Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mattel, Inc. v. MCA Records, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

)

No. 02-633

IN THE |

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

OCT 2 2 2002. |

Supreme Court of the United States

MATTEL, INC.,

Petitioner,

MCA RECORDS, INC., UNIVERSAL MUSIC INTERNATIONAL

LTD., UNIVERSAL Music A/S, MCA Music SCANDINAVIA

AB, AND UNIVERSAL MUSIC & VIDEO DISTRIBUTION, INC.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a W it of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

(213) 624-7707

Counsel for Petitioner

ADRIAN M. PRUETZ SETH P. WAXMAN

CHRISTOPHER TAYBACK Counsel of Record

MICHAEL T. ZELLER EDWARD C. DUMONT

STEVEN VAUGHAN TODD ZUBLER

QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART MAYA ALEXANDRI

OLIVER & HEDGES, LLP WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING

865 South Figueroa Street 2445 M Street, N.W.

10th Floor Washington, DC 20037

Los Angeles, CA 90017 (202) 663-6000

ane —

eee

OO ener

“

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the court of appeals erred in abandoning the

traditional likelihood-of-confusion test for trademark infringe-

ment under the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1114 and 1125, be-

cause the trademark was used as part of the title of an expres-

sive work.

2. Whether the unauthorized, diluting use of a famous

trademark to market a product is always a “noncommercial

use,” categorically exempt from liability under the Federal

Trademark Dilution Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c), so long as that

use “does [anything] more than propose a commercial transac-

tion.”

(1)

ii

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Petitioner Mattel, Inc., has no corporate parent, and no pub-

licly traded company owns 10% or more of its stock.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .....sssccccecceseeececeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeececcecce i

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6 eee. i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .....c.ccccccccsccccccccccccsscssssseseeseccccce v

Re I ana scccsvvcvvsovecsorovecenseecessesseseseee...

HN 5. csssoccosvonsinsvevseecoanoucsancoceococcecceeeeeccc 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI.

IOV OLIV ED cscs csensesasscssnsnsvsnsssssccsscscosoecccoece 2

IIE co scincsecissessccccecsascososesece: ee 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION.................... 7

I. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Ignores The Lan-

guage Of The Lanham Act, Unjustifiably Ex-

empts An Entire Category Of Potentially In-

fringing Conduct From Liability, And Conflicts

With Decisions Of Other Courts Of Appeals. ............... 7

I]. The Ninth Circuit’s Limitation Of Liability Un-

der The Federal Trademark Dilution Act To

Unautherized Uses That Do No More Than

Propose A Commercial Transaction Cannot Be

Squared With Congressional Intent Or The De-

RRO PU CNN CCUG oasis sassscssecosscosesecsseseceseseceses 13

esis uhcin vvssonessonuiskndenavesanndnes 19

APPENDIX A: Opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, dated J uly 24,

GN aiid cults sie Sesicnaelasiastelsncidiiacdecsapernsnannesesresn la

APPENDIX B: Order of the United States District

Court for the Central District of California de-

nying motion for preliminary injunction, dated

I WI oss sosstcssnsssschnsninseedanddoeussieseonessce, 21a

1V

APPENDIX C: Order of the United States District

Court for the Central District of California

granting motion for summary judgment, dated

TNE Dy Ti a cicichersnitinntnntvinnitiniicisiiniiaiiaaeimmiensuiann Sla

APPENDIX D: Constitutional and statutory provi-

I iin censtnscrsnsninniescecint th lainsinacuianianesniinidamnaionions 133a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page(s)

AMF, Inc. v. Sleekcraft Boats, 599 F.2d 341 (9th Cir.

PUFFS Povvevicestlcinsnebehsuttcnbibsauiiiodibumisintaiemseidinacs aati 7

Anderson v. Treadwell, 294 F.3d 453 (2d Cir. 2002)........... 15

Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. Balducci Publications, 28

Fe FOP I CW, BOD nessa irctcetieecende ce ta, ¥7

Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. L & L Wings, Inc., 962 F.2d

SP TC FI wiistisetineeteceiin eee ats 10, 12

Board of Trustees v. Fox, 492 U.S. 469 i iiistetaidenticad 14

Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Public Ser-

vice Commission, 447 U.S. 557 PR di sritdicttiiecateieinits 10

Chemical Corp. of America v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc.,

306 F.2d 433 (Sth Cir. 1962) .0......ccccccccccccsccsoscecoseeeeee... 18

City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Network, Inc., 507

hs SE CTINO TS osarinssanen amide eee 14

Cliffs Notes, Inc. v. Bantam Doubleday Dell Publish-

ing Group, Inc., 886 F.2d 490 (2d Cir. i 10

Elvis Presley Enterprises, Inc. v. Capece, 141 F.3d

Se CPC, DUO icine ke ed 8

Federal Express Corp. v. Federal Espresso, Inc., 201

F.3d 168, 175 (2d Cir. 2000) .0...c.cccccccccccsceseccocececccceceen. 16

Harley-Davidson, Inc. v. Grottanelli, 164 F.3d 806

MM TL Per ANE ES 18

Hormel Foods Corp. v. Jim Henson Prods., Inc., 73

Pe TT COR, CO enced deionchcs ee: 16

L.L. Bean, Inc. v. Drake Publishers, Inc., 811 F.2d 26

CRE SS POO iii Sisnctcncoeesthictebinacs tae eee 16, 17

Mutual of Omaha Insurance Co. v. Novak, 836 F.2d

Pre GRO WUD hinciicticciaetig! Bice 12,18

Nabisco, Inc. v. PF Brands, Inc., 191 F.3d 208 (2d

Se We niinticniinanaieidcesadiicaian tan ree eet 18

Nike, Inc. v. “Just Did It” Enterprises, 6 F.3d 1225

CAR SR aiivmstednantatceie te ao ore 12

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page(s)

Polaroid Corp. v. Polaroid Electronics Corp., 287

F.2d 492 (2d Cir. 1961) .....corccccsrsroccressoscerccocessvsersseoesesoes 8

Rogers v. Grimaldi, 875 F.2d 994 (2d Cir. 1989) .......... 5, 6,9

Sports Authority, Inc. v. Prime Hospitality Corp., 89

F.3d 955 (2d Cir. 1996) .......ccrrccccrscccrreccceeccccvvescrsessooees 16

Sugar Busters LLC v. Brennan, 177 F.3d 258 (Sth

Che. BD BD) vvcccasierscssercscsvsncssoncosstncepessettensnareusesinntencsbnchideds |

Twin Peaks Productions, Inc. v. Publications Inter-

national, Ltd., 996 F.2d 1366 (2d Cir. 1993) ............ 9,11

Westchester Media v. PRL USA Holdings, Inc., 214

F.3d 658 (Sth Cir. 2000) .....ccrcccccorssscrsscsccccscsevevesevseneees 12

STATUTES

0S UGC. © PIG seccecssvcrceceesnnesescssonsinensevesepeensetssunnnnennnaiia 2

1S UBC. & PD EOCE) cccccccesccscccscsescecscoesonsosasscnnvemeoneanautons 5

1S UF.GC. © TADS. .ecerccesorssersrsssesetsessessesnnesnennesnenneseneuenaaaans 2

BS UGC. & EUG IaD ccccccecsessqseversesescenentaresecesnenesnsnengstinns 5,7,9

BS U.B.C. © PRT BCC) ..ccccccerorcercertncesevsensantnesensnnnstonsenanceniets 5,13

EBtt ted & | > » ROE 13

2B U.S.C. § BZSELT) ccceccsscscesseseccescesoncccessnscsossnnsstessunbasnpenvanssnns 2

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

H.R. Rep. No. 104-374 (1995) .......cccccseeseeeeseeees 13, 14, 15, 19

141 Cong. Rec. 38,559 (1995)...........cccsercresssreersessesssseeees 15

BOOKS, ARTICLES & TREATISES

Sandra Edelman & Bruce R. Ewing, The Federal

Trademark Dilution Act of 1995: A Litigation

Pe» spective, 86 Trademark Rep. 485 (July-Aug.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 02-633

MATTEL, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

MCA RECcorDs, INC., UNIVERSAL MUSIC INTERNATIONAL

LTD., UNIVE;SAL Music A/S, MCA Music SCANDINAVIA

AB, AND UNIVERSAL Music & VIDEO DISTRIBUTION, INC.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mattel, Inc. (“Mattel”) respectfully petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. 1a-20a) is re-

ported at 296 F.3d 894. The opinion of the district court grant-

ing summary judgment (App. 51a-132a) to respondents is re-

ported at 28 F. Supp. 2d 1120. The district court’s earlier opin-

ion denying Mattel a preliminary injunction (App. 21a-50a) is

reported at 46 U.S.P.Q.2d 1407.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

July 24, 2002. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitution and

relevant portions of Sections 32 and 43 of the Lanham Act, 15

U.S.C. §§ 1114 and 1125, are reprinted in the Appendix at

pages 133a-137a.

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner Mattel manufactures and licenses a wide

range of consumer products. Its most famous and valus.-ie

trademark is the BARBIE brand, which Mattel spends well over

$100 million each year to market and promote in the United

States alone. The BARBIE product line has expanded from a

single female fashion doll, first released in 1959, into a vast ar-

ray of products sold under the BARBIE mark, including every-

thing from purses to computer hardware. Although different

BARBIE products are marketed to different groups of consum-

ers of all ages, the primary target market for BARBIE products

is three- to eleven-year-old girls. Pet. App. 104a.

Most pertinent here, and beginning as early as 1961, Mattel

has cultivated a substantial market for BARBIE music and mu-

sic-related products. For more than 15 years Mattel has regu-

larly released such products, including BARBIE country music,

music cassettes, musical instruments, juke boxes, and music-

themed playsets and dolls. ER 95, 156-64, 176, 186, 191."

These BARBIE music products almost always contain the

trademark BARBIE in the title. ER 95-97. In 1990, for exam-

ple, Mattel licensed a recording of dance music sung by

“BARBIE,” called “Barbie: The Look,” which it sold under the

Y “ER” refers to the Excerpts of Record filed in the court of appeals.

3

BARBIE mark and packaged in “BARBIE pink.” ER 149-55.

“Barbie: The Look” was advertised on the Nickelodeon cable

television channel (the “Kid’s Network”) and featured in hun-

dreds of publications. In addition, at the same time that respon-

dents were conducting the marketing campaign at issue in this

case, Mattel concluded an agreement with Sony Music’s chil-

dren’s division to release a BARBIE CD and music video. ER

1757-65. The principal consumer base for Mattel’s BARBIE

music products has been girls aged five through the teens. ER

1239, 1281.

2. Respondents MCA Records, Inc. and affiliates (collec-

tively, “MCA”) are part of the largest music company in the

world. In 1997, MCA began promoting a pop music recording

called “Barbie Girl,” by the Danish group “Aqua.” MCA’s

marketing of the “Barbie Girl” recording intentionally and suc-

cessfully targeted a core group of Mattel’s BARBIE consumers.

Specifically, MCA focused its promotional efforts on girls aged

9 to 14—a group that, the district court found (Pet. App. 10a),

overlapped significantly with the principal target market for

Mattel’s BARBIE products, including musical products.”

MCA achieved this success among Mattel’s actual or po-

tential customers by, among other things:

* marketing the “Barbie Girl” recording in packaging and on

many CDs and CD-ROMs that featured the title “Barbie

Girl” in bright pink lettering—similar to Mattel’s

“BARBIE pink” (ER 1499-1506);

advertising the “Barbie Girl” recording during children’s

television programming on Saturday morning and in the af-

ter-school hours of 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. (ER 1820, 1830-

31);

va substantial portion of the actual purchasers of MCA’s recording

were even younger than 9-14, and therefore closer to Mattel’s own consumer

base. As MCA’s market research revealed, 40 percent of those who pur-

chased the “Barbie Girl” recording were under 13. Id. at 104a. Two-thirds

of the purchasers were female. ER 1165, 1170.

4

e creating a promotional music video that began with the

“Barbie Girl” title in the color pink and that used pink

scenery and props similar to well-known BARBIE products

such as the BARBIE DREAM HOUSE—another Mattel

trademark (ER 1513-20); and

e referring to Mattel’s BARBIE DREAM HOUSE in press

releases about the “Barbie Girl” recording (ER 1693-94).

Lest there be any doubt about the self-consciousness of

these marketing efforts, MCA also attempted to sell “Barbie

Girl” recordings through Toys ‘R’ Us, a primary retail outlet for

Mattel’s BARBIE products (ER 1175-79), considered advertis-

ing its “Barbie Girl” products on Nickelodeon (the ‘Kids’ Net-

work”) (ER 1828), and produced a run of pink, heart-shaped

purses labeled “Barbie Girl”—a promotional item that MCA

abandoned only after Mattel filed suit (ER 1 199-1203).

MCA’s marketing efforts paid off handsomely: In the

United States alone, MCA sold more than 1.4 million copies of

recordings of or including the “Barbie Girl” song. Pet. App.

21a. That same marketing, however, alSo caused considerable

confusion as to whether Mattel had released the “Barbie Girl”

recording as a BARBIE brand product. Mattel received e-mails

from young girls who believed that “BARBIE” had written or

performed the song, and asked for copies of it. ER 1620-50.

Mattel employees were asked if Mattel had released the re-

cording. ER 1286-88. A survey conducted by Mattel con-

firmed that there was substantial actual confusion among con-

sumers. ER 904. Indeed, many survey participants who

thought that the “Barbie Girl” recording was about the BARBIE

doll believed that the song was an advertisement for the doll.

ER 862-903. Sophisticated third parties also recognized the

high likelihood of consumer confusion: NBC refused to air one

of MCA’s television advertisements for the Aqua album unless

the advertisement was modified to include a readily apparent

and readable disclaimer on it. ER 1737, 1740.

ee ee ee ee

5

3. Mattel sued MCA to remedy the effects of MCA’s con-

fusing marketing campaign using Mattel’s trademark and tar-

geting Mattel’s consumers. Its complaint alleged, among other

things, trademark infringement under Sections 32(1 ) and 43(a)

of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. 8§ 1114(1) and 1125(a), and

trademark dilution under the Federal Trademark Dilution Act

(“FTDA”), 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c).

The district court refused Mattel’s request for a preliminary

injunction (Pet. App. 21a-50a), and later granted summary

judgment in favor of MCA on Mattel’s infringement and dilu-

tion claims. The court concluded principally that MCA’s ac-

tivities did not amount to infringement because MCA had made

only “nominative fair use” of the BARBIE trademark. Id. at

84a-89a. Alternatively, the court considered Mattel’s infringe-

ment claim under the traditional likelihood-of-confusion analy-

sis, and concluded that MCA was entitled to judgment “as a

matter of law.” Jd. at 91a, 90a-108a. The district court also

rejected Mattel’s dilution claim, holding that MCA’s use of tiie

BARBIE trademark was “for purposes of parody,” and was

therefore protected by the statutory exemption for “noncom-

mercial use” of a mark. Jd. at 11 1a-116a.

4. The court of appeals affirmed. /d. at 1a-20a. With re-

spect to infringement, the court did not address Mattel’s central

submission that it had adduced sufficient evidence of likely

consumer confusion resulting from MCA’s marketing use of the

BARBIE trademark to raise genuine issues of fact that should

be resolved by a jury. See id. at 4a-8a. Rather, concluding that

the standard likelihood-of-confusion analysis “fails to account

for the full weight of the public’s interest in free expression,”

id. at 4a-5Sa, the court adopted a new approach that, it said, ren-

dered the traditional inquiry irrelevant.

Purporting to adopt a test articulated by the Second Circuit

in Rogers v. Grimaldi, 875 F.2d 994 (2d Cir. 1989), the court

held that, as a categorical matter, “literary titles do not violate

the Lanham Act ‘unless the title has no artistic relevance to the

6 :

underlying work whatsoever, or, if it has some artistic rele-

vance, unless the title explicitly misleads as to the source or the

content of the work.’” Pet. App. 8a (quoting Rogers, 875 F.2d

at 999). The court found MCA’s marketing activities immune

from Lanham Act liability because the title “Barbie Girl” was

relevant to the content of Aqua’s song, and because the title it-

self did not, in the court’s view, “explicitly mislead as to the

source of the work.” Jd. The court’s analysis gave no weight at

all to how the “Barbie Girl” recording and related products were

marketed to or perceived by the consuming public.

The court of appeals also concluded that MCA’s use of the

BARBIE mark was exempt from liability under the FTDA. Id.

at 8a-i6a. The court recognized that all the basic statutory

predicates for liability were satisfied, because MCA had made

“commercial use in commerce” of Mattel’s famous mark, in a

way that diluted the distinctive quality of the mark. /d. at 10a-

1 1a. The court nonetheless concluded that MCA’s conduct was

shielded as a “noncommercial use” of the mark. Jd. at 1 1a-16a.

Reasoning that Congress, in enacting the noncommercial use

exception, intended to incorporate the First Amendment con-

cept of “commercial speech,” the court concluded that any use

of a trademark should fall within the exception so long as it is

not “‘purely commercial’ [speech]—that is, if it does more than

promote a commercial transaction.” Id. at 14a-15a. In the

court’s view, use of the BARBIE trademark in the title “Barbie

Girl” was not “purely commercial speech,” and all of MCA’s

marketing activities—admittedly, “us[ing] Barbie’s name to sell

copies of the song’—were shielded from dilution liability by

the “noncommercial use” exemption. /d. at 15a-16a.

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Ignores The Language Of

The Lanham Act, Unjustifiably Exempts An Entire

Category Of Potentially Infringing Conduct From Li-

ability, And Conflicts With Decisions Of Other Courts

Of Appeals. a ee

Until the decision below, all courts of appeals analyzed

trademark infringement claims using the traditional likelihood-

of-confusion test derived directly from basic trademark princi-

ples and the language of the Lanham Act. In this case, how-

ever, the Ninth Circuit pushed that test aside and held that

where a trademark is used in the title of an expressive work, all

related uses of the mark—including usage in marketing the

work—are effectively immune from liability for infringement.

That holding is inconsistent with the text of the Lanham Act,

and conflicts with the decisions of other courts of appeals.

1. Sections 32(1)(a) and 43(a)(1) of the Lanham Act pro-

hibit any person from using another party’s trademark in con-

nection with the sale of goods or services if that use is “likely to

cause confusion” regarding the source or sponsorship of, or

connection, affiliation, or association with, the goods or ser-

vices. 15 U.S.C. §§ 1114(1)(a), 1125(a)(1). For decades,

courts in each circuit have analyzed Lanham Act infringement

Cases using some version of a multi-factor “likelihood of confu-

sion” test. In the Ninth Circuit, for example, courts consider

eight non-exclusive factors, including (1) the strength of the

plaintiff’s mark; (2) the proximity or relatedness of the parties’

goods; (3) the similarity of the marks; (4) evidence of actual

confusion; (5) the marketing channels used; (6) the type of

goods and degree of care likely to be used by the purchaser; (7)

the defendant’s intent in selecting the mark; and (8) the likeli-

hood of expansion of the relevant product lines. See Pet. App.

