Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority v. Federal Aviation Administration

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ Supreme Court, U.S.

! FILED

O01 226 Aue 3 2008

No.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

a

ARAPAHOE COUNTY PUBLIC AIRPORT AUTHORITY,

Petitioner,

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit

>

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

*

RONALD S. LOSER

BRIAN A. MAGOON *

Breca & Winters P.C.

1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 2222

Denver, Colorado 80203

(303) 866-9400

re Attorneys for Petitioner

Arapahoe County Public Airport

Authority

* Counsel of Record

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether an airport proprietor, pursuant to the pro-

prietary powers exception, 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(3), and

the Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution,

U.S. Const. Article VI, cl. 2, may ban an aeronautical use

at its airport, such as scheduled passenger service, as

necessary for the safe operation of its airport or to serve

the civil aviation needs of the public, when the airport

proprietor is expressly granted such power by federal

regulation and federal grant agreement and when the

aeronautical use had not previously operated at the air-

port.

ll

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The following entities are parties to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit opinion:

The Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority

The Federal Aviation Administration

The City of Greenwood Village (Intervenor)

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED......................0000 i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING .................. ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....................0000. Vv

SOMEONE WONEMIOU oon cccccccccccscccccccccucscaces 1

Gt Shak bd cw eowendales wneensre ees 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION, STATUTES AND

REGULATION INVOLVED ...................... 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE....................... +

i iveto yah ehkn cs ak ac xehasd.suedevcad 4

B. The Case Below - Administrative and Judicial

ED ais oc 0006468464 00s cA sus kn u'sec'e 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ....... 11

I. This Court Should Grant The Petition Because

The Tenth Circuit’s Decision Erroneously Ren-

dered Conclusions of Law Which Directly Con-

flict With Conclusions of Law Correctly

Rendered in a Prior Decision by the Colorado

EE NE os ers ke Gwin dedi saseaeeseeesaaes 12

Il. The Conflicting Decisions Involve The Important

Issue Of Airport Owner/Operators’ Proprietary

Powers In The Management And Operation Of

Airports Within A National Aviation System.

Accordingly, A Standard Should Be Established

By This Court By Which Lower Courts May

Determine When A Matter Truly Impacts The

National Aviation System As Opposed To Being

A Matter Of Proprietary Power................ 16

ie SUG Cheb nae ewok ek 6is6s0sicceacnace 19

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

APPENDIX A

Opinion, Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth. v.

FAA, 242 F.3d 1213 (10th Cir. 2001) ........... App. 1

APPENDIX B

Final Agency Decision and Order, Centennial

Express Airlines et al. v. Arapahoe County Pub.

Airport Auth., FAA Order No. 1999-1, 1999 FAA

Foe ee. ee SD . MPerrrrTerT rr Try App. 23

APPENDIX C

Order on Petition for Rehearing and Request for

Rehearing En Banc, Arapahoe County Pub. Air-

OO FD. BG. via cscawistanneeserecsrivnns App. 60

APPENDIX D

Opinion, Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth. v.

Centennial Express Airlines, Inc., 956 P.2d 587

SEN ciesd oe sbaeaeeen wes 600aa¥eeeneee App. 62

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CAsES

American Airlines, Inc. v. Department of Transp., 202

F.3d 788 (5th Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 530 U.S.

Eee CEUD sso ckcnnnchiracexddacacsaeeesi ce caieee 16

Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth. v. Centennial

Express Airlines, Inc., 956 P.2d 587 (Colo.

| Peer [atabeie dese eaeeees ee eeeen’ passim

Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth. v. FAA, 242

Pate SERS Cle Cie Basa cence passim

City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411

ate GOR CRIPOy ss oe ccdeavigasorcaskele eee 16, 18

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Minnesota, 322 U.S. 292

CED) suds ctennsacckuedseg tata eee 17

Western Air Lines, Inc. v. Port Auth., 658 F. Supp.

952 (S.D. N.Y. 1986), aff'd, 817 F.2d 222 (2d Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 1006 (1988)............ 16

CONSTITUTION

U.S. Comet. Anteie Vi, Ob: 2 32 oteedeses ease 2

STATUTES

ae UDR. | TE) bbccinaeedsessniginsasaneeoeel 2

49 USC. § 41713(b)1), (3)... een e keen ves 2, 16, 17, 18

OP WBK.. § GRRIe os hes 4 bickctencs eee 2

49 US.C. § 47102(18), (7), and (11) .......22..000e00- 8

OUSl. OO... 3

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

DD UBL. § GTM occ cccccccessccvcescssccecsecss 14

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 41-3-106(1)(h)............... 3, 14, 17

REGULATIONS

B6 CAR FOCE OD onccndccctnccdcccacteccesnseseaian 11

14 C.F.R. Part 152, § 152 Appx. D, ¢ 18........... 3, 17

LeGIsLATIVE MATERIALS

Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, Pub. L. No.

GS-GU6, SB Teak. TIED CUSED occ cccscescccvvacevenen 16

BD0 CURLS. Hi DD CENCE ec cv cecccctntvanansend 17

ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS

FAA/OST Task Force Study, Airport Business Prac-

tices and Their Impact on Airline Competition, Ch.

2 GR, BOGE ccvcccsenctuccsdeusseessesseunteesaas 15

Policy Regarding Airport Rates and Charges, 61

Ped. Ram, FLIES GEOGes occ vsavectvscaccdsskacaeure 17

OTHER AUTHORITY

P.O. Ntiesch, Rights as a Tool for Airport Manage-

ment, The Air & Space Lawyer, Vol. 15, No. 4

(ABA, Speen, TOBE). cc ccccccccescccccccesncscveses 13

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority

(“Airport Authority”) respectfully petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit (“Tenth Circuit”), entered

in this proceeding on March 9, 2001, in order to resolve a

direct conflict between the Tenth Circuit and a decision

by the Colorado Supreme Court on the important federal

question presented herein.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Tenth Circuit which gives rise to

this petition is reported at 242 F.3d 1213 and is reprinted

in the Appendix at App. 1 to App. 22. The Order of the

Tenth Circuit, dated May 7, 2001, which denied the Air-

port Authority’s Petition for Rehearing and Request for

Rehearing En Banc, is reprinted in the Appendix at App.

60 to App. 61. The Final Agency Decision and Order

(“Final Agency Order”), which the Tenth Circuit affirmed

by its opinion, is publicly available at 1999 FAA LEXIS

805 and is reprinted in the Appendix at App. 23 to App.

59. The decision of the Colorado Supreme Court, with

which the opinion of the Tenth Circuit directly conflicts

on the important federal question presented herein, is

reported at 956 P.2d 587 and is reprinted in the Appendix

at App. 62 to App. 112.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Tenth Circuit is dated March 9,

2001. The Tenth Circuit Order denying the Airport

Authority’s Petition for Rehearing and Request for

Rehearing En Banc is dated May 7, 2001. The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) and

pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 46110(e).

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION, STATUTES

AND REGULATION INVOLVED

U.S. Const. Article VI, cl. 2 provides:

The Constitution, and Laws of the United States

which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and

all Treaties made, or which shall be made, under

the Authority of the United States, shall be the

supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in

every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in

the Constitution or Laws of any State to the

Contrary notwithstanding.

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1), (3) provides:

(1) Except as provided in this subsection, a

State, political subdivision of a State, or political

authority of at least 2 States may not enact or

enforce a law, regulation, or other provision

having the force and effect of law related to a

price, route, or service of an air carrier that may

provide air transportation under this subpart.

(3) This subsection does not limit a State,

political subdivision of a State, or political

authority of at least 2 States that owns or oper-

ates an airport served by an air carrier holding a

certificate issued by the Secretary of Transporta-

tion from carrying out its proprietary powers

and rights.

49 U.S.C. § 47107(a)(1) provides:

(1) the airport will be available for public use

on reasonable conditions and without unjust

discrimination;

14 C.FR. Part 152, § 152 Appx. D, ¥ 18 provides:

The Sponsor will operate the Airport as

such for the use and benefit of the public. In

furtherance of this covenant (but without limit-

ing its general applicability and effect), the

Sponsor specifically agrees that it will keep the

Airport open to all types, kinds, and classes of

aeronautical use on fair and reasonable terms

without discrimination between such types,

kinds, and classes. Provided, that the sponsor

may establish such fair, equal, and not unjustly

discriminatory conditions to be met by all users

of the airport as may be necessary for the safe

and efficient operation of the Airport; And Pro-

vided Further, That the Sponsor may prohibit or

limit any given type, kind, or class of aeronauti-

cal use of the Airport if such action is necessary

for the safe operation of the Airport or neces-

sary to serve the civil aviation needs of the

public.

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 41-3-106(1)(h) provides:

(h) To regulate, when acting singly, or by

agreement, when acting jointly with any other

municipality or county, the receiving, deposit,

and removal and the embarkation of passengers

or property to or from the airport; to regulate or

prohibit any airport hazard; to exact and require

charges, fees, and rentals, together with a lien to

enforce the payment; to lease or assign for oper-

ation such space or area, appurtenances,

appliances, or other conveniences necessary or

useful in connection therewith; to own and

operate aircraft; to employ pilots; to provide

rules and regulations governing the use of such

airport and facilities and the use of other prop-

erty and means of transportation within or over

said airport, landing field, and navigation facili-

ties; to perform any duties, necessary or consis-

tent with the regulation of air traffic; to enter

into contracts or otherwise cooperate with the

United States, the state, or other public or pri-

vate agencies; and to exercise such powers as

may be required or consistent with the promo-

tion of aeronautics and the furtherance of com-

merce and navigation by air;

*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Issue

The issue addressed by the Colorado Supreme Court

and Tenth Circuit, on the same basic facts and with

diametrically opposed conclusions, is whether an airport

proprietor may ban an aeronautical use, which had never

operated at the airport, under the Supremacy Clause of

the United States Constitution, the proprietary powers

exception set forth in federal statute, and the specific

language of federal regulation, as, determined by the

airport proprietor to be, necessary for the safe operation

of the airport or to serve the civil aviation needs of the

public.

This Court has never ruled on the nature and extent

of an airport owner/operator’s proprietary powers. By

this Petition, the Airport Authority is requesting this

Court to establish a standard by which lower courts may

determine when a matter truly affects the national avia-

tion system as opposed to when, as here, a matter is truly

local and proprietary. In essence, does the matter affect

air space or does it affect ground space?

B. The Case Below - Administrative and Judicial

Proceedings

The Airport Authority is the owner/operator of Cen-

tennial Airport (“Centennial”). Centennial was created

amid controversy and opened as the Arapahoe County

Airport in 1967. To assuage the concerns of the citizenry,

the Arapahoe County Commissioners promised that Cen-

tennial would be a general aviation reliever airport for

Stapleton International Airport and would not permit

scheduled passenger service. As such, Centennial was

designed and built with Federal Aviation Administration

(“FAA”) grants as a general aviation reliever airport.

Pursuant to national, regional and local planning, Cen-

tennial has always operated as a general aviation reliever

airport. See Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth. v. Centen-

nial Express Airlines, Inc., 956 P.2d 587, 589-590 (Colo.

1998). (App. at 63-67).

The Arapahoe County Commissioners never allowed

scheduled passenger service at the airport. In 1975, the

Arapahoe County Commissioners created the Airport

Authority which, upon creation, became a political subdi-

vision of the State of Colorado. The Airport Authority

Commissioners also never allowed scheduled passenger

service at Centennial. See id.

In the mid to late 1980s a push was made by certain

individuals to conduct scheduled passenger service oper-

ations at Centennial.! In April 1993, the Airport Author-

ity, in response to the increasing pressure and in

reiteration of its twenty-six year position, adopted a mor-

atorium on the review or consideration of applications to

conduct scheduled passenger service. This moratorium

was quickly followed on May 7, 1993 by a formal applica-

tion from Centennial Express Airlines, Inc. (the “Airline”)

to conduct scheduled passenger service at Centennial.

Resulting from the Airline’s application were three FAA

administrative proceedings, one United States Depart-

ment of Transportation (“DOT”) letter, and the directly

conflicting Colorado Supreme Court and Tenth Circuit

opinions. See id. at 589-591. (App. at 63-70); see Arapahoe

County Pub. Airport Auth. v. FAA, 242 F.3d 1213, 1216-1217

(10th Cir. 2001). (App. at 2-6).

Cumulatively, derived from the foregoing proceed-

ings, eleven Airport Authority principles have been

enunciated in support of the ban on scheduled passenger

service:

_ 1 See Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth. v. Centennial

Express Airlines, Inc., 956 P.2d 587, 590 (Colo. 1998). (App. at 66).

(“Despite Centennial’s lack of facilities, private efforts have

been made to bring scheduled passenger service to the airport.

In response, the Authority has increased efforts to prohibit

scheduled passenger service.”)

2 To the extent these principles have been referenced in the

Colorado Supreme Court or Tenth Circuit opinions, citations are

provided.

1. At the inception of Centennial, the Arapahoe

County Commissioners promised the citizens that Cen-

tennial would be a general aviation reliever airport only

and would not permit scheduled passenger service. See

Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth., 956 P.2d at 589-590,

595. (App. at 63-67, 80-81).

2. The Commissioners, whether County or Airport

Authority, have never permitted scheduled passenger

service. Id.

3. If an airline is allowed to operate scheduled pas-

senger service at Centennial, all applicants who wish to

provide the same service must be allowed to do so. Id. at

596. (App. at 83).

4. FAA policy favors commercial service over gen-

eral aviation and, as such, if there is a capacity constraint,

scheduled passenger service will have primacy over gen-

eral aviation and the Airport Authority could be required

to exclude or limit general aviation to accommodate

scheduled passenger service, which would be contrary to

published national, regional and local planning which

designate Centennial as a general aviation reliever airport

for Denver International Airport (“DIA”). A general avia-

tion reliever airport, such as Centennial, performs a vital

function in the national aviation system by removing the

congestion of general aviation aircraft from scheduled

passenger service airports. See id. at 589-590, 594 n.9,

596-597, 606. (App. at 63-67, 77-78, 83-84, 107-108).

5. The Airport Authority’s Minimum Standards for

Commercial Aeronautical Activity (“Minimum Stan-

dards”) define Ceritennial’s “Airport Purpose” as “any

Authority action, undertaking or development that is

consistent in maintaining the non-certificated status of

the Airport and in preserving the Airport funding cate-

gory as a ‘Reliever Airport’ serving general aviation

users. Under no circumstance shall the Airport Purpose

include scheduled passenger services.” See id. at 590.

(App. at 66-67).

6. Scheduled passenger service operations could

transform Centennial from a “Reliever Airport” to a

“Commercial Service Airport” and then to a “Primary

Airport”. If Centennial becomes a “Primary Airport” it

would have to compete with DIA for federal grant agree-

ments.? See id.

7. The Code of Federal Regulations and the FAA’s

grant agreements state that the Airport Authority “may

prohibit or limit any given type, kind or class of aero-

nautical use of the airport if such action is necessary for

the safe operation of the airport or necessary to serve the

civil aviation needs of the public.” See id. at 589; (App. at

64); Arapahoe County Pub. Airport. Auth., 242 F.3d at 1222;

(App. at 18); 14 C.FR. Part 152, § 152 Appx. D, { 18.

8. The Colorado Supreme Court has determined

that the Airport Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger

service falls squarely within its proprietary powers and

the ban on scheduled passenger service is necessary for

the safe operation of the airport and serves the civil

3 Definitions of “reliever airport”, “commercial service

airport” and “primary airport” are set forth in 49 U.S.C.

§ 47102(18), (7), and (11) respectively. The lack of comparability

of facilities between Centennial and DIA supports how

incongruous it would be to have Centennial and DIA in the

same funding category.

aviation needs of the public. Arapahoe County Pub. Airport

Auth., 956 P.2d at 595-597. (App. at 79-84).

9. Centennial is approaching its capacity. As such,

current FAA policy would allow a general aviation

reliever airport such as Centennial to ban scheduled pas-

senger service if Centennial was in a multi-airport system

under one owner. Local, regional and national planning

has designated Centennial as a general aviation reliever

airport in a multi-airport system. Such planning is consis-

tent with and the functional equivalent of FAA’s policy

that allows a multi-airport proprietor to ban scheduled

passenger service at a general aviation reliever airport in

order to maintain the attractiveness of the general avia-

tion reliever airport to general aviation. See id. at 591, 597.

(App. at 68, 83-84).

10. Airport planners and architects designed Cen-

tennial to accommodate general aviation and not sched-

uled passenger service. Centennial’s design does not

include a terminal, a baggage system, adequate parking

and adequate security necessary to accommodate sched-

uled passenger service. See id. at 590, 596. (App. at 66, 83).

11. The National Transportation Safety Board

(“NTSB”) recommends that scheduled passenger service

be only at certificated airports with on-the-airport fire

and rescue services. Centennial is not certificated. Cen-

tennial has to rely on off-the-airport and non-exclusive

fire protection services. In the event of an accident the

fire department cannot meet a three-minute fire response

time at Centennial. The significance of the three-minute

fire response time is that if a fire department does not

have the fire controlled and mostly extinguished within

three minutes, the chance of having survivable victims is

10

zero. See Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth., 242 F.3d at

1223 n.10. (App. at 20).

