Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Simotas v. Kelsey-Seybold (No. 06-1338)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

» P FILED

v 061338 APR3 - 2007

ee

‘OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

ALEXANDRA SIMOTAS, M.D.,

Petitioner,

¥.

KELSEY-SEYBOLD,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

ELLEN SPROVACH

Counsel of Record

ROSENBERG & SPROVACH

11 GREENWAY PLAZA

SurrE 2810

Houston, TX 77046

(713) 960-8300

Counsel for Petitioner

April 3, 2007

Becker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

opinion conflict with the reasoning and interpretation of

the First Circuit Court of Appeals because the Fifth

Circuit decided that it was irrelevant when Petitioner felt

the effects of the adverse employment decision?

. Does the opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals fly

in the face of the plain meaning of the statute?

- Does the opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

conflict with Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S.

250 (1980) and Hitt v. Connell, 301 F.3d 240 (5" Cir.

2002) because the Court of Appeals found that Petitioner’s

cause of action accrued on September 12, 2006, one of

the 11 different days that have been used as her

termination date because Petitioner received notice of

termination that day though an actionable injury or an

adverse action had not yet occurred?

. Does the opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

conflict with Walters v. Metropolitan Educ. Enters. 519

U.S. 202 (1997); Community for Creative Non-Violence

v. Reid, 490 U.S. 730 (1989) by incorrectly determining

the last discriminatory act and affirming a lower court

finding of fact?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Qucstions Presented .. «0... cece cee ccnseeeecce i

Tile EO nc nc be wa ee eee eneewiens il

Tete OF AGES 0. wc ce cee cc ewes eet hases iV

Citations of Opinions and Orders ..........-...--. I

Basis for Jurisdiction CE soe ce eee we eer 1

Constitutional Provisions Implicated by this Petition... 2

Dennett oF Gr CAO .. . wk is cee weet ce sues 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...............-- 7

1. The opinion of Court of Appeals of the Fifth Circuit

conflicts with the reasoning and interpretation of the

First Circuit Court of Appeals because the Fifth

Circuit decided that it was irrelevant when Simotas

felt the effects of the adverse decision .......... 7

2. The opinion of the Fifth Circuit flies in the face of the

plain meaning of the statute ..............--. 9

3. The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

conflicts with Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449

U.S. 250 (1980) and Hitt v. Connell, 301 F.3d 240

(5" Cir. 2002) because the Court of Appeals found

that Simotas’ cause of action accrued on September

12, 2006, one of the 11 different days that have been

ill

used as her termination date because Simotas received

notice of termination that day though an actionable

injury or an adverse action did not occur ........ 11

4. The opinion of the Fifth Circuit conflicts with Walters

v. Metropolitan Educ. Enters. , 519 U.S. 202 (1997);

Community for Creative Non-Violence v. Reid, 490

U.S. 730 (1989) by incorrectly determining the date of

the latest discriminatory act and affirming a lower

Se PIN cbc era 6 wa eee eaes 14

I a 62 iN FAS ok 8 EO eC ee 17

APPENDIX

Appendix A: 1/3/07 Circuit Court Order denying

PIN ie Sore on iy Woe en cea aly eo as la

Appendix B: 12/6/06 Circuit Court Opinion ...... 3a

Appendix C: 12/6/06 Circuit Court Judgment... .: 8a

Appendix D: 1/4/06 District Court Order Denying

Motion for Reconsideration ............... 10a

Appendix E: 11/30/05 District Court Memorandum

PS SS eG eeu ee deena ea 13a

Appendix F: 11/30/05 District Court Judgment ... 17a

Appendix G: 9/12/4002 Letter .........2.0.0-. 19a

Appendix H: Human Resources Action Form .... 21a

Appendix I: Chardon, et al. v. Fernandez, et al., 454

Se EI ho Os igi Vala wales 23a

Appendix J: Hitt v. Connell, et al., 301 F.3d 240

hoor DO ee ae ee tT Cre 32a

Appendix K: Thomas yv. Eastman Kodak Co., 183

Pe ee Fo oe oe pea ek eee 54a

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Bano v. Union Carbide Corp.,

DOt Fae CPO CG: BED ov ha Fie een ees 15

Breaux v. City of Garland,

205 F.3d 150 (Sth Cir. 2000) ............... 12

Burlington Northern v. White,

126 S.Ct. 2003 Game 22, FUG) «wc ee ree vens 13

Chardon v. Fernandez,

ee are OD 8 os oe oo ee a ee 7, 8,9

Clark v. Resistoflex Co..,

O56 P.28 POs CC. TG) kak ce tec te ees 16

Community for Creative Non-Violence v. Retd,

Ge aes, FEE ee eee eee eerie i, 14

Delaware State College v. Ricks,

Ge Or ee CO 0 oo 4 oe Ke ee i, 11, 12

Devito vy. Chicago Park Dist.,

ie ee Ee ge, LS Re. en rerrurure a 16

EEOC v. Griffin Wheel Company,

Sal Fe SO CC, VS acc co oo ie ee et 15

Fletcher v. Tufts University,

367 F. Supp. 2d 99 (D.Mass 2005) ........... 8

Hitt v. Connell,

301 F.3d 240 (Sth Cir. 2002) ............, passim

Johnson v. General Electric,

OOO Fae 852 Clot Cie, 1908) 2... cece 8

Rhodes v. Guiberson Oil Tools Division,

927 ¥.20 B76 (Sth Clr. 1991) .. wc ee cc e 10

Thomas v. Eastman Kodak Co..,

ee RR fe oS ee nes 8

United States v. Georgia Power Co.,

474 F.20 906 Gh Cir. 1973) 2. ww ccs 15

United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc.,

WO Ais SPREE vc vo wees vcviics (ic wkan 9

Walters v. Metropolitan Educ. Enters.,

SEP Wee DUR CIIODD oc cceccesrviviibnt i, 14

Statutes

as aay hae

ise MTU cg oa oe Ke ve oe we 2

ir aes URED nk bela bes oe oe we eos 2, 10

Rules

Supreme Court Rule 13.3. (Revised) ............. 2

]

CITATIONS OF OPINIONS AND ORDERS

The unpublished per curiam opinion and judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in

Alexandra Simotas, M.D. v. Kelsey-Seybold (C.A. 06-20049)

decided December 6, 2006, affirming the District Court’s

granting of Respondent’s Kelsey-Seybold’s motion for

summary judgment and denying the Petitioner Alexandra

Simotas’ motion for reconsideration is set forth in the

Appendix hereto (App. 3a and 10a).

The unpublished Memorandum Opinion of the United

States District Court for the Southern District of Texas,

Houston Division, in Alexandra Simotas v. Kelsey-Seybold

(Civil Action No. 04-3549), decided November 30, 2005

granting Respondent’s motion for summary judgment is set

forth in the Appendix hereto (App. 13a and 17a).

The unpublished order of the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas, Houston Division in

Alexandra Simotas v. Kelsey-Seybold (Civil Action No. 06-

20049), entered January 4, 2006, denying Petitioner’s motion

for reconsideration is set forth in the Appendix hereto (App.

10a).

The order by the Fifth Circuit denying the petition for

rehearing dated January 3, 2007 is set cae i in the Appendix

hereto (App. 1a).

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

IN THIS COURT

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

_ Fifth Circuit affirming the District Court’s order denying

Petitioner’s Motion for Reconsideration and affirming the

2

granting of Respondent’s Motion for Summary Judgment was

entered on December 6, 2006; and its order denying the

Petitioner’s timely filed petition for rehearing was filed on

January 3, 2007. (App. 1a).

_ This petition for writ of certiorari is timely filed within

ninety (90) days of the date the Court of Appeals denied

petitioner’s timely filed petition for rehearing. 28 U.S.C.

§ 2101(c); Revised Supreme Court Rule 13.3.

This Court has jurisdiction to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit pursuant

to 28 U.S.C § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

IMPLICATED BY THIS PETITION

(a) General rule. - No covered entity shall

discriminate against a qualified individual with a

disability because of the disability of such

individual in regard to job application procedures,

the hiring, advancement, or discharge of

employees, employee compensation, job training,

and other terms conditions and privileges of

employment.

42 U.S.C § 12112(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Simotas is a physician who began employment with

Kelsey-Seybold on March 15, 1999 in their

Obstetrics/Gynecology department. During her employment,

Kelsey-Seybold assigned Simotas to work with other resident-

physicians in the department. This alarmed Simotas, as she

3

only had three years of medical experience outside of

residency, and felt that in order to ensure the safety of her

patients she needed the additional guidance gained from

working alongside more experienced physicians.

Accordingly, Simotas reported the situation and her concerns

to her supervisors.

After learning of Simotas’ concerns, her supervisors

concluded that she was suffering from depression and needed

to take medical leave from work. On or around May 3; 2002,

Simotas took leave pursuant to the recommendation of her

supervisors.

After going on medical leave, Kelsey-Seybold sent

Simotas a- “separation agreement.” in that agreement,

Kelsey-Seybold stated that Simotas was to be terminated and

her last working day would be May 15, 2002. While the

document was signed by Kelsey-Seybold, it was not signed by

Simotas and did not constitute her discharge. Irrespective, an

email exchange later took place between members of Kelsey-

Seybold management stating, “Dr. Simotas [is terminated as

of] 5/16/02, but don’t send notice quite yet - let’s wait until

early next week.”

Dr. James Hoyle, Medical Director for Kelsey-Seybold,

sent Out a notice informing “all providers” that Simotas had

submitted her resignation as of May 23, 2002. However,

Simotas had not expressed any interest towards resigning,

much less submitted a formal resignation. Simotas did not

perform any services for Kelsey-Seybold after mid-May 2002.

Shortly thereafter, Simotas received a letter from Cigna,

Kelsey-Seybold’s health insurance provider, stating that she

had been terminated from Kelsey-Seybold as of May 31,

2002. Then, St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital, an affiliate of

4

Kelsey-Seybold, contacted Simotas and informed her that, as

of June 10, 2002, she was no longer associated with Kelsey-

Seybold.

While not entirely clear as to the date of Simotas’

termination, the foregoing events clearly seem to indicate

that—at some point, at least in house—she was terminated.

However, on August 16, 2002, a form was completed and

signed by the Kelsey-Seybold’s human resources department,

stating that Simotas had not been terminated in May 2002 but

retroactively was to be placed on “leave status,” and not to be

classified as “terminated.” (App. 21a.). This indicates that,

according to Respondent, Simotas was terminated in May in

their system but approximately three months later they

“un” terminated her. (App. 21a.).

Thereafter, the human resource’s department issued a

document stating that as of September 10, 2002, Simotas was

terminated. However, the document was not signed or

approved until September 11, 2002. Further, the document

classified Simotas as “TEMPPEND - Term Pending Final

Check,” meaning that the date of Simotas’ actual termination

was pending upon payment of her final paycheck. Kelsey-

Seybold then sent a letter to Simotas, stating that she was

terminated, but she would continue to receive her salary for

30 days. Kelsey-Seybold sent this letter to the wrong address

and Simotas did not receive the letter. Kelsey-Seybold was

fully aware of Simotas’ correct address, as indicated on the

stub for her last 30 days salary.

In a letter written by counsel for Kelsey-Seybold to the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, the company

stated that Simotas was terminated on September 12, 2002 as

opposed to their previous general position that she was

terminated on September 10, 2002. Respondent’s position was

5

further emphasized and corroborated in another, separate

letter written to the EEOC from Kelsey-Seybold’s counsel,

stating, again, that Simotas’ date of termination was

September 12. However, in yet another letter dated

September 12, 2002 written by counsel for Kelsey-Seybold to

counsel for Simotas, the company stated that Simotas was

terminated retroactively on September 10, 2002 but would

receive 30 days pay. Most importantly, Simotas was going to

be receiving pay and was on the payroll from 30 days from

September 12, 2002. (App. 19a.)

Due to the patent ambiguity of the foregoing events and

communications between Simotas, Kelsey-Seybold, and

various representatives for Kelsey-Seybold, it became

impossible for Simotas to determine the actual date of her

termination. Since it had been indicated that Simotas was

terminated on September 12th, but that she would continue to

receive pay or be on the payroll for an additional 30 days

thereafter, Simotas’ last day of employment would be October

12, 2002. Yet, Kelsey-Seybold did not cut a check for

Simotas for her last 30 days of employment until September

20th, extending the date she was on payroll to be October

20, 2002. As such, the 300-day limitations period for filing a

charge of discrimination with the EEOC expired no earlier

than October 12th, and possibly extended through October

20th. Accordingly, Simotas was within the 300-day filing

period when she filed her charge with the EEOC on August

8, 2003.'

' Kelsey Seybold is at least consistent in its pattern and practice of

changing dates as they relate to Dr. Simotas. Additionally, though

Plaintiff has shown this Court above that Defendant sent a

communication on September 12, 2002, Defendant specifically

denies sending such a communication in paragraph 4.3 of its

Amended Original Answer filed in this case on March 7, 2005.

6

Plaintiff offers sworn evidence under oath that the last day

of her employ with Defendant was October 12, 2002. The

sworn EEOC charge wherein the EEOC requests the Jatest

date discrimination took place [emphasis ours] indicating that

the “latest date discrimination took place” was October 12,

2002. This is based on page two of Dr. Simotas’ charge,

paragraph 3 where she indicates that on “September 12, 2002,

Kelsey-Seybold communicated to me that I would be fired. 30

days from September 12, 2002 is October 12, 2002 - and

according to the EEOC form - the latest date discrimination

took place. This is supported by notification from defense

counsel Ms. Cavazos to Plaintiff's counsel and through letter

dated September 12, 2002 that Dr. Simotas was to be on

payroll for 30 days [emphasis ours] and that Defendant “will

forward a check for 30 days pay, less legal deductions.”

Kelsey Seybold argues that on August 8, 2003, 332 days

after her termination of employment, Simotas filed a charge

of discrimination with the EEOC. Rather, on August 8, 2003,

300 days after the last day she was on Kelsey Seybold’s

payroll (September 12, 2002 plus 30 days is October 12,

2002) Dr. Simotas timely filed her charge of discrimination.

District Court Judge Harmon determined that a fact issue

did not exist as which date was the last discriminatory action.

The District Court offered analysis benefit of any case law or

Defendant states that according to the administrative file maintained

by the EEOC, Simotas’ charge of discrimination was prepared,

faxed and filed by her attorneys on August 8, 2002. It is true that

Plaintiff filed her charge on August 8, 2003; however, the

documents Defendant provided and swore to be true from the

EEOC erroneously indicate a filing date of August 18, 2002.

7

legal standard in its order denying Petitioner’s Motion for

Reconsideration.

Judge Harmon went on to determine that Simotas

specifically raised questions of how to interpret facts, “yet

held that no fact issue existed.” Des; ‘te these raised questions

of how to interpret facts, Judge Harmon interpreted facts and

waded through the eleven proposed termination dates and

chose a date of the latest discriminatory event herself. The

District Court did not draw references in favor of Petitioner.

Judge Harmon held that Petitioner’s Motion for

Reconsideration was untimely filed, a proposition which the

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit ultimately disagreed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The opinion of Court of Appeals of the Fifth Circuit

conflicts with the reasoning and interpretation of the

First Circuit Court of Appeals because the Fifth

Circuit decided that it was irrelevant when Simotas felt

the effects of the adverse decision.

The First Circuit Court of Appeals declined to follow or

extend Ricks and the lines of cases immediately following

Ricks, including but not limited to Chardon v. Fernandez,”

because there was no apparent tangible effects of the injury

and the implications of the discriminatory acts were not

crystallized.

The First Circuit has noted that that an overly expansive

reading of Ricks may lead to problems of ripeness. See

* 454 U.S. 6 (1981). (App. 23a).

8

Johnson v. General Electric, 840 F.2d132, 136 (1* Cir.

1988). The Johnson court went on to state that it is unwise to

encourage lawsuits before the injuries occur resulting from

the violations are delineated, or before it is even certain that

the injuries will occur at all. /d. Actions that do not have any

crystallized implications or apparent tangible effects do not

trigger the statute of limitations. Thomas v. Eastman Kodak

Co., 183 F.3d 38, 55 (1* Cir. 1999). (App. 54a). In fact, they

are not actionable at all. In Fletcher v. Tufts University, the

plaintiff was a former employee of the university and eligible

for disability benefits. 367 F. Supp. 2d 99 (D.Mass 2005).

The court held, invoking Thomas, that plaintiff's statute did

not begin to run when she was classified as having a mental

condition or when she was given notice that her benefits

would end but rather when her benefits ended [emphasis

ours] as she would not have suffered an injury because she

would not have been deprived of any benefits to which she

would have been entitled. Fletcher, 367 F. Supp. at 99. Thus

plaintiff was aware of her actionable injury on the date the

benefits stopped that she was aware of the cause of the injury

and it was on that date that the alleged discriminatory acts

became apparent and crystallized. Fletcher, 367 F. Supp. 2d

99, 109. (citing Thomas, 183 F.3d at 55).

Accordingly, Simotas’ cause of action accrued when her

benefits (30 days or salary pay) ended and her injury was

apparent and crystallized. Review is necessary to maintain

uniformity and consistency among the Circuit Court’s

regarding this Court’s opinions, particularly those interpreting

Ricks and Chardon.

The First Circuit reasoning is appropriate and consistent

with the definition of actionable injury and the plain meaning

of the statute.

