Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Costerus v. Neal

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

. Supreme Court, U.S.

| FILED

No. OF 42 7 JUN 27 2002

| GPR@8 OF THE eLaK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ALEC S. COSTERUS,

Petitioner

V.

JANE SWIFT, ET AL.,

Respondents

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the First Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Alec S. Costerus, pro se

1537 Sudbury Road

Concord, Massachusetts 01742

® 978 .318 . 9739

ee

Questions Presented for Review

1. WHETHER the Second Amendment to the US.

Constitution guarantees an individual right to keep

and bear arms?

2. WHETHER the Second Amendment is made

applicable to the several States through the

Fourteenth Amendment?

3. | WHETHER Massachusetts’ Statute, M.G.L. c. 140, §

131 (d), which provides for standardless discretion

to local Licensing Authorities when reviewing an

application for a License to Carry Firearms, violates

the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment?

4. WHETHER the local Licensing Authority’s after-the-

fact consideration of acts which when done were

innocent, as ground for denial of a license to carry

firearms, violates the Due Process provisions of the

Fourteenth Amendment?

Parties to the Proceeding

Petitioner Alec S. Costerus (hereinafter “Costerus”)

resides at 1537 Sudbury Road in Concord,

Massachusetts 01742-5826. Costerus has been an

accomplished competitive marksman for many years.

Respondent Jane Swift (hereinafter “Respondent

Swift”) is the Acting Governor of the Commonwealth of

Massachusetts, whose principal place of business is at the

State House located at 24 Beacon Street, Boston,

Massachusetts 02133. Respondent Swift became Acting

Governor on April 10, 2001, who is sued in her official

capacity as such.

Respondent Commonwealth of Massachusetts is a

state of the United States of America.

Respondents Swift and Commonwealth of

Massachusetts are collectively hereinafter referred to as

“Respondent State Officials.”

il

Table of Contents

Questions Presented for Review ................... i

Parties to the Proceeding .......................5. ii

Table of Contents ..............cccccccccccccee, lil

ee vi

Constitutional Provisions Cited ............... vi

Federal Statutes Cited ........................ Vi

SO Vii

ce kee diwaccdcs Vii

Other Authorities Cited ...................... xi

ES ee XXXii

Jurisdictional Statement ....................05. XXXii

United States District Court's Jurisdiction .... xxxii

United States Court of Appeals’ Jurisdiction . xxxiii

United States Supreme Court's Jurisdiction .. xxxiv

Filing Dates Establishing Timeliness of Appeal xxxiv

Appeal of Final Order or Judgment ......... XXXiV

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved .. xxxv

Petition for Writ of Certiorari ................ ee

Statement of the Case ....................0000. 1

TN ances evcccccnccacecen 3

Reasons for Granting Writ of Certiorari ......... e)

I. Second Amendment .................... 5

Rg ee 13

iii

1. Second Amendment Made Applicable

to the States via Fourteenth

A ET eee ee eee 13

2. Second Amendment Secures an

Individual’s Right to Keep and Bear

eee er er Terre rT ee 16

B. United States v. Millér .............055 18

es Se NE 8 55.cdk ohne dan seneueeresnes 22

A. Adequacy of Post-Deprivation Remedy

OPT Tee Tee eee Tee rere 22

1. Adequacy of Remedy Inadequate . 22

2. Remedy for Post-Deprivation ..... 23

B. Gun Licenses as Property or Liberty

SNE 3s ucecesteeteweneeeuenuas 25

eo ETE TET ET ce ere rer eres 29

Ee See ere ee rey eee eee TT er Al

Judgement, United States District Court for the

District of Massachusetts, 00CV12156 MEL .... A2

Order, United States District Court, District of

Massachusetts, 00CV12156 MEL............. A114

Judgment in a Civil Case, United States District

Court, District of Massachusetts, 00CV12156 MEL

Pe Tey eT eer eee ee ee eee A 16

FS PTET TT ee eee ree Bl

Judgement, United States Court of Appeals for the

First Circuit, Case No. 01-1493 ............... B2

iv

DEES. 56sec asic eee ae Cl

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 140, § 131

(AE OeTR EER ES SED 4 INE ROT MOREE ENE Raa Ci

| ee een ears et he siete D1

Bibliography of Scholarly Research ........... D1

Table of Authorities

Constitutional Provisions Cited

U.S. Constitution, Fifth Amendment ... 1, 8, 10, 12, 27,

30

U.S. Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment . i, xxxiii, 1,

11, 12, 14, 15, 27, 29,30,D1,D3,D4

U.S. Constitution, Second Amendment . i, 1, 2, 8-12, 15-

22, 26, 27, 29

Federal Statutes Cited

yee | Pere er XXXiV

y Ets a bs Pen A Oice my ene a XXXiV

a ee aks 0h 4 OK 60 ee eee XXXili

Bee es. 0644800840008 ee XXXii

y gk Tae gs rrr re re Xxxii

y ph ee ok Pee eree eee ee XXxXii

y pit lee | eeereerr erry re XXXiV

gts SoD . err err ey rrr xxxiii, 2, 23, 24

GRU BA. BT) 56s vvice ener iscessvannes XXxil

vi

DE POE te Bae 6 Re a

FUP ahee OE ED ov cc eh eo cc tuenvedensdenes Xxxiii

5 U.S.C. § 552a (“Privacy Act of 1974") ......... XxXxiii

PEE SIND FAME 6 an WN Vc Sade vn en svseceees 18

State Statutes Cited

ok BY RS | ere pr re pr er ey r rerrr yy 23

fet Re REY | Pee T Te rer re Tere 1, 25, 28

itt ma a Fb: Peererrerrrrrere rr rs. 1, 2, 10, 25

EAs aa ©. BEE Sk OD os cbc cicevenseces i, 21, 23, 26

Ras ©. De ed ok so eked sek veer dees cebaces 28

ee Ge se ei ae isn eek es deeendaecueaeses 25

Military Code of IIlinois,

Act of May 28, 1879, Laws of 1879, 192 ......... 14

8, Fe PTT eer ee eee se Be

DR ere GO EE nv esa desvsconsarecvcseeses 25, 28

kV FT ee eeTereri re errr ee 26, 28

Cases Cited

Albright v. Oliver,

BIO US FIO FRO anon nse ce vncdcwcccccecevcns 15

Vii

Aymette v. State,

2 Humphreys (Tenn.) 154,158 ................ 19

Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth,

92 S.Ct. 2701, 408 U.S. 564, 33 L.Ed.2d 548 (1972)

PEP OCTET CET ERE FE OPT ITT T TOR ee. EF 15, 16, 27

Boddie v. Connecticut,

re Ge Oe ig TOD 6 0 680 bea eebeeeceseceurs 29

Bolling v. Sharpe,

ee We ie GPF Re £0 068 Fes eaweeeccdcéuess 16

Brown v. Wilson,

373 F.Supp. 1045, 1049 (W.D.Pa.1974) .......... 24

Bush v. Gore,

531 USS. SD aN Ws cacveeeusseusesuneenks 21

Emerson v. United States,

Case No. 01-8780, June 10, 2002, cert. denied. ... 8,10

Ex parte Milligan,

rgGit © 1) Be reErTrrererrrerTr rier rrey e 8

In re Rapier,

345 US. TID, TS1 CBRE) wo occ ccccsesccccccvveces 9

Jannetta v. Cole,

493 F.2d 1334, 1337 n. 5, 1338 (4" Cir. 1974) ..... 24

Johnson v. Eisentrager,

SOP OD, FES CRIS 6 vec swveccccesesccebevecrves 9

Vili

7:

q

:

:

:

:

Logan v. United States,

144 US. 263, 286-287 (1892) ...........0 0.0005, 18

Mabey v. Reagan,

937 F.2d 1036, 1045 (9" Cir. 1976) .............., 24

Manfredonia v. Barry,

401 F.Supp. 762, 767-768 (E.D.N.Y.1975) ........ 24

Monroe v. Pape,

365 U.S. 167, 172, 81 S.Ct. 473, 5 L.Ed.2d 492 (1961)

EES GEE EDS SENOUTES NEDSS OE EE 50 8a obits otha h 25

Moore vs. East Cleveland,

431 US 494, 502 (1976) ........ 0... cece cece ees 14

Needleman v. Bohlen,

386 F.Supp. 741 (D.Mass.1974) ..............., 24

O'Brien v. Galloway,

362 F.Supp. 901, 905 (D.Del.1973) .............. 24

Perry v. Sindermann,

408 U.S. 593, 92 S.Ct. 2694, 33 L.Ed.2d 570 (1972)

NEVES RE Rae EAS CC EPo geen peda eRS Swe e Gnu cede 24

Planned Parenthood v. Casey,

ee Ae ORO ns 04-5 6.bp 0 0:0 Sa duensadeccewes 15

Poe v. Ullman Poe v. Ullman,

Pe ee OE ie sor'ben ks vkeenevdexenceal 14

ix

Presser v. Illinois,

116 U.S. 252, 265 (1886). ........ 2, 11, 13, 14, 16-18

Printz v. United States,

Case No. 95-1478, 521 U.S. 98, 117 S.Ct. 2365 (1997)

Lick Aen LAE WR ENON EUS T ee See Sd OK RECESS 7

Robertson v. Baldwin,

Re re 18

Rzeznik v, Chief of Police of Southampton,

374 Mass. 475, 373 N.E.2d 1128 (1978) .......... 23

Scott v. Sandford,

60 U.S. (19 Howard) 398, 417, 450 (1857) ....... 7,8

Shelburne v. Moyer,

16 Mass.App.Ct. 543, 453 N.E.2d 461 (1983) .. 2, 25-

27

Smith v. Losee,

485 F.2d 334, 338, 340 (10 Cir. 1973) ........... 24

Stanley v. Illinois,

eS RE ino ooh bea Oe earns es 16

United States v. Cruikshank,

Mik Gl > ee 16-18, 26

United States v. Emerson,

Or ie IE hone 5A aoe een eres 9,10, 27

United States v. Emerson,

99-10331, 5” 2 Eg ey eer Pre wre Nie 7e Ye 9

United States v. Miller,

26 F. Supp. 1002, 1003 (W.D. Ark. i err 18

United States v. Miller,

307 U.S. 174, 178 (1939). ...... 2,5, 7, 11, 18-21, D2

United States v. Verdugo-Urquidez,

oe A at | ree 7,13

Williams v. Day,

412 F.Supp. 336, 340 n.1 (E.D.Ark.1976)......... 24

Other Authorities Cited

Amar, Akhil Reed,

“Second Thoughts: What the Right to Bear Arms

Really Means,” The New Republic, p. 242, July 12,

Se ee dk aces ea Re ea D1

Amar, Akhil Reed,

“The Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth

Amendment,” 101 Yale L. J. 1131-1284, April 1992

PSA paw 7 ales wee ae Ow ee ee .D1

Amar, Akhil Reed,

“The Bill of Rights as a Constitution,” 100 Yale L. J. ‘

Se No cea rck e ee D1

Xl

ee ee

Ashcroft, John, U.S. Attorney General

Letter to James J. Baker, Executive Director,

National Rifle Association, May 17,2001 ........ 8

Costerus v. Argeo Paul Cellucci, et al.,

Judgment, U.S. Court of Appeals (1* Cir.), Case

No. 01-1493, March 29, 2002 ............... XXXi1V

Costerus v. Neal, et all.,

Memorandum and Order, U.S. District Court for

the District of Massachusetts, Civil Action No. 00-

12156-MEL, March 9, 2001, p. 8 (Lasker, J.) . . . xxxiv,

20

Costerus v. Wetherbee, et al.,

Defendant State Officials’ Motion to Dismiss, U.S.

District Court, Civil Action No. 00-12156-MEL,

POOPORNIOE DU BOs gov i nv vviccovdscdsbvuesenee 2

Costerus v. Wetherbee,

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, Concord

District Court, Docket No. 0047-CV-0001, dated

DERCE DD, Bre COMO, J) os ev vv cee wee 26

Cottrol, Robert J., (ed.),

Gun Control and the Constitution: Sources and

Explorations on the Second Amendment, 3 vols.,

Garland Publishing, Inc., New York, N.Y., 1992,

and in single paperback vol., Garland Publishing,

ae. Oe ae See re GP D1

Xii

Cottrol, Robert J., with Diamond, Raymond T.,

“The Fifth Auxiliary Right,” 104 Yale L. J. 995-1026,

Be ye... ............. D1

Cottrol, Robert J.,

“Public Safety and the Right to Bear Arms,” in D.

Bodenhamer and J. Ely, After 200 Years: The Bill of

Rights in Modern America, Indiana Univ. Press,

Bloomington, Ind., 1993 ...............0000.. D1

Cottrol, Robert J.,

“The Second Amendment: Toward an Afro-

Americanist Reconsideration,” 80 Georgetown L. J.

ew... se... D1

Cottrol, Robert J.,

“Never Intended to be Applied to the White

Population’: Firearms Regulation and Racial

Disparity - The Redeemed South's Legacy to a

National Jurisprudence,” 70 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 1307-.

IE ee D1

Denning, Brannon P. with Reynolds, Glenn Harlan,

“It Takes a Militia: A Communitarian Case for

Compulsory Arms Bearing,” 5 W. & M. Bill of

Wa ee, ..).......5............. D2

Denning, Brannon P.,

“Palladium of Liberty? Causes and Consequences

of the Federalization of State Militias in the

Twentieth Century,” 21 Okla. City U. L. R. 191-245,

EE D2

Xlil

| ele eee

Denning, Brannon P.,

“Professional Discourse, the Second Amendment

and the ‘Talking Head Constitutionalism’

Counterrevolution: A Review Essay,” 21 So. IIl. U.

A Oe. Sere ein ms tah te D2

Denning, Brannon P.,

“Can the Simple Cite Be Trusted? Lower Court

Interpretations of United States v. Miller and the

Second Amendment,” 26 Cumberland L. Rev. 961-

ee Pee ee eee ee rere ee ee re D2

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

A Right to Bear Arms: State and Federal Bills of Rights

and Constitutional Guarantees Greenwood Press,

Sy, VUOMION, COMM, THO ccs eiscesueciucss D2

Halbrook, Stephen P., |

Firearms Law Deskbook, Clark Boardman Callaghan,

Deerfield, Ill., 1995 and 1999 supp. ............ D2

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

That Every Man Be Armed: The Evolution of a

Constitutional Right, Univ. of New Mexico

Press/The Independent Institute, Oakland, Cal.,

1984, reprinted by The Independent Institute, 1991

sabe ees chs ad wae EE ee eee D2

Halbrook, Stephen P., with Kopel, David B.,

revised and reprinted in Cottrol, Gun Control and

the Constitution: Sources and Explorations on the

Second Amendment, pp. 360-374, “Tench Coxe and

the Right to Keep and Bear Arms, 1787-1823,” 7/2

XIV

W. & M. Bill of Rights J. 347-399, February 1999

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“Congress Interprets the Second Amendment:

Declarations by a Co-Equal Branch on the

Individual Right to Keep and Bear Arms,” 62/3

Tenn. L. Rev. 597-641, Spring 1995 ............ D3

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“Encroachments of the Crown on the Liberty of

the Subject: Pre-Revolutionary Origins of the

Second Amendment,” 15 U. of Dayton L. Rev. 91-

8 ee een reper nec anon: D3

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“Firearms, the Fourth Amendment, and Air

Carrier Security,” 52/3 J. of Air Law & Comm. 585-

680, Southern Methodist Univ. School of Law, 1987

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“Personal Security, Personal Liberty, and ‘The

Constitutional Right to Bear Arms’: Visions of the

Framers of the Fourteenth Amendment,” 5/2

Constit. L. J. 341-434, Seton Hall Law School,

amie: Lomeiaat Oe ee ET COT COE D3

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“Rationing Firearms Purchases and the Right to

Keep Arms: Reflections on the Bill of Rights of

Virginia, West Virginia, and the United States,” 96

Vs FE: Mi PO DA BOO Soaks css ba vae vee ses D3

XV

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“Second-Class Citizenship and the Second

Amendment in the District of Columbia,” 5/2 Geo.

Mason Univ. Civ. Rights L. ]. 105-178, Summer 1995

PPT eReT eee ee ne ree D4

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“The Jurisprudence of the Second and Fourteenth

Amendment, Geo. Mason L. Rev. 1-69, 1981,

reprinted in part in The Right to Keep and Bear

Arms, Report of the Subcommittee on the

Constitution of the Senate Committee on the

Judiciary, 97" Cong., 2d Sess., pp. 68-82, February

|’ inn ere en rye ca MAA rr gae eee D4

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“The Right of the People or the Power of the State:

Bearing Arms, Arming Militias, and the Second

Amendment,” 26/1 Valparaiso U. L. Rev. 131-207,

Rn errr ey err rs ere D4

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“The Right to Bear Arms in Texas: The Intent of

the Framers of the Bill of Rights,” 41 Baylor L. Rev.

C29-GBB, P90D os SEGA D4

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“The Right to Bear Arms in the First State Bills of

Rights: Pennsylvania, North Carolina, Vermont,

and Massachusetts,” 10 Vt. L. Rev. 255-320, 1985

XVi

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“The Right to Keep and Bear Arms under the

Second and Fourteenth Amendments: The

Framers' Intent and Supreme Court

Jurisprudence,” 5/1 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol. 7-28,

PR on god eae Gn i's 6b 4 4a ode wo D4

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“The Second Amendment as a Phenomenon of

Classical Political Philosophy” in Kates, Don B. ,

Jr., (ed.), Firearms and Violence, 1984 ........... D5

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“To Keep and Bear Their Private Arms: The

Adoption of the Second Amendment, 1787-1791,”

10/13 No. Ky. L. Rev. 13-39 (1982), reprinted in 2 J.