90a-91a; AMF, Inc. v. Sleekcraft Boats, 599 F.2d 341, 348-49

(9th Cir. 1979). Other circuits use substantially similar versions

of the likelihood-of-confusion test. See, e.g., Elvis Presley En-

8

ters., Inc. v. Capece, 141 F.3d 188, 194-96 (Sth Cir. 1998); Po-

laroid Corp. v. Polaroid Elecs. Corp., 287 F.2d 492, 495 (2d

Cir. 1961).

In this case, the district court granted summary judgment

for MCA on the basis (in part) of its analysis of the Sleekcraft

factors, and Mattel argued on appeal that that decision should

be reversed because its evidence was sufficient to require sub-

mission of the case to a jury. The Ninth Circuit, however, sim-

ply jettisoned the traditional likelihood-of-confusion test in ana-

lyzing MCA’s marketing of sound recordings of or including

“Barbie Girl.” The court acknowledged that MCA had used

Mattel’s BARBIE mark. But it held that because the lyrics of

the song “Barbie Girl” were parodic speech protected by the

First Amendment, and because the title featuring Mattel’s mark

was relevant to the song’s expressive message and did not (in

the court’s view) “explicitly mislead” consumers as to the

source of the song, Mattel had no trademark infringement claim

of any sort—regardless of the manner in which MCA had used

Mattel’s trademark in marketing its “Barbie Girl” products.

The court, in other words, created a legal standard focused so

narrowly on the song and its title, taken in isolation, that it

missed the real issue—MCA’s calculated, commercial use of

the BARBIE mark in promoting its sale of recordings of or in-

cluding the song.

The court below never considered, for example, whether

MCA’s marketing of “Barbie Girl” recordings in packaging that

featured that title in bright pink lettering, similar to Mattel’s

distinctive “BARBIE pink,” or its use of Mattel’s trademark

BARBIE DREAM HOUSE in press releases promoting “Barbie

Girl,” or its targeted promotion of “Barbie Girl” to Mattel’s

core consumers on Saturday-morning television shows, created

a likelihood that purchasers of MCA’s recordings—many of

whom were pre-teen girls—would be confused about whether

those recordings were associated with Mattel’s extensive line

of BARBIE products or otherwise sponsored by Mattel. The

Ninth Circuit simply ignored those uses of the BARBIE mark,

9

once it had concluded that MCA’s use of the mark in the lyrics

and title of the song, viewed in isolation, were protected First

Amendment speech.

That approach to the analysis of a trademark claim departs

dramatically from Congress’s statutory directive that challenged

uses of trademarks be evaluated to determine whether they are

“likely to cause confusion.” 15 U.S.C. §§ 1114(1)(a),

1125(a)(1). Not surprisingly, therefore, before the decision be-

low, no court of appeals had held that marketing efforts were

immune from liability simply because they sought to promote

an expressive work, regardless of whether they were also likel y

to cause consumer confusion.

The court below purported to adopt its analysis from

Rogers v. Grimaldi, 875 F.2d 994 (2d Cir. 1989). In Rogers,

the Second Circuit considered whether a film title, “Ginger and

Fred,” by itself violated the Lanham Act by falsely indicating an

association with actress Ginger Rogers. The court held that title

did not violate the Act because it was relevant to the artistic

content of the film and did not, in the court’s view, explicitly

mislead consumers as to the source or content of the film. See

id. at 999-1001. The Ninth Circuit held that the title “Barbie

Girl” satisfied those same criteria, and on that basis held that

MCA’s uses of the BARBIE mark in the title and in related

marketing efforts were categorically immune from Lanham Act

liability. Pet. App. 8a.

Rogers itself suggested, however, that its test would not

apply to certain confusing uses of trademarks in titles. See 875

F.2d at 999 n.5. And since Rogers, the Second Circuit has

made clear that the determination whether use of a trademark in

a title is misleading “must be made, in the first instance, by ap-

plication of the venerable Polaroid [likelihood-of-confusion]

factors”—not by a simple judicial reading of a defendant’s

work. Twin Peaks Prods., Inc. v. Publications Int’l, Ltd., 996

F.2d 1366, 1379 (2d Cir. 1993) (emphasis added); see also

Cliffs Notes, Inc. v. Bantam Doubleday Dell Publ ’g Group,

10

Inc., 886 F.2d 490, 495-97 (2d Cir. 1989) (applying likelihood-

of-confusion test to parody of Cliffs Notes called Spy Notes).

In Twin Peaks, the court noted that whereas the question in

Rogers was a narrow one—whether the words of a title, in and

of themselves, violated the rights of a celebrity—the question in

other cases will be whether “the wording and appearance of the

title” (for example, in the presentation and marketing of the

work) amounts to trademark infringement. Twin Peaks, 996

F.2d at 1379. In such a case, when a title is “displayed in a

manner that conjures up a visual image prominently associated

with the work bearing the mark that was copied,” the title,

though it “otherwise [might] be permissible under Rogers,”

must be scrutinized under the likelihood-of-confusion test. Id.

at 1380 (emphasis added). In its purported application of

Rogers, the Ninth Circuit ignored these later Second Circuit de-

cisions, which support precisely the sort of claim that Mattel

made in this case: that it was the manner in which MCA used

the title “Barbie Girl” in marketing its sound recording prod-

ucts—not the lyrics or title of the song in isolation—that in-

fringed Mattel’s trademark under the Lanham Act.

The Ninth Circuit’s abandonment of the likelihood-of-

confusion analysis in this case was not warranted by First

Amendment concerns. Indeed, as the court recognized else-

where in its opinion (Pet. App. 12a), the likelihood-of-

confusion standard is fully compatible with the First Amend-

ment, because the Constitution does not prevent the government

from regulating misleading or confusing commercial speech.

See, e.g., Central Hudson Gas & Elec. Corp. v. Public Serv.

Comm’n, 447 U.S. 557, 566 (1980). Parodic speech is sheltered

under the likelihood-of confusion standard because parody,

though it necessarily must evoke an original work, also depends

on evident differences from the original to produce the desired

humorous or critical effect. See Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. L & L

Wings, Inc., 962 F.2d 316, 321 (4th Cir. 1992) (“[E]}ffective

parody . . . diminishes any risk of consumer confusion.”). Some

courts have sought to ensure full protection of First Amendment

1]

values in trademark cases by demanding a “particularly compel-

ling” showing of likely confusion where expressive speech is

involved. See, e.g., Sugar Busters LLC v. Brennan, 177 F.3d

258, 269 n.7 (Sth Cir. 1999); Twin Peaks, 996 F.2d at 1379.

But no other court has discarded the likelihood-of-confusion

test altogether.

In short, the Ninth Circuit’s decision unnecessarily casts

aside Congress’s statutory command in the Lanham Act to pro-

tect consumers against the unauthorized use of trademarks in

ways that are “likely to cause confusion,” and leaves both con-

sumers and trademark owners categorically unprotected against

the confusing marketing of expressive products. That funda-

mental error in the application of an important federal statute

warrants review and correction by this Court.

2. Not surprisingly, the court of appeals’ abandonment of

the likelihood-of-confusion analysis conflicts with the decisions

of other courts. As discussed above, for example, the Second

Circuit held in Twin Peaks that the Rogers test for analyzing

allegedly infringing titles—the precise test that the Ninth Cir-

cuit applied below—is not, by itself, adequate where the display

of a title “conjures up a visual image prominently associated

with the work bearing the mark that was copied.” 996 F.2d at

1380. The court concluded that although the use of the mark

“Twin Peaks” in a book title might, by itself, be permissible for

a book about the television show of the same name, the defen-

dant’s particular presentation of the title on the cover of the

book, in a manner intended to evoke an element of the show,

required a remand to the district court for application of the

likelihood-of-confusion factors. Jd. That result cannot be rec-

onciled with the decision below, which rejected liability as a

matter of law, without applying the likelihood-of-confusion

standard to MCA’s marketing of its “Barbie Girl” products—

even though Mattel introduced substantial evidence to support

its contention that MCA had intentionally traded on Mattel’s

BARBIE trademark in marketing its products to Mattel’s con-

sumer base.

12

The decision below also conflicts with the Fifth Circuit’s

decision in Westchester Media v. PRL USA Holdings, Inc., 214

F.3d 658 (5th Cir. 2000). In that case, the defendant produced a

magazine entitled “POLO,” featuring articles about, among

other things, the game of polo. /d. at 661-63. Although the

magazine’s title passed the narrow Rogers test (because it was

relevant to the magazine’s content and not explicitly mislead-

ing, cf. id. at 665 n.3), the Fifth Circuit followed the Second

Circuit’s approach in Twin Peaks and assessed the case under

the likelihood-of-confusion standard. Indeed, applying that

standard, the court held that the defendant had infringed the

“Polo” trademarks of the Ralph Lauren clothing line, in part

because the defendant’s marketing of the magazine had “tar-

get[ed] the same consumers and on occasion use[d] the same

retail outlets.” Jd. at 667-68.

The decision below similarly conflicts with decisions of the

Fourth, Seventh, Eighth, and Tenth Circuits, each of which has

held that even where an infringement claim involves an expres-

sive work, the particular manner in which the defendant mar-

kets or presents that work requires analysis under the statutory

likelihood-of-confusion test. See Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v.

Balducci Publ’ns, 28 F.3d 769, 773-77 (8th Cir. 1994) (presen-

tation of parody using plaintiff’s trademarks on the back cover

of defendant’s magazine created unnecessary confusion and

failed likelihood-of-confusion test); Nike, Inc. v. “Just Did It”

Enters., 6 F.3d 1225, 1227-33 (7th Cir. 1993) (analyzing alleg-

edly infringing parodic products under likelihood-of-confusion

test and expressly noting that “how the parties market the prod-

uct is... relevant”); L & L Wings, 962 F.2d at 320-22 (permit-

ting jury to apply likelihood-of-confusion factors to parodic

product); Mutual of Omaha Ins. Co. v. Novak, 836 F.2d 397,

402 (8th Cir. 1987) (applying likelihood-of-confusion test to

parodic work and sustaining injunction insofar as defendant

used marks “‘to market, advertise, or identify [his] services or

products.”” (alteration in original)).

13

In short, the decision below not oniy departs from the statu-

tory likelihood-of-confusion standard and threatens harm to

both trademark owners and consumers, but also conflicts with

the legal standards applied by other circuits. Both the error and

the conflict warrant review.

II. The Ninth Circuit’s Limitation Of Liability Under The

Federal Trademark Dilution Act To Unauthorized Uses

That Do No More Than Propose A Commercial Trans-

action Cannot Be Squared With Congressional Intent

Or The Decisions Of Other Circuits.

The Federal Trademark Dilution Act prohibits commercial

use of a famous mark that causes “dilution of the distinctive

quality of the mark.” 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c)(1). “Dilution”

means “the lessening of the capacity of a famous mark to iden-

tify and distinguish goods or services, regardless of the presence

or absence of (1) competition between the owner of the famous

mark and other parties, or (2) likelihood of confusion, mistake,

or deception.” Jd. § 1127. Unlike the law of trademark in-

fringement, which is fundamentally concerned with protecting

consumers from confusion, the FTDA, like dilution law gener-

ally, protects trademark owners against misappropriation of the

brand equity accumulated in the trademark. See H.R. Rep. No.

104-374, at 3 (1995) (dilution protects “the substantial invest-

ment the owner has made”). The Act exempts from liability

three specific uses: (1) “news reporting and news commen-

tary,” (2) “[flair use . . . in comparative commercial advertising

... to identify the competing goods” of the trademark owner,

and (3) “{njoncommercial use of a mark.” 15 U.S.C.

§ 1125(c)(4).

In construing the FTDA in this case, the court of appeals

invented a test for what constitutes a “noncommercial use” that

cannot fairly represent Congress’s intent and cannot be recon-

ciled with the dilution decisions of other courts of appeals.

That error independently warrants this Court’s review.

14

1. The court of appeals correctly recognized that when

MCA “created and sold to consumers in the marketplace com-

mercial products (the Barbie Girl single and the Aquarium al-

bum) that bear the Barbie mark,” it satisfied the threshold re-

quirements for liability under the FTDA: commercial, dilutive

use of a famous mark. Pet. App. 10a. The court held, how-

ever, that MCA’s conduct was categorically exempt from liabil-

ity under the Act’s “noncommercial use” exemption. /d. 14a-

16a. As the court construed that exemption, any use of the

BARBIE mark by MCA was protected so long as it was not

“purely commercial’—that is, if it d[id] more than propose a

commercial transaction.” Jd. at 15a (citation omitted).

That construction of the FTDA is incorrect. As the court

recognized (see Pet. App. 13a-15a), Congress did not intend the

Act to “prohibit or threaten ‘noncommercial’ expression, as that

term has been defined by the courts.” H.R. Rep. No. 104-374,

at 4. Nor, however, did it intend, in adopting the “noncommer-

cial use” exemption, “to alter existing case law on the subject of

what constitutes ‘commercial’ speech.” Jd. Yet the Ninth Cir-

cuit, in construing the exemption, adopted a definition that rec-

ognizes as “commercial,” and therefore subject to potential li-

ability under the Act, only the very narrowest category of trade-

mark uses that could possibly be defined as “commercial

speech.” That is simply not consistent with the “existing case

law” to which the House Report refers—which, as the court of

appeals itself admitted, has never “clearly delineated” the

boundary between “commercial” and “noncommercial” speech.

Pet. App. 15a. See, e.g., City of Cincinnati v. Discovery Net-

work, Inc., 507 U.S. 410, 422 (1993) (discussing various possi-

ble definitions of “commercial speech’’). In particular, there is

no question that admixtures of “pure” and “commercial” speech

need not be characterized as wholly “noncommercial,” as the

court of appeals has construed the FTDA to do. See Board of

Trustees v. Fox, 492 U.S. 469, 475 (1989); see also id. at 474

(“[R]espondents contend that here pure speech and commercial

speech are ‘inextricably intertwined,’ and that the entirety must

15

therefore be classified as noncommercial. We disagree.”’);

Anderson v. Treadwell, 294 F.3d 453, 460 (2d Cir. 2002).

Moreover, there is no reason to believe that Congress in-

tended the exceptionally broad construction of the “noncom-

mercial use” exemption—and thus the exceptionally narrow

scope for application of the FTDA—that the Ninth Circuit has

now adopted. The court of appeals’ analysis renders the “non-

commercial use” exemption essentially all-encompassing as

applied to unauthorized use of trademarks in connection with

expressive works. Such use, either as part of the works them-

selves or in marketing them, will almost always do more than

just “propose a commercial transaction.” Congress, however,

intended the exemption to protect “forms of expression that are

not a part of acommercial transaction.” 141 Cong. Rec. 38,559

(1995) (statement of Senator Hatch) (emphasis added). And

when it decided, as discussed below, to grant federal protection

for “all forms of dilution [previously] recognized by the courts”

under state law, H.R. Rep. No. 104-374, at 8, it could not have

contemplated that through the “noncommercial use” exemption

it was simultaneously writing out of the Act an entire class of

potential cases clearly recognized by existing dilution law.

The F£DA was meant to enhance the federal protection af-

forded to trademark owners. Substantively, the Act expanded

federal law to protect trademark owners’ investments in their

marks. See id. at 3 (“[D]ilution recognizes the substantial in-

vestment the owner has made in the mark and the commercial

value and aura of the mark itself, protecting both from those

who would appropriate the mark for their own gain.”). Geo-

graphically, the Act extended to famous marks uniform, na-

tional protection against dilution. See id. Of course, Congress

intended to proceed only with due regard for the First Amend-

ment interests implicated by truly noncommercial uses of oth-

erwise protected marks. But the Ninth Circuit’s holding that

the only dilutive use prohibited by the Act is one that “does [no]

more than propose a commercial transaction” (Pet. App. 15a) is

. 16

simply not a plausible implementation of what was meant to be

significant federal protection for trademark owners.

2. Although the FTDA is a relatively new statute, in fram-

ing it Congress intended to grant protection against “all forms

of dilution [previously] recognized by the courts” under state

law. H.R. Rep. No. 104-374, at 8. Accordingly, courts constru-

ing the FTDA routinely look to pre-FTDA decisions, particu-

larly those of federal appellate courts.” The Ninth Circuit's

novel construction of the “noncommercial use” exemption is

inconsistent with the analysis employed in at least two such de-

cisions considering claims under state anti-dilution statutes.

In L.L. Bean, Inc. v. Drake Publishers, Inc., 811 F.2d 26,

32 (1st Cir. 1987), defendant Drake included a two-page parody

in a 100-page magazine. The item was not referenced on the

front or back cover of the magazine, but it was listed in the ta-

ble of contents, “labeled as ‘humor’ and ‘parody.’” Jd. The

First Circuit emphasized that “dilution injury stems from an un-

authorized effort to market incompatible products or services by

trading on another’s trademark.” Jd. at 31 (emphasis added).

The court refused to impose liability because “Drake did not

use Bean’s mark to identify or promote goods or services to

consumers; it never intended to market the ‘products’ displayed

in the parody.” Jd. at 32. The clear import of the court’s analy-

sis, however, is that use of the plaintiff's mark would have in-

flicted cognizable injury if it had been clearly linked to the

Y See, e.g., Federal Express Corp. v. Federal Espresso, Inc., 201 F.3d

168, 175 (2d Cir. 2000) (relying on Hormel Foods Corp. v. Jim Henson

Prods., Inc., 73 F.3d 497 (2d Cir. 1996), and Sports Authority, Inc. v. Prime

Hospitality Corp., 89 F.3d 955 (2d Cir. 1996), both decided under state

law); see also Sandra Edelman & Bruce R. Ewing, The Federal Trademark

Dilution Act of 1995: A Litigation Perspective, 86 Trademark Rep. 485, 494

(July-Aug. 1996) (“By referring to ‘all forms of dilution recognized by the

courts,’ the House Report confirms that a party may rely on reported prece-

dents interpreting state statutes . . . .”); Siegrun D. Kane, Trademark Law

§ 8:1 (3d ed. 2000) (“{C]ourts interpreting the federal statutes will look to

cases decided under the state statutes . . . .”).

17

marketing of the defendant’s product—precisely Mattel’s com-

plaint in this case, and precisely the sort of unauthorized use

that is categorically protected by the decision below, so long as

it is combined with any sort of “noncommercial” content. See

id. (“We think the Constitution tolerates an incidental impact on

rights of expression of commercial actors in order to prevent a

defertdant from unauthorizedly merchandising his products with

another’s trademark.”).

