the Second

Circuit noted that common-law authorities regarding

a wife’s recovery for loss of consortium were “con-

flicting,” id. at 265, and that there were no maritime

App. 14

cases pertaining to the issue except for two district

court decisions denying such recovery. /d. at 265-66.

Against this backdrop, the court rejected the wife’s

loss-of-consortium claim. Jd. at 267.

Loss-of-consortium damages were not definitively

recognized under general maritime law in any context

until 1974, when the Supreme Court held in Sea-

Land Services, Inc. v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573 (1974),

that a wife could recover such damages for the

wrongful death of her husband, a longshoreman

killed in state territorial waters. Six years later, in

American Export Lines, Inc. v. Alvez, 446 U.S. 274

(1980), the Court extended Gaudet to personal injury

actions, holding that “general maritime law autho-

rizes the wife of a harbor worker injured nonfatally

aboard a vessel in state territorial waters to maintain

an action for damages for the loss of her husband’s

society.” Jd. at 276 (plurality opinion); see id. at 286

(Powell, J., concurring in judgment). The plurality in

Alvez explained in its discussion of the Second Circuit

decision in Jgneri that although “the principles of

maritime law prevalent in 1963 militated against,

rather than supported, the creation of a right to

recover for loss of society,” id. at 280, Gaudet had

since provided “the conclusive decisional recognition

of a right to recover for loss of society that Igneri

found lacking.” Jd. at 280-81.

The short history of loss-of-consortium damages

in admiralty consists almost entirely of the Supreme

Court’s relatively recent decisions in Gaudet and

Alvez. Given the narrow holdings of those decisions,

App. 15

general maritime law on loss-of-consortium damages

remains an area marked by few settled principles.

Thus, unlike the Court in Townsend, which was not

asked to “change maritime law in its operation as an

admiralty court,” we cannot simply apply a pre-

existing general rule left unaltered by Congress. 129

S.Ct. at 2574 n.11.

The Court in Alvez recognized a right to recover

loss-of-consortium damages for nonfatal injuries to a

spouse in the territorial waters of the United States,

but Doyle was injured nonfatally beyond such waters,

off the coast of Grand Cayman Island. Whether

someone in the position of Doyle’s wife may recover

loss-of-consortium damages is an open question in

this circuit. Because we are confronted with an issue

of first impression, we must continue the develop-

ment of general maritime law “in the manner of a

common law court.” Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, 128

S.Ct. 2605, 2619 (2008); see Romero v. Int'l Terminal

Operating Co., 358 U.S. 354, 360-61 (1959).

In exercising this authority, we heed the policy

choices made by Congress. “Admiralty is not created

in a vacuum; legislation has always served as an

important source of both common law and admiralty

principles.” Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19,

24 (1990). Where there is no recognized claim under

general maritime law, as there was in Townsend, an

admiralty court should look to legislative enactments

governing closely related claims for policy guidance.

Id. at 27. After reviewing the relevant policy pro-

nouncements by Congress, we conclude that allowing

App. 16

recovery for loss of consortium here would give rise to

two serious disparities between general maritime law

and legislative policies. These anomalies counsel

against recognizing a right to recovery.

First, the spouses of those injured nonfatally

beyond state territorial waters would be treated

differently than the spouses of those injured fatally.

Congress enacted the Death on the High Seas Act

(“DOHSA”), 46 U.S.C. § 30301 et seq., to provide a

remedy in admiralty for wrongful deaths occurring

more than three miles from the shore of the United

States. Id. § 30302. Under DOHSA, a decedent’s

survivors may recover only for pecuniary loss; dam-

ages for loss of society are not available. Jd. § 30303.

The Supreme Court has held that DOHSA provides

the exclusive measure of damages in wrongful-death

actions arising beyond the three-mile limit. Mobil Oil

Corp. v. Higginbotham, 436 U.S. 618, 623 (1978).

Accordingly, the spouses of those injured fatally

beyond that limit have no claim to loss-of-consortium

damages. To allow recovery of such damages by the

spouses of those injured nonfatally in the same

waters would thus give rise to a significant anomaly.

Indeed, the Court confronted just such a disparity in

Alvez, and extended the holding of Gaudet to avoid it.

Five Justices agreed that “there is no apparent

reason to differentiate between fatal and nonfatal

injuries in authorizing the recovery of damages for

loss of society.” Alvez, 446 U.S. at 281 (plurality

opinion); see id. at 286 (Powell, J., concurring in

judgment) (“Since I see no rational basis for drawing

App. 17

a distinction between fatal and nonfatal injuries, I

join in the judgment of the Court.”). Alvez rejected a

disparity between fatal and nonfatal injuries within

territorial waters, and there is no reason to think

that a disparity of that kind beyond such waters is

more acceptable.

Second, if the spouses of injured nonseafarers

like Doyle could recover loss-of-consortium damages

on claims of negligence, then their rights under

general maritime law would be greater than the

rights of the spouses of injured seamen under the

Jones Act. Although the Jones Act provides an action

in negligence for injury to seamen, it does not

authorize recovery by the seaman’s spouse for loss of

consortium. See Miles, 498 U.S. at 32. It would be odd

if the relief available to the spouse of a nonseafarer

were more expansive than that which Congress has

afforded the spouse of a seaman. After all, the

principles of maritime law have always included “a

special solicitude for the welfare of seamen and their

families.” Id. at 36; see also Moragne v. States Marine

Lines, Inc., 398 U.S. 375, 387 (1970) (noting the

development under maritime law of “a special solici-

tude for the welfare of those men who undertook

to venture upon hazardous and unpredictable sea

voyages”). There is no reason to believe that Congress

meant to place the spouses of injured seamen in a

worse position than the spouses of injured non-

seafarers. Cf. Igneri, 323 F.2d at 267 (“We can think

of no reason why Congress, having ruled out a

maritime claim against the ship for loss of consortium

App. 18

by the spouse of a negligently injured seaman, would

wish the courts to construct one for the spouse of a

negligently injured stevedore.”).

Given the value of uniformity recognized in

Miles, 498 U.S. at 33, we agree with the Fifth and

Ninth Circuits that general maritime law does not

allow recovery of loss-of-consortium damages by the

spouses of nonseafarers negligently injured beyond

the territorial waters of the United States. See Chan

v. Soc’y Expeditions, Inc., 39 F.3d 1398, 1408 (9th Cir.

1994); Nichols v. Petroleum Helicopters, Inc., 17 F.3d

119, 122-23 (5th Cir. 1994). It may be argued in reply

that this holding creates an anomaly of its own.

Under the rule we establish here, Anne Doyle may

not recover loss-of-consortium damages, because her

husband was negligently injured in waters beyond

our nation’s territorial sea. But under the rule set

forth in Alvez (assuming that rule is not limited to

the wives of harbor workers), she would have been

able to recover for loss of consortium if the accident

had occurred within territorial waters. This kind of

disparity, however, already exists in maritime law:

Loss-of-consortium damages are available under

Gaudet when a wrongful death occurs in territorial

waters, but not under Higginbotham and DOHSA

when the death occurs on the “high seas.” See

Higginbotham, 436 U.S. at 624 & n.20. We therefore

conclude that our holding best coincides with the con-

gressional policies reflected in DOHSA and the Jones

App. 19

Act, as well as the Supreme Court’s development of

general maritime law.

* * *

For these reasons, the judgment of the district

court is affirmed in part and reversed in part.

App. 20

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEBRASKA

(Filed Jun. 10, 2008)

DANIEL DOYLE and )

ANNE DOYLE, ) 8:05CV21

Plaintiffs, FINDINGS OF FACT

re , AND CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW

LELAND GRASKE,

)

Defendant.

This matter is before the court for resolution

after a trial to the court from March 31, 2008 to April

8, 2008. This is an action in admiralty for damages

for personal injuries in connection with a boating

accident that occurred in Grand Cayman Island on

October 31, 2003. Plaintiffs allege negligence by

defendant Leland Graske in the operation of the boat.

This is a trial to the court.

I. Findings of Fact

A. The Accident

The evidence adduced at trial establishes the fol-

lowing. The Doyle and Graske families are longtime

friends. In October of 2003, Daniel Doyle and his

wife, Anne, visited Graske and his wife, Leslie, at the

Graske’s condominium in the Cayman Islands.

Leland Graske owns a 14-foot Caribe inflatable

boat for recreational purposes in the Cayman Islands.

See Trial Exhibit (“Tr. Ex.”) 1, replica drawing of a

App. 21

Caribe 14-foot boat; Tr. Exs. 2-15, photographs of

boat. The boat has seating for six people and is rated

for a float capacity of six adults. Tr. Ex. 2-15, 205,

photographs of boat; Tr. Ex. 18, Caribe owner’s

manual, and testimony of Leland Graske. In the boat,

there is forward-facing seating for two aft, two mid-

ship, and rear-facing seating for two on a cushion in

the bow. Id. The bow cushion seating is approxi-

mately four to five inches below the top of the inflated

sides (gunnel) of the boat.’ Tr. Ex. 221, photograph.

The aft and midship seats are angled down from front

to aft. Tr. Exs. 209, 211, photographs. The bow seat is

flat. Tr. Ex. 221, photograph. All the seats measured

from the top of the seat cushion are approximately

16" above the deck (the bow seat being 13.5"). Tr. Exs.

211, 216, photographs. The aft seat has a back rest.

