Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Pacific Gas and Electric Co. v. San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace (No. 06-466)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| rt, US.

N anal a a

_ 06-466 SEP 29 2006

No. 06-_ OPFICE OF THE CLERK

In the Supreme Court of the United States

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Petitioner

v.

SAN LUIS OBISPO MOTHERS FOR PEACE, et al.,

Respondents

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM V. MANHEIM GENE C. SCHAERR

ANTONIO FERNANDEZ Counsel of Record

Pacific Gas and Electric DAVID A. REPKA

Company LINDA T. COBERLY

77 Beale Street, B30A MARTIN J. O’ NEILL

San Francisco, CA 94105 Winston & Strawn LLP

1700 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 282-5000

Counsel for Petitioner

a

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WaSHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the National Environmental Policy Act

(“NEPA”) requires a federal agency to consider, as part of

its NEPA review of an agency action, the environmental

impact of potential sabotage whenever the possibility of

sabotage is anything more than “remote and highly

speculative,” regardless of whether the agency action lacks a

close, “proximate-cause” relationship to the potential

sabotage and its impacts.

2. Whether an agency is required to consider the risk of

sabotage in its NEPA review even if the agency reasonably

concludes that the risk is not sufficiently quantifiable to be

meaningful or to assist agency decision making under

NEPA.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

AND CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

1. Pursuant to Rule 14.1(b), the following list identifies

all of the parties appearing here and before the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

The petitioner here and an intervenor-respondent below

is Pacific Gas and Electric Company (“PG&E”).

The respondents below and respondents here are the

Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the United States of

America.

The petitioners below and respondents here are San Luis

Obispo Mothers for Peace, the Sierra Club (Santa Lucia

Chapter), and Peg Pinard.

2. Pursuant to Rule 29.6, petitioner states as follows:

PG&E is a corporation organized under the laws of

California, with its principal place of business in San

Francisco, California. PG&E is a public utility operating

throughout most of northern and central California. PG&E

is engaged primarily in the businesses of electricity

generation; electricity and natural gas_ distribution;

electricity transmission; and natural gas procurement,

transportation, and storage. PG&E serves approximately 4.9

million electricity distribution customers and approximately

4.1 million natural gas distribution customers. PG&E is a

subsidiary of PG&E Corporation, an energy-based holding

company organized under the laws of the State of

California, with its principal executive offices in San

Francisco, California. PG&E Corporation is the only

publicly held corporation owning ten percent (10%) or more

of PG&E's stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CORTE a Ae FINN LED vitiiciresssccysinersivenctcvnersensosonpesnenenpseninianbae i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS AND

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT...........ssscsssserseeseees ii

SAE OP AFT isis sisciscicsdnsseiicecnenssenscsncdsonsvobeveseesiuats v

ee IG scesieidiiierisasscvenivsdntiacsiscnduohiniohiebahinanoesadipeaaurcamtsinsl 1

I FIN ices cssininsnieniechennitebsineder siaubsvianehobieshationbohionde 3

eee. 3

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED..............:00000+ 3

SE Ta ORS Re BES i iin secccevscerssniovesenivsconpsovonsassesesomesenss 4

Bi, DE PR PA OE FOG isin nsseicsocsinenioneregnsvacnpovinintes +

B. Administrative Proceedings...........csssssessesseeees Wace 4

Os RE CRINGE CO asics cated ssveccocisnssvseninhcrmesadanmncoe 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ssesesesesesesesesees 8

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Holding Regarding NEPA’‘s

“Causation” Standard Conflicts With Decisions Of

This Court As Well As Decisions In At Least Two

SS oss csstcsiinbicapcaindscbudshicavcaubtaubidecceinadoaabttne 9

A. The Decision Below Expressly Rejects This

Court’s Causation Standard, And Does So On

MARIE SIE isa cecbensionceennisieonbchessdonemidetnies 9

B. The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions In

Two Other Circuits, And Is In Substantial

Tension With A Decision Of Yet Another Circuit.....14

Il. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision On The NRC’s Ability

To Exclude Unquantifiable Risks Conflicts With

Decisions Of This Court, With CEQ Regulations,

And With Decisions In Other Circuits .0.......0.cceesseeseseeees 18

iv

A. The Ninth Circuit's Decision Is Erroneous Under

The Controlling Authorities .............:ssssssessesseseesssesees 19

B. The Decision Below Placed The Ninth Circuit In

Conflict With The Third Circuit On This

SEITE OE iccosesicsonivsnesnsccsnnlcsvisescadctogenoinsacenshnicaibes 21

III. The Decision Below Will Have Widespread Adverse

FR TION 5s spiciccsconsslonsosslanibpinien caksesinniainvvones 24

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Will Unduly

Burden PG&E and Other Participants In The

NRC Regulatory Process Without Advancing

ME FOLIO saiiissdcsndediss Wiciaarncipthcsstienssinccbeingnemnbniobindas 24

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Would Adversely

Impact Other Private Applicants and Federal

PRQOTEY PARI iiiissarscastcnionivcspsisinserecives ciesh dhoviviniepsaceaes 27

C. The Ninth Circuit's Decision Creates

Uncertainty And Potential Delay for PG&E at

the Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant................... 27

D. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Raises Serious

National Security Concerns. ..............csscsssscsssesssssesserees 29

eG eS eeisccsnrcsnss sh ccatosipsossncev cad plonnaiddrsencrbanmesenatanedigeaioia 30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Amoco Prod. v. Vill. of Gambell, 480 U.S. 531 (1987)........:+000 28

Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347 (1979) .....cccsccssersereseseeenes 19

Baltimore Gas & Elec. Co. v. NRDC.,

OE Rae Ci recirncrcevasessqesthensitpintansncbsdnaniniensipiness 21-22, 26

Bellotti v. NRC, 725 F.2d 1380 (D.C. Cir. 1983) ........s:0:ccssseese 25

Citizens Awareness Network, Inc. v. United States,

ER a te CAE GE, BIO citsicncracimsssaceseceninutiincniesonevecinnnen 25

City of New York v. U.S. Dep’t of Transp., 715 F.2d 732

Se actly Me Siskind kas inaciaeiaetiacobetiad essen tiadilpatfecrntini 16, 17

City of Shoreacres v. Waterworth,

EID FS GEO (SR Cir, DIOS) oc cesesesssecsvesvecesovseiscsevereboouce ine

Dep't of Transp. v. Pub. Citizen,

SOR ee Fe LTE senapctnersirnicnmsinicbiedapcbecnssnteinnte-rensiniaiaiies passim

Glass Packaging Inst. v. Regan,

737 F.2d 1083 (D.C. Cir. 1984) ......-sssccsecseesssenreenteenenes 15, 16

Holmes v. Sec. Investor Prot. Corp., 503 U.S. 258 (1992) .......... 13

Limerick Ecology Action, Inc. v. NRC,

S69. F.2d 719 (Sed Cir. 1909) «....recceserccsorcocserseseoese 3, 21-23, 26 ©

Marsh v. Oregon Natural Res. Council,

cist incdenstsehonronncicihensenheriuisanesinastptonaiinas 18

Metropolitan Edison Co. v. People Against Nuclear

SPT, GEE Ss. FOO (AGG) hicerisestarcesntcsseresitvinetiseinsintes passim

Mid States Coal. for Progress v. Surface Trans. Bd.,

GEE © aR aEGAE GRE SIN GUIDE ivienicnsevscsaninenpovcinsnintecerncrnsi 17-18

No GWEN Alliance v. Aldridge,

ERD 0 Mn BO) CCIE CR. TSGD) on cestesccncensevncnnsoonniionnnses 2, 13-14

vi

Pac. Gas & Elec. Co. (Diablo Canyon Power Plant

Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation),

CLE, SF BERR EGO sisicincivsanliesbconneiiebyesastoconnsmnnicttines 3

Pac. Gas & Elec. Co. (Diablo Canyon Power Plant

Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation), -

CLI-06-23, 64 N.R.C. __ (Sept. 6, 2006) .............cessesseseeeee 28

Private Fuel Storage, L.L.C. (Independent Spent Fuel

Storage Installation), CLI-02-25, 56 NRC 340

GD vasiincicslaiaisassparcdeeaiensichgaesisciibasnisnidaulinipstatiadscenkvantaccolasiacaans 3

Robertson v. Methow Valley Citizens Council,

GAT Se (OOO asia tins siasasshindiipneahehanleionivvieitid 4, 20

Romer v. Carlucci, 847 F.2d 445 (8th Cir. 1988) ......... venivhiosensiin 26

San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace v. NRC, ;

SE Fae FO a BI eiscticecrtincctestcaseedenintasiecennninncntins 3

Strycker's Bay Neighborhood Council, Inc. v. Karlen,

Sk: Ea OT ea tinncesesenicceseaiaianiesaconnsohimastninnectionioncniiied 4

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC,

SS GI wit sacspinitninivinishcrctichntionmis eencnerbatatiinnvicbanuetoen 24

Warm Springs Dam Task Force v. Gribble,

ES Fie Fe CR ROD beietindicentiences em tacivhncciimainaes 14

Weinberger v. Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305 (1982) ..............000+ 28

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

Atomic Energy Act of 1954,

a. BR RI wieinsicrvecstchecrsninsinencencspoiciecbancseetadseiten 13

BF lic SRT vivsinwesnicesininintibicipeaniimnieiaandicivenesseidasonintiinaes 29

National Environmental Policy Act of 1969,

Be ee arena eihacicinshiessiascstcvnoreclanenenccneetnraiin 3

i Bi iisartictinetciinsteshenaicvioonmscnistiabopniasmeretcmninndaiiad 4

7 £5. 8 Cae | |. ESORDMSRMRtncmaer tools Suremmntanss Neivemseron area 29

a RO io 4

vii

Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982, as amended,

Sy oN eeteseeteicnncediterineibmieinonseciiecnnieane 5

CFs AE Ping AIEEE wisessistinsnertsriansionpiniinnnnienanen 5

KE A OEE FO sictoticscapricssielistininteniinhtibsbdiclacchuncepaebianipals 26

ph ak sg: AN 7. Sanson Wahl ee Ie In Ran TE AE Rin CT Ce 4,19

WCER AGS oi ican 4

TR Fi OE itisnhesstuiecnsinenidinsisiaeclemsienchgiaisiidaiael 4

PEGs Bp Se Oe sscccniscinss seinitusneneiackainteviametiantiogsiladcorbedaneiauds 4

TE i Tea ok RA) sipsscsssniescsetheitcniasepitsnnaaepbcicianconaeitiiasiacboliniate 21

EG Fae FO BARON vescsesvevin shspscessidecinasosavincldgonosacctoriaen 3-4

FB Be ECD eseviecvisntactcaccsceiasitctvinatinsasenipanatianuntaadoninnid 4

GG: BB e ices sissnsncsosssccdiotihininnistyshcirnbcanbaapeaisiianlidecaeicomnstan 4

MEFS FAs Th EP Mic scvivniscsciec assis acietrstialadscoapiinnninotsbieiinipiniscinuenaacninl 4

EF cis We BALE) vccissasssvictondinnimitontutiinentatachsnceiacniasmeitagan +

SG Fa Bi Gitiecosevendosicinepisnceabiucanesitincubtsenacsupelavunea tiie 19-20

BE Fe aR vinicintnicesinentapoesiicats siesta tines sonietialisuaietincdasaal 4

43 Fed. Reg. 55,978 (Nov. 29, 1978).......c.ccssorscsesesecsesesercevesnsseses 19

51 Fed. Reg. 15,618 (Apr. 25, 1966). ...-ccsessecrcevescsesorersoteceesees 19, 21

67 Fed. Reg. 19,600 (Apr. 22, 2002)............. dicsichsepiavioiaaddiineaet 5

MISCELLANEOUS:

W. Keeton, D. Dobbs, R. Keeton, & D. Owen, Prosser

and Keeton on Law of Torts 264 (5th ed. 1984)................ 13

INTRODUCTION

In the decision below, the Ninth Circuit has overruled

the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (“NRC” or

“Commission”) on two issues of great importance to the

administration of the National Environmental Policy Act

(“NEPA”) —a statute that all too often is used by opponents

of nuclear power to delay and make more costly the

construction of all types of nuclear facilities. In so ruling,

the Ninth Circuit has spurned controlling decisions of this

Court and has placed itself in conflict with decisions in at

least three other circuits, even while threatening the NRC’s

efforts to make more efficient the approval process for all

nuclear facilities.

The NRC decision reviewed by the Ninth Circuit

concerns a storage installation for spent nuclear fuel at the

Diablo Canyon Power Plant (“Diablo Canyon”), a nuclear

power plant located in San Luis Obispo County, California

and owned and operated by petitioner Pacific Gas and

Electric Company (“PG&E”). The private respondent here,

San Luis Obispo Mothezs for Peace, argued that the agency

was required to review and address terrorism risks, not only

in its ongoing security review (which for security reasons

has only limited public participation), but also as part of the

public proceeding that the agency conducts under NEPA.

The NRC disagreed, in part because of the security risks

posed by a public vetting of terrorism issues.

The first issue on which the Ninth Circuit ruled against

the NRC concerns the legal threshold for determining the

scope of an agency’s NEPA review. The issue was

addressed by this Court in Metropolitan Edison Co. v. People

Against Nuclear Energy, 460 U.S. 766 (1983), and then again

in Department of Transportation v. Public Citizen, 541 U.S. 752

(2004). Those decisions unanimously held that whether a

possible environmental effect must be assessed depends

upon whether there exists “’a reasonably close causal

relationship’ between the environmental effect and the

alleged cause.” Pub. Citizen, 541 US. at 767 (quoting

Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at 774) (emphasis added). Both

decisions made clear that this standard is similar “to the

‘familiar doctrine of proximate cause from tort law’” (ibid.),

and that the Court intended it to set “‘a manageable line

between those causal changes that may make an actor [i.e.,

an agency] responsible for an effect and those that do not.’”

Ibid. (quoting Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at 774 & n. 7).

Here, the NRC relied upon this standard in holding that it

was not required to address a potential terrorist attack in its

NEPA analysis in addition to its ongoing security review.

The Ninth Circuit, however, held that the NRC erred in

applying the Metropolitan Edison standard rather than the

stricter standard applied by the Ninth Circuit in No GWEN

Alliance v. Aldridge, 855 F.2d 1380 (9th Cir. 1988). Pet. App.

19a-21a. As a result of its analysis of these decisions, the

Ninth Circuit held tnat an agency must conduct a NEPA

analysis of any possible environmental effect—including

effects that could result from intervening criminal conduct

by third parties—unless the court can be convinced that the

cause and effect are “remote and highly speculative.” Id. at

21a. In so holding, the Ninth Circuit placed itself in conflict

with decisions of the D.C. and Second Circuits, both of

which have applied the Metropolitan Edison standard in

determining that the causal relationship between agency

decisions and potential acts of sabotage was not sufficiently

close to warrant inclusion in a NEPA analysis.

The Ninth Circuit also rejected the NRC’s independent

conclusion that “the likelihood of [a criminal] attack cannot

be ascertained with confidence by any state-of-the-art

methodology” and, therefore, that the NRC had “no means

to assess, usefully, the risks of terrorism” in any way that

would be helpful to its NEPA analysis. Pet. App. 56a. The

Ninth Circuit held that an agency’s inability to quantify the

risk of sabotage does not allow the agency “to eliminate a

possible environmental consequence from analysis” (id. at

25a) and that, even if it did, the NRC “has not established

that the risk of a terrorist attack is unquantifiable.” Id. at

26a. The only authority the Ninth Circuit cited for this

proposition was the dissent in Limerick Ecology Action, Inc. v.

NRC, 869 F.2d 719, 754 (3rd Cir. 1989). Id. at 25a. Not

surprisingly, the Ninth Circuit's decision conflicts with the

majority opinion in that case. And the Ninth Circuit's

decision improperly shifts the burden of proof on the

quantifiability issue from the petitioner to the agency.

Given the conflicts that the decision below creates with

decisions of sister circuits and of this Court, and given the

immense practical importance of the issue to PG&E, to the

entire clear industry, and indeed to all industries

regulated by federal agencies subject to NEPA, the decision

below merits this Court's review.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1a-31a) is

reported at 449 F.3d 1016. The order of the Nuclear

Regulatory Commission reviewed by the court of appeals

(Pet. App. 32a-41a) and a related Commission opini- > (Pet.

App. 42a-67a) are reported at 57 N.R.C. 1 and 56 N.R.C. 340.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

June 2, 2006. Pet. App. 1a. No party to the proceeding filed

a petition for panel rehearing or rehearing en banc. By order

dated August 28, 2006, Justice Kennedy extended the time

within which to file a petition for writ of certiorari to and

including September 29, 2006. This Court has jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the National Environmental

Policy Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C. §§ 4321-4437, Council on

Environmental Quality regulations, 40 C.F.R. §§ 1500.1-

1518.4, and Nuclear Regulatory Commission regulations, 10

C.F.R. §§ 51.1-.125 are reprinted at Pet. App. 75a-85a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A proper understanding of the issues presented and

why they merit this Court’s review requires some

familiarity with: (a) NEPA and its purposes; (b) the

administrative proceedings before the NRC; and (c) the

Ninth Circuit's decision.

A. NEPA And Its Purposes

Congress enacted NEPA to ensure that agencies

consider the environmental consequences of proposed

major federal actions. 42 U.S.C. § 4321; 40 C.F.R. § 1500.1(c).

NEPA is a procedural statute; it does not mandate particular

substantive results. Robertson v. Methow Valley Citizens

Council, 490 U.S. 332, 350 (1989); Strycker’s Bay Neighborhood

Council, Inc. v. Karlen, 444 U.S. 223, 227-228 (1980) (per

curiam). It requires an agency to prepare a detailed

environmental impact statement (“EIS”) only if a proposal is

a “major Federal action{] significantly affecting the quality

of the human environment.” 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C).

