Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gennimi v. Town of Lewisboro

Supreme Court brief2010

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Gupreme Cot US.

7 98-813 voy 27 aap

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN HE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

WENDY GENNIMI, PETITIONER

v.

TOWN OF LEWISBORO, JAY FAIN, JAY FAIN &

ASSOCIATES, MARGARET CLARK, JAMES NORDGREN,

JACQUELINE DZALUK, JOSEPH DECAMINADA, FREDA

HALPERN, MAUREEN MAGUIRE, P.J. ROSSI, AND

WILLIAM CARGAIN

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ALEXANDRA T. MANBECK,

Counsel of Record

45381 University Avenue

San Diego, CA 92105

(619) 578-8189

RECEIVED

DEC 2 - 2009

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME COURT, U.S._|

| SUPREME

CURRY &@ TAYLOR @ (202) 393-4141

a

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether in deciding the petitioner’s case the federal

courts were entitled to disregard findings of fact made on

the same issues by a New York state court in a parallel

state court action that was brought by the respondent

Town against the petitioner and that was decided while

the federal action was pending.

2. Whether the Town Wetlands law, which had previously

defined town jurisdictional wetlands in reliance upon the

definition of federal wetlands pursuant to the Clean

Water Act and its applicable regulations, 33 C.F.R. §

328.3 (b), but which was amended in 2004 to remove two

of the three federal criteria, that is, that the land be

capable of sustaining wetland vegetation but not

requiring that it actually sustain such vegetation, is void

for vagueness.

3. Whether respondent Jay Fain, who was a private

contractor illegally employed as a town wetland inspector

in violation of New York Town Law §23, violated

petitioner’s Fourth Amendment rights by repeatedly

entering upon her property which was posted with “No

Trespassing” signs.

4. Whether the Second Circuit departed from established

Fourth Amendment jurisprudence in holding that an

illegitimate government official, Jay Fain, was entitled to

invoke a “serious needs” exception to respond to

neighbors’ complaints and perform warrantless searches

of the curtilage of the petitioner’s home.

ti

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS Fe eats ice teecsesecereceecesseccnccecccccsces i

TABLE OF BUT eitiattnteseeticcnscesscoececccccoees iii

OPINIONS TOI cnc ee isaatnenecavscececececessczcce cece 1

JURISDICTION osccccocscesieeaaee ME ta asttictsenenenceeccvececeocvesece 1

RELEVANT PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..........csecsccceeeesseccesseeseceesees 1

STATEMENT occccsccueceee eI atirtatesesecsececcecsocoseseoese 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ...............cc0cccceeeeeee sees 7

CON CL USIOIN cacscsenscsece tte titcececesesvaseeesssceceseosse 36

APPENDIX

Circuit Court of Appeals Opiniom..................-.0--0-s00se0e00++ la

District Comte Gr i arestasenceeseeere coc eeceesee 9a

Magistrate Report & RecommMendation..............s-.cee0-eeee 12a

Order Demeyitigg TREMOR TIIG oscececerecceessssencceseenessvaseceersese0ese0e~ 42a

New York State Supreme Court Decision & Order......... 44a

New York State Supreme Court Order on

Fo ec a 47a

Relevant Provisions Fooled ....-.......-<<.c<0.0c.ecesessse0c000-0-- 48a

wt

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

ALLEN V. MCCURRY, 449 U.S. 90, 94, 101 S. CT. 411

5 ERS Nery Spe en NIN Ae Re re Ne Te 11

CAL. RIVER WATCH V. CITY OF HEALDSBURG, 496

F.3D 998, 999-1000 (9TH CIR. 2007)...........c..ceccccesersecseesceeeees 21

CALIFORNIA V. CIRAOLO, 476 U.S. 207, 213, 106 S. CT.

pi ry eR ei MRT eee, ON Re a a 32, 33

CAMARA V. MUNICIPAL COURT OF SAN FRANCISCO,

387 U.S. 523, 530-31, 87S. CT. 1727 (1967) ..............-000002 32, 34

COLAUTTI V. FRANKLIN, 439 U.S. 379, 395, 99 S.CT.

POND wsiciccscsiiiaiiaiecacsiaicitsisinceaiibgadatadn mat lataceaale aebaaibceiacenciaemminai 18

COOLIDGE V. NEW HAMPSHIRE, 403 U.S. 443, 91

Te Fg, | SR Re ree en eee en aT EN 25

Dow CHEMICAL Co. Vv. UNITED STATES, 476 U.S. 227,

Sr, Se sehca acs nsinivopesictiibabeictiatinactdaeantienseanesaitin 33

EARLS, 536 U.S. 822, 836, 122 S. CT. 2559 (2002)................000 31

EXXON MOBIL CORP. V. SABIC, 544 U.S. 280, 125 S.

Rs Te Ce ch ceoscissinsssiecnccitenanetesdsadn tei anshaiaerdinceecinsiitomstcaned 13

FLORIDA V. RILEY, 488 U.S. 445, 449, 109 S. CT. 693

(Ce ainsi arith tain Ne a a 33

FOURTH AMENDMENT. SAFFORD UNIFIED SCHOOL

DISTRICT V. REDDING, 129 S. CT. 2633 (2009)...............000+- 31

GRAYNED V. CITY OF ROCKFORD, 408 U.S. 104, 108,

ee a ee iictinthrcntnipeacdcataiiiainicsetcientinatettecesnnsncnes 17

GRIFFIN V. WISCONSIN, 483 U.S. 868, 873-74, 1075S.

eatin becca ascnsgince ea catiiciceaeacaivtcadetietorns 29

IN RE NEEDHAM, 354 F.3D 340, 345-346 (5TH CIR.

LIAO oe MORE ROE EO an CS MHS ON RAT ee OTS 21

JUSTICE KENNEDY. UNITED STATES V. ROBISON,

505 F.3D 1208, 1221-22 (11TH CIR. 2007).............-...--00-0--e-200+ 21

KOLENDER V. LAWSON, 461 U.S. 352, 357 (1983)...............-..- 18

LUCAS V. SOUTH CAROLINA COASTAL COUNCIL, 505

Bea i ee iin cisenssitcececisencaencesnentbansnanaticareacinsas 12

MEDELIN V. TEXAS, 552 U.S. 491, 128S. Cr. 1346

Fv cnivnsicecsesistaiceccsionecbaieatibaailchece asicedenaceldeeadiubatbian setedaaeaidmarDiciaciinaces 13

w

NEW JERSEY V. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325, 341, 105 S.CT.

, 2 ESET AOR SAE ene tot) cS RA Tees On NOE OR 30

OLIVER V. UNITED STATES, 466 U.S. 170, 180, 104

es a cithseinemancendd 32

ORANGE ENVIRONMENT, INC. V. COUNTY OF

ORANGE, 923 F.. SUPP. 529, 533 (S.D.N.Y. 1996)................. 17

PALMIERI V. LYNCH, 392 F.3D 73 (2D CIR. 2004)............. 28, 31

RAPANOS V. UNITED STATES, 126 S.CT. 2208 (2006)............. 17

RAPANOS V. UNITED STATES, 547 U.S. 715, 126 S. CT.

ERE RE tte ARE heme nee Ne Pe > NR 20

SAN REMO HOTEL, L.P. Vv. CITY AND COUNTY OF

SAN PRANCIBOO, BOG U Be: DOB. cance cniccscsctsvsiccoccscosccsoscesecesevees ll

SAN REMO, 545 U.S. 323, 125S. CT. 2491 (2005)................0000- 12

SANTINI V. CONNECTICUT HAZARDOUS WASTE

MANAGEMENT SERVICE, 342 F.3D 118 (2D Cir.

SEU seniticirvincsiinsminetintniniaiihenticidisininibinanintionaaiianatnmmen mimeo 12

SOKOLOV V. VILLAGE OF FREEPORT, 52 N.Y.2D 341,

SE er ee I ericceniinctittemnmnnsomiiietimaaienininianiinmnninen 35

Suss v. ASPCA, 823 F.SUPP. 181, 189 (S.D.N.Y. 1993)... 25, 28

UNITED STATES V. BAILEY, 571 F.3D 791 (8TH CIR.

NERS Ae acd on Doerr Se SIL gr Soa eee a 21

UNITED STATES V. CUNDIFF, 555 F.3D 200, 210-13

ea cstcenicnsnceicticadicsdicenerashdidipnenssabandinnnibheninaiueanininidsendits 21

UNITED STATES V. DUNN, 480 U.S. 294, 301, 107 S.CT.

Riis scsnccusitincsabecinsatincnadeaieetiadanGainn As 31

UNITED STATES V. GERKE EXCAVATING, INC., 464

F.3D 723, 724-25 (7TH CIR. 2006) (PER CURIAM)................. 21

UNITED STATES V. HATFIELD, 333 F.3D 1189, 1198

Ea I cain cocci ns scien dasiaciinapscadadiadinainidaniicaeaneiniiiods 33

UNITED STATES V. JENKINS, 124 F.3D 768, 774 (6TH

Fe ee eS ere Re Ey TN a aR 33

UNITED STATES V. JOHNSON, 467 F.3D 56, 66 (1ST

Sere SUIT asst cisesccamsceiscniipcbesspcltinadheionisaechtaieiihcidhsidatalendetisisaassincauinenstcands 21

UNITED STATES V. LUCAS, 516 F.3D 316, 327 (5TH

SS MIN ksi ascents iecohcidceacincehtihenaediataaleehcaicnicadaie 21

STATUTES

I i I sss casicnsicarnasstdeopatiissensnutisncsenenpeunsannnemeensicenkabeencins 6

I civic linc taesieonitunccsninnonniseeiasaeecendasentenntabmaciae 6

aR TIT ite saistlakstesnbainenecehdpbsbieeundincealniunanaanoacndaiaieniiel 10, 12

a Is i SI besencesinivwsnseneseicrdednsmpentanmbnnstennbtinsucscosea’ 14, 20, 21

REGULATIONS

Par ana IID suis assassins abkiibacscocadeuiidptelp medaidindasidegaiaaiocnn 15

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The summary order of the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals, the court below, Wendy Gennimi, et al. v.

Town of Lewisboro, et al., 08-1543-cv was not published

but included in App. A. The opinion of the U.S. District

Court, Southern District of New York, affirming the

Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation, filed

on March 23, 2008, was not published but is included in

App. D. The Magistrate Judge’s Report and

Recommendation was filed on March 4, 2008 and is

included in App. F. The State Court decision was filed

on August 29, 2007 and is included in App. G.

The Judgment of the U.S. District Court,

Southern District of New York, is dated March 23,

2008. The Mandate of the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals is dated September 8, 2009.

The Order of the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals denying rehearing is dated August 31, 2009.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit was entered on May 29, 2008. That

court's denial of the Petition for Rehearing En Banc

was entered on August 31, 2009, App. B. This Court has

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

RELEVANT PROVISIONS INVOLVED(see appendix)

2

Introduction

Since 2002, Wendi Gennimi has been embroiled

in a dispute with the Town of Lewisboro, New York

over regulation of her property, which the town claims

to constitute a wetlands or wetland buffer. For the past

eight years she has had to defend herself in court

against an expansive interpretation of the town’s

Wetlands law - a strict liability civil and criminal

statute that raises serious constitutional issues.

As a result of this dispute and other related civi!

and criminal charges filed against her by the town,

Wendi Gennimi was fined $25,000 in October 2004 and

has been facing foreclosure of her home. While she is

appealing a criminal conviction arising from the

wetland charges and building code violations related to

the installation of a fence around her property, she is

still potentially subject to fines and mitigation fees that

could exceed $425,000.

STATEMENT

Wendi Gennimi owns a house sitting on over two

acres of land which she bought in 1997. Since the

purchase, her husband has been doing periodic

renovation work on the house to address severe

structural problems. Even town officials have

recognized that the house had structural defects that

“presented a health and safety hazard.” Although there

had been complaints from neighbors against Gennimi

about various alleged wetland and building code

violations since 2000, former wetland inspector William

Cargain, a full-time town employee, refused to charge

Gennimi with wetland violations. Wetland Inspector

3

Cargain was accused by some town officials of being too

lenient because he refused to issue summonses against

alleged wetland violators such as Ms. Gennimi.

On August 1, 2002, the town hired Mr. Jay Fain

and Fain & Associates, as the town’s Wetland Inspector

. In appointing Mr. Fain as the Wetland Inspector, the

Town did not pay him a monthly salary like other town

employees, such as Mr. Cargain, but let him bill for his

services on an hourly basis as ‘an “independent

contractor” for time spent on all wetland matters. In

hiring Mr. Fain, a resident of Connecticut, as wetlands

inspector, the town violated New York State law

([Town Law Section 23 and Section 3 of the Public

Officers law]) which mandated that the wetland

inspector be a town resident, 7.e., a resident of the

Town of Lewisboro.

A. The State Court’s August 29, 2007 Decision

Immediately after being appointed Wetland

Inspector, on the basis of neighbors’ complaints, Mr.

Fain searched Ms. Gennimi’s property and charged her

with numerous wetland violations. Mr. Fain testified at

a hearing before the Planning Board on November 26,

2002 and presented pictures which he took of the

property. After the hearing, the Planning Board

convicted Ms. Gennimi of four charges of wetland

violations and fined her $1,500 and ordered her to

implement a planting scheme costing tens of thousands

of dollars that was to be supervised by Mr. Fain. On

April 17, 2003, Mr. Fain issued a second summons

charging Ms. Gennimi with wetland violations for

failing to implement the planting, and testified at a

hearing before the Planning Board on July 10, 2003,

4

where he recommended that Ms. Gennimi be fined

$425,000. Mr. Fain also testified that he did not know

where the wetland boundaries were on Ms. Gennimi’s

property, but that the Gennimi house could be used as a

“benchmark.” On July 25, 2003, on the basis of Mr.

Fain’s testimony, and pictures obtained from the

searches, the Planning Board again convicted Ms.

Gennimi of wetland violations for failing to finish the

planting scheme. On June 17, 2004, after repeated

searches of the property around her house, Mr. Fain

again charged Ms. Gennimi with wetland violations

arising from her husband’s construction of a fence

around the property to prevent searches by town

officials. Mr. Fain also issued stop work orders

preventing Ms. Gennimi from completing the repairs on

her house even though, as noted above, the house had

severe structural problems and was deemed a safety

hazard. From 2002 until his resignation in December

2006, Mr. Fain repeatedly searched and took pictures of

Ms. Gennimi’s property and the curtilage of house at

the urging of neighbors, in spite of her protests and the

“no trespassing” signs she posted at the property’s

entrance. His testimony and pictures were evidence

that were presented at Planning Board hearings to

obtain convictions.

On October 26, 2004 the Planning Board

convicted Ms. Gennimi of wetland violations for the

construction of the fence and fined her $25,000. In early

2005, Mr. Fain again charged Ms. Gennimi with wetland

violations - this time based on the fact that she had

moved out of her house the previous year and a sewer

pipe broke during the winter while the house was

unoccupied - and recommended that criminal charges

be filed in town justice court. As her house went into

5

foreciosure, Ms. Gennimi filed an action in federal

district court and moved for a preliminary injunction

against the town’s enforcement of the fines and the

Wetland laws against her. At a July 21, 2005 hearing,

District Court Judge Charles Brieant granted Ms.

Gennimi a stay of the $25,000 fine. Immediately

afterward, on September 15, 2005, the town brought

misdemeanor charges in town justice court against Ms.

Gennimi for violating stop work orders and repairing a

deck attached to her house without a permit, the town

having withheld the permit ecause of the wetland

convictions. In July 2008 Ms. Gennimi was convicted of

misdemeanors and is_ presently appealing the

convictions. In February 2007, while the federal action

and the criminal charges were pending, the town

brought civil charges of wetland violations against Ms.