EN SS Sn sn AG aie po S48 6 eh ae D5

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“Tort Liability for the Manufacture, Sale and

Ownership of Handguns,” 6/2 Hamline L. Rev.

ang yc dic nook as WN SER ODORS D5

Halbrook, Stephen P.,

“What the Framers Intended: A Linguistic

Analysis of the Right to ‘Bear Arms’,” 49/1 Law &

Contemp. Prob. 151-162, Winter 1986........... D5

Hardy, David T. with Fields, William S.,

“The Militia and the Constitution: A Legal

pumety, 150 Mil. L. Rev.1,1992.............. D5

XVil

Hardy, David T. with Stompoly, John,

“Of Arms and the Law,” 51 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 62-

es Lee eae an eat ANE Saar a D5

Hardy, David T.,

Origins and Development of the Second Amendment,

Blacksmith Corp., Chino Valley, Ariz.,1986.... D5

Hardy, David T.,

“Armed Citizens, Citizen Armies: Toward a

Jurisprudence of the Second Amendment,” 9

Harvard J. of L. & Pub. Pol. 559-638, 1986 ....... D5

Hardy, David T.,

“Firearms Ownership and Regulation: Tackling an

Old Problem with Renewed Vigor,” 20 W. & M. L.

ee ee or ee er rere D5

Hardy, David T.,

“Historical Bases of the Right to Keep and Bear

Arms,” The Right to Keep and Bear Arms, Report of

the Subcommittee on the Constitution of the

Senate Committee on the Judiciary, 97th Cong., 2d

Sess., pp. 45-67, February 1982 ............... D6

Hardy, David T.,

“Legal Restrictions of Firearms Ownership as an

Answer to Violent Crime: What Was the

Question?” 6 Hamline L. Rev. 391-408, 1983 ..... D6

Hardy, David T.,

“The Firearms Owners' Protection Act: A

XVili

Historical and Legal Perspective,” 17 Cumberland

hn ROD. TOO e BOE on vnc censuveccunucneees D6

Hardy, David T.,

“The Second Amendment and the Historiography

of the Bill of Rights,” 4 J. of L. & Pol. 1-62, 1987 . D6

Heath, J. Norman,

“Exposing the Second Amendment: Federal

Preemption of State Militia Legislation,” 79 U. Det.

PERCY 1. OD. TPC 66. M6 ks ba oe cae ee D6

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.),

Restricting Handguns: The Liberal Skeptics Speak Out,

North River Press, Inc., Croton-on-Hudson, N.Y.,

ROE Kick ees casaeie beeen D6

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.),

Why Handgun Bans Can't Work Second

Amendment Foundation, Bellevue, Wash., 1982

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Barnett, Randy E.,

“Under Fire: The New Consensus on the Second

Amendment,” 45/4 Emory L. J. 1139-1259, Fall 1996

6 64 We eae hoes eae Oe ee D6

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Kleck, Gary,

The Great American Gun Debate: Essays on Firearms

& Violence, Pacific Research Institute for Public

Policy, San Francisco, Cal., 1997 .............. D7

X1X

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.),

Firearms and Violence: Issues of Public Policy

Ballinger, Cambridge, Mass., 1984 ............ D7

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.),

Symposium: Gun Control, 49/1 L. & Contemp.

PUD. BBs ¢ TOE BOO ck b hee scusetee nes D7

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.),

“Firearms and Firearms Regulation: Old Premises,

New Research (A Symposium),” 5 L. & Pol. Quart.,

is POPPTTPReTeT Terr Terr yr ee D7

Kates, Don B., Jr., author,

“The Second Amendment: A Dialogue,” id. at 143-

BOD «0460 ovdewesieend ooh Gees baeeseeeeee ere D7

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

Guns, Murders, and the Constitution: A Realistic

Assessment of Gun Control, Pacific Research

Institute for Public Policy, San Francisco, Calif.,

ry ere ee Bere Pr re D7

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Lattimer, John K. and Boen, James

R.,

“Problematic Arguments for Banning Handguns,”

in Kates, Don B., Jr., and Kleck, Gary, The Great

American Gun Debate: Essays on Firearms & Violence,

Pacific Research Institute for Public Policy, San

Francisco, Cal., pp. 31-49, 1997 .......ssees00. D7

eee) weet

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Lattimer, John K., and Boen, James

R.,

“Sagecraft: Bias and Mendacity in The Public

Health Literature on Gun Usage,” in Kates, Don

B., Jr., and Kleck, Gary, The Great American Gun

Debate: Essays on Firearms & Violence, Pacific

Research Institute for Public Policy, San Francisco,

Ch, OU REO EEE oo cewrcccsepscabedewss D9

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Polsby, Daniel D.,

“Of Genocide and Disarmament,” 86/1 J. of Crim.

L. & Criminology 247-256, Fall 1995 ............ D7

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Schaffer, Henry E.; Latimer, John

K.; Murray, George B.; and Cassem, Edwin H.,

“Guns and Public Health: Epidemic of Violence or

Pandemic of Propaganda?” 62/3 Tenn. L. Rev. 513-

POO I BPO oo oF bse nk Cia tenvevenceseces D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Bigotry, Symbolism and Ideology in the Battle

over Gun Control,” 1992 Pub. Int'l L. Rev. 31-46,

Pere err Terre rT eT TT eTeeT re re re ee D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Gun Control: Separating Reality from

Symbolism,” 20 J. of Contemp. L. 353-379, 1994 .. D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Handgun Banning in Light of the Prohibition

Experience,” in Don B. Kates, Jr. (ed.), Firearms and

Violence, pp. 139-154, 1984 .......... cece eee. D8

XXi

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Handgun Prohibition and the Original Meaning

of the Second Amendment,” 82 Mich. L. Rev. 203-

ee NE Sak co heen ae sereeseoccurcuteeiiow D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Minimalist Interpretation of the Second

Amendment” in Hickok, E. (ed.), The Bill of Rights:

Original Meaning and Current Understanding, Univ.

of Virginia Press, Charlottesville, Va., 1991 .... D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“On Genocide and Disarmament,” 86 J. of Crim. L.

& Criminology 247,1995 ....... 0... ccc cece ee D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Policy Lessons from Recent Gun Control

Research,” 49 L. & Contemp. Prob. 35-62, 1986... D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Reflections on the Relevancy of Gun Control,” 13

CP OU AEM EE oes ecccbuicnnctabeevs D8

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“Some Remarks on the Prohibition of Handguns,”

re aS S| errr erer D9

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“The Battle Over Gun Control,” 84 Pub. Int. 42,

1986, reprinted in 3 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol....... D9

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“The Second Amendment and the Ideology of Self-

XXii

Protection,” 9 Constit. Comment. 87-104, February

MANGAN SeATh ENG GK KAN SKS SAM WS eSNG Ck Se ¥8% D9

Kates, Don B., Jr.,

“The Value of Civilian Handgun Possession as a

Deterrent to Crime or a Defense Against Crime,”

18 Amer. J. of Crim. L. 113-167,1991 ........... D9

Kleck, Gary with Bordua, David,

“The Assumptions of Gun Control,” in Kates, Don

B. (ed.) Firearms and Violence: Issues of Public Policy,

Ballinger, Cambridge, Mass., 1984, reprinted in

Library of Congress, Congressional Research

Service, Federal Regulation of Firearms: A Report

Prepared for the Use of the Committee on the Judiciary,

United States Senate, 97th Cong., 2d Sess.,

a ee eee D9

Kleck, Gary with Gertz, Marc,

“Armed Resistance to Crime: The Prevalence and

Nature of Self-Defense with a Gun,” 86/1 J. of

Crim. L. & Crim. 150-187, Fall 1995 ............ D9

Kleck, Gary with Patterson, E. Britt,

“The Impact of Gun Control and Gun Ownership

Levels on Violence Rates,” 9 J. of Quantit. Crim.

I ro le. So ae ee .D10

Kleck, Gary,

Point Blank: Guns and Violence in America, Aldine

de Gruyter, New York, 1991 ................ D 10

XXili

Kleck, Gary, with Kates, Don B., Jr.,

The Great American Gun Debate: Essays on Firearms

& Violence, Pacific Research Institute for Public

Policy, San Francisco, Cal., 1997 ............. D 10

Kleck, Gary,

“Crime Control Through the Private Use of

Armed Force,” 35/1 Soc. Prob. 1-21, February 1988

CLEA ERSGER ESS EEEDN DELANEY AES D 10

Kleck, Gary,

“Guns and Violence: An Interpretive Review of

the Field,” 1/1 Soc. Path. 12-47, January 1995 .. D10

Kleck, Gary,

“Media Bias: Gun Control, Assault Weapons, Cop-

Killer Bullets, the Goetz Case, and Other Alarms in

the Night,” in Kates, Don B., Jr., and Kleck, Gary,

The Great American Gun Debate: Essays on Firearms

& Violence, Pacific Research Institute for Public

Policy, San Francisco, Cal., pp. 54-92, 1997 . .. D10

Kleck, Gary,

“The Factual Foundation for Certain Key

Assumptions of Gun Control,” 5 L. & Pol. Quart.

a Mee RE TT eer r rarer re D 10

Kleck, Gary,

“The Frequency of Defensive Gun Use,” pp. 152-

191 and “Keeping, Carrying, and Shooting Guns

for Self Protection,” pp. 194-222, and “The Nature

of Defensive Gun Use and the Deterrence and

Displacement of Crime,” in Kates, Don B., Jr., and

XXiV

Kleck, Gary, The Great American Gun Debate: Essays

on Firearms & Violence, Pacific Research Institute

for Public Policy, San Francisco, Cal., pp. 223-268,

se OOS Ee Pree rrr ere | ae rea D 10

Kleck, Gary,

“The Relationship Between Gun Ownership Levels

and Rates of Violence in the United States,” in

Kates, Don B., Jr. (ed.), Firearms and Violence: Issues

of Public Policy, Ballinger, Cambridge, Mass., pp.

99-132, 1984, reprinted in Library of Congress,

Congressional Research Service, Federal .\egulation

of Firearms: A Report Prepared for the Use of the

Committee on the Judiciary, United States Senate, 97th

Cong., 2d Sess., Committee Print, 1982........ D11

Kopel, David B. with Blackman, Paul H.,

“Can Soldiers Be Peace Officers? The Waco

Disaster and the Militarization of American Law

Enforcement,” 30 Akron L. Rev. 619-659, 1997 .. D11

Kopel, David B. with Blackman, Paul H.,

“The Unwarranted Warrant: The Waco Search

Warrant and the Decline of the Fourth

Amendment,” 18/1 Hamline J. of L. & Pol. 1-51, Fall

oo iiare Be CES ic ek EE eek D11

Kopel, David B. with Cramer, Clayton E. and Hattrup,

Scott G.,

“A Tale of Three Cities: The Right to Keep and

Bear Arms in State Supreme Court Cases,” 68

Temple L. Rev. 1177-1240, 1995, reprinted in 8 J.

Firearms & Pub. Pol. 109-203, Fall 1996 ........ Dil

XXV

Kopel, David B. with Gardiner, Richard E.,

“The Sullivan Principles: Protecting the Second

Amendment from Civil Abuse,” 19 Seton Hall

LOGI. f. TROT EO WOOP viv sve ees denwbausee D11

Kopel, David B. with Little, Christopher C.,

“Communitarians, Neorepublicans, and Guns:

Assessing the Case for Firearms Prohibition,” 56/2

REA. 1. Rew, SO-SG, TIFT. vcs ck ncn eanune D12

Kopel, David B. with Olson, Joseph,

“Preventing a Reign of Terror: Civil Liberties

Implications of Terrorism Legislation,” 21 Okla.

City U. L. Rev. 247-347, Summer/Fall 1996 .... D12

Kopel, David B. with Reynolds, Glenn Harlan,

“Taking Federalism Seriously: Lopez and the

Partial-Birth Abortion Ban,” 30/1 Conn. L. Rev. 59-

GS rere reeset D12

Kopel, David B.,

Gun Control in Great Britain: Saving Lives or

Commivicting Liberty, T9982... 0 60s si ievasuwes D12

Kopel, David B.,

Guns: Who Should Have Them?, Prometheus Books,

oo ek ee | rr ore rer D12

Kopel, David B., -

The Samurai, the Mountie, and the Cowboy,

Prometheus Books, Buffalo, N.Y., 1992 ....... D12

Kopel, David B., with Blackman, Paul H.,

No More Wacos: What's Wrong with Federal Law

Enforcement and How to Fix It, Prometheus Books,

a ese ccc eens D 12

Kopel, David B.,

“Canadian Gun Control: Should the United States

Look North for a Solution to Its Firearms

Problem?” 5 Temple Int'l & Comp. L. J. 1-50, 1991

Kopel, David B.,

“Comprehensive Bibliography of the Second

Amendment in Law Reviews,” 11 J. Firearms &

EE eee D13

Kopel, David B.,

“It Isn't About Duck Hunting: The British Origins

of the Right to Arms,” 93 Mich. L. Rev. 1333-1362,

EE Se D13

Kopel, David B.,

“Japanese Gun Control,” 2 Asia Pac. L. Rev. 26-52,

eee D13

Kopel, David B.,

“Lethal Laws,” 15 N.Y. L. Sch. J. of Int'l & Comp. L.

EE Ee D13

Kopel, David B.,

“Peril or Protection? The Risks and Benefits of

Handgun Prohibition,” 12 St. Louis U. Pub. L. Rev.

ee ive vere eee D13

XXVIi

Kopel, David B.,

“Rational Basis Analysis of ‘Assault Weapon’

Prohibition,” 20 J. of Contemp. L. 381-417 (1994)

Kopel, David B.,

“The Ideology of Gun Ownership and Gun

Control in the United States,” 18 Quart. J. of Ideol.

Oy SE ROE 5k 05065 544 G NS Roe eee D 13

Kopel, David B.,

“The Second Amendment in the Nineteenth

Century,” 1998 Brig. Young U. L. Rev. 1359-1524,

SFE fats kchekerin vee eee D13

Kopel, David B.,

“Why Gun Waiting Periods Threaten Public

Safety,” 4/1 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol. 1-72, Summer

ee ree ere Pena anr rrr ts mre oshrr og D13

Levinson, Sanford,

“Democratic Politics and Gun Control,” 1

Recorpleuctign TSF, THRE oa cc csc vsecanvisavess D114

Levinson, Sanford,

“Is the Second Amendment Finally Becoming

Recognized as Part of the Constitution? Voices

from the Courts,” Brig. Young U. L. Rev. 127, 1998D

REO Tee er ee er eee

Levinson, Sanford,

“The Embarrassing Second Amendment,” 99 Yale

L. J. 637-659, December 1989, reprinted in Cottrol,

XXVIIi

Gun Control 137-159, reprinted in 3 J. Firearms &

tg SNe eg eee eee eer rer re rae D 14

Lund, Nelson,

“The Past and Future of the Individual's Right to

Arms,” George Mason University School of Law

Law and Economics Working Paper No. 95-11, GMU,

Arlington, Va., 1995, published in 31/1 Ga. L. Rev.

SOO PE NE i aC ea eaten se eens D14

Lund, Nelson,

“The Second Amendment, Politica! Liberty, and

the Right to Self-Preservation,” 39/1 Ala. L. Rev.

SR EE in eek eo eo dca ee eee D14

Malcolm, Joyce Lee,

Disarmed: The Loss of the Right to Bear Arms in

Restoration England, The Mary Ingraham Bunting

Institute of Radcliffe College, 1980 ........... D14

Malcolm, Joyce Lee,

Review, 54 Geo. Washington U. L. Rev. 582, 1986.

ee ee oe TT ee ee ut Vike hewe ek na eee

Malcolm, Joyce Lee,

To Keep and Bear Arms: The Origins of an Anglo-

American Right, Harvard Univ. Press, Cambridge,

eee ee eR eee errr rr see D 14

Malcolm, Joyce Lee,

“Gun Control and the Constitution: Sources and

Explorations of the Second Amendment,” 62/3

Tenn. L. Rev. 813-621, Spring, 1995 ........... D15

XX1X

Malcolm, Joyce Lee,

“The Right of the People to Keep and Bear Arms:

The Common Law Tradition,” 10 Hastings Constit.

L. Quart. 285-314, Winter, 1983, reprinted in Robert

J. Cottrol (ed.), Gun Control and the Constitution:

Sources and Explorations on the Second Amendment,

Garland Publishing, Inc., New York, N.Y., pp. 227-

SoG; NOPE 0.05 oka dee sake D15

Malcolm, Joyce Lee,

“The Role of the Militia in the Development of the

Englishman's Right to be Armed - Clarifying the

Legacy,” 5/1 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol., 139-151, 1993

<0 066 ba oh 896 bce se lege eka D15

Scalia, Antonin

A Matter of Interpretation: Federal Courts and the Law

3, 42-43 (Princeton Univ. Press, Princeton, N_J.,

frre rma nmr foe AN YS 7

Tribe, Laurence H.,

“The Second Amerdment and state sovereignty,”

1 American Constitutional Law, Foundation Press,

New York, N.Y., 3d ed., 894-903, 2000 ........ D15

van Alstyne, William,

“The Second Amendment and the Personal Right

to Arms,” 43/6 Duke L. J. 1236-1255, April 1994 -

Litho vese swan ee baee eee eee eee ers D15

Wetherbee v. Costerus,

Notice of Appeal, Middlesex Superior Court, Case

No. 00-02352, March 24, 2000. ...........0 ee eee 4

XXX

Wetherbee v. Costerus,

Memorandum of Decision and Order, Plaintiff's

Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings, Middlesex

Superior Court, Case No. 00-02352, May. 1, 2001

Eee Teer eee Reet Tee 4

Opinions Below

The appeals court judgment whose review is sought

is reproduced in the Appendix B. The district court

judgment and its Memorandum and Order are

reproduced in Appendix A.

