Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Carlson, Individually and on Behalf of All Others Similarly Situated v. Alaska Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

‘he sam fas tem

O02 73 Ju 11 208

Supreme Court of the Anited States

DONALD H. CARLSON, WARREN HART, GERARD HASKINS,

STEPHEN R. LIBBY, EARL WEESE, AND LYLA C. WEESE,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS CLASS REPRESENTATIVES ON BEHALF

OF ALL PERSONS SIMILARLY SITUATED,

- Petitioners,

V.

STATE OF ALASKA, COMMERCIAL

. FISHERIES ENTRY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Alaska

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LOREN DOMKE BETH HEIFETZ

LOREN DOMKE, P.C. GREGORY A. CASTANIAS

2201 North Jordan Avenue (Counsel of Record)

Juneau, Alaska 99801 JULIA C. AMBROSE

(907) 790-2844 JONES DAY

51 Louisiana Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 879-3939

Counsel for Petitioners

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Alaska Supreme Court erred in holding

that only the Privileges and Immunities Clause, and nor the

Commerce Clause, is implicated by Alaska’s imposition of

fees on nonresident commercial fishermen that are three

times greater than those imposed on resident commercial

fishermen.

2. Whether the Aiaska Supreme Court erred in holding

that the constitutional limits on “compensatory” taxes under

the Commerce Clause do not apply to allegedly

compensating taxes under the Privileges and Immunities

Clause, thereby permitting Alaska to impose on nonresident

commercial fishermen the general costs of state government.

eden RS POC wpa MAREE Peon OPIS A abate

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Other than the unnamed members of the plaintiff class, all

of whom are individual commercial fishermen who are not

residents of Alaska, there are no petitioners or respondents in

addition to those named in the caption.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SPR PRSE DOPE © MERI ILIS © iO Dvicpsssesscssvensesvenesssesnnsesevscesesneseveeis

PR REED TP BONES OP FEISS ssnesesecsesescssosssessenesecesens i

SPE FUR BBURIUNE © EIGRP vsssccevesccenesivesseucseseenssevesenevesseees Vv

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI..............0..0000. I

OD enncksiiysscsescovaencaavavsebsnuuassanssosnnssinessaanese »

i ca cenis suleuclakiebantaduenits sabixsenentee |

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

ee Pete BE OE, Ve iiiesvesvscexesnorsvacvnssoneseesssovessenseeseees |

lata chid sco viciaibnisimennaheseniinwiaatsesenteesnetuannseicens I

1. The Alaskan License and Permit Tax

shes cediananicdclrctaceisbanssstensansiisenundobanes 2

es FOE CUCS TCIOW....nossssscrsessverecsesnenoneossones 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT...................0008 9

I. ©THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

COMMERCE CLAUSE DECISIONS OF

I nk aah cicsidi ance aeenentheiacch eonnvewkhnconnernieretas 1]

A. The Commerce Clause Applies Because

Nonresident Commercial Fishermen Are

Engaged In Interstate Commerce.....................05: 1]

B. The Commerce Clause Applies To

Discrimination Based On Residency.................. 14

II. THE DECISION BELOW AUTHORIZES

DISCRIMINATION THAT NONE OF THIS

COURT’S DECISIONS WOULD

es sic horncapinienbavmietsaweirnnnasabiialoassennentes 17

A. The Carlson Formula Authorizes A

Compensatory Tax That Would Violate

Fe SI CII vac acne vccsvsseccseccersocvenessesesscs 18

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(Continued)

Page

B. The Carlson Formula Sanctions A

Discriminatory Fee That Toomer Does Not

Pe staitniiastcincincsavniuiaiiniuipantencbinatiatasitiniiainensiuianion 23

Il. THE DECISION BELOW RAISES

SIGNIFICANT CONSTITUTIONAL

QUESTIONS WITH NATIONWIDE

GD Aciisiinntseusmnesvenpesneasanssionncianeansamenensi 26

Se TT cies veicdntirviccdinlanieianponsiieniaaseentaaiendenmeauaniias 30

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Case

Alaska v. Arctic Maid, 366 U.S. 199 (1961) ..cccecccccccccccecceeee 2

Allenberg Cotton Co. v. Pittman, 419 U.S. 20 (1974)....... 12

Anderson v. Mullaney, 191 F.2d 123 (9th Cir.

1951), aff'd, 342 U.S. 415 (1952)... eee 16,21, 27

Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638 (1984).......c0.000. 19,21

Baldwin v. Fish & Game Comm'n of Montana,

IP SEA. B78 Ce icsecicicennnadaaiea ss 13, 15

Brown v. Maryland, 25 U.S. (12 Wheat.) 419 (1827)........ 14

Camps Newfound/Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of

Harrison, 520 U.S. 564 (1997) .0......cecccesceeeeee 8,9, 11, 12

Carlson v. State of Alaska, 798 P.2d 1269

EEE ON Te TEN 1,4, >, ae

Carlson v. State of Alaska, 919 P.2d 1337

CRI Se eiiciciitencines ae erie cee passim

Carlson v. Alaska Commercial Fisheries Entry

Comme ‘nt, 519 U.S. 1101 (1997). .....cc0ccserscorvsveccsovesseceeves 8

Commonwealth Edisen Co. v. Montana, 453 U.S.

Fe CA Privsheisintaepranindaan ae ee 13

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady,

Te Se eT Pe iccint dinate 13,18

Douglas v. Seacoast Prod., Inc., 431 U.S. 265 (1977)... 12

Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160 (1941) w..cccccecccecseees 1]

Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 516 U.S. 325 (1996).......... passim

Gov't Suppliers Consolidating Servs., Inc. v. Bayh,

Fie Tae CET Ce Ce SO cicbiinnma ee 19

H.P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. Du Mond, 336 U.S. 525

NI Hic iccicconiicinlesshecbidaseadonnseudiesmesdbiditta: tata nae 12

Heisler v. Thomas Colliery Co., 260 U.S. 245 (1922)....... 13

Henneford v. Silas Mason Co., 300 U.S. 577

STIS Reitiinscinuscneiigiananinunbiattiasi alia ne nea 19, 21

Hicklin v. Orbeck, 437 U.S. 518 (1978).......00.. 12, 15, 16, 27

Hillside Dairy, Inc. v. Lyons, 123 S. Ct. 2142

CD ss ccssinticciuceiivapenvibssiuateiien aphedaniiaaanea ieee: 16

V1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(Continued)

Page

Hope Natural Gas Co. v. Hall, 274 U.S. 284

SFE FP nadsnsiiehstosscinnncesseniaceeainaniddatinalieasemsianieanainbemmenmannll 13

Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S. 415 (1952).......... 16, 26, 27

Oliver Iron Mining Co. v. Lord, 262 U.S. 172 (1923)....... 13

Oregon Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep't of Envtl. Quality,

DEE Cr otix Fe Eo ee iristonseinsvndescinitaeetiantvacsincsectaanentl passim

Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 168 (1869),

overruled in part on other grounds, United States

v. South-Eastern Underwriters Ass'n, 322 U.S.

FID CEP ccusicsescieinitesensncsiniiaeaaeininbaaeiaviamacmeaammnsael 17

Pharm. Research & Mfrs. of Am. v. Walsh,

LoD Wie: RRs. ACID CU Divokcesotlecnnissnasbiseciasdsaciiemsatalicmanbidaiaal 14

Sheley v. Alaska Bar Asz’n, 620 P.2d 640 (Alaska

SSID P svoxcesecsisesnsesersbbsenasennaceunsionensstdaselidancnliosemuanisesiamamenal 27

Sosna V. Fowa, 419 U.S. SHS CUS 73) oserescoveccsescessrccesoncsoscoes 15

State of Alaska v. Carlson, 65 P.3d 851 (Alaska

PTS} nvinreecrensneinscnicbiaaiaianadaaaaianiaee passim

Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper,

STO US. £79 Ua iiisiseeiaiiaintcnnidadenming 16

Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U.S. 385 (1948)... passim

United Bldg. & Constr. Trades Council v. Mayor &

Council of Camden, 465 U.S. 208 (1984)................ 15, 16

Walling v. Michigan, 116 U.S. 446 (1886) ..................00008 14

Ward v. Maryland, 79 U.S. (12 Wall.) 418 (1870)............ 15

LOG V. Wittiames, 4ST UB. SSD CEB e picsevvsccessevecceceseeeseecove 28

Statutes

BG U.Dik... & Dee anicserscnstaninieaaaneenbennaaaaanas 2

20 UA... | Uke Fel dndgcnninisieimaaeadiaame I

Aim. Cae § Da 1 2B. cescrceceveserecesnsessis scndneselpicapiepalanicaalaeiiaieaii 28

Alaska Admin. Code tit. 20, § 05.240.................csssssssesseeeees 4

Adee DR. TR, 0G, FBR. Gaiancinniincnmiccinonananan 2

ASRERIMSUIR, § BGG i recnccerscsessicuiccemnncnamionia 2, 3,4

Asmeee GRRE: 6 BGS. BOD vesnisticassarvimasieninninnaians 2

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(Continued)

Page

Alaska Stat. § 16.43.020........ccccccsccscscesscssesecesseeceesecececeecec.. 2

Alaska Stat. § 16.43.100(a) .....ccccccccccsccsccsceecerececececeececeeeen. 2

Alaska Stat. § 16.43.160....0.cccccccccccccccsecccoccoeeeceeceeee. 3, 4. 25

Alaska Stat. § 16.43.160(€) .....eccccccccccccccccsceccececeececeececece. 3,4

Alaska Stat. § 43.75.015.......ccccccsscscsscssssssecsesesecsceesecesecce., 25

Alaska Stat.§ 43.75.130.......cccccccscsssscssssesecsesececseceseceecece., 25

Code Ark. R. 002 00 001 41.13 .oocccccccccccccccececececesececececcceee. 28

Cal. Fish & Game Code § 7852 oooccceccccccccccccecececceeeeeceeecccee, 28

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 26-1428 (C)...cccccccccccccsesecsesesecececeeeececece. 28

Del. Code Ann. tit. 7 § 914 .occccccccccccccceececeseeeececsesececccn, 28

Fla. Stat. Ann. § 370.06(2).......cccccccccccsecseccesecececcececeececccn. 28

X50, Coe Asam. § 27-2-23 ...ccecccccerscceccocsssesnccecesareseseseeseee.. 28

MMS COGS § BGG 1G ces cceceessccveccvsnesesscenesereseceseceeeseees, 28

S15 Tl. Comp. Stat. 5/20-45.00.. cc cccccccccsscscccccosesesececceseces, 28

Ind. Code Ann. § 14-22-14-6......cccccccccccccsececcoceseceeeecececcece. 28

cnthtipestie ce Lee ig LE, 28

Kan. Admin. Regs. § 115-21 ooccccccccccceccccscessesececececeeeeces, 28

301 Ky. Admin. Regs. 3:022..........ccccccccccoseccesecececeeceeeecece., 29

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 56:303..0.......cccccccccccocescocececeeceesecee... 29

Md. Code Ann., Natural Resources § 4-701 .occceccccccccceceee-. 29

Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 12, § 650] ......ccccccccccccccscccoccecceceees. 29

Mich. Comp. Laws § 324.47330(2) cocccccccccccecceceeeccoceeeeceec.. 29

Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 974.461, 475 vo.cccccccccccceccccecesccceeee. ar

Miss. Code Ann. §§ 49-15-80, 49-15-30 .....ccccccccccccc----. 29

Mo. Code Regs. tit. 3, § 10-10.720 ....ccccccccccccsssescscseececeeeees 29

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 113-168.2 0.0... cccccccccccccesccseseceseoseceeeeses, 29

N.D. Cent. Code, § 20.1-03-12 oo.c.cccccccccccccccececececcececeececees, 29

N.J. Stat. Arn. § 23:5-24.2..0oocccccccccssssscsccecesececcececoccesees, 29

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 37-4, 104 o.o....ccccccccccccccccecessesessececseeees.. 29

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 29, § 4-103 ooocccccccccccccecccsececcccececeeceeee, 29

| RE SA. TIMUR. 1 SEA wsncrnecncenceerenrcinsnsnrnnemnaeessmenesantesencs: 29

: Fe PO, COMID, TARE. GB ZOD occas csexsisevecccecrcessesressencsreceeseece cc 29

R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 20-2.1-5, 20-2.1-6....cccccccccccccsssecececececes 29

S.C. Code Ann. §§ 50-5-300, 50-5-3 10 .oceccccccccececececececeees. 29

Vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(Continued)

Page

pO FO 8 eee 29

Pe rs FR, Gee 0 ee iertnteeninilasicntsenninnceimninnien 29

4 Va. Admin. Code §§ 20-730-20, 20-920-30................... 29

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §§ 77.65.160, 77.65.200............... 29

es is eee EE F cnkiiccnstcccinrnvicstntennnsiaacsanneseeuniinel 30

Miscellaneous

Commercial Fisheries Entry Comm’n, 2001 Annual

ET OW

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration,

Fisheries of the United States (2001) .............ccceeceeeeeee es 27

fe ee De eee ae ee eee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Donald H. Carlson, Warren Hart, Gerard Haskins,

Stephen R. Libby, Earl Weese, and Lyla C. Weese,

individually and as class representatives on behalf of all

persons similarly situated (“Petitioners’’), respectfully

petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

Supreme Court of Alaska in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Supreme Court of Alaska are reported

as follows: State of Alaska v. Carison (Carlson IIT), 65 P.3d

851 (Alaska 2003) (App. la-52a); Carlson v. State of Alaska

(Carlson IT), 919 P.2d 1337 (Alaska 1996) (App. 56a-82a);

and Carlson v. State of Alaska (Carlson 1), 798 P.2d 1269

(Alaska 1990) (App. 88a-112a). The unreported final orders

of the Superior Court of the State of Alaska are reproduced

in the Appendix to this Petition as follows: “Findings of

Fact and Law” (August 8, 2000) (App. 53a-55a): “Decision

and Final Order on Reconsideration of the Court’s August

12, 1993 Order and Final Decision Granting the State’s

Motion for Summary Judgment” (July 25, 1994) (App. 83a-

87a); “Final Order” (Feb. 21, 1989) (App. 1 13a).

JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Alaska entered its judgment on

March 14, 2003. On June 5, 2003, Justice O’Connor granted

Petitioners’ application to extend the time in which to file the

petition for writ of certiorari to and including July 12, 2003.

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C

§ 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The relevant constitutional and Statutory provisions are

located in the Appendix to this Petition at App. 114a-126a.

STATEMENT

The case presents important questions as to whether,

consistent with the Commerce Clause and the Privileges and

2

Immunities Clause, Alaska may discriminate against

nonresident commercial fishermen by charging them three

times the licensing and permitting fees it charges resident

commercial fishermen for access to the State’s fisheries.

The Supreme Court of Alaska analyzed the fee differential

under the Privileges and Immunities Clause but concluded

that the Commerce Clause has no application to the State’s

commercial-fishing-license scheme. The Alaska court’s

analysis led it to endorse under the Privileges and

Immunities Clause a facially discriminatory fee that would

be invalidated under this Court’s long-standing Commerce

Clause and compensatory-tax jurisprudence.

1. The Alaskan License and Permit Tax Schemes.

Because Alaska controls the waters within three miles of its

shore,! the state has the power to impose licensing and

permitting fees for access to its fisheries. See Alaska v.

Arctic Maid, 366 U.S. 199, 203 (1961); Toomer v. Witsell,

334 U.S. 385, 393 (1948); Alaska Stat. §16.43.100(a)(18).

Fishermen seeking to operate fishing gear in the most

intensively used Alaska commercial fisheries must purchase

a limited entry permit.> Alaska Stat. § 16.43.140(a). A

crewman working on the vessel of a gear license operator

does not need a permit but must purchase a commercial

fishing license. Alaska Stat. § 16.05.480 (App. 115a-117a).

See 16 U.S.C. § 5102(6) (establishing an “Exclusive Economic Zone”

(EEZ) in the area running three nautical miles to 200 nautical miles from

shore; waters within the EEZ are, in general, regulated by the federal

government, while the area from the shore out to three nautical miles is

generally regulated by the states).

The limited entry permit program is designed to maintain the

“stability” of Alaska’s fisheries resources by “regulating and controlling

entry” into its commercial fisheries. See Title 16, Art. 43, Alaska Stat.;

Commercial Fisheries Entry Comm’n, 2001 Annual Report at 1,

available at http://www.cfec.state.ak.us/annrpts/ar2001.pdf. Respondent

Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission (“CFEC”) is the regulatory

body created to manage that program. Alaska Stat., § 16.43.020.

2a a ee er ea ea...

: 7 ,

Until 2001, a nonresident permit holder or nonresident

crewman paid three times the fee residents paid. App. 117a,

22a. In actual dollars, residents annually paid between $50

and $250 for limited entry permits; nonresidents paid $150 to

$750 for the same permit. App. 122a. Nonresidents

therefore were required to pay as much as $500 more than

residents for the same permit, year after year. Resident

crewmen were charged $30 for a commercial license, while

nonresidents paid $90 for the same license. App. 117a.

Beginning in 2001, in response.to the Carlson decisions,

Alaska amended its statutes to equalize resident and

nonresident permit and license fees, setting a uniform “base

fee” but continuing to impose a surcharge on all

nonresidents, both permit holders and crewmen, a fee

differential based solely on their nonresident status. Alaska

Stat. §§ 16.05.480(h), 16.43.160(e) (App. 116a, 118a).* This

differential is calculated from a formula first advanced in

Carlson II. Based on Alaska’s discovery responses,

petitioners estimate that the nonresident surcharge under the

Carlson II formula will vary between $150 and $200

annually, and could be significantly higher, depending on

how the state defines its fisheries costs under the formula.