Tr. Ex. 219, photograph. The midship seat has a back

rest for the starboard side only. Tr. Ex. 220, photo-

graph. The bow seat has no back rest, but it does

have a back stop of approximately 5 inches. Tr. Ex.

221, photograph. There are gunnel hand-hold straps

(hand straps) for the midship and bow passengers.

Tr. Exs. 206, 289, photographs. The boat was

equipped with an outboard 70-horsepower two-cycle

engine manufactured by Yamaha. Tr. Ex. 207. A

70-horsepower engine is the maximum horsepower

engine approved for use on the craft. Tr. Ex. 18,

Caribe owner’s manual at 4.

' A gunnel is the outer side or hull of the boat. In this case

the tube is the gunnel. See Testimony of Herbert Angell.

App. 22

The evidence adduced at trial shows that the

boat had been repaired by a local mechanic employed

by Kirk Marine a few days before the accident that is

the subject of this action. Leland Graske testified that

the steering mechanism had been frozen. In the

repair, Kirk Marine reported that its mechanic had

disassembled and lubricated the steering mechanism.

The engine had been used for approximately two

hours in the time between the repair and the acci-

dent. During those two hours the engine was used at

idle or low rpms to travel close to shore.

Leland Graske testified that he has been a boat

owner and operator for most of his adult life. Doyle

had limited experience as a boat owner and operator.

He owned a boat for use on the Missouri River for

several seasons and he also owned a small fishing

boat that he used infrequently. Graske also testified

that he believes that Daniel Doyle is an above-

average risk-taker. He would rate Doyle’s risk-taking

as 8 on a scale of 1-10, ten being the highest.

The testimony at trial establishes that on

October 31, 2004, at approximately 10:30 a.m., Daniel

Doyle, Leland Graske and Graske’s friend, Robert

(Bobby) Van Hook went fishing in Graske’s Caribe

inflatable boat. Graske testified that he swam to the

boat’s mooring and brought the boat back to shore,

where Doyle and Van Hook boarded the boat with a

cooler, a fishing tackle box, and fishing rods. No one

was wearing a life jacket. There is considerable

disagreement in the testimony with regard to the

seating of the passengers in the boat.

App. 23

Doyle testified that he has little or no recollection

of the event. Leland Graske testified that he was

driving the boat and was standing or sitting behind

the midship starboard side steering panel, which

rises above the boat’s gunnel level and has a wind

screen.” Graske testified that he recalls Van Hook

sitting in the midship starboard side seat holding a

diagonal hand strap located on the inside of the port

inflatable tube. Graske consistently maintains that

Daniel Doyle was seated on the starboard inflated

tube, holding at least one hand strap and with his

feet between the midship seat and the bow cushion

seat. He testified that he does not believe Doyle

changed position until he was ejected from the boat.

Bobby Van Hook testified that he was seated on

the port side of the midship seat, the fishing equip-

ment was on the starboard side and the tackle box

and cooler were on the deck in front of the midship

seat. He stated that the fishing rods were propped

between the bow and the midship seating area,

slanting upward toward the stern, on the starboard

side. (Tr. Ex. 1). He testified that Graske was seated,

not standing, behind the steering wheel. Van Hook

also testified that he believes Doyle was initially seated

on the port side inflated tube, toward the bow, adja-

cent to or above the bow seat. Van Hook testified that

as the boat accelerated, Doyle moved to a fully-seated

* Starboard is the right side of the boat when facing forward

to the bow of the boat and port is the left side of the boat. See

Testimony of Herbert Angell.

App. 24

position in the bow seat on the port side of the seat. It

was from this position that the plaintiff was ejected

from the boat. He does not recall Doyle holding any

hand straps.

Graske testified that after the occupants were on

board, he steered the boat, at idle speed, through the

no-wake zone. He testified that he announced to the

passengers that the boat was about to accelerate by

saying words to the effect “Here we go.” He then

increased speed to put the boat on plane.’ The boat

came on plane and, as the defendant was adjusting

the trim, the steering linkage disengaged. The motor

swung violently clockwise causing the boat to turn

hard to the port side.

Doyle was ejected from the boat over the star-

board side. The underside of the boat struck him on

the right side of his back and the back of his head.

Graske testified that he immediately put the boat in

neutral or killed the motor. He and Van Hook located

Doyle in the water. Graske was able to steer the boat

by holding the engine’s drag link in one hand and the

throttle in the other. Doyle was hurt, but coherent.

He apparently did not lose consciousness, nor was he

bleeding. Graske and Van Hook brought Doyle back

to shore. Once on shore, they helped him walk to the

* “On plane” means that the boat is going fast enough that

the hull of the boat is skimming along the top of the water

rather than displacing the water. See Testimony of Herbert

Angell.

App. 25

edge of the beach. They called an ambulance which

took him to the Cayman Islands Health Services

Authority Hospital in Georgetown, Grand Cayman

(“Georgetown Hospital”).

B. The Medical Evidence

At Georgetown Hospital, the emergency room

staff diagnosed Doyle with fractures of multiple right

posterior ribs, a right flail chest,‘ a right hemothorax,

a right pnuemothorax, right posterior chest surgical

emphysema, and multiple minor lacerations to his

posterior skull, right arm and right shoulder. See

Tr. Ex. 37, Georgetown Hospital medical records at 1-

2, 36. On admission, Doyle had no adverse neurologic

signs or symptoms. /d. at 2, 36-37.

Doyle was treated with insertion of a chest tube

and transferred to intensive care. Jd. at 3-5. On the

third day of his hospital stay, November 2, 2003, at

4:15 p.m., Georgetown hospital staff witnessed a

cardiopulmonary arrest. Jd. at 49. Cardiopulmonary

resuscitation was initiated immediately and the code

team arrived within five minutes. /d. Doyle was

intubated and was placed on a ventilator by 4:30 P.M.

Id. Thereafter, the plaintiff was sedated, medically

paralyzed and kept on a ventilator. Jd. at 27-29. On

November 4, 2003, a chest x-ray showed bilateral

changes consistent with acute respiratory distress

* A flail chest describes a chest cavity in which the ribs do

not provide enough rigid support for effective inspiration.

App. 26

syndrome. /d. at 32-33. Later that day, Doyle was

transported by air to the United States for treatment.

Id. at 34-35. Originally, Doyle was to have been trans-

ferred directly to University of Nebraska Medical

Center (“UNMC’”) in Omaha, Nebraska, but, because

the respirator in the air ambulance was malfunc-

tioning, Doyle was instead transported, along with

Georgetown Hospital’s ventilator, to Memorial

Regional Hospital in Hollywood, Florida (“Hollywood

Hospital”). Jd. at 35; Tr. Ex. 38, Hollywood Hospital

medical records.

Doyle was admitted in critical condition to the

Hollywood Hospital at 2:37 a.m. on November 5,

2003. Tr. Ex. 38, Hollywood Hospital records at 60.

On admission, his injuries were noted to be “a flail

chest involving the right hemithorax with multi rib

fractures, essentially involving the entire right hemi-

thorax.” Id. at 24. He was diagnosed with fractures of

all eleven right posterior ribs and his right scapula.*

* A hemithorax is one side of the thorax, which is “(t]he

upper part of the trunk between the neck and the abdomen; it is

formed by the 12 thoracic vertebrae, the 12 pairs of ribs, the

sternum, and the muscles and fasciae attached to these; below, it

is separated from the abdomen by the diaphragm; it contains the

chief organs of the circulatory and respiratory systems.” Sted-

man’s Medical Dictionary (27th ed. 1994) (available on Westlaw

at Stedmans 177000 & 408370).

* The scapula is “[a] large triangular flattened bone lying

over the ribs, posteriorly on either side, articulating laterally

with the clavicle at the acromioclavicular joint and the humerus

at the glenohumeral joint. It forms a functional articulation

with the chest wall, the scapulothoracic articulation.” Stedman’s

(Continued on following page)

App. 27

Id. at 25-27. Diagnostic tests also showed underlying

pleural effusion and a minimal anterior pnuemo-

thorax.’ Jd. at 28. On November 7, a tracheostomy

was performed to provide a permanent airway for his

continued ventilation.” Jd. at 3, 62. A gastrostomy

feeding tube (“G-tube”) was also surgically placed

that day. Jd. at 3. Doyle later developed respiratory

insufficiency and was transported to UNMC on

November 14, 2003. /d.

Doyle was admitted to UNMC at 9:46 p.m. on

November 14, 2003. Tr. Ex. 39, UNMC records at 37.

Doyle’s attending physician at UNMC was Dr. Joseph

C. Stothert, M.D., Ph.D., the Medical Director for

Trauma at UNMC, a surgeon and a Ph.D. Pulmonary

Physiologist. Tr. Ex. 79, Stothert curriculum vitae;

Tr. Ex. 39, UNMC records at 6. He was discharged on

November 19, 2003. Tr. Ex. 39, UNMC records at 38.

It was noted in Doyle’s discharge summary that he

had been admitted on a ventilator, had a feeding tube

Medical Dictionary (27th ed. 1994) (available on Westlaw at

Stedmans 364860).

" A pleural effusion is increased fluid in the plural space.

Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (27th ed. 1994) (available on

Westlaw at Stedmans 125240). The pleura is the serous mem-

brane enveloping the lungs and lining the walls of the pleural

cavity. Id. at 321290. A pnuemothorax is the presence of free air

or gas in the pleural cavity. Jd. at 323250. External compression

of the lung by a pneumothorax or pleural effusion can lead to a

pulmonary collapse. Id. at 85710.

