Opposition Brief — Kobs v. United Wisconsin Insurance

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

7

Mary Sulliven, Ph.D., L.P: Dr. Sullivan is an Assis-

tant Professor of Neurology at the University of Min-

nesota Medical School. Dr. Sullivan performed a

neuropsychological evaluation of Petitioner on August

22, 2002 based on a referral from Petitioner's primary

care physician, Dr. Melby. Dr. Sullivan concluded that

“[t}here was in fact no real evidence that he had sus-

tained a closed head injury, e.g., an injury that would

have produced cognitive effects” and that the testing

results “were not consistent with the presence of

memory problems secondary to a closed head injury.”

(R App 63a-64a)’ Dr. Sullivan also noted “numerous

implausible aspects of [Petitioner’s) performance

which raise questions about the effort he exerted

throughout this evaluation.” Specifically, Dr. Sullivan

observed: |

First of all, [Petitioner's] IQ, as measured here,

was found to be 80, that is, just barely within the

low average range. This is simply not believable.

There is no possible way that a head injury of the

severity described by [Petitioner] could have low-

ered his IQ to this leve!. Furthermore, there were

findings within the IQ testing that were also

highly unlikely. [Petitioner] obtained a score on

Vocabulary, which measures knowledge of vo-

cabulary, that was in the low average range. This

seems unusually low for a man who finished two

years at Boston College and who used to make

speeches and sell cars ... Furthermore, knowl-

edge of vocabulary is pretty invulnerable to the ef-

fects of a mild head injury ... Third, [Petitioner]

got just one item right on the Picture

~ the first item. He then failed the next four items.

* Petitioner's appendix includes only excerpts from Dr. Sullivan's

report. The full report is included in Respondent's appendix at 39a-65a.

This is a highly unusual performance, even for

people who are mentally retarded. [Petitioner],

even given how poorly he performed, is clearly

not mentally ;

(R App 59a-60a)

Philip Sarff, Ph.D.: Dr. Sarff is a psychologist. Re-

spondent retained him to examine and test Petitioner

and to review Petitioner’s medical records. The ex-

amination was performed on March 28, 2003. Dr.

Sarff’s findings echo those of Dr. Sullivan. He noted

“a pattern of cognitive performance on current and

past testing that shows inconsistency, and these in-

consistencies were well documented in the neuropsy-

chological assessment done on 8/22/02.” (P App 84a)

Among other things, Dr. Sarff noted that the results

of memory testing showed low average performance

on most scores and that “(gliven this finding, along

with convincing evidence from the measures of sym-

tom |sic] exaggeration, it seems safe to conclude that

the client is not suffering from dementia.” (P App 85a)

[Petitioner’s) pattern of deficits is not consistent

with degenerative dementia, or demertia due to

brain injury. Unfortunately, there is strong evi-

dence that he consciously or unconsciously exag-

gerated symptoms for this evaluation. While one

cannot automatically conclude that he showed

the same pattern with the previous two neuro-

psychological evaluations, there is sufficient evi-

dence to at least question the findings. Also, it is

notable that for the current evaluation, the client

was obviously aware that his motivation might

be suspect because one of the first things he said

was to reassure the examiner that he was not go-

ing to ‘lie.’

9

(P App 85a-86a) The registered nurse retained by Respon-

dent to review the entire contents of Petitioner’s file

concluded that “(b]ased on the objective medical documen-

tation provided for review, the objective data does not even

come close to the massive subjective complaints of the

claimant.” (P App 91a) Respondent upheld the denial of

long-term disability benefits.

Proceedings Below. On November 26, 2003, Peti-

tioner filed this action in state court, pleading a claim for

state law breach of contract. (R App 1la-3a) Plaintiff also

served a “Demand to Produce” on Respondent, seeking -

information in Respondent’s claim file and a copy of the

relevant disability policy. Respondent removed the matter

to federal court and filed a motion to dismiss, arguing that

Petitioner’s state law claim was preempted by ERISA, 29

U.S.C. §1144(a). Petitioner responded by requesting leave

to amend his complaint to plead a claim for benefits under

ERISA, although Petitioner contended that his state law

claim was not preempted by ERISA.’ (R App 4a) Plain-

tiff’s amended complaint included ERISA and state law

claims. (R App 6a-11a)

* Petitioner argued that ERISA preemption only applies when a

benefit plan is “self-funded” and that it does not apply to insured

ERISA plans. Petitioner’s argument ignored the statutory definition of

an “employee welfare benefit plan” which broadly includes plans that

are funded “through the purchase of insurance or otherwise.” 29 U.S.C.

§1002(1). He also ignored decisions of this Court that apply ERISA’s

preemption provision to state law breach of contract and other claims

that arise out of insured ERISA plans. See, e.g., Pilot Life Ins. Co. v.

Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1987); Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481

U.S. 58 (1987).

10

Shortly after removal, the parties filed their Rule 26(f)

Joint Scheduling Report. (R App 12a-15a) It was Peti-

tioner’s position that he would conduct the deposition of at

least one person involved in the denial of Petitioner's

disability benefit claim. Respondent stated that it would

object to any depositions.‘ Both parties stated that they

- contemplated filing motions for summary judgment. (R

App 12a, 13a-14a)

On January 27, 2004, the district court issued its

Preliminary Pre-Trial Conference Order, setting a deadline

for motions for summary judgment of May 1, 2004 and a

discovery deadline of June 10, 2004. (R App 16a-17a) On

February 2, 2004, the district court issued its Memoran-

dum and Order dismissing Petitioner's state law cause of

action as preempted by ERISA and allowing Petitioner to

proceed with his ERISA benefit claim. (R App 18a-24a) On

February 19, 2004, Respondent responded to Petitioner's

“Demand for Production” by agreeing to produce the policy

_ and the administrative record/claim file.

On April 5, 2004, Respondent filed its motion for

summary judgment. Respondent contended that, based on

the evidence in the administrative record, its decision to

deny Petitioner’s benefit claim was not arbitrary and

capricious or an abuse of discretion.’ Petitioner sought an

* In the Seventh Circuit, as in other circuits, where an abuse of

discretion standard is applicable, a court's review of a decision to deny

ERISA plan benefits is limited to the evidence that was before the

decision maker at the time of the determination. See, e.g., Perlman v.

Swiss Bank Corp. Long Term Comprehensive Dis. Protection Plan, 195

F.3d 975, 981-82 (7th Cir. 1999). Because admissible evidence is so

limited, Respondent took the position that discovery is likewise limited.

* The deferential review standard in the Seventh Circuit is termed

an “arbitrary and capricious” standard rather than an “abuse of

discretion” standard. The Seventh Circuit has ruled that the two

(Continued on following page)

11

extension to respond, stating that he intended to take a

deposition of one of Respondent's representatives. Respon-

dent moved for a protective order, arguing that any evi-

dence obtained in the deposition was beyond the scope of

admissible evidence in an ERISA benefit proceeding and

that Petitioner had not timely noticed the deposition. (R

App 25a-26a; 27a-34a) Petitioner responded, contending

that he needed the deposition to determine if Respondent

was acting in a “dual capacity” in processing Petitioner’s

benefit claim and that without the deposition, “the Plaintiff

is unable tc determine whether [Respondent] acts as the

insurer, interpreter, and the administrator of [Petitioner’s}

insurance policy... .” Petitioner argued that it was “impos-

sible for Plaintiff to respond” to the motion for summary

judgment without the deposition. (R App 36a, 37a)

On May 5, 2004, the district court granted Respon-

dent’s motion for protective order, ruling that “a deposition

is not required to determine the administration [sic]

record in this matter.” (P App 19a) On May 12, 2004,

Petitioner responded to the motion for summary judgment.

He argued that Responde™t acted in a dual role as admin-

istrator and insurer and that this should result in either a

de novo review standard or a “sliding scale.” Other than

the alleged “dual role,” Petitioner presented no evidence or

arguments to support an alleged conflict of interest, nor

did he present any arguments or evidence that an alleged

conflict had any impact on the benefit denial.

standards are equivalent. See, eg, Fritcher v. Health Care Service

Corp., 301 F.3d 811, 816 n.4 (7th Cir. 2002) (“We note in passing that a

previous decision from a panel of this court once noted a distinction

between the ‘arbitrary and capricious’ standard of review and the ‘abuse

of discretion’ standard of review ... As we have subsequently pointed

out, however, this eppears to be a distinction without a difference.”).

12

On May 28, 2004, the district court granted summary

judgment in favor of Respondent. The court concluded that

Respondent’s decision was “amply supported by extensive

medical records;” that the medical evidence “was in near

unanimous support of the conclusion that plaintiff was not

disabled as a result of any orthopedic conditions;” and that

“the overwhelming weight of the medical evidence ...

suggested that plaintiff’s complaints were exaggerated

and that he did not have significant cognitive impair-

ment,” including “the conclusions of Dr. Sullivan who was

independent and not hired by defendant.” (P App 16a)

The Seventh Circuit affirmed. The court noted that

Petitioner’s claim was supported by his family doctor and

by a psychologist who saw Petitioner on a referral from

Petitioner’s family doctor. However, “(ojn the other side of

the scale were the opinions of two orthopedic surgeons,

two psychologists, a psychiatrist/neurologist, and e¢ regis-

tered nurse.” (P App 4a) The court quoted from several of

the medical reports, including the conclusion that “there is

strong evidence that [Petitioner] consciously or uncon-

sciously exaggerated symptoms for this evaluation.” (P

App 5a) The court emphasized the findings of Dr. Sullivan,

who was not on Respondent’s payroll and who saw Peti-

tioner on a referral from Petitioner’s own doctor, and who

“was also the first of three medical experts who questioned

whether [Petitioner] was sandbagging during the tests.” (P

App 7a) Ultimately, the court of appeals stated as follows

regarding Respondent’s decision:

(Respondent) gathered and reviewed the pertinent

medical information, hired a number of physicians to

evaluate [Petitioner] and review his medical files, and

made an informed judgment about [Petitioner’s] long-

term disability application that coincided with the

13

bulk of the medical evidence. When [Petitioner] ap-

pealed the initial determination, [Respondent] ac-

cepted additional medical information submitted by

[Petitioner], had another psychologist evaluate [Peti-

tioner], and hired a nurse to review [Petitioner’s] en-

tire file. Given this exhaustive process, [Respondent’s]

reasonable conclusior s, and the absence of evidence of

bad faith or conflict of interest, there is no basis to

disturb [Respondent’s] benefits determination.

(P App 9a)

7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Petition raises two questions: (1) when and under

what circumstances does an ERISA claim administrator

that is also an insurer have a conflict of interest when

deciding benefit claims?; and (2) what impact does such a

conflict have on a court’s application of the abuse of

discretion standard” Resolving one question without also

resolving the other would provide the lower courts with

little guidance. Unfortunately, the facts in this case make

it a poor vehicle for resolving either one of these questions.

* During the last term, this Court denied at least three petitions

for writs of certiorari raising questions related to the conflict of interest

of ERISA claim administrators — petitions that were filed by parties

representing varied interests, including plan participants, self-funded

plan sponsors, and plan insurers. See Unum Life Insurance Company of

America v. Fought, No. 04-1000 (petition filed by benefit plan insurer in

case decided by the Tenth Circuit); Merck & Co. v. Epps-Malloy, No. 04-

995 (petition filed by self-funded plan sponsor and the plan’s claim

administrator in case decided by the Third Circuit); Peach v. Ultramar

Diamond Shamrock, No. 04-919 (petition filed by claimant/plan

participant in case decided by the Sixth Circuit).

14

I. THIS IS NOT AN APPROPRIATE CASE FOR

RESOLVING WHEN AND UNDER WHAT CIR-

CUMSTANCES AN INSURER HAS A CONFLICT

OF INTEREST GENERALLY BECAUSE THERE

IS SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE OF RESPON-

DENTS IMPARTIALITY IN DENYING PETI-

TIONER’S CLAIM AND BECAUSE PETITIONER

HAS WAIVED ANY OPPORTUNITY TO DEMON-

STRATE BIAS BEYOND THE MERE FACT

THAT RESPONDENT IS AN INSURER.

A. Because the Seventh Circuit Rejects “One

Size Fits All” Assumptions about Alleged

Insurer Bias, the Conflict of Interest Analy-

sis in Each Case is Highly Fact-Sensitive.

Petitioner's criticism that the Seventh Circuit relies

on “unsubstantiated economic assumptions” is not only

ironic, but also misses the entire point of the Seventh

Circuit’s position on the conflict of interest issue. Peti-

tioner’s argument is ironic because the very basis of

Petitioner's own argument is the unsubstantiated eco-

nomic assumption that all insurers are always biased and

that they always act in exactly the same biased way when

determining benefit claims, regardless of the actual

evidence in a particular case. The argument also misses

the point of the Seventh Circuit’s position, which is that

the court refuses to engage in economic assumptions, one

way or the other, and instead presumes neutrality unless

the claimant demonstrates that the decision maker was

biased and that this bias had an impact on the benefit

denial.

The Seventh Circuit has repeatedly recognized that

when deciding benefit claims. On the one hand, insurers

15

are in business to make a profit and it is not impossible

that there may be a temptation in some cases to deny

borderline claims. See, e.g., Leipzig v. AIG Life Ins. Co.,

362 F.3d 406, 408 (7th Cir. 2004). On the other hand, the

Seventh Circuit also recognizes that, in order to compete

in the marketplace, there is pressure to pay claims be-

cause insurers recognize that overly “tight-fisted” claims

decisions may discourage employers from buying their

policies. Mers v. Marriott Int'l Group Accidental Death &

Dismemberment Pian, 144 F.3d 1014, 1021 (7th Cir. 1998)

(“Companies ... who choose which group insurance

policies they will use to fund their plans ... have the

sophistication and bargaining power necessary to take

their business elsewhere if an insurer ... consistently

denies valid claims.”). Likewise, because insurers are

generally well diversified, must maintain reserves, and

are well funded, the impact of granting or denying benefits

in a given case, “is miniscule compared to [the insurer’s)

bottom iine.” Jd. at 1021; Leipzig, 362 F.3d at 409. Fur-

thermore, there are various forms of insurance arrange-

ments that affect who is ultimately | abie for a benefit

such that blanket assumptions about insurance arrange-

ments generally may not be valid in a given case. Leipzig,

362 F.3d at 408 (some insurance arrangements contain

adjustments in benefit rates and/or premium costs that

“compensate employees for the risk of self-interested

behavior”); Perlman v. Swiss Bank, 195 F.3d at 981

(discussing retrospectively rated insurance arrangements

whereby benefit costs are reimbursed by the employer).

The Seventh Circuit has also noted that a denial that

turns on unique factual evidence, like the present case, is

likely to have less overall impact on an insurer than a

denial that turns on broader issues of policy interpreta-

tion that can potentially affect other claims. Cozzie v.

16

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 140 F.3d 1104, 1108 (7th Cir.

1998) (““ndeed, it has not been demonstrated that MetLife

has a direct stake, in terms of its own financial health, in

the outcome of this issue of interpretation.”). Finally, the

Seventh Circuit has questioned whether one can make a

valid assumption in every case that an insurer’s corporate

profit motive actually impacts the individual employees

who decide claims. Perlman, 195 F.3d at 981 (“[I]t is

unsound for the judiciary automatically to impute the plan

administrator’s position to the person who decides on its

behalf.”).

Although the Seventh Circuit refuses to engage in

general assumptions about insurer bias, the Seventh

Circuit does consider the possibility that a given insurer

may let partiality influence its decision in a specific claim.

The court will consider “specific evidence of actual bias

that there is a significant conflict.” Mers, 144 F.3d at 1020.

This includes evidence that “an insurer or plan adminis-

trator pays its staff more for denying claims than for

granting them.” Leipzig, 362 F.3d at 408-09. In other

words, in each individual benefit dispute, if tiiere is

evidence that a decision was impacted by bias, the Sev-

enth Circuit will consider that evidence and will adjust the

amount of deference accordingly. If there is no such evi-

dence, the Seventh Circuit will not engage in unsubstanti-

ated ‘assumptions about what may or may not have

motivated the decision. Each ERISA benefit case in the

Seventh Circuit stands on its own facts.

17

B. This Case is a Poor Vehicle for Deciding

Whether or Not Insurers Generally Have an

“Inherent” Conflict Because the District

Court and the Seventh Circuit Emphasized

that the Specific Facts of this Case Demon-

strated that Respondent Acted Impartially.

