Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hayes Lemmerz International, Inc. v. Lacks Industries, Inc. (No. 08-1177)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

if 2, O Supreme ‘Court U.S.

[ 081177 MAR18 2009

No. . — OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

Haves LEMMERZ INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

McKEcunik VEHICLE COMPONENTS U.S.A., INC.,

D/B/A THOMPSON INTERNATIONAL,

Petitioners,

Vv.

LACKS INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

J. Michael Huget Stephen E. Glazek

John C. Blattner Counsel of Record

Butzel Long Josh J. Moss

350 S. Main, Suite 300 Barris Sott Denn & Dniker, L.L.C.

Ann Arbor, MI 48104 211 W. Fort Street, #150

(734)995-3110 Detroit, MI 48226-3211

(313) 965-9725

Attorneys for Petitioner

McKechnie Vehicle Mark Sobanski

Components U.S.A., Inc.. MacMillan, Sobanski & Todd, L.L.C.

720 Water St., 5" Floor

Toledo, OH 43604

(419) 255-5900

Attorneys for Petitioner Hayes Lemmerz

International, Inc.

March 18, 2009

Becker Gallagher + Cincinnau, OH + Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

l

QUESTION PRESENTED

Has the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit misinterpreted Pfaff v. Wells Elec.,

Inc., 525 U.S. 55 (1998), and thereby misconstrued the

phrase “on sale” in 35 U.S.C. § 102(b), by defining “on

sale” to require that an invention be the subject of a

commercial offer for sale that the other party could

make into a binding contract by simple acceptance

(assuming consideration)?

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

AND RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

There are no parties to the proceeding other than

those listed on the caption.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, Petitioners

make the following disclosures:

Petitioner Hayes Lemmerz International, Inc., f/k/a

Hayes Wheels International, Inc., states that it has no

parent company.

Petitioner McKechnie Vehicle Components USA,

Inc. states that its parent company is DLO

Investments, Inc.

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Dp cel eo By ny |} br i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND RULE

a re il

py 8 Bee yy 6. yy rn ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED ............ vi

Bog Ss | ae 1

Ne eS gly vb See ee vase 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ....... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...............- 3

LE SO ETE CECE EET CR Cees 3

B. Proceedings Leading up to the 2000 Bench

ee ee i pas ed ads CK bw os 4

C. The Special Master’s Post-Trial Amended

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law .. 6

a ee 8

hk kk ke se ee ee eee 9

D. Be ene AMOR... . . ww ee ee es 10

lV

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ...... 11

A. The Group One Test is Not Supported By the

Language of Sectionl102(b) ............. 12

B. The Group One Test Is Based Upon a

Misinterpretation of this Court’s Opinion in

Pfaff and Conflicts with the Policies

Underlying the On-Sale Bar ........... 14

1. The Federal Circuit Misinterpreted

| AIRE rr ts rmeir i een a eee 14

2. The Group One Test Undermines the

Primary Policy Consideration Behind the

On-Sale Bar of Preventing Inventors

from Extending the Statutory Patent

I oes cs dace chon oo A Oe meas ee eee 17

3. The Group One Test Results in a Lack of

Clarity and Certainty for Inventors and

for Courts, as well as a Lack of

Uniformity Among Industries ....... 23

CE os os eae eecasd ae tees 25

APPENDIX

Appendix A: Federal Circuit Opinion (Nov. 21,

CR Sn ie ae kak Kier wa ale la

Appendix B: District Court Order on Cross-

Motions for Summary Judgment (Nov. 20,.

ae re re ee ear Sarre ee ee l3a

Vv

Appendix C: District Court, Special Master’s

Report and Recommendation on Cross-Motions

for Summary Judgment Concerning Patent

Invalidity Defense Based on Alleged On-Sale

Se ie a gs ea ee eh Oe 18a

Appendix D: Federal Circuit Opinion (Mar. 13,

a rae ha Soke FS ae a ee ee Oe, 12la

Be hy a Wig ak wie h-ei ew aeR e aS 168a

Appendix F: District Court, Special Master's

Amended Report and Recommendation

Amended Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

DE, BP oh 8 koa ee wk eam 17la

Appendix G: Federal Circuit Order re Rehearing

I i a a a aa oe 274a

Appendix H: District Court Stipulation and

Order Regarding Appointment of Special

Pe CGO. FO, We 66 en es oe sees 276a

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Elizabeth v. American Nicholson Pavement Co.,

BAS SS LSS ye: Sara 17, 18

Engine Manuf. Assoc. v. South Coast Air Quality

Management Dist.,

a 5 rrr 13

Gould Inc. v. United States,

op gk 2 vo Ie To a) ) 14

Group One, Ltd. v. Hallmark Cards, Inc.,

254 F.3d 1041 (Fed. Cir. 2001) ......... passim

Linear Tech. Corp. v. Micrel, Inc.,

275 F.3d. 1040 (Fed. Cir. 2002)... 13, 21, 22, 23

Metalizing Eng’g Co., Inc. v. Kenyon Bearing &

Auto Parts Co.,

153 F.2d 516 (2nd Cir. 1946) ............... 14

Park ’N Fly, Inc. v. Dollar Park & Fly, Inc.,

P,P) 6 ee cee ee eas 13

Pfaff v. Wells Elec., Inc.,

ee Se, SO CRD oo ct ee eee ee eee passim

RCA Corp. v. Data Gen. Corp.,

887 F.2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ..... 7, 8, 13, 21

Statutes

a 8) 2

ee We oo ee ee ec cdawe sevens passim

Other Authorities

CORBIN ON CONTRACTS § 1.12, P. 33, Revised Edition

SO I a ee rn el 24

Lord, Richard A., Williston on Contracts § 4:13, at

ee es i ee, Sis ot 24

The Random House Dictionary of the English

Language, Unabridged Edition, p. 1262

> MYARTS ole nil ce ote Hn aatiee PeLg aD Nt cen rn 13

Restatement of Contracts (Second) § 24 (1981)... 23

Ser EE oan hah oe oa os ke ae 24

Webster’s Ninth New College Dictionary, p. 1037

| ee ere eer rn ere ere 13

1

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment below.

OPINIONS BELOW

The District Court has entered judgment for

Petitioners Hayes Lemmerz International, Inc. and

McKechnie Vehicle Components U.S.A., Inc.

(“Petitioners”) twice in this case, both times based

upon rulings by a Special Master appointed by the

court pursuant to the stipulation of the parties. The

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

has reversed and remanded twice, and the case is

currently before the District Court again on the second

remand. The relevant opinions are listed below.

The 2008 opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit is unreported, but is

unofficially reported at 300 Fed.Appx. 904, 2008 WL

4962687. (App. la-12a.)

The 2007 order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Michigan adopting the 2007

Special Master’s Report and Recommendation is

unreported. (App. 13a-17a.)

The 2007 Special Master's Report § and

Recommendation is unreported. (App. 18a-120a.)

The 2003 opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit is reported at Lacks

Indus., Inc. v. McKechnie Vehicle Components USA,

2

Inc., et al., 322 F.3d 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2003). (App. 121a-

167a.)

The 2001 Judgment of the United States District

Court adopting the 2001 Special Master’s Amended

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law and entering

judgment on the same is unreported. (App. 168a-170a.)

The 2001 Special Master’s Amended Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law is unreported. (App.

171a-273a.)

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit was entered on

November 26, 2008. Defendants’ petition for rehearing

was denied on December 18, 2008. (App. 274a-275a.)

This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the following provision of the

United States Code:

A person shall be entitled to a patent unless —

(b) the invention was patented or described

in a printed publication in this or a foreign

country or in public use or on sale in this

country, more than one year prior to the date of

the application for patent in the United States

35 U.S.C. § 102(b).

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

The Court should grant certiorari in this case

because the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

has misinterpreted the federal statute that precludes

an inventor from obtaining a patent claiming an

invention that was on sale more than one year prior to

the date of application. See 35 U.S.C. § 102(b). In

Group One, Ltd. v. Hallmark Cards, Inc., 254 F.3d

1041 (Fed. Cir. 2001), the Federal Circuit abandoned

its own precedent and decades of law developed in

other courts based upon a clear misreading of this

Court’s decision in Pfaff v. Wells Elec., Inc., 525 U.S.

55 (1998). Under the new test set forth in Group One,

an invention is deemed to be “on sale” under Section

102(b) only if it is the subject of a commercial offer for

sale that the other party could make into a binding

contract by simple acceptance. The Federal Circuit’s

change to the on-sale bar analysis upsets the balance

of interests struck by Congress in spurring invention

on the one hand and preventing inventors from

enlarging their government-granted monopoly period

on the other.

The absurd result in this case shows that the

Federal Circuit's new standard allows inventors to

commercially market their inventions for years prior

to filing a patent application without triggering the on-

sale bar. The facts found by the Special Master after

the 2000 trial that remain unchallenged showed that

for two years before the critical date, Respondent Lacks

Industries, Inc., the patent owner, conducted a

thorough and widespread commercial marketing

campaign promoting its ready for-patenting invention.

4

The campaign included, among other things, dozens of

sales calls to automobile manufacturers and

automotive wheel manufacturers during which Lacks

sought purchasers for its later-patented invention.

Lacks’ marketing efforts before the critical date also

included multi-day technology shows in which the

invention was marketed to automobile manufacturers,

and numerous meetings with wheel manufacturers in

which Lacks marketed the invention.

The Special Master and the District Court found

that under the controlling on-sale bar jurisprudence,

Lacks’ pre-critical date commercial activities clearly

triggered the on-sale bar. Between the District Court’s

entry of judgment and oral argument on Lacks’ appeal,

the Federal Circuit issued its opinion in Group One.

Because the Federal Circuit dramatically changed the

on-sale bar analysis in Group One, thirteen (13) years

after this case was filed, the parties are still litigating

what constitutes a binding offer for sale in the

automotive industry.

B. Proceedings Leading up to the 2000 Bench

Trial

The patent at issue in this case relates to

decorative overlays or claddings that are affixed to the

outwardly facing surface of automotive wheels. (App.

175a.) The resulting composite wheels are

aesthetically attractive, but less expensive than the

chrome-plated wheels for which they are a substitute.

(App. 175.) The claims of the patent at issue relate to

a method for securing the claddings to wheels with

adhesive. (App. 175a-76a.)

5

Plaintiff Lacks Industries, Inc. (“Lacks”) filed this

patent infringement action in the Eastern District of

Michigan in February, 1996 alleging infringement of

three patents. Only claims 11-13, 20-22, 24, and 25 of

U.S. Patent No. 5,597,213 (the “213 Patent”) survived

summary judgment and remain at issue (the

“Remaining Claims”). As part of its summary

judgment decision, the District Court ruled that the

invention of the Remaining Claims was ready-for-

patenting in May 1992. Lacks Indus., Inc. ov.

McKechnie Vehicle Components USA, Inc., 55 F. Supp.

2d 702, 734 (E.D. Mich. 1999).

On February 15, 2000, the parties stipulated to the

appointment of a Special Master. (App. 278a.) The

stipulation and order of appointment directed the

Special Master to make all factual findings and legal

conclusions necessary to determine whether

Petitioners’ accused products infringed the Remaining

Claims. (App. 278.) The Special Master was also

directed to make all factual findings and legal

conclusions necessary to determine whether the

Remaining Claims were invalid under 35 U.S.C.

§ 102(b) as a result of Lacks’ efforts to commercialize

the invention prior to the June 6, 1994 critical date. '

The parties also stipulated that the Special Master’s

findings of fact would be final and that the District

Court would review only his conc)usions of law. (App.

279a.)

The application that matured into the '213 Patent was filed on

June 6, 1995

6

C. The Special Master’s Post-Trial Amended

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

After a one-week bench trial, the Special Master

issued Amended Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law. The Special Master found that Petitioners’

accused products infringed the Remaining Claims of

the ’213 Patent.” (App. 272a.) The Special Master also

concluded, however, that the Remaining Claims were

invalid because Lacks had the claimed invention on

sale for more than a year before the patent application

was filed. (App. 273a.) The Special Master made

several factual findings underlying his invalidity

ruling that Lacks never challenged. Regarding Lacks’

pre-critical date sales efforts, the Special Master found

as follows:

The record abundantly establishes a thorough

and extensive campaign by Lacks to exploit

competitively, to use for profit and _ to

commercialize the ready-for-patenting method,

commencing two years before the June 6, 1994

critical date. After the May, 1992 ready-for-

patenting date, Lacks made pre-critical date

commercialization efforts with both wheel

manufacturers and OEMs.* Lacks widely

promoted the use of a specific composite wheel

assembly technique, namely, the assembly

techniquc of its later-granted method claims, to

make wheels for any and all future vehicle

* Prior to trial, Lacks conceded that Defendants’ products did not

infringe claims 21-22.

3u n- . : — .

OEMs’ is an abbreviation for original equipment manufacturers

of automobiles.

7

models. Its sales and solicitations took the form

of demonstrations of physical samples of

prototypes made in accordance with the

asserted method claims, and repeated sales

contacts with the same potential customers to

highlight the advantages of the resulting

products.

(App. 259a-60a.)

Regarding the correlation between the invention of

the Remaining Claims and Lacks’ commercial

activities, the Special Master found as follows:

Lacks’ own contemporaneous documentation

and trial testimony, summarized above,

abundantly establish that (1) the assembly

method that Lacks was offering to perform

corresponded precisely with the invention of the

Remaining Claims, and (2) the overlays and

composite wheels that it was offering to sell in

conjunction with a_ wheel-manufacturing

partner were to be made by the claimed method.

(App. 260a.)

The Special Master analyzed the facts under the

then prevailing Federal Circuit law articulated in RCA

Corp. v. Data Gen. Corp., 887 F.2d 1056 (Fed. Cir.

1989) and conciuded that the Remaining Claims were

invalid under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b). (App. 273.) Under

RCA Corp., for commercial activity to trigger the on-

sale bar, it had to be more than “merely indefinite or

nebulous discussion about a possible sale.” RCA Corp.,

887 F.2d at 1062. The commercial activity, however,

need not rise to the level of a “formal commercial ‘offer

8

under contract law principles.” Jd. Because Lacks’ pre-

critical date commercial activity satisfied this

requirement by clear and convincing evidence, the

Special Master ruled that the Remaining Claims were

invalid under Section 102(b).

On April 23, 2001, the District Court adopted the

Special Master’s Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law and entered judgment in favor of Petitioners and

against Lacks. (App. 168a-70a.)

D. The First Appeal

After the District Court entered judgment, but

before argument on the appeal, the Federal Circuit

changed the on-sale bar analysis. In Group One, Ltd.

v. Hallmark Cards, Inc., 254 F.3d 1041 (Fed. Cir.

2001), based on a misinterpretation of this Court’s

decision in Pfaff, the Federal Circuit abandoned the

RCA Corp. standard and held that an invention is on

sale under Section 102(b) only if it is the subject of a

commercial offer for sale “which the other party could

make into a binding contract by simple acceptance

(assuming consideration).” Jd. at 1048. The Federal

Circuit rejected Petitioners’ argument that Lacks’

commercial activities in the record amounted to

contractual offers for sale based upon automotive

industry practice, holding that the record was

insufficient to make such a ruling as a matter of law.

(App. 144a.) Consequently, the Federal Circuit vacated

the on-sale determination by the Special Master

because he had applied the outdated RCA Corp.

standard. (App. 144a-45a.) The court remanded for

consideration under the new standard and instructed

that “[oJn remand, the district court (or the Special

Master) may need to take additional evidence on the

9

practice in the industry to determine if the activities

by Lacks rise to an offer for sale under the UCC.” (App.

145a.) Lacks did not appeal, and the Federal Circuit

did not address, the Special Master’s findings of fact

regarding Lacks’ pre-critical date activities.

E. On Remand

On remand, the Special Master determined that

additional evidence regarding sales practices in the

automotive industry was needed. The parties

conducted extensive discovery regarding sales

practices in the industry. (App. 48a-49a.) Two aspects

of this evidence are relevant to this petition. First, the

uncontested evidence showed that the complex process

for incorporating new products into automobiles

requires collaboration between the supplier providing

the new product and the OEM. This product

development time period is often 36 to 42 months.

(App. 54a-55a, 67a-68a.) It is important to note that

this product development period occurs after the

supplier has marketed its new product to OEMs and

succeeded in convincing one or more OEMs to

incorporate the new product into its vehicles. (App.

56a-57a, 68a.) -

Second, the uncontested evidence demonstrated

that the first document containing formal contract

“offer” language is produced shortly before production

of a new vehicle model incorporating the new product

begins. (App. 59a, 62a, 65a, 68a.) When the OEM is

about to begin production, the OEM issues a purchase

order to the supplier stating that the purchase order is

an offer to buy the new part. (/d.) Thus, because of the

OEMs contracting procedures, by the time the first

formal contractual document is issued, the supplier

10

has commercially marketed its new product, succeeded

in securing an OEM’s (unwmtten) commitment to

purchase and use the new product in its vehicles,

worked collaboratively for between 36 and 42 months

with the OEM to develop the product so that it passes

the OEM’s safety and durability requirements, and

refined the product so that the vehicle can

accommodate inclusion of the new part. (App. 52a-

69a.)

