Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wenzel v. California

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

02 843 DE 4 2002

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

George Wenzel,

Petitioner

¥.

State of California,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL

(Fourth Appellate District, Div. One)

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Charles M. Sevilla

Cleary & Sevilla

1010 Second Ave., Ste. 1825

San Diego, CA 92101-49026

Telephone: (619) 232-2222

Attorneys for George Wenzel

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. DOES THE CALIFORNIA BURDEN OF PROOF

INSTRUCTION, DEFINING REASONABLE DOUBT AS A

FEELING OF “AN ABIDING CONVICTION IN THE

TRUTH OF THE CHARGE” BASED UPON

“SATISFACTORILY SHOWN” EVIDENCE, AUTHORIZE

CONVICTIONS ON INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE AND THUS

DENY DUE PROCESS OF LAW AND THE RIGHT TO

JURY TRIAL?

II. IS PETITIONER ENTITLED TO RELIEF WHEN HE

SPECIFICALLY OBJECTED i110 IE

UNCONSTITUTIONAL INSTRUCTIONS AND OFFERED

AN INSTRUCTION WITH A CORRECT PROBABILITY

STANDARD EXCERPTED FROM THIS COURT'S

PRECEDENT?

TABLE OF CONTENTS |

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...............eecee eee iv |

OPINION BELOW (Rule 14.1.(d)) ......2eeeeeeeeeeees :

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT (Rule 14.1.(e)) ....... 1 |

CONSTITUTIONAL & STATUTORY PROVISIONS |

Rat MLD occ eee l |

STATUTES. 5 is ccsicargusth eee :

|

STATEMENT OF THE CASE (Rule 14.1.(g)) ........00- 2 |

FEDERAL QUESTION RAISED Rule 14(g)(i) ........-. 5 |

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI .........-. 6 :

1. THE FUNDAMENTAL CONCEPT DETERMINATIVE OF

GUILT OR INNOCENCE -- THE STATE’S BURDEN OF |

PROOF -— IS NOT CONVEYED IN- CALIFORNIA’S |

REASONABLE DOUBT INSTRUCTIONS. ............ 8 |

A. The Definition is Unconstitutional ........... 10

B. Victor Does not Support the State’s Version of

RGMIOND TINGE 5 bs i eae ee 14

C. This Court’s Precedent Rejects Such a Minimalist

Definition of Reasonable Doubt ............ 21

D. No State Has Reduced Reasonable Doubt to a Feeling

of an “Abiding Conviction” in the Truth of the Charge

as “Satisfactorily” Shown ...............05. o4

li

2. PETITIONER IS ENTITLED TO REVERSAL BECAUSE

HE OBJECTED TO THE UNCONSTITUTIONAL

INSTRUCTION AND OFFERED AN INSTRUCTION WITH

A PROBABILITY STANDARD EXCERPTED FROM THIS

cae eersesesecsenses 25

A. The Issue Was Preserved ..............-6-- 25

B. Examination of the Whole Record ........... 26

C. There Was A Reasonable Likelihood That

the Jury Understood the Instruction to

Allow a Conviction on Proof Insufficient to Meet

the Requirements of Due Process ..........-. 28

cab phe eb ak eessssee a adevesaens re

APPENDICES

A: June 7, 2002 Opinion of the California Court of Appeal

B. Sept 11, 2002 Order of the California Supreme Court

Denying Review

C. Chart: Survey of 50 State’s reasonable doubt definitions.

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979) ............. 18

Cage v. Louisiana, 498 U.S. 39 (1990) ......... 6, 7, 16, 23

Colorado v. New Mexico, 467 U.S. 310 (1984) ... 17, 18, 19

Dunbar v. United States, 156 U.S. 185 (1885) .......... 21

Estelle v. McGuire, 502 U.S. 62(1991) ................ 6

Holland v. United States, 348 U.S. 121 (1954) ....... 12,22

Hopt v. Utah, 120 U.S. 430 (1886) ............... passim

Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979) ......... 7, 10, 23

Lisenbee v. Henry, 166 F.3d 997 (9th Cir. 1999) ..... 17, 18

Mathews v. United States, 485 U.S. 58 (1988) .......... 26

Miles v. United States, 103 U.S. 304................ 9, 22

Ramirez v. Hatcher, 136 F.3d 1209 (9th Cir. 1998) ...... 17

Sullivan v. Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275 (1993) .... 10, 14, 28, 29

Taylor v. Kentucky, 436 U.S. 478 (1978) .............. 26

U.S. v. Walton (4th Cir. 2000) 207 F.3d 694............ 25

United States v. Nolasco, 926 F.2d 869

Coe Sa NE UE Svc ccc chev cren}teestens 1]

Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1 (1994)............. passim

Wilson v. United States, 232 U.S 563 (1914)........... 21

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358 (1970) ..... ae eer passim

STATE CASES

Patzwald v. United States, 7 Okla. 232, 54 P. 458 (1898)... 9

People v. Brigham, 25 Cal. 3d 283, 599 P.2d 100 (1979) .. 20

People v. Engelman, 28 Cal. 4th 436, 49 P.3d 209 (2002) . 28

iV

People v. Freeman, 8 Cal. 4th 450, 882 P.2d 249 (1994) 8, 13

New Mexico v. House, 127 N.M. 151 (1999) ........--- 8

Williams v. State, 73 Miss. 820 (1896) .......----++++5> a

FEDERAL STATUTES

WB USL. LISD 5 a vod cade de tecesevcdveteteneserns l

CALIFORNIA STATUTES

Calif. Penal Code § 1096 ........ 2. e cece reece eens 1, 26

Calif. Penal Code § 1096a ........-. ce eee eee ee ees yy

MISCELLANEOUS

Diamond, Note, "Reasonable Doubt: To Define, or Not to

Define," 90 Colum. L. Rev. 1716 (1990) .......-. 23

Note, "Reasonable Doubt: An Argument Against Definition,"

108 Harv. L. Rev. 1955, 1964-1967 (1995) ........ 23

Scheck, Neufeld, and Dwyer, Actual Innocence

(Signet 2001) .... 0... cee eee ee eee eee ee eens 10-11

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner George Wenzel respectfully requests a writ

of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the California

Court of Appeals entered on June 7, 2002 (Appendix A), with

review denied in the California Supreme Court on September

11,2002. Appendix B.

OPINION BELOW (Rule 14.1.(d))

The opinion of the California Court of Appeal of June

7, 2002, by the Fourth Appellate District, Division One, which

affirmed petitioner's conviction for second degree murder of

his wife, is not published in the official reporter. Appendix A,

No. DO37914. A petition for review to the California

Supreme Court was denied on September 11, 2002. Appendix

B, No. $108214.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT (Rule 14.1.(e))

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

June 7, 2002. As noted, a petition for review in the California

Supreme Court was denied on September 11, 2002. The

jurisdiction of this court is based upon 28 U.S.C. 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL & STATUTORY PROVISIONS

(Rule 14.1.(f))

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments provide in part that no

person shall be denied liberty except by due process of law.

The Sixth Amendment guarantees the right to a jury trial.

STATUTES

Calif. Penal Code § 1096 states:

A defendant in a criminal action is presumed

l

to be innocent until the contrary is proved, and

in case of a reasonable doubt whether his or

her guilt is satisfactorily shown, he or she is

entitled to an acquittal, but the effect of this

presumption is only to place upon the state the

burden of proving him or her guilty beyond a

reasonable doubt. Reasonable doubt is defined

as follows: "It is not a mere possible doubt;

because everything relating to human affairs is

open to some possible or imaginary doubt. It is

that state of the case, which, after the entire

comparison and consideration of all the

evidence, leaves the minds of jurors in that

condition that they cannot say they feel an

abiding conviction of the truth of the charge.

West Pub. 2002; emphasis added.

Calif. Penal Code § 1096a states that “...no further instruction

on the subject of the presumption of innocence or the definition

of reasonable doubt need be given.” Ibid.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE! (Rule 14.1.(g))

Petitioner was convicted of the murder of his wife. The

State argued that he was an active participant in causing her

death based, in part, on the physical evidence, his statements,

and a suicide pact that called upon one spouse to help the other

die if health conditions deteriorated so as to become complete-

ly unbearable. Petitioner did not deny the agreement, but

argued that the evidence of any physical assistance he provided

‘In what follows, "CT" stands for the state Clerk's Record.

"RT" stands for the references to the state trial transcript.

2

to his wife was not proven beyond a reasonable doubt to be the

cause of her death. During lengthy deliberations, one juror’s

belief that there was insufficient evidence that appellant caused

his wife’s death was strongly contradicted by the trial court.

By all accounts, Lyn and George Wenzel (petitioner)

were a loving married couple ard devoted to one another. But

Lyn suffered increasingly from a variety of painful ailments

over the last twenty years of her life. Since 1981, she suffered

from chronic low back and joint pain. RT 620. In 1992, she

was diagnosed with incurable fibromyalgia, an untreatable and

painful disease. RT 607. Her doctor testified she also suffered

from irritable bowel syndrome, migraine headaches, chronic

low-back pain secondary to osteoarthritis, spinal stenosis, gall

bladder stones, mild hypertension, and arthritis in her lower,

middle, upper spine, shoulders and hips. RT 649.

Shortly before her death, she complained to her doctor

of “pins and needles in her toes and numbness in her feet ... a

relatively new symptom for her.” RT 611-612. She sawa

podiatrist complaining, as he testified, of “neuropathic or

neurological symptoms in her lower extremity.” RT 684. The

new diagnosis made her, as her son testified, “hysterical” and

crying shortly after that visit. RT 778.

As a result of her chronic pain, Lyn Wenzel was angry

and depressed about her health. RT 616, 628. She had tried

both conventional medicine and unconventional approaches to

ease her pain, all to no avail. She said to co-worker Anita

Mareschal on the afternoon of her death, she had “tissue pain

3

all over her body.” RT 473.

During the progress of her diseases, she and petitioner

talked about helping each other die if existence became

unbearable. On the day of her death and after the emotional

and depressing talk with Ms. Mareschal, she came home and

told petitioner “it was time” and asked if he were strong

enough to help her die. He said he was if he had to be.

The Jay following Lyn’s death, petitioner reported to

the police and confessed his conduct stating that “I did this

because she is the love of my life and I wanted to stop the pain

and suffering. I have no regrets because this is what she

wanted.” RT 201.

Petitioner told the police that when she saw the “foot

doctor” about the “numbness from her thighs down,” she was

told that it was “only going to get worse and she’ll end up

being a cripple.” Trial Exhibit 27, p. 29. She asked why no

one had told her this before because her legs were “paralyzed

and ... numb and all that for months and months.” Jbid. She

came home from the podiatrist crying and didn’t want to talk

about it (id. at 20-21), “broken up,” and told petitioner “‘all

the things we planned to do... I won’t be able to do.’” Id. at

30-31. After this they discussed their agreement about helping

one another die. Id. at 29-30.

On February 26, 2001, the case was given the jury. CT

442-443. The jury deliberated seven days.” The trial judge

remarked, "in all my years on the bench, I have never had a

jury out this long in anything." RT 1060. The verdict came on

the seventh day of deliberations. The deliberations were often

interrupted with juror notes and questions (CT 327-334),

including one by the foreperson indicating that one juror stated

her position during deliberations as, “I have a reservation. I

can never know because I wasn’t there. I’m not sure that she

[Lyn] wasn’t already dead.” CT 329. The trial court

responded by commenting on the evidence, over objection (RT

1046), that there was no evidence of Lyn Wenzel being dead at

the time appellant entered their bedroom. RT 1048.

On March 7, 2001, the verdict was returned. The jury

acquitted appellant of first degree murder and convicted of

second. CT 335, 336. He was sentenced to 15 years to life in

prison.

FEDERAL QUESTION RAISED (Rule 14(g)(i))

The issue presented is whether a contested reasonable

doubt definition that reduces the standard to a feeling of an

abiding conviction on evidence satisfactorily shown states the

constitutional standard. The issue was first raised in the state

* The jurors deliberated on February 26, 2001 (CT

442), February 27, 2001 (CT 444), February 28, 2001 (CT

445), March 1, 2001 (CT 446), March 5, 2001 (CT 447),

March 6, 2001 (CT 448), and returned a verdict mid-morning

of March 7, 2001. CT 449.

trial court by petitioner’s written pre-trial motion stating that

to instruct on the statutory “abiding conviction” language

deprived petitioner of his right to a due process jury trial under

Cage v. Louisiana, 498 U.S. 39, 41 (1990), disapproved on

other grounds, Estelle v. McGuire, 502 U.S. 62, 73, fn.4.

(1991)), or, and Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1, 14, 15

(1994), and other precedent of this Court. When jury

instructions were considered during the trial, petitioner again

requested the court to insert the words “evidentiary certainty”

or “near certainty” in the pattern reasonable doubt instruction

so that the jury would have a definition with requirement of a

very high probability (quantitative) standard of proof. The

motion was denied. Petitioner then unsuccessfully raised the

issue in the appellate and California Supreme Court

proceedings in briefing. See Appendix A, pp. 57-58; see

Appendix B.

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 10 and 14(h), as

amplified in the following arguments, compelling reasons

warrant review of the two questions presented. By misreading

this Court’s direction in Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1

(1994), California, by statutory amendment in 1995, reduced

the burden of proof in criminal cases well below constitutional

minimums: satisfactorily shown evidence leading to a feeling of

an abiding conviction of the truth of the charge. No state

appears to define reasonable doubt in California’s minimalist

fashion. See Appendix C, petitioner’s survey of States’

reasonable doubt definitions. Petitioner objected to the trial

court’s instruction on reasonable doubt. He proposed a jury

definition taken from this Court’s case law, by inserting into

the instruction a probability standard telling the jury that it

should have an abiding conviction to an “evidentiary certainty”

(Cage v. Louisiana, supra, at 41), or, as this Court stated in

Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1, 14, 15 (1994), and Jn re

Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970), a "subjective state of near

certitude of the guilt of the accused."

In Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307 (1979), this

Court held that a fundamental “substantive constitutional

standard must also require that the factfinder will rationally

apply that [reasonable doubt standard] to the facts.” That

cannot be done when the reasonable doubt definition

approximates a mere preponderance of evidence. _

While a reasonable doubt instruction must be given in

each case, this Court has not yet mandated a formulaic

definition also be provided so long as the words conveyed to

the jury do not understate the meaning of reasonable doubt.

(Victor, supra at 1243) Petitioner is entitled to reversal given

his objection, his proposed language taken from this Court’s

cases, and the high likelihood that the jury used the challenged

unconstitutional standard to convict him. The jury deliberated

an extraordinary amount of time demonstrating this was a close

case. Further, it was instructed during deliberations (when a

juror said she had doubts as to the State’s proof and was

reported to the court by others) that any juror who decided the

case for “improper reasons” should be reported to the court by

the other jurors. Other instructions told the jurors to determine

the facts by probabilities, so that in combination with the

defective reasonable doubt definition, the entire instructional

message told the jury that a conviction could be returned on a

mere probability.

1. THE FUNDAMENTAL CONCEPT DETERMINATIVE

OF GUILT OR INNOCENCE -- THE STATE’S BURDEN

OF PROOF - IS NOT CONVEYED IN CALIFORNIA’S

REASONABLE DOUBT INSTRUCTIONS.

California stands alone in its minimalist definition of

reasonable doubt. See Appendix C. In an overreaction to this

court’s decision in Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1,5, 127 L.