Ignoring the specific facts in the present case, Peti-

tioner contends that all insurers should always be clothed

with the assumption that they act under perpetual “inher-

ent” conflicts of interest. The problem with this argument

is that, in this case, the record evidence contains multiple

indications of Respondent's impartiality. First, even

though substantial procedural defects in a claim decision

can be evidence of potential bias,’ there is no evidence of

any substantial procedural defects in the processing of

Petitioner’s claim. To the contrary, the review process

involved volumes of medical records, reviews and exami-

nations by multiple experts in varied specialties, and the

process was, by all accounts, extensive. Second, rather

than merely relying on its own employees, Respondent

retained several independent medical experts to review

Petitioner’s records and to examine and evaluate Peti-

tioner. Many courts hold that reliance on independent

experts is evidence that a decision is impartial.’ Finally,

" See, e.g., Woo v. Deluxe Corp., 144 F.3d 1157, 1160-61 (8th Cir.

1998) (Less deference may be accorded where a procedural irregularity

“caused a serious breach of the plan administrator's fiduciary duty” and

“has some connection to the substantive decision reached.”)

* See, ¢.7., Fought v. Unum Life Ins. Co. of America, 379 F.3d 997,

1015 (10th Cir. 2004), cert. denied, No. 04-1000 (May 2, 2005) (“Where

... @ conflict of interest may impede the plan administrator's impartial-

ity, the administrator best promotes the purposes of ERISA by obtain-

ing an independent evaluation.”), Hightshue v. AIG Life Ins. Co., 135

F.3d 1144, 1148 (7th Cir. 1998) (“Seeking independent expert advice is

(Continued on following page)

18

Respondent relied on opinions from doctors to whom

Petitioner was referred by his own primary care physician.

Certainly, Petitioner cannot allege bias on the part of

experts who examined Petitioner at the direction cf his

own doctor.

The record also directly refutes Petitioner's contention

that the district court and the Seventh Circuit completely

ignored any potential for a conflict of interest. To the

contrary, both courts were careful to note evidence of

impartiality. =e apne A esacrneesg the district

court specifically noted with respect to each medical

professional, the means by which each expert was retained

and by which party. (P App 12a-l4a) Concluding that

“overwhelming” evidence supported the decision that

Petitioner's cognitive complaints were exaggerated and not

disabling, the district court also noted that this conclusion

was “particularly” supported by Dr. Sullivan “who was

independent and not hired by defendant.” (P App 16a)

Obvi wsly, the district court kept its “eyes peeled” for

potential bias.

made several comments indicating that it carefully consid-

ered the potential for bias. Responding to Petitioner’s argu-

ment that the court should defer to his primary care doctor,

the court noted that the primary care doctor’s opinions were

contradicted by the opinions of specialists and that Petitioner

made ro effort to address the opinions that undermined his

primary care doctor. (P App 6a) The court also specifically

noted that Petitioner's primary care physician referred

evidence of a thorough investigation.”); Ellis v. Metropolitan Life Ins.

Co., 126 F.3d 228, 234 (4th Cir. 1997) (reliance on independent medical

experts “greatly mitigates” any conflict of interest).

19 u

Petitioner to two of the psychologists who performed tests,

and that one of them, Dr. Sullivan, was “the first of three

medical experts who questioned whether [Petitioner] was

sandbagging during the test.” (P App 7a) Finally, the Seventh

Circuit made the point that Respondent rendered its decision

only after gathering and reviewing pertinent medical infor-

mation, that Respondent hired a number of physicians and

other professionals to examine Petitioner and to review his

records, that Respondent employed an “exhaustive process”

in evaluating Petitioner’s claim, and that Respondent's

decision was rendered free of any evidence of bad faith or

conflict of interest. All of this shows that the courts did not

ignore the potential for bias, but instead carefully noted the

substantial evidence that the decision was rendered free of

any partiality. Whatever this Court might ultimately deter-

mine as to whether or not insurers in general have an

“inherent” conflict of interest, the facts in this case demon-

strate that any such “inherent” conflict was more than

neutralized and that any decision regarding when a conflict

of interest exists generally will likely have no impact on the

judicial review standard applied in this case.

C. Even Ignoring the Substantial Record Evi-

dence of Respondent’s Impartiality, if this

Court Decides that Something More than a

Mere “Inherent” Conflict is Needed before

there is any Impact on the Abuse of Discre-

tion Standard, Petitioner has Waived any

Opportunity to Obtain any Evidence of Ac-

tual Bias Because He Failed to Appeal the

District Court’s Discovery Order.

In the district court, Petitioner contended that he

needed the deposition of one of Respondent’s employees to

20

determine if Respondent was acting in a “dual capacity.”

He also argued that without the deposition, “the Plaintiff

is unable to determine whether [Respondent] acts as the

insurer, interpreter, and the administrator of [Petitioner’s]

insurance policy... .” (P App 36a, 37a) In fact, Petitioner

argued that it was “impossible for Plaintiff to respond” to

the motion for summary judgment without the deposition.

(P App 37a) The district court denied Petitioner’s request

and granted Respondent’s motion for protective order.

Contrary to his representations to the district court, it was

not “impossible” for Petitioner to argue that Respondent

had an inherent conflict, because that is exactly what

Petitioner did argue to the district court, the court of

appeals, and in his Petition before this Court.

As Petitioner recognizes, an “inherent” conflict, is not

enough in the Seventh Circuit, and Petitioner was re-

quired to show that an actual conflict impacted the denial.

In some circuits, although a court’s review of the substan-

tive evidence in an ERISA claim is limited to the record

developed before the claim administrator, a claimant may

submit evidence outside of the administrative record

regarding certain tangential issues, such as a potential

conflict of interest.’ Petitioner argues that the Seventh

Circuit does not permit discovery into the conflict of

interest issue. Assuming this is true, Petitioner’s appeal to

the Seventh Circu’* « ld have offered a perfect opportu-

nity for Petitione: +. challenge that rule. Nevertheless,

* See, ¢.g., Wilkins v. Baptist Healthcare System, 150 F.3d 609, 618 (6th

Cir. 1998) (an exception to the principle of not receiving new evidence at the

district court level is when consideration of the evidence is necessary to

resolve alleged bias on the part of the claim administrator).

21

Petitioner did not appeal the discovery ruling and that

issue is now waived.”

The problem that Petitioner’s waiver presents in terms

of whether to grant the Petition is that it substantially

narrows the range of holdings thai are likely to impact this

case. If this Court rules that an ERISA claimant is required

to prove something more than an “inherent” conflict in order

to modify the abuse of discretion standard, such a decision

will make no difference in this case because Petitioner has

not preserved his opportunity to meet this standard.

Apparently realizing that the record in this case is

bereft of any evidence of bias (in fact, the record contains

substantial evidence that Respondent was not biased),

Petitioner attempts to submit materials from other cases,

even though none of the materials relate to Respondent. At

most, the deposition in Armstrong v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 128

F.3d 1263 (8th Cir. 1997) shows that the insurer in that

case had a potential conflict because the insurer allegedly

compensated its claim personnel for denying claims. The

Seventh Circuit has indicated that it would consider such

evidence if submitted in connectioz: with a particular claim

decision. Leipzig, 362 F.3d at 409 (“Unless an insurer or

plan administrator pays its staff more for denying claims

than for granting them, the people who actually implement

these systems are impartial.”). However, there is no such

” Failure to raise an issue on appeal constitutes waiver of any

claim of error with respect to the lower courts’ decisions on that issue.

See, e.g., HA-LO Indus. v. CenterPoint Props. Trust, 342 F.3d 794, 801

(7th Cir. 2003); Kuuthar SDN BHD v. Sternberg, 149 F.3d 659, 668 (7th

Cir. 1998). “Where issues are neither raised before nor considered by

the Court of Appeals, the Supreme Court will not ordinarily consider

them.” Pa. Dept of Corr. v. Yeskey, 524 U.S. 206, 213 (1998); see also

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 147, n.2 (1970).

22

evidence in this case and Petitioner has waived any oppor-

tunity to develop such evidence by failing to appeal the

protective order. The memo submitted with the plaintiff's

trial brief in Schneider v. Provident Life & Acc. Ins. Co. (P

App 117a) is, at most, ambiguous as to whether or not it

proves any conflict. But again, the memo concerns a differ-

ent insurer and does not relate to Respondent or to this

claim. At most, it shows that an insurer in that case might

have had a conflict in connection with that claim. Again, the

Seventh Circuit would consider such specific evidence if it

were related to Petitioner’s claim. Ironically, Schneider was

not even an ERISA case and it is not clear whether the

memo was even admitted into evidence. At any rate, that

case was tried to a jury under California state law and the

jury rendered a verdict in favor of the insurer." If the memo

was admitted into evidence, it obviously did not impress the

jury in that case.”

" Schneider v. Provident Life & Acc. Ins. Co., Cause No. 97-C-4646

(N.D. Cal.), Dkt. No. 223 (bench trial! ruling that “[t)his was not an

ERISA plan” and setting the matter for a jury trial); Dkt. No. 244

(judgment that plaintiff's state law claims are not preempted by ERISA),

Dkt. No. 245 (judgment en‘zred in accordance with jury verdict in favor

of Provident Life & Acciden’. Insurance Company and against plaintiff ).

” Plaintiff's submission of pleadings from a foreclosure and a replevin

action have nothing to do with any conflict of interest on the part of the

Respondent, the sole question raised in the Petition. A social security

administration decision also does not pertain to any question raised in the

Petition. At most, it shows that an administrative law judge found

Petitioner to be disabled under the rules that apply in social security

proceedings based in part on evidence that was not presented to Respon-

dent and not having the benefit of other evidence that was in Respondent's

file. There is nothing in the benefit plan or in ERISA that makes the social

security decision binding or even influential in Respondent's decision,

particularly when the decision was not submit. to Respondent. This

Court's decision in Black & Decker Disability Plan v. Nord, 538 U.S. 822

(2003) implies as much. /d. at 829-34 (discussing the differences between

(Continued on following page)

23

In summary, applying the fact-sensitive analysis

required in the Seventh Circuit, both the district court and

the Seventh Circuit carefully considered any possible bias

and both courts concluded that there was substantial

evidence demonstrating that Respondent was impartial.

Furthermore, by failing to appeal the district court’s

discovery order, Petitioner waived any opportunity to

demonstrate a conflict of interest beyond Respondent’s

alleged “irherent” conflict based on its dual role as claim

administrator and insurer. These facts substantially limit

the possibility that a review by this Court will have any

impact on application of the abuse of discretion standard

in this case or that it will change the result in this matter.

Il. THIS IS NOT AN APPROPRIATE CASE FOR

RESOLVING HOW A CONFLICT OF INTEREST

MIGHT AFFECT THE ABUSE OF DISCRETION

STANDARD BECAUSE THE SUBSTANTIVE

EVIDENCE WEIGHED HEAVILY IN RESPON-

DENT’S FAVOR, MAKING IT HIGHLY UN:

LIKELY THAT LESSENED DEFERENCE WOULD

CHANGE THE RESULT IN THIS CASE.

A. Given this Court’s Decision in Firestone,

the [Impact of a Conflict of Interest on the

Abuse of Discretion Standard Ranges From

an Unaltered Abuse of Discretion Standard

to Lessened Deference, Short of De Novo

Review.

In the district court and the Seventh Circuit, Peti-

tioner took the position that any conflict of interest should

the laws regulating social security and the laws regulating private

disability plans and holding that social security's treating physician rule

does not apply to private disability plans governed by ERISA).

24

result in the application of either a de novo review stan-

dard or a “sliding scale.” The former approach applies no

deference whereas the latter approach applies different

degrees of deference, depending on the magnitude of the

conflict. This Court already rejected the former approach

in Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101

(1989), when it declined to consider a claim administra-

tor’s impartiality as the criterion for determining whether

to apply a deferential review standard.

In Firestone, the Third Circuit held that whether a

claim administrator had a conflict of interest was the

determining factor in whether to apply a deferential

review standard in ERISA benefit disputes. This Court

declined to follow the Third Circuit’s reasoning and held

that the aprication of deferential review must depend on

the intent of the contracting parties, regardless of how a

benefit plan is funded and regardless of whether the

fiduciary is conflicted. 489 U.S. at 115. Thus, where “the

benefit plan gives the administrator or fiduciary discre-

tionary authority to determine eligibility for benefits or to

construe the terms of the plan,” courts must apply an

abuse of discretion standard of review to fiduciaries’

benefit determinations. Jd. This Court acknowledged thai

in some cases, discretionary authority might be granted to

conflicted claim administrators. In such cases, deferential

review would still apply and the conflict would be

“weighed as a ‘facto[r] in determining whether there is an

abuse of discretion.’” Jd. (citation omitted).

In summary, this Court has already determined that,

regardless of any conflict on the part of the claim adminis-

trator, courts will enforce discretionary authority in plan

documents, and will only take the conflict into account as

a factor when applying the abuse of discretion standard.

25

As a practical matter, then, the potential impact that a

conflict of interest may have on the abuse of discretion

standard may range from no impact (i.e. full deference) to

lessened deference, short of de novo review.

B. Even if this Court Holds that Less Deference

Applies when an Insurer Decides ERISA

Claims, it is Highly Unlikely that the Result

would Change in this Case Because the Great

Weight of the Record Evidence Would Still

Support the Denial.

Assuming arguendo that this Court would decide that

an “inherent” conflict arises from an insurer’s “dual role”

and that this type of conflict requires a court to grant less

deference-under the abuse of discretion standard, the

lessened deference would have no impact on the final

outcome in this case because of the strength of the medical

evidence supporting Respondent’s denial. The district

court concluded generally that the denial was not only

“reasonable” (i.e. not an abuse of discretion or arbitrary

and capricious), but that it was “amply supported by

extensive medical records.” (P App 16a) With respect to

Petitioner’s orthopedic claim, the district court concluded

that the “medical evidence was in near unanimous support

of the conclusion that plaintiff was not disabled.” Simi-

larly, with respect to Petitioner’s memory loss claim, the

district court concluded that “the overwhelming weight of

the medical evidence — and particularly the conclusions of

Dr. Sullivan who was independent and not hired by

defendant — suggested that [Petitioner’s] complaints were

exaggerated and that he did not have significant cogni-

tive impairment.” (P App 16a) On appeal, after noting

that at least three experts concluded that Petitioner was

26

“sandbagging,” the Seventh Circuit held that Respondent’s

decision “coincided with the bulk of the medical evidence.”

(P App 9a) The Seventh Circuit also noted that, while

Petitioner’s claim was supported by his family doctor and

a psychologist who saw Petitioner on a referral from the

family doctor, “loJn the other side of the scale were the

opinions of two orthopedic surgeons, two psychologists, a

psychiatrist/neurologist, and a _ ~istered nurse.” (P App

4a) Granted, both courts applied a deferential standard of

review in light of Petitioner’s failure to produce any

evidence of a conflict or bad faith on the part of Respon-

dent, but even a cursory reading of the decisions reveals

that neither the district court nor the Seventh Circuit saw

the benefit denial as a close call. Even if the courts had

applied less deference, the evidence would still be “near

unanimous” on the orthopedic claim and “overwhelming”

on the cognitive claim, and Respondent’s denial would

likely be affirmed.

The same result would apply if this Court were to

decide that a review standard close to de novo should

result from the “inherent” conflict. In light of the weight of

the record evidence, it is still highly likely that the denial

would be upheld. In this respect, Petitioner’s argument

that sumimary judgment would-not be appropriate because

there were some disagreements among the reviewing

doctors is not only wrong, but probably irrelevant.

Petitioner’s argument is wrong for at least two rea-

sons. First, to the extent that a court applies even minimal

deference, the ultimate question of fact is not wh-ther the

denial was correct, but whether it was an abuse of discre-

tion. A court can certainly make this determination on

summary judgment, even when the record evidence

contains disagreements among reviewing doctors and

27

particularly where the medical evidence in the record is so ~

strong in favor of the denial, as in this case.

Second, Petitioner’s argument is also wrong because

of the manner in which ERISA benefit disputes are deter-

mined. If the district court did not grant summary judg-

ment, it would sit as the fact finder in a bench trial.” The

substantive evidence at trial would be exactly the same as

at summary judgment, i.e., the written administrative

record. In fact, Petitioner did not even suggest that the

district court should consider other medical evidence not

already included in what was an extensive medical record.

In this type of proceeding, summary judgment is nothing

more than “a vehicle for deciding” whether the denial was

correct:

The review utilized both by this court and the

district court in this ERISA case differs in one impor-

tant aspect from the review in an ordinary summary

judgment case... [I]n an ERISA case where review is

based only on the administrative record before the

plan administrator and is an ultimate conclusion as

to disability to be drawn from the facts, summary

judgment is simply a vehicle for deciding the issue...

This means the non-moving party is not entitled to

the usual inferences in its favor. When there is no

dispute over plan interpretation, the use of summary

judgment in this way is proper regardiess of whether

our review of the ERISA decision maker’s decision is

de novo or deferential.