Regulations promulgated by the NRC and by the

Council on Environmental Quality (“CEQ”), moreover,

provide that an agency may prepare an environmental

assessment (“EA”) to determine whether a proposed action

is likely to have a significant impact on the environment.

See 10 C.F.R. §§ 51.25, 51.30-.31; 40 C.F.R. §§ 1501.3, 1501.4.

If the agency determines through an EA that the proposed

action will not have a significant effect on the quality of the

human environment, the agency issues a “finding of no

significant impact,” and it does not need to prepare an EIS.

See 10 C.F.R. §§ 51.30-.35; 40 C.F.R. §§ 1501.4(e), 1508.13.

B. Administrative Proceedings

On December 21, 2001, PG&E filed an application with

the NRC for a license that would authorize PG&E to place

spent fuel and related radioactive materials from the Diablo

Canyon power plant into “dry” storage in a separately-

licensed, independent spent fuel storage installation

(“ISFSI”) at the Diablo Canyon site. The ISFSI is intended to

provide interim storage of spent fuel in accordance with

Congress’ direction in the Nuclear Waste Policy Act of 1982,

as amended (“NWPA”). See 42 U.S.C. § 10151(a)(1). !

On April 22, 2002, the NRC published in the Federal

Register a notice of opportunity . or a hearing on the PG&E

application. 67 Fed. Reg. 19,600 (Apr. 22, 2002). Respondent

San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace and several others

(collectively “Mothers for Peace”) jointly submitted a

petition to intervene and a request for a hearing. On July 18,

2002, these parties filed an amended petition setting forth

proposed contentions for hearing. Pet App. 68a-74a.

Among other things, they argued that PG&E's

Environmental Report (“ER”) was inadequate because it did

not include an assessment of the environmental

consequences of deliberate acts of sabotage. Ibid.

On December 2, 2002, the NRC’s Atomic Safety: and

Licensing Board (“Licensing Board”) ruled that, under the

Commission’s hearing rules, the terrorism-related

contentions constituted impermissible challenges to the

Commission's security regulations. Pet App. 34a-36a. The

Licensing Board also concluded that license applicants are

not required to design facilities against destructive acts by

“enemies of the United States.” Id. at 35a. The Licensing

1 As at other nuclear power plants, spent fuel at Diablo Canyon is

initially (and still) stored in a “wet” spent fuel pool. Dry storage

allows spent fuel that has already been cooled for a time in a spent

fuel pool to be removed from the pool and stored in a leak-tight

steel cylinder bound within a robust concrete cask. An ISFSI is a

facility for maintaining a number of storage casks, up to a licensed

maximum. ISFSIs must meet NRC safety and_ security

requirements. See, e.g., 10 C.F.R. Part 72, Subpart H.

Board referred its ruling on these contentions to the

Commission, inasmuch as identical issues had been raised

in several other NRC proceedings and were pending before

the Commission at the time. Id. at 36a. None of those other

proceedings has generated a court decision.

The Commission accepted the Licensing Board’s referral

of the terrorism issues and, on January 23, 2003, affirmed the

result reached by the Licensing Board. Pet App. 32a-41a.

(Order CLI-03-1) In fact, in the interim between the

Licensing Board’s referral and the Commission’s decision in

this case, the Commission had already considered, in the

Private Fuel Storage proceeding, the issue of whether NEPA

requires evaluation of impacts caused by terrorist acts. Pet.

App. 42a-67a. (Order CLI-02-25)

In the decision at issue here, the Commission applied the

Private Fuel Storage precedent to hold as a matter of law that

NEPA does not require a review of the likelihood or

environmental impacts of a terrorist attack on the proposed

facility. Pet. App. 38a-4la. For one thing, applying the

“proximate cause” standard articulated by this court in

Metropolitan Edison, the NRC held that the possibility of a

terrorist attack at any one facility is speculative and too far

removed from the natural or expected consequences of the

agency’s action to require further study under NEPA. Id. at

38a-39a, 51a-55a. For another, the NRC concluded that the

risk of a terrorist attack at a nuclear facility cannot be

adequately quantified or determined, and that the agency

thus had “no means to assess, meaningfully, the risks of

terrorism” at any particular facility. Id. at 39a, 55a-57a. The

NRC also emphasized that the public NEPA process is an

inappropriate forum for considering sensitive threat

assessment issues, and that public NEPA reviews “may well

have the perverse effect of assisting terrorists seeking

effective means to cause a release of radioactivity.” Id. at

39a, 62a-65a.

In October 2003 the NRC issued an EA for the proposed

action. In that 26-page document, the NRC considered the

impacts of the proposed action, including the non-

radiological and radiological impacts of ISFSI construction,

as well as the potential impacts of operating the facility and

decommissioning it at the end of its useful life. The NRC.

concluded that an EIS was not warranted and issued a

finding of no significant impact. Pet. App. 10a. The NRC

then issued a license to PG&E on March 22, 2004.

C. The Decision Below

On December 11, 2003,.Mothers for Peace filed a petition

in the Ninth Circuit seeking review of the NRC’s decision.

They argued, among other things, that the NRC erroneously

declined to hold a hearing on whether the environmental

impacts of terrorist attacks and other “acts of malice or

insanity” against the ISFSI should be addressed in an EIS.

In its decision, issued June 2, 2006, the court of appeals

held that “the NRC's determination that NEPA does not

require a consideration of the environmental impact of

terrorist attacks does not satisfy a reasonableness review.”

Pet. App. 31a. In so holding, the court rejected each of the

independent reasons the NRC had given in Private Fuel

Storage for declining to consider the environmental impact

of terrorist attacks under NEPA. Id. at 17a-30a.

First, declining to apply this Court’s Metropolitan Edison

standard of causation, the court ruled that the exclusive

standard for determining whether a potential effect must be

considered under NEPA is whether the hypothetical effect

in question is something more than “remote and highly

speculative.” Pet. App. 21a. If it is, the agency must include

that effect in its NEPA review. Having thus found that the

NRC had erred in applying the “proximate cause” standard

articulated by this Court in Metropolitan Edison, the court

directed the NRC to conduct a new assessment applying the

Ninth Circuit's own “remote and highly speculative”

standard instead. Id. at 22a-24a, 31a.

Second, the court-rejected the NRC’s conclusion that it

need not conduct a full-scale NEPA analysis of a risk that

cannot be quantified in a manner sufficient to permit a

meaningful NEPA analysis. Pet. App. 26a. Accordingly, the

court held the agency’s EA inadequate, and remanded to the

agency for further proceedings on that issue. Id. at 31a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Ninth Circuit's decision countermands the NRC on

two issues of great importance to the administration of

NEPA: the “causation” standard that must be met before the

NRC or any other agency is obligated to include a potential

environmental effect as part of its NEPA analysis; and

whether a NEPA review is required where the risks

associated with that potential effect are not sufficiently

quantifiable to allow a meaningful NEPA analysis. As we

show below, on the first issue the Ninth Circuit’s decision

squarely conflicts with decisions of this Court as well as

decisions in other circuits. And on the second issue, the

decision below conflicts with CEQ regulations that this

Court has previously endorsed, as well as a decision of the

Third Circuit.

In addition, the decision has widespread adverse

consequences. It threatens to impose a substantial burden

on PG&E and other private parties participating in future

NRC licensing proceedings for existing and new nuclear

power plants. It also will impose unnecessary burdens on

applicants for permits from other federal agencies subject to

the requirements of NEPA and on those agencies. The

decision also creates a cloud of uncertainty over PG&E's

plans for spent fuel storage at Diablo Canyon, which is the

most significant electrical generating facility in California.

And finally, as the NRC stressed, NEPA reviews of terrorist

threat scenarios would themselves create a risk that

classified information could be released, to the detriment of

public health and safety. For all of these reasons, this

Court’s review is warranted.

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Holding Regarding NEPA’s

“Causation” Standard Conflicts With Decisions Of

This Court As Well As Decisions In At Least Two

Other Circuits

As this Court recognized in Metropolitan Edison, an

agency's decision about the proper scope of its NEPA

analysis can have a major impact on the burdens that

analysis will impose on private applicants and on the

agency. See 460 US. at 776. On that issue, the decision

below is a clear departure from controlling decisions of this

Court adopting a NEPA “causation” requirement, and from

decisions in other circuits faithfully applying that

requirement.

A. The Decision Below Expressly Rejects This Court’s

Causation Standard, And Does So On Implausible

Grounds

In Metropolitan Edison, and then again in Public Citizen,

this Court unanimously held that whether a particular

environmental “effect” must be assessed under NEPA

depends at the threshold upon whether there exists “‘a

reasonably close causal relationship’ between the

environmental effect and the alleged cause” —i.e., the agency

action under consideration. Pub. Citizen, 541 U.S. at 767

(quoting Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at 774). The Court

made clear that the standard for determining whether a

“reasonably close causal relationship” exists is a “ proximate

cause” standard akin to that typically applied in tort law.

Id. As in tort law, where the concept of “proximate cause”

is applied to define a point where an initial actor is no

longer responsible for a chain of ensuing events, the Court

intended to set “‘a manageable line between those causal

changes that may make an actor [i.e., an agency] responsible

10

for an effect and those that do not.” Id. (quoting

Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at 774 & n. 7). Yet the decision

below expressly rejected this standard in favor of the Ninth

Circuit’s own, alternative standard.

1. Metropolitan Edison arose after a well-known accident

damaged one of two reactors at Three Mile Island, and after

the NRC authorized the restart of the undamaged reactor.

An association of local residents who opposed further

operation of the facility intervened in the restart

proceedings, alleging that NEPA required the NRC to

analyze in its supplemental EIS the potential effects of the

agency’s action on psychological health and community

well-being. 460 U.S. at 768-69.

This Court began by observing that “NEPA does not

require the agency to assess every impact or effect of its

proposed action, but only the impact or effect on the

environment.” 460 U.S. at 772 (emphasis in original). The

Court further reasoned that the term “environmental effect”

must be read to require “a reasonably close causal

relationship between a change in the physical environment

and the effect at issue.” Id. at 774. The Court emphasized

that “but for” causation is not sufficient to make an asserted

effect cognizable under NEPA. Ibid. Rather, the Court held

that the statute requires a “reasonably close causal

relationship,” similar to the tort law doctrine of proximate

cause. Ibid. The Court reasoned that “[t]ime and resources

are simply too limited” to further extend the statute and that

spreading agency resources too thin would inhibit, rather

than promote, protection of the environment. Id. at 776.

Applying this “proximate cause” test, the Court next

considered whether there was a proximate relationship

between resumed operation of the reactor (the change in the

physical environment permitted by the agency’s action) and

psychological distress and other health effects from the

perceived risk of a post-restart accident (the alleged effects

at issue). 460 US. at 774-75. The Court found the “causal

11

chain” to be “too attenuated” (id. at 774), inasmuch as “the

element of risk and its perception by [the concerned

residents] are necessary middle links.” Id. at 775. The Court

concluded that the alleged effect was “simply too remote

from the physical environment” to require an EIS under

NEPA. Id. at 774. And the Court observed that “[uJntil

Congress provides a more explicit statutory instruction than

NEPA now contains, we do not think agencies are obliged to

undertake the inquiry.” Id. at 778.

2. Public Citizen reaffirmed the Metropolitan Edison

proximate causation test and clarified that it extends to the

link between an agency action and a future effect. Pub.

Citizen, 541 U.S. at 759-60. The case arose after the President

announced his intent to lift a moratorium prohibiting

Mexican motor carriers from obtaining operating authority

within the United States. The Federal Motor Carrier Safety

Administration (“FMCSA”) subsequently proposed rules

establishing certain financial and safety requirements for

Mexican motor carriers. Id. at 759-60. The FMCSA also

issued an EA for the proposed rules, but the EA did not

consider the environmental impact of the Mexican carriers’

increased cross-border operations. Id. at 761. The agency

reasoned that any such impact would be the effect of the

President's modification of the moratorium, not the agency’s

implementation of the regulations. Ibid. The court of

appeals disagreed, and found the agency’s EA deficient

because it failed to consider. the “reasonably foreseeable”

effect of increased emissions caused by the entry of Mexican

trucks. Id. at 762-63.

On review, this Court first inquired whether the

Mexican carriers’ increased cross-border operations, with

the correlative release of emissions by Mexican trucks, was

an “effect” of FMCSA’s issuance of the proposed rules. 541

U.S. at 764. The Court characterized the respondents’

argument as “a particularly unyielding variation of ‘but for’

causation, where an agency’s action is considered a cause of

12

an environmental effect even when the agency has no

authority to prevent the effect.” Id. at 767 (citing Metropolitan

Edison, 460 U.S. at 774).

Instead of applying a “but-for” causation test, the Court,

reiterating Metropolitan Edison, held that whether a

particular environmental “effect” must be considered under

NEPA depends upon whether there exists “‘a reasonably

close causal relationship’ between the environmental effect

and the alleged cause.” Pub. Citizen, 541 U.S. at 767 (quoting

Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at 774). Moreover, as in

Metropolitan Edison, the Court reiterated that this standard is

analogous “to the ‘familiar doctrine of proximate cause from

tort law,” and therefore provides “’a manageable line

between those causal changes that may make an actor [i.e.,

an agency] responsible for an effect and those that do not.’”

Ibid. (quoting Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at’774 n. 7).

“ea

Applying this test, the Court found that the agency had

no authority to refuse admission of the Mexican motor

carriers if the carriers met certain requirements contained in

FMCSA regulations. 541 U.S. at 766-68. Accordingly, any

pollution from Mexican motor ‘carriers, even if foreseeable,

was not an “effect” that the agency needed to consider

because no “action” by the agency would “cause” Mexican

motor carriers to enter the United States. As in the past, the

Court also emphasized that inherent in NEPA is a “rule of

reason” that requires consideration of the usefulness of any

new potential information to the decision-making process.

Id. at 767-68.

3. Here, in applying a NEPA “rule of reason” to

determine whether it needed to analyze the environmental

impacts of terrorist attacks, the NRC expressly applied the

Metropolitan Edison causation standard. Relying upon that

standard, the NRC noted that “where the link between the

agency action and the claimed impact is too attenuated to

find the proposed federal action to be the ‘proximate cause’

of the impact,” NEPA requires no discussion of that impact.

13

Pet. App. 53a (citing Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at 772-75)

(other citations omitted).

The NRC then correctly concluded that its licensing of

the ISFSI could not reasonably be viewed as the “proximate

cause” of the effects of a terrorist attack. Pet. App. 53a-54a.

As the agency put it, “the causal relationship between

approving the [] facility and a third party deliberately flying

a plane into it is too attenuated to require a NEPA review,

particularly where the terrorist threat is entirely

independent of the facility.” Id. at 55a. In other words, any

effects of terrorist attacks would be proximately caused by

terrorists, not the NRC.?

4. The Ninth Circuit held that the NRC erred in

applying the Metropolitan Edison standard and_ flatly

declared that “Metropolitan Edison and its proximate cause

analogy are inapplicable here.” Pet. App. 20a. Instead, the

Ninth Circuit held that the appropriate analytical approach

is the one the Ninth Circuit had used in No GWEN Alliance

2 As in tort law, a proximate cause analysis incorporates elements

of certainty, foreseeability, and probability. It also considers any

public policy considerations germane to the issue of legal

responsibility. See, e.g., Holmes v. Sec. Investor Prot. Corp., 503 U.S.

258, 268 (1992) (“[T]he notion of proximate cause reflects ‘ideas of

what justice demands, or of what is administratively possible and

convenient.””). See also W. Keeton, D. Dobbs, R. Keeton, & D.

Owen, Prosser and Keeton on Law of Torts 264, 274-275 (5th ed.

1984). In effect, in imposing security requirements under the

Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (“AEA”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 2011-2297g, the

NRC has already made an expert determination on the extent of

its licensees’ responsibility for the security of nuclear facilities.

Although the Ninth Circuit found. it “difficult to reconcile” the

Commission's position on NEPA with its ongoing AEA-based

security reviews (Pet. App. 23a), it is those very AEA-based

reviews that make it unnecessary to stretch NEPA into threat

assessment and that provide an additional policy basis for the

4 “

NRC's “proximate cause” determination in the present case.

I4

v. Aldridge, 855 F.2d 1380 (9th Cir. 1988), which expressly

rejected the Metropolitan Edison standard in favor of a

“remote and highly speculative” probability standard. No

GWEN, 855 F.2d at 1385-86 (quoting Warm Springs Dam Task

Force v. Gribble, 621 F.2d 1017, 1026-27) (9th Cir. 1980)).

Under that standard, an alleged effect must be included in

the agency’s NEPA analysis unless that effect is “remote and

highly speculative.”

The court attributed its refusal to apply Metropolitan

Edison in this case to a footnote in that decision, which the

court read as limiting this Court’s holding to situations

involving “effects caused by the risk of accident.” Pet. App.

20a (quoting 460 U.S. at 775 n. 9) (emphasis added). But the

court of appeals failed even to acknowledge this Court's

holding in Public Citizen, which makes clear that the

Metropolitan Edison standard applies across the board. See

541 U.S. at 767.3

In sum, the decision below squarely rejected the legal

causation standard that this Court has twice held to govern

the determination whether a particular environmental effect

must receive plenary review under NEPA.

B. The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions In

Two Other Circuits, And Is In Substantial Tension

With A Decision Of Yet Another Circuit

In rejecting this Court's “ proximate cause” standard, the

decision below also placed the Ninth Circuit in square

conflict with the D.C. and Second Circuits, and in

substantial tension with the Eighth Circuit.