* Atracheostomy is an operation to make an opening in the

trachea. Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (27th ed. 1994) (available

on Westlaw at Stedmans 414210).

App. 28

in place, and had suffered a closed head injury that

left him confused and agitated at times. Jd. at 37.

During his hospitalization, Doyle was weaned from

the ventilator and his condition improved to allow

him to eat some regular food. Jd. At the time of his

discharge, he was able to speak well and to recognize

family and friends. Jd. Doyle received occupational

and physical therapy consultations for ambulation,

strength, and to learn how to perform the activities of

daily living. Jd. He was assessed for inpatient reha-

bilitation by a physical medicine and rehabilitation

specialist, Dr. Jason Schave. Jd. at 40. Dr. Schave

diagnosed Doyle with anoxic encephalopathy with

coordination difficulties and confusion, impaired ac-

tivities of daily living and mobility, dysphagia,” and

agitated behavior. Jd. Doyle was referred to Metho-

dist Hospital Acute Rehabilitation Center (“Methodist

Acute Rehab”) for inpatient rehabilitation. /d. at 37.

Doyle underwent a long course of physical and

neurological rehabilitation. Tr. Ex. 40, Methodist

Acute Rehab medical records at 14. He was hos-

pitalized at Methodist Acute Rehab from November

19, 2003, to December 5, 2003, for medical care and

occupational and physical therapy as part of a com-

prehensive brain injury rehabilitation program. /d.

Doyle’s treating physician there was Dr. Jude Cook,

M.D., an internist and physical medicine and

* Dysphagia is difficulty swallowing. Stedman’s Medical

Dictionary (27th ed. 1994) (available on Westlaw at Stedmans

122190).

App. 29

rehabilitation specialist (also referred to as a physia-

trist). Jd. at 10; Tr. Ex. 107, Cook curriculum vitae.

At the time of his admission, Doyle had right rib

fractures, a right clavicle fracture, a right scapular

fracture, a G-tube placed, a tracheostomy, he was

agitated and had symptoms of dysphagia. Tr. Ex. 104,

Trial Deposition of Jude Cook, M.D. (“Cook Dep.”) at

33. Dr. Cook diagnosed traumatic brain injury and

anoxic encephalopathy.” Id. at 34. A neurological

examination revealed a brain injury rated level IV on

the Rancho Los Amigos scale, a scale that helps

medical professionals determine a person’s level of

impairment secondary to brain injury.” Jd. at 6. A

person with a Rancho level IV brain injury demon-

strates poor memory, insight and judgment, lack of

awareness of his physical ailments and environment

and agitation. Jd. at 11. Dr. Cook did not diagnose

Doyle with depression, but testified that people in a

Rancho level IV of brain injury often lack the aware-

ness of their environment or personal health that

would lead them to be depressed. Jd. at 11. Dr. Cook

also found that Doyle’s cerebellar functioning, which

relates to fine motor control and coordination, was

' Encephalopathy is any disorder of the brain. Stedman's

Medical Dictionary (27th ed. 1994) (available on Westlaw at

Stedmans 129640). Anoxia is absence or almost complete ab-

sence of oxygen from inspired gases, arterial blood, or tissues.

Id. at 24700.

‘' See also Rancho Los Amigos National Rehabilitation

Center website (“Rancho Los Amigos website”), http//www.rancho.

org/patient_education/cognitive_levels.pdf

App. 30

slow but intact. Jd. at 13. Dr. Cook established goals

of brain injury recovery, education of the patient and

his family regarding brain injury issues, improving

Doyle’s mobility to a standby assist level, improving

his activities of daily living and his swallowing to

an ultimate goal of removal of his tracheostomy.

Id. at 14-15.

During the term of the hospitalization, Doyle’s

rib fractures resolved, his ability to swallow im-

proved, and his tracheostomy was removed. Tr. Ex.

40, Methodist Acute Rehab medical records at 14. Dr.

Cook’s discharge summary notes that during the

hospitalization Doyle’s cognition slowly improved

from a Rancho level IV to a near Rancho level VI at

the time of his discharge.” Jd. Significantly however,

Doyle still had a gastronomy tube, mild agitation and

reactive depression secondary to his head injury.

Id. at 13.

Doyle was followed on an outpatient basis by Dr.

Cook. Tr. Ex. 104, Cook Dep. at 25. In May 2004, Dr.

Cook reported slow improvement. Jd. Cook examined

Doyle again in November 2004, and noted that test

results were consistent with a moderate to severe

“ Rancho level VI is labeled “Confused-Appropriate.” At

that level, “a patient shows goal-directed behavior, but relies on

cueing for direction. He can relearn old skills such as activities

of daily living, but memory problems interfere with new learn-

ing. He has a beginning awareness of self and others.” See

Rancho Los Amigos website, http//www.rancho.org/research_pted.

htm

App. 31

brain injury. Cook Dep. at 29. When Doyle was last

seen by Dr. Cook in May 2006, he was neurologically

the same as he had been in the previous examination,

but continued to be depressed. Jd. at 42. Based on Dr.

Cook’s examination of Daniel Doyle, Doyle’s history

and Dr. Cook’s collaborative consultations with other

physicians and health providers, Dr. Cook testified

that he believed to a reasonable degree of medical

certainty that Daniel Doyle is permanently disabled

and unemployable. Jd. at 30-31.

After his release from Methodist Acute Rehab,

Doyle was referred to Dr. Richard L. Bowles, Psy.D., a

rehabilitation neuropsychologist, for testing to deter-

mine the extent of impairment from the brain injury.

Id. at 18-19; Tr. Ex. 42, Neuropsychological Evalua-

tion dated March 1, 2004 (“Bowles first report”) at 1;

Tr. Ex. 67, Deposition of Richard L. Bowles, Psy.D.,

(“Bowles Dep.”) at 5. Dr. Bowles diagnosed dementia

secondary to acquired brain injury and depressive

reaction by history. Tr. Exs. 42, Bowles first report at

7; 104, Cook Dep. at 19; Bowles Dep. at 38. Dr.

Bowles reported considerable impairment in numerous

cognitive areas including attention/concentration,

processing speed, memory and executive functioning

and problem solving. Tr. Ex. 104, Cook Dep. at 23;

Tr. Ex. 42, Bowles first report at 6. Test results

indicated a moderately severe degree of overall

impairment. Tr. Ex. 42, Bowles 2004 Report at 7.

Bowles recommended 24-hour supervision. Jd. At the

time of the first exam, Dr. Bowles expected Doyle to

recover further over the following several months to a

App. 32

year. Id. Dr. Bowles reexamined Doyle in July 2004.

Tr. Ex. 43, Neuropsychological Evaluation dated

March 1, 2004 (“Bowles second report”) at 2. The

second neuropsychological examination showed a

moderate to severe brain injury. Jd. at 6. Test results

were generally consistent with those obtained in the

earlier testing, but there were significant declines in

some areas. Id. at 4, 6. Doyle continued to exhibit

deficits in short term memory, basic and complex

attention as well as decreased vigilance and slowed

processing of information. Jd. at 6. Given Doyle’s rela-

tive lack of progress, Dr. Bowles was concerned about

the prognosis for recovery of cognitive function. /d.

Doyle’s last neuropsychological evaluation was

performed by Dr. Bowles in 2005. Tr. Ex. 44, Neuro-

psychological Evaluation dated June 23, 2005

(“Bowles third report”) at 2. Doyle’s scores on various

tests reflected little change from his 2004 testing. Jd.

at 7. Dr. Bowles found Doyle’s status to be incom-

patible with the ability to operate a motor vehicle

safely. Jd. Dr. Bowles testified by deposition that

Doyle’s physical condition is at its maximum improve-

ment. Tr. Ex. 67, Bowles Dep. at 50-52. Dr. Bowles

stated that Doyle’s psychological condition may be

improved with different therapies, but it too is static.

Id.

At present, the record shows that, although he is

within the average range of global intellectual func-

tioning, Doyle has deficits in verbal and visual short-

term memory, concentration and complex attention,

processing word speed and categorical fluency as well

App. 33

as diminished motor speed and coordination in both

hands. Tr. Ex. 44, Bowles third report at 7. He has

little motivation, questionable judgment and lacks

awareness of safety. Id. Doyle continues to need

ongoing supervision as a result of the questionable

reliability of his judgment and his lack of awareness

of safety-related issues. /d. His signs and symptoms

are consistent with a moderate to severe brain injury.

Id. Dr. Bowles also stated that Doyle’s status was not

compatible with the ability to operate a motor vehicle

safely. Id. Dr. Bowles reports that he expects Doyle’s

cognitive status to remain stable into the future,

barring a stroke or other brain injury. Jd. at 7.

On his treating physician’s recommendation,

Doyle received outpatient therapeutic services from

Quality Living, Inc., in Omaha from 8/2004 to 3/2005.

Quality Living records show that he did not make

much progress there with the therapy. Tr. Ex. 41,

Quality Living, Inc.’s medical records at 21. Other

records show that Doyle’s cognitive level improved

from a Rancho level IV (confused and agitated)

to a level VI (confused and appropriate). Tr. Ex. 46,

Giiter records at 7; see also Rancho Los Amigos web-

site, http//www.rancho.org/patient_education/cognitive_

levels.pdf."*

"’ Rancho level VII is theoretically the highest level a

thinking-impaired patient can achieve short of full recovery. See

Rancho Los Amigos website, http//www/rancho.org.