* In the Seventh Circuit, as in every other circuit that has decided

the issue, ERISA benefit disputes are tried to the court and not to a

jury. See, e.g., Mathews v. Sears Pension Plan, 144 F.3d 461, 466 (7th

Cir. 1998).

28

Trial is not warranted because the record shows one

doctor’s diagnosis disagrees with another’s, and the

fact that judicial review is de novo does not itself enti-

tle a claimant to a trial or to put on new evidence.

Orndorff v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co., 404 F.3d 510, 517-18

(1st Cir.), cert. denied, No. 05-189 (October 11, 2005). In

other words, Petitioner’s assumption that disagreements

among the medical experts would result in a denial of

summary judgment if the court applied something close to

a de novo review standard, is incorrect in an ERISA record

review proceeding.

~ Petitioner’s argument that summary judgment would

not be appropriate under a less deferential standard is

also irrelevant. Even if the district court denied summary

judgment and conducted a bench trial on the record,

applying minimal deference, the Petitioner would still

bear the burden to prove by a preponderance of the evi-

dence that Respondent abused its discretion. There is

virtually no chance that Petitioner could ever meet this

burden given the district court’s conclusions that there

was “near unanimous” support for the determination that

he was not orthopedically disabled, and “overwhelming”

evidence supporting the determination that Petitioner was

exaggerating his complaints and was not cognitively

disabled.

In summary, this case is not a proper vehicle for

certiorari because, no matter what the Court decides

regarding the impact of a conflict of interest on the abuse

of discretion review standard, the record evidence is such

that it is highly likely that Respondent's decision will still

be upheld.

2

29

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Respondent respectfully

requests that the petition for writ of certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

MARY C. NASH MARK E. SCHMIDTKE*

UNITED WISCONSIN SCHMIDTKE HOEPPNER

INSURANCE COMPANY CONSULTANTS LLP

401 W. Michigan Street 103 East Lincolnway

Milwaukee, WI 53203 P.O. Box 2357

(414) 226-6510 Valparaiso, IN 46384

(219) 464-4951

*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Respondent

October 28, 2005

R. App. la

STATE OF WIS“ONSIN CIRCUIT COURT POLK COUNTY

Elvis Kobs Other Contracts — 30303

65 County Road M

Star Prairie, WI 54026

Plaintiff, COMPLAINT

v. (Filed Nov. 28, 2003)

United Wisconsin Insurance Company

P.O. Box 2013

Milwaukee, WI 53201-2013

Defendant.

NOW COMES Plaintiff by and through his under-

signed attorneys, Novitzke, Gust, Sempf & Whitley, by

Jason W Whitley, and for his complaint against defendant

above named, states:

1. That the plaintiff, Elvis Kobs, is an adult resident of

the State of Wisconsin and has as his residence 65

County Road M, Star Prairie, WI 54026.

2. That the defendant, United Wisconsin Group is an

insurance company licensed to do business in the

State of Wisconsin and is in the business of providing

group benefit insurance to individuals and employers.

3. That on January 4, 2002 and all other times relevant

to the causes of action set forth below, the plaintiff,

Elvis Kobs, was covered by a policy of insurance is-

sued by United Wisconsin Group.

4. That pursuant to the terms of that policy, Elvis Kobs

is provided with disability benefits.

5. That pursuant to the terms of the benefit plan pro-

vided by United Wisconsin Group, the plaintiff was

11.

12.

13.

R. App. 2a

provided short-term disability benefits from January

4, 2002 through July 4, 2002.

That after expiration of the short-term disability

benefits, the plaintiff requested long-term disability

benefits pursuant to the terms of the defendant’s

plan.

That despite meeting the qualifications and criteria

for payment of long-term disability benefits, the de-

fendants have denied said benefits to the plaintiff.

That the plaintiff has duly and properly complied

with all administrative remedies provided by the plan

in seeking review of the plans denial of long-term dis-

ability benefits.

That by and pursuant to the disability plan issued by

the defendant, the plaintiff is entitled to receive long-

term disability benefits.

That the defendant has denied long-term disability

benefits to the plaintiff.

That such denial is a violation of the terms of the

policy and constitutes breach of contract.

That since July 4, 2002, the plaintiff, due to injury

and/or illness has been unable to perform the mate-

rial duties of his regular occupation for a period of 180

days since the onset of total disability and through

the 24 month period following the elimination period

and the plaintiff has been unable to perform any of

the material duties of any gainful occupation for

which he may reasonably fitted by education, training

or experience, due to injury and/or illness.

That as a result of said breach, the plaintiff has been

damaged in an amount of money equal to his lost

benefits, interest, attorney's fees, and other costs as-

sociated with this action.

R. App. 3a

Wherefore, plaintiff demands judgment against the

defendant for a specific performance of the contract terms

or in the alternative, damages including consequential

damages plus costs, attorney’s fees, pre-judgment interest

and such other relief as the court deems just and equita-

ble.

DATED: 11-26-03 NOVITZKE GUST, SEMPF &

WHITLEY

/s/ Jason W. Whitley

Jason W. Whitley (ID # 1027052)

Attorneys for Plaintiff

314 Keller Ave No Ste 399

Amery WI 54001

(745) 268-6130

A TWELVE-PERSON JURY IS DEMANDED

R. App. 4a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

Elvis Kobs

65 County Road M

Star Prairie, W1 54026 Case No: 04C0005S

Plaintiff,

Vv.

United Wisconsin Insurance Company

P.O. Box 2913

Milwaukee, WI 53201-2013

Defendant.

leet ctlimtitiadiienstiemtionsl eee eee

eid eee eae

Plaintiff, Elvis Kobs, by and through his attorneys,

Novitzke, Gust, Sempf & Whitley, by Jason W. Whitley,

hereby move to amend the plaintiff’s complaint.

The basis for the motion is set forth below and in the

attached memorandum of law:

1. The plaintiff filed an action in State Court based

upon the breach of an employee provided disabil-

ity policy.

2. The policy was not employer funded.

3. The defendant removed the state action to Federal

Court pursuant to ERISA but the defendant is not

an ERISA plan or an employer.

4. The defendant’s removal may be proper if the

‘subject insurance policy is covered by ERISA; the

R. App. 5a

removal is not proper if the insurance company

defendant is not governed by ERISA.

5. The proper procedure following removal under

such circumstances is to recharacterize the state

action as falling with ERISA and file an amended

complaint pursuant to 29 U.S.C. §1132.

6. The proposed amended complaint is submitted

with this motion along with a memorandum of law

supporting the motion to amend.

Dated this 15 day of January, 2004.

/s/ Jason W. Whitley

Jason W. Whitley (ID #1027052)

NOVITZKE, GUST, SEMPF &

WHITLEY

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

314 Keller Avenue N. Ste. 399

Amery, WI 54001 (715) 268-6130

R. App. 6a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

Elvis Kobs

65 County Road M

Star Prairie, WI 54026 Case No: 04C 0005S

Plaintiff, AMENDED COMPLAINT

Vv.

United Wisconsin Insurance Company

P.O. Box 2013

Milwaukee, WI 53201-2013

Defendant.

Plaintiff, Elvis Kobs, by and through his attorneys,

Novitzke, Gust, Sempf & Whitley, by Jason W. Whitley, as

and for an amended complaint against the above named

defendant, allege as follows:

I, FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION: ERISA CLAIMS

1. The plaintiff, Elvis Kobs, is an adult resident of the

State of Wisconsin and has as his residence 65 County

Road M, Star Prairie, WI 54026.

2. That the defendant, United Wisconsin Group is an

insurance company licensed to do business in the

State of Wisconsin and is in the business of providing

group benefit insurance to individuals and employers.

3. That upon information and belief, this court may

have original jurisdiction over this action pursuant to

28 U.S.C. $1331 as this action may arise out of the

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29

U.S.C. §101, et. seq.

10.

11.

12.

R. App. 7a

That upon information and belief, the United State

District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin is

the proper venue for this action as all parties and all

transactions between the parties arise and occur

within said district.

That on January 4, 2002 and all other times relevant

to the causes of action set forth below, the plaintiff,

Elvis Kobs, was covered by a policy of insurance is-

sued by United Wisconsi . Group.

That pursuant to the terms of that policy, Elvis Kobs

was provided with disability benefits.

That pursuant to the terms of the benefit plan pro-

vided by United Wisconsin Group, the plaintiff was

provided short-term disability benefits from January

4, 2002 through July 4, 2002.

That after expiration of the short-term disability

benefits, the plaintiff requested long-term disability

benefits pursuant to the terms of the defendant's

plan.

That despite meeting the qualifications and criteria

for payment of long-term disability benefits, the de-

fendant has denied said benefits to the plaintiff.

That the plaintiff has duly and properly complied

with all administrative remedies provided by the plan

in seeking review of the plans denial of long-term dis-

ability benefits.

That by and pursuant to the disability plan issued by

the defendant, the plaintiff is entitled to receive long-

term disability benefits.

That the defendant has denied long-term disability

benefits to the plaintiff.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

R. App. 8a

That such denial is a violation of the terms of the

policy and entitles the plaintiff to all rights and

remedies provided by the Employee Retirement In-

come Security Act of 1974.

That since July 4, 2002, the plaintiff, due to injury

and/or illness has been unable to perform the mate-

rial duties of his regular occupation for a period of 180

days since the onset of total disability and through

the 24 month period following the elimination period

and the plaintiff has been unable to perform any of

the material duties of any gainful occupation for

which he may reasonably fitted by education, training

or experience, due to injury and/or illness.

That plaintiff brings this action pursuant to 29 U.S.C.

§1132 and demands enforcement of the provisions of

the insurance plan, actual attorney fees, interest,

costs, and any equitable relief necessary to protect the

plaintiff’s rights under the plan and under ERISA.

That pursuant to Lutheran Medical Center v. Contrac-

tors, Laborers, Teamsters, and Engineers Health and

Welfare Plan, and Rivera v. Benefit Trust Life Insur-

ance Company, plaintiff seeks prejudgment interest

on the total of the delayed benefits.

That pursuant to 29 U.S.C. §1132 and Merideth v.

Navistar International Transportation Corporation,

the plaintiff demands payment of actual attorney's

fees and costs incurred in the prosecution of this ac-

tion.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff demands enforcement of the

plan, payment of past benefits due, payment of future

benefits due, actual attorney fees and costs, payment of

interest on past due benefits and judgment against the

defendant for all amounts past due with interest, costs

R. App. 9a

and attorney fees, and equitable relief as necessary to

ensure defendant's compliance with the policy and ERISA.

II. Second Cause of Action - State Law Claims

18. That the defendant, United Wisconsin Group is an

insurance company licensed to do business in the

State of Wisconsin and is in the business of providing

group benefit insurance to individuals and employers.

19. That, upon information and belief, the defendant may

not be an ERISA plan subject to federal preemption of

state law claims.

20. That on January 4, 2002 and all other times relevant

to the causes of action set forth below, the plaintiff,

Elvis Kobs, was covered by a policy of insurance is-

sued by United Wisconsin Group.

21. That pursuant to the terms of that policy, Elvis Kobs

is provided with disability benefits.

22. That pursuant to the terms of the benefit plan pro-

vided by United Wisconsin Group, the plaintiff was

provided short-term disability benefits from January

4, 2002 through July 4, 2002.

23. That after expiration of the short-term disability

benefits, the plaintiff requested long-term disability

benefits pursuant to the terms of the defendant's

plan.

24. That despite meeting the qualifications and criteria

for payment of long-term disability benefits, the de-

fendants have denied said benefits to the plaintiff.

25. That the plaintiff has duly and properly complied

with all administrative remedies provided by the plan

in seeking review of the plans denial of long-term dis-

ability benefits.

26.

29.

30.

R. App. 10a

That by and pursuant to the disability plan issued by

the defendant, the plaintiff is entitled to receive long-

term disability benefits.

. That the defendant has denied long-term disability

benefits to the plaintiff.

That such denial is a violation of the terms of the

policy and constitutes breach of contract.

That since July 4, 2002, the plaintiff, due to injury

and/or illness has been unable to perform the mate-

rial duties of his regular occupation for a period of 180

days since the onset of total disability and through

the 24 month period following the elimination period

and the plaintiff has been unable to perform any of

the material duties of any gainful occupation for

which he may reasonably fitted by education, training

or experience, due to injury and/or illness.

That as a result of said breach, the plaintiff has been

damaged in an amount of money equal to his lost

benefits, interest, attorney's fees, and other-costs as-

sociated with this action.

Wherefore, plaintiff demands judgment against the

defendant for a specific performance of the contract terms

or in the alternative damages including consequential

damages plus costs, attorney's fees, pre-judgment interest

and such other relief as the court deems just and equita-

ble.

R. App. lla

DATED: 1-15-04 NOVITZKE GUST, SEMPF &

WHITLEY

/s/ Jason W. Whitley

Jason W. Whitley (ID # 1027052)

Attorneys for Plaintiff

314 Keller Ave No Ste 399

Amery WI 54001

(715) 268-6130

A TWELVE-PERSON JURY IS DEMANDED

R. App. 124

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

Elvis Kobs

65 County Road M

Star Prairie, WI 54026

Plaintiff, CASE NO: 04-C-0005-S

District Judge John C. Shabaz

United Wisconsin Insurance Company

P.O. Box 2013

Milwaukee, WI 53201-2013

Defendant.

RULE 26(F) JOINT REPORT

Pursuant to the Court’s Order and Federal Rule of

Procedure 26(f), the parties hereby submit this joint report

to facilitate the scheduling and disposition of the above-

captioned case:

1. Potenti ediation or Settlement of Ca

During the 26(f) conference, the parties discussed the

possibility of mediation in an effort to settle the case. The

parties acknowledged the extent of the medical records at

issue herein and the need for review of same. The parties

also contemplate briefing summary judgment.

Consequently, should this case not be resolved as a

result of summary judgment, the parties have mutually

agreed to arrange a mediation. The Court’s analysis of the

summary judgment motion is likely to affect the parties’

evaluation of the merits of this case and their respective

R. App. 13a

settlement positions. If the parties choose to pursue

mediation, they will use a mutually-agreed upon private

mediator and share the costs of mediation equally.

2. Initial Disclosures/Mandatory Discovery

The parties do not anticipate any changes to the

timing, form or requirement for disclosures under Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 26(a).

The Plaintiff has requested a copy of the Defendant's

administrative file and a list of persons materially in-

volved in the Defendant’s decision to deny long-term

disability benefits. The parties have agreed that time need

not be spent exchanging copies of medical records as it is

likely they are in possession of identical documents. The

Defendant has requested a list of the Plaintiff's relevant

physicians. The Plaintiff claims he has insufficient infor-

mation to specifically calculate a damage demand but will

phrase his damage estimate in terms of how many months

for which be is claiming to be disabled. The Defendant

acknowledged that it has reinsurance relative to the claim

at issue, and the Plaintiff has requested a copy of the

applicable reinsurance agreement.

These disclosures will be made within the time set

forth in Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26(a)(1).

3. Subjects of Discovery/Completion of Discovery

Although the parties do not believe that this case

requires extensive discovery, the Plaintiff has acknowledged

that he wants to conduct the deposition of at least one

person material in the Defendant's decision to deny long-

term disability benefits to the Plaintiff. The Defendant has

R. App. 14a

indicated that it will object to such deposition(s) because,

under an arbitrary and capricious standard of review,

discovery that seeks to examine the thought processes of

the decision-makers is precluded [see Perlman v. Swiss

Bank Corp. Comprehensive Disability Protection Plan, 195

F.3d 975 (7th Cir. 1999)|. The parties contemplate complet-

ing discovery within ninety (90) days of this report. The

parties do not request any change in the discovery limita-

tions imposed by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure or

Local Rules.

4. Any Other Orders

The parties do not request any additional orders from

the Court at this time.

Dated this 27th day of January, 2004.

NOVITZKE GUST, SEMPF &

WHITLEY

Attorneys for the Plaintiff

/s/ Jason W. Whiley

Jason W. Whitley

Wis. Bar. No.: 1027052

314 Keller Avenue N. Ste. 399

~ Amery WI 54001

(715) 268-6130

R. App. 15a

UNITED WISCONSIN

INSURANCE-COMPANY

/s/ Carol L. Dorner

Carol L. Dorner,

Attorney for Defendant

Wis. Bar No.: 1032239 x

401 West Michigan, woci0

Milwaukee, WI 53203

(414) 226-60

R. App. 16a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

ELVIS KOBS,

Plaintiff, PRELIMINARY

PRE-TRIAL

V. CONFERENCE

UNITED WISCONSIN ORDER

INSURANCE COMPANY, 04-C-005-8

Defendant.

