Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kurtz v. Ayers

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILE®

nNoO3 23 ZAUS 122003

| Jn The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

ROBERT M. KURTZ,

Petitioner,

V.

ROBERT AYERS, WARDEN,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

AND APPENDIX

VOLUME I, PAGES A1-N4

¢

WILLIAM E. GILG, ESQ.

Attorney at Law, #151991

305 San Bruno Avenue West ~

San Bruno, CA 94066

(650) 871-8647

(650) 873-3168 (fax)

Attorney for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831 -

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

A.

REGARDING GROUNDS #1 TO #3 OF THE

SECOND-AMENDED FEDERAL PETITION

. Is it a defense attorney’s prerogative to reveal to the

police or jury attorney-client communications (such

as the location of the victim’s body and his client’s

initial, since abandoned, explanation), or does the

Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of effective assis-

tance of counsel require the attorney to first obtain

a knowing and intelligent waiver from his client?

. Where an attorney has betrayed material attorney-

client secrets to the police and the jury, and thereby

actually chilled attorney-client communications by

demonstrating to the client that what he discloses is

not treated as confidential, should the Strickland

ineffective counsel standard of review apply or a

less error-tolerant standard?

B.

REGARDING GROUNDS #5 TO #8 OF THE

SECOND-AMENDED FEDERAL PETITION

. Was the Strickland prejudice standard for claims of

ineffective counsel properly applied where a district

court denied such claims by repeatedly observing

that the jury “could still have found Petitioner

guilty” even if defense counsel had performed com-

petently?

il

QUESTIONS PRESENTED - Continued

C.

REGARDING GROUNDS #1 TO #3 OF THE

SECOND-AMENDED FEDERAL PETITION

. Where a defense attorney has conceded that he

provided ineffective assistance of counsel on three

issues, and where he has declined to respond to a

Court’s request for an explanation of his conduct on

other allegations of ineffective counsel, did a district

court error in assuming trial counsel’s actions and

omissions were deliberate and awarding them stra-

tegic deference under Strickland?

. Where the four issues described above were disposi-

tive of Petitioner’s claims and squarely presented by

an application for a Certificate of Appealability un-

der 28 U.S.C. section 2253, have the lower courts

erred in denying such certification?

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.............cccccccsscssscececseees

A. REGARDING GROUNDS #1 TO #3 OF THE

SECOND-AMENDED FEDERAL PETITION ..

B. REGARDING GROUNDS #5 TO #8 OF THE

SECOND-AMENDED FEDEPAL PETITION ..

C. REGARDING GROUNDS #1 TO #3 OF THE

SECOND-AMENDED PETITION. ..............c00005.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIBS ..............ccesccsesesesssecsaseees

PRP MNe SPUN RMEEURIEN ocsccsscsvscssevsvsssescsssensvesesveseossscesens

Se MTNE MEUEEP OY oxscacnsscesensiustconsvsnsssasisnsesesvovsvasevensees

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

_ INVOLVED IN THIS CASE ue. cccccccscsscsceesseeeseseees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........cccccccccececcceccecececeeeee,

1. Pertinent Details Of The Crime..................

2. Petitioner’s Attorney Tells The Police

Where They Can Find Susan’s Body............

D. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO

QUESTIONS PRESENTED #1 AND #2............

E. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO

QUESTIONS PRESENTED #3....0.......cccccseeceee.

F. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO

QUESTIONS PRESENTED #4....0.0....0.cccccscsceee.

G. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO

QUESTIONS PRESENTED 45 .....0.........cceeee.

Page

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT..................... 15

IIIT 3 oo apnea cle aantndeaen aaa aaeiNeendEKE 15

ic aa 19

IIIT <> casos nos cae canbe tse su esi niaiam bien tan 25

SII TIITE . « snce cudiessaaeaadeeeuaeasianenanmbeenmatanniadns 26

ET eT EN OT Oe Te meee 27

PATER reer een Nene oan EE one Way wean vee 29

CPI wicencecsecssctovens sddukdnliicialaaalediakilaliaibeuamnides 30

APPENDIX

A. NINTH CIRCUIT’S 3/18/03 ORDER DENY-

I aaa cia alee ed a a cea Al

B. DISTRICT COURT'S 9/17/02 ORDER DENY-

BE Fi PE nin: dantiesseuiuensibaliccanis miabester atin Bl

C. DISTRICT COURT'S 9/13/02 ORDER DENY-

ING APPLICATION FOR ENLARGEMENT

OF TIME RE REQUEST FOR COA................ Cl

D. DISTRICT COURT'S 8/14/02 JUDGMENT

Be GE EE cain nukesctcandgcabavecenniowumesesaionas D1

E. DISTRICT COURT'S 8/13/02 ORDER RE-

GARDING REPORT AND RECOMMENDA-

IEEE sicxccieads vehontoninetainiaddadcasadbecssencsmeinicesy aadee: El

F. MAGISTRATE JUDGE’S 8/8/01 REPORT

AND RECOMMENDATION......................00085 F1.

G. CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT’S 7/28/99

ORDER DENYING STATE HABEAS COR-

Pe SEE deicshiinstucicdavcceacenndensnennemcmoinin Gl

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT’S 6/18/97

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR RE-

VIEW RE STATE HABEAS CORPUS PETI-

TAAITT ssitiieoonvnoeeinenmialidbinainaeiaiiinnoalameadedite, H1

CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT’S 8/30/95

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR RE-

VIEW RE DIRECT APPEAL...............00:..c0000. I1

CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL’S 5/31/95

Fer INT cctsindacesitidvenscesveisiebnbaatammuaauiali J1

NINTH CIRCUIT’S 5/14/03 DENIAL OF

PETITION FOR REHEARING AND SUG-

GESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC ...... K1

PETITIONER'S 8/6/99 SECOND-AMENDED

FEDERAL PETITION FOR WRIT OF HA-

RE GE Si inteneiecisccissbaanuadietialiahds Ll

PETITIONER'S 4/28/97 DECLARATION IN

SUPPORT OF SECOND-AMENDED FED-

ERAL PETITION FOR WRIT OF HABEAS

CII SINE scl vesietsntisenninetonennaee M1

JERRY HAMILTON'S 4/14/97 DECLARATION

IN SUPPORT OF SECOND-AMENDED FED-

ERAL PETITION FOR WRIT OF HABEAS

CE a vingunierissgnecaniiamnninaeee Nl

PETITIONER'S 11/13/01 OBJECTIONS TO

MAGISTRATE’S JUDGE’S REPORT AND

RECOMMENDATION ............::ccccccsssssccceseees Ol

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

P. PETITIONER'S 9/9/02 NOTICE OF APPEAL

FROM DISTRICT COURTS JUDGMENT

DENYING SECOND-AMENDED FEDERAL

PETITION FOR WRIT OF HABEAS COR-

FATED oxnersescavevncssesuennassenenscesbeonMieueresesaanenbnasenes Pl

Q. PETITIONER'S 10/21/02 NINTH CIRCUIT

TT ES Pie Ba GR cc ceescanescssvnsesocsvsennaseontions Ql

R. PETITIONER'S 4/1/03 PETITION FOR REHEAR-

ING AND SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN

BANC IN NINTH CIRCUIT.................cecceeeees Rl

S. PETITIONER'S 4/15/03 CITATION TO SUPPLE-

MENTAL AUTHORITIES RE PETITION FOR

REHEARING IN NINTH CIRCUIT............... Sl

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 77 L.Ed.2d 1090,

LOS S.Ct. SSBS (1GBB).............cccecccossccsccsssssecessesseccsseccee, 30

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U:S. 722, 115 L.Ed.2d

640, 111 S.Ct. 2546 (1991)... ccccccssseceseecccceeeeeees 10

Fischer v. United States, 425 U.S. 391, 48 L.Ed.2d

hy rs, BEE Ci cecnsinssnroesenkesesesecenteceensens 15, 16, 25

Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 61 L.Ed.2d 560,

I BPI Gi crticicsedeaMbaktasinccicctechsesenceaisienceess 14, 29

Maness v. Meyer, 419 U.S. 449, 42 L.Ed.2d 574, 95

ate We Ce eiicnviccsndeniiicdsctacatisncctesaacesn ee 1++26

McClure v. Thompson, 323 F.3d 1233 (9th Cir.

ERA SNe NMR CRIA 14, 20, 26, 27

Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322, 154 L.Ed.2d

SSA, TFS T.CE, LOBP CIIOG) nccccccccerccsccccccveccecccseees 1, 19, 30

Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1, 75 L.Ed.2d 610, 103

Fs RI ccacacecteitenisdenitinncteemasi tt tools se 10

Nix v. Whiteside, 475 U.S. 157, 89 L.Ed.2d 123, 106

tN em AA: 16, 30

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 80 L.Ed.2d

674, 104 S.Ct. 2052 (1984) ooo... 8, 14, 18, 25, 29

Upjohn v. United States, 449 U.S. 383, 66 L.Ed.2d

lp, BR Cees GOT CED vencveiscsssecnsnnncconesenntataeiaesaens 15, 16

United States v. Zolin, 491 U.S. 554, 105 L.Ed.2d

469, 109 S.Ct. 2619 (1989) ooo. ccccccccccecececeeees 15, 16, 25

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

Weatherford v. Bursey, 429 U.S. 545, 51 L.Ed.2d 30,

Se Res GE GENT Piviiceinnnictsinnanhcntantieanicctiaeneson 15, 16, 25

Wiggins v. Smith, ___ U.S. ____, ___ L.Ed.2d ___, 123

Sens SEY UII os dhs ddcticeninunisiadennendaiaanmnseuniddadeessed 18

STATUTE

es Re ee ae Oe i cikcceccbsacckeececdsvenbucccctdbdevinsecdiees 17

COUR. BOVE GS) & Gd cocorsesnecccseccnscsscssceuvened heckainneaiacaasonneniions 18

Ss FEY UF GIIEE ctsennisiriicenacesnsesekinadiniaenemenctehieeannieniemnniente 18

Se ee i iintntcinsasecmeenepinatinsammmmmenis 18

ee a ee otiacnieictnnestninceenensunieninanines 11

ee Te Ss OF ciniwtintassesiecreininenicaienccaincas a

Tae Oe I itnntenesinisnisiinntabiibiininbinate 3, 30

ee ee ls FE eiterancintvinientniniesens emnaiaeaiiaida 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES

ID isshicincsieicnnniesilcsinanibiscanenuiansteniaedatdiiaiiaaniaumaie 26

SE SION ciscsnciticischansdhisnncdkaidcnmmeneneineeiobemnennel passim

Fourteenth Amendment..................cccesceccesseseceeseeserenes SF

ST Wot ccttideisnisinsnatectiaentaentteeaeindaaenieeaail 14

ENE II SitE acces Jonstiscedidctiaeinensacniciannimacbiednembinenna 13, 15

FR IS RI Sh iicnisicnincencancmvemninennbncesessibinsenientinnidatiinn 17

ABA Ethical Consideration EC4-4 0.0.0.0... eeeeeeeeeeeees 17

ABA Model Rule of Professional Conduct (1983),

UMD TAF sischcsbdacnaidelbnntaindudenacdlananiiaidiasiaanstiaadiniilaaianbiie 17

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Jefferson’s California Evidence Benchbook (3rd Ed.

I eT cuiehinideieaendeadibtienninlidladtaiierer re 18

Lexis-Nexis (2003) California Criminal Defense

Practice, § 1.13(2)(b), p. 1-44.11..........cccccccccocsssscseoccooeee, 18

Stern, Gressman, et al., Supreme Court Practice

(7th Ed. 1993) § 4.6, pp. 176-177 ......ccccccccccccccccceccceseceee. 26

PRAYER FOR RELIEF

Petitioner requests an order reversing the Ninth

Circuit’s denial of Petitioner’s application for a Certificate

of Appealability. (See Miller-El v. Cockrell, 537 U.S. 322,

154 L.Ed.2d 931, 123 S.Ct. 1029, U.S. cert. den., 155

L.Ed.2d 194 (2003) [providing similar relief].)

OPINIONS BELOW

On May 14, 2003, the Ninth Circuit denied the Peti-

tion for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc.

(App. K.)

On March 18, 2003, the Ninth Circuit affirmed the

judgment of the U.S. District Court denying a Certificate

of Appealability (“COA”) in this case. (App. A.) :

On September 17, 2002, the U.S. District Court for the

Eastern District of California, filed an order denying

Petitioner’s Request for a COA. (App. B.)

Judgment was entered in the U.S. District Court on

August 14, 2002, denying the Second-Amended Federal

Petition for Habeas Corpus and adopting the Magistrate

Judge’s Report and Recommendation. (App. D.)

The Magistrate Judge issued her Report and Recom-

mendation on August 8, 2001. (App. F.)

_ The California Supreme Court in two unpublished

decisions denied habeas petitions filed by Petitioner on

July 28, 1999 and on June 18, 1997. (App. G & App. H.)

In an unpublished Opinion dated August 30, 1995, the

California Supreme Court denied Petitioner’s direct

appeal. (App. I.)

2

In an unpublished Opinion dated May 31, 1995, the

California Court of Appeal, Fifth Appellate District, denied

Petitioner’s direct appeal. (App. J.)

and

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

The Ninth Circuit denied the Petition for Rehearing

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc on May 14, 2003.

(App. K.) This Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed within

90 days of that Order.

Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of this Court under

28 U.S.C. section 1254 on the grounds that his rights

under the Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

effective assistance of counsel were violated.

US.

US.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

CONSTITUTION, AMENDMENT VI:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an

impartial jury of the State and district wherein

the crime shall have been committed, which dis-

trict shall have been previously ascertained by

law, and to be informed of the nature and cause

of the accusation; to be confronted with the wit-

nesses against him; to have compulsory process

for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have

the Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

CONSTITUTION, AMENDMENT XIV, Sec. 1:

All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the State

wherein they reside. No State shall make or en-

force any law which shall abridge the privileges

or immunities of citizens of the United States;

;

3

nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.

28 U.S.C. SECTION 2253:

(a) In a habeas corpus proceeding or a proceed-

ing under section 2255 before a district judge, the

final order shall be subject to review, on appeal,

by the court of appeals for the circuit in which

the proceeding is held.

(b) There shall be no right of appeal from a fi-

nal order in a proceeding to test the validity of a

warrant to remove to another district or place for

commitment or trial a person charged with a

criminal offense against the United States, or to

test the validity of such person’s detention pend-

ing removal proceedings.

(c(1) Unless a circuit justice or judge issues a

certificate of appealability, an appeal may not be

taken to the court of appeals from —

(A) the final order in a habeas corpus

proceeding in which the detention com-

plained of arises out of a process issued

by a State court; or

(B) the final order in a proceeding un-

der section 2255.

(2) A certificate of appealability may issue un-

der paragraph (1) only if the applicant has made

a substantial showing of the denial of a constitu-

tional right.

(3) The certificate of appealabilty under para-

graph (1) shall indicate which specific issue or is-

sues satisfy the showing required by paragraph

(2).

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Pertinent Details Of The Crime.

A description of the facts presented to the jury can be

found in the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommenda-

tion. (App. F.)

Briefly stated, the State’s theory was that Petitioner

had killed his wife, Susan, after she read Petitioner’s

“Fourth-Step” Alcohol Anonymous (“AA”) Journal. In that

journal Petitioner had, with all the frankness demanded of

him by AA’s “Twelve-Step” program, described his intrave-

nous drug use and how he had been intimate with prosti-

tutes while married to Susan.

The State’s theory was that Petitioner, a short time

after he learned that Susan had read his journal, premedi-

tated the crime to preempt her from divorcing him, taking

him to the cleaners in divorce court, estranging him from

their two-year-old son, and revealing his behavior to the

community. (App. J, p. 13 [California Court of Appeal’s

Opinion].)

The defense theory was that Susan had attacked

Petitioner, enraged by his infidelity. Petitioner testified,

admitting that he killed his wife, but explaining that it

had occurred accidentally as he attempted to restrain her

and defend himself. Susan outweighed Petitioner by 100

pounds. (RT 722, 732-733, 840-842.)

Petitioner testified that Susan attacked him while he

was occupied with installing a computer for her and that

the computer cables he had draped around his neck

became tangled amidst the two as they struggled. He said

he grabbed a cord that had looped around her neck and

held onto it until she was subdued. To his shock, when he

released his grip, he found that she was dead. The next

day, Petitioner was seen walking with a noticeable limp

and had a deep bite mark on his hand. (RT 728-730, 801-

802.)

The State argued that the circumstance of ligature

strangulation, coupled with a string of lies Petitioner told

after the crime, the concealment of the body, and a remark

Petitioner had made some months before that he some-

times thought it would be better if his wife were dead,

suggested premeditation. The prosecution ridiculed the

idea that Susan, who appeared to be non-confrontational

on the evidence before the jury, and was having a difficult

pregnancy, would assault Petitioner. (RT 900(16-21),

943(13-14), 944(8-17) [D.A.’s summation].)

The underlying pertinent facts are that on January 2,

1993, Petitioner went to an AA meeting. Petitioner’s

sponsor, Reed Harris, noticed that Petitioner was agitated

that evening. Petitioner revealed to Harris that Susan had

found his Fourth-Step notes.

On Thursday, January 7, 1993, Petitioner reported his

wife missing. Petitioner claimed his wife had left their

home at 9:30 PM that evening. Her car was found at their

business. Susan’s coat and the keys to the store were inside.

Susan’s purse, some cash, and a computer printer were

missing. The back door appeared to have been tampered

with. Police officers filed a missing persons report.

On Monday, January 11, 1993, Petitioner went out to

dinner with his mother and stepfather, Kathy and Jerry

Hamilton. During dinner, Petitioner told them that Susan

was dead. Petitioner claimed Susan committed suicide in

the garage. Petitioner arranged to turn himself in to his

attorney the following morning. Later that same evening

he told his AA sponsor, Reed Harris, about Susan’s suicide.

6

2. Petitioner’s Attorney Tells The Police Where

They Can Find Susan’s Body.

