Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Columbia Iron & Metal Co. Co. v. Lincoln Electric Co. (No. 08-934)

Supreme Court brief2009

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

Pree BO

\ (\) O8 934 Jan 15 2009

NO. —__OPFICE OF THE CLERK

Jn Whe

Supreme Court of the United States

COLUMBIA IRON & METAL CO.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

LINCOLN ELECTRIC COMPANY, Aanp

PROFILE GRINDING, INC.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LESLIE W. JACOBS

Counsel of Record

THOMPSON HINE LLP

3900 KEY CENTER

127 PUBLIC SQUARE

CLEVELAND, OH 44114-1291

(216) 566-5675

Attorneys for Petitioner

January 15, 2009

Becker Gallagher + Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where a jury is instructed on two different bases

for tolling the statute of limitations, one of which is

clearly erroneous and the other of which is deemed

acceptable, may the verdict stand because the jury

“could have” followed the acceptable instruction even

though the court is unable to find that the jury did not

instead follow only the erroneous instruction?

2. May a trial court omit a Rule 23(c)(2)(B) notice to

absent class members in a Rule 23(b)(3) class action

and thereafter substitute a partial settlement notice

under Rule 23(e)(1)(B) without including the

admonition specified in Rule 23(c)(2)(B) that a

subsequent judgment in the continuing litigation

against the non-settling defendants would be binding

on the class members?

il

RULE 14.1(b) STATEMENT

A list of aj] parties to the proceeding in the court

whose judgment is the subject of this petition is as

follows:

Defendant-Appeliant and Petitioner: Columbia Iron &

Metal Co.

Plaintiffs-Appellees and Respondents: Lincoln Electric

Company and Profile Grinding, Inc. as representatives

of a class of generators of ferrous scrap in Cuyahoga,

Lake, Lorain, Medina, Summit, Stark and Ashtabula

counties in the State of Ohio from December 1992 to

March 2000.

lil

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The parent corporation of Petitioner Columbia Iron

& Metal Co. is Columbia National Group, Inc. Neither

corporation is publicly held, and no publicly held

company owns 10% or more of either corporation’s

stock.

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ......... ccc ccc ccc cceces i

Rule 14.1(b) Statement ..... wc wees il

Corporate Disclosure Statement .............. ill

eee y's ko owed ean eee eee iv

Pewee OF AWtOritiee «ww i eee vil

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari ............... I

Go Bo a 1

UE os aie ea ee ek eo 1

Statutory Provisions and Rule Involved ........ 1

CATING GE Ett LOD ko ok he eee awe 2

A. Class Certification and Notice ........... 2

B. Jury Instructions on Limitations Periods .. 3

C. Damages Evidence and Verdict .......... 6

Ee I ee ey Se pees 7

ep ae ost a he argh st aa ane es 8

Reasons for Granting the Petition ............. 8

v

I. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT'S NEW STANDARD

FOR AFFIRMING AN AMBIGUOUS JURY

VERDICT DEPARTS FROM ITS OWN

PRIOR STANDARD, CONFLICTS WITH

THE STANDARD ADOPTED IN OTHER

CIRCUITS AND CONTRADICTS THE

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT ......... 13

A. The Sixth Circuit’s New Standard, that

a Verdict Can Stand Where the Jury

Was Instructed on Alternate Theories

and May Have Followed Either a

Correct or an Erroneous Instruction,

Will Permit Juries to Rely upon Clear

ee eee ee eee ee 14

B. The Sixth Circuit’s Standard Will Allow

Reviewing Courts to Affirm Verdicts

without Examining the Errors upon

which the Verdicts May Be Based .... 17

Il. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT HAS ELIMINATED

THE REQUIREMENT OF CIVIL RULE

23(c)(2)(B) FOR NOTICE TOA CERTIFIED

RULE 23(5)(3) CLASS OF THE BINDING

EFFECT OF A CLASS JUDGMENT. .... 18

Hi.THE SIXTH CIRCUIT PERMITS A FINAL

JUDGMENT THAT DOES NOT CONFORM

TO CIVIL RULE 23(cXS) .............. 20)

Conclusion

vi

Appendix

Appendix A: Sixth Circuit Opinion and

Judgement, May 15, 2008 ........eeseeees la

Appendix B: District Court Judgment, February

I rae er reer ree Sh La ey eB a 37a

Appendix C: Sixth Circuit Order Denying

Rehearing, October 20, 2008 ............. 39a

Appendix D: Statutory Provisions Involved

Section 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §1 41a

Section 4(a) of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C.

Be tee ae i TN a 4la

Section 4B of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C.

RE SE ial gg ED mae oa ge Pe 43a

Section 5 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C.

TE ees Oe re aS eG wea aca 43a

Appendix E: Rules Provision Involved

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23 ..... 44a

Appendix F: Jury Instruction on Statutory

, a ae = A eo a a 49a

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Allen v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.,

241 F.3d 1293 (10th Cir. 2001) ............ 10

Auins v. White,

er ie ee te” ee, TI ove oc ove va eck 10

Cramer v. United States,

es os i, Ss se oak ered ae hs 10

Dillard & Sons Const. Inc. v. Burnup & Sims,

61 F.3e SiC (10th Cir. 1905) . ow oo ce ie 10

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin,

ges Me Go, Sear 19, 20

Harwood v. Partredereit AF 15.5.81,

944 F.2d 1187 (4th Cir. 1991), cert. Cenied, 503

a ee Ceo. os dake yes ee sh oaks 10

Herrington v. Edwards,

1999 U.S. App. LEXIS 1220 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 527 U.S. 1049 (1999) ........... 10, 11

Kosters v. The Seven-Up Co.,

595 F.2d 347 (6th Cir. 1979) .............. 11

McMurray v. Deere and Co.,

858 F.2d 1436 (10™ Cir. 1988) ............. 10

Morrissey v. Natl Mar. Union of Am.,

SO6 F200 Cale Wir. TOTE) oc cc ee ces 10

Vill

Robinson v. Union Carbide Corp.,

644 F.2d 1258 (5th Cir. 1977) ............. 19

Stromberg v. California,

Se SE NED ook ov eee veda aca dere” 10

Sunkist Growers, Inc. v. Winkler & Smith Citrus

Prods. Co.,

Se a BCE cc ec ce ee ee raveees 10

Terminiéillo v. City of Chicago,

SE) Oe Sy a hs ew wees 10

United New York and New Jersey Sandy Hook

Pilots Ass’n v. Halecki,

RE . ) re 10

United States v. Palazzolo,

71 F.3@ 1233 (Gth Cir. 1996) .............. 15

United States v. Rayborn,

491 F.3d 513 (6th Cir. 2007), cert. denied, 128

Se EE ED. Shen oy ee cee ee en se sehen 15

Webber v. Sobba,

322 F.3d 1032 (Sth Cir. 20Q@8) ............. 10

West Knoxville Assocs. Ltd. P’ship v. Ticor Title Ins.

Co.,

1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 23942 (6th Cir. 1997) . 11

Williams v. North Carolina,

elg es My ee” | 10

ix

Woods v. Sammisa Co.,

873 F.2d 842 (5th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493

US. 1060 CIGRGF wc sc cee. Es oaks. 10

Yates v. United States,

O06 U.G. Be eek seca cee 10, 14

FEDERAL STATUTES

LG UG Be re re sc cece cece 1

1D AA ee PU TG ys cesses recone 2

16 U.S. Soe So Sa ce see eee. 2,4

OOM ER ROM 2,4

28 UG. Game ae ect re cease i

SO UAL, Gee gcc te eee ee ]

SUPREME COURT RULE

Bewabe 15.8 sb ee es a vas kc ac cccee 1

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

pAT >. GR i 2,9

FUUI@ DOC ee ey kc cee eae. passim

Reunke BOGE) i cp eS kee 18

Beare SOC ES eccc ce cee 20

Rule 23(cM3)....... cece ee cece. 7, 12, 20, 21, 22

ey OS SS Len 9 ree ee 3, 19, 21

TEXTS

ABA Section of Litigation, Business and

Commercial Litigation in Federal Courts (2d ed.

ABA AT-Daily Digest (Jan. 14, 2009)........... 8

Federal Judicial Ctr., The Manual for Complex

Litigation (4th ed. 2004) ................. 18

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Columbia Iron & Metal Co. (“CIMCO”) respectfully

petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the opinion

and judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit, dated May 15, 2008, is officially reported

as In re: Scrap Metal Antitrust Litigation at 527 F.3d

517 and is reproduced at App. A, la.

The order of the U.S. Court of Appeals denying

rehearing, dated November 19, 2008, is reproduced at

App. C, 39a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit sought to be reviewed was entered on

May 15, 2008. This petition is timely under 28 U.S.C.

§2101(c) and Supreme Court Rule 13.3 because it is

being filed within 90 days of the entry of the order on

November 19, 2008 denying rehearing of the opinion

and judgment sought to be reviewed. This Court has

jurisdiction to review the judgment of the U.S. Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND

RULE EVVOLVED

The relevanu statutory provisions involved are

Section 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §1; Section

2

4(a) of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §15(a); Section 4B of

the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §15b; and Section 5 of the

Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. §16(i), which are reproduced at

App. D, 4la- 43a. The relevant rule involved is

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23, the pertinent

portions of which are reproduced at App. E, 44a — 48a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arose from a federal grand jury

investigation of the scrap metal industry in Northeast

Ohio. Several individuals and companies were

charged at different times over a period of years with

entering into agreements to rig bids for purchases of

scrap or to allocate certain scrap generators in

violation of Section 1 of the Sherman Act (15 U.S.C.

$1). Petitioner was never charged.

After the first criminal charge was _ publicly

announced in early 2000, several scrap gencrators filed

class actions seeking treble damages under Section 4

of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. §15). Those cases were

consolidated into this class action. On August 15,

2002, petitioner Columbia Iron & Metal Co. (“CIMCO”)

was auded as a new defendant.

A. Class Certification and Notice.

Plaintiffs moved to certify a Civil Rule 23(b)(3)

litigation class, and that motion was granted in March

2004. The trial court did not direct that any notice be

provided to the class under Civil Rule 23(c), and none

was sent at that time.

In May 2004, the trial court preliminarily approved

settlements with some other defendants, approved full

3

and abbreviated forms of settlement notices proposed

by class counsel, and directed dissemination of those

settlement notices to the absent class members. The

notices complied with Civil Rule 22(e) for settlement

purposes. Class members were advised of the

settlement amounts and claim procedures. They were

also informed that “[w]hether or not the settlements ...

are approved, the litigation will continue against the

non-settling defendants;” that a class member must

opt out in order to “pursue any claims against any

defendants;” and that, if a class member should opt

out, “You will be excluded from the Class Plaintiffs’

prosecution of the claims against all defendants .

land] you may present any claim you may have against

. any other defendant by filing your own lawsuit.”

However, for class members who did not opt out, there

was nothing in either form of notice that “clearly and

concisely state[d] in plain, easily understood language

... the binding effect of a class judgment on members

under Rule 23(c)(3)” as required by Civil Rule

23(c)(2)(B).

Prior to trial, CIMCO and the other non-settling

defendants objected to proceeding with class claims in

the absence of the required (c)(2)(B) notice. The trial

court denied that motion. At trial, a directed verdict

was entered against all class members who sold non-

ferrous scrap, representing almost one-half of the sales

by the class.

B. Jury Instructions on Limitations Periods.

The jury was instructed on the remaining claims

for sales of ferrous scrap. A key issue at trial was the

time period during which scrap sales by class members

were eligible for damages. Since the complaint was

4

filed against CIMCO on August 15, 2002, the standard

limitations period of four years (15 U.S.C. §15b)

exposed CIMCO to damages incurred by class

members in transactions from August 15, 1998 to the

end of the alleged conspiracy when the first

government case was filed in March 2000, a period of

19 months. CIMCO requested an instruction to that

effect, but the district court did not permit the jury to

apply the basic statute of limitations and, instead,

extended the minimum period for damages by an

additional 29 months, i.e. beginning in March 1996

rather than August 1998. The court imposed that

expansion of CIMCO’s exposure with an instruction to

the jury, which it described on the record “as a matter

of law” (App. F at 49a, emphasis in original):

In this case, the law imposes a four year limit

on the plaintiffs’ claim, which limit dates

backward from March of 2000. Thus, unless the

statute of limitations is tolled or extended for

the reasons described in the Court’s next

instruction fon fraudulent concealment], the

plainw.if may only prevail ... in the alleged

conspiracy on or after March of 1996, and may

only recover damages arising from conduct

occurring after that date.