Preliminary pre-trial conference was held by tele-

phone in the above entitled matter on January 27, 2004,

the plaintiff having appeared by Novitzke, Gust, Sempf &

Whitley by Jason W. Whitley; defendant by United Wis-

consin Group by Carol L. Dorner. Honorable John C.

Shabaz, District Judge, presided.

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that all dispositive motions to be

filed during the pendency of this matter, to include mo-

tions for summary judgment, shall be accompanied by

memoranda of law; opposing party being given 20 calendar

days to respond; and the moving party 10 calendar days to

reply.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all motions for

summary judgment and other dispositive motions shall be

served and filed not later than May 1, 2004; motions for

summary judgment in accordance with local rule, a copy of

which is enclosed.

R. App. 17a

IT IS FURTHER OKDERED that nondispositive

motions, to include procedural motions, may be heard

upon five days notice on any Wednesday morning by

telephone at 8:00 A.M. or earlier, moving party to initiate

the telephone conference to 608-264-5504.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that discovery shall be

completed and all depositions taken not later than June

10, 2004.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following

discovery materials will not be filed with the Court unless

they concern a motion or other matter under consideration

by the Court: interrogatories; responses to interrogatories;

requests for documents; responses to requests for docu-

ments; requests for admission; and responses to requests

for admission.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that final pre-trial

conference is scheduled for June 14, 2004, at 1:00 PM.,

pursuant to the provisions of Order Prior to Final Pre-trial

Conference, a copy of which is also enclosed.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that trial to the Court is

scheduled to commence June 25, 2004, at 8:30 A.M.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff's motion to

amend complaint is GRANTED.

Entered this 27th day of January, 2004

BY THE COURT:

/s/ John C. Shabaz

JOHN C. SHABAZ

District Judge

R. App. 18a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

ELVIS KOBS,

Plaintiff,

MEMORANDUM

Vv. AND ORDER

UNITED WISCONSIN 04-C-005-S

INSURANCE COMPANY,

De*“2ndant.

Plaintiff Elvis Kobs commenced this action in Polk

County Circuit Court against defendant United Wisconsin

Insurance Company alleging breach of contract and

seeking benefits allegedly due under a long-term disability

policy held by plaintiff’s former employer and insured by

defendant. Defendant removed pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1441(a) arguing that plaintiff’s breach of contract claim

is preempted by the Employee Retirement Income Secu-

rity Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. § 1132(e)(1). Defendant then

moved to dismiss plaintiff’s breach of contract cause of

action as preempted by ERISA. Plaintiff was granted leave

to amend the complaint to state an ERISA claim. The

matter is presently before the Court on defendant’s motion

to dismiss plaintiff’s second cause of action for breach of

contract as preempted by ERISA. The following facts are

taken from plaintiff’s amended complaint and the policy,

which was referred to in the complaint and provided to the

R. App. 19a

Court in the form of an attachment to defendant’s motion

to dismiss.’

BACKGROUND

Plaintiff was a participant in a long-term disability

group insurance policy issued by defendant to plaintiff’s

former employer Bernard’s Northtown, Inc. Plaintiff

received short-term disability benefits from January 4,

2002 through July 4, 2002. After plaintiff’s short-term

benefits expired, plaintiff requested long-term benefits.

Plaintiff’s request was denied. Plaintiff exhausted his

administrative remedies and brought suit for breach of

contract alleging a violation of the terms of the policy.

MEMORANDUM

Defendant moves to dismiss plaintiff’s second cause of

action for breach of contract arguing that it is preempted

by ERISA. Plaintiff states in his brief in opposition to

defendant’s motion that “defendant may not have a suffi-

cient basis to assert that this case is governed by ERISA

because the defendant is not an employer and is not an

ERISA plan. The defendant is an insurance company.”

Citing Perto v. D.W.G. Corp., 148 Wis. 2d 725, 727, 436

N.W.2d 875, 876 (Ct. App. 1989), plaintiff argues:

The general rule is that ERISA does preempt

state claims regarding employer sponsored bene-

fits plans. However, the general rule only applies

' Documents that a defendant attaches to a motion to dismiss are

properly considered if they are referred to in the plaintiff's complaint

and are central to his claim. Venture Assocs. Corp. v. Zenith Data

Systems Corp., 987 F.2d 429, 431 (7th Cir. 1993).

R. App. 20a

to circumstances where the ‘plan’ is self-funded

and is not insured. If the plan is insured, then

state regulation is ‘saved’ from preemption. ER-

ISA only preempts state law claims if the plan

under consideration is an uninsured plan, that

is, funded through employer/employee contribu-

tions rather than through purchased private in-

surance.

Plaintiff’s argument is unpersuasive.

Plaintiff alleges a state law cause of action for breach

of contract against an insurance company seeking to

recover benefits allegedly due under a welfare benefit plan

established by plaintiff’s former employer through the

purchase of insurance from defendant. Such a cause of

action is preempted by ERISA. Pilot Life Ins. Co. v.

Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1986). Accordingly, defendant’s

motion to dismiss plaintiff's breach of contract cause of

action must be granted.

Plaintiff’s argument confuses the relationship be-

tween ERISA’s three main preemption-related provisions:

the “preemption clause,” the “saving clause,” and the

“deemer clause.” The “preemption clause” provides that if

a state law relates to an employee benefit plan, then the

state law is preempted unless it is “saved” from preemp-

tion by the saving clause. 29 U.S.C. § 1441(a). The “saving

clause” excepts (or “saves”) from the preemption clause

any law that regulates insurance. Jd. § 1144(b)(2)(A).

Finally, the “deemer cl. use” clarifies that state laws which

purport to regulate insurance (and would therefore other-

wise fall under the saving clause) may not deem an em-

ployee benefit plan to be an insurance company. /d.

§ 1144(b)(2\B).

R. App. 2la

The first preemption-related clause is the “preemption

clause.” The preemption clause applies to any “state law”

that “relate[s] to” an “employee benefit plan.” Jd. § 1441(a).

ERISA defines the term “state law” broadly to include “ail

laws, decisions, rules, regulations, or other State action

having the effect of law.” Id. § 1144(c)(1). Accordingly, the

U.S. Supreme Court has interpreted the term “state law”

to include common law causes of action for breach of

contract. See Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 47-48 & n.1. The

phrase “relate to” in the preemption clause has a “broad

common-sense meaning.” Jd. at 47. A state law “relate/[s)

to” an employee benefit plan “in the normal sense of the

phrase, if it has a connection with or reference to such a

plan.” Metro. Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724,

739 (1984) (quoting Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S.

85, 97 (1983)). Plaintiff’s state law cause of action has a

connection with the long-term disability group insurance

policy because his claim seeks benefits allegedly due under

the policy. See Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 47-48. Accordingly,

plaintiff’s breach of contract cause of action invokés a

“state law” that “relates to” the group insurance policy.

The inquiry then becomes whether the policy is part of an

“employee benefit plan.”

An “employee welfare benefit plan” is one type of

“employee benefit plan.” 29 U.S.C. § 1002(3). An “employee

welfare benefit plan” is defined in relevant part as follows:

any plan, fund, or program ... established or

maintained by an employer .. . for the purpose of

providing for its participants or their beneficiar-

ies, through the purchase of insurance or other-

wise, (A) medical, surgical, or hospital care or

benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness, ac-

cident, disability, death or unemployment, or va-

cation benefits, apprenticeship or other training

R. App. 22a

programs, or day care centers, scholarship funds,

or prepaid legal services.

29 U.S.C. § 1002(1).

Defendant’s policy is part of an “employee welfare

benefit plan.” Plaintiff was a participant in a group health

insurance policy issued by defendant to plaintiff’s former

employer Bernard’s Northtown, Inc. to provide benefits

including long-term disability benefits to participants.

“(Bly its express terms, ERISA encompasses welfare plans

provided through the purchase of insurance.” Fugarino v.

Hartford Life & Accident Ins. Co., 969 F.2d 178, 183 (6th

Cir. 1992) (construing 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1)). It is “common

practice” for employers to establish plans that provide

disability benefits to their employees through the pur-

chase of a group health insurance policy from a commer-

cial insurance company. /d. (citing Metro. Life, 471 U.S. at

727). Accordingly, plaintiff’s breach of contract cause of

action falls under the preemption clause.

The second preemption-related clause is the “saving

clause.” The saving clause excepts from the preemption

clause any law that “regulates insurance.” 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(b)(2)(A). For a law to “regulate[] insurance” it must

be specifically directed towards the insurance industry.

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 50. For example, in Rimes v. State

Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co., the Wisconsin

Supreme Court held that under Wisconsin subrogation law

an insurer cannot share in the recovery from a tortfeasor if

the total amount recovered by the insured from the in-

surer and the wrongdoer does not cover the insured’s

entire loss. 106 Wis. 2d 263, 316 N.W.2d 348 (1982), cited

in Perto, 148 Wis. 2d at 727, 436 N.W.2d at 876; see also

R. App. 23a

Paulson v. Allstate Ins. Co., 2003 WI 99, 263 Wis. 2d 520,

665 N.W.2d 744. This equitable principle is specifically

directed at the insurance industry. Accordingly, it is saved

from preemption as a law that regulates insurance.

To the contrary, a cause of action for breach of contract

is not specifically directed towards the insurance industry.

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 50. Accordingly, the saving clause

does not apply to plaintiff’s breach of contract cause of

action. Plaintiff’s breach of contract cause of action is

preempted by ERISA.

The third preemption-related clause is the “deemer

clause.” The deemer clause clarifies that state laws which

purport to regulate insurance companies may not deem an

employee benefit plan to be an insurance company. 29

U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2XB). In other words, employers who

provide disability benefits through plans that are funded

through employer/employee contributions rather than

through purchased private insurance (“self-funded plans”)

are exempt from state laws that regulate insurance. Smith

v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 959 F.2d 655, 657 (7th Cir.

1992). In Perto, the Court found that the plan could not be

“deemed” to be an insurance company because the plan

was a self-funded plan. 148 Wis. 2d at 728, 436 N.W.2d at

876. Consequently, the plan was exempt from the subroga-

tion limitation announced in Rimes. Id.

The deemer clause has no application to plaintiff’s

breach of contract cause of action. First, plaintiff’s breach

of contract cause of action does not purport to regulate

insurance. Second, defendant is an insurance company;

the deemer clause prevents entities that are not insurance

companies from being deemed to be insurance companies

for state regulatory purposes.

R. App. 24a

ORDER

IT IS ORDERED that defendant’s motion to dismiss

plaintiff’s state law cause of action is GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff’s second

cause of action is dismissed without prejudice.

Entered this 2nd day of February, 2004.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ John C. Shabaz

JOHN C. SHABAZ

District Judge

R. App. 25a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

Elvis Kobs

65 County Road M

Star Prairie, WI 54026

Plaintiff, Case No: 04-C-0005-S

v. Assigned Judge:

John C. Shabaz

United Wisconsin

Insurance Company

P.O. Box 2013

Milwaukee, WI 53201-2013

Defendant.

NOTICE OF MOTION AND MOTION

FOR PROTECTIVE ORDER

(Filed Apr. 26, 2004)

TO: Theresa Owens Jason Whitley

Clerk of District Court Attorney for Plaintiff

U.S. Courthouse Novitzke, Gust, Sempf

120 North Henry St., & Whitley

Rm 320 314 Keller Ave No., Ste 399

Madison, WI 53703 Amery, WI 54001

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that Defendant, United

Wisconsin Insurance Company (“UWIC”), by and through

its attorney, Caro] L. Dorner, hereby moves this Court for

a Protective Order preventing the Plaintiff from conduct-

ing depositions in this matter, because such discovery is

beyond that which is permissible under an arbitrary and

capricious standard of review under the Employee Retire-

ment Income Security Act of 1974 as amended, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1001 et seq. (“ERISA”). Further, even if the Court should

find that the Plaintiff can obtain discovery beyond the

R. App. 26a

administrative record in this case, the Court should still

find that the Plaintiff did not provide reasonable notice to

UWIC of his request to depose a UWIC employee before

May 4, 2004.

This motion is supported by UWIC’s Brief in Support

of its Motion for a Protective Order and Affidavit of Carol

L. Dorner submitted herewith and all pleadings on file.

WHEREFORE, Defendant UWIC respectfully re-

quests that the Court enter a Protective Order precluding

Plaintiff from conducting discovery depositions in this

case.

Dated this 23rd day of April, 2004.

UNITED WISCONSIN

INSURANCE COMPANY

By: /s/ Carol L. Dorner

Carol L. Dorner

State Bar. No.: 1032239

\

P.O. ADDRES

401 West Michigan Street, WOC10

Milwaukee, WI 53203-2804

Phone: (414) 226-6930

Facsimile: (414) 226-6229

R. App. 27a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

Elvis Kobs

65 County Road M

Star Prairie, WI 54026

Plaintiff, Case No: 04-C-0005-S

v. Assigned Judge:

John C. Shabaz

United Wisconsin :

Insurance Company

P.O. Box 2013

Milwaukee, WI 53201-2013

Defendant.

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF DEFENDANT’S

MOTION FOR PROTECTIVE ORDER

(Filed Apr. 26, 2004)

INTRODUCTION

The Plaintiff originally commenced this action in Polk

County Circuit Court in November 2003. Defendant

United Wisconsin Insurance Company (“UWIC”) removed

the case to this Court on the basis of preemption of the

Plaintiff’s state law causes of action by the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (“ERISA”).

UWIC filed a motion for summary judgment on or

about April 1, 2004. The Plaintiff requested and was

granted an Enlargement of Time in which to file a re-

sponse brief, in part, because the Plaintiff’s counsel, Mr.

Whitley, seeks to depose a UWIC employee. UWIC objects

to such deposition because under an arbitrary and capri-

cious standard of review of a benefit determination under

R. App. 28a

an ERISA plan, the scope of discovery is limited to the

administrative record. Pursuant to F.R.C.P. 26(cX1) UWIC

moves for a protective order preventing the Plaintiff from

conducting depositions and limiting discovery in this

matter to the administrative record. Further, even if the

Court finds that the Plaintiff can obtain discovery beyond

the administrative record in this matter, it should still

deny the Plaintiff’s request for a deposition to be sched-

uled prior to May 4, 2004, because UWIC has not received

reasonable notice.

FACTS

The background facts in this case have been previ-

ously set forth in the parties’ briefs on file with the Court.

Further, it has been established in the Court’s Memoran-

dum and Order of February 2, 2004, that the group dis-

ability insurance policy at issue in this matter qualifies as

an “employee welfare benefit plan” as that term is defined

in ERISA.

During the parties’ 26(f) conference on January 20,

2004, the Plaintiff’s counsel, Mr. Whitley, indicated that

he would request the deposition of a UWIC employee

subsequent to his receiving UWIC’s administrative file.

Dorner Aff. 7 4. At that time, UWIC’s counsel advised Mr.

Whitley that UWIC would object to depositions because

discovery in this case is limited to the administrative file

under ERISA’s arbitrary and capricious standard. Dorner

Aff. | 4. This was documented in the parties’ Joint 26(f)

Report dated January 27, 2004, and on file with m the Court.

Dorner Aff. { 4.

UWIC provided the Plaintiff with its initia) disclo-

sures on February 2, 2004. Dorner Aff. 4 6. On february

R. App. 29a

19, 2004, UWIC provided the Plaintiff with its answer to

the Plaintiff’s Demand to Produce and documents from

UWIC’s administrative file, with the exception of medical

records which Mr. Whitley had not requested. Dorner Aff.

7. Based on these disclosures, the Plaintiff would have

been aware that Constance DuBose was a UWIC employee

involved in the review of the Plaintiff’s claims. Dorner Aff.

1% 6, 7.

It was not until April 22, 2004, that Mr. Whitley's

office contacted UWIC via telephone to request that the

deposition of Constance DuBose be scheduled prior to May

4, 2004. Dorner Aff. 7 8. No written notice of deposition

has yet been received by UWIC. Dorner Aff. { 8.

Additional facts will be set forth in the Argument

section as necessary.

ARGUMENT

I. UNDER THE ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS

STANDARD OF REVIEW THE PLAINTIFF IS

NOT ENTITLED TO DISCOVERY BEYOND

THE ADMINISTRATIVE RECORD; THERE-

FORE, THE DEPOSITION SOUGHT BY THE

PLAINTIFF IS NOT A VALID GROUND OF

INQUIRY IN THIS MATTER.

A. An Arbitrary And Capricious Standard Of

eview Applies To This ’s Review Of

UWIC’s Benefit Denial.