On August 17, 2007, the Special Master issued his

Report and Recommendation in which he concluded

that the undisputed evidence demonstrated that Lacks

had made five commercial offers for sale that satisfied

the Group One standard. (App. 112a-l3a.) Ina

separate section titled “Additional Considerations,” the

Special Master articulated his belief that the Federal

Circuit in Group One had misinterpreted Pfaff and

discussed the shortcomings of the Group One test.

(App. 113a-20a.)

On November 11, 2007, the >: crict Court adopted

the Special Master’s Report and Recommendation.

(App. 138a-15a.) The District Court specifically

endorsed the Special Master’s Additional

Considerations. (App. 15a.)

F. The Second Appeal

On November 26, 2008, the Federal Circuit

reversed in part and affirmed in part. (App. la-12a.)

The Federal Circuit affirmed the District Court’s

denial of Lacks’ motion for summary judgment. The

court, however, reversed the District Court’s grant of

summary judgment of invalidity, holding that there

were genuine issues of material fact precluding

11

summary judgment. The Federal Circuit remanded for

the District Court to determine whether Defendants

could establish by clear and convincing evidence: (1) if

any of the five offers at issue rose to the level of a

commercial offer for sale under the Group One

standard; (2) if so, was the offer communicated to the

offeree; and (3) did the product or process offered

satisfy each element of the Remaining Claims. (App.

12a.)

On December 18, 2009, the Federal Circuit denied

Defendants’ petition for rehearing. (App. 274a-75a.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court should grant the petition because the

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

decided an important issue of federal law that has not

been, but should be, settled by this Court. The Group

One test is not supported by the statutory language

and conflicts with this Court’s repeated statements

that any attempts by inventors to commercialize their

inventions prior to the critical date will trigger the on-

sale bar. Group One is based upon an obvious

misinterpretation of this Court’s ruling in Pfaff. It is

also plainly inconsistent with the primary policy goal

of the on-sale bar — preventing inventors from

extending their government-granted monopolies

beyond the statutory term. The absurd result in this

case 1s a concrete example of Group One’s destructive

effect on the policies underlying Section 102(b). By

extending patent protection to inventions already in

the public domain, or allowing inventors to increase

the length of their monopolies by delaying the filing of

a patent application, the Group One test results in

unwarranted monopolies that stifle competition.

12

Finally, as a practical matter, the Group One test

leaves inventors and the courts with less, rather than

more, clarity and certainty in the on-sale bar analysis.

Because the Federal Circuit has adopted an

erroneous construction of the on-sale bar that will

continue to have adverse consequences on the

economic engines of competition and innovation, the

petition raises an important national issue that should

be resolved by this Court.

A. The Group One Test is Not Supported By the

Language of Section102(b)

The Court should grant the petition because the

Federal Circuit’s test for whether an invention is on

sale under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b) is not supported by the

language of the statute. Section 102(b) provides that:

A person shall be entitled to a patent unless...

the invention was... on sale in this country,

more than one year prior to the date of the

application for patent in the United States.

35 U.S.C. § 102(b) (emphasis added). From the short

phrase “on sale,” the Federal Circuit has generated its

binding contractual offer for sale test:

Only an offer which rises to the level of a

commercia! offer for sale, one which the other

party could make into a binding contract by

simple acceptance (assuming consideration)

constitutes an offer for sale under § 102(b).

Group One, 254 F.3d at 1048.

13

The Federal Circuit’s extrapolation violates the

basic rule that statutory construction begins “with the

language employed by Congress and the assumption

that the ordinary meaning of that language accurately

expresses the legislative purpose.” Engine Manuf.

Assoc. v. South Coast Air Quality Management Dist.,

541 U.S. 246, 252 (2004) quoting Park ’N Fly, Inc. v.

Dollar Park & Fly, Inc., 469 U.S. 189, 194 (1985).

Nothing in the language of Section102(b) suggests that

Congress intended that the phrase “on sale” be

construed so narrowly or that it be given a formalistic

gloss. The Federal Circuit’s interpretation bears little

resemblance to the ordinary meaning of the phrase “on

sale.” The plain meaning of the phrase “on sale” is

“available for purchase.” For example, Webster’s

Dictionary defines “sale” as “opportunity of selling or

being sold.” Webster’s Ninth New College Dictionary,

p. 1037 (1988). See also The Random House Dictionary

of the Engiish Language, Unabridged Edition, p. 1262

(1967) (“opportunity to sell”).

This ordinary use of the phrase “on sale” is

consistent with the Federal Circuit’s own precedent,

which it abandoned in Group One. See Linear Tech.

Corp. v. Micrel, Inc., 275 F.3d. 1040, 1048 (Fed. Cir.

2002) (noting that in Group One, the court had

“expressly held that our previous enunciation of the

law in RCA Corp. is incorrect in light of Pfaff.”) In

RCA Corp., the Federal Circuit recognized that an

invention could be on sale under Section 102(b) even if

the inventor’s commercial activities fell short of a

binding commercial] offer for sale. RCA Corp. , 887 F.2d

14

at 1062.4 The Federal Circuit’s renunciation of this

principle detached the on-sale bar analysis from the

statutory framework. The Court should grant the

petition so that it can settle this important issue of

federal law.

B. The Group One Test Is Based Upon a

Misinterpretation of this Court’s Opinion in

Pfaff and Conflicts with the Policies

Underlying the On-Sale Bar

1. The Federal Circuit Misinterpreted Pfaff

The Federal Circuit based its departure from the

statutory language and from its own precedent upon a

misreading of this Court’s opinion in Pfaff, 525 U.S.

55. In Pfaff, the Court addressed “whether the

commercial marketing of a newly invented product

may mark the beginning of the 1-year period [under

Section 102(b)] even though the invention has not yet

been reduced to practice.” Jd. at 57. The Court held

that an invention need not be reduced to practice in

order to trigger the on-sale bar. Rather, the one-year

grace period under Section 102(b) begins “when an

invention that is ready for patenting is first marketed

commercially.” Id. at 67 (emphasis added). The ready-

for-patenting prong, which was the focus of the opinion

and the issue on which the Court granted certiorari,

could be established either by showing that the

invention had either been reduced to practice or by

proof that the inventor had “prepared drawings or

* See also Gould Inc. v. United States, 579 F.2d 571, 580 (Ct. Cl.

1978); Metalizing Eng'g Co., Inc. v. Kenyon Bearing & Auto Parts

Co., 153 F.2d 516, 518 (2" Cir. 1946).

15

other descriptions sufficiently specific to enable one

skilled in the art to practice the invention.” Id. at 67-

68. Thus, the Court concluded that the on-sale bar

applies when two conditions are satisfied. “First, the

product must be the subject of a commercial offer for

sale.” Id. at 67. “Second, the invention must be ready

for patenting.” Id.

Even though the Court had given no indication that

it attached new or special meaning to it, the Federal

Circuit seized upon the phrase “commercial offer for

sale,” and surmised that Pfaff “strongly suggests that

the offer must meet the level of an offer for sale in the

contract sense, one that would be understood as such

in the commercial community.” Group One, 254 F.3d at

1046. Consequently, the Federal Circuit ruled that the

first prong of Pfaff would be satisfied only if the

invention was the subject of a commercial offer for sale

that the other party could make into a binding contract

by simple acceptance. Id. at 1048.

The phrase on which the Federal Circuit relied, the

paragraph from which it was excised, and the entirety

of the Pfaff opinion, all make clear that the Federal

Circuit misinterpreted Pfaff, reading into it worlds of

meaning not intended by this Court. The full

paragraph from Pfaff reads as follows:

We conclude, therefore, that the on-sale bar

applies when two conditions are satisfied before

the critical date. First, the product must be the

subject of a commercial offer for sale. An

inventor can both understand and control the

timing of the first commercial marketing of his

invention. The experimental use doctrine, for

example, has not generated concerns about

16

indefiniteness, and we perceive no reason why

unmanageable uncertainty should attend a rule

that measures the application of the on-sale bar

of § 102(b) against the date when an invention

that is ready for patenting is first marketed

commercially. In this case, the acceptance of the

purchase order prior to April 8, 1981, makes it

clear that such an offer had been made, and

there is no question that the sale was

commercial rather than experimental in

character.

Pfaff, 525 U.S. at 67 (emphasis added).

The phrase “commercial offer for sale,” without

more, does not suggest that only a legally binding offer

for sale under contract law will trigger the on-sale bar.

Rather, it requires only that the product be available

for sale. The Court’s elaboration of the point in the

remainder of the paragraph vividly illustrates the

Federal Circuit’s mistake. The Court twice equates

“commercial offer for sale” with “first commercial

marketing.” it also states repeatedly in other parts of

the opinion that any pre-critical date efforts by

inventors to exploit their inventions for profit will

trigger the on-sale bar. Consequently, the Court’s use

of the phrase “commercial offer for sale” does not imply

that it intended to create a new, narrow, and

formalistic test under contract law for whether

something was “on sale” for the purposes of patent law.

As the Special Master noted in his Additional

Considerations, which the District Court explicitly

adopted, the phrase “commercial offer for sale” comes

after a discussion of the experimental use doctrine.

Under this exception to Section102(b), transactions or

17

uses involving an invention that are in furtherance of

a bona fide effort to perfect the invention do not trigger

the on-sale bar. (App. 117a.) Thus, the Court’s use of

this phrase was merely to maintain the distinction

between activities that are primarily for experimental

purposes and activities that are for commercial

purposes. (App. 116a-17a.) Nothing in Pfaff supports,

let alone commands, the Federal Circuit’s legally

binding commercial offer for sale test set forth in

Group One.

2. The Group One Test Undermines the

Primary Policy Consideration Behind the

On-Sale Bar of Preventing Inventors from

Extending the Statutory Patent Term

The Court should grant the petition because the

Group One test is inconsistent with the policy

considerations underlying the on-sale bar as

articulated in Pfaff and other cases reaching back

more than 100 years. The Court notes in Pfaff that the

purpose of Section 102(b) is to both exclude from

patenting things that are already in the public domain

and to confine the duration of the patentee’s

government-granted monopoly to the statutory term.

Id. at 64. The patent system represents “a carefully

crafted bargain that encourages both creation and the

public disclosure of new and useful advances in

technology, in return for an exclusive monopoly for a

limited period of time.” Pfaff, 525 U.S. at 63 (emphasis

added). Quoting a case decided in 1877, the Court

reiterated that any attempt by an inventor to

commercialize his invention prior to the critical date

will invalidate the patent. Jd. at 65 (quoting Elizabeth

v. American Nicholson Pavement Co., 97 U.S. 126, 137

(1877)):

18

It is sometimes said that an inventor acquires

an undue advantage over the public by delaying

to take out a patent, inasmuch as he thereby

preserves the monopoly to himself for a longer

period than is allowed by the policy of the law;

but this cannot be said with justice when the

delay is occasioned by a bona fide effort to bring

his invention to perfection, or to ascertain

whether it will answer the purpose intended.

His monopoly only continues for the allotted

period, in any event; and it is the interest of the

public, as well as himself, that the invention

should be perfect and properly tested, before a

patent is granted for it. Any attempt to use it for

profit, and not by way of experiment, for a longer

period than two years before the application,

would deprive the inventor of his right to a

patent.

Id. at 64-65 (quoting Elizabeth, 97 U.S. at 137 (1877))

(emphasis added).

The Federal Circuit has drawn an artificial line

between (a) commercial marketing, advertising, and

other pre-contracting promotional activity that is

clearly intended to exploit inventions for profit and

(b) offers for sale that are definite enough to allow the

offeree to form a contract by mere acceptance. This

unwarranted distinction flies in the face of this Court’s

reiteration in Pfaff of the principle that any attempt to

use an invention (that is ready for patenting) for profit

triggers the on-sale bar. Id.

This Court’s intervention is necessary because the

Group One court’s misinterpretation of Section 102(b)

allows inventors to commercially market their

19

products for years without triggering the on-sale bar,

thereby extending the statutory monopoly term. Even

under the most innocent circumstances, the Group One

test delays commencement of the one-year grace period

until the point where an inventor enters into formal

contract negotiations with a particular customer. This

removes from the one-year grace period the time an

inventor may spend promoting his ready-for-patenting

invention to potential customers, touting the

invention’s advantages, and bringing potential

customers to the point where at least one of them is

ready to negotiate a purchase. This phase of

promotional activity is no less an attempt by an

inventor to exploit his invention for profit than the

following phase in which a contract is negotiated and

concluded. Thus, under the Group One test, an

inventor is free to commercially market his invention

for as long as it takes to find a potential buyer willing

to negotiate for the purchase of the invention.

Depending on, among other things, the nature, value,

cost, and complexity of the invention, this could last

for years — as it did in this case.

This case is a paradigmatic example of monopoly

extension resulting from application of the Group One

standard. The unchallenged findings of fact by the

Special Master after the 2000 bench trial establish

that Lacks embarked on a thorough and extensive

marketing campaign to commercialize the ready-for-

patenting invention of the Remaining Claims that

commenced more than two years before the June 6,

1994 critical date. (App. 259a.) Lacks’ pre-critical date

promotional activities that the Special Master found

Lacks had undertaken to commercialize the ready-for-

patenting invention of the Remaining Claims included

execution of confidentiality agreements with General

20

Motors Truck & Bus Division and with three different

wheel manufacturers. (App. 262a-63a.) Additionally,

between August 31, 1992 and June 2, 1994 — the 21

months preceding the critical date — one of Lacks’

independent sales representative had at least fifteen

(15) meetings with representatives of Ford Motor

Company (“Ford”) to persuade Ford to purchase wheels

made with the method of the Remaining Claims. (App.

263a-64a.) In June 1993, Lacks staged two

promotional “Technology Updates” — one for Chrysler

representatives and one for Ford — to show off its new

technologies. At both shows, Lacks displayed sample

cladded wheels that would, if purchased by an OEM,

be manufactured using the method of the Remaining

Claims. (App. 265a.) Additionally, Lacks sales

representatives also had several meetings Accuride, a

wheel manufacturer, to promote its new technology.

(App. 265a-66a.)

Not surprisingly, based on this and other evidence,

the Special Master found that:

The record abundantly establishes a thorough

and extensive campaign by Lacks to exploit

competitively, to use for profit and _ to

commercialize the ready-for-patenting method,

commencing two years before the June 6, 1994

critical date. After the May, 1992 ready-for-

patenting date, Lacks made pre-critical date

commercialization efforts with both wheel

manufacturers and OEMs. Lacks’ widely

promoted the use of a specific composite wheel

assembly technique, namely, the assembly

technique of its later-granted method claims, to

make wheels for any and all future vehicle

models. Its sales and solicitations took the form

21

of demonstrations of physical samples of

prototypes made in accordance with the

asserted method claims, and repeated sales

contacts with the same potential customers to

highlight the advantages of the resulting

products. (App. 259a-60a (emphasis in

original).)

Notwithstanding that Lacks had been actively

promoting ard seeking to profit from the invention of

the Remaining Claims for two years before the critical

date, the Federal Circuit reversed because the Special

Master had applied the RCA Corp. commercialization

standard. (App. 141a-45a.) The court remanded so that

the evidence could be reviewed under the new Group

One standard to see if any of Lacks’ pre-critical date

activities rose to the level of a binding commercial offer

for sale. (App. 145a.) Thus, application of the Group

One standard potentially gave Lacks as much as two

extra years before the critical date in which to

commercially exploit its invention — yet without

triggering the on-sale bar.

This case is not isolated. In Linear, after a bench

trial, the district court found that the plaintiff had

undertaken extensive pre-critical date promotional

activities, including distributing data sheets detailing

the new product, distributing newsletters, and

promoting the product at trade shows. Linear, 275

F.3d at 1046. These efforts had resulted in orders for

the product from several customers. Id. at 1047. The

Federal Circuit acknowledged that these activities

would have triggered the on-sale bar under the RCA

Corp. standard. Jd. at 1049. Nevertheless, it reversed

the trial court’s invalidity ruling because none of the

22

activities rose to the level of a binding offer to sell

under the Group One test. Id. at 1051.

The evidence developed after remand in this case

regarding sales practices in the automotive industry

shows that product development, safety testing, and

product validation — all of which occur after an OEM

has decided to use a new product — typically take more

than two years to complete. (App. 68a.) The record

demonstrates that under the OEMs’ standard

contracting procedures, the first document in these

long-term relationships that uses formal contractual

offer language comes at the end of the product

development period, not the beginning — and is styled

as an offer to buy from the OEM, not an offer to sell

from the patentee. (App. 59a, 65a, 67a-69a.)

Group One’s formalistic contract law standard is

easily manipulated. Inventors can aggressively

commercialize their inventions while delaying the

start of the one-year grace period by omitting from

documents shared with potential customers key

contractual terms necessary to show a binding offer for

sale. Indeed, they can accomplish the same end by

reciting that a particular document is not intended to

be a binding offer and that the inventor will not be

bound without a fully-executed agreement. (App.