The court based that instruction on the antitrust

tolling statute, Section 5 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C.

§16(i), set forth in App. D at 43a). The court relied on

that statute to extend the damages period back four

years from March 2000, and not from August 15, 2002

when CIMCO was sued, because the court found that

(1) when a government criminal antitrust case hac

been filed against an alleged co-conspirator in March

2000, (2) that proceeding had suspended the running

5

of the limitations clock, so that (3) the applicable

damages period commenced in March 1996, four years

prior to the commencement of the earlier government

case.

That statutory tolling instruction was clearly

erroneous because Section 5, by its express terms, does

not apply to a subsequent private case like this one

unless the defendant is sued during, or within one year

after the conclusion of, the earlier government case.

Otherwise, “any action to enforce such [private] cause

of action shall be forever barred.” The trial court

simply overlooked the information on its docket that

the March 2000 government case had ended with a

plea and sentencing on June 21, 2000, almost 26

months before CIMCO was sued. Moreover, there was

no other government proceeding filed during the one

year period after the June 2000 conclusion of the

March 2000 government case. Therefore, there was no

factual basis for the statutory tolling instruction.

The jury was also instructed (a) that it should

decide whether fraudulent concealment had been

proved so as to extend the damages period back to “the

date of the earliest injury” (alleged to be December

1992) and (b) that, if the fraudulent concealment proof

failed to convince them, “you are limited to the post-

March 1996 time period outlined in the previous

[statutory tolling] instruction.” Thus, the jury had two

choices for the damages period: (1) a minimum of 48

months based solely on statutory tolling or (2) a longer

period only if the jury found earlier fraudulent

concealment. The jury was given no choice to limit

damages to the untolled period of 19 months.

6

C. Damages Evidence and Verdict.

At trial, plaintiffs’ evidence on damages consisted

solely of the testimony of their expert. He opined that

the cartel suppressed every price paid to ferrous scrap

sellers from December 1992 (the beginning of the

damages period based on the fraudulent concealment

instruction) to the end of the conspiracy in March 2000

by 16.4%. He also testified that, by applying his rate

to all ferrous sales for the entire period, class damages

amounted to $20.9 million.

The trial court denied defendants’ request for

special interrogatories and a detailed verdict form.

Using the trial court’s more limited form, the jury

returned a verdict against CIMCO in the aggregate

amount of $11.5 million. The verdict form did not

request or reveal the time period, the transactions or

the class members the jury intended to cover by this

aggregate award. Nor did the verdict form indicate

the rate of damages used by the jury. The jury could

have reached the same aggregate damages award by

using either (a) the full 16.4% rate proposed by

plaintiffs’ expert for the period of 48 months covered

by the crroneous statutory tolling instruction or (b) a

lower, unknown rate for some longer period of time

-overed by the fraudulent concealment instruction.

The jury’s verdict is fully consistent with a rejection

of the fraudulent concealment evidence and reliance

exclusively on the trial court’s erroneous statutory

tolling instruction. If that is what the jury did,

CIMCO’s liability exposure had been wrongfully

increased by 29 months or more than 150 percent.

With nothing to distinguish between the statutory

tolling and fraudulent concealment concepts on the

7

verdict form, it was impossible to determine which of

the two instructions the jury had followed.

The trial court trebled the verdict amount, credited

the prior settlements and entered judgment against

CIMCO for the net balance. The possible impact of the

legal error on statutory tolling was profound. Even if

the jury had accepted the methodology of plaintiffs’

expert with no discount, applying those calculations to

the proper untolled limitations period would have

generated a verdict of $3.031 million. When trebled,

that amount would have been less than the prior

settlement payments obtained by plaintiffs and,

consequently, would have resulted in a judgment for

CIMCO.

D. Judgment Entry.

Civil Rule 23(c)(3) required the judgment entry to

“specify or describe those to whom the Rule 23(c)(2)

notice was directed ... and whom the court finds to be

class members.” That was impossible for two reasons.

First, there had been no Rule 23(c)(2) notice. Second,

without a definitive determination of the time period

reflected in the verdict, and with no way to identify

which of tens of thousands of generator transactions

over more than seven years the jury had included in its

own calculations, there was also no way to know who

ultimately was in the class for whom an aggregate

verdict had been returned. The judgment entry (set

forth at App. B, 37a), therefore, made no pretense of

compliance with Rule 23(c)(3).

E. Appeal.

CIMCO appealed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit. That court held that it was

unnecessary to consider the error in the first

instruction on statutory tolling of the statute of

limitations because “the jury could have reached the

verdict based on the fraudulent concealment theory” in

the alternative instruction. (App. A at 32a.) The Sixth

Circuit also held that the three general statements in

the class notice of the partial settlements - - concerning

continuation of the litigation and opt out rights - - were

sufficient to provide notice of the binding effect of the

subsequent directed verdict against a portion of the

class and a reduced judgment for another portion. The

opinion cited a 1950 case but did not address the

specific language of Rule 23(c)(2)(B). (App. A at 30a.)

The Sixth Circuit declined a petition for rehearing on

the former issue. (App. C at 39a.)

CIMCO petitions this Court for review of the Sixth

Circuit’s decision on those two holdings.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case presents important and common issues

arising in treble damages antitrust class actions.

These cases are one of the fastest growing categories

of litigation in federal courts with filings in 2008

reported to have increased by 27 percent. (ABA AT-

Daily Digest, Jan. 14, 2009.)

Most cases of this type follow government

proceedings and are brought on behaif of large groups

of customers or suppliers who may have been impacted

by alleged cartel activity. Classes of this type, which

9

are seeking damages, are customarily certified, if at

all, under Civil Rule 23(b)(3) because of common

questions of law or tact. The effect of the prior

government cases on the limitations periods for the

subsequent private actions, and the proper judicial

management of the class action procedure, are critical

to the fair resolution of these cases by federal district

courts. The prospect for trial court error in complex

litigation like this, and the temptation for courts of

appeals to accommodate error at the expense of

precedent and applicable procedural rules, can easily

corrupt a process intended to provide convenience and

efficiency to litigants without compromising their due

process rights.

This case illustrates antitrust class action problems

in two fundamental respects. The first presents jury

instructions on different premises for tolling the

antitrust statute of limitations. When _ those

instructions lead the jury to different relevant time

periods, but one is legally incorrect, it becomes critical

on review of the verdict to know whether the jury

relied on the incorrect instruction or a _ correct

instruction to set ti.e time parameters for both

evidence of a violation and calculation of damages.

The second issue, which is inherent in every (b)(3)

class action, is the seriousness of the command in Rule

23 that the trial court “must” provide certain

information in a notice to the absent members of the

class. When a district judge omits any of the specified

categories and class members are left to infer the

information or never to learn of it, the court has not

meaningfully satisfied the Rule’s directive that each

item listed in Rule 23(c)(2)(B) “must [be] clearly and

concisely stateld) in plain, easily understood

language.” Trial courts and litigants need to confront

10

these basic elements of ordinary due process in a

diligent and objective manner.

This Court has held on multiple occasions that a

criminal conviction’ or civil judgment” must be

reversed when it cannot be determined whether the

jury’s verdict was based on an erroneous instruction or

an alternative correct instruction. The Court has

applied that rule where the correct and incorrect

instructions involved different limitations periods,’

and it has reversed and remanded an antitrust treble

damages verdict on that ground.*’ Numerous circuit

courts” (including the Sixth Circuit until this

‘ Stromberg v. California, 283 U.S. 359, 367-68 (1931)); Williams

v. North Carolina, 317 U.S. 287, 291-92 (1942); Cramer v. United

States, 325 U.S. 1, 36 n.45 (1945); Terminiello v. City of Chicago,

337 U.S. 1, 5-6 (1949); Yates v. United States, 354 U.S. 298, 312

(1957).

* United New York and New Jersey Sandy Hook Pilots Ass’n v.

Halecki, 358 U.S. 613, 619 (1959); Sunkist Growers, Inc. uv.

Winkler & Smith Citrus Prods. Co., 370 U.S. 19, 29-30 (1962).

° Yates, supra n.1.

* Sunkist, supra n.2.

® See, e.g., Morrissey v. Nat'l Mar. Union of Am., 544 F.2d 19, 26-

27 (2d Cir. 1976); Avins v. White, 627 F.2d 637, 646 (3™ Cir. 1980);

Harwood v. Partredereit AF 15.5.81, 944 F.2d 1187, 1192-93 (4""

Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S. 907 (1992); Woods v. Summisa

Co., 873 F.2d 842, 853-54 (5° Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S.

1050 (1990); Webber v. Sobba, 322 F.3d 1032, 1038(8" Cir. 2003);

McMurray v. Deere and Co., 858 F.2d 1436, 1444 (10 Cir. 1988);

Dillard & Sons Const. Inc. v. Burnup & Sims, 51 F.3d 910, 916

(10° Cir 1995); Allen v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 241 F.3d 1293,

1298-99 (10"' Cir. 2001).

11

case’) have reversed judgments in civil and admiralty

cases and remanded for a new trial unless it is

virtually certain that an incorrect instruction could not

have led to the jury verdict.

In this case, the Sixth Circuit adopted a new

standard, viz. that the jury verdict must be affirmed so

long as the jury “could have” relied on a correct

instruction instead of the erroneous one. This

standard not only conflicts with the principle set forth

in this Court’s precedents and the holdings of other

circuit courts, but it undermines litigants’ assurance of

due process by allowing juries to rely upon incorrect

instructions on the applicable law.

This Court has also mandated the best notice

practicable for a certified Rule 23(b)(3) class. Rule

23(c)(2)(B) was amended to eliminate any excuse for a

confusing or inadequate implementation of that

obligation. The Rule explicitly states that it is the

duty of the trial court to “direct to class members the

best notice” and then is unequivocal in its requirement

that the notice has to provide certain specified

information in terms understandable to laymen, not

just by implication to lawyers: “the notice must clearly

and concisely state in plain, easily understood

language” the express information set forth in seven

categories. Those seven categories were separated as

bullet points (now listed as subparagraphs i-vii) by the

2003 amendments to the Civil Rules (before class

®° Kosters v. The Seven-Up Co., 595 F.2d 347, 355 (6 Cir. 1979);

West Knoxville Assocs. Ltd. P’ship v. Ticor Title Ins. Co., 1997 US.

App. LEXIS 23942 at *28-29 (6" Cir. 1997); cf. Herrington v.

Edwards, 1999 U.S. App. LEXIS 1220 at *19-20 (6" Cir.), cert.

denied, 527 U.S. 1049 (1999) (criminal).

12

certification in this case) to make it obvious that each

is essential. The last category is the most important to

assure due process: according to the Rule, a class

member “must” be told “the binding effect of a class

judgment.”

This Court has had no occasion since the

promulgation of Rule 23(c)(2)(B) to encounter a lower

court that has simply ignored that mandated element

of adequate notice and deliberately proceeded to trial,

notwithstanding having been alerted to its omission.

Left uncorrected, this sort of noncompliance can be

repeated, thereby undermining the _ series of

progressively more demanding amendments to Rule 23

designed to assure due process

Civil Rule 23(c)(3) was also amended to reinforce

the requirement of a specific notice and to link that

notice to the ultimate judgment: “whether or not

favorable to the class, the judgment in a class action

must ... for any class certified under Rule 23(b)(3),

include and specify or describe those to whom the Rule

23(c)\(2) notice was directed, who have not requested

exclusion, and whom the court finds to be class

members.” This Court has never confronted a (b)(3)

class action judgment where that obligation was

completely circumvented, as it was in this case.

This Court should grant certiorari (a) to address

the application of its prior decisions to civil cases, and

the conflict between the circuits, where there is verdict

ambiguity between correct and erroneous jury

instructions, as well as (b) to require trial courts to

adhere to this Court’s class action rule.