On Tuesday morn g, January 12, 1993, the police

executed a search warrai:: at Petitioner’s house. Petitioner

came home during the search and was allowed to get a

change of clothes and to leave. Petitioner went from his

house to the office of William Smith, once the District

Attorney of Fresno County, then in private practice as a

defense attorney. Smith had been retained and the ap-

pointment set for this meeting on the preceding day.

Petitioner, Smith, and Jerry Hamilton (Petitioner’s

stepfather) sat down in Smith’s office to discuss Peti-

tioner’s predicament and to prepare Petitioner for a

voluntary surrender to the authorities later that morning.

Shortly after they sat down, Smith-called Petitioner’s

house. He spoke to a detective, inquiring if anything had

been found at Petitioner’s house. The detective said no.

Smith ended the conversation, only to call back a short

time later. Again Smith asked if they had found anything

inculpatory. The detective again said no. Placing his hand

over the receiver, Smith asked, “should we tell them?”

(App. M & App. N [Declarations of Petitioner and Jerry

Hamilton].) As for what happened next, Petitioner pre-

sented to the District Court two declarations, his own and

that of his stepfather, Jerry Hamilton. Hamilton heard

Smith ask the question, but did not hear any response

from Petitioner. (App. N.) Petitioner’s declaration indicates

he did not respond. (App. M.) Both declarations make clear

that there was no advance warning or consultation on the

wisdom of disclosing the body’s location, just the question,

and a split second later, the disclosure. Smith told the

' detective to look in a particular closet in the house. (Jbid.)

At the time of the disclosure, the search team had left

7

Petitioner’s house, but for a single man whose sole remain-

ing intention was to erase Petitioner’s computer files.

Petitioner had related this information to Smith

before Smith made the calls to the house. As the volice

would later admit, they had overlooked the body in their

search of the residence. The body was secreted in a closet,

wrapped in plastic, and hidden beneath parcels. The

body’s odor was masked by air fresheners. (CT 126-127;

RT 493-498.) In proceedings before the U.S. District Court,

Respondent cited no evidence which would have supported

an inference that the police would have discovered the

body without guidance from Smith.

D. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO QUES-

TIONS PRESENTED #1 AND #2

The questions in this case related to the attorney-

client privilege stem from Grounds #1 to #3 of the Second-

Amended Federal Petition, which allege:

Ground #1: Petitioner’s right to effective assis-

tance of counsel under the 6th and 14th Amend-

ments and his right to due process under the 5th

Amendment were violated by trial counsel

Smith’s wanton mismanagement of information

covered by the attorney-client privilege.

Ground #2: Trial counsel’s unprofessional han-

dling of client’s confidences frustrated the forma-

tion of a meaningful attorney-client relationship

by causing Petitioner to be less than candid with

him in subsequent meetings. This violated Peti-

tioner’s 6th and 14th Amendment rights to effec-

tive assistance of counsel as crucial information

related to guilt, innocence, and punishment was

withheld from Smith and ultimately the jury.

8

Ground #3: Attorney Smith’s handling of Peti-

tioner’s privilege constituted malpractice and

gave rise to a conflict of interest which violated

Petitioner’s 6th and 14th Amendment rights to

effective counsel. (App. L.)

On August 8, 2001, the Magistrate Judge issued a

Report and Recommendation suggesting the denial of

Grounds #1 to #3 for these reasons. According to the

Magistrate Judge:

(1) Asignificant and unauthorized breach of the

attorney-client privilege by a defense attorney is

not “prima facie evidence of unreasonable or in-

competent assistance of counsel” (App. F, p. 13(7-

11).)

(2) The operative question under Strickland

was whether trial counsel’s decision to betray his

client’s confidence was “reasonable and compe-

tent behavior” and, if not, whether there was a

reasonable probability that the error affected the

outcome of the case. (/d., at pp. 13(12-15), 17(19-

20).)

(3) The disclosure of the location of Susan’s

body by Petitioner’s attorney came before the ini-

tiation of adversarial judicial proceedings and

therefore does not implicate the 6th Amendment.

(Id., at p. 17(6-18).)

(4) Even if trial counsel did not consult with Pe-

titioner on the subject, and obtain a knowing and

intelligent waiver, he did give Petitioner the “op-

portunity to say no”, and that was sufficient. (Jd.,

at p. 17(. ‘-27).)

9

(5) The police would inevitably have discovered

the body even without Smith’s disclosure. (Jd., at

pp. 17(28)-18(2).)’

(6) Petitioner’s story of suicide would have been

disclosed even if trial counsel had not asked

Jerry Hamilton about the story Petitioner had

told during the attorney-client conference of

January 12, 1993. (Id., at pp. 18(10)-20(2).)

(7) By answering the questions posed by trial

counsel about attorney-client communications,

Petitioner, during his testimony at trial, impli-

edly consented to the disclosure and effectively

waived the attorney-client privilege. Under such

circumstances trial counsel’s failure to forewarn

* In a Memorandum of Points & Authorities filed in support of the

Second-Amended Federal Petition, at page 14, note 6, Petitioner stated:

.... Petitioner notes that there is good reason to be-

lieve that the police would have concluded their search

without discovering the body. Detective Schiotis had made a

visual search of the southeast bedroom and had not seen the

body. (CT 126(20)-127(18).) The police had apparently fin-

ished their search of the house at the time of the second

phone call from Smith, save for their intention to have a

computer expert attempt to access Petitioner’s computers.

(See App. N [Petitioner’s declaration]; CT 126-127; RT 493-

494.) Detective Schiotis had left the scene, apparently with

plans to return with that expert. (App. N.) Also the body

was wrapped in plastic (RT 487(22)-488(11), 489), and had a

lot of boxes and items stacked upon it, making it difficult to

detect. (RT 484.) A bed was obstructing the closet (RT 483)

and several air fresheners were deployed about the body to

mask its smell. (RT 484-486.)

Neither Respondent nor the Magistrate Judge, ever addressed or

rebutted these points. The burden of the government is to prove

inevitable discovery by a preponderance of the evidence. (U.S. v. Mejia,

69 F.3d 309, 319 (9th Cir. 1995).)

10

and consult with Petitioner was irrelevant. (/d.,

at p. 20(4-18).)

(8) Counsel’s decision to expose to the jury the

lies Petitioner told counsel during attorney-client

conferences may have been “unorthodox”, but it

can be justified as sound strategy, as exposing

how Petitioner lied to his own attorney supported

the defense theory of “Post Traumatic Stress Dis-

order”. (Id., at pp. 20-21.)

(9) Even if trial counsel failed to forewarn or

consilt before betraying his client’s secrets, and

even if counsel’s behavior impaired Petitioner’s

trust in counsel and led Petitioner to withhold

material information relevant to the case, these

circumstances do not establish a 6th Amendment

violation as Petitioner was not entitled to a

“meaningful relationship” with his attorney or to

one of “trust and candor”. (/d., at p. 22(14-24)

[citing Morris v. Slappy (1983) 461 U.S. 1, 14, 75

L.Ed.2d 610, 103 S.Ct. 1610.)’

(10) Moreover, Petitioner’s failure “to request a

change or substitution to counsel before or dur-

ing trial” forfeited his right to complain about

how trial counsel’s precipitous and unauthorized

disclosure of his secrets impaired the attorney-

client relationship. ([d., at p. 22(25-28).)

* True, the Constitution is not violated when a defendant

idiosyncratically fails to be candid with his att»rney — that is so long as

the attorney has been faithful to his professional end of the bargain. In

such an instance, the vagaries of a client’s state of mind are completely

his own problem. However, where an attorney’s unorthodox behavior

hazard’s his client’s trust, that conduct “must ... be imputed to the

State”. (Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 754, 115 L.Ed.2d 640, 111

S.Ct. 2546 (1991).)

11

In an Objection filed on November 13, 2001 under 28

U.S.C. section 636(b), Petitioner contested each of the

above findings. (See App. O, pp. 1-35.) Some of the specific

points that Petitioner pressed were captioned in the

Objection as follows:

Ground #1: A. The Magistrate Judge incor-

rectly concludes that a significant and unauthor-

ized breach of the attorney-client privilege

(“ACP”) by a defense attorney is not “prima facie

evidence of unreasonable or incompetent assis-

tance of counsel”. (App. O, p. 2.)

1. The statutes and ethical standards vio-

lated by trial counsel, which are contained

in Grounds #1 to #3 of the federal petition.

(Id., at p. 3.)

2. Given the purpose of the privilege, a

lawyer who makes significant disclosures of

ACP material without the due consultation

and consent from his client is presumptively

incompetent. (Jd., at p. 6.)

B. Petitioner was prejudiced by the testimony

elicited by trial counsel from Jerry Hamilton re-

garding the privileged communications of Janu-

ary 12, 1993. (Id., at p. 9.)

1. Trial counsel’s improper elicitation of

privileged material during his cross-

examination of Jerry Hamilton at the pre-

liminary hearing. (Jd., at p. 10.)

2. Trial counsel’s examination of Jerry

Hamilton at trial [regarding ACP material]

and the ramifications thereof. (Id., at p. 10.)

3. Further ramifications of trial counsel’s

incompetence: the need to explain when,

how, and why Petitioner changed his story.

(Id., at p. 13.)

12

C. Magistrate Judge irrelevantly raises the doc-

trine of waiver in relation to [testimony from Pe-

titioner] explaining why he lied to his attorney

and why he later decided to tell the truth. (/d., at

p. 18.)

D. The Magistrate Judge erroneously frames

trial counsel’s elicitation of ACP material from

Petitioner as a tactical choice worthy of deference

when counsel lacked the power to unilaterally

disclose the information in the first instance.

(Id., at p. 19.)

Ground #2: A. It is well settled that the effec-

tiveness of counsel at trial can be compromised

by counsel’s conduct before the commencement of

adversarial judicial proceedings. (Jd., at p. 25.)

B. The Magistrate Judge improperly concludes

that Petitioner waived his ACP with respect to

the location of Susan’s body when the facts before

the Court are all to the contrary. (Jd., at p. 26.)

C. The Magistrate Judge’s application of the

‘inevitable discovery doctrine’ is unfounded and

contrary to the undisputed evidence in the rec-

ord. (Id., at p. 29.)

D. The Magistrate Judge erroneously equates

Ground #2 with cases in which a defendant had

competent counsel, but not a ‘meaningful rela-

tionship’ therewith. (/d., at p. 30.)

E. Ground #2 warrants application of the per se

standard of reversal attendant to structural er-

ror. (/d., at p. 32.)

Ground #3: A. Trial counsel’s mismanagement

of ACP material created an actionable conflict of

interest. (/d., at p. 34.)

Despite the above objections, and the extensive

supporting argument for each, on August 13, 2002, the

District Court Judge adopted the Magistrate Judge’s

13

Report and Recommendation. (App. E.) On September 9,

2002, Petitioner noticed his appeal and sought an exten-

sion of time to file a request for a Certificate of Appealabil-

ity (“COA”). (App. P.) The District Court denied the

request, ruling that it was “unnecessary as the notice of

appeal is deemed to constitute a request for a Certificate of

Appealability”. (App. C.) On September 17, 2002, the District

Court, apparently Working from the Magistrate J udge’s

Report and Recommendation filed on August 8, 2002,

decided for all ten grounds of the Second-Amended Federal

Petition, that “Petitioner [had] not made the required

substantial showing of the denial of a constitutional right”.

(App. B.)

As was allowed under Circuit Rule 22-1, Petitioner

then filed a motion with the Ninth Circuit in support of his

request for leave to appeal. (App. Q.) Attached as Exhibit

‘C’ to that motion was the Objection Petitioner filed with

the District Court. In addition the Motion supplemented

Petitioner’s showing with additional argument concerning

Grounds #1 to #3, and #5 to #8, of the Second-Amended

Federal Petition, i.e., the very Grounds which are impli-

cated by the five questions presented in this Petition for

Writ of Certiorari.

More specifically, the Circuit Rule 22-1 Motion filed

with the Ninth Circuit alerted that Court to the debatable

legal and factual issues which were the basis of the find-

ings of the District Court on Grounds #1 to #3. (See App.

Q, pp. 4-10, 20-21 [the Rule 22-1 Motion].) After that

Motion was denied, Petitioner filed for rehearing. His

petition for rehearing raised the legal and factual issues

which are now before this Court in the form of ‘Questions

Presented’ #1 and #2. (App. R.) Before rehearing was

venied, Petitioner also filed a letter brief under F.R.A.P,

14

Rule 28(j), asking the Ninth Circuit Court to take notice of

its recent and contradictory decision in McClure v. Thomp-

son, 323 F.3d 1233, 1242-1243 (9th Cir. 2003) [holding that

a defense attorney’s unauthorized disclosure of the client-

confided location of a murder victim’s body constitutes a

Sixth Amendment violation].) (App. S.)

E. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO QUES-

TION PRESENTED #3

Question Presented #3 is concerned with the structure

of the prejudice analysis performed on Petitioner’s ineffec-

tive counsel claims in District Court. During the relevant

passages of the Report and Recommendation, the Magis-

trate Judge repeatedly observes that the jury “could still

have found Petitioner guilty” — or words to that effect —

even if trial counsel had presented the extra-record evi-

dence which is the basis of Grounds #5 to #8 of the Second-

Amended Federal Petition.

In his November 13, 2001 Objection Petitioner argued

that this was not the correct inquiry. In essence, the

Magistrate Judge applied the Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S.

307, 319, 61 L.Ed.2d 560, 99 S.Ct. 2781 (1979), standard

for claims of insufficient evidence to four claims that

should have been analyzed under Strickland’s “probabilis-

tic” standard. (App. O, pp. 38-53.) This argument was also

pressed in the motion that Petitioner filed with the Ninth

Circuit. (App. Q, pp. 13-18.) Furthermore, Question

Presented #3 was raised again in the Petition for Rehear-

ing filed with the Ninth Circuit. (App. R, pp. 5-9.)

ih eg ate vibe Rr Be eer mew 3g Sa ae ee meta

Pie Aicueniion har

15

F. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO QUES-

TION PRESENTED #4

Question Presented #4 was raised in Petitioner’s

Objection as filed with the District Court on November 13,

2001. (App. O, pp. 53-64.) Petitioner’s Rule 22-1 Motion

with the Ninth Circuit gave the issue additional emphasis.

(App. Q, pp. 11-12.)

G. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS RELATED TO QUES-

TION PRESENTED #5

As previously noted, the District Court deemed

Petitioner’s Notice of Appeal to be a request for a Certifi-

cate of Appealability on all grounds of the petition, and for

all the reasons covered by Petitioner’s Objection. (App. B.)

Petitioner’s Circuit Rule 22-1 Motion for a Certificate of

Appealability in the Ninth Circuit emphasized the impor-

tant and debatable legal and factual questions bearing on

Grounds #1 to #3 and #5 to #8 of the Second-Amended

Federal Petition. (App. Q.) Both that document and the

subsequent Petition for Rehearing, requested a COA on

those seven grounds. (App. Q & App. R.) Thus, this Court

has jurisdiction to consider all five Questions Presented.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Reason #1: Certiorari should be granted to close a gap

in this Court’s jurisprudence regarding the attorney-client

privilege. In Upjohn v. United States, Fischer v. United

States, United States v. Zolin, and Weatherford v. Bursey,

this Court held that the Sixth Amendment and the

attorney-client privilege stand to safeguard a legitimate

16

attorney-client relationship and its secrets from intrusion

by opposing parties and the Government.’ In Nix v. White-

side, this Court made clear that neither the Sixth Amend-

ment nor the attorney-client privilege shields a client’s

announced plans to engage in future criminal conduct,

such as perjury.’ However, the Court has never written to

define the degree of discretion that an attorney. has in

disclosing his client’s confidences about a completed crime,

nor the extent to which an unauthorized disclosure by a

criminal defendant’s attorney may be said to violate the

Sixth Amendment. Indeed, in Nix v. Whiteside, supra, the

Court pointed out the need to address this issue “[i]Jn some

future case”. (Id.; at 475 U.S. 165-166.)

The lower federal courts exploited this lacuna, ex-

pressly finding that “while a violation of attorney-client

privilege, if proven, may be a violation of ethical cannons,

it is not prima facie evidence of unreasonable or incompe-

tent assistance of counsel”. (App. F, p. 13(9-11).) The

District Court observed that it could not “find any state-

ment of law which holds, that counsel has an affirmative

duty to inform his client of the protection of [the] attorney-

client privilege before seeking consent to disclose the

privileged information”. (/d., p. 13, fn. 5.) It then concluded

that Petitioner could not succeed on federal petition

Grounds #1 to #3 unless he proved that counsel’s betrayal

* Upjohn v. United States, 449 U.S. 383, 389, 66 L.Ed.2d 584, 101

S.Ct. 677 (1981); Fischer v. United States, 425 U.S. 391, 403, 48 L.Ed.2d

39, 96 S.Ct. 1569 (1976); United States v. Zolin, 491 U.S. 554, 562, 105

L.Ed.2d 469, 109 S.Ct. 2619 (1989); Weatherford v. Bursey, 429 U.S.

545, 554, fn. 4, 51 L.Ed.2d 30, 97 S.Ct. 837 (1977).

* Nix v. Whiteside, 475 U.S. 157, 165-166, 89 L.Ed.2d 123, 106 S.Ct.

988 (1986).

17

of his confidences was “outside the broad scope of reason-

able and competent behavior”. (Id., at pp. 13(11-15), 17(19-

20).) Thus, under the District Court’s analysis, the de-

ployment of privileged information was within the strate-

gic prerogative of Petitioner’s attorney, just as, say, a

decision to call a given witness (other than Petitioner)

was.

Petitioner strove mightily to persuade the lower

courts that the unauthorized disclosure of a client’s legiti-

mate confidences — especially without advance consulta-

tion — is not within the lawful and ethical purview of an

attorney's strategic fiat. Based upon the relevant statutes,

ethical canons, and this Court’s decisions, Petitioner would

appear to have the better argument.