3 The passages from Metropolitan Edison cited by the Ninth Circuit

related to this Court's specific application of the proximate cause

standard; they did not purport to limit the applicability of the

standard. Compare Pet. App. 20a-21a with Metropolitan Edison,

460 US. at 773-77.

15

1. The Ninth Circuit’s decision conflicts with the D.C.

Circuit’s opinion in Glass Packaging Institute v. Regan, 737

F.2d 1083 (D.C. Cir. 1984). There the D. C. Circuit rejected a

challenge to a decision of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco,

and Firearms (“BATF”) to allow the packaging of liquor in

plastic bottles. In permitting the use of plastic bottles, the

BATF had prepared an environmental assessment that the

petitioners criticized for failing to consider the potential

injury or death that could result from sabotage of the bottles

by “deranged” criminals. 737 F.2d at 1091.

As one of two alternative holdings,* the D.C. Circuit

rejected as “specious” the claim that potential harm

resulting from such sabotage must be evaluated under

NEPA where it is caused by “reasonably foreseeable

criminal acts of third parties.” 737 F.2d at 1091-92. Relying

upon Metropolitan Edison’s “proximate cause” analysis, the

D.C. Circuit held that “mere foreseeability does not trigger a

duty to consider an alleged environmental effect” (id. at

1091), and that “[t]he limits to which NEPA’s causal chain

may be stretched before breaking must be defined by the

policies and legislative intent behind NEPA.” Id. at 1091-92.

The court concluded that, under a proximate cause analysis,

the causal link between possible sabotage of plastic bottles

and BATF’s approval of those bottles was simply too

attenuated to “tip the scale” in favor of mandatory NEPA

review. Id. at 1093 (citations omitted).

As noted above, by contrast, the Ninth Circuit expressly

rejected this Court’s proximate cause test and applied the

“remote and highly speculative” standard previously

articulated by the Ninth Circuit in No GWEN. Although the

Ninth Circuit did not explicitly state that “mere

* The court also held, in the alternative, that criminal tampering

with plastic beverage bottles “is definitely not an environmental

consequence under any reasonable interpretation of [NEPA].” 737

F.2d at 1094 (emphasis added).

16

foreseeability”—as opposed to the “reasonable

foreseeability” normally required in the tort-law context —is

enough for purposes of NEPA, that is the necessary

implication of its holding. Thus, in the D.C. Circuit,

“reasonable foreseeability” is required, whereas in the Ninth

Circuit it is not.

This difference, moreover, would clearly be outcome-

determinative in future cases. For example, if the D.C.

Circuit had applied the Ninth Circuit’s test in Glass

Packaging, it undoubtedly would have held that the BATF

was required to consider the possibility of sabotage as part

of its NEPA review. The risk of tampering with plastic

bottles was concededly foreseeable (in the “mere

foreseeability” sense) and, therefore, at least somewhat

greater than “remote and highly speculative.” By contrast,

if the Ninth Circuit had applied the stricter “proximate

cause” analysis from Metropolitan Edison, as the D.C. Circuit

did in Glass Packaging, it would have been constrained to

affirm the NRC’s finding that approving a spent fuel storage

facility is not the “proximate cause” of any sabotage that

might subsequently occur at that facility. Allowing for the

fact that these two decisions arose in the context of different

agency actions and different forms of sabotage, the conflict

between them could hardly be more stark.

2. The Ninth’s Circuit decision also conflicts with the

Second Circuit’s decision in City of New York v. U.S.

Department of Transportation, 715 F.2d 732 (2d Cir. 1983). The

court there rejected a challenge to a Department of

Transportation (“DOT”) rule designed to reduce the risk of

transporting large quantities of radioactive materials by

highway where, among other things, the agency had

determined that an EIS was not necessary. The Second

Circuit reversed a finding by the district court that DOT was

“obligated” to address the risk of sabotage in its NEPA

analysis. 715 F.2d at 750. The court stated that “[w]ith

respect to environmental consequences that are only remote

17

possibilities, an agency must be given some latitude to

decide what sorts of risks it will assess.” Ibid. (citations

omitted). The court found that DOT had correctly

concluded that “the risks of sabotage were too far afield for

consideration” under NEPA. Ibid. (emphasis added).

The Second Circuit’s use of the phrase “too far afield”

indicates that it applied a proximate cause analysis—i.e., it

believed there was no “reasonably close causal relationship”

between the environmental impacts of a terrorist attack and

the agency action at issue. In short, it followed an analysis

like that applied by this Court in Metropolitan Edison. And,

unlike the Ninth Circuit, the Second Circuit did not require

the agency to demonstrate that the risk of terrorist activity

was “remote” and “highly speculative” to avoid considering

the issue as part of its NEPA analysis.

Here again, the Second Circuit, if it followed its

precedent, would have decided this case differently than the

Ninth Circuit did. Conversely, if the Ninth Circuit followed

its reasoning in this case, it would almost certainly decide a

case like City of New York against the federal agency. The

risk that the highway transportation of large quantities of

radioactive materials could lead to sabotage may be low, but

that risk is no more “remote” or “speculative” than the risk

that a terrorist would attack one particular spent fuel

storage site. In short, there is a clear conflict between the

Ninth and Second Circuits.

3. The Ninth Circuit’s decision is also in substantial

tension with the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Mid States

Coalition for Progress v. Surface Transportation Board, 345 F.3d

520 (8th Cir. 2003), which involved a proposal to construct

and upgrade rail lines. There the Eighth Circuit rejected a

claim that the Surface Transportation Board (“Board”)

violated NEPA when it declined to reopen the record and

supplement its EIS to consider concerns arising from the

terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. 345 F.3d at 544. The

Eighth Circuit held that such requests were subject to the

18

“rule of reason,” and that the agency should be accorded

deference as long as its decision is not arbitrary and

capricious. Ibid. (citing Marsh v. Oregon Natural Res. Council,

490 U.S. 360, 377 (1989)). In regard to the issue of terrorism,

the court acknowledged that “the events of September 11,

2001, have certainly raised awareness of the potential threats

to our nation’s transportation systems.” Ibid. The court

nonetheless held that “the Board exercised its permissible

discretion when it determined that any increased threat was

general in nature and did not bear specifically on

[petitioners] or the proposed * ** project.” Ibid.

Although the Eighth Circuit’s analysis focused on the

distinction between “general” and “specific” threats, it

clearly requires something more than the Ninth Circuit has

now held sufficient to trigger NEPA’s requirement—i.e.,

anything that is not “remote and highly speculative.” If the

Ninth Circuit had applied the Eighth Circuit's test here, it

would have been forced to concede as a matter of law that

the “increased threat” of terrorism was a “general” threat

that does “not bear specifically on the [PG&E] project.”

And, therefore, the Ninth Circuit would have had to

conclude that NEPA’s requirements were not triggered.5

II. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision On The NRC’s Ability To

Exclude Unquantifiable Risks Conflicts With

Decisions Of This Court, With CEQ Regulations, And

With Decisions In Other Circuits

The Ninth Circuit also encroached on the NRC’s broad

discretion in rejecting the agency’s conclusion that “the

likelihood of attack cannot be ascertained with confidence

5 See also City of Shoreacres v. Waterworth, 420 F.3d 440, 451-53 (Sth

Cir. 2005) (discussing Public Citizen in dictum and stating that “a

plaintiff mounting a NEPA challenge must establish that an

alleged effect will ensue as a ‘proximate cause,’ in the sense meant

by tort law, of the proposed agency action”).

19

by any state-of-the-art methodology” and, therefore, that

NRC had “no means to assess, usefully, the risks of

terrorism * * * “ for purposes of its NEPA review. Pet. App.

55a. The Ninth Circuit rejected that reasoning, holding that

an agency’s inability to quantify the risk of sabotage, in a

way that is meaningful under NEPA, does not allow the

agency “to eliminate a possible environmental consequence

from analysis” under NEPA. Pet. App. 25a-26a. The Ninth

Circuit’s holding warrants review because it is inconsistent

with NEPA, as implemented by the NRC and CEQ and as

construed by this Court, and because it conflicts with the

law of the Third Circuit.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Is Erroneous Under

The Controlling Authorities

CEQ regulations speak directly to this issue.6 Indeed,

the CEQ amended 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22 in 1986 (in light of

Metropolitan Edison) to require consideration of “reasonably

foreseeable” impacts in lieu of the “worst case” analysis that

the regulation had previously required. See 51 Fed. Reg.

15,618, 15,621-25 (Apr. 25, 1986). That regulation now

provides that where there is “incomplete or unavailable

information,” an EIS must still be “based upon theoretical

approaches or research methods generally accepted in the

scientific community, * * * provided that the analysis of the

6 The Commission has complied with NEPA by issuing its own

regulations governing its consideration of the environmental

impact of licensing actions. See 10 C.F.R. §§ 51.1-.125. The NRC’s

regulations are based on the CEQ regulations. Section 51.10(a)

refers to “the Commission’s announced policy to take account of

the regulations of the [CEQ] published November 29, 1978 (43

Fed. Reg. 55,978-56,007) voluntarily, subject to certain conditions.”

In the Private Fuel Storage case, the Commission noted that it gives

CEQ regulations “substantial deference.” Pet. App. 51a. See also

Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347, 358 (1979) (holding that CEQ

regulations are entitled to “substantial deference”).

C 20

impacts is supported by credible scientific evidence, is not based

on pure conjecture, and is within the rule of reason * * * .” 40

C.F.R. § 1502.22(b)(4) (emphasis added).”

The CEQ’s standard was explicitly approved by this

Court in Robertson v. Methow Valley Citizens Council, 490 US.

332 (1989). As the Court observed, the amended regulation

does not necessarily foreclose an agency’s duty to consider

remote but potentially severe impacts. 490 U.S. at 354. But

it “grounds the duty in evaluation of scientific opinion

rather than in the framework of a conjectural ‘worst case

analysis.” Id. at 354-55 (citation omitted). The Court further

explained that, by requiring an EIS to “focus on reasonably

foreseeable impacts,” (id. at 356), the amended rule “‘will

generate information and discussion on those consequences

of greatest concern to the public and of greatest relevance to

the agency’s decision * * * rather than distorting the

decisionmaking process by overemphasizing highly

speculative harms. Ibid. (citations omitted).

Here, acting within the “rule of reason” and permissible

discretion under NEPA, the NRC determined that “attempts

to evaluate thfe] risk” of a terrorist attack, “even in

qualitative terms are likely to be meaningless and

consequently of no use in the agency’s decisionmaking”

under NEPA. Pet. App. 39a. (Indeed, Mothers for Peace

had conceded that any such analysis would be “qualitative.”

Pet. App. 72a-74a.) The agency observed that it has no way

to calculate the probability of an attack on a specific facility

and declined merely to assume that the facility is at risk. Pet.

7 Although these CEQ regulations expressly govern an EIS rather

than an EA, the same principles apply a fortiori to an EA. If, as the

regulation shows, an agency cannot be required to consider in an

EIS an alleged risk that is based on “pure conjecture” and that is

not “supported by credible scientific evidence,” it cannot be

required to consider such a risk inan EA. The standard for an EA

cannot be broader than for an EIS.

21

App. 57a. Such an assumption, the NRC stated, “would

transform the NEPA analysis into a form of guesswork and

distort NEPA’s cost-benefit calculus.” Ibid. Such an

approach would contravene the CEQ regulations, as well as

this Court’s decisions approving those regulations, insofar

as the regulations clearly reject any need for conjectural and

“worst case” analysis. See 51 Fed. Reg. at 15,621-24.

But the Ninth Circuit refused to accord the NRC’s

determination the deference it deserves. See, e.g., Baltimore

Gas & Elec. Co. v. NRDC, 462 U.S. 87, 103 (1983). Instead,

substituting its judgment for that of the NRC, the Ninth

Circuit held that the NRC’s inability to quantify the risk of

sabotage does not allow it “to eliminate a possible

environmental consequence from analysis” under NEPA.

Pet. App. 25a.8 Even worse, rather than requiring those

challenging the NRC’s conclusions to demonstrate, through

reliable evidence, that a terrorist attack on the specific

proposed facility is “reasonably foreseeable,” the Ninth

Circuit improperly reallocated the burden of proof to the

NRC in holding that the NRC “has not established that the

risk of a terrorist attack is unquantifiable.” Id. at 26a.

B. The Decision Below Placed The Ninth Circuit In

Conflict With The Third Circuit On This Important

Issue

The Ninth Circuit's decision is directly contrary to the

majority opinion of the Third Circuit in Limerick Ecology

Action, Inc. v. NRC, 869 F.2d 719 (3rd Cir. 1989). On the

8 The Ninth Circuit erred for an additional reason. Consistent

with NRC regulations that direct qualitative analysis of factors

that cannot be quantified (see, e.g., 10 C.F.R. § 51.71(d)), the NRC

specifically noted that “stochastic” criminal terrorist acts are not

within the “range of likely impacts” which, even if not subject to

precise measurement or quantification, the agency “can say with

some degree of certainty * * * will take place.” Pet. App. 49a-50a,

59a. The Ninth Circuit ignored this assessment.

22

NRC's argument regarding its ability to quantify risk and

perform a meaningful analysis, the court cited as its only

authority the dissent in Limerick. Pet. App. 25a. The Ninth

Circuit’s decision, however, squarely conflicts with the

majority opinion in Limerick, and in two separate respects.

First, the majority opinion is flatly inconsistent with the

Ninth Circuit’s holding that an inability to quantify the risk

of sabotage cannot justify exclusion of that risk from the

agency's NEPA analysis. In Limerick, the majority held that

the NRC had not acted arbitrarily and capriciously in

deciding not to evaluate the risk of sabotage in an EIS, based

on the agency’s conclusion that “sabotage risk analysis is

beyond current probabilistic risk assessment methods and

that there is no current basis by which to measure such

risk.” 869 F.2d at 743. The Third Circuit found that this

agency conclusion satisfied NEPA’s “hard look”

requirement and emphasized that this was a determination

in an area where courts are to “be at [our] most deferential.”

Ibid. (quoting Baltimore Gas, 462 U.S. at 103). The Ninth

Circuit failed even to mention this holding, although its

citation of the Limerick dissent strongly suggests an

awareness of the majority’s opinion.

Second, even assuming that an inability to perform a

meaningful analysis would not foreclose a NEPA review as

a matter of law, the Ninth Circuit's decision conflicts with

Limerick in holding that it is the agency, not the party

challenging the decision, that bears the burden of proof on

the issue of quantifiability. Pet. App. 26a. Throughout this

portion of its opinion, the Ninth Circuit made clear that it

was placing this burden on the NRC. For example, at one

point the Ninth Circuit held that “the agency fails to

adequately show that the risk of a terrorist act is

unquantifiable.” Pet. App. 25a (emphasis added). And then

at the end of that discussion, the Ninth Circuit reiterated its

holding that “the NRC has not established that the risk of a

terrorist attack is unquantifiable.” Id. at 26a (emphasis

23

added). Nowhere did the Ninth Circuit suggest that NRC

critics and project opponents bear any burden on this issue.

This too flatly conflicts with the majority decision in

Limerick. The majority there repeatedly made clear that,

once the expert agency articulates its view that the risk is

not quantifiable, the party challenging that conclusion bears

the burden of procf on that issue. Early in its discussion, for

example, the majority stated: “[W]e believe that LEA” —the

petitioner there —“has mischaracterized this issue by casting

it in terms of the NRC’s burden to prove its asserted inability

to quantify or predict sabotage risk.” 869 F.2d at 743

(emphasis added). The majority continued that, “[t]o

prevail here, LEA should have advanced some method or

theory by which the NRC could have entered into a

meaningful analysis of the risk of sabotage despite its

asserted inability to quantify the risks.” Id. at 744. The

majority concluded that, “[w]here LEA failed to meet its

burden * * * we cannot conclude that the NRC acted

arbitrarily and capriciously by refusing to litigate this

issue.” ibid. (emphasis added); accord id. at 744 n. 31 (noting

that “LEA has failed to carry its burden to rebut the NRC's

claim that it cannot meaningfully consider the issue”).

This difference in approach is dispositive on this point

as well. Had the Ninth Circuit followed the Third Circuit's

approach, it would have been forced to concede that a

proper conclusion by the NRC that the risk of sabotage

cannot be meaningfully quantified would be sufficient to

exclude the sabotage issue from the agency’s NEPA review.

And the Ninth Circuit could not simply have granted the

petition on the ground that the NRC had failed to carry its

burden of establishing this point. To the contrary, if the

Ninth Circuit felt that Mothers for Peace (notwithstanding

the NRC’s unimpeachable conclusion to the contrary) had

legitimate evidence that the risk of a terrorist attack is

quantifiable, the most the court could have done would

have been to remand to the agency to determine, in the first

24

instance, whether the petitioner had carried its burden of

establishing quantifiability.

III. The Decision Below Will Have Widespread Adverse

Practical Consequences

Certiorari is also warranted because the Ninth Circuit's

decision, if left to stand, will have far-reaching, adverse

ramifications for PG&E and private applicants before the

NRC and other federal agencies, for government resources, —

_ and for national security.

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Will Unduly Burden

PG&E and Other Participants In The NRC

Regulatory Process Without Advancing NEPA’s

Goals

The Ninth Circuit’s decision threatens to increase

substantially the burdens of the NEPA review in this and

other NRC proceedings and thus flouts this Court's

observation that “[t]he scope of the agency’s inquiries must

remain manageable if NEPA’s goal of ‘ensur[ing] a fully

informed and well considered decision’ * * * is to be

accomplished.” Metropolitan Edison, 460 U.S. at 776 (citing

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC, 435 U.S. 519,

551, 558 (1978).