9

Justices Brennan and Marshall dissented in Chardon,

opining that it is quite another thing to hold, as the Court did

in Chardon, that a cause of action for damages resulting from

an unconstitutional termination of employment accrues when

the Plaintiff learns that he will be terminated. Chardon, 454

U.S. at 9. (App. 23a). Justices Brennan stated that to his

knowledge such a rule has no analogue in customary

principles of limitations law. Jd.; See 4 A. Corbin, Contactors

§ 989 (1951). (App. 23a).

Petitioner had no concrete harm and had not suffered an

adverse action until she was no longer on Respondent’s

payroll.

2. The opinion of the Fifth Circuit flies in the face of

the plain meaning of the statute.

The Fifth Circuit opinion as to when the cause of action

accrued or the statute of limitations begins to run is not within

the plain meaning of the statute at hand. The first step for the

Court in interpreting a statute is to determine whether the

language at issue has a plain and unambiguous meaning with

regard to the particular dispute in the case. The inquiry must

cease if the statutory language is unambiguous and “the

statutory scheme is coherent and consistent.” United States v.

Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S. 235, 240(1989). The

Statue defines the action, which can be considered an

actionable injury. The Fifth Circuit’s holding that the

beginning date for the limitations period is the day the

employee learns of the challenged decision is contrary to the

plain meaning of the statute. This statute is not ambiguous.

(b) General rule. - No covered entity shall

discriminate against a qualified individual with a

disability because of the disability of such

10

individual in regard to job application procedures,

the hiring, advancement, or discharge of

employees, employee compensation, job training,

and other terms conditions and privileges of

employment.

42 U.S.C § 12112(a).

This Court should not depart from the plain meaning of

the statute.

The actionable injury in the instant case is the termination

or discharge of the Plaintiff, not her notice of termination or

discharge. “Notice” of termination of her employment

relationship or the decision to terminate is clearly and

unambiguously not listed as a mechanism for discriminating

and is not an actionable injury or adverse action under the

statute. The notice is not a ripe adverse action or an adverse

action at all under the law. The Fifth Circuit opinion in the

instant matter and particularly in the instant matter - as eleven

very different dates exist as to when Defendant “terminated”

Plaintiff (even on one occasion terminated her in their human

resources software and months later “un” terminated her) -

lead to those very problems of ripeness. The opinion of the

Fifth Circuit stands for the premise of encouraging lawsuits

before the injuries or violations occur and is contra to the

statute.

While a provision exists for statutes to be tolled or

modified those provisions exist when facts are concealed or

the injured is mislead. However, those situations always

involve the injured obtaining knowledge after the injury as

opposed to before. Rhodes v. Guiberson Oil Tools Division,

927 F.2d 876 (5" Cir. 1991). This is similar to a patient

finding out his doctor left a sponge in during surgery. The

1]

scienter is after the action. In the instant case, the Court wants

us to have knowledge of the actionable injury or adverse

action before it actually occurs. Petitioner, and in the very

good company of Justice Brennan, can think of no other

circumstance where the statute begins to run before the

actionable injury occurs. This simply isn’t good law.

3. The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

conflicts with Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449

U.S. 250 (1980) and Hitt v. Connell, 301 F.3d 240

(5" Cir. 2002) because the Court of Appeals found

that Simotas’ cause of action accrued on September

12, 2006, one of the 11 different days that have

been used as her termination date because Simotas

received notice of termination that day though an

actionable injury or an adverse action did not

occur,

The trial court committed error by making a factual

interpretation of when Plaintiff's ADA claims accrued. The

Fifth Circuit opinion in this case conflicts with existing Fifth

Circuit precedent because the decision is based on the premise

that the relevant date for the limitations period is the day the

employee learns the decision has. been made. An actionable

injury is required for a statute to run, not even a proposed

notice constitutes an actionable injury such as an adverse

action.

In Hitt, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals found that it

was not Hitt’s perception of a threat to his job, his fear of

being fired or even the proposed notice of firing that

constituted an actionable injury. Hitt v. Connell, 301 F.3d 240

(S" Cir.2002). (App. 32a). In this context, the injury is

unlawful retaliation resulting in an “adverse employment

action,” such as discharge, demotion or formal reprimand.

12

Hitt v. Connell, 301 F.3d 240 (5" Cir. 2002); See Breaux v.

City of Garland, 205 F.3d 150, 157-58 (5" Cir. 2000). The

Court in Hitt’ opined that the Appellant’s (Connell’s)

argument rested on a misreading of the Supreme Court

decision in Delaware State College v. Ricks. 301 F.3d at 246.

The Court went on to hold:

In Ricks, the plaintiff alleged that the college

unlawfully discriminated against him when it denied

him tenure. After denying him tenure, however, the

college offered Ricks a “terminal” employment

contract; both parties understood that Ricks had to

leave at the end of the year. The Supreme Court held

that the statute of limitations began to run when the

college reached a final decision denying tenure, rather

than when Rick’s employment ultimately ceased. The

result hinged on the fact that Ricks complained about

a single adverse employment action: the denial of

tenure. As the Court clearly explained, “If Ricks

intended to complain of a discriminatory discharge,

he should have identified the alleged discriminatory

acts that continued until, or occurred at the time

of, the actual termination of his employment. But

the complaint alleges no such facts”

Hitt, 301 F.3d at 246, (citing Ricks, 449 U.S. at 255-

258.) (App. 32a).

In other words, the only adverse action Ricks complained

of was the denial of tenure. Ricks did not complain of his

termination or discharge. If he had complained of his

termination, like Petitioner did, his cause of action would

3 The opinion was authored by the Honorable Edith Jones.

13

have accrued at the time of his actual termination of

employment. It is important to note that the Supreme Court

uses the words “actual termination of employment” [emphasis

ours} as opposed to “notice of.” Ricks, 449 U.S. 258.

Simotas’ actual employment relationship ended on October

21, 2006 as she was on Respondent’s payroll until that time.

The end of the actual employment relationship is the

discriminatory discharge of which Petitioner complains.

The Court of Appeals went on to incorrectly hold that

“[mjere continuity of employment, without more, is

insufficient to prolong the life of a cause of action for

employment discrimination. Opinion, page 4 at Appendix la.

(citing Ricks, 449 U.S. at 257.) This premise is simply wrong

and inapplicable to the case at bar. That reasoning was

discussed in Ricks, only because he failed to complain about

his termination as an adverse action and was trying to boot

strap onto his denial of tenure complaint. The argument

regarding continuity of employment does not apply here

because Simotas did complain about her termination as the

adverse action just as the Fifth Circuit opined in Hitt. 301

F.3d at 246, (citing Ricks, 449 U.S. at-255-258.) (App. 32a)

The Court of Appeal’s opinion of the Fifth Circuit is

inconsistent with Supreme Court and existing Fifth Circuit

precedent.‘

* The June 2006 Supreme Court decision expanding the definition

of adverse action boosts Simotas’ position by stating that the anti-

retaliation provision covers only those employer actions that would

have been materially adverse to a reasonable employee. Burlington

Northern v. White, 126 S.Ct. 2405 (June 22, 2006). The case does

not discuss notice as materially adverse.

14

4. The opinion of the Fifth Circuit conflicts with

Walters v. Metropolitan Educ. Enters. , 519 U.S. 202

(1997); Community for Creative Non-Violence v.

Reid, 490 U.S. 730 (1989) by incorrectly

determining the date of the latest discriminatory

act and affirming a lower court finding of fact.

The standard the district court did use, and the Fifth

Circuit affirmed, and which was bereft of any legal authority

at all, and which stated that Simotas did not perform any

services for Defendant after a September 12, 2002 date is

incorrect in law and in fact. Simotas had been on leave for

five months, had not performed services during that time

and was indeed an employee of Defendant. The correct

standard to determine when an employment relationship ends

is the Supreme Court precedent setting forth that person is an

employee is whether that employee is on the payroll and the

tax subsequent treatment of the employee. Walters v.

Metropolitan Educ. Enters., 519 U.S. 202, 206, 117 S.Ct.

660, 663 (1997); Community for Creative Non-Violence v.

Reid, 490 U.S. 730, 751-52, 109 S.Ct. 2166, 2178-79

(1989).

On September 20, 2006, 8 days after the district court

determined was the last discriminatory event, Respondent

gave Simotas a paycheck for “30 days pay” replete with

deductions. Simotas remained on the payroll and a remained

an employee, for the next 30 days. The employment

relationship did not end until after October 20, 2002, which

is the day before the statute began to run. Accordingly,

Simotas would be off the payroll on October 21, 2002.

The Fifth Circuit and Judge Harmon erred in determining

there was not a fact issue as to the last date of discrimination

for purposes of statute of limitations which in itself is a

15

conflict with Fifth Circuit precedent. In fact, determining

which date is the last discriminatory act is itself a fact issue.

United States v. Georgia Power Co., 474 F.2d 906, 923-24

(Sth Cir. 1973); see Bano v. Union Carbide Corp. , 361 F.3d

696, 712 (2nd Cir. 2004). Judge Harmon determined that

“Simotas specifically raised questions of how to interpret

facts.” The Fifth Circuit ignored this blatant inconsistency

with precedent.

In the District Court’s order granting summary judgment,

the Court concludes “(t]he employment relationship ended no

later than September 12, 2002.” However, as shown above,

there is a material dispute between the litigants concerning the

date representing the end of the employment relationship.

Simotas consistently took the position that the employment

relationship ended no sooner than October 12, 2002, and

possibly extended as far as October 20, 2002. In support of

this position, Simotas has offered her sworn testimony that

she believed in good faith the last date of discrimination was

October 12, 2002. Further, she has produced a paycheck that

she received on September 20, 2002, representing 30 days

pay, indicating her employment was extended through

October 20, 2002 (i.e. 30 days from the receipt of the check).

The District Court’s order denying the Motion for

Reconsideration is two pages and two lines long. The only

authority contained in the order is Federal rule related to the

court’s incorrect proposition that Simotas untimely filed her

motion.

The District Court’s mischaracterization of dates, and

engagement as a fact finder on what was the last

discriminatory act is a question of fact for the trial court.

EEOC v. Griffin Wheel Company, 511 F.2d 456 (5" Cir.

1975).

16

In the District Court’s order granting summary judgment,

the Court concludes “[t]he employment relationship ended no

later than September 12, 2002.” Despite that incorrect finding

of fact, a material dispute exists between the litigants

concerning the date representing the end of the employment

relationship.

The District Court states that “[n]o evidence suggests that

Simotas haf{d] the right to exchange labor for money with

Kelsey-Seybold after September 12, 2002.” In fact, Simotas

did not exchange labor for money after mid-May 2002

through her ultimate or “real” termination in October 2002.

However, the Court failed to explain how Simotas was an

employee from May through September though she had not

performed services at that time.° Eleven dates exist as to when

Respondent terminated Simotas. Kelsey-Seybold had, in their

files, terminated Simotas from May 15, 2002 to August 16,

2003 and retroactively re-instated her on their payroll as an

employee though she, Simotas, had not exchanged labor for

services or under the District Court’s respectfully misguided

position that she had no right to perform serviccs.

The circumstances surrounding Simotas’ discharge,

coupled with the mixed official signals conveyed to her by

Kelsey-Seybold and its various affiliates, are collectively

sufficient to cast doubt upon whether a reasonable employee

in Simotas’ position should have known of the exact date she

had been discharged. See Clark v. Resistoflex Co., 854 F.2d

762, 766 (Sth Cir. 1988). The record contains undisputed

evidence that Simotas received several different statements

indicating the date of her termination, none being any more

> Anemployee on ununpaid leave is still an employee. DeVito v.

Chicago Park Dist. 83 F.3d 878, 880 (7" Cir. 1996).

17

persuasive or authoritative then another. Yet, the relevant

inquiry is not merely on the subjective state of mind of the

plaintiff, but also on the sufficiency of the notice Simotas

received and when an actionable injury occurred. See id.

While Kelsey-Seybold argues that Simotas received notice on

September 10th, it hardly can be said that such notice was any

more sufficient than the October 20th termination date. This

creates an undeniable fact issue on the date of Simotas’

termination. |

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons identified herein, a Writ of

Certiorari should issue to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and, ultimately,

the vacate the judgment below and remand the cause to the

District Court for the Southern District of Texas, Houston

Division, for further proceedings and a trial on the merits of

Simotas’ claims or provide the Petitioner such other relief as

is far and just in the circumstances.

Respectfully submitted,

Ellen Sprovach

Counsel of Record

ROSENBERG & SPROVACH

11 Greenway Plaza, Suite 2810

Houston, Texas 77046

(713) 960-8300

Attorney For Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-20049

[Filed January 3, 2007]

MD ALEXANDRA SIMOTAS

Plaintiff-Appellant,

KELSEY-SEYBOLD,

)

)

)

v. ae

)

)

‘Defendant-Appellee. )

)

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas, Houston

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

Before JONES, KING, and, DAVIS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing is denied.

2a

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/

United States Circuit Judge

3a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-20049

[Filed December 6, 2006]

ALEXANDRA SIMOTAS, M.D.,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

versus

KELSEY-SEYBOLD,

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant-Appellee. )

)

Before JONES, Chief Judge, and KING and DAVIS, Circuit

Judges.

OPINION

PER CURIAM:*

Dr. Alexandra Simotas appeals the district court’s grant of

summary judgment on her ADA claim against her former

* Pursuant to 5TH Cir. R. 47.5, the court has determined that

this opinion should not be published and is not precedent except

under the limited circumstances set forth in STH Cir. R. 47.5.4.

4a

employer. As the claim is time-barred, the district court’s

ruling is AFFIRMED.

I. BACKGROUND

Simotas previously was employed as a physician by

Kelsey-Seybold Medical Group, P.A. (“Kelsey-Seybold”) in

Houston, Texas. On September 10, 2002, after Simotas had

been on leave for several months, Kelsey-Seybold sent a letter

informing her that her leave had expired as she was

“terminated effective today . . . without notice and with thirty

(30) days [sic] pay.” Simotas received the letter on September

12, 2002. Also on September 12, Kelsey-Seybold notified

Simotas’s attorneys of the discharge.

On August 8, 2003, 332 days after her termination,

Simotas submitted a charge of discrimination to the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”). The EEOC

dismissed the charge as untimely and issued a notice of right

to sue. Simotas filed this lawsuit, asserting a violation of the

Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA”) in the Southern

District of Texas. The district court granted Kelsey-Seybold’s

motion for summary judgment on November 30, 2005.

Simotas filed a motion for reconsideration, which the district

court denied. This appeal followed.

II. DISCUSSION »

_A. Summary Judgment

We review a district court’s grant of summary judgment

de novo, applying the same standards as the trial court.

MacLachlan v. ExxonMobil Corp., 350 F.3d 472, 478 (Sth

Cir. 2003). A court should grant summary judgment when

“the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

Sa

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that

the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.”

FED. R. CIV. P. 56(c). Facts are material only if they

“might affect the outcome of the suit under the governing law

. . . . Factual disputes that are irrelevant or unnecessary will

not be counted.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 248, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 2510, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202 (1986).

The ADA incorporates the enforcement procedures of

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, set forth in 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5. See 42 U.S.C. § 12117. Before pursuing

a claim, a plaintiff must file a timely charge of discrimination

with the EEOC. Dao v. Auchan Hypermarket, 96 F.3d 787,

788-89 (Sth Cir. 1996) (per curiam). In a “deferral state”

such as Texas, the charge must be filed within 300 days. 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e)(1); Tyler v. Union Oil Co. of Cal., 304

F.3d 379, 384 (Sth Cir. 2002).

The discriminatory act of which Simotas complains is the

termination of employment. Simotas admitted receiving the

letter informing her of the termination on September 12,

2002, and her counsel received notice that same day. Simotas

did not file her EEOC charge until August 8, 2003, well over

300 days later.

The fact that she received thirty days’ pay with her

termination does not extend the filing period. The relevant

date for determining the beginning date for the limitations

period is the day the employee learns that the challenged

decision has been made, not when she feels the effects of that

decision. See Chardon v. Fernandez, 454 U.S. 6, 8, 102 S.

Ct. 28, 29, 70 L. Ed. 2d 6 (1981) (per curiam) (statute of

limitations bégan to run when plaintiffs learned of the decision

to terminate, not when their appointments ended); Del. State

6a

Coll. v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 257-59, 101 S. Ct. 498, 504,

66 L. Ed. 2d 431 (1980) (limitations period began to run

when plaintiff was notified of the denial of tenure, not on the

date his employment ended); Rhodes v. Guiberson Oil Tools

Div., 927 F.2d 876, 878 (Sth Cir. 1991) (“filing period

begins when the employee receives notice of discharge.”).

Even if the payment extended her employment, “mere

continuity of employment, without more, is insufficient to

prolong the life of a cause of action for employment

discrimination.” Ricks, 449 U.S. at 257, 101 S. Ct. at 504.!

For the first time on appeal, Simotas argues that the

limitations period should be equitably modified. Arguments

not made before the district court are waived and will not be

considered on:appeal. Jethroe v. Omnova Solutions, Inc., 412

F.3d 598, 601 (Sth Cir. 2005). Moreover, Simotas can point

to no recognized basis for equitable modification, nor can she

put forth evidence to justify a modification. As Simotas has

the burden of proving any grounds for equitable modification,

her claim must fail. See Rhodes, 927 F.2d at 879.