Jurisdictional Statement

Jurisdiction is proper in this Court as follows:

United States District Court's Jurisdiction

1. This action was brought in the United States

District Court which has original jurisdiction of

all civil actions arising under the Constitution

or laws of the United States pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1331.

2. This action was brought in the United States

District Court which has original jurisdiction of

any civil action pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1343

(a)(1) for conspiring to interfere with and

deprive the civil rights as described in 42

U.S.C. § 1985 (3).

3. This action was brought in the United States

District Court which has original jurisdiction of

any civil action pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1343

(a)(3) for redress of the deprivation, under

color of State law or statute, of rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution of the United States.

XXXil

This action was brought in the United States

District Court which has jurisdiction over this

matter pursuant to 42 US.C. § 1983 for

deprivation of rights, privileges, and

immunities secured by the Second, Fourth,

Fifth, and Fourteenth Amendments of the

United States Constitution. Plaintiff asserts

that several Defendants deprived Plaintiff of

said rights, privileges, and immunities.

This action was brought in the United States

District Court which has jurisdiction over this

matter pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 552a (hereinafter

the “Privacy Act of 1974") to enforce any

liability created under 5 U.S.C. § 552a (e)(3) for

deprivation of rights, privileges, and

immunities secured by the Privacy Act of 1974.

Plaintiff asserts that several Defendants

deprived Plaintiff of said rights, privileges, and

immunities.

United States Court of Appeals’ Jurisdiction

:

The United States Court of Appeals has

jurisdiction of appeals from all final decisions

of the district courts of the United States

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

The United States Court of Appeals for the

First Circuit has jurisdiction of appeals from all

final decisions of the United States District

Court for the District of Massachusetts.

XXXill

United States Supreme Court's Jurisdiction

The Supreme Court has jurisdiction to review cases

in the court of appeals by writ of certiorari pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254 and Rule 10(a) and (c).

Filing Dates Establishing Timeliness of Appeal

The judgment sought to be reviewed was entered by

the U.S. District Court for the District of Massachusetts,

Civil Action No. 00-CV-12156-MEL, on March 9, 2001.

Petitioner timely-filed his Notice of Appeal on March 24,

2001.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, Case

No. 01-1493, based on the papers submitted without oral

argument, affirmed the district court’s judgment with a

judgment entered on March 29, 2002.

The present Petition for Writ of Certiorari to this

Court is filed within ninety (90) days and is timely

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2101(c) and Rule 13(1) and (3).

Appeal of Final Order or Judgment

Petitioner appealed to the U.S. Court of Appeals

from the District Court’s Memorandum and Order of

March 9, 2001 and Judgment of August 8, 2001.

Petitioner seeks writ of certiorari from the Court of

Appeals’ Judgment dated March 29, 2002.

Petitioner states the State has been and continues to

be a defendant - respondent hereto as the Petitioner

questions the constitutionality of a statute of a State, and

further states that service has been made upon the State’s

Attorney General pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2403(b) and

Rule 29(4)(c).

XXXiV

;

i

:

|

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes Involved

The Second Amendment to the United States

Constitution states:

A well regulated Militia, being necessary to

the security of a free State, the right of the

people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be

infringed.

The Fifth Amendment to the United States

Constitution states, in pertinent part, that:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution states, in pertinent part, that:

No state shall make or enforce any law

which shall abridge the privileges or

immunities of citizens of the United States;

nor shall any state deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protection

of the laws.

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 140, § 131(d)

in pertinent part provides:

Any person residing or having a place of

business within the jurisdiction of the

licensing authority ... may submit to such

XXXV

licensing authority . . . an application for a

Class A or Class B license to carry firearms,

or renewal of the same, which such

licensing authority or said colonel may

issue if it appears that the applicant is a

suitable person to be issued such license . .

. subject to such restrictions expressed or

authorized under this section, unless the

applicant . . . [emphasis added].

The full text of M.G.L. ch. 140, § 131 is included in

Appendix C.

XXXVI

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Alec S. Costerus, respectfully prays that

a Writ of Certiorari be granted to review, in part, the

decision of the United States District Court for the District

of Massachusetts granting Respondents’, Jane Swift, et al.,

Motion to Dismiss certain counts of Petitioner's

complaint, and the affirmation of same by the United

States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit.

Statement of the Case

This is an appeal from a dismissal of several counts

brought against, inter alios, Argeo Paul Cellucci, Thomas

F. Reilly, Jane Perlov, John J. O’Brien, East Boston District

Court, Commonwealth of Massachusetts’ (hereinafter,

collectively, the “ Defendant State Officials”) alleging that

the new Gun Control Act of 1998, St.1998, c. 180, that

amended M.G.L. c. 140, §§ 129B and 131, is

unconstitutional as the statute violates the Second, Fifth,

and Fourteenth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution,

and violates Articles I and XVII of the Massachusetts

Constitution.

‘The District Court dismissed Counts 6, 7, 9, 11, 12,

16,18, and 22 on the ground that the Second Amendment:

“(1) is inapplicable to the states; and (2) does not create an

individual right.” The District Court also granted the

Defendant State Officials’ Motion to Dismiss Counts 11,

14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 22, and 25 on the ground that (1) the

statute complies with Due Process because adequate post-

deprivation remedies are available; and (2) gun licenses

are neither property nor liberty interest. The District

Court’s Memorandum and Order of March 9, 2001 is

\

included in the Appendix hereto.

With the District Court's granting of Defendant State

Officials’ Motion to Dismiss all of the counts listed above,

Costerus’ 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claims seeking prospective

injunctive relief against these defendants in Counts 24, 34,

and 35 become moot. Conversely, had any of the above -

counts survived the motion, his § 1983 claims seeking

prospective injunctive relief from the statute would

remain justiciable.

The District Court judge ruled that Presser v. Illinois,

116 U.S. 252, 265 (1886), and United States v. Miller, 307

U.S. 174, 178 (1939) provides a well-settled interpretation

of the Second Amendment. Petitioner Costerus seeks

certiorari from this judgment.

The District Court also ruled that a gun license is

neither a “property” nor “liberty” interest is implicated

citing a state court decision in Chief of Police of Shelburne v.

Moyer, 16 Mass.App.Ct. 543, 453 N.E.2d 461 (1983) and -

other cases which have a distinctly different statutory

scheme than the one challenged by Petitioner Costerus

under St. 1998, c. 180 that amended M.G.L. ch. 140, § 131.

Under the new state gun law that requires a license to

carry firearms in order to merely possess firearms in

one’s home, Plaintiff Costerus contends that such a

statute creates a vested property right.

The property right necessarily exists because the

statute amended the provisions that previously allowed

the possession and ownership of firearms in one’s home,

whereas now, under the review new statutory scheme, a

license to carry is required for such ownership. By this

measure, the statute created a de facto property right as

such ownership is preconditioned upon on a license to

carry. Where firearm ownership is a constitutionally

protected liberty, a liberty interest attached to the license

Pee ee

to carry when such ownership is predicated on the

license. An application for a license to carry cannot be

arbitrarily or capriciously denied nor can the issuance of

a license be subject to the standardless discretion of the

issuing authority.

Statement of Facts

In 1998, Massachusetts overhauled its gun control

statutes by enacting St.1998, c. 180.

While relocating back to Massachusetts, on March

21, 1999, Costerus inquired about the new gun law at the

Concord Police Station.

Erroneously believing that Costerus’ previously

issued FID card was no longer valid, Sgt. Barry Neal

arrested Costerus for illegal possession of a firearm

without a permit.

Without probable cause, Sgt. Neal dispatched

Officer Timothy Landers to Costerus’ home to search for,

locate, and seize Costerus’ firearms, all without seeking,

obtaining, possessing, or having any knowledge of a

search warrant.

Officer Landers searched Costerus’ home and seized

three firearms (one rifle and two handguns), and

transported them to the Concord Police Station. Costerus

was imprisoned overnight, arraigned in the Concord

District Court, and posted $1,000 cash bail.

The Commonwealth’s prosecution terminated in

Costerus’ favor as the Commonwealth sought a dismissal

following Costerus’ successful motion to suppress the

illegally obtained, “fruit of the poisonous tree.”

With all the criminal charges against Costerus

having terminated in his favor, he then submitted an

application for a license to carry firearms on or about

November 24, 1999. Wetherbee denied Costerus’

application on December 31, 1999 on the basis of his

recent involvement in firearms related activities in the

Town of Concord. |

Costerus then filed a petition for judicial review in

the Concord District Court on January 3, 2000. The

Concord District Court ruled on March 20, 2000 in

Costerus’ favor reversing Wetherbee’s denial of Costerus’

application for a license to carry firearms and ordered

Wetherbee to issue such license.

On May 18, 2000, Wetherbee filed a complaint for

certiorari in the Middlesex Superior Court.

On October 17, 2000, Costerus filed a civil action in

the United States District Court for the District of

Massachusetts asserting, inter alia, that the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Town of

Concord, Massachusetts and its officers violated his

rights under the state and federal constitutions.

- On May 1, 2001, the Middlesex Superior Court

issued its Memorandum of Decision and Order on

[Wetherbee’s] Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings in

Defendant Wetherbee’s favor, reversing the Concord

District Court's ruling.

On May 4, 2001, Costerus filed a Notice of Appeal in

the Middlesex Superior Court. This action is still pending

in the Massachusetts Appeals Court. Costerus’ two

firearms remain in the custody of the Concord Police

Department.

Reasons for Granting Writ of Certiorari

May it please the Court:

I. Second Amendment

For more than a century and a half, the Second

Amendment received no meaningful judicial attention.

For almost two centuries it received no scholarly

attention. Even when the United States Supreme Court

finally addressed the meaning of the amendment, in

United States v. Miller, 307 U.S. 174 (1939), the Court

rendered an opinion so opaque that inferior courts,

practitioners and scholastics are still arguing about the

holding of the case. Pro-gun advocates urge that the case

clearly recognizes a personal, individual constitutional

right to keep and bear arms. Anti-gun advocates, on the

other hand, contend that it just as clearly holds the right

to keep and bear arms to be only a collective right of the

States in maintaining a militia. That it can be argued to

stand for such diametrically opposed holdings suggests

that it may not stand for very much at all:

But when all is said and done, the only

certainty about Miller is that it failed to

give either side a clear-cut victory.

Most modern scholars recognize this

fact. For example Professor Eugene

Volokh describes Miller as “deliciously

and usefully ambiguous” in an article

about using the Second Amendment as

a teaching tool in constitutional law.

This is probably the most accurate statement that

can be made about the case. This Court is, in essence,

writing on a clean slate.

In the past two decades the amendment has been the

subject of intense historical and scholarly analysis. To

assist the Court in its research of the burgeoning

professional literature in this area and rather than restate

what others have said better, Costerus attempts to list the

most prominent scholars in the field, along with citations

_to their work.’ Principal among these scholars are

Professor Joyce Lee Malcolm, Dr. Stephen P. Halbrook,

Professor Robert J. Cottrol, Mr. David T. Hardy, Professor

Akhil Reed Amar, Professor Nelson Lund, Mr. David B.

Kopel, Mr. Brannon P. Denning, and Mr. J. Norman

Heath. The overwhelming conclusion of these analyses

is tnat the amendment says what it means and means

what it says.” What is most impressive about this near

unanimous consensus of academic opinion is that many

of the scholars are either self-identified “liberals” or

unconnected with the pro-gun movement; indeed, in a

tribute to intellectual honesty, a number of these authors

identify themselves as favoring gun control. E.g.,

Professor Gary Kleck of the University of Florida,

Professor William van Alstyne of Duke, Professor

Laurence H. Tribe of Harvard University, Professor

Sanford Levinson of the University of Texas, and Mr. Don

B. Kates, Jr., of San Francisco.

The result of this vast scholarly effort is to

demonstrate conclusively that the Framers of the

Constitution understood and intended the right to keep

' The scholarly work referred to herein is incorporated herein by reference,

with a full bibliography of these works included in Appendix D.

? In the words of the bumper sticker debate which surrounds this

controversial topic, one can now reasonably ask the anti-gun partisans,

“What part of ‘shall not be infringed’ don't you understand?”

and bear arms to be a fundamental right of the individual

citizen that had nothing to do with any “right” or power

of the States.

Moreover, this Court seems to have forecast this

result. From as early as 1857 to as recently as 1990, the

Court has recognized in dicta that the right to keep and

bear arms is a personal and individual right of free

citizens. See Scott v. Sandford, 60 U.S. (19 Howard) 398,

417,450 (1857), and United States v. Verdugo-Urquidez, 494

U.S. 259, 265 (1990). See also the concurring opinion of

Justice Thomas in Printz v. United States, 521 U.S.__, 117

S.Ct. 2365 (1997) in which he equated the Second

Amendment with the First Amendment, concluding that

the Supreme Court has never directly ruled on the

individual rights issue:

In Miller, we determined that the

Second Amendment did not guarantee

a citizen’s right to possess a sawed-off

shotgun because that weapon had not

been shown to be “ordinary military

equipment” that could “contribute to

the common defense.” Id. at 2385-2386.

As Justice Scalia has noted, “It would be strange to

find in the midst of a catalog of the rights of individuals

a provision securing to the states the right to maintain a

designated 'Militia."” Antonin Scalia, A Matter of

Interpretation: Federal Courts and the Law 3, 42-43

(Princeton Univ. Press, Princeton, N.J., 1997).

Coupled with this academic research into the Second

Amendment's - historical background is the law

enforcement community’s opinion thereon. In a recent

letter to the National Rifle Association, U.S. Attorney

General John Ashcroft expressed the opinion of the

Department of Justice:

Let me state unequivocally my view

that the text and original intent of the

Second Amendment clearly protect the

right of individuals to keep and bear

firearms. .. . This view comports with

all but unanimous understanding of the

Founding Fathers.’

Recognizing the “vast body of evidence,” he wrote,

“I believe it is clear that the Constitution protects the

private ownership of firearms for lawful purposes. In

addition, Attorney General Ashcroft recently urged this

Court to not grant certiorari in Emerson’s petition for

writ of certiorari. Emerson v. United States, Case No. 01-

8780, June 10, 2002, cert. denied.

It is important to note that Attorney General

Ashcroft’s view is not novel. During the 19" Century, the

official Supreme Court reports included summaries of

counsels’ arguments.

During the presidency of Andrew Jackson, Roger

Taney served as Attorney General from 1831 to 1833, later

becoming Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. As Taney’s

opinion in the famous Scott v. Sandford, 60 U.S. (19

Howard) 398 (1857) case made clear, Taney recognized

the Second Amendment as an individual right.

Later, serving as Attorney General under Presidents

Abraham Lincoln and Andrew Jackson, James Speed

explained in Ex parte Milligan, 71 U.S. 2 (1866) to construe

the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendments

in pari material. The Second Amendment belonged to

> Letter from U.S. Attorney General John Ashcroft to James J. Baker,

Executive Director of the National Rifle Association, May 17,2001. -

individuals, but if a Confederate rebel were disarmed, his

Second Amendment right would not be violated, since

the Second Amendment would not apply to him - even

though the Second Amendment carries no explicit

exception for wartime.

During President Benjamin Harrison’s

administration, U.S. Attorney General William H. H.

Miller defended the federal mailing ban by arguing that

even though it was a restriction on a Bill of Rights’

freedom, the Constitution allowed some restrictions:

“Freedoms of the press, like freedom of speech, and ‘the

right to keep and bear arms,’ admits of and requires

regulation, which is the law of liberty that prevents these

rights from running into license.” In re Rapier, 143 U.S.

110, 131 (1892).

Two of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt's

attorneys general, Homer Cummings and Robert Jackson,

who was later appointed to the Supreme Court, held the

same view. See Johnson v. Eisentrager, 339 U.S. 763 (1950).

More recently, Edwin Meese, who served as

Attorney General under President Reagan, now a scholar

at the Heritage Foundation, signed the amicus brief of

Academics for the Second Amendment, endorsing the

individual-rights position in the Fifth Circuit's hearing of

the appeal in United States v. Emerson, 99-10331, (5" Cir.).

The federal district courts’s case, United States v. Emerson,

(5" Cir. 1999), challenged the constitutionality of a federal

statute where Emerson was indicted for possession of a

firearm while being under a restraining order. The Court

ruled that a state court proceeding, without

particularized findings of the threat of future violence, to

automatically deprive a citizen of his Second Amendment

rights, was unconstitutional. The court wrote:

[B]y criminalizing protected Second

Amendment activity based upon a civil

state court order with no particularized

findings, the statute is over-broad and

in direct violation of an individual's

Second Amendment rights.

[A]lthough he may not be a criminal at

all, he is stripped of his right to bear

arms as much as a convicted felon.

Second Amendment rights should not

be so easily abridged.

It is clear from this opinion that Emerson’s Second

Amendment rights are a citizen’s individual rights.

The Emerson court also found that firearm

possession is a valuable liberty interest imbedded in the

Second Amendment and thus Emerson had a protected

liberty interest in firearm possession under the Fifth

Amendment's ‘Due Process’ clause. While the Emerson

opinion is not binding upon other circuits, much less this

Court, and while the plaintiff has appealed to the Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, Emerson provides guiding

precedent, yet underscores the diversity of this

controversial debate. Even among the federal circuits, the

Second Amendment's constitutional interpretation is not

settled. And just weeks ago, this Court denied Emerson’s

petition for certiorari. Emerson v. United States, Case No.