App. 34

At the present time, Doyle is being treated by his

family physician, an internist, Dr. Michael F. Giiter.

Tr. Ex. 46, Giiter medical records. Dr. Giiter’s notes

indicate that Doyle has diagnoses of reactive depres-

sion and decreased mental status secondary to brain

injury. Jd. at 49. Doyle is also being treated by a

psychiatrist, Dr. Rodney L. Nitcher, D.O., Tr. Ex. 45,

Nitcher medical records. Dr. Nitcher has expressed

the opinion that Doyle’s psychiatric condition is

chronic and that Doyle needs 24-hour supervision and

cannot live alone. Tr. Ex. 288, Allison questionnaires

at 3; Tr. Ex. 24, Allison Supplemental Life Care

Plan at 2.

All of Doyle’s treating physicians agree that he is

permanently and totally disabled. Dr. Cook testified

to his opinion that Doyle suffered a traumatic brain

injury from his boating accident as well as an anoxic

encephalopathy due to subsequent events. Tr. Ex.

104, Cook Dep. at 35. All of the doctors agree that his

condition relates to an injury sustained as a result of

the boating accident described above. See Tr. Ex. 78,

Report of Dr. Joseph C. Stothert at 1 (noting “the

original injury on October 31, 2003 caused a deterio-

ration in Mr. Doyle’s respiratory status leading to an

anoxic event” and “the injury to his chest and sub-

sequent events caused the brain injury that Mr. Doyle

currently suffers from”). The physicians further agree

that it is unlikely Doyle sustained the closed head

injury at the time of accident, but is more likely that

he had an anoxic hypoxic event during his hospital

treatment for the injuries he sustained during the

App. 35

boating accident.“ Tr. Ex. 104, Cook Dep. at 34. No

doctor is of the opinion that the anoxic hypoxic event

is unrelated to the boating accident.

C. Duty of Care

At trial, the plaintiffs presented the testimony of

Herbert Charles Angell, Nebraska State Boating Law

Administrator, with respect to the duty or standard of

care for the operator of a boat. See also Tr. Ex. 58,

Herbert Angell curriculum vitae. Angell testified that

he has investigated more than a thousand boating

accidents. He reviewed several boating safety publica-

tions. See Tr. Ex. 89, United States Coast Guard

(“USCG’”) inland rules for navigation; Tr. Ex. 92, 2007

Nebraska boating guide. He stated that his review of

the evidence in this case led him to conclude that

Doyle had been seated on the top of the tube, or

gunnel, on the starboard side toward the bow. He

testified that, in his opinion, Graske should not have

allowed Doyle to sit on the starboard right gunnel or

tube and that to have done so violated safe boating

practices. He testified that even if Doyle had been

seated in the bow seating area at the front of the

boat, facing backward, Graske’s operation of the boat

“ Anoxia is absence or almost complete absence of oxygen

from inspired gases, arterial blood, or tissues. It is to be

differentiated from hypoxia, which is a decrease below normal

levels of oxygen in inspired gases, arterial blood, or tissue, short

of anoxia. Stedman’s Medical Dictionary (27th ed. 2000) at [on

Westlaw] Stedmans 24700 & 196860

App. 36

would have been unsafe and “negligent.” He testified,

assuming that Van Hook’s version of events were

true, that Doyle was at first seated on the tube, but

sometime in the period of time between the boat’s

proceeding at no-wake speed and coming up on plane,

Doyle assumed a position on the bow seat and was

told by both Van Hook and Graske to hold on, but did

not do so, it would have been an unsafe boating prac-

tice for Graske to proceed. Angell also testified that at

planing speed the only safe seating for anyone other

than the operator would be in the middle seat facing

forward. He stated that the distance between the

cushioned area and the top of the tube would not

provide an adequate backrest to allow safe seating in

the bow cushion seating area.

Michael Sampsel, a mechanical and marine engi-

neer, also testified as an expert witness on behalf of

the plaintiffs. He testified that based on the evidence

he had reviewed, the hull planing speed of a boat

similar to Graske’s is estimated to be less than 30

MPH. He further testified that the cushion on the

bow of the boat — on which Van Hook claims Daniel

Doyle was seated — is not designed to be a seat when

the boat is “underway,” or going faster than a fast

idle.

Paul J. Larson, a marine accident investigator,

marine surveyor, consultant and retired Commander

in the USCG, testified that he also investigated

the accident. Tr. Ex. 54, Larson curriculum vitae.

He reviewed the deposition testimony in this case as

well as various boating safety regulations, guides and

App. 37

statistics. See Tr. Ex. 87, USCG requirements for

recreational boats; Tr. Ex. 88, USCG boating statis-

tics; Tr. Ex. 93, California Boating Law; Tr. Ex. 94,

Federal Safety Tips. Based on his knowledge and

investigation of this and numerous other “fall over-

board” type accidents, he testified that, in his opinion,

it was “negligent” for Graske to have allowed Doyle to

sit on the tube of the boat. He testified that the

operator of a boat is responsible for all aspects of safe

operation of the vessel. In his opinion, a sudden me-

chanical failure caused the accident, but the unsafe

boating by Graske in allowing Doyle to remain seated

on the tube while the boat was underway was the

cause of Doyle’s fall overboard. Also, he testified that

a shipowner has a nondelegable duty to maintain a

ship in a seaworthy condition. Larson also testified

that if a passenger were sitting on the tube of the

boat, holding the hand straps would not have pre-

vented ejection from the boat. He further testified

that, even if the testimony of Bobby Van Hook were

credited and Doyle moved from the tube to the bow

cushion seat after the vessel was underway and was

warned to hold a hand strap, but did not, Graske’s

operation of the boat would have been in violation of

safe boating practices. Larson also stated that the

bow cushion area would not have been a safe seat

while the boat was underway at planing speeds.

The defendant’s expert, Robert MacNeill, a naval

architect, human factors engineer and Coast Guard

Licensed Captain, also testified at the trial. Tr. Ex.

261, Robert MacNeill curriculum vitae. He testified

App. 38

that he has investigated or reviewed investigations of

hundreds of boating accidents in connection with

consulting provided to the Coast Guard with respect

to the implementation of the federal boat safety act.

He further stated that in preparation for testimony in

this case he physically inspected and operated Leland

Graske’s inflatable boat. Tr. Ex. 202-227, photographs

of boat, Tr. Ex. 260, Supplemental Report of Robert

MacNeill (received for limited purpose of measure-

ments). He testified that, in his opinion, there are

occasions when it would be safe to allow a passenger

to sit on the tube of an inflatable boat. With respect to

a duty of pre-trip inspection by a boat operator, he

stated that it would be sufficient for the operator to

make sure that the boat was operational. He also

testified that, in his opinion, any passenger who was

seated in the front of the boat and was not holding on

to a hand strap would have been thrown out of the

boat in a sudden turn. He also testified that he knew

of no rules, regulations, or standards that would

require a boat operator to insist that a passenger hold

a handhold.

D. Damages

Daniel Doyle’s wife, Anne, and his children also

testified at the trial. They testified with respect to

Doyle’s abilities and disabilities and to differences in

his personality since the accident. Anne Doyle also

testified to the differences to her life and to the

Doyles’ marriage since the accident.

App. 39

The parties have stipulated that the Doyles have

incurred medical bills to date in the amount of

$252,517. Filing No. 295, Ex. A, Stipulation, Tr. Ex.

22, Summary of Medical Bills. The evidence shows

that prior to the accident, Daniel Doyle was employed

as a mechanical engineer earning between $52,692

and $57,301 per year for the years 1999 to 2002.

Tr. Exs. 81-85, Income Tax Returns, 1999-2003. He

would have been expected to continue working until

he reached age 66, his Social Security full retirement

age. Tr. Ex. 255, John Scarborough Supplemental

Economic Loss Analysis at 2. There is no evidence

that he would have been inclined to retire any earlier.

Both parties submitted evidence on the cost of

providing medical and supportive care to Doyle in the

future. According to life expectancy tables, Doyle

would be expected to live to age 79. Tr. Ex. 80, Stan-

dard Ordinary Mortality Table; Tr. Ex. 25, Report of

Kent Jayne at 8. The plaintiffs’ expert, Kathie

Allison, a certified life care planner, presented three

alternative life care plan scenarios. Tr. Ex. 23, Allison

Life Care Plan; Tr. Ex. 24, Supplement to Life Care

Plan. Option I would provide additional assistance for

Doyle to remain in his home, such as help with home

maintenance and cleaning, as well as a household

attendant for 111.6 hours per week, and would cost

$66,811 to $67,051 annually, in today’s dollars. Tr. Ex.

23 at 10; 24 at 4. Option II would provide for live-in

care for Doyle and would cost between $102,500 and

$109,500 annually, at the rate for care of $280 to $300

per day. Id. Option III would provide supportive

App. 40

living at a facility designed for brain-injured people,

such as Quality Living, Inc., and would cost $82,125

annually. Jd. Under each option, Ms. Allison’s life care

plan would also include additional sums for physi-

cians’ visits, medication and supplies, physical and

occupational therapy, equipment, and mileage, at an

approximate cost of between $2,434 and $3,049 per

year. Id. at 4. Ms. Allison estimates the lifetime cost

for Doyle’s care under Option I would be $1,830,876

to $1,866,462; under Option II would be $2,765,834 to

$2,978,611; and under Option III would be $2,232,140

to $2,261,386 in today’s dollars. Jd.