In Anheuser Busch, Inc. v. Balducci Publications, 28 F.3d

769 (8th Cir. 1994), defendant Balducci had also created an ad

parody that made unauthorized use of the plaintiff's marks. In

this instance, however, the challenged ad was placed on the

back cover of the defendant’s humor magazine. See id. at 772.

Reversing the district court, the Eighth Circuit rejected

Balducci’s claim that its use of the marks was shielded by the

First Amendment, because it determined that use of the fake

advertisement to gain attention for the defendant's own product

exceeded permissible bounds. /d. at 778. The court expressly

contrasted use of the marks on the back cover of the magazine,

a location “frequently used for advertisements” that “[could

not] be expected to command the thoughtful deliberation of all

or even most of the viewing public,” id. at 775, with the use at

issue in L.L. Bean, where “neither the [parody] nor the [plain-

tiffs] trademark was featured on the front or back cover of the

magazine,” id. at 778 (first alteration in original) (internal quo-

tation marks omitted). Yet there is no question that the parodic

ad at issue in Anheuser Busch did “more than propose a com-

mercial transaction” (Pet. App. 15a), and would therefore have

been completely protected under the Ninth Circuit’s construc-

tion of the FTDA.

L.L. Bean and Balducci stand for the proposition that use of

expressive works containing another’s trademarks to market

the user’s own products exceeds the scope of permissible unau-

18

thorized, dilutive use.” That proposition is consistent with de-

cisions in the infringement context. See Harley-Davidson, Inc.

v. Grottanelli, 164 F.3d 806, 813 (2d Cir. 1999) (“Grotanelli’s

[use of Harley-Davidson’s] mark . .. simply uses [the mark]

somewhat humorously to promote his own products and ser-

vices, which is not a permitted trademark parody use.”),; Mutual

of Omaha Ins. Co. v. Novak, 836 F.2d 397, 402 (8th Cir. 1987)

(injunction on use of trademark parody consistent with the First

Amendment where it applies only to “use[ of] Mutual’s marks

as logos or to market, advertise, or identify [Novak’s] services

or products.” (internal quotation omitted)). It is, however,

plainly inconsistent with the Ninth Circuit’s holding that

“MCAI|‘s] use[ of] Barbie’s name to sell copies of” its sound-

recording products “falls within the noncommercial use exemp-

tion to the FTDA.” Pet. App. 15a-16a.”

3. Ensuring consistent, nationwide protection for famous

trademarks was the single most important policy justification

underlying the passage of the FTDA:

[F]amous marks ordinarily are used on a nationwide

basis and dilution protection is currently only available

... [in] approximately 25 states .... Further, court

4 See also Chemical Corp. of America v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 306

F.2d 433, 438 (Sth Cir. 1962) (upholding application of Florida anti-dilution

law to use of slogan “Where there’s life . . . there’s bugs,” parodying An-

heuser-Busch’s slogan “Where there’s life . . . there’s Bud,” in advertising an

insecticidal floor wax: “(T]his is a brazen and cheap effort by the defendant

below to capitalize on the good will created by the tremendous expenditure

in advertising by the plaintiff.”’).

~ At least one case has also recognized, under the FTDA but not in the

context of an expressive use, that marketing and promotional uses of a

trademark are commercial or “trademark” uses—that is, uses “for the desig-

nation of a sponsor or identification of a product.” Nabisco, Inc. v. PF

Brands, Inc., 191 F.3d 208, 223 (2d Cir. 1999) (“Nickelodeon has chosen to

publicize its show by causing dissemination of its trademarks on crackers,

while Nabisco seeks to boost its sales of crackers by associating them with

Nickelodeon’s popular trademark characters. . . . [This use] is a trademark

use.”’).

19

decisions have been inconsistent and some courts are

reluctant to grant nationwide injunctions for violation

of state law where half of the states have no dilution

law. Protection for famous marks should not depend

on whether the forum where suit is filed has a dilution

Statute. This simply encourages forum-shopping and

increases the amount of litigation.

H.R. Rep. No. 104-374, at 3-4. The court of appeals’ decision

in this case departs both from sensible principles of statutory

construction and from the persuasive reasoning other courts

have used in determining where protected expression ends and

commercial dilution begins. That departure jeopardizes both

the protection and the legal consistency promised by the FTDA.

Particularly because the Ninth Circuit’s rulings are of consider-

able importance in intellectual property litigation, this Court

should review the court of appeals’ erroneous construction of

the scope of federal anti-dilution protection.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ADRIAN M. PRUETZ SETH P. WAXMAN

CHRISTOPHER TAYBACK Counsel of Record

MICHAEL T. ZELLER EDWARD C. DUMONT

STEVEN VAUGHAN TODD ZUBLER

QUINN EMANUEL URQUHART MAYA ALEXANDRI

OLIVER & HEDGES, LLP WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING

865 South Figueroa Street 2445 M Street, N.W.

10th Floor Washington, DC 20037

Los Angeles, CA 90017 (202) 663-6000

(213) 624-7707

Counsel for Petitioner

OCTOBER 2002

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit

MATTEL, INC., a Delaware corporation,

Plaintiff-counter-defendant-A ppellant,

v.

MCA RECORDS, INC., a California corporation,

Defendant-counter-claimant-Appellee,

* * * *

No. 98-56577

Argued and Submitted Dec. 5, 2000

[296 F.3d 894]

Filed July 24, 2002

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Cen-

tral District of California William Matthew Byrne, Jr., Senior

District Judge, Presiding. D.C. No. CV-97-06791-WMB-Mcx.

Before D.W. NELSON, BRUNETTI and KOZINSKI, Cir-

cuit Judges.

OPINION

KOZINSKi, Circuit Judge:

If this were a sci-fi melodrama, it might be called Speech-

Zilla meets Trademark Kong.

I

Barbie was born in Germany in the 1950s as an adult col-

lector’s item. Over the years, Mattel transformed her from a

doll that resembled a “German street walker,” as she originally

appeared, into a glamorous, long-legged blonde. Barbie has

been labeled both the ideal American woman and a bimbo. She

has survived attacks both psychic (from feminists critical of her

2a

fictitious figure) and physical (more than 500 professional

makeovers). She remains a symbol of American girlhood, a

public figure who graces the aisles of toy stores throughout the

country and beyorid. With Barbie, Mattel created not just a toy

but a cultural icon.

#§99 With fame often comes unwanted attention. Aqua is

a Danish band that has, as yet, only dreamed of attaining Bar-

bie-like status. In 1997, Aqua produced the song Barbie Girl on

the album Aquarium. In the song, one bandmember imperson-

ates Barbie, singing in a high-pitched, doll-like voice; another

bandmember, calling himself Ken, entices Barbie to “go party.”

(The lyrics are in the Appendix.) Barbie Girl singles sold well

and, to Mattel’s dismay, the song made it onto Top 40 music

charts.

Mattel brought this lawsuit against the music companies

who produced, marketed and sold Barbie Girl: MCA Records,

Inc., Universal Music International Ltd., Universal Music A/S,

Universal Music & Video Distribution, Inc. and MCA Music

Scandinavia AB (collectively, “MCA”). MCA in turn chal-

lenged the district court’s jurisdiction under the Lanham Act

and its personal jurisdiction over the foreign defendants, Uni-

versal Music International Ltd., Universal Music A/S and MCA

Music Scandinavia AB (hereinafter “foreign defendants”),

MCA also brought a defamation claim against Mattel for state-

ments Mattel made about MCA while this lawsuit was pending.

The district court concluded it had jurisdiction over the foreign

defendants and under the Lanham Act, and granted MCA’s mo-

tion for summary judgment on Mattel’s federal and state-law

claims for trademark infringement and dilution. The district

court also granted Mattel’s motion for summary judgment on

MCA’s defamation claim.

Mattel appeals the district court’s ruling that Barbie Girl is

a parody of Barbie and a nominative fair use; that MCA’s use

of the term Barbie is not likely to confuse consumers as to Mat-

tel’s affiliation with Barbie Girl or dilute the Barbie mark; and

3a

that Mattel cannot assert an unfair competition claim under the

Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property.

MCA cross-appeals the grant of summary judgment on its

defamation claim as well as the district court’s jurisdictional

holdings.

II

A. All three foreign defendants are affiliated members of

Universal Music Group and have an active relationship with

each other and with domestic members of the Group. Defen-

dants entered into cross-licensing agreements and developed a

coordinated plan to distribute the Barbie Girl song in the United

States (including California), and sent promotional copies of the

Barbie Girl single and the Aquarium album to the United States

(including California). This conduct was expressly aimed at,

and allegedly caused harm in, California, Mattel’s principal

place of business. See Panavision Int'l, L.P. v. Toeppen, 141

F.3d 1316, 1321 (9th Cir.1998). Mattel’s trademark claims

would not have arisen “but for” the conduct foreign defendants

purposefully directed toward California, and jurisdiction over

the foreign defendants, who are represented by the same coun-

. Sel and closely associated with the domestic defendants, is rea-

sonable. See id. at 1321-22. The district court did not err in

asserting specific personal jurisdiction over the foreign defen-

dants.

B. Sales of the Aquarium album worldwide had a sufficient

effect on American foreign commerce, and Mattel suffered

monetary injury in the United States from those sales. See

Ocean Garden, Inc. v. Marktrade Co., 953 F.2d 500, 503 (9th

Cir.1991). Moreover, Mattel’s claim is more closely tied to in-

terests of American foreign commerce than it is to the commer-

cial interests of other nations: Mattel’s principal place of busi-

ness is in California, the foreign defendants are closely related

to the domestic defendants, and Mattel *900 sought relief only

for defendants’ sales in the United States. See Star-Kist Foods,

Inc. v. P.J. Rhodes & Co., 769 F.2d 1393, 1395-96 (9th

4a

Cir.1985). The district court properly exercised extraterritorial

jurisdiction under the Lanham Act.

iil

A. A trademark is a word, phrase or symbol that is used to

identify a manufacturer or sponsor of a good or the provider of

a service. See New Kids on the Block v. News Am. Publ’g, Inc.,

971 F.2d 302, 305 (9th Cir.1992). It’s the owner’s way of pre-

venting others from duping consumers into buying a product

they mistakenly believe is sponsored by the trademark owner.

A trademark “inform[s] people that trademarked products come

from the same source.” Jd. at 305 n. 2. Limited to this core

purpose—avoiding confusion in the marketplace—a trademark

owner’s property rights play well with the First Amendment.

“Whatever first amendment rights you may have in calling the

brew you make in your bathtub ‘Pepsi’ are easily outweighed by

the buyer’s interest in not being fooled into buying it.”

Trademarks Unplugged, 68 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 960, 973 (1993).

The problem arises when trademarks transcend their identi-

fying purpose. Some trademarks enter our public discourse and

become an integral part of our vocabulary. How else do you

say that something’s “the Rolls Royce of its class”? What else

is a quick fix, but a Band-Aid? Does the average consumer

know to ask for aspirin as “acetyl salicylic acid”? See Bayer

Co. v. United Drug Co., 272 F. 505, 510 (S.D.N.Y.1921).

Trademarks often fill in gaps in our- vocabulary and add a con-

temporary flavor to our expressions. Once imbued with such

expressive value, the trademark becomes a word in our lan-

guage and assumes a role outside the bounds of trademark law.

Our likelihood-of-confusion test, see AMF Inc. v. Sleek-

craft Boats, 599 F.2d 341, 348-49 (9th Cir.1979), generally

strikes a comfortable balance between the trademark owner’s

property rights and the public’s expressive interests. But when

a trademark owner asserts a right to control how we express

ourselves—when we'd find it difficult to describe the product

any other way (as in the case of aspirin), or when the mark (like

Sa

Rolls Royce) has taken on an expressive meaning apart from its

source-identifying function— applying the traditional test fails

to account for the full weight of the public’s interest in free ex-

pression.

The First Amendment may offer little protection for a com-

petitor who labels its commercial good with a confusingly simi-

lar mark, but “[t}]rademark rights do not entitle the owner to

quash an unauthorized use of the mark by another who is com-

municating ideas or expressing points of view.” L.L. Bean, Inc.

v. Drake Publishers, Inc., 811 F.2d 26, 29 (1st Cir. 1 987). Were

we to ignore the expressive value that some marks assume,

trademark rights would grow to encroach upon the zone pro-

tected by the First Amendment. See Yankee Publ’g, Inc. v.

News Am. Publ’g, Inc., 809 F. Supp. 267, 276 (S.D.N.Y.1992)

(“[W]hen unauthorized use of another’s mark is part of a com-

municative message and not a source identifier, the First

Amendment is implicated in opposition to the trademark

right.”). Simply put, the trademark owner does not have the

right to control public discourse whenever the public imbues his

mark with a meaning beyond its source—identifying function.

See Anti-Monopoly, Inc. v. Gen. Mills Fun Group, 611 F.2d

296, 301 (9th Cir.1979) (“It is the source-denoting function

*901 which trademark laws protect, and nothing more.”).

B. There is no doubt that MCA uses Mattel’s mark: Barbie

is one half of Barbie Girl. But Barbie Girl is the title of a song

about Barbie and Ken, a reference that—at least today—can

only be to Mattel’s famous couple. We expect a title to de-

scribe the underlying work, not to identify the producer, and

Barbie Girl does just that.

The Barbie Girl title presages a song about Barbie, or at

least a girl like Barbie. The title conveys a message to consum-

ers about what they can expect to discover in the song itself;

it’s a quick glimpse of Aqua’s take on their own song. The lyr-

ics confirm this: The female singer, who calls herself Barbie, is

“a Barbie girl, in [her] Barbie world.” She tells her male coun-

6a

terpart (named Ken), “Life in plastic, it’s fantastic. You can

brush my hair, undress me everywhere/Imagination, life is your

creation.” And off they go to “party.” The song pokes fun at

Barbie and the values that Aqua contends she represents. See

Cliffs Notes, Inc. v. Bantam Doubleday Dell Publ’g Group, 886

F.2d 490, 495-96 (2d Cir.1989). The female singer explains,

“I’m a-blond bimbo girl, in a fantasy world/Dress me up, make

it tight, I’m your dolly.”

The song does not rely on the Barbie mark to poke fun at

another subject but targets Barbie herself. See Campbell v.

Acuff-Rose Music, Inc., 510 U.S. 569, 580, 114 S. Ct. 1164, 127

L. Ed. 2d 500 (1994); see also Dr. Seuss Ents., L.P. v. Penguin

Books USA, Inc., 109 F.3d 1394, 1400 (9th Cir.1997). This

case is therefore distinguishable from Dr. Seuss, where we held

that the book The Cat NOT in the Hat! borrowed Dr. Seuss’s

trademarks and lyrics to get attention rather than to mock The

Cat in the Hat! The defendant’s use of the Dr. Seuss trademarks

and copyrighted works had “no critical bearing on the substance

or style of’ The Cat in the Hat!, and therefore could not claim

First Amendment protection. /d. at 1401. Dr. Seuss recognized

that, where an artistic work targets the original and does not

merely borrow another’s property to get attention, First

Amendment interests weigh more heavily in the balance. See

id. at 1400-02; see also Harley-Davidson, Inc. v. Grottanelli,

164 F.3d 806, 812-13 (2d Cir. 1999) (a parodist whose expres-

sive work aims its parodic commentary at a trademark is given

considerable leeway, but a claimed parodic use that makes no

comment on the mark is not a permitted trademark parody use).

The Second Circuit has held that “in general the [Lanham]

Act should be construed to apply to artistic works only where

the public interest in avoiding consumer confusion outweighs

the public interest in free expression.” Rogers v. Grimaldi, 875

F.2d 994, 999 (2d Cir.1989); see also Cliffs Notes, 886 F.2d at

494 (quoting Rogers, 875 F.2d at 999). Rogers considered a

challenge by the actress Ginger Rogers to the film Ginger and

Fred. The movie told the story of two Italian cabaret performers

7a

who made a living by imitating Ginger Rogers and Fred

Astaire. Rogers argued that the film’s title created the false im-

pression that she was associated with it.

At first glance, Rogers certainly had a point. Ginger was

her name, and Fred was her dancing partner. If a pair of danc-

ing shoes had been labeled Ginger and Fred, a dancer might

have suspected that Rogers was associated with the shoes (or at

least one of them), just as Michael Jordan has endorsed Nike

sneakers that claim to make you fly through the air. But Ginger

and Fred was not a brand of shoe; it was the title of a movie

and, for *902 the reasons explained by the Second Circuit, de-

served to be treated differently.

A title is designed to catch the eye and to promote the value

of the underlying work. Consumers expect a title to communi-

cate a message about the book or movie, but they do not expect

it to identify the publisher or producer. See Application of

Cooper, 45 C.C.P.A. 923, 254 F.2d 611, 615- 16

(C.C.P.A.1958) (A “title ... identifies a specific literary work, ...

and is not associated in the public mind with the ... manufac-

turer.” (internal quotation marks omitted)). If we see a painting

titled “Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup,” we’ re unlikely to

believe that Campbell’s has branched into the art business.

Nor, upon hearing Janis Joplin croon “Oh Lord, won’t you buy

me a Mercedes-Benz?,” would we suspect that she and the car-

maker had entered into a joint venture. A title tells us some-

thing about the underlying work but seldom speaks to its origin:

Though consumers frequently look to the title of a

work to determine what it is about, they do not regard

titles of artistic works in the same way as the names of

ordinary commercial products. Since consumers ex-

pect an ordinary product to be what the name says it

is, we apply the Lanham Act with some rigor to pro-

hibit names that misdescribe such goods. But most

consumers are well aware that they cannot judge a

book solely by its title any more than by its cover.

8a

Rogers, 875 F.2d at 1000 (citations omitted).

Rogers concluded that literary titles do not violate the

Lanham Act “unless the title has no artistic relevance to the

underlying work whatsoever, or, if it has some artistic rele-

vance, unless the title explicitly misleads as to the source or the

content of the work.” Id. at 999 (footnote omitted). We agree

with the Second Circuit’s analysis and adopt the Rogers stan-

dard as our own.

Applying Rogers to our case, we conclude that MCA’s use

of Barbie is not an infringement of Mattel’s trademark. Under

the first prong of Rogers, the use of Barbie in the song title

clearly is relevant to the underlying work, namely, the song it-

self. As noted, the song is about Barbie and the values Aqua

claims she represents. The song title does noi explicitly mis-

lead as to the source of the work; it does not, explicitly or oth-

erwise, suggest that it was produced by Mattel. The only indi-

cation that Mattel might be associated with the song is the use

of Barbie in the title; if this were enough to satisfy this prong of

the Rogers test, it would render Rogers.a nullity. We therefore

agree with the district court that MCA was entitled to summary

judgment on this ground. We need not consider whether the

district court was correct in holding that MCA was also entitled

to summary judgment because its use of Barbie was a nomina-

tive fair use.’