Ed. 2d 583, 114 S. Ct. 1239 (1994), the California Legislature,

acting at the suggestion of the California Supreme Court

(People v. Freeman, 8 Cal.4th 450, 504, fn. 9, 882 P.2d 249

(1994)), eliminated the probability standard from the

reasonable doubt definition (formerly “abiding conviction fo a

moral certainty’’) by striking “moral certainty” and not

replacing it with a probability (or a quantitative) standard.

That left the standard as permitting a conviction based on

evidence “satisfactorily shown” sufficient that a jury has a

feeling, instead of an evidence-based belief, of an abiding

conviction the truth of the charge. No other state has a

definition of reasonable doubt that says it is a feeling of an

abiding conviction in the truth of the charge based upon

evidence “satisfactorily shown.” The constitutional

quantitative requirement of proof beyond a reasonable doubt is

not based on a “touchy-feely” emotion, is not proof merely

“satisfactorily shown,” and it is far more than just a lasting

belief.

One need not be a linguist to understand that the

combination of phrases — a lasting feeling (i.e., a feeling of

“abiding conviction”) based on satisfactory evidence is

something shown by, at most’, a preponderance of evidence,

and hardly approaches the “evidentiary certainty,” or

“subjective state of near certitude” that this Court has explicitly

stated as the meaning of the proof required for a conviction

when established beyond a reasonable doubt.

This Court observed in 1880 in Miles v. United States,

103 U.S. 304, 312, "attempts to explain the term 'reasonable

doubt' do not usually result in making it any clearer to the

> Several older state decisions find the “abiding conviction”

definition insufficient. E.g., Williams v. State, 73 Miss. 820, 823

(1896) (“abiding conviction” alone is not an appropriate

standard); Patzwald v. United States, 7 Okla. 232, 236, 54 P.

458 (1898)(“It is certainly true that, before a jury can convict a

person charged with a crime, they must have an abiding faith of

the truth of the charge of his guilt. But what degree of faith? How

strong must that faith be, before it crosses the line which

separates the realm of doubt from that of moral certainty?”)

Times have not changed such that the phrase has taken on the

meaning necessary to convey the constitutional burden.

9

minds of the jury." Here, the attempt inflicted constitutional

harm. The California definition dilutes meaning, does not

convey a reasonable doubt standard, and thus invites

convictions based upon suspicion or mere probability. That is

what happened in petitioner’s case, as will be shown.

A. The Definition is Unconstitutional. The right to

a proper instruction on the State’s burden of proof is

"indispensable, for it 'impresses on the trier of fact the necessity

of reaching a subjective state of certitude of the facts in issue.'

[Citation omitted].” Jn re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970).

The reasonable doubt standard gives substance to the

presumption of innocence and instills confidence in the

community that the innocent will not be condemned. Jd. at

363-64. Further, a defective reasonable doubt instruction

undermines both Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment Due

Process of Law (forbidding a State to convict a person of a

crime without proving every element of the crime beyond a

reasonable doubt (Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 316

(1979)), and the Sixth Amendment jury trial right. Sullivan v.

Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275, 277 (1993)("It would not satisfy the

Sixth Amendment to have a jury determine that the defendant

is probably guilty, and then leave it up to the judge to

determine (as Winship requires) whether he is guilty beyond a

reasonable doubt.")

With the revelation of wrongful convictions in serious

criminal cases (See Scheck, Neufeld, and Dwyer, Actual

10

Innocence (Signet 2001)), the single most important bulwark

against that phenomena is the reasonable doubt standard. In

re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 363 (1970)("It is a prime

instrument for reducing the risk of convictions resting on

factual error.")

There is no better way to bring about false convictions

than to tell juries they can convict based upon mere feelings of

lasting belief in guilt resting on “satisfactorily shown” evidence.

These concepts gut the meaning of the State’s burden of proof

which is to prove its case to a very high probability, described

by this Court as “evidentiary certainty” or a subjective state in

the minds of the jurors of near certainty. The right to a proper

instruction on the burden

... beyond a reasonable doubt is "indispensable,

for it ‘impresses on the trier of fact the necessity

of reaching a subjective state of certitude of the

facts in issue."" In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358,

364, 90S. Ct. 1068, 25 L. Ed. 2d 368 (1970).

The reasonable doubt standard gives substance

to the presumption of innocence and instills

confidence in the community that the innocent

will not be condemned. Id. at 363-64. A

defendant in a criminal case therefore has a

constitutional right to have the jury instructed

that guilt must be established beyond a

reasonable doubt. [Citation]. United States v.

Nolasco, 926 F.2d 869, 871 (9th Cir. en banc

1990).

Over petitioner’s objection, his jury was told that

1]

reasonable doubt meant such a state of belief that the jury

could not say that based upon satisfactory proof it had a

feeling of “an abiding conviction of the truth of the charge.”

RT 961-962. This Court has stated that “taken as a whole, the

instructions [must] correctly convey the concept of reasonable

doubt to the jury."" Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1, 5 (1994)

(quoting Holland v. United States, 348 U.S. 121, 140 (1954))

(internal citation omitted). As will be discussed, the rest of the

instructions only reaffirmed a mere probability standard.

Petitioner’s defense counsel filed a lengthy pre-trial

brief setting forth the issue presented here (CT 153-159), and

proposing at trial a simple amendment to the pattern California

instruction to add the missing, but essential, probability

standard found in the precedent of this Court. He asked the

court “on the instruction of reasonable doubt... I’m requesting

that pursuant to the points an [sic] authorities that the court

add in the words either near certainty, evidentiary certainty, or

near certitude of the guilt of the person charged within the

second paragraph of CALJIC 2.90.” (CALJIC stands for the

Calif. Jury Instruction Committee, criminal instruction book

(West. 2002), and 2.90 embodies the instruction found in Penal

Code section 1096, quoted supra.) The trial court rejected the

request. RT 926.

The words should have been added to make

constitutional the burden of proof standard given petitioner’s

12

jury.* The trial court rejected the request because California’s

appellate courts hold there is nothing erroneous in the current

“feeling” of an “abiding conviction” reasonable doubt

instruction. The California Court of Appeal in petitioner’s case

wrote that it had to follow the California Supreme Court on the

issue:

We conclude that CALJIC No. 2.90 [the

pattern reasonable doubt instruction] properly

defines the reasonable doubt standard of proof

because it substantially adopts language

suggested by the California Supreme Court in

People v. Freeman (1994) 8 Cal.4th 450, 504,

footnote 9. Other courts have consistently

upheld this instruction against similar

constitutional attacks. [Citations omitted] We

decline to adopt a contrary position and

conclude the trial court properly instructed on

reasonable doubt with CALJIC No. 2.90. As

we stated in People v. Carroll (1996) 47

Cal.App.4th 892, 896: "We consider the

opinion in People v. Freeman, supra, 8 Cal.4th

450 to be dispositive of this issue. The

instruction comports with the Supreme Court's

determination of what is the appropriate

definition of reasonable doubt. It is for the

Supreme Court to reconsider such definition if

* The defense proposed instruction would have inserted -

the words “evidentiary certainty” or “subjective state of near

certitude” in the pattern instruction after the words “abidin

conviction.” CT 153-159. The court rejected the propose

modification, “the modified 2.90 contained in [defense

counsel’s] Mr. Phillips’ motion will not be given.” RT 926.

13

it chooses to do so. Our task is simple: we will

apply the law as the Supreme Court has stated

it." Appendix A-57.

Yet, the defect exists and the definition of reasonable

doubt now has been diluted below constitutional minimums set

by this Court. CALJIC 2.90's language of “satisfactorily

shown” evidence leading to a feeling of an “abiding conviction”

in the truth of the charge does not in any way relay this high

probability requirement to the trier of fact. To give reasonable

doubt its special meaning, California has chosen to use a

dictionary out of Alice in Wonderland.’ This is a due process

defect and warrants reversal per se under Sullivan v.

Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275 (1993).

B. Victor Does not Support the State’s Version of

Reasonable Doubt. Respondent may claim that Victor v.

Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1, 14 (1994), holds that an instruction

with only the “abiding conviction” terminology is

constitutional. Not so. Victor upheld a California conviction

where the “abiding conviction fo a moral certainty” version of

CALJIC 2.90 was challenged. In its discussion, the Court

noted that the essential requirement of a reasonable doubt

* Lewis Carroll nicely describes how words can be given

preposterous meaning. In Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

and Through the Looking-Glass (Collier Books 1962) p. 247,

Alice and Humpty Dumpty are debating the very special meaning

Humpty Dumpty’s gives the word "glory." He states it means,

"a nice knock-down argument.”

14

instruction is to convey the very high probability of guilt so

that a jury understands it raust have a "subjective state of near

certitude of the guilt of the accused." Jd. at 15. In dictum,

the opinion states: “an instruction cast in terms of an abiding

conviction as to guilt, without reference to moral certainty

correctly states the government’s burden of proof. Hopt v.

Utah, 120 U.S. at 430.” The sentence makes perfect sense

when understood for what it was meant — “moral certainty” is

an outmoded and confusing concept and unnecessary to a

proper definition of reasonable doubt. Victor cites Hopt as an

example of an instruction without such language that passes

constitutional muster. In Hopt v. Utah (1886) 120 U.S. 430,

this Court ruled approvingly of the language of an “abiding

conviction” but only in the context of an instruction which

connected the abiding conviction concept (i.e., a fixed belief)

to a level of a very high probability — a decision involving a

juror’s own important affairs.

Thus, Hopt says “‘it is difficult to conceive what amount

of conviction would leave the mind of a juror free from a

reasonable doubt, if it be not one which is so settled and fixed”

as to control his action in the more weighty and important

matters relating to his own affairs.” Id. at 339; italics added.

This is because “[i]f the evidence produced be of such a

convincing character that they would unhesitatingly be

governed by it-in such weighty and important matters, they

may be said to have no reasonable doubt....” (Jd. at 441.)

15

This Court did not suggest that a feeling of “abiding

conviction” in the truth of the charge alone states the proper

degree (or any degree) of certainty. As noted, the phrase at

issue in Victor was “abiding conviction to a moral certainty,”

which sets a much higher standard than does the naked phrase

“abiding conviction” coupled with juror feelings based on

satisfactory evidence.

Victor noted that in 1850, the phrase “moral certainty”

meant “the state of subjective certitude about some event or

occurrence.” Jd. at 12. That level of certainty was appropriate,

but the Court believed the phrase had lost its meaning over the

next century. Jd. at 23. Certainly, the meaning of “abiding

conviction” has no contemporary meaning synonymous with

proof beyond a reasonable doubt, that is, proof to an

evidentiary certainty.

The instructions given in petitioner’s case only

conveyed that the jury should acquit unless the evidence, as

“satisfactorily shown” produced a feeling of a lasting belief in

the truth of the charge. The concept does not come close to

requiring the required high level of “evidentiary certainty"

(Cage, supra at 41), or a "subjective state of near certitude of

the guilt of the accused." (Victor, supra at 15.) It permits

convictions without the high probability proof, that is proof

beyond a reasonable doubt. Without an instructional

requirement of a “high probability” (such as an abiding

conviction in proof concerning the most important of one’s

16

own affairs, or to an evidentiary certainty), this instruction

violated due process and violated the Sixth Amendment right

to have a jury trial on each element of the offense.

There are many examples of State reasonable doubt

instructions that employ “abiding conviction” plus a probability

standard. See Appendix C. Thus, in Ramirez v. Hatcher, 136

F.3d 1209, 1219 (9th Cir. 1998), the circuit court upheld a

Nevada state formulation that contained “abiding conviction”

language plus a probability standard that there must be “such

a doubt as would govern or control a person in the more

weighty affairs of life.” Jd. at 1210-1211. This was not an

instruction that merely used a feeling of an “abiding

conviction” as the determinative concept of the instruction.

Nevada’s formulation is derived from Hopt v. Utah, 120 U.S.

430 (1886).

Relying on Ramirez, another Ninth Circuit panel

upheld the California “abiding conviction” reasonable doubt

instruction in the context of a federal habeas corpus review.

Lisenbee v. Henry, 166 F.3d 997 (9th Cir. 1999), a ruling that

Victor “expressly condoned the use of a jury instruction that

only uses the term "abiding conviction" to define the

reasonable doubt.” Jd. at 999. That case attempted to

distinguish this Court’s holding in Colorado v. New Mexico,

467 U.S. 310, 316 (1984). There, this Court held that there

must be a standard higher than mere preponderance for settling

a water dispute between two states. It selected the standard

17

of “clear and convincing evidence” which it defined as an

abiding conviction in the truth of the matter shown to a high

probability. Ibid. See also State v. House, 127 N.M. 151

(1999) (defining “clear and convincing” evidence as “an

abiding conviction”).

Lisenbee “distinguished” the Colorado definition of

clear and convincing evidence by stating,

Although the Court did use the phrase "abiding

conviction" in its definition of the clear-and-

convincing-evidence standard, it did so in

tandem with the use of the phrase "highly

probable." Colorado, 467 U.S. at 316, 104 S.

Ct. at 2437-38, 81 L. Ed. 2d 247. The language

in the jury instruction in this case, on the other

hand, does not.

Precisely. The California standard does not add the

term “highly probable” to the phrase “abiding conviction.”

How then would the omission of the “highly probable” phrase

convey a higher standard of proof (beyond a reasonable

doubt) than that involved in the Colorado civil dispute?

Obviously, the absence of a probability standard could not

possibly elevate a feeling of lasting belief in the charge to one

of near certitude.

This is no mere semantic discussion. Addington v.

Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 425 (1979)(a standard of proof is more

than an empty semantic exercise.) In In re Winship, supra at

363, this Court emphasized the “vital role in the American

scheme of criminal procedure” of the reasonable doubt

18

standard, one that insures persons are not convicted based on

the same lower level of proof for a civil judgment:

It is a prime instrument for reducing the risk of

convictions resting on factual error. The

standard provides concrete substance for the

presumption of innocence -- that bedrock

"axiomatic and elementary" principle whose

"enforcement lies at the foundation of the

administration of our criminal law." Coffin v.

United States, supra, at 453. As the dissenters

in the New York Court of Appeals observed,

and we agree, "a person accused of acrime...

would be at a severe disadvantage, a

disadvantage amounting to a lack of

fundamental fairness, if he could be adjudged

guilty and imprisoned for years on the strength

of the same evidence as would suffice in a civil

case." 24 N. Y. 2d, at 205, 247 N. E. 2d, at

259.

As this Court stated Colorado v. New Mexico, supra

at 315-316:

It is the function of any standard of proof is to

"instruct the factfinder concerning the degree of

confidence our society thinks he should have in

the correctness of factual conclusions for a

particular type of adjudication." In re Winship,

397 U.S. 358, 370 (1970) (Harlan, J.,

concurring). By informing the factfinder in this

manner, the standard of proof allocates the risk

of erroneous judgment between the litigants and

indicates the relative importance society

attaches to the ultimate decision.

19

California’s instructions allocate the standard of proof

so low that the risk of erroneous judgments is unconstitu-

tionally high. They convey nothing more than a feeling of a

“fixed belief” on proof “satisfactorily shown.” At best this

definition sets an intensity level for juror belief (abiding), but it

not only does not state a probability standard; it undermines

the quantitative requirement of a very high probability of proof.

Taken in tandem with the other probability based instructions,

the jury was misled to convict on less than the required

amount of proof. .