01-8780, June 10, 2002, cert. denied.

We find that the current attorney general is in

keeping with most of the attorneys general for the past

150 years and only out of step with his immediate

predecessor but into some rather better company. With -

the combination of the academic and law enforcement

communities’ opinion on the Second Amendment, the

remaining question then is whether M.G.L. c. 140, § 131

10

“infringes” upon this individual right. Because of the

paucity of direct Second Amendmentjurisprudence, there

is no judicial precedent on the meaning of “shall not be

infringed.” Costerus disputes the District Court's ruling

holding that Presser v. Illinois, 116 U.S. 252 (1886) and

United States v. Miller, 307 U.S. 174 (1939), provide a well-

settled interpretation of the Second Amendment.

If Miller was the only source of information about

the Second Amendment, the individual right vs.

government right argument might be impossible to

resolve conclusively. Fortunately, the Supreme Court has

addressed the Second Amendment in thirty-one other

cases, in dicta; the Court has never addressed the Second

Amendmentas an individual rights issue directly nor has

it considered whether Fourteenth Amendment

protections apply to the Second Amendment.

Accordingly, it is premature for the District Court in this

action to rely on the Presser and Miller decisions to hold

to that the issues involved in this action are “well-

settled.” The interpretation of the Second Amendment

remains, therefore, unsettled to this day, with the dicta

contained in the written opinions of the Justices of the

United States Supreme Court indicating that the Court

regards the Second Amendment as an individual right.

The line between dicta and ratio decendi is never firm, and

one day’s dicta may become another day’s holding.

While the Warren and Burger Courts offered mixed

records on the Second Amendment, the opinions from the

Rehnquist Court are just as clear as the opinions from the

Supreme Court Justices of the 19" Century: “the right of

the people to keep and bear arms” is a right that belongs

to individual American citizens. Although the

boundaries of the Second Amendment have only partially

been addressed by Supreme Courtjurisprudence, the core

11

of the Second Amendment is clear: the Second

Amendment - like the First, Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth,

and Fourteenth Amendments - belongs to “the people,”

not the government.

Chief Justice William Rehnquist specifically cited the

Second Amendment stating:

“[T]he people” seems to have been the

term of art employed in select parts of

the Constitution. | The preamble

declares that the Constitution is

ordained and established by “the

people of the United States.” The

Second Amendment protects “the right

of the people to keep and bear Arms,”

and the Ninth and Tenth Amendment

provided that certain rights and power

are retained by and reserved to “the

people.” See also U.S. Const. Amdt. 1

(“Congress shall make no law .. .

abridging .. . the right of the people

peaceably to assemble”) (emphasis

added); Art. 1, § 2, cl. 1 (“The House of

Representatives shall be composed of

Members chosen every second Year by

the People of the Several States”)

(emphasis added). While this textual

exegesis is by no means conclusive, it

suggests that “the People” protected by

the Fourth Amendment and by the First

and Second Amendment, and to whom

rights are reserved in the Ninth and

Tenth Amendments, refers to a class of

persons who are part of a national

community or who have otherwise

12

developed sufficient connection with

this country to be considered part of

that community. United States v.

Verdugo-Urquidez, 494 U.S. 259, 265

(1990).

The two Supreme Court decisions that the District

Court’s Memorandum cites as controlling are discussed

seriatim.

A. Presser v. Illinois

Presser v. Illinois,116 U.S. 252 (1886), involved an

Illinois statute which did not prohibit the possession of

arms, but merely prohibited “bodies of men to associate

together as military organizations, or to drill or parade

with arms in cities and towns unless authorized by law .

...” Id. at 264-265. Presser was indicted for parading a

private military unit of 400 armed men through the

streets of Chicago without a license.

1. Second Amendment Made Applicable to the States

via Fourteenth Amendment

Presser held that “the right of the people to keep and

bear arms shall not be infringed” is a limitation only upon

the power of Congress and the national government, and

not upon the States. But in view of the fact

that all citizens capable of bearing arms

constitute the reserved military force or

reserve militia of the United States ...,

the States . .. cannot prohibit the people

from keeping and bearing arms, so as to

deprive the United States of their

13

rightful resource for maintaining the

public security. Id. at 265.

The Court stated that the 5" and 6" sections of

Article XI of the Military Code of Illinois‘ under

consideration did not have the effect of depriving the

national government of its military resource. The District

Court's reliance upon such a narrow interpretation of

Presser ignores subsequent judicial interpretations.

First, while the Supreme Court has never directly

addressed the Second Amendment's application to the

States by the Fourteenth Amendment, the Supreme Court

has never ruled to the contrary either.

Justice Powell wrote for the plurality in Moore v. East

Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 502 (1976) quoting Justice Harlan’s

dissent in Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497 (1961):

the full scope with the liberty

guaranteed by the Due Process Clause

_ cannot be found in or limited by the

precise terms of the specific guarantees

elsewhere provided in the Constitution.

This “liberty” is not a series of isolated

points pricked out in terms of the taking

of property; the freedom of speech,

press, and religion; the right to keep

and bear arms; the freedom from

unreasonable searches and seizures; and

so on. It is a rational continuum which

broadly speaking, includes freedom

from all substantial arbitrary

impositions and purposeless restraints.

Id. at 543 (Harlan, J., dissenting

* Act of May 28, 1879, Laws of 1879, 192.

14

opinion).

In discussing the scope of the Fourteenth

Amendment in Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833

(1982), in the Court's opinion written by Justice Sandra

Day O’Connor approvingly quoted Justice Harlan’s

earlier statement that “the right to keep and bear arms”

is part of the “full scope of liberty” contained in the Bill of

Rights, and made applicable to the state by the

Fourteenth Amendment. Id. at 841. These two cases

illustrate how one day’s dicta may become another day’s

holding.

More recently, the Court again visited the

Fourteenth Amendment's protection of the right to keep

and bear arms in Albright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266 (1994)

when Justice Stevens, joined by Justice Blackmun,

dissented, quoting Justice Harlan’s analysis of the

meaning of the Fourteenth Amendment providing that

Fourteenth Amendment “liberty” of course belongs to

individuals, not to state governments. The very point of

the Fourteenth Amendment was to protect individual

liberty from state infringement.

Clearly, by these barometers, the Second

Amendment contained in the Constitution’s Bill of Rights

would seem dispositive on the question of whether-the

Fourteenth Amendment protects liberty and property —

interests. “The Fourteenth Amendment's procedural

protection of property is a safeguard of the security of

interests that a person has already acquired in specific

benefits” Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 92 S.Ct.

2701, 408 U.S. 564, 33 L.Ed.2d 548 (1972), that “extend

well beyond actual ownership of real estate, chattels, or

15

money.”° Likewise, “[i]n a Constitution for a free people, |

there can be no doubt that the meaning of ‘liberty’ must |

be broad indeed.” Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth,

citing Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497, 499 (1954); and |

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972). |

As discussed herein, the only plausible way that the

District Court could hold that the Second Amendment,

under Presser, is inapplicable to the States is to eschew

subsequent and modern holdings of the Supreme Court.

On this ground, the District Court erred and this Court

should reverse the District Court’s Order and the Court

of Appeals affirmation thereof.

2. Second Amendment Secures an Individual’s Right

to Keep and Bear Arms

The Presser Court concluded that the Illinois statute

did not infringe upon the Second Amendment since the

statute did not prohibit the keeping and bearing of arms,

but rather, prohibited the forming of private military

organizations and the performance of military exercises

in town by groups of armed men without a license to do

so. The Court found that such prohibitions simply “do

“not infringe the right of the people to keep and bear

arms.” Presser, at 265.

The Supreme Court seemed to affirm the holding in

United States v. Cruikshank, 92 U.S. 542 (1875) that the

Second Amendment protected individuals only against

action by the federal government. However, in the very

* See, e.g., Connell v. Higginbotham, 403 U.S. 207, 208, 91 S.Ct. 1772,

1773, 29 L.Ed.2d 418; Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 542, 91 S.Ct. 1586,

1591, 29 L.Ed.2d 90; Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 90 S.Ct. 1011, 25

L.Ed.2d 287.

next -paragraph, the Court suggests that state

governments cannot forbid individuals to keep and bear

arms. Massachusetts law approaches this prohibition

when it upholds arbitrary, capricious, and standardless

discretion to its issuing authorities. |

After stating that “all citizens capable of bearing

arms” constitute the “militia,” the Court held that the

“States cannot ... prohibit the people from keeping and

bearing arms, as so to deprive the United States of their

rightful resource for maintaining the public security and

disable the people from performing their duty to the

general government.” Presser, at 265.

The District Court’s reliance upon Presser to hold

that the Second Amendment does not create an

individual right may come from the Supreme Court's

recognition of United States v. Cruikshank in which Chief

Justice Marshall said that “the right of the people to keep

and bear arms is not a right granted by the Constitution.

Neither is it in any manner dependent upon that

instrument for its existence.” Presser, at 265 quoting

Cruikshank, at 553.

Instead, according to Cruikshank, the individual's

right to arms is not created by the Second Amendment,

but merely protected by it, because the right derives from

natural law. The government of the United States when

established found it in existence, with the obligation to

afford it protection. The District

Court erred by ignoring the individual's right to

keep and bear arms, that is guaranteed by the Second

Amendment, because that right preexisted the

government to the United States and was recognized by

the Framers and in the Supreme Court as a fundamental

human right. The Supreme Court recognized that the

17

Constitution was powerless to create a preexisting,*

fundamental human right, but nevertheless seized its

obligation preserve it.

In concluding this discussion, the District Court is

correct only insofar as the Second Amendment does not

create an individual right to keep and bear arms as was

held in Cruikshank and recognized in Presser, but, ignored

the holdings of Cruikshank in which the Court held that

such rights were protected by the Second Amendment by

virtue of their preexistence. Accordingly, the District

Court’s reliance on Presser to hold that the Second

Amendment right to keep and bear arms is not an

individual’s right is flawed and the District Court's

granting of Respondent State Officials’ Motion to Dismiss

is inerror. The decision should be reversed and the case

remanded for further proceedings.

B. United States v. Miller

The Supreme Court’s most extensive and hotly

disputed Second Amendment decision, United States v.

Miller, et al., 307 U.S. 174 (1939) arose out of a 1938

prosecution of two bootleggers, Jack Miller and Frank

Clayton, for violating the National Firearms Act by

possessing a sawed-off shotgun without having paid the

required federal tax. The federal District Court dismissed

the indictment on the grounds that the National Firearms

Act violated the Second Amendment. United States v.

Miller, 26 F. Supp. 1002, 1003 (W.D.Ark. 1939).

The opinion, written by Justice James McReynolds,

nowhere explicitly says that the Second Amendment

° See Logan v. United States, 144 U.S. 263, 286-287 (1892); and Robertson

v. Baldwin, 165 U.S. 275, 280 (1897).

y 18

does, or does not, guarantee an individual right:

In the absence of any evidence tending

to show the possession or use of a

“shotgun having a barrel of less than 18

inches in length” at this time has some

reasonable relationship to the

preservation or efficiency of a well

regulated militia, we cannot say that the

second amendment guarantees the right

to keep and bear such instrument. ~

Certainly it is not within judicial notice

at this weapon is any part of the

ordinary military equipment or that its

use could contribute to the common

defense. Aymette v. State, 2 Humphreys

(Tenn.) 154, 158.

The Miller Court explained that “the militia

comprised all males physically capable of acting in

consort for the common defense . . . ordinarily when

called for service these men were expected to appear

bearing arms supplied by themselves and of the kind in

common use at the time.” Miller, at 179.

If the Second Amendment only protected the

National Guard, then the Supreme Court would have

thrown Jack Miller’s case out of Court for lack of

standing, since Miller was plainly not a member of the

National Guard. Yet the Supreme Court has never ruled

that individuals cannot raise Second Amendment claims.

Instead, the Supreme Court sent the case back to the trial

court for fact-finding about whether Miller’s particular

firearm (a sawed-off shotgun) was a militia-type weapon.

As the Miller case illustrates, individuals may raise

Second Amendment claims, even when they are not in

19

the National Guard, and not participating in any type of

militia activity. The only holding in Miller was that the

only firearms that the Second Amendment protects are

those that may be suitable for militia purposes.

The District Court ruling discusses, arguendo, that

even if the Second Amendment conferred an individual

right that was enforceable against a State, Costerus failed

to demonstrate how RespondentState Officials’ statutory

scheme abridged that right. Costerus, however,

appearing pro se, must only allege such an abridgement in

his Complaint. Heretofore, Costerus is not obligated to

present evidence in support of his claim as this would be

an issue for fact-finding and trial, and is not ripe for a

motion to dismiss at this stage of the proceedings.

The District Court opined that “[t]he [Respondent]

Commonwealth’s gun control statute allows law-abiding

persons to possess firearms with certain restrictions

intended solely to insure the safety of its citizens.”” This

is precisely the point at issue: Costerus is a law-abiding

citizen devoid of any criminal convictions. He contends

that the statute exceeds its reasoned balance by according

standardless discretion to local licensing authorities from

whom he is victim. Again, the District Court should find

that this is a trial issue for fact-finding as alleged, and

Costerus’ Complaint need not do more.

Regarding standardless, systematic unequal

treatment, the Supreme Court recently opined in the 2000

Presidential Election case that

[T]he use of standardless manual

recounts violates the Equal Protection

7 Memorandum and Order of the United States District Court for the District

of Massachusetts, Civil Action 00-12156-MEL, March 9, 2001, p. 8.

20

and Due Process Clauses” where “ [t]he

recount mechanisms implemented in

response to the decisions of the Florida

Supreme Court do not satisfy the

minimum requirement for non-arbitrary

treatment of voters necessary to secure

the fundamental right. ... The problem

inheres in the absence of specific

standards to ensure its equal

application. The formulation of

uniform rules to determine intent based

on these recurring circumstances is

practicable and, we conclude,

necessary.” Bush v. Gore, sa US.

(2000).

It would appear that Bush v. Gore would be

dispositive of this case where the Respondent

Commonwealth's granting of broad, yet standardless,

discretion under M.GLL. c. 140, § 131(d) across its 351

cities and towns would suffer a similar fate as Florida’s

election count and recount, and would be violating the

‘Equal Protection’ and ‘Due Process’ Clauses.

The District Court's reliance upon Miller to hold that

the Second Amendment does not create an individual

right is misplaced; the Miller opinion nowhere explicitly

says that the Second Amendment does or does not -

guarantee an individual right. In fact, arguendo, had the

Miller Court ruled that the Second Amendment was a

governmental right and not an individual right, then

there would have been no reason for the Supreme Court

to remand the case back to the District Court for fact-

finding to determine whether the particular firearm in

question was of a militia purpose. As a result, the only

plausible interpretation of Miller is to conclude that the

21

Second Amendment supports an individual right to keep

and bear arms.

II. Due Process

A. Adequacy of Post-Deprivation Remedy

1. Adequacy of Remedy Inadequate

Because the Concord Police were unable to obtain a

conviction for illegal possession of firearms in a court of

law (as Costerus held a valid FID card), the local licensing

authority arbitrarily and capriciously exercised his broad

discretion by relying on the fruit of the poisonous tree

and a sealed record of a dismissal as grounds to deny

Costerus of a license to carry. Costerus filed a petition for

judicial review and obtained a favorable decision

ordering the chief to issue a license to carry.

The chief filed an action in the nature of certiorari in

the state superior court that made new findings of fact,

reversed the district court’s decision, and upheld the

chief’s denial of Costerus’ application. Thus, Costerus

remains without his valuable property for which he has

always been properly permitted.

Costerus has had to file an appeal with the

Massachusetts Court of Appeals to reverse the superior

court decision and only recently filed his appellant's brief.

Indeed, the remedy has not yet proved adequate, and

given the court’s backlog, is likely some time away.

While the District Court is correct insofar as there is

a vehicle by which Costerus may seek to obtain post-

deprivation remedy, and is currently availing himself of

such remedy, such avenue has not yet proved adequate.

In fact, thus far, with the superior court ruling

—_ ee ee CL ew

incongruent with all of the preceding state caselaw, only

Costerus’ sheer persistence in the state courts will he

prove the remedy’s adequacy. To date, however, the

remedy has proved wholly inadequate.

2. Remedy for Post-Deprivation

With Costerus’ possession of a valid FID card, there

never should have been a deprivation in the very first

place. The remedy therefor is two-fold. First, Costerus is

must obtain a license to carry so he may regain his

lawfully possessed property that the Concord police

officers illegally seized and confiscated from his

residence. With the unconstitutional denial of Costerus’

application therefor, this remedy is inadequate.

Second, by denying Costerus of a valuable

governmental benefit, even if less than a constitutional

right, Costerus is entitled to seek remedy under the

federal and state civil rights statutes, 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and

M.GLL. c. 12, § 111, respectively, which is precisely the

goal of his federal civil rights action.

The Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court ruled in

Rzeznik v. Chief of Police of Southampton, 374 Mass. 475, 373

N.E.2d 1128 (1978), that

Although we are aware that the

plaintiff, by statute, is not entitled to the

licenses [to carry firearms and sell

firearms and sell ammunition] ..., we

* It is important to note that the Gun Control Act set forth in St.1998, c. 180,

§ 73(a) caused Costerus’ FID card to expire while the Concord Police

Department had possession of his property. With this change in statute,

Costerus had to apply for a license to carry firearms pursuant to M.G.L. c.