IV

Mattel separately argues that, under the Federal Trademark

Dilution Act (“FTDA”), MCA’s song dilutes the Barbie mark in

two ways: It diminishes the mark’s capacity to identify and dis-

tinguish Mattel products, and tarnishes the mark because the

\ The likelinood-of-confusion test also governs Mattel’s state law

claims of unfair competition. Cleary v. News Corporation, 30 F.3d 1255,

1262-63 (9th Cir.1994) (citing Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

vy. Creative House Promotions, Inc., 944 F.2d 1446, 1457 (9th Cir.1991)).

Therefore, the district court properly granted summary judgment on these

claims as well.

9a

song is inappropriate for *903 young girls. See 15 U.S.C.

§ 1125(c); see also Panavision, 141 F.3d at 1324.

“Dilution” refers to the “whittling away of the value of a

trademark” when it’s used to identify different products. 4 J.

Thomas McCarthy, McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Com-

petition § 24.67, at 24-120; § 24.70, at 24-122 (2001). For ex-

ample, Tylenol snowboards, Netscape sex shops and Harry Pot-

ter dry cleaners would all weaken the “commercial magnetism”

of these marks and diminish their ability to evoke their original

associations. Ralph S. Brown, Jr., Advertising and the Public

Interest: Legal Protection of Trade Symbols, 57 Yale L.J.

1165, 1187 (1948), reprinted in 108 Yale L.J. 1619 (1999).

These uses dilute the selling power of these trademarks by blur-

ring their “uniqueness and singularity,” Frank I. Schechter, The

Rational Basis of Trademark Protection, 40 Harv. L. Rev. 813,

831 (1927), and/or by tarnishing them with negative associa-

tions.

By contrast to trademark infringement, the injury from di-

lution usually occurs when consumers aren’t confused about the

source of a product: Even if no one suspects that the maker of

analgesics has entered into the snowboard business, the Tylenol

mark will now bring to mind two products, not one. Whereas

trademark law targets “interference with the source signaling

function” of trademarks, dilution protects owners “from an ap-

propriation of or free riding on” the substantial investment that

they have made in their marks. /.P. Lund Trading ApS v. Koh-

ler Co., 163 F.3d 27, 50 (1st Cir.1998).

Originally a creature of state law, dilution received nation-

wide recognition in 1996 when Congress amended the Lanham

Act by enacting the FTDA.” The statute protects “[t]he owner

~ Even at the state level, dilution is of relatively recent vintage. The

first anti-dilution statute was enacted in Massachusetts in 1947, see Mass.

Gen. Laws Ann. Ch. 110B, § 12 (West 1992). By the time the FTDA was

enacted in 1996, only twenty-six states had anti-dilution statutes on the

10a

of a famous mark ... against another person’s commercial use in

commerce of a mark or trade name, if such use begins after the

mark has become famous and causes dilution of the distinctive

quality of the mark.” 15 U.S.C. § 1125(c). Dilutive uses are

prohibited unless they fall within one of the three statutory ex-

emptions discussed below. See pp. 10494-99 infra. Fora lucid

and scholarly discussion of the statutory terms, as well as the

purposes of the federal dilution statute, we refer the reader to

Judge Leval’s opinion in Nabisco, Inc. v. PF Brands, Inc., 191

F.3d 208, 214-17 (2d Cir.1999). Barbie easily qualifies under

the FTDA as a famous and distinctive mark, and reached this

status long before MCA began to market the Barbie Girl song.

The commercial success of Barbie Girl establishes beyond dis-

pute that the Barbie mark satisfies each of these elements.

We are also satisfied that the song amounts to a “commer-

cial use in commerce.” Although this statutory language is un-

gainly, its meaning seems clear: It refers to a use of a famous

and distinctive mark to sell goods other than those produced or

authorized by the mark’s owner. Panavision, 141 F.3d at 1324-

25. That is precisely what MCA did with the Barbie mark: It

created and sold to consumers in the marketplace commercial

products (the Barbie Girl single and the Aquarium album) that

bear the Barbie mark.

MCA’s use of the mark is dilutive. MCA does not dispute

that, while a reference *904 to Barbie would previously have

brought to mind only Mattel’s doll, after the song’s popular suc-

cess, some consumers hearing Barbie’s name will think of both

the doll and the song, or perhaps of the song only.” This is a

books. See 4 McCarthy § 24:80, at 24-136.2 n. 2; H.R. Rep. No. 104-374,

at 3-4 (1995), reprinted in 1995 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1029, 1030-31.

» The Supreme Court will soon decide whether the owner of a famous

mark must show economic injury to show dilution or whether potential in-

jury is sufficient. Moseley v. V Secret Catalogue, Inc., --- U.S. ----, 122 S.

Ct. 1536, 152 L. Ed. 2d 463 (2002). Because MCA did not challenge Mat-

tel’s showing as insufficient on this ground, we do not address it.

lla

a classic blurring injury and is in no way diminished by the fact

that the song itself refers back to Barbie the doll. To be dilut-

ive, use of the mark need not bring to mind the junior user

alone. The distinctiveness of the mark is diminished if the

mark no longer brings to mind the senior user alone.”

We consider next the applicability of the FTDA’s three

statutory exemptions. These are uses that, though potentially

dilutive, are nevertheless permitted: comparative advertising;

news reporting and commentary; and noncommercial use. 15

U.S.C. § 1125(c)(4)(B). The first two exemptions clearly do

not apply; only the exemption for noncommercial use need de-

tain us.

A “noncommercial use” exemption, on its face, presents a

bit of a conundrum because it seems at odds with the earlier re-

quirement that the junior use be a “commercial use in com-

merce.” If a use has to be commercial in order to be dilutive,

how then can it also be noncommercial so as to Satisfy the ex-

ception of section 1125(c)(4)(B)? If the term “commercial use”

had the same meaning in both provisions, this would eliminate

one of the three statutory exemptions defined by this subsec-

tion, because any use found to be dilutive would, of necessity,

not be noncommercial.

Such a reading of the statute would also create a constitu-

tional problem, because it would leave the FTDA with no First

Amendment protection for dilutive speech other than compara-

tive advertising and news reporting. This would be a serious

problem because the primary (usually exclusive) remedy for

dilution is an injunction.” As noted above, tension with the

First Amendment also exists in the trademark context, espe-

cially where the mark has assumed an expressive function be-

4 Because we find blurring, we need not consider whether the song also

tarnished the Barbie mark.

» The FT DA provides for both injunctive relief and damages, but the

latter is only available if plaintiff can prove a willful intent to dilute. 15

U.S.C. § 1125(c)(2).

12a

yond mere identification of a product or service. See pp. 900-

901 supra; New Kids on the Block, 971 F.2d at 306-08. These

concerns apply with greater force in the dilution context be-

cause dilution lacks two very significant limitations that reduce

the tension between trademark law and the First Amendment.

First, depending on the strength and distinctiveness of the

mark, trademark law grants relief only against uses that are

likely to confuse. See 5 McCarthy § 30:3, at 30-8 to 30-11; Re-

statement § 35 cmt. c at 370. A trademark injunction is usually

limited to uses within one industry or several related industries.

Dilution law is the antithesis of trademark law in this respect,

because it seeks to protect the mark from association in the pub-

lic’s mind with wholly unrelated goods and services. The more

remote the good or service associated with the junior use, the

more likely it is to cause dilution rather than trademark in-

fringement. A dilution injunction, by contrast to a trademark

#905 injunction, will generally sweep across broad vistas of the

economy.

Second, a trademark injunction, even a very broad one, is

premised on the need to prevent consumer confusion. This con-

sumer protection rationale—averting what is essentially a fraud

on the consuming public—is wholly consistent with the theory

of the First Amendment, which does not protect commercial

fraud. Cent. Hudson Gas & Elec. v. Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 447

U.S. 557, 566, 100 S. Ct. 2343, 65 L. Ed. 2d 341 (1980); see

Thompson v. W. States Med. Ctr., --- U.S. ----, 122 S. Ct. 1497,

152 L. Ed. 2d 563 (2002) (applying Central Hudson). More-

over, avoiding harm to consumers is an important interest that

is independent of the senior user’s interest in protecting its busi-

ness.

Dilution, by contrast, does not require a showing of con-

sumer confusion, 15 U.S.C. § 1127, and dilution injunctions

therefore lack the built-in First Amendment compass of trade-

mark injunctions. In addition, dilution law protects only the

distinctiveness of the mark, which is inherently less weighty

13a

than the dual interest of protecting trademark owners and avoid-

ing harm to consumers that is at the heart of every trademark

claim.

Fortunately, the legislative history of the FTDA suggests an

interpretation of the “noncommercial use” exemption that both

solves our interpretive dilemma and diminishes some First

Amendment concerns: “Noncommercial use” refers to a use

that consists entirely of noncommercial, or fully constitutionally

protected, speech. See 2 Jerome Gilson et al., Trademark Pro-

tection and Practice § 5.12[1}[{c][{vi], at 5-240 (this exemption

“is intended to prevent the courts from enjoining speech that

has been recognized to be [fully] constitutionally protected,”

“such as parodies”). Where, as here, a statute’s plain meaning

“produces an absurd, and perhaps unconstitutional, result], it is]

entirely appropriate to consult all public materials, including the

background of [the statute] and the legislative history of its

adoption.” Green v. Bock Laundry Mach. Co., 490 U.S. 504,

527, 109 S. Ct. 1981, 104 L. Ed. 2d 557 (1989) (Scalia, J., con-

curring).

The legislative history bearing on this issue is particularly

persuasive. First, the FTDA’s sponsors in both the House and

the Senate were aware of the potential collision with the First

Amendment if the statute authorized injunctions against pro-

tected speech. Upon introducing the counterpart bills, sponsors

in each house explained that the proposed law “will not prohibit

or threaten noncommercial expression, such as parody, satire,

editorial and other forms of expression that are not a part of a

commercial transaction.” 141 Cong. Rec. $1930610, $19310

(daily ed. Dec. 29, 1995) (statement of Sen. Hatch); 141 Cong.

Rec. H14317-01, H14318 (daily ed. Dec. 12, 1995) (statement

of Rep. Moorhead). The House Judiciary Committee agreed in

its report on the FTDA. H.R. Rep. No. 104-374, at 4 (1995),

reprinted in 1995 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1029, 1031 (“The bill will not

14a

prohibit or threaten, noncommercial’ expression, as that term

has been defined by the courts.”).”

*906 The FTDA’s section-by-section analysis presented in

the House and Senate suggests that the bill’s sponsors relied on

the “noncommercial use” exemption to allay First Amendment

concerns. H.R. Rep. No. 104-374, at 8, reprinted in 1995

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1029, 1035 (the exemption “expressly incorpo-

rates the concept of ‘commercial’ speech from the ‘commercial

speech’ doctrine, and proscribes dilution actions that seek to

enjoin use of famous marks in ‘non-commercial’ uses (such as

consumer product reviews)”); 141 Cong. Rec. $19306-10,

$19311 (daily ed. Dec. 29, 1995) (the exemption “‘is consistent

with existing case law[, which ] recognize[s] that the use of

marks in certain forms of artistic and expressive speech is pro-

tected by the First Amendment”). At the request of one of the

bill’s sponsors, the section-by- section analysis was printed in

the Congressional Record. 141 Cong. Rec. $19306-10,$19311

(daily ed. Dec. 29, 1995). Thus, we know that this interpreta-

tion of the exemption was before the Senate when the FTDA

was passed, and that no senator rose to dispute it.

To determine whether Barbie Girl falls within this exemp-

tion, we look to our definition of commercial speech under our

First Amendment caselaw. See H.R. Rep. No. 104-374, at 8,

reprinted in 1995 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1029, 1035 (the exemption

“expressly incorporates the concept of ‘commercial’ speech

from the ‘commercial speech’ doctrine”); 141 Cong. Rec.

© Our interpretation of the noncommercial use exemption does not

eliminate all tension between the FTDA and the First Amendment because

the exemption does not apply to commercial speech, which enjoys “qualified

but nonetheiess substantial protection.” Bolger, 463 U.S. 60, 68, 103 S. Ct.

2875 (applying Central Hudson Gas & Electric Corp. v. Pub. Serv.

Comm’n, 447 U.S. 557, 100 S. Ct. 2343, 65 L. Ed. 2d 341 (1980)). See also

Thompson, --- U.S. at ----, 122 S. Ct. at 1503-04 (same). It is entirely possi-

ble that a dilution injunction against purely commercial speech would run

afoul of the First Amendment. Because that question is not presented here,

we do not address it.

15a

$19306-10, $19311 (daily ed. Dec. 29, 1995) (the exemption

“is consistent with existing [First Amendment ] case law”).

“Although the boundary between commercial and noncommer-

cial speech has yet to be clearly delineated, the ‘core notion of

commercial speech’ is that it ‘does no more than propose a

commercial transaction.’” Hoffman v. Capital Cities/ABC, Inc.,

255 F.3d 1180, 1184 (9th Cir.2001) (quoting Bolger v. Youngs

Drug Prod’s Corp., 463 U.S. 60, 66, 103 S. Ct. 2875, 77 L. Ed.

2d 469 (1983)). If speech is not “purely commercial”—that is,

if it does more than propose a commercial transaction— then it

is entitled to full First Amendment protection. Jd. at 1185-86

(internal quotation marks omitted).

In Hoffman, a magazine published an article featuring digi-

tally altered images from famous films. Computer artists modi-

fied shots of Dustin Hoffman, Cary Grant, Marilyn Monroe and

others to put the actors in famous designers’ spring fashions; a

still of Hoffman from the movie “Tootsie” was altered so that

he appeared to be wearing a Richard Tyler evening gown and

Ralph Lauren heels. Hoffman, who had not given permission,

sued under the Lanham Act and for violation of his right to pub-

licity. Id. at 1183.

The article featuring the altered image clearly served a

commercial purpose: “to draw attention to the for-profit maga-

zine in which it appear[ed]” and to sell more copies. /d. at

1186. Nevertheless, we held that the article was fully protected

under the First Amendment because it included protected ex-

pression: “humor” and “visual and verbal editorial comment on

classic films and famous actors.” Id. at 1185 (internal quotation

marks omitted). Because its commercial purpose was “inextri-

cably entwined with [these] expressive elements,” the article

and accompanying photographs enjoyed full First Amendment

protection. Id.

Hoffman controls: Barbie Girl is not purely commercial

speech, and is therefore *907 fully protected. To be sure, MCA

used Barbie’s name to sell copies of the song. However, as

16a

we’ ve already observed, see pp. 10489-90 supra, the song also

lampoons the Barbie image and comments humorously on the

cultural values Aqua claims she represents. Use of the Barbie

mark in the song Barbie Girl therefore falls within the non-

commercial use exemption to the FTDA. For precisely the same

reasons, use of the mark in the song’s title is also exempted.

Vv

Mattel next argues that the district court erred in granting

summary judgment for the foreign defendants on its unfair

competition claim under the Paris Convention for the Protection

of Industrial Property, Mar. 20, 1883, as revised at Stockholm,

July 14, 1967, art. 10bis, 21 U.S.T. 1583, 1648, 828 U.N.T.S.

305, 337 (hereinafter Paris Convention). Mattel grounds its

claim on Article 10bis, which provides that “[t]he countries of

the Union are bound to assure to nationals of such countries ef-

fective protection against unfair competition.” Paris

Convention, art. 10bis, 21 U.S.T. at 1648, 828 U.N.T.S. at 337.

Mattel asserts that Article 10bis creates a federal cause of ac-

tion for unfair competition in international disputes, and that

section 44 of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1126, makes the

substantive provisions of the Paris Convention available to

United States nationals.

In Toho Co. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 645 F.2d 788, 790-

92 (9th Cir.1981), the Japanese producer and distributor of

“Godzilla” asserted a claim against the manufacturer of “Bag-

zilla” garbage bags based on a “federal law of unfair competi-

tion.” Subsection 44(b) gives to “persons whose country of ori-

gin is a party to any [trademark] convention or treaty ... to

which the United States is also a party” the benefits of section

44 to the extent necessary to give effect to the provisions of

those treaties. 15 U.S.C. § 1126(b). These benefits include “ef-

fective protection against unfair competition.” 15 U.S.C.

§ 1126(h). Thus, a foreign national is granted protection

against unfair competition consistent with the protections of

applicable trademark treaties.

4

«

.

4

?

&

¢

Se ESPORTS PURGE SE KOOP TU ha ARTO ERI ARN EINE Sa a Tb

17a

However, we made clear in Toho that subsection 44(h)

does not create a general federal law of unfair competition. See

645 F.2d at 792; see also Int’l Order of Job’s Daughters v. Lin-

deburg & Co., 633 F.2d 912, 915-16, 916 n. 5 (9th Cir.1980).

Rather, “[t]he grant in subsection (h) of effective protection

against unfair competition is tailored to the provisions of the

unfair competition treaties by subsection (b), which extends the

benefits of section 44 only to the extent necessary to give effect

to the treaties.” Toho, 645 F.2d at 792. Subsection 44(h) cre-

ates a federal right that is coextensive with the substantive pro-

visions of the treaty involved. See id. Because the treaty in-

volved in Toho required that Japanese corporations be treated

as favorably as domestic companies with respect to unfair com-

petition claims, we held that subsection 44(h) provided Toho

with a federal forum in which to bring its state unfair competi-

tion claims. See id.

Subsection 44(i) goes no farther. It does not create a fed-

eral cause of action where subsection 44(h) would not, because

it provides only that United States citizens “shall have the same

benefits as are granted by this section to persons described in

subsection (b) of this section.” 15 U.S.C. § 1126(i). And, “so

far as concerns ‘unfair competition,’ those ‘benefits’ are limited

to such as may be found in some ‘convention or treaty relating

to ... the repression of unfair competition.’ The purpose of

[subsection *908 44(i)], quite Clearly, is no more than to extend

to citizens and residents those ‘benefits’ that any “convention or

treaty’ gives to aliens, including the same remedies for ‘protec-

tion against unfair competition’ that subsection (h) gives to

aliens.” Am. Auto. Ass’n v. Spiegel, 205 F.2d 771, 775 (2d

Cir.1953). The only protection against unfair competition that

subsection 44(h) grants to foreign nationals, and that subsection

44(i) therefore grants to American citizens, is that “necessary to

give effect to any provisions of [trademark treaties].” 15 U.S.C.

§ 1126(b). Therefore, Mattel’s federal unfair competition claim

depends on the extent to which the substantive provisions of the

Paris Convention create one.