118a.) “Such calculated maneuvers could potentially

avoid the otherwise potentially binding effect of their

offer, and enable them to freely prolong their pre-filing

commercial exploitation without jeopardy to their

patent rights.” (App. 118a.)

Nothing in Section 102(b), Pfaff, or any other

precedent prior to Group One, suggests that Congress

intended to allow inventors more than one year to

23

commercially market their inventions without

triggering the on-sale bar. To the contrary, and as the

result in this case demonstrates, the Group One test

contravenes the policy considerations clearly stated in

Pfaff and the other cases discussed above.

3. The Group One Test Results in a Lack of

Clarity and Certainty for Inventors and for

Courts, as well as a Lack of Uniformity

Among Industries

The Group One test also undermines the interest 1n

providing inventors with “a definite standard for

determining when a patent application must be filed.”

Pfaff, 525 U.S. at 65. Contrary to the Federal Circuit’s

view, questions of whether a party has made a binding

offer, which party made an offer, or what the terms of

a particular offer are, cannot be answered by the

application of a bright iine rule of law. When it first set

forth the new test, the Federal Circuit advised that as

a general proposition, it would look to the Uniform

Commercial Code (“UCC”) for guidance on the issue.

Group One, 254 F.3d at 1047. As the Federal Circuit

was quickly forced to acknowledge, however, the UCC

does not define “offer.” Linear, 275 F.3d at 1050. Thus,

the Federal Circuit’s bright-line test quickly dissolved,

and it stated that henceforth it would “look to the

common law to guide {its} inquiry.” Id. It set forth the

following guidelines for determining whether a

commercial offer for sale had been made:

An offer is the manifestation of willingness to

enter into a bargain, so made as to justify

another person in understanding that his assent

to that bargain is invited and will conclude it.

Restatement of Contracts (Second) § 24 (1981));

24

accord Richard A. Lord, Williston on Contracts

§ 4:13, at 367 (4° ed. 1990) (explaining that “in

order for an offer to exist, it must constitute a

manifestation communicated to the offeree so as

to justify his understanding that by assenting a

bargain will be concluded”).

Id.

This adds nothing in terms of clarity or certainty.

The UCC recognizes that “[a]n agreement sufficient to

constitute a contract of sale may be found even though

the moment of its making is uncertain.” UCC §2-

204(2). There are also “many cases at common law, not

governed by the Uniform Commercial Code, where it

is clear that a contract has been formed, but the

process of offer and acceptance—if there was

one—cannot be reconstructed.” CORBIN ON CONTRACTS

§1.12, P.33, Revised Edition West Pub. 1993 (emphasis

added).

That fact that a contract can be made, even though

the offer remains unidentifiable, highlights a serious

defect in the Group One test. Situations will arise

where an inventor and a purchaser have made a

contract for the purchase of a new product, but the

date of the offer for sale — if there was one — cannot be

reconstructed from the evidence. In such

circumstances, the Group One test utterly collapses.

The Group One test also undermines the interest of

having national uniformity in the application of patent

law, which the Federal Circuit hoped to promote. See

Group One, 254 F.3d at 1047 (noting the importance of

having a uniform national rule regarding the on-sale

bar). The post-remand discovery in this case is filled

25

with evidence regarding intricacies of contract

formation that are peculiar to the automotive industry.

(App. 52a-69a.) Both remands by the Federal Circuit

in this case recognize that industry custom and

practice inevitably influence how industry participants

perceive communications, and thus impact whether a

communication can reasonably be perceived as a

binding offer for sale. Presumably, many other

industries also have their own unique modes of

communication and their own idiosyncratic standards

and customs regarding contract formation. In such

industries, application of the Group One test will

require litigants and courts to delve deeply into these

peculiarities every time the on-sale bar is an issue.

This is neither likely to create a definitive body of law

that is easy for the courts to apply, nor is it likely to

give clear guidance to inventors hoping to understand

when they must file their patent applications.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the petition for a writ

of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Barris, Sott, Denn & Driker, P.L.L.C.

By: Stephen E. Glazek, Esq. (P23186)

Counsel of Record

Josh J. Moss, Esq. (P64406)

211 West Fort Street, 15th Floor

Detroit, Michigan 48226

(313) 965-9725

Attorneys for Petitioner Hayes

Lemmerz International, Inc.

26

MacMILLAN, SOBANSKI & TODD, L.L.C.

By: Mark Sobanski

720 Water St., 5" Floor

Toledo, OH 43604

(419) 255-5900

Co-Counsel for Petitioner Hayes

Lemmerz International, Inc.

BUTZEL LONG

By: J. Michael Huget (P39150)

John C. Blattner (P52745)

350 S. Main, Ste. 300

Ann Arbor, MI 48104

(734) 995-3110

Attorneys for Petitioner McKechnie

Vehicle Components USA, Inc.

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

NOTE: This disposition is nonprecedential.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 2008-1167

[Filed November 21, 2008] |

LACKS INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

be

MCKECHNIE VEHICLE COMPONENTS

USA, INC. (doing business as Thompson

International),

Defendant-Appellee,

and

HAYES WHEEL INTERNATIONAL, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

Before MICHEL, Chiet Judge, CLEVENGER and

MOORE, Circuit Judges.

2a

MICHEL, Chief Judge.

Plaintiff-Appellant Lacks Industries, Inc. (“Lacks”)

appeals from the grant of summary judgment of

invalidity in favor of Defendants-Appellees McKechnie

Vehicle Components USA, Inc. and Hayes Wheel

International, Inc. (collectively, “Defendants”), and the

denial of Lacks’ motion for summary judgment on

validity. See Order, Lacks Indus., Inc. v. McKechnie

Vehicle Components USA, Inc., No. 96-75692

(E.D.Mich. Nov. 20, 2007) (“Summary Judgment

Order”). The district court held that claims 11-13,

20-22, and 24-25 (“the Remaining Claims”) of United

States Patent No. 5,597,213 (“the ‘213 patent”) were

invalid under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b) due to Lacks’ alleged

pre-critical date on-sale activities. We heard oral

argument on November 6, 2008. We affirm the district

court’s denial of Lacks’ motion for summary judgment

as we find no abuse of discretion. However, because we

conclude that there remain genuine issues of material

facts, the district court’s grant of Defendants’ motion

for summary judgment is reversed, and the case is

remanded.

I. BACKGROUND

Lacks commenced a multi-patent infringement

action against Defendants in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan on

December 18, 1996. In this appeal, the only patent left

is the ‘213 patent. The claims at issue, the Remaining

Claims, all relate to methods for assembling an overlay

to a wheel.

This is our second review of the protracted

litigation. In the first round, a special master found

3a

after a bench trial that Defendants infringed the

Remaining Claims but that the same claims were

invalid under § 102(b) as a result of Lacks’ pre-critical

date commercial activities. The Special Master found

that none of Lacks’ activities was a commercial offer

for sale as defined by contract law. However, he

concluded that under the totality of the circumstances,

there was a definite offer. The district court adopted

the Special Master’s findings and conclusions.

On appeal and cross-appeal to this court, we

affirmed the finding of infringement but vacated the

invalidity decision. Lacks Indus., Inc. v. McKechnie

Vehicle Components USA, Inc., 322 F.3d 1335 (Fed.

Cir. 2003). We concluded that the Special Master erred

by applying an outdated legal standard that was

superseded by Group One, Ltd. v. Hallmark Cards, 254

F.3d 1041, 1048 (Fed. Cir. 2001), a decision handed

down after the Special Master issued his findings and

conclusions. Lacks Indus., 322 F.3d at 1347. We

remanded the case with the instruction that “the

district court (or Special Master) should resolve

whether or not it needs to take additional evidence on

sales practice in the automotive industry to determine

if the sales promotion activities by Lacks rise to a

contractual offer for sale (and, of course, take such

evidence if necessary).” Id. at 1351.

On remand, the Special Master determined that

additional evidence regarding sales practice in the

automotive industry was indeed warranted and that

further discovery was also warranted to explore “what

subsequently occurred in ... [Lacks’] sales promotional

activities that [were] already of record.” After

extensive discovery, the parties filed cross-motions for

summary judgment on the issue of whether the

4a

Remaining Claims were invalid under § 102(b) because

of Lacks’ alleged on-sale activities. The Special Master

found that five pre-critical date documents constituted

commercial offers for sale, as defined in Group One.

The district court adopted the Special Master’s Report

and Recommendation in its entirety, denied Lacks’

motion for summary judgment on validity, and entered

summary judgment of invalidity in favor of

Defendants.

Lacks timely appealed. We have jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1).

II. DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

We review a district court’s grant of summary

judgment de novo. Ethicon EndoSurgery, Inc. v. U.S.

Surgical Corp., 149 F.3d 1309, 1315 (Fed. Cir. 1998).

By contrast, we give considerable deference to the trial

court, and “will not disturb a trial court’s denial of

summary judgment unless we find that the court has

indeed abused its discretion.” Little Six, Inc. v. United

States, 280 F.3d 1371, 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (citation

and quotation omitted).

Summary judgment is appropriate when no

genuine issue as to any material fact has been shown

by the non-movant’s evidence and the moving party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(c). Thus, summary judgment may be granted when

no “reasonable jury could return a verdict for the

nonmoving party.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). In deciding whether

summary judgment is appropriate, we view the

5a

evidence in a light most favorable to the opposing

party and resolve doubts in its favor. Ethicon, 149 F.3d

at 1315. This means all reasonable inferences must be

drawn in the non-movant’s favor. At the same time, “in

ruling on a motion for summary judgment, the judge

must view the evidence presented through the prism

of the substantive evidentiary burden.” Anderson, 477

U.S. at 254.

B. Analysis

The district court adopted the Special Master’s

findings and conclusions that five documents

constituted pre-critical date commercial offers for sale

under § 102(b) and that, all of the Remaining Claims

were invalid. The parties dispute: (1) whether any of

the documents rises to the level of a commercial offer

under the Group One standard; (2) whether some of

the documents were communicated to the alleged

offerees prior to the critical date; and (3) whether the

subject matter of any of the alleged offers correlates to

the methods of the Remaining Claims.

To prevail on an on-sale bar defense, an accused

infringer must demonstrate by clear and convincing

evidence that there was a definite sale or offer for sale

of the claimed invention prior to the critical date.

Linear Tech. Corp. v. Micrel, Inc., 275 F.3d 1040, 1047

(Fed. Cir. 2001) (citation and quotation marks

omitted). “Only an offer which rises to the level of a

commercial offer for sale, one which the other party

could make into a binding contract by simple

acceptance (assuming consideration), constitutes an

offer for sale under § 102(b).” Group One, 254 F.3d at

1048. In addition, to satisfy the on-sale bar, the subject

matter of the sale or offer for sale must satisfy each

6a

limitation of the claim, though it may do so inherently.

Scaltech, Inc. v. Retec/Tetra, L.L.C., 269 F.3d 1321,

1329 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Inherency, however, may not be

established merely by probabilities or possibilities. Id.

1. The Correlation Between the Alleged Offers and

the Methods of the Remaining Claims

Lacks argues that the five documents cannot

invalidate the Remaining Claims under the on-sale bar

because they “do not unambiguously require practice

of any of the methods of the Remaining Claims.” The

Special Master rejected Lacks’ argument on three

grounds: the law of the case, waiver, and the absence

of affirmative evidence. We address each in turn.

First, the Special Master noted that in the prior

round of litigation, he had found that.“the assembly

method that Lacks was offering to perform

coincided with the subject matter of the Remaining

Claims.” Acknowledging that we vacated and

remanded the invalidity ruling, the Special Master

nevertheless explained that “[nJothing is described as

vacated except the ‘finding of invalidity.” He stated

that his “earlier reliance on a later superseded legal

standard to reach the ultimate conclusion of invalidity

did not taint the underlying findings concerning such

issues as ... the correlation between the assembly

method that Lacks was attempting to commercialize

and the method covered by the Remaining Claims.”

Therefore, the Special Master concluded that his

factual conclusions on the correlation issue “survived

the Federal Circuit’s decision and are part of the

mandate” and “constitute the law of the case.” We

disagree.

7a

The doctrine of law of the case generally bars

retrial of issues that were previously resolved on

appeal, assuming one was taken. Intergraph Corp. \v.

Intel Corp., 253 F.3d 695, 697 (Fed. Cir. 2001). Issues

not decided by the reviewing court in a prior

proceeding are not covered by the law of the case

doctrine. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 473 F.3d

1213, 1218 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citation and quotation

omitted). In addition, courts may depart from the law

of the case under certain circumstances, including the

discovery of new and different material evidence that

was not presented in the prior litigation, or an

intervening change of controlling legal authority, or

when the prior decision is clearly incorrect and its

preservation would work a manifest injustice. Id. at

698.

In the last appeal, we did not decide the correlation

issue. We first note that the Special Master’s findings

on correlation in the first round of litigation is

insufficient as it includes only general conclusions, and

no claim-by-claim and_ limitation-by-limitation

analysis, as we show later in this opinion. More

importantly, the five documents now at issue were not

even part of the record then. We faced no factual

findings by the Special Master on the correlation issue

regarding these newly-discovered documents. Thus, we

could not have affirmed, explicitly or implicitly, any

factual finding not in existence at the time of the last

appeal. The five specific documents were only

discovered post-remand and then’ used for

determination of the commercial offer for sale under

the new Group One standard. They are substantially

different from the evidence gathered and adjudicated

under the prior, totality-of-cireumstances standard.

8a

Therefore, law of the case does not settle the

correlation issue.

Similarly, in the last appeal, Lacks could not have

challenged the correlation issue regarding these

specific documents because they were not a part of the

record. Accordingly, Lacks did not waive its

no-correlation argument with respect to these five

documents.

Lastly, the Special Master faulted Lacks for “not

com(ing] forward with any affirmative evidence that

the offered assembly method was other than the

patented method.” Here again, the Special Master

erred. As we have previously stated, “lal nonmovant

need not always provide affidavits or other evidence to

defeat a summary judgment motion. If, for example,

the movant bears the burden and its motion fails to

_ satisfy that burden, the non-movant is not required to

come forward with opposing evidence.” Zenith Elecs.

Corp. v. PDI Comme’n Sys., 522 F.3d 1348, 1363 (Fed.

Cir. 2008).

In this case, Defendants, having the ultimate

burden of proving invalidity by clear and convincing

evidence, also have the initial burden of going forward

with evidence to support their allegation that there is

at ieast one such offer for sale that corresponds to the

methods of Remaining Claims. On appeal, Defendants

point to their Reply Briefin support of their motion for

summary judgment. They argue that “the record

includes a veritable mountain of case-by-case evidence

that the process offered by Lacks in each of the Five

Offers did indeed correspond to the invention of the

Remaining Claims.” They assert that “[t]his evidence

Ya

constitutes a powerful prima facie showing” on the

correlation issue.

However, the portion of the Reply Brief that

Defendants cite contains only vague, general

statements. We discern neither claim-by-claim nor

limitation-by-limitation analysis of whether the

subject matter of any of the five alleged offers

corresponds to the methods of any of the Remaining

Claims.’ For example, Defendants assert that during

the pre-critical date period, “Lacks focused exclusively

on the invention of the Remaining Claims as the

means for attaching a ‘closely-conforming’ cladding to

a wheel.” We first observe that during the same time

period, Lacks filed several other patent applications

covering different methods for assembling an overlay

to a wheel. Indeed, the ‘213 patent itself includes

several other assembly methods. Such objective

evidence appears to be in direct contradiction with

Defendants’ assertion. At the very least, under the

appropriate legal standard for summary judgment,

when the evidence is viewed in a light most favorable

to Lacks, we cannot conclude that the subject matter

of any document satisfies each and every claim

limitation of any of the Remaining Claims. See

Scaltech, 269 F.3d at 1329.

' Under the patent statute, the validity of each claim must be

considered separately. See 35 U.S.C. § 282 (“Each claim of a

patent (whether in independent, dependent, or multiple

dependent form) shall be presumed valid independently of the

validity of other claims... .”). The district court, in adopting the

Special Master’s findings, erred in only considering a single claim

in the analysis.

10a

Because Defendants did not meet their initial

burden to support their allegation “that the process

offered by Lacks in each of the Five Offers did indeed

correspond to the invention of the Remaining Claims,”

the district court erred in adopting the Special

Master’s findings on the correlation issue and in

granting summary judgment of invalidity in

Defendants’ favor.

2. The Pre-Critical Date Offers for Sale

With respect to the pre-critical date offers, we hold

that genuine issues of material fact exist as to whether

any of the five documents in dispute rises to the level

of a commercial offer or whether some of the alleged

offerers were communicated to the offerees prior to the

critical date. Therefore, the grant of summary

judgment of invalidity in Defendants’ favor was

inappropriate for this reason as well.