140, § 131(d) in order to regain his property.

23

conclude on the basis of Perry v.

Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593, 92 S.Ct. 2694,

33 L.Ed.2d 570 (1972), that their

revocation, if made in retaliation for the

plaintiff's exercise of his First

Amendment rights, is actionable under

42 U.S.C. section 1983 (1970).

In Perry, the Supreme Court wrote:

For nearly a quarter-century, this Court

has made clear that even though a

person has no “right” to a valuable

governmental benefit and even though

the government may deny him the

benefit for any number of reasons, there

are some reasons upon which the

government may not rely. It may not

deny a benefit to a person on a basis

that infringes his Constitutionally

protected interests - especially, his

interest in freedom of speech. Id. at 597,

92 S.Ct. 2697.

After Perry, it has been widely recognized that if an

individual proves that a governmental benefit has been

denied for constitutionally impermissible reasons, that

individual is entitled to appropriate remedies under 42

U.S.C. section 1983 (1970). See Mabey v..Reagan, 537 F.2d

1036, 1045 (9" Cir. 1976); Jannetta v. Cole, 493 F.2d 1334,

1337 n. 5, 1338 (4 Cir. 1974); Smith v. Losee, 485 F.2d 334,

338, 340 (10" Cir. 1973). See also Williams v. Day, 412

F.Supp. 336, 340 n.1 (E.D.Ark.1976); Manfredonia v. Barry,

401 F.Supp. 762, 767-768 (E.D.N.Y.1975); Needleman v.

Bohlen, 386 F.Supp. 741 (D.Mass.1974); Brown v. Wilson,

373 F.Supp. 1045, 1049 (W.D.Pa.1974); O' Brien v. Galloway,

362 F.Supp. 901, 905 (D.Del.1973). Cf. Monroe v. Pape, 365

U.S. 167, 172, 81 S.Ct. 473, 5 L.Ed.2d 492 (1961). It would

appear that the Respondent State Officials’ assertion and

the District Court’s holding therefor contradict binding

precedent caselaw.

B. Gun Licenses as Property or Liberty Interests

The District Court relied, in part, on Chief of Police of

Shelburne v. Moyer,16 Mass.App.Ct. 543, 453 N.E.2d 461

(1983) to support dismissal of Counts 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19,

22 and 25, because neither “property” nor a “liberty

interest” is implicated by the denials of gun licenses.

Such reliance is misplaced as the facts of Moyer are

distinguishable from the instant action.

In Moyer, the Chief of Police of Shelburne Falls

operated under a predecessor statute where (i) persons

could possess a gun in the home with just a FID card; (ii)

the local licensing authority had no discretion regarding

the FID card if the applicant therefor was not statutorily

disqualified; and, (iii) Moyer had disqualifying

conditions’ under the then-existing statute.”°

Here, in Costerus’ action, under the present gun law,

(i) persons may not possess a handgun in the home with

just a FID card - a license to carry is required;" (ii) the

local licensing authority has broad discretion to issue a

license to carry: “the local licensing authority may issue

[the license] if it appears that the applicant is a suitable

° Moyer’s disqualifications included a sealed conviction of possession of a

controlled substance pursuant to M.G.L. c. 94C, § 34.

"M.G.L. c. 140, § 131.

'' M.GLL. c. 140, § 129B (6) as amended by St.1998, c. 180, § 29.

25

person to be issued such license. . . ;”” and, (iii) Costerus

has no history of disqualifying criteria under either the

preceding or current gun control laws.

Furthermore, because Costerus is not statutorily

disqualified,” the Commonwealth cannot, under

Cruikshank, arbitrarily forbid individuals to keep and bear

arms. Whereas the Second Amendment protects

Petitioner Costerus’ fundamental right, he has a profound

and legitimate claim of entitlement.

Under the guidelines established in Moyer, in which

the court held that:

In the absence of a finding that no

reasonable ground existed for the Chief

of police to refuse a license on the basis

that the defendant was not a suitable

person, the judge was in error in

ordering the issuance of the license to

the defendant

Costerus would be entitled to a license as the state

district court’* wherein Costerus petitioned for judicial

review found that the chief of police was precisely

without such basis as “there is no substantial evidence he

is and unsuitable person. ...”’* Applying this holding to

the instant matter where such absence is, itself, absent,

'?M.G.L. c. 140, § 131(d) as amended by St.1998, c. 180, § 41.

'3 The criteria that makes an applicant ineligible for a license to carry

firearms are set forth in M.G.L. c. 140, § 131(d) (i) through (vii), as

amended by St.1998, c. 180, § 41.

'* The Concord District Court, Docket No. 0047-CV-0001.

'S Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, Concord District Court, Docket

No. 0047-CV-0001, dated March 20, 2000 (Ostrach, J.).

26

eK HE

7 ete at

— ee re

Kibad surat e Sitlern ae thrust ahh tat

Moyer supports Costerus’ contention and should not be

relied upon in support of Respondent State Officials’

motion to dismiss.

The federal district court in United States v. Emerson,

(5 Cir. 1999) found that firearm possession is a valuable

liberty interest imbedded in the Second Amendment and

thus Emerson had a protected liberty interest in firearm

possession under the Fifth Amendment due process

clause.

In Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S.

564, 569-570 (1972), the Supreme Court held that

The requirements of procedural due

process apply only to the deprivation of

interests encompassed by the

Fourteenth Amendment's protection of

liberty and property. When protected

interests are implicated, the right to

some kind of prior hearing is

paramount.

By establishing a statutory mechanism by which its

citizens may lawfully own and possess firearms, a liberty

interest was created and its dimensions defined by state

law. By this measure, Costerus has a meritorious claim of

entitlement to such state-created liberty interest and the

benefits arising therefrom.

Having chosen to extend the right of its citizens to

apply for, hold, and enjoy the privileges accorded to a

Class A license to carry firearms, including the carrying

of concealed firearms, the Respondent State Officials and

local licensing authorities may not withdraw that right on

grounds where fundamentally fair procedures to

determine whether Costerus is statutorily barred, or, is

based ona preponderance of legally admissible evidence

27

to establish his alleged unsuitability, and must therefore

recognize his legitimate entitlement to such license as a

property interest that is protected by the Due Process

Clause, and that may not be taken away without

observing some minimum procedures required by that

Clause.

Since Concord Police Chief's allegations of Costerus’

unsuitability, if sustained in the state appellate courts,

could seriously damage his good reputation as well as

interfere with his competitive aspirations, marksmanship

training, and firearms safety instruction, the Respondent

State Officials’ statutory provisions that allow for the

local police department's retention of his lawfully-

possessed personal property that was illegally seized and

confiscated from his home and the subsequent allowance

of such illegally obtained evidence as ground to support

the local licensing authority’s denial of Costerus’

application for a license to carry firearms immediately

collide with the ‘Due Process’ Clause’s prohibition

against arbitrary deprivation of liberty.

Denial of an application for a license to carry is not

de minimis and should not be imposed in complete

disregard of the Due Process Clause, especially given that

the allegations against him terminated in his favor.

Due Process requires, in connection with the denial

of an application for a license to carry firearms, that the

applicant be given oral or written notice of the basis for

such denial and if the applicant desires to so refute those

bases, be given an opportunity to present his version of

the evidence. Generally, notice and hearing should

precede the local licensing authority’s denial of the

application. The statute as set forth in M.G.L. c. 140, §§

129B (5) (as amended by St.1998, c. 180, § 29) and 131 (f)

(as amended by St.1998, c. 180, § 41) prescribes an after-

28

the-fact petition for judicial review.

Before a person is deprived of a protected interest,

he must be afforded opportunity for some kind of

hearing, “except for extraordinary situations where some

valid governmental interest is at stake that justifies

postponing the hearing until after the event.” Boddie v.

Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 379 (1971). At a minimum,

Costerus had a procedural due process right to a hearing

prior to his suffering the deprivation of rights at the

hands of the Concord Defendants’ illegal confiscation of

his lawfully held property.

Costerus’ liberty interest is of concern to several

hundred thousand licensed or permitted gun owners

across the Commonwealth of Massachusetts who once

lawfully kept handguns in their homes with a FID card,

and who, as a result of the statutory change, may

similarly have their liberty interests implicated, as well as

several million others across eleven states that have

discretionary statutes similar to Massachusetts’. Where

the Second Amendment is made applicable to the States

by the Fourteenth Amendment, which conveys liberty

rights and protects his property via procedural due

process, it was premature for the District Court to grant

the Respondent State Officials’ motion to dismiss noting

that neither a property nor liberty interest was

implicated. This is an issue for trial and is not ripe for

sucha motion. Accordingly, Counts 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19,

22, and 25 should be remanded to the District Court for

further proceedings.

Conclusion

WHEREFORE, for all the foregoing reasons, Petitioner

prays this Supreme Court grant Writ for Certiorari to find

29

(i) that the Second Amendment confers an individual

right; (ii) that the Second Amendment is made applicable

to the several States by the Fourteenth Amendment; (iii)

that Massachusetts’ statute, as currently worded, grants

the exercise of broad, yet standardless, discretion to local

licensing authorities, that violates the Due Process Clause

of the Fifth Amendment; and, (iv) that the local licensing

authority’s ex post facto consideration of acts violates the

‘Due Process’ provisions of the Fourteenth Amendment;

and in so finding on any of the above, to reverse the

District Court’s Order and the Court of Appeals’

affirmation thereof as applied to Counts 6, 7, 9, 11, 12, 14,

15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 22, and 25 and to remand for further

proceeding consistent with that directive.

Respectfully submitted on this 9" day of September,

2002, by,

- Petitioner, pro se,

Ubi:

Alec S. ‘Costerus

1537 Sudbury Road

Concord, MA 01742-5826

Telephone: (978) 318 9739

30

Appendix A

Judgement, United States District Court for the District of

Massachusetts, 00CV12156 MEL,

Entered March 9, 2001 ......cscccdevcccces A2

Order, United States District Court, District of

Massachusetts, 00CV12156 MEL,

Entered July 7, 2001 ..........- eee seen eens A 14

Judgment in a Civil Case, United States District Court,

District of Massachusetts, 00CV12156 MEL,

Entered August 8, 2001 ..........-.--eees A 16

Al

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

ALEC S. COSTERUS,

Plaintiff,

Civil Action

Vv. No. 00-12156-MEL

BARRY NEAL, et al.,

Defendants.

> a Le ee ee a

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

LASKER, DJ.

Alec Costerus brings this action pro se against the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, various employees of

the Commonwealth (collectively, the “Commonwealth”)

two Massachusetts towns, Concord and Marion and ©

assorted town employees alleging that they violated his

state and federal “constitutional rights” to store and

posses firearms. On December 1, 2000, the

Commonwealth moved to dismiss the claims against it.

The motion is granted.

On April 1, 1978, Costerus applied for and received

a Firearms Identification Card (“FID-Card”) from the

police station in his then hometown of Marion,

Massachusetts. The FID-Card allowed him to possess

firearms. In the mid-1980s, Costerus moved out of

Massachusetts. Under Massachusetts gun laws (M.G.L.

~ Ch. 140,§§ 121-131P), Costerus was required to notify the

A2

authority that had granted him his FID-Card of his move

within thirty days. Costerus failed to notify the Marion

Police Department. Subsequently, Costerus moved to

Concord, Massachusetts, where he lives today.

In 1998, Massachusetts overhauled its gun laws,

generally increasing the regulation of gun ownership.

Under St.1998, Ch. 180, § 73, the plaintiff, as a holder of

an FID-Card issued before the new law, had one year to

comply with the new restrictions.

Costerus’ Complaint centers around a purportedly

illegal search, seizure and arrest by the Concord police

which occurred on March 21, 1999. On that day, Costerus

alleges the following: that he had a verbal fight with his

wife; after the fight, he sought police assistance to gather

“a few days worth of clothes;” the police instructed him

to go to the police station and to wait while defendant,

Officer Barry Neal, spoke to his wife; while at the station,

Costerus saw a pamphlet concerning the new gun laws;

Costerus then inquired about what he needed to do to

comply with the new law; when Officer Neal returned

from the Costerus’ home (where Costerus’ wife had told

him that a non-physical fight had occurred), Officer Neal

questioned Costerus about his gun ownership and

_ whether he had a valid FID-Card; Costerus answered,

“yes--but it was issued twenty years ago--however, I still

think it is valid;” Officer Neal then responded “a lot has

changed in twenty years” and arrested Costerus for

unlawful possession of a firearm, presumably believing

that he did not have a valid FID-Card; Officer Neal

ordered another officer to search Costerus’ home; the

officer then searched and seized several guns from the

home without consent or a warrant; while Costerus was

being booked, the police required that he give them his

social security number or else he would “never get out of

A3

here,” and finally, that Costerus was then held overnight

in police custody.

On March 22, 1999, Costerus was arraigned in

Concord District Court and charged with two counts of

illegal possession of a firearm (M.G.L. ch. 269, § 10(h))

and with domestic assault and battery (M.G.L. ch. 265, §

13A). Later, Costerus was charged with not properly

securing weapons which were found in his home (M.G.L.

ch. 140, § 131L(c)). All or the charges, except for not

properly securing his firearms, were subsequently

voluntarily dropped by the Commonwealth. This final

charge was dropped because the state court had ruled

that the Commonwealth’s evidence was barred as the

“fruit of a poisonous tree” because Officer Neal had failed

to give Costerus Miranda warnings when he was

arrested.

After the charges against Costerus had been

dropped, he filed an application with the Concord Chief

of Police, Leonard J. Wetherbee, for a “License to Carry,”

the license created under the new 1998 law that allowed

the holder to own certain types of guns (“large capacity

weapons” ). Chief Wetherbee denied his request because

of Costerus’: (1) “failure to comply with a Concord Police

Administrative Policy requiring the completion of a

firearms safety course when applying for a License to

Carry;” and (2) “his recent involvement in domestic and

firearms related issues in the Town of Concord.”

Costerus then appealed the denial to the Massachusetts

Superior Court, which reversed it as an abuse of

discretion. Chief Wetherbee is currently appealing this

decision. Costerus also applied to renew his FID-Card

before the expiration of the one-year grace period. After

a two- month investigation, which according to Costerus

“illegally invaded into the plaintiff's privacy,” Chief

,A4

Wetherbee granted the license.

Based on these events, Costerus, proceeding pro se,

has filed a ninety-four page Complaint with over forty

Counts mainly asserting that the Commonwealth,

Concord and Marion defendants violated his rights to

store and possess firearms under the Massachusetts and

federal constitutions. The Commonwealth now moves to

dismiss all of the Counts against it because: (1) Eleventh

Amendment immunity bars some of Costerus’ claims; (2)

Costerus’ Due Process and Second Amendment claims

are not actionable; (3) The district attorney defendants,

Martha Coakley and Erin Duggan are entitled to absolute

prosecutorial immunity; and (4) Costerus’ § 1983 claims

are invalid because the Commonwealth and its officials

are not “persons” subject to the statute.

Il.

A. Eleventh Amendments Immunity

The Commonwealth argues that the Eleventh

Amendment bars Counts 8, 9, 20, 24, 25, 30, 34 and 35

because these Counts attempt to hold the Commonwealth

liable for violations of Massachusetts law in federal court.

In support of its position the Commonwealth cites

Pennhurst State Sch. and Hosp. v. Holderman, 465 U.S.

98, 121 (1984), in which the Supreme Court held that a

suit in federal court against a state alleging violation of its

own laws is barred by the Eleventh Amendment.

Costerus responds that Eleventh Amendment

immunity does not apply because: (1) he is a citizen of

Massachusetts and is suing Massachusetts; (2) he is

requesting prospective injunctive relief; and (3) the

A5

supplemental jurisdiction statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1367,

overrides, or abrogates, the Eleventh Amendment.

The Commonwealth’s motion is granted.’ The

reasons given by Costerus for rejecting Eleventh

Amendment immunity are without merit. First, although

the words of the Eleventh Amendment would appear to

allow suits against a state by its own citizens, the

Amendment has been consistently interpreted to bar such

suits. Hans v. Louisiana, 134 U.S. 1 (1890).

Second, the fact that Costerus seeks to remedy

purported violations of Massachusetts law through

prospective injunctive relief is irrelevant to Eleventh

Amendment analysis. As the Supreme Court explained in

Pennhurst, 465 U.S. at 106: “a federal court’s grant of

relief against state officials on the basis of state law,

whether prospective or retroactive . . . conflicts directly

with the principles of federalism that underlie the

Eleventh Amendment.”

Third, Costerus’ argument that Congress abrogated

the States’ Eleventh Amendment immunity in passing the

supplemental jurisdiction statute (28 U.S.C. § 1367) is

without merit. In order for Congress to have abrogated

the States’ Eleventh Amendment immunity through the

passage of the supplemental jurisdiction statute, it would

have had to have passed the statute both: (1) pursuant §

' The Commonwealth has moved to dismiss counts 24, 25, and 34 based on

the Pennhurst rule. Counts 25 and 34 make claims exclusively under federal

law. Count 24 makes claims under both Massachusetts and federal law. -

The Commonwealth’s Pennhurst argument has been understood as

requesting only the dismissal of claims brought under Massachusetts law

and accordingly, Counts 25, 34 (federal claims) and those portions of Count

24 which are based exclusively on federal law are not dismissed based on

Pennhurst.

renee PA

patra

SO ek ee

= Lune ogi SRN TOE EN FTE 8 rs ptaade ark SR te tla ESR LCN a Sale Pa bd

5 of the Fourteenth Amendment; and (2) with an

“unequivocal” intent to abrogate the States’ Eleventh

Amendment immunity.’ Neither factor is even arguably

present here. See Freeman v. Oakland Unified Sch. Dist.,

179 F.3d 846.

B. Costerus’ Second Amendment Claims

The Commonwealth moves to dismiss Counts 6, 7,

9,11, 12, 16, 17, and 22 to the extent that they rely on the

Second Amendment because the Amendment: (1) is

inapplicable to the States; and (2) does not create an

individual right. Presser v. Illinois, 116 U.S. 252, 265

(1886); United States v.Miller, 307 U.S. 174, 178 (1939).