As a result of this case, the state amended Section 16.05.480 to

provide that a resident adult will be charged $60 for a crewmember

fishing license, while a nonresident must pay “$60 plus an amount,

established by the [Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission] by

regulation, that is as close as is practicable to the maximum allowed by

law.” Alaska Stat. §16.05.480(g)-(h) (App. 116a). The “maximum

allowed by law” refers to the fee differential formula approved by the

Alaska courts in this case, discussed in detail infra. Like the commercial

fishing license fee statute, the statute governing limited entry permit fees

was similarly amended during the Carlson litigation. It now provides

that the base fee for a limited entry or interim-use permit “may not be

less than $10 or more than $300”; the fee for nonresidents ‘shall be

higher than the annual base fee by an amount, established by the [CFEC]

by regulation, that is as close as is practicable to the maximum allowed

by law.” Alaska Stat. § 16.43.160(e) (App. 118a) (emphasis added).

4

The resulting economic disadvantage to nonresident

commercial fishermen, and the adverse impact on interstate

commerce, 1s both obvious and significant.

2. The Proceedings Below. Petitioners are a class of

nonresident commercial fishermen who have been required

to pay at least three times as much as Alaska residents to

obtain fishing licenses and permits to fish in Alaska’s

territorial waters. App. la-2a, 88a-89a. In 1984, Petitioners

filed suit in Alaska Superior Court, challenging Alaska’s

discriminatory commercial-fishing-license fee statutes and

regulations, specifically Alaska Stat. §§ 16.05.480 and

16.43.160(b), and Alaska Admin. Code tit. 20, § 05.240, as

violative of the Interstate Commerce and Privileges and

Immunities Clauses of the United States Constitution. App.

2a-3a, 88a-89a. This case has now gone to the Alaska

Supreme Court three times.

Carlson I. On cross-motions for summary judgment, the

Alaska Superior Court held that both Clauses apply to the

discriminatory Alaska license scheme. The court

nonetheless found no Commerce Clause violation because

the “legitimate local purpose” of “ensuring that nonresidents

pay their fair share of [fisheries] management costs .. .

justified the discrimination, assuming the fee differential

bore a substantial relationship to the purpose.” App. 96a.

The Superior Court also found no violation of the Privileges

and Immunities Clause because the state had demonstrated a

“permissible” reason for the discriminatory fee: “to have the

non-resident [fishermen] pay a part of their fair share of the

costs of enforcement, management and conservation of the

fisheries of the state, which costs are largely borne by the

residents through general fund expenditures.” App. 95a.

The Superior Court ultimately determined that the figures

submitted by the state reflected the costs to Alaska of

managing its commercial fisheries, and that the fee

differential fairly reflected nonresidents’ “fair share” of those

costs. App. 95a-96a, 97a.

5

On appeal, the Alaska Supreme Court agreed with the

Superior Court that commercial fishing “license fees which

discriminate against non-residents are prima fucie a

violation” of the Privileges and Immunities Clause, App.

98a, but remanded for consideration of “whether all fees and

taxes which must be paid to the state by a nonresident to

enjoy the state-provided benefit are substantially equal to

those which must be paid by similarly situated residents

when the residents’ pro rata shares of state revenues to

which nonresidents make no contribution are taken into

account.” App. 105a-106a. Only if the “higher fees charged

nonresidents are excessive” in comparison to the economic

burden borne by state residents to support the state’s

fisheries would the aifferential be unconstitutional. App.

106a. Alaska residents pay no state income tax. Instead, the

majority of the state’s budget was derived from petroleum

taxes and state oil royalties. See App. 106a (for fiscal year

1986, 86 percent of state revenues derived from oil

production). The Alaska Supreme Court treated each

resident’s share of oil revenues as equivalent to a tax

payment, on the theory that revenues allocated to fisheries

management that could have been put to other uses reflect

“benefits foregone” by each resident. App. 106a.

With respect to the Commerce Clause, the Alaska

Supreme Court stated that the analysis, “assuming [the

Clause] is implicated,” would be similar to the analysis

under the Privileges and Immunities Clause. App. 103a.

The court noted that early cases from this Court “suggested

that the Commerce Clause does not come into play until the

fish are actually harvested . . . ,” although “{d]ictum in more

recent cases suggests the contrary.” App. 103a n.4. The

Alaska Supreme Court reached no firm conclusion about the

applicability of the Commerce Clause in Carlson J.

Carlson II. On remand, the parties were required to

propose a method by which to compare the fees paid by

nonresidents with the expenditures of state revenues “to

which non-residents make no contribution.” App. 59a. The

j

$

j

8

q

%

6

Superior Court rejected Petitioners’ formula, which

compared each Alaska resident’s per capita contribution

toward maintaining Alaska’s commercial fisheries with the

fee differential, and instead adopted the state’s proposed

approach, which “in effect compares the total contributions

made to the cost of commercial fisheries by residents to the

total fees paid by non-residents.” App. 59a. Applying that

analysis, the Superior Court concluded that the

discriminatory fees did not violate the Constitution because

“(rjesidents pa[id] by way of taxes, or the economic

equivalent of taxes, i.e., benefits foregone, substantially

more than non-resident fishers pay toward the benefits

received....” App. 86a.

On appeal, the supreme court held that the higher license

cost for nonresidents did not implicate the Commerce

Clause. According to the court in Carlson II, harvested fish

only become articles of commerce when they cross state

lines. Because “the fee differentials at issue in this case are

not predicated upon the movement of articles of commerce

across state lines, but rather upon the residency status of

those applying for permits,” App. 62a, the court concluded

that the Commerce Clause does not apply. App. 62a-63a.

As to the Privileges and Immunities Clause, the Alaska

Supreme Court refused to apply this Court’s longstanding

“compensatory tax” jurisprudence, then most recently

articulated in Oregon Waste Systems, Inc. v. Department of

Environmental Quality of Oregon, 511 U.S. 93 (1994), in

which this Court held that the Commerce Clause does not

permit states to consider residents’ contributions to general

tax revenues as compensating for higher fees imposed on

out-of-state competitors. App. 65a. Instead, the Alaska

Supreme Court held that the Alaska fee differential “merely

balances out ‘any conservation expenditures from taxes

which only residents pay,’” a result the court found

permissible under the Privileges and Immunities Clause in

light of Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U.S. at 399. App. 66a.

etre

Aithvtth 6 ASANO cane

7

The Alaska Supreme Court in Carlson II approved

Petitioners’ proposed per capita formula, which had been

rejected by the trial court, and rejected the pro rata method

proposed by the state and adopted by the trial court. App.

67a-69a. The court conceded that the comparison advocated

by the state-the total fisheries-related expenditures made by

the state verses the total contribution made by nonresident

fishermen—would violate the Oregon Waste prohibition on

compensatory taxes. App. 68a & n.16. The court believed,

however, that the per capita formula avoided this problem

by comparing each Alaska resident’s individual contribution

toward fisheries management with the fee differential

assessed against each individual nonresident fisher. The

Carlson II court thus remanded the case to the Superior

Court for application of the per capita formula in order to

determine whether any nonresidents were due a partial

refund of fees paid. App. 69a."

Justice Rabinowitz dissented. App. 76a-82a. He would

have applied the compensatory tax analysis of Oregon Waste

to the Privileges and Immunities analysis of the Alaska fee

differential. App. 78a. Justice Rabinowitz explained that the

distinction drawn by the Alaska Supreme Court between the

per capita and pro rata formulae is meaningless and does

not save the discriminatory fee from invalidity under the

compensatory tax rationale: “The approach authorized by

[Carlson II] seems to place greater emphasis on the

theoretical equality of individual contributions than the

Under the per capita formula, the state’s fisheries budget is divided

by the Alaska population. That amount then is multiplied by the

percentage of the state’s budget derived from oil revenues, to determine

each *.laska resident’s per capita contribution to the management and

conservation of the state’s fisheries (by virtue of benefits foregone).

App. 72a-73a. The resulting figure is compared to the nonresident fee

differential to determine whether the differential is constitutionally

excessive. App. 69a.

8

Oregon tax did. There is, however, no indication that the

Oregon tax was designed to im,» e on out-of-state interests

their ‘entire share’ of solid waste uisposal costs nor, for that

matter, that the shares of disposers of in-state waste . . . were

to be borne by the entire population.” App. 79a n.3. And

even “[m]Jore importantly, the decision in Oregon Waste

Systems did not turn on the fact that the surcharge was

excessive but rather on the conclusion that any surcharge

was constitutionally offensive under the circumstances.” /d.

This Court denied certiorari. Carlson v. Alaska

Commercial Fisheries Entry Comm'n, 519 U.S. 1101 (1997).

Carlson III, On remand, the Alaska Superior Court held

an evidentiary hearing to determine what state expenditures

comprised the components of the formula approved by the

Carlson II court. The Superior Court adopted virtually

wholesale the state's proposed method for computing both its

annual fisheries budget and the percentage of the total state

budget derived from oil revenues for fiscal year 1996, and

accepted without further inquiry the figures supplied by the

state in making its calculations. Using the state's figures, the

court determined a maximum allowable fee differential that

could be charged to nonresidents in 1996 consistent with the

Carlson II formula, App. 53a-55a, and directed the parties to

use the court’s methodology to calculate the allowable fee

differential for each year going back to 1984. Rather than

perform this accounting, both parties appealed.

On appeal, the Alaska Supreme Court in Carlson III

declined to reconsider its Carlson I] Commerce Clause

holding, despite two then-recent decisions of this Court:

Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 516 U.S. 325 (1996), and Camps

Newfound/Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of Harrison, Maine, 520

U.S. 564 (1997). App. 14a-24a. Reiterating its Carlson II

reasoning, the court declared Fulton Corp. inapplicable

“because commercial fishing licenses are not objects of

interstate commerce” and because the Alaska fee

differentials “relate not to commerce but rather to the

Pel Bei BES NAB RAE, AIA iA AI HSB I 9

9

opportunity to utilize Alaska’s natural resources.” App. 20a-

21a. The court likewise distinguished Camps Newfound by

noting that this Court had likened the charitable camp there

at issue to a hotel, which the Alaska Supreme Court viewed

as “a sufficient distinction from commercial fishing licenses

and permits to allay concerns about the constitutionality of

the fee differential.” App. 22a. The court offered no further

analysis than that. In a footnote, the court declared that.

even if Alaska’s fee differential implicated the Commerce

Clause, it would nevertheless satisfy this Court’s rigorous

compensatory tax jurisprudence, citing Fulton Corp., 516

U.S. at 331. App. 21an.78. But see App. 68a & n.16.

The Alaska Supreme Court then reviewed the components

of the state’s fisheries budget approved by the Superior

Court and the calculation of the percentage of the state

budget derived from oil revenues. App. 27a-37a. The

Alaska Supreme Court found no clear error in the Superior

Court’s determination that the “direct and- indirect operating

expenditures’ calculated by the state should be included in

the fisheries budget. App. 29a. The court also agreed with

the Superior Court that categories of costs described by the

state as “general governmental expenditures” and “foregone

revenues’ from commercial fishery resources cannot be

included. App. 3la-33a, 34a-35a. However, the court

reversed the Superior Court’s determination that “capital

costs” directly supporting the commercial fishing industry

and the state’s “hatchery loan fund subsidy” should be

excluded from the fisheries budget. App. 33a-34a. Carlson

If left “to the superior court on remand to determine

whether proportionality exists [between Alaska residents’

per capita contribution as calculated by the Carlson II

formula and the fee differential imposed for a given year]

and whether a refund is due.” App. 26a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents important and far-reaching questions

concerning the application and relationship of the Commerce

10

Clause and the Privileges and Immunities Clause. At issue

here are discriminatory license fees that favor state residents

over nonresidents who seek~to pursue their trade in the

licensing state, and the constitutional limitations on a state’s

ability to assess such discriminatory fees.

Alaska requires all commercial fishermen to purchase

licenses and permits to fish in Alaska’s territorial waters.

Nonresidents are required to pay at least three times as much

as residents. Despite this facially discriminatory surcharge,

the Alaska Supreme Court held that higher costs charged to

out-of-state residents for commercial fishing licenses do not

even implicate the Interstate Commerce Clause. It concluded

that Alaska’s discriminatory ccommercial-fishing-license

scheme warrants scrutiny only under the Privileges_ and

Immunities Clause, and that the overcharge of nonresidents

is permissible under that Clause so long as it does no more

than compensate the state for fisheries-related expenditures

made from revenues to which only state residents contribute.

Although it expressly refused to apply the Commerce

Clause to Alaska’s fee differential, the Alaska Supreme

Court selectively borrowed the Commerce Clause’s

“compensatory tax” doctrine to justify imposing higher fees

on nonresidents; even so, it refused to apply the rule of strict

equality that is the essence of that doctrine. See, e.g.,

Oregon Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep’t of Envtl. Quality, 511 U.S.

93 (1994); Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 516 U.S. 325 (1996).

The Carlson III holding thus invites states to justify, under

the rubric of the P*ivileges and Immunities Clause, patently

discriminatory taxes and fees imposed disproportionately on

nonresidents. If not reversed, the decision below would

sanction, under the auspices of the Privileges and Immunities

Clause, a plainly discriminatory tax on a commercial activity

that could not possibly survive scrutiny under this Court’s

Commerce Clause jurisprudence.

IRR OR NIE ERIS omit oe

11

I. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

COMMERCE CLAUSE DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT

A. The Commerce Clause Applies Because Nonresi-

dent Commercial Fishermen Are Engaged In

Interstate Commerce

The Alaska Supreme Court refused to analyze the

discriminatory license-fee scheme under the Commerce

Clause based on its cramped view that the Commerce Clause

applies only to “the interstate flow of articles of commerce.”

Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1340 (emphasis in original). The

court distinguished between fee differentials “predicated

upon the movement of articles of commerce across state

lines” and those based on “the residency status of those

applying for permits,” believing only the former to be

subject to the Commerce Clause. /d. That holding cannot be

reconciled with precedent, nor with common sense.

Under the Commerce Clause, “commerce” is defined far

more broadly than the Alaska Supreme Court acknowledged.

In Camps Newfound/Owatonna v. Town of Harrison, 520

U.S. 564 (1997), this Court held that a charitable camp

located in Maine that enrolled campers who resided in “all

parts of the Nation” was engaged in interstate commerce:

“The attendance of these campers necessarily generates the

transportation of persons across state lines that has long been

recognized as a form of ‘commerce.’” Jd. at 573. This

holding was neither novel nor surprising: Over sixty years

ago, in Edwards vy. California, 314 U.S. 160 (1941), this

Court declared it “settled beyond question that the

transportation of persons is ‘commerce,’ within the meaning

of” the Commerce Clause. /d. at 172. The nonresident

fishermen who travel to Alaska to fish (and pay a

disproportionate price for that privilege) generate the same

sort of interstate “commerce” as the campers in Camp

Newfound and the indigent who traveled to California in

Edwards.

12

Indeed, this Court has long recognized that commercial

fishing is by its very nature an interstate, commercial

enterprise:

The business of commercial fishing must be conducted by

peripatetic entrepreneurs moving, like their quarry,

without regard for state boundary lines. . . . A number of

coastal States have discriminatory fisheries laws, and with

all natural resources becoming increasingly scarce and

more valuable, more such restrictions would be a likely

prospect, as both protective and retaliatory measures.

Each State’s fishermen eventually might be effectively

limited to working in the territorial waters of their

residence, or in the federally controlled fishery beyond the

three-mile limit. Such proliferation of residency require-

ments for commercial fishermen would create precisely

the sort of Balkanization of interstate commercial activity

that the Constitution was intended to prevent.

Douglas v. Seacoast Prod., Inc., 431 U.S. 265, 285-86

(1977) (footnotes omitted) (citing the Commerce Clause

decisions in H.P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. Du Mond, 336 U.S.

525, 532-39 (1949), and Allenberg Cotton Co. v. Pittman,

419 U.S. 20 (1974)). ©

And because that interstate commercial enterprise

depends upon access to natural resources, the Commerce

Clause applies with particular force. See, e.g., Hicklin v.

Orbeck, 437 U.S. 518, 533-34 (1978) (“the Commerce

Clause circumscribes a State’s ability to prefer its own

citizens in the utilization of natural resources found within its

borders, but destined for interstate commerce.”); Camps

Newfound, 520 U.S. at 578 (“[b]y encouraging economic

isolationism, prohibitions on out-of-state access to in-state

resources serve the very evil that the dormant Commerce

Clause was designed to prevent’). The natural resource at

issue here—Alaska’s fishing waters and the fish that swim in

them—is made available to Alaska residents on a far more

favorable _ basis. And _ that favoritism impacts not

13

nonresidents’ use and enjoyment of the state’s fishing waters

for recreation, cf. Baldwin v. Fish & Game Comm'n of

Montana, 436 U.S. 371, 388 (1978) (higher licensing fees

imposed on nonresidents for recreational elk hunting license

did not implicate category of rights protected by Privileges

and Immunities Clause), but their access to the very resource

upon which their commercial interests depend. ‘

The Alaska Supreme Court’s original holding to the

contrary-that the Commerce Clause has no application to

the discriminatory license fee—was apparently premised on

the fact that the license and permitting fees are imposed prior

to any fish being harvested. See Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1340

n.8. That rationale, however, has been soundly discredited.

The Carlson court’s reasoning was derived from the

Commerce Clause holding of Toomer v. Witsell, that a non-

discriminatory South Carolina tax imposed on the taking of

shrimp within the state’s territorial waters did not violate the

Commerce Clause because the taxable event—the taking of

the shrimp-—occurred before the shrimp “entered the flow of

interstate commerce.” 334 U.S. 385, 394-95 (1948).