The standard for judicial review of benefit determina-

tions under ERISA plans depends primarily upon the

language of the employee welfare benefit plan at issue. The

Supreme Court, the Seventh Circuit and this Court have all

held that if the plan’s language confers discretionary

R. App. 30a

authority upon the plan administrator or fiduciary to

determine eligibility for benefits or to construe the terms

of the plan, then the courts will apply the deferential

arbitrary and capricious standard of review. Firestone Tire

& Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 109 S.Ct. 948, 103

L. Ed. 2d 80 (1989); Wilczynski v. Kemper Nat'l Ins. Co..,

178 F.3d 934, 935 (7th Cir. 1999); Chojnacki v. Georgia-

Pacific Corp., 108 F.3d 810, 814 (W.D. Wis. 1997). Where

the plan’s language fails to confer discretionary authority,

the courts will apply a de novo standard. Id.

“No magic words are required to confer discretion on

an administrator.” Chajnacki, 108 F.3d at 815; Herzberger

v. Standard Ins. Co., 205 F.3d 327, 331 (7th Cir. 2000).

However, the Seventh Circuit has drafted the following

“safe harbor” language, the use of which shall trigger the

arbitrary and capricious standard of review:

Benefits under this plan will be paid only if the

plan administrator decides in his discretion that

the applicant is entitled to them.

Herzberger, 205 F.3d at 331,

In the case at bar, the employee welfare benefit plan

(the “Plan”) that was maintained by the Plaintiff’s former

employer, Bernard's Northtown, Inc. (“Bernard’s North-

town”), and insured by UWIC and under which the Plain-

tiff seeks benefits contains the following provision:

BENEFIT DETERMINATION

Benefits under this policy will be paid only if

United Wisconsin Insurance Company decides in

its discretion that the Insured is entitled to them.

UWIC’s Brief in Support of its Motion to Dismiss, Ex. A, p.

6 (emphasis added). This Plan language clearly parrots

R. App. 3la

that of the Seventh Circuit’s “safe harbor” and expressly

confers discretionary authority concerning benefit deter-

minations to UWIC. Thus, the arbitrary and capricious

standard of review applies to this Court’s review of

UWIC’s denial of benefits.

B. Under The Arbitrary And Capricious

Standard Of Review, Discovery Is Limited

To The Administrative Record.

Under the highly deferential arbitrary and capricious

standard of review, consideration of evidence by the court

is limited only to that which was submitted to the plan’s

administrator at the time the claims decision was ren-

dered. Perlman v. Swiss Bank Corp. Comprehensive

Disability Protection Plan, 195 F.3d 975 (7th Cir. 1999)

(finding that the district court erred in allowing discovery

beyond the administrative record); Winters v. UNUM Life

Ins. Co. of Am., 232 F.Supp.2d 918, 927 (W.D. Wis. 2002).

“Deferential review of an administrative decision means

review on the administrative record.” Perlman, 195 F.3d at

981-982. Inquiry into the thought processes of the admin-

istrator’s staff, the training of those who considered the

plaintiff’s claims “and in general who said what to whom

within [the administrator]” goes beyond that which is

allowed under a deferential review. Jd. The Seventh

Circuit has not allowed parties to take discovery into the

mental processes of the administrator’s personnel in cases

where an arbitrary and capricious standard governed. /d.

at 982. Moreover, if a party desires to add to the adminis-

trative record evidence that the plan administrator has

not reviewed in relation to the benefit determination, the

appropriate remedy is for the court to remand the case to

the administrator for another determination. Wardle v.

R. App. 32a

Central States Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension

Fund, 627 F.2d 820, 824 (7th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 101

S.Ct. 922 (1981).

On February 2, 2004, UWIC provided the Plaintiff

with its initial disclosures pursuant to F.R.C.P. 26(a)(1).

Dorner Aff. { 6. On February 19, 2004, UWIC provided the

Plaintiff with a copy of the administrative record pertinent

to the Plaintiff’s claims, other than medical records for

which the Mr. Whitley has made no request. Dorner Aff.

q7 3, 7. UWIC has also answered the Plaintiff’s related

Demand to Produce based on the administrative record.

Dorner Aff. 4 7. As a result of these disclosures, the Plain-

tiff would have been aware of the involvement of UWIC’s

employee Constance DuBose in the review of the Plain-

tiff’s claims. Dorner Aff. ¥ 7.

On April 22, 2004, Mr. Whitley's office contacted

UWIC telephonically to schedule the deposition Constance

DuBose prior to May 4, 2004. Dorner Aff. 4 8. However,

the mental processes of Ms. DuBose or any other UWIC

employee involved in the review of the Plaintiff’s claims

are not legitimate grounds of inquiry under the applicable

arbitrary and capricious standard of review. Clearly,

discovery through a deposition would examine the thought

processes of the deponent and would expand the scope of

discovery well beyond the administrative record.

Therefore, an Order prohibiting the Plaintiff from

conducting such deposition is warranted. Further, if the

Plaintiff wishes to add to the administrative record, this

Court should remand this case to UWIC for another

review and determination concerning the Plaintiff’s

claims.

R. App. 33a

Il. EVEN IF THE COURT WOULD DETERMINE

THAT A DEPOSITION IS WARRANTED, UWIC

HAS NOT HAD REASONABLE NOTICE SUCH

THAT IT SHOULD BE UNDULY BURDENED

TO SCHEDULE SUCH DEPOSITION PRIOR

TO MAY 4, 2004.

Even if the Court should determine that the Plaintiff

can obtain discovery beyond the administrative record in

this case, UWIC is still entitled to reasonable notice of |

depositions pursuant to F.R.C.P. 30(b)(1). The Plaintiff has

failed to provide reasonable notice of his verbal request to

depose Constance DuBose before May 4, 2004.

In this case, UWIC put both the Plaintiff and the

Court on notice of its position that it would object to

depositions in this matter as early as January 20, 2004,

during the parties’ 26(f) conference and in the parties’

Joint Rule 26(f) Report dated January 27, 2004. Dorner

Aff. J 4. This was also documented in UWIC’s Preliminary

Pretrial Conference Report dated January 21, 2004.

Dorner Aff. { 5.

Mr. Whitley was provided with UWIC’s initial disclo-

sures on or about February 2, 2004, which included the

name of Constance )uBose. Dorner Aff. 9 6. Further, Mr.

Whitley would have been aware of Ms. DuBose’s review of

the Plaintiff’s claims as found within the administrative file

documents produced by UWIC on February 19, 2004.

Dorner Aff. 47. The fact that Mr. Whitley's office did not

request the deposition of Ms. DuBose until April 22, 2004,

and then further requested that such deposition be sched-

uled prior to May 4, 2004, is not reasonable notice to UWIC.

The Plaintiff has been aware for three months that

UWIC would object to depositions in this matter. The

R. App. 34a

Plaintiff has further been aware for two months of Ms.

DuBose’s involvement in the review of the Plaintiff's claims

at issue. Therefore, it is unreasonable for a deposition

request be made upon UWIC and its employee with less

than two weeks’ notice. Further, because I am in-house

counsel and currently handling the workload of another

attorney who is on a medical leave, it would be unreasona-

bly burdensome to my schedule to arrange for a deposition

within the next six working days. Dorner Aff. { 2.

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons set forth above, the Court should

grant Defendant's Motion and enter a Protective Order

prohibiting the Plaintiff from conducting depositions and

limiting discovery in this case to the administrative record.

Even if the Court should find that discovery can be obtained

by the Plaintiff beyond the administrative record, the Court

should still find that the Plaintiff's request to depose

Constance DuBose prior to May 4, 2004, is unduly burden-

some to UWIC and is not based upon reasonable notice.

Dated this 23rd day of April, 2004.

UNITED WISCONSIN

INSURANCE COMPANY

By: /s/ Carol L. Dorner

Carol L. Dorner

State Bar. No.: 1032239

P.O. ADDRESS

401 West Michigan Street, C-10

Milwaukee, WI 53203

Phone: (414) 226-6930

Facsimile: (414) 226-6229

R. App. 35a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

ELVIS KOBS, Civil 04-C-0005-S

Plaintiff, ,

Vv.

UNITED WISCONSIN

INSURANCE COMPANY

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OF LAW IN SUPPORT OF

PLAINTIFFS SECOND MOTION TO CONTINUE

DEFENDANT’S SUMMARY JUDGMENT MOTION

FOR ENLARGEMENT OF TIME TO REPLY

TO DEFENDANT'S SUMMARY JUDGMENT

MOTION and TO COMPEL DEPOSITION

DISCOVERY and in OPPOSITION TO

DEFENDANTS MOTION FOR PROTECTION

The Defendant, Elvis Kobs, through his attorneys,

Novitzke, Gust, Sempf & Whitley, by Jason W. Whitley,

have moved the court for the following relief:

1. Continuance of the Defendant’s Summary

Judgment Motion Hearing and Enlargement

of time in which to respond to Defendant's

Motion for Summary Judgment and for an

order to compel the Defendant to produce

witnesses for depositions.

The plaintiff files this memorandum of law in support

of his requests.

R. App. 36a

The Defendant has filed a Motion for Summary

Judgment requesting certain relief including total dis-

missal of Plaintiff’s claims.

Pursuant to FRCP 56(f) a Court may issue an order

for a continuance to permit the party opposing summary

judgment to obtain depositions or allow further discovery

in order that the opposing party may effectively oppose the

moving the party.

In the represent matter, the Plaintiff cannot effec-

tively oppose the Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judg-

ment until the Plaintiff has answers to certain essential

facts regarding the character and nature of the Defen-

dant’s insurance policy, as well as the underlying facts

regarding the Defendant’s handling of the Plaintiff’s

application for disability insurance benefits. These facts

are essential in determining whether the Defendant is

entitled to protections afforded by the Employee Retire-

ment Income Security Act (ERISA) of 1975.

The Plaintiff needs to learn what information was

available to the Defendant at the time Plaintiff made his

request for insurance disability benefits and also the

manner in which the Defendant handled and processed

that claim subject to the terms and provisions of its own

policy. In addition, the Plaintiff needs to know whether the

Defendant, in denying the Plaintiff’s claims for insurance

benefits, acted in a dual capacity as both insurer of the

Plaintiff and the Administrator of the plan or the policy

covering such a plan. This information is necessary to

determine the proper standard of review because the

defendant is claiming that its coverage decisions are

subject to the strict arbitrary and capricious standard

which properly only applies to pian administrators. Here,

_R. App. 37a

the defendant does not appear to be an not an administra-

tor but rather a mere insurance company.

Pursuant to Firestone Tire and Rubber Co. v Bruke,

489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989), if an insurance company acts in a

dual capacity which places that insurer in a perpetual

conflict as to both the insurer and interpreter of the plan,

then the proper standard of review is de novo. Jd. In the

present matter is appears from the administrative record

that and defendant's position on summary judgment that

the defendant has acted in a dual capacity thus requiring

a de novo standard of review. However, additional discov-

ery by way of deposition needs to be conducted.

At the present time, the Plaintiff is unable to deter-

mine whether United Wisconsin acts as the insurer,

interpreter, and the administrator of Mr. Kob’s insurance

policy and therefore, it is unable to determine the correct

standard of review.

This is an important matter because the Defendant's

Summary Judgment Motion requests a determination that

the standard of review is arbitrary and capricious. It is

impossible for Piaintiff to respond to the Defendant's

Motion in that regard unless the Plaintiff can determine

the various procedures followed by United Wisconsin

Company in reviewing and refusing Mr. Kobs’s insurance

claim.

The proper standard of review is of great importance

in ascertaining whether an insurer wrongfully denied

benefits under a benefits policy. Plaintiff must be able to

conduct necessary discovery before he can effectively

proceed on those issues.

R. App. 38a

Therefore, because the Plaintiff cannot properly

defend against Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judg-

ment without obtaining certain necessary discovery

material.

Dated this 5th day of May, 2004.

/s/ Jason W. Whitley

Jason W. Whitley, #1027052

NOVITZKE, GUST, SEMPF

& WHITLEY

Attorneys for Plaintiff

314 Keller Avenue North,

Suite 399

Amery, Wisconsin 54001

715-268-6130

R. App. 39a

UNIVERSITY OF MINNESOTA

Twin Cities Campus Mayo Mail Code 295

420 Delaware Street, Southeast

Minneapolis, MN 55455

Office: 612-625-9900

Fax: 612-625-7950 -

www.neurology.umn.edu

Department of Neurology

Medical School

SUMMARY OF

NEUROPSYCHOLOGICAL EVALUATION

Patient’s Newme: KOBS, Elvis Kevin

Medical Record #: 0050132702

Date of Evaluation: August 22, 2002

Referring Physician: Neal Melby, M.D.

New Richmond Clinic

New Richmond, WI

I. REASON FOR REFERRAL

Mr. Kobs, a 51-year-old, right-handed man, was evaluated

for documentation of his cognitive baseline in the setting

of his complaints about his memory. Mr. Kobs suffered

what sounded like a mild closed head injury in 1999,

followed by a fall from a roof onto his left side which

spared his head this past January. Mr. Kobs, according to

office notes from Dr. Melby, began complaining about

memory loss after the fall from the roof. He subsequently

was referred to a neurologist, John Floberg, M.D., for

follow-up of his complaints. According to Dr. Melby’s, not

Dr. Floberg’s notes, Dr. Floberg did an MRI scan of his

head and found some sort of abnormality in the right

R. App. 40a

frontal lobe that he reportedly thought was incidental,

e.g., not related to Mr. Kobs’s complaints about his mem-

ory. According to the same set of notes, Dr. Floberg

thought that Mr. Kobs’s memory complaints were due at

least in part to depression, although according to the

notes, Mr. Kobs disagreed with Dr. Floberg, since he

thought his memory problems were worseriing. Mrs. Kobs

reported to this examiner that her husband’s short-term

memory loss has become progressively worse since 1999

when he hit his head at work. Mr. Kobs reported that he is

in the process of applying for long-term disability after

being fired from his job in May of this year. He has hired

an attorney to aid him in establishing disability status.

Il. RELEVANT HISTORY

History of Presenting Complaint; Mr. Kobs was accompa-

nied to the evaluation by his wife Donna, who often

interjected details about Mr. Kobs’s history. Mr. Kobs

reported that in 1999 he hit his head on the corner of a

steel filing cabinet at work. He reportedly opened a door

inward into a room to talk to someone in the room, leaned

in forcefully with his head after closing the door and re-

opening it because the person was still speaking to him,

then struck the left front of his head on a corner of the

cabinet. He reportedly held onto the doorknob because he

went right to his knees. He immediately experienced

dizziness and headaches, went to the bathroom and threw

up, but was not knocked unconscious. He reported that the

skin on his fore head broke where he had hit it on the

cabinet, it bled, and the area eventually turned black and

blue. He did not seek any medical attention the day he hit

his head, reportedly because he had to work. After working

the entire day the next day, he went to the hospital because

R. App. 4la

his head was hurting so badly and he was sick to his

stomach. He reportedly did not remember what was done

to work up his complaints. He could not recall having been

given pain medication. However, he started going to a

chiropractor for the headaches; the treatment brought only

temporary relief.

Regarding the memory loss he reportedly experienced

after he hit his head, he reported that at work his general

manager kept giving him sly (Mr. Kobs used the word

“slide”) comments that he, the manager, could match Mr.

Kobs’s brain any day. Mr. Kobs reported that he did not

understand where his general manager was “coming

from,” since he has reportedly had twenty-six years of

experience as a business manager, and “never, ever made

any mistakes in [my] life as far as [my] work.” Mr. Kobs

reported that subsequent to the incident, he started

having to take a lot of notes at work. He reportedly used to

deal with twenty or more banking institutions and could

remember their fax and phone numbers, but started

having to look the numbers up in his computer. He report-

edly recently went to town and could not remember his

home phone number, so he went to his daughter’s to ask

her. He commented, “I want to know why this is happen-

ing.” Mrs. Kobs reported that her husband’s short-term

memory is getting worse and worse, but his long-term

memory is fine. When Mr. Kobs was asked about his

ability to pay attention, he denied any problems, but Mrs.

Kobs reported that he “almost just doesn’t get it.” Mrs.

Kobs also reported that she has to write out the checks

because “he forgets.” Mr. Kobs, however, reported that he

has cashed in his 401K and brought his first and second

mortgages up to date.

R. App. 42a

In January of this . ear, Mr. Kobs was taking Curistmas

decorations down from the roof of his granddaughter’s

house while standing on one side of the peak when he lost

his balance and fell. Mrs. Kobs reported that he fell

backward off of a ladder, but Mr. Kobs implied that he was

standing on the peak of the roof when he lost his balance

and fell. In any case, he reportedly fell thirty-five feet onto

concrete and landed on his left side. He reportedly chipped

his rotator cuff on the left, injured his left knee, injured

his left wrist and fractured his left hand. He denied that

he hit his head. Reportedly, he was hospitalized for a long

time after the fall, and he was kept stationary because of

the fear of blood clots forming in his leg. He had no sur-

gery after the fall, but according to the notes from Dr.