Under California: Business and Professions Code

section 6068(e), trial counsel had a duty to “maintain

inviolate the confidence, and at every peril to himself...

to preserve the secrets, of his or her client”. The American

Bar Association’s (ABA) Ethical Canon 4 provides: “A

lawyer should preserve the confidences and secrets of a

client.” The ABA’s Ethical Consideration EC4-4 provides in

pertinent part: “A lawyer owes an obligation to advise the

client of the attorney-client privilege and timely to assert

the privilege unless it is waived by the client.” ABA Model

Rule of Professional Conduct (1983), Rule 1.6 provides a

list of well established exceptions to the rule of confidenti-

ality, only one of which is pertinent to this case: A lawyer

may reveal confidential information if “the client consents

after consultation”. Consistent with the ABA rule, a

respected treatise on California Criminal Practice de-

scribes the proper procedure to follow in the initial client

interview:

18

Perhaps the most important objective of the ini-

tial interview is to establish the proper attorney-

client relationship. The attorney must strive to

develop a climate of trust by explaining the at-

torney-client privilege, pointing out that a suc-

cessful outcome requires that the attorney know

all the facts, and conducting the interview in a

manner that inspires confidences and trust.

(Lexis-Nexis (2003) California Criminal Defense Practice,

§ 1.13(2)(b), p. 1-44.11.) |

Furthermore, black-letter law in California reinforces

the ABA rules on the subject. California Evidence Code

sections 953 to 955 state that the privilege is vested in the

client, not his attorney. “A lawyer who ... received... a

communication that is subject to the lawyer-client privi-

lege has a duty to claim the privilege whenever he ... is

present when the communication is sought to be disclosed,

unless the holder of the privilege no longer exists or

instructs the lawyer otherwise.” (Jefferson’s California

Evidence Benchbook (8rd Ed., 2003) § 40.7 (emphasis

added). Waiver of the privilege can only occur “if any

holder of the privilege ... has consented to [such] disclo-

sure”. (Cal Evidence Code § 912(a).) The attorney, under

California law, is not defined as a “holder” of the attorney-

client privilege. (Cal. Evidence Code § 953.)

According to this Court’s precedent, these statutes

and professional rules have compelling weight in context

of the Sixth Amendment analysis for ineffective counsel

claims — such as those made by Petitioner. (Strickland v.

Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 688-689, 80 L.Ed.2d 674, 104

S.Ct. 2052 (1984); Wiggins v. Smith, __ US.

eee

L.Ed.2d ___, 123 S.Ct. 2527, 2534-2539 (2003) [parts IIA

and IIB(1) citing ABA standards as “guides to determining

what is reasonable”].)

eR TAR Nt? SNELL NL ape GLC

19

Thus, contrary to the Magistrate Judge’s assertion, a

violation of the attorney-client privilege is prima facie

evidence of unreasonable and incompetent assistance of

counsel. How. could it be otherwise? The District Court, in

essence, held that an attorney’s violation of explicit state

statutes, and the related ABA standards, may yet be

competent, ethical, and reasonable. 7

Lacking a rebuke through this case, and broader

guidance on principle, attorneys and courts will remain

empowered to assess a defense attorneys unilateral

disclosure of his client’s secrets in terms of whether

pragmatic justification for them can be postulated.

In deciding to grant certiorari, this Court should

reflect upon the fact that this case has reached it because

16 judges’ felt that trial counsel Smith’s conduct was

perfectly within the ambit of his authority and the Sixth

Amendment. The federal judges who have reviewed the

case do not even think that Grounds #1 to #3 are worthy of

appeal. Such circumstances evidence a dire need for an

admonishment and instruction from this Court. (See

Miller-El v. Cockrell, 587 U.S. 322, 154 L.Ed.2d 931, 123

S.Ct. 1029, U.S. cert. den., 155 L.Ed.2d 194 (2003).)

Reason #2: Certiorari should be granted because it is

unlikely that a case more probative of the relationship

between the Sixth Amendment and the attorney-client

privilege will come along. As previously noted, the Ninth -

Circuit just decided a case in which a defense attorney

* That is, one Superior Court Judge, three Judges of the California

Court of Appeal, seven Judges of the California Supreme Court, the

Magistrate Judge, the District Court Judge, and three Judges of the

Ninth Circuit.

20

disclosed without authorization the client-confided loca-

tion of a murder victim’s body. (McClure v. Thompson, 323

F.3d 1233, 1235-1239 (9th Cir. 2003).) McClure is probably

now before this Court seeking certiorari. Given the split

panel decision in McClure, there may be good cause for

certiorari to be granted. However, in that case the attorney

believed that his disclosure could potentially save lives.

(Id., at 1236.) In the case sub judice, no one has tried to

justify the disclosures in terms of the prevention of other

criminal acts or the saving of life. Moreover, in this case,

there were multiple breaches of the privilege, breaches

across the entire spectrum of trial counsel’s repr2sentation

of Petitioner. In McClure there was only one.

To aid this Court in assessing the “cert-worthiness’”,

both as an independent proposition and _ vis-a-vis

McClure’s, it will be helpful for the Court to know some-

thing about the other ways that attorney Smith exposed

information subject to the ACP.

Petitioner has already described the way in which

Smith revealed the location of Susan Kurtz’s body. Unfor-

tunately, Smith’s penchant for revealing privileged mate-

rial manifested itself in other ways, both at Petitioner’s

preliminary hearing and at trial. Petitioner will now

describe the events at trial.

When Jerry Hamilton testified, Smith broached the

subject of the content of the attorney-client conference of

January 12, 1993. (RT 123(22)-125(3).) In light of the

apparent waiver of the privilege, the prosecutor on redi-

rect elicited that Petitioner had told Smith where the body

was and that Petitioner had lied to Smith, saying that

Susan had committed suicide. (RT 133-134.) Later in the

trial, Mr. Hamilton was recalled to the stand and Smith

expanded the scope of the privileged facts divulged to the

21

jury. Under Smith’s questioning, Mr. Hamilton testified

that Petitioner “may have” told Smith that he found Susan

hanging from the rafters in the garage and that Petitioner

did tell Smith that he found Susan on the floor beneath

the rafters. (RT 445.)

This testimony in no way helped Petitioner. The

coroner conciusively ruled out death by hanging (RT 345,

422-423), and Petitioner’s own testimony was inconsistent

with the suicide/rafter’s story. (RT 724-748.)

The brunt of these unprofessional errors began to be

felt by Petitioner during his testimony in the defense case.

Trial counsel knew that his client had abandoned the

suicide/rafters story. Nonetheless, he had allowed the jury

to learn that Petitioner had told him that story at the

outset of the attorney-client relationship. This created a

rhetorical problem. Before he could have his client tell the

truth, he first had to explain how and why his client had

abandoned the false suicide/rafters story. The upshot of

these considerations was that, barely a minute into the

direct examination, Attorney Smith had Petitioner

admit that he had lied to Smith. (RT 684.) Later in the

direct examination, Smith asked Petitioner to tell the jury

why he had lied to Smith. (RT 778.) Trial counsel asked

Petitioner to describe what caused him “to admit that [he

was] responsible for her death after months of lying?” (RT

779(10-11).) Smith, of course, knew that this question

would elicit privileged material, as an excerpt from the

transcript will make clear:

A. [By Petitioner]: “... the final straw [in ad-

mitting that I was responsible came] in that

meeting that we had together, you [i.e., Smith]

had indicated to me that given the facts in this

case and what I had said ... wasn’t very plausi-

ble.

22

Q. At that meeting, did you tell me what hap-

pened?

A. No.

Q. When did — how long after that meeting did

you come to me?

A. The next day.”

(RT 779-780.)

Smith then led Petitioner through a series of ques-

tions establishing that Petitioner had never admitted his

responsibility for Susan’s death prior to the January 12,

1993 attorney-client conference. (RT 780.) The prosecutor

on cross-examination made predictable and. devastating

use of the scope of Smith’s ever-widening elicitation of

attorney-client information:

Q. [By the Prosecutor] You met with your attor-

ney and he told you that if you maintained this

story of suicide, you were going to go down on

first degree murder. And he told you to think

about that and ... now we have this story you’ve

related here in court.

M. Smith: Again, Your Honor, object, misstating

the testimony of the witnesses.

The Court: Sustained.

Q. Did your attorney sit down with you and tell

you that your story of suicide wasn’t going to

wash?

A. Not in those words.

Q. In-—in words to that effect?

A. Yes.

Q. And he told you to think about it?

A. No.

23

Q. Well, it was at some point after that discus-

sion, was it not, that this story surfaced about

this struggle in the house?

A. That’s correct. (RT 786(7-25).)

Later, the prosecutor ravaged Petitioner’s credibility with

these questions.

Q. When did you tell Mr. Smith, you told him

that she had committed suicide?

A. That's correct.

Q. And it wasn’t until he sat you down and said

that that wasn’t going to wash that your story

changed?

Mr. Smith: Your Honor, I am going to object to

the form of question. I think it’s misleading the

evidence.

The Court: Sustained. Rephrase.

Q. When you met Mr. Smith, you didn’t tell him

that you had had this struggle and she acciden-

tally was killed?

A. No.

Q. In fact, you told him about this suicide.

When you talked to him about the suicide, did

you say she was hanging from the rafters?

A. Idon’t recall. *

Q. You don’t recall what you told your lawyer

when you first met him and told him about your

wife’s death?

A. No.

(RT 814(7-25).) However, the prosecutor was not finished

exploiting the advantages offered by the scope of Smith’s

direct:

Q. Isn’t it a fact that — strike that. At the pre-

liminary hearing, back in February, you heard

24

the testimony of Doctor Gopal regarding the

medical evidence in this case?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. And you heard him say at that time that this

was not a hanging, not a suicide. Do you recall

that?

A. Yes.

Q. And isn’t it true it was after that point in

time that you decided to say that, yes, you were

involved in her death but it was this accidental

killing?

A. It might have been after that, yes.

(RT 828-829.)

Predictably, during closing argument, the prosecutor

leveraged the windfall of privileged information that he

had been handed into a stunning attack on the bonafides

of Petitioner’s testimony:

Well, come February at the preliminary hearing,

[Petitioner] learns different. This isn’t a suicide,

it is not a hanging. The physical evidence is in-

compatible with his second lie so he has had six

months to think about his third one and you

have heard it here, Friday and yesterday. The.

way he has craftily lied throughout this case re-

minds me of the saying I generally don’t quote,

but there is a saying that says, ‘Oh, what a tan-

gled web we weave, when we practice to deceive’.

That quote was made hundreds of years ago, I

believe, but you’d think that the author had this

man in mind.

(RT 902-903.)

Later in his summation the prosecutor remarked that

Petitioner had lied to everyone, even “to his own attorney

... but now he would have you believe that he’s telling the

:

25

truth. He is not. He’s lying to you.” (RT 944.) From the

above passages and facts, this Court can readily see that

trial counsel exposed nearly the entire attorney-client

relationship to the jury. Petitioner alleged that he did so

without consultation, and no evidence to the contrary was

ever adduced. (See Second Amended Federal Petition, App.

L, pp. 8-10.) On such facts, Petitioner should not only have

been granted a COA, he should have been granted relief.

Reason #3: Certiorari should be granted to explore

whether the Strickland outcome-determinative standard

should be applied, or a less-error tolerant one, to claims

such as Petitioner’s Ground #1 and #2. Petitioner pre-

sented to the District Court prima facie evidence that the

breach of the privilege inhibited him from disclosing vital

facts bearing on the charges against him. (See App. M

[Ground #2].) Such allegations should not be hard for this

Court to believe. “(I]f the client knows that damaging

information could more readily be obtained from the

attorney ... [a] client would be reluctant to confide in his

lawyer and it would be difficult to obtain fully informed legal

advice.” (Fischer v. United States, 425 U.S. 391, 403, 48

L.Ed.2d 39, 96 S.Ct. 1569 (1976).) The “Sixth Amendment’s

assistance-of-counsel guarantee can be meaningfully

implemented only if a criminal defendant knows that his

communications with his attorney are private... .”

(Weatherford v. Bursey, 429 U.S. 545, 554, fn. 4, 51

L.Ed.2d 30, 97 S.Ct. 837 (1977).) The privilege is therefore

central “to the proper functioning of our aciversary system

of justice.” (United States v. Zolin, 491 U.S. 554, 562, 105

L.Ed.2d 469, 109 S.Ct. 2619 (1989).)

The District Court shrugged off these authorities, and

Petitioner’s qualms with respect to the standard of review

being applied to his claims, holding that it was Petitioners

26

responsibility, even without advice from his attorney on the

scope and nature of the privilege, to realize that counsel’s

actions were unlawful and unethical, and Petitioner’s

responsibility to seek to terminate his (rather expensive)

relationship with his attorney. (App. F, pp. 22(14)-23(8)

[denying Ground #2].)

The District Court’s reasoning stands on its head the

whole principle behind the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee

of effective counsel. Under the District Court’s analysis,

the client must be sufficiently versed in the nuances of the

privilege to recognize the impropriety of his attorney's

behavior; and, if he is not that sophisticated, he is deemed

te have forfeited his rights — both under the attorney-

client privilege and the Sixth Amendment. Yet, this Court

has observed: “[a] layman may not be aware of the precise

scope, the nuances, and boundaries of [a testimonial

privilege like the 5th Amendment].” (Maness v. Meyer, 419

U.S. 449, 466, 42 L.Ed.2d 574, 95 S.Ct. 584 (1975).) How

much more so the atvorney-client privilege? This Court

may answer that question, and demonstrate the proper

standard of review for claims such as Petitioner’s by

granting certiorari.

Reason #4: Certiorari should be granted to address the

intra-circuit split created by the Ninth Circuit’s holdings

in McClure v. Thompson, 323 F.3d 1233 (9th Cir. 2003),

and this case. Such a split is a recognized basis for certio-

rari to be granted. (Stern, Gressman, et al., Supreme

Court Practice (7th Ed. 1993) § 4.6 at pp. 176-177.)

Ironically, McClure, decided within days of the denial

of Petitioner’s appeal by the Ninth Circuit, vindicates

Petitioner’s position and contradicts the District Court on

three core issues:

27

First, McClure holds that a material breach of the

attorney-client privilege “makes out a deprivation of the

Sixth Amendment right to counsel”. (d., at 1242-1243.) As

noted, the lower court held that a violation of the privilege

“is not prima facie evidence” of ineffective counsel. (App.

F, p. 13(7-11).)

Second, McClure holds that. the privilege is only

waived through “consent after consultation”. (/d., at 1243-

1245.) The lower court held thut consultation was not an

important factor. (App. F, pp. 13, fn. 5, 17(19-26).)-

Third, unlike McClure, no evidentiary hearing was

held in Petitioner’s case, and this despite Petitioner's

submission of declarations from two witnesses to Smith’s

disclosure of the location of the victim’s body and the

incontrovertible evidence of other breaches in the trial

transcript. Between those declarations and the trial

transcript, there was ample justification for an evidentiary

hearing where Smith could be asked to explain his con-

duct.

Thus, the decision in Petitioner’s case varies from the

holding in McClure in three foundational matters. Such

contradictions should not be allowed to stand.

Reason #5: Certiorari should be granted because the

District Court’s harmless error analysis was directly

contrary to this Court’s precedent and in a way that is a

recurring problem among the circuits. In presenting its

prejudice analysis for Grounds #5 to #7 (all claims of

ineffective assistance of counsel) the District Court failed

to determine whether there was a “reasonable probability

of a different outcome”. Instead, the District Court asked

whether, but for trial counsel’s errors, the jury “could still

have” found petitioner guilty. Finding that it “could”, the

District Court decided petitioner had not proven prejudice.

28

In all, the District Court applied this linguistic formula on

nine occasions in denying Grounds #5 to #7. The following

excerpts from the R&R will bring petitioner’s point into

focus:

“EXCERPTS FROM THE

MAGISTRATE JUDGE’S PREJUDICE

ANALYSIS FOR GROUND #5

The prosecution’s theory could reasonably be in-

terpreted by the jury as calling into question Pe-

titioner’s ability to handle another failure, the

loss of his business a second time to a wife who

could no longer put up with his drug addiction.

(App. F, p. 28(22-26).)

There was also more at stake than just the busi-

ness. There was the possibility that Petitioner

would lose custody of his son. Thus, even if Trial

Counsel had presented evidence of Petitioner’s

alleged financial independence, the jury could

still find the prosecution’s motive theory credible.

As Petitioner has failed to show prejudice, this

claim must fail. (/d., at p. 29(1-5).) (emphasis

added)

EXCERPTS FROM THE

MAGISTRATE JUDGE’S PREJUDICE

ANALYSIS FOR GROUND #6

Even if the jury believed every word of Peti-

tioner’s testimony regarding his wife’s anger,

they could still have found him guilty of first de-

gree murder. ... The jury could reasonably have

found that holding a computer cord around

someone’s head or neck is highly likely tovlead to

strangulation and death. Additionally, the jury

could still have determined that during the

struggle Petitioner had the opportunity con-

sciously to choose between walking or running

away from the house and his upset wife or killing

EBL NOI AE RE ORCI SN ORAS RE

AR ABEL EATS Sie

he

|

ts

. “

2

4

“

2

4

*

he

4

4

>

a

Ne

4

if

4

4

f

B

7

te

2

3

29

her. They could reasonably have found that Peti-

tioner’s actions following the murder were evi-

dence of his consciousness of guilt. Finally, they

could have found that Petitioner, based on his

lies to family, friends, and police officers, was not

a credible witness and therefore did not believe

that this was an accident. (App. F, pp. 31(24)-

32(12.) (emphasis added)

EXCERPTS FROM THE

MAGISTRATE JUDGE’S PREJUDICE

ANALYSIS FOR GROUND #7

Therefore, [Petitioner] concludes, the jury must

have interpreted this receipt to mean that Susan

knew of Petitioner’s infidelities, and that de-

stroyed his credibility which led them to con-

vict.... The jury therefore did not need to infer

that she knew of his contact with prostitutes. ...

The jury could therefore have determined that

based on her suspicions she decided to get

tested... . Thus, exposure of the jury to this ex-

trinsic evidence did not necessarily incriminate

Petitioner or unduly influence their determination

of guilt or innocence. [] As discussed previously,

even if the jury believed Petitioner’s testimony

that he was only responding in kind to his wife’s

rage, the jury could still have found him guilty.