18a

However, we’ve also held that “the Paris Convention was

not intended to define the substantive law in the area of ‘unfair

competition’ of the signatory countries.” Kemart Corp. Vv.

Printing Arts Research Labs., Inc., 269 F.2d 375, 389 (9th

Cir.1959). The Paris Convention does not provide substantive

rights but ensures “national treatment.” 4 McCarthy § 29:25.

That is, it requires that “foreign nationals ... be given the same

treatment in each of the member countries as that country

makes available to its own citizens.” Vanity Fair Mills v. T.

Eaton, 234 F.2d 633, 640 (2d Cir.1956).

Section 44 and the Paris Convention therefore interact as

follows: A foreign national is entitled to the same “effective

protection against unfair competition” to which an American is

entitled, Paris Convention, art. 10bis, and in turn, the American

gets the same right that the foreign national gets. We treat Mat-

tel like a foreign national, who is treated like an American un-

der the Paris Convention. Accordingly, Mattel is entitled to as-

sert a cause of action under the Lanham Act for trademark in-

fringement, 15 U.S.C. § 1114, or for false designation of origin,

15 U.S.C. § 1125, or it may assert state law claims for unfair

competition, as it did. See n.1 supra. But Mattel has no claim

to a nonexistent federal cause of action for unfair competition.

As said, the Paris Convention provides for national treatment,

and does not define the substantive law of unfair competition.

We therefore reject Mattel’s argument that a treaty provision

providing for “national treatment” gives it more protections

against foreign nationals than it has against U.S. nationals.

VI

After Mattel filed suit, Mattel and MCA employees traded

barbs in the press. When an MCA spokeswoman noted that

each album included a disclaimer saying that Barbie Girl was a

“social commentary [that was] not created or approved by the

makers of the doll,” a Mattel representative responded by say-

ing, “That’s unacceptable .... It’s akin to a bank robber handing

a note of apology to a teller during a heist. [It nJeither dimin-

19a

ishes the severity of the crime, nor does it make it legal.” He

later characterized the song as a” theft” of “another company’s

property.”

MCA filed a counterclaim for defamation based on the

Mattel representative’s use of the words “bank robber,” “heist,”

“crime” and “theft.” But all of these are variants of the invec-

tive most often hurled at accused infringers, namely “piracy.”

No one hearing this accusation understands intellectual property

owners to be saying that infringers are nautical cutthroats with

eyepatches and peg legs who board galleons to plunder cargo.

In context, all these terms are non-actionable “rhetorical hyper-

bole,” Gilbrook v. City of Westminster, 177 F.3d 839, 863 _

Cir.1999). The parties are advised to chill.

AFFIRMED.

*909 APPENDIX

“Barbie Girl” by Aqua

-Hiya Barbie!

-Hi Ken!

You wanna go for a ride?

-Sure, Ken!

-Jump in!

-Ha ha ha ha!

(CHORUS:)

I’m a Barbie girl, in my Barbie world

Life in plastic, it’s fantastic

You can brush my hair, undress me everywhere

Imagination, life is your creation

Come on Barbie, let’s go party!

(CHORUS)

I’m a blonde bimbo girl, in a fantasy world

Dress me up, make it tight, I’m your dolly

20a

You’re my doll, rock and roll, feel the glamour in pink

Kiss me here, touch me there, hanky-panky

You can touch, you can play

If you say “I’m always yours,” ooh ooh

(CHORUS)

(BRIDGE:)

Come on, Barbie, let’s go party, ah ah ah yeah

Come on, Barbie, let’s go party, ooh ooh, ooh ooh

Come on, Barbie, let’s go party, ah ah ah yeah

Come on, Barbie, let’s go party, ooh ooh, ooh ooh

Make me walk, make me talk, do whatever you please

I can act like a star, I can beg on my knees

Come jump in, be my friend, let us do it again

Hit the town, fool around, let’s go party

You can touch, you can play

You can say “I’m always yours”

You can touch, you can play

You can say “I’m always yours”

(BRIDGE)

(CHORUS x2)

(BRIDGE)

-Oh, I’m having so much fun!

-Well, Barbie, we’re just getting started!

-Oh, I love you Ken!

2la

APPENDIX B

United States District Court

Central District of California

Mattel Inc.

v.

MCA Records Inc.

No. CV 97-6791-WMB

[46 U.S.P.Q.2d 1407]

Decided February 18, 1998

Byrne, J.

I. BACKGROUND

In March, 1997, a Danish musical group known as “Aqua”

released in Europe an eleven-song album, Aquarium. This al-

bum included a song entitled Barbie Girl, in which a woman

and man assume the identities of two popular Mattel dolls

known as Barbie and Ken. Defendants claim this song parodies

the popular toys, with the singers referring to Barbie as a “blond

bimbo girl,” who loves to party and whose “life is plastic.” Bar-

bie Girl quickly became a hit in Europe and later was released

in the United States, where the Aquarium album sold over 1.4

million compact discs (CDs) and cassettes. (Defs.’ Opp’n at 1).

On September 11, 1997, Mattel (“plaintiff”) filed suit in

this Court, bringing the following eleven causes of action

against MCA and other defendants:/ (1) trademark and trade

Y Mattel did not, however, sue the musical group Aqua. In its reply,

Mattel claims that it is not attempting to “censor” the song, as it is only suing

the companies that actually manufactured and distributed the CD. (Pl.’s Re-

ply at 1). It also claims that any alleged harm to a nonparty is “irrelevant”

(Id. at 34).

Plaintiff's proposed preliminary injunction, however, calls for the de-

struction of all CD’s with the “Barbie” mark on it. (Pl.’s Proposed Order at

22a

dress dilution, (2) trademark infringement, (3) false designation

of origin and false description, (4) statutory and common law

unfair competition, (5) unfair competition under the Paris Con-

vention, (6) wrongful use of a registered mark; (7) common law

misappropriation; (8) common law passing-off and disparage-

ment; and (9) common law unjust enrichment, (10) contributory

trademark and trade dress dilution, and (11) contributory trade-

mark and trade dress infringement. Defendants, in turn, filed a

counterclaim for defamation.

Mattel has now brought a motion for a preliminary injunc-

tion based on its claims for trade mark infringement, unfair

competition, and trademark dilution. Mattel’s proposed pre-

liminary injunction asks this Court to enjoin defendants from

manufacturing, producing, or distributing the Barbie Girl song.

It also requests that the Court require defendants to “dispos[e]

of or destroy[ ] any product or its packaging, which uses Mat-

tel’s BARBIE trade name.” (P1.’s Proposed Order at 3). In re-

sponse, MCA has filed an opposition and motions to strike two

of the three declarations filed in support of plaintiff's motion

(those of Jean McKenzie and Weston Anson). In reply, Mattel

filed its own evidentiary objections to many of defendants’ dec-

larations.

Il. THE PARTIES’ EVIDENTIARY OBJECTIONS

Defendants filed motions to strike the declarations of Jean

McKenzie, executive vice- president of Mattel, and of Weston

Anson, *1409 an intellectual property consultant. In response,

plaintiff objected to defendants’ declarations by Valerie Folkes,

Richard Lanham, and Astrid Hansen, in their entirety, and to

3). Destroying all of Aqua’s albums will undoubted have a disastrous effect

on the new band itself, even if it is not named specifically as a defendant.

(See Rasted Decl. Para. 18 (noting that an injunction stopping the production

of Aqua’s first album released in the United States could harm the prospects

for its next album)). In addition, this case raises important First Amendment

issues, and an injunction could have a direct effect on Aqua’s free speech

interests in parodying or commenting on Barbie.

ane aaa ee eae

23a

portions of the declarations of Bruce Wheeler, Soren Rasted,

and Jeffrey Goldman.

“The strict evidentiary rules governing atrial on the merits”

do not apply to hearings for preliminary injunctions. Orantes-

Hernandez v. Smith, 541 F. Supp. 351, 356 n.4 (C.D. Cal.

1982). In Orantes-Hernandez, the Court recognized that, al-

though “many of plaintiffs’ exhibits contain hearsay and other

impermissible matter which could not be admitted to trial,”

plaintiffs often face “the need to act promptly when bri nging a

preliminary injunction motion.” Id. Indeed, courts “may give

even inadmissible evidence some weight when to do so serves

the purpose of preventing irreparable harm before trial.” Flynt

Distrib. Co., Inc. v. Harvey, 734 F.2d 1389, 1394 (9th Cir.

1984). This Court therefore denies each side’s motions to strike.

Il. PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION STANDARD OF

REVIEW

The Ninth Circuit has identified two alternative tests for

obtaining a preliminary injunction: “the moving party must

show either (1) a combination of probable success on the merits

and the possibility of irreparable injury, or (2) that serious ques-

tions are raised and the balance of hardships tips sharply in its

favor.” Big Country Foods, Inc. v. Board of Educ., 868 F.2d

1085, 1088 (9th Cir. 1989). “These formulations are not differ-

ent tests but represent two points on a sliding scale in which the

degree of irreparable harm increases as the probability of suc-

cess on the merits decreases. Under either formulation, the

moving party must demonstrate significant threat of irreparable

injury, irrespective of the magnitude of the injury.” Id.; see also

Dr. Seuss Enterprises, L.P. v. Penguin Books USA, Inc., 109

F.3d 1394, 1397 n.1 [42 U.S.P.Q.2d 1184 ] (9th Cir.), cert. dis-

missed, 118 S. Ct. 27 (1997).

IV. DISCUSSION

A. The Song and Video as Parody

The crux of plaintiff's argument is that defendants have

misappropriated the Barbie trademark by using the word “Bar-

24a

bie” in the song Barbie Girl and its video. Plaintiff claims that

this use will lead to confusion among consumers and harm to

the Barbie product line itself. Defendants respond, however,

that Barbie is an icon in American culture and that their alleged

parody of her is protected by the First Amendment. Indeed, par-

ody has played an important role in social discourse. See Dr.

Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1400; L.L. Bean, Inc. v. Drake Publishers,

Inc., 811 F.2d 26, 28 [ 1 U.S.P.Q.2d 1753 ] (1st Cir.) (“Parody

is a humorous form of social commentary and literary criticism

that dates back as far as Greek antiquity.”), cert. denied, 483

U.S. 1013 (1987); Fisher v. Dees, 794 F.2d 432, 437-38 [ 230

U.S.P.Q. 421 ] (9th Cir. 1986) (“ ‘Destructive’ parodies play an

important role in social and literary criticisms and thus merit

protection even though they may discourage or discredit an

original author.”).

Sea oor “7 ame prem

Mattel complains of Aqua’s portrayal of its product, which

generated $1.6 billion in sales in 1996, because Aqua’s song

associates its doll with “antisocial themes such as promiscuity,

lewdness, and the stereotyping and ridiculing of young

women.” (PI.’s Mot. at 2). Plaintiff asserts that “[t]hese adult-

orientated lyrics convey a message that is inconsistent with the

wholesome image Mattel has conscientiously developed.” (Id.

at 7).

Plaintiff objects specifically to the following phrases sung

by the pretend “Barbie” during the course of the song: “you can

brush my hair, undress” me everywhere”; “I’m a blond bimbo

girl, in a fantasy world”; “you can touch, you can play, if you

say: ‘I’m always yours’”; and “make me walk, make me talk, do

whatever you please, I can act like a star, I can beg on my

knees.” Plaintiff also objects to Ken’s lyrics, which include

~ Plaintiff claims that this lyric includes the word “undress me every-

where.” A transcript of the lyrics provided by defendants describers the

phase as “and dress me everywhere.” (Rasted Decl. at 26). However, a decla-

ration by Richard Lanham, provided by defendants, also identifies the lyrics

as “undress me everywhere.” (Lanham Decl. Para. 37).

25a

“kiss me here, touch me there, hanky panky” and “come jump

in, bimbo friend, let us go do it again, hit the town, fool around,

let’s go party.”

Mattel’s distaste for the song’s alleged message, of course,

cannot alone justify granting it a preliminary injunction. Cf.

New Kids on the Block v. News American Publishing, Inc., 971

F.2d 302, 307 [ 23 U.S.P.Q.2d 1534 ] (9th Cir. 1992) (noting

the potential for injury to public discourse if individuals cannot

refer to specific trademarks in their social commentaries). In-

deed, parody “inevitably offends others” because it so often

“ridicule[s] sacred verities and prevailing mores.” L.L. Bean,

811 F.2d at 28; see also Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1400 n. 8 (noting

that courts should “not take into account whether [an alleged

parody] is in good or bad taste’”’).

*1410 A review of the song and its video reveals that, in

general, the singers spoof what many children apparently do

with their doll, including dressing and undressing them. (See,

e.g. Lanham Decl. Para. 38). The song’s fast tempo and the

singers’ exaggerated performances of their respective characters

suggest that the lyrics are not to be taken too seriously.” As to

the meaning of the lyrics, Soren Rasted—a member of Aqua

and the song’s “primary writer”’—states that he wanted “to

compose a humorous song about the ‘Barbie fantasy world.’”

(Rasted Decl. at 3). Rasted has explained in interviews that the

song was about more than just the Barbie doll itself but also its

“status [,] like the royal family, which is not to be tampered

with.” (Id. at 4).

¥ For example, a constant.refrain throughout the song is the phrase,

“Come on Barbie, let’s go party.”

4 After defendants filed their opposition, Mattel’s reply brief and at-

tached declarations offered an interview by Rasted that purportedly shows

the song is not a parody of Barbie. In a news story about this lawsuit, a re-

porter quotes Rasted as saying, “We don’t mean to harm the doll. The song

isn’t about the doll, it’s about the plastic world we live in. We’re making fun

of that.” (Samuels Supp. Decl., Ex. B, at 8). The news story does not provide

26a

In addition, the band members do not adopt the likeness of

the Mattel dolls themselves. Both the album cover and the

video display the band’s four members. The lead singer, Lene

Grawford Nystrom, who adopts the persona of Barbie in the

song, has dark hair and a tattoo on her arm. Rene Dif, who sings

as Ken, has aclean-shaven head. Neither of these singers match

the usual images of Barbie as a blond young woman or Ken as a

young man with a full head of hair.

Mattel describes the video’s set as “predominantly colored

in the BARBIE pink colors,” including a pink house, which is

reminiscent of the BARBIE ‘DREAM HOUSE’ ... and a story

line which features the KEN doll dismembering the BARBIE

the context in which Rasted made these remarks, or whether he made any

additional comments about the meaning of the song.

In any event, this statement is not inconsistent with parody, as Rasted

had said earlier that he wanted to make fun of “Barbie’s fantasy world.” The

song’s lyrics clearly refer to Barbie’s party-girl image (for example, Barbie

sings, “I’m a blond bimbo girl in a fantasy world”). Also, it is not incompati-

ble with parody for song-writers to have a “larger” point beyond the immedi-

ate object of the song. In addition, Rasted need not wish to “harm” the doll

in order to parody it.

About the time the song was released, Rasted commented in an inter-

view that

It [the song] is about a Barbie doll, but like most of our songs

there is a deeper significance to it. Not that we have to be taken

dead seriously, but the Barbie doll has a certain status like the

royal family, which is not to be tampered with.

(Rasted Para. 14). Rasted said that he was inspired to write the song after

seeing a newspaper article about a “kitsch exhibition” in Copenhagen that

included plastic Barbie dolls from the 1970s. (Id. at Paragraphs 9- 10).

Given the important First Amendment interests at stake, this Court will

assume for the present motion that the song’s lyrics—which refer throughout

to Barbie and her party-girl life—are intended as a parody of both the doll

itself and the values she has come to represent.

Mattel admits it does not have a trademark for its so-called “BARBIE

pink” color. (Pl. Mot. at 5). For further discussion on the use of the color

pink in this case, see below.

ARR PTT WRN ATA OR ONE

—

LRN LN Ry ERI RRG BS YN

Te ie ti oodles ieee a ine

Pete eanet oan Cities enmtnniine eeehindee ee

27a

doll by pulling off her arm.” (P1.’s Mot. at 9). Although the set

may invoke images of Barbie accessories, it is consistent with

the group’s attempt to parody the “Barbie fantasy world.” See

Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1400 (describing parody as “mimic

[king] an original to make its point”); Fisher, 794 F.2d at 435

n.2 (noting that parodies sometimes “must appropriate a sub-

stantial portion of [its target] to evoke recognition”). In addi-

tion, Mattel’s attempt to portray Ken’s removal of Barbie’s arm

as dismemberment is exaggerated: the singers, playing with a

fake-looking plastic arm, appear to be poking fun at the fact that

Barbie, like all dolls, can be taken apart by her more adventure-

some owners. (See Lanham Decl. Para. 45). _

Although plaintiff clearly wishes that its doll only be asso-

ciated with “wholesomeness,” (PI.’s Mot. at 5), defendants

point out that the Barbie doll has become an icon that means

different things to different people: “the doll has been seen as

feminist and anti-feminist; as seductive and as wholesome; as

intelligent and as a ‘dumb blond.’ Barbie has been hailed as a

role model and condemned as the cause of eating disorders.”

(Defs.’ Opp’n at 5). Nor is Barbie Girl the only song to tweak

the image Mattel wants for its doll: defendants identify nine

other songs that have invoked Barbie’s name, some of which

contain language far more vulgar than Barbie Girl’s references

to “hanky panky.® (Id. at 6-7, 28).

© For example, David Wilcox’s song “Barbie,” on his East Asheville

Hardware album, sings that Barbie

Made a career leading cheers for the L.A. Lakers

Then became the main mistress of the Reverend Jim Bakker

Helped him hear his messages from the Lord

With a vibrator and ouija board.

(Folkes Decl., Ex. 6, at 73). Likewise, a song by Lunachicks, entitled “Bit-

terness Barbie,” critiques Barbie’s “perfect” body by using vulgar terms to

describe various parts of her anatomy. (Id.). In comparison, Aqua’s criticism

of Barbie is much more light-hearted.

Plaintiff asserts that evidence of third-party infringers is irrelevant to

whether defendants are infringers. (PI.’s Reply at 8). However, these songs

28a

#1411 The fact plaintiff views the song as “attacking” the

wholesome of its image product bolsters defendants’ arguments

that this song involves a parody, therefore raising First

Amendment concerns. See Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1400 (observ-

ing that parody is a “form of social and literary criticism” im-

plicating free speech interests under the First Amendment).

B. Mattel’s Trademark Claim”

Plaintiff argues that the song Barbie Girl infringes upon its

federal trademark, trade name, and trade dress and that it will

likely confuse consumers into believing that the song is affili-

ated with the Barbie product line. Defendants respond that

plaintiff exaggerates the reach of its trademark and cannot Si-

lence song parodies that poke fun at its product simply because

they use the word “Barbie” in their title or lyrics.