The late Justice Stanley Mosk of the California

Supreme Court noted that the “abiding conviction” phrase was

defective in his concurring opinion in People v. Brigham, 25

Cal.3d 283, 299, 599 P.2d 100 (1979). He asked, “what is an

‘abiding’ conviction?” and observed that “it has long since

fallen into disuse and is no longer part of our daily speech” It

is a phrase connoting the “duration of the jury’s velief.” Ibid.

Justice Mosk rightly stated that “the duration of a juror’s belief

in guilt is essentially irrelevant.” Jd. at 300. Adding the word

“conviction” is not only of no help; it adds to the confusion

because that word has a meaning of an adjudication of guilt.

Id. at 300, n. 5.

Jurors can have a fixed belief in hunches, possibilities,

probabilities, or matters shown by clear and convincing

evidence. None of these satisfies the required due process

higher level of "evidentiary certainty" or a "subjective state of

20

near certitude of the guilt of the accused." The instructions

trigger convictions without proof shown by a high level of

probability. That is unconstitutional.

C. This Court’s Precedent Rejects Such a

Minimalist Definition of Reasonable Doubt.

Examining the decisions of this Court after Hopt v.

Utah, one finds that the Court has approved of reasonable

doubt definitions with some form of language conveying a high

probab lity of proof requirement.

in Wilson v. United States, 232 U.S. 563, 570 (1914),

the court approved a definition that read: "reasonable doubt is

that frame of mind which forbids you to say, all the evidence

considered and weighed, 'I have an abiding conviction of the

defendants’ guilt,' or as it has been expressed, 'I am convinced

of the defendants' guilt to a moral certainty.' If you can say

that you have such a conviction, then you have no reasonable

doubt, and your verdict should be guilty. On the contrary, if

that is your frame of mind, if you are in the frame of mind

where if it was a matter of importance to you in your own

affairs, away from here, you would pause and hesitate, before

acting, then you have a reasonable doubt." Emphasis added

In Dunbar v. United States, 156 U.S. 185, 199 (1885),

the court approved the following definition, "I will not

undertake to define a reasonable doubt further than to say that

a reasonable doubt is not an unreasonable doubt -- that is to

say, by a reasonable doubt you are not to understand that all

21

doubt is to be excluded; it is impossible in the determination of

these questions to be absolutely certain. You are required to

decide the question submitted to you upon the strong

probabilities of the case, and the probabilities must be so

strong as, not to exclude all doubt or possibility of error, but

as to exclude reasonable doubt".

Emphasis added.

In Miles v. United States, 103 U.S. 304, 309, 311

(1880), the court approved the following language: "The

prisoner's guilt must be established beyond reasonable doubt.

Proof beyond a reasonable doubt is such as will produce an

abiding conviction in the mind to a moral certainty that the fact

exists that is claimed to exist, so that you feel certain that it

-exists. A balance of proof is not sufficient. A juror ina

criminal case ought not to condemn unless the evidence

excludes from his mind all reasonable doubt; unless he be so

convinced by the evidence, no matter what the class of the

evidence, of the defendant's guilt, that a prudent man-would

feel safe to act upon that conviction in matters of the highest

concern and importance to his own dearest personal

interests." Emphasis added.

In Holland v. United States, 348 U.S. 121, 140

(1954), the Court rejected a challenge to this.definition: "'the

kind of doubt . . . which you folks in the more serious and

important affairs of your own lives might be willing to act

upon." We think this section of the charge should have been in

terms of the kind of doubt that would make a person hesitate

22

to act [citation], rather than the kind on which he would be

willing to act. But we believe that the instruction as given was

not of the type that could mislead the jury into finding no

reasonable doubt when in fact there was some. A definition of

a doubt as something the jury would act upon would seem to

create confusion rather than misapprehension."

The Court’s more recent cases (Winship, Jackson,

Cage and Victor) suggest the essential meaning to be conveyed

by a reasonable doubt definition is a “subjective state of near

”

certitude.” California’s definition is so far from requiring

that high probability of proof for a conviction it falls far short

of the constitutional due process limit-line. Studies on juror

interpretation appear to show their confusion on the meaning

of reasonable doubt.® See Diamond, Note, “Reasonable

Doubt: To Define, or Not to Define,” 90 Colum. L.Rev. 1716,

1723 (1990); cf, Note, “Reasonable Doubt: An Argument

Against Definition,” 108 Harv. L.Rev. 1955, 1964-1967

* The instruction is so low-probability based that jurors would

reasonably interpret it as requiring a preponderance of evidence

to convict. Two authors, Saunders and Genser, in the

September/October 1999 magazine, The Sciences, “Trial and

Error,” 18, did a survey of business executives on the meaning of

California’s instruction. One-third of this “relatively sophisticated

and homogeneous population of business people” (id. at 20),

thought the instruction meant that probabilities ranging from 50%

to 80% were good enough to convict someone beyond a

reasonable doubt.

23

(1995). Whatever the merits of general studies on juror under-

standing, the definition given in this case was clearly wrong,

insured constitutionally inadequate meaning, and virtually

guaranteed a conviction on less than the required proof.

D. No State Has Reduced Reasonable Doubt to a

Feeling of an “Abiding Conviction” in the Truth of the

Charge as “Satisfactorily” Shown.

Appellant’s survey of the fifty states in Appendix C

shows the following: Several States have retained the “moral

certainty” language in their definitions (Alabama, Idaho,

Minnesota, Tennessee). A plurality of States use a variant of

the Hopt v. Utah definition — proof such that a juror would

not hesitate to act in their own important affairs (Alaska,

Arkansas, Colorado, Conn., D.C., Maryland, Montana,

Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York,

Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, West

Virginia, Wisconsin).

Other States employ definitions with a requirement of

some form of high probability (Arizona, Hawaii, Virginia), or

“firmly convinced” (Delaware, Louisiana, Missouri, Rhode

Island), “firm and abiding” (North Dakota), “full and abiding”

(Iowa), “reasonable certainty” (Georgia), that “almost certain”

(Maine), “near certainty” (Massachusetts), or “more powerful

than more likely true than not true.” (New Jersey, Indiana),

“fully satisfies or entirely convinces you of the defendant’s

guilt” (North Carolina), “proof which satisfies the mind,

convinces the understanding of those who are bound to act.”

24

(Utah)

A number of States dictate that there either be no

definition given (accord U.S. v. Walton (4th Cir. 2000) 207

F.3d 694), or that there is no definition that the court requires.

(Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Oklahoma,

Oregon, Texas, Vermont, Wyoming).

Two States veer close to California’s minimal, defective

definition -- Washington (“a doubt as would exist in the mind of

a reasonable person ... abiding belief in the truth of the charge),

and Florida (“if there is not an abiding conviction of guilt, or if

having a conviction, it is one which is not stable, but one which

wavers and vacillates, then the charge is not proved beyond

every reasonable doubt”), but California’s instructions, taken

as a whole, mandate convictions on mere probabilities. No

State appears to have gone so far as California in reducing the

definition of reasonable doubt simply to juror feelings of a

lasting belief established by evidence satisfactorily shown.

2. PETITIONER IS ENTITLED TO REVERSAL WHEN

HE OBJECTED TO THE UNCONSTITUTIONAL

INSTRUCTION AND OFFERED AN INSTRUCTION

WITH A PROBABILITY STANDARD SUGGESTED IN

THIS COURT’S PRECEDENT.

A. The Issue Was Preserved. Failure to object is a

standard basis for waiver of a claim on appeal. See, e.g.,

F.R.Cr.P. 30. Calif. Penal Code § 1096a gives notice that

“..no further instruction on the subject of the presumption of

innocence or the definition of reasonable doubt need be given”

25

other than that found in Penal Code § 1096. The statute does

not state that amendments to the language in § 1096 cannot be

made if requested. Petitioner did that. CT 153-159.

While defendants who fail to object and proffer their

Own instruction or who affirmatively request the deficient

instruction likely have waived their right to complain about this

issue, petitioner affirmatively sought to have a constitutional

instruction given. "[A] defendant is entitled to an instruction

as to any recognized defense for which there exists evidence

sufficient for a reasonable jury to find in his favor [citation]."

Mathews v. United States, 485 U.S. 58, 63 (1988); see also

Taylor v. Kentucky, 436 U.S. 478, 490 (1978)("We hold that

on the facts of this case the trial court's refusal to give

petitioner's requested instruction on the presumption of

innocence resulted in a violation of his right to a fair trial.")

B. Examination of the Whole Record. This Court

has stated that the whole record must be examined to

determine if the instruction at issue correctly conveyed the

concept of reasonable doubt to the jury. Victor v. Nebraska,

supra at 511 U.S. 5. Reading the instructions as a whole here

could not save the defective definition. This is because of the

other instructions that reinforced the idea that the law

mandated that mere probabilities are a sufficient basis upon

which to decide guilt. The jury would believe a preponderance

of evidence is sufficient to convict based on the reasonable

26

doubt definition and these other instructions.’

Taken as a whole, petitioner’s jury was primed to

convict based upon a mere probability. In this close case

involving nearly seven days of deliberations in which the jury

had questions on the issue of malice, the instructions had to be

decisive. The length of time and jury questions during the

deliberations demonstrate that the jury was having difficulty

finding that the State proved that petitioner guilty even under

the diluted definition of reasonable doubt given them.

In sum, the extraordinary length of the jury

deliberations, the other mere probability based jury

instructions, the jury questions on the instructions during

deliberations, the fact that the offending instruction were sent

into the jury room (RT 1031), and that the court told the jury it

had to follow it (RT 950), shows that the instructions, taken

as a whole, reveal a reasonable likelihood that the jury

understood the instructions to allow conviction on proof

insufficient to meet the requirements of Winship’s due process

standard. Victor, supra, at 1243.

One additional factor is that during jury deliberations,

’ E.g., 1) the jury should not believe the defendant to be more

likely guilty than not guilty based solely on his arrest, charge and

standing trial (RT 950); 2) if one interpretation of the evidence is

reasonable and another unreasonable, the jury must accept the

reasonable (RT 954-55); 3) jury may reject a witness’s testimony

if false in part unless it finds the probability of truth favors the

witness’s version. RT 957.

27

the court was told that one of the jurors had severe doubts the

State had proven a criminal cause of death. The trial court

responded by telling the jury that there was no cause for such

concern and then told the jury for the second time* to report to

the court any juror who was deciding the case on unstated

“improper reasons.” Appendix A-19-20, 22. Under this

instruction, one juror’s demand for proof to an evidentiary

certainty would have been an “improper reason” to be

repudiated by the majority and a source of a threat to report

the juror to the court for misconduct. See People v.

Engelman, 28 Cal. 4th 436, 49 P.3d 209 (2002) (recently

banning the “improper reason” instruction in future cases.)

C. There Was A Reasonable Likelihood That the

Jury Understood the Instruction to Allow a Conviction on

Proof Insufficient to Meet the Requirements of Due

Process. Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. at 6. Given the nature

of this instruction given, its central importance in this (and all)

criminal cases, and the manner in which this instruction merged

with other low probability instructions, there is every |

reasonable likelihood that petitioner’s jury interpreted it to

allow a conviction based on proof insufficient to meet the

requirements of due process. The error is reversible per se.

Sullivan v. Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275 (1993).

In Sullivan, supra, this court focused on the

' The first being during the delivery of instructions prior to

jury deliberations. RT 1030-1031.

28

speculation a reviewing court would engage in if it attempted

to apply harmless error review when a defective burden of

proof directive to the jury “vitiate[d] all the jury's findings.”

508 U.S. at 281. Sullivan also focused on the serious nature of

a denial of the right to trial by jury, without which a criminal

trial cannot reliably serve its function. Ibid. The error, once

determined, is structural. Here, the instructional error

undermined the State’s burden to prove malice aforethought

beyond a reasonable doubt. Relief is required.

CONCLUSION

Reducing reasonable doubt to a feeling of an “abiding

conviction in the truth of the charge” based on evidence

“satisfactorily shown” gave petitioner’s jury the means to

resolve their lengthy deadlock on less proof than is

constitutionally required. Petitioner had proposed a correct

instructional definition with a high probability concept. It was

improperly denied and so was due process of law.

It is respectfully requested that the Court grant

certiorari on the question presented.

December 2, 2002 Respectfully submitted, _

flanks M. Sede.

CHARLES M. SEVILLA

Cleary & Sevilla, LLP

Attorneys for George Wenzel

29

APPENDIX A: June 7, 2002 Opinion of the California

Court of Appeal

Appendix A, |

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

COURT OF APPEAL, FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

io 7,20

Court of Appeal Fourth District

THE PEOPLE D037914

Plaintiff and Respondent

V. (Superior Ct. No.

SCD147241)

George Wenzel,

Defendant and Appellant

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of

San Diego County, William D. Mudd, Judge. Affirmed.

In a one-count amended information filed in July 2000,

the San Diego District Attorney charged defendant and

appellant George Martin Wenzel (Wenzel) under Penal Code'

section 187, subdivision (a) with the murder of his wife Lyn

All further statutory references are to the Penal Code

unless otherwise specified.

Appendix A, 2

Wenzel (Lyn).’ It was also alleged that in committing the

murder Wenzel inflicted great bodily injury on Lyn.

In February 2001, a jury trial commenced. In March

2001, the jury found Wenzel guilty of second degree murder.

The jury also found true the great bodily injury allegation. In

May 2001, the court sentenced Wenzel to 15 years to life in

prison.

On appeal, Wenzel asserts that the court erred by (1)

failing to exclude a videotaped statement by Wenzel taken in

violation of his Miranda’ rights; (2) improperly commenting to

the jury on the evidence; (3) failing to instruct the jury on

voluntary manslaughter; (4) failing to define malice in response

to a question from the jury; (5) instructing the jury under

CALJIC No. 17.41.1; (6) excluding expert testimony

concerning his mental state for the purpose of showing a lack

of malice; (7) instructing the jury on the Wenzel's failure to

submit to a court ordered psychiatric examination; and (8)

instructing the jury under CALJIC No. 2.90. We affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

A. People's Case

‘ For the sake of clarity, we refer to the victim and

certain members of her family by their first names. We intend

no disrespect.

Miranda y. Arizona (1966) 384 U.S. 436.

Appendix A, 3

Wenzel and his wife Lyn lived in the Loma Riviera

condominium complex in San Diego, California. To others,

Wenzel and Lyn appeared to have a loving marriage.

In 1999,* Lyn was 57 years old and worked at the

Department of Veteran Affairs Medical Center. Lyn's doctor,

Rebecca Le Vasseur, testified that Lyn had been suffering from

chronic low back pain and joint pain since 1981. In 1992, Lyn

was diagnosed with fibromyalgia, a condition of chronic,

widespread muscular pain. Dr. Le Vasseur also testified that

Lyn suffered from irritable bowel syndrome, migraine

headaches, osteoarthritis, spinal stenosis, gall bladder stones

and mild hypertension. More recently, Lyn reported to her

doctor "pins and needles in her toes and numbness in her feet."

A neurologist tested Lyn and concluded that she did not suffer

from neuropathy, a disease of the nerve endings. He believed

the pain was related to Lyn's spine problems.

Lyn was examined by a podiatrist, Dr. Michael Simons,

who denied that he diagnosed her with neuropathy. The notes

of Dr. Simons did mention "peripheral neuropathy" but

according to Dr. Simons that referred to her symptoms, not a

diagnosis. On cross-examination, Dr. Simons stated that he

was not sure if he told Lyn that she had neuropathy.

None of Lyn's ailments was life threatening. Moreover,

despite Lyn's medical problems, "she was an optimist, and she

a

All further references to dates are to the calendar year

1999 unless otherwise specified.