Gennimi in New York State Supreme Court, which

made findings of facts and conclusions of law that those

charges were identical to wetland issues pending before

the federal district court. On August 29, 2007, the New

York State Supreme Court declined to entertain the

Town’s parallel state suit. App. 46a. On June 17, 2008,

the Appellate Division dismissed the Town’s appeal.

App. 47a.

B. The District Court’s March 24, 2008 decision

On November 30, 2007, Gennimi filed a Request

for Judicial Notice of the State Supreme Court decision.

However, on March 4, 2008, the Magistrate Judge

issued the Report without considering therein any

collateral estoppel effect of the New York State court’s

findings of fact and conclusions of law, although on

March 4, 2008, the same day that the Magistrate Judge

issued the Report, the Magistrate Judge stated that

6

“the Court will take [the State decision] into

consideration”. By summary order, the District Court

affirmed the Report on March 24, 2008, a few days after

Ms. Gennimi filed her objections. The District Court

did not make any de novo review. By summary order

dated May 29, 2009, the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals affirmed the district court’s summary decision.

BASIS FOR FEDERAL JURISDICTION’ IN

DISTRICT COURT

Jurisdiction of the District Court was invoked

pursuant to Title 28 U.S.C. § 1343(3) which confers

original jurisdiction on United States District Courts

over suits to redress the deprivation, under color of any

state law, statute, ordinance, regulation, custom or

usage, of any right, privilege or immunity secured by

the Constitution of the United States or by any Act of

Congress providing for equal rights of citizens or of all

persons within the jurisdiction of the United States.

The petitioner further invoked the jurisdiction of the

District Court pursuant to the supplemental

jurisdictional provisions contained in 28 U.S.C. § 1367.

According to the District Court, which affirmed

the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendations

by summary order, since the Gennimi backyard abuts

New York state wetlands, the Town Wetlands Law is

not unconstitutionally vague as applied to her.

However, she was convicted of charges of wetland

violations not involving any state wetlands - in spite of

Mr. Fain’s repeated notifications to state inspectors -

but instead involving the construction of a fence in the

immediate vicinity of her home, which Mr. Fain claimed

is a wetland “buffer’ subjecting her to the town

7

Wetlands law. By summary order, the Second Circuit

affirmed the district court’s decision.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The decision of the Second Circuit. Ceurt of

Appeals conflicts with the decisions of a New York

state court and other U.S. Courts of Appeals on the

same important matter (Rule 10(a)) and decides

important federal questions in a way that conflicts with

relevant decisions of this Court (Rule 10(c)).

There are three reasons for granting the writ.

Kirst, by affirming the judgment of the U.S. District

Court, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals eroded and

undermined the full faith and credit afforded to state

court judgments’ findings of fact. Second and third, the

Second Circuit undermined the protections afforded

citizens of the United States by the Fourth and the

Fourteenth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution.

Specifically, the decisions of the District Court and

Circuit Court of Appeals will encourage governmental

agencies to apply broad constructions of the “wetland”

definition and the “serious needs” doctrine to override

the people's Fourth and Fourteenth Amendment rights

whenever such agencies find it expedient.

8

I. THE DECISIONS OF THE COURTS BELOW

CONFLICT WITH THE FINDING OF A STATE

COURT AND FAILED TO ACCORD FULL FAITH

AND CREDIT TO THE NEW YORK STATE

COURT’S FINDINGS OF FACT REGARDING

IDENTICAL WETLAND CLAIMS

The decisions of the courts below represent a

significant and unwarranted departure from the New

York State Supreme Court’s decision in a related case,

insofar as the New York court made findings of fact

adverse to the town six months prior to the Magistrate

Judge’s issuance of his Report and Recommendations.

A. The Town voluntarily initiated a state court

action while the federal action was pending

After District Court Judge Charles Brieant issued a

stay of the $25,000 fines on July 21, 2005, and while

discovery was being conducted in federal court, the

town initiated a parallel actionin State Supreme court

in February 2007 accusing Ms. Gennimi of wetlands

violations and again seeking enforcement of the

Wetlands law. Town of Lewisboro v. Wendy Gennimi,

Index No. 2771/07(Westchester Supreme Ct. 2007). On

August 29, 2007 the State Supreme Court issued a

decision staying the town’s civil action based on the

following findings of fact and conclusions of law, which

have collateral estoppel effect since the Town failed to

appeal (App. Decision, App. H):

Upon the foregoing papers, it appears that on

July 15, 2004 Defendant Gennimi was charged by

the Lewisboro Planning Board (the “Planning

Board”) with constructing a fence without a

9

permit in violation of the Town of Lewisboro

Wetlands Law. After several hearings before

the Planning Board, on October 26, 2004, the

Planning Board determined that Gennimi

had violated the Wetlands Law and imposed

fines totaling $25,000. In July 2005, the

Defendants joined a federal action (pending

before United States District Judge Charles L.

Brieant) as party-plaintiffs. In that action, the

Defendants herein challenged the

constitutionality of the Wetlands Law on its face

and as applied to them and sought to enjoin the

Town of Lewisboro from enforcing the fines. On

July 21, 2005, the Federal Court issued

injunctions staying enforcement activity for

the balance of the action and by a

Memorandum and Order dated November 10,

2005 directed that discovery should proceed

on the constitutional claims.

All of the foregoing notwithstanding, on

February 16, 2007, Plaintiff [Town of Lewisboro]

commenced the instant action...

State Supreme Court decision, August 26, 2008

(emphasis added). Judge Gerald Loehr of the State

Supreme Court reviewed the Planning Board’s file,

including its October 26, 2004 decision and clearly held

that the Planning Board fined Ms. Gennimi $25,000 for

“construction of the fence without a [Wetlands]

permit”. State Judge Loehr reviewed the late Judge

Brieant’s July 21, 2005 injunction staying the fines and

all other actions pending in town Justice Court and

declined to enforce the Wetlands law against Ms.

Gennimi or enjoin her from construction of the fence.

10

Thus the state Supreme Court’s decision is

notable for the fact that it declined to assert jurisdiction

over purported charges brought by the town alleging

violations of “state” wetlands. In fact, the State has

never charged or investigated Ms. Gennimi with or for

any wetland violations. The State Supreme Court’s

findings of fact also flatly controverted the Report’s

finding that “the Planning Board never determined the

innocence or guilt of plaintiff [Gennimi] in the instant

action.” The District Court’s and the Second Circuit’s

summary order adopting the Report’s contrary findings

of fact and ignoring the prior State Supreme Court’s

fact findings failed to afford full faith and credit to the

State Supreme Court’s opinion. See U.S. Const., Art.

IV, § 1, 28 U.S.C. § 1738.

B. The State Court Decision has Preclusive

Effect

In summary, while discovery was being

conducted in the district court, the Town filed a new

action in state court to enforce the Wetlands Law to

seek payment of fines in addition to the $25,000 fines

and prospective fines of $425,000. The Town upped the

ante to make an end-run around Judge Brieant’s July

21, 2005 order staying enforcement of the $25,000 fines,

in the midst of the federal action, and would have

obtained collateral estoppel with double jeopardy effect

had it been successful. However, on August 29, 2007 the

State Supreme Court held that “/ajfter several

hearings...the Planning Board determined that

Gennimi had violated the Wetlands Law and imposed

fines totaling $25,000” and found that the Planning

Board imposed those fines against Gennimi for

“constructing a fence without a permit in

11

violation of the Town of Lewisboro Wetlands

Law”. App. 45a. Six months later, on March 4, 2008 the

Magistrate Judge issued a Report containing findings

of fact that flatly contradicted the August 26, 2007

State Court’s decision, by stating in the Report that

“the planning board never determined the innocence or

guilt of the plaintiffs in the instant action,” and that

“Gennimi admitted to the allegations”. App. 33a-34a.

Indeed, the Report totally ignored the prior

state court factual findings and made de novo contrary

factual findings by stating as follows:

Wendy Gennimi has been assessed civil penalties

totaling $25,000 as a result of four separate

violations, each violation averaging less than the

$7,500 penalty allowed by the [Wetlands]

statute. The total figure of $25,000 was only

assessed after Ms. Gennimi’s repeated failure to

remedy her initial infraction and bring her

property into compliance with the Towns’

wetlands law.

Report, App. F, p. 26a. By affirming the district court’s

summary order that adopted the Report, the Second

Circuit completely disregarded this Court’s direction to

the lower courts that they defer to state courts’

findings of fact. San Remo Hotel, L.P. v. City and

County of San Francisco, 545 U.S. 232, 125 S.Ct. 2491

(2005). Under the Full Faith and Credit Act, the New

York Supreme Court’s findings of fact are binding on

the federal courts. Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 94,

101 S. Ct. 411 (1980) (collateral estoppel prevents

federal court relitigation of issue of fact adjudicated in

state court); see also Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal

12

Council, 505 U.S. 1008, 120-22 (1992) (in regulatory

takings case, Supreme Court defers to factual findings

of state court). Instead, the Second Circuit, by

summary order, unquestionably adopted the Report

and substituted its own judgment for the state court’s.

Indeed, the Second Circuit condones the town’s two

bites at the judicial apple, first by bringing charges of

wetland violations in state court, and after being

unsuccessful in that forum, relitigating the identical

claims in federal court in violation of the Full Faith and

Credit Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1738 (the “Act”). The Act is a

central component of the doctrine of federalism that

requires federal courts to defer to state court findings

of fact. Such deferral was especially appropriate in this

case insofar as the town was the forum-shopping party

who filed a parallel action in state court during the

pendency of the federal action. The Second Circuit

repeated the same mistake it made in Santini v.

Connecticut Hazardous Waste Management Service,

342 F.3d 118 (2d Cir. 2003), cert. denied on other

grounds, 125 S.Ct. 104 (2004) of giving the town’s

claims de novo review even where the facts of the

federal and state claims are identical, and even when

the town voluntarily instituted litigation of the same

claims in state court.

Asides from the fact that this Court overruled

Santini in San Remo, 545 U.S. 323, 125 S. Ct. 2491

(2005), unlike the claimant in Santini, the town

respondents here were not involuntary litigants in

state court. Accordingly, the town could have litigated

the wetland issues in the federal forum had they not

voluntarily filed a parallel case in state court against

Ms. Gennimi. To allow the lower courts to make de novo

fact findings concerning the same wetland claims that

13

the New York Supreme Court has already determined

adversely to the town would unfairly penalize Gennimi

and reward the town for forum-shopping. Indeed, when

the Second Circuit affirmed what was in effect the

District Court’s reversal ofthe State Supreme Court’s

determination that the Planning Board fined Gennimi

$25,000 for construction of a fence in violation of the

Wetlands law, it departed from the guiding principles

of the Full Faith and Credit Act set forth by this Court

in Exxon Mobil . Vv. Sabic, 544 U.S. 280, 125 S. Ct.

1517 (2005), and reiterated in Medelin v. Texas, 552

U.S. 491, 128 S. Ct. 1346 (2008) (State court decisions

are binding upon the federal government over

international treaties) . In view of the manifest error of

the Second Circuit in failing to accord full faith and

credit to a binding prior state court judgment, the

Court should grant the petition for writ of certiorari, or

consider summary reversal.

Il. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE CONFLICTS BETWEEN THE COURTS

CONCERNING WHAT CONSTITUTES A

WETLAND

After hiring Mr. Fain as wetlands inspector in

August 2002, the town amended its Wetlands law in

2004 to redefine “wetland” and thus gave maximum

discretion to Mr. Fain to determine that much of the

town is a wetland or wetland buffer subject to town

jurisdiction. Mr. Fain never conducted any wetland

delineation and admitted at hearings that he did not

know the exact location of all wetland boundaries, thus

requiring Ms. Gennimi, as well as numerous other

accused violators, to map the wetlands on their

properties as part of the penalty. Particularly at a July

14

10, 2003 hearing, when the Gennimis complained that

they could not afford the thousands of dollars required

to determine the wetland boundaries, Mr. Fain

suggested that they could use their own home as the

“benchmark” or wetland boundary, and thus under the

Wetlands law, all land within a 150-radius of the home

became a town jurisdictional wetland “buffer” subject

to the similar regulations as town jurisdictional

wetlands.

A. The Original Town Wetlands Law was a strict

liability statute which adopted the Clean Water

Act definition of “wetland”

Prior to the 2004 amendment, the town

Wetlands law adopted the definition of “wetland”

found in the federal Clean Water Act, which relies on

two criteria, including soil composition (i.e., wet soil),

and the presence of wetland vegetation. Specifically,

the definition of “wetlands” in the predecessor statute,

Local Law 3-1995, reproduced the federal Clean Water

Act’s (“CWA”, 33 U.S.C.A. § 1251 et seq.) definition, as

follows:

WETLAND/FRESHWATER WETLAND - all

areas that comprise hydric soils and/or are

inundated or saturated by surface or ground

water at a frequency and duration sufficient to

support, and that under normal

circumstances do support, a prevalence of

hydrophytic vegetation as defined herein or by

the Federal Interagency Committee for

Wetland Delineation, 1989. Federal Manual

for n and Delineating

Jurisdictional Wetlands, US Army Corps of

15

Engineers, US Environmental Protection

Agency, US Fish and Wildlife Service, and

USDA Soil Conservation Service,

Washington, DC. Cooperative Technical

Publication, attached hereto as appendix A.

L.L. 3-1995, (bold parts are those that have been

removed from the current Wetiands Law L.L. 1-2004).

The relevant CWA regulations define wetlands

as "those areas that are inundated or saturated by

surface or ground water at a frequency and duration

sufficient to support, and that under normal

circumstances do support, a prevalence of vegetation

typically adapted for life in saturated soil conditions."

33 C.F.R. § 328.3(b) (emphasis added). L.L. 3-1995

mandated that wetland delineations to determine the

presence and extent of local wetland be conducted

using the criteria set forth in the 1987 Corps of

Engineers Wetlands Delineation Manual (1987 Manual),

which is still being used by the Corps in federal wetland

delineation. In general, the 1987 Manual defines land as

a “wetland” when, under normal conditions: (1) the land

is dominated by hydrophytic vegetation (plants that

have the ability to grow, effectively compete, reproduce

and/or persist in anaerobic soil conditions caused by

inundated or saturated soil conditions); (2) the land has

wetland hydrology (inundated or saturated to the

surface for at least five percent of the growing season in

most years); and (3) the land consists of hydric soils

(soils formed under conditions of saturation, flooding, or

ponding long enough during the growing season to

develop anaerobic conditions in the upper part of the

soil). Exactly as with the CWA, L.L. 3-1995 relied on

field indicators to determine whether the land is

16

wetland by investigating the plants, water, and soil.

B. The 2004 Amended Wetland law removed the

requirement that wetland vegetation be

present and is a strict liability statute that is

void for vagueness

The amended town Wetlands Law L.L.1-2004 remains a

strict liability statute but removes all reference to the

requirement that wetland vegetation be present, as in

the Federal guidelines, and defines “wetlands” as

follows:

All areas that comprise hydric soils and/or are

inundated or _ saturated by surface’ or

groundwater at a frequency and duration

sufficient to support a prevalence of hydrophytic

vegetation.

Wetlands Local Law 1-2004 § 217-2(B). Thus since

January 1, 2004 the town has claimed that a town

jurisdictional wetland is any area that has one of the

following characteristics, regardless of size or

geographical location:

(1) hydric soils or

(2) is inundated or saturated by surface or

(3) is saturated by groundwater at a frequency

and duration sufficient to support a prevalence of

hydrophytic vegetation.