B. Attorneys’ Fees

Kelsey-Seybold moves for attorneys’ fees under either

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 38 or 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(k), which is incorporated into the ADA by 42

' Simotas also contends, and Appellee agrees, that the court

mistakenly held her motion for reconsideration to be untimely.

Even if true, this error was harmless, as Simotas failed to explain

why her affidavit was not filed in conjunction with initial

consideration of summary judgment, and the affidavit even if

considered, does not dispute that her attorneys were informed on

September 12 of her termination. See Jn re Cueva, 371 F.3d 232,

234 (Sth Cir. 2004).

Ta

U.S.C. § 12117. While Simotas presents a fundamentally

incorrect understanding of the law, we decline to say that her

claims were “frivolous, unreasonable, or without foundation.”

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. EEOC, 434 U.S. 412, 421, 98

S. Ct. 694, 700, 54 L. Ed. 2d 648 (1978). Additionally, a

portion of the appeal sprang from the district court’s error in

calculating the applicable time limitation regarding the motion

for reconsideration. Although we affirm the judgment of the

district court, the appeal was not entirely frivolous.

Ill. CONCLUSION

The district court properly dismissed Simotas’s

employment discrimination action as time barred.

Its judgment is AFFIRMED.

8a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 06-20049

D.C. Docket No. 4:04-cv-3549

[Filed December 6, 2006]

MD ALEXANDRA SIMOTAS

Plaintiff-Appellant,

KELSEY-SEYBOLD,

)

)

)

V. )

)

)

Defendant-Appellee. )

)

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas, Houston.

Before JONES, Chief Judge, and KING and DAVIS, Circuit

Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause was considered on the record on appeal and the

briefs on file.

It is ordered and adjudged that the judgment of the District

Court is affirmed.

9a

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff-appellant pay

to defendant-appellee the costs on appeal to be taxed by the

Clerk of this Court.

ISSUED AS MANDATE: Jan 11 2007

A True Copy Attest

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals Fifth Circuit

By: /s/

Deputy

New Orleans, Louisiana Jan 11 2007

10a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. H-04-3549

[Filed January 4, 2006]

ALEXANDRA SIMOTAS,

Plaintiff,

KELSEY-SEYBOLD,

)

)

| )

VS. )

)

)

Defendant. )

)

ORDER DENYING MOTION FOR

RECONSIDERATION

Before the court is a motion for reconsideration brought

by the Plaintiff, Alexandra Simotas (Simotas). Doc. 30. The

Defendant, Kelsey-Seybold, responded. Doc. 31.

The motion for reconsideration is DENIED. Doc. 30.

BACKGROUND

Kelsey-Seybold terminated Simotas through a letter dated

September 10, 2002 and received September 12, 2002. That

lla

letter read, in part, “your employment is terminated, effective

today... with thirty (30) days pay.”

On November 30, 2005, the court entered a memorandum

and order granting Kelsey-Seybold’s motion for summary

judgment. Doc. 28. Simotas filed her motion for

reconsideration on December 14, 2005.

LEGAL ANALYSIS

A litigant must file a motion for reconsideration in a

timely manner. “Any motion to alter or amend a judgment

shall be filed no later than 10 days after entry of the

judgment.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e). ‘”Judgment’ as used in

these rules includes a decree and any order from which an

appeal lies.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(a). Simotas asks the court to

alter its order entered November 30, 2005, i.e., the order

granting the motion for summary judgment. She filed her

motion more than ten days after the order granting the motion

for summary judgment was entered. Therefore, this court has

no ability to entertain her motion. Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e).

Furthermore, no question of material fact exists. The

arguments that Simotas advances do not raise disputes of fact.

Instead, they raise questions of how to interpret facts. Both

parties agree that Simotas received a stating that her

employment was terminated “effective today ... with thirty

days pay.” They also agree that the letter was dated

September 10, 2002. There is no evidence that Simotas

received the letter after September 12, 2002. The parties

dispute only when Simotas ceased to be an employee of

Kelsey-Seybold, an issue dispute raises a question of how to

interpret the legal effect of the letter, but does not raise any

factual disputes.

12a

Kelsey-Seybold terminated Simotas’ employment,

“effective today.” The phrase “effective today” cannot mean

that Simotas was terminated September 20, 2002 or on

October 12, 2002 as neither of those dates could reasonably

be considered “today” as the term was used in a letter dated

September 10, 2002 and received on September 12, 2002.

In fact, Simotas does not appear to dispute the meaning of

“effective today.” Instead, she identifies another portion of

the sentence as contradicting the first part of the sentence.

Specifically, she believes that “with thirty days pay” some

how extended her employment beyond the date referenced as

“today.” It did not. The first part of the sentence, “effective

today” described how long the employment relationship

would continue. “Thirty days pay” described the terms on

which it would end. “Thirty days” pay is merely a method of

denominating the amount of money that Simotas- would

receive. Kelsey-Seybold could have denominated the same

amount of money in an absolute dollar figure without

changing the meaning of the sentence.

Because Simotas, the Plaintiff, did not file a motion for

reconsideration in a timely fashion, her motion is DENIED.

Doc. 30.

SIGNED at Houston, Texas, this 4th day of January, 2006

/s/

Melinda Harmon

United States District Judge

13a

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. H-04-3549

[Filed November 30, 2005]

ALEXANDRA SIMOTAS

Plaintiff

»

KELSEY-SEYBOLD

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant )

)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

The Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment is

GRANTED. Doc. 16.

BACKGROUND

Both parties agree that:

(1) No later than September 12, 2002, the Plaintiff, Alexandra

Simotas (Simotas) received a letter from the Defendant,

Kelsey-Seybold. The letter read, in part, “Your employment

14a

is terminated, effective today... with thirty (30) days pay.”

Doc. 16, Exh. 3.

(2) Kelsey-Seybold did not employ Simotas at any time after

September 12, 2002.

(3) Simotas filed a charge of discrimination with the Equal

Opportunity Employment Commission (“EEOC”) on August

8, 2003, more than 300 days after September 12, 2002.

LEGAL STANDARDS

A party seeking summary judgment must identify those

portions of the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, showing that no genuine issue of material

fact exists and explain why it is is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); Celotex Corp. v.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325 (1986). If the moving party

demonstrates both an absence of a material fact and an

entitlement to judgment as a matter of law, then the party

opposing the motion for summary judgment bears the burden

of setting forth specific facts and competent summary

judgment evidence that raise a genuine issue of material fact

on each essential element of any claim on which he bears the

burden of proof at trial. Fed. R.Civ. P. 56(c). The non-

moving party may not rest on mere allegations or denials in

its pleadings, but must produce affirmative evidence and

specific facts demonstrating the existence of a genuine issue

for trial. Fed. R.Civ. P. 56(e); Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

477 U.S. 248, 256-57 (1986). The non-moving party need not

present its own evidence, but may identify genuine issues of

fact raised by the evidence produced by the moving party to

survive summary judgment. Isquith v. Middle South Utilities,

Inc., 847 F.2d 186, 198-200 (Sth Cir. 1988).

15a

Simotas alleges that Kelsey-Seybold violated the -

Americans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. § 12101, et seq.,

“ADA”). Claims under the ADA must be filed with the

EEOC within 300 days after the “alleged unlawful practice

occurred” pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5, otherwise, they

are time-barred. See, 42 U.S.C. § 12117: Waltman v.

International Paper Co., 875 F.2d 468, 474 (Sth Cir. 1988);

and Stith v. Perot Systems Corp.. 2004 WL 690884 (N.D.

Tex. 2004).

ANALYSIS

In this case, the “alleged unlawful practice” was the

termination of the employment relationship between Simotas

and Kelsey-Seybold. The employment relationship ended no

later than September 12, 2002. No evidence suggests that

Kelsey-Seybold asked Simotas to perform any services for it

after September 12, 2002. Likewise, no evidence suggests

that Simotas attempted to perfoml any services after

September 12, 2002. No evidence suggests that Simotas has

the right to exchange labor for money with Kelsey-Seybold

after September 12, 2002.

Simotas argues that she was “on the payroll” for thirty

days after September 12, 2002 because she received thirty

days pay, rather than thirty days of severance pay. However,

the fact that Simotas received thirty days of pay is immaterial

because the “alleged unlawful practice” was not the act of

paying money to Simotas. Simotas did not explain how ADA

prohibited, or even regulated, the choice Kelsey-Seybold

made to structure its last payment to her. Moreover, whether

Simotas was “on the payroll” is similarly irrelevant because

Simotas had no right to return to work after September 12,

2002 whether she was “on the payroll” or not.

l6a

In summary, Simotas presented no admissible evidence

suggesting that “effective today” meant anything other than

what the words appear to mean: Kelsey-Seybold committed

the “alleged unlawful practice” more than 300 days before

Simotas filed her charge of discrimination.

Accordingly the Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment

is GRANTED. Doc. 16.

SIGNED at Houston, Texas, this 29" day of November,

2005.

/s/

MELINDA HARMON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

l7a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. H-04-3549

{Filed November 30, 2005]

ALEXANDRA SIMOTAS,

Plaintiff,

VS.

KELSEY-SEYBOLD,

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant. )

)

FINAL JUDGMENT

On this day, November 30, 2005, in the action pending

between Plaintiff, Alexandra Simotas, and Defendant, Kelsey-

Seybold, lhe court issued its Opinion on Summary Judgment

that Plaintiff's claims must be dismissed, and the court hereby

ORDERS that Plaintiff, Alexandra Simotas, take nothing,

and that Defendant, Kelsey-Seybold, is awarded its costs.

SIGNED at Houston, Texas, this 30th day of November,

2005.

18a

/s/

Melinda Harmon

United States District Judge

19a

APPENDIX G

THOMPSON & KNIGHT LLP

ATTORNEYS AND COUNSELORS

THREE ALLEN CENTER

333 CLAY STREET SUITE 3300

HOUSTON, TEXAS 77022-4499

(713)854-8111 FAX (713) 654-1871

www.tklaw.com

September 12, 2002

Via Facsimile 713 621-6670

And Regular Mail

Ellen Sprovach, Esq.

Gregg M. Rosenberg & Associates

11 Greenway Plaza, Suite 2810

Houston, TX 77046

Re:Alexandra_ Simotas, M.D./Kelsey-Seybold

MedicalGroup, P.A. (“Kelsy-Seybold”)

Dear: Ms. Sprovach:

Kelsey-Seybold rejects Dr. Simotas’ offer to settle her

claims for the payment of five months severance. As you

know, on Friday, May 3, 2002, Dr. Simotas met with Dr.

James Hoyle, Kelsey’s Medical Director of Clinical

Operations; Dr. Fran Smith, Department Chief of Obstetrics;

20a

and Susan Moore, Director of Human Resources. Dr. Hoyle

informed Dr. Simotas of certain concerns including

performance and quality of care issues that would need to be

addressed through the peer review process.

Dr. Hoyle discussed an alternative if Dr. Simotas wanted

to resign and be paid severance. Instead, Dr. Simotas

requested to be placed on leave, and she was placed on leave

without pay. Dr. Simotas has now been on leqave status for

just over four months. Her leave has expired, and I have

been advised that her employment has been terminated by

Kelsey-Seybold without notice and with thirty (30) days pay,

effective September 10, 2002. By separate letter, Kelsey-

Seybold has advised Dr. Simotas of her termination of

employment and will forward a check for 30 days pay, less

legal deductions.

On another note, you sent me a letter, advising that it was

your understanding that Kelsey-Seybold had cancelled Dr.

Simotas’ health insurance. If Dr. Simotas’ health insurance

was cancelled inadvertently, it has been reinstated. In

connection with her termination of employment, Dr. Simotas

will receive a separate letter, advising her of her right to elect

health insurance continuation.

Yours very truly,

/s/ Roxella T. Cavazos

Roxella T. Cavazos

[ USCAS 193 ]

2la

APPENDIX H

Kelsey-Seybold Clinic

HUMAN RESOURCES ACTION FORM

Employee Identification Information

Name (Last, First, MI) Employee #

Alexandra Simotas 11867

Termination (2 reason codes and Term/Final status code

required)

Status Code Term/Final Status

Tl

Miscellaneous Change

Effective Date

05/15/02

Comments: _ Change Employee to L9 status (no pay. no

benefits).

APPROVALS

Initiative Supervisor/Manager Date

Manager/Director Date

Vice President/CAO Date

22a

s/SM 8/16/02

Human Resources Date

Data Entry Initials: _SB

6/18/02

RETURN TO HUMAN RESOURCES

[ USCAS 420 ]

[ PLAINTIFF’S EXHIBIT 9 ]

APPENDIX I

454 U.S. 6, 102 S.Ct. 28, 27 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas.(BNA)

57, 27 Empl. Prac. Dec. P 32,205, 70 L.Ed.2d 6 (1981)

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 81-249

[Filed November 2, 1981]

CHARDON, SECRETARY OF PUBLIC

EDUCATION OF PUERTO RICO, ET AL.

)

)

)

Vv. )

)

FERNANDEZ ET AL.” )

” Together with Chardon, Secretary of Public Education of

Puerto Rico, et al. v. Rodriguez; Chardon, Secretary of Public

Education of Puerto Rico, et al. v. Santiago de Orta; Chardon,

Secretary of Public Education of Puerto Rico, et al. v. Angiuta de

Rios; Chardon, Secretary of Public Education of Puerto Rico, et al.

v. Sanchez; Chardon, Secretary of Public Education of Puerto Rico,

et al. v. Santana; Chardon, Secretary of Public Education of Puerto

Rico, et al. v. Perez-Ramirez; Chardon, Secretary of Public

Education of Puerto Rico, et al. v. Roman de Molina; Chardon,

Secretary of Public Education of Puerto Rico, et al. v. Collazo;

Chardon, Secretary of Public Education of Puerto Rico, et al. y.

Garcia; Chardon, Secretary of Public Education of Puerto Rico, et

al. v. Lopez de Ferra; Chardon, Secretary of Public Education of

Puerto Rico, et al. v. Beltran; Chardon, Secretary of Public

24a

In a suit by terminated nontenured administrators in the

Puerto Rico Department of Education, under the 1871 civil

rights statute, a dismissal was granted by the United States

District Court for the District of Puerto Rico, but the Court of

Appeals, First Circuit, reversed 648 F.2d 765. The Supreme

Court held that applicable limitations period began to run

when notice of termination was given, allegedly on political

grounds, and not on date when employment terminated, there

being no allegation of illegal acts committed subsequent on

date on which decisions to terminate were made.

Reversed and remanded.

Justice Brennan dissented and filed opinion in which Justice

Marshall joined.

Justice Stevens dissented and filed opinion in which Justice

Brennan and Justice Marshall joined.

OPINION

[*6] [**28] PER CURIAM.

Respondents were nontenured administrators in the Puerto

Rico Department of Education during the 1976-1977 [*7]

school year.' On dates prior to June 18, 1977, each

Education of Puerto Rico, et al. v. Cacho.de Freytes; and Chardon,

Secretary of Public Education of Puerto Rico, et al. v. Navarro,

also on petition for certiorari to the same court (see this Court’s

Rule 19.4).

' Petitioners request a writ of certiorari to the Court of Appeals

for the First Circuit to review a total of 14 judgments entered in

favor of 36 respondents. The published decision, discussed in text,

25a

respondent was notified by letter that his appointment would

terminate at a specified date between June 30 and August 8,

1977. On June 19, 1978, Rafael Rivera Fernandez filed a

complaint alleging that the terminations violated 42 U. S. C.

§ 1983. The District Court dismissed the suit, holding that the

action had accrued on the date the employees received the

letters and that the claims were therefore barred by the

applicable 1-year statute of limitations, P. R. Laws Ann., Tit.

31, § 5298(2) (1968). The Court of Appeals for the First

Circuit reversed on the ground that the limitations period did

not begin running until respondents’ [**29] appointments

ended. 648 F.2d 765 (1981).

The decision below is contrary to a recent decision of this

Court: Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250 (1980).

In that case, Ricks filed suit alleging that the denial of tenure

at a state college deprived him of his rights under Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U. S. C. § 2000e et seg.,

and under 42 U. S. C. § 1981. And we held that the

applicable limitations periods began to run when Ricks was

denied tenure, rather than on the date his employment

terminated. His action was, therefore, time-barred.

The Court of Appeals for the First Circuit distinguished

Ricks on the ground that Ricks had alleged that denial of

tenure was the “unlawful employment practice,” whereas here

respondents allege that termination of their employment as

administrators was the “unlawful employment practice.” [*8]

represents one judgment in a suit brought by 23-respondents; that

decision was issued May 8, 1981. See 648 F.2d 765 (1981).

Identical individual judgments in favor of the other 13 respondents

were issued on June 11, 1981. See App. to Pet. for Cert. Ila

(unpublished orders).

26a

We think Ricks is indistinguishable. When Ricks was denied

tenure, he was given a l-year “terminal” contract. Thus, in

each case, the operative decision was made -- and notice

given -- in advance of a designated date on which employment

terminated.’

{2}In Ricks, we held that the proper focus is on the time

of the discriminatory act, not the point at which the

consequences of the act become painful. 449 U.S., at 258.