Appendix A, 4

carried on." Friends and coworkers described her as a very

strong and outgoing woman, who was upbeat and a hard

worker.

Wenzel was self-employed as a pool cleaner. Although

he appeared to be a loving person, he was also "volatile." At

times, he would "lose his temper, get very angry." He was on

medication to control his aggression and mood instability at the

time of Lyn's death.

The day before Lyn's death, she was "great" and in a

"good mood." On July 19, the morning of her death, Lyn

spoke to her sister-in-law, Sheilah Wenzel (Sheilah), and told

her she was "feeling good." According to Sheilah, Lyn told her

a podiatrist had said the pain in her feet was from her back

problems. Lyn laughed about her meeting with the podiatrist.

Lyn told Sheilah she was planning to attend a business

conference in Austin, Texas, in three weeks. Sheilah, who

lived in Texas, was going to stay with Lyn while she was in

Austin, and they talked about arrangements that needed to be

made. They also discussed Lyn's plans to take a trip to Hawaii

in October.

Lyn also spoke to her daughter Trudy Levy (Trudy) on

July 19, approximately six hours before she was killed. Lyn

and Trudy discussed a business idea Lyn had. Lyn wrote down

notes of this conversation on a piece of paper. Lyn and Trudy

also discussed plans for Lyn's mother's birthday. Lyn also told 4

Trudy she was planning on going to Palm Springs in October .

Appendix A, 5

for her high school reunion. Lyn had already purchased tickets

for that event.

Later in the afternoon of July 19, a few hours before

she was killed, Lyn was seen swimming in the condominium

complex pool. She was swimming back and forth and enjoying

herself.

The following morning, Wenzel picked up his pool

cleaning helper, Patrick O'Brien, at approximately 4:15 a.m.,

their ordinary start time for work. O'Brien told police that

Wenzel was in a good mood and appeared fine. Wenzel and

O'Brien had an ordinary workday, cleaning 25 to 27 pools.

Later that day, at approximately 1:40 p.m., Wenzel

went to the downtown San Diego police station and asked to

speak with a homicide detective. When San Diego Police

Sergeant Howard Williams greeted Wenzel, Wenzel handed

Sgt. Williams a note he had authored and a house key, and

asked Sgt. Williams to read the note. The note read:

"My name is George Wenzel. Lyn

Wenzel is my wife of more than 29 '4

years. We have had a pack [sic] that we

would help each other end [our] life

when the time had come. Last Saturday

Lyn took some sleeping pills from her

mother and on Monday nite [sic] took

many pills with dinner. After she went

to sleep, I went up and stopped the

breathing. I did this because she is the

love of my life and I wanted to stop the

pain and suffering. I have no regrets

Appendix A, 6

because this is what she wanted. My

pain and suffering will start now and last

the rest of my life. Her body is in bed

upstairs at 4072 Loma Riviera Circle."

Two San Diego Police Department homicide

detectives, John Young and Joseph Cristinziani, then took

Wenzel to a detention room where they conducted a

videotaped interview with him. Detective Cristinziani first

asked Wenzel, "I was just curious if there's anybody you want

us to call right now?" Wenzel shook his head "no." Detective

Young then advised Wenzel of his Miranda rights, and Wenzel

responded that he understood each right. The following

exchange then took place between Wenzel and the detectives:

"(Detective Young]: ... Do you want

to tell us what happened?

"[Wenzel]: It's all right here. [Pointing

to the note. |

"[Detective Young]: Well, the note is

pretty brief and life is pretty long... .

[Clan you start to teil me first of all how

long you've been married, where you

got married, that sort of thing.

f

"[Wenzel]: [Shakes head in the

negative.] . .:. [D]idn't you say that I

could be silent if I wanted to?

"[Detective Young]: Yeah.

Appendix A, 7

"[Wenzel]: Yeah.

"(Detective Young]: So you don't want

to talk to us?

-"[Wenzel]: [Shakes head 'no']

"[Detective Young]: I'm sure there's a

lot of questions that we don't. . . aren't

gonna know until we talk to you about

‘em. I mean we don't even . . . we're not

even at the scene yet.

"[Wenzel]: Maybe I'll talk to ya later. I

don't want to talk right now."

"[Detective Young]: Okay.

"[Wenzel]: Okay [nodding head in

affirmative]." (Italics added.)

Thereafter, the detectives ceased questioning Wenzel

concerning the killing of his wife and questioned Wenzel

concerning Lyn's medical condition and obtaining her records,

with which Wenzel cooperated. The detectives had Wenzel

sign a form consenting to a search of his residence and a

release form for Lyn's medical records.

Six minutes later, the following exchange occurred:

"(Detective Young]: I guess my

question [Wenzel] is you wrote the

letter and you did come down, I mean

you're taking responsibility for what

Appendix A, 8 -

happened here, uh, is it just right now

you don't feel like talkin' or you just

don't want to tell us what happened

Wisce

"[Wenzel]: J don't know what else I

could say. I mean it's all right here.

[Pointing to note. |

"(Detective Young]: Well I have a lot

of questions.

"[Wenzel]: /'m sure you do.

"(Detective Young]: Okay.

"[Detective Cristinziani]: It's like

[Detective Young] said[,] your letter is

pretty short but life is pretty long.

"(Detective Young]: And there's a

lot .. . of things that are going on here

in 29 years that we'd like to have some

background on and... on your wife's

condition, her medical problems and

what [led] up to yesterday?

"[Wenzel]: Well you have to... check :

out Kaiser. 4

" [Detective Young]: Okay."

The detectives then had Wenzel fill out another form

and discussed with him the process of what was going to

Appendix A, 9

happen. Wenzel was reminded by the detectives twice more

that, although they had questions they wanted to ask him, it

was "entirely up to [him]" if he wanted to tell them what

happened. Wenzel responded, "Okay, well maybe later."

Twenty-five minutes later, Detective Young said to

Wenzel:

"[Detective Young]: "You know [our

fact gathering] is based on the

cooperation of the people we're dealing

with. You know, you have absolutely

every right not to talk to us.... I have

a lot of questions... ."

Shortly thereafter, Wenzel began talking to the

detectives about what occurred. Wenzel stated that he and

Lyn had made a pact. According to Wenzel, Lyn came home

from work on July 19 and, although she did not say anything,

he knew she was in pain. Before dinner, Lyn asked Wenzel

"[i]f [he] was strong enough." Wenzel replied, "Yes" or "If 1

have to be." Wenzel explained that Lyn had fibromyalgia and

on July 15 was told by a podiatrist that she had neuropathy.

. Lyn was "broken up" over the diagnos’s of neuropathy. Lyn

told Wenzel that night that she had taken some pills. Wenzel

told police that when Lyn went upstairs to their bedroom, he

stayed downstairs for approximately 30 minutes. He then went

upstairs and found Lyn asleep. Wenzel could hear her

breathing and snoring. He lay down next to her and watched

her for approximately one hour. Wenzel demonstrated for the

Appendix A, 10

detectives how he placed his hand over Lyn's mouth and

pinched her nose with his fingers to stop her breathing. He did

this for 30 to 45 minutes. He knew when she was dead

because he heard the "last bit of air in her . . . bubbling out."

Wenzel explained to police that he did it because "I love my

wife" and "I did it for her." Wenzel stated that she asked him

to do it, stating "it's time." Wenzel stated that when he woke

up the following morning he drank coffee, walked the dog and

went to work.

A pathologist's examination of Lyn's body showed she

died of asphyxiation by smothering. Her eyes, eyelids and

upper lip showed petechial hemorrhages consistent with being

asphyxiated. These small hemorrhages indicate an attempt to

breathe. A bruise was found on Lyn's lower lip that was

caused while she was still alive. Beyond the bruised lip, Lyn's

body showed no signs of trauma. Lyn did not die from an

overdose of sleeping pills. No pills or pill fragments were

found in Lyn's stomach. 2.1 nanograms per millimeter of

triazolam, a sleeping pill, were found in Lyn's blood. The

therapeutic amount of triazolam is between 2.0 and 20.0

nanograms per milliliter. The pathologist concluded that Lyn's

death was a homicide.

Days later, at a memorial service for Lyn, Wenzel told

his stepdaughter Trudy and a family friend, Judy Collins, the |

circumstances of Lyn's death. Wenzel told them essentially the

same story as in his note and confession to the police. He also

Appendix A, 11

told Judy Collins that he knew a good attorney that could "get

[him] off."

On October 13, 12 weeks after killing Lyn, Wenzel

married Nancy Rehm, a woman who lived in the same

apartment complex as Wenzel and Lyn. According to Rehm,

they had started dating 12 days prior to their marriage.

However, Rehm testified that she first met Wenzel before Lyn's

death, when she asked him to flip her mattress in her bedroom.

Rehm described herself as very lonely for a long time prior to

meeting Wenzel. Shortly after they met, Wenzel told Rehm

how Lyn died. Again, Wenzel's story matched the statements

he had given to police and others.

Wenzel and Rehm were seen together within a few

weeks of Lyn's death, and Wenzel was seen going into Rehm's

apartment. Wenzel did not tell his stepson, Ted Levy, that he

had remarried until the summer of 2000. Although Wenzel

told his brother, John Wenzel, in November about his marriage

to Rehm, Wenzel told him not to tell anybody about it and got

mad at John for discussing the marriage.

Appendix A, 12

B. Defense Case

Lizabeth Keith, a neighbor of Wenzel and Lyn, testified

that in early 1999 Lyn told her that she had a durable power of

attorney for healthcare.’ Keith was going through

chemotherapy, and she and Lyn agreed that there were some

things worse than death. Leslie Satz, a coworker of Lyn's,

testified that Lyn told her that she would not want to live if she

were ever "gravely disabled." Lyn had a similar conversation

with her sister Sheilah in 1995 or 1996, while they were

discussing a 95-year-old man who could no longer care for

himself. Lyn's son Ted Levy testified that on July 15, 1999, he

called Lyn and "she was crying and upset about something and

said she had just been to the doctor." However, Lyn would

not tell Ted Levy what it was that had upset her.

Several witnesses testified that Wenzel and Lyn had

what appeared to be a very loving and devoted relationship.

Lyn told her boss that she was in pain and was disappointed

over her failed efforts to lessen that pain. Lyn's mother-in-law

Olive Wenzel testified that Lyn had a lot of problems with her

health, many times being unable to throw a ball to her pet dog.

Virginia Hemond, a friend of Lyn's, testified that Lyn

complained to her about the pain she was suffering. A couple

of days before her death, O'Brien observed Lyn as being

5

According to John Wenzel, Lyn did not in fact have a

durable power of attorney for healthcare, nor any similar

provision in her will.

NN Eo I Ae RG Bt AD

Ne ee ae ea wed ‘

SANGALO ILA

Appendix A, 13

"pretty down as far as this neuropathy . . . she just found out

she had." John Wenzel knew Lyn had fibromyalgia, was in

pain, and was not getting any satisfaction from medical

attention. Several others also testified to Lyn's ailments and

pain.

Wenzel called Dr. Clark Smith, a board-certified

psychiatrist, who diagnosed Wenzel as suffering from bipolar

mood disorder, with a dependent personality trait. Dr. Smith

testified that Wenzel was prone to form dependent

relationships and that his reality testing was "unrealistic and

poor." Dr. Smith further stated that Wenzel's moods would go

up and down rapidly and unexpectedly. Dr. Smith also opined

that under stress Wenzel was "unable to think it through

rationally and make rational choices."

Wenzel also sought to examine Dr. Smith as to the

mental state of a hypothetical person with Wenzel's mental

disorder at the time of a killing such as Lyn's. However, the

court excluded this evidence as going to an ultimate issue that

the jury was to decide: Wenzel's intent at the time he killed

Lyn.

Dr. Le Vasseur testified that she prescribed two drugs

to Wenzel, Depakote and Trazodone, for his mood instability.

Rehm testified that she and Wenzel did not begin dating

until September 30. The next day they walked on the beach

and Wenzel told her the details about how he killed his wife.

After dinner that night, she and Wenzel talked about having

sex. Rehm insisted that Wenzel get tested for HIV before they

Appendix A, 14

had sex. Four days later, Wenzel called Rehm at work and

asked her to go on a trip with him to Big Bear, Yuma and Palm

Springs. When they went on the trip, Wenzel brought a

certificate showing he did not have HIV and asked Rehm to

marry him.

Dr. Stephen Shuchter, a psychiatrist specializing in

depression and bereavement, testified that after the loss of a

loved one, men remarry more quickly than women do. Dr.

Shuchter testified that one out of every eight men become

involved in a romantic relationship within two months after the

death of a loved one.

C. People's Rebuttal

The parties stipulated that before trial the court ordered

Wenzel to make himself available for a psychiatric or

psychological examination in the presence of an expert selected

by the People. When Wenzel showed up at the appointment,

he handed the state's psychiatrist, Dr. Steven Ornish, an

envelope and said he would be right back. However, instead of

coming back, Wenzel got into his car and drove off. Dr.

Ornish opened the letter, which read:

"I understand I've been ordered to meet

with you and provide you information

about myself. You should have 2,000

pages of discovery, videotaped

statement I gave police, along with a

note, Dr. Smith's two reports, and Dr.

Lipsom's testing. I do not want to speak

Appendix A, 15

with you further because I believe you're

not a neutral expert."

Based upon Wenzel's failure to appear for his court-

ordered <xamination, the court warned Wenzel, before he

called Dr. Smith as a witness, that if he pursued any mental

health issues, the jury would be instructed on his failure to

cooperate.

D. Motion to Suppress Confession

Prior to the start of trial, Wenzel made a motion to

suppress his videotaped confession based upon an alleged

violation of his Miranda rights. At the hearing on Wenzel's

motion, Detectives Young and Cristinziani testified that they

did not believe that Wenzel invoked his right to remain silent

when they were interviewing him. Rather, they understood

Wenzel's comment that he would maybe talk to them later as

indicating that he did want to talk to them, but later on. They

believed that Wenzel just needed time before he was ready to

discuss what happened. The detectives also testified that they

did not think they were interrogating Wenzel when they were

asking him questions concerning obtaining Lyn's medical

records, a consent to search and handwriting exemplars.

The court denied Wenzel's motion to suppress, finding:

"The videotape in this case makes this

decision actually as clear as it can be

under the circumstances. ... [{]] What

is very apparent in this particular case is

Appendix A, 16

that we do not have a direct invocation

of the right to remain silent. It is

¢ NRIOL SCLIN E AES ARMED APRS so KYA EY DADE «?

equivocal at best.... [Wenzel] says

maybe I'll talk to you later; I don't want

to talk right now.... [§]] In order to

put that in perspective, you have to look

at that videotape as to what [] Wenzel

was doing at the time. And he had just

basically said it's all right here, pointing

to the note. Well, when he's pointing to

the note, he's talking about her death

and what he had admitted in the note,

namely, that he had killed her. [§] This

is equivocal, very equivocal."

The court also noted that when Wenzel stated that he

did not want to talk "right now," the detectives only questioned

Wenzel about things that did not implicate his Miranda rights.

The court also observed that later in the interview, the

detectives readvised Wenzel, and he thereafter cooperated and

answered questions about Lyn's death without any coercion.

E. Relevant Court Instructions

At the close of evidence Wenzel requested that the

court instruct the jury on manslaughter, based upon a heat of

passion theory. The court, based upon the evidence, refused to

instruct the jury on the crime of manslaughter.