Unless the area is “inundated” or physically

“saturated by surface” with water for extended time so

that it is obvious that it is “wet”, a person of “ordinary

intelligence,” Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S.

17

104, 108, 92 S. Ct. 2294 (1972), could not possibly know

what L.L. 1-2004 means by terms such as “hydric soil”

or “a prevalence of hydrophytic vegetation” that under

the town Wetlands Law converts his or her property

into a jurisdictional wetland. The removal of “that

under normal circumstances do support” makes the

existence of a “wetland” depend on the presence of

“hydric soil” or “groundwater” - conditions that are

invisible and unnoticeable to a person “of ordinary

intelligence”- instead of the visible “swamp” or “bog”

mentioned by the district court in Orange

Environment, Inc. v. County of Orange, 923 F. Supp.

529, 533 (S.D.N.Y. 1996). In other words, a

homeowner’s private property becomes a_ town-

regulated wetland if the town wetland inspector

determines that the property “may” support

hydrophytic vegetation, without requiring any

additional criteria either listed in the Federal Manual

or the New York State Wetlands Delineation manual.

Furthermore, even if the words “that under normal

circumstances do support” had been retained in L.L. 3-

1995, a “person of ordinary intelligence” simply cannot

readily recognize whether his property has a presence

of “hydric soil” or “groundwater” or “a prevalence of

hydrophytic vegetation”. The difficulty in knowing that

one’s property contains town-jurisdictional wetlands is

exacerbated by the fact that, in contrast to the federal

CWA which requires that an area be at least one acre

and be connected to “navigable waters” to be a federal

jurisdictional wetland, Rapanos v. United States, 126

S.Ct. 2208 (2006), or to New York State environmental

law which requires that an area be at least 12.4 acres to

be state-jurisdictional (ECL § 24-301), L.L. 1-2004 does

not specify any minimum acreage, thus making any

temporary puddle in a homeowner’s property a

18

potential town jurisdictional wetland subjecting its

owner to civil and criminal penalties at the wetland

inspector’s total discretion. By removing the reference

to the Federal Manual and the requirement that an

area under normal circumstances support certain types

of wetland vegetation to be treated as a “wetland”, the

Wetlands law L.L.1-2004 dispenses with any guidelines

on identifying wetlands and is so indeterminate that

“ordinary [homeowners] cannot understand what is

prohibited.” Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 357

(1983).

Secondly, “the constitutionality of a vague

statutory standard is closely related to whether that

standard incorporates a requirement of mens rea.

Colautti_v. Franklin, 439 U.S. 379, 395, 99 S.Ct. 679

(1979). L.L. 1-2004 is a strict liability statute that leaves

its enforcement to the total discretion of the town’s

wetland inspector. The Wetlands law vests virtually

complete discretion in the hands of [law enforcement]

to determine whether the{homeowner] has satisfied [its

provisions]. Kolender, 461 U.S. at 358, 103 S.Ct. 1855.

In other words, the Wetlands law’s definition of

“wetland” is is so “indefinite” that it encourages, and

did encourage, arbitrary and erratic charges and

convictions of Gennimi by inspector Jay Fain based on

neighbors’ complaints. Colautti_v. Franklin, 439 U.S.

379, 391. Not only does the Wetlands law expansively

define “wetlands” as any puddle regardless of size that

“may” contain hydric or wet soil and dispense with any

requirement that wetland vegetation be found and with

all other state and federal guidelines for wetland

delineation, it also defines a “buffer zone” of a 150-foot

radius surrounding the purported “wetland” and makes

the buffer subject to the same regulation as the

19

wetland. The term “buffer” is defined as follows:

L.L. 1-2004 § 217-2 Definitions; word usage

BUFFER AREA - The area extending one-

hundred-fifty (150) linear feet along the surface,

away from, and around the perimeter of the

outermost boundary of a “wetland” or

“watercourse”.

Third, the removal from the “wetland”

definition of the requirement that wetland vegetation

be present on the land and the enactment of the 150

foot-buffer allowed Mr. Fain to convert much of the

town into a “wetland” or “wetland buffer” subject to

regulation, since it left him with complete discretion.

Mr. Fain himself had never made any wetland

delineation studies on Gennimi’s property. Indeed, in

charging Ms. Gennimi with violations, Mr. F'ain claimed

that the Gennimi home and backyard are in New York

state wetlands or parts of the wetland “buffer”.

However, in spite of Mr. Fain’s numerous calls to state

wetlands inspectors, the state has never asserted any

jurisdiction over the Gennimi’s backyard or home. In

2002, 2003 and in 2004, Ms. Gennimi was convicted of

wetland violations for building a fence around her home

- to stop wetland inspector Jay Fain and other town

officials from searching the property - which Mr. Fain

claimed was located in the wetland or “buffer” and thus

subject to the same criminal and civil penalties imposed

on activities proscribed on town jurisdictional wetlands.

Mr. Fain admitted that he originally brought charges

against Ms. Gennimi pursuant to neighbors’ complaints

since he resided out of town and relied on neighbors’

surveillance to enforce the Wetlands law.

20

Cc. The Second Circuit’s definition of

“wetlands” conflicts with other Circuits’

definition

Further, the Second Circuit’s decision approving

the town’s expansive application of the term “wetland”

to any soil which might possibly support wetland

vegetation and to a 150-feet radius to cover a purported

buffer, created a conflict with other circuits which have

required “wetland” to possess the three characteristics

of vegetation, water and soil. Under the Second

Circuit’s summary order, any land could be a wetland if

a wetland inspector decides that the land could

“possibly” sustain wetlands vegetation without the

need to prove that such vegetation actually could grow

on such land. The situation is similar to that of Rapanos

v. United States, 547 U.S. 715, 126 S. Ct. 2208 (2006), in

which a closely divided Court found that the

government’s over-expansive reading of the Clean

Water Act (CWA) had extended jurisdiction over and

“engulfed entire cities and immense arid wastelands” as

“navigable waters of the United States.” In the town of

Lewisboro, the town’s amendment of the Wetlands law,

the CWA counterpart, and its illegal appointment of an

ineligible Wetland Inspector to enforce the Wetlands

Law, has converted much of the town into a town

jurisdictional wetland or wetland buffer area

subjecting property owners to onerous burdens and

criminal prosecutions in any land use, no matter how

trivial.

In Rapanos, the Supreme Court addressed

whether the wetlands at issue were "navigable waters"

covered by the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1251, and

whether the government had impermissibly extended

21

its regulatory jurisdiction under the Act. The plurality

opinion limits federal authority over "navigable waters"

to "those wetlands with a continuous surface connection

to bodies that are 'waters of the United States’, so that

there is no clear demarcation between ‘waters' and

wetlands. However, Justice Kennedy determined that

the government's jurisdiction under the Act extends to

wetlands that "possess a significant nexus to waters

that are or were navigable in fact.”Jd. at 759 (internal

quotations omitted). Given the various opinions in

Rapanos, the circuits are likewise split. The Seventh,

the Ninth and the Eleventh Circuits have followed the

substantial nexus test set forth by Justice Kennedy.

United States v. Robison, 505 F.3d 1208, 1221-22 (11th

Cir. 2007), N. Cal. River Watch v. City of Healdsburg,

496 F.3d 993, 999-1000 (9th Cir. 2007); United States v.

Gerke Excavating, Inc., 464 F.3d 723, 724-25 (7th Cir.

2006) (per curiam). The First, Sixth and Eighth Circuits

have followed the dissent’s instruction if either the

plurality's test or Justice Kennedy's test is satisfied.

United States v. Johnson, 467 F.3d 56, 66 (lst Cir.

2006); United States v. Cundiff, 555 F.3d 200, 210-13

(6th Cir. 2009); United or-oary v. Bailey, 571 F.3d 791

(8 Cir. 2009); see also United States v. Lucas, 516 F.3d

316, 327 (5th Cir. 2008).

Although this case does not involve federal

wetlands, the Second Circuit’s finding that any soil

assessed to have the potential for, but not actual,

wetlands vegetation, can be a local government’s

jurisdictional wetland is related to the ongoing conflict

between the circuits concerning the application of the

Rapanos opinion. In re Needham, 354 F.3d 340, 345-346

(5" Cir. 2003) (“Consequently, in this circuit the United

States may not simply impose regulations over puddles,

22

sewers, roadside ditches and the like”). None of the

circuits adopted the Second Circuit’s holding that a

wetlands need only exhibit characteristics of wet soil as

defined in L.L.1-2004. In this case, to dispense with the

requirements that a wetlands has to possess the three

federal characteristics of soil, water and vegetation

would allow regulation that would obliterate the

distinction between what is dry land and what is

wetland. Moreover, it is axiomatic that to allow

government regulation of any land that could possibly

support wetland vegetation, without any such

vegetation visible to the naked eye and without any

other criteria, would convert any property into wetland

or wetland buffer subjecting its owner to strict liability.

So long as a wetlands permit is required to use any such

property, the local government can prosecute any

homeowners over local land use as long as the local

wetland inspector decides that the land could possibly

grow wetland vegetation. If the local government can

regulate all lands determined to be capable of

sustaining vegetation, no matter if no vegetation is

ever found on such land, there is virtually nothing that

the local government could not regulate under the

Wetlands Law. This was the flaw in the town

government's arguments: they provided no logical

stopping point to prosecutorial authority and converted

a land use law into a strict liability civil and criminal

statute that did not involve a commercial or economic

regulatory scheme at all.

23

Iii, CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED

BECAUSE THE DECISIONS BELOW CONFLICT

WITH OTHER CIRCUITS’ DECISIONS AND THIS

COURT'S DECISION IN CAMARA

The implications of suggesting Gennimi’s house

be made a wetland “benchmark” from which to

determine the wetlands boundary become clearer in the

context of Mr. Fain’s continuous searches of the

property pursuant to neighbors’ complaints. Since the

wetland inspector declared Gennimi’s home to be in a

wetland or wetland buffer, he was able to subject the

home and its immediate vicinity to unlimited searches,

regardless of the facts that he was illegally appointed

and that the searches were initiated in response to

neighbors’ complaints without any basis in fact or law

to believe that there was illegal or criminal activity

requiring warrantless searches.

A. The lower court’s decision departs from

established Fourth Amendment principles by

permitting per se illegal searches of Ms.

Gennimi’s property and warrants this Court’s

immediate review

On January 14, 2008, Town Attorney Jessica

Bacal proclaimed to the Town Board in an open forum

that the town’s employment of Jay Fain as Wetland

Inspector from August 1, 2002 to December 21, 2006

constituted a violation of State law because during that

period Town Law §23 (a New York State statute)

required that the Wetlands Inspector be a Lewisboro

resident (which Mr. Fain was not). Since there is no

factual dispute that Mr. Fain was a private contractor

and was also an ineligible Wetland Inspector, the lower

24

courts should have found that all searches that Mr. Fain

performed on Ms. Gennimi’s property beginning on

September 17, 2002 and continuing until 2006 violated

her Fourth Amendment right to be free from an

unreasonable warrantless administrative search. Mr.

Fain: admitted to searching the subject property

numerous times over the years and taking pictures

which he showed to Planning Board members at all

hearings. The Minutes of the November 26, 2002

hearing stated:

He [Mr. Fain] displayed pictures of the rear of

the site.

The Minutes of the October 12, 2004 hearing

state:

Exhibit C - Photograph taken byJay Fain

depicting excavation of north side of

residence takenJuly 2004.

..Mr . Fain produced a photograph of the July

15, 2004 Stop Work Order which had been posted

on the garage. He advised that he posted two

additional Stop Work Orders on the telephone

pole...

Exhibit D - Photograph of Stop Work Order

posted on the garage at 19 Lower Salem

Road on July 15, 2004.

Exhibit E & F - 2 Additional Photographs

photographed by Mr. Fain on July 20, 2004

depicting the trees and brush cut on the

Site.

Mr. Fain stated that the July 22, 2008 Planning

Board Resolution stated that the construction

debris shall be removed.. He submitted a

photograph taken July 20, 2004 depicting

material stockpiled on property the subject of

25

many complaints.

There is no dispute that Mr. Fain searched Ms.

Gennimi’s property and took pictures used to convict

her of wetland violations. Furthermore Mr. Fain

testified that he searched Ms. Gennimi’s house in 2005,

as follows:

Mr. Fain advised that he had inspected the

house and advised that when the homeowner

had excavated in the rear side yard the soil pipe

for the septic system became vulnerable..He

distributed photographs he had taken of

the affected area on April 25, 2005 advising

that it was his opinion that as shown in the

photographs that there was effluent on the

ground...Mr .Fain advised that he would like to

get the code enforcement officer, the NYC DEP,

NYS DEC and Westchester County Department

of Health involved in this matter.

Planning Board Minutes of April 26, 2005 hearing

(emphasis added). Since Mr. Fain was illegally hired as

Wetland Inspector in violation of State Law , Mr. Fain

did not have the statutory authority to perform

searches, take pictures, issue Stop Work orders,

initiate prosecution by issuing summonses and Notices

of Violations, or to testify at the hearings against Ms.

Gennimi. The pictures were illegally obtained by an

ineligible Wetland Inspector and as such “did not

satisfy the requirements of the Fourth Amendment as

made applicable to the States by the Fourteenth”.

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443, 91 S.Ct. 2022

(1971); Suss v. ASPCA, 823 F.Supp. 181, 189 (S.D.N.Y.

1993)(A warrantless search directed by a non-neutral

26

private party is an event with many strikes against it

whether analyzed under the due process clause alone,

or under that clause as a trigger for Fourth

Amendment considerations).

In footnote 1 at page 7, the Second Circuit stated

that it declined to consider arguments involving the

defendants’ violation of Town Law § 23 because the

town’s wetlands inspector was not a resident of

Lewisboro, as follows:

We decline to consider these state law arguments

raised for the first time on appeal

The Second Circuit’s finding is incorrect in view of the

fact that the issue has been raised at least four times,

first on May 2, 2006 in the pleadings.

On May 2, 2006, the issue of Mr. Fain’s illegal

employment as Wetlands Inspector in violation of Town

Law § 23 was raised in plaintiffs’ Third Amended

Complaint, Paragraph 12, which defendant stipulated to

its filing and which Magistrate Judge Yanthis

approved, and which states as follows:

12. On January 1, 2003! (sic) the town promoted

Jay Fain to the position of wetland inspector, in

violation of Town Law § 23 which mandates that

the wetland inspector be a town resident,

whereas Fain resides in Connecticut. On

February 25, 2004 the Town amended its

Wetland and Watercourse Law to increase the

1 The actual date is August 1, 2002, based on an employment

contract between Mr. Fain and the town supervisor.

27

buffer distance from 100 feet to 150 feet and to

increase the authorized fines per violation from

$5,000 to $7,500 per day. Furthermore, the town

amended the definition of “wetland” removed

the term “and that under normal circumstances

do support” from the CWA . definition of

wetland, making all dry lands that could

possibly, but not actually, support certain

wetland vegetation subject to town jurisdiction...