As noted, the Colorado Supreme Court ruled in Arap-

ahoe County Public Airport Authority v. Centennial Express

Airlines, Inc., 956 P.2d 587 (Colo. 1998) that the Airport

Authority’s Minimum Standards and ban on scheduled

passenger service are not preempted by federal law and

do not violate the grant assurances given to the federal

government. Further, the Colorado Supreme Court held

that the ban on scheduled passenger service is necessary

for the safe operation of Centennial and serves the civil

aviation needs of the public. Id. at 593-597. (App. at

74-85). On “the same basic facts,” the Tenth Circuit

upheld the FAA’s termination of the Airport Authority’s

eligibility for federal grant agreements, concluding, in

part, “the Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger ser-

vice is preempted by statute and the Supremacy

Clause;....” Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth. v. FAA,

242 F.3d 1213, 1217, 1224 (10th Cir. 2001). (App. at 5, 22).

The Tenth Circuit initially held that “the strong pol-

icy of federal supremacy in the field of aviation prevails

over full faith and credit principles in this case. The

Colorado Supreme Court’s decision in Arapahoe County

Public Airport Authority v. Centennial Express Airlines

therefore has no bearing on the FAA decision before us.”

Id. at 1221. (App. at 15). In initially dismissing the Colo-

rado Supreme Court opinion, the Tenth Circuit stated (1)

that the Colorado Supreme Court addressed issues of

preemption and grant assurances in a “narrow context”,

(2) the Colorado Supreme Court’s grant agreement con-

clusion lacks the “depth and breadth” of the FAA anal-

ysis, and (3) that it was a plurality opinion. Id. at 1219.

(App. at 10-11). The Tenth Circuit then proceeded to

11

determine that (1) the ban on scheduled passenger ser-

vice is preempted and (2) the record supports the FAA’s

findings that the Airport Authority acted unreasonably in

exercising its proprietary powers.‘ Id. at 1221-1224. (App.

at 15-21).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Airport Authority respectfully requests this

Court to grant its Petition for two reasons:

1. First, on the same basic facts, the Tenth Circuit

erroneously rendered conclusions of law on the Suprem-

acy Clause and proprietary powers exception that were

diametrically opposed to the correct conclusions of law

rendered by the Colorado Supreme Court. The Tenth

Circuit opinion ignored the thoughtfully considered pro-

prietary powers and grant agreement analysis of the Col-

orado Supreme Court. This analysis focused on the power

of an airport to control and determine its size and facili-

ties. The analysis also ascribed to the importance of the

historical and the national, regional, and local planning

pertaining to Centennial.

* The FAA’s statement of facts and, to the extent addressed,

the FAA’s positions on the Airport Authority’s positions are set

forth in the Final Agency Order at App. 24 to App. 29 and App.

40 to App. 57. The FAA’s defense of its multiple roles in the 14

C.F.R. Part 16 fact finding and decision making process is set

forth in App. 39 to App. 40.

12

2. Second, these conflicting decisions involve the

important issue of an airport owner/operators’ propri-

etary powers in the management and operation of air-

ports within a national aviation system. Accordingly, a

standard should be established by this Court by which

lower courts may determine when a matter truly impacts

the national aviation system as opposed to being a matter

of local, proprietary power. The Airport Authority sub-

mits that the standard should be based, consistent with

the Colorado Supreme Court decision, on whether the

exercise of proprietary power pertains to the air space,

i.e., operation of aircraft, or whether it pertains to ground

space, i.e., facilities and planning.

I. This Court Should Grant The Petition Because The

Tenth Circuit’s Decision Erroneously Rendered Con-

clusions of Law Which Directly Conflict With Con-

clusions of Law Correctly Rendered in a Prior

Decision by the Colorado Supreme Court

The Tenth Circuit acknowledged that “the same basic

facts” were before the Colorado Supreme Court and the

Tenth Circuit. See Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth., 242

F.3d at 1217. (App. at 5). Yet on these “same basic facts”,

the Colorado Supreme Court and Tenth Circuit reached

directly conflicting conclusions pertaining to the Airport

Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger service.

The Colorado Supreme Court concluded that the ban

on scheduled passenger service was not preempted by

federal law but is a valid exercise of proprietary powers.

Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth., 956 P.2d at 593-596.

(App. at 74-81). The Colorado Supreme Court specifically

recognized:

13

While regulations concerning aircraft noise and

ground congestion restrict the manner in which

airport users conduct their operations, a ban on

scheduled service seeks to accomplish a more

fundamental goal in setting the boundaries of

permissible operations at the airport. The power

to control an airport's size exists at the core of the

proprietor’s function and is especially strong where,

as here, the prohibited use has never been allowed, or

even contemplated. (citation omitted) (emphasis

added).

Id. at 595. (App. at 80-81). The Colorado Supreme Court

correctly perceived the issue as one of the Airport

Authority maintaining the status quo of its facilities, as

contrasted to being forced to expand its facilities. See also

id. at 596 n.12. (App. at 82). (“Further, City of Dallas

concerned a ban enacted after that airport proprietor had

previously allowed scheduled passenger operations at

the airport. Therefore, facilities and procedures were

already in place to accommodate scheduled passenger

service. Such is not the case at Centennial where sched-

uled passenger service has never been permitted.”)

One commentator has noted:

These types of facility decisions have tradi-

tionally been left up to the airport proprietor.

Lately, however, DOT has begun to make the

argument that airports may be obligated to

accommodate new service. FAA/OST Task Force

Study, Airport Business Practices and Their

Impact on Airline Competition, ch. 2 (Oct. 1999).

P.O. Ntiesch, Rights as a Tool for Airport Management, The

Air & Space Lawyer, Vol. 15, No. 4 at 10 n.29 (ABA,

14

Spring 2001). This lack of facilities, which, as set forth

above, is only one of the reasons why the Airport Author-

ity bans scheduled passenger service, clarifies the dispute

over the national versus local, proprietary power.°

The Airport Authority’s position is that because it

does not have the facilities for scheduled passenger ser-

vice, it may ban scheduled passenger service as necessary

for the safe operation of the airport. Further, and most

importantly, it cannot be required to build facilities to

accommodate scheduled passenger service. Rather, it may

continue to operate as it was designed and built — as a

general aviation reliever airport.

The FAA’s present viewpoint requires the Airport

Authority to expand and build the scheduled passenger

service facilities. As stated in the FAA/OST study cited

by Mr. Niiesch:

FAA has interpreted the reasonable access pro-

vision as requiring access for new entrants. . . .

FAA determined that some arrangements for

accommodation must be made if reasonably

possible, and that a carrier may not be denied access

to an airport solely based on the non-availability of

currently existing facilities. In some cases, the air-

port operator may provide temporary facilities,

such as a mobile ticket office and gate facilities,

to relieve the situation. Otherwise, FAA and the

5 The Colorado Supreme Court also recognized that the

Airport Authority’s actions were pursuant to state law (citing

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 41-3-106(1)(h)), national, regional, and local

planning, non-discriminating and addressed exclusive rights

(citing 49 U.S.C. § 47107(a)(4)). See Arapahoe County Pub. Airport

Auth., 956 P.2d at 594-597. (App. at 77-84).

15

airport operator together can develop a solution

to the problem. . . . (emphasis added)

FAA/OST Task Force Study, Airport Business Practices and

Their Impact on Airline Competition, Ch. 2 at 16 (Oct. 1999).

The Tenth Circuit is correct that “the Authority relies

largely on the Colorado Supreme Court's conclusion the

ban on scheduled passenger service was, indeed, neces-

sary for the safe operation of Centennial Airport and to

serve the public’s civil aviation needs.” Arapahoe County

Pub. Airport Auth., 242 F.3d at 1221. (App. at 15). The

Tenth Circuit is also correct that the Airport Authority

maintains that “the scheduled passenger service ban is

per se an exercise of its propriety [sic] power, ...” Id. at

1222. (App. at 18).

The Colorado Supreme Court correctly realized that

the Airport Authority was not adversely impacting the

operation of aircraft, which is the traditional sphere of

the FAA, but rather acting as an owner of an airport

without the facilities to support scheduled passenger ser-

vice, and which owner did not wish to expand its facili-

ties. The Airport Authority asserts that it has the absolute

right to decide not to build scheduled passenger service

facilities. One effect of the Tenth Circuit decision is to

sanction the FAA’s withholding of funds unless and until

the Airport Authority agrees to expand its facilities to

accommodate scheduled passenger service.

However, more is at stake here than whether or not

the Colorado Supreme Court or the Tenth Circuit is right.

For these conflicting decisions may have been avoided if

a standard had been established for determining the

nature and extent of an airport owner’s proprietary

16

powers. However, such a standard has never been estab-

lished. See Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth., 242 F.3d at

1222; (App. at 18); American Airlines, Inc. v. Department of

Transp., 202 F.3d 788, 806 (5th Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 530

U.S. 1284 (2000); Western Air Lines, Inc. v. Port Auth., 658

F. Supp. 952, 956 (S.D. N.Y. 1986), aff'd, 817 F.2d 222 (2d

Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 1006 (1988); Arapahoe

County Pub. Airport Auth., 956 P.2d at 595 (App. at 80).

(“There are no cases that address the specific question

posed by the present case.”).

II. The Conflicting Decisions Involve The Important

Issue Of Airport Owner/Operators’ Proprietary

Powers In The Management And Operation Of Air-

ports Within A National Aviation System. Accord-

ingly, A Standard Should Be Established By This

Court By Which Lower Courts May Determine

When A Matter Truly Impacts The National Avia-

tion System As Opposed To Being A Matter Of

Proprietary Power

Prior to the enactment of the Airline Deregulation

Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-504, 92 Stat. 1705 (1978)

(“ADA”), this Court noted, but did not determine, “what

limits, if any, apply to a municipality as a proprietor.”

City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411 U.S. 624,

635-636 n.14 (1973). When the ADA was enacted the

proprietary powers of airport owner/operators was

expressly reserved. See 92 Stat. at 1708, as now codified at

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(3). In the legislative history for the

ADA, Congressman Anderson stated: “It was not the

intent of the House conferees to limit in any way the

normal exercise of a proprietor’s powers to determine the

17

level and nature of service to be provided at airports,

subject to constitutional and statutory limitations.” 124

CONG. REC. 38,526 (1978). This Court has not since

revisited the proprietary powers issue.

The Airport Authority asserts, pursuant to 49 U.S.C.

§ 41713(b)(3), 14 C.FR. Part 152, § Appx. D { 18, and

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 41-3-106(1)(h), that it has the propri-

etary power to ban the aeronautical use of scheduled

passenger service. The FAA has defined “the aeronautical

use of an airport to be any activity that involves, makes

possible, is required for the safety of, or is otherwise

directly related to, the operation of aircraft. Aeronautical

use includes services provided by air carriers related

directly and substantially to the movement of passengers,

baggage, mail and cargo on the airport.” Policy Regard-

ing Airport Rates and Charges, 61 Fed. Reg. 31,994, 32,017

(1996). The emphasis is on the operation of aircraft. The

Airport Authority submits therefore that a bright line

distinction is that the FAA rules supreme in the operation

of aircraft. Cf. Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Minnesota, 322

U.S. 292, 303 (1944) (Jackson, J., concurring) (“Federal

control is intensive and exclusive. Planes do not wander

about the sky like vagrant clouds. They move only by

federal permission, subject to federal inspection, in the

hands of federally certified personnel and under an intri-

cate system of federal commands. The moment a ship

taxis onto a runway it is caught up in an elaborate and

detailed system of controls.”). The airport proprietor,

however, acting as owner and landlord of the ground

space, must determine whether it has the facilities avail-

able to accommodate an aeronautical use, e.g., is there a

terminal, baggage facilities, security to protect users, and

18

parking? In essence, if a proprietor does not have the

facilities to accommodate an aeronautical use, it may

choose whether to build the facilities or ban the use. Cf.

City of Burbank, 411 U.S. at 644 (“Furthermore, while

Congress clearly intended to pre-empt the States from

regulating aircraft in flight, the author of the bill, Senator

Maroney, specifically stated that FAA would not have

control ‘over the ground space of’ airports.” (footnote

omitted) (Rehnquist, J. dissenting).

The actions of the FAA with respect to the Airport

Authority, the comment by Mr. Ntiesch previously cited,

and the FAA/OST study previously cited all support that

the FAA seeks to expand its power to include dictating

the construction and expansion of facilities at airports. If

such expansion of power is sanctioned, as it has been by

the Tenth Circuit, then what is left of proprietary powers?

The general preemption rule of 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1)

will have swallowed the proprietary powers’ provision of

49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(3) and rendered it a nullity, contrary

to the intent of Congress.

The Airport Authority respectfully submits a propri-

etor cannot be forced to expand its facilities to accommo-

date an aeronautical use. Under the standard that the

airport proprietor, and not the FAA, controls the ground

space owned by the proprietor, the Colorado Supreme

Court correctly upheld the ban on scheduled passenger

service as a valid exercise of proprietary power and the

Tenth Circuit erred as a matter of law in concluding the

ban was preempted because the Airport Authority did

not reasonably exercise its nie powers.

19

The reasons asserted by the Airport Authority and

adopted by the Colorado Supreme Court - design and

lack of facilities, as well as national, regional and local

planning, are within the traditional powers of the owner/

landlord. The exercise of these powers preserved a now

34 year old status quo of the ground space and did not

impact the flight of aircraft, the path of aircraft, the

altitude of aircraft, the qualifications of the pilots or the

airworthiness of the aircraft. All of those matters are

clearly within the province of the FAA.

Accordingly, the Airport Authority is petitioning this

Court to establish a standard for proprietary powers -

does the matter at issue pertain to ground space or does it

pertain to air space? If it pertains to ground space, it is

within an airport owner’s proprietary powers, subject to

court review.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.

Dated August 2, 2001.

Respectfully submitted,

Breca & Winters P.C.

RONALD S. LosER

Brian A. Macoon *

1700 Lincoln Street, Suite 2222

Denver, CO 80203

(303) 866-9400

* Counsel of Record

titi

—_—_ oe

= - : = sth + ae Se mee — 7

App. 1

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

ARAPAHOE COUNTY PUBLIC

AIRPORT AUTHORITY, a

political subdivision of the

State of Colorado, No. 99-9508

(Filed

Mar. 9, 2001)

Petitioner,

V.

FEDERAL AVIATION

ADMINISTRATION,

Respondent,

CITY OF GREENWOOD

VILLAGE,

Intervenor.

REGIONAL AIRLINE

ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae.

tl i i i dd

Appeal from the Federal Aviation Administration

Brian A. Magoon (Ronald S. Loser with him on the briefs)

of Brega & Winters, P.C., Denver, Colorado, for Petitioner.

Christine N. Kohl (David W. Ogden, Acting Assistant

Attorney General, and Michael Jay Singer, Department of

Justice, with her on the brief), Department of Justice,

Washington, D.C., for Respondent. '

App. 2

Constance E: Brooks (Michael B. Marinovich and Chris-

tine A. Longhitano with her on the briefs) of C.E. Brooks

& Associates, P.C., Denver, Colorado, for Intervenor.

Before BRORBY and McWILLIAMS, Circuit Judges, and

ELLISON,” District Judge.

BRORBY, Circuit Judge.

This case involves the Federal Aviation Administra-

tion’s (FAA) decision to suspend petitioner’s eligibility

for discretionary federal grants, based on claimed viola-

tions of federal statutes and existing grant provisions.

Petitioner Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority

(Authority) and Intervenor City of Greenwood Village

(City) urge us to set aside the decision. for various rea-

sons, not the least of which is the decision is incompatible

with an earlier opinion issued by the Colorado Supreme

Court. We exercise jurisdiction pursuant to 49 U.S.C.

§§ 46110 and 47106(d)(3). For the reasons set forth below,

we deny the Petition for Review and affirm the FAA’s

order.

* The Honorable James O. Ellison, Senior United States District

Judge for the Northern District of Oklahoma, sitting by

designation.

App. 3

BACKGROUND!

The Authority owns and operates Centennial Air-

port, which is located just south of Denver, Colorado.

Operations at the airport historically have consisted of

“unscheduled” commercial passenger and cargo service.

In the course of operating the airport, the Authority has

accepted millions of dollars in discretionary grants from

the FAA. As part of the grant process, the Authority

made assurances the airport would be “available . . . for

public use on reasonable terms and without unjust dis-

crimination, to any person, firm, or corporation to con-

duct or to engage in any aeronautical activity for

furnishing services to the public at the airport.” However,

within the same grant assurance, the FAA also recognized

the Authority “may prohibit or limit any given type, kind

or class of aeronautical use . . . if such action is necessary

for the safe operation of the airport or necessary to serve

the civil aviation needs of the public.”

Over the course of several years, Centennial Express

Airlines (Centennial Express) divulged an interest in pro-

viding scheduled passenger service at Centennial Air-

port, culminating in an official application in May 1993.

Centennial Express submitted its application despite the

Authority’s actions one month earlier placing a mor-

atorium on the consideration of applications for sched-

uled passenger service. The moratorium was designed to

provide the Authority time to determine whether it could

' The Authority states in its brief the only issues on appeal

are legal in nature. Therefore, the facts presented in the

background section of this opinion draw extensively from the

FAA’s decision.

App. 4

legally prohibit scheduled service. While the Authority

asked for guidance from the FAA on the question, it

ultimately decided to completely ban all scheduled air

carrier service without waiting to hear from the FAA.? In

contravention of the Authority’s ban, Centennial Express

initiated scheduled passenger service between Centennial

Airport and Dalhart, Texas on December 20, 1994. The

Authority immediately sought and obtained a temporary

injunction in state district court to prevent Centennial

Express from offering scheduled passenger service.