Costerus responds that a passing reference made in

Justice Harlan’s dissent in Poe v. Ullman, 367 U.S. 497,

543 (1961), to the “right to bear arms” and quoted in two

majority opinions not dealing with the Second

Amendment,4 establishes such a right.

The Commonwealth’s motion is granted. Presser

and Miller control. Justice Harlan’s reference in his

dissent in Poe, to “the right to bear arms” does not

purport to be an adjudication that such a right exists and

the quotation of his dissent in later cases appears solely in

a discussion of the nature of Due Process."

2 Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44 (1996) and its progeny

have held that claims of Congressional abrogation of Eleventh Amendment

immunity could only be made under § 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment.

3 Green v. Mansour, 474 U.S. 64, 68 (1985). (9 Cir. 1999) (holding that

in enacting 28 U.S.C. § 1367 Congress did not abrogate the States’ Eleventh

Amendment immunity).

4 Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pa. v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 848

(1992); Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 502 (1976).

A7

Moreover, even if the Second Amendment did

confer an individual right (enforceable against a State),

Costerus has not demonstrated how the

Commonwealth's statutory scheme abridged the right.

The Commonwealth’s gun control statute allows

law-abiding persons to possess firearms with certain

restrictions intended solely to insure the safety of its

citizens. Such a statute, which strikes a reasoned balance

between the interests of gun owners and the interests of

citizens to be free from the potential dangers of guns does

not offend, even a quite expansive and personal

conception, of the Second Amendment. Accordingly,

Counts 6, 7, 9 and 16 are dismissed in their entirety and

Counts 11, 12, 18, and 22 are dismissed to the extent that

they make Second Amendment claims.

Costerus’ Due Process Claims

In Counts 11, 14, 15, 16,17, 19, 22 and 25 Costerus

asserts that the Commonwealth’s gun statute violates

Due Process because it grants the Chiefs of Police

discretion to: (1) deny Costerus a “license to carry;” (2)

refuse to renew his FID-Card; and (3) seize his guns.

Moreover, Costerus argues that “because M.G.L. Ch. 140,

§ 131L is a new statute with no mens rea requirement, it

violates [Costerus’] Fifth Amendment due process rights

[because he can be] subject to prosecution without proof

of knowledge that he was violating the statute.”

Complaint, { 178.

The Commonwealth moves to dismiss. It argues

that: (1) the statute complies with Due Process because

adequate post-deprivation remedies are available; and (2)

Costerus cannot assert Due Process claims based on

denials of gun licenses because neither a “property” nor

ee Cee doe uk aod lie LeSabre lp Alan aa

“liberty” interest is implicated. The Commonwealth also

denies that its gun statute imposes criminal liability for

weapons storage without requiring mens rea, a guilty state

of mind.

The Commonwealth’s. motion is granted. Costerus’

Due Process claims based on the Commonwealth’s initial

denial of a gun license fail because Massachusetts

provides an adequate post-deprivation remedy. Under

M.GLL. ch. 140, §, 129B, Costerus was entitled to and

received judicial review of the initial gun license denial.

The Supreme Court has held that the availability of

post-deprivation judicial review is a particularly

important factor in determining whether Due Process has

been accorded; Zinermon v. Burch, 494 U.S. 113 (1990).

Because judicial review was readily available to Costerus,

his Due Process claims are not actionable. :

Many of these claims also fail because neither a

“property” nor a “liberty” interest is implicated by the

Commonwealth’s initial denial of a “License to Carry.”

Costerus did not have a “legitimate claim of entitlement”

to a “License to Carry.” Chief of Police of Shelburne v.

Moyer, 16 Mass.App.Ct. 543, 547, 453 N.E.2d 461 (1983)

(plaintiff did not have a liberty or property interest in a

gun license); see Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 —

(1972) (describing the stringent standard for making a

federal Due Process claim based onan “entitlement”). An

applicant seeking “License to Carry” has neither a

“property” nor “liberty” interest, but is seeking a

privilege, which can be extended (or refused) by the

Commonwealth without Due Process implications.’ See

5 Similarly, Count 21, Costerus’ “impairment of contract” claim is based on

his FID-Card which he alleges is a “contract” with the Commonwealth.

This claimis dismissed. Under Massachusetts law, Costerus’ FID-Card was

A9

Medina v. Rudman, 545 F.2d 244, 250-51 (1* Cir. 1976)

(holding that a potential greyhound license applicant

under New Hampshire law had neither a liberty or

property interest in her application); Luk_v.

Commonwealth, 421 Mass 415, 658 N.E.2d 664, 669 (1995)

(holding that a driver's license is neither a contract nor

property right); Town of Milton v. Commonwealth, 416

Mass. 471, 623 N.E.2d 482, 484 (1993) (holding that under

Massachusetts law for a statute to create a contract there

must be clear legislative intent to do so); and Mosby v.

McAteer, No. 99-6504, 2001 WL 91407 (R.I. Super. Jan. 10,

2001) (holding that an applicant for a gun license under

Rhode Island’s parallel gun licensing statute did not have

either a “liberty” or “property” interest in their

application).

Nor does the Commonwealth’s criminal firearms

storage statute (M.G.L. 140, § 131L) violate Due Process.

Contrary, to Costerus’ argument, the courts have held that

violation of a parallel statute (M.G.L. ch. 269, § 10(a))

requires a guilty state of mind. Commonwealth v.

Sampson, 383 Mass. 750, 422 N.E.2d 450, 456 (1981) and

Commonwealth v. Jackson, 369 Mass. 904, 344 N.E.2d

166, 173 (1976), both held that a guilty state of mind is

required in order to convict a person of the closely

analogous crime of unlawful possession of a firearm and

a license, not a contract, and cannot be the basis of an impairment of

contract claim. See Luk, 658 N.E.2d at 669 (holding that a driver’s license

is not a contract right). Count 25, alleges that the Commonwealth conspired

with local authorities to deny Costerus the “privilege” of gun ownership

purportedly in violation of the Due Process Clause. This claim is without

merit because even if officers of the Commonwealth had “conspired” to

deprive him of gun ownership such a claim would not be actionable in

federal court because the “conspiracy” did not deprive him of any federally

protected right and adequate post-deprivation remedies exist.

there is no reason to believe that the Supreme Judicial

Court would rule any differently with respect to the

firearms storage statute then it did when presented with

the firearms possession statute.

D. Costerus’ Claims Against the District Attorney

Defendants

In Counts 6, 8, 9, 11 and 33, Costerus asserts claims

against District Attorney Martha Coakley and Assistant

District Attorney Erin Duggan for their roles in

prosecuting him for the events of March 21, 1999. The

Commonwealth moves to dismiss on the grounds of

prosecutorial immunity. The Commonwealth’s motion is

granted. Coakley and Duggan are entitled to absolute

immunity from a suit for monetary damages for actions

taken in their official capacity as advocates of the state.

Buckley v. Fitzsimmons, 509 U.S. 259, 269 (1993). Count

33 is dismissed.°

E. Costerus’ 42 U.S.C. § 1983 Claims Against the

Commonwealth

In Counts 24, 34 and 35, Costerus seeks to hold the

Commonwealth liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for the

actions of its officers undertaken sin their official

capacities which purportedly violated federal law. The

6 Counts 6, 8, 9 and 11 are already dismissed, as described above, by either

the Eleventh Amendment or because they do not state a federal claim.

Count 33 is dismissed against the District Attorney defendants because it

asserts a claim exclusively for money damages which is contrary to

Buckley’s absolute immunity rule. Costerus claims that he may sue the

district attorney defendants for prospective injunctive relief. Costerus is

correct, however, as his Complaint is currently written, it does not do so.

Amt |

Commonwealth moves to dismiss, arguing that neither it

nor its officers are “ persons” subject to § 1983, citing Will

v. Michigan Dept. of State Police, 491 U.S. 58 (1989), in

support of its position. The Commonwealth's motion is

granted to the extent that it seeks to prevent Costerus

from suing the Commonwealth or its officials for money

damages. In Will, 491 US. at 70 n.10, the Supreme Court

noted that while generally a state official is nota“ person”

subject to suit under § 1983, a state official is considered

a “person” under § 1983 when she is sued in her official

capacity for prospective injunctive relief. Thus, to the

extent that Costerus seeks prospective injunctive relief

under § 1983 against officials of the Commonwealth his

claims are not barred by Will. However, this point is

academic. These Counts still fail to state a claim because,

as described above, Costerus has not alleged an

actionable violation of federal law.

Il.

From Costerus’ ninety-four page Complaint and

other filings it is clear that he is an intelligent and

tenacious person who is understandably troubled by his

interactions with the Concord Police Department over his

possession of firearms. However, the fact that Costerus

appears to have stated a claim against Concord does not

give him an unfettered license to file a multiplicity of

patently frivolous claims against either the

Commonwealth or the Town of Marion. Fed.R.Civ.P. 11

prohibits such conduct even by a party appearing pro se.

In the future, Costerus should exercise more care in

separating his tenable legal arguments from those which

are unsupportable. The Commonwealth’s motion to

dismiss is granted. Costerus’ state law claims and his

A12

federal claims which are barred exclusively by Zinermon

are dismissed without prejudice. Costerus’ other federal

claims are dismissed with prejudice.

It is so ordered.

Dated: March 9, 2001 s/ Morris E. Lasker

Boston, Massachusetts US.D_J.

A113

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

ALEC S. COSTERUS,

Plaintiff,

No. 00-12156-MEL

Vv.

GOVERNOR PAUL

CELLUCCL, et al.,

Defendants. ORDER

> a tL Lt Le ee ee ee

LASKER, D.J. ,

Paul Cellucci, former Governor of the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Attorney General

Thomas Reilly, District Attorney Martha Coakley,

Assistant District Attorney Erin Duggan, Secretary of the

Executive Office of Public Safety Jane Perlov,

Commissioner of Probation John J. O'Brien, the East

Boston District Court, the Commonwealth of

Massachusetts, the Town of Marion, Brian J. Scott and

Jonathan Philbrook (collectively, the “Non-Concord

Defendants" - the Town of Concord and its officers being

the only remaining defendants) move for entry of final

judgment under Fed.R.Civ.P. 54(b). Costerus has not

filed an opposition. The request is granted because:

(1) Entry of a final judgment dismissing the action

against the Non-Concord Defendants will dispose of all

of the claims against them in this action;

Al4

(2) There is no just reason to delay the entry of

final judgment. The dismissal of the Non-Concord

Defendants is based on the plaintiff's failure to state a

cognizable claim against them under Fed.R.Civ.P.

12(b)(6). The reasons supporting this court's

determination are distinct from the factual and legal

issues pertaining to the other defendants. An appeal of

the Non-Concord Defendants dismissal would not

require the consideration of any issue that might be

raised even if plaintiff or the other defendants ultimately

appeal a judgment in the pending claims. Further,

resolution of the pending claims would not moot an

appeal of the Non-Concord Defendants’ dismissal

because the issues are distinct. An adjudication of such

an appeal would not delay or otherwise impede

resolution of the remaining claims; and

(3) If an appeal of Non-Concord Defendants’

dismissals is delayed until the end of the case and if such

an appeal is successful, both plaintiff and the Non-

Concord Defendants would be prejudiced because they

would then be required to resume litigation, including

discovery.

Therefore, it is hereby ordered that a judgment

enter dismissing from this action the Non-Concord

Defendants in their entirety, with each party bearing its

his own the legal fees, costs, and expenses.

It is so ordered.

Dated: March 9, 2001 s/ Morris E. Lasker

Boston, Massachusetts U.S.D,J.

A15

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

ALEC S. COSTERUS

Plaintiff(s)

V. Civil Action

No. 00-12156-MEL

BRIAN J. SCOTT,

JONATHAN F. PHILBROOK,

ARGEO PAUL CELLUCCI

THOMAS REILLY

MARTHA COAKLEY

ERIN DUGGAN

JOHN J. O’BRIEN,

EAST BOSTON DISTRICT

COURT

TOWN OF MARION,

COMMONWEALTH OF

MASSACHUSETTS

Defendant(s)

[UDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

LASKER, S.D.].

Jury Verdict. This action came before the court for

a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the

jury has rendered its verdict.

Decision by the court. The issues have been tried

or heard and a decision has been rendered.

A 16

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED:

In Accordance with the Court’s Order of July 7,

2001; That judgment enter dismissing from this case the

Non Concord defen[d]ants as follow[s]: Argeo Paul

Cellucci, Thomas Reilly, Martha Coakley, Erin Duggan,

John J. O’Brien, East Boston District Court, Jonathan F.

Philbrook, Town of Marion and the Commonwealth of

Massachusetts. With each party bearing his own legal

fee, costs and expenses.

TONY ANASTAS,

CLERK OF COURT

Dated: 8/8/01 By: s/ George H. Howarth

Deputy Clerk

A117

Appendix B

Judgement, United States Court of Appeals for the First

Circuit, Case No. 01-1493,

Entered April 29, 2002

Bl

United States Court of Appeals

For the First Circuit

No. 01-1493

ALEC S. COSTERUS,

Plaintiff, Appellant,

V.

BARRY NEAL, ET AL.,

Defendants, Appellees.

Before

Lynch, Circuit Judge,

Campbell and Stahl, Senior Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

Entered: March 29, 2002

The judgment of the district court is affirmed essentially

for the reasons stated in its Memorandum and Order of

July 7, 2001. See also Thomas v. members of City Council

of Portland, 730 F.3d 41, 42 (1* Cir. 1984) (per curiam).

We do not reach appellant’s argument, abandoned on

appeal, that the statutory definition of “large capacity

weapon” is unconstitutionally vague. Cf. Gun Owners’

Action League, Inc. v. Swift, ___ F.3d ___, 2002 WL 434188,

at *10 (1* Cir. Mar. 25, 2002) (finding similar claim not

ripe for review).

By the Court:

Richard Cushing Donovan,

Clerk

By: Janice M. O*Neil

Chief Deputy Clerk

B3

Appendix C

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 140, § 131

M.GLL., c. 140, § 131, as amended by Chapter 180 of the

Acts of 1998, “An Act Relative to Gun Control in the

Commonwealth,” approved on July 23, 1998, effective

ninety (90) days thereafter on October 21, 1998, states:

Section 131. All licenses to carry firearms shall be

designated Class A or Class B, and the issuance and

possession of any such license shall be subject to the

following conditions and restrictions:

(a) A Class A license shall entitle a holder thereof to

purchase, rent, lease, borrow, possess and carry: (i)

firearms, including large capacity firearms, and feeding

devices and ammunition therefor, for all lawful purposes,

subject to such restrictions relative to the possession, use

or carrying of firearms as the licensing authority deems

proper; and (ii) rifles and shotguns, including large

capacity weapons, and feeding devices and ammunition

therefor, for all lawful purposes; provided, however, that

the licensing authority may impose such restrictions

relative to the possession, use or carrying of large

capacity rifles and shotguns as it deems proper. A

violation of a restriction imposed by the licensing

authority under the provisions of this paragraph shall be

cause for suspension or revocation and shall, unless

otherwise provided, be punished by a fine of not less than

$1,000 nor more than $10,000; provided, however, that

the provisions of section 10 of chapter 269 shall not apply

to such violation.

i

The colonel of state police may, after an investigation,

grant a Class A license to a club or facility with an on-site

shooting range or gallery, which club is incorporated

under the laws of the commonwealth for the possession,

storage and use of large capacity weapons, ammunition

therefor and large capacity feeding devices for use with

such weapons on the premises of such club; provided,

however, that not less than one shareholder of such club

shall be qualified and suitable to be issued such license;

and provided further, that such large capacity weapons

and ammunition feeding devices may be used under such

Class A club license only by such members that possess

a valid firearm identification card issued under section

129B or a valid Class A or Class B license to carry

firearms, or by such other persons that the club permits

while under the direct supervision of a certified firearms

safety instructor or club member who, in the case of a

large capacity firearm, possesses a valid Class A license

to carry firearms or, in the case of a large capacity rifle or

shotgun, possesses a valid Class A or Class B license to

carry firearms. Such club shall not permit shooting at

targets that depict human figures, human effigies, human

silhouettes or any human images thereof, except by

public safety personnel performing in line with their

official duties.

No large capacity weapon or large capacity feeding

device shall be removed from the premises except for the

purposes of: (i) transferring such firearm or feeding

_ device to a licensed dealer; (ii) transporting such firearm

or feeding device to a licensed gunsmith for repair; (iii)

target, trap or skeet shooting on the premises of another

club incorporated under the laws of the commonwealth

and for transporting thereto; (iv) attending an exhibition

C2

or educational project or event that is sponsored by,

conducted under the supervision of or approved by a

public law enforcement agency or a nationally or state

recognized entity that promotes proficiency in or

education about semiautomatic weapons and for

transporting thereto and therefrom; (v) hunting in

accordance with the provisions of chapter 131; or (vi)

surrendering such firearm or feeding device under the

provisions of section 129D. Any large capacity weapon or

large capacity feeding device kept on the premises of a

lawfully incorporated shooting club shall, when not in

use, be secured in a locked container, and shall be

unloaded during any lawful transport. The clerk or other

corporate officer of such club shall annually file a report

with the colonel of state police and the executive director

of the criminal history systems board listing all large

capacity weapons and large capacity feeding devices

owned or possessed under such license. The colonel of

state police or his designee, shall have the right to inspect

all firearms owned or possessed by such club upon

request during regular business hours and said colonel

may revoke or suspend a club license for a violation of

any provision of this chapter or chapter 269 relative to the

ownership, use or possession of large capacity weapons

or large capacity feeding devices.