For example, the Special Master concluded that “in

accordance with the course of dealing and usage of

trade in the automobile industry,” all five documents

satisfied the Group One test for a commercial offer. It

is true that when we remanded the case, we instructed

that the district court should consider the sales

practice in the automobile industry to determine if any

of Lacks’ documents of its sales activities rises to a

contractual offer for sale. Lacks Indus., 322 F.3d at

1351. On remand, Defendants’ experts submitted that

in the automobile industry, an OEM, such as Chrysler,

would often accept a supplier’s initial quote, such as a

SCORE proposal, subject to possible future revision.

However, Lacks’ witnesses testified that the purpose

of submitting a SCORE proposal! was “first to garnish

lif Chrysler is] even interested and then [if the

lla

proposal is] even valid... .” When viewing this record

in a light most favorable to Lacks and resolving doubts

in favor of Lacks, we cannot conclude that Defendants

have established an automobile industry practice by

clear and convincing evidence such that a reasonable

fact-finder could not decide in Lacks’ favor.

Similarly, one alleged offeree testified that there

was no reason for him to think that he received a

Lacks’ internal memorandum, an alleged offer, after

the critical date. However, he also stated that because

it had been so many years, his memory was very

vague.” Another alleged offeree testified that he did

not believe that another Lacks’ internal memorandum,

also an alleged offer, was ever given to him by Lacks.

We conclude, based on such evidence, especially when

viewed in a light most favorable to Lacks, that there

are genuine issues as to material facts regarding if and

when the documents at issue were communicated to

the alleged offerees. Because a reasonable fact finder

could find that there is no clear and convincing

evidence that these documents were communicated to

* At oral argument, our attention was brought to the witness’s

testimony stating that “there’s no reason for me to think it was

after [the critical date,} 1 guess. I guess that’s awful[ly] vague. It’s

been so many years.” When asked whether he considered this to

be clear and convincing evidence, Defendants’ counsel answered

“Yes!” We are aware of counsel’s zealousness in representing the

clients. We are also mindful that this litigation has been drawn

out for much too long. Still, we are hardpressed to equate

“awful[ly) vague” speculation to clear and convincing evidence. It

is our opinion that, an effective advocate would better serve the

clients’ interests, and become a more trustworthy officer of the

court, by using sound judgment to deal with less favorable facts,

not by asserting questionable statements, even when under

pressure.

12a

the alleged offeree prior to the critical date and

therefore, could return a verdict for Lacks, summary

judgment of invalidity in favor of Defendants is

inappropriate.

Lacks asserts that the district court incorrectly

denied its motion for summary judgment on validity.

However, the trial court has discretion to deny a

motion for summary judgment. Lacks does not argue,

and we do not find, any abuse of discretion. Therefore,

the district court’s denial of Lacks’ motion for

summary judgment is affirmed.

III.

In sum, we affirm in part, reverse in part, and

remand. We affirm the district court’s denial of motion

for summary judgment to Lacks on validity. We

reverse and remand the district court’s grant to

Defendants summary judgment of invalidity. On

remand, the district court should decide whether

Defendants’ can establish by clear and convincing

evidence: (1) that any of the five documents at issue

rises to the level of a commercial offer for sale under

the Group One standard; (2) if so, that the same

document was communicated to an offeree prior to the

critical date; and (3) that the subject matter of the

document satisfies each and every claim limitation of

any of the Remaining Claims. We assume that the

district court (or the Special Master) will apply the

correct legal standard in the further proceedings

consistent with this opinion. If it does not find the

Remaining Claims invalid, the court must then

determine the extent of the damages Lacks suffered as

a result of the infringement of the Remaining Claims

by Defendants.

l3a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

No. 96-75692

[Filed November 20, 2007]

LACKS INDUSTRIES, INC., a Michigan

Corporation,

Plaintiff,

-vVS-

McKECHNIE VEHICLE COMPONENTS

USA, Inc., dba THOMPSON INTERNATIONAL,

a Delaware Corporation, and HAYES

WHEEL INTERNATIONAL, INC., a Delaware

Corporation,

Defendants

el ll

Hon. John Feikens

Richard D. Grauer, Special Master

l4a

ORDER ON CROSS-MOTIONS

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Before the Court are the parties’ cross-motions for

summary judgment on the dispositive issue of whether

the Remaining Claims (claims 11-13, 20-22 and 24-25)

of U.S. Patent No. 5,597,213 are invalid under 35

U.S.C.§102(b) because of alleged on-sale activities of

Plaintiff Lacks Industries, Inc.

Pursuant to a series of Orders of Appointment,

including this Court’s Second Amended Order of

Appointment of Special Master, dated December 13,

2006, these motions were referred to Special Master

Richard D. Grauer. The Master's Report and

Recommendation, dated August 15, 2007,

recommended that Defendants’ motion for summary

judgment of invalidity of the Remaining Claims be

granted, and that Plaintiffs motion for summary

judgment that the Remaining Claims are valid and

intringed be denied. Plaintiff filed its written

Objections to the Report and Recommendation, and

Defendants subsequently filed their Joint Response to

such Objections.

The Court has considered the Report and

Recommendation, as well as Plaintiffs Objections and

Defendants’ Joint Response. Paragraph 8 of the Second

Amended Order of Appointment directed that the

Special Master’s findings of fact will be final, as

permitted by Rule 53(g)(3)B), Fed. R. Civ. P. The

parties did not object to that procedure. Upon due

consideration, the Court adopts the findings of fact

contained within the August 15, 2007 Report and

Recommendation.

15a

Aided by Plaintiffs Objections and Defendants’

Joint Response, and as required by Rule 53(g)(4), the

Court has considered de novo the Special Master’s

recommended conclusions of law. The Court finds

Plaintiffs objections thereto to be without merit, and

therefore adopts those recommended conclusions of

law.

The Court has also noted the Master’s “Additional

Considerations” (pp. 78-83 of the Report and

Recommendation), and_ specifically endorses the

analysis and conclusions presented therein.

Accordingly, THE COURT HEREBY ADOPTS the

Special Master’s Report and Recommendation of

August 15, 2007, and ITIS HEREBY ORDERED that:

1. Defendants’ Joint Motion for Summary

Judgment that the Remaining Claims U.S. Patent No.

5,597,213 are invalid is GRANTED; and

2. Plaintiffs Motion for Summary Judgment that

such claims are valid and infringed by Defendants is

DENIED.

s/John Feikens

John Feikens

United States District Judge

Dated: 11/20/2007

16a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

No. 96-75692

[Filed November 20, 2007]

LACKS INDUSTRIES, INC., a Michigan

Corporation,

Plaintiff,

-VS-

McKECHNIE VEHICLE COMPONENTS

USA, Inc., dba THOMPSON INTERNATIONAL,

a Delaware Corporation, and HAYES

WHEEL INTERNATIONAL, INC., a Delaware

Corporation,

Defendants

Ne eee ee Se”

Hon. John Feikens

Richard D. Grauer, Special Master

FINAL JUDGMENT

The Special Master’s Report and Recommendation

of August 15, 2007 in the above-captioned matter

having been considered by the Court, along with

Plaintiffs Objections and Defendants’ Joint Response,

and the Court having adopted the Report and

Recommendation and granted Defendants’ Joint

17a

Motion for Summary Judgment by a separate Order of

this date:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that:

1. Final judgment is entered in favor of

Defendants on all of Plaintiff's claims, and Plaintiffs

claims are dismissed with prejudice;

2. The Remaining Claims (claims 11-13, 20-22 and

24-25) of U.S. Patent No. 5,597,213 are invalid under

35 U.S.C.§102(b); and

3. Costs shall be allowed to Defendants and taxed

against Plaintiff.

s/John Feikens

John Feikens

United States District Judge

Dated: 11/20/2007

18a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

No. 96-75692

[Filed August 15, 2007]

LACKS INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Plaintiff,

Ve

McKECHNIE VEHICLE COMPONENTS

USA, INC., d/b/a THOMPSON INTERNATIONAL;

HAYES WHEEL INTERNATIONAL, INC.; and

HAYES WHEELS INTERNATIONAL-

MICHIGAN, INC.

Defendants

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Hon. John Feikens

Richard D. Grauer, Special Master

Special Master’s Report And Recommendation

On Cross-Motions For Summary Judgment

Concerning Patent Invalidity Defense

Based On Alleged On-Sale

19a

I. Background

Before the Court are the parties’ cross-motions

concerning the one remaining defense in this patent

infringement lawsuit, namely, whether certain claims

of U.S. Patent No. 5,597,213 (“the ‘213 Patent) are

invalid under 35 U.S.C. §102(b) by virtue of an alleged

on-sale of the claimed invention by patent-owner Lacks

Industries (“Lacks”). Specifically, the invalidity

defense concerns claims 11-13, 20-22 and 24-25 (“the

Remaining Claims”) that remained after an earlier

summary adjudication of the other originally asserted

claims.

An understanding of the several legal and factual

issues addressed here requires familiarity with the

procedural history of this long-pending lawsuit. By

“Stipulation and Order Regarding Appointment of

Special Master,” dated February 15, 2000, the Special

Master was directed to “make all factual findings and

legal conclusions necessary to determine” whether the

method used to assemble Defendants’ accused products

infringed the Remaining Claims of the ‘213 patent, and

whether such claims are invalid under 35

U.S.C.§102(b) because of either Lacks’ own “on sale”

activities or Defendants’ “on sale” or public use

activities more than one year before the filing date of

the ‘213 Patent.

Following a five-day bench trial of the liability

phase in June, 2000, the Special Master found that (1)

Defendants iiad literally infringed all of the Remaining

Claims of the ‘213 Patent; (2) the Remaining Claims

were not invalid as a result of any prior offer for sale

or public use by Defendants; but (3) the Remaining

Claims were invalid as a result of Lacks’ own

20a

pre-critical date “on sale” activities in violation of

Section 102(b). After a hearing on the parties’

respective objections, and amendments by the Special

Master to his original Report and Recommendation

(hereafter, “Amended Liability R & R”), the District

Court adopted the Special Master’s amended findings

and conclusions of April 17, 2001 in their entirety, and

entered judgment against Lacks on April 23, 2001.

On appeal and cross-appeal to the Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit, the Court, inter alia, affirmed

the District Court’s finding of literal infringement of

the Remaining Claims of the ‘213 Patent and the

finding that those claims had not been proven invalid

as a result of the pre-critical date public use or on-sale

activities of the Defendants.’ With respect to the

finding that Lacks’ own on-sale activities violated

Section 102(b), the Court concluded that the Special

Master and District Court erred by applying an

outdated legal standard’ that had been superseded by

the Federal Circuit’s later decision in Group One,

Limited v. Hallmark Cards, 254 F.3d 1041, 1048 (Fed.

Cir. 2001). The Federal Circuit's Group One decision,

in turn, was based upon its interpretation of the 1998

U.S. Supreme Court decision in Pfaff v. Wells

' Lacks Industries, Inc. v. McKechnie Vehicle Components USA,

Inc. et al, 322 F.3d 1335, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2003).

?In RCA Corp. v. Data Gen. Corp., the Court had held that “[t}he

requirement of a definite offer excludes merely indefinite or

nebulous discussion about a possible sale .... [T]he requirement

may be met by a patentee’s commercial activity which does not

rise to the level of a formal ‘offer’ under contract law principles

....” 887 F.2d 1056, 1062 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (emphasis in original).

2la

Electronics, Inc., 525 U.S. 55, which held in pertinent

part:

We conclude, therefore, that the on-sale bar

applies when two conditions are satisfied before

the critical date. First, the product must be the

subject of a commercial offer for sale. An

inventor can both understand and control the

first commercial marketing of his invention. The

experimental use doctrine, for examplc, has not

generated concerns uncertainty should attend a

rule that measures the application of the on--

sale bar of Section 102(b) against the date when

an invention that is ready for patenting is first

marketed commercially... .

Second, the invention must be ready for

patenting. ...

Id. at 67 (emphasis added).

The first condition or prong of Pfaffs two-part test

is the one that the Federal Circuit further defined in

Group One, as follows: “(O|nly an offer which rises to

the level of a commercial offer for sale, one which the

other party could make into a binding contract by

simple acceptance (assuming consideration),

constitutes an offer for sale under §102(b).” 254 F.3d at

1048.

In view of that intervening re-definition of what

constituted an invalidating on sale, the Federal Circuit

vacated the District Court’s conclusion that Lacks’ own

on-sale activities violated Section 102(b) and remanded

this case, as follows:

22a

Finally, we vacate and remand the court’s

adoption of the Special Master’s finding that

claims 11-13, 20-22 and 24-25 of the ‘213 patent

were invalid as a result of Lacks’ pre-critical

date commercial activities because he applied

an outdated lega) standard. On remand, the

district court (or Special Master) should resolve

whether or not it needs to take additional

evidence on sales practice in the automotive

industry to determine if the sales promotion

activities by Lacks rise to a contractual offer for

sale (and, of course, take such evidence if

necessary).

322 F.3d 1335, 1351 (emphasis added).

Also pertinent to the scope of the Mandate are the

following additional comments by the Federal Circuit:

According to the defendants, Lacks’ activities

amounted to a contractual offer for sale because

‘that is how business is done in the automotive

industry.’ We, however, cannot so conclude as a

matter of law on the record before us. Although

it contains some evidence about how sales are

made in the automotive industry, we cannot tell

what the fact-finder would have found had he

applied the correct legal standard. In fact, the

only evidence of industry practice defendants

point out to us on appeal is their unsupported

description of their own sales experience with

Ford. As a result, we vacate the Special

Master’s finding of invalidity and remand for

further consideration. On remand, the district

court (or Special Master) may need to take

additional evidence on the practice in the

23a

industry to determine if the activities by Lacks

rise to an offer for sale under the UCC. It may

also be possible to make new fact-findings based

on the existing record. We leave this

determination to the court’s sound discretion.

322 F.3d at 1348 (emphasis added).

With respect to the “ready for patenting” second

prong of Pfaff, the District Court had earlier found

that the invention of the Remaining Claims was ready

for patenting in May, 1992. 55 F. Supp. 2d 702, 734

(E.D. Mich. 1999). Additional evidence and findings in

the Special Master’s Amended Liability R & R were

consistent with that finding. The parties now dispute

whether the earlier rulings concerning the second

prong, as well as those still relevant to the first prong

of Pfaff, are governed by the law of the case. That issue

is addressed in a separate Section IIJ-C below.

II. Discussion

A. Relevant Contract Law Principles

The Federal Circuit’s earlier 2001 Group One

decision stated that the existence of an offer for sale

should be analyzed “under the law of contracts as

generally understood,” and, consistent with the

present mandate, also noted that “[aJs a general

proposition, we will look to the Uniform Commercial

Code (‘UCC’) to define whether, as in this case, a

communication or series of communications rises to

the level of a commercial offer for sale.” 254 F.3d at

1047.

24a

But as the Federal Circuit noted shortly thereafter,

“(t]he UCC does not define ‘offer,’ so we will look to the

common law to guide our inquiry.” Linear Technology

Corp. v. Micrel, Inc., 275 F.3d 1040, 1050 (Fed. Cir.

2001). Further noting that the UCC is a model code

that has been adopted in different versions by the

states, the Court determined that it “will search [the

body of state and federal decisions] for the common

denominator for assistance in crafting the federal

common law of contract that now governs the on-sale

bar.” Id. at 1048. See also, Group One, supra, 254 F.3d

at 1047.

The relevance of the UCC to the present case is also

limited by the fact that it applies to the sale of goods,

not methods or services. The UCC provides that

“(ujnless the context otherwise requires, this Article

[Article 2 — Sales] applies to transactions in goods”

(§2-102, emphasis added). “Goods,” in turn, are defined

in pertinent part as “all things (including specially

manufactured goods) which are movable at the time of

identification to the contract for sale other than the

money in which the price is to be paid, investment

securities (Article 8) and things in action’ (§2-105(1)).

The present issue concerns whether the method of the

Remaining Claims was the subject of a commercial

offer for sale. A method is the performance of a series

of steps, and therefore is in the nature of a service, not

goods. While an offer to sell a product (here, a cladded

wheel) that was assembled in accordance with that

method would be one way to establish an offer to sell

the method, that is not the only way such an offer may

be proven. This question of the necessary elements of

an on-sale of a patented method is further discussed in

Section II-B, infra.

25a

In Group One, the Federal Circuit held that a

qualifying offer under 35 U.S.C.§102(b) is one “which

the other party could make into a binding contract by

simple acceptance (assuming consideration).” 254 F.3d

at 1048. In Linear Technology, the Court quoted from

Restatement (Second) Contracts, §24 (1981), which

defines an offer as “the manifestation of willingness to

enter into a bargain, so made as to justify another

person in understanding that his assent to that

bargain is invited and will conclude it.” 275 F.3d at

1050. However, as stated in §26, also cited by the

Court: “manifestation of willingness to enter into a

bargain is not an offer if the person to whom it is

addressed knows or has reason to know that the

person making it does not intend to conclude the

bargain until he has made a further manifestation of

assent.”

Williston, another noted secondary authority,

states that:

“The only gencral test for determining in any

particular case whether an offer exists is to ask

whether the facts show that some performance

was promised in positive terms in return for

something requested by the person making the

promise, and asking whether the person to

whom the manifestation is made might

reasonably have supposed that by acting in

accordance with it a contract could be

concluded.”