The fact of termination is not itself an illegal act. In Ricks, the

alleged illegal act was racial discrimination in the tenure

decision. /d., at 259. Here, respondents allege that the

decision to terminate was made solely for political reasons,

violative of First Amendment rights. There were no other

allegations, either in Ricks or in these cases, of illegal acts

subsequent to the date on which the decisions to terminate

were made. As we noted in Ricks, “[mere] continuity of

employment, without more, is insufficient to prolong the life

of a cause of action for employment discrimination.” /d., at

257. In the cases at bar, respondents were notified, when they

received their letters, that a final decision had been made to

terminate their appointments. The fact that they were afforded

reasonable notice cannot extend the period within which suit

must be filed. We therefore grant certiorari. The judgments

entered below on May 8, 1981, and June 11, 1981, are

? Delaware State College had a policy of giving a final 1-year

contract to teachers who were denied tenure. Only when that

contract expired, did the “employment relationship [end].” 449

U.S., at 253. Apparently, the practice of the Puerto Rico

Department of Education was similar in principle. Following a

decision to terminate, the actual ending of employment was

deferred to a designated date. Advance notice of termination is a

customary and reasonable employment practice which affords the

employee an opportunity to find another job.

27a

reversed, and the cases are remanded for further proceedings

consistent with this decision.

Reversed and remanded.

DISSENT:

[*9] JUSTICE BRENNAN, with whom JUSTICE

MARSHALL joins, dissenting.

While I agree with the analysis of Judge Campbell for the

Court of Appeals, and therefore join in the dissenting opinion

of JUSTICE STEVENS, I believe this per curiam disposition

is particularly ill-conceived.

It is one thing to hold, as was held in Delaware State

College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250 (1980), that for the purpose

of computing the limitations period, a cause of action for

denial of a benefit such as tenure, and consequent damage,

accrues when the plaintiff learns that he has been denied that

benefit; it is quite another to hold, as the Court does here, that

a cause of action for damages resulting from an

unconstitutional termination of employment accrues when the

plaintiff learns that he will be terminated. To my knowledge,

such a rule has no analogue in customary principles of

limitations law. See 4 A. Corbin, Contracts § 989 (1951)

(“The plaintiff should not be penalized for leaving to the

defendant an opportunity to retract his wrongful repudiation;

and he [**30] would be so penalized if the statutory period

of limitation is held to begin to run against him

immediately”).

The thrust of the Court’s decision is to require a potential

civil rights plaintiff to measure the time for filing his claim

from the moment some form of injunctive relief first becomes

28a

available. The effect of this ruling will be to increase the

number of unripe and anticipatory lawsuits in the federal

courts -- lawsuits that should not be filed until some concrete

harm has been suffered, and until the parties, and the forces

of time, have had maximum opportunity to resolve the

controversy.

Because this case is plainly distinguishable from Ricks,

and the decision potentially far-reaching in its impact, the

issue should be decided only upon plenary review. The

Court’s summary reversal is therefore particularly

inappropriate, and I respectfully dissent.

[*10} JUSTICE STEVENS, with whom JUSTICE

BRENNAN and JUSTICE MARSHALL join, dissenting.

After noting that most judges who have confronted the

issue have reached a conclusion at odds with the Court’s

holding today, Judge Campbell, writing for the Court of

Appeals, cogently explained why the decision in Delaware

State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, is not dispositive and

should not be followed in this case:

“The issue of when the cause of action accrues

depends, we believe, on when the alleged unlawful act

occurred. It is necessary, therefore, to identify the

unlawful act. Where, as here, the claim is that an

employment decision. was made for a prohibited

reason, it could be argued that the unlawful act was

the making of the decision, rather than the

implementation of it. But we think such a refined rule

would depart too sharply from the understanding of

ordinary people. The plaintiffs in these cases are

complaining that they were demoted or discharged,

not merely that a decision was made on a particular

29a

occasion, of which notice was then given, to take such

action against them. Had the decision been made but

not yet implemented, equitable relief might have been

sought to forestall irreparable harm, but it is unlikely

that plaintiffs would have sought or received damages

until or unless the threatened action was

consummated. The alleged unlawful act was

revocable, incomplete and, for practical purposes,

nonexistent until the actual demotion or discharge.

“Moreover, important policies of judicial administration

favor a rule based on the date of implementation. While the

date of notice in the present cases was easily established,

other cases would surely arise in which resolution of that

question would require lengthy proceedings. Notice might be

oral, or it might be ambiguously phrased, or it might be

transmitted by one whose authority [*11] is subject to

question. We see no value in requiring courts and parties to

devote their resources to litigating the adequacy of notice,

when the date of the action itself is easily determined. In

sayinz this we are aware that the Supreme Court has declined

to reach out for an easily identified date when that date bears ©

no genuine relationship to the act of which plaintiff

complains. Compare Delaware State College v. Ricks, [449

U.S. 250] (1980) (date of termination not sufficiently

connected to the challenged denial of tenure), discussed infra.

But where, as here, the date that is most closely related to the

plaintiffs’ claim is also the date most easily identified, we

think concern for adoption of the rule that best promotes

certainty and eliminates litigation over technical niceties is

well warranted.

“After the district court’s decision of these cases, the

Supreme Court decided Delaware State College v. Ricks,

supra. Defendants contend that that decision compels

30a

affirmance here. We disagree. Ricks, a black Liberian

instructor, was informed in June 1974 that the faculty of

Delaware State College had voted to deny him tenure. In

accordance with the school’s usual practice, he was thereafter

[**31] granted a one-year terminal contract, after which his

employment with the school ended. In his suit alleging

discrimination on the basis of national origin, Ricks contended

that the limitations period under Title VII began to run only

when he left the university in June 1975. The Supreme Court

rejected this argument and concluded that Ricks’ cause of

action had accrued when he was notified of the denial of

tenure, in June 1974, and that his suit was therefore barred.

The Court focussed on the allegations of Ricks’ complaint,

which it found to charge discrimination in the denial of

tenure, not in the discharge or any other subsequent action.

The Court held that the denial of tenure was the ‘unlawful

employment practice’ within the meaning of Title (*12] VII,

_and that the date of that action was therefore the beginning of

the limitations period. Three justices, in dissent, accepted the

majority’s analysis (i. e., that denial of tenure, not discharge,

was the unlawful employment practice) but placed the denial

of tenure at a later date because of the later decision of an

internal grievance board. Justice Stevens, alone among the

justices, took the view that denial of tenure is analogous to

advance notice of discharge. Based on that analogy, he

argued that the date of discharge should control.

“Refusal of the Ricks majority to adopt Justice Stevens’

-analogy does not seem to us in any way to repudiate the

precedents to which he sought to draw an analogy. The

majority held merely that the denial of tenure in the academic

setting is fundamentally different from a notice of discharge;

it is a distinct and separate employment action, with important

and far-reaching consequences for all aspects of the

employee’s status. While denial of tenure is often followed

3la

by discharge, it is not always, and the consequences of denial

of tenure are not dependent on its being followed by

discharge. The Court found that Ricks’ complaint was based

_ on the denial of tenure, which was effective immediately; it

followed, therefore, that the limitations period began as soon

as Ricks received notice of that action. Here, plaintiffs

complain of discharges and demotions, not of any distinct

event that occurred on an earlier date. The letters notifying

them of the planned actions were notice and nothing more;

they were not actions in themselves comparable to the denial

of tenure.

“To be sure, as we have said, one can argue that the

notices themselves mirror the allegedly discriminatory

motives of the defendants. One can also argue that a suit for

injunctive relief might lie after receipt of notice (or, indeed,

even before) to forestall threatened irreparable harm. Still

plaintiffs’ quarrel is with their demotions [*13] and discharges

-- not with the notices themselves. No actual harm is done

until the threatened action is consummated. Until then, the

act which is the central focus of the plaintiffs’ claim remains

incomplete. Such was not the situation in Ricks, where the

denial of tenure was itself the completed act being challenged.

“We conclude, therefore, that Ricks is inapplicable to

these cases, and that the district court erred in dismissing the

complaints.” 648 F.2d 765, 768-770 (CAI 1981) (footnotes

omitted).

For the reasons stated by the Court of Appeals, I

respectfully dissent.

32a

APPENDIX J

301 F.3d 240; 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 15334; 170

L.R.R.M. 2789; 146 Lab. Cas. (CCH) P59,606; 59 Fed.

R. Serv. 3d (Callaghan) 498; 19 I.E.R. Cas. (BNA) 47

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 01-50117, No. 01-51010

[Filed July 31, 2002]

HAROLD MERRITT HITT,

Plaintiff-Counter-Defendant-Appellee,

versus

JERRY CONNELL, ETC.; ET AL.,

Defendants,

JERRY CONNELL, Bexar County

Constable, Precinct 2, Individually

and in His Official Capacity,

Defendant-Counter-Claimant-Appellant.

ee i a a ee a a _ a

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Texas.

SA-99-CV-173.

H F Garcia, US District Judge.

33a

Former deputy constable brought civil rights action

against constable, for dismissing him in alleged retaliation for

his exercise of First Amendment associational rights in

participating in union activity. The United States District

Court for the Western District of Texas, H.F. Garcia, J.,

entered judgment on jury verdict in favor of deputy, and

constable appealed. The Court of Appeals, Edith H. Jones,

Circuit Judge, held that: (1) deputy constable was injured, and

his cause of action accrued, only when his employment was

terminated; (2) local civil service commission did not serve as

final decision-maker with respect to employment decisions in

local constables’ office, so that commission’s decision

upholding deputy constable’s dismissal did not preclude

deputy from recovering, on First Amendment retaliation

theory, from constable for constable’s role in his dismissal;

(3) admission of other bad acts evidence regarding constable’s

acts of discrimination against other deputies was not abuse of

discretion; and (4) deputy’s vague, conclusory, and

uncorroborated testimony concerning his emotion distress

upon being dismissed from his position was insufficient to

support jury’s award of emotion distress damages.

AFFIRMED in part, VACATED in part, and REMANDED.

Before JONES, EMILIO M. GARZA, and STEWART,

Circuit Judges. CARL E. STEWART, Circuit Judge,

concurring in part and dissenting in part.

OPINION

[*243] EDITH H. JONES, Circuit Judge:

In this 42 U.S.C. § 1983 action, the jury found that Bexar

County, Texas, Constable Jerry Connell fired deputy

constable Harold Merritt Hitt in retaliation for Hitt’s exercise

34a

of his First Amendment right to freedom of association. The

jury awarded Hitt $300,000 in compensatory damages, three-

fourths of which was for non-pecuniary harms like “mental

and emotional distress”. The district court subsequently

awarded Hitt approximately $88,500 in attorney’s fees and

costs pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1988. Connell has appealed

both the judgment and the award of attorney’s fees.

We hold principally that the Bexar County Civil Service

Commission’s decision upholding Hitt’s termination did not

break the causal connection between the protected activity and

the adverse employment action, and Connell was not entitled

to qualified immunity. However, Hitt introduced insufficient

evidence to support an award of nonpecuniary damages, so

[*244] that a portion [**2] of his damages must be vacated

and the attorney’s fee award remanded for reconsideration.

I. BACKGROUND

Harold Merritt Hitt was employed as a deputy constable

in precinct 2 of Bexar County from 1993 until March 1997,

when he was fired by Constable Connell. Hitt alleged, and a

jury found, that his employment was terminated because

Connell disapproved of Hitt’s involvement with two affiliated

labor unions, the Alamo Area Peace Officers’ Association and

the Texas Conference of Police and Sheriffs (“TCOPS”).

The dispute between Connell and Hitt began in October

1995 when Connell ordered his deputies to start reporting to

the office 15 minutes before their shifts were scheduled to

begin. Deputy Hitt, who was serving as the secretary of the

local union, wrote to TCOPS for advice about getting paid for

these extra 15 minutes. Connell learned of Hitt’s letter and

called a general meeting of his deputies, one of whom

surreptitiously tape-recorded what was said. Connell

35a

reiterated that his deputies would not be paid for the 15

minutes before their shifts, but his main point was that salary

grievances should not be aired outside the constable’s office.

Connell suggested that deputies [**3] who continued to

complain to the union were in danger of losing their

commissions.

Three deputies -- Ray Mullins, Joe Algueseva, and Robert

Whitney -- testified at trial that Constable Connell spoke to

each of them privately not long after this meeting and told

them that he would not tolerate union activity in his office.

Each deputy testified that Connell referred specifically to Hitt

and said that he intended to fire Hitt because he was a

“troublemaker.” One of the deputies, Ray Mullins, served as

president of the local union. Mullins tape-recorded a

conversation in which Connell said several times that they

would have a “running gun battle” if Mullins did not quit the

union. Connell threatened to “play dirty” and said he would

start by taking away Mullins’s $500 monthly car allowance.

During this recorded conversation, Connell observed in

passing that he could fire Hitt with impunity.’

{**4] Connell fired Hitt in March 1997. Connell testified that

he harbored no ill will toward the deputies who were active

in the union. Moreover, Connell insisted that Hitt would have

lost his job regardless of his union activity because Hitt had

made a “bomb threat” in a January 1997 telephone

conversation with his immediate supervisor, Deputy Robert

North.

' Mullins nevertheless remained active in the union, and

Connell fired him in early 1996. Mullins appealed the decision, the

Bexar County Civil Service Commission ordered that Mullins be

reinstated, and he was assigned to a new precinct.

36a

The gist of the telephone conversation is not in dispute.

Hitt was angry that North had assigned a first-year constable

to patrol traffic in a certain neighborhood. In his account of

the conversation, which was written approximately three

weeks after the telephone conversation, Deputy North wrote:

Sgt. Hitt stated, was I trying to get him (Sgt. Hitt) in

trouble or fired. Sgt. Hitt stated, he knew what was

going on and that I (Sgt. North) was fixing to be in the

war....

Sgt. Hitt stated, that when the bomb went off with

Horn (Asst. Chief Horn) that it might get my (Sgt.

North) legs also.

As Sgt. Hitt and myself (Sgt. North) are both Vietnam

veterans, it could have meant that the bomb, when it

went off, [*245] would take out Asst. Chief Horn, and

possibly my (Sgt. North) legs, as-we both had seen in

Vietnam.

This [**5] statement could have only meant to be

taken figuratively. But I don’t know this for sure. Sgt.

Hitt’s tone of voice was filled with a lot of anger.

Hitt concedes that Deputy North’s account of the

conversation is generally accurate. Hitt argues, however, that

violent figures of speech were used regularly around the

office (e.g., Conneli’s “running gun battle”) and that “the

war” and “the bomb” referred to an ongoing criminal

investigation of the constable’s department.

Sergeant Gerardo De Los Santos of the Texas Rangers

testified at trial that he had been investigating the constable’s

office since Deputy Mullins had contacted him in December

37a

1995. At the time of the telephone conversation between Hitt

and North, Sergeant De Los Santos was completing his

investigation and had decided that there was sufficient

evidence of retaliation and discrimination to file a report with

the Bexar County District Attorney’s Office. (He interviewed

and took statements from Hitt in January and February of

1997, and then filed his report in late February.)

Deputy North admitted at trial that he had never really

believed that Hitt was making a legitimate bomb threat.

Consequently, North waited [**6] three weeks before

informing Constable Connell and Chief Deputy Chuck Horn

of the conversation, and one reason why he submitted the

report was that he had been ordered “to look for things to

write Hitt up about.” Then, after North submitted the

memorandum quoted above, Chief Deputy Horn instructed

North to revise his memo and omit any suggestion that Hitt’s

reference to a “bomb” should be taken figuratively.

In February 1997, Constable Connell delivered a proposed

notice of termination to Hitt. Citing the telephone

conversation between Hitt and North, Connell wrote that such

“unprofessionalism . . . cannot and will not be tolerated.” On

March 5, Connell informed Hitt that his employment was

terminated. Hitt appealed his dismissal to the Bexar County

Civil Service Commission, but the commissioners who heard

the appeal voted to uphold Constable Connell’s decision.

Hitt filed this 42 U.S.C. § 1983 action in February 1999.

Before trial, the district court dismissed all claims except for

Hitt’s free speech and free association claims against Connell

in his individual capacity. Then, at the close of evidence, the

district court granted judgment as a matter of law [**7] for

Connell on the free speech claim. The jury returned a verdict

38a

for Hitt on the First Amendment association claim and

awarded him $300,000 in compensatory damages.

The district court entered judgment for Hitt and, pursuant

to 42 U.S.C. § 1988, awarded Hitt $88,487.94 in attorney’s

fees and expenses. Connell’s appeals of both awards have

been consolidated.

II. DISCUSSION

The First Amendment protects a public employee’s right

to associate with a union. As this court has stated,

This right of association encompasses the right of

public employees to join unions and the right of their

unions to engage in advocacy and to petition

government in their behalf. Thus, the first amendment

is violated by state action whose purpose is either to

intimidate public employees from joining a union or

~ from taking an active part in its affairs or to retaliate

against those who do.

Boddie +. City of Columbus, Miss., 989 F.2d 745, 749 (Sth

Cir. i993), quoting Professional Ass'n of College Educators

v. El [*246] Paso County Community College Dist. , 730 F.2d

258, 262 (Sth Cir. 1984) (citations omitted).