Toomer’s Commerce Clause holding, and the cases upon

which that holding rested, id. at 394-95 n.22. including

Heisler v. Thomas Colliery Co., 260 U.S. 245 (1922): Oliver

Iron Mining Co. v. Lord, 262 U.S. 172 (1923); and Hope

Natural Gas Co. v. Hall, 274 U.S. 284 (1927), have long

since been recognized as unsound. This Court has expressly

disapproved “Heisler and its progeny” insofar as they

Suggest that the Commerce Clause has no application until

an article of commerce has entered “the stream of interstate

commerce.” Commonwealth Edison Co. v. Montana, 453

U.S. 609, 614, 617 (1981). And the last vestiges of the rule

that states could, without Commerce Clause limitation, freely

tax certain purely local activities that occurred prior to the

commencement of “interstate” commerce were eradicated in

Complete Auto Transit v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1977).

In short, the Alaska court’s decision that the Commerce

Clause has no application to Alaska’s discriminatory fee

=

ignores the reality of the interstate commercial interests—the

“interstate commerce directly affected by the state’s

licensing scheme. The discriminatory fee “impose[s] a

disparate burden on any [nonresident] competitors’ who

travel to Alaska to fish in the state’s commercial fisheries.

Pharm. Research & Mfrs. of Am. v. Walsh, 123 S. Ct. 1855,

1871 (2003). And it is precisely such discriminatory

measures protective of loca! commercial interests at the

expense of nonresident competitors that the Commerce

Clause forbids.

B. The Commerce Clause Applies To Discrimination

Based On Residency

In holding that discrimination based on residency simply

is not cognizable under the Commerce Clause, the Alaska

Supreme Court boldly announced that this Court has instead

“consistently analyzed statutes which purportedly classify on

the basis of residency under the Privileges and Immunities or

the Equal Protection Clauses.” Carlson I], 919 P.2d at 1340-

41. While the Privileges and Immunities Clause is of course

implicated when states discriminate on the basis of

residency, this Court has long recognized that the Commerce

Clause also reaches such discrimination where interstate

commerce is involved: “The distinction between a tax on the

thing imported, and on the person of the importer, can have

no influence on this part of the subject. It is too obvious for

controversy, that they interfere equally with the power to

regulate commerce.’ Brown v. Maryland, 25 U.S. (12

Wheat.) 419, 448 (1827); see also Walling v. Michigan, 116

U.S. 446 (1886) (tax imposed only on nonresidents selling

liquor in the state violated the Commerce Clause).

The Alaska Supreme Court’s error is borne out by the fact

that none of the decisions it cited (App. 62a-63a & n.10)

even suggest that discrimination against commercial interests

based on residency is not cognizable under the Commerce

Clause. The wholly discredited Commerce Clause holding

of Toomer v. Witsell did not relate to the higher license fees

15

imposed on nonresidents that were at issue in that case, but

rather to a wholly separate and nondiscriminatory tax on the

taking of shrimp. 334 U.S. at 394. In United Building &

Construction Trades Council v. Mayor & Council of

Camden, 465 U.S. 208, 213 (1984), a municipal resident

hiring preference was not subject to the Commerce Clause

because Camden was acting as a market participant; absent

that fact, the Commerce Clause would have applied. In

Hicklin v. Orbeck, 437 U.S. 518, 531 (1978), the parties did

not raise a Commerce Clause challenge to an Alaska hiring

law giving a preference to state residents. Sosna v. lowa,

419 U.S. 393 (1975), concerned residency limitations on a

state court’s divorce jurisdiction; no commercial interests

were advanced. And Baldwin v. Fish & Game Commission

of Montana, 436 U.S. 371 (1978), involved recreational, not

commercial, hunting, and the nonresident plaintiffs raised no

Commerce Clause challenge.

It is of course true that the Privileges and Immunities

Clause protects the right of a citizen of one state to enter

another state for the purpose of engaging in lawful

commerce. See, e.g., Hicklin, at 524 (noting body of

“decisions holding violative of the [Privileges and

Immunities] Clause state discrimination against nonresidents

seeking to ply their trade, practice their occupation, or pursue

a common calling within the State.”); Baldwin, 436 U.S. at

383 (citing Ward v. Maryland, 12 Wall. 418, 20 L. Ed. 449

(1871)); United Bidg. & Const. Trades Council, 465 U.S. at

219. That principle applies equally where, as here, pursuit of

the common calling depends upon access to natural

resources found within the state: “[A] State’s interest in its

wildlife and other resources must yield when, without

reason, it interferes with a nonresident’s right to pursue a

livelihood in a State other than his own, a right that is

protected by the Privileges and Immunities Clause.”

Baldwin, 436 U.S. at 386 (citing Toomer, 334 U.S. 385).

When a common calling involves interstate as opposed to

pureiy intrastate commerce, however, there is no basis for

16

concluding that the Commerce Clause is not also implicated.

While the Privileges and Immunities Clause and the

Commerce Clause “have different aims and set different

standards for state conduct,” United Bldg. & Constr. Trades

Council, 465 U.S. at 220 (“It 1s discrimination against out-

of-state residents on matters of fundamental concern which

triggers the [Privileges and Immunities] Clause, not

regulation affecting interstate commerce.”), nothing in the

Court’s jurisprudence precludes the application of both

clauses when both concerns—a regulation that both affects

“matters of fundamental concern” and impacts interstate

commerce—are implicated. Indeed, just last Term in

Hillside Dairy, Inc. v. Lyons, 123 §S. Ct. 2142 (2003), this

Court held that claims by _ nonresidents challenging

California’s milk pricing and pooling regulations are

cognizable under both the Commerce Clause and the

Privileges and Immunities Clause. This of course 1s

appropriate, given “the mutually reinforcing relationship

between the Privileges and Immunities Clause of Art. IV,

§ 2, and the Commerce Clause~a relationship that stems

from their common origin in the Fourth Article of the

Articles of Confederation and their shared vision of

federalism.” Hicklin, 437 U.S. at 531-32 (footnote omitted);

see also Supreme Court of New Hampshire v. Piper, 470

U.S. 274, 279-80 & n.8 (1985).°

> As the Alaska Supreme Court noted (App. 63a n.11), the Ninth

Circuit struck down an earlier version of Alaska’s discriminatory

commercial-fishing-license scheme under the Commerce Clause.

Anderson v Mullaney, 191 F.2d 123 (9th Cir. 1951). This Court

affirmed the unconstitutionality of the discriminatory license scheme on

Privileges and Imraunities Clause grounds without reaching the Ninth

Circuit’s Commerce Clause holding. Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S.

415 (1952). The Ninth. Circuit’s Commerce Clause holding therefore

remains intact and conflicts with the Alaska Supreme Court’s holding

that the Commerce Clause has no application to such discriminatory

license fees.

2

9

3

P)

|

a

a

;

¥

2

2

17

The flaw in the Alaska Supreme Court’s reasoning

. becomes apparent when it is applied to a slight factual

variation: If the applicant for a commercial fishing license

were an out-of-state corporation (which employs individual

fishermen and pays the Alaska license fees on behalf of its

employees) rather than an individual, the Privileges and

Immunities Clause, which protects only “citizens,” would

have no application. Paul v. Virginia, 75 U.S. (8 Wall.) 168,

180-82 (1868), overruled in part on other grounds, United

States v. South-Eastern Underwriters Ass ‘n, 322 U.S. 533

(1944). But the Commerce Clause surely would protect the

National marketplace against such patent local favoritism.

Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 516 U.S. 325 (1996). It is

unfathomable that the Commerce Clause would not be

implicated (and violated) by such obvious favoritism.

ll. THE DECISION BELOW AUTHORIZES DIS-

CRIMINATION THAT NONE OF THIS COURT’S

DECISIONS WOULD COUNTENANCE

The Alaska Supreme Court, extrapolating from a fragment

of a dictum in Joomer vy. Witsell, endorsed under the

Privileges and Immunities Clause a surcharge imposed solely

on nonresidents that could not possibly pass Commerce

Clause muster. The court justified that surcharge on the

ground that it “equalizes” expenditures made from Alaska’s

general revenues. Even if the decision below were correct

that only the Privileges and Immunities Clause applies,

which Petitioners dispute, see Part I, supra, just as this Court

has prohibited states under the Commerce Clause from

shifting to nonresidents “charges purportedly included in

general forms of intrastate taxation... . anytime the entities

involved in interstate commerce happened to use facilities

supported by general state tax funds,” Oregon Waste, 511

U.S. at 105 n.8, so too Alaska should be precluded from

shifting such general costs of state government to

nonresidents under the Privileges and Immunities Clause.

18

A. The Carlson Formula Authorizes A Compensatory

Tax That Would Violate The Commerce Clause

Carlson II approved a formula for determining whether

the “differential in fees charged residents and nonresidents

was sufficiently related” to the state’s asserted goal of

“equalizing the burden of fisheries management” to justify

the disparate treatment. App. 64a. According to Carlson I],

the nonresident fee differential is allowable under the

Privileges and Immunities Clause so long as the amount of

the differential does not “substantially exceed” each Alaska

resident’s per capita contribution (via expenditures from the

state’s oil revenues, see n.4, supra) toward the maintenance

and operation of Alaska’s fisheries, as calculated by the

Carlson IT formula, in any given year. App. 72a-73a. While

the description of the formula may seem complicated, it boils

down to this: whether nonresidents pay, through license and

permit fees, roughly the same amount residents “contribute”

through state oil revenues. The fee differential sanctioned by

Carlson II thus operates in theory as a compensatory tax—

that is, a tax “designed simply to make interstate commerce

bear a burden already borne by intrastate commerce.”

Fulton Corp., 516 U.S. at 331 (citation omitted). But a

compensatory tax is valid under the Commerce Clause—and,

it should follow, under the Privileges and Immunities

Clause-only if it satisfies this Court’s strict test for

substantial equality. The Alaska surcharge plainly does not.

This Court has acknowledged that “interstate commerce

may be made to ‘pay its way.”” Oregon Waste, 511 U.S. at

102 (quoting Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S.

at 281). A state’s ability to exact from nonresidents a “fair

share” of the state’s costs related to a particular transaction

or course of commerce is, however, subject to “the strictest

scrutiny, Oregon Waste. 511 U.S. at 100-01 (citation

omitted), because

permitting discriminatory taxes on interstate commerce to

compensate for charges purportedly included in general

19

forms of intrastate taxation “would allow a state to tax

interstate commerce more heavily than in-state commerce

anytime the entities involved in interstate commerce

happened to use facilities supported by general state tax

funds.”

Id. at 105 n.8 (quoting Gov't Suppliers Consolidating Servs.,

Inc. v. Bayh, 975 F.2d 1267, 1284 (7th Cir. 1992)); see also

Fulton Corp., 516 U.S. at 335 (noting “the danger of treating

general revenue measures as relevant intrastate burdens for

purposes of the compensatory tax doctrine’”’).

Accordingly, the Court has invalidated state laws

imposing higher taxes on out-of-state commercial interests

than those imposed on purely in-state commerce unless (1)

the state identifies the specific intrastate tax burden for

which it is attempting to compensate, (2) the tax on interstate

commerce roughly approximates but does not exceed the tax

on intrastate commerce, and (3) the in-state and out-of-state

levies are imposed on substantially equivalent events.

Fulton Corp., 516 U.S. at 332-33 (invalidating state

intangibles tax on corporate stock that authorized residents to

take deduction equal to percentage of corporation’s income

subject to North Carolina income tax); see also Armco, Inc.

v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638, 643 (1984) (invalidating gross

receipts tax imposed on out-of-state wholesalers from which

in-state manufacturers were exempt); Oregon Waste, 511

U.S. at 104-05. Under this strict test, “use taxes on products

purchased out of state are the only taxes [the Court] ha[s]

upheld in recent memory under the compensatory tax

doctrine.” Jd. at 105; see Henneford v. Silas Mason Co., 300

U.S. 577 (1987) (upholding tax on use of any article of

tangible personal property within the state unless article had

already been subject to state sales tax in an equal or greater

amount; although tax was facially discriminatory, the

combined effect of the sales and use taxes was to impose

equivalent burdens on interstate and intrastate commerce).

20

The surcharge Alaska has imposed on_ out-of-state

commercial fishermen ostensibly to “equalize” expenditures

from the state’s general oil revenues plainly fails under this

Court’s compensatory tax jurisprudence.

First, Oregon Waste makes clear that costs paid out of a

state’s general tax revenues cannot support the imposition of

allegedly “equivalent” taxes on out-of-state commerce. In

Oregon Waste, this Court rejected, on Commerce Clause

grounds, an Oregon surcharge imposed on the disposal in

Oregon of waste generated in another state. The state

defended the facial discrimination inherent in the surcharge

by categorizing it as a “‘compensatory tax’ necessary to

make shippers of [out-of-state] waste pay their ‘fair share’ of

the costs imposed on Oregon by the disposal of their waste in

the State.” 511 U.S. at 102. This Court soundly rejected the

state’s attempted justification, noting that Oregon had not

imposed “a specific charge” on the disposal of waste

generated in-state for which the surcharge was intended to

compensate. Instead, Oregon premised the surcharge on the

theory that “intrastate commerce does pay its share of the

costs underlying the surcharge through general taxation,” id.

at 104, a theory that the Court rejected as incompatible with

the Commerce Clause. Indeed, this Court has repeatedly

“decline[d] . . . to open such an expansive loophole in [its]

carefully confined compensatory tax jurisprudence.” Oregon

Waste, 511 U.S. at 105 n.8. Carlson, however, opens

precisely such a loophole, allowing the state to impose a

discriminatory fee on out-of-state commercial fishermen to

“compensate” for expenditures from the state’s general

reveriues.

Second, this Court’s compensatory tax jurisprudence

requires that the purportedly compensating taxes “fall on

substantially equivalent events.” See Fulton Corp., 516 U.S.

at 338-39 (citing cases). While refusing to apply this test,

the Alaska Supreme Court in Carlson III nevertheless

claimed that the Alaska fee differential satisfied this rigorous

equivalence requirement, because “the event being taxed,

21

namely the license to use state fisheries, is the same for

residents and nonresidents.” App. 21a n.78. This superficial

analysis contradicts this Court’s teachings. In Oregon

Waste, the Court rejected the Oregon Surcharge as a

compensatory tax in part because “earning income and

disposing of waste at Oregon landfills are even less

equivalent than manufacturing and wholesaling,” the taxable

incidents compared in Armco, Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638

(1984). Oregon Waste, 511 U.S. at 105. Here, too, “the

events being taxed” are not substantially equivalent: The tax

on nonresidents falls on the privilege of fishing alone, but the

State seeks to justify that higher tax on nonresidents by a

combination of two “taxable events” for local residents—the

lower cost of their fishing license, plus the local residents’

alleged share of the monies generated by petroleum

production. These are not “substantially equivalent events.”

Finally, many discriminatory taxing schemes that states

attempt to justify as “compensatory taxes,” like the surcharge

in Oregon Waste, fail for lack of proof that the tax is in fact a

rough approximation of costs actually borne by state

residents. See, e.g., Fulton Corp., 516 U.S. at 336-38.

Alaska’s discriminatory surcharge is even further afield from

the compensatory taxes that this Court rejected in Oregon

Waste and Fulton Corp., however, given that the “burden”

supposedly borne by Alaska residents does not even involve

the payment of taxes in the first place.

In evaluating whether a state is free to assess a

“compensatory tax” against nonresidents in order to equalize

a tax burden unfairly borne by state residents, it is significant

that residents face a direct burden as a result of the obligation

to contribute to the state’s tax fund, from which general

expenditures are made. See, e.g., Henneford, 300 U.S. at

579-80 (direct tax of two percent imposed on retail sales

within the state). An individual (or, as in Fulton Corp., a

corporation) obligated to pay a tax on income “spends”

personal funds in support of the state. No Alaska resident,

however, makes- such a contribution to Alaska’s general

22

revenues, and none of the conservation (or other)

expenditures cited by the state are made from “taxes which

only residents pay,’ Toomer, 334 U.S. at 399, because

Alaska does not impose an income tax on state residents.

Instead, the expenditures the state seeks to recoup from

nonresidents are made from “oil revenues’ generated by

petroleum production within the state, which has been the

primary source of Alaska’s revenues. See, e.g., App. 106a

(in fiscal year 1986, 86 percent of state revenues derived

from oil production). Carlson I nevertheless proclaimed the

state’s oil revenues to be “analytically equivalent” to taxes

paid only by state residents, without further analysis. App.

106a. In effect, the Alaska Supreme Court has allowed the

state to use its natural oil bounty, the proceeds from which

are themselves reserved for the residents of Alaska, as a

justification for further, iHegal favoritism of its own residents

with respect to the state’s natural bounty in fish.

In treating expenditures from state oil revenues as

tantamount to expenditures from state income tax

revenues—because Alaska residents “pay proportionately

more by way of foregone benefits then nonresidents for

fisheries management,’ id—the Alaska Supreme Court

vastly expanded the reach of, and the justification for, the

compensatory tax doctrine. The Alaska Supreme Court’s

analysis would allow virtually any tax to be imposed

disproportionately on nonresidents: Following the Carlson

reasoning, any expenditure from a state’s general revenues,

whether or not derived from taxes imposed directly on

residents, can be offset by imposing a “compensatory” tax or

fee on any nonresident who seeks access to any resource or

service located in or provided by the state.