William H. Burke, Ph.D., a certified rehabilita-

tion counselor and Board-certified disability analyst

and rehabilitation consultant, testified on behalf of

the defendant. Tr. Ex. 258, William Burke, Ph.D.

curriculum vitae. He stated that he had reviewed

Doyle’s medical records, physicians’ recommenda-

tions, Ms. Allison’s life care plan and the depositions

and testimony in this case. He concluded that Daniel

Doyle has a combination of cognitive and higher

cognitive deficits that interfere with his ability to live

independently. He agreed that Doyle needs someone

available for round-the-clock care. He also presented

several options for Doyle’s continued care. Tr. Ex. 257.

Each included costs for medical care, equipment and

medication.

Dr. Burke’s first option for Doyle’s supportive

care is based on the assumption that Mrs. Doyle

would continue to care for Daniel Doyle in his home

and that she preferred to do so. Jd. at 13. Dr. Burke

App. 41

testified that this option contemplates the utilization

of a community living coach for 40 hours per week to

enable Doyle to perform work-type activities in the

community. Dr. Burke estimated that the community

living coach services could be provided for $23,712

per year. Id. at 15.

Option II assumes that Mrs. Doyle would not be

available and would provide Doyle with a live-in

personal care attendant and homemaker along with

household production assistance and case manage-

ment to replace those services provided by his wife.

Id. Dr. Burke estimated that the services of a live-in

personal care attendant could be obtained for

approximately $50,219 per year, including room and

board. Id. at 16.

Option III provides for placement of Doyle in an

assisted-living facility. Dr. Burke estimated that this

option would cost between $28,416 and $49,320 per

year. Dr. Burke’s calculations do not include any

compensation for Mrs. Doyle or other family members

in caring for Doyle. Dr. Burke testified that he

envisioned the assisted-living option to be utilized

when Doyle was elderly.

The plaintiffs’ economic expert witness, Kent

Jayne, M.A., M.B.A., a vocational Economic Con-

sultant and Rehabilitation economics _ specialist,

calculated the value of Doyle’s lost earnings as of July

2007 to be $152,826. See Tr. Ex. 25, Report of Kent

Jayne at 8; Tr. Ex. 61, Kent Jayne curriculum vitae.

He calculated that the present value of Doyle’s

App. 42

diminished earning capacity from July 1, 2007 to his

retirement age of 66 is $817,112. Jd. The defendant’s

economic expert, John Scarbrough, Ph.D., calculated

Doyle’s lost future wages according to a worklife

expectancy of 12.6 years from the age of 49, to

account for the likelihood that Doyle would not live to

the age of 66, or would have been out of the workforce

at times. Tr. Ex. 255, Scarbrough Supplemental

Report at 4. He also factored the projected cost of

health insurance and retirement benefits into his

future earnings analysis and also calculated the

present value of Doyle’s lost earnings before and after

a deduction of Doyle’s Social Security disability

benefits. Jd. Dr. Scarbrough’s analysis resulted in a

total net economic loss for past and future wages in

the amount of $886,696 (present value), if disability

payments were deducted, and of $1,059,785, without

the deduction of disability payments.

Dr. Scarbrough also analyzed the future cost of

medical care and supported living for Doyle and

calculated present value under both Ms. Allison’s Life

Care Plan and the plan proposed by Dr. Burke.

Tr. Ex. 255, Scarbrough Supplemental Report at 4.

According to Dr. Scarbrough’s analysis, the present

value of the future costs of Doyle’s care under Ms.

Allison’s Option I (household attendant) would be

$1,580,750. Id. at 21, Table A.2 for Option I. The

present value of the future costs of Doyle’s care under

Ms. Allison’s Option II (live in care) would be

$2,449,476. Id. at 22, Table A.2 for Option II. The

present value of the future costs of Doyle’s care under

App. 43

Ms. Allison’s Option III (supported living) would be

$1,919,934. Id. at 23, Table A.2 for Option III. Under

the scenarios presented by defendant’s expert, Dr.

Burke, the present value of the future costs of Doyle’s

care under Option I (wife available) would be

$656,762. Id. at 30, Table A.4 for Option I. The

present value of the future costs of Doyle’s care under

Option IT (wife not available — home care) would be

$1,285,272. Id. at 31, Table A.4 for Option II. The

present value of the future costs of Doyle’s care under

Option III (wife not available — facility care) would be

$930,691. Jd. at 32, Table A.4 for Option III.

Il. Conclusions of Law

A. Law

This action arises under the admiralty and

maritime jurisdiction of this court pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1333. General maritime law governs a tort

claim when conditions of location and connection to

maritime activity are satisfied. Sisson v. Ruby, 497

U.S. 358, 369 (1990). The general tort concepts of

negligence and proximate cause apply in admiralty

and maritime cases. Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Stokes

Oil Co., 863 F.2d 1250, 1255 (6th Cir. 1988). In tort

actions, courts look to the Restatement (Second) of

Torts as a source of general common law principles to

determine general maritime law. See Wells v. Liddy,

186 F.3d 505, 525 (4th Cir. 1999); Wallis v. Princess

Cruises, Inc., 306 F.3d 827, 841 (9th Cir. 2002).

App. 44

In order to succeed on a claim of negligence

under maritime law, a plaintiff must establish all

elements of a negligence cause of action in admiralty,

which are essentially the same as land-based negli-

gence under the common law: 1) the existence of a

duty of care owed by the defendant to the plaintiff;

2) the breach of that duty of care; 3) a causal connec-

tion between the offending conduct and the resulting

injury, which is called “proximate cause”; and 4) actual

loss, injury or damage suffered by the plaintiff. Pearce

v. United States, 261 F.3d 643, 647-48 (6th Cir. 2001);

Hartley v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 118

Fed. Appx. 914, 919 (6th Cir. 2004). The duty of care

can be derived from “duly enacted laws, regulations,

and rules; ... custom ... or ... the dictates of

reasonableness and prudence.” Galentine v. Estate of

Stekervetz, 273 F. Supp. 2d 538, 544 (D. Del. 2003).

As a general rule, a shipowner owes to a person

lawfully aboard the vessel “the duty of exercising

ordinary care, which is held to mean reasonable care

under the circumstances of each case.” Urian uv.

Milstead, 473 F.2d 948, 951 (8th Cir. 1973); Kermarec

v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358 U.S. 625,

632 (1959). Under that standard, the degree of care

required must be in proportion to the apparent risk.

Muratore v. M/S Scotia Prince, 845 F.2d 347, 353 (1st

Cir. 1988). In other words, under certain situations,

reasonable care may be a very high degree of care and

in another situation it may be less. Smith v. Southern

Gulf Marine Co. No. 2, Inc., 791 F.2d 416, 421 (5th

Cir. 1986). The “extent to which the circumstances

App. 45

surrounding maritime travel are different from those

encountered in daily life and involve more danger to a

passenger, will determine how high a degree of care is

reasonable in each case.” Mendelson v. Delaware

River & Bay Authority, 112 F. Supp. 2d 386 (D. Del.

2000).

Admiralty law also adheres to principles of

comparative fault. United States v. Reliable Transfer

Co., 421 U.S. 397, 409 (1975); McDermott, Inc. v.

AmClyde, 511 U.S. 202, 221 (1994). Accordingly,

proportional division of liability applies in admiralty

cases. See, e.g., Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Stokes Oil

Co., Inc., 863 F.2d 1250, 1255 (6th Cir. 1988) (“Dam-

ages in admiralty cases are generally allocated among

tortfeasors based on comparative fault.”). Under the

maritime rule, the plaintiff’s comparative negligence

mitigates his damages. Carey v. Bahama Cruise

Lines, 864 F.2d 201, 208 (1st Cir. 1988).

Admiralty law imposes joint and several liability

on tortfeasors. Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale

Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256, 273 n.30 (1979)

(stating that “the general rule is that a person whose

negligence is a substantial factor in the plaintiff’s

indivisible injury is entirely liable even if other

factors concurred in causing the injury”). Where joint

and several liability is imposed, “[nlormally, the

chosen tortfeasor may seek contribution from another

concurrent tortfeasor.” Id.; see also McDermott, Inc. v.

AmClyde, 511 U.S. at 210 n.10 (noting that compara-

tive negligence and joint and several liability are not

incompatible). Joint and several liability allows a

App. 46

plaintiff to recover from one of multiple defendants,

when plaintiff’s recovery from other tortfeasors is

limited by outside facts, such as a defendant’s in-

solvency, making other defendants, rather than the

innocent plaintiff, responsible for the _ shortfall.

McDermott, 511 U.S. at 210 n.10. Although the

damages assignable to the plaintiff’s own culpability

must be subtracted from whatever damages the

plaintiff has proven at trial, the defendant would still

be liable “in full for the remainder,” even where a

third-party’s negligence contributed to the injuries.

See Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,

443 U.S. at 260.

Joint and several liability applies “where there

has been a judgment against multiple defendants,”

whereas, in admiralty law, a defendant may be liable

for the proportion of fault assignable to another

culpable party who was not named as a defendant.

See Id. (quoting McDermott, Inc. v. AmClyde, 511 U.S.

at 221).

B. Analysis

1. Duty/Breach of Duty

In making these findings the court generally

credits the testimony of Doyle’s treating physicians

and plaintiffs’ experts Angell, Larson, Sampsel, and

Allison. The court also generally agrees with the

opinions of the defendant’s life care expert Burke.