Melby, he complained about the knee’s not being able to

support his weight. He was also complaining of neck and

low back pain. According to notes from the orthopedic

surgeon, Thomas V. Reiser, M.D., of Midwest Spine &

Orthopaedics, MRI scan of his lumbar spine done in April,

2002 revealed degenerative disc disease at L3 through L5

without herniation, mild stenosis at L3-L4 and L4-L5, and

a small central herniation of “questionable significance” at

L5-S1. MRI scan of the cervical spine in March, 2002,

revealed mild degenerative disc disease at C3-C4 and

herniation at C5-C6, according to notes from Dr. Reiser.

Dr. Reiser commented that he thought the pain he was

experiencing was due to an aggravation of pre-existing

disc disease.

According to Dr. Melby’s notes, Mr. Kobs sustained a torn

horn of the meniscus medial compartment in a fall, which

fall is unclear since he had fallen at work and he fell from

the roof. This tear was subsequent to arthroscopy and

R. App. 43a

meniscectomy done in the fall of 2001 because of pre-

existing complaints about his knee. After the surgery, he

continued to complain that his knee felt unstable. He was

referred back to Dr. Engelking, the surgeon, told to con-

tinue with his knee brace, and given Paxil and analgesics.

Notes from Dr. Engelking were not available, but appar-

ently after all of this, he fell from the roof. Subsequent to

the fall, Mr. Kobs experienced chronic edema in that leg

and examination for deep vein thrombosis was undertaken

by Dr. Melby, with negative results.

Of interest were the notes from Dr. Reiser dated December

28, 1999. Mr. Kobs was reporting “symptoms of neck pain,

headaches, upper back pain and bilateral shoulder/arm

paint to the elbow, with numbness and tingling in his

hands.” Mr. Kobs reported to Dr. Reiser that three to four

months prior to the date of the visit, he was sitting at his

desk and bent over to get into a lower drawer when he

immediately felt low back pain. He received films of his

lumbar spine and was prescribed pain medication. Mr.

Kobs also reported to Dr. Reiser that in September of

1999, he “ran into a steel cabinet at work and sustained a

bruise to the head. He sought treatment at Holy Family

Hospital ER, for neck pain, nausea, and headaches.” He

was prescribed pain medication. He then continued treat-

ment with Dr. Melby for neck pain, upper back pain, and

radiating low back pain. His right leg reportedly was

giving out. After obtaining from Mr. Kobs localization of

the pain, description of the pain, pain rating, aggravating

factors, alleviating factors, and factors affecting his sleep,

Dr. Reiser obtained the history from the patient that a

year ago, he slipped on the ice at work. He immediately

felt neck pain and low back pain, sought treatment with

R. App. 44a

Dr. Meiby for three to four months, then reportedly ex-

perienced a complete recovery. He also reportedly told Dr.

Reiser that after the head injury at work in September of

1999, he continued treatment with Dr. Melby for his neck

pain, upper back pain, and his low back pain. After more

history-taking and a very thorough examination, Dr.

Reiser concluded that Mr. Kobs had “multiple level degen-

erative disc disease with mechanical lower back pain

regarding the lumbar spine.” He also “suspectied) degen-

erative disc disease of the cervical spine and chronic

mechanical pain.” Dr. Reiser recommended physical

therapy.

Psychosocial History: Mr. Kobs reported that he was

married before and had three children from his first

marriage. Donna, his wife, was also married before with

three children from that marriage. Then he and Donna

had their own child — for a total of seven children. Mr.

Kobs reported that he married his first wife at age sixteen

because she was pregnant. They were married in Canada,

reportedly the only place where they could get married.

Just immediately before or after deciding to leave his first

wife, she became pregrant with their third child. He

reportedly met Donna and then they had a child -

Shantel, age twenty-five. His third son by his first wife

was born after Mr. Kobs left. This son is also twenty-five

years old. His other two children from his first wife are

reportedly thirty-two and twenty-eight. However, if he was

married at age sixteen and his wife pregnant at the time,

then Mr. Kobs would only be forty-nine.

When asked how he spends his time currently, Mr. Kobs

reported that he does his exercises three times per day,

uses the whirlpool twice a day, watches the news, walks

his circular driveway for exercise, and cruises his pontoon

R. App. 45a

boat around the lake. He also reported that finances are

becoming a source of stress for him right now. He was on

short-term disability, then was fired from his job on May

2ist of this year. Dr. Melby has deemed him unemploy-

able, both by Mr. Kobs’s report and in a note by Dr. Melby.

However, long-term disability has been denied him until

the insurance company receives the results of this evalua-

tion. He has reportedly not gotten a check for seven or

eight months. Mrs. Kobs reportedly had breast cancer and

both breasts were removed, is an insulin-dependent

diabetic, has been diagnosed with lupus, and is on disabil-

ity because of the breast cancer. They reported that their

children are helping out by doing housework, buying

groceries and offering some financial support. Mr. Kobs

also reported that his father died of cancer approximately

nine years ago, and his mother is still alive and in good

health at age 69. She reportedly works at Turtle Lake

Casino in the Housekeeping Department.

Developmental, Educational, and Occupational Histories:

Mr. Kobs reported that he was born in New Richmond, WI

and that his birth was normal. His mother reportedly had

him when she was seventeen. At the age of five, he report-

edly contracted polio. He was reportedly paralyzed in his

legs and on the left side, but could still use his right arm.

He was in the hospital for a year at Sister Kenny. Report-

edly, doctors told him he would never walk again. His feet

are reportedly deformed, according to Mrs. Kobs, but he

denied that he has any leg wasting. He also reportedly not

only learned to walk again, but took third place in a

regional track meet when he was in the third grade.

He denied any developmental delays and added that he was

advanced in talking, crawling and walking. He reported

R. App. 46a

that he started school at the usual time, apparently

despite having had polio at age five. He reported that he

went to high school in Glenwood, Illinois, and graduated

from high school in LaSalle, IL. He then finished two

years of college at Boston College. When asked why he

quit, he reported that he got into “the car and people

business.” He reported that he really enjoyed the challenge

of financing people who could not otherwise get financing.

He reportedly tried to enlist in the Air Force at the age of

seventeen or eighteen, but was turned down because of the

history of polio.

Mr. Kobs reported that he had worked for eight years at

the company which fired him in May. This company — a car

dealership — reportedly did not have a leasing and finance

department until Mr. Kobs started one and built it up.

Prior to this he spent thirteen years at another dealership

on the East coast in Massachusetts. He also worked for

Anderson Windows in Bayport, MN before the job in

Massachusetts. He reported that before he went on short-

term disability he was earning an average of eighty

thousand dollars or more per year. He reported that long-

term disability was supposed to provide payments of about

$4,000 per month.

Past Medical History: Mr. Kobs, as noted above, has had

surgery on his left knee to repair a torn meniscus that was

not related to the fall from the roof. He has also reportedly

had gallbladder surgery. He reportedly suffered a heart

attack thirteen years ago that damaged the lower left

ventricle of his heart. He recently underwent left heart

catheterization, angiography, and left ventriculogram

because of complaints of chest pain, shortness of breath

and radiation to his jaw and right arm in June of this year.

He denied any history of stroke or closed head injury in

addition to bump on his head from the filing cabinet. As

R. App. 47a

noted above, there is a history of polio at the age of five. Mr.

Kobs had not brought the list of his medications, but

between him and Mrs. Kobs, they recalled that he was

taking Effexor, Celebrex, Prevacid, Lipitor, Plavix (Mr. Kobs

recalled the name of this medication), and Tylenol. Accord-

ing to the report on the heart work-up in June of this year,

he was also prescribed nitroglycerin. Mr. Kobs then re-

ported that he is taking Clonazepam for his “crawly legs.”

Mr. Kobs denied that he drinks, but reported that he

smokes about a pack a day, sometimes more, sometimes

less, and that he used to smoke four packs a day. Donna,

his wife, also reported that they like to have a Bloody

Mary together once in a while. Mr. Kobs reported that the

Effexor works very well and he is not depressed. From Dr.

Melby’s notes it was gleaned that he has a somewhat long-

standing history of complaints about depression. However,

Mr. Kobs denied that he was depressed before his wife was

diagnosed with cancer. After the diagnosis, he reportedly

saw both a psychologist and a psychiatrist and was put on

Effexor recently. He commented that she, Donna, is his life

and that he thought he was going to lose her many times.

At the end of the interview, Mr. Kobs reported that he

knows he is not himself because he was very outgoing. He

reportedly could give speeches in front of people and know

what he was talking about. He became tearful when he

said that now he would not make sense. He commented

that he is very intelligent but he frustrates his wife

because he does not remember. More will be said about

affect and personality functioning in the next section.

Ill, EVALUATION

Intellectual Performance: Mr. Kobs was administered the

Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale-third Edition (WAIS-III)

R. App. 48a

in order to obtain a measure of overall level of intellectual

functioning. On the WAIS-III he performed within the low

average range overall. His WAIS-III Full Scale IQ was 80

(low average), his Verbal IQ was 88 (low average), and his

pro-rated Performance IQ (based on four rather than five

subtests) was 76 (borderline). IQ index scores such as

these have a mean of 100 and a standard deviation of 15.

Scores ranging from 80-89 are in the low average range,

from 90-109 are in the average range, and from 110-119

are in the high average range. Verbal subtests tap per-

formance on a range of verbal knowledge and verbal

reasoning tasks and on attention, working memory, and

mental arithmetic tasks. Performance subtests tap per-

formance on a range of timed and untimed visual reason-

ing and visual-motor tasks. Age-adjusted scaled scores are

given below, they have a mean of 10 and a standard

deviation of 3, with scores of 8 through 12 defining the

limits of average.

Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale-third Edition

(WAIS-IID

Age- Age-

Adjusted Adjusted

Scaled Scaled

Verbal Score Performance Score

Vocabulary 7 Picture Completion —

not administered

Similarities 7 Digit Symbol-Coding 5

Arithmetic 7 Block Design 7

Digit Span 8 Matrix Reasoning 9

Information 8 Picture Arrangement 4

Comprehension ll

(Letter-Number

Sequencing) (8)

R. App. 49a

A discussion of these results is integrated into the discus-

sion of performance in each of the cognitive domains

below. The number in parentheses refers to a score not

averaged into the IQ index score.

Attention/Concentration: Mr. Kobs was fully oriented,

except for incorrectly recalling the day of the week. He

correctly recalled the names of the current U.S. Presideut,

the President who preceded Bush, and the Governor of

Minnesota. He could not recall the name of the current

Vice President. He attended to all questions and instruc-

tions. The level of effort exerted was not thought consis-

tent with what might be expected, given his high level of

education (two years of college at an excellent private

school in Boston) and all of his reported occupational

attainments. In short, Mr. Kobs was not thought to be

motivated to perform to the best of his ability, as for

example, on IQ testing. This questionable level of effort

and involvement in the testing were thought part of larger

motivational and personality issues. More will be said

about this in the section on Behavior and Personality

Functioning, and in the summary of this report. His

performance on a task requiring the repetition of series of

single digits both forward and backward was in the low

average range for age (WAIS-III Digit Span). He correctly

repeated one series of six digits forward and two series of

four digits backward. On a task requiring the mental

solution of orally presented arithmetic word problems

under timed conditions, his performance was below aver-

age for age (WAIS-III Arithmetic). Performance on a more

complex sequencing task requiring him to repeat series of

alternating numbers and letters in separate ordered

sequences of first numbers followed by letters was within

the low average range for age (WAIS-III Letter-Number

R. App. 50a

Sequencing). Finally, his performance on a spatial working

memory task requiring him to learn the associations

between four plain white cards in a row and a two-

dimensional spatial array of four disks, e.g., which card

went with which disk, through trial and error and exam-

iner feedback, was mildly to moderately impaired with

respect to the number of errors made, and moderately

impaired with respect to the number of trials needed reach

the criterion of twelve consecutive correct associations

(Petrides Conditional Associative Learning). In fact, Mr.

Kobs did net reach that criterion.

Speech/Language: Mr. Kobs spoke grammatically and

logically, articulated clearly, and understood all questions

and instructions. He occasionally made word substitution

errors, such as substituting “slide” for sly. He also occa-

sionally phrased a sentence awkwardly, such as when he

said he “financed people” in his business, meaning that he

got financing for people unable to get financing to pur-

chase a car. Ideas followed sequentially. Formal knowledge

of word meanings was below average for age (WAIS-III

Vocabulary). Performance on a verbal reasoning task

requiring the generation of higher level verbal abstrac-

tions was also below average for age (WAIS-III Similari-

ties). His fund of general knowledge of history, science,

religion, geography, and literature was within the low

average range for age. (WAIS-III Information). Perform-

ance on a common-sense verbal reasoning task requiring

social judgement and proverb interpretation, was solidly

average for age (WAIS-III Comprehension). Letter fluency,

the generation of words to selected letters of the alphabet

under timed conditions, was below average to mildly

impaired, for age and gender. Confrontational naming was

solidly average for age (Boston Naming Test).

R. App. 5la

Visual-Spatial/Visual-Perceptual Performance: Perform-

ance on a visual-spatial reasoning task requiring the

construction of two-dimensional block designs from a

model was below average for age (Block Design). Perform-

ance on a visual information processing and abstract

reasoning task requiring him to complete a visual array or

finish a sequence using a rule derived from the pattern

was also within the average range for age (Matrix Reason-

ing). Performance on a pictorial sequencing task requiring

ordering a series of pictures creating a brief story into a

logical, temporally correct sequence was mildly to moder-

ately impaired for age (Picture Arrangement). Mr. Kobs

got one item correct on this task. His copy of a complex

geometric design was in the range of severely impaired for

age (Rey Complex Figure — copy), because Mr. Kobs made

a series of minor errors which cost him a number of points.

These errors were largely omission errors, including not

drawing the fifth of five lines, and omitting small details

such as the single line above the small rectangle and the

horizontal line within the large triangle which is a con-

tinuation of the horizontal midline. He also incorrectly

placed the diamond on a line extending out from the tip of

the large triangle on the right side of the figure. The small

square in the lower left quadrant was drawn wider than

the small rectangle inside the central figure.

Visual Memory: His immediate recall and delayed re-

trieval performances, that is, drawing the complex figure

copied earlier from memory after three minutes and thirty

minutes, were solidly within the average range with

respect to immediate recall, and mildly below average with

respect to delayed retrieval, for age (Rey Complex Figure —

recall). Delayed recognition requiring the identification

and discrimination of parts of the original design from

R. App. 52a

parts of other designs was mildly impaired for age.

The pattern of retrieval vs.recognition (e.g., immediate

retrieval, below average delayed retrieval and mildly

impaired recognition) was consistent with a “storage”

pattern. His performance on an incidental learning task

requiring him to draw the symbols of the WAIS-III Digit

Symbol task from memory after transcribing them was

within the low average range with respect recall of the

symbol-number pairings, and below average to mildly

impaired with respect to free recall of the symbols (WAIS-

III Digit. Symbol — Incidental Learning: Pairing and Free

Recall).

Verbal Memory: Performance on a word-list learning and

retrieval task requiring recall of words from four catego-

ries on each of five learning trials ranged from solidly

average to mildly impaired for age and gender (California

Verbal Learning Test). Learning over trials ranged from

below average on the first trial to mildly impaired on the

last trial. His learning curve essentially leveled off after

the second trial. The sum total of words recalled was

mildly below average. Uncued and cued retrieval after

both the presentation of a second list of words (a distrac-

tion task) and after a longer delay interval was mildly

impaired (two standard deviations below the mean) for age

and gender. Delayed recognition of words from the original

list was moderately to severely impaired (four standard

deviations below the mean for age and gender), while his

ability to discriminate list words from other words was

mildly impaired. Immediate recall and delayed retrieval of

narrative information, e.g., brief paragraphs, were within

the average range for age (Wechsler Memory Scale-third

edition [WMS-III] Logical Memory I & II). The percentage

R. App. 53a

of information retained over the delay interval was solidly

average for age.

Psychomotor Performance: Speed of performance on 4

visual scanning and numerical sequencing task was mildly

below average for age and gender, with two errors sponta-

neously corrected (Trail Making Part A). On another visual

search task requiring numerical and alphabetical sequenc-

ing in alternating order, speed of performance was moder-

ately impaired for age and gender, with one error and no

confusion (Trail Making Part B). On still another visual

search and symbol substitution task requiring the tran-

scription of symbols under timed conditions, speed of

performance was below average to mildly impaired (WAIS-

III Digit Symbol).