(b) A Class B license shall entitle a holder thereof to

purchase, rent, lease, borrow, possess and carry: (i) non-

large capacity firearms and feeding devices and

ammunition therefor, for all lawful purposes, subject to

such restrictions relative to the possession, use or

carrying of such firearm as the licensing authority deems

proper; provided, however, that a Class B license shall

not entitle the holder thereof to carry or possess a loaded

C3

firearm ina concealed manner in any public way or place;

and provided further, that a Class B license shall not

entitle the holder thereof to possess a large capacity

firearm, except under a Class A club license issued under

this section or under the direct supervision of a holder of

a valid Class A license at an incorporated shooting club

or licensed shooting range; and (ii) rifles and shotguns,

including large capacity rifles and shotguns, and feeding

devices and ammunition therefor, for all lawful purposes;

provided, however, that the licensing authority may

impose such restrictions relative to the possession, use or

carrying of large capacity rifles and shotguns as he deems

proper. A violation of a restriction provided under this

paragraph, or a restriction imposed by the licensing

authority under the provisions of this paragraph, shall be

cause for suspension or revocation and shall, unless

otherwise provided, be punished by a fine of not less than

$1,000 nor more than $10,000; provided, however, that

the provisions of section 10 of chapter 269 shall not apply

to such violation.

A Class B license shall not be a valid license for the

purpose of complying with any provision under this

chapter governing the purchase, sale, lease, rental or

transfer of any weapon or ammunition feeding device if

such weapon is a large capacity firearm or if such

ammunition feeding device is a large capacity feeding

device for use with a large capacity firearm, both as

defined in section 121.

(c) Either a Class A or Class B license shall be valid for the

purpose of owning, possessing, purchasing and

transferring non-large capacity rifles and shotguns, and

for purchasing and possessing chemical mace, pepper

C4

spray or other similarly propelled liquid, gas or powder

designed to temporarily incapacitate, consistent with the

entitlements conferred by a firearm identification card

issued under section 129B.

(d) Any person residing or having a place of business

within the jurisdiction of the licensing authority or any

person residing in an area of exclusive federal jurisdiction

located within a city or town may submit to such

licensing authority or the colonel of state police, an

application for a Class A or Class B license to carry

firearms, or renewal of the same, which such licensing

authority or said colonel may issue if it appears that the

applicant is a suitable person to be issued such license,

and that the applicant has good reason to fear injury to

his person or property, or for any other reason, including

the carrying of firearms for use in sport or target practice

only, subject to such restrictions expressed or authorized

under this section, unless the applicant:

(i) has, in any state or federal jurisdiction, been convicted

or adjudicated a youthful offender or delinquent child for

the commission of (a) a felony; (b) a misdemeanor

punishable by imprisonment for more than two years; (c)

a violent crime as defined in section 121; (d) a violation of

any law regulating the use, possession, ownership,

transfer, purchase, sale, lease, rental, receipt or

transportation of weapons or ammunition for which a

term of imprisonment may be imposed; or (e) a violation

of any law regulating the use, possession or sale of

controlled substances as defined in section 1 of chapter

94C;

(ii) has been confined to any hospital or institution for

C5 =

mental illness, unless the applicant submits with his

application an affidavit of a registered physician attesting

that such physician is familiar with the applicant's mental

illness and that in such physician's opinion the applicant

is not disabled by such an illness in a manner that should

prevent such applicant from possessing a firearm;

(iii) is or has been under treatment for or confinement for

drug addiction or habitual drunkenness, unless such

applicant is deemed to be cured of such condition by a

licensed physician, and such applicant may make

application for such license after the expiration of five

years from the date of such confinement or treatment and

upon presentment of an affidavit issued by such

physician stating that such physician knows the

applicant's history of treatment and that in such

physician's opinion the applicant is deemed cured;

(iv) is at the time of the application less than 21 years of

age;

(v) is an alien;

(vi) is currently subject to: (A) an order for suspension or

surrender issued pursuant to section 3B or 3C of chapter

209A or a similar order issued by another jurisdiction; or

(B) a permanent or temporary protection order issued

pursuant to chapter 209A or a similar order issued by

another jurisdiction; or

(vii) is currently the subject of an outstanding arrest

warrant in any state or federal jurisdiction.

(e) Within seven days of the receipt of a completed

C6

application for a license to carry or possess firearms, or

renewal of same, the licensing authority shall forward

one copy of the application and one copy of the

applicant's fingerprints to the colonel of state police, who

shall within 30 days advise the licensing authority, in

writing, of any disqualifying criminal record of the

applicant arising from within or without the

commonwealth and whether there is reason to believe

that the applicant is disqualified for any of the foregoing

reasons from possessing a license to carry or possess

firearms. In searching for any disqualifying history of the

appiicant, the colonel shall utilize, or cause to be utilized,

files maintained by the department of probation and

statewide and nationwide criminal justice, warrant and

protection order information systems and files including,

but not limited to, the National Instant Criminal

Background Check System. The colonel shall inquire of

the commissioner of the department of mental health

relative to whether the applicant is disqualified from

being so licensed. If the information available to the

colonel does not indicate that the possession of a firearm

or large capacity firearm by the applicant would be in

violation of state or federal law, he shall certify such fact,

in writing, to the licensing authority within said 30 day

period.

The licensing authority may also make inquiries

concerning the applicant to: (i) the executive director of

the criminal history systems board relative to any

disqualifying condition and records of purchases, sales,

rentals, leases and transfers of weapons or ammunition

concerning the applicant; (ii) the commissioner of

probation relative to any record contained within the

department of probation or the statewide domestic

3a 4

violence record keeping system concerning the applicant;

and (iii) the commissioner of the department of mental

health relative to whether the applicant is a suitable

person to possess firearms or is not a suitable person to

possess firearms. The director or commissioner to whom

the licensing authority makes such inquiry shall provide

prompt and full cooperation for that purpose in any ~

investigation of the applicant.

The licensing authority shall, within 40 days from the

date of application, either approve the application and

issue the license or deny the application and notify the

applicant of the reason for such denial in writing;

provided, however, that no such license shall be issued

unless the colonel has certified, in writing, that the

information available to him does not indicate that the

possession of a firearm or large capacity firearm by the

applicant would be in violation of state or federal law.

(f) A license issued under this section shall be revoked or

suspended by the licensing authority, or his designee,

upon the occurrence of any event that would have

disqualified the holder from being issued such license or -

from having such license renewed. A license may be

revoked or suspended by the licensing authority if it

appears that the holder is no longer a suitable person to

possess such license. Any revocation or suspension of a

license shall be in writing and shall state the reasons

therefor. Upon revocation or suspension, the licensing

authority shall take possession of such license and the

person whose license is so revoked or suspended shall

take all actions required under the provisions of section

129D. No appeal or post-judgment motion shall operate

to stay such revocation or suspension. Notices of

C8

revocation and suspension shall be forwarded to the

executive director of the criminal history systems board

and the commissioner of probation and shall be included

in the criminal justice information system. A revoked or

suspended license may be reinstated only upon the

termination of all disqualifying conditions, if any.

Any applicant or holder aggrieved by a denial, revocation

or suspension of a license, unless a hearing has

previously been held pursuant to chapter 209A, may,

within either 90 days after receiving notice of such denial,

revocation or suspension or within 90 days after the

expiration of the time limit during which the licensing

authority is required to respond to the applicant, file a

petition to obtain judicial review in the district court

having jurisdiction in the city or town wherein the

applicant filed for, or was issued, such license. A justice

of such court, after a hearing, may direct that a license be

issued or reinstated to the petitioner if such justice finds

that there was no reasonable ground for denying,

suspending or revoking such license and that the

petitioner is not prohibited by law from possessing same.

(g) A license shall be in a standard form provided by the

executive director of the criminal history systems board

_ and shall contain a license number which shall clearly

indicate whether such number identifies a Class A or

Class B license, the name, address, photograph,

fingerprint, place and date of birth, height, weight, hair

color, eye color and signature of the licensee. Such license

shall be marked “License to Carry Firearms” and shall

clearly indicate whether the license is Class A or Class B.

The application for such license shall be made in a

standard form provided by the executive director of the

C9

criminal history systems board, which form shall require

the applicant to affirmatively state under the pains and

penalties of perjury that such applicant is not disqualified

on any of the grounds enumerated above from being

issued such license.

(h) Any person who knowingly files an application

containing false information shall be punished by a fine

of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or by

imprisonment for not less than six months nor more than

two years in a house of correction, or by both such fine

and imprisonment.

(i) A license to carry or possess firearms shall be valid,

unless revoked or suspended, for a period of not more

than four years from the date of issue and shall expire on

the anniversary of the licensee's date of birth occurring

not less than three years but not more than four years

from the date of issue. Any renewal thereof shall expire

on the anniversary of the licensee's date of birth occurring

not less than three years but not more than four years

from the effective date of such license. Any license issued

to an applicant born on February 29 shall expire on

March 1. The fee for such application shall be $25, which

fee shall be payable to the licensing authority and shall

not be prorated or refunded in case of revocation or

denial; provided, however, that the licensing authority

shall retain one-half of such fee and the remaining

portion shall be deposited into the Firearms Record

Keeping Fund established under section 2SS of chapter

29.

Any person over the age of 70 shall be exempt from the

requirement of paying a renewal fee for a Class A or

C10

iaicaidlarelg

Class B license to carry.

(j)(1) No license shall be required for the carrying or

possession of a firearm known as a detonator and

commonly used on vehicles as a signaling and marking

device, when carried or possessed for such signaling or

marking purposes.

(2) No license to carry shall be required for the possession

of an unloaded large capacity rifle or shotgun or an

unloaded feeding device therefor by a veteran's

organization chartered by the Congress of the United

States, chartered by the commonwealth or recognized as

a nonprofit tax-exempt organization by the Internal

Revenue Service, or by the members of any such

organization when on official parade duty or during

ceremonial occasions. For purposes of this subparagraph,

an “unloaded large capacity rifle or shotgun” and an

“unloaded feeding device therefor” shall include any

large capacity rifle, shotgun or feeding device therefor

loaded with a blank cartridge or blank cartridges, so-

called, which contain no projectile within such blank or

blanks or within the bore or chamber of such large

capacity rifle or shotgun.

(k) Whoever knowingly issues a license in violation of

this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than

$500 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not

less than six months nor more than two years in a jail or

house of correction, or by both such fine and

imprisonment.

(1) The executive director of the criminal history systems

board shall send by first class mail to the holder of each

such license to carry firearms, a notice of the expiration of

such license not less than 90 days prior to such expiration

and shall enclose therein a form for the renewal of such

license. The taking of fingerprints shall not be required in

issuing the renewal of a license if the renewal applicant's

fingerprints are on file with the department of the state

police. Any licensee shall notify, in writing, the licensing

authority who issued said license, the chief of police into

whose jurisdiction the licensee moves and the executive

director of the criminal history systems board of any

change of address. Such notification shall be made by

certified mail within 30 days of its occurrence. Failure to

so notify shall be cause for revocation or suspension of

said license.

(m) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 10 of

chapter 269, any person in possession of a firearm, rifle or

shotgun whose license issued under this sectionis invalid

for the sole reason that it has expired, but who shall not

be disqualified from renewal upon application therefor

under this section, shall be subject to a civil fine of not less

than $500 nor more than $5,000 and the provisions of

section 10 of chapter 269 shall not apply; provided,

however, that the exemption from the provisions of said

section 10 of said chapter 269 provided herein shall not

apply if: (i) such license has been revoked or suspended,

unless such revocation or suspension was caused by

failure to give notice of a change of address as required

under this section; (ii) revocation or suspension of such

license is pending, unless such revocation or suspension

was caused by failure to give notice of a change of

address as required under this section; or (iii) an

application for renewal of such license has been denied.

Any law enforcement officer who discovers a person to

be in possession of a firearm, rifle or shotgun after such

person's license has expired, has been revoked or

suspended, solely for failure to give notice of a change of |

address, shall confiscate such firearm, rifle or shotgun

and the expired or suspended license then in possession

and such officer, shall forward such license to the

licensing authority by whom it was issued as soon as

practicable. Any confiscated weapon shall be returned to

the owner upon the renewal or reinstatement of such

expired or suspended license within one year of such

confiscation or may be otherwise disposed of in

accordance with the provisions of section 129D. The

provisions of this paragraph shall not apply if such

person has a valid license to carry firearms issued under

section 131F.

(n) Upon issuance of a license to carry or possess firearms

under this section, the licensing authority shall forward

a copy of such approved application and license to the

executive director of the criminal history systems board,

who shall inform the licensing authority forthwith of the

existence of any disqualifying condition discovered or

occurring subsequent to the issuance of a license under

this section.

(0) No person shall be issued a license to carry or possess

a machine gun in the commonwealth, except that a

licensing authority or the colonel of state police may issue

a machine gun license to:

(i) a firearm instructor certified by the criminal justice

training council for the sole purpose of firearm

instruction to police personnel;

C13

(ii) a bona fide collector of firearms upon application or

upon application for renewal of such license.

(p) The executive director of the criminal history systems

board shall promulgate regulations in accordance with

chapter 30A to establish criteria for persons who shall be

classified as bona fide collectors of firearms.

(q) Nothing in this section shall authorize the purchase,

possession or transfer of any weapon, ammunition or

feeding device that is, or in such manner that is,

prohibited by state or federal law.

(r) The secretary of the executive office of public safety or

his designee may promulgate regulations to carry out the

purposes of this section.

C14

Appendix D

Bibliography of Scholarly Research

Amar, Akhil Reed, “Second Thoughts: What the Right to

Bear Arms Really Means,” The New Republic, p. 242,

July 12, 1999.

Amar, Akhil Reed, “The Bill of Rights and the Fourteenth

Amendment,” 101 Yale L. J. 1131-1284, April 1992.

Amar, Akhil Reed, “The Bill of Rights as a Constitution,”

100 Yale L. J. 1131, 1990.

Cottrol, Robert J., (ed.), Gun Control and the Constitution:

Sources and Explorations on the Second Amendment, 3

vols., Garland Publishing, Inc., New York, N.Y., 1992,

and in single paperback vol., Garland Publishing,

Inc., New York, N.Y., 1994.

Cottrol, Robert J., with Diamond, Raymond T., “The Fifth

Auxiliary Right,” 104 Yale L. J. 995-1026, 1995.

Cottrol, Robert J., “Public Safety and the Right to Bear

Arms,” in D. Bodenhamer and J. Ely, After 200 Years:

The Bill of Rights in Modern America, Indiana Univ.

Press, Bloomington, Ind., 1993.

Cottrol, Robert J., “The Second Amendment: Toward an

Afro-Americanist Reconsideration,” 80 Georgetown L.

]. 309-361, 1991.

Cottrol, Robert J., “Never Intended to be Applied to the

White Population’: Firearms Regulation and Racial

D1

Disparity - The Redeemed South's Legacy to a

National Jurisprudence,” 70 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 1307-

1335, 1995.

Denning, Brannon P. with Reynolds, Glenn Harlan, “It

Takes a Militia: A Communitarian Case for

Compulsory Arms Bearing,” 5 W. & M. Bill of Rights

]. 185-214, 1996.

Denning, Brannon P., “Can the Simple Cite Be Trusted?

Lower Court Interpretations of United States v. Miller

and the Second Amendment,” 26 Cumberland L. Rev.

961-1004, 1996.

Denning, Brannon P., “Palladium of Liberty? Causes and

Consequences of the Federalization of State Militias

in the Twentieth Century,” 21 Okla. City U. L. R. 191-

245, 1996.

Denning, Brannon P., “Professional Discourse, the Second

Amendment and the ‘Talking Head

Constitutionalism’ Counterrevolution: A Review

Essay,” 21 So. Ill. U. L. J. 227-253, 1997.

Halbrook, Stephen P., A Right to Bear Arms: State and

Federal Bills of Rights and Constitutional Guarantees

Greenwood Press, Inc., Westport, Conn., 1989.

Halbrook, Stephen P., Firearms Law Deskbook, Clark

Boardman Callaghan, Deerfield, IIl., 1995 and 1999

supp.;

Halbrook, Stephen P., That Every Man Be Armed: The

Evolution of a Constitutional Right, Univ. of New

D2

Mexico Press/The Independent Institute, Oakland,

Cal., 1984, reprinted by The Independent Institute,

1991.

Halbrook, Stephen P., with Kopel, David B., revised and

reprinted in Cottrol, Gun Control and the Constitution:

Sources and Explorations on the Second Amendment, pp.

360-374, “Tench Coxe and the Right to Keep and Bear

Arms, 1787-1823,” 7/2 W. & M. Bill of Rights J]. 347-

399, February 1999.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “Congress Interprets the Second

Amendment: Declarations by a Co-Equal Branch on

the Individual Right to Keep and Bear Arms,” 62/3

Tenn. L. Rev. 597-641, Spring 1995.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “Encroachments of the Crown on

the Liberty of the Subject: Pre-Revolutionary Origins

of the Second Amendment,” 15 U. of Dayton L. Rev.