13

I. THE SIXTH CIRCUITS NEW STANDARD

FOR AFFIRMING AN AMBIGUOUS JURY

VERDICT DEPARTS FROM ITS OWN PRIOR

STANDARD, CONFLICTS WITH THE

STANDARD ADOPTED IN OTHER CIRCUITS

AND CONTRADICTS THE DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT.

While speculating that the jury “could have” relied

on a fraudulent concealment instruction to reach its

verdict, the Sixth Circuit was unable to deny that the

jury also “could have” relied exclusively on the

erroneous statutory tolling instruction to establish the

relevant time period for both a Sherman Act violation

and class damages.

The former assumption was based on a pure guess

that the jury (a) may have considered evidence of

activities eight or nine years prior to the lawsuit for

violation purposes and (b) may have arbitrarily

reduced the rate of damages proffered by plaintiffs’

expert and substituted a lower rate of damages for

transactions from December 1992 to March 2000 (the

longer period if the fraudulent concealment instruction

was followed).

Nonetheless, the jury’s verdict was equally

consistent - - indeed, more consistent - - with plaintiffs’

argument of more recent wrongful acts in 1996 and

application of the expert’s full rate of damages just to

transactions from March 1996 to March 2000 (the

erroneous statutory tolling period). That possibility

would mean that the jury had rejected fraudulent

concealment as a matter of fact and had followed only

the erroneous statutory tolling instruction. There is

14

nothing in the record to resolve that inherent

uncertainty.

A. The Sixth Circuit’s New Standard, that a

Verdict Can Stand Where the Jury Was

Instructed on Alternate Theories and May

Have Followed Either a Correct or an

Erroneous Instruction, Will Permit Juries to

Rely upon Clear Errors of Law.

In Yates v. United States, 354 U.S. 298, 312 (1957),

this Court reaffirmed the requirement of reversal,

which it had established in a series of state and federal

criminal cases (n. 1, supra), where it cannot clearly be

determined whether the jury verdict was based on a

correct or an incorrect instruction of the law:

In these circumstances we think the proper rule

to be applied is that which requires a verdict to

be set aside in cases where the verdict is

supportable on one ground, but not on another,

and it is impossible to tell which ground the

jury selected.

The Sixth Circuit in this case effectively reversed

the impact of this rule by holding that the mere

possibility that an acceptable instruction “could have”

led to a verdict is sufficient to affirm. In so holding,

the Sixth Circuit not only deviated from the proper

rule enunciated by this Court and applied by other

circuit courts in civil cases, it also set aside its own

prior jurisprudence on this issuc.

The distinction between harmless and reversible

error in the face of dueling instructions always had

turned on whether the jury’s verdict “necessarily

15

demonstrates” that a “valid ground,” and not a legally

incorrect one, was the basis for the jury’s decision. See

discussion in United States v. Palazzolo, 71 F.3d 12338,

1235-37 (6" Cir. 1995). The Sixth Circuit had

acknowledged in its prior decisions that a “view of

probabilities concerning the jury’s reasoning” should

not sustain a verdict; there must be “a conclusive

showing from the record that the jury ‘necessarily’

based its verdict on” a proper instruction of the law.

Id.; cf. United States v. Rayborn, 491 F.3d 513 (6th Cir.

2007), cert. denied, 128 S.Ct. 1327 (2008) (jury verdict

affirmed where the jury “must have” followed a proper

instruction). If the Sixth Circuit had adhered to its

prior view, the virtual certainty test it had been

following would have required a reversal in this case

(Palazzolo, 71 F.3d. at 1238):

In the present case, the court gave an

instruction that was legally incorrect. The jury

had no way of determining that the instruction

misstated the law .... [T]he possibility of error

consisted of the jury following an erroneous

instruction of the law .... Indeed, we must

assume that the verdict lends itself at least to

the possibility that the jury found the

defendants guilty ... under an [erroneous]

instruction....

Instead of adhering to that principle, the Sixth Circuit

has now embraced the sufficiency of a mere possibility

that the jury ignored the erroneous instruction.

Other circuits have faithfully fellowed this Court’s

rule in civil cases (n. 3, supra). This case marks a

dramatic departure from the “must have,” “necessarily

conclusive showing” and “absolute

”» «

demonstrates,

16

certainty” criteria previously required to sustain an

ambiguous general verdict by adopting the very

different standard that a verdict will be affirmed

merely because the jury “could have” ignored an

incorrect instruction and, instead, applied another.

The Sixth Circuit has substituted a possibility test for

a certainty test, thereby expanding the class of cases

that will be immune from reversal and a new trial,

notwithstanding a jury’s acceptance of a clear error of

law.

The concept that a court can (1) provide a jury

multiple ways to arrive at a verdict, (2) give jurors

correct law on just one of those ways, (3) not be able to

determine whether they followed the correct or the

incorrect law and (4) accept the verdict because it is

merely possible that the jury itself “could have”

ignored every erroncous instruction, constitutes a

license for trial courts to be casual - - even reckless - -

in their instructions so long as at least one alternative

is accurate. Verdicts that are in fact the consequence

of a jury accepting a clear error of law will routinely be

exempt from reversal.

That approach, if tolerated by this Court, will

motivate parties to seek erroneous and prejudicial

alternative instructions, then argue them to the jury,

with the comfort that there is much to gain and

nothing to lose. Successful overreaching can generate

an enormous benefit without making a verdict induced

by procured error vulnerable on appeal. That is what

happened in this case with plaintiffs successfully

arguing for, in fact inducing, the erroneous statutory

toiling instruction.

17

A change this antithetical to prevailing law, the

traditional review of jury verdicts and fundamental

requirements of due process should not be tolerated.

Once the gate is opened for this kind of gamesmanship

at the trial level, there is no systemic discipline

because there is no risk of a negative consequence for

leading the trial court astray, and fata] legal errors are

likely to recur with some frequency.

B. The Sixth Circuit’s Standard Will Allow

Reviewing Courts to Affirm Verdicts without

Examining the Errors upon which the

Verdicts May Be Based.

The disposition below demonstrates’ the

consequence of the Sixth Circuit’s new approach. This

Court’s rule, and that of other circuits, has mandated

an examination of alternative instructions and

reversal of an ambiguous verdict where any of the

relevant instructions was legally incorrect. Under the

Sixth Circuit approach, a reviewing court can, and

presumably will, eschew a concern for errors and,

instead, pursue a search for any alternate correct

instruction on which the jury might have relied.

Having found at least one route to a verdict that would

have been lawful, the court of appeals would then not

need to consider whether any of the other possible

routes actually used by the jury would have caused the

jury to base its decision on legal error.

That is precisely what happened in this case. The

Sixth Circuit first concluded that the jury “could have”

reached its verdict by applying the fraudulent

concealment instruction. Then the court declined to

address the statutory tolling instruction on the

principle that it had become superfluous: “Because we

18

conclude that the jury could have reached the verdict

based on the fraudulent concealment theory, we do not

reach [CIMCO’s] objection to the statutory tolling

instruction.” (App. A at 32a.)

That approach to judicial review has abandoned the

rule announced by this Court, followed by the other

circuits, and previously endorsed by the Sixth Circuit

itself. Having found one unpoisoned piece of fruit in a

basket, the Sixth Circuit eschews any concern whether

the victim actually ate a different and fatal piece.

Il. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT HAS ELIMINATED

THE REQUIREMENT OF CIVIL RULE

23(c(2)(B) FOR NOTICE TO A CERTIFIED

RULE 23(b)(3) CLASS OF THE BINDING

EFFECT OF A CLASS JUDGMENT.

For decades, Rule 23(c) has required an explicit

notice to a Rule 23(b)(3) trial class of the binding effect

of a judgment on the absent members of the class. “At

least where a claim for legal relief in the form of

monetary damages is at stake, each class member’s

interest in litigation is presumptively sufficient to

constitute a property interest for purposes of the Due

Process Clause.” ABA Section of Litigation, Business

and Commercial Litigation in Federal Courts (2d ed.

2005), §16:29 at 348. “[T]he notice requirements of

Rule 23(c)(2) for 23(b)(3) class actions are mandatory

and may not be waived at the discretion of the district

court.” Id., §16:38 at 367.

The seven essential components for sufficient notice

to a Rule 23(b)(3) class were separated as bullet points

in the 2003 version of Rule 23(c) to make them even

more obvious. The Manual for Complex Litigation,

19

Fourth (§1.311) makes the point unequivocally that

none of them is optional. This Court explained in

Eisen v. Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156, 176 (1974)

(omission in original) that “The Advisory Committee

described (c)(2) as ‘not merely discretionary and added

that the ‘mandatory notice pursuant to subdivision

(c)(2) ...is designed to fulfill requirements of due

process to which the class action procedure is of course

subject.”

The class notice is intended to protect both the

absent class members and the defendant. The former

are entitled to know that, if they entrust their claim to

the counsel who has volunteered to rerresent them,

they will be obliged to accept whatever result he may

achieve. The defendant is entitled to protection from

second-guessing by a disgruntled class member who

may otherwise believe he can sit on the sideline and

choose to opt in to take advantage of only a desirable

outcome. Courts have described this problem as

“sideline sitting.” See, e.g., Robinson v. Union Carbide

Corp., 544 F.2d 1258, 1262 (5th Cir. 1977).

By its decision in this case, the Sixth Circuit now

permits general language in a notice of partial

settlements under Rule 23(e) - - concerning opt out

rights and the fact that litigation will continue against

non-settling defendants - - to replace a Rule

23(c)(2)(B) notice with no reference whatsoever to the

binding effect on class members of any later judgment

for or against the non-settling defendants. While

someone legally trained may infer that this would be

the ultimate consequence of ongoing litigation, a class

notice is directed to laymen with httle or no familiarity

with legal procedure.

20

When a layman is told that “the litigation will

continue,” that he must opt out to “pursue any claims

against any defendants,” including the settling

defendants, and that, if he opts out, he “will be

excluded” from the class and may “present any claim

... by filing ycur own lawsuit,” he does not necessarily

understand that he will have no later opportunity to

avoid or challenge a result with which he disagrees.

That is why Rule 23(c)(2)(B) obligates the trial court to

make that clear. The Sixth Circuit has seriously

eroded that requirement by endorsing notice language

that cannot be said to meet the requirement of Rule

23(c(2B) for clear, concise, plain and easily

understood language explaining that point.

Since settlements with fewer than all defendants

are common in antitrust conspiracy cases, and

plaintiffs’ counsel are often inclined to seek approval!

of those settlements to facilitate interim distributions

of the proceeds and payment of fees before a trial

against the remaining defendants, this form of

inadequate notice, if tolerated, can easily proliferate.

Il. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT PERMITS A FINAL

JUDGMENT THAT DOES NOT CONFORM

TO CIVIL RULE 23(c)(3).

When the trial court consciously proceeded to a

final judgment without satisfying the notice

requirement, clarifying the verdict or amending the

class certification order, the court deliberately ignored

both the language of Rule 23(c)(1)(C) and Justice

Douglas’ observation in Eisen, supra, 417 U.S. at 184,

that “[i]Jt is as plain as words can make it that the

court which decides that a full class action can be

21

maintained can alter or amend its order ‘before the

decision on the merits.”

Rule 23(c)(3) performs two important functions.

First, it demands clarity in a class action judgment for

purposes of identifying those to whom it applies and to

facilitate enforcement. Second, it imposes self-

discipline on the trial court by forcing a reconciliation

between the formal disposition of the case and the

process by which the case reached its conclusion.

Thus, for a (b)(3) class, Rule 23(c)(3) requires a link to

the specific form of notice mandated by Rule

23(c)(2)(B), and it also requires a link to the verdict to

establish those persons covered by the jury’s decision.

When it entered its judgment (set forth at App. B,

37a-38a), the court was incapable of complying with

the explicit requirements of Rule 23(c)(3). Since no

(c)(2) notice had ever been directed to anyone, the

court was unable to satisfy the provision that “the

judgment in a class action must...specify or describe

those to whom the Rule 23(c)(2) notice was directed.”

The judgment did not even identify those receiving the

Rule 23(e) settlement notice. Since there was no way

to determine which generators of ferrous scrap had

been included by the jury - - those selling from 1992 to

2000 or only those selling from 1996 to 2000, the court

was unable to satisfy the provision that “the judgment

in a Class action must ... specify or describe those ...

whom the court finds to be class members.”

