Petition for Writ of Certiorari — O'Brien v. O'Laughlin (No. 09-484)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

P FILED ’

09-484 OCT 21 2009

S6FICE OF THE CLERK

Hn the

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

STEVEN O’BRIEN,

Superintendent, Old Colony Correctional Center;

Petitioner.

VU.

MICHAEL O’ LAUGHLIN,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR AWRIT OF CERTIORARI

MARTHA COAKLEY

Massachusetts Attorney General

JESSICA V. BARNETT*

JAMES J. ARGUIN

Assistant Attorneys General

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108-1598

(617) 727-2200

*Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

This petition presents the same question for

review as the petition for certiorari in Metrish v.

Newman, No. 08-1401, 2009 WL 1370163 (U.S.

May 12, 2009), namely, whether a federal habeas

court in reviewing the reasonableness of a state

court’s application of the sufficiency-of-the-evidence

standard established in Jackson v. Virginia, 443

U.S. 307 (1979), may rely on a “reasonable

speculation” standard to set aside the state court’s

evaluation oof the circumstantial evidence

supporting the jury’s verdict.

oe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MRP Meee OE RGPEN BRCROEGIN 1 IGD)................cccsccoscsevccesecsees 1

8 yg 00. 9 ie Lr lV

NEE MEER E WY 0055000.50000essesessenssccesscnsecsscssesoeces l

scsi sssdsessasesnveses ssseseencoessores ]

RED BOD V SE OING ......0.sccrcccecssoscscescooees |

Nee liicccasecassossyessesenssessseseneesseees 2

ae meeaeies OF Trill CASE ...........0......scccccseeeess 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .. 10

A. This Court Should Grant Certiorari to

Prevent Federal Habeas Retrials of State

Criminal Cases in violation of AEDPA. ....... 13

B. This Court Should Grant Certiorari Because

the “Reasonable Speculation” Standard

Finds No Basis in this Court’s Cases and

Threatens to Erode Jackson v. Virginia....... 16

1. The “reasonable speculation” standard

is not clearly-established law under

SOPH Oe ee EEE EEE HEE EEEHEHEHEEEEH OEE EHH EEE HHH OEE

ad

The term “reasonable speculation” is

inherently contradictory and permits

appellate courts to usurp the jury’s role

IN oo. cunccvacceccescncsccscsvecsesecsese 17

3. The “reasonable speculation” standard

devalues circumstantial evidence,

unduly disadvantaging the prosecution

in domestic and acquaintance violence

DOIG icassiccseenssiccescrecneetes eceateeeee 20

C. This Court Should Grant Certiorari Because

the Instant Case is a Good Vehicle for

Clarifying Jackson’s Application to

Circumstantial Cases and for Re-Affirming

APPENDIX A: First Circuit Opinion, dated June

Pl I bvnsisdasctictsn into ee la

APPENDIX B: District Court Order of

Dismissal, dated December 12, 2007.......... 52a

APPENDIX C: Massachusetts Supreme Judicial

Court Opinion, dated March 10, 2006........ 53a

APPENDIX D: First Circuit Order Denying

Panel Rehearing and Rehearing en Banc... 90a

APPENDIX E: Statutory Provisions .............. 1l3a

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Anderson v. Fuller,

MN AF a IE ID incase vnedsvnxanconsecbsccaceresdseneve 19

Bell v. Cone,

535 U.S. GBS C00Z)...........0cccccccccesesee 10, 13, 15, 16

Brown v. Farwell,

525 F.3d 787 (9th Cir. 2008),

cert. granted sub nom, McDaniel v.

Brown, 129 S. Ct. 1038 (2009)................02.... 12, 30

Brown v. Palmer,

Be Fe ee Cn Gh, BOD hosts nvcnccscchecccnsevassess 21

Brown v. Payton,

SOME Fe MD oo ide sacxcaveccecedetchacdedsoucacads 15, 23

Carey v. Musladin,

ee coc aca veesanccvddunconsvconccdcevasaves 17

Commonwealth v. O'Laughlin,

63 Mass. App. Ct. 805, 830 N.E.2d 222 (2005).... 8

Commonwealth v. O’Laughlin,

446 Mass. 188, 843 N.E.2d 617 (2006)........ passim

Desert Palace, Inc. v. Costa,

ee er oon spi vakecucnveucaccesancrsoeion 20, 28

Duckworth v. Fagan,

— BOSE |

Duncan v. Walker,

EE A UE RI Bie pnciccsssccnccosewncnsaves

Early v. Packer,

LE | ne

Engle v. Isaac,

456 U.S. 107 (1982)....... cuinseent aaiagetiia

Fuller v. Anderson,

662 F.2d 420 (6th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied sub nom, Anderson v.

Fuller, 455 U.S. 1028 (1982) .............

Herrera v. Collins,

BOG UTS. BI CIOS) ov cccrcccecccosesvaceesscess

Holland v. United States,

Be ae, BE CR iiss ccsssconssenersscsones

Jackson v. Virginia,

Ee RE. EE GE ce niriskcccnnhconesszactoes

Knowles v. Mirzayanee,

ERD SS. CE. FEE CD occ ncn sssccevevecocess

Lockyer v. Andrade,

Pee ees Ne I ois vk vevcscsvecsreerscvecawans

McDaneel v. Brown,

129 S. Ce. FOSS COGS)... ssc cecssceecesee

een re 30

20, 25, 28

Eis passim

Miller-El v. Cockrell,

Be re CE IE os ocaccedcasdvcccunccessacvscccdosecsveacs 13

Miranda v. Arizona,

sn. ss cconpnanevasenaeceeees 14, 22

Mitchell v. Esparza,

540 U.S. 12 (2003)

Newman v. Metrish,

543 F.3d 793 (6th Cir. 2008)... 2, 11, 16, 17, 21, 30

O’Brien v. O’Laughlin,

No. 09A194, 2009 WL 2831420

(U.S. August 26, 2009)

(Breyer, J., 1M) CRAMDETLS) ...........0...ccccsccccsccccscees 10n

O’Laughlin v. O’Brien,

ee ee OE CEG CAT, BOD) onccccesscsecseessccass passim

O’Laughlin v. O’Brien,

577 F.Sa i (ist Cir. 2009) ............. 1, 10, 18, 19, 20

Parke v. kaley,

so cy sa vngideuu de vuduenandoueesuens 11

Parker v. Rentco,

Soe We cee Oe CEE GAP, DIED vcescccscccceccsssensseseeseass 21

Schlup v. Delo,

513 U.S. 298 (1996)................ ipistumadotesuatere 18, 28n

Schriro v. Landrigan,

Be Sy MUU SION E Dano sconscvdvcccvvcdscctccsonacccecast 10, 14

vll

Smith v. Romanowski,

No. 07-1578, 2009 WL 1884451

CE Be I vice ca nov cnacvinsvcssesensesveccsecensens 21

Strickland v. Washington,

ee I I oor ox nese cnesinssssensecersconsccesyens 14,15

Tucker v. Palmer,

641 F.3d 652 (6th Cir. 2006)..........ccccescoccssscevenees 21

Uttecht v. Brown,

Ee FP noo coscecccecsscactecncccocccenseovens 14

Wainwright v. Witt,

469 U.S. 412 (1985)......... adi cin ca kpbangussica cacao aes 14

Williams v. Taylor,

529 U.S. 362 (2000)............00.. 2, 10, 11, 13, 14, 19

Witherspoon v. fllinois,

ne es ns css sunenaiannsukancmamaiiiae 14

Woodford v. Garceau,

Re Ue. Be CS cnc csceccscseseses apaIa anaes 10, 13

Woodford v. Visciotti,

ee eI 5. csc seve usvsabachentsacressvanaciens 14, 15

Wright v. West,

ee es seks gin bnaaewkieandiinses 18, 30

Yarborough v. Alvarado,

OE EF. SOF CGD ons vivcsicccccseccess 14, 18, 22, 23, 29

Vill

Statutory Provisions

ee Sie I wr sistas viscseiaeesevdesn ene 1

Fe re ie IE axicacedaksvinissasereematannens covnisekeduaneadaas 1,8

Oe Rs as te i iadkseh canicceontsenmieaeeean 1, 2n, 15

26 U.S.C. S SABGGIMD) 2. ccavsvsccccess 1,11, 13, 14, 15, 17

DE U2 & Se iivckdscssstcctencctauees 1, 3n, 11

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 15A(b)............0...000.-0..0. 8

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 18A ...... 2c cece ec ec ecco ees 8

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 18(b)...................... ecco eee 8

Mans. Gen. LOWS Gh. TOG, © 36 vcsicdvsevssccticcinaae 8

Rules

Be, SE, hn i oan oven de nviecsencadeneccaasveacse eee ee 15

OG. Fe. PA. Fc Be oisncnvecinervccssszsvrs saisinteeetan nia 5

Fed. . AO. F. GIG visissessasmaniose eee 10

Other

Nancy J. King, et al., Final Technical Report:

Habeas Litigation in U.S. District Courts,

Vanderbilt University Law School and National

Center for State Courts (2007), available at

www.law.vanderbilt.edu......................... Ft OOO 12

Petition for Certiorari, Metrish v. Newman,

No. 08-1401, 2009 WL 1370163

(U.S. May 12, 2009) .......c.cccccccceeeceseeees i, 13, 17, 30

T. Lininger, Prosecuting Batterers After Crawford,

NS Se . 20

]

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit is published at 568

I 3d 287 (1st Cir. 2009). Appendix A. The order

of the United States District Court for the District

of Massachusetts is unpublished. Appendix B. The

Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court’s opinion is

published at 446 Mass. 188, 843 N.E.2d 617 (2006).

Appendix C. The order of the Court of Appeals for

the First Circuit denying panel rehearing and

rehearing en banc is published at 577 F.3d 1 (1st

Cir. 2009). Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of the federal district court

was invoked by the timely filing of a petition for

writ of habeas corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

The federal district court denied the petition, and

the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit reversed.

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered

on June 10, 2009. The First Circuit denied a timely

petition for panel rehearing and rehearing en banc

on August 7, 2009. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254()).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The statutory provisions involved = are

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1); 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d); 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d)(1); and 28 US.C. § 2254(e)(1).

Appendix E.

2

INTRODUCTION

This case presents a= pressing. issue

impacting the core principles of comity and

federalism that underlie statutory restrictions on |

federal habeas review. It also involves the dilution

of the Jackson standard of review for sufficiency-of-

the-evidence claims, particularly where, as here,

the jury’s verdict rests on circumstantial evidence.

In evaluating — sufficiency-of-the-evidence

claims on habeas review, deference is due both

(1) to the state court’s reasonable application of the

Jackson standard under AEDPA,' see Williams uv.

Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 409-11 (2000), and (2) to the

reasonable inferences that the jury could have

drawn in reaching its verdict, see Jackson, 445 U.S.

at 326. Recently, however, the Sixth Circuit, and

now the First Circuit, have departed from this

settled precedent by holding that a state-court

determination that there was sufficient evidence to

support a jury’s verdict can be set aside when a

federal court determines that the conviction is

based on “reasonable speculation” as opposed to

reasonable inferences. See O’Laughlin v. O’Brien,

568 F.3d 287, 302 (1st Cir. 2009) (““O’Laughilin IIT’),

Appendix A; Newman v. Metrish, 543 F.3d 793, 796

(Gth Cir. 2008), petition for cert. filed, Metrish v.

Newman, No. 08-1401, 2009 WL 1370163 (U.S.

May 12, 2009).

' The Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996

(“AEDPA’). 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d).

The “reasonable speculation” standard has

no basis in this Court's precedents and is contrary

to the fundamental principles of comity and

federalism underlying AEDPA's stringent

restrictions on federal habeas review. It invites

federal habeas courts to second guess the reasoned

judgment of state appellate courts, and, equally

troubling, to override the reasonable inferences

that the jury could have drawn from the evidence

presented at trial. The need for adherence to

AEDPA’s restrictions is especially strong in

sufficiency-of-the-evidence cases, where double

jeopardy bars the state from retrying a successful

habeas petitioner.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. On the morning of November 17, 2000,

the victim, Annmarie Kotowski, was found in her

apartment severely beaten, having suffered fifteen

to twenty blows that broke nearly every bone in her

face and skull. Commonwealth v. O’Laughlin, 446

Mass. 188, 190, 198, 843 N.E.2d 617, 621, 626

(2006) (““O’Laughlin IT’). Appendix C.2. The victim

survived, but she had no memory of the attack. /d.

at 190, 843 N.E.2d at 621.

2 The opinion of the Massachusetts Supreme ducicial Court

(“SJC) contains a detailed recitation of the evidence. On

habeas review. these factual «(leterminations are presumed

correct. unless rebutted by clear and convincing evidence.

28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(1). Highlighted here are those facts from

which a rational jury could infer guilt. Further facts are

introduced as necessary in the statement of reasons for

granting the petition

4

Respondent Michael O’Laughlin lived two

doors away from the victim in the same apartment

complex. /d. at 191, 199, 843 N.E.2d at 621, 627.

As a maintenance worker at the complex,

O’Laughlin had a master key to the victim’s

apartment. /d. at 191, 199, 843 N.E.2d at 621-22,

627. The police did not detect any signs of forced

entry into the victim’s apartment. Jd. at 194, 843

N.E.2d at 624. In fact, the doors were locked when

Mrs. Kotowski was discovered that morning. /d. at

193-94, 843 N.E.2d at 623.

Shortly before 2 a.m. on the night of the

attack, the victim’s upstairs neighbor was

awakened by banging and screaming noises and

called 911. Jd. at 192, 843 N.E.2d at 622. The

neighbor testified that he did not hear any vehicles

enter or leave the area from the time he first heard

screaming until the time the police arrived. Jd. at

192-93, 843 N.E.2d at 622-23. A test conducted by

the State Police determined that a person in the

victim’s apartment would have been able to hear

that someone was speaking in the apartment

above, but would have been unable to hear what

was said. Jd. at 192 n.3, 843 N.E.2d at 622 n.3.

When the police arrived following the 911

call, they encountered O’Laughlin outside, in 35-

degree weather, wearing only boxer shorts. Jd. at

193, 200, 202, 843 N.E.2d at 623, 627, 629.

According to the officers, O’Laughlin was “uneasy

and distant,” and he avoided eye contact with them.

Id. at 193, 200, 843 N.E.2d at 623, 627.

O’Laughlin told the police that he had been

awakened by screaming, but he thought it was an

animal trapped in the dumpster, so he had lodged a

5

stick in the dumpster to allow the animal to climb

out. Id. at 193, 200, 843 N.F.2d at 623, 627.5 But

the next morning, O’Laughlin claimed that he had

been awakened by noise from the arriving police

cruisers. Jd. at 195, 200, 843 N.E.2d at 624, 627.

Later, he gave yet another version. Jd. at 195, 200,

843 N.E.2d at 623, 627.

In fact, all three accounts were lies;

O’Laughlin’s telephone records indicated that he

was awake in his apartment at the time he claimed

to be sleeping. Jd. at 192, 200, 843 N.E.2d at 622,

627. O’Laughlin’s last telephone call was just

twelve minutes before the neighbor made his 911

call, id. at 192, 843 N.E.2d at 622, and there were

no other calls until later that morning, after the

police had arrived at the scene and an ambulance

had transported Mrs. Kotowski to the hospital. See

Trial Exhibit # 57, filed with the court of appeals as

supplemental authority pursuant to Fed. R. App. P.

284) on September 18, 2008.

O’Laughlin had spent the evening of the

attack drinking and smoking crack cocaine, but

eventually ran out of drugs. O’Laughlin II, 446

Mass. at 191-92, 199, 843 N.E.2d at 622, 627. He

3 O’Laughlin successfully steered the officers away from the

building, just two doors away, where the 911 caller and the

victim lived. The officers left shortly after their encounter

with O’'Laughlin, without speaking with the neighbor who

had made the 911 call. OZLaughtlin Il, 446 Mass. at 193. 843

N.E.2d at 623. The victim remained, injured and bleeding, in

her apartment, until she was discovered by her boyfriend at

about 5:45 a.m. Id. The victim’s boyfriend then notified the

police, who were dispatched back to the apartment. /d. at

194, 843 N.E.2d at 623.

G

was eager to obtain more drugs, but he had also

run out of money. Jd. at 192, 199, 843 N.E.2d at

622, 627. O’Laughlin called several drug dealers

during the two hours immediately preceding the

attack. Jd. at 192, 199, 843 N.E.2d at 622, 627.

Between midnight and two a.m., O’Laughlin made

fifteen telephone calls. Tr. 8/54.4 O’Laughlin, who

had previously been inside the victim’s apartment,

believed that the victim “had money.” O’Laughlin

IT, 446 Mass. at 192, 199, 843 N.E.2d at 622, 627.

The morning after the attack, when

O’Laughlin was told that someone had been

“murdered,” he replied, “What do you want me to

do about it?” Jd. at 194, 843 N.E.2d at 624. Later

that morning, O’Laughlin went to the police station

to be interviewed, but left shortly after without

telling anyone that he was leaving. Jd. at 195, 843

N.E.2d at 624. When he returned, he seemed

agitated and hed to the police, as described above.

Id. at 195, 200, 843 N.E.2d at 624, 627-28.

Following the attack, police discovered an

aluminum baseball bat on the ground a _ short

distance from the victim’s apartment. Jd. at 196,

199, 843 N.E.2d at 625, 627. The bat was covered

with leaves and debris, but was otherwise “clean.”

Id. at 196, 200, 843 N.E.2d at 625, 627.

4“Tr. [vol./[page|’ refers to the ten-volume tnal transcript.

which was filed with the district court.

5 The Commonwealth performed forensic testing on the bat.

As summarized by the SJC:

Three small reddish brown stains on the bat

tested positive for the presumptive presence of

blood. One tested positive for human blood.

7

O’Laughlin’s last name was inscribed on the bat,

and O’Laughlin later admitted that the bat

belonged to him. Jd. at 196-97, 200, 843 N.E.2d at

625, 627. The surgeon who operated on the victim

opined that her injuries “were caused by a long,

sturdy, hard, round object, consistent with an

aluminum bat like the one that was recovered near

the apartment building.” Jd. at 198, 843 N.E.2d at

626.