Motor Performance: Finger-tapping speeds were solidly

average with the preferred hand and above average with

the non-preferred hand. Upper-extremity, fine, visual-motor

speed and control (e.g., grooved peg manipulation) were

mildly impaired with the preferred hand and moderately

impaired with the non-preferred hand, for age and gender.

Mr. Kobs followed directions perfectly on this task.

Executive Functioning: Performance on a nonverbal

reasoning and concept formation task requiring the

successive generation and utilization of problem-solving

principles (color, form, or number) as well as sustaining

the use of the principle or changing it in response to

examiner feedback ranged from mildly to moderately

impaired to below average, for age and level of education

(Wisconsin Card Sorting Test). Mr. Kobs demonstrated a

tendency to sort cards to some principle other than the

most obvious and appropriate ones. Thus, the non-

perseverative error rate, or the rate at which he made

R. App. 54a

errors not pertaining to previously correct principles was

in the range of mildly impaired. Otherwise, the numbers

and percentages of perseverative errors and perseverative

responses were mildly below average. Conceptual level

responding, or the number of three or more consecutive

correct responses divided by the total number of re-

sponses, was also mildly below average. He used each of

the three principles ten consecutive times, e.g., the num-

ber of categories completed was three, and in the range of

mildly impaired. Of some interest was that Mr. Kobs lost

set five times, e.g., failed to continue to use the correct

problem-solving principle despite having just used it a

minimum of five times. This is a highly unusual pattern of

performance suggesting extreme distractibility (he did not

seem distracted), confusion, or resistance to the task. He

also did not appear to benefit from experience with the

task, but it is unclear whether his performance truly

reflected his ability to understand the task.

Affect, Mood, Behavior and Personality Functioning: Mr.

Kobs’s affect during the evaluation was not fully congruent

with his presentation. In other words, when talking about

how he used to be able to stand up in front of people and

make sense when he gave speeches, he became tearful,

presumably over the fact that he now thinks he would not

be able to make any sense in the same situation. However,

throughout the evaluation he gave a series of poor ~

sometimes very poor — performances, yet did not seem at

all distressed by these. During a break from the testing he

was urged to do his best, in response to his question about

how he was doing. He reported that he thought he was

doing well, when he clearly was not. At the same time, he

expressed distress that he can no longer do what he used

to be able to do. If he were clearly upset about these

R. App. 55a

hypothesized changes, then it is unclear why he was not

bothered more by his own poor performance during this

evaluation, and completely unclear why he thought he was

doing well when he was not, yet reporting that he is a very

intelligent person who used to be much better at remem-

bering and giving speeches.

Second, during the Conditional Associative Learning Task,

this examiner inadvertently told him a correct response

was wrong. He appeared to catch this error immediately,

saying, “How can it be wrong,” when he appeared other-

wise to be having trouble doing the task. There was thus a

lack of congruence between his presentation of himself as

not being able to master the task, and his catching the

examiner's mistake.

In order to clarify discrepancies between his actual per-

formance and his expected level of performance based on

achievements in education and occupation, Mr. Kobs was

administered the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality

Inventory — revised (MMPI-2). Mr. Kobs was not particu-

larly willing to admit to ordinary human flaws. However,

he was highly consistent in his responding. In fact, scores

on TRIN (true-response inconsistency) and VRIN (variable-

response inconsistency) were at the lowest level possible

and thus were clearly not suggestive of nay-saying, non-

acquiescence, or random responding. Thus, the elevation

on the L scale likely reflected moderate “faking good,” and

the profile may thus not accurately represent the degree of

psychological disturbance present.

Mr. Kobs is reporting poor physical health and denying

good physical health. In fact, he is preoccupied with his

physical functioning. Mr. Kobs responded in a way which

suggests that he converts stress and difficulties into

R. App. 56a

physical complaints, or reacts to stressful events by

developing physical complaints, such as headaches, chest

pains, weakness or tachycardia. In tact, Mr. Kobs may be

exhibiting classic conversion symptoms. Many people with

this particular MMPI-2 profile develop somatic symptoms

centered around headaches or abdominal pain. In fact, Mr.

Kobs is reporting multiple physical complaints, such as

headaches, dizziness and problems with balance. Symp-

toms appear very suddenly and may abate quickly as well.

Although physical complaints may be the primary prob-

lems reported, he may also feel dysphoric and worried,

lacking in energy and having difficulty concentrating and

paying attention. He may feel that life is empty. He may

appear apathetic. He is conventional and takes a cautious

approach to life. At the same time, he is uninsightful about

his own motives and feelings, resists psychological expla-

nations or interpretations of his problems, and denies or

represses feelings and psychological problems. He may

respond well to direct advice or suggestion, if defenses

(e.g., physical symptoms) are not challenged or threatened.

Mr. Kobs may also seek and expect attention and a lot of

affection from others, and then use indirect or manipulat-

ive means to get them. He may be indirect interpersonally

and not likely to express anger and resentment openly. He

may be passive-dependent in relationships. He is sociable

and wants to be liked. He may be somewhat superficial in

interpersonal relationships. He appears to have a good

marital relationship, and, while he was still working,

probably had good work adjustment. However, because he

produced a “faking good” profile to a moderate degree,

there may be problems with adjustment and functioning

which he did not report.

R. App. 57a

Overall, Mr. Kobs is not a good candidate for insight-

oriented psychotherapy. However, supportive counseling,

especially given the potential seriousness of his wife’s

condition, is recommended.

Iv. COMMENT

Mr. Kobs, a 51-year-old, right-handed man, was evaluated

for documentation of his cognitive baseline status in the

setting of concerns about his memory. Mr. Kobs reported to

his primary care physician that he was having progressive

difficulty with his memory after he fell 35 feet, reportedly,

from a roof while taking down Christmas decorations. He

reported to this examiner that he landed on his left side,

did not hit his head, fractured his left hand/thumb, and

injured his left wrist, leg and shoulder. However, during

this evaluation, he reported to this examiner that the

source of his memory problems was a bruise to his head in

1999 when he leaned into a room and struck the left part

of his forehead on the corner of a steel filing cabinet.

Neuropsychologically, Mr. Kobs’s performance needs to be

put into the context of the seriousness of the head injury

suffered in 1999, since that is the event from which he and

his wife both are dating the changes and deterioration in

his memory. First of all, in that incident, he did not lose

consciousness. In fact, he did not seek medical attention

until the end of the next day, after a full day’s work. It is

unclear how he was able to function that day if he had a

head injury the day before serious enough to have deterio-

rating effects on his memory three years later. According

to the notes from his primary care physician, he did not

complain to this doctor about his memory. Rather, his

R. App. 58a

complaints centered around pain — pain in his neck, lower

back and head, in the form of headaches.

Second, Mr. Kobs was referred to a neurologist, John

Floberg, M.D., for investigation of his complaints about his

memory after the fall from the roof this year. Dr. Floberg

thought that Mr. Kobs’s memory complaints were secon-

dary to depression, not to the effects of the fall. Reportedly,

an MRI scan of his head, ordered by Dr. Floberg, revealed

some sort of abnormality in the right frontal lobe, but

what sort of abnormality was completely unclear from Dr.

Melby’s records, and Dr. Floberg’s dictated note was not

available for review. However, Dr. Floberg reportedly told

Mr. Kobs that the abnormality on the scan was incidental,

that is, unrelated to his memory complaints. Dr. Melby

noted that Mr. Kobs took exception to Dr. Floberg’s inter-

pretation of his memory problems as the result of depres-

sion, since Mr. Kobs was insisting that his memory was

deteriorating.

Third, the larger issue of Mr. Kobs’s continuing presenta-

tion to physicians with complaints about pain needs to be

noted here. Even before the fall from the roof in fact a

couple of years before, Mr. Kobs was reporting pain in his

leg. He had a knee operation, which evidently did not

resolve his concerns about his knee, since after the surgery

he complained that his knee was nunstable and likely to

give out. He also had chronic low back pain complaints. It

is true that Mr. Kobs has degenerative disc disease in his

lower back, according to the notes from Dr. Reiser, his

orthopedic surgeon. However, even with pain medication

and after physical therapy, it appeared that his complaints

about pain continued. After further diagnostic work-up in

response to his complaints, it was still unclear to Dr.

R. App. 59a

Reiser, according to his notes, that Mr. Kobs needed

surgery even after the fall from the roof.

All of this background information suggested that Mr.

Kobs might have presented himself in such a way as to

confirm his own view of himself as memory-impaired and

brain-injured. However, there are numerous implausible

aspects of his performance which raise questions about the

effort he exerted throughout this evaluation. First of all,

Mr. Kobs’s IQ, as measured here, was found to be 80, that

is, just barely within the low average range. This is simply

not believable. There is no possible way that a head injury

of the severity described by Mr. Kobs could have lowered

his IQ to this level. Furthermore, there were findings

within the IQ testing that were also highly unlikely. Mr.

Kobs obtained a score om Vocabulary, which measures

knowledge of vocabulary, that was in the low average

range. This seems an unusually low score for a man who

finished two years of college at Boston College and who

used to make speeches and sell cars, a man who reportedly

was making an average of $80,000 a year or more and who

probably relied on his verbal skills to help him make that

kind of money. Furthermore, knowledge of vocabulary is

pretty invulnerable to the effects of a mild head injury.

That is, one of the least likely effects of a head injury is to

lower one’s score on Vocabulary. Second, on Block Design,

he gave a highly variable performance. He failed a rather

simple four-block design because he rotated it out of the

proper orientation then rotated it back into the proper

orientation after the time limit had expired, yet he quickly

completed two nine-block designs that many patients find

difficult. This sort of variability in performance, e.g.,

failing easy items and passing harder ones, is often seen in

patients who are depressed or who are not doing their best

R. App. 60a

on all items. Third, Mr. Kobs got just one item right on

Picture Arrangement - the first item. He then failed the

next four items. This is a highly unusual performance,

even for people who are mentally retarded. Mr. Kobs, even

given how poorly he performed, is clearly not mentally

retarded. Furthermore, it is again completely unbelievable

that a person who suffered such a mild superficial injury

would experience such devastating effects on his ability to

arrange four picture cards in a temporally correct se-

quence in order to tell a simple story. Fourth, Mrs. Kobs

reported that at times, Mr. Kobs is paying such poor

attention that he seems not to be “getting it” at all. How-

ever, on measures of attention from the IQ test, like Digit

Span and Letter-Number Sequencing, he performed

within the low average range. Thus, his performance was

not typical of someone who is “not getting it.” In addition,

on the Comprehension subtest from the IQ test, a test of

common-sense reasoning and social judgement, Mr. Kobs

gave his best performance, a performance solidly within

the average range. People who really and truly are not

“getting it” would be highly likely to do poorly on this

particular test.

With regard to memory functioning, the findings are very

interesting. Even though memory functioning was his

primary cognitive complaint, there were aspects of mem-

ory functioning that were within the average range. His

immediate recall and delayed retrieval of brief paragraphs

was within the average range for age; the percentage of

information retained over the delay interval was solidly

average for age. On a very difficult immediate recall task,

that is, recalling the Rey figure three minutes after copy-

ing it without having first been told that he would be

asked to draw it from memory, Mr. Kobs’s performance

R. App. 6la

was solidly average for age. Delayed retrieval, that is,

drawing the same figure from memory thirty minutes

after copying it was only mildly below average. It would

ordinarily be expected that someone who has genuine

memory problems would simply be unable to do this task

at all, given how difficult it is. On the simpler task of

recognizing parts of the figvre that werr copied, his

performance was worse than on #ither immediate recall or

délayed retrieval, e.g., it was mildly impaired. However, on

the recognition task, Mr. Kobs made two Recognition

Failure errors, that is, he failed to recognize two parts of

the design that he drew on delayed recall. One of those

Recognition Failure errors was for a part that he drew

almost correctly on immediate recall and only marginally

correctly on delayed retrieval because he drew it sloppily.

Even so, Recognition Failure errors are highly uncommon

in people who have actually sustained brain damage as

the result of a head injury. Thus, the interpretation given

when there are two of these types of errors done by people

who are not brain-damaged is that they are not doing their

best on the task. The only task on which he consistently

demonstrated mild impairment in all aspects of retrieval

was on the California Verbal Learning Test. However, his

delayed recognition performance was very unusual on this

task. Most people do better on delayed recognition that on

delayed retrieval, especially people who have significant

memory impairment. In Mr. Kobs’s case, his performance

on the delayed recognition task was two standard devia-

tions below his delayed retrieval performance, a highly

unlikely and unusual discrepancy.

Finally, on the Wisconsin Card Sorting task, a nonverbal

reasoning and concept formation task requiring mental

flexibility and the ability to profit from feedback, Mr. Kobs

R. App. 62a

gave another highly unusual! performance with respect to

the number of set losses. Set losses are the number of

times a person stops using the correct problem-solving

principle after five correct usages and reverts to a previ-

ously correct principle or an unrelated principle. Mr. Kobs

lost set five times. This degree of set loss can reflect

confusion, or distractibility and problems focusing on the

task, or, as is thought in Mr. Kobs’s case, resistance to the

task. Mr. Kous seemed to be trying not to make too many

correct responses. After he had used each principle three

times, he began oscillating back and forth between the two

principles that were not in effect, as well as using an

unrelated or irrelevant or “non”-principle, e.g., making a

random response.

In terms of strengths, he demonstrated good visual mem-

ory for the Rey complex figure, solidly average common-

sense reasoning and social judgement, and average recall

of brief paragraphs.

With respect to personality functioning, as discussed

above, Mr. Kobs appears to be having a conversion reaction,

eg. he may be converting psychological problems into

physical symptoms, without any awareness of his behavior.

Thus, the results of the MMPI-2 suggested that these

efforts to make himself look cognitively impaired were not

done deliberately, e.g., with the intent to deceive Mr.

Kobs’s view of himself as physically unwell and cognitively

ally in the direction of impairment, when in fact these

results, when interpreted in light of all the available

information, suggest the opposite — that he is not memory

disordered or cognitively impaired. In other words, Mr.

Kobs seems to have convinced himself that he has memory

impairment, with, it would seem, Mrs. Kobs’s unwitting

R. App. 63a

reinforcement. It was clear that she perceives him as

having deteriorating short-term memory, but did not

provide a lot of history to substantiate her view.

However, there is undeniable psychological disturbance

here. Mr. Kobs was probably under-reporting psychological

distress and maladjustment, given his distaste for admit-

ting to normal human weaknesses and character flaws (an

elevation to a T score of 70 on the Lie Scale). Thus, it is

not clear to what lengths Mr. Kobs would go to reinforce

his view of himself as physically unwell and cognitively

aol

As noted above in the section on Personality Functioning,

Mr. Kobs is not insightful about or aware of these behav-

iors, and he is not likely to benefit from psychotherapy

which would offer sophisticated interpretations. However,

Mr. Kobs has obviously dealt with a lot of difficult situa-

tions attendant upon his wife’s diagnosis with breast

cancer. She reported having a variety of other serious

medical problems. He has some injuries as well as some

chronic back problems which are likely to result in the

experience of intermittent physical pain. Thus, he is

vulnerable to depression and he endorsed some depressive

symptomatology, most of it having to do with mental

dullness. It is recommended that Mr. Kobs receive some

supportive counseling and have the opportunity to discuss

sources of stress in his life with a psychologist or social

worker trained in helping people who are caregivers. It

would appear that Mr. Kobs has in fact on a number of

occasions assumed the role of caregiver of his wife. He

appears to need additional support.

In summary, the results were not consistent with the

presence of memory problems secondary to a closed head

R. App. 64a

injury. There was in fact no real evidence that he had

sustained a closed head injury, e.g., an injury that would

have produced cognitive effects. Mr. Kobs’s performance

was thought to be influenced by his conviction that he is ill

and his denial of physical and cognitive well-being. Al-

though an absence of progressive memory loss should be

good news, it probably will not be greeted with much

enthusiasm. There was evidence of a tendency to convert

stress reactions to physical symptoms, and to be unaware

of underlying psychological conflicts or concerns. Mr. Kobs

was thought to be experiencing more psychological dis-

tress than he was willing to acknowledge. It was recom-

mended that he receive supportive counseling. A referral

to William Robiner, Ph.D., ABPP, L.P. or Diane Bearman,

Ph.D., L.P, health psychologists in the Department of

Medicine here at Fairview-University Medical Center, is

suggested. This referral would be made by Dr. Melby. Dr

Robiner may be reached at (612) 624-1492, and Dr. Bear-

man at (612) 624-0933.

With regard to the issue of a return to work, Mr. Kobs

passed along a variety of disability forms to be completed.