Third Amended Complaint. The Third Amended

Complaint was approved and filed by the court on May

2, 2006. On September 28, 2007, plaintiffs filed their

opposition brief to Fain’s motion for summary

judgment stating as follows:

I- FAIN BECAME WETLAND INSPECTOR

BEGINNING AUGUST 1, 2002

From 1986 to July 31, 2002 Fain worked

as a consultant for the town Planning Board

and the town wetland inspector, who was then

also the town building inspector. [cite]. The

plaintiffs’ action concerns Fain’s postition as the

town’s wetland inspector subsequent to August 1,

2002. On August 1, 2002, at the urging of

chairwoman Jackie Dzaluk and other Planning

Board members, town Supervisor Thomas

Herzog appointed Fain as the town wetland

inspector, although such appointment violated

Town Law § 28, which mandated that the

wetland inspector must be a resident of the town

appointing him. The contract also states that

beginning August 1, 2002, Fain would work as

“an independent contractor” with duties of

investigating complaints of wetland violations,

28

issuing notices of violations and providing

testimony before the Planning Board. Herzog

recalled that although he signed the contract, it

was the Planning Board who actually hired

Fain, as “Fain was their boy, they want to

continue working with Jay” (Herzog:79) and did

not consider anyone else. Id., even though the

Board was aware that Fain resided in

Connecticut and therefore under State law was

not eligible to be appointed as wetland inspector .

Furthermore, on February 8, 2007, Ms. Gennimi filed a

request for Judicial Notice of the Town’s admission that

it was in violation of Town Law § 23 “for years”. Given

Ms. Gennimi’s repeated arguments that the town’s

appointment of Mr. Fain as wetlands inspector

implicated Town Law § 23, the arguments were not

raised for the first time at the Second Circuit level and

should have been addressed by the court.

B. Certiorari is warranted because the

decision below converting the “special

needs” into a “serious needs” conflicts with

this Court’s decision and the decisions of

other circuits

In this case, the courts below condoned the

warrantless administrative search of the curtilage of a

private residence in reliance upon the special needs

exception articulated in Palmieri v. Lynch, 392 F.3d 73

(2d Cir. 2004), in contravention of the decisions of every

other Circuit Court of Appeals in this nation and, as

well, the decisions of this Court. The courts below

lowered the “special needs” bar to the “serious needs”

requirement, impermissibly extending the _ special

29

needs exception to any neighbors’ complaints alleging

wetlands violations.

Before the special needs exception can be

invoked, a need beyond the normal need for law

enforcement must make the warrant and probable-

cause requirement impracticable because the delay

inherent in obtaining a warrant would make it more

difficult for probation officials to respond quickly to

evidence of misconduct (citation omitted) and would

reduce the deterrent effect that the possibility of

expeditious searches would otherwise create (citation

omitted) (Griffin v. Wisconsin, 483 U.S. 868, 873-74, 107

S. Ct. 3164 (1987).). Therefore, under Griffin, absent

some urgency to perform a search without a warrant

and a concomitant need to deter criminal activity, there

can exist no special need beyond the normal need for

law enforcement, particularly where, as here, Mr. Fain

conducted ongoing, numerous administrative searches

of the property of an ordinary resident not accused of

any crime but only because the neighbors called and

complained of wetland violations in connection with her

husband’s construction of a fence.

The courts below ruled that the town only

needed to have a serious need (rather than a “special

need’’) that outweighed the petitioner's expectation of

privacy. However, application of this exception

requires a threshold analysis whether there exists any

serious need, and it cannot be assumed that every

governmental regulation gives birth to a serious need .

Even if the town had a legitimate serious need beyond

the normal need for law enforcement to make the

warrant and probable-cause requirement impracticable,

the inquiry does not end there since even where a court

30

concludes that a statute or program qualifies as a

“special need,” beyond the normal need for law

enforcement, the reasonableness of the intrusion must

still be evaluated tarough a balancing analysis. “The

search as actually conducted [must be] reasonably

related in scope to the circumstances which justified

the interference in the first place.” New Jersey v.

T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325, 341, 105 S.Ct. 733 (1985).

The Nature and Immediacy of _ the

Government's Interest:

The nature of the government's interest does not

warrant application of the serious needs exception and

the courts below did not recite a single legitimate

governmental interest that would have _ been

compromised had the warrantless administrative

searches of the petitioner's property not taken place.

Although the courts below perceived an interest on the

part of respondent to perform a regulatory inspection

in order to protect the wetlands, no reason is given why

such interest is, in any way, compromised unless

petitioner's Fourth Amendment protections are

compromised. No cogent reason has been presented

why observing the warrant and probable-cause

requirement would have been impracticable, especially

since the case involved the construction of a fence that

took place over a period of several years, from 2004 to

2006. No reason has been suggested as to how

continuously violating petitioner's Fourth Amendment

rights in any way protects the wetlands, especially

since the wetlands inspector Jay Fain admitted that he

did not know where the wetlands boundaries were and

that the house should be used as a benchmark.

31

The courts below did not indicate that there

existed an immediate need to inspect petitioner's

property, especially since Mr. Fain resided out of town

and only searched the Gennimi property a day or more

after the neighbors lodged the original complaints. It

would logically follow that no governmental interest

would be at stake requiring any court to condone

respondents' repeated violation of petitioner's Fourth

Amendment protections; and there existed no reason

for Mr. Fain to forego the warrant requirement of the

Fourth Amendment._Safford Unified School District v.

Redding, 129 S. Ct. 2633 (2009); Board of Education v.

Earls, 536 U.S. 822, 836, 122 S. Ct. 2559 (2002); ; Griffin

v. Wisconsin, supra. at 483 U.S. 876.

Nature of the Privacy Interest Upon Which the

Search Intrudes:

Unquestionably, the curtilage of petitioner's

home was entitled to the most stringent Fourth

Amendment protection. The courts below minimized

the intrusion that occurred by characterizing it as

“minimally invasive insofar as they were of wetlands or

abutting areas, not of plaintiffs’ homes” and thus that

Gennimi had a diminished expectation of privacy. This

conclusion misstated facts that are critical to an

appropriate analysis of petitioner's Fourth Amendment

protections. Mr. Fain repeatedly testified at hearings

that he “had inspected the house” and its immediate

surroundings. Such surroundings constitute the

“curtilage” of the home and should be afforded the same

“Fourth Amendment protections that attach to the

home”. Palmieri, 392 F.3d at 94 (quoting United States

v. Dunn, 480 U.S. 294, 301, 107 S.Ct. 1134 (1987); see

also Oliver v. United States, 466 U.S. 170, 180, 104 S.Ct.

32

1735 (1984). Mr. Fain’s repeated inspection of the house

and its curtilage over a period of four years (2002-2006)

in response to neighbors’ complaints raised serious

Fourth Amendment concerns that cannot’ be

characterized as de minimus. Camara v. Municipal

Court of San Francisco, 387 U.S. 523, 530-31, 87 S. Ct.

1727 (1967) (even the most law-abiding citizen has a

very tangible interest in limiting the circumstances

under which the sanctity of his home may be broken by

official authority).

The Second Circuit’s decision trivializing the

repeated searches of Ms. Gennimi’s property conflicts

with other circuits’ precedents and the decisions of this

Court. The courts below held that petitioner had a

diminished expectation of privacy in the curtilage

around her home which is abutting “wetlands”. This

conclusion fails not only because petitioner is the owner

of the dwelling and the purported wetlands, but also

because it fails to afford sufficient weight to the fact

that Mr. Fain physically entered upon petitioner's

property and did not merely conduct a visual inspection

from a public road, a public waterway, public airspace,

or some other location where he ha[d] a right to be.

California v. Ciraolo, 476 U.S. 207, 218, 106 S. Ct. 1809

(1986). Rather he conducted his’ warrantless

administrative search on petitioner's property where

he had no right to be, and looked into the house through

windows.

Private areas of a home or curtilage visible to

members of the public are not protected from

inspection by governmental agents provided that they

do not enter upon the property and that they view such

private areas from a permissible vantage point such as

33

a public road or waterway. California v. Ciraolo, 476

U.S. 207 (1986); Dow Chemical Co. v. United States, 476

U.S. 227, 106 S. Ct. 1819 (1986).

Thus, if a person's living room can be seen from

the street by passers-by through a glass window, that

fact alone cannot permit entry into the home by

governmental agents because physical entry upon the

property is much more intrusive than a mere visual

inspection from the periphery (Dow Chemical Co. v.

United States, supra. at 237 (finding that aerial

inspection of area in question was permissible but

stating that “[a]ny actual physical entry by [the] EPA

into any enclosed area would raise significantly

different questions”); United States v. Hatfield, 333

F.3d 1189, 1198 (10% Cir. 2003);(explaining that if the

officer had “physically invaded the curtilage to make

his observation, that would have constituted a search

subject to the proscriptions of the Fourth Amendment”

); United States v. Jenkins, 124 F.3d 768, 774 (6 Cir.

1997)( “Visual inspection from a lawful vantage point,

however, is quite different from the physical assault on

defendants' backyard that occurred in this case”);

Florida v. Riley, 488 U.S. 445, 449, 109 S. Ct. 693 (1989)

({Tlhe home and its curtilage are not necessarily

protected from inspection that involves no physical

invasion As a general proposition, the police may see

what may be seen from a public vantage point where

[they have] a right to be’”” ); California v. Ciraolo, supra.

at 476 US. 213:

(“The Fourth Amendment protection of the

home has never been extended to require law

enforcement officers to shield their eyes when

passing by a home on public thoroughfares. Nor

34

does the mere fact that an individual has taken

measures to restrict some views of his activities

preclude an officer's observations from a public

vantage point where he has a right to be...” ).

In this case, Mr. Fain did not view petitioner's

backyard from a public road but rather entered upon

petitioner's property in order to view her backyard.

The overly dismissive view by the courts below that

the physical intrusion that occurred in this case was

justified because of the “government’s interests in

protecting natural resources” trivializes the importance

of the Fourth Amendment protections at stake and

illustrates the perils of defining “wetlands” as any area

that could possibly grow wetland vegetation. The fact

that the warrantless administrative inspection at issue

in this case involved a potential wetland does nothing to

excuse the constitutional violation, as determined by

the courts below, but rather exacerbates it, since it was

based on the vague definition of “wetland” discussed

above. See Camara, supra, at 387 U.S. at 531 (“the

possibility of criminal entry under the guise of official

sanction is a serious threat to personal and family

security”). Moreover, application of the “plain view”

doctrine to the facts of this case is impermissible absent

an allegation that petitioner was involved in criminal

activity.

The decision relied upon for the exceptionally

attenuated rationalization that the government’s

intrusion did not rise to a constitutional level in part

because it was de minimis ignored the fact that Mr.

Fain repeatedly searched the Gennimi’s property for

four years every time Mr. Fain received a complaint

from the neighbors. Such systematic searches could not

35

possibly be “de minimis,” especially when Mr. Fain took

pictures to be used in convicting Gennimi of wetlands

violations.

The fence was installed to prevent Mr. Fain’s

searches

The Second Circuit affirmed the Report’s finding

that “there is no indication in the record that any of the

plaintiffs went to the lengths of the plaintiff in Palmieri

(stockade fences and “keep out” signs) in preventing a

visual inspection of his property.” As discussed above,

the lower courts failed to give full faith and credit to

the State Supreme Court’s ruling that Ms. Gennimi was

fined $25,000 for installing a fence surrounding her

property. The sole reason for installing such fence was

to keep Mr. Fain and other town officials from

searching her property. Mr. Fain’s repeated searches

were not, as the Second Circuit affirmed, mere state

“trespass.” The decisions of the courts below also

represent a significant and unjustified departure from

the New York Court of Appeals case of Sokolov v.

Village of Freeport, 52 N.Y.2d 341, 488 N.Y.S.2d 257

(1981), which held that a local government’s intrusion

upon a citizen's property under color of law in order to

perform an illegal inspection as a condition precedent to

its issuance of a permit is impermissible.

The Second Circuit decision constitutes such a

radical departure from Supreme Court precedent, state

law and other Circuits’ case law, and in effect forces

homeowners like Gennimi to shutter their windows and

completely enclose their backyards with fences, or

surrender the privacy they enjoy in their homes and

curtilage. That Gennimi did install such a fence all

36

around her house and backyard and was fined for

wetland violations related to the fence installation

illustrate the implications of the Town’s vague

Wetlands law defining “wetland” as any soil that “may”

harbor wetland vegetation. In view of the manifest

error of the Second Circuit’s Fourth Amendment

analysis with respect to Gennimi’s property, and the

conflicts between the Circuits involving the proper

scope of searches of houses and their immediate

surroundings, this Court may wish to consider

summary reversal.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should grant the

petition for writ of certiorari. The Court may also wish

to consider summary reversal.

Alexandra T. Manbeck,

Counsel of Record,

4531 University Avenue,

San Diego, CA 92105

(619) 573-8139

la

(any footnotes trail end of each document)

No. 08-1543-cv

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETER C. MANBECK, DOES 1-1000, JOHN

ANONYMOUS, BRUCE CASCIO, EFRAIN

CUBIDES, CAROL DURANTE, JAY DURANTE,

WENDY GENNIMI, DAVID GUTTERMUTH,

LYNN GUTTERMUTH, JERILYNN HAGAN,

MICHAEL HONIG, ROGER MOISTER JR., Trustee,

MARK MOSELLO, MARY CLARK, individually and

on behalf of all others similarly situated, DANIEL

PRITCHARD, individually and on behalf of all others

similarly situated and GEORGE SHAW, individually

and on behalf of all others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

SIRO CORTINA, LUIGI IMPERIA and GORAN

DJORDJEVSKI, individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

MARK CLARK, individually and on behalf of all others

similarly situated and DAVID S. OLTMAN,

individually and on behalf of all others similarly

situated,

Consolidated-Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

TOWN OF LEWISBORO, JAMES NORDGREN,

Town Supervisor, individually and in his official

capacity, PETER BARRETT, Deputy Building

Inspector, and other unnamed Building Inspectors,

individually and in their official capacity, JAY FAIN,

2a

Wetland Inspector, individually and in his official

capacity, Planning Board, JACQUELINE DZALUK,

JOSEPH DECAMINADA, Member of the Planning

Board, individually and in his official capacity,

FREIDA HALPERN, Member of the Planning Board,

individually and in her. official capacity, MAUREEN

MAGUIRE, individually and in her official capacity,

P_J. ROSSI, individually and in his official capacity,

WILLIAM CARGAIN, CONSERVATION

ADVISORY COUNCIL, BUILDING

DEPARTMENT, ALLEN HERSHOWITZ, Town

Councilman, individually and in his official capacity,

JAY FAIN & ASSOCIATES, L.L.C., VINCENT

VETRANO, former Chairman of the Planning Board,

individually and in his official capacity, Conservation

Advisory Council and MARK PATEK, Chairman of the

Conservation Advisory Council individually and in his

official capacity,

Defendants-Appellees,

WILLIAM AGRESTA, Consolidated-Defendant-

Appellee.

May 29, 2009, Decided

NOTICE: PLEASE REFER TO FEDERAL RULES

OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE RULE 32.1

GOVERNING THE CITATION TO UNPUBLISHED

OPINIONS.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York (Charles L. Brieant,

Judge; George A. Yanthis, Magistrate Judge).

COUNSEL: APPEARING FOR APPELLANTS:

NICK FIORE, Pound Ridge, New York

3a

ALEXANDRA T. MANBECK, Cross River, New

York.

ROBERT I. GOODMAN, Rye Brook, New York.

APPEARING FOR APPELLEES: JAMES A.

RANDAZZO, Santangelo Randazzo & Mangone, LLP,

Hawthorne, New York.

DANIEL E. O'NEILL, Boeggeman, George & Corde,

P.C., White Plains, New York.

PRESENT: HONORABLE JOSEPH M.

McLAUGHLIN, HONORABLE REENA RAGGI,

Circuit Judges, HONORABLE JANE A. RESTANI,

Judge. *

SUMMARY ORDER

UPON DUE CONSIDERATION, IT IS HEREBY

ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED that the

district court's March 25, 2008 judgment is

AFFIRMED.