The court instructed the jury on Wenzel's failure to

appear for a mental examination as follows:

"[Wenzel's] refusal to submit to a

court-ordered psychiatric

4

f

t

:

H

Appendix A, 17

examination may be considered by

you. If you find that his refusal to

answer questions or to be

interviewed by the prosecution's

psychiatrist was wil[]]ful, you may

take that fact into consideration

when weighing the opinions of the

defense'[s] psychiatric expert."

The court instructed the jury under CALJIC No. 2.90

as follows:

"A person accused in a criminal action

- with the commission of a crime is

presumed innocent until the contrary is

proved, and in case of a reasonable

doubt whether his guilt is satisfactorily

shown, he is entitled to a verdict of not

guilty. This presumption places upon

the People the burden of proving him

guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. [{]

Reasonable doubt is defined as follows:

It is not a mere possible doubt because

everything relating to human affairs is

open to some possible or imaginary

doubt. Rather, it is that state of the case ~

which, after the entire comparison and

consideration of all of the evidence,

leaves the minds of the jurors in that

condition that they cannot say they feel

an abiding conviction of the truth of the

charge."

Appendix A, 18

During deliberations, the jury foreperson handed the

court a note that stated:

"Your Honor, [§] "We are concerned

that one member of the jury may be

disregarding the instruction to base our

decision solely on the evidence

presented and on the law. [§] The :

statement that concerns us is the

following: 'I have a reservation. I can ‘

never know because I wasn't there. I'm =

not sure that she wasn't already dead.""

Over defense objection, the court instructed the jury in

response to this note as follows:

"You are advised of the following: I

have not intended by anything that I

have said or done or by any questions :

that I may have asked to suggest what :

you should find to be the facts or that I 4

believe or disbelieve any witness. If i

anything I have done or said has seemed

to so indicate, you will totally disregard

it and form your own conclusions. [J]

At this time, however, and for the

purpose of assisting you in properly :

deciding this case, I will comment on the ‘

evidence and the testimony and

believability of any witness. My

comments are intended to be advisory

only and are not binding on you, as you

must be the exclusive judges of the facts

Appendix A, 19

and of the believability of witnesses.

You may disregard any or all of my

comments if they do not coincide with

your views of the evidence and the

believability of the witness. [§] You are

advised in this case that there is no

evidence that this victim was already

dead when [Wenzel] placed his hand

over her nose and mouth. In fact, all of.

the evidence in this case, including the

pathologist's report and testimony and

[Wenzel's] own statements show the

victim was alive at the time he placed his

hand over her nose and mouth."

OGL LRG LLL OE

eI SOIT NEN IRE LOA A EN IG EOE RAIA AS

The court instructed the jury on malice under CALJIC

No. 8.11 as follows:

""Malice' may be either express or

implied. [§] Malice is express when _

there is manifested an intention

unlawfully to kill a human being. []]

Malice is implied when: [§] 1. The

killing resulted from an intentional act,

[{] 2. The natural consequences of the

act are dangerous to human life, and [9]

3. The act was deliberately performed

with knowledge of the danger to, and

with conscious disregard for, human life.

é [{]] When it is shown that a killing

4 resulted from the intentional doing of an

act with express or implied malice, no

other mental state need be shown to

establish the mental state of malice

Appendix A, 20

aforethought. [§] The mental state

constituting malice aforethought does

not necessarily require any ill will or

hatred of the person killed. [§] The

word 'aforethought' does not imply

deliberation or the lapse of considerable

time. It only means that the required

mental state must precede rather than

follow the act."

During deliberations, the jury sent the court a note that

read:

"We need clarification on several terms.

[{] 1. Please give a clear definition of

express malice. [{] 2. What is meant by

‘conscious disregard for human life’

under implied malice?"

_Inreply, the court stated: "Ladies and

' gentlemen, you are instructed to reread

[CALJIC No.] 8.11. Use your common

sense and your life experiences in

defining the terms."

The court also instructed the jury under CALJIC No.

17.41.1 (1998 new) (6th ed. 1996) as follows:

"The integrity of a trial requires that

jurors, at all times during their

deliberations, conduct themselves as

required by these instructions.

Accordingly, should it occur that any

juror refuses to deliberate or expresses

an intention to disregard the law or to

Appendix A, 21

é decide the case based on penalty or

punishment, or any other improper

basis, it is the obligation of the other

jurors to immediately advise the court of

the situation."

DISCUSSION

A. Alleged Miranda Violation

Appendix A, 22

1. Standard of Review "Were we to base our decision

solely on the reporter's transcript of those portions of the

interview on which appellant relies, his claim that he invoked

his right to silence would appear meritorious. On a review of

the full tape and consideration in context of che words on

which defendant relies a different picture emerges. That part

of the first interview at which defendant claims he asserted his

rights involved a few minutes when defendant lost his temper

and expressed anger toward Officer Cromwell... .

[{] . .. Viewing the tape, observing the defendant's demeanor

before, during, and after the statements, and considering the

context in which defendant made the statements on which he

relies here, we conclude that the statements reflect only

momentary frustration and animosity toward Cromwell... .

[{] . .. Defendant did not, by those statements, indicate that he

was invoking his right to silence. He apologized for his

outburst and voluntarily continued the interview. The trial

court did not err, therefore, in admitting the statements."

(Jennings, supra, 46 Cal.3d at pp. 978-979.)

4. Analysis

We conclude, based upon our independent review of

both the written transcript and videotape of the police

interview with Wenzel (Wash, supra, 6 Cal.4th at p. 238), that

Wenzel did not invoke his right to remain silent and therefore

there was no violation of his Miranda rights and no error in

admitting that interview into evidence at trial. Further, even if

Appendix A, 23

the court did err in admitting Wenzel's interview with police,

the error was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

Viewed in context, Wenzel did not unambiguously

invoke his right to silence. When he first arrived, he handed

police a note confessing to the killing of his wife and asked to

speak with a homicide detective. This indicates a desire to

speak concerning the crime. Thereafter, after being given

Miranda warnings, when the detectives began questioning him

concerning the crime, Wenzel replied, "It's all right here,"

pointing to the note. This statement was not an invocation, but

rather an explanation that the note described what happened.

Next, Wenzel, in response to questioning, asked, "[D]idn't you

say that I could be silent if I wanted to?", to which the

detectives responded in the affirmative. This was at most a

question to police about his rights, not an invocation, following

which the detectives could properly question Wenzel further to

determine if he wished to talk to them.

The statement, "Maybe I'll talk to you later. I don't

want to talk right now," taken in context, is ambiguous. A

reasonable police officer under the circumstances could

understand that statement not as an assertion of the right to

silence, but rather an expression of a willingness to talk when

Wenzel was ready.

After Wenzel made that statement, the detectives

inquired concerning Lyn's medical records, a consent to search,

and a handwriting exemplar. These types of inquiries do not

constitute interrogation that implicates Miranda rights.

Appendix A, 24

(People v. Woolsey (1979) 90 Cal.App.3d 994, 1001; Muniz,

supra, 496 U.S. at pp. 601-602.) Further, Wenzel voluntarily

discussed these issues, indicating he was not invoking the right

to silence. A review of the videotaped interview also

establishes that the detectives’ continued questioning did not

amount to "repeated efforts to wear down his resistance anc’

make him change his mind." (Michigan v. Mosley, supra, 423

U.S. at pp. 105-106.)

Wenzel relies on the case People v. Peracchi (2001) 86

Cal.App.4th 353 (Peracchi), where the defendant's statement,

"I don't want to discuss it right now" was found to be an

assertion of the right to remain silent. (/d. at pp. 358-361.)

However, Peracchi is not controlling. First, Wenzel indicated

he did not want to discuss the matter at that point, but left the

door open to further discussion by stating, "maybe later."

Further, after the defendant's statement in Peracchi, the police,

apparently understanding that he had invoked his Miranda

rights, continued questioning him, asking why he did not want

to talk to them. (/d. at pp. 360-361.) Here, by contrast, the

detective moved to neutral noninterrogatory subjects after

Wenzel indicated that he did want to discuss the matter at that

time. It was only later, after twice readvising Wenzel on his

right to silence, that Wenzel started voluntarily discussing the

circumstances of Lyn's death. The context of the interview,

after Wenzel had already confessed in writing and indicated he

wanted to discuss the matter with police, also distinguishes this

matter from Peracchi. Finally, the court in Peracchi relied

Appendix A, 25

only on a written transcript of the interview. (/d. at p. 358.)

Here, viewing the videotape, we agree with the trial court that

the context of Wenzel's statements, as well as Wenzel's

demeanor during the interview, did not indicate an

unambiguous invocation of his right to silence. In sum, the

court did not err in denying Wenzel's motion to suppress his

videotaped confession.

Assuming the court did err in admitting the police

interview with Wenzel, the error was harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt. (See People v. Sims (1993) 5 Cal.4th 405,

447-448 [harmless beyond a reasonable doubt standard applies

to confession improperly admitted in violation of Miranda

rights].) Wenzel confessed to the police in his handwritten

note delivered to them prior to the interview. In that note he

stated that he stopped Lyn's breathing, and he did so pursuant

to a suicide pact to stop her suffering. He repeated the same

story to four separate witnesses, including his new wife Rehm.°

All these statements essentially told the same story Wenzel told

police in his videotaped interview. Wenzel's other confessions,

substantially the same as the interview with police, render any

error in admitting the interview harmless beyond a reasonable

6

Wenzel briefly asserts that he could have resisted the

people's attempt to elicit Rehm's testimony regarding Wenzel's

confession to her on the grounds of marital privilege.

However, since the confession was made to Rehm before they

were married, the marital privilege does not apply. (Evid.

Code, § 972, subd. (f).)

Appendix A, 26

doubt. (People v. Lujan (2001) 92 Cal.App.4th 1389, 1403.)

Finally, the pathologist's testimony confirmed that the cause of

Lyn's death was from asphyxiation. Thus, Wenzel's claim that

he would have been able to argue he only passively assisted

Lyn's suicide but for the videotaped confession is contrary to

the overwhelming evidence that she died at his hands. Any

error by the court in admitting Wenzel's videotaped confession

was harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

B. Court's Comment on Evidence

Wenzel asserts that the court erred when, in response

to a question from the jury concerning a juror's purported

failure to follow the court's instructions, it commented on the

evidence by stating that there was no evidence that Lyn was

already dead at the time Wenzel went upstairs. We reject this

contention.

The California Constitution, article VI, section 10,

provides that a court "may make such comment on the

evidence and the testimony and credibility of any witness as in

its opinion is necessary for the proper determination of the

cause." "The purpose of this provision is to allow the court 'to

utilize its experience and training in analyzing evidence to assist

the jury in reaching a just verdict. [Citations.]' [Citation.]"

(People v. Proctor (1992) 4 Cal.4th 499, 542.) Further, "a

trial court has ‘broad latitude in fair commentary, so long as it

does not effectively control the verdict."" (Jbid.) However,

mts

judicial comment on the evidence must be accurate,

Appendix A, 27

temperate, nonargumentative, and scrupulously fair. The court

may not, in the guise of privileged comment, withdraw material

evidence from the jury's consideration, distort the record,

expressly or impliedly direct a verdict, or otherwise usurp the

jury's ultimate factfinding power. [Citations.]' [Citations.]"

(/bid.)

Wenzel first attacks the court's comment on the basis

that it was based, at least in part, upon the improperly admitted

videotaped interview he gave to police. However, we have

already concluded, ante, that the court did not err in admitting

this evidence. Wenzel's contention is thus unavailing.

Further, it cannot be argued that the court's comment

on the evidence was anything but scrupulously accurate. There

is no evidence that Lyn was dead when Wenzel went up to her

bedroom. In fact, all the evidence, including Wenzel's written

and oral confessions, his admissions to others, and the

pathologist's conclusion concerning the cause of death, all

conclusively demonstrate that Lyn was alive when Wenzel

went into the bedroom. Indeed, counsel for Wenzel, in closing

argument, never asserted that Lyn died at her own hands that

night. Wenzel's only argument was with regard to his intent in

taking her life, i.e., he was assisting in her request to end her

life to stop her chronic pain.

Wenzel complains that the court's comment was

"tantamount to a direct[ed] verdict on guilt" because the court

"essentially told this jury that [Wenzel] killed his wife." This is

not so. The court's comment did not negate Wenzel's sole

Appendix A, 28

defense that he did not have the requisite intent to be found

guilty of murder. The jury was still free to acquit Wenzel if it

agreed with his claim that the killing was not performed with

malice. The court did not remove an element that the jury was

to decide, as Wenzel himself admitted that he killed his wife.

Finally, given that the court also instructed the jury that

its comments were advisory only and not binding upon them,

any error caused by the court's comments was harmless: |

"Where the trial court instructs the jury that they can wholly

disregard any comment by him, that they are the exclusive

judges of the credibility of witnesses and of all questions of fact

submitted to them, and that his comments were for the purpose

of aiding the jury in reaching a verdict but not to compel one,

there is no reversible error in connection with the court's

comments on the evidence." (People v. Jones (1970) 7

Cal.App.3d 48, 54-55.) We conclude that the court's-

comments on the evidence here do not support a reversal of

the judgment. .

C. Court's Refusal To Instruct on Manslaughter

Wenzel contends that the court erred in refusing to

instruct the jury, upon his request, on voluntary manslaughter

under a heat of passion theory. We reject this contention.

Appendix A, 29

1. Standard of review

"[A] trial court must instruct on lesser included

offenses, even in the absence of a request, whenever there is

substantial evidence raising a question as to whether all of the

elements of the charged offense are present." (People v. Lewis

(2001) 25 Cal.4th 610, 645.) Substantial evidence is

“evidence that a reasonable jury could find persuasive.’

[Citation.]" (Jbid.) Thus, on review, we must determine here

whether there is substantial evidence to support a conviction

on heat of passion manslaughter instead of second degree

murder.

2. Analysis

Section 192, subdivision (a) provides: -

"Manslaughter is the unlawful killing of

a human being without malice. It is of

three kinds: [§] (a) Voluntary upon a

sudden quarrel or heat of passion."

In order to justify a voluntary manslaughter instruction,

a defendant must produce substantial evidence that at the time

of the killing his "reason was actually obscured as the result of

a strong passion aroused by a 'provocation' sufficient to cause

an ordinary [person] of average disposition . . . to act rashly

or without due deliberation and reflection, and from this

passion rather than from judgment." [Citations.] '[N]o

specific type of provocation [is] required... ."' [Citation.]

Moreover, the passion aroused need not be anger or rage, but

can be any '"[v]iolent, intense, high-wrought or enthusiastic

_

Appendix A, 30_

emotion" [citation] other than revenge [citation]." (People v.

Breverman (1998) 19 Cal.4th 142, 162-163 (Breverman).)

Although it is generally for the jury to decide if the

circumstances were sufficient to arouse the passions of a

reasonable person, the court may decide the issue where the

evidence of provocation is slight. (People v. Fenenbock

(1996) 46 Cal.App.4th 1688, 1705.)

Thus, in order to establish facts supporting a heat of

passion manslaughter instruction Wenzel must demonstrate (1)

that he actually acted under a heat of passion and (2) that Lyn

did something so provocative as to cause an ordinary person to

act under a heat of passion. There is no substantial evidence to

support either element.