In short, although it explicitly disclaimed any intent to

authorize the imposition of a “compensatory tax” upon

nonresident commercial fishermen, App. 66a, close analysis

reveals that the Alaska Supreme Court has done precisely

that, but without any of the rigorous limits this Court has

imposed on application of the doctrine. The Alaska court

i a etd SARA LS eb ps nas ee

Pat Vie ae Ree POLE P RIS CS

23

sanctioned under the Privileges and Immunities Clause

precisely the sort of generalized tax-shifting that Oregon

Waste prohibited under the Commerce Clause, on the theory

that the fee differential does nothing more than “impos[e] on

nonresidents their share of the costs of commercial

fisheries,” thereby “balanc[ing] out ‘any conservation

expenditures from taxes which only residents pay.”” App.

66a (quoting Toomer, 334 U.S. at 399). Semantics do not

disguise the fact that Alaska has done what Oregon Waste

forbids. if the Alaska license fee system is constitutionally

permissible as a “compensatory fee,” there are no real limits

on surcharges a state may impose on nonresidents in the

name of equalizing expenditures from the state’s general

revenues.

B. The Carlson Formula Sanctions A Discriminatory

Fee That Toomer Does Not Authorize

The Toomer dictum can be read to crack an exceedingly

narrow window under the Privileges and Immunities Clause

for nonresident fee differentials that do no more than

“compensate the state for any added enforcement burden

[nonresidents] may impose or for any conservation

expenditures from taxes which only residents pay.” Toomer,

334 USS. at 399. In light of the Toomer dictum and similar

language with respect to the Commerce Clause in Oregon

Waste, see 511 U.S. at 102, it is possible that perfect equality

of treatment of nonresidents is not mandated by the

Constitution, but that states may take into account limited

enforcement and conservation expenses when imposing fees

on nonresidents. Yet the Alaska Supreme Court’s rationale

for upholding the state’s nonresident fee differential, which

was imposed without reference to any such costs (and in the

absence of any “taxes” paid by residents), would vastly

expand upon Toomer and would permit far more

discrimination than absolutely necessary to compensate the

State for any additional “enforcement burden” generated by

nonresidents or “conservation expenditures” from state

funds. In fact, Alaska has conceded that nonresident

24

commercial fishermen do not impose any greater costs on the

state than do residents. See State of Alaska v. Carlson, No.

S-10091/10101, Joint Excerpt of Record on Appeal at 119

(Alaska Supreme Ct., filed Sept. 17, 2001).

Most alarmingly, the Alaska court’s approach would

allow a state to shift to nonresidents a wide range of

generalized costs of state government—a result plainly

prohibited by this Court’s compensatory tax cases, see supra

pp. 20-21; Oregon Waste, 511 U.S. at 105 n.8, and clearly

beyond the extraordinarily limited category of

“enforcement” and “conservation” expenditures that the

Privileges and Immunities Clause allows to be taken into

account, Toomer, 334 U.S. at 399. The decision below

invites such post hoc accounting abuses, as a liriitless array

of costs can be (and has been) characterized as sufficiently

related to a particular state program or service to warrant

inclusion in the category of costs shifted to nonresidents.

Here, Alaska seeks to pass along to nonresident commercial

fishermen far more than the costs of any “added enforcement

burden” imposed by the presence of nonresidents in the

state’s commercial fisheries (Alaska has cited none) or even

“conservation expenditures” made from Alaska’s revenues.

Toomer, 334 U.S. at 399. The Alaska Supreme Court

reasoned that the appropriate calculation instead derives

broadly from “what the State spends from its general funds

on its commercial fisheries.” App. 27a.

Relying upon that expansive premise, Alaska included in

its submission to the court significant components that can

only be described as general costs of state government, such

as “mechanical inspection[s]” performed by the Department

of Labor, occupational safety inspections, and legal costs

associated with “statehood defense/federal relations” and

“Environmental-Exxon Valdez.” App. 127a. Indeed,

Alaska’s breakdown of its fisheries expenditures includes

such all-encompassing categories as “Public Safety-

Administration Services” and “Community & Regional

Affairs-Community Development Quota Program.” App.

25

127a-128a. The state also included costs of the Department

of Fish and Game attributable to “sport fish,” App. 128a, a

recreational category that by definition should not be

charged to commercial fishermen. And the state’s budget

includes “shared fish taxes,” see Alaska Stat. §§ 43.75.015,

43.75.130, which are business taxes collected by the state

from fish processors and then passed through to municipal

governments for general uses. App. 128a. In fact, these

broad categories of costs are now enumerated in the permit

fee statute, which notes that nonresident permit fees may

reflect, among other things, “the “direct operating

expenditures’ of a variety of state agencies and institutions

including the Office of the Governor, the. Department of

Community and Economic Development, the Department of

Labor, the Alaska court system, and others, and “capital

expenditures to support the commercial fishing industry as

measured t, annual depreciation of public facilities and

infrastructure.” Alaska Stat. § 16.43.160(e) (App. 118a-

120a).

The state has been given such leeway in calculating its

fisheries budget that it can—and perhaps did—include costs

directly related to this very litigation (under such broad

categories as “Law/Civil” or “CFEC”). The costs to the state

of preparing the accounting used to calculate the state’s

fisheries budget may also be included within the broad

categories of fisheries-related legal or administrative costs

the state seeks to pass along to nonresidents. In essence, the

state could shift a portion of its legal fees to the very class of

nonresident fishermen who challenged the discriminatory fee

that prompted this case. Such a perverse result cannot be

intended by the Toomer dictum.

There is no hint in Toomer (much less in the Court’s

compensatory tax cases) that the constitutionality of a

facially discriminatory fee turns on this sort of line-item

accounting of every conceivable general cost associated with

the operation of Alaska’s commercial fisheries, much less a

post hoc accounting prepared by the state and accepted

26

virtually wholesale by the courts. This Court has made clear

that “[c]Jonstitutional issues affecting taxation do not turn on

even approximate mathematical determinations.” Mullaney,

342 U.S. at 418. The open-ended invitation to Alaska to

define and calculate its fisheries budget encouraged the state

to inflate its fisheries-related costs (in ways the Alaska

legisiature never considered) to justify the substantial

differential. Indeed, under the Carlson formula, Alaska can

attempt to impose a fee differential greater than the current

three-to-one surcharge, so long as the state can assemble a

sufficiently large “fisheries budget” after the fact. The

potential for abuse-at the expense of out-of-state

commercial interests—is virtually limitless.

The Alaska Supreme Court erred by failing to recognize

that, apart from the specific “enforcement” and

“conservation” expenditures discussed in Toomer, the

Privileges and Immunities Clause does not sanction the

expansive cost-shifting approved by the court below. When

a state defends a facially discriminatory fee on the ground

that it compensates for a variety of expenditures from

general revenues that otherwise would be borne by state

residents alone, this Court’s compensatory tax jurisprudence

provides the appropriate analytical framework—and requires

strict equality of treatment of residents and nonresidents.

Ill. THE DECISION BELOW RAISES SIGNIFICANT

CONSTITUTIONAL QUESTIONS WITH

NATIONWIDE CONSEQUENCES

Alaska’s commercial fishing industry is vital, both within

the state and to the Nation as a whole. “The commercial

fishing industry is a major component of [the] statewide

economy and the economic backbone of Alaska’s fishing

communities.” Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission,

2001 Annual Rpt. at 1 (“2001 Annual Report”). Beyond the

state’s borders, fish caught in Alaska’s waters account for

more than half of the Nation’s total commercial catch. In

2001, commercial landings—quantities of fish bought and

27

sold—at Alaskan ports slightly exceeded 5 billion pounds of

fish, valued at $869.9 million; total commercial landings at

all United States ports in 2001 were 9.5 billion pounds of

fish with a value of $3.2 billion.° Thus, in 2001, commercial

landings at Alaskan ports represented more than half of the

total national catch of fish, in pounds, and almost 30 percent

of the value of fish caught and landed at United States ports.

Given the sheer size of the fish pool in Alaskan waters, it is

not surprising that !arge numbers of nonresident commercial

fishermen travel to Alaska to participate in its many

fisheries. ’

Alaska’s prominent role in the Nation’s commercial

fishing industry makes the constitutional issues presented by

this case all the moie pressing: The state that controls many

of the country’s most abundant and profitable commercial

fisheries has erected barriers to entry that favor local

commercial fishermen over nonresidents. And the

discriminatory fee challenged here is hardly Alaska’s first

attempt to favor state residents over nonresidents. See, e.g.,

Anderson v. Mullaney, 191 F.2d 123, 125 (9th Cir. 1951),

aff'd, 342 US. 415 (1952) (striking down Alaska’s

imposition of $5 commercial-fishing-license fee on resident

fishermen and $50 license fee on nonresidents): Hicklin, 437

U.S. at 533-34 (challenge to hiring preference law requiring

the employment of Alaska residents in connection with oil

and gas projects within the state); Sheley v. Alaska Bar

Ass'n, 620 P.2d 640 (Alaska 1980) (striking down Alaska’s

rule requiring applicant for the Alaska bar to establish

domicile in the state at least 30 days before bar examination

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, Fisheries of the

United States, at iv, vii, 6 (2001). The state with the next highest level of

commercial landings in 2001 was Louisiana, with }.? billion pounds, less

than one-fourth of the Alaska landings. /d.

. As of 2001, nonresidents held 4,910 of 23,339 permits issued by the

State, a total of 21 percent. 2001 Annual Report, at 17.

28

under Privileges and Immunities Clause); cf. Zobel v.

Williams, 457 U.S. 55 (1982) (Equal Protection challenge to

Alaska Permanent Fund dividend distribution plan, which

calculated amount of dividend based on length of time an

individual resided in Alaska).

Although the Alaska legislature has been historically

aggressive in acting to protect the state’s residents against

competition from outsiders, it is not alone: At present, 34

states (aside from Alaska) discriminate against nonresidents

by imposing additional fees on them or by banning their

access to commercial fishing altogether." Allowing the

5 See Ala. Code § 9-12-80 (non-residents charged at least as much as

their state charges non-residents but not less than twice as much as

Alabama residents, unless the non-resident’s state has entered into a

reciprocity agreement with Alabama); Ark. Code Ann. § 002 00 001

41.13 (excluding nonresidents from commercial fishing activities, with

exceptions for residents of Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee,

according to reciprocal agreements); Cal. Fish & Game Code § 7852

(non-resident crew members charged three times as much as residents;

non-resident vessel operators charged sixty-six percent more than

residents); Conn. Gen. Stat. § 26-142a (c} (non-residents charged fees

ranging from thirty-three percent more to five times more than residents,

depending on devices used); Del. Code Ann. tit. 7 § 914 (non-residents

charged ten times more than residents, with exceptions for New Jersey

residents fishing certain portions of Delaware River); Fla. Stat. Ann.

§ 370.06(2) (non-residents charged four times as much as residents for

standard license and five times as much for special activity license); Ga.

Code Ann. § 27-2-23 (non-residents charged more than ten times as

much as residents); Idaho Code § 36-416 (non-residents charged twice as

much as residents); 515 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/20-45, 5/20-55 (non-residents

charged more than four times as much as residents for licenses and twice

as much as residents for each 100 yards of seine and each line, trap, or

net device); Ind. Code Ann. § 14-22-14-6 (excluding non-resident

individuals and corporations with non-resident shareholders); lowa Code

§ 482.4 (non-residents charged twice as much as residents for licenses

and each unit of gear; non-resident mussel fishers and mussel helpers

charged twenty-five times and four times more, respectively, than

residents); Kan. Admin. Regs. § 115-2-1 (non-residents charged more

than twelve times as much as residents for commercial mussel fishing

times as much as residents); La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 56:303 (non-residents

charged more than eight times as much as residents); Me. Rev. Stat. Ann.

tit. 12, § 6501 (non-residents charged ten times as much as residents);

Md. Code Ann., Natural Resources § 4-701 (non-residents charged twice

as much as residents as well as surcharge of either $350 or the difference

between total fees charged Maryland residents for like activities in

applicant’s domicile state and toval fees charged applicant in Maryland,

whichever is greater); Mich. Conip. Laws § 324.47330(2) (non-residents

charged five times as much as residents); Minn. Stat. Ann. §§ 97A.461,

475 (nonresidents excluded from commercial fishing); Miss. Code Ann.

§§ 49-15-80, 49-15-30 (non-residents charged four times as much as

residents, except that residents of other states bordering on Gulf of

Mexico charged same fees as their domicile states charge Mississippi

residents in order to promote reciprocal arrangements); Mo. Code Regs.

tit. 3, § 10-10.720 (non-residents charged eight times as much as

residents); Neb. Rev. Stat. § 37-4, 104 (non-residents charged two times

as much as residents); N.J. Stat. Ann. § 23:5-24.2 (non-residents charged

ten times as much as residents, unless their domicile state charges New

Jersey residents the same amount as residents for a similar license); N.Y.

Comp. Codes R. & Regs tit. 6, § 35.1 (d) (non-residents charged ten

times as much as residents); N.C. Gen. Stat. § 113-168.2 (non-residents

charged four times as much es residents or amount equal to the non-

resident fee charged by non-resident’s state, whichever is less, but in no

event less than North Carolina resident’s fee); N.D. Cent. Code, § 20.1-

03-12 (non-residents charged four times more than residents for

commercial frog licenses and ten times more for commercial clam

licenses); Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 29, § 4-103 (non-residents charged more

than twice as much as residents); Or. Rev. Stat. § 508.285 (non-residents

charged twice as much as residents); 30 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 2903 (b) (5)

(non-residents charged two times as much as residents); R.I. Gen. Laws

§§ 20-2.1-5, 20-2.1-6 (non-residents charged four times as much as

residents); S.C. Code Ann. §§ 50-5-300, 50-5-310 (non-residents charged

twelve times as much as residents); Tenn. Code Ann. § 70-2-205 (non-

residents charged four times as much as residents for fishing only and six

times as much for mussels only); 31 Tex. Admin. Code § 53.6 (non-

residents charged four times as much as residents); 4 Va. Admin. Code

§§ 20-730-20, 20-920-30 (non-residents charged additional $350 per

vessel); Wash. Rev. Code Ann. §§ 77.65.160, 77.65.200 (non-residents

charged eighty percent more than residents for limited entry salmon

30

decision below to stand will only encourage states to engage

in impermissible economic protectionism.

* * * * *

“In its negative aspect, the Commerce Clause prohibits

economic protectionism-that is, regulatory measures

designed to benefit in-state economic interests by burdening

out-of-state competitors.” Fulton Corp., 516 U.S. at 330.

Alaska’s discriminatory nonresident commercial-fishing fee

does just that: It ensures that state residents who make their

living as commercial fishermen need not face the degree of

competition from nonresidents engaged in the same

commercial endeavors that would prevail in a completely

free market. That Alaska expressly bases its surcharge on

residency makes undeniable the state’s intent to protect its

residents from out-of-state competition. Such a facially

discriminatory law should be held unconstitutional under

both the Commerce and the Privileges and Immunities

Clauses.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari should

be granted.

licenses and fifty to sixty percent more for other species, gear, or area

licenses); Wis. Stat. §§ 29.523-537 (nonresidents excluded from

commercial fishing).

LOREN DOMKE

LOREN DOMKE, P.C.

2201 North Jordan Avenue

Juneau, Alaska 99801

(907) 790-2844

July 11, 2003

31 .

Respectfully submitted,

BETH HEIFETZ

GREGORY A. CASTANIAS

(Counsel of Record)

JULIA C. AMBROSE

JONES DAY

51 Louisiana Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20001

(202) 879-3939

Counsel for Petitioners

|

ek Re OTS nate inns BRINE eA RINT RE RAISES ALRITE A? SST SARNIA REITE 5 REREN WHAT GIS TP PORES A EERE TT PE. RE ORS TRE

APPENDIX

la

65 P.3d 851

Supreme Court of Alaska.

STATE of Alaska, COMMERCIAL FISHERIES ENTRY

COMMISSION, Appellant/Cross-

Appellee,

v.

Donald H. CARLSON; Warren Hart; Gerard Haskins;

Earl Weese; and Lyla C.

Weese, Individually and as Class Representatives on

Behalf of All Persons

_ Similarly Situated, Appellees/Cross-Appellants.

Nos. S-10091, S-10101.

March 14, 2003.

Before: FABE, Chief Justice, MATTHEWS, EASTAUGH,

BRYNER, and CARPENETI, Justices.

OPINION

FABE, Chief Justice.

I. INTRODUCTION

This is the third appeal arising out of a lawsuit centering on

whether Alaska can charge nonresidents more for commercial

fishing licenses than it charges resident commercial fishers. The

case is brought as a class action by a group of nonresident

commercial fishers. In previous rulings in this case, we held that

different rates can be charged for resident and nonresident

commercial fishers, and we derived a formula for calculating the

acceptable difference. The components of this formula, including

various budget expenditures and oil revenues, are in dispute in

this appeal. We conclude that direct and indirect costs

associated with the fisheries budget and costs associated with the

2a

hatcheries loan fund can be included in the calculation of the

allowable fee differential. We further hold that at an earlier stage

in this litigation the State conceded that the protest requirement

for recovery of overpayment of taxes has been satisfied. Finally,

we hold that prejudgment interest will be applicable if on remand

it is determined that a refund of a portion of fees is required.