The court generally agrees with both expert econo-

mists Jayne and Scarbrough. For reasons discussed

App. 47

below, the court is not inclined to fully credit the

testimony of defendant’s expert MacNeill.

The court finds that the evidence establishes that

a boat owner and operator has an undisputed re-

sponsibility for the passengers’ safety and the safe

operation of the boat. The court credits the testimony

of Angell and Dr. Larson, supported by the boating

safety regulations and guidelines admitted into evi-

dence, that it is an unsafe boating practice to operate

a vessel with a passenger seated on the gunnel or

tube of the boat. The court finds that defendant

Graske’s conduct in the operation of the boat violated

a boat operator’s duty to use reasonable care under

the circumstances. Significantly, the circumstances in

this case involve a small boat outside the no wake

zone in the ocean accelerating to bring the boat on

plane.

The court finds that the totality of the evidence

shows that Doyle was seated on the tube as the boat

proceeded through the no wake zone. It is plausible

that Doyle may have moved to the bow seating area

as the boat accelerated, but whether he did so or not

does not affect the court’s analysis. The court finds

that Graske did not use reasonable care for the safety

of his passengers under the circumstances in either

event. The evidence establishes that both the tube

and the bow cushion seat are positions of danger

while accelerating a small watercraft on the open

ocean. Similarly, whether or not Doyle was told by

either Graske or Van Hook to “hold on,” and dis-

regarded the admonition, makes no difference to the

App. 48

court’s analysis. If Doyle had disregarded such a

command, it would have then been negligent for

Graske to continue to accelerate knowing that Doyle

was not holding the hand straps.

Graske had a duty of reasonable care under the

circumstances for the safety of his passengers and the

safe operation of his boat. The evidence shows that it

is an unsafe boating practice to accelerate up to plane

with a passenger in a position of danger. Under these

circumstances, a boat operator using reasonable care

would ensure that his passengers were seated in a

safe position in the boat while accelerating. Graske,

an experience boater, knew or should have known

that his passenger was in a place of danger as long as

Doyle was in the bow section of the boat and the boat

was traveling at a speed sufficient to bring it on

plane.

Daniel Doyle, as a passenger somewhat familiar

with boating, also had a duty to use reasonable care

for his own safety. The evidence shows that Daniel

Doyle put himself in a place of danger and knew or

should have known that it was an unsafe boating

practice to sit on the tube of the boat. He similarly

should have known that it was not safe to change

positions in the boat while the boat was accelerating.

Nevertheless, if Doyle were sitting on the tube,

Graske’s duty of reasonable care for passenger safety

would have correspondingly increased in proportion

to the increased danger to the passenger. Thus, Graske

would have an even higher duty to a passenger

App. 49

sitting on the inflatable tube portion of the boat while

the boat is operating at plane speeds. Any criticism

that can be leveled at Daniel Doyle for either sitting

on the tube or failing to hold a strap, can also be

leveled at Graske for accelerating in the face of such

conduct. If Doyle’s conduct on the boat was unsafe,

then it would be unsafe for boat’s operator to continue

to allow the conduct and to operate the boat in a

fashion that jeopardizes the passenger’s safety.

Although Mr. MacNeill’s measurements are valu-

able to the court’s analysis, the court is not inclined to

credit his testimony on safety issues. Mr. MacNeill’s

essential expertise is in designing yachts, not small

recreational boats shorter than twenty feet. MacNeill

is also imbued with the laissez-faire safety attitude of

most manufacturers. Although he repeatedly recog-

nized the boat operator’s duty to safely operate the

boat, he was quick to point out the passenger’s re-

sponsibility to act safely, failing to appreciate that

contributory negligence is not a complete defense

under admiralty law. Significantly, MacNeill also

admitted that anyone seated in the bow of the boat

who was not holding the hand straps would have

been ejected if there were a sudden turn. The court

credits Mr. Larson’s opinion that a passenger holding

the hand straps would not be able to react quickly

enough to prevent his ejection from the boat. Mr. Van

Hook testified that he was surprised at how quickly

the plaintiff was ejected from the boat. Were it not for

his position at, or aft of, the boat’s pivot point, it is

likely Van Hook would have suffered the same fate.

App. 50

The plaintiffs’ assertion that the defendant should

have inspected the steering linkage to the engine

prior to operating the boat is not supported by the

credible evidence. The plaintiffs’ expert witnesses’

expressed opinion that an inspection of the steering

linkage at the engine would have been a safe thing to

do is irrefutable. However, there is no evidence to

support the court’s imposition of a duty on a boat

operator to examine this linkage before each excur-

sion. The safety and regulatory materials received by

the court support a duty only to make sure the

steering is operational. On Graske’s boat, operating

the steering wheel prior to starting the excursion

fulfills that requirement. There is no evidence that

the steering mechanism was not functional prior to

the instant catastrophic failure. The boat was oper-

ated from its mooring to shore and then from shore

through the no wake zone and then some distance

further. It is reasonable to assume the steering

mechanism was operational until the drag arm

became disengaged from the steering cable extension.

That event occurred while the engine was being

trimmed. Trimming the engine requires tilting it to

gain effective propeller purchase with the water in

order to maintain plane and efficient operation.

Because the above analysis is dispositive, the

court need not address the plaintiffs’ other allegations

of negligence.”

’° The plaintiffs’ claims that Graske was negligent in failing

to maintain a seaworthy vessel, failing to require a life jacket,

(Continued on following page)

App. 51

The evidence adduced in this case also estab-

lishes that other parties also owed duties to the

plaintiff. The manufacturer of the boat would have

had a duty to warn a purchaser, operator, or occupant

of the boat that bow seating would not be safe at

planing speeds or that seating on the inflatable tubes

should not be allowed during operation at planing

speeds. Accordingly, it appears that the manufacturer

may have some liability for failure to warn that no

one should be in the bow section of the boat or on the

inflatable tubes when the boat operated at a speed

sufficient to keep it on plane. Similarly, the mechanic

who repaired the steering mechanism had a duty to

repair it properly. The evidence establishes that a

reasonably competent mechanic would have known

that a used nylock nut should have been replaced

with a new nylock nut and not reinstalled. The

mechanic’s employer had a duty to properly supervise

the mechanic’s work and to ensure that new nylock

nuts were installed when replacing such nuts during

repairs, especially on critical mechanisms such as

steering. The medical providers involved in Doyle’s

care all had a duty to provide standard medical care.

There is no evidence in this case, however, that the

care provided by any of the health care providers

was substandard. Although Dr. Stothert expressed

the opinion that he would have placed Doyle on a

and failing to keep the boat in safe operating condition were

dismissed a the close of plaintiffs’ case-in-chief for the reasons

stated on the record.

App. 52

ventilator at the outset of his hospitalization, there is

no evidence that any failure to do so violated the

standard of care of a reasonable medical professional.

Stothert testified that he did not have sufficient

records to come to such a conclusion. The extent to

which these duties were breached by other parties

cannot be determined by the court since the court

does not have jurisdiction over them.

2. Causation

There is no sole proximate cause in this case. The

issue of an intervening, superseding cause has al-

ready been addressed in the court’s earlier order. See

Filing No. 276. The evidence at trial shows that an

unbroken chain of events connects the boat accident

to Doyle’s anoxic brain injury. Substandard medical

care generally does not break the chain of causation

even if the care adds to the damages.” Throughout

Doyle’s hospital care in the Cayman Islands, at the

time of his air ambulance transfer, and in the Florida

hospitalization, Doyle had oxygenation problems. He

would not have had this condition were it not for

suffering from a flail chest caused by the fracture of

all his posterior ribs in the boating accident.

The evidence shows that the accident would

not have occurred absent the failure of the boat’s

steering mechanism, which was allegedly due to the

It is questionable that medical negligence is even cog-

nizable in the Grand Cayman Islands.

App. 53

mechanic’s negligence. A sudden mechanical failure,

however, is not an unforeseeable event. It is the duty

of an owner and operator of a vessel to operate the

boat safely in the event of such an occurrence.

Assuring that passengers are properly seated in a

small boat accelerating on the open ocean is fun-

damental to that duty. The failure of Graske to

exercise reasonable care under the circumstances in

the operation of his boat by accelerating while a

passenger was in a position of peril caused Doyle to

fall overboard in the sudden turn.

As to the defendant’s assertion that the failed

steering mechanism is the sole cause of the accident,

the court notes that even the defendant recognized

that an emergency turn is necessary when swimmers

suddenly appear from beneath the water. No doubt

the defendant will concede that any number of haz-

ards that require a hard turn can occur. In that event

the bow passenger will be ejected from the boat.

Thus, every boating manual received by the court in

this case notes the requirement that passengers

should not sit on the side of the boat while it is

underway. Accordingly, the court finds that the

negligence of defendant Graske in the operation of

the boat was a proximate and substantial cause of

Daniel Doyle’s injuries.

The court must next determine whether the

plaintiff’s own negligence also contributed to the

injury and the proportionate share of the damages

attributable to the plaintiff vis-a-vis defendant

Graske. Given the size and power of this boat, even

App. 54

plaintiffs’ expert expressed the opinion that anyone in

the bow of this boat would be ejected in a sharp turn,

and that anyone in the boat would be able to appre-

ciate the danger of not holding on to the hand straps

when the boat was at planing speed. The evidence

shows that Doyle knew or should have Known that it

was unsafe to sit on the gunnel or tube of the boat

while it was underway. Doyle violated a passenger’s

duty to use reasonable care for his own safety.