It is this examiner’s opinion that he is not cognitively

disabled or memory impaired. However, he appears to

have some psychological disturbance at this point which

would render it difficult for him to be a fully engaged

worker, e.g., he sees himself as too sick to work and he is

sincerely convinced of this view. Further, this view has

been reinforced by his family. He has physical injuries and

chronic low back pain. It is therefore also recommended

that he be referred to Miles Belgrade, M.D., at Fairview-

Riverside, for help in dealing with what appears to be a

chronic pain syndrome. Dr. Belgrade may be reached at

R. App. 65a

(612) 273-5400. Again, Dr. Melby would make this referral

if he deemed it appropriate.

The opportunity to address questions regarding Mr. Kobs’s

cognitive status is appreciated. Thank you for the very

interesting referral. If there are questions about this

evaluation, please do not hesitate to call (612) 625-7423.

/s/ Mary Sullivan, Ph.D., L.P

Mary Sullivan, Ph.D., L.P.

Assistant Professor of Neurology

FILED

No. 05-394 OCT 28 2905

sn OE OEE Se, |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

ELVIS KOBs,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED WISCONSIN INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Seventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR LEGAL SERVICES FOR THE ELDERLY

AS AMICUS CURIAE SUPPORTING PETITIONER

GARY STONE

Counsel of Record

JONATHAN A. WEISS

LEGAL SERVICES FOR THE ELDERLY

130 West 42nd Street, 17th Floor

New York, New York 10036-7803

(646) 442-3316

October 28,2005 ~—

II.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Applying An Administrative Law

“Arbitrary And Capricious” Standard To

Decisions By Conflicted ERISA

Administrators Denies Claimants Their

“Day .o Court” And Prevents Claimants

From Receiving The “Full and Fair”

Treatment That Congress Intended Them

To Receive When It Enacted ERISA...............

A. Equating ERISA Administrators

With Unbiased Federal Agencies

Denies Claimants An Unbiased

Adjudication On The Merits Of Their

Ee es ea ee

B. The Statutory Provisions Of ERISA

Offer No Basis For According

Conflicted ERISA Administrators

Deference Under An “Arbitrary And

Capricious” Standard Of Review ............

Failure To Resolve The Problem Raised

By Petitioner Risks Further Erosion Of

Public Confidence in ERISA-Governed

Benefit Plans To Provide Promised

RR A el

POPP PERU R UEC RPE S REESE SERRE TT

SESE HEE EEEEEEEREEEERREOHEEEE RH RRHREERE HR eeee

' TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:

Administrative Committee of the Time Warner,

Inc. v. Biscardi, 2001 WL 286749

8 EE SCE Se 13

Andrews-Clarke v. Travelers Ins. Co.,

984 F. Supp. 49 (D. Mass. 1997)...............c0000000 16

Armstrong v. Liberty Mutual Life Assur. Co.,

273 F. Supp.2d 395 (S.D.N.Y. 2003) ......0.....0.000 13

Badawy v. First Reliance Standard Life Ins.

Co.,

2005 WL 2396908 (S.D.N.Y. 2005) ...........cccecc00 13

Bergquist v. Aetna U.S. Healthcare,

289 F. Supp.2d 400 (S.D.N.Y. 2003)...........000.00+ 13

Boesel v. The Chase Manhattan Bank,

62 F. Supp.2d 1015 (W.D.N_Y. 1999).................. 13

Brown v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Ala.,

kN EE eee. ae eee 8

Bunting v. McCall,

280 A.D.2d 774, 719 N,Y.S.2d 907 (N.Y.

pK IRL Re REO ese: 2

Caidor v. Chase Manhattan Bank,

29 Fed. Appx. 704 (2d Cir. 2002) ............cccccccees 13

Chan v. Hartford Life Ins. Co.,

2004 WL 2002988 (S.D.N.Y. 2004) .........-ccceeeeees 13

Page(s)

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v.

Volpe,

1 ARE he aE Oat te Bates 10

Cook v. New York Times Co. Long-Term

Disability Plan, 2004 WL 203111

Es Ha SUD cschcnttaclidteiceasniidadiduecctepsenntsiionhesdie 13

Corvi v. Eastman Kodak Co. Long Term

Disability Plan, 2001 WL 484008

a ED cnitancinidiitenincnmnndhdicninsuaibuipiedters wae

DeFelice v. American Int'l Life Assurance Co.,

Re io ee ae te ey Be eriternrirseptincanesesmenbetions 16

DeVere v. Northrop Grumman Corp.,

1999 WL 182670 (E.D.N.Y. 1999)................:c0000- 13

Doe v. Cigna,

304 F. Supp.2d 477 (W.D.N.Y. 2003)...........200000 13

Duchow v. New York State Teamsters Conf.

Pension & Ret. Fund, 691 F.2d 74 (2d

Fes eee icinbiciieteehitiiasntarhtnia htt ccaitailinictncainiatinctagaii 11

Elsroth v. Consolidated Edison,

10 F. Supp.2d 427 (S.D.N.Y. 1998) .............0004 13

Fallick v. Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., ,

162 F.3d 410 (6th Cir. 1998) ..2.0.........ccccceececeeeeees 6

Federal Maritime Comm'n v. South Carolina

State Ports Auth., 535 U.S. 743 (2002)............. 7,8

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch,

SED UWB. 161 (1BGG) .nnccccvccsccsccccrecsecscooss

iv

Page(s)

Flynn v. Hach,

138 F. Supp.2d 334 (E.D.N.Y. 2001)...............0.. 13

Great-West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v.

Knudson,

SORE Cae Sn PUTED cxvnictessnaiaeuedsenvornscabniicatcntidiincts 11

Henar v. First Unum Life Ins. Co.,

2002 WL 31098495 (S.D.N.Y. 2002) ............ccc00e 13

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v.

McGrath, '

Se Eee BAP CID cen sdncnsnsepccbernssdemnctcigaprvatorseinieel 17

Kendrick v. Sullivan,

784 F. Supp. 94 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) ........cccseccecerseeees 1

Kirk v. Readers Digest Assoc.,

57 Fed. Appx. 20 (2d Cir. 2003) .0........cccceccereesees 13

Maniatty v. Unumprovident Corp.,

218 F. Supp.2d 500 (S.D.N.Y. 2002) .......... cee 13

Mers v. Marriot Int'l Group Accid. Death &

Dismemberment Plan, 144 F.3d 1014

ee i iatinntsititticigeatiRaicssbiiids iptuinbasbiienpesesis 15

Mertens v. Hewitt Associates,

Se AE SE OID shcltccrsinenieclsdiestcabubartenseubeadades 10

Miller v. United Welfare Fund,

73 ¥.36 1086 (2d Cir. 1906) ..cccccocccesseccceseessoceccoooses 5

Montesano v. Xerox,

117 F. Supp.2d 147 (D. Conn. 2000)...............00. 13

Page(s)

Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n. of the U.S., Inc. v.

State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463

ACR SE RENEE aN re 5

Nerys v. Building Service 32B-J Health Fund,

2004 WL 2210256 (S.D.N.Y. Pe

NRE RE AR Re a Dae ar re Aa NE ANS 3,13

Ortiz v. Regan,

769 F. Supp. 570 (S.D.N.Y 1991) ...........:ccccccceeeeees 2

Owen v. Wade Lupe Construction Co.,

325 F. Supp.2d 146 (N.D.N.Y. 2004) ..............0+ 13

Pagan v. NYNEX Pension Plan,

52 F.3d 438 (2d Cir. 1995)..............cc00+ 2, 3, 12, 16

Parry v. SBC Communications, Inc.,

375 F. Supp.2d 31 (D. Conn. 2005)..................++. 13

Perlman v. Swiss Bank Corp. Comprehensive

Disability Protection Plan, 195 F.3d 975

EE ea Meee oe 6

Pinto v. Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co.,

214 F.3d 377 (Sd Cir. 2000)......occccssccerseseseccessesseres 8

Rettig v. PBGC,

744 F.2d 133 (D.C. Cir. 1984) ..............cccceceeeceeees ll

Risenhoover v. Bayer Corp.,

83 F. Supp.2d 408 (S°D.N.Y. 2000).................... 13

Roberton v. Citizens Utilities Co.,

122 F. Supp.2d 279 (D. Conn. 2000)................... 13

Rosenthal v. First Unum Life Ins. Co.,

2002 WL 975627 (S.D.N.Y. 2002) .............ccccceeeee 13

— Page(s)

Schwartz v. Oxford Health Plans,

175 F. Supp.2d 581 (S.D.N.Y. 2001)............. 13, 14

Semmler v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co.,

172 F.R.D. 86 (S.D.N.Y. 1997) ..........:cccccceeceeeseees 13

Shutts v. First Unum Life Ins. Co.,

310 F. Supp.2d 489 (N.D.N.Y. 2004) ..........0c0cc00 13

Smith v. First UNUM Life Ins. Co.,

2005 WL 2475724 (2d Cir. 2005) ............ccceeeeee. 13

Snyder v. First Unum Life Ins. Co.,

2004 WL 1784334 (W.D.N.Y. 2004)................... 13

Sullivan v. LTV Aerospace and Defense Co,

82 F.23 1251 (2d Cir. 1996) ..0..........cccceeceeeeeeeeenees 1l

Thompson v. General Elec. Co.,

2002 WL 482862 (S.D.N.Y. 2002) ............cccceeees 13

Van Boxel v. Journal Co. Employees’ Pension

Trust,

836 F.2d 1048 (7th Cir. 1987) .............cccceeecereereees 6

Varshavsky v. Perales,

202 A.D.2d 155, 608 N.Y.S.2d 184 (N_-Y.

ea Tas TN eiticisccennithiiininnnniciinieaniapitaatinventnians 1

Wagner v. First Unum Life Ins. Co.,

2003 WL 21960997 (S.D.N.Y. 2003) .................+. 13

Waksman v. IBM Separation Allowance Plan,

138 Fed. Appx. 370 (2d Cir. 2005) ..........cccccceeee 13

Weaver v. New York City Employees’

Retirement System, 717 F. Supp. 1039

ees I ecehiteccicetinentoninhsiiciinininalcincinaiiccningitsti 2

Page(s)

Weissman v. First Unum Life Ins. Co.,

44F Supp.2d 512 (S.D.N.Y. 1999) ........:ccccceeeeees 13

Zervos v. Verizon New York, Inc.,

2001 WL 1262941 (S.D.N.Y. 2001),

rev'd on other grounds, 277 F.3d 635

GD Ci Ce ciricitecepcsndondeeninsictiioitianaliiithindeitiiniadsethanie 13

Statutes, Regulations, and Rules:

SD UGG. 8 BATT cercccrcrercsensiomicntimanineuntinle

BD TR © BEG vecectccinkctstlitntoaiisitcsstapbitapiisitediciiletinileita 3,12

BOLO OIE i a ee 10

es FG» .” \ eee ies | 10

B AG © TR Pciicncindintinchtcchinintitiiasbidisigtinditsinsibeatiteishiite 10

BD CF Bee SHORTED BEE) ctetnittencsviticsiactecilinthovivintgicdpinatiai 4

Sen, 0h: Wn ee

‘Sup. 6 RR ey rns FIM RTRs 1

Other Authorities: :

2 Subcommittee on Labor of the Senate

Committee on Public Labor and Public

Welfare, 94th Cong. 2d Sess.,

Legislative History of the Employee

Retirement Security Act of 1974

SEIN, FE TN decticicteinietiniipiiccniincaaisaibiintitbdaiatinadie 10

5 The Writings and Speeches of Daniel Webster

ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, Canon 2

ABA Model Code of Judicial Conduct, Canon

SE a a a

Did Insurer Cheat Disabled Clients? , 60

Minutes, CBS News, Nov. 17, 2002.......

George G. Bogert & George T. Bogert,

Handbook of the Law of Trusts (5th ed.

John Larson & Lea Thompson, Benefit of the

Doubt; Several People Accuse Insurance

Company UnumProvidence (sic) of

Searching for Reasons to Deny Claims,

Dateline NBC, Oct. 12, 2002..................

Majority Staff of the House Comm. on Ways

and Means, 108th Cong. 2d sess., 2004

Green Book, Background Material on

Data on the Programs Within the

Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways

and Means Table 13-2 (Comm. Print

Mark D. DeBofsky, The Paradox of the Misuse

of Administrative Law in ERISA

Benefit Claims, 37 John Marshall L.

I a

Peter A. Meyers, Comment, Discretionary

Language, Conflicts of Interest, and

Standard of Review for ERISA

Disability Plans, 28 Seattle L. Rev. 925

Gea cernccecintvcwscsestnesvienveenseseezesceyuscuesepaces

soquvevevente 14

Page(s)

Peter G. Gosselin, State Fines Insurer, Orders

Reforms in Disability Cases, Los

Angeles Times, Oct. 3, 2005 .........cccccccceccerseeeeeeees 14

Peter G. Gosselin. The New Deal; The Safety

Net She Believed In Was Pulled Away

When She Fell, Los Angeles Times,

OG ES En 14

Restatement (Second) of Trusts § 170(1) (1959)............ ll

Restatement (Second) of Trusts § 187.....................c00 ll

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

Legal Services for the Elderly (LSE) of New York

City, New York, submits this brief amicus curiae,

pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 37, in support of the

petition for issuance of a writ of certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit for review

of its judgment in Elvis Kobs v. United Wisconsin

Insurance Co., 400 F.3d 1036 (7th Cir. 2005). Both

Petitioner and Respondent have consented in writing to

its submission.

Founded in 1968, LSE is the oldest organization in

the country devoted to the provision of legal services to

the indigent elderly. LSE specializes in cases involving

Social Security and Supplemental Security Income,

Medicaid, and disability, pension, and other private

employee benefits. LSE assists legal services lawyers by

co-counseling in law reform litigation and by providing

advice, pleadings, memoranda of law, and briefs amicus

curiae.

Like the case at bar, many of LSE’s cases have

addressed issues concerning adjudicative fairness,

including several successful challenges to the procedures

used in adjudicating entitlement to employee benefics.?

' Pursuant to Sup. Ct. R. 37.6, LSE’s counsel] of record hereby

certifies that this brief was authored in whole by LSE attorneys, and

that no individual or entity other than amici curiae LSE has

contributed monetarily to the preparation or submission of this brief.

* Outside of the employment arena, LSE has been active in

challenging procedures that deny the indigent elderly fair and just

adjudications of their rights. See, eg., Varshavsky v. Perales, 202

A.D.2d 155, 608 N.YS.2d 184 (N.Y. App. Div. 1994) (successfully

resisting an attempt by the State of New York to eliminate face-to-face

hearings at home for the homebound disabled), Kendrick ». Sullivan,

784 F. Supp. 94, 102 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) (granting class certification and

denying motion to dismiss in action ultimately settled by reopening of

cases decided by biased administrative law judge) (“The right to an

impartial adjudication is a basic element of due process. This aspect of

See Bunting v. McCall, 280 A.D.2d 774, 719 N.Y.S.2d 907

(N.Y. App. Div. 2001) (requiring evidentiary hearing to

determine whether application for benefits was timely);

Ortiz v. Regan, 769 F. Supp. 570 (S.D.N.Y 1991) (finding

that agency's failure to hold pre-deprivation hearing for

termination of benefits violated procedural due process);

Weaver v. New York City Employees’ Retirement System,

717 F. Supp. 1039 (S.D.N.Y. 1990) (holding that officials’

actions in terminating benefits violated procedural due

process). In recognition of LSE’s contributions and

expertise in employee benefits, the Administration on

Aging (AoA), part of the U.S. Department of Health &

Human Services, has awarded several multi-year grants

to LSE to provide advice and advocacy to individuals with

pension problems throughout New York and New Jersey.

The Seventh Circuit’s rule attacked by Petitioner—

namely, that “dual-role” insurers’ are considered to act

neutrally in the absence of specific evidence provided by

the claimant showing a conflict of interest—is

substantially the same as that followed by the Second

Circuit and the district courts subject to its authority.

These courts are the principal forums in which LSE

litigates cases involving ERISA-governed benefit plans.

Ten years ago, when the Second Circuit first announced

its highly deferential standard in Pagan v. NYNEX

Pension Plan, 52 F.3d 438 (2d Cir. 1995), LSE

immediately understood its potential significance and

appeared as amicus curiae in support of an unsuccessful

motion for reconsideration.

Unfortunately, in the ten years since Pagan was

decided, LSE’s fea: ..-ve been confirmed, as the opinion

has become one «’ | 1e most frequently cited employee

due process applies equally in an administrative setting as it does in a

judicial forum.”).

* As noted by Petitioner, a “dual-role” insurer both makes benefits

eligibility determinations and is financially responsible for paying any

benefits it grants. Pet. 2.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.