Having accommodated the trial court’s notice

deficiency, and having concluded that the inherent

ambiguity in the transactions and class members the

jury intended to include in its aggregate verdict was

also acceptable, the Sixth Circuit chose to ignore the

22

derivative defects in the judgment entry without

comment.

The form of judgment adopted by the trial court

and its acceptance by the Sixth Circuit effectively

nullified Rule 23(c)(3). This approach will eliminate

the discipline imposed by the Rule to assure that the

disposition of a class action accurately reflects

satisfaction of the necessary procedural and due

process prerequisites.

CONCLUSION

The petition should be granted and a writ of

certiorari issued to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Leshie W. Jacobs

Counsel of Record

THOMPSON HINE LLP

3900 Key Center

127 Public Square

Cleveland, OH 44114-1291

(216) 566-5675

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-4511

[Decided and Filed: May 15, 2008]

In re: SCRAP METAL )

ANTITRUST LITIGATION _)

)

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Ohio at Cleveland.

No. 02-00844—-Kathleen McDonald O’Malley,

District Judge.

Argued: October 30, 2007

Before: BATCHELDER, COLE, and SUTTON, Circuit

Judges.

OPINION

R. GUY COLE, JR., Circuit Judge. Defendant-

Appellant Columbia Iron and Metal Company

(“Columbia”) appeals a jury verdict finding Columbia

liable for antitrust violations and awarding the

Plaintiffs-Appellees damages exceeding $20 million.

The most critical question on appeal relates to the

damages testimony of Plaintiffs-Appellees’ expert, Dr.

Jeffrey Leitzinger. Columbia asserts that Leitzinger’s

2a

damages calculations are unreliable, and that the

district court therefore erred in admitting his

testimony. Columbia also raises three additional

arguments on appeal: (1) the damages award is not

supported by sufficient evidence and represents an

impermissible “fluid recovery”; (2) the district court

improperly allowed the case to proceed as a class

action; and (3) the district court improperly instructed

the jury on the tolling of the statute of limitations.

Finding no reversible error by the district court, we

AFFIRM the verdict and damages award.

I. BACKGROUND

Plaintiffs-Appellees Lincoln Electric Company and

Profile Grinding, Inc. filed suit in 2002 on behalf of

themselves and a class of industrial scrap-generating

companies in Northeastern Ohio (collectively,

“Plaintiffs”) against, inter alia, Defendant-Appellant

Columbia; Columbia National Group (Columbia’s

parent company); Harry Rock & Associates; M.

Weingold & Co., Inc.; DeMilta Iron and Metal; Bay

Metal, Inc.; Bluestar Metal Recycling, Inc.; and

Parkwood Iron and Metal, Inc. (collectively,

“Defendants”). Plaintiffs generate scrap metal, both

ferrous (iron-based) and nonferrous, as a byproduct of

their manufacturing. Plaintiffs sell the unprocessed

scrap metal to brokers and dealers, such as

Defendants, who then haul, clean, sort, and process

the scrap before selling it to end users, such as steel

mills. The movement of unprocessed scrap from

generators to dealers generally works as foliows: The

dealers submit bids to the generators for the purchase

of unprocessed scrap during a specified time period at

a set price. In setting their bid price, dealers consult

various trade publications, which report the prevailing

3a

prices that dealers can expect to charge users for the

scrap after they have processed it. To ensure that they

turn a profit, dealers set their bid price for the

unprocessed scrap below the amount they will

ultimately charge the users for the processed scrap. If

the bid is accepted by the scrap generator, the

generator and the dealer enter into a contract at the

bid price for the bid period.

In this case, Plaintiffs allege that Defendants

violated § 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1, by

conspiring to restrain and eliminate competition in the

purchase of unprocessed industrial scrap metal in

Northeastern Ohio. Specifically, Plaintiffs claim that

Defendants engaged in a variety of unlawful acts

including allocating scrap metal generators among

dealers, agreeing not to compete with one another,

submitting rigged bids, setting prices for the purchase

of unprocessed scrap metal, and imposing financial

penalties on co-conspirators for disobeying allocation

agreements.

On May 30, 2003, Plaintiffs moved to certify a class

consisting of all generators who sold scrap metal to

Defendants and/or their co-conspirators between

December 1992 and March 2000. The district court

certified the class in March 2004.

Prior to trial, Plaintiffs settled with or dismissed all

but three Defendants. In 2005, the remaining

Defendants, including Columbia, filed a motion to

preclude damages testimony from Plaintiffs’ expert

economist, Dr. Jeffrey Leitzinger. The district court

denied the motion, finding that Defendants’ arguments

relating to Leitzinger’s damages analysis went to the

weight, not the admissibility, of his testimony.

4a

Defendants then moved for summary judgment, which

the district court also denied. Three days before trial,

Columbia moved to decertify the class, claiming that it

had just discovered that the class notice was

inadequate. The district court denied Columbia's

motion, and the three remaining Defendants, including

Columbia, proceeded to trial.

At the conclusion of the trial, the court directed a

verdict against Plaintiffs for all claims relating to non-

ferrous scrap-metal sales on the ground that Plaintiffs

failed to establish any proof of injury or damages

relating to such transactions. As for the remaining

claims, those relating to ferrous scrap-metal sales, the

jury returned a verdict against Columbia only and

awarded Plaintiffs $11.5 million in damages. The

district court, pursuant to 15 U.S.C. § 15(a), tripled the

jury’s award to $34.5 million, subtracted the amount

received from the settling Defendants, and thereupon

entered a judgment against Columbia in the amount of

$23,036,000.

Columbia moved for judgment as a matter of law

and, alternatively, for a new trial or a reduction of the

damages. The district court denied both motions, and

Columbia timely appealed.

II. ANALYSIS

Columbia presents four issues on appeal. First,

Columbia claims that the district court erred in

denying its motion to exclude Leitzinger’s testimony.

Second, Columbia asserts that the evidence was

insufficient to support the damages award and that

the award represents an impermissible “fluid

recovery.” Third, Columbia argues that the district

5a

court did not comply with Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 23 in certifying a class and allowing the

case to proceed as a class action. Finally, Columbia

cnallenges the district court’s instructions to the jury

on the tolling of the statute of limitations. We address

each of these arguments in turn.

A. Admissibility of Leitzinger’s Testimony

1. Leitzinger’s Calculations

We begin by summarizing Leitzinger’s testimony,

which Plaintiffs offered to prove the amount of

damages the class incurred as a result of Defendants’

anticompetitive conduct. Leitzinger employed what is

referred to interchangeably as the “during and after”

or “before and efter” method to determine the amount

Defendants underpaid Plaintiffs for unprocessed scrap

metal. Employing this method, the profits made by

antitrust defendants during the alleged conspiracy are

compared with the profits made by the defendants in

the period after the alleged conspiracy. In simple

terms, by analyzing this difference, an expert can

determine the amount of profit during the conspiracy

period had the antitrust violation not occurred.

Presumably, the data would show that, but for the

anticompetitive conduct, the defendants’ profit margin

would have been lower and the plaintiffs’ profit margin

would have been higher.

Here, Leitzinger calculated the difference, both

during and after the alleged conspiracy, between (1)

the generator-dealer transactions, i.e., the amount the

dealers paid to the generators for unprocessed scrap

metal, and (2) the dealer-user transactions, i.e., the

amount for which the dealers sold processed scrap

6a

metal to users. Leitzinger used actual transaction data

from a sample of generators and dealers for the

generator-dealer transactions. However, in order to

control for factors other than the conspiracy that might

have affected prices, Leitzinger used index prices for

the dealer-user transactions, which were published on

a weekly basis in American Metal Market (“AMM”)

and /ron Age magazine’s Scrap Price Bulletin (“SPB”).

These index prices represented the prevailing prices

users paid dealers for processed scrap. Leitzinger

testified that Defendants also used these published

prices to determine the amount they would bid on the

generators’ unprocessed scrap. The “price spread”—the

difference between (1) the price a dealer paid to a

generator for umprocessed scrap, and (2) the

comparative figure from a price index, representing

the amount the dealer earned from selling the

processed scrap tc a user—was the dealer’s profit. By

comparing the price spread during the conspiracy

period with the price spread after the conspiracy

period, Leitzinger concluded that the results were

consistent with anticompetitive conduct: Defendants’

profits declined after the conspiracy, while the

generators’ profits rose.

Leitzinger used the SPB index to analyze only the

ferrous sqrap-metal market. He concluded that, on

average, there had been a 16.4 percent undercharge on

the purchase cf unprocessed ferrous scrap meta!

during the conspiracy period. Put another way,

Leitzinger concluded that Defendants would have paid

Plaintiffs 16.4 percent more for unprocessed ferrous

scrap metal in the absence of an antitrust conspiracy.

Because Defendants’ total purchases of ferrous scrap

metal from the class members during the class period

amounted to $127.6 million, Leitzinger calculated

7a

damages at $20.9 million ($127.6 million times 16.4

percent).

As to the non-ferrous scrap-metal market,

Leitzinger used the AMM index to make his

calculations, rather than the SPB index, because

market participants regularly used the AMM index to

price non-ferrous scrap. Leitzinger was unable to

identify any undercharge affecting dealers’ purchase of

non-ferrous scrap, which he attributed to his inability

to assemble “enough data of the right quality to be able

to really and truly see what had happened on the

nonferrous side.”

2. Scrap Price Bulletin

Columbia objects to Leitzinger’s use of the SPB

index to ascertain the pricing of dealer-user ferrous

scrap-metal sales. Although evidence at trial showed

that the SPB index was commonly used by dealers as

a benchmark for pricing processed ferrous scrap,

Columbia argues that this index is not a reliable

source for damages calculations because on December

7, 1998 and October 4, 1999, Iron Age issued a

correction to the SPB, stating that thirteen of the

eighteen categories of processed ferrous scrap had

been reported incorrectly for an unknown period of

time. At his deposition, Leitzinger explained that this

adjustment was merely a result of the magazine’s

“change in [its] method of reporting prices.” Leitzinger

said that /ron Age decided to switch from reporting

prices “FOB dealer to FOB user,” thereby adding

additional costs like transportation and broker fees to

8a

the reported prices.’ To “account for the Jron Age

reporting method change” and “to measure the value

that generators received relative to a consistent

processed scrap price,” Leitzinger “backed out” the

December 1998 and October 1999 “corrections” by

subtracting them from the SPB index prices.

Following Leitzinger’s deposition, Columbia

submitted the affidavit of John Ambrosia, an Iron Age

reporter, who explained that the magazine adjusted

the SPB prices because, for some unexplained reason,

they failed to reflect actual transaction prices for the

Northeastern Ohio area. The corrections were

therefore necessary to ensure that the SPB index

accurately reported market prices. Ambrosia stated

that the adjustments had nothing to do with a change

in pricing measuring points, e.g., “FOB dealer to FOB

user,” as Leitzinger believed. Moreover, Ambrosia said

that he did not know when the ferrous scrap prices

had begun to depart from actual market prices.

Columbia asserts that because Leitzinger assumed

that the increases in the SPB index simply reflected a

change in the price measuring point, he mistakenly

concluded that he could create a “consistent processed-

ferrous-scrap-price data set” by “backing out” the

amount of the SPB increases. Plaintiffs concede that

Leitzinger’s assumption that Jron Age simply changed

reporting methods was incorrect and that the SPB

' “FOB,” meaning “free on board” is a delivery term which

indicates what transportation costs and risks the dealer must

assume. “FOB dealer” means that the dealer is responsible for

getting the goods to a common carrier; “FOB user” means that the

dealer is responsible for getting the goods to the user. 18 Richard

A. Lord, Williston on Contracts § 52:11 (4th ed. 2007).

9a

corrections were necessary to accurately report market

prices for processed ferrous scrap. Columbia thus

argues that Leitzinger’s analysis is fatally flawed for

two reasons: First, as the argument goes, Leitzinger

did not have a reliable data set to work with prior to

December 7, 1998, when the SPB index was brought

back into alignment with actual market prices. Second,

by “backing out” the corrections, Leitzinger made the

SPB data with which he was working inaccurate.