Doyle’s comparative negligence mitigates the

damages attributable to Graske to some extent. How-

ever, the court finds that, because, as the operator of

the boat, Graske has a higher duty of care than his

passenger, Graske remains responsible for a substan-

tial portion of the damages.

Because there are no other party defendants to

this action, the court cannot determine the extent to

which the alleged negligence of other tortfeasors

contributed to the Doyle’s injuries, nor can it deter-

mine the proportion of the damages that should be

allocated to each of those parties. Given the totality of

negligence supported by the record in this case, the

court finds that the plaintiff Daniel Doyle can be held

accountable for no more than 10% of the total lia-

bility. The evidence indicates that the greatest share

of the responsibility for the negligence in this case

rests with the boat mechanic and his employer for

improperly repairing the steering mechanism and for

reusing a nylock nut. There may also be a claim

against the manufacturer for failing to warn of the

dangers to bow and gunnel riding passengers of this

App. 55

14-foot boat. However, these later mentioned parties

are not part of the case presented to this court and

subject to its jurisdiction. Consequently, the court will

leave it to the courts that do have jurisdiction over

these matters to sort out any contribution or indem-

nification issues between the defendant and the

aforementioned potential tortfeasors. Accordingly,

with respect to the overall liability of all potential

tortfeasors for the injuries Doyle sustained in the

boating accident, the court apportions damages as

follows: 10% to the plaintiff, Daniel Doyle, 90% to the

defendant, Leland Graske, and the other potential

tortfeasors. Plaintiff Daniel Doyle’s recovery should

accordingly be reduced by 10%.

3. Damages

The parties have stipulated that plaintiff Daniel

Doyle incurred medical bills in the amount of

$252,517. The court credits the testimony of Dr.

Scarborough that Daniel Doyle’s lost wages up to

November 1, 2007, amount to $269,112. The evidence

shows that, had he not been injured, Doyle would

have worked until his full retirement age, or to age

66. The court further finds that the present value

of Doyle’s future lost wages until retirement is

$790,646, resulting in damages for past and future

lost wages in the amount of $1,059,758.

The court finds that Doyle will incur certain

medical expenses in the future as a result of his

injuries. The court finds, however, that there is no

App. 56

reasonable likelihood that physical or occupational

therapy for Doyle would be effective or necessary in

the future. The evidence supports a one-time award

of $400 for equipment such as a cane, shower grab

bars, and a shower bench.

The evidence also shows that Doyle will need

round-the-clock care by a personal attendant for the

rest of his life or until he may need care in a resi-

dential facility as part of his normal aging process.

The option for the supportive care of a live-in

caregiver would best suit Daniel Doyle’s needs and

conditions. The evidence shows that Doyle needs

round-the-clock care. The court credits Dr. Burke's

testimony that such care, furnished by a personal

care assistant, along with case management, room

and board, transportation, and allowances for the

costs of housecleaning, home maintenance, physi-

cian’s care, and medication could be obtained for

approximately $58,907 per year in today’s dollars,

resulting in the present value of total damages for

Doyle’s future medical and supportive care in the

amount of $1,285,272.

Provision of the cost of live-in care will ade-

quately account for the services of plaintiff’s wife for

any part she continues to play in Daniel Doyle’s care.

Mrs. Doyle’s willingness to care for her husband is

commendable, but she is not required to do so. If

Anne Doyle were not available to care for Daniel

Doyle, the services of a personal care attendant would

be required. Accordingly, Mrs. Doyle’s services should

be calculated at the same rate as a personal care

App. 57

attendant. If Daniel Doyle should need to be admitted

to an assisted-living or long-term care as he ages, he

will have been compensated for his lost wages and

can pay for assisted living the same as any other

individual, but will have the balance of the damage

award to pay for any additional supportive care that

he will reasonably require as a result of his injuries.

In view of the foregoing, the court finds that a special

damages award of $2,597,947 to plaintiff Daniel

Doyle will adequately compensate him for the injuries

he has suffered in this case. This award includes his

past and future lost wages, medical expenses — past

and future — and the cost of his future supportive

care.

The evidence also supports a substantial award

of compensatory damages to Daniel Doyle for pain

and suffering and loss of enjoyment of life and to

Anne Doyle for loss of consortium. Testimony at trial

shows that both Daniel and Anne Doyle have suffered

an incalculable loss. Daniel Doyle has substantial

physical and mental disabilities. The evidence shows

that Daniel Doyle has enough awareness of his

condition to appreciate his predicament. His injuries

have left him depressed, lacking in motivation,

and incapable of exercising proper judgment. He

comprehends the fact that he is no longer the person

he once was, but is powerless to change his situation.

As a result of Daniel Doyle’s injury, Anne Doyle

has essentially lost the companionship of the person

she once knew. The course of her life, as well as

App. 58

Daniel Doyle’s, was irreversibly altered by the acci-

dent. She has become a full-time caregiver for a

person who is no longer the person she married. The

court finds that she should be compensated for this

intangible loss at a level close to that of her husband.

Accordingly, the court finds that a general damages

award for pain, suffering and loss of life’s enjoyment

in the amount of $1,000,000 is appropriate for Daniel

Doyle and a general damages award of $750,000 is

appropriate for Anne Doyle’s loss of consortium.

Because the court finds comparative negligence

by Daniel Doyle that operates to mitigate defendant

Graske’s liability, Daniel Doyle’s total award of

$3,597,947 must be reduced by 10%, or $359,794,

resulting in a total damages award of $3,238,153 to

Daniel Doyle. Anne Doyle’s damages are not subject

to any reduction. Accordingly, in conformity with this

opinion, a judgment in the amount of $3,238,153 will

be entered in favor of plaintiff Daniel Doyle, and a

judgment in the amount of $750,000 will be entered

in favor of plaintiff Anne Doyle and against defendant

Leland Graske, together with taxable court costs.

DATED this 10th day of June, 2008.

BY THE COURT:

s/ Joseph F. Bataillon

Chief United States

District Judge

App. 59

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEBRASKA

DANIEL DOYLE and

)

hia 8:05CV21

Fianattes, ) MEMORANDUM

v. ) AND ORDER

LELAND GRASKE, (Filed Aug. 11, 2008)

Defendant. )

This matter is before the court on the defendant’s

motion to amend findings of fact and conclusions of

law and judgment, or for a new trial, Filing No. 325,

and on defendant’s motion to stay execution of the

judgment, Filing No. 327. This action for damages for

personal injuries as the result of a boating accident

was tried to the court under admiralty jurisdiction

from March 31, 2008, to April 8, 2008. The court

found the defendant liable for the plaintiffs’ injuries

and awarded damages to the plaintiff Daniel Doyle in

the amount of $3,238,153.00 and to plaintiff Ann

Doyle for loss of consortium in the amount of

$750,000.00.

I. Motion to Alter or Amend

In his motion to alter or amend the findings, the

defendant contends that damages ffor loss of

consortium are not recoverable in admiralty and that,

if such damages are awarded, the award should be

reduced by the percentage of fault assigned to the

App. 60

injured spouse. The defendant did not raise this issue

at any earlier point in this ktigation, which has been

pending since January 18, 2005.’ Plaintiff Ann

Doyle’s loss-of-consortium claim was added in an

amended complaint filed on October 11, 2007. Filing

No. 171. The defendant consented to the filing. See

Filing No. 169. Graske never moved to dismiss the

amended complaint, nor did he assert in his answer

that Mrs. Doyle’s claim was precluded as a matter of

law. See Filing No. 177. In the pretrial order, the

parties agreed that Mrs. Doyle’s recovery of general

damages, including loss of consortium, was a

controverted and unresolved issue. Filing No. 254,

Order on Pretrial Conference at 4. At trial, the

plaintiffs presented evidence in support of Ann

Doyle’s loss-of-consortium claim without objection by

defendant. The defendant never argued at trial that

recovery for loss of consortium was not available in

admiralty. At this late stage of the proceeding, the

court is reluctant to entertain the issue. If the court

were to consider the issue, however, the court would

find that the defendant’s position is not tenable.

It is settled that general maritime law imposes

duties to avoid unseaworthiness and negligence and

that fatal and nonfatal injuries caused by the breach

of either duty are compensable. Norfolk Shipbuilding

& Drydock Corp. v. Garris, 532 U.S. 811, 813-14

' Defendant contends that he raised the issue by denying

liability for Ann Doyle’s loss-of-consortium claim. The court does

not agree.

App. 61

(2001); see also Moragne v. States Marine Lines, Inc.,

398 U.S. 375, 408-09 (1970) (recognizing a wrongful-

death remedy under general maritime law that

supplements federal statutory remedies). General

maritime law provides a cause of action for the loss of

a deceased or injured spouse’s “society” or consortium.

American Export Lines, Inc. v. Alvez, 446 U.S. 274,

276 (1980) (involving nonfatal injuries); Sea-Land

Services, Inc. v. Gaudet, 414 U.S. 573 (1974) (outlining

elements of recovery for wrongful death in state

territorial waters, guided by state wrongful death

statutes and the “humane and liberal” policies

inherent in maritime law); Mobil Oil Corp. v.

Higginbotham, 436 U.S. 618, 622 (1978) (allowing

recovery of loss-of-consortium damages for injuries in

territorial waters); see also Exxon Shipping Co. uv.