O’Laughlin consented to a search of his

apartment the day after the attack. Jd. at 195, 200,

843 N.E.2d at 625, 628. During the search, the

police alerted O’Laughlin to a red stain on his

closet door and asked whether they could take

swabbings. /d. at 195-96, 843 N.E.2d at 625.

O’Laughlin refused and told the police to leave. Id.

at 195-96, 843 N.E.2d at 625. He then removed the

stain with his finger and told the police they could

The three stains were swabbed and sent to the

deoxyribonucleic acicl (DNA) unit for further

lesting. Because of contamination in the DNA

lab, tests consumed all the testable material

without yielding results. An additional cutting

from tape on the bat’s handle from an area

where the presumptive presence of blood could

still be detected was submitted to the

laboratory. A State police DNA analyst

obtained human genetic material from the

sample indicating two or more donors, with

both a male and female possible in the

mixture. She concluded that the victim could

not be excluded as a contributor and that one

in two of any randomly selected individuals

“could have been the contributor.”

O’Laughilin IT. 446 Mass. at 197. 843 N.E.2d at 626.

8

return, explaining that he believed the stain was

his own blood, but he was not sure. Jd. at 196, 200,

843 N.E.2d at 625, 628. That morning, police

officers had noticed a “scratch or a dig mark” on

O’Laughlin’s cheek, a cut on his chin, and a “round,

circular bruise” below his left ear. Jd. at 194-95,

843 N.E.2d at 624.

2. Following a nine-day jury trial in May

2002, O’Laughlin was convicted of four offenses in

connection with the attack on Annmarie Kotowski:

(1) Burglary and Armed Assault in a Dwelling, see

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 266, § 14; (2) Armed Assault

in a Dwelling, see Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 18A;

(3) Armed Assault with Intent to Murder, see Mass.

Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 18(b); and (4) Assault and

Battery by Means of a Dangerous Weapon, see

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 15A(b).

3. On appeal, a three-judge panel of the

Massachusetts Appeals Court concluded that there

was insufficient evidence to support the jury’s

verdicts and reversed O’Laughlin’s convictions.

Commonwealth v. O’Laughlin, 63 Mass. App. Ct.

805, 817-23, 830 N.E.2d 222, 230-35 (2005). The

Massachusetts SJC granted further appellate

review and—in a unanimous 7-0 decision—

concluded that the evidence against O’Laughlin

was sufficient to support the verdicts. O’Laughlin

II, 446 Mass. at 198-205, 843 N_E.2d at 626-31.

After rejecting O’Laughlin’s other arguments, the

SJC affirmed his convictions. Jd. at 205-11, 843

N.E.2d at 631-35.

4. O’Laughlin’s habeas petition pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 2254 followed. In his habeas petition,

9

O’Laughlin alleged that: (1) the evidence at trial

was constitutionally insufficient to prove his

identity as the perpetrator; and (2) the trial court

violated his right to present a defense by excluding

a handwritten note from evidence that, according to

O’Laughlin, supported his third-party culprit

defense. After briefing by the parties and a non-

evidentiary hearing, the district court denied

O’Laughlin’s petition. Appendix B. O’Laughlin

filed a timely notice of appeal and requested a

certificate of appealability (“COA”) from the district

court as to his sufficiency and right-to-present-a-

defense claims. The district court granted a COA

with respect to both issues.

5. In an opinion issued June 10, 2009, a

panel of the First Circuit concluded that the

evidence was constitutionally insufficient to convict

O’Laughlin and that the SJC’s decision affirming

O’Laughlin’s convictions was objectively

unreasonable. O’Laughlin Ill, 568 F.3d at 308.

The First Circuit thus reversed the order of the

district court and remanded the case with

instructions that the district court order

O’Laughlin’s unconditional release with prejudice

to reprosecution. Jd. at 309. In light of its holding

on the sufficiency issue, the panel did not reach

O’Laughlin’s remaining claim regarding his right to

present a defense. Jd. at 309 n.27.

G. On June 24, 2009, the Commonwealth

filed a petition for panel rehearing and rehearing

6 O’Laughlins petition also included a third claim not

relevant to this appeal

10

en banc in the First Circuit, which automatically

stayed the First Cuircuit’s mandate pending

disposition of the petition. See Fed. R. App. P.

41(d)(1). On August 7, 2009, the First Circuit

denied the Commonwealth’s petition for rehearing,

over the dissent of Chief Judge Sandra L. Lynch.

O’Laughlin v. O’Brien, 577 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 2009)

(“O’Laughlin IV’). Appendix D.

7. On August 27, 2009, following the filing

and disposition of a series of motions for release

and counter-motions for a stay, including an

application for stay addressed to a single justice of

this Court, see Docket No. 09A194, the First Circuit

issued its mandate. On September 1, 2009, in

accordance with an in-chambers opinion of Justice

Breyer,’ the federal district court released

O’Laughlin on bail, subject to a number of

conditions, including house arrest, electronic

monitoring, and periodic reporting to the court’s

Pretrial Services office, pending a decision from

this Court on certiorari.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This Court has repeatedly held that habeas

review is not intended to result in a federal retrial

of state criminal cases. Schriro v. Landrigan, 550

U.S. 465, 475 (2007); Woodford v. Garceau, 538

U.S. 202, 206 (2003); Bell v. Cone, 535 U.S. 685,

693 (2002); Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 386

(2000) (Opinion of Stevens, J.). Instead, AEDPA

* OBrien v. O'Laughlin, No. 094194, 2009 WL 2831420 (U.S

August 26. 2009) (Brever. J.. in chambers).

1]

requires federal courts to defer to a state court’s

application of clearly-established federal law, so

long as the state court’s decision is objectively

reasonable. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1); Williams, 529

U.S. at 409-10. Federal habeas courts also must

presume the correctness of state-court factual

findings, including the reasonable inferences drawn

from those facts. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(1); Parke v.

Raley, 506 U.S. 20, 35 (1992). This deference is

warranted “to further the principles of comity,

finality, and federalism.” Duncan v. Walker, 533

U.S. 167, 178 (2001) (quoting Williams, 529 U.S. at

436).

Here, the First Circuit overturned a well-

reasoned decision of the Massachusetts SJC and

substituted its own evaluation of the evidence for

the SJC’s evaluation of the same evidence. In so

doing, the First Circuit exceeded its statutory

authority under AEDPA.

In addition, the legal standard applied by the

First Circuit to the underlying sufficiency-of-the-

evidence question conflicts with the standard

established by this Court in Jackson v. Virginia,

443 U.S. 307 (1979). In its June 10, 2009 opinion,

the First Circuit held that the evidence against

O’Laughlin was constitutionally insufficient,

stating that “‘[a]lthough circumstantial evidence

alone can support a conviction, there are times that

it amounts to only a reasonable speculation and not

to sufficient evidence. ... This is such a case.”

O’Laughlin ITI, 568 F.3d at 302 (quoting Newman

v. Metrish, 543 F.3d 793, 796 (Gth Cir. 2008),

petition for cert. filed, Metrish v. Newman, No. 08-

1401, 2009 WL 1370163 (U.S. May 12, 2009)). This

12

formulation of the legal standard for sufficiency—

which is the subject of another petition for

certiorari currently pending before this Court—is

inherently contradictory and undermines the

established rule that criminal convictions may be

based on reasonable inferences drawn from

circumstantial evidence.

Moreover, the “reasonable speculation”

standard is in direct conflict with Jackson’s

directive that federal habeas courts preserve the

jury’s role as factfinder by viewing all of the

evidence in the light most favorable to the jury’s

verdict. As a matter of practical consequence, the

standard disfavors the use of circumstantial

evidence and places an undue burden on the

prosecution to produce direct evidence of a

defendant’s guilt or face a heightened standard of

evidentiary sufficiency.

This erosion of the Jackson standard is of no

small concern to the administration of justice. A

recent study of habeas petitions filed by state

prisoners pursuant to AEDPA established that 25

percent of federal habeas petitions in capital cases

raised challenges to the sufficiency of the evidence,

and 20 percent of federal habeas petitions in

noncapital cases included sufficiency’ claims.

Nancy J. King, et al., Final Technical Report:

Habeas Litigation in U.S. District Courts,

Vanderbilt University Law School and National

Center for State Courts (2007), available at

www.law.vanderbilt.edu.

This Court has already granted certioran in

Brown v. Farwell, 525 F.3d 787 (9th Cir. 2008),

13

cert. granted sub nom, McDaniel v. Brown, 129 8.

Ct. 1038 (2009), in which the petitioner seeks

clarification of the _— sufficiency-of-the-evidence

standard applicable on federal habeas review. This

Court should likewise grant certiorari in this case,

and in Metrish v. Newman, to resolve uncertainty

about the application of the Jackson standard and

to prevent federal habeas courts from retrying state

criminal cases on collateral review.

A. This Court Should Grant Certiorari to

Prevent Federal Habeas Retrials of

State Criminal Cases in violation of

AEDPA.

By enacting AEDPA, Congress placed “more,

rather than fewer, limits on the power of federal

courts to grant writs of habeas corpus to state

prisoners.” Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 337

(2003); Garceau, 538 U.S. at 206-07. These added

constraints were intended “to prevent federal

habeas ‘retrials’ and to ensure that state-court

convictions are given effect to the extent possible

under law,” Bell, 535 U.S. at 693 (citing Williams,

529 U.S. at 403-04).

AEDPA prohibits federal courts on habeas

review from overturning a state court’s reasonable

application of clearly-established federal law. See

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1); Williams, 529 U.S. at 409-

10. Under AEDPA, “an unreasonable application of

federal law is different from an incorrect or

erroneous application of federal law.” Williams,

529 U.S. at 412 (emphasis in original). Thus, a

federal court “may not issue the writ simply

because that court concludes in its independent

14

judgment that the state-court decision applied [the

law] erroneously or incorrectly.” J/d. at 411;

Woodford v. V'sciotti, 537 U.S. 19, 24-25 (2002) (per

curiam). Rather, the appropriate inquiry is

“whether the state court’s application of clearly

established federal law was objectively

unreasonable.” Williams, 529 U.S. at 409. This is a

“substantially higher threshold” than de novo

review. Schriro, 550 U.S. at 473 (citing Williams,

529 U.S. at 410).

This Court has repeatedly re-affirmed that

§ 2254(d)(1) is binding on federal habeas courts and

that it forecloses habeas relief where a state court

has reasonably applied Supreme Court precedent.

See Uttecht v. Brown, 551 U.S. 1 (2007) (reversing

Ninth Circuit’s grant of habeas relief where state

court reasonably applied Witherspoon-Witt rule to

excusal of juror for cause in death penalty case);

Yarborough v. Alvarado, 541 U.S. 652, 665 (2004)

(reversing Ninth Circuit’s grant of habeas relief

where state court reasonably determined that

defendant was not “in custody” for Miranda

purposes); Mitchell v. Esparza, 540 U.S. 12 (2003)

(per curiam) (reversing Sixth Circuit’s grant of

habeas relief where state court reasonably applied

clearly-established federal law in affirming death

sentence); Lockyer v. Andrade, 538 U.S. 63 (2003)

(reversing Ninth Circuit’s grant of habeas relief

where state court reasonably applied “gross

disproportionality” principle to Zighth Amendment

claim); Visciotti, 537 U.S. at 19 (reversing Ninth

Circuit’s grant of habeas relief where state court

reasonably applied Strickland to _ ineffective-

assistance-of-counsel claim); Karly uv. Packer, 537

US. 3 (2002) (per curiam) (reversing Ninth

15

Circuit’s grant of habeas relief where “it [was] at

least reasonable [for state court] to conclude” that

there was no jury coercion); Bell, 535 U.S. at 685

(reversing Sixth Circuit’s grant of habeas relief

where state court reasonably applied Strickland to

ineffective-assistance-of-counsel claim).

The fact that the First Circuit “purported to

decide the case under the deferential standard

AEDPA mandates” does not shield its opinion from

review by this Court where the result reached

clearly violates AEDPA’s provisions. Brown uv.

Payton, 544 U.S. 133, 140 (2004). Instead, this

Court looks beyond a circuit court’s mere invocation

of AEDPA’s words and evaluates the substance of

its decision. See, e.g., id. at 147 (reversing grant of

habeas relief where “there [was] no basis for [the

Ninth Circuit's] conclu[sion] that the [state court’s]

application of our precedents was ‘objectively

unreasonable’’); Viscrotti, 537 U.S. at 25 (reversing

prant of habeas relief where Ninth Circuit

recognized that § 2254(d) was applicable but “did

not observe th{e] distinction [between an incorrect

and an unreasonable application of federal law],

[and] ultimately substituted its own judgment for

that of the state court”).

Here, as discussed below, the Massachusetts

SJC’s application of Jackson was_ objectively

reasonable, and the First Circuit “was nowhere

close to the mark when it concluded otherwise.”

Yarborough, 541 U.S. at 665. Certiorari is thus

appropriate because the First Circuit’s decision was

contrary to AEDPA, 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1), and

this Court’s precedents. See Sup. Ct. R. 10(c).

intervention by this Court 1s necessary to prevent

16

“federal habeas ‘retrials” in sufficiency-of-the-

evidence cases and to ensure that O’Laughlin’s

“state-court convictions are given effect to the

extent possible under law.” Bell, 535 U.S. at 693.

B. This Court Should Grant Certiorari

Because the “Reasonable Speculation”

Standard Finds No Basis in this Court’s

Cases and Threatens to Erode Jackson

v. Virginia.

In its June 10, 2009 opinion, the First

Circuit held that “lajlthough circumstantial

evidence alone can support a conviction, there are

times that it amounts to only a_ reasonable

speculation and not to. sufficient evidence.”

O'Laughlin III, 568 F.3d at 302 (quoting Newman,

543 F.3d at 796) (emphasis added). This Court

should grant certiorari because the “reasonable

speculation” standard, first adopted by the Sixth

Circuit and relied on by the First Circuit in this

case, finds no basis in this Court’s established law.

Further, the term “reasonable speculation” is

inherently contradictory, it permits reviewing

courts to usurp the jury’s role as factfinder, and,

ultimately, it devalues circumstantial evidence, all

in direct conflict with Jackson v. Virginia.

1. The “reasonable speculation”

standard is not clearly-established

law under AEDPA.

As this Court recently reaffirmed, under

AEDPA, a federal court may not grant habeas relief

based on a state’s failure to apply “a specific legal

rule that has not been squarely established by this

17

Court.” Knowles v. Mirzayance, 129 S. Ct. 1411,

1419 (2009); see also Carey v. Musladin, 549 U.S.

70, 76-77 (2006) (same). The term “reasonable

speculation” is not found in Jackson v. Virginia or

any subsequent Supreme Court opinion. The term

first appeared in a 1981 opinion of the Sixth Circuit

Court of Appeals, Fuller v. Anderson, 662 F.2d 420

(6th Cir. 1981), cert. denied sub nom, Anderson uv.

Fuller, 455 U.S. 1028 (1982), and has come and

gone in the Sixth Circuit’s jurisprudence, appearing

most recently in Newman v. Metrish, 543 F.3d at

796, upon which the First Circuit relied heavily in

this case. The Sixth Circuit’s formulation of the

Jackson standard in Newman is itself subject to a

petition for a writ of certiorari that is pending

before this Court. See Metrish v. Newman, No. 08-

1401, 2009 WL 1370163 (U.S. May 12,. 2009).

Before the First Circuit’s June 10, 2009 opinion, no

other circuit had adopted this language. The

“reasonable speculation” test, to the extent it

departs from the Jackson rule (discussed below),

has not been clearly established by this Court and

cannot form the basis for a grant. of habeas relief.

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1); Knowles, 129 S. Ct. at 1419.

2. The term “reasonable

speculation” is inherently

contradictory and permits

appellate courts to usurp the

jury’s role as factfinder.

The “reasonable speculation” standard

applied in the instant case not only finds no basis

in the Supreme Court’s cases, but, as Chief Judge

Lynch observed in her dissent from the denial of

rehearing en banc, “[t]he ‘reasonable speculation’

18

standard is materially different from the Jackson

standard in that it prohibits convictions from

resting on reasonable inferences drawn from the

evidence.” O’Laughlin IV, 577 F.3d at 4 (Lynch,

C.J., dissenting from the denial of en banc review).

Under Jackson, “the factfinder’s role as

weigher of the evidence is preserved through a

legal conclusion that upon judicial review all of the

evidence is to be considered in the lght most

favorable to the prosecution.” 443 U.S. at 319

(emphasis in original). Jackson thus permits jurors

“to resolve conflicts in the testimony, to weigh the

evidence, and to draw reasonable inferences from

basic facts to ultimate facts.” Jd. (emphasis added);

see also Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298, 330 (1995)

(the Jackson standard “focuses the inquiry on the

power of the tner of fact to reach its conclusion’);

Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. 390, 402 (1993) C[T]he

standard announced [in Jackson] . . . does not

permit a court to make its own _ subjective

determination of guilt or innocence.”) (quoting

Jackson, 443 U.S. at 318-19); Wright v. West, 505

U.S. 277, 296 (1992) (Opinion of Thomas, J.) (“In

Jackson, [this Court] emphasized repeatedly the

deference owed to the trier of fact, and,

correspondingly, the sharply limited nature of

constitutional sufficiency review.”). Here, the

standard applhed by _ the First Circuit

inappropriately strips jurors of the ability to make

a reasonable determination—beyond a reasonable

doubt—that circumstantial evidence in a case

points to a defendant's guilt.

Moreover, “{t]he term ‘reasonable

speculation’ contains an_ inherent _— conflict.

19

Recognizing that a conclusion rests on speculation

suggests that the inferences upon which it is based

are unreasonable.” O’Laughlin IV, 577 F.3d at 4

n.1 (Lynch, C.J., dissenting from the denial of en

banc review). Thus, the First Circuit’s statement

that a jury’s “reasonable speculation” cannot

amount to sufficient evidence is at best confusing

and at worst encourages appellate courts to

substitute their independent assessment of the

evidence for that of the jury.