(App. F, pp. 34(20)-35(7).) (emphasis added)”

If this Court allows this case to end without appellate

briefing, it will have sanctioned the resolution of three

ineffective counsel claims under the Jackson v. Virginia

insufficiency of the evidence standard, rather than the

Strickland v. Washington standard, which obviously

governs the question, and it will have broken with its own

precedent.

Reason #6: Certiorari should also be granted to give

reinforcement to this Court’s jurisprudence regarding the

30

issuance of COA’s. The District and Circuit Courts are

under incredible pressure to manage their case loads. Yet

they are underfunded and understaffed. It is all too easy to

see how the rights of state prisoners to appeal can end up

being given short shrift. Prisoners are a despised class and

the job of vindicating the constitutional rights of state

prisoners can easily be rationalized as one best left to the

states — if not de jure, then at lease de facto. Yet this Court

has a storied history of protecting the rights of state

prisoners and has repeatedly observed that such statutory

schemes as 28 U.S.C. section 2253 are not to be construed

as denying the right to appeal issues which are debatable.

(See Barefoot v. Estelle, 463 U.S. 880, 893 & fn. 4, 77

L.Ed.2d 1090, 103 S.Ct. 3383 (1983); Miller-El v. Cockrell,

537 U.S. 322, 154 L.Ed.2d 931, 123 S.Ct. 1029, US. cert.

den., 155 L.Ed.2d 194 (2003).)

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, this Court should

grant Petitioner’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari and order

the lower courts to grant Petitioner a Certificate of Ap-

pealability. The above-referenced issues of violations of the

attorney-client privilege, violations of ethical canons,

violations of rules of professional responsibility, as they

relate to the Sixth Amendment’s guarantee of competent

counsel, are of critical importance to this nation’s criminal

justice system and are at the core of a criminal defense

attorneys duties to his client. These duties should be

addressed and delineated as this Court’s decision in Nix v.

Whiteside, supra, at 475 U.S. 165-166, mandated.

Dated: August 12, 2003 Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM E. GILG

Attorney for Petitioner

Al

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT MICHAEL KURTZ, _| No. 02-16843

a D.C. No.

Petitioner-Appellant, CV-97-06201-AWI

Vv. Eastern District

ROBERT L. AYERS, Warden, _| California (Fresno)

Respondent-Appellee. ORDER

(Filed Mar. 18, 2003)

Before: BEEZER AND MCKEOWN, Circuit J udges.

The request for a certificate of appealability is :

denied. See 28 U.S.C. § 2253(c)(2).

Bl

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ROBERT M. KURTZ, ) CV F 97-6201 AWI SMS P

Petitioner, ‘ ORDER DENYING

" ) REQUEST FOR

' CERTIFICATE OF

ROBERT AYERS, Warden, APPEALABILITY

Respondent. _) (Filed Sep. 17, 2002)

On September 9, 2002, Petitioner filed a notice of

appeal from the judgment entered against him on August

14, 2002, denying his petition for writ of habeas corpus. In

connection with his appeal, Petitioner seeks a certificate of

appealability. The controlling statute is 28 U.S.C. section

2253, which provides as follows:

(a) In a habeas corpus proceeding or a proceed-

ing under section 2255 before a district judge, the fi-

nal order shall be subject to review, on appeal, by the

court of appeals for the circuit in which the proceed-

ing is held.

(b) There shall be no right of appeal from a final

order in a proceeding to test the validity of a warrant

to remove to another district or place for commitment

or trial a person charged with a criminal offense

against the United States, or to test the validity of

such person’s detention pending removal proceedings.

(c)(1) Unless a circuit justice or judge issues a

certificate of appealability, an appeal may not be

taken to the court of appeals from —

B2

(A) the final order in a habeas corpus proceed-

ing in which the detention complained of arises out of

process issued by a State court; or

(B) the final order in a proceeding under section

2255.

(2) A certificate of appeability may issue under

paragraph (1) only if the applicant has made a sub-

stantial showing of the denial of a constitutional

right.

(3) The certificate of appealability under para-

graph (1) shall indicate which specific issue or issues

satisfy the showing required by paragraph (2).

In the present case, the court finds that Petitioner has

not made the required substantial showing of the denial of

a constitutional right. Accordingly, the court hereby

ORDERS that Petitioner’s request for a certificate of

appealability is DENIED.

DATED: Sept. 17, 2002 /s/ Anthony W. Ishii

ANTHONY W. ISHII

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

Cl

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ROBERT M. KURTZ, ) CV F 976201 AWISMS P

Petitioner, ORDER DENYING

) PETITIONER'S

APPLICATION FOR

ROBERT AYERS, Warden, ENLARGEMENT

Respondent, ) OF TIME AS MOOT

) (Document 59)

) (Filed Sep. 13, 2002)

V.

Petitioner is a state prisoner proceeding through

counsel with a petition for writ of habeas corpus pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

On August 13, 2002, the Court adopted the Findings

and Recommendation of the Magistrate Judge and denied

the petition for writ of habeas corpus. On August 14, 2002,

judgment was entered for Respondent, and the case was

dismissed.

On September 9, 2002, Petitioner filed a notice of

appeal, along with an application for an extension of time

to file a request for certificate of appealability. However,

an extension of time is unnecessary as the notice of appeal

-is deemed to constitute a request for a certificate of ap-

pealability. F. R. App. P. 22(b); United States v. Asrar, 116

F.3d 1268, 1270 (9th Cir. 1997).

Accordingly, Petitioner’s request for an extension of

time to file a request for certificate of appealability is

DENIED AS MOOT.

CARR LAL, Ber Oh a Nig d BEATIN PERE CA WE Le

C2

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: 9/13/02 /s/ Sandra M. Snyder

SANDRA M. SNYDER

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

D1

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ROBERT M. KURTZ, JUDGMENT IN A

CIVIL ACTION

CV-F-97-6201-AWI/SMS P

/ (Filed Aug. 14, 2002)

Vs.

ROBERT AYERS, Warden,

The Findings and Recommendations issued by the

Magistrate Judge on AUGUST 8, 2001, are hereby

adopted in full, and

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that

the petition for writ of habeas corpus is DENIED.

DATED: 8-14-02

JACK L. WAGNER, Clerk

By: /s/ [Illegible]

Deputy Clerk

El

APPENDIX E ~

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ROBERT M. KURTZ, ) CV-F-97-6201-AWI-SMS-P

Petitioner, ORDER REGARDING

: , REPORT AND

. , RECOMMENDATION

ROBERT AYERS, Warden, ; inion

Respondent.

) (Filed Aug. 13, 2002)

Petitioner is a state prisoner proceeding pro se with a

Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254.

On August 8, 2001, the Magistrate Judge filed a

Report and Recommendation that the Petition for Writ of

Habeas Corpus be DENIED. This Report and Recommen-

dation was served on all parties and contained notice that

any objections were to be filed within thirty (30) days from

the date of service of that order. On November 13, 2001,

Petitioner filed timely objections to the Report and Rec-

ommendation.

In accordance with the provisions of 28 U.S.C.

§ 636(b)(1)(C), this Court has conducted a de novo review

of the case. Having carefully reviewed the entire file,

including Petitioner’s objections, the Court concludes that

the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation is

supported by the record and proper analysis. Petitioner’s

objections present no grounds for questioning the Magis-

trate Judge’s analysis.

E2

Accordingly, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

1. The Report and Recommendation, filed August 8,

2001, is ADOPTED IN FULL;

2. The Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus is DE-

NIED;

3. The Clerk of the Court is DIRECTED to enter

judgment for Respondent; and,

4. All pending motions are DENIED as moot.

DATED: 8-13-02 /s/ Anthony W. Ishii

ANTHONY W. ISHII

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

mn —— ee

Fl

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ROBERT M. KURTZ, ) CV F 97-6201 AWI SMS P

Petitioner, REPORT AND

) RECOMMENDATION

PETITION FOR WRIT

ROBERT AYERS, WARDEN OF HABEAS CORPUS

Respondent. - )(Filed Aug. 8, 2001)

Robert M. Kurtz (“Petitioner”) is a state prisoner

proceeding pro se with a petition for writ of habeas corpus

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On August 26, 1993, a jury found Petitioner guilty of

murder in the first degree of his wife Susan. It was further

found true the special enhancement, use of a dangerous

weapon. Petitioner was then sentenced to a term of

twenty-five years to life, plus one year for the special

enhancement. On August 4, 1994, Petitioner filed an

appeal with the Court of Appeals for the State of Califor-

nia, Fifth Appellate District. On June 6, 1995, the Court of

Appeals, in an unpublished opinion, affirmed Petitioner’s

conviction. On July 11, 1995, Petitioner filed a petition for

review with the California Supreme Court. Petitioner

alleged, as he had before the appellate court, that the trial

court erred by failing to give CALJIC No. 8.73; prejudicial

error in the exclusion of expert testimony regarding

defendant’s propensity for violence; and violation of the

right to public trial when the trial court ordered the

F2

courtroom locked during closing arguments. The court

denied his petition on August 30, 1995, without citation or

comment.

On February 26, 1997, Petitioner filed his first Peti-

tion for Writ of Habeas Corpus with the Fresno County

Superior Court, which was denied on March 14, 1997. On

April 7, 1997, Petitioner filed a Petition for Writ of Habeas

Corpus with the state appellate court, which was denied

on April 10, 1997. Petitioner filed a Petition for Review

with the California Supreme Court on April 21, 1997.

Petitioner alleged: (1) violation of due process through the

inadvertent admission of hearsay evidence; and (2) ineffec-

tive assistance of counsel for failing to search Susan’s

wallet and for failing to request CALJIC No. 8.73. On June

18, 1997, the California Supreme Court denied Petitioner’s

petition, stating simply “petition for review denied on the

merits.”

On May 6, 1997, Petitioner filed a second Petition for

Writ of Habeas Corpus with the Fresno County Superior

Court, which was denied on May 14, 1997. On June 24,

1997, Petitioner filed his second Petition for Writ of

Habeas Corpus with the state appellate court, alleging

several claims of ineffective assistance of counsel. The

state appellate court sent three letters to Trial Counsel,

July 9, 1997, December 9, 1997, and February 17, 1998,

asking for a declaration in response to Petitioner’s claims.

Petitioner filed a Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus

with this court on December 12, 1997, presenting the same

four claims alleged in his first state habeas petition.

Petitioner simultaneously filed a motion to hold his

petition in abeyance while he exhausted the claims pre-

sented in his second state habeas petition. On December

F3

26, 1997, Respondent was ordered to respond. On Febru-

ary 4, 1998, Respondent filed a response in opposition.

Petitioner filed a reply on February 9, 1998. On March 2,

1998, Petitioner’s motion to hold the petition in abeyance

was denied and Respondent was ordered to respond. On

April 20, 1998, Petitioner filed a petition to withdraw his

petition without prejudice. On April 28, 1998, this Court

issued an order clarifying its position regarding denial of

Petitioner’s motion to hold the petition in abeyance. The

Court ordered petitioner to notify the court of his inten-

tions and notified Respondent that Respondent need not

respond until Petitioner made his intentions clear. On May

7, 1998, Petitioner filed his response notifying the court of

his intent to proceed. On July 27, 1998, Respondent filed

an Answer. On June 3, 1998, Petitioner filed a Traverse.

Meanwhile, having received no response from Trial

Counsel, the state appellate court denied the second

Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus on January 29, 1999.

On April 9, 1999, Petitioner filed his second Petition for

Wr.t of Habeas Corpus with the California Supreme Court.

The ten claims alleged were ineffective assistance of

counsel based on the following: violation of attorney-client

privilege (comprising eighi of the ten claims); failing to

present evidence to rebut the motive theory of the case;

and failing to introduce corroborating evidence of Susan’s

state of mind through her “step diary.”

On July 19, 1999, this Court issued an order notifying

Petitioner that it was ready to proceed on the merits of his

' “Step” refers to the twelve step program of Alcoholics Anonymous

and related programs.

ee

F4

case, but had not received an amended petition for addi-

tional claims. The Court further specified that Petitioner

had twenty (20) days to show cause why this Court should

not proceed. On July 27, 1999, Petitioner filed a second

motion to hold his petition in abeyance pending exhaus-

tion of his claims in state court.

On July 28, 1999, the California Supreme Court

denied Petitioner’s second Petition for Writ of Habeas

Corpus citing In re Clark, 5 Cal. 4th 750 (1993); In re Rob-

bins, 18 Cal. 4th 770, 780 (1998); and In re Waltreus, 62

Cal.2d 218, 225 (1965).

On August 6, 1999, Petitioner filed his Second

Amended Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus with this

court.

On October 8, 1999, the Court issued an order grant-

ing Petitioner’s motion to amend the petition, denying

Petitioner’s motion to hold the petition in abeyance, and

ordering Respondent to file a response to the second

amended petition. On March 23, 2000, Petitioner filed a

Motion for Expansion of the Record. On April 10, 2000,

Respondent filed his Answer to the Second Amended

Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus and a Notice of No

Opposition to Motion for Expansion of the Record. Peti-

tioner filed a Traverse on June 13, 2000. Petitioner then

filed a request to supplement the points and authorities to

his traverse and the supplemental memorandum of points

and authorities in support of traverse on July 24, 2000. On

August 2, 2000, the Court issued an order granting the

supplementation of the memorandum of points and au-

thorities in support of Petitioner’s Traverse. On August 30,

2000, Petitioner filed an application and request for an

F5

evidentiary hearing as to grounds one through eight (1-8)

of the second amended petition.

Petitioner presents ten (10) claims in his Second

Amended Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus (hereinafter

“2AP”). The first eight claims are all based on ineffective

assistance of counsel and include: (1) ineffective assistance

of counsel through Trial Counsel’s mismanagement of

information covered by attorney-client privilege; (2)

constructive denial of effective assistance of counsel

through violations of attorney-client privilege; (3) conflict

| of interest based on violations of attorney-client privilege;

(4) conflict of interest based on Trial Counsel’s relationship

with the District Attorney’s Office and the Police Depart-

ment; (5) Trial Counsel’s failure to present evidence to

rebut the prosecution’s motive theory; (6) Trial Counsel’s

failure to present corroborative evidence regarding Susan’s

state of mind; (7) ineffective assistance of counsel and due

process violations through Trial Counsel’s failure to

inventory Susan’s wallet before allowing its admission into

evidence resulting in admission of damaging hearsay

evidence; and (8) Trial Counsel’s failure to request CALJIC

No. 8.73 (relating to provocation and the degree of mur-

der). The remaining two claims are: (9) violation of due

process and the right to a jury trial through the trial

court’s failure to give, sua sponte, CALJIC, No. 8.73; and

(1%) insufficient evidence to support a finding of first

degree murder.

A, Bt Ai a LN I iB Si tte iy Nic ces Se

Ghetiadaens 2

F6

FACTUAL HISTORY’

Petitioner and Susan Kurtz owned a computer store,

MacSource, in Fresno. They had a troubled marriage due

largely to Petitioner’s alcohol and cocaine use. Because of

Petitioner’s cocaine use, Susan had removed his name

from the MacSource checking account.

The couple separated between August and October of

1992. They reunited, and Susan became pregnant with

their second child. In January of 1993, Susan began to do

her work from their home because she was having a

difficult pregnancy.

Petitioner was in recovery from his addictions and

attended Alcoholics Anonymous (“AA”) meetings. As part

of the AA program, members are required to have a

sponsor, and work through a twelve (12) step program.

The fourth step requires the creation of a personal inven-

tory of the member’s life, including a list of wrongs they

committed and the people they resented.

On Tuesday, January 5, Petitioner went to an AA

meeting. Petitioner’s sponsor, Reed Harris, noticed that

Petitioner was agitated that evening. Petitioner revealed

to Harris that Susan had found his fourth step notes.

On Thursday, January 7, 1993, Petitioner reported his

wife missing. Petitioner claimed his wife had left their

home at 9:30 p.m. that evening. Her car was found at their

business; Susan’s coat and the keys to the store were

inside. Susan’s purse, some cash ($75.00) and a computer

* The following facts are summarized from the state appellate

court slip opinion issued June 6, 1995.

F7

printer were missing and the back door appeared to have

been tampered with. Police officers filed a missing persons

report.

On Monday, January 11, 1993, Petitioner went out to

dinner with his mother and stepfather, Kathy and Jerry

Hamilton. During dinner, Petitioner told them Susan was

dead. Petitioner claimed Susan committed suicide in the

garage. Petitioner arranged to turn himself in to his

attorney the following morning. Later that same evening

he told his AA sponsor, Reed Harris, about Susan’s suicide.

On Tuesday, January 12, police executed a search

warrant at Petitioner’s home. Petitioner arrived during

the search of his home in order to get a change of clothes.

He was allowed to get the clothes and leave. He then went

to his attorney’s office. While the search warrant was still

being executed, Petitioner’s attorney telephoned the house

and told the officers the location of Susan’s body.

Susan’s body was found in the home on the closet floor

of the southeast bedroom. A bed had been pushed up

against the closet door and there were air fresheners in

the room and in the closet. Susan’s feet were bound with

duct tape and her body was wrapped in several layers of

plastic.

It was the pathologist’s opinion that Susan died from

strangulation. The pathologist found evidence of both

ligature and manual strangulation. Susan also had a black

eye and injuries to her tongue. The doctor testified that in

his strong opinion these injuries were not consistent with

Susan hanging herself. Susan was five feet six inches tall

-and weighed two hundred and forty-two pounds at the

time of the autopsy. The fetus she was carrying was eight

to ten weeks old.

F8

Defense

Petitioner testified at trial. He said Susan had found

his fourth step paperwork. In this document Petitioner

had detailed all of the extra-marital sexual encounters

that he had engaged in while using drugs. Petitioner said

that Susan became very upset and wanted to talk to him

but he refused. The next morning Susan again tried to

talk with him, which lead to a physical altercation. Peti-

tioner said that during this fight he was trying to restrain

or control Susan with a computer cable and accidentally

choked her to death.*

Petitioner testified that he hid Susan’s body because

he was overwhelmed with guilt and did not think_anyone

_ would believe him. Petitioner admitted he had been

dishonest with the police, his lawyer, and many others.