The state district court eventually granted the

Authority a permanent injunction. Centennial Express

successfully appealed the injunction to the Colorado

Court of Appeals, but a plurality of the Colorado

Supreme Court reversed the state court of appeals and

reinstated the permanent injunction. See Arapahoe County

Pub. Airport Auth. v. Centennial Express Airlines, Inc., 956

P.2d 587 (Colo. 1998) (en banc). The Colorado Supreme

Court issued its opinion despite concurrent complaints

on file with the FAA, and in so doing decided federal law

did not preempt the Authority’s ban on scheduled pas-

senger service and the ban did not violate the terms of

2 The Authority wrote the FAA in July 1993, and adopted

the ban in September 1994. The FAA responded in December

1994. The FAA response was not favorable to the ban, stating:

“In addressing similar cases in the past, [the] FAA has found it

arbitrary to exclude any particular class of service due to factors

that are not reasonably related to the impacts of that service.”

The FAA also found the Authority submitted insufficient

information “to demonstrate that a restriction of any particular

category of operation could be adequately supported,” and

concluded “existing policy on airport access must be complied

with.”

Ste a ee

App. 5

the non-discrimination grant assurances. See id. at 592-97.

The FAA was not a party to this state litigation.

As alluded to in the previous paragraph, the agency

decision-making process under review here got its start at

the same time as the state litigation, and involves the

same basic facts. Thomas Kehmeier, a Centennial Express

stockholder, filed the first complaint with the FAA in

August 1994, claiming the Authority’s ban violated fed-

eral law and the grant assurances. Centennial Express

filed its own complaint in January 1995. As the Colorado

Supreme Court noted, the FAA had yet to rule on either

complaint in 1998 when the court issued its opinion.

Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth., 956 P.2d at 592. These

initial complaints were filed pursuant to 14 C.F.R. Part 13.

New rules, found at 14 C.F.R. Part 16, and entitled “Rules

of Practice for Federally-Assisted Airport Enforcement

7

Proceedings,” went into effect December 16, 1996. Cen-

tennial Express filed a second complaint under the new

part 16 rules on February 23, 1998, just two months prior

to the Colorado Supreme Court’s decision. Centennial

Express filed the second complaint even though the com-

pany had voluntarily surrendered its FAA operating cer-

tificate in January 1996.

After consolidating the three complaints, and despite

the then-existing Colorado Supreme Court decision to

the contrary, FAA’s Director of the Office of Airport

Safety and Standards issued an initial determination on

August 21, 1998, concluding the ban violated the grant

assurances and federal law. The Authority requested a

App. 6

hearing,? which was held over two days in November

1998, and resulted in an affirmance of the director’s ini-

tial decision. The Authority and the City subsequently

appealed the hearing officer’s decision to the FAA Asso-

ciate Administrator for Airports, who issued the FAA’s

Final Agency Decision and Order affirming the previous

decisions. The Authority then filed the current petition

for review, and the City filed a Notice of Intervention

pursuant to 10th Circuit Rule 15.2(A).4

3 The hearing officer granted the City’s motion to

intervene; therefore, the City alsa.participated in the hearing.

4 The FAA argues the City is without statutory authority to

intervene in this review. We assume for purposes of this

opinion, but do not decide, that the City’s intervention is

proper. However, as an intervening party, the City may join

issue only on matters brought before the court by the Authority

as petitioner. See Illinois Bell Tel. Co. v. FCC, 911 F.2d 776, 786

(D.C. Cir. 1990) (citing Vinson v. Washington Gas Light Co., 321

U.S. 489, 498 (1944) (“an intervenor is admitted to the

proceeding as it stands, and in respect of the pending issues, but

is not permitted to enlarge those issues”)). We acknowledge this

limitation is a prudential determination as opposed to a

mandate of rule or statute, see Synovus Fin. Corp. v. Board of

Governors, 952 F.2d 426, 433-34 (D.C. Cir. 1991); nonetheless, we

agree it should be avoided only in “extraordinary cases.” New

York v. Reilly, 969 F.2d 1147, 1154 n.11 (D.C. Cir. 1992). This is not

an extraordinary case. The City’s issues, as a whole, are directed

toward the complainants’ standing, alleged due process

deficiencies, mootness and laches. Although the City summarily

characterizes these issues as related to “prudential

jurisdictional deficiencies,” after careful examination we

conclude the City’s issues are not “essential predicates” or

substantively connected to the issues the Authority presented in

its brief and Petition for Review. See United States Tel. Ass’n v.

FCC, 188 F.3d 521, 530-31 (D.C. Cir. 1999). Moreover, the City

presents no reason why it could not have petitioned for review

App. 7

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Our review of the FAA’s final decision and order

suspending the Authority’s eligibility for discretionary

federal grants is governed by the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 706.5 Within this context, we

review matters of law de novo. See Wyoming Farm Bureau

Fed'n v. Babbitt, 199 F.3d 1224, 1231 (10th Cir. 2000). How-

ever, the FAA’s findings of fact are conclusive if sup-

ported by substantial evidence. See id; 49 U.S.C.

§ 46110(c). The substantial-evidence standard does not

allow us to displace the FAA’s “choice between two fairly

conflicting views, even though the court would justifiably

have made a different choice had the matter been before

it de novo.” Babbitt, 199 F.3d at 1231 (quotation marks and

citation omitted); see also Trimmer v. United States Dep't of

Labor, 174 F.3d 1098, 1102 (10th Cir. 1999) (same).

ANALYSIS

The Authority contends the final FAA decision and

order should be set aside for the following three “errors

in its own right. See id. at 531. We therefore decline to consider

issues raised by the City but not the Authority.

> A reviewing court may set aside an agency determination

pursuant to 5 U.S.C. § 706(2) if it is (a) arbitrary, capricious, an

abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with law; (b)

contrary to constitutional right, power, privilege, or immunity;

(c) in excess of statutory jurisdiction, authority, or limitations,

or short of statutory right; (d) without observance of procedure

required by law; (e) unsupported by substantial evidence; or (f)

unwarranted by the facts to the extent they are subject to de

novo review. 5 U.S.C. § 706(2); see Lewis v. Babbitt, 998 F.2d 880,

881-82 (10th Cir. 1993).

App. 8

of law:” (1) the Colorado Supreme Court opinion reinstat-

ing the permanent injunction against Centennial Express

“is final, preclusive and dispositive;” (2) the Authority

and not the FAA determines whether scheduled pas-

senger service will be prohibited as necessary for the safe

operation of the airport and to serve the public’s civil

aviation needs; and (3) any allowable scheduled pas-

senger service must be limited to aircraft designed for

nine or fewer passenger seats.© We address each alleged

error in turn.

The Colorado Supreme Court Decision

The Authority argues, pursuant to the Full Faith and

Credit Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1738, that Arapahoe County Public

Airport Authority v. Centennial Express Airlines, 956 P.2d

587, “is final, preclusive and dispositive” of the issues

resolved in the FAA’s final order. The Full Faith and

Credit Act provides that the “judicial proceedings of any

court of any such State . . . shall have the same full faith

and credit in every court within the United States . . . as

they have by law or usage in the courts of such State

.. . from which they are taken.” 28 U.S.C. § 1738.

The FAA asserts 28 U.S.C. § 1738 is not technically

implicated here because it is an agency rather than a

6 The City, as Intervenor, joins in this third issue,

contending “FAA acted outside or abused its authority when it

prosecuted [the Authority] for banning scheduled passenger

service after Congress amended the federal aviation laws to

prohibit scheduled passenger service of more than 10 seats at

uncertified airports and to further provide that no airport can be

compelled to secure a certificate.” \

App. 9

court, see American Airlines, Inc. v. Dep't of Transp., 202

F.3d 788, 799 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 2762 (2000);

however, “[b]ecause most agency decisions may be

reviewed in federal courts, and those courts must follow

section 1738, [the FAA] therefore assume[s] that a com-

mon law rule of preclusion, like that embodied in section

1738, governs federal agency proceedings.” We agree

with the FAA and the Fifth Circuit that the preclusive

effect, if any, of the Colorado Supreme Court decision

derives from the common law doctrines of res judicata

and issue preclusion (collateral estoppel), not § 1738. See

id. at 799-800 & n.6. We further agree these common law

doctrines extending full faith and credit to state court

determinations are trumped by the Supremacy Clause if

the effect of the state court judgment or decree is to

restrain the exercise of the United States’ sovereign

power by imposing requirements that are contrary to

important and established federal policy. See id. at 800; see

also Midgett v. United States, 603 F.2d 835, 845 (Ct.Cl.

1979). Balancing, de novo,7 the common law justification

for full faith and credit with the competing policy sup-

porting the Supremacy Clause, we conclude the FAA is

not required to give preclusive effect to the Colorado

Supreme Court's decision in Arapahoe County Public Air-

port Authority v. Centennial Express Airlines.

7 See American Airlines, 202 F.3d at 799 (declining to defer to

agency’s ruling on full faith and credit issue); see also Adams

Fruit Co., Inc. v. Barrett, 494 U.S. 638, 650 (1990) (acknowledging

@ reviewing court need not afford deference to agency

interpretation of statute or law it is not charged with

administering); American Forest & Paper Ass'n v. EPA, 137 F.3d

291, 297 (5th Cir. 1998) (same).

App. 10

We begin our analysis on the full faith and credit side

of the equation. A close look at the Colorado Supreme

Court decision reveals the primary issue before that court

was the propriety of a permanent injunction enjoining

Centennial Express from conducting scheduled air carrier

service in and out of Centennial Airport. As such, the

Colorado Supreme Court focused from the outset on Cen-

tennial Express’ conduct in contravention of state regula-

tions. Arapahoe County Pub. Airport Auth., 956 P.2d at 593,

596 (stating that to defer to federal agency jurisdiction

would be to “allow future airport users to unilaterally

conduct and continue operations in violation of airport

rules so long as they implicate federal jurisdiction in

some way”). To the extent the Colorado Supreme Court

addressed federal preemption issues and the Authority’s

obligations under the federal grant assurances, it did so

in the narrow context of rejecting Centennial Express’

defenses. Id. at 593-97. Further examination reveals that

the court’s conclusion the Authority did not violate the

terms of the federal grant assurances lacks the depth and

breadth of analysis given to those same issues by the

Director of the FAA’s Office of Airport Safety and Stan-

dards, the Hearing Officer, and ultimately, the Final

Agency Decision and Order issued by the Associate

Administrator for Airports. Id. at 596-97.

The credit to be given to the state court opinion is

further influenced by the fact the Colorado Supreme

Court was seriously divided in this case, as evidenced by

its plurality opinion — three of seven justices participated

in the majority, one justice concurred, two justices dissen-

ted, and one justice abstained. Id. at 597. Of particular

note here, Justice Scott, while concurring in the result,

App. 11

considered it “inappropriate” to address preemption in

light of the fact the FAA had not yet acted under its

authority. Id. at 597-98 (Scott, J. concurring). He justified

the Colorado Supreme Court’s holding based on its inher-

ent authority to “issue an injunction to preserve the sta-

tus quo pending resolution of the dispute in an

appropriate forum.” Id. at 599. Given Justice Scott’s posi-

tion, and the additional fact the two dissenting justices

concluded that “in keeping with the doctrine of primary

jurisdiction” the FAA is the appropriate forum to deter-

mine issues pertaining to preemption and grant compli-

ance under federal statute, id. at 599 (Bender, J. and

Martinez, J. dissenting), only half the participating court

(three of six) ostensibly precluded the FAA from issuing a

contrary ruling.

Last, but certainly not least, the FAA was not a party

to, nor in privity with a party to, the state court proceed-

ings. The FAA’s interest in fulfilling its statutory respon-

sibility to ensure airport compliance with federal aviation

laws and grant assurances, and to protect the public

interest, is obviously independent of the interests of any

particular air carrier (e.g., Centennial). Mere knowledge

of the state court proceedings did not oblige the FAA to

participate in those proceedings. See Martin v. Wilks, 490

U.S. 755, 762-65 (1989). Without the FAA as a party, the

Colorado Supreme Court decision does not satisfy a fun-

damental requirement of issue preclusion under federal

or Colorado law. See, e.g., Baker v. General Motors Corp.,

522 U.S. 222, 237 n.11 (1998) (“In no event. . . can issue

preclusion be invoked against one who did not partici-

pate in the prior adjudication.”); Meredith v. Beech Aircraft

App. 12

Corp., 18 F.3d 890, 895 (10th Cir. 1994) (“collateral estop-

pel fails here simply because [plaintiff] was not a party to

the first suit”); O'Neill v. Simpson, 958 P.2d 1121, 1123 n.5

(Colo. 1998) (en banc) (“party against whom estoppel is

asserted [must have] been a party to or... in privity with

a party in the prior proceeding”). This, together with the

other circumstances discussed above, weighs heavily

against extending full faith and credit to Arapahoe County

Public Airport Authority v. Centennial Express Airlines.® See,

8 The Authority’s reliance on Town of Deerfield v. FCC, 992

F.2d 420 (2d Cir. 1993), is misplaced. In Deerfield, the FCC was

not a party in the state or federal court proceedings initiated by

Mr. Joseph Carino to challenge municipal zoning regulations

prohibiting the installation of a satellite dish in his backyard.

Because the FCC did not want to become “a national zoning

board,” it required complainants like Mr. Carino to pursue other

legal remedies before filing administrative complaints. Id. at

423. Only after the federal district court gave preclusive effect to

the state court ruling in favor of the town, did the FCC “review”

the federal district court’s decision and issue an order, which,

contrary to the federal district court, ruled that FCC regulations

preempted the town’s zoning regulation. Id. at 426. The Second

Circuit Court of Appeals held the FCC impermissibly rendered

the federal Article III court’s decision a mere advisory opinion.

Id. at 428-30.

The complexion of this case obviously is very different from

Deerfield. In Deerfield, the FCC acted as a disinterested

adjudicator to resolve a zoning dispute between two outside

parties; the FCC never disputed state or federal jurisdiction

over Mr. Carino’s lawsuits. In this case, the FAA became an

interested party in the administrative proceedings to determine

the Authority’s compliance with the grant assurances, and

never deferred its right to determine compliance issues in the

first instance. Moreover, although the FAA issued its decision

after the Colorado Supreme Court ruled on the propriety of the

permanent injunction against Centennial Express, the agency’s

—— ° ‘ e ‘ P

App. 13

e.g., Acacia Villa v. United States, 24 Cl. Ct. 445, 448 (1991)

(acknowledging the doctrine of issue preclusion is “based

on a court's exercise of its equitable powers,” and “is not

mandated in the Constitution or by statute”); United

States v. Kaytso, 868 F.2d 1020, 1022 (9th Cir. 1989) (stating

“[e]ven when the elements of collateral estoppel are pre-

sent, the decision whether to apply the doctrine is within

the [court’s] discretion”); Western Group Nurseries, Inc. v.

Pomeranz, 867 P.2d 12, 15 (Colo. Ct. App. 1993) (ruling

collateral estoppel is an equitable doctrine applied at the

court’s discretion).

Turning to supremacy principles, we reiterate that

the issue before the FAA was whether the Authority

complied with the conditions imposed on it by federal

law and agreement with a federal administrative agency,

in return for the Authority’s receipt of federal funds. This

federal scheme regulating airport grant compliance is

“designed in part to insure the maintenance of conditions

essential to an efficient national air transport system,

including access to airports on a reasonable and non-

discriminatory basis.” City & County of San Francisco v.

FAA, 942 F.2d 1391, 1395 (9th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 503

U.S. 983 (1992). On this point, we must agree with the

Fifth Circuit that in the arena of aviation regulation “fed-

eral concerns are preeminent,” and the Department of

Transportation, through the FAA, is statutorily mandated

to represent those concerns. American Airlines, Inc., 202

F.3d at 800-01. Indeed, it is “difficult to visualize a more

decision in no way purported to “review, alter, or prevent

enforcement of the judgment of an Article III court.” Id. at 430.

App. 14

comprehensive scheme of combined regulation, subsidiz-

ation, and operational participation than that which Con-

gress has provided in the field of aviation.” New England

Legal Found. v. Massachusetts Port Auth., 883 F.2d 157,

172-73 (1st Cir. 1989) (discussing the FAA’s primary role

in administering and ensuring compliance with grant

assurances) (quotation marks and citation omitted). This

certainly tilts the balance toward the application of

supremacy principles to protect against state courts

trumping the federal interests and concerns embodied

within the airport grant program.

As to the potential impact of the Colorado Supreme

Court’s ruling in Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority

v. Centennial Express Airlines on federal regulation of the

airport grant program, we perceive a direct and signifi-

cant conflict inasmuch as this and similar state court

rulings, if deemed preclusive, would frustrate the FAA’s

ability to discharge its statutory duty to interpret and

implement federal aviation statutes governing the

enforcement of grant assurances. See 49 U.S.C. § 47122. If

given preclusive effect, state court rulings favoring local

airport authorities in actions tangentially involving fed-

eral grant assurances would further lead to inconsistent

enforcement of the federally mandated assurances, poten-

tially jeopardizing the efficiency and equality of access to

our Nation’s air transportation system. For these reasons,

we hold the strong policy of federal supremacy in the

field of aviation prevails over full faith and credit princi-

ples in this case. The Colorado Supreme Court’s decision

in Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority v. Centennial

Express Airlines therefore has no bearing on the FAA

decision before us.