A circuit court’s gloss on this Court’s

jurisprudence can stray so far from the underlying

standard as to constitute an error of law. See

Lockyer, 538 U.S. at 75 (holding that the Ninth

Circuit erred by defining “objectively

unreasonable,” as used in Williams vu. Taylor, to

mean “clear error’). In Lockyer, this Court

observed that the Ninth Circuit’s “gloss of clear

error fails to give proper deference to state courts

by conflating error (even clear error) with

unreasonableness.”. 538 U.S. at 75. In lke

manner, the term “reasonable speculation” fails to

give proper deference to the factfinder in

sufficiency-of-the-evidence cases by conflating

reasonable inferences with speculation. This gloss

on the Jackson standard cannot be permitted to

stand, as it “threatens to lead to reversals of state-

court criminal convictions whenever a federal court

chooses to sit as a jury and set aside the lawful

jury’s findings of fact.” Anderson v. Fuller, 455 U.S.

1028 (1982) (Burger, C.J., dissenting from denial of

certiorari). “Jackson did not authorize such gross

interference with the functioning of state criminal

justice systems.” /d.

20

$. The “reasonable speculation”

standard devalues circumstantial

evidence, unduly disadvantaging

the prosecution in domestic and

acquaintance violence cases.

In addition to intruding on the jury’s role as

factfinder, the “reasonable speculation” standard

“strongly disfavors circumstantial evidence,

contrary to [this Court’s] long-standing recognition

that a criminal conviction may rest— on

circumstantial evidence alone.” O’Laughlin IV, 577

F.3d at 4 (Lynch, C.J., dissenting from the denial of

en banc review); see Desert Palace, Inc. v. Costa,

539 U.S. 90, 100 (2003) (“[Wle have never

questioned the sufficiency of circumstantial

evidence in support of a criminal conviction, even

though proof beyond a _ reasonable doubt is

required.”); Holland v. United States, 348 U.S. 121,

140 (1954) (noting that, in criminal cases,

circumstantial evidence is “intrinsically no

different from testimonial evidence”). As Chief

Judge Lynch noted in her dissent, this “devaluation

of circumstantial evidence .. . has sweeping

implications,” particularly in domestic’ or

acquaintance violence cases, “where the victims,

who often have the only direct evidence of their

abusers’ guilt, are left unable to testify or they

recant or refuse to cooperate.” O’Laughlin IV, 577

F.3d at 4 (Lynch, C.J., dissenting from the denial of

en banc review) (citing T. Lininger, Prosecuting

Batterers After Crawford, 91 Va. L. Rev. 747, 768

(2005) (“Recent evidence suggests that 80 to 85

percent of battered women will recant. at some

point.”)).

21

Notably, in the majority of cases in which the

Sixth Circuit—the only other circuit court to adopt

the “reasonable speculation” standard—has applied

the standard, it has reversed a_estate-court

determination of a sufficiency claim. See Newman,

543 F.3d at 796 (divided panel affirmed grant of

habeas relief), petition for cert. filed, Metrish v.

Newman, No. 08-1401, 2009 WL 1370163 (U.S.

May 12, 2009); Parker v. Renico, 506 F.3d 444 (6th

Cir. 2007) (unanimous panel affirmed grant of

habeas rehef); Brown v. Palmer, 441 F.3d 347 (6th

Cir. 2006) (same); Fuller v. Anderson, 662 F.2d 420

(6th Cir. 1981) (divided panel affirmed grant of

habeas relief), cert. denied sub nom, Anderson uv.

Fuller, 455 U.S. 1028 (1982). But see Smith v.

Romanowski, No. 07-1578, 2009 WL 1884451 (6th

Cir. July 1, 2009) (unpublished) (divided panel

affirmed denial of habeas relief, with dissent

calling for reversal under “reasonable speculation”

standard); Tucker v. Palmer, 541 F.3d 652 (6th Cir.

2008) (divided panel reversed district court’s grant

of habeas relief, with dissent calling for affirmance

under “reasonable speculation” standard). The

Sixth Circuit’s, and now the First Circuit’s, dilution

of the Jackson standard invites federal courts to

retry state cases on habeas review, contrary to the

deference that Jackson and AEDPA demand.

22

ci. This Court Should Grant Certiorari

Because the Instant Case is a Good

Vehicle for Clarifying Jackson’s

Application to Circumstantial Cases

and for Re-Affirming AEDPA’s

Restrictions on Federal Habeas Review.

This case well ulustrates the concerns

outlined above. It presents an extremely close case

on the merits of the underlying sufficiency-of-the-

evidence question, as evidenced by the varied court

decisions in this matter. However, the very fact

that reasonable minds could differ regarding the

merits of the underlying constitutional issue makes

it clear that AEDPA constrained the First Circuit

to deny O’Laughlin’s petition for habeas relief. See

Yarborough, 541 U.S. at 664-65 (holding that

AEDPA precluded Ninth Circuit from granting

habeas relief where “fair-minded jurists could

disagree” over whether the defendant was in

custody for Miranda purposes).

This Court has observed that “evaluating

whether a rule application was unreasonable

[under AEDPA] requires considering the Rule’s

specificity. The more general the rule, the more

leeway courts have im reaching outcomes in case-

by-case determinations.” Id. at 664. Here,

O’Laughlin’s underlying challenge to the sufficiency

of the evidence is governed by the standard set

forth in Jackson v. Virginia, namely, “whether,

after viewing the evidence in the lght most

favorable to the prosecution, any rational trier of

fact could have found the essential elements of the

crime beyond a reasonable doubt.” 443 U.S. at 319

(emphasis in original). The standard is a general

23

one, and, accordingly, its application to a specific

case “can demand a_ substantial element of

judgment.” Yarborough, 541 U.S. at 664. Here,

even a cursory review of the First Circuit’s analysis

reveals that it failed to defer to the SJC’s reasoned

judgments. Simply put, “there [was] no basis for

{the First Circuit’s] conclu[sion] that the [SJC’s]

application of [Jackson] was ‘objectively

unreasonable.” Payton, 544 U.S. at 147.

The First Circuit panel first assailed “the

evidence that O’Laughlin acted upon a financial

motive,” calling it “weak at best.” O’Laughlin IT/,

568 F.3d at 302. The court emphasized that no

items of value were disturbed in the victim’s

apartment. Jd. However, the court overlooked the

fact that “nothing [was] displaced, but the victim’s

purse was on the floor.” O’Laughlin IJ, 446 Mass.

at 194, 843 N.E.2d at 624 (emphasis added).

The First Circuit then dismissed the SJC’s

conclusion that the jury could draw “a reasonable

inference that the defendant was frightened off

before he could steal anything when he heard the

neighbor [speaking on the telephone],” stating that

“no rational juror could conclude that the

placement of this phone call fmghtened [the

assailant] off given the volume and duration of

Mrs. Kotowski’s screams.” O’Laughlin III, 568 F.3d

at 302. The court offered no explanation as to why

the volume and duration of the victim’s screams—

which lasted only about thirty seconds before the

neighbor called the police, O’Laughlin IT, 446 Mass.

at 192, 843 N.E.2d at 622—renders the SJC’s

inference unreasonable. Rather, it is a reasonable

inference—and thus a required inference under

24

Jackson—that the assailant, upon realzing that

the victim’s screams had roused a neighbor, would

fear that the police could not be far behind. ‘his

inference was further supported by a police

reenactment of the 911 call, which determined that

a person standing in the victim’s bedroom could

hear footsteps and speaking noises from the

apartment above. /d. at 192 n.3, 843 N.E.2d at 622

n.3.

The First Circuit further asserted that the

savage nature of the beating was “inconsistent”

with the purported financial motive for the crime.

O’Laughlin Ill, 568 F.3d at 302. The weight of this

motive evidence was for the jury to assess. Jackson

does not permit the panel to substitute its

judgment for that of the jury on this issue. It was

not irrational for the jury to conclude that

O’Laughlin had a financial motive for entering the

apartment, to wit, that he needed money to buy

more drugs, and that he abandoned that purpose

when the attack on Mrs. Kotowski spiraled out of

control.

Similarly, the First Circuit attempted to

minimize evidence of O’Laughlin’s possession of a

master key to the victim’s apartment, stating that

although “one possible inference” is_ that

©’Laughlin used his key to enter the apartment,

“several others... possessed a master key,” and

“Mrs. Kotowski could have let someone familiar

into her apartment.” Jd. The implication that

these other possibilities detract from the sufficiency

of the prosecution’s evidence is inconsistent with

this Court’s observation in Jackson that the

prosecution is not “under an affirmative duty to

25

rule out every hypothesis except that of guilt

beyond a reasonable doubt.” 443 U.S. at 326 (citing

Holland, 348 U.S. at 140).

Moreover, individual pieces of evidence

cannot be considered in isolation. The fact that

O’Laughlin possessed a key to the victim’s

apartment becomes much more powerful when

considered alongside the fact that O’Laughlin had

entered the victim’s apartment on a previous

occasion and remarked on the value of her

possessions. In addition, telephone records showed

that O’Laughlin was awake in his apartment—only

two doors away from the victim’s apartment—just

minutes before the victim’s upstairs neighbor heard

screaming, and the neighbor testified that he did

not hear any vehicles enter or leave the area from

the time he first heard screaming until the time the

police arrived. O’Laughlin II, 446 Mass. at 192-93,

199, 843 N.E.2d at 622-23, 627.

The First Circuit also attempted _ to

circumscribe the inferences that could be drawn

from the fact that an aluminum bat, consistent

with the victim’s injunes and bearing O’Laughlin’s

surname, was found outside, a short distance from

the victim’s apartment. Although the panel

correctly pointed out that “any bat likely would

have been consistent with her injuries,” O’Laughlin

II, 568 F.3d at 302, this bat was located only

twenty-five yards from the crime scene, and apart

from some leaves and debris covering the bat, it

was “clean,” permitting the jury to infer that the

bat had recently been cleaned and had not been

outside for a long time. O’Laughlin IT, 446 Mass. at

196, 200, 843 N.E.2d at 625, 627.

26

With respect to the consciousness-of-guilt

evidence, the court dismissed the importance of this

evidence, even while admitting that “the conflicting

versions O’Laughlin gave the police as to how he

was awoken and his reaction to the police’s request

to swab his closet door when they were searching

his home could be probative evidence linking

O’Laughlin to the crime.” O’Laughlin IIT, 568 F.3d

at 304. According to the First Circuit, “in light of

O’Laughlin’s concerns that the police would

discover his drug use, this evidence was insufficient

to serve as the primary basis upon which the jury

could rely.”. Id. However, as the SJC correctly

noted, O’Laughlin’s reaction to the request to swab

the stain on his closet door “reflected not merely a

general consciousness of guilt, but indicated that

[O’Laughlin] feared that the blood stain could be

that of the victim, a fear he would have only if he

were in fact the perpetrator.” O’Laughlin ILI, 446

Mass. at 196, 200, 843 N.E.2d at 625, 628.

O’Laughlin also made a statement to a friend,

several days after the attack, that “with [my] bad

luck whoever the assailant was... came in with a

Nixon mask and a bat,” Tr. 6/186, indicating a

knowledge of the crime that only the assailant

would have.

The First Circuit also faulted the SJC for

citing the bruises and marks on O’Laughlin’s face

“as evidence from which the jury could infer that an

altercation occurred between O’Laughlin and Mrs.

Kotowski,” stating that “these bruises and marks

have minimal, if any, probative force given the fact

that they were not even noted by Officers ‘Tierney

and Skowron when they were responding to an

assault just minutes after the attack.”. O’Laughlin

27

ll, 568 F.3d at 304. Yet, in weighing this evidence,

a jury could reasonably discount the fact that the

two officers observing O’Laughlin under nighttime

conditions had overlooked or not understood the

significance of the marks, whereas they were

immediately apparent, and remarkable, to officers

in the light of day when more information was

available. Moreover, a jury could infer from the

bruises and marks that the victim fought back

during the attack, which could have enraged

O’Laughlin into added physical violence.

Finally, the First Circuit placed emphasis on

the fact that “the prosecution had to rely on

circumstantial evidence because no physical or

DNA evidence linked O’Laughlin to the attack

despite the copious amounts of blood at the crime

scene.” Jd. The panel remarked that “[c]onsidering

the large amount of blood, it is difficult to fathom

how O’Laughlin was able to avoid having any blood

or other DiNA evidence connect him to Mrs.

Kotowski.” Id.

The First Circuit’s characterization of the

blood evidence is flawed. A state chemist who

processed evidence at the scene testified that all

the visible blood at the crime scene was contained

in the bedroom. ‘Tr. 6/281-282. According to

officers who responded to the crime scene, the blood

inside the bedroom was mostly confined “to the

carpet and the wall,” Tr. 2/199-200, and the

bloodstains on the walls were “smears,” Tr. 2/243,

which were “mostly in the area of the floor or just

lower up on the door jams [sic].” Tr. 2/246. Based

on this evidence and on photographs from the

scene, the prosecution was able to argue in closing

28

that, despite copious amounts of blood on the floor,

there was “hardly any” spatter on the walls. Tr.

9/76-77. Thus, it was reasonable for the jury to

infer that most of the blood that the police observed

at the scene accumulated while the victim lay

bleeding in the hours following the attack, long

after the assailant had left. More importantly,

since no blood was found on any of the wall-to-wall

carpeting in any of the halls or rooms beside the

bedroom, nor on either of the doors leading out of

the apartment, Tr. 6/281-282, the reasonable

inference was that the assailant had little or no

blood on him after the attack.

Moreover, to the extent the First Circuit

imposed a requirement that the prosecution

present physical or DNA evidence to convict

O’Laughlin, such a requirement is contrary to the

law of this Court and the panel’s own recognition

that a conviction may rest solely on circumstantial

evidence. O’Laughlin III, 568 F.3d at 302; see

Desert Palace, Inc., 539 U.S. at 100; Holland, 348

U.S. at 140.8

5 In addition, to the extent the panel imphed that the

prosecution was required to disprove O Laughlins theory that

the victim's estranged husband committed the = attack.

O'Laughtlin U7, 568 F.3d at 308 (noting the “compelling third-

party evidence”), this is also contrary to Jackson, 443 US. at

326 Viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the

prosecution means recognizing that the jury could reject

O'Laughlin’s third-party culprit evidence. See Sehlup. 513

US at 330 ((Ujnder Jackson. the assessment of the

credibility of witnesses is generally beyond the scope of

review. ). Here. the third-party evidence only estabhshed a

motive on the husband's part. The other evidence tended to

29

Perhaps the best indicator that this was a

close case, requiring deference to the SJC, is that

the First Circuit panel itself was divided as to what

aspects of the SJC opinion were unreasonable

under AE DPA:

This is not to say that each of us is

convinced that the state court’s

decision is unreasonable in every

respect. But this case comes to us on

arguments as presented by the

parties. This panel may not be in

complete unanimity in all particulars,

but we do agree that [O’Laughlin] has

the better of the argument with

respect to the means_ evidence

introduced by the prosecution at trial.

O’Laughlin IIT, 568 F.3d at 302 n.19. In sum,

because “fair-minded jurists” could (and did) differ

about whether the SJC’s opinion was in error,

under AEDPA, the First Circuit was required to

defer to the SJC’s reasoned judgment and to affirm

the district court’s denial of habeas relief.

Yarborough, 541 U.S. at 664-65.

The costs of permitting the First Circuit to

bypass AEDPA’s restrictions in this case would be

extremely high. Habeas review, by its very nature,

“entails significant costs.” Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S.

107 (1982). “Among other things, ‘fiJt disturbs the

State’s significant interest in repose for concluded

negate his opportunity to commit the cmme See

Commonwealth's Brief to the SJC, Supp. Ans., Ex. L at 15-17

(summarizing third-party evidence)

30

litigation, denies society the right to punish some

admitted offenders, and intrudes’ on _s state

sovereignty to a degree matched by few exercises of

federal judicial authority.” Wright, 505 U.S. at 293

(Opinion of Thomas, J.) (quoting Duckworth ov.

Eagan, 492 U.S. 195, 210 (1989) (O’Connor, J.,

concurring)). In sufficiency cases such as this, the

friction engendered between the state and federal

justice systems is intensified by the fact that double

jeopardy principles bar retrial of a _ petitioner

granted habeas relief. This exacts a significant toll

on the interests of federalism and comity, and it

upsets expectations—particularly of victims—in

relation to the finality of state-court criminal

proceedings.

Moreover, this is not an isolated problem.

This Court is currently presented with at least two

other cases in which it is claimed that a federal

appellate court exceeded its authority on habeas

review by overturning a state-court determination

of evidentiary sufficiency. See Newman, 543 F.3d

at 796, petition for cert. filed, Metrish v. Newman,

No. 08-1401, 2009 WL 1370163 (U.S. May 12,

2009); Brown v. Farwell, 525 F.3d at 787, cert.

granted sub nom, McDaniel v. Brown, 129 S. Ct.

1038 (2009). Certiorari is warranted in this case,

as in Metrish v. Newman and McDaniel v. Brown,

to resolve uncertainty about the application of the

Jackson standard and to prevent federal retrials of

state criminal cases in the guise of habeas review.

31

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MARTHA COAKLEY

Attorney General for the

Commonwealth of

Massachusetts

JESSICA V. BARNETT*

JAMES J. ARGUIN

Assistant Attorneys General

One Ashburton Place

Boston, MA 02108-1598

(617) 727-2200

*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Petitioner

October 21, 2009

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

[Published at: 568 F.3d *287]

United States Court of Appeals,

First Circuit.

Michael O’7LAUGHLIN, Petitioner, Appellant,

Vv.

Steven O’BRIEN, Superintendent, Old Colony

Correctional Center, Respondent, Appellee.

No. 08-1010.

Heard Sept. 12, 2008.

Decided June 10, 2009.

a FP

*289 Kenneth I. Seiger, for appellant.

Scott A. Katz, Assistant Attorney General,

Criminal Bureau, with whom Martha Coakley,

Attorney General, was on brief for appellee.

Before TORRUELLA, BALDOCK,F* and

HOWARD, Circuit Judges.

FN* Of the Tenth Circuit, sitting by

designation.

TORRUELLA, Circuit Judge.

2a

On the morning of November 17, 2000,

Annmarie Kotowski (“Mrs. Kotowski’) was found in

her apartment severely beaten and covered in

blood. She survived, but could not remember the

details surrounding the attack or the person who

attacked her. After an _ investigation, police

identified Petitioner-Appellant Michael O’Laughlin

as the perpetrator.