Columbia compares Leitzinger’s conclusion that

there was a 16.4 percent undercharge during the

conspiracy with his inability to identify any

measurable damages in connection with non-ferrous

scrap sales. Columbia argues that this inconsistency

makes no sense because the same scrap dealers were

purchasing both ferrous and non-ferrous scrap during

the conspiracy, usually from the same generators. It is

therefore reasonable to expect that if there was an

undercharge for the sale of ferrous scrap, there

similarly would have been an undercharge for the sale

of non-ferrous scrap. Columbia argues that there is an

obvious culprit behind this discrepancy: Whereas

Leitzinger used the inaccurate SPB price index in

calculating the ferrous-scrap undercharge (and then

made that data even more inaccurate by subtracting

out the 1998 and 1999 adjustments), he used the AMM

price index in analyzing the non-ferrous scrap market.

Columbia points out that, unlike the SPB index, the

AMM required no “corrections” to ensure that it

accurately reflected actual market prices. Further, at

trial, Columbia’s expert testified that when he

substituted the AMM data into Leitzinger’s ferrous

analysis, “most of the apparent damages disappeared.”

Plaintiffs counter Columbia’s argument in several

ways. First, Plaintiffs claim that Leitzinger’s decision

10a

to rely on the SPB index for ferrous transactions and

on the AMM index for non-ferrous transactions was

proper because that is exactly what the relevant

industry actors did. Testimony at trial established that

industry participants used the SPB to price ferrous

scrap and the AMM to price non-ferrous scrap. Second,

and relatedly, Plaintiffs argue that regardless of

whether the SPB numbers were accurate, because the

industry participants referred to those numbers for

their pricing decisions, it was entirely appropriate for

Leitzinger to rely on them to calculate Plaintiffs’

damages in connection with their ferrous scrap sales.

Third, Plaintiffs argue that Leitzinger made the right

call when he “backed out” the SPB adjustments

because the dealers themselves did the same thing. In

other words, the dealers did not increase their bid

price to the generators based on the new SPB

numbers, but instead held firm to the old numbers.

Thus, according to Plaintiffs, even though Leitzinger

got the reason for the SPB adjustments wrong, all that

matters is that he treated the adjustments just as the

industry participants did—by backing them out of the

SPB prices. Stated otherwise, Plaintiffs claim that

Leitzinger relied on the SPB index to account for

market changes, and when the SPB index adjusted, he,

just like Defendants, backed out the adjustments.

Finally, Plaintiffs assert that Columbia’s argument

founders on the testimony of its own expert, who

stated at trial that as long as the SPB index moved

“roughly parallel” to actual prices of processed ferrous

scrap, inaccuracies in the index were not material.

Indeed, Plaintiffs displayed a graph at trial showing

“roughly parallel” lines representing actual sales

prices for processed ferrous scrap and the SPB indices.

lla

3. The District Court’s Ruling

The district court denied Columbia’s motion to

preclude Leitzinger’s testimony. The court explained

that it had

spent a substantial amount of time and effort

reviewing the parties’ voluminous filings

relative to the admissibility—or

inadmissibility—of Dr. Leitzinger’s testimony

pursuant to the applicable standards set forth

in Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pkharm., Inc., 509

U.S. 579 (1993). Despite [Columbia’s] many

well-supported attacks on the underlying data

employed and assumptions made by Dr.

Leitzinger in reaching his assumed damage

calculation, the Court finds that those attacks

are best reserved for cross-examination and do

not, in this case, rise to the level warranting

exclusion under Daubert.

(JA 799-800.) The court went on to state that there

was “substantial room for debate” about Leitzinger’s

data set and “substantial bases upon which to criticize”

certain of his assumptions. Nonetheless, the court

concluded that

Dr. Leitzinger has _ provided reasoned

explanations for the assumptions that he made

and has, at least at [this] stage, presented

viable arguments to support his data set

choices. Whether those explanations will

withstand rigorous cross-examination, or

challenges based on alternative assumptions or

data choices, is not the issue now before the

Court. The Court concludes that Dr. Leitzinger’s

12a

opinions satisfy the Daubert standard and that

[Columbia’s} criticisms of those opinions simply

are appropriate fodder for cross-examination.

(Id.)

In response to the two post-trial motions filed by

Columbia, a motion for judgment as a matter of law

and a motion for a new trial, the district court made

one final observation regarding the nature and

strength of Leitzinger’s testimony. As noted,

the Court spent a substantial period of time

analyzing, and re-analyzing, the Defendants’

Daubert motions secking to exclude Leitzinger’s

testimony in its entirety. The Court felt that

Defendants’ challenges were substantial and

written attacks on his testimony articulately

stated. It was only after several passes through

the motion papers that the Court was able to

understand that those challenges, though

pointed, went to the weight and not the

admissibility of Leitzinger’s opinions- i.e., did

not justify the wholesale exclusion of testimony

Defendants sought.

The Court finds it notable that, after hearing

Leitzinger’s testimony in open court, hearing his

responses to counsel’s pointed attacks on cross-

examination, and hearing what ultimately

proved to be only limited critiques of

Leitzinger’s analysis by [Defendants’ expert),

the Court was more convinced than it had been

when it made its initial Daubert ruling that its

ruling was correct. ... Ultimately, the debate

13a

over Leitzinger’s testimony was left where it

should have remained-with the jury.

In re Scrap Metal Antitrust Litigation, No.

1:02CV0844, 2006 WL 2850453, at *18 (N.D. Ohio

Sept. 30, 2006).

4. Standard of Review

We review for abuse of discretion the district court's

determination to admit or exclude expert testimeny,

“recognizing, of course, that such review calls for

deference to the district court’s decision.” Conwood Co.,

L.P. v. U.S. Tobacco Co., 290 F.3d 768, 781 (6th Cir.

2002) (citing Clay v. Ford Motor Co., 215 F.3d 663, 666

(6th Cir. 2000)). Such deference applies to the way in

which the court assesses admissibility as well as the

court’s ultimate decision of admissibility. Kumho Tire

Co. v. Carmichael, 526 U.S. 137, 152-53 (1999). Thus,

we will not substitute our own judgment for that of the

district court and will reverse an evidentiary decision

“only where we are left with a definite and firm

conviction that [the district court] committed a clear

error of judgment.” Conweod, 290 F.3d at 781 (citing

Singleton v. United States, 277 F.3d 864, 870 (6th Cir.

2002); Trepel v. Roadway Express, Inc., 194 F.3d 708,

716 (6th Cir.1999)).

5. Discussion

The starting point in our analysis is Federal Rule

of Evidence 702, which governs the use of expert

testimony. Rule 702 provides:

If sciertific, technical, or other specialized

knowlecs will assist the trier of fact to

l4a

understand the evidence or to determine a fact

in issue, a witness qualified as an expert by

knowledge, skill, experience, training, or

education, may testify thereto in the form of an

opinion or otherwise, if (1) the testimony is

based upon sufficient facts or data, (2) the

testimony is the product of reliable principles

and methods, and (3) the witness has applied

the principles and methods reliably to the facts

of the case.

This rule, as amended in 2000, reflects the Supreme

Court’s decisions in Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharm.,

Inc., 509 U.S. 579 (1993) and Kumho. Fed. R. Evid. 702

advisory committee’s notes, 2000 amend. (“In Daubert

the Court charged trial judges with the responsibility

of acting as gatekeepers to exclude unreliable expert

testimony, and the Court in Kumho clarified that this

gatekeeper function applies to all expert testimony,

not just testimony based in science.”).

Parsing the language of the Rule, it is evident that

a proposed expert’s opinion is admissible, at the

discretion of the trial court, if the opinion satisfies

three requirements. First, the witness must be

qualified by “knowledge, skill, experience, training, or

education.” Fed. R. Evid. 702. Second, the testimony

must be relevant, meaning thet it “will assist the trier

of fact to understand the evidence or to determine a

fact in issue.” Jd. Third, the testimony must be

reliable. Jd. Rule 702 guides the trial court by

providing general standards to assess reliability:

whether the testimony is based upon “sufficient facts

or data,” whether the testimony is the “product of

reliable principles and methods,” and whether the

expert “has applied the principles and methods

15a

reliably to the facts of the case.” Jd. In addition,

Daubert provided a non-exclusive checklist for trial

courts to consult in evaluating the reliability of expert

testimony. These factors include: “testing, peer review,

publication, error rates, the existence and

maintenance of standards controlling the technique’s

operation, and general acceptance in the relevant

scientific community.” United States v. Langan, 263

F.3d 613, 621 (6th Cir. 2001) (citing Daubert, 509 U.S.

at 593-94). The test of reliability is “flexible,” and the

Daubert factors do not constitute a “definitive checklist

or test,” but may be tailored to the facts of a particular

case. Kumho, 526 U.S. at 150 (citing Daubert, 509 U.S.

at 593). Indeed, we have recognized that the Daubert

factors “are not dispositive in every case” and should

be applied only “where they are reasonable measures

of the reliability of expert testimony.” Grossv. Comm’r,

272 F.3d 333, 339 (6th Cir. 2001).

On appeal, Columbia does not argue that Leitzinger

was unqualified as an expert or that his testimony was

irrelevant. Nor does Columbia challenge generally the

reliability of the “during and after” method to

determine damages; indeed, this method is broadly

accepted for proving antitrust damages. See Conwood,

290 F.3d at 793 n.8 (explaining that “[t)he before and

after theory compares the plaintiff's profit record prior

to the violation with that subsequent to it” and finding

such method accepted in antitrust cases) (internal

quotation and citation omitted). Columbia’s argument,

rather, is limited to challenging the reliability of

Leitzinger’s testimony specifically because of his use of

the inaccurate SPB price .: dex and his alterations to

the SPB’s prices. Columbia coitends that Leitzinger

used erroneous data and necessarily produced an

erroneous conclusion; in sum, “garbage in, garbage

16a

out.” Columbia argues that the district court should

have, therefore, excluded Leitzinger’s proposed

testimony as insufficiently reliable under Rule 702.

Columbia’s argument is unpersuasive because it

fundamentally confuses the credibility and accuracy of

Leitzinger’s opinion with its reliability. Contrary to

Columbia’s assertions, a determination that proffered

expert testimony is reliable does not indicate, in any

way, the correctness or truthfulness of such an

opinion. Indeed, although “nothing in either Daubert

or the Federal Rules of Evidence requires a district

court to admit opinion evidence which is connected to

existing data only by the ipse dixit of the expert,” Gen.

Elec. Co. v. Joiner, 522 U.S. 136, 146 (1997), a court

must be sure not “to exclude an expert’s testimony on

the ground that the court believes one version of the

facts and not the other.” Fed. R. Evid. 702 advisory

committee’s note, 2000 amend. Instead, the

requirement that an expert’s testimony be reliable

means that it must be “supported by appropriate

validation—i.e., ‘good grounds,’ based on what is

known.” Daubert, 509 U.S. at 590. The task for the

district court in deciding whether an expert’s opinion

is reliable is not to determine whether it is correct, but

rather to determine whether it rests upon a reliable

foundation, as opposed to, say, unsupported

speculation. See Fed. R. Evid. 702 (explaining that

expert testimony must be based on “sufficient facts or

data” and the “product of reliable principles and

methods”); Conwood, 290 F.3d at 792 (stating that the

district «curt must determine whether proffered expert

testimony “rests on a reliable foundation”) (internal

quotation and citation omitted).

17a

An analogous case is illustrative. In Quiet Tech.

DC-8, Inc. v. Hurel-Dubois UK Ltd., 326 F.3d 1333,

1343-44 (11th Cir. 2003), the appellant challenged the

admission of the appellee’s expert testimony relating

to computational fluid dynamics (“CFD”). The

appellant focused on the specific application of the

CFD method, not on the reliability of the CFD method

in general. Specifically, the appellant argued that the

expert used incorrect data or was missing data to run

the CFD study and used the wrong equations to run

the analysis. Jd. at 1344. If the data used was

incorrect, the appellant argued, the conclusions

necessarily were flawed as well and should be excluded

from the jury. Jd. at 1344-45. The Eleventh Circuit,

however, held that such an attack goes to the weight

of the evidence, rather than to its admissibility:

[The appellant] does not argue that it is

improper to conduct a CFD study using the

sorts of aerodynamic data that [the appellee]

employed, but rather that the specific numbers

that [the appellee] used were wrong. Thus, the

alleged flaws in [the appellee’s] analysis are of

a character that impugn the accuracy of his

results, not the general scientific validity of his

methods.