Petitioner was examined by Dr. Phillip Hamm, a

licensed psychologist, who opined that immediately after

Susan’s death Petitioner was suffering from post trau-

matic stress disorder. He had an overwhelming guilt

reaction and believed that no one would believe what

really happened. Several witnesses testified that they

knew Petitioner and that he did not have a reputation for

violence. In addition, witnesses testified that it was not

unusual for Petitioner to have a computer cord draped

around his neck while he was working on computers.

* On January 2, 1993, Petitioner weighted 155 pounds.

PN haere tine MA MTS We

LLG Cad. aimee te certs .

A he Root dis a

OE Se ee Te eee

ae

i

F9

STANDARD OF PROCEDURAL REVIEW

a. Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act

On April 24, 1996, Congress enacted the Antiterrorism

and Effective Death Penalty Act 1996 (“AEDPA”), which

applies to all petitions for writ of habeas corpus filed after

its enactment. Lindh v. Murphy, 521 U.S. 320 (1997);

Jeffries v. Wood, 114 F.3d 1484, 1499 (9th Cir. 1997) (en

banc). Since petitioner filed the instant petition on April 6,

1999, after the enactment of the AEDPA, the Act is appli-

cable to his petition.

Under the AEDPA, a federal court may grant a peti-

tion for writ of habeas corpus on a claim that the state

court heard on the merits in only three instances. First, if

the state court’s decision was contrary to a decision of the

Supreme Court or resulted in “a conclusion opposite that

of a decision by [the Supreme Court] on a question of law

or ... differently than a decision by [the Supreme Court]

on a set of materially indistinguishable facts.” Williams v.

Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 412-13 (2000); 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1).

Second, where the state court uses the correct governing

legal principle as set forth by the Supreme Court but

unreasonably applies that principle to the facts of the

prisoner’s case, the federal court may grant a petition for

writ of habeas corpus. Williams, 529 U.S. at 412-13; 28

U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1). “Unreasonable” must be distinguished

from “incorrect,” as the application of law to the facts must

be more than incorrect in the federal court’s independent

view, it must also be unreasonable. Williams, 529 U.S. at

410-11. Finally, a petition may be granted where the

adjudication of the claim in state court resulted in a

decision that was based on an unreasonable determination

of the facts in light of the evidence presented in the State

court proceeding.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(2). In addition, the

F10

state court’s factual determinations must be presumed

correct, and the federal court must accept all factual

findings made by the state court unless the petitioner can

rebut “the presumption of correctness by clear and con-

vincing evidence.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254(e)(1).

When analyzing a claim that there has been an

unreasonable application of federal law, the court must

first consider whether the state court erred; only after

making that determination may the court then consider

whether any error involved an unreasonable application of

controlling law within the meaning of § 2254(d). Van Tran

v. Lindsey, 212 F.3d 1143, 1155 (9th Cir.), cert denied, 121

S. Ct. 340 (2000).

b. Procedural Default

Respondent contends the first five claims‘ raised in

the instant petition are procedurally barred from federal

review. Petitioner presented these claims in a second

habeas corpus petition to the California Supreme Court on

April 9, 1999. The California Supreme Court denied the

petition citing In re Clark, 5 Cal. 4th 750 (1993); In re

Robbins, 18 Cal 4th 770, 780 (1998); and In re Waltreus, 62

Cal.2d 218, 225 (1965).

: * Respondent discusses only five of the first six claims, consolidat-

ing claims two, three, and four: (2) constructive denial of effective

assistance of counsel through failure to develop a candid attorney-client

relationship; (3) conflict of interest based on violation of attorney-client

privilege; and (4) conflict of interest because of Counsel’s relationship

with the Fresno District Attorney’s Office and Police Department.

F1l1

There are limitations as to when a federal court

should invoke procedural default and refuse to evaluate

the merits of a claim because the petitioner violated a

state’s procedural rules. First, procedural default can only

block a claim in federal court if the state court “clearly and

expressly states that its judgment rests on a state proce-

dural bar.” Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255, 263 (1989). For

California Supreme Court decisions, this means the court

must specifically have stated that it denied relief on a

procedural ground. Yist v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797, 803

(1991); Acosta-Huerta v. Estelle, 7 F.3d 139, 142 (9th Cir.

1993); Hunter v. Aispuro, 982 F.2d 344, 347-48 (9th Cir.

1991). If the California Supreme Court denies a peti-

tioner’s claims without any comment or citation, the

federal court must consider it a decision on the merits.

Hunter, 982 F.2d at 347-48.

Second, a federal court may only impose a procedural

bar on claims if the procedural rule that the state used to

deny relief is “firmly established and regularly followed.”

O'Dell v Thompson, 502 U.S. 995, 998 (1991) (statement of

Blackmun joined by Stevens and O’Connor respecting the

denial of certiorari); Ford v. Georgia, 498 U.S. 411, 423-24

(1991); James v. Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341, 348-51 (1984);

Fields v. Calderon, 125 F.3d 757, 760 (9th Cir. 1997);

Calderon v. United States Dist. Court (Bean), 96 F.3d 112,

129 (9th Cir. 1996).

A federal court may still consider a procedurally

defaulted claim if the petitioner can demonstrate (1) cause

for the default and actual prejudice resulting from the

alleged violation of federal law, or (2) a fundamental

miscarriage of justice. Harris, 489 U.S. at 262. In the

instant petition, the Court declines to address the proce-

dural default argument and will analyze the merits of the

petition.

F12

DISCUSSION

I. INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL

Petitioner’s first eight claims are based on ineffective

assistance of counsel. A claim ‘of ineffective assistance of

counsel constitutes a claim of denial of the Sixth Amend-

ment right to counsel, which guarantees not only assis-

tance, but effective assistance of counsel. Strickland uv.

Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 686 (1984). The standard for

judging any claim of ineffectiveness must be whether

counsel’s actions so undermined the proper function of the

adversarial process that the trial cannot be relied upon as

having produced a just result. Id.

In a petition for writ of habeas corpus alleging ineffec-

tive assistance of counsel, the court must consider two

factors. First, the Petitioner must show that counsel’s

performance was deficient, requiring a showing that

counsel made errors so serious that he or she was not

functioning as the “counsel” guaranteed by the Sixth

Amendment. Strickland, 466 U.S. at 687. The Petitioner

must show that counsel’s representation fell below an

objective standard of reasonableness. Jd. at 688. The

Petitioner must identify counsel’s alleged acts or omissions

that were not the result of reasonable professional judg-

ment considering the circumstances. Id.; see also United

States v. Quintero-Barraza, 78 F.3d 1344, 1348 (9th Cir.

1995). Judicial scrutiny of counsel’s performance is highly

deferential. A court indulges a strong presumption that

counsel’s conduct falls within the wide range of reasonable

professional assistance. Strickland, 466 U.S. at 689;

Sanders y. Ratelle, 21 F.3d 1446, 1456 (9th Cir.1994).

Second, Petitioner must show that counsel’s errors

were so egregious as to deprive petitioner of a fair trial,

F13

one whose result is reliable. Strickland, 466 U.S. at 687.

Petitioner must establish that there is “a reasonable

probability that, but for counsel’s unprofessional errors,

the result of the proceeding would have been different. A

reasonable probability is a probability sufficient to under-

mine confidence in the outcome.” Id. at 694; see also

Williams, 529 U.S. at 416-17; Jackson v. Calderon, 211

F.3d 1148, 1154 (9th Cir. 2000); Laboa v. Calderon, 224

F.3d 972, 980-81 (9th Cir. 2000). A court need not deter-

mine whether counsel’s performance was deficient before

examining the prejudice suffered by the petitioner as a

result of the alleged deficiencies. Strickland, 466 U.S. at

697. Since it is necessary to prove prejudice, any deficiency

that does not result in prejudice must necessarily fail.

A. Attorney-Client Privilege

Petitioner alleges ineffective assistance of counsel

based on Trial Counsel’s alleged breach of the attorney-

client privilege by revealing, or causing others to reveal,

information that was the subject of confidential communi-

cation between Petitioner and Trial Counsel. Petitioner

asserts that Trial Counsel had an affirmative duty to

advise him of the nature and scope of the attorney-client

privilege, to inform him regarding the legal ramification of

every disclosure, and to seek Petitioner’s consent prior to

each disclosure, which he failed to do.

The attorney-client privilege is an evidentiary privi-

lege that provides for a client to refuse to disclose, and to

prevent another from disclosing, a confidential communi-

cation between the client and his/her lawyer. Cal. Evid.

Code § 954; Fed. R. Evid. 501. This privilege applies to

communications which are intended to be confidential,

F14

between an attorney client, for the purpose of obtaining

legal assistance. Fisher v. United States, 425 U.S. 391, 403

(1976); see also, Cal. Evid. Code § 952, and § 953; People v.

Gionis, 9 Cal. 4th 1196, 1207-8 (1995).

The purpose of the evidentiary privilege is to safe-

guard the confidential relationship between a client and

counsel so as to promote full and open disclosure of facts

and tactics surrounding the case. People v. Flores, 71 Cal.

App. 3d 559, 563 (1977). Without the ability to make a full

disclosure of the facts to the attorney, the client risks

inadequate representation: “‘Unless he makes known to

the lawyer all the facts, the advice which follows will be

useless, if not misleading.... ’” City & County of San

Francisco v. Superior Court, 37 Cal. 2d 227, 235 (1951).

. Thus, by encouraging complete disclosure, the attorney-

client privilege enables the attorney to provide suitable

legal representation. Jd.

The privilege may be waived by the client who, with-

out coercion, consents to disclosure of the privileged

communication. Cal. Evid. Code §912(a). Consent to

disclosure is manifested by any statement, or other con-

duct, of the holder of the privilege indicating consent to

the disclosure, including failure to claim the privilege in

any proceeding in which the holder has the legal standing

and opportunity to claim the privilege. Jd.

When a party asserts the attorney-client privilege, it

is incumbent upon that party to prove The preliminary

fact that a privilege exists. Ralls v. United States, 52 F.3d

223, 225 (9th Cir. 1995); see also State Farm Fire & Cas.

Co. v. Superior Court, 54 Cal. App. 4th 625, 639 (1997).

The party claiming privilege has the burden to show that

the communication sought to be suppressed falls within

F15

the terms of the statute. D.I. Chadbourne, Inc. v. Superior

Court, 60 Cal.2d 723, 729 (1964). Thus to show a violation

of attorney-client privilege, Petitioner must show that the

communications were confidential, made by a client, to an

attorney, for the purpose of obtaining legal assistance or

advice.

The attorney-client privilege is an evidentiary rule

and not a constitutional right. See Maness v. Meyers. 419

U.S. 449, 466 n.15 (1975); Clutchette v. Rushen. 770 F.2d

1469, 1471 (9th Cir. 1985). In the instant petition, Peti-

tioner alleges that Trial Counsel violated the attorney-

client privilege and thus violated the Sixth Amendment

right to counsel. However, while a violation of attorney-

client privilege, if proven, may be a violation of ethical

canons, it is not prima facie evidence of unreasonable or

incompetent assistance of counsel.’ In order to make a

successful ineffective assistance of counsel claim, Peti-

tioner must show that the revelation of reformation

covered by attorney-client privilege was outside the broad

scope of reasonable and competent behavior and that these

errors resulted in prejudice to Petitioner’s defense.

1. Mismanagement of Information Covered by Attor-

ney-Client Privilege.

Petitioner’s first claim centers on the statements

made by Petitioner to Jerry and Kathy Hamilton on the

* Petitioner does not cite, nor can this Court find any statement of

law which holds that counsel has an affirmative duty to inform his

client of the protections of attorney-client privilege before seeking

consent to disclose the privileged information.

F16

evening of January 11, and statements made to his attor-

ney on the morning of January 12, 1993. This claim is set

out in four sub-claims: (a) disclosure of the location of

Susan’s body by Trial Counsel; (b) statements by Jerry

Hamilton regarding privileged communications; (c) ques-

tions regarding Petitioner’s state of mind leading up to his

testimony; and (d) disclosure of privileged statements by

Petitioner to his parents the night before his meeting with

his attorney.

On the evening of January 11, 1993, Petitioner had

dinner with his mother and step-father, Kathy and Jerry

Hamilton. Jerry Hamilton testified that at this dinner

Petitioner told him and his wife that Petitioner had found

Susan in the garage, where she had apparently committed

suicide. (R.T. at 117). Mr. Hamilton stated that Petitioner

said that he and Susan had had a fight and he had left the

house with his son. When he returned Petitioner opened

the garage door, found Susan on the floor with a cord

around her neck, and he had then closed the garage door.

(R.T. at 117-18).

Reed Harris, Petitioner’s AA sponsor, testified that on

the night of January 11, 1993, at approximately 10 p.m.

(the same night as the dinner with the Hamilton’s) Peti-

tioner called and asked to meet with him at the Hamiltons’

home. (R.T. at 162-63). After he arrived they (Jerry Hamil-

ton, Petitioner, and Reed Harris) drove to Petitioner’s

home. (R.T. at 163). Harris testified that once in his own

home, Petitioner told him that Susan had found his fourth

step ,-aperwork, they got into an argument, Petitioner left

the house, and when he returned he found his wife dead

on the floor of the garage. (R.T. at 164). Petitioner told

Harris that Susan had committed suicide. (R.T. at 164).

Harris also testified that Petitioner told him that rather

a Om sath it

beet o ow

F17

than call the police Petitioner felt if he hid the body people

would forget. (R.T. at 165).

The next morning, January 12, 1993, Petitioner and

his step-father, met with Trial Counsel for the first time.

During this meeting Petitioner told Trial Counsel that his

wife’s body was in the spare bedroom/computer room of

Petitioner’s home. Petitioner and/or his step-father also

told Trial Counsel that the police were currently searching

Petitioner’s home. (Kurtz Decl. p.2, Hamilton Decl. p.2).

Petitioner states that Trial Counsel called Petitioner’s

home twice during that meeting and spoke with police

officers (Kurtz Decl. p. 2), and during the second call put

his hand over the phone and asked Petitioner “Should we

tell them?” Trial Counsel then told the officers searching

the home where the body was located. (Hamilton Decl. pp.

2-3). Jerry Hamilton states that he doesn’t remember how

Petitioner responded but that Petitioner did not object.

(Hamilton Decl. p.3).

a. Disclosure of Statements by Petitioner to his

Parents.°

Petitioner alleges that the statements made to his

parents at dinner on January 11, 1993, the night before he

met with his attorney, are covered by attorney-client

privilege and that Trial Counsel erred by failing to assert

that privilege regarding the testimony of Jerry and Kathy

Hamilton. Petitioner states in his declaration that prior to

the dinner with his mother and step-father he had re-

tained counsel but was unable to disclose the facts of his

* This sub-claim appears as Petitioner’s “1(d) .”

F18

case because he was so depressed, verging on suicidal.

Petitioner felt that only if one or both of his parents came

to the meeting would he be able to tell Trial Counsel the

necessary facts. Thus, Petitioner concludes his statements

at the January 11th dinner were “reasonably necessary for

the transmission of the information [to the lawyer] or the

accomplishment of the purpose for which the lawyer [was]

consulted” under California Evidence Code § 952. (2AP at

27-28).

Petitioner cites Insurance Co. of North America uv.

Superior Court, 108 Cal. App. 3d 758, 771 (1980), to

support his proposition that privilege protects communica-

tions to parties other than counsel and client. (2AP at 27).

Petitioner’s reasoning is in error. In Insurance Co. of North

America, the court was asked to decide if prejudice was

waived by the presence of closely affiliated parties during

an attorney-client meeting. Jd. at 762. Here, the question

is not whether the presence or absence of Jerry and Kathy

Hamilton destroyed privilege but whether the statements

made to them, the night before his meeting with Trial

Counsel, are covered by the attorney-client privilege.

California case law upholding the extension of the

privilege to communications made to parents and “for the

transmission of information” focuses on the needs of minor

children, where the parent is acting under the direction of

counsel. Jesse Richard De Los Santos v. The Superior

Court of Los Angeles County, 27 Cal. 3d 677, 683-84 (1980)

(holding that the parent, of minor child, obtaining infor-

mation for the purpose of transmitting to attorney may

assert privilege). Petitioner is not a minor, and he was not

acting pursuant to the advice or direction of counsel at the

January 11th dinner, therefore Petitioner’s statements to

his parents at dinner do not fall within the statutory

St Ui AAS

tee, enero mem:

F19

scheme. As they cannot survive the privileged communica-

tion analysis, they are non-privileged statements. Further

they are the admissions of a party and are therefore

exempt from the hearsay rule and would be admissible in

court. Cal. Evid. Code § 1220.

Even if these communications were privileged, Peti-

tioner waived the privilege by disclosing the same infor-

mation to Reed Harris. Kaiser Foundation Hosp. v.

Superior Court, 66 Cal. App. 1217, 1226 (1998) (citing Cal.

Evid. Code § 912(a)). Reed Harris testified to these state-

ments at trial and Petitioner does not claim that Harris’

testimony was privileged in any way. Thus, by revealing

privileged information to a third party Petitioner waived

any privilege that may have existed.

b. Disclosure of the Location of Body of the Vic-

tim.’

Petitioner alleges that Trial Counsel erred by calling

the police and telling them the location of his wife’s body.

Petitioner argues that he was not advised that he had the

right to prevent Trial Counsel from disclosing this infor-

mation. Petitioner further alleges that he did not actually

consent to this disclosure as he made no response when

Counsel asked if they should tell the police where to find

the body. (Kurtz Decl. p.2).

A defendant cannot prevail on an ineffective assis-

tance of counsel claim for counsel’s action that occurred

prior to when the constitutional right to counsel attaches.

" This sub-claim appears as Petitioner’s “1(a).”