1. Nominally, the Ninth Circuit’s decision requires the

NRC to consider further the petitioners’ “factual

contentions” that the licensing of the Diablo ISFSI “would

lead to or increase the risk of a terrorist attack because (1)

the presence of the [ISFSI] would increase the probability of

a terrorist attack on the Diablo Canyon nuclear facility, and

(2) the Storage Installation itself would be a primary target

for a terrorist attack.” Pet. App. 21a. However, by its

nature, an assessment of these issues would require a

detailed terrorist threat assessment focusing on such issues

as the current and future threat environment, the relative

“attractiveness” of the ISFSI as a terrorist target, and the

vulnerability (or relative “hardness”) of the facility as a

25

terrorist target. Such assessments almost inevitably would

lead to a further assessment of the capabilities of putative

attackers, the consequences of postulated attacks, fanciful

mitigation measures, and alternative design concepts. Such

an extension of NEPA into the realm of threat assessment

would place an unnecessary and duplicative burden on

PG&E (and, indeed, other private parties) that are already

addressing many of these issues through post-9/11 security

reviews and inspections, security upgrades, security orders,

and a rulemaking. It may also divert resources of the

agency staff and other federal law enforcement agencies to

participate in a potentially open-ended remand process.

2. The impact of the Ninth Circuit's decision, moreover,

would not be limited to this NRC licensing proceeding. The

logic of the Ninth Circuit’s decision would compel the NRC

to consider the risk of terrorism in all pending and future

power reactor licensing actions—for PG&E and other

applicants. Those proceedings would include waste storage

licensing and amendment proceedings, power plant license

renewal applications, new power plant license applications,

and the Yucca Mountain high-level waste repository project.

This would have a substantial impact on PG&E, the

industry, and NRC resources as well as the predictability

and efficiency of NRC licensing proceedings. The resultant

transformation of NRC proceedings into “amorphous public

extravaganzas” on the speculative effects of postulated

terrorist attacks would impede the important national policy

objective of streamlining NRC licensing processes. See

Bellotti v. NRC, 725 F.2d 1380, 1382 (D.C. Cir. 1983); see also

Citizens Awareness Network, Inc. v. United States, 391 F.3d 338,

343 (1st Cir. 2004) (noting the “very lengthy” duration of

past NRC hearings and NRC efforts to improve hearing

efficiency).

3. On the other hand, the adjudication of speculative

claims positing terrorist attacks on the Diablo Canyon ISFSI,

or on any other nuclear facility, would yield no benefit to

26

the applicants, the NRC or the public, especially when

considered in light of the additional burden imposed by

such a review. As the Limerick majority recognized, without

reasonable estimates of an event's probability, the “risk”

cannot be properly characterized. 869 F.3d at 743-44. And,

as the NRC recognized, any attempt to analyze such “risks”

without meaningful data will tend to “exaggerate a project's

risks and unduly alarm the public.” Pet. App. 58a.

Moreover, as noted above, the NRC and the nuclear

industry have enhanced substantially the already robust

security measures required by the AEA and NRC

regulations in response to the events of September 11, 2001.

See, e.g., 10 C.F.R. Part 73. The agency’s review and

enhancement of its security requirements is an ongoing

process, intended to ensure that the risk of a terrorist attack

remains remote. Because a process is already in place to

address nuclear security, the assessment of hypothetical

terrorist attacks under the rubric of NEPA would not add

meaningfully, if at all, to NRC decision making. Cf. Romer

v. Carlucct, 847 F.2d 445, 457 (8th Cir. 1988) (finding that

NEPA review of nuclear missile basing decision would not

be of “decisional significance” given the availability of

“comprehensive information”).

4. Similarly, additional review would not serve

NEPA’s informational purpose. The sensitivity of the

information pertinent to such a review would generally

preclude its release to the public. Therefore, the

development of an EIS that addresses terrorism impacts

likely would not provide a useful “springboard for public

comment,” nor would it ensure that “the larger audience”

can provide input as necessary to the NRC. Pub. Citizen, 541

US. at 768 (quoting Baltimore Gas, 462 U.S. at 97).

27

B. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Would Adversely

Impact Other Private Applicants and Federal

Agency Actions

The Ninth Circuit’s decision also has implications for

activities authorized or conducted by other federal agencies.

The prospect of terrorist attacks is not confined to any one

industry. Adoption of the court’s logic would necessitate

that any agency conducting a NEPA review for a proposed

chemical plant, oil pipeline, liquefied natural gas pipeline,

skyscraper, dam, bridge, or tunnel somehow establish that

terrorist attacks on such a facility are highly speculative or

else postulate a successful attack and evaluate its

environmental consequences. This will place new burdens

on many future private applicants.

For most private parties and many federal agencies,

requiring terrorism reviews under NEPA would strain

resources and erode the efficacy of permitting, licensing,

and other approval processes. This would require

applicants and agencies to expend “considerable resources”

developing security expertise “not otherwise relevant to

their congressionally assigned, functions.” Metropolitan

Edison, 460 U.S. at 776. And ironically, the Ninth Circuit's

extraordinary expansion of NEPA—the result of its failure

to perform the requisite causation analysis—would do

nothing to further protection of the environment.

C. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Creates. Uncertainty

And Potential Delay for PG&E at the Diablo

Canyon Nuclear Power Plant

The Ninth Circuit’s decision creates uncertainty for the

timing of the operation of the Diablo Canyon spent fuel

storage facility at issue here. Consistent with its obligations

under the NWPA and to electricity consumers in California,

PG&E must provide additional spent fuel storage capacity

to support the continued, productive operation of the Diablo

Canyon power plant. Accordingly, PG&E designed and

28

licensed the ISFSI to meet this need and plans to begin

loading spent fuel from the wet pools into dry storage casks

in November 2007. Presently, however, it is not known

whether the NRC will foreclose operation of the ISFSI in

2007.9 It is also not known how long the remand

proceedings required by the decision below (or any related

judicial review) will last. Clearly, PG&E’s dry storage plans

could be adversely impacted by the remand.’° Review by

this Court is needed to resolve the uncertainties and

practical problems the Ninth Circuit decision poses for

PG&E and its customers.

9 The Ninth Circuit decision did not invalidate, vacate or stay the

license for the ISFSI, and therefore does not affect PG&E's

authority to load fuel in that facility. See Amoco Prod. v. Vill. of

Gambell, 480 U.S. 531, 542 (1987)) (citing Weinberger v. Romero-

Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305, 311 (1982)) (injunctive relief is an

“extraordinary” equitable remedy that “does not issue as of

course”). However, the petitioners have requested from the NRC

declaratory or equitable relief that would prevent PG&E from

loading spent fuel. While the NRC has denied the immediate

request for such relief, it has deferred the question of PG&E’s

authority to begin operation of the ISFSI. See Pac. Gas & Elec. Co.

(Diablo Canyon Power Plant Independent Spent Fuel Storage

Installation), CLI-06-23, 64 N.R.C.__, slip op. (Sept. 6, 2006).

10 As a contingency, PG&E has obtained NRC approval of a “wet

storage” alternative that would provide storage to support

continued plant operation until 2010-2011. The failure to resolve

fully the remanded issue by the 2010-2011 timeframe could result

in an interruption of service at Diablo Canyon. This alternative

involves the installation and use of temporary spent fuel storage

racks in the existing spent fuel pools at Diablo Canyon. These

racks have yet to be installed. The wet storage option is decidedly

not the preferred storage option from the operational, public

safety, security, or economic perspectives.

29

D. The Ninth Circuit's Decision Raises Serious

National Security Concerns

The Ninth Circuit's holding also raises significant

national security concerns. The Ninth Circuit's decision

requires some level of public participation in the remand

process, and the NRC traditionally has addressed NEPA

reviews through the formal adjudicatory process. As the

NRC noted, “[a] full-scale NEPA process inevitably would

require examination not only of how terrorists could cause

maximum damage but also of how they might best be

thwarted.” Pet. App. 64a. Such an assessment would

require access to highly sensitive national security

information held by the licensees, the NRC, and other

government agencies. Disclosure of such information to

members of the public, though subject to rigorous (and

cumbersome) procedural protections, would create a very

real risk that classified or security information could be

released, possibly to the detriment of nuclear safety and

security.

As the NRC explained, such a result would be contrary

to the NRC’s statutory mandate under the AEA to withhold

from the public domain any information that could

jeopardize the common defense and security. Pet. App. 64a-

65a. Section 147 of the AEA requires the NRC to prohibit

unauthorized disclosures of security-related information.

See 42 U.S.C. § 2167(a). NEPA does not override that

statutory obligation. To the contrary, NEPA requires

agencies to implement the statute’s policies using “all

practicable means, consistent with other essential

considerations of national policy.” 42 U.S.C. § 4331(b).

The NRC expressed deep concerns regarding any

process with public participation on security issues. Pet.

App. 39a, 62a-65a. The Ninth Circuit dismissed those

concerns and suggested that they could be mitigated by

procedural controls. Pet. App. 29a-30a. However, it is the

NRC that Congress has charged with ensuring the safety

30

and integrity of nuclear facilities. And, it is the NRC that

has conducted proceedings on nuclear security matters and

accumulated experience on the risks and benefits of the

process. Accordingly, the NRC’s judgments about these

issues are entitled to the highest respect and deference —

deference that was completely absent from the decision

below.

e273 @

Especially in the post-9/11 world, courts should be

solicitous of the views of federal agencies charged with

protecting the public from terrorist threats. The Ninth

Circuit’s decision not only flouts the views of the federal

agency charged by Congress with regulating nuclear

energy, it does so in a manner that flouts controlling

decisions of this Court and creates needless conflicts with

sister circuits. The decision needs to be reversed, either

summarily or as a result of plenary review.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM V. MANHEIM GENE C. SCHAERR

ANTONIO FERNANDEZ Counsel of Record

Pacific Gas and Electric DAVID A. REPKA

Company LINDA T. COBERLY

77 Beale Street, B30A MARTIN J. O’ NEILL

San Francisco, CA 94105 Winston & Strawn LLP

1700 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 282-5000

SEPTEMBER 2006

APPENDIX

se

ae ee

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 03-74628

SAN LUIS OBISPO MOTHERS FOR PEACE;

SANTA LUCIA CHAPTER OF THE SIERRA CLUB;

PEG PINARD

PETITIONERS

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY,

INTERVENOR

v.

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION;

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

RESPONDENTS

On Petition for Review of an Order of the Nuclear

Regulatory Commission.

NRC No. CLI-03-01; CLI-02-23.

Argued and Submitted Oct. 17, 2005.

Filed June 2, 2006.

Before REINHARDT and THOMAS, Circuit Judges, and

JANE A. RESTANI,” Chief Judge, United States Court of

International Trade.

* The Honorable Jane A. Restani, Chief Judge, United States Court

of International Trade, sitting by designation.

2a

THOMAS, Circuit Judge.

This case presents the question, inter alia, as to whether

the likely environmental consequences of a_ potential

terrorist attack on a nuclear facility must be considered in an

environmental review required under the National

Environmental Policy Act. The United States Nuclear

Regulatory Commission (“NRC”) contends that the

possibility of a terrorist attack on a nuclear facility is so

remote and speculative that the potential consequences of

such an attack need not be considered at all in such a review.

The San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace and other groups

disagree and petition for review of the NRC’s approval of a

proposed Interim Spent Fuel Storage Installation. We grant

the petition in part and deny it in part.

I

The NRC is an independent federal agency established

by the Energy Reorganization Act of 1974 to regulate the

civilian use of nuclear materials. Intervenor Pacific Gas and

Electric Company (“PG&E”) filed an application with the

NRC under 10 C.F.R. Part 72 for a license to construct and

operate an Interim Spent Fuel Storage Installation (“Storage

Installation” or “ISFSI”) at PG&E’s Diablo Canyon Power

Plant (“Diablo Canyon”) in San Luis Obispo, California.

The NRC granted the license. The question presented by

this petition for review is whether, in doing so, the NRC

_complied with federal statutes including the National

Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (“NEPA”), 42 U.S.C.

§§ 4321-4437, the Atomic Energy Act of 1954 (“AEA”), 42

U.S.C. §§ 2011-2297g, and the Administrative Procedure Act

(“APA”), 5 U.S.C. §§ 551-706.

NEPA establishes a “national policy [to] encourage

productive and enjoyable harmony between man and his

environment,” and was intended to reduce or eliminate

environmental damage and to promote “the understanding

of the ecological systems and natural resources important

3a

to” the United States. Dept. of Transp. v. Pub. Citizen, 541 U.S.

752, 756, 124 S.Ct. 2204, 159 L.Ed.2d 60 (2004) (quoting 42

U.S.C. § 4321). The Supreme Court has identified NEPA’s

“twin aims” as “plac[ing] upon an agency the obligation to

consider every significant aspect of the environmental

impact of a proposed action[, and] ensur[ing] that the agency

will inform the public that it has indeed considered

environmental concerns in its decisionmaking process.”

Baltimore Gas & Elec. Co. v. Natural Res. Def. Council, Inc., 462

USS. 87, 97, 103 S.Ct. 2246, 76 L.Ed.2d 437 (1983).

Rather than mandating particular results, NEPA imposes

on federal agencies procedural requirements that force

consideration of the environmental consequences of agency

actions. Pub. Citizen, 541 U.S. at 756, 124 S.Ct. 2204. At

NEPA’s core is the requirement that federal agencies prepare

an environmental impact statement (“EJS”), or:

include in every recommendation or report on

proposals for legislation and other major Federal

actions significantly affecting the quality of the

human environment, a detailed statement by the

responsible official on-(i) the environmental impact of

the proposed action, (ii) any adverse environmental

effects which cannot be avoided should the proposal

be implemented, (iii) alternatives to the proposed

action, (iv) the relationship between local short-term

uses of man’s environment and the maintenance and

enhancement of long-term productivity, and (v) any

irreversible and _ irretrievable commitments of

resources which would be involved in the proposed

action should it be implemented.

Id. at 757 (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C)).

As an alternative to the EIS, an agency may prepare a

more limited environmental assessment (“EA”) concluding

in a “Finding of No Significant Impact” (“FONSI”), briefly

presenting the reasons why the action will not have a

4a

significant impact on the human environment. Id. at 757

(citing 40 C.F.R. §§ 1501.4(e), 1508.13). If, however, the EA

does not lead to the conclusion that a FONSI is warranted,

the agency remains obligated to prepare an EIS. Id. at 757.

While NEPA requires the NRC to. consider

environmental effects of its decisions, the AEA is primarily

concerned with setting minimum safety standards for the

licensing and operation of nuclear facilities. The NRC does

not contest that the two statutes impose independent

obligations, so that compliance with the AEA does not

excuse the agency from its NEPA obligations. The AEA lays

out the process for consideration of the public health and

safety aspects of nuclear power plant licensing, and requires

the NRC to determine whether the licensing and operation

ot a proposed facility is “in accord with the common defense

and security and will provide adequate protection to the

health and safety of the public.” 42 U.S.C. § 2232(a).

The NRC is not, however, required to make this

determination without assistance; federal law provides a

framework for hearings on material issues that interested

persons raise by specific and timely petition. 42 U.S.C.

§ 2239(a); 10 C.F.R. §§ 2.308-.348; 5 U.S.C. §§ 551-706. The

initial hearing is held before a three-person Atomic Safety

and Licensing Board (“Licensing Board”). 10 C.F.R. § 2.321.

The Licensing Board's findings and decision constitute the

agency’s initial determination, although a party may file a

petition for review with the Commission within 15 days of

the Licensing Board’s decision. 10 C.F.R. § 2.341. If the

petition is granted, the Commission specifies the issues to be

reviewed and the parties to the review proceedings, 10

C.F.R. § 2.341(c)(1), and renders a final decision. 10 C.F.R.

§ 2.344. A party may then petition this court for review of

the Commission’s final decision. 28 U.S.C. § 2344.

Sa

II

With this general statutory background, we turn to the

facts underlying the petition for review. On December 21,

2001, PG&E applied to the NRC pursuant to 10 C-F.R. Part 72

for a license to construct and operate a Storage Installation at

Diablo Canyon. The Storage Installation would permit the

necessary and on-site storage of spent fuel, the byproduct of

the two nuclear reactors at that site. PG&E expects to fill its

existing spent fuel storage capacity at Diablo Canyon

sometime this year. Therefore, unless additional spent fuel

storage capacity is created, the Diablo Canyon reactors

cannot continue to function beyond 2006.

PG&E proposes to build a dry cask storage facility. The

basic unit of the storage system is the Multi-Purpose

Canister (“Canister”), a stainless steel cylinder that is filled

with radioactive waste materials and welded shut. The

Canisters are loaded into concrete storage overpacks that are

designed to permit passive cooling via the circulation of air.

The storage casks, or the filled Canisters loaded into

overpacks, are then placed on one of seven concrete pads.

The Storage Installation would house a total of 140 storage

casks, 2 more than the 138 projected to be required for

storage of spent fuel generated at Diablo Canyon through

2025.

On April 22, 2002, the NRC published a Notice of

Opportunity for Hearing. Under the regulatory scheme,

interested parties could then request a hearing or petition for

leave to intervene. 10 C.F.R. § 2.309(a). A written hearing

request, which must contain the contentions the party wants

litigated at the hearing, will be granted if the petitioner has

standing, and has posed at least one admissible contention.!

Id.

1 In order to be admissible, a contention must: be set forth with

particularity, 10 C.F.R. § 2.309(f)(1); provide a specific statement of

the disputed issue of law or fact, 10 C.F.R. § 2.309(f)(1)(i); provide

6a

On July 19, 2002, the San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace,

a non-profit corporation concerned with Diablo Canyon’s

local impact, the Sierra Club, a non-profit corporation

concerned with national environmental policy, and Peg

Pinard, an individual citizen, (collectively “Petitioners”)

submitted a hearing request and a petition to intervene,

asserting contentions for admission.

In Licensing Board Proceeding LBP-02-23, 56 NRC 413

(“LBP 02-23”), the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board

addressed the admissibility of the July 19 petition’s five

Technical and three Environmental Contentions.2, One

Technical Contention, TC-1, dealing with the state of PG&E’s

finances, was deemed admissible; the acceptance of at least

one contention meant that the petition was granted.