Ii. FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

Litigation in this case began in 1984. At the time this case was

first before this court, nonresident commercial fishers were

charged three times as much as resident fishers for fishing license

fees.' The relevant statute at the time, AS 16.05.480(a), dealt

primarily with authorizing the establishment of fees for commercial

fishing: “A person engaged in commercial fishing shall obtain a

commercial fishing license. The fee for the license is $30 for

residents, and $90 for nonresidents.” The relevant current

statute, AS 16.05.480(h), establishes: “For a crewmember

fishing license” issued for calendar year 2002 and following years,

a nonresident engaged in commercial fishing who is 11 years of

age or older and who does not hold an entry permit or an interim-

use permit shall pay an annual base fee of $60 plus an amount,

established by the department by regulation, that is as close as is

practicable to the maximum allowed by law.” The principal

difference is that the current statute does not set the amount

' Carlson v. State, Commercial Fisheries Entry Comm'n (Carlson 1), 798

P.2d 1269, 1270 (Alaska 1990).

“Crewmember fishing license” and “commercial fishing license” are used

interchangeably in AS 16.05.480 with no apparent distinction made

between the two. A “commercial fisherman” is elsewhere defined to

include crewmembers. AS 16.05.940(4).

3a

which nonresidents can be charged, but rather allows this amow t

to be set at the maximum legal amount.°

A similar fee structure is established for entry permits and

interim-use permits where the creation of limited use zones is

deemed necessary for controlling, through the permitting process,

the number of people who can fish in a given geographic area.’

However, in 2001 the fees for nonresidents were three times the

amount for residents.” Crewmembers are not required to have

* This amount is to be set by the Alaska Commercial Fisheries Entry

Commission. AS 16.43.100(16) (authorizing commission to “establish

reasonable user fees for services”).

* See generally AS 16.43.200-225.

* The relevant sections of former 20 Alaska Administrative Code (AAC)

05.240(a) (1), (2), (4) (2002) provide:

(a) For 2001, the commission will determine the annual fee for the issuance

or renewal of an entry permit or interim-use permit according to the

following:

(1) the resident annual fee for the issuance or renewal of an entry permit

or interim-use permit in a limited fishery is .25 percent of the estimated

value of the entry permit, rounded to the nearest fee class amount

established in (4) of this subsection; the non-resident annual fee is three

times this amount, as set out in (4) of this subsection; ...

(2) the resident annual fee for the issuance or renewal of an interim-use

permit in an unlimited fishery is .25 percent of the estimated average gross

earings per permit in the most recent three years for which data are

available, rounded to the nearest fee class amount established in (4) of

this subsection; the non-resident fee is three times this amount, as set out

in (4) of this subsection;

(4) the resident and non-resident annual fees are:

FEE CLASS ANNUAL FEE

Resident Non-resident

4a

entry or interim-use permits, although they are required to have a

commercial (crewmember) fishing permit to work on a permit

vessel.° The class never specifically stated in its brief that it is

challenging both commercial fishing licenses and entry permit fees,

but one of the challenged superior court orders states that it

applies to both “commercial licenses and limited entry permits.”

Furthermore, Carlson I defined the class as consisting of “all

persons who participated in one or more Alaska commercial

fisheries at any time who paid non-resident assessments to the

I $250 $750

II 200 600

Il 150 450

IV 100 300

Vv 50 150

° See AS 16.43.140(b) (“A permit is not required of a crewmember or other

person assisting in the operation of a unit of gear engaged in the

commercial taking of fishery resources as long as the holder of the entry

permit or the interim-use permit for that particular unit of gear is at all

times present and actively engaged in the operation of the gear.”); AS

16.05.480(a) (2001) (“A person engaged in commercial fishing shall obtain

a commercial fishing license and shall retain the license in possession and

readily available for inspection during fishing operations. An entry permit

or interim-use permit entitles the holder to participate as a gear operator in

the fishery for which the permit is issued and to participate as a

crewmember in any fishery.”); AS 16.05.940(4) (“ ‘[C]ommercial fisherman’

means an individual who fishes commercially for, takes, or attempts to

take fish, shellfish, or other fishery resources of the state by any means,

and includes every individual aboard a boat operated for fishing purposes

who participates directly or indirectly in the taking of these raw fishery

products, whether participation is on shares or as an employee or

otherwise.”); AS 16.05.940(5) (“* ‘{C]ommercial fishing’ means the taking,

fishing for, or possession of fish, shellfish, or other fishery resources with

the intent of disposing of them for profit, or by sale, barter, trade, or in

commercial channels.”).

1h ERE ER SE NOU GO Tae oie mes nen Osta oh i te “3

EA ALN RE OPAL RE RTL

Sa

State for commercial or gear licenses or permits.” This language

was taken directly from the initial complaint. We therefore find it

appropriate to address both commercial fishing licenses and entry

permit fees. For the sake of simplicity, the two will be referred to

collectively as “commercial fishing fees,” except in those

instances where it is necessary to differentiate between the two.

A. Prior Case History Before the Alaska Supreme

Court

Before proceeding with the issues in the present case, it is

helpful to review the decisions in the previous appeals before this

court. In Carlson I, we held that different fees for residents and

nonresidents did not automatically violate either the Privileges and

Immunities Clause or the Commerce Clause of the United States

Constitution." We noted that “[I]ess favorable treatment by the

State towards nonresidents runs afoul of the Privileges. and

Immunities Clause if: 1) the activity in question is ‘sufficiently

basic to the livelihood of the Nation... as to fall within the

purview of the [clause], and 2)fit] is not Closely related to the

advancement of a substantial state interest.” We proceeded to

determine that “[c]ommercial fishing is a sufficiently important

activity to come within the purview of the Privileges and

Immunities Clause, and license fees which discriminate against

nonresidents are prima facie a violation of it.”'° We recognized

that states may “charge non-residents a differential which would

merely compensate the State for any added enforcement burden

they may impose or for any conservation expenditures from taxes

” Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1270.

8 Id. at 1274-78.

° Id. at 1274 (quoting Supreme Court of Virginia v. Friedman, 487 US.

59, 64-65 (1988) (citations omitted)).

© Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1274.

6a

which only residents pay.”'' Because the appropriateness of a

3:1 fee differential had not been addressed, we remanded the

case for such a determination, placing the burden of persuasion

on the State.’

We conducted a similar analysis with regard to the Commerce

Clause. Noting that the Commerce Clause “limits the power of

the States to erect barriers against -interstate trade,”'? we

concluded that if a law is shown to discriminate against interstate

commerce, either in its wording or in its effect, the burden is on

the State “to demonstrate both that the statute ‘serves a legitimate

local purpose,’ and that this purpose could not be served as well

by available nondiscriminatory means.”* We held that the

superior court improperly relied upon Salorio v. Glaser'> in

granting summary judgment to the State.'° We determined that

applying Salorio, in which New Jersey imposed additional fees

on nonresidents to pay for transportation facilities,'’ to the

present case would result in nonresidents subsidizing the activities

of residents because nonresidents could then be required “‘to pay

up to 100% of their pro rata share of expenditures regardless of

what percentage of their pro rata share residents are in fact

paying.”"* However, because the majority of the state revenues

are derived from petroleum production, a source to which

'! Id. at 1274-75 (quoting Toomer v. Witsell, 334 U.S. 385, 399 (1948)).

Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1276, 1278.

'? Id. at 1277 (quoting Maine v. Taylor, 477 US. 131, 137 (1986)).

'* Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1277 (quoting Maine v. Taylor, 477 U.S. at 138).

'® 82 N.J. 482, 414 A.2d 943, cert. denied, 449 U.S. 874 (1980).

'® Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1278.

'7 414 A.2d at 953.

'§ Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1278.

7a

nonresident fishers make no contribution, we ruled that the State

could recoup conservation expenditures from nonresidents in the

form of differential fees.'? We reasoned that the oil revenues

spent on conservation “could have been used to benefit residents

through various other programs and they are, analytically,

equivalent to ‘taxes which only residents pay.””° In that the

extensive use of oil revenues as a source for state expenditures

created a greater financial burden on nonresidents than residents, —

a fee differential based upon residency was justified!

Consequently, “the state may equalize the economic burden of

fisheries management; where residents pay proportionately more

by way of foregone benefits than nonresidents for fisheries

management, nonresidents may be charged higher fees to make

up the difference.” This is the same conclusion that was

reached in the Privileges and Immunities Clause analysis.

Consequently, we remanded the case for a further determination

of the appropriateness of the fees.”

; 9 Id.

” Id.

q "Id.

' a

‘

* Id. We made two other rulings in Carlson I: We held that the

Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission was authorized by statute to

impose different commercial fishing fees, assuming that the ratio itself was

constitutional. /d. at 1278-79. We also remanded on the issue of whether

the protest requirement in AS 43.15.010(a) had been met. /d. at 1279-80.

We further noted on this issue that a two-year statute of limitations from

the time the tax was paid governed instead of the six-year limit assume¢

by the superior court. /d. at 1280.

EE is

8a

In Carlson II, we addressed the question of what would be an

acceptable fee differential for nonresidents to pay.** We first

affirmed our decision in Carlson J that neither the Commerce

Clause nor the Privileges and Immunities Clause prevented the

imposition of an increased fee for nonresident commercial

fishers. The class had argued that two cases, which held that

states violated the negative (also known as dormant) Commerce

Clause by charging greater taxes on out-of-state waste than on

in-state waste, decided by the United States Supreme Court after

Carlson I but before Carlson II, were applicable to the present

case.”° We distinguished these two cases by holding that the

facts in the present case did not involve the “interstate flow of

- articles of commerce.”*’ In response to the class’s Privileges

and Immunities Clause argument, we stated that we did not in

‘Carlson I advance the type of fee-shifting arrangement

denounced in Oregon Waste Systems, but rather explicitly held

that nonresidents could be required to pay only that amount that

would make their contribution to state-provided benefits

substantially equal to the contribution of similarly situated

residents.”*

Accepting the constitutionality of the fee differences, we next

determined a formula for allowable differences. We adopted the

per capita fee differential formula advocated by the class as

* Carlson v. State, Commercial Fisheries Entry Comm'n (Carlson II ),

919 P.2d 1337 (Alaska 1996). Certiorari was subsequently requested but

denied. 519 U.S. 1101 (1997).

25 Id. at 1340-42.

© Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1340 (citing Oregon Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep't of

Envtl. Quality, 511 U.S. 93, 99 (1994); Chemical Waste Mgmt., Inc. v.

Hunt, 504 U.S. 334, 340-41, (1992)).

27 Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1340 (citing Oregon Waste Sys., 511 U.S. at 98).

8 Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1340.

AA The ALES GA ANAEES. LA IEG OM EA I PINEAL AMIE RAT PROSCAR: Rares

9a

opposed to the pro rata formula offered by the State, holding that

the allowable fee differential could be determined by: (Fisheries

Budget/Alaska Population) X (percentage of State Budget from

oil revenues/1.0).”” We rejected the State’s proposed formula?”

because it improperly compared the contributions made by

nonresident commercial fishers to those made only by resident

commercial fishers, rather than viewing the resource expenditures

benefitting the nonresidents in terms of the population of the state

as a whole?!

Resident commercial fishers are paying the license and permit

fees they are charged plus their per capita share of oil revenues

which are diverted to fisheries management from other benefits or

State services. It is this quantity which must be equivalent to the

fee differential for the fees to be constitutional under the Carlson

I analysis.**

We remanded the case to the superior court to determine if,

under the formula adopted, the nonresident fee differential

exceeded the resident contribution, including the forgone oil

2 Id. at 1342-43.

* The State had advocated the following pro rata formula: “(1) calculate

the expenditures or costs of the commercial fisheries (enforcement and

conservation); (2) determine the resident and nonresident commercial

fishers’ respective pro rata shares of those expenditures; and (3) compare

the percentage of its respective pro rata share each group is paying.” /d.

at 1343.

*' A similar plan was rejected by the Fourth Circuit, which overturned a

Virginia law that required all fishers to pay a fee determined by dividing

the state costs of fishing funded by all taxpayers by the number of fishers

in the state, requiring as a result that nonresident fishers pay an

additional $1,150 fee. Tangier Sound Waterman's Ags’n v. Pruitt, 4 F.3d

264, 268 (4th Cir.1993).

® Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1343.

10a

revenues of the average Alaska resident.’ The superior court on

remand was also to address what budget figures should be

included in executing the formula.*

On the issues of refunds to the class and prejudgment interest,

we recognized that “the record indicates that the State agrees that

those fees which were paid after June 22, 1984, were paid under

protest sufficient to permit a refund under AS 43.10.210.”*° The

class admitted that it could not have satisfied the protest

requirement before then and thus would not seek a refund for any

fees prior to that date.°° We remanded the case to determine if

the action of filing suit constitutes sufficient notice to satisfy the

requirements of AS 43.10.210(a)*’ and to determine whether, if

the class ultimately prevails, prejudgment interest is due.**

B. Recent Case History After Remand to the Alaska

Superior Court

On July 17, 1998, Superior Court Judge Peter A. Michalski

issued an opinion addressing class decertification and

prejudgment interest. Judge Michalski denied the State’s motion

® Id. at 1344.

Id.

8 Id.

* Id.

” The statute provides: The Department of Administration shall, with the

approval of the attorney general and the Department of Revenue, refund

to a taxpayer the amount of a tax paid to the Department of Revenue

under protest and deposited in the treasury if (1) the taxpayer recovers

judgment against the Department of Revenue for the return of the tax; or

(2) in the absence of a judgment, it is obvious to the Department of

Revenue that the taxpayer would obtain judgment if legal proceedings

were prosecuted by the taxpayer.

8 Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1344.

SILT 61 DERM RMR si ass BY

lla

for class decertification because all four components of class

certification— numerosity, commonality, typicality, and adequacy

of representation—were met. The State had argued that because

the class shifted its legal theory from common law theories of

assumpsit to a statutory argument, the original class certification

under Alaska Civil Rule 23(b) (2) must be reexamined. The

State further argued that numerosity did not exist because only

the named parties actually protested the fee differential; conceded

that commonality existed; asserted that because different permits

and fees were involved, there was no typicality of claims; and

contended that the variety of remedies that the legislature could

adopt if the fees were found to be unconstitutional rendered it

impossible for there to be adequacy of representation. The

superior court held that the State did not provide a sufficient

change in circumstances to justify decertifying the class and noted

that speculation as to how the legislature might react to a ruling

was also not grounds for decertification. Judge Michalski further

tuled that the status of a class as a “unified legal entity” overrode

the State’s interest in making distinctions between class members.

Consequently, the superior court concluded that “no distinctions

will be made among class members when determining whether

the state waived the protest requirement or whether the class met

the protest requirement.”

In addition, the superior court held that notice to the State

existed as of December 13, 1984. The State had argued that

every member of the class was required to protest to obtain any

refund. However, Judge Michalski, quoting Principal Mutual

Life Insurance v. State, Division of Insurance,” stated that the

purpose of the protest requirement was to provide the State

“with notice of the claimed tax illegality, the grounds advanced in

support of the claimed illegality, and [to] afford[ ] the state the

*” 780 P.2d 1023, 1030-31 (Alaska 1989).

12a

opportunity to fashion budget appropriations, or expenditures,

taking into account the magnitude of the claimed tax illegality.”

Because the class was defined extensively enough to include all

commercial license and permit holders, Judge Michalski held that

the State should have known the magnitude of the potential claims

and budgeted appropriately. It was therefore not necessary for

each class member to protest the fee differential because to

impose such a requirement would be a mere technicality. Judge

Michalski thus held that the protest requirement of AS

43.10.210(a) was satisfied by the certification of the class in the

suit.

As to prejudgment interest, the State asserted that AS

45.45.010, which had been invoked in Carlson II as the basis

for a determination of whether prejudgment interest was due,”

only set the maximum interest rate and did not specifically

authorize prejudgment interest. The superior court conceded that

the State’s interpretation of AS 45.45.010 was correct, but

concluded that this court intended the superior court to look

beyond just that statute in addressing the issue of prejudgment

interest. Looking to AS 43.05.280, the superior court

determined that interest was allowed on an overpayment of taxes.

Because we held in Carlson I that Title 43 applied to the present

case even though fees, and not taxes, were involved,*' Judge

Michalski held that the class could recover prejudgment interest

on their overpaid commercial fishing fees were they ultimately to

prevail on their claim.

Left undecided was the issue of what comprised the different

components of the formula derived in Carlson II. This was

resolved by the superior court at an evidentiary hearing held

919 P.2d at 1344.

4! 798 P.2d at 1280.

piaaete Dai eter a cece Pate a DMN NE MS RES a acts RSPR DPE Rg re) —

se

13a

June 12-14, 2000. The court adopted the State’s methodology

for computing the fisheries budget with regard to both direct and

indirect operating expenditures, but agreed with the class that

general government costs, capital costs, the hatcheries loan fund

subsidy, and forgone revenue from fishery resources could not be

included when computing the fisheries- budget. The resulting

fisheries budget for fiscal year 1996 was $127,289,000. Both

sides agreed on the methodology for determining Alaska’s

population, namely the yearly estimate made by the Alaska

Department of Labor, yielding a state population of 605,212 in

fiscal year 1996. The superior court agreed with the State that

the oil revenues component should “include general fund

petroleum revenues, the draw on the constitutional budget

reserve, and the net income from the Alaska Permanent Fund

appropriated each year.” In fiscal year 1996 this resulted in a

calculation that seventy-four percent of the state budget came

from oil revenues. From these figures, a maximum fee differential

of $155.64 was calculated for fiscal year 1996. The parties were

then ordered to use the methodologies adopted by the superior

court to calculate the allowable fee differential back to

December 13, 1984 and any corresponding refund that may be

necessary. This accounting has not yet been made. The State

appealed and Carlson cross-appealed.

fil. STANDARD OF REVIEW

The constitutionality of a statute and matters of constitutional

or statutory interpretation are questions of law to which we apply

our independent judgment.*” We adopt the rule of law “that is

most persuasive in light of precedent, reason, and policy.”?