App. 15

Determinations based on Safety and Other Civil

Aviation Needs

The Authority argues that as the proprietor of Cen-

tennial Airport responsible for local and regional aviation

planning, it, and not the FAA, determines whether sched-

uled passenger service will be prohibited at the Airport

as necessary for the safe operation of the airport and to

serve the civil aviation needs of the public. In support of

this argument, the Authority relies largely on the Colo-

rado Supreme Court’s conclusion the ban on scheduled

passenger service was, indeed, necessary for the safe

operation of Centennial Airport and to serve the public’s

civil aviation needs. As discussed above, that state court

conclusion has no bearing on our decision.

Aside from its reliance on the state court decision, the

Authority attempts to retry its case here by convincing us

it has good reasons for imposing the ban (including, but

not necessarily limited to, the design of and lack of

facilities at Centennial Airport; local and regional plan-

ning objectives; and the recommendations incorporated

_ in the National Transportation Safety Board’s Commuter

Airline Safety Study). Our job, however, is not that of

fact-finder. We are called on here to review the decision

of a federal administrative agency, and we will adhere to

the appropriate standards governing such review, as pre-

viously articulated in this opinion. See 49 U.S.C.

§ 46110(c); Wyoming Farm Bureau Fed’n, 199 F.3d at 1231.

We begin by addressing what we consider the thresh-

old legal issue - whether the Authority is preempted by

federal statute from imposing such a ban. The Airline

App. 16

Deregulation Act of 1978 expressly provides that a politi-

cal subdivision of a state “may not enact or enforce a law,

regulation, or other provision having the force and effect

of law related to a price, route, or service of an air

carrier.” 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1). The Supreme Court has

interpreted this provision broadly to preempt all “State

enforcement actions having a connection with or refer-

ence to airline ‘rates, routes, or services.’ “ Morales v.

Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 383-84 (1992)

(interpreting 49 U.S.C. § 1305(a)(1), the substantively

identical, pre 1994 version of the Airline Deregulation Act

preemption provision); see also American Airlines, Inc. v.

Wolens, 513 U.S. 219, 223 & n.1 (1995). The preemption

provision does not, however, prevent a state or political

subdivision of a state from carrying out its “proprietary

powers,” 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(3), so long as the exercise

of proprietary powers is reasonable, nondiscriminatory,

nonburdensome to interstate commerce, and designed

not to conflict with the Airline Deregulation Act and its

policies. See 14 C.F.R. § 399.110(f). The validity of the

Authority’s ban therefore depends on (1) whether the

Authority’s ban “is related to a price, route, or service of

an air carrier” implicated by 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1); (2) if

so, whether the Authority’s ban amounts to an exercise of

its propriety [sic] powers; and (3) if it is an exercise of

proprietary powers, whether such exercise is reasonable,

nondiscriminatory, nonburdensome and not in conflict

with the Airline Deregulation Act, and thus exempted

from preemption by 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(3).

We easily conclude the Authority’s ban is connected

with and relates to both services and routes. See Morales,

504 U.S. at 384. By banning scheduled passenger service,

3

4

x

‘

!

2

App. 17

the Authority has affirmatively curtailed an air carrier’s

business decision to offer a particular service in a particu-

lar market. The ban also significantly impacts the scope

of services available to public citizens desiring to travel

by air from Centennial Airport. We reject any contention

that “service” as used in 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) is not

intended to include transportation itself, considering the

Airline Deregulation Act’s objective to enhance “the

availability of a variety of adequate, economic, efficient,

and low-priced services,” 49 U.S.C. § 40101(4), and to

“encouragle] entry into air transportation markets by

new and existing air carriers and the continued strength-

ening of small air carriers to ensure a more effective and

competitive airline industry.” 49 U.S.C. § 40101(13); see

also Hodges v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 44 F.3d 334, 336 (5th Cir.

1995) (en banc) (“Elements of the air carrier service

. . include items such as ticketing, boarding procedures,

provision of food and drink, and baggage handling, in

addition to the transportation itself.”).

The effect of such a ban further extends to route

determinations because the carrier cannot conduct regu-

lar operations over any route involving the banned air-

port. We agree with the FAA that a prohibition on

operating over any route is no less a regulation of routes

than a restriction on the number of routes a carrier can

operate from an airport.

Having determined the Authority’s ban on scheduled

passenger service constitutes a state regulation of air

carrier service and routes, the ban is permissible only if it

constitutes an exercise of the Authority’s propriety [sic]

power. Although the Authority largely evades a direct

discussion of the preemption issue in its briefs to this

App. 18

court, it suggests the scheduled passenger service ban is

per se an exercise of its propriety [sic] power, because

Grant Assurance 22i (patterned after Standard Assurance

221, see 62 Fed. Reg. 29761, 29766 (1997)) permits the

Authority to “prohibit or limit any given type, kind or

class of aeronautical use of the airport if such action is

necessary for the safe operation of the airport or neces-

sary to serve the civil aviation needs of the public.” Thus,

because the Authority determined “the ban was neces-

sary for the safe operation of Centennial [Airport] and to

serve the civil aviation needs of the public,” it argues the

proprietary powers exception to the statutory preemption

provision applies.

“The precise scope of an airport owner’s proprietary

powers has not been clearly articulated by any court.”

American Airlines, Inc., 202 F.3d at 806. Courts have, how-

ever, “recognized that local proprietors play an extremely

limited role in the regulation of aviation.” Id. (quotation

marks and citation omitted). This acknowledgment alone

undermines the Authority’s apparent assertion that so

long as they declare their regulatory action necessary for

safety or to satisfy aviation needs, they enjoy carte

blanche power. For purposes of this review, however, we

will assume, without deciding, that regulatory conduct

related to safety and civil aviation needs may £2!) under

the “proprietary powers” umbrella, because under any

circumstances, grant assurance language notwithstand-

ing, “[iJn defining the permissible scope of a proprietor’s

power to regulate under § 14713(b)(3) . . . an airport

proprietor can issue only ‘reasonable, nonarbitrary, and

nondiscriminatory rules that advance the local interest.’ ”

Id. (quoting Western Air Lines v. Port Auth. of New York &

:

-

3

App. 19

New Jersey, 658 F.Supp. 952, 958 (S.D.N.Y. 1986)). We

therefore proceed to the third and final preemption

inquiry.

At this point, we focus on whether the Authority’s

proclaimed “safety” and “civil aviation needs” justifica-

tion is reasonable or nonarbitrary. We agree with the FAA

this determination is a factual one for which the Author-

ity, as the party asserting the justification, bears the bur-

den of proving before the agency. See 14 C.F.R.

§ 16.229(c). Because of the fact-based nature of this

inquiry, we must defer to the FAA’s findings (1) the

Authority failed to demonstrate the ban is necessary for

the safe operation of the airport, and (2) the Authority

failed to demonstrate the ban is necessary to satisfy the

public’s civil aviation needs, so long as those findings are

supported by substantial evidence in the record.’ 49

U.S.C. § 46110(c); Wyoming Farm Bureau Fed’n, 199 F.3d at

1231. We conclude they are.

Our careful review of the administrative record con-

firms a dearth of evidence to support the Authority’s

claim that the ban on scheduled service is necessary due

to ground congestion, operational safety and environ-

mental impact concerns. As noted by the FAA hearing

officer, the testimony of individuals representing both the

Authority and the City was largely speculative. The

9 Although the Authority did not directly challenge the

reasonableness of the FAA’s findings on economic

discrimination and exclusive rights, having carefully reviewed

the administrative record, we conclude those findings are

supported by substantial evidence, and therefore deem them

conclusive.

App. 20

Authority and City submitted no quantitative analysis of

the probable impacts of scheduled passenger airline ser-

vice at Centennial airport. Conversely, the testimony of

Mr. Barry Molar, Manager of FAA’s Office of Airport

Compliance, and other FAA representatives effectively

rebutted the Authority’s and City’s evidence,!° demon-

strating that the Authority’s concerns pertain to impacts

that are “largely a function of the total number of opera-

tions at the airport,” and are not particularized to sched-

uled passenger service. In other words, the record

substantiates the FAA’s ruling that “[i]Jnasmuch as the

Authority permits unscheduled passenger services using

similar airplanes, flight patterns, making the same

amount or more of noise, and does not limit the number

10 For example, the Authority relies heavily on a general

National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) recommendation,

derived from a Commuter Airline Safety Study (and Quincy

Aircraft Accident Report), that scheduled passenger service be

permitted only at airports certified pursuant to 14 C.F.R. Part

139. According to the Authority, it is not certified under Part 139

and has no intent to become certified. Moreover, the Authority

claims it must rely on off-the-airport and non-exclusive fire

protection services, which cannot respond to an airport

emergency within three minutes. The Authority further claims it

does not have the financial resources to provide exclusive, on-

the-airport fire and rescue services.

In rebuttal, the FAA put into evidence proof the NTSB

recommendation is a nonbinding recommendation which

neither the Authority nor the FAA must follow, and Centennial

Airport is not subject to a three-minute fire response time

requirement. The FAA also elicited testimony the fire safety

concern is no different for scheduled passenger service than it is

for unscheduled, charter passenger service. Finally, the FAA

demonstrated the Authority imposed the ban on scheduled

passenger service prior to publication of the NTSB report.

a

}

}

App. 21

of operations at the airport,” the Authority fails to dem-

onstrate how the ban on scheduled passenger service will

alleviate the safety concerns and civil aviation needs the

Authority and the City raise.

Because the record supports the FAA’s findings that

the Authority unreasonably exercised its proprietary

powers to ban scheduled passenger service at Centennial

Airport, we hold the Authority has exceeded its legiti-

mate scope of power as a state or local government under

49 U.S.C. § 41731(b) and the Supremacy Clause of the

United States Constitution. See U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2.

The Authority’s ban therefore is preempted by federal

law.

Limitations on Scheduled Passenger Service

The Authority and the City assert that even if the ban

on scheduled passenger service is unlawful, we should

require the FAA to rule that passenger operations at

Centennial Airport must be limited to nine-passenger

aircraft in light of 1996 legislative amendments requiring

airports to have a Part 139 certificate for scheduled pas-

senger operations involving aircraft of more than nine

passenger seats. See 49 U.S.C. § 44706(a)(2). Centennial

Airport does not have such a certificate. Furthermore, the

statute provides that the FAA cannot force the Authority

to obtain a certificate. See id. at § 44706(f).

The FAA concluded it was unnecessary to resolve

this issue because (1) the amended statute had not taken

effect; and (2) the ban on scheduled passenger service at

issue is total, providing no exception for aircraft with

nine or fewer passenger seats, as evidenced by the fact

App. 22

the Authority sought and obtained an injunction against

Centennial Express’s six-passenger aircraft. We likewise

decline to resolve this issue as it is not presented by the

facts in this case. The Authority does not dispute that its

ban on passenger service, as considered by the FAA, is

indeed a total ban; nor does the Authority claim it has a

pending request to provide service which would justify

further consideration of the amended statute.

CONCLUSION

Because we hold (1) the Colorado Supreme Court's

decision in Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority v.

Centennial Express Airlines is not final, preclusive or dis-

positive of the issues resolved in the FAA’s final order; (2)

the Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger service is

preempted by statute and the Supremacy Clause; and (3)

the present facts do not warrant prospective consider-

ation of how 49 U.S.C. § 44706, as amended in 1996,

might apply, we DENY the Authority’s Petition for

Review and AFFIRM the FAA’s final Order.

a ee ee es

ah

App. 23

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

FEDERAL AVIATION ADMINISTRATION

WASHINGTON, DC

CENTENNIAL EXPRESS FAA Order No. 1999-1

AIRLINES, GOLDEN (Part 16, Subpart G)

EAGLE CHARTERS d/b/a

CENTENNIAL EXPRESS 2%®:

AIRLINES Docket Nos. 16-98-05,

13-94-03

Vz.

ARAPAHOE COUNTY

PUBLIC AIRPORT

AUTHORITY

THOMAS KEHMEIER Docket No. 13-94-25

Vv.

ARAPAHOE COUNTY

PUBLIC AIRPORT

AUTHORITY

No Separate Docket

FEDERAL AVIATION Number!

ADMINISTRATION

V.

ARAPAHOE COUNTY

PUBLIC AIRPORT

AUTHORITY

1 Under 14 C.F.R. § 16.203(b)(1), the agency became a party

when the Director of the FAA Office of Airport Safety and

Standards issued his determination providing the Airport

Authority the right to a hearing.

App. 24

FINAL AGENCY DECISION AND ORDER

I. Introduction

The question at the heart of this appeal is the lawful-

ness of a Federally-assisted airport operator’s ban on all

scheduled passenger service. At stake is the airport oper-

ator’s eligibility for additional Federal grants.

II. Background

Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority (the Air-

port Authority) owns and operates Centennial Airport,

which is outside of Denver, Colorado. Over the years, the

Airport Authority has received millions of dollars in air-

port improvement grants from the Federal Aviation

Administration (FAA). In exchange for the funds, the

Airport Authority signed a grant assurance promising not

to grant any person or persons exclusive rights, and

another promising to make the airport “available for pub-

lic use on reasonable conditions and without unjust dis-

crimination.” Under the latter assurance, however, the

airport operator may “prohibit or limit any given type,

kind, or class of aeronautical use . . . if such action [is]

necessary for the safe operation of the airport or neces-

sary to serve the civil aviation needs of the public.”

Beginning in 1985, Centennial Express contacted the

Airport Authority about starting scheduled 14 C.F.R. Part

135 passenger service at Centennial Airport. On February

20, 1989, the Airport Authority published the following

statement in its newsletter:

. . . (C]ommercial service has always existed at

Centennial in the form of Part 135 charter/air

App. 25

taxi certification, which permits “for hire” pas-

senger and freight service, whether scheduled or

unscheduled Such activity may not be prohibited

but is limited to aircraft with 30 seats or less.

(Director’s Determination at 12; emphasis added.) On

October 3, 1989, the Airport Authority’s newsletter con-

tained the following statement:

No scheduled air carrier, either large or small,

has applied to the Authority to operate at the

airport. Should any apply, the Authority will

consider only the smaller, regional air service

applications. No action will be taken by the

Authority to consider such applications, how-

ever, without extensive community input and

public hearing.

Id.

On December 12, 1991, Centennial Express sent the

: Airport Authority a letter asking the Airport Authority to

: set standards that would allow Centennial Express to

: operate scheduled passenger service. Centennial Express

: alleges that the Airport Authority notified Centennial

Express that it was revising its airport policy statement

: and needed to complete the revision before it would

: enact minimum standards for scheduled passenger ser-

vice under Part 135.

On March 12, 1992, the Airport Authority adopted a

policy statement that stated as follows:

The Authority reaffirms the original intent of

the airport to service the general aviation com-

munity. To this end, Centennial will continue to

accommodate aircraft operating under Federal

App. 26

Aviation Regulations Part 135/Operations Spec-

ifications 135 (30 or fewer seats). Requests for

scheduled air service shall be reviewed for com-

pliance with this policy, the established weight

limit, and the application minimum standards.

(Director’s Determination at 13.)

On April 8, 1993, the Airport Authority imposed a

moratorium on considering applications for scheduled

passenger service. Nevertheless, on May 7, 1993, Centen-

nial Express Airlines (Centennial Express) — having

acquired Golden Eagle Charters and its operating certifi-

cate, aircraft, and organization — applied to the Airport

Authority to conduct scheduled passenger service at Cen-

tennial Airport. The Airport Authority did not approve

Centennial Express’s application. On September 8, 1994,

the Airport Authority issued a policy statement banning

scheduled passenger service at Centennial Airport.

On December 20, 1994, Centennial Express initiated

scheduled passenger service between Centennial Airport

and Dalhart, Texas with one six-passenger Beechcraft air-

craft.2 At the time, Centennial Express possessed both

Federal safety and Federal economic authority to conduct

scheduled passenger service operations at Centennial

Airport. Two days later, the Airport Authority obtained a

temporary restraining order from the District Court,

County of Arapahoe, State of Colorado, prohibiting Cen-

tennial Express from providing scheduled service at Cen-

tennial Airport. On December 23, 1994, the U.S.

Department of Transportation sent the Airport Authority

an sna letter stating that it was arbitrary to exclude a

|

) 7

FAA Exhibit 1, Item 6.

2

BCI A RL MA CL ap

tT gn EA RRS ES at Ma ERIE EAN AO OAD dis Be Be SH Me

7

4

;

App. 27

particular class of service for factors not reasonably

related to the impacts of that service. On January 10,

1995, the Airport Authority obtained a permanent injunc-

tion from the same court. In January 1995, Centennial

Express voluntarily surrendered its Part 135 operating

certificate to the FAA.

On August 7, 1994, Thomas Kehmeier, a shareholder

of Centennial Express, filed a formal complaint with the

FAA, in Docket No. 13-94-25, as a private citizen, alleging

that the Airport Authority violated Federal law and its

grant assurances by imposing a moratorium on consider-

ing applications for scheduled passenger service at Cen-

tennial Airport. On January 30, 1995, Centennial Express

also filed a formal complaint with the FAA, in Docket No.