The Lanham Act provides that

Any person who shall, without the consent of the reg-

istrant—(a) use in commerce any reproduction, coun-

terfeit, copy, or colorable imitation of a registered

mark in connection with the sale, offering for sale, dis-

tribution, or advertising of any goods or services on or

in connection with which such use is likely to cause

confusion, or to cause mistake, or to deceive . . . shall

be liable in a civil action by the registrant. . . .

15 U.S.C. Section 1114(1)(a) (West 1997). Protection under

this Act requires that a “particular design must be both non-

functional and have a secondary meaning.” Academy of Motion

Picture Arts and Sciences v. Creative House Promotions, Inc.,

944 F.2d 1446, 1454 [ 19 U.S.P.Q.2d 1491 ] (9th Cir. 1991).

are just examples of social criticism of Barbie. Defendants are simply trying

to link their song to other musical parodies and critiques of Mattel’s product.

1 Defendants assume for purposes of this argument that Mattel has a

valid trademark but reserve the right to argue later that “the term ‘Barbie

doll’ has . . . become generic and is outside the purview of the trademark

laws.’” (Defs.’ Opp’n at 8 n.5).

Ke

€

=:

£

Pa

2

=

F

=

x

€

3

%

E:

=

3

os

Rae ARS TP RM MS AERIS ID NES eS AAS ESERIES

3 on al aoe tae

eh ara a Sa ae ea ak dae ee

TREES BINDER Mn ES aT talent

29a

The appearance of the Barbie doll is rather distinctive, in that

many consumers are likely to be able to identify the doll as a

Barbie product.” (See, e.g., Pl.’s Am. Compl., Ex. 29). In addi-

tion, Mattel’s Barbie line clearly does have a “secondary mean-

ing,” in that people around the world associate the name Barbie

with Mattel’s line of dolls and doll-related accessories. (See,

e.g., Defs.’ Opp’n at 4 (identifying Barbie as a “cultural icon”);

Pl.’s Mot. at 3 (claiming that “the Barbie brand name has

achieved nothing short of celebrity status”)). See also Rasted

Decl., at 20 (quoting 1997 newspaper accounts describing Bar-

bie as a cultural icon or symbol).

The Ninth Circuit has observed that the purpose of trade-

mark has “remained constant and limited: Identification of the

manufacturer or sponsor of a good or the provider of a service.”

New Kids on the Block, 971 F.2d at 305. Trademarks represent

“a limited property right in a particular word, phrase or sym-

bol.” Id. at 306. It does not allow trademark holders to censor or

silence all discussion of their products that they find annoying

or offensive. Indeed, New Kids observed that “‘ [m]uch useful

social and commercial discourse would be all but impossible if

speakers were under threat of an infringement lawsuit every

time they made reference to a person, company or product by

using its trademark.” 971 F.2d at 307.

In addition, the Ninth Circuit has recognized that “

[p]arody is regarded as a form of social and literary criticism,

& Whether the colors “pink and white” are distinctive as to Barbie is

another matter, particularly as pink is often associated with femininity and

toys for young girls. See discussion below.

4 Plaintiff also contends that its Barbie products have become associ-

ated with wholesomeness. (PI.’s Mot. at 5). However, as defendants point

out, the Barbie doll has also been associated in the public mind with less

savory images, such as eating disorders and poor self-esteem in young girls.

(Def.’s Opp’n at 5). See also Lanham Decl. Para. 27, Ex. 14 (listing “serious

cultural commentary . . . [that] has criticized Mattel . . . for marketing [to

children] an air-headed sexpot who parodied real human bodies and gender

roles”).

30a

having a socially significant value as free speech under the First

Amendment.” Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1400. Courts have noted

that songs are “indisputably works of artistic expression” de-

serving of First Amendment protections. Rogers v. Grimaldi,

875 F.2d 994, 997 [ 10 U.S.P.Q.2d 1825 ] (2d Cir. 1989). Al-

though the First Amendment does not prevent trademark law

from applying to artistic works, courts must be careful not to

trammel on free *1412 speech values in protecting trademarks.

See, e.g., id. at 998 (noting that “‘ [bJecause overextension of

Lanham Act restrictions in the area of titles [of artistic works]

might intrude on First Amendment values, we must construe the

Act narrowly to avoid such a conflict”); Girl Scouts of the

United States of America v. Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing

Group, 808 F. Supp. 1112, 1118 [ 25 U.S.P.Q.2d 1737 ]

(S.D.N.Y. 1992) (“The owner of a trademark does not possess a

property right that is superior to the First Amendment right ac-

corded to artistic expression.”), aff'd, 996 F.2d 1477 [ 27

U.S.P.Q.2d 1316 ] (2d Cir. 1993).

1. Defendants’ Fair Use Under the New Kids Standard

In general, the Ninth Circuit applies an eight-factor “likeli-

hood of confusion” standard to both common law and federal

statutory trademark infringement. See Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at

1403-04; AMF Inc. v. Sleekcraft Boats, 599 F.2d 341, 348-49 [

204 U.S.P.Q. 808 ] (9th Cir. 1979). Defendants contend, how-

ever, that their limited use of the term “Barbie” places their

song outside the trademark context. See New Kids, 971 F.2d at

308 (observing that the “nominative use of a mark... lies out-

side the strictures of trademark law); Rogers, 875 F.2d at 999

19 plaintiff argues that its state claims for trademark infringement, un-

fair competition, misappropriation, and passing-off are governed by the like-

lihood of confusion test. See Century 21 Real Estate Corp. v. Sandlin, 846

F.2d 1175, 1178 [ 6 U.S.P.Q.2d 2034 ] (9th Cir. 1988) (observing that “

[t]he ultimate test for unfair competition is exactly the same as for trademark

infringement”); Toho Co. v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 645 F.2d 788, 794 [ 210

U.S.P.Q. 547 ] (9th Cir. 1981) (noting that passing off and misappropriation

are different “branches” of unfair competition).

‘

SS AEROS I BOLLE PE SRE ALPE LOE TIAA St INH EI MENS

<3 LPR ELIOT LOPE PRG Regt YO G! ps ip

EGS ORE pe eae um

; + ps

acre’ EI SL, LALA GL ROLL LOLI LEE, EOP LIES AA sd dete Laat deetin

LE LOUN ALE AEE LOND Yet ie ACERT MOL A OI SEE TR ELIOT

SEE SOLES NRTA L A LIEN A I EASE OBE ONE, RIE,

3la

(2d Cir. 1989) (holding that the Lanham Act does not apply in

the case of “allegedly misleading titles using a celebrity’s

name” unless the title lacks artistic relevance or is explicitly

misleading).

In New Kids, the Ninth Circuit did not apply the eight fac-

tors for likelihood of confusion. Instead, the Court held that in

some cases involving “a non-trademark use of a mark, ...

[trademark] infringement laws simply do not apply.” 971 F.2d

at 307. The New Kids case involved two newspapers that con-

ducted polls by phone about readers’ reactions to the musical

group New Kids on the Block. The papers set up “900” num-

bers and charged their readers anywhere from 50 to 95 cents per

minute to respond to the questions in the poll. The band brought

a trademark infringement suit against the newspapers. Id. at

304-05. The Ninth Circuit held that, in cases “where the use of

the trademark does not attempt to capitalize on consumer con-

fusion or to appropriate the cachet of one product for a different

one[,] [s]uch minimal use of a mark—where the only word rea-

sonably available to describe a particular thing is pressed into

service—lies outside the strictures of trademark law.” Id. at

308.

New Kids recognized that the newspaper’s use of the name

constituted a “fair use” because it was used to describe the

plaintiff's product (i.e. the band), rather than its own (i.e. its

reader polls). Id. at 308. The Court reached this result even

though New Kids had their own phone lines set up for their fans

to call. Id. at 309. The Court specifically noted that the case dif-

fered from “the classic fair use case where the defendant has

inno F ear, Inc. v. Imagine Films, Inc., the Court observed that sub-

sequent Second Circuit precedent to Rogers had “effectively supplemented

the Rogers test by applying the standard likelihood of confusion factors.”

930 F. Supp. 1381, 1382 [ 38 U.S.P.Q.2d 1374 ] (C.D. Cal. 1995).

12) See also Fisher, 794 F.2d at 435 (noting that Congress has recog-

nized parody as a potential “fair use” activity in the context of copyright

law).

32a

used the plaintiff’s mark to describe the defendant’s own prod-

uct.” Id. at 308. Here, defendants have a colorable argument

that their use of the term “Barbie” is about the product Barbie

itself, rather than its own song. By describing the doll’s “life in

plastic” and the various ways consumers play with the doll

(“you can brush my hair, undress me everywhere”), Aqua is ar-

guably not speaking specifically about its own product, but

rather about Mattel’s. On the other hand, the title of Aqua’s

song, Barbie Girl, does incorporate the term “Barbie” as part of

its name. The word’s use in the title of the song may refer to

both Mattel’s product as well as MCA’s.

The New Kids Court set out a three-part test to be “a com-

mercial user . . . entitled to a nominative fair use defense”:

First, the product or service in question must be one

not readily identifiable without use of the trademark,

second, only so much of the mark or marks may be

used as is reasonably necessary to identify the product

or service; and third, the use must do nothing that

would, in conjunction with the mark, suggest sponsor-

ship or endorsement by the trademark holder.

*1413 Id. at 308. Defendants arguably can meet each of these

three elements.

First, defendants cannot effectively parody or comment on

the Barbie doll without mentioning her by name.” See id. at

306 (observing that “it is often virtually impossible to refer to a

particular product for purposes of comparison, criticism, . . . Or

any other such purpose without using the mark”); see also

Defs.’ Opp’n at 16 (“A principle underlying message of Barbie

Girl—having to do with the vacuous, ‘plastic,’ and frivolous

lifestyle suggested by the doll and all of her possessions—

Ly Plaintiff contends that “ (dJefendants could have easily avoided the

instant litigation” by calling their song “Bimbo Girl” or “Party Girl.” (PI.’s

Reply at 1). This argument ignores that Aqua was attempting to parody Bar-

bie, not just party girls in general.

IEP IA! Nect INMEI TTTOIS L IPL POI RLT AOI

z

5

j

i

%-

2

§

$

‘

:

s

z

;

yy

i

$

¥

F

r

33a

simply could not be made nearly as effectively without evoking

the Barbie doll iconography specifically. . . .”).

Second, the song’s use of the term “Barbie” is for purposes

of parody. (Rasted Decl. at Paragraphs 10-14). Referring to

Barbie as a “bimbo” living in plastic world, the song critiques

the vacuous, party-girl image Barbie has acquired in some quar-

ters. (See Lanham Decl., Para. 35). The repeated use of the

words “Barbie” and “Ken,” therefore, seem reasonably neces-

sary for purposes of parody.

New Kids dealt specifically with the use of a celebrity’s

name; in this case, however, plaintiff also complains that the

use of “Mattel’s distinctive trade dress colors of white and

BARBIE pink” on some versions of Barbie Girl CD and the

video comes too close to the lettering used on Barbie doll pack-

aging. (PI.’s Am. Compl., Ex. 29); see also New Kids, 971 F.2d

at 308 n. 7 (noting that a competitor could use a distinctive

name such as “Coca-Cola” when comparing products but could

not use Coca-Cola’s “distinctive lettering”). Mattel admits that

it is still in the process of applying “for federal trademark regis-

tration of the BARBIE name on a field of pink.” (PI.’s Mot.

at 5). But see Brunswick Corp. v. British Seagull Ltd., 35 F.3d

1527 [32 U.S.P.Q.2d 1120 ] (Fed. Cir. 1994) (holding that out-

board motor company could not register the color black as its

distinctive mark, partly on the grounds that other companies

used black on their engines and that such use reflected a “com-

petitive need”), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1050 (1995). Although

plaintiff fails to explain how the so-called “BARBIE pink” is

different from the “pink” used on many products associated

with young girls, the Court will consider briefly whether the use

14 Even if Mattel’s interest is in multiple colors, such as white lettering

on a dark pink background (see PI.’s Am. Compl., Ex. 29), defendant's

packaging still differs significantly from Mattel’s. See below.

34a

of such coloring in the lettering on the Barbie Girl CD was ‘rea-

sonably necessary’ under the New Kids test.”

In general, the relatively thin lettering appearing on Bar-

bie’s packaging is solid white, slanted, and stylized; the back-

ground surrounding the lettering is pink, with images of flow-

ers. (PI.’s Am. Compl., Ex. 29). In contrast, Aqua’s album has a

blue, watery background and contains yellow lettering of all

eleven songs. None of the songs’ lettering is larger than the

other, and in fact, pink-BARBIE pink or otherwise—does not

appear anywhere on the front or back of the CD case.

Mattel’s main complaint about lettering appears to be with

Aqua’s CD-single versions of the song, (see PI.’s Am. Compl.

at Ex. 31, 33, 35), which defendants claim are “no longer being

made or sold by defendants.” (Defs.’ Opp’n at 21). Plaintiff,

however, asserts that these versions are still being sold. (Pl.’s

Reply at 1). Several versions use white or light pink block let-

tering for the title of the song; these letters have irregular bor-

ders and are outlined and shadowed in pink. At the top of every

package of the CD are large, rounded blue letters spelling the

word “Aqua”; these letters have a white and black outline, with

an eye appearing within the letter “Q.” (See PI.’s Am. Compl. at

Ex. 31, 33, 35). Whether use of pink and white was “reasonably

necessary” in the context of lettering is a closer question, al-

though pink is traditionally associated with femininity. Indeed,

Mattel does not hold claim to the entire color pink. (See also

Folkes Decl. Para. 15 (“Pink is a color associated with young

girls generally and young girls’ toys.”)). To the extent feminine

colors are associated with Barbie, defendants have a colorable

argument that the use of pink was reasonably necessary, as

Aqua may have difficulty evoking the images of the dolls it

parodies because the band members do not resemble Barbie or

Ken.

yp comparison of packaging may be more relevant in evaluating the

likelihood of consumer confusion under traditional trademark analysis, see

discussion below.

0 (ie a INS Pe eh se Hime — =

35a

Third, defendants’ album identifies on its CD case that the

song “is a social comment and was not created or approved by

the maker of the doll,” although this warning does not appear

on all versions of the CD *1414 single. This warning suggests

that defendants attempted to disassociate themselves from Mat-

tel, although they should have included it on all the CDs. De-

fendants have attempted to show that their song is not endorsed

by Mattel.

As plaintiff points out, this warning is not displayed before

radio and television performances of the song. However, the

same is likely true of other songs invoking famous “celebrities,”

including the early 1980s hit song “Bette Davis Eyes.” See

Rogers, 875 F.2d at 999 (citing “Bette Davis Eyes” as an exam-

ple of a title that includes “a well-known name without any

Overt indication of authorship or endorsement”). Although some

people will believe that “these titles implicitly suggest that the

named celebrity has endorsed the work or had a role in produc-

ing it, . . . the slight risk that such use of a celebrity’s name

might implicitly suggest endorsement or sponsorship to some

people is outweighed by the danger of restricting artistic ex-

pression, and the Lanham Act is not applicable.” Id. at 999-

1000.

Defendants may have a viable defense under the New Kids

standard, suggesting that plaintiff will be unlikely to succeed on

the merits of its trademark infringement claims.

2. Likelihood of Confusion

Although the New Kids test may apply to this case, courts

have traditionally used the likelihood of confusion test in the

trademark context. Even if the likelihood of confusion test is

the more appropriate one for evaluating plaintiff’ s claims, plain-

tiff cannot show that it is likely to succeed on the merits.

a. First Amendment Interests

The Second Circuit has observed that the possibility of

confusion over two products must be “particularly compelling”

to outweigh First Amendment interests raised when titles in-

36a

voke popular figures to communicate a particular message.”

Twin Peaks Productions v. Publications Intern. , 966 F.2d 1366,

1379 [ 27 U.S.P.Q.2d 1001 ] (2d Cir. 1993). Indeed, Mattel is

mistaken when it claims “ [t]here is no First-Amendment De-

fense under the Lanham Act” by citing Dr. Seuss. (P1.’s Mot. at

21). The passage cited in Dr. Seuss only rejects a defendant’s

argument that a preliminary injunction in these type of cases

constitutes a “prior restraint.” See Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1403

n.11 (citing Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders, Inc. v. Pussycat

Cinema, Ltd., 604 F.2d 200, 206 [ 203 U.S.P.Q. 161 ] (2d Cir.

1979) (“The prohibition of the Lanham Act is content neutral,

and therefore does not arouse the fears that trigger the applica-

tion of constitutional ‘prior restraint’ principles.”). To the ex-

tent plaintiff relies on the language of Dallas Cowboys, that

case has later been criticized because First Amendment rights

“cannot be dispensed with by simply asserting that [plaintiff's]

property right need not yield to the exercise of the first amend-

ment rights.” L.L. Bean, 811 F.2d at 29.

Dr. Seuss did hold, however, that “the cry of ‘parody!’ does

not magically fend off otherwise legitimate claims of trademark

infringement or dilution” and that the claim of parody can pro-

vide “no defense ‘where the purpose of the similarity is to capi-

16’ 4 \though the Ninth Circuit has not specifically adopted the “particu-

larly compelling” language used by the Second Circuit, a California district

court has adopted this test. See No Fear, Inc., 930 F. Supp. at 1384.

As No Fear observed in 1995, “the Ninth Circuit has not yet addressed

the confluence of First Amendment concerns and the Lanham Act.” Id. at

1382 n.1. Although the 1997 Dr. Seuss opinion discusses the importance of

parody under the First Amendment, the Ninth Circuit has not dealt directly

with whether the likelihood of confusion factors must be particularly com-

pelling to outweigh First Amendment interests.

Dr. Seuss involved a defendant attempting to claim it was parodying

Dr. Seuss, when in fact it was simply copying his style, images, and even

title for its own book about the O.J. Simpson trial. In contrast, defendants

here only use the word “Barbie” and, in some lettering on some CDs, the

colors pink and white. It never uses Barbie’s likeness or image. Further, the

song specifically targets Barbie for commentary.

OT a rt Tae,

APR HOA ADRS Lo, ete mange

radars

ee Bho ee Cee oe oe er ie

Pts WED. Hesnipe equa mgr Rt SP edges

37a

talize on a famous mark’s popularity for the defendants’ own

commercial use.’” Id, at 1405-06 (internal citations omitted).