Plaintiffs appeal from the district court's March 25,

2008 judgment, which adopts the magistrate judge's

March 4, 2008 recommendation that summary judgment

be granted in favor of defendants on plaintiffs' claims

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983; the Racketeer Influenced and

Corrupt Organizations Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968; the

Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1951(a); and numerous New

York state laws. The claims arise from defendants’

enforcement of certain local laws concerning the

protection of wetlands. See Lewisboro, N.Y., Wetlands

4a

and Watercourses Law, L.L. No. 1 (2004); Lewisboro,

N.Y., Wetlands and Watercourses Law, L.L. No. 3

(1995). The three groups of plaintiffs raise numerous

claims of error in more than 330 pages of opening briefs,

none of which has any merit, and many of which raise

only issues of state law not cognizable under § 1983. See

Sybalski v. Indep. Group Home Living Program, Inc.,

546 F.3d 255, 257 (2d Cir. 2008) (noting that under §

1983 plaintiff must show deprivation of "rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution

and laws" of the United States). We assume the parties'

familiarity with the facts and procedural history, which

we reference only as necessary to explain our decision.

"We review a district court's grant of summary

judgment de novo, construing the evidence in the light

most favorable to the non-moving party and drawing all

reasonable inferences in that party's favor."

Mathirampuzha v. Potter, 548 F.3d 70, 74 (2d Cir. 2008)

(alterations omitted) (quoting Allianz Ins. Co. v.

Lerner, 416 F.3d 109, 113 (2d Cir. 2005)). We will affirm

a grant of summary judgment only where the record

presents "no genuine issue as to any material fact." Fed.

R. Civ. P. 56(c).

As to at least one issue, the district court appears to

have applied a "clearly erroneous" standard of review,

rather than de novo review as required by 28 U.S.C. §

636(b)(1) and Fed. R. Civ. P. 72(b). See Manbeck v.

Town of Lewisboro, No. 05-4576, 2008 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

109120, *4 (S.D.N.Y. Mar. 24, 2008). Nevertheless, this

error was harmless because there was no material

factual dispute such that the difference in the standard

of review would affect the outcome. See Fed. R. Civ. P.

61.

5a

Turning to the merits of plaintiffs' claims, we have little

difficulty concluding that summary judgment was

correctly entered in favor of defendants on the core

complaint that plaintiffs were deprived of due process.

The "pre-deprivation" hearing afforded defendants

prior to imposition of the challenged fines by the

Planning Board, coupled with the availability of a "post-

deprivation" Article 78 proceeding to challenge any

allegedly illegal action by the Planning Board satisfies

the requirements of the Due Process Clause. See

Rivera-Powell v. New York City Bd. of Elections, 470

F.3d 458, 466-67 (2d Cir. 2006) (collecting cases and

noting that "at least some form of pre-deprivation

hearing” together with adequate post-deprivation

hearing satisfied Due Process Clause). Accordingly, we

reject each of plaintiffs’ due process arguments,

including those faulting (1) the town for contracting

with a private corporation to do wetlands inspections

and with an attorney advisor, (2) the Planning Board

for "prejudg{ing]" plaintiffs' claims, because the Board

has a pecuniary interest in finding violations; and (3)

the Planning Board for relying on the findings of its

inspector.’

Summary judgment was also properly entered in favor

of defendants on Plaintiffs’ Fourth Amendment claims

because, as in Palmieri v. Lynch, (1) the plaintiffs had

significantly diminished expectations of privacy

because they had applied for construction permits, see

392 F.3d 73, 83 (2004), or (2) the challenged inspections

were "minimally invasive" insofar as they were of

wetlands or abutting areas, not of plaintiffs' homes, see

id. at 84, or both; and (3) the government has a "serious"

interest in protecting natural resources, see id. at 84-85.

6a

Plaintiffs’ selective prosecution and "class of one" claims

under the Equal Protection Clause fare no better. The

selective prosecution claim fails as a matter of law

because plaintiffs’ have not demonstrated that

defendants possessed "malicious or bad faith intent" to

injure them. Cobb v. Pozzi, 363 F.3d 89, 110 (2d Cir.

2004). Plaintiffs’ class of one claim fails because

defendants’ pursuit of violations of the wetlands law

was rationally related to the legitimate goals of the

town wetlands department. See Bizzarro v. Miranda,

394 F.3d 82, 88-89 (2d Cir. 2005) ("[A Jn Olech-type [class

of one] equal protection claim focuses on whether the

official's conduct was rationally related to the

accomplishment of the work of their agency.").?

For the reasons stated in the magistrate judge's report,

adopted in full by the district court, we conclude that

plaintiffs’ following claims also fail as a matter of law:

(1) the wetlands laws are unconstitutionally vague as

applied to plaintiffs; (2) the process by which the

Gutermuths and Shaw acknowledged having violated

the relevant law raises constitutional issues; (3) the civil

fines imposed by defendants violate the Eighth

Amendment; (4) Gennimi was deprived of substantive

due process rights when defendants denied her request

for a building permit.

Finally, to the extent plaintiffs challenge the district

court's decision not to assert supplemental jurisdiction

over plaintiffs’ state law claims, we conclude that the

district court did not abuse its discretion in so ruling.'

See Valencia ex rel. Franco v. Lee, 316 F.3d 299, 305 (2d

Cir. 2003) ("[I]n the usual case in which all federal-law

claims are eliminated before trial, the balance of factors

to be considered under the pendent jurisdiction

Ta

doctrine . . .will point toward declining to exercise

jurisdiction over the remaining state-law claims.").

We have considered all of the plaintiffs' remaining

arguments and conclude that they are uniformly lacking

in merit. Accordingly the district court's award of

summary judgment in favor of defendants is

AFFIRMED.

Footnotes

*The Honorable Jane A. Restani, Chief Judge of the

United States Court of International Trade, sitting by

designation.

1Plaintiffs also argue that defendants violated one or

more plaintiffs' due process rights by (1) failing to

maintain hearing records; (2) failing to issue .Peter

Manbeck a certificate of occupancy for construction of,

inter alia, a tennis court; (8) finding Wendy Gennimi

"guilty of charges not listed in the summons"; and (4)

not according Gennimi "voir dire” when she admitted to

the violation before the board, thereby rendering her

admission constitutionally suspect because it was not

knowingly, voluntarily and _ intelligently made.

Although it appears that we need not consider these

claims because plaintiffs failed to raise them before the

district court, see In re Nortel Networks Corp. Sec.

Litig., 539 F.3d 129, 133 (2d Cir. 2008), we note that our

resolution of those due process claims plaintiffs did

raise would, in any event, require us to reject these

claims.

2Gennimi suggests in her brief to this court that

defendants pursued her for wetlands violations in an

8a

attempt to drive her out of town because of her race.

Gennimi did not plead this allegation in her complaint

and raised it for the first time in opposition to

defendants' motion for summary judgment. Whether it

was properly raised before the district court or not, we

have no trouble rejecting Gennimi's claim of racial

discrimination as conclusory and without any

admissible evidentiary support in the record. See

Rivera-Powell v. New York City Bd. of Elections, 470

F.3d 458, 470 (2d Cir. 2006).

1Plaintiffs also argue that (1) defendants violated Town

Law § 23 because the town's wetlands inspector was

not a resident of Lewisboro; and (2) the town's denial of

Gennimi's request for a building permit was arbitrary

and capricious. We decline to consider these state-law

arguments raised for the first time on appeal. See In re

Nortel Networks Corp. Sec. Litig., 589 F.3d at 133.

9a

05 Civ. 4576 (CLB) (GAY)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

PETER MANBECK, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

- against —

TOWN OF LEWISBORGO, et al.,

Defendants.

2008 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 109120

March 24, 2008, Decided

Memorandum and Order

Brieant, J.

Before this Court for consideration is the Report and

Recommendation of the Hon. George A. Yanthis,

United States Magistrate Judge, filed March 4, 2008

and Objections to the Report and Recommendation

filed by Plaintiffs, received by this Court on March 20,

2008. Familiarity therewith on the part of the reader is

assumed

The Report of the Magistrate Judge recommends the

granting of a long pending Summary Judgment motion.

The Magistrate Judge concluded, essentially as a

matter of law, that the motion should be granted and all

10a

claims against Defendants in this long pending

litigation should be dismissed.

The Objections raise essentially a dispute over issues of

law, and lend themselves more readily to a direct

appeal to the Second Circuit rather than reargument of

the issues visited by the Magistrate Judge. The first

point raised concerns the alleged failure of the

Magistrate Judge to give preclusive effect to the

Ridgeway case, Index No. 94-8987, decided by the

Westchester County Supreme Court on Federal

Constitutional grounds, as well as the opinion of the

New York Attorney General concerning the issues

resolved in Ridgeway. The latter is mentioned in the

Report of the Magistrate Judge. The Ridgeway case is

only part of an extensive Federal and State

jurisprudence relevant to the Constitutional claims in

this litigation, and does not present a basis for rejecting

the Report and Recommendation.

Further, the Objections tend to blur the _ distinction

between the charges of wetland violations, and the

evidence or arguments at the Town hearings. The

mixed conclusion of law and fact by the Magistrate

Judge, that adequate notice was given is not clearly

erroneous.

Insofar as concerns the State causes of action raised by

Plaintiffs, it is the ordinary practice to defer to the

State Courts where the only basis for subject matter

jurisdiction is our supplemental jurisdiction over State

claims having the same nucleus of fact as valid Federal

claims and if the Federal claims are dismissed out of

the case, it is better practice to dismiss the State claims

without prejudice and allow them to be adjudicated in

the State Courts.

lla

The other points raised have been considered by the

Court and do not lead to a rejection or modification of

the Report and Recommendation. The Report and

Recommendation is adopted as the decision of the

District Court. The Objections are disapproved. The

Clerk shall file a final judgment’ and terminate all

motions pending as of March 24, 2008 as moot and close

the case.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: White Plains, New York

March 24, 2008

/s/ Charles L. Brieant

Charles L. Brieant, U.S.D_J.

12a

05 Civ. 4576 (CLB)(GAY)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

PETER MANBECK, et al,

Plaintiffs,

-against-

TOWN OF LEWISBORO, et al, Defendants.

March 4, 2008, Decided

GEORGE A. YANTHIS, United States Magistrate

Judge. HONORABLE CHARLES L. BRIEANT,

United States District Judge.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

TO THE HONORABLE CHARLES L. BRIEANT,

United States District Judge:

Plaintiffs commenced this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 and related New York state laws. Plaintiffs

claim that: (1) the Town's wetlands law is

unconstitutionally vague and violates the void-for-

vagueness doctrine, (2) the Town's wetlands law is

unconstitutionally vague as applied to the individual

plaintiffs, (3) the penalties provided for in the

violations sections of the wetlands law is prohibited by

the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment,

(4) the planning board's jurisdiction over wetlands

violations violates the Equal Protection Clause, (5) the

wetlands law does not permit those charged with

violations to be represented by counsel in violation of

l3a

the Sixth Amendment, (6) the wetlands law does not

afford those charged with violations due process, and

(7) the wetlands law provide for searches in violation

of the Fourth Amendment.

On June 8, 2005 a first amended complaint was filed.

After the court ordered that a second amended

complaint be stricken, plaintiffs' counsel filed a second

related action, with four additional plaintiffs. That case

was consolidated with the first.

Presently before this Court are the parties’ motions

for summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure ("FRCP"). For the

reasons set forth below, I respectfully recommend that

the plaintiffs’ motions be DENIED and_ the

defendants' motions be GRANTED.

I. PLAINTIFF'S FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS

The following facts—taken in the light most favorable

to plaintiff—are gleaned from the parties' statements

pursuant to Local Civil Rule 56.1 of the United States

District Courts for the Southern and Eastern Districts

of New York, from the pleadings and from affidavits

and affirmations:

A. Jay and Carol Durante

On March 23, 2005 Jay Fain ("Fain"), responding to a

complaint, inspected the Durante property on Autumn

Ridge road. After the inspection he determined that

the Durantes had cut down trees in a wetlands buffer

area and deposited the resulting wood chips in a

wetlands buffer area without a wetlands permit in

violation of the town wetlands law. Fain issued a stop

work order. Fain also issued a notice of wetland

14a

activity violation and a planning board summons which

were served on the plaintiffs. The summons included a

notice that they had a right to be represented by an

attorney at the scheduled hearing. By letter from the

planning board secretary, plaintiffs were advised that

they could be represented by counsel at the scheduled

hearing, present evidence on their own behalf and

cross examine witnesses. Carol Durante appeared at

the hearing without her husband and without counsel.

Fain and Carol Durante testified at the hearing. After

deliberation, the planning board adopted a resolution

finding that there was no violation regarding the tree

cutting but found a violation with regard to the

depositing of wood chips in a protected wetlands

buffer. Plaintiffs were assessed a civil penalty of $

500.00 and directed to prepare and implement a

restoration plan. Plaintiffs received the resolution,

have never paid the civil penalty, and never sought

judicial review of the decision of the planning board. .

B. Lynn and David Gutermuth

In 2002 the plaintiffs submitted an application to build

a pool on their property on Todd Hill Circle. As part of

the application process, Fain inspected the site and

observed that plaintiffs had already cleared and

stacked some brush on their property. As a result, on

January 3, 2003 Fain issued a notice of wetland

activity violation. By summons issued January 31, 2003

plaintiffs were directed to appear before the planning

board. The summons included a notice that they had a

right to be represented by an attorney at the

scheduled hearing. By letter from the planning board

secretary, plaintiffs were advised that they could be

represented by counsel at the scheduled hearing,

15a

present evidence on their own behalf and cross

examine witnesses. On April 22, 2003 . David

Gutermuth appeared at the public hearing with

counsel. At the hearing, plaintiffs admitted, through

counsel, that work was done in a regulated and deed

restricted area without permit and offered information

in mitigation. As a result the planning board imposed a

$ 250.00 civil penalty and directed that a restoration

plan be submitted and implemented. Plaintiffs have

never sought judicial review or reconsideration of the

planning board's determination.

C. Geoffrey Shaw

In 2000 the town's Zoning Board of Appeals granted

Mr. Shaw a special permit allowing the temporary

storage of contractor's equipment on his property. The

permit was to be renewed every two years; and was in

2002 and in 2004. Prior to the renewal in 2004,

neighbors of Mr. Shaw complained to the building

department that he was storing equipment and

materials not permitted under the special permit.

Based upon the complaints, Mr. Barrett, the building

inspector, inspected the property in connection with

the special permit. The building department issued an

order to remedy violation. Mr. Shaw admitted that he

was storing rock, wood chips, and culvert pipe on his

property.

After further complaints, Fain issued a notice of

wetland activity violation alleging that plaintiff was

dumping, grading, excavating and storing construction

equipment in a wetland or wetland buffer area. The

summons included a notice that they had a right to be

represented by an attorney at the scheduled hearing.

By letter from the planning board secretary, plaintiffs

16a

were advised that they could be represented by

counsel at the scheduled hearing, present evidence on

their own behalf and cross examine witnesses. Plaintiff

then secured a renewal of his special permit from the

Town zoning board of appeals, valid for a period of six

months.

Plaintiff appeared before the planning board on

January 25, 2005 without an attorney. During his

appearance Mr. Shaw admitted to the grading

allegation. As a result, the planning board imposed a $

500.00 civil penalty and directed that a restoration plan

be submitted and implemented. Plaintiffs have never

sought judicial review or reconsideration of the

planning board's determination.

D. Peter Manbeck

On February 26, 2004 plaintiff submitted plans to build

a swimming pool to the building department. The plans

were approved by the building department and

stamped with the legend: "pool not to be filled until

enclosure is completed." In October of 2004, building

inspector Peter Barrett ("Barrett") conducted a

routine inspection of the work in progress. During the

inspection, Barrett noticed that the Manbecks were

filling their pool although the enclosure was not yet in

place. Barrett discussed the situation with Mrs.