The identification of such flaws in generally

reliable scientific evidence is precisely the role

of cross-examination.

Id. at 1345 (emphasis added).

That is not to say that a significant error in

application will never go to the admissibility, as

opposed to the weight, of the evidence. Indeed, the

18a

2000 amendments to Rule 702 explain that an expert

witness must “appl{y] the principles and methods

reliably to the facts of the case.” Fed. R. Evid. 702(3);

see also Fed. R. Evid. 702 advisory committee’s note,

2000 amend. (“[A]ny step that renders the analysis

unreliable . . . renders the expert’s testimony

inadmissible.”) (internal quotation marks omitted).

But “rejection of expert testimony is the exception,

rather than the rule,” id., and we will generally permit

testimony based on allegedly erroneous facts when

there is some support for those facts in the record.

For example, in Jahn vu. Equine Services, 233 F.3d

382 (6th Cir. 2000), this Court reversed a district

judge’s decision holding inadmissible proposed expert

testimony, and remanded for a hearing. The Court

explained that although the opinions of the proffered

testimony “may very well be ‘shaky,” because the

opinions were based upon facts in the record, and were

not “assumptions” or “guesses,” challenges merely

went to the accuracy of the conclusions, not to the

reliability of the testimony. Jd. at 390-93. See also

McLean v. 988011 Ontario, Ltd., 224 F.3d 797, 801

(6th Cir. 2000) (“An expert’s opinion, where based on

assumed facts, must find some support for those

assumptions in the record. However, mere ‘weaknesses

in the factual basis of an expert witness’ opinion...

bear on the weight of the evidence rather than on its

admissibility.’ (quoting United States v. L.E. Cooke Co.,

991 F.2d 336, 342 (6th Cir.1993)) (internal citations

omitted)); Cooke, 991 F.2d at 342 (“Where an expert’s

testimony amounts to ‘mere guess or speculation,’ the

court should exclude his testimony, but where the

opinion has a reasonable factual basis, it should not be

excluded. Rather, it is up to opposing counsel to

inquire into the expert’s factual basis.”)

19a

Here, Columbia takes issue with the factual basis

of Leitzinger’s testimony, specifically his use of the

SPB data, his understanding of what the December

1998 and October 1999 adjustments meant, and his

reasons for backing out those adjustments. But

Columbia does not argue that Leitzinger’s opinion is

entirely unsupported, that he merely pulled the

numbers comprising his calculations out of thin air.

Insofar as Columbia claims that Leitzinger should not

have used the SPB index at all, that argument fails in

light of the uncontroverted testimony at trial

establishing that the industry participants used the

SPB index to fix prices for ferrous scrap.

Next, we agree with the district court that

Leitzinger’s “backing out” of the SPB adjustments did

not render his expert opinion fatally unreliable and

subject to exclusion. Leitzinger offered a foundation for

how and why he analyzed the data as he did. He

testified at trial that subtracting the SPB corrections

mirrored exactly what dealers had done in the

marketplace at the time the corrections were

announced. In support, he referred to three letters that

dealers sent in December 1998 to three generators

with unexpired contracts that contained price formulas

tied to the SPB. The letters requested a modification

to the contracts in light of the substantial increase in

the SPB index. As Leitzinger explained at trial:

(''}he major dealers ... promptly sent letters

to customers [i.e., generators] saying here’s the

change in index. We want to adjust the

differential to back it out. Just because the

magazine changed the index doesn’t mean we

are now going to pay you more money. If our

contract used to be index less 20, and they just

—

20a

raised the index by $20, . . . we want it to be

index less 40. So they immediately sent letters

out saying we want to, in effect, unwind the

increase by Scrap Price Bulletin.

(JA 1195.)

In addition, Leitzinger referenced a graph at trial

that showed “roughly parallel” lines, one representing

actual sale prices for processed ferrous scrap and the

other representing the corresponding SPB index

prices. Even Defendants’ expert agreed that for the

purposes of Leitzinger’s analysis, it did not matter

whether the SPB index accurately reflected price for

processed scrap and that all that mattered was that

the SPB index moved “roughly parallel” to actual

prices for processed scrap. Thus, the graph provided

evidence that indeed the market followed the SPB

index even after December 1998 and October 1999

corrections were made and that any inaccuracies in the

SPB were irrelevant so long as the index moved up and

down over time parallel to actual market prices.

In sum, the jury was free to give Leitzinger’s

opinion little or no weight, and to credit instead

Defendants’ attacks on his decision to back out the

adjustments. We cannot say that the district court

abused its discretion in admitting Leitzinger’s

testimony when the record shows that he performed

his éenalysis according to a reliable method (the

“during and after” method) and reliably applied that

method to the facts of this case. Moreover, Leitzinger’s

calculations were tested on cross-examination and

subjected to further scrutiny and criticism by

Defendants’ own expert. Daubert, 509 U.S. at 593

(explaining that in analyzing the reliability of an

2la

expert’s testimony, the “key question” is “whether it

can be (and has been) tested”). The question of

whether Leitzinger’s opinion is accurate in light of his

use of the SPB data goes to the weight of the evidence,

not to its admissibility, and the district court

appropriately passed the torch to the jury to make this

determination. See id. at 596 (“Vigorous cross-

examination, presentation of contrary evidence, and

careful instruction on the burden of proof are the

traditional and appropriate means of attacking shaky

but admissible evidence.”); see also Stecyk v. Bell

Helicopter Textron, Inc., 295 F.3d 408, 415 n.3 (3d Cir.

2002) (“While the Federal Rules of Evidence call upon

the courts to serve as gatekeepers who independently

evaluate the admissibility of expert opinion testimony,

they rely upon the discretion of the trial courts—not

the discretion of the courts of appeals. Because the

record contains some factual basis—albeit shaky—for

[the expert’s] testimony, the District Court did not

abuse its discretion in performing this gatekeeping

function.” (internal citations omitted)).

Finally we note that the district court did not abuse

its discretion by failing to hold a Daubert hearing,

because the record on the expert testimony was

extensive, and the Daubert issue was fully briefed by

the parties. Clay v. Ford Motor Co., 215 F.3d 663, 667

(6th Cir. 2000) (stating that a district court is not

required to conduct a Daubert evidentiary hearing to

qualify an expert witness). Columbia claims that the

district court’s opinion in response to Columbia’s

motion to preclude Leitzinger’s testimony was cursory.

We conclude that the court accurately considered the

key issues, found the testimony to be sufficiently

reliable by stating that Leitzinger “provided reasoned

explanaticns” and “presented viable arguments” for his

22a

calculations, and concluded that Columbia’s attacks

were most appropriate for cross-examination. We,

therefore, cannot say that the district court abused its

discretion.

B. Damages Award

Columbia argues that even crediting Leitzinger’s

testimony, there is insufficient evidence to support the

damages verdict and, in any event, the verdict is an

impermissible “fluid recovery.”

Columbia raised this issue in its Rule 50(a) and (b)

motions for judgment as a matter of law. We review a

district court’s refusal to grant a party’s motion for

judgment as a matter of law de novo. Greene v. B.F.

Goodrich Avionics Sys., Inc., 409 F.3d 784, 788 (6th

Cir. 2005). We have explained that the standard of

review is identical to that used by the district court:

The evidence should not be weighed, and the

credibility of the witnesses should not be

questioned. The judgment of this court should

not be substituted for that of the jury; instead,

the evidence should be viewed in the light most

favorable to the party against whom the motion

is made, and that party given the benefit of all

reasonable inferences. The motion should be

granted, and the district court reversed, only if

reasonable minds could not come to a conclusion

other than one favoring the movant.

Tisdale v. Fed. Exp. Corp., 415 F.3d 516, 531 (6th Cir.

2005) (quoting Williams v. Nashville Network, 132

F.3d 1123, 1130-31 (6th Cir. 1997)).

23a

1. Sufficiency of the Evidence

“An antitrust plaintiff seeking treble damages

under section 4 of the Clayton Act must prove an

antitrust violation, fact of damage or injury, and

measurable damages.” Danny Kresky Enter. Corp. v.

Magid, 716 F.2d 206, 209 (3d Cir. 1983).

Columbia argues that Plaintiffs failed to provide

the jury with sufficient evidence to support the jury’s

finding of individual and market-wide damages.

Columbia recognizes that Leitzinger opined that every

class member who sold ferrous scrap incurred a 16.4

percent undercharge for every sale during the class

period, resulting in aggregate damages of $20.9

million. But because the jury reached a verdict of $11.5

million in damages, Columbia argues, the jury must

have resorted to speculation and conjecture to arrive at

such a figure, illustrating the insufficiency of the

damages evidence on damages.

Columbia’s challenge to the jury’s verdict on

damages is therefore directed at the accuracy of the

amount of damages and not the fact of damages.

Columbia’s argument, in essence, is that Leitzinger’s

testimony alone was insufficient for the jury to have

accurately fixed Plaintiffs’ damages.

The district court, rejecting Columbia’s argument,

explained:

In sum, Leitzinger testified that, if a

conspiracy to depress prices via customer

allocation existed during the alleged period, it

would have uniformly impacted the relevant

scrap metal market, and that impact would

24a

have been one that was shared in common by

all of the ferrous generators. He went on to

testify that the uniform injury experienced by

all of the ferrous class members was a 16.4%

undercharge during the conspiracy period.

Further, Leitzinger testified that the

undercharge experienced by the named

Plaintiffs specifically was 16.4% as well.

If credited, therefore, Leitzinger’s testimony

clearly established evidence of injury to the

named Plaintiffs and the class as a whole, and

measurable damages to the named Plaintiffs

and the class as a whole. .. . If the jury credited

Leitzinger’s conclusions—in whole or in part—it

reasonably could have reached the conclusions

that it did.

In re Scrap Metal, 2006 WL 2850453, at *17-18.

We agree. First, a jury is entitled to award

damages in an antitrust case based on expert

testimony. See Texaco Inc. v. Hasbrouck, 496 U.S. 548,

572 (1990 ) (holding that “expert testimony .

provided a sufficient basis for an acceptable estimate

of the amount of damages”). Second, “[t]he antitrust

cases are legion which reiterate the proposition that,

if the fact of damages is proven, the actual

computation of damages may suffer from minor

imperfections.” South-East Coal Co. v. Consol. Coal

Co., 434 F.2d 767, 794 (6th Cir. 1970). Once liability is

established, therefore, a plaintiffs proof of damages is

evaluated under a more lenient standard. See J. Truett

Payne Co. v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 451 U.S. 557, 567

25a

(1981). As the Supreme Court has stated in explaining

its “traditional rule excusing antitrust plaintiffs from

an unduly rigorous standard of proving antitrust

injury,” id. at 565, “it does not ‘come with very good

grace’ for the wrongdoer to insist upon specific and

certain proof of the in,:ry which it has itself inflicted.”

Id. at 566-67 (quoting Hetzel v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R.,

169 U.S. 26, 39 (1898)). “Any other rule would enable

the wrongdoer to profit by his wrongdoing at the

expense of his victim.” Bigelow v. RKO Radio Pictures,

Inc., 327 U.S. 251, 264 (1946). Further, ‘the fact that

the jury chose to assess damages in an amount

substantially below that recommended by plaintiffs

expert does not mean that the evidence offered in

support of lost profits was inadequate as a matter of

law.” Falls Steel Tube & Mfg. Co. v. Trumark, Inc., No.

94-3981, 1995 WL 750541, at *3 (6th Cir. 1995) (per

curiam) (explaining that even though defendant

identified weaknesses in the evidence of damages, “we

do not find it to be so ‘speculative or remote’ that the

matter should have been taken from the jury”). See

also Rodney v. Nw. Airlines, Inc., 146 F. App’x 783, 791

(6th Cir. 2005) (“A plaintiff need not calculate a

specific damage figure so long as he proposes an

acceptable method for calculating damages.”).

We conclude that Leitzinger’s testimony is

sufficient to support the jury’s damage award.