“ Tesoro Petroleum Corp. v. State, 42 P.3d 531, 535 (Alaska 2002);

Sampson v. State, 31 P.3d 88, 91 (Alaska 2001).

“’ State v. Planned Parenthood of Alaska, 35 P.3d 30, 34 (Alaska 2001)

(quoting Guin v. Ha, 591 P.2d 1281, 1284 n.6 (Alaska 1979)).

~

14a

Findings of fact are reviewed for clear error, a standard that

requires that great deference be given to the findings of the

superior court.*°

IV. DISCUSSION

A. We Decline To Readdress the Constitutional Issues

Already Raised and Resolved in Carlson II.

The constitutionality of charging nonresidents more for

commercial fishing licenses and permits has already been

addressed, first in Carlson I° and then reaffirmed in Carlson

11.“’ Whether we should readdress the issue here is a threshold

question. In Pratt & Whitney Canada, Inc. v. Sheehan, we

noted the importance of stare decisis but also recognized the

“ See Vezey v. Green, 35 P.3d 14, 19-20 (Alaska 2001) (citations omitted)

(“We review the trial court’s findings of fact under the clearly erroneous

standard. Under this standard, we will reject a factual finding only if we

are ‘left with the definite and firm conviction on the entire record that a

mistake has been committed.’ In addition, we have stated that ‘[w]hen a

trial court’s decision of a factual issue depends largely on conflicting oral

testimony, the trial court’s competence to judge credibility of witnesses

provides even a stronger basis for deference by the reviewing court.’”);

see also Rockstad v. Global Fin. & Inv. Co., Inc., 41 P.3d 583, 586 (Alaska

2002) (“[W]hen the trial court relies on extrinsic testimonial evidence to

provide a factual basis for its interpretation of a contract, we apply the

clearly erroneous standard in reviewing the court’s background findings

of fact.”).

*° See Matanuska Elec. Ass'n, Inc. v. Rewire the Bd., 36 P.3d 685, 700-01

(Alaska 2001) (noting that use of clearly erroneous standard of review for

factual findings in contempt proceedings “is consistent with the

deferential review used by courts in other jurisdictions”).

4© 798 P.2d at 1274-78.

47 919 P.2d at 1340-42.

PRENSA RE A ONS EEE DE a eee

lSa

need occasionally to deviate from existing precedent*® We

Stated that we “will overrule a prior decision only when ‘clearly

convinced that the rule was originally erroneous or is no longer

sound because of changed conditions, and that more good than

harm would result from a departure from precedent”? A prior

ruling may be “originally erroneous” if it proves to be

“unworkable in practice.”*° Changed conditions exist where

“related principles of law have so far developed as to have left

the old rule no more than a remnant of abandoned doctrine, [or]

facts have so changed or come to be seen so differently, as to

have robbed the old rule of significant application.”*' This law of

the case doctrine™’ maintains that issues previously adjudicated

can only be reconsidered where there exist “exceptional

circumstances”? presenting a “clear error constituting a manifest

“8 852 P.2d 1 173, 1175 (Alaska 1993) (“When a common ‘law court is asked

to overrule one of its prior decisions, the principle of stare decisis is

implicated. . . . [S]tare decisis is a practical, flexible command that balances

our Community’s competing interests in the stability of legal norms and

the need to adapt those norms to society’s changing demands.”).

® Id. at 1176 (quoting State v. Dunlop, 721 P.2d 604, 610 (Alaska 1986)).

” Pratt & Whitney Canada, 852 P.2d at 1176.

*' Id. (quoting Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 855 (1992)).

” Wolff v. Arctic Bowl, Inc., 560 P.2d 758, 763 (Alaska 1977) (“The doctrine

of the law of the case prohibits the reconsideration of issues which have

been adjudicated in a previous appeal in the same case. Even issues not

explicitly discussed in the first appellate opinion, but directly involved

with or ‘necessarily inhering’ in the decision will be considered the law of

the case. This doctrine is akin to the doctrine of res judicata, in that it

requires that a final judgment be rendered with respect to the issues at

hand.”) (citations omitted).

*® Patrick v. Sedwick, 413 P.2d 169, 173-74 (Alaska 1966).

l6a

injustice.”* Once a case has been heard,” there are strong

policy reasons for refusing to rehear it.”°

The State accuses the class of rearguing the same case they

brought in 1996, particularly with regard to the class’s

interpretation of Oregon Waste Systems, Inc. v. Department of

Environmental Quality, which the United States Supreme Court

decided in 1994.°’ The State dismisses the only two post-

Carlson II cases cited by the class— Fulton Corp. v.

Faulkner’® and Camps Newfound/Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of

Harrison, Maine®-as inapplicable to the present case. © The

class counters that there is no final judgment necessary to invoke

** Alaska Diversified Contractors, Inc. v. Lower Kuskokwim Sch. Dist.,

778 P.2d 581, 583 (Alaska 1989).

°° US. v. Hatter, 532 U.S. 557, 566 (2001) (“The law of the case doctrine

_ presumes a hearing on the merits.”).

°° See Pratt & Whitney Canada, 852 P.2d at 1175 (“[N]o judicial system

could do society’s work if it eyed each issue afresh in every case that

raised it.”) (quoting Planned Parenthood, 505 U'S. at 854).

7 511 US. 93 (1994).

8 516 US. 325 (1996).

*° 520 U.S. 564 (1997).

© The State further argues that if there were anything questionable about

the constitutionality of the fee differentials, the United States Supreme

Court could have taken the case on certiorari but refused to do so. 519

U.S. 1101 (1997). However, the United States Supreme Court can deny

certiorari for a variety of reasons. Therefore, denial of certiorari should

not be taken as a judgment on the merits of the case. See Bridgers v.

Texas, 532 U.S. 1034 (2001). It is easily conceivable that the Court refused

certiorari because Carlson II was partially remanded and the Court

wanted to wait to see what the final resolution of that case would be.

17a

the law of the case doctrine as delineated in Wolff-°' The class

further asserts that the law of the case doctrine is only a general

principle and not an unyielding prohibition on revisiting prior

decisions.” We agree with the State that our previous decisions

on this issue preclude its reconsideration.

The question before us is whether any legal precedent has

arisen subsequent to Carlson II to indicate that that decision was

somehow in error. A. United States Supreme Court decision

ee ee ome tae ye ie ct

3 contradicting our holding in Carlson II would indicate a clear

: error and require us to revisit the issue of the constitutionality of

: the fee differentials. We interpret Fulton and Camps Newfound

: as Clarifying the Supreme Court’s position in Oregon Waste

° Systems; these two cases do not, however, alter the law in a way

i that would cause us to rethink our decision in Carison I We

Hq therefore do not believe that such a contradiction exists, nor do

i we find any other reason to revisit our holding in Carlson II.

*' The class asserts that the law of the case doctrine is meant primarily as

a restraint on trial courts. While this may be one of the functions, it is

certainly not the exclusive purpose of the doctrine.

See Smith v. Cleary, 24 P.3d 1245, 1248 (Alaska 2001) (“The doctrine of

the law of the case is a matter of judicial policy and describes ‘the practice

of courts generally to refuse to reopen what has been decided,’ but does

not limit their power to do so.”) (quoting West v. Buchanan, 981 P.2d 1065,

1067 (Alaska 1999)) (citations omitted).

* See Smith, 24 P.3d at 1248 (“[T]he policy against reconsidering issues

adjudicated in a prior appeal or issues ‘directly involved with or

necessarily inhering’ in a prior decision applies only if there has been ‘a

final judgment ... with respect to the issues at hand.’”) (citations

omitted); Brandon v. State, 839 P.2d 400, 403-04 (Alaska App. 1992) (“The

doctrine of the law of the case prohibits the reconsideration of issues that

this court has adjudicated in a previous appeal in the same case.”).

ee ee

18a

1. Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner ™

Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner addressed an intangibles tax by the

state of North Carolina on corporate stock. The tax was

assessed on the fair market value of corporate stock owned by

North Carolina residents.©° However, residents were allowed to

take a tax deduction equal to the percentage of the corporation‘s

income that was subject to tax in North Carolina.” This resulted

in an inverse relationship between the tax that North Carolina

residents were required to pay and the extent to which the

company did its business in North Carolina, such that, for

example, if the company did all of its business within the state, a

resident owning its stock would not be required to pay any

intangibles tax on that stock.°’ The Court rejected this tax as a

violation of the Commerce Clause.“ The Court explicitly

recognized the applicability of the dormant Commerce Clause-to

the case,” but further acknowledged that a tax that facially

discriminates against interstate commerce may be constitutional if

the effect on interstate commerce is incidental” or if the tax is

* 516 US. 325 (1996).

® Td. at 327.

© Id. at 328.

®7 Id.

$8 Id. at 346.

® Jd. at 330 (“In its negative aspect, the Commerce Clause prohibits

economic protectionism—that is, regulatory measures designed to benefit

in-state economic interests by burdening out- of-state competitors.”)

(internal quotations omitted).

” Id. at 331 (“In evaluating state regulatory measures under the dormant

Commerce Clause, we have held that the first step .. . is to determine

whether it regulates evenhandedly with only incidental effects on

interstate commerce, or discriminates against interstate commerce.”)

ee ee

1 . . TT Ore sarees EE Tn ‘t ‘ EEOSRO AOR care

ilihiihCietiicisehlceat lbh dha ic tina Uda cy bdemeomiiaeaann dane cee meer ene cece :

19a

designed to make those engaged in interstate commerce bear the

same economic burden as_ those engaged in_ intrastate

commerce.’' The Court then outlined a three-part test for

determining if a compensatory tax was constitutional: (1) the

State must identify the intrastate tax burden being compensated;

(2) the tax must be shown to approximate but not exceed the

burden on intrastate commerce; and (3) the events which are

being taxed must be shown to be substantially equivalent between

interstate and intrastate commerce.”

Although Fulton will be relevant in our analysis of what

expenses can be included in the “fisheries budget,” it has no

bearing on the basic allowability of fee differentials for

(quoting Oregon Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep't of Envtl. Quality, 511 US. 93, 99

(1994) (internal quotations and citation omitted)).

” Fulton, 516 U.S. at 331 (“[A] facially discriminatory tax may still survive

Commerce Clause scrutiny if it is a truly compensatory tax designed

simply to make interstate commerce bear a burden already borne by

intrastate commerce.”) (internal quotations and citation omitted).

” Id. at 333. The Court, however, found that none of these conditions

was satisfied by North Carolina’s intangibles tax. Jd. at 333-44. North

Carolina attempted to argue that the intangibles tax “compensates for the

burden of the general corporate income tax paid by corporations doing

business in North Carolina.” /d. at 334. North Carolina further argued

that one of the services supported through a general corporate income tax

“is the maintenance of a capital market for corporations wishing to sell

stock to North Carolina residents.” Jd. at 335. The Court found this

argument to be “unconvincing.” Jd. Drawing on Oregon Waste Systems,

the Court found the use of a tax on interstate commerce to compensate for

general revenues to be an “expansive loophole.” Jd. (quoting Oregon

Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep't of Envtl. Quality, 511 US. 93, 105 n.8 (1994)). The

Court proceeded to reject the specific application of the intangibles tax

because of doubts that North Carolina used the tax proceeds to maintain

an intrastate capital market, and the state’s failure to detail the proportion

of the corporate income tax used to support the capital market, as well as a

lack of equivalence between out-of-state corporations and resident

shareholders. Fulton, 516 U.S. at 336-40.

20a

nonresidents because commercial fishing licenses are not objects

of interstate commerce. We held in Carlson II that “{ujnlike the

fee differentials in Oregon Waste Systems and Chemical

Waste,”> the fee differentials at issue in this case are not

predicated upon the movement of articles of commerce across

state lines, but rather upon the residency status of those applying

for permits.”’* Consequently, we held that the negative or

dormant Commerce Clause did not apply to the present case, but

rather that the fee differentials were properly analyzed under the

Privileges and Immunities Clause.”” Nothing in Fulton causes us

to abandon this position. The tax in Fulton was tied directly to

whether the corporation in question engaged in interstate or

intrastate commerce.’° It was therefore clearly “predicated upon

the movement of articles of commerce across state lines.””’ No

similar situation exists here, with the fee differential for

nonresident commercial fishers relating not to commerce but

3 Chemical Waste Mgmt., Inc. v. Hunt, 504 U.S. 334 (1992).

919 P.2d at 1340.

75 Id. at 1340-41. The Privileges and Immunities Clause does allow for

nonresidents to be taxed on their business enterprises within a state. See

Shaffer v. Carter, 252 U.S. 37, 52-53 (1920) (“That a state, consistently

with the federal Constitution, may not prohibit the citizens of other states

from carrying on legitimate business within its borders like its own

citizens, of course is granted; but it does not follow that the business of

nonresidents may not be required to make a ratable contribution in taxes

for the support of the government. On the contrary, the very fact that a

citizen of one state has the right to hold property or carry on an

occupation or business in another is a very reasonable ground for

subjecting such nonresident, although not personally, yet to the extent of

his property held, or his occupation or business carried on therein, to a

duty to pay taxes not more onerous in effect than those imposed under

like circumstances upon citizens of the latter state.”).

Fulton, 516 U.S. at 327-28.

” Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1340. -

2la

rather to the Opportunity to utilize Alaska’s natural resources.

Consequently, Fulton does not provide a reason to revisit an

issue decided in Carlson I/.”8

2. Camps Newfound/Owatonna, Inc. y. T, own of

Harrison, Maine”

In Camps Newfound, the United States Supreme Court

stuck down a local Maine Property tax exemption for a

ATOR GES EME Te AN TREE BY ORONO NI TEs"

t charitable camp that primarily served state residents, ® -A Maine

: town had attempted to argue that the business of the camp did

H not involve articles of commerce because the services of the

; camp were “delivered and ‘consumed’ entirely within Maine.”*!

The Court noted that “[t]he attendance of these campers

necessarily generates the transportation of persons across state

” Even if we were to reach this issue, the fee differential would fall under

the exception listed in Fulton whereby states can impose a facially

discriminatory tax as long as it “make[s] interstate commerce bear a

burden already borne by intrastate commerce.” 516 U.S. at 331. We

reached this conclusion in Carlson J, where we stated that “the state may

equalize the economic burden of fisheries management; where residents

Pay proportionately more by way of foregone benefits than nonresidents

for fisheries management, nonresidents may be charged higher fees to

make up the difference.” 798 P.2d at 1278. We affirmed this decision in

Carlson II. 919 P.2d at 1341-42. Furthermore, the fee differential Satisfies

the three-part test laid out in Fulton: (1) the fee differential is

compensating for a clearly defined intrastate burden: (2) the fee

differential is limited such that it does not exceed the burden borne by

State residents; and (3) the event being taxed, namely the license to use

State fisheries, is the same for residents and nonresidents. See Fulton,

516 U.S. at 333, Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1342-44. Therefore, even if the fee

differential were held to bear on interstate commerce, it would fall under

one of the exceptions to the negative Commerce Clause.

” 520 US. 564 (1997).

*° Id. at 568-95.

*! Td. at 572.

22a

lines that has long been recognized as a form of ‘commerce.””*”

We find there to be no direct analogy between the campers in

Camps Newfound and the movement of commercial fishers into

Alaska. The Court in Camps Newfound drew a comparison of

the summer camps to hotels.*’ This comparison indicates a

sufficient distinction from commercial fishing licenses and permits

to allay concerns about the constitutionality of the fee differential.

The Court in Camps Newfound further compared the summer

camps to a natural resource.’ The Court pointed out that there

is a long history of allowing residents and nonresidents alike equal

access to natural resources in a state.** Quoting from New

England Power Co. v. New Hampshire,” a case in which the

Court struck down a New Hampshire law attempting to place

restrictions on a public utility’s sales of hydroelectric energy

generated in the state to out-of-state consumers, the Court stated

that “w]e have ‘consistently . . . held that the Commerce Clause

. . . precludes a state from mandating that its residents be given a

preferred right of access, over out-of-state consumers, to natural

resources located within its borders or to the products derived

therefrom.””’ The Court considered the two situations

analogous because in both cases “the burden fell on out-of-state

®2 Id. at 573.

83 Id. at 573.

* Id. at 576-77: see also Hughes v. Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322, 337-38 (1979)

(striking down as violation of Commerce Clause Oklahoma law that placed

no limits on number of minnows that could be caught and used within

state but prohibited transportation of minnows out of state for sale

because regulation of natural resources does not allow state to

circumvent Commerce Clause).

*° Camps Newfound, 520 U.S. at 576.

* 455 U.S. 331, 338 (1982).

*’ Camps Newfound, 520 U.S. at 576.

Be tte. ey int, Hb Ys 4

23a

access both to a natural resource, and to related services

provided by state residents.”*® The Court explained that “[bly

encouraging economic isolationism, prohibitions on out-of-state

access to in-state resources serve the very evil that the dormant

Commerce Clause was designed to prevent.”®°

The law in the present case, however, does not hinder or deny

access to Alaska’s natural resources, which in this case are the

fisheries. Rather, the law merely allows the State to recoup from

nonresidents the amount spent on maintaining the natural resource

of the fisheries that it would be able to recover from nonresidents

were they instead residents of Alaska. Nonresidents are being

provided with equal access to the resource on the condition that

they make a contribution to the maintenance of the resource equal

to that made by state residents.” The situation in the present

*8 Td. at 577.

®° Id. at 578.