A Massachusetts Superior Court jury

subsequently convicted O’Laughlin of the following

counts: (1) burglary and armed assault in a

dwelling; (2) armed assault in a dwelling; (3) armed

assault with intent to murder; and (4) assault and

battery by means of a dangerous weapon. The

Superior Court then sentenced O’Laughlin to 35-50

years on Counts One and Two; 19-20 years on

Count 3; and 9-10 years on Count 4, ruling that the

sentences were to be served concurrently. The

intermediate Massachusetts Appeals Court

reversed the judgments holding that there was

insufficient evidence to support the verdicts.

Commonwealth v. O’Laughlin, 63 Mass. App. Ct.

805, 830 N.E.2d 222 £(2005) = (hereinafter

“O’Laughlin TI’). The Massachusetts Supreme

Judicial Court (“SJC”) reinstated the judgment

reasoning that there was sufficient evidence to

support the verdicts. Commonwealth v. O’Laughlin,

446 Mass. 188, 843 N.E..2d 617 (2006) (hereinafter “

O’Laughlin Ll “).

*290 O’Laughlin filed a petition for a writ of

habeas corpus in the United States District Court

for the District of Massachusetts on grounds that

(1) the SJC’s ruling was objectively unreasonable

because there was insufficient evidence to support

3a

a guilty verdict and (2) that the SJC violated his

constitutional right to present a defense. The

district court denied O’Laughlin’s petition for

habeas relief. After careful consideration, we

reverse the judgment of the district court and order

the district court to grant the petition.

I. Background

A. Factual Summary

“We must ‘accept the state court findings of

fact unless [O’Laughlin] convinces us, by clear and

convincing evidence, that they are in error.’ “

Lynch v. Ficco, 438 F.3d 35, 39 (1st Cir. 2006)

(quoting McCambridge v. Hall, 303 F.3d 24, 26 (1st

Cir. 2002) (en banc)); see also 28 U.S.C. §

2254(e)(1). We note that the SJC’s findings of fact

may be “supplemented with other facts from the

record that are consistent with the SJC’s findings.”

Lynch, 438 F.3d at 39; see also Healy v. Spencer,

453 F.3d 21, 22 (1st Cir. 2006). Thus, we recount

the facts largely as they were presented in the

SJC’s opinion.

In May 2000, Mrs. Kotowski revealed to

David Kotowski (““Mr. Kotowski’), her husband of

over twenty-five years, that she was romantically

involved with James Finn. In September 2000,

Mrs. Kotowski moved out of her home into the Fox

Hollow condominium complex in a neighboring

town.FN! She resided alone. O’Laughlin, a member

of Fox Hollow’s maintenance staff, lived two doors

down from Mrs. Kotowski. Like other members of

the maintenance staff, he possessed a master key to

4a

all the buildings on the property, including a key to

Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment.FN2

FN1. The SJC indicated a “difficult”

marital situation: “Both the victim

and her husband characterized their

relationship as friendly but strained.

(Other witnesses described _ the

husband’s attitude as alternating

between loving and angry.)”

Approximately a week before the

attack, she conversed for the first time

with her husband about the possibility

of getting a divorce. Mrs. Kotowski

testified that Mr. Kotowski was

“crushed” by the move.

FN2. O’Laughlin had been inside Mrs.

Kotowski’s apartment at least once

previously in September to fix a

window, among other tasks.

The SJC noted that O’Laughlin “took some

interest” in Mrs. Kotowski prior to the attack. For

example, when Mrs. Kotowski’s sister was visiting,

O’Laughlin stood outside her apartment and asked

Mrs. Kotowski if there were “any more good looking

women in there[.]” Also, he referred to Mrs.

Kotowski five or six times in conversations with

acquaintances, citing her “beautiful antique

furniture” in her apartment as evidence of her

wealth and remarking that he was attracted to her

“body type.” FN3

FN3. In addition, the SJC states that

just days before the attack, one

5a

acquaintance testified that O’Laughlin

had “really scared” Mrs. Kotowski by

inquiring “about the window in her

apartment.” However, once Mrs.

Kotowski realized he was on the

maintenance staff, she simply walked

away.

The day before the attack, O’Laughlin

cashed a $457.16 paycheck and made $200 child

support payment to his ex-wife. Also, the SJC

stated that O’Laughlin was agitated when he was

unable to sell his trailer to his neighbor because the

neighbor could not come up with $500. The

neighbor paid him the next day.

On the night of the attack, the SJC described

O’Laughlin as “[nJervous, jittery, [and] paranoid....”

This was “typical behavior when he smoked crack

cocaine,” which O’Laughlin had done earlier *291

that evening at the home of a frend, Mark Puleri.

As the mght wore on, O’Laughlin was

“depleted of drugs and most of his cash.” At 9:00 or

9:30 p.m. that evening, O’Laughlin, now at home

alone, telephoned another friend, Grover Finkle,

asking him for a ride to purchase drugs. Finkle,

who was at Richard O’Leary’s house, had

previously smoked crack cocaine with O’Laughlin

and knew a drug dealer. Finkle and O'Leary, a

taxicab driver, arrived at O’Laughlin’s apartment

an hour later. However, they soon left without

giving O’Laughlin a ride because O’Laughlin was

unable to secure money for cab fare.FN4

Ga

FN4. O’Leary refused to drive unless

O’Laughlin provided him with an

advance payment.

In the early morning hours of November 17,

between 12:10 and 1:43 a.m., fourteen telephone

calls were placed to or from O’Laughlin’s

apartment. The majority of these calls were placed

to known drug dealers.

Shortly before 2:00 a.m. George Whittemore,

a neighbor living directly above Mrs. Kotowski,

awakened to a woman screaming directly below

and the sound of “wood hitting wood.” According to

Whittemore, a carpenter by profession, these

sounds lasted for about thirty seconds.

Whittemore dialed 911 at 1:55 a.m. He

stayed awake until the police arrived and flashed

his apartment lights to indicate his apartment to

the police. Between the time he called 911 and

when the police arrived, Whittemore did not hear

any vehicles arrive or depart from the area. The

police later conducted a reenactment of the 911

call. Based on this reenactment, they concluded

that a person standing in Mrs. Kotowski’s bedroom

could have heard Whittemore’s footsteps as he

walked to the telephone as well as Whittemore’s

voice, but would have been unable to make out

what was being said.

Officers William Tierney and_ Phillip

Skowron arrived six or seven minutes after

Whittemore’s 911 call. They were unable to find

apartment number 202, the apartment reported in

the dispatch, because the apartment numbers at

7a

the complex had been recently renumbered. They

did not note anything unusual, but observed

O’Laughlin walking from the building on a

walkway leading from apartment number 19.

O’Laughlin was wearing only boxer shorts and

Officer Tierney testified that O’Laughlin appeared

‘Impervious’ to the near-freezing temperature.

O’Laughlin questioned the officers regarding

what had happened and the officers answered that

they were responding to a report of a woman

screaming. When they asked him if he had heard

any screaming, O’Laughlin replied that he had

been awakened by screaming, but believed it to be

a raccoon trapped in a dumpster.FN5 O’Laughlin

explained that he had placed a stick in the

dumpster so that it could escape. Officer Tierney

then looked inside the dumpster and saw a stick,

but no animal. The SJC noted that during his

conversation with the officers, O’Laughlin seemed

“uneasy and distant,” not making eye contact with

them. The police further searched the area, but left

after finding nothing suspicious.

FN5. O’Laughlin’s supervisor testified

that the complex had been having

problems with raccoons getting caught

in the dumpster.

Whittemore testified that throughout the

night he heard a woman moaning and crying

directly below him.’N® He also testified that later in

the morning, he heard the *292 sound of glass

breaking, banging, and a man outside Mrs.

Kotowski’s apartment calling her name. The man

subsequently yelled “Oh, my God.”

8a

FN6. Although he heard these sounds,

Whittemore did not contact the police

again that night.

The man Whittemore was referring to was

Mrs. Kotowski’s boyfriend, Finn, who had arrived

at 5:45 a.m. at Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment. On

weekdays, Finn routinely joined Mrs. Kotowski for

a morning coffee prior to starting his workday. On

this particular morning, when Finn knocked on the

door, he only heard her say, “Who is it?” in a

strange voice. After failing to reach her from a

nearby public telephone, Finn testified that he

forced open a locked sliding glass rear door.

Although the living room appeared to be in order,

he found Mrs. Kotowski lying on the floor next to

the bed. He testified that “there was just blood

everywhere.” Finn dialed 911 just before 6:30 a.m.

Mrs. Kotowski, who had severe wounds on her

head, was taken to Berkshire Medical Center. The

police ruled out Finn as a suspect because of his

alibi (which they confirmed), his reaction of shock

upon discovering Mrs. Kotowski, and _ his

cooperation with the police.

Officers who arrived after Finn’s 911 call

observed blood in the victim’s bedroom on the bed,

the pillow, the floors, the walls, and on the door

jambs of the bathroom and bedroom. The SJC

noted that the crime scene contained “ ‘quite a bit

of blood’ that appeared to be ‘splatters’ on the

comforter.” Further, the bed rail was dented, with

wood splinters on the ground beneath the dent.

Officer Skowron testified that everything else was

intact as the apartment was neat and nothing was

displaced. Mrs. Kotowski’s purse was on the floor,

9a

however. Officer Skowron also testified that there ~

were no signs that the front door or the rear sliding

door had been forced open (which contradicted a

report by an earlier officer on the scene stating that

the rear door was broken); that the drawers were

closed; and that the light and figurines on the

dresser were upright. Mrs. Kotowski testified that

no items of value were missing from the apartment.

‘hese items, which were in plain view on top of the

dresser, included diamonds, pearls, and an

expensive watch in the bedroom. Also, Mrs.

Kotowski’s purse contained her credit cards, about

$28 in cash, and a checkbook. There was $522 in

cash in a dresser drawer.

Constance Cappel, a neighbor who lived in

the apartment between O’Laughlin and Mrs.

Kotowski, testified that she heard voices outside

Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment at about 6:45 a.m.

Cappel went outside and saw Mrs. Kotowski being

loaded into an ambulance. She _ knocked on

O’Laughlin’s door and told him that she thought

someone had been murdered. O’Laughlin, who

answered the door in his boxer shorts and looked

like he had just awoken, responded “What do you

want me to do about it?”

At 8:45 a.m. O’Laughlin came out of his

apartment dressed for work, approached one of his

co-workers and Cappel, and inquired about what

was happening. After his co-worker explained the

situation, O’Laughlin described his encounter with

the police the previous night and how he had been

awakened by the police cruisers. O’Laughlin also

informed his co-worker that he told the police that

10a

he thought raccoons had been in the dumpster

making a “kind of squealing sound.”

At about 9:40 a.m., Officers Tierney and

Todd Briggs talked with O’Laughlin outside the

apartment building and Officer Tierney noticed a

“scratch or a dig mark in [O’Laughlin’s] left cheek,

[a] small cut on his chin and a round, circular

bruise ... just below his left car.” Officer Tierney

was unsure about how fresh these marks were.

The SJC remarked that although O’Laughlin

was initially “reluctant,” he *293 agreed to give a

statement at the police station when informed that

Officer Tierney would conduct the interview.

O’Laughlin arrived at the station at 10:40 a.m., but

was told by Chief Ronald Glidden to wait for Officer

Tierney, who had yet to arrive. Officer Tierney

arrived twenty minutes later and told O’Laughlin

that he would be “right with him.” However, when

he returned five minutes later, O’Laughlin had

left.?N7

FN7. O’Laughlin’s co-worker testified

that O’Laughlin went back to the

apartment complex and told him the

person O’Laughlin was supposed to

meet was not there. After discussing

the matter further, O’Laughlin

decided to go back to the police station

accompanied by his co-worker.

O’Laughlin returned to the police station

twenty minutes later and was interviewed by Chief

Glidden for about ten minutes. Chief Glidden

testified that O’Laughlin “seemed agitated” during

lla

the interview. In his statement to Chief Glidden,

O’Laughlin stated that he had been “drinking

before he went to bed and he just didn’t think he

was awake until he heard the cruisers at

approximately two o'clock.” He thought he may

have heard foxes or raccoons before that, but was

uncertain. O’Laughlin said that he had “seen [the

victim] around,”; that he and a friend had joked

about her boyfriend; and that he had been in that

apartment to repair a window. After the interview

concluded, he went home.

State Troopers David Buell and Brian Berkel

arnived at the complex around noon. ‘l'rooper Buell

spoke to O’Laughlin, who stated that he had been

out with his friend, Puleri, the previous night,

returned at 10:30 p.m., went to sleep around 11:30

p.m., and was awakened by screaming, which he

thought was a fox fighting with a _ raccoon.

O’Laughlin said that a short time later the police

arrived and he went out to speak with them. After

the officers left, he slept until 7:30 a.m., when he

was awakened by his neighbor, who had informed

him that there had been a murder.

Trooper Buell asked O’Laughlin for consent

to search his apartment in order to eliminate him

as a suspect and because his apartment was in

close proximity to Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment.

O’.aughhin consented, and allowed ‘Trooper Berkel

to take photographs and two police chemists to

search for blood stains. Trooper Berkel

photographed a red stain on a closet door near the

kitchen area. A chemist who saw the stain asked

O’Laughlin if his consent’ included taking

swabbings. O’Laughlin responded that it did not.

12a

Soon thereafter, O’Laughlin asked the officers to

leave his apartment.

Outside the apartment, the police decided to

apply for a search warrant. They returned to

O’Laughlin’s apartment and informed him of their

intent to secure the apartment and obtain a

warrant. O’Laughlin replied that they did not need

to pursue a warrant because he would allow them

back into the apartment. He also told the officers

that he had wiped the red stain off the closet door

with his finger, and thought it was his own blood,

but was not certain. O’Laughlin told the police that

he was concerned about a search because he was

afraid police would find his drug paraphernalia and

because he possessed money that he did not want

taken. Trooper Buell asked O’Laughlin to give him

the drug paraphernalia, telling him that he would

not be charged with drug possession.

When the chemists’ returned to the

apartment, the red stain on the closet door was

gone. However, the area, where the stain had been,

tested positive for the presumptive *294 presence

of blood. The chemists collected a sample by

swabbing.'N8

FN8. Chemists also collected swabs

from two small, red-brown stains in

the apartment that tested positive for

the presumptive presence of blood,

and cuttings of what appeared to be

blood from O’Laughlin’s bed comforter.

O’Laughlin handed over to the police

the clothes he said he wore the

l3a

previous night and permitted the

chemist to examine his boots.

A state trooper searched the area

surrounding the apartment complex with a dog

trained to search by scent. The dog found an

aluminum bat about twenty-five yards away from a

building’s dumpster in the woods. It appeared to be

covered in leaves and debris, but was otherwise

clean. O’Laughlin’s name was inscribed on the bat.

On November 20, O’Laughlin called a friend

and informed him that he was a suspect in the

assault. The SJC noted that O’Laughlin was

“upset” while he told his friend that he was “very

happy that {[Mrs. Kotowski] had survived ... [s]o

that she could identify her assailant,” but with his

bad luck the assailant could have been wearing a

“Nixon mask” and entered with a baseball bat.

Later that day O’Laughlin was arrested.

While in custody, O’Laughlin told an inmate that

although he owned the bat, he last saw it when he

moved into his apartment.FN®

IN9. At booking, O’Laughlin

remarked during his photograph that

the mark on his face was a pimple.

Trooper Michael Hill thought it was a

blemish or an injury.

The police recovered fourteen fingerprints

and one palm print from Mrs. Kotowski’s

apartment, none of which matched those of

O’Laughlin.FN!° In addition, footprint impressions

taken at the apartment did not match O’Laughlin's

l4a

boots. State Police Lieutenant Brian O’Hara,

trained in fingerprint analysis and _ bloodstain

patterns, opined that a blood stain on Mrs.

Kotowski’s pillow was caused by the transfer of

blood from a person’s right hand, but the handprint

was unidentifiable. He testified that the hand had

to have had a significant amount of blood on it, not

all of which would have been transferred.

FN10. Twelve of these prints were

identifiable and excluded O’Laughlin;

two were unidentifiable; and one was

identifiable, but police could not match

it to any known prints.

A state police chemist examined _ the

aluminum bat found in the woods. Three small

reddish brown stains on the bat tested positive for

the presumptive presence of blood, only one of

which tested positive for human blood. The three

stains were swabbed and sent to the DNA unit for

further testing. There was contamination in the

DNA lab, and thus the tests consumed all the

testable material without yielding results. An

additional cutting from tape on the bat’s handle, an

area where the presumptive presence of blood could

still be detected, was submitted to the laboratory. A

state police DNA analyst concluded that while Mrs.

Kotowski could not be excluded as a contributor,

one in two of any randomly selected individuals

could have been the contributor. FN!!

FN11. Because of the contamination,

only the following samples’ were

deemed adequate for further testing:

blood on Mrs. Kotowski’s bathroom

15a

floor; a stain on the wall behind

O’Laughlin’s dresser; and two cuttings

from O’Laughlin’s comforter. Of these

samples, it was concluded that all of

the blood found in O’Laughlin’s

apartment belonged to him, and

O’Laughlin was excluded as a possible

contributor to the sample of blood

taken from Mrs. Kotowski’s bathroom.

A surgeon who performed reconstructive

surgeries on Mrs. Kotowski after the attack

testified that she had sustained between fifteen to

twenty blows that broke *295 nearly every bone in

her face and skull. The only exception was her jaw.

She also had defensive wounds on her hands

caused by five to ten blows. The surgeon gave an

opinion that Mrs. Kotowski’s injuries were cased

by a long, sturdy, hard, round object, consistent

with an aluminum bat that was recovered in the

woods on the day of the attack.

B. Procedural History

In December 2000, A Berkshire County

grand jury charged O’Laughlin with four offenses:

(1) burglary and armed assault in a dwelling, see

Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 266, § 14; (2) armed assault in

a dwelling, see Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 18A; (3)

armed assault with intent to murder, see Mass.

Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 18(b); and (4) assault and

battery by means of a dangerous weapon, see Mass.

Gen. Laws ch. 265, § 15A(b).

16a

Following a nine-day jury trial in May 2002,

O’Laughlin was convicted of all four charges.

O’Laughlin appealed.