13-95-03, alleging that the Airport Authority had improp-

erly prohibited scheduled passenger service at Centennial

Airport. Both complaints were filed under 14 C.E.R. Part

13, entitled “FAA Investigative and Enforcement Pro-

cedures.” 14 C.F.R. Part 13, Subpart D. After the Rules of

Practice for Federally-Assisted Airport Proceedings con-

tained in 14 C.FR. Part 16 went into effect,3 Centennial

Express filed a second complaint under Part 16 on Febru-

ary 23, 1998 (Docket No. 16-98-05). Centennial Express’s

Part 16 complaint contained the same allegations as its

Part 13 complaint. The FAA consolidated the Part 13

dockets and their administrative records into the Part 16

proceeding to avoid duplicative proceedings and to

assure that the agency met the Part 16 time requirements

for the Part 16 complaint.

3 The Rules of Practice contained in Part 16 went into effect

on December 16, 1996. 61 Fed. Reg. 53,998 (October 16, 1996).

App. 28

Meanwhile, Centennial Express was appealing the

permanent injunction through the Colorado courts. On

December 12, 1996, the Colorado Court of Appeals

reversed the permanent injunction granted by the District

Court. Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority v. Centen-

nial Express Airlines, Inc., 942 P.2d 1270 (Colo. App. 1996).

While the case was on appeal to the Colorado Supreme

Court, the state of Colorado dissolved Golden Eagle

Charters, the subsidiary of Centennial Express, in May

1997 after Golden Eagle failed to file its 1997 corporate

report.

On April 13, 1998, the Colorado Supreme Court ruled

that the Court of Appeals erred in reversing the perma-

nent injunction. Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority

v. Centennial Express Airlines, Inc., 956 P.2d 587 (Colo.

1997) (en banc). The FAA was not a party to the state

court proceedings and did not participate in developing

the state court record. The Colorado Supreme Court

declined to defer to the FAA’s primary jurisdiction. It

found that the issue was not Federally preempted under

the 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) provision prohibiting state or

local regulation of “price, route or service of an air car-

rier” but rather fell within the proprietor exception in

§ 41713(b)(3). The majority also held that the ban did not

violate the FAA grant assurance requiring the sponsor to

“make its airport available as an airport for public use on

fair and reasonable terms without unjust discrimination

to all types, kinds, and classes of aeronautical users.”

Additionally, the majority said that “the authority’s ban

on scheduled service is necessary to ensure safe operation

of the airport” and that “increased congestion is sure to

have an impact on safety.” Id. at 596.

thr bb int St obi wih oles ORE Lt

Nelo One 6 Mae eR EE I WS A ihr iid a8

~~

eR aR Posen Pe Medes Bid oR’ ait

App. 29

After investigation, the Director of the FAA’s Office

of Airport Safety and Standards rendered an initial deter-

mination on August 21, 1998, under 14 C.F.R. § 16.31

regarding the complaints filed by Centennial Express and

Thomas Kehmeier. The Director found that the FAA was

not bound by the Colorado Supreme Court's decision. He

determined that the Airport Authority violated Federal

law and its grant assurances by banning scheduled ser-

vice at Centennial Airport.

The Airport Authority requested a hearing under 14

C.F.R. Part 16, Subpart F. On September 28, 1998, the

Deputy Chief Counsel issued a Hearing Order identifying

the parties and issues. Prior to the hearing, Greenwood

Village moved to intervene as a party under 14 C.F.R.

§ 16.207, and the hearing officer granted the motion.

The hearing was held on November 12-13, 1998, in

Denver, Colorado. The hearing officer’s initial decision

affirmed the Director’s determination on all issues. The

Airport Authority and Greenwood Village have filed the

instant appeal of the hearing officer’s initial decision.+

4 Citing 14 C.F.R. § 16.19, the City of Greenwood Village has

filed a motion to strike a number of alleged factual

misstatements in the reply brief of the FAA Office of Airport

Safety and Standards. In response, counsel for the FAA Office of

Airport Safety and Standards has filed a document in which it

claims that Greenwood’s motion was actually an impermissible

additional brief that should be stricken.

The FAA Office of Airport Safety and Standards is correct

that additional legal argument would be impermissible, because

the rules of practice permit only one brief per party. 14 C.F.R.

§ 16.241(f)(2) (“parties may file one brief on review to the

Associate Administrator”). Greenwood’s motion, however,

App. 30

Under the Rules of Practice the Hearing Officer may

“issue an initial decision or rule in a party’s favor only if

the decision or ruling is supported by, and in accordance

with, reliable, probative, and substantial evidence con-

tained in the record and is in accordance with law.” 14

C.F.R. § 16.227. Otherwise, the Hearing Officer’s decision

or ruling is subject to reversal. This standard of proof will

guide the following discussion of the parties’ arguments

on appeal.>

III. Standing

Greenwood Village argues that the Hearing Officer

should have dismissed the complaints because Complain-

ants Centennial Express/Golden~Eagle Charters and

Thomas Kehmeier lack standing under 14 C.F.R. Part 16.

Greenwood points out that Centennial Express no longer

holds a Part 135 air carrier certificate and Golden Eagle

Charters has been dissolved. As for Kehmeier, Green-

wood argues that he can no longer benefit from sched-

uled service at Centennial Airport because he has moved

away from Denver. Greenwood contends that as a share-

holder of Centennial Express, Kehmeier is simply a proxy

for Centennial Express and thus he lacks standing just as

Centennial Express does.®

briefly lists alleged factual misstatements. Thus, it does not

constitute an improper additional brief and it has been

considered in reaching this decision.

5 Any arguments not specifically addressed have been

considered and found to be without merit.

6 Greenwood has several additional arguments relating to

standing. Greenwood argues that the Hearing Officer erred in

App. 31

At the outset, it should be noted that standing

requirements in administrative adjudications are less

strict than in Federal court actions. As the court stated in

ECEE, Inc. v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, 645

F.2d 339, 349 (5th Cir. 1981):

Administrative adjudications ... are not...

article III proceeding[s] to which either the

“case or controversy” or prudential standing

requirements apply; within their legislative

mandates, agencies are free to hear actions

brought by parties who might be without stand-

ing if the same issues happened to be before a

federal court. Gardner v. FCC, 530 F.2d 1086,

1090-91 (D.C. Cir. 1976). Accord, Koniag, Inc.,

Village of Uyak v. Andrus, 580 F.2d 601, 611-17

(D.C. Cir.) (Bazelon, J., concurring), cert. denied,

439 U.S. 1052 (1978).

The Rules of Practice for Federally-Assisted Airport

Enforcement Proceedings in 14 C.F.R. Part 16 provide that

“[a] person directly and substantially affected by any

alleged non-compliance may file a complaint with the

Administrator.” 14 C.F.R. § 16.23(a). Assuming, arguendo,

suggesting that the Part 13, Subpart D complaints could cure the

lack of standing under Part 16, and that it is unfair for the

agency to apply only the sections of Part 16 that favor the

agency. Moreover, Greenwood believes that the Hearing Officer

erred in reasoning that because the FAA could have brought its

own case under 14 C.F.R. § 16.101, it is irrelevant whether these

particular Complainants lack standing. According to

Greenwood, the agency chose not to bring a case of its own, and

even if had it done so, it could not have based it on a live

controversy, because there is currently no Part 135-certificated

carrier seeking to offer scheduled service at Centennial Airport.

App. 32

that the standing requirement of Part 16 applies,” it is

difficult to imagine a stronger case for a direct and sub-

stantial effect on Complainants. The Airport Authority

obtained an injunction that immediately brought Centen-

nial Express’s scheduled passenger operations at Centen-

nial Airport to a halt, forcing it out of business there.

Kehmeier is a shareholder of Centennial Express and

therefore is directly and substantially affected by any

prohibition on Centennial Express’s revenue operations.

The very facts that Greenwood points to — the surrender

of the Part 135 certificate and the dissolution of Golden

Eagle Charters — are perhaps the most compelling evi-

dence possible that the Airport Authority’s alleged non-

compliance had a direct and substantial effect on Com-

plainants.§ As Kenneth Culp Davis states in § 24.1 of the

7 Arguably, the less stringent standing requirements of Part

13, Subpart D apply because Centennial Express and Thomas

Kehmeier filed their complaints under Part 13, Subpart D before

Part 16 came into existence. (Part 16 applies to complaints filed

and investigation initiated by the FAA on or after December 16,

1996. 14 C.F.R. § 16.1(d). For complaints filed earlier, Part 13,

Subpart D continues to apply.)

Part 13, Subpart D permits any person to file a complaint

with the Administrator with respect to anything done or

omitted to be done by any person in contravention of any

provision of any Act or any regulation or order issued under it,

as to matters within the jurisdiction of the Administrator. 14

C.F.R. § 13.5. For the agency to apply the stricter Part 16 rules for

standing and pleading to the complaints already accepted and

pleaded under more lenient rules in Part 13, Subpart D arguably

would have violated Complainants’ due process rights.

8 Section 16.23(a) does not state that the person directly and

substantially affected must hold a Part 135 certificate. Note that

the Airport Authority has admitted that it has the discretion to

App. 33

Administrative Law Treatise (2nd ed. 1983), “A main

objective in reforming the law of standing should be to

strip down the law to one simple proposition: one who is

adversely affected in fact should never be denied stand-

ing.”9

Even if Complainants lacked standing, dismissal of

the proceeding would be inappropriate at this point

because the FAA, with its statutory mandate to ensure

that Federally-funded airports comply with their grant

assurances, would remain as party and as prosecutor. The

FAA became a party after the Director of the FAA’s Office

consider an application for scheduled passenger service even

where the applicant does not possess an FAA operating

certificate at the time of application. Exhibit 20e.

° Greenwood argues that the Airport Authority’s ban on

scheduled passenger service caused neither the surrender of

Centennial Express’s Part 135 certificate nor the dissolution of

Golden Eagle Charters. It is hard to believe that no causal

connection exists, given the timing of the surrender

(immediately after the Airport Authority obtained an injunction

again [sic] Centennial Express’s scheduled operation).

Centennial Express went to some trouble to set up scheduled

operations at Centennial Airport. The injunction the Airport

Authority obtained halting Centennial Express/Golden Eagle

Charters’ scheduled passenger operations certainly would not

have helped the financial situation of Centennial Express and

Golden Eagle Charters.

Regardless, even if there was no causal connection between

the ban on the one hand and the surrender of the operating

certificate and dissolution of Golden Eagle Charters on the

other, the ban still had a direct and substantial effect on

Centennial Express - Centennial Express/Golden Eagle

Charters sought to operate scheduled passenger service at

Centennial Airport, but the Airport Authority obtained an

injunction stopping it from doing so.

App. 34

of Airport Safety and Standards issued his initial deter-

mination finding the Airport Authority in violation of

Federal law and its grant assurances and the Airport

Authority requested a hearing. The Rules of Practice pro-

vide that: “The parties to the hearing are the respon-

dent(s) named in the hearing order, the complainant(s),

and the agency.”29 14 C.F.R. § 16.203(b)(1) (emphasis

added). They further provide, in relevant part, that, “the

agency attorney will serve as prosecutor for the agency

from the date of issuance of the Director’s determination

providing an opportunity for hearing.” 14 C.F.R.

§ 16.203(b)(2) (emphasis added). In accordance with these

provisions, the Hearing Order named the FAA Office of

Airport Safety and Standards as a separate party, “as

prosecutor for the agency.” (Emphasis added.) See also 14

C.F.R. § 16.3, which defines “agency attorney” as an

attorney “who represents the FAA during the investiga-

tion of a complaint or at a hearing on a complaint, and

who prosecutes on behalf of the FAA.... ”

10 The FAA Office of Safety and Standards has indicated in

its reply brief that if the complaints were dismissed, the Director

would begin an investigation under 14 C.F.R. § 16.101. The FAA

does not need a “live” complainant to initiate an investigation.

Notice and the opportunity for informal resolution under

Section 16.101 at this point would be pro forma. The Airport

Authority has had ample notice of the FAA’s position, and the

Airport Authority’s refusal to comply with its grant assurances

after an FAA investigation and several decisions does not

suggest an interest in informal resolution. Under the

circumstances, complaint dismissal would be wasteful of

agency and taxpayer resources.

App. 35 -

Thus, the role of the FAA Office of Airport Safety and

Standards is not to represent Complainants, but to repre-

sent the agency, acting to protect the public interest. The

role of the private complainant is-simply to bring to the

agency’s attention apparent violations of airport grant

assurances. See 61 Fed. Reg. at 53,999 (October 16, 1996),

noting that the FAA is the party with the burden of proof

and that the Rules of Practice give Complainants party

status only to assist the FAA in the development of the

factual record.

In summary, Complainants Centennial Express and

Thomas Kehmeier have standing because the Airport

Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger service substan-

tially and directly affected them. In addition, the FAA has

standing by operation of the rules.1!

IV. Mootness

As for the Airport Authority’s and Greenwood’s

argument that this proceeding is moot, it\is undisputed

that the ban on scheduled passenger service continues in

11 While Greenwood claims that the FAA intentionally

destroyed evidence “highly relevant” to its standing claim - i.e.,

the Part 135 operator file for Centennial Express /Golden Eagle

Charters - the record indicates that the local FAA Flight

Standards District Office destroyed the file along with other

inactive files several years ago when moving FAA Denver-

based field offices to the new Denver International Airport. In

any event, Greenwood has not shown how the Part 135 file is

relevant to this proceeding.

App. 36

place at Centennial Airport.!2 Thus, this case presents a

live controversy because the FAA, as a party, has a genu-

ine interest in enforcing the applicable Federal statutory

provisions and grant assurances.}%

V. Due Process

Under the Rules of Practice in Part 16, a Hearing

Officer rather than an Administrative Law Judge presides

over the hearing. (See, e.g., 14 C.F.R. § 16.202, detailing

the powers of the Hearing Officer, which include presid-

ing over the hearing and issuing an initial decision.)

Greenwood argues that the FAA Deputy Chief Counsel

violated its due process rights by declining to amend the

hearing order to include the issue of whether the Hearing

Officer should have referred the case to an Administra-

tive Law Judge for a hearing under the Administrative

Procedure Act (APA).

12 To support its mootness argument, Greenwood states

that there are currently no Part 135-certificated carriers seeking

to offer scheduled service at Centennial Airport. Assuming,

arguendo, that Greenwood’s representation is still accurate,

these proceedings are not moot because the Airport Authority

has conceded that one need not have.a Part 135 certificate at

time of application. In addition, the Airport Authority’s ban

would likely discourage potential carriers from applying to

operate scheduled service.

13 Also, because the mootness doctrine arises from the case

or controversy requirement for Article III courts, it does not

necessarily apply to proceedings before Article I executive

branch administrative proceedings.

App. 37

Greenwood’s Standing to Raise Issues

In this proceeding, the Director withheld approval of

the Airport Authority’s new grants - not Greenwood’s.

Greenwood is merely an intervenor.!¢ Under 49 U.S.C.

§ 47106(d), the statute under which the Director’s Deter-

mination withheld approval of new grants, only the Air-

port Authority, as the airport sponsor, may request a

hearing. Significantly, the Airport Authority, the only

respondent with the statutory right to a hearing, has not

argued that an Administrative Law Judge rather than the

Hearing Officer should have heard its case.

Greenwood, having no right to request a hearing, is

outside the “zone of interests” protected by 49 U.S.C.

§ 47106(d). Clarke v. Securities Industry Association, 479

U.S. 388 (1987). As a result, Greenwood is without stand-

ing to raise the issue of who should have heard this case.

Inapplicability of APA

Even if the Airport Authority, rather than Green-

wood, had raised the same argument -— 7.e., that the APA

requires that an administrative law judge hear this case

— it would still fail. Greenwood argues as follows:

14 The section in the Rules of Practice regarding

intervention provides that “Participation under this section is at

the discretion of the FAA, and no decision permitting

participation shall be deemed to constitute an expression by the

FAA that the participant has such a substantial interest in the

proceeding as would entitle it to judicial review of such

decision.” 14 C.F.R. § 16.207(d). ©

App. 38

... the Hearing Officer did not satisfy the APA’s

separation of functions doctrine because he is an

FAA attorney in the Procurement Legal Division

of the Office of the Chief Counsel. The Office of

the Chief Counsel is responsible, inter alia, for

investigations and enforcement actions by the

FAA. The Hearing Officer, therefore, was con-

spicuously under the supervision and direction

of an agency employee who is engaged in the

performance of investigative or prosecuting

functions for the agency. Since the Hearing Offi-

cer and FAA investigators are responsible to the

FAA Administrator through the same chain of

authority (the Chief Counsel), the Hearing Offi-

cer’s role as adjudicator in this case violated the

APA.

(Appeal Brief at 33.)

The APA, however, does not apply to hearings pro-

vided under 49 U.S.C. §§ 47106(d) & 47111(d).15

15 The wording of 49 U.S.C. § 47106(d) indicates that

Congress did not intend to require full agency adherence to all

APA Section 554 components. Unlike another part of the same

statute (the Airport and Airway Improvement Act of 1982, as

amended) which is subject to the APA and which expressly

requires a hearing before an administrative law judge under 14

C.F.R. Part 302 [see 49 U.S.C. 47129(c)], 49 U.S.C. § 47106(d) only

requires “an opportunity for a hearing.” Section 554 of the APA

does not apply where the statute, rather than requiring a

hearing on the record, simply requires an opportunity for a

hearing without more. Friends of the Earth v. EPA, 966 F.2d 690,

6593 (D.C. Cir. 1992); St. Louis Fuel and Supply Co. v. FERC, 890

F.2d 446, 448 (D.C. Cir. 1989).