Focusing first on whether there is any evidence that

Wenzel was actually acting in the heat of passion, we find no

substantial evidence in the record. In his statements to police

and others, Wenzel claimed that he was acting pursuant to a

long-planned suicide pact, not under a sudden and extreme

emotional upset. He stated that after Lyn went to bed, he

stayed downstairs for approximately 30 minutes. Later, he

went upstairs, lay down next to Lyn, and spoke to her for an

hour as she was sleeping. Wenzel then held his hand over her

mouth and pinched her nose for 30 to 45 minutes, until he

heard her last breath escape. There is no evidence that Wenzel

went upstairs and killed Lyn on a sudden impulse caused by

strong passions. Rather, the act was done with reflection and

deliberation.

Appendix A, 31

Further, Wenzel cannot show that Lyn did anything that

was sufficient to provoke a reasonable person toward lethal

passion. "The provocation which incites the defendant to

homicidal conduct in the heat of passion must be caused by the

victim [citation], or be conduct reasonably believed by the

defendant to have been engaged in by the victim. [Citations.]

The provocative conduct by the victim may be physical or

verbal, but the conduct must be sufficiently provocative that it

would cause an ordinary person of average disposition to act

rashly or without due deliberation or reflection." (People v.

Lee (1999) 20 Cal.4th 47, 59 (plur. opn. of Baxter, J.).)

Wenzel must show that "an average, sober person would be so

inflamed that he or she would lose reason or judgment." (/d. at

p. 60.)

Wenzel asserts that Lyn's poor health, his own mental

condition, Lyn's request that he help her with their suicide pact,

and her asserted question, "[A]re you strong enough?", were

sufficient provocation to support a manslaughter instruction.

This contention is unavailing.

A provocation that is of so little consequence that it

would not impair an ordinarily reasonable person's ability to

form malice is not sufficient to reduce a killing from murder to

manslaughter. (People v. Ogen (1985) 168 Cal.App.3d 611,

621.) Further, any provocation that occurs must be

immediately present at the time of a killing. (People v. Koontz

(May 9, 2002, S036450)_ _—-Cal.4th ~—s«[2002 D.A.R.. 5057,

5068].) In Koontz, the defendant argued to the California

Appendix A, 32

Supreme Court that the trial court should have instructed the

jury on manslaughter in a case where the defendant shot and

killed another individual after an argument. (Jbid.) However,

the court rejected this argument because any confrontation

between the defendant and the victim had dissipated by the

time of the shooting: "Any provocation arising out of

defendant's prior arguments with the victim was no longer

immediately present by the time of the shooting, such that a

reasonable person in defendant's position would have reacted

with homicidal rage." (/bid.)

Here, Lyn's health, her request that Wenzel assist in her

suicide, and the question, "[A]re you strong enough?" could

hardly be considered provocative. According to Wenzel this

came about as a result of a longstanding illness, and a long-

planned "pact" whereby each would help the other to commit

suicide if necessary. The events on the day of the killing were

not sudden or out of the blue. There is no indication the

question, "[A]re you strong enough?” was meant to be

insulting. Indeed, the evidence demonstrates that Wenzel was

not in any way provoked, remaining downstairs for half an

hour before he went upstairs and suffocated Lyn. Finally, any

provocation that could have occurred as a result of the

question, "Are you strong enough?" was no longer immediately

present by the time Wenzel walked upstairs a half hour later

and lay down next to his wife for an hour.

Wenzel asserts that the case People v. Borchers (1958)

50 Cal.2d 321 (Borchers) supports his contention that the

Appendix A, 33

court erred in failing to instruct the jury on manslaughter. In

Borchers, the defendant's common law wife admitted to having

an affair with an individual who was plotting a possible murder

against the defendant to obtain his life insurance benefits. (/d.

at pp. 324-325.) On one occasion the defendant's wife

attempted to jump from the car he was driving, stating that

"she wished she were dead... ." (/d. at p. 325.) During

another drive, the defendant's wife took a gun out of the glove

department and asked the defendant to shoot her. (/d. at pp.

325-326.) Once the defendant had the gun, his wife told him,

"Go ahead and shoot, what is the matter, are you chicken."

(Id. at p. 326.) Based upon these facts the California Supreme

Court concluded that there was sufficient evidence to support

the trial court's reduction in the jury's verdict from second

degree murder to manslaughter:

"From the evidence viewed as a whole

the trial judge could well have

concluded that defendant was roused to

a heat of 'passion' by a series of events

over a considerable period of time: [his

wife's] admitted infidelity, her

statements that she wished she were

dead, her attempt to jump from the car

on the trip to San Diego, her repeated

urging that defendant shoot her, [a child

she cared for], and himself on the night

of the homicide, and her taunt, 'are you

chicken." (Jd. at pp. 328-329.)

Appendix A, 34

Wenzel asserts that similarly the evidence in this case

supports a manslaughter instruction because of Lyn's long-

standing illness and her statement, "[A]re you strong enough?"

However, that statement can hardly be compared to the taunt

in Borchers. Nor is there any evidence, as discussed, ante, that

there was any provocation immediately preceding Wenzel's

killing of Lyn. There is also no evidence that Lyn had done

anything to provoke Wenzel to kill her, such as Borcher's

wife's admitted affair. The facts in this case do not equate to

those in Borchers.

Wenzel also asserts that the evidence in this case was

sufficient to show heat of passion manslaughter as his love for

his wife, combined with her chronic pain, overcame his senses.

While it is true that the "passion" necessary for voluntary

manslaughter need not be anger or fear, but can be any

ener tot

[vJiolent, intense, high-wrought or enthusiastic emotion

[citation] other than revenge [citation]" (Breverman, supra, 19

Cal.4th at p. 163), the facts do not support a voluntary

manslaughter instruction here. As we have already discussed,

the facts do not show a killing committed in the heat of

passion, but rather a planned, calm event. Further, even if

Wenzel were able to show that at the time of the killing he was

_overwhelmed by his love for Lyn and her desire to die, as we

have also discussed, ante, there is no evidence of provocation

on her part sufficient to support a manslaughter instruction.

Finally, it is doubtful that a spouse's love and caring for

his or her ill spouse can ever support a manslaughter

Appendix A, 35

instruction where the ill spouse requests that the other kill him

or her to end suffering, and the defendant does so. In People

v. Matlock (1959) 51 Cal.2d 682 (Matlock), the California

Supreme Court was presented with the issue of whether

someone who actively participates in an individual's suicide,

pursuant to the victim's request, can be found guilty of advising

or encouraging a suicide under section 401,’ or only of murder.

The high court held that one who actively participates in

causing the victim's death can only be convicted of murder:

[Where a person actually performs, or

actively assists in performing the overt

act resulting in death, such as shooting

or stabbing the victim, administering the

poison, or holding one under water until

death takes place by drowning, his act

constitutes murder, and it is wholly

immaterial whether this act is committed

pursuant to an agreement with the

victim, such as a mutual suicide pact.

(Matlock, supra, 51 Cal.2d at p. 694.)

We had the occasion to address the holding in Matlock

in People v. Cleaves (1991) 229 Cal.App.3d 367 (Cleaves),

wherein the defendant argued that he only killed the victim

who was suffering from AIDS at the victim's request and to

relieve his suffering. (/d. at pp. 372-373.) Pursuant to the

Section 401 provides that: "Every person who

deliberately aids, or advises, or encourages another to commit

suicide, is guilty of a felony."

_ Appendix A, 36

victim's request, the defendant assisted him in strangulating

himself. (/bid.) At trial, the court only instructed the jury on

second degree murder, refusing to instruct the jury on assisting

suicide, voluntary and involuntary manslaughter. (/d. at pp.

374-375.) The defendant was convicted of second degree

murder and appealed to this court. (/d. at p. 371.)

Relying on Matlock, we rejected the defendant's

contention that the facts supported a manslaughter instruction

based upon his asserted lack of malice:

"[Defendant] asks us to fashion a

manslaughter crime for a killing done at

the victim's request, based on the

absence of malice, which does not now

expressly exist under California law. ...

As recognized by [defendant], our

Supreme Court in [Matlock, supra, 51

Cal.2d at page 694,] defined a killing

pursuant to an agreement with the

victim as murder. Although Matlock

does not address the absence of malice

issue, as a lower tribunal we decline to

deviate from the parameters of

Matlock." (Cleaves, supra, 229

Cal.App.3d at p. 376.)

Likewise here, although the precise issue presented is

whether love and a suicide pact can combine to demonstrate a

lack of malice sufficient to reduce a crime to manslaughter, we

are also constrained by the holding in Matlock, as well as our

decision in Cleaves, that a mercy killing done at the request of

Appendix A, 37

another, even if motivated by love, is murder, not

manslaughter.

Finally, contrary to Wenzel's suggestion, his own

mental condition cannot support a finding of provocation. The

victim must cause the provocation. (People v. Lee, supra, 20

Cal.4th at p. 59 (plur. opn. of Baxter, J.); Jn re Thomas C.

(1986) 183 Cal.App.3d 786, 798 [defendant's depressed mental

state does not constitute provocation].) The court did not err

in refusing to instruct on voluntary manslaughter.

D. Court's Instruction on Malice

Wenzel contends that the court erred when it instructed

the jury, in response to their question concerning the definition

of express malice and conscious disregard for human life under

implied malice, that it should reread CALJIC No. 8.11 (quoted,

ante) and use their common sense and life experiences to

understand that instruction. We reject this contention.

Section 1138 provides in part that:

"After the jury have retired for

deliberation . . . if they desire to be

informed on any point of law arising in

the case, they must require the officer to

conduct them into court. Upon being

brought into court, the information

required must be given."

Thus, the "court has a primary duty to help the jury

understand the legal principles it is asked to apply." (People v.

Beardslee (1991) 53 Cal.3d 68, 97.) However, "[t]his does

Appendix A, 38

not mean the court must always elaborate on the standard

instructions. Where the original instructions are themselves full

and complete, the court has discretion under section 1138 to

determine what additional explanations are sufficient to satisfy

the jury's request for information. [Citation.] Indeed,

comments diverging from the standard are often risky... . It

should decide as to each jury question whether further

explanation is desirable, or whether it should merely reiterate

the instructions already given." (Beardslee, supra, at p. 97.)

Here, the court's instruction to reread the malice

instruction (CALJIC No. 8.11) and to use their common sense

and life experiences in defining the terms therein was proper.

The California Supreme Court has held that it is proper to

instruct a jury to reread malice instructions, particularly where,

as is the case here, the jury does not evidence any continued

confusion after the direction is given. (People v. Gonzalez

(1990) 51 Cal.3d 1179, 1212-1213.) Moreover, it was not

error for the court to tell the jury to use its common sense and

life experience in defining the terms in CALJIC No. 8.11.

"[J]urors are expected to bring their individual backgrounds

and experiences to bear on the deliberative process." (People

v. Pride (1992) 3 Cal.4th 195, 268.) The court did not err in

the manner it responded to the jury's question concerning the

definition of terms contained in CALJIC No. 8.11.

Appendix A, 39

E. Court's Instruction under CALJIC No. 17.41.1

Wenzel contends the court erred by instructing the jury

under CALJIC No. 17.41.1. Wenzel asserts that these

instructions impermissibly infringed on his federal and state

constitutional rights to a jury trial and due process by eroding

the privacy and secrecy of jury deliberations, thereby chilling

the free exchange of jurors’ views and their independent

judgment and pressuring minority jurors to acquiesce in the

views of the majority jurors. We reject these contentions.

The court instructed the jury under CALJIC No.

17.41.1 as follows:

"The integrity of a trial requires that

jurors, at all times during their

deliberations, conduct themselves as

required by these instructions.

Accordingly, should it occur that any

juror refuses to deliberate or expresses

an intention to disregard the law or to

decide the case based on penalty or

punishment, or any other improper

basis, it is the obligation of the other

jurors to immediately advise the court of

the situation."

The issue of the validity of CALJIC No. 17.41.1 is

pending before the California Supreme Court in several cases,

including People v. Engelman (2000) 77 Cal.App.4th 1297,

review granted April 26, 2000, S086462, and People v. Taylor

(2000) 80 Cal.App.4th 804, review granted August 23, 2000,

Appendix A, 40

S088909. However, an almost identical issue was recently

resolved by the high court in People v. Williams (2001) 25

Cal.4th 441 (Williams). The Williams decision compels the

conclusion that Wenzel's contention the court erred in

instructing under CALJIC Nos. 17.41.1 must be rejected.

In Williams, the Supreme Court was not asked to

decide whether CALJIC No. 17.41.1 impermissibly invades the

province of the jury by instructing them to follow the law, but

the question of the power of the court to remove a juror who

has refused to follow the law. (Williams, supra, 25 Cal.4th at

p. 444.) The defendant claimed that the discharge of a juror in

his case who refused to follow the law as given by the court

was improper as it violated the juror's right to "jury

nullification." (/bid.)

The Supreme Court, relying on numerous and uniform

federal and California authorities, concluded that while courts

are powerless to correct an actual exercise of the power of jury

nullification, courts do have the power and the obligation to

remove jurors who refuse to follow the law and the court's

instructions: "[T]he circumstance that the prosecution may be

powerless to challenge a jury verdict or finding that is

prompted by the jury's refusal to apply a particular law does

not lessen the obligation of each juror to obey the court's

instructions." (Williams, supra, 25 Cal.4th at p. 451.) The

Williams court, quoting the United States Supreme Court,

continued: "It is true, the jury may disregard the instructions

of the court, and in some cases there may be no remedy. But it

Appendix A, 41

is still the right of the court to instruct the jury on the law, and

the duty of the jury to obey the instructions.""

[Citation.] . . . 'We must hold firmly to the doctrine that in the

courts of the United States it is the duty of juries in criminal

cases to take the law from the court, and apply that law to the

facts as they find them to be from the evidence. Upon the

court rests the responsibility of declaring the law; upon the

jury, the responsibility of applying the law so declared to the

facts as they, upon their conscience, believe them to be.’

[Citation.]" (/d. at p. 451.)

Of particular relevance to our appeal, the court also

rejected the defendant's contention that even if a court need not

instruct the jury that it has the power to disregard the law,

"neither should it instruct the jury to the contrary that it may

_ not nullify the law...." (Williams, supra, 25 Cal.4th at pp.

456-457.) In rejecting this contention, the court in Williams

noted that public policy favors discouraging jurors from

ignoring the law: "[I]t is important not to encourage or glorify

the jury's power to disregard the law. While that power has,

on some occasions, achieved just results, it also has led to

verdicts based upon bigotry and racism. A jury that disregards

the law and, instead, reaches a verdict based upon the personal

views and beliefs of the jurors violates one of our nation's most

basic precepts: that we are 'a government of laws and not men.'

[Citation.]" (/d. at p. 459, fn. omitted.)

Thus, the court's instruction under CALJIC No.

17.41.1 did not improperly invade the jury process. The

Appendix A, 42

instruction simply restates the requirement that jurors conduct

themselves during deliberations as required by the trial court's

instructions.’ As instructed, jurors have a duty to follow the

law and to decide the case in accordance with proper

principles. They are not permitted to consider penalty or

punishment, to allow passion or prejudice to influence their

decisions or to attempt to nullify the law by refusing to fairly

apply it. (People v. Baca (1996) 48 Cal.App.4th 1703, 1707;

People v. Fernandez (1994) 26 Cal.App.4th 710, 714-716;

People v. Dillon (1983) 34 Cal.3d 441, 487-488, fn. 39.)