1. The Massachusetts Appeals Court Opinion

On appeal, the Massachusetts Appeals Court

concluded that there was insufficient evidence to

support the jury’s verdicts. The Appeals Court

stated that while the government’s’ evidence

demonstrated that O’Laughlin had a motive of

robbery, an opportunity to commit the crime, a

means to commit the crime, and a consciousness of

guilt, the evidence was not enough to establish

guilt. The Appeals Court concluded that “[nJothing

in the record sufficiently links the defendant to the

crime to permit the conclusion beyond a reasonable

doubt that he was the perpetrator” and that

“[philing inference upon inference does not amount

to proof beyond a reasonable doubt.” O’Laughlin J,

830 N.E.2d at 231-32. In reaching its conclusion,

the Appeals Court noted that the bat was only

“consistent” with the weapon used in the attack;

that O’Laughlin’s les to the police concerning his

whereabouts and his removal of the stain from his

closet door, “while certainly permissible to show a

guilty conscience, cannot fill the gap in the proof of

identity’; that O’Laughlin did not show physical

strain in his appearance and demeanor when

confronted by the police just about twelve minutes

after the attack, which would have been consistent

with someone who had just committed such a

“brutal” attack; and that the third-party culprit

evidence in this case detracted from _ the

government's case. /d. at 232-34. Thus, the Appeals

17a

Court reversed O’Laughlin’s convictions and

directed that judgments be entered in his favor.

2. The SJC Opinion

The Commonwealth then sought and

received further appellate review from the SJC.

The SJC concluded that the evidence against

O’Laughlin had been sufficient and affirmed his

convictions, stating that circumstantial evidence of

motive, opportunity, means, and consciousness of

guilt “permissibly convinced the jury of the

defendant’s guut.”. O’Laughlin IT, 843 N.E.2d at

627.

The SJC stated that the jury could

permissibly find that O’Laughlin’s motive to break

into Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment was robbery. /d. It

pointed to the fact that O’Laughlin had taken drugs

twice previously on the night of November 16, had

“run out” of drugs and money, and was calling

around as late as 1:43 a.m. to purchase drugs,

which the SJC noted was “only twelve minutes

before the victims’ upstairs neighbor telephoned

the police department to report screams and

banging sounds from downstairs.” /d.

The SJC further noted that O’Laughlin had

previously entered the victim’s apartment *296 and

“had reason to believe that she was wealthy and

might have cash or valuables.” /d. The SJC

commented that O’Laughlin “needed money

immediately and the victim was a nearby and

likely source.” /d. Accounting for the fact that

nothing was taken from the apartment, the SJC

pointed to a_- reenactment during trial

18a

demonstrating that the neighbor could be heard in

the apartment below when he called the police. The

SJC concluded that “[i]t is a reasonable inference

that the defendant was frightened off before he

could steal anything when he heard the neighbor

speaking.” Jd. at 627 n. 11.

The SJC also concluded that O’Laughlin had

the opportunity to commit the crime because he

resided only two apartment doors away from Mrs.

Kotowski and that he had a master key which gave

him access to her apartment. /d. at 627. In

addition, the SJC_ pointed to Whittemore’s

testimony that he did not hear any cars going to or

from the apartment complex in the interval

between when he first heard the screaming and

when the police arrived. Jd.

The SJC also reasoned that O’Laughlin had

the means to commit the crime by stating that the

aluminum bat was found a short distance from

Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment complex. Jd. The SJC

stated that “(t]he jury would certainly be

warranted in concluding that the bat was the

defendant's.” /d. The SJC explained that “[h]is

surname, not a common one, was visible on the bat

handle and he mentioned to someone in jail that he

was the owner of the bat the police had found.” Jd.

The SJC further noted, however, that although the

bat was covered by some leaves and debris, it was

otherwise “clean” when discovered. 7d. It also

acknowledged O’Laughlin’s statement that he had

not seen the bat since the day he had moved into

his apartment. /d. at 627 n. 12.

19a

Most notably, the SJC indicated the

significant evidence pointing to O’Laughlin’s

consciousness of guilt. /d. at 627. First, the SJC

referenced O’Laughlin’s demeanor when the police

first arrived on the scene and_ discovered

O’Laughlin outside in his “boxer shorts in near

freezing temperature.” Jd. The SJC noted that

when he talked with the police, he was “uneasy and

distant” and did not make eye contact with the

police officers. Jd. Also, the SJC remarked that the

differing versions O’Laughlin gave to police as to

the reason he woke up was indicative of his

untruthfulness.FN!2 Jd. at 627-28. The SJC further

noted that O’Laughlin reluctantly participated in

an interview with the police ar.d seemed “agitated”

when he spoke with them. /d. at 628.

FN12. The SJC stated that O’Laughlin

lied to the police when he told them

that he was awakened by _ the

screaming, but his telephone records

show that he was making phone calls

until twenty minutes before the police

arrived on the scene. He later told the

police that the police cruisers woke

him up. Also, he told the police in an

another interview that he went to bed

at 11:30 p.m., awoke to screaming that

he believed were animals fighting,

went back to sleep and awoke to his

neighbor’s knock on his door who was

there to inform O’Laughlin that Mrs.

Kotowski was severely beaten. /d. at

627-28.

20a

Moreover, the SJC pointed to O’Laughlin’s

reaction to the police’s request when they asked for

a swabbing of the red stain in the closet door of his

apartment. Jd. Although O’Laughlin later allowed

the police to return, the stain was gone and

O’Laughlin admitted to having removed it with his

finger, saying that he believed that it was his own

blood. The SJC conciuded that “[t]his evidence

reflected not merely a general consciousness of

guilt, but indicated that the defendant feared that

the blood stain could be that of the *297 victim, a

fear he would have only if he were in fact the

perpetrator.” Jd.

Finally, the SJC pointed to the fact that

O’Laughlin had “a ‘scratch or dig mark’ on his

cheek, a small cut on his chin and a bruise on his

neck.” Jd. While acknowledging that the police

officer could not discern whether the marks were

“fresh,” the SJC concluded that “it could be inferred

that the injuries were sustained during a physical

encounter with the victim.” Jd.

In sum, the SJC stated that the evidence

taken together “was sufficient to permit the jury to

determine beyond a reasonable doubt that the

defendant was the perpetrator of the vicious attack

on the victim.” Jd.

In reversing the lower appellate court

decision, the SJC distinguished its case law in

Commonwealth v. Mazza, 399 Mass. 395, 504

N.E.2d 630 (1987), stating that in the instant case

the prosecution “presented more evidence linking

[O’Laughlin] to the assault.” O’Laughlin II, 843

N.E.2d at 629. Furthermore, the instant case

2la

contained evidence of means as represented by the

aluminum bat, “significantly stronger evidence of

consciousness of guilt,” bruises on O’Laughlin’s

face, and the fact that OLaughlin was wearing only

boxers when the police found him, which “would be

consistent with his having disposed of bloody outer

garments.” Jd. With respect to O’Laughlhin’s attire,

the SJC added that “[t]he jury could find that, had

the defendant gone outside to check for animals in

the dumpster (as he claimed), it was implausible

that he would have done so without putting on at

least minimal clothing, not only for purposes of

protection against the cold but also for purposes of

decency.” Id.

The SJC disagreed with the weight placed by

the Appeals Court on the fact that O’Laughlin “did

not manifest any signs of recent physical exertion

(sweat, shortness of breath, wet hair or disarray)”

twelve minutes after the attack. Jd. at 629 n. 13.

The SJC stated that this did not detract from the

government’s case because twelve minutes after the

attack there would be no reason for O’Laughlin to

show signs of this physical exertion. /d.

Also, the SJC disagreed with the Appeals

Court that the third-party culprit evidence

presented in this case detracted from. the

government's argument or affected the sufficiency

of the evidence because it was not “so

overwhelming that no rational jury could conclude

that the defendant was guilty.” Jd. at 630. The SJC

stated that the third-party culprit evidence “simply

tended to contradict the Commonwealth’s evidence;

it did not show it to be incredible or conclusively

22a

incorrect.” FNS Jd. (internal quotation marks

omitted).

FN13. The SJC noted O’Laughlin’s

third-party culprit evidence in a

footnote:

The defense sought to portray the

victim’s husband, from whom she

had recently separated, as_ the

third-party culprit. The husband

was aware of the wife’s new address

and that she was involved with

another man. The victim described

the husband as being “upset” but

not angry about this relationship.

Others said the husband alternated

between being “nice” and verbally

abusive. The husband testified that

he was at home at the time of the

assault and that he received two

telephone calls just before 6 a.m.

Each time his “caller ID” indicated

the source of the call as the victim’s

apartment, but no one was on the

line. He dialed the number, and a

man answered. One witness

thought he saw the husband's car in

his workplace parking lot at

approximately 6 am. on _ the

morning of the attack, but a

neighbor saw the husband’s car

parked at home at 6:20 a.m. The

husband was generally cooperative

with the police, but did not permit

the police access to “personal”

23a

letters to his wife. Tests indicated

the presumptive presence of blood

on one of the husband’s forearms on

the day of the attack. On the

evening of November 17, the police

observed garbage bags on the floor

of the husband’s garage and dark

clothing in a clothes dryer. Two wet

towels strongly smelling of bleach

were found in a plastic bag in the

trunk of the husband's car. One of

the towels was the same as towels

found in the victim’s linen closet.

The husband explained that the

towels smelled because he did not

know how to do laundry and had

used too much bleach on them. He

said he brought them on a hunting

trip the previous weekend and had

forgotten them in the trunk.

Finally, the husband kept wooden

baseball bats and other athletic

equipment in his garage.

Id. at G30 n. 14.

*298 3. O’Laughlin’s Habeas Petition

In his habeas petition before the district

court, O’Laughlin alleged that (1) the evidence at

trial was insufficient to prove that he was a

perpetrator of the offenses for which he was

convicted; and (2) the trial court violated his mght

to present a defense by excluding a handwritten

note that, according to O’Laughlin, supported his

third-party culprit defense. After briefing by the

24a

parties and a non-evidentiary hearing, the district

court denied O’Laughlin’s petition reasoning that

“like the courts that have looked at this cold record

before me, this is a close question. But the petition

must be under federal law denied.”

O’Laughlin then filed a timely notice of

appeal and requested a Certificate of Appealability

(“COA”) as to his sufficiency and right-to-present a

defense claims. The district court granted a COA

with respect to both issues.

Il. Discussion

A. Standard of Review

We review de novo the district court’s

decision to grant or deny a habeas petition under

28 U.S.C. § 2254. Healy, 453 F.3d at 25. Under the

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996 (““AEDPA”), Pub.L. No. 104-132, § 104, 110

Stat. 1214, 1219 (1996), a federal court shall not

grant a petition for habeas relief “with respect to

any claim that was adjudicated on the merits in

State court proceedings” unless the state court

decision: 1) “was contrary to, or involved an

unreasonable application of, clearly established

Federal law, as determined by the Supreme Court

of the United States” or 2) “was based on an

unreasonable determination of the facts in light of

the evidence presented in the State court

proceeding.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1)-(2). “A state

court’s findings on factual issues ‘shall be presumed

to be correct’ and the petitioner bears the burden of

disproving factual findings by ‘clear and convincing

25a

evidence. “ McCambridge, 303 F.3d at 34-35

(quoting 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(1)).

Sufficiency claims are generally FN!4

evaluated under § 2254(d){1) and we look to

“whether the state court decision constitutes an

unreasonable application of clearly established

Supreme Court case law.” Hurtado v. Tucker, 245

F.3d 7, 15 (Ist Cir. 2001) (quoting Williams uv.

Matesanz, 230 F.3d 421, 426 (1st Cir. 2000)).

FN14. Although an analysis under §

2254(d)(1) is appropriate in the

present case, we say “generally”

because we need not conclude that we

must “evaluate a_ state court's

resolution of a Jackson sufficiency-of-

the-evidence claim in all cases under §

2254(d)(1) rather than § 2254(d)(2).”

Sarausad v. Porter, 479 F.3d 671, 678

(9th Cir. 2007) (emphasis added), rev'd

on other grounds sub nom.

‘addington v. Sarausad, --- U.S. ----,

129 S. Ct. 823, 172 L. Ed. 2d 532

(2009); cf. id. at 695 (Reinhardt, J.,

concurring in part and dissenting in

part) (“I see nothing in law or logic

preventing us from evaluating

Jackson claims under § 2254(d)(2),

which authorizes us to grant habeas

relief when the state court decision we

are reviewing is ‘based on = an

unreasonable determination of the

facts in light of the evidence presented

in the State court proceeding.’’)

(quoting § 2254(d)(2)).

26a

*299 “[T]he ‘unreasonable application of

prong of § 2254(d)(1) ‘reduces to a question of

whether the state court’s derivation of a case-

specific rule from the [Supreme] Court’s generally

relevant jurisprudence appears objectively

reasonable.” “ Jd. at 16 (quoting Matesanz, 230 F.3d

at 425).

“Habeas review involves the layering of two

standards. The habeas question of whether the

state court decision is objectively unreasonable is

layered on top of the underlying standard

governing the constitutional right asserted.” /d.

The constitutional right asserted in

sufficiency of the evidence claims is set forth by the

Supreme Court’s decision in Jackson v. Virginia,

443 U.S. 307, 99 S. Ct. 2781, 61 L. Ed. 2d 560

(1979). Under Jackson, due process requires that

“no person shall be made to suffer the onus of a

criminal conviction except upon sufficient proof-

defined as evidence necessary to convince a trier of

fact beyond a reasonable doubt of the existence of

every element of the offense.” /d. at 316, 99 S. Ct.

2781. More succinctly, the relevant test we take

from Jackson is “whether, after viewing the

evidence in the light most favorable to the

prosecution, any rational trier of fact could have

found the essential elements of the crime beyond a

reasonable doubt.” /d. at 319, 99 S. Ct. 2781

(emphasis in original).

Thus, for our purposes, we must decide

whether the SJC’s application of Jackson to

O’Laughlin’s case was “objectively unreasonable.”

Although “[t]he term ‘:nreasonable’ is no doubt

27a

difficult to define,” Hurtado, 245 F.3d at 17

(quoting Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 410, 120

S. Ct. 1495, 146 L. Ed. 2d 389 (2000)), we have

explained that “some increment of incorrectness

beyond error is required.” McCambridge, 303 F.3d

at 36 (quoting Francis S. v. Stone, 221 F.3d 100,

111 (2d Cir. 2000)). “The increment need not

necessarily be great, but it must be great enough to

make the decision unreasonable in the independent

and objective judgment of the federal court.” Jd.FN!5

To be sure, “the gap between erroneous state court

decisions and unreasonable ones is narrow,” Evans

v. Thompson, 518 F.3d 1, 6 (ist Cir. 2008), and “it

will be the rare case that will fall into this gap,” id.

(citing Williams, 529 U.S. at 388, 120 S. Ct. 1495).

However, for an _ erroneous decision to be

unreasonable, judicial incompetence is_ not

necessary and “a case will fall into this narrow gap

precluding relhef only when ‘it is a close question

whether the state decision is in error.’ “ /d. at 7

(quoting McCambridge, 303 F.3d at 36) (emphasis

in original). “ ‘It is enough if the Supreme Court’s

general principles can be discerned and if,

respectfully but with confidence,’ *300 the federal

court concludes that the state court unreasonably

applied federal law.” Jd. (quoting White, 399 F.3d at

25).

FN15. We also note “that a state-court

adjudication of an issue framed in

terms of state law may receive section

2254(d)(1) deference so long as the

state standard is at least as protective

of the defendant’s rights as its federal

counterpart.” Leftwich v. Maloney, 532

F.3d 20, 23-24 (1st Cir. 2008); see also

28a

White v. Coplan, 399 F.3d 18, 23 (st

Cir. 2005) (explaining that a iederal

habeas court may “infer that the

federal claim was considered if the

state court rejects a counterpart state

claim and then cites to a case holding

that the federal constitution provides

no greater protection’). Even though

the SJC did not cite Jackson, we have

no qualms with its analysis in this

respect. The SJC rehed on

Massachusetts case law that has

expressly adopted the federal

constitutional standard in Jackson.

See Commonwealth v. Latimore, 378

Mass. 671, 393 N.E.2d 370, 375 (1979);

see also Leftwich, 532 F.3d at 24

(“Because the Latimore court adopted

the governing federal constitutional

standard as the Massachusetts

standard for sufficiency of the

evidence challenges, ... we can

securely reason that in scouring the

record for Latimore error and finding

none the SJC effectively answered the

federal constitutional question.”)

(citations omitted).

Further, in our inquiry” of objective

unreasonableness the question “is not how well

reasoned the state court decision is, but whether

the outcome is reasonable.” Hurtado, 245 F.3d at

20. We note that just because an opinion is poorly

reasoned does not “mean that the outcome

represents an unreasonable application,

although... it is certainly ground for further

29a

inquiry if the state court ignores material facts.” Jd.

(internal citation omitted). “It is not necessary that

the federal court agree with every last detail of the

state court’s analysis. By like token, state courts

are not required to supply the specific reasons that

a federal court thinks are most persuasive for

upholding the judgment.” Healy, 453 F.3d at 28-29

(Ist Cir. 2006) (quoting Bui v. DiPaolo, 170 F.3d

232, 243 (1st Cir. 1999)).

As a final note, we emphasize the great

degree of deference state court judgments are due,

especially those that uphold jury verdicts.FN1¢

FN16. For example, in Hurtado, we

explained:

[Als a general rule, federal courts

should be particularly cautious

about issuing habeas, on grounds of

the objective unreasonableness of a

state court’s conclusion that the

evidence is sufficient, where there

has been a verdict of guilt by a jury

of a defendant’s peers, where the

defendant’s credibility was

evaluated by the jury hearing his

testimony, where that verdict has

been affirmed on appeal in the state

system, and where there is no claim

of constitutional error in_ the

conduct of the tnal. Even on direct

appeal, claims that the evidence

was insufficient to support the

verdict are “often made, but rarely

successful.”

30a

245 F.3d at 19-20 (quoting United

States v. Moran, 984 F.2d 1299, 1300

(1st Cir. 1993)).

B. Applicable Law

1. The Jackson Standard

Turning to the underlying constitutional

right asserted here, O’Laughlin maintains that his

due process nghts were violated because after

viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to

the prosecution, no rational trier of fact could have

identified him as the assailant beyond a reasonable

doubt. See Jackson, 443 U.S. at 319, 99 S. Ct. 2781

(“whether, after viewing the evidence in the hght

most favorable to the prosecution, any rational trier

of fact could have found the essential elements of

the crime beyond a reasonable doubt.”) (emphasis

in original); United States v. Ayala, 289 F.3d 16, 25

(Ist Cir. 2002) (“Identification of the defendant as

the person who committed the charged crime is

always an essential element which the government

must establish beyond a _ reasonable doubt.”)