F20

Wainright v. Torna, 455 U.S. 586, 587-88 (1982) (holding

no claim where petitioner had no constitutional right to

counsel at a state post-conviction stage); Claudio v. Scully,

982 F.2d 798, 801-2 (2d Cir. 1992) (finding no claim where

counsel advised surrender and confession, before advising

client of the possible charges or defenses to murder). The

protections of the Sixth Amendment right to counsel are

not triggered by the mere existence of an attorney-client

relationship, but rather by the initiation of adversarial

judicial proceedings. Maine v. Moulton, 474 U.S. 159

(1985); see also Moran v. Burbine, 475 U.S. 412, 430 (1986)

(“by its very terms [the Sixth Amendment] is applicable

only when the Government’s role shifts from investigation

to accusation”). The Sixth Amendment right to counsel

attaches only at or after the initiation of adversary judicial

proceedings against the defendant. United States uv.

Gouveia. 467 U.S. 180, 187 (1984). The disclosure of the

location of Susan’s body took place before Petitioner was

arrested and before formal charges had been filed. Peti-

tioner was under investigation but was not subject to

adversarial judicial proceedings. Therefore, the Sixth

Amendment right to counsel had not yet attached, and

there can be no ineffective assistance of counsel claim

based on these facts.

Even if the Sixth Amendment right to counsel had

attached, Petitioner has not shown that Trial Counsel’s

actions where either unreasonable or unethical. The

declaration of Jerry Hamilton, provided by Petitioner,

states that Trial Counsel did ask if they should tell the

police where the body was located. Petitioner was clearly

presented with the opportunity to say “no”. Even if he was

ignorant of the law, he was asked what he wanted to do.

F21

Presented with this choice he did not object to the disclo-

sure. These actions can reasonably be interpreted as

consent to a waiver of attorney-client privilege.

Finally, Petitioner cannot and has not shown preju-

dice. Even if Trial Counsel had not disclosed the location of

the body to the police, as the police were in the process of

searching the house, and they would have found the body

anyway. Finding the body in the house would have allowed

them to link Petitioner to the body. Further, Petitioner had

already told his mother, step-father and AA sponsor Reed

Harris that he knew his wife was dead. He told Reed

Harris that he had hidden the body. Petitioner had already

disclosed to non-privileged sources that he knew (inferen-

tially) where the body was located. Therefore, Trial Coun-

sel’s disclosure of the location of the body was non-

prejudicial.

c. Testimony by Jerry Hamilton Regarding Privi-

leged Communications’.

Petitioner contends that the testimony by his step-

father Jerry Hamilton during the preliminary hearing and

trial revealed the details of the meeting between himself

and his counsel. Petitioner contends that Counsel erred by

not claiming attorney-client privilege at either time to

prevent this testimony.

* This sub-claim appears as Petitioner's “1(b).”

In this claim Petitioner levels allegations of violation of attorney-

client privilege at both the preliminary hearing and the trial. The Court

has only pages 20-25 of the clerk’s transcript. As the statements made

at the preliminary hearing are not themselves in dispute, the Court will

proceed without further review of that record.

F22

Jerry Hamilton testified at the preliminary hearing

that at dinner on the night of January 11, Petitioner told

him and his wife that Susan Kurtz was dead. (CT at 22).

He also testified that this was essentially the same story

that Petitioner had told his attorney on the morning of

January 12, 1993. (CT at 23-24). Petitioner contends that

prior to Trial Counsel’s cross-examination, all that Hamil-

ton had testified to was that Petitioner had said he knew

his wife was dead. It was Trial Counsel’s questions to

Hamilton which brought before the court the story of

suicide and Petitioner’s knowledge of the location of the

body.

Accepting, without finding, that this was not an

objectively reasonable performance on the part of Trial

Counsel, Petitioner cannot show prejudice. The police had

found Susan’s body hidden in a closet in Petitioner’s

house. They had a pathologist’s testimony stating that the

evidence was inconsistent with suicide. They also had

Jerry Hamilton’s testimony regarding the non-privileged

statements by Petitioner that he knew his wife was dead,

and he had found her body in the garage. As Respondent

points out, the purpose of a preliminary hearing is only to

determine whether there is probable cause to bring

charges. Absent the contested testimony, the judge could

still have reasonably found probable cause on these facts.

Thus no prejudice can be found.

At trial Hamilton testified as a witness for the prose-

cution. During cross-examination by Trial Counsel, Hamil-

ton said that on January 12th, while present at a meeting

between Petitioner and Trial Counsel, he heard Petitioner

tell Trial Counsel where Susan’s body was located. He

then saw Trial Counsel call Petitioner’s home, and heard

Pa

aa OO tal aie Ro acct

~ Ea ONE TNS NINA, SEEN NORE RE ARTI ais ae enn th Meee et

F23

him tell officers to look in the computer/bedroom closet.

(RT at 124-25). On redirect the prosecutor questioned

Hamilton further about what was said during the meeting

between Petitioner and Trial Counsel. (RT at 134). Hamil-

ton testified that Petitioner told Trial Counsel that Susan

had committed suicide. Id.

Petitioner states that this was a violation of the

attorney-client privilege and resulted in ineffective assis-

tance of counsel. Again, accepting, without finding, that

Trial Counsel’s performance was objectively unreasonable,

Petitioner cannot show prejudice. Petitioner alleges that

prejudice results because his story regarding Susan

committing suicide did not need to come out. Had Trial

Counsel effectively limited the scope of Jerry Hamilton’s

testimony to exclude the privileged material, Petitioner

contends, he could simply have told his story regarding the

physical confrontation between himself and Susan Kurtz.

Petitioner’s argument is flawed. He had already told his

mother, step-father and Reed Harris that he had found

Susan dead in the garage from apparent suicide. All of

those communications were outside the scope of attorney-

client privilege. Petitioner’s lies would still have come

before the jury through these three witnesses.

d. Testimony regarding Petitioner’s state of

mind leading up to trial testimony’

Petitioner alleges that Trial Counsel farther erred by

allowing Petitioner to testify about the circumstances

leading up to his testimony at trial. At trial Petitioner

* This sub-claim appears as Petitioner’s “1(c).”

F24

testified that it was a physical struggle and not suicide

which caused Susan’s death. Petitioner, in response to

Trial counsel’s questioning, testified that his current

testimony differed from his previous statements to his

friends and family because Trial Counsel told him his

story of Susan’s suicide didn’t fit with the facts uncovered

prior to trial. Trial counsel also asked Petitioner if he had

lied to his attorney at their initial meeting. Petitioner

contends that these questions and the testimony they

elicited were privileged information.

Petitioner is correct that the substance of these

statements were privileged communications. However, by

testifying about these statements Petitioner tacitly, if not

expressly, consented to waive the privilege. It was Peti-

tioner’s right and decision to take the stand, and he makes

no allegations of coercion concerning this choice.

“A fair assessment of attorney performance requires

that every effort be made to eliminate the distorting

effects of hindsight, to reconstruct the circumstances of

counsel’s challenged conduct, and to evaluate the conduct

from counsel’s perspective at the time.” Strickland, 466

U.S. at 689. Petitioner’s allegations call into question the

underlying theory of Trial Counsel’s defense case on

Petitioner’s behalf. The initial theory of the defense case,

based on the information provided by Petitioner, was that

Petitioner was not responsible for Susan’s death but

rather she had killed herself and that Petitioner’s feelings

of guilt and trauma had prevented him from notifying the

police immediately. At trial the theory changed, probably,

as Petitioner points out, because the pathologist’s testi-

mony at the preliminary hearing ruled out suicide. The

defense theory was that, suffering from Post Traumatic

Stress Disorder, Petitioner was unable to admit the truth

—E————

F25

to himself or the authorities, and that now he would tell

everyone the truth. As part of this defense, Trial Counsel

put all of the lies on the table to lend credibility to this

“clean breast” theory. This included Petitioner’s inability

to admit even to his own attorney what had really hap-

pened. Counsel’s approach when viewed piece by piece

may seem unorthodox but not beyond the scope of reason-

able or competent given the facts of the case and the

information provided, piece meal, by Petitioner to his

Counsel. As these actions were not unreasonable, the

Court need not reach the issue of prejudice.

In sum, Petitioner’s first claim of ineffective assis-

tance of counsel based on mismanagement of information

covered by the attorney-client privilege must fail because:

(1) statements to Petitioner’s parents were not covered by

the attorney-client privilege; (2) the Sixth Amendment

right to counsel had not yet attached when Trial Counsel

revealed the location of Susan’s body, nor were his actions

prejudicial; (3) Jerry Hamilton’s testimony was not preju-

dicial to the defense; and (4) Petitioner waived the attor-

ney-client privilege with regard to his own testimony.

2. __ Violation of Attorney-Client Privilege Resulting

in Failure to Present Exculpatory Evidence Re-

garding Petitioner’s State of Mind Following

Murder.

Petitioner alleges that Trial Counsel’s abuse of the

attorney-client privilege had a chilling effect upon Peti-

tioner’s ability to trust and to confide in him, which

resulted in constructive denial of effective assistance of

counsel. Petitioner argues that he is constitutionally

entitled to an attorney-client relationship in which he can

fully disclose the facts of his case in order to seek legal

F26

advice. (ZAP at 34). Petitioner states that he committed

certain financial crimes, and that his fear of these crimes

being discovered prevented him from calling the police

when Susan died. (2AP at 32). Petitioner did not share this

information with Trial Counsel because the disclosure of

the location of his wife’s body and his step-father’s testi-

mony at the preliminary hearing led Petitioner to distrust

him. (2AP at 33-34). Thus, Petitioner argues, Trial Coun-

sel’s alleged violation of the attorney client privilege

resulted in complete denial of Petitioner’s Sixth Amend-

ment right and prejudice should be presumed.

Insofar as this claim rises or falls upon Petitioner’s

prior arguments that there has been a violation of the

attorney-client privilege, this claim fails because the Court

has found no violation of the attorney-client privilege. The

Court otherwise finds the substance of Petitioner’s argu-

ment to be without merit.

The Sixth Amendment does not guarantee a “mean-

ingful relationship” between an accused and his publicly

appointed counsel, but merely a right to competent coun-

sel. Morris v. Slappy, 461 U.S. 1, 14 (1983). Individuals

who can afford to retain counsel have a qualified right to

obtain counsel of their choice, Releford v. United States,

288 F.2d 298, 301 (9th Cir. 1961), and privately retained

attorneys are held to the same standard as public defend-

ers regarding a criminal defendant’s Sixth Amendment

right to effective assistance of counsel. Cuyler v. Sullivan,

446 U.S. 336. 334-35 (1980). Thus, Petitioner is in error

that he has a constitutional right to a relationship of trust

and candor with his attorney, rather his constitutional

right is to competent representation, consequently preju-

dice cannot be presumed.

F27

In the alternative, failure to request a change or

substitution in counsel before, or during trial, is a waiver

of any claim of ineffective assistance of counsel based on

the breakdown of the attorney-client relationship. Thomas

v. Wainwright, 767 F.2d 738, 743 (11th Cir. 1985). In the

instant case, Petitioner claims to have been alarmed at

Counsel’s trial tactics (i.e., disclosure of information that

Petitioner deemed confidential) as early as January 12,

1993, when Trial counsel told the police where Susan’s

body was, and as late as the date of the preliminary

hearing. Petitioner had through late August of 1993 in

which either to obtain new counsel or, at the very least, to

notify the trial court that Petitioner was unhappy with

counsel and needed time to obtain new counsel. Petitioner

failed to take any action to alert the court or Counsel of his

feelings. Therefore, this claim must fail.

B. Conflict of Interest Standard

Petitioner’s claims three and four allege ineffective

assistance of counsel based on conflict of interest. First,

Petitioner claims that Trial Counsel’s mishandling of

privileged communications exposed him to a potential

malpractice action, thus creating a conflict of interest.

Second, Petitioner claims that Trial Counsel’s ongoing

relationship with the Fresno Police Department and the

District Attorney’s Office created a conflict of interest,

thereby affecting his ability to defend Petitioner’s interests

effectively. (2AP at 38-50).

Under the Sixth Amendment, a criminal defendant

has the right to be represented by counsel whose loyalties

are undivided. Wood v. Georgia, 450 U.S. 261, 271 (1981);

Mannhalt v. Reed, 847 F.2d 576, 579 (9th Cir. 1988). “To

F28

establish a Sixth Amendment violation based on a conflict

of interest, a defendant must show (1) that counsel ac-

tively represented conflicting interests, and (2) that an

actual conflict of interest adversely affected his lawyer’s

performance.” Mannhalt, 847 F.2d at 579 (citing Cuyler v.

Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335, 350 (1980)). Actual conflict must

be proven “through a factual showing on the record.”

Morris v. California, 966 F.2d 448, 455 (9th Cir. 1992). To

show adverse effect, Petitioner “need only show that some

effect on counsel’s handling of particular aspects of the

trial was ‘likely.’ United States v. Miskinis, 966 F.2d 1263,

1268 (9th Cir. 1992) (citing Mannhalt 847 F.2d at 583).

Adverse effect is not the same as showing prejudice, but

rather requires factual assertions regarding particular

aspects of the trial that may have been handled differ-

ently. Id. Both Mannhalt and Miskinis pointed to specific

areas of defense that could have been pursued but weren’t,

presumably because of the attorney's conflict of interest.

Mannhalt, 847 F.2d at 581; Miskinis, 966 F.2d at 1268.

Therefore, a petitioner must show that an actual

conflict existed and point to specific areas where that

conflict may have affected counsel’s representation.

1. Trial Counsel had Conflict of Interest Due to Mis-

management of Attorney-Client Privilege Com-

munications.

Petitioner alleges that Counsel’s violation of the

attorney-client privilege” resulted in an actual conflict of

Here Petitioner refers to errors alleged in ground I: disclosure of

the location of the body; Jerry Hamilton’s testimony regarding the

(Continued on following page)

ee ee ae ae eee

De be SDA TAAL RO PE AED et at Ae

fh On eaten nes

F29

interest which deprived Petitioner of effective assistance of

counsel. Petitioner contends that had he been informed of

the nature and scope of attorney-client privilege, he would

never have waived the privilege. Petitioner contends that

Trial Counsel’s violation of attorney-client privilege ex-

posed Counsel to a potential malpractice suit, negative

publicity, and loss of client fees, all of which Trial Counsel

must have known. (2AP at 38-39). This threat to Trial

Counsel created a conflict of interest which impaired

Counsel’s performance by preventing him from disclosing

to Petitioner the scope of the attorney-client privilege and

requiring continued violation of the privilege."

Petitioner cites two cases for the proposition that

where malpractice is alleged, conflict of interest will be

found, Lopez v. Sculley, 58 F.3d 38, 41 (2d Cir. 1995) and

United States v. Shorter 54 F.3d 1248, 1252-53 (7th Cir.

1995). However, these cases are factually distinguishable

from the present case. In both of these cases the defen-

dant/client alleged ineffective assistance of counsel or acts

which constituted malpractice during the course of their

criminal trial or sentencing while counsel actively repre-

sented them. These accusations had the double effect of

putting their respective attorneys in the position of deny-

ing the charges, contradicting their clients and violating

their duty of loyalty, thus creating an actual (as opposed to

attorney-client meeting of January 12; Jerry and Kathy Hamilton’s

testimony about communications during the dinner on January 11; and

Petitioner’s own testimony regarding communications between himself

and counsel. (2AP at 40).

" This Court initially notes that insofar as the Court has already

found no violation of the attorney-client privilege, this claim accord-

ingly has no merit.

F30

potential) conflict. Lopez, 58 F.3d at 40-41; see also Shorter,

54 F.3d at 1252-53. In the present case the Petitioner did

not accuse his counsel of malpractice or ineffective assis-

tance until after the trial and sentencing were complete.

Tous, Petitioner has at most established a potential

conflict of interest between himself and counsel.

Where only a potential conflict of interest exists,

Petitioner must show that counsel’s fictions were unrea-

sonable and prejudicial to his defense. Strickland, 466

U.S. at 692 (stating that prejudice is presumed only where

there is actual conflict of interest). Without a showing of

prejudice, a “theoretical” or “potential” conflict is insuffi-

cient to constitute actual conflict; instead, Trial Counsel

must have actively represented conflicting interests. Bonin

v. Calderon, 59 F.3d 815, 827 (9th Cir. 1995). Petitioner

has not made such.a showing, and thus this claim must

fail.

2. Conflict of Interest on the Part of Trial Counsel

Due to Prior Favorable Treatment from Law En-

forcement.

Petitioner alleges that Trial Counsel’s performance

was impaired by actual conflict of interest caused by the

special treatment he received from the District Attorney’s

Office and the Fresno Police Department. Petitioner

contends that during his trial, Trial Counsel was negotiat-

ing for a consultant position for which he would be hired in

1995. Petitioner further contends that Trial Counsel was

beholden to the District Attorney’s Office and the Fresno

Police Department for favorable treatment that he had

mn A CS llth oS ert ie

F31

received and would continue to need because of his alco-

holism and penchant for drunk driving. (2AP at 41),”

Petitioner’s allegations at failure to disclose alleged

negotiations for future employment by Trial Counsel

constitutes actual conflict are in error. Mere acceptance of,

or application for, a job is not a per se conflict of interest.

United States v. Unruh, 855 F2d 1363, 1379 (9th Cir.

1987). United States v. Horton, 845 F.2d 1414, 1419 (7th

Cir. 1998) (holding that serious candidacy for a position

with the State will not create a conflict of interest as a

matter of law). Nor will the failure of counsel to notify his

or her client that he or she is being considered for such a

position result in actual conflict as a matter of law. Horton,

845 F.2d at 1419. Petitioner must show that “the defense

attorney was required to make a choice advancing his own

interest to the detriment of his client’s interests.” Jd.

Here, Trial Counsel did not take a position with the

District Attorney’s Office until two (2) years after the close

of Petitioner’s case and after he had retired from private

practice. Further, the position involved Trial Counsel

instructing new attorneys on trial techniques, not actually

advocating for the prosecution. (2AP Ex. 7 at 1). Thus, this

fails to meet the factual elements of the cases Petitioner

cites, and he fails to establish more than a potential

prejudice.

’ Similarly, allegations of Trial Counsel’s criminal

record and alleged special treatment alone are not enough

“ The Court notes that nowhere in the 2AP does Petitioner allege

Trial Counsel was under the influence of alcohol during any of the

Petitioner’s criminal proceedings.