To prevail on his First Amendment [**8] retaliation

claim, Hitt had to show that (1) he suffered an adverse

employment action, (2) his interest in “associating”

outweighed the constable’s interest in efficiency, and (3) his

protected activity was a substantial or motivating factor in the

adverse employment action. Breaux v. City of Garland, 205

F.3d 150, 156, 157 n.12 (Sth Cir. 2000); Boddie, 989 F.2d

at 747. Connell’s principal arguments on the merits focus on

39a

the third element of causation. He contends that Hitt’s :

participation in union activity was not a motivating factor in

his discharge because the county civil service commissioners

(who had no retaliatory animus) actually made the decision

or, alternatively, Connell fired Hitt because of the bomb

threat. The jury concluded, however, that Constable Connell

made the decision to fire Hitt and that he did so in retaliation

for Hitt’s protected activity. Their verdict may be overturned

only if, “after viewing the trial record in the light most

favorable to the verdict, there is no legally sufficient

evidentiary basis for a reasonable jury to have found for the

prevailing party.” Mato v. Baldauf, 267 F.3d 444, 450-51

(Sth Cir. 2001) [**9] (quotations and citations omitted).

A. Statute of Limitations

Connell’s contention that this suit was time-barred is

easily rejected. While Texas’s two-year statute of limitations

applied to Hitt’s constitutional injury claims, Piotrowski v.

City of Houston, 237 F.3d 567, 576 (Sth Cir. 2001), the date

a § 1983 claim accrues is governed by federal, not state law.

The limitations period begins to run when the plaintiff

“becomes aware that he has suffered an injury or has

sufficient information to know that he has been injured.”

Helton v. Clements, 832 F.2d 332, 335 (Sth Cir. 1987).

Connell tries to argue that Hitt’s retaliation claim accrued

at some time before his March 1997 termination, either when

Hitt “felt his job was threatened” at the October 1995 office

meeting; or when Hitt. acknowledged in a December 1995

memo that he was afraid he was going to be fired; or when

Hitt received a proposed notice of termination on February

14, 1997. If the cause of action accrued on any of these dates,

then Hitt’s lawsuit -- filed on February 16, 1999 -- would not

be timely.

40a

But neither the perception of a threat to one’s job, nor fear

of being fired, nor [**10] even the proposed notice of firing

constitutes an actionable injury. In this context, the injury is

unlawful retaliation resulting in an “adverse employment

action,” such as a discharge, demotion, or formal reprimand.

‘See Breaux, 205 F.3d at 157-58. Hitt was injured, and his

cause of action accrued, when his employment was terminated

on March 5, 1997. The lawsuit was timely.’

[**11] [*247] B. The Civil Service Commission

The second (and most difficult) question in this case is the

legal effect of the Bexar County Civil Service Commission’s

decision upholding the termination of Hitt’s employment. —

Connell recognized the importance of this fact, but he

vacillated between characterizing the commission, on one

hand, as a quasi-judicial body whose findings of fact were

? Connell’s argument rests on a misreading of the Supreme

Court’s decision in Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250,

101 S. Ct. 498, 66 L. Ed. 2d 431 (1980). In Ricks, the plaintiff

alleged that the college unlawfully discriminated against him when

it denied him tenure. After denying him tenure, however, the

college offered Ricks a “terminal” employment contract; both

parties understood that Ricks had to leave at the end of the year.

The Supreme Court held that the statute of limitations began to run

when the college reached a final decision denying tenure, rather

than when Ricks’s employment ultimately ceased. The result hinged

on the fact that Ricks complained about a single adverse

employment action: the denial of tenure. As the Court clearly

explained, “If Ricks intended to complain of a discriminatory

discharge, he should have identified the alleged discriminatory acts

that continued until, or occurred at the time of, the actual

termination of his employment. But the complaint alleges no such

facts.” Ricks, 449 U.S. at 255-58, 101 S. Ct. at 503-04.

4la

entitled to preclusive effect in this § 1983 action; and, on the

other, as an executive board, which has the final decision-

making power with respect to all personnel matters in Bexar

County.

In his motion for summary judgment, Connell urged the

court to give issue or claim preclusive effect to the

commission’s finding that Hitt made a credible bomb threat

that warranted dismissal. As Connell pointed out, the

Supreme Court has “long favored application of the common-

law doctrines of collateral estoppel (as to issues) and res

judicata (as to claims) to those determinations of

administrative bodies that have attained finality.” Astoria Fed.

Sav. & Loan Ass’n. v. Solimino, 501 U.S. 104, 107, 111 S.

Ct. 2166, 2169, 115 L. Ed. 2d 96 (1991). Further, federal

courts must ordinarily give a state [**12] agency’s decision

“the same preclusive effect to which it would be entitled in

the state’s courts.” Univ. of Tennessee v. Elliott, 478 U.S.

788, 799, 106 S. Ct. 3220, 3226, 92 L. Ed. 2d 635 (1986).

This court has implied, however, that federal rules of claim

preclusion may apply to determine whether § 1983 claims are

barred from litigation in federal court by the outcome of prior

unreviewed state administrative adjudications. Frazier v.

King, 873 F.2d 820, 823-25 (5th Cir. 1989).* The magistrate

* Frazier opined, over a dissent and before Astoria was decided,

that federal preclusion law, if applicable, would not prevent a

plaintiff's filing a § 1983 claim following state administrative

proceedings. 873 F.2d at 824-25. But the court specifically

declined to decide whether federal or state claim preclusion applied.

Since Frazier and Astoria, the circuits, curiously in light of

Astoria’s unequivocal statement, have split over whether to follow

state claim preclusion principles in regard to § 1983 claims that are

filed in federal court after unreviewed state administrative

proceedings. Compare Miller v. County of Santa Cruz, 39 F.3d

i

42a

judge found, in a ruling adopted by the district court, that the

civil service commission’s decision was entitled neither to

claim nor issue preclusive effect on Hitt’s subsequent § 1983

action. Whether those conclusions were correct or not is of no

moment, since Connell has not appealed them.

[**13] Instead, the argument Connell ultimately adopted at

trial and now pursues on appeal is that the Bexar County Civil

Service Commission -- rather than Constable Connell -- is the

final decision-maker with respect to employment decisions in

the constables’ offices. It is beyond dispute that the

commissioners conducted an independent inquiry into Hitt’s

discharge and were not motivated by any improper motive.

Consequently, if the commission is the final decision-maker,

then the causal [*248] connection between Hitt’s

constitutionally protected activity and the adverse employment

action is broken, and Connell may not be held liable. See

Mato v. Baldauf, 267 F.3d 444, 450 (Sth Cir. 2001); Long v.

Eastfield College, 88 F.3d 300, 307 (Sth Cir. 1996).

In most “causal connection” cases, the determinative

question is whether the discriminatory or retaliatory motive of

1030, 1037-38 and n.7 (9th Cir. 1994) (state claim preclusion rules

generally apply), with Edmundson v. Borough of Kennett Square,

4 F.3d 186 (3d Cir. 1993) (no preclusion for non-attorney state

administrative tribunals), and Dionne v. Mayor and City Council of

Baltimore, 40 F.3d 677, 682-84 (3d Cir. 1994) (federal claim

preclusion governs).

To her credit, the magistrate judge applied a state law claim

preclusion rule. The applicability of the state law of issue

preclusion, also applied, is not in doubt. See Univ. of Tennessee v.

Elliott, supra; United States v. State of Texas, 158 F.3d 209, 304

(Sth Cir. 1998). .

43a

a subordinate employee may be imputed to the titular

decision-maker. /d. A decision-maker may serve as the

conduit of the subordinate’s improper motive, for example, if

he merely “rubber-stamps” the recommendation of a

subordinate. This case, however, poses the logically

antecedent question how to [**14] identify the official

decision-maker.

The official or formal decision-maker may often be

identified by a rule, e.g., an employee handbook or a

company organizational chart. For public entity employers, it

is appropriate to look to the statutory authority of the official

or board that is alleged to have made the decision. Unlike a

Texas school board, for example,* a county civil service

commission does not have express statutory responsibility to

act as the final decision-maker with respect to individual

employment decisions. The relevant statute requires only that

each civil service commission “adopt, publish, and enforce

rules” regarding the selection* of county employees;

promotions, seniority, and tenure; layoffs and dismissals;

disciplinary actions; grievance procedures; and similar

matters. TEX. LOCAL GOVT. CODE § 158.009(a). But the

statute imposes no superintending responsibility over

individual employment decisions. While it is conceivable that

a commission could promulgate a rule that no employment

decision becomes final until approved by the commission, no

such rule is present here.

[**15] Under its governing rules, the commission is

authorized to review and approve, reverse or modify an

* See TEX. EDUC. CODE § 21.211 (authorizing school boards

to “terminate a term contract and discharge a teacher at any time

for . . . good cause as determined by the board”).

44a

adverse employment decision if an employee elects to appeal

it. But the mere authority to review an employment decision

is not decisive. The commission became involved as an

adjudicative tribunal after Hitt chose to appeal his notice of

termination. Its task was to review Constable Connell’s

decision for conformity with applicable law and regulations,

not to initiate Connell’s action or generally superintend

Connell’s employment practices.

In light of these procedures, Connell’s reliance on the

Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Stimpson v. City of Tuscaloosa,

186 F.3d 1328 (11th Cir. 1999), is misplaced. In that Title

VII retaliation case, Stimpson, a police officer, alleged that

the City of Tuscaloosa was motivated unlawfully when it fired

her. The Eleventh Circuit emphasized three times in its brief

opinion that Alabama law unequivocally deprives the city of

power to discharge a police officer and that the authority to

terminate employment rests solely with a statutorily-created

civil service board. /d. at 1330, 1331, 1332. Stimpson thus

held that [**16] the City of Tuscaloosa could not be liable for

retaliation because the civil service board was, as a matter of

law, the actual decisionymaker, and there was no evidence

that the board was a mere conduit for the city’s supposed

discriminatory motive.

Just as clearly, the Bexar County Civil Service

Commission did aot assume final decisionmaking authority.

The commission did not finalize a decision that Constable

Connell had merely recommended or proposed. Although the

commission [*249] did conduct its own review of Hitt’s

termination, it did so in a quasi- judicial capacity.

45a

C. Qualified Immunity and Mt. Healthy

In the third issue raised on appeal, Constable Connell

seeks to avail himself of the principle that a public employer

may escape liability by proving that it would have taken the

same adverse employment action “even in the absence of the

protected conduct.” Gerhart v. Hayes, 217 F.3d 320, 321

(Sth Cir. 2000) (citing Mt. Healthy City Sch. Dist. Bd. of

Educ. v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274, 287, 97 S. Ct. 568, 50 L. Ld.

2d 471 (1977)). Connell contends that he is entitled to

qualified immunity because an objectively reasonable officer

would have believed [**17] that he could lawfully terminate

Hitt’s employment -- notwithstanding Hitt’s involvement with

the union -- because of the bomb threat against Deputy North

and Chief Deputy Horn. Cf. Gonzales v. Dallas County,

Texas, 249 F.3d 406, 412 (Sth Cir. 2001).

Connell fails to apprehend the significance of the jury

finding that he fired Hitt because of Hitt’s union membership

and not because of the bomb threat. The jury was instructed

on Connell’s Mt. Healthy defense: In order to find a violation

of Hitt’s rights, they had to decide, inter alia,

whether the defendant has shown by a preponderance

of the evidence that the action he took against the

plaintiff was for other reasons, regardless of whether

or not the plaintiff exercised his protected association

activity. If you find that the defendant would have

taken the same action against the plaintiff for reasons

apart from the association activity, then your verdict

should be for the defendant.

The jury verdict rejects Connell’s explanation of the

employment decision. Their factual finding is supported in the

record. See Boddie v. City of Columbus,-.Miss., 989 F.2d

46a

745, 748 (Sth Cir. 1993). [**18] No reasonable officer could

have concluded that firing Hitt because of his union affiliation

was legally permissible. Jd. Further, because the jury

discredited Connell’s explanation, the basis for his qualified

immunity contention was vitiated.°

D. Evidentiary Rulings

Connell contends that the district court committed

reversible error in admitting into evidence (1) testimony

regarding disciplinary actions that Connell took against

Mullins and other deputies and (2) the audiotape recordings

of several meetings and conversations involving Connell. We

review the [**19] district court’s decision to admit this

evidence for an abuse of discretion. United States v. Vega,

221 F.3d 789, 803 (Sth Cir. 2000).

Other deputies, including Ray Mullins, were allowed to

testify that they were discharged or otherwise discriminated

against because of their participation in the union. Connell

contends that admitting this evidence violated Federal Rules

of Evidence 404 and 403, inasmuch as the other deputies’

testimony was used “to show that Connell’s actions with other

employees supposedly proves [sic] his conduct in Hitt’s case

is improper”; and, even assuming this testimony was

admissible, the danger of unfair prejudice outweighed its

probative value. This testimony was admissible, however, as

> The jury verdict distinguishes this case from Gonzales v.

Dallas County, 249 F.3d 406 (Sth Cir. 2001), in which summary

judgment was granted to a constable who fired one of his deputies

at least in part because of the deputy’s undisputed use of excessive

force. Here, the jury had to determine, whether the disputed bomb

threat was a credible threat and an actual motivating factor in Hitt’s

firing, and they found against Connell.

47a

proof of Connell’s [*250] motive in firing Hitt. FED. R.

EVID. 404(b). Moreover, the-testimony was admissible to

impeach Connell’s statements on multiple occasions that he

was “a union man” and that he. had no animus against TCOPS

or any other police union. The district court did not abuse its

discretion in admitting this evidence.

Connell’s second argument is that the district court erred

in admitting two audiotapes (as well as transcripts of those

tapes) that were not [**20] properly authenticated. We

disagree. Both deputies who recorded Connell’s statements

testified about how they made the recordings, and Connell

does not dispute their identification of his voice on the tapes.

Connell has not produced sufficient evidence to cast doubt on

the reliability of the tapes or the transcripts prepared from

them.

E. Compensatory Damages

Connell challenges the jury’s award of $300,000 in

compensatory damages as excessive because Hitt presented

little or no evidence of his nonpecuniary damages. We agree.

The verdict form did not separate pecuniary and non-

pecuniary damages. However, during his closing argument,

Hitt’s attorney argued that lost earnings, both past and future,

amounted to $76,000. Hitt’s attorney then explained the jury

question on damages:

Interrogatory Number 3 is the money issue. . . I think

you start there with the basic lost income of

[$]76,000, and then whatever you ladies feel the loss

of retirement, loss of job satisfaction, worry about no

job, embarrassment within the law enforcement field.

What’s all that worth in addition to the [$ ]76,000? I'll

48a

leave that to you. But it should be a reasonably large

sum of money.

{**21] Based on this representation to the jury, there is no

plausible alternative but that the jury awarded Hitt $224,000

in non- pecuniary damages for mental anguish, loss of job

satisfaction and prestige, and embarrassment.

The question, therefore, is whether Hitt’s evidence of non-

pecuniary damages is legally sufficient to warrant an award of

$224,000. Our review of non-pecuniary damages is for abuse

of discretion. Migis v. Pearle Vision, Inc., 135 F.3d 1041,

1046 (Sth Cir. 1998).

This court has articulated in detail the kind of evidence

needed io support compensatory damages for mental anguish

or emotional distress. See, e.g., Vadie v. Mississippi State

Univ. , 218 F.3d 365, 376 (Sth Cir. 2000); Brady v. Fort Bend

County, 145 F.3d 691, 718-20 (Sth Cir. 1998); Patterson v.

P.H.P. Healthcare Corp. , 90 F.3d 927, 940 (Sth Cir. 1996).

The same principles would logically apply to other

nonpecuniary types of damages such as those urged by Hitt.

For starters, we have emphasized that “hurt feelings, anger

and frustration are part of life,” and are not the types of

emotional harm that could support an award of damages.

[**22] Patterson, 90 F.3d at 940. The plaintiff must instead

present specific evidence of emotional damage: “[T}here must

be a ‘specific discernable injury to the claimant’s emotional

state,’ proven with evidence regarding the ‘nature and extent’

of the harm.” Brady, 145 F.3d at 718 (quoting Patterson, 90

F.3d at 938, 940). To meet this burden, a plaintiff is not

absolutely required to submit corroborating testimony (from

a spouse or family member, for example) or medical or

psychological evidence. Brady, 145 F.3d at 718, 720. The

plaintiff's own testimony, standing alone, may be sufficient to

49a

prove mental damagés but only if the testimony is

“particularizea and extensive” enough to [*251] meet the

specificity requirement discussed above: “’ Neither conclusory

statements that the plaintiff suffered emotional distress nor the

mere fact that a constitutional violation occurred supports an

award of compensatory damages.’” Brady, 145 F.3d at 720,

718 (quoting Price v. City of Charlotte, 93 F.3d 1241, 1254 ©

(4th Cir. 1996)).

Hitt did not satisfy these standards. The record is devoid

of any corroborating evidence [**23] with respect to Hitt’s

emotional distress or other elements of nonpecuniary damage.

There is no medical evidence, no testimony from family

members or co- workers, no evidence of physical

manifestations of distress. In sum, all the evidence that the

jury heard was Hitt’s testimony that his discharge

was emotionally trying. I was depressed. I was out of

work. I was embarrassed because it never should have

happened. And it made me very defensive in terms of

applying for jobs and having to go through and

explain, if it got to that point what had gone on and

why I was out looking for wo-k.

I’ve been around law enforcement in Bexar County

for a number of years. And people ask you, hey,

what’s going on. You know, how come you got fired.

It’s kind of a blight on your reputation, and it does

affect you emotionally.

At that point, Hitt’s attorney turned to the question of lost

income. Aside from a few other scattered statements, the

quoted testimony is all the evidence of mental anguish that

Hitt presented.