Baker, ___ U.S. __, __., 128 S. Ct. 2605, 2630 n.21,

2008 WL 2511219, **19 n.21 (June 25, 2008) (affirming

continuing validity of Alvez and citing it for the

proposition that maritime law provides a cause of

action for loss of consortium).

Congress has enacted statutes that also provide

remedies for certain maritime injuries or deaths.

Miles v. Apex Marine Corp., 498 U.S. 19, 23-24 (1990);

see, e.g., the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 30104 eft seg.

(covering seamen in the course of employment); the

* “Seaman” is a term of art that has an established meaning

under maritime law, incorporated in the Jones Act. Stewart v.

Dutra Const. Co., 543 U.S. 481, 487 (2005). A seaman under the

Jones Act is a maritime worker with a substantial employment-

(Continued on following page)

App. 62

Death on the High Seas Act (‘DOHSA”), 46 U.S.C.

§ 30301 et seg. (covering persons killed on the high

seas); and the Longshore and Harbor Workers Act

(“LHWCA”), 33 U.S.C. §901 et seg. (covering

nonseaman maritime workers injured or killed in the

course of employment). These statutes provide only

for pecuniary relief. See Miles, 498 U.S. at 32.

When a statute resolves a particular issue, the

general maritime law must comply with that

resolution. Garris, 532 U.S. at 817; Scarborough v.

Clemco, 391 F.3d 660 (5th Cir. 2004). Because loss-of-

consortium damages are not available under these

statutes, there can be no recovery for loss of

consortium under general maritime law for an injury

or death that is also covered by one of the statutes.

See Miles, 498 U.S. at 32; Mobil Oil Corp. v.

Higginbotham, 436 U.S. at 623 (noting that when a

Congressional act “speak[s] directly to a question,

courts are not free to ‘supplement’ Congress’ answer

related connection to a vessel in navigation. Chandris, Inc. v.

Latsis, 515 U.S. 347, 373 (1995).

* DOHSA provides that “[wJhen the death of an individual

is caused by wrongful act, neglect, or default occurring on the

high seas beyond 3 nautical miles from the shore of the United

States, the personal representative of the decedent may bring a

civil action in admiralty against the person or vessel

responsible.” 46 U.S.C. § 30301. DOHSA does not cover deaths

resulting from incidents occurring within state territorial waters

— that is, deaths resulting from incidents occurring within three

miles of the shore of any State, or the District of Columbia, or

the Territories or dependencies of the United States. See

Moragne, 398 U.S. at 395.

App. 63

so thoroughly that the Act becomes meaningless.”).

Thus, if a factual scenario is covered by a statute

such as the Jones Act or DOHSA, “and the statute

directs and delimits the recovery available under the

statute,” the statute will operate to limit the recovery

available under the general maritime law as well.

Scarborough v. Clemco Indus., 391 F.3d at 667.

Nevertheless, unless Congress has prescribed a

comprehensive tort recovery scheme for a class of

maritime actions, admiralty remedies can be supple-

mented by those available under state law. Yamaha

Motor Corp., U.S.A. v. Calhoun, 516 U.S. 199, 210-

211 (1996) (noting that Congress had passed no law

prescribing remedies for the wrongful deaths of

nonseafarers in territorial waters). Traditionally,

state remedies have applied in maritime wrongful

death cases in which no federal statute specifies the

appropriate relief and the decedent was not a

seaman, longshore worker or person otherwise

engaged in the maritime trade. Jd. at 207. State

remedies remain applicable in such cases and have

not been displaced by the federal maritime wrongful

death action. Jd. at 215-216. In Yamaha, the Supreme

Court noted that the provision of a maritime cause of

action for wrongful death “centered on extension of

relief, not on the contraction of remedies,” basing its

decision on the longstanding maritime precept that

“‘it better becomes the humane and liberal character

of proceedings in admiralty to give than to withhold

the remedy, when not required to withhold it by

established and inflexible rules.’” Jd. at 213 (quoting

App. 64

The Sea Gull, 21 F. Cas. 909, 910 (C.C.Md.1865) (No.

12,578).

Although an admiralty court should look primarily

to legislative enactments for policy guidance, it “may

not slough off [its] responsibilities for common law

remedies because Congress has not made a first

move.” Exxon Shipping Co. v. Baker, ____ U.S. at __,

128 S.Ct. at 2630 (exercising federal maritime

common law authority to review punitive damages

award under general maritime law). The propriety of

damages under general maritime law falls within a

federal court’s jurisdiction to decide, “subject to the

authority of Congress to legislate otherwise if it

disagrees with the judicial result.” Jd. at 128 S. Ct.

2619 (involving an award of punitive damages).

None of the federal maritime statutes that would

potentially limit Ann Doyle’s recovery for loss of

consortium apply in this case because Daniel Doyle

was neither a seaman nor a maritime worker, and his

injuries were not fatal so as to come within the

purview of DOHSA. Accordingly, the court finds that

Ann Doyle’s recovery is not precluded and the

defendant’s motion to alter or amend the judgment

will be: denied.

To the extent that the plaintiff’s remedies under

general maritime law could be expanded or

supplemented by state or foreign law, the court would

be faced with a determination of which law should

determine the proper measure of compensatory

damages. In an admiralty action, federal choice of law

App. 65

principles apply. See Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 USS.

571, 577 (1953). Neither party has addressed this

issue. Courts weigh seven factors in rendering choice-

of-law decisions: place of the wrongful act, law of the

flag, allegiance or domicile of the injured, allegiance

of the defendant shipowner, place of contract,

inaccessibility of a foreign forum, and the law of the

forum. See id. at 583-91. Application of these factors

would not seem to favor the law of the Cayman

Islands, and, in any event, the defendant has not

shown that Mrs. Doyle’s loss-of-consortium damages

would be unavailable under Cayman Islands law or

any international law principles. In view of the

circumstances, the court finds an award of loss-of-

consortium damages under general maritime law is

appropriate.

The defendant’s contention that the _ loss-of-

consortium damages award should be proportionately

reduced also lacks merit. The proportional-liability

rule applies only to defendants who proximate cause

an injury. Exxon Co., U.S.A. v. Sofec, Inc., 517 U.S.

830, 842 (1996). “A party whose fault did not

proximately cause an injury is not liable at all.” Jd.

If. Motion to Stay Execution of the Judgment

Defendant Graske moves to stay execution of the

judgment pending resolution of post-trial motions and

pending appeal. The motion for a stay pending

resolution of post-trial motions will be rendered moot

by this decision. In lieu of a supersedeas bond,

App. 66

defendant proposes an irrevocable letter of credit.

Filing No. 329, Ex. A. In response, without conceding

the adequacy of the letter of credit, plaintiffs contend

that any letter of credit or supersedeas bond should

include The Law Offices of Ronald J. Palagi, in light

of the attorney lien filed in the case, and also contend

that the effective date of the letter of credit should be

June 10, 2008, the date of judgment. Filing No. 330.

Under the Federal] Rules, a party is entitled to a

stay as a matter of right if a supersedeas bond is

posted. Fed. R. Civ. P. 62(d). Alternatively, the party

may move for the court to exercise its discretion to

waive the bond requirement. Dillon v. City of

Chicago, 866 F.2d 902, 904 (7th Cir. 1988). “When

determining whether to waive the posting of bond,

the district court considers several criteria: (1) the

complexity of the collection process; (2) the amount of

time required to obtain a judgment after it is affirmed

on appeal; (3) the degree of confidence that the

district court has in the availability of funds to pay

the judgment; (4) whether the defendant’s ability to

pay the judgment is so plain that the cost of a bond

would be a waste of money; and (5) whether the

defendant is in such a precarious financial situation

that the requirement to post a bond would place other

creditors of the defendant in an insecure position.” Jd.

Also, the district court has discretion to order a

partially secured or unsecured stay if the judgment

creditor’s interest in ultimate recovery is not unduly

endangered. Fed. Prescription Serv., Inc. v. American

Pharm. Ass’n., 636 F.2d 755, 760-61 (D.C. Cir. 1980).

App. 67

The court is satisfied that the letter of credit from

Omaha National Bank will adequately protect the

plaintiffs’ interest and secure the judgment. The court

agrees that the Law Offices of Ronald J. Paliagi

should also be protected in the letter of credit.

Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that:

1. Defendant’s motion to alter or amend the

judgment is denied.

2. Defendants motion for a stay of the judgment

pending appeal is granted.

3. Within ten days of the date of this order,

defendant shall file an irrevocable letter of credit

drawn in favor of Plaintiffs Daniel Doyle and Ann

Doyle and the Law Offices of Ronald J. Palagi,

effective as of the date of judgment.

4. Upon the filing of such letter of credit,

execution on the judgment shall be stayed until the

time for filing an appeal has expired or the appeal, if

filed, is resolved.

DATED this 11th day of August, 2008.

BY THE COURT:

s/ Joseph F. Bataillon

Chief United States

District Judge

App. 68

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No: 08-3144

Daniel Doyle and Anne Doyle,

Appellees

v.

Leland Graske,

Appellant

v.

Jason R. Haynes, et al.,

Appeal from District of Nebraska — Omaha

(8:05-cv-00021-JFB)

ORDER

The petitions for rehearing en banc are denied.

The petitions for rehearing by the panel are also

denied.

Judge Bye and Judge Shepherd would grant the

petition for rehearing en banc filed by appellee Anne

Doyle.

App. 69

October 22, 2009

Order Entered at the Direction

of the Court:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals,

Eighth Circuit.

/s/ Michael E.Gans __

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.