Although the Licensing Board deemed two Environmental

Contentions, EC-1, dealing with the failure to address

the basis for the contention, 10 C.F.R. § 2.309(f)(1)(ii); demonstrate

that the issue is within the scope of the proceeding, 10 C.F.R.

§ 2.309(f)(1)(iii); demonstrate that the issue is material to the

findings the NRC must make, 10 C.F.R. § 2.309(f)(1)(iv); provide

supporting references and expert opinions, 10 CFR.

§ 2.309(f)(1)(v); and provide sufficient information to show the

existence of a genuine issue of law or fact, 10 CFR.

§ 2.309(F)(1)(vi).

2 Technical Contention Number One (“TC-1”) alleged Inadequate

Seismic Analysis. TC-2 alleged PG&E’s Financial Qualifications

Are Not Demonstrated. TC-3 alleged PG&E May Not Apply for a

License for a Third Party. TC-4 alleged Failure to Establish

Financial Relationships Between Parties Involved in Construction

and Operation of Installation. TC-5 alleged Failure to Provide

Sufficient Description of Construction and Operation Costs.

Environmental Contention Number One (“EC-1”) alleged Failure

to Address Environmental Impacts of Destructive Acts of Malice or

Insanity. EC-2 alleged Failure to Fully Describe Purposes of

Proposed Action or to Evaluate All Reasonably Associated

Environmental Impacts and Alternatives. EC-3 alleged Failure to

Evaluate Environmental Impacts of Transportation.

7a

environmental impacts of terrorist or other acts of malice or

insanity, and EC-3, dealing with the failure to evaluate

environmental impacts of transportation of radioactive

materials? inadmissible, the Licensing Board nonetheless

referred the final ruling as to the admissibility of these two

contentions to the NRC, “in light of the Commission's

ongoing ‘top to bottom’ review of the agency’s safeguards

and physical security programs.” 56 NRC at 448.

In a memorandum and order, CLI-03-1, 57 NRC 1 (“CLI

03-01”), the NRC accepted the Licensing Board’s referral of

its decision to reject the environmental contentions related to

terrorism. Although the Commission affirmed the Licensing

Board’s rejection of the contentions, it based its decision on a

different rationale. The NRC relied on four prior decisions

in which it held that the NEPA does not require a terrorism

review. These decisions, most particularly Private Fuel

Storage, CLI-02-25, 56 NRC 340 (2002), outlined four reasons

for this holding: (1) the possibility of terrorist attack is too far

removed from the natural or expected consequences of

agency action to require study under NEPA; (2) because the

risk of a terrorist attack cannot be determined, the analysis is

3 Because the Storage Installation is not a permanent repository,

this contention assumes the eventual transport of the materials

stored there to a permanent site. Among the materials submitted

to support the contention were some dealing with possible

terrorist or other malicious attacks on the spent fuel while in

transit. The ruling on the contention was “referr[ed] * * * to the

Commission to the extent terrorism and sabotage matters are

proffered in support of its admission.” 56 NRC at 453.

* Those cases include: Private Fuel Storage, L.L.C., CLI-02-25, 56

NRC 340 (2002) (Storage Installation); Duke Cogema Stone & Webster

(Mixed Oxide Fuel Fabrication Facility), CLI-02-24, 56 NRC 335

(2002); Dominion Nuclear Connecticut, Inc. (Nuclear Power Station),

CLI-02-27, 56 NRC: 367 (2002); and Duke Energy Corp. (Nuclear

Power Station), CLI-02-26, 56 NRC 358 (2002). All four cases were

decided on December 18, 2002.

8a

likely to be meaningless; (3) NEPA does not require a

“worst-case” analysis; and (4) NEPA’s public process is not

an appropriate forum for sensitive security issues. The NRC

concluded:

Our decision today rests entirely on our

understanding of NEPA and of what means are best

suited to dealing with terrorism. Nonetheless, our

conclusion comports with the practical realities of

spent fuel storage and the congressional policy to

encourage utilities to provide for spent fuel storage at

reactor sites pending construction of a permanent

repository. Storage of spent fuel at commercial

reactor sites offers no unusual technological

challenges. Indeed, it has been occurring at Diablo

Canyon for many years and will continue whether or

not we license the proposed Installation. :

57 NRC at 7.

In September of 2002, prior to the NRC’s decision on the

first petition, Petitioners submitted a second petition, this

time requesting suspension of the Storage Installation

licensing proceeding pending comprehensive review of the

adequacy of Diablo Canyon’s design and operation

measures for protection against terrorist attack and other

acts of malice or insanity. Unlike the July 19 petition, this

one addressed security measures for the entire Diablo

Canyon complex, not merely the Storage Installation.

Petitioners explained that 10 C.F.R. § 2.335, which prohibits

challenges to any NRC rule or regulation in an adjudicatory

proceeding involving initial or renewal licensing, prevented

the raising of contentions contesting the adequacy of NRC

safety requirements protecting against terrorist or other

malicious attacks on the entire complex in the July 19

Petition. Petitioners also stated that 10 C.F.R. § 72.32

prevented them from _ raising emergency planning

contentions in the earlier petition. Thus, Petitioners insisted

that the second petition “d[id] not constitute a request for

9a

rulemaking, nor for enforcement action,” and instead

defined it, without reference to any particular hearing-

granting provision of the regulations, as “a request for

actions that are necessary to ensure that any licensing

decision made by the Commission with respect to the

proposed Diablo Canyon Installation complies with the

Commission’s statutory obligations under the Atomic

Energy Act.”

In a memorandum and order, CLI-02-23, 56 NRC 230

(“CLI 02-23”), the NRC denied the September 2002 petition.

Because the petition did not, according to the NRC, “fit

comfortably in any specific category, [the Commission]

treat[ed] it as a general motion brought under the procedural

requirements of 10 C.F.R. § 2.730.”5 In rejecting the petition,

the Commission reasoned that by not suspending operating

licenses at installations and power plants following the

September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, it had demonstrated its

implicit conclusion that the continued operation of these

facilities neither posed an imminent risk to the public health,

nor was inimical to the common defense. Further, the

Commission concluded that because it had already initiated

a thorough review of its safeguards and physical security

program, there was no reason to suspend the Diablo Canyon

licensing proceeding to address the terrorism-related

concerns raised by the Petitioners. It stated that “[t]here

certainly is no reason to believe that any danger to public

health and safety would result from mere continuation of

this adjudicatory proceeding,” given that the proceeding

was in its initial stages, that construction was not scheduled

to begin for several years, and that the Petitioners would be

able to comment on any changes in the rules resulting from

the Commission’s ongoing review of terrorism-related

matters if and when they were to occur.

5 Since renumbered as 10 C.F.R. § 2.323, this regulation provides,

simply, for “motions.”

10a

In a memorandum and order, CLI-03-12, 58 NRC 185.

(2003) (“CLI 03-02”), the NRC denied the petitions for

agency review of the Licensing Board’s decisions that

“cumulatively, rejected challenges to [the PG&E] Installation

application.” This denial thus became a final order,

reviewable by this court on petition for review. 28 U.S.C.

§ 2344.

In October of 2003, the Spent Fuel Project Office of the

NRC’s Office of Material Safety and Safeguards released its

Environmental Assessment Related to the Construction and

Operation of the Diablo Canyon Independent Spent Fuel

Storage Installation. The 26-page document contains the

NRC’s conclusion “that the construction, operation, and

decommissioning of the Diablo Canyon Installation will not

result in significant impact to the environment,” and

therefore that “an [EIS] is not warranted for the proposed

action, and pursuant to 10 C.F.R. [§] 51.31, a Finding of No

Significant Impact is appropriate.”

The EA is not devoid of discussion of terrorist attacks.

Indeed, the document contains the Commission’s response

to a comment submitted by the California Energy

Commission in response to an earlier draft that “there is no

discussion in the EA of the potential destruction of the casks

or blockage of air inlet ducts as the result of sabotage or a

terrorist attack * * * [nor is there] a description of how

decisions are being made regarding the configuration,

design and spacing of the casks, the use of berms, and the

location of the ISFSI to minimize the vulnerability of the

ISFSI to potential attack.” The NRC responded:

In several recent cases, * * * the Commission has

determined that an NRC environmental review is not

the appropriate forum for the consideration of

terrorist acts. The NRC staff considers the security of

spent fuel as part of its safety review of each

application for an ISFSI license. In addition to

reviewing an ISFSI application against the

lla

requirements of 10 CFR Part 72, the NRC staff

evaluates the proposed security plans and facility

design features to determine whether the

requirements in 10 CFR Part 73, “Physical Protection

of Plants and Materials,” are met. The details of

specific security measures for each facility are

Safeguards Information, and as such, can not be

released to the public.

The NRC has also initiated several actions to

further ensure the safety of spent fuel in storage.

Additional security measures have been put in place

at nuclear facilities, including ISFSIs currently storing

spent fuel. These measures include increased security

patrols, augmented security forces and weapons,

additional security posts, heightened coordination

with law enforcement and military authorities, and

additional limitations on vehicular access. Also, as

part of its’ comprehensive review of ite security

program, the NRC is conducting several technical

studies to assess potential vulnerabilities of spent fuel

storage facilities to a spectrum of terrorist acts. The

results of these studies will be used to determine if

revisions to the current NRC security requirements

are warranted.

Petitioners argue that, in denying their petitions, the

NRC violated the AEA, the APA, and NEPA. Although we

reject the AEA and APA claims, we agree with Petitioners

that the agency has failed to comply with NEPA. We have

jurisdiction over those final orders of the NRC made

reviewable by 42 U.S.C. § 2239, which includes final orders

entered in licensing proceedings, under 28 U.S.C. § 2342(4).

Ill

We turn first to Petitioners’ AEA argument. Specifically,

Petitioners argue that the NRC violated its regulations

implementing the AEA, as well as the AEA’s hearing

12a

provisions, when it denied Petitioners a hearing on whether

NEPA required consideration of the environmental impact

of a terrorist attack on the Storage Installation; they also

argue that the NRC violated the AEA’s hearing provisions in

denying Petitioners a hearing on post-September 11th

security measures for the entire Diablo Canyon complex.

Both of these challenges fail.

A

The NRC did not violate the AEA or its implementing

regulations when it failed to explain its rejection of

Petitioners’ contentions by addressing each of their

arguments. Nothing in the regulations or the AEA requires

the NRC to provide such an explanation.

Section 189(a) of the AEA grants public hearing rights

“upon the request of any person whose interest may be

affected” by an NRC licensing proceeding. 42 U.S.C. § 2239.

The NRC public hearing regulations, at 10 C.F.R. § 2.309,

“promulgated pursuant to the AEC’s® power to make,

promulgate, issue, rescind, and amend such rules and

regulations as may be necessary to carry out the purposes

of” the AEA, 42 U.S.C. § 2201(p), specify the procedures

required of both petitioners and the NRC in making and

_ deciding hearing petitions.

Petitioners correctly observe that the NRC, in its

decision, did not discuss whether Petitioners satisfied the

regulatory standard. They are mistaken, however, in their

unsupported contention that this omission amounts to the

agency's failure to follow its own regulations and thus is

“reversible error.” The regulations simply do not require the

6 In 1974, Congress eliminated the Atomic Energy Commission

(“AEC”). Regulatory functions went to the NRC, and promotional

functions to the Energy Research and Development

Administration. See Energy Reorganization Act of 1974, 42 U.S.C.

§ 5814.

13a

NRC to explain its decisions in any particular manner.

Although the NRC regulations are specific and demanding

in what they require of petitioners, they demand far less of

the NRC in responding to a petition: the regulations require

only a timely “decision.” See 10 C.F.R. § 2.714(i) (“Decision

on request/ petition. The presiding officer shall, within 45

days after the filing of answers and replies * * * issue a

decision on each request for hearing/ petition to intervene.”).

Because Petitioners do not claim that the NRC violated this

requirement, we must reject this challenge.

B

The NRC’s denial of a hearing on whether NEPA

requires consideration of the environmental effects of a

terrorist attack on the Storage Installation did not violate the

AEA’s hearing provisions.

Petitioners contend that the NRC relied on an improper

ground in denying their request for a hearing on whether

NEPA requires the Commission to consider the

environmental impacts of terrorism — namely, the ground

that it had determined in earlier decisions that NEPA

imposes no such obligation. Thus, Petitioners do not

challenge the substantive validity or coherence of those

earlier opinions in making their AEA claim, but rather the

reliance upon a prior determination of the merits in order to

reject a petition presenting the same issues. As such, Sierra

Club v. NRC, 862 F.2d 222 (9th Cir. 1988), on which

Petitioners rely, does not apply. In that case, the NRC

rejected the petitioners’ contentions as lacking in reasonable

specificity, and yet went on to analyze the merits of those

supposedly unacceptable contentions. Id. at 228. Here,

however, where the agency is rejecting the contentions as

contrary to a prior decision, the “merits” and the reason for

the inadmissibility of the contention collapse. Put

differently, the NRC did not reach the merits of the petition

as much as it assessed the issues raised against issues

resolved by prior decisions. We hold that in doing so, the

l4a

Commission complied fully with the AEA. To hold

ctherwise would unduly restrict the agency’s evaluation of

hearing petitions, by requiring it to grant a hearing on issues

it has already resolved whenever a petitioner claims to have

new evidence. We can find, and Petitioners point to, nothing

in the AEA that would require this result.

Cc

The NRC’s denial of a hearing on security measures for

Diablo Canyon as a whole also did not violate the AEA.

Petitioners argue that the AEA requires the NRC to grant

petitioners a hearing on all issues of material fact, including

the security of the entire Diablo Canyon complex.

Petitioners therefore conclude, citing Union of Concerned

Scientists v. NRC, 735 F.2d 1437 (D.C. Cir.1984), that the NRC

violated the AEA when it denied a hearing on that issue.

Petitioners’ argument misreads Union of Concerned

Scientists, in which the D.C. Circuit held only that the agency

cannot by rule presumptively eliminate a material issue from

consideration in a hearing petition. Union of Concerned

Scientists requires the agency to consider a petition, it does

not require that the agency grant it.

The NRC in CLI 02-23 did not deny that security

requirements for the entire complex might need to be

upgraded, but rather maintained that a licensing proceeding

hearing (and one regarding an installation, not the entire

complex) was not the correct forum in which to address the

issue. The Commission directed Petitioners to participate in

a rulemaking or to raise their concerns in a hearing then

pending before the Licensing Board. Petitioners contend

that these alternative fora are illusory, and that rejection of

their petition amounted to the denial of any opportunity to

participate in the consideration of post-9/11 security

measures for the Diablo Canyon complex.

Petitioners argue “[iJf the NRC were going to resolve

Petitioners’ concerns that grossly inadequate security made

lSa

the Diablo Canyon facility vulnerable to terrorist attacks

generically, through a rulemaking, such a rulemaking would

have been initiated as a result of the ‘comprehensive security

review undertaken by the NRC.” Thus, Petitioners argue

that it would have been futile to submit a rulemaking

petition. This argument must fail, as Petitioners did not use

the available procedures for initiating a rulemaking.

Petitioners cannot complain that NRC failed to institute a

rulemaking they never requested.

Given that rulemaking may have been an avenue for

Petitioners’ participation, had they chosen to pursue it, their

argument that they had no forum in which to raise their

contentions loses its force. However, even were Petitioners

correct in their assertion that they were unfairly denied the

opportunity to participate in a rulemaking proceeding, the

argument that the Licensing Board hearing was similarly

illusory would fail. In fact, Petitioners were attempting to

use the present Storage Installation licensing proceeding as a

means of launching a much broader challenge to the Diablo

Canyon complex. The NRC correctly observes that a

petition alleging that existing NRC regulations are “grossly

inadequate to protect against terrorist attack, and therefore

must be supplemented by additional requirements” cannot

in fact be raised before the Licensing Board, which cannot

hear challenges to NRC rules. The limited scope of licensing

proceedings does not, however, amount to the arbitrary

denial of a forum, as Petitioners claim. While Petitioners

could have raised site-specific issues “relating to the

‘common defense and security’” that were not controlled by

existing rules or regulations to the Licensing Board, they are

not entitled to expand those proceedings to include the

entire complex, and issues already covered by agency rules.

D

In short, the NRC did not violate the AEA in denying the

petitions for a hearing. Neither the AEA nor its

implementing regulations required the NRC to grant

l6a

Petitioners a hearing on whether NEPA required a

consideration of the environmental impact of a terrorist

attack on the Storage Installation or the security measures

adopted for the entire Diablo Canyon complex. -

IV

The NRC’s reliance on its own prior opinions in its

decision in this case does not violate the APA’s notice and

comment provisions. Petitioners argue that the decisions in

CLI 03-01 and PFS amount to the announcement “of a

general policy of refusing to consider the environmental

impacts of terrorist attacks in Environmental Impact

Statements.” Petitioners rely on Mada-Luna v. Fitzpatrick, 813

F.2d 1006, 1014 (9th Cir. 1987) to claim that this policy

depends on factual determinations not found subsequent to

an evidentiary proceeding, and constitutes a “binding

substantive norm,” the promulgation of which, without a

public hearing, violates the APA notice and comment

provisions contained in 5 U.S.C. §§ 553(b), (c).?. The flaw in

Petitioners’ argument is the mistaken assertion that the

NRC’s decisions were factual and not legal. If the NRC’s

conclusion that terrorism need not be examined under

NEPA were factual, then Petitioners would be correct that its

determination would have to comply with APA rulemaking

requirements, including notice and comment, or else the

agency would have to permit petitioners to challenge it in

every proceeding where it was disputed.