(quotation marks and citations omitted).

“The Jucksoi standard 1s as easy to

articulate as it is difficult to apply.” Newman ov.

Metrish, 543 F.3d 793, 796 (6th Cir. 2008); see

generally Hon. Jon O. Newman, Beyond

“Reasonable Doubt,” 68 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 979 (1993)

(discussing difficulty of defining term); Note,

Reasonable Doubt: Az Argument Against

Definition, 108 Harv. L. Rev. 1955 (1995) (same).

3la

This is particularly the case where we have no

eyewitness to identify the perpetrator. In cases

based on circumstantial evidence such as the

instant case,FN17 “we face head-on the disturbing

truth that guilty verdicts rest on judgments about

probabilities and those judgments are usually

intuitive rather *301 than scientific.” Stewart v.

Coalter, 48 F.3d 610, 614 (1st Cir. 1995).

FN17. Like the SJC, we acknowledge

that to pass constitutional muster,

direct evidence of identification is not

necessary. “Identification can _ be

inferred from all the facts and

circumstances that are in evidence.”

Ayala, 289 F.3d at 25 (quotation

marks and citations omitted).

Despite the lack of precision in determining

what constitutes reasonable doubt and the inherent

difficulty in defining the term, this court and others

have attempted to explicate the standard. For

example, we have stated that “[g]uilt beyond a

reasonable doubt cannot be premised on pure

conjecture. But a conjecture consistent with the

evidence becomes less and less a conjecture, and

moves gradually toward proof, as alternative

innocent explanations are discarded or made less

likely.” /d. at 615-16.

As we have stated on multiple occasions,

‘{bleyond a reasonable doubt’ does not require the

exclusion of every other hypothesis; it is enough

that all ‘reasonable’ doubts be excluded.” /d. at 616

(quoting United States v. Oreto, 37 F.3d 739, 753

(lst Cir. 1994)); see also United States v. Dwinells,

32a

508 F.3d 63, 74 (Ist Cir. 2007); United States uv.

Olbres, 61 F.3d 967, 976 (Ist Cir. 1995); United

States v. Brown, 603 F.2d 1022, 1025 (1st Cir. 1979)

(‘The prosecution may prove its case by

circumstantial evidence, and it need not exclude

every reasonable hypothesis of innocence so long as

the total evidence permits a conclusion of guilt

beyond a reasonable doubt.”).

We note that although the circumstantial

evidence is permissible to discern the identity of

the perpetrator, there are some limits to its

probative value. “[A] reviewing court should not

give credence to ‘evidentiary interpretations and

illations that are unreasonable, insupportable, or

overly speculative.” Leftwich, 532 F.3d at 23

(quoting United States v. Spinney, 65 F.3d 231, 234

(1st Cir. 1995)); see also United States v. Valerio, 48

F.3d 58, 64 (1st Cir. 1995) (“we are loath to stack

inference upon inference in order to uphold the

jury's verdict”). Further,

fijf the evidence viewed in the lght

most favorable to the verdict gives

equal or nearly equal circumstantial

support to a theory of guilt and a

theory of innocence of the crime

charged, this court must reverse the

conviction. This is so because ... where

an equal or nearly equal theory of

guilt and a theory of imnocence is

supported by the evidence viewed in

the light most favorable to the

prosecution, a reasonable jury must

necessarily entertain a reasonable

doubt.

33a

United States v. Flores-Rivera, 56 F.3d 319, 323

(Ist Cir. 1995) (alterations, ellipses, and emphasis

in original) (internal quotation marks omitted).

Although we give great deference to jury

verdicts, we have held that evidence may

sometimes be insufficient to sustain a jury verdict

of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. See, e.g., United

States v. Garcia-Torres, 280 F.3d 1, 6 (Ast Cir.

2002) (holding evidence insufficient to show proof

beyond reasonable doubt that defendant knew he

was aiding in drug conspiracy when participating

in kidnapping and murder); United States v.

Blasini-Lluberas, 169 F.3d 57, 62-64 (1st Cir. 1999)

(holding evidence insufficient to support convictions

of bank officer on four of five counts of

misapplication of bank funds); United States uv.

Morillo, 158 F.3d 18, 24 (Ist Cir. 1998) (holding

evidence insufficient to support inference of

knowledge of conspiracy’s purpose); United States

v. Czubinshi, 106 F.3d 1069, 1073-74 (1st Cir. 1997)

(holding evidence insufficient to show defendant

intended to carry out a scheme to defraud the IRS

under wire fraud statute); United States v. de la

Cruz-Paulino, 61 F.3d 986, 1001 (1st Cir. 1995)

(holding evidence insufficient to support conviction

for aiding and abetting where prosecution failed to

show defendant shared the specific intent of the

principal); Valerio, 48 F.3d at 65 (holding evidence

insufficient to support *302 a finding of intent to

distribute cocaine).

C. Analysis of the SJC Opinion

As our sister court has noted, “{aJlthough

circumstantial evidence alone can support a

34a

conviction, there are times that it amounts to only

a reasonable speculation and not to suffic.ent

evidence.” Newman, 543 F.3d at 796. This is such a

case.

The instant facts may support a reasonable

speculation that O’Laughlin was the assailant, but

not sufficient evidence to establish his guilt. Taken

together, the circumstantial evidence in this case,

even when drawing all reasonable inferences in

favor of the prosecution, does not permit any

rational jury to conclude that O’Laughlin was the

assailant beyond a reasonable doubt.

Specificaliy, the evidence that O’Laughlin

acted upon a financial motive to commit the attack

is weak at best. A jury could permissibly conclude

that he needed money to acquire crack cocaine,

giving him reason to break into Mrs. Kotowski’s

apartment, a person whom he knew had money.

However, Mrs. Kotowski testified that nothing of

value was taken and no items, not even expensive

jewelry in plain view, were disturbed. The SJC

accounted for this fact by stating that the jury

could draw “a reasonable inference that the

defendant was frightened off before he could steal

anything when he heard the neighbor [Whittemore]

speaking.” O’Laughlin IT, 843 N.E.2d at 627 n. 11.

Even if the assailant deduced that the neighbor

was calling the police in response to the attack,FN!8

no rational juror could conclude that the placement

of this phone call frightened him off given the

volume and duration of Mrs. Kotowski’s screams.

Moreover, the assailant’s actions are inconsistent

with O’Laughlin’s purported financial motive in

view of the savage beating Mrs. Kotowski suffered

35a

at the hands of the assailant, an attack involving at

least fifteen to twenty blows that nearly broke

every bone in her face and skull. If the assailant

were motivated by money, a few blows to

incapacitate her would have been sufficient.

FN18. A reenactment demonstrated

that the assailant would not have been

able to make out that Whittemore was

calling the police.

With respect to the opportunity to commit

the crime, O’Laughlin had a master key and there

were no signs of forced entry; thus, one possible

inference is that O’Laughlin used his master key to

enter Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment. It is notable,

however, that several others on the maintenance

staff possessed a master key. Also, Mrs. Kotowski

could have let someone familiar to her into the

apartment.

With respect to the means for the attack, a

jury could permissibly find that the aluminum bat

found in the woods was O’Laughlin’s bat given that

his name was on the bat and that he admitted to

owning the bat at one time. Yet, there was little

evidence connecting the aluminum bat, a non-

unique item in a residential complex, to the crime

scene apart from the fact that it was found twenty-

five yards from the _ residential complex the

following day and the use of such an object was

“consistent” with Mrs. Kotowski’s injuries.FN!9 Of

course, any bat likely would have been consistent

with her injuries. Also, Whittemore, a carpenter,

testified that he heard “wood hitting wood,” as

opposed to hearing the *303 sound of a hollow

36a

aluminum bat, when he was’7 awakened.

Furthermore, wooden bats were found in Mrs.

Kotowski’s estranged husband’s garage.

FN19. This is not to say that each of

us is convinced that the state court’s

decision is umnreasonable in every

respect. But this case comes to us on

arguments as presented by the

parties. This panel may not be in

complete unanimity in all particulars,

but we do agree that the petitioner

has the better of the argument with

respect to the means_ evidence

introduced by the prosecution at trial.

We next turn to O’Laughlin’s consciousness

of guilt, which the SJC considered the strongest

evidence in favor of reinstating the conviction.N20

When viewed in context, this evidence is minimally

probative on the question of whether O’Laughlin

was the assailant.

FN20. We compare itnfra_ the

consciousness of guilt evidence in our

case to that of Juan H. v. Allen, 408

F.3d 1262 (9th Cir. 2005). In Juan H.,

the Ninth Circuit granted habeas

rehef io a petitioner in part. because it

viewed that any conclusion regarding

the petitioner’s guilt based on the

prosecution’s consciousness of guilt

evidence amounted tv no more than

“bare conjecture.” Jd. at 1277.

37a

Notwithstanding the fact that it was just

after 2:00 a.m., the SJC cited to O’Laughlin’s

“uneasy and distant” demeanor and _ his

unwillingness to look Officers Tierney and Skowron

in the eye when they corfronted him just minutes

after the attack. However, both officers, even

though they were responding to reports of a

possible assault, did not consider O’Laughlin’s

behavior suspicious at the time. Indeed, they

initially believed he was the reporting party and

after asking him a few brief questions they left the

area. Even the fact that O’Laughlin was only clad

in boxers in near-freezing temperature did not give

them pause after he explained to them that he was

awakened by animal screams and had gone outside

to place a stick in the dumpster, a fact Officer

Tierney promptly verified. Also, the SJC explained

that a jury could find it “implausik'e” that

O’Laughlin would have gone outside without

“putting on at least minimal clothing” if his true

reason for going outside was to check for animals.

Yet, Officer Tierney stated that O’Laughlin

appeared unfazed by the cold and O’Laughlin’s alibi

shows that he did not intend to stay outside for a

very long time.

The other consciousness of guilt evidence

cited by the SJC-O’Laughlin’s reluctance to be

interviewed by the police, the inconsistent versions

of how he was awoken, his reaction to the

neighbor’s report of an assault, the fact that he was

agitated dunmng the interview, and his reaction

when the police wanted to swab his closet door-

while not helpful to his case, are not enough, even

when considered in combination with other

circumstantial evidence, to allow a jury to

38a

permissibly conclude O’Laughlin’s guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt.

With respect to this evidence, the fact that

O’Laughlin was reluctant to come down to the

police station and displayed some agitation during

the interview has minimal probative value in

determining whether O’Laughlin was the assailant.

Although this behavior could indicate

consciousness of guilt for some crime, such as

possessing crack cocaine (which the evidence shows

he admitted to being concerned about), it is an

impermissible inferential leap for a jury to find this

behavior significantly probative of whether

O’Laughlin committed such a brutal attack.’N2!

Likewise, his indifferent reaction to his neighbor

informing him of the attack the following morning

may bear on whether he was a compassionate

person, but has little probative value in assessing

O’Laughlin’s guilt.

FN21. This is not a case where the

defendant stonewalled the police. He

approached the police just minutes

after the attack, he submitted to a ten-

minute interview with the Chief of

Police, and ultimately allowed the

police to search his apartment.

*304 Admittedly, the conflicting versions

O’Laughlin gave the police as to how he was

awoken and his reaction to the police’s request to

swab his closet door when they were searching his

home could be probative evidence’ linking

O’Laughlin to the crime. However, in light of

O’Laughlin’s concerns that the police would

39a

discover his drug use, this evidence wes insufficient

to serve as the primary basis upon which the jury

could rely to conclude O’Laughlin’s guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt.

Lastly, the SJC cited bruises and marks on

O’Laughlin’s face as evidence from which the jury

could infer that an altercation occurred between

O’Laughlin and Mrs. Kotowski. However, these

bruises and marks have minimal, if any, probative

force given the fact that they were not even noted

by Officers Tierney and Skowron when they were

responding to an assault just minutes after the

attack.

It bears repeating that the prosecution had

to rely on circumstantial evidence because no

physical or DNA evidence linked O’Laughlin to the

attack despite the copious amount of blood at the

crime scene. Considering the large amount of blood,

it is difficult to fathom how O’Laughlin was able to

avoid having any blood or other DNA evidence

connect him to Mrs. Kotowski. Given the

insufficiency of the evidence, circumstantial or

otherwise, tying O’Laughlin to the attack, we

conclude that a rational jury could not find

O’Laughlin’s guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.

D. Objectively Unreasonable Standard for

Purposes of Habeas Review

Although we have identified several gaps in

the SJC’s analysis, we are mindful that on habeas

review under AEDPA we are not permitted to grant

a writ if we merely disagree with the jury verdict or

if we identify an error in the SJC’s reasoning. The

A0a

relevant inquiry is whether the SJC was objectively

unreasonable in upholding the conviction.

We once again acknowledge the extremely

high bar that must be overcome on habeas review

to overturn a state court decision; however, that

bar is not insurmountable and on rare occasions we

have held a state court decision to be objectively

unreasonable. See, e.g., White, 399 F.3d at 25

(holding on habeas review that state court

unreasonably applied Supreme Court’s

Confrontation Clause jurisprudence where state

court barred petitioner from cross examining

complainants regarding prior accusations).

This court has identified certain guidelines

that it finds useful in analyzing sufficiency claims

on habeas review.*N22 In addition, we note that

although we evaluate the state court decision in

light of Supreme Court precedent, we are not

precluded from looking at other federal court

decisions that may help guide us in applying *305

the Jackson standard. Indeed, “ ‘[djecisions from

the lower federal courts may help inform the

AEDPA analysis to the extent that they state the

clearly established federal law determined by the

Supreme Court.’ “ Evans, 518 F.3d at 10 (alteration

in original) (quoting Aspen v. Bissonnette, 480 F.3d

571, 574 n. 1 (Ast Cir. 2007)). This is especially true

when “ ‘factually similar cases from the lower

federal courts’ can ‘provid[e] a valuable reference

point’ when considering the reasonableness of a

state court’s application of Supreme Court

precedent to a particular set of facts.” Id.

(alteration in original) (quoting Rashad v. Walsh,

300 F.3d 27, 35 (ist Cir. 2002)). Under § 2254(d)()),

4la

we are not constrained in our “ability to draw from

any legal source in determining whether the state

court’s decision rests on constitutional error or is an

unreasonable application of Supreme Court

precedent. [Section 2254(d)(1)] only limits the

grounds on which habeas relief may be granted.”

Id.

F N22. These include:

(1) The focus of the inquiry is on the

state court decision:

(2) Even with the deference due by

statute to the state court's

determinations, the federal habeas

court must itself look to “the totality

of the evidence” in evaluating the

state court’s decision;

(3) The failure of the state court to

consider at all a key argument of

the defendant may indicate that its

conclusion is objectively

unreasonable; however, the paucity

of reasoning employed by the state

court does not itself establish that

its result is objectively

unreasonable;

(4) The failure of a state court to

give appropriate weight to all of the

evidence may mean _ that its

conclusion is objectively

unreasonable; and

42a

(5) The absence of cases of

conviction precisely parallel on

their facts does not, by itself,

establish objective

unreasonableness.

Hurtado, 245 F.3d at 18.

With this in mind, we look to a recent case,

Newman v. Metrish, where the Sixth Circuit held a

state court ruling to be objectively unreasonable on

grounds that the prosecution did not present

sufficient evidence to support a prosecution for

murder of a known drug dealer. 543 F.3d at 797. In

Newman, the prosecution presented evidence at

trial that the petitioner planned to rob drug dealers

for drugs or money; that the victim was a known

drug dealer who kept drugs in his freezer; that the

petitioner and the victim were known to engage in

drug transactions in the past; that the victim’s

freezer was “open and empty” after he was killed;

and that the petitioner had a motive for the killing

because he had seen the victim “make a pass” at

the petitioner’s girlfriend. Jd. at 794. Furthermore,

the prosecution presented evidence supporting an

inference that Newman had possessed and once

purchased the murder weapon. /d. This evidence

included forensic evidence and the fact that the

petitioner's friend saw a gun similar to the murder

weapon in the petitioner's home a few weeks prior

to the murder. FN23 Jd.

FN23. With respect to the murder

weapon, the Newman court

acknowledged that “the prosecution

offered ample evidence to support an

43a

inference that [the petitioner] had

previously possessed at least one of

the murder weapons.” Jd. at 795.

However, it noted that “the

prosecution did not offer any evidence

that [the petitioner] had used or

possessed the weapons on the day of

the murder,” any “eyewitness

testimony,” any “latent fingerprints

from the crime scene or the items in

the gym bag” in which the alleged

murder weapon was found. /d.

In analyzing the evidence under Jackson, the

Newman court stated that even when “considerling]

all of the evidence in the light most favorable to the

prosecution, there remains reasonable doubt

because we are hmited by what inferences reason

will allow us to draw.” Id. at 797. It remarked that

these hmitations included its ability to “infer only

that [the petitioner] intended to rob a drug dealer

and knew that [the victim] was a drug dealer, that

a gun previously owned by [the petitioner] was

used to kill [the victim], and that a similar looking

gun was seen in ([fthe petitioner’s] home

approximately two weeks before the murder.” Jd.

The Newman court added that “even assuming that

[the petitioner’s] gun was indeed the one used in

the homicide, there was no evidence of what

happened to it between that date and the date of

the homicide, and we need not speculate as to what

might have happened.” /d.

The Newman court reasoned that while there

was “a wealth of information showing that {the

petitioner] owned the gun,” *306 “evidence placing

44a

{the petitioner] at the scene” was “conspicuously

absent.” Id. at 797. It pointed to the fact that there

was no eyewitness testimony and the pclice did not

recover any fingerprints from the crime scene. /d.

The Newman court stated that “[w]ithout

additional evidence placing [him] at the scene of

the crime, there is only a reasonable speculation

that [the petitioner} himself was present.” Jd. It

concluded that “where the evidence taken in the

light most favorable to the prosecution creates only

a reasonable speculation that a defendant was

present at the crime, there is insufficient evidence

to satisfy the Jackson standard.” Id. Accordingly,

the Newman court declared the state court rubng

an unreasonable application of clearly established

federal law. Jd.