App. 39

Part 16’s Separation of Functions Provision

Although the APA does not apply, to ensure the

integrity of the decisionmaking process, the Rules of

Practice in 14 C.F.R. Part 16 include a provision separat-

ing investigative/prosecutorial functions from adjudica-

tive/decisionmaking functions. See 14 C.F.R. § 16.5(b),

providing that an agency employee who investigates or

prosecutes will not advise or communicate substantively

about the case with the hearing officer or the Associate

Administrator regarding their respective decisions

(except as counsel or witness in public proceedings).'©

Contrary to Greenwood’s argument, the Chief Coun-

sel is not an investigator/prosecutor under the Rules of

Practice in Part 16. Instead, the Chief Counsel advises the

Associate Administrator, who issues the agency’s final

decision in Part 16 cases. See 14 C.F.R. § 16.5(c), stating

that “[t]he Chief Counsel . . . advises the Associate

Administrator .. . regarding any case brought under this

part.” Thus, the Chief Counsel’s function in Part 16 cases

is adjudicative, not investigative or prosecutorial.

The only attorneys who investigate and prosecute

Part 16 cases are “agency attorneys.” See 14 C.F.R. § 16.5,

providing that “[p]roceedings under this part . . . will be

prosecuted by an agency attorney.” The Rules of Practice

16 As the FAA explained in the Notice of Proposed

Rulemaking for 14 C.F.R. Part 16: “Separation of functions is not

required by statute because hearings under part 16 would not be

subject to APA hearing requirements; however, the separation is

provided to promote confidence in the impartiality and

integrity of decisions under the new procedures.” 59 Fed. Reg.

29,880, 29,883 (June 9, 1994).

App. 40

|

specifically define “agency attorney” to exclude the Chief

Counsel. See 14 C.F.R. § 16.3, providing that “an agency

attorney shall not include the Chief Counsel ....” The

record |contains no evidence that any agency employee

violated Section 16.5(b). The Hearing Officer was com-

pletely |independent of the Chief Counsel in all matters

pertaining to this case from the date of his appointment

until he issued his initial decision.

VI. Collateral Estoppel

Both the Airport Authority and Greenwood argue

that the Hearing Officer erred in failing to find that the

FAA must extend full faith and credit to the Colorado

Supreme Court’s decision.!”7 They argue that collateral

estoppel bars relitigation of the issues in the instant pro-

ceeding.

Collateral estoppel, or issue preclusion, is the branch

of the res judicata doctrine that prevents a party from

relitigating an issue of fact or law that has been decided

in an earlier suit. Wilder v. EPA, 854 F.2d 605, 616 (2d Cir.

1988). Section 1738 of 28 U.S.C. requires Federal courts to

give effect to the collateral estoppel rules of the state that

rendered a prior judgment where the same issues are

raised later in a Federal proceeding. Id. Section 1738 of 28

17 The Colorado Supreme Court upheld the State District

Court’s injunction on Centennial Express’s scheduled passenger

operations at Centennial Airport. The court held that Federal

law does not preempt the Airport Authority’s ban on scheduled

passenger service. It also held that the ban is necessary for the

safe operation of the airport and that it serves the civil aviation

needs of the public.

App. 41

U.S.C. directs that judicial proceedings of the court of any

State “shall have the same full faith and credit in every

court within the United States ... as they have by law or

usage in the courts of such State .. . from which they are

taken.” Federal administrative agencies as well as courts

must adhere to 28 U.S.C. § 1738. Midgett v. United States,

221 Ct. Cl. 171, 189 (1979).

To accord full faith and credit to a given state-court

judgment, a Federal court or administrative agency must

give a prior state-court judgment “the same preclusive

effect as would be given that judgment under the law of

the State in which the judgment was rendered.” Town of

Deerfield v. FCC, 992 F.2d 420, 428 (2nd Cir. 1993), quoting

Migra v. Warren City School District Board of Education, 465

U.S. 75, 81 (1984). See also American Mannex Corp. v.

Rozands, 462 F.2d 688, 690 (5th Cir. 1972) (stating that

“{ujnder 28 U.S.C. § 1738, the Federal court follows the

state rule of repose”). Thus, Colorado’s rules relating to

collateral estoppel bear examination.

Colorado’s Estoppel Requirements Unmet

Colorado’s highest court has held as follows:

Collateral estoppel, or issue preclusion, bars

relitigation of an issue determined in a prior

‘proceeding if: (1) the issue precluded is identical

to an issue actually determined in the prior pro-

ceeding; (2) the party against whom estoppel is

asserted has been a party to or is in privity with

a party in the prior proceeding; (3) there is a

final judgment on the merits in the prior pro-

ceeding; and (4) the party against whom the

doctrine is asserted has had a full and fair

App. 42

opportunity to litigate the issue in the prior

proceeding.

O’Neill v. Simpson, 958 P.2d 1121 (Colo. 1998).

In the instant case, several of the above-listed

requirements under Colorado law for collateral estoppel

are unmet. First, the Airport Authority and Greenwood

have attempted to assert estoppel not just against Centen-

nial Express and Thomas Kehmeier, but also against the

FAA.18 The FAA, however, was not a party to, nor was it

in privity with a party to, the prior proceeding.!? As a

result, the FAA did not have a full and fair opportunity to

litigate the issues in the prior proceeding.?°

While the Airport Authority and Greenwood argue

on appeal that Town of Deerfield v. FCC, 992 F.2d 420 (2d

18 For a discussion of the agency’s role as party to the

proceeding under the regulations, see supra p. 9.

19 Arguably, neither was Thomas Kehmeier. Kehmeier was

not a party to the prior proceeding and under Colorado law, he

may not have been in privity with any party, even though he

was a shareholder of Centennial Express, which was a party to

the prior proceeding. In Falkenberg v. Sternberg, 388 P. 2d 771

(Colo. 1964), the Colorado Supreme Court held that a corporate

president who owned 98% of the corporate stock was not

precluded from asserting a claim in his individual capacity

against an architect even though a similar claim by the

corporation had been dismissed in a prior proceeding. See also

Foley Custom Homes v. Flater, 888 P.2d 383, 364 (Ct. App. 1994),

citing Falkenberg v. Sternberg, 388 P. 2d 771 (Colo. 1964) and

holding that Foley Custom Homes, a closely held corporation,

and Daniel Foley, who owned 50% of the company’s stock, were

not in privity.

20 The FAA simply does not have the resources to intervene

in the innumerable state court proceedings in which aviation

issues arise.

App. 43

Cir. 1993) supports their argument that collateral estoppel

applies, Deerfield is distinguishable. In Deerfield, in the

proceeding before the FCC, the party against whom

estoppel was sought (an individual named Joseph Car-

ino) had been a party to the prior proceedings in both

state and Federal court. The FCC was not a party to either

the prior proceedings in state or Federal court, or to the

proceedings before the FCC. Thus, in Deerfield, the collat-

eral estoppel requirement under Colorado law of identity

of parties was met, whereas the requirement is not met in

the instant case.?!

Second, even if collateral estoppel applied to some of

the issues in the instant proceeding, it would still not

apply to all of them. The Colorado Supreme Court did

not decide all of the issues in the instant proceeding. A

close examination of the court’s opinion reveals that it

did not decide whether the Airport Authority violated

Federal law relating to the granting of exclusive rights,

which forms the basis for two of the six independent

findings in the Director’s Determination.

21 Deerfield is also distinguishable because the FCC issued

an order that conflicted with that of a Federal Article III court.

Under the Constitution, Federal Article III courts may decide

only “Cases” or “Controversies.” U.S. Const. Art. III, § 2, cl. 1.

They are not permitted to render advisory opinions. Deerfield,

992 F.2d at 427. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

held that the FCC, by issuing a decision that conflicted with that

of a Federal District Court, had improperly attempted to render

a Federal Article III court’s decision a mere advisory opinion. Id.

at 428-29.

In contrast, in the instant case, a Federal Article III court has

_ never decided any of the issues.

App. 44

Supremacy Clause Trumps 28 U.S.C. § 1728

In any event, 28 U.S.C. § 1728, which directs that

Federal courts and agencies must give state court judg-

ments full faith and credit, is limited by the Supremacy

Clause of the U.S. Constitution. Midgett, 221 Ct. Cl. at 189.

Federal courts will not give effect to a judgment or decree

of a state court that would restrain the exercise of sover-

eign power of the United States by imposing require-

ments that are contrary to important and established

Federal policy. Id., citing Byrd v. Blue Ridge Cooperative,

356 U.S. 525 (1957); Red Fox v. Red Fox, 564 F.2d 361, 365

n.3 (9th Cir. 1977); American Mannex Co. v. Rozands, 462

F.2d 688, 690 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1040 (1972).22

The Colorado Supreme Court’s decision restrained

the sovereign power of the United States by upholding

and imposing a ban by a state authority on scheduled

passenger flights at a Federally-funded airport. The ban

violates Congress’ express prohibition, in 49 U.S.C.

§ 41713(b)(1), on state and local regulation of air carrier

rates, routes, or services. In the Airline Deregulation Act,

Congress preempted state and local regulation of rates,

routes, or services of air carriers to ensure that the states

would not undo Federal deregulation of domestic air

transport. Morales v. TWA, 504 U.S. 374, 378-379 (1992).

The Airport Authority’s ban on scheduled service is

inconsistent with the Airline Deregulation Act’s goals of

Ps

22 Even under Colorado law, collateral estoppel is an

equitable doctrine and need not be applied in every case.

Western Group Nurseries v. Pomeranz, 867 P. 2d 12, 15 (Ct. App.

Colo. 1993).

App. 45

furthering “the availability of variety of adequate, eco-

nomic, low-priced services without unreasonable dis-

crimination” (49 U.S.C. § 40101(4)), and “encouraging

entry into air transportation markets by new and existing

air carriers and the continued strengthening of small air

carriers to ensure a more effective and competitive airline

industry” (49 U.S.C. § 40101(13)).

A safe and efficient system of public use airports

cannot be maintained if each Federally-funded airport is

free to impose its own ban on certain types of air service

without an adequate basis in fact or law. The national

system would weaken and balkanize. See New England

Legal Foundation v. Massachusetts Port Authority, 883 F.2d

157, 172 (1st Cir. 1989), referring to the “[b]alkanizing

forces of state and local regulation,” and stating that in

reducing Federal economic regulation of aviation, Con-

gress did not intend to leave a vacuum for state and local

governments to fill.

VII. Burden of Proof

According to Greenwood, the Hearing Officer erred

in finding that the Airport Authority and Greenwood

bore the burden of proving that a ban on scheduled

passenger operations was necessary for the safe opera-

tion of the airport. Instead, Greenwood argues, the Hear-

ing Officer should have required the FAA to show that

the Director’s Determination (finding unlawful the Air-

port Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger service)

would “enhance safety and security” in air commerce in

the Denver region. To support its argument, Greenwood

cites 49 U.S.C. § 40101(d), which provides as follows:

App. 46

§ 40101. Policy

(d) Safety Considerations in Public Inter-

est. — In carrying ovt subpart III of this part [49

U.S.C. §§ 44101 - 45304, entitled “Safety”] and

those provisions of subpart IV [49 U.S.C.

§§ 46101 - 46507, entitled “Enforcement and

Penalties”] applicable in carrying out subpart

III, the Administrator shall consider the follow-

ing matters, among others, as being in the pub-

lic interest:

(1) assigning, maintaining, and enhancing

safety and security as the highest priorities in

air commerce.

49 U.S.C. § 40101(d).

Section 40101 of Title 49 does not apply. First, it does

not deal with the issue of the proper allocation of the

burden of proof. Second, it expressly applies only to

subpart 111 (49 U.S.C. §§ 44101 — 45304) and subpart IV

(49 U.S.C. §§ 46101 — 46507), whereas the authority for the

instant proceeding (the statute under which the Direc-

tor’s Determination withheld approval of new grants) is

49 U.S.C. § 47106(d). The Airport Authority allegedly

violated 49 U.S.C. § 47107(a)(1) regarding economic dis-

crimination; 49 U.S.C. §§ 47107(a)(4) and 40103(e), regard-

ing exclusive rights; and 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1),

regarding Federal preemption of state regulation of air

carrier prices, routes, and services. None of these provi-

sions are found in subparts III and IV.

The allocation of the burden of proof in these pro-

ceedings is set by 14 C.FR. § 16.229. Under Section

16.229, the agency has the burden of proving noncom-

pliance with Federal law and the grant assurances, but a

party who asserts an affirmative defense has the burden

of proving the affirmative defense. 14 C.F.R. § 16.229(a) &

(b).

App. 47

The following facts are undisputed:

The Airport Authority’s defense in this proceeding

has been that its discrimination against scheduled pas-

senger service is justified. It argues that the grant assur-

ance regarding non-discrimination expressly permits the

airport sponsor to “prohibit . . . any type, kind, or class of

aeronautical use at the airport if . . . necessary for the safe

operation of the airport or . . . to serve the civil aviation

As a precondition for receiving Federal

funds, the Airport Authority agreed to make

the airport available for public use on rea-

sonable conditions and not to discriminate

unjustly.

When the Airport Authority accepted Fed-

eral funds, no ban on scheduled passenger

service existed.

After the Airport Authority had accepted

millions of dollars in Federal funds, it

imposed the ban.

The Airport Authority’s ban leaves the air-

port unavailable for a certain type of public

use - specifically, scheduled passenger ser-

vice. The ban also discriminates between

scheduled and unscheduled passenger ser-

vice.

needs of the public.”

App. 48

In determining what constitutes an affirmative

defense, fairness and convenience are relevant consider-

ations. WriGHT & MILLER, FEDERAL Practice & PROCEDURE:

Crvit 2p § 1271. Thus, if all or most of the relevant

information is within the control of the defending party,

then fairness and convenience suggest that the matter

should be considered an affirmative defense. Id. In the

instant case, the Airport Authority determined that safety

and the civil aviation needs of the public required its ban

on scheduled passenger service. The Airport Authority is

in the best position to provide the evidence on which it

based its safety and public needs determination.

Another relevant consideration in determining

whether a matter constitutes an affirmative defense is

whether the party bringing the action will be taken by

surprise by the assertion of the defense at the trial or

hearing if the defense is not pleaded affirmatively. Id.

This consideration also supports the Hearing Officer’s

determination that safety constituted an affirmative

defense. In the instant case, the agency and complainants

would have been taken by surprise if the Airport Author-

ity had not affirmatively pleaded the “safe operation and

public civil aviation needs” defense in its answer.

For these reasons, the Hearing Officer did not err in

ruling that the Airport Authority’s justifications for dis-

crimination constitute affirmative defenses which the Air-

port Authority had the burden of proving.

App. 49

XIII. Reasonableness of Justifications for Ban

A. Safe Operation of the Airport

The Airport Authority and Greenwood claim that the

ban on scheduled passenger service is necessary for the

safe operation of the aircraft. To support their claim, they

argue as follows:

e Centennial Airport lacks a terminal, baggage

claims system, and passenger security sys-

tem.

\

e There was testimony at the hearing that it is

a safety problem to mix different types of

aircraft in the same airspace environment.

e The National Transportation Safety Board

(NTSB) has recommended, as a class 2 prior-

ity action,» that the FAA seek legislative

action limiting scheduled passenger service

to airports holding Part 139 certificates?* and

Centennial Airport lacks a Part 139 certifi-

cate.

e The local fire department chief testified that

his personnel could not respond to fires at

Centennial Airport within 3 minutes, and

therefore, the chance of survivable crash vic-

tims was nearly zero.

<3 Ty. S99.

2414 C.F.R. Part 139 contains the rules governing the

certification and operation of land airports that serve any

scheduled or unscheduled passenger operations of air carriers

that are conducted with aircraft having a seating capacity of

more than 30 passengers. 14 C.F.R. § 139.1.

App. 50

e Scheduled passenger service would require

changes to Centennial Airport’s infrastruc-

ture to maintain crowd control.

There are a number of matters that undercut the

Airport Authority’s arguments that safety requires the

ban. First, the Airport Authority has failed adequately to

explain how a terminal and baggage system are necessary

for passenger safety. The connection is unclear.?> As for a

passenger security system, the FAA introduced into the

record evidence that there is no legal requirement for

security screening for the type of operation Centennial

Express proposed.?6

Second, while the Airport Authority has banned all

scheduled passenger operations, it permits the same sizes

and types of aircraft to carry passengers in unscheduled

operations.?” Thus, the testimony at the hearing that it is

25 A county commissioner testified at the hearing that a

terminal was needed to protect passengers from hail storms. Tr.

97. He admitted, however, that Centennial Express had

obtained, through a sublease, facilities through which to process

passengers. Tr. 99. The commissioner was unable to offer any

explanation as to how the lack of a baggage system presented a

safety problem, though previously he had signed an affidavit

stating that it did. Tr. 103.

26 Tr. 105-07. The FAA’s expert in aviation security testified

that the size of the aircraft determines whether FAA regulations

require screening. Tr. 426. Even when screening is required, the

air carrier rather than the airport operator ordinarily provides

for it. Tr. 430.