91-124, Fall 1989.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “Firearms, the Fourth Amendment,

and Air Carrier Security,” 52/3 J. of Air Law & Comm.

585-680, Southern Methodist Univ. School of Law,

1987.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “Personal Security, Personal

Liberty, and ‘The Constitutional Right to Bear Arms’:

Visions of the Framers of the Fourteenth

Amendment,” 5/2 Constit. L. ]. 341-434, Seton Hall

Law School, Spring 1995.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “Rationing Firearms Purchases and

the Right to Keep Arms: Reflections on the Bill of

D3

Rights of Virginia, West Virginia, and the United

States,” 96 W. Va. L. Rev. 1-83, 1993.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “Second-Class Citizenship and the

Second Amendment in the District of Columbia,” 5/2

Geo. Mason Univ. Civ. Rights L. J. 105-178, Summer

1995.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “The Jurisprudence of the Second

and Fourteenth Amendment, Geo. Mason L. Rev. 1-69,

1981, reprinted in part in The Right to Keep and Bear

Arms, Report of the Subcommittee on the

Constitution of the Senate Committee on the

Judiciary, 97" Cong., 2d Sess., pp. 68-82, February

1982.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “The Right of the People or the

Power of the State: Bearing Arms, Arming Militias,

and the Second Amendment,” 26/1 Valparaiso U. L.

Rev. 131-207, Fall 1991.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “The Right to Bear Arms in Texas:

The Intent of the Framers of the Bill of Rights,” 41

Baylor L. Rev. 629-688, 1989.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “The Right to Bear Arms in the

First State Bills of Rights: Pennsylvania, North

Carolina, Vermont, and Massachusetts,” 10 Vt. L.

Rev. 255-320, 1985.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “The Right to Keep and Bear Arms

under the Second and Fourteenth Amendments: The

Framers' Intent and Supreme Court Jurisprudence,”

5/1 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol. 7-28, 1993.

D4

Halbrook, Stephen P., “The Second Amendment as a

Phenomenon of Classical Political Philosophy” in

Kates, Don B. , Jr., (ed.), Firearms and Violence, 1984.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “To Keep and Bear Their Private

Arms: The Adoption of the Second Amendment,

1787-1791,” 10/13 No. Ky. L. Rev. 13-39 (1982),

reprinted in 2 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “Tort Liability for the

Manufacture, Sale and Ownership of Handguns,”

6/2 Hamline L. Rev. 351-382, 1983.

Halbrook, Stephen P., “What the Framers Intended: A

Linguistic Analysis of the Right to ‘Bear Arms’,” 49/1

Law & Contemp. Prob. 151-162, Winter 1986.

Hardy, David T. with Fields, William S., “The Militia and

the Constitution: A Legal History,” 136 Mil. L. Rev. 1,

1992.

Hardy, David T. with Stompoly, John, “Of Arms and the

Law,” 51 Chi.-Kent L. Rev. 62-114, 1974.

Hardy, David T., Origins and Development of the Second

Amendment, Blacksmith Corp., Chino Valley, Ariz.,

1986.

Hardy, David T., “Armed Citizens, Citizen Armies:

Toward a Jurisprudence of the Second Amendment,”

9 Harvard J. of L. & Pub. Pol. 559-638, 1986.

Hardy, David T., “Firearms Ownership and Regulation:

Tackling an Old Problem with Renewed Vigor,” 20

D5

W. & M. L. Rev. 235-290, 1978.

Hardy, David T., “Historical Bases of the Right to Keep

and Bear Arms,” The Right to Keep and Bear Arms,

Report of the Subcommittee on the Constitution of

the Senate Committee on the Judiciary, 97th Cong.,

2d Sess., pp. 45-67, February 1982.

Hardy, David T., “Legal Restrictions of Firearms

Ownership as an Answer to Violent Crime: What

Was the Question?” 6 Hamline L. Rev. 391-408, 1983.

Hardy, David T., “The Firearms Owners’ Protection Act:

A Historical and Legal Perspective,” 17 Cumberland

L. Rev. 585-682, 1987.

Hardy, David T., “The Second Amendment and the

Historiography of the Bill of Rights,” 4 J. of L. & Pol.

1-62, 1987.

Heath, J. Norman, “Exposing the Second Amendment:

Federal Preemption of State Militia Legislation,” 79

U. Det. Mercy L. Rev. 39 (2001).

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.), Restricting Handguns: The Liberal

Skeptics Speak Out, North River Press, Inc., Croton-

on-Hudson, N.Y., 1979.

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.), Why Handgun Bans Can't Work

Second Amendment Foundation, Bellevue, Wash.,

1982.

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Barnett, Randy E., “Under Fire:

The New Consensus on the Second Amendment,”

D6

45/4 Emory L. J. 1139-1259, Fall 1996.

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Kleck, Gary, The Great American

Gun Debate: Essays on Firearms & Violence, Pacific

Research Institute for Public Policy, San Francisco,

Cal., 1997.

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.), Firearms and Violence: Issues of

Public Policy Ballinger, Cambridge, Mass., 1984.

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.), Symposium: Gun Control, 49/1 L.

& Contemp. Prob. 1-267, Winter 1986.

Kates, Don B., Jr., (ed.), “Firearms and Firearms

Regulation: Old Premises, New Research (A

Symposium),” 5 L. & Pol. Quart., 1983.

Kates, Don B., Jr., author, “The Second Amendment: A

Dialogue,” id. at 143-150.

Kates, Don B., Jr., Guns, Murders, and the Constitution: A

Realistic Assessment of Gun Control, Pacific Research

Institute for Public Policy, San Francisco, Calif., 1990.

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Lattimer, John K. and Boen, James

R., “Problematic Arguments for Banning Handguns,”

in Kates, Don B., Jr., and Kleck, Gary, The Great

American Gun Debate: Essays on Firearms & Violence,

Pacific Research Institute for Public Policy, San

Francisco, Cal., pp. 31-49, 1997.

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Polsby, Daniel D., “Of Genocide

and Disarmament,” 86/1 J. of Crim. L. & Criminology

247-256, Fall 1995.

D7

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Schaffer, Henry E.; Latimer, John

K.; Murray, George B.; and Cassem, Edwin H., “Guns

and Public Health: Epidemic of Violence or Pandemic

of Propaganda?” 62/3 Tenn. L. Rev. 513-596, Spring

1995.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “Bigotry, Symbolism and Ideology in

the Battle over Gun Control,” 1992 Pub. Int'l L. Rev.

31-46, 1992.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “Gun Control: Separating Reality from

Symbolism,” 20 J. of Contemp. L. 353-379, 1994.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “Handgun Banning in Light of the

Prohibition Experience,” in Don B. Kates, Jr. (ed.),

Firearms and Violence, pp. 139-154, 1984.

Kates, Don B., Jr.,“ Handgun Prohibition and the Original

Meaning of the Second Amendment,” 82 Mich. L.

Rev. 203-273, 1983.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “Minimalist Interpretation of the

Second Amendment” in Hickok, E. (ed.), The Bill of

Rights: Original Meaning and Current Understanding,

Univ. of Virginia Press, Charlottesville, Va., 1991.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “On Genocide and Disarmament,” 86

]. of Crim. L. & Criminology 247, 1995.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “Policy Lessons from Recent Gun

Control Research,” 49 L. & Contemp. Prob. 35-62, 1986.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “Reflections on the Relevancy of Gun

Control,” 13 Crim. L. Bull. 119, 1977.

D8

Kates, Don B., Jr., with Lattimer, John K. and Boen, James

R., “Sagecraft: Bias and Mendacity in The Public

Health Literature on Gun Usage,” in Kates, Don B.,

Jr., and Kleck, Gary, The Great American Gun Debate:

Essays on Firearms & Violence, Pacific Research

Institute for Public Policy, San Francisco, Cal., pp.

125-147, 1997.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “Some Remarks on the Prohibition of

Handguns,” 23 St. Louis U. L. J. 12, 1978.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “The Battle Over Gun Control,” 84 Pub.

Int. 42, 1986, reprinted in 3 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “The Second Amendment and the

Ideology of Self-Protection,” 9 Constit. Comment. 87-

104, February 1992.

Kates, Don B., Jr., “The Value of Civilian Handgun

Possession as a Deterrent to Crime or a Defense

Against Crime,” 18 Amer. J. of Crim. L. 113-167, 1991.

Kleck, Gary with Bordua, David, “The Assumptions of

Gun Control,” in Kates, Don B. (ed.) Firearms and

Violence: Issues of Public Policy, Ballinger, Cambridge,

Mass., 1984, reprinted in Library of Congress,

Congressional Research Service, Federal Regulation of

Firearms: A Report Prepared for the Use of the Committee

on the Judiciary, United States Senate, 97th Cong., 2d

Sess., Committee Print, 1982.

Kleck, Gary with Gertz, Marc, “Armed Resistance to

Crime: The Prevalence and Nature of Self-Defense

with a Gun,” 86/1 J. of Crim. L. & Crim. 150-187, Fall

D9

1995.

Kleck, Gary with Patterson, E. Britt, “The Impact of Gun

Control and Gun Ownershiv Levels on Violence

Rates,” 9 J. of Quantit. Crim. 249-287, 1993.

Kleck, Gary, Point Blank: Guns and Violence in America,

Aldine de Gruyter, New York, 1991.

Kleck, Gary, with Kates, Don B., Jr., The Great American

Gun Debate: Essays on Firearms & Violence, Pacific

Research Institute for Public Policy, San Francisco,

Cal., 1997.

Kleck, Gary, “Crime Control Through the Private Use of

Armed Force,” 35/1 Soc. Prob. 1-21, February 1988.

Kleck, Gary, “Guns and Violence: An Interpretive Review

of the Field,” 1/1 Soc. Path. 12-47, January 1995.

Kleck, Gary, “Media Bias: Gun Control, Assault

Weapons, Cop-Killer Bullets, the Goetz Case, and

Other Alarms in the Night,” in Kates, Don B., Jr., and

Kleck, Gary, The Great American Gun Debate: Essays on

Firearms & Violence, Pacific Research Institute for

Public Policy, San Francisco, Cal., pp. 54-92, 1997.

Kleck, Gary, “The Factual Foundation for Certain Key

Assumptions of Gun Control,” 5 L. & Pol. Quart. 271-

293, 1983.

Kleck, Gary, “The Frequency of Defensive Gun Use,” pp.

152-191 and “Keeping, Carrying, and Shooting Guns

for Self Protection,” pp. 194-222, and “The Nature of

D10

Defensive Gun Use and the Deterrence and

Displacement of Crime,” in Kates, Don B., Jr., and

Kleck, Gary, The Great American Gun Debate: Essays on

Firearms & Violence, Pacific Research Institute for

Public Policy, San Francisco, Cal., pp. 223-268, 1997.

Kleck, Gary, “The Relationship Between Gun Ownership

Levels and Rates of Violence in the United States,” in

Kates, Don B., Jr. (ed.), Firearms and Violence: Issues of

Public Policy, Ballinger, Cambridge, Mass., pp. 99-132,

1984, reprinted in Library of Congress, Congressional

Research Service, Federal Regulation of Firearms: A

Report Prepared for. the Use of the Committee on the

Judiciary, United States Senate, 97th Cong., 2d Sess.,

Committee Print, 1982.

Kopel, David B. with Blackman, Paul H., “Can Soldiers

Be Peace Officers? The Waco Disaster and the

Militarization of American Law Enforcement,” 30

Akron L. Rev. 619-659, 1997.

Kopel, David B. with Blackman, Paul H., “The

Unwarranted Warrant: The Waco Search Warrant

and the Decline of the Fourth Amendment,” 18/1

Hamline J. of L. & Pol. 1-51, Fall 1996.

Kopel, David B. with Cramer, Clayton E. and Hattrup,

Scott G., “A Tale of Three Cities: The Right to Keep

and Bear Arms in State Supreme Court Cases,” 68

Temple L. Rev. 1177-1240, 1995, reprinted in 8 J.

Firearms & Pub. Pol. 109-203, Fall 1996.

Kopel, David B. with Gardiner, Richard E., “The Sullivan

Principles: Protecting the Second Amendment from

D11

Civil Abuse,” 19 Seton Hall Legis. ]. 737-775, 1995.

Kopel, David B. with _ Little, Christopher C.,

“Communitarians, Neorepublicans, and Guns:

Assessing the Case for Firearms Prohibition,” 56/2

Ma. L. Rev. 438-554, 1997.

Kopel, David B. with Olson, Joseph, “Preventing a Reign

of Terror: Civil Liberties Implications of Terrorism

Legislation,’ 21 Okla. City U. L. Rev. 247-347,

Summer/Fall 1996.

Kopel, David B. with Reynolds, Glenn Harlan, “Taking

Federalism Seriously: Lopez and the Partial-Birth

Abortion Ban,” 30/1 Conn. L. Rev. 59-116, Fall 1997.

Kopel, David B., Gun Control in Great Britain: Saving Lives

or Constricting Liberty, 1992.

Kopel, David B., Guns: Who Should Have Them?,

Prometheus Books, Buffalo, N.Y., 1995.

Kopel, David B., The Samurai, the Mountie, and the Cowboy,

Prometheus Books, Buffalo, N.Y., 1992.

Kopel, David B., with Blackman, Paul H., No More Wacos:

What's Wrong with Federal Law Enforcement and How to

Fix It, Prometheus Books, Amherst, N.Y., 1997.

Kopel, David B., “Canadian Gun Control: Should the

United States Look North for a Solution to Its

Firearms Problem?” 5 Temple Int'l & Comp. L. J. 1-50,

1991.

D12

Cc

Kopel, David B., “Comprehensive Bibliography of the

Second Amendment in Law Reviews,” 11 J. Firearms

& Pub. Pol. 5-45, Fall 1999.

Kopel, David B., “It Isn't About Duck Hunting: The

British Origins of the Right to Arms,” 93 Mich. L. Rev.

1333-1362, 1995.

Kopel, David B., “Japanese Gun Control,” 2 Asia Pac. L.

Rev. 26-52, 1993.

Kopel, David B., “Lethal Laws,” 15 N.Y. L. Sch. J. of Int'l

& Comp. L. 355-398, 1995.

Kopel, David B., “Peril or Protection? The Risks and

Benefits of Handgun Prohibition,” 12 St. Louis U. Pub.

i L. Rev. 285-359, 1993.

Kopel, David B., “Rational Basis Analysis of ‘Assault

Weapon’ Prohibition,” 20 J. of Contemp. L. 381-417

(1994).

Kopel, David B., “The Ideology of Gun Ownership and

Gun Control in the United States,” 18 Quart. J. of

Ideol. 3-34, June 1995.

Kopel, David B., “The Second Amendment in the

Nineteenth Century,” 1998 Brig. Young U. L. Rev.

1359-1524, 1998.

Kopel, David B., “Why Gun Waiting Periods Threaten

Public Safety,” 4/1 J. Firearms-& Pub. Pol. 1-72,

Summer 1992.

D13

Levinson, Sanford, “Democratic Politics and Gun

Control,” 1 Reconstruction 137, 1992.

Levinson, Sanford, “Is the Second Amendment Finally

Becoming Recognized as Part of the Constitution?

Voices from the Courts,” Brig. Young U. L. Rev. 127,

1998.

Levinson, Sanford, “The Embarrassing Second

Amendment,” 99 Yale L. J. 637-659, December 1989,

reprinted in Cottrol, Gun Control 137-159, reprinted

in 3 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol.

Lund, Nelson, “The Past and Future of the Individual's

Right to Arms,” George Mason University School of

Law Law and Economics Working Paper No. 95-11,

GMU, Arlington, Va., 1995, published in 31/1 Ga. L.

Rev. 1-76, Fall 1996.

Lund, Nelson, “The Second Amendment, Political

Liberty, and the Right to Self-Preservation,” 39/1 Ala.

L. Rev. 103-130, 1987.

Malcolm, Joyce Lee, Disarmed: The Loss of the Right to Bear

Arms in Restoration England, The Mary Ingraham

Bunting Institute of Radcliffe College, 1980.

Malcolm, Joyce Lee, Review, 54 Geo. Washington U. L. Rev.

582, 1986.

Malcolm, Joyce Lee, To Keep and Bear Arms: The Origins of

an Anglo-American Right, Harvard Univ. Press,

Cambridge, Mass., 1994.

a ME I ONE

ee ake ee

Malcolm, Joyce Lee, “Gun Control and the Constitution:

Sources and Explorations of the Second

Amendment,” 62/3 Tenn. L. Rev. 813-821, Spring,

1995.

Malcolm, Joyce Lee, “The Right of the People to Keep and

Bear Arms: The Common Law Tradition,” 10

Hastings Constit. L. Quart. 285-314, Winter, 1983,

reprinted in Robert J. Cottrol (ed.), Gun Control and

the Constitution: Sources and Explorations on the Second

Amendment, Garland Publishing, Inc., New York,

N.Y., pp. 227-256, 1994, (hereinafter, “Cottrol, Gun

Control”).

Malcolm, Joyce Lee, “The Role of the Militia in the

Development of the Englishman's Right to be Armed

- Clarifying the Legacy,” 5/1 J. Firearms & Pub. Pol.,

139-151, 1993.

Tribe, Laurence H., “The Second Amendment and state

sovereignty,” 1 American Constitu tional Law,

Foundation Press, New York, N.Y., 3d ed., 894-903,

2000.

van Alstyne, William, “The Second Amendment and the

Personal Right to Arms,” 43/6 Duke L. J. 1236-1255,

April 1994.

D15

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.