That NEPA does not require consideration of the

environmental impacts of terrorism is a legal, and not a

7 US.C. § 553(b) states that “[gleneral notice of proposed

rulemaking shall be published in the Federal Register,” and

outlines the requirements that such notice must meet. 5 U.S.C. §

553(c) states that after such notice has been given, “the agency

shall give interested persons an opportunity to participate_in the

rulemaking through submission of written data, views, or

arguments with or without opportunity for oral presentation.”

17a

factual, conclusion. Cf. Greenpeace Action v. Franklin, 14 F.3d

1324, 1331 (9th Cir. 1993) (reasoning that a challenge to the

adequacy of an EA turned om factual, not legal, principles

where both NEPA’s applicability and the requirements it

imposed were uncontested); see also Alaska Wilderness

Recreation & Tourism Ass’n v. Morrison, 67 F.3d 723, 727 (9th -

Cir. 1995) (noting that although “challenges to agency

actions which raise predominantly legal, rather than

technical questions, are rare,” the court was there required to

address “just such a challenge”). Petitioners’ analysis is

therefore inapposite. The agency has the discretion to use

adjudication to establish a binding legal norm. See Sec. &

Exch. Comm'n v. Chenery, 332 U.S. 194, 199-203, 67 S.Ct. 1575,

91 L.Ed. 1995 (1947) (“[T]he choice made between

proceeding by general rule or by individual, ad hoc

litigation, is one that lies primarily in the informed discretion

of the administrative agency.”). We therefore agree with the

NRC’s characterization in its brief to this court: having come

to the legal conclusion that NEPA does not require

consideration of the environmental consequences of terrorist

attacks, “[w]hen petitioners in this case presented a

proposed contention seeking an EIS that analyzed the

impacts of possible terrorist acts at the proposed Diablo

Canyon Installation, the NRC reasonably concluded that this

request was sufficiently similar to the request in PFS to

justify the application of that decision here.”

V

Although we hold that the agency did not violate the

APA when it relied on the prior resolution of a legal issue

through adjudication, we come to a different conclusion as

to that determination’s compliance with NEPA. Because the

issue whether NEPA requires consideration of the

environmental impacts of a terrorist attack is primarily a

legal one, we review the NRC’s determination that it does

not for reasonableness. See Alaska Wilderness Recreation &

Tourism Ass’n, 67 F.3d at 727 (reviewing predominately legal

18a

issue for reasonableness because “it makes sense to

distinguish the strong level of deference we accord an

agency in deciding factual or technical matters from that to

be accorded in disputes involving predominately legal

questions”); Ka Makani’O Kohala Ohana, Inc. v. Water Supply,

295 F.3d 955, 959 n. 3 (9th Cir.2002) (“Because this case

involved primarily legal issues * * * based on undisputed

historical facts, we conclude that the ‘reasonableness’

standard should apply to this case.”).

Here, the NRC decided categorically that NEPA does not

require consideration of the environmental effects of

potential terrorist attacks. In making this determination, the

NRC relied on PFS, where it “consider[ed] in some detail the

legal question whether NEPA requires an inquiry into the

threat of terrorism at nuclear facilities.” 56 NRC 340, 343

(2002). In that case, intervenor State of Utah filed a

contention claiming that the September 11 terrorist attacks

“had materially changed the circumstances under which the

Board had rejected previously proffered terrorism

contentions by showing that a terrorist attack is both more

likely and potentially more dangerous than previously

thought.” Id. at 345. The NRC concluded that even

following the September 11th attacks, NEPA did not impose

such a requirement, reasoning:

In our view, an EIS is not an appropriate format to

address the challenges of terrorism. The purpose of

an EIS is to inform the decisionmaking authority and

the public of a broad range of environmental impacts

that will result, with a fair degree of likelihood, from

a proposed project, rather than to speculate about

‘worst-case’ scenarios and how to prevent them.

Id. at 347.

The NRC determined that four grounds “cut[ ] against

using the NEPA framework” to consider the environmental

effects of a terrorist attack: (1) the possibility of a terrorist

19a

attack is far too removed from the natural or expected

consequences of agency action; (2) because the risk of a

terrorist attack cannot be determined, the analysis is likely to

be meaningless; (3) NEPA does not require a “worst-case”

analysis; and (4) NEPA’s public process is not an

appropriate forum for sensitive security issues. Id. at 348.

We review each of these four grounds for reasonableness,

and conclude that these grounds, either individually or

collectively, do not support the NRC’s categorical refusal to

consider the environmental effects of a terrorist attack.

A

The Commission relied first on finding that the

possibility of a terrorist attack is too far removed from the

natural or expected consequences of agency action. Id. at

347. Section 102 of NEPA requires federal agencies to

prepare “a detailed statement * * * on the environmental

impact” of any proposed major federal action “significantly

affecting the quality of the human environment.” 42 U.S.C. §

4332(1)(C)(i). The question thus becomes whether a given

action “significantly affects” the environment.

The NRC claims that the appropriate analysis of Section

102 is that employed by the Supreme Court in Metropolitan

Edison Co. v. People Against Nuclear Energy, 460 U.S. 766, 773,

103 S.Ct. 1556, 75 L.Ed.2d 534 (1983). In Metropolitan Edison,

the Court noted that “[t]o determine whether Section 102

requires consideration of a particular effect, we must look to

the relationship between that effect and the change in the

physical environment caused by the major federal action at

issue,” looking for “a reasonably close causal relationship _

*** like the familiar doctrine of proximate cause from tort

law.” 460 US. at 774, 103 S.Ct. 1556. The Commission

claims that its conclusion that the environmental impacts of

a possible terrorist attack on an NRC-licensed facility is

beyond a “reasonably close causal relationship” was a

reasonable application of this “proximate cause” analogy.

20a

The problem with the agency’s argument, however, is

that Metropolitan Edison and its proximate cause analogy are

inapplicable here. In Metropolitan Edison, the petitioners

argued that NEPA required the NRC to consider the

potential risk of psychological damage upon reopening the

Three Mile Island nuclear facilities to those in the vicinity.

Noting that NEPA is an environmental statute, the Supreme

Court held that the essential analysis must focus on the

“closeness of the relationship between the change in the

environment and the ‘effect’ at issue.” 460 U.S. at 772, 103

S.Ct. 1556.

The appropriate analysis is instead that developed by

this court in No GWEN Alliance v. Aldridge, 855 F.2d 1380 (9th

Cir. 1988). In No GWEN, the plaintiffs argued that NEPA

required the Air Force to consider the threat of nuclear war

in the implementation of the Ground Wave Emergency

Network (“GWEN”). We held “that the nexus between

construction of GWEN and nuclear war is too attenuated to

require discussion of the environmental impacts of nuclear

war in an [EA] or [EIS].” 855 F.2d at 1386.

The events at issue here, as well as in Metropolitan Edison |

and No GWEN, form a chain of three events: (1) a major

federal action; (2) a change in the physical environment; and

(3) an effect. Metropolitan Edison was concerned with the

relationship between events 2 and 3 (the change in the

physical environment, or increased risk of accident resulting

from the renewed operation of a nuclear reactor, and the

effect, or the decline in the psychological health of the

human population). The Court in Metropolitan Edison

explicitly distinguished the case where the disputed

relationship is between events 1 and 2: “we emphasize that

in this case we are considering effects caused by the risk of

accident. The situation where an agency is asked to consider

effects that will occur if a risk is realized, for example, if an

accident occurs * * * is an entirely different case.” Id. at 775

n. 9, 103 S.Ct. 1556. In No GWEN, we followed the Court's

2la

admonition and, in addressing the relationship between

events 1 and 2, we held that the Metropolitan Edison analysis

did not apply “because it discusse[d] a different type of

causation than that at issue in this case * * * [which]

require[d] us to examine the relationship between the

agency action and a potential impact on the environment.”

Id. at 1386. No GWEN relied on our decision in Warm Springs

Dam Task Force v. Gribble, 621 F.2d 1017, 1026 (9th Cir.1980),

which held that “an impact statement need not discuss

remote and highly speculative consequences.” Applying

that standard to the plaintiffs’ claims that the military

GWEN system’s installation would “increase the probability

of nuclear war,” and “that GWEN would be a primary target

in a nuclear war,” we held both propositions to be “remote

and highly speculative,” and, therefore, NEPA did not

require their consideration.

In the present case, as in No GWEN, the disputed

relationship is between events 1 and 2 (the federal act, or the

licensing of the Storage Installation, and the change in the

physical environment, or the terrorist attack). The

appropriate inquiry is therefore whether such attacks are so

“remote and highly speculative” that NEPA’s mandate does

not include consideration of their potential environmental

effects.

The NRC responds by simply declaring without support

that, as a matter of law, “the possibility of a terrorist attack

*** is speculative and simply too far removed from the

natural or expected consequences of agency action to require

a study under NEPA.” 56 NRC at 349. In doing so, the NRC

failed to address Petitioners’ factual contentions that

licensing the Storage Installation would lead to or increase

the risk of a terrorist attack because (1) the presence of the

Storage Installation would increase the probability of a

terrorist attack on the Diablo Canyon nuclear facility, and (2)

the Storage Installation itself would be a primary target for a

terrorist attack. We conclude that it was unreasonable for

22a

the NRC to categorically dismiss the possibility of terrorist

attack on the Storage Installation and on the entire Diablo

Canyon facility as too “remote and highly speculative” to

warrant consideration under NEPA.

In so concluding, we also recognize that the NRC's

position that terrorist attacks are “remote and highly

speculative,” as a matter of law, is inconsistent with the

government's efforts and expenditures to combat this type of

terrorist attack against nuclear facilities. In the PFS opinion,

the NRC emphasized the agency’s own post-September 11th

efforts against the threat of terrorism:

At the outset, however, we stress our determination,

in the wake of the horrific September 11th terrorist

attacks, to strengthen security at facilities we regulate.

We currently are engaged in a comprehensive review

of our security regulations and programs, acting

under our AEA-rooted duty to protect “public health

and safety” and the “common defense and security.”

We are reexamining, and in many cases have already

improved, security and safeguards matters such as

guard force size, physical security exercises, clearance

requirements and background investigations for key

employees, and fitness-for-duty requirements. More

broadly, we are rethinking the NRC's threat

assessment framework and design basis threat. We

also are reviewing our own infrastructure, resources,

and communications.

Our comprehensive review may also yield

permanent rule or policy changes that will apply to

the proposed PFS facility and to other NRC-related

facilities. The review process is ongoing and

cumulative. It has already resulted in a number of

security-related actions to address terrorism threats at

both active and defunct nuclear facilities.

23a

56 NRC at 343. Among these actions is the establishment of

an Office of Nuclear Security and Incident Response,

“responsible for immediate operational security and

safeguards issues as well as for long-term policy

development[,] work[ing] closely with law enforcement

agencies and the Office of Homeland Security[,] * * *

coordinat[ing] the NRC’s ongoing comprehensive security

review.” Id. at 344-45.

We find it difficult to reconcile the Commission's

conclusion that, as a matter of law, the possibility of a

terrorist attack on a nuclear facility is “remote and

speculative,” with its stated efforts to undertake a “top to

bottom” security review against this same threat. Under the

NRC’s own formulation of the rule of reasonableness, it is

required to make determinations that are consistent with its

policy statements and procedures. Here, it appears as

though the NRC is attempting, as a matter of policy, to insist

on its preparedness and the seriousness with which it is

responding to the post-September 11th terrorist threat, while

concluding, as a matter of law, that all terrorist threats are

“remote and highly speculative” for NEPA purposes.

8 The view that a terrorist attack is too speculative to be a required

part of NEPA review would seem to be inconsistent with the

NRC’s pre-9/11 security procedures. Since 1977, the NRC has

required licensed plants to have a security plan that is designed to

protect against a “design basis threat” for radiological sabotage.

See General Accounting Office, Nuclear Regulatory Commission:

Oversight of Security at Commercial Nuclear Power Plants Needs to be

Strengthened, GAO-030752 (2003) at 6. “The design basis threat

characterizes the elements of a postulated attack, including the

number of attackers, their training, and the weapons and tactics

they are capable of using.” Id.

Thus, the NRC — even before the terrorist attacks of 9/11 —

did not consider such attacks too “remote and speculative” to be

considered in agency planning. To the contrary, the agency has

long required analysis of means and methods of hypothetical

24a

In sum, in considering the policy goals of NEPA and the

rule of reasonableness that governs its application, the

possibility of terrorist attack is not so “remote and highly

speculative” as to be beyond NEPA’s requirements.

The NRC's reliance upon the second PFS factor, that the

Risk of a Terrorist Attack Cannot be Adequately

Determined, 56 NRC at 350, is also not reasonable. First, the

NRC’s_ dismissal of the risk of terrorist attacks as

“unquantifiable” misses the point. The numeric probability

of a specific attack is not required in order to assess likely

modes of attack, weapons, and vulnerabilities of a facility,

and the possible impact of each of these on the physical

environment, including the assessment of various release

scenarios. Indeed, this is precisely what the NRC already

analyzes in different contexts. It is therefore possible to

conduct a low probability-high consequence analysis

without quantifying the precise probability of risk. The NRC

itself has recognized that consideration of uncertain risks

may take a form other than quantitative “probabilistic”

assessment. In its “Proposed Policy Statement on Severe

Accidents and Related Views on Nuclear Reactor

Regulation,” 48 Fed. Reg. 16,014 (1983), the Commission

stated that:

In addressing potential accident initiators (including

earthquakes, sabotage, and multiple human errors)

where empirical data are limited and _ residual

uncertainty is large, the use of conceptual modeling

and scenario assumptions in Safety Analysis Reports

will be helpful. They should be based on the best

qualified judgments of experts, either in the form of

subjective numerical probability estimates or

attacks against specific facilities, with the goal of establishing

effective counter-measures.

25a

qualitative assessments of initiating events and casual [sic]

linkages in accident sequences.

48 Fed. Reg. at 16,020 (emphasis added).

No provision of NEPA, or any other authority cited by

the Commission, allows the NRC to eliminate a possible

environmental consequence from analysis by labeling the

risk as “unquantifiable.” See Limerick Ecology Action, Inc. v.

NRC, 869 F.2d 719, 754 (3rd Cir.1989) (J. Scirica, dissenting)

(finding no “statutory provision, no NRC regulation or

policy statement, and no case law that permits the NRC to

ignore any risk found to be unquantifiable”). If the risk of a

terrorist attack is not insignificant, then NEPA obligates the

NRC to take a “hard look” at the environmental

consequences of that risk. The NRC’s actions in other

contexts reveal that the agency does not view the risk of

terrorist attacks to be insignificant. Precise quantification is

therefore beside the point.

Even if we accept the agency’s argument, the agency fails

to adequately show that the risk of a terrorist act is

unquantifiable. The agency merely offers the following

analysis as to the quantifiability of a potential terrorist

attack:

The horrors of September 11 notwithstanding, it

remains true that the likelihood of a terrorist attack

being directed at a particular nuclear facility is not

quantifiable. Any attempt at quantification or even

qualitative assessment would be highly speculative.

In fact, the likelihood of attack cannot be ascertained

with confidence by any state-of-the-art methodology.

That being the case, we have no means to assess,

usefully, the risks of terrorism at the PFS facility.

56 NRC at 350. The agency nonetheless has simultaneously

shown the ability to conduct a “top to bottom” terrorism

review. This leaves the Commission in the tenuous position

of insisting on the impossibility of a meaningful, i.e.

26a

quantifiable, assessment of terrorist attacks, while claiming

to have undertaken precisely such an assessment in other

contexts. Further, as we have noted, the NRC has required

site-specific analysis of such threats, involving numerous

recognized scenarios.?

Thus, we conclude that precise quantification of a risk is

not necessary to trigger NEPA’s requirements, and even if it

were, the NRC has not established that the risk of a terrorist

attack is unquantifiable.

Cc

The NRC’s third ground, that it is not required to

conduct a “worst-case” analysis, is a non sequitur. Although

it is a true statement of the law, the agency errs in equating

an assessment of the environmental impact of terrorist attack

with a demand for a worst-case analysis.

The Council on Environmental Quality (“CEQ”)

regulations, 40 C.F.R. §§ 1500.1-1518.4, promulgated with

the “purpose [of] tell[ing] federal agencies what they must

do to comply with [NEPA] procedures and achieve the goals

of [NEPA],” have been interpreted by the Supreme Court as

“entitled to substantial deference.” Robertson v. Methow

Valley-Citizens Council, 490 U.S. 332, 355, 109 S.Ct. 1835, 104

L.Ed.2d 351 (citing Andrus v. Sierra Club, 442 U.S. 347, 358, 99

S.Ct. 2335, 60 L.Ed.2d 943 (1979)). These regulations

mandated worst-case analyses until 1986, when CEQ

replaced the former 40 C.F.R. § 1502.22, requiring an agency,

when relevant information was either unavailable or too

costly to obtain, to include in the EIS a “worst-case analysis

9 The NRC’s assertion that a risk of terrorism cannot be quantified

is also belied by the very existence of the Department of Homeland

Security Advisory System, which provides a general assessment of

the risk of terrorist attacks. See, e.g, World Market Research

Centre, Global Terrorism Index 2003/4 (offering a probabilistic

risk assessment of terrorist activities over a 12-month period).

27a

and an indication of the probability or improbability of its

occurrence,” with the new and current version of the

regulation, which requires an agency to instead deal with

uncertainties by including within the EIS “a summary of |

existing credible scientific evidence which is relevant to

evaluating the reasonable foreseeable significant adverse

impacts on the human environment, and.* * * the agency’s

evaluation of such impacts based upon _ theoretical

approaches or research methods generally accepted in the

scientific community.” 40 C.F.R. §§ 1502.22(b)(3), (4). The

current requirement applies to those events with potentially

catastrophic consequences “even if their probability of

occurrence is low, provided that the analysis of impacts is

supported by credible scientific evidence, is not based on

pure conjecture, and is within the rule of reason.” 40 C.F.R.