F32

to demonstrate actual conflict. United States v. Baker, No.

99-56718, 2001 U.S. App. LEXIS 5620, at *9 (9th Cir. April

5, 2001) (holding that bare allegation of conflict based on

attorney's cooperation and plea on unrelated charges in

another federal district court insufficient for actual conflict

analysis). Petitioner argues that his case is analogous to

Mannhalt, in which counsel representing a client charged

with robbery and possession of stolen foods was accused by

a prosecutorial witness (and accomplice) of receiving

stolen goods. Jd. at 578. In the instant case, Trial Counsel

had been arrested previously by the same agency, but was

not implicated personally in this case and was not facing

charges or investigation during the Petitioner’s criminal

proceedings. (2AP, Ex. 7 at 2-6). Petitioner has not shown

that Trial Counsel’s prior crimes put his interest in direct

conflict with Petitioner in this case. As Petitioner has

failed to establish that either of these allegations rise to

the level of an actual conflict, and he has failed to demon-

strate prejudice, this claim must fail.

C. Failure to Present Evidence to Rebut Motive Theory.

Petitioner alleges that Trial Counsel erred by failing

to present evidence to rebut the prosecution’s motive

theory. According to Petitioner, the prosecution argued

that Petitioner resented his wife for removing him from

the business checking account and feared losing his

business to her in a divorce proceeding. (2AP at 51). He

asserts that the only motive presented by the prosecution

was Petitioner’s alleged financial concerns. Petitioner

further alleges that but for Trial Counsel’s failure to rebut

the motive theory Petitioner would not have been con-

victed.

Pale ne Leta lt

A kl 2 a Rs YB.

+ @Rey Rane ee

F33

Petitioner contends that this motive could have and

should have been rebutted with evidence of his separate

property assets. Petitioner alleges that Trial Counsel could

have easily done away with any financial motive through

Petitioner’s accountant, who testified as a character

witness, and who could have also testified that Petitioner’s

separate property was significantly larger than his stake

in the community property and thus there was no finan-

cial incentive for him to kill his wife.’ Petitioner argues

that if this evidence had been presented, the prosecution’s

motive theory would have been destroyed. Petitioner

points out several witnesses who testified that in Decem-

ber 1992, Petitioner and Susan appeared happily recon-

ciled and looking forward to the birth of their second child.

(2AP at 52).

Petitioner’s prejudice argument rests on the fact that

the California Appellate Court determined that the motive

theory was the “lynch pin” of the prosecution’s case as to

determining that premeditation and deliberation for first

degree murder existed. (2AP at 57). Petitioner states that

he told Counsel about his accountant. Thus, it was Coun-

sel’s failure to investigate or tactical decision not to pre-

sent this evidence that must be evaluated as reasonable or

unreasonable. (2AP at 55).

Assuming, without deciding, that Trial Counsel's

failure to put on this evidence was outside the wide scope

of reasonable and competent representation, the Court

“ The Court notes Carl Campbell, Petitioner's CPA, did not

provide any representation as to the net worth of petitioner’s separate

property at the time of Susan’s death. See 2AP, Ex. 4 ( Campbell Dec!.).

F34

turns to prejudice. Review of the trial transcript reveals

that financial incentive was only a portion of the motive

presented by the prosecution. The prosecution’s case also

presented the theory that it was not just losing the money

and the business but losing the money and business again.

The prosecution established through questioning, and

Petitioner’s fourth step diary documents, that Petitioner’s

first wife sold his business and divorced him while he was

incarcerated for his second felony offense. (R.T. at 787,

788, 892; Fourth Step Diary at 5-6, 7). The prosecution’s

theory could reasonably be interpreted by the jury as

calling into question Petitioner’s ability to handle another

failure, the loss of his business a second time to a wife who

could no longer put up with his drug addiction.

There was also more at stake than just the business.

There was the possibility that the Petitioner would lose

custody of his son. Thus, even if Trial Counsel had pre-

sented evidence of Petitioner’s alleged financial independ-

ence, the jury could still find the prosecution’s motive

theory credible. As Petitioner has failed to show prejudice,

this claim must fail.

D. Failure to Present Evidence of Victim’s State of Mind

through Introduction of Her “Step Work” Diary.

Petitioner alleges that Trial Counsel erred in failing to

introduce Susan’s “Step Diary” as evidence of her state of

mind, which would corroborate his version of the physical

encounter which led to Susan’s death.

Petitioner testified at trial that Susan found his

“Fourth step” paperwork in which he admitted to sleeping

with prostitutes when he was using drugs. (R.T. at 699,

701). Petitioner stated that upon reading these confessions

Se

F35

Susan became very upset and wanted to talk with him.

(R.T. at 701-02). Petitioner refused to discuss it with her

the night she found the papers. (R.T. at 705). Petitioner

stated that the next day Susan was still very upset, she

followed him to the garage and wanted to talk with him,

and Petitioner again refused. (R.T. at 708). Back inside the

house Susan said “I don’t have time for you.” (R.T. at 712-

13). Petitioner thought she was speaking to their son and

told her not to take her anger out on the child. (R.T. at

713). Susan then told Petitioner he was “scum”. (R.T. at

714). Petitioner testified that this comment sparked a

physical confrontation, initiated by Susan. (R.T. at 715).

Petitioner stated that Susan was so violent and angry that

he was forced to try and restrain her by holding her

against the wall with a computer cable, which resulted in

her death by strangulation. (R.T at 722-744),

Petitioner argues that to corroborate his testimony

Trial Counsel should have offered Susan’s “Step Diary”

which she was completing for her work in Al-Anon. Peti-

tioner characterizes this “Step Diary” as verifying that

Susan was “primed to 80 nova” on him if she found out

that he had had intercourse with another woman. (2AP at

65).

Initially, Petitioner fails to address whether this

“Diary” would even be admissible. First, it is a hearsay

document. It would only be admissible under the state of

mind exception if it was relevant in time to the events

which took place on January 4, 1993. Cal. Evid. Code

§ 1250 (a); People v. Karis, 46 Cal. 3d 612, 637 (1988)

(holding state of mind evidence admissible unless the

circumstances in which tae statements were made, the

lapse of time, or other evidence suggests that the state of

mind was transitory and no longer existed at the time of

F36

the charged offense). This document is dated November 6,

1991, and October 3, 1992. This is a year to three months

prior to the event in question, and therefore not likely to

be deemed relevant in time. Trial Counsel’s failure to

make a futile motion does not constitute behavior outside

the scope of competency. James v. Borg, 24 F.3d 20, 26 (9th

Cir. 1994).

Petitioner has also failed to demonstrate that Trial

Counsel’s decision not to introduce this document into

evidence does not fall within the wide range of competent

and reasonable performance. As Petitioner admitted, read

in its entirety this document creates a picture of Susan as

a woman who was disappointed and disillusioned by the

reality of her marriage. Far from evidencing that she was

a powder keg of “repressed rage,” it shows that she also

took responsibility for the problems in her marriage.

Additionally, Trial Counsel may have chosen not to intro-

duce this document as there were damaging statements

about Petitioner. For example, Susan wrote: “I felt afraid

that I had to make love to him after he came home ...

because of the way he would act — mad, hostile, aggressive,

accusatory.” (Susan’s Step Diary at 3). Contrary to charac-

ter witness testimony at trial, this statement suggests

that Petitioner may have had a history of violence or

aggression towards his wife. Susan had also written: “(I]

just pretend that if he tells me he hasn’t slept with anyone

and that he used new needles that it will be O.K.” (Susan’s

Step Diary at 4). This suggests that she didn’t believe

Petitioner when he told her that he had never had inter-

course with other women.

Petitioner contends that these statements could have

been suppressed as inadmissible hearsay; however, under

California Evidence Code § 356, if a portion of a writing is

ee er gee en

F37

introduced, the opposing party may introduce any other

relevant part. Therefore, Trial Counsel could not introduce

any potentially corroborative portions of Susan’s “Step

Diary” without opening the door to the more damaging

remainder. Thus, his decision not to introduce this docu-

ment falls within the range of reasonable and competent

representation.

Petitioner has also failed to establish how not intro-

ducing this document creates prejudice. Petitioner states

in his argument that Trial Counsel’s attempts to show

Susan’s propensity for anger through examination of her

family were not successful, leaving only the testimony of

Petitioner’s step-father and himself. Petitioner points to

some passages in Susan’s “Step Diary” that he alleges

show this pent up rage, and concludes that failure to

introduce this evidence is prejudice. (2AP at 66). Petitioner

states that a key fact going to the need for this corrobora-

tive evidence is that the prosecution did not question

Susan’s finding of the “Fourth step” paperwork but rather

her reaction to it. The prosecution questioned why Susan

didn’t react with violence immediately upon finding the

document. Admission of her diary does not answer this

question.

Even if the jury believed every word of Petitioner’s

testimony regarding his wife’s anger, they could still have

found him guilty of first degree murder. It was Petitioner’s

actions in the face of Susan’s anger that led to his convic-

tion, not the actions of his wife. In the circumstances as

described by Petitioner, there appears to be no reason for

him not to have left the house. He testified that he was

being hit and kicked; he also said that it didn’t really hurt.

(R.T. at 719, 722). He stated that he was not in fear for his

life, but rather he was just trying to control his wife. (R.T.

F38

at 746, 784-85). The jury could reasonably have found that

holding a computer cord around someone’s head or neck is

highly likely to lead to strangulation and death. Addition-

ally, the jury could still have determined that during the

struggle Petitioner had the opportunity consciously to

choose between walking or running away from the house

and his upset wife or killing her.“ They could reasonably

have found that Petitioner’s actions following the murder

were evidence of his consciousness of guilt. Finally, they

could have found that Petitioner, based on his lies to

family, friends, and police officers, was not a credible

witness and therefore did not believe that this was an

accident.

As the decision not to introduce this document is

within the wide range of competent behavior and there

was no prejudice to the defense by failing to introduce it,

this claim must fail.

E. Failure to Search Wallet Resulting in Consideration

by Jury of Extrinsic Evidence.

Petitioner alleges extrinsic evidence, a receipt for an

AIDS/HIV blood test inside Susan’s wallet, was allowed to

reach the jury, resulting in violations of his Fifth Amend-

ment right to due process and his Sixth Amendment right

to effective assistance of counsel. Apparently, neither

Petitioner, Trial Counsel, nor the prosecution knew of the

HIV blood test receipt when the wallet was given to the

jury. Petitioner argues that finding this receipt led the jury

* Petitioner testified that during the struggle he could have gone

out the front door but chose not to. (R.T. at 797)

oe ela sa

F39

to believe that Susan knew of his infidelity prior to finding

his fourth step paperwork. Petitioner contends that

allowing this blood test receipt to reach the jury destroyed

his credibility, and that but for this receipt the jury would

have found his testimony credible and found him not

guilty of first degree murder. To support his argument,

Petitioner points to the length of jury deliberations and

their request to have his testimony read back in its en-

tirety, arguing these elements suggest that the decision

was a very close one. Petitioner argues that his credibility

was the determinative factor. (2AP at 73).

Susan’s wallet was found in the southeast bedroom of

Petitioner’s home. (R.T. at 296). The significance of the

wallet lies in the fact that it was missing (along with a

computer printer) from MacSource the night of her disap-

pearance, suggesting foul play. (R.T. at 45). When the

police searched defendant’s home, they found the missing

wallet. (R.T. at 296).

Petitioner presents this court with the declarations of

two jurors regarding the presence of the receipt in the jury

room and its effect on their deliberations. The admissibil-

ity of post-verdict juror testimony is controlled by Federal

Rule of Evidence 606(b): “[A] juror may not testify as to...

the effect of anything upon that or any other juror’s mind

or emotions as influencing the juror to assent to or dissent

from the verdict ... or concerning the juror’s mental

processes in connection therewith....” This rule applies

to petitions for writ of habeas corpus from state court

prisoners. See Fed. R. Evid. 1101(e).

Jurors may not impeach their own verdict. Tanner v.

United States, 483 U.S. 107, 117-127 (1987); Hard uv.

Burlington N. R.R., 870 F.2d 1454, 1460-1461 (9th Cir.

F40

1989). Accordingly, “evidence concerning a jury’s delibera-

tions or a juror’s reasoning is inadmissible to impeach a

verdict.” United States v. Rohrer, 708 F.2d 429, 434 (9th

Cir. 1983) (finding affidavits regarding jurors’ individual

or collective thought processes inadmissible under Rule

606(b)). Moreover, jurors “may not be questioned about the

deliberative process ... nor can such information be

considered by the trial or appellate courts.” United States

v. Bagnariol, 665 F.2d 877, 884-85 (9th Cir. 1981). Thus,

any juror declaration offered by Petitioner to demonstrate

the effect that the receipt had on their determination of

guilt or innocence may not be considered as evidence by

this Court. These declarations may only be considered for

the purpose of establishing that the receipt was in fact

found by the jury.

Petitioner first argues, by analogy to Eslaminia v.

White, 136 F.3d 1234 (9th Cir. 1998), that the admission of

this HIV/AIDS receipt is extrinsic evidence. Consideration

of evidence not admitted at trial violates the petitioner’s

rights to confrontation, cross-examination, and effective

assistance of counsel. Jd. at 1237. In habeas corpus review,

the harmless error standard applies to the use of such

evidence by the jury. “[A]n error requires reversal only if it

had substantial and injurious effect or influence in deter-

mining the jury’s verdict.” Id. (citing Brecht v. Abraham-

son, 507 U.S. 619, 631 (1993)).

Petitioner contends that consideration of this docu-

ment had a substantial influence on the jury’s determina-

tion of the verdict. Petitioner’s entire defense rested on the

fact that Susan’s death was the result of a physical con-

frontation sparked by her discovery of his infidelities.

Petitioner points out that twice he testified that Susan did

not know about his infidelities before the night she found

OO ee ee

F41

the fourth step notes. (2AP at 71). He also notes that if the

jury found his testimony credible, no witness for the

prosecution could contradict his story. (2AP at 72). There-

fore, he concludes, the jury must have interpreted his

receipt to mean that Susan knew of petitioner’s infideli-

ties, and that destroyed his credibility which led them to

convict.

What Petitioner fails to acknowledge is that he had

told his wife he was an intravenous drug user. The sim-

plest explanation for the blood test was that Susan sought

the test because of his behavior. The jury therefore did not

need to infer that she knew of his contact with prostitutes.

Alternatively, Petitioner testified that while Susan knew

most of what was in his fourth step diary, she just didn’t

know the specifics. (R.T. at 793). The jury could therefore

have determined that based on her suspicions she decided

to get tested. This would have been consistent with the

evidence that Petitioner presented at trial. Thus, exposure

of the jury to this extrinsic evidence did not necessarily

incriminate Petitioner or unduly influence their determi-

nation of guilt or innocence.

As discussed previously, even if the jury believed

Petitioner’s testimony that he was only responding in kind

to his wife’s rage, the jury could still have found him

guilty. See discussion Claim D supra. Therefore, considera-

tion of this evidence would have been harmless error and

this claim must fail.

Regarding Petitioner’s claim of ineffective assistance

of counsel for failure to search the wallet, this claim must

also fail. Petitioner claims that but for counsel’s failure to

search the wallet the HIV/AIDS receipt would never have

reached the jury, and the outcome of the trial would have

F42

been different. Assuming, without deciding, that Trial

Counsel did err by not inventorying the wallet before

allowing it to be admitted into evidence, for the foregoing

reasons Petitioner cannot show prejudice.

F. Failure to Request California Jury Instruction 8.73 on

the Relation of Provocation to the Degree of Murder.

_ Petitioner alleges ineffective assistance of counsel for

failure to request CALJIC No. 8.73, regarding evidence of

provocation on the question of first or second degree

murder.

CALJIC No. 8.73 states:

If the evidence establishes that there was provo-

cation which played a part in inducing an unlaw-

ful killing of a human being, but the provocation

was not sufficient to reduce the homicide to man-

slaughter, you should consider the provocation

for the bearing it may have on whether the de-

fendant killed with or without deliberation and

premeditation.

The basis of Petitioner’s defense was that his wife

initiated a physical confrontation which resulted in her

accidental death, that he was provoked into killing her.

Petitioner claims Trial Counsel’s failure to request this

jury instruction resulted in the jury using the evidence of

provocation only for the purpose of determining whether it

was murder or manslaughter.

Where the record shows that counsel deliberately

chose not to request a specific instruction, and the record

shows that the omission was reasonable, ineffective

assistance of counsel will not be found. Butcher v.

Marquez, 758 F.2d 373, 377 (9th Cir. 1985). In the instant

i ee ee

F43

case, the record indicates that both counsels and the trial

judge went over the instructions. (R.T. at 888-89). They

covered sequentially CALJIC Nos. 8.70, 8.71, 8.72, and

8.74. Id. This tends to suggest that Trial Counsel exam-

ined CALJIC No. 8.73 and chose not to use it. Additionally,

Trial Counsel strategically chose an all or nothing ap-

proach in regard to sentencing. Had Petitioner been

convicted of second degree murder he would have faced a

possible sentence of fifteen (15) years-to-life, under Penal

Code § 190 with no guarantee of parole given the facts of

this case. As the California Appellate Court found, Trial

Counsel’s decision not to ask for this instruction so as to

focus the jury on manslaughter was reasonable. Petitioner

has failed to show Trial Counsel’s failure to request this

instruction falls outside the wide range of reasonable and

competent representation and therefore must fail.

II. _ Violation of Due Process through Failure of the

Trial Court to give CALJIC No. 8.73

Petitioner claims that the trial court violated his Fifth

Amendment right to due process by failing to give, sua

sponte, CALJIC No. 8.73."

Initially, the Court notes that the state appellate court

found that the trial court erred by failing to give CALJIC

No. 8.73, but found that it was harmless error. Indeed,

Petitioner’s argument appears to be supported by the

California Supreme Court’s decision in People v. Johnson,

‘* Respondent contends that this claim has not been exhausted in

state court. However, this Court may deny the petition notwithstanding

the failure to exhaust. 28 U.S.C. § 2254(b)\2).