Manbeck and allowed her to temporarily safeguard the

pool with orange nylon construction fence until the

permanent enclosure was complete.

In February of 2005 Barrett conducted another

routine inspection of the ongoing construction. During

the inspection, plaintiffs contractors informed him of

the existence of a treehouse on the property. As a

17a

result, Barrett issued an order to remedy as the

treehouse 2d been built without the requisite building

permit. Barrett also advised Mrs. Manbeck to apply

for a building permit.

Fain conducted a routine inspection of the Manbeck

property in connection with the application for the

building permit for the treehouse. During the

inspection Fain determined that the treehouse was

built in a wetlands buffer area without a permit. As a

result, plaintiff was issued with a summons and notice

to answer charges of violating the town wetlands law.

The summons included a notice that they had a right to

be represented by an attorney at the scheduled

hearing.

During an April 28, 2005 inspection of the work in

progress, Barrett observed that a fifteen foot section

of the temporary fence had been removed. Barrett

immediately posted a stop work order, specifying that

no work be done on the premises until the missing

fence was replaced. On the same day, Fain issued two

additional violation notices for building a shed in the

wetlands setback without a wetlands permit and for

the clearing and grading of half an acre of forest within

the wetlands buffer. In connection with the later

charge Fain issued another stop work order.

At the hearing on May 10, 2005, Plaintiff told the

planning board that he had removed the treehouse. As

a result, that charge was withdrawn. It was also

confirmed that the summons and notices for the other

two violations had been returned to the planning board

secretary as unclaimed. During the hearing Ms.

Manbeck attempted to serve the planning board

members with a federal complaint and the hearing was

18a

adjourned. To date the hearing has not been concluded

and the planning board has not issued any

determination in the Manbeck matter.

E. Wendy Gennimi

On September 19, 2002 Fain, in response to neighbor

complaints, inspected the Gennimi property on Lower

Salem road. Fain observed that plaintiff was building a

stone wall in a wetlands area without a wetlands

permit. Fain issued a stop work order and a summons

and notice of wetlands activity violation. The summons

included a notice that they- had a right to be

represented by an attorney at the scheduled hearing.

By letter from the planning board secretary, plaintiff

was advised that she could be represented by counsel

at the scheduled hearing. On November 26, 2002,

plaintiff and her husband Mr. Schliman appeared and

admitted that they had worked in the regulated area

without a permit. They apologized and requested that

the stop work order be lifted. The planning board

adopted a resolution assessing a $ 1500.00 civil penalty

and directed that a restoration plan be submitted and

implemented and that plaintiff apply for the required

wetlands permit.

Plaintiff failed to pay the civil penalty and failed to

submit the required restoration plan. Mr. Schliman

appeared in response to another summons which

informed him of his right to be represented by counsel.

Mr. Schliman admitted that the planning board's

conditions had not been implemented. As a result, the

planning board adopted a resolution similar to the

previous resolution but also requiring that a stone wall

be constructed on the property pursuant to a plan

19a

approved by the wetlands inspector. A wetlands

permit for the work was issued and then extended.

Fain conducted a routine investigation of the of the

property on May 13, 2004 and observed that plaintiff

had failed to comply and was performing additional

excavation without the required permit. Fain then

issued a stop work order.

Plaintiff appeared on July 27, 2004 pursuant to another

summons which informed him of his right to be

represented by counsel. At this time plaintiff

requested an adjournment so that she might obtain

counsel. ‘Ihe hearing was adjourned for such purpose.

On Gctober 12, 2004 plaintiff and her husband

appeared without counsel. Mr. Schliman admitted to

failing to comply with planning board resolutions.

Based upon the admissions, the planning board

adopted a resolution which found four separate

violations and imposed four separate civil penalties

totaling $ 25,000. Plaintiff received the resolution, read

it and understood it.

Plaintiff filed a pro se Article 78 proceeding to

challenge the amount of the fine imposed. When

directed by the State to appear, plaintiff did not

appear. Subsequently, the Article 78 proceeding was

dismissed.

In April of 2005 another summons and notice of

wetland activity violation was served on plaintiffs for

allowing sewage from her house to discharge directly

into a protected area. The septic was repaired and the

violation was withdrawn.

F.. Mary Clark

20a

On February 17, 2000 Ms. Clark was issued a summons

and three notices of wetland activity violation for

working on two lots with heavy machinery without a

wetlands permit. At the public hearing plaintiff was

represented by counsel. By resolution dated May 9,

2000, the planning board determined that plaintiff

committed the above three violations and imposed civil

penalties of $ 12,500 for each lot, totaling $ 25,000.

Ms. Clark challenged the planning board's

determination and penalty by way of an Article 78

proceeding. By decision, order, and judgment dated

January 9, 2002, the Supreme Court of the State of

New York, County of Westchester, overturned the

planning board's determination and remanded the

matter for further proceedings.

Thereafter Ms. Clark and the Town of Lewisboro

entered into a stipulation of settlement resolving all

issues related to the wetlands violations. As a

condition of the stipulation of settlement, Ms. Clark

agreed to withdraw her claims against the town in the

action and also agreed to pay a fine in the amount of $

7,000.

G. Daniel Pritchard

In September of 2002 Mr. Pritchard applied for a

wetlands activity permit to construct a poo! on his

property. Plaintiff subsequently appeared before the

planning board with counsel. During the review

process, it was discovered that plaintiffs house had

been constructed entirely within the wetlands buffer

without a permit. As a result, the planning board

requested that plaintiff legitimize his house, or bring it

into compliance with the town's wetlands law. After

Z2la

plaintiff agreed to legitimize his house, he withdrew

his application for the pool without the planning board

ever making a decision on the application. To this date

Mr. Pritchard has never been issued a notice of

wetlands activity violation. To this date Mr. Pritchard

has never challenged any finding of the planning

board.

H. David Oltman

In August, 2001 plaintiff met with Will Agresta, the

Town's planning and development consultant. The

purpose of the meeting was to discuss Oltman's

proposal to develop a 113 acre parcel located on Todd

Hill Road. At this time Oltman's proposed plan called

for a thirty acre parcel for his home, a seventy acre

donation of land for open space and subdivision of the

remaining acreage into five or six lots. Mr. Agresta

opined that the proposal was reasonable but could take

from one to two (1-2) years for the applicable boards to

approve.

Oltman initially submitted an application to the

planning board for a subdivision of two lots. Before the

planning board could consider the proposal, he

withdrew his application and resubmitted plans to

subdivide the parcel into five building lots and

incorporate conservation easements over 97.1 acres. In

May of 2003, Mr. Oltman prepared a _ revised

subdivision plan that provided for a seventy acre gift

to the town as open space. After several revisions, Mr.

Oltman entered into discussions with the NYC DEP

and by October of 2004 had agreed to sell them a

portion of the parcel. Due to this development, Mr.

Oltman again withdrew his five lot subdivision

22a

application and submitted a new proposed subdivision

application for two lots.

On March 22, 2005, the resolution issuing final

subdivision plat approval was adopted by the planning

board. On June 7, 2005 Mr. Oltman sold the 103 acre

parcel to a private entity, Todd Farm LLC.

Il. SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARD

Summary judgment is appropriate "if the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,

show that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law.” FRCP 56(c). Specifically,

the party seeking summary judgment has the burden

of demonstrating that no genuine issue respecting any

material fact exists. See LaFond v. General Physics

Servs. Corp., 50 F.3d 165, 171 (2d Cir. 1995). If the

moving party meets its burden, the burden shifts to

the opposing party to come forward with "specific facts

showing that there is a genuine issue for trial." FRCP

56(e). Where a plaintiff fails to establish an essential

element of her claim, "there can be no genuine issue as

to any material fact, since a complete failure of proof

concerning an essential element of the nonmoving

party's case necessarily renders all other facts

immaterial." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,

322-23, 106 S. Ct. 2548, 91 L. Ed. 2d 265 (1986)

(internal quotations and citations omitted).

When deciding a summary judgment motion, the court

must resolve all ambiguities and draw all factual

inferences in favor of the party opposing the motion.

See McPherson v. Coombe, 174 F.3d 276, 280 (2d Cir.

23a

1999). The question is whether, in light of the evidence,

a rational jury could find in favor of the nonmoving

party. See Gallo v. Prudential Residential Servs., Ltd.

Partnership, 22 F.3d 1219, 1224 (2d Cir. 1994).

Summary judgment must be denied, therefore, if the

court finds "there are any genuine factual issues that

properly can be resolved only by a finder of fact

because they may reasonably be resolved in favor of

either party." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S.

242, 250, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202 (1986).

Ill. CLAIMS THAT THE TOWN WETLANDS

LAW IS UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE

Plaintiffs claim that the definition of wetlands in the

Town wetlands law is unconstitutionally vague on its

face and as applied. Specifically, plaintiffs contrast the

Town wetlands law, which relies on written definitions

of wetlands, with the state and federal statutes, which

are only applicable to wetlands identified on agency

wetland maps.

"The clarity of a statute that does not involve First

Amendment freedoms is to be evaluated on an ‘as

applied’ basis." Ass'n of Intern. Auto Mfrs., Inc. v.

Abrams, 84 F.3d 602, 613-14 (2d Cir. 1996). As the

Town of Lewisboro's definition of wetlands does not

involve First Amendment rights, this Court should

limit itself to an analysis of the statute as applied to

each plaintiff.

Of the six plaintiffs who were charged with wetlands

law violations, five acknowledged in deposition that

they were aware of "wetlands" on their property

before the alleged violations occurred. Of these five,

the Gutermuth property was also subject to a

2Aa

wetlands deed restriction in the County land records.

The Durantes, the Manbecks, Mary Clark, and Mr.

Shaw also admit knowledge of a Town wetlands law.

Because these plaintiffs had actual knowledge of

wetlands on their property, a challenge that the

definition of wetlands contained in the Town wetlands

law is unconstitutionally vague as applied to these

plaintiffs is without merit. As landowners with actual

knowledge of wetlands on their property, these

plaintiffs are charged with knowledge of the statutory

provisions which affect. the control or disposition of

their property. Texaco v. Short, 454 U.S. 516, 102 S.

Ct. 781, 70 L. Ed. 2d 738 (1982); see also Drexler v.

New Castle, 62 N.Y.2d 418, 465 N.E.2d 836, 477

N.Y.S.2d 116 (1984) (New York Court of Appeals holds

that town may regulate wetlands which are not

mapped where plaintiff had actual knowledge of

wetlands on her property). Among the statutes which

affect the control or disposition of their property is the

Town wetlands law.

While Wendy Gennimi alone claimed to be ignorant of

any “wetlands” on her property before being charged

with wetlands law violations, her property borders

mapped State DEC wetlands. As_ such, the

identification of the controlling wetlands in this case

was not made pursuant to the allegedly vague

language in the Town wetlands law. Rather, it was

identified by the State and designated as such on the

State DEC map. As such, her property was also

subject to regulation by the New York State DEC.

Clearly, the definition of wetlands found in the Town

Wetlands law is neither applicable nor vague as

applied to this plaintiff.

25a

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to this claim, plaintiffs' motion should

be DENIED and defendants' motion should be

GRANTED.

IV. EIGHTH AMENDMENT EXCESSIVE

FINES CLAIM

Plaintiffs principally rely on two Supreme Court cases

to argue that civil penalties of the kind at issue here

are subject to the Eighth Amendment prohibition

against excessive fines. First, plaintiffs rely on Austin

v. United States, 509 U.S. 602, 113 S. Ct. 2801, 125 L.

Ed. 2d 488 (1993), in which the Supreme Court held

that, under certain circumstances, civil forfeiture

amounted to a monetary punishment subject to the

limitations of the Eighth Amendment. As the instant

matter does not deal with civil forfeiture, this case is of

limited use. Second, plaintiffs rely on United States v.

Halper, 490 U.S. 435, 109 S. Ct. 1892, 104 L. Ed. 2d 487

(1989), for the proposition that both civil and criminal

sanctions can be punitive and therefore subject to the

Eighth Amendment. As an initial matter, Halper deals

with the subject of criminal and civil sanctions within

the context of Double Jeopardy. Regardless, the

methodology laid out in Halper has been explicitly

abrogated by the Court in Hudson v. United States,

522 U.S. 93, 118 S. Ct. 488, 189 L. Ed. 2d 450 (1997).

Hudson, in sharp contrast with Halper, gives

considerable deference to the legislative intent and

specifically to the legislative characterization of a

sanction. In the present case, the wetlands law

specifically provides for both criminal penalties and

administrative civil penalties. As all of the plaintiffs

charged with wetlands violations were done so under

26a

the provision for civil penalties, the Court should at a

minimum give considerable weight to the Town's

characterization as such.

Outside of these two inapplicable cases, plaintiffs cite

no authority for the proposition that administrative

penalties of the sort challenged here are subject to the

Eighth Amendment. See New York State Federation

of Taxi Drivers, Inc. v. City of New York, 270 F. Supp.

2d 340 (E.D.N.Y. 2003).

Assuming, arguendo, that the Excessive Fines clause

does apply to administrative civil penalties in the same

way that it does to criminal penalties, plaintiffs would

have to show that the penalties levied were "grossly

disproportionate to the gravity of the offense.” United

States v. Bajakajian, 524 U.S. 321, 333, 118 S. Ct. 2028,

14i L. Ed. 2d 314 (1998). Of the six plaintiffs who were

charged with wetlands violations, only five were

assessed civil penalties. Of these five, three were

assessed penalties of $ 500.00 or less.

Of the remaining plaintiffs, Mary Clark was originally

assessed penalties totaling $ 25,000 for six violations,

but later entered into a stipulation of settlement and

agreed to pay $ 7,500. Wendy Gennimi has been

assessed civil penalties totaling $ 25,000 as a result of

four separate violations, each violation averaging less

than the $ 7,500 penalty allowed by the statute. The

total figure of $ 25,000 was only assessed after Ms.

Gennimi's repeated failure to remedy her initial

infraction and bring her property into compliance with

the Town's wetlands law. Under the circumstances,

plaintiff has not shown that such penalty is grossly

disproportionate to the gravity of the offense.

27a

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to this claim, plaintiffs' motion should

be DENIED and defendants’ motion should be

GRANTED.

V. EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIMS

Plaintiffs initially claim that the planning board's

jurisdiction over administrative wetlands violations

implicates the plaintiffs' equal protection rights. As all

administrative wetlands charges are heard before the

planning board and not in the town court, plaintiffs’

equal protection rights are not so implicated.

Plaintiffs next premise an equal protection claim on

the assertion that while the Town pursued wetlands

violations against six of the plaintiffs, it failed to

pursue wetlands violations against the School District,

the Town of Lewisboro Highway Department, and

Town resident and landowner Adam Rose (collectively

the "similarly situated").

As an initial matter, plaintiffs' equal protection claim

only implicates defendant Fain as the initiator of the

wetlands violation process. Individual defendants on

the planning board could hardly have pursued

wetlands charges against the alleged similarly situated

parties if Fain never initiated the charges. Defendant

municipality is also not implicated as the allegation

that Fain failed to charge three wetlands violators falls

well short of showing the policy or custom required to

invoke municipal liability. Monell v. Dep't of Soc.

Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 98 S. Ct. 2018, 56 L. Ed. 2d 611

(1978). In fact, plaintiffs do not allege that Fain acted

under a common motive when he failed to enforce the

28a

wetlands law against the similarly situated, let alone

that he was implementing a policy or custom.