§ 1502.22(b)(4). The Supreme Court held in Robertson that

the amendment of the regulations had nullified the worst-

case analysis requirement. 490 U.S. at 355, 109 S.Ct. 1835;

Edwardsen v. U.S. Dep't of Interior, 268 F.3d 781, 785 (9th Cir.

2001).

The Commission is therefore correct when it argues that

NEPA does not require a worst-case analysis. It is mistaken,

however, when it claims that “Petitioners’ request for an

analysis of [the environmental effects of] a successful

terrorist attack at the Diablo Canyon ISFSI approximates a

request for a ‘worst-case’ analysis that has long since been

discarded by the CEQ regulations * * * and discredited by the

Federal courts.” According to the NRC, “[mlJaking the

various assumptions required by [Pl]etitioners’ scenario

requires the NRC to venture into the realm of ‘pure

conjecture.” We disagree.

An indication of what CEQ envisioned when it imposed

the worst-case analysis requirement can be gleaned from a

1981 CEQ memorandum, Forty Most Asked Questions

Concerning CEQ’s National Environmental Policy Act

Regulations, reprinted at 46 FR 18026-01 (March 23, 1981).

28a

CEQ answered one of those questions, “[w]hat is the

purpose of a worst-case analysis? How is it formulated and

what is the scope of the analysis?” with the following:

The purpose of the analysis is to * * * cause agencies

to consider th{ Je potential consequences [of agency

decisions} when acting on the basis of scientific

uncertainties or gaps in available information. The

analysis is formulated on the basis of available

information, using reasonable projections of the worst

possible consequences of a proposed action.

For example, if there are scientific uncertainty and

gaps in the available information concerning the

numbers of juvenile fish that would be entrained in a

cooling water facility, the responsible agency must

disclose and consider the possibility of the loss of the

commercial or sport fishery. In addition to an

analysis of a low probability/catastrophic impact

event, the worst-case analysis should also include a

spectrum of events of higher probability but less

drastic impact.

46 FR 18026, 18032. While it is true that the agency is not

required to consider consequences that are “speculative,”

the NRC’s argument wrongly labels a terrorist attack the

worst-case scenario because of the low or indeterminate

probability of such an attack. The CEQ memo, by including

10 Because we disagree with the agency's interpretation of worst-

case analysis, we do not reach the agency's characterization of the

possibility of terrorist attack as “speculative.” We note, however,

that this characterization stands out as contrary to the vigilant

stance that Americans are encouraged to take by the Department

of Homeland Security. See © www.dhs.gov/dhspublic/

display?theme=29 (urging that “[a]ll Americans should continue to

be vigilant” and noting that “(t]he country remains at an elevated

risk * * * for terrorist attack.”)

29a

as worst-case scenarios events of both higher and lower

probability, reveals that worst-case analysis is not defined

solely by the low probability of the occurrence of the events

analyzed, but also by the range of outcomes of those events.

See also Greater Yellowstone Coalition v. Flowers, 321 F.3d 1250,

1260 (10th Cir. 2003) (citing a witness’s testimony that the

loss of bald eagle nesting sites was both “likely” and “a

worst-case scenario”). Petitioners do not seek to require the

NRC to analyze the most extreme (i.e., the “worst”) possible

environmental impacts of a terrorist attack. Instead, they

seek an analysis of the range of environmental impacts likely

to result in the event of a terrorist attack on the Storage

Installation. We reject the Commission’s characterization of

this request as a demand for a worst-case analysis.

D

The NRC’s reliance on the fourth PFS factor, that it

cannot comply with its NEPA mandate because of security

risks, is also unreasonable. There is no support for the use of

security concerns as an excuse from NEPA’s requirements.

While it is true, as the agency claims, that NEPA’s

requirements are not absolute, and are to be implemented

consistent with other programs and requirements, this has

never been interpreted by the Supreme Court as excusing

NEPA’s application to a particularly sensitive issue. See

Weinberger v. Catholic Action of Hawaii, 454 U.S. 139, 102 S.Ct.

197, 70 L.Ed.2d 298 (1981) (holding that the Navy was

required to perform a NEPA review and to factor its results

into decisionmaking even where the sensitivity of the

information involved meant that the NEPA results could not

be publicized or adjudicated). Weinberger can support only

the proposition that security considerations may permit or

require modification of some of the NEPA procedures, not

the Commission’s argument that sensitive security issues

result in some kind of NEPA waiver.

The application of NEPA’s requirements, under the rule

of reason relied on by the NRC, is to be considered in light of

30a

the two purposes of the statute: first, ensuring that the

agency will have and will consider detailed information

concerning significant environmental impacts; and, second,

ensuring that the public can both contribute to that body of

‘information, and can access the information that is made

public. Pub. Citizen, 541 U.S. at 768, 124 S.Ct. 2204. To the

extent that, as the NRC argues, certain information cannot be

publicized, as in Weinberger, other statutory purposes

continue to mandate NEPA’s application. For example, that

the public cannot access the resulting information does not

explain the NRC's determination to prevent the public from

contributing information to the decisionmaking process. The

NRC simply does not explain its unwillingness to hear and

consider the information that Petitioners seek to contribute

to the process, which would fulfill both the information-—

gathering and the public participation functions of NEPA.

These arguments explain why a Weinberger-style limited

proceeding might be appropriate, but cannot support the

NRC’s conclusion that NEPA does not apply. As we stated

in Ne GWEN: “There is no ‘national defense’ exception to

NEPA * * * ‘The Navy, just like any federal agency, must

carry out its NEPA mandate to the fullest extent possible and

this mandate includes weighing the environmental costs of

the [project] even though the project has serious security

implications.” 855 F.2d at 1384 (quoting Concerned About

Trident v. Rumsfeld, 555 F.2d 817, 823 (D.C. Cir. 1977)).

E

In sum, none of the four factors upon which the NRC

relies to eschew consideration of the environmental effects of

a terrorist attack satisfies the standard of reasonableness.

We must therefore grant the petition in part and remand for

the agency to fulfill its responsibilities under NEPA.

Our identification of the inadequacies in the agency’s

NEPA analysis should not be construed as constraining the

NRC’s consideration of the merits on remand, or

circumscribing the procedures that the NRC must employ in

3la

conducting its analysis. There remain open to the agency a

wide variety of actions it may take on remand, consistent

with its statutory and regulatory requirements. We do not

prejudge those alternatives. Nor do we prejudge the merits

of the inquiry. We hold only that the NRC’s stated reasons

for categorically refusing to consider the possibility of

terrorist attacks cannot withstand appellate review based on

the record before us.

We are:also mindful that the issues raised by the petition

may involve questions of national security, requiring

sensitive treatment on remand. However, the NRC has dealt

with our nation’s most sensitive nuclear secrets for many -

decades, and is well-suited to analyze the questions raised

by the petition in an appropriate manner consistent with

national security.

VI

We deny the petition as to the claims under the AEA and

the APA. However, because we conclude that the NRC’s

determination that NEPA does not require a consideration of

the environmental impact of terrorist attacks does not satisfy

reasonableness review, we hold that the EA prepared in

reliance on that determination is inadequate and fails to

comply with NEPA’s mandate. We grant the petition as to

that issue and remand for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

PETITION GRANTED IN PART; DENIED IN PART;

REMANDED. |

32a

APPENDIX B

CLI-03-1

Cite as 57 NRC 1 (2003)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS:

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman

Greta Joy Dicus

Nils J. Diaz

Edward McGaffigan, Jr.

Jeffrey S. Merrifield

In the Matter of Docket No. 72-26-ISFSI

PACIFIC GAS AND ELECTRIC

COMPANY

(Diablo Canyon Power Plant

Independent Spent Fuel Storage

Installation) January 23, 2003

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

The Licensing Board, in a recent ruling on standing,

admissibility of contentions, and admission of interested

governmental entities in this independent spent fuel storage

installation (“ISFSI’’) licensing proceeding, referred its

decision on one environmental contention and portions of

three other contentions to the Commission.! We accept the

Board’s referral and affirm its rejection of the contentions.

i. BACKGROUND

Pacific Gas & Electric Company (“PG&E”) filed an

application on December 21, 2001, for a materials license

1 See LBP-02-23, 56 NRC 413 (2002).

33a

authorizing construction and operation of a dry storage cask

ISFSI to be located at its Diablo Canyon Nuclear Power Plant

(“DCPP”) site. In response to a notice of opportunity for

hearing, the Secretary of the Commission received petitions

to intervene from numerous petitioners.2 The San Luis

Obispo Mothers for Peace, acting as Lead Petitioner,

submitted five technical and three environmental

contentions. The County of San Luis Obispo (“County’’),

previously granted governmental participant _ status,

submitted one environmental and two technical issues.? The

Board heard oral argument on the issues of standing of the

Petitioners and admissibility of their contentions on

September 10-11, 2002. In addition to the Lead Petitioner, the

Board found that the Santa Lucia Chapter of the Sierra Club,

San Luis Obispo Cancer Action Now, Peg Pinard, the Avila

Valley Advisory Council, and the Central Coast Peace and

Environmental Council have standing.‘ We shall refer to the

2 In addition, five entities sought leave to participate as interested

governmental entities pursuant to 10 C.F.R. § 2.715(c): “The

presiding officer will afford representatives of an interested State,

county, municipality, Federally-recognized Indian Tribe, and/or

agencies thereof, a reasonable opportunity to participate and to

introduce evidence, interrogate witnesses, and advise the

Commission without requiring the representative to take a position

with respect to the issue.” Of the five requests, only that of the

County of San Luis Obispo is relevant to today’s decision.

3 See unpublished Memorandum and Order (Establishing Schedule

for Identification of Issues by Interested Governmental Entities;

Limited Appearance Participation) (Aug. 7, 2002). The Board also

granted governmental participant status to the Port San Luis

Harbor District. See id.

4 The Board also determined that the following groups had not

demonstrated standing: the Environmental Center of San Luis

Obispo, Cambria Legal Defense Fund, Santa Margarita Area

Residents Together, San Luis Obispo Chapter of Grandmothers for

Peace International, Nuclear Age Peace Foundation, and the

Ventura County Chapter of the Surfrider Foundation.

34a

admitted Intervenors collectively as ‘“SLOMFP.” The Board

granted governmental participant status to the California

Energy Commission and the Avila Beach Community

Services District, but denied the request of the Diablo

Canyon Independent Safety Committee.

The Board admitted one of SLOMFP’s five technical

contentions for litigation in this proceeding and rejected

SLOMFP’s three environmental contentions. In accordance

with 10 C.F.R. § 2.730(f), the Board referred its rulings

regarding the sabotage and terrorism aspects of SLOMFP’s

three environmental contentions and San Luis Obispo

County’s environmental issue to the Commission for further

consideration and action as appropriate.5 We accept the

Board's referral and affirm the Board’s denial of admission of

the contentions, albeit for different reasons than those the

Board expressed.

II; DISCUSSION

A. The Referred Terrorism Issues®

SLOMFP’s three environmental contentions address, at

varying levels of prominence, the threat of terrorism.

Contention EC-1, the primary terrorism contention, states:

“The Environmental Report’s discussion of environmental

impacts is inadequate because it does not include the

consequences of destructive acts of malice or insanity against

5 See LBP-02-23, 56 NRC at 462. See also 10 C.F.R. § 2.730(f): “When

in the judgment of the presiding officer prompt decision is

necessary to prevent detriment to the public interest or unusual

delay or expense, the presiding officer may refer the ruling

promptly to the Commission * * * .”

6 We recently denied the direct request of the San Luis Obispo

Mothers for Peace and several other petitioners to suspend this

proceeding pending completion of the Commission’s

comprehensive review of measures to protect against terrorist

attack. See CLI-02-23, 56 NRC 230 (2002).

35a

the proposed ISFSI.”7 SLOMFP believes that PG&E's

environmental report should evaluate a range of alternatives

to the proposed ISFSI, including dispersal of casks,

protection of casks by berms or bunkers, and use of more

robust storage casks.

The Board found the contention inadmissible because it

“directly challenge[s] the Commission’s rules regarding

destructive acts of malice or insanity by enemies of the

United States ** * . [C]ontentions that question existing NRC

regulations are inadmissible as a matter of law.’’* Thus, the

Board relied in part on 10 C.F.R. § 2.758(a), which prohibits

adjudicatory challenges to NRC rules,? and in part on 10

C.F.R. § 50.13, which provides that an applicant for a license

to construct and operate a production or utilization facility

“is not required to provide for design features or other

measures for the specific purpose of protection against the

effects of * * * attacks and destructive acts, including

sabotage, directed against the facility by an enemy of the

United States, whether a foreign government or other

person.’’10

7 “Supplemental Request for Hearing and Petition To Intervene by

[SLOMFP}” at 24 (July 18, 2002).

8 LBP-02-23, 56 NRC at 448.

9 “[A]ny rule or regulation of the Commission, or any provision

thereof * * * is not subject to attack by way of discovery, proof,

argument, or other means in any adjudicatory proceeding

involving initial or renewal licensing * * * .” 10 C.F.R. § 2.758(a).

1010 C.F.R. § 50.13. Although section 50.13 does not, on its face,

apply to an ISFSI, an applicant for an ISFSI must describe physical

security protection plans, which must meet the requirements set

forth in 10 C.F.R. § 73.51. Adopting section 73.51 in 1998, the

Commission specifically rejected a requirement that ISFSIs be

protected against malevolent attacks by land-based or airborne

vehicles. See Final Rule: “Physical Protection for Spent Nuclear

36a

Because EC-1 is an environmental contention based on

the National Environmental Policy Act (“NEPA”) rather

than a safety contention, SLOMFP argued that 10 C.F.R.

§ 2.758 is not applicable. The Board, however, reasoned that

“the rationale for 10 C.F.R. § 50.13 [is] as applicable to the

Commission’s NEPA responsibilities as it is to its health and

safety responsibilities.’”12 The Board thus found contention

EC-1 inadmissible, but referred its ruling to the

Commission. !5

Fuel and High-Level Radioactive Waste,” 63 Fed. Reg. 26,955,

26,956 (May 15, 1998).

1! See 42 U.S.C. §§ 4321 et seq.

12 LBP-02-23, 56 NRC at 448, quoting Long Island Lighting Co.

(Shoreham Nuclear Power Station), ALAB-156, 6 AEC 831, 851

(1973) and citing Private Fuel Storage, L.L.C. (Independent Spent

Fuel Storage Installation), LBP-01-37, 54 NRC 476, 487 (2001),

referral accepted, CLI-02-3, 55 NRC 155 (2002).

1S See LBP-02-23, 56 NRC at 448. In making the referral, the Board

alluded to the Commission’s ongoing comprehensive review of

NKC’s safeguards and physical security programs in the wake of

the Sept. 11, 2001 terrorist attacks. Moreover, the Commission, at

the time of the Board’s referral, was considering terrorism

contentions we had agreed to review in four other cases. See Private

Fuel Storage, LBP-01-37, 54 NRC 476 (denying admission of

terrorism contention and referring issue to the Commission),

referral accepted, CLI-02-3, 55 NRC 155; Duke Energy Corp. (McGuire

Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2; Catawba Nuclear Station Units 1

and 2), LBP-02-4, 55 NRC 49 (2002) (certifying terrorism issue to the

Commission), certification accepted, CLI-02-6, 55 NRC 164 (2002);

Duke Cogema Stone & Webster (Savannah River Mixed Oxide Fuel

Fabrication Facility), LBP-01-35, 54 NRC 403 (2001), reconsideration

denied, unpublished Memorandum and Order (Jan. 16, 2002),

petition for Commission review granted in part, CLI-02-4, 55 NRC 158

(2002); and Dominion Nuclear Connecticut, Inc. (Millstone Nuclear

Power Station, Unit 3), LBP-02-5, 55 NRC 131 (2002) (denying

admission of terrorism contention and referring contention to the

Commission), referral accepted, CLI-02-5, 55 NRC 161 (2002).

37a

Contention EC-2 asserts that PG&E has failed to fully

describe the purposes of the proposed ISFSI or to evaluate all

reasonably associated environmental impacts and

alternatives. SLOMFP’s focus in this contention is its

allegation that PG&E might have an unstated purpose for the

proposed ISFSI; i.e., to provide spent fuel storage capacity

during a license renewal term for the Diablo Canyon units.

The Board found the contention inadmissible, but noted that,

in several of the contention’s bases, SLOMFP repeated

arguments concerning acts of destruction or sabotage that

were discussed in support of EC-1. Therefore, the Board

referred its ruling on admissibility of contention EC-2 to the

Commission “to the extent destruction and sabotage matters

are proffered in support of admission.” 4

In Contention EC-3, SLOMFP asserts that PG&E has

failed to evaluate the environmental impacts of transporting

fuel away from the proposed ISFSI at the end of its license

term. SLOMFP claims that the ER must consider impacts of

such transportation, including sabotage and terrorist attacks

against transportation casks. The Board rejected contention

EC-3 but, as with EC-2, referred its ruling to the Commission

“to the extent terrorism and sabotage matters are proffered

in support of its admission.” 5

Similar to SLOMFP’s EC-1, the County’s environmental

issue asserted that the environmental report does not contain

an adequate analysis of alternatives. Specifically, in its

subissue regarding alternative sites and associated security

measures, the County argues that PG&E did not consider

vulnerability to offshore attacks when it selected the site for

the proposed ISFSI. Because this subissue “appears to

challenge the Commission’s rules regarding acts of

destruction and sabotage,” the Board denied it as a matter of

4 LBP-02-23, 56 NRC at 451.

5 Id. at 453.

38a

law, but made the terrorism aspects of the issue part of .its

referral to the Commission.1*

B. The Commission’s Ruling

We accept the Board's referral of the terrorism issues in

SLOMFP’s three environmental contentions and the County’s

environmental subissue and affirm the result the Board

reached.