50a

Our conclusion in Brady applies equally well to this case:

The plaintiff's testimony is “vague, conclusory, and

uncorroborated . . . . [and] cannot legally support [**24]

mental anguish damages.” Brady, 145 F.3d at 720. The

district court thus abused its discretion in entering judgment

for Hitt in the amount of $300,000. The evidence presented

at trial supports the $76,000 in damages for lost income but

not the remaining $224,000 in non-pecuniary damages.

F. Attorney’s fees

In a consolidated appeal, Connell challenges the district

court’s decision to award attorney’s fees and expenses in the

amount of $88,487.94 to Hitt’s attorney. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 1988. Appellate review of this award would have been

hampered in any event by appellant’s apparent failure to

include the district court decision in the appellate record. But

because we have substanfially reduced the judgment, it is

prudent to remand the fee award for reconsideration. We

express no opinion on the award.

Ifl. CONCLUSION

In Cause No. 01-50117, we AFFIRM the judgment of

liability, but VACATE the award of damages and REMAND

with Instructions to enter judgment for $76,000. In Cause No.

01-51010, the district court’s judgment awarding attorney's

fees is VACATED and REMANDED for reconsideration in

light of this opinion.

AFFIRMED [**25] in part, VACATED in part, and

REMANDED.

CARL E. STEWART, Circuit Judge, concurring in part and

dissenting in part.

Sla

I concur with the majority’s resolution of the liability

issues and the affirmance of Hitt’s $76,000 lost wages award

in cause No. 01-50117. I also agree that the jury’s mental

anguish award of $224,000 is excessive because Hitt’s

evidence on this claim was minimal. However, I do not

believe that the solution is to zero out the award completely.

See Vadie v. Mississippi, 218 F.3d 365, 375-79 (Sth Cir.

2000) (finding an award of $300,000 in mental anguish

damages [*252] under Title VII was excessive where the only

evidence supporting a finding of emotional injury was the

plaintiff's own testimony, and concluding that because the

evidence presented supported an award no greater than

$10,000, either remittitur or a new trial was required).

I respectfully dissent from the majority view that Hitt

failed to present sufficient evidence to support some award for

mental anguish. In Oden v. Oktibbeha County, Mississippi,

we determined that there was sufficient evidence to [**26]

support a jury award of $20,000 in compensatory damages for

mental anguish when the only evidence submitted by Deputy

Sheriff Oden was his own testimony that as a result of the

defendants’ discrimination, he experienced _ stress,

sleeplessness, betrayal, and shame. 246 F.3d 458, 470-71

(Sth Cir. 2001); See alse Migis v. Pearle Vision, Inc., 135

F.3d 1041, 1046 (Sth Cir. 1998) (concluding that the

evidence, which consisted solely of Migis’ testimony, was

sufficiently detailed to preclude this court from holding that

the district court abused its discretion in awarding $5,000 in

compensatory damages for mental anguish); Williams v.

Trader Publ’g Co., 218 F.3d 481 (Sth Cir. 2000) (upholding

an award of $100,000 in compensatory damages for emotional

distress, premised solely on Williams’ testimony regarding

her “severe emotional distress,” “sleep loss,” “severe loss of

weight,” and “beginning smoking”); Forsyth v. City of

Dallas, Tex., 91 F.3d 769, 775 (Sth Cir. 1996) (upholding an

52a

emotional distress award of $100,000 that was premised on

the plaintiff's testimony describing “depression, weight loss,

intestinal troubles, [**27] and marital problems”).

In the instant case, Deputy Constable Hitt testified that his

termination

was emotionally trying. | was depressed. I was out of

work. J was embarrassed because it never should have

happened. And it made me very defensive in terms of

applying for jobs and having to go through and

explain, if it got to that point what had gone on and

why I was out looking for work. I’ve been around law

enforcement in Bexar County for a number of years.

And people ask you, hey, what’s going on. You

know, how come you got fired. It’s kind of a blight on

your reputation, and it does affect you emotionally.

Hitt’s claim for some compensation is supported by this

court’s holdings in Forsyth, Migis, Oden, Vadie, and

Williams. In these cases, as in the instant case, there was no

corroborating evidence, only the testimony of the plaintiffs.

In addition, Hitt’s testimony is arguably comparable to that of

Deputy Sheriff Oden, who recovered a $20,000 award from

a jury based solely on his testimony.

Along the spectrum of awards that have previously been

upheld by this court, it is debatable what specific amount of

mental anguish damages Hitt is entitled [**28] to. However,

it is clear that he is entitled to an award that is greater than

zero. Thus, for the foregoing reasons, I would vacate the

jury’s mental anguish award of $224,000 and either remit the

award down to $20,000, or remand to the district court for a

new trial on damages. In cause No. 01-51010;1 concur in the

53a

remand of the attorney’s fees award for reconsideration in

light of the overall reduction of the jury award.

54a

APPENDIX K

183 F.3d 38, *; 1999 U.S. App. LEXIS 17044, **;

80 Fair Empl. Prac. Cas. (BNA) 537;

76 Empl. Prac. Dec. (CCH) P46, 187

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 98-2231

[Filed July 15, 1999}

MYRTLE THOMAS,

Plaintiff, Appellant,

Vv.

EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY,

Defendant, Appellee.

ee ee i

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS.

Hon. W. Arthur Garrity, Jr., U.S. District Judge.

Before Lynch, Circuit Judge, Bownes, Senior Circuit Judge,

and Lipez, Circuit Judge.

Former employee brought Title VII race discrimination

action against former employer. The United States District

Court for the District of Massachusetts, Arthur Garrity, Jr.,

5Sa

J., 18 F.Supp.2d 129, granted former employer’s motion for

summary judgment. Former employee appealed. The Court

of Appeals, Lynch, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) action

accrued when employee received notice of layoff, not when

she received negative performance appraisals; (2) once

employee has shown employer’s reason for adverse action is

pretextual, employee is not always required to produce direct

evidence to demonstrate that employer’s real reason was

discriminatory; (3) District Court erroneously based entry of

summary judgment upon nondiscriminatory reason not

articulated by employer; and (4) employee met burden of

showing employer’s proffered reason for laying her off was

pretext for race discrimination.

OPINION

[*42] LYNCH, Circuit Judge.

In 1993, Myrtle Thomas, the only black Customer Service

Representative in Eastman Kodak’s Wellesley, Massachusetts

office, was laid off. Thomas responded with a race

discrimination suit against Kodak under Title VII, 42 U.S.C.

§§ 2000e to e-17, arguing that Kodak’s layoff decision was

discriminatory because it resulted from a ranking process that

relied on racially biased performance appraisals prepared in

1990, 1991, and 1992. Kodak made two arguments in its

motion for summary judgment: first, that Thomas’s claim was

time-barred because the performance [**2] appraisals were

conducted outside of Title VII’s statutory limitation period,

and second, that Thomas failed in any event to present enough

evidence { facial animus to support a disparate treatment

claim. The district court disagreed with the first point but

agreed with Kodak’s second argument and granted summary

judgment. Both issues are before us on appeal.

56a

We decide both in favor of Thomas. We find Thomas’s

claim to be timely because the discriminatory appraisals that

she is challenging first caused her concrete harm when they

led to her layoff in 1993. Because we also find that she has

presented enough evidence to support her claim that the

performance appraisals were racially biased, we reverse the

district court’s grant of summary judgment and remand for

further proceedings.

After thirty-five years of litigation under Title VII, cases

can still present new wrinkles. This is one such case. Because

it raises a number of important issues -- some new and some

familiar but difficult -- we preview the key holdings.

First, when an employee claims that a layoff is

discriminatory and the employer utilizes scores from past

performance appraisals in an objective formula to determine

{**3] who will be laid off, the limitations period runs from

the date of the notice of layoff where the laid off employee

has suffered no concrete earlier harm from the appraisals.

Second, once there is sufficient evidence to create a

material issue of fact that the employer’s articulated reason

for an adverse employment action is a pretext, there is no

requirement that a plaintiff always produce direct evidence to

demonstrate that the real reason was discriminatory.

Third, Title Vil’s prohibition against “disparate treatment

because of race” extends both to employer acts based on

conscious racial animus and to employer decisions that are -

based on stereotyped thinking or other forms of less conscious

bias.

Fourth, under the McDonnell Douglas/Burdine

framework, a court may not enter summary judgment for an

“

S7a

employer based upon a non-discriminatory reason not

articulated by the employer but identified sua sponte by the

district court.

I

In reviewing a grant of summary judgment, we consider

the facts in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party,

drawing all reasonable inferences in that party’s favor. See

Aponte Matos v. Toledo Davila, 135 F.3d 182, 186 (1st Cir.

1998). [**4] Given the subtlety of the questions before [*43]

us, we outline Thomas’s experiences at Kodak in some detail.

Thomas was a long-term Kodak employee. She first began

working for the company in 1974. In 1980, after working for

six years in clerical and administrative positions in Kodak’s

Rochester, New York facility, she was promoted to Customer

Support Representative (“CSR”) within the Office Imaging

Division and transferred to Kodak’s office in Wellesley,

Massachusetts.

Along with five other CSRs working out of the Wellesley

office, Thomas supported customers in an assigned territory

who owned Kodak copiers and other Kodak equipment. She

helped salespeople perform installations, trained customers in

the use and maintenance of Kodak equipment, facilitated

communication between customers and sales and service

personnel, and provided other forms of marketing support.

Thomas generally performed her job well. Kodak

managers who supervised Thomas during her first ten years

as a CSR in the Wellesley office reported me oe that they

were never dissatisfied with her performance, that they were

“delighted” with Thomas, that her work was “excellent” and

“far superior” to that of some [**5] of the other CSRs, that

58a

she was “very much on top of things,” and that she was “the

perfect support person.”

Co-workers and customers expressed similar sentiments.

A sales representative who worked with Thomas sent a

memorandum to Thomas’s_ supervisor praising her

“continuous professionalism,” “very high level of

commitment,” and “total dedication.” The sales

representative later noted that he was particularly impressed

with the way a certain customer “really went out of his way”

to emphasize his satisfaction with Thomas’s support. Another

customer who contacted Kodak after Thomas’s layoff

described Thomas as “an irreplaceable part of the Kodak

team” and explained that Thomas was the primary reason for

his selection of Kodak copiers over copiers from other

companies. The customer concluded: “In my many contacts

with company representatives, I have not met anyone of the

class and caliber of Myrtle Thomas.”

Because of her high level of performance, Thomas

received awards and bonuses from Kodak. In 1989, the

company also changed Thomas’s grade from K4 to K6, which

resulted in a salary increase. According to Kodak’s job

description, the K6 grade was limited to CSRs who were

“making an [**6] outstanding contribution to the support

activities,” defined as “servicing the largest and/or most

sensitive accounts, developing and giving individualized

presentations and/or demonstrations, and training new CSRs.”

Thomas received at least eight other salary increases during

her years as a CSR. At the time of the 1993 layoff, Thomas

was the fourth most senior CSR in the Wellesley office and

earned the third highest salary.

The Kodak compensation plan stated that “[t}he

company’s goai for {its pay program is to reward each

59a

individual’s job performance appropriately” and to ensure that

“[pleople with higher performance will, over time, be paid

more than average performers.” The company made use of

annual performance appraisals in order to reach this goal.

According to the compensation plan, performance appraisals

were also used for a number of other purposes, including:

A. Evaluating and documenting the performance of

each individual in comparison with performance

expectations for the job.

B. Providing individuals with constructive feedback.

C. Identifying the guidance and training that can help

individuals be as successful as their ability permits.

fand]

D. [**7] Determining who should be promoted,

transferred, demoted, terminated, laid off, and re-

employed.

[*44] To conduct an appraisal, the supervisor who directed

an employee’s day-to-day activities filled out an appraisal form.

The form contained a section pertaining to “basic performance

measures,” which included categories for quality of results,

quantity of results, job skills, and teamwork. Another section

pertained to “additional performance measures,” including

dependability, versatility, communications, and leadership. The

form required the supervisor to give the employee a rating from

1 to 7 for each applicable category, as well as an overall rating. '

7

' The lowest rating was | (for performance that “does not meei

essential job requifements”) and the highest was 7 (for performance

60a

A separate section of the appraisal form contained space for

the supervisor’s comments on the evaluated categories, a

description of any developmental opportunities, a description

of matters discussed during the post-appraisal interview with

the employee, and both supervisor and employee signatures.

Each appraisal was also reviewed and signed by the

appraiser’s supervisor. The appraiser and the appraiser’s

supervisor were together responsible for the appraisal’s

accuracy, consistency, and conformance to company policy,

including [**8] a policy favoring fair and objective

evaluations, conducted “without regard to non-job-related

criteria such as{] race.”

Kodak intended the appraisal scores to be on a curve,

company-wide. The compensation plan suggested that

“performance appraisal ratings for large groups of people

(approximately 100 or more) [should] average around the

middle of the rating scale,” but acknowledged that factors

such as the amount of turnover and the percentage of long-

term employees could influence the distribution of ratings in

any given group, particularly groups with a small number of

employees. The compensation plan suggested that appraisers

{**9] attempt to validate their distribution of appraisal ratings

by rank-ordering employees in the same grade and job

category. After the rank ordering was complete, supervisors

would finalize the preliminary ratings to agree with the rank-

order results. However, these rank orderings were not

discussed with employees. Supervisors were told that

“appraisals verified through this process [should be]

that “far exceeds requirements of the position”). The middle rating

of 4 was considered appropriate “for individuals who regularly

perform all assigned responsibilities with independence and

initiative, and achieve expected results on a continual basis.”

6la

communicated by referencing performance relative to job

expectations with nvu.reference to the rank-order process.”

Thomas’s appraisals for 1988 and 1989 show that she was

performing at a high level. In 1988, when she was responsible

for more than 400 machines, Thomas received seven 5 ratings

and one 6 rating, for an overall rating of 5, which was a

rating “appropriate for individuals who not only achieve

results and meet all expectations on a regular basis, but who

go beyond these requirements from time to time.” Her

supervisor’s comments were uniformly positive. In 1989,

when she was responsible for more than 500 machines,

Thomas received even higher ratings -- five 6s and three 5s,

for an Overall rating of 6, which meant that her “performance

consistently exceeded the requirements of the [**10] position

and [was] characterized by unusual initiative, resourcefulness,

and creativity.” Once again, the supervisor’s comments were

uniformly positive.

In 1989, Kodak created the position of Customer Support

Manager throughout its Office Imaging organization. Thomas

asked to be considered for the Wellesley position, but was

told that she was not qualified. Instead, the position went to

Claire Flannery, a former CSR who had been working as a

division secretary. As Customer Support Manager, Flannery

was responsible for supervising the six Wellesley CSRs. She

remained in this position until 1993, when both she and

Thomas [*45] were laid off as part of a company-wide

reduction in force.

The appointment of Flannery as Customer Support

Manager marked a significant downturn in Thomas’s fortunes

at Kodak. Although Thomas states that she and Flannery

“were on a professional basis,” and Flannery denies having

any problems with Thomas’s job performance, it appears that

62a

their working relationship was strained. Thomas alleges that

Flannery treated her differently from the other five CSRs, all

of whom were white’ (as were, in fact, all of the other CSRs

during Thomas’s thirteen years [**11] in the Wellesley

office).

She describes a number of occasions on which she claims

Flannery unnecessarily damaged her professional standing

with customers. For example, on the only occasion on which

Flannery accompanied Thomas to a customer training session

in order to observe Thomas’s work, Flannery instead took

over the session and conducted the entire training herself. On

another occasion, Flannery told Thomas the wrong time for

a training session Flannery had scheduled on site, and then

refused to write to the customer, who was upset, to explain

why Thomas had been several hours late. (After Thomas

proved to Flannery what had occurred by playing back

Flannery’s voice mail message to her, Flannery did agree to

call -- but not to write -- the customer.) On a third occasion,

Flannery became quite angry and attempted physically to

block Thomas from leaving a CSR meeting which had been

scheduled at the same time as an important training [**12]

session for one of Thomas’s customers. .

Thomas also provides evidence from which the inference

can be drawn that Flannery did not evaluate her skills fairly

or give her appropriate opportunities for growth and success.

For example, Flannery did not travel with Thomas as she did

with the other CSRs in order to observe Thomas’s interactions

with customers. Flannery did not give Thomas the same type

of developmental opportunities available to other CSRs. She

4

2 We use the terms “black” and “white,” as Thomas has chosen

this terminology.

63a

criticized Thomas for lack of computer skills, but then failed

to train Thomas when computer equipment became available.

After Thomas was asked to prepare a presentation for a

Kodak meeting, Flannery told her that there would not be

time for her presentation, although time was found for a

presentation by a white employee on a less pressing topic.

Thomas was denied the opportunity to apply for sales jobs,

despite her good track record in sales support activities.

Flannery expressly discouraged her from applying for a

management position in another division, telling her she was

not qualified because she did not yet have a master’s degree

(Thomas was studying for one at the time), even though none

of the other managers in that position [**13] had a master’s

degree or even a bachelor’s degree. Finally, Flannery went to

great lengths to prevent Thomas from meeting with Bill

Cassidy, the Regional Vice President for Office Imaging, to

discuss advancement opportunities, and became angry when

Thomas nevertheless managed to schedule an appointment.