Second, plaintiffs' comparison between plaintiffs, the

Highway Department and the School District is

misplaced. The wetlands law provides that the law can

only be enforced against a "person or property owner."

As neither the town itself nor the School district is a

person or property owner for the purposes of this law,

Fain as a wetlands inspector, lacked the jurisdiction to

initiate wetlands violations against these entities.

Therefore, any comparison between Fain's treatment

of these entities and his treatment of plaintiffs is

without effect.

With regard to Adam Rose, the remaining similarly

situated, plaintiffs advance two related equal

protection arguments to state a claim under the

-Fourteenth Amendment..

A. Selective Proseution

First, plaintiffs claim a denial of equal protection as a

result of having been subjected to a "selective

prosecution." Cobb v. Pozzi, 363 F.3d 89, 109 (2d Cir.

2004). To prevail on a claim of selective prosecution, a

plaintiff must "show both (1) that [she was] treated

differently from other similarly situated individuals,

and (2) that such differential treatment was based on

impermissible considerations such as race, religion,

intent to inhibit or punish the exercise of constitutional

rights, or malicious or bad faith intent to injure a

person.” Id. Selective enforcement is a "murky corner

of equal protection law in which there are surprisingly

few cases." LeClair v. Saunders, 627 F.2d 606, 608 (2d

Cir. 1980). A successful plaintiff must establish that

29a

the governmental actor. was motivated by reasons

wholly unrelated to any legitimate state objective, a

burden few are able to carry. Bizzarro v. Miranda, 394

F.3d 82, 86 (2d Cir. 2005).

Plaintiffs fail to establish the second prong of the

selective prosecution test. Plaintiffs make conclusory

allegations of Fain’s malicious intent towards them.

However, -they fail to provide any theory as to why

Fain harbored ill feelings with respect to the six

plaintiffs charged with wetlands violations. See Zahra

v. Town of Southold, 48 F.3d 674, 684 (2d Cir. 1995)

(conclusory allegations of malice without evidence of

such was insufficient to establish an equal protection

clam); Levy v. Alfano, 47 F. Supp. 2d 488, 496

(S.D.N.Y. 1999) (allegations that enforcement officer

was friends with complainant was insufficient to

establish malice). Neither do plaintiffs claim that they

are members of any uniform race, religion, sex, or

affiliation. Without such classification or evidence of

malicious intent, plaintiffs fail to establish the second

prong of the test. See Zahra, 48 F.3d at 684.

Regardless, plaintiffs have no fundamental right to

demand enforcement of the laws against their

neighbors. See Zahra, 48 F.3d at 684. "Equal

protection does not require that all evils of the same

genus be eradicated or none at all.” Id. Plaintiffs allege

that Fain failed to enforce the laws against Rose

because of Rose's undue influence within the Town

government, rather than because of any characteristic

of plaintiffs or their property. Plaintiffs' attempt to

describe how they were treated differently focuses

exclusively on Fain's alleged treatment of Rose.

Without a claim that they were singled out for the

enforcement of a law in such a way as to burden a

30a

constitutional right, plaintiffs do not allege a

cognizable constitutional deprivation. See, e.g.,

Panchura v. Ryan, No. Civ.A. 05-1299, 2006 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 13576, 2006 WL 840335, *2 (W.D.Pa Mar. 28,

2006).

B. Class of One Claim

Plaintiffs also advance a "class of one" claim which

relies on a "slightly different theory." Bizzarro, 394

F.3d at 86. A "class of one” may bring an equal

protection claim “where the plaintiff alleges that she

has been intentionally treated differently from others

similarly situated and that there is no rational basis for

the difference in treatment.” Village of Willowbrook v.

Olech, 528 U.S. 562, 564, 120 S. Ct. 1073, 145 L. Ed. 2d

1060 (2000). Unlike a selective enforcement claim, a

“class of one’ claim is not dependent on a [plaintiff's]

ability to prove that [she was] disciplined for an

impermissible reason." Cobb, 363 F.3d at 110. Rather,

this claim "focuses on whether the official's conduct

was rationally related to the accomplishment of the

work of their agency." Bizzarro, 394 F.3d at 88-89.

However, “class of one” does not "empower federal

courts to review government actions for correctness."

Id. at 88.

With regards to plaintiffs’ "class of one” argument, the

plaintiffs again fail to claim that they were

intentionally treated different from those similarly

situated—rather they claim Rose was the person

subject to the special treatment. The fact that the

plaintiffs number six and can only name one person

who was allegedly not prosecuted for his wetlands

violations is suggestive of this upside-down dynamic.

To the extent that plaintiffs maintain that they were

sla

singled out for adverse treatment because of the

malicious intent of Fain, they must prove that Fain

had no rational basis for treating them differently.

Bizzarro, 394 F.3d at 88-89; Cobb v. Pozzi, 363 F.3d 89,

108-9 (2d Cir. 2004). "If a jury could reasonably find

there was no rational basis for the defendants to

believe that initiating charges against these plaintiffs

could serve the legitimate goals of the [government

agency], a claim would lie.” Bizzarro, 394 F.3d at 89.

Clearly, a wetlands inspector has a rational basis to

believe that initiating charges against six wetlands

violators serves the legitimate goals of the Town

wetlands department. As was previously discussed, all

six plaintiffs eventually admitted to violating the

wetlands law. As such, a jury could not reasonably

believe that there was no rational basis for the

charges.

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to this claim, plaintiffs’ motion should

be DENIED and defendants' motion should be

GRANTED.

VI. SIXTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO COUNSEL

CLAIMS

The wetlands law permits those charged- with

violations to be represented by counsel. § 217-12

(A)(1Xe). Plaintiffs Guttermuth, Manbeck, Clark,

Oltman and Pritchard all appeared with counsel.

Although Gennimi, Durante, and Shaw appeared

without counsel, they all admit to being notified of

their right to be represented by counsel. In addition,

the wetlands law permits an alleged violator to

present evidence and to examine any witness. § 217-

12(A)(1)(c)and (d).

32a

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to this claim, plaintiffs’ motion should

be DENIED and defendants' motion should be

GRANTED.

V. DUE PROCESS

In the context of an administrative proceeding, due

process requires that plaintiffs be afforded notice and

an opportunity to be heard. Fuentes v. Shevin, 407

U.S. 67, 82, 92 S. Ct. 1983, 32 L. Ed. 2d 556 (1972). To

the extent that plaintiffs' due process rights were

violated by an _ intentional but unauthorized

deprivation of due process, the availability of an

Article 78 hearing satisfies this requirement. Indeed,

plaintiffs cite prominently to two such Article 78

decisions wherein the state courts recognized due

process violations by the Lewisboro Planning Board.

Plaintiffs advance three claims which allegedly

implicate plaintiffs' due process rights.

A. Claim that Circulation of Violation Summary by

Fain is a Deprivation of Due Process

Plaintiffs rely on Ridgeway v. Town of Lewisboro

Planning Board, 2003 N.Y. Op. Atty. Gen. 1105, 2003

WL 23100817 (N.Y.A.G.), an Article 78 proceeding in

Westchester County Supreme Court, for the

proposition that circulating an internal violation

summary among the planning board members is a

violation of their due process rights. The court in

Ridgeway makes no such determination. Rather, it

found that the planning board may not issue a

summons and notice of violation and then charge a

landowner with violations not enumerated in the

written notice. The court pointed out that such an

33a

error is not cured when the new violations are included

on the internal violations summary document and this

document is not given to the alleged violator. In the

present case, none of the plaintiffs allege that they

were charged with violations at the hearing that were

not contained in their summons and notice of violation.

B. Claim that the Internal Distribution of the

Violation Summary Constitutes "Pre Judging” in

Violation of Plaintiffs' Due Process Rights

Plaintiffs cite Clark v. Town of Lewisboro, Index No.

00-8944, an Article 78 proceeding in Westchester

County Supreme Court, for the proposition that

circulating an internal violations summary constitutes

impermissible prejudging in a governmental body

charged with keeping an open mind. However, in

Clark, planning board members were faulted for

giving media interviews in which they made factual

statements as to what had or had not happened and

opinions prior to a hearing. The internal violations

summary only states the facts as determined by the

wetlands inspector. There is no indication, as there

was in Clark, that this document caused planning

board members to pre-judge the matter before the

hearing. To the extent that the plaintiffs allege that

Fain prejudged the matters, this is no great

revelation. If he did not believe a violation had

occurred, he would not have initiated the violation

process. However, the wetlands inspector is not

involved in the issuing of civil penalties. The planning

board alone is the administrative body empowered

with hearing the evidence from both sides.

Regardless, the planning board never determined the

innocence or guilt of the plaintiffs in the instant action.

34a

Plaintiffs Shaw, Gennimi, and Guttermuth all admitted

to the allegations and never required a full hearing.

Plaintiff Clark had a full hearing, but the findings of

the planning board were overturned in the above cited

Article 78 hearing. On remand, Clark entered into a

settlement in which she agreed to pay a civil penalty.

Plaintiff Durante also had a full hearing. However, in

the course of the hearing Durante admitted to one of

the violations and the planning board found insufficient

evidence to pursue a penalty with regards to the

second violation. Plaintiffs Oltman and Pritchard were

never charges with a wetland violation and so never

had such a hearing. As was previously stated, plaintiff

Manbeck's hearing has yet to be concluded. Again, the

record is devoid of any evidence of prejudging.

C. Claims that Plaintiffs Gennimi, Durante, and

Manbeck's Due Process Rights Were Violated by

the issuance of Stop Work Orders

"Plaintiffs have a procedural due process claim if they

have been deprived of a right, privilege or immunity,

secured by the United States law or the Constitution,

without sufficient procedure attending’ the

deprivation." See Cathedral Church of the Intercessor

v. Incorporated Village of Malverne, 353 F. Supp. 2d

375, 386-87 (E.D.N.Y. 2005) (quoting Kentucky Dep't

of Corrections v. Thompson, 490 U.S. 454, 460, 109 S.

Ct. 1904, 104 L. Ed. 2d 506 (1989)).

First, plaintiffs must show that they had a property

interest in the building permits that were affected by

the stop work order. Cathedral Church of the

Intercessor, 353 F. Supp. 2d at 386-87. The key inquiry

under this prong is whether the plaintiffs were

entitled to the permit, or put another way, could the

35a

permit have been denied by the town on non-arbitrary

grounds. Id. Here, plaintiffs do not allege that they

were entitled to the building permits at issue. Rather,

it is evident that the permits issued to the relevant

plaintiffs were discretionary; contingent on plaintiffs’

compliance with applicable Town zoning and wetlands

laws. RRI Realty Corp. v. Incorporated Village of

Southampton, 870 F.2d 911 (2d Cir. 1988). As such,

plaintiffs did not have a constitutionally protected

property interest in their permits.

Regardless, even if plaintiffs had a property interest in

the building permits, the stop work orders here were

temporary suspensions which were to be lifted when

plaintiffs complied with Town law. See Cathedral

Church of the Intercessor, 353 F. Supp. 2d at 386-87. If

the stop work orders in question had been "indefinite

suspensions" of a property right, procedural due

process rights may have been implicated. Tri-County

Indus. v. District of Columbia, 104 F.3d 455, 460-62,

322 U.S. App. D.C. 412 (D.C. Cir. 1997). As such, the

issuance of the stop work orders in question did not

trigger any additional pre-deprivation due process

procedures. Cathedral Church of the Intercessor, 353

F’. Supp. 2d at 386-87.

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to this claim, plaintiffs' motion should

be DENIED and defendants' motion should be

GRANTED.

VI. CLAIMS THAT PLAINTIFF'S [*34]

FOURTH AMENDMENT CLAIMS HAVE BEEN

VIOLATED

36a

Plaintiffs claim that their Fourth Amendment rights

were violated by various town official who entered

onto and visually inspected their property.

The Fourth Amendment vests individuals with the

right to be free from "unreasonable government

intrusions into their legitimate expectations of

privacy.” United States v. Reyes, 283 F.3d 446, 457

(1997). In determining the reasonableness of a search,

the intrusion on an individual's privacy interests is

balanced against the search's promotion of legitimate

governmental interest. Palmieri v. Lynch, 392 F.3d 73,

81 (2d Cir. 2004). Searches pursuant to a regulatory

scheme need not adhere to the usual requirements

where special governmental needs are present. Id. at

79-80; see also Shapiro v. City of Gien Cove, No. CV

03-0280, 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 43276, 2005 WL

1076292, *12 (E.D.N.Y. May 05, 2005) ("By applying for

and accepting a building permit, plaintiff implicitiy

accepted City's supervision of the construction site,

including its right to inspect the property at any

reasonable hour, thus diminishing her expectation of

privacy at the site"). When a government official

‘enters upon a citizen's private property but does not

seek to inspect the interior of his house, his personal

property, his person, or any closed containers, he at

worst commits a trespass. Palmieri, 392 F.3d at 84; see

also Reed v. Schneider, 612 F. Supp. 216, 221

(E.D.N.Y. 1985) ("Technical trespasses have been

found not to constitute unreasonable searches.").

In the instant case, the Town had a legitimate interest

in protecting the town's wetlands and by extension it's

water supply. Palmieri v. Lynch, 392 F.3d at 84-85. All

alleged inspections were either done in response to a

complaint or as part of a permit process. In addition,

37a

all inspections were visual inspections of open land, an

area where citizens enjoy a diminished expectation of

privacy at best. Id. at 81. Indeed, there is no indication

in the record that any of the plaintiffs went to the

lengths of the plaintiff in Palmieri (stockade fences and

"keep out” signs) in preventing a visual inspection of

his property. As such instant plaintiffs would have a

diminished expectation of privacy in their open

property.

Regardless, none of the plaintiffs except Mr. Shaw and

the Durantes have alleged that town officials have

entered their property without their consent or the

consent of their representatives. Even Mr. Shaw

reluctantly acknowledged that the complained of

search was only conducted in connection with building

permits, or because the building inspector was

permitted to do so pursuant to the express terms of

the special permi* issued to Mr. Shaw. In the case of

the Durantes, Fain inspected the open property while

employees from a tree removal company were on the

property removing trees. Given the circumstances and

the diminished expectation of privacy, the Durantes'

Fourth Amendment rights were not violated in any

significant way.

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to this claim, plaintiffs’ motion should

be DENIED and defendants' motion should be

GRANTED.

VII. CLAIMS OF OLTMAN AND PRITCHARD

Plaintiffs Oltman and Pritchard have failed to claim

any cognizable violation of a constitutional right as

required under § 1983. The Planning board approved

38a

the only complete subdivision application Mr. Oltman

ever filed. To the extent that Mr. Oltman claims he

was the victim of a "conspiracy" among town officials,

he cannot point to any resulting violation of a

constitutional right.

During a planning board review of Mr. Pritchard's lot

as part of an application for a variance, it was

discovered that the entire house was out of compliance

with wetlands laws. Defendants claim that the extent

of the wetlands had been fraudulently misrepresented

by the builder in order to secure the building permit.

When the Town requested that Mr. Pritchard

legitimize his house, Pritchard readily agreed and did

so. In the process, Mr. Pritchard withdrew his

application for the variance that initiated the process.

In sum, Mr. Pritchard cannot point to any resolution or

adverse action by the town which violated a

constitutional right.

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to these plaintiffs, plaintiffs’ motion

should be DENIED and defendants’ motion should be

GRANTED.

VIII. CONSPIRACY

Because plaintiffs have failed to state a claim under 42

U.S.C. § 1983, all § 1983 conspiracy claims must

likewise be dismissed. Singer v. Fulton County Sheriff,

63 F.3d 110, 119 (2d Cir. 1995). To the extent that

plaintiffs’ complaint states a claim for conspiracy under

42 U.S.C § 1985, plaintiffs have failed to demonstrate

that the alleged conspiracy was motivated by "some

racial, or perhaps otherwise class based invidious

39a

discriminatory animus." Mian v. Donaldson v. Jenrett

Securities Corp., 7 F.3d 1085, 1087-88 (2d Cir. 1993).