We recently decided similar issues in four other cases in

four different contexts: Private Fuel Storage (a dry cask

independent spent fuel storage installation), Savannah River

(a mixed oxide fuel fabrication facility), Millstone (expansion

of the spent fuel storage pool capacity at a commercial

reactor site), and McGuire/Catawba (license renewal for four

commercial reactors).'7_ In each of these settings, we

considered whether NEPA requires the NRC, in rendering

licensing decisions, to consider the impacts of terrorism. We

held that NEPA does not require a terrorism review, and that

an environmental impact statement is not the appropriate

format in which to address the challenges of terrorism.

In the lead Private Fuel Storage case, involving a large

away-from-reactor ISFSI, we detailed four principal reasons

for our holding. First, the “possibility of a terrorist attack

* * * is speculative and simply too far removed from the

natural or expected consequences of agency action to require

a study under NEPA,” which is confined to “manageable”’

16 See id. at 460.

17 See Private Fuel Storage, L.L.C. (Independent Spent Fuel Storage

Installation), CLI-02-25, 56 NRC 340 (2002); Duke Cogema Stone &

Webster (Savannah River Mixed Oxide Fuel Fabrication Facility),

CLI-02-24, 56 NRC 335 (2002); Dominion Nuclear Connecticut, Inc.

(Millstone Nuclear Power Station, Unit 3), CLI-02-27, 56 NRC 367

(2002); and Duke Energy Corp. (McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1

and 2; Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2), CLI-O02-26, 56 NRC

358 (2002).

EE aaeaeaeEeEeeeeeeeeEeEee

39a

inquiries. Second, the risk of a terrorist attack at a nuclear

facility cannot be adequately determined.!? As a practical

matter, attempts to evaluate that risk even in qualitative

terms are likely to be meaningless and consequently of no

use in the agency's decisionmaking. Third, NEPA does not

require a ‘worst-case’ analysis, which “creates a distorted

picture of a project's impacts and wastes agency resources.” 2

Lastly, NEPA’s public process is not an appropriate forum

for considering sensitive security issues. In this regard we

noted, ‘NEPA does not override [our] concern for making

sure that sensitive security-related information ends up in as

few hands as practicable.”2! For the same reasons, we affirm

the Board’s rejection of SLOMFP’s contention EC-1, the

terrorism-related portions of contentions EC-2 and EC-3, and

the County’s environmental issue.”

18 See Private Fuel Storage, CLI-02-25, 56 NRC at 349 & n.33, citing

Metropolitan Edison Co. v. People Against Nuclear Energy, 460 U.S.

766, 776 (1983).

19 See Private Fuel Storage, CLI-02-25, 56 NRC at 350-51, and

references cited therein.

2 See id. at 352; see generally id. at 351-54, and references cited

therein.

21 Jd. at 355; see id. at 354-57, and references cited therein.

2 We need not decide the applicability of the rationale for 10 C.F.R.

§ 50.13 to the Commission’s NEPA responsibilities. We note that

“(t]he provision grew out of a policy judgment by the Atomic

Energy Commission that it was our nation’s ‘settled tradition’ to

‘look[] to the military’ for defense against enemy attacks, and that it

was ‘impracticable’ to expect a ‘civilian industry’ to provide the

necessary defense.” Millstone, CLI-02-27, 56 NRC at 369 n.7

(quoting Siegel v. AEC, 400 F.2d 778, 782 (D.C. Cir. 1968)). As in

Private Fuel Storage, Savannah River, Millstone, and McGuire/Catawba,

our decision today “rest[s] on general principles regarding the

scope of NEPA, [and] we do not reach the application of section

50.13 as applied to the terrorism contentions that are raised in [this]

case.” Millstone at 369, n.7.

40a

Our decision today rests entirely on our understanding of

NEPA and of what means are best suited to dealing with

terrorism. Nonetheless, our conclusion comports with the

practical realities of spent fuel storage and the congressional

policy to encourage utilities to provide for spent fuel storage

at reactor sites pending construction of a permanent

repository.” Storage of spent fuel at commercial reactor sites

offers no unusual technological challenges. Indeed, it has

been occurring at Diablo Canyon for many years and will

continue whether or not we license the proposed ISFSI.4

Although we decline to consider terrorism in the context

of NEPA, the Commission is devoting substantial time and

agency resources to combating the potential for terrorism

involving nuclear facilities and materials. The NRC Staff is

conducting a comprehensive review of our security and

safeguards measures, including measures concerning interim

spent fuel storage at power reactor sites. We have also

instituted interim upgrades in security requirements for our

licensees, and we are working with numerous other

government agencies to meet and minimize the threat of

terrorism.

2 See Nuclear Waste Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 10131 et seq.; Millstone,

CLI-02-27, 56 NRC at 371.

24 See Millstone, CLI-02-27, 56 NRC at 371. Cf. McGuire/Catawba, CLI-

02-26, 56 NRC at 365 (‘Particularly in the case of a license renewal

application, where reactor operation will continue for many years

regardless of the Commission's ultimate decision, it is sensible not

to devote resources to the likely impact of terrorism during the

license renewal period, but instead to concentrate on how to

prevent a terrorist attack in the near term at the already licensed

facilities’); Pacific Gas and Electric Co. (Diablo Canyon Nuclear

Power Plant, Units 1 and 2), CLI-02-16, 55 NRC 317, 343 (2002)

(terrorist attacks are neither caused by nor result from the

proposed license transfers).

41a’

Ill. CONCLUSION

We accept the Board’s referral of the terrorism aspects of four

environmental contentions and issues and affirm the Board's

decision to reject consideration of the terrciism issues

presented in this proceeding.

IT ISSO ORDERED.

For the Commission?

ANNETTE L. VIETTI-COOK

Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland,

this 23d day of January 2003

% Commissioner Dicus was not present for the affirmation of this

Order. If she had been present, she would have approved it.

42a

APPENDIX C

CLI-02-25

Cite as 56 NRC 340 (2002)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

COMMISSIONERS:

Richard A. Meserve, Chairman

Greta Joy Dicus

Nils J. Diaz

Edward McGaffigan, Jr.

Jeffrey S. Merrifield

In the Matter of Docket No. 72-22-ISFSI

PRIVATE FUEL STORAGE, L.L.C.

(Independent Spent Fuel Storage

Installation) December 18, 2002

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

On December 13, 2001, the Atomic Safety and Licensing

Board referred to the Commission its decision denying

admission of a late-filed contention of the State of Utah.

Utah’s contention related to the threat of a terrorist attack on

Private Fuel Storage, L.L.C.’s (PFS) proposed independent

spent fuel storage installation (ISFSI).1 We subsequently

accepted review,? and also agreed to review three other cases

1 LBP-01-37, 54 NRC 476 (2001).

2 CLI-02-3, 55 NRC 155 (2002). The Commission accepted review of

the question whether either the Atomic Energy Act (AEA) or the

National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) requires the NRC to

consider the risk of terrorism in a licensing proceeding. The

Commission declined to review the Board’s ruling that Utah’s

proffered contention met our late-filing criteria. Utah subsequently

43a

raising terrorism-related issues.3 The primary question in

these cases is whether NEPA requires the NRC, in rendering

licensing decisions, to consider the impacts of terrorism. We

hold today that NEPA does not require a terrorism review.‘

I. BACKGROUND

A. Overview .

Below we consider in some detail the legal question

whether NEPA requires an inquiry into the threat of

terrorism at nuclear facilities. At the outset, however, we

stress our determination, in the wake of the horrific

September 11th terrorist attacks, to strengthen security at

facilities we regulate. We currently are engaged in. a

comprehensive review of our security regulations and

programs, acting under our AEA-rooted duty to protect

“public health and safety’ and the “common defense and

security.”5 We are reexamining, and in many cases have

dropped its AEA claim, leaving only its NEPA claim for our

review.

3 Duke Cogema Stone & Webster (Savannah River Mixed Oxide Fuel

Fabrication Facility), CLI-02-4, 55 NRC 158 (2002) (granting petition

for review); Duke Energy Corp. (McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1

and 2; Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2), CLI-02-6, 55 NRC

164 (2002) (accepting certified question); Dominion Nuclear

Connecticut, Inc. (Millstone Nuclear Power Station, Unit 3), CLI-02-

5, 55 NRC 161 (2002) (accepting referred ruling).

4 We reach the same conclusion in the other three companion cases.

See Duke Energy Corp. (McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2;

Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2), CLI-02-26, 56 NRC 358

(2002); Dominion Nuclear Connecticut, Inc. (Millstone Nuclear Power

Station, Unit 3), CLI-02-27, 56 NRC 367 (2002); and Duke Cogema

Stone & Webster (Savannah River Mixed Oxide Fuel Fabrication

Facility), CLI-02-24, 56 NRC 335 (2002).

5 See, e.g., AEA §§ 103(b) & (d), 104(d), 161(b), 182a, 189a(1)(B)(ii) &

(iii), 42 US.C. §§ 2133(b) & (d), 2134(d), 2201(b), 2232(a),

2239(a)(1)(B)(ii) & (iii). See also Florida Power & Light Co. (Turkey

44a

already improved, security and safeguards matters such as

guard force size, physical barriers, access control, detection

systems, alarm stations, response strategies, security

exercises, clearance requirements and _ background

investigations for key employees, and _fitness-for-duty

requirements. More broadly, we are rethinking the NRC's

threat assessment framework and design basis threat. We

also are reviewing our own infrastructure, resources, and

communications.

Our comprehensive review may also yield permanent

rule or policy changes that will apply to the proposed PFS

facility and to other NRC-regulated facilities. The review

process is ongoing and cumulative. It already has resulted in

a number of security-related actions to address terrorism

threats at both active and defunct nuclear facilities.

For instance, just after the September 11th terrorist

attacks, we issued Threat Advisories to all licensees of

nuclear power plants, nonpower reactors, nuclear fuel

facilities, gaseous diffusion plants, and decommissioning

reactors. The Advisories indicated that these facilities should

go to the highest level of security. As a result of our initial

Advisories, nuclear power plant licensees increased patrols,

augmented security forces and capabilities, added security

posts, installed additional physical barriers, increased the

standoff distance for vehicle checks, enhanced coordination

with law enforcement and military authorities, and imposed

more restrictive site access controls for all personnel. We

Point Nuclear Generating Plant, Units 3 and 4), 4 AEC 9, 12

(Commission 1967) (these two statutory phrases ‘are fundamental

to a delineation of the Commission’s licensing authority and

responsibility for [nuclear power plant] facilities’), aff'd sub nom.

Siegel v. AEC, 400 F.2d 778 (D.C. Cir. 1968).

6 The standoff distance between a barrier and the nuclear plant is

the distance between vital plant equipment and the closest exterior

point of the vehicle barrier system.

45a

continue to provide updates to the licensees regarding our

original Threat Advisories, having so far issued more than

thirty such updates. NRC security specialists have

performed numerous onsite physical security vulnerability

assessments at licensed facilities to evaluate the effectiveness

of our licensees’ enhanced security measures.

On February 25, 2002, after further security reviews, we

took the additional step of issuing. orders to all 104 power

reactor licensees requiring them to take interim

compensatory security measures over and above those

required by our regulations. The orders formalized steps

that those licensees had voluntarily taken in response to our

Threat Advisories, and also included additional measures to

further protect nuclear power plants. The newly required

safeguards measures (whose details are not available to the

public) include more patrols, more security personnel, and

physical and vehicle barrier modifications. The orders also

require additional security measures pertaining to

waterways and owner-controlled land outside the plants’

protected areas. The NRC Staff has confirmed that, as of

August 31st, all nuclear power plant licensees are in

compliance with the requirements set forth in these orders. In

addition, the Staff is conducting independent inspections at

licensee sites.

We have subsequently issued similar security-driven

orders to Honeywell International, Inc., for its uranium

conversion facility in Metropolis, Illinois, on March 25th; to

General Electric Company for its wet storage facility in

Morris, Illinois, on May 23d; to twelve nuclear plants that are

being decommissioned also May 23d; to two enriched

uranium fuel fabricators (BWX Technologies, Inc. and

Nuclear Fuel Services) on August 22d; and to independent

spent fuel storage facilities using dry cask storage on October

23d.

46a

This set of orders will remain in effect until either the

threat environment changes or we determine that additional

orders or rules are needed.

In a related action, in January we increased the full-time

staffing at the NRC Headquarters Operations Center, which

takes in fast-breaking security and safety information. In

April, we established a new Office of Nuclear Security and

Incident Response. The new office is responsible for

immediate operational security and safeguards issues as well

as for long-term policy development. It works closely with

law enforcement agencies and the Office of Homeland

Security. It also coordinates the NRC's ongoing

comprehensive security review, including (for example) a

major research effort to evaluate the vulnerabilities and

potential effects of a large commercial aircraft crashing into a

nuclear facility or into storage and transportation casks —

issues raised in this proceeding.

B. Facts and Procedural Posture of This Case

PFS seeks a license to operate an ISFSI on the Skull Valley .

Goshute Indian Reservation in Utah. During the course of

this litigation and prior to September 11, 2001, the Licensing

Board admitted numerous issues for hearing, many of which

await final merits resolution. But the Board rejected various

contentions relating to the risks of terrorism or sabotage at

the proposed facility, finding each to be inadmissible.’

In response to the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001,

Intervenor Utah asked the Board to admit its late-filed

contention Utah RR, Suicide Mission Terrorism and

Sabotage, which claimed violations of both the AEA and

NEPA. Utah contended that the events of September 11 had

materially changed the circumstances under which the Board

? See LBP-98-13, 47 NRC 360, 372 (1998); LBP-98-10, 47 NRC 288,

296 (1998); LBP-98-7, 47 NRC 142, 186, 199, 216, 226, 233-34, aff'd on

other grounds, CLI-98-13, 48 NRC 26 (1998).

47a

had_ rejected previously proffered terrorism related

contentions by showing that a terrorist attack is both more

likely and potentially more dangerous than previously

thought.

Utah’s new AEA “terrorism” clair. argued that PFS’s

Safety Analysis Report and the Staff's Safety Evaluation

Report failed to identify and adequately evaluate external

man-induced events such as suicide mission terrorism and

sabotage, “based on the current state of knowledge about

such events,” as required by an NRC rule. The Board found

this argument an impermissible attack on NRC rules because,

in promulgating security rules applicable to ISFSIs, the

Commission had specifically considered and _ rejected

requiring protection against the malevolent use of an

airborne vehicle.°

Utah’s new NEPA “terrorism” claim argued that PFS’s

Environmental Report and the NRC _ Staff's draft

Environmental Impact Statement (EIS)!° were deficient in

failing to consider the environmental consequences of

terrorists flying a fully loaded commercial jumbo jet into the

PFS facility. Relying on a 1973 Appeal Board decision in the

Shoreham proceeding," the Board found that the rationale for

excluding acts of war in our safety analysis — that this is the

responsibility of the national defense establishment —

applies equally to a NEPA analysis. Therefore, the Board

8 See 10 C.F.R. § 72.94.

9 LBP-01-37, 54 NRC at 485-86. See Final Rule, “Physical Protection

for Spent Nuclear Fuel and High-Level Radioactive Waste,” 63 Fed.

Reg. 26,955-56 (May 15, 1998).

10 The Final Environmental Impact Statement, dated December

2001, was not yet available at the time Utah submitted its

contention and the Board made its ruling.

11 Long Island Lighting Co. (Shoreham Nuclear Power Siation),

ALAB-156, 6 AEC 831, 851 (1973).

48a

held that the NRC’s NEPA responsibilities did not include

considering the effects of terrorism.!2_ The Board also cited a

1989 Third Circuit decision, Limerick Ecology Action v. NRC,13

which found that NRC had no duty to perform a

“probabilistic risk assessment’ of the risk of sabotage in an

EIS because the petitioners had failed to show that such an

assessment was possible.4 Noting, however, that the

extraordinary events of September 11 may have changed

what can be said to be “reasonably foreseeable,” the Board

referred its terrorism ruling for immediate Commission

review. 15

We accepted review, asking parties to address all issues

“‘the parties determine are relevant,” and in addition the

question: ““What is an agency’s responsibility under NEPA to

consider intentional malevolent acts, such as those directed

at the United States on September 11, 2001?” 16

On review, Utah has abandoned its AEA-terrorism claim

and focused on its NEPA-terrorism claim.!” Its NEPA claim

does not ask that the NRC Staff inquire into or predict the

12 LBP-01-37, 54 NRC at 487. See 10 C.F.R. § 50.13, “Attacks and

destructive acts by enemies of the United States; and defense

activities.” This provision relieves reactor license applicants from

providing for design features that protect against ‘“enemies of the

United States.” By its terms, section 50.13 applies to production

and utilization facilities only. It therefore does not apply directly to

ISFSIs such as the one at issue in this proceeding.

13 869 F.2d 719, 743-44 (3d Cir. 1989).

14 LBP-01-37, 54 NRC at 487.

15 See id. at 487-88.

16 CLI-02-3, 55 NRC at 162.

17 See State of Utah's Brief in Response to CLI-02-03 and in Support

of Utah’s Request for Admission of Late-Filed Contention Utah RR

(Suicide Mission Terrorism and Sabotage), dated Feb. 27, 2002, at 3

n.2.

49a

likelihood of a September 11-style terrorist attack on the

proposed ISFSI, but argues that the mere fact that these

attacks occurred at other U.S. targets makes such an attack a

reasonably foreseeable environmental impact of erecting this

facility, requiring a NEPA review. Utah asks the

Commission simply to assume an attack and go straight to

analyzing its consequences. Both PFS and the NRC Staff,

citing the Shoreham and Limerick Ecology Action decisions,

maintain that terrorism and other intervening malevolent

acts lie outside NEPA and need no

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.