2. Fluid Recovery

Columbia further argues that the jury’s verdict

represents an “impermissible fluid recovery” because

the jury was only permitted to return a lump-sum

verdict for ferrous generators as a group without

determining the damages incurred by individual class

26a

members. Columbia’s argument again is premised on

its disagreement with Leitzinger’s finding that every

ferrous scrap sale in the class period had been

depressed at the same rate (16.4 percent). Because the

jury returned a verdict in an amount less than

Leitzinger’s estimated damages, Columbia argues that

there is no basis for concluding that the jury accepted

Leitzinger’s premise that the alleged conspiracy had a

uniform impact. In other words, Columbia states that

it is impossible to figure out how the jury reached its

verdict or to which class members the verdict applies

and in what amounts. Columbia therefore asserts that

the verdict is an impermissible fluid recovery.

Columbia, however, confuses the concept of fluid

recovery with aggregate damages. “Fluidrecovery

refers to the distribution of unclaimed or unclaimable

funds to persons not found to be injured but who have

interests similar to those of the class.” In re NASDAQ

Market-Makers Antitrust Litig., 169 F.R.D. 4938, 525

(S.D.N.Y. 1996). See also Schwab v. Philip Morris

USA, Inc., No. CV 04-1945, 2005 WL 3032556, at *1

(E.D.N.Y. 2005) (“Recoveries described as ‘fluid’

include distributior. ©f damages through price

reductions rather than by cash to individual plaintiffs;

distribution of settlement or damage funds left

unclaimed by individuals to nonprofit organizations or

to states for uses intended to benefit class members;

and distribution of damages calculated on a classwide

basis to individual plaintiffs or through verious

indirect means.” (internal citations omitted)). Indeed,

the cases on which Columbia relies involved scenarios

where damages could not be returned to any

meaningful number of class members, and the

plaintiffs accordingly proposed a fluid recovery.

27a

Here, Plaintiffs did not propose a fluid recovery;

instead they provided evidence of a _ classwide

aggregate injury. “Damages in an antitrust class action

may be determined on a classwide, or aggregate, basis,

without resorting to fluid recovery where the

[evidence] . . . provide[s} a means to distribute

damages to injured class members in the amount of

their respective damages.” Jn re NASDAQ, 169 F.R.D.

at 526. Leitzinger produced evidence supporting an

aggregate recovery because each Plaintiff suffered a

16.4 percent undercharge. Leitzinger testified that the

scrap metal market was well-functioning so as to

distribute the effect of an antitrust violation equally

across class members. The jury accepted Leitzinger’s

uniform-impact theory and awarded aggregate

damages based on the injury to each class member.

That the jury awarded a lower amount than Leitzinger

suggested does not mean that it rejected Leitzinger’s

uniform-impact theory; instead, the jury may have

simply rejected the undercharge amount of 16.4

percent.

C. Class Certification

Columbia argues that the district court erred in

certifying a class and allowing the trial to proceed as

a class action because (1) the “predominance of

common questions” requirement of Rule 23(b)(3) was

not met, and (2) Plaintiffs did not satisfy the notice

requirement of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

23(c)(2)(B). “The district court’s decision certifying the

class is subject to a ‘very limited’ review and will be

reversed ‘only upon a strong showing that the district

court's decision was a clear abuse of discretion.” Olden

v. LaFarge Corp., 383 F.3d 495, 507 (6th Cir. 2004)

28a

(quoting Armstrong v. Davis, 275 F.3d 849, 867 (9th

Cir. 2001)).

1. Predominance of Common Questions

Columbia contends that Plaintiffs did not meet the

“predominance of common questions” requirement of

Rule 23(b)(3) because damages could not be calculated

on a class-wide basis.

In addition to the prerequisites of Rule

23(a)—-numerosity, commonality, typicality, and fair

representation—Rule 23(b) requires that (1) questions

common to the class predominate over questions

affecting only individual members, and (2) class

resolution is superior to alternative methods for

adjudicating the controversy. Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(3).

Put differently, the proposed class must be

“sufficiently cohesive to warrant adjudication by

representation.” Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor, 521

U.S. 591, 623 (1997).

Columbia erroneously assumes that the issue of

damages must predominate. To the contrary,

“(p]lredominance is a test readily met in certain cases

alleging ... violations of the antitrust laws,” Amchem,

521 U.S. at 625, because proof of the conspiracy is a

common question that is thought to predominate over

the other issues of the case. 7AA Wright & Miller

§ 1781. Indeed, we have never required a precise

mathematical calculation of damages before deeming

a class worthy of certification. See Olden, 383 F.3d at

508 (affirming class certification where liability could

be determined for the class as a whole, despite

individual issues of damages). Thus, even where there

are individual variations in damages, the

29a

requirements of Rule 23(b)(3) are satisfied if the

plaintiffs can establish that the defendants conspired

to interfere with the free-market pricing structure. See

Sterling v. Velsicol Chem. Corp., 855 F.2d 1188, 1197

(6th Cir. 1988) (“[T]he mere fact that questions

peculiar to each individual member of the class action

remain after the common questions of the defendant’s

liability have been resolved does not dictate the

conclusion that a class action isimpermissible.”).

Here, the district court found that the “allegations

of price-fixing and market allocation . . . will not vary

among class members.” (JA 263 (emphasis added).)

Accordingly, the court found that the “fact of damages”

was a question common to the class even if the amount

of damages sustained by each individual class member

varied. See Beattie v. CenturyTel, Inc., 511 F.3d 554,

564 (6th Cir. 2007) (“[clommon issues may

predominate when liability can be determined on a

class-wide basis, even when there are some

individualized damage issues”) (quoting Jn re Visa

Check/ MasterMoney Antitrust Litig., 280 F.3d 124,

139 (2d Cir. 2001)); see also Bogosian v. Gulf Oil Corp..,

561 F.2d 434, 456 (3d Cir. 1977) (explaining that

although damages calculation in antitrust action may

involve some individualized issues, “it has been

commonly recognized that the necessity for calculation

of damages on an individual basis should not preclude

class determination when the common issues which

determine liability predominate”). We, therefore, find

no error in the district court’s analysis.

2. Notice

Columbia next argues that Plaintiffs failed to

inform sufficiently absent class members of “the

30a

binding effect of a class judgment.” Fed. R. Civ. P.

23(c)(2)(B). In April 2004, the district court issued a

Notice of Class Determination and Proposed Partial

Settlements (hereinafter, “Notice”). Columbia did not

object to this Notice until January 2006, three days

before the scheduled trial. Without commenting on

Columbia’s dilatory decertification motion, we conclude

that the district court did not abuse its discretion in

determining that the Notice was adequate.

In three distinct places, the Notice informed class

members of the effects of remaining a member of the

class. First, contrary to Columbia’s contention that the

Notice focused exclusively on the agreements with the

settling defendants, it concisely and clearly informed

class members that “[w]hether or not the settlements

... are approved, the litigation will continue against

the non-settling defendants.” (JA 283.) Second, the

Notice specified the binding effect of both the proposed

settlement and any future lawsuit by advising class

members of the need to opt out in order to “pursue any

claims against any defendants.” (JA 283.) Third, the

Notice informed the class members that by opting out

of the class and the proposed settlements, they would

not be bound by a judgment: “You will be excluded

from the Class Plaintiffs’ prosecution of the claims

against all defendants . . .[and] you may present any

claim you may have against .. . any other defendant

by filing your own lawsuit.” (JA 291-92.) Thus, the

Notice was adequate in form and content to satisfy the

requirements of the Federal Rules and due process.

See Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339

U.S. 306, 314 (1950) (class notice must be “reasonably

calculated, under ail the circumstances, to apprise

interested parties of the pendency of the action and

3la

afford them an opportunity to present their

objections”).

D. Jury Instructions

Columbia contends that the trial court erred when

it instructed the jury on tolling and the applicable

statute of limitations. We review a district court’s jury

instructions for abuse of discretion. United States v.

Ross, 502 F.3d 521, 527 (6th Cir. 2007). “A judgment

may be reversed based upon an improper jury

instruction only if the instructions, viewed as a whole,

were confusing, misleading, or prejudicial.” 7d.

(internal quotations and citations omitted).

Antitrust actions are subject to a four-year statute

of limitations, meaning of course, that suit must be

brought within four years after the cause of action

accrued. 15 U.S.C. § 15(b). A cause of action, however,

does not necessarily “accrue” when the defendant

commits the act causing the plaintiffs injury, but may

be tolled until the plaintiff discovers or should have

discovered the injury. See Zenith Radio Corp. v.

Hazeltine Research Inc., 401 U.S. 321, 338 (1971). For

instance, acts of fraudulent concealment by the

defendant toll the limitations period for as long as the

concealment continues. Norton -Children’s Hosp., Inc.

v. James E. Smith & Sons, Inc., 658 F.2d 440, 443 (6th

Cir. 1981). In addition, pursuant to 15 U.S.C. § 16(i),

the limitations period is tolled during the pendency of

related criminal or civil proceedings by the

government, plus an additional one-year period

thereafter.

Plaintiffs filed suit on August 15, 2002. Columbia

asserts, therefore, that August 15, 1998 is the date on

32a

or after which Plaintiffs must establish Columbia’s

participation in the alleged conspiracy. The district

court, however, suspended the limitations period

pursuant to 15 U.S.C. § 16(i) and instructed the jury

that it could consider Defendants’ acts four years prior

to March 2000, based on ongoing, related government

proceedings beginning at that time. The district court’s

ruling meant that the jury could consider Defendants’

conduct as of March of 1996. The district court also

gave a fraudulent concealment instruction allowing

the jury to alter further the dates in consideration, if

it found the requisite elements. Columbia claims that

both of these instructions were erroneous. Because we

conclude that the jury could have reached the verdict

based on the fraudulent concealment theory, we do not

reach Columbia’s objection to the statutory tolling

instruction.

The district court gave the following fraudulent

concealment instruction:

To estabtish fraudulent concealment as to a

specific defendant in this case, plaintiffs must

prove each of the following elements by a

preponderance of the evidence:

(1) First, that the members of the conspiracy

actively concealed the a!l.eged conduct

that caused plaintiffs antitrust injuries.

It is not enough for plaintiffs to show

that the members of the conspiracy failed

to disclose the alleged conduct; rather

plaintiffs must prove that they took

active and affirmative steps to prevent

plaintifts from learning about the alleged

conduct, such as by keeping their

33a

meetings or agreements secret from their

accounts or taking steps to conceal the

fact of their non-competition; and

(2) Second, that plaintiffs failed to discover

the fact of the unlawful conspiracy; and

(3) Third, that plaintiffs exercised

reasonable diligence in the circumstances

and still did not discover the alleged

conduct.

In deciding whether plaintiffs have proved

fraudulent concealment by the alleged

conspirators, you may consider a number of

factors. First, the law recognizes that a

conspiracy is, by nature, self-concealing. Thus,

you may consider the very acts giving rise to the

conspiracy when deciding whether it was

concealed from the plaintiffs; there is no

requirement that the affirmative acts of

concealment be independent of the conspiracy

itself. You may also consider other activities

which operate to conceal anti-competitive

conduct such as prearranged or phone bids,

confining knowledge of any anti-competitive

activity to a limited core group of individuals,

engaging in clandestine meetings or using false

identities ....

[A]s with other acts in a conspiracy, any

affirmative acts of concealment by one

conspiravor are chargeable to all you find to

have been members of the conspiracy. Similarly,

plaintiffs need not establish concealment on a

victim-by-victim basis; affirmative acts of

34a

concealment generally are considered to have an

industry-wide effect.

If you find that plaintiffs have proven each of

the elements of fraudulent concealment, then

you may find that the doctrine of fraudulent

concealment applies to plaintiffs’ claims. In that

event, plaintiffs may then seek to recover

damages from the date of the earliest injury

that you find they suffered, if any. If you find

that plaintiffs have failed to prove any one of

these elements, then you are limited to the post-

March 1996 time period outlined in the previous

“affirmative defense” instruction.

(JA 1033-34.) Columbia argues that the court erred by

instructing the jury, in the foregoing emphasized

language, that it could find fraudulent concealment or

apply statutory tolling (with the earliest date of

consideration in March 1996), instead of stating that

the jury could find fraudulent concealment, statutory

tolling, or find that neither applied (meaning the

earliest date of consideration would be August 1998).