The Court added that “ [i]n a traditional trademark infringement

suit founded on the likelihood of confusion rationale, the claim

of parody is not really a separate ‘defense’ as such, but merely a

way of phrasing the traditional response that customers are not

likely to be confused as to the source, sponsorship, or ap-

proval.” Id. at 1405. Indeed, as the Second Circuit has noted, a

successful parody “depends on lack of confusion to make its

point.” Hormel Foods Corp. v. Jim Henson Productions, Inc.,

73 F.3d 497, 503 [ 37 U.S.P.Q.2d 1516 ] (2d Cir. 1996).

Unlike the present case, the defendants in Dr. Seuss used

the claim of “parody” in an attempt to avoid the fact that they

were copying images and writing style from a famous children’s

book in order to satirize something completely different: the

O.J. *1415 Simpson trial. Defendants specifically copied the

distinctive “stove-pipe hat” worn by a feline character from The

Cat in the Hat, a book written by Dr. Seuss (nee Theodor S.

Geisel). Defendants used the image numerous times throughout

the book and also copied Dr. Seuss’ “whimsical poetic style.”

Id. at 1397-98. After determining that the book was not a “fair

use” under the copyright statute, id. at 1399-1403, the Court

applied the eight-factor Sleekcraft test to determine “likelihood

of confusion” for purposes of trademark infringement. Id. at

1403.

Drawing from Supreme Court precedent, the Dr. Seuss

Court observed a distinction between “parody (in which the

copyrighted work is the target) and satire (in which the copy-

righted work is merely a vehicle to poke fun at another target).”

Id. at 1400. The Court rejected defendants’ fair use defense in

the context of copyright infringement because the defendants

appropriated Dr. Seuss’ work, not to parody it, but rather to use

it to satirize something entirely different. Id. at 1399-1401. The

defendants’ book did not hold Dr. Seuss’ “style up to ridicule;”

instead, it only copied elements of his Cat in the Hat books ““‘to

38a

get attention’ or maybe even ‘to avoid the drudgery in working

up something fresh.’” Id. at 1401.

Although plaintiff contends that Aqua used Barbie solely to

gain attention, the object of its song is clearly the doll itself and

the values it represents, rather than some other topic. Also, Dr.

Seuss did not hold that all claims of “parody” as a defense were

frivolous, just those that “solely capitalize{d]” on another’s

fame to satirize something completely different. Even if Aqua

knew that parodying a popular product would attract favorable

attention, this knowledge alone cannot erase their First Amend-

ment interests in commenting on Barbie: if it did, then no

relatively unknown group could criticize popular products

because the accusation of trying to gain attention would always

exist. The First Amendment’s protections must apply even to

those whose parodies target the strong, popular, or well-

established. Defendants parody Barbie specifically and do not,

like the Dr. Seuss defendants, merely use Barbie as a vehicle to

satirize something else.

As the Ninth Circuit observed in Dr. Seuss, parody has

“socially significant value as free speech under the First

Amendment.” Id. at 1400. Therefore, this Court will consider

the effect on defendants’ First Amendment interests when

weighing the eight Sleekcraft factors. See Twin Peaks Produc-

tions, 996 F.2d at 1379; see also No Fear, Inc. v. Imagine

Films, Inc., 930 F. Supp. 1381, 1384 [ 38 U.S.P.Q.2d 1374 ]

(C.D. Cal. 1995).

b. The Likelihood of Confusion Standard

The Sleekcraft factors include the following:

(1) the strength of the mark; (2) proximity of the

goods; (3) similarity of the marks; (4) evidence of ac-

tual confusion; (5) marketing channels used; (65) type

of goods and the degree of care likely to be exercised

by the purchaser; (7) defendant’s intent in selecting

the mark; (8) likelihood of expansion of the product

lines.

39a

Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1404 (citing Sleekcraft, 599 F.2d at 348-

49). These factors are not exhaustive, and the court may take

into account “other variables . . . depending on the particular

facts presented.’” Id. As mentioned above, this Court will take

into consideration the First Amendment interests at stake in this

case.

Strength of the Mark. Defendants concede that the Barbie

mark is strong, at least as to dolls and doll-related products.”

Although “an undeniably strong mark” usually favor plaintiffs,

it can also favor some defendants who poke fun at the mark be-

cause “a parody depends on a lack of confusion to make its

point.” Hormel Foods, 73 F.3d at 503. Here, the lyrics to the

song reter to Barbie as a “blond bimbo.” If Mattel is correct that

its product has a “wholesome image,” (see PI.’s Mot. at 6), then

consumers are even more likely to recognize Barbie Girl as a

parody.

Proximity of Goods. Defendants contend that the Barbie

line of products is primarily associated with dolls and doll-

related products sold in stores selling toys, while Aqua’s music

is sold primarily at stores selling music. Plaintiff contends,

however, that it sells *1416 many different kinds of products

associated with Barbie, including music-related goods. For ex-

ample, in 1990 Mattel licensed the production of a compact disc

of music entitled “Barbie: The Look,” in which a singer adopts

1Y See Cliff Notes, Inc. v. Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group,

Inc., 886 F.2d 490, 494 [ 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1289 ] (2d Cir. 1989) (“ [I]n decid-

ing the reach of the Lanham Act in any case where an expressive work is

alleged to infringe a trademark, it is appropriate to weigh the public interest

in free expression against the public interest in avoiding consumer confu-

sion.”); see also Dr. Seuss Enterprises, 109 F.3d at, 1400; Twin Peaks Pro-

ductions, 996 F.2d at 1379; New Kids on the Block, 971 F.2d at 307; Rogers,

875 F.2d at 998; L.L. Bean, 811 F.2d at 34; Fisher, 794 F.2d at 437-38.

18 Plaintiff also contends that its white lettering on a pink background

is a trade dress associated with Barbie products. (PI.’s Reply at 8). Such col-

ors, however, can be associated with many toy products aimed at young girls.

(See, e. g., Rasted Decl., Ex. 10).

40a

Barbie’s persona. (McKenzie Decl. Para. 1 1(a), Ex. D). Mattel

points to several unnamed compact discs, a tape called “Barbie

Country Music Dancing with Me,” a dance workout video, and

an ice show involving a Barbie character. (Id. at Para. 11). In

addition, Mattel refers to music-related toys, such as a miniature

concert stage and music stores designed for the doll itself. (Id.

at Para. 12). Plaintiff did not initially indicate whether these

products were sold in music stores or departments, or whether

they were still sold in 1997, when Aqua’s album debuted.

In its reply brief, plaintiff argues that the Barbie Girl CD

and the Mattel’s Barbie music products “are currently being

sold in the same departments of the same stores, including

popular retail outlets such as the Virgin Megastore, Borders

Books & Music, Costco Wholesale, Wal-Mart, and K Mart.”

(Pl.’s Reply at 9-10 (citing Grant Decl. Paragraphs 5-19)). To

support this claim, plaintiff sent a paralegal to these stores to

purchase the Aqua CD and to take photographs of the store de-

partments displaying plaintiff's and defendants’ respective

products.

Although it appears that, in some cases, plaintiff's products

are sold in the same stores as the Barbie Girl CD, this evidence

does not show that any of plaintiff's products are sold in the

music section of these stores, where defendants’ CD is sold. For

example, at a Wal-Mart store, plaintiff found Barbie computer

software, a Barbie “CD player,” and a “Workin’ Out Barbie”

doll with cassette.” The Barbie Girl CD was also sold at the

store. However, none of these Barbie products were sold in the

music section; at best, the music and computer software was

sold in different areas of an “electronics” department. (Grant

Decl. at Paragraphs 5-8, Ex. K & L). Indeed, in all of the stores

visited by the paralegal, plaintiff does not show one example

where any of its Barbie-related products are sold in music de-

partments, nor does it show that Barbie Girl is sold anywhere in

2 The CD player, which includes four “CDs” and sells for $14.99, ap-

pears to be a toy. (See Grant Decl. at Ex. F & H).

SEAN RSNA IND REESE Oh RRR BD ; etn ae REG

E " 8

EO ae ale PIAS IR, PN

4la

these stores except with other music. (See, e.g., id. at Para-

graphs 2-10, 14-19; Ex. B-E, K-L, and M-R)).

Similarity of the Marks. The marks on defendants’ product

are not similar to Mattel’s. Under Ninth Circuit precedent,

courts are to analyze “the similarity of the marks . . . [by] view

[ing] the marks as a whole, as they appear in the marketplace.”

E. & J. Gallo Winery v. Gallo Cattle Co., 967 F.2d 1280, 1291

[ 21 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 ] (9th Cir. 1992). Every Mattel product

offered as an exhibit has an image of the Barbie or Ken doll on

its packaging. In some cases, the packaging is transparent,

revealing the actual doll. (First Am. Compl. Ex. 29; McKenzie

Decl. Ex. C-I, K-M, O; Grant Decl. Ex. D-G,L, P-R, V, W, BB,

FF-II). None of Aqua’s packaging has an image of any doll,

whether resembling Barbie or not. All of Aqua’s music CDs

have a picture on their covers of the four band members, none

of whom resemble Barbie or Ken.*” (First. Am. Compl. Ex. 31,

33, 35, 37; Rasted Decl. Ex. 1-2; Grant Decl. Ex. B, C, K, N, O,

T, U, V, Y, Z, AA, DD, EE; Rasted Decl. Ex. 1-2; Samuels

Decl. Ex. B, E, G, I). Given the context in which these products

20 At Costco, Barbie computer software, in a heap of boxes ona table,

are apparently displayed in the same long row as the Barbie Girl CD. (Ex.

V). It is unclear from this exhibit, however, whether Costco is organized into

departments in the same manner as other stores.

ab After defendants filed their opposition, plaintiff provided this Court

with aCD-ROM from Aqua that apparently includes a full-length video for

Barbie Girl. This product does not have a picture of the band on its cover.

However, it is unclear from where this computer software was pur-

chased (it has a “Made in England” sticker on it) or what its original

packaging looked like. The cover of the CD-ROM case has big blue lettering

of the words “Aqua” and pink lettering (not pink and white) of the words

“Barbie Girl.” It does not have an image of a doll on its front or back.

Plaintiff also provided a vinyl record of the song, with large lettering

indicating the band AQUA. This record has a warning, in small lettering, that

the song is a “social comment.” Plaintiff does not indicate where this record

was purchased.

42a

are sold, it seems doubtful that many consumers would confuse

the products based on packaging.

As to the other aspects of the packaging, each party refers

to different versions of the Barbie Girl CD. Defendants refer

to ari album, containing an eleven-song CD. The album cover is _

mostly blue with a picture of the band members on the front; it

also has in large, rounded-block letters, ““Aqua,” and in smaller

print, “Aquarium.” On the back of the album, eleven song titles

are listed, all in small-size yellow lettering. Barbie Girl is *1417

listed as track number three and has an asterisk next it. This

symbol refers to another asterisk below, which is next to a sen-

tence in yellow warning that “‘ [t]he song ‘Barbie Girl’ is a so-

cial comment and was not created or approved by the makers of

the doll.” The back of the album also identifies MCA as the

copyright holder. This album is quite dissimilar from the style

of packaging used on any of plaintiff's products.

Plaintiff refers to CD single versions of the song “Barbie

Girl” that it contends have “Mattel’s distinctive trade dress col-

ors of white and BARBIE pink. (Pl.’s Mot. at 17; see also

Pl.’s Am. Compl. Ex. 29). Plaintiff has used these colors with

its packaging for Barbie since at least 1992. (PI.’s Mot. at 16).

In its amended complaint, plaintiff provides three examples

of these CD singles, which include multiple versions or “re-

mixes” of the song Barbie Girl. The packaging on all three ver-

sions has large blue lettering of the word “Aqua” on their front

covers, as well as a picture of the four band members. (PI.’s

Am. Compl., Ex. 31, 33, and 35). None of the packaging in-

cludes an image of a doll of any kind. The CDs also include the

22/ Mattel claims that Barbie Girl has “at least eight different infringing

BARBIE GIRL musical products.” (Pl.’s Reply at 10). Plaintiff does not list

what these products are, however.

2 As noted earlier, defendants submit that its single version of the

song is no longer being made or sold by defendants. (Defs.’ Mot. at 21). In

its reply brief, plaintiff alleges seven versions of this single are still being

marketed. (PI.’s Reply at 11).

1

ays} PVE 2 REMAP SGT OLNERY: asc Me wy? aes 3

Y ' a Ca: OO eae R PE ERENT TL en Re ee eR EN

ik AS MWS Peg May Teac

.

SRY EIT OE TET Re Sa I a oe a Te a ee

43a

words “Barbie Girl” in smaller lettering at the bottom of the

CD. “Barbie Girl” is in block letters, with irregular sides and

shapes, and a dark pink outline. The center of the lettering is a

light pink.

In contrast, the word “Barbie” on Mattel’s products slants

up and has slender, white lettering. (Id., Ex. 29). Defendants’

lettering is bulkier and on a straight line. Further, defendant’s

packaging identifies MCA as the publisher of the music and

does not use the word “Mattel” anywhere.

The fact the words “Barbie Girl” always appear next to the

words “Aqua” on the packaging is significant in that it de-

creases the likelihood of consumer error and confusion. The

context in which marks appear is important. See Hormel Foods,

73 F.3d at 503, 504 (noting that a character named “Spa’am”

was always associated with the words “Muppet Treasure Is-

land,” decreasing the likelihood that consumers would confuse

the Muppets’ wild boar puppet with Hormel’s meat product

known as Spam).

The differences in packaging between Mattel and MCA’s

products set this case apart from the books at issue in Dr. Seuss.

In that case, the offending book expropriated the image of a hat

used in Dr. Seuss’ books and placed it on the front and back

cover of the product. Dr. Seuss, 109 F.3d at 1402. Here, how-

ever, the band does not use any images of the Barbie doll itself,

and the name “Aqua” is always the largest lettering on the pack-

aging. Plaintiff is unlikely to show that lettering of the marks

are SO similar as to cause consumer confusion.

As to the video, plaintiff claims that the set used mimics

Barbie’s accessories. As the band members look nothing like

the dolls they spoof, however, using a set to evoke the subject

matter of the parody seems appropriate under the circum-

stances. A parody, by definition, “needs to mimic an original to

make its point.” Campbell v. Accuff-Rose Music, Inc.,510 U.S.

569, 80 [ 29 U.S.P.Q.2d 1961 ] (1994); see also Fisher, 794 -

F.2d at 435 n.2 (“To ‘conjure up’ the original work in the audi-

44a

ence’s mind, the parodist must appropriate a substantial enough

portion of it to evoke récognition.”). Given that the pretend

Barbie has a tattoo and dark hair, and the pretend Ken has a

clean-shaven head, viewers are unlikely to mistake these singers

for Mattel’s product.

Acutal Evidence of Confusion. Plaintiff points to several

dozen e-mails that it received at its website in which individuals

make reference to the “new Barbie song;” plaintiff also cites to

a fax from an individual in the United Arab Emirates.

(McKenzie Decl., Ex. R). However, several of the e-mails sim-

ply contain lyrics from the songs. Although a few ask if they

can acquire the CD through the web site, others simply write to

say that they enjoy the song, which may or may not mean that

they believe Mattel is responsible for it. (Id.). These ambiguous

e-mails are insufficient or at best very weak evidence of actual

confusion.“

#1418 Marketing Channels Used. Plaintiff asserts that Bar-

bie Girl and Barbie dolls “directly compete in the same, virtu-

ally global marketplace” and are advertised through the “same

media and commercial venues, including music and video

24 Weston Anson, chairman of Trademark and Licensing Associates,

relies on his Valmatrix method of calculation to show that confusion between

the two products is “substantial.” The validity of the outcome of those results

depends on the accuracy of the data entered and the soundness of the meth-

ods used to calculate these factors’ importance.

Mr. Anson apparently assumes “same or similar packaging trade

dress,” “similar channels of distribution,” and “same consumer audience.”

(Anson Decl. Para. 11). However, there is clearly a dispute as to the validity

of these assumptions. In addition, the objectivity of Mr. Anson’s analysis

becomes questionable when he refers to “additional factors” to support find-

ing a likelihood of confusion, by stating that “the defendants clearly did not

act in good faith... [because] [t]hey never contacted Mattel . . . before de-

ciding to use the BARBIE trademark.” (Id. Para. 38). It is unclear why this is

relevant to showing confusion and why any parodist would first seek permis-

sion before parodying someone.

a a al a a

So PAIRS vk LR ER

Soe te et orn ne ie ee

ete Heb

Yat AS ORR HN ES

45a

stores, the Internet, television and the radio.“ (PI.’s Mot. at

18). No widely marketed product lampooning Barbie could

avoid such a broad reaching interpretation of this factor.*”

Parodists should not be exiled to less conspicuous venues sim-

ply to avoid using the same marketing channels as the objects

they parody.

Degree of care of purchasers. The Court must also consider

the type of goods and the degree of care likely to be exercised

by the purchaser. Under this analysis, adults would presumably

be less prone to confusion than young children.

Defendants assert that the consumers of their product are

teenagers and adults, while Mattel’s Barbie products are tar-

geted toward three to ten-year-olds. (Folkes Decl. Para. 6).

Plaintiff counters that the “typical buyer” of both products “‘is a

young, unsophisticated person” who does not read the “tiny leg-

end on the back of an inexpensive CD.” (PI.’s Mot. at 19, 11;

see also Anson Decl. at 2 (“More than one billion BARBIE line

dolls have been sold worldwide, principally to girls aged 3 to

11.”’)), At another point, plaintiff identifies its primary purchas-

ers as adults who buy toys for their children or collectibles for

themselves. (PI.’s Reply at 16). It is unclear who the typical

buyers of plaintiff's products are, making a comparison with

defendant’s purchasers difficult. Even if Mattel’s customers

made purchases as haphazardly as it claims, they likely would

understand that the large letters “AQUA” on the CDs they are

buying represented a musical pop group and not a toy manufac-

turer.

2» Plaintiff also contends that defendants “advertised and promoted

their [song] . . . in a magazine with a subscription base consisting solely of

collectors of and investors in Mattel’s BARBIE brand products.” (PI.’s Mot.

at 19).

2& tn its reply brief, plaintiff repeats its earlier claim that Barbie Girl is

sold in the same departments of certain stores as plaintiff's products. Plain-

tiff does not explain how this claim relates to marketing channels.

46a

As to the type of goods, although plaintiff has sold many

different kinds of Barbie-related products over the years, it has

not shown that is currently selling music, except for a few

products that are sold as toys in toy departments and are often

accompanied by one of plaintiff's dolls.

Defendants’ Intent. Defendants claim that they choose the

name “Barbie” not to confuse the public but rather to parody the

doll and make a comment on the values it represents. (Defs.’

Opp’n at 25; Rasted Decl. Para. 11 (“As I wrote the song, I

knew that Barbie was a popular doll. . . . My intention was to

use that imagery to evoke and comment on a Barbie world.’”’)).

As to this element, plaintiff need not show that defendants “in-

tended to deceive consumers.” Gallo Winery, 967 F.2d at 1293.