Richard A. Lord, WILLISTON ON CONTRACTS §4.7,

at 296-97 (4'" ed. 1990).

26a

To determine whether a communication is an offer,

Corbin states that the court tries to determine “the

meaning given to the words and actions” by the

speaker and by the person to whom they were

communicated. Joseph M. Perillo, CORBIN ON

CONTRACTS §2.2, at 107 (Rev. ed. 1993). Continuing,

Corbin observes that:

Id.

Fisher-Price, Inc. v. Safety 1, Inc., 2004 U.S. App.

“Factors to consider include the ordinary

meaning of the language; the context of any

prior communications between the parties;

whether the communication was private or to

the general public; any previous course of

dealings between the parties; local usage or

usage of the trade; the relative completeness of

the terms (the more complete, the more likely it

is an offer); the subject matter of the offer; and

whether it is foreseeable that the recipient

would rely upon it.”

at 109-10.

Finally, in 2004, the Federal Circuit noted:

“In sum, whether or not the alleged offer in this

case rose to the level of a commercial offer for

sale is a factual question to be judged in view of

the circumstances surrounding its making,

taking into account such factors as the status of

negotiations, the language of the documents,

the terms of any previous inquiry, and the prior

course of dealings between the parties

lsecondary source citations omitted].”

LEXIS 17110, **10 (emphasis added).

27a

Notwithstanding the Federal Circuit’s direction

that inquiry is to be made into the “circumstances

surrounding {the alleged offer’s] making,” Lacks

accuses Defendants of trying to resurrect the “totality

of circumstances” analysis that was rejected in Group

One and Pfaff. But that very analysis is clearly what

the Federal Circuit has endorsed and directed. The

Federal Circuit’s mandate in the present case directs

the District Court to examine, and possibly take

additional evidence on, the “sales practice in the

automotive industry.” 322 F.3d at 1351. See also, Id. at

1348. Sales practices are comprised of a series of

customary actions and circumstances. Furthermore,

the fact that Pfaff replaced the “totality of

circumstances” on-sale bar analysis with the

two-prong test, requiring (1) a commercial offer for

sale and (2) the invention be ready for patenting, does

not ipso facto prohibit reliance upon those surrounding

circumstances that both judicial and secondary

authorities generally apply to the inquiry required by

the “commercial offer” prong. Lacks errs in conflating

these two distinct uses of the “circumstances”

phraseology. In Group One, Linear, Lacks and

Fisher-Price, the Federal Circuit has defined the

Supreme Court’s “commercial offer of sale” prong in a

way that compels and fully justifies Defendants’

detailed presentation of a circumstance-based analysis

of the issue.

Although the UCC does not directly apply to the

present issue of an on-sale of a method, the

UCC-defined terms, “course of dealing” and “usage of

trade” may still be useful in the mandated inquiry into

“sales practice in the automotive industry.” Under

UCC §1-303(b), a “course of dealing is a sequence of

conduct concerning previous transactions between the

28a

parties to a particular transaction that is fairly to be

regarded as establishing a common basis of

understanding for interpreting their expressions and

other conduct” (emphasis added). Section 1-303(c)

provides in pertinent part that a “usage of trade is any

practice or method of dealing having such regularity of

observance in a place, vocation or trade as to justify an

expectation that it will be observed with respect to the

transaction in question. The existence and scope of

such a usage must be proved as facts” (emphasis

added)’ Sub-section (d) further states that these terms,

along with “course of performance’ (?.e., conduct under

or after an agreement), “are relevant in ascertaining

the meaning of the parties’ agreement, may give

particular meaning to specific terms of the agreement,

and may supplement or qualify the terms of an

agreement.” Finally, sub-section (e) provides that if it

is not reasonable to construe these concepts consistent

with each other, then express terms (of an agreement)

prevail over course of performance, course of dealing,

and usage of trade; course of performance prevails over

course of dealing and usage of trade; and course of

dealing prevails over usage of trade.

Of these UCC-defined terms, “course of dealing”

and “usage of trade” appear to offer the most guidance

to the present facts and issues.

° These sections were found in Section 1-205 (“course of dealing”

has been slightly amended), as cited by the parties in their

pleadings on the present motion. The amendments appear in text

bearing “Copyright 2004, by The American Law Institute and

National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws.”

The draft of these revisions was dated December 31, 2001.

29a

Lacks stresses that, both at common law and under

the UCC, course of dealing and usage of trade may be

used to explain ambiguities in an agreement or to add

missing terms, but cannot be used create an

agreement where none previously existed. Defendants

agree. Consistent with the definition of “course of

dealing,” Defendants contend that sales practices in

the automotive industry can be used to establish a

“common basis of understanding for interpreting their

expressions and other conduct,” whereby a particular

communication would reasonably have _ been

interpreted as an offer, consistent with the Restatement

definition cited in Linear Technology. Lacks does not

disagree with that general proposition. Rather, it

contends that Defendants are improperly attempting

to use industry practice, whether in the form of a

course of dealing or usage of trade, to supply the

missing manifestation of intent to make an offer that

the other party could reasonably believe would

conclude the bargain if accepted. As will be discussed

further below, industry practices in the automotive

industry are characterized by a sequence of steps and

relatively informal documentation that precede

issuance of the type of formal documentation and

purchase orders typically found in conventional

commercial transactions in other industries, but yet

may be accepted and treated by industry members as

potentially binding.

The test defined by Group One is whether the offer

in question is one “which the other party could make

into a_ binding contract by simple acceptance

(assuming consideration)” (emphasis added). It is not

*UCC §1-303b, supra.

30a

whether a given offerce would accept the offer. An

offeree might reject an offer form many reasons, é.g.,

unfavorable terms, lack of need for the product or

service, or poor reputation of the offeror or the offered

product or service. Or, as will be shown below in the

case of the automotive industry, the offeree/OEM may

have substantial interest in the offered product or

service, and find the offered terms acceptable, but

nevertheless consider acceptance premature because

of the offeree/OEM’s need to conduct its own approval

testing or further development; or because numerous

revisions in the product design after the OEM has

selected a particular supplier (“sourced” the product)

would otherwise require costly issuance of revised

purchased orders following each part design change; or

because specific purchasing procedures may mandate

that the OEM’s purchase order (generated many

months or even years later) be treated as the formal

“offer.”

Under that course of dealing and usage of trade,

both parties have “a common basis of understanding”

that the initial quotation or offer would not be

accepted until much later, and only then after

formalized procedures and paperwork were completed.

But in the meanwhile, the offeree’s actions (such as

joint development work) may signal (7.e., generate the

“expectation”) that there is a deal. As with any

contract, it may be subject to modification as the

development project proceeds, or even total

cancellation if the OEM cancels the project. But under

contract law, the early offer would have been binding

if it had been accepted.

Nothing in Group One suggests to the Special

Master that inquiry into these offeree/OEM

3la

motivations or restraints is or should be material to

the disposition of an on sale bar issue under the

controlling patent law. Rather, the test appears to be:

would the offer be binding on the offeror/supplier if it

were acceptec by the OEM, not would the offer

conceivably have been accepted at that early point in

the typical pre-production sequence of steps.

B. Commercial Offer of Method Claims

The Remaining Claims are method claims, each

directed to a series of steps for assembling an overlay

or cladding to a wheel. For present purposes, claim 11

of the ‘213 Patent is representative:

11. A method for assembling an overlay to a

wheel having a disk portion and a rim portion

circumscribing said disk portion, said disk and

rim portions defining an outboard surface of

said wheel, said method comprising the steps of:

forming said overlay to have an inboard

surface configured to face said outboard surface

of said wheel upon assembling said overlay to

said wheel, said overlay being configured so as

to form a gap between said inboard and

outboard surfaces upon assembling said overlay

to said wheel;

selectively depositing a curable adhesive on

at least one of said inboard and outboard

surfaces such that said curable adhesive is

between said overlay and said wheel upon

assembling said overlay with said wheel, said

curable adhesive being deposited in an amount

that is insufficient to entirely fill said gap; and

32a

assembling said overlay to said outboard

surface of said wheel with said curable adhesive

so as to form said gap and permanently secure

said overlay to said wheel, at least one void

being present between said overlay and said

outboard surface of said wheel.

The parties disagree on what must be shown to

establish a commercial offer of an invention that is a

method, rather than a physical product.

Lacks relies upon Jn re Kollar, 286 F.3d 1326 (Fed.

Cir. 2002), for the proposition that Defendants must

establish that an offer was made to sell a product in

which the claimed method had actually been practiced

or performed. Defendants dispute that Kollar or any

other authority so holds, contending that all that is

required is that Lacks have made a commercial offer

to perform the steps of the claimed method, without

the further requirement that there was an offer to sell

a fully-assembled composite wheel in which the

claimed method had actually been practiced to make

the assembly.

Kollar does not support Lacks’ position. The facts

there concerned an executed agreement entered for the

purpose of conducting research and development,

providing for the disclosure of technical information

concerning the later-patented process and the grant of

a patent license authorizing the operation of plants

and the sale of products made by such process. /d. at

1330. The agreement contained no indication “that a

product of the claimed process was actually offered for

sale.” Ibid. The USPTO had held that this pre-critical

date agreement constituted a firm offer to sell

embodiments of the claimed process, thus tnggering

33a

the §102(b) bar. The Federal Circuit reversed, holding

that the agreement was merely a license under future

patents, and restating the general rule that “merely

granting a license to an invention, without more, does

not trigger the on-sale bar of §102(b).” Jd. at 1330-31.

More to the point concerning patented processes, the

Court noted that:

We cannot articulate in advance what would

constitute a sale of a process in terms of the

on-sale bar. Surely a sale by the patentee or

licensee of the patent of a product made by the

claimed process would constitute such a sale

because that party is commercializing the

patented process in the same sense as would

occur when the sale of a tangible patented item

takes place. ... Actually performing the process

itself for consideration would similarly trigger

the application of §102(b). See Scaltech, Inc. v.

Retec/Tetra, LLC, 269 F.3d 1321, 1328, 60

USPQ2d 1687, 1691 (Fed. Cir. 2001)(holding

that a claim to a process for treating oil refinery

waste was invalid under §102(b) because the

patentee offered to perform the claimed process

more than one year before filing for a patent).

286 F.3d at 1333 (emphasis added). Significantly, in

vacating the USPTO’s holding that the claimed process

was on sale within the meaning of §102(b), the Court

stated that the USPTO Board, on remand, may inquire

both as to whether there was a pre-critical date offer

“for sale of a product made using that process... [or

an act} that commercially exploits the claimed process

by offering to actually perform _that process to

commercially produce [various compounds]” (citing

34a

Scaltech, supra) (italics in original, underlining

added). 286 F.3d at 1334.

Notably, the Federal Circuit in the cited Scaltech

case further held that “the fact that the process itself

was not offered for sale but only offered to be used by

the patentee to process waste does not take it outside

the on sale bar rule.” 269 F.3d at 1328 (emphasis

added). The particular pertinence of that holding will

become evident in the subsequent analysis of the facts

of the present case.

Unlike the facts in Kollar, the present case does not

involve either the grant of a license, the transfer of

know-how or an offer to transfer such rights.

Furthermore, Lacks’ argument, quoted below, appears

to be based on a failure to distinguish between Kollar’s

discussion of an alleged sale of a patented process (7.e.,

the intangible rights in the executed license

agreement) and the present case’s alleged commercial

offer to perform the patented wheel-cladding process.

Lacks contends:

The Remaining Claims are a method for

assembling a cladded wheel. As such, under

Kollar, because it is a process, it must be

carried out or performed as a result of the

transaction to constitute a sale of the invention

within the meaning of §102(b). Kollar at

1332-33. In other words, until there is an offer

to sell a tangible product upon which the

claimed method was practiced or performed, the

claimed process is not on sale for the purposes

of the §102(b) on-sale bar.

35a

Lacks’ Brief of November 23, 2005, p.19. This

misreading of Kollar seems to be fundamental to

Lacks’ opposition to the on-sale defense. The cited

support in Kollar refers to the executed know-how

transfer and license in that case, which the Court was

treating as_sale of such rights, rather than an “on

sale.” Hence, the Court’s reference to the absence of

actual performance of the patented process:

“Know-how describing what the _ process

consists of and how the process should be

carried out may be sold in the sense that the

buyer acquires knowledge of the process and

obtains the freedom to carry it out pursuant to

the terms of the transaction. However, such a

transaction is not a ‘sale’ of the tnvention within

the meaning of $102(b) because the process has

not been carried out or performed as a result of

the transaction. The same applies to a license to

a patent covering a process. The [USPTO]

Board in this case failed to recognize this

distinction, and therefore erred in concluding

that the license to the process under any future

patents and the accompanying description of

that process, constituted a sale of the subject

matter of those patents, viz., the process.”

286 F.3d at 1332 (emphasis added). Lacks’ apparent

reliance on this particular language is misplaced for

two reasons. First, the statement deals with a mere

license (an intangible property right), not an offer to

physically perform a patented process. Second, its

reference to actual performance of the process was in

the context of a completed sale or transfer of the

know-how and licensed rights, an element of proof not

required here, where the alleged triggering event is a

36a

patent-barring offer to perform the patented process.

See, Scaltech, supra.

Thus, Kollar merely holds that sale of a product

made according to the patented process is sufficient to

trigger the on-sale bar, not that such a sale of the

resulting product is necessary.

Lacks also cites Elan Corp. v. Andrx Pharm., Inc.,

366 F.3d 1336, 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2004) and Minton v.

Nat'l Ass’n of Sec. Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373 as cases

that “recently followed” Kollar. Neither case supports

Lacks’ position. Elan held that an offer to enter a

license under a patent for future sale of a product

invention is not an offer to sell the patented invention.

Minton held that a lease that actually conveyed a fully

operational computer program embodying the claimed

process was an offer for sale within the meaning of the

on-sale bar. Neither case dealt with the issue of

whether an offer to perform the steps of a claimed

method triggers an on-sale bar under §102(b).

Neither precedent, public policy nor logic suggests

any reason that an offer to perform a

ready-for-patenting process for consideration should be

less sufficient to satisfy §102(b) than an offer to sella

ready-for-patenting product for consideration. In both

cases, the claimed invention is being offered. Scaltech,

Inc., supra, 269 F.3d at 1328.

C. Law of the Case

The Court found that the invention of the

Remaining Claims was ready for patenting in May,

1992. 55 F. Supp. 2d 702, 734 (E.D. Mich. 1999). The

Special Master’s Amended Liability R & R, adopted by

37a

the District Court, noted that the patentee Chase had

admitted that one skilled in the art could practice the

invention from a May 26, 1992 Lacks drawing.

Amended Liability R & R at 61. A Chase-authored

chronology (Trial Exh. 58) stated that Lacks

had“satisfactorily completed all testing” by October,

1993, and “released product to sales and marketing

staff’ in January, 1994 (Amended Liability R & R at

72). Furthermore, Lacks admitted that the invention

of the Remaining Claims was ready for patenting

before the June 6, 1994 critical date. Id. at 61. That

earlier trial record thus established that the second

prong of the Pfaff on-sale test had been proven.

The Amended Liability R & R also made extensive

findings of fact pertinent to the first prong of Pfaff.

Among them were the following findings concerning

Lacks’ pre-critical date efforts to promote customer

interest in and sales of the wheel cladding assembly

method of the Remaining Claims:

Lacks is not a wheel manufacturer.

Presently, Lacks is both a tier one and tier two

supplier. As a tier one supplier, it purchases

wheels from the wheel manufacturer, assembles

the overlay to it and ships the composite wheel

to the OEM. As a tier two supplier, Lacks does

not purchase the wheel but the wheel travels

the same path, with Lacks performing the

assembly steps for the wheel manufacturer.

Therefore, a potential Lacks customer might be

either the tier one wheel manufacturer or the

OEM. In both cases, Lacks would manufacture

the overlays and perform the assembly steps of

the claimed method ....

38a

The record abundantly establishes a

thorough and extensive campaign by Lacks to

exploit competitively, to use for profit and to

commercialize the ready-for-patenting method,

commencing two years before the June 6, 1994

critical date. After the May, 1992 ready-for

patenting date, Lacks made pre-critical date

commercialization efforts with both wheel

manufacturers and OEMs. Lacks widely

promoted the use of a specific composite wheel

assembly technique, namely, the assembly

technique of its later-granted method claims, to

make wheels for any and all future vehicle

models. Its sales solicitations took the form of

demonstrations of physical samples. of

prototypes made in accordance with the

asserted method claims, and repeated sales

contacts with the same potential customers to

highlight the advantages of the resulting

products.

Amended Liability R & R at 71-72 (italics in original;

underlining added).

The Special Master finds that the activities

summarized above were primarily motivated by

Lacks’ desire to commercialize its later-patented

method of assembling overlays to wheels.