F44

6 Cal. 4th 1, 42-43 (1993) (approving sua sponte instruc-

tion on provocation as to mitigating deliberation element

of mens rea for first degree murder). However, the Califor-

nia Supreme Court’s decision in People v. Saille, holding

that there no sua sponte duty to give pinpoint instructions

as opposed to special defenses, calls Johnson into question.

54 Cal. 3d 1103, 1117 (1991). Where the defendant relates

certain evidence to an element of the crime and attempts

to raise a reasonable doubt as to that element (in Saille

the evidence was voluntary intoxication), it is offered as a

defense to an element of the crime and not as a defense to

the crime itself, therefore it is a pinpoint instruction. Id.

At least two California appellate courts have held that

provocation is merely a defense to the element of premedi-

tation and/or deliberation and therefore is a pinpoint

instruction that must be requested. People v. Lee, 28 Cal.

App. 4th 1724, 1734 (1994); People v. Middleton, 52 Cal.

App. 4th 19, 32-33 (1997). This discrepancy in state law

indicates that, as Respondent points out, thi. claim may

not even rise to the level of a constitutional violation.

Middleton v. Cupp, 768 F.2d 1083, 1085 (9th Cir. 1985)

(holding federal habeas relief is “unavailabie for alleged

error in the interpretation or application of state law”).

A federal court may overturn a state conviction

resulting from an error in instructing the jury only if the

instructional error “so infected the entire trial that the

resulting conviction violates due process.” Henderson uv.

Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145, 154 (1977); Cupp v. Naughten, 414

U.S. 141, 146 (1973); Jeffries v. Bladgett, 5 F.3d 1180, 1195

(9th Cir. 1993). Challenged jury instructions must be

considered in the context of the jury instructions taken as

a whole and the trial record. Estelle v. McGuire, 502 U.S.

62, 72 (1991); Prantil v. California, 843 F.2d 314, 317 (9th

ee

ser siee

Sa he kD an Me A NOT er tte a

F45

Cir. 1988). The showing of a due process violation for jury

instruction errer is much higher on collateral review than

on direct review. Henderson, 431 U.S. at 154.

The trial court’s error in omitting a jury instruction is

less likely to be prejudicial than the trial court’s misstate-

ment of the law. Henderson, 431 U.S. at 155; see also

Villafuerte v. Stewart, 111 F.3d 616, 624 (9th Cir. 1997)

(habeas petitioner whose claim involves a failure to give a

particular instruction bears an especially heavy burden).

To determine if the trial court’s failure to give a jury

instruction violated due process, the court must look at the

context of the entire trial and overall charge to the jury.

Estelle, 502 U.S. at 71-72; Cupp v. Naughten, 414 U.S. 141,

147 (1973).

A criminal defendant is entitled to adequate instruc-

tions on his or her theory of defense. United States v.

Kenny, 645 F.2d 1323, 1337 (9th Cir.) (reh’g and reh’g en

banc denied, appeal amended) (1981) (“jury must be

instructed as to the defense theory of the case”). In this

case the jury was instructed on the defense of provocation

as relates to manslaughter. The record reveals that the

Trial Counsel opted for an all-or-nothing defense strategy,

failing, whether of neglect or plan, to request CALJIC No.

8.73. They were instructed that: “To establish that a

killing is murder and not manslaughter, the burden is on

the People to prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the

elements of murder an that act which caused the death

was not done in the heat of passion or upon a sudden

quarrel.... ” However, the jury was instructed on the

elements of first degree and second degree murder as well

as manslaughter. Further, they were instructed that if

they were not convinced beyond a reasonable doubt as to

whether the Petitioner’s actions constituted first or second

F46

degree murder, they must give the benefit of the doubt to

Petitioner and find second degree murder. (R.T. at 971).

These instructions properly place the burden of proof on

the prosecution, and they instructed the jury as to the

defense theory of the case. There was no fundamental

unfairness in the trial court’s failure to instruct the jury

that they may consider evidence of provocation as a

defense to premeditation or deliberation under these

circumstances. As such, this claim must be denied.

III. Insufficient Evidence to Support a Conviction of

First Degree Murder.

Petitioner alleges that the trial record, the statements

of witnesses and the exhibits are insufficient to prove as a

matter of law premeditation or malice aforethought

beyond a reasonable doubt. To determine whether a

conviction violates the Constitution because of insufficient

evidence, a federal court on writ of habeas corpus must

determine whether “any rational trier of fact could have

found the essential elements of the crime beyond a rea-

sonable doubt.” Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 319

(1979); Jones v. Wood, 114 F.3d 1002, 1008 (9th Cir. 1997);

Payne v. Borg, 982 F.2d 335, 338 (9th Cir. 1993) (en banc).

All evidence must be considered in the light that is the

most favorable to the prosecution. Jackson, 443 U.S. at

319; Jones, 114 F.3d at 1108. The trier of fact’s responsibil-

ity to resolve conflicting testimony, weigh evidence, and

draw reasonable inferences from the facts. Jd. The Court

must base its determination of sufficiency of the evidence

from an independent review of the record. Jones, 982 F.2d

at 338.

The California Supreme Court has stated that evi-

dence concerning motive, planning, and the manner of

F47

killing are pertinent to the determination of premeditation

and deliberation, but these factors are not exclusive nor

are they invariably determinative. People v. Perez, 2 Cal.

4th 1117, 1125-1126 (1992). “Premeditation can occur in a

brief period of time. The true test is not the duration of

time as much as it is the extent of the reflection. Thoughts

may follow each other with great rapidity and cold, calcu-

lated judgment may be arrived at quickly.” Perez, 2 Cal.

4th at 1127.

In this case, there was sufficient evidence by which a

reasonable juror could have concluded that petitioner’s

intent to kill Susan was premeditated and deliberated.

Petitioner’s own testimony provides sufficient evidence for

the jury to find deliberation and premeditation. Petitioner

testified that he put the computer cable around her head.

(R.T. at 732). He testified that the cord moved down to her

neck. (R.T. at 734). Counsel asked him what he did when

the cord got around her neck, and Petitioner replied: “I

pulled on it.” (R.T. at 735). Trial Counsel asked if he

intended to choke Susan, and Petitioner replied: “Enough

to stop [her].” (R.T. at 735). After the cable was around her

neck they struggled back and forth, Susan pushing him

away from her. (R.T. at 737). Petitioner testified that he

applied pressure to the cable and used it to push Susan

against the wall. (R.T. at 740). Reviewing this testimony,

the jury could determine that during the struggle Peti-

tioner had the opportunity to consciously choose between

F48

walking or running away from the house and his upset

wife or killing her.”

Additionally, the jury could infer planning from the

fact that Susan was killed during a time when all of the

store employees were scheduled to be attending a confer-

ence out of town. She had been relegated to bed rest so her

friends would not miss her. They could find that peti-

tioner’s wearing the computer cable around his neck,

failing to deposit it in the computer room with the printer

he was installing, was further evidence of planning.

Finally, the prosecution provided the jury with a strong

motive and the jury could reasonably have found that

petitioner’s actions following the murder were evidence of

his consciousness of guilt.

Petitioner’s disagreement with the jury’s finding

based on his own remembrances of the incident does not

mean there was insufficient evidence to find premeditation

and deliberation. It simply means the issue was factually

disputed. The Court is bound by the factual determina-

tions of the jury. Jackson, 443 U.S. at 319. Thus, there was

sufficient evidence by which a reasonable jury could have

concluded petitioner premeditated and deliberated to kill

Susan Kurtz.

RECOMMENDATION

Accordingly, the Court RECOMMENDS that the

petition for writ of habeas corpus be DENIED, and further

© Petitioner testified that during the struggle he could have gone

out the front door but chose not to. (R.T. at 1797)

RSet ee Cee RO Ce ene aR

Atel at amet

betes ig BRS se

idle) Talore a anil Bde) oe Wis ME IOS HRS te Meine he

Cab Le ator

i at

F49

RECOMMENDS any pending motions be DENIED as

moot.”

This report and recommendation is submitted to the

Honorable Anthony Ishii, United States District Court

Judge, pursuant to the provisions of 28 U.S.C.

§ 636(b)(1)(B) and Rule 72-304 of the Local Rules of Practice

for the United States District Court, Eastern District of

California. Within thirty (30) days after being served with a

copy, any party may file written objections with the court

and serve a copy on all parties. Such a document should be

captioned “Objections to Magistrate Judge’s Findings and

Recommendations.” Replies to the objections shall be served

and filed within ten (10) court days (plus three days if

served by mail) after service of the objections. The Court

will then review the Magistrate Judge’s ruling pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1C). The parties are advised that

failure to file objections within the specified time may waive

the right to appeal the District Court’s order. Martinez v.

Yist, 951 F.2d 1153 (9th Cir. 1991).

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: 8/8/01

/s/ Sandra M. Snyder

SANDRA M. SNYDER

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Currently pending before this Court is Petitioner application and

request for an evidentiary hearing as to grounds one through eight (1-8)

of the second amended petition.

Gl

APPENDIX G

S078010

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

IN RE ROBERT M. KURTZ

ON

HABEAS CORPUS

(Filed Jul 28, 1999)

Petition for writ of habeas corpus is DENIED. (In re Clark

(1993) 5 Cal.4th 750; In re Robbins (1998) 18 Cal.4th 770,

780; In re Waltreus (1965) 62 Cal.2d 218, 225.)

/s/ George

Chief Justice

scp,

Mii. idee aii ie a.

H1

APPENDIX H

Fifth Appellate District No. F028036

S060748

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

In Re ROBERT M. KURTZ On Habeas Corpus

(Filed Jun. 18, 1997)

Petition for review DENIED on the merits.

/s/ George

Chief Justice

Il

APPENDIX I

Fifth Appellate District No. F020453

S047547

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

THE PEOPLE, Respondent

v.

ROBERT M. KURTZ, Appellant

(Filed Aug. 30, 1995)

Appellant’s petition for review DENIED.

/s/ Lucas

Chief Justice

J1

APPENDIX J

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIFTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

THE PEOPLE, F020453

Plaintiff and Respondent, | (Super. Ct. No. 480916-6)

v. 7 OPINION

ROBERT M. KURTZ, (Filed May 31, 1995)

Defendant and Appellant.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of

Fresno County. Gary Ray Kerkorian, Judge.

Cliff Gardner, under appointment by the Court of

Appeal, and Robert M. Kurtz, in pro. per., for Defendant

and Appellant.

Daniel E. Lungren, Attorney General, George Wil-

liamson, Chief Assistant Attorney General, Robert R.

Anderson, Assistant Attorn 2y General, Edgar A. Kerry and

Robert P. Whitlock, Deputy Attorneys General, for Plain-

tiff and Respondent.

Defendant Robert M. Kurtz was convicted by jury of

the first degree murder of his wife Susan. Defendant

appeals, claiming the evidence is insufficient to support a

first degree murder conviction, the failure to instruct on

provocation as it related to second degree murder was

prejudicial, trial counsel was ineffective in failing to

request a provocation instruction, the trial court erred in

J2

excluding testimony concerning defendant’s propensity or

lack thereof for violence, and the trial court erred when it

ordered the doors of the courtroom to be locked during

closing argument. We affirm.

FACTS

Defendant and Susan Kurtz owned a computer store,

MacSource, in Fresno. They had a two-year-old son.

Although defendant and Susan had a successful business

and were very active ‘n their church, they had a troubled

marriage due largely to defendant’s alcohol and cocaine

use. They separated from August to October of 1992. They

reunited and Susan became pregnant with their second

child. Because she was having a difficult pregnancy, it was

determined in January of 1993 that she should do her

work for their business from their home.

On Sunday, January 3, 1993, defendant and Dale

Shimono, an employee at MacSource, worked together at

MacSource to set up a program so Susan could work from

home. Dale talked to Susan on the phone while he was

setting up the program.

That evening defendant attended an Alcoholics Anony-

mous (AA) meeting. His sponsor, Reed Harris, did not

notice anything unusual about defendant’s behavior that

evening. As part of the AA program, members are required

to work through a 12-step program. The fourth step is a

personal inventory of their lives. It includes a list of the

wrongs they committed and the people they resented.

Defendant did not appear at the business on Monday,

January 4, as expected. On Tuesday, January 5, Dale

J3

Shimono talked to defendant on the telephone. He told

Dale that Susan had found his “fourth step” and things

were “fucked up.” Defendant showed up at work that

afternoon. He was limping and had a bandage on his left

hand. On Tuesday evening, defendant went to the AA

meeting. Harris noted that defendant was agitated that

evening. Defendant revealed to Harris that Susan had

found his fourth step notes.

Between Monday, January 3, 1993, and Thursday,

January 7, 1993, several friends and family members

attempted to contact Susan by telephone. They either

received the answering machine or defendant spoke to

them and said Susan was resting or in the shower. Susan

did not return the calls. Susan normally returned tele-

phone calls within a relatively short period of time.

Close to midnight on Thursday, January 7, defendant

called his stepfather, Jerry Hamilton. Defendant told

Jerry he was worried because Susan had left around 9:30

to go to the store and had not returned. Defendant asked

Jerry to look for her. Jerry first drove to the Von’s grocery

store and, when he did not see Susan’s car in the parking

lot, he drove to MacSource.

At MacSource, Jerry found Susan’s car parked in front

of the store. The front door of the store was ajar and there

were keys in the interior side of the door. There were no

lights on in the front of the store. Jerry called defendant

from his car phone and told him to come to the store.

Defendant called Susan’s father, George Marsh, and

asked him to come and take care of the son. Defendant

was concerned that Susan had not come home. When

George arrived at defendant and Susan’s home, defendant

was gone; the son was in his room. The house was cold.

J4

When George did not hear from defendant, he called his

wife to watch the child so he could go to MacSource.

Police officer David Scroggins arrived at MacSource.

He spoke to defendant and Jerry. Defendant told Officer

Scroggins that Susan had left at 9:30 p.m. and when she

failed to return by 11:30 p.m. he became concerned,

causing him to telephone Jerry to request his assistance.

Officer Scroggins found Susan’s car in front of the

store with the keys in the ignition. The front door to

MacSource was unlocked. Susan’s coat was in a chair at

her desk. A 2 x 4 used to secure the back door was gone.

Seventy-five dollars and a printer were missing from the

store. Scroggins filed a missing person report.

During the next several days, a great deal of publicity

was generated in an attempt to find Susan. These efforts

were unsuccessful. Defendant’s father flew im from out of

town to aid in the search. He offered to stay at defendant’s

home, but defendant insisted that he stay somewhere else.

Defendant and Robbie stayed at the home of defendant’s

mother and Jerry.

On Monday, January 11, 1993, defendant went out to

dinner with his mother and Jerry. During dinner, defen-

dant told them Susan was dead. Defendant claimed Susan

committed suicide in the garage. Defendant arranged to

turn himself in to his attorney the following morning.

Late that evening, defendant contacted his AA spon-

sor, Reed Harris. Harris came and spoke to defendant.

Defendant told Harris that Susan was upset when she

found his fourth step. Defendant left, and when he re-

turned, he found Susan dead and he believed she commit-

ted suicide. Defendant was confused as to why he did not

en ee ee ‘

J5

call the police; he did comment that he feared he would be

a disgrace to the church.

Detective Schiotis was assigned to the Kurtz case.

After investigating the case, Schiotis told defendant he

thought he was involved. Defendant denied any involve-

ment. On Saturday, January 9, detective Schiotis noticed

an injury to defendant’s hand. It looked like teeth marks.

On Tuesday, January 12, Schiotis executed a search

warrant at defendant’s home. Defendant arrived with

Jerry during the search of his home in order to get a

change of clothes. He was allowed to get the clothes and

then he left and went to his attorney's office. During the

execution of the search warrant, defendant’s attorney

phoned the house and told the officers where Susan’s body

could be found.

Susan’s body was found in the home, on the closet

floor of the southeast bedroom. A bed had been pushed up

against the closet door and there were air fresheners in

the room and in the closet. Susan’s feet were bound with

duct tape and her body was wrapped in several layers of

plastic.

Susan was five feet six inches tall and weighed two

hundred forty-two pounds at the time of the autopsy. The

fetus she was carrying was eight to ten weeks old. It was

Dr. Venu Gopal’s opinion that Susan died from strangula-

tion. He found evidence of both ligature and manual

strangulation. Susan also had a black eye and injuries to

her tongue. It was Dr. Gopal’s strong opinion that the

injuries were not consistent with Susan’s hanging herself.

Because of defendant’s cocaine use, Susan had removed

defendant’s name from the MacSource checking account. It

bothered defendant that he was no longer on the account.

J6

Dale Shimono testified that he and defendant discussed

problems together. One day during their discussion, and

during defendant and Susan’s separation, defendant told

Dale that it would be easier if Susan was dead and easier

to kill her and dump her in a field.

Defense

Defendant testified at trial. He explained that his

fourth step included notes about the women he had been

with sexually. He wrote about being unfaithful to Susan.

He listed people he resented, and Susan was number one

on the list. Susan had previously questioned him about

being unfaithful and he always denied any infidelities.

Susan was concerned that defendant was unfaitiiful to her

because she was overweight. Defendant admitted he had

been dishonest with police, lawyers and many others. He

then came forth with his story of Susan’s death.

Defendant arrived home Sunday, January 3, at

approximately 10:30 p.m. Susan was standing there

holding the paper listing defendant’s fourth step in her

hand. Susan said to defendant, “You lied to me.” Susan

wanted to talk and wanted specifics about defendant’s

infidelities during their marriage. Defendant told Susan

she had no business reading his fourth step and he was

not going to respond. Defendant left and returned in about

an hour. He slept alone in a spare bedroom that night.

Defendant awakened the next morning with the

intention of setting up the computer for Susan to use for

the business. Defendant went to the garage to retrieve

computer equipment from the trunk of the car. Susan

came out to the garage, again wanting to discuss defen-

dant’s fourth step. Defendant told Susan the garage was

t

i

'

;

;

i

'

' 4

12

;

et

J7

not an appropriate place to discuss the matter. Susan went

inside and defendant followed carrying computer equip-

ment with him.

Defendant went down the hall and put the p

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kurtz v. Ayers · 540 U.S. 949 | Frix