Thomas’s most significant and concrete allegation is that

Flannery gave her inaccurately low scores on her annual

performance appraisals. For example, after receiving only 5s

and 6s in 1988 and 1989, Thomas received a 2, four 3s, and

a 4 from Flannery in 1990, for an overall score of 3. This

was a below-average rating, appropriate for employees who

had “a need for further improvement to achieve a middle

rating [of 4]” or for employees “whose overall performance

has slipped from a higher level.” Thomas’s performance

appraisal scores in 1991 and 1992, while higher than her 1990

scores, were also inappropriately low, in Thomas’s estimation

-- especially when compared to the higher scores that

Flannery gave to other [*46] CSRs. Thomas presents

specific comparisons, discussed further below.

64a

Thomas was distressed by the 1990 performance appraisal

and refused to sign it. She also [**14] refused to sign the

1992 appraisal, and signed her 1991 appraisal only “‘out of

a joke,” because it was a joke.” It is clear that Thomas

disagreed with Flannery’s evaluations; more than that -- she

found them “insulting” and “shameful.” To the extent that it

was possible for her to compare salary and raises with other

CSRs, however, she would not have noted any obvious effects

of the negative appraisals, since neither her salary nor the

raises she was given during Flannery’s tenure as Customer

Support Manager differed significantly from those of other

employees. She did complain about the appraisals, both to

Flannery herself and to others within Kodak, including Bill

Cassidy, the Regional Vice President for Office Imaging, and

Patti Weissinger, a Human Resources Representative.

However, fearing retaliation from her new boss, she did not

file a formal charge against Flannery with the Human

Resources Department, and Kodak did not take any action in

response to her informa] complaints.

In January 1993, Kodak decided to reduce the number of

employees in its Office Imaging Division. It selected

employees for layoff using a “Performance Appraisal Ranking

Process (“PAR process”), which produced [**15}] a

numerical score for each employee by adding together the

employee’s overall performance appraisal score for each of

the three preceding years, after weighting the most recent

score by a factor of 25 and the second most recent score by

a factor of 5.* Thomas’s PAR ranking, which was derived

> This formula was used for employees whose grade remained

the same for all three years. If an employee had changed grades

during the three year period, the formula gave less weight to the

score immediately following the grade change.

65a

from the three appraisals conducted by Flannery, was the

second lowest of the Wellesley CSRs. Since Kodak had

decided to cut two Wellesley CSR positions, as well as the

Customer Support Manager position, Flannery, Thomas, and

the lowest ranked CSR (Eileen Lavallee) were laid off in

March 1993.

I

In July 1993, four months after her layoff, Thomas filed

a charge of race discrimination with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission. The EEOC issued a “right to sue”

letter in February [**16] 1996, and Thomas brought suit in

May 1996.

Although her complaint asserts a variety of race

discrimination claims, Thomas has focused primarily on

Kodak’s 1993 decision to terminate her, arguing that this

decision was discriminatory because it was based on

discriminatory performance appraisals conducted by Flannery

from 1990 through 1992.‘ It is the layoff which is the subject

* Thomas described a number of other events as evidence of

unlawful race discrimination by Kodak. The district court provided

a succinct summary:

When plaintiff was transferred to Wellesley, Kodak did not

fly her to Massachusetts, as it had other transferred

employees. Instead, Thomas was told to drive a car that

had been requested by Richard Austin, her new supervisor.

The car was in disrepair, requiring a new muffler. Though

other employees had two weeks in a new location before

reporting to work, plaintiff was told to report right away.

66a

[*47] of this appeal. Kodak moved for summary judgment,

contending that Thomas’s claim was time-barred, and in the

alternative, that she had failed to present enough evidence of

racial animus to reach a jury under the First Circuit's standard

for showing disparate treatment once pretext has been shown.

See Udo v. Tomes, 54 F.3d 9, 12-13 (Ist Cir. 1995)

(describing standard). The district court found Thomas’s

claim timely, but granted summary judgment to Kodak on the

As part of plaintiffs move benefits, Kodak provided

storage for her belongings. The warehouse burned in 1981,

destroying virtually all of Thomas’ belongings. Thomas

gave Austin an inventory of her losses; in response, he

asked, “Are you rich or something?” Before Thomas was

reimbursed, another Kodak employee encouraged her to

change her inventory listing. Defendant did not reimburse

Thomas for five years.

A few months after Thomas began working in Wellesley,

she was standing with a group of employees when Austin

introduced two visiting sales managers. Austin introduced

everyone in the group except Thomas.

In 1983, Thomas passed a co-worker in the hallway outside

the department manager’s office. The co-worker asked the

manager if plaintiff was “here to do the cleaning.”

Thomas lost a gold bracelet at work. A co-worker

announced finding it just before a sales meeting, as other

employees arrived. Thomas claimed the bracelet, and

described it at his request. He refused to return the bracelet

until he had confirmed that it did not belong to another,

white female employee.

Thomas v. Eastman Kodak Co., 18 F. Supp. 2d 129, 132 (D. Mass.

1998).

\

| /

67a

merits argument. See Thomas v. Kodak, 18 F. Supp. 2d 129,

133-38 (D. Mass. 1998). On appeal, Thomas argues that the

district court applied the standard incorrectly. Kodak defends

the district court’s application of the standard, while also

continuing to argue that Thomas’s claim is time-barred.

[**17]

iil

We review the district court’s grant of summary judgment

de novo, see Lennon v. Rubin, 166 F.3d 6, 8 (1999), and will

find summary judgment appropriate if “the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law,” Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(c).

A

We first address Kodak’s argument that the district court

erred in not dismissing the action as untimely. Title VII

requires aggrieved individuals to file a charge with the EEOC

“within one hundred and eighty days after the alleged

unlawful employment practice occurred.” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-

5(e)(1). In a “deferral jurisdiction,” such as Massachusetts,

this period is extended to three hundred days.° See 42 U.S.C.

* The full story is more complicated, in part betause § 2000e-

5(e) interacts with § 2000e-5(c), which imposes a sixty-day waiting

period between the filing of a charge with state or local authorities

and the filing of a charge with the EEOC:

68a

§ 2000e-5(e)(1); Mohasco Corp. v. Silver, 447 U.S. 807, 814

n.16, 65 L. Ed. 2d 532, 100 S. Ct. 2486 (1980); Mack v.

Great Atl. & Pac. Tea Co., 871 F.2d 179, 181-82 (1st Cir.

1989). This relatively short limitations period serves [**18]

important interests. “The limitations period{], while

guaranteeing the protection of the civil rights laws to those

who promptly assert their rights, also protect{s] employers

from the burden of defending claims arising from employment

decisions that-are long past.” Delaware State College v.

Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 256-57, 66 L. Ed. 2d 431, 101 S. Ct.

498 (1980). In the Title VII context, as in others, “the period

allowed for instituting suit inevitably reflects a value judgment

concerning the point at which the interests in favor of

protecting valid claims are outweighed by the interests in

prohibiting the prosecution of stale ones.” /d. at 259-60

(internal quotation marks omitted) (quoting Johnson v.

Railway Express Agency, Inc., 421 U.S. [*48] 454, 463-64,

44 L. Ed. 2d 295, 95S. Ct. 1716 (1975)). Congress has made

that value judgment.

—

[A] complainant in a deferral State . . . need only file his

charge within 240 days of the alleged discriminatory

employment practice in order to insure that his federal

rights will be preserved. If a complainant files later than

that (but not more than 300 days after the practice

complained of), his right to seek relief under Title VII will

nonetheless be preserved if the State happens to complete

its consideration of the charge prior to the 300-day period.

Mohasco Corp. v. Silver, 447 U.S. 807, 814 n.16, 65 L. Ed. 2d

532, 100 S. Ct. 2486 (1980). None of these subtleties is relevant to

the question here, since, as the district court noted, “[p}laintiff filed

her EEOC charge within the minimum 180 days of her termination,

but more than the maxim 300 days after her most recent

evaluation.” Thomas, 18 F. Supp. 2d at 133 n.1.

69a

[** 19]

However, Title VII’s statute of limitations is not self-

executing. The three hundred day (or one hundred and eighty

day) rule cannot be mechanically applied, because it is not

possible to pinpoint when the limitations period begins -- i.e.,

when the plaintiff's claim “accrues” -- without first

determining the date, or the temporal boundary, of the

“alleged unlawful employment practice” referred to in

§ 2000e-5(e)(1).

The crux of Thomas’s claim is that her layoff of tainted

because the 1990-92 performance appraisals were tainted by

Flannery’s alleged racial bias. Thomas does not argue that

Kodak’s decision to utilize the PAR process to determine who

would be laid off was racially biased. See Thomas, 18 F.

Supp. 2d at 135 (“[P]laintiff does not contend that Kodak’s .

. . PAR layoff process[] [was itself] discriminatory.”). As we

understand her argument, she does not allege that Flannery

and other Kodak employees participated in a conspiracy to

oust her from her job because of her race, using the

performance appraisals and the PAR process as a thin cover

for this express discriminatory purpose. Rather, she argues

that the PAR process was illegitimate under Title [**20] VII

in a derivative way, because its calculations were based on

discriminatory appraisal scores. If racially biased scores were

plugged in to the PAR formula, she argues, then the ranking

that came out must also be biased.

According to Kodak, this argument can only mean that the

performance appraisals themselves constitute the “unlawful~

employment practice” at issue under § 2000e-5(e)(1), and

thus that any claim regarding the allegedly biased

performance appraisals thust have accrued at the time the

appraisals were conducted. Since even the most recent

70a

appraisal (presented to Thomas in May 1992) was conducted

more than three hundred days before Thomas filed her

complaint with the EEOC in July 1993, Kodak asserts that

Thomas is precluded from questioning the racial neutrality of

any of the three performance appraisals. And without the

ability to challenge the appraisals upon which the PAR

process was based, Kodak notes, Thomas’s discriminatory

termination claim collapses.

According to Thomas, the fact that the performance

appraisals were conducted more than three hundred days

before she filed her EEOC charge is irrelevant, because the

adverse employment decision that she is challenging [**21] --

the “unlawful employment practice” under § 2000e-5(e)(1) --

is Kodak’s decision to lay her off, and not performance

appraisals independently, and this decision indisputably fell

within the statutory period.

Kodak’s general policy stance makes sense: given that the

central purpose of the statute of limitations is to protect

employers from stale claims, it cannot be true that plaintiffs

have an unfettered ability to reach back and litigate biased

evaluations. Yet Thomas’s position is also reasonable, since

it seems unlikely that Title VII permits employers to take a

new employment action such as a layoff which first causes an

employee harm, as long as the allegedly discriminatory

evaluations on which the layoff is based were conducted more

than three hundred days earlier.

Counsel did not call the court’s attention to any First

Circuit caselaw on this point. The district court, led to believe

that the First Circuit had not addressed this question, “looked

for guidance elsewhere.” Thomas, 18 F. Supp. 2d at 133. The

court focused on the decision of the Third Circuit in Colgan

v. Fisher Scientific Co., 935 F.2d 1407 (3d Cir.), cert.

Tila

denied, 502 U.S. 941, 116 L. Ed. 2d 330, 112 S. Ct. 379

(1991). [**22} The facts in Colgan do closely resemble the

facts here. Like Thomas, the Colgan plaintiff was fired after

receiving a negative performance review. See 935 F.2d at

1410-11. He filed a charge of age discrimination with the

EEOC within three hundred days of his termination, but more

than three hundred days after the negative performance

review. [*49] See id. at 1411. The Third Circuit determined

that Colgan’s claim was not time-barred because it accrucd at

Colgan’s termination, not when he received the negative

review. See id. at 1415-21. The court concluded that “an

alleged unlawful employment practice, here the performance

evaluation, must have inflicted harm which was or should

have been noticed, or it will not have triggered the limitations

period.” /d. at 1418. Colgan’s review stated that he failed to

meet job requirements and expressly warned that action would

be taken unless his performance improved. See id. at 1410.

Nonetheless, the court found that the review did not produce

the requisite notice of harm to trigger the running of the

statute of limitations, because “(t]he performance [**23]

evaluation had no immediate consequence on Colgan’s

employment, such as a loss of seniority, nor did it alert

Colgan to the possibility that consequences would flow from

it without an opportunity for him to improve his

performance.” /d. at 1419-20. The Third Circuit based its

Colgan analysis on a trilogy of Supreme Court cases, which

we summarize briefly here. In United Air Lines v. Evans, 431

U.S. 553, 52 L. Ed. 2d 571, 97 S. Ct. 1885 (1977), the

Supreme Court held that a flight attendant who was

wrongfully forced to resign and then later rehired could not

challenge the airline’s refusal to grant her seniority as if there

had been no break in her employment, since the relevant

wrongful act -- Evans’s being forced to resign -- occurred

outside of the limitations period. See id. at 555. In Ricks, the

Court held that the college’s denial of tenure, not a later

72a

discharge pursuant to that denial, was the event that triggered

Title VII’s statute of limitations. See Ricks, 449 U.S. at 256-

58. Finally, in Lorance v. AT&T Technologies, 490 U.S. 900,

104 L. Ed. 2d 961, 109 S. Ct. 2261 (1989), the Court [**24]

held that the Title VII limitations period begins to run when

an employer adopts a seniority system, not when an employee

is demoted pursuant to that system.° See id. at 912-13. Read

together, this trilogy defines a notice rule: an employer action

only triggers the running of the statute of limitations if that

action has concrete, negative consequences for an employee,

and the employee is aware or should have been aware of those

consequences. See Colgan, 935 F.2d at 1415-21; see also 2

B. Lindemann & P. Grossman, Employment Discrimination

Law 1349 (3d ed. 1996) (observing that Supreme Court cases

“seem to establish a relatively simple ‘notice’ rule as to when

discrimination ‘occurs’”).

[**25]

~~

We think many aspects of Colgan’s reasoning are correct.

However, we find more direct guidance in a First Circuit case

decided several years before Colgan. In Johnson v. General

Electric, 840 F.2d 132 (ist Cir. 1988), a black employee

® Section 112 of the 1991 Civil Rights Act later overruled

Lorance, allowing employees to challenge a seniority system “when

the system is adopted, when an individual becomes subject to the

seniority system, or when a person aggrieved is injured by the

application of the seniority system.” 1991 Civil Rights Act, Pub. L.

No. 102-166, §412;105 Stat. 1071, 1079 (1991) (codified at 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e)(2)). This may mean that seniority systems

should be treated as an exception to the “notice rule” discussed in

Colgan; alternatively, it may simply mean that Congress thought

that the Court had misapplied the notice rule in the seniority system

context.

_

v2”

Claimed that he had been denied a promotion based on a

special review process that was intentionally designed to

prevent him from qualifying for promotion. See id. at 134.

The employer contended that the plaintiff's claim accrued

when the review process was first put into place, while the

plaintiff insisted that the clock did not start running on his

claim until he was informed that he had failed the review

process and would not be promoted. See id. The district

court, relying on Ricks, held that the establishment of the

review process was the “unlawful employment practice” of

which the plaintiff complained, and therefore started the

running of the statute from that point. See id. Although [*50]

this court affirmed the dismissal on other grounds, it

disagreed with the district court’s analysis, noting that the

“question [is] . . . whether a claim accrues when an employee

is made subject to [**26] an... evaluation. . ., or when

that . . . evaluation is applied to deny the plaintiff particular

benefits or positions.” /d. This court chose the latter rule,

holding that the notice standard is met and the statute of

limitations is triggered only if “the implications [of the

evaluation] have crystallized” and “some tangible effects of

the discrimination were apparent to the plaintiff,” i.e. , if “the

plaintiff is aware that he will in fact be injured by the

challenged practice.”’ Jd. at 136-37.

The decision was motivated, in part, by concerns about

ripeness. The court noted that “it is [**27] far from clear

whether claims under Title VII and analogous statutes would

” Johnson, which was decided shortly before the Supreme

Court’s decision in Lorance, suggested that this rule would apply

to discriminatory seniority systems as well. See Johnson, 840 F.2d

at 134. Congress has since provided a specific accrual rule for

seniority systems. See 1991 Civil Rights Act § 112 (codified at 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e)(2)).

74a

be ripe for adjudication until discriminatory systems [or

evaluations] were actually applied to plaintiffs in particular

employment decisions,” and observed that “it is unwise to

encourage lawsuits before the injuries resulting from the

violations are delineated, or before it is even certain that

injuries will occur at all.” /d. at 136.

Johnson’s notice standard serves multiple functions. By

Starting the limitations clock as soon as harm is noticed, or

should be noticed, the standard protects employers from stale

claims while also lessening the risk that employees will bring

unripe claims. The notice standard protects employees as

well, because it ensures that claims will not be foreclosed by

events that occurred outside the limitations period that did not

put the employees on notice.

The notice standard in Johnson also resolves the apparent

contradiction between the two reasonable policy stances

pressed by the litigants here. Thomas is correct that Title VII

extends to a neutral employer decision-making process that

relies on discriminatory evaluations. But Kodak is also right

[**28] that employees do not have an unfettered right to

reach back to challenge previous evaluations. The key is

whether those evaluations had tangible, concrete effects at the

time they were conducted. If the evaluation did cause

tangible, concrete harm, the notice standard requires the

injured employee to promptly bring suit to recover for those

harms. Failure to do so will render any later claim regarding

those particular harms time-barred.°

‘If, for example, a poor job evaluation resulted in a denial of

a salary increase, notice of the denial would mark the accrual point

for a pay inequity claim. Under Ricks, the statute would also begin

to run on any other harm that was the “delayed; but inevitable,

75a

[**29]

This means that an employer could be exposed to Title VII

liability for harms stemming from discriminatory evaluations

[*51] some years after the evaluations vere conducted, if the

evaluations first cause tangible harm to the employee at that

later point. Kodak argues that this puts employers in an

untenable position. We disagree, for three reasons.