Throughout the May, 1992 to June 6, 1994

period, Lacks (1) vigorously solicited wheel

manufacturers to whom Lacks could sell

overlays and on whose wheels Lacks could

perform its overlay-bonding method, and (2) and

vigorously solicited OEMs to specify and

purchase wheels clad by the later-patented

method. The documentary references’ to

39a

“development programs” involved programs to

design and submit specific wheels to OEMs for

their customer acceptance and_ validation

testing. These programs were not the inventor’s

programs of experimentation to perfect the

patented method itself. Well before the critical

date, Lacks’ own test results were sufficiently

conclusive that any remaining interest by Lacks

in having potential customers perform tests was

incidental and far subordinate to its dominant

commercial motivation to persuade the

customers to evaluate the resulting product and

satisfy themselves that it was acceptable for

their purchase and use.

Id. at 77-78 (Gtalics in original; underlining added).

Lacks’ own contemporaneous documentation

and trial testimony, summarized above,

abundantly establish that (1) the assembly

method that Lacks was offering to perform

corresponded precisely with the invention of the

Remaining Claims, and (2) the overlays and

composite wheels that it was offering to sell in

conjunction with a _wheel-manufacturing

partner were to be made by the claimed method.

* * * *

Lacks’ own documents and testimony negate its

attempt to bring its customer contact activity

within the experimental use exception.

Id. at 75-81 (emphasis added).

The parties now dispute whether those earlier

findings, indeed, whether any of the earlier findings of

fact relating to the on-sale defense, survived the

40a

Federal Circuit’s decision vacating the judgment of

invalidity and its remand for further consideration in

the light of the intervening Group One standard and

sales practices in the automotive industry.

Defendants contend that, under the law of the case

doctrine, the following findings concerning previously

litigated issues became the law of the case and

continue to govern the present continuing adjudication

of the on-sale defense: (1) Lacks’ pre critical date

activities were not undertaken merely to gauge market

interest; (2) the invention of the Remaining Claims

had been sufficiently tested to negate any claim of

“experimental use;” and (3) the assembly method that

Lacks was attempting to commercialize to Ford,

Chrysler, Motor Wheel and Accuride during the

1992-94 time period was the method covered by the

Remaining Claims. According to Defendants, Lacks

waived any challenge to those findings because Lacks

failed to contest them on appeal to the Federal Circuit,

and the Federal Circuit implicitly adopted such

findings in its decision and mandate.

To the contrary, Lacks contends that the law of the

case doctrine does not apply here because: (1) the

Federal Circui. did not consider or adopt any of the

on-sale findings of the District Court; (2) the vacating

of the on-sale portion of the judgment by the Federal

Circuit extinguished all underlying findings of fact; (3)

the doctrine does not apply where, as here, there has

been an intervening change in the law or discovery of

new and highly pertinent evidence.”

* During the course of the present remand proceedings, Lacks filed

a motion requesting that the Court reconsider its 1999 summary

4la

Under the law of the case doctrine, “findings made

at one point in the litigation become the law of the case

for subsequent stages of that same litigation.” U.S. v.

City of Detroit, 401 F.3d 448, 452 (6" Cir. 2005),

quoting U.S. v. Moored, 38 F.3d 1419, 1421 (6" Cir.

1994). In Exxon Corp. v. U.S., 931 F.2d 874 (Fed. Cir.

1991), the Federal Circuit summarized the doctrine as

follows:

The law of the case is a judicially created

doctrine, the purposes of which are to prevent

the relitigation of issues that have been decided

and to ensure that trial courts follow the

decisions of appellate courts. The doctrine

requires a court to follow the decision on a

question made previously during the case... .

When a judgment of a trial court has been

appealed, the decision of the appellate court

determines the law of the case, and the trial

court cannot depart from it on remand.

judgment ruling (discussed above) that the invention of the

Remaining Claims was ready for patenting as of May 1992. Lacks

contended that the law of the case doctrine did not preclude the

requested reconsideration because of (1) an alleged intervening

change in the controlling law, and (2) the Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit had vacated this Court’s decision invalidating the

Remaining Claims concurrently with the present remand. The

District Court’s Order of February 14, 2007 adopted the Special

Master’s Amended Report and Recommendation on Lacks’ Motion

for Reconsideration of Seven- Year-Old Summary Judgment, dated

December 18, 2006, that recommended denial of that motion.

Much of the following analysis of the applicability of the law ofthe

case doctrine to the present issue concerning the first prong of the

Pfaff test is taken from that December 18, 2006 R & R.

42a

931 F.2d at 877 (quoting from Jamesbury Corp uv.

Litton Indus. Prod. Inc., 839 F.2d 1544, 1550 (Fed. Cir.

1988). The Court also noted that the foregoing

statement about the law of the case doctrine “is

commonly accepted in federal jurisprudence, and

should be considered the law of the Federal Circuit as

well.” Jbid. at n.4. Clearly, the trial court “is without

choice in obeying the mandate of the appellate court,”

In re Roberts, 846 F.2d 1360, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 1988),

and it “must implement both the letter and the spirit

of the mandate, taking into account the appellate

court’s opinion and the circumstances it embraces.”

Brunet v. City of Columbus, 58 F.3d 251, 254 (6 Cir.

1995).

As a general proposition, Lacks appears to be

correct in asserting that “a vacated judgment has no

preclusive force either as a matter of collateral or

direct estoppel or as a matter of the law of the case.”

Rumsfeld v. Freedom NY, Inc., 329 F.3d 1320, 1332

(Fed. Cir. 2003). “(W]hen a judgment is vacated ‘all is

effectively extinguished.” Falcon v. Gen. Tel. Co, 815

F.2d 317, 320 (1987). But a vacated judgment

accompanied by a remand with specific instructions to

the lower court requires further analysis. The Exxon

decision, cited by both parties, quoted with approval

1B Moore’s Federal Practice, 10.404[10] at 174 (2d ed.

1988), as follows:

In the case of a remand for further proceedings,

the mandate constitutes the law of the case only

on such issues of law as were actually

considered and decided by the appellate court,

or necessarily to be inferred from the disposition

on appeal.

43a

931 F.2d at 877, fn.7 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (emphasis

added). See also, Laitram Corp. v. NEC Corp., 115

F.3d 947, 951 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“.. . rule is actually

applicable only to those issues decided by necessary

implication.”) (emphasis added).

Application of the law of the case doctrine to the

District Court’s underlying on sale findings therefore

requires analysis of the Federal Circuit’s opinion in

this case to ascertain what was intended by its

mandate. Laitram, supra, 115 F.3d at 952. As stated

by the Federal Circuit, “(tlhe crux of the dispute is

whether the Special Master applied the proper legal

standard to the first prong of the test: whether there

was a ‘commercial offer for sale.” 322 F.3d at 1347.

The relevant portion of the Federal Circuit’s opinion

states:

Defendant-cross appellants urge that any such

error [failure to apply the Group One standard

for “commercial offer for sale”] was harmless

because the factors that inform whether there

was a contractual offer under the UCC include

course of dealing and evidence of the practice in

the industry. U.C.C. §1-205. According to the

defendants, Lacks’ activities amounted to a

con.ractual offer for sale because “that is how

business is done in the automotive industry.”

We, however, cannot so conclude as a matter of

law on the record before us. Although it contains

some evidence about how sales are made in the

automotive industry, we cannot tell what the

fact-finder would have found had he applied the

correct legal standard.

* * a

44a

As a result, we vacate the Special Master’s

finding of invalidity and remand for further

consideration. On remand the district court (or

Special Master) may need to take additional

evidence on the practice in the industry to

determine if the activities by Lacks rise to an

offer for sale under the UCC.

Lacks Indus., Inc. v. McKechnie Vehicle Components

USA, Inc. and Hayes Wheels Int'l, Inc. , 322 F.3d 1335,

1348 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (emphasis added). Once again, in

its summary of its holdings on the multiple issues that

were appealed, the Court stated:

On remand, the district court (or Special

Master) should resolve whether or not it needs to

take additional evidence on sales practice in the

automotive industry to determine if the sales

promotion activities by Lacks rise to a

contractual offer for sale (and, of course, take

such evidence if necessary).

Id. at 1351 (emphasis added).

Nothing is described as vacated except the “finding

of invalidity.” No criticism, or even discussion, of the

underlying factual findings appears in the Court’s

opinion, except regarding the incompleteness of

findings regarding “how sales are made in the

automotive industry.” Only the legal standard applied

by the Special Master is found to be erroneous. Most

°As discussed below in this section, Lacks’ appeal only challenged

“the Special Master’s application of the pre-Group One standard

as to what. constituted a definite offer for sale.”

45a

significantly, the Court states that additional evidence

“may” need to be taken, implicitly approving the

possibility that the fact-finder may conclude that the

mandated findings on how sales are made in the

automotive industry can be prepared without taking

“additional evidence” on that or any other relevant

subject. The remand is “for further consideration,” not

for an entirely new trial of the on-sale defense.

Furthermore, the Special Master’s earlier reliance

on a later superseded legal standard to reach the

ultimate conclusion of invalidity did not taint the

underlying findings concerning such issues as Lacks’

motivation for its pre-critical date customer contacts,

alleged experimental use or the correlation between

the assembly method that Lacks was attempting to

commercialize and the method covered by the

Remaining Claims. The change in the law effected by

Group One provides no basis for disturbing those

subsidiary findings. Those findings were not

implicated by the Federal Circuit’s decision in Lacks,

and therefore the law of the case doctrine encompasses

those findings.

Therefore, the Federal Circuit’s acceptance of the

District Court’s Amended Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law is “necessarily to be inferred from

the disposition on appeal,” excepting only the vacated

“finding of invalidity” (because it was based on the

incorrect /egal standard) and the need for

supplemental findings on automotive industry sales

practices. Exxon, supra. Based upon his interpretation

of the Federal Circuit’s mandate, the Special Master

concludes that the remaining portions of the Amended

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law survived the

46a

Federal Circuit’s decision and are part of the mandate.

They therefore constitute the law of the case.’

As part of the law of the case, those remaining

portions of the District Court’s earlier decision are, for

a second reason, no longer subject to challenge by

Lacks. In the appeal to the Federal Circuit, Lacks, by

its own admission, “confined its challenge solely to the

Special Master’s application of the pre-Group One

standard as to what constituted a definite offer for

sale” (Lacks’ Reply Brief, p.32). Unchallenged in the

appeal were the findings that the assembly method

that Lacks was offering to perform, and the composite

wheels that it was offering to sell in its various

pre-critical date promotional] efforts, coincided with the

subject matter of the Remaining Claims. Unchallenged

were the findings that such activities were not within

the experimental use exception, and that the claimed

’ This interpretation of this particular mandate, that underlying

findings regarding the on-sale issue survived the Federal Circuit’s

vacating of the invalidity finding in the context of a remand for

further consideration, is reinforced by the Federal Circuit's

ultimate disposition of an appeal from a district court’s decision

following a similar remand. In Scaltech, Inc. v. Retec/Tetra, LLC,

178 F.3d 1378 (Fed. Cir. 1999), the Court concluded that “on the

record before us, the district court erred by failing to address

whether an embodiment of the claimed invention was offered for

sale.” Id. at 1383. The Court vacated the summary judgment of

invalidity by reason of an on-sale, and remanded “for a

determination as to whether the process on sale inherently

satisfies each claim limitation.” Jd. at 1384. As stated in the

Court's decision on a subsequent appeal, “[o]n remand, the district

court sua sponte granted summary judgment on the existing record

” 269 F.3d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2001)(emphasis added), and

that decision was affirmed. The district court was not required to,

and did not, make new findings on the other aspects of the on-sale

transaction and events

47a

invention was “ready for patenting” at the time of

those activities. Lacks has therefore waived its right to

challenge those underlying findings. Tronzo v. Biomet,

Inc., 236 F.3d 1342, 1347-48 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (issues

within the scope of the initial district court judgment

and not raised on appeal are within the scope of the

remand and “foreclosed from further review on

remand”); U.S. v. Adesida, 129 F.3d 846, 850 (6" Cir.

1997) (“|a] party who could have sought review of an

issue or a ruling during a prior appeal is deemed to

have waived that decision thereafter, for ‘it would be

absurd that a party who has chosen not to argue a

point on a first appeal should stand better as regards

the law of the case than one who had argued and

lost”).

D. Summary Judgment Standards

Summary judgment is appropriate “if the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,

show that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). To

defeat summary judgment, the non-moving adverse

party “may not rest upon the mere allegations or

denials of the adverse party’s pleading, but the adverse

party’s response, by affidavits or as otherwise provided

in this rule, must set forth specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e).

The court’s function is not to weigh the evidence or to

determine the truth of the matter, but only to

determine whether the evidence of record is such that

a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the

non-moving party. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,477

U.S. 242, 248 49 (1986). “Where the record taken as a

48a

whole could not lead a rational trier of fact to find for

the non-moving party, there is no ‘genuine issue for

trial.” Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith

Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986). Under these

standards, the non-moving party must do more than

show there is “some metaphysical doubt” as to the

material facts. Id. at 586.

E. Sales Practices in the Automotive Industry

The record presented by the parties’ respective

motion papers includes a substantial amount of

documentary and testimonial evidence generated by

post-remand discovery authorized by the Special

Master. At an earlier stage of the current remand

proceeding, when the scope of permissible discovery

was vigorously disputed by the parties, the Special

Master concluded that discovery should be confined to

industry sales practices and subsequent transactional

history relating to Lacks’ sales promotional activities

that were “already of record” (Report and

Recommendation Concerning Discovery Following

Remand, May 13, 2004, pp. 13-14).° The Special

Master concluded at that time, consistently with his

“Interestingly, the parties’ respective interpretations of the

mandate at that time were reversed from those they now espouse.

Defendants asserted that “the reason that the case was remanded

in the first place was to re-try the on-sale issue in light of a change

in the law that could not have been anticipated when the case was

originally tried” (Defendants’ Joint Opposition to Plaintiff's

Motion for Protective Order, p.11, emphasis added). Lacks, on the

other hand, argued that “The Mandate was specific: it allowed

‘additional evidence on the practice in the industry” only and did

not authorize a new trial on all aspects of Defendants’ on-sale

defense” (Lack’s Memorandum in Support of Motion for Protective

Order, p.6, emphasis added).

49a

present interpretation of the mandate, that there was

“no authority or justification for either a complete

re-trial of the on-sale issue or an_ unrestricted

re-opening of discovery on that issue” (/d. at p. 9). A

necessary ingredient of that conclusion was the fact

that those original findings remained viable as the law

of the case, and did not need to be re-litigated.

The augmented record provides a comprehensive

overview of the procedures followed by the original

equipment manufacturers (“OEMs”) such as Ford and

Chrysler in acquiring vehicle components and systems

from their suppliers. Verified expert reports were

submitted by the following four witnesses, and such

reports were tested by deposition cross-examination by

the respective opposing party:

e Frank S. Schwartz (on behalf of Lacks) has been

employed by Lacks since 2002, currently as

Director of Marketing for Advanced Technology

since 2002. Before joining Lacks, his relevant

experience was in sales of automobile lighting

equipment to the automobile industry beginning

in 1993.

e Jan Ekholm (also on behalf of Lacks) has been

employed by Lacks since 2002, currently as

Commercial Manager for the Trim Systems

division. He was employed by Chrysler from

1965 until his retirement in 2001. His relevant

experience there was in various purchasing

positions starting in 1985, initially as a buyer

for interior and exterior plastic parts, and rising

to senior commodity specialist for exterior trim

and ornamentation (not including wheel parts).

50a

Charles D. Ross (on behalf of Defendants),

currently an independent consultant regarding

purchasing operations, was employed by Ford

Motor Company from 1965-2000 in a variety of

mid-level and senior management positions,

primarily in the field of production purchasing.

Ultimately, he became executive director in

charge of purchasing for body and assembly.

During and shortly before the period relevant to

this case, Mr. Ross was director of purchasing

for all components that went into engines and

transmissions, a sum of $13 billion in

purchases, and he was also Ford’s purchasing

representative in the reorganization of the

company’s policies and procedures.

Richard J. Matton (also on _ behalf of

Defendants), currently provides consulting

services for automotive suppliers. After serving

as a buyer at Ford, he was employed by

Chrysler in various purchasing-related positions

from 1982-2004, including all aspects of the

procurement process for the small car platform

(Viper, Sebring convertible and Neon) from

1992-95 and director of chassis quality and

supplier management (which included wheels

and wheel trim) from 1995-2000.

Other knowledgeable fact witnesses testified by

deposition, including:

Lee Chase, the patentee of the ‘213 Patent, was

Product Development Manager at Lacks at the

relevant time period, and was Director of

Advanced Technology at Lacks at the time of his

2005 deposition.

5la

Richard “Terry” Eifert has been employed as a

Ford engineer since 1976, with all but the first

year or two in tires and wheels. At the time of

his 2005 deposition, he was Senior Wheel

Engineer, and at the time of the relevant 1993

contacts with Lacks he was Design and Release

Engineer on wheels and wheel-related hardware

for the F-series trucks, responsible for

coordination of design and testing of such

components. He submitted a written statement

(certified by him to be under penalty of perjury)

in 2003, and he was_ subsequently

cross-examined by Lacks concerning that

statement and the documents he produced from

Ford’s files.