Because the jury heard evidence based upon which it

could have found fraudulent concealment even before

1996 and lasting through 1998, we conclude that any

error in the jury instructions is harmless. See United

States v. Rayborn, 491 F.3d 513, 520 (6 Cir. 2007)

(“Even assuming arguendo that the instruction was

given in error, ‘a legally-erroneous jury charge will not

justify reversal of a conviction if its probable effect on

the verdict was inconsequential.”) (quoting United

States v. Carney, 387 F.3d 436, 449 (6th Cir. 2004)).

Columbia argues that some of the evidence of

fraudulent concealment should not apply to it because

35a

it was based on acts taken by other Defendants.

Fraudulent concealment, however, may be established

through the acts of co-conspirators. See Riddell v.

Riddell Washington Corp., 866 F.2d 1480, 1493 (D.C.

Cir. 1989) (“affirmative acts of concealment by one or

more of the conspirators can be imputed to their co-

conspirators for purposes of tolling the statute of

limitations”); New York v. Hendrickson Bros., Inc. , 840

F.2d 1065, 1084-85 (2d Cir. 1988) (same). Columbia

cites no authority to support its argument that

fraudulent concealment must be shown in relation to

each plaintiff in a class action.

Finally, Columbia argues that the district court

erred by instructing that “the law recognizes that a

conspiracy is, by nature, self-concealing.” Indeed, in

the law of this Circuit, a plaintiff seeking to invoke the

doctrine of fraudulent concealment in order to toll the

statute of limitations in an antitrust case must prove

“affirmative acts” ef concealment; “concealment by

mere silence is not enough.” Pinney Dock & Transp.

Co. v. Pein Cent. Corp., 838 F.2d 1445, 1467 (6th Cir.

1988) (citation omitted). The district court’s

instruction, however, stated accurately this standard

in its instruction: “It is not enough for plaintiffs to

show that the members of the conspiracy failed to

disclose the alleged conduct; rather plaintiffs must

prove that they took active and affirmative steps to

prevent plaintiffs from learning about the alleged

conduct... .” (JA 1033.)

Therefore, we find no abuse of discretion.

Il. CONCLUSION

For these reasons, we AFFIRM.

36a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-4511

[Filed May 15, 1008]

In re: SCRAP METAL )

ANTITRUST LITIGATION )

)

Before: BATCHELDER, COLE, and

SUTTON, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Ohio at Cleveland.

THIS CAUSE was heard on the record from the

district court and was argued by counsel.

IN CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is ORDERED

that the judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED

in its entirety.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF it1E COURT

/s/

Leonard Green

Clerk

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

CASE NUMBER: 1:02CV844

{Filed February 10, 2006]

PROFILE GRINDING, et al.,

v.

COLUMBIA NATIONAL

)

)

)

)

)

GROUP, et al. )

)

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

@ Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court

for a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the

jury has rendered its verdict.

QO Decision by Court. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court. The issues have been tried

or heard and a decision has been rendered.

It is ordered and adjudged that judgment is hereby

entered in favor of the plaintiffs and against defendant

Columbia Iron & Metal Company in the amount of

$23 ,036,000.00 ($11,500,000.00 trebled per 15 U.S.C.

15(a) to $34,500,000.00, then offset by $11,464,000.00

per other settlements). Plus fees and costs, to be

38a

determined through post-judgment submissions

relating thereto.

February 10, 2006 Geri M. Smith

Date Clerk

/s/

(By) Deputy Clerk Christine M. Huth

39a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-4511

[Filed October 20, 2008]

IN RE: SCRAP METAL )

ANTITRUST LITIGATION )

)

ORDER

BEFORE: BATCHELDER, COLE, and SUTTON,

Circuit Judges.

The court having received a petition for rehearing

en banc, and the petition having been circulated not

only to the original panel members but also to all other

active’ judges of this court, and no judge of this court

having requested a vote on the suggestion for

rehearing en banc, the petition for rehearing has been

referred to the original! panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for

rehearing and concludes that the issues raised in the

petition were fully considered upon the original

* Judge Moore recused herself from participation in this ruling.

40a

submission and decision of the case. Accordingly, the

petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/

Leonard Green

Clerk

4la

APPENDIX D

i5 U.S.C. § 1

§ 1. Trusts, etc., in restraint of trade illegal;

penalty

Every contract, combination in the form of trust or

otherwise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade or

commerce among the several States, or with foreign

nations, is hereby declared to be illegal. Every person

who shall make any contract or engage in any

combination or conspiracy hereby declared to be illegal

shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and, on conviction

thereof, shall be punished by fine not exceeding

$100,000,000 if a corporation, or, if any other person,

$1,000,000, or by imprisonment not exceeding 10

years, or by both said punishments, in the discretion

of the court.

15 U.S.C. § 15(a)

§ 15. Suits by persons injured

(a) Amount of recovery; prejudgment interest. Except

as provided in subsection (b), any person who shall be

injured in his business or property by reason of

anything forbidden in the antitrust laws may sue

therefor in any district court of the United States in

the district in which the defendant resides or is found

or has an agent, without respect to the amount in

controversy, and shall recover threefold the damages

by him sustained, and the cost of suit, including a

42a

reasonable attorney’s fee. The court may award under

this section, pursuant to a motion by such person

promptly made, simple interest on actual damages for

the period beginning on the date of service of such

person’s pleading setting forth a claim under the

antitrust laws and ending on the date of judgment, or

for any shorter period therein, if the court finds that

the award of such interest for such period is just in the

circumstances. In determining whether an award of

interest under this section for any period is just in the

circumstances, the court shall consider only--

(1) whether such person or the opposing party, or

either party’s representative, made motions or

asserted claims or defenses so lacking in merit as

to show that such party or representative acted

intentionally for delay, or otherwise acted in bad

faith;

(2) whether, in the course of the action involved,

such person or the opposing party, or either party’s

representative, violated any applicable rule,

statute, or court order providing yor sanctions for

dilatory behavior or otherwise providing for

expeditious proceedings; and

(3) whether such person or the opposing party, or

either party’s representative, engaged in conduct

primarily for the purpose of delaying the litigation

or increasing the cost thereof.

* & &

43a

15 U.S.C. § 15b

§ 15b. Limitation of actions

Any action to enforce any cause of action under section

4, 4A, or 4C [15 USCS §§ 15, 15a, 15c] shall be forever

barred unless commenced within four years after the

cause of action accrued. No cause of action barred

under existing taw on the effective date of this Act

shall be revived by this Act.

15 U.S.C. § 16(i)

§ 16. Judgments

(i) Suspension of limitations. Whenever any civil or

criminal proceeding is instituted by the United States

to prevent, restrain, or punish violations of any oi the

antitrust laws, but not including an action under

section 4A [15 USCS § 15a], the running of the statute

of limitations in respect of every private or State right

of action arising under said laws and based in whole or

in part on any matter complained of in said proceeding

shall be suspended during the pendency thereof and

for one year thereafter: Provided, however, That

whenever the running of the statute of limitations in

respect of a cause of action arising under section 4 or

4C [15 USCS §§ 15, 15c] is suspended hereunder, any

action to enforce such cause of action shall be forever

barred unless commenced either within the period of

suspension or within four years after the cause of

action accrued.

44a

APPENDIX E

Fed. R. Civ. P. 23 (b)(3), (c), (d) and (e)

Rule 23. Class Actions

* K +

(b) Types of Class Actions. A class action may be

maintained if Rule 23(a) is satisfied and if:

OK OK

(3) the court finds that the questions of law or fact

common to class members predominate over any

questions affecting only individual members, and

that a class action is superior to other available

methods for fairly and efficiently adjudicating the

controversy. The matters pertinent to these

findings include:

(A) the class members’ interests in individually

controlling the prosecution or defense of

separate actions;

(B) the extent and nature of any litigation

concerning the controversy already begun by or

against class members;

(C) the desirability or undesirability of

concentrating the litigation of the claims in the

particular forum; and

45a

(D) +ue likely difficulties in managing a class

action.

(c) Certification Order; Notice to Class Members;

Judgment; Issues Classes; Subclasses.

(1) Certification Order.

(A) Time to Issue. At an early practicable time

after a person sues or is sued as a class

representative, the court must determine by

order whether to certify the action as a class

action.

(B) Defining the Class; Appointing Class

Counsel. An order that certifies a class action

must define the class and the class claims,

issues, or defenses, and must appoint class

counsel under Rule 23(g).

(C) Altering or Amending the Order. An order

that grants or denies class certification may be

altered or amended before final judgment.

(2) Notice.

(A) For (b)(1) or (b)(2) Classes. For any class

certified under Rule 23(b)(1) or (b)(2), the court

may direct appropriate notice to the class.

(B) For (b)(3) Classes. For any class certified

under Rule 23(b)(3), the court must direct to

class members the best notice that is practicable

under the circumstances, including individual

notice to all members who can be identified

through reasonable effort. The notice must

46a

clearly and concisely state in plain, easily

understood language:

(i) the nature of the action;

(ii) the definition of the class certified;

(ii1) the class claims, issues, or defenses;

(iv) that a class member may enter an

appearance through an attorney if the

member so desires;

(v) that the court will exclude from the class

any member who requests exclusion;

(vi) the time and manner for requesting

exclusion; and

(vii) the binding effect of a class judgment on

members under Rule 23(c)(3).

(3) Judgment. Whether or not favorable to the

class, the judgment in a class action nuwust:

(A) for any class certified under Rule 23(b)(1) or

(b)(2), include and describe those whom the

court finds to be class members; and

(B) for any class certified under Rule 23(b)(3),

include and specify or describe those to whom

the Rule 23(c)(2) notice was directed, who have

not requested exclusion, and whom the court

finds to be class members.

(4) Particular Issues. When appropriate, an action

may be maintained as a class action with respect to

particular issues.

(5) Subclasses. When appropriate, a class may be

divided into subclasses that are euch treated as a

class under this rule.

47a

(d) Conducting the Action.

(1) In General. In conducting an action under this

rule, the court may issue orders that:

(A) determine the course of proceedings or

prescribe measures to prevent undue repetition

or complication in presenting evidence or

argument;

(B) require--to protect class members and fairly

conduct the action--giving appropriate notice to

some or all class members of:

(i) any step in the action;

(ii) the proposed extent of the judgment; or

(iii) the members’ opportunity to signify

whether they consider the representation

fair and adequate, to intervene and present

claims or defenses, or to otherwise come into

the action;

(C) impose conditions on the representative

parties or on intervenors;

(D) require that the pleadings be amended to

climinate allegations about representation of

absent persons and that the action proceed

accordingly; or

(E) deal with similar procedural matters.

(2) Combining and Amending Orders. An order

under Rule 23(d\1) may be altered or amended

from time to time and may be combined with an

order under Rule 16.

48a

(e) Settlement, Voluntary Dismissal, or Compromise.

The claims, issues, or defenses of a certified class may

be settled, voluntarily dismissed, or compromised only

with the court’s approval. The following procedures

apply to a proposed settlement, voluntary dismissal, or

compromise:

(1) The court must direct notice in a reasonable

manner to all class members who would be bound

by the proposal.

(2) If the proposal would bind class members, the

court may approve it only after a hearing and on

finding that it is fair, reasonable, and adequate.

(3) The parties seeking approval must file a

staternent identifying any agreement made in

connection with the proposal.

(4) If the class action was previously certified under

Rule 23(b)(3), the court may refuse to approve a

settlement unless it affords a new opportunity to

request exclusion to individual class members who

had an earlier opportunity to request exclusion but

did not do so.

(5) Any class member may object to the proposal if

it requires court approval under this subdivision

(e); the objection may be withdrawn only with the

court’s approval.

49a

APPENDIX F

Jury Instruction on Statutory Tolling

In this case, the law imposes “ tour year limit on the

plaintiffs’ claim, which limit dates backward from

March of 2000. Thus, unless the statute of limitations

is tolled or extended for the reasons described in the

Court’s next instruction [on fraudulent concealment},

the plaintiff may only prevail ... in the aileged

conspiracy on or after March of 1996, and may only

recover damages arising from conduct occurring after

that date.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.