Still, the weight of this factor is diminished somewhat in the

context of parody, as all parodists of consumer products “intend

to select” the products’ mark to make their comments. See also

Cliff Notes, Inc. v. Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing Group,

Inc., 886 F.2d 490, 494 [ 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1289 ] (2d Cir. 1989)

(recognizing the need to balance First Amendment interests

against likelihood of confusion, in part because it “allows

greater latitude for works such as parodies, in which expression,

and not commercial exploitation of another’s trademark, is the

primary intent”).

Expansion of product lines. In its briefs, plaintiff refers to

“Barbie Girl” products. However, the only product here is one

song, Barbie Girl, which is sold in different forms and is per-

formed by a new group that will be using totally different songs

in its future productions. (See Rasted Decl. at Para. 17).

Conclusion. Under an analysis of the Sleekcraft factors,

plaintiff is not likely to succeed in showing that consumers are

confused between the Barbie doll-line of products and the Bar-

bie Girl song, CDs, and video. In addition, the First Amend-

ment concerns raised by prohibiting a parody of a popular con-

sumer product weigh against granting a preliminary injunction.

Presumably, some consumer confusion is inevitable when a few

ht a ae nes ae ag ce el

aanauenenennes

NERS Hg py Mataiat

BDA EASE IS ROE AE BTL ELLIS ERIS FOLGE ‘4

Da ra a rat

EP RERE ASA ALOE IRIE AE BOLLS ALLELE LALS LEP TE

47a

people fail to realize that one product is parodying another. This

fact should not be used to censor criticism of or social com-

ments on icons in our popular culture, especially when the

parodying product identifies itself with its own brand name, in

this case “Aqua.” See, e.g., L.L. Bean, 811 F.2d at 34 (“Denying

parodists the opportunity to poke fun at symbols and names

which have become woven into the fabric of our daily life

would constitute a serious curtailment of a protected form of

expression.”).

C. Mattel’s Trademark Dilution Claims

Plaintiff also bases its motion on both federal and state

trademark dilution claims. *1419 The Federal Trademark Dilu-

tion Act provides that

The owner of a famous mark shall be entitled, subject

to the principles of equity and upon such terms as the

court deems reasonable, to an injunction against an-

other person’s commercial use in commerce of a mark

or trade name, if such use begins after the mark has

become famous and causes dilution of the distinctive

quality of the mark.

15 U.S.C. Section 1123(c)(1) (West 1997). The Act also pro-

vides that the person accused of violating subsection (c) must

have “willfully intended to trade on the owner's reputation or to

cause dilution of the famous mark.” Id. at Section 1125(c)(2). In

addition, the Act exempts from its reach the “[flair use of a fa-

mous mark by another person in comparative advertising or

promotion to identify the competing goods or services of the

owner of the famous mark[;] [n]oncommercial use of a

mark[; and] [a]ll forms of news reporting and news commen-

tary.” Id. at Section 1125(c)(4). To prove dilution, a party need

not show “the presence or absence of (1) competition between

the owner of the famous mark and other parties, or (2) likeli-

hood of confusion, mistake, or deception.” Id. at Section 1127.

California’s trademark dilution statute provides that

“(likelihood of injury to business reputation or of dilution of

48a

the distinctive quality of a mark registered under this chapter

_.. Shall be ground for injunctive relief, notwithstanding the

absence of competition between the parties or the absence of

confusion as to the source of goods or services.” Cal. Bus. and

Prof. Code Section 14330 (West 1997). The Ninth Circuit has

held that California’s anti-dilution law “is designed to protect

against the gradual ‘whittling away’ of a trademark’s value.”

Academy of Motion Picture, 944 F.2d at 1457.

Plaintiff claims that its famous mark is associated with

wholesomeness and that defendants’ “antisocial” song tarnishes

that mark. More specifically, plaintiff argues that Barbie Girl

supports “promiscuity, lewdness, and the stereotyping and

denigration of young women.” (PI.’s Mot. at 25). Defendants

contend that their speech falls within the “noncommercial use

of a mark” exception to the federal statute and that First

Amendment principles protect their use of the mark. See L.L.

Bean, 811 F.2d 26 (applying First Amendment principles to

state anti-dilution claim).

The fact Barbie Girl is sold for money is not dispositive as

to whether the use of the mark is commercial. Id., cf. New Kids,

971 F.2d at 309 (holding that “[wJhere . . . the use {of a mark]

does not imply sponsorship or endorsement, the fact that it is

carried on for profit and in competition with the trademark

holder’s business is beside the point” for purposes of trademark

infringement). In L.L. Bean, the Court, in considering a state

anti-dilution claim, found that the use of L.L. Bean’s trademark

in a monthly adult entertainment magazine was a noncommer-

cial use because it was parodying an actual catalog produced by

the plaintiff. 811 F.2d at 32. As the Court observed, the defen-

dant had “not used Bean’s mark to identify or market goods or

services; it .. . used the mark solely to identify Bean as the ob-

ject of its parody.” Id. at 33. Likewise, in this case, defendants’

use of the term “Barbie” appears to be for purposes of parody,

rather than to sell knock-off Barbie products.

PEIN LESS EEN LEH ALOE IIRE LEE ALOR LSID Fi NERA IHRE S28

POPS Rr a Gran, Taree Ate

er ee oa

SPL Tee PUL, yD RL OY Bia:

LE EL ETT ATOR SELIG ay IR EOS yi aE RETR R IEICE Le SRY i natin

49a

The L.L. Bean Court also rejected the argument that mere

association of a trademark with “unwholesome or negative con-

text” is enough to make a trademark dilution claim. Id. at 31;

see also New Kids, 971 F.2d at 307 n.5 (observing that “ [a]

trademark may even be used lawfully in a way that many peo-

ple, including the trademark owner, may find offensive”). Mat-

tel attempts to compare Barbie Girl’s relatively innocuous lyrics

to more sexually explicit parodies, including the use of a plain-

tiff's cheerleading uniform in a pornographic move, Dallas

Cowboys, 604 F.2d 200 [ 203 U.S.P.Q. 161 ], and graphic de-

pictions of two Pillsbury trade characters engaged in sexual in-

tercourse, Pillsbury Co. v. Milky Way Productions, Inc., 215

U.S.P.Q. 124 (N.D. Ga. 1981). However, the works in these

cases were pornographic, and plaintiff does not characterize

Barbie Girl as being sexually explicit. Further, the L.L. Bean

court distinguished the Pillsbury case, noting that the Georgia

district court failed to consider whether parody might be a de-

fense to a dilution claim, even though it was pornographic. 73

F.3d at 33 n.5. A First Amendment defense should also apply in

contexts such as this case where the parody is less sexually ex-

plicit than that in Pillsbury. Indeed, nonobscene, sexual speech

is “entitled to no less protection than other forms of expres-

sion,” no matter how course, vulgar, or distasteful it may be to

some. Id. at 34 (quoting Fantasy Book Shop, Inc. v. City of Bos-

ton, 652 F.2d 1115, 1126 (1st Cir. 1981)); see also Fisher, 794

F.2d at 437 (noting that a comic song about sniffing glue was

“innocuous-silly perhaps, but surely not obscene or immoral,”

even though it parodied another, more famous tune).

Even if the use of the term “Barbie” is not exempted as a

noncommercial use for purposes *1420 of trademark dilution,

the L.L. Bean Court warned that courts should still take into ac-

count First Amendment principles when evaluating such

claims: Cases of “unauthorized uses of trademarks on products

whose principal purpose is to convey a message . . . require a

balancing of the harm suffered by the trademark owner against

the benefit derived by the parodist and the public from the

unauthorized use of a trademark on a product designed to

50a

authorized use of a trademark on a product designed to convey

a message.” Id. at 32 n.4.

In this case, plaintiffs description of Barbie Girl as “lewd

and lascivious” arguably stretches those terms. Even if the song

were considered as vulgar as Mattel purports, it is a parody of

the “party-girl” image Barbie may already have among some

members of the general public. (See, e.g., Folkes Decl., Ex. 22).

Absent stronger evidence that the song actually tarnishes Bar-

bie’s image, plaintiff is unlikely to succeed on its trademark di-

lution claims.

V. Irreparable Injury and the Balance of Hardships

Plaintiff has failed to show that it is likely to succeed on its

trademark infringement and dilution claims. Nor does it appear

that the balance of hardships “tips sharply” in its favor. Big

Country Foods, 868 F.2d at 1088.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court DENIES plaintiff's

motion for a preliminary injunction. The Court also DENIES

plaintiff's and defendants’ motions to strike each other’s sup-

porting declarations.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

22 Plaintiff cites the Ninth Circuit's Academy of Motion Picture case to

support its state law dilution claim. 944 F.2d 1446 [ 19 U.S.P.Q.2d 1491 J.

In that case, a company produced a gold- colored award statute almost iden-

tical to the famous Oscar awards given each year. Id. at 1449-50. The “only

significant differences between the two [were that] the Star Award is two

inches shorter than the Oscar, and holds a star rather than a sword.” Id.

Unlike that case, defendants have not copied Barbie’s design as a doll or

even any of the music Mattel puts out under her name. Defendants are paro-

dying Barbie, not “whittling away” at consumers’ ability to distinguish be-

tween competing brands.

vs LIME IERSE ROGL M E i, ‘

tO AIRE GEOL ERIE MBI Tag

Sla

APPENDIX C

United States District Court

Central District of California

MATTEL, INC., a Delaware corporation,

Plaintiff,

v.

MCA RECORDS, INC., a California corporation, et al.,

Defendants.

No. CV 97-6791-WMB (RNBx)

[28 F. Supp. 2d 1120]

Aug. 3, 1998

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT AS TO ALL CLAIMS,

GRANTING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT AS TO DEFENDANTS’ COUNTERCLAIM,

AND DENYING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO DISMISS

WM. MATTHEW BYRNE, Jr., District Judge.

In March, 1997, a Danish musical group known as “Aqua”

released in Europe an eleven-song album, Aquarium. This al-

bum included a song entitled Barbie Girl, in which a woman

and man assume the identities of two popular Mattel dolls

known as Barbie and Ken. Defendants claim this song parodies

the popular toys, with the singers referring to Barbie as a “blond

bimbo girl” who loves to party and whose “life is plastic.”

Barbie Girl quickly became a hit in Europe and later was re-

leased in the United States, *1126 where the Aquarium album

sold over 1.4 million compact discs (CDs) and cassettes.

A At AEN SBOE REN TG BP EET EERE SEIS BREET EO Dt RENTERS ECE

SSI AP IEE PADI LIA ML sie

52a

On September 11, 1997, Mattel filed suit in this Court,

bringing eleven claims” against MCA and other defendants.”

Defendants, in turn, filed a counterclaim for defamation. On

February 19, 1998, this Court denied plaintiff's motion for a

preliminary injunction, on the grounds that it was not likely to

succeed on the merits.

Defendants now move for summary judgment; they also

seek to dismiss the foreign defendants for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction, and forum non conveniens.

Plaintiff moves for summary judgment as to defendants’

counterclaim for defamation and request reconsideration of the

Court’s earlier Order denying a preliminary injunction. Al-

though plaintiff did not file a formal cross-motion for summary

judgment on its own claims, during the hearing on April 30,

1998, plaintiffs counsel orally requested that the Court grant

summary judgment for Mattel rather than defendants.

At the hearing, the Court advised the parties that, because

the pre-trial and trial dates ‘vere approaching, it would issue a

brief order on the motions, followed by this more detailed or-

der.

Y The claims are (1 ) trademark and trade dress dilution (under state and

federal law), (2) trademark infringement, (3) false designation of origin and

false description, (4) statutory and common law unfair competition, (5) un-

fair competition under the Paris Convention, (6) wrongful use of a registered

mark; (7) common law misappropriation; (8) common law passing-off and

disparagement; (9) common law unjust enrichment, (10) contributory

trademark and trade dress dilution (under state and federal law), and (11)

contributory trademark and trade dress infringement.

~ Mattel did not sue the musical group Aqua.

» Mattel’s proposed preliminary injunction asked that this Court enjoin

defendants from manufacturing, producing, or distributing the Barbie Girl

song. It also requested that this Court require defendants to “dispos{e] or

destroy[ ] any product or its packaging, which uses Mattel’s BARBIE trade

name.” (PI.’s Proposed Order at 3).

12 ERTS RR ER ARO Kap

DENY ak Tt ART ARN RAO TAT PPS

53a

I. MCA’S MOTION TO_ DISMISS FOREIGN

DEFENDANTS

MCA Records is a California corporation that sells Aqua’s

album in the United States. Universal Music & Video Distribu-

tion Inc. is a New York corporation that distributes the album in

the United States. This Court’s jurisdiction over those two de-

fendants is not contested. Three foreign defendants have also

been sued by Mattel, and those three defendants have filed a

motion to dismiss the case against them for lack of personal ju-

risdiction. All three foreign defendants are affiliated members

of the Universal Music Group. (PI.’s Ex. H.) All three have an

active and on-going relationship with each other. (Cacciatore

Dep.; Bowen Dep.)

Universal Music A/S is a Danish corporation (“Universal

Denmark”). Aqua recorded the album in Denmark and is party

to a recording agreement with Universal Denmark that gives

Universal Denmark the worldwide rights to the Aqua album.

Universal Denmark has a preexisting agreement with MCA Re-

cords that gives MCA the rights to Aqua and other bands for

distribution in all countries except Denmark. Universal Den-

mark collects a license fee for all sales of the album in the

United States. MCA Music Scandinavia A/B (“MCA Scandi-

navia”) is a Swedish corporation. Through an agreement with

Universal Denmark, it owns the music publishing rights to the

words and the music of the Barbie Girl song. It receives money

from the sale of Aqua’s album anywhere in the world, including

those sold in the United States. (Ingestrom Dep. at 40-42.)

Universal Music International, Ltd. (“UMI’) is a British

holding company that has no rights to the song or to the album.

It acts to coordinate information among vaiious international,

affiliated companies. However, it does coordinate the release of

various musical products by its affiliates all over the world, in-

cluding in the United States. (Bowen Dep. at 18-23.) Universal

Music International then helps “coordinate touring activities

and promotional activities” of the released records, including

54a

Aqua in the United States and elsewhere around the world. (Jd.

at 31.) It also sent the Barbie *1127 Girl video to MCA in the

United States. (Jd. at 35.) UMI worked with Universal Den-

mark to market the Aqua album in the United States and rest of

the world. (/d. at 42-71.)

A. LIMITED JURISDICTION”

The Ninth Circuit has adopted “the following three-

pronged approach to analyzing limited jurisdiction: (1) The

nonresident defendant must do some transaction with the forum

or perform some act by which he purposefully avails himself of

the privilege of conducting activities in the forum, thereby in-

voking the benefits and protections of its laws. (2) The claim

must be one which arises out of or results from the defendant’s

forum-related activities. (3) Exercise of jurisdiction must be

reasonable.” Pacific Atlantic Trading Co. v. M/V Main Ex-

press, 758 F.2d 1325, 1327 (9th Cir. 1985).

The Ninth Circuit utilizes seven factors under the third

prong of the limited jurisdiction test to determine whether the

exercise of jurisdiction is reasonable. See Insurance Co. of

North America v. Marina Salina Cruz, 649 F.2d 1266, 1270

(9th Cir.1981). The following seven factors are relevant: “(A)

the extent of the purposeful interjection into the forum state;

(B) the burden on the defendant of defending in the forum; (C)

the extent of conflict with the sovereignty of defendant’s state;

(D) the forum state’s interest in adjudicating the dispute; (E)

the most efficient judicial resolution of the controversy; (F) the

importance of the forum to plaintiff's interest in convenient and

effective relief; and (G) the existence of an alternative forum.”

Id.

¥ Plaintiff also contends that the foreign defendants are subject to gen-

eral jurisdiction in the United States. Plaintiff has not shown that the foreign

defendants have had sufficiently continuous or systematic contacts to warrant

general jurisdiction.

PERRO tpttabpre opp ts >

BALLER REE EL GEES Deak a

*)

‘3 a) Sie oy i en ear

LLANELLI RR LINES

55a

1. Purposeful Availment

Defendants argue that the foreign defendants have no of-

fices, employees, property, or agents in the forum, and they

have not conducted any business in the forum. Defendants rely

on Asahi Metal Indus. Co. v. Superior Court, for the proposi-

tion that “the placement of a product into tie stream of com-

merce, without more, is not an act of the defendant purposely

directed toward the forum state.” 480 U.S. 102, 112, 107S. Ct.

1026, 94 L. Ed. 2d 92 (1987).

Defendants also rely on Rano v. Sipa Press, Inc., 987 F.2d

580 (9th Cir.1993). In Rano, the plaintiff-copyright licensor of

photographs sued a French licensee, asserting jurisdiction on

the basis that the licensee knew that plaintiff's photographs ul-

timately would be distributed in California due to the licensee’s

sub-licensing of the photographs to various magazines. Id. at

583-84. The Ninth Circuit rejected an argument that would

render all “foreign owners of art who sell their products to pub-

lications amenable to personal jurisdictign in every state in

which their art is eventually displayed.” Jd. However, this case

is distinguishable. The three foreign defendants did more than

merely have their music product end up in California by hap-

penstance. There were cross-licensing agreements between all

of the members of the Universal Group. A coordinated plan

existed among of all of the defendants to distribute the Barbie

Girl song around the world, including the United States.

For example, the artwork for the Barbie Girl recording was

delivered to MCA in Los Angles by Universal Denmark in con-

junction with the single’s release in the United States.

(Wheeler Dep. at 45.) Universal Denmark also has exported

single versions of the song to the United States. (/d. at 63-64;

Cacciatore Dep. at 105.)

UMI coordinated the release of Aqua’s album with all of

the Universal affiliates around the world, including the United

States. (Bowen Dep. at 16.) UMI helps determine which Uni-

versal record label, if any, should release a specific album into

56a

the United States. (/d. at 23.) As part of that process, UMI sent

promotional copies of the Barbie Girl video to MCA in the

United States. (/d. at 35.)

Universal Scandinavia operates under a sub-licensing

agreement in the United States. (Ingestrom Dep. at 39.) Thus,

under *1128 this sub-publishing agreement, Universal Scandi-

navia would receive royalties for each Aqua album sold in the

United States. (/d. at 41.) There would also be royalty pay-

ments for each time a song was played on the radio. (/d. at 41-

42.) MCA Scandinavia sent albums to the United States to

their affiliates in the United States for publicity in the hopes of

getting the Aqua album used in commercials or other commer-

cial ventures. (Jd. at 46-49.)

All of the above contacts show sufficient purposeful avail-

ment of the United States by the foreign defendants. The dis-

trict court cases upon which defendants rely are also distin-

guishable. In none of them do the

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Mattel, Inc. v. MCA Records, Inc. · 537 U.S. 1171 | Frix