Kent Van Timmeren has been employed by

Lacks since 1984, serving as a cost estimator

since 1989. His duties included compiling cost

estimates or quotes in response to requests from

potential customers received through Lacks’

sales department.

Nicholas Mendes was employed by Motor Wheel

in various Sales capacities from 1968-97, serving

as Sales Manager of Automotive Products from

1983-96. He had complete responsibility for the

Chrysler account and was knowledgeable of

Chrysler’s purchasing procedures. His written

statement is in evidence, and ne _ was

subsequently deposed.

David Haviland was employed in various sales

and marketing capacities at Motor Wheel from

1967 to 1996, the last ten years as Director of

52a

Marketing for Automotive Products. His

deposition transcript is in evidence.

As described by Ross, the “lead time” required by

North American automobile manufacturers to bring a

new vehicle from its program approval stage to

commencement of actual vehicle production (“Job #1”

launch) during the 1990’s was 36-42 months. Parts,

systems and the entire vehicle must be designed and

tested for integrity, durability, safety, quality and

customer acceptance before production tooling could be

constructed and manufacturing process capability

confirmed. Upon completion of all those _ steps,

component part production and vehicle assembly could

begin. The cost for design, testing tooling and

manufacturing equipment for a new model vehicle

ranged from $800 million to more than $2 billion.

Thousands of parts, assemblies and materials, ranging

from screws and gaskets to wheels and brake systems

to engines and automatic transmissions, had to go

through these stages. Competitive pressures caused

OEMs to seek ways to shorten this lead time. Ross

Report, Exh. 1080, (QIV-1 through 6.

Before the late 1980s, parts procurement by the

OEMs followed a rather standardized process for both

“off-the-shelf”? commodities and for more complex -

components. As described by Mr. Ekholm, a current

Lacks employee and former Chrysler buyer, Chrysler

engineers did all the design, development and testing,

and prepared all necessary drawings and

specifications. That information was given to the

appropriate buyer, who prepared a Request for

Quotation (“RFQ”). The RFQ typically gave the part

number, model year, volume, and plant location, and

asked the supplier for weight, material, price, tooling

53a

cost, volume and scheduling. This RFQ and the

information prepared by Chrysler Engineering

constituted a bid package given to prospective

suppliers, who then completed and signed the RFQ

and submitted it to the buyer. The Engineering and

Finance departments reviewed the returned RFQs,

met with the suppliers to resolve remaining questions,

and one supplier was ultimately selected. The buyer

assigned a purchase order (“PO”), sent it to central

processing, from which a PO comprised of the

information in the RFQ and Chrysler’s standard terms

and conditions was sent to the supplier. Ekholm

4/20/95 Dep. at 28-38.

In the late 1980s, however, the OEMs shifted much

of the responsibility for design, development and

testing to their suppliers.? At Chrysler, parts sourced

in this new manner were referred to as “ODD Box”

parts (“Outside Design and Development”). Ekholm

4/20/05 dep. at 38-40. At Ford and elsewhere they were

referred to as “black box” parts, or, if design

responsibility was shared, as “gray box” parts. Ross

*See, Ben-Shahar and White, Boilerplate and Economic Power in

Auto Manufacturing Contracts, 104 Mich.L.R. 953 (2006). The

authors of this comprehensive article read and compared industry

boilerplate contracts and spoke to lawyers who drafted them and

to other industry participants. Consistent with the evidence

submitted herein, this article states that General Motors, for

example, which earlier had produced up to seventy percent of its

parts internally, is now only thirty percent integrated. The OEMs

have shed whole divisions (such as Delphi and Visteon, and now

buy large subassemblies from outside suppliers. Jd. at 955. At

Chrysler, “approximately 70% of the dollar value to make a

vehicle (excluding labor) was procured from outside suppliers”

(Matton Expert Report, Exh. 1084, YVI-D).

54a

Dep. at 52-53; Ross Report, Exh. 1080, {IV-8;

Schwartz Report, Exh. 1085, (B.1.

Chrysler and Ford developed programs _ to

“encourage suppliers to submit cost reduction ideas,

provide a disciplined means for assuring the ideas are

reviewed and considered, reward suppliers who

actively participate in the program, and establish a

rigorous follow-up process for submissions” (Ross

Report, Exh 1080, pp. 15-16; see also, Matton Report,

Exh. 1084, J VI-C). The Chrysler program (introduced

in 1989) was called “SCORE” (Supplier Cost Reduction

Effort), and the Ford program was called “SPECS”

(Ford Supplier Purchasing Engineering Cost Savings).

Lacks’ expert Schwartz testified that the whole goal of

the supplier from the time of submission of a SCORE

or SPECS proposal was “to sell parts at a proper

profit” (Schwartz Dep. at 37).

As described by Ross, Ford developed written

procedures, described in its “Full Service Supplier

(FSS) Guide” (Exh. 1008), to achieve better control of

new model timing (Exh. 1080, {JIV-5-8; Schwartz

Report, Exh. 1085, 9C). Codified in 1993, these

procedures had been developing for almost ten years.

Ross Dep. at 53. The Guide included a timetable of

events for each step of a new vehicle development

process, measured in months before Job#1. In the

words of the Guide, the “Early Sourcing/Target

Agreement” or “ESTA” (one of the “key documents in

the Fult Service Supplier relationship”) “states

intention of Ford to source to Supplier; obtains

agreement to the Full Service Supplier guide and

Statement of Work; and obtains commitment to work

towards Targets” (Exh. 1008, Section 2, p.17). The

timetable provides that the ESTA is to be finalized by

5da

42 months” before Job#1, “work towards obtaining

supplier commitment to ESTA” by 40 months, and

complete Early Sourcing by 33 months (/d. at Section

4, p.43).

The FSS Guide includes a sample ESTA, which

includes spaces to fill in the name of the supplier,

identification of component or system, “piece price

target,” and “Job#1 Date” Ud. at Appendix p.A-3).

Under the “Commitment” heading, the Agreement

states: “As a member of the [Program Team}, your

Company will participate in the design and

development process outlined in the Full Service

Supphter Guide and the Statement of Work. As the

program approaches Job#1, a Purchase and Supply

Agreement for production parts will be issued. Ford

and your Company will each absorb their own cost of

work for this program should a Purchase and Supply

Agreement not be issued due to any of the following

conditions [including change in program or

subsystem/component direction] . . . .” Under the

“Targets” heading, it states: “Targets have been

developed as follows: Piece Price — at current economic

and efficiency levels.” Finally, over spaces for

signature of the Supplher and various’ Ford

functionaries, the ESTA states: “We accept the

conditions stated above and commit to work toward

achievement of the targets.”

Mr. Ross stated that the three parties to this

lawsuit would have been designated by Ford as Full

“The listed benchmark timings are for “Single Model Programs,”

whereas “Multiple Model Programs” specify an additional 3-5

months of lead time.

56a

Service Suppliers during the time period covered by

this case (Exh. 1080, FIV-8), and that clad wheels

made in accordance with the Lacks Chromtec method

would have been considered “more complex” parts

under that FSS category, because they were to be used

in a high wear area near the road, used chrome-plated

plastic on a high visibility component and involved

unproven technology of gluing a cover to the wheel (Jd.

at JIV-6).

Quotations from suppliers can take a number of

forms. Among the alternatives described by Ross are

several that are at issue in the present proceedings.

For early sourced, more complex components,

particularly in non-competitive sourcing situations, the

suppliers submit their own written narrative to the

OEM as a quotation. Ross cited as examples the

following significant quotations exhibits that are

discussed below: 1002 to Ford; 1039 and 1040 to

Chrysler; and 1044 and 1053 to Accuride (Exh. 1080,

q1V-9(b). If the supplier is the successful bidder:

the written narrative ‘quotation’ will often be

accepted as a binding quotation and a formal

RFQ not issued until shortly before Job#1. This

delay in issuing a formal RFQ is a relatively

common buyer practice used to _ reduce

paperwork during program development, a

period during which many design and part

number iterations occur prior to Job#1.

Ibid. See also, Jd. at pp. 14-15; see also, Schwartz Dep.

at 34; Schwartz Report, Exh. 1085, 1{/A4, B8; Ross

Dep. at 68-69; Matton Report, Exh. 1084, {VI-G;

Matton Dep. at p. 53.

57a

Suppliers also commonly solicit sales by making

presentations to OEM engineering and purchasing

departments for new technologies, design ideas or

manufacturing methods (Exh. 1080, ]9c). Referring to

his Ford experience, Ross stated that when the new

process or material is believed ready for production

application, Ford Purchasing normally regarded these

presentations as “sales pitches,” with the supplier’s

goal being “to sell the new product, process or idea

being presented.” Such presentations often included

specific cost data, relevant vehicle programs, tooling

line-up and cost and timing for production part

availability.

When asked during cross-examination how he

determined whether a particular activity or document

was an offer for sale by Lacks, he replied:

A. ... The degree of detail tended to tell you

whether it was a legitimate offer or whether

they were winging it or guessing at the

numbers ....To the degree you began to get

very specific data that said for this program,

for this model, at this volume, for this price

you'll get it and it’s to the nearest penny and

it’s to the nearest $10 on tooling, you say,

okay, tooling, they've gone out and gotten

quotes from a tool source as to providing it.

The timing, they’re not telling me it’s about

a half a year, they’re telling me it’s 34

weeks, which says that’s very specific and it

says, okay, you’ve gone and found out how

long it will take to tool, how long it’s going to

take you to set up the manufacturing line,

and I count on that timing to fit within the

model of our program and what it needs.

58a

And if it’s an attractive proposal, then what

we will do is choose you as the supplier to do

it.

Dep. at 42. Lacks’ expert Schwartz agreed that the

OEM could determine if the supplier intended to be

bound by whether the part was defined (Schwartz Dep.

at 17).

With further regard to the relatively informal, yet

potentially binding, nature of these sales practices in

the automotive industry, Ross observed:

Representatives in the process are expected to

be able to speak for their’ respective

organizations and to commit to cost, timing,

design, delivery, quality, etc. issues involving

their company and activity. They are also

expected to deliver any commitments made by

them on behalf of their “home” activity. The

point being made here is that, while a great deal

of business between Ford and production parts

suppliers is conducted on an informal basis,

these informal commitments are regarded as

binding as if they were part of a formal written

contract.

Ross Report, Exh. 1080, J1V-10 (emphasis added).

Matton, the former Chrysler purchasing executive,

described the environment this way:

In the team environment that we're talking

about, again, 1990 to 1994, which was the

platform and the SCORE process, things were

much more open, there was much more trust.

59a

People didn’t demand purchase orders, many

times being invited to a source selection

meeting as the supplier was sufficient for the

supplier to know that he was the supplier, even

though a purchase order wasn't issued.

Matton Dep. at 23 (emphasis added). He added that

the formal RFQ (request for quote), usually after the

part was formally released, “was primarily just a

confirming paperwork trail,” “confirming what was

previously established” Ud. at 51-52).

Chrysler's SCORE program was described by

former Chrysler procurement official Richard J.

Matton. Suppliers would “test the water” concerning

their new _ internally-developed technology by

reviewing it with Chrysler engineering and purchasing

personnel before submitting a SCORE proposal. If

Chrysler decided to pursue the proposal, a SCORE

team consisting of Chrysler engineers and a buyer and

the supplier would develop an action plan _ to

implement the proposal, including test milestone

events, approval requirements and so forth. For new

model programs, Chrysler would establish variable

cost targets for the team to meet at the part level. Any

changes in the part design that would impact the

supplier’s piece price or tooling cost would be formally

documented. A formal purchase order would not be

issued until all the action plan items had been

completed, including receipt and testing by Chrysler of

parts made from production tooling and processes from

the supplier’s plant. Matton Report, Exh. 1084, JVI-F.

Matton contrasted this new SCORE procedure with

Chrysler’s former purchasing procedures:

60a

The traditional quotation process once a design

was completed by Chrysler with the subsequent

issuance of the Purchase Order were [sic]

replaced by a “letter of intent”, “confirmation of

sourcing” letter, or perhaps an e-mail from the

buyer that would reference a pre-assigned

Purchase Order number or just being invited to

a new model program related meeting as “The

Supplier” was sufficient commitment for most

suppliers until the Purchase Order was actually

issued by Chrysler just prior to New Model

Launch startup.

Id. at { VI-G (emphasis added).

Evaluation of these supplier-submitted proposals

by Ford and Chrysler required substantial OEM time

and resources, and “supplier submissions were

expected to be sincere offers to ‘deliver’ the design

features, weight reductions and/or cost savings being

proposed” (Ross Report, Exh. 1080 at p.16). According

to Matton:

“when a supplier submitted a SCORE proposal,

Chrysler assumed that the supplier had

sufficiently researched, developed and validated

the SCORE idea... since considerable internal

resource time and expense is required to review,

test, validate, approve and track each SCORE

proposal... .”

Exh. 1084, | VI-F-1; Matton Dep. at 15-16. Ekholm,

Lacks’ expert and former Chrysler buyer, agreed that

the supplier “has to prove to themselves that it’s even

a good idea before they can submit it to Chrysler”

(Ekholm Dep. at 88-89). However, because suppliers

6la

were under pressure to submit proposals in order to be

considered for new business, they sometimes

submitted proposals having little chance of success.

Schwartz Report, ~xh. 1085, JD and Dep. at 31-32,

45-46. See generaliy, Ekholm Report, Exh. 1088, at

Comment on Matton Report, 9/4, and 4/20/05 Dep. at

54-63, 75-94.

The significance of a SCORE proposal from the

viewpoint of Tier 1 supplier Motor Wheel was

described by Nicholas Mendes. As Motor Wheel’s sales

manager for automotive products from 1983-96, he had

complete responsibility for the Chrysler account.

According to Mendes:

“A SCORE proposal was an offer to Chrysler to

sell to Chrysler the specified part at a specified

price, which represented a specified savings per

part. . . . The SCORE proposals were a

commitment by Motor Wheel to provide the

proposed parts to Chrysler based upon the

terms of the SCORE proposals.”

Mendes Statement, Exh. 1013, 1914, 16 (emphasis

added). Such proposals would not be submitted unless

Motor Whee! was “fully satisfied that we could produce

the part ... and reflect the cost savings” indicated in

the proposal, because “we would have to live to all of

the numbers and all of the commitments.” Mendes Dep.

at 41 (emphasis added). According to David Haviland,

who was Motor Wheel’s Director of Marketing of 1986

96, unless there were very real changes in design or

performance of the product, it would be “difficult, if not

impossible,” for the vendor to increase the price after

submission of a SCORE proposal — the vendor was

62a

“committed to what’s in the SCORE proposal.”

Haviland Dep. at 7-17, 61-62 (emphasis added).

Ford’s Purchase Order, typically not issued until

shortly before Job#1, specifies that it is the offer.

Based on that standard language, Lacks argues that

the earlier submitted quotes from a supplier cannot be

considered offers to sell. Lacks’ cross examination of

Defendants’ expert, retired Ford purchasing executive,

Ross, included the following colloquy:

Q@. So basically this [a standard Ford

purchasing order] is essentially regarded as

an offer from Ford to the supplier?

A. IT didn’t treat it as an offer. This was a

confirmation of a quote we received from the

supplier normally.

* * * *

Q. So basically the terms and conditions

specifically state that the purchase order is

the offer?

A. Fine. I understand it from a legal context.

Q. Well, that’s what we’re talking about.

A. Well, I would say there’s also the practical

context of how was it used.

Dep. at 64-65 (emphasis added). In Matton’s words,

“that’s not consistent with how business practices were

done” (Matton Dep. at 72, emphasis added).

63a

Thus, in view of this and other previously cited

testimony, it is clear that the OEM’s could accept the

supplier’s offering quotation, creating a binding

contract, but that would more often than not require

numerous subsequent contract revisions as_ the

development program runs its extended course until

the purchase order is finally issued just before Job#1.

Instead, as a matter of “administrative convenience”

(Ross Dep. at 68) rather than avoidance of a

contractual commitment, the OEMs choose to defer

that forma! step. Instead, pursuant toa “common basis

of understanding (course of dealing), the OEM

manifests its “willingness to enter into a bargain” by

“sourcing” the part (i.e. selecting a supplier) and

moving forward together with that supplier in the

development process. The supplier, based on the

regularity of observance of this practice in the

automotive industry, has “an expectation that [the

OEM’s practice of eventually issuing a subsequent

purchase order] will be observed” (usage of trade).

In “battle of the forms” cases addressing which

party’s “offer” form was truly the offer, the case law

directs that the court must look beyond the words

employed on the forms and examine the “totality of the

circumstances” to determine which form constituted

the offer. The Mead Corp. v. McNally Pittsburgh Mfg.

Corp., 654 F.2d 1197, 1203 (6" Cir. 1981);

Weyburn-Bartel, Inc. v. Zagar, Inc., 1996 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 16988 at *7 (W.D.Mich. 1996).