7 Oregon Waste Systems y. Department of Environmental Quality

specifically distinguishes the situation in that case, where a higher fee

was charged for the disposal of out-of-state waste than for in-state waste

even though the cost of disposal of waste was the same no matter where

the waste was generated, from a Situation such as the present one where,

absent a higher nonresident fee, the use of the fisheries and the cost of

maintaining them imposes a higher cost on residents than on

nonresidents. 511 U.S. 93, 101 (1994). Because the present case is

properly analyzed as a Privileges and Immunities ease, the primary

concern is “to insure to a citizen of State A who ventures into State B the

same privileges which the citizens of State B enjoy.” Toomer vy. Witsell,

334 U.S. 385, 395 ( 1948). While nonresidents cannot be disadvantaged by

their movement across state lines, there is nothing requiring that they

benefit by such movement either. Nonresidents can therefore be required

to compensate the state for the state resources they use. Complete Auto

Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 US. 274, 281 (1977) (“[T]he Court consistently

has indicated that ‘interstate commerce may be made to pay its way,” and

has moved toward a standard of permissibility of state taxation based

upon its actual effect rather than its legal terminology.”). The holding in

24a

case can therefore be distinguished from that in Camps

Newfound. Thus, there is no reason to revisit our decision in

Carlson II.

B. The Formula for Calculating the Allowable Fee

Differential for Nonresident Commercial Fishing

Fees

In Carlson II, we held the per capita formula advanced by the

class to be, in comparison to the pro rata formula proposed by

the State, “the correct method for calculating the contribution

made by residents.”' The formula calculates the per capita

resident contribution to the cost of fisheries management,

regardless of whether this person is a fisher, as follows: (Fisheries

Budget/Alaska Population) X (percentage of State Budget from

oil revenues/1.0).”” The figure determined by this formula for any

given year is then compared to the actual fee differential charged.

If the fee differential paid by the nonresident commercial fishers,

i.e., the nonresident fee minus the resident fee for the same

access, exceeds the resident contribution as calculated by the

formula, then “the State will have failed to demonstrate that the

means employed by its statute have a substantial enough

relationship to the legitimate interest of the statute to survive

Privileges and Immunities Clause review.””°

It should be noted that the formula advanced by the class and

adopted in Carlson II is not the only conceivable means for

calculating an allowable fee differential for nonresidents. The

United States Supreme Court requires only a “reasonable relation

Carlson II accomplishes this by limiting the fee differential to the per

capita resident contribution. Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1343.

*! 919 P.2d at 1342.

* Id. at 1343.

% Id. at 1344.

25a

between the higher fees and the higher cost.” In Carlson II, we

found the per capita formula advanced by the class to be an

acceptable method for calculating the resident contribution to

fisheries management and hence the allowable nonresident fee

differential.” We continue to uphold the applicability of this

formula.

We should clarify, however, that a refund will only be

necessary if the difference between the actual fees charged to

** Mullaney v. Anderson, 342 US. 415, 418 (1952). It is worth noting in

passing that a multitude of other states allow nonresident commercial

fishers to be charged higher fees than resident commercial fishers without

any apparent reliance upon a formula to calculate the allowable fee

differential. Delaware charges $150 for a resident commercial food fishing

license and $1,500 for a comparable nonresident license. Del. Code Ann.

tit. 7, § 914 (2001). Florida requires residents to pay $50 for a saltwater

products license for an individual and $100 for a boat. Nonresidents are

required to pay twice these amounts. Fla. Stat. 370.06(2) (a) (West 2001).

Georgia charges $12 for a resident commercial fishing or crabbing license

and $118 for a nonresident fishing or crabbing license. Ga. Code § 27-2-23

(2001). Maine establishes a fee of $89 for a commercial fishing license for a

resident operator and all crewmembers and $334 for a commercial fishing

license for a nonresident operator and all crewmembers. Me. Rev. Stat.

Ann. tit. 12, § 6501 (West 2001). Michigan charges nonresidents five

times the amount charged a resident for the same license. Mich. Comp.

Laws Ann. § 324.47330 (West 2001). For commercial eel fishing licenses

New Jersey charges nonresidents the greater of the New Jersey fee or the

amount that the nonresident would pay in their state of residence. N.J.

Stat. Ann. § 23:3-72 (West 2001). In Oregon, a resident commercial fishing

license costs $50 and a nonresident commercial fishing license costs $100.

Or. Rev. Stat. § 508.285(d), (e) (2001). South Carolina charges

nonresidents five times the amount it charges residents for a variety of

commercial equipment licenses. S.C. Code Ann. § 50-5-325 (Law Co-op

2001). Texas charges nonresidents $100 for a general commercial

fisherman’s license as compared to $15 for residents and $125 as

compared to $65 for a commercial finfish fisherman’s license. Tex. Parks

and Wild. Code Ann. § 47.002-03 (Vernon 2001).

*° 919 P.2d at 1342-43.

26a

resident and nonresident commercial fishers is substantially in

excess of the allowable fee differential indicated by the formula,

such that the actual fees do not bear a reasonable relationship to

costs not otherwise paid by nonresidents.” We leave to the

superior court on remand to determine whether proportionality

exists in any particular instance and whether a refund is due.

These determinations are subject to review using an abuse of

discretion standard.”’

% See Lunding v. New York Tax Appeals Tribunal, 522 U.S. 287, 297

(1998) (“[A]s a practical matter, the Privileges and Immunities Clause

affords no assurance of precise equality in taxation between residents and

nonresidents of a particular State. Some differences may be inherent in

any taxing scheme, given that, ‘[l]ike many other constitutional

provisions, the privileges and immunities clause is not an absolute,’ and

that ‘[a]bsolute equality is impracticable in taxation.’ Because state

legislatures must draw some distinctions in light of ‘local needs,’ they

have considerable discretion in formulating tax policy. Thus, ‘where the

question is whether a state taxing law contravenes rights secured by [the

federal Constitution], the decision must depend not upon any mere

question of form, construction, or definition, but upon the practical

operation and effect of the tax imposed.”” (citations omitted)); Maxwell v.

Bugbee, 250 U.S. 525, 543 (1919) (“{I]}nequalities that result not from

hostile discrimination, but occasionally and incidentally in the application

of a system that is not arbitrary in its classification, are not sufficient to

defeat the law.”); see also Shaffer v. Carter, 252 US. 37, 55 (1920)

(“[W]here the question is whether a state taxing law contravenes rights

secured by that instrument, the decision must depend not upon any mere

question of form, construction, or definition, but upon the practical

operation and effect of the tax imposed.”); Travelers’ Ins. Co. v.

Connecticut, 185 U.S. 364, 371 (1902) ( “It is enough that the state has

secured a reasonably[ ] fair distribution of burdens, and that no

intentional discrimination has been made against nonresidents.”).

” See Breck v. Moore, 910 P.2d 599, 606 (Alaska 1996) (“This court

reviews an award of damages for an abuse of discretion and

independently reviews the law applied by the trial court.”).

27a

1. Components of the Sisheries budget

The findings of fact and conclusions of law by the superior

court describe the fisheries budget as being comprised of the

State’s “direct operating expenditures” and the State’s “indirect

operating expenditures.” The State in its pre-trial brief contended

that the fisheries budget consists of six components: “(1) direct

operating expenditures; (2) indirect operating expenditures; (3)

general government expenditures; (4) capital costs; (5) hatchery

loan fund subsidy; and (6) foregone revenues from fishery

resources.” Judge Michalski only accepted the first two of these

items.

The concept of a fisheries budget goes well beyond what any

particular agency requests from the State. It is necessary, then,

to determine what the State spends from its general funds on its

commercial fisheries. The record must support the belief that a

rational relationship exists between the fee differential and the

average cost of fisheries management to the resident.®

In determining the fisheries budget, Judge Michalski found that

the figures the State provided for direct Operating expenditures

were justifiable and should be included in the final calculations.

This figure totaled $126,099,100 for fiscal year 1996. Judge

Michalski also held that indirect operating expenditures could be

included in the fisheries budget as “based upon the federal

formula for identifying indirect operating expenses[.]” The class

does not challenge these indirect costs, which totaled $1,189,900

% See T, angier Sound Waterman’s Ass’n v. Pruitt, 4 F.3d 264, 267 (4th Cir.

1993) (“[T]he record does not disclose that the Commonwealth of Virginia

has shown that it created any credible method of allocating costs as

between residents and nonresidents which places the burden equally or

approximately equally upon residents and nonresidents.”).

28a

in fiscal year 1996.” Judge Michalski rejected the State’s

proposed inclusion of general government expenditures, capital

costs, the hatchery loan fund, and forgone revenue from fisheries

resources in the fisheries budget. The State challenges each of

these exclusions.

The class challenged the list of fisheries expenditures provided

by the State for direct operating expenditures as overly broad.

The State sought to include in direct operating expenditures all

those expenditures which go directly to support the commercial

fishing industry as a whole. The Carlson cases hold that

nonresidents can be made to pay for their share of the costs of

fisheries management.'” There is no precedent for determining if

direct costs, indirect costs, general government expenditures,

capital costs, the hatchery loan fund, and forgone revenue from

fisheries resources in the fisheries budget are properly to be

included in the expenses for fisheries management. Because this

issue tums upon the legality of including different types of

expenses in the budget for fisheries management, we decide the

issue as a question of law.'°' Once the parameters of these

budget components are established, the issue of calculating the

exact amount of each component is a question of fact which is

reviewed for clear error.

® The class at trial did raise some objections to the way in which the State

calculated indirect expenditures, mostly having to do with a blurring of

the line between direct and indirect expenditures. On its cross-appeal, the

class seems satisfied with the stipulated indirect expenditures in the

findings of fact. However, if the amount of direct fisheries expenditures is

adjusted, the indirect expenditures will have to be adjusted accordingly.

10 Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1278; Carlson II, 919 P.2d at 1342-43.

101 See Moody v. Delta Western, Inc., 38 P.3d 1139, 1140 (Alaska 2002)

(holding that in question of law that is coming to court as case of first

impression, de novo standard of review is applied).

29a

a. Judge Michalski was not clearly erroneous

in adopting the State’s budget figures for

direct and indirect costs.

Judge Michalski held that both direct and indirect operating

expenditures should be included in the fisheries budget. We

agree with this conclusion. In Carlson I, we stated that the State

may “equalize the economic burden of fisheries management” by

recovering from nonresidents the forgone revenues that residents

pay for this expense.'°’ The direct operating expenditures of

fisheries management are implicitly included in this holding. The

indirect operating expenditures are also contemplated by this

holding because without the direct Operating expenditures the

- indirect operating expenditures would not have been

generated.'™

The class does not challenge the general validity of either direct

or indirect operating expenditures, Rather, it challenges the

State’s methodology for determining these figures by arguing that

some of the amounts claimed by the State as direct operating

expenses are not in fact directly associated with the costs of

fisheries management.'“ However, following arguments by the

'? Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1278.

° See State v. Northwestern Constr., Inc., 741 P.2d 235, 240 (Alaska 1987)

(allowing inclusion of overhead costs in breach of contract suit against

State).

'** As the class notes, the State in Carlson J identified four sources as the

“aggregate cost of fisheries management’-the annual operating budget

of the Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission, 40.6% of the annual

operating budget of the Department of Public Safety, the annual operating

budget of the Division of Commercial Fisheries of the Department of Fish

and Game, and the annual operating budget of the Fisheries Rehabilitation

Enhancement and Development Division of the Department of Fish and

Game. 798 P.2d at 1272. In Carlson IT, the State similarly provided a chart

in defense of its proposed pro rata formula listing “Expenditures By Four

Agencies For Commercial Fishery Management.” 919 P.2d at 1346. This

2 ale ae een

30a

parties on the appropriateness of the inclusion of different sub-

components within the direct operating expenditures, Judge

Michalski found that “the State’s methodologies for valuing

[direct and indirect operating expenditures] are appropriate.”

The class presents no persuasive argument on cross-appeal that

this determination by the superior court is clearly erroneous.

Judge Michalski agreed with the testimony by the State’s expert

witness that the disputed costs were directly related to the costs

of fisheries management.'® The testimony was sufficient to show

that Judge Michalski was not clearly erroneous in his findings.

Therefore, we affirm the findings of the superior court with regard

to the methodology for determining direct and indirect operating

expenditures and the corresponding calculations.

chart goes from 1982 to 1989 and ranges from $29.0 million to $34.8 million;

the amount in 1989 was $29.9 million. /d. The State presently seeks to

include in the direct operating costs expenses beyond those limited to the

four agencies it previously advanced. However, in the previous iterations

of this case, the State did not have the benefit of knowing the formula by

which the allowable fee differential is to be calculated. Therefore, the

State was justified in offering a different definition of the fisheries budget

than the one under which it previously operated since this earlier

definition had effectively been rendered moot. Judge Michalski was

consequently not in error to hear arguments on this matter.

'° For example, the second largest single expense for the direct operating

costs is that of the “shared fish taxes.” The class argues that these funds

should not be counted as revenues because they are provided to local

municipalities to defray fisheries-related impacts. The State responds that

the revenue from the taxes goes to the general fund and is only then

appropriated to municipalities. Judge Michalski did not rule explicitly on

this issue. We hold that there is no difference between the shared fish

taxes and other components of the fisheries budget. Judge Michalski

accepted in whole the State’s determination of the direct operating

expenditures, which included the shared fish taxes. While testimony was

offered that the taxes are essentially just a bookkeeping maneuver, it was

not clearly erroneous for Judge Michalski to find them otherwise.

3la

b. General governmental expenditures

cannot be included in the fisheries budget.

The State argues that it should be able to include “general

governmental expenditures,” such as “corrections, health care,

and education,” in determining the fisheries budget because if

these services were not provided “the commercial fishing industry

would either be inefficient or could not exist.” The State further

argues that these figures are tied to population and economic

growth in the sense that an increase in commercial fishing leads to

an increase in population, which results in a Corresponding growth

in state expenditures on basic services, !

Toomer v. Witsell, a United States Supreme Court case on

which the prior Carlson decisions rely, stated hypothetically that

a fee differential allowing the State to recover conservation

expenditures from taxes which only residents pay would be

permissible.'*’ Carlson I and Carlson II discussed allowing a

fee differential to “equalize the economic burden of fisheries

management.”"”* Neither conservation expenditures nor fisheries

Management is as expansive as the general governmental

expenditures that the State contends should be included in the

fisheries budget. Judge Michalski noted that “the laws that relate

to a particular case or the laws of the state are not necessarily the

Same as the economic laws and the rules that apply to things.”

While in economic terms the State may bear much of the cost of

goverment generated by the fishing industry, this does not

' The State and the class disagree as to the admissibility of expert

testimony on the issue of the inclusion or exclusion of general

governmental expenditures in the total fisheries expenditures; this,

however, is a question of law and thus does not turn on expert testimony.

We therefore need not address their dispute.

'°7 334 US. 385, 399 (1948).

'8 Carlson I, 798 P.2d at 1278; see also Carlson IT, 919 P.2d at 1342.

MEER, WCE 5 ow eee

32a

translate into a legal justification for including these costs in the

fisheries expenditures.

There is clear precedent against including the general costs of

government in any fee differential for nonresidents as part of a

compensatory tax scheme. Citing Oregon Waste Systems,

Fulton noted “the danger of treating general revenue measures as

relevant intrastate burdens for purposes of the compensatory tax

doctrine." And Camps Newfound described Chemical

Waste as holding that “special fees assessed on nonresidents

directly by the State when they attempt to use local services

impose an impermissible burden on interstate commerce.”"'® The

Supreme Court, rejecting the State’s claim that its surcharge on

out-of-state garbage was compensatory in nature, stated in

Oregon Waste Systems that permitting discriminatory taxes on

interstate commerce to compensate for charges purportedly

included in general forms of intrastate taxation “would allow a

state to tax interstate commerce more heavily than in-state

commerce anytime the entities involved in interstate commerce

happened to use facilities supported by general state tax funds.”

We decline respondents’ invitation to open such an expansive

loophole in our carefully confined compensatory tax

jurisprudence.”""'

Nonresident commercial fishers may be expected to reimburse

the State for a share of the costs of fisheries management. But to

include general governmental costs in the manner in which the

1 Fulton Corp. v. Faulkner, 516 US. 325, 335 (1996).

'!° Camps Newfound/Owatonna, Inc. v. Town of Harrison, Maine, 520

U.S. 564, 578 (1997) (citing Chemical Waste Mgmt., Inc. v. Hunt, 504 U.S.

334, 342 (1992)).

''! Oregon Waste Sys., Inc. v. Dep’t of Envtl. Quality, 511 U.S. 93, 105 n.8

(quoting Gov’t Suppliers Consolidating Servs., Inc. v. Bayh, 975 F.2d

1267, 1284 (7th Cir. 1992)).

-

33a

State suggests would expand the scope of the fisheries budget

beyond the bounds of constitutionality.

c. Capital costs directly supporting the

commercial fishing industry can be

included in the fisheries budget.

The State claims that both those capital expenditures that

directly support the commercial fishing industry and general

Capital expenditures driven by population growth should be

included in the fisheries budget. Judge Michalski rejected the

inclusion of all capital costs in the fisheries budget, and the State

has appealed.

The generai capital expenditures are rejected for the reasons

given in the previous section. As for the capital expenditures

directly related to the commercial fishing industry, such as for

boat harbors and salmon hatcheries, those costs should be

included in the fisheries budget to the extent that they are not

already included in the direct operating expenditures. These

direct capital expenditures are a Clearly identifiable result of the

costs of fisheries management and as such justify the contribution

of nonresidents to their payment thereof. Because the superior

court rejected outright the inclusion of all capital costs, no

differentiation was made between general capital costs and those

directly supporting the commercial fishing industry. Such a

determination will be necessary upon remand. If these costs are

already included in the direct operating expenditures, the State

will not be allowed to count them twice.

d. The hatchery loan fund subsidy should be

included in the fisheries expenditures.