While Newman’s reasoning certainly does

not control our analysis, it is significant that our

sister court ruled a state court decision to be

objectively unreasonable under Jackson on facts

more probative of a petitioner’s guilt than what we

have here. For example, O’Laughlin, lke the

petitioner in Newman, was not connected to the

crime scene by forensic evidence or eyewitness

testimony; however, unlike the petitioner in

Newman who had prior business dealings with the

victim in that case, O’Laughlin had minimal

contact with the victim apart from a few casual

conversations and a maintenance call. Moreover,

the petitioner’s robbery motive in Newman was

consistent with the evidence-as the victim’s freezer,

which was his storage place for drugs, was open

and empty.FN24 In the instant case, however,

O’Laughlin’s alleged motive of robbery to satisfy his

need for crack cocaine docs not align with the fact

45a

that nothing of value was taken from Mrs.

Kotowski’s apartment or with how savagely she

was beaten at the hands of her assailant. Lastly, in

Newman, the petitioner owned a gun whose spent

cartridges and bullets matched those found in the

victim’s body. Here, the aluminum baseball bat

that O’Laughlin owned was merely “consistent”

with Mrs. Kotowski’s injuries, in the same way a

metal pipe or some other long, sturdy object would

be consistent with her injuries.

FN24. Even if, in Newman, the

petitioner's motive was anger because

the victim had made a pass at the

petitioner's girlfriend, the _ victim’s

gunshot wound is not inconsistent

with this motive.

Another decision from a sister court also

informs our analysis as to whether the SJC

unreasonably applied the Jackson standard. In

Juan H. v. Allen, the Ninth Circuit held that the

state court decision was objectively unreasonable

because there was insufficient evidence to conclude

that a juvenile petitioner aided and abetted a

principal in committing first-degree murder and

first-degree attempted murder. 408 F.3d at 1278-

79.

In Juan H., the state court had concluded

that the petitioner had “manifested consciousness

of guilt” because he fled from the crime scene; he

attempted to leave his home with his family after

the shooting; and he gave a false alibi to the police

that he was in a trailer and not present during the

shooting. Jd. at 1277. Also, as motive evidence, the

46a

state court cited petitioner’s gang gestures towards

the victim and the fact that the petitioner had

punched the victim on a prior occasion. Id.

With respect to the evidence of flight, the

Juan H. court reasoned that “[nJo reasonable tner

of fact could find evidence of criminal culpability in

the decision of a teenager to run home from the

scene of a shooting, regardless of whether the home

was in the same general direction as the car of a

fleeing suspect.” Jd. The Juan H. *307 court added

that “[ljikewise, any rational factfinder would find

little or no evidence of guilt in the fact that [the

petitioner] attempted, along with the rest of his

family, to leave his home as it was being

surrounded by an angry mob of neighbors.” Jd.

Regarding the false alibi, the Juan H. court

remarked that it was “bare conjecture” to regard

the petitioner’s untrue statements to the police as

reflective of consciousness of guilt. Jd. The court

explained that the petitioner “might have made a

false statement to law enforcement for any number

of reasons, especially given that any statements he

made as a witness would likely be used to prosecute

his older brother, a member of his immediate

family.” Id. The Juan H. court stressed: “Although

we must draw all reasonable inferences in favor of

the prosecution, a ‘reasonable’ inference is one that

is supported by a chain of logic, rather than, as in

this case, mere speculation dressed up in the guise

of evidence.” Id.

Finally, the Juan H. court stated that the

prosecution’s motive evidence was mere conjecture,

reasoning that the “interpersonal tensions”

47a

between the petitioner and the victim “do not

create a sufficiently strong inference of motive to

allow a reasonable trier of fact to conclude beyond a

reasonable doubt that [the petitioner} had reason to

aid and abet first-degree murder.” /d. at 1278.

The Juan AH. court maintained that

“[s]peculation and conjecture cannot take the place

of reasonable inferences and evidence-whether

direct or circumstantial-that [the petitioner]-

through both guilty mind and guilty act-acted in

consort with [the principal].” /d. at 1279. Applying

the Jackson standard to the state court decision,

the Juan A. court ruled that “only speculation ..

supports a conclusion” that the petitioner was

guilty of aiding and abetting the first-degree

murders. /d. It concluded that “[sJuch a lack of

evidence violates the Fourteenth Amendment

guarantee that an accused must go free unless and

until the prosecution presents evidence that proves

guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.” /d. (citing Jn re

Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 365-68, 90 S. Ct. 1068, 25 L.

Ed. 2d 368 (1970)).

Admittedly, the facts in Juan H. do not line

up precisely with those of the imstant case.

However, we find instructive the Juan H. court’s

treatment of its consciousness of guilt evidence.*N25

The Juan H. court held that the petitioner’s hes

about his presence at the crime scene and the fact

that he fled the area were insufficient to support an

inference that he aided and abetted the murderer,

reasoning that a _ conclusion’ regarding’ the

petitioner’s guilt from this evidence would be no

more than “bare conjecture.”

48a

FN25. As we stated above, here the

SJC viewed its consciousness of guilt

evidence to be most probative of

O’Laughlhin’s guilt.

The evidence in Juan H. is far more

reflective of consciousness of guilt than what we

have here. Unlike the petitioner in Juan H.,

O’Laughlin was not caught in a lie about whether

he was present at the crime scene and did not flee

the scene of the cmme. In fact, O’Laughln

approached the police just minutes after the

attack.FN26 *308 Similar to the Juan H. court’s

reasoning, this consciousness of guilt evidence

constituted “bare conjecture” regarding

O’Laughlin’s guilt and thus renders the SJC

decision that relied primarily on this evidence,

objectively unreasonable.

FN26. As explained above.

O’Laughlin’s interactions with the

police immediately after the assault

and the day after, while not irrelevant,

did not constitute sufficicnt evidence

for a rational jury, even combined with

the other circumstantial evidence, to

conclude he was the assailant. Again,

it may have been permissible for the

jury to find that O’Laughlin possessed

consciousness of guilt of some crime,

such as drug possession, for which the

evidence showed there was some

basis, but not of a vicious attack on a

neighbor with whom he had very Little

prior contact.

49a

We reiterate that Juan H. and Newman,

while not controlling, powerfully iUlustrate how

federal courts, acting under the AEDPA regime,

can hold in appropriate circumstances state court

decisions to be objectively unreasonable when

applying Jackson. Our sister courts’ reasoning in

these cases underscore why we believe habeas relief

should be granted in the instant case.

Our holding is further bolstered by a post-

AEDPA case of our own, Leftwich v. Maloney,

where a petitioner claimed there to be insufficient

evidence for a state court to correctly identify him

as the perpetrator of the offense for which he was

convicted. See Leftwich, 532 F.3d at 21. Although

we held that habeas relief was not warranted in

Leftwich, it is helpful to consider the factors we

considered relevant.

In Leftwich, the petitioner argued that there

was insufficient evidence to conclude that he was a

principal rather than an accessory to the murder of

a bishop who had taken the petitioner in when he

was released from prison. /d. In holding that there

was sufficient evidence to support a guilty verdict,

the Leftwich court considered that the petitioner

confessed to being in the same place, a ditch, within

minutes of when the murder occurred, that the

police recovered from the petitioner a Leatherman

tool whose length and width were consistent with

the victim’s wounds; that he “embarked on a wide-

ranging cleaning spree” shortly before his arrest;

that forensic evidence included fingerprint evidence

and the victim’s blood on the petitioner’s clothes

and hands; that the pecitioner led about having

any knowledge of the victim’s death; that the

50a

petitioners motive resulted from the victim’s

disapproval of the petitioner's use of company

credit card to satisfy a gambling debt; and that the

“record [was] barren of any evidence as to who

besides the petitioner could have inflicted the fatal

stab wounds.” Jd. at 25-27.

We note the many distinguishing features of

the instant case as compared to Leftwich.

Specifically, unlike the petitioner in Leftwich, there

was no physical or forensic evidence linking

O’Laughlin to the crime scene; O’Laughlin’s

financial motive was inconsistent with the evidence

in Mrs. Kotowski’s apartment; and O’Laughlin

presented compelling third-party evidence that Mr.

Kotowski was the actual assailant. We recognize

that the stronger evidence supporting’ the

petitioner’s guilt in Leftwich, when compared to the

present case, is not persuasive by itself to render

the evidence insufficient here. However, the fact

that the instant facts satisfy very few of the criteria

the Leftwich court considered relevant in its

Jackson analysis, provides additional support for

our conclusion here that the SJC’s decision to

reinstate the conviction was _ objectively

unreasonable.

We acknowledge the many strands of

circumstantial evidence the prosecution has

presented in this case; however, when viewing this

evidence in its totality, as we must do on habeas

review, that evidence is far from sufficient to

establish O’Laughlin’s guilt under Jackson. Based

on the record before us and drawing all reasonable

inferences in favor of the prosecution, we hold that

it would be overly speculative to conclude

5la

O’Laughlin to be the assailant beyond a reasonable

doubt. Accordingly, we conclude that the SJC’s

decision to uphold O’Laughlin’s conviction was

objectively unreasonable.

*309 III. Conclusion

Because double jeopardy principles apply

here, we remand to the district court to order

O’Laughlin’s unconditional release with prejudice

to reprosecution. See Burks v. United States, 437

U.S. 1, 18, 98 S. Ct. 2141, 57 L. Ed. 2d 1 (1978)

(holding that “the Double Jeopardy Clause

precludes a second trial once the reviewing court

has found the evidence legally insufficient”), quoted

in Foxworth v. Maloney, 515 F.3d 1, 2 (st Cir.

2008). FN27

FN27. O’Laughlin also claims that the

SJC, in concluding that the trial judge

properly excluded a note O’Laughlin

alleged to have supported his third-

party culprit defense, violated his

constitutional right to present a

defense. In view of our holding

regarding O’Laughlin’s Jackson claim,

we need not reach this issue.

Reversed and Remanded for action consistent

with this opinion.

52a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

Civil Action

No: 07-10430-WGY

O'LAUGHLIN

Plaintiff

Vv.

RUSSO

Defendant

ORDER OF DISMISSAL

YOUNG, D.J.

After a hearing held on’ 12/11/07 , this

Court Orders that Petitioner’s, Petition for Writ of

Habeas Corpus is DENIED and the above entitled

action be and hereby is Dismissed

Sarah A. Thornton

Clerk

/s/ Ehhzabeth

Smith

Deputy Clerk

By:

December 12, 2007

Notice mailed to counsel of record.

53a

APPENDIX C

[Published at: 446 Mass. *188, 843 N.E.2d

**6§17]

Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts,

Berkshire.

COMMONWEALTH

V.

Michael M. O’LAUGHLIN.

Argued Jan. 4, 2006.

Decided March 10, 2006.

** *

**620 Kenneth IL. Seiger for the defendant.

David F. Capeless, District Attorney, for the

Commonwealth.

Present: MARSHALL, C.J., GREANEY, IRELAND,

SPINA, COWIN, SOSMAN, & CORDY, JJ.

COWIN, J.

*189 A Supenor Court jury convicted the

defendant of burglary and armed assault **621 in a

dwelling, armed assault in a dwelling,*’!’ armed

assault with intent to murder, and assault and

battery by means of a dangerous weapon. The

54a

Appeals Court, concluding that there was

insufficient evidence to support the _ verdicts,

reversed the judgments. See Commonwealth uv.

O’Laughlin, 63 Mass. App. Ct. 805, 824, 830 N.E.2d

222 (2005). We granted the Commonwealth’s

application for further appellate review. After

careful consideration of the transcripts and

arguments of the parties, we determine that,

although the question is a close one, *190 there was

sufficient evidence to support the verdicts, and we

affirm the convictions.

FN1. The first two indictments were

charged under different statutes, G.L.

c. 266, § 14, and G.L. c. 265, § 18A,

and there is no _ allegation of

duplicativeness.

Because of its decision on the sufficiency of

the evidence, the Appeals Court did not reach the

other arguments raised by the defendant. We,

however, must do so, and we have concluded that

the judge did not act improperly in (1) admitting

evidence that the defendant withdrew his consent

to allow the police to collect a sample of a small

stain found on a closet door; (2) admitting prior bad

act evidence regarding the defendant’s drug use; (3)

denying the defendant a hearing to challenge the

reliability of deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) evidence;

(4) ruling inadmissible a handwritten note found in

the victim’s apartment that allegedly demonstrated

a third party’s intent to murder; (5) failing to

inform the jury in his instruction on armed assault

with intent to murder that the Commonwealth had

to prove the specific intent to kill; and (6) denying

the defendant's motion to dismiss the indictments

55a

because of claimed flaws in the grand jury

proceedings. Finally, we have determined that the

claim that the prosecutor misstated the evidence in

his closing argument does not rise to the level of

adequate appeliate argument.

1. Facts. We summarize the evidence in the

light most favorable to the Commonwealth,

reserving further details for the discussion of

specific issues below."N2 On the morning of Friday,

November 17, 2000, the victim, Annmarie

Kotowski, was discovered in her apartment,

severely beaten but still alive. Although she

survived, she had no memory of the attack or the

weeks following it. The background of that attack,

as developed by police investigation, is as follows.

FN2. The Appeals Court opinion

contains a thoughtful and helpful

summary of the evidence.

Commonwealth vu. O’Laughlin, 63

Mass. App. Ct. 805, 806-817, 830

N.E.2d 222 (2005).

The victim and David Kotowski were

married for over twenty-five years and lived in

Dalton. But, in May, 2000, the victim revealed to

her husband that she was involved in a romantic

relationship with James Finn of Dalton. The

marriage became difficult and, in September, 2000,

the victim moved out of the marital home. She

moved into the Fox Hollow condominium complex

in nearby Lee, apartment no. 15, Ecstatic Way, and

lived there alone. Her relationship with Finn

continued. She first discussed divorce with her

husband approximately one *191 week before the

56a

attack. Both the victim and her’ husband

characterized their relationship as friendly but

strained. (Other witnesses described the husband’s

attitude as alternating between loving and angry.)

The defendant, Michael O’Laughlin, also

lived in the Fox Hollow condominium complex, in

apartment no. 19, two apartments from the

victim’s. As of November, 2000, the defendant had

worked for approximately eighteen months as a

member of the condominium complex’s

maintenance staff. As such, he was one of several

Fox **622 Hollow employees with a master key to

all of the buildings on the property, including the

victim’s apartment. He had been inside the victim’s

apartment in September to perform various tasks

and on one occasion had fixed a window.

The defendant took some interest in the

victim before the attack. Once, when the victim’s

sister was visiting, the defendant was outside the

victim’s apartment and said to the victim, “Wow,

have you got any more good looking women in

there?” The defendant also mentioned the victim

five or six times to acquaintances. He said he

thought the victim “had money” because she had

beautiful furniture in her apartment, and that she

had the thin body type that he found attractive. He

told them that he said hello to the victim

occasionally, but she ignored him. One

acquaintance testified that on November 13, the

defendant told her that he “really scared” the

victim by asking “about the window in _ her

apartment,” though she then realized that he knew

about the window because he was the maintenance

57a

man, at which point she ignored him and walked

away.

On Thursday, November 16 (the day before

the victim was found beaten), the defendant cashed

a $457.15 pay check and made a $200 child support

payment to his former wife. He also expected to sell

a trailer to a neighbor for $500, and scemed

agitated when the neighbor failed to come up with

the money that day. (The neighbor paid the next

day.)

On Thursday evening, the defendant and a

friend, Mark Puleri, went to Pittsfield to purchase

“crack” cocaine. They smoked the cocaine at

Puleri’s house. The defendant was “[{njervous,

jittery, [and] paranoid,” typical behavior when he

*192 smoked crack cocaine. Puleri then drove the

defendant back to Pittsfield to buy more cocaine,

which they smoked at the defendant’s apartment at

Fox Hollow. Now, depleted of drugs and most of his

cash, the defendant asked Puleri for money to buy

beer. Puleri purchased beer at a local store and left

the defendant at his apartment with most of the

beer.

Around 9 or 9:30 P.M., the defendant

telephoned a friend, Grover Finkle, who was at

Richard O’Leary’s house, to ask for a mide to

Pittsheld to buy drugs. Finkle had previously

smoked crack cocaine with the defendant and knew

at least one drug dealer. O’Leary and Finkle

arrived at the defendant’s apartment about one

hour after he telephoned. O’Leary, who drove a

taxicab, refused to drive to Pittsfield unless he was

paid in advance, which the defendant was unable to

58a

do. The defendant made some telephone calls in an

effort to get cab fare, but Finkle and O’Leary

eventually left without giving him a ride.

Between 12:10 and 1:43 A.M. on what was

now the early morning of November 17, telephone

records show fourteen calls to or from the

defendant's apartment. Three calls were made to

Finkle’s telephone number. Most of the calls,

particularly the later ones, were to pagers owned

by drug dealers. The last telephone call was made

at 1:43 A.M.

Shortly before 2 A.M. on the same morning,

George Whittemore, whose bedroom was directly

above the victim’s, was awakened by banging and

screaming sounds coming from the apartment

directly below. The screaming was that of a

woman’s voice, the banging sounded lke “wood

hitting wood,” and the sounds lasted for about

thirty seconds. Whittemore dialed 911 at 1:55 A.M.

(twelve minutes after the defendant’s last

telephone call).*N3 Whittemore **623 stayed awake

until he saw polhce cruisers enter the building’s

parking lot and he flashed his apartment lights to

indicate his apartment for the police, but did not go

outside to meet the police. Whittemore did not hear

any vehicies *193 come to or leave the area from

the time he heard the screaming until the time he

saw the police arrive.

FN3. The State police conducted a test

to determine whether a person in the

victim’s apartment could hear

Whittemore make the 911 call by

having Whittemore’ reenact his

59a

movements in making the call. A State

trooper standing in the victim’s

bedroom below was able to hear

Whittemore’s footsteps as he walked

to the telephone, and was able to hear

that he was speaking, but was unable

to hear what was being said.

Officers William Tierney and _ Phillip

Skowron of the Lee police department arrived six or

seven minutes after Whittemore’s 911 call. They

sought apartment no. 202, the number reported in

the dispatch, but were unable to find it.’\4 The

police did not hear or see anything amiss, but did

see Michael O’Laughlin, the defendant, walking

from the building on a walkway leading from

apartment no. 19.

KN4. The police later discovered that

the number on _ the inside of

Whittemore’s door was 202, while a

different number appeared on _ the

outside. The apartments had recently

been renumbered.