CALJIC No. 17.41.1 essentially summarizes those instructions

governing the role of a juror, although restated in a way that

makes it clear each juror has an obligation to inform the court

a ee

In this case, the jurors were admonished, among other

things, that they have a responsibility to deliberate and act as

impartial judges of the facts (CALJIC Nos. 17.40, 17.41); they

must decide the case solely on the evidence presented to them

and may not independently investigate the facts or the law, or

consider or discuss facts as to which there was no evidence

(CALJIC No. 1.03 (1998 rev.) (6th ed. 1996)); they must not

discuss or consider the subject of penalty or punishment

(CALJIC No. 17.42); they must not be influenced by pity for,

or prejudice against, the defendant or by mere sentiment,

conjecture, sympathy, passion, prejudice, public opinion, or

public feeling (CALJIC No. 1.00); they are not partisans or

advocates in the case but rather impartial judges of the facts

(CALJIC No. 17.41); and both parties have a right to expect

the jurors will conscientiously consider and weigh the evidence,

apply the law, and reach a just verdict regardless of the

consequences (CALJIC No. 1.00).

EBEST AVAILABLE COPY!

Appendix A, 43

if any other juror refuses to deliberate, expresses an intention

to disregard the law, or expresses an intention to decide the

case based on penalty or any other improper basis. Because

jury deliberation constitutes an element of the right to a jury

trial, a juror's refusal to deliberate or expressed intent to

disregard the law or decide the case on an improper basis

constitutes a failure to perform the juror's duty, justifying

removal. (Williams, supra, 25 Cal.4th at p. 463.) As Williams

states:

"Jury nullification is contrary to our

ideal of equal justice for all and permits

both the prosecution's case and the

defendant's fate to depend upon the

whims of a particular jury, rather than

upon the equal application of settled

rules of law." (Williams, supra, 25

Cai.4th at p. 463.)

Therefore, CALJIC No. 17.41.1 does not compromise

the integrity of the deliberative process, but simply restates

some of the jurors’ duties and informs them they should advise

the trial court if they believe a fellow juror is engaging in

misconduct. The instructions do not intrude on the secrecy of

the deliberative process. The instructions do not require jurors

to report holdouts or those who disagree with the majority, or

to tell the court about their individual thought processes during

deliberations. Finally, the instructions do not place undue

pressure on a juror to not adhere to a decision disfavored by

other jurors for fear he or she will be reported to the court.

Appendix A, 44

We presume that jurors follow the court's admonition that they

should not change their opinions or decide any question in a

particular way because the majority of jurors, or any of them,

favors that decision. (See CALJIC No. 17.40.)

Wenzel asserts that instructing the jury under CALJIC

No. 17.41.1 was particularly egregious in this case given a

"hold out" juror's question whether Lyn was dead at the time

Wenzel went upstairs and the court's subsequent instruction

that there was no evidence that Lyn was already dead when

Wenzel went upstairs. However, as we have already discussed,

ante, the court's comment on the evidence in response to this

question was entirely proper. Moreover, the juror here was

not a holdout who disagreed with the remaining jurors

concerning the state of the evidence. The juror's statement, "I

can never know because I wasn't there. I'm not sure that she

wasn't already dead," did not reflect a disagreement on the

strength of the evidence. Rather, it reflected an unwillingness

to come to any conclusion as to the cause of Lyn's death,

despite the uncontradicted evidence that she died at Wenzel's

hands, simply because the juror "wasn't there." The jurors

acted appropriately in reporting this juror's refusal to follow the

court's instructions and deliberate based upon the evidence, and

the court was justified in instructing the jury what the evidence

was. Further, there is no indication that the court's comment

upon the evidence and its instruction to the jury actually

intimidated a holdout juror. The jury deliberated for an

additional four days before reaching a verdict. The instruction

Appendix A, 45

under CALJIC No. 17.41.1 did not infringe upon the jurors'

deliberations in this matter.

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude the court did

not err by giving CALJIC No. 17.41.1. The instruction was

neither intrusive nor coercive.” It correctly reminded the jurors

of their duty to decide the case based on the evidence

presented at trial and the law as instructed by the court.

F. Court's Exclusion of Expert Testimony

Wenzel asserts that the court erred in refusing to let his

expert (Dr. Smith) answer hypothetical questions concerning

Wenzel's mental state at the time of Lyn's murder. We reject

this contention.

1. Standard of Review

We review a court's decision to admit or exclude expert

testimony under the deferential abuse of discretion standard.

(People v. Mayfield (1997) 14 Cal.4th 668, 766.)

2. Analysis

Section 28, subdivision (a) provides:

"Evidence of a mental disease, mental

defect, or mental disorder shall not be

admitted to show or negate the capacity

to form any mental state, including, but

not limited to, purpose, intent,

>

CALJIC No. 17.41.1 contains no language suggesting

that a juror is exposed to personal sanctions if he or she refuses

to follow the law, so there is no coercive aspect to this

instruction. (Cf. People v. Sanchez (1997) 58 Cal.App.4th

1435, 1446 & fn. 2.)

a

Appendix A, 46

knowledge, premeditation, deliberation,

or malice aforethought, with which the

accused committed the act. Evidence of

mental disease , mental defect, or mental

disorder is admissible solely on the issue

of whether or not the accused actually

formed a required specific intent,

premeditated, deliberated, or harbored

malice aforethought, when a specific

intent crime is charged."

Section 29 provides:

"In the guilt phase of a criminal action,

any expert testifying about a defendant's

mental illness, mental disorder, or

mental defect shall not testify as to

whether the defendant had or did not

have the required mental states, which

include, but are not limited to, purpose,

intent, knowledge, or malice

aforethought, for the crimes charged.

The question as to whether the

defendant had or did not have the

required mental states shall be decided

by the trier of fact."- (Italics added.)

Section 29 thus forbids a defense expert from testifying

on the ultimate issue of whether a defendant had the requisite

mental state at the time he committed the charged offense.

(People v. McCowan (1986) 182 Cal.App.3d 1, 13, 14.) "The

Legislature has determined that judges and jurors are capable

of deciding whether a defendant's mental illness resulted in an

Appendix A, 47

inability to form the mental state required to sustain the charge.

Such testimony is not ‘sufficiently beyond common experience

that the opinion of an expert would assist the trier of fact... .'

[Citation.]" (/d. at p. 14.)

Wenzel asserts that the proposed testimony of Dr.

Smith that was excluded by the court did not run afoul of

section 29 because it was couched in terms of whether a

hypothetical person, suffering from the same disorder as

Wenzel, would have formed the requisite malice necessary to

be found guilty of murder. However, regardless of whether a

hypothetical person was used as the basis of Dr. Smith's expert

testimony, it was improper under section 29. Dr. Smith was

required to assume facts identical to Wenzel's case and assume

a hypothetical person with the identical psychological makeup

as Wenzel. Dr. Smith would then be asked whether, at the

time this hypothetical person put his hands over his wife's

mouth and nose, he would have (1) carefully thought out what

he was doing; (2) weighed the considerations for and against

his conduct; (3) been acting based on reasoned judgment; (4)

been deliberating his conduct; and (5) been acting under the

emotion of the moment. Changing the subject of the testimony

to a hypothetical person does not change the fact that Dr.

Smith was going to testify whether Wenzel, at the time he

killed Lyn, had the requisite intent necessary for murder.

In People v. Nunn (1996) 50 Cal.App.4th 1357, the

trial court excluded the expert opinion of a defense witness

that, based upon the defendant's inebriation and tendency to

Appendix A, 48

overreact to stress, he fired his rifle "impulsively" at the time of

the offense. (/d. at pp. 1361-1362.) The defendant argued on

appeal that this was proper because the expert avoided the use

of the legal name of the mental state in question. (/d. at p.

1364.) However, in affirming the trial court's ruling, we

rejected such "game playing." (/bid.) As we stated there, "An

expert may not evade the restrictions of section 29 by couching

an opinion in words which are or would be taken as synonyms

for the mental states involved." (People v. Nunn, supra, at p.

1364.)

Likewise in this case, Wenzel cannot evade the terms of

section 29 by offering an opinion as to the mental state of a

hypothetical person with the same mental condition at the time

he or she committed an identical crime. To hold otherwise

would render the limits imposed by section 24 meaningless.

The court did not err in excluding that portior of defense

expert Dr. Smith's testimony concerning Werzel's mental state

at the time he killed his wife Lyn.

G. Court's Instruction Re Wenzel's Refusal To

Cooperate with the Court-Ordered Psychiatric Exam

Wenzel contends that the court erred mn instructing the

jury concerning his refusal to participate in a sourt-ordered

psychological exam because such an examinétion was barred

by the terms of Proposition 115 (§§ 1054-1054.8). We reject

this contention.

Section 1054, subdivision (e) provides that "no

discovery shall occur in criminal cases excep: as provided by

Appendix A, 49

this chapter, other express statutory provisions, or as mandated

by the Constitution of the United States." (Italics added.)

Evidence Code section 730 provides in part:

"When it appears to the court, at any

time before or during the trial of an

action, that expert evidence is or may be

required by the court or by any party to

the action, the court on its own motion

or on motion of any party may appoint

one or more experts to investigate, to

render a report as may be ordered by the

court, and to testify as an expert at the

trial of the action relative to the fact or

matter as to which the expert evidence is

or may be required."

Under Evidence Code section 730, a court may, in its

discretion, order a psychiatric or psychological examination

where a party's mental state is at issue. (Jn re Marriage of Kim

(1989) 208 Cal.App.3d 364, 372; People v. Ayala (2000) 23

Cal.4th 225, 264.) Further, the California Supreme Court has

upheld an instruction almost identical to the one challenged

here where the defendant refused to abide by a court's order to

submit to a mental examination after the defendant put his

mental state in issue. (People v. Carpenter (1997) 15 Cal.4th

312, 412-413.) In upholding the instruction, the high court

stated, "Defendant had no right to refuse to cooperate with the

psychologist, so the jury could properly consider his refusal.

[Citation.] The jury could properly infer that defendant wanted

only his self-chosen experts, not others, to evaluate him, an

Appendix A, 50

inference relevant to its consideration of all evidence of his

mental condition." (/d. at p. 413.)

Wenzel claims that the order compelling a psychiatric

examination was improper as there is no express authority for

such an examination, and therefore it violated the terms of

section 1054, subdivision (e). Wenzel asserts that Evidence

Code section 730 at most only allows the appointment of an

expert, not a forced psychiatric examination. However, this

ignores the terms of Evidence Code section 730. Evidence

Code section 730 allows the court to appoint an expert to

"investigate" an issue that the court deems should be the

subject of expert testimony. Section 730 thus provides express

authority for a court to compel a psychiatric examination. (See

In re Marriage of Kim, supra, 208 Cal.App.3d at p. 372.) The

court did not err in instructing the jury concerning Wenzel's

failure to comply with a court ordered psychiatric examination.

H. Instruction under CALJIC No. 2.90

Wenzel contends that the court erred in instructing the

jury under CALJIC No. 2.90, defining reasonable doubt,

claiming that instruction is unconstitutional as it fails to instruct

the jury that they must find Wenzel's guilt by a standard of

"evidentiary certainty" or "subjective state of near certitude."

We reject this contention.

We conclude that CALJIC No. 2.90 properly defines

the reasonable doubt standard of proof because it substantially

adopts language suggested by the California Supreme Court in

People v. Freeman (1994) 8 Cal.4th 450, 504, footnote 9.

Appendix A, 51

Other courts have consistently upheld this instruction against

similar constitutional attacks. (People v. Hearon (1999) 72

Cal.App.4th 1285, 1286-1287; People v. Miller (1999) 69

Cal.App.4th 190, 213; People v. Sanchez (1997) 58

Cal.App.4th 1435, 1451; People v. Aguilar (1997) 58

Cal.App.4th 1196, 1207-1209; People v. Godwin (1996) 50

Cal.App.4th 1562, 1571-1572; Lisenbee v. Henry (9th Cir.

1999) 166 F.3d 997, 998-1000.) We decline to adopt a

contrary position and conclude the trial court properly

instructed on reasonable doubt with CALJIC No. 2.90. As we

stated in People v. Carroll (1996) 47 Cal.App.4th 892, 896:

"We consider the opinion in People v. Freeman, supra, 8

Cal.4th 450 to be dispositive of this issue. The instruction

comports with the Supreme Court's determination of what is

the appropriate definition of reasonable doubt. It is for the

Supreme Court to reconsider such definition if it chooses to do

so. Our task is simple: we will apply the law as the Supreme

Court has stated it."

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed.

NARES, Acting P. J.

WE CONCUR:

McDONALD, J.

McCONNELL, J.

APPENDIX B

Sept 11, 2002 Order of the

California Supreme Court

Denying Review

Appendix B |

Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District, Division One - No. DO37914

$108214

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

-En Banc

THE PEOPLE, Plaintiff and Respondent,

SUPREME COURT

FILED

. SEP | 7

V ft ore K. Ohlrich Clerk

— ec

GEORGE MARTIN WENZEL, Defendant and Appellant

Petition for review DENIED.

Kennard, J., is of the opinion the petition should be granted.

GEORGE

Chief Justice

APPENDIX C

Chart: Survey of 50 State’s reasonable doubt definitions

(7661) 6bZ PZ'd 78 ‘UeWID0I4 A[UO ,.UOT}SIAUOD BuIpiqe,, BIUIOJITED

«YIN at} JO UONSIAUOD Surpiqe™**-azt]

(p661) ZU EIL JO suONoesUR]] J9ABIB 9Y} UI 3}e}ISaYy pue asned }

‘POL AV SIE ‘2181S “A Souor 0} UosIod [njored B asned pynom yey) aUO"",, sesueyly

(Z007Z) 1'1Z7 U duu 3S ZV

(S661) 965°76S _<P20UIAU09

‘ZUV ZZ ‘OlpNog “A 9181S Aju" -ayqeqoad ATysry,, uey) , njramod aio, euoZLIV

« SHTBIJE

yue}Odui! MOA Ul UOTePISaY yNoyIM 1 UOdN

ye pure A]oI 0} BUTT[IM 9q pjnom nod*"yeIj

(8661) 101 19}981BY9 BUIDUIAUOD B YONs Jo JooId"-asuas

“86 PZ'd L96 ‘2181S A UOSTIA, UOUWIWWOD pue UOseaI UOdn paseq iqnop,, eysely

| « PoUsIsse aq UBD UOSROI

(1.661) €¢8 YoryM JOJ WQnop e}qnop yenjoe"-AyuTeyII9

“$78 PZOS SIZ ‘a1R1S ‘A pAOG [RJOW B 0} UOT}DIAUOD BuIprae,, eureqely

SASVO SV GUNI44d LANOG ATAVNOSVAU ALVLS

| D xipuoddy

co OFT UI

' (8661) SI9}VUW JULLIOCUIT SIOW JO JOARIB JY} UI 49e 0} BIquINjod

'T8 “8L PZ V 60L “SNA UNWIg | ayENSOY,,"a]qeqord ATYBTY Ue [NJJoMod o10U JO PSIG

«"IQNOP ay} JO WyouIq

UOTONIsUI 94} JUBPUaJap oY} SAIZ Jsnu NOA***AyINB

J9jUd_ JeloIpne [elapo.j usayjed JOU SI JUBpUdJap 94} yey)’ AVI]IQissod

(6661) ZS8 a[qeuoseal B S aiay}"" J] ““yINd s ,juepuayop

“€p8 PTV ZEL ‘BIS “A STI 34} JO P9OUIAUOD ATULIITY NOA saavaq] yey} Joosd,, sIeMeIIQ]