27 The airport already has weight limits for its runways that

would keep out aircraft that are too large to operate safely at the

airport. Tr. 90. In any event, FAA regulations prohibit aircraft

with a seating capacity of more than 30 passengers — scheduled

Py ae

App. 51

a safety problem to mix different types of aircraft in the

same airspace, even if accurate, is inapplicable. Further-

more, the fire department response time is no different

for passengers in unscheduled operations than it is for

passengers in scheduled operations.7* If the scheduled

passenger operations using the same types of aircraft are

unsafe, then how can the Airport Authority consider the

unscheduled passenger operations safe, given that the

only difference in the operations is whether the flights are

scheduled??? Also, all operations at the airport, whether

scheduled or unscheduled, would be conducted by pilots

tested and licensed by the FAA, would use aircraft certifi-

cated by the FAA for airworthiness, would follow FAA

operating rules, and would follow the direction of FAA

air traffic controllers.

Third, if the Airport Authority’s concern was that a

high level of operations was causing congestion in the air

or on the runways, affecting safety, then the Airport

Authority should have attempted more narrowly focused

alternatives first. The Airport Authority, however, admit-

ted in its answers to interrogatories that congestion,

or unscheduled — from operating at Centennial Airport, because

the airport lacks a Part 139 certificate. 14 C.F.R. § 139.101. See

also Tr. 229-30.

28 The fire station is located about a mile and a half from the

airport runways. Tr. 493.

29 At the hearing, the Mayor of Greenwood was asked the

following question: “There is nothing inherently more unsafe

about the fact that a Beechcraft King Air is flying over your

homes and schools on a scheduled basis as opposed to an

unscheduled basis, is there?” His reply was no. Tr. 232. See also

Tr. 417 (another witness to the same effect).

App- 52

capacity, and environmental effects were not among the

reasons for its ban on scheduled passenger service.*°

Fourth, the record does not support Greenwood Vil-

lage’s argument that crowd control would be a problem.

The Airport Authority banned Centennial Express’s oper-

ation with a single six-passenger aircraft. It is difficult to

believe that a scheduled operation using one six-pas-

senger aircraft could cause crowd control problems.

As for the NTSB recommendation, the Airport

Authority’s claim that the NTSB recommendation formed

the basis for the ban lacks credibility, given that the NTSB

issued its recommendation after the Airport Authority

banned scheduled operations. Thus, the Airport Author-

ity’s claim bears all the hallmarks of a post hoc rationaliza-

tion.3 Moreover, the NTSB recommendation was only a

recommendation. The FAA’s statutory duty is to decide if

the recommendation should be implemented, either in its

original or in a modified form. The FAA is not required to

follow NTSB recommendations.#2

For these reasons, the Airport Authority has failed to

bear its burden of proving that the safe operation of the

airport requires the ban.

30 Tr. 119-20.

31 Note too that numerous airports in the region, as well as

in the country as a whole, permit scheduled passenger service at

predominantly general aviation airports without a Part 139

certificate. Tr. 111.

32 Tr. 599.

App. 53

B. Civil Aviation Needs of the Public

The Airport Authority and Greenwood claim that the

ban on scheduled passenger service is necessary to serve

the civil aviation needs of the public. They argue that

permitting scheduled passenger service would conflict

with Centennial Airport’s designation as a general avia-

tion reliever airport, and that the FAA should defer to

regional and local planning.

Although Centennial Airport’s primary function may

be to serve general aviation, it does not logically follow

that any level of scheduled Part 135 service is inconsis-

tent with that primary function. The initiation of sched-

uled passenger service at Centennial Airport is unlikely

to change the predominately general aviation role of the

airport.33 The claim that permitting both scheduled and

unscheduled passenger operations would alter the char-

acter of the airport is speculative.*4 There have been no

33 The term “general aviation” does not have one generally

accepted meaning. In some FAA definitions, “general aviation”

does not include any air carriers, whether scheduled or

unscheduled. Nevertheless, a county commissioner conceded at

the hearing that the Airport Authority permits “a lot” of

unscheduled air carriers to operate at Centennial Airport. Tr.

122. The commissioner also conceded that the Airport Authority

has taken no significant actions to limit overall growth at the

airport other than to ban Centennial Express’s operation. For

example, in the past year, it signed a 40-year lease plus an

option to extend for 50 more years with a development

company that plans on spending at least $3 million on

infrastructure for a third fixed base operation on the airport. Tr.

122-23.

34 Note that there was testimony at the hearing that

Centennial Express’s proposed operations would have had an

App. 54

studies suggesting that scheduled passenger service

would reduce general aviation use of the airport.*° In the

unlikely event that scheduled passenger service ever

undermined the airport's reliever role, there were reason-

able and nondiscriminatory restrictions short of a total

ban which could have been attempted first. The Airport

Authority admitted in its answers to interrogatories that

ii did not consider any of these alternatives to meet the

civil aviation needs of the public before imposing the

ban.°¢ In fact, the Denver Regional Aviation System Plan

itself recognizes that an airport may be required by its

grant obligations to accept service that is inconsistent

with its primary purpose. The Airport Authority and

Greenwood do not dispute the Hearing Officer’s factual

finding that prior to 1993, the Airport Authority’s policies

permitted scheduled passengers [sic] service at Centen-

nial Airport, notwithstanding its general aviation desig-

nation in regional planning documents.

If anything, the civil aviation needs of the public

support the opposite policy — permitting scheduled ser-

vice as well as unscheduled service at Centennial Airport.

If the public does not want or need scheduled passenger

service at Centennial Airport, market forces will lead to

that result. The ban is both unnecessary and unlawful.

“insignificant” impact on the operations at Centennial Airport.

See, e.g., Tr. 496. -

35 Tr. 251.

36 See also Tr. 118-19.

App. 55

Multi-Airport Proprietor Rule

Congress made the receipt of Federal funds contin-

gent upon an airport owner’s agreement to make the

airport available for public use and without unjust dis-

crimination. As a result, a Federally-funded airport may

not ordinarily ban a whole class of service. In light of case

law, however, the FAA has carved out the following

exception to the general rule. This exception is referred to

as the multi-airport proprietor rule. It provides as fol-

lows:

Where the volume of air traffic is approaching

or exceeding the maximum practical capacity of

an airport, an airport owner may designate a

certain airport in a multiple airport system

under the same ownership and servicing the

same community for use by a particular class or

classes of aircraft. The owner must be in a posi-

tion to assure that all classes of aeronautical

needs can be fully accommodated within the

system of airports under the owner’s control

and without unreasonable penalties to any class

and that the restriction is fully supportable as

being beneficial to overall aviation system

capacity.

FAA Order No. 5190.6A.

The Airport Authority and Greenwood take issue

with the FAA’s multi-airport proprietor rule. They argue

that there is no valid distinction between multiple air-

ports controlled by the same owner, and multiple airports

acting under a plan devised by a regional planning orga-

nization. However, the Airport Authority has failed to

show that air traffic at Centennial Airport is approaching

App. 56

or exceeding the maximum practical capacity. For exam-

ple, in its answers to interrogatories, the Airport Author-

ity conceded that capacity was not a basis for the ban on

scheduled passenger service.°” Thus, it is unnecessary to

reach the issue of whether the Airport Authority has met

the other requirements of the multi-airport proprietor

rule.

For all of the reasons noted above, the Airport

Authority has failed to bear its burden of proving that the

civil aviation needs of the public require the ban.

IX. Proprietary Powers

The Hearing Officer determined that the Airport

Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger service violated

the Federal statute that preempts state and local regula-

tion of air carrier prices, routes, and service.*® He rejected

the Airport Authority’s claim that the ban falls within the

“proprietary powers” exception to the statute.9? The Air-

port Authority and Greenwood argue on appeal that he

erred in so doing.

37 See also Tr. 129, 250, 414.

38 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) provides, in relevant part, that “a

State [or] political subdivision of a State . . . may not enact or

enforce a law, regulation, or other provision having the force

and effect of law related to a price, route, or service of an air

carrier that may provide air carrier transportation. ... ”

39 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(3) provides, in relevant part, as

follows: “This subsection does not limit a State [or] political

subdivision of a State ... that owns or operates an

airport... from carrying out its proprietary powers and rights.”

eeoa has ire

App. 57

The Airport Authority argues in its appeal brief that

the ban falls within the “proprietary powers” exception

because the ban is necessary for the safe operation of the

airport and to serve the civil aviation needs of the public.

As discussed above, the Airport Authority has failed to

bear its burden of proving that the ban is necessary either

for the safe operation of the airport*® or to serve the civil

aviation needs of the public.41 Hence, its argument that

the ban falls within the “proprietary powers” exception

fails. The Hearing Officer did not err in finding that

Federal law preempts the ban.*

40 See supra p. 21.

41 See supra p. 24.

42 The Airport Authority and Greenwood also argue that

even if the Airport Authority’s total ban on scheduled

operations was unlawful, operations at Centennial Airport

would still be limited to nine-passenger aircraft, because a

Federal statute went into effect in 1996 requiring airports to

have a Part 139 certificate for scheduled operations involving

aircraft of more than nine-passenger seats (49 U.S.C. § 44706),

Centennial Airport does not have such a certificate, and the

statute provides (in 49 U.S.C. § 44706(f)) that airport sponsors

may not be forced to obtain a certificate.

While the Airport Authority and Greenwood argue that the

statute is self-executing, the agency’s position is that under 49

U.S.C. § 44706(e), the statute does not apply until 120 days after

the agency sends implementing regulations and an economic

impact report to Congress, and until that occurs, 30-passenger

aircraft may operate at Centennial Airport. This issue will not

be decided because it is not presented by the facts of this case. It

is undisputed that the Airport Authority’s ban on scheduled

passenger service is total. The Airport Authority sought and

obtained an injunction against Centennial Express’s six-

passenger aircraft.

App. 58

XI. Conclusion

The Hearing Officer correctly affirmed the Director’s

determinations that the Airport Authority violated the

following:

e 49U.S.C. § 47107(a)(1) and standard Airport

Improvement Program (AIP) grant assurance

no. 22 (prohibiting economic discrimination).

e 49 U.S.C. §§ 47107(a)(4) and 40103(e) and

standard AIP grant assurance no. 23 (prohib-

iting granting exclusive rights).

e 49 U.S.C. § 41713 (prohibiting state and local

regulation of air carrier prices, routes, or ser-

vices).

XII. Corrective Action

ACCORDINGLY, it is ordered that:

1. Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority (the

Airport Authority) present a plan to the Airports Divi-

sion, Northwest Mountain Region of the FAA within 60

days from the date of this final agency decision on how it

intends to address the FAA’s concerns by eliminating the

violations outlined above;

2. Pending FAA approval of the corrective action

plan specified in Ordering Paragraph 1, or until further

notice, the Airport Authority is ineligible to apply for

new FAA grants under 49 U.S.C. § 47106(d).49

43 The 180-day limit on suspension of eligibility contained

in Section 47106(d) applies only to applications to receive AIP

funds apportioned under 49 U.S.C. §§ 47114(c) ‘and (e). The

7

? ith

ieee

FURTHER:

If the Airport Authority does not submit a corrective

action plan in accordance with Ordering Paragraph 1

above, or petition for judicial review of this decision as

set forth below, the FAA proposes to issue an order under

49 U.S.C. § 47122 directing the Airport Authority to elimi-

nate the violations outlined above. The failure to comply

with that order would result in termination of the Airport

Authority’s eligibility for new FAA grants.

/s/ Susan L. Kurland

SUSAN L. KURLAND

Associate Administrator

for Airports

\

Issued on this 18th day of February, 1999.

Airport Authority is not eligible to receive these apportioned

funds. Therefore, the 180-day limit does not apply.

44 Persons with standing may seek judicial review of this

decision in an appropriate United States Court of Appeals. The

petition for review must be filed within 60 days. See 14 C.F.R.

§ 16.247 (“Judicial review of a final decision and order”) for

further information regarding judicial review.

App. 60

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

ARAPAHOE COUNTY PUBLIC

AIRPORT AUTHORITY, a

political subdivision of the State

of Colorado,

Petitioner, No. 99-9508

v.

FEDERAL AVIATION

ADMINISTRATION,

Respondent,

CITY OF GREENWOOD

VILLAGE,

Intervenor,

and

REGIONAL AIRLINE

ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae.

ORDER

Filed May 7, 2001

\

Before BRORBY, Circuit Judge, McWILLIAMS, Senior

Judge and ELLISON,” District Judge.

*The Honorable James O. Ellison, Senior United States District

Judge for the Northern District of Oklahoma, sitting by

designation.

App. 61

Petitioner’s and Intervenor’s petitions for rehearing

are denied.

The petitions for rehearing en banc were transmitted

to all of the judges of the court who are in regular active

service as required by Fed. R. App. P. 35. As no member

of the panel and no judge in regular active service on the

court requested that the court be polled, that petition is

also denied.

Entered for the Court

PATRICK FISHER, Clerk of Court

by: /s/ Steve Larson

Deputy Clerk

App. 62

SUPREME COURT, STATE OF COLORADO

NO. 97SC123 April 13, 1998

ARAPAHOE COUNTY PUBLIC

AIRPORT AUTHORITY, a political

subdivision of the State of Colorado,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CENTENNIAL EXPRESS AIRLINES,

INC., a Colorado corporation; and

GOLDEN EAGLE CHARTERS, INC.,

d/b/a CENTENNIAL EXPRESS

AIRWAYS, INC., a Colorado

corporation,

. Respondents.

(Filed April 13, 1998)

Certiorari to the Colorado Court of Appeals

EN BANC JUDGMENT REVERSED

Brega & Winters, P.C.

Ronald S. Loser

Brian a. Magoon

Peter A. Gergely

Denver, Colorado

Attorneys for Petitioner

Bryant & Van Nest, LLC

Mark A. Pottinger, Of Counsel

Denver, Colorado

Attorneys for Respondents

App. 63

CHIEF JUSTICE VOLLACK delivered the Opinion of the

Court.

JUSTICE SCOTT concurs and specially concurs.

JUSTICE BENDER dissents, and JUSTICE MARTINEZ

joins in the dissent.

JUSTICE HOBBS does not participate.

We granted certiorari to review the court of appeals

decision in Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority v.

Centennial Express Airlines, Inc., 942 P.2d 1270 (Colo. App.

1996), to determine whether the court of appeals erred in

reversing a permanent injunction entered in favor of the

plaintiff, Arapahoe County Public Airport Authority (the

Authority), prohibiting the defendant, Centennial

Express Airlines, Inc., and its wholly owned subsidiary,

Golden Eagle Charters, Inc., d/b/a Centennial Express

Airways, Inc. (Centennial Express), from conducting

scheduled air carrier service in and out of Centennial

Airport (Centennial). We reverse.

L

Centennial was built in 1967 to serve the growing

aviation needs of the Denver metropolitan region and has

since become one of the largest and busiest general avia-

tion facilities in the country.! Centennial is located four-

teen miles southeast of downtown Denver and sits on

1 In 1988, Centennial ranked as the twenty-eighth busiest

airport in the United States. One year later, Centennial was

fourth nationally in based aircraft. In 1995, Centennial was the

second busiest general aviation airport in the country.

App. 64

approximately 1,200 acres of land in Arapahoe and Doug-

las Counties. In 1975, Arapahoe County established the

Authority pursuant to the Public Airport Authority Law,

sections 41-3-101 to -108, 17 C.R.S. (1973), to own and

operate Centennial as a political subdivision of the State.

The Authority owns all of the land and facilities at Cen-

tennial except for two runways which it leases from

Arapahoe County.

To fund airport construction and operations, the

Authority has accepted approximately $30.1 million in

federal grants. As a condition to accepting these grants

and pursuant to federal law, the Authority has given its

assurance that it “will make its airport available as an

airport for public use on fair and reasonable terms and

without unjust discrimination, to all types, kinds, and

classes of aeronautical uses.” A separate assurance pro-

vides that the Authority “may prohibit or limit any given

type, kind, or class of aeronautical use of the airport if

such action is necessary for the safe operation of the

airport or necessary to serve the civil aviation needs of

the public.”

Local, regional, and national planning schemes desig-

nate Centennial as a general aviation reliever airport for

Denver’s primary air carrier airports, Stapleton Interna-

tional (Stapleton), which closed in February of 1995 and

Denver International (DIA), which opened upon Sta-

pleton’s closure. Locally, resolutions passed by the Board

of County Commissioners of Arapahoe County in 1966

approved funding for the construction of a general avia-

tion airport. Newspaper accounts of open meetings held

following this funding approval indicate that county offi-

cials hoped to lure new industry and expand the county’s

App. 65

tax base by building an airport to “serve general aviation,

not scheduled carriers or military planes.” A new airport

would also ease general aviation overcrowding at Sta-

pleton. In one news report, the Federal Aviation Adminis-

tration (FAA) area director proclaimed that the airport

was “a much needed reliever terminal for general avia-

tion.”

Regionally, the Denver Regional Council of Govern-

ments (DRCOG), a planning organization of county and

municipal governments, has adopted several aviation

plans that guide the development and operation of air-

ports in the Denver area. Specifically, the 2010 Regional

Aviation System Plan (2010 Plan), which was published

by DRCOG in 1989, provides that Stapleton is the only

commercial air carrier airport in the region and desig-

nates Centennial “as a non-commercial passenger, trans-

port-category, general aviation reliever airport.”