Manton testified that “all parts” are subject to

change (Matton Dep. at 80). When asked on

cross-examination to confirm that Chrysler wasn’t

committed until it issued a purchase order, he

responded, “I don’t think we’re ever committed ... We

64a

never have to order a part” (Jd. at 73). Ross testified

that even after the Purchase Order, both the supplier

and Ford could “bow out” of the agreement. Ross Dep.

at 60-61. Lacks’ employee-experts Ekholm and

Schwartz agreed that even a purchase order from

Chrysler doesn’t mean it is required to ever purchase

any parts. Ekholm Dep. at 95; Schwartz Dep. at 41-42.

Yet it cannot successfully be argued that these early

quotations from suppliers, merely because they are

often subsequently modified or even cancelled after

informal or formal acceptance, cannot therefore qualify

as acommercial offer for sale. Multiple rounds of offers

and counter-offers are a familiar part of many

commercial and private transactions, and those

subsequent negotiations do not negate the status of an

original offer as one that the offeror was willing to be

bound by if the offeree accepted it.

The specific documentation contended by

Defendants to support their commercial offer for sale

position typically omits terms that might generally be

found in typical commercial transactions in other

industries. Among such terms are FOB terms,

payment terms, shipping destination, etc. But in the

automobile industry, many seemingly missing terms

are governed by the OEM’s standard terms and

conditions and long-term contract documentation.

They “are generally assumed to already be known and

are normally the same from purchase order to

purchase order, based on ongoing dealings with the

supplier” (Ross Report, Exh. 1080, p.14; Ross Dep. at

39). Matton testified that the suppliers involved in this

lawsuit were all current suppliers, and they “know

when they submit somcthing to us, they’re going to be

bound by our terms and conditions, those are our

standard” (Matton Dep. at 52).

By way of example, the record contains the

November 19, 1992 long-term contract between Ford

and Lacks, which applied to certain specified (but not

here relevant) parts and to “all new parts sourced to

Lacks Enterprises, subsequent to August 1, 1992 (Exh.

1083). It specifies that “all terms and conditions of

Ford’s standard Purchase Orders (Attachment II) are

in effect.” Attachment II, headed “Terms and

65a

Conditions,” provides (with emphasis added):

3.

The provision of the Ford Long-Term Agreement

incorporating Ford’s standard terms and conditions is

OFFER, ACCEPTANCE, AND

MODIFICATION — This tooling order is an

offer to Seller by Buyer to enter into the

purchase and supply agreement it described,

and it shall be the complete and exclusive

statement of such purchase/supply

agreement. Modifications proposed by seller

are not part of the agreement without

Buyer’s written acceptance.

* * * *

CHANGES -— (a) Buyer at any time in

writing may change the design (including

drawings, materials and_ specifications),

processing, method of packing and shipping,

and the place of delivery. (b) If any such

change affects cost or timing, Buyer shal)

adjust purchase price and delivery schedules

equitably. (c) seller shall not make any

change in design, processing, packing,

shipping, or place of delivery without buyer’s

written approval.

66a

typical of the automotive industry OEM’s practice.

Each has its boilerplate form, entitled “Globa! Terms”

or “General Terms’ or the like, expressly incorporated

into every purchase order, and non-negotiable. They

cover issues such as termination rights, warranties

and remedies, ownership of tooling, intellectual

property rights and service parts. As acknowledged by

Lacks’ expert, the OEM’s standard terms and

conditions are “sacrosanct” and “pretty much set in

stone” (Schwartz Dep. at 33-34). As observed in the

Ben-Shahar & White article:

There may be no other merchant-to-merchant

contractual template that governs’ such

fantastic economic stakes — hundreds of billions

of dollars per year — and implemented through

a process that involves almost no negotiation of

the legal terms. Boilerplate rules these

transactions. . . . These are transactions in

which economic power is unevenly distributed;

much dickering takes place over prices and

product design; but everything else is packed

into boilerplate.

Supra footnote 9 at 953-54.

Ross concluded his Expert Report with this

overview:

Development and launch of a new model vehicle

is a complex process involving many variables

that must be managed within a _ large

bureaucracy. The process is made more

complicated by external market pressure to

provide the latest technology and styling and an

unrelenting drive to meet an unyielding Job#1

67a

date. To successfully deal with the conflicting

objectives that result from such a situation,

engineers and buyers must be flexible, have an

ability to work with inexact data and make

decisions based on less than _ perfect

information. Hence, sourcing decisions are often

based on less exact information than would be

available in a “perfect world,” relying on targets,

sometimes nebulous program assumptions,

close working relationships with suppliers,

integrity and trust between suppliers and Ford

and past experience. While “industry outsiders”

may view this process as “loose” or

“undisciplined,” it is an effective means for

transforming a somewhat chaotic situaton into

a disciplined design, test and launch process

that, in the end, produces a safe, affordable and

reliable vehicle.

Exh. 1080 at p.19.

Based upon the record set forth above, the Special

Master finds that there appears to be no genuine issue

of material fact concerning the sales practices in the

automobile industry during the relevant time period.

As applied to supplier-designed specialty products, the

sales practices had the following characteristics:

The process often began with a_ persona!

meeting by the supplier with the customer’s

engineers and/or purchasing agent to describe

and possibly demonstrate a sample or

prototype, followed by a somewhat informal,

seemingly incomplete, written quotation that

included a brief description or drawing or

reference to an existing customer’s part number

68a

or the vehicle program, a piece price and

weight, anticipated annual production volume

and estimated tooling lead time and costs.

Some contract terms, though often omitted from

early quotations, were generally known and

assumed to apply, because they were included

in the OEM’s standard terms and conditions

and long-term contract documentation and

therefore “set in stone.” These quotations were

assumed by the OEMs to be sincere, well

considered and realistic offers to deliver the

product under the specified terms.

Although the subsequent lengthy development

process preceding production Job #1 might

necessitate several design changes and

associated pricing adjustments, the supplier

and OEM customarily worked together under a

relatively informal and flexible understanding

once sourcing of a part had been determined.

The supplier’s initial quotation was often

accepted as a binding quotation, subject to those

possible future revisions. The delay in issuance

of a formal purchase order until shortly before

Job#1 was an administrative convenience for

the buyer to avoid repetitive issuance of

amended purchase orders during the

36-42-month lead time. The ultimately issued

formal purchase order therefore was essentially

a confirmation of what had been previously

understood between the parties.

The foregoing industry practices were generally

representative of the sales practices between

Tier 1 and Tier 2 supphers, as well as between

69a

OEMs and Tier 1 suppliers, during the time

period relevant to the transactions considered

here.

F. The Alleged Commercial Offers for Sale

Before analyzing the evidence and contentions of

the parties concerning the first prong of Pfaff (t.e., the

commercial offer for sale), it is significant to recall that

Judge Feikens previously concluded, on summary

judgment, that the second prong had been satisfied by

virtue of the inventions of claims 1, 8, 11 and 25 being

“ready to be patented as of May 1992.” 55 F. Supp.2d

702, 734. That finding was reinforced by subsequently

introduced evidence warranting the conclusion that

the claimed invention was ready for patenting before

the June 6, 1994 critical date. See, e.g., Amended

Liability R & R at 61, 72-73 and 80-81.''Furthermore,

it is also the law of the case that the assembly method

that Lacks was offering to perform, and the composite

wheels it was offering to sell in conjunction with a

wheel-manufacturing partner before the critical date

of June 6, 1994, corresponded with the invention of the

Remaining Claims. Amended Liability R & R at 79.

See also, Section II-C, supra.

As another preliminary point, the Special Master

notes that one of the challenges that Lacks raises

against each of the alleged commercial offer for sale

transactions is that Defendants have not shown by

'' Still further corroborating evidence is found in Exhibit 1039

from the present proceedings, a March 4, 1994 Lacks SCORE

submission to Chrysler stating that “CHROMTEC has passed all

required durability tests conducted at Lacks Inc.”

70a

clear and convincing evidence that the assembly

method contemplated by the quotation or proposal

corresponded to the method of the Remaining Claims.

As noted in Section II-C above, however, it is the law

of the case that the assembly method Lacks was

offering throughout the period covered by these

transactions was the ready-for-patenting method of

the Remaining Claims (Amended Liability R & R at

79). Defendants met their clear and convincing burden

on that issue in the original trial. Significantly, in the

present proceedings, Lacks has not come forward with

any affirmative evidence that the offered assembly

method was other than the patented method.

1. The Ford F-150 Wheel Offer

Defendants contend that) in June of 1993, Lacks

offered to perform the method of the Remaining

Claims of the ‘213 Patent to produce overlays and

apply them to wheels for the Ford F-150 pick-up truck,

and that such offer constituted a commercial offer for

sale before the June 6, 1994 critical date.

As documentary support for this contention,

Defendants principally rely on Exhibit 1002, one of a

series of documents produced from the files of Ford

Motor Company employee, Mr. Terry Eifert, following

remand of this case. This two-page document is an

internal Lacks memorandum, dated June 21, 1993,

from Mr. Kent Van Timmeren (Lacks’ cost estimator)

to Mr. Lee Chase (Lacks’ Product Development

Manager and the patentee of the ‘213 patent). The first

page provides an estimated piece price, tooling costs

and information regarding the timing for obtaining the

tooling for a PN-96 Sport Whee! Overlay (for the 1997

model year F-150 truck). It states that the price

Tla

includes assembly and that the cladding will be

assembled to the wheel with RTV adhesive and five

screws. The second page of this exhibit provides a

breakdown of the tooling costs. Of significance to

Defendants’ contention are Eifert’s handwritten notes

appearing on that second page, further discussed

below. Along with Exhibit 1002, Ford also produced

from Eifert’s file a preliminary design verification plan

and report (Exh. 1003), a preliminary drawing of a PN

96 wheel, which states in the title block “Preliminary

for quote” (Exh. 1004) and a series of Lacks’ brochures

(Exh. 1005).

In discovery before the original liability trial, Lacks

produced the first page of Exhibit 1002, without the

second page, and without Ejifert’s applied notes that

appeared on his own file copy. Defendants explain that

they did not originally pursue the subject of this

apparently one-page document during the liability

trial, because it appeared to be only an internal

memorandum. Post-remand discovery, however,

includes testimony of Ejifert, Chase and others

concerning this document and its’ disputed

significance, as well as Lacks’ own copy of the original

two-page memorandum.

According to Eifert’s deposition testimony, Ford

was planning to release several optional wheel

appearances for different vehicle packages, but in the

first half of 1993 Ford’s Chief Engineer asked him if

there was a way that Ford could use a single high-

volume wheel, but with multiple wheel cover options.

That idea would permit tooling costs and wheel-testing

to be substantially reduced (EFifert Dep. at 18-19).

72a

Coincidentally, Ford’s quest coincided with Lacks’

vigorous promotion of its new wheel-cladding

technology to Ford and others. As described in the

Special Master’s Amended Liability R & R following

the original liability trial, Lacks’ sales rep Czarnota

had at least 15 meetings with Ford between August

31, 1992 and June 2, 1994, and Lacks presented a pair

of “Technology Updates” in June of 1993, at which

samples, drawings and printed materials were shown

to “a couple of hundred” purchasing, engineering and

sales personnel of Ford and Chrysler (Amended

Liability R & R at 74-75).

When Ejifert asked Czarnota if he had any

suggestions responsive to the Chief Engineer’s request,

Czarnota informed him of Lacks’ composite wheel.

Following that initial conversation, Eifert and several

dozen other Ford personnel attended Lacks’ June 2-3,

1993 Technology Update and saw the composite wheel

technology displays and literature. EFifert thought that

might be a viable concept, and therefore asked Lacks

to make a proposal for producing chrome-plated

cladded wheels (Eifert Dep. at 15-16, 19-22). Lacks’

response was the June 21, 1993 memorandum of

Exhibit 1002 described above, along with the other

documentation of Exhibits 1003-07 (Jd. at 23-24; Exh.

1001, 99). Exhibit 1002 included a piece price of

$17.29; a breakdown of tooling costs; and details

regarding weight, mode of attachment (“five (5) screws

and RTV adhesive”), packaging and_ production

timeline measured from “completion of design.””” Eifert

'? Fifert testified that this piece price included installation by

Lacks and was independent of the quantity of wheels and of the

particular wheel to which the cladding would be applied, and that

73a

discussed these materials with Lacks personnel,

acquiring additional information, as reflected in his

contemporaneous handwritten comments on his file

copy of Exhibit 1002 (Exh. 1001, 711; Dep. at 29). He

testified that it was his understanding, consistent with

the memorandum?’s reference to RTV adhesive, that

Lacks’ proposal contemplated use of a thin film of

adhesive, with less than full-surface coverage, as

specified by the method of the Remaining Claims (d.

at 33, 35, 38).

Fifert’s signed statement commented on Lacks’

June 21, 1993 memorandum:

The June 21, 1993 Memorandum [Exh,. 1002]

contained all of the essential elements necessary

for me to have Ford’s purchasing department

prepare a purchase order for submission to

Lacks. Those necessary elements were the

weight of the part, pricing for the part and

tooling, and timing for delivery.

*

* *

Based upon Ford’s standard procedures, if we

had decided to accept Lacks’ proposal, the next

step would have been to issue Lacks a purchase

order for prototypes, based upon the

information provided in the June 21, 1993

proposal.

Exh. 1001, 913-14 (emphasis added); see also, Eifert

Dep. at 44-45, 81-82, 86-90.

the production timeline referred to full-scale production rather

than to prototype parts (/d. at 31, 34, 73, 92)

T4a

Similarly, Eifert testified that Exh. 1002 was an

offer “that [Ford] could take Lacks up on,” and that

Ford would consider Lacks to be bound by the terms of

the offer if Ford chose to accept it (42-43). Former Ford

purchasing executive Ross stated that when such

information is presented by a supplier, “in the absence

of any disclaimer that it should not be considered

binding, it is normally assumed by Ford Engineering

and Purchasing that the supplier is committing to

provide the product at the performance, cost and

timing levels presented, if Ford chooses to accept their

proposal.” Continuing, “these informal commitments

are regarded as binding as if they were part of a

formal written contract.” Ross Report, Exh. 1080,

119c, 10. Further agreeing with Eifert’s testimony,

Ross stated that Exh. 1002:

... had all the basic elements necessary for Ford

Purchasing to award PN96 business to Lacks

Industries and issue a purchase order. These

elements being; part price (including

installation), tooling, part weight, expected

volume, vehicle application, timing for tooling

completion, production part sample approval

and production availability. [Exhibits 1002

through 1007] include all the basic data that

normally would be considered necessary to issue

a purchase order and confirm sourcing. While

information pertaining to FOB terms, payment

terms, payment address, currency to be used,

economic level of cost data and shipping location

will also be needed to complete a formal

purchase order, such data are_ generally

assumed to already be known and are normally

the same from purchase order to purchase

75a

order, based on ongoing dealings with the

supplier.

Exh. 1080, pp.14-15 (emphasis added). See also,

Matton Report, Exh. 1084, pp. 6-7. As cited in Section

II-E above, Ross described how awards of business

during the relevant period confirmed by less formal

means than the traditional purchase order.

Lacks attack on the sufficiency of Exhibit 1002 as

a commercial offer to sell, because of its omission of

essential terms, is rebutted by the foregoing testimony

of Ejifert and Ross. The role of Lacks as a

process-performing Tier 2 supplier is further

justification for the absence of several of the otherwise

expected terms of Lacks’ Exhibit 1002 quotation. While

the product that Ford would purchase would be the

wheel with the overlay already assembled to it, Ford’s

purchase price would have built into it the cost of the

wheel itself (manufactured by a Tier 1 supplier), plus

the cost of the chrome-plated overlay (manufactured by

Lacks), plus the cost of assembling the overlay to the

wheel (performed by Lacks in accordance with the

method of the Remaining Claims). Lacks would be the

Tier 2 supplier. Lacks would receive a wheel from the

Tier 1 supplier and assemble the Lacks-made overlay

to it, and then either (1) return the assembly to the

Tier 1 supplier or (2) ship the assembly directly to

Ford. Either way, Lacks’ quoted cost estimate of

$17.29 would be built into the price paid by Ford, and

it was “independent of the [specific] wheel.” Eifert Dep.

at 73-75. Ford would have to approve the design and

performance of the assembled wheel, as well as Lacks’

price for the overlay itself and the assembly operation,

but because Lacks would be a Tier 2 supplier, its

76a

overlay/assembly charges would be covered by the Tier

1 wheel manufacturer’s total selling price to Ford.

Thus, that document does not _ include

specifications, drawings, price or manufacturer of the

unclad wheel itself, and quantity, each of which terms

were “independent of” the patented method according

to Eifert. Because Lacks was offering to perform its

process on the identified Ford wheels, those particular

omissions do not render the alleged commercial offer

either incomplete or indefinite.

Lacks also points to other missing contractual

terms, such as time and place of delivery and payment

terms. Ross testimony quote

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hayes Lemmerz International, Inc. v. Lacks Industries, Inc. (No. 08-1177) | Frix