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to this claim, plaintiffs' motion should

be DENIED and defendants' motion should be

GRANTED.

IX. RESIDUAL FEDERAL CLAIMS

A. The Hobbs Act and 18 U.S.C. § 1962

The Court finds insufficient evidence in the record to

support a claim that any defendant conspired with any

party to extort money in violation of the Hobbs Act or

any other federal statute.

B. Claim that Defendants Fain and Clark Were

Employed as a Wetlands Inspector in Violation of

Federal Law

None of the case law cited by plaintiffs prohibits the

Town from contracting with a private corporation to

perform administrative or consultative services. Mr.

Fain's contract as a wetlands inspector specifies only

investigative and consultative duties. The record is

void of any showing that he performed judicial or law

enforcement duties beyond the scope of the contract.

The fact remains that Fain inspected at the direction

of the Town, and the planning board made the final

determinations with respect to wetlands violations.

Likewise, as attorney for the Building Department

and Planning board, Ms. Clark's contract with the

town specifies only administrative and advisory duties.

The record is void of any showing that she performed

prosecutorial or judicial duties beyond the scope of the

40a

contract. While Ms. Clark aided the planning board in

the preparation of administrative charges, plaintiffs

make no showing that her duties were prosecutorial in

nature.

For the above reasons, it is respectfully recommended

that with respect to these claims, plaintiffs' motion

should be DENIED and defendants’ motion should be

GRANTED.

X. STATE LAW CLAIMS

As a result of the dismissal of all of Plaintiffs' federal

causes of action, this Court should decline to exercise

its supplemental jurisdiction over plaintiffs' state

causes of action. 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3); Travelers Ins.

Co. v. Keeling, 996 F’.2d 1485, 1490 (2d Cir. 1993).

XI. CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, I conclude, and

respectfully recommend that defendants' motions for

summary judgment should be granted and all claims

against defendants should be dismissed.

XII. NOTICE

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B), as amended, and

Rule 72(b), Fed. R. Civ. P., the parties shall have ten

(10) days from receipt of this Report to serve and file

written objections’ to this Report and

Recommendation. If copies of this Report are served

upon the parties by mail, the parties shall have

thirteen (13) days from receipt of this Report to file

and serve written objections. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(e).

Such objections, if any, shall be filed with the Clerk of

the Court, with extra copies delivered to the chambers

Ala

of The Honorable Charles L. Brieant at the United

States District Court, Southern District of New York,

300 Quarropas Street, White Plains, New York, 10601,

and to the chambers of the undersigned at said

Courthouse.

Failure to file timely objections to this Report and

Recommendation will preclude later appellate review

of any order of judgment that will be entered. See

Small v, Secretary of H.H.S., 892 F.2d 15, 16 (2d Cir.

1989).

Requests for extensions of time to file objections must

be made to the Honorable Charles L. Brieant and not

to the undersigned.

Dated: March 4, 2008

White Plains, New York

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ George A. Yanthis

GEORGE A. YANTHIS, U.S.M_.

42a

Filed 8/31/09

No. 08-1543-cv

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETER C. MANBECK, DOES 1-1000, JOHN

ANONYMOUS, BRUCE CASCIO, EFRAIN

CUBIDES, CAROL DURANTE, JAY DURANTE,

WENDY GENNIMI, DAVID GUTTERMUTH,

LYNN GUTTERMUTH, JERILYNN HAGAN,

MICHAEL HONIG, ROGER MOISTER JR., Trustee,

MARK MOSELLO, MARY CLARK, individually and

on behalf of all others similarly situated, DANIEL

PRITCHARD, individually and on behalf of all others

similarly situated and GEORGE SHAW, individually

and on behalf of all others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

SIRO CORTINA, LUIGI IMPERIA and GORAN

DJORDJEVSKI, individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

MARK CLARK, individually and on behalf of all others

similarly situated and DAVID S. OLTMAN,

individually and on behalf of all others similarly

situated,

Consolidated-Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

v.

TOWN OF LEWISBORO, JAMES NORDGREN,

Town Supervisor, individually and in his official

capacity, PETER BARRETT, Deputy Building

Inspector, and other unnamed Building Inspectors,

individually and in their official capacity, JAY FAIN,

Wetland Inspector, individually and in his official

43a

capacity, Planning Board, JACQUELIN# DZALUK,

JOSEPH DECAMINADA, Member of the Planning

Board, individually and in his official capacity,

FREIDA HALPERN, Member of the Planning Board,

individually and in her official capacity, MAUREEN

MAGUIRE, individually and in her official capacity,

P.J. ROSSI, individually and in his official capacity,

WILLIAM CARGAIN, CONSERVATION

ADVISORY COUNCIL, BUILDING

DEPARTMENT, ALLEN HERSHOWITZ, Town

Councilman, individually and in his official capacity,

JAY FAIN & ASSOCIATES, L.L.C., VINCENT

VETRANO, former Chairman of the Planning Board,

individually and in his official capacity, Conservation

Advisory Council and MARK PATEK, Chairman of the

Conservation Advisory Council individually and in his

official capacity,

Defendants-Appellees,

WILLIAM AGRESTA, Consolidated-Defendant-

Appellee.

ORDER

Appellants, Peter C. Manbeck, DOES 1-1000, John

Anonymous, et al., having filed a petition for panel

rehearing, or, in the alternative, for rehearing en banc,

and the panel that determined the appeal having

considered the request for panel rehearing, and the

active members of the Court having considered the

request for rehearing en banc,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the petition is

denied.

44a

Filed 8/29/2007

Index No. 2771/07

SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF NEW YORK

COUNTY OF WESTCHESTER

TOWN BOARD OF THE TOWN OF LEWISBORO,

Plaintiff

-against-

WENDY GENNIMI AND VICTOR SCHLIMAN, 19

LOWER SALEM ROAD, SOUTH SALEM, NEW

YORK, Defendants

DECISION AND ORDER

LOEHR, J.

The following papers numbered | to 5 were read on

Defendants’ motion pursuant to CPLR 3211 dismissing

the complaint or, alternatively, staying the action.

Papers Numbered

Notice of Motion — Affirmation —

Exhibits (Vol. I & IT) 1

Affirmation in Opposition 2

Memorandum of Law in

Opposition . 3

Affirmation in Support 4

Reply Memorandum of Law 5

Upon the foregoing papers, it appears that on July 15,

45a

2004 Defendant Gennimi was charged by the Lewisboro

Planning Board (the “Planning Board”) with

constructing a fence without a permit in violation of the

Town of Lewisboro Wetlands Law. After several

hearings before the Planning Board, on October 26,

2004, the Planning Board determined that Gennimi had

violated the Wetlands Law and imposed fines totaling

$52,000. In July 2005, the Defendants joined a federal

action (pending before United States District Judge

Charles L. Brieant) as party-plaintiffs. In that action,

the Defendants herein challenged the constitutionality

of the Wetlands Law on its face and as applied to them

and sought to enjoin the Town of Lewisboro from

enforcing the fines. On July 21, 2005, the Federal Court

issued injunctions staying enforcement activity for the

balance of the action and by a Memorandum and Order

dated November 10, 2005 directed that discovery

should proceed on the constitutional claims. The fence

in question also apparently violated the Town’s setback

requirements and on February 2, 2007, Gennimi filed an

application with the Lewisboro Zoning Board of

Appeals (the “ZBA”) seeking a variance with respect

thereto. Such administrative proceeding also remains

pending. The Town has also issued “stop work” orders

with respect to such bands and with respect to

Defendant Schliman operating a commercial

landscaping business on this residentially zoned

property in violation of Town Code Sec. 220-23(A). The

enforcement of such stop work orders-to the extent

they have not been stayed by the federal action-are

pending in the Town of Lewisboro Justice Court.

All of the foregoing notwithstanding, on February 16,

2007, Plaintiff commenced the instant action. The

complaint asserts for causes of action: the first three

46a

see declaratory relief as follows. The first cause of

action seeks a declaration with respect to the non-

conforming nature of the fence. The second with

respect to the Defendants engaged in commercial

activity on residential property and the third seeks a

declaration that the Defendants have violated the

Wetlands Law. The fourth cause of action seeks to

enjoin the Defendants from continuing such violations.

CPLR 3211(a)(4) authorizes this Court to stay an action

where there is another action pending between the

same parties for the same relief. Here, in first cause of

action (the fence setback) the Plaintiff is seeking relief

with respect to the subject matter of a proceeding

pending before the ZBA. In the second cause of action

(the commercial use of residential property), to the

extent it has not been stayed by the federal action, the

Plaintiff is seeking relief with respect to the subject

matter of a proceeding pending before the Town Justice

Court, and in the third cause of action (Wetlands), the

Plaintiff is seeking relief with respect to the subject

matter of a proceeding pending before the Federal

Court. For the foregoing reasons, each of these causes

of action is stayed pending the completion of the prior

pending action or actions.

The foregoing constitutes the decision in order of this

Court.

47a

6/17/2008

Supreme Court of the State of New York

Appellate Division: Second Judicial Department

2007-09523

Tc wn Board of Town of Lewisboro, appellant, v Wendy

Gennimi, et al., respondents.

(Index No. 07-2771)

ORDER ON APPLICATION

Application to Withdraw Appeal

Application by the appellant to withdraw an appeal

from an order of the Supreme Court, Westchester

County, entered August 29, 2007.

Upon the papers filed in support of the application and

no papers having been filed in opposition or in relation

thereto, it is

ORDERED that the application is granted and the

appeal is marked withdrawn.

United States Constitution, Art. IV, § 1

Full Faith and Credit shall be given in each State to the

public Acts, Records, and judicial Proceedings of every

other State. And the Congress may be general Laws

prescribe the Manner in which such Acts, Records, and

Proceedings shall be proved, and the Effect thereof.

Fourth Amendment

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no

warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause,

supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be searched, and the persons or

things to be seized.

eenth Amendment

No State shall...deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law...nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

The statutes involved are the Civil Rights Act, +42

U.S.C. §§1983 and 1985(3), the Clean Water Act and

the Full Faith and Credit Act.

Title 42, Section 1983 of the United States Code

provide, in pertinent part:

Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State... ,

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of the

United States...to the deprivation of any rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution

49a

and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an action

at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for

redress... .

Title 42, Section 1985 of the United States Code

provide, in pertinent part:

(3) Depriving persons of rights or privileges.

If two or more persons in any State or Territory

conspire or go in disguise on the highway or on the

premises of another, for the purpose of depriving,

either directly or indirectly, any person or class of

persons of the equal protection of the laws, or of equal

privileges and immunities under the laws; ... or to injure

any citizen in person or property on account of such

support or advocacy; in any case of conspiracy set forth

in this section, if one or more persons engaged therein

do, or cause to be done, any act in furtherance of the

object of such conspiracy, whereby another is injured in

his person or property, or deprived of having and

exercising any right or privilege of a citizen of the

United States, the party so injured or deprived may

have an action for the recovery of damages occasioned

by such injury or deprivation, against any one or more

of the conspirators.

The Clean Water Act (CWA), 33 U.S.C.A. § 1251 et

seq., provides in pertinent part:

Except as in compliance with this section and

section[]...1344 of this title, the discharge of any

pollutant by any person shall be unlawful.

33 U.S.C. § 1311(a) (CWA § 301(a)).

The Secretary may issue permits, after notice and

opportunity for public hearings, for the discharge of

50a

dredged or fill materials into the navigable waters at

specified disposal sites.

Judiciary and Judicial Procedure, 28 U.S.C. § 1738

provides:

“The Acts of the legislature of any State, Territory, or

Possession of the United States, or copies thereof, shall

be authenticated by affixing the seal of such State,

Territory or Possession thereto.

The records and judicial proceedings of any court of any

such State, Territory or Possession, or copies thereof,

shall be proved or admitted in other courts within the

United States and its Territories and Possessions by

the attestation of the clerk and seal of the court

annexed, if a seal exists, together with a certificate of a

judge of the court that the said attestation is in proper

form.

Such Acts, records and judicial proceedings or copies

thereof, so authenticated, shall have the same full faith

and credit in every court within the United States and

its Territories and Possessions as they have by law or

usage in the courts of such State, Territory or

Possession from which they are taken.”

The Federal Regulations involved are 33 C.F.R. §

328.3

For the purpose of this regulation these terms are

defined as follows:

(a) The term waters of the United States means:

(1) All waters which are currently used, or were used in

the past, or may be susceptible to use in interstate or —

foreign commerce, including all waters which are

5la

subject to the ebb and flow of the tide;

(2) All interstate waters including interstate wetlands;

(3) All other waters such as intrastate lakes, rivers,

streams (including intermittent streams), mudflats,

sandflats, wetlands, sloughs, prairie potholes, wet

meadows, playa lakes, or natural ponds, the use,

degradation or destruction of which could affect

interstate or foreign commerce including any such

waters:

(i) Which are or could be used by interstate or foreign

travelers for recreational or other purposes; or (ii)

From which fish or shellfish are or could be taken and

sold in interstate or foreign commerce; or (iii) Which

are used or could be used for industrial purpose by

industries in interstate commerce;

(4) All impoundments of waters otherwise defined as

waters of the United States under the definition;

(5) Tributaries of waters identified in paragraphs (a)(1)-

(4) of this section;

(6) The territorial seas;

(7) Wetlands adjacent to waters (other than waters that

are themselves wetlands) identified in paragraphs

(a)(1)-(6) of this section....

(b) The term wetlands means those areas that are

inundated or saturated by surface or ground water at a

frequency and duration sufficient to support, and that

under normal circumstances do support, a prevalence of

vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil

conditions. Wetlands generally include swamps,

marshes, bogs, and similar areas.

The State laws involved are:

New York State Town Law § 23. Eligibility of town

52a

officers

1- Every elective officer of the town at the time of his

election and throughout his term of office, shall be an

elector of the town. Every other officer of the town at

the time of his appointment and throughout his term of

office shall be an elector of the town except that: (a) in

towns having no resident attorney, the town attorney

and such counsel as may be employed need not be

electors;

The local laws involved are:

LEWISBORO WETLANDS AND

WATERCOURSES LAW

CHAPTER 217 provides in relevant part:

§ 217-2 Definitions; word usage

WETLAND/FRESHWATER WETLAND - All areas

that comprise hydric soils and/or

are inundated or saturated by surface or ground water

at a frequency and duration

sufficient to support a prevalence of hydrophytic

vegetation.

§ 217-11 Enforcement, stop work orders, violations

and penalties.

B. Enforcement agents. This chapter shall be enforced

by the Wetland Inspector and

such deputy inspectors as may be appointed by the

Town Board.

E. Penalties for violations, administrative and criminal

53a

sanctions.

(1) Any single violation shall be subject to either

administrative or criminal

sanctions but not both.

(2) Administrative sanctions.

(a) Any person or property owner who undertakes any

regulated activity within a wetland, watercourse

and/or buffer area without a permit issued hereunder;

or who violates, disobeys or disregards any provision of

this chapter, including any provision of any permit

issued pursuant to this chapter, shall be liable to the

Town of Lewisboro for a civil penalty of not more than

seven thousand five hundred dollars ($7,500.) for every

such violation. Any civil penalty in excess of five

thousand dollars ($5,000.) shall be based upon a finding

of willful violation by a majority of the board plus one.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gennimi v. Town of Lewisboro · 559 U.S. 1086 | Frix