Similarly, the Regional Aviation System Planning Pro-

gram Data File, which was published by DRCOG in 1991,

provides that Stapleton is the “air carrier facility for the

Denver region” and categorizes Centennial “as a non-

commercial passenger, transport category, G.A. reliever.”2

Nationally, the National Plan of Integrated Airport

Systems (NPIAS), which was presented to Congress by

the Secretary of Transportation in 1991, does not include

Centennial in its summary of Colorado’s primary and

2 In November of 1995, after the facts giving rise to this

dispute arose, DRCOG published the 2020 Regional Aviation

System Plan (2020 Plan) to update the 2010 Plan. The 2020 Plan

refers to Centennial as a “transport-category, general aviation

airport, [that] is a designated reliever to DIA.”

App. 66

commercial service airports. Instead, the NPIAS lists Cen-

tennial as a reliever airport intended to alleviate general

aviation congestion at Denver’s primary commercial air-

port through 1999.

Due to its planned role as a general aviation reliever

and strong opposition from citizens who live near the

airport, scheduled passenger service has never been

authorized at Centennial. While fixed-base air taxi and

charter flights are permitted, Centennial’s master plan,

which was published in 1981, provides that air taxi, char-

ter flights, and military use constitute less than one per-

cent of the airport’s total operations. Because scheduled

passenger service has never been permitted, Centennial

presently operates without a terminal, baggage system, or

passenger security system.

Despite Ceritennial’s lack of facilities, private efforts

have been made to bring scheduled passenger service to

the airport. In response, the Authority has increased

efforts to prohibit scheduled passenger service. On July

21, 1993, the Authority sent a letter to the United States

Department of Transportation (USDOT) asserting that the

Authority did not have to approve applications for sched-

uled passenger service and asking USDOT for its opinion

on the issue. On September 4, 1993, the Authority also

amended the “Minimum Standards for Commercial Aero-

nautical Activities” (the Standards) governing operations

at Centennial. These Standards now define “Airport Pur-

pose” as

any Authority action, undertaking or develop-

ment that is consistent in maintaining the non-

certificated status of the Airport and in preserv-

ing the Airport funding category as a “Reliever

App. 67

Airport” serving general aviation users. Under

no circumstances shall the Airport Purpose include

scheduled passenger services.

(Emphasis added.)

On December 20, 1994, Centennial Express began

scheduled passenger service out of Centennial to Dalhart,

Texas. Centennial Express has a valid air carrier certifi-

cate issued by the FAA.3 At the time of its maiden flight,

Centennial Express was aware of the Authority’s ban on

scheduled passenger service but chose to delay notifying

the Authority until the return flight from Dalhart. Cen-

tennial Express also issued a press release announcing

that it would soon provide scheduled passenger service

from Centennial to Amarillo, Colorado Springs, Grand

Junction, and other Western Slope airports in 1995. Addi-

tionally, Centennial Express planned to begin regular jet

flights from Colorado Springs to Chicago, Kansas City,

Houston, Dallas, Phoenix, Los Angeles, San Francisco,

and Seattle.

The following day, the Authority filed suit in Arap-

ahoe County District Court (the district court) seeking a

temporary restraining order and preliminary and perma-

nent injunctions preventing Centennial Express from con-

ducting scheduled passenger service out of Centennial.

On December 22, 1994, the district court granted the

Authority’s request for a temporary restraining order,

concluding in part that

3 The FAA certificate authorized Centennial Express to

carry up to 30 passengers for four scheduled round trips per

week, per destination, in aircraft weighing less than 75,000

pounds.

App. 68

[rJeal, immediate, and irreparable injury may be

prevented if [Centennial Express is] enjoined

from conducting and expanding illegal sched-

uled passenger service at the Airport. [Centen-

nial Express has] made a unilateral decision to

conduct illegal scheduled passenger service at

the Airport. [Centennial Express has] flaunted

the law by disregarding the Airport’s Minimum

Standards. [The Authority] manages the Air-

port. Indeed, [the Authority’s] reason to exist

turns on its ability to govern and manage the

Airport. If the requested relief is not provided,

[the Authority] will be stripped of its ability and

authority to manage the Airport.

On December 23, 1994, more than seventeen months

after the Authority’s initial request, USDOT responded to

the Authority’s letter as to whether it could ban sched-

uled passenger service at Centennial. In relevant part, the

USDOT’s letter provides as follows:

In addressing similar cases in the past, FAA has

found it arbitrary to exclude any particular class

of service due to factors that are not related to

the impacts of that service.

Although the material that [the Authority]

submitted states that approval of scheduled ser-

vice would increase the number of operations

and passengers at Centennial Airport, there was

insufficient information submitted with [the

Authority’s] letter to demonstrate that a restric-

tion of any particular category of operation

could be adequately supported. For example,

although individual factors are not alone likely

to be dispositive, [the Authority’s] letter does

not discuss the nature and extent of any result-

ing environmental impact, congestion, or effect

ee

App. 69

on airport facilities such as the terminal or park-

ing, that would result from the initiation of

scheduled service.

Later, the opinion letter states that the Authority’s

letter

also raises a policy issue relating to how to

harmonize several important goals - allowing

the citizens of a region to plan and manage their

aviation resources on a regional basis, while at

the same time preserving and enhancing the

performance of the national aviation system and

ensuring that statutory and regulatory require-

ments associated with use of federal grant funds

are not violated. . . . We firmly support regional

planning and decision-making and strongly

believe that local governments should, wherever

possible, plan, develop and operate their trans-

portation systems in an integrated and regional

context, consistent with applicable federal

law. ... 2

[W]here the volume of air traffic is approaching

or exceeding the maximum practical capacity of

an airport, an airport owner may designate a

certain airport in a multiple airport system

(under the same ownership and serving the

same community) for use by a particular class of

aircraft so long as the owner can assure that all

classes of aeronautical needs can be fully accom-

modated within the system of airports under the

owner's control. .. .

The issue that this raises is whether

[USDOT] should change its policy to extend the

flexibility now afforded to multiple airports

under joint ownership to individually-owned

App. 70

multiple airports which are planned and oper-

ated under a regional agreement. . . . Because

this would be a significant policy change, full

consideration by the public and the aviation

community is warranted. Therefore, we will be

initiating, early next year, a process to obtain a

full range of views on this issue.

On January 10, 1995, after conducting several hear-

ings, the district court entered a permanent injunction

prohibiting Centennial Express from conducting sched-

uled passenger service out of Centennial.4 Centennial

Express appealed and also filed a complaint with the

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).5 The court of

appeals reversed the district court’s ruling, concluding

that the Authority’s regulation prohibiting scheduled

passenger service was preempted by 49 U.S.C.

§ 41713(b)(1) (1994). The court of appeals also held that

the district court should have left the question of whether

the Authority could prohibit scheduled passenger service

to the federal administrative agencies’ primary jurisdic-

tion.

4 At a January 5, 1995, hearing, the parties stipulated that

the district court would rule on the issue of permanent

injunctive relief in order to expedite this case for appeal. For this

reason, no preliminary injunction was issued in this case.

> Centennial Express’s FAA complaint was the second

challenging the Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger

service. The first complaint had been filed by an individual who

is not a party to this action. Both complaints are still pending.

App. 71

II.

At the outset, we must determine whether this court

should defer to the federal agencies’ holding concurrent

jurisdiction over this case. The doctrine of primary juris-

diction, or the deference doctrine, calls for judicial defer-

ence in cases involving technical questions of fact

uniquely within an agency’s expertise and experience, or

in cases where uniformity and consistency require admin-

istrative discretion. See Nader v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc.,

426 U.S. 290, 303-04 (1976); Columbia Gas Transmission

Corp. v. Allied Chem. Corp., 652 F.2d 503, 519 n.14 (5th Cir.

1981); Great Western Sugar Co. v. Northern Natural Gas Co.,

661 P.2d 684, 690 (Colo. App. 1982). No fixed formula

exists for deciding when to invoke this doctrine, but it

should be utilized reluctantly where the issue is Strictly a

legal one that is within the conventional competence of

the courts. See Great Western Sugar, 661 P.2d at 690.

The issues in this case do not involve complex ques-

tions of fact. Rather, we have been asked to consider

whether the district court properly enjoined Centennial

Express from conducting scheduled passenger service out

of Centennial. As defenses, Centennial Express claims

that (1) the Authority’s regulation prohibiting scheduled

passenger service at Centennial is preempted by federal

law and (2) the ban on scheduled passenger service vio-

lates the terms of the Authority’s federal grant assur-

ances. In our view, these legal and interpretive questions

do not “go beyond the understanding of judges” or lay

“at the heart of the task assigned the agency by Con-

gress.” See Mashpee Tribe v. New Seabury Corp., 592 F.2d

575, 580-81 (1st Cir. 1979).

App. 72

Additionally, the FAA has yet to rule on either of the

complaints despite the fact that they were filed more than

three years ago. Similarly, although the USDOT opinion

letter alludes to “initiating, early [in 1995], a process to

obtain a full range of views on” its policy regarding

individual airport participation in regional airport plan-

ning, we have no indication from the parties or USDOT

that sich efforts have begun. Because there is a strong

public interest in resolving this case promptly, we refuse

to defer to administrative action which is of “uncertain

aid and uncertain speed.” See id. at 581.°

Centennial Express also points to the USDOT opinion

letter in arguing that deference is warranted in this case.

In Banner Advertising, Inc. v. People, 868 P.2d 1077, 1083

(Colo. 1994), we addressed the level of deference we must

afford an opinion letter issued by the FAA. Specifically,

we explained:

© Contrary to the court of appeals, we do not view New

England Legal Foundation v. Massachusetts Port Authority, 883 F.2d

157, 171 (1st Cir. 1989), as dispositive here. In that case, the

Second Circuit held that the district court erred in ruling on the

merits of a case involving the imposition of landing fees at

Boston’s Logan Airport when the same issue was pending

before the FAA. In the Second Circuit’s view, the following

federal actions, in addition to an FAA complaint, justified

deferring to the FAA in that case: (1) the Secretary of

Transportation had ordered a formal investigation into the

complaint; and (2) the United States, as amicus curiae, had urged

the district court to issue an injunction preserving the status quo

until the USDOT’s investigation was complete. See id. In this

case, we are aware of no formal investigation into the FAA

complaints and have received no indication from the federal

government that reviewing the merits of this case is, in its view,

inappropriate. |

App. 73

[T]he opinion of the FAA's chief counsel .. . was

not reached as a result of hearing adversary

proceedings in which he found facts and

reached conclusions of law. It is in no way bind-

ing on a court. Nevertheless, the letter was writ-

ten as part of the official duties of the chief

counsel, and is based on a level of more spe-

cialized expertise than most judges possess, so

we may properly look to it for guidance. While

opinion letters from administrative agencies are

not binding authority, they can be used as per-

suasive authority.

Id. Contrary to Banner, where we chose to defer to the

agency’s letter, we believe the USDOT’s opinion letter in

this case does not require deference. First, the letter is

brief, contains no federal preemption analysis, and fails

to cite any federal cases for its propositions. Second, the

letter is inconclusive because it states that the Authority

submitted “insufficient information” on the impact

scheduled passenger service would have at Centennial.

Third, because the opinion letter is only persuasive

authority, it is not binding on this court. See id.

In this case, Centennial Express began scheduled pas-

senger service in clear defiance of the Authority’s regula-

tions, before the USDOT’s opinion letter was issued, and

before filing its FAA complaint. Nevertheless, Centennial

Express asserts that even though it has disregarded valid

regulations passed pursuant to state law, we must defer

to the federal agencies’ concurrent jurisdiction. We dis-

agree. If we defer to the federal agencies, we would

affirm Centennial Express’s course of conduct and fore-

close the Authority’s only avenue of relief. This would

allow future airport users to unilaterally conduct and

App. 74

continue operations in violation of airport rules so long

as they implicate federal jurisdiction in some way. Under

these circumstances, we refuse to defer to the federal

agencies’ concurrent jurisdiction.

IIl.

Centennial Express argues that the ban on scheduled

passenger service is preempted by federal law. We dis-

agree.

Congress radically altered the character of commer-

cial aviation when it amended the Federal Aviation Act

and deregulated the airline industry pursuant to the Air-

line Deregulation Act of 1978 (ADA). See Pub. L. 95-504,

92 Stat. 1705. In so doing, Congress determined that

market forces were better suited for promoting efficiency,

innovation, low prices, variety, and quality in the air

transportation industry. See Morales v. Trans World Air-

lines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374, 378 (1992). However, the absence

of federal regulation caused concern in Congress that

individual states would pass inconsistent and conflicting

laws regulating the airline industry. See H.R. Rep.

95-1211, at 15-16 (1978) reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N.

3737, 3752; see also Margolis v. United Airlines, Inc., 811 F.

Supp. 318, 320-21 (E.D. Mich. 1993). Consequently, the

ADA included a provision that preempted all state laws

relating to the rates, routes, or services of an interstate air

carrier. See 49 U.S.C. § 1305(a)(1) (Supp. II 1979). Cur-

rently, 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1) (the ADA preemption pro-

vision) provides that a political subdivision of a state

“may not enact or enforce a law, regulation, or other

—

App. 75

provision having the force and effect of law related to a

price, route, or service of an air carrier.”7”

Two cases from the United States Supreme Court

offer guidance on the scope of the ADA preemption

provision. In Morales, several airlines filed suit against

the State of Texas seeking injunctive relief prohibiting

enforcement of state regulations pertaining to airline fare

advertising. The airlines argued that the regulations were

preempted by the ADA preemption provision. Relying

upon cases in which the Supreme Court interpreted a

similarly worded preemption provision in the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), the

Court determined that the ADA preemption provision

expressed a broad preemptive purpose that included all

“State enforcement actions having a connection with or

reference to airline rates, routes, or services.” Morales, 504

U.S. at 383-84; see also American Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513

U.S. 219, 223 (1995). The Morales Court noted, however,

that preemption was inappropriate where the state action

affects airline rates, routes, and services “in too tenuous,

remote, or peripheral a manner.” See Morales, 504 U.S. at

390; Wolens, 513 U.S. at 224.

* Congress reenacted Title 49 in 1994. Previously, 49 U.S.C.

§ 1305(a)(1) provided in relevant part that “no State . . . shall

enact or enforce any law, rule, regulation, standard, or other

provision having the force and effect of law relating to rates,

routes, or services of any carrier.” Although the language of this

Statute differs slightly from 49 U.S.C. § 41713(b)(1), Congress

intended the revision to make no substantive change. See

Amencan Airlines, Inc. v. Wolens, 513 U.S. 219, 223 n.1 (1995).

Therefore, even though many of the cases cited in this opinion

interpret 49 U.S.C. § 1305(a)(1), this opinion refers to both

§ 1305(a)(1) and § 41713(b)(1) as the ADA preemption provision.

App. 76

In New York State Conference of Blue Cross & Blue Shield

Plans v. Travelers Insurance Co., 514 U.S. 645, 654-56 (1995),

the Supreme Court explained that it may have interpreted

the “relate to” language in prior ERISA cases too

broadly. Specifically, the Court explained:

If “relate to” were taken to extend to the fur-

thest stretch of its indeterminacy, then for all

practical purposes pre-emption would never

run its course, for really, universally, relations

stop nowhere. But that, of course, would be to

read Congress’s words of limitation as mere

sham, and to read the presumption against pre-

emption out of the law whenever Congress

speaks to the matter with generality. That said,

we have to recognize that our prior attempt to

construe the phrase “relate to” does not give us

much help drawing the line here.

Id. at 655 (citation and internal quotation marks omitted).

Instead, the Court explained that it must address ERISA

preemption cases “with the starting presumption that

Congress does not intend to supplant state law.” Id. at

654. With this presumption in mind, the Court then

® Although Travelers does not concern aviation law, Morales

explains the connection to ERISA cases as follows:

[W]e have held that a state law relates to an employee

benefit plan, and is pre-empted by ERISA, if it has a

connection with, or reference to, such a plan. Since

the relevant language of the ADA is identical, we

think it appropriate to adopt the same standard here.

Morales, 504 U.S. at 384 (citation and quotation marks omitted).

Travelers is therefore highly instructive on the Supreme Court’s

current approach towards interpreting “identical” language in

the ADA preemption provision. Id.

App. 77

explained that it “simply must go beyond the unhelpful

text and the frustrating-difficulty of defining its key term,

and look instead to the objectives of the ERISA statute as

a guide to the scope of the state law that Congress under-

stood would survive.” Id. at 656.

Despite the broad reach the Morales Court gave the

ADA preemption provision, the Travelers decision estab-

lishes a less literal method for determining whether state

regulations concerning aviation are preempted. Speci-

fically, Travelers counsels that we should first presume

“that Congress does not intend to supplant state law.” Id.

at 654. Then, we must review the objectives of the statute

in defining “the scope of the state law that Congress

understood would survive.” Id. at 656.

Turning to the facts of this case, we believe that the

Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger service is not

preempted. Because the regulation concerns an area of

local and regional planning, it will not lead to inconsis-

tent or conflicting state regulations.? Therefore, the

° Besides planning Centennial’s operations on a local level,

the Authority’s ban on scheduled passenger service also reflects

the airport’s regional role as a general aviation reliever for

Denver’s primary commercial airport. Other federal statutes

indicate a willingness to cooperate with and defer to this type of

local and regional aviation planning. See 49 U.S.C. § 40101(a)(8)

(1994); 49 U.S.C. § 47101(g) (1994). Specifically, 49 U.S.C.

§ 47101(g) provides in pertinent part that

the Secretary of Transportation shall cooperate with

State and local officials in developing airport plans

and programs that are based on overall

transportation needs. The airport plan

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.