Although the defendant was wearing only

boxer shorts, he did not appear affected by the

thirty-five degree temperature. He asked the

officers what had happened, and was told that

there had been a report of a woman screaming. The

officers asked if he had heard screaming and the

defendant said that he had been awakened by

screaming, but thought it was an animal because

raccoons had been getting stuck in the dumpster,

and he had lodged a stick in it to allow animals to

chmb out.FN5 Tierney looked inside the nearby

60a

dumpster and saw a stick but no animals. During

this brief conversation, the defendant appeared

“uneasy and distant,” kept his head down, and did

not look directly at the officers. Although the police

continued to search the area, they found nothing

suspicious and left.

FN5. The _ defendant’s’ supervisor

confirmed that there had _ been

problems with’ raccoons in_ the

dumpster.

Whittemore, the neighbor who called 911,

heard a woman moaning and crying directly below

him several times that night, but he did not contact

the police again. Later in the morning, he heard a

man outside the victim’s apartment calling her

name and banging, then eventually the sound of

glass breaking, and a man yelling, “Oh, my God.”

The man was James Finn, the victim’s boy friend.

Finn usually stopped for coffee before work with

the victim at her apartment between 5:30 and 5:45

A.M., on weekday mornings. On November 17, Finn

arrived at 5:45 A.M., but the victim did not answer

her door when he knocked repeatedly and called

out to her. He heard her say, “Who is it?” in an

unusual voice. After unsuccessfully trying to reach

her from a nearby *194 public telephone, Finn

returned and forced open a locked sliding glass rear

door. The lving area appeared in order, but he

found the victim in her bedroom “lying on the floor

next to the bed.” “[T]here was just blood

everywhere.” Finn dialed 911 just before 6:30

A.M FNG

Gla

FN6. Finn was eliminated as a suspect

based on confirmation of his alibi, his

shock on discovering the victim, and

his cooperation with the _ police

investigation.

The victim, who had severe wounds on her

head and hands, was taken to Berkshire Medical

Center in Pittsfield. Officers who arrived after

Finn’s 911 call observed blood in the victim’s

bedroom on the bed, the pillow, the floors, and the

walls, **624 and on the door jambs of the bathroom

and bedroom. There was also “quite a bit” of blood

that appeared to be “splatters” on the comforter.

The bed rail had a small dent and wood splinters

were found on the floor directly below the dented

portion. The bed clothes appeared as if someone

had slept in the bed. Apart from the above, all

other items appeared to be intact.

The rest of the apartment was also neat,

with nothing displaced, but the victim’s purse was

on the floor. A State trooper searched the

apartment later that day. He did not detect signs of

forced entry on either the front door or the rear

shding door that Finn forced open.FN’ In the

victim’s purse were her credit cards, about $28 in

cash, and a checkbook. There was $522 in cash in a

dresser drawer, and several pieces of valuable

jewelry, including diamonds, pearls, and an

expensive watch, in the bedroom. The victim later

indicated that no items of value were missing from

her apartment.

FN7. However, the first officer on the

scene stated that the door “was indeed

G2a

broken as [Finn] indicated.” This

discrepancy is not material to our

discussion.

The woman who lived in the apartment

between the victim and the defendant knocked on

the defendant’s door sometime before 7 A.M. He

answered in his boxer shorts, looking as if he had

just awoken. When he was informed that someone

had been “murdered,” he replied, “What do you

want me to do about it?”

At about 9:40 A.M., Officers William Tierney

and Todd Briggs talked with the defendant outside

the apartment building (where he worked during

the day). Tierney noticed a “scratch or a dig *195

mark in [the defendant’s] left cheek, small cut on

his chin and a round, circular bruise ... just below

his left ear,” but could not be certain how old the

marks were. When they asked the defendant to

give a statement at the Lee police station, he

seemed reluctant, but agreed when told that

Tierney would conduct the interview. The

defendant arrived at the station at 10:40 A.M., and

was told by Chief Ronald Ghdden to wait for

Tierney, who had not yet arrived. Tierney arrived

twenty minutes later, and told the defendant that

he would be “right with him.” When Tierney

returned five minutes later, the defendant was not

there.

The defendant returned to the police station

about twenty minutes later. Chief Gldden

interviewed the defendant for about ten minutes,

during which time the defendant seemed

agitated.-N8§ The defendant stated that he was

63a

drinking before he went to bed and that the police

cruisers woke him at approximately 2 A.M., but

that he “didn’t think he was awake until he heard

the cruisers.” He thought he may have heard foxes

or raccoons before that, but was uncertain. The

defendant said that he had “seen [the victim]

around,” and that he and a friend had joked about

her boy friend. He also said that he had been in

that apartment to repair a window.

FN8. Gldden did not recite the

Miranda warnings to the defendant

because he was not a suspect at the

ume.

State Troopers David Buell and Brian Berkel

arrived at Fox Hollow around noon. Buell spoke to

the defendant, who said that he went to Pittsfield

with Mark Puleri the previous night, returned at

10:30 P.M., went to sleep around 11:30 P.M., and

was awakened by screaming, which he thought was

a fox fighting with a raccoon. He said that a short

time later the police arrived and he went out to

speak with them. After the officers left, he went

back to sleep until 7:30 A.M., when he was

awakened by his neighbor’s knock on his door.

**6§25 Buell asked the defendant for consent

to search his apartment in order to eliminate him

as a suspect due to his apartment’s proximity to the

victim’s. The defendant consented, and also allowed

Berkel to take photographs and two State police

chemists to look for blood stains. Berkel

photographed a red stain on a closet door near the

kitchen area. After seeing the stain, a chemist*196

asked whether the defendant’s consent included

64a

taking swabbings. The defendant replied in the

negative, and shortly afterward, he asked them all

to leave his apartment.

Outside the apartment, the police conferred

and decided to apply for a search warrant. They

immediately returned to inform the defendant of

their intent to secure the apartment and obtain a

warrant. The defendant said that a warrant was

unnecessary because he would allow them back

into the apartment. He also told the officers that he

had wiped the red stain off the closet door with his

finger, and thought it was his own blood, but was

not sure. The defendant also stated that he was

concerned about a search because he was afraid

police would find his drug paraphernalia and he

had cash that he did not want taken. FN9

FN9. There was’ cash in _ the

defendant’s dresser, which

presumably included the amount his

neighbor paid him for a trailer earlier

that day. The defendant was paid for

the trailer after the time the victim

was assaulted and before the police

searched his apartment.

The red stain was no longer visible when the

chemists returned, but the area where it had been

tested positive for the presumptive presence of

blood, and a sample was collected by swabbing.

Chemists also collected swabs from two small, red-

brown stains in the apartment that tested positive

for the presumptive presence of blood, and cuttings

of what appeared to be blood from the defendant’s

bed comforter. The defendant gave the police the

65a

clothes he said he wore the night before and

permitted the chemist to examine his boots.

A State trooper searched the area around the

apartment building with a dog trained to search by

scent. The dog located an aluminum bat

(characterized as a baseball or softball bat) lying in

a wooded area approximately twenty-five yards

from the building’s dumpster. It appeared to have

been covered with some leaves and debris, but was

otherwise clean. An inscription of the defendant’s

last name was on the bat.

A few days after the attack, an “upset”

defendant told a friend that he was a suspect in the

assault. He said that he was “very happy that [the

victim] had survived ... [s]o that she could identify

her assailant,” but that with his “bad luck,” the

assailant was probably wearing a “Nixon mask”

and came in with a baseball bat. He was arrested

later that day. Sometime *197 thereafter, while in

custody awaiting trial, the defendant told another

inmate that he owned the bat but had not seen it

since he moved into his apartment.

In regard to physical evidence, the police

recovered fourteen fingerprints and a palm print

from the victim’s apartment, but none of them

matched those of the defendant.F!° Footprint

impressions at the crime scene did not match the

defendant’s boots. State Police Lieutenant Brian

O’Hara, trained in fingerprint analysis and

bloodstain patterns, gave an opinion that a blood

stain on the victim’s pillow was caused by the

transfer of blood from a person’s right hand, but

was not identifiable. He testified that the imprint

GGa

was of **626 a hand about the same size as his own

with a significant amount of blood on it.

FN10. Twelve of these prints were

identifiable and excluded the

defendant. Two were unidentifiable.

One was identifiable, but police were

unable to match it to any known

prints.

A State police chemist examined the bat.

Three small reddish brown stains on the bat tested

positive for the presumptive presence of blood. One

tested positive for human blood. The three stains

were swabbed and sent to the deoxyribonucleic acid

(DNA) unit for further testing. Because of

contamination in the DNA lab, tests consumed all

the testable material without yielding results. An

additional cutting from tape on the bat’s handle

from an area where the presumptive presence of

blood could still be detected was submitted to the

laboratory. A State police DNA analyst obtained

human genetic materia! from the sample indicating

two or more donors, with both a male and female

possible in the mixture. She concluded that the

victim could not be excluded as a contributor and

that one in two of any randomly selected

individuals “could have been the contributor.”

Due to the contamination, the only samples

with sufficient material for further testing after the

failed tests were from blood on the victim's

bathroom floor, a stain on the wall behind the

defendant’s dresser, and two cuttings from the

defendant’s comforter. Of these, all of the blood

found in the defendant’s apartment was his own,

G7a

and the defendant was excluded as a *198 possible

contributor to the sample of blood taken from the

victim’s bathroom.

A surgeon who performed reconstructive

surgeries on the victim after the attack testified

that she had sustained between fifteen to twenty

blows that broke nearly every bone in her face and

skull. She also had defensive wounds on her hands

caused by five to ten blows. The surgeon gave an

opinion that the victim’s injuries were caused by a

long, sturdy, hard, round object, consistent with an

aluminum bat like the one that was recovered near

the apartment building.

2. Sufficiency of the evidence. The defendant

moved for required findings of not guilty at the

close of the Commonwealth’s case and again at the

close of all the evidence. He claims that his motions

were improperly denied because the evidence failed

to identify him as the assailant. In reviewing the

denial of a motion for a required finding, we must

determine “whether the evidence, in its light most

favorable to the Commonwealth, notwithstanding

the contrary evidence presented by the defendant,

is sufficient ... to permit the jury to infer the

existence of the essential elements of the crime

charged....” Commonwealth v. Latumore, 378 Mass.

671, 676-677, 393 N.E.2d 370 (1979), quoting

Commonwealth v. Sandler, 368 Mass. 729, 740, 335

N.E.2d 903 (1975). “Additionally, the evidence and

the inferences permitted to be drawn therefrom

must be of ‘sufficient force to bring minds of

ordinary intelligence and sagacity to the persuasion

of [guilt] beyond a_ reasonable doubt.” “

Commonwealth v. Latimore, supra at 677, 393

68a

N.E.24 370, quoting Commonwealth v. Cooper, 264

Mass. 368, 373, 162 N.E. 729 (1928). Because the

defendant moved for required findings at the close

of the Commonwealth's case and again at the close

of all the evidence, “[wJe consider the state of the

evidence at the close of the Commonwealth’s case to

determine whether the defendant’s motion should

have been granted at that time. We also consider

the state of the evidence at the close of all the

evidence, to determine whether the

Commonwealth’s position as to proof deteriorated

after it closed its case.” Commonwealth v. Sheline,

391 Mass. 279, 283, 461 N.E.2d 1197 (1984).

As the Commonwealth did in this case, it

may rely wholly on circumstantial **627 evidence.

Commonwealth v. Degro, 432 Mass. 319, 325, 733

N.E.2d 1024 (2000). As we view the evidence, the

inferences we *199 draw need be only “reasonable

and possible,” not necessary, inferences.

Commonwealth v. Longo, 402 Mass. 482, 487, 524

N.E.2d 67 (1988), quoting Commonwealth v.

Casale, 381 Mass. 167, 173, 408 N.E.2d 841 (1980).

With these principles in mind, we proceed to

discuss the evidence that permissibly convinced the

jury of the defendant’s guilt: evidence of motive,

opportunity, and means, as well as consciousness of

guilt. See, e.g., Commonwealth v. Robertson, 408

Mass. 747, 756, 563 N.E.2d 223 (1990);

Commonwealth v. Montecalvo, 367 Mass. 46, 55,

323 N.E.2d 888 (1975). The jury could permissibly

find that the defendant had a motive to break into

the victim’s apartment, i.e., robbery. The defendant

had purchased crack cocaine on two different

occasions on the evening of November 16 and had

69a

been ingesting drugs and beer all night. He had run

out of both drugs and money later in the evening

and was desperately seeking to obtain more drugs.

His telephone records show calls, many of which

were attempts to purchase drugs, as late as 1:43

A.M., only twelve minutes before the victim’s

upstairs neighbor telephoned the police department

to report screams and banging sounds from

downstairs. The defendant had been in the victim’s

apartment previously and had reason to believe

that she was wealthy and might have cash or

valuables. The defendant needed money

immediately and the victim was a nearby and

likely source. ¥N!!

FN11. The fact that nothing was

stolen could be explained by the

upstairs neighbor’s telephone call to

the police. The reenactment indicated

that the neighbor could be heard in

the apartment below. It is a

reasonable inference that the

defendant was frightened off before he

could steal anything when he heard

the neighbor speaking.

The defendant also had the opportunity to

commit the crime. He lived in the same apartment

complex as the victim, only two doors away. As a

maintenance worker, he possessed a master key

that provided access to her apartment. Moreover,

the victim’s upstairs neighbor testified that he

heard no vehicles entering or leaving the area from

the time he first heard the screaming until the

police arrived.

70a

There was also evidence of means. An

aluminum bat was found on the ground a short

distance from the victim’s apartment. The jury

would certainly be warranted in concluding *200

that the bat was the defendant’s. His surname, not

a common one, was visible on the bat handle and he

mentioned to someone in jail that he was the owner

of the bat the polce had found.FN!2 Although

covered with leaves and debris, the bat was

otherwise clean when found.

FN12. He said that he had not seen

the bat since the day he had moved

into the complex. (It is not clear from

the record when the defendant moved

into the complex.)

The Commonwealth also presented

abundant evidence of consciousness of guilt. When

the police first arrived at the apartment complex,

they encountered the defendant walking outside

clothed only in boxer shorts in near freezing

temperature. In talking with the police at that

time, the defendant appeared “uneasy and distant,”

never looking at the officers. The defendant led to

the police when he sard that he had been awakened

by screaming; his telephone records indicate many

calls until twenty minutes before the arrival of the

police. And he later told the police that he had been

awakened by the noise of the cruisers. In another

police interview, he gave yet another version: he

fell asleep at 11:30 P.M., was awakened by

screaming that he believed to be animals fighting,

**628 went back to sleep and was awakened in the

morning by a neighbor who reported an assault.

(The neighbor testified that the defendant’s

Tla

response to this news was, “What do you want me

to do about it?”) In addition, the defendant was

reluctant to be interviewed by the police, and when

he did speak with them, he appeared “agitated.”

Perhaps the most significant consciousness

of guilt evidence is the defendant’s reaction when

the police sought a swabbing of a red stain on a

closet door in his apartment. Although the

defendant had previously consented to a police

search of his apartment, he asked the police to

leave. He later permitted them to return, but only

after he had removed the stain from the door with

his finger. He told the police then that, although he

was not sure what the stain on the door was, he

believed that it was his own blood. This evidence

reflected not merely a general consciousness of

guilt, but indicated that the defendant feared that

the blood stain could be that of the victim, a fear he

vould have only if he were in fact the perpetrator.

*201 Additional evidence consistent with the

defendant's guilt is that at 10 A.M. on the morning

of the assault the defendant was observed to have a

“scratch or a dig mark” on his cheek, a small cut on

his chin and a bruise on his neck. Although the

police officer could not be certain whether these

marks were fresh, it could be inferred that the

injuries were sustained during a physical encounter

with the victim.

Contrary to the Appeals Court, we conclude

that the above evidence was sufficient to permit the

jury to determine beyond a reasonable doubt that

the defendant was the perpetrator of the vicious

attack on the victim. In reaching its decision, the

72a

Appeals Court relied on Commonwealth v. Mazza,

399 Mass. 395, 504 N.F.2d 630 (1987), where, on

facts somewhat similar to those here, we held that

the evidence was insufficient “to identify the

defendant as the perpetrator.” Jd. at 399, 504

N.E.2d 630. But in the Mazza case, there was less

incriminating evidence than in the present case. In

that case, the defendant and the victim were both

interested in the same woman. It could be inferred

that the defendant planned to meet the victim at a

local restaurant. The defendant, accompanied by a

friend, Mongiello, went to the restaurant. Mongiello

drove to a gasoline station next to the restaurant,

and while Mongiello was getting gasoline, the

defendant went to the parking lot of the restaurant.

The defendant returned in approximately one and

one-half minutes, said, “There’s a problem,” and the

two men left. Jd. at 396, 504 N.E.2d 630.

Soon after, the victim’s body was found face

down and covered in blood in his Jeep in the

parking lot of the restaurant. He had been shot to

death. The Commonwealth presented no evidence

that. the defendant had brought a gun to the

restaurant or that the victim had one in his

possession at that time. The friend did not hear a

gunshot and, in fact, did not see the victim’s Jeep.

At about the time the body was discovered, a

police officer saw the defendant about ten feet from

a fire in a market. The defendant told the police he

was urinating. The next night, a detective found a

“scalley cap” and a pair of wet jeans behind the

market. After the assault, the defendant altered his

appearance and fled to Vermont. Although he was

generally known as “Tony Ramo,” after the

73a

homicide the defendant used his legal name,

Antonio Mazza. Id. at 397-398, 504 N.E.2d 630.

*202 The court acknowledged that there was

evidence of the defendant’s “presence **629 at the

[crime scene] together with the evidence of motive

and consciousness of guilt.” Jd. at 398, 504 N.E.2d

630. But “there was no evidence that the defendant

had a gun in his possession when he walked to the

restaurant parking lot, nor any evidence that the

victim and the defendant were there at the same

time, and a lack of any proof that a gunshot had

been heard.” Commonwealth v. O’Laughlin, 63

Mass. App. Ct. 805, 821, 830 N.E.2d 222 (2005).

Thus, the court concluded that the evidence was

insufficient “to identify the defendant as the

perpetrator.” Commonwealth v. Mazza, supra at

3

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.