First, as a matter of practicality, employers are unlikely

to rely on “stale” evaluations. The older the evaluation, the

less likely an employer would be to use that evaluation as the

basis of an employment decision. Employers’ preference for

more recent evaluations is demonstrated dramatically by

Kodak’s own PAR formula, which used only the latest three

evaluations and then weighted the most recent by a factor of

a2.

Second, the passage of time would affect employees as

well as employers. An employee who sought to challenge an

consequence” of the denial of a salary increase, Ricks, 449 U.S. at

257-58, since “[t]he proper focus is upon the time of the

discriminatory acts, not upon the time at which the consequences of

the acts became most painful,” Ricks, 449 U.S. at 258 (internal

quotation marks and emphasis omitted) (alteration in or inal)

(quoting Abramson v. University of Hawaii, 594 F.2d 202, 209 (9th

Cir. 1979)). Ricks did not address the question whether the statute

of limitations would also begin to run on an unrelated harm

(unrelated, that is, to the denial of a salary increase) which might

later arise from the challenged employer act -- for example,

whether a plaintiff's challenge to a layoff decision based on the

poor evaluation could be time-barred because the evaluation initially

resulted in the denial of a pay increase. As we explain below, the

facts here do not require us to resolve this difficult question.

é 76a

old evaluation would bear the burden of proving that the

evaluation was discriminatory -- and the older the evaluation,

the more difficult that task would be.

Third, the standard gives concomitant advantages to

employers. It avoids forcing employees to “run to the EEOC”

each time they disagree with a performance [**30]

evaluation. As the district court aptly observed:

If we apply the time bar to plaintiff's [performance

appraisals], then we require a given plaintiff to file

EEOC charges successively for each performance

evaluation, informal feedback from a supervisor, or

office rumor, so long as these events -- even if

nonharmful in themselves -- might be informed by

racial animus and could someday contribute to a later,

harmful result. This requirement would surely disrupt

the American workplace . .

Thomas, 18 F. Supp. 2d at 134-35. Instead, the Johnson

notice standard allows employces to give employers the

benefit of the doubt, where employees suspect that an

evaluation which has yet to cause tangible harm might be

tainted by bias, and encourages them to try to solve the

problem by proving their actual worth to the employer. And

_ while the standard places an ongoing obligation on employers

to monitor their evaluation processes to ensure that they are

free from illegal bias, employers also benefit from the

opportunity to base personnel decisions on accurate, bias-free

evaluations. In any event, this sort of obligation is foreseen by

Title VII, since the [**31] statute encourages the elimination

of both obvious and subtle forms of discrimination. - See

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 801, 36

L. Ed. 2d 668, 93 S. Ct. 1817 (1973).

77a

In arguing against the application of the Colgan rule

(which, as explained above, resembles the First Circuit

standard announced in Johnson), Kodak has presented a two-

stranded argument. The first strand is based on notions of fair

notice to the employer. The second asserts that Thomas’s

timeliness argument relies on an impermissible combination

of the equitable tolling and continuing violation doctrines.

Kodak would substitute for the accrual rule in Johnson a

rule that focuses on notice to the employer. According to

Kodak, the Colgan accrual rule makes “bad law because it

allows an employee to introduce a time-barred incident where

the employee has never previously contended, even in an

informal process afforded by the employer, that the employee

was subjected to unlawful discrimination.” Appellee’s Brief

at 17. According to Kodak, this violates “the policy

underlying Title VII [entitling] an employer . . . to some kind

of prior notice.” /d.

“~

This is not an [**32] irrational position, but Kodak cites

no authority for it. The argument calls to mind the exhaustion

rule imposed by courts in the ERISA context, see Employee

Retirement Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 et seq.,

which requires employees to take full advantage of employer-

internal appeals processes before bringing suit to recover

denied benefits, see McMahon v. Digital Equipment Corp.,

162 F.3d 28, 40 (Ist Cir. 1998) (noting court-imposed

exhaustion rule for [*52] ERISA benefit claims). But the

analogy is inappropriate. ERISA requires employers to offer

employees a speedy appeals procedure for denied benefits.

See 29 U.S.C. § 1133 (stating that employers must “afford a

reasonable opportunity to any participant whose claim for

benefits has been denied for a full and fair review by the

appropriate named fiduciary of the decision denying the

claim”); 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1 (imposing time limits). Only

78a

after this process is complete does the ERISA statute of

limitations begin to run. See, e.g.,- Godfrey v. BellSouth

Telecomms., Inc., 89 F.3d 755, 759-60 (11th Cir. 1996);

Martin v. Construction Laborer’s Pension Trust, 947 F.2d

1381, 1385 (9th Cir. 1991). [**33]

In Title VII, by contrast, Congress chose not to impose a

particular employer-internal appeals procedure. Furthermore,

the statute of limitations for a Title VII claim is not tolled

while an employee exhausts any internal remedy the employer

has made available. See Ricks, 449 U.S. at 261 (“[T]he

pendency of a grievance, or some other method of collateral

review of an employment decision, does not toll the running

of the limitations periods.”); /nternational Union of Elec.

Workers v. Robbins & Myers, Inc. , 429 U.S. 229, 236-37, 50

L. Ed. 2d 427, 97 S. Ct. 441 (1976) (holding that the Title

VII statute of limitations is not tolled by a collective-

bargaining grievance procedure). Thus, a court-imposed

exhaustion requirement would not work well in the Title VII

context, because it would place employees in the position of

having to exhaust an internal appeals process of uncertain

length while also bringing suit within three hundred (or one

hundred and eighty) days of the employer’s allegedly

wrongful act.

Kodak’s position bears an even closer resemblance to one

aspect of the approach first explicated in Stoller v. Marsh,

221 U.S. App. D.C. 22, 682 F.2d 971 (D.C. Cir. 1982),

[**34] and followed by a number of other courts, see, e.g.,

Hale v. Marsh, 808 F.2d 616, 620 (7th Cir. 1986); Brown v.

City of New York, 869 F. Supp. 158, 169 (S.D.N.Y. 1994);

Woolery v. Brady, 741 F. Supp. 667, 669-70 (E.D. Mich.

1990). The Stoller court held that a plaintiff could challenge

an employer's wrongful reliance on discriminatory

evaluations, even where the plaintiff has acknowledged that

79a

the employer’s reliance itself was not intentionally

discriminatory. See Stoller, 682 F.2d at 979 (“Otherwise an

Organization could separate illegal motive from

decisionmaking responsibility, contrary to the principle that

Title VII applies to the employer as an organization.”). This

is essentially the same result that Johnson permits. See

Johnson, 840 F.2d 132 at 135, 137 (citing this portion of

Stoller).

But the Stoller court added a second part to this rule:

[A]fter preparation of employee evaluations, the

employing organization may protect itself from Title

VII liability by establishing procedures to allow

employees to screen their personnel files and to

_ remove damaging, discriminatory [**35] information.

. .. If established procedures have given an employee

a reasonable opportunity to inspect the supervisory

evaluations in his or her file, to challenge allegedly

inaccurate materials, and to have such materials

corrected or removed, and if the organization gives its

employees adequate notice that these rights may be

exercised, then it may rely in good faith on such

evaluations in making subsequent employment

decisions without violating Title VII.

Stoller, 682 F.2d at 979 (footnotes omitted). Kodak’s “notice

to the employer” argument could refer to this second half of

the Stoller rule: Kodak apparently wants to be able to rely on

Thomas’s performance appraisals, because in its view Thomas

had a reasonable opportunity to inspect the appraisals and to

challenge inaccuracies through the “Open Door” appeals

process.

80a

We can imagine advantages of the Stoller rule for both

employers and employees. Employers, of course, would be

able to limit their liability. Employees could conceivably

[*53] benefit as well, if the rule increased the likelihood that

employers would implement effective review procedures. But

we decline to adopt this rule [**36] -- which was, in any

event, implicitly rejected in Johnson -- because we think any

possible advantages would be outweighed by two serious

risks. One is the obvious risk that employers would have carte

blanche to rely on discriminatory appraisals as long as they

offered their employees an “Open Door.” Avoiding the first

risk would entail a second: courts would need to interpret

strictly the concept of “[adequate] procedures to allow

employees to screen their personnel files and remove

damaging, discriminatory information.” This would in turn

entail a degree of judicial scrutiny and interference with day-

to-day employer operations that employers would be unlikely

to welcome and which courts interpreting Title VII have tried

to avoid. See Hidalgo v. Overseas Condado Ins. Agencies,

Inc., 120 F.3d 328, 337 (Ist Cir. 1997) (noting courts’

reluctance to “‘sit as super personnel departments’” (quoting

Mesnick v. General Elec. Co., 950 F.2d 816, 825 (1st Cir.

1991)).

The second strand of Kodak’s timeliness argument is the

claim that both Thomas and the district court have relied on

an illegitimate “hybrid” of the equitable tolling and continuing

violation [**37] doctrines. Thomas disavows any such

reliance. We make several observations in response to

Kodak’s argument.

First, the First Circuit doctrine of equitable tolling is

simply inapplicable to these facts. Some courts permit-tolling

of the statute of limitations if the plaintiff knew of a harm but

not of its discriminatory basis. See 2 Lindemann & Grossman,

8la

supra, at 1350. But our approach to equitable tolling is

narrower; First Circuit law permits equitable tolling only

where the employer has actively misled the employee. See

Mack, 871 F.2d at 185 (noting that the First Circuit’s

“narrow view” of equitable tolling reaches only “active

deception” (internal quotation marks and citations omitted));

Jensen v. Frank, 912 F.2d 517, 521 (1st Cir. 1990). There is

no allegation here that Kodak actively attempted to mislead

Thomas about her performance appraisals.

Second, there is no need to apply the continuing violation

doctrine. Commentators have labeled this doctrine “the most

muddled area in all of employment discrimination law,” 2

Lindemann & Grossman, supra, at 1351, and some courts

have gone so far as to conclude that the entire doctrine [**38]

is misguided and unnecessary, see, e.g., Moskowitz v.

Trustees of Purdue Univ., 5 F.3d 279, 282 (7th Cir. 1993).

We need not enter into that debate here. We describe the First

Circuit’s continuing violation doctrine with only as much

detail as is necessary to show that it is inapplicable to

Thomas’s claim.

The First Circuit has recognized two different types of

continuing violations: systemic violations, which “ha[ve]

{their] roots in a discriminatory policy or practice . . . [that]

itself continues into the limitation period,” DeNovellis v.

Shalala, 124 F.3d 298, 307 (ist Cir. 1997) (quoting Jensen,

912 F.2d at 523), and serial violations, which are “composed

of a number of discriminatory acts emanating from the same

discriminatory animus, [with] each act constituting a separate

wrong actionable under Title VII,” id.; see also Mack, 871

F.2d at 182-84. The systemic violation doctrine is clearly

inapposite because Thomas has not alleged that Kodak has

“an overarching policy or practice” of conducting

discriminatory evaluations. Jensen, 912 F.2d at 523. Kodak

82a

apparently believes that [**39] Thomas is inappropriately

attempting to shoe-horn her claim into the serial violation

category. This is not so. Whether a serial violation exists does

depend in part on a type of notice standard similar to the one

in Johnson. See Sabree v. United Bhd. of Carpenters, Local

No. 33, 921 F.2d 396, 402 (1st Cir. 1990) (stating that if an

earlier event had “‘the degree of permanence which should

trigger an employee’s awareness and duty to assert [*54] his

or her rights,’” then it is not substantially related to the later

event, and therefore cannot form part of a continuing

violation (quoting Berry v. Board of Supervisors of L.S.U.,

715 F.2d 971, 981 (Sth Cir. 1983))). This similarity may be

the source of Kodak’s argument. But the serial violation

doctrine, like the systemic violation doctrine, stands as an

exception to the accrual rule recognized in Johnson. The

purpose of this exception is to permit suit on later wrongs

where a wrongdoer would otherwise be able to repeat a

wrongful act indefinitely merely because the first instance of

wrongdoing was not timely challenged.. See D. Laycock,

Continuing Violations, Disparate Impact in Compensation,

[**40] and Other Title VII Issues, 49 Law & Contemp. Probs.

53, 55 (1986) (comparing the application of the continuing

violation doctrine in employment discrimination cases to its

application in an antitrust case, Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United

Shoe Machinery Corp., 392 U.S. 481, 20 L. Ed. 2d 1231, 88

S. Ct. 2224 (1968), and observing that “obviously, United’

should not be able to continue its illegal conduct forever

because no one challenged it during World War I”); J.

MacAyeal, The Discovery Rule and the Continuing Violation

Doctrine as Exceptions to the Statute of Limitations for Civil

Environmental Penalty Claims, 15 Va. Envtl. L.J. 589, 615-

22 (1996) (describing the history and purpose of the

continuing violation doctrine); see also Sabree, 921 F.2d at

401 (discussing proper remedy).

83a

In the Title VII context, the continuing violation doctrine

applies where “a number of discriminatory acts emanatfe]

from the same discriminatory animus, [with] each act

constituting a separate wrong actionable under Title VII.”

Jensen, 912 F.2d at 522. Sexual harassment, failure to

promote, and pay inequity cases often fall into this category.

Plaintiffs [**41] in these cases experience harm from each

employer act (e.g., a harassing comment, a denied promotion,

or a smaller paycheck), for which they could recover under

Title VII. Thus, under the Johnson standard, each act could

trigger the running of the statute of limitations. The

continuing violation doctrine ensures that these plaintiffs’

claims are not foreclosed merely because the plaintiffs needed

to see a pattern of repeated acts before they realized that the

individual acts were discriminatory.

Thomas’s claim presents a different question: not whether

she is permitted to bring suit after many repeated harms, but

rather whether harm cognizable under Title VII existed at the

time she first received her performance appraisals sufficient

to mean that the notice of layoff is not the date on which the

limitations period began for her layoff claim. This question is

more appropriately addressed under the Johnson notice

standard.

We consider whether the date on which the limitations

period begins to run should be earlier than the notice of layoff

because there was earlier concerte harm to Thomas resulting

from the performance appraisals. According to Kodak’s

compensation plan, appraisal [**42] scores were intended to

affect salary levels and determine “who should be promoted,

transferred, demoted, terminated, laid off, and re-employed.”

It is not clear whether Kodak informed employees of this

intention. But even if employees were familiar with the

intended possible uses of the scores, it appears that the effects

84a

listed in the compensation plan remained abstract -- mere

possibilities, not certainties.

This was particularly true in Thomas’s case. Flannery’s

appraisals evaluated Thomas’s performance as only average

or below average. But the appraisals did not specify that

Thomas was to suffer an immediate consequence for her

alleged performance failures,? much [*55] less that they

would mechanically lead to her being laid off. Because

Thomas seeks to recover for an allegedly discriminatory

layoff, we consider whether that particular consequence was

apparent at the time Thomas received the appraisals. Cf.

Colgan, 935 F.2d at 1410, 1419-20 (finding notice lacking

even where an evaluation explicitly warned that adverse

actions would be taken if the employee’s performance did not

improve). She was not told that layoffs were impending and

” Under Ricks, we must also consider whether the appraisals led

to any other concrete harm for which the layoffs were the “delayed,

but inevitable, consequence.” Ricks, 449 U.S. at 257-58. We do not

find any evidence of such related harm in the record.

As noted above, it is not clear whether a separate, unrelated

harm would also trigger the accrual of Thomas’s layoff claim. We

need not reach this question. Assuming arguendo that unrelated |

harms would trigger accrual of Thomas’s layoff claim, accrual was

not triggered here, because Thomas’s appraisals did not in fact

result in any tangible, concrete harms at the time they were

presented to her. Although Thomas was denied some promotion

Opportunities during Flannery’s tenure, she was not told that she

lost those opportunities because of her low performance appraisals;

rather, Flannery told her she lacked the proper credentials. Thomas

was also not told that her salary would be affected by her low

scores, and indeed, it appears that her salary kept pace with the

other five CSRs throughout Flannery’s tenure as Customer Support

Manager.

85a

that her scores [**43] placed her at high risk for layoff.’°

Even if she did have this information, it would fall short of

the “crystallized” implications required under Johnson, 840

F.2d at 136, since being at risk for layoff (due to a low

ranking relative to other empluyees) and actually being

selected for layoff are two quite different things.

[**44]

Kodak emphasizes the fact that Thomas refused to sign

two of the three performance appraisals. According to Kodak,

her refusal to sign “demonstrates that she was dissatisfied

with [the appraisals! for some reason” and makes it “evident

that she then believed she had been treated unfairly.”

Appellee’s Brief at 18 n.6. A trier of fact could, but need not

necessarily, conclude that Thomas had notice of the

appraisals’ possible racial bias as soon as they were presented

to her. However, this fact does not go to the relevant question

under Johnson’s notice rule: whether Thomas had notice of

immediate, tangible consequences of her poor scores. [**45]

Kodak’s argument pertains to notice of bias rather than the

notice of harm required under Johnson. But notice of bias

alone, absent harm, is clearly

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.