The State operates a revolving loan fund to support

investments in developing and Operating fish hatcheries and other

fish enhancement projects. The legislature created the F ishing

Enhancement Revolving Loan Fund in 1977 to provide loans with

=. 2. a rer

34a

favorable interest rates and repayment terms to private fishing

corporations. By subtracting the present value of the future loan

returns from the amount presently loaned, the State’s expert was

able to calculate what he considered a subsidy for the hatchery

loan fund. However, testimony also was given that the funds

collected in loan repayments do not go into the general fund but

rather are used for new loans. Judge Michalski held that the

supposed deficit incurred by the hatcheries loan fund was not a

budgetary item “within the meaning of Carlson II” and thus could

not be included in the fisheries expenditures for the purpose of

determining nonresident contributions.

The State contends that the loan subsidy represents forgone

revenues that the State could otherwise spend at present value.

We agree. The hatcheries loan fund certainly benefits the

commercial fishing industry. As such, it can be included in the

costs of maintaining commercial fisheries. The State’s expert at

trial calculated the cost to the State attributed to the hatcheries

loan fund to be approximately $2.3 million for 1996. Because

there appears to be some confiision as to whether the State is

presently transferring any funds to the hatcheries loan fund and

because thé superior court did not make a ruling on what this

amount would be, we remand on this issue for a determination of

the yearly amount expended by the State to support this program.

As with the capital costs, the expenditure for the hatcheries loan

fund must not already have been included in the direct operating

expenditures.

e. Forgone revenues from commercial fishery

resources cannot be included in_ the

fisheries expenditures.

The State argues that because Alaska has the authority to

manage its fish resources and could manage them in a way that is

more profitable than the current method of fish management, it

incurs an opportunity cost that should be included in the fisheries

35a

expenditures. The State cites a District of Columbia Circuit case

in which the court remanded for consideration of whether a City

could include “the value [the City] could have obtained in the best

alternative use” in its calculation of the fair market value of the

airfield land for the Purpose of calculating user airplane landing

fees.''? That same court also held that opportunity costs can be

used in setting utility rates.''? Both of these property or energy

rate value assessments, however, are fundamentally different from

the State making a policy decision to allocate and utilize its

resources in a particular way. The State has consciously chosen

the manner in which it manages its fish, and has therefore decided

to forgo any revenues that could be obtained from alternate forms

of management. The State cannot recoup from nonresidents the

possible revenue it forgoes in making policy decisions regarding

its fisheries management. We therefore affirm the holding of

Judge Michalski to exclude forgone revenues from the cost of

commercial fisheries management. :

2. What can be included in oil revenues?

The class argues that the trial court erred by including interest

income deposited into state Savings accounts as a part of oil

revenues. The class contends that because nonresidents do not

benefit from deposits into the permanent fund and the

constitutional budget reserve, those amounts should not be

included in the calculation of oil revenues. However, because the

class proposes including deposits into the permanent fund and the

constitutional budget reserve in the figure for the total state

budget, by which the oil revenues would be divided, its

recommended calculation of the percentage of the state budget

derived from oil revenues is clearly unworkable. One cannot

112

City of Los Angeles Dep't of Airports v. United States Dep't of Transp.,

103 F.3d 1027, 1034 (D.C. Cir. 1997).

' See Pa. Elec. Co. v. FER C., 11 F.3d 207, 209-10 (D.C. Ci: 1993).

8 RRR. SRS iS ea a apes amapmara

36a

exclude deposits into state savings accounts from the numerator

of the formula determining the percentage of the state budget that

is derived from oil revenues but include such deposits in the

denominator, as this would inappropriately and dramatically

reduce the percentage of the state budget derived from oil

revenues.''* Apples must be divided by apples, not oranges.

The class alternately proposes that investment earnings be

removed from both the oil revenues and the total state budget

expenditures by which the oil revenues are divided to determine

the percentage of the budget funded by oil revenues. The class

supports its position by noting that we have previously relied

upon budget figures that included a variety of petroleum taxes,

royalties, and rents, but not any interest income, in determining

petroleum-related income.''* Furthermore, the State, in its bi-

yeatly REVENUE SOURCE BOOK, uses this methodology in

determining the percentage of unrestricted petroleum revenue as

compared to unrestricted general funds.''®

The State counters by arguing that because the source of the

funds that generates the interest income is ultimately petroleum-

derived, it should be included in the oil revenues component. It

should not matter, the State contends, how these funds are spent,

only how they are derived, even if the expenditure of the funds is

of no benefit to nonresidents. The State proceeds to demonstrate

how the 74% figure was calculated by including the petroleum-

derived revenues deposited in state savings accounts in both the

''* The class approach yields a figure of 29.7%, far less than the 74%

adopted by Judge Michalski.

"'S Trustees for Alaska v. State, Dep’t of Natural Res., 795 P.2d 805, 810

(Alaska 1990).

''® This calculation yie?ds the 86% figure previously relied upon by this

court in Trustees for Alaska. 795 P.2d at 810.

37a

numerator and denominator of the percentage of the state budget

derived from oil revenues.

Judge Michalski accepted the State’s methodology fer

calculating the percentage of the state budget derived from oil

revenues, resulting in a figure of 74%. This calculation includes

the interest income and permanent fund expenditures in both the

numerator and the denominator. As with the basic formula for

maximum allowable fee differential, there is no single correct

method by which to calculate the percentage of the state budget

derived from oil revenues. The key inquiry is that the

methodology adopted bear a reasonable relationship to the figure

to be calculated. The decision of the Superior court to adopt the ©

State’s method of calculation is therefore reviewed for an abuse

of discretion.''’ Because the State’s methodology provides a

reasonable means for calculating the percentage of the state

budget derived from oil revenues, we find there to be no abuse of

discretion and accordingly affirm the superior court.

'"” See Seattle Master Builders Ass'n v. Pacific Northwest Elec. Power &

Conservation Planning Council, 786 F.2d 1359, 1370 (9th Cir. 1986) (“The

choice of methodology is a highly technical question which falls within

the unique expertise of the Council. Unless an abuse of discretion is

demonstrated, this court will not substitute its judgment on particular

testing methodology.”); United States Steel Group-A Unit of USX Corp.

v. United States, 873 F. Supp. 673, 700 (Ct. Int’l Trade 1994) (holding that

choice of methodology by trade commission was subject to review by

abuse of discretion standard); see also Dansereau v. Ulmer, 955 P.2d 916,

919 (Alaska 1998) (holding that superior court did not abuse its discretion

in adopting particular methodology to calculate number of hours litigants’

attorneys worked for purpose of determining award of attorney’s fees);

Gallant v. Gallant, 882 P.2d 1252, 1257 (Alaska 1994) (reviewing for abuse

of discretion allocation of child support in novel case involving

nonparental custody).

38a

C. The State Has Previously Conceded that the Class

Met the Protest Requirement.

The class filed suit on June 22, 1984, questioning the “legality

of the State of Alaska’s discriminatory fees for nonresident

commercial fishing permits and licenses.” The class on behalf of

which the suit was filed was defined as “all persons who

participated in one or more Alaska commercial fisheries at any

time who paid nonresident assessments to [the] State for

commercial or gear licenses or permits.’ On December 10,

1984, the State entered its nonopposition to certification of the

case as a class action, though it did reserve the nght to request

that the class be divided into subclasses. On December 13,

1984, Superior Court Judge Milton M. Souter entered an order

certifying the class. A later motion to decertify the class was

denied by Judge Michalski on July 17, 1998. Judge Michalski

held that the elements of numerosity, commonality, typicality, and

adequacy of representation existed to justify continued

certification of the class.

Alaska Statute 43.10.210(a) requires that in order for a refund

to be given on an illegal tax, the tax must have been paid under

protest. We held in Carlson J that a license was a tax within the

meaning of the refund statute and that therefore the protest

requirement applied to the class.''* In Principal Mutual Life

Insurance Co. v. State, Division of Insurance, we held that

“(t]he protest requirement called for by AS 43.15.010(a)'"”

serves... as proof that the payment of the tax in question was

involuntarily made and it provides notice to the taxing authority

that the tax is claimed to be illegal as well as the basis of the

8 798 P.2d at 1280.

''? The statute has subsequently been renumbered as AS 43.10.210(a).

39a

taxpayer’s assertion.”'”” A requirement of protest provides the

State with notice of more than mere Opposition to the tax-it

provides the state with notice that it may soon be facing a lawsuit

to recover the allegedly illegal amount. Once on notice, the state

can budget accordingly to prepare for the possibility of losing at

trial and being forced to refund the disputed amount.!2!

Judge Michalski held that the purpose of the notice

requirement was met by the certification of the Class action suit.

The certification of a lawsuit over allegedly illegal taxes puts the

State on notice that the taxes are being protested and that future

tax recovery may be subject to being refunded. The State,

however, argues that notice of named plaintiffs does not translate

into notice of the entire class of plaintiffs and that at the very least

the class should not be entitled to retrospective relief !22 Judge

Michalski held that the expansive definition of the class as

containing all fee-paying commercial fishers gave the state

sufficient notice of the potential scope of the recovery. Judge

Michalski further held that the certification of a class action suit

obviated the need for individual protest by each class member,

'° 780 P.2d 1023, 1030 (Alaska 1989).

"" Id. at 1030-31 (“The burden of requiring a taxpayer to file a protest at

the time of payment of the tax is at most minimal. On the other hand the

requirement of a protest serves the important function of providing state

government with notice of the claimed tax illegality, the grounds

advanced in support of the claimed illegality, and affords the state the

opportunity to fashion budget appropriations, or expenditures, taking into

account the magnitude of the claimed tax illegality. We think these are

significant considerations which warrant the retention of the requirement

of a protest.”).

‘ The State asserts that an early superior court argument created an

estoppel argument against retroactive fees. The protest issue of this

superior court opinion, however, was remanded for further inquiry in

Carlson I, albeit without specifically addressing the estoppel argument

alluded to by the superior court. 798 P.2d at 1280.

40a

reasoning that “[rjequiring individual protest. for each class

member would do nothing to further inform the state. Instead, it

would be merely an exercise in formality and technicality.”

The State has long since conceded that, as to fees paid after

June 22, 1984, the protest requirement was met by the filing of

the class action suit and that sufficient notice had been given “for

purposes of AS 43.10.210(a).” In its reply brief in the superior

court, dated September 2, 1992, the State asserted:

Plaintiffs are wrong when they assert that the State has

conceded the right to a refund of any unconstitutional fees paid

after the date plaintiffs filed their lawsuit. While this point is

irrelevant to the issue immediately before the court, the State

concedes only that the lawsuit serves as an adequate notice of

protest for purposes of AS 43.10.210(a). In other words, all

fees paid after June 22, 1984, by nonresident commercial

fishers who ultimately elect to join the class, in excess of fees

paid by similarly situated resident commercial fishers, are

deemed to have been paid under protest. The protest

requirement of AS 43.10.210(a), however, is merely one

precondition to the “[rjecovery of overpayments and

protested payments.” [citing an earlier memorandum] The

State does not concede that plaintiffs have satisfied any other

procedural or substantive requirements that may apply. '”°

consistent with the State’s earlier admissions that it was provided

with sufficient notice. In an opposition to plaintiff's motion for a

'3 This statement was given in a reply brief opposing waiver of the

protest issue. The State made a similar statement on March 1, 1991 in a

memorandum in support of a motion for summary judgment: “The state

does not dispute here that the differential paid by nonresidents to engage

in commercial fishing since the date that this class action was filed,

June 22, 1984, have been paid under protest.”

4la

preliminary injunction, dated February 19, 1991, the State

asserted that

[w]ith regard to any nonresident differentials which have been

received by the state since this class action was filed, the state

views the lawsuit itself as a protest giving the state the

contemplated notice. Thus, for any differentials received

between now and the conclusion of this case, should any

portion of those be determined to be invalid, plaintiffs can avail

themselves of the statutory refund remedy identified by the

Supreme Court to obtain damages.

The State presently contends that prior to Judge Michalski’s

ruling in 1998 it had no reason to believe that it would be

required to pay a refund and thus should not be required to pay a

refund retrospectively all the way back to 1984. However, the

purpose of the protest requirement, as stated above, is to give the

State notice that it may eventually be required to pay a refund.!24

The fact that the litigation may take a long time to resolve and that

the refund may thus grow increasingly large does not absolve the

State of its eventual responsibility to pay. Thus, the only relevant

question is whether the filing of a class action gives the State

Sufficient notice that every member of the class may be due a

refund.'** We agree with Judge Michalski that it does.

'* See Principal Mutual Life Ins., 780 P.2d at 1030-31.

"°° The class argues that federal due process prevents the denial of

retroactive tax recovery under McKesson Corp. v. Division of Alcoholic

Beverages & Tobacco, 4% US. 18, 39 (1990) (“To Satisfy the

requirements of the Due Process Clause, therefore, in this refund action

the State must provide taxpayers with, not only a fair Opportunity to

challenge the accuracy and legal validity of their tax obligation, but also a

‘clear and certain remedy,’ for any ¢rroncous or unlawful tax collection to

ensure that the opportunity to contest the tax is a meaningful one.”)

(citations omitted). In McKesson, the United States Supreme Court

ordered that a refund be given for an illegal tax even though Florida

RAT IE MRT Reema amma

42a

The State cites Era Aviation in support of its claim that a

separate protest must be attached to each separate complaint.'°

Era Aviation involved a suit by several air carriers to protest

increased landing fees at rural airports.'’ After the original set of

plaintiffs were granted summary judgment, a different set of air

carriers tried to join the suit and recover fees retroactively.'”*

We held that the second set of air carriers did not satisfy the

necessary protest requirement at the time of the payment of the

fees, even though they had stated their opposition to the landing

fees on numerous occasions and even though the suit by the

original set of air carriers put the state on notice that the fees

might be illegal.'”? As the State is careful to point out, however,

in Era Aviation we expressly declined to answer the question

whether a class action suit would satisfy the protest

claimed this would cause the state serious economic injury. 496 U.S. at 51

n.35 (“We reject respondents’ intimation that the cost of any refund

considered by the State might justify a decision to withhold it. Just as a

State may not object to an otherwise available remedy providing for the

return of real property unlawfully taken or criminal fines unlawfully

imposed simply because-.it finds the property or moneys useful, so also

Florida cannot object to a refund here just because it has other ideas

about how to spend the funds.”). The class errs, however, when it

invokes Harper v. Virginia Department of Taxation, 509 US. 86, 97 (1993)

(holding that federal remedy for unlawful tax applies not only to case at

issue but also to parties in all other open cases). In the present case, the

class either exists as a whole or it does not exist at all for the purposes of

the protest requirement. There are thus no other open cases to which a

due process concern could apply.

26 Era Aviation, Inc. v. Campbell, 915 P.2d 606, 609 (Alaska 1996)

(“[U]nder common law as well as under statute, a protest at the time of

payment is a prerequisite for an action to recover taxes.”).

'27 Td. at 607. The original plaintiffs did not form a class.

'28 Id. at 607-08.

'29 Id. at 612.

43a

requirement.'"” Era Aviation is thus not dispositive of the

present situation.

In a further attempt to prove that the protest requirement

would not be satisfied by a class action, the State cites a series of

cases where class status has been denied for failure to satisfy the

proper administrative procedures for protest.'*' These cases,

however, are not applicable to the present case, where the class

has already been certified. The present class satisfied the

necessary procedural hurdles, and the State did not object to the

certification of the class. Furthermore, the State, because it was

the entity issuing the commercial fishing licenses and permits, had

ample opportunity to keep records of those to whom these

licenses and permits were being issued. It is therefore

disingenuous for the State to claim that it was somehow caught

unaware as to the ultimate size of the class or the potential

recovery. For this reason, we affirm the holding of Judge

Michalski that the protest and notice requirement was satisfied.

As to the date from which the fees can be measured, Judge

Michalski selected December 13, 1984, which was the day the

class was certified." The class does not challenge the date of

' Td. at 612-13 (noting that state’s ability to determine accurately its

potential liability for fee refunds “would be undermined if a single lawsuit

(which was not even a class action) were deemed sufficient notice to make

all payers under the regulation eligible for refunds”).

'3!' Aronson v. City of Pittsburgh, 98 Pa. Cmwith. 1, 510 A.2d 871, 873

(1986); Aronson v. Commonwealth, 401 Mass. 244, 516 N.E.2d 137, 144

(1987).

'? The class action suit was filed on June 22, 1984. In Carlson II, we held

that “the record indicates that the State agrees that those fees which were

paid after June 22, 1984, were paid under protest sufficient to permit a

refund under AS 43.10.210.” 919 P.2d at 1344. As noted above, the State

several times also stated that the protest requirement was met as of

June 22, 1984. These prior statements, however, do not require us to

44a

certification as the date from which fees can be measured. We

therefore affirm December 13, 1984 as the date from which fees

can be measured.

1. Named class members can sue for tax relief on

behalf of unnamed class members.

Even if a class action suit constitutes notice, there is a separate

question as to whether the named class members can sue on

behalf of the unnamed class members without the unnamed class

members themselves protesting the increased nonresident fees.

Judge Michalski held that the class was to be treated as a unified

legal entity and that therefore absent and non-protesting (i.e.,

unn

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Carlson, Individually and on Behalf of All Others Similarly Situated v. Alaska Commercial Fisheries Entry Commission · 540 U.S. 963 | Frix