(0007) r0z «° }QNOp jsouOY Ue"}qQnop [eal

*“S6l “WUOD €S7 “UIJUD “A 91815 B SOUPLOCUIT JO S19}}VUI UI Je 0} D}eyISOY,, mnd1d9UuUOZ

« OsTeYD

34} JO YIN} 9} JO UONDIAUOD BuIpiqe

ue-asned pure 9}e}ISoy 0} Ue JUapnid pue

! 9/qQeuoseal B asNed P[NOM ‘ojI] 10 SUOTJORSURT]

(7961) Zz jueyodun ay} ul ‘se qnop e*-AjITIqGIssod

‘ObZ P19D OSI ‘a1doog ‘A ajninyH dJ9UI B JOU pUe }qnOp popuNoy-|jam

(S881) SSP pue jenueysqns ‘snolos e*ueUl ajqeuoseal &

‘Ob 9105 g ‘a]doag “A yoruryy =| JO purw oy} UI astze Ayyenyeu pynom se yqnop,, operl0jo_

7D xipueddy

(S661) 026 ‘896

Pe'ddy III 127 ‘soprey “a stouryyy NOLLINIASG ON stoutl|]

(6661) SIS ‘96b

OUPP] EE] “UOISIIEH °A 9}e1S «AJUTE}II9 [BIO B 0} UONIIAUOD BuIprage,, oyep]

cO'€ OIMVH

« Aynd Ajqeqoad 10°uorordsns sau""*}0u,,

(8661) «PESUTAUOD

ELL “MPH 06 ‘Z010q “A a]R1¢ AyULy,, pue , AV]IGQIssod [ral,, Jo asn paysefar 1leMepy

(7661)

799 BD 79Z ‘a1R1S ‘A UIMpeEg .AJUIeLI9D o]qQeuOseaL,, RIBIOAH

«IQNop a[qeuoseal A19A9 & puosaq

poaodd jou st a8zeyo sy) uay} ‘soye]]IOvA

1-L6 UonoNnHsuy Aine PUB SISABM YOIYM SUO jNq 2]qQeIS JOU

(9661) Stl ST YOIYM UO ST HT “UONOIAUOD & BulARY ‘JI “10

“Ev PZ OS 789 ‘a1wIg “A YTUIg | 4]INB Jo UONSTAUOD SuIpige ue JOU SI a19Y}"JI,, epHuoly

€ D xipueddy

(8661) ying ay} JO padurauos

EOL PZ'OS SOL ‘SUIRITTEM “A aeIS | ATwWUIy-asuas UOUTUOS pue uoseal UO p9seq,, BURISINO']

(Z)9S6 NU

(1007) 67'U Lob “Sth PEM'S 7

BC “YIBOMUOUIUIOY “A Sqooes NOLLINITAO ON Ayonyuay

(pL61) 12

‘SIL Uey SIZ “OOM “A 9781S NOLLINITHC ON sesue>

, (1861)

86 PZ AA'N ZOE ‘Aespury “A 9181S _]qnop a]qeuoseval eB puofaq

(9861) pSS parysies are nod usy} ‘y[INd JO UONSIAUODS

PZ AA'N L8€ “doysig *A 3181S Zurpiqe pue [[ny e savy NOA JI"}Qnop

801 “ON g]qvuoseal B sARY NOA Udt} “UOTeT[IIVA

uononysuy Ang WWOFIUs) EMO] JO BULDARM PUT INOA puly NOA™"FI,, BMO]

(0002) 78 “Ov8 P7'A'N

STL ‘aIeIg “A JOBAINSW pjeydn

(9661) Z06 ‘£68 _poourauos ApUuy"*,,ony yOu

eueipu]

ey) ony AjayI] Q10U,, Ue} ,.[NJJoMmod ss0UL,,

PZ'A'N $99 ‘aieIg “A Headoul

p 2 xipuoddy

(0007) 8EE

‘IEE PT M'N S19 ‘SRD *A 9381S AJUTL}IIO [BIOUI B 0} UOTJOIAUOD suIpiqe BJOSOUUIL]

(Z00Z)

98 “YN 99 “USI *A USTTV NOLLINISAG ON uesIYyo

(OS81)

(L861) LOZI PT A'N SIS OZE ‘S6T SSRI 6S “I9ISQOM “A YITBAMUOUIUOL)

*JaBIIQI [AIS “A YIPBoMUOWUUOT) _, AUIeyII9

suononysuy Aine [epoy| Jeou’’*AyUTe}IOO [BIOW pre sjqeuoseol,, "ssey]

_suieyje [euosiad JO ssoutsng INoA ul Joye

Z0:Z ‘uononsU] yueyIOdUI UL Ul UOIDAJaSad JNOYIIM Jat]aq

Aine wiayeg puelAey| yons uodn 398 0} But]IM 9q pynom noA yey}

(1661) 66€ ‘I6€ JU9}X9 dU} 0} "NOA SOUIAUOD P[NOM se Jooid

PIN 9F€ ‘2IBIG °A JoyoRgzI9/\ yons souinbas""uoseas uodn papunoj yqnop,, puey {ey

_,PotUIWIOS

(7661) 881 U99q SEY SUID dy} Jey} UTeLIOO JSOW[e"UOSvAI

‘CRI PTV Lp9 ‘Aoule A *A 3IR1S [Bodo] & USISse UBS NOA YSIYM yqQnop B,, ouieyy

¢ D xipueddy

I SG T1¢ “eyseiqan *A 10391 A,

(2007) 9%9

‘T19 “G2N P97 ‘NIGSON ‘A 91215

0°Z UOKHONsuy Aine

« Ol] JO SUONIesuey juRyOdUII pue

SNOL9S SJOU! SY} Ul UONR}ISOY ynNoYyM 3 UOdN

ye pure Aja pynom noA yey) BuroutAuod os,,

eyseiqe N

v00-1°ON IfSWW

(p861) IPE

“pEE WOW] pIZ ‘Ols0N'] “A ayRI

‘silejye UMO

sty JO juepOduI jsou sy} UI 41 UOdN joe pue

A]21 pjnom uosiad ajqeuoseal ev yeyy""-Joold,,

euro]

p0'ZOE PEND - IVI

(£661)

879 PT AMA'S 818 “JolUaM |,

(p661)

‘$9 PZT M'S 688 ‘UUNG “A a}R)5

(0007) 8hZ PE'M'S EI ‘AION

pjeydn Ajjuajsisuoo

ee

94} JO psdutAuod ATUL NOK Saavoq yey) Joosd,,

LINOSSIJJ

(psepur}s aje1doidde ue

JOU SI BUO]e UOT}DIAUOD BuIpIqe

ples Nod a194M) (9681) £78

‘078 “SSI! €Z ‘aIeIg “A SWUETTTI AY

(LL61) IL ‘L9 PZ'OS OSE ‘ae ‘A URUNITY

NOLLINIAAG ON

Iddississipy

9 D xipuaddy

(0861)

Elpv ‘LOb WN 6 ‘Ofuesey

09°0b “WUD IfNWN

(,,UOlSIAUOD

SuIpige Ue,, Se SDUDpPIAa BUIOUIAUOD pue Bie) )

Peuljap WNOd s194M) IsNOH “A 9}k}g :39S OSTY

« Ol] JO sdrejye yueyodur sour pue

JOARID SY} Ul 3B 0} 9]e}ISaY UOSJad a[qeuOsear

B ox P[NOM yey} JQnop JO pury ay) -

asUaS UOWIWOD puke UOseal UOdn paseq qnop,,

OdIX3JA] MON

(9661)

19 ‘€bv TN Lpl ‘eurpayy ‘A aje1¢

=

JOU UeY} any A[D¥I] QIOW yey) [nJIamod olour

AQSIof MON

(6661) IL ‘H'N €p1 ‘Aouoyeypy

(9261)

9€8 “HN 9II “49e1g “A DRI

(861) SE8 ‘ZEB

"H'N 811 ‘Quomjua,y “A 27815

9SBd SIY} 0} [enbo ssousnouas

pue soueyodul! Jo Buryjowios ayepopun 0} 41

JO yyBuays ay) UOdn 4oe 0} ayeyISaY"-adUapIAS

dU} [[B JO UONVIapIsuod [NJosed eB Jaye suTeUIOI

[TS Jey} UONDIAUOD BuIpige pue BuoNs,,

oysdwurey

MON

(8661 ‘419 496) 6IZI ‘60ZI

Ped OE] “Joyoepy “A Zoey

(Z00Z) IIZ°SLI § SUN

« OdIBYS BY} JO YIN} ay) Jo UONDTAUOD

Surpiqe ue*"azl] JO surejye AyYZIom aioul ou}

UI UOSIad B [ONUOD JO UI9AO3 Pjnom se yqnop,,

BpeAdNn

LD xipuaddy

($661)

0001 P7A'N ZS9 “Jolzued

(Z00Z) . Silejye UMO STY JO JURLOdUII jsou

6POS OLYO ZOOT “Bes “A BRIG =| OY) UI WI UOdN JOR puR Aja 0} BUTT]IM 9q pjnom

(d)S0O'106Z uosiod AJeUuIpsJO Ue***"aSUSS UOWUIOS pue

§ ‘uuy spod ‘Ady O1NO uOseal UO paseg }QNOp’"psduIAUOD ATW, o1uO

($661) 2007 T'f'd'N

(p661) »S9 PZ'AA'N SZS “ounzy

(9661) LOv “SOv Boxe

PZ M'N OSS “Joplouys *A 918g .YONIIAUODS SurIpige pue WUy,, YON

«Vind s JUepUsjap 34} JO NOA ssdUIAUOD

Ajaijus JO sarystyes Any yey) "uoseas

(S661) 9€ “ON Ive “Hoquiey uo paseq’"JesuNod Jo Aynuasul oy}

(10072) €€9-7€9 Aq paysadans yqnop B }I SI Jou""}Qnop pad10J Buljore)

*6Z9 “O'N ESE ‘SYOOH “A 3321S B JOU" “OIWIOpede Ue }OU"**d[qQIssOd SJOUT jOU,, YUION

P90UIAUOD ATWUIJ"*"UTe}19}U9 0} A[O¥I]

9q Pjnom ‘aoueyOdul sty} Jo J9}yeW eB Ul Bude

(1007) Z1Z-11Z “S0Z uosiad ajqeuosead B yeyy'[Aq]In3 Ajqeqoid

PZ OSI LY] ‘uRoUNG “A 9}R1S SI JUBPUDJop sy} Jey} JOOId] UeY} JosUONs*,, yO X MON

8 D xipuaddy

(9661)

Pll OS pzE “Aqueq ‘A a1k1¢

(100Z) 86 _ POOUTAUOD ATULIIJ"*"}9B 0} BJBPSOY 0} euljole;

‘SZ OS pre ‘AouUOHOP ‘A 238IG uosiod a]qeuoseal B ASNBD P[NOM jeY} }Qnop B,, ynos

(Z00Z) hb PZ'V L6L ‘prezeH

(Z00Z) 606

‘Tr6 PTV 68L ‘UMOIg “A 21R1$ « P2ouTAUOD ATWLUIy"’,, purls] spoyuy

(100Z) 9ZE “OIE Bd . a2ouBpyodull ysaysty By) JO

LOS “SUTYMBH ‘A UYPEOMUOWIWOD | Jo}eUl B uodn Burjo" s10JOq J[aSJaY JO J[OSWITY

(6661) Z8 ‘IZ &d ures}saJ ‘a}eyISay ‘asned 0} UOsIad a]qQIsUas pu

6SS ‘Aydin “A yyyBamMUOWWIOD [nyored “juoprud Be asned pynom se }qnop B,, eluea|Asuudd

, uoTyeuRldxs

(€661) 907 }S9q UMO S}I SI JQnOp 3/qeUOsea,,

‘ZOZ “UO LIE “Uolaysed “A a1¥1¢ NOLLINISAG ON u0s3I0O

(SL61) 767 PZ d L68 “21S

"A SIDAIET “(€861) 0S6 “86

PZ'd 6S9 ‘9181S “A pOomIapUuy) NOLLINITAG ON ewoye|yxO

6 D xipuaddy

(7661)

8Ib ‘Olp IA BSI ‘AdJag “A ayeIg

(7661) 19

‘Ob9 IA 8S] ‘UoyRPOW “A a121¢ NOLLINIJAG ON JUOWID A,

«JOB 0} punog

ore OYM 3SOY} JO Burpue}sJopuN ay) saoUIAUOD

‘PUI aU} SaljsHes YoIyM Joosd’yeyInboe ue 0}

(6661) ZIP Papua st ay “UmoyYs A[LO}eJsHes st y]INd sty

‘pOb PZ'd £16 ‘JoBoeL “A aIRIS JOYJOYM O} SB JQNOp a[qQeuUOseaI B JO dSed UI,, yen)

(000Z) €Z¢

‘OLS PE’ AAS 8Z ‘181g A UOS|neg NOLLINIJAG ON SEX9]

(Z007Z) 8Sb PEM 'S 64 “198uIT}aq

(8661) IZ PZ™’S 926 ‘IleH

(L661) 07S .Ajureyao yesowr **Aqyin3

‘68> PUT M’S Zh6 ‘USN ‘A aIRIS JO AjureyI99 dy} 0} se AjIsed sau PUIW 94} 39],, 9OSSSUUD |

« Ol] JO syoey yuepodurt

SJOU! 9Y} UI 9B O} B}e}ISSY JO asned 0} WITY

(661) SEL ‘ZEL 9sney 0} SB OS UOsiad juapnid kB jo yuswWSpni BjOyeG

PZ AMA'N ZIG “Uosse’y “A 2)R1¢ 94} ssasduit ATLeUIpso prnom YoIyM 3uo,, yynosg

O01 D xipusddy

(L661) GLI “PILI PZ'd €£6

‘ANEIS “A SLUBH *(b261) PE 1

“ShEI PT'd IZS “AIS “A ODSO0D NOLLINIAAd ON BUIWIOA A

. UoNRINIads JO yOMsSsan3"-}ou"azT]

(1661) Op] feuruD - If “SIM JO Jreyye juBLOduI jsour dy) UT JOR 0} UodN

(S661) 888 pa[[2d UsyM a3e}IS9Yy JO asned 0} sduaprud

‘OL8 PZ'SIA Z6I ‘RIIAY “A a7R1S Areulpso JO uosiad e asned pjnom se yqnop,, UISUODSI A,

oo Ht

uodn joe pure Ajai 0} 9)e}1Say JOU pjnom UOsed

9/QeUOseal B JBY} Jo}9eIeYD SUIDUTAUOD kB YoNsS

JO Jooid"*}oe 0} dye}IS9Yy UOSsJad ajqeuoseal

(0861) B SYR P|NOM Jey} Qnop JO pury sy} - BIUISIIA

CS “Lp BAM 991 “JOD “A aieIg | aSUds UOWTWOD pure UOseaI UOdn paseq 1Qnop,, ISOM

10° IdM «28EYO dU} JO

(S661) 9S9 YIN} ay} UI Jatjaq Suipiqe’uossad ajqeuoseas

"879 PTUM LZ “[Uld “A aeIg B JO PULL OU} UT JSIXD PjNOM se }qnop v,, uo}duryse A

(8861) 869 ‘ZL9 “BA PEZ ‘11.0

(8661) . UONSIAUOS

001°Z “ON UONSNysU] Aine B 10} YSnousd jou si AyIn3 yo Aytpiqeqoad, BIUISIIA